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DIVISION 10 

PURPOSE AND RULEMAKING 

418-010-0010 
Purpose 

(1) In accordance with Article XV, Section 11 of the Oregon 
State Constitution, the Commission ensures the high quality of 
homecare services by working cooperatively with area agencies 
and state and local agencies to accomplish the following: 

(a) Establish qualifications for homecare and personal support 
workers with the advice and consent of the Department of Human 
Services (DHS) and Oregon Health Authority (OHA); 

(b) Provide training opportunities for homecare and personal 
support workers; and seniors and individuals experiencing disabil-
ities who employ homecare or personal support workers; 

(c) Maintain a Registry of qualified homecare and personal 
support workers; 

(d) Provide routine, emergency, and substitute referrals of 
homecare and personal support workers; 

(e) Enter into contracts with public and private organizations 
and individuals for the purpose to obtain or develop training  

materials and curriculum or other services as may be needed by the  
Commission; 

(f) Serve as employer of record for collective bargaining with 
homecare and personal support workers; 

(g) Select workers’ compensation coverage on behalf of a 
senior or individual experiencing disability who hires a homecare 
or personal support worker through a publicly funded program; and 

(h) Train and certify homecare or personal support workers 
who desire to become certified community health workers or per-
sonal health navigators and meet eligibility criteria and ensure 
Coordinated Care Organizations honor employment terms and con-
ditions of Community Health Workers and Personal Health Navi-
gator established by the Commission. 

(2) The rules in Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 
418 establish procedures for the Commission to fulfill its mission 
to ensure high quality, comprehensive homecare services are pro-
vided for seniors and individuals with disabilities who receive ser-
vices from homecare and personal support workers who they hire 
and are paid with public funds. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.602 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

418-010-0020 
Rulemaking 

The Commission adopts the Attorney General Model Rules 
applicable to rulemaking, effective on November 1, 2014, with the 
exception of 137-001-0080. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.341, 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341, 410.602 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

418-010-0030 
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and Adoption of Temporary 
Rules 

(1) Except as provided in ORS 183.335(7), (12), or 183.341, 
before permanently adopting, amending, or repealing an adminis-
trative rule, the Commission shall give notice of the intended 
action: 

(a) To legislators specified in ORS 183.335(15) at least 49 
days before the effective date of the rule; 

(b) To Individuals in the interested parties lists described in 
section (2) of this rule for the pertinent OAR chapter or pertinent 
subtopics or programs within an OAR chapter at least 28 days 
before the effective date of the rule; 

(c) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS 
183.360 at least 21 days before the effective date of the rule; 

(d) To other individuals, agencies, or organizations the Com-
mission is required to provide an opportunity to comment pursuant 
to state statute or federal law or as a requirement of receiving 
federal funding, at least 28 days before the effective date of the 
rule; 

(e) To the Associated Press and the Capitol Press Room at 
least 28 days before the effective date of the rule; and 

(f) In addition to the above, the Commission may send notice 
of intended action to other individuals, agencies, or organizations 
the Commission, in its discretion, believes to have an interest in the 
subject matter of the proposed rule at least 28 days before the effec-
tive date of the rule. 

(2) Pursuant to ORS 183.335(8), the Commission shall 
maintain an interested parties list for each OAR chapter of rules for 
which the Commission has administrative responsibility, and an 
interested parties list for subtopics or programs within those 
chapters. An individual, group, or entity that desires to be placed 
on such a list to receive notices regarding proposed permanent 
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule must make such a request 
in writing or by electronic mail to the rules coordinator for the 
chapter. The request must include either a mailing address or an 
electronic mail address to which notices may be sent, if requested. 

(3) Notices under this rule may be sent by use of hand 
delivery, state shuttle, postal mail, electronic mail, or facsimile. 
The Commission recognizes state shuttle as mail and may use this 
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means to notify other state agencies. An email notification under 
section (1) of this rule may consist of any of the following: 

(a) An email that attaches the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking 
or Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing and Statement of Need 
and Fiscal Impact. 

(b) An email that includes a link within the body of the email, 
allowing direct access online to the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking 
or Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing and Statement of Need 
and Fiscal Impact. 

(c) An email with specific instructions within the body of the 
email, usually including an electronic Universal Resource Locator 
(URL) address, to find the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking or 
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing and Statement of Need 
and Fiscal Impact. 

(d) The Commission may use facsimile as an added means of 
notification, if necessary. Notification by facsimile under section 
(1) of this rule shall include the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking or 
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing and Statement of Need 
and Fiscal Impact, or specific instructions to locate these documents 
online. 

(e) The Commission shall honor all written requests that noti-
fication be sent by postal mail instead of electronically if a mailing 
address is provided. 

(4) If the Commission adopts or suspends a temporary rule, 
the Commission shall notify: 

(a) Legislators specified in ORS 183.335(15); 
(b) Individuals on the interested parties list described in 

section (2) of this rule for the pertinent OAR chapter or pertinent 
subtopics or programs within an OAR chapter; 

(c) Other individuals, agencies, or organizations the Commis-
sion is required to notify pursuant to state statute or federal law or 
as a requirement of receiving federal funding; 

(d) The Associated Press and the Capitol Press Room; 
(e) In addition to the above, the Commission may send notice 

to other persons, agencies, or organizations the Commission, in its 
discretion, believes to have an interest in the subject matter of the 
temporary rulemaking; and 

(f) In lieu of providing a copy of the rule or rules as proposed 
with the notice of intended action or notice concerning the 
adoption of a temporary rule, the Commission may state how and 
where a copy may be obtained on paper, by electronic mail, or from 
a specified web site. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.330, 183.335, 183.341, 410.602 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

418-010-0040 
Delegation of Rulemaking Authority 

Any member or employee of the Commission who is identified 
on a completed Delegation of Authority form signed by the Execu-
tive Director or Chair of the Commission and filed with the 
Secretary of State, Administrative Rules Unit, is vested with the 
authority to adopt, amend, repeal, or suspend administrative rules 
as provided on that form until such delegation is revoked by the 
Executive Director or Chair of the Commission, or the person 
leaves employment with the Commission. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.325, 410.602 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

DIVISION 20 

OREGON HOME CARE COMMISSION FUNCTIONS 

418-020-0010 
Definitions 

(1) “Active” means an active homecare or personal support 
worker who has a current provider number; has worked and been 
paid with public funds in any of the past 12 months as a homecare 
or personal support worker; has a current credential and has met 
orientation requirements of program for which the worker is 
enrolled. 

(2) “Area Agency on Aging” means the designated entity with 
which DHS contracts to meet the requirements of the Older Amer-
icans Act and ORS Chapter 410 in planning and providing services 
to seniors and individuals with a disability for a designated 
planning and service area. 

(3) “Background Check” means a criminal records check and 
appropriate abuse check conducted in accordance with OAR 
chapter 407, division 7. 

(4) “Case Manager” means an employee of a service delivery 
office who is responsible for determining service eligibility, 
offering services choices to eligible individuals, developing a plan 
of authorized services, and monitoring the effectiveness of services 
and supports. This term includes services coordinator and personal 
agent. 

(5) “Collective Bargaining Agreement” or “CBA” means the 
Collective Bargaining Agreement between the Oregon Home Care 
Commission and the Service Employees International Union, 
Local 503. 

(6) “Commission” means the Oregon Home Care Commission 
established and operated pursuant to Article XV, Section 11, of the 
Oregon Constitution, and ORS 410.595 to 410.625. 

(7) “Commissioner” means one of the nine members of the 
Home Care Commission appointed by the Governor and confirmed 
by the Senate as provided in ORS 171.562 and 171.565. Five mem-
bers are either seniors or individuals with disabilities who are 
receiving or who have received homecare services. One member is 
appointed to represent each of the following entities, or a successor 
entity, for as long as a comparable entity exists: 

(a) Governor’s Commission on Senior Services; 
(b) Department of Human Services; 
(c) Oregon Disabilities Commission; and 
(d) Oregon Association of Area Agencies on Aging and Dis-

abilities. 
(8) “Community Health Worker” means an individual, as 

defined in ORS 414.025, who assists members of the community to 
improve their health and increases the capacity of the community 
to meet the health care needs of its residents and achieve wellness. 

(9) “Consumer” or “Consumer-Employer” means an individual 
eligible for in-home and community based services. 

