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DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURAL RULES 

715-001-0030 
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking 

Effective August 19, 2014: 
(1) Before permanently adopting, amending, or repealing any 

permanent rule, the Higher Education Coordinating Commission 
shall give notice of the proposed adoption, amendment, or repeal:  

(a) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin, referred to in ORS 
183.360, at least 21 days prior to the effective date of the rule;  

(b) By mailing or e-mailing, at least 28 days before the 
effective date of the rule, a copy of the notice to persons on the 
Commission’s mailing and e-mailing lists established pursuant to 
ORS 183.335(8);  

(c) By mailing or e-mailing a copy of the notice to the legisla-
tors specified in ORS 183.335(15) at least 49 days before the effec-
tive date of the rule; and,  

(d) By mailing or e-mailing a copy of the notice to persons, 
organizations, and publications identified by the Commission and 
established educational, student, and parent organizations that have 
submitted mailing or e-mailing addresses to the Commission.  

(2) Persons who wish to receive written or e-mailed copies of 
notices of proposed rulemaking from the Commission may write or 
e-mail the Commission and request that they be placed on the 
Commission’s mailing or e-mailing lists.  

(3) The Commission may update the mailing and e-mailing 
lists described in this rule annually by requesting persons to 
confirm that they wish to remain on the lists. If a person does not 
respond to a request for confirmation within 28 days of the date the 
Commission sends the request, the Commission will remove the 
person from the Commission’s mailing and e-mailing lists. Any 
person removed from the mailing or e-mailing lists will be returned 
to the mailing or e-mailing list upon request, provided that the 
person provides a mailing address or e-mailing address to which 
notice may be sent.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335, 183.341(4), & 351.728 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335  
Hist.: HECC 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-15 

715-001-0035 
Model Rules of Procedure  

Effective August 19, 2014: Pursuant to the provisions of ORS 
183.341, the Higher Education Coordinating Commission adopts 
the Attorney General’s Model and Uniform Rules of Procedure 
under the Administrative Procedure Act in effect on January 1, 
2012.  

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure 
is available from the office of the Attorney General or the Higher Education 
Coordinating Commission.]  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.341 & 351.728 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341 
Hist.: HECC 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-15
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DIVISION 10 

DELEGATING DUTIES 

715-010-0000 
Implementing ORS 348.594 to 348.615 and 348.992 

This rule implements Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 348.594 
to 348.615 and 348.992 for the purpose of providing for the protec-
tion of the citizens of Oregon and their post-secondary schools by 
ensuring the quality of higher education offered to Oregon students 
and preserving the integrity of an academic degree as a public cre-
dential. The term “manager” as used in this rule means the 
employee in the position of responsibility for managing the 
programs and activities implemented by the aforementioned laws 
and these rules. 

Stat. Auth.: 2012 SB 242 
Stats. Implemented: 2012 SB 242 
Hist.: HECC 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 8-21-13 

715-010-0015 
Delegating the Duties 

This rule is for the purpose of delegating the duties, functions, 
and powers of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission 
with respect to degree authorization, degree validation, administer 
interstate agreements and review of new academic programs under 
ORS 348.594 to 348.615 and 348.992 to the manager of these pro-
grams and activities. 

(1) Degree authorization shall be the responsibility of the 
manager, who shall have final authority with regard to: 

(a) Authorization of post-secondary schools to offer academic 
degree programs (under Oregon Administrative Rules 583-030); 

(b) Authorization of approved degree-granting schools to 
offer academic programs leading to a certificate or diploma; 

(c) Termination of any activities related to higher education 
by an education entity not authorized to offer degrees and post-sec-
ondary academic programs in Oregon and ineligible for exemption 
from authorization under Oregon statutes. 

(2) Degree validation under OAR 583-050 shall be the 
responsibility of the manager, who shall have final authority with 
regard to: 

(a) Validation of claims of degree possession and determination 
of appropriate degree use under Oregon law; 

(b) Termination of substandard or fraudulent degree activities; 
(c) Termination of activities of diploma mills operating in or 

from Oregon; 
(d) Termination of any operation in or from Oregon of post-

secondary accrediting bodies that are not recognized by the United 
States Department of Education. 

(3) Administration of any interstate agreements, such as the 
State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) shall be the 
responsibility of the executive director, which includes but is not 
limited to:: 

(a) Reviewing applications of and entering into agreements 
with educational institutions for authorization to participate in 
SARA; 

(b) Administering agreements for participation in SARA 
between the commission and an educational institution; and 

(c) Establishing application fees. The commission imposes a 
biennial fee on any educational institution applying to operate 
under or participate in SARA. The fee is based on an educational 
institution’s total enrolled full-time equivalent (FTE) as shown in 
the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System and is as fol-
lows: 

(A) Under 2,500 Enrolled FTE: $3,000. 
(B) 2,500 to 9,999 Enrolled FTE: $5,000. 
(C) 10,000 or more Enrolled FTE: $7,000. 
Stat. Auth.: 2012 SB 242, 2014 SB 1525 & 2014 HB 4018 
Stats. Implemented: 2012 SB 242 
Hist.: HECC 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 8-21-13; HECC 5-2014(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-15-14 thru 4-13-15; HECC 11-2014, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-14 

715-010-0025 
Establishing Fees for Public Record 

A fee may be imposed on any school or person requesting ser-
vices or information from the commission pertaining to the admin-
istration of its functions under ORS 348.594 to 348.615. The 
amount of the fee shall be established by the manager to recover 
designated expenses incurred by the commission in carrying out 
the administration of ORS 348.594 to 348.615. Any fees collected 
by the commission, for services that are the responsibility of the 
manager shall be deposited in the Degree Authorization Account 
established under ORS 348.601 and used exclusively for purposes 
directly related to the duties and functions of the commission under 
the authority of the manager as delegated by the commission. 

Stat. Auth.: 2012 SB 242 
Stats. Implemented: 2012 SB 242 
Hist.: HECC 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 8-21-13 

DIVISION 13 

UNIVERSITY PROGRAMS AND FINANCE 

715-013-0005 
Allotment Authority 

(1) Effective December 23, 2014, the Higher Education Coor-
dinating Commission delegates to the Executive Director, or 
designee, authority in all areas of fiscal and administrative respon-
sibility necessary for the execution of Commission policy relating 
to the allotment of funds to public universities and Oregon Health 
Sciences University. 

(2) The Executive Director, or designee, shall have the 
authority to distribute funds to public universities and to Oregon 
Health Sciences University in the amounts appropriated to the 
HECC for public universities and Oregon Health Sciences University 
by the Oregon Legislature. 

(a) Funds shall only be distributed to public universities and 
Oregon Health Sciences University for the specific purposes 
outlined in statute or by the Oregon Legislature.  

(b) This section shall be construed to apply to all distributions 
of funds by the HECC to public universities and Oregon Health 
Sciences University, including but not limited to: 

(A) Funds distributed through the Student Success and Com-
pletion Model as outlined in OAR 715-013-0025 and OAR 715-
013-0040. 

(B) Funds distributed to Oregon Health Sciences University 
for support of its Schools of Medicine, Nursing and Dentistry as 
well as to provide funds to its education, public health and rural 
health programs. 

(C) Funds distributed to state programs as authorized by law 
or legislative action. 

(D) Statewide Public Service programs as authorized by law 
or legislative action. 

(E) Funds allocated to the Sports Lottery Account as authorized 
by ORS 461.543. 

(F) Any other funds authorized by the Oregon Legislature to 
the HECC for distribution to public universities or Oregon Health 
Sciences University. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.738 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.735(3)(f), ORS 351.054(2) 
Hist.: HECC 2-2015, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-15; HECC 15-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
12-14-15 thru 6-10-16; HECC 1-2016, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-16 

715-013-0020 
General Public University Program Approval Requirements 

Effective December 23, 2014: 
(1) Definition: “Significant change” to a university’s academic 

program includes, but is not limited to, any new undergraduate or 
graduate degree program, or any existing undergraduate or graduate 
degree program that will be offered more than 40 miles from the 
site at which it is currently offered. “Significant change” to a uni-
versity’s academic program does not mean a new undergraduate or 
graduate certificate program, new minor, or a new name for an 
existing degree program. 
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(2) The Higher Education Coordinating Commission has 
responsibility for approval of significant changes to public university 
programs. 

(3) The Higher Education Coordinating Commission shall 
provide the governing boards of public universities with the stan-
dards, criteria and procedures the Commission will utilize to 
approve significant changes to a university’s academic programs. 
These criteria will include consideration of the recommendation of 
the public university seeking to make the change and will ensure 
that approved programs: 

(a) Are consistent with the mission statement of the public 
university; 

(b) Do not unnecessarily duplicate academic programs offered 
by Oregon’s other community colleges or public universities; 

(c) Are not located in a geographic area that will cause undue 
hardship to Oregon’s other community colleges or public universi-
ties; and 

(d) Are allocated among Oregon’s community colleges and 
public universities to maximize the achievement of statewide 
needs and requirements. 

(4) Requests for approval of significant changes to a university’s 
academic program must be submitted by the governing board of 
the university to the Higher Education Coordinating Commission 
prior to commencement of the program. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.728 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.089, ORS 351.735(3)(g) 
Hist.: HECC 2-2015, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-15 

715-013-0025 
Public University Support Fund Distribution 

(1) Definitions: 
(a) “Baccalaureate Degree” or “Bachelor’s Degree” is a 

degree that generally represents four years of college study, or its 
equivalent in depth and quality of learning experience, or as pro-
mulgated by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universi-
ties. 

(b) “Classification of Instructional Programs” or “CIP” code 
is a numerical identifier assigned by the National Center for Educa-
tion Statistics to an academic discipline to support tracking and 
reporting data at the field-of-study level.  

(c) “Cost Weighting” is a means by which the value of any 
Student Credit Hour or degree completion based allocation is 
adjusted to account for the relative cost to an institution of 
providing a degree or course. Cost weighting is the same at all 
institutions and is determined by CIP and by the type of course or 
degree taught or awarded. 

(d) “Current Service Level (CSL) Budget” is the calculated 
cost of continuing only current legislatively-approved programs 
into future biennia while subtracting one-time allocations as deter-
mined by the Department of Administrative Services. 

(e) “Doctoral Course” is a course completed by Ph.D. level 
students. 

(f) “Doctoral Degree” or “Ph.D.” is a degree that generally 
indicates the recipient has done, and is prepared to do, original 
research in a major discipline. Doctoral degrees usually require 
three years or more of graduate-level coursework and an original 
research thesis or project, or as promulgated by the Northwest 
Commission on Colleges and Universities. 

(g) “Dual Credit” course is that which awards secondary and 
postsecondary credit as determined by both the granting secondary 
institution and granting public university. 

(h) “Graduate Certificate” is an official recognition of less 
than one year of post-baccalaureate study, or its equivalent in depth 
and quality, or as promulgated by the Northwest Commission on 
Colleges and Universities.  

(i) “Higher Education Coordinating Commission,” “HECC” 
or “Commission” is the body established by ORS 351.715 and 
appointed by the Governor. 

(j) “Inflation” is defined as the previous full year CPI-U for 
the Portland, Oregon area as determined and defined by the US 
Bureau of Labor Statistics.  

(k) “Low Income Student” is defined as resident undergraduate 
students who have received the Pell Grant at any point during their 
time enrolled within a public university in Oregon 

(l) “Lower Division Undergraduate Course” is a course com-
pleted by freshman, sophomore, or nonadmitted undergraduate 
level students.  

(m) “Master’s Course” is a course completed by master’s 
degree, other graduate, or nonadmitted graduate level students.  

(n) “Master’s Degree” is a degree that generally represents a 
first graduate degree, including one year or more of post-baccalau-
reate study, or its equivalent in depth and quality. Professional mas-
ters degrees generally require up to two years or equivalent of 
coursework beyond the baccalaureate level, or as promulgated by 
the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities. 

(o) “Outcomes” is an indicator of student achievement or edu-
cational attainment for state funding purposes, as determined by 
the HECC. 

(p) “Professional course” is a course completed by first pro-
fessional degree students.  

(q) “Professional degree” is a degree that emphasizes applica-
tion of knowledge in the field, including three or more years of 
carefully prescribed graduate level coursework, or as promulgated 
by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities. 

(r) “Public university” or “University” is any institution of 
higher learning as defined in ORS 352.002, including; the University 
of Oregon (UO), Oregon State University (OSU), which includes 
Oregon State University’s Cascades Campus (OSU-CC), Portland 
State University (PSU), Oregon Institute of Technology (OIT), 
Western Oregon University (WOU), Southern Oregon University 
(SOU), and Eastern Oregon University (EOU). 

(s) “Public University Support Fund” or “PUSF” is the 
general fund appropriation to the HECC intended for distribution 
by HECC to public universities as defined in ORS 352.002. 

(t) “Resident” student is a student classified as such by a 
public university’s Residency Classification Officer, reviewed by 
the Inter-institutional Residency Committee, or students granted 
resident tuition under ORS 351.641 and all doctoral students.  

(u) “Rural Student” are first time-freshmen resident under-
graduate students who are graduates of an Oregon high school clas-
sified by the National Education Statistics Locale Codes as 
follows: (31) Town Fringe, (32) Town Distant, (33) Town Remote, 
(41) Rural Distant, (42) Rural Fringe, and (43) Rural Remote.  

(v) “Settle-Up” is the process by which allocations determined 
and allotted using estimated completion data are reconciled with 
finalized allocations created using actual finalized end data.  

(w) “Stop Gain” is designed to prevent an institution from 
receiving an increase in allocation in excess of a pre-determined 
threshold percentage. If the Stop Gain is triggered, the excess allo-
cation from the triggering institution is distributed proportionally 
to all non-triggering institutions. Only the amount necessary to 
bring all institutions within the Stop Gain threshold is re-distribut-
ed. 

