

Oregon State Archives

Oregon Legislators and Staff Guide 1897 Regular Session (19th): January 11 – March 2

1897

House (failed to organize)¹

Legislator	County	District	Officers & Staff	Party ²
Barkley, H. L.	Woodburn, Marion	30		R
Bayer, J. B.	Portland, Multnomah	36		R
Benson, Henry L.	Grants Pass, Josephine	21		R
Bilyeu, L.	Eugene, Lane	23		D
Bourne, Jonathan, Jr.	Portland, Multnomah	23		R
Bridges, J. T.	Drain, Douglas	14		R
Brown, J. N.	Hopper, Morrow	35		R
Buckman, Thomas	Bandon, Coos	10		Р
Chapman, E. W.	Brooks, Marion	31		R
Conn, Virgil	Paisley, Lake, Klamath	22		R
Craig, David	Macleay, Marion	32		R
Crawford, A. M.	Roseburg, Douglas	13		R
David, J. E.	Crow, Sherman	16		R
Davis, E. J.	Milton, Umatilla	50		R
Davis, James N.	Portland, Multnomah	38		R
Dustin, C. S.	Long Creek, Grant, Harney	16		Р
Emery, O. C.	Newberg, Yamhill	60		
Gill, John	Chase, Yamhill, Tillamook	49		U
Gratke, John E.	Astoria, Clatsop	7		D
Guild, H. G.	Sheridan, Yamhill	59		U
Gurdane, J. S.	Ridge, Umatilla	51		R
Hill, George H.	Portland, Multnomah	39		R
Hogue, H. A.	Portland, Multnomah	40		R
Hope, I. W.	Vale, Malheur	29		R
Howser, J. J.	Sams Valley, Jackson	19		Р
Hudson, Harvey S.	Gaston, Washington	56		R
Huntington, B. S.	The Dalles, Wasco	47		R

¹ The members of the house met on January 11, 1897, and effected a temporary organization by electing E. J. Davis, of Umatilla County, temporary chairman and Mr. Ralph Moody temporary Chief Clerk. On assembling for permanent organization there was found not to be a quorum present. It then developed that the House was divided into two factions neither of which would answer roll call when the other was present. Neither faction had sufficient members to form a quorum. After a time one faction elected officers and attempted to transact business but their organization and acts were not recognized by the Senate. After remaining at the capitol forty-five days, five days longer than the time provided by law for holding sessions of the legislature, the members of both factions disbanded and returned to their respective homes. The Senate which had organized and remained in session during the entire forty days, transacting only such business as did not require the concurrence of the House, also adjourned sine die.

² D = Democrat; R = Republican; P = Populist (House); P = People (Senate); U = Union

Jennings, C. E.	Joseph, Wallowa	55	R
Jones, F. N.	Baker, Wasco	48	R
Kruse, J. H.	Oswego, Clackamas	6	P
Lake, E. R.	Corvallis, Benton	3	R
Langell, Nat	Jacksonville, Jackson	20	R
Lee, I. J.	Independence, Polk	45	D
Marsh, G. W.	Cornelius, Washington	57	R
Maxwel, A. L.	Portland, Multnomah	41	R
McAllister, J. W.	La Grande, Union	53	P
Merrill, Normal	Clatskanie, Columbia	9	R
Misener, R. W.	Mitchell, Crook	12	D
Mitchell, McKinley	Corvallis, Marion	33	R
Munkers, T. M.	Scio, Linn	28	P
Nosler, W. H.	Coquille City, Coos	11	Р
Ogle, George	Molalla, Clackamas	5	Р
Palm, D. G.	Lorane, Lane	24	R
Povey, D. L.	Portland, Multnomah	42	R
Riddle, George W.	Riddle, Douglas	15	R
Rigby, W. T.	Pendleton, Umatilla	52	R
Schmidtlein, G. F.	Woodville, Jackson	18	Р
Smith, J. N.	Salem, Marion	34	R
Smith, Johnson S.	Linn	27	
Somers, John M.	Albany, Linn	26	R
Stanley, F. S.	Perry, Union	54	R
Svindseth, N. J.	Astoria, Clatsop	8	Р
Thomas, W. E.	Portland, Multnomah	43	R
Thompson, J. R. C.	Tulatin, Washington	58	R
U'Ren, W. S.	Milwaukie, Clackamas	4	Р
Vaughan, T. J.	Coburg, Lane	25	R
Veness, J. A.	Independence, Polk	46	R
Wagner, Henry	Portland, Multnomah	44	R
Whitaker, John	Corvallis, Benton	2	Р
Yoakum, D. W.	Express, Baker	1	Р

Senate³

Legislator	County	District	Officers & Staff	Party
Bates, George W.	Portland, Multnomah	19		R

³ The senate convened on January 11 and effected a permanent organization. Owing to the failure of the house to effect a permanent organization no business of any importance could be transacted. Many resolutions, memorials and bills were passed, but no legislation could be enacted. After remaining in session forty days the senate adjourned sine die.

Brownell, George C.	Oregon City, Clackamas	3		R
Calbreath, John F.	McMinnville, Yamhill	30		R
Carter, Tolbert	Wells, Benton, Lincoln	2		R
Daly, Bernard	Lakeview, Crook, Klamath, Lake	8		D
Dawson, S. A.	Albany, Linn	15		R
Driver, I. D.	Eugene, Lane	13		R
Dufur, E. B.	The Dalles, Gilliam, Sherman, Wasco	10		D
Gesner, Alonzo	Salem, Marion, Clackamas	4		R
Gowan, A. W.	Burns, Harney, Grant, Morrow	11		R
Harmon, C. E.	Grants Pass, Coos, Curry, Josephine	7		R
Haseltine, J. E.	Portland, Multnomah	20		R
Hobson, W. H.	Stayton, Marion	17		R
Holt, S. H.	Phoenix, Jackson	12		Р
Hughes, Samuel	Forest Grove, Washington	29		R
Johnson, Archie J.	Scio, Linn	16		R
King, Will R.	Baker City, Baker, Malheur	1		Р
Mackay, Donald	Portland, Multnomah	21		R
McClung, J. H.	Eugene, Lane	14		R
Mitchell, John	The Dalles, Wasco, Sherman	25		R
Mulkey, B. F.	Dallas, Polk	24		R
Patterson, Isaac	Cincinnati (Eola), Marion, Polk	18		R
Lee				
Price, A. R.	Weston, Umatilla	26		R
Reed, A. W.	Gardiner, Douglas	9		R
Selling, Ben	Portland, Multnomah	22		R
Simon, Joseph	Portland, Multnomah	23		R
Smith, John H.	Astoria, Clatsop	5		D
Taylor, Thomas C.	Pendleton, Umatilla, Union	27		R
Wade, Justus	Summerville, Union, Wallowa	28		Р
			Blundell, J. E Doorkeeper	
			Crosno, C. B Sergeant-at-	
			Arms	
			Hobkirk, A Page	
			Mason, S. R Calendar Clerk	
			Moorhead, S. L. – Chief Clerk	
			Poorman, F. W. – Page	1
			Rasmus, W. M. – Reading Clerk	
			Wilson, J. A. – Asst. Chief Clerk	

More information at http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators_guide.aspx