(10) “Consumer-Employer Training Services” means activities 
to empower and inform consumer-employers or representatives of 
consumer-employers regarding their rights, role, and responsibilities 
as employers of homecare or personal support workers, as described 
in OAR chapter 411, division 35. The consumer-employer training 
services programs are known as STEPS to Success with Homecare 
Workers and STEPS to Success with Personal Support Workers. 

(11) “Consumer Representative” means an individual assigned 
by a consumer or designated by a consumer’s legal representative 
to act as the consumer’s decision maker in matters pertaining to 
planning and implementing an in-home service plan or individual 
support plan. 

(12) “Continuing Education” means specific minimum educa-
tion requirements, defined by the Commission, which workers 
must complete to be referred on the Registry. 

(13) “Credential” means time-limited approval by DHS or 
OHA for an individual to provide services as a homecare or 
personal support worker, which includes a begin date, designated 
by a service delivery office, no earlier than the individual’s most 
recent background check and an end date no later than 24 months 
from the homecare or personal support worker’s most recent back-
ground check. 

(14) “Cultural Competence” is a set of congruent behaviors, 
attitudes, and policies that come together in a system, agency, or 
among professionals to enable effective work in cross-cultural situ-
ations. 

(15) “DHS” means the Oregon Department of Human Ser-
vices. 

(16) “Enrollment and Application Packet” means the pro-
gram-specific documents an individual must complete to be 
approved to provide services as a homecare worker or personal 
support worker. 
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(17) “Employment Agreement” means an agreement between 
a consumer-employer or consumer representative and a homecare 
or personal support worker, which defines workplace rules and 
expectations. 

(18) “Enhanced Homecare Worker” means a homecare worker, 
as defined in this rule, who is certified by the Commission to 
provide services for consumers who require medically driven ser-
vices and supports as defined and assessed by DHS. 

(19) “Enhanced Personal Support Worker” means a personal 
support worker, as defined in this rule, who is certified by the Com-
mission to provide services for consumers who require advanced 
medical- or behavioral-driven services and supports as defined and 
assessed by DHS by a functional needs assessment tool. 

(20) “Exceptional Personal Support Worker” means a personal 
support worker, as defined in this rule, who is certified by the Com-
mission to provide services for consumers who require extensive 
medical- or behavioral-driven services and supports, beyond the 
enhanced services provided by an enhanced personal support 
worker, as assessed by a functional needs assessment tool; and 
whose service needs also require staff to be awake more than 
twenty hours in a twenty-four hour period. 

(21) “Functional Needs Assessment” means a comprehensive 
assessment tool that documents physical, mental and social func-
tioning and risk factors; choices and preferences; service and 
support needs; and strengths and goals. 

(22) “Grievance” means a formal allegation of acts, omissions, 
applications, or interpretations that are believed to be violations of 
the terms or conditions of the Collective Bargaining Agreement. 

(23) “Homecare Worker” means a provider, as described in 
OAR chapter 411, division 31, who is directly employed by a con-
sumer to provide either hourly or live-in services for the consumer. 
The term homecare worker includes: 

(a) Providers in the: 
(A) Consumer-Employed Provider Program; 
(B) Spousal Pay Program; 
(C) State Plan Personal Care Program for seniors and individ-

uals with physical disabilities; and 
(D) The Oregon Project Independence Program. 
(b) The term “homecare worker” does not include workers 

employed by an in-home agency. 
(24) “Independent Choices Program” means the program 

described in OAR chapter 411, division 30, which is a self-directed 
in-home services program in which a participant is given a cash 
benefit to purchase goods and services, which are identified in the 
participant’s service plan and prior approved by DHS or an Area 
Agency on Aging. 

(25) “Individual” means an older adult or an adult with a dis-
ability applying for or eligible for services. The term “individual” 
is synonymous with “client” and “consumer”. 

(26) “Individual Support Plan” or “ISP” means the plan 
defined in OAR chapter 411, division 375, which includes written 
details of the supports, activities, and resources required for an 
individual with intellectual or developmental disabilities to achieve 
and maintain personal goals and health and safety. 

(27) “Live-In Services” means those services, as defined in 
OAR chapter 411, division 030, which are provided for a senior or 
an individual with a physical disability who requires 24-hour avail-
ability for activities of daily living and self-management tasks. 

(28) “OHA” means the Oregon Health Authority. 
(29) “Oregon Intervention System” or “OIS” means a system 

of training to people who work with designated individuals to pro-
vide elements of positive behavioral support and non-aversive 
behavioral intervention. 

(30) “Orientation” means an introduction to in-home programs 
and basic expectations for homecare or personal support workers, 
which is arranged through a service delivery office, in accordance 
with these rules. 

(31) “Personal Health Navigator” means an individual, as 
defined in ORS 414.025, who provides information, assistance, 
tools and support to enable a consumer to make the best health care 
decisions in the consumer’s particular circumstances and in light of 

the consumer’s needs, lifestyle, combination of conditions, and 
desired outcomes. 

(32) “Personal Support Worker” means a person, as defined in 
ORS 410.600: 

(a) Who is hired by an individual with a developmental dis-
ability or mental illness or a parent or guardian of an individual 
with a developmental disability or mental illness; 

(b) Who receives monies from DHS or OHA for the purpose 
of providing services for the individual with a developmental dis-
ability or mental illness; or 

(c) Who provides services through the Independent Choices 
Program for a senior or an individual with a physical disability; and 

(d) Whose compensation is provided in whole or in part 
through DHS or OHA, a support services brokerage or other public 
agency; and who provides services in the home or community. 

(e) All other personal support workers, including provider 
organizations and supervisors, and those who perform solely vol-
unteer personal services-related tasks are excluded from this defi-
nition. 

(33) “Professional Development Recognition” means the 
recognition by the Commission of homecare and personal support 
workers who are continuing their education and have met Commis-
sion training requirements for recognition. 

(34) “Program” means a program governed by Oregon Admin-
istrative Rules and administered by DHS or OHA, which authorizes 
home and community services to be provided through public fund-
ing. 

(35) “Provider” means a homecare or personal support worker 
who is eligible to be hired by a consumer-employer or a consumer 
representative to provide in-home or community services authorized 
in the consumer’s service plan. 

(36) “Provider Number” means an identifying number issued 
to each homecare and personal support worker who is enrolled as a 
provider through DHS or OHA. 

(37) “Registry” means the Commission’s online listing of 
homecare and personal support workers who are available for 
work. The primary function of the Registry is to provide consumer 
choice by generating a list of homecare or personal support 
workers whose qualifications most closely match requirements 
entered in an individual consumer-employer profile. 

(38) “Relief Worker” means a homecare or personal support 
worker who provides services in place of a homecare or personal 
support worker who is unavailable. This term is synonymous with 
“substitute worker”. 

(39) “Respite Worker” means a homecare or personal support 
worker who provides services in place of a family caregiver or 
other member of a consumer’s natural support system who typically 
provides unpaid services. The term respite may also refer to a sub-
stitute for a live-in homecare worker. 

(40) “Restricted Provider Number” means a number assigned 
by DHS to a homecare or personal support worker who is only 
approved to provide services for a specific consumer. 

(41) “Service Delivery Office” means a DHS or OHA office, 
Area Agency on Aging, Community Developmental Disability 
Program, Support Services Brokerage or Community Mental 
Health Program office that is responsible for case management and 
authorization of publicly funded services provided by homecare or 
personal support workers. 

(42) “Service Plan” means a written plan of authorized in-
home and community services, developed in accordance with DHS 
or OHA rules and policies or an Individual Support Plan. 

(43) “State Plan Personal Care Services” means the assistance 
with personal care and supportive services described in OAR 
chapter 411, division 34, provided for an individual by a homecare 
or personal support worker. 

(44) “Stipend” means a predetermined amount of money 
granted to a homecare or personal support worker to attend Com-
mission training, in accordance with Commission requirements. 

