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DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURAL RULES 

574-001-0000 
Notice of Proposed Rule 

Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any permanent 
rule, the agency shall give notice of its intended action:  

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS 
183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date of the rule;  

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the Western 
Oregon University mailing list established pursuant to ORS 
183.335(8) at least 28 days before the effective date of the rule;  

(3) By mailing a copy of the notice to legislators specified in 
ORS 183.335(15) at least 49 days before the effective date of the 
rule; and  

(4) By mailing a copy of the notice to the following persons, 
organizations, or publications:  

(a) Chancellor of the Board of Higher Education;  
(b) Western Oregon University’s Faculty Senate President;  
(c) Western Oregon University’s Staff Senate President; 
(d) Western Oregon University’s Student Body President;  
(e) Western Oregon Journal student publication;  
(f) The Associated Press;  
(g) Statesman Journal — Salem;  
(h) Itemizer Observer — Dallas;  
(i) WOU Bulletin.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183  
Hist: OCE 2, f. & ef. 8-2-77; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 2-
2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04; WOU 1-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-2-06 

DIVISION 10 

RULES OF PROCEDURES FOR THE HANDLING 
OF DISPUTES AND GRIEVANCES FOR STUDENTS AND 

UNCLASSIFIED PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYEES, AND 
COMPLAINTS FOR DISCRIMINATION AT WOU 

574-010-0005 
Persons Entitled to be Heard 

(1) Any student, former student, or applicant for admission to 
this institution wrongfully or erroneously denied registration or  
having such registration wrongfully or erroneously cancelled; or  

(2) Any student wrongfully or erroneously required to pay a 
fine or penalty to the university except a parking or traffic fee or 
fine; or  

(3) Any person wrongfully or erroneously having money 
withheld by this institution; or  

(4) Any student or former student whose request for an 
amendment of his education records has been denied by the univer-
sity.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.200 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOSC 1-1982, f. & ef. 2-11-82; WOU 2-2004, f. 
& cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-010-0010 
Definitions 

(1) “Grievant” means any person mentioned in OAR 574-
010-0005 but does not mean a person whose complaint is subject to 
being processed by a grievance procedure established pursuant to 
or by a collective bargaining agreement.  

(2) “Committee” means the Student Grievance and Concerns 
Committee. The committee is a group of faculty members, staff 
members and one student representative selected to review current 
formal and informal academic and non-academic grievance proce-
dures, consider and act upon grievance petitions, educate the 
college community about the grievance process, and investigate 
and alert the Faculty Senate and the campus community of issues 
concerning students which the Committee believes are of signifi-
cance to faculty. 

Stat. Auth.: 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-010-0020 
Procedure for Informal Hearing 

Any person aggrieved as defined in OAR 574-010-0005 and 
574-010-0010 shall briefly state the objection to the action taken or 
proposed by the university, and shall request referral to a person in 
a Supervisory position with sufficient authority and access to 
knowledge of the circumstances to resolve the grievance. Such 
Supervisory official shall promptly arrange an opportunity for the 
Grievant and the Supervisor to discuss the grievance at a time and 
place suitable to both. If a matter cannot be resolved by the Super-
visor, or by some other university official to whom the Supervisor 
may refer the grievance, the Grievant then may request a hearing. 
The request shall be in writing, and shall be given to the Supervisor 
or other university official with whom the Grievant has been dis-
cussing the grievance. Such written request may be informal, shall 
be signed by the Grievant, and shall be submitted within ten days 
after completing the discussion of the grievance.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-010-0030 
Order When Grievant Fails to Appear 

(1) When the Grievant fails to appear at the specified time and 
place, or at the time to which the hearing may have been continued 
by mutual consent or by order of the Student Grievance and Con-
cerns Committee, the university shall issue a decision based on the 
information available to it.  

(2) The decision supporting the action of the university shall 
set forth the material on which the action is based, or the material 
shall be attached to and made a part of the decision.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-010-0060 
When OAR 574-010-0005 through 574-010-0055 Do Not Apply 

OAR 574-010-0005 through 574-010-0030 do not apply to 
procedures for imposition of sanctions on an academic staff 
member.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04
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574-010-0065 
Purpose and General Explanation 

(1) This procedure is established for the purpose of assuring 
all unclassified professional employees at Western Oregon Univer-
sity of the right to have their grievances receive fair, orderly and 
expeditious consideration. The emphasis is on solving problems in 
a collegial manner. The procedure encourages settlement of 
disputes at the lowest possible level by direct communications 
between conflicting parties. 

(2) Any unclassified professional employee of Western Oregon 
University has the right to file a grievance if the employee believes 
that an unjust or inequitable act or omission has occurred, in 
violation of established institution written policies/procedure, state 
statute or rule. Disciplinary sanctions are imposed in accordance 
with OAR 580-021-0320 and shall not be subject to this grievance 
procedure. 

(3) This right is in addition to that of an employee to appeal to 
the Employee Relations Board in accordance with the rules of that 
agency. 

(4) At any step of the grievance procedure, an employee may 
be represented or assisted by anyone of his/her choosing. The 
expense for such representation shall be borne by the employee. 

(5) Time limitations are provided for each step to assure quick 
response to the grievance. These limitations may be extended by 
mutual consent of the parties when placed in writing and attached 
to the written grievance. 

(6) Once an employee has invoked the grievance procedure, 
he/she shall not be required to participate in any discussion of that 
grievance with a Supervisor or agent of the employer without the 
presence of his/her representative. 

(7) If the Grievant is entitled to a contested case procedure, 
the Grievant may elect to use that procedure. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351 
Hist.: OCE 1-1980, f. & ef. 4-15-80; WOSC 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 12-15-88; 
WOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-28-97 

574-010-0067 
Definitions 

(1) “Grievance” means acts, omission or applications which 
allegedly violate University Policy, OUS Rules or Oregon Admin-
istrative Rules. Evaluation and disciplinary disputes are handled 
separately through the administrative organization. Grievances 
relating to charges of discrimination are to be filed with the Uni-
versity’s Director of Human Resources.  

(2) “Grievant” means one or more members of the Western 
Oregon University unclassified professional staff as listed on the 
official list of personnel.  

(3) “Supervisor” is the employee responsible for the grievant’s 
work assignment and evaluation.  

(4) “Day” means calendar days unless expressly designated 
otherwise.  

(5) “Vice President” is one of the following: Vice President 
for Student Affairs, Vice President for University Advancement, 
the Provost/Vice President of Academic Affairs or the Vice 
President for Finance and Administration. 

(6) “President” is the President of the University.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 12-15-88; WOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-28-
97; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-010-0068 
General Provisions 

(1) Except in cases of illness, absence from the country, or 
official leave of absence, the Grievant shall be present in person 
when the grievance is presented and at any subsequent hearing.  

(2) Failure to take action within the time limits specified at 
any step, including any extensions, shall be considered acceptance 
by the Grievant of the decision. Failure of the administration to 
communicate the decision on a grievance at any step within the 
time limits, including any extension thereof, shall allow the 
Grievant to proceed to the next step.  

(3) If, at any time, a Grievant seeks resolution of a grievance 
through any agency outside Western Oregon University, whether 
administration or judicial, Western Oregon University shall have 
no obligation to proceed further under this procedure with respect 
to such a grievance.  

(4) A Grievant may withdraw a grievance at any time.  
(5) A Grievant will not be allowed to utilize more than one 

grievance procedure in pursuing relief from a given grievance. 
Should a Grievant be entitled to utilize more than one grievance 
procedure, a decision must be made at the time of filing the initial 
grievance concerning which grievance procedure will be followed.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 12-15-88; WOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-28-
97; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-010-0070 
Presentation of Grievance 

(1) Grievance shall be presented within 30 days from the date 
of the act or omission or from such date the Grievant knew or rea-
sonably should have known of such act or omission, except in 
those cases where the Grievant is out of the country or on an 
official leave of absence.  

(2) Informal Presentation of a Grievance:  
(a) The Grievant shall orally present a grievance to Grievant’s 

Supervisor. At the time of this presentation, the Grievant shall state 
that a grievance is being presented;  

(b) The Supervisor shall discuss the grievance with the 
Grievant and shall endeavor to obtain whatever additional informa-
tion may be necessary to take action on the grievance;  

(c) If the grievance involves a person other than the Grievant 
and the Supervisor, the Supervisor shall, if possible, arrange a 
meeting which includes the other person involved. If this meeting 
establishes a need for more information than has already been pre-
sented or secured, the Supervisor shall gather such information;  

(d) At this stage the persons involved shall make sincere and 
significant efforts to settle the grievance;  

(e) Within 10 days of the oral presentation of the grievance, 
the Supervisor shall orally notify the Grievant of the outcome and 
record the date of notification.  

(f) No grievance file shall be generated during the informal 
process. 

(3) Formal Written Presentation of a Grievance:  
(a) Step 1: Review.  
(A) If the Grievant is not satisfied with the informal decision 

of the Supervisor and desires to proceed further, the Grievant shall, 
within 10 days of being certified of the Supervisor’s decision, 
present the grievance in writing to the Supervisor.  

(B) Upon receipt, the Supervisor shall immediately create a 
grievance file into which all written materials concerning the 
grievance will be placed. The grievance file shall be available at 
any time to the Grievant;  

(C) The Supervisor shall schedule a meeting with the Grievant 
to attempt to resolve the matter. This meeting shall occur within 10 
days of the written presentation of the grievance. Either party may 
bring an observer to the meeting. The Supervisor may conduct fur-
ther meetings and inquiries as deemed necessary and proper;  

(D) The Supervisor shall conclude the review and notify in 
writing the Grievant of the decision on the grievance within 10 
days of the meeting.  

(b) Step 2: Vice President. 
(A) If the Grievant is not satisfied with the Supervisor’s deci-

sion and desires to proceed further the Grievant shall, within 10 
days of receipt of the Supervisor’s written decision, present the 
grievance in writing to the appropriate Vice President. Additionally, 
a request for a hearing by a committee of peers appointed by the 
Vice President from a list submitted by Administrative Support 
Council may be submitted;  

(B) The Vice President and Hearing Committee shall obtain 
the grievance file from the Supervisor and provide opportunity for 
the Grievant and Supervisor to submit any additional written state-
ments in connection with the grievance;  
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(C) Within 10 days of appointment of the Committee, the 
Hearing Committee shall meet and consider the grievance;  

(D) The Hearing Committee shall present its report, including 
recommendations, to the Vice President within 10 days after the 
conclusion of the hearing;  

(E) Procedure for the Conduct of Peer Hearings:  
(i) Hearings shall be open unless closed by request of the 

Grievant or requirement of law;  
(ii) During the hearing an opportunity shall be provided for 

the Grievant and the Supervisor to present brief opening and 
closing statements and for both parties to present evidence and tes-
timony and to call and cross-examine witnesses. Each party may 
present evidence, argument and rebuttal;  

(iii) The Grievant shall appear at the hearing and may be 
accompanied and assisted by other persons, including counsel;  

(iv) The administrator or administrators most directly involved 
shall appear at the hearing and may be accompanied and assisted 
by other persons, including counsel. The administration shall be 
represented at the hearing by the Vice President who may be 
accompanied and assisted by other persons, including counsel;  

(v) The chairperson of the Hearing Committee shall preside at 
such hearings and over the deliberations of the committee. The 
chairperson shall have authority to rule upon questions of admissi-
bility of evidence and exclude evidence which is irrelevant, 
untrustworthy, and unduly repetitious;  

(vi) If either party to the grievance alleges that evidence or 
testimony may not be given on account of prohibition of law or 
regulation, that party shall deliver to the committee a copy of the 
law or regulation. If the committee requests it, the party shall also 
provide any relevant Attorney General’s opinion or legal decision;  

(vii) Based only on the evidence presented at the hearing, the 
Hearing Committee shall describe the issues considered, make 
findings of fact and recommendations based on those findings in a 
written report to the Vice President;  

(viii) Dissenting opinions, if any, by members of the Hearing 
Committee shall be submitted with the report if so desired by the 
dissenting members;  

(ix) A recording and copies of all documents will be made 
accessible to all parties to the grievance.  

(F) Vice President’s Decision.  
(i) After reviewing the grievance and/or the Hearing Commit-

tee’s report and recommendations, the Vice President shall take 
action on the grievance;  

(ii) The Vice President shall make his/her decisions solely on 
the basis of evidence presented and the report of the committee.  

(iii) The Vice President shall provide written notice to all pre-
vious parties of the decision on the grievance within 10 days of 
receipt of the grievance, or if used, the report of the Hearing Com-
mittee.  

(c) Step 3: Review by President.  
(A) If the Grievant is not satisfied with the decision of the 

Vice President, the Grievant may, within 10 days of receipt of the 
Vice President’s decision, petition the President to review;  

(B) The President shall notify the Grievant in writing of the 
decision and of the reasons for the decision within 30 days of the 
presentation of the grievance for review. As part of the decision, 
the President may take such further action as deemed necessary 
and proper, including granting or denying relief, or remanding the 
grievance further proceedings.  

(C) The President’s decision is final. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351 
Hist.: OCE 1-1980, f. & ef. 4-15-80; WOSC 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 12-15-88; 
WOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-28-97; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

Complaint Procedure for Discrimination Complaints 

574-010-0075 
Purpose and General Explanation 

The following procedure is to be used in resolving complaints 
alleging discrimination on the basis of age, disability, marital 
status, national origin, race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation 

or veteran status. The complaint procedure is open to all employees, 
applicants and students except as collective bargaining agreements 
with the Service Employees International Union and the American 
Federation of Teachers take precedence reference Administrative 
Rules OAR 580-015-0090 et seq. For the purpose of this procedure, 
the following definitions shall be used.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.200 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1982, f. & ef. 2-11-82; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-010-0080 
Definitions 

(1) “University Representative:” The person who is alleged to 
be responsible for the policy, practice or act considered by the 
Complainant to be discriminatory, also referred to as the “respon-
dent.”  

(2) “Discrimination:” Any act or practice, either in form or 
operation, whether intended or unintended, that unreasonably dif-
ferentiates among persons on the basis of age, disability, marital 
status, national origin, race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation 
or veteran status. 

(3) “Complainant:” Person initiating a complaint.  
(4) “Sexual Harassment:” Any repeated or unwanted sexual 

remarks or behavior which one finds objectionable, or which inter-
feres with one’s work. Sexual harassment is considered as discrim-
ination on the basis of sex.  

(5) “Status:” Role of Complainant at the time of the alleged 
discriminatory act, i.e., student, employee, applicant, etc.  

(6) “Affirmative Action Officer:” The Director of Human 
Resources fills this role.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1982, f. & ef. 2-11-82; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-010-0085 
Procedure 

A complaint alleging discrimination in employment originating 
with a university employee not otherwise covered by a collective 
bargaining agreement, or by a job applicant or student, shall be 
processed as described below:  

(1) The Complainant is encouraged to attempt to resolve the 
complaint with the university representative responsible for the 
policy, practice or act considered discriminatory within five days 
of the allegedly discriminatory act. If no resolution is reached or a 
Complainant so chooses, a formal complaint of discrimination may 
be filed.  

(2) To file a formal complaint, the Complainant shall complete 
a complaint of discrimination form within 12 months after the 
alleged discriminatory act. The complaint may be submitted in 
writing, or given orally to the affirmative action officer who will 
convert it to written form. The Complainant shall have access to all 
relevant records which are not protected under state and/or federal 
law. The written complaint shall contain the following:  

(a) Complainant’s name, address, status, and telephone number 
where the Complainant may be contacted;  

(b) The date of the alleged act of discrimination and a detailed 
description;  

(c) An outline of the attempts to resolve the complaint, includ-
ing the name of the university representative responsible for the 
alleged discriminatory act and the date(s) of the attempts, if any, at 
resolution;  

(d) All information pertinent to the complaint;  
(e) Resolution proposed by the Complainant;  
(f) Complainant’s signature. 
(3) The affirmative action officer shall forward copies of the 

written complaint to all concerned including the named university 
representative, appropriate dean or director, the appropriate Vice 
President, and the Chancellor’s Office.  

(4) The affirmative action officer shall investigate the complaint 
and develop a recommended course of action. The affirmative 
action officer shall forward a recommendation to the appropriate 
dean or director, and vice president for a final decision on the 
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course of action to be taken. The President shall review all com-
plaints and action taken.  

(5) The final decision shall be given to the Complainant, in 
writing, by the affirmative action officer, within 30 days after 
receipt of the complaint by the affirmative action officer, unless 
additional time is granted by the Chancellor’s Office. The named 
university representative, the affirmative action officer, the appro-
priate Vice President and the Chancellor’s Office shall be notified 
of the final decision.  

(6) This procedure is compatible with the grievance procedure 
outlined in the State Board of Higher Education Administrative 
Rule OAR 580-015-0090 and it is understood that any procedure 
provided for in a collective bargaining agreement between the uni-
versity and represented employees takes precedence over the one 
outlined here.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1982, f. & ef. 2-11-82; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

DIVISION 20 

FACULTY RECORDS POLICY 

574-020-0001 
Faculty Records Policy 

Western Oregon University is required to set up a faculty 
records policy that is consistent with the laws of Oregon and the 
administrative rules of the Board of Higher Education.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOSC 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91; WOU 3-
2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03 

574-020-0005 
Definitions 

(1) “Personal Records” means records containing information 
kept by the institution, school, division, or department concerning 
a faculty member and furnished by the faculty member or by 
others, including, but not limited to, information as to discipline, 
counseling, membership activity, other behavioral records, profes-
sional preparation and experience, professional performance (e.g., 
assignment and workload, quality of teaching, research, and 
service to the institution), personnel data relating to such matters as 
promotions, tenure, leaves, retirement credits and the like, and pro-
fessional activities external to the institution, including, but not 
necessarily limited to, awards, recognition, research activities, 
travel. 

