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DIVISION 1 

AGENCY PROCEDURAL RULES 

331-001-0000 
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking 

(1) Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule, the 
Oregon Health Licensing Agency shall give notice of its intended 
action; 

(a) In the manner established by rule adopted by the agency 
under ORS 183.341(4), which provides a reasonable opportunity for 
interested persons to be notified of the agency’s proposed action; 

(b) In the Secretary of State’s bulletin referred to in ORS 
183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date; 

(c) By delivery of notice to persons on the agency mailing list, 
at least 28 days before the effective date of the rule, pursuant to ORS 
183.335;  

(d) By delivery of notice to certain legislators, at least 49 days 
before the effective date of the rule, pursuant to ORS 183.335;  

(2) To the Associated Press and Capitol Building Press Room, 
and other members of the media who have requested notification;  

(3) To persons, organizations, or publications, where the agen-
cy determines that such persons, organizations, or publications, 
would have an interest in the subject matter of the proposal based on 
applicability to each agency program, board or council. 

(4) Delivery of notice of an intended action under subsection 
(1)(a), (c) and (d) of this section shall be in accordance with ORS 
183.335(2)(e). Delivery of notice of an intended action under sub-
section (1)(b), (2) and (3) of this section may be provided by regu-
lar U.S. Postal Service mail, electronic mail, facsimile transmission, 
or other delivery of printed copy. 

(5) A copy of proposed rules and permanently filed rules shall 
be posted on the agency’s Web site, and program mini-sites accessed 
at http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/index.shtml and http://www. 
oregon.gov/OHLA/Laws_and_Rules.shtml. 

(6) Persons may obtain a printed copy of rules or related doc-
uments upon written request and payment of appropriate fee for 
copies of agency documents as specified in OAR 331-010-0030. 

(7) The agency may update the mailing list established pursuant 
to ORS 183.335(8) annually by requesting persons to confirm that 
they wish to remain on the mailing list. If a person does not respond 
to a request for confirmation within 28 days of the date the agency 
sends the request, the agency will remove the person from the mail-
ing list. Any person removed from the mailing list will be immedi-

ately returned to the mailing list upon request, if the person provides 
a mailing address to which notice may be sent. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.615  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.615  
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-001-0010 
Model Rules of Procedure 

Pursuant to ORS 183.341, the Oregon Health Licensing Agen-
cy adopts the Model Rules of Procedures as promulgated by the 
Attorney General of the State of Oregon under the Administrative 
Procedures Act as amended and effective January 1, 2008. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 676.605 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & 676.605 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-001-0020 
Applicability of Agency Rules 

The provisions of OAR 331-001-0000 through 331-030-0030 
shall apply in the administration and regulation of all programs 
administered by the agency except as otherwise specifically pro-
vided. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & OL 2003, Ch. 547 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & OL 2003, Ch. 547 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04 

DIVISION 10 

AGENCY GENERAL ADMINISTRATION RULES 

331-010-0000 
Definitions 

Unless the context requires otherwise, the following definitions 
shall apply to OAR Chapter 331. 

(1) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 
(2) “Authorization” means the official document, i.e. certificate, 

license, permit or registration, issued by the agency, for any program 
administered under ORS 676.606, as prima facie evidence of the 
right to practice in accordance with the laws and rules of the regu-
latory programs administered by the agency.  

(3) “Director” means, pursuant to ORS 676.610, the individu-
al who has sole responsibility for the administrative, fiscal, human 
resource and regulatory functions of the agency.  

(4) “Oregon Health Licensing Agency” means the agency 
assigned to carry out the administrative, programmatic and daily 
operations, and regulatory functions of the Boards, Councils and Pro-
grams listed in ORS 676.606. 

(5) “Practitioner” means the individual issued a certificate, 
license, permit or registration by the agency who has received autho-
rization within their defined field of practice.  

(6) “Program” means the office and staff designated to carry out 
the daily functions of the Body Piercing Licensing Program as 
defined in ORS 690.500 to 690.570; or as the context requires, “pro-
gram” may also be used to refer to the collective boards, councils and 
programs administered by the agency. 

(7) “Regulatory authority” means a recognized governing body 
of a city, county, state or country that has been charged with the 
responsibility for overseeing the administration and regulation of an 
occupation or profession.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.615  
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-010-0010 
Fees 

(1) Payments made to the Health Licensing Office should be 
made for the exact amount of the transaction. 

(2) Transactions conducted with the agency where either the 
payment or required documentation is incomplete or incorrect may 
be returned to the payer for correction before being processed by the 
agency. 

(3) Fees will be applied as directed by the applicant, autho-
rization holder or payer. Fees misapplied may be corrected by writ-



ten request specifying the certificate, license, permit or registration 
number(s) affected and the action requested, subject to conditions in 
OAR 331-010-0020(2). 

(4) Fees paid to the agency are not transferable between pro-
grams or from person-to-person where the applicant was eligible for 
service and service was rendered pursuant to application or trans-
action request submitted to the agency. 

(5) Payments received by the agency without indication as to 
purpose or intent or as an amount of overpayment will first be applied 
toward any outstanding civil penalty balance or administrative pro-
cessing fee owed. 

(6) Fee schedules are published in the administrative rules for 
each Board, Council or Program administered by the agency. 

(7) Dishonored Check or Electronic Payment. Pursuant to ORS 
30.701, whenever a bank check, credit or debit transaction in pay-
ment of an obligation due for fees, penalties, copies of records or 
materials, or other services to the agency, is dishonored by the bank 
upon which the check is drawn, the applicant or authorization hold-
er will be assessed and must pay an administrative processing fee in 
the amount of $25. The agency may take any other disciplinary 
action against an authorization holder or payer and may seek other 
legal remedies in pursuing to effect collection of the returned items. 
If a check is returned for NSF or uncollected funds the agency will 
attempt to collect payment electronically.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 30.701, 676.625 & OL 2003, Ch. 547 Sec.10, 14, 22, 30, 50, 61, 
69, 86, 100 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 30.701, 676.625 & OL 2003, Ch. 547 Sec.10, 14, 22, 
30, 50, 61, 69, 86, 100 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04 

331-010-0020 
Refund of Payments 

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will not refund any 
payment, which includes fees, penalties or other charges, unless the 
agency is in error. Information not known by the agency because the 
authorization holder or payer supplied the incorrect information is 
not considered an error. 

(2) The agency will comply with ORS 291 and 293 and the Ore-
gon Accounting Manual regarding administration of public funds 
pertaining to assessment of fees, charges and refunding monies. 

(3) Application fees will not be refunded. The agency will retain 
the application fee if an applicant withdraws the application for a cer-
tificate, license, permit, or registration before the issuance of the 
authorization, or fails to complete the application process. 

(4) The agency may refund fees paid for a scheduled exami-
nation on a case-by-case basis. In making its determination, the agen-
cy will consider an applicant’s individual set of circumstances when 
the applicant fails to appear for a scheduled examination.  

(5) The agency will not refund fees paid for agency scheduled 
diversion or infection control standards training if the applicant fails 
to appear and complete the prescribed training; however, the fees 
may be applied toward any civil fine imposed for violations of laws 
or rules.  

(6) The agency shall determine, on a case-by-case basis, the 
individual set of circumstances noted in subsections (4) and (5) of 
this rule, such as a medical emergency, personal hardship or unfore-
seen event that impedes the individual from appearing for an agen-
cy-scheduled examination or training. The agency may request doc-
umentation from the individual to validate the circumstance cited and 
may refund the fees or reschedule an examination or training as 
appropriate.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 30.701, 293.445, 676.625  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 30.701, 293.445, 676.625 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-010-0030 
Fees for Public Records and Publications 

(1) All requests for copies of public records pertaining to the 
Oregon Health Licensing Agency, or any program it administers, 
shall be submitted in writing, electronic mail, or by completion of 
an electronic form provided by the agency. Requests are subject to 
disclosure according to the Public Records Law, ORS 192.410 to 
192.505, and rules adopted thereunder.  

(2) The agency may charge a fee reasonably calculated to reim-
burse the agency for costs of providing and conveying copies of pub-
lic records. Fees shall not exceed the cost of locating, compiling, 
making available for inspection, preparing copy in paper, audio, com-
puter disk, and delivering public records. All estimated fees and 
charges must be paid before public records will be made available 
for inspection or copies provided.  

(3) The agency shall notify a requestor of the estimated costs 
of making records available for inspection or providing copies of 
records to the requestor. If the estimated costs exceed $25, the agen-
cy shall provide written notice and shall not act further to respond 
to the request unless and until the requestor confirms that the 
requestor wants the agency to proceed with making the public 
records available.  

(4) Charges to the general public shall be payable in cash, 
cashier’s check, money order, or credit card. Payment by personal 
check for copies of official documents is not accepted. 

(5) The agency shall charge 25¢ per page for the first 20 pages 
and 15¢ per page thereafter to recover the costs of photocopying and 
normal and reasonable staff time to locate, separate, photocopy and 
return document(s) to file and to prepare/mail public record(s) to 
requestors. If, for operational or other reasons, the agency uses the 
services of an outside facility or contractor to photocopy requested 
records, the agency shall charge the actual costs incurred.  

(a) “Page” refers to the number of copies produced. Staff will 
not reduce the copy size or otherwise manipulate records in order to 
fit additional records on a page, unless staff concludes that it would 
be the most effective use of their time. Consistent with ORS 192.240, 
all copies will be double-sided. A double-sided copy will be charged 
as two single pages. 

(6) “Normal and reasonable” staff time is 20 minutes or less per 
request:  

(a) Additional charges for staff time may be made when 
responding to record requests that require more than the “normal and 
reasonable” time for responding to routine record requests. Staff time 
shall be charged at the agency’s staff hourly rate. 

(b) These charges are for staff time in excess of 10 minutes 
spent locating, compiling, sorting and reviewing records to prepare 
them for inspection, as well as all time required to separate or remove 
exempt information or to supervise inspection of documents. The 
agency shall not charge for time spent in determining the application 
of the provisions of ORS 192.410 to 192.505.  

(7) Charges for regular agency publications and media 
requests, such as computer disks, video cassettes, audio tapes or other 
types of public record formats, shall be available upon request and 
a price list shall be published on the agency Web site annually. 

(8) The agency may charge individuals actual postage costs for 
mailing of records. When mailing voluminous records or respond-
ing to special requests, the agency shall charge for staff time required 
to prepare the records for mailing, in addition to actual postage. 

(9) The agency shall charge $27 per hour, with a $7.50 mini-
mum, for staff time required to fill public record requests that require 
electronic reproduction. Charges include time spent locating, 
downloading, formatting, copying and transferring records to media. 
Charges for reproduction media are available upon request. 

(10) Due to the threat of computer viruses, the agency will not 
permit individuals to provide diskettes for electronic reproduction of 
computer records. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 197.410 - 192.505, 676.625  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 197.410 - 192.505, 676.625 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-010-0040 
Notification Requirements 

Notification of a change in any authorization holder’s licensing 
information must be submitted within 30 calendar days of the change 
to the agency by written notice given in person at the agency office, 
by regular U.S. Postal Service, facsimile transmission, Web-based 
interactive data collection or electronic mail. A change in informa-
tion includes, but is not limited to the following:  

(1) Authorization holders: 
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(a) Name — first or last. Approved documentation is required, 
such as marriage certificate, divorce decree, court judgment docu-
ments, or other agency approved documentation; 

(b) Residential or mailing address; 
(c) Area code and telephone number;  
(d) Employment status; or 
(e) Work location.  
(2) Facility license holders:  
(a) Facility name or Assumed Business Name as filed with Sec-

retary of State, Corporations Division under 648.007; 
(b) Business telephone number, including area code; 
(c) General hours of operation; 
(d) Address change resulting from city or U.S. Postal Service 

action; or 
(e) Closure or sale of business facility or practice. 
(3) Independent contract registration holders: 
(a) Facility name, physical address, telephone number and 

license number; 
(b) General hours of operation; 
(c) Changing permanent work location; 
(d) Performing services at multiple licensed facilities on a per-

manent or temporary basis; 
(e) Ceasing to operate as an independent contractor before expi-

ration of the registration to avoid late renewal payment if reactiva-
tion may occur within one year of the expiration date. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-010-0050 
Authorization Holders; Military Leave 

(1) A practitioner authorized to practice under a program list-
ed in ORS 676.606 is not required to renew the authorization or pay 
renewal fees while in active military service unless required by the 
authorization holders branch of the military. 

(2) To be restored to former authorization status the authoriza-
tion holder must notify the agency in writing within 60 days of being 
honorably discharged.  

(3) No fees will be due until the following renewal period.  
(4) Requirements for completing continuing education hours 

during an authorization holder’s active duty period shall be evalu-
ated on a case by case basis. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607 & 676.608 
Hist.: HLA 1-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-11 thru 8-28-11; HLA 2-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-17-11 thru 8-28-11; HLA 8-2011, f. 8-9-11, cert. ef. 
8-15-11 

331-010-0055 
Military Spouse or Domestic Partner Temporary Authorization 
to Practice 

(1) Pursuant to ORS 676.308 “military spouse or domestic part-
ner” means a spouse or domestic partner of an active member of the 
Armed Forces of the United States who is the subject of a military 
transfer to Oregon.  

(2) A military spouse or domestic partner holding a temporary 
authorization to practice in a profession listed under ORS 676.583 
or 676.800 may perform services within the profession. 

(3) A temporary authorization may be immediately issued to a 
military spouse or domestic partner, is valid for three months and 
may not be renewed. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.308, 676.615, 680.515, 688.720, 688.815, 688.819, 690.047, 
2014 OL Ch. 35 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.308, 680.515, 688.720, 688.815, 688.819, 
690.047, 2014 OL Ch. 35 
Hist. : HLA 5-2014, f. 9-3-14, cert. ef. 9-17-14 

331-010-0060 
Application Requirements for Temporary Authorization to 
Practice for a Military Spouse or Domestic Partner 

(1) To qualify under this rule for a temporary authorization to 
practice under ORS 676.583 and 676.800, a military spouse or 
domestic partner must submit a completed application prescribed by 
the Oregon Health Licensing Agency, pay all applicable fees required 

under subsection (4) of this rule, and submit evidence of the fol-
lowing: 

(a) That the applicant meets the qualifications for authorization 
as provided in the applicable statutes and rules of the program for 
which authorization is sought including examinations. 

(b) A copy of a marriage certificate or domestic partnership reg-
istration with the name of the applicant and the name of the active 
duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States;  

(c) A copy of assignment to a duty station located in Oregon by 
official active duty military order for the spouse or domestic partner 
named in the marriage certificate or domestic partnership registra-
tion; and  

(d) Proof of having at least one year of active practice in the pro-
fession or occupation for which authorization is sought during the 
three years immediately preceding the application; and  

(e) Attest that the applicant has requested evidence of autho-
rization from the state or territory in which the applicant is authorized 
to practice in a profession listed under ORS 676.583 or 676.800 and 
that the applicant is not subject to any discipline action in that state 
or territory for a matter related to services regulated by the agency 
or the board under which authorization is sought.  

(2) Processing of applications for authorization under this rule 
must be expedited. 

(3) If the applicant demonstrates that all required qualifications 
listed in this rule have been met before the temporary authorization 
expires the temporary authorization will become the applicant’s orig-
inal authorization to practice a profession listed under ORS 676.583 
or 676.800. 

(4) Notwithstanding any other rules administered by the Agen-
cy, an applicant for authorization under this rule must submit all 
applicable fees for an original authorization listed within the program 
rules administered under ORS 676.583 and 676.800. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.308, 676.615, 680.515, 688.720, 688.815, 688.819, 690.047, 
2014 OL Ch. 35 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.308, 680.515, 688.720, 688.815, 688.819, 
690.047, 2014 OL Ch. 35 
Hist.: HLA 2-2014(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-3-14 thru 9-17-14; HLA 5-2014, f. 9-
3-14, cert. ef. 9-17-14 

331-010-0070 
Application for Military Training or Experience 

An individual seeking to use military training or experience as 
a qualification for an authorization to practice a profession or occu-
pation in a program administered under ORS 676.583 and 676.800 
must submit a Joint Services Transcript demonstrating completion 
of military training or experience that is substantially equivalent to 
requirements set forth in statute or rule by the agency or the boards 
or councils. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.308, 676.615, 680.515, 688.720, 688.815, 688.819, 690.047, 
2014 OL Ch. 35 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.308, 680.515, 688.720, 688.815, 688.819, 
690.047, 2014 OL Ch. 35 
Hist.: HLA 2-2014(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-3-14 thru 9-17-14; HLA 5-2014, f. 9-
3-14, cert. ef. 9-17-14 

DIVISION 20 

AGENCY REGULATORY OPERATIONS RULES 

331-020-0000 
Contested Case Procedure 

(1) Subject to the approval of the Attorney General, an officer 
or employee of the agency is authorized to appear on behalf of any 
Board, Council, or Program administered by the agency when the 
agency proposes to refuse to issue, renew, suspend, revoke, place on 
probation or impose a civil penalty on any applicant, licensee, reg-
istrant or other individual.  

(2) The agency representative may not make legal argument on 
behalf of the agency: 

(a) “Legal argument” includes arguments on: 
(A) The jurisdiction of the agency to hear the contested case; 
(B) The constitutionality of a statute, rule, and/or the applica-

tion of a constitutional requirement to an agency; and 
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(C) The application of court precedent to the facts of the par-
ticular contested case proceeding. 

(b) “Legal argument” does not include presentation of evidence, 
examination and cross-examination of witnesses or presentation of 
factual arguments or arguments on: 

(A) The application of the facts to the statutes or rules directly 
applicable to the issues in the contested case; 

(B) Comparison of prior actions of the agency in handling sim-
ilar situations; 

(C) The literal meaning of the statutes or rules directly appli-
cable to the issues in the contested case; and 

(D) The admissibility of evidence or the correctness of proce-
dures being followed. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & OL 2003, m Ch. 547, Sec. 4 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & OL 2003, m Ch. 547, Sec. 4 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04 

331-020-0010 
Requiring an Answer to Charges as Part of Notices to Parties in 
Contested Cases 

In addition to the requirements stated in OAR 137-003-0000 of 
the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure adopted under 331-
001-0010, the notice to parties in contested cases may include a state-
ment that an answer to the assertions or charges will be required and, 
if so, the consequence of failure to answer. A statement of the con-
sequences of failure to answer may be satisfied by enclosing a copy 
of 331-020-0020 with the notice. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04 

331-020-0020 
Hearing Requests and Answers; Consequences of Failure to 
Answer 

(1) A hearing request, and answer when required, shall be made 
in writing to the Agency by the party or the party’s attorney.  

(2) An answer shall be made in writing to the Agency with any 
request for a hearing on a matter related to violations alleged under 
ORS 675.360 to 675.410, 687.405 to 687.495, 688.808 to 688.840, 
the rules adopted thereunder, or violations alleged under 676.612 
when related to the practice of direct entry midwifery, sex offender 
treatment, respiratory care or polysomnography. The answer shall 
include the following: 

(a) An admission or denial of each factual matter alleged in the 
notice; and 

(b) A short, concise statement of each relevant affirmative 
defense the party may have.  

(3) When an answer is required:  
(a) Factual matters alleged in the notice and not denied in the 

answer shall be presumed admitted;  
(b) Failure to raise a particular defense in the answer will be 

considered a waiver of such defense;  
(c) New matters alleged in the answer (affirmative defenses) 

shall be presumed to be denied by the agency; and  
(d) Evidence shall not be taken on any issue not raised in the 

notice and the answer.  
(4) When an answer is required, the party or party’s attorney 

may amend the response and answer, but no later than 10 days before 
the scheduled contested case hearing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 8-27-12; HLA 9-2012, f. 5-10-12, cert. ef. 5-15-12 

331-020-0030 
Inquiries; Filing a Complaint 

(1) An individual may contact the Oregon Health Licensing 
Agency to inquire on the licensing record, status or employment of 
a person issued an authorization by the agency, or to comment on any 
issue concerning an individual regulated by the agency.  

(2) Complaints against individuals practicing in one of the pro-
fessions listed in ORS 676.606, may be filed with the agency. The 

complaint may be made on forms provided by the agency, which 
includes the following information:  

(a) The name, address and telephone number of the person mak-
ing the complaint;  

(b) The name of the person or facility against which the com-
plaint is being made;  

(c) A concise description of the charge against the person or 
facility listing the date, time and circumstances of the alleged vio-
lation; and  

(d) The signature of the person making the complaint.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.606 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.606 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-020-0040 
Complaint Processing and Investigation 

Pursuant to ORS 676.608, complaints filed with the Oregon 
Health Licensing Agency will be handled as follows:  

(1) The agency will determine if the complaint is related to a 
profession or occupation regulated and administered by the agency 
and the complaint falls within authority delegated to the agency by 
statute.  

(2) The agency investigator(s):  
(a) Will review the information and as applicable, interview par-

ties and witnesses, and examine physical evidence relating to the 
complaint;  

(b) Will advise on whether an authorization holder or other indi-
vidual practiced within the acceptable standards of the particular pro-
gram;  

(c) Will make recommendations for agency action.  
(3) After receiving advice from the investigator(s), the agency 

will determine what action will be taken in accordance with ORS 
676.608.  

(4) As used in ORS 676.608(8), to “appear before the agency” 
includes: an investigative interview conducted under oath, under sub-
poena or otherwise compelled; an interview or hearing before a 
board, council, or subcommittee of a board or council; any deposi-
tions authorized by the agency; pre-hearing conferences; and con-
tested case hearings. It does not include interrogatories, written 
admissions, other written communications, or voluntary communi-
cations.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.608 & 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.608 & 676.615 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09; HLA 
1-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-11 thru 8-28-11; HLA 2-2011(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-17-11 thru 8-28-11; HLA 8-2011, f. 8-9-11, cert. ef. 8-15-11 

331-020-0050 
Response to Inquiry 

Any person subject to a complaint involving conduct or service 
performed or provided may be required by the agency to respond. 
The person must respond to the agency within 20 calendar days from 
the date of the request, in the form and manner requested by the agen-
cy. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183  
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04 

331-020-0060 
Civil Penalty Considerations 

(1) Pursuant to ORS 676.992, any person who violates any pro-
vision of law or rules of a regulated profession administered by the 
Oregon Health Licensing Agency and listed in ORS 676.606, may 
incur, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, a civil penal-
ty in an amount not to exceed $5,000 for each violation.  

(2) In establishing the amount of the penalty for each violation, 
the agency will consider and evaluate each case on an individual 
basis. The agency will consider, but not be limited to factors listed 
in ORS 676.992, in determining the amount of the penalty.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.992  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 676.992  
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 
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331-020-0070 
Discipline 

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency may discipline autho-
rization holders for violations of laws and rules, in accordance with 
ORS 676.612 and 676.992.  

(2) Failure to cooperate with the agency or its agent is unpro-
fessional conduct and is subject to disciplinary sanctions, which may 
include suspension or revocation and refuse to issue or renew or 
place on probation and assessment of civil penalties. Failure to coop-
erate with the agency or its agent includes, but is not limited to, the 
following:  

(a) Failing to provide information within the specified time 
allotted and as requested by the agency;  

(b) Failing to temporarily surrender custody of original client 
records to the agency upon request, which includes treatment charts, 
models, health histories, billing documents, correspondence and 
memoranda;  

(c) Interference, use of threats or harassment which delays or 
obstructs any person in providing evidence in any investigation, con-
tested case, or other legal action instituted by the agency;  

(d) Interference, use of threats or harassment which delays or 
obstructs the agency in carrying out its functions under individual 
programs administered and regulated by the agency as listed in ORS 
676.606 and rules adopted thereunder; or  

(e) Deceiving or attempting to deceive the agency regarding any 
matter under investigation including altering or destroying any 
records.  

(3) The agency, at its discretion, may require supplemental 
training in an appropriate area of study as determined by the agen-
cy, board or council, as a disciplinary sanction. Supplemental train-
ing may be in addition to assessment of a monetary penalty or the 
agency, board or council may waive or reduce a penalty, in cases 
requiring supplemental training.  

(4) As used in ORS 676.612(2)(j) incompetence means engag-
ing in conduct which evidences a lack of ability or fitness to perform 
the holder’s professional functions.  

(5) As used in ORS 676.612(2)(j) negligence means engaging 
in conduct detrimental to the client.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.612, 676.992 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.612, 676.992 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09; HLA 
8-2011, f. 8-9-11, cert. ef. 8-15-11 

331-020-0080 
Sanctions 

(1) CHILD SUPPORT IN ARREARS: In accordance with ORS 
25.750 to 25.783, the Oregon Health Licensing Agency will provide 
the Support Enforcement Division of the Department of Justice with 
authorization information which may be electronically cross-
matched with Support Enforcement Division’s records for persons 
under order of judgment to pay monthly child support and who are 
in arrears according to ORS 25.750(a), (b), and/or (c).  

(2) The agency will suspend the authorization, if the Support 
Enforcement Division or the district attorney identifies the autho-
rization holder as being in arrears with respect to any judgment or 
order requiring the payment of child support and that the case is 
being enforced under the provisions of ORS 25.080.  

(3) Pursuant to ORS 25.750 to 25.785, the agency will notify 
the authorization holder of the suspension status and refer the per-
son to the Support Enforcement Division or the district attorney for 
resolution.  

(4) Upon notification by the Support Enforcement Division or 
district attorney and receipt of a release notice that the conditions 
resulting in the suspension no longer exist, the agency will reinstate 
the authorization upon compliance with all qualifications for renew-
al or reactivation.  

(5) DEFAULT TAX FILING OR PAYMENT: In accordance 
with ORS 305.385, upon request the agency will provide the Depart-
ment of Revenue with authorization information to determine if the 
holder has neglected or refused to file any return or to pay any tax 
without filing a petition with the department as stated in ORS 
305.385(4)(a).  

(6) The agency will propose to take action against an autho-
rization holder identified by the Department of Revenue. If the agen-
cy proposes to refuse to issue, renew or suspend an authorization, 
opportunity for hearing will be accorded as provided in ORS 183.413 
to 183.470 for contested cases.  

(7) Upon notification by the department and receipt of a notice 
of release issued by the department that the authorization holder is 
in good standing with respect to any returns due and taxes payable 
to the department as of the date of the notice of release, the agency 
will renew, reactivate or release from suspension the authorization 
upon compliance with any qualifications for renewal or reactivation.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 25.080, 25.750 - 25.785, 183.310 - 183.470,  
305.385, 348.393 - 348.399, 676.606, 676.612, 676.615  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.080, 25.750 - 25.783, 183.310 - 183.470,  
305.385, 348.393 - 348.399, 676.612 Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04  
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; Renumbered from 331-030-0030, HLA 
1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

DIVISION 30 

CERTIFICATION, LICENSURE AND 
REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 

331-030-0000 
Application Requirements 

(1) An applicant who has been the subject of any disciplinary 
action, including the imposition of a civil or criminal penalty, is not 
considered qualified for an Oregon authorization to practice until the 
Oregon Health Licensing Agency determines the scope, applicabil-
ity and finality of the disciplinary action as it relates to the applicant’s 
fitness to be issued an authorization to practice or use a profession-
al title under a program listed in ORS 676.606. The disciplinary 
record may include, but not be limited to, actions imposed from the 
following: 

(a) An Oregon health professional regulatory board as defined 
in ORS 676.160; 

(b) A regulatory authority in Oregon or another state;  
(c) A regulatory authority in another country or territory. 
(2) Pursuant to ORS 181.534, 676.612 and OAR 331-030-005, 

the agency may require an applicant to complete a fingerprint check 
through the Oregon Department of Oregon State Police. The agen-
cy may also conduct a criminal background check of convictions to 
determine whether the applicant has been convicted of a crime that 
may affect the applicant’s fitness to practice in accordance with ORS 
670.280. 

(3) Material misrepresentation or material errors of fact on an 
application for or renewal of an authorization are grounds for dis-
qualification of examination, refusal to issue or revocation of the 
authorization. Refer to ORS 676.612. 

(4) Application for an authorization issued for any program 
administered by the agency under ORS 676.606 shall be made on 
forms prescribed and furnished by the agency.  

(5) To be accepted and processed, an application must contain:  
(a) Applicant’s current name, address and telephone number;  
(b) Applicant’s date of birth;  
(c) Applicant’s signature and date of application;  
(d) Applicant’s Social Security or Individual Taxpayer Identi-

fication number.  
(e) Applicant’s ethnicity (optional);  
(f) Applicant’s gender (optional);  
(g) Disclosure of any active or inactive disciplinary action, vol-

untary resignation of a certificate, license, permit or registration or 
sanction related to authorization imposed upon the applicant by any 
state or country regulatory authority;  

(h) Disclosure of any active or inactive certificate, license, per-
mit or registration issued by Oregon or another state;  

(i) Payment for the exact amount of required fees; and  
(j) All additional information required by the particular Board, 

Council or Program for which application is made. 
(6) Applicants must list their Social Security or Individual Tax-

payer Identification number on a form prescribed by the agency at 
the time of initial application and renewal for certification, licensure, 
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permit or registration. The authority for this requirement is ORS 
25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(c)(2)(C)(i), and 42 USC § 
666(a)(13).  

(7) Failure to provide the Social Security or Individual Taxpayer 
Identification number will be a basis to refuse to accept the appli-
cation or to issue an authorization. This information will be used for 
child support enforcement and tax administration purposes, unless 
the applicant authorizes other uses of the number. The authority for 
this requirement is ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(c)(2)(C)(i), 
and 42 USC § 666(a)(13).  

(8) Upon request by the agency an applicant must provide two 
forms of acceptable original identification issued by a federal, state 
or local government agency of the United States. The agency will 
consider other forms of identification if the procedures used in issu-
ing the identification are sufficient to prove the applicant’s identity 
and the identification contains security features that are sufficient to 
prevent alteration or counterfeiting. Acceptable identification 
includes, but is not limited to: 

(a) An original or certified copy of birth certificate issued by a 
U.S. Territorial government or the government of a state or political 
subdivision of a state of the United States. OHLA will not accept a 
hospital-issued birth certificate, hospital card or birth registration or 
baptismal certificate.  

(b) United States passport, not expired more than five years.  
(c) United States passport card, not expired more than five 

years.  
(d) U.S. Territory passport not expired more than five years.  
(e) Tribal ID card from a federally recognized tribe located in 

Oregon or a federally recognized tribe with an Oregon affiliation if 
OHLA determines:  

(A) The procedures used in issuing the card are sufficient to 
prove the applicant’s identity; and  

(B) The card contains security features that are sufficient to pre-
vent alteration or counterfeiting of the card.  

(f) Certificate of Citizenship (N560 and N561).  
(g) Certificate of Naturalization (N550, N570 and N578).  
(h) U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-197 and I-179).  
(i) U.S. Military documents including:  
(A) Military or Armed Forces ID card;  
(B) Military Common Access Card; or  
(C) U.S. Uniform Services ID and Privileges card (DD1173 and 

DD1173-1).  
(j) Resident Alien card 
(k) Permanent Resident card (I-551).  
(l) Out-of-state, District of Columbia, U.S. Territorial govern-

ment or, instruction permit or identification card, that contains the 
applicant’s photograph, not expired more than one year unless hole-
punched or marked “Not Valid as ID.”  

(m) Valid Oregon driver license, temporary driver license, 
instruction permit, or identification card. For the purposes of this sub-
section, OHLA will not accept a driver license that was issued with-
out a photograph.  

(n) Oregon Concealed Weapon Permit/Concealed Handgun 
License, not expired more than one year.  

(o) Social Security card or other documentation issued by the 
Social Security Administration.  

(9) OHLA will not accept a document as proof of identity and 
date of birth if OHLA has reason to believe the document is not valid. 
The agency may request an applicant present additional documen-
tary proof of identity if the document presented does not establish 
the applicant’s identity to the satisfaction of OHLA.  

(10) At least one form of identification provided from the 
approved list in subsection (8) of this rule must be photographic. 

[Publications: Forms referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), and 42 USC § 
666(a)(13), 670.280, 676.605 & 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC 
§ 666(a)(13), 670.280, 676.605 & 676.615 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 12-2008(Temp), f. 11-28-08, cert. 
ef. 12-1-08 thru 4-30-09; Administrative correction 5-20-09; HLA 1-2009, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-030-0004  
Fingerprinting, State and Nationwide Criminal Background 
Checks, Fitness Determinations  

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency may conduct and 
require completion of a fingerprint and criminal background check 
to determine fitness of individuals applying for an authorization 
issued or renewed by the agency. These will be provided on pre-
scribed forms provided by the agency. At the discretion of the agen-
cy, background checks may be conducted for any of the programs 
administered by the agency pursuant to ORS 676.606. 

(2) Fingerprints may be obtained at a law enforcement office or 
at a private service acceptable to the agency. The agency will forward 
fingerprints to the Department of Oregon State Police for checks 
against state and national data sources. Any original fingerprint cards 
will subsequently be destroyed by the department. 

NOTE: An applicant must pay the department any fees assessed for con-
ducting the fingerprint service. An applicant must arrange for the report of 
the fingerprint check to be mailed directly to the Oregon Health Licensing 
Agency, Regulatory Operations Division. 
(3) These rules are to be applied when evaluating the criminal 

history of all licensees and applicants listed in paragraph (1) of this 
section, and conducting fitness determinations based upon such his-
tory. The fact that the applicant has cleared the criminal history check 
does not guarantee the granting of an authorization.  

(4) Except as otherwise provided in section (1), in making the 
fitness determination the agency shall consider:  

(a) The nature of the crime;  
(b) The facts that support the conviction or pending indictment 

or that indicate the making of the false statement;  
(c) The relevancy, if any, of the crime or the false statement to 

the specific requirements of the subject individual’s right to practice 
in any present or proposed position, services, and employment, that 
is authorized upon the issuance or renewal of the certificate, license, 
permit or registration; and  

(d) Intervening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities 
and circumstances of the position, services, employment, certificate, 
license, permit or registration. Intervening circumstances include but 
are not limited to:  

(A) The passage of time since the commission of the crime;  
(B) The age of the subject individual at the time of the crime;  
(C) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the com-

mission of another crime:  
(D) The subsequent commission of another relevant crime;  
(E) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of 

setting aside the conviction; and  
(F) A recommendation of an employer.  
(5) The agency may require fingerprints of any authorization 

holders or applicant listed in paragraph (1) of this section, who is the 
subject of a complaint or investigation, under authority of ORS 
676.612(3)(c), for the purpose of requesting a state or nationwide 
criminal records background check.  

(6) All background checks shall be requested to include avail-
able state and national data, unless obtaining one or the other is an 
acceptable alternative.  

(7) Additional information required. In order to conduct the 
Oregon and national criminal history check and fitness determina-
tion, the agency may require additional information from the autho-
rization holder or applicant as necessary. Information requested may 
include but is not limited to, proof of identity; residential history; 
names used while living at each residence; or additional criminal, 
judicial or other background information.  

(8) All Oregon and national criminal history checks, confiden-
tiality, and dissemination of information received, shall be in accor-
dance to and as applicable with ORS 181.534 through 181.560 and 
OAR 257, division 10. 

(9) The agency will permit the individual for whom a finger-
print-based criminal records check was conducted, to inspect the 
individual’s own state and national criminal offender records and, if 
requested by the subject individual, provide the individual with a 
copy of the individual’s own state and national criminal offender 
records.  
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(10) The agency shall determine whether an individual is fit to 
be granted, hold or renew an authorization, listed in paragraph (1) 
of this section, based on the criminal records background check, or 
any false statements made by the individual regarding criminal his-
tory of the individual, or any refusal to submit or consent to a crim-
inal records check including fingerprint identification, and any other 
pertinent information obtained as a part of an investigation. If an indi-
vidual is determined to be unfit, then the individual may not be grant-
ed an authorization. The agency may make fitness determinations 
conditional upon applicant’s acceptance of probation, conditions, or 
limitations, or other restrictions placed upon the authorization. 

(11) The agency may also consider any arrests and court records 
that may be indicative of a person’s inability to perform as an autho-
rization holder with care and safety to the public. 

(12) If the agency determines an applicant or authorization hold-
er is unfit, the individual is entitled to a contested case process pur-
suant to ORS 183. Challenges to the accuracy or completeness of 
information provided by the Oregon State Police, Federal Bureau of 
Investigation and agencies reporting information must be made 
through the Oregon State Police, Federal Bureau of Investigation, or 
reporting agency and not through the contested case process pursuant 
to ORS 183.  

(13) If the applicant discontinues the application process or fails 
to cooperate with the criminal history background check the agen-
cy considers the application incomplete.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC § 
666(a)(13),  
670.280, 676.605, 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC 
§ 666(a)(13), 670.280, 676.605, 676.615  
Hist.: HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-030-0010 
Procedure for Issuing and Renewing Certificates, Licenses and 
Registrations 

(1) Subject to ORS 676.612, authorizations issued by the Ore-
gon Health Licensing Agency will be issued to qualified applicants 
after conducting fitness determinations and upon compliance with all 
requirements established by rules adopted by the agency. 

(2) With the exception of temporary or demonstration permits, 
all authorizations will expire on the last day of the month, two years 
from the date the authorization was issued. 

(3) The authorization will state the holder’s name, address, 
authorization number, expiration date and bear the signature of the 
holder. The authorization will be mailed to the place of residence or 
mailing address recorded on the application and may substantiated 
through acceptable identification listed in OAR 331-030-0000. 

(4) The agency may mail notice of expiration to the authoriza-
tion holder, sending the notice to the last known address on file. The 
authorization holder is responsible for submitting a timely applica-
tion for renewal whether or not a renewal form was mailed by the 
agency. 

(5) Application for renewal shall be made in advance of the 
expiration date, and shall be submitted together with the required 
fee(s) and documentation, as the individual program stipulates for 
renewal. Payment must be postmarked or received by the agency dur-
ing regular business hours on or before the expiration date. An autho-
rization may be renewed using the agency’s online renewal system 
accessed at http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/onlinerenewals.shtml. 

(6) An application for renewal and payment received by the 
agency or postmarked after the expiration date may be assessed 
delinquent renewal fee(s) according to requirements stipulated in 
each individual program’s rules for certificate, license or registration 
renewal.  

(7) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this rule, the agency may 
vary the renewal date of an authorization by giving the applicant 
written notice of the renewal date being assigned and by making pro-
rated adjustments to the renewal fee.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605 & 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605 & 676.615 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 12-2008(Temp), f. 11-28-08, cert. 
ef. 12-1-08 thru 4-30-09; Administrative correction 5-20-09; HLA 1-2009, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-030-0020 
Authorization; Replacements  

(1) An individual shall not display a sign or in any way adver-
tise or purport to be an authorization holder or to be engaged in prac-
tice, or use a professional title, without first obtaining an authoriza-
tion in the manner required according to statute and rules of a 
program administered by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency under 
ORS 676.606.  

(2) The agency shall issue only one original authorization.  
(3) The possession or posting of more than one of the same cur-

rent authorization (original or replacement) is prohibited.  
(4) All authorization holders must have immediate access to 

photographic identification as listed in OAR 331-030-0000 whenever 
performing services or open for business Authorization holders must 
provide agency representatives with the appropriate identification 
immediately upon request. 

(5) If for any reason a person is mistakenly issued a document 
that contains a material error and superseded by a corrected docu-
ment, the agency has the authority to demand surrender of the incor-
rect authorization document issued by the agency. The individual 
must surrender the document requested within the time determined 
by the agency.  

(6) The agency may issue a replacement authorization docu-
ment, if: 

(a) A written request for a replacement is submitted to the agen-
cy which contains the authorization holder’s name, authorization 
number, address, telephone number, employment information, and 
a statement attesting that the original authorization has been lost, 
stolen or destroyed;  

(b) The authorization is valid, current and not expired, sus-
pended or revoked;  

(c) Payment of the replacement fee accompanies the request;  
(d) The authorization holder is not subject to any outstanding 

civil penalties or other disciplinary action.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.410, 676.605, 676.615, 690.015, 680.505,  
687.415, 690.355, 694.025, 688.805, 700.020 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.410, 676.605, 676.615, 690.015, 680.505, 
687.415, 690.355, 694.025, 688.805, 700.020 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-030-0025 
Emergency Response 

Practice in Oregon by out-of-state authorization holders in the 
event of an emergency: 

(1) In the event of a disaster or emergency declared by the Gov-
ernor of Oregon, the Oregon Health Licensing Agency shall allow 
authorization holders who are licensed in another state, performing 
services in a field of professional practice regulated by the agency 
under ORS 676.606, to practice in Oregon under special provisions 
during the period of the declared disaster or emergency, subject to 
such limitations and conditions as the Governor may prescribe. 

(2) The out-of-state authorization holder must submit the fol-
lowing information to the agency:  

(a) Verification of a permanent, current, and unrestricted autho-
rization to practice in another state which is not the subject of a pend-
ing investigation or disciplinary action by a state board, or another 
state or federal agency; and 

(b) Current federal or state photo identification, i.e., driver 
license or passport. 

(3) The authorization holder shall provide the agency docu-
mentation demonstrating a request to provide services by an agen-
cy recognized public health organization, Emergency Medical Ser-
vice (EMS) agency, county, state or federal entity, or has otherwise 
made arrangements to provide services within the practitioner’s 
scope of professional practice in Oregon as the result of the decla-
ration of a disaster or emergency.  

(4) The authorization holder may not practice in Oregon under 
the special disaster or emergency provisions beyond the termination 
date of the declared disaster or emergency as prescribed by the Gov-
ernor. Practice in Oregon beyond the termination date of the declared 
disaster or emergency requires licensure through the Oregon Health 
Licensing Agency. 
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.606, 676.612, 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.612, 676.615 
Hist.: HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09 

331-030-0040 
Affidavit of Licensure 

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document or 
other approved means of verifying an authorization to practice (cer-
tification, licensure or registration) status and history, including infor-
mation disclosing all unresolved or outstanding penalties and/or dis-
ciplinary actions. Affidavit of Licensure may be requested from other 
regulatory authorities or from the Oregon Health Licensing Agency: 

(2) For the purpose of this rule regulatory authority means: 
(a) An Oregon health professional regulatory board as defined 

in ORS 676.160  
(b) A regulatory authority in Oregon or another state;  
(c) A regulatory authority in another country or territory.  
Outgoing Affidavit of Licensure 
(3) An applicant may request an affidavit of licensure be sent 

from the Oregon Health Licensing Agency for programs listed under 
ORS 676.606 to another regulatory authority or individual designated 
on the application. The following must be submitted to the agency: 

(a) An application on a form prescribed by the agency;  
(b) Two forms of identification listed in OAR 331-030-0000(8); 

at least one must be photographic;  
(c) Photocopies of identification listed in subsection (b) of this 

section must be submitted with the application if request is made 
through the mail; the photocopy must be legible; and 

(d) The agency may require that an applicant present addition-
al proof of identity pursuant to OAR 331-030-0000(9). 

Incoming Affidavit of Licensure 
(4) An applicant applying for an authorization from a program 

listed under ORS 676.606 must arrange for the originating regula-
tory authority to forward directly to the agency a current and origi-
nal “Affidavit of Licensure” signed by an authorized representative 
of the regulatory authority and affixed with an official seal or stamp 
to the affidavit of licensure. The applicant is responsible for payment 
of any fee the originating regulatory authority may assess for pro-
ducing the affidavit of licensure.  

(5) The agency may verify an applicant’s authorization to prac-
tice and determine an applicant’s qualifications and fitness to prac-
tice in a program administered under ORS 676.606 by the follow-
ing: 

(a) An affidavit of licensure may be obtained by accessing the 
regulatory authority’s Web site by using an online verification sys-
tem. The agency may assess a fee for obtaining affidavit of licensure.  

(b) An affidavit of licensure may be electronically transmitted 
to the agency from the regulatory authority. The applicant is respon-
sible for payment of any fee the originating regulatory authority may 
assess for producing the affidavit of licensure.  

(c) An affidavit of licensure document hand delivered or mailed 
by the applicant and not mailed directly or transmitted through an 
approved means to the agency from the regulatory authority will 
invalidate qualification for authorization to practice, scheduling, and 
examination.  

NOTE: The Affidavit of Licensure may be referred to as a “Verification 
of Licensure”, “License Verification”, “Certification of Licensure” or 
“License Certification” by other regulatory authorities. Both terms have the 
same purpose in disclosing an applicant’s licensing status and history. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.606, 676.612 & 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.612 & 676.615 
Hist.: HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09; HLA 5-2010(Temp), f. 7-23-10, cert. ef 
7-26-10 thru 1-15-11; HLA 6-2010, f. 10-14-10, cert. ef. 10-15-10 

DIVISION 105 

BOARD OF ATHLETIC TRAINERS: 
GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-105-0030 
Fees 

(1) Applicants and registrants are subject to the provisions of 
OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of 
fees, penalties and charges.  

(2) Fees established by the Health Licensing Office are as fol-
lows:  

(a) Application:  
(A) Registration: $100.  
(B) Registration by reciprocity: $150.  
(b) Examination — Oregon laws & rules: $50.  
(c) Original issuance of registration (including by reciprocity): 

$125 for one year.  
(d) Permits and waivers: $150.  
(e) Renewal of registration: $125 for one year.  
(f) Delinquent (late) renewal of registration: $40 per year, up to 

three years.  
(g) Reinstatement: $150.  
(h) Replacement of registration, including name change: $25.  
(i) Duplicate registration document: $25 per copy with maxi-

mum of three.  
(j) Affidavit of licensure: $50.  
(k) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be 

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for pay-
ment of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.  

Stat. Auth.: 1999 OL Ch. 736, Sec. 5(3) & (4) & Sec. 10 
Stats. Implemented: 1999 OL Ch. 736, Sec. 5(3) & (4) & Sec. 10 
Hist.: HDLB 2-1996, f. 12-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; HDLP 1-2000(Temp), f. 2-14-
00, cert. ef. 2-15-00 thru 8-11-00; Administrative correction 3-16-00; HDLP 3-
2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 
2-2006, f. 11-30-06, cert. ef. 12-1-06; HLA 3-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; 
HLA 5-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-1-11 thru 1-28-12; HLA 11-2011, f. 10-14-
11, cert. ef. 10-15-11; HLO 1-2015, f. 6-29-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15 

DIVISION 120 

BOARD OF ATHLETIC TRAINERS:  
GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-120-0001  
Definitions  

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-120-0001 through 
331-160-0015.  

(1) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.  
(2) “Board of Certification, Inc.” (BOC) means the national 

organization that is accredited by the National Commission for Cer-
tifying Agencies that provides a certification program for the entry-
level athletic trainer and establishes requirements for maintaining sta-
tus as a certified athletic trainer (ATC).  

(3) “Registration” means the document issued by the agency 
authorizing the holder to practice athletic training under ORS 
688.730 and use the title “Athletic Trainer, Registered,” and the 
abbreviation: “ATR.” 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

DIVISION 130 

APPLICATION AND QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

331-130-0001 
Application Requirements  

An individual applying for registration to practice athletic train-
ing must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30. 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
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0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application and 
registration fees.  