(45) “Substitute Worker” means “Relief Worker”. 
(46) “Worker” means a “Homecare Worker” or “Personal 

Support Worker”. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 

Chapter 418     Department of Human Services, Home Care Commission

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2017 Edition                                                                                      13 - 117                                                                                         (11-15-16)



Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.600, 410.603, 410.605, 410.606, 410.608, 
410.612 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

418-020-0020 
Qualifications for Homecare and Personal Support Workers 

(1) Homecare Worker Minimum Qualifications: 
(a) Submit completed application and enrollment packet to a 

service delivery office; 
(b) Pass a DHS background check and cooperate with a 

recheck every two years or when requested; 
(c) Be capable of performing essential functions to safely pro-

vide necessary services or be capable of learning essential functions 
to safely provide necessary services; 

(d) Meet in-home program specific guidelines; 
(e) Be 18 years of age or older. Age exceptions may be made 

by DHS on a case-by-case basis for family members at least 16 
years of age; and 

(f) Within 30 days of receiving a provider number, attend an 
orientation that utilizes materials provided or approved by the 
Commission. 

(A) When completion of an orientation is not available at a 
local service delivery office within 30 days, orientation must be 
completed within 90 days of enrollment. 

(B) If a homecare worker fails to complete an orientation 
within 90 days of provider enrollment, the homecare worker’s 
provider number will be inactivated and any authorization for 
service payment will be discontinued, in accordance with OAR 
chapter 411, division 31. 

(C) Homecare workers must attend a live-in service orientation 
before being hired to provide live-in services. 

(2) Personal Support Worker Minimum Qualifications: 
(a) Submit completed application and enrollment packet; 
(b) Pass a DHS or OHA background check and cooperate with 

a recheck when requested; 
(c) Be capable of performing essential functions to safely pro-

vide necessary services or be capable of learning essential functions 
to safely provide necessary services; 

(d) Be 18 years of age or older; and 
(e) Meet program specific guidelines; including attending an 

orientation within 90 days of receiving a provider number. 
(3) Homecare and Personal Support Worker Orientation. Ser-

vice delivery offices providing homecare or personal support 
worker orientation must: 

(a) Offer orientation frequently enough that new homecare or 
personal support workers meet program timelines for completing 
orientation; and 

(b) Use presentation and materials created by or approved by 
the Commission and DHS or OHA. 

(c) Make every attempt to provide orientation in a culturally-
appropriate manner, including: 

(A) Attempt to convey the availability of translation and inter-
preter services in the six languages, besides English, most 
commonly spoken by consumers in the office’s service delivery 
area. 

(B) Attempt to provide written materials and an interpreter 
fluent in the workers’ primary language if three or more speakers 
of that language will be in attendance; and 

(C) Attempt to provide an interpreter fluent in the workers’ 
primary language if one or two speakers of that language will be in 
attendance. 

(d) Provide reasonable accommodations for homecare or per-
sonal support workers who experience disability, in accordance 
with Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

(e) Allow the Union to make presentations to potential 
members at orientations, at a mutually agreeable time, in accordance 
with the current collective bargaining agreement. 

(4) Workplace Substance Abuse Policy: The Commission 
encourages homecare and personal support workers and consumer-
employers to voluntarily seek help with drug and alcohol dependence 
and provides information and referral on request. 

(a) The Commission is committed to protecting the safety, 
health, and well-being of consumers of in-home services and 
homecare and personal support workers, through establishing a 
workplace substance abuse policy. 

(b) This policy recognizes that substance abuse by homecare 
or personal support workers, consumers, family members or others 
in consumers’ homes is disruptive, adversely affect the quality of 
in-home services, and pose serious health risks to users and others. 

(c) This policy recognizes that workers’ abuse of alcohol and 
other drugs during non-working hours may affect their ability to 
provide quality in-home services. 

(d) Workers are expected to report to work unimpaired and fit 
for duty. 

(A) If the use of a prescribed or over-the-counter medication 
may compromise the safety of a worker, a consumer-employer, or 
the public, it is the worker’s responsibility to use appropriate per-
sonnel procedures such as calling in sick and notifying the con-
sumer-employer and case manager to avoid unsafe workplace prac-
tices. 

(B) It is a violation of the Commission’s substance abuse 
policy for a worker to intentionally misuse or abuse prescription or 
over-the-counter medications. Appropriate action will be taken if 
job performance declines or if accidents occur, in accordance with 
DHS or OHA rules. 

(e) It is a violation of the Commission’s substance abuse 
policy for a worker to use, possess, sell, trade, manufacture, or 
offer for sale illegal drugs or intoxicants in the workplace. 

(f) A worker who is convicted of any criminal drug or alcohol 
violation in the workplace or during non-working hours must 
notify the service delivery office in writing within five calendar 
days of the conviction. The service delivery office will take appro-
priate action in accordance with DHS or OHA rules. 

(g) DHS case managers authorize services in settings that do 
not jeopardize the health and safety of providers, in accordance 
with OAR chapter 411, division 30. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.603, 410.604 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

418-020-0030 
Homecare and Personal Support Worker Training 

(1) Training is offered by the Commission to homecare and 
personal support workers statewide to enhance worker skills and 
the quality of in-home and community services provided for con-
sumer-employers. 

(a) Training is provided without charge to homecare and per-
sonal support workers, consumer-employers, consumer-represen-
tatives, and appropriate service delivery staff. 

(b) Stipends for actual hours in attendance at Commission-
sponsored classes may be available to homecare and personal 
support workers who have provided publicly funded services in 
any of the three months before training or during the month of the 
training. 

(A) The Commission determines the amount of a stipend and 
may provide a stipend for each eligible class only once per year. 

(B) The Commission determines which classes are approved 
for stipends for homecare and personal support workers. 

(2) Public Availability of Training. When classes are not 
filled, members of the public may attend, after registering and 
paying training fees determined by the Commission. Members of 
the public will not be eligible for stipends. 

(3) Certifications for Homecare and Personal Support Work-
ers. 

(a) Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and First Aid Cer-
tification: 

(A) The Commission pays for active homecare and personal 
support workers, who meet the qualifications established by the 
Commission, to take First Aid training and adult CPR; and, if pro-
viding services to children, child CPR. 

(B) Homecare and personal support workers must request 
payment in writing to the Commission before taking CPR and First 
Aid training. 
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(C) The Commission does not reimburse homecare or personal 
support workers who have paid for CPR and First Aid classes. 

(b) Professional Development Recognition. The Commission 
awards Professional Development Recognition to homecare and 
personal support workers who have: 

(A) Completed 20 hours of core, safety and skills training  
classes; 

(B) Current CPR and First Aid certification; and 
(C) An acceptable attendance record is one in which an indi-

vidual homecare does not have a no show rate greater than 30 
percent at Commission classes. This is defined by the Commission 
and published in monthly training newsletters and on the Profes-
sional Development Recognition web page. The application is 
located at: http://www.oregon.gov/dhs/spd/adv/hcc/docs/pro-dev.pdf. 

(c) Enhanced Homecare Worker Certification. 
(A) To be certified as an enhanced homecare worker, a home-

care worker must: 
(i) Have an active, unrestricted provider number; 
(ii) Have current CPR and First Aid Certification; 
(iii) Complete a written application; 
(iv) Demonstrate knowledge of core concepts as measured by 

a readiness assessment; and 
(v) If accepted, successfully complete enhanced homecare 

worker coursework and assessments. 
(B) Enhanced homecare workers are eligible for an enhanced 

hourly or enhanced live-in service payment rate only when 
providing services for a consumer-employer assessed by DHS as 
having enhanced needs. 

(C) For ongoing enhanced homecare worker certification, a 
homecare worker must: 

(i) Maintain an active homecare worker credential, CPR and 
First Aid certification. 

(ii) Complete requirements for recertification before the end 
of each two–year credential period. 

(d) Enhanced Personal Support Worker Certification. 
(A) To be certified as an enhanced personal support worker, a 

personal support worker must: 
(i) Have an active unrestricted provider number; 
(ii) Have current CPR and First Aid Certification; 
(iii) Complete a written application; 
(iv) Demonstrate knowledge of core concepts as measured by 

a readiness assessment; and 
(v) If accepted, successfully complete Enhanced Personal 

Support Worker coursework and assessments. 
(B) Enhanced personal support workers are eligible for an 

enhanced hourly or enhanced live-in service payment rate only 
when providing services for a consumer-employer assessed by 
DHS as having enhanced needs. 

(C) For ongoing enhanced personal support worker certifica-
tion, a personal support worker must: 

(i) Maintain an active personal support worker credential, 
CPR and First Aid certification. 

