

Oregon State Archives

Oregon Legislators and Staff Guide 1941 Regular Session (41st): January 13 – March 15

1941

House

Legislator	Residence & County	District	Officers & Staff	Party ¹
Adams, A. Hugh	Portland, Multnomah	5		D
Allen, E. C.	Portland, Multnomah	5		D
Boivin, Harry D.	Klamath Falls, Klamath	32		D
Bradley, C. C.	Portland, Multnomah	5		R
Brady, Phil	Portland, Multnomah	5		D
² Brauti, Erling L.	Wheeler, Tillamook	3		D
Bull, Vernon D.	LaGrande, Union	24		D
Callaway, Ned H.	Brownsville, Linn	13		D
Carson, Allen G.	Salem, Marion	12		R
Carter, Roy E.	Gold Beach, Coos, Curry	17		D
Chase, Truman A.	Eugene, Lane	14		R
Chindgren, H. H.	Molalla, Clackamas	7		R
³ Cunha, Alfred F.	Pendleton, Umatilla	23		R
Duncan, George R.	Stayton, Marion	12		R
Engdahl, Carl	Pendleton, Umatilla	23		R
Erwin, Warren	Portland, Multnomah	5		D
Farrell, Robert S., Jr.	Portland, Multnomah	5	Speaker	R
French, Giles L.	Morrow, Gilliam, Morrow, Sherman, Wheeler	22		R
Frisbie, R. C.	Baker, Baker	27		R
Gibson, Angus	Junction City, Lane	14		R
Gile, Robert C.	Roseburg, Douglas	15		R
Gleason, M. James	Portland, Multnomah	5		D
Greenwood, J. S.	Wemme, Clackamas	7		R
Hedlund, William H.	Oswego, Clackamas, Multnomah	6		D
Heisler, Donald E.	The Dalles, Wasco	21		R
Hesse, H. T.	Hillsboro, Washington	4		R
Hill, Carl C.	Days Creek, Douglas	15		R

¹ D = Democrat; R = Republican

² J. R. Caufield resigned; Erling L. Brauti appointed

³ O. L. Babcock died during Session; Alfred F. Cunha appointed February 4, 1941

Hockett, C. T.	Enterprise, Wallowa	25	R
Hosch, J. F.	Bend, Deschutes	26	D
⁴ Huggins,	Marshfield, Coos	16	D
George C.		10	U
Jenkins, Ray L.	Toledo, Lincoln	9	D
Jones, H. R.	Salem, Marion	12	R
Kimberling, E.	Prairie City, Grant, Harney	30	R
W.	Frame City, Grant, Harney	50	K
Kuratli, H. A.	Hillsboro, Washington	4	R
Lage, E. Riddell	Hood River, Hood River	20	R
Larkin, Wallace	Newberg Yamhill	8	D
S.			
Lonergan, Frank	Portland, Multnomah	5	R
J.			
Marsh, Eugene	McMinnville, Yamhill	8	R
Ε.			
Martin, Kenneth	Grants Pass, Josephine	18	R
S.			
McAllister, Wm.	Medford, Jackson	19	R
M.			
McCourt, John	Portland, Multnomah	5	R
В.			
Meyers, A. W.	Milwaukie, Clackamas	7	R
Miller, E. Harvey	Heppner, Gilliam, Morrow, Sherman, Wheeler	22	R
Morse, William	Prineville, Crook, Jefferson	26	R
B.		20	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Neuberger,	Portland, Multnomah	5	D
Richard L.		5	
Newbry, Earl T.	Ashland, Jackson	19	R
Perry, J. D.	Deer Island, Columbia	2	D
Pier, Stanhope S.	Portland, Multnomah	5	R
Rennie, A.	Corvallis, Benton	11	R
Rodman, James	Eugene, Lane	14	R
A.			
Semon, Henry	Klamath Falls, Klamath	32	D
Smith, Leo	Portland, Multnomah	5	D
Snyder, Burt K.	Lakeview, Deschutes, Lane	29	R
Staples, V. B.	Ontario, Malheur	31	R
Steelhammer,	Salem, Marion	12	R
John F.	,		-
Thiel, Fred	Astoria, Clatsop	1	D
Thomas, Lyle D.	West Salem, Polk	10	R
Thompson,	Albany, Linn	13	D
Orval N.		-	-

⁴ J. H. McCloskey resigned because of injuries received in an auto accident; George C. Huggins appointed

Wells, Harvey	Portland, Multnomah	5		R
Wilson, Manley	Wauna, Clatsop, Columbia	33		D
J.				
			Drager, W. F Chief	
			Clerk	
			Eakin, Jack - Reading	
			Clerk	
			Hayden, C. A Mailing	
			Clerk	
			Low, Edith Bynon -	
			Calendar Clerk	
			Singer, J. F Sergeant-	
			at-Arms	
			Sylvers, Patricia - Asst.	
			Chief Clerk	
			Tichenor, Frank -	
			Doorkeeper	

Senate

Legislator	Residence & County	District	Officers & Staff	Party
Belton, Howard C.	Canby, Clackamas	12		R
Best, James A., Dr.	Pendleton, Umatilla	20		R
Booth, Joel C., Dr.	Lebanon, Linn	2		R
Burke, W. E.	Sherwood, Yamhill	10		R
Childs, Charles	Albany, Lane, Linn	4		R
⁵ Clark, C. W.	Roseburg, Douglas	5		R
Cornett, Marshall E.	Klamath Falls, Crook, Deschutes, Jefferson	17		R
Dickson, Ashby C.	Portland, Multnomah	13		D
Dunn, George W.	Ashland, Jackson	6		R
Ellis, Rex	Pendleton, Marrow, Umatilla, Union	19		R
5Ellsworth, Harris	Roseburg, Douglas	5		R
Fisher, Earl E.	Beaverton, Washington	11		R
Franciscovich, Frank M.	Astoria, Clatsop	15		R
Jones, J. N.	Vale, Grant, Harney, Malheur	22		R
Jones, Ronald E.	Brooks, Marion	1		R
Kauffman, H. R., Dr.	Toledo, Lincoln, Tillamook	24		R
Kenin, Harry M.	Portland, Clackamas, Multnomah, Columbia	14		R
Lee, Dorothy McCullough	Portland, Multnomah	13		R

⁵ C. W. Clark died March 10, 1941; Harris Ellsworth appointed March 15, 1941, to fill vacancy

Mahoney, Thomas	Portland, Multnomah	13		D
McKay, Douglas	Salem, Marion	1		R
McKenna, Coe A.	Portland, Multnomah	13		R
Pearson, Walter E.	Portland, Multnomah	13		D
Sipperman, Louis W.	Grants Pass, Josephine	7		R
Stadelman, Peter J.	The Dalles, Hood River, Wasco	16		R
Steiwer, William H.	Fossil, Gilliam, Sherman, Wheeler	18		R
Strayer, W. H. "Bill"	Baker, Baker	23		D
Walker, Dean H.	Independence, Benton, Polk	9	President	R
Wallace, Lew	Portland, Multnomah	13		D
Walsh, William E.	Marshfield, Coos, Curry	8		R
Wheeler, Halvor C.	Goshen, Lane	3		R
Zurcher, Charles H.	Enterprise, Wallowa, Union	21		R
			Bede, Elbert - Reading Clerk	
			Burns, Zylpha Zell - Chief Clerk	
			Corey, Roy - Doorkeeper	
			Glatt, Elizabeth - Asst. Chief Clerk	
			Meacham, Walter - Calendar Clerk	
			Mortimer, Banks - Sergeant-at-Arms	

More information at http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators_guide.aspx