

Oregon State Archives Oregon Legislators and Staff Guide 1878 Regular Session (10th): September 9 – October 18

**1878** 

## House

Legislators	<b>Residence &amp; County</b>	District	Officers & Staff	Party <sup>1</sup>
Action, Joseph	Multnomah	43		R
Beckley, Henry	Douglas	16		D
Bennett, James	Multnomah	40		R
Bewley, J. C.	Tillamook	57		R
Bradley, Richard	Clackamas	9		R
Broback, Charles W.	Lake	25		D
Caldwell, G. B.	Josephine	18		D
Campbell, A. F.	Douglas	14		D
Carter, Talbot	Benton	5		R
Chandler, C. G.	Baker	2		D
Chenoweth, James	Douglas	13		D
Cole, Nelson	Columbia	12		R
Curtis, W. R.	Baker	1		D
Dorris, B. F.	Lane	23		D
Durham, D. O.	Yamhill	59		R
Everts, L.	Umatilla	49		D
Forbes, Edward	Clackamas	7		R
Fountain, Matthew	Jackson	19		1
Fretland, I.	Multnomah	39		R
Galloway, William	Yamhill	58		D
Gates, N. H.	Wasco	55		D
Gilbert, George	Lane	21		D
Grant, R. J.	Polk	46		D
Green, H.	Benton	4		
Hamilton, Joseph	Linn	29		D
Hansard, F. C.	Linn	30		D
Hendricks, M. B.	Yamhill	60		D
Hewitt, C. H.	Linn	28		D
Hughes, J. T.	Benton	3		D
Johnson, R. D.	Grant	17		D
Kahler, William	Jackson	20		I
Kelly, Penumbra	Multnomah	41		R
Lee, J. D.	Polk	47		R
Matthieu, F. X.	Marion	32		D
Newman, Jacob	Linn	31		D
Purdin, Ira E.	Washington	52		D

<sup>1</sup> D = Democrat; R = Republican; I = Independent

Ramsby, R. C.	Marion	35		R
Reed, C. A.	Marion	33		R
Reeves, William	Washington	54		D
Riley, M.	Coos, Curry	11		R
Rinehart, J. H.	Union	51		D
Schelberg, A.	Marion	34		R
Schooling, J. P.	Linn	27		D
Schroeder, J. H.	Coos	10		D
Scott, L. S.	Marion	37		R
Smith, F. R.	Marion	36		R
Starkweather, W. A.	Clackamas	8		R
Stearns, L. B.	Multnomah	38		R
Stewart, John	Douglas	15		D
Stratton, J. F.	Lane	24		R
Thompson, D. P.	Multnomah	44		R
Thompson, John M.	Lane	22	Speaker	D
Townsend, Ira S.	Polk	45		D
Tyson, R. H.	Washington	53		R
Webdell, A. B.	Wasco	56		D
Wheeler, Jason	Linn	26		D
White, John S.	Umatilla	48		D
Will, Henry	Clackamas	6		R
Wintzengerode, C. V.	Multnomah	42		R
Wright, Dumham	Union	50		D
			Castleman, P. F Sergeant-at-	
			Arms	
			Dougherty, James - Page	
			Myers, W. H. H Doorkeeper	
			Smith, Delevan - Page	
			White, W. L Chief Clerk	
			Williams, L. F Asst. Clerk	

## Senate

Legislators	Residence & County	District	Officers & Staff	Party
Apperson, J. T.	Clackamas	4		D
Applegate, James	Douglas	8		R
Bentley, L.	Polk	24		1
Bilyeu, W. R.	Linn	16		D
Bradshaw, E. C.	Yamhill	29		D
Brown, A. G.	Coos, Curry	7		D
Burch, C. H.	Yamhill	30		D
Burnett, John	Benton	2		D

Cochran, R. B.	Lane	14		D
Colvig, G. W.	Douglas	9		R
<sup>2</sup> Davidson,	Grant	10		D
Thomas				
Davis, T. A.	Multnomah	22		D
Fulton, C. W.	Clatsop, Columbia, Tillamook	6		R
C		22		-
George, M. C.	Multnomah	23		
Green, D. L.	Josephine	12		D
Grim, J. W.	Marion	20		R
Haines, I. D.	Baker	1		D
Haley, S. D.	Linn	17		D
Hirsch, Sol.	Multnomah	21		R
Jasper, M.	Union	26		D
Lord, W. P.	Marion	18		D
Myers, John	Clackamas	5		D
Palmer, J. S.	Benton, Polk	3		D
Pennington, S. M.	Umatilla	25		D
Ross, J. E.	Jackson	11		1
Smith, J. H.	Linn	15		D
Thompson, S. G.	Wasco, Lake	27		D
Waldo, William	Marion	19		R
Watt, Ahio S.	Washington	28		R
Whiteaker, John	Lane	13	President	D
			Angel, Martin - Sergeant-at-	
			Arms	
			Baker, J. W Asst. Chief Clerk	
			Baker, J. W Asst. Chief Clerk	
			Simpson, Sylvester C Chief	
			Clerk	
			Wren, George P Doorkeeper	

More information at <a href="http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx">http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx</a>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Members of the Committee on Credentials, Senators Haley, Myers, Cochran, George and Watt, reported that the above members present and entitled to seats and that "...further find from the returns in the office of the Secretary of State that Thomas Davidson has been elected and is entitled to a seat from Grant County."