(ii) Complete requirements for recertification before the end 
of each two-year credential period. 

(e) Exceptional Personal Support Worker Certification: 
(A) To be certified as an exceptional personal support worker, 

a personal support worker must complete: 
(i) Enhanced personal support worker certification; 
(ii) A written application; 
(iii) Oregon Intervention System general or parent level certi-

fication as appropriate; and 
(iv) If accepted, 10 — 12 hours of coursework and pass 

course assessments. 
(B) For ongoing exceptional personal support worker certifi-

cation a personal support worker must: 
(i) Maintain an active personal support worker credential; 

CPR and First Aid; and Oregon Intervention System certifications. 
(ii) Complete requirements for recertification before the end 

of each two-year credential period. 
(C) Exceptional personal support workers are eligible for an 

exceptional service payment rate only when providing services for 

a consumer-employer assessed by DHS as having exceptional 

needs. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.604, 410.625 

Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14
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418-020-0040 
Consumer-Employer Training Services 

The Commission offers voluntary training services to con-
sumer-employers and consumer representatives on how to select, 
manage, and dismiss homecare and personal support workers. 
These services may be referred to as STEPS to Success with 
Homecare Workers, STEPS to Success with Personal Support 
Workers, or generically as STEPS services. 

(1) Providers of STEPS services are approved by or under 
contract with the Commission. 

(2) Services are designed to meet consumer-employer needs 
and are provided in a culturally competent manner. Providers offer 
a continuum of services based on individual needs and preferences, 
on topics including but not limited to: 

(a) Understanding the service plan and specific tasks authorized 
by the consumer’s case manager; 

(b) Creating job descriptions, locating workers, interviewing, 
completing reference checks, and hiring a homecare or personal 
support worker; 

(c) Creating an employment agreement; 
(d) Training, supervising and communicating effectively with 

workers; 
(e) Ensuring work is performed satisfactorily; 
(f) Correcting unsatisfactory work performance and discharging 

unsatisfactory workers; 
(g) Scheduling and tracking hours worked and maintaining 

employment records; 
(h) Developing a backup plan for coverage of services; and 
(i) Preventing and reporting fraud and abuse. 
(3) STEPS services must be provided in a timely manner. 
(a) Consumers must be contacted within five working days of 

referral. 
(b) A planning interview for STEPS services must be 

conducted with consumers or representatives within 10 business 
days of referral, unless a consumer requests a later date. 

(c) Individualized consumer services must begin within 10 
business days of the planning interview, unless a consumer or con-
sumer representative requests a later date. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.603, 410.604 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

418-020-0050 
Registry 

The Commission maintains an online Registry of qualified 
homecare and personal support workers to provide routine, emer-
gency, and substitute referrals to consumer-employers. 

(1) DHS and OHA responsibilities: 
(a) DHS and OHA shall collect for each homecare worker or 

personal support worker: 
(A) Name, address, and phone number or numbers and where 

available, email address; 
(B) The program or programs under which the worker is 

approved to provide services; 
(C) The provider number; 
(D) Begin and end dates of credential period; 
(E) Date of most recent background check; 
(F) Restricted or unrestricted status; and 
(G) Other information as requested. 
(b) In accordance with interagency agreements, DHS and 

OHA will: 
(A) Provide continuing technical support, including electronic 

system changes needed by the Commission to ensure: 
(i) Receipt of information from state electronic provider data 

management systems and any fiscal intermediaries providing con-
sumer and provider information necessary for Registry matching 
functions; and 

(ii) Accuracy of data downloaded real-time or on a daily 
basis. 

(B) Provide technical support, including system changes to 
ensure security rights information transferred to the Commission’s 

Registry from current or future electronic systems are accurate and 
maintained. 

(C) Continue to provide information needed by the Commis-
sion’s Registry when any updates and changes to current electronic 
servers and systems are implemented. 

(2) Service Delivery Office Responsibilities. Staff must enter 
into the Registry within five business days of the information 
becoming available: 

(a) The date and location of each completed homecare worker 
or personal support worker orientation. 

(b) The expiration dates of CPR and First Aid certification for 
homecare or personal support workers who present original docu-
ments at the service delivery office. 

(3) Service Delivery Staff Use of Registry. DHS and OHA 
Service Delivery office staff will use the Registry exclusively to 
refer homecare or personal support workers to consumer-employ-
ers: 

(a) When a consumer-employer or consumer representative 
requests names of homecare or personal support workers, an indi-
vidual employer profile must be created and used for generating a 
Registry list of homecare or personal support workers who best 
match the consumer’s profile. 

(A) Service delivery staff must not create generic lists for dis-
tribution to multiple consumer-employers. 

(B) Service delivery staff must not recommend specific home-
care or personal support workers to consumer-employers or serve 
as employment references for such workers. 

(b) Service delivery staff must refer consumer-employers or 
consumer representatives needing assistance with the Registry or 
those otherwise needing assistance locating homecare or personal 
support workers to the Commission Registry support or to the 
STEPS consumer training services program. 

(4) Referral Requirements. For a homecare or personal 
support worker’s name to appear on a Registry referral list, a 
homecare or personal support worker must: 

(a) Have an active, unrestricted provider number; 
(b) Be seeking employment; 
(c) Authorize release of information by selecting this option 

on the Registry or in writing to the appropriate service delivery 
office; 

(d) Maintain a complete, accurate profile; 
(e) Have a valid telephone number and email address, if avail-

able. If a homecare or personal support worker does not have a 
working telephone number in the Registry, he or she will not be 
available for referral in the Registry and will be notified by the 
Commission via U.S. Mail or email; 

(f) Update profile information at least every 30 days; 
(g) Update changes including availability, telephone number, 

or other profile information when such changes occur; and 
(h) Meet Commission annual continuing education require-

ments. 
(5) Appropriate Use. The purpose of the Registry is for indi-

vidual consumer-employers, persons authorized to act on behalf of 
consumers, or individuals hiring in-home workers privately, to find 
qualified homecare or personal support workers. 

(6) Inappropriate Employer Use. Employer profiles or help 
wanted advertisements placed for purposes other than for individual 
searches as described in this rule are not authorized. 

(7) Inappropriate Use by Homecare and Personal Support 
Workers. Homecare and personal support workers may not use the 
Registry for purposes other than its intended use. Homecare and 
personal support workers may not: 

(a) Use the Registry to refer other homecare or personal 
support workers or contact other homecare or personal support 
workers; 

(b) Use the Commission’s name on business cards or other 
promotional materials; 

(c) Represent themselves in print, electronic or social media 
as employees of the Commission, DHS, OHA, or any service 
delivery office. 
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(8) Violations of OAR 418-020-0050 by homecare or personal 
support workers will be investigated by the Commission. 

(a) Sanctions may be imposed for non-compliance with these 
rules. Depending on severity and recurrence of violation, a sanction 
may include one or more of the following actions: 

(A) Written warning; 
(B) Suspension of availability for Registry referral for a pre-

scribed period; 
(C) Suspension of availability for Registry referral until con-

ditions for suspension are corrected; or 
(D) Training requirements. 
(b) Depending on the severity of allegations of misconduct or 

inappropriate use, the Commission may suspend availability for 
referral during investigation. 

(c) Notice of Sanction. If the Commission imposes a sanction, 
the Commission shall attempt to serve a notice of sanction upon the 
homecare or personal support worker by regular mail based on the 
last contact information provided by the worker, or, if requested by 
the recipient of the notice, by electronic mail. The Notice of 
Sanction will comply with OAR chapter 137, division 3 and OAR 
chapter 411, division 1, as applicable. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.603, 410.604, 410.606 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

418-020-0060 
Workers’ Compensation 

(1) The Commission elects workers’ compensation coverage 
on behalf of consumer-employers who employ homecare and per-
sonal support workers. 

(2) Consumer-employers and consumer representatives must: 
(a) Sign required documents for homecare or personal support 

worker to receive workers’ compensation coverage; 
(b) Report homecare or personal support worker injuries to 

the Commission as soon as becoming aware of worker injury; and 
(c) Provide information to the Commission and workers’ com-

pensation carrier when workers report injury. 
(3) Service delivery office staff will: 
(a) Collect from each consumer-employer, at time of eligibility 

for services, appropriate signed workers’ compensation docu-
ments; 

(b) Report injuries immediately to the Commission; and 
(c) Respond to requests for information from the Commission 

and workers’ compensation carrier when workers report injuries 
and when claims are filed. 