(2) For purpose of compliance with ORS 351.065, “Records 
of Academic Achievement” shall mean the record of credits earned 
toward a degree or in post-doctoral work and/or certificate(s), 
diploma(s), license(s) and degree(s) received.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77 

574-020-0010 
Confidential Information Not to Be Sought or Accepted 

The university will not accept letters, documents, or other 
materials, given orally or in written form, from individuals or 
groups who wish their identity kept anonymous or the information 
kept confidential.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03 

574-020-0015 
Information Not Required of Faculty Members 

No faculty member will be required to give, but may 
voluntarily provide, information as to age, disability, marital status, 
national origin, race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation or 
veteran status, except as the giving of such information may be 
required by state statute, federal law, or valid federal rules, regula-
tions, or orders.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOSC 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91; WOU 3-
2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-020-0020 
Locations and Custody of Faculty Records 

(1) The university will maintain faculty records only in the 
offices of:  

(a) The Provost;  
(b) College Dean;  
(c) The Division Chair of the faculty member (only these 

areas may have evaluation information).  
(2) The Human Resources Office will maintain records only 

necessary for payroll information.  
(3) The required custody of the files will be accomplished by 

assigning designated personnel the maintaining of confidentiality 
and security of the records:  

(a) Provost’s Office — Administrative Assistant to the 
Provost;  

(b) Dean’s — Administrative Assistant to the Dean;  
(c) Division Office — Administrative Assistant to the Division 

Head;  
(d) Human Resources Office — Human Resources Personnel.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOSC 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91; WOU 3-
2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 3-24-04 

574-020-0025 
Release and Access to Faculty Records 

(1) Appropriate information about the faculty member may be 
released upon request and without the faculty member’s consent. 
Such information shall be limited to the following: 

(a) Directory information, that is, information generally 
needed in identifying or locating a named faculty member including 
such information as is readily to be found in published documents 
such as institutional catalogs; 

(b) Objective evidence of a faculty member’s academic 
achievement, limited to information as to the number of credits 
earned toward a degree or in post-doctoral work, and certificate(s), 
diploma(s), license(s), and degree(s) received; 

(c) Salary information and the record of terms or conditions of 
employment; 

(d) Records tabulated from students’ classroom survey evalu-
ations, upon a finding by the President that privacy rights in an ade-
quate educational environment would not suffer by disclosure. 

(2) All information in the faculty member’s personal record 
file, apart from that identified in section (1) of this rule, shall be 
considered personal and subject to restricted access as set forth in 
OAR 580-042-0740 through 580-042-0775.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77  

574-020-0030 
Confidential Records — Restrictions on Release 

(1) Personal records designated as subject to restricted access 
in accordance with authority granted in ORS 351.065 shall be 
available only to institutional personnel, who are designated by the 
president as supervisor and who have a demonstrably legitimate 
need to review them in order to fulfill their official, professional 
responsibilities and to the faculty member who is the subject of the 
records as provided for in OAR 580-042-0746 through 580-042-
0765. These records may not be released to any other person or 
agency without the faculty member’s written consent, unless upon 
receipt of a valid subpoena or other court order or process or as 
required by state statute, federal law, or valid federal or state rules, 
regulations, or orders. 

(2) Institutional regulations shall provide for designation of 
institutional officials to appear in court to test the validity of a sub-
poena or other court order or process relating to release of faculty 
records when validity is in question.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
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Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77  

574-020-0035 
Access to Files by Faculty Members 

Faculty members shall be allowed full access to their own per-
sonal files and personal records kept by the institution, school, 
department, or division, except as provided in sections (1) and (2) 
of this rule: 

(1) Letters and other information submitted in confidence to 
the institution, school, department, or division prior to July 1, 
1975, shall be maintained in the evaluation files permitted by OAR 
580-042-0730. However, if a faculty member requests access to 
such letters and other information pertaining to the faculty member, 
the anonymity of the contributors of letters and other information 
obtained prior to July 1, 1975, shall be protected. The full text shall 
be made available to the faculty member except that those portions 
of the text which would serve to identify the contributor shall be 
excised by a faculty committee created pursuant to institutional 
rules. The excised portions of the documents thereafter in the con-
fidential file permitted by OAR 580-042-0730. 

(2) Confidential letters and other information received by the 
institution, school, department, or division after July 1, 1975, prior 
to the employment of a faculty member, shall be placed in the eval-
uation files relating to the faculty member. If the applicant is not 
employed, the confidential information submitted concerning the 
applicant shall remain confidential. If an applicant who is employed 
requests access to his or her files, the anonymity of the contributors 
of confidential pre-employment letters and other pre-employment 
information shall be protected. The full text shall be made 
available, except that those portions of the text which would serve 
to identify the contributor shall be excised and may be retained 
thereafter in the confidential file permitted by OAR 580-042-0730. 

(3) Any evaluation received by telephone shall be documented 
in each of the faculty member’s evaluation files by means of a 
written summary of the conversation with the names of the conver-
sants identified. 

(4)(a) If the institution, school, department, or division solicits 
or accepts student survey evaluations of the classroom or laboratory 
performance of a faculty member, such survey evaluations shall be 
conducted anonymously. The reports tabulated from student evalu-
ations may be placed in the evaluation files defined in OAR 580-
042-0730. Survey instruments from which evaluation data are 
obtained shall be delivered to the faculty member. No other evalu-
ative material shall be accepted from students unless the students 
are first clearly informed that the faculty member will have access 
to such material and that the anonymity of the student cannot be 
preserved; 

(b) Should the faculty member request it, an appropriate 
faculty committee, as defined in institutional regulations, shall 
examine the contents of the faculty member’s file to verify that all 
statements therein have been provided. If not, the committee shall 
require that the information be made available; 

(c) Should the faculty member request it, the faculty committee 
shall examine the contents of the confidential file to verify that it 
contains only those excised portions provided in OAR 580-042-
0746. The committee shall have the authority to require that any 
other material be removed from the confidential file. 

(5) A copy of the periodic, regular written evaluation of the 
faculty member containing or having attached to it a statement to 
the effect that the faculty member may discuss the evaluative state-
ment with the evaluating administrator, shall be given the faculty 
member. A copy of the evaluative statement, signed by the faculty 
member signifying receipt of a copy thereof, shall be placed in the 
faculty member’s evaluation file. The faculty member may enter 
into the evaluation file such comments, explanations, or rebuttals 
as desired. There shall be attached to each copy of the evaluative 
statement retained by the institution, school, division, or department 
a copy of such comments, explanations, or rebuttals as the faculty 
member shall make in relation thereto.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77  

574-020-0040 
Retention of Evaluative Materials Concerning Candidates for 
Possible Employment 

(1) It is expected that the evaluative materials brought 
together by the institution as it evaluates an individual’s qualifica-
tions in connection with possible employment will, if the individual 
is not employed, be retained for such period of time as may be nec-
essary to respond to affirmative action investigations and investi-
gations of any claimed violation of the civil rights of any person in 
connection with employment. Thereafter, they will be disposed of 
by a manner as to protect their confidentiality, in accordance with 
the rules of the State Archivist. 

(2) When federal rules or orders require certain personal 
records to be compiled before the employment of a faculty member 
and retained thereafter, such records pertaining to persons not 
employed which have been obtained with the promise of confiden-
tiality will be closed to all persons except as required by such 
federal rules or orders.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77  

574-020-0045 
Availability to Faculty Members of Objective Information 
Concerning Categories of Staff 

Institutional regulations shall establish procedures through 
which the faculty member who feels adversely affected by the 
institutional, school, divisional, or departmental personnel action 
or lack thereof may request from designated institutional officials 
objective or quantitative information contained in files, which are 
limited as to access, concerning the personnel actions affecting cat-
egories of faculty members, where such actions appear to have rel-
evance to the case of the faculty member making the request for 
information. Such information may include, but need not be 
limited to: assignment, load, list of publications. It shall not include 
any evaluative statements concerning faculty members.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77  

574-020-0050 
Availability of Faculty Records for Research Purposes 

The need for educational institutions to make available infor-
mation about the faculty member for research purposes shall be 
acknowledged and provided for, contingent upon the institution’s 
having adequate provisions to conceal the identity of the faculty 
member whose personal data or information are being included in 
the research. If the regulations protecting the confidentiality of fac-
ulty records would seem to be jeopardized in any way by the 
release of the information for research purposes, institutional regu-
lations shall provide that the institution is to obtain the written con-
sent of the 
faculty member prior to releasing personal information for research 
purposes.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOSC 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91 

574-020-0055 
Permanence, Duplication, and Disposal of Faculty Records  

(1) The individual faculty member’s record shall be maintained 
only for the minimum period of time required to serve the basic 
official functions of the office which generates and maintains it. It  
should then be disposed of in a manner such as to protect its confi-
dentiality. 

(2) The permanent retention of faculty records shall be limited 
to those which the institutional executive or the State Archivist 
shall determine to be of long-range value to the individual faculty 
member, to the institution, or to the public. ORS 351.065 provides 
that access to personal records more than 25 years old may not be  
limited. 

(3) Duplication of faculty records shall be kept to a minimum. 
Such duplicated records as are made shall be destroyed at a time to 
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be determined and set forth in institutional regulations and in such 
manner as to protect their confidentiality in accordance with the 
rules of the State Archivist, or with the Archivist’s approval.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, 351.070 & OAR 580-022 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77  

DIVISION 31 

CODE OF STUDENT RESPONSIBILITY 

574-031-0000 
Introduction 

(1) Western Oregon University has a fundamental interest in 
the education and conduct of its Students. The academic, social, 
and personal development of a Student through the Student’s Uni-
versity experience involves a fusion of the learning process with 
the development of a coherent and consistent system of ethics, as 
well as adherence to standards of behavior created and accepted by 
the University community.  

(2) All Members of the University community have a respon-
sibility to maintain a level of behavior that reflects favorably upon 
the person and the University. The University requires that all Stu-
dents be responsible for their own conduct. The University expects 
Students who live on and off Campus to abide by local, state, and 
federal laws as well as University policies, procedures, and regula-
tions, including this Code.  

(3) The Code will be applied impartially and without regard to 
age, disability, ethnic background, gender, race, religious or 
political affiliation, sexual or gender orientation. 

(4) The application of the standards within this Code applies 
to individuals, clubs, educational activity groups, other student 
groups, and any individual student who is registered for one or 
more credit hours, including on-line courses, is enrolled in a 
special non-credit program approved by the University, or who has 
been accepted for admission, housing, financial aid, or any other 
service or benefit provided by the University which requires 
student status.  

(5) This Code was adopted on September 1, 2012, became 
effective September 1, 2012 and supersedes all other previous con-
duct codes.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0046; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-
01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-09; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-031-0010 
Definitions 

As used in OAR chapter 574, divisions 31 and 32, the 
following terms have the following definitions. 

(1) The term “Adjudication” or “Adjudicated” or “Adjudica-
tive” means a method of resolving allegations of Student misconduct 
which employs a fact-finding, impartial adjudicator to render a 
binding decision in the matter.  

(2) The terms “Administration or Staff Person” mean any per-
son who holds a current non-academic appointment or classified 
position at the University.  

(3) The term “Advisor” means any person who has elected to 
advise a Charged Student, Witness, or a Complainant within a stu-
dent conduct hearing.  

(4) The term “Appeals Body” means any person or group 
charged with hearing appeals through this Code (e.g., the Vice 
President for Student Affairs).  

(5) The term “Business Visitor” means any person on the Uni-
versity’s property who has a legitimate interest or focus of business 
with the University, and who is not a Member of the University 
Community.  

(6) The term “Campus” means any property owned, used or 
controlled by the University.  

(7) The term “Charged Student” means any Student charged 
with a violation of this Code.  

(8) The term “Code” means this Code of Student Responsibility.  
(9) The term “Committee” means the University Student Con-

duct Committee.  
(10) The term “Complainant” means any person whether a 

Member of the University Community or not, who has filed a com-
plaint of alleged misconduct with Public Safety or with the 
Campus Student Conduct Program concerning a Student.  

(11) The term “Dean of Students” means the person designated 
by the Vice President for Student Affairs as the administrator of the 
University’s Campus Student Conduct Program.  

(12) The term “Disputant” means any person who uses Medi-
ation within the Campus Student Conduct Program to resolve a 
conflict with another party or parties.  

(13) The term “Faculty” means any person who holds a 
current academic appointment at the University.  

(14) The term “Mediation” means a method of dispute resolu-
tion in which Disputants utilize an impartial third party to assist the 
Disputants to mutually resolve their conflict. Mediation is not 
available for allegations involving sexual harassment or misconduct.  

(15) The term “Member of the University Community” means 
any Student, Faculty, Administration or Staff Person at the Univer-
sity.  

(16) The term “Office of Student Conduct” means the office 
that administers the University Student Conduct System and 
includes the Dean of Students, Student Conduct Coordinator, 
Student Conduct Assistant and other designees. 

(17) The term “Preponderance of the Evidence” means that 
based on the information that is presented, the Charged Student has 
more likely than not, engaged in the charged misconduct.  

(18) The term “Recognized Student Organization” means a 
club, educational activity group or other Student group that has 
complied with the requirements for University recognition. 

(19) The term “Staff” means any person who holds a classified 
or unclassified appointment at the University. 

(20) The term “Student” means a person who is enrolled at 
Western Oregon University or any person meeting the description 
in 574-031-0000(4).  

(21) The term “Student in Violation” means any Student 
found to be in violation of the Code through the Campus Student 
Conduct Program.  

(22) The term “Survivor” means any person not charged with 
a violation of the Code who reports being sexually violated or 
harassed by a Student. 

(23) The term “University” means Western Oregon University, 
WOU, or any part or division within Western Oregon University. 

(24) The term “University Sponsored On- or Off-Campus 
Event” means any event in which at least one of the following 
applies:  

(a) The University plans the event;  
(b) The University pays all, or a part of, the cost of the event;  
(c) The University sponsors the event;  
(d) The University contributes any type of University owned 

or leased resources or equipment to the event;  
(e) A University Student, Faculty, or Administrative or Staff 

person represents the University at the event;  
(f) The event occurs within a University owned or leased 

property, or upon or within University owned or leased property, 
including any type of state vehicle; or  

(g) The event occurs during the time frame specified on an 
approved sponsorship form (i.e. registration of event form, travel 
form, etc). 

(25) The term “Victim” means any person not charged with a 
violation of the Code who has been harmed by the behavior of a 
Student in Violation. When referring to situations in which a 
Charged Student has not been found in violation of the Code, this 
person is referred to as an alleged Victim.  

(26) The term “Visitor/Guest” means a non-student or person 
not affiliated in any official way with Western Oregon University. 
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(27) The term “Witness” means any person who has informa-
tion which pertains to a case of alleged Student misconduct. 

(28) The term “Working Day” means a day that the University 
is in session. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 
8-31-01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-031-0020 
Jurisdiction 

(1) The regulations contained in the Code will apply to all 
matters affecting the University, including, but not limited to, 
events occurring during the time the University is in session, 
events occurring between academic terms, at University Sponsored 
On- and Off-Campus Events, and any illegal behavior on or off the 
Campus by WOU Students. Misconduct by non-students (Business 
Visitors, Visitors/Guests) whether on-Campus or at a University 
Sponsored On- or Off Campus Event may result in a trespass from 
Campus or any future WOU event. 

(2) Allegations of Student misconduct may be Adjudicated 
within the University’s administrative Campus Student Conduct 
Program as well as within any off-campus criminal justice system 
regardless of whether the alleged behavior occurred on- or off-
Campus. Adjudication of allegations of Student misconduct will 
occur expediently and sometimes before or concurrently with adju-
dication within an off-campus system of justice. Determinations 
made or sanctions imposed under this Code shall not be subject to 
change because criminal charges arising out of the same facts 
giving rise to violation of University rules were dismissed, reduced, 
or resolved in favor of or against the criminal law defendant. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0047; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-
01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-031-0030 
Specific Standards and Policies 

The following list of prohibited forms of conduct is not all 
inclusive since it is not possible to list all potential violations. The 
University requires that all Students behave in a manner congruent 
with established community standards and in a manner conducive 
to the development of the individual. Actions detrimental to the 
mission of the University and the legitimate activities of the aca-
demic community which constitute the University are in violation 
of this Code and may be subject to Adjudication.Adjudication may 
be initiated by the University and educational or punitive sanctions 
may be assigned to any Student or Recognized Student Organization 
found participating in, attempting to participate in, or assisting 
others in participating in any of the following prohibited forms of 
conduct:  

(1) Academic Misconduct. Acts of academic misconduct 
which includes but is not limited to:  

(a) Cheating — intentional use, or attempted use of artifice, 
deception, fraud, or misrepresentation in completing, submitting, 
or recording one’s academic work; 

(b) Fabrication — unauthorized falsification or invention of 
any information or citation in any academic exercise;  

(c) Facilitating dishonesty — helping or attempting to help 
another person commit an act of academic misconduct. This 
includes Students who substitute for other persons in examinations, 
fake other person’s attendance, or allow another person to copy 
work or represent as the Student’s own papers, reports, or any other 
academic work the work of others;  

(d) Plagiarism — representing without giving credit the 
words, data, or ideas of another person as one’s own work in any 
academic exercise. This includes submitting, in whole or in part, 
prewritten term papers of another or the research of another, 
including but not limited to the product of commercial vendors 
who sell or distribute such materials, and the appropriation or use 

of electronic data of another person or persons as one’s own, or 
using such data without giving proper credit for it; 

(e) Any use or attempted use of electronic devices in gaining 
an illegal advantage in academic work in which the use of these 
devices is prohibited. Such devices include but are not limited to 
cell phones, smart phones, Personal Digital Assistants, electronic 
tablets, laptops, programmable calculators, USB flash drives or 
other removable memory devices, etc.; or  

(f) Engaging in any behavior specifically prohibited by a Fac-
ulty or Staff member in the course syllabus or class discussion. 