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsections (1) and (2) 
of this rule, an applicant must provide documentation of one of the 
following pathways: 

(a) Licensure Pathway 1 — Qualification through examination. 
An applicant must submit: 

(A) Official transcripts demonstrating that the individual holds 
a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited four year college or 
university and has completed an athletic training education program 
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training 
Education, or has been approved or recognized by the Board;  

(B) Evidence of prescribed educational and clinical experience 
as required by ORS 688.720, and OAR 331-130-0001; 

(C) Official documentation of a passing score of the BOC 
examination or documentation of successful completion of an equiv-
alent examination approved or recognized by the Board;  

(D) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older; and 
(E) Evidence demonstrating current certification in cardiopul-

monary resuscitation (CPR) including: 
(i) Adult & Pediatric CPR; 
(ii) Automated external defibrillator AED; 
(iii) 2nd Rescuer CPR; 
(iv) Airway Obstruction; and 
(v) Barrier Devices (e.g., pocket mask, bag valve mask). 
(b) Licensure Pathway 2 — Licensure through reciprocity: An 

applicant must submit: 
(A) An Affidavit of Registration demonstrating proof of current 

registration, which is active with no current or pending disciplinary 
action. The registration must have been issued by another state or ter-
ritory of the United States and the requirements be equivalent to 
those in ORS 688.720;  

(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older; and 
(C) Evidence demonstrating current certification in cardiopul-

monary resuscitation (CPR) for including: 
(i) Adult & Pediatric CPR; 
(ii) Automated external defibrillator AED; 
(iii) 2nd Rescuer CPR; 
(iv) Airway Obstruction; and 
(v) Barrier Devices (e.g., pocket mask, bag valve mask). 
(4) An applicant with a current athletic training licensing cre-

dential issued from another state or territory of the United States must 
arrange for a completed Affidavit of Registration, issued by the cre-
dentialing state, to be mailed directly to the Agency. The Affidavit 
must attest to the applicant’s registration record and indicate suc-
cessful completion of the BOC examination or another examination 
approved by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-130-0005 
Registration Required; Exception  

To practice athletic training in the state of Oregon, individuals 
must be registered in accordance with ORS 688.718.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-130-0011 
Registration Issuance and Renewal 

(1) REGISTRATION: A registrant is subject to the provisions 
of OAR chapter 331, division 30 regarding the issuance and renew-
al of a registration, and to provisions regarding authorization to prac-
tice, identification, and requirements for issuance of a duplicate reg-
istration.  

(2) LICENSE RENEWAL: Registration renewal must be made 
prior to the registration entering inactive status. The registrant must 
submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of required renewal fee;  
(c) Attest to having obtained required continuing education; and  

(d) Attest to having current certification in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation pursuant to OAR 331-130-0001.  

(3) INACTIVE REGISTRATION RENEWAL: Registration 
renewal made after the registration enters inactive status. A regis-
tration may be inactive for up to three years. To renew inactive reg-
istration, the registrant must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of delinquency and renewal fees pursuant to OAR 

331-140-0000;  
(c) Attest to having obtained required continuing education; and  
(d) Attest to having current certification in cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation pursuant to OAR 331-130-0001.  
(4) EXPIRED REGISTRATION: A registration that has been 

inactive for more than three years is expired and must meet the 
requirements listed in OAR 331-130-0001.  

(5) A registrant failing to meet continuing education require-
ments listed under OAR 331-150-0005 must reapply and meet 
requirements pursuant to OAR 331-130-0001.  

(6) A registrant may not practice with an inactive or expired reg-
istration.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12; HLO 1-2016, f. 6-28-16, cert. 
ef. 7-1-16 

331-130-0015  
Registration Display and Posting Requirements 

(1) Registrants must show proof of valid registration upon 
request or post the registration document in public view at the ath-
letic trainer’s primary workplace.  

(2) A registrant may temporarily conceal the address printed on 
the registration document with a covering that is removable. A reg-
istrant must carry the registration identification card (pocket card), 
or post the official registration in plain view any time services are 
being provided.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

DIVISION 150 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

331-150-0000 
Continued Competency  

(1) To ensure continuing efforts on the part of Oregon registered 
athletic trainers to remain current with new developments in athlet-
ic training and to encourage diversified training and qualifications 
in the profession, continuing education is required as a condition of 
registration. 

(2) Continuing education experiences are programs beyond the 
basic education required to obtain registration and that are designed 
to promote and enrich knowledge, improve skills, and develop atti-
tudes for the enhancement of the practices of registered athletic train-
ers, thus improving athletic training care to the public. 

(3) Continuing education requirements apply whether the appli-
cant renewing registration is living or working within Oregon or out-
side of the state, so long as Oregon registration is maintained. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-150-0005 
Continuing Education Requirements  

(1) To maintain registration, athletic trainers must complete a 
minimum of 10 hours of approved continuing education each year. 
Credit hours obtained in excess of those required for the one-year 
reporting period may not be carried forward. A registrant’s contin-
uing education requirements remain in effect during the time regis-
tration is inactive.  

(2) Each registrant shall document compliance with the con-
tinuing education requirement through attestation on the registration 
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renewal application. Registrants are subject to provisions of OAR 
331-150-0010 pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education.  

(3) Approved continuing education must be obtained by par-
ticipation in or attendance at a course provided by an accredited col-
lege or university, a course or program approved by the BOC or an 
agency pre-approved course or program. 

(4) Continuing education must address subject matter related to 
athletic training in accordance with ORS 688.701 through 688.734.  

(5) CE credit will be awarded based on the following criteria: 
(a) Completion and passing of academic courses related to ath-

letic training taken from an accredited college or university are 
awarded 15 hours for each semester-based credit earned, 14 hours 
for each trimester-based credit earned or 10 hours for each quarter-
based credit earned; and 

(b) Courses that do not meet standards as set forth in paragraph 
(a) of this subsection, such as workshops, symposiums, seminars, 
laboratory exercises, professional courses, or any applied experience 
with or without formal classroom work must be pre-approved by the 
agency or by BOC and may be assigned credit at the rate of one hour 
for each hour of attendance.  

(6) Registrants must complete two hours of continuing educa-
tion specifically on Concussion and Traumatic Brain Injury once 
every three years.  

(7) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing edu-
cation requirements must be maintained for a period of three years 
following renewal, and must be available to the agency upon request. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-150-0010 
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and 
Sanctions  

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a percent-
age of registrants, as determined by the Board, to verify compliance 
with continuing education requirements of this rule.  

(2) Registrants notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days 
from the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence 
of participation in required continuing education in accordance with 
OAR 331-150-0005.  

(3) If selected for audit, the registrant must provide documen-
tation of the required continuing education, which must include:  

(a) For courses provided by an accredited college or universi-
ty — A course syllabus and an official transcript from the accredit-
ed college or university;  

(b) For BOC approved programs or courses — A certificate of 
completion that includes the BOC approval number; or  

(c) For agency pre-approved programs or courses — A certifi-
cate of completion or other agency approved documentation that 
includes the agency pre-approval number.  

 (4) If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the 
registrant has an additional 30 calendar days from the date of notice 
of incompleteness to submit further documentation to substantiate 
having completed the required continuing education.  

(5) Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall con-
stitute grounds for disciplinary action, which may include, but is not 
limited to, assessment of a civil penalty and suspension or revoca-
tion of registration. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

DIVISION 160 

PRACTICE STANDARDS 

331-160-0005 
Scope of Practice 

The scope of practice of athletic training by a registered athletic 
trainer shall consist of the following: 

(1) The education, instruction, application and monitoring of 
facts and circumstances required to protect the athlete from athlet-
ic injury, including but not limited to: 

(a) The identification, through physical examinations or 
screening processes, of conditions that may pose a risk of injury, ill-
ness or disease to an athlete. 

(b) The supervision and maintenance of athletic equipment to 
assure safety. 

(2) The recognition, evaluation and care of injuries and illness 
occurring during athletic events or in the practice for athletic events 
including but not limited to the following; 

(a) Performance of strength testing using mechanical devices or 
other standard techniques; 

(b) Application of tape, braces and protective devices to prevent 
or treat injury; 

(c) Administration of standard techniques of first aid; 
(d) Use of emergency care equipment to aid the injured athlete 

by facilitating safe transportation to an appropriate medical facility;  
(e) Determination of the level of functional capacity of an 

injured athlete in order to establish the extent of an injury; and 
(f) Determination of the level of functional capacity of an 

injured or ill athlete to participate. 
(3) The gathering and accurate recording of all information 

required in the assessment of athletic injuries. 
(4) The development and implementation of an appropriate 

course of rehabilitation or reconditioning by the use of therapeutic 
modalities, including but not limited to: water, cold, heat, electrical, 
mechanical and acoustical devices, massage, manual techniques, gait 
training exercise, and physical capacity functional programs which 
are determined to be needed to facilitate recovery, restore athletic 
function or performance; 

(5) Dispensation of non-prescription medication and application 
of topical non-prescription medication; 

(6) The determination and implementation of a plan for appro-
priate health care administration. 

(7) Referral of an athlete to appropriate health care provider as 
needed. 

(8) Organization of a medical care service delivery system for 
athletes when needed. 

(9) Establishment of plans to manage an athlete’s medical emer-
gencies; 

(10) The education or providing of athletic training guidance to 
athletes for the purpose of facilitating recovery, function and per-
formance of the athlete. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-160-0010 
Standards of Practice  

Athletic trainers shall adhere to the following standards of pro-
fessional conduct:  

(1) Physician Collaboration: Athletic trainers are required to 
collaborate with a physician in the treatment of an athletic injury as 
provided in OAR 331-160-0015.  

(2) Registered Athletic Trainers shall be responsible for the con-
duct and performance of student assistants under their supervision.  

(3) Documentation: All services are documented in writing by 
the Athletic Trainer and are part of the Athletic Trainer’s record for 
the athlete. The Athletic Trainer accepts responsibility for chrono-
logically recording details of the patient’s health status and treatment, 
signing and dating each entry.  

(4) The patient’s record shall include, but not be limited to: 
(a) Athlete’s name and any other identifying information; 
(b) Referral source, as applicable; 
(c) Initial and subsequent assessments; 
(d) Treatment plan, including methods used, results and plan 

revisions; 
(e) Documentation of discontinuation of treatment and final 

summary. 
(5) Records must be maintained for no less than seven years 

after discharge. All records are subject to review by the agency.  
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(6) All records must be legibly written or typed, dated and 
signed. 

(7) Confidentiality: Athletic trainers are required to maintain 
confidentiality in accordance with all applicable laws.  

(8) Initial Assessment: Prior to treatment, athletic trainers are 
required to assess the athlete’s status, history, and level of function-
ing.  

(9) Treatment Program Planning: The treatment program objec-
tives must include goals, expectations and measures to determine the 
effectiveness of the program.  

(10) Athletic trainers are required to observe the Occupational 
Safety and Health Act Blood Borne Pathogens Standards under 29 
CFR 1910:1030 when providing services.  

(11) Practicing athletic training or offering to perform services 
beyond the scope of practice permitted by law and defined in ORS 
688.701, is prohibited.  

(12) Performing services that have not been authorized by the 
athlete or the athlete’s legal representative is prohibited.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-160-0015 
Collaboration of Athletic Trainers and Physicians 

(1) “Collaboration” as used in this section means consultation, 
correspondence, or referral between an athletic trainer and a physi-
cian. Collaboration may be initiated by the athletic trainer or physi-
cian, and consists of oral or written communication between the par-
ties or an appropriate representative of the physician. “Collaboration” 
as used in OAR 331-160-0010 and this section, does not mean pro-
viding care on behalf of, jointly, or in concert with one another. 

(2) “Consultation” as used in this section means discussing or 
sharing information with another health care provider that is con-
sistent with the requirements of state and federal law regarding con-
fidentiality for the purposes of obtaining information or recom-
mendations for the provision of care to the athlete. 

(3) “Referral” as used in this section means directing the ath-
lete to other resources for purposes of care, treatment, assessment or 
intervention. 

(4) An athletic trainer must collaborate with a physician when 
the athletic injury is beyond the athletic trainer’s scope of practice 
or expertise, or in those instances where the injury is not respond-
ing to treatment.  

(5) The athletic trainer must appropriately record collaboration 
with a physician regarding an athlete or athletic injury in an accept-
able manner, such as notation on injury reports, medical records, or 
progress reports. 

(6) Nothing in this section or these rules shall be construed to 
prevent a physician from employing, directing, supervising, estab-
lishing protocols for, or otherwise assisting a registered athletic train-
er in the practice of athletic training consistent with the scope of prac-
tice and professional standards of each practitioner. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720 
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

DIVISION 300 

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-300-0010  
Definitions  

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-300-0010 to 331-
350-0000: 

(1) “CBMT” means the Certification Board for Music Thera-
pists. 

(2) “Good standing” means no unresolved or outstanding dis-
ciplinary actions. 

(3) “Office” means the Health Licensing Office.  
(4) “NMTR” means the National Music Therapy Registry. 
Stat. Auth.: 2015 HB 2796 
Stats. Implemented: 2015 HB 2796 
Hist.: HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15 

331-300-0020 
Fees  

(1) An applicant or certificate holder is subject to the provisions 
of OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of 
fees, penalties and charges. 

(2) Fees established by the Health Licensing Office pursuant to 
ORS 676.592 are as follows: 

(a) Application: $150.  
(b) License: $50 – valid for one year.  
(c) Renewal: $50 – valid for one year.  
(d) Replacement: $25.  
(e) Late fee: $40 for each year of inactive status up to three 

years. 
(f) Affidavit of licensure, as defined in OAR 331-030-0040: 

$50.  
(g) Administrative fee: $25. 
Stat. Auth.: 2015 HB 2796 
Stats. Implemented: 2015 HB 2796 
Hist.: HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15 

DIVISION 310  

LICENSURE OF MUSIC THERAPISTS 

331-310-0020  
Application Requirements for Initial Licensure for Music 
Therapist 

(1) An individual applying for initial licensure as a music ther-
apist must: 

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30. 
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Office, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees.  

(c) Be at least 18 years old. 
(d) Arrange for official documentation to be mailed to the Office 

from the certifying organization proving that the applicant:  
(A) Successfully passed the CBMT examination in the two 

years before the application date, or  
(B) Possesses current CBMT certification, or  
(C) Possesses the professional designation of “registered music 

therapist,” “certified music therapist” or “advanced certified music 
therapist” from the NMTR.  

(e) Pay all licensing fees. 
(2) If an applicant is licensed or certified in another state, they 

must: 
(a) Be in good standing in every state in which they are licensed 

or certified, and 
(b) Ensure that the Office receives an affidavit of licensure pur-

suant to OAR 331-030-0040. 
Stat. Auth.: 2015 HB 2796 
Stats. Implemented: 2015 HB 2796 
Hist.: HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15 

331-310-0025  
Application Requirements for Reciprocity for Music Therapist 

An individual applying for reciprocity for music therapist 
licensing must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 Division 30. 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Office, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees.  

(3) Be at least 18 years old. 
(4) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-

0040, proving that the applicant is in good standing in every state in 
which they are licensed or certified.  

(5) Have a registration issued by another state or territory of the 
United States, and the requirements must be substantially equivalent 
to those in Oregon Laws 2015, Chapter 632. 

(6) Pay all license fees.  
Stat. Auth.: 2015 HB 2796 
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Stats. Implemented: 2015 HB 2796 
Hist.: HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15 

331-310-0030  
Licensure Issuance and Renewal 

(1) Licensure and renewal: A license is subject to the provisions 
of OAR Chapter 331, division 30 regarding the issuance and renew-
al of a license, provisions regarding authorization to practice, iden-
tification, and requirements for issuance of a duplicate license.  

(2) License renewal: To avoid delinquency penalties, a license 
must be renewed before the license becomes inactive as described 
in section (3) of this rule. The licensee must:  

(a) Submit a renewal application form;  
(b) Attest to having obtained the continuing education pursuant 

to 331-320-0010. 
(c) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 

331-030-0004, and 
(d) Pay the renewal fee pursuant to OAR 331-300-0020. 
(3) Inactive license renewal: A license becomes inactive if it is 

not renewed before its “active through” date. A license may be inac-
tive for up to three years, but an inactive license does not authorize 
its holder to practice music therapy or use the title or designation of 
“Music Therapist.” To renew an inactive license, the licensee must:  

(a) Submit a renewal application form;  
(b) Attest to having obtained the continuing education pursuant 

to OAR 331-320-0010; 
(c) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 

331-030-0004; and 
(d) Pay the delinquency and renewal fees pursuant to OAR 331-

300-0020.  
(4) Expired license: A license that has been inactive for more 

than three years is expired, and the licensee must reapply for licen-
sure and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-310-0020 or OAR 
331-310-0025. 

Stat. Auth.: 2015 HB 2796 
Stats. Implemented: 2015 HB 2796 
Hist.: HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15 

DIVISION 320 

CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR MUSIC THERAPISTS 

331-320-0010  
Continuing Education Requirements  

(1) To maintain licensure, a music therapist must complete a 
minimum of 10 CE credits every year. 

(2) CE credits obtained in excess of those required for the cur-
rent one-year reporting period may be carried forward for up to four 
years. However, no more than 40 annual excess CE credits may be 
carried forward.  

(3) Excess CE credits may not be used to reinstate an expired 
license.  

(4) Each licensee shall document compliance with the CE cred-
it requirement through attestation on the license renewal application. 
Licensees are subject to provisions of OAR 331-320-0020 pertain-
ing to periodic audit of CE.  

(5) Upon CE credit audit, the licensee must provide documen-
tation supporting all credits claimed and all excess credits carried for-
ward.  

(6) CE credits must address a subject matter related to music 
therapy practice.  

(7) CE credits will be awarded based on the following criteria:  
(a) Completion and passing of academic courses taken from an 

accredited college or university are awarded 15 CE credits for each 
semester-based credit earned, 14 CE credits for each trimester-based 
credit earned or 10 CE credits for each quarter-based credit earned;  

(b) Completion of professional courses that meet academic 
course requirements in content, instruction and evaluation will be 
assigned 15 CE credits for each semester-based credit earned, 14 CE 
credits for each trimester-based credit earned or 10 CE credits for 
each quarter-based credit earned;  

(c) Courses that do not meet standards as set forth in paragraphs 
(a) and (b) of this subsection, such as workshops, symposiums, sem-
inars, laboratory exercises, or any applied experience with or with-
out formal classroom work may be assigned credit at the rate of 1.0 
CE credit for each 50 minutes of attendance.  

(8) Documentation supporting compliance with CE require-
ments must be maintained for a period of two years following renew-
al and be available to the Office upon request.  

Stat. Auth.: 2015 HB 2796 
Stats. Implemented: 2015 HB 2796 
Hist.: HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15 

331-320-0020  
Continuing Education Audit  

(1) The Office will audit a percentage of licensees, as deter-
mined by the Office, to verify compliance with continuing education 
requirements of this rule.  

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation shall submit to the Office, within 30 calendar days 
of the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence of 
participation in required continuing education in accordance with 
OAR 331-150-0005.  

(3) If selected for audit, the registrant must provide documen-
tation of the required continuing education, which must include:  

(a) For courses provided by an accredited college or universi-
ty — a course syllabus and an official transcript from the accredit-
ed college or university;  

(b) For CBMT or NMTR approved programs or courses — a 
certificate of completion that includes the CBMT or NMTR approval 
number; or  

(c) For Office pre-approved programs or courses — a certifi-
cate of completion or other Office-approved documentation that 
includes the Office pre-approval number.  

(4) If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the 
registrant has an additional 30 calendar days from the date of notice 
of incompleteness to submit further documentation to substantiate 
having completed the required continuing education.  

(5) Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall con-
stitute grounds for disciplinary action, which may include, but is not 
limited to, assessment of a civil penalty and suspension or revoca-
tion of registration.  

Stat. Auth.: 2015 HB 2796 
Stats. Implemented: 2015 HB 2796 
Hist.: HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15 

DIVISION 330 

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE AND PROFESSIONAL 
RESPONSIBILITY 

331-330-0010 
Standards of Practice and Professional Responsibility  

(1) A licensed music therapist must: 
(a) Protect the confidentiality of information obtained in the 

course of practice, supervision, teaching or research. 
(b) Comply with all local, state and federal regulations con-

cerning the practice of music therapy. 
(c) Abide by the American Music Therapy Association 

(AMTA) Code of Ethics (Revised 11/14) and the AMTA Standards 
of Clinical Practice (revised 11/23/13). 

(2) A licensed music therapist must not: 
(a) Discriminate in professional relationships with colleagues 

and clients because of race, ethnicity, language, religion, marital sta-
tus, gender, gender identity of expression, sexual orientation, age, 
ability, socioeconomic status or political affiliation. 

(b) Use deceptive or misleading advertising or make guarantees 
that lead to false expectations. 

(c) Accept gratuities, gifts or favors that could interfere with 
decisions or judgment. 

(d) Take financial advantage of a client or a client’s family. 
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(3) Failure to comply with these standards may constitute 
unprofessional conduct, and that is subject to discipline under ORS 
676.612.  

Stat. Auth.: 2015 HB 2796 
Stats. Implemented: 2015 HB 2796 
Hist.: HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15 

DIVISION 340 

DISCIPLINE AND ENFORCEMENT  

331-340-0010  
Investigative Authority  

The Office may initiate and conduct investigations relating to 
the practice of music therapy pursuant to ORS 676.608, and may take 
appropriate disciplinary action in accordance with the provisions of 
676.612 and 676.992.  

Stat. Auth.: 2015 HB 2796 
Stats. Implemented: 2015 HB 2796 
Hist.: HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15 

DIVISION 405 

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-405-0020 
Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, divisions 
405 through 430:  

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” the meaning is set forth in OAR 
331-030-0040.  

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.  
(3) “Board” means the State Board of Denture Technology. 
(4) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor is immediately 

accessible and onsite at the business when denture technology ser-
vices are performed.  

(5) “High level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, which has 
demonstrated tuberculocidal activity and is registered with the Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency.  

(6) “Indirect supervision” means the supervisor is available by 
phone or by other means of electronic communication. The super-
visor must be able to reasonably oversee the work of the individual 
being supervised, and be available for questions and assistance when 
needed.  

(7) “Informed Consent” means the written consent obtained fol-
lowing a thorough and easily understood explanation to the patient, 
or patient’s guardian, of the proposed procedures, any available alter-
native procedures and any risks associated with the procedures. Fol-
lowing the explanation, the licensee must ask the patient, or the 
patient’s guardian, if there are any questions. The licensee must pro-
vide thorough and easily understood answers to questions asked.  

(8) “Official transcript” means an original document authorized 
by the appropriate office in the Oregon Department of Education and 
certified by a college, university or private career school indicating 
applicant identity information, hours and types of course work, 
examinations and scores that the student has completed. Original 
documents must be submitted directly to the Agency from the col-
lege, university or private career school by United States Postal Ser-
vice mail, or other recognized mail service providers, in a sealed 
envelope. 

(9) “1,000 hours of supervised clinical practice in denture tech-
nology” means engaging in clinical and laboratory training in den-
ture technology within an Agency approved education or work expe-
rience program. The program must include: 

(a) Clinical: a minimum of 400 hours in direct patient care in 
denture technology; and  

(b) Laboratory: construction of a minimum of 40 removable 
dentures, on 40 different patients. Each removable denture will be 
counted as one denture; an upper and a lower removable denture 
counts as two removable dentures. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565 

Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 12-
1981(Temp), f. & ef. 7-15-81; HD 1-1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1988, f. & cert. 
ef. 3-4-88; HD 25-1988 (Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 
6-1-89; HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-
1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0005; 
HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-
1-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. 
ef. 1-1-06; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

DIVISION 407 

EDUCATION  

331-407-0000 
Approved Education and 1,000 Hours of Clinical Practice 
Experience in Denture Technology  

(1) To be approved as an educational program with 1,000 hours 
equivalent educational program with 1,000 hours supervised clini-
cal practice in denture technology as defined under OAR 331-405-
0020 including private career schools, which is equivalent to an asso-
ciate’s degree, the provider of the educational program must submit 
documentation which meets the requirements of ORS 680.515(1)(a) 
and the Board’s approved Denture Technology Curriculum Objec-
tives which can be obtained on the Agency Website at 
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/DT/pages/index.aspx. This docu-
mentation must prove that the educational program has a minimum 
of 103 credits in quarter hours or equivalent hours in the following 
educational areas: 

(a) Orofacial Anatomy a minimum of 2 credits; 
(b) Dental Histology and Embryology a minimum of 2 credits; 
(c) Pharmacology a minimum of 3 credits; 
(d) Emergency Care or Medical Emergencies a minimum of 1 

credit; 
(e) Oral Pathology a minimum of 3 credits; 
(f) Pathology emphasizing in Periodontology a minimum of 2 

credits; 
(g) Dental Materials a minimum of 5 credits; 
(h) Professional Ethics and Jurisprudence a minimum of 1 cred-

it; 
(i) Geriatrics a minimum of 2 credits; 
(j) Microbiology and Infection Control a minimum of 4 cred-

its; 
(k) Clinical Denture Technology a minimum of 16 credits which 

may be counted towards 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice in 
denture technology defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9);  

(l) Laboratory Denture Technology a minimum of 37 credits 
which may be counted towards 1,000 hours supervised clinical prac-
tice in denture technology defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9);  

(m) Nutrition a minimum of 4 credits;  
(n) General Anatomy and Physiology minimum of 8 credits; 

and 
(o) General education and electives a minimum of 13 credits. 
(2) The provider of the educational program must also submit 

the following: 
(a) Documentation of the educational institution’s accreditation, 

if any; 
(b) Documentation from the Department of Education of any 

certification of the educational institution, if it is a private career 
school; 

(c) A list of the educational materials and books required for all 
of the courses listed in subsection (1) of this rule;  

(d) Lecture and lab hours required in the courses at the institu-
tion, as they equate to standard academic credit hours;  

(e) Any additional information or documentation requested by 
the Agency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515 
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 1-
1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 10-1989, f. & cert. 
ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. 
ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, 
cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0040; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. 
ef. 4-1-01; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 
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ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; Renumbered from 331-410-
0000, HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

DIVISION 410 

LICENSURE 

331-410-0012 
Denture Technology Supervisors  

(1) To be approved as a supervisor pursuant to ORS 680.510, 
680.515(1)(a) and 680.515(1)(c) an individual must: 

(a) Hold a valid dentist license under ORS 679 or valid denturist 
license under ORS 680 and OAR 331-410-0030;  

(b) Hold an oral pathology endorsement if supervisor is a den-
turist licensed under ORS 680 and OAR 331-410-0030; and 

(c) Have no current or pending disciplinary action imposed by 
the Agency or other regulatory body;  

(d) Submit proof of having been actively practicing denture 
technology for at least three years prior to requesting approval as a 
supervisor;  

(e) Submit a completed request for approval on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency. 

(2) An approved supervisor may not supervise until all required 
documentation has been completed and submitted to the Agency and 
the supervisor has received Agency approval. 

(3) An approved supervisor may supervise up to two individu-
als whether the individuals; 

(4) An approved supervisor must provide direct supervision 
defined under OAR 331-405-0020(4) when direct patient care is 
being provided as listed in ORS 680.500(3)(b). The supervisor is 
responsible for guiding and monitoring the performance of the indi-
vidual being supervised.  

(5) An approved supervisor may provide indirect supervision 
defined under OAR 331-405-0020(6) when laboratory services are 
being performed as listed under ORS 680.500(3)(a).  

(6) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing 
within 10 calendar days if an individual is no longer being super-
vised, and must provide the number of hours of training completed 
on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(7) An approved supervisor must obtain signed informed con-
sent from all patients before an individual obtaining training per-
forms services on the patient. 

(8) An approved supervisor must ensure that an individual 
obtaining training is clearly identified to patients. 

(9) An approved supervisor must exercise management, guid-
ance, and control over the activities of an individual obtaining train-
ing and must exercise professional judgment and be responsible for 
all matters related to the practice of denture technology.  

(10) An approved supervisor must maintain training docu-
mentation, including documentation with handwritten signature of 
the supervisor and supervisor’s license number. Training documen-
tation must be kept on the business premises for a minimum of two 
years. 

(11) An approved supervisor must adhere to all practice stan-
dards listed in OAR 331 division 420.  

(12) An approved supervisor may only provide two years of 
direct supervision to each individual obtaining training pursuant to 
ORS 680.510(3). 

(13) Agency approval of a supervisor may be withdrawn if the 
supervisor provides incomplete or inadequate training during 
supervision or falsifies documentation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515 
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-410-0015  
Denture Technology Temporary License 

(1) A denture technology temporary license authorizes the hold-
er to temporarily practice denture technology pursuant to ORS 
680.515 following completion of an Associate’s degree or equiva-
lent education in denture technology and 1,000 hours of supervised 
clinical practice in denture technology listed in ORS 680.515 and 

defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9) while under supervision of a 
supervisor approved under OAR 331-410-0012.  

(2) A denture technology temporary license is valid for one year 
and may be renewed one time.  

(3) A denture technology temporary licensee may work under 
indirect supervision as defined under OAR 331-405-0020(6).  

(4) A denture technology temporary license holder must noti-
fy the Agency within 10 calendar days of changes in employment sta-
tus or changes in supervisor status.  

(5) A denture technology temporary license is invalid after pas-
sage of the written and practical examination.  

(6) A denture technology temporary license holder who changes 
supervisors more than three times must receive approval from the 
Board prior to making a fourth or subsequent change. 

(7) A denture technology temporary license holder must adhere 
to all practice standards listed in OAR 331 Division 420.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-410-0020 
Application Requirements for Denture Technology Temporary 
License  

An applicant for a denture technology temporary license must: 
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR chapter 331 Division 30;  
(2) In addition to requirements listed in subsections (1), an 

applicant must provide documentation of one of the following path-
ways: 

(a) License Pathway 1 — Qualification through Associate’s 
Degree Program or equivalent education with 1,000 hours supervised 
clinical practice in denture technology within the education program. 
The applicant must submit: 

(A) Official transcript, as defined in OAR 331-405-0020, 
demonstrating completion of an Agency approved Associate’s degree 
in denture technology or equivalent education listed under OAR 331-
407-0000. The official transcript must document completion of 1,000 
hours supervised clinical practice defined under OAR 331-405-
0020(9);  

(B) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved 
written examination within two years before the date of application. 

(C) Supervisor information on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy.  

(b) License Pathway 2 — Qualification through Associate’s 
Degree Program or equivalent education with 1,000 hours supervised 
clinical practice in denture technology under an approved supervi-
sor. The applicant must submit: 

(A) Official transcript, as defined in OAR 331-405-0020, 
demonstrating completion of an Agency approved Associate’s degree 
in denture technology or equivalent education listed under OAR 331-
407-0000;  

(B) Documentation of 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice 
defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9) under an approved supervisor 
pursuant to OAR 331-410-0012 on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy; 

(C) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved 
written examination within two years before the date of application; 
and 

(D) Supervisor information on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 25-
1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 10-1989, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, 
f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, 
f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0015; HDLP 1-2001, f. 
3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, 
f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; HLA 10-
2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 
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331-410-0025 
Denture Technology Supervisor for a Denture Technology 
Temporary Licensee  

(1) To be approved as a supervisor pursuant to ORS 680.515 of 
a denture technology temporary licensee under 331-410-0015, an 
individual must: 

(a) Hold a valid dentist license under ORS 679 or valid denturist 
license under ORS 680 and OAR 331-410-0030;  

(b) Have no current or pending disciplinary action imposed by 
the Agency or other regulatory body;  

(c) Submit proof of having been actively practicing denture 
technology for at least three years prior to requesting approval as a 
supervisor;  

(d) Hold an oral pathology endorsement if supervisor is a den-
turist licensed under ORS 680 and OAR 331-410-0030; and 

(e) Submit a completed request for approval on forms pre-
scribed by the Agency. 

(2) A supervisor may not supervise a denture technology tem-
porary licensee until all required documentation has been complet-
ed and submitted to the Agency and the supervisor has received 
Agency approval. 

(3) A supervisor may supervise up to two individuals whether 
the individuals are denture technology trainees or denture technol-
ogy temporary licensees;  

(4) An approved supervisor of a denture technology temporary 
licensee may provide indirect supervision defined under OAR 331-
405-0020 when direct patient care is being provided as listed in ORS 
680.500(3)(b) or when laboratory services are performed as listed 
under ORS 680.500(3)(a).  

(5) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing 
within 10 calendar days if a denture technology temporary licensee 
is no longer being supervised, and must provide the number of hours 
of training completed on a form prescribed by the Agency.  

(6) An approved supervisor must obtain signed informed con-
sent from all patients before a denture technology temporary licensee 
performs services on the patient. 

(7) An approved supervisor must ensure that all denture tech-
nology trainees are clearly identified to patients. 

(8) A designated supervisor must exercise management, guid-
ance, and control over the activities of the temporary licensee and 
must exercise professional judgment and be responsible for all mat-
ters related to the temporary licensees practice of denture technolo-
gy.  

(9) The supervisor must maintain training documentation on the 
business premises for a minimum of two years. 

(10) Agency approval of a supervisor may be withdrawn if the 
supervisor provides incomplete or inadequate training during 
supervision or falsifies documentation. 

(11) An approved supervisor must adhere to all practice stan-
dards listed in OAR 331 division 420.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-410-0030 
Denture Technology License  

(1) A denture technology license holder, licensed under ORS 
680.505, may practice denture technology defined under ORS 
680.500.  

(2) A denture technology license is good for one year, and is eli-
gible for renewal. The denture technology license becomes inactive 
on the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance. 

(3) A licensed denturist must adhere to all practice standards 
listed in OAR 331 division 420.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.520 & 680.565  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.520 & 680.565  
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 1-
1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 25-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-
93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 
333-020-0030; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HDLP 5-2001, f. & cert. 
ef. 12-14-01; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, 

cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; HLA 10-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-410-0035 
Application Requirements for Denture Technology Licensure 

An individual applying for a license in denture technology 
must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 Division 30. 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of all required fees.  

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsections (1) and (2) 
of this rule, an applicant must provide documentation of one of the 
following pathways: 

(a) License Pathway 1 – Qualification through Associate’s 
Degree Program or equivalent education with 1,000 hours supervised 
clinical practice in denture technology within the education program. 
The applicant must submit: 

(A) Official transcript, as defined in OAR 331-405-0020, 
demonstrating completion of an Agency approved Associate’s degree 
in denture technology or equivalent education listed under OAR 331-
407-0000. The official transcript must document completion of 1,000 
hours supervised clinical practice defined under OAR 331-405-
0020(9);  

(B) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved 
practical examination within two years before the date of application; 
and 

(C) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved 
written examination within two years before the date of application. 

(D) An applicant is not required to provide official transcript or 
proof of having completed and passed a Board approved written 
examination if the applicant obtained a denture technology tempo-
rary license within two years from the date of application for a full 
denture technology license. 

(b) License Pathway 2 – Qualification through Associate’s 
Degree Program or equivalent education with 1,000 hours supervised 
clinical practice in denture technology under an approved supervi-
sor. The applicant must submit: 

(A) Official transcript, as defined in OAR 331-405-0020, 
demonstrating completion of an Agency approved Associate’s degree 
in denture technology or equivalent education listed under OAR 331-
407-0000;  

(B) Documentation of 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice 
defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9) under an approved supervisor 
pursuant to on a form prescribed by the Agency.  

(C) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved 
practical examination within two years before the date of application;  

(D) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved 
written examination within two years before the date of application; 
and 

(D) An applicant is not required to provide official transcript, 
documentation of 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice under an 
approved supervisor or proof of having completed and passed a 
Board approved written examination if the applicant obtained a den-
ture technology temporary license within two years from the date of 
application for a full denture technology license. 

(c) License Pathway 3 — Reciprocity. The applicant must sub-
mit: 

(A) Official transcript or transcripts as defined in OAR 331-
405-0020 demonstrating completion of qualifying Associate’s 
degree or equivalent education, as described in OAR 331-410-0010;  

(B) An affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-405-0020(1), 
demonstrating proof of current licensure as a denturist, which is 
active with no current or pending disciplinary action. The license 
must have been issued by a another state, the District of Columbia, 
a United States Territory, or Canada, and that jurisdiction’s dentur-
ist licensing standards must be substantially equivalent to those of 
Oregon, as determined by the Agency; 

(C) Documentation of having successfully passed both written 
and practical denturist examinations, which are substantially equiv-
alent to those required for licensure in Oregon, as determined by the 
Agency; 
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(D) Documentation of having engaged in full-time denturist 
practice in the applicant’s reciprocal licensure jurisdiction for at least 
two years immediately before the date of application for licensure in 
Oregon, on a from prescribed by the Agency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-410-0045 
Examination Information 

(1) The Oregon licensing examination consists a written and a 
practical examination. A list of Board approved written and practi-
cal examinations can be accessed on the Agency Website at 
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/DT/pages/index.aspx. 

(2) The written examination is comprised of multiple-choice 
questions covering subject areas specified in ORS 680.515(1)(a) and 
questions on the Oregon laws and rules regulating the practice of 
denture technology. 

(3) The practical examination requires the applicant to demon-
strate skills required to practice denture technology, including but not 
limited to: final impression and model and trial dentures.  

(4) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet iden-
tification requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000. 

(5) The examination is administered in English only, unless an 
Agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the exami-
nation in languages other than English.  

(6) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored 
during the course of testing.  

(7) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time 
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the 
Agency.  

(8) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the examination 
area is prohibited.  

(9) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as 
personal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other 
devices deemed inappropriate by the Agency, are prohibited in the 
examination area.  

(10) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination 
may result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the 
examination, the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and 
forfeiture of the candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct 
includes but is not limited to: 

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and 
attempting to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination pro-
cess; 

(b) Violations of subsections (8) or (9) of this rule; 
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-relat-

ed information, notes or materials from the examination site; 
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the 

examination; and 
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the 

examination. 
(11) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examina-

tion or the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons 
under subsection (10) of this rule, the candidate may be required to 
reapply, submit additional examination fees, and request in writing 
to schedule a new examination date, before being considered for 
another examination opportunity.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-410-0050 
Qualification and Requirements for Practical Examination 

(1) To be qualified to take the board approved practical exam-
ination the individual must submit official transcripts and docu-
mentation of 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice listed in OAR 
331-410-0035(3)(a);  

(2) To be scheduled to take the board approved practical exam-
ination, applicants must submit a form prescribed by the Agency and 
pay required fees at least 60 calendar days prior to the examination 
date.  

(3) A practical examination candidate must provide the fol-
lowing at the time of practical examination:  

(a) Government issued photographic identification listed 
under OAR 331-030-0000 proving that the practical examination 
candidate is the individual scheduled to take the practical examina-
tion;  

(b) Government issued identification proving the patient is 18 
years of age. See identification options under ORS 331-030-0000;  

(c) An oral health certificate for the patient signed by a dentist 
, physician, nurse practitioner or a licensed denturist with the oral 
pathology endorsement, within 30 days of the practical examination, 
stating the patient’s oral cavity is substantially free from disease and 
mechanically sufficient to receive a denture; and  

(d) Agency prescribed practical examination candidate and 
patient forms.  

(4) The patient must be completely edentulous;  
(5) If a patient does not speak English the candidate for prac-

tical examination must ensure an interpreter is available for exami-
nation proctors to communicate with patient. The interpreter is pro-
hibited from being the practical examination candidate. Any costs 
incurred for interpreter services are the responsibility of the practi-
cal examination candidate.  

(6) A practical examination candidate may be disqualified from 
taking the practical examination if any requirements of this rule are 
not met. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.520 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.520 & 680.565 
Hist.: HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. 
ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-13; HLA 4-2014(Temp), f. & cert ef. 7-1-14 thru 12-28-14; HLA 7-2014, f. 
& cert. ef. 12-1-14 

331-410-0055 
Written Examination Retake Requirements 

(1) Failed sections of the written examination may be retaken 
as follows: 

(a) After first failed attempt — applicant may not retake until 
the Agency’s next business day;  

(b) After second failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven business days;  

(c) After third failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 
business days, must pay all additional fees and submit documenta-
tion showing completion of additional theory and laboratory train-
ing hours in denture technology in accordance with the percentage 
of questions failed in each domain under an approved supervisor pur-
suant to OAR 331-410-0012.  

(d) After fourth failed attempt — applicant may not retake until 
the Agency’s next business day;  

(e) After fifth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven business days;  

(f) After sixth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 
business days, must pay all additional fees and submit documenta-
tion showing completion of additional theory and laboratory train-
ing hours in denture technology in accordance with the percentage 
of questions failed in each domain under an approved supervisor pur-
suant to OAR 331-410-0012.  

(g) After seventh failed attempt — ability to retake, require-
ments for retake, or both will be determined by the Board on a case-
by-case basis.  

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must meet the require-
ments under OAR 331-030-0000.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565 
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-410-0060 
Practical Examination Retake Requirements  

(1) Pursuant to ORS 680.515(1)(c) an applicant failing the fol-
lowing portions of the practical examination must obtain the fol-
lowing additional clinical and laboratory training hours within two 
years from the date of the failed practical examination:  
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(a) Final impression and model: 50 hours of direct patient care 
and laboratory training consisting of production of 10 removable 
dentures; 

(b) Trial denture centric relation: 150 hours in direct patient care 
and laboratory training consisting of production of 16 removable 
dentures;  

(c) Trial dentures vertical relation: 150 hours in direct patient 
care laboratory training consisting of production of 16 removable 
dentures; 

NOTE: Each removable denture will be counted as one denture; an upper 
and a lower removable denture counts as two removable dentures. 
(2) An applicant failing any portion of the practical examina-

tion must apply and qualify for a temporary denture technology 
license under OAR 331-410-0015 and 331-410-0020 before com-
mencing direct patient care;  

(3) An applicant must submit documentation approved by the 
Agency upon completion of additional clinical and laboratory train-
ing hours pursuant to ORS 680.515(1)(c). Upon Agency approval of 
additional training an applicant may be scheduled to take the prac-
tical examination at a date and time approved by the Board.  

(4) An applicant applying to retake the practical examination 
must meet the requirements of 331-410-0050. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565  
Hist.: HD 25-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-
89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; 
HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-
1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0032; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-
01; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 
7-1-04HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-410-0065 
License Renewal 

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, 
Division 30 regarding the renewal of a license, and provisions 
regarding authorization to practice, identification, and requirements 
for issuance of a duplicate license.  

(2) License renewal under this rule is valid for one year.  
(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, 

license renewal must be made prior to the license entering inactive 
status. The licensee must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to OAR 331-440-

0000; and 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required continuing educa-

tion under OAR 331-415-0010, on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy, whether license is current or inactive. 

(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A license may be inac-
tive for up to three years. A licensee who is inactive is not authorized 
to practice. When renewing after entering inactive status, the licensee 
must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 

331-440-0000; and 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required continuing educa-

tion under OAR 331-415-0010, on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy, whether license is current or inactive; 

(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: A license that has been inactive for 
more than three years is expired and the licensee must reapply for 
licensure and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-410-0035. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565  
Hist.: HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 
7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-410-0080 
Oral Pathology and Oral Health Certificate  

(1) Denturists licensed prior to January 1, 2004, who have not 
received an oral pathology endorsement as described in ORS 
680.545, may not treat any person without first obtaining a valid Oral 
Health Certificate for the person, signed by a licensed dentist, physi-
cian or nurse practitioner stating the person’s oral cavity is substan-
tially free from disease and mechanically sufficient to receive a den-

ture. The examination of the oral cavity must have taken place with-
in 30 days of the date of commencing treatment. 

(2) For the purpose of this rule “Oral Pathology” means the pre-
cise study and diagnosis of disease including pathogenesis, mor-
phologic changes and clinical manifestations of the mouth (the first 
portion of the alimentary canal that receives food and saliva).  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.545  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.545 
Hist.: HD 12-1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-29-80; HD 6-1981, f. & ef. 4-3-81; HD 4-
1988, f. & cert. ef. 3-4-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. 
ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, 
cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0055; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. 
ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-13 

331-410-0090 
License Display and Identification 

(1) A licensee must show proof of valid license to the Agency 
upon request. 

(2) A licensee may obtain up to a maximum of three duplicate 
licenses if the licensee provides denture technology services in mul-
tiple locations.  

(3) A licensee must post the license document or duplicate 
license document in public view where denture technology services 
are being performed. 

(4) A licensee may temporarily conceal the address printed on 
the license document with a covering that is removable.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565 
Hist.: HD 12-1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-29-80; HD 6-1981, f. & ef. 4-3-81; HD 22-
1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; 
HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0060; HLO 
2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

DIVISION 415 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

331-415-0010 
Continuing Education Requirements 

(1) To maintain licensure, a denturist must complete a minimum 
of 10 hours of continuing education every year.  

(2) A licensee must document compliance with the continuing 
education requirement through attestation on the license renewal 
application. A licensee is subject to provisions of OAR 331-415-0020 
pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education.  

(3) Continuing education must be obtained by participation in 
or attendance at a course provided by an institution of higher edu-
cation accredited by the Northwest Association of Accredited 
Schools, the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, 
or the State Board of Higher Education, a course or program 
approved by the Oregon State Denturist Association, or the Nation-
al Denturist Association, or other professional organizations or asso-
ciations which conduct educational meetings, workshops, sympo-
siums, and seminars where CEU credit is offered and where subject 
matter meets the requirements under subsection (4) of this rule. 

(4) Continuing education must address subject matter related 
specifically to denture technology as set forth in ORS 680.515(1)(a), 
the rules regulating licensed denturists, related dental practices, 
health care professional concerns such as infection control or med-
ical emergencies, ethics, and business practices.  

(5) Continuing education may include teaching a course spon-
sored by a CE provider listed in subsection (3) of this rule and where 
the subject matter meets the requirements under subsection (4) of this 
rule (provided that no more than half the required hours be in teach-
ing). 

(6) Proof of participation in required continuing education is the 
responsibility of the denturist, to ensure that adequate proof of com-
pletion of required continuing education is available for audit or 
investigation by the Agency. 

(7) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing edu-
cation requirements must be maintained for a period of two years fol-
lowing renewal, and must be available to the Agency upon request. 
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(8) A licensee may carry up to 10 continuing education hours 
forward to the next renewal cycle. 

(9) For the purpose of this rule continuing education hours mean 
actual academic, classroom, or course work time, including but not 
limited to workshops, symposiums, or seminars. Continuing educa-
tion hours do not include travel time to or from the training site, reg-
istration or check-in periods, breaks or lunch periods.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 680.530 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 680.530 & 680.565 
Hist.: HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991 (Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-
30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-
1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0041; 
HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-
1-04; HLA 5-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-
1-13 

331-415-0020 
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and 
Sanctions 

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a select per-
centage of licensee records determined by the Board to verify com-
pliance with continuing education requirements.  

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation must submit to the Agency, within 30 calendar days 
from the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence 
of participation in required continuing education in accordance with 
OAR 331-415-0010.  