(4) The Commission will: 
(a) Assist homecare and personal support workers who are 

injured while performing service plan authorized tasks with filing 
claims; and 

(b) Work as the agent of consumer-employers while providing 
information to the insurance carrier’s claims adjusters, attorneys, 
return-to-work specialists, and vocational rehabilitation adminis-
trators. 

(5) Homecare or personal support workers injured while pro-
viding authorized services must: 

(a) Report work injuries as soon as becoming aware of 
injuries to the: 

(A) Consumer-employer or consumer-representative; 
(B) Case manager; and 
(C) Commission; 
(b) Cooperate with the Commission and workers’ compensation 

carrier by providing all required documents and returning phone 
calls timely; and 

(c) Keep the consumer-employer or consumer-representative 
informed regarding work restrictions resulting from injuries at 
work, medical appointments, and return to work dates. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented ORS 410.606, 410.625, 656.039 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

DIVISION 30 

PUBLIC CONTRACTING AND PROCUREMENT 

418-030-0000 
Application 

The rules contained in OAR chapter 418, division 30 govern 
the public contracting of the Oregon Home Care Commission. In 
addition to these rules, the Commission is subject to ORS Chapters 
279A, 279B and 279C. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.604, 410.625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

418-030-0010 
Procurement Authority 

(1) The Commission may: 
(a) Enter into contracts with public and private organizations 

and individuals for the purpose of obtaining or developing training 
materials and curriculum or other services as may be needed by the 
Commission; 

(b) Contract for services, lease, acquire, hold, own, encumber, 
insure, sell, replace, deal in and with, and dispose of real and 
personal property in its own name; and 

(c) Enter into an interagency agreement or contract with any 
state agency for the performance of the Commission’s duties or the 
leasing of office space. 

(2) The Commission delegates to the executive director the 
authority to act on behalf of the Commission to carry out its duties 
and responsibilities, including but not limited to, entering into con-
tracts or agreements. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 279A.065, 279A.070, 410.604, 410.625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

418-030-0020 
Adoption of Oregon Health Authority Rules 

The Oregon Home Care Commission adopts the rules in OAR 
chapter 943, division 60, except for rules and definitions which are 
not applicable to the work of the Commission authorized in ORS 
410.595–410.625 as follows: 

(1) Each instance of “Oregon Health Authority” or “Authority” 
means “Oregon Home Care Commission” or “Commission.” 

(2) The following rules, and subparts thereof, are not applica-
ble: 

(a) 943-060-0010, definitions (2)(a) and (c), (3)(a) through 
(o), and (8); 

(b) 943-060-0020; 
(c) In 943-060-0050, omit agreements under ORS 190.485, 

190.112 and 660.342 (as renumbered to 660.334); 
(d) 943-0060-0080; 
(e) 943-060-0090; and 
(f) 943-060-0110(1), (11), and (12). 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.604, 410.625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2014, f. 11-26-14, cert. ef. 12-1-14 

DIVISION 40 

HOMECARE CHOICE PROGRAM 

418-040-0000 
Purpose 

The rules in OAR chapter 418, division 40 establish the rules 
for the Homecare Choice Program administered by the Oregon 
Home Care Commission. The purpose of the program is to provide 
private pay individuals with access to the Commission’s statewide 
Registry to hire employees to provide in-home services and to 
assist participants in meeting the legal responsibilities of being a 
household employer. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.595-625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2015(Temp), f. 12-31-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16; HCC 1-
2016, f. 6-13-16, cert. ef. 6-20-16 
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418-040-0010 
Definitions 

(1) “Abuse” means “abuse” as defined in OAR 407-045-0260, 
411-020-0002, 413-015-0115, and OAR 943-045-0250. 

(2) “Active” means a homecare or personal support worker 
has a current provider number and has worked and been paid with 
public funds in any of the past 12 months as a homecare or 
personal support worker. 

(3) “Activities of Daily Living (ADLs)” means daily self-care 
activities such as eating and feeding, dressing, grooming, bathing, 
personal hygiene, mobility and movement, toileting and elimination, 
cognitive and emotional support, and communication. 

(4) “Background Check” means a criminal records and abuse 
check conducted in accordance with OAR chapter 407, division 
007. 

(5) “Chargeback” means a reversal of a credit card charge 
after an individual successfully disputes a program charge on his or 
her credit card. 

(6) “Commission” means the Oregon Home Care Commission 
established and operated pursuant to Article XV, Section 11, of the 
Oregon Constitution and ORS 410.595 to 410.625. 

(7) “Communication” means assistance that enables an indi-
vidual to communicate with another person. 

(8) “Companionship” means engaging a participant in social, 
physical, and mental activities and includes, but is not limited to, 
conversation, reading, games, hobbies, crafts, and accompanying 
the participant during social activities and outings. Companionship 
also means being present to monitor safety and well-being or to 
protect an individual who requires assistance in caring for him or 
herself. 

(9) “Continuing Education” means specific minimum education 
requirements defined by the Commission. 

(10) “Credit Card Refund” means a refund of an unused 
account balance that is credited to the same credit card that 
originated the payment. 

(11) “Department” means the Department of Human Services 
(DHS). 

(12) “Enrollment Agreement” means the program-specific 
document an individual must complete to be approved to participate 
in the Homecare Choice Program. 

(13) “FICA” is the acronym for the Social Security payroll 
taxes collected under authority of the Federal Insurance Contribu-
tions Act. 

(14) “Fiscal Improprieties” means a provider committed 
financial misconduct involving a participant’s money, property, or 
benefits. Fiscal improprieties include, but are not limited to: 

(a) Financial exploitation, as defined in OAR 407-045-0260 
and OAR 411-020-0002; 

(b) Borrowing money from the participant; 
(c) Taking a participant’s property or money; 
(d) Having a participant purchase items for the provider; 
(e) Forging a participant’s signature; 
(f) Falsifying payment records; 
(g) Claiming payment for hours not worked; or 
(h) Other similar acts intentionally committed for financial 

gain. 
(15) “Fiscal Intermediary” means an entity that provides 

fiscal intermediary services that support all programmatic, policy, 
and financial aspects of the Homecare Choice Program. Fiscal 
Intermediary services include, but are not limited to, enrollment 
functions, processing payroll, and paying state and federal taxes on 
behalf of participants. 

(16) “FUTA” is the acronym for Federal Unemployment Tax 
Assessment, which is a United States payroll (or employment) tax 
imposed by the federal government on both employees and 
employers. 

(17) “Guardian” means the parent of an individual less than 
18 years of age or a person who has been appointed by a court to 
make personal, health, or other decisions for a functionally inca-
pacitated individual under ORS chapter 125. 

(18) “Homecare Choice Provider” means a person who has 
met the enrollment standards described in OAR 418-040-
0040(1)(a)(A)–(N) and is authorized to provide services to program 
participants. 

(19) “Homecare Worker” means a homecare worker as 
defined in OAR 411-031-0020. 

(20) “Imminent Danger” means there is reasonable cause to 
believe an individual’s life or physical, emotional, or financial 
well-being is in danger if an intervention is not immediately initiat-
ed. 

(21) “Individual” means a person enrolled as a participant in 
the Homecare Choice Program. The term “individual” is synony-
mous with “consumer-employer” and “participant.” 

(22) “Instrumental Activities of Daily Living” means self-
management activities, other than activities of daily living, required 
by an individual to live independently at home and includes house-
keeping, laundry, meal preparation, shopping and errands, trans-
portation, medication assistance, medication reminding, assistance 
with oxygen, and arranging for medical appointments. 

(23) “Medication Assistance” means helping a participant 
with one or more steps in the process of taking medication 
including, but not limited to, opening medications containers, 
helping the participant self-administer his or her own medications, 
and assisting the participant with one or more steps of medication 
administration at the participant’s direction. 

(24) “Medication Reminding” means providing a participant 
with an audio, visual, or verbal reminder to take his or her medica-
tions when a participant is able to direct services. 

(25) “Non-Sufficient Fund Fee” means the charge an individual 
pays if a payment check is denied or is unable to be processed by 
the individual’s banking institution due to lack of sufficient funds 
to pay the check. 