(2) Alcohol. 
(a) Possession, consumption, distribution, or sale of alcoholic 

beverages on University owned or controlled property with the 
exception of approved events that follow the President’s policy on 
use of alcohol at WOU functions.  

(b) Possession, consumption, sale, or distribution of alcoholic 
beverages during the official portion of a University Sponsored 
On- or Off-Campus Event as defined by the Faculty or Staff advi-
sor. 

(3) Computer/Network Resources Misuse. Use of Campus 
computers or network resources that includes, but is not limited to:  

(a) Unauthorized access to programs;  
(b) Alteration of computer records or data;  
(c) Theft or other abuse of computer time or overloading com-

puting resources;  
(d) Violation of copyright laws;  
(e) Using a computer account not issued directly to the 

Student;  
(f) Sending or posting threatening or harassing statements as 

described in 574-031-003-08;  
(g) Any violation of the Acceptable Use of Computing 

Resources Policy; or 
(h) Unauthorized transfer of a file. 
(4) Controlled Substances. 
(a) Possession, consumption, manufacture, distribution, or 

sale of illegal drugs or any other controlled substance on- or off- 
University owned or controlled property.  

(b) Possession, consumption, sale, or distribution of illegal 
drugs during the official portion of a University Sponsored On- or 
Off-Campus Event as defined by the Faculty or Staff advisor.  

(5) Disorderly Conduct. 
(a) Disorderly, lewd, indecent, or any other form of conduct 

which interferes with but is not limited to:  
(A) The academic program of the University;  
(B) The health and safety of self or others;  
(C) The security of University owned or controlled property;  
(D) The conduct of non-classroom activities (e.g. lectures, 

concerts, athletic events, and social functions);  
(E) The functions of the University; or  
(F) Any other University activity or University sponsored 

activity or event. 
(b) Unreasonable noise or conduct that results in unreasonable 

annoyance (i.e. yelling while walking through Campus or a com-
munity neighborhood at 2am). 

(c) Any unauthorized use of electronics or other devices to 
make an audio or video record of any person while on the Campus 
without the person’s prior knowledge or without the person’s effec-
tive consent when the recording is likely to cause injury or distress. 

(6) Failure to Comply. 
(a) Refusal to comply with a reasonable request of law 

enforcement or other authorities.  
(b) Refusal while on University owned or controlled property, 

or at University Sponsored On- or Off-Campus Events, to comply 
with reasonable requests or directions from authorized University 
officials, including public safety officers, residence hall staff, 
Faculty, Administration or Staff person.  

(7) Fire and Life Safety. 
(a) Tampering with fire safety equipment, generating a false 

alarm, or engaging in behavior that constitutes a fire or safety  
hazard.  
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(b) Failure to evacuate a University building after a fire alarm 
has sounded or other notice to evacuate has been given by a person 
authorized to give such notice.  

(8) Harassment, Discrimination, Bullying or Stalking Behavior. 
Harassment, which includes but is not limited to:  

(a) Physical contact with or physical interference with a 
person which: 

(A) Is objectively offensive; 
(B) Causes pain; 
(C) Prevents or disrupts the person from any lawful chosen 

activity; 
(D) Puts the person in fear for safety; or 
(E) Causes damage to person or property. 
(b) Conduct without physical contact or physical interference 

with a person, including but not limited to harassing, bullying or 
threatening behavior, including verbal communication, which is 
intended to and has the effect of: 

(A) Substantially disrupting another person’s lawful activity; 
(B) Causing another person to be subject to unwelcome or 

offensive physical contact; 
(C) Causing personal injury or property damage or risk of per-

sonal injury or property damage; 
(D) Causing another person to be subject to unwelcome and 

objectively unreasonable interference with mental and emotional 
health;  

(E) Putting the person in fear for safety; or 
(F) Harassing or bullying another person based on their actual 

or perceived race, color, national origin, sex, disability, sexual ori-
entation, gender identity, or religion. 

(c) Repeatedly contacting another person when:  
(A) The contacting person knows or should know that the 

contact is unwanted by the contacted person; and  
(B) The contact causes the contacted person reasonable appre-

hension of imminent physical harm or the contacting person knows 
or should know that the contact causes the contacted person mental 
anguish or distress or substantial impairment of the contacted per-
son’s ability to perform the activities of daily life. As used in this 
context, “contacting” includes but is not limited to communicating 
with or remaining in the physical presence of the contacted person. 

(d) Stalking another person which includes but is not limited 
to: 

(A) Following or lying in wait for the Victim, the Victim’s rel-
atives, friends or pets; 

(B) Repeated unwanted, intrusive and frightening contact 
from the perpetrator by phone, mail, electronically or otherwise; 

(C) Damaging the Victim’s property; 
(D) Making indirect or direct threats to harm the Victim, the 

Victim’s relatives, friends or pets; 
(E) Repeatedly sending the Victim unwanted gifts; 
(F) Harassment through the internet, known as “cyberstalking,” 

“online stalking,” or “internet stalking”; or  
(G) Securing and accumulating personal information about 

the Victim by accessing public records, using internet search 
devices, hiring private investigators, contacting friends, family, 
work, or neighbors, going through the Victim’s garbage, etc. It is a 
defense to any charge of harassment if the alleged harassing 
conduct is not objectively unreasonable.  

(9) Hazing. Hazing is defined as any initiation rite for the pur-
pose of admission into, affiliation with, or as a condition for con-
tinued membership in a group or organization. The act of hazing, 
whether on- or off- Campus, involves any intentional action or sit-
uation that a reasonable person would foresee as causing mental or 
physical discomfort, embarrassment, or ridicule; or which destroys 
or removes public or private property. Activities and situations that 
may occur as part of hazing include, but are not limited to: 

(a) Physical abuse, pain, harm, or risk; 
(b) Mental anguish, fear or anxiety; 
(c) Required performance of activities (e.g., pranks, servitude, 

physical contests); 
(d) Compelled ingestion of any substance; 
(e) Any form of confinement or restraint; or 

(f) Other activities which violate federal, state or local laws. It 
is not a defense to a charge of hazing if the Victim(s) of the hazing 
acknowledges or implies consent, or acquiesces to the hazing. 

(10) Inciting or Provoking Others. 
(a) Inciting others to engage in any University prohibited 

forms of conduct. Inciting means the advocacy of proscribed 
conduct which calls upon the person or persons addressed for 
imminent actions, and is coupled with a reasonable apprehension 
of imminent danger to the functions and purposes of the University, 
including the safety of its Students, Faculty, Administration or 
Staff Person, and the protection of its property.  

(b) Specifically insulting another person in that person’s 
immediate presence with abusive words or gestures in a manner 
intended and likely to provoke a disorderly or violent response, 
whether or not it actually does.  

(11) Interference or Contempt of Adjudicative Proceedings. 
Includes but is not limited to:  

(a) Conduct that interrupts the due course of proceedings in 
the presence of any hearing body created under this Code;  

(b) Violating the confidentiality of Adjudication proceedings 
administered under this Code;  

(c) Knowingly giving false information at a hearing or know-
ingly giving false information in a statement to be used as evidence 
at a hearing, or knowingly giving false information to a Campus 
hearing officer;  

(d) Failure by a Witness to appear at a conduct hearing when 
requested to do so by a representative of the Campus Student Con-
duct Program;  

(e) Knowingly and falsely initiating the Adjudication process, 
for instance, by filing a false complaint or report;  

(f) Influencing or attempting to influence the impartiality of a 
member of a Campus Student Conduct hearing committee or a 
hearing officer or a Witness;  

(g) Harassment of a member of a Campus Student Conduct 
hearing committee or hearing officer prior to, during, or after an 
Adjudication; or  

(h) Failure to comply with the terms of any sanction imposed 
in accordance with the Code or mandated by the University 
Housing Student Conduct Board.  

(12) Misrepresentation of Matters of Fact. 
(a) Knowingly furnishing false information to an authorized 

University official who is making an inquiry to carry out official 
University business;  

(b) Representing oneself as another person, including a Uni-
versity official, with or without that person’s permission to gain a 
benefit improperly;  

(c) Altering, forging, improperly possessing, creating, dis-
tributing, or lending to another person a University identification 
card or instrument of identification unless authorized by the Uni-
versity or an authorized University official;  

(d) Intentionally furnishing false academic information or 
concealing previous academic information in University application 
materials, assisting someone else in furnishing false information to 
the University, or using University documents for fraudulent pur-
poses;  

(e) Providing forged, false or improper documents to the Uni-
versity; or 

(f) Recognized Student Organizations representing themselves 
or an individual in the group representing themselves as acting for 
or on behalf of the University in any commercial enterprise or in 
the solicitation or collection of funds for any purpose whatsoever 
without approval in advance by the appropriate University official 
or agency. This applies to all means of communication (e.g., 
verbal, written, electronic).  

(13) Obstruction, Disruption or Interference. 
(a) Obstruction or disruption of teaching, research, adminis-

tration, Adjudication procedures, or other University activities, 
including the University’s public service functions, other authorized 
activities, or University Sponsored On- or Off-Campus Events.  

(b) Disruption of Campus activities or the functions of the  
University. 
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(c) Obstruction or disruption which interferes with the freedom 
of movement, either pedestrian or vehicular, on University owned 
or controlled property.  

(14) Publications and Media. Publication, posting, or distribu-
tion on University property, or at authorized University activities, 
of material that violates copyright laws, postal regulations, Univer-
sity policies or rules, or any other law or statute.  

(15) Sexual Misconduct. 
(a) Sexual Misconduct is non-consensual sexual contact of 

any kind, the attempt to have non-consensual sexual contact or the 
threat of such contact. Sexual contact shall be considered non-con-
sensual if no clear consent is freely given. 

(A) Sexual contact includes but is not limited to touching of 
the genitalia, anus, buttocks, breast 

or mouth, as well as, any contact for the purpose of sexual 
gratification.  

(B) Sexual behavior includes but is not limited to any action, 
short of sexual contact, done for the purposes of sexual gratification, 
and may include but is not limited to voyeurism, exposing, mastur-
bation, frottage, and audio/video recording.  

(C) Force includes but is not limited to physical force, 
violence, abuse, threat of force (direct or implied), intimidation, 
extortion, harassment, coercion, fraud, duress or pressure.  

(D) Sexual exploitation occurs when a person takes non-con-
sensual, unjust or abusive advantage of another in a sexual or inti-
mate context, for their own advantage or benefit, or to the benefit 
or advantage of anyone other than the one being exploited, and that 
behavior does not otherwise constitute non-consensual sexual mis-
conduct. Sexual exploitation includes permitting or facilitating 
non-consensual viewing, taking of photographs, videotaping, or 
audio taping of sexual or intimate activity, knowingly infecting 
another person with HIV or any sexually transmitted infection, 
inducing incapacitation of another person with the intent to 
facilitate sexual misconduct against that person, or compelling 
prostitution.  

(b) Sexual Harassment, whether or not it be by direct physical 
attack as defined below. Sexual harassment includes, but is not lim-
ited to, sexual advances, requests or suggestions to engage in 
sexual conduct, and other physical and expressive behavior of a 
sexual nature when:  

(A) Submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or 
implicitly a term or condition of an individual’s employment or 
education; 

(B) Submission to or rejection of such conduct by an 
individual is used as the basis for academic or employment 
decisions affecting the individual; or  

(C) Such conduct has the purpose or effect of substantially 
interfering with an individual’s academic or professional perfor-
mance or creates an intimidating or hostile employment, educational, 
or living environment.  

(c) The following definitions will apply to sexual misconduct: 
(A) Non-consensual is the absence of shared sexual permission 

Shared sexual permission is clear, voluntary, non-coerced and 
clearly indicates a willingness to participate in sexual contact/behav-
ior, whether through affirmative verbal response or non-verbal 
communication unmistakable in meaning and given by an adult 
(age 18 or older). Shared sexual permission to one form of sexual 
contact/behavior does not operate as permission to any other form 
of sexual contact/behavior or reoccurrence of the same form of 
sexual contact/behavior. 

(B) Incapacitation is a mental or physical condition that 
renders a person unable to grant consent. Incapacitation may be a 
state or condition resulting from the use of alcohol or other drugs, 
lack of sleep, sleep, and unconsciousness. Incapacitation may also 
be the result of a cognitive impairment, such as a developmental 
disability, brain injury, or mental illness.  

(16) Threatening or Abusive Behavior. 
(a) Detention of any person. 
(b) Conduct which threatens imminent bodily harm or endan-

gers the physical or emotional health of any person or oneself. 
(c) Physical or emotional abuse of any person.  

(17) Vandalism/Theft/Unauthorized Use of Property. 
(a) Malicious damage, misuse, or theft of University property, 

or the property of any person where such property is located on 
University owned or controlled property, or, regardless of location, 
is in the care, custody or control of the University.  

(b) Theft of property or services, or knowingly possessing or 
using stolen property or services including, but not limited to, fur-
niture, equipment, University publications or any other form of 
media, and any other University owned property or services. 

(c) Unauthorized entry to or use of University facilities, 
including buildings and grounds (including, but not limited to, non-
residential Students gaining access to overnight accommodations 
in University Housing without permission; Students accessing the 
Health and Wellness Center without proper identification or pay-
ment, etc). 

(d) Failure by a person causing accidental damage to or 
removal of property to report to appropriate University Staff or the 
individual owner within a reasonable period of time following the 
accidental damage to or removal of University or personal proper-
ty. 

(18) Violation of Policies, Standards and Laws. 
(a) Violation of published University policies, rules, or regu-

lations.  
(b) Violation of residence hall rules and procedures as listed in 

official residence hall publications. 
(c) Violation of Oregon University System Higher Education 

policies. 
(d) Violation of federal, state, or local law. 
(e) Violation of motor vehicle rules and regulations, or other 

policies adopted by the University or the State Board of Higher 
Education pertaining to the use of motor vehicles.  

(19) Dangerous Weapons and Destructive Chemical or Incen-
diary Devices. Possession or use of fireworks, explosives, dangerous 
chemicals, or other weapons or dangerous instruments on University 
owned or controlled property. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0048; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-
01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-09; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-031-0040 
Sanctions 

The following order of sanctions implies neither degree of 
severity nor appropriateness of the sanction to the number of viola-
tions. Multiple sanctions may be assigned. Students will be respon-
sible for any applicable costs for carrying out sanctions. The sanc-
tions that may be assigned include, but are not limited to:  

(1) Alcohol/Drug Assessments: A Student may be assigned to 
complete an alcohol or drug evaluation and to follow the recom-
mendations of the alcohol/drug counselor for treatment or education.  

(2) Community Service: The Student or Recognized Student 
Organization must perform a designated number of hours in ser-
vice. 

(3) Counseling: A Student may be assigned to participate in a 
counseling intake session and to follow the recommendations of 
the intake counselor for further counseling sessions.  

(4) Deferred Sanction: The execution of any sanction authorized 
under this Code may be deferred. When deferring a sanction the 
following will apply:  

(a) Assignment of a time limit for the deferred period;  
(b) Notice given that subsequent violations of the Code or 

failure to comply with an existing sanction will terminate the defer-
ment and result in automatic imposition of the original sanction. In 
the absence of such violation(s), the original sanction will be 
deemed completed at the end of the deferred period;  

(c) The Dean of Students, Student Conduct Coordinator or 
other hearing officer will hear allegations of a Student’s misconduct 
during the period of the Student’s deferred sanction within five 
Working Days after receipt of the allegations of the Student’s mis-
conduct. The original sanction will take effect at the time the Dean 
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of Students, Student Conduct Coordinator or other hearing officer 
receives notice of the allegations pending this hearing. The Dean of 
Students, Student Conduct Coordinator or other hearing officer 
may render a decision in the absence of the Charged Student. The 
original sanction will remain in effect unless the allegations are not 
upheld; and 

(d) A Student found in violation of the Code during the Stu-
dent’s period of a deferred sanction may appeal the finding through 
this Code’s normal appeal process. The sanction will remain in 
effect until resolution of the appeal.  

(5) Degree Revocation: The University may revoke a degree 
if a former Student is found to have engaged in academic 
dishonesty in courses taken leading to the degree, or if the Student 
is found to have engaged in actions that if known at the time the 
degree was awarded would have made the Student unqualified for 
the degree.  

(6) Disciplinary Probation: The Student or Recognized Student 
Organization is placed on a probationary status, with or without 
loss of designated privileges, which may include the following: 
restriction on an individual’s participation in co-curricular activities, 
receiving recognition through awards, and eligibility for scholar-
ships. Probation is a serious warning. Probation occurs for a 
specific period of time or prior to completion of certain specific 
activities. Violation of probation can result in more severe sanctions 
for future violations of the Code. 

(7) Expulsion: The Student or Student Organization is perma-
nently excluded from the University and may not enjoy academic 
privileges, participate in any University recognized function, or be 
allowed to reside in any University residence hall or building.  

