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DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURAL RULES 

643-001-0000 
Procedure for Notice for Intended Rulemaking 

So as to provide reasonable opportunity for interested persons 
to be notified of the Commission’s proposed administrative rule-
making actions, the Commission shall give notice of proposed 
adoption, amendment or repeal of any administrative rule prior to 
any such adoption, amendment or repeal in the following manner: 

(1) By causing the notice to be published in the Secretary of 
State’s Bulletin, referred to in ORS 183.360, at least 21 days before 
the effective date of the rule; 

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on a list main-
tained by the Oregon Hop Commission, established pursuant to 
ORS 183.335(7), at least 28 days before the effective date of the 
rule; 

(3) By mailing a copy of the notice to the legislators specified 
in ORS 183.335(14) at least 49 days before the effective date of the 
rule; and  

(4) By mailing or furnishing a copy of the notice to; 
(a) The Associated Press; 
(b) Associations with an interest in the Commission’s rule-

making and publications whose readers have an interest in the 
Commission’s activities; and 

(c) Newspapers in primary production regions of the com-
modities represented by the Commission. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 576.305(12) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335(1) & 183.341(4)  
Hist.: OHC 1-1978, f. & ef. 7-6-78; HOP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-5-95; HOP 1-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-01 

643-001-0020 
IRS Retirement “Pick Up” 

(1) The commission shall designate any employee contribution 
to the Public Employees Retirement System from the employee’s 
salary as the employer’s contribution, thus “picking up” its employ-
ees’ PERS contributions for purposes of Internal Revenue Code 
26 USC § 414(h)(2). 

(2) The contribution shall be deducted directly from each 
employee’s wages or salary so that the employees do not have the 
option of receiving their contributions as wages or salary and 
making the contribution to PERS themselves. 

(3) Commission employees’ salaries, as reported for tax pur-
poses on their W-2 forms, shall be reduced by the amount of the 
PERS contributions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 576.305 
Stats. Implemented: Measure 8, General Election, 11-8-94 
Hist.: HOP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-5-95 

DIVISION 10 

GENERAL 

643-010-0010 
Assessments 

Any person who is first purchaser as defined in ORS Chapter 
576, shall deduct and withhold one and eight-tenths cents per 
pound (001.8) from the price to the producer, on and after 
September 1, 2009, on a dried weight basis, for all his/her 
purchases from the producer of hops produced in Oregon. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.325, 576.305 & 576.325  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 576.325 
Hist.: OHC 3, f. & ef. 7-23-64; OHC 5, f. 7-12-71, ef. 8-15-70; OHC 6, f. 8-2-
77, ef. 8-15-77; OHC 1-1979, f. 7-2-79, ef. 8-15-79; OHC 1-1989, f. 8-2-89, 
cert. ef. 8-15-89; OHC 1-1991, f. 6-27-91, cert. ef. 8-15-91; HOP 3-1995, f. & 
cert. ef. 8-23-95; HOP 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 8-24-98; HOP 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 
9-1-09 

643-010-0015 
Reports and Payment by First Purchaser 

(1) The assessment deducted and withheld by a first purchaser 
as required by law and OAR 643-010-0010 of this order, shall be 
reported and paid to the Oregon Hop Commission on a calendar 
monthly basis, except that the first reporting period shall be from 
August 15, 1964, to September 30, 1964, inclusive.  

(2) The assessment required by section (1) of this rule shall be 
due and payable to the Oregon Hop Commission within 30 days 
after the end of each monthly period.  

(3) Within 30 days after the end of each monthly period, each 
such first purchaser shall forward to the Oregon Hop Commission 
his remittance with his report on the reporting forms which shall be 
prescribed and furnished by such commission. The forms shall be 
signed by the first purchaser and filled in with the required data as 
shown on such forms, including the date the hops were handled, by 
the first purchaser thereof, the name and address of the producer, 
the crop year, the number of bales, the pounds of hops, and the 
assessment deducted and withheld, on each such purchase from the 
producer thereof.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 576  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 576.355 
Hist.: OHC 3, f. & ef. 7-23-64; OHC 4, f. 6-16-65, ef. 7-1-65  

643-010-0020 
Casual Sales 

Pursuant to ORS 576.325(1), casual sales by a producer of 
hops in Oregon shall not be subject to the assessment due and 
payable to the Oregon Hop Commission. Casual sales shall also be 
exempted from the inspection requirement of OAR 643-010-0025. 
“Casual Sales” for the purpose of this rule is defined to mean sale 
or sales of hops grown by an Oregon producer and sold by the pro-
ducer directly to a consumer, where the total accumulated such 
sales to all consumers during the calendar year are not more than 
100 pounds. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 576.295, 576.305(10) & 576.305(12) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 576.295, 576.305(10) & 576.305(12) 
Hist.: OHC 3, f. & ef. 7-23-64; HOP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-96 