(26) “OHA” means the Oregon Health Authority. 
(27) “Orientation” means an introduction to the Homecare 

Choice Program and a review of basic expectations and requirements 
for Homecare Choice providers. 

(28) “Payment Method” means the financial instrument used 
to pay for services. 

(29) “Personal Support Worker” means a personal support 
worker as defined in OAR 410-172-0190 and 411-375-0010. 

(30) “Prepayment” means the advance payment of two weeks 
of service hours multiplied by the service rate. 

(31) “Program” means the Homecare Choice Program governed 
by these rules and administered by the Oregon Home Care Com-
mission. 

(32) “Program Service Rate” means the hourly rate for home-
care services established by the Home Care Commission and 
charged to Homecare Choice Program participants. 

(33) “Provider” means Homecare Choice provider as defined 
in these rules. 

(34) “Provider Number” means an identifying number issued 
to each homecare and personal support worker enrolled as a 
provider through DHS or OHA. 

(35) “Readiness Assessment” means a tool used to evaluate 
whether a provider can demonstrate understanding of basic skills 
and processes determined to be foundational concepts needed to 
work successfully with participants. 

(36) “Refund” means a return of the unused balance of a par-
ticipant’s prepayment. 

(37) “Registry” means the Commission’s online listing of 
Homecare Choice providers who are available to work. 

(38) “Relief Care” means the temporary provision of services 
with the primary purpose of relieving the individual’s caregiver. 

(39) “Representative” means a person designated by a partici-
pant, or the participant’s legal guardian, who is authorized to assist 
with the program enrollment process, fulfilling consumer-employer 
responsibilities, and directing homecare services. 

(40) “Self-Assessment” means an assessment tool completed 
by a Homecare Choice Program participant, or the representative 
of a participant, to evaluate the capacity and willingness of the par-
ticipant or the participant’s representative, to effectively manage 
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and direct homecare services provided to the participant and to 
fulfill consumer-employer responsibilities. The self-assessment 
identifies the participant’s need for the specific services that are 
included in the participant’s service plan. 

(41) “Service Period” means the 14 consecutive days of each 
provider pay period. 

(42) “Service Plan” means a written document that details a 
participant’s self-identified service needs. 

(43) “SUTA” is the acronym for State Unemployment Tax 
Assessment. State unemployment taxes are paid by employers to 
finance the unemployment benefit system that exists in each state. 

(44) “These Rules” mean the rules in OAR chapter 418, divi-
sion 040. 

(45) “Unacceptable Background Check” means a check that 
produces information related to the person’s background that pre-
cludes the person from being a provider in the Homecare Choice 
Program for the following reasons: 

(a) The person applying to be a provider has been disqualified 
under OAR 407-007-0275; 

(b) A background check and fitness determination has been 
conducted resulting in a “denied” status as defined in OAR 407-
007-0210; or 

(c) A background check and fitness determination has been 
conducted resulting in an “approved with restrictions” status as 
defined in OAR 407-007-0210. 

(46) “Work week” means the period of time that begins on 
12:00 a.m. on Sunday and ends on 11:59 p.m. Saturday. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.595-625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2015(Temp), f. 12-31-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16; HCC 1-
2016, f. 6-13-16, cert. ef. 6-20-16 

418-040-0020 
Participant Eligibility 

(1) In order to enroll as a participant in the Homecare Choice 
Program, an individual, or the individual’s representative, must: 

(a) Complete a self-assessment developed by the Oregon 
Home Care Commission. 

(b) Enter into a written service plan with a Homecare Choice 
provider before the commencement of services. 

(c) Pay the Commission in advance for services. 
(d) Be able to comply with state and federal wage and tax 

laws and recordkeeping requirements by completing, submitting, 
and retaining necessary documents provided by the fiscal interme-
diary contracted by the Commission. 

(e) Complete a Homecare Choice Program enrollment agree-
ment. 

(f) Provide information, when requested, for workers’ com-
pensation claims related to the individual’s provider. 

(g) Be able and willing to effectively manage and direct 
homecare services by performing the functions of an employer, 
including: 

(A) Locating, screening, and hiring a qualified provider. 
(B) Evaluating whether the provider has the skills and abilities 

to meet the individual’s specific service needs. 
(C) Assigning and directing the provider’s work. 
(D) Supervising and training the provider. 
(E) Scheduling the providers’ work, leave, and coverage. 
(F) Tracking the hours worked and validating the authorized 

hours were completed by the provider. 
(G) Recognizing, discussing, and attempting to correct any 

performance deficiencies with the provider. 
(H) Discharging an unsatisfactory provider. 
(2) An individual becomes ineligible to participate in the 

Homecare Choice Program when: 
(a) The individual, or individual’s representative, fails to pay 

for services in advance. 
(b) The individual, or the individual’s representative, fails to 

maintain an account balance equal to one service period. 
(c) The individual, or the individual’s representative, is unable 

or unwilling to effectively manage and direct homecare services by 

failing to meet the requirements outlined in OAR 418-040-
0020(1)(g)(A)–(H). 

(d) The individual, or the individual’s representative, is 
unable or unwilling to comply with state and federal wage and tax 
laws or recordkeeping requirements by failing to complete, submit, 
and retain necessary documents provided by a fiscal intermediary 
contracted with the Oregon Home Care Commission. 

(e) Dangerous conditions in the individual’s service setting 
jeopardize the health or safety of the individual or provider, and the 
individual, or the individual’s representative, is unable or unwilling 
to implement necessary safeguards to minimize the dangers. 

(f) Services are not able to be provided safely or adequately 
by the provider based on: 

(A) The extent of the participant’s service needs; or 
(B) The choices or preferences of the participant or the partic-

ipant’s representative. 
(3) Participants determined to be ineligible for continued par-

ticipation in the Homecare Choice Program will be sent written 
notice 10 days in advance of the proposed action. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.595-625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2015(Temp), f. 12-31-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16; HCC 1-
2016, f. 6-13-16, cert. ef. 6-20-16 

418-040-0030 
Services 

(1) Services available through the Homecare Choice Program 
are intended to support a participant in the participant’s home and 
in the community. Services are identified by the participant through 
a self-assessment developed by the Oregon Home Care Commis-
sion. 

(2) The program is responsible to review the results of an indi-
vidual’s self- assessment with the participant or the participant’s 
representative and provide information about the scope of services 
offered through the program, the long-term care services and sup-
ports not available through the program, and other community 
resources that are available to individuals seeking long-term care 
services and supports. 

(3) The service plan is determined by the participant based on 
the participant’s self-assessment and the participant or the partici-
pant’s representative determines the number of purchased service 
hours per service period. 

(4) Services are performed by providers enrolled in the Home-
care Choice Program based on the service plan. Providers are 
selected by the participant from the Oregon Home Care Commis-
sion’s Registry. 

(5) Services available through the Homecare Choice Program 
include assistance with: 

(a) Activities of Daily Living (ADLs). 
(b) Instrumental Activities of Daily Living (IADLs). 
(c) Pet care. 
(d) Companionship. 
(e) Relief Care. 
(6) Assistance with tasks related to the following activities are 

not available through the Homecare Choice Program: 
(a) Case management. Case management means an ongoing 

process that includes: 
(A) Assessing a participant’s service needs. 
(B) Evaluating the options and services required to meet the 

participant’s needs. 
(C) Developing and implementing a service plan. 
(D) Coordinating services and referrals. 
(E) Conducting risk assessments. 
(F) Monitoring. 
(b) Chore services and yard work. 
(A) Chore services are services intended to ensure the individ-

ual’s home is safe and allows for independent living. 
(B) Chore services include: 
(i) Heavy housecleaning; 
(ii) Removal of hazardous debris or dirt from the home or 

yard; and 
(iii) Moving heavy furniture. 
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(c) Home adaptations or modifications. 
(d) Money management. 
(e) Moving. 
(f) Medical and nursing services. 
(g) Purchasing services and supplies, such as home delivered 

meals, emergency response systems, adaptive equipment, and per-
sonal protective equipment. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.595-625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2015(Temp), f. 12-31-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16; HCC 1-
2016, f. 6-13-16, cert. ef. 6-20-16 

418-040-0040 
Provider Qualifications 

(1) Provider Enrollment: 
(a) ENROLLMENT STANDARDS. To be enrolled as a 

provider in the Homecare Choice Program a provider must meet 
the following standards: 

(A) Submit a completed application and provider enrollment 
agreement to the Oregon Home Care Commission. 