(8) Interim Sanction for Emergency Reasons: The Vice Presi-
dent for Student Affairs, the Dean of Students, Student Conduct 
Coordinator, or their designee can invoke an interim, pre-hearing 
sanction when it is deemed necessary for the health or safety of the 
Student, other Students, or University Administration or Staff or 
Faculty. In such instances where a Student is assigned an interim 
sanction, the Student will receive a hearing within ten Working 
Days. Only when it is not possible to schedule necessary Witnesses 
or obtain information significant to the case will the hearing be 
held more than ten Working Days after assignment of the interim 
sanction. Interim sanctions include but are not limited to the fol-
lowing:  

(a) Expulsion;  
(b) Suspension;  
(c) No Contact Order;  
(d) Removal from Residence Halls; or  
(e) Holding Records.  
(9) Loss of Privileges: The Student or Recognized Student 

Organization is denied specific privileges normally associated with 
Student or group status, such as participation in recognized 
activities, recognition by the University, use of University facilities 
or services, or living in University owned student residences.  

(10) Mediation: When charges of theft, vandalism, harassment, 
assault, or other harmful treatment are upheld through the Adjudi-
cation process, the Student may be assigned to participate in Medi-
ation with the Victim. Mediation is not provided as an option for 
allegations involving sexual misconduct or sexual harassment.  

(11) Negative Notation on Transcript: There may be an entry 
of information onto the Student’s permanent academic record 
regarding the Student’s violation of the Code. The entry may be 
permanent or for a specific period and must be noted as such on the 
transcript. After the expiration of the period of time specified, the 
notation will be removed upon written request by the Student to the 
Office of Student Conduct. 

(12) No Contact Order: The Student may not knowingly 
interact with another Student or Member of the University Com-
munity specified by the sanctioning person or body. The restriction 
prohibits the restrained Student from purposefully interacting with 
the protected person, over the phone, over any electronic source 
(including email, text messaging, social networks or any other 
electronic source), in person, and through the mail. Unless specifi-
cally stated otherwise in the sanction, the restriction does not 

prohibit the restrained Student from unintentionally, or out of 
necessity, being in the same building or vicinity as the protected 
Student (e.g., eating in the Dining Hall, attending the same class). 
The sanctioning person or body will determine the time limit for 
this sanction.  

(13) Placement of Judicial Hold on Student account: A 
Judicial Hold prohibits the Student from registering for classes, 
sending and receiving transcripts and conducting most forms of 
business with the University. Holds are intended to be used with a 
time limit determined by the Dean of Students, Student Conduct 
Coordinator, or other designee except in the case of expulsion 
when the Judicial Hold will be placed with no date of termination.  

(14) Restitution: The Student or Recognized Student Organi-
zation must replace, restore, or pay for damaged, stolen, or misap-
propriated property.  

(15) Revocation of Admission to the University: The University 
may revoke admission to the University if a Student is found to 
have provided false or deceptive information on an admission 
application or other materials for admission (e.g. transcript from 
another university).  

(16) Suspension: The Student or Student Organization is 
excluded from the University for a specific period and during that 
period may not enjoy academic privileges, participate in any Uni-
versity recognized function or group, or be allowed to reside in any 
University residence hall or building. If it is a Student Organization, 
the group may not function as a recognized group for a specific 
period of time that can include conditions that must be met prior to 
reinstatement. 

(17) Suspension of Student Status for Medical or Mental 
Health Reasons Pending Hearing Procedures: When evidence is 
received from an appropriate health professional which indicates 
that a Student has a medical or mental health condition which 
creates a serious and imminent threat to a Member of the University 
Community, to the Student, or to the educational processes of the 
University, the Vice President for Student Affairs will review that 
evidence and may suspend the Student immediately pending a 
hearing. The hearing must occur within two-three Working Days. 
The Student may be required to submit to psychological or 
physical assessment and to authorize release of such records to the 
Vice President for Student Affairs or other appropriate University 
officials in order to be re-enrolled in the University.  

(18) Warning: The Student or Recognized Student Organization 
is given written or verbal warning that the behavior violated 
specified University regulations or policies and is advised that 
further violations may result in the assigning of more severe sanc-
tions.  

(19) Other Sanctions as assigned that are deemed appropriate 
to the educational/developmental nature of this Code and the Stu-
dent(s) involved. Failure by a Student to complete the sanctions 
imposed can result in further Adjudication and sanctions being 
assigned to the Student. Appeals of sanctions can be made through 
the appeal process (see OAR 574-032-0120).  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0049; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-
01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-09; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

DIVISION 32 

STUDENT CONDUCT STRUCTURE 

574-032-0000 
Introduction 

(1) Western Oregon University’s Campus Student Conduct 
Program holds the education of the Student at its philosophical 
heart. This educational philosophy defines a structure for the 
Student Conduct Program which gives the Charged Student choices 
for resolving allegations of misconduct.  
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(2) The current hearing structure includes three options which 
vary in their degree of formality and philosophy. In order from 
least to most formal, they are: Hearing with Mediators, Hearing 
with the Dean of Students, Student Conduct Coordinator or 
designee, and Hearing with the Committee.  

(3) The Charged Student first meets with the Dean of 
Students, Student Conduct Coordinator or designee, who in turn 
helps direct the Student to the proper arena for resolution of the 
allegation(s). The Charged Student always has the right to request 
that the hearing be held with a different party within the system. 
The party (individual or group) which hears the allegation(s) will 
dictate the formality of the proceedings, and all types of hearings, 
except for Mediation, will have equal jurisdiction and ability to 
assign sanctions.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 
8-31-01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0010 
Student Conduct Personnel 

(1) Upon the recommendation of the Dean of Students, the 
Vice President for Student Affairs approves the members of the 
Committee which consist of no fewer than three Faculty members, 
three professional unclassified Staff members, and no fewer than 
six Student members. The Faculty and Staff members will serve for 
three years on a rotational basis so two experienced members of 
each classification serve each year. Term of membership may be 
extended for Faculty and Staff members at the discretion of the 
Office of Student Conduct. Student members serve for one year 
with the option to renew membership at the discretion of the Office 
of Student Conduct until the Student graduates from the Universi-
ty. 

(2) The Office of Student Conduct solicits nominations for 
Faculty appointments from the Department or Division Chairs and 
the Faculty Senate President. The selection process, which includes 
interviews, will be completed by the end of each Spring term to fill 
whatever Faculty vacancies exist.  

(3) The Office of Student Conduct solicits nominations for 
Staff members from the Administrative Support Council and non-
academic departments. The selection process, which includes 
interviews, will be completed by the end of each Spring term to fill 
whatever Staff vacancies exist.  

(4) The Dean of Students may nominate a Faculty or Staff 
member to emeritus status when they leave their rotation. This 
status recognizes outstanding service to the Committee by a 
member. Members of this standing could still participate in Com-
mittee hearings, business meetings and social events, but would not 
be required to participate. Members of this status also could serve 
the University and the Committee, including its advisor, in a 
counsel and historian role. Final appointment to this status is made 
by the Vice President of Student Affairs of the University.  

(5) The Office of Student Conduct solicits nominations for 
Student appointments by the end of Spring term from the Residence 
Hall Association (RHA), the Associated Students of Western 
Oregon University (ASWOU), and the Vice President for Student 
Affairs. Each organization and the Vice President submit to the 
Office of Student Conduct a list of Student nominees. The Office 
of Student Conduct interviews all nominees and then selects 
Students for the Committee. Ideally, a balanced number of Students 
from on- and off- Campus should represent membership on the 
Committee. If the Office of Student Conduct does not receive nom-
inations by the end of Spring term, they may, with the approval of 
the Vice President for Student Affairs, follow a different procedure 
for selecting Student Committee members. Mid-year vacancies on 
the Committee will be filled through a brief nomination and inter-
view process conducted by the Office of Student Conduct.  

(6) The Office of Student Conduct convenes the Committee 
early in Fall term of each year for orientation and training. Faculty, 
Staff and Student members of the Committee must attend training 
as a condition of their membership. Faculty, Staff and Students 

who do not attend training during the Fall and at other times during 
the year will be removed from the Committee.  

(7) The Committee reviews and recommends to the Vice Pres-
ident for Student Affairs appropriate changes to the Code. However, 
the Vice President for Student Affairs, the Office of Student 
Conduct or any other Campus individual or group may also recom-
mend changes at any time. The Office of Student Conduct coordi-
nates proposed changes with appropriate campus groups and 
notifies interested parties to review the revision. Upon completion 
of the review process the Vice President for Student Affairs will 
recommend the changes to the President for final approval. The 
revisions become effective when filed with the Oregon Secretary 
of State’s Office. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0050; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-
01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0020 
Student Conduct Committee 

(1) Upon the recommendation of the Dean of Students, the 
Vice President for Student Affairs approves the members of the 
Committee which consist of no fewer than three Faculty members, 
three professional unclassified Staff members, and no fewer than 
six Student members. The Faculty and Staff members will serve for 
three years on a rotational basis so two experienced members of 
each classification serve each year. Term of membership may be 
extended for Faculty and Staff members at the discretion of the 
Office of Student Conduct. Student members serve for one year 
with the option to renew membership at the discretion of the Office 
of Student Conduct until the Student graduates from the Universi-
ty. 

(2) The Office of Student Conduct solicits nominations for 
Faculty appointments from the Department or Division Chairs and 
the Faculty Senate President. The selection process, which includes 
interviews, will be completed by the end of each Spring term to fill 
whatever Faculty vacancies exist.  

(3) The Office of Student Conduct solicits nominations for 
Staff members from the Administrative Support Council and non-
academic departments. The selection process, which includes 
interviews, will be completed by the end of each Spring term to fill 
whatever Staff vacancies exist.  

(4) The Dean of Students may nominate a Faculty or Staff 
member to emeritus status when they leave their rotation. This 
status recognizes outstanding service to the Committee by a 
member. Members of this standing could still participate in Com-
mittee hearings, business meetings and social events, but would not 
be required to participate. Members of this status also could serve 
the University and the Committee, including its advisor, in a 
counsel and historian role. Final appointment to this status is made 
by the Vice President of Student Affairs of the University.  

(5) The Office of Student Conduct solicits nominations for 
Student appointments by the end of Spring term from the Residence 
Hall Association (RHA), the Associated Students of Western 
Oregon University (ASWOU), and the Vice President for Student 
Affairs. Each organization and the Vice President submit to the 
Office of Student Conduct a list of Student nominees. The Office 
of Student Conduct interviews all nominees and then selects 
Students for the Committee. Ideally, a balanced number of Students 
from on- and off- Campus should represent membership on the 
Committee. If the Office of Student Conduct does not receive nom-
inations by the end of Spring term, they may, with the approval of 
the Vice President for Student Affairs, follow a different procedure 
for selecting Student Committee members. Mid-year vacancies on 
the Committee will be filled through a brief nomination and inter-
view process conducted by the Office of Student Conduct.  

(6) The Office of Student Conduct convenes the Committee 
early in Fall term of each year for orientation and training. Faculty, 
Staff and Student members of the Committee must attend training 
as a condition of their membership. Faculty, Staff and Students 
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who do not attend training during the Fall and at other times during 
the year will be removed from the Committee.  

(7) The Committee reviews and recommends to the Vice Pres-
ident for Student Affairs appropriate changes to the Code. However, 
the Vice President for Student Affairs, the Office of Student 
Conduct or any other Campus individual or group may also recom-
mend changes at any time. The Office of Student Conduct coordi-
nates proposed changes with appropriate campus groups and 
notifies interested parties to review the revision. Upon completion 
of the review process the Vice President for Student Affairs will 
recommend the changes to the President for final approval. The 
revisions become effective when filed with the Oregon Secretary 
of State’s Office. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0051; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-
01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-09; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0030 
Hearing Sub-Committee 

The Hearing Sub-Committee is a sub-committee of the 
Student Conduct Committee. This sub-committee will consist of a 
maximum of two Faculty or Staff members and four Student mem-
bers. Selection of sub-committee members for each Hearing Sub-
committee is made by the Office of Student Conduct. A minimum 
of one Faculty or Staff member and two Students is required for a 
quorum, and a quorum must always consist of at least one more 
Student than Faculty or Staff member. If a quorum cannot be 
obtained, a hearing will be postponed until a quorum is present, 
unless the Charged Student waives the requirement for a quorum in 
writing.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0052; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 
2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; WOU 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-09; WOU 2-2012, 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0050 
Delegation of Authority 

(1) Subject to the approval of the Vice President for Student 
Affairs, the Committee recognizes the University Housing Student 
Conduct System and grants University Housing authority to:  

(a) Formulate regulations governing the conduct of residential 
Students in and around University operated residences;  

(b) Formulate procedures and administrative practices to be 
followed by the University Housing Student Conduct Board;  

(c) Assign sanctions exclusive of expulsion, suspension, or 
negative notation on transcript, appropriate to the enforcement of 
Campus residence hall regulations.  

(2) Students or Recognized Student Organizations may appeal 
decisions of the University Housing Student Conduct Board to the 
Dean of Students or Student Conduct Coordinator. The Student or 
Recognized Student Organization must file the appeal with Student 
Conduct within five Working Days after receiving the sanction 
notice from the University Housing Student Conduct Board. The 
University Housing Student Conduct Board Chairperson will 
submit to the Office of Student Conduct a copy of the appealing 
Student’s or Recognized Student Organization’s conduct file for 
each case heard by the University Housing Student Conduct Board. 
The file will minimally include the charges, the findings, the sanc-
tion(s) assigned, the Student’s previous academic and disciplinary 
history, and information concerning the appeal process.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0053; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-
01; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0060 
Complaint 

(1) The Adjudication process at Western Oregon University 
begins with the receipt of one of the following by the Office of Stu-
dent Conduct:  

(a) A Campus Public Safety or University Housing incident 
report;  

(b) Any other type of University reporting document or com-
plaint;  

(c) A police report; or  
(d) A signed and written complaint by any individual or 

group, whether Members of the University Community or not. The 
complaint may be in the form of an incident report or letter.  

(2) Upon receipt of the complaint or report, the Office of Stu-
dent Conduct will evaluate the information presented and determine 
whether enough information exists to make allegations that the 
Student(s) named in the complaint or report engaged in activities 
prohibited by the Code. The Dean of Students, Student Conduct 
Coordinator or designee will evaluate this information in addition 
to determine if the alleged violations may result in suspension, 
expulsion, or negative notation on the transcript.  

(3) Within seven Working Days from when the Office of Stu-
dent Conduct determines that there is sufficient basis to charge the 
Student named in the complaint or report, the Office of Student  
Conduct will send the Charged Student a letter that includes the  
following:  

(a) A notice for the Student to meet with the Dean of Students, 
Student Conduct Coordinator or designee for a pre-hearing meeting;  

(b) The alleged violations of the Code;  
(c) The Student’s basic rights granted by the Code, including 

the right to have the case heard by the Committee if sanctions of 
suspension, expulsion, or negative notation on the transcript could 
result;  

(d) Notice that a copy of the Code can be found in the Vice 
President for Student Affairs’ Office, on reserve at the Library, 
online at www.wou.edu/student/judicial or at the Offices of the 
Associated Students of Western Oregon University; and  

(e) Notice that a decision affecting the Student may be made 
even if the Student fails to appear for a pre-hearing meeting. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 
8-31-01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0070 
Pre-hearing Meeting with Student Conduct 

The purpose of a pre-hearing meeting with the Office of 
Student Conduct is to explain the conduct procedures to the 
Charged Student and to select the proper hearing body to resolve 
the allegations. The Charged Student may at this meeting request 
that the pre-hearing meeting serve as an actual hearing, thereby 
waiving the Charged Student’s right to five Working Days’ written 
notice prior to a hearing, and, in cases where suspension, expulsion, 
or negative notation may result, waiving the Charged Student’s 
right to a Committee hearing. If the Charged Student does not wish 
the pre-hearing meeting to be treated as the actual hearing, a 
hearing will be scheduled with the hearing body the Charged 
Student has chosen at a time that gives the Charged Student at least 
five Working Days’ notice prior to the hearing. If the Student does 
not appear for a pre-hearing meeting, the Office of Student 
Conduct will set a time and place for a hearing. If the case has been 
determined by the Office of Student Conduct to possibly result in 
suspension, expulsion, or negative notation on the transcript, a 
Committee hearing will be scheduled. In all other cases, the Office 
of Student Conduct will set an informal hearing. The time between 
the Student’s receipt of the notice and the hearing date must be at 
least five Working Days. The Office of Student Conduct will notify 
the Charged Student that there is an option to waive the hearing 
before the Committee and elect to have the case heard by the Office 
of Student Conduct if such a hearing has been set.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
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Hist.: WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 
8-31-01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0080 
Types of Hearings 

All Adjudications at Western Oregon University will base 
their decisions on a Preponderance of the Evidence.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 
8-31-01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0090 
Hearing with the Dean of Students, Student Conduct 
Coordinator, or designee 

(1) The purpose of a hearing with the Dean of Students, 
Student Conduct Coordinator or designee is to:  

(a) Consider information presented by the Charged Student, 
information from the complaint or report(s), and other supporting 
information;  

(b) Make findings based on that information;  
(c) Uphold or drop each allegation based upon the findings; 

and  
(d) If allegations are upheld, assign sanctions commensurate 

with the violation(s) and the Student’s previous disciplinary and 
academic history. The Dean of Students, Student Conduct Coordi-
nator or designee has authority to levy sanctions deemed appropriate 
under this Code (see 574-032-0010 1(c)) or can refer the Student 
and case to the Hearing Sub-Committee without action.  