(x) “Stop Loss” can be either a negative or positive percentage 
and is designed to prevent an institution from receiving a decrease 
in allocation beyond a pre-determined threshold. If Stop Loss is 
triggered, all institutions that receive an allocation that exceeds the 
Stop Loss threshold contribute a proportional amount of allocation 
to those institutions whose allocation fell below the Stop Loss 
threshold. Only the amount necessary to bring all institutions at or 
above the Stop Loss threshold is re-distributed. 

(y) “Student Credit Hour” or “SCH” is a unit of course com-
pletion as determined by a public university in accordance with 
standards promulgated by Northwest Commission on Colleges and 
Universities. 

(z) “Student Success and Completion Model” or “SSCM” is a 
calculation-driven mechanism for determining the proportion of 
PUSF allocated to each public university. 

(aa) “Targeted Student Populations” consist of undergraduate 
resident students which meet the criteria to be included in one or 
more of the following non-exclusive populations: (1) Underrepre-
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sented Minority students, (2) Low Income students, (3) Rural stu-
dents and (4) Veteran students.  

(bb) “Transfer student” is defined by the SCARF data 
dictionary as a resident student who has an associate’s degree or as 
defined by a public university and accepted by HECC policy or 
Administrative Rule. Transfer students shall also include any 
student admitted with college credits and completion of an accepted 
English as a foreign language test, where appropriate, as well as 
some special or probationary admissions. Transfer students do not 
include any student who graduated from high school less than 5 2/3 
months before the start of the Fall Term in which they first enroll or 
less than three months before the start of the Winter, Spring or 
Summer Term in which they first enroll regardless of how many 
college credits they have earned. 

(cc) “Underrepresented Minority students” are those resident 
undergraduate students identified in as American Indian/Alaskan 
Native, Hispanic, Pacific Islander, Black, African American or two 
or more races if one of those two or more races is one of those 
established in this definition. 

(dd) “Upper Division Undergraduate Course” is a course 
completed by junior, senior, or post baccalaureate undergraduate 
level students. 

(ee) “Veteran students” are those resident undergraduate 
demarcated in the SCARF system as a veteran of the U.S. Armed 
Forces as determined by the University in accordance with HECC 
policy and administrative rules. 

(2) Effective beginning July 1, 2015, the Student Success and 
Completion Model (SSCM) shall be the method for determining a 
public university’s allocation of the PUSF.  

(3) The SSCM will incorporate a public university’s degree 
and SCH completion information for the three most recently com-
pleted fiscal years, or projections thereof, in determining allocation 
amounts.  

(4) Whenever possible, projections will be completed on or 
about the third quarter of the prior fiscal year for the subsequent 
fiscal year that begins July 1st of the same calendar year. 
Projections may be used for determining the first quarterly 
allotment of a fiscal year. 

(5) When projections are used to determine a public university’s 
allocation, a Settle-Up procedure shall be used to prorate un-
allotted payments to adjust for finalized data. The Settle-Up proce-
dure may alter the funding allocation of a public university from 
that which was originally allocated by the HECC. A Settle-Up pro-
cedure, if used will be executed in the second quarter, or as soon as 
practicable in every fiscal year, and as approved by vote of the 
HECC. If necessary, a Settle-Up may take place in subsequent 
fiscal years but will, in general, be avoided.  

(6) The Student Success and Completion Model consists of 
three components, Mission Differentiation Funding Allocation, 
Activity-Based Allocation and Outcomes-Based Allocation. The 
methods and amounts of funds to be allocated to these three cate-
gories are established in OAR 715-013-0040 Section 2. 

(a) Mission Differentiation Funding is determined by the 
HECC. Mission Differentiation Funding supports a public univer-
sity’s activities consistent with, but not limited to, any of three cat-
egories: 

(A) Regional Support — Provides an allocation that contributes 
to the financial stability of public universities and ensures 
geographic access to public higher education for Oregonians. 
Regional Support values are established in OAR 715-013-0040 
Section 3, Table 2. 

(B) Mission Support — Provides an allocation to support 
public university programming consistent with the mission of 
public higher education as articulated in ORS 351.001. This 
Section will support efforts consistent with, but not limited to 
public services, cross-sector or cross-institutional programs, under-
girding of university operations support, specific academic programs 
or other efforts by public universities. Mission Support values are 
established in OAR 715-013-0040 Section 3 Table 2. 

(C) Research Support – Provides an allocation to support 
research activities conducted by the public universities. Research 

Support values are established in OAR 715-013-0040 Section 3 
Table 2. 

(D) Dual Credit-Dual credit provides an allocation to support 
those students who are enrolled in Dual Credit programs. The 
value of SCH awarded in Dual Credit programs are is established 
in OAR 715-013-0040 Section 4 Table 3. 

(E) Mission Differential Funding will change from fiscal year 
to fiscal year by the lessor of Inflation or the change in PUSF  
funding. 

(b) Activity-Based Allocation is determined by the total, cost 
weighted, completed, resident SCH at a public university consistent 
with the following methodology.  

(A) The most recent three-year average of resident SCH com-
pletions by CIP produced by each public university will be used to 
determine the Activity-Based Allocation.  

(B) Relative cost weights, by CIP and SCH level, will be uti-
lized to differentiate the weighted value of completed SCH. 
Relative values will be determined by the HECC for programs by 
CIP identified discipline and by level, including lower division 
undergraduate, upper division undergraduate, Master’s, and Doctoral 
levels. Relative cost weights are established in OAR 715-013-0040 
Section 5 Table 4. 

(C) The combined value of completed SCH at a public univer-
sity, relative to total completed SCH at all public universities, as 
adjusted by cost weighting will determine the proportional share of 
Activity-Based Allocation allocated to each institution.  

(c) Outcomes-Based Allocation is determined by the total cost 
weighted degrees produced, student type and priority area consistent 
with the following methodology.  

(A) The most recent three-year average of degrees conferred 
by public universities to resident students will be used to determine 
the Outcomes-Based Allocation. Degrees are categorized by level, 
including Baccalaureate, Masters, Doctoral, Professional, and 
Graduate Certificates. The HECC will determine the relative 
weighting of degrees level as established in OAR 715-013-0040 
Section 6 Table 5. 

(B) The HECC will adjust the relative value of degrees due to 
the cost of delivering these degrees. These cost weighting factors 
of degrees are established in OAR 715-013-0040 Section 7 Table 6.  

(C) The HECC will set the relative value of priority degrees 
which are of particular interest to the state of Oregon. This includes 
an emphasis on those that lead to employment in underserved high-
demand and high-reward fields or those that fill a unique need. The 
HECC will solicit input from applicable state agencies, public uni-
versities and stakeholders to evaluate the expected labor force 
needs and identify what priority degree types, if any, exist. This 
will be reexamined by the HECC no less than once every five 
years. Degree areas of particular priority to the state and their 
relative value are established in OAR 715-013-0040 Section 8 
Table 7. 

(D) Degrees awarded to resident students receiving Bachelor’s 
Degrees who represented one or more targeted student population 
characteristics identified as having lower completion rates, lower 
participation rates or other unique needs or qualifications may be 
prioritized by the HECC. The HECC will solicit input from appli-
cable state agencies, public universities and stakeholders to identify 
what priority student populations, if any, exist. These weights are 
established in OAR 715-013-0040 Section 9 Table 8.  

(E) The HECC shall discount the value of Bachelor’s Degrees 
awarded to transfer students at a rate established in OAR 715-013-
0040 Section 10 Table 9. 

(F) A degree awarded with multiple majors to one student is 
treated as a single degree in the discipline with the greatest relative 
value as established in OAR 715-013-0040 Section 7 Table 6. 

(G) The combined relative values of degree type and level, 
priority degrees, and degrees to targeted populations at a public 
university relatively to the total at all public universities will deter-
mine the proportional share of Outcomes-Based Allocation allocated 
to each public university. 

(7) The cumulative results of the Mission Differentiation 
Funding, Activity-Based Allocation and Outcomes-Based Allocation 
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shall be adjusted by the HECC during a four year phase-in period 
beginning in Fiscal Year 2016 and concluding in Fiscal Year 2020. 
This transition period is designed to maintain relative stability and 
predictability throughout the transition period. Two operations may 
be performed in determining any such adjustment: Stop Loss and 
Stop Gain. The Stop Loss and Stop Gain calculations function as 
defined in Section 1. Fiscal Year 2016 baseline figures shall be 
Fiscal Year 2015 allocations by program. Thereafter the prior year 
allocation will serve as the basis for the Stop Loss and Stop Gain 
calculation. The HECC will establish a threshold of change that 
trigger the Stop Loss redistribution of Activity-Based and Out-
comes-Based allocation. The HECC will establish a threshold of 
change that trigger the Stop Gain redistribution of Activity-Based 
and Outcomes-Based allocation. The values for Stop Loss and Stop 
Gain thresholds are established in OAR 715-013-0040 Section 11 
Table 10. 

(8) Allotments are made quarterly with timing and amounts 
determined by agreement between the HECC and the Department 
of Administrative Services.  

(9) Deference to legislative designation of specific resources 
as part of the PUSF will be computed outside of the SSCM until 
such allocations expire, are made a part of PUSF CSL budget or are 
adopted by OAR into the SSCM. 

(10) Non-PUSF income to a public university such as tuition, 
auxiliary revenue or private philanthropy will not be included in 
the SSCM. 

(11) Weighting factors and data definitions within the SSCM 
will be examined by HECC staff and stakeholders as appropriate. 
This reexamination will occur no less than once every biennium. 
During the even numbered year of every third biennium the Execu-
tive Director of the HECC will convene a workgroup of stakeholders 
and HECC staff to recommend changes to the SSCM to match the 
strategic priorities of the state of Oregon and the HECC as appro-
priate.  

(12) The HECC delegates administrative authority to the 
Executive Director or designee to operationalize the Student 
Success and Completion Model and the procedures outlined in this 
Administrative Rule 

(13) This rule shall become effective on July 1, 2015. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.735(3)(d) & 351.735(6) 
Stats. Implemented: 2013 SB 270, 2013 HB 3120, 2014 HB 4018 2014 SB 1525 
Hist.: HECC 3-2015, f. 4-15-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15; HECC 5-2015, f. 5-28-15, cert. 
ef. 7-1-15 

715-013-0040 
Public University Support Fund Distribution Factors 

(1) The purpose of this rule is to list the relative weights and 
values of factors to be used in the Students Success and Completion 
Model calculation as defined in OAR 715-013-0025. All terms are 
defined as they are in Section 1 of OAR 715-013-0025. 

(2) Mission Differentiation Allocation shall be allocated to 
institutions before Outcomes-Based and Activity-Based Allocations. 
Funds remaining within the PUSF, excepting those funds otherwise 
demarcated, after Mission Differential Funding is allocated shall 
then be allocation between Outcomes-Based Allocation and Activ-
ity-Based Allocation according to the proportion outlined below: 
[Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] The proportional funding 
split between Outcomes-Based Allocation and Activity-Based 
Allocation after Fiscal Year 2020 shall continue at same proportion 
as in Fiscal Year 2020.  

(3) The Mission Differentiation Funding allocation for Fiscal 
Year 15 is as follows. This Mission Differential Funding allocation 
shall serve as the basis for subsequent Mission Differentiation 
Allocations of the PUSF. Following Fiscal Year 2015, the Mission 
Differential Funding Allocation will change by the lesser of 
Inflation or the overall change in the PUSF except where indicated 
below: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(4) Dual Credit Student Credit Hours (SCH) will be rewarded 
as follows: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(5) The relative cost weights for SCH completions shall be as 
follows: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(6) The relative weighting for degree completions by resident 
students, by degree level, shall be as follows: [Table not included. 
See ED. NOTE.] 

(7) The Cost Weighting factors for degree completion are 
determined by CIP and degree level and shall be as follows: [Table 
not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(8) Priority degrees weighting factors, by CIP and category, 
are established as follows: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(9) The additional weights to Bachelor’s degree completions 
by resident students who are members of one or more Targeted Stu-
dent Populations shall be as follows: [Table not included. See ED. 
NOTE.] 

(10) Weights for Bachelor’s Degrees awarded to transfer stu-
dents shall be discounted as follows: [Table not included. See ED. 
NOTE.] 

(11) During the phase-in period, the HECC shall incorporate a 
Stop Loss and Stop Gain threshold as established in this section. 

(a) Stop Loss and Stop Gain thresholds are established as fol-
lows: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] Where “PUSF” is 
equal to Fiscal Year 2016 PUSF allocation less legislative designated 
funds and TRU Shared Services as a proportion of total Fiscal Year 
2015 PUSF allocation. 

(b) If, during Fiscal Year 2016 through Fiscal Year 2020 the 
year-over-year change in the PUSF is less than the Stop Loss 
threshold for that fiscal year the designated Stop Loss is reset to the 
year-over-year change in the PUSF, such that the change in funding 
level for all public universities is pro rata. 

(12) This rule shall become effective on July 1, 2015. 
[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.735(3)(d) & 351.735(6) 
Stat. Implemented: 2013 SB 270, 2013 HB 3120, 2014 HB 4018 2014 SB 1525 
Hist.: HECC 4-2015, f. 4-15-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15; HECC 6-2015, f. 5-28-15, cert. 
ef. 7-1-15 

715-013-0060 
Clinical Legal Education Funds 

(1) Definitions 
(a) “ABA-Approved Law School” is a law school approved 

by the American Bar Association (ABA) to confer Juris Doctor 
(JD) Degrees.  

(b) “Accredited Institution of Higher Education” is an institu-
tion of higher education that is accredited by an accrediting institu-
tion authorized by the US Department of Education. 

(c) “Civil Legal Services” are services provided to individuals 
for non-criminal civil matters and operated in concert with regula-
tions adopted by the Oregon State Bar pursuant to ORS 9.572. 

