Oregon Council of Presidents





Oregon TECH



February 27, 2018

Oregon State Legislature 900 Court St. NE Salem, OR 97301

Dear Chair Williamson, Vice Chairs McLane and Rayfield, and Members of the Committee,

As fellow Oregon higher education institution leaders, we deeply value Dr. Robertson's service to the State and to Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU) over the last 40 years. We urge your support for SCR 205, which recognizes his medical, academic and leadership accomplishments.

State

Dr. Robertson's strategic vision for OHSU not only advanced his institution but also Oregon higher education as a whole. With Dr. Robertson at the helm, OHSU engaged in vital partnerships with other Oregon higher education institutions, as well as a wide variety of communities, to leverage and increase resources, and promote excellence in Oregon higher education and research.

Those partnerships include the establishment of the OHSU-Portland State University (PSU) Strategic Alliance that led to the joint OHSU-PSU School of Public Health; the construction of the Collaborative Life Sciences Building in conjunction with PSU, Oregon State University (OSU) and the State of Oregon; the development of the Campus for Rural Health; and the establishment of a partnership with Intel Corporation to develop next-generation computing technologies that advance the field of personalized medicine. In addition, under Dr. Robertson's leadership, faculty at the University of Oregon and OHSU are collaborating at unprecedented levels on groundbreaking science and research.

We are proud to have worked alongside Dr. Robertson during his tenure at OHSU, and have much to learn from his years of dedication to students and the Oregon academic community. We wish him the very best in his retirement, and ask for your support of SCR 205.

Sincerely,

Thomas a. Insto

Thomas Insko President Eastern Oregon University

Edward J. Ray

Edward Ray President Oregon State University

Michael flill

Michael Schill President University of Oregon

unida S

Linda Schott President Southern Oregon University

Ret 111

Rahmat Shoureshi President Portland State University

Nagi J. Nagarahan

Nagi Naganathan President Oregon Institute of Technology

Reg Fille

Rex Fuller President Western Oregon University