(2) For all hearings with the Dean of Students, Student 
Conduct Coordinator or designee, the Charged Student has the fol-
lowing rights:  

(a) To have access to the complaint file to the extent permitted 
by law after giving the Office of Student Conduct sufficient notice 
to purge the file of information within the file considered to be the 
education record of another Student(s);  

(b) To have knowledge of the charges and the names of those 
providing information supporting the charges, including all Wit-
nesses;  

(c) To offer evidence challenging the statements of those pro-
viding information regarding the charges and all Witnesses;  

(d) To be notified in writing of the outcome of the hearing 
within five Working Days;  

(e) To request a hearing with the Committee; and  
(f) To appeal to the appropriate University official/body as 

defined in the appeal process (see OAR 574-032-0120). 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 
8-31-01; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-
12 

574-032-0100 
Hearing with the Hearing Sub-Committee 

The Hearing Sub-Committee will be convened when requested 
by the Office of Student Conduct or the Charged Student. The 
Dean of Students, Student Conduct Coordinator or designee will 
present information pertinent to the case, which may include past 
conduct history of the Charged Student that is relevant to the case. 
The Dean of Students, Student Conduct Coordinator or designee, 
when appropriate, may present Witnesses for both the Charged 
Student and the Complainant, as requested by the Hearing Sub-
Committee.  

(1) For all hearings with the Hearing Sub-Committee, the 
Charged Student has the following rights:  

(a) Five Working Days’ notice prior to the hearing, unless the 
Student waives this right in writing;  

(b) To have knowledge of the charges and of Witnesses;  
(c) To have an Advisor attend the hearing with the Charged 

Student. The Advisor cannot speak for or represent the Charged 
Student. Failure of the Advisor to comply with this stipulation will 
result in the removal of the Advisor from the proceeding by the 

Hearing Sub-Committee chairperson. The hearing will not be post-
poned due to the inability of the Advisor to attend;  

(d) To challenge the statements of the Complainant(s) or Vic-
tim(s) and Witnesses;  

(e) To have advance notification of the hearing process and 
procedures through the mail or in a meeting with the Dean of Stu-
dents, Student Conduct Coordinator or designee. This meeting 
with the Dean of Students, Student Conduct Coordinator or 
designee is to be scheduled prior to the hearing. It is the Student’s 
responsibility to schedule this meeting;  

(f) To not appear for a hearing, and not have that absence used 
against oneself;  

(g) To remain silent during a hearing, and not have that silence 
used against oneself;  

(h) To be notified in writing of the outcome of the hearing 
within five Working Days; and  

(i) To appeal to a University official.  
(2) The Charged Student may present information and 

challenge the statements of Complainants, Witnesses, and statements 
read during the hearing.  

(3) The members of the Hearing Sub-Committee may question 
the Charged Student, Witnesses, and Complainants to determine 
facts relevant to the case. The Hearing Sub-Committee, during 
deliberations, will resolve all issues of fact based on the evidence 
presented at the hearing. Based upon these findings the Hearing 
Sub-Committee renders a decision concerning whether to uphold 
or drop each separate allegation. While the Hearing Sub-Committee 
resolves the allegations only the Hearing Sub-Committee members 
are present.  

(4) The findings will be announced to the Charged Student 
following deliberations and, at that time, the Dean of Students, Stu-
dent Conduct Coordinator or designee will present information 
concerning the Charged Student’s academic record and any 
previous judicial record. The Charged Student may also present 
information relevant to previous academic and Student Conduct 
history, as well as circumstances which may have a bearing on pos-
sible sanctions.  

(5) For the determination of sanctions, only the Hearing Sub-
Committee members are present. Following that determination, the 
Chair of the Committee will announce, with the Charged Student 
present, the sanctions the Hearing Sub-Committee assigned.  

(6) The Office of Student Conduct will confirm in writing to 
the Charged Student the results of the hearing within five Working 
Days.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0056; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-
01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0110 
Procedures when Charged Student Fails to Appear at Hearing 

When the Charged Student fails to appear at the time specified 
for a hearing, provided no prior arrangements for delay have been 
confirmed, the hearing will be held with the Charged Student not 
present. The results of the hearing will indicate that the hearing 
was held with the Charged Student in absentia. The Charged Stu-
dent’s absence cannot be assumed to be an admission of responsi-
bility; nor can it be used in any way in the hearing body’s or 
officer’s determination of facts or judgment.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96, Renumbered from 574-030-0057; 
WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-01; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0120 
Appeal of Hearing 

(1) A Student in Violation may appeal decisions reached at a 
hearing. The appeal must be filed within five Working Days fol-
lowing the date the Student receives notice of the hearing results. 
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Appeals must be delivered, in writing, to the Office of the Vice 
President for Student Affairs or the Office of Student Conduct. An 
appeal form must include specific justification for the appeal as 
listed in (3) below.  

(2) In hearings involving a Survivor of alleged sexual harass-
ment or sexual misconduct, the Survivor may appeal decisions 
reached at a hearing to the Vice President for Student Affairs if the 
Survivor believes the decision is not in compliance with University 
standards. 

(3) Except as required to explain the basis of new information, 
an appeal will be limited to review of the accurate record of the 
initial hearing and supporting documents for one or more of the 
following purposes:  

(a) To determine whether the original hearing was conducted 
in conformity with the procedures described in the Code. Deviations 
from designated procedures will not be a basis for sustaining an 
appeal unless significant prejudice results;  

(b) To determine whether the decision reached regarding the 
Charged Student was based on a Preponderance of the Evidence; 

(c) To determine whether the sanction(s) imposed were appro-
priate to the Charged Student’s previous judicial history and to the 
present violation(s) of the Code; or  

(d) To consider new evidence, sufficient to alter a decision, or 
other relevant facts not brought out in the original hearing, because 
such evidence or facts were not known to the person appealing at 
the time of the original hearing.  

(4) The following decisions may be made by the Appeals 
Body described in (5) below:  

(a) That evidence exists not available at the time of the 
hearing sufficient to alter the original decision. In this case the 
Appeals Body remands the case to the original hearing body for a 
supplemental hearing;  

(b) The appeal is denied. In this case, the entire decision of the 
original hearing body, including sanctions, remains effective. New 
violations can never be found through the appeal process; or  

(c) The appeal is upheld. In this case, the Appeals Body 
renders a new decision, including reducing or removing sanctions, 
or replacing the findings and sanctions of the original hearing body 
or officer.  

(5) Procedure  
(a) The Vice President for Student Affairs will hear appeals of 

hearings with the Hearing Sub-Committee and appeals of hearings 
with the Dean of Students, Student Conduct Coordinator or 
designee; 

(b) The Dean of Students or Student Conduct Coordinator will 
hear appeals of hearings with the University Housing Student Con-
duct Board and Area Coordinators;  

(c) Upon receipt of the appeal, the Appeals Body may 
suspend any or all sanctions pending its decision;  

(d) The Appeals Body must consider the appeal based on the 
record, with no new evidence considered, except new evidence that 
meets the requirements of subsection (4)(d) above. If new evidence 
becomes available, the Appeals Body must remand the case to a 
new hearing with the original hearing body. The Office of Student 
Conduct must provide a complete and accurate record of the 
original hearing to the Appeals Body. The Appeals Body may, but 
is not required to, meet with the person appealing the decision; and  

(e) Within ten Working Days following receipt of the appeal, 
the Appeals Body will notify the Student in Violation in writing of 
the results of the appeal. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-
96, Renumbered from 574-030-0058; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-
01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-09; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0130 
Hearing with Mediators 

The Campus Student Conduct Program at Western Oregon 
University places confidence in the process of Mediation as a pre-
ventative and educational method of intervention for Student mis-

conduct. When the Campus Student Conduct Program makes use 
of Mediation it does so with the primary goal of diverting Students 
from the Adjudicative and, in some cases, adversarial hearing pro-
cess. The anticipated outcome of this action is for Disputants to 
voluntarily create a resolution to their conflict that is confidential 
and non-binding. The Campus Student Conduct Program is 
primarily an Adjudicative process which often must address alle-
gations that a Charged Student’s behavior harmed another person. 
In some of these cases, Mediation may be used as a diversion or as 
a sanction in the form of victim/offender reconciliation (with the 
exception of sexual harassment or sexual misconduct cases). The 
nature of a case involving a Victim and an offender necessitates a 
modification of the way Mediation traditionally is structured. In 
Victim/offender Mediations, participation by the Charged Student 
may not be voluntary, the mediated agreement may not be confi-
dential, and the mediated agreement may become binding for the 
Charged Student.  

(1) Uses:  
(a) Use of Mediation in the Absence of Charges. Disputants 

not charged with a violation of the Code may use Mediation at any 
time by making a request for Mediation services at the Office of 
the Vice President for Student Affairs or the Office of Student Con-
duct. This includes Victim/offender Mediation in which the Victim 
declines to file a complaint and the Office of Student Conduct does 
not pursue the allegations;  

(b) Use of Mediation after a Complaint is made. When a 
Victim files a complaint with the Office of Student Conduct 
alleging that the behavior of a Charged Student harmed a person, or 
when action is initiated by a report of harmful treatment to the per-
son, Mediation may be used in place of the Adjudicative process, 
provided both Victim and Charged Student agree to such Mediation. 
In cases involving sexual misconduct or sexual harassment, Medi-
ation is not an option. All charges are suspended pending the out-
come of the Mediation. The Victim has the right to return the com-
plaint to the Office of Student Conduct for a formal judicial review 
if the Victim is not satisfied with the outcome of Mediation;  

(c) Student in Violation and Victim Chooses Mediation. When 
a Charged Student has been found in violation of any section of the 
Code where that Charged Student’s behavior victimized or harmed 
another Member(s) of the University Community, Victim/offender 
Mediation may be assigned as a sanction, except in cases involving 
sexual misconduct or sexual harassment.  

(2) Mediation Procedures. A Charged Student(s) may request 
to use Mediation at any time during the Adjudication process (with 
the exception of sexual misconduct or sexual harassment cases). A 
Victim may request Mediation without filing a complaint. Mediations 
of this type are non-binding except in cases noted below, and con-
fidential to the extent permitted by law.  

(a) Victim/Charged Student, Voluntary Mediation:  
(A) Mediation between a Victim and a Charged Student may 

occur at the request of either party and with the consent of and vol-
untary participation of both parties;  

(B) Before or during a student conduct hearing, the Office of 
Student Conduct may offer Mediation to a Charged Student in 
place of that hearing;  

(C) When all parties agree to Mediation, Mediation will be 
used in place of the Adjudicative process;  

(D) Agreements reached when Mediation is used in place of 
Adjudication will be binding with the permission of the Victim. 
Permission for a binding agreement will be given to the Office of 
Student Conduct by the Victim prior to the Mediation. In such a 
case, the binding agreement becomes a de facto sanction and will 
become part of the Charged Student’s judicial file. The Charged 
Student must adhere to the agreement or face possible future Adju-
dicative action;  

(E) The Victim may, at any time, withdraw permission for a 
binding agreement or withdraw the complaint. In this case, the 
Mediation becomes confidential and non-binding;  

(F) The Victim may, at any time, withdraw the complaint and 
withdraw from the Mediation process;  
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(G) The Charged Student may, at any time, withdraw from the 
Mediation process. Such action by the Charged Student, however, 
may return the original charges to the Adjudicative process;  

(H) If the Victim reports dissatisfaction with the outcome of 
the Mediation the Victim may return the complaint to the Adju-
dicative process for a student conduct hearing; and  

(I) The Office of Student Conduct will, in most cases, honor 
the Victim’s request to withdraw the complaint from the Adjudicative 
process. The Office of Student Conduct may, however, Adjudicate 
charges whenever it is determined that it is in the best interest of 
the University community to do so.  

(b) Mandated participation in Mediation when charges of 
theft, vandalism, harassment, assault, or other harmful treatment 
are upheld through the Adjudicative process (except for sexual 
harassment and sexual misconduct cases). Participation in 
Victim/offender Mediation may be assigned to the Student in Vio-
lation as a sanction. When Mediation is used as a sanction, the fol-
lowing will apply:  

(A) The Victim must agree to such a sanction in advance;  
(B) The Student in Violation must verify that Mediation was 

attempted in order to fulfill the sanction of Mediation; and  
(C) Unless otherwise requested by the Victim, agreements 

reached during sanctioned Mediations will be submitted to the 
Office of Student Conduct. This agreement will serve as a part of 
the sanction which the Student in Violation must complete. Failure 
to abide by the agreement may result in the Student in Violation 
facing further judicial charges for failure to complete a sanction.  

(c) Automatic Diversion from the Adjudicative Procedures:  
(A) When two or more Students have been charged with vio-

lating the Code for the same event, the Office of Student Conduct 
may offer, or the Students may request, to use Mediation as a diver-
sion from the Adjudicative process. The Dean of Students, Student 
Conduct Coordinator or designee may assign interim sanctions 
pending the Mediation. The following conditions must apply:  

(i) Two or more Students have been involved in the same inci-
dent,  

(ii) The Students have each been charged with violations of 
the Code based on the same incident,  

(iii) The Students are each victims of the other’s behavior 
(e.g., by assault, vandalism, theft, etc.),  

(iv) The Students agree to fully participate in Mediation,  
(v) The Students agree to share the results of the Mediation 

with the Office of Student Conduct, and  
(vi) The mediated agreement becomes binding and must be 

adhered to by both parties as a sanction unless otherwise indicated 
by the Office of Student Conduct.  

(B) The Office of Student Conduct may return the case to the 
Adjudicative process for the following reasons:  

(i) One or more of the Students does not participate in the 
Mediation,  

(ii) Substantial evidence exists that one or more of the 
Students poses a clear and present threat to themselves or others; or  

(iii) One or more of the Students fails to adhere to the agree-
ment.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 
8-31-01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0150 
Rights of Victims and Survivors 

A fundamental aspect of the Code is to provide procedures 
that ensure the rights of the Charged Student. However, the Univer-
sity also recognizes that the Victims and Survivors of misconduct 
should also have rights. Therefore, the following rights of Victims 
and Survivors must be guaranteed during Adjudication proceedings 
conducted by the University.  

(1) A Victim or Survivor has the right to be identified as a 
Witness and provide a Witness statement. 

(2) A Victim or Survivor has the right to have a person accom-
pany the Victim or Survivor while in attendance at the hearing.  

(3) Unless it bears directly on the charges, a Victim or 
Survivor has the right not to have the Victim or Survivor’s past his-
tory or behavior discussed during a hearing. This includes reference 
to past violations of the Code, past sexual history, and past indis-
cretions of any type.  

(4) A Victim or Survivor has the right to make an impact state-
ment only when the Charged Student’s alleged behavior against the 
Victim or Survivor is upheld. The impact statement may only be 
used or considered for sanctioning purposes.  

(5) A Victim or Survivor has the right to be shielded from face 
to face contact with the Charged Student.  

(6) A Victim or Survivor has the right to be kept informed dur-
ing the Adjudicative process within legal guidelines; and  

(7) A Victim or Survivor has the right to be informed immedi-
ately of the outcome of a hearing within legal guidelines.  

(8) In hearings involving a Survivor, the Survivor may appeal 
decisions reached at a hearing to the Vice President for Student 
Affairs if the Survivor believes the decision is not in compliance 
with University standards. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-89; WOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 
10-21-93; WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96, Renumbered from 574-030-
0060; WOU 3-2001, f. 8-28-01, cert. ef. 8-31-01; WOU 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 8-
1-03; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; WOU 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-09; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-032-0160 
Revising and Interpreting the Code of Student Responsibility 

(1) Refer all questions concerning the Code to the Office of 
Student Conduct. The Dean of Students is the final interpreter of 
the Code.  

(2) The Code will be reviewed no less than once every five 
years under the direction of the Dean of Students.  

(3) A formal, written request to review the Code may be sub-
mitted to the Office of Student Conduct. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-96; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; 
WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

DIVISION 35 

HEALTH REQUIREMENTS FOR 
INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS 

574-035-0005 
Health Requirements for International Students 

(1) For international students good health is an essential con-
dition for achieving educational objectives and assuring the quality 
of the educational and cultural experience. For purposes of this 
policy, international students shall be defined as individuals who 
are not U.S. citizens or permanent immigrants. Permanent residents 
are excluded. 

(2) It is the responsibility of the institution to ensure that 
health care, which is culturally appropriate, accessible, and afford-
able, is available to international students. To meet this responsibility, 
Western Oregon University requires that each international student, 
within the first term of attendance, comply with the following: 

(a) Complete the University’s Health History Form and return 
it to the Student Health Center; 

(b) Have a tuberculin skin test at either the Western Oregon 
University Student Health Center or Polk County Health Center; or 
have a chest x-ray as directed by the health care provider; 

(c) Purchase the University’s Basic Limited and Extended 
group plan for health and accident insurance, meeting university 
minimum guidelines or federal minimum guidelines. All non-
immigrant students must meet these guidelines; OR provide proof 
of government-sponsored major medical insurance coverage which 
is the only accepted alternative to the University’s Basic Limited 
and Extended group plan. 

(3) Western Oregon University will implement this policy 
according to the following processes: 
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(a) The Office of International Students and Scholars Affairs 
will make students aware that major medical health and accident 
insurance is required for spouses and children. This will be accom-
plished by mailing an information sheet along with the student’s 
official admissions letter and adding the insurance fee to the school 
expense list on the Certificate of Eligibility (Form I-20/DX-2019). 
Subsequent notification may be sent from the International Students 
and Scholars Affairs Office. 

(b) The Student Health Center will evaluate each student’s 
Health History Form for completeness and immunize students, as 
necessary.  

(c) The Student Health Center will require a current tuberculin 
skin test or chest x-ray for each international student. 

(d) The Student Health Center will issue each international 
student a valid health card, temporary or permanent, once the stu-
dent’s Health History Form and screening for tuberculosis are com-
pleted. 