(d) “Clinical Legal Education Program” is the program autho-
rized by ORS 21.007 and provided by an ABA-Approved Law 
School at and Accredited Institution of Higher Education granting 
law students an opportunity to practice law in a particular area 
during their legal education. Clinical Legal Education Program 
funds are designated by the legislature on a biennial basis. 

(e) “Eligible Accredited Institution of Higher Education” is an 
Accredited Institution of Higher Education for which the HECC 
has certified its compliance with Section 5 of this OAR to receive 
Civil Legal Education Program funds. 

(f) The “Higher Education Coordinating Commission” or 
“HECC” is the body established by ORS 351.715 and appointed by 
the Governor. 

(g) “Oregon State Bar” is a public corporation established by 
ORS 9.010 to license and discipline lawyers, regulate the practice 
of law, and provide a variety of services to bar members and the 
public.  

(2) This rule allocates Civil Legal Education Program funds to 
Eligible Accredited Institutions of Higher Education. 

(3) Allocations in the first year of any biennium shall be 49% 
of the total appropriated to the Domestic Violence Clinical Legal 
Education Account. The remainder shall be allocated in the second 
year of the biennium. 

(4) Civil Legal Education Program funds are distributed in 
order to provide civil legal services to victims of stalking, domestic 
violence and assault.  
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(5) In order to be eligible for funding under this program, 
institutions must meet the following conditions; 

(a) Be an accredited institution of higher education and have 
an ABA-approved law school. 

(b) Certify that the institution has a clinical legal education 
program that includes Civil Legal Services. 

(c) Certify that the Clinical Legal Education Program represents 
clients of domestic violence, stalking or sexual assault. 

(d) Certify that the Clinical Legal Education Program operates 
in concert with at least one nonprofit service provider that provides 
advocacy services such as counseling, safety-planning and/or 
shelter to victims of domestic violence, stalking or sexual assault 
and that this provider performs victims counseling services and 
provides student training. 

(6) Once an institution certifies to the HECC their compliance 
with Section 5 they need not apply every year but must recertify 
their eligibility on an annual basis.  

(7) All institutions certified as eligible and seeking funds shall 
submit an annual report including the following: 

(a) Number of clients that are victims of domestic violence, 
stalking or sexual assault. 

(b) Nature of legal issues involved. 
(c) Outcomes of the legal issues. 
(d) Categorization of victim service between, sexual assault, 

stalking and domestic violence. 
(e) Relationship of the client to the offender. 
(f) Whether advocacy services were provided.  
(8) The HECC shall award funds to institutions on a propor-

tional basis in relation to the number of victims served. 
(a) Proportions shall be calculated on an annual basis.  
(b) If only one institution is eligible to receive funds in a given 

fiscal year, it shall receive all available funds in a given fiscal year. 
(9) The HECC will give deference to any legislative designation 

of specific resources or policy decisions when making determina-
tions on allocation of funds. 

Statutory Authority: ORS 351.735(5),  
Statutes Implemented: ORS 351.735(3)(iii)(f), 21.007 
Hist.: HECC 11-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-8-15 thru 3-5-16; HECC 14-2015, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-13-15 

715-013-0062 
Engineering Technology Sustaining Funds 

(1) Definitions 
(a) “Engineering and Technology Industry Council” or “ETIC” 

was the body established by ORS 351.663 and abolished by 
Section 5, Chapter 682 Oregon Laws 2015, for the purposes of 
improving engineering education in the state of Oregon.  

(b) The “Higher Education Coordinating Commission” or 
“HECC” is the body established by ORS 351.715 and appointed by 
the Governor. 

(c) “Historical Funding” is funding based upon a university’s 
historical allocation of ETIC Sustaining Funds in fiscal year 2015 
as approved by the Oregon Education Investment Board (OEIB).  

(d) “Oregon Education Investment Board (OEIB)” was the 
body established by section 1, chapter 519, Oregon Laws 2011 and 
appointed by the Governor. 

(e) “Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU)” is an 
independent public corporation established by ORS 353.020. 

(f) “Oregon Students, Oregon Jobs Model” is defined as the 
model that had been developed by ETIC and submitted to the 
HECC to award funds based on placement of Oregon resident 
graduates in Oregon jobs.  

(g) A “Public University” is any institution as defined in ORS 
352.002, including; Eastern Oregon University (EOU), Oregon 
Institute of Technology (OIT), Oregon State University (OSU), 
Portland State University (PSU), Southern Oregon University 
(SOU), University of Oregon (UO) and Western Oregon University 
(WOU). 

(h) “Sustaining Funds” are funds designated by the Legislature 
as legacy ETIC Sustaining Funds. 

(2) This rule allocates Sustaining Funds to Public Universities 
and OHSU for the 2015-17 biennium.  

(3) Allocations in the first year of any biennium shall be 49% 
of total appropriated for the biennium. The remainder shall be allo-
cated in the second year of the biennium. 

(4) Sustaining Funds are to be spent in support of engineering 
and technology related programs in support of Oregon industry.  

(5) Allocations shall be made by the HECC to Public Univer-
sities and OHSU for the fiscal year beginning on July 1, 2015 as 
follows; 

(a) 80% of available funds shall be allocated on the basis of 
Historical Funding. Of these funds, the allocations shall be as fol-
lows; 

(A) Eastern Oregon University shall receive $144,601. 
(B) Oregon Health Sciences University shall receive no his-

torical funding. 
(C) Oregon Institute of Technology shall receive $444,592. 
(D) Oregon State University shall $6,179,323. 
(E) Portland State University shall receive $2,410,166. 
(F) Southern Oregon University shall receive $168,447. 
(G) The University of Oregon shall receive no historical fund-

ing. 
(H) Western Oregon University shall receive $237,770. 
(b) 20% of available funds shall be allocated in the proportions 

indicated by the Oregon Students, Oregon Jobs Model. Of these 
funds, the allocations shall be as follows; 

(A) Eastern Oregon University shall receive $10,814. 
(B) Oregon Health Sciences University shall receive no funds. 
(C) Oregon Institute of Technology shall receive $513,415. 
(D) Oregon State University shall receive $862,072. 
(E) Portland State University shall receive $771,841. 
(F) Southern Oregon University shall receive $67,688. 
(G) The University of Oregon shall receive $107,892. 
(H) Western Oregon University shall receive $62,503. 
(6) Allocations shall be made by the HECC to public universi-

ties and OHSU for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2016 as fol-
lows; 

(a) Funding to each public university shall continue in 
amounts equal to those in section 5. 

(b) The additional funds available shall be allocated to institu-
tions which have not reached funding indicated in the Oregon Stu-
dent, Oregon Jobs Model. Of these funds, the allocations shall be 
as follows: 

(A) Eastern Oregon University shall receive no funds. 
(B) Oregon Health Sciences University shall receive no funds. 
(C) Oregon Institute of Technology shall receive $287,431. 
(D) Oregon State University shall receive no funds. 
(E) Portland State University shall receive $105,785. 
(F) Southern Oregon University shall receive $17,318. 
(G) The University of Oregon shall receive $77,906. 
(H) Western Oregon University shall receive $586. 
(7) The continued allocation of Historical Funding is contingent 

upon institutions maintaining performance consistent with past 
efforts. 

(8) The HECC will give deference to any legislative designation 
of specific resources or policy decisions when making determina-
tions on allocation of funds. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.735(5) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.735(3)(iiI)(f), 2015 OL Ch 682 
Hist.: HECC 8-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-8-15 thru 3-5-16; HECC 14-2015, f. 
& cert. ef. 11-13-15 

715-013-0064 
Signature Research Center Funds 

(1) Definitions 
(a) The “Higher Education Coordinating Commission” or 

“HECC” is the body established by ORS 351.715 and appointed by 
the Governor. 

(b) “Oregon Growth Business’ is defined in ORS 284.701(3) 
as an individual, group of individuals or private sector business 
entity, including but not limited to a partnership, limited liability 
company, corporation, firm, association or other business entity, 
that engages in business that furthers innovation-based economic 
development, that has the capacity, upon obtaining appropriate 
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capital, to generate significant high-skill, high-wage employment 
in Oregon and that conducts business in Oregon or an emerging 
growth business consisting of an individual or group of individuals 
or a new or small company, including but not limited to any new or 
small partnership, limited liability company, corporation, firm, 
association or other business entity, that has the capacity, upon 
obtaining appropriate capital, to generate significant high-skill, 
high-wage employment. 

(c) “Public Entity” is defined in ORS 284.701(4) as any 
agency of the federal or state government, county, city, town, 
public corporation or political subdivision in this state. 

(d) A “Public University” is any institution as defined in ORS 
352.002, including; Eastern Oregon University (EOU), Oregon 
Institute of Technology (OIT), Oregon State University (OSU), 
Portland State University (PSU), Southern Oregon University 
(SOU), University of Oregon (UO) and Western Oregon University 
(WOU). 

(e) “Research Institution” is defined in ORS 284.701(5) to 
include Community Colleges, Public Universities, Oregon Health 
and Science University, Oregon-based generally accredited non-
for-profit private institutions of higher education, federal research 
laboratories conducting research in Oregon, private not-profit 
research institutions located in Oregon, institutions for higher edu-
cation as defined in ORS 289.005 or private institutions of higher 
education located in Oregon. 

(f) “Signature Research Centers” are those authorized under 
ORS 284.740 to maximize collaborative ventures between Research 
Institutions, Public Entities and Oregon Growth Industries. Signature 
Research Center funds are designated by the Legislature. 

(2) This rule allocates Signature Research Center funds to 
Public Universities.  

(3) Allocations in the first year of any biennium shall be 49% 
of the total appropriated. The remainder shall be allocated in the 
second year of the biennium. 

(4) Signature Research Center funds are to be spent on 
expenses related to collaborative ventures among Research Institu-
tions, Public Entities and Oregon Growth Businesses that seek to 
capitalize on opportunities to obtain private and federal funding for 
the research and development of innovation-based economic devel-
opment. 

(5) The University of Oregon and Oregon State University 
shall each receive 47.5% of all appropriated funds each biennium 
and Portland State University shall receive 5% of all appropriated 
funds. 

(6) The HECC will give deference to any legislative designation 
of specific resources or policy decisions when making determina-
tions on allocation of funds. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.735(5), 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.735(3)(iii)(f), 284.720, 284.701 
Hist.: HECC 10-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-8-15 thru 3-5-16; HECC 14-2015, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-13-15 

715-013-0066 
Dispute Resolution Center Funds 

(1) Definitions 
(a) “Dispute Resolution Account” is an account established in 

the state treasury by ORS 36.145 to appropriate funds for the pur-
poses outlined in ORS 36.135, 36.175 and 36.179 to the University 
of Oregon and Portland State University. 

(b) “Dispute Resolution Programs” are programs authorized 
by ORS 36.100, 36.135, 36.155 and 36.179 for the purposes indi-
cated in 36.105. Dispute Resolution Program funds are designated 
by the legislature. 

(c) “Dispute Resolution Services in Counties” are established 
under standards adopted by the Board of Trustees of the University 
of Oregon pursuant to ORS 36.155. 

(d) The “Higher Education Coordinating Commission” or 
“HECC” is the body established by ORS 351.715 and appointed by 
the Governor. 

(e) “Mediation and Alternative Means of Dispute Resolution” 
is the program authorized by ORS 36.179 providing mediation and 
other alternative dispute resolution services to public bodies at the 

Mark O Hatfield School of Government at Portland State Universi-
ty. 

(f) A “Public University” is any institution as defined in ORS 
352.002, including; Eastern Oregon University (EOU), Oregon 
Institute of Technology (OIT), Oregon State University (OSU), 
Portland State University (PSU), Southern Oregon University 
(SOU), University of Oregon (UO) and Western Oregon University 
(WOU). 

(2) This rule allocates Dispute Resolution Program funds to 
Public Universities. 

(3) Allocations in the first year of any biennium shall be 49% 
of the total appropriated to Dispute Resolution Programs. The 
remainder shall be allocated in the second year of the biennium. 

(4) Dispute Resolution Program funds for the University of 
Oregon are to be spent in compliance with standards adopted pur-
suant to ORS 36.155 and in compliance with state policy pursuant 
to 36.100 and 36.105. 

(5) Dispute Resolution Program funds for Portland State Uni-
versity are to operate the program authorized in ORS 36.179 and in 
compliance with state policy pursuant to ORS 36.100 and 36.105. 

(6) The University of Oregon shall receive 65% of Dispute 
Resolution Program funds each biennium and Portland State Uni-
versity shall receive 35% of Dispute Resolution Program funds. 

(7) The HECC will give deference to any legislative designation 
of specific resources or policy decisions when making determina-
tions on allocation of funds.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.735(5), 36.100, 36.135, 36.145, 36.155, 36.179 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.735(3)(iii)(f), 36.105, 36.145 
Hist.: HECC 9-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-8-15 thru 3-5-16; HECC 14-2015, f. 
& cert. ef. 11-13-15 

DIVISION 15 

SEXUAL ORIENTATION DATA 

715-015-0005 
Collection and Reporting of Sexual Orientation Data 

Public universities listed in ORS 352.002 shall collect, report, 
and retain voluntarily submitted information on the sexual orienta-
tion, gender and gender identity, and legal sex of students and 
employees in a manner established by the Commission. Universities 
shall report this data to the Higher Education Coordinating Com-
mission, Office of Research and Data by June of every year. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.274 
Stats. Implemented: 2015 SB 473 
Hist.: HECC 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-16 

DIVISION 45 

PRIVATE CAREER SCHOOLS 

715-045-0001 
Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR 715-045-0001 through 
715-045-0210, unless otherwise indicated by the context: 

(1) “Ability to benefit” is a term used in reference to federal 
Title IV federal student aid regulations and the methods of deter-
mining whether a student has the requisite academic skills necessary 
to successfully complete a program of study, to be used only for the 
purposes of establishing eligibility for Title IV funding. 