(3) Successful completion of the required continuing education 
will be determined based on satisfactory evidence submitted to the 
Agency at the time of audit, which must include the following: 

(a) Name of continuing education sponsor/provider; 
(b) Course agenda — including the date of the training and 

breakdown of hours for each agenda item, lunch and breaks; 
(c) Course outline — including a detailed summary of each 

topic discussed and the learning objective or training goal of each 
agenda item; 

(d) Course content — including identification of the direct rela-
tionship between the course training and subject matter related to 
denture technology as set forth in ORS 680.515(1)(a) and OAR 331-
415-0010(4); 

(e) Background resume of speakers or instructors; and 
(f) Documentation of attendance or successful course comple-

tion (eg, certificate, transcript, sponsor statement or affidavit attest-
ing to attendance, diploma, etc). 

(4) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or 
incomplete, the licensee has 30 calendar days from the date of the 
deficiency notice to correct the deficiency and submit further doc-
umentation to substantiate having completed the required continu-
ing education.  

(5) Misrepresentation of continuing education or failing to meet 
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in 
disciplinary action, which may include but is not limited to assess-
ment of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565 
Hist.: HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. 
ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-13 

DIVISION 420 

PRACTICE STANDARDS 

331-420-0000 
Practice Standards 

Licensed denturists must adhere to the following practice stan-
dards:  

(1) Oral Health Certificate. Denturists must either have an oral 
pathology endorsement on their license, or if they have not qualified 
for and received the endorsement, must comply with requirements 
for obtaining an Oral Health Certificate as described in ORS 680.545 
and OAR 331-410-0080.  

(2) Patient Record. A licensed denturist must record, update and 
maintain documentation for each patient relevant to health history, 
clinical examinations and treatment, and financial data. Documen-
tation must be written or computerized. Records must include but are 
not limited to the following: 

(a) Patient data, including name, address, date and description 
of examination;  

(b) Evidence of informed consent (may be in the form of an 
acronym such as “PARQ” to denote procedure, alternatives, risks and 
questions);  

(c) Date and description of treatment or services rendered, and 
any treatment complications;  

(d) Health history as applicable; and  
(e) Any other information deemed appropriate to patient care.  
(3) Clinical Examination. Licensed denturists must conduct and 

record a clinical examination of each patient that will include at a 
minimum, information relative to:  

(a) Appearance of gingiva, oral mucosal membranes, pharynx, 
tongue and all other oral soft tissue; and  

(b) Oral conditions that may affect successful denture con-
struction and use.  

(4) Record Retention. Patient documentation, written or 
archived electronically by computer, must be retained for a minimum 
of seven years and available upon request by the Agency.  

(5) Minimum Standards of Acceptable Patient Care. Licensees 
must adhere to the following practice standards in rendering accept-
able patient care:  

(a) Maintain accurate patient records;  
(b) Seek consultation/referral if indicated;  
(c) Make accurate representation to the patient on services pro-

vided;  
(d) Provide or arrange for continuity of care or emergency treat-

ment for a patient currently receiving treatment;  
(e) Adhere to current denture technology practices and stan-

dards including use of materials;  
(f) Adhere to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention infec-

tion control standards and practices;  
(g) Wash hands using a germicidal or antiseptic soap and water 

before and after every patient;  
(h) Wear disposable gloves when coming in direct contact with 

a patient or when handling instruments or equipment contaminated 
with blood or other potentially infectious materials.  

(i) Use new gloves before performing procedures on each 
patient.  

(6) A denturist providing teeth whitening trays to patients must 
provide the patient with written and verbal information related to 
teeth whitening trays and teeth whitening solutions including the pro-
cedure, alternatives, risks and questions which is prescribed by the 
Agency. The denturist must obtain patient consent for the procedure 
described in this rule and retain in patient record. The Agency pre-
scribed information and informed consent for teeth whitening trays 
and solutions can be accessed on the Agency Website at 
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/DT/pages/index.aspx 

(7) A denturist is prohibited from providing patients prescrip-
tion strength teeth whitening solutions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565 
Hist.: HD 4-1988, f. & cert. ef. 3-4-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 13-
1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92, Subsections 
(9)(a) through (h) renumbered to 333-020-0090 and 333-020-0100; HD 22-1993, 
f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renum-
bered from 333-020-0085; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO 2-2004, 
f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-420-0010 
Practice Standards for Business Premises 

(1) A licensed denturist must:  
(a) Ensure all areas of the business premises where denture 

technology is practiced are kept clean and in good repair;  
(b) Have a sterilization area, where cleaning and sterilization of 

reusable instruments is performed, separated from public areas, ser-
vice areas and restrooms;  
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(c) Maintain washing accommodations in a clean and sanitary 
condition;  

(d) Ensure all floors, walls and procedure surfaces where ser-
vices are provided including counters, tables, and chairs are easily 
cleanable, non-absorbent and non-porous;  

(e) Ensure pets or other animals are not permitted in the busi-
ness facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals rec-
ognized by the American with Disabilities Act;  

(f) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at ade-
quate strengths according to manufacturer’s instructions to maintain 
effectiveness, be free of foreign material and be available for imme-
diate use at all times the business is open;  

(g) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the 
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufac-
turer’s intended use of the device by the FDA;  

(h) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers;  
(i) Ensure all waste material contaminated with blood or other 

potentially infectious materials, with exception of sharps, are deposit-
ed in a covered container following service for each patient; and  

(j) Ensure all sharps are discarded in a sharps container which 
is a puncture-resistant, leak-proof container that can be closed for 
handling, storage, transportation, and disposal. The container must 
be labeled with the “Biohazard” symbol.  

(2) The licensee must comply with all applicable rules and reg-
ulations of the Agency and other federal, state, county and local agen-
cies. This includes the following:  

(a) Building, fire, plumbing and electrical codes, and with exit 
and fire standards established by the Oregon Building Codes Divi-
sion, and the Oregon Office of State Fire Marshal;  

(b) Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act as it appears in ORS 433.835 
through 433.875;  

(c) Occupational Safety and Health Act Blood Borne Pathogens 
Standards, Universal Precautions and Exposure Control Plan under 
29 CFR 1910.1030;  

(d) Oregon Safe Employment Act pursuant to ORS Chapter 654 
if an employee/employer relationship exists; and  

(e) All applicable Occupational Safety and Health Act standards 
if an employee/employer relationship exists.  

(f) All applicable recommendations from the Centers for Dis-
ease Control and Prevention including Guidelines for Infection Con-
trol in Dental Health Care Settings available at 
http://www.cdc.gov/oralhealth/Infectioncontrol/guidelines/index.htm
. 

(3) For the purpose of this rule “Sharps” means any object that 
can penetrate the skin, including but not limited to needles or scalpel 
blades.  

(4) A licensee must ensure all procedures performed are done 
in a manner to avoid cross contamination of blood borne pathogens. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.550 & 680.565  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.550 & 680.565 
Hist.: HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-
92, Renumbered from 333-020-0085(9)(a) through (h); HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, 
cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-
020-0090; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03 cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-13; HLA 6-2014, f. 9-30-14, cert. ef. 10-1-14 

DIVISION 430 

DISCIPLINE; CIVIL PENALTIES 

331-430-0000 
Disciplinary Action 

(1) The Health Licensing Office may refuse to issue, suspend 
or revoke a license, or place a licensed person on probation for the 
causes stated in ORS 680.535. 

(2) The agency shall have grounds for a determination of 
incompetency in the practice of denture technology pursuant to ORS 
680.535, upon evidence of the use of any controlled substance, dan-
gerous or illegal drug, intoxicating liquor, or any emotional or phys-
ical impairment of a denturist, to the extent that such use or condi-
tion impairs or prevents the denturists ability to perform competently. 

(3) The agency shall have grounds for a determination of fraud 
or misrepresentation in the practice of denture technology pursuant 
to ORS 680.535, upon evidence of any advertising statements of a 
nature that would deceive or mislead the public or that are untruth-
ful, such as: 

(a) Incorrect use of a title; or 
(b) Claiming or implying a qualification, competency or spe-

cialty in connection with the practice of denture technology to which 
the person is not entitled, or which is untrue. 

(4) The specific identification of grounds for disciplinary action 
stated in sections (2) and (3) of this rule are intended to be descrip-
tive of some, but not limited to, those causes for which disciplinary 
action may be taken as stated in ORS 680.535. 

(5) Failure to cooperate with the agency or its agent is consid-
ered unprofessional conduct and is subject to discipline, which may 
include license suspension, revocation and/or assessment of civil 
fines. Unprofessional conduct includes, but is not limited to, the fol-
lowing: 

(a) Failing to respond to an inquiry from the agency regarding 
a complaint; 

(b) Failing to provide information to the agency in response to 
a written inquiry, or provide written response within specified time 
allotted by notice of intended action;  

(c) Failing to temporarily surrender custody of original client 
records to the agency upon request, which includes treatment charts, 
models, health histories, billing documents, correspondence and 
memoranda;  

(d) Interference, use of threats or harassment which delays or 
obstructs any person in providing evidence in any investigation, con-
tested case, or other legal action instituted by the agency;  

(e) Interference, use of threats or harassment which obstructs 
or delays the agency in carrying out its functions under ORS 680.500 
to 680.535 and rules adopted thereunder; 

(f) Deceiving or attempting to deceive the Board or agency con-
cerning any matter under investigation including altering or 
destroying any records. 

(6) When the Health Licensing Office requires correction of 
deficiencies in lieu of the suspension, revocation or denial of license, 
the correction shall be made within the time frames established by 
the agency or the suspension, revocation or denial of license action 
will proceed. 

(7) Practicing denture technology while a license is in sus-
pended status is grounds for additional disciplinary action, which 
includes revocation and/or fines. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.530 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.535 & 680.565 
Hist.: HD 1-1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 13-
1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-
1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, 
Renumbered from 333-020-0075; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01 

331-430-0030 
Establishing Civil Penalty Amounts 

The Oregon Health Licensing Agency has adopted the follow-
ing presumptive penalty schedule for the first and second violations 
of the following laws and rules. The following schedule must apply 
except as the Agency otherwise determines in consideration of the 
factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For subsequent violations 
the provisions of OAR 331-020-0060 will apply.  

(1) Practicing or holding one’s self out as available to practice 
denture technology, or using the title denturist without a license or 
with an expired or suspended license is a violation of ORS 680.505 
and may incur a penalty of $5,000.  

(2) Licensed denturists who allow non-licensed persons to vio-
late ORS 680.505 are in violation of and ORS 676.612(i) and may 
incur a penalty of $5,000.  

(3) Violations of ORS 680.545 may incur a penalty of $2000.  
(4) Failing to notify the Agency within 30 days of a change in 

business related information or license status is a violation of OAR 
331-010-0040, and may incur a penalty of $200.  
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(5) Advertising in a manner, which would deceive or mislead 
the public or that is untruthful is a violation of ORS 676.612(2)(b), 
and may incur a penalty of $2,000.  

(6) Violations of the practice standards in Division 420 may 
incur a penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation.  

(7) Failing to meet minimum standards of acceptable patient 
care according to OAR 331-420-0000(5), as determined by the board 
may incur a penalty of $5,000.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565 & 680.572 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565 & 680.572 
Hist.: HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0120; 
HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-
1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

DIVISION 440 

FEES 

331-440-0000 
Fees 

(1) Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of 
OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of 
fees, penalties and charges.  

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency are 
as follows:  

(a) Application:  
(A) License: $350.  
(B) License by reciprocity: $450.  
(C) Temporary license: $50  
(b) Examination:  
(A) Oregon laws & rules: $50.  
(B) Written: $350.  
(C) Practical: $650.  
(c) Original issuance:  
(A) License: $350  
(B) Temporary license: $50  
(d) Renewal:  
(A) License: $350  
(B) Temporary license: $50  
(e) Delinquency fee: $40 for each year in an expired status, for 

up to three years.  
(f) Replacement of license, including name change: $25.  
(g) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum 

of three.  
(h) Affidavit of licensure: $50.  
(i) An additional $25 Administrative Processing fee will be 

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for pay-
ment of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.525 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.525 
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 11-
1981(Temp), f. & ef. 7-15-81; HD 9-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 5-24-85; HD 15-1985, 
f. & ef. 9-4-85; HD 25-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. 
ef. 6-1-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 
3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. 
ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0035; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 
4-1-01; HLO 3-2003, f. 5-6-03, cert. ef. 5-15-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 
ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; HLA 5-2008, f. 9-15-08, 
cert. ef. 10-1-08; Renumbered from 331-405-0030, HLA 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-
1-13; HLA 13-2013(Temp), f. 8-21-13, cert. ef. 8-23-13 thru 2-19-14; HLA 14-
2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 2-1-14; HLO 3-2015, f. 6-30-15, cert. ef. 7-8-15 

DIVISION 601 

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-601-0010 
Fees 

(1) Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of 
OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of 
fees, penalties and charges.  

(2) Fees established by the Health Licensing Office are as  
follows:  

(a) Application:  
(A) License: $125.  
(B) Temporary license: $150.  
(C) Trainee registration: $100.  
(b) Examination:  
(A) Oregon laws & rules: $50.  
(B) Written: $150.  
(C) Practical: $175.  
(D) Audiologist: $50.  
(c) Original issuance of license:  
(A) License: $125 for one year.  
(B) Temporary license: $100.  
(d) Renewal of license: $125 for one year.  
(e) Delinquent (late) renewal of license: $40 per year, up to 

three years. 
(f) Replacement of license, including name change: $25.  
(g) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum 

of three.  
(h) Affidavit of licensure: $50.  
(i) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be 

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for pay-
ment of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.155 & 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.155 & 694.185 
Hist.: HD 24-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 10-17-85; HD 33-1985, f. & ef. 12-13-85; HD 
8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 14-1990, f. 6-1-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; HD 17-
1990(Temp), f. 6-15-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; HD 21-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-3-
90; HD 22-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-90; HD 14-1991(Temp), f. 9-30-91, cert. ef. 
10-1-91; HD 21-1991, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-91; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 
12-15-97; OHD 9-1999, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-99; OHD 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 11-
15-00; Renumbered from 333-025-0005, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-
04; HLA 6-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; HLA 6-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
8-1-11 thru 1-28-12; HLA 12-2011, f. 10-14-11, cert. ef. 10-15-11; HLO 2-2015, 
f. 6-29-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15 

DIVISION 620 

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-620-0005  
Definitions  

(1) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.  
(2) “Assistive listening device” Assistive listening devices 

which are exempt from the provisions of ORS Chapter 694 are 
defined as products designed to solve one or more specific listening 
problems created by a hearing loss, and include personal or group lis-
tening devices, telephone listening devices, or alert/alarm systems. 
The primary difference between listening devices and hearing aids 
is that an assistive listening device is designed to assist in only one, 
or a few, listening environments, and is for temporary use only. A 
hearing aid is designed for use in a wide range of listening environ-
ments and is primarily for full time use. The following criteria shall 
be considered in categorizing an assistive listening device:  

(a) Personal Assistive Listening Device:  
(A) Is used for the assistance of only one person;  
(B) May be used either hardwired or wireless type;  
(C) May be adaptable to particular environments;  
(D) May not be fitted to an individual hearing loss;  
(E) May not be sold as a standard hearing aid;  
(F) May be an external option that will work with a hearing aid 

either through the telecoil or by direct audio input coupler built into 
a hearing aid.  

(b) Group Assistive Listening Device:  
(A) Includes infrared and FM systems and induction loop sys-

tems;  
(B) Includes auditory trainers that are classified as such by the 

FDA exemption for group auditory trainers (21 CFR 801.421(e));  
(C) May include telecaption decoders.  
(c) Telephone Devices for the Hearing Impaired:  
(A) Amplified handsets;  
(B) In-line amplifiers for modular telephones;  
(C) Receiver add-ons;  
(D) An external option that will work with a hearing aid.  
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(d) Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD):  
(A) Typically visually based;  
(B) TDD and Teletypewriter for the deaf (TTY) systems.  
(e) Alert/Alarm Systems:  
(A) Systems that use a form of visual or vibratory stimuli to 

alert an individual;  
(B) May be hardwired or use an acoustic pickup.  
(3) “Audiologist” means a person licensed under ORS 681 and 

who practices audiology as defined by that statute. 
(4) “CEU” means a continuing education unit and the numer-

ical value determined by the board to be earned by a renewal appli-
cant by attending a specified training course. The terms “continuing 
education credit” and “continuing education unit” are synonymous 
and may be used interchangeably. 

(5) “Consummation of sale” means when the purchaser takes 
delivery or possession of the hearing aid after agreeing to purchase 
the hearing aid. 

(6) “Continuing Education” means post-licensure education 
related specifically to hearing or hearing aid technology undertak-
en to maintain professional competency to practice as a hearing aid 
specialist, in the interest of safety, health and welfare of the people 
served.  

(7) “Demonstration instrument” means a hearing aid that has 
been worn by a prospective user as part of a bona fide hearing aid 
evaluation conducted in the presence of the hearing aid specialist. 

(8) “Delivery” means, as used in ORS 694.042, acceptance and 
possession of the hearing aids by the consumer, which starts the 30 
calendar day rescission right period. Hearing aids that have been out 
of the consumer’s possession for a period of 72 hours or more for any 
alternation or adjustment during the 30 calendar day rescission right 
period may restarts the 30 calendar day rescission right period if both 
parties agree to the extension in writing. Delivery includes: 

(a) The initial fitting and delivery of the hearing aid(s), which 
must be performed in person by a licensed hearing aid specialist, 
audiologist or physician pursuant to ORS 694.025(2) including the 
acceptance and possession of the hearing aid(s); and 

(b) The return of a hearing aid by the consumer to the special-
ist, which may be hand carried or mailed by certified mail to the offi-
cial place of business of the hearing aid specialist. 

(9) “Direct supervision” means a registered supervisor is pre-
sent in the facility for the purpose of supervising and is in view the 
procedures performed by a registered trainee, pursuant to OAR 331-
630-0030. 

(10) “Facility” means physical place of business where services 
defined in ORS 694.015(4) are conducted, including but not limit-
ed to all areas used by hearing aid specialist and client, i.e. testing 
location, waiting/reception area. 

(11) “Hearing aid” as defined in ORS 694.015(3) does not 
include assistive listening devices as defined in OAR 331-620-0005 
(2).  

(12) “Hearing aid specialist” means a person licensed pursuant 
to ORS 694.015 through 694.185. 

(13) “Purchase price” means: 
(a) The total amount paid or agreed to be paid by or on behalf 

of the consumer for the cost of the hearing aid(s); and 
(b) Professional fees charged for the actual fitting and sale of 

the hearing aid(s) including: 
(A) The evaluation or measurement of the powers or range of 

human hearing as they relate to hearing aid fitting; 
(B) Hearing aid evaluation; 
(C) Hearing aid consultation; 
(D) Hearing aid recommendation; 
(E) Hearing aid selection; 
(F) Hearing aid fitting and dispensing; 
(G) Adaptation of a hearing aid, if related to the original pur-

chase; 
(H) Counseling, if related to the original purchase and done by 

the person dealing in hearing aids and/or company, firm or facility 
involved in dispensing of the original hearing aid, and any other fees 
for service which are charged in regards to a hearing aid being fit-
ted as a therapeutic device; and 

(I) Ear impression and ear molds. 
(c) Professional fees charged for diagnostic testing for medical 

use when done by a physician or on a physician’s order shall be 
excluded from this definition of purchase price. 

(14) “Temporary licensee supervisor” means a person who has 
met the requirements of OAR 331-630-0015 and who supervises a 
temporary licensee who is working under the supervisor’s indirect 
supervision.  

(15) “Trainee” means a person who has met the requirements 
of ORS 694.065, has registered with the agency and is working under 
the direct supervision of a licensed hearing aid specialist to obtain 
the training and experience required for hearing aid specialist licen-
sure. 

(16) “Trainee supervisor” means a person who has met the 
requirements of OAR 331-630-0035 and who directly supervises a 
trainee working under the supervisor to obtain the training and expe-
rience required for hearing aid specialist licensure.  

[Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

DIVISION 630 

LICENSURE OF HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

331-630-0001 
Application Requirements 

An individual applying for a license must: 
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30. 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0001 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees.  

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsections (1) and (2) 
of this rule, an applicant must provide documentation of one of the 
following pathways: 

(a) Licensure Pathway 1 — Qualification through Trainee reg-
istration and examination. An applicant must submit: 

(A) A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or General 
Educational Development (GED) certificate;  

(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older; 
(C) Examination fees pursuant to OAR 331-640-0005; 
(D) Evidence that the applicant, pursuant to OAR 331-630-

0005, has qualified to take and has obtained a passing score on the 
Advisory Council on Hearing Aids (Council) Examination, the 
Council’s Oregon Laws Examination and the Council’s Oregon Prac-
tical Examination;  

(E) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of a license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

(b) Licensure Pathway 2 — Qualification through equivalency 
— American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Certification. 
Applicant must submit: 

(A) A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or General 
Educational Development (GED) certificate;  

(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older; 
(C) Official documentation of certification by the American 

Speech-Language-Hearing Association or evidence that the applicant 
has met the requirements of ORS 694.085;  

(D) A passing score on the Council’s Oregon Laws Examina-
tion;  

(E) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of a license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

(c) Licensure Pathway 3 — Qualification through equivalency 
— Degree equivalent to requirements for certification by National 
Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences. Applicant 
must submit: 

(A) A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or General 
Educational Development (GED) certificate;  

(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older; 
(C) Official transcript from a regionally accredited college or 

university demonstrating attainment of a degree sufficient to obtain 
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certification by National Board for Certification in Hearing Instru-
ment Sciences;  

(D) A passing score on the Council’s Oregon Laws Examina-
tion;  

(E) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

(d) Licensure Pathway 4 — Qualification through equivalency 
— other state certification. Applicant must submit: 

(A) A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or General 
Educational Development (GED) certificate;  

(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older; 
(C) Official documentation of certification (Affidavit of 

Licensure) by another state regulatory authority showing that the 
license was issued by another state or territory of the United States 
and the licensing requirements are at least equivalent to those in ORS 
694.065 and 694.085;  

(D) A passing score on the Council’s Oregon Laws Examina-
tion;  

(E) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0005  
Advisory Council on Hearing Aids Licensure Examination 
Requirements 

Before an individual seeking Council licensure can take the 
qualifying examination that individual must either: 

(1) Meet training and experience requirements pursuant to OAR 
331-630-0040; 

(2) Meet training requirements for licensure as an audiologist; 
(3) Meet training requirements for certification of a licensed 

physician by the American Board of Otolaryngology; or 
(4) Meet the requirements for certification by the National 

Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0011 
Temporary Licenses — Application and Issuance  

(1) A temporary license may be issued to an applicant who 
meets the application requirements of ORS 694.065(2) and OAR 
331-630-0001(1), (2) and (3)(a)(A), (B) and (C) following agency 
receipt of a completed application and evidence of training and the 
required fee(s). 

(2) The temporary license will be issued for a one-year period, 
expiring on the last day of the month one year from the date of 
issuance. 

(3) A temporary license holder must work under the indirect 
supervision of a supervisor as defined in OAR 331-620-0005(14). 
Indirect supervision means that the supervisor is not required to be 
on the premises with the person holding a temporary license under 
this rule while the temporary license holder performs procedures. 

(4) Attainment of permanent licensure status by satisfactorily 
passing the examination supersedes the temporary hearing aid spe-
cialist license. 

(5) A temporary license holder may change their designated 
supervisor if a new Declaration of Responsibility form is signed by 
the new supervisor and submitted with the application fee to the 
agency within five days of separation from the former designated 
supervisor.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0015 
Application for Registration as a Temporary Licensee 
Supervisor 

An individual applying for Temporary Licensee Supervisor reg-
istration must:  

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 

(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 
agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees. 

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsection (1) and (2) 
of this rule, a Temporary Licensee Supervisor must: 

(a) Hold a current Oregon hearing aid specialist license with no 
current or pending disciplinary action, and with no fines, fees, or civil 
penalties owing to the Agency; and 

(b) Have been licensed for at least three years. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0020 
Supervision of Temporary Hearing Aid Specialists 

(1) An individual acting as a designated supervisor for a tem-
porary licensee must sign and file with the agency a Declaration of 
Responsibility form prescribed by the agency, before supervising any 
temporary hearing aid specialist. The form must indicate the name 
of the supervising hearing aid specialist, place of business, telephone 
number, current license number, and the name, address, and license 
number of the temporary hearing aid specialist.  

(2) The testing, fitting, or selling of a hearing aid by a tempo-
rary hearing aid specialist shall be performed under the authority, 
control, and indirect supervision of the licensed hearing aid specialist 
designated as the supervisor.  

(3) The designated supervisor must review and approve the tem-
porary hearing aid specialist’s work before ordering the recom-
mended hearing aid(s).  

(4) A designated supervisor shall exercise management, guid-
ance, and control over the activities of the temporary hearing aid spe-
cialist; and shall exercise professional judgment and be responsible 
for all matters relative to the fitting and selling of a hearing aid.  

(5) Approval of a temporary hearing aid specialist’s work must 
be documented by the handwritten signature of the designated super-
visor, license number, and date of review placed adjacent to the tem-
porary hearing aid specialist’s signature on any audiogram, order 
form, and office copy of a statement to a prospective hearing aid pur-
chaser as required in ORS 694.036 and 694.042. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0025 
Application for Registration as a Trainee 

An individual applying for Trainee registration must:  
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0030 
Trainee Registration 

(1) A trainee, registered under ORS 694.065(1) may deal in 
hearing aids under the direct supervision of a designated supervisor 
except that a trainee may not fit or sell hearing aids.  

(2) The agency will authorize an Oregon licensed hearing aid 
specialist to act as designated supervisor of a trainee provided the 
licensee holds a valid license, has been actively practicing for at least 
three years, and has not had any disciplinary action or civil penalty 
imposed by the agency.  

(3) A licensed hearing aid specialist must not supervise more 
than four trainees at any one time.  

(4) A designated supervisor will not provide training as outlined 
in OAR 331-630-0040 until a trainee registration agreement and 
Declaration of Responsibility has been submitted to the agency. 

(5) A designated supervisor must notify the agency in writing 
within five calendar days if the trainee is no longer being supervised 
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and trained, and must provide a Certification of Training form to the 
agency showing the number of hours of training completed.  

(6) A designated supervisor’s authorization may be withdrawn 
for providing incomplete or inadequate training, falsifying docu-
mentation, or allowing the trainee to fit or sell hearing aids.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0035 
Application for Registration as a Trainee Supervisor 

An individual applying for a Trainee Supervisor registration 
must:  

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees. 

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsection (1) and (2) 
of this rule, a Trainee Supervisor must: 

(a) Hold a current Oregon hearing aid specialist license with no 
current or pending disciplinary action, and with no fines, fees, or civil 
penalties owing to the Agency;  

(b) Demonstrate completion of the IHS Distance Learning Pro-
gram for Professionals in Hearing Health Sciences, or demonstrate 
three or more years National Board Certification; and 

(c) Have been a licensed hearing aid specialist for at least four 
years. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0040 
Trainee Program 

(1) The Trainee program consists of both practical and theory 
training.  

(2) Practical training consists of 520 hours of training under the 
direct supervision of a Trainee Supervisor registered pursuant to 
OAR 331-630-0035 and must include: 

(a) 60 hours in audiometric testing; 
(b) 60 hours in counseling regarding hearing examination; 
(c) 60 hours in hearing aid selection; 
(d) 60 hours in ear-mold impressions; 
(e) 180 hours in hearing aid fitting and follow-up care; 
(f) 60 hours in business practices, including ethics and regula-

tions and sanitation and infection control; and 
(g) 40 hours in electives in any of the categories listed in sub-

sections a. through e. above. 
(3) Theory training consists of successful completion of the 

International Hearing Society’s Distance Learning Program for Pro-
fessionals in Hearing Health Sciences. 

(4) Training program materials can be reviewed at www.ore-
gon.gov/OHLA/  

(5) Trainees who register and are approved to commence their 
training program before the effective date of this rule may complete 
their training under the provisions of the rule that was in place at that 
time. The trainee must complete the training program within 180 
days following the effective date of this rule. A trainee failing to com-
plete the program within 180 days must reapply and, if accepted, 
must begin the program pursuant to provisions of this rule.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0050 
General Examination Information 

(1) The board approved examinations for a license include a 
written examination containing both a national section and a state-
specific section, and a practical examination.  

(2) To take the examinations, an applicant must meet identifi-
cation requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000. 

(3) The examination is administered in English only, unless an 
agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the exami-
nation in languages other than English.  

(4) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored 
during the course of testing.  

(5) The Board will establish a maximum time allowance for 
each section of the examination.  

(6) Notes, textbooks, notebooks, electronic equipment or com-
munication devices, such as personal computers, pagers and cellu-
lar telephones or any other devices deemed inappropriate by the 
agency, are prohibited in the examination area. 

(7) A candidate may be immediately disqualified before, dur-
ing, or after the examination for conduct that interferes with the 
examination or otherwise violates this rule. At the time of disquali-
fication, the examination may be invalidated and examination fees 
may be forfeited. Disqualifying conduct includes but is not limited 
to:  

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and 
attempting to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination pro-
cess;  

(b) Violations of subsection (6) of this rule;  
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-relat-

ed information, notes or materials from the examination site;  
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the 

examination; and  
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the 

examination.  
(8) The applicant may be required to reapply, submit addition-

al examination fees, and request in writing to schedule another exam-
ination if applicant is disqualified from taking the examination.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0060 
Examination Retake  

(1) All examination retakes are subject to examination fees and 
an approved examination schedule set by the agency 

(2) If after four attempts, an applicant has not passed the state 
administered practical examination, the applicant must request per-
mission from the Council to retake the examination again. If the 
applicant does not pass the examination upon the fifth attempt, the 
applicant may be required to retake training required under this divi-
sion.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-630-0070 
License Issuance and Renewal 

(1) AUTHORIZATION AND RENEWAL: A licensee is subject 
to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, division 30 regarding the 
issuance and renewal of a license, provisions regarding authorization 
to practice, identification requirements, and requirements for 
issuance of a duplicate license. 

(2) AUTHORIZATION RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency 
penalties, license renewal must be made prior to the license enter-
ing inactive status. The licensee must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-640-0005; 

and  
(c) Documentation of having obtained required annual contin-

uing education under OAR 331-650-0005, on a form prescribed by 
the agency. 

(3) INACTIVE AUTHORIZATION: A license may be inactive 
for up to three years. When renewing after entering inactive status, 
the licensee must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of delinquency and renewal fees pursuant to OAR 

331-640-0005;  
(c) Documentation of having obtained required annual contin-

uing education under OAR 331-650-0005, on a form prescribed by 
the agency, whether license has been current or inactive;  
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(4) EXPIRED AUTHORIZATION: A license that has been 
inactive for more than three years is expired and the licensee must 
reapply and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-630-0001.  

(5) A licensee failing to meet continuing education requirements 
listed under OAR 331-650-0005 must reapply and meet requirements 
pursuant to OAR 331-630-0001. 

(6) A licensee may not practice with an inactive or expired 
license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

DIVISION 650 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS  

331-650-0005 
Continuing Education Requirements  

(1) To maintain licensure, hearing aid specialists must complete 
a minimum of 12 hours of approved continuing education each year. 
Credit hours obtained in excess of those required for the one-year 
reporting period may not be carried forward. A licensee’s continu-
ing education requirements remain in effect during the time a license 
is inactive.  

(2) Each licensee shall document compliance with the contin-
uing education requirement through attestation on the license renew-
al application. Licensees are subject to provisions of OAR 331-650-
0015 pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education.  

(3) Approved continuing education must be obtained by par-
ticipation in or attendance at a course provided by an accredited col-
lege or university, a course or program approved by the International 
Hearing Society or an agency pre-approved course or program. 

(4) Continuing education must address subject matter related to 
dispensing hearing aids in accordance with ORS 694.015 through 
694.185.  

(5) CE credit will be awarded based on the following criteria: 
(a) Completion and passing of academic courses taken from an 

accredited college or university are awarded 15 hours for each 
semester-based credit earned, 14 hours for each trimester-based cred-
it earned or 10 hours for each quarter-based credit earned; 

(b) Completion of professional courses which meet academic 
course requirements in content, instruction and evaluation will be 
assigned 15 hours for each semester-based credit earned, 14 hours 
for each trimester-based credit earned or 10 hours for each quarter-
based credit earned; and 

(c) Courses that do not meet standards as set forth in paragraphs 
(a) and (b) of this subsection, such as workshops, symposiums, sem-
inars, laboratory exercises, or any applied experience with or with-
out formal classroom work may be assigned credit at the rate of one 
hour for each hour of attendance.  

(6) No more than three hours may be earned in one year for 
courses in cardiopulmonary resuscitation; 

(7) Licensees must complete a two hour course in Safety and 
infection Control once every two years.  

(8) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing edu-
cation requirements must be maintained for a period of two years fol-
lowing renewal, and must be available to the agency upon request. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-650-0010 
Schedule of Civil Penalties for Violations of Laws and Rules 

The agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty 
schedule for the violations of the following laws and rules. The fol-
lowing schedule shall apply except as the agency otherwise deter-
mines in consideration of the factors referred to in OAR 331-020-
0060. For subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will 
apply. 

(1) Dealing in or purporting to deal in hearing aids with an 
expired license is a violation of ORS 694.025 and OAR 331-030-
0010(4) and shall incur the following penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $200;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license.  

(2) Dealing in or purporting to deal in hearing aids without a 
license, with a license issued to another person, or a suspended 
license is a violation of ORS 694.025 and/or 676.612(1)(d) or 
676.612(4) and OAR 331-030-0020(1) and shall incur the following 
penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $1,000;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including revocation or refusal to issue a license. 
(3) Failing as a licensee to inform the agency within 30-calen-

dar days of a change of information is a violation of OAR 331-010-
0040(1) and shall incur the following penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $50;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $150.  
(4) Dealing in hearing aids by a trainee when not under the 

direct supervision of a supervisor is a violation of ORS 694.025 and 
694.065(2) and OAR 331-610-0020(1) and shall incur the following 
penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $150;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $500. 
(5) Failing, as a supervisor, to provide direct supervision of a 

trainee dealing in hearing aids is a violation of ORS 694.065(2), 
OAR 331-610-0020(1) and (6) and shall incur the following penal-
ties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $500;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization 

to provide supervisory training;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license. 

(6) Failing, as a supervisor, to exercise management, guidance, 
and control over the activities of the temporary hearing aid special-
ist is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-610-0030(3) 
shall incur the following penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $500;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization 

to provide supervisory training;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license. 

(7) Failing, as a supervisor, to evaluate and approve all matters 
involved in the testing, fitting, or in the sale of a hearing aid by a tem-
porary hearing aid specialist before ordering the recommended hear-
ing aid(s) is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-610-
0030(2) and/or (4) and shall incur the following penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $500;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization 

to provide supervisory training;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license. 

(8) Failing, as a supervisor of a temporary hearing aid special-
ist, to co-sign and approve the audiogram, order form and office copy 
of statement, or failing to mail or provide a copy of the statement to 
the prospective hearing aid purchaser as required in ORS 694.036 
and 694.042 is a violation of 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-610-
0030(4) and shall incur the following penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $300;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization 

to provide supervisory training;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license. 

(9) Failing to meet continuing education requirements pursuant 
to OAR 331-630-0000(1), or to provide or retain required  
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documentation is a violation of 331-630-0000(11) and/or 331-630-
0010(2) and shall incur the following: 

(a) For 1st offense: $500 and suspension or revocation of 
license;  

(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension or revocation of 
license;  

(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 
allowed by law including revocation or refusal to issue a license. 

(10) Failure to correct continuing education deficiencies with-
in prescribed time frames is a violation of OAR 331-630-0010(4) and 
shall incur the following penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $500 and suspension or revocation of 
license;  

(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension or revocation of 
license;  

(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 
allowed by law including revocation or refusal to issue a license. 

(11) Disqualification from an examination as a result of conduct 
is a violation of OAR 331-610-0050(2) and shall incur the follow-
ing penalties: $1,000, disqualification from reexamination as deter-
mined by the agency director and revocation of temporary hearing 
aid specialists license 

(12) Failing to keep the facility clean and sanitary is a violation 
of OAR 331-640-0010(1) and shall incur the following penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $100;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000. 
(13) Failing to disinfect devices after direct contact with client’s 

skin is a violation of OAR 331-640-0010(2) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $100;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000. 
(14) Failing to wash or sanitize hands before taking an ear mold 

impression is a violation of OAR 331-640-0010(4) and shall incur 
the following penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $100;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000. 
(15) Failing to calibrate or provide proof of calibration on 

audiometric testing equipment is a violation of OAR 331-640-0020 
and shall incur the following penalties:  

(a) For 1st offense: $100;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000. 
(16) Failing to provide a client with a properly formatted State-

ment to Prospective Purchaser is a violation of ORS 694.036(1) and 
OAR 331-640-0030(1) and shall incur the following penalties per 
violation:  

(a) For 1st offense: $300;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000. 
(17) Failing to obtain a signed medical waiver is a violation of 

ORS 694.142(6) and OAR 331-640-0040(2) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties per violation:  

(a) For 1st offense: $300;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000. 
(18) Failing to respond timely to an agency request for infor-

mation regarding a complaint is a violation of OAR 331-020-0050 
and shall incur the following penalties per violation:  

(a) For 1st offense: $300;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license. 

(19) Failing to comply with the additional standards of conduct 
is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-640-0050(1), (2), 
(3) and/or (4) and shall incur the following penalties per violation:  

(a) For 1st offense: $500;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;  

(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 
allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license. 

(20) Failing or refusing to rescind the sale of a hearing aid is a 
violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and (2), 694.042(4), and 
694.147(2)(a) and shall incur a civil penalty established on a case-
by-case basis. 

(21) Failing to meet professional standards in dealing in hear-
ing aids in violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j), 694.147(2)(c) or OAR 
331-640-0050(3) and shall incur the following penalties per viola-
tion:  

(a) For 1st offense: $500;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license. 

(22) Fraud or misrepresentation in the practice of dealing in 
hearing aids is a violation of ORS 676.612, 694.147(2) or OAR 331-
640-0050(3) and shall incur the following penalties per violation:  

(a) For 1st offense: $500;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license. 

(23) Unprofessional conduct is a violation of ORS 
676.612(1)(j), 694.147(2)(c) or OAR 331-640-0050(3) and shall 
incur the following penalties per violation:  

(a) For 1st offense: $500;  
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties 

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal 
to issue a license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.992 & 694.147  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 676.992 & 694.147 
Hist.: HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 
1-1-94; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-
0075, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04 

331-650-0015 
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and 
Sanctions  

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a percent-
age of licensees, as determined by the Board, to verify compliance 
with continuing education requirements of this rule.  

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days 
from the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence 
of participation in required continuing education in accordance with 
OAR 331-650-0005.  

(3) If selected for audit, the licensee must provide documenta-
tion of the required continuing education, which must include:  

(a) For courses provided by an accredited college or  
university — An official transcript from the accredited college or uni-
versity;  

(b) For International Hearing Society (IHS) approved programs 
or courses — A certificate of completion that includes the IHS 
approval number; or  

(c) For agency pre-approved programs or courses – A certifi-
cate of completion or other agency approved documentation that 
includes the agency pre-approval number.  

 (4) If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the 
licensee has 30 calendar days from the date of notice to submit fur-
ther documentation to substantiate having completed the required 
continuing education.  

(5) Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall con-
stitute grounds for disciplinary action, which may include but is not 
limited to assessment of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation 
of the license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 
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DIVISION 660 

STANDARD OF PRACTICE AND  
PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

331-660-0000 
Standards of Practice 

In addition to the standards prescribed under ORS 694.142, the 
Council adopts the following standards of practice to establish and 
maintain a high standard of integrity and dignity in the profession of 
hearing aid specialists. A licensee must: 

(1) Maintain a clean and safe environment to ensure the health, 
safety, and welfare of clients and staff in the licensee’s facility; 

(2) Ensure consistent and high quality services and devices that 
meets the needs of the hearing aid clients; 

(3) Participate, as appropriate, with the ownership, manage-
ment, or governing body to plan, implement, and evaluate written 
policies and procedures to allow that provision of hearing aid ser-
vices are in compliance with all local, state, and federal laws and reg-
ulations;  

(4) Communicate and problem solve regularly with the staff, co-
workers and governing body to allocate resources properly. The hear-
ing aid specialist must foster effective communication and problem 
solving between staff, co-workers, governing body and clients; and 

(5) Plan, implement, and evaluate an integrated financial pro-
gram to ensure compliance with all local, state, and federal laws and 
regulations; quality devices and services; and appropriate and accu-
rate billing for devices and services.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-660-0010 
Standards of Professional Conduct 

The Council adopts the following standards of professional con-
duct to protect the public against unprofessional conduct on the part 
of hearing aid specialists. A licensee must: 

(1) Comply with all local, state, and federal laws and regulations 
concerning the provision of hearing aids. The licensed hearing aid 
specialist shall cooperate with any investigation of the regulatory 
bodies; 

(2) Exercise appropriate supervision and responsibility over the 
activities of staff; 

(3) Protect client’s rights as required by state and federal laws; 
(4) Take appropriate steps to avoid discrimination against res-

idents on basis of race, color, sex, religion, age, national origin, dis-
ability, marital status, ancestry, sexual orientation or any other fac-
tor that may be discriminatory or not related to bona fide 
requirements of quality service; and 

(5) Possess and maintain the competencies necessary to effec-
tively perform the responsibilities as a hearing aid specialist, includ-
ing but not limited to:  

(a) Exercising ethical and professional decision-making and 
judgment;  

(b) Exemplifying a philosophy focused on the provision of 
accurate and high-quality services and devices, as well as on gener-
ally accepted standards;  

(c) Abiding by and keeping confidential client information; and  
(d) Keeping current with standards of practice. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-660-0020 
Safety and Infection Control Requirements 

(1) Each licensee shall keep areas of their facility for otoscop-
ic examination, earmold impression taking, and audiometric exam-
ination clean and sanitary.  

(2) Impression tools, otoscopic examination equipment and 
other devices that come in direct contact with the client must be dis-
infected prior to use. Licensees shall use an EPA registered high-level 
disinfectant, following the manufacturer’s directions, to disinfect 
nondisposable equipment and tools.  

(3) Disposable or disinfected otoscopic specula must be used 
when examining each ear.  

(4) Licensees must wash or sanitize hands prior to taking an ear-
mold impression.  

(5) Licensees must observe the Universal Precautions as defined 
in Oregon Administrative Rule 437-002-0360(26), and 29 CFR 
1910.1030 bloodborne pathogen standards, when providing services 
to consumers. Precautions to reduce the likelihood of exposure 
include hand washing, gloving, using personal protective equipment, 
preventing injury, ensuring proper handling and disposal of needles 
and other sharp instruments and of products or equipment contam-
inated with blood and body fluids. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-660-0030 
Audiometric Testing Equipment 

Licensed hearing aid specialists shall maintain audiometric test-
ing equipment, currently used in the practice of administering eval-
uations, in proper working order at all times and shall be prepared 
to provide their record of at least annual calibration to a representa-
tive of the agency when so requested, upon inspection, or during an 
investigation conducted by the agency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-660-0040 
Statement to Prospective Purchaser 

(1) The term “purchaser” as used in ORS chapter 694 and OAR 
chapter 331, division 660, means any person who purchases or pro-
poses to purchase hearing aid(s) and any person on whose behalf 
hearing aid(s) are purchased or proposed to be purchased. In the case 
of a client who is a minor child or other person without legal capac-
ity to contract, the person’s parent, legal guardian, or legal repre-
sentative is the “purchaser.” 

(2) To assist prospective purchasers in making an informed 
decision regarding the sale of hearing aid(s), licensees must provide 
prospective purchasers with complete and accurate disclosure of facts 
regarding licensee services, the hearing aid(s) purchase price, deliv-
ery and consummation of sale defined in OAR 331-620-0005, and 
information about the purchaser’s right to rescind or cancel a sale and 
the procedures for rescinding the sale and returning the hearing aid(s) 
according to the provisions of ORS 694.042.  

(3) The Statement to Prospective Purchaser (Statement) is a 
contract prepared and signed by the licensee and agreed to by the pur-
chaser. This Statement contains required information listed in ORS 
694.036 regarding licensee and purchaser information, medical 
observation criteria and referral to physician if medical conditions 
are present, specifications and conditions of the hearing aid(s), terms 
of any warranty or expressed guarantee, and how to file a complaint 
with the agency.  

(4) Licensees are required to provide all information and facts 
specified in this rule before the consummation of the sale, which is 
the delivery of the hearing aid(s) to the purchaser and the date that 
starts the 30-day rescission period.  

(5) Statement Content. In addition to the information prescribed 
by ORS 694.036, the Statement must include the following infor-
mation and facts about the purchase of hearing aid(s): 

(a) Date of sale; 
(b) Purchaser name, address and signature;  
(c) Licensee name, address, telephone number, license number 

and signature;  
(d) The purchase price, which includes the cost of the hearing 

aid(s) and all related fees;  
(e) An accurate description of the hearing aid as new, demon-

stration instrument, reconditioned, or used;  
(f) Delivery date of hearing aid(s); 
(g) Date the 30-day rescission period ends; 
(h) The portion of the total purchase price that will be retained 

by the licensee, not to exceed 10% of the contract purchase amount 
or $250 per hearing aid, whichever amount is less, if the purchaser 
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rescinds the sale under provisions of ORS 694.042 within the 30-day 
rescission period;  

(i) Date and place of post-delivery follow-up session agreed 
upon by the licensee and hearing aid user as stated in subsection (9) 
of this rule;  

(j) A printed or reproduced copy of ORS 694.042 Right to 
Rescind A Hearing Aid Purchase in its entirety, which includes the 
procedures for returning the hearing aid(s) to the licensee; 

(k) The following statement, initialed by the purchaser: “Copies 
of my audiogram and the results of tests or verification procedures 
were offered to me by the licensee, and I hereby acknowledge receipt 
of the records or that I declined the offer.”;  

(l) The following statement about filing complaints: “Com-
plaints regarding the sale, lease, or attempted sale or lease of hear-
ing aids should be directed in writing to: Oregon Health Licensing 
Agency, 700 Summer Street NE, Suite 320, Salem, OR 97301-1287. 
Complaint forms may be obtained by calling 503-378-8667 or at the 
Agency’s Web site: http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/Consumer_help_ 
complaint.shtml”; and 

(m) A statement acknowledging that the purchaser has read and 
understands the information contained in the Statement, signed by 
the purchaser and dated; 

(6) Statement Format. The Statement must be printed on forms 
measuring no less than 8 ½ inches wide by 11 inches long, with a 
minimum 10-point typeset, and be legibly written. 

(7) Licensees must provide the purchaser a new Statement for 
each hearing aid or set of hearing aids, unless the hearing aid(s) is 
an exact replacement of the device listed in a previous Statement pro-
vided to the purchaser. 

(8) Refund. Any monies paid by or on behalf of the purchaser 
toward the hearing aid must be refunded to the payer if the delivery 
of the hearing aid to the purchaser is cancelled. The purchaser shall 
incur no additional liability for the cancellation.  

(9) Post Delivery Follow-Up. Licensees will conduct and doc-
ument a minimum of one post-delivery follow-up session with the 
hearing aid user before the expiration of the 30-day rescission peri-
od. The follow-up session will take place at the original place of the 
sale or at a predetermined location agreed upon at the time of initial 
delivery, or at a time and place agreed to within the 30-day rescis-
sion period.  