(e) All international students will be charged automatically for 
the Western Oregon University student insurance plan and student 
health fee for the full academic year. An adequate insurance policy 
must be in effect every term that a student is in student status, 
including summer term, until the first day of fall term. Students 
who are not graduating or otherwise withdrawing spring term will 
have summer insurance charges posted to their account during fee 
payment of spring term. 

(f) The Student Health Center will put a hold on registration 
for all international students until they have completed the require-
ments of this policy. After verifying that a valid health card has 
been issued and that appropriate health and accident insurance has 
been purchased, the Student Health Center will lift the hold on reg-
istration and allow the student to register. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-7-89; WOU 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-99; 
WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 2-2008, f. & cert. ef. 9-3-08 

DIVISION 40 

STUDENT RECORDS 

574-040-0001 
Student Records Policy 

The State Board of Higher Education delegates the responsi-
bility of enforcing the regulations required to maintain student 
records. The process provided by the university includes the col-
lection of student information, its maintenance, use, and disposition. 
Such processes are consistent with the laws of Oregon and the 
Administrative Rules of the Board of Higher Education and with 
federal statutes and regulations.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOSC 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91; WOU 3-
2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-040-0005 
Definitions 

(1) “Act” means the Family Educational Rights and Privacy 
Act of 1974, as amended, its implementing regulations, and any 
official guidance issued by the U.S. Department of Education.  

(2) “Directory Information” means the student’s full name; 
mailing (i.e. local, billing, current, previous, temporary) and per-
manent address(es); place(s) of residence; telephone number(s); 
electronic mail address(es); date and place of birth; home town; 
parent(s) — guardian(s) name, address(es) and telephone number(s); 
previous school(s) of attendance; whether the student is or has been 
enrolled; enrollment status (e.g., full-time or part-time); dates of 
enrollment and attendance; class level; cumulative credit hours; 
major and minor fields of study; participation in officially 
recognized activities and sports; weight and height of members of 
athletic teams; degrees, certificates, honors and awards received; 
job title(s) and dates of employment for student employees who 
have been or are paid from university administered funds. For 

graduate teaching fellows, “directory information” also means 
status as a graduate teaching fellow and teaching assignment.  

(3) “Personal Records” means records containing information 
kept by the institution, division, or department concerning a 
student and furnished by him or by others about him at his or at the 
institution’s, division’s, or department’s request, including, but not 
limited to, record of grades attained, information concerning disci-
pline, counseling, membership activity, employment performance, 
or other behavioral records of individual persons.  

(4) For purposes of compliance with ORS 351.070, “Records 
of Academic Achievement” shall mean the record of credits earned 
toward a degree and/or degrees received.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-040-0010 
Purpose of Student Records 

Only such records as are demonstrably and substantially rele-
vant to the educational and related purposes of the institution, divi-
sion, or department shall be generated or maintained. It will be the 
responsibility of university officials, that where applicable and 
required, confidentiality will be the primary effort in the proper 
custodianship of student records.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03 

574-040-0015 
Certain Information Not Required of Students — General 
Information 

No student will be required to give, although he may 
voluntarily provide, information as to his age, disability, marital 
status, national origin, race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation 
or veteran status, except as required by state statute, federal law, or 
valid federal rules, regulations, or orders.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOSC 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91; WOU 3-
2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-040-0020 
Location and Custody of Student Records 

(1) The Registrar’s Office is the location of so-called “official 
records” of the student: admissions information, transcripts, grade 
information, degrees conferred, etc.  

(2) The Vice President for Student Affairs’ Office is responsible 
for the custodianship of “personal records” and confidential infor-
mation resulting from normal contacts of those offices.  

(3) The Student Health and Counseling Center is responsible 
for the records of students in this area and is concerned primarily 
with information resulting from student contacts with this service.  

(4) The Academic Departments maintain instructional records 
which pertain primarily to the records maintained by the instructional 
staff: grades, references.  

(5) Career Services files consist of an accumulation of tran-
scripts, references, etc., for the individual student using this service 
for the purpose of making contracts with prospective employers.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOSC 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91; WOU 3-
2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03 

574-040-0025 
Release and Access to Student Records 

(1) The University may disclose directory information in 
compliance with the Act.  

(2) Students may restrict the disclosure of all directory infor-
mation by filing a completed Records Confidentiality Request form 
with the Office of the Registrar at any time during regular business 
hours. The restriction becomes effective as soon as is reasonably 
practicable and remains in effect until revoked in writing by the 
student.  

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 2-
2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-040-0030 
Confidential Records — Restrictions on Release 

(1) Personal records designated as confidential pursuant to 
ORS 351.070 or pursuant to the Federal Family Education Rights 
and Privacy Act may be disclosed to institutional, state or statutorily 
authorized federal officials or employees who need the information 
in order to fulfill their official, professional responsibilities as 
required by law, institutional rules or internal management 
directives. Disclosure of personally identifiable information may 
also be made in connection with financial aid for which a student 
has applied or that a student has received or to accrediting organi-
zations when necessary to their accrediting functions. These 
records may not be released to any other person or agency without 
the student’s written consent, unless upon receipt of a subpoena or 
other court order or process. Institutional regulations may provide 
for designated institutional officials to appear in court to test the 
validity of a subpoena or court order or process relating to release 
of student records.  

(2) The institutional executive, or his designated representative, 
may make exception to the foregoing rule when he determines that 
there is a clear and present danger to the safety of the student or 
others and/or property, and that disclosure of relevant personal 
information about the student is essential in order to avoid or sub-
stantially minimize the danger. The factors to be taken into account 
i n  
determining whether personally identifiable information from the 
educational records of a student may be disclosed under this rule 
shall include the following:  

(a) The seriousness of the threat to the health or safety of the 
student or other individual;  

(b) The need for the information to meet the emergency;  
(c) Whether the individuals to whom the information is dis-

closed are in a position to deal with the emergency;  
(d) The extent to which time is of the essence in dealing with 

the emergency.  
(3) The health and safety exception to confidentiality shall be 

strictly construed.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-040-0035 
Petition By Student for Change in Personal Record 

The student shall have the right to review with appropriate 
institutional personnel any information contained in his records 
and to petition appropriate institutional officials as defined in insti-
tutional regulations for additions or deletions to the record where 
the accuracy of the information in his file is in question, except in 
the following instances:  

(1) Records created or maintained by a physician, psychiatrist, 
psychologist or other recognized professional or paraprofessional 
acting in a professional or paraprofessional capacity or assisting in 
that capacity.  

(2) Records created, maintained or used only in connection 
with the provision of treatment to the student and not disclosed to 
anyone other than individuals providing the treatment; provided 
that the records can be personally reviewed by a physician or other 
appropriate professional of the student’s choice.  

(3) Records relating exclusively to an individual in that indi-
vidual’s capacity as an employee.  

(4) Financial records and statements of the parents of students 
or any information contained therein.  

(5) Confidential letters and confidential statements of recom-
mendation that were placed in the educational records of a student 
prior to January 1, 1975, provided that the letters and statements 
were solicited with the written assurance of confidentiality or sent 
and retained with a documented understanding of confidentiality 
and were used only for the purposes for which they were 
specifically intended.  

(6) Confidential letters of recommendation and confidential 
statements of recommendation that were placed in the educational 

records of the student after January 1, 1975, respecting admission 
to an educational institution, respecting an application for employ-
ment or respecting the receipt of an honor or honorary recognition, 
provided that the student has waived rights to inspect and review 
letters and statements of recommendation.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-04 

574-040-0040 
Availability of Student Records for Research Purposes 

(1) The need for educational institutions to make available 
information about the student for research purposes shall be 
acknowledged and provided for, contingent upon the institution’s 
having adequate provisions to conceal the identity of the student 
whose personal data or information is being included in the 
research. 

(2) If the regulations protecting the confidentiality of student 
records would seem to be jeopardized in any way by the release of 
information for research purposes, institutional regulations shall 
provide that the institution is to obtain the written consent of the 
student prior to releasing information about him for research pur-
poses.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77  

574-040-0045 
Permanence, Duplication, and Disposal of Student Records 

(1) The individual student’s record shall be maintained only 
for the minimum period of time required to serve the basic official 
functions of the office which generates and maintains it. It should 
then be disposed of in a manner such as to protect its confidentiali-
ty. 

(2) The permanent retention of student records shall be 
limited to those which the institutional executive or the State 
Archivist shall determine to be of long-range value to the individual 
student or the institution. 

(3) Duplication of permanent student records shall be kept to a 
minimum. Such duplicate permanent records as are made shall be 
destroyed in the same manner as temporary records as set forth in 
section (4) of this rule. 

(4) All duplicate copies of permanent records and all temporary 
student records shall be destroyed at a time to be determined and 
set forth in institutional regulations and in a manner such as to 
protect their confidentiality.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3, f. & ef. 8-9-77  

DIVISION 50 

SPECIAL COURSE FEES BY SCHOOL YEAR 

574-050-0005 
Special Fees for Selected Courses and Some General Services 

The Schedule of Fees for Selected Courses and General Ser-
vices for Western Oregon University are hereby adopted by refer-
ence. 

NOTE: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this 
rule are available from the Office of the Vice President for Finance and 
Administration at Western Oregon University. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: OCE 1, f. & ef. 7-12-76; OCE 1-1978, f. & ef. 10-27-78; OCE 2-1980, f. 
& ef. 11-5-80; OCE 1-1981, f. & ef. 1-7-81; OCE 3-1981, f. & ef. 8-7-81; OCE 
4-1981, f. & ef. 11-2-81; WOSC 2-1982, f. & ef. 9-17-82; WOSC 1-1983, f. & 
ef. 10-11-83; WOSC 1-1985, f. & ef. 10-4-85; WOSC 1-1986, f. & ef. 10-15-
86; WOSC 1-1987, f. 4-1-87, ef. 9-23-87; WOSC 2-1988, f. & cert. ef. 9-19-88; 
WOSC 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 4-18-89; WOSC 2-1989, f. 9-5-89, cert. ef. 9-17-
89; WOSC 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-7-89; WOSC 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-18-90; 
WOSC 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 9-24-90; WOSC 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 1-30-91; 
WOSC 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-91; WOSC 4-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-21-91; 
WOSC 7-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-91; WOSC 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-16-92; 
WOSC 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 8-14-92; WOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-93; 
WOSC 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-18-93; WOSC 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-16-93; 
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WOSC 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-93; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-94; 
WOSC 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-11-95; WOSC 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-16-96; 
WOSC 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 2-27-97; WOU 3-1997, f. & cert. ef. 10-7-97; 
WOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-98; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 
1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-99; WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; WOU 1-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-00; WOU 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 6-28-00; WOU 1-2001, 
f. & cert. ef. 3-5-01; WOU 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; WOU 1-2002, f. 3-12-
02, cert. ef. 3-15-02; WOU 2-2002, f. 8-2-02, cert. ef. 8-15-02; WOU 3-2002, f. 
10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-02; WOU 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 4-2-03; WOU 2-2003, f. 
& cert. ef. 8-1-03; WOU 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 3-24-04; WOU 2-2004, f. & cert. 
ef. 8-4-04; WOU 1-2005, f. & cert. ef. 3-8-05; WOU 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-
05; WOU 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-05; WOU 1-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-2-06; 
WOU 2-2006, f. & cert. ef. 8-7-06; WOU 1-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-5-07; WOU 2-
2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-07; WOU 4-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-07; WOU 1-2008, 
f. & cert. ef. 2-1-08; WOU 2-2008, f. & cert. ef. 9-3-08; WOU 1-2009, f. & cert. 
ef. 2-13-09; WOU 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-09; WOU 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-
27-10; WOU 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-10; WOU 1-2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-2-11; 
WOU 2-2011, f. & cert. ef. 5-2-11; WOU 3-2011, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-11; WOU 1-
2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-12; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12; WOU 1-2013, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-28-13; WOU 2-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-13; WOU 1-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-28-14; WOU 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-14; WOU 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 
2-12-15 

DIVISION 60 

ATHLETIC EVENTS — GENERAL 

574-060-0005 
Rates 

Western Oregon University administration sets ticket rates for 
athletic events at Western Oregon University. The general guidelines 
are listed below for the Committee:  

(1) The charge is not to apply to any student enrolled at 
Western Oregon University at the time of the game, provided they 
can produce a valid student identification card.  

(2) The range of the assessment may be from zero to $10.  
(3) The gross receipts, less collection expenses, are to be 

deposited in a separate account and to be used solely for the 
purpose of financing national travel for the various Western 
Oregon University athletic teams.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: OCE 2-1978, f. & ef. 10-27-78; WOSC 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 6-18-91; 
WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03 

574-060-0010 
Coverage for Health Insurance 

(1) Western Oregon University is to coordinate the coverage 
for health insurance the athlete’s family has, or is individually pur-
chased by the student athlete, with that of the University’s 
secondary medical insurance program, which is financed from 
Incidental Fees provided for athletic programs and administrative 
expenses.  

(2) Participants in the Western Oregon University athletic pro-
grams must place their required family or personal comprehensive 
individual insurance program information on file with the Western 
Oregon University Athletic Office:  

(a) Before receiving clearance to participate in any countable 
athletic-related activity; and  

(b) Before any athlete is allowed to participate in any games, 
scrimmages or any other countable athletic-related activity, including 
conditioning activities and tryouts.  

(3) The essence of this co-insurance program is:  
(a) The injured student will first utilize the primary family or 

personal insurance;  
(b) The portion not paid by the primary family or personal 

insurance will be paid by Western Oregon University athletic 
insurance financed by Incidental Fees;  

(c) The University’s athletic insurance coverage will pay the 
remainder, up to where the NCAA Catastrophic Insurance is acti-
vated.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: OCE 3-1978, f. & ef. 10-27-78; WOSC 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 6-18-91; 
WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-07 

DIVISION 70 

STUDENT ACTIVITIES TRAVEL 

574-070-0010 
Student Activities Travel 

(1) The Vice President for Student Affairs and his designee 
must approve, in advance, travel for student activities. Approval 
for travel will be based upon a review of how it is to be financed, 
program content, legal and policy compliance, and insurance cov-
erage. If problems or unanswered questions exist following the 
review, the request for travel will be promptly returned to the plan-
ning organization for revision:  

(a) A faculty or staff advisor must approve student travel 
activities in writing;  

(b) The use of state vehicles is encouraged for institution-
approved student travel to activities. It is understood, however, that 
on occasion, private vehicles will need to be used. Approval for the 
use of private vehicles must come from the Vice President for Stu-
dent Affairs. Approval for use of private or leased vehicles will not 
be given unless sufficient insurance, including liability coverage 
(FASOM 7.7), is provided;  

(c) The university is not responsible for student injuries or ail-
ments occurring off campus at a time when the student is not par-
ticipating in a university activity.  

(2) Emergency Procedure. Should an accident occur, the trav-
elers should telephone 503-838-9000 and inform the Office of 
Public Safety of the time, location, an estimate of number of people 
involved, and severity of injury and damage sustained. Public 
Safety will then immediately contact the Vice President for 
Business and Finance and the department chairman. The department 
chairman, in conjunction with the Vice President for Student 
Affairs, will be responsible for assessing family contacts to be 
made in case of any injured students.  

(3) Special Equipment for and Responsibility of Travelers. 
State of Oregon Motor Pool vehicles (in Salem) will be equipped 
with safety belts for each passenger and first aid kits. Service 
station credit cards are part of the information packet in each 
vehicle. Traction devices are also included in motor pool vehicles.  

(4) Hazardous Driving Conditions. In the event of severe 
weather and/or perilous driving conditions, the President or his 
designee (i.e., department chairman), is responsible for determining 
when a class or an event should be cancelled. When a traveler who 
is away from campus on university business encounters weather 
conditions too hazardous to risk driving, she/he has the responsibility 
to postpone travel until conditions once again become safe. This is 
especially true if a van with passengers is involved. On occasion 
the State Motor Pool in Salem closes and issues no further automo-
biles because of hazardous driving conditions.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-88; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef.  
10-28-03 

DIVISION 80 

AUTHORITY OF SECURITY PERSONNEL 

574-080-0000 
Definition 

As used in this rule, “unwanted persons” is defined, as a crim-
inal trespasser and as defined in ORS 164.205; as one who enters 
or remains unlawfully on premises which either are not open to the 
public or, though open to the public, the unwanted person or tres-
passer has failed to leave after being lawfully directed to do so by 
the person in charge. As used in this rule, “person(s) in charge” is 
defined, as in ORS 164.205, as the person, his representative or his 
employee who has lawful control of the premises by ownership, 
tenancy, official position or other legal relationship. It includes, but 
is not limited to the person, or holder of a position, designated as 
the person or position-holder in charge by the Governor, board, 
commission or governing body of any political subdivision of this 
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state. As used in this rule, “geographical boundaries” is defined as 
any building or property owned or controlled by the institution. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91 

574-080-0010 
Persons in Charge 

Western Oregon University recognizes its role under 20 
U.S.C. 1092, Higher Education Act of 1965 and the Crime Aware-
ness and Campus Security Act of 1990. In the interest of preserving 
a safe and secure campus environment, orderly operations of the 
university and crime prevention activity, the Public Safety Office 
through the director and uniformed officers are authorized to direct 
unwanted persons from the campus and related state facilities and 
deliver related correspondence to persons prohibiting their entry 
and/or ordering them off the campus premises. Public Safety and 
its officers have the status of “person(s) in charge” of institution 
property and buildings while on duty for purposes of satisfying 
ORS 164.205(5) and the National Crime Awareness and Campus 
Security Act.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-
03 

574-080-0020 
Arrest and/or Criminal Activities 

Public Safety shall act as liaison and coordination between the 
University and local law enforcement for crimes and incidents that 
violate Oregon Revised Statutes. For purposes of this OAR, 
campus officers are not designated as peace officers and shall 
therefore coordinate with the Monmouth Police Department for 
matters relating to arrest or criminal activities within the geographical 
boundaries of Western Oregon University.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 3-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-91; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef.  
10-28-03 

DIVISION 85 

PARKING AND TRAFFIC 
ENFORCEMENT REGULATIONS 

574-085-0000 
Authority to Establish Motor Vehicle Regulations 

Authority to establish regulations governing the use of all 
motor vehicles on the Western Oregon University (Western) 
campus for visitors, faculty, staff and students, is derived from Ore-
gon Revised Statute 352.360 and action of The Oregon State Board 
of Higher Education pursuant to such statute. The rules and regula-
tions as published herein were approved by the Office of the Chan-
cellor and are filed with the Secretary of State in accordance with 
the provisions of ORS 183.310 to 183.500. Strict enforcement of 
these regulations is necessary to maintain safety on campus 
parking facilities and streets, reduce congestion, enhance security, 
and effectively maximize utilization of parking facilities. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-
98; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-085-0010 
Application of Motor Vehicle Laws of the State of Oregon and 
the City of Monmouth 

(1) In order to facilitate the operation of campus traffic flow 
and parking lots of the University, the following rules and 
regulations are hereby established and are enforceable under 
authority provided by ORS 352.360.  