(B) Possess an active, unrestricted homecare or personal 
support worker provider number issued by DHS or OHA. 

(C) Have completed the background check process described 
in OAR 407-007-0200 to 407-007-0370 as a homecare or personal 
support worker with an outcome of approved. A background 
recheck must occur at least every two years or sooner, if requested. 

(D) Complete Homecare Choice Program orientation. 
(E) Be 18 years of age or older without exception. 
(F) Possess a Social Security Number that matches the indi-

vidual’s legal name, as verified by the Internal Revenue Service or 
Social Security Administration. 

(G) Be legally eligible to work in the United States. 
(H) Have sufficient communication and language skills to 

enable him or her to perform duties and interact effectively with 
participants and Commission staff. 

(I) Be capable of performing essential functions to safely pro-
vide necessary services or be capable of learning essential functions 
to safely provide necessary services, as determined by the individual 
or his or her representative. 

(J) Immediately report abuse or suspected abuse to DHS. 
(K) Maintain confidentiality and safeguard the participant and 

the participant’s family’s information. 
(L) Not be listed on the Health and Human Services, Office of 

Inspector General or the U.S. General Services Administration’s 
Exclusion lists. 

(M) Complete and pass an on-line readiness assessment. The 
readiness assessment includes, but is not limited to, concepts on: 

(i) Effective communication skills; 
(ii) Professional boundaries; 
(iii) Preventing fraud and abuse; 
(iv) Problem solving; 
(v) Universal precautions and disease prevention; 
(vi) Proper body mechanics; and 
(vii) Medication safety. 
(b) DENIAL OF PROVIDER ENROLLMENT. The Oregon 

Home Care Commission may deny an application for provider 
enrollment in the Homecare Choice Program when: 

(A) The applicant has a history of violating protective service 
and abuse rules in OAR chapter 407, division 45, OAR chapter 411 
division 20, OAR chapter 413, division 15, or OAR chapter 943, 
division 45. 

(B) The applicant has an unacceptable background check. 
(C) The applicant is under 18 years of age. 
(D) The applicant is listed on the Health and Human Services, 

Office of Inspector General or the U.S. General Services Adminis-
tration’s Exclusion lists. 

(E) The applicant has committed fiscal improprieties. 
(F) The Oregon Home Care Commission has information that 

enrolling the applicant as a provider may put vulnerable individuals 
at risk. 

(G) The applicant’s Social Security Number does not match 
the applicant’s legal name, as verified by the Internal Revenue Ser-
vice or Social Security Administration. 

(H) The applicant is not capable of performing essential func-
tions to safely provide necessary services or is not capable of 
learning essential functions to safely provide necessary services. 

(I) The applicant does not have sufficient communication and 
language skill to enable him or her to perform duties and interact 
effectively with participants and Commission staff. 

(J) The applicant does not complete and pass a readiness 
assessment. 

(c) VIOLATIONS RESULTING IN TERMINATION OF 
PROVIDER ENROLLMENT. The Oregon Home Care Commission 
may terminate a provider enrolled in the Homecare Choice 
Program in the following circumstances: 

(A) The provider’s enrollment as a homecare worker has been 
terminated based on violations described in OAR 411-031-0050. 

(B) The provider’s enrollment as a personal support worker 
has been terminated based on violations described in OAR 410-
172-0200 or 411-375-0070. 

(C) There is a substantiated complaint against a provider for: 
(i) Being impaired by alcohol, inhalants, prescription drugs, 

or other drugs, including over-the-counter medications, while 
responsible for the care of a participant, in the participant’s home, 
or transporting the participant; or 

(ii) Manufacturing, possessing, selling, offering to sell, trading, 
or personally using illegal drugs while providing authorized 
services to a participant or while in the participant’s home. 

(D) The provider has a founded or substantiated allegation of 
abuse as described in OAR chapter 407, division 045, OAR chapter 
411, division 20, OAR chapter 413, division 15, or OAR chapter 
943, division 45. 

(E) The provider fails to provide services as required. 
(F) The provider lacks the ability or willingness to maintain 

confidentiality and safeguard the participant and the participant’s 
family’s information. 

(G) The provider has an unacceptable background check. 
(H) The provider has repeatedly demonstrated he or she is 

unable or unwilling to safely provide necessary services. 
(I) The provider has repeatedly engaged in any of the 

following behaviors: 
(i) Unscheduled late arrival to work or absences from work 

that are unsatisfactory to the participant or neglect the participant’s 
service needs; or 

(ii) Inviting unwelcome guests or pets into a participant’s 
home, resulting in dissatisfaction or inattention to the participant’s 
required service needs. 

(J) The provider commits fiscal improprieties. 
(K) The provider is listed on the Health and Human Services, 

Office of Inspector General or the U.S. General Services Adminis-
tration’s Exclusion lists. 

(L) The provider fails to provide a Social Security Number 
that matches the provider’s legal name, as verified by the Internal 
Revenue Service or Social Security Administration. 

(d) INACTIVATION OF PROVIDER ENROLLMENT. A 
Homecare Choice provider’s enrollment may be inactivated when 
his or her homecare or personal support worker enrollment has 
been inactivated for reasons described in OAR chapter 411, 
division 31 or OAR chapter 411, division 375. 

(A) Homecare Choice providers will be notified in writing of 
the reason for inactivation and the actions required to maintain eli-
gibility as a provider in the Homecare Choice Program. 

(B) A Homecare Choice provider who fails to restore his or 
her homecare or personal support worker enrollment to active 
status within 30 days of inactivation will not be eligible to 
participate in the Homecare Choice Program until his or her home-
care or personal support worker enrollment is restored to active sta-
tus. 

(2) Registry referrals. 
(a) To be available for referral on the Registry, the provider 

must: 
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(A) Have an active, unrestricted provider number. 
(B) Meet the Commission’s annual continuing education 

requirements as a homecare worker or personal support worker. 
(C) Be seeking employment. 
(D) Maintain a complete and accurate profile. 
(E) Update his or her profile information every 30 days. 
(F) Have a valid telephone number. 
(G) Have a valid email address. 
(H) Authorize the release of contact information to perspective 

participants. 
(b) If a provider does not meet the requirements in subsection 

(2)(a), the provider will not be eligible for referral on the Registry 
until the requirements of (2)(a) are met. 

(3) A provider is responsible to review qualification require-
ments and background check due dates and take appropriate action 
to prevent lapse. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.595-625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2015(Temp), f. 12-31-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16; HCC 1-
2016, f. 6-13-16, cert. ef. 6-20-16 

418-040-0050 
Participant and Provider Employment Relationship 

(1) The relationship between a provider and a program partic-
ipant is that of employee and employer. Participants are required to 
meet the employer responsibilities described in OAR 418-040-
0020(1)(g)(A)–(H). 

(2) Homecare Choice providers are not state employees and 
are not entitled to state funded benefits, including participation in 
the Public Employees Retirement System or the Oregon Public 
Service Retirement Plan. 

(3) Participants must establish the terms of an employment 
relationship with a provider at the time of hire. 

(a) The terms of employment may include dismissal or resig-
nation notice, work scheduling, absence reporting, and whether 
sleeping arrangements or meals are provided to employees. 

(b) A participant has the right to terminate an employment 
relationship with a provider at any time and for any reason. 