(2) “Addendum” used in reference to a school’s catalog means 
a separate document that contains revisions of policies or other 
information appearing in the school catalog. Information listed in 
an addendum to a catalog should be incorporated into the catalog at 
the next printing of the catalog. An addendum does not include 
errata, but errata can appear on the same page as addendum infor-
mation, if properly labeled. 

(3) “Advertising” means any form of public notice used in 
recruiting and promoting activities, however disseminated, including 
but not limited to print media, catalogs, and other school publica-
tions, signs, mailing pieces, radio or television ads, audiovisual 
material, and the internet on behalf of a licensed school. 
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(4) “Agent” has the meaning given in ORS 345.010(1). 
(5) “Application for admission” or “admission application” 

means a form, separate from the enrollment agreement, which is 
submitted by an applicant prior to the signing of the enrollment 
agreement and evaluated by the school for admission purposes. 
Schools may charge a non-refundable application fee; however, the 
fee must be clearly identified on the application. 

(6) “Application fee,” when used in reference to a school’s 
admissions process, or “admission fee” means the initial fee 
charged by a school to cover those expenses incurred by the school 
in establishing an admissions file for a prospective student. The 
application or admission fee is not inclusive of and does not 
preclude other fees necessary to assess the suitability of a student 
for the intended program, or that student’s appropriate level of 
placement in the program based on prior training, education, or 
experience. At the school’s option, the application fee may be non-
refundable. The school shall not charge an application fee of more 
than $50.00. 

(7) “Approved” means accepted by the Higher Education 
Coordinating Commission or by the commission’s executive 
director in matters relating to school licensing requirements. 

(8) “Assessment” or “Performance Assessment” when used in 
reference to the instructional program, as outlined in OAR 715-
045-0009, means a performance-based evaluation of an applicant’s 
progress towards mastery of the stated competencies of the instruc-
tional program. 

(9) “At-risk” means the school demonstrates a pattern or 
history of one or more of the following conditions that the 
Executive Director of the Higher Education Coordinating Com-
mission determines, may cause potential serious problems for the 
continued successful and profitable operation of the organization: 

(a) Failure to meet the standards of financial responsibility or 
reporting; 

(b) Misrepresentation; 
(c) Frequent substantiated complaints filed with the Higher 

Education Coordinating Commission; 
(d) A decrease in enrollment from the previous reporting 

period of 50 percent or more or 25 students, whichever is greater; 
(e) Staff turnover from the previous reporting period of 50 

percent or more or three staff, whichever is greater; and 
(f) If conditions listed in paragraphs (d) and (e) of this subsec-

tion can be shown to be caused by unusual circumstance or reason 
the school may request an exemption from an “at risk” designation. 
Exemption request will be evaluated by the Executive Director of 
the Higher Education Coordinating Commission. 

(10) “Auxiliary facility” means a facility that does not use or 
list its address as a school location and: 

(a) Absorbs a temporary overload that the principal facility 
cannot accommodate; or 

(b) Provides a specialized training facility away from the prin-
cipal school location; or 

(c) Provides training under contract that is not open to general 
enrollment; or 

(d) Is a site approved by the Higher Education Coordinating 
Commission for teaching a short-term course that is taught by reg-
istered teachers from the principal facility. 

(11) “Barbering” has the meaning given in ORS 690.005. 
(12) “Bona fide organization or group” means any body or 

entity that is nationally chartered or recognized by a national or 
state educational/occupational policy board that has operated or 
functioned in good faith without fraud or deceit for at least 25 
years. 

(13) “Capacity to complete” means that a student has the cog-
nitive or physical capacity to complete a program of study, with or 
without reasonable accommodations, and become employment eli-
gible in the specific field of training for which they are enrolling. A 
school has an obligation to determine whether applicants have 
capacity to complete during the admissions process, and to assess 
this capacity when information is obtained or received by the 
school through any means which suggests the student may not have 
capacity to complete the program. Any information obtained shall 

be treated as confidential and kept in a secure manner. Capacity to 
complete must be assessed before enrollment is completed; 
however, if information is received by the school after instruction 
has commenced that cognitive or physical circumstances exist that 
may impede a student’s satisfactory progress through their program 
of study, capacity to complete must be assessed immediately after 
receipt of such information, and appropriate adjustments, accom-
modations, or tuition refunds made. 

(14) “Chairperson” means the person who is responsible for 
overseeing the business of the advisory committee. 

(15) “Class” means a scheduled meeting of persons for 
instructional purposes. 

(16) “Clinic lab” or “clinic floor” means a place where 
students perform assigned instructional tasks identified in the 
approved curriculum on models or the general public. 

(17) “Completion” means the student has satisfactorily finished 
all the requirements of the program in which he or she is enrolled, 
has fulfilled the terms of the enrollment agreement, and has been 
awarded an appropriate certificate, diploma, or completion docu-
ment. 

(18) “Continuing education” means the enrollment in and 
completion of ongoing instruction outside the normal teaching 
schedule, which upgrades a teacher’s skills and knowledge with 
the intent of making the teacher more proficient and current in sub-
ject matter taught, instructional methodology, or other skills and 
knowledge relevant to the teaching of adult learners. 

(19) “Course” means an aggregation of classes to achieve a 
completed set of competencies. 

(20) “Discount” means a specified amount of money to be 
deducted at the time of enrollment from the costs associated with 
an instructional program, according to a specified set of criteria. 
The criteria and details of any discounts offered by a school will be 
given to all persons eligible to receive the discount, and documented 
and maintained as part of a school’s approved advertising. A 
discount that is granted must be listed as a discount on the 
enrollment agreement, and is not revocable. 

(21) “Discrimination” means any act that unreasonably differ-
entiates treatment, intended or unintended, or any act that is fair in 
form but discriminatory in operation, either of which is based on 
age, disability, national origin, race, color, marital status, religion, 
sex or sexual orientation, or any other protected class. 

(22) “Distance learning instruction” means education provided 
by written correspondence or any electronic medium for students 
enrolled in a private career school in pursuit of an identified occu-
pational objective, but not attending classes at an approved school 
site or training establishment. 

(23) “Enrollment” means a student has agreed to the purchase 
of a course or program of instruction offered by a school and has 
signed an enrollment agreement, however named, that commits 
both the student and the school to a legal and binding obligation. 
Instruction in a program or course may not begin without a signed 
enrollment agreement in place. 

(24) “Enrollment fee” means the fee a school charges that 
covers those expenses incurred by a school in processing the 
student enrollment agreement and establishing a student records 
system. The enrollment fee is limited to 15% of the total tuition 
cost, or $150, whichever is less, and is identified as an enrollment 
fee on the student enrollment agreement. 

(25) “Errata” in reference to a school’s catalog means a listing 
of errors appearing in a school’s published catalog and the correc-
tions of those errors. Errors do not include revisions to policies or 
other information in the catalog. Errata may be published only via 
electronic means, at the discretion of the school, in which case a 
reference in the school catalog must be included that specifies the 
URL or website where errata may be found. Errors included on the 
errata list should be corrected in the next printing of the school’s 
catalog. 

(26) “Esthetics” has the meaning given in ORS 690.005. 
(27) “Evaluation fee” means any fee, however named, covering 

those expenses incurred by a school in evaluating a prospective 
student’s prior training, education, experience, or other indicators 
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of beginning level of mastery in technical program competencies 
before enrolling in a program of instruction at the school, or for 
other uses of an assessment for competency evaluation (e.g., 
licensing reciprocity) approved by the Executive Director of the 
Higher Education Coordinating Commission. The evaluation fee 
shall not exceed the reasonable costs incurred by the school in 
administering and scoring the assessment, preparing official docu-
mentation, providing appropriate feedback to the applicant, and 
designing a program of study based on the assessment results (if 
applicable). 

(28) “Executive Director” means the Executive Director of 
the Higher Education Coordinating Commission, or the executive 
director’s designee. 

(29) “Fiscal reporting period” means the period of time for 
which the school provides financial information required by the 
Higher Education Coordinating Commission. The fiscal reporting 
period is identified by the school owner in the initial license appli-
cation and must remain consistent unless a written request for a 
change is approved by the Superintendent. The fiscal reporting 
period may be the calendar year or another 12-month time period. 

(30) “Fund” means the private career school Tuition Protection 
Fund (TPF). 

(31) “Grant,” as used in reference to tuition assistance, means 
actual funds made available through any source to prospective or 
enrolled students through an application process whereby applicants 
must meet predetermined criteria and may or may not be required 
to maintain a certain status or performance criteria in order to 
retain the award. For in-house grants, funds in the amount of the 
full amount of the award for grants awarded on an annual basis will 
be deposited by the school in an account separate from the school’s 
operating funds at the time of the award, or at the beginning of each 
new year of an on-going award, and drawn out by the school as the 
tuition is earned. For third party grants, all monies received by the 
school on behalf of the student will be deposited into an account 
separate from the school’s operating funds and drawn out as the 
tuition is earned. In-house grants are revocable only in the amount 
that has not been earned by the student, according to the terms of 
the grant award, which are to be articulated to the recipient of the 
award and agreed upon by signature through an official award 
letter. The signed award letter will be kept in the student’s file, and 
a copy given to the student. Any grant awarded a student from any 
source will be documented on the enrollment agreement as a grant 
at the time of the award. If the award is made after the initial enroll-
ment agreement has been signed, a rider to that agreement must be 
executed and attached. 

(32) “Gross tuition income” means all direct tuition charges 
from programs for which the school is licensed under OAR chapter 
715, division 45, including any laboratory fee. Total gross tuition 
income does not include: 

(a) Tuition refund; 
(b) Enrollment and application fees; or 
(c) Costs for books, supplies, tools, and equipment purchased 

by students. 
(33) “Hair design” has the meaning given in ORS 690.005. 
(34) “In default” is defined in ORS 345.115(5) as “when a 

course or program is discontinued or canceled or the school closes 
prior to completion of contracted services.” 

(35) “Incentive,” as used in reference to tuition assistance, 
means a monetary reward or inducement offered by a school for 
the purpose of encouraging or motivating a student to perform a 
specific action, such as completing or course or instructional 
program within a certain period of time. Any terms or conditions 
that apply to an incentive must be published by the school, and 
maintained as part of the school’s approved advertising. Students 
who are working towards an incentive award will have in their file 
a copy of the terms and conditions of the incentive along with a 
record of the date each condition is satisfied. Once all conditions 
have been satisfied the incentive is considered earned and cannot 
be cancelled or revoked. A rider to the enrollment agreement must 
be prepared at the time of award detailing the application of the 
incentive to the student’s outstanding financial obligation. 

(36) “License” means a license to operate a private career 
school. 

(37) “Nail technology” has the meaning given in ORS 
690.005. 

(38) “On-site review” means a visit to the school by authorized 
staff from the Higher Education Coordinating Commission who 
may review the facilities, classrooms, and school records; talk with 
students, staff, and administrators; and determine whether the 
school is in compliance with Oregon law. 

(39) “Operating” or “operation” means any form of marketing, 
advertising, instruction, recruitment, or any other activity regulated 
under ORS Chapter 345 and OAR chapter 715, division 45. 

(40) “Placement” means the student has been employed in the 
occupation for which trained. 

(41) “Post-secondary” for the purposes of recognizing private 
career schools in Oregon as institutions of post-secondary study 
means any school licensed under ORS Chapter 345 that: 

(a) Admits as regular students, or maintains as a majority of 
its enrollment, those students who have earned a recognized high 
school diploma, the equivalent of a recognized high school 
diploma, or a GED certificate, or who are beyond the age of com-
pulsory education in the State of Oregon, and 

(b) Is authorized by the Higher Education Coordinating Com-
mission to offer one or more educational programs beyond 
secondary education. 

(42) “Probation” means that a school has been officially 
notified by the Executive Director of the Higher Education Coordi-
nating Commission that it has deficiencies that must be corrected 
within a specified time. 

(43) “Program” means an aggregation of courses to meet an 
identified occupational objective. 

(44) “Program advisory committee” means a representative 
group appointed by the school, which advises the school ownership 
and administration. 

(45) “Program improvement plan” or “school improvement 
plan” means a written plan that describes how the school will 
resolve or comply with violations of state rule or regulation 
assessed, or correct any deficiencies identified, by the Executive 
Director of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission, and 
usually includes interim outcome measures to track progress 
towards the overall improvement goals. 

(46) “Pro rata” means in accordance with a fixed proportion. 
(47) “Published Class Schedule” (for the purpose of calculating 

tuition charges) means the period of time between the commence-
ment of classes and the student’s last date of attendance as offered 
by the school and scheduled by the student. 

(48) “Recruiting” means personally soliciting or attracting a 
person or persons by a school or its agent(s) with the intention of 
actively pursuing enrollment in the school. Recruiting does not 
include leaving materials at or near an office or other site for a 
person to pick up of his or her own accord or handing a brochure or 
other materials to a person. 

(49) “Registration” means the process by which directors, 
agents, or teachers either request registration by the Superintendent 
to teach at the school or notify the Superintendent of their appoint-
ment of an agent to represent the school. 

(50) “Reporting period” means the period of time that corre-
sponds with the school’s fiscal year on which the school bases all 
individual program student completion and placement reporting 
that must be submitted to the Higher Education Coordinating Com-
mission. The school’s fiscal year may be the calendar year or 
another 12-month time period. 

(51) “Resident instruction” means education provided at an 
approved school site or training establishment for students enrolled 
in and attending classes at the school facility in pursuit of an iden-
tified occupational objective. 