643-010-0025 
Inspection Required 

All varieties of hops produced in the State of Oregon shall be 
inspected and certified in the State of Oregon or the State of Wash-
ington by the Federal/State Hop Inspection Service for quality and 
condition of seed, leaf, and stem prior to marketing, processing, or 
acceptance by first purchaser, whichever occurs first, but in no case 
later than November 15 of any production year, pursuant to the 

Chapter 643     Department of Agriculture, Oregon Hop Commission

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2017 Edition                                                                                      18 - 477                                                                                         (11-15-16)



Chapter 643     Department of Agriculture, Oregon Hop Commission

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2017 Edition                                                                                      18 - 478                                                                                         (11-15-16)

standards established by the Federal Grain Inspection Service of 
the United States Department of Agriculture.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 576.295, 576.305(10) & 576.305(12) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 576.295, 576.305(10) & 576.305(12) 
Hist: HOP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-96; HOP 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 8-16-02 

643-010-0030 
Penalties 

(1) In addition to the penalties prescribed in ORS 576.991, 
any person who delays transmittal of funds beyond the time set by 
a commission will pay a penalty of ten (10) percent of the amount 
due and will also pay one and one-half (1 1/2) percent interest per 
month on the unpaid balance of the assessment. 

(2) A commission may waive the penalty and interest described 
above upon showing of good cause. 

Stat. Auth.: 2003 OL Ch. 604 & ORS 576 
Stats. Implemented: 2003 OL Ch. 604 & ORS 576 
Hist.: HOP 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-04 

DIVISION 30 

COMMISSION MAKE-UP, TERMS, QUALIFICATIONS, 
TERM LIMITS, REMOVAL FROM OFFICE 

643-030-0010 
Number of Commissioners, Terms 

The Oregon Hop Commission will consist of nine commis-
sioners appointed by the Director of the Oregon Department of 
Agriculture for a term of three years or, if for a term following a 
prior term for that person, ending three years from the date of expi-
ration of any prior term.  

Stat. Auth.: 2003 OL Ch. 604 & ORS 576 
Stats. Implemented: 2003 OL Ch. 604 & ORS 576 
Hist.: HOP 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-04 

643-030-0020 
Qualifications of Commissioners 

(1) For purposes of this rule: 
(a) A “producer” is a person growing or producing within this 

state or procuring within the state, its rivers or the offshore waters, 
but not the Columbia River, for commercial handling within the 
state, a commodity for market, or receiving a share thereof as 
landowner, landlord, tenant, sharecropper, boat skipper or otherwise. 
A producer must have paid the commission assessment on the com-
modity in each of the preceding three calendar years.  

(b) A “handler” is any producer, processor, distributor or other 
person engaged in handling or marketing of or dealing in the com-
modity, whether as owner, agent, employee, broker or otherwise. A 
handler must have collected the commission assessment, if any, 
each of the preceding three calendar years. 

(2) Members of the Hop Commission will have the following 
qualifications, which will continue during the term of office of the 
member: 

(a) One member of the commission will be a member of the 
public with an active interest in the positive economic development, 
production and/or marketing of the commodity, but who is not 
associated with the production or handling of hop; 

(b) A majority of the members will be producers; 
(c) At least one member will be a handler; 
(d) All members who are not a handler or the public member 

will be producers. 
Stat. Auth.: 2003 OL Ch. 604 & ORS 576 
Stats. Implemented: 2003 OL Ch. 604 & ORS 576 
Hist.: HOP 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-04 

643-030-0030 
Removal of Commissioners 

The Commission may recommend that the Director of the 
Department of Agriculture remove a commissioner from office, 
and declare the position vacant for cause, including the following 
reasons: 

(1) Two consecutive unexcused absences, or other neglect of 
duty in office; 

(2) Use of the commission appointment for financial gain or 
to avoid financial detriment; 

(3) Unauthorized use or disclosure of confidential informa-
tion; 

(4) Conduct in violation of Oregon government standards and 
practices laws; 

(5) Misappropriation or misuse of commission funds; 
(6) Failure to satisfy one or more qualifications for appoint-

ment. 
Stat. Auth.: 2003 OL Ch. 604 & ORS 576 
Stats. Implemented: 2003 OL Ch. 604 & ORS 576 
Hist.: HOP 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-04 

643-030-0040 
Chair and Other Officers 

Annually, at the first regular meeting of the Commission at 
the beginning of the new fiscal year, the Commission will elect 
from its members a Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary 
who will serve until their successors are elected and qualified. The 
Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, or Secretary may resign as such or 
may be removed from that position by vote of five Commissioners. 
If the Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, or Secretary ceases to be a 
Commissioner, the office will be vacant and a successor will be 
selected at the next regular meeting of the Commission. The Chair 
will preside over all meetings of the Commission. The Vice Chair 
will act in lieu of the Chair when the Chair is unable to perform the 
duties of the office of Chair or while the office is vacant, the Trea-