(b) The licensee must document in the hearing aid user’s record 
any change to the agreed-upon location or date of the post-delivery 
follow-up session, and, if the licensee is unable to contact the hear-
ing aid user or to provide the follow-up session, the reason(s) why.  

(10) In Home Sales. Sales of hearing aids made at the pur-
chaser’s residence and not at the licensee’s place of business, require 
disclosure of federal guidelines related to “in home sales” and the 
purchaser’s right to cancel the transaction and receive a full refund 
of monies paid to the licensee. The following federal disclosure state-
ment must be completed and affixed to the Statement to Prospective 
Purchaser when a licensee sells a hearing aid(s) at the purchaser’s 
home.  

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-660-0050 
Additional Conditions for Referral 

(1) In addition to the conditions listed in ORS 694.142 a hear-
ing aid specialist shall not fit or dispense a hearing aid for use with-
out first determining if the following conditions exist and, if so, refer-
ring the prospective purchaser to a physician:  

(a) Evidence of significant cerumen accumulation in the audi-
tory canal preventing visual inspection of the external auditory canal 
or external auditory meatus and tympanic membrane or foreign body 
in the ear canal; or  

(b) Pain or discomfort in the ear.  
(2) A Waiver of Medical Opinion form as required by ORS 

694.142(6) must include the hearing aid specialist’s name and license 
number, the purchaser’s name, address and signature with date as 

well as the following statement: “I do not desire to have a medical 
evaluation before purchasing a hearing aid.” 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-660-0060 
Standards of Conduct 

(1) Licensees must comply with the requirements of ORS 
694.142, and all other applicable statutes and rules.  

(2) Licensees must conform to state or federal laws regulating 
retail contracts or to any affirmation of fact or promise made in writ-
ing by the licensee which relates to the hearing aid or fitting and dis-
pensing services and which becomes a part of the basis of the trans-
action when the purchaser relies on it or is, in part, induced into 
making purchase by it.  

(3) Licensees must not make inaccurate or misleading repre-
sentations or statements as to the efficacy of a hearing aid(s) for 
improving hearing.  

(4) Licensees may not use a title or abbreviation that is mis-
leading or may convey that the licensee holds a credential that is not 
related to hearing instrument sciences, without designating the pro-
fessional field for which the credential was issued. Hearing instru-
ment sciences includes, but is not limited to, core competencies iden-
tified in ORS 694.075.  

(5) The Council recognizes and adopts the revised International 
Hearing Society’s Code of Ethics, as adopted October 1983 and 
revised March 2009, as its professional standards model. A copy of 
the document is on file at the agency for review, and may be accessed 
at the following Web site: http://insinfo.org/lhsV2/Resources/020_ 
Code_Of_Ethics.cfm 

(6) During the hearing test or evaluation for fitting a client with 
a hearing aid(s), the following items must be completed. If the case 
history and tests were completed within the previous six months and 
there has been no substantial change in the client’s hearing, the fol-
lowing tests may be performed at the discretion of the licensee:  

(a) Confidential client case history; 
(b) Puretone Air Conduction Threshold testing (should include 

at a minimum, the following frequencies — 250, 500, 1000, 2000, 
3000, 4000, and 6000 or 8000 Hz);  

(c) Puretone Bone Conduction Threshold testing (should 
include at a minimum, the following frequencies — 500, 1000, 2000, 
and 4000 Hz); 

(d) Speech Recognition Threshold testing (SRT); 
(e) Word Recognition Score (WRS) also known as speech dis-

crimination testing; 
(f) Most Comfortable Listening Level (MCL); and 
(g) Uncomfortable Listening Level (UCL). 
(7) For children who are unable to perform the tests listed in 

subsection (6) of this rule, an objective measure that meets prevail-
ing professional standards can be used to assess auditory function. 
The test must be completed by a licensed audiologist or physician.  

(8) Licensees must perform one or more of the following ver-
ification procedures, within the 30-day rescission period.  

(a) Soundfield testing for speech discrimination; 
(b) Soundfield testing for puretone thresholds; 
(c) Real-ear probe microphone measurements; 
(d) Speech mapping; and 
(e) Other industry accepted objective measures. 
(9) Licensees must post the following statement in public view 

on the business premises or provide the purchaser with a written 
notice stating: “Individuals are entitled to a copy of the audiogram 
used to conduct hearing evaluations and any test results.” If copies 
of the audiogram specified in OAR 331-660-0070, or results of tests 
or verification procedures conducted under subsections (6) and (8) 
of this rule are requested, they must be provided to the purchaser.  

(10) Licensees who are unable to complete testing for reasons 
such as a client’s medical condition or inability to perform tests or 
verification procedures are excused from compliance with the rele-
vant parts of subsections (6) and (8) but must document the reasons 
in the client’s record.  
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(11) Tests listed in subsection (8) of this rule will be used to 
determine the fitted hearing aid(s) ability to meet current industry 
standards in reference to ORS 694.042(1)(c), during investigation of 
complaints filed with the agency. 

(12) Licensees must maintain a record of the technical specifi-
cations issued by a manufacturer for the hearing aid(s) that have been 
delivered to or purchased by their clients. The specifications must be 
available for inspection by the agency’s representatives upon request.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-660-0070 
Uniform Measurement Standards 

(1) The Council recognizes and adopts the following uniform 
set of hearing loss measurement standards required for use when 
interpreting audiograms using 0 — 110 for degrees of decibel hear-
ing loss (dB HL) and 125 — 8000 Hz for frequency. This set of uni-
form measurement standards must be used for advising consumers 
on peripheral or cochlear hearing loss: [Table not included. See ED. 
NOTE.] 

(2) Hearing loss may have a greater effect on children than 
adults. The degree of hearing loss does not necessarily reflect the 
degree of impairment.  

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

331-660-0080 
Client Record Requirements 

(1) For the purpose of clarifying record keeping requirements, 
the term “client” as used in this rule, means the individual who is a 
consumer, purchaser, potential purchaser or hearing-aid wearer. 

(2) Required Records. Licensees must record, update and main-
tain documentation for each client relevant to health history, clini-
cal examinations and treatment, and financial data. Documentation 
shall be written or computerized. Records must include the follow-
ing information: 

(a) Basic client information, including name, address, telephone 
number and dates of service;  

(b) Health history relevant to hearing evaluation or fitting of a 
hearing aid(s), including referral to a physician or a Waiver of Med-
ical Opinion form required by ORS 694.142(6); 

(c) Identification of any conditions that would require referral 
to a physician licensed under ORS chapter 677, as required in ORS 
694.142(1) and OAR 331-660-0050, and a notation that the client 
was referred; 

(d) Audiograms as specified in OAR 331-660-0070 and results 
of tests or verification procedures as specified in OAR 331-660-
0060; 

(e) A copy of the Statement to Prospective Purchaser required 
by ORS 694.036 and OAR 331-660-0040, including client’s signa-
ture and date acknowledging that the client has read and understands 
the information contained in the purchase agreement; 

(f) A copy of the Right to Rescind a Hearing Aid Purchase giv-
ing notice of rights under ORS 694.042; and 

(g) Date and description of services rendered in the form of 
“chart notes”, including any complications. Chart notes must include 
the recorder’s initials, license number and professional title if mul-
tiple practitioners provide service to the client.  

(3) Record Format. Records and documentation must be accu-
rate, complete, and legible, typed or recorded using ink. Legible 
hand-written or electronic records are acceptable.  

(4) Record Identifiers. Client records listed in subsection (1) of 
the rule, must include the licensee’s name, license number, profes-
sional title or abbreviation, and signature or initials somewhere on 
the documentation as a means of identifying the person who is pro-
viding service to the client. This information may be affixed to the 
record(s) in the form of a professional stamp or handwritten entry.  

(5) Record Retention. All client records and documentation, 
written or archived electronically by computer, must be stored and 
maintained for a minimum of seven years after the licensee has last 

seen the client or past the age of minority, so that the records are safe-
guarded, readily retrievable, and available for inspection by the Ore-
gon Health Licensing Agency’s representative.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185 
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12 

DIVISION 705 

RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND  
POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS  

LICENSING BOARD — GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-705-0050 
Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-705-0000 through 
331-720-0020:  

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document or 
other approved means of verifying an authorization to practice (cer-
tification, licensure or registration) status and history, including infor-
mation disclosing all unresolved or outstanding penalties and/or dis-
ciplinary actions. Refer to OAR 331-030-0040.  

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.  
(3) “AASM” means the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. 
(4) “A-STEP” means the Accredited Sleep Technology Edu-

cation Program. 
(5) “BRPT” means Board of Registered Polysomnographic 

Technologists. 
(6) “CAAHEP” means Commission on Accreditation of 

Allied Health Education Programs. 
(7) “CoARC” means Commission on Accreditation for Respi-

ratory Care. 
(8) “CRT” means Certified Respiratory Therapist. 
(9) “NBRC” means the National Board for Respiratory Care. 
(10) “Official transcript” means an original document autho-

rized by the appropriate office in the Oregon Department of Educa-
tion and certified by a college or university indicating applicant iden-
tity information, hours and types of course work, examinations and 
scores that the student has completed. Original documents must be 
submitted directly to the Agency from the college or university by 
United States Postal Service mail or other recognized mail service 
providers in a sealed envelope; 

(11) “RPSGT” means Registered Polysomnographic Technol-
ogists. 

(12) “RRT”means Registered Respiratory Therapist. 
(13) “Qualified Medical Director for Polysomnography” has the 

definition set forth in ORS Chapter 688.800. 
(14) “Qualified Medical Director for Respiratory Care” has the 

definition set forth in ORS Chapter 688.800. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 
2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 7-
2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-705-0080 
Licensure Exemption for Supervisors and Polysomnography 
Students 

(1) Students actively enrolled in the following education pro-
grams are exempt from polysomnographic technologist licensure 
pursuant to ORS 688.805(2)(b)(A): 

(a) Associate’s degree program in polysomnography, 
polysomnographic technology, or sleep technology from an accred-
ited community college, college, or university; or  

(b) Polysomnography course of study from a CAAHEP accred-
ited institution;  

(2) In accordance with ORS 688.805(2)(b)(B) to be exempt 
from licensure students in subsection (1) of this rule must be super-
vised by one of the following:  

(a) A licensed polysomnographic technician;  
(b) A qualified medical director for polysomnography;  
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(c) Respiratory therapist who holds a Sleep Disorder Special-
ty credential through the NBRC; or 

(d) Respiratory therapist who holds a RSPGT credential through 
the BRPT. 

(3) Direct supervision, for the purpose of this rule, is supervi-
sion of a student in polysomnography by an approved supervisor who 
is physically present with the student while the student is working. 
The supervisor must exercise direction and control over the student’s 
work. An approved supervisor supervising a student may not super-
vise more than one student per shift. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 676.611, 676.615 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.800 & 688.805 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 5-2013(Temp), f. 3-12-
13, cert. ef. 4-1-13 thru 9-28-13; HLA 7-2013, f. 5-16-13, cert. ef. 6-1-13 

DIVISION 710 

RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND  
POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS  

LICENSING BOARD — APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

331-710-0000 
Training 

Training, or formal education, required for licensure is a 
planned sequence of instruction of specific content, pursuant to ORS 
688.815(1)(c), structured to meet stated curriculum objectives which 
includes evaluation of attainment of those objectives, and offered by 
a post-secondary educational institution accredited by the Commit-
tee On Accreditation For Respiratory Care, or its successors, or rec-
ognized by the National Board for Respiratory Care.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 
2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04 

331-710-0005 
Respiratory Therapist License 

(1) A respiratory therapist license holder, licensed under ORS 
688.815, may perform respiratory care services and polysomnogra-
phy services defined under ORS 688.800.  

(2) A respiratory therapist license is good for one year and 
becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from the date 
of issuance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-710-0010 
Application Requirements for a Respiratory Therapist License 

An individual applying for licensure to practice respiratory care 
must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30. 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application and 
license fees.  

(3) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background 
check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;  

(4) Be at least 18 years of age and provide official documenta-
tion confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth certificate, 
driver’s license, passport or military/government identification;  

(5) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
and  

(6) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscita-
tion from an Agency approved provider; and  

(7) Submit documentation of qualification for licensure 
through one of the following pathways:  

(a)(A) License Pathway One — National Credentialing: An 
applicant for licensure through national credentialing must submit:  

(B) An official documentation demonstrating that the applicant 
has successfully passed the Board approved examination listed under 
OAR 331-712-0000, within two years before the date of application. 

The documentation of a passing score must be mailed by the orga-
nization to the Agency. Copies of examination results or other doc-
umentation provided by the applicant are not acceptable.  

NOTE: The applicant is responsible for payment of fees assessed by the 
organization when obtaining required official documentation.  
(b) License Pathway Two — Reciprocity  
An applicant for licensure through reciprocity must submit:  
(A) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-

0040, from every state where the applicant has been licensed as a res-
piratory therapist, including an affidavit of licensure demonstrating 
proof of a current respiratory therapist license from another state, 
obtained through qualifications substantially equivalent to Oregon’s 
requirements. At least one of the applicant’s out-of-state licenses 
must be active and all of the applicant’s out-of-state licenses must 
not be subject to current or pending disciplinary action, and must be 
free from disciplinary history for three years before the date of appli-
cation for Oregon respiratory therapist licensure;  

(B) Official documentation demonstrating that the applicant has 
successfully passed the Board approved examination listed under 
OAR 331-712-0000. The documentation of a passing score must be 
mailed by the organization to the Agency. Copies of examination 
results or other documentation provided by the applicant are not 
acceptable.  

NOTE: The applicant is responsible for payment of any service fee the 
originating jurisdiction may assess for producing the Affidavit of Licen-
sure. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 
2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 10-
2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-8-04 thru 3-31-05; HLO 1-2005, f. 2-28-05 cert. ef. 
3-1-05; HLA 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 
1-1-12; HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12 

331-710-0015 
Temporary Respiratory Therapist Licensure 

(1) A respiratory therapist temporary license authorizes a hold-
er to practice respiratory care under supervision and pending passage 
of the qualifying examination.  

(2) For the purpose of this rule supervision means the required 
presence of a licensed respiratory therapist or qualified Medical 
Director for respiratory care within the work location at the same 
time as the respiratory therapist temporary license holder. 

(3) A respiratory therapist temporary license holder must noti-
fy the Agency within 10 calendar days of changes in employment sta-
tus or supervisor.  

(4) A respiratory therapy temporary license is valid for six 
months and may not be renewed. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-710-0020 
Application Requirements for a Temporary Respiratory 
Therapist License  

To qualify for a respiratory therapist temporary license for the 
applicant must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application and 
license fees;  

(3) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background 
check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;  

(4) Be at least 18 years of age, and provide official documen-
tation confirming the applicant’s date of birth, such as a copy of the 
birth certificate, driver’s license, or passport;  

(5) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscita-
tion from an Agency approved provider;  

(6) Submit a statement, signed by the Registrar or a Dean of a 
college or university and sent directly to the Agency from that col-
lege or university, verifying the applicant has completed all work 
necessary to obtain a degree in respiratory care; and 
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(7) Submit documentation identifying approved supervisor on 
a form prescribed by the Agency.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 
2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 7-
2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-710-0045 
Polysomnographic Technologist License 

(1) A polysomnographic technologist, licensed under ORS 
688.815, may perform polysomnography services defined under 
ORS 688.800.  

(2) A polysomnographic technologist license is good for one 
year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from 
the date of issuance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830  
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-710-0050 
Application Requirements for Polysomnographic Technologist 
License 

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice 
polysomnography must:  

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR chapter 331 division 30;  
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, containing the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and 
accompanied by payment of the required fees;  

(c) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background 
check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;  

(d) Be at least 18 years of age, and must provide documenta-
tion, confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth certificate, 
driver’s license or passport;  

(e) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent;  
(f) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscita-

tion by an Agency approved provider; and  
(2) Submit documentation of qualification through one of the 

following pathways:  
(a) License Pathway One Academic Degree: An applicant under 

pathway one must:  
(A) Submit official transcripts defined under OAR 331-705-

0050 showing successful completion of an Associate’s degree in 
polysomnography, polysomnographic technology, or sleep technol-
ogy from an accredited community college, college or university, or 
successful completion of a polysomnography course of study from 
a CAAHEP accredited institution. In addition to an official transcript 
defined under 331-705-0050 an applicant who has obtained educa-
tion through a CAAHEP accredited institution must submit a state-
ment, signed by the Registrar or a Dean of a college or university and 
sent directly to the Agency from that college or university, verifying 
the applicant has successfully completed a polysomnography 
course of study;  

(B) Submit satisfactory evidence of passage a Board approved 
examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(1) within two years 
before the date of application. Examination results must be submit-
ted to the Agency directly from the examination provider; exami-
nation results or other documentation provided directly by the appli-
cant are not acceptable;  

(C) Submit examination fees;  
(D) Submit satisfactory evidence of having passed the Board 

approved examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(3) within 
two years before the date of application; and  

(E) Submit licensing fees.  
(b) License Pathway Two Polysomnographic Technologist Tem-

porary Licensee: An applicant under pathway two must applying for 
permanent licensure must:  

(A) Submit documentation showing completion of 18 months 
of training and work experience pursuant to OAR 331-710-0110, 
obtained under polysomnographic technologist temporary-DS licen-
sure (See 331-710-0060) and temporary-IS licensure (See 331-710-
0080), including verification by an approved supervisor pursuant to 
331-710-0100, and certification of successful completion and satis-

factory performance of such experience by a qualified medical direc-
tor for polysomnography, all on forms provided by the Agency;  

(B) Submit satisfactory evidence of passage of a Board 
approved examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(1) or (2) 
within two years before the date of application. Examination results 
must be submitted to the Agency directly from the examination 
provider; examination results or other documentation provided 
directly by the applicant are not acceptable;  

(C) Submit examination fees;  
(D) Submit satisfactory evidence of having passed the Board 

approved examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(3) within 
two years before the date of application; and  

(E) Submit licensing fees.  
(c) License Pathway Three Reciprocity: An applicant under 

pathway three must:  
(A) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-

0040, from every state where the applicant has been licensed as a 
polysomnographic technologist, including an affidavit of licensure 
demonstrating proof of a current polysomnographic technologist 
license from another state, obtained through qualifications substan-
tially equivalent to Oregon’s requirements. At least one of the appli-
cant’s out-of-state licenses must be active and all of the applicant’s 
out-of-state licenses must not be subject to current or pending dis-
ciplinary action, and must be free from disciplinary history for three 
years before the date of application for Oregon polysomnographic 
licensure;  

(B) Submit satisfactory evidence of having passed the Board 
approved examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(3) within 
two years before the date of application; and  

(C) Submit licensing fees.  
(d) License Pathway Four Endorsement: An applicant may 

qualify for licensure by endorsement if the applicant holds a quali-
fying professional credential in another field. An applicant under 
pathway four must:  

(A) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-
0040 demonstrating proof of a current license, which is active with 
no current or pending disciplinary action, and no disciplinary histo-
ry for the three years before the date of application for Oregon 
polysomnographic licensure, as a:  

(B) Physician (Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy) 
licensed under ORS Chapter 677;  

(C) Respiratory therapist licensed under ORS chapter 688 with 
the RPSGT credential from the BRPT; or  

(D) CRT or RRT who holds a Sleep Disorder Specialty cre-
dential through NBRC;  

(E) Submit examination fees;  
(F) Submit satisfactory evidence of having passed the Board 

approved examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(3) within 
two years before the date of application; and  

(G) Submit licensing fees.  
(e) License Pathway Five BRPT Credential: Pursuant to Ore-

gon Law 2015, Chapter 78 an applicant under pathway five must 
submit documentation showing completion of a combined education 
and training program required and approved by the BRPT as of 
March 1, 2013; and must:  

(A) Prove successful passage of the RPSGT examination pro-
vided by the BRPT: 

(i) After completing a combined education and training program 
required and approved by the BRPT as of March 1, 2013; or 

(ii) Before the BRPT required an individual to complete a com-
bined education and training program in order to take the examina-
tion, and has since met the education and training requirements estab-
lished by the BRPT as of March 1, 2013; 

(B) Submit examination fees; and 
(C) Submit satisfactory evidence of having passed the Oregon 

Laws and Rules examination for polysomnography listed under OAR 
331-712-0010(3) within two years before the date of application.  

(D) For the purpose of subsection (e) of this rule “education” 
includes a self-study education program approved by the BRPT as 
of March 1, 2013. 

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Authority, Health Licensing Office

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

 2017 Edition 6 - 184 (11-15-16)



(E) For the purpose of subsection (e) of this rules combined 
education and training and examination results must be submitted to 
the Agency directly from the BRPT; examination results or other 
documentation provided directly by the applicant are not acceptable. 

(F) A copy of the 2013 BRPT RPSGT Candidate Handbook is 
available at the Health Licensing Office or a PDF version is avail-
able at http://www.brpt.org/downloads/exam/BRPT-RPSGT-Candi-
date-Handbook_2014_11-2014.pdf.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. 
ef. 9-14-12; HLA 4-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13; HLA 16-2013, f. 12-31-13, 
cert. ef. 1-1-14; HLO 5-2015, f. 12-21-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 

331-710-0060 
Polysomnographic Technologist Temporary-DS (Direct 
Supervision) Licensure 

(1) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-DS license 
authorizes the holder to temporarily practice polysomnography under 
direct supervision by an approved supervisor.  

(2) Direct supervision is supervision of the Temporary-DS 
licensee by an approved supervisor who is immediately physically 
present with the Temporary-DS licensee while the Temporary-DS 
licensee is working, and who exercises direction and control over the 
Temporary-DS licensee’s work.  

(3) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-DS license 
holder must notify the Agency within 10 calendar days of changes 
in employment status and changes in supervisor.  

(4) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-DS license is 
valid for six months and may not be renewed.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 
688.830 
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12; HLA 16-2013, f. 12-31-13, cert. 
ef. 1-1-14 

331-710-0070 
Application Requirements for Polysomnographic Technologist 
Temporary-DS License 

An applicant for a polysomnographic technologist Temporary-
DS license must:  

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR chapter 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

agency, containing the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and 
accompanied by payment of the required application fees;  

(3) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background 
check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;  

(4) Be at least 18 years of age, and must provide documenta-
tion confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth certificate, 
driver’s license, or passport;  

(5) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscita-
tion from an Agency approved provider;  

(6) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
and  

(7) Submit a certificate of completion for the AASM A-STEP 
Self Study Modules;  

(8) Submit information identifying the applicant’s approved 
supervisor pursuant to OAR 331-710-0100, on a form prescribed by 
the Agency;  

(9) Submit appropriate licensing fees. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 
688.830 
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12; HLA 16-2013, f. 12-31-13, cert. 
ef. 1-1-14 

331-710-0080 
Polysomnographic Technologist Temporary-IS (Indirect 
Supervision) Licensure 

(1) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-IS license 
authorizes the holder to temporarily practice polysomnography under 
indirect supervision by an approved supervisor.  

(2) Indirect supervision is supervision of the Temporary-IS 
licensee by an approved supervisor who is physically present and 

onsite, but may not be immediately accessible at the sleep facility 
when the Temporary-IS licensee is working, who reasonably over-
sees the work of the Temporary-IS licensee, and who is available for 
questions and assistance when needed.  

(3) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-IS license 
holder must notify the agency within 10 calendar days of changes in 
employment status and changes in supervisor.  

(4) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-IS license 
obtained under OAR 331-710-0090(6)(a) of this rule is valid for one 
year and may be renewed once.  

(5) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-IS license 
obtained under OAR 331-710-0090(6)(b) of this rule is valid for one 
year and may not be renewed.  

(6) A Temporary-IS licensee is prohibited from performing ser-
vices on persons 12 and under.  

(7) A polysomnographic technologist temporary-IS license is 
invalid after passage of all required written examinations listed under 
OAR 331-712-0010 for a full polysomnographic technologist license 
under 331-710-0040.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 
688.830 
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12; HLA 16-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 11-19-12 thru 5-17-13; HLA 4-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13; HLA 16-2013, 
f. 12-31-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-710-0090 
Application Requirements for Polysomnographic Temporary-IS 
Licensure 

An applicant for a polysomnographic technologist Temporary-
IS license must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR chapter 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, containing the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and 
accompanied by payment of all required fees;  

(3) Be at least 18 years of age, and provide official documen-
tation confirming the applicant’s date of birth, such as a copy of the 
birth certificate, driver’s license, or passport;  

(4) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscita-
tion from an Agency approved provider;  

(5) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background 
check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;  

(6) Submit documentation of meetings qualifications listed in 
(6)(a) or (6)(b) of this rule;  

(a) A Temporary Licensee-DS: applying for Temporary-IS 
licensure must:  

(A) Submit documentation of successful completion of 30 sleep 
tests as a polysomnographic technologist Temporary-DS licensee, 
which includes the signatures of an approved supervisor and certi-
fication by a qualified medical director for polysomnography of suc-
cessful completion of 30 sleep studies and satisfactory performance;  

(B) Submit examination fees;  
(C) Complete and pass the Oregon Laws and Rules examina-

tion for polysomnography within two years before the date of reg-
istration application;  

(D) Submit information identifying the applicant’s approved 
supervisor on a form prescribed by the Agency; and  

(E) Submit appropriate licensing fees.  
(b) An individual with an Academic Degree: applying for Tem-

porary-IS licensure must:  
(A) Submit a statement, signed by the Registrar or a Dean of a 

college or university and sent directly to the Agency from that col-
lege or university, verifying the applicant has completed all work 
necessary to obtain an associate’s degree in polysomnography, 
polysomnographic technology, or sleep technology from an accred-
ited community college, college or university, or successful com-
pletion of a polysomnography course of study from a CAAHEP 
accredited institution;  

(B) Submit examination fees;  
(C) Complete and pass the Oregon Laws and Rules examina-

tion for polysomnography within two years before the date of reg-
istration application;  
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(D) Submit information identifying the applicant’s approved 
supervisor on a form prescribed by the Agency; and  

(E) Submit appropriate licensing fees.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 
688.830 
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12; HLA 16-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 11-19-12 thru 5-17-13; HLA 4-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13; HLA 16-2013, 
f. 12-31-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-710-0100 
Supervision of a Temporary Polysomnographic Technologist 

(1) To be approved as a supervisor of a polysomnographic tem-
porary licensee, an individual must: 

(a) Hold a valid polysomnographic technologist license under 
ORS chapter 688 or provide proof of being a “qualified medical 
director for polysomnography” as defined in ORS 688.800(3);  

(b) Have no current or pending disciplinary action imposed by 
the Agency or other regulatory body; and  

(c) Submit proof of having been actively practicing 
polysomnography for at least three years prior to requesting approval 
as a supervisor; and  

(d) Submit a completed request for approval on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency;  

(2) A polysomnography supervisor shall not supervise a tem-
porary licensee until all Agency required documentation has been 
completed and submitted to the Agency and the supervisor has 
received Agency approval.  

(3) A supervisor may supervise up to four patients per shift; 
whether they are the supervisor’s own patients or patients of tem-
porary DS or IS licensees.  

(4) An approved supervisor of a Temporary-DS licensee must 
be immediately physically present with the Temporary-DS licensee 
while the Temporary-DS licensee is working, and must exercise 
direction and control over the Temporary-DS licensee’s work.  

(5) An approved supervisor of a Temporary-IS licensee must be 
physically present and onsite, but may not be immediately accessi-
ble at the sleep facility when the Temporary-IS licensee is working, 
and must reasonably oversee the work of the Temporary-IS 
licensee, and be available for questions and assistance when need-
ed.  

(6) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing 
within 10 calendar days if a temporary polysomnographic technol-
ogist licensee is no longer being supervised, and must provide the 
number of hours of training and work experience completed on a 
form prescribed by the Agency.  

(7) A designated supervisor must exercise management, guid-
ance, and control over the activities of the temporary polysomno-
graphic technologist and must exercise professional judgment and be 
responsible for all matters related to the polysomnography.  

(8) Approval of a temporary polysomnographic technologist’s 
training and work experience under OAR 331-710-0110 must be 
documented by the handwritten signature of the approved supervi-
sor, the supervisor’s license number, and date of supervisor’s review, 
placed beside the temporary polysomnographic technologist’s sig-
nature, on a form prescribed by the agency.  

(9) An approved supervisor’s Agency approval may be with-
drawn if the supervisor provides incomplete or inadequate training 
during supervision or falsifies documentation.  

(10) This rule is not intended for or required of purely admin-
istrative supervisors.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 
688.830 
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12; HLA 16-2013, f. 12-31-13, cert. 
ef. 1-1-14 

331-710-0110 
Training and Work Experience Requirements for 
Polysomnography 

(1) Training and work experience for polysomnography appli-
cants must involve all of the following:  

(a) Patient interaction & professional behavior;  

(b) Patient assessment;  
(c) Polysomnography theory;  
(d) Performing polysomnography preparation and setup;  
(e) Performing polysomnography recording and monitoring;  
(f) Scoring sleep studies;  
(g) Artifacts, and arrhythmias;  
(h) Sleep related breathing disorders;  
(i) Positive airway pressure and oxygen;  
(j) Evaluation of sleepiness;  
(k) Movement disorders: disorders involving arousal and 

seizures;  
(l) Scoring waveforms;  
(m) Scoring sleep stages;  
(n) Scoring respiratory events;  
(o) Scoring arousals, electroencephalography abnormalities, 

movements and cardiac events;  
(p) Sleep deprivation;  
(q) Insomnia;  
(r) Medications and sleep;  
(s) Circadian sleep and shift work  
(t) Arrhythmia recognition;  
(u) Emergency procedures and care;  
(v) Patient education and mask fitting;  
(w) Pediatric sleep; and  
(2) For the purpose of this rule “Artifact” means an extraneous 

electrical signal in a recording channel on a polysomnograph, which 
originates from the patient, equipment, or external sources, and 
which may mask or interfere with the desired signal (E.g., snores that 
appear on the EEG channel, pulses of hypertensive patients that 
appear on the chin EMG channel, etc.).  

(3) A Temporary-IS licensee is prohibited from performing ser-
vices on persons 12 and under. See OAR 331-710-0080.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 
688.830 
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12; HLA 16-2013, f. 12-31-13, cert. 
ef. 1-1-14 

DIVISION 712 

RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND  
POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS  

LICENSING BOARD — EXAMINATIONS 

331-712-0000 
Respiratory Care Approved Examination 

The Board has selected the CRT or RRT examination admin-
istered by the NBRC as its minimal qualifying examination for licen-
sure. Individual applicants are responsible for payment of all NBRC 
application, examination, national certification or other fees direct-
ly to NBRC.  

NOTE: An applicant is responsible for direct payment to the NBRC of all 
application, examination, national certification or other fees associated with 
the NBRC. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, ORS 676.607, ORS 676.612, 676.615, 
676.625, 688.815 & 688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-712-0010 
Polysomnography Approved Examinations 

The Board has approved the following examinations for qual-
ification as a licensed polysomnographic technologist: 

(1) The RPSGT “registration examination” administered by the 
BRPT;  

(2) The SDS examination administered by the NBRC; and 
(3) The Oregon Laws and Rules examination for polysomnog-

raphy administered by the Agency. 
NOTE: An applicant is responsible for direct payment to the organization 
of all application, examination, national certification or other fees associ-
ated with any examination. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830 & 2011 OL Ch. 715 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, ORS 676.607, ORS 676.612, 676.615, 
676.625, 688.815 & 688.830, 688.834, 688.836 & 2011 OL Ch. 715 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. 
ef. 9-14-12 

331-712-0020 
General Examination Information 

(1) To be eligible for examination administered by the Agency, 
an applicant must meet identification requirements listed under OAR 
331-030-0000. 

(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an 
Agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the exami-
nation in languages other than English.  

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored 
during the course of testing.  

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time 
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the 
Board.  

(5) Notes, notetaking, textbooks, notebooks, electronic equip-
ment and communication devices, such as personal computers, 
pagers and cellular telephones or any other devices deemed inap-
propriate by the Agency, are prohibited in the examination area. 

(6) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may 
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the exami-
nation, the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and for-
feiture of the candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes 
but is not limited to: 

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, attempt-
ing to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination process; 

(b) Violations of subsections (1), (5), or (6) of this rule; 
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-relat-

ed information, notes or materials from the examination site; 
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the 

examination; and 
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the 

examination. 
(7) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination 

or the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under 
subsection (6) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, 
submit additional examination fees, and request in writing to sched-
ule a new examination date, before being considered for another 
examination opportunity.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, ORS 676.607, ORS 676.612, 676.615, 
676.625, 688.815 & 688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

DIVISION 715 

RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND  
POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS  

LICENSING BOARD — LICENSURE; RENEWAL 

 331-715-0000 
License Display and Posting Requirements  

(1) A licensee must show proof of valid license with the agen-
cy upon request or post the license document in public view at the 
licensees primary workplace.  

(2) A licensee may temporarily conceal the address printed on 
the license document with a covering that is removable.  

(3) A licensee must carry the license identification card (pock-
et card) with them, or post in plain view, the official license anytime 
services are being provided. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 
1-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-98 thru 4-1-98; HDLP 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-
15-98; HDLP 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-1-01; HDLP 3-2001, f. 6-29-01, cert. ef. 7-
1-01; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-
10 

331-715-0010 
License Issuance and Renewal  

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, 
division 30 regarding the renewal of a license, and provisions regard-
ing authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for 
issuance of a duplicate license. 

(2) License renewal under this rule is valid for one year.  
(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, 

license renewal must be made prior to the license entering inactive 
status. The licensee must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to OAR 331-705-

0060;  
(c) Attestation of having obtained required biannual continuing 

education under OAR 331-720-0010 or 331-720-0015, on a form 
prescribed by the Agency, whether license is current or inactive; and  

(d) Attest to having provided the required information to the 
Oregon Health Authority pursuant to ORS 676.410;  

(e) Pay fee established by Oregon Health Authority pursuant to 
ORS 676.410; and  

(f) Information, on a form prescribed by the Agency, permitting 
the Agency to perform a state criminal background check pursuant 
to OAR 331-030-0004;  

(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A license may be inac-
tive for up to three years. A licensee who is inactive is not authorized 
to practice. When renewing after entering inactive status, the licensee 
must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 

331-705-0060;  
(c) Attestation of having obtained required biannual continuing 

education under OAR 331-720-0010 or 331-720-0015, on a form 
prescribed by the Agency, whether license is current or inactive; 

(d) Attest to having provided the required information to the 
Oregon Health Authority pursuant to ORS 676.410;  

(e) Pay fee established by Oregon Health Authority pursuant to 
ORS 676.410; and  

(f) Information, on a form prescribed by the Agency, permitting 
the Agency to perform a state criminal background check pursuant 
to OAR 331-030-0004; 

(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: A license that has been inactive for 
more than three years is expired and the licensee must reapply for 
licensure and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-710-0010 or 
331-710-0050.  

(6) A licensee failing to meet continuing education requirements 
listed under OAR 331-720-0010 or 331-720-0015 is considered to 
have an expired license and must reapply and meet requirements pur-
suant to OAR 331-710-0010 or 331-710-0050.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 
1-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-98 thru 4-1-98; HDLP 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-
15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 10-2004(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 11-8-04 thru 3-31-05; HLO 1-2005, f. 2-28-05 cert. ef. 3-1-05; HLA 7-2010, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLO 2-2016, 
f. & cert. ef. 7-1-16 

DIVISION 718 

RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND  
POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS  

LICENSING BOARD — STANDARDS OF PRACTICE 

331-718-0000  
Standards of Practice for Respiratory Care 

(1) A licensee must comply with the prevailing community stan-
dards for professional conduct. The Board recognizes and adopts the 
American Association of Respiratory Care (AARC) Statement of 
Ethics and Professional Conduct effective March 2000 as its pro-
fessional standards model. Documents are available on the AARC 
Website at http://www.aarc.org/.  
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(2) At minimum, licensees are subject to directives and policies 
established by the medical facilities, businesses or agencies by which 
they are employed or regulated.  

(3) A licensee must comply with the following safety and infec-
tion control requirements:  

(a) All devices or items that come into direct contact with a 
client must be cleaned, sanitized or disinfected according to the man-
ufacturer’s instructions or Centers for Disease Control and Preven-
tion (CDC) Standard Precautions;  

(b) All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin 
that do not require disinfecting must be clean;  

(c) All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin 
that cannot be cleaned or disinfected must be disposed of in a cov-
ered waste receptacle immediately after use;  

(d) All disinfecting solutions and agents must be kept at ade-
quate strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign materi-
al and be available for immediate use at all times unless equipment 
is prepackaged and pre-sterilized;  

(e) All high-level and low-level disinfecting agents must be EPA 
registered. High-level disinfectant means a chemical agent which has 
demonstrated tuberculocidal activity. Low-level disinfectant means 
a chemical agent which has demonstrated bactericidal, germicidal, 
fungicidal and limited virucidal activity;  

(f) Before use, disposable prepackaged products and sterilized 
re-usable instruments must be stored in clean, sterilized containers 
that can be closed between treatments to maintain effective steril-
ization of the instrument until removed from the container.  

(4) A licensee must observe and follow the Standard Precautions 
adopted by the CDC as defined in OAR 437 division 2, subdivision 
Z, and the CDC Standard Precautions for public service workers 
regarding personal protection equipment and disposal of blood or 
bodily fluid contaminated articles, tools and equipment when pro-
viding services to patients.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
688.815 & 688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-718-0010  
Pharmacological Agents for Respiratory Care 

(1) A licensee administering intravenous narcotics, paralytics 
and opioids under ORS 688.800(3)(a) is prohibited from monitoring 
the patient and must have another qualified licensed individual pre-
sent to monitor the patient throughout procedures with intravenous 
narcotics, paralytics and opioids.  

(2) All policies, procedures and protocols for respiratory ther-
apists related to administration of intravenous pharmacological 
agents must be made available to the Agency if requested.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
688.815 & 688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-718-0020 
Standards of Practice for Polysomnography 

(1) A licensee must comply with the prevailing community stan-
dards for professional conduct. The Board recognizes and adopts the 
BRPT Standards of Conduct as its professional standards model. 
Documents are available on the BRPT Website at 
http://www.brpt.org. 

(2) At minimum, licensees are subject to directives and policies 
established by the medical facilities, businesses or agencies by which 
they are employed or regulated.  

(3) A licensee must comply with the following safety and infec-
tion control requirements:  

(a) All devices or items that come into direct contact with a 
client must be cleaned or disinfected according to the manufactur-
er’s instructions or Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
(CDC) Standard Precautions;  

(b) All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin 
that do not require disinfecting must be clean;  

(c) All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin 
that cannot be cleaned or disinfected must be disposed of in a cov-
ered waste receptacle immediately after use;  

(d) All disinfecting solutions and agents must be kept at ade-
quate strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign materi-
al and be available for immediate use at all times unless equipment 
is prepackaged, pre-sterilized and within the expiration date listed on 
the label of the disinfecting solution;  

(e) All high-level and low-level disinfecting agents must be EPA 
registered. High-level disinfectant means a chemical agent which has 
demonstrated tuberculocidal activity. Low-level disinfectant means 
a chemical agent which has demonstrated bactericidal, germicidal, 
fungicidal and limited virucidal activity;  

(f) Before use instruments must be stored in clean containers 
that can be closed between use to maintain effective cleanliness until 
removed from the container.  

(g) Masks must be disinfected before each use on a client by 
removing foreign and completely saturating the mask with a high 
level disinfectant solution, spray or foam used to manufacturer’s 
instructions.  

(4) A licensee must observe and follow the Standard Precautions 
adopted by the CDC as defined in OAR 437 division 2, subdivision 
Z, and the CDC Standard Precautions for public service workers 
regarding personal protection equipment and disposal of blood or 
bodily fluid contaminated articles, tools and equipment when pro-
viding services to patients. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 16-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 11-19-12 thru 5-17-13; HLA 4-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13 

DIVISION 720 

RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND  
POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS  

LICENSING BOARD — CONTINUING EDUCATION 

331-720-0010 
Continuing Education Requirements for Respiratory Care 

(1) To maintain licensure, a respiratory care practitioner must 
complete a minimum of seven hours of continuing education every 
year. At least 2.5 hours of the required continuing education must be 
related to clinical practice of respiratory care defined under ORS 
688.800. 

(2) A license holder must document compliance with the con-
tinuing education requirement through attestation on the license 
renewal application. A licensee is subject to provisions of OAR 331-
720-0020 pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education.  

(3) Satisfactory continuing education must be obtained by par-
ticipation in or attendance at a course provided by:  

(a) An institution of higher education accredited by the North-
west Association of Accredited Schools, the Northwest Commission 
on Colleges and Universities, the State Board of Higher Education, 
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission, American 
Medical Association Committee on Allied Health Education and 
Accreditation in collaboration with the Committee on Accreditation 
for Respiratory Care, or its successor, or the Commission on Accred-
itation for Allied Health Education Programs offering an Associate 
Degree in Respiratory Care; or 

(b) The NBRC, AARC, Oregon Medical Association, the Ore-
gon Osteopathic Association, the American Medical Association 
Continuing Medical Education, the American Osteopathic Associ-
ation, the American Nurses Association, or other professional or 
medical organizations or associations which conduct educational 
meetings, workshops, symposiums, and seminars where CEU cred-
it is offered and where subject matter meets the requirements under 
subsection (4) of this rule;  

(4) The subject matter of the continuing education must be 
specifically related to respiratory care as outlined in ORS 688.800(5).  

(5) Continuing education may include teaching a course spon-
sored by a continuing education provider listed in subsection (3) of 
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this rule and where the subject matter meets the requirements under 
subsection (4) of this rule (provided that no more than half the 
required hours be in teaching). 

(6) Obtaining and maintaining proof of participation in 
required continuing education is the responsibility of the licensee. 
The licensee must ensure that adequate proof of attainment of 
required continuing education is available for audit or investigation 
or when otherwise requested by the agency. Adequate proof of par-
ticipation is listed under OAR 331-720-0020(3).  

(7) Documentation of participation in continuing education 
requirements must be maintained for a period of two years follow-
ing renewal, and must be available to the agency upon request. 

(8) For the purpose of this rule continuing education hours mean 
actual academic, classroom, or course work time, including but not 
limited to workshops, symposiums, or seminars. Continuing educa-
tion hours do not include travel time to or from the training site, reg-
istration or check-in periods, breaks or lunch periods.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 
2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 10-
2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-8-04 thru 3-31-05; HLO 1-2005, f. 2-28-05 cert. ef. 
3-1-05; HLA 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 
1-1-12; HLA 16-2013, f. 12-31-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-720-0015 
Continuing Education Requirements for Polysomnography 

(1) To maintain licensure, a polysomnographic technologist 
must complete a minimum of seven hours of continuing education 
every year.  

(2) A license holder must document compliance with the con-
tinuing education requirement through attestation on the license 
renewal application. A licensee is subject to provisions of OAR 331-
720-0020 pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education.  

(3) Satisfactory continuing education must be obtained by par-
ticipation in or attendance at a course provided by: 

(a) An institution of higher education accredited by the North-
west Association of Accredited Schools, the Northwest Commission 
on Colleges and Universities, the State Board of Higher Education, 
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission, American 
Medical Association Committee on Allied Health Education and 
Accreditation in collaboration with the Committee on Accreditation 
for Respiratory Care, or its successor, or the Commission on Accred-
itation of Allied Health Education Programs in Polysomnographic 
Technology; or 

(b) The BRPT, AARC, Oregon Medical Association, the Ore-
gon Osteopathic Association, the American Medical Association 
Continuing Medical Education, the American Osteopathic Associ-
ation, the American Nurses Association, American Association of 
Sleep Technologists and its affiliates, or other professional or med-
ical organizations or associations which conduct educational meet-
ings, workshops, symposiums, and seminars where CEU credit is 
offered and where subject matter meets the requirements under sub-
section (4) of this rule;  

(4) The subject matter of the continuing education must be 
specifically related to polysomnography as outlined in ORS 
688.800(2).  

(5) Continuing education may include teaching a course spon-
sored by a continuing education provider listed in subsection (3) of 
this rule and where the subject matter meets the requirements under 
subsection (4) of this rule (provided that no more than half the 
required hours be in teaching). 

(6) Obtaining and maintaining proof of participation in 
required continuing education is the responsibility of the licensee. 
The licensee must ensure that adequate proof of attainment of 
required continuing education is available for audit or investigation 
or when otherwise requested by the agency. Adequate proof of par-
ticipation is listed under OAR 331-720-0020(3).  

(7) Documentation of participation in continuing education 
requirements must be maintained for a period of two years follow-
ing renewal, and must be available to the agency upon request. 

(8) For the purpose of this rule continuing education hours mean 
actual academic, classroom, or course work time, including but not 

limited to workshops, symposiums, or seminars. Continuing educa-
tion hours do not include travel time to or from the training site, reg-
istration or check-in periods, breaks or lunch periods. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 16-2013, f. 12-31-13, cert. 
ef. 1-1-14 

331-720-0020 
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and 
Sanctions 

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a select per-
centage of licenses to verify compliance with continuing education 
requirements. 

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation must submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days 
from the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence 
of participation in required continuing education in accordance with 
OAR 331-720-0010, Continuing Education Requirements for Res-
piratory Care; or 331-720-0015, Continuing Education Requirements 
for Polysomnography 

(3) Evidence of successful completion of the required contin-
uing education must include the following:  

(a) Name of continuing education sponsor/provider;  
(b) Course agenda — including the date of the training and 

breakdown of hours for each agenda item, lunch and breaks;  
(c) Course outline — including a detailed summary of each 

topic discussed and the learning objective or training goal of each 
agenda item; The content of the course must have a direct relation-
ship between the course training and subject matter related to Res-
piratory Care as set forth in OAR 331-720-0010, or Polysomnogra-
phy as set forth in 331-720-0015;  

(d) Background resume of speakers or instructors; and  
(e) Documentation of attendance or successful course comple-

tion. Examples include a certificate, transcript, sponsor statement or 
affidavit attesting to attendance, diploma.  

(4) If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the 
licensee has 30 calendar days from the date of the deficiency notice 
to correct the deficiency and submit further documentation of com-
pletion of the required continuing education.  

(5) Misrepresentations of continuing education or failure to 
complete continuing education requirements may result in disci-
plinary action, which may include, but is not limited to assessment 
of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830 
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 
2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 7-
2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10; HLA 16-2013, f. 12-31-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

DIVISION 740 

RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND  
POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS  

LICENSING BOARD — FEES 

331-740-0000  
Fees 

(1) An applicant or licensee are subject to the provisions of 
OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of 
fees, penalties and charges.  