(52) “Revocation” as referenced in OAR 715-045-0012 means 
that the Executive Director of the Higher Education Coordinating 
Commission has notified an employee of a licensed private career 
school that because of violations of 715-045-0012(9)(a)–(c) the 
commission’s approval of the employee’s registration is permanently 
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withdrawn. When notice of revocation is issued, the employee 
shall be notified and upon written request, shall be granted a con-
tested case hearing under the Administrative Procedures Act, ORS 
Chapter 183. 

(53) “Revoke” means the Higher Education Coordinating 
Commission terminates the school license. When the license is 
revoked, the school is not authorized to continue operating. 
Probation or suspension may, but is not required to, precede revo-
cation. 

(54) “Rider” means an attachment, schedule, amendment, or 
other writing that is added to the enrollment agreement that alters 
the terms, conditions, or financial obligation of the original instru-
ment without altering the instrument in its entirety. The contents of 
a rider to the enrollment agreement are understood to be incorporated 
into the enrollment agreement. 

(55) “Scholarship” means actual funds, from any source, 
made available to prospective or enrolled students through an 
application process whereby applicants must meet predetermined 
criteria and may or may not be required to maintain a certain status 
in order to retain the award. For in-house scholarships, funds in the 
amount of the full amount of the award for scholarships awarded 
on an annual basis will be deposited by the school in an account 
separate from the school’s operating funds at the time of the award, 
or at the beginning of each new year of an on-going award, and 
drawn out by the school as the tuition is earned. For third party 
scholarships, all monies received by the school on behalf of the 
student will be deposited into an account separate from the school’s 
operating funds and drawn out as the tuition is earned. In-house 
scholarships are revocable according to the terms of the scholarship 
award, which are to be articulated to the recipient of the award and 
agreed upon by signature through an official award letter. The 
signed award letter will be kept in the student’s file, and a copy 
given to the student. Any scholarship awarded a student from any 
source will be documented on the enrollment agreement as a schol-
arship at the time of the award. If the award is made after the initial 
enrollment agreement has been signed, a rider to that agreement 
must be executed and attached. 

(56) “Self-directed instruction” means a course of instruction 
or an instructional program in which the instructional materials and 
curriculum are sufficient in design and scope to prepare a student 
for the program’s occupational objectives without the provision of 
direct instruction. These objectives can be achieved without regular 
or scheduled interaction either by mail, telephone, or in person 
between the student and faculty employed by the school and do not 
require the school to measure attendance or lesson completion for 
satisfactory progress. 

(57) “School” or “career school” or “private career school” 
has the meaning given in ORS 345.010(4). 

(58) “Short term course” means a course no longer than 16 
clock hours in duration. 

(59) “State advisory committee” means a representative, 
statutory advisory committee appointed by the Superintendent of 
Public Instruction, consisting of members who shall serve for 
terms of three years ending June 30. 

(60) “Structured work experience” or “externship” means a 
worksite educational activity that correlates the value of classroom 
training and on-site job performance, is an integral part of the stu-
dent’s training plan, and is supervised/evaluated by appropriate 
school personnel. 

(61) “Supplement” in reference to a school’s catalog means a 
document that is separate from the catalog and which contains new 
information not appearing in the catalog, or information that is 
related, but in addition, to information already appearing in the cat-
alog. Information contained in a catalog supplement may or may 
not need to be incorporated into the catalog at the next regular revi-
sion and printing of the catalog. 

(62) “Suspension” as referenced in OAR 715-045-0012 means 
that the Executive Director of the Higher Education Coordinating 
Commission has notified an employee of a licensed private career 
school that because of violations of 715-045-0012(9)(a)–(c) the 
commission’s approval of the employee’s registration is temporarily 

withdrawn. When notice of suspension is issued, the employee 
shall be notified and upon written request, shall be granted a con-
tested case hearing under the Administrative Procedures Act, ORS 
Chapter 183. 

(63) “Suspend” means the Executive Director of the Higher 
Education Coordinating Commission has notified a school that 
because of deficiencies, it may not advertise, recruit, enroll 
students, or begin instruction of new students, but may remain 
open to complete training of currently enrolled students. Probation 
may, but is not required to precede suspension. 

(64) “Teachout” means a defaulting school or the Higher Edu-
cation Coordinating Commission makes provisions for students 
enrolled at the time of the default to complete a comparable 
program at no additional cost beyond the original enrollment 
agreement with the defaulting school. Teachout arrangements, if 
made by the defaulting school, shall be approved in advance by the 
commission’s executive director and, if ongoing, approved annually 
by the executive director. 

(65) “Transcript” means a written record that shall include, 
but is not limited to, name and address of student, first and last date 
of attendance, all programs or courses undertaken, grades achieved, 
whether the courses or programs were successfully completed, and 
signature of a school official. 

(66) “Tuition” means money or other compensation paid or 
credited to a school by a student or on behalf of a student that is 
applied to the costs of instruction and training actually received or 
to be received by the student. 

(67) “Tuition aid” or “Tuition assistance” means any award of 
monetary value, including, but not limited, to scholarships, grants, 
discounts, or incentives offered by a career school or by a third 
party, that is received by a student who will enroll in, or is enrolled 
in, a specific program of instruction, and is: 

(a) Provided directly to the student for the purposes of 
covering, in full or in part, the costs of tuition or other allowed edu-
cational expenses incurred by the student, or 

(b) Paid or credited to a career school on behalf of the student 
by the school or a third party for the purpose of covering, in full or 
in part, the costs of tuition or other allowed educational expenses 
incurred by the student. 

(68) “Withdrawal fee” means any fee, however named, cover-
ing those expenses incurred by a school in processing student 
paperwork relating to program changes (i.e., course additions/drops 
or transfers) or withdrawal from school and so identified on the 
student enrollment agreement. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.020  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.030 & 345.325  
Hist.: 1 EB 31-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; EB 11-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-90; EB 13-
1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 
21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 10-1-02; ODE 17-2003, f. 12-30-03, cert. ef. 1-1-
04; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; ODE 13-2008, f. & cert. ef. 5-
23-08; ODE 13-2008, f. & cert. ef. 5-23-08; ODE 3-2010, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-10; 
ODE 27-2012, f. 9-13-12, cert. ef. 9-17-12; Renumbered from 581-045-0001 by 
HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14; HECC 3-2016, f. & cert. ef. 3-9-16 

715-045-0003 
Fingerprinting of Subject Individuals in Schools Accepting 
Enrollment of Minors 

(1) Pursuant to ORS 345.030(6), subject individuals include:  
(a) Faculty, and agents of a career school, and individuals who 

hold positions of authority and control in any career school 
accepting enrollment of persons under the age of 18; and  

(b) Any agents of career schools who will have contact with 
persons under the age of 18 on behalf of the career school.  

(2) Each application for a new school license or renewal of an 
existing school license shall be accompanied by, for each subject 
individual:  

(a) One properly completed FBI fingerprint card #USGPO 
1990-262-201-2000;  

(b) A properly completed Department of Education criminal 
history information form; and  

(c) A fee in an amount equal to the actual charges of 
conducting the criminal background check as allowed under ORS 
181.534. The fee amount and distribution shall be as follows:  
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(A) Oregon State Police (OSP) — $28.00;  
(B) Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) — $16.50;  
(C) Oregon Department of Education (ODE) — $14.50;  
(D) TOTAL — $59.00  
(3) An applicant school is not required to submit fingerprints 

for subject individuals if the Higher Education Coordinating Com-
mission has conducted a criminal records check of the subject indi-
vidual within the three years preceding the date of application.  

(4) For the purposes of criminal background checks pursuant 
to ORS 345.030, conducted in relation to individuals subject to 
such criminal background verification, the following definitions of 
a crime applies:  

(a) Any adjudication in any criminal court of law, in this state 
or in any other jurisdiction, finding the individual committed a 
crime. A crime is an offense for which a sentence of imprisonment 
is authorized.  

(b) Any adjudication in a juvenile proceeding, in this state or 
in any other jurisdiction, determining the individual committed a 
crime, which if done by an adult, would constitute a crime listed in 
ORS 342.143.  

(c) Any conduct which resulted in either mandatory registration 
or reporting, or both, as a sex offender in this state or any other 
jurisdiction. A later court order or other action relieving the indi-
vidual of either the sex offender registration or reporting requirement, 
or both, does not affect the status of the conduct as a conviction for 
purposes of this rule.  

(d) Any plea of guilty, no contest or nolo contendere in con-
nection with a crime, in this state or in any other jurisdiction.  

(e) A conviction exists for the purposes of this rule, regardless 
of whether a dismissal was later entered into the record in 
connection with diversion or on any sort of deferred adjudication 
or delayed entry of judgment.  

(f) A conviction exists for purposes of this rule even if a crime 
was expunged or removed from the record of the individual under 
the laws of another jurisdiction if the crime would be ineligible 
under ORS 137.225 for expunction or removal from the record if 
the conviction had occurred in Oregon. A conviction does not exist 
where an Oregon court has expunged or otherwise removed a con-
viction from the record of an individual.  

(g) A conviction does not exist, except as noted above, only 
where there was a judicial adjudication that the individual did not 
commit the offense in question, or when a conviction, adjudication 
or plea is overturned by an appellate court of record and no later 
conviction, adjudication or plea indicating the individual committed 
the offense in question is on the record.  

(5) Fingerprints may be collected by a local or state law 
enforcement agency.  

(6) The Higher Education Coordinating Commission shall:  
(a) Request criminal information from the Department of 

State Police in the manner prescribed by law;  
(b) Review the criminal records of the subject individual upon 

the submission of the required FBI and state forms and the Super-
intendent or designee shall issue a statement of criminal history 
status and related impact on employment or contract qualification.  

(c) Not provide copies of criminal records to anyone except as 
provided by law. The subject individual may inspect his or her per-
sonal criminal records under the supervision of properly certified 
LEDS (Law Enforcement Data Systems) personnel at the Oregon 
Department of Education.  

(7) Subject individuals who refuse to consent to the criminal 
records check or refuse to be fingerprinted shall be terminated from 
employment by the applicant school.  

(8) Subject individuals who have been convicted of any of the 
crimes listed in ORS 342.143, or the substantial equivalent of any 
of those crimes if the conviction occurred in another jurisdiction or 
in Oregon under a different statutory name or number, shall be 
refused employment or continued employment, or have their 
employment terminated, by the career school upon notification 
from the Superintendent.  

(9) Subject individuals who have been convicted of any of the 
crimes listed in ORS 161.405 or an attempt to commit any of the 

crimes listed in 324.143 shall be refused employment, continued 
employment, or have their employment terminated by the applicant 
school upon notification from the Superintendent.  

(10) Evaluations of crimes shall be based on Oregon laws in 
effect at the time of conviction, regardless of the jurisdiction in 
which the conviction occurred.  

(11) Prior to making a determination that results in a notice 
and opportunity for hearing, as allowed under ORS 181.534, the 
Superintendent may cause an investigation to be undertaken. 
Subject individuals and applicant schools shall cooperate with the 
investigation and may be required to furnish oral or written state-
ments by affidavit or under oath. If the Superintendent determines 
through investigation that a violation of this rule has not occurred, 
a written decision explaining the basis for the decision will be pro-
vided to the subject individual.  

(12) Subject individuals may appeal a determination that pre-
vents their employment or eligibility to contract with an applicant 
school as a contested case under ORS 183.413 to 183.470 to the 
Superintendent.  

(13) Only cards and forms approved by the Oregon Department 
of Education will be accepted. The Higher Education Coordinating 
Commission and the department will return any incomplete or 
incorrectly completed fingerprint cards and associated forms 
without taking any other action.  

(14) The Oregon Department of Education shall maintain a 
record of all properly submitted fingerprint cards. The record shall 
include at least the following:  

(a) Card sequence number;  
(b) Name of applicant school submitting the cards:  
(c) Date cards and Department forms were received;  
(d) Date incomplete cards returned to applicant school, if 

applicable;  
(e) Date completed cards sent to Oregon State Police;  
(f) Date denial or probationary approval sent to applicant 

schools;  
(g) Date FBI card returned to Department; and  
(h) Date denial or final approval sent to applicant school.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.020 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.030 
Hist.: ODE 3-2010, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-10; ODE 31-2012(Temp), f. 11-7-12, cert. 
ef. 11-9-12 thru 5-7-13; ODE 3-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-13; Renumbered from 
581-045-0003 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0006 
Application for Private Career School License 

(1) Any person, partnership, association, corporation, or Lim-
ited Liability Company desiring to function as a private career 
school as defined in ORS 345.010 shall submit an application for 
its first approval year on forms provided by the Higher Education 
Coordinating Commission. No person, partnership, association, 
corporation, or Limited Liability Company shall hold itself out to 
be a school, solicit students, or collect fees prior to the date of the 
license. A school requesting exemption from licensure must request 
such exemption from the Executive Director of the Higher 
Education Coordinating Commission under the provision of 
345.015.  

(2) An initial site inspection may be required prior to approval 
of the application. Any deficiencies must be corrected prior to 
issuance of a license.  

(3) A license may be denied by the executive director, 60-days 
after the school has been notified of the application deficiencies, 
for failure to submit accurate and complete materials required by 
the application, or for other substantiated just cause.  

(4) A separate license shall be required for each location of a 
school except those approved by the executive director as auxiliary 
sites. A license for the specific location must be issued prior to 
operating at that location.  

(5) An initial license shall be granted after:  
(a) Receipt of a complete application by the commission;  
(b) Completion of an interview with and approval by the exec-

utive director; and  
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(c) Correction of all deficiencies in the application, as com-
municated by the executive director to the applicant school in 
writing or by verbal means during phone or in-person interviews. 
Alternatively, if circumstances warrant, the executive director may 
choose to issue a conditional license, pursuant to the provisions of 
ORS 345.030(8). The conditional license issued by the commission 
shall include the period and dates of effectiveness of the license.  