(2) All motor vehicle laws of the State of Oregon including 
specifically, but not limited by, ORS Chapters 801 through 822, 
together with amendments hereafter adopted, are applicable to the 
campus of Western Oregon University to the same extent as if this 

campus and its streets were public highways, and all provisions of 
said motor vehicle laws are applicable and enforceable. State 
motor vehicle laws shall apply should any of these parking rules 
and regulations be found inconsistent and incompatible.  

(3) Western Oregon University, through the President and 
other administrative officers designated by her/him, is hereby 
authorized to place these rules and regulations into effect and to 
provide for the enforcement thereof through the appointment of 
peace officers, public safety officers and parking attendants, 
pursuant to ORS 352.360(5).  

(4) The parking lots are for the use of faculty, staff, students, 
and guests of the Oregon University System. All persons — 
faculty, staff, students, visitors and commercial representatives — 
who park in University-owned permit parking lots must obtain and 
display a permanent or temporary permit or service permit. 
Vehicles cited for failure to display such permits are subject to 
penalty as assessed by the University. Western Foundation-owned 
property may be enforced upon request by the Western Foundation 
staff for those vehicles found in violation as defined in ORS 
98.810–812.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; 
WOU 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03 

574-085-0020 
Definitions 

(1) For the purpose of these regulations, the word “parked” 
means any vehicle which is stopped and/or waiting, regardless of 
the period of time the vehicle is stopped or whether a driver is pre-
sent, except for vehicles immobilized by traffic control, congestion, 
or accident.  

(2) The word “vehicle” or “motor vehicle” means any type of 
motor powered conveyance including, but not limited to, automo-
biles, trucks, motorcycles, mopeds and all methods of transportation 
on wheels where license registration is required by motor vehicle 
laws of Oregon.  

(3) A “permit” is a valid decal, hangtag or paper permit as rec-
ognized by Parking Services. 

(4) A “decal” is the permanent sticker affixed to a vehicle as 
recognized by Parking Services.  

(5) A “hangtag” is the type of permit that hangs from the 
rearview mirror of a vehicle as recognized by Parking Services.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-02; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-
28-03; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-085-0030 
Driver Responsibility 

(1) All persons operating vehicles on the Western campus are 
responsible for knowing and adhering to the regulations stated 
herein. The regulations are enforced 24 hours a day, seven days a 
week, unless otherwise authorized and posted by Parking Services.  

(2) The responsibility for locating a legal parking space rests 
with the operator of the motor vehicle. Lack of space is not a valid 
excuse for violating any Western parking regulation.  

(3) Persons whose motor vehicles have broken down on 
campus property must immediately notify Public Safety. Major 
mechanical repairs to vehicles on campus property are prohibited. 
Abandoned or inoperable motor vehicles remaining on campus 
property for more than 72 hours may be removed at the owner’s 
expense. Unlicensed vehicles parked on campus will be considered 
abandoned and subject to removal.  

(4) Western assumes no liability for personal injuries, injuries 
to others, or for the care and/or protection of any vehicle or its con-
tents while the vehicle is operated or parked on campus.  

(5) The vehicle registrants or users are responsible for traffic 
violations on campus involving their vehicles. Failure to pay fines 
will result in fines being placed on accounts receivable, loss of 
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parking privileges, vehicle immobilized or booted, and/or notifica-
tion of the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles when applicable.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; 
WOU 3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-02; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-
03 

574-085-0040 
Vehicle Permits and Parking Areas 

(1) All vehicles parked on the Western campus are required to 
display a recognized parking permit. Permits are not required at 
parking meters. Valid parking permits are required 24 hours per 
day, 6:00 a.m. Monday through 6:00 p.m. Friday. Permits are not 
required on Saturdays, Sundays and State recognized holidays 
except when classes are in session. Full year permits are valid from 
October 1 through September 30.  

(2) All permits may be purchased at the Cashiers Office in the 
Administration Building.  

(3) All permit fees are established in accordance with the 
Administrative Rule of the State Board of Higher Education, 580-
040-0025. The cost of the permits is established to provide 
adequate funds to cover all operating and maintenance costs and 
meet bond debt service and reserve requirements. Parking Services 
is an auxiliary self-supporting entity and receives no financial sup-
port except through established parking fees. Permit fees may 
increase yearly based on the actual costs of operation, maintenance 
and debt service.  

(4) Faculty and staff may pay for their primary and secondary 
permits by payroll deduction if arrangements are made between 
September 1 and October 1.  

(5) Western recognizes a variety of parking permits, including 
but not limited to:  

(a) “Day Permits” may be purchased for as many days as 
needed;  

(b) “Weekly Permits” are valid for five (5) working days 
(Monday through Friday);  

(c) “Monthly Permits” are valid through the same day of the 
following month;  

(d) “Term Permits” are valid through the last day of the term 
for which purchased;  

(e) “Full Year Faculty/Staff permits” are valid in all parking 
lots except East section of Lot J, J loop, and Lot N;  

(f) “Full Year Student Commuter permits” are valid in all 
parking lots except East section of Lot J, J loop, and Lot N;  

(g) “Full Year Student Resident permits” are valid only in lots 
G, J, J loop, and P. Family housing residents (Knox St. and 
Alderview) are required to display a “special permit” indicating a 
reserved space that corresponds to a housing unit.  

(h) “Motorcycle/Moped decals” are valid in marked motorcycle 
stalls only. If a motorcycle owner wishes to park in a regular stall 
they may obtain a staff, commuter or residence hall permit decal at 
the automobile rate;  

(i) A “Hangtag” may be purchased for an additional fee and is 
registered to the individual to whom it is issued. Hangtags are not 
to be used or transferred to any other person for parking on campus 
unless such use or transfer is to members of a carpool with which 
that person is affiliated and the use or transfer facilitated the 
carpool activities. It is the permit holder’s responsibility to ensure 
the hangtag is properly displayed on the rear view mirror when 
parking on Western’s campus.  

(j) “Contractor permit” may be issued to contractors and/or 
businesses involved with construction, equipment repair, etc., on 
campus;  

(k) “Emeritus/Volunteer Decals” are issued to emeritus 
faculty/staff and/or volunteers working on campus when approved 
and on file in Parking Services located within the Cashiers Office. 
The permit is a staff/faculty permit that is valid October 1 through 
September 30 annually. Volunteer permits are valid only when 
doing volunteer work for the University. Staff, faculty and students 
are not allowed to use volunteer permits to park on campus;  

(l) “Conference, Workshop and Special Event” permits and 
parking rentals are available upon request from departments or 
sponsors for distribution to conference, workshop and special 
event guests. Such events include: workshops, theater events, 
sporting events, conferences, etc., where adjacent parking lot 
enforcement is temporarily terminated or permits issued to support 
the event. (The lot is rented for a predetermined rate.) Permit rates 
are calculated according to the number of participants and duration 
of the conference/event, dates, times and the type of user;  

(m) “Temporary Disabled” permits for persons with mobility 
type injuries/illnesses will be issued for up to a week of time 
without a doctor’s note. A doctor’s note will be required for 
extended periods of time over one week. A valid permit is required 
on their vehicle. “Temporary Disabled” permit holders may use 
disabled parking stalls and parking meters without paying them on 
Western property;  

(n) “Secondary” decals may be purchased for an additional 
vehicle if a primary decal has been purchased by the same 
registered owner. Permits that are issued with the hangtag option 
are not eligible for secondary permits. Only one vehicle at a time is 
valid on Western lots. Loaner vehicle permits may not be used in 
place of secondary permits. All vehicles must be registered through 
DMV to the permit holder or their parents;  

(o) “Loaner Vehicle” permits may be obtained if a vehicle 
other than the primary decal vehicle is on campus. They are valid 
up to 15 days per year and may be obtained at the Cashiers Office. 
If 15 days are used on a loaner vehicle the decal permit holder may 
purchase a secondary decal. Loaner vehicle permits are only avail-
able after a primary decal permit has been purchased. Permits that 
are issued with the hangtag option are not eligible for loaner 
vehicle permits. If additional days past the original 15 are used, the 
day permit charge will be placed on the requester’s accounts 
receivable for each additional day that is requested;  

(p) “Department Permits” may be purchased by departments 
in blocks of 20 permits, to be given away or sold at cost, and are 
valid for one day only;  

(q) “OUS Permit” — Persons issued permits from the Oregon 
University System Board’s Office may park in all parking lots 
except meters and reserved parking stalls;  

(6) Western reserves the right to develop or change permits to 
meet parking needs.  

(7) “Government Vehicles” — Vehicles belonging to cities, 
municipalities, counties, states or federal government are not 
required to purchase a permit and may park in any recognized 
parking space, excluding reserved, meter, service vehicle or a 
parking stall for persons with disabilities.  

(8) The Oregon Military Academy (OMA) parking lot desig-
nated as “Lot O” may be used by Western as campus parking under 
the same rules and regulations governing campus, with the 
following additions: No Western permitted vehicle may park in Lot 
O from 5:00 p.m. Friday through 8:00 a.m. Monday; no overnight 
parking. Citations issued to OMA guests will be handled adminis-
tratively by the Oregon Military Academy.  

(9) “Permit Refunds” are issued on a prorated basis for full 
year permits only (secondary, replacement and paper permits are 
not refundable) and under the following conditions:  

(a) If unused, unopened (in the original packaging) and 
returned within 10 days of the beginning of the term;  

(b) Prorated for whole terms to include fall and winter terms;  
(c) If returned prior to the first 10 days of spring term;  
(d) All current permits must be returned in order to receive a 

refund;  
(e) No refund if permit purchased through payroll deduction, 

pre-tax.  
(10) “Parking Meters” are located in all major parking lots. 

Holders of valid permits may park at meters if the meter has valid 
time.  

(11) The following are instructions for properly displaying a 
permit:  
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(a) “Decal Permits” are to be located on the left rear bumper 
or outside on the left rear window where visible, using the adhesive 
on the back of the decal;  

(b) “Paper Permits” are to be located on the driver’s side dash 
and fully visible to the outside of front windshield;  

(c) “Hangtags” are to be displayed on the rear view mirror and 
visible to the outside of front windshield.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOSC 3-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-11-96; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; 
WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; WOU 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; WOU 
3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-02; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; 
WOU 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-07; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-085-0050 
Lost and Stolen Permits 

(1) Permits which are lost or stolen must be reported immedi-
ately to Parking Services. They will be replaced for a replacement 
fee only if the person to whom the permit was originally issued 
signs an affidavit of loss. A Stolen Permit Report must be filed with 
the Public Safety Office if the permit has been stolen.  

(2) Any vehicle appearing on campus with a permit listed in 
the Public Safety Office as lost or stolen will be booted or towed 
immediately upon discovery, and will be subject to a fine, towing 
and storage costs. Possession of a lost or stolen permit may be 
grounds for criminal charges and/or University disciplinary action, 
including revocation of parking privileges indefinitely.  

(3) Vehicles bearing forged or altered permits are subject to a 
fine, criminal proceedings and/or discipline by the University. The 
car will be booted, impounded and/or towed immediately on dis-
covery and all associated costs are the responsibility of the owner.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; 
WOU 3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-02; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef.  
10-28-03 

574-085-0060 
Replacement Decals and Hangtags 

Replacement decals and hangtags: A replacement decal or 
hangtag may be purchased when the original vehicle is sold, dam-
aged beyond repair, or when the decal or hangtag is lost or 
damaged. In the event a decal or hangtag is stolen, a report must be 
filed with the Public Safety Office before a replacement may be 
issued. A replacement fee will be charged for all stolen decals or 
hangtags and refunded upon apprehension of the offender. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; 
WOU 3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-02; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-085-0070 
Driving and Parking Regulations on Campus 

(1) Persons driving or parking on campus are responsible to 
read, know, and adhere to Western driving and parking regulations.  

(2) “Valid Permits” — All persons parked on campus lots 
must display a current recognized parking permit. Permits are 
required 24 hours per day Monday through Friday, excluding State 
holidays except when classes are in session. Vehicles with permits 
obscured or not clearly visible or displayed may be cited for “no 
permit.”  

(3) “Parking Availability” - Lack of or overabundance of 
parking spaces are not valid reasons for violating parking regulations.  

(4) “Parking Stalls” — Vehicles must park within indicated 
parking spaces only. Parking in any area not designated as a 
parking stall is prohibited.  

(5) “Secondary Permits” — Persons who have primary and 
secondary permitted vehicles may only have one vehicle on 
campus at a time.  

(6) “Parking Enforcement” — All parking regulations are 
enforced 24 hours per day, seven days a week. No Permit, Expired 
Meter, and Wrong Lot are not enforced on Saturdays and Sundays.  

(7) “Speed Limit” — Parking lot speed limit in all lots is 10 
MPH unless otherwise posted.  

(8) “Signage” — Persons driving or parking a vehicle are 
required to comply with all signs and pavement markings on 
campus parking lots and access roads and must drive in a safe and 
prudent manner. This includes fire lanes, crosswalks, lawns, 
loading zones, bike lanes, stop signs, and all other traffic control 
devices. (Enforcement officers will issue citations for these 
violations on University property.)  

(9) “Fire Lanes and Driveways” — Vehicles parked in fire 
zones indicated by either a yellow curb or signage are in violation 
and may be subject to a citation or impoundment at the owner’s 
expense.  

(10) “Loading Zones/15/30 Minute Zones” are available 
throughout campus for the convenience of persons loading or 
unloading their vehicle. Maximum time allowed is 15 minutes. 
Thirty (30) minute zones are available in front of Heritage Hall. 
Maximum time allowed is 30 minutes. Permits are not required in 
15/30 minute zones.  

(11) Parking spaces for persons with disabilities — All 
parking lots meet or exceed the State requirements of ORS 447.233 
for disabled parking availability. Violation of these statutes will 
result in a fine as specified in ORS 811.625. Persons with disabled 
placards, permits or license plates are required to purchase or have 
on their vehicles a valid Western parking permit.  

(12) “Vehicle Impoundment” — Western reserves the right to 
boot and/or impound vehicles that: have three (3) or more unpaid 
citations or $100 or more owed in unpaid parking citations; are 
parked in fire lanes, loading zones, entry ways or driveways that 
prevent the safe continual flow of pedestrian or vehicle traffic; 
cause imminent danger; have been abandoned in excess of 72 
hours; have stolen or misused permits; and are being driven or are 
owned by persons in violation of criminal trespass and other 
Oregon Revised Statutes and authorized by a Western Administration 
level official who deems it in the best interest of the University. 
Release of a booted, towed or impounded vehicle will be made 
upon cash payment of all outstanding fines with Parking Services 
located within the Cashiers Office.  

(13) “Recreational Vehicle” — RVs and trailers are not autho-
rized to park on campus overnight with the intent to reside in the 
vehicle, based on Monmouth City Ordinance 62.330.  

(14) “Compact” vehicle parking — Vehicles parking in spaces 
marked “COMPACT” must not exceed 5 feet 6 inches in height 
and 15 feet 6 inches in length.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; 
WOU 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; WOU 3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-
02; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-085-0080 
Pedestrian Traffic 

(1) Right of Way. Pedestrian traffic shall have the right of way 
over vehicular traffic in any place in the parking lots, or in any of 
the University-controlled street areas. 

(2) Trespassing. Trespassing in the University-controlled 
parking lots or street areas may be subject to arrest for criminal 
trespass under ORS 164.243 and 164.245. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98 

574-085-0090  
Parking Review Committee 

(1) The Parking Review Committee (PRC) shall act in an 
advisory capacity and is coordinated by the Parking Services Coor-
dinator or designee. The purpose of the committee is as follows:  

(a) Provide recommendations to create or modify traffic 
policies and procedures on campus; 

(b) Act as a quasi-judicial hearing body to arbitrate matters 
concerning enforcement, parking citations and traffic violations 
issued by Western officers; 
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(c) Provide recommendations to Parking Services that will 
enhance the ability of the office to meet campus needs and plan 
annual goals and objectives; 

(d) Help facilitate system changes among the constituents on 
campus. Assist in making recommendations and changes in campus 
rules as they apply to parking lots, safety and system improvements.  

(2) Parking Services policies related to personnel, organization, 
structure and fiscal decisions are not subject to Parking Committee 
Review and are the responsibility of the Director of Business Ser-
vices and/or the President.  