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency 
pursuant to ORS 676.607 are as follows:  

(a) Application:  
(A) License: $50.  
(B) Temporary license: $50.  
(b) Examination — Oregon laws & rules: $50.  
(c) Original issuance of authorization to practice:  
(A) License: $50. 
(B) Temporary license: $50.  
(C) Temporary six month license: $50 
(d) Renewals: 
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(A) Licenses: $50.  
(B) Online license: $45 
(C) Temporary license: $50 
(e) Delinquent (late) renewal of license: $50 for each year in 

inactive status up to three years.  
(f) Replacement of license, including name change: $25.  
(g) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum 

of three.  
(h) Affidavit of licensure for reciprocity: $50.  
(i) Information packets: $10  
(j) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be 

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for pay-
ment of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
688.815 & 688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

SEX OFFENDER TREATMENT BOARD RULES 

DIVISION 800 

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-800-0010 
Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-800-0010 to 331-
850-0010: 

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document or 
other approved means of verifying an authorization to practice (licen-
sure or registration), status and history, including information dis-
closing all unresolved or outstanding penalties and/or disciplinary 
actions. Refer to OAR 331-030-0040.  

(2) ATSA means the Association for the Treatment of Sexual 
Abusers. 

(3) “Direct clinical contact” means services provided with the 
primary purpose of assessment and developing and implementing a 
treatment plan focused on sex-offense-related behavior.  

(4) “Direct supervision” includes a minimum of two hours of 
supervision by a certified clinical sex offender therapist for each 45 
hours of direct clinical contact with sex offenders as specified in ORS 
675.365(4). 

(5) “Direct treatment services” means individual, group or fam-
ily therapy that focuses on the sex offense-related behavior; the sex 
offender must be present.  

(6) “Official transcript” mean an original document certified by 
an accredited college or university indicating hours and types of 
course work, examinations and scores that the student has complet-
ed. The accredited college or university must submit the transcript 
by mail or courier directly to the Office in a sealed envelope.  

(7) “Ongoing oversight” means a supervisor is monitoring the 
service delivery of a certified associate sex offender therapist by 
direct and indirect means. 

(8) “Reciprocity” means, according to ORS 675.380, certifi-
cation, registration or licensure in another state based on standards 
of training, education and experience that are similar to those 
required for certification in Oregon as a certified clinical sex offend-
er therapist or a certified associate sex offender therapist as specified 
in 675.375.  

(9) “Treatment plan” means a written statement of intended care 
and services as documented in the evaluation that details how the sex 
offender’s treatment needs will be met while protecting the com-
munity during the treatment.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.410 & 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.360 - 675.410 
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, 
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 5-18-10; HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

331-800-0020 
Fees 

(1) An applicant or certificate holder are subject to the provi-
sions of OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the pay-
ment of fees, penalties and charges. 

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Office pur-
suant to 676.592 are as follows: 

(a) Application: $75.  
(b) Certification: $325 — valid for one year.  
(c) Renewal: $325 — valid for one year.  
(e) Replacement: $25.  
(f) Duplicate: $25.  
(g) Late fee(s): $50 for each year of inactive status up to three 

years. 
(h) Affidavit of licensure: $50.  
(i) Administrative fee: $25.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.405, 675.410 & 676.625 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.405 
Hist: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, 
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 8-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; HLA 2-
2010, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. & cert. ef. 5-18-10; ; HLA 8-2014, 
f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

DIVISION 810 

QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING 

331-810-0010 
Clinical Sex Offender Therapist Certification 

(1) Only a clinical sex offender therapist certified under ORS 
675.375 may use the title “certified clinical sex offender therapist.” 

(2) A certification is valid for one year and becomes inactive on 
the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.410 & 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.360 & 675.410 
Hist.: HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

331-810-0020 
Application Requirements for Clinical Sex Offender Therapist 
Certification 

An individual applying for certification as a clinical sex offend-
er therapist must: 

(1) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 
Office. 

(2) Submit proof of having at least a master’s degree in a Board-
approved behavioral science field. For a current list of Board-
approved degrees, go to oregon.gov/OHA/HLO/SOTB. 

(3) Submit proof of having a valid Oregon mental health pro-
fessional license. A mental health professional means the individu-
al is licensed to practice without supervision as a psychiatrist, psy-
chiatric nurse practitioner, psychologist, psychological associate, 
licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, or 
licensed marriage and family therapist who provides sex offender 
treatment of adults, juveniles or the functionally disabled.  

(4) Submit proof of having at least 2,000 hours of direct clini-
cal contact with sex offenders not less than three years and not more 
than six years ago. The hours include: 

(a) 1,000 hours of direct treatment services; and 
(b) 500 hours of evaluations; and  
(c) 500 hours of treatment-plan related activity, including report 

writing, clinical consultations, case management, charting, peer 
review and consultations, meeting with attorneys, parole officers, 
families, victims and other members of the sex offender’s social net-
work.  

(5) Submit proof of having at least 60 hours of formal training 
specific to sex offender evaluation, assessment and direct treatment 
provision. The training must have been obtained in the three years 
prior to the application date.  

(6) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 
Office, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application and 
license fees.  
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(7) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background 
check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004.  

(8) Pay fees pursuant to OAR 331-800-0020. 
(9) Pass a fingerprint-based nationwide criminal records check 

pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400 & 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375 & 675.400 
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, 
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 5-18-10; HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

331-810-0025  
Associate Sex Offender Therapist Certification 

(1) Only an associate sex offender therapist certified under ORS 
675.375 may use the title “certified associate sex offender therapist.” 

(2) An associate sex offender therapist certification is valid for 
one year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year 
from the date of issuance. 

(3) An associate sex offender therapist must be under the direct 
supervision of a certified clinical sex offender therapist. 

(4) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 
Office, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application and 
license fees.  

(5) Pass a fingerprint-based nationwide criminal records check 
pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.410 & 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.360 & 675.410 
Hist.: HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

331-810-0031 
Application Requirements for Associate Sex Offender Therapist 
Certification 

In individual applying for certification as an associate sex 
offender therapist must: 

(1) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 
Office. 

(2) Submit proof of having at least a bachelor’s degree in the 
Board-approved behavioral sciences. For a list of Board-approved 
degrees, go to oregon.gov/OHA/HLO/SOTB. 

(3) Submit proof of having at least 1,000 hours of direct clini-
cal contact with sex offenders. 

(4) Be under the direct supervision of a certified clinical sex 
offender therapist.  

(5) Submit proof of having at least 30 hours of formal training 
specific to sex offender evaluation, assessment and direct treatment 
provision. The training must have been obtained in the three years 
prior to the application date.  

(6) Pay fees pursuant to OAR 331-800-0020. 
(7) Pass a fingerprint-based criminal background check pur-

suant to OAR 331-030-0004. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400 
Hist.: HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

331-810-0040 
Reciprocity 

An individual applying through reciprocity must submit: 
(1) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Office.  
(2) An affidavit of licensure, pursuant to 331-030-0040, demon-

strating proof of holding a current certification as a clinical sex 
offender therapist or associate sex offender therapist in another state, 
and has no current or pending disciplinary action against the certi-
fication. The certification requirements must be substantially 
equivalent to Oregon certification requirements pursuant to ORS 
675.380.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.380, 675.400 & 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.380 & 675.400 
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, 
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 5-18-10; HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

331-810-0055 
Supervision — Clinical Sex Offender Therapists 

A certified clinical sex offender therapist who is supervising a 
certified associate sex offender therapist must:  

(1) Enter into a formal contract prescribed by the Office with 
a certified associate sex offender therapist that specifies: 

(a) The duties of a certified associate sex offender therapist;  
(b) The scope and focus of the supervision; and  
(c) Frequency and durations of meetings between the supervi-

sor and the certified associate sex offender therapist to review the cer-
tified associate sex offender therapist’s professional performance. 

(2) Document dates and content of supervision meetings and 
make the information available to the Office if requested.  

(3) Provide ongoing oversight to the certified associate sex 
offender therapist as defined in 331-800-0010 (7). 

(4) Sign reports and correspondence prepared by the certified 
associate sex offender therapist.  

(5) Supervise no more than four full-time or the equivalent cer-
tified associate sex offender therapists.  

(6) Ensure that the certified associate sex offender therapist has 
sufficient training, education, background, preparation and supervi-
sion in order to evaluate and treat sex offenders.  

(7) Notify the Office in writing within 10 business days of end-
ing the supervision contract.  

(8) Maintain supervision records for a minimum of 5 years after 
the last day of supervision. Upon request, you must make the records 
available to the Office. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675,400, 675,410, 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410 
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 1-2014(Temp), f. 1-16-14, 
cert. ef. 1-17-14 thru 7-16-14; HLA 3-2014, f. 5-29-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14; HLA 8-
2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

331-810-0060  
Supervision — Associate Sex Offender Therapists 

A certified associate sex offender therapist must:  
(1) Enter into a formal contract prescribed by the Office with 

a certified clinical sex offender therapist that specifies:  
(a) The duties of a certified associate sex offender therapist;  
(b) The scope and focus of the supervision; and  
(c) Frequency and durations of meetings between the supervi-

sor and the certified associate sex offender therapist to review the cer-
tified associate sex offender therapist’s professional performance. 

(2) Notify the Office in writing within 10 business days of end-
ing the supervision contract.  

(3) Identify themselves as a certified associate sex offender ther-
apist on all materials relating to the provision of sex offender treat-
ment or the offering or advertising of sex offender treatment. This 
disclosure includes, but is not limited to: letterhead, business cards, 
telephone directory listings, internet postings, brochures, insurance 
billing and any other public or private materials. These representa-
tions must include the individual’s title as a “certified associate sex 
offender therapist” and the supervisor’s name and designation 
“supervisor.”  

(4) Document dates and content of supervision meetings. Upon 
request, you must make the records available to the Office.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675,400, 675,410, 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410 
Hist.: HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

DIVISION 820 

LICENSURE AND RENEWAL 

331-820-0020 
Certification Issuance and Renewal 

(1) A certification is subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 
331, division 30 regarding the renewal of a certification, and provi-
sions regarding authorization to use the title, identification and 
requirements for issuance of a duplicate certification. 

(2) Certification renewal under this rule is valid for one year.  
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(3) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 
331-030-0004;  

(4) Certification renewal: To avoid late fees, certification renew-
al must be made prior to the certification entering inactive status. The 
certification holder must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of renewal fee pursuant to OAR 331-800-0020;  
(c) Attest to having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-830-0010 on a form prescribed by the Office, 
whether the certification is current or inactive; and  

(d) Attest to having at least 100 hours of clinical experience per 
year, of which 50 hours is direct clinical contact with sex offenders;  

(5) Inactive certification renewal: A certification may be inac-
tive for up to three years. A certification holder in inactive status is 
not authorized to use the title. When renewing, the inactive certifi-
cation holder must submit:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of late and certification fees pursuant to OAR 331-

800-0020;  
(c) Attest to having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-830-0010 on a form prescribed by the Office, 
whether certification is current or inactive; 

(d) Attest to having at least 100 hours of clinical experience per 
year, of which 50 hours is direct clinical contact with sex offenders;  

(6) Expired certification: A certification that has been inactive 
for more than three years is expired and the certification holder must 
reapply for certification and meet the requirements listed in OAR 
331-810-0020 or 331-810-0030.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410 
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, 
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08: HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

DIVISION 830 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

331-830-0010 
Continuing Education Requirements 

(1) To maintain certification, clinical and associate sex offend-
er treatment therapists must complete a minimum of 1.5 credits or 
15 hours every year of continuing education specific to the evalua-
tion and treatment of sex offenders.  

(2) Each certification holder must document compliance with 
the continuing education requirement through attestation on the cer-
tification renewal application. Certification holders are subject to 
provisions of OAR 331-830-0020 pertaining to periodic audit of con-
tinuing education.  

(3) Continuing education must relate to sex offender treatment 
taught by a mental health professional with experience in the field.  

(4) CEU credit will be awarded based on the following crite-
ria: 

(a) Completion and passing of academic courses taken from an 
accredited college or university at the same rate of credit established 
by that institution; 

(b) Completion of professional courses that meet academic 
course requirements in content, instruction and evaluation will be 
assigned CEU credit at the same rate as academic courses.  

(c) Courses that do not meet standards as set forth in paragraphs 
(a) and (b) of this subsection, such as workshops, symposiums, sem-
inars, laboratory exercises, or any applied experience with or with-
out formal classroom work may receive credit at the rate of 1.0 CEU 
for each 10 hours of attendance.  

(5) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing edu-
cation requirements must be maintained for two years following 
renewal, and must be available to the Office upon request. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410 
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08: HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 
1-1-15 

331-830-0020 
Continuing Education: Audits, Required Documentation and 
Sanctions 

(1) The Office will audit a percentage of certifications, as deter-
mined by the Board, to verify compliance with continuing education 
requirements.  

(2) Certification holders who are selected for audit must sub-
mit satisfactory evidence of participation in required continuing edu-
cation and having at least 100 hours of clinical experience per year, 
of which 50 hours is related to direct clinical contact, with sex 
offenders within 30 days of the audit notice.  

(3) If selected for audit, the certification holder must provide 
documentation that includes:  

(a) An official transcript from the accredited college or uni-
versity;  

(b) A certificate of completion that includes the ATSA 
approval number;  

(c) A certificate of completion or other documentation that 
includes the Office preapproval number; 

(d) A certificate of completion or other documentation for a 
class or training provided by a mental health association or regula-
tory board. 

(4) If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the 
registrant has 30 days from the date of notice to submit further doc-
umentation to substantiate having completed the required continu-
ing education.  

(5) Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall con-
stitute grounds for disciplinary action, which may include, but is not 
limited to, assessment of a civil penalty and suspension or revoca-
tion of the certification. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615 
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410 
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08: HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 
1-1-15 

DIVISION 840 

CODE OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

331-840-0010 
Standards of Practice 

(1) The standards set forth in OAR chapter 331, division 840 
apply to all certified clinical sex offender therapists and certified 
associate sex offender therapists as specified in ORS 675.365(3).  

(2) Failure to comply with these standards may constitute 
unprofessional conduct, which is subject to discipline under ORS 
676.612.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.390, 675.400 
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 
1-1-15 

331-840-0020 
Ethical Principles 

The Sex Offender Treatment Board adopts the 2014 Associa-
tion for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA) Professional Code 
of Ethics and pages 1-15 of the Ethical Principles - to the extent it 
does not conflict with ORS 675.360 through 675.410, 676.605 
through 676.625 - and any rules adopted by the Office. Documents 
are available at www.atsa.com/ 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.390, 675.400 
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 
1-1-15 

331-840-0040 
Mandatory Reporting 

(1) Authorization holders are required to report to the Office any 
conviction, determination or finding of which they have personal 
knowledge that any person certified as a clinical sex offender ther-
apist or associate sex offender therapist has committed an act that 
constitutes unprofessional conduct.  

(2) Reports under this section must be made in writing and 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the person mak-
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ing the report, the name and address of the person about whom the 
report is made and complete information about the circumstances 
that prompted the report.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 163, 419B, 675.390, 675.400 
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 
1-1-15 

331-840-0060 
Sex Offender Records  

(1) Therapists must maintain documentation for each sex 
offender relevant to health history, clinical examinations and treat-
ment and financial data.  

(2) Records must include:  
(a) Sex offender’s name, address, telephone number and dates 

of service;  
(b) Health history related to sex offender evaluation or treatment 

plan(s), including referral to other mental health-care provider or 
physician.  

(c) Description of services — chart notes — including any com-
plications. Chart notes must include the recorder’s initials, certifi-
cation number and professional title if multiple practitioners provide 
service to the sex offender.  

(3) Therapist’s name, license number, professional title or 
abbreviation, and signature or initials somewhere on the documen-
tation as a means of identifying the person who is providing service 
to the sex offender. This information may be affixed to the record(s) 
in the form of a professional stamp or handwritten entry.  

(4) Sex offender records and documentation must be retained 
for at least seven years after the therapist stops working with the sex 
offender.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.4100, 675.410, 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410 
Hist: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 
1-1-15 

331-840-0070 
Practice Standards and Guidelines 

The Board adopts the following as the practice standards and 
guidelines for all certified clinical sex offender therapists and certi-
fied associate sex offender therapists: 

(1) Adult Male Sex Offenders: The 2014 Association for the 
Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA), Practice Standards and Guide-
lines. A copy of the Practice Standards and Guidelines may be pur-
chased at the website: http://www.atsa.com/form.html. The infor-
mation is also available by contacting ATSA: 4900 S.W. Griffith 
Drive, Suite 274, Beaverton, Oregon U.S.A. 97005, Phone: (503) 
643-1023, Fax: (503) 643-5084, E-mail: atsa@atsa.com.  

(2) Juvenile Sex Offenders: Practice Standards and Guidelines, 
adopted by the agency and board, January, 2010. A copy may be 
accessed on the agency website: www.oregon.gov/OHA/ 
HLO/SOTB. The information is also available by contacting the 
agency at: 700 Summer St. NE, Suite 320, Salem, OR 97301-1287. 
Phone: (503) 378-8667, fax: (503) 585-9114, email: 
hlo.info@state.or.us. 

(3) Sex Offenders with Intellectual and Other Developmental 
Disabilities: Practice Standards and Guidelines, adopted by the agen-
cy and board, January, 2010. A copy of the Practice Standards and 
Guidelines may be accessed at the agency website: 
www.oregon.gov/OHA/HLO/SOTB. The information is also avail-
able by contacting the agency at: 700 Summer St. NE, Suite 320, 
Salem, OR 97301-1287. Phone: (503) 378-8667, Fax: (503) 585-
9114, email: hlo.info@state.or.us. 

(4) Failure to comply with OAR chapter 331, division 840 may 
result in disciplinary action under ORS 676.612.  

(5) Certified clinical sex offender treatment therapists and cer-
tified associate sex offender treatment therapists must use treatment 
modalities that are based on empirical research with regard to favor-
able treatment outcomes and are professionally accepted in the field 
of sex offender treatment of adults, juveniles, and functionally dis-
abled individuals with sexual behavior problems. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.606, 675.615, 675.400, 675.410 & 675.360 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.360, 676.605, 676.606, 676.615, 675.400 & 
676.410 
Hist.: HLA 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. & cert. ef. 5-18-10; HLA 
8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

DIVISION 850 

DISCIPLINE AND ENFORCEMENT 

331-850-0010 
Investigative Authority 

The Office may initiate and conduct investigations relating to 
the practice of sex offender treatment pursuant to ORS 676.608, and 
may take appropriate disciplinary action in accordance with the pro-
visions of 676.612 and 675.385.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.385, 676.608, 676.612 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.385, 676.608, 676.612 
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, 
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 8-2014, f. 12-5-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

DIVISION 900 

BODY PIERCING 

331-900-0000 
Body Piercing Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, division 
900: 

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” has the meaning set forth in OAR 
331-030-0040.  

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.  
(3) “APP” means Association of Professional Piercers.  
(4) “Body piercing” has the definition set forth in ORS 690.350.  
(5) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor or instructor is 

present in the facility and actively involved in direct oversight and 
training of students or individuals in training.  

(6) “Earlobe piercing services” means services limited to the 
soft lower part of the external ear only, not to include cartilage.  

(7) “EPA” means United States Environmental Protection 
Agency.  

(8) “FDA” means Food and Drug Administration.  
(9) “Field of practice” has the definition set forth in ORS 

690.350.  
(10) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, regis-

tered with the EPA, which has demonstrated tuberculocidal  
activity.  

(11) “Instruments” means equipment used during body pierc-
ing services. Types of instruments include but are not limited to nee-
dles, forceps, hemostats, tweezers, and jewelry.  

(12) “Official transcript” means:  
(a) An original document authorized by the appropriate office 

in the Oregon Department of Education and certified by a career 
school licensed under ORS chapter 345 indicating applicant identi-
ty information, field of practice(s) enrolled under, specific hour 
requirements for each field of practice if applicable, enrollment infor-
mation and a signature by an authorized representative on file with 
the Agency. Original documents must be submitted directly to the 
Agency from the educational institution by United States Postal  
Service mail or other recognized mail service providers in a sealed 
envelope; or  

(b) A document authorized by the appropriate office in the Ore-
gon Department of Education and certified by career school licensed 
under ORS chapter 345 providing applicant identity information, 
field(s) of practice studied and completed, specific hour requirements 
for each field of practice if applicable, enrollment information and 
a signature by an authorized representative on file with the Agency. 
Non-original documents shall only be accepted when and in the man-
ner approved by the Agency  

(13) “Practitioner” means a person licensed to perform services 
included within a field of practice.  

(14) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof 
container that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation, and 
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disposal. The container must be labeled with the “Biohazard” sym-
bol.  

(15) “Single point piercing”, also referred to as an anchor or 
microdermal, means a single point perforation of any body part for 
the purpose of inserting an anchor with a step either protruding or 
flush with the skin;  

(16) “Standard body piercing” includes all body piercings 
including cheek piercings and single point piercings defined under 
Subsection (15) of this rule. A standard body piercer may not perform 
specialty level one genital piercings and specialty level two genital 
piercings defined under 331-905-0000. Standard body piercing ser-
vices do not include testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, eye-
lids, or sub-clavicle piercings.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 

331-900-0005 
Standard Body Piercing Education or Training 

All education curriculum or training for standard body piercing 
must meet requirements set forth by the Oregon Health Licensing 
Agency prior to beginning education or training. The theory portion 
of the curriculum or training must be completed prior to the practi-
cal portion of the curriculum or training. 

(1) Standard body piercing career school course of study must 
include 1150 hours of theory and practical education. The education 
must include a minimum of 250 hours of theory instruction, 900 
hours of practical experience and a minimum of 400 practical oper-
ations.  

(2) The 400 practical operations required under (1) of this rule 
must include:  

(a) 100 practical operations observed by the student;  
(b) 100 practical operations in which the student participated; 

and  
(c) 200 practical operations performed by the student under 

direct supervision, but without assistance.  
(3) The 250 hours of theory instruction required in (1) of this 

section must include the following:  
(a) Anatomy, Physiology & Histology: 70 hours;  
(b) Infection control: 50 hours;  
(c) Jewelry: 15 hours;  
(d) Equipment: 20 hours;  
(e) Environment: 15 hours;  
(f) Ethics and legalities: 15 hours;  
(g) Emergencies: 5 hours;  
(h) Client consultation: 30 hours.  
(i) Oregon laws and rules: 20 hours; and  
(j) Discretionary related to body piercing: 10 hours. 
(4) The 900 hours of practical experience required in (1) of this 

rule must include client consultation, cleaning, disinfection and ster-
ilization. 

(5) The 400 practical operations must include the content list-
ed in section (4) of this rule and the standard body piercing proce-
dures listed in subsections (a) through (r) below: 

(a) Ear lobe: minimum of 10;  
(b) Helix: minimum of 10;  
(c) Conch: minimum of 10;  
(d) Industrial: minimum of 10;  
(e) Rook: minimum of 10;  
(f) Tragus: minimum of 10;  
(g) Tongue: minimum of 10;  
(h) Navel: minimum of 10;  
(i) Male nipple: minimum of 10;  
(j) Female nipple: minimum of 10;  
(k) Eyebrow: minimum of 10;  
(l) Upper Lip: minimum of 10;  
(m) Lower Lip: minimum of 10;  

(n) Septum: minimum of 10;  
(o) Nostril: minimum of 10;  
(p) Single point: minimum of 15;  
(q) Cheek: minimum of 2; and 
(r) Additional standard body piercings of choice: minimum of 

33 procedures.  
(6) As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theo-

ry must be completed prior to practical work being performed.  
(7) Education must be conducted by a Department of Education, 

Private Career School licensed instructor who holds an active stan-
dard body piercing license.  

(8) A Department of Education, Private Career School licensed 
instructor must provide direct supervision of practical training on a 
one-to-one student/teacher ratio for students performing practical 
training while working on the general public.  

(9) Supervised training requirements for standard body pierc-
ing temporary trainees: Standard body piercing training program 
must include 1150 hours of theory and practical education. The train-
ing must include a minimum of 250 hours of theory instruction, 900 
hours of practical experience and a minimum of 400 practical oper-
ations.  

(10) The 400 practical operations required under (9) of this rule 
must include:  

(a) 100 practical operations observed by the trainee;  
(b) 100 practical operations in which the trainee participated; 

and  
(c) 200 practical operations performed by the trainee under 

supervision, but without assistance.  
(11) The 250 hours of theory instruction required in (9) of this 

section must include the following:  
(a) Anatomy, Physiology & Histology: 70 hours;  
(b) Infection control: 50 hours;  
(c) Jewelry: 15 hours;  
(d) Equipment: 20 hours;  
(e) Environment: 15 hours;  
(f) Ethics and legalities: 15 hours;  
(g) Emergencies: 5 hours;  
(h) Client consultation: 30 hours.  
(i) Oregon laws and rules: 20 hours; and  
(j) Discretionary related to body piercing: 10 hours  
(12) The 900 hours of practical experience required in (9) of this 

rule must include client consultation, cleaning, disinfection and ster-
ilization.  

(13) The 400 practical operations must include the content list-
ed in section (12) of this rule and the standard body piercing proce-
dures listed in subsections (a) through (q) (r) below:  

(a) Ear lobe: minimum of 10;  
(b) Helix: minimum of 10;  
(c) Conch: minimum of 10;  
(d) Industrial: minimum of 10;  
(e) Rook: minimum of 10;  
(f) Tragus: minimum of 10;  
(g) Tongue: minimum of 10;  
(h) Navel: minimum of 10;  
(I) Male nipple: minimum of 10;  
(j) Female nipple: minimum of 10;  
(k) Eyebrow: minimum of 10;  
(l) Upper Lip: minimum of 10;  
(m) Lower Lip: minimum of 10;  
(n) Septum: minimum of 10;  
(o) Nostril: minimum of 10;  
(p) Single point: minimum of 15;  
(q) Cheek: minimum of 2; and 
(r) Additional standard body piercings of choice: minimum of 

33 procedures.  
(14) As part of the approved training, all hours of theory must 

be completed prior to practical work being performed.  
(15) Training must be completed in no less than nine months 

from the date the Agency issues the standard body piercing tempo-
rary trainee license.  
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(16) A supervisor must provide direct supervision of practical 
training on a one-to-one trainee to trainer ratio when the trainee is 
working on the general public.  

(17) Supervisors of a standard body piercing temporary trainee 
must adhere to OAR 331-900-0050  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-900-0010 
Earlobe Piercing License 

(1) An earlobe piercing license is valid for one year, and is eli-
gible for renewal. An earlobe piercing license becomes inactive on 
the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance. 

(2) An earlobe piercing license holder must adhere to all stan-
dards within OAR 331-900-0095, 331-900-0097, 331-900-0098, 
331-900-0130 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 
925. 

(3) An earlobe piercing license holder, licensed under ORS 
690.365, may provide earlobe piercing services only.  

(4) Upon renewal, individuals who held a technician registra-
tion for ear piercing prior to January 1, 2012, must apply for and meet 
the application requirements for an earlobe piercing license or apply 
for and meet the application requirements for a standard body pierc-
ing license.  

(5) An earlobe piercing license holder licensed prior to January 
1, 2014 is not required to meet application requirements listed in 
OAR 331-900-0015. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35  
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0015 
Application Requirements for Earlobe Piercing License 

An individual applying for an Earlobe Piercing License must: 
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required fees;  

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent;  
(5) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 

an Agency approved provider;  
(6) Submit proof of current basic first aid training from an 

Agency approved provider;  
(7) Submit passing score of Agency approved written exami-

nations in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1) and (2) within two 
years from the date of application;  

(8) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of a license, the applicant must pay all license fees. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-
13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0020 
Standard Body Piercing Temporary Trainee License 

(1) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license is valid 
for one year, and may be renewed one time.  

(2) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license holder, 
licensed under ORS 690.365, may provide standard piercing services 

under the direct supervision of an Agency approved supervisor pur-
suant OAR 331-900-0050 and 331-900-0055.  

(3) Supervisors of a standard body piercing temporary trainee 
must adhere to OAR 331-900-0055.  

(4) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license holder 
is prohibited from performing specialty level one genital piercing ser-
vices defined under OAR 331-905-0000 and specialty level two gen-
ital piercing services defined under OAR 331-905-0000.  

(5) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license holder 
is prohibited from piercing the testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), 
uvula, eyelids or sub-clavicle.  

(6) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license holder 
must adhere to all standards within OAR 331-900-0100, 331-900-
0105, 331-900-0110, 331-900-0115, 331-900-0120, 331-900-0125, 
331-900-0130, and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 
925.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 2-2013(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13; HLA 
1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0025 
Application Requirements for Standard Body Piercing 
Temporary Trainee License  

An individual applying for a Standard Body Piercing Tempo-
rary Trainee License must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age, documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
and  

(5) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider;  

(6) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider; and  

(7) Pay applicable licensing fees.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12; HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 
3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13 

331-900-0030 
Standard Body Piercing License 

(1) A standard body piercing license holder, licensed under ORS 
690.365, may perform standard body piercing services.  

(2) A standard body piercing license is good for one year and 
becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from the date 
of issuance. 

(3) A standard body piercing license holder is prohibited from 
performing specialty level one genital piercing services defined 
under OAR 331-905-0000 until requirements of OAR 331-905-0040 
are met and specialty level two genital piercing services defined 
under 331-905-0000 until requirements of 331-905-0050 are met. 

(4) A body piercing technician licensed prior to January 1, 2012, 
is prohibited from performing specialty level one genital piercing ser-
vices defined under OAR 331-905-0000 until requirements of 331-
905-0020 are met or specialty level genital piercing two services 
defined under 331-905-0000 until requirements of 331-905-0030 are 
met. 
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(5) A standard body piercing license holder is prohibited from 
piercing the testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, eyelids or 
sub-clavicle.  

(6) A standard body piercing license holder must adhere to all 
standards within OAR 331-900-0100, 331-900-0105, 331-900-0110, 
331-900-0115, 331-900-0120, 331-900-0125, 331-900-0130, and all 
applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-900-0035 
Application Requirements for Standard Body Piercing License 

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice standard 
body piercing must: 

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider;  

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
and 

(g) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway.  
(2) License Pathway 1- A graduate from an Oregon Licensed 

Career School for Standard Body Piercing must:  
(a) Submit official transcript from a body piercing career school 

under ORS 345 showing proof of completion of required standard 
body piercing curriculum as approved by the Agency under OAR 
331-900-0005;  

(b) Pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written exam-

ination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(c) within two 
years before the date of application;  

(d) Submit a passing score of an Agency approved practical 
examination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(d) within 
two years before the date of application;  

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees; and 

(f) An applicant is not required to provide proof of official tran-
scripts from a body piercing career school under ORS 345 if the 
applicant was previously licensed as a body piercer in Oregon.  

(3) License Pathway 2 — An individual qualifying for licensure 
as a Standard Body Piercing Temporary Trainee must:  

(a) Submit documentation approved by the Agency showing 
proof of having completed training listed under OAR 331-900-0005, 
verified by a supervisor approved under 331-900-0055, on a form 
prescribed by the Agency;  

(b) Pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written exam-

ination for standard body piercing in accordance with OAR 331-900-
0060(1)(c) within two years before the date of application;  

(d) Submit a passing score of an agency approved practical 
examination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(d) within 
two years before the date of application; and 

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

(4) License Pathway 3 — An individual qualifying for licensure 
through Reciprocity must:  

(a) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-
0040 demonstrating proof of current license as a body piercer, which 
is active with no current or pending disciplinary action. The licens-
ing must be substantially equivalent to Oregon licensing require-
ments pursuant to ORS 690.365. Or if not substantially equivalent 

the applicant must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Agency that 
the applicant has been employed or working as a body piercer full 
time for three of the last five years; 

(b) Pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written exam-

ination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(c) within two 
years before the date of application;  

(d) Submit a passing score of an Agency approved practical 
examination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(d) within 
two years before the date of application; and  

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-900-0040 
Temporary Standard Body Piercing License 

(1) A temporary standard body piercing license, pursuant to 
ORS 690.365, is a temporary license to perform standard body pierc-
ing services on a limited basis, not to exceed 15 consecutive calen-
dar days. A temporary standard body piercing license holder:  

(a) May renew the license up to four times, in a 12 month peri-
od from the date the Agency receives the initial application. License 
renewal can be done consecutively with no lapse in active license 
dates;  

(b) Must submit all requests to renew a license on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency. Request to renew a license must be received 
at least 15 days before standard body piercing services are provid-
ed unless otherwise approved by the Agency;  

(c) Must submit notification of a change in work location on a 
form prescribed by the Agency at least 24 hours before services are 
performed; and  

(d) Must work in a licensed facility.  
(2) A temporary standard body piercing license holder may only 

perform standard body piercing services.  
(3) A temporary standard body piercing license holder is pro-

hibited from performing specialty level one genital piercing services 
defined under OAR 331-905-0000 and specialty level two genital 
piercing services defined under 331-905-0000.  

(4) A temporary standard body piercing license holder is pro-
hibited from piercing the testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, 
eyelids or sub-clavicle.  

(5) A temporary standard body piercing license holder must 
adhere to all standards within OAR 331-900-0100, 331-900-0105, 
331-900-0110, 331-900-0115, 331-900-0120, 331-900-0125, 331-
900-0130, and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0045 
Application Requirements for Temporary Standard Body 
Piercing License  

An individual applying for a Temporary Standard Body Pierc-
ing License must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees and must be received at least 15 days before standard body pierc-
ing services are provided to clients;. 

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  
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(4) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider;  

(5) Attest to six months of training or experience, within the last 
two years, performing standard body piercing services on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency; or  

(6) Submit affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-
0040.  

(7) For the purpose of this rule training or experience includes 
attendance or participation at an instructional program presented, rec-
ognized, or under the sponsorship of any permanently organized 
institution, agency, or professional organization or association rec-
ognized by the Agency.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12 

331-900-0050 
Standard Body Piercing Supervisor 

(1) An approved standard body piercing supervisor may super-
vise one standard body piercing temporary trainee per shift.  

(2) An approved standard body piercing supervisor must exer-
cise management, guidance, and control over the activities of the 
standard body piercing trainee and must exercise professional judg-
ment and be responsible for all matters relative to the standard body 
piercing.  

(3) An approved standard body piercing supervisor must doc-
ument work done by the standard body piercing temporary trainee 
on a form prescribed by the Agency and maintain training docu-
mentation for a minimum of two years following completion of train-
ing.  

(4) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing 
within five calendar days if a standard body piercing temporary 
trainee is no longer being supervised, and must provide the number 
of hours of training completed on a form prescribed by the Agency.  

(5) Not withstanding any other disciplinary actions, an 
approved supervisor’s authorization to supervise may be withdrawn 
by the Agency for providing incomplete or inadequate training or fal-
sifying documentation.  

(6) Supervisors must provide direct supervision to standard 
body piercing temporary trainees.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 1-16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13; HLA 15-2013, 
f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0055 
Requirements for Standard Body Piercing Supervisor 

To be an approved supervisor for a standard body piercing tem-
porary trainee an individual must: 

(1) Submit a completed form prescribed by the Agency, which 
must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000;  

(2) Hold an active, body piercing license issued prior to January 
1, 2012 or a standard body piercing license issued after January 1, 
2012, with no current or pending disciplinary action; 

(3) Submit proof of having been actively practicing any com-
bination of body piercing experience prior to January 1, 2012, or 
standard body piercing experience after January 1, 2012, for at least 
five years prior to submitting application on a form prescribed by the 
Agency; 

(4) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider;  

(5) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider; and  

(6) Have passed an Agency approved written and practical 
examination for standard body piercing in accordance with OAR 
331-900-0060(3) and (4).  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 1-16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13 

331-900-0060 
Approved Body Piercing Examinations 

The Agency has approved the following examinations for body 
piercing: 

(1) Oregon client care written examination;  
(2) Oregon safety, sanitation and infection control written exam-

ination; 
(3) Oregon standard body piercing written examination; 
(4) Oregon standard body piercing practical examination;  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-900-0065 
General Body Piercing Examination Information 

(1) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet iden-
tification requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000. 

(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an 
agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the exami-
nation in languages other than English.  

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored 
during the course of testing.  

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time 
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the 
Agency.  

(5) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the examination 
area is prohibited.  

(6) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as 
personal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other 
devices deemed inappropriate by the agency, are prohibited in the 
examination area.  

(7) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may 
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the exami-
nation, the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and for-
feiture of the candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes 
but is not limited to:  

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and 
attempting to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination pro-
cess;  

(b) Violations of subsections (5), (6), or (7) of this rule;  
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-relat-

ed information, notes or materials from the examination site;  
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the 

examination; and  
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the 

examination.  
(8) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination 

or the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under 
subsection (7) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, 
submit additional examination fees, and request in writing to sched-
ule a new examination date, before being considered for another 
examination opportunity.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 

331-900-0070 
Written Examination Retake Requirements 

(1) Notwithstanding OAR 331-900-0060(1)(a) and (b) failed 
sections of the written examination may be retaken as follows: 
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(a) After first failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days;  

(b) After second failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days;  

(c) After third failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 
calendar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit one of 
the following:  

(A) An official transcript certifying completion of an addition-
al 100 hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved cur-
riculum outlined in OAR 331-900-0005 from a career school 
licensed under 345 on a form prescribed by the agency; or  

(B) Documentation from an Agency approved supervisor cer-
tifying completion of an additional 100 hours of training in theory, 
focused on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-900-0005 
on a form prescribed by the Agency.  

(d) After fourth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days;  

(e) After fifth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days;  

(f) After sixth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 
calendar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit one of 
the following:  

(A) An official transcript certifying completion of an addition-
al 100 hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved cur-
riculum outlined in OAR 331-900-0005 from a career school 
licensed under 345 on a form prescribed by the Agency; or  

(B) Documentation from an Agency approved supervisor cer-
tifying completion of an additional 100 hours of training in theory, 
focused on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-900-0005 
on a form prescribed by the Agency.  

(g) After seventh failed attempt — ability to retake, require-
ments for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-
by-case basis.  

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must meet the require-
ments under OAR 331-030-0000.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-900-0075 
Practical Examination Retake Requirements 

(1) Failed practical examinations may be retaken at a date and 
time determined by the Agency. Applicants retaking a failed practi-
cal must notify the Agency within 30 days before the next scheduled 
examination date and pay all examination fees  

(2) Applicants who fail to pass the practical examination for 
standard body piercing after three attempts (initial examination plus 
two retakes) may not retake an examination for 30 calendar days, 
must pay all additional fees and must submit one of the following: 

(a) An official transcript certifying completion of an addition-
al 100 hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved cur-
riculum outlined in OAR 331-900-0005 from a career school 
licensed under 345 on a form prescribed by the Agency; or 

(b) Documentation from an Agency approved supervisor cer-
tifying completion of an additional 100 hours of training in theory, 
focused on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-900-0005 
on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(3) After the fourth failed attempt — ability to retake, require-
ments for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-
by-case basis. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-900-0077 
Renewal of an Earlobe Piercing License 

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, 
division 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regard-
ing authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for 
issuance of a duplicate license.  

(2) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, an 
earlobe piercing license renewal must be made prior to the license 
entering inactive status. The licensee must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form; and 
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000. 
(3) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: An earlobe piercing 

license may be inactive for up to three years. If a license is inactive 
the licensee is not authorized to practice. When renewing a license 
after entering inactive status, the licensee holder must submit the fol-
lowing:  

(a) Renewal application form; and 
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 

331-940-0000.  
(4) EXPIRED LICENSE: An earlobe piercing license that has 

been inactive for more than three years is expired and the license 
holder must reapply and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-
900-0015.  

(5) LICENSE RENEWAL —A temporary earlobe piercing 
license holder licensed prior to January 1, 2014 but after January 1, 
2012, who is seeking a permanent earlobe piercing license is not 
required to take the examinations listed in OAR 331-900-0060. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 690.405 & 2013 OL Ch. 82 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 690.350, 690.385, 690.405 & 2013 OL Ch. 
82 
Hist.: HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0080 
Renewal of a Standard Body Piercing License 

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, 
division 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regard-
ing authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for 
issuance of a duplicate license. 

(2) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, a 
standard body piercing license renewal must be made prior to the 
license entering inactive status. The licensee must submit the fol-
lowing:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000;  
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing 

education under OAR 331-900-0085, on a form prescribed by the 
agency. Continuing education is required whether the license is cur-
rent or inactive;  

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resus-
citation from an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Attestation of current first aid training by an Agency 
approved provider; and  

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens 
training from an Agency approved provider.  

(3) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A standard body pierc-
ing license may be inactive for up to three years. If a license is inac-
tive the licensee is not authorized to practice. When renewing a 
license after entering inactive status, the licensee holder must sub-
mit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 

331-940-0000;  
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing 

education under OAR 331-900-0085 on a form prescribed by the 
Agency. Continuing education is required whether the license is cur-
rent or inactive;  

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resus-
citation from an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Attestation of current first aid training by an Agency 
approved provider; and  

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens 
training from an Agency approved provider.  
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(4) EXPIRED LICENSE: A standard body piercing license that 
has been inactive for more than three years is expired and the license 
holder must reapply and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-
900-0035.  

(5) LICENSE RENEWAL — STANDARD BODY PIERCERS 
LICENSED PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 2012. In addition to other 
requirements of this rule, for the first license renewal after the effec-
tive date of this rule, an individual originally licensed prior to Jan-
uary 1, 2012 to practice body piercing, including earlobe piercing 
technician registrations, must:  

(a) Submit passing score of an agency approved written exam-
ination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(c);  

(b) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical 
examination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(d); and 

(c) Licensed standard body piercers are only required to pass 
the Board approved written and practical examination one time 
unless the license becomes expired.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 

331-900-0085 
Continuing Education for Standard Body Piercing License 

(1) To maintain licensure, a standard or specialty body piercer 
license holder must complete a minimum of 10 hours of satisfacto-
ry continuing education every year.  

(2) A standard or specialty body piercer license holder must 
document compliance with the continuing education requirement 
through attestation on the license renewal application. Licensees will 
be subject to the provisions of OAR 331-900-0090 pertaining to peri-
odic audit of continuing education.  

(3) Satisfactory continuing education courses must be obtained 
as follows:  

(a) Five hours must be obtained by participation in or atten-
dance at a course provided by: 

(A) Institutions or programs accredited by a federally recog-
nized accrediting agency;  

(B) Institutions or programs approved by an agency within the 
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission;  

(C) An organization offering continuing medical education 
opportunities, including Accreditation Council for Continuing 
Medical Education;  

(D) Any additional board approved professional organization, 
or association, hospital, or health care clinic offering continuing edu-
cation related to subject matter listed in (4) of this rule. 

(b) Five hours may be self-study, where subject matter meets 
the requirements under subsection (4) of this rule, which may include 
the following:  

(A) Correspondence courses including online courses through 
completion and certification by an approved national home study 
organization;  

(B) Review of publications, textbooks, printed material, or 
audio cassette(s); and  

(C) Viewing of films, videos, or slides.  
(4) The subject matter of the continuing education must be 

specifically related to body piercing. As outlined in the approved 
course of study under OAR 331-900-0005 (3) and (11). Continuing 
education may include the laws and rules regulating licensed body 
piercers, health care professional concerns such as safety, emergen-
cies, client consultation, business ethics, and business practices or 
legalities. 

(5) In order to renew, continuing education requirements must 
be met every year, even if the license is inactive or suspended.  

(6) Obtaining and maintaining proof of participation in 
required continuing education is the responsibility of the licensee. 
The licensee must ensure that adequate proof of attainment of 
required continuing education is available for audit or investigation 
or when otherwise requested by the agency. Adequate proof of par-
ticipation is listed under OAR 331-900-0090(3).  

(7) Documentation of participation in continuing education 
requirements must be maintained for a period of five years follow-
ing renewal, and must be available to the agency upon request. 

(8) Current training and certification in CPR, First Aid, and 
Blood borne pathogens is a condition of renewal and is not eligible 
for continuing education credit). 

(9) A licensee may carry up to 8 hours of excess continuing edu-
cation hours forward to the next renewal cycle. 

(10) For the purpose of this rule continuing education hours 
mean actual academic, classroom, or course work time, including but 
not limited to workshops, symposiums, or seminars. Continuing edu-
cation hours do not include travel time to or from the training site, 
registration or check-in periods, breaks or lunch periods. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35  
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0090 
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and 
Sanctions 

(1) The Agency will audit a select percentage of licenses to ver-
ify compliance with continuing education requirements.  

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation must submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days 
from the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence 
of participation in required continuing education in accordance with 
OAR 331-900-0085.  

(3) Evidence of successful completion of the required contin-
uing education must include the following:  

(a) Name of continuing education sponsor/provider;  
(b) Course agenda — including the date of the training and 

breakdown of hours for each agenda item, lunch and breaks;  
(c) Course outline — including a detailed summary of each 

topic discussed and the learning objective or training goal of each 
agenda item; The content of the course must have a direct relation-
ship between the course training and subject matter related to body 
piercing as set forth in OAR 331-900-0085(4);  

(d) Background resume of speakers or instructors; and  
(e) Documentation of attendance or successful course comple-

tion. Examples include a certificate, transcript, sponsor statement or 
affidavit attesting to attendance, diploma.  

(4) Documentation substantiating the completion of continuing 
education through self-study must show a direct relation to body 
piercing as set forth in OAR 331-900-0085(4), be submitted on forms 
provided by the agency and include the following:  

(a) Name of sponsor or source, type of study, description of con-
tent, date of completion and duration in clock hours;  

(b) Name of approved correspondence courses or national home 
study issues;  

(c) Name of publications, textbooks, printed material or audio-
cassette’s, including date of publication, publisher, and ISBN iden-
tifier; and  

(d) Name of films, videos, or slides, including date of produc-
tion, name of sponsor or producer and catalog number.  

(5) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or 
incomplete, the licensee has 30 calendar days from the date of the 
deficiency notice to correct the deficiency and submit further doc-
umentation of completion of the required continuing education.  

(6) Misrepresentations of continuing education or failure to 
complete continuing education requirements may result in disci-
plinary action, which may include, but is not limited to assessment 
of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Authority, Health Licensing Office

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

 2017 Edition 6 - 199 (11-15-16)



Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0095 
Earlobe Piercing Practice Standards and Prohibitions 

(1) An earlobe piercing license holder must:  
(a) Use an earlobe piercing system that pierces an individual’s 

earlobe by use of a sterile, encapsulated single-use stud with clasp;  
(b) Use an earlobe piercing system made of non-absorbent or 

non-porous material which can be cleaned and disinfected accord-
ing to manufacturer’s instructions;  

(c) Use single-use prepackaged sterilized ear piercing studs for 
each client;  

(d) Store new or sterilized ear piercing systems separately from 
used or soiled instruments; and  

(e) Disinfect all parts of the piercing system with a high-level 
disinfectant.  

(2) An earlobe piercer may only pierce with an earlobe pierc-
ing system; use of a needle is prohibited.  

(3) An earlobe piercing system may only be used to pierce the 
earlobe. Use of an earlobe piercing system on other parts of the body 
or ear is prohibited.  

(4) Piercing with a manual loaded spring operated ear piercing 
system is prohibited.  

(5) Piercing the earlobe with any type of piercing system which 
does not use the pre-sterilized encapsulated stud and clasp system is 
prohibited.  