(6) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, 
each license shall be issued to the owner of an applicant school and 
shall be nontransferable.  

(a) In the event of a change of ownership of a school due to 
sale or transfer of a majority interest in the school, and when con-
tinuous operation is desired, the buyer or majority interest holder 
must apply for and obtain approval of a new license prior to the 
completion of the sale. The buyer or majority interest holder must 
provide notice to the commission of the transfer of ownership at 
least 30 days prior to the transfer of notice.  

(b) The commission may transfer a license or allow ownership 
of a school to transfer with less than 30 days’ notice if:  

(A) The owner of the school dies, is incapacitated or is incar-
cerated; or  

(B) The executive director determines that a successful and 
timely completion of the sale is critical to protect the financial via-
bility of the school, or to mitigate disruption of the instruction of 
currently enrolled students, or for other reasons deemed appropriate 
by the executive director.  

(c) In the event of a transfer of ownership, the executive 
director may choose to issue a conditional license, pursuant to the 
provisions of ORS 345.030(8). The conditional license issued by 
the commission shall include the period and dates of effectiveness 
of the license.  

(7) Prior to the completion of the sale, unless the owner dies 
or is incapacitated, the current owner of the school (seller) must 
submit to the commission a statement signed by both the seller and 
the buyer indicating who:  

(a) Will acquire the school’s assets, which are directly related 
to the school’s educational activities;  

(b) Will assume liability on the date the school is sold for the 
outstanding debts incurred as a direct result of the school’s educa-
tional activities under previous ownership;  

(c) Has authority to make all refunds that on the date the 
school is sold may be due to eligible persons;  

(d) Has agreed to honor all student contracts that were signed 
or approved by the school’s authorities before the effective date of 
the change of ownership; and  

(e) Has responsibility to transfer all educational transcripts of 
former and current students to the possession of the new school 
owner.  

(8) Failure of the seller to notify the commission prior to com-
pletion of the sale may result in the imposition of civil penalties 
established in OAR 715-045-0190.  

(9) Before an individually-owned (commonly referred to as a 
sole proprietorship), Limited Liability Company, or partnership-
owned school elects to incorporate or when there are changes in 
existing ownership that affect financial control of the school, the 
Superintendent shall be notified in writing, and a new license shall 
be required. Such notice shall occur prior to the ownership change. 
Control is affected when a new party or entity assumes ownership 
of more than 50 percent of the school’s net worth. Instances in 
which control is affected and a new license is required include but 
are not limited to the following examples:  

(a) Owner(s) sells more than 50 percent to another party;  
(b) Partner(s) owning less than 50 percent buy out the other 

partner(s) interest; or  
(c) The type of ownership is changing (i.e., individual, part-

nership, company, or corporation).  
(10) Request for confidentiality regarding the purchase/sale of 

a school will be honored by the commission in accordance with the 
public records law.  

(11) The initial application for licensure shall include:  

(a) The name and address of the school, the names and 
addresses of its owners, governing body, officials, and faculty with 
attendant qualification forms;  

(b) Course syllabi as required by OAR 715-045-0009(1);  
(c) School facility description as required by OAR 715-045-

0022;  
(d) Application for admissions form if used by the school;  
(e) Enrollment agreement (contract) information and proce-

dures, including a copy of the contract or enrollment agreement for 
only those courses offered by the schools that are licensed by the 
commission;  

(f) A copy of school policies and procedures relating to:  
(A) Admissions standards,  
(B) Ability to benefit examination. If an ability to benefit 

examination is used, it must be:  
(i) Approved by the commission’s executive director; and  
(ii) Proctored in a manner approved by the executive director.  
(C) Enrollment and entrance dates;  
(D) Credit for previous training;  
(E) Attendance;  
(i) Policy on attendance; and  
(ii) A statement of how the school will monitor and report 

enrollment and attendance information as required by federal 
and/or state statutes.  

(F) Grading policies;  
(G) Make-up work;  
(H) Tardiness;  
(I) Satisfactory progress standard;  
(J) Methods and frequency of reporting progress;  
(K) Student conduct;  
(L) Suspensions, terminations, re-entry;  
(M) Leaves of absence;  
(N) Students filing a grievance or complaint about the school 

or program;  
(O) Safe, healthy environment; and  
(P) Discriminatory behaviors.  
(g) A statement explaining how the policies and the procedures 

in subsection (11)(f) of this rule are disseminated to all students 
and how they are monitored by the school;  

(h) Information relating to tuition charges and all other fees or 
costs;  

(i) Policy of the school relating to cancellations and refunds of 
unused tuition, fees, and other charges. The policy must be 
consistent with the schedules established by OAR 581-045-0036, 
581-045-0037, and 581-045-0038;  

(j) A copy of the buy/sell agreement if the submission of the 
initial application is a result of the purchase of a currently licensed 
private career school. The buy/sell agreement shall be kept confi-
dential within the limits permitted by the Oregon Public Records 
law;  

(k) A written plan designed to protect the contractual rights of 
students in the event the school closes or undergoes a change of 
status as described in OAR 715-045-0067; 

(l) Labor market information showing current employment, 
replacement, and expansion data for regional, state, and national 
labor markets for the occupational area being served;  

(m) A description of placement information provided to stu-
dents;  

(n) The school calendar;  
(o) The signature of authorized officials of the school including 

each owner, partner, or member of the board. If the institution is 
incorporated, each owner of ten percent or more of stock must sign. 
If the institution is incorporated and the stock is publicly traded 
through a stock exchange, the president or chief executive officer 
of the corporation must sign. If the applicant is a nonprofit corpora-
tion, each member of the governing body must sign;  

(p) Full disclosure by owners, directors, and teachers of any 
conviction or crime referenced under OAR 715-045-0012(12), 
accompanied by the required form and fingerprint card to conduct 
a criminal background check as specified, and if applicable, under 
715-045-0003; and  
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(q) If information required by paragraphs (a) through (n) of 
this subsection is provided in the school catalog, references to 
catalog and page number will be acceptable.  

(12) The application shall be accompanied by:  
(a) The nonrefundable license fee required by ORS 345.080 

(see OAR 715-045-0007);  
(b) The initial capitalization payment for the student tuition 

protection plan required by ORS 345.110;  
(c) A complete résumé of education and work experience for 

the school owner(s), corporate officer(s), directors, and teachers, 
including social security number, date of birth, home address, and 
telephone numbers;  

(d) A draft of the proposed school catalog or brochure 
required by OAR 715-045-0019;  

(e) A copy of proposed advertising and promotional information 
to be used by the school;  

(f) Copies of program materials prescribed by OAR 715-045-
0009(b), or relating to schools also regulated by another state 
agency as described in OAR 715-045-0014;  

(g) All inspection documents required by OAR 715-045-
0022(2);  

(h) Copies of incorporation certificates, if applicable;  
(i) A financial statement, which provides information required 

by OAR 715-045-0032. The financial statement shall be kept con-
fidential within the limits permitted by the public records law;  

(j) An enrollment agreement that is legally binding on both 
the school and the student, which shall include, but is not limited 
to:  

(A) A description of the instructional program in which the 
student is enrolled;  

(B) Beginning and ending dates;  
(C) Length of program;  
(D) Registration fee;  
(E) Tuition cost (excluding the registration and other identified 

program fees or costs);  
(F) All other program costs listed separately;  
(G) Total program cost (registration, tuition cost, and all other 

identified program fees or costs);  
(H) Installment payment plan, if available;  
(I) The state-specified refund schedule or one approved by the 

Superintendent as being more favorable to the students;  
(J) A clear and conspicuous disclosure of the student’s cancel-

lation rights; and  
(K) A statement informing students who have questions 

regarding the enrollment agreement that they may contact the 
Higher Education Coordinating Commission (use current address) 
Salem, Oregon.  

(k) Schools implementing program changes cannot require 
students who are currently enrolled to complete the requirements 
of the revised program. Enrolled students are to be taught out under 
the program identified in their most current signed enrollment 
agreement and identified in the catalog in effect at the time of their 
enrollment. Exceptions may be allowed when and if the school and 
student mutually agree to the program change(s) and a new or 
amended enrollment agreement is negotiated, accepted, and signed 
by the student and school. Examples of program changes as used in 
this rule include, but are not limited to, increase or decrease of 
hours required, changes in the schedule of hours of instruction, 
adding or dropping required courses, increasing program costs or 
fees, changes in the payment plan.  

(l) The school must maintain documentation signed by each 
student to substantiate that the student has received and read all 
information contained in paragraph (j) of this subsection. The 
school must also indicate any special rules or publications that the 
student signature acknowledges. Additional information not listed 
in the enrollment agreement may be published in the current school 
catalog or catalog addendum.  

(13) Out-of-state schools:  
(a) Any private career school whose principal place of 

business is outside of Oregon shall obtain an Oregon private career 
school license whenever it maintains a physical presence in Oregon 

or when the Oregon occupational licensure board requires the 
school to be licensed;  

(b) The executive director may consider the following factors 
to determine whether a school has established a physical presence 
in Oregon:  

(A) Maintains an office in the state;  
(B) Conducts any part of the instructional program from or in 

the state,  
(C) Employs sales representatives, who reside or solicit 

students within the state;  
(D) Canvasses for prospective students within the state;  
(E) Operates career or information booths at fairs or other 

such public gatherings within the state;  
(F) Presents school information at high school career days 

within the state; or  
(G) Advertises in local media that originate in Oregon.  
(c) Out-of-state schools shall submit upon initial application 

and annually thereafter:  
(A) Out-of-state application form;  
(B) Copy of the most recent licensure application for the state 

in which the school is located;  
(C) Copy of current resident state license certificate;  
(D) If accredited, copy of the report for the most recent school 

accreditation review;  
(E) List of approved programs; and  
(F) Copy of the school’s most recent catalog to include the 

items listed below. If any of the following items do not appear in 
the body of the catalog but appear in other specific documents they 
must also be submitted.  

(i) Name and address of the school;  
(ii) Date of publication or other reference identifier such as 

years(s), volume, or edition or version numbers;  
(iii) The educational or vocational objective of each course or 

program including the name and the level of occupations for which 
the course or programs purport to train;  

(iv) The number of clock or credit hours of instruction in each 
course and the length of time in weeks or months normally 
required for completion;  

(v) A complete listing and description of courses or programs 
offered specifying subjects included in each course or program that 
clearly identifies coverage of the training;  

(vi) A description of the school’s physical facilities, equipment 
available for student use, and the maximum or usual class size;  

(vii) Policies relating to tardiness, absences, make-up work, 
conduct, termination, reentry, and other rules and regulations of the 
school, including the student appeals process; 

(viii) The grading system, including definition of ratings and 
credit units, if any;  

(ix) Refund policy; 
(x) The requirements for graduation;  
(xi) Statement describing certificates, diplomas, or degrees 

awarded upon graduation;  
(xii) Information regarding any limitations on transfer of 

credits, and  
(G) Teachers’ education and experience requirements for 

employment at the school, including teacher registration forms and 
supporting documentation for any teachers providing training for 
any portion of the licensed programs within the State of Oregon. 
Information about individual teachers does not need to be submitted 
if:  

(i) The teachers are licensed or approved in the state in which 
the school is located; and  

(ii) Those teachers will not be providing training for any 
portion of the licensed programs of instruction within the State of 
Oregon.  

(H) If the applicant school accepts enrollment of minors, and 
proposes to employ agents who will interact with persons under the 
age of 18 within the State of Oregon, employ persons in positions 
of authority or control who will carry out their function within the 
State of Oregon, or employ faculty or teachers who will provide 
training within the State or Oregon for any portion of the licensed 
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programs of instruction, those agents and teachers will be subject 
to the provisions of OAR 715-045-0003, regardless of the individ-
uals’ states of residence.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.030 
Hist.: 1EB 257, f. 1-3-77, ef. 7-1-77; 1EB 23-1978, f. 6-30-78, ef. 7-1-78; 1EB 
30-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; EB 11-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-90; EB 32-1991, f. & 
cert. ef. 12-18-91; EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-
00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 10-1-02; ODE 15-2006, f. 
12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; ODE 3-2010, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-10; Renumbered from 
581-045-0006 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0007 
License Fees 

(1)(a) Before issuing a career school license under ORS 
345.010 to 345.450, the Executive Director shall collect a nonre-
fundable, annual license fee based on the fee schedule below in 
OAR 715-045-0007(1)(c) for In-State Schools and OAR 715-045-
0007(1)(d) for Out-of-State Schools. 

(b) For purposes of ORS 345.080, “tuition income” means 
“gross tuition income,” as that term is defined at OAR 715-045-
0001 and 715-045-0007. 

(c) In-State Schools: Tuition Income Range — Fee: 
(A) $0–15,000 — $600; 
(B) 15,001–50,000 — 800; 
(C) 50,001–125,000 — 1,000; 
(D) 125,001–250,000 — 1,425; 
(E) 250,001–500,000 — 1,850; 
(F) 500,001–750,000 — 2,275; 
(G) 750,001–1,000,000 — 2,700; 
(H) Over 1,000,000 — 3,125. 
(d) Out-of-state Schools: Tuition Income Range — Fee: 
(A) $0–50,000 — $1,850; 
(B) 50,001–250,000 — 2,275; 
(C) 250,001–500,000 — 2,700; 
(D) 500,001–750,000 — 3,125; 
(E) 750,001–1,000,000 — 3,550; 
(F) Over 1,000,000 — 3,975. 
(2) Applications for a new license must be accompanied by a 

nonrefundable application fee, based on the fourth step of the fee 
schedule above in OAR 715-045-0007(1). 

(3) The Commission shall collect a nonrefundable fee of $12 
to conduct a search of a closed career school’s transcripts and, if 
any are found, provide four copies of a former student’s transcript. 
If more than four copies are requested, the requestor shall pay a 
nonrefundable fee of $2 for each additional copy. 