(4) Unless permission has been granted through the court, a 
participant’s legal guardian may not be paid as the individual’s 
Homecare Choice provider and serve as the employer. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.595-625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2015(Temp), f. 12-31-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16; HCC 1-
2016, f. 6-13-16, cert. ef. 6-20-16 

418-040-0060 
Homecare Choice Program Service Rate 

(1) The Commission shall establish the service rate charged to 
program participants for homecare services at a level expected to 
generate total revenue sufficient to reimburse up to 107 percent of 
the costs associated with the program. The rate equals the actual 
costs incurred plus seven percent of the cost of administering the 
program and may include, but is not limited to: 

(a) Homecare Choice Provider wages, taxes, and benefits: 
(A) Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA); 
(B) State Unemployment Tax Authority (SUTA); 
(C) Workers’ Compensation Assessment; 
(D) Health insurance; and 
(E) Paid time off. 
(b) Homecare Choice Program staff wages, taxes, and bene-

fits: 
(A) Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA); 
(B) State Unemployment Tax Authority (SUTA); 
(C) Public Employee’s Retirement contribution; 
(D) Pension bond contribution; 
(E) Social security tax; 
(F) Workers’ compensation assessment; 
(G) Mass transit tax; and 
(H) Flexible benefits. 
(c) Homecare Choice Program service and supply expenses: 
(A) Office expenses; 
(B) Publicity and publications; 

(C) Professional services; 
(D) Registry maintenance and expansion; 
(E) Legal fees; 
(F) Cost allocation fees; 
(G) Translation fees; 
(H) Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodation 

requests; 
(I) Credit card processing fees; 
(J) Fiscal intermediary administration fees; and 
(K) Workers’ compensation premiums. 
(d) Any other activities undertaken to ensure: 
(A) The quality of Homecare Choice providers; 
(B) The adequacy of homecare services being provided; and 
(C) Costs of other administrative expenses associated with the 

program are covered. 
(2) The service payment rate is set forth in the participant 

enrollment agreement between the program and participant. Infor-
mation about the rate shall be available from the Commission and 
posted online at www.oregon.gov/DHS/Seniors-
D i s a b i l i t i e s / H C C / P a g e s / 
Homecare-Choice-Program.aspx. 

(3) If additional revenue is needed to sufficiently cover 
program costs, the Commission reserves the right to modify the 
service rate at any time. To modify the service rate, the Commission 
will give 30-days advance written notice to program participants. 

(4) If the Commission determines adjusting the service rate 
will not generate sufficient revenue to pay the costs of the program, 
the Commission may suspend the program following 30-days 
advance written notice to participants and providers. If the program 
is suspended, the Commission shall report to the Legislative 
Assembly, no later than 30 days after the suspension begins. The 
report must include the following information: 

(a) The reason for the suspension; 
(b) Any costs incurred that exceed the revenue generated by 

program payments; and 
(c) Any additional costs during the remainder of the biennium 

that the suspension occurs in that are anticipated to exceed the rev-
enue generated by program payments. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.595-625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2015(Temp), f. 12-31-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16; HCC 1-
2016, f. 6-13-16, cert. ef. 6-20-16 

418-040-0070 
Suspension or Reduction of Homecare Choice Program 
Referrals 

If the Commission, with the assistance of DHS, determines 
the available provider workforce is inadequate to meet the needs of 
those who qualify for Medicaid funded in-home services, the Com-
mission may suspend or reduce the number of provider referrals 
under the Homecare Choice Program. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.602 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 410.595-625 
Hist.: HCC 1-2015(Temp), f. 12-31-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16; HCC 1-
2016, f. 6-13-16, cert. ef. 6-20-16 

418-040-0080 
Fiscal Responsibilities 

(1) Oregon Home Care Commission Fiscal Responsibilities. 
(a) The Commission shall establish the Homecare Choice 

provider wage rate. 
(b) The Commission may contract with a fiscal intermediary 

for the following responsibilities: 
(A) Making payments to Homecare Choice providers on 

behalf of participants for services rendered. Payment is considered 
payment in full. 

(B) Acting on behalf of participants, by applying applicable 
Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) regulations, to: 

(i) Withhold Homecare Choice provider contributions from 
payments; and 

(ii) Submit participant contributions, and the amounts withheld 
from provider payments, to the Social Security Administration. 
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(C) Applying standard income tax withholding practices in 
accordance with 26 CFR 31 and withholding state and federal 
income taxes on all payments to Homecare Choice providers. 

(c) The Commission will issue a refund of a participant’s 
unused service payment after all expenses of the participant have 
been paid. The portion of the service payment intended to 
reimburse the Commission for its costs shall not be refunded. 

(A) Refunds may only be issued to the individual who autho-
rized the original payment. 

(B) Refunds shall not be issued in cash. 
(d) The Commission is not a trustee and has no fiduciary obli-

gation to the participant or payer with respect to advance service 
payments. 

(e) Advance payments may be comingled with other advance 
payments from participants in the Homecare Choice Program, but 
will be accounted for separately in the records of the Commission. 
The participant, or payer, is not entitled to any interest earnings on 
the funds and no interest will be credited to the participant or payer, 
or paid in the event of a refund. 

(f) The state will honor a garnishment or attachment of the 
participant’s or payer’s advance payment in the event it is served 
with a writ. 

(g) If funds are not available to pay a provider because the 
Commission is required to hold or transfer funds under a legal pro-
ceeding involving the participant, or payer, participant’s participation 
in the Homecare Choice program will be terminated as provided 
for in OAR 418-040-0020. 

(2) Homecare Choice Participant Fiscal Responsibilities. 
(a) Participants shall pay the Commission in advance for 

homecare services. Services may not commence until payment is 
received and verified by the Commission. 

(b) Upon enrollment in the program, participants must submit 
an initial prepayment to cover two service periods. The amount of 
the prepayment is calculated by multiplying the program service 
rate by the number of anticipated service hours for each service 
period. Thereafter, participants must submit a prepayment equal to 
the current service period, while enrolled in the program, and 
maintain an account balance equal to a two-week service period. 

(A) If the account balance does not equal an amount necessary 
to pay the hours to be worked in the current service period, the par-
ticipant must submit additional funds to restore the balance to the 
required level. 

(B) If the participant increases the number of purchased hours 
per service period after the initial prepayment is established, the 
on-going prepayment must also be increased to equal the current 
service period. 

(C) The funds are held for the convenience of the participant 
or payer. 

(D) Advance payments may be considered part of the partici-
pant’s or payer’s estate in the event of a bankruptcy and subject to 
the automatic stay, or in the event of participant’s death, will be 

refunded to the participant’s estate, less any administrative fee due 
to the Commission. 

(c) The participant is subject to the U.S. Department of Labor 
Fair Labor Standards Act and may elect to have a provider work 
more than 40 hours per week. The purchase of service hours that 
exceed 40 hours per week for an individual provider is considered 
overtime and shall be calculated in the pre-payment. 

(A) The overtime rate equals one and one-half of the 
provider’s hourly wage rate plus the increased cost of any payroll 
taxes as a result of overtime. 

(B) In the event of unanticipated overtime, the additional cost 
will be deducted from the participant’s account balance and the 
account balance must be replenished in the next service payment. 

(d) Acceptable payment methods for services include, credit 
or debit card transactions, personal checks, certified checks, 
cashier’s checks, and money orders. 

(A) As allowed by law, the Commission may charge a Non-
Sufficient Fund fee if the participant’s personal check is not pro-
cessed by his or her issuing bank due to insufficient funds. 

(B) Participants must provide an alternate form of payment 
method if the credit card used to purchase services is invalid or if a 
personal check is returned due to insufficient funds. 

(C) If a participant challenges program charges on the partici-
pant’s credit card and the charges are found to be valid after a 
chargeback investigation, the participant must pay by personal 
check, cashier’s check, or money order for the disputed charges. 

(e) Participants must submit payment to the Commission for 
mileage reimbursement for providers that use his or her personal 
vehicle for authorized service related transportation. 

(A) Providers are reimbursed at the mileage reimbursement 
rate determined by the participant. 

(B) The Commission, participant, and DHS are not responsible 
for vehicle damage when a provider uses his or her personal motor 
vehicle. 

(C) The Commission, participant, and DHS are not responsible 
for personal injury sustained when a provider uses his or her 
personal vehicle, except as may be covered under workers’ com-
pensation. 

(3) Homecare Choice Provider Fiscal Responsibilities. Home-
care Choice providers: 

(a) Must comply with state and federal wage and tax laws by 
completing, submitting, and retaining necessary documents provided 
by a fiscal intermediary contracted by the Commission. 

(b) Must not accept any additional compensation for hours of 
work that were compensated by the Homecare Choice Program. 

(c) Must only claim payment for authorized services provided 
that have been validated by participants with whom they are 
employed. 

(d) Shall not claim payment for services delivered by another 
individual. 

Chapter 418     Department of Human Services, Home Care Commission

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2017 Edition                                                                                      13 - 126                                                                                         (11-15-16)


