

### **Pre-Provisional Government**

#### 1841 Meetings<sup>1</sup>: February 17-18, June 1

This was the first committee chosen for the framing of a constitution and code of laws for the area of country known as Oregon. These members were chosen at a meeting of the inhabitants of the Willamette Valley held at the American Mission House, First Methodist Mission (10 miles below Salem on the Willamette River) in February and at the new building, near the Catholic church at St. Paul, on June 1.<sup>2</sup>

Committee Members	Party	Committee Officers
<sup>3</sup> Blanchet, Rev. F. N.		
<sup>4</sup> Bailey, Dr.		
Charlevon, Mr.		
Donpierre, David		
Hines, Gustavus		Secretary
Johnson, William		
<sup>5</sup> Lee, Rev. Jason		
Lucier, Etienne		
Moore, Robert	Democrat	
Parrish, Rev. J. L.		
		Leslie, David - chosen Chairman on February 18
		Smith, Sidney – Secretary

More information at http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx

Munnick, Harriet Duncan. *Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: St. Paul, Oregon 1839-1898*, xix. Binford & Mort, Thomas Binford, Publisher, 1979.

- <sup>3</sup> Member on February 18; resigned on June 1
- <sup>4</sup> Chosen member on June 1
- <sup>5</sup> Chosen Chairman on February 17

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Grover, La Fayette. *The Oregon Archives, including the Journals, Governor's Messages and Public Papers of Oregon,...* Asahel Bush, Public Printer, 1853.

Duniway, David C. and Neil R. Riggs. "The Oregon Archives, 1841 - 1843." *Oregon Historical Quarterly* Vol. LX, No. 2 (June 1959): 211-280.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Dobbs, Caroline C. *Men of Champoeg*. Emerald Valley Craftsmen, Cottage Grove, Oregon, Reprinted 1975.



Oregon Legislators and Staff Guide 1843 Meetings (2<sup>nd</sup> Pre-Provisional): June 27-28, July 5

### **Pre-Provisional Government**

The legislative committee was chosen at a public mass meeting held at Champooiek, May 2, 1843. The committee met at Willamette, May 16, 1843, and continued in session for three days. The committee adjourned and reconvened June 27 for two days. The legislative committee submitted reports at a mass meeting of the citizens of Oregon at Champooiek<sup>1</sup> on July 5. These reports were adopted as the Laws of Oregon<sup>2</sup>.

Committee Members	Committee Officers
Beers, Alanson	
Daugherty, William	
Gray, W. H.	
Hill, David	
Hubbard, Thomas	
Moore, Robert	
Newell, Dr. Robert	
O'Neil, James	
Shortness, Robert	
	LeBreton, George W Territorial Recorder Ex. Officio Clerk
	Moore, Robert - Speaker or Chairman

More information at <a href="http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx">http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx</a>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Early name used in records of the provisional government for the name Champoeg, Marion County

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Political and Official History and Register of Oregon by Harrison R. Kincaid, Secretary of State 1899



**1844** 

# **Pre-Provisional Government**

The 3rd legislative committee chosen before the organization of the provisional government held a session at Oregon City, at the house of Mr. Hathaway, from June 18 to June 27, 1844. The same committee reconvened December 16 at Oregon City at the house of J. E. Long and continued in session until December 21.

Honorable Osborn Russell and Honorable P. G. Stewart, a majority of the executive committee submitted a message to the members of the legislative committee at the December session, in which they stated that there were adverse claims to the country known as Oregon, both Great Britain and the United States claiming the territory west of the Rocky Mountains and north of the California line.

Committee member	County	Committee Officers
Burnett, Peter H.	Tuality	
Gilmore, M.	Tuality	
Hill, David	Tuality	
Keizer, T. D.	Champoeg	
Lovejoy, A. L.	Klackamas	
McCarver, M. M.	Tuality	Speaker
Newell, Dr. Robert	Champoeg	
Waldo, Daniel	Champoeg	
		Long, Dr. John E Territorial Recorder, Ex-Officio Clerk

More information at http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx



## **Pre-Provisional Government**

The 4th legislative committee chosen before the organization of the provisional government met at the house of J. E. Long in Oregon City. After the assembly was organized the residence of Mr. M. McGruder was secured in which to hold the sessions of the committee.

This was the last session of the legislative committee under the regime of the executive committee of Oregon. Honorable Osborn Russell and Honorable P. J. Stewart, who jointly governed Oregon as a majority of the executive committee at this time retired from office at the close of this session to give place to Honorable George Abernethy, the first governor of Oregon.

The members of this committee before entering upon the duties of their office each took the following oath:

"I do solemnly swear that I will support the organic laws of the provisional government of Oregon, so far as the said organic laws are consistent with my duties as a citizen of the United States, or a subject of Great Britain, and faithfully demean myself in office, so help me God."

Tualatin County was sometimes called *Tuality County* and is written that way in many early records. Champoeg County is also written as *Champoie* and the County of Clackamas as *Klackamas*.

Committee member	County	Committee Officers
Applegate, Jessie	Yamhill	
Foisy, M. G.	Champoeg	
Garrison, J. M.	Champoeg	
Gray, William H.	Clackamas	
Hendricks, A.	Yamhill	
Hill, David	Tuality	
Lee, Barton	Champoeg	
Lee, H. A. G.	Clackamas	
McCarver, M. M.	Tuality	Speaker
McClure, John	Clatsop	
Newell, Robert	Champoeg	
Smith, J. W.	Tuality	
Straight, H.	Clackamas	
		Clark, Rev. Mr Alternate Chaplain
		Demarse, Rev. Mr Alternate Chaplain
		Hill, Rev. Mr Alternate Chaplain
		Long, J. E Territorial Recorder and Ex-officio Clerk of
		Committee

	Prigg, Frederick - Revising Clerk
	Shaw, Mr Sergeant-at-Arms

More information at <a href="http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx">http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx</a>