(4) Teacher registration applications shall be accompanied by 
a nonrefundable application fee of $75. 

(5) Requests to verify a teacher’s registration, training, or 
experience shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable verification 
fee of $25. 

(6) Applications for teacher trainee registrations must be 
accompanied by a nonrefundable registration fee of $7. 

(7) Requests to determine whether an out-of-state applicant 
for a cosmetology license is qualified to take a test of the Board of 
Cosmetology shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable review fee 
of $25. 

(8) The Commission shall collect a nonrefundable fee of $100 
for processing: 

(a) Career school license renewal applications submitted after 
the applicable due date established in OAR 715-045-0062. This fee 
shall be in addition to any civil penalties that may be assessed for 
renewal applications that are not submitted in compliance with the 
requirements of OAR 715-045-0062 and any other applicable 
rules. 

(b) Payments to the Tuition Protection Fund established under 
ORS 345.110 after the due dates established in OAR 715-045-
0029. This fee shall be in addition to any civil penalties that may be 
assessed for payments to the Fund that are not submitted in compli-
ance with the requirements of OAR 715-045-0029 and any other 
applicable rules. 

(9) The Commission shall collect the annual, nonrefundable 
cosmetology school inspection fee of $100 established in ORS 

345.450 from schools teaching hair design, barbering, esthetics, or 
nail technology. This inspection fee shall be transferred to the 
Health Licensing Office. 

(10)(a) The Commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee of 
$200 for investigations of career schools when the commission 
determines that a career school has violated any provision of ORS 
345.010 to 345.450, or any rule adopted pursuant to ORS 345.010 
to 345.450. 

(b) If the Commission must engage an individual or business, 
such as a forensic accountant or an attorney, for assistance in con-
ducting an investigation, then the commission shall assess a nonre-
fundable fee in an amount equal to the investigative costs incurred 
by the commission; however, the amount of the fee may not exceed 
$5,000. 

(11) Applications for a new program must be accompanied by 
a nonrefundable application fee of $1,000 for each new program 
submitted for review and approval which was not offered at the 
time of the career school’s initial application to the Commission.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.080 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.080 
Hist.: EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; Renumbered from 581-045-0002, 
ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; Renumbered from 581-045-0007 by 
HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14; HECC 9-2014, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-14; 
HECC 7-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-25-15 thru 12-21-15; HECC 12-2015, f. & 
cert. ef. 9-21-15; HECC 13-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-23-15 thru 3-20-16; 
HECC 2-2016, f. & cert. ef. 3-9-16 

715-045-0008 
Advanced Deposits 

Prior to the beginning of classes, no private career school 
shall require from an enrollee an advance deposit in excess of 
twenty (20) percent of the total tuition and fees: 

(1) Schools that offer short term programs designed to be 
completed in one (1) term or four (4) months, whichever is less, 
can require payment of all tuition and fees on the first day 
instruction begins;  

(2) For those programs designed to be four (4) months or 
longer, a school cannot require more than one (1) term or four (4) 
months of advanced payment of tuition at a time. When fifty (50) 
percent of the program has been offered, the school can require 
payment of all tuition;  

(3) This limitation shall not apply to federal and state financial 
aid payments received by the school;  

(4) At the student’s option, a school may accept payment in 
full for tuition and fees after the student has been accepted and 
enrolled and the date for commencement of classes is specifically 
disclosed on the enrollment agreement; and 

(5) The Executive Director of the Higher Education Coordi-
nating Commission may grant a waiver to this limitation if 
sufficient evidence is submitted indicating that a larger advance 
deposit would be more appropriate and not compromise the intent 
of ORS 345.115(4).  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.010 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.115 
Hist.: ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 10-1-02; Renumbered from 581-045-
0008 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0009 
Instructional Programs 

(1) All schools shall:  
(a) Offer programs of quality, content and duration, that are 

based on specific industry standards or an occupational task 
analysis, and with appropriate entrance criteria, instructional mate-
rials, staff, equipment and facilities to prepare students for the pro-
grams’ occupational objectives; and  

(b) Operate programs evaluated by appropriate program advi-
sory committees as defined in OAR 715-045-0013, unless a 
program is exempt from the advisory committee requirement under 
715-045-0014. Materials for exempt programs will be reviewed by 
the executive director to determine the adequacy and appropriateness 
of the instructional methodology. The school shall prepare instruc-
tional design documentation for review, evaluation and analysis 
that includes:  
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(A) A program outcome summary for each program offered 
that clearly states the program title, duration, educational or profes-
sional technical objective(s) of the program, and the job(s) title and 
level for which the training prepares the student. In addition the 
program outcome summary must include the following information:  

(i) A description of the target population for enrollment;  
(ii) The entrance requirements and prerequisite knowledge or 

skills needed to enroll;  
(iii) Any state license exams or other certifications the student 

will be prepared to take upon successful completion of the 
program;  

(B) A list of the industry standards or the occupational task 
analysis used to formulate the instructional design;  

(C) The associated competencies taught in the program for 
each standard or occupational task; 

(D) A list of core abilities incorporated throughout the 
program;  

(E) Learning plans, which shall include:  
(i) Core abilities and competencies taught in the lesson;  
(ii) Learning objectives for each competency;  
(iii) Learning activities that achieve the learning objectives;  
(iv) Sequence of learning activities;  
(v) Performance assessment statement(s);  
(F) The performance assessment(s) plan(s) for each compe-

tency, which shall include directions for the student and the 
evaluator, the performance conditions and criteria, and checklists, 
rubrics, or scoring guides used;  

(G) A program map. For programs comprised of multiple 
courses, the program map shall indicate the number of clock hours 
allowed for each course and the topics within each course. For pro-
grams not comprised of specific courses, the program map shall 
indicate each unit or major topic within the program, the number of 
clock hours for each unit or major topic and the specific subjects 
within each unit or major topic.  

(i) If the school is approved to use a credit hour measurement, 
an explanation of how credit hours convert to clock hours must 
also be submitted;  

(ii) If the instructional program is self-directed or measured in 
lessons, the total number of clock hours for the program and how 
that number is derived, the total number of lessons, and the maxi-
mum time allowed for completion of the program must be 
submitted.  

(H) A teaching syllabus for each course in each program. If a 
program does not contain specific courses or the program is of 
short duration, then the teaching syllabus shall be for the program 
in its entirety. The content of the syllabus shall contain the 
elements in the sample provided by the commission;  

(I) The grading system, standards of satisfactory progress, 
attendance and performance required of students in the program, as 
referenced in OAR 715-045-0019;  

(c) Submit additional documentation that includes:  
(A) A description of the instructional area or facility with 

space allocations and dimensions, equipment placement, and teach-
ing stations for each program appropriately indicated;  

(B) A description of the admission requirements and process 
for evaluating those requirements, including the criteria or tests 
used in the selection and placement of enrollees for the program;  

(C) Labor market information, updated every two years with 
data no more than three years old, as described in OAR 715-045-
0006(11); and  

(D) A written placement assistance plan for assisting graduates 
in efforts to obtain employment in the field for which training was 
offered, or a related field, as described in OAR 715-045-0019.  

(2) The program advisory committee shall submit to the 
school its analysis of the quality, content, duration and curriculum 
sequencing of the program of study, instructional materials, equip-
ment and facilities provided to prepare the student in skills 
currently necessary for entry level employment in the occupation 
for which the program was designed:  

(a) Program material prepared for the program advisory com-
mittee, as prescribed in subsection (1) (b) and (c) of this rule, will 
be filed with the executive director;  

(b) The executive director may review:  
(A) The school’s program development procedures;  
(B) The program advisory committee’s involvement in program 

development; and 
(C) The program advisory committee’s analysis of a program 

as specified in subsection (2). 
(c) The executive director may accept or reject the findings of 

the program advisory committee’s analysis of the adequacy of the 
program. 

(3) The executive director will review the program outcome 
summary, program map, core abilities, standards, competencies 
and syllabus for each program to determine the adequacy of the 
instructional design. The executive director’s written approval of 
these elements is required prior to the commencement of any mar-
keting, recruitment, enrollment or instructional activities.  

(4) The executive director may request and review other 
instructional design materials outlined in subsections (1) and (2) of 
this rule, before granting approval, including learning plans, per-
formance assessment plans, and learning activities.  

(5) Licensed schools wishing to add a new program must: 
(a) Prepare the instructional design elements described in sub-

sections (1) and (2) of this rule for each new program requested 
and make them available to the commission upon request; and 

(b) Prepare and submit for approval the elements described in 
subsection (3) of this rule for each new program requested. 

(6) The commission will develop instructional design guidelines 
and timeframes to assist schools licensed prior to the implementation 
of this rule in bringing all approved programs into compliance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.080 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.080 
Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 19-2010, f. 12-17-10, 
cert. ef. 1-1-11; Renumbered from 581-045-0009 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-23-14; HECC 10-2014, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-14 

715-045-0012 
Personnel 

(1) A career school shall establish, publish, and enforce 
specific written policies that set standards for the staff’s:  

(a) Professional performance and conduct;  
(b) Evaluation; and  
(c) Continuing education.  
(2) Career schools shall employ as teachers only those indi-

viduals who are registered with the Commission and who meet the 
applicable requirements of this rule. All applications for teacher 
registration shall:  

(a) Be recorded on forms provided by the Commission;  
(b) Indicate the specific subjects the prospective teacher will 

teach;  
(c) Be signed by the prospective teacher and a director at the 

school; and  
(d) Be accompanied by relevant official transcripts, letters, 

and documents that confirm that the teacher meets the minimum 
requirements listed in subsections (3) and (4) of this rule.  

(3) Individuals applying for registration as career school 
teachers must:  

(a) Be at least 18 years of age  
(b) Hold all Oregon licenses, permits, certificates, or other 

credentials, as well as successfully pass any examinations, legally 
required for employment in the field in which they teach.. In 
limited circumstances, the Executive Director may grant a waiver 
from this requirement upon receipt of a written request from the 
school showing that a credential issued by another state would be 
accepted as an equivalent by the state in which the school is 
located.  

(c) Have graduated from high school as evidenced by a photo-
copy of the applicant’s high school diploma, a high school 
transcript indicating graduation, or a foreign equivalent. As an 
alternative, the applicant may show evidence of a General Education 
Development (GED) certificate or a transcript indicating graduation, 
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from a postsecondary program which would typically require com-
pletion of high school, or an equivalent course of study, as a condi-
tion of admission. The Executive Director may grant a waiver to 
this requirement upon written request from the school. 

(d) Have met the following experience requirements. 
(A) Have at least two years of work experience or two years 

of education, or any combination of both, in the subject that they 
instruct. One year of experience is defined as 1,875 hours of work, 
education or training per year (37.5 hours per week times 50 
weeks).  Part-time experience will be allowed if the total hours 
equal the equivalent of two years of full-time experience (3750 
hours). 

(B) For new teachers the work experience must have been 
within the last five years. The Executive Director may grant a 
waiver upon written request from the school. 

(C) If a credential or qualifying examination is required for 
employment in the field by the state in which the school is located, 
the two years of experience must include at least one year of work 
experience as a certified practitioner in the subject in which they 
instruct, following certification or licensure. The Executive Director 
may grant a waiver upon written request from the school. 

(D) In limited circumstances, the Executive Director may 
grant a waiver from the requirements written above upon receipt of 
a written request from the school. 

(e) Pay the applicable registration fee specified in OAR 715-
045-0007.  

(f) Notwithstanding the work experience, education and 
training requirement specified in paragraph (d) of this subsection, 
the Commission may outline specific, industry/field requirements, 
in collaboration with state licensing agencies for non-cosmetology 
fields of practice.  

(g) Notwithstanding the work experience, education and train-
ing requirement specified in paragraph (d) of this subsection, an 
applicant applying for registration to teach hair design, barbering, 
esthetics, nail technology, or some other cosmetology field or area 
of practice at a career school offering cosmetology programs may 
qualify to teach by completing a Commission-approved:  

(A) 1,000 hour cosmetology teacher training program offered 
by a licensed career school, if the applicant possesses a valid cre-
dential from the Health Licensing Office; or  

(B) 200 hour cosmetology teacher training program, if the 
applicant taught hair design, barbering, esthetics, nail technology, 
or some other cosmetology field or area of practice in another state 
whose licensing requirements are less than those established by the 
State of Oregon, or if the applicant’s Commission-issued teacher 
registration expired three or more years ago.  

(4) Career schools offering programs in hair design, barbering, 
esthetics, nail technology, or some other cosmetology field or area 
of practice may use individuals who are not registered teachers for 
the purpose of providing specialized training that enhances the stu-
dents program of instruction. Such specialty trainers, also known 
as resource persons, may not provide more than a total of:  

(a) 340 hours of instruction in a hair design program;  
(b) 270 hours of instruction in a barbering program;  
(c) 100 hours of instruction in an esthetics program; or  
(d) 100 hours of instruction in a nail technology program.  
(5)(a) In emergency situations, not to exceed three months, 

schools may hire substitute teachers who are the best-qualified per-
sons available. Under no circumstances shall students be allowed 
to substitute as approved teachers.  

(b) Within 14 days of hiring a substitute teacher, a career 
school must provide written notice to the Commission. The notice 
must include, at a minimum, the substitute teacher’s name, 
telephone number, mailing address, and e-mail address, the start 
date and estimated end date for the substitute teaching, as well as a 
list of the programs and courses the substitute teacher will teach 
and, if applicable, copies of the substitute teacher’s credentials.  

(6) If a school utilizes any form of teacher assistants, aides, or 
trainees, it shall establish and maintain policies that set forth quali-
fications, duties, procedures for use of these personnel, and 

maintain a copy of these policies for review by the Commission. 
Teacher assistants, aides, or trainees:  

(a) May not be used as substitutes or replacements for regular 
teachers;  

(b) Must work under the direct supervision of a registered 
teacher; and  

(c) May evaluate students only under direct supervision of a 
registered teacher.  