(6) Earlobe Piercing is prohibited:  
(a) On a person under 18 years of age unless the requirements 

of OAR 331-900-0130 are met;  
(b) On a person who shows signs of being inebriated or appears 

to be incapacitated by the use of alcohol or drugs;  
(c) On a person who shows signs of recent intravenous drug use; 

and  
(d) On a person with sunburn or other skin diseases or disorders 

of the skin such as open lesions, rashes, wounds, puncture marks in 
areas of treatment. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0097 
General Standards for Earlobe Piercing 

(1) The cleanliness of any common area in a facility is the 
responsibility of each license holder. All license holders may be cited 
for violations found in the common area.  

(2) An earlobe piercing license holder licensed to perform ear-
lobe piercing services or a licensed facility owner must:  

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for 
providing services in the facility;  

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the 
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufac-
turer’s intended use of the device by the FDA;  

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited by the 
Agency or the FDA for use by earlobe piercing license holders;  

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with 
manufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are 
performed;  

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers;  
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products and pro-

tective gloves are used for each client. Use of towels and linens are 
prohibited;  

(g) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean 
and in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavato-
ries can be substituted for disposable hand towels;  

(h) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the facili-
ty. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized by 

the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or non-
poisonous reptiles in terrariums;  

(i) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at adequate 
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and 
be available for immediate use at all times the facility is open for 
business;  

(j) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered con-
tainer with a garbage liner;  

(k) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potentially 
infectious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then 
disposed of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediate-
ly following the service;  

(l) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with 
blood or other potentially infectious materials be disposed of in a 
sharps container;  

(m) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available 
on the facility premises; and  

(n) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control Standards.  
(3) An earlobe piercing licensee must wear eye goggles, shields 

or a mask if spattering is possible while providing services.  
(4) All substances shall be dispensed from containers in a man-

ner to prevent contamination of the unused portion.  
(5) Single use tubes or containers and applicators shall be dis-

carded following the service. 
(6) An earlobe piercing license holder is permitted to have hot 

and cold running water within a restroom as part of surrounding 
premises or adjacent to the facility.  

(7) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any 
procedure area which comes in direct contact with client is prohib-
ited.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; 
HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0098 
Standards for Client Services for Earlobe Piercing Licensees 

(1) An earlobe piercing license holder must observe and adhere 
to the following hand washing and disposable glove standards when 
servicing clients:  

(a) HAND WASHING: Hands must be washed or treated with 
an antibacterial hand sanitizer before and after treatment of each 
client, and before putting on disposable gloves and immediately after 
disposable gloves are removed; and  

(b) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands 
in warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces 
of the hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a 
clean, disposable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand san-
itizer by using friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists. Use 
of bar soap is prohibited.  

(2) An earlobe piercing license holder must observe and adhere 
to the following protective disposable glove standards when servic-
ing clients:  

(a) PROTECTIVE DISPOSABLE GLOVES: A new pair of 
disposable gloves must be worn during the treatment of each client;  

(b) Hands must be washed in accordance with hand washing 
instructions listed in Subsection (1) of this rule before putting on dis-
posable gloves and immediately after disposable gloves are 
removed;  

(c) When a treatment session is interrupted disposable gloves 
must be removed and discarded. Hand washing instructions listed in 
Subsection (1) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves 
put on when returning to the procedure service area;  

(d) When a licensee leaves the procedure area in the middle of 
a earlobe piercing procedure, gloves must be removed before leav-
ing the procedure area, hand washing instructions listed in Subsec-
tion (1) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves put 
on when returning to the procedure area;  

(e) Disposable gloves must be removed and discarded before 
leaving the procedure area; 
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(f) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, and 
hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (1) of this rule must 
be followed and gloves changed following hand washing; and  

(g) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute 
for hand washing instructions listed in subsection (1) of this rule.  

(3) Disposable gloves must be worn during pre-cleaning, clean-
ing, rinsing, disinfecting and drying of equipment and instruments;  

(4) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an antiseptic 
solution.  

(5) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-
30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0099 
Client Records and Information for Earlobe Piercing License 
Holder 

(1) An earlobe piercing license holder is responsible for main-
taining and keeping copies of all client records. If client records are 
maintained by the facility the facility owner must provide the 
licensee with copies of those client records upon request. The record 
must include the following for each client: 

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client;  
(b) Date of each service;  
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service;  
(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s med-

ical or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold 
sores and fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-
feeding/nursing.  

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or top-
ical solutions;  

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders;  
(g) Description of complications during procedure(s);  
(h) Signature from the client that they have received the fol-

lowing information in writing and verbally:  
(A) All information related to the body piercing service includ-

ing possible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the 
service and consent to obtaining the body piercing service; and 

(B) Information listed in OAR 331-900-0110 regarding 
informed consent for certain standard body piercing procedures. 

(C) After care instructions including care following service, 
possible side effects and complications and restrictions. 

(i) Signature from the client that they have been informed, both 
verbally and in writing, of all information related to the earlobe pierc-
ing services including possible reactions, side effects and potential 
complications of the service and consent to obtaining the earlobe 
piercing service; and  

(j) Proof of age or consent consisting of one of the following:  
(A) If the client is of over 18, a copy of a government issued 

photographic identification. A copy of the government issued pho-
tographic identification must be included in the client record;  

(B) If the client is a minor written parental or legal guardian 
consent is required. The written parental or legal guardian consent 
must be submitted to the licensee by the parent or legal guardian prior 
to piercing the minor. The consenting parent or legal guardian must 
be 18 years of age and present government issued photographic iden-
tification at time of written consent. A copy of the government issued 
photographic identification must be included in the client record.  

(C) If the client is an emancipated minor, copies of legal court 
documents proving emancipation and government issued photo-
graphic identification is required.  

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from a physician regarding 
medical Information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice 
from a physician must be documented in the client record.  

(3) For the purpose of (1) and (2) of this rule records must be 
kept at facility premises for a minimum of three years and must be 
made immediately available to the agency upon request.  

(4) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format. 
Client records, which are not readable by the Agency, will be treat-
ed as incomplete.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 
1-1-14 

331-900-0100 
Standard Body Piercing Practice Standards and Prohibitions 

(1) Piercing is prohibited:  
(a) On a person under 18 years of age unless the requirements 

of OAR 331-900-0130 are met. 
(b) On the genital or nipple of a person under the age of 18 

regardless of parental consent.  
(c) On testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, eyelids and 

sub-clavicle; 
(d) On a person who shows signs of being inebriated or appears 

to be incapacitated by the use of alcohol or drugs;  
(e) On a person who shows signs of recent intravenous drug use; 

and 
(f) On a person with sunburn or other skin diseases or disorders 

of the skin such as open lesions, rashes, wounds, puncture marks in 
areas of treatment. 

(2) Use of piercing guns is limited to piercing of the earlobe 
exclusively. No other part of the body or ear shall be pierced by use 
of a piercing gun.  

(3) Piercing with a manual loaded spring operated piercing gun 
is prohibited.  

(4) Piercing the earlobe with any type of piercing gun which 
does not use a pre-sterilized encapsulated stud and clasp system is 
prohibited.  

(5) The Agency adopts the Association of Professional Piercers 
2005 Procedure Manual by reference which must be used by 
licensees as a standard of care for body piercing best practices. The 
procedure manual can be located at http://www.safepiercing.org/pub-
lications/procedure-manual/ 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-900-0105 
Initial Jewelry for Standard Body Piercing 

(1) All standard body piercers must meet the following jewel-
ry grade standards for initial piercings: 

(a) Surgical steel that is American Society for Testing and Mate-
rials International (ASTM) ASTM F-138 compliant or Internation-
al Organization for Standardization (ISO) ISO 5832-1 compliant, 
ISO 10993-(6,10 or 11) compliant, or European Economic Com-
munity (EEC) Nickel Directive compliant;  

(b) Implant certified titanium (Ti6Al4V ELI) that is ASTM F-
136 compliant or ISO 5832-3 compliant, or commercially pure tita-
nium that is ASTM F-67 compliant;  

(c) Niobium;  
(d) White or yellow gold that is 14k or higher, nickel-free, and 

solid (no gold plated, gold-filled, or gold overlay/vermeil);  
(e) Platinum;  
(f) Biocompatible polymers (plastics) including Tygon Medi-

cal Surgical Tubing 5-50HL or 5-54HL, PTFE (Teflon), Bioplast™ 
or any new polymer products that are USP VI compliant;  

(g) Glass — Fused quartz glass, lead-free borosilicate, or lead-
free soda-lime glass;  

(h) Any other material that the APP determines to be appropri-
ate for use in an initial piercing; or 

(i) Threaded jewelry must be internally threaded and all surfaces 
and ends must be free of nicks, scratches, burrs and polishing com-
pounds.  
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(2) A licensee must have on the facility premises a “Mill Test 
Certificate” for all jewelry used for initial piercings which provides 
evidence of a specific grade of metal with a code designation from 
the ASTM or ISO or other documentation approved by the agency 
which meets one of the requirements listed in subsection (1) of this 
rule.  

(3) Jewelry used during earlobe piercing services defined under 
OAR 331-900-0000 for an initial earlobe piercing is not required to 
meet the jewelry grade standards of this rule.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-900-0110 
Informed Consent for Certain Standard Body Piercing 
Procedures 

(1) A standard body piercer must provide information pre-
scribed by the Agency to the client, regarding the following proce-
dures:  

(a) Nape piercing;  
(b) Single point piercing; and 
(c) General information regarding standard body piercing. 
(2) Informed consent documents for standard body piercing pro-

cedures are published on the Agency’s website at http://www.ore-
gon.gov/OHLA/BAP/forms.shtml. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12 

331-900-0115 
General Standards for Standard Body Piercing 

(1) The cleanliness of any common in a facility is the respon-
sibility of each license holder. All license holders may be cited for 
violations found in the common area.  

(2) An individual licensed to perform services in a field of prac-
tice or a licensed facility owner must:  

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for 
providing services in a field of practice at the place of business;  

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the 
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufac-
turer’s intended use of the device by the FDA;  

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited for 
use in a field of practice by the Agency or the FDA;  

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with 
manufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are 
performed;  

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers;  
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products, single-use 

needles, sterilized jewelry and protective gloves are used for each 
client. Use of towels and linens are prohibited;  

(g) Have unrestricted access or availability to a sink with hot 
and cold running water, as part of surrounding premises or adjacent 
to the facility but separate from a restroom;  

(h) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean 
and in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavato-
ries can be substituted for disposable hand towels;  

(i) Ensure all waste material related to a service in a field of 
practice be deposited in a covered container following service for 
each client;  

(j) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the business 
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized 
by the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or non-
poisonous reptiles in terrariums;  

(k) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at ade-
quate strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign materi-

al and be available for immediate use at all times the facility is open 
for business;  

(l) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered con-
tainer with a garbage liner;  

(m) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potential-
ly infectious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then 
disposed of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediate-
ly following the service;  

(n) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with 
blood or other potentially infectious materials be disposed of in a 
sharps container;  

(o) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available 
on the facility premises;  

(p) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
Standards;  

(q) Ensure that all instruments that come in direct contact with 
client’s skin are handled using gloves; and  

(r) Ensure that all jewelry used for initial piercings is sterilized 
before use on a client in accordance with OAR 331-900-0125.  

(3) A licensee must wear eye goggles, shields or a mask if spat-
tering is possible while providing services.  

(4) All substances must be dispensed from containers in a man-
ner to prevent contamination of the unused portion. Single use tubes 
or containers and applicators shall be discarded following the service.  

(5) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any 
procedure area which comes in direct contact with client is  
prohibited.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; 
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-900-0120 
Standards for Client Services for Standard Body Piercing 

(1) A licensee must wash hands in accordance with Subsection 
(2) of this rule as follows: 

(a) Prior to donning gloves to set-up of instruments used for 
conducting body piercing procedures;  

(b) Immediately prior to donning gloves to perform a body 
piercing procedure;  

(c) Immediately after removing gloves at the conclusion of per-
forming a body piercing procedure and after removing gloves at the 
conclusion of procedures performed in the sterilization area;  

(d) When leaving the work area;  
(e) When coming in contact with blood or other potentially 

infectious materials;  
(f) Before and after performing the following acts not limited 

to eating, drinking, smoking, applying lip cosmetics or lip balm, han-
dling contact lenses, or using the bathroom; or  

(g) When hands are visibly soiled.  
(2) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands 

in warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces 
of the hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a 
clean, disposable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand san-
itizer by using friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists.  

(3) A new pair of disposable gloves must be worn during the 
treatment of each client. 

(4) A minimum of one pair of disposable gloves must be used 
for each of the following stages of the body piercing procedure:  

(a) Set-up of instruments used for conducting body piercing 
procedures and skin preparation of the body piercing procedure area;  

(b) The body piercing procedure and post-procedure teardown; 
or  

(c) Cleaning and disinfection of the procedure area after each 
use or between clients.  

(5) Once gloves have been removed, they must be disposed of 
immediately and hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) 
of this rule must be followed.  
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(6) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, 
and hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of this rule 
must be followed and gloves changed following hand washing.  

(7) Disposable gloves must be removed before leaving the area 
where body piercing procedures are performed.  

(8) When a licensee leaves the body piercing procedure area in 
the middle of a body piercing procedure, gloves must be removed 
before leaving the procedure area, hand washing instructions listed 
in Subsection (2) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of 
gloves put on when returning to the procedure area.  

(9) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute 
for hand washing instructions listed in subsection (2) of this rule.  

(10) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an anti-
septic solution.  

(11) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-900-0125 
Approved Sterilization Standards for Standard Body Piercing 

(1) Needles must be single use, used on one client, then prop-
erly disposed of in an approved sharps container defined under OAR 
331-900-0000. 

(2) All non-sterilized or reusable instruments that come in direct 
contact with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood or other poten-
tially infectious materials must be cleaned and sterilized before use 
on a client or re-use on another client.  

(3) New gloves must be worn during any cleaning or steriliza-
tion procedure.  

(4) The cleaning and sterilization process listed in subsection 
(5) of this rule is not required if single-use prepackaged sterilized 
instruments, obtained from suppliers or manufacturers are used.  

(5) Approved cleaning and sterilization process for non-steril-
ized or reusable instruments includes the following ordered method 
after each use:  

(a) Clean non-sterilized or reusable instruments by manually 
brushing or swabbing visible foreign matter and rinsing the instru-
ments with warm water and an appropriate detergent solution to 
remove blood and other potentially infectious materials;  

(b) Clean, non-sterilized or reusable instruments, must be rinsed 
and placed in an ultrasonic cleaner filled with an appropriate ultra-
sonic solution including but not limited to an enzymatic cleaner. The 
ultrasonic unit must be used according to the manufacturer’s instruc-
tions. The ultrasonic unit must operate at 40 to 60 kilohertz. All 
hinged instruments (including but not limited to piercing forceps) 
must be in the open position. The ultrasonic cleaner must remain cov-
ered when in use;  

(c) Remove non-sterilized or reusable instruments from the 
ultrasonic unit. All instruments must be rinsed, air dried, and indi-
vidually packaged in sterilization pouches that include use of a color 
change indicator strip to assure sufficient temperature during each 
sterilization cycle, the date the sterilization was performed must be 
applied to the sterilization pouch; OR 

(A) Instruments which are sterilized in an autoclave which the 
manufacturer does not require packaging instruments use of a color 
change indicator strip must be used immediately after sterilization 
process is complete. Storage of sterilized Instruments using this 
method is prohibited; 

(d) Non-sterilized or reusable instruments must be sterilized by 
using an autoclave sterilizer, steam or chemical, registered and list-
ed with the FDA;  

(e) A steam sterilization integrator must be used to monitor the 
essential conditions of steam sterilization for each autoclaved load 
or cycle. Results must be recorded in a log book for each steriliza-
tion cycle. Each steam sterilization integrator must indicate the date 
the sterilization cycle took place. Steam sterilization integrators must 
be kept for a minimum of sixty days; and 

 (f) After sterilization, the sterilized instruments must be stored 
in individually packaged sterilization pouches that include a color 
change indicator strip listed under (5)(c) of this rule and in a dry, dis-
infected, closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved 
for the storage of such instruments.  

(6) Use of a biological monitoring system (“spore tests”) must 
be done at least once a month, verified through an independent lab-
oratory, to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and ster-
ilization achieved.  

(7) The ultrasonic unit listed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule 
must be used, cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manu-
facturer’s instructions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recom-
mended procedures for the operation of the ultrasonic unit must be 
kept on file at the body art facility.  

(8) All sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips 
listed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule must contain a chemical/tem-
perature and/or humidity sensitive tapes, strips or pellets for moni-
toring each sterilization cycle.  

(9) Sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips list-
ed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule and steam sterilization integrators 
listed in (5)(e) of this rule must be available at all times for inspec-
tion by the Agency.  

(10) Biological spore test results listed in subsection (6) of this 
rule must be immediately available at all times for inspection by the 
Agency and kept at facility premises for a minimum of two years.  

(11) The autoclave listed in subsection (5)(e) must be used, 
cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instruc-
tions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures for 
the operation of the autoclave must be kept on file at the body art 
facility.  

(12) The expiration date for sterilized instruments is one year 
from the date of sterilization unless the integrity of the package is 
compromised.  

(13) Sterilized instruments may not be used if the package 
integrity has been breached, is wet or stained, or the expiration date 
has exceeded without first meeting the requirements listed in Sub-
section (5) of this rule.  

(14) All sterilized instruments used in body piercing procedures 
must remain stored in sterile packages and in a dry, disinfected, 
closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved for the 
storage of such instruments until just prior to the performance of a 
body piercing procedure.  

(15) If a biological spore test listed in subsection (6) of this rule, 
result is positive, a licensee must discontinue the use of that steril-
izer (autoclave) until it has been serviced and a negative spore test 
has been recorded before putting that sterilizer back into service. 
Until a negative spore test has been received, the licensee must:  

(a) Use an alternative sterilizer (autoclave);  
(b) Use only sterilized instruments that have a sterilization date 

on or before the date before the last negative spore test was record-
ed; or  

(c) Use only single use instruments.  
(16) Following a negative spore test instruments which were 

sterilized following the receipt of the negative spore test must be 
repackaged and sterilized pursuant to subsection (5) of this rule, 
before use.  

(17) Following a negative spore test the licensee or facility must 
contact all clients in writing who may have received services prior 
to receiving the negative spore test results.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-900-0130 
Client Records and Information for Standard Body Piercing 

(1) A licensee is responsible for maintaining and keeping copies 
of all client records. If client records are maintained by the facility 
the facility owner must provide the licensee with copies of those 
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client records upon request. The record must include the following 
for each client: 

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client;  
(b) Date of each service, procedure location on the body and 

type of service performed on client;  
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service;  
(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s med-

ical or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold 
sores and fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-
feeding/nursing; 

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or top-
ical solutions;  

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders;  
(g) Type of jewelry;  
(h) Description of complications during procedure(s);  
(i) Signature from the client that they have received the fol-

lowing information in writing and verbally:  
(A) All information related to the body piercing service includ-

ing possible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the 
service and consent to obtaining the body piercing service;  

(B) Information listed in OAR 331-900-0110 regarding 
informed consent for certain standard body piercing procedures;  

(C) After care instructions including care following service, 
possible side effects and complications and restrictions; and 

(j) The licensee must obtain proof of age or consent consisting 
of one of the following:  

(A) If the client is of over 18, a copy of a government issued 
photographic identification. A copy of the government issued pho-
tographic identification must be included in the client record; or 

(B) If the client is a minor written parental or legal guardian 
consent is required. The written parental or legal guardian consent 
must be submitted to the licensee by the parent or legal guardian prior 
to piercing the minor. The consenting parent or legal guardian must 
be 18 years of age and present government issued photographic iden-
tification at time of written consent. A copy of the government issued 
photographic identification must be included in the client record: or 

(C) If the client is an emancipated minor, copies of legal court 
documents proving emancipation and government issued photo-
graphic identification is required.  

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from physicians regarding 
medical Information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice 
from the physician must be documented in the client record.  

(3) For the purpose of (1) and (2) of this rule records must be 
maintained at facility premises for a minimum of three years and 
must be made immediately available to the agency upon request.  

(4) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format. 
Client records, which are not readable by the Agency, will be treat-
ed as incomplete.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

DIVISION 905 

SPECIALITY BODY PIERCING 

331-905-0000  
Specialty Body Piercing Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, division 
900: 

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” has the meaning set forth in OAR 
331-030-0040.  

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.  
(3) “APP” means Association of Professional Piercers.  
(4) “Body piercing” has the definition set forth in ORS 690.350.  
(5) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor or instructor is 

present in the facility and actively involved in direct oversight and 
training of students.  

(6) “EPA” means United States Environmental Protection 
Agency.  

(7) “FDA” means Food and Drug Administration.  
(8) “Field of practice” has the definition set forth in ORS 

690.350.  
(9) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, registered 

with the EPA, which has demonstrated tuberculocidal activity.  
(10) “Instruments” means equipment used during body pierc-

ing services. Types of instruments include but are not limited to nee-
dles, forceps, hemostats, tweezers, and jewelry.  

(11) “Official transcript” means:  
(a) An original document authorized by the appropriate office 

in the Oregon Department of Education and certified by an educa-
tional institution indicating applicant identity information, field of 
practice(s) enrolled under, specific hour requirements for each field 
of practice if applicable, final practical examination scores for each 
field of practice, enrollment information and a signature by an autho-
rized representative on file with the agency. Original documents must 
be submitted directly to the agency from the educational institution 
by United States Postal Service mail or other recognized mail ser-
vice providers in a sealed envelope;  

(12) “Practitioner” means a person licensed to perform services 
included within a field of practice.  

(13) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof 
container that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation, and 
disposal. The container must be labeled with the “Biohazard” sym-
bol.  

(14) “Specialty level one genital piercing” includes the fol-
lowing:  

(a) Male genital piercings including the scrotum, frenum, fore-
skin, or the perineum behind the scrotum, and the piercing of the 
penis through the urethra, perineum behind the scrotum (Guiche) and 
exiting on the underside of the penis (called a “Prince Albert”); and  

(b) Female genital piercing including the labia majora, labia 
minors, piercings of the clitoral hood, and perineum between the 
vagina and the anus (fourchette).  

(15) “Specialty level two genital piercing” includes the fol-
lowing:  

(a) Male genital piercings including: a vertical piercing through 
the glans of the penis (called an “apadravya”), horizontal piercing 
through the glans of the penis (called an “ampallang”), a piercing 
through the corona or ridge of the glans of the penis (called a 
“dydoe”), a piercing of the penis entering through the urethra and 
exiting on the upper side of the penis (called a “reverse Prince 
Albert”); and  

(b) Female genital piercings including the clitoris, a piercing in 
which jewelry is inserted below the hood behind the clitoris (called 
a “triangle”), and a piercing of the vagina through the urethra and 
exiting on the upper side of the vagina (called a “Princess Alberti-
na”).  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 
4-1-13 thru 9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-905-0005  
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing Education or Training 

Beginning on January 1, 2013, all education curriculum or train-
ing for specialty level one genital piercing must meet requirements 
set forth by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency prior to beginning 
training or education.  

(1) Education Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital 
Piercing Student: An individual must obtain a standard body pierc-
ing license prior to beginning education for specialty level one gen-
ital piercing. The specialty level one genital piercing career school 
course of study must include 36 hours of practical education and a 
minimum of 36 practical operations.  

(2) The 36 practical operations required must include:  
(a) 6 practical operations observed by the student which must 

include a minimum of 3 female genital piercings and a minimum of 
3 male genital piercings. Out of the 6 practical operations the student 
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must observe at least 4 different piercing procedures listed in sub-
section (3) of this rule; 

(b) 10 practical operations in which the student participated 
which must include a minimum of 3 female genital piercings and a 
minimum of 3 male genital piercings. Out of the 10 practical oper-
ations the student must participate in at least 4 different piercing pro-
cedures listed in subsection (3) of this rule; and  

(c) 20 practical operations performed by the student under direct 
supervision, but without assistance which must include a minimum 
of 6 female genital piercings and a minimum of 6 male genital pierc-
ings. Out of the 20 practical operations the student must perform at 
least 4 different piercing procedures listed in subsection (3) of this 
rule.  

(3) The 36 piercings included in the practical training must 
include at least 3 different piercing procedures listed in Subsection 
(a) through (i) below of this rule:  

(a) Scrotum;  
(b) Frenum;  
(c) Foreskin;  
(d) Perineum behind the scrotum (Guiche);  
(e) Piercing of the penis through the urethra and exiting on the 

underside of the penis (Prince Albert);  
(f) Labia majora;  
(g) Labia minora;  
(h) Piercing of the perineum between the vagina and the anus 

(fourchette); and 
(i) Piercing of the clitoral hood. 
(4) Education must be conducted by a Department of Education, 

Private Career School licensed instructor who holds an active spe-
cialty level one genital piercing license.  

(5) A Department of Education, Private Career School licensed 
instructor must provide direct supervision of practical training on a 
one-to-one student/teacher ratio for students performing practical 
training while working on the general public.  

(6) Supervised Training Requirements for Specialty Level One 
Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee: An individual must obtain a 
standard body piercing license prior to beginning training for spe-
cialty level one genital piercing. The specialty level one genital pierc-
ing training program must include 46 36 hours of practical training 
and a minimum of 36 practical operations.  

(7) The 36 practical operations required must include:  
(a) 6 practical operations observed by the trainee which must 

include a minimum of 3 female genital piercings and a minimum of 
3 male genital piercings. Out of the 6 practical operations the trainee 
must observe at least 4 different piercing procedures listed in sub-
section (8) of this rule; 

(b) 10 practical operations in which the trainee participated 
which must include a minimum of 3 female genital piercings and a 
minimum of 3 male genital piercings. Out of the 10 practical oper-
ations the trainee must participate in at least 4 different piercing pro-
cedures listed in subsection (8) of this rule; and  

(c) 20 practical operations performed by the trainee under direct 
supervision, but without assistance which must include a minimum 
of 3 female genital piercings and a minimum of 3 male genital pierc-
ings. Out of the 20 practical operations the trainee must perform at 
least 3 different piercing procedures listed in subsection (8) of this 
rule.  

(8) The 36 piercings included in the practical training must 
include at least 3 different piercing procedures listed below in sub-
section (a) through (i) below of this rule:  

(a) Scrotum;  
(b) Frenum;  
(c) Foreskin;  
(d) Perineum behind the scrotum (Guiche);  
(e) Piercing of the penis through the urethra and exiting on the 

underside of the penis (Prince Albert);  
(f) Labia majora;  
(g) Labia minora;  
(h) Piercing of the perineum between the vagina and the anus 

(fourchette); and 
(i) Piercing of the clitoral hood. 

(9) Training must be completed in no less than two months from 
the date the Agency issues a specialty level one genital piercing tem-
porary trainee license.  

(10) A supervisor must provide direct supervision of practical 
training on a one-to-one trainee to trainer ratio for trainees per-
forming practical training while the trainee is working on the gen-
eral public.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 
4-1-13 thru 9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-905-0010  
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing Education or Training 

Beginning on January 1, 2013, all education curriculum or train-
ing for specialty level two genital piercing must meet requirements 
set forth by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency prior to beginning 
training or education.  

(1) Education Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital 
Piercing Student: An individual must obtain a standard body and spe-
cialty level one genital piercing license prior to beginning education 
for specialty level two genital piercing. The specialty level two gen-
ital piercing career school course of study must include 26 hours of 
practical education and a minimum of 26 practical operations. (2) 
The 26 practical operations required must include:  

(a) 6 practical operations observed by the student. Out of the 6 
practical operations the student must observe at least 3 different 
piercing procedures listed in subsection (5) (3) of this rule;  

(b) 10 practical operations in which the student participated. Out 
of the 10 practical operations the student must participate in at least 
3 different piercing procedures listed in subsection (3) of this rule; 
and  

(c) 10 practical operations performed by the student under direct 
supervision, but without assistance. Out of the 10 practical operations 
the student must perform at least 3 different piercing procedures list-
ed in subsection (3) of this rule.  

(3) The 26 piercings included in the practical training must 
include at least 3 different piercing procedures listed in Subsection 
(a) through (h) of this rule:  

(a) Piercing of the penis entering through the urethra and exit-
ing on the upper side of the penis (reverse Prince Albert);  

(b) Piercing through the corona or ridge of the glans of the penis 
(dydoe);  

(c) Horizontal piercing through the glans of the penis (ampal-
lang);  

(d) Vertical piercing through the glans of the penis (apadravya);  
(e) Clitoris;  
(f) Piercing in which jewelry is inserted below the hood behind 

the clitoris (triangle);  
(g) Any piercing of the female genitals through the urethra; and  
(h) Any other genital piercings not listed in specialty level one 

genital piercing.  
(4) As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theo-

ry must be completed prior to practical work being performed.  
(5) Education must be conducted by a Department of Education, 

Private Career School licensed instructor who holds an active spe-
cialty level two genital piercing license.  

(6) A Department of Education, Private Career School licensed 
instructor must provide direct supervision of practical training on a 
one-to-one student/teacher ratio for students performing practical 
training while working on the general public.  

(7) Supervised Training Requirements for Specialty Level Two 
Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee: An individual must obtain a 
standard body and specialty level one genital piercing license prior 
to beginning training for specialty level two genital piercing. The 
specialty level two genital piercing training program must include 26 
hours of practical training and a minimum of 26 practical operations. 
The training must include a minimum of  

(8) The 26 practical operations required must include:  
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(a) 6 practical operations observed by the trainee. Out of the 6 
practical operations the trainee must observe at least 3 different pierc-
ing procedures listed in subsection (9) of this rule;  

(b) 10 practical operations in which the trainee participated. Out 
of the 10 practical operations the trainee must participate in at least 
3 different piercing procedures listed in subsection (9) of this rule; 
and  

(c) 10 practical operations performed by the trainee under direct 
supervision, but without assistance. Out of the 10 practical operations 
the trainee must perform at least 3 different piercing procedures list-
ed in subsection (9) of this rule.  

(9) The 26 piercings included in the practical training must 
include at least three different piercing procedures listed in Subsec-
tion (a) through (h) of this rule:  

(a) Piercing of the penis entering through the urethra and exit-
ing on the upper side of the penis (reverse Prince Albert);  

(b) Piercing through the corona or ridge of the glans of the penis 
(dydoe);  

(c) Horizontal piercing through the glans of the penis (ampal-
lang);  

(d) Vertical piercing through the glans of the penis (apadravya);  
(e) Clitoris;  
(f) Piercing in which jewelry is inserted below the hood behind 

the clitoris (triangle);  
(g) Any piercing of the female genitals through the urethra; and  
(h) Any other genital piercings not listed in specialty level one 

genital piercing.  
(10) Training must be completed in no less than 2 months from 

the date the Agency issues a specialty level two genital piercing tem-
porary trainee license.  

(11) A supervisor must provide direct supervision of practical 
training on a one-to-one trainee to trainer ratio for trainees per-
forming practical training while the trainee is working on the gen-
eral public.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 
4-1-13 thru 9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-905-0011 
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing Trainee 

(1) A specialty level one genital piercing temporary trainee 
license is valid for one year, and may not be renewed. 

(2) A specialty level one genital piercing temporary trainee 
license holder may perform services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(14).  

(3) A specialty level one genital piercing temporary trainee 
license holder, licensed under ORS 690.365, may provide specialty 
level one genital piercing services under the direct supervision of an 
Agency approved supervisor pursuant OAR 331-905-0052 and 331-
905-0055.  

(4) Supervisors of a specialty level one genital piercing tem-
porary trainee must adhere to OAR 331-905-0055.  

(5) A specialty level one genital piercing temporary trainee 
license holder must adhere to all standards within OAR 331-905-
0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 
331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 
331 division 925.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13 

331-905-0012 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital 
Piercing Temporary Trainee License 

An individual applying for a Specialty Level One Genital Pierc-
ing Temporary Trainee License must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age, documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent;  
(5) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 

basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider;  
(6) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 

an Agency approved provider;  
(7) Submit proof of having a current standard body piercing 

license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action; 
and  

(8) Pay applicable licensing fees.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415 
Hist.: HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13 

331-905-0013 
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee 

(1) A specialty level two genital piercing temporary trainee 
license is valid for one year, and may not be renewed. 

(2) A specialty level two genital piercing temporary trainee 
license holder may perform services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(15).  

(3) A specialty level two genital piercing temporary trainee 
license holder, licensed under ORS 690.365, may provide specialty 
level two genital piercing services under the direct supervision of an 
Agency approved supervisor pursuant OAR 331-905-0058 and 331-
905-0060.  

(4) Supervisors of a specialty level two genital piercing tem-
porary trainee must adhere to OAR 331-905-0060.  

(5) A specialty level two genital piercing temporary trainee 
license holder must adhere to all standards within OAR 331-905-
0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 
331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 
331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; 
HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, 
cert. ef. 3-15-13 

331-905-0014 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital 
Piercing TemporaryTrainee License 

An individual applying for a Specialty Level Two Genital Pierc-
ing Temporary Trainee License must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age, documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent;  
(5) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 

basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider;  
(6) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 

an Agency approved provider;  
(7) Submit proof of having a current specialty level one geni-

tal piercing license which is active with no current or pending dis-
ciplinary action; and  

(8) Pay applicable licensing fees.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415 
Hist.: HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0015  
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing License Issued to a Body 
Piercer Licensed Prior to January 1, 2012 

(1) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder may per-
form standard body piercing services defined under OAR 331-900-
0000(16). 

(2) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder may per-
form specialty level one services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(14).  

(3) A specialty level one genital piercing license is valid for one 
year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from 
the date of issuance.  

(4) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder must 
adhere to all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 
331-905-0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-
905-0120 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0020 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital 
Piercer Licensed as Body Piercer Prior to January 1, 2012 

(1) An individual applying for licensure who obtained an Ore-
gon body piercing license before January 1, 2012, to qualify for a 
specialty level one genital piercing license, that individual must:  

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider;  

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent;  
(g) Submit proof of having a current standard body piercing 

license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action;  
(h) Submit copies of client records demonstrating proof of hav-

ing successfully performed a minimum of 36 specialty level one gen-
ital piercings listed in OAR 331-905-0005(3). The 36 specialty level 
one genital piercings must have been performed before January 1, 
2012, if done in Oregon. Client records must demonstrate proof of 
having performed at least 3 different piercing procedures listed in 
331-905-0005(3). Each client record submitted must clearly identi-
fy the type of genital piercing procedure by labeling each record with 
the same descriptive language listed in 331-905-0005(3); and  

(i) Pay all licensing fees.  
(2) Experience claimed under subsections (1)(g) and (1)(h) of 

this rule is subject to independent verification by the Agency.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-905-0025 
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing License Issued to a Body 
Piercer Licensed Prior to January 1, 2012 

(1) A specialty level two genital piercing license holder may 
perform standard body piercing services defined under OAR 331-
900-0000(16). 

(2) A specialty level two genital piercing license holder may 
perform specialty level one services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(14). 

(3) A specialty level two genital piercing license holder may 
perform specialty level two services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(15). 

(4) A specialty level two genital piercing license is valid for one 
year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from 
the date of issuance.  

(5) A specialty level two genital piercing license holder must 
adhere to all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 
331-905-0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-
905-0120 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0030 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital 
Piercer Licensed as a Body Piercer Prior to January 1, 2012 

(1) An individual applying for licensure who obtained an Ore-
gon body piercing license before January 1, 2012, to qualify for a 
specialty level two genital piercing license, that individual must:  

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider;  

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent;  
(g) Submit proof of having a current specialty level one geni-

tal piercing license which is active with no current or pending dis-
ciplinary action;  

(h) Submit copies of client records demonstrating proof of hav-
ing successfully performed a minimum of 26 specialty level two gen-
ital piercings listed in OAR 331-905-0010(3). The 26 specialty level 
two genital piercings must have been performed before January 1, 
2012, if done in Oregon. Client records must demonstrate proof of 
having performed at least 3 different piercing procedures listed in 
OAR 331-905-0010(3). Each client record submitted must clearly 
identify the type of genital piercing procedure by labeling each 
record with the same descriptive language listed in OAR 331-905-
0010(3); and  

(i) Pay all licensing fees.  
(2) Experience claimed under subsections (1)(g) and (1)(h) of 

this rule is subject to independent verification by the Agency.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-905-0035 
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing License 

(1) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder may per-
form standard body piercing services defined under OAR 331-900-
0000(16). 

(2) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder may per-
form specialty level one services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(14).  

(3) A specialty level one genital piercing license is valid for one 
year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from 
the date of issuance.  
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(4) A specialty level one genital license holder must adhere to 
all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-
0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 
and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0040 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital 
Piercing License 

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice specialty 
level one genital piercing must: 

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider;  

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
and 

(g) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway. 
(2) License Pathway 1 — Graduate from an Oregon Licensed 

Career School for Specialty Level One Genital Piercing must:  
(a) Submit official transcript from a specialty level one genital 

piercing career school under ORS 345 showing proof of completion 
of required specialty level one genital piercing curriculum as 
approved by the Agency under OAR 331-905-0005(1) through (5);  

(b) If applicable, pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of the Agency approved standard body 

piercing written examinations in accordance with OAR 331-900-
0060(2) and (3). Completion of the written examination is not 
required if the applicant has passed the examinations listed under 
331-900-0060(2) and (3) within two years before the date of appli-
cation; and 

(d) Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, 
and before issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

(3) License Pathway 2 — Qualification through Specialty Level 
One Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee License:  

(a) Submit documentation approved by the Agency showing 
proof of having completed required specialty level one genital train-
ing listed under OAR 331-905-0005(6) through (10), and verified by 
a supervisor approved under OAR 331-905-0055, on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency;  

(b) If applicable, pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of the Agency approved standard body 

piercing written examinations in accordance with OAR 331-900-
0060(2) and (3). Completion of the written examination is not 
required if the applicant has passed the examinations listed under 
331-900-0060(2) and (3) within two years before the date of appli-
cation; and 

(d) Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, 
and before issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 
4-1-13 thru 9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-905-0045 
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing License 

(1) A specialty level two genital piercing license may perform 
standard body piercings services defined under OAR 331-900-
0000(16).  

(2) A specialty level two genital piercing license may perform 
specialty level one services defined under OAR 331-905-0000(14).  

(3) A specialty level two genital piercing license may perform 
specialty level two services defined under OAR 331-905-0000(15).  

(4) A specialty level two genital piercing license is valid for one 
year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from 
the date of issuance.  

(5) A specialty level two genital license holder must adhere to 
all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-
0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 
and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0050 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital 
Piercing License 

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice specialty 
level two genital piercing must: 

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider;  

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
and  

(g) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway;  
(2) License Pathway 1 — Graduate from an Oregon Licensed 

Career School for Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing:  
(a) Submit official transcript from a specialty level two genital 

piercing career school under ORS 345 and showing proof of com-
pletion of required specialty level two genital piercing curriculum as 
approved by the Agency under OAR 331-905-0010(1) through (6);  

(b) If applicable, Pay pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of the Agency approved standard body 

piercing written examinations in accordance with OAR 331-900-
0060(2) and (3). Completion of the written examination is not 
required if the applicant has passed the examinations listed under 
OAR 331-900-0060(2) and (3) within two years before the date of 
application; and 

(d) Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, 
and before issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

(3) License Pathway 2 — Qualification through Specialty Level 
Two Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee License:  

(a) Submit documentation approved by the Agency showing 
proof of having completed required specialty level two genital train-
ing listed under OAR 331-905-0010(7) through (11), verified by a 
supervisor approved under 331-905-0060 on a form prescribed by the 
Agency;  

(b) If applicable, pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of the Agency approved standard body 

piercing written examinations in accordance with OAR 331-900-
0060(2) and (3). Completion of the written examination is not 
required if the applicant has passed the examinations listed under 
331-900-0060(2) and (3) within two years before the date of appli-
cation; and 
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(d) Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, 
and before issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 
4-1-13 thru 9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-905-0052 
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing Supervisor 

(1) An approved supervisor may supervise one specialty level 
one genital piercing trainee per shift.  

(2) An approved supervisor must exercise management, guid-
ance, and control over the activities of the specialty level one geni-
tal piercing and must exercise professional judgment and be respon-
sible for all matters relative to the specialty level one genital piercing 
trainee.  

(3) Supervisors must document work done by the specialty level 
one genital piercing trainee on a form prescribed by the Agency and 
maintain training documentation for a minimum of two years fol-
lowing completion of training.  

(4) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing 
within five calendar days if a specialty level one genital piercing 
trainee is no longer being supervised, and must provide the number 
of hours of training completed on a form prescribed by the Agency.  

(5) Not withstanding any other disciplinary actions, an 
approved supervisor’s authorization to supervise may be withdrawn 
by the Agency for providing incomplete or inadequate training or fal-
sifying documentation.  

(6) Supervisors must provide direct supervision to specialty 
level one genital piercing trainees.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; 
HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-905-0055 
Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital Piercing 
Supervisor 

(1) To be an approved supervisor for a specialty level one gen-
ital piercing temporary trainee an individual must: 

(a) Submit a completed form prescribed by the Agency, which 
must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000;  

(b) Submit proof of having a specialty level one genital pierc-
ing license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary 
action;  

(c) Submit proof of having been actively practicing any com-
bination of body piercing experience prior to January 1, 2012, or 
standard body piercing experience after January 1, 2012, for at least 
five years prior to submitting application on a form prescribed by the 
Agency; 

(d) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider; and 

(e) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider. 

(2) A specialty level one genital piercing supervisor must adhere 
to all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-
0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 
and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0058 
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing Supervisor 

(1) An approved supervisor may supervise one specialty level 
two genital piercing temporary trainee per shift.  

(2) An approved supervisor must exercise management, guid-
ance, and control over the activities of the specialty level two geni-
tal piercing temporary trainee and must exercise professional judg-
ment and be responsible for all matters relative to the specialty level 
two genital piercing trainee.  

(3) Supervisors must document work done by the specialty level 
two genital piercing temporary trainee on a form prescribed by the 
Agency and maintain training documentation for a minimum of two 
years following completion of training..  

(4) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing 
within five calendar days if a specialty level two genital piercing tem-
porary trainee is no longer being supervised, and must provide the 
number of hours of training completed on a form prescribed by the 
Agency.  

(5) Not withstanding any other disciplinary actions, an 
approved supervisor’s authorization to supervise may be withdrawn 
by the Agency for providing incomplete or inadequate training or fal-
sifying documentation.  

(6) Supervisors must provide direct supervision to specialty 
level two genital piercing temporary trainees.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; 
HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-905-0060 
Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing 
Supervisor 

(1) To be an approved supervisor for a specialty level two gen-
ital piercing temporary trainee an individual must: 

(a) Submit a completed form prescribed by the Agency, which 
must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000;  

(b) Submit proof of having a specialty level one genital pierc-
ing license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary 
action;  

(c) Submit proof of having a specialty level two genital pierc-
ing license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary 
action;  

(d) Submit proof of having been actively practicing any com-
bination of body piercing experience prior to January 1, 2012, or 
standard body piercing experience after January 1, 2012, for at least 
five years prior to submitting application on a form prescribed by the 
Agency; 

(e) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
basic first aid training from an Agency approved provider; and 

(f) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from 
an Agency approved provider. 

(2) A specialty level two genital piercing supervisor must adhere 
to all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-
0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 
and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-
12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0065 
Informed Consent for Certain Body Piercing Procedures 

(1) A specialty cheek piercer must provide information pre-
scribed by the Agency to the client, regarding cheek piercing. 

(2) A specialty level one genital piercer must provide informa-
tion prescribed by the Agency to the client, regarding specialty level 
one genital piercings. 
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(3) A specialty level two genital piercer must provide informa-
tion prescribed by the Agency to the client, regarding specialty level 
two genital piercings.  

(4) Informed consent documents for body piercing procedures 
listed in Subsection (1), (2) and (3) of this rule is published on the 
Agency’s website at 
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/BAP/forms.shtml.  

(5) A specialty cheek piercer must disclose to each client receiv-
ing a specialty cheek piercing the number of cheek piercings in 
which the piercer has completed on clients and which the piercer can 
verify on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(6) A specialty level one genital piercer must disclose to each 
client receiving a specialty level one genital piercing the number of 
specific specialty level one genital piercings which the piercer has 
completed on clients and which the piercer can verify on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency. 

(7) A specialty level two genital piercer must disclose to each 
client receiving a specialty level two genital piercing the number of 
specific specialty level two genital piercings which the piercer has 
completed on clients and which the piercer can verify on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12 

331-905-0075  
General Specialty Body Piercing Examination Information 

(1) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet iden-
tification requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000. 

(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an 
agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the exami-
nation in languages other than English.  

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored 
during the course of testing.  

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time 
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the 
Agency.  

(5) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the examination 
area is prohibited.  

(6) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as 
personal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other 
devices deemed inappropriate by the agency, are prohibited in the 
examination area.  

(7) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may 
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the exami-
nation, the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and for-
feiture of the candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes 
but is not limited to:  

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and 
attempting to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination pro-
cess;  

(b) Violations of subsections (5), (6) or (7) of this rule;  
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-relat-

ed information, notes or materials from the examination site;  
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the 

examination; and  
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the 

examination.  
(8) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination 

or the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under 
subsection (7) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, 
submit additional examination fees, and request in writing to sched-
ule a new examination date, before being considered for another 
examination opportunity.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0080  
Written Examination Retake Requirements 

Individuals failing the written examination must meet the 
requirements listed under OAR 331-900-0070 before taking the 
examination a subsequent time. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; 
HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13 thru 9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-1-13 

331-905-0085  
Renewal of a Specialty Level One Genital or Specialty Level Two 
Genital Piercing License 

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, 
division 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regard-
ing authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for 
issuance of a duplicate license. 

(2) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, spe-
cialty level one genital or specialty level two genital piercing license 
renewal must be made prior to the license entering inactive status. 
The licensee must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000;  
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing 

education under OAR 331-900-0085, on a form prescribed by the 
agency. Continuing education is required whether the license is cur-
rent or inactive;  

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resus-
citation from an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Attestation of current first aid training by an Agency 
approved provider; and 

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens 
training from an Agency approved provider.  

NOTE: A licensee is not required to renew the standard body piercing 
license if renewing a specialty level one genital or specialty level two gen-
ital piercing license.  
NOTE: A licensee is not required to renew the specialty level one genital 
license if renewing the specialty level two genital piercing license.  
(3) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A specialty level one 

genital or specialty level two genital piercing license may be inac-
tive for up to three years. If a license is inactive the licensee is not 
authorized to practice. When renewing a license after entering inac-
tive status, the licensee holder must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 

331-940-0000;  
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing 

education under OAR 331-900-0085 on a form prescribed by the 
Agency. Continuing education is required whether the license is cur-
rent or inactive;  

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resus-
citation from an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Attestation of current first aid training by an Agency 
approved provider; and  

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens 
training from an Agency approved provider.  