(3) During the academic school year, meetings shall be sched-
uled monthly and include written meeting minutes of all committee 
review recommendations and decisions. Generally an employee of 
Parking Services shall be present to act as staff to the committee.  

(4) The Parking Review Committee will include members 
from the faculty, student body and full time classified staff. All 
members will be subject to final confirmation by the President or 
the President’s designee.  

(5) Each member of the Parking Review Committee will be 
appointed for a period of two years. Terms of office will be 
staggered to provide continuity.  

(6) The Parking Services Coordinator or designee, being 
responsible for the enforcement of these regulations, will be an ex-
officio (non-voting) member of the PRC, serving as an advisor 
concerning parking problems on the campus.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; 
WOU 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; WOU 3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-
02; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-07 

574-085-0100 
Penalties for Offenses 

(1) All fines are subject to annual change based on enforcement 
expenses. (Refer to OAR 574-050-0005 for amounts.): 

(a) “No permit” — No valid permit visible in or on vehicle (7 
a.m.–5 p.m.); 

(b) “No permit” — No valid permit visible in or on vehicle (5 
p.m.–7 a.m.); 

(c) “Loading/Reserved Space/15/30 minute zones”; 
(d) “Fire Lanes and Driveways” — parked in marked or 

posted area; 
(e) “Misuse or altered permit” — altered, counterfeited, 

defaced, transferred to different vehicle, false vehicle information 
provided, misused; 

(f) “Expired Meter”; 
(g) “Parking on grass/sidewalks”; 
(h) “Failure to comply with street/lot signs” including traffic 

signs on institution property; 
(i) “Not a designated stall”; 
(j) “Wrong lot” — parked in other than designated lot; 
(k) “Permit not properly displayed/affixed to vehicle”; 
(l) “Vehicle Impoundment/Boot”; 
(m) “Disabled Space” — Parking in a space designated for 

persons with disabilities (ORS 811.615(5)); 
(n) “Blocking Disabled Space/Area”; 
(o) “Other” — including but not limited to parking in reserved 

spaces, or taking two spaces. 
(2) Failure to pay fines within 10 working days will result in a 

service charge.  
(3) Vehicles receiving five or more citations may have their 

parking privileges revoked.  
(4) Improper driving including, but not limited to, such 

offenses as: reckless driving, driving while intoxicated, speeding, 
driving the wrong way on a one way street, failing to stop at stop 
signs, driving on grass or landscaped areas, excessive noise, other 
offenses not specified herein which are violations of the motor 
vehicle laws and ordinances of the State of Oregon or the City of 
Monmouth. Violators are subject to prosecution in the appropriate 
state or municipal court or through the Student Conduct Court or 
Student Judicial Board.  

(5) Persons with vehicles receiving a citation in a metered 
zone are subject to additional citations being issued when it is doc-
umented that the vehicle has not been moved in more than two 
hours.  

(6) Persons with vehicles that have received a citation, and 
have not taken steps to correct the violation, are subject to 
additional citations.  

(7) Vehicles that are in violation and have received a citation 
may not be issued an additional citation unless the driver of the 
vehicle is made aware of said violation.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; 
WOU 3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-02; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-
03; WOU 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-07 

574-085-0110 
Enforcement and Appeals 

(1) All penalties prescribed in 574-085-0050, other than viola-
tions referred to appropriate courts of law as provided in paragraph 
(4) will be administratively enforced by Western. A traffic citation 
of notice of offense, together with the scheduled fine, will be given 
to the violator or placed on the violator’s vehicle.  

(2) All appeals must be submitted within 10 working days 
from the date of the citation. Appeals submitted after 10 working 
days will not be considered for review/appeal unless the person can 
prove they are indigent, at which time the appeal date may be 
extended.  

(3) The following types of reasons are not acceptable grounds 
for appeal:  

(a) Lack of knowledge of the regulations, for example, “new 
to campus” or “did not read regulations;”  

(b) Other vehicles were also parked improperly;  
(c) Late to class or appointment;  
(d) Disagreement with or inability to pay the amount of the 

fine(s);  
(e) Lack of space;  
(f) Unread or misunderstood signs.  
(4) Fines for cited violations shall be paid to the Western 

Business Office, unless otherwise indicated on the citation, in the 
amount of the fine posted, and a “Petition for Parking Citation 
Appeal” filed within 10 working days after the citation is issued.  

(5) Any person wishing to appeal a citation must prepare a 
“Petition for Parking Citation Appeal” for a hearing, indicating 
why the citation should not be enforced. Petition forms are 
available at Parking Services located within the Cashiers Office in 
the Administration Building. The citation must be paid and the 
form filed within 10 working days of citation issuance. Staff, 
faculty, and students may have the citation charge placed on their 
account in lieu of paying by cash or check. Payment of the 
citation(s) must accompany the appeal before it will be reviewed 
for persons other than staff, faculty, and students. Those appeals 
received in writing that do not indicate a desire to appear before the 
Parking Review Committee (PRC) will be handled administratively 
by Parking Services or designee.  

(6) A person appealing the citation must appear before the 
PRC to present his/her case. In the event a person is unable to 
appear before the PRC, the appeal will be reviewed in his/her 
absence.  

(7) In considering appeals, the PRC will have full authority to:  
(a) Dismiss the violation (excluding handicap violations);  
(b) Find the individual not guilty of the violation on the 

citation;  
(c) Find the individual guilty of the violation and either 

impose the fine stipulated in these regulations or impose a lesser 
fine;  

(d) Enter a finding of guilty and, without imposing a fine, 
issue a reprimand or warning, or impose a fine but suspend its pay-
ment during a fixed probationary period;  

(e) Find the individual guilty of the violation and reduce the 
fine to an administrative fee for dismissing the citation.  
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(8) A student who fails to pay for a violation on or before 10 
working days after citation issuance will have a service charge 
added to their accounts receivable and forfeit the right of appeal 
unless extenuating circumstances arise where a person can prove 
they had no knowledge of the issued citation.  

(9) The student’s registration packet and enrollment may also 
be withheld if any penalties under these regulations remain unpaid 
at the time of registration.  

(10) Any person who fails to pay for any citation within 10 
working days will have a service charge placed on accounts receiv-
able and will forfeit their right to appeal.  

(11) If a guest receives a citation for “no permit,” it may be 
waived if Parking Services is notified immediately and there are 
extenuating circumstances where the guest was not aware of the 
permit requirements. The person must demonstrate proof of being 
a guest and had no knowledge of parking regulations.  

(12) A person receiving a citation for “no permit” may have it 
dismissed if a full year primary permit is purchased within 10 
working days of citation issuance. Only one citation may be dis-
missed per person per year.  

(13) Departments which have guests, visitors, speakers, etc., 
are required to have parking permits for their guests upon arrival. 
In the event a citation is issued to a department guest, the Cashiers 
Office will defer the citation to the department.  

(14) Certificate of Dismissal — Every vehicle receiving a 
citation for “no permit” or “expired meter” will receive a certificate 
of dismissal that entitles the vehicle driver to purchase a full year 
primary permit in lieu of paying the fine. The certificate also 
allows guests receiving a citation for “no permit” to have the 
citation dismissed if information can be provided indicating they 
were not aware of the parking regulations. Certificates of dismissal 
are not valid for secondary or replacement permits. Only one dis-
missal per person per year will be issued. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOSC 3-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-11-96; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; 
WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; WOU 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; WOU 
3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-02; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; 
WOU 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-07; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-085-0120 
Permit Types 

(1) Permit prices may be adjusted annually to meet bond 
indebtedness, staffing needs, maintenance, capital improvements 
and forecasted revenue adjustments. All permits have associated 
permit costs. Refer to OAR 574-050-0005 for amounts.  

(a) Decals  
(b) Hangtags 
(c) Paper  
(2) Conference parking arrangements can be made by the con-

ference planner through Parking Services.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & 352.360 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; 
WOU 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; WOU 3-2002, f. 10-7-02, cert. ef. 10-15-
02; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03; WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

574-085-0130 
Nonpayment of Fines 

(1) A student who fails to tender payment in full to the Uni-
versity for any parking violations received, or fails to appeal as 
specified on or before the date specified in the traffic citation, will 
have the fine deducted from any credits/refunds and may be subject 
to vehicle boot or tow.  

(2) Students may have their transcripts withheld or may have 
their registrations canceled or may be denied graduation if any 
fines or fees under these regulations are unpaid.  

(3) A faculty or staff member who receives a parking citation 
will have the fine posted to the accounts receivable system at the 
Business Office.  

(4) Drivers of vehicles bearing forged, altered or stolen 
permits, may be denied parking privileges for a period of one year. 

Six or more violations resulting in non-payment of citations in a 
fiscal year may be cause for forfeiture of a parking permit. Failure 
to forfeit a parking permit or to comply with the instructions 
against driving a vehicle within the boundaries of the University 
campus may result in the violator’s vehicle being towed or booted.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & 351.072 
Hist.: WOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-16-92; WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-
94; WOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-98; WOU 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-99; 
WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-03 

574-085-0140 
Bicycle Regulations 

(1) Bicycles must be operated in a safe manner and be 
equipped in accordance with applicable state laws and city ordi-
nances. Bicyclists shall maintain a safe speed and shall obey all 
applicable Signage and state, city, and campus laws and regulations 
regarding bicycle use.  

(2) Bicycles must be equipped with a brake that enables the 
operator to make the braked wheels skid on dry, level, clean pave-
ment.  

(3) A bicycle or its rider must be equipped with lighting 
equipment that must be used during hours of darkness and during 
limited visibility conditions. The lighting equipment required 
includes:  

(a) A white light attached to the front of the bicycle, visible 
from a distance of at least 500 feet; and  

(b) A red reflector or lighting device or material attached to 
the rear of the bicycle, visible from a distance of at least 600 feet.  

(4) Bicycles must not be operated on sidewalks or other walk-
ways unless Signage indicates otherwise.  

(5) Bicycles may be parked, stored, or left on campus only in 
areas so designated by bicycle racks, Signage or storage. All 
bicycles, regardless of owner, must be maintained in working order 
while parked on campus. Bicycles parked at bicycle racks at or 
near academic or research buildings longer than five days will be 
considered abandoned and will be impounded.  

(6) Bicycles users may be cited for:  
(a) Improper or unsafe operation of a bicycle including failing 

to obey a traffic control device, having more persons on a bicycle 
than it is designed to hold, riding encumbered, and riding faster 
than the posted speed limit;  

(b) Use of improper or inadequate equipment including no 
bicycle headlight, no rear reflector or lighting device, and no 
bicycle helmet for riders under 16 years of age;  

(c) Being parked in a way that creates a hazard including 
blocking the bicycle or traffic lane, blocking access to any 
stairway, ramp or doorway, and blocking access to any handrail or 
other device used to aid entry to a building or structure;  

(d) Being parked in a way that hinders the use of a bicycle 
parking device by other bicyclists;  

(e) Being parked in buildings except in designated bike 
rooms;  

(f) Any other violations of these regulations or applicable 
state law and city ordinances.  

(7) Bicycles may be impounded by the Campus Public Safety 
office if left in a place that creates a safety hazard or if they appear 
to be non functional or abandoned. A notice of impoundment will 
be sent to the registered bike owner, if known, within 24 hours. 
Campus Public Safety at Western will not be liable for the cost of 
repair or replacement of a securing device damaged when removing 
and impounding a bicycle.  

(8) All bicycles that are operated, parked, or stored on campus 
by students, staff, or faculty may be registered with the Campus 
Public Safety office at Western.  

(9) Registrants and owners are responsible for parking viola-
tions involving their bicycles on campus.  

(10) Bike lockers may be available for rent on an annual or 
term basis; fees may be adjusted annually to meet maintenance, 
staffing needs, and forecasted revenue adjustments. Please refer to 
OAR 574-050-0005 for amounts. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.072 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, 351.072 & 352.360 
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Hist.: WOU 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 

DIVISION 90 

ACCESS TO STUDENT HOUSING AT 
WESTERN OREGON UNIVERSITY 

574-090-0000 
Purpose Statement 

Western Oregon University has established this rule to inform 
the general public of the University’s policies and procedures 
involving access to student housing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist: WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-94; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-
03 

574-090-0010 
Family Housing Definitions 

(1) “Family Housing” refers to all apartments operated by 
Western Oregon University which are rented to students and 
faculty/staff in transition who qualify under these rules to rent such 
apartments, including all grounds and buildings used by said 
tenants and/or University Residences staff in the operation and 
administration of the Family Housing program.  

(2) “Family” is a couple recognized as legally married under 
Oregon law, whether or not with dependent child/children, [or] an 
unmarried person with legal custody of dependent child/children, 
or a student/faculty/staff member and his/her domestic partner; the 
components of the family unit must reside together.  

(3) “Dependent” is anyone meeting the dependent definitions 
as outlined in the Internal Revenue Code.  

(4) “Domestic Partnership” is defined as a legal or personal 
relationship between individuals who live together and share a 
common domestic life but are not joined in a traditional marriage, a 
common-law marriage, or a civil union. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist: WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-94; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-
03; WOU 2-2006, f. & cert. ef. 8-7-06 

574-090-0020 
Family Housing Access Qualifications 

(1) A student is eligible to apply for and maintain residence in 
family housing if the student:  

(a) Is admitted to Western Oregon University with full time 
status and in good standing;  

(b) Is a member of a “family” as defined in OAR 574-090-
0010 and who agrees to supply to the University custody papers, 
birth certificates, marriage license, letters of admission, proof of 
domestic partnership, and other relevant documents as required;  

(c) Has executed the housing contract.  
(2) A faculty/staff member is eligible to apply for residence in 

family housing if the faculty/staff member is in the first year of a 
transition to WOU as an employee. Family housing for faculty/staff 
members is limited to a one-year contract. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist: WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-94; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-
03; WOU 2-2006, f. & cert. ef. 8-7-06 

574-090-0030 
Family Housing Space Assignment 

Family housing space is assigned:  
(1) On a first-come first-served basis to any student, faculty or 

staff member meeting the Family Housing Access Qualifications 
outlined in OAR 574-090-0020;  

(2) As vacancies become available. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist: WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-94; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-
03; WOU 2-2006, f. & cert. ef. 8-7-06 

574-090-0040 
Family Housing Access Termination 

(1) For student occupants, termination of family housing 
access will be in accordance with the housing contract.  

(2) For faculty/staff occupants, termination of family housing 
access will be one year from the date of check-in. Exceptions to 
this guideline must be filed by petition with the Office of 
University Residences. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist: WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-94; WOU 2-2006, f. & cert. ef. 8-7-06 

574-090-0050 
Residence Hall Eligibility 

(1) During the regular academic year, room assignments are 
contingent upon the applicant being accepted for admission to the 
University.  

(2) The applicant must be registered as a full time student in 
good academic standing to remain eligible to live in the residence 
halls.  

(3) Priority for room assignments will be as follows:  
(a) First priority is given to first-year-out-of-high school 

freshman applicants based upon the date the application and 
required fee are received by the WOU University Residences 
Office;  

(b) Second priority is given to currently housed residents 
returning for an additional year who have signed up for a room dur-
ing the advertised period; and  

(c) Third priority is given to other new resident applicants 
based upon the date the application and required fee are received 
by the WOU University Residences Office.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist: WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-94; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef.  
10-28-03 

574-090-0060 
Residence Hall Housing Contract 

(1) Each applicant for residence hall accommodations shall be 
required to sign a Housing Contract before occupying a room.  

(2) Upon petition, a resident may be released from their Hous-
ing Contract without a penalty, at the discretion of the University. 
The criteria used in the exercise of such discretion includes:  

(a) Health reasons, verified by a licensed physician and/or 
Western’s Student Health Services;  

(b) Marriage; upon receipt of a copy of the marriage certificate;  
(c) Student teaching, practicums and other University academic 

programs requiring the student to live in another community;  
(d) A qualifying replacement is found to take over the 

contract, i.e., a student who meets the eligibility requirement and 
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who has not previously contacted the WOU University Residences 

Office to make arrangements to live in the residence halls.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352  

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 

Hist: WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-94; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef.  

10-28-03 

DIVISION 95 

REVOLVING CHARGE ACCOUNT PLAN 

574-095-0010 

Revolving Charge Account Plan 

(1) Purpose Statement: Western Oregon University has estab-

lished this rule to inform the general public of the University’s 

policies governing its use of revolving charge accounts for all 

receivables due the university as permitted by OAR 580-040-0041.  

(2) Eligibility: The following are eligible to participate in the 

Revolving Charge Account Plan:  

(a) Current and past students, faculty and staff;  

(b) Any other person or entity who incurs charges, fines, or 

penalties at Western Oregon University, including but not limited 

to library fines, parking fines, facility rental charges, program user 

charges, and lease agreements.  

(3) Terms and Conditions: The terms and conditions of the 

Plan are set out in the document entitled, Western Oregon Uni-

versity Revolving Charge Account Plan, dated June 1994, which 

is hereby incorporated by reference into this permanent rule.  

(4) Plan Participation: Participants in the Plan shall sign an 

agreement to abide by the terms and conditions of the Plan, 

including repayment as required thereby, provided that participants 

incurring debts arising from fines, penalties, and the like are not 

required to sign an agreement. A participant’s acceptance of credit 

or a decision not to pay cash contemporaneously with a transaction 

shall obligate the participant to all of the terms and conditions of 

the Plan, even if the participant fails to sign an agreement.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352  

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 

Hist: WOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-94; WOU 3-2003, f. & cert. ef.  

10-28-03
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