(4) EXPIRED LICENSE: A specialty level one genital or spe-
cialty level two genital piercing license that has been inactive for 
more than three years is expired and the license holder must reap-
ply and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-905-0040 or 331-
905-0050.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0090 
Specialty Body Piercing Practice Standards and Prohibitions  

(1) Piercing is prohibited: 
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(a) On the genital or nipple of a person under the age of 18 
regardless of parental consent; 

(b) On testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, eyelids and 
sub-clavicle;  

(c) On a person who shows signs of being inebriated or appears 
to be incapacitated by the use of alcohol or drugs;  

(d) On a person who shows signs of recent intravenous drug 
use;  

(e) On a person with sunburn or other skin diseases or disorders 
of the skin such as open lesions, rashes, wounds, or puncture marks 
in areas of treatment;  

(2) Use of piercing guns is limited to piercing of the earlobe 
exclusively. No other part of the body or ear shall be pierced by use 
of a piercing gun.  

(3) Piercing with a manual loaded spring operated piercing gun 
is prohibited.  

(4) Piercing the earlobe with any type of piercing gun which 
does not use a pre-sterilized encapsulated stud and clasp system is 
prohibited.  

(5) The Agency adopts the Association of Professional Piercers 
2005 Procedure Manual by reference which must be used by 
licensees as a standard of care for body piercing best practices. The 
procedure manual can be located at http://www.safepiercing.org/pub-
lications/procedure-manual/  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0095 
General Standards for Specialty Body Piercing 

(1) The cleanliness of any common in a facility is the respon-
sibility of each license holder. All license holders may be cited for 
violations found in the common area.  

(2) An individual licensed to perform services in a field of prac-
tice or a licensed facility owner must:  

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for 
providing services in a field of practice at the place of business;  

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the 
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufac-
turer’s intended use of the device by the FDA;  

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited for 
use in a field of practice by the Agency or the FDA;  

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with 
manufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are 
performed;  

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers;  
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products, single-use 

needles, sterilized jewelry and protective gloves are used for each 
client. Use of towels and linens are prohibited;  

(g) Have unrestricted access or availability to a sink with hot 
and cold running water, as part of surrounding premises or adjacent 
to the facility but separate from a restroom;  

(h) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean 
and in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavato-
ries can be substituted for disposable hand towels;  

(i) Ensure all waste material related to a service in a field of 
practice be deposited in a covered container following service for 
each client;  

(j) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the business 
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized 
by the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or non-
poisonous reptiles in terrariums;  

(k) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at ade-
quate strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign materi-
al and be available for immediate use at all times the facility is open 
for business;  

(l) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered con-
tainer with a garbage liner;  

(m) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potential-
ly infectious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then 

disposed of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediate-
ly following the service;  

(n) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with 
blood or other potentially infectious materials be disposed of in a 
sharps container;  

(o) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available 
on the facility premises;  

(p) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
Standards; and  

(q) Ensure that all instruments that come in direct contact with 
client’s skin are handled using gloves.  

(3) A licensee must wear eye goggles, shields or a mask if spat-
tering is possible while providing services.  

(4) All substances shall be dispensed from containers in a man-
ner to prevent contamination of the unused portion. Single use tubes 
or containers and applicators shall be discarded following the service.  

(5) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any 
procedure area which comes in direct contact with client is  
prohibited.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-
30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-905-0100 
Standards for Client Services for Specialty Body Piercing 

(1) A licensee must wash hands in accordance with Subsection 
(2) of this rule as follows: 

(a) Prior to donning gloves to set-up of instruments used for 
conducting body piercing procedures;  

(b) Immediately prior to donning gloves to perform a body 
piercing procedure;  

(c) Immediately after removing gloves at the conclusion of per-
forming a body piercing procedure and after removing gloves at the 
conclusion of procedures performed in the sterilization area;  

(d) When leaving the work area;  
(e) When coming in contact with blood or other potentially 

infectious materials;  
(f) Before and after performing the following acts not limited 

to eating, drinking, smoking, applying lip cosmetics or lip balm, han-
dling contact lenses, or using the bathroom; and 

(g) When hands are visibly soiled.  
(2) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands 

in warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces 
of the hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a 
clean, disposable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand san-
itizer by using friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists.  

(3) A new pair of disposable gloves must be worn during the 
treatment of each client;  

(4) A minimum of one pair of disposable gloves must be used 
for each of the following stages of the body piercing procedure:  

(a) Set-up of instruments used for conducting body piercing 
procedures and skin preparation of the body piercing procedure area;  

(b) The body piercing procedure and post-procedure teardown; 
and 

(c) Cleaning and disinfection of the procedure area after each 
use or between clients.  

(5) Once gloves have been removed, they must be disposed of 
immediately and hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) 
of this rule must be followed.  

(6) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, 
and hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of this rule 
must be followed and gloves changed following hand washing.  

(7) Disposable gloves must be removed before leaving the area 
where body piercing procedures are performed.  

(8) When a licensee leaves the body piercing procedure area in 
the middle of a body piercing procedure, gloves must be removed 
before leaving the procedure area, hand washing instructions listed 
in Subsection (2) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of 
gloves put on when returning to the procedure area.  
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(9) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute 
for hand washing instructions listed in subsection (2) of this rule.  

(10) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an anti-
septic solution.  

(11) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0105 
Approved Sterilization for Specialty Body Piercing  

(1) Needles must be single use, used on one client, then prop-
erly disposed of in an approved sharps container defined under OAR 
331-905-0000. 

(2) All non-sterilized or reusable instruments that come in direct 
contact with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood or other poten-
tially infectious materials must be cleaned and sterilized before use 
on a client or re-use on another client.  

(3) New gloves must be worn during any sterilization proce-
dure.  

(4) The cleaning and sterilization process listed in subsection 
(5) of this rule is not required if single-use prepackaged sterilized 
instruments, obtained from suppliers or manufacturers are used.  

(5) Approved cleaning and sterilization process for non-steril-
ized or reusable instruments includes the following ordered method 
after each use:  

(a) Clean non-sterilized or reusable instruments by manually 
brushing or swabbing visible foreign matter and rinsing the instru-
ments with warm water and an appropriate detergent solution to 
remove blood and other potentially infectious materials;  

(b) Clean, non-sterilized or reusable instruments must be rinsed 
and placed in an ultrasonic cleaner filled with an appropriate ultra-
sonic solution including but not limited to an enzymatic cleaner. The 
ultrasonic unit must be used according to the manufacturer’s instruc-
tions. The ultrasonic unit must operate at 40 to 60 kilohertz. All 
hinged instruments (including but not limited to piercing forceps) 
must be in the open position. The ultrasonic cleaner must remain cov-
ered when in use;  

(c) Remove non-sterilized or reusable instruments from the 
ultrasonic unit. All instruments must be rinsed, air dried, and indi-
vidually packaged in sterilization pouches that include use of a color 
change indicator strip to assure sufficient temperature during each 
sterilization cycle, the date the sterilization was performed must be 
applied to the sterilization pouch; OR Instruments which are steril-
ized in an autoclave which the manufacturer does not require pack-
aging instruments use of a color change indicator strip must be used 
immediately after sterilization process is complete. Storage of ster-
ilized Instruments using this method is prohibited; 

(d) Non-sterilized or reusable instruments must be sterilized by 
using an autoclave sterilizer, steam or chemical, registered and list-
ed with the FDA;  

(e) A steam sterilization integrator must be used to monitor the 
essential conditions of steam sterilization for each autoclaved load 
or cycle. Results must be recorded in a log book for each steriliza-
tion cycle. Each steam sterilization integrator must indicate the date 
the sterilization cycle took place; and 

(f) After sterilization, the sterilized instruments must be stored 
in individually packaged sterilization pouches that include a color 
change indicator strip listed under (5)(c) of this rule and in a dry, dis-
infected, closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved 
for the storage of such instruments.  

(6) Use of a biological monitoring system (“spore tests”) must 
be done at least once a month, verified through an independent lab-
oratory, to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and ster-
ilization achieved.  

(7) The ultrasonic unit listed in subsection (5)(b) of this rule 
must be used, cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manu-
facturer’s instructions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recom-
mended procedures for the operation of the ultrasonic unit must be 
kept on file at the body art facility.  

(8) All sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips 
listed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule must contain a chemical/tem-
perature and/or humidity sensitive tapes, strips or pellets for moni-
toring each sterilization cycle.  

(9) Sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips list-
ed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule and steam sterilization integrators 
listed in (5)(e) of this rule must be available at all times for inspec-
tion by the Agency. Steam sterilization integrators must be kept for 
a minimum of sixty days.  

(10) Biological spore test results listed in subsection (6) of this 
rule must be immediately available at all times for inspection by the 
Agency and kept at facility premises for a minimum of two years.  

(11) The autoclave listed in subsection (5)(d) must be used, 
cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instruc-
tions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures for 
the operation of the autoclave must be kept on file at the body art 
facility.  

(12) The expiration date for sterilized instruments is one year 
from the date of sterilization unless the integrity of the package is 
compromised.  

(13) Sterilized instruments may not be used if the package 
integrity has been breached, is wet or stained, or the expiration date 
has exceeded without first meeting the requirements listed in Sub-
section (5) of this rule.  

(14) All sterilized instruments used in body piercing procedures 
must remain stored in sterile packages and in a dry, disinfected, 
closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved for the 
storage of such instruments until just prior to the performance of a 
body art procedure.  

(15) If a spore test result listed in subsection (6) of this rule, is 
positive, a licensee must discontinue the use of that sterilizer (auto-
clave) until it has been serviced and a negative spore test has been 
recorded before putting that sterilizer back into service. Until a neg-
ative spore test has been received, the licensee must:  

(a) Use an alternative sterilizer (autoclave); 
(b) Use only sterilized instruments that have a sterilization date 

on or before the date before the last negative spore test was record-
ed; or  

(c) Use only single use instruments.  
(16) Following a negative spore test pursuant to subsection (6) 

of this rule, instruments which were sterilized following the receipt 
of the negative spore test must be repackaged and sterilized pursuant 
to subsection (5) of this rule, before use.  

(17) Following a negative spore test to pursuant to subsection 
(6) of this rule the licensee or facility must contact all clients in writ-
ing who may have received services prior to receiving the negative 
spore test results.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0110 
Client Records and Information for Specialty Body Piercing  

(1) A licensee is responsible for maintaining and keeping copies 
of all client records. If client records are maintained by the facility 
the facility owner must provide the licensee with copies of those 
client records upon request. The record must include the following 
for each client: 

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client;  
(b) Date of each service, procedure location on the body and 

type of service performed on client;  
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service;  
(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s med-

ical or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold 
sores and fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-
feeding/nursing;  

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or top-
ical solutions;  

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders;  
(g) Type of jewelry;  

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Authority, Health Licensing Office

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

 2017 Edition 6 - 212 (11-15-16)



(h) Description of complications during procedure(s);  
(i) Signature from the client that they have received the fol-

lowing information in writing and verbally:  
(A) All information related to the body piercing service includ-

ing possible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the 
service and consent to obtaining the body piercing service;  

(B) Information listed in OAR 331-905-0065 regarding 
informed consent for specialty body piercing procedures; and  

(C) After care instructions including care following service, 
possible side effects and complications and restrictions.  

(j) Proof of age or consent consisting of one of the following:  
(A) If the client is of over 18, a copy of a government issued 

photographic identification. A copy of the government issued pho-
tographic identification must be included in the client record; or 

(B) If the client is a minor written parental or legal guardian 
consent is required. The written parental or legal guardian consent 
must be submitted to the licensee by the parent or legal guardian prior 
to piercing the minor. The consenting parent or legal guardian must 
be 18 years of age and present government issued photographic iden-
tification at time of written consent. A copy of the government issued 
photographic identification must be included in the client record; or 

(C) If the client is an emancipated minor, copies of legal court 
documents proving emancipation and government issued photo-
graphic identification is required.  

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from physicians regarding 
medical Information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice 
from the physician must be documented in the client record.  

(3) For the purpose of (1) and (2) of this rule records must be 
maintained at facility premises for a minimum of three years and 
must be made immediately available to the agency upon request.  

(4) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format. 
Client records, which are not readable by the Agency, will be treat-
ed as incomplete.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0115 
Informed Consent for Specialty Body Piercing Procedures 

(1) A specialty level one genital piercer must provide informa-
tion prescribed by the Agency to the client, regarding specialty level 
one genital piercings.  

(2) A specialty level two genital piercer must provide informa-
tion prescribed by the Agency to the client, regarding specialty level 
two genital piercings.  

(3) Informed consent documents for certain body piercing pro-
cedures listed in Subsection (1) and (2) of this rule is published on 
the Agency’s website at 
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/BAP/forms.shtml.  

(4) A specialty level one genital piercer must disclose to each 
client receiving a specialty level one genital piercing the number of 
specific specialty level one genital piercings which the piercer has 
completed on clients and which the piercer can verify on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency.  

(5) A specialty level two genital piercer must disclose to each 
client receiving a specialty level two genital piercing the number of 
specific specialty level two genital piercings which the piercer has 
completed on clients and which the piercer can verify on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-905-0120 
Initial Jewelry for Specialty Genital Piercing Services 

(1) All specialty genital piercers must meet the following jew-
elry standards for initial piercings: 

(a) Surgical steel that is American Society for Testing and Mate-
rials International (ASTM) ASTM F-138 compliant or Internation-
al Organization for Standardization (ISO) ISO 5832-1 compliant, 
ISO 10993-(6,10 or 11) compliant, or European Economic Com-
munity (EEC) Nickel Directive compliant;  

(b) Implant certified titanium (Ti6Al4V ELI) that is ASTM F-
136 compliant or ISO 5832-3 compliant, or commercially pure tita-
nium that is ASTM F-67 compliant;  

(c) Niobium;  
(d) White or yellow gold that is 14k or higher, nickel-free, and 

solid (no gold plated, gold-filled, or gold overlay/vermeil);  
(e) Platinum;  
(f) Biocompatible polymers (plastics) including Tygon Medi-

cal Surgical Tubing 5-50HL or 5-54HL, PTFE (Teflon), Bioplast™ 
or any new polymer products that are USP VI compliant;  

(g) Glass — Fused quartz glass, lead-free borosilicate, or lead-
free soda-lime glass;  

(h) Any other material that the APP determines to be appropri-
ate for use in an initial piercing;  

(i) Threaded jewelry must be internally threaded and all surfaces 
and ends must be free of nicks, scratches, burrs and polishing com-
pounds.  

(2) A licensee must have on the facility premises a “Mill Test 
Certificate” for all jewelry used for initial piercings which provides 
evidence of a specific grade of metal with a code designation from 
the ASTM or ISO or other documentation approved by the agency 
which meets one of the requirements listed in subsection (1) of this 
rule.  

(3) Jewelry used for initial piercings must be sterilized before 
use on each client in accordance with OAR 331-905-0105. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

DIVISION 910 

ELECTROLOGY 

331-910-0000 
Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, division 
910: 

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” has the meaning set forth in OAR 
331-030-0040.  

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.  
(3) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor or instructor is 

present in the facility and actively involved in direct oversight and 
training of students.  

(4) “EPA” means United States Environmental Protection 
Agency.  

(5) “FDA” means Food and Drug Administration.  
(6) “Field of practice” has the definition set forth in ORS 

690.350.  
(7) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, registered 

with the EPA, which has demonstrated tuberculocidal activity.  
(8) “Instruments” means equipment used during electrology ser-

vices. Types of instruments include but are not limited to needles (fil-
aments) and tweezers. 

(9) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof 
container that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation, and 
disposal. The container must be labeled with the “Biohazard” sym-
bol.  

(10) “Official transcript” means:  
(a) An original document authorized by the appropriate office 

in the Oregon Department of Education and certified by a career 
school licensed under ORS 345 indicating applicant identity infor-
mation, field of practice(s) enrolled under, specific hour requirements 
for each field of practice if applicable, enrollment information and 
a signature by an authorized representative on file with the Agency. 
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Original documents must be submitted directly to the Agency from 
the educational institution by United States Postal Service mail or 
other recognized mail service providers in a sealed envelope; or  

(b) A document authorized by the appropriate office in the Ore-
gon Department of Education and certified by career school licensed 
under ORS 345 indicating applicant identity information, field of 
practice(s) enrolled under, specific hour requirements for each field 
of practice if applicable, enrollment information and a signature by 
an authorized representative on file with the Agency. Non-original 
documents shall only be accepted when, and in the manner, approved 
by the Agency  

(11) “Practitioner” means a person licensed to perform services 
included within a field of practice.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12 

331-910-0005 
Approved Course of Study for Electrology 

To be approved by the agency, a course of study must include, 
at least 600 hours of training instruction. The course must include at 
least 235 hours of theory and at least 365 hours of practical experi-
ence in the following areas: 

(1) Oregon Laws and rules: 15 hours of training in theory.  
(2) Bacteriology: 20 hours of training in theory.  
(3) Infection control, safety and sterilization: 20 hours of train-

ing in theory and 15 hours of practical training.  
(4) Anatomy and physiology: 20 hours of training in theory.  
(5) Endocrinology: 20 hours of training in theory.  
(6) Structure, dynamics and diseases of skin and hair: 30 hours 

of training in theory.  
(7) Circulatory and nervous system: 20 hours of training in the-

ory.  
(8) Electricity: 15 hours of training in theory.  
(9) Electrolysis (galvanic): 20 hours of training in theory and 

115 hours of practical training.  
(10) Thermolysis: 20 hours of training in theory and 115 hours 

of practical training.  
(11) Combinations of electrolysis and thermolysis (blend): 20 

hours of training in theory and 110 hours of practical training.  
(12) Draping and positioning: 5 hours of training in theory and 

5 hours of practical training.  
(13) Professional ethics and business practices: 10 hours of 

training in theory and 5 hours of practical training.  
(14) As part of the approved course of study, all hours of the-

ory must be completed prior to practical work being performed on 
the general public.  

(15) Training must be conducted by an Oregon licensed elec-
trologist registered as a teacher by the Department of Education, Pri-
vate Career Schools.  

(16) A registered teacher must provide direct supervision of 
practical training on a one-to-one student/teacher ratio for students 
performing practical training while the student is working on the gen-
eral public.  

(17) For the purpose of this rule direct supervision means the 
teacher is present and actively involved in direct oversight and train-
ing of students.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. 
ef. 1-1-14 

331-910-0010 
Electrology Temporary License 

(1) An electrology temporary license pursuant to ORS 690.365 
is a temporary license to perform electrology services on a limited 

basis, not to exceed 15 consecutive calendar days. An electrology 
temporary license holder;  

(a) May renew the license up to four times in a 12 month peri-
od from the date the Agency receives the initial application. License 
renewals can be done consecutively with no lapse in active license 
dates;  

(b) Must submit all requests to revive a license on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency and received 15 days before electrology ser-
vices are provided unless otherwise approved by the Agency;  

(c) Must submit notification of a change in work location at 
least 24 hours before services are performed on a form prescribed by 
the Agency; and  

(d) Must work in a licensed facility.  
(2) An electrology temporary license holder must adhere to 

standards within OAR 331-910-0065, 331-910-0070, 331-910-0075, 
331-910-0080, 331-910-0085 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 
331 division 925.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-910-0015 
Application Requirements for Electrology Temporary License 

An individual applying for a Electrology Temporary License 
must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees and must be received at least 15 days before electrology services 
are provided to clients; 

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
(5) Submit proof of current training in blood-borne pathogens; 

and  
(6) Attest to six months of training or experience, within the last 

two years, performing electrology on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy; or 

(7) Submit affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-
0040.  

(8) For the purpose of this rule training or experience includes 
attendance or participation at an instructional program presented, rec-
ognized, or under the sponsorship of any permanently organized 
institution, agency, or professional organization or association rec-
ognized by the Agency.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-910-0020 
Electrology License 

(1) An electrologist, licensed under ORS 690.365, may perform 
electrology services.  

(2) An electrologist license is good for one year and becomes 
inactive on the last day of the month one year from the date of 
issuance. 

(3) An electrology license holder must adhere to standards with-
in OAR 331-910-0065, 331-910-0070, 331-910-0075, 331-910-
0080, 331-910-0085 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 divi-
sion 925. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. 
& cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-910-0025 
Application Requirements for Electrology License 

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice electrolo-
gy must: 

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(c) Submit documentation showing proof of being 18 years of 
age documentation which may include identification listed under 
OAR 331-030-0000;  

(d) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
and  

(e) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway.  
(2) License Pathway 1 — Graduate from a Oregon Licensed 

Career School for Electrology must:  
(a) Submit official transcript from a licensed electrology school 

under ORS 345 showing proof of completion of required electrolo-
gy curriculum as determined by the agency under OAR 331-910-
0005;  

(b) Pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written exam-

ination in accordance with OAR 331-910-0030(1)(a) within two 
years from the date of application;  

(d) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical 
examination in accordance with OAR 331-910-0030(1)(b) within 
two years from the date of application; and  

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

(f) An applicant is not required to provide proof of official tran-
scripts in a field of practice if the applicant was previously licensed 
as an electrologist in Oregon.  

(3) License Pathway 2 — Individual Qualifying for Licensure 
Through Reciprocity must:  

(a) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-
0040 demonstrating proof of holding a current electrology license, 
which is active with no current or pending disciplinary. The licens-
ing requirements must be substantially equivalent to Oregon licens-
ing requirements pursuant to ORS 690.365 or if not substantially 
equivalent the applicant must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 
Agency that the applicant has been employed or working as an elec-
trologist full time for three of the last five years; 

(b) Pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written exam-

ination in accordance with OAR 331-910-0030(1)(a) within two 
years from the date of application;  

(d) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical 
examination in accordance with OAR 331-910-0030(1)(b) within 
two years from the date of application; and  

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-910-0030 
Approved Examination for Electrology 

The Agency has selected the following examinations for elec-
trology: 

(1) Written examination for electrology; and 
(2) Oregon electrology practical examination.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-910-0035 
General Examination Information 

(1) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet iden-
tification requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000. 

(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an 
Agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the exami-
nation in languages other than English.  

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored 
during the course of testing.  

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time 
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the 
Agency.  

(5) Notes, note taking, textbooks, notebooks, electronic equip-
ment and communication devices, such as personal computers, 
pagers and cellular telephones or any other devices deemed inap-
propriate by the agency, are prohibited in the examination area.  

(6) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the written exam-
ination area is prohibited.  

(7) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as 
personal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other 
devices deemed inappropriate by the agency, are prohibited in the 
written examination area.  

(8) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may 
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the exami-
nation, the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and for-
feiture of the candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes 
but is not limited to:  

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and 
attempting to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination pro-
cess; 

(b) Violations of subsections (5), (6), or (7) of this rule; 
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-relat-

ed information, notes or materials from the examination site; 
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the 

examination; and  
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the 

examination.  
(9) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination 

or the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under 
subsection (8) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, 
submit additional examination fees, and request in writing to sched-
ule a new examination date, before being considered for another 
examination opportunity.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 

331-910-0040 
Written Examination Retake Requirements 

(1) Failed sections of a written or examination may be retaken 
as follows: 

(a) After first failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days; 

(b) After second failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days; 

(c) After third failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 
calendar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit an offi-
cial transcript certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of 
instruction in theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined 
in OAR 331-910-0005 from a career school licensed under ORS 345 
on a form prescribed by the Agency; 

(d) After fourth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days; 
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(e) After fifth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days; 

(f) After sixth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 
calendar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit an offi-
cial transcript certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of 
instruction in theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined 
in OAR 331-910-0005 from a career school licensed under ORS 345 
on a form prescribed by the agency; 

(g) After seventh failed attempt — ability to retake, require-
ments for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-
by-case basis. 

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must meet the require-
ments under OAR 331-030-0000.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-910-0045 
Practical Examination Retake Requirements 

(1) Failed practical examinations may be retaken at a date and 
time determined by the Agency. Applicants retaking a failed practi-
cal must notify the Agency within 30 days before the next scheduled 
examination date and pay all examination fees. 

(2) Applicants who fail to pass the practical examination for 
electrology after three attempts (initial examination plus two 
retakes): 

(a) Must wait 30 calendar days to retake the practical exami-
nation; 

(b) Must pay all additional fees; 
(c) Must submit an official transcript certifying completion of 

an additional 100 hours of instruction in theory, focused on the 
approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-910-0005 from a career 
school licensed under ORS 345 on a form prescribed by the agen-
cy; 

(3) After third failed attempt — ability to retake, requirements 
for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-by-
case basis. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-910-0050 
Renewal of Electrology License 

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, 
division 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regard-
ing authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for 
issuance of a duplicate license. 

(2) Electrology renewal under this rule is valid for one year.  
(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, an 

electrology license renewal must be made prior to the license enter-
ing inactive status. The licensee must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000; 

and 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing 

education under OAR 331-910-0055, on a form prescribed by the 
agency. Continuing education is required whether the license is cur-
rent or inactive;  

(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: An electrology license 
may be inactive for up to three years. A licensee who is inactive is 
not authorized to practice. When renewing after entering inactive sta-
tus, the license holder must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 

331-940-0000; and 

(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing 
education under OAR 331-910-0055, on a form prescribed by the 
agency. Continuing education is required whether the license is cur-
rent or inactive;  

(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: An electrology license that has been 
inactive for more than three years is expired and the license holder 
must reapply and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-910-
0025.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 

331-910-0055 
Continuing Education for Electrology License 

(1) To maintain licensure, a licensed electrologist must complete 
a minimum of eight hours of satisfactory continuing education every 
year.  

(2) A licensee must document compliance with the continuing 
education requirement through attestation on the license renewal 
application. Licensees will be subject to the provisions of OAR 331-
910-0060 pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education. 

(3) Satisfactory continuing education must be obtained as fol-
lows:  

(a) Four hours must be obtained by participation in or atten-
dance at a course provided by: 

(A) Institutions or programs accredited by a federally recog-
nized accrediting agency;  

(B) Institutions or programs approved by an agency within the 
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission;  

(C) An organization offering continuing medical education 
opportunities, including Accreditation Council for Continuing 
Medical Education;  

(D) Any additional board approved professional organization, 
or association, hospital, or health care clinic offering continuing edu-
cation related to subject matter listed in (4) of this rule. 

(b) Four hours may be self-study, where subject matter meets 
the requirements under subsection (4) of this rule, which may include 
the following:  

(A) Correspondence courses including online courses through 
completion and certification by an approved national home study 
organization;  

(B) Review of publications, textbooks, printed material, or 
audio cassette(s);  

(C) Viewing of films, videos, or slides;  
(4) The subject matter of the continuing education must be 

specifically related to electrology and as outlined in the approved 
course of study under OAR 331-910-0005 (1) through (13). Con-
tinuing education may include the laws and rules regulating licensed 
electrologists, infection control and sterilization, and professional 
ethics and business practices. 

(5) In order to renew, continuing education requirements must 
be met every year, even if the license is inactive or suspended.  

(6) Obtaining and maintaining proof of participation in 
required continuing education is the responsibility of the licensee. 
The licensee must ensure that adequate proof of attainment of 
required continuing education is available for audit or investigation 
or when otherwise requested by the agency. Adequate proof of par-
ticipation is listed under OAR 331-910-0060(3).  

(7) Documentation of participation in continuing education 
requirements must be maintained for a period of five years follow-
ing renewal, and must be available to the agency upon request. 

(8) A licensee may carry up to 8 hours of excess continuing edu-
cation hours forward to the next renewal cycle. 

(9) For the purpose of this rule continuing education hours mean 
actual academic, classroom, or course work time, including but not 
limited to workshops, symposiums, or seminars. Continuing educa-
tion hours do not include travel time to or from the training site, reg-
istration or check-in periods, breaks or lunch periods. 
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Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2013, f. 
12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-910-0060 
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and 
Sanctions 

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a select per-
centage of licenses to verify compliance with continuing education 
requirements.  

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation must submit to the Agency, within 30 calendar days 
from the date of the issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence 
of participation in required continuing education in accordance with 
OAR 331-910-0055.  

(3) Evidence of successful completion of the required contin-
uing education must include the following:  

(a) Name of continuing education sponsor/provider;  
(b) Course agenda — including the date of the training and 

breakdown of hours for each agenda item, lunch and breaks;  
(c) Course outline — including a detailed summary of each 

topic discussed and the learning objective or training goal of each 
agenda item; The content of the course must have a direct relation-
ship between the course training and subject matter related to elec-
trology as set forth in OAR 331-910-0055(4);  

(d) Background resume of speakers or instructors; and  
(e) Documentation of attendance or successful course comple-

tion. Examples include a certificate, transcript, sponsor statement or 
affidavit attesting to attendance, diploma.  

(4) Documentation substantiating completion of continuing 
education through self-study, must show a direct relation to elec-
trology as set forth in OAR 331-910-0055(4), be submitted on forms 
provided by the agency and include the following:  

(a) Name of sponsor or source, type of study, description of con-
tent, date of completion and duration in clock hours;  

(b) Name of approved correspondence courses or national home 
study issues;  

(c) Name of publications, textbooks, printed material or audio-
recorded material, including date of publication, publisher, and ISBN 
Identifier; and  

(d) Name of films, videos, or slides, including date of produc-
tion, name of sponsor or producer and catalog number.  

(5) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or 
incomplete, the licensee has 30 calendar days from the date of the 
deficiency notice to correct the deficiency and submit further doc-
umentation of completion of the required continuing education.  

(6) Misrepresentations of continuing education or failure to 
complete continuing education requirements may result in disci-
plinary action, which may include, but is not limited to assessment 
of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-910-0065 
Electrology Practice Standards and Prohibitions 

(1) Electrologists are prohibited from performing services on 
treatment areas with high propensity towards bacterial colonization, 
such as nostrils and ear canals. 

(2) Electrologists must first obtain written authorization from 
a physician licensed under ORS 677 when any of the following 
exists: 

(a) Request for hair removal from moles;  
(b) Removal of eyelashes; or 

(c) The client has a pacemaker, implantable neuromodulators 
or other implantable electronic devices; 

(4) An electrologist may use towels and linens when providing 
electrology services. When using towels and linens the following 
standards must be met: 

(a) Clean linens must be used for each client; 
(b) Use of a common towel is prohibited; 
(c) Clean towels and linens must be enclosed in a clean storage 

area or in a closed container until needed; 
(d) Used linens must be disposed of or stored in a closed or cov-

ered container until laundered; and 
(e) Used linens must be laundered either by a regular com-

mercial laundering or by a noncommercial laundering process which 
includes use of commercial laundry detergent manufactured for the 
specific purpose of cleaning clothes, linens or other washable fab-
ric, and immersion in hot water during the wash cycle. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-910-0070 
Standards for Client Services for Electrology 

(1) An electrologist must observe and adhere to the following 
hand washing and disposable glove standards when servicing clients: 

(a) HAND WASHING: Hands must be washed or treated with 
an antibacterial hand sanitizer before and after treatment of each 
client, and before putting on disposable gloves and immediately after 
disposable gloves are removed; and 

(b) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands 
in warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces 
of the hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a 
clean, disposable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand san-
itizer by using friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists. Use 
of bar soap is prohibited.  

(2) An electrologist must observe and adhere to the following 
protective disposable glove standards when servicing clients:  

(a) PROTECTIVE DISPOSABLE GLOVES: A new pair of 
disposable gloves must be worn during the treatment of each client;  

(b) Hands must be washed in accordance with hand washing 
instructions listed in Subsection (1) of this rule before putting on dis-
posable gloves and immediately after disposable gloves are 
removed;  

(c) When a treatment session is interrupted disposable gloves 
must be removed and discarded. A new pair of disposable gloves 
must be put on when returning to the electrology service area; 

(d) When a licensee leaves the electrology procedure area in the 
middle of an electrology procedure, gloves must be removed before 
leaving the procedure area, hand washing instructions listed in Sub-
section (1) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves put 
on when returning to the procedure area;  

(e) Disposable gloves must be removed before leaving the area 
where electrology services are performed;.  

(f) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, and 
hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (1) of this rule must 
be followed and gloves changed following hand washing; and 

(g) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute 
for hand washing instructions listed in subsection (1) of this rule.  

(3) Disposable gloves must be worn during pre-cleaning, clean-
ing, rinsing, sterilizing and drying of equipment and instruments and 
disinfecting of surfaces;  

(4) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an astrin-
gent. If flammable the astringent should be allowed to dry.  

(5) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 676.607 & 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 690.350, 690.365, 690.390 & 
690.405 
Hist.: HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 
1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 
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331-910-0075 
Sterilization Standards for Electrology 

(1) Needles (filaments) must be single use, used on one client, 
then properly disposed of in an approved sharps container defined 
under OAR 331-910-0000.  

(2) All non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments that 
come in direct contact with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood 
or bodily fluid must be cleaned, disinfected and sterilized before use 
on a client or re-use on another client.  

(3) New gloves must be worn during any sterilization proce-
dure.  

(4) The cleaning, disinfection and sterilization process listed in 
Subsection (5) of this rule is not required if single-use prepackaged 
sterilized instruments, obtained from suppliers or manufacturers are 
used.  

(5) Approved cleaning, disinfection and sterilization process for 
non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments includes the fol-
lowing ordered method after each use: 

(a) Clean non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments by 
manually brushing or swabbing visible foreign matter and rinsing the 
instruments with warm water and an appropriate detergent solution 
to remove blood and bodily fluids;  

(b) Disinfect non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments 
by immersing instruments in a high level disinfectant. Instruments 
must be fully submerged to ensure contact with all surfaces for an 
amount of time specified in the manufacturer’s instructions. If the 
electrologist is using an autoclave listed in subsection (e) of this rule 
the electrologist is not required to immerse instruments in a high 
level disinfectant. 

(c) Clean and disinfected non-sterilized instruments or reusable 
instruments must be rinsed and placed in an ultrasonic unit that oper-
ates at 40 to 60 hertz which is filled with an appropriate ultrasonic 
solution including but not limited to an enzymatic cleaner, or rinsed, 
patted dry and submerged and soaked in a protein dissolving deter-
gent or enzyme cleaner, followed by a thorough rinse. The ultrasonic 
cleaner must remain covered when in use;  

(d) Remove non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments 
from the ultrasonic unit or protein dissolving detergent or enzyme 
cleaner. All instruments must be rinsed, air dried, and individually 
packaged in sterilization pouches that include use of a chemical indi-
cator strip to assure sufficient temperature during each sterilization 
cycle. The date the sterilization was performed must be applied to 
the sterilization pouch;  

(e) Individually packaged non-sterilized instruments or reusable 
instruments must be sterilized by using autoclave sterilizer (steam or 
chemical), or dry heat sterilizer registered and listed with the FDA; 

(f) After sterilization, the sterilized instruments must be stored 
in a dry, disinfected, closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container 
reserved for the storage of such instruments.  

(6) Use of a biological monitoring system (“spore tests”) must 
be done at least once a month, verified through an independent lab-
oratory, to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and ster-
ilization achieved.  

(7) All sterilization pouches listed in Subsection (5)(d) of this 
rule must contain a color indicator strip which measures temperature 
control and general functioning of the equipment.  

(8) The ultrasonic unit listed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule 
must be used, cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manu-
facturer’s instructions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recom-
mended procedures for the operation of the ultrasonic unit must be 
kept on file at the body art facility.  

(9) The autoclave sterilizer (steam or chemical), or dry heat ster-
ilizer listed in Subsection (5)(e) of this rule must be used, cleaned, 
and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and 
a copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures for the oper-
ation of the autoclave sterilizer (steam or chemical), or dry heat ster-
ilizer must be kept on file at the facility.  

(10) Biological spore test results listed in subsection (6) of this 
rule must be immediately available at all times for inspection by the 
Agency and kept at facility premises for a minimum of two years. 
Biological spore test results must be on laboratory letterhead and 

must contain the test date, and the name, model and serial number 
(if applicable) of the sterilizer tested.  

(11) The expiration date for sterilized instruments is one year 
from the date of sterilization unless the integrity of the package is 
compromised.  

(12) Sterilized instruments may not be used if the package 
integrity has been breached is wet or stained, or the expiration date 
has exceeded without first meeting the requirements listed in Sub-
section (5) of this rule.  

(13) All sterilized instruments used during electrology services 
must remain stored in sterile packages and in a dry, disinfected, 
closed cabinet or other tightly covered container reserved for the stor-
age of such instruments until just prior to the performance of an elec-
trology procedure.  

(14) If a biological spore test listed in subsection (6) of this rule, 
result is positive, a licensee must discontinue the use of that autoclave 
sterilizer (steam or chemical), or dry heat sterilizer until it has been 
serviced and a negative spore test has been recorded before putting 
that sterilizer back into service. Until a negative spore test has been 
received, the licensee must:  

(a) Use an alternative autoclave sterilizer (steam or chemical), 
or dry heat sterilizer; 

(b) Use only sterilized instruments that have a sterilization date 
before the date the last negative spore test was recorded; or 

(c) Use only single use instruments.  
(15) Following a negative biological spore test reusable instru-

ments which were sterilized following the receipt of the negative 
spore test must be repackaged and sterilized pursuant to Subsection 
(5) of this rule, before use.  

(17) Following a negative spore test the licensee or facility must 
contact all clients in writing who may have received services prior 
to receiving the negative spore test results. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 676.607 & 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 690.350, 690.365, 690.390 & 
690.405 
Hist.: HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-910-0080 
General Standards  

(1) The cleanliness of any common in a facility is the respon-
sibility of each license holder. All license holders may be cited for 
violations found in the common area. 

(2) An electrologist licensed to perform services or a licensed 
facility owner must:  

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for 
providing services in a field of practice at the place of business;  

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the 
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufac-
turer’s intended use of the device by the FDA;  

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited for 
use in a field of practice by the Agency or the FDA;  

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with 
manufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are 
performed;  

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers; 
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products, single-use 

needles (filaments) and protective gloves are used for each client;  
(g) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean 

and in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavato-
ries can be substituted for disposable hand towels; 

(h) Ensure all waste material related to a service in a field of 
practice be deposited in a covered container following service for 
each client;  

(i) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the business 
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized 
by the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or non-
poisonous reptiles in terrariums;  

(j) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at adequate 
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and 
be available for immediate use at all times the facility is open for 
business; 
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(k) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered con-
tainer with a garbage liner; 

(l) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potentially 
infectious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then 
disposed of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediate-
ly following the service; 

(m) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with 
blood or must be disposed of in a sharps container; 

(n) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available 
on the facility premises;  

(o) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
Standards; 

(p) Have unrestricted access or availability to a sink with hot 
and cold running water, as part of surrounding premises or adjacent 
to the facility. If the sink is located within a restroom the licensee 
must ensure that the sink is disinfected with a high level disinfectant 
upon completion of a electrology procedure or following the steril-
ization of equipment; and 

(q) Ensure that all instruments that come in direct contact with 
client’s skin are handled using gloves.  

(3) An electrologist licensee must wear eye goggles, shields or 
a mask if spattering is possible while providing services.  

(4) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any 
procedure area which comes in direct contact with client is prohib-
ited.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 676.607 & 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 690.350, 690.365, 690.390 & 
690.405 
Hist.: HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-910-0085 
Client Records 

(1) A licensee is responsible for maintaining and keeping copies 
of all client records. If client records are maintained by the facility 
the facility owner must provide the licensee with copies of those 
client records upon request. The record must include the following 
for each client: 

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client;  
(b) Date of each service, procedure location on the body;  
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service. 

If more than one licensee is providing services on one client the 
licensee must initial the date of each service performed;  

(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s med-
ical or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold 
sores and fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-
feeding/nursing; 

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or top-
ical solutions;  

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders;  
(g) Description of complications during procedure(s); and 
(h) Signature from the client that they have received the fol-

lowing information in writing and verbally:  
(A) All information related to the electrology service including 

possible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the ser-
vice and consent to obtaining the electrology service; and  

(B) After care instructions including care following service, 
possible side effects and complications and restrictions.  

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from a physician regarding 
medical information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice 
from the physician must be documented in the client record.  

(3) For the purpose of (1) and (2) of this rule records must be 
maintained at facility premises for a minimum of three years and 
must be made immediately available to the agency upon request.  

(4) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format. 
Client records, which are not legible to the Agency, will be treated 
as incomplete.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 676.607 & 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 690.350, 690.365, 690.390 & 
690.405 
Hist.: HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

DIVISION 915 

TATTOO 

331-915-0000 
Tattoo Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, division 
915: 

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” has the meaning set forth in OAR 
331-030-0040.  

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.  
(3) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor or instructor is 

present in the facility and actively involved in direct oversight and 
training of students.  

(4) “EPA” means United States Environmental Protection 
Agency.  

(5) “FDA” means Food and Drug Administration.  
(6) “Field of practice” has the definition set forth in ORS 

690.350.  
(7) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, registered 

with the EPA, which has demonstrated tuberculocidal activity.  
(8) “Instruments” means equipment used during tattooing ser-

vices. Types of instruments include but are not limited to needles and 
tubes.  

(9) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof 
container that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation, and 
disposal. The container must be labeled with the “Biohazard” sym-
bol.  

(10) “Official transcript” means:  
(a) An original document authorized by the appropriate office 

in the Oregon Department of Education and certified by a career 
school licensed under ORS 345 indicating applicant identity infor-
mation, field of practice(s) enrolled under, specific hour requirements 
for each field of practice if applicable, enrollment information and 
a signature by an authorized representative on file with the Agency. 
Original documents must be submitted directly to the Agency from 
the educational institution by United States Postal Service mail or 
other recognized mail service provider in a sealed envelope; or  

(b) A document authorized by the appropriate office in the Ore-
gon Department of Education and certified by a career school 
licensed under ORS 345 indicating applicant identity information, 
field of practice(s) enrolled under, specific hour requirements for 
each field of practice if applicable, enrollment information and a sig-
nature by an authorized representative on file with the Agency. Non-
original documents shall only be accepted when, and in the manner, 
approved by the Agency.  

(11) “Practitioner” means a person licensed to perform services 
included within a field of practice.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-915-0005 
Approved Course of Study for Tattooing 
(1) To be approved by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency, a course 
of study must include at least 360 hours of instruction. The course 
must include at least 210 hours of theory and at least 150 hours of 
practical work.  

(2) For the purposes of determining qualification for licensure, 
practical work must include a minimum of 50 completed procedures. 
“Completed procedure” means a tattoo which has been finished on 
a live human being, including any touchups or additional work fol-
lowing initial healing, and the client is released from service. 

(3) All practical applications performed during training in the 
subject areas listed in subsection (4) of this rule are counted toward 
meeting the minimum 150 hours of practical tattooing experience.  

(4) A course of study must include, but is not limited to, the  
following areas:  
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(a) Needles and needle bars — metal or plastic device used to 
attach the needle to a tattoo machine: 20 hours of theory;  

(b) Tattoo machines and equivalent equipment: 20 hours of the-
ory;  

(c) Equipment/Supplies: 20 hours of theory;  
(d) Safety, Infection Control and Sterilization: 40 hours of the-

ory;  
(e) Basic color theory and pigments: 10 hours of theory;  
(f) Design, art and placement: 10 hours of theory;  
(g) Skin: 20 hours of theory;  
(h) Client services 20 hours of theory;  
(i) Business operations, including exposure control plan and 

federal regulations: 40 hours of theory;  
(j) Oregon Laws and Rules: 10 hours of theory training.  
(5) As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theo-

ry must be completed prior to practical work being performed on the 
general public.  

(6) Training must be conducted by an Oregon licensed tattoo 
artist registered as a teacher by the Department of Education, Private 
Career Schools. 

(7) A registered teacher must provide direct supervision of prac-
tical training on a one-to-one student/teacher ratio for students per-
forming practical training while the student is working on the gen-
eral public.  

(8) For the purpose of this rule direct supervision means the 
teacher is present and actively involved in direct oversight and train-
ing of students. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-915-0010 
Tattoo License 

(1) A tattoo artist licensed under ORS 690.365 may perform tat-
tooing services. 

(2) A tattoo license is good for one year and becomes inactive 
on the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance.  

(3) A tattoo license holder must adhere to all standards under 
OAR 331-915-0065, 331-915-0070, 331-915-0075, 331-915-0080, 
331-915-0085 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 
925.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-915-0015 
Application Requirements for Tattoo License 

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice tattooing 
must: 

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees;  

(c) Submit documentation having completed blood borne 
pathogens training from an agency approved provider;  

(d) Submit documentation having completed cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation and basic first aid training from an agency approved 
provider;  

(e) Submit documentation showing proof of being 18 years of 
age documentation may include identification listed under OAR 331-
030-0000;  

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
and  

(g) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway.  
(2) License Pathway 1 — Graduate from an Oregon Licensed 

Career School for Tattooing:  

(a) Submit official transcript from a tattooing career school 
under ORS 345, and approved by the Agency showing proof of com-
pletion of required tattooing curriculum as determined by the agen-
cy under OAR 331-915-0005;  

(b) Pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written exam-

ination in accordance with OAR 331-915-0030(1)(a) within two 
years from the date of application;  

(d) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical skills 
assessment examination in accordance with OAR 331-915-
0030(1)(b) within two years from the date of application; and  

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of registration license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

(f) An applicant is not required to provide proof of official tran-
scripts in a field of practice if the applicant was previously licensed 
as a tattoo artist in Oregon.  

(3) License Pathway 2 — Individual Qualifying for Licensure 
Through Reciprocity must:  

(a) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-
0040 demonstrating proof of holding a current license as a tattoo 
artist, which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action. 
The licensing requirements must be substantially equivalent to Ore-
gon licensing requirements pursuant to ORS 690.365 or if not sub-
stantially equivalent the applicant must demonstrate to the satisfac-
tion of the Agency that the applicant has been employed or working 
as a tattoo artist full time for three of the last five years;  

(b) Pay examination fees;  
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written exam-

ination in accordance with OAR 331-915-0030(1)(a) within two 
years from the date of application;  

(d) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical skills 
assessment examination in accordance with OAR 331-915-
0030(1)(b) within two years from the date of application; and  

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before 
issuance of a license, applicant must pay all license fees.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-915-0020 
Temporary Tattoo License 

(1) A temporary tattoo license pursuant to ORS 690.365 is a 
temporary license to perform tattooing services on a limited basis, 
not to exceed 15 consecutive calendar days. A temporary tattoo 
license holder;  

(a) May renew the license up to four times in a 12 month peri-
od from the date the Agency receives the initial application. License 
renewal can be done consecutively with no lapse in active license 
dates;  

(b) Must submit all requests to renew a license on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency. Request to renew a license must be received 
at least 15 days before tattooing services are provided unless other-
wise approved by the Agency;  

(c) Must submit notification of a change in work location at 
least 24 hours before services are performed on a form prescribed by 
the Agency; and  

(d) Must work in a licensed facility.  
(2) A temporary tattoo license holder must adhere to all stan-

dards under OAR 331-915-0065, 331-915-0070, 331-915-0075, 331-
915-0080, 331-915-0085 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 
division 925.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-
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2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-915-0025 
Application Requirements for Temporary Tattoo License 

An individual applying for a Temporary Tattoo License must: 
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application 
fees and must be received at least 15 days before tattooing services 
are provided to clients;  

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;  

(4) Submit proof of current training in blood-borne pathogens; 
and  

(5) Attest to six months of training or experience, within the last 
two years, performing tattooing on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy; or  

(6) Submit affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-
0040.  

(7) For the purpose of this rule training or experience includes 
attendance or participation at an instructional program presented, rec-
ognized, or under the sponsorship of any permanently organized 
institution, agency, or professional organization or association rec-
ognized by the Agency.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 7-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 4-20-12 thru 10-16-12; HLA 8-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-3-12 thru 10-16-
12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-
15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-915-0030 
Approved Examination for Tattoo 

The Agency has approved the following examinations for tat-
tooing: 

(1) Oregon written examination; and 
(2) Oregon practical skills assessment examination. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 

331-915-0035 
General Tattooing Examination Information 

(1) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet iden-
tification requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000. 

(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an 
agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the exami-
nation in languages other than English.  

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored 
during the course of testing.  

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time 
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the 
Agency.  

(5) Notes, note taking, textbooks, notebooks, electronic equip-
ment and communication devices, such as personal computers, 
pagers and cellular telephones or any other devices deemed inap-
propriate by the agency, are prohibited in the examination area.  

(6) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the written exam-
ination area is prohibited.  

(7) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as 
personal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other 
devices deemed inappropriate by the agency, are prohibited in the 
written examination area.  

(8) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may 
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the exami-
nation, the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and for-

feiture of the candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes 
but is not limited to:  

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and 
attempting to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination pro-
cess;  

(b) Violations of subsections (5), (6) or (7) of this rule;  
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-relat-

ed information, notes or materials from the examination site;  
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the 

examination; and 
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the 

examination. 
(9) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination 

or the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under 
subsection (8) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, 
submit additional examination fees, and request in writing to sched-
ule a new examination date, before being considered for another 
examination opportunity. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 

331-915-0040 
Written Examination Retake Requirements 

(1) Failed sections of the written examination may be retaken 
as follows: 

(a) After first failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days; 

(b) After second failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days; 

(c) After third failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 
calendar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit an offi-
cial transcript certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of 
instruction in theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined 
in OAR 331-915-0005 from a career school licensed under ORS 345 
on a form prescribed by the agency; 

(d) After fourth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days;  

(e) After fifth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 
seven calendar days;  

(f) After sixth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 
calendar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit an offi-
cial transcript certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of 
instruction in theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined 
in OAR 331-915-0005 from a career school licensed under ORS 345 
on a form prescribed by the Agency;  

(g) After seventh failed attempt — ability to retake, require-
ments for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-
by-case basis.  

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must meet the require-
ments under OAR 331-030-0000.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-915-0045 
Practical Examination Retake Requirements 

(1) Failed practical examinations may be retaken at a date and 
time determined by the Agency. Applicants retaking a failed practi-
cal must notify the Agency within 30 days before the next scheduled 
examination date and pay all examination fees 

(2) Applicants who fail to pass the practical examination for tat-
tooing after three attempts (initial examination plus two retakes):  

(a) Must wait 30 calendar days to retake the practical exami-
nation;  

(b) Must pay all additional fees;  
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(c) Must submit an official transcript certifying completion of 
an additional 100 hours of instruction in theory, focused on the 
approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-910-0005 from a career 
school licensed under ORS 345 on a form prescribed by the agen-
cy;  

(3) After fourth failed attempt — ability to retake, requirements 
for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-by-
case basis.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12 

331-915-0050 
Renewal of a Tattoo License 

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, 
division 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regard-
ing authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for 
issuance of a duplicate license. 

(2) Tattoo license renewal under this rule is valid for one year.  
(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, a 

tattoo license renewal must be made prior to the license entering 
inactive status. The licensee must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000;  
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing 

education under OAR 331-915-0055, on a form prescribed by the 
agency. Continuing education is required whether the license is cur-
rent or inactive;  

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resus-
citation from an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Attestation of current first aid training from an Agency 
approved provider; and  

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens 
training from an Agency approved provider.  

(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A tattoo license may be 
inactive for up to three years. A licensee who is inactive is not autho-
rized to practice. When renewing after entering inactive status, the 
licensee holder must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form;  
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 

331-940-0000;  
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing 

education under OAR 331-915-0055, on a form prescribed by the 
agency. Continuing education is required whether the license is cur-
rent or inactive;  

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resus-
citation from an Agency approved provider;  

(e) Attestation of current first aid training an Agency approved 
provider; and  

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens 
training from an Agency approved provider.  

(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: A tattoo license that has been inac-
tive for more than three years is expired and the license holder must 
reapply and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-915-0015.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 

331-915-0055 
Continuing Education for Tattoo License 

(1) To maintain licensure, a tattoo license holder must complete 
a minimum of 10 hours of satisfactory continuing education every 
year.  

(2) A tattoo license holder must document compliance with the 
continuing education requirement through attestation on the license 
renewal application. Licensees will be subject to the provisions of 

OAR 331-915-0060 pertaining to periodic audit of continuing edu-
cation. 

(3) Satisfactory continuing education must be obtained as fol-
lows:  

(a) Five hours must be obtained by participation in or atten-
dance at a course provided by: 

(A) Institutions or programs accredited by a federally recog-
nized accrediting agency;  

(B) Institutions or programs approved by an agency within the 
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission;  

(C) An organization offering continuing medical education 
opportunities, including Accreditation Council for Continuing 
Medical Education;  

(D) Any additional board approved professional organization, 
or association, hospital, or health care clinic offering continuing edu-
cation related to subject matter listed in (4) of this rule. 

(b) Five hours may be self-study, where subject matter meets 
the requirements under subsection (4) of this rule, which may include 
the following:  

(A) Correspondence courses including online courses through 
completion and certification by an approved national home study 
organization;  

(B) Review of publications, textbooks, printed material, or 
audio cassette(s);  

(C) Viewing of films, videos, or slides;  
(4) The subject matter of the continuing education must be 

specifically related to tattooing. As outlined in the approved course 
of study under OAR 331-915-0005(4). Continuing education may 
include the laws and rules regulating licensed tattooists, safety and 
sterilization, color theory, design, art and placement, client services, 
and business operations. 

(5) Continuing education is required for renewal, every year, 
even if the license has been inactive or suspended. 

(6) Obtaining and maintaining proof of participation in 
required continuing education is the responsibility of the licensee. 
The licensee must ensure that adequate proof of attainment of 
required continuing education is available for audit or investigation 
or when otherwise requested by the agency. Adequate proof of par-
ticipation is listed under OAR 331-915-0060(3). 

(7) Documentation of participation in continuing education 
requirements must be maintained for a period of five years follow-
ing renewal, and must be available to the agency upon request. 

(8) Current training and certification in CPR, First Aid, and 
Blood borne pathogens is a condition of renewal and is not eligible 
for continuing education credit. 

(9) A tattoo license holder may carry up to 8 hours of excess 
continuing education hours forward to the next renewal cycle. 

(10) For the purpose of this rule continuing education hours 
mean actual academic, classroom, or course work time, including but 
not limited to workshops, symposiums, or seminars. Continuing edu-
cation hours do not include travel time to or from the training site, 
registration or check-in periods, breaks or lunch periods. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-915-0060 
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and 
Sanctions 

(1) The Agency will audit a select percentage of licenses to ver-
ify compliance with continuing education requirements.  

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation must submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days 
from the date of the issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence 
of participation in required continuing education in accordance with 
OAR 331-915-0055.  

(3) Evidence of successful completion of the required contin-
uing education must include the following:  

(a) Name of continuing education sponsor/provider;  
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(b) Course agenda — including the date of the training and 
breakdown of hours for each agenda item, lunch and breaks;  

(c) Course outline — including a detailed summary of each 
topic discussed and the learning objective or training goal of each 
agenda item; The content of the course must have a direct relation-
ship between the course training and subject matter related to tat-
tooing as set forth in OAR 331-915-0055(4);  

(d) Background resume of speakers or instructors; and  
(e) Documentation of attendance or successful course comple-

tion Examples include certificate, transcript, sponsor statement or 
affidavit attesting to attendance, and diploma.  

(4) Documentation substantiating the completion of continuing 
education through self-study must show a direct relation to tattoo-
ing as set forth in OAR 331-915-0055(4), be submitted on forms pro-
vided by the agency and include the following:  

(a) Name of sponsor or source, type of study, description of con-
tent, date of completion and duration in clock hours;  

(b) Name of approved correspondence courses or national home 
study issues;  

(c) Name of publications, textbooks, printed material or audio-
cassette’s, including date of publication, publisher, and ISBN iden-
tifier; and  

(d) Name of films, videos, or slides, including date of produc-
tion, name of sponsor or producer and catalog number.  

(5) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or 
incomplete, the licensee has 30 calendar days from the date of the 
deficiency notice to correct the deficiency and submit further doc-
umentation of completion of the required continuing education.  

(6) Misrepresentations of continuing education or failure to 
complete continuing education requirements may result in disci-
plinary action, which may include, but is not limited to assessment 
of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-915-0065 
Tattoo Practice Standards and Prohibitions 

(1) Inks, dyes, or pigments must be purchased from a com-
mercial supplier or manufacturer. Products banned or restricted by 
the Food and Drug Administration must not be used.  

(2) A tattoo license holder must disinfect plastic or acetate sten-
cil used to transfer the design to the client’s skin, if not using dis-
posable stencils. If the plastic or acetate stencil is reused the licensee 
must thoroughly clean and rinse and immerse in a high level disin-
fectant according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  

(3) Upon completion of a tattoo service, the following proce-
dures are required:  

(a) The skin must be cleansed; excluding the area surrounding 
the eyes, with a clean single-use paper product saturated with an anti-
septic solution;  

(b) A clean covering must be placed over designs and adhered 
to the skin; and  

(c) An absorbent material must be incorporated into the cover-
ing to prevent the spread of bodily fluids and cross contamination, 
unless the clean covering listed in subsection (3)(a) of this rule is an 
impenetrable barrier which prevents the spread of bodily fluids and 
cross contamination.  

(4) Tattooing services may be performed on a person under 18 
years of age when authorized or prescribed by a physician’s state-
ment.  

(5) Tattooing is prohibited:  
(a) On a person who shows signs of being inebriated or appears 

to be incapacitated by the use of alcohol or drugs;  
(b) On a person who show signs of intravenous drug use;  
(c) On a person with sunburn or other skin diseases or disorders 

such as open lesions, rashes, wounds, puncture marks in areas of 
treatment;  

(d) On a person under 18 years of age, regardless of parental or 
legal guardian consent unless the requirements of subsection (4) of 
this rule are met. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 
1-1-14; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-915-0070 
General Standards for Tattooing 

(1) The cleanliness of any common area in a facility is the 
responsibility of each license holder. All license holders may be cited 
for violations found in the common area.  

(2) An individual licensed to perform services in a field of prac-
tice or a licensed facility owner must:  

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for 
providing services in a field of practice at the place of business;  

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the 
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufac-
turer’s intended use of the device by the FDA;  

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited for 
use in a field of practice by the Agency or the FDA;  

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with 
manufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are 
performed;  

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers;  
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products, single-use 

needles, and protective gloves are used for each client. Use of tow-
els and linens are prohibited;  

(g) Have unrestricted access or availability to a sink with hot 
and cold running water, as part of the surrounding premises or adja-
cent to the facility but separate from a restroom;  

(h) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean 
and in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavato-
ries can be substituted for disposable hand towels;  

(i) Ensure all waste material related to a service in a field of 
practice be deposited in a covered container following service for 
each client;  

(j) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the business 
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized 
by the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or non-
poisonous reptiles in terrariums;  

(k) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at ade-
quate strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign materi-
al and be available for immediate use at all times the facility is open 
for business;  

(l) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered con-
tainer with a garbage liner;  

(m) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potential-
ly infectious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then 
disposed of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediate-
ly following the service;  

(n) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with 
blood and/or body fluids be disposed of in a sharps container;  

(o) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available 
on the facility premises;  

(p) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
Standards;. and  

(q) Ensure that all instruments that come in direct contact with 
client’s skin are handled using gloves.  

(3) A licensee must wear eye goggles, shields or a mask if spat-
tering is possible while providing services.  

(4) All substances must be dispensed from containers in a man-
ner to prevent contamination of the unused portion. Single use tubes 
or containers and applicators shall be discarded following the service.  

(5) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any 
procedure area which comes in direct contact with client is  
prohibited.  
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Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-
30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-915-0075 
Standards for Client Services for Tattooing 

(1) A licensee must wash hands in accordance with Subsection 
(2) of this rule as follows: 

(a) Prior to donning gloves to set-up of instruments used for 
conducting a tattoo procedure;  

(b) Immediately prior to donning gloves to perform a tattoo pro-
cedure;  

(c) Immediately after removing gloves at the conclusion of per-
forming a tattoo procedure and after removing gloves at the con-
clusion of procedures performed in the sterilization area;  

(d) When leaving the work area;  
(e) When coming in contact with blood or other potentially 

infectious materials;  
(f) Before and after performing the following acts not limited 

to eating, drinking, smoking, applying lip cosmetics or lip balm, han-
dling contact lenses, or using the bathroom; or  

(g) When hands are visibly soiled.  
(2) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands 

in warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces 
of the hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a 
clean, disposable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand san-
itizer by using friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists.  

(3) A new pair of disposable gloves must be worn during the 
treatment of each client;  

(4) A minimum of one pair of disposable gloves must be used 
for each of the following stages of the tattooing procedure as follows:  

(a) Set-up of instruments used for conducting tattooing proce-
dures and skin preparation of the tattooing procedure area;  

(b) The tattooing procedure and post-procedure teardown; and 
(c) Cleaning and disinfection of the procedure area after each 

use or between clients.  
(5) Once gloves have been removed, they must be disposed of 

immediately and hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) 
of this rule must be followed.  

(6) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, 
and hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of this rule 
must be followed and gloves changed following hand washing.  

(7) Disposable gloves must be removed before leaving the area 
where tattoo procedures are performed.  

(8) When a licensee leaves the tattooing procedure area in the 
middle of a tattooing procedure, gloves must be removed before leav-
ing the procedure area, hand washing instructions listed in Subsec-
tion (2) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves put 
on when returning to the procedure area.  

(9) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute 
for hand washing instructions listed in subsection (2) of this rule.  

(10) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an anti-
septic solution.  

(11) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-915-0080 
Approved Sterilization Standards for Tattooing  

(1) Needles must be single use, used on one client, then prop-
erly disposed of in an approved sharps container defined under OAR 
331-915-0000. 

(2) All non-sterilized or reusable instruments that come in direct 
contact with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood or other poten-

tially infectious materials must be cleaned and sterilized before use 
on a client or re-use on another client.  

(3) New gloves must be worn during any sterilization proce-
dure.  

(4) The cleaning and sterilization process listed in subsection 
(5) of this rule is not required if single-use prepackaged sterilized 
instruments, obtained from suppliers or manufacturers are used.  

(5) Approved cleaning and sterilization process for non-steril-
ized or reusable instruments includes the following ordered method 
after each use:  

(a) Place non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments in 
an ultrasonic cleaner filled with an appropriate ultrasonic solution 
including but not limited to an enzymatic cleaner. The ultrasonic unit 
must be used according to the manufacturer’s instructions. The ultra-
sonic unit must operate at 40 to 60 kilohertz. The ultrasonic clean-
er must remain covered when in use;  

(b) Remove non-sterilized or reusable instruments from the 
ultrasonic unit. Clean non-sterilized or reusable instruments by man-
ually brushing or swabbing visible foreign matter and rinsing the 
instruments with warm water and an appropriate detergent solution 
to remove blood and other potentially infectious materials;  

(c) Remove non-sterilized or reusable instruments from the 
ultrasonic unit. All instruments must be rinsed, air dried, and indi-
vidually packaged in sterilization pouches that include use of a color 
change indicator strip to assure sufficient temperature during each 
sterilization cycle, the date the sterilization was performed must be 
applied to the sterilization pouch; OR 

(A) Instruments which are sterilized in an autoclave which the 
manufacturer does not require packaging instruments use of a color 
change indicator strip must be used immediately after sterilization 
process is complete. Storage of sterilized Instruments using this 
method is prohibited; 

(d) Non-sterilized or reusable instruments must be sterilized by 
using an autoclave sterilizer, steam or chemical, registered and list-
ed with the FDA;  

(e) A steam sterilization integrator must be used to monitor the 
essential conditions of steam sterilization for each autoclaved load 
or cycle. Results must be recorded in a log book for each steriliza-
tion cycle. Each steam sterilization integrator must indicate the date 
the sterilization cycle took place. Steam sterilization integrators must 
be kept for a minimum of sixty days; and 

(f) After sterilization, the sterilized instruments must be stored 
in individually packaged sterilization pouches that include a color 
change indicator strip listed under (5)(c) of this rule and in a dry, dis-
infected, closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved 
for the storage of such instruments.  

(6) Use of a biological monitoring system (“spore tests”) must 
be done at least once a month, verified through an independent lab-
oratory, to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and ster-
ilization achieved.  

(7) The ultrasonic unit listed in subsection (5)(a) of this rule 
must be used, cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manu-
facturer’s instructions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recom-
mended procedures for the operation of the ultrasonic unit must be 
kept on file at the body art facility.  

(8) All sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips 
listed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule must contain a chemical/tem-
perature and/or humidity sensitive tapes, strips or pellets for moni-
toring each sterilization cycle. 

(9) Sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips list-
ed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule and steam sterilization integrators 
listed in (5)(e) of this rule must be available at all times for inspec-
tion by the Agency.  

(10) Biological spore test results listed in subsection (6) of this 
rule must be immediately available at all times for inspection by the 
Agency and kept at facility premises for a minimum of two years.  

(11) The autoclave listed in subsection (5)(d) must be used, 
cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instruc-
tions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures for 
the operation of the autoclave must be kept on file at the body art 
facility.  
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(12) The expiration date for sterilized instruments is one year 
from the date of sterilization unless the integrity of the package is 
compromised.  

(13) Sterilized instruments may not be used if the package 
integrity has been breached, is wet or stained, or the expiration date 
has exceeded without first meeting the requirements listed in Sub-
section (5) of this rule.  

(14) All sterilized instruments used in tattooing procedures must 
remain stored in sterile packages and in a dry, disinfected, closed cab-
inet or other tightly-covered container reserved for the storage of 
such instruments until just prior to the performance of a tattooing 
procedure.  

(15) If a biological spore test listed in subsection (6) of this rule, 
result is positive, a licensee must discontinue the use of that steril-
izer (autoclave) until it has been serviced and a negative spore test 
has been recorded before putting that sterilizer back into service. 
Until a negative spore test has been received, the licensee must:  

(a) Use an alternative sterilizer (autoclave);  
(b) Use only sterilized instruments that have a sterilization date 

on or before the date that last negative spore test was recorded; or  
(c) Use only single use instruments.  
(16) Following a negative spore test instruments which were 

sterilized following the receipt of the negative spore test must be 
repackaged and sterilized pursuant to subsection (5) of this rule, 
before use.  

(17) Following a negative spore test the licensee or facility must 
contact all clients in writing who may have received services prior 
to receiving the negative spore test results.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-915-0085 
Client Records and Information for Tattooing 

(1) A licensee is responsible for maintaining and keeping copies 
of all client records. If client records are maintained by the facility 
the facility owner must provide the licensee with copies of those 
client records upon request. The record must include the following 
for each client: 

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client;  
(b) Date of each service, procedure location on the body;  
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service;  
(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s med-

ical or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold 
sores and fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-
feeding/nursing;  

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or top-
ical solutions;  

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders;  
(g) Description of complications during procedure(s); and 
(h) Signature from the client that they have received the fol-

lowing information in writing and verbally:  
(A) All information related to the tattooing service including 

possible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the ser-
vice and consent to obtaining the tattooing service; and  

(B) After care instructions including care following service, 
possible side effects and complications and restrictions.  

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from a physician regarding 
medical Information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice 
from the physician must be documented in the client record.  

(3) A licensee must obtain proof of age for all clients; a copy 
of a government issued photographic identification must be includ-
ed in the client record. 

(4) A physician may authorize or prescribe a tattoo service be 
performed on a client who is a minor pursuant to OAR 331-915-
0065. Written authorization or prescription from the physician is 
required. The physician authorization or prescription must be sub-
mitted to the licensee by the physician prior to tattooing the minor. 

A copy of the minor’s photographic identification must be included 
in the client record.  

(5) For the purpose of Subsection (1) through (4) of this rule 
records must be maintained on the facility premises for a minimum 
of three years and must be made immediately available to the agen-
cy upon request.  

(6) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format. 
Client records, which are not legible to the Agency, will be treated 
as incomplete.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

DIVISION 920 

DERMAL IMPLANTING AND 
SCARIFICATION STANDARDS 

331-920-0000 
Dermal Implanting Prohibitions 

Dermal implanting services defined under ORS 690.350 are 
prohibited until education and training programs can be imple-
mented. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-920-0005 
Scarification Prohibited 

Scarification services defined under ORS 690.350 are prohib-
ited until education and training programs can be implemented.. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13;HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

DIVISION 925 

FACILITY LICENSING, RENEWAL AND STANDARDS 

331-925-0000 
Facility License 

(1) A location, where services are performed in a field of prac-
tice defined under ORS 690.350 must be licensed as a facility under 
ORS 690.365. 

(2) The holder of a facility license must be a natural person.  
[NOTE: a natural person is a living individual human being. The facility 
license holder may be a facility owner, facility manager, or any other nat-
ural person.]  
(3) A facility license is valid for one year and becomes inactive 

on the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance.  
(4) A facility license is not transferable; the license is not trans-

ferable from person-to-person or from location to location. If an 
existing facility moves or relocates to a new physical address, the 
facility license holder must submit a new application and meet 
requirements of OAR 331-925-0005. A natural person may hold 
more than one facility license, but must submit a separate applica-
tion, pay required fees and qualify for a facility license for each  
location.  

(5) An electrology, body piercing or tattoo facility licensed 
before January 1, 2012, are valid only for the fields of practice for 
which those licenses were issued. In order to add additional fields of 
practice the owner must apply and qualify for a new body art facil-
ity license pursuant to OAR 331-925-0005. 
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(6) A facility must adhere to all standards within OAR chapter 
331, division 925.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-925-0005 
Application Requirements for Facility Licensure 

An individual applying for a facility license must: 
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required fees;  

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(4) Provide a map or directions to the facility if it is located in 
a rural or isolated area;  

(5) Provide a list of licensees providing services in the facili-
ty;  

(6) Provide proof of a current registration as required by Sec-
retary of State, Corporations Division pursuant to ORS 648.007; and  

(7) Hold a current Assumed Business Name (ABN) filing if 
applicant is operating an assumed business name prior to applying 
for a facility license. 

NOTE: ABN is not required if business includes the real and true name of 
each owner. Refer to Secretary of State, Corporations Division under ORS 
648.005 through 648.990.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-925-0010 
Temporary Facility License 

(1) A temporary facility license holder defined under ORS 
690.350 and licensed under 690.365, may perform services in a field 
of practice under 690.350. 

(2) The holder of a temporary facility license must be a natu-
ral person.  

(3) A temporary facility license is valid for a limited time not 
to exceed 15 consecutive calendar days, at settings such as fairs, car-
nivals or bazaars.  

(4) A facility must adhere to all standards within OAR chapter 
331, division 925.  

(5) A temporary facility license is not an event facility license 
pursuant to OAR 331-925-0030 which is comprised of individual 
booths where services in a field of practice are performed.  

(6) If a facility owner licensed under OAR 331-925-0000 
intends to operate a facility on a limited basis, away from the facil-
ity address on file with the Agency, they must obtain a temporary 
facility license.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-925-0015 
Application Requirements for Temporary Facility License 

To be issued a temporary facility license the applicant must: 
(1) Meets the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 

Agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required fees;  

(3) Proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may include 
identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000,  

(4) Provide a map or directions to the facility if it is located in 
a rural or isolated area;  

(5) Provide a list of licensees providing services in the  
facility;  

(6) Provide proof of a current registration as required by Sec-
retary of State, Corporations Division pursuant to ORS 648.007;  

(7) Hold a current Assumed Business Name (ABN) filing if 
applicant is operating under an assumed business name prior to 
applying for a facility license;  

NOTE: ABN is not required if business includes the real and true name of 
each owner. Refer to Secretary of State, Corporations Division under ORS 
648.005 through 648.990.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-925-0020 
Mobile Facility License 

(1) Mobile facility license, defined as a facility under ORS 
690.350 means an authorization issued under 690.365 to operate a 
mobile place of business outside of or away from a permanent phys-
ical location within an approved enclosed transportable vehicle, such 
as recreational vehicles or trailers, which has the ability to transport 
the business operation to multiple locations in the State of Oregon 
during specific approved periods of time. 

(2) A mobile facility is limited to no more than 15 consecutive 
calendar days at one physical location.  

(3) A mobile facility must adhere to all standards within OAR 
chapter 331, division 925.  

(4) The holder of a mobile facility license must be a natural per-
son.  

NOTE: a natural person is a living individual human being. The mobile 
facility license holder may be a facility owner, facility manager, or any 
other natural person. 
(5) A mobile facility license is not transferable; the license is not 

transferable from person-to-person. Requirements under OAR 331-
925-0025 must be met.  

(6) A mobile facility license holder must comply with the fol-
lowing requirements:  

(a) Submit written notification on a form prescribed by the 
Agency for each new physical location where services will be pro-
vided in a field of practice. The notification form must be received 
by the Agency at least 24 hours before services are performed at the 
new physical location and may be submitted by regular United States 
Postal Service or by electronic mail or in person at the office; 

(b) Remain stationary while services in a field of practice are 
performed;  

(c) Provide each client, verbally and in writing; the mobile facil-
ity name, mobile facility license number, license number and name 
of the person providing service, permanent address on file with the 
Agency and telephone number; and  

(d) Display the mobile facility name on file with the Agency on 
the outside of the mobile facility which is easily visible from the 
street.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-925-0025 
Application Requirements for Mobile Facility License 

To be issued a mobile facility license the applicant must: 
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
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(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the 
agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required fees;  

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may 
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(4) Provide a map or directions to the facility if it is located in 
a rural or isolated area;  

(5) Provide a list of licensees providing services in the facili-
ty;  

(6) Provide proof of a current registration as required by Sec-
retary of State, Corporations Division pursuant to ORS 648.007; and 

(7) Hold a current Assumed Business Name (ABN) filing if 
applicant is operating under an assumed business name prior to 
applying for a facility license.  

NOTE: ABN is not required if business includes the real and true name of 
each owner. Refer to Secretary of State, Corporations Division under ORS 
648.005 through 648.990.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-925-0030 
Event Facility License 

(1) Event facility license defined as a facility under ORS 
690.350 means an authorization issued under 690.365 to operate a 
facility on a irregular basis outside and away from a permanent phys-
ical location for specific approved period of time not to exceed 15 
consecutive calendar days, for convention, educational, demonstra-
tion and exhibition purposes. 

(2) An event facility is comprised of individual booths where 
services in a field of practice are provided.  

(3) A representative of the event facility must be available at all 
times when services are being provided.  

(4) An event facility must be inspected by the Agency before 
services are provided in a field of practice.  

(5) An event facility must adhere to all standards within OAR 
chapter 331, division 925.  

(6) Event facility owners must provide a hot and cold running 
water station for every 10 licensed individuals in a field of practice.  

(7) The holder of an event facility license must be a natural per-
son.  

NOTE: a natural person is a living individual human being. The event facil-
ity license holder may be an event facility owner, event facility manager, 
or any other natural person. 
(8) An event facility license is not transferable; the license is not 

transferable from person-to-person. Requirements under OAR 331-
925-0035 must be met.  

(9) For the purpose of this rule a “booth” is 10 feet by 10 feet 
or 100 square feet of floor space and limited to two licensees.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-925-0035 
Application Requirements for an Event Facility License 

To be issued an event facility license the applicant must: 
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;  
(2) Submit completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy and payment of the required application fees which must be 
received by the Agency 30 days before the start of the event; 

(3) Submit documentation showing proof of being 18 years of 
age documentation may include identification listed under OAR 331-
030-0000;  

(4) Provide a map or directions to the facility if it is located in 
a rural or isolated area;  

(5) Provide proof of a current registration as required by Sec-
retary of State, Corporations Division pursuant to ORS 648.007;  

(6) Hold a current Assumed Business Name (ABN) filing if 
applicant is operating under an assumed business name prior to 
applying for a facility license; and 

(7) Pay all licensing fees. 
NOTE: ABN is not required if business includes the real and true name of 
each owner. Refer to Secretary of State, Corporations Division under ORS 
648.005 through 648.990.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-925-0040 
Renewal of a Facility or Mobile Facility License 

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, 
division 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regard-
ing authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for 
issuance of a duplicate license. 

(2) Renewal of a facility license issued under OAR 331-925-
0005 or 331-925-0025 this rule is valid for one year.  

(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, a 
facility or mobile facility license renewal must be made prior to the 
license entering inactive status. The licensee must submit the fol-
lowing:  

(a) Renewal application form; and 
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000. 
(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A facility or mobile 

facility license may be inactive for up to three years. A licensee who 
is inactive is not authorized to practice. When renewing after enter-
ing inactive status, the licensee holder must submit the following:  

(a) Renewal application form; and 
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 

331-940-0000. 
(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: A facility or mobile facility license 

that has been inactive for more than three years is expired and the 
license holder must reapply and meet the requirements listed in 331-
925-0005 or 331-925-0025.  

(6) LICENSE RENEWAL — FACILITY LICENSE ISSUED 
PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 2012. Electrology, body piercing and tat-
too facilities and mobile facilities licensed before January 1, 2012 
must apply and qualify for a new body art facility license pursuant 
to OAR 331-925-0005 or 331-925-0025 on or before the electrolo-
gy, body piercing or tattoo license becomes inactive. The applicant 
must designate a natural person as the facility or mobile license hold-
er.  

(7) If a facility changes ownership, the new owner must apply 
for a new facility license.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-925-0045 
Posting Requirements 

Licensees are subject to the requirements of OAR 331-030-
0020. 

(1) All facility licenses must be posted in public view.  
(2) All facility license holders must post the most recent inspec-

tion certificate in public view on the facility premises.  
(3) Each booth within an event facility must post the inspection 

certificate in public view within the booth.  
(4) A licensee in a field of practice performing services in any 

facility must post a current active license in public view. A licensee 
in a field of practice may temporarily conceal the address printed on 
the license document with a covering that is removable. 
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Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12 

331-925-0050 
Facility Standards 

Facility standards apply to all licensees under ORS 690.350 
unless otherwise specified by rule.  

(1) A facility license holder licensed under OAR chapter 331, 
division 925 must:  

(a) Require each individual working within the facility premis-
es providing services in a field of practice be licensed with the Agen-
cy;  

(b) Provide a screened or separated area away from public 
access and viewing, isolated from a reception or waiting area, when 
services are conducted upon breasts, nipples, genitals or buttocks;  

(c) Allow an agency representative to inspect the facility or con-
duct an investigation. Obstructing or hindering the normal progress 
of an investigation or the inspection, threatening or exerting physi-
cal harm, or enabling another individual or employee to impede an 
investigation or inspection may result in disciplinary action;  

(d) Ensure waste from toilets or lavatories be discharged direct-
ly into a public sewer or by a method meeting the requirements of 
ORS Chapter 454; 

(e) Have a sterilization area separated from public areas, service 
areas and restrooms where decontamination and sterilization of 
reusable instruments is performed. This rule does not apply to elec-
trology license holders and earlobe piercing license holders;  

(f) All surfaces in areas where decontamination and sterilization 
of reusable instruments are performed must be non-porous;  

(g) Hand washing accommodations must be provided in work 
areas where licensees are exposed to hazardous materials, which will 
have a harmful effect on or be absorbed through the skin if the con-
tamination is not removed;  

(h) Maintain washing accommodations in a clean and sanitary 
condition; and  

(i) Ensure all floors, walls and procedure surfaces including 
counters, tables, and chairs are easily cleanable, non-absorbent and 
non-porous where services are provided;  

(2) When body piercing or tattoo services are provided in a cos-
metology facility, body piercing or tattoo services must be separat-
ed from cosmetology services by use of a solid barrier to prevent con-
tact with irritants. Electrology services are excluded from this rule.  

(3) The facility must comply with all applicable rules and reg-
ulations of the Agency and other federal, state, county and local agen-
cies. This includes the following:  

(a) Building, fire, plumbing and electrical codes, and with exit 
and fire standards established by the Building Codes Agency, the 
Office of the State Fire Marshal;  

(b) Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act as it appears in ORS 433.835 
through 433.875;  

(c) Occupational Safety and Health Act Blood Borne Pathogens 
Standards under 29 CFR 1910:1030 this includes but is not limited 
to: individuals providing services in a field of practice, facility own-
ers; and other employees on the facility premises;  

(d) ORS Chapter 654 and the Oregon Safe Employment Act if 
an employee/employer relationship exists; and  

(e) All applicable Occupational Safety and Health Act standards 
if an employee/employer relationship exists.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415 
Hist.: HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, 
cert. ef. 1-1-14 

331-925-0055  
Standards for Facilities Located in Residence 

A facility located in a residence must comply with all standards 
listed in OAR chapter 331, division 925 in addition to the following 
criteria, unless otherwise specified by rule: 

(1) Have an identifying house number or a sign, which is eas-
ily visible from the street and indicates the location of the facility;  

(2) Be equipped with the structures, accommodations, and 
equipment which the Agency requires for all facilities; and  

(3) The living area of the home must be separated from the facil-
ity by solid walls extending from floor to ceiling with any connect-
ing doors kept closed while the facility is in actual operation.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415 
Hist.: HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-25-12 

DIVISION 940 

BOARD OF BODY ART — FEES 

331-940-0000 
Fees 

(1) Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of 
OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of 
fees, penalties and charges.  

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency are 
as follows:  

(a) Application:  
(A) Standard Body Piercing — $50.  
(B) Specialty Body Piercing Level 1 — $50.  
(C) Specialty Body Piercing Level 2 — $50.  
(D) Electrology — $50.  
(E) Tattoo — $50.  
(F) Reciprocity Per Field of Practice — $150.  
(G) Facility — $100.  
(H) Mobile Facility — $100.  
(I) Event Facility — $100.  
(J) Temporary Facility License — $100.  
(K) Temporary Practitioner Per Field of Practice — $50.  
(L) Standard Body Piercing Trainee — $50.  
(M) Ear Lobe Piercing— $25.  
(b) Examination:  
(A) Written — $50.  
(B) Practical — $100.  
(c) Original Issuance of License:  
(A) Standard Body Piercing Trainee — $50.  
(B) Standard Body Piercing — $50.  
(C) Specialty Body Piercing Level 1 — $50.  
(D) Specialty Body Piercing Level 2 — $50.  
(E) Electrology — $25.  
(F) Tattoo — $50.  
(G) License for a Field of Practice by Reciprocity — $50.  
(H) Facility — $150.  
(I) Mobile Facility — $150.  
(J) Event Facility:  
(i) Up to 100 booths: $725.  
(ii) 101 to 200 booths: $1,450.  
(iii) 201 to 300 booths: $2,175.  
(iv) 301 to 400 booths: $2,900.  
(v) 401 to 500 booths: $3,625.  
(K) Temporary Practitioner Per Field of Practice — $20.  
(L) Temporary Facility — $50.  
(M) Earlobe Piercing— $25.  
(d) Renewal of License Online:  
(A) Standard Body Piercing — $45.  
(B) Electrology — $20.  
(C) Tattoo — $45.  
(D) Earlobe — $20.  
(E) Body Art Facility — $125.  
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(F) Mobile Facility License — $125.  
(e) Renewal of License Over-the-Counter or Through the Mail:  
(A) Standard Body Piercing Trainee — $50.  
(B) Standard Body Piercing — $50.  
(C) Specialty Body Piercing Level 1 — $50.  
(D) Specialty Body Piercing Level 2 — $50.  
(E) Electrology — $25.  
(F) Tattoo — $50.  
(G) Earlobe — $25.  
(H) Temporary Practitioner Per Field of Practice — $20.  
(I) Body Art Facility — $150.  
(J) Mobile Facility License — $150.  
(f) Other administrative fees:  
(A) Delinquency — $50 per year, up to three years.  
(B) Replacement License — $25.  
(C) Duplicate License — $25 per copy with maximum of three.  
(D) Affidavit of Licensure — $50.  
(E) Information Packets — $10.  
(F) Administrative Processing Fee — $25.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 4-2012(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 3-5-12 thru 9-1-12; HLA 11-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-12; HLA 8-
2013(Temp), f. 6-7-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13 thru 7-8-13; HLA 12-2013, f. 7-3-13, & 
cert. ef. 7-9-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

DIVISION 950 

BOARD OF BODY ART CIVIL PENALTIES 

331-950-0010 
Schedule of Penalties for Facility License Violations 

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty 
schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of facility license laws 
and rules. This schedule applies, except at the discretion of the agen-
cy pursuant to OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subsequent 
offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 apply. 

(1) Operating or purporting to operate a facility without a valid 
facility license is a violation of ORS 690.360(d):  

(a) Never licensed:  
(A) 1st offense: $500;  
(B) 2nd offense: $1000;  
(C) 3rd offense: $2500.  
(b) Inactive or expired license:  
(A) 1st offense: $200;  
(B) 2nd offense: $500;  
(C) 3rd offense: $1,000.  
(c) License or Authorization, Suspended or Revoked:  
(A) 1st offense: $2,500;  
(B) 2nd offense: $5,000;  
(C) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions 

allowed by law including revocation of suspended authorization to 
practice and refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a 
revoked authorization holder.  

(2) Allowing an employee or individual unlicensed, inactive, 
suspended, expired or with a revoked license to practice in a field of 
practice is a violation of ORS 690.360(f) or OAR 331-925-
0050(1)(a). 

(a) Allowing and unlicensed or revoked license: 
(A) 1st offense: $1000;  
(B) 2nd offense: $2,500;  
(C) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions 

allowed by law including revocation of suspended authorization to 
practice and refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a 
revoked authorization holder.  

(b) Allowing an employee or individual with inactive, sus-
pended, or expired license:  

(A) 1st offense: $200;  
(B) 2nd offense: $500;  

(C) 3rd offense: $1000.  
(3) Failing to allow an Agency enforcement officer to inspect 

the facility when it is open for business is a violation of OAR 331-
925-0050(1)(c) and will result in monetary penalties and any other 
actions allowed by law.  

(a) 1st offense: $1500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $2500;  
(c) 3rd offense: $5000. 
(4) Operating or purporting to operate an event facility without 

first obtaining a current valid event facility permit is a violation of 
ORS 690.360(d). 

(a) $5000 per violation;  
(5) Failing to meet the specifications and standards required 

under OAR 331-925-0005(3) in a facility may result in an emergency 
suspension of the facility license until the violation is corrected.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35  
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-950-0020 
Schedule of Penalties for Practitioner Violations 

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty 
schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of practitioner licensing 
laws and rules. This schedule applies, except at the discretion of the 
agency pursuant to OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subsequent 
offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 apply. 

(1) Performing, attempting to perform, or purporting to perform 
services in a field of practice without a license to perform services 
in that field of practice of ORS 690.360(1)(a) or (c).  

(a) License or authorization never held:  
(A) 1st offense: $2,500;  
(B) 2nd offense: $5,000;  
(C) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty or any other actions allowed 

by law including refusal to issue a new authorization to practice.  
(b) License or authorization inactive or expired:  
(A) 1st offense: $200;  
(B) 2nd offense: $500;  
(C) 3rd offense: $1000.  
(c) License or authorization suspended or revoked:  
(A) 1st offense: $2,500;  
(B) 2nd offense: $5,000;  
(C) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty or any other actions allowed 

by law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice 
and refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked 
authorization holder.  

(2) Performing or attempting to perform services in a field of 
practice outside a licensed facility is a violation of ORS 
690.360(1)(b)  

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
(3) A body piercing trainee license holder performing body 

piercing when not under the direct supervision of their supervisor is 
a violation of OAR 331-900-0020 for standard body piercing; or 331-
905-0011 or 331-905-0013 for specialty body piercing:  

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
(4) Failing, as a supervisor, to provide supervision to their 

trainee in accordance with OAR 331-900-0050 for standard body 
piercing; 331-905-0052 for specialty level one body piercing, 331-
905-0058 for specialty level two body piercing in addition to any 
other disciplinary actions, an approved supervisor’s authorization to 
supervise may be withdrawn by the Agency: 

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415  
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35  
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 

331-950-0030 
Schedule of Penalties for License Violations 

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty 
schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of license laws and rules. 
This schedule applies, except at the discretion of the agency pursuant 
to OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subsequent offenses, the pro-
visions of 331-020-0060 apply.  

(1) Altering with fraudulent intent or fraudulent use of a license 
or authorization issued by the agency is a violation of ORS 
690.360(1)(i) or 690.360(1)(j):  

(a) 1st offense: $1,500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $3,500;  
(c) 3rd offense: $5,000.  
(2) Failing to post a valid license or authorization issued by the 

agency or the most recent inspection certificate in public view is a 
violation of OAR 331-925-0045 

(a) 1st offense: $100  
(b) 2nd offense: $200  
(c) 3rd offense: $500  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12 

331-950-0040 
Schedule of Penalties for Board of Body Art Standards 
Violations 

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty 
schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of Board of Body Art 
Standards Violations laws and rules. This schedule applies, except 
at the discretion of the agency pursuant to OAR 331-020-0060. For 
the 4th and subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 
apply.  

(1) Any violation of a Mobile Facility License listed in OAR 
331-925-0020:  

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
(2) Any violation of a facility standard listed in OAR 331-925-

0050(1) or (2) excluding (1)(a) and (1)(c):  
(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
(3) Any violation of a Standard for Facilities Located in Resi-

dence listed in OAR 331-925-0055:  
(a) 1st offense: $300;  
(b) 2nd offense: $500;  
(c) 3rd offense: $1000.  
(4) Any violation of a General Standard listed in OAR 331-900-

0097 for earlobe piercing; 331-900-0115 for standard body piercing; 
331-905-0095 for specialty body piercing; 331-910-0080 for elec-
trology; or 331-915-0070 for tattooing;  

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
(5) Any violation of Standards for Client Services listed in OAR 

331-900-0098 for earlobe piercing; 331-900-0120 for standard body 
piercing, 331-905-0100 for specialty body piercing; 331-910-0070 
for electrology; or 331-915-0075 for tattooing:  

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
(6) Failing to sterilize all instruments that come in direct con-

tact with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood or other potentially 
infectious materials or use single use needles is a violation of OAR 

331-900-0125(1) and (2) for body piercing; 331-905-105(1) and (2) 
for specialty body piercing; 331-910-0075(1) and (2) for electrolo-
gy; or 331-915-0080(1) and (2) for tattooing;  

(a) 1st offense: $1000;  
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500;  
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed 

by law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice 
and refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked 
authorization holder.  

(7) Failing to properly use approved sterilization modes or pro-
cedures is a violation of OAR 331-900-0125 excluding (1), (2), (9) 
and (10) for body piercing; 331-905-0105 excluding (1), (2), (9) and 
(10) for specialty body piercing; 331-910-0075 excluding (1), (2), 
and (10) for electrology; or 331-915-0080 excluding (1), (2), (9) and 
(10) for tattooing:  

(a) 1st offense: $1000;  
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500;  
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed 

by law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice 
and refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked 
authorization holder.  

(8) Failing to maintain monthly Biological test results, chemi-
cal indicator strips and steam sterilization integrators on the premis-
es of the facility or allow an enforcement officer access to review 
those records immediately upon request is a violation of OAR 331-
900-0125 (9) or (10) for body piercing; 331-905-0105 (9) and (10) 
for specialty body piercing; 331-910-0075(10) for electrology; or 
331-915-0080(9) and (10) for tattooing:  

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
(9) Failing to collect and maintain complete client records for 

each client on the premises of the facility or allow an enforcement 
officer access to review client records immediately upon request is 
a violation of OAR 331-900-0099 for earlobe piercing; 331-900-
0130 for standard body piercing, 331-905-0110 for specialty body 
piercing; 331-910-0085 for electrology; or 331-915-0085 for tat-
tooing:  

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 15-2013, f. 12-30-13, cert. ef. 
1-1-14 

331-950-0050 
Schedule of Penalties for Body Piercing Standards and 
Prohibited Services 

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty 
schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of Body Piercing Stan-
dards and Prohibited Services laws and rules. This schedule applies, 
except at the discretion of the agency pursuant to OAR 331-020-
0060. For the 4th and subsequent offenses, the provisions of OAR 
331-020-0060 apply. 

(1) Violation of an Earlobe Piercing Standard by is a violation 
of OAR 331-900-0095: 

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
(2) Providing a piercing service that is prohibited is a violation 

of OAR 331-900-0100 excluding (1)(c) for standard body piercing 
or OAR 331-905-0090 excluding (1)(c) for specialty body piercing: 

(a) 1st offense: $1000;  
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500;  
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed 

by law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice 
and refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked 
authorization holder. 
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(3) Performing, attempting to perform, or purporting to perform 
a piercing service that is prohibited under OAR 331-900-0100(1)(c) 
for standard body piercing or OAR 331-905-0090(1)(c) for special-
ty body piercing: or a piercing service listed as a specialty level one 
or specialty level two body piercing without a specialty level one or 
specialty level two body piercing license is a violation of ORS 
690.360(1)(a) or (c): 

(a) 1st offense: $2,500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $5,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty or any other actions allowed 

by law including refusal to issue a new authorization to practice. 
(4) Violation of an initial jewelry piercing standard is a viola-

tion of OAR 331-900-0105 for standard body piercing or 331-905-
0120 for specialty body piercing: 

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12 

331-950-0060 
Schedule of Penalties for Electrologist Practice Restrictions 

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty 
schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of Electrologist Practice 
Restrictions laws and rules. This schedule applies, except at the dis-
cretion of the agency pursuant to OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th 
and subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 apply. 

(1) Performing a prohibited service is a violation of OAR 331-
910-0065 excluding (4): 

(a) 1st offense: $1000;  
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500;  
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed 

by law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice 
and refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked 
authorization holder. 

(2) Failing to adhere to towels or linens requirements listed in 
OAR 331-910-0065(4): 

(a) 1st offense: $300;  
(b) 2nd offense: $500;  
(c) 3rd offense: $1,000. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12 

331-950-0070 
Schedule of Penalties for Tattoo Practice Standards and 
Prohibitions 

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty 
schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of Tattoo Practice Stan-
dards and Prohibitions laws and rules. This schedule applies, except 
at the discretion of the agency pursuant to OAR 331-020-0060. For 
the 4th and subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 
apply. 

(1) Violation of a Tattoo Practice Standards as listed in OAR 
331-915-0065(1), (2) or (3): 

(a) 1st offense: $500;  
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000;  
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.  
(2) Performing a prohibited service is a violation of OAR 331-

915-0065(5): 
(a) 1st offense: $1000;  
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500; 
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed 

by law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice 
and refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked 
authorization holder. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 
690.390, 690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 
690.350, 690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 
690.407, 690.410, 690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef.  
6-25-12
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