(7)(a) The school shall have and implement written policies to 
promote improvement of teacher competency in their fields and in 
levels of performance in their teaching assignments. A recommended 
minimum for continuing education is 30 hours during each three-
year period.  

(b) If a credential or qualifying examination is required for 
employment in a field by the state in which the school is located, 
then a registered teacher preparing students to enter that field must 
comply with any applicable continuing education requirements.  

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b) of this subsection, registered 
teachers who teach hair design, barbering, esthetics, nail technology, 
or some other cosmetology field or area of practice at a career 
school offering cosmetology programs must complete a minimum 
of 30 hours of continuing education three years after the date their 
registration was issued or reissued.  

(8) Teacher registrations shall expire three years after the date 
the registration was issued. To renew a teacher registration, a regis-
tered teacher must submit a completed teacher registration form to 
the Commission accompanied by:  

(a) The applicable registration fee specified in OAR 715-045-
0007;  

(b) Evidence that the teacher has satisfied any applicable con-
tinuing education requirements;  

(c) If applicable, evidence that the teacher possesses a valid 
credential required by the state in which the school is located for 
employment in the field the teacher is preparing students to enter; 
and  

(d) A listing of the career schools where the registered teacher 
has taught during the previous three years, as well as the programs 
and courses taught by the teacher.  

(9) School directors must have at least two years of experience 
in school or business administration, teaching, or other experience 
directly related to their duties within the school’s organization. The 
experience must have been obtained within the last five years. Part-
time experience will be allowed if the total hours equal the 
equivalent of two years of full-time experience. Full-time work 
experience is a minimum of 1,875 hours per year (37.5 hours per 
week times 50 weeks). Qualified persons who do not meet the 
criteria in section (11) of this rule may be appointed as directors 
with prior approval by the Executive Director and with a letter as 
required in subsection (12)(c) of this rule.  

(10) Owners and directors, administrators, agents, supervisors, 
and instructors (hereinafter collectively “employees”) subject to 
registration, licensure, or approval pursuant to ORS 345.010 to 
345.450 are subject to suspension, revocation, or other discipline if 
the employee:  

(a) Is charged with knowingly making any false statements in 
the application for a license, registration, or approval;  

(b) Is charged with gross neglect of duty; or  
(c) Is charged with gross unfitness.  
(11) Gross neglect of duty is any serious and material inatten-

tion to or breach of professional responsibilities. The following 
acts constitute gross neglect of duty:  

(a) Knowing falsification of any document or knowing mis-
representation directly related to licensure, employment, or profes-
sional duties;  

(b) Substantial deviation from professional standards of com-
petency;  

(c) Violation of any ethical standard contained in OAR 715-
045-0012(12);  

(d) Engaging in acts in violation of laws or rules applicable to 
the profession;  
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(e) Failure or refusal to respond to questions, to provide infor-
mation, or to furnish documents to a Commission representative 
pursuant to review, assessment, or investigation; or  

(f) Any other statement or act or omission not consistent with 
personal integrity, ethics, or honesty.  

(12) Gross unfitness is any conduct that renders an owner or 
employee unqualified to perform duties. The following acts consti-
tute gross unfitness:  

(a) Convictions of a crime or offense specified in subsection 
(12) of this rule or engaging in such wrongful acts even in the 
absence of a conviction;  

(b) Commission of fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit;  
(c) Commission of unfair, deceptive, or unlawful trade 

practices as defined in the Oregon Unlawful Trade Practices Act.  
(13) No licensed school shall be owned by or employ an indi-

vidual who is not of good moral character and reputation.  
(a) Upon review by the Commission the Executive Director 

may find a person not to be of good moral character and reputation 
when the person:  

(A) Has been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor that 
involves the illegal use, sale or possession of a controlled substance, 
or that involves any sexual offense, or any violent offense;  

(B) Has been convicted of an offense involving fraud or mis-
representation, or has committed fraud, misrepresentation, or 
deceit or has committed unfair, deceptive, or unlawful trade 
practices regulated by the Oregon Unlawful Trade Practices Act 
(ORS 646.605–646.652), or  

(C) Is currently subject to suspension or revocation of a Com-
mission-issued license or registration.  

(b) The Executive Director shall not make a finding that a per-
son is not of good moral character and reputation solely for the rea-
son that the person has been convicted of a crime, but shall 
consider the relationship of the facts that support the conviction 
and all intervening circumstances as they relate to the specific 
occupational standards and requirements; and  

(c) If the prospective employee has been convicted of a crime 
listed in subsection (13) of this rule, the Executive Director shall 
request a letter of recommendation from the employing school and 
the individual’s most recent employer, parole officer, or other 
appropriate professional source. The Executive Director shall fully 
consider such recommendation along with all other supporting 
materials submitted by the prospective employee. The Executive 
Director, after reviewing submitted materials, may approve an 
employee registration on a probationary basis for a period not to 
exceed one year. Upon completion of the probationary period, if no 
further violation of subsection (12) has occurred, the probationary 
status will be removed.  

(14) The school shall set minimum expectations and provide 
training for all instructional personnel and supervisors of instruc-
tional personnel in:  

(a) Curriculum and Instruction — including the educator’s 
competent application of:  

(A) The school approved curriculum; and  
(B) Effective teaching strategies; and  
(b) Supervision and Evaluation of Students — including the 

educator’s responsibility to:  
(A) Record progress of individual students;  
(B) Evaluate student performance; and  
(C) Use effective classroom management;  
(c) Ethics — including the educator’s responsibility to:  
(A) Know, respect, and obey all policies of the school;  
(B) Exemplify personal integrity, ethics, and honesty;  
(C) Keep student information confidential; and  
(D) Avoid exploiting students for personal profit or advan-

tage. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.080, 345.325, & 345.400  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.325 & 345.400 
Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. 
ef. 10-1-02; ODE 17-2003, f. 12-30-03, cert. ef. 1-1-04; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-
06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; Renumbered from 581-045-0012 by HECC 2-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 4-23-14; HECC 6-2014, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-14; HECC 3-2016, f. & 
cert. ef. 3-9-16 

715-045-0013 
Program Advisory Committees 

(1) The school shall appoint and utilize a program advisory 
committee for each program being offered. If the school programs 
are in the same or similar vocational areas, the same advisory com-
mittee can be used for all related programs.  

(2) Each committee shall be composed of not less than three 
members, knowledgeable in the occupational area being offered by 
the school and who are not employees of and have no financial 
interest in the school and who are not related to the owner(s) or 
administrator(s). When a program or curriculum is regulated, 
approved or certified by a state agency or Oregon State licensing 
board other than the Higher Education Coordinating Commission 
as identified in OAR 715-045-0014, that program or curriculum is 
exempt from the advisory committee requirement.  

(a) A list of the program advisory committee members and a 
resume of each shall be furnished to the Superintendent. The list 
and resumes shall include each member’s name, address, telephone 
number, present occupation and training experience; and  

(b) The membership of the program advisory committee shall 
include: 

(A) At least three members employed in the occupation 
served by the program, one of whom shall be employed or working 
in a supervisory capacity, and 

(B) Each of the three members shall have at least two years’ 
experience in the occupation or industry. Other members having 
less experience may be added to the committee as desired.  

(3) All program advisory committees must officially meet at 
least one time per year to review school policies, facilities, instruc-
tional materials, equipment, curriculum standards and technical 
updating:  

(a) The program advisory committee shall meet to evaluate all 
new proposed program offerings and whenever the school proposes 
major revisions in existing programs. At least one such meeting per 
year shall be at the school. The following criteria will be used to 
determine what constitutes a major program revision: 

(A) A change of 25% or more of the previously approved con-
tract hours, credits, curriculum content (courses offered), or 
program length, or  

(B) A change in academic measurement from clock-hours to 
credit-hours or vice versa, or a change from quarter or trimesters to 
semester credits or vice versa, or  

(C) Any additions or deletions of courses offered that might 
change the overall objective of a currently approved program;  

(b) Minutes of all program advisory committee meetings shall 
be on file in the school office. A copy of the committee findings or 
recommendations, if any, shall be included with the annual license 
renewal application; and  

(c) If the school’s report of enrollments, completions, retentions 
and placements, as prescribed in OAR 715-045-0062(3), does not 
provide information that the school is meeting the provisions of 
ORS 345.325, the commission’s executive director may call for the 
school to convene the program advisory committee(s) for program 
evaluation(s) as prescribed in paragraph (a) of this subsection.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.080 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.080 
Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; Renumbered from 581-045-
0013 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0014 
Exceptions for Schools with Programs also Regulated by 
Another State Agency 

(1) Private career school programs with curriculum or other 
requirements that are established and approved by another state 
agency are exempt from having a program advisory committee as 
defined in OAR 715-045-0013.  

(2) While the programs described in section (1) of this rule 
must meet the Higher Education Coordinating Commission’s 
approval criteria for teacher registration, the commission’s executive 
director may defer approval of the school’s teachers to the appro-
priate state agency.  
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(3) The executive director may modify the financial reporting 
requirements as described in OAR 715-045-0032 or Student Com-
pletion and Placement reporting requirements as described in 715-
045-0064 for any school or programs described in subsection (1) of 
this rule.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.325 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.325 
Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, 
cert. ef. 1-1-07; ODE 16-2010, f. 11-15-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; Renumbered from 
581-045-0014 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0018 
Recordkeeping 

(1) Schools must furnish each prospective student, and have 
evidence of receipt acknowledged by student signature at the time 
of enrollment, with the following items: 

(a) A copy of the school’s most recent catalog that complies 
with OAR 581-045-0019, with any supplements and correction 
sheets; 

(b) Completion and relevant program performance measures, 
including but not limited to placement data, as required by accred-
iting agencies, or certification or state licensing examination 
passage rates, or placement data for students enrolled in the 
program for the last two years; 

(c) A program outline for the program(s) in which the student 
may potentially enroll that details the program outcomes, broken 
down by course including, the core abilities and individual course 
competencies addressed by the program(s); and 

(d) Upon request of the student, a copy of or the web address 
for the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules 
that govern Private Career Schools. 

(2)(a) At the time of enrollment, a career school shall collect 
the following personally identifiable information from each enrolled  
student: 

(A) First and last name; 
(B) Mailing address; 
(C) County of residence; 
(D) State of residence; 
(E) Telephone number; 
(F) E-mail address; 
(G) Social Security number; 
(H) Date of birth; 
(I) Gender; 
(J) Veterans status; 
(K) Disability status; 
(L) National origin; and 
(M) Ethnicity or race. 
(b) Schools shall use the following categories to collect stu-

dents’ ethnicity or race data: 
(A) Hispanic or Latino; 
(B) Native American or Alaskan Native; 
(C) Asian; 
(D) Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander; 
(E) African American; and 
(F) Caucasian. 
(c) If a student refuses to release his or her Social Security 

number, the school may assign an alternative identification num-
ber. 

(d) Students must provide their own personally identifiable 
information. Career school personnel may not enter personally 
identifiable information regarding a student that was derived from 
personal observations. 

(e) Career schools must record for the name of the program in 
which each student has enrolled and the date on which each student 
graduated, withdrew, or was expelled from the school. This infor-
mation must be reported to the commission at least once each year. 

(3)(a) Each career school must adopt policies and procedures, 
and employ adequate safeguards, to protect their students’ personally 
identifiable information from misuse, inadvertent disclosure, or 
theft. 

(b) Career schools may not disclose students’ personally iden-
tifiable information to anyone other than: 

(A) The student, or the student’s parent or guardian, if the stu-
dent is a minor; 

(B) The Higher Education Coordinating Commission; or 
(C) Other local, state, or federal officials as allowed by law. 
(c) Schools shall maintain students’ personally identifiable 

information in accordance with applicable laws, including but not 
limited to the Oregon Consumer Identity Theft Prevention Act, 
ORS 646A.600 to 646A.628, and any rules adopted pursuant to 
ORS 646A.600 to 646A.628. 

(4) Career schools shall maintain the student information 
specified in subsection (2) of this section in an Excel spreadsheet, 
or other electronic format identified by the commission. This infor-
mation must be delivered to the Commission at least once a year, 
and may be included with the school’s license renewal application, 
and may be delivered on a USB drive, CD or DVD, or via other 
means identified by the commission. 

(5)(a) Upon enrollment, the student shall receive a copy of his 
or her enrollment agreement, signed by the student and a school 
official. The enrollment agreement must include a statement, 
located above the signature line, informing the student that the 
enrollment agreement is a binding contract. Thethe actual enrollment 
agreement will be retained by the school; 

(b) The school shall maintain the student’s signed enrollment 
agreement as part of the student’s file. 

(6) Schools shall maintain a file for each student that must 
include: 

(a) A statement signed by the student at the time of enrollment 
certifying receipt of all materials indicated in sections (1) and (5) 
of this rule (or copies of materials where indicated); 

(b) The student’s actual signed enrollment agreement; 
(c) A copy of the student’s signed statement acknowledging 

receipt of any books, supplies, kits, or other substantial materials 
required to participate in the instructional program that are issued 
to the student subsequent to enrollment. The statement must be 
itemized, indicate the fee paid by the student for the materials (if 
any), and identify the date the materials were received by the 
student. If not all materials are issued at the same time, the student 
must initial the date of receipt each time materials are issued; alter-
natively, the materials list may contain a statement to the effect that 
certain indicated materials will be issued at the time of instruction 
when they are to be used. By initialing the statement, students 
acknowledge that indicated materials are to be received at a date 
that corresponds with the sequencing of the instructional program. 

(d) If an orientation is offered by the school on or before the 
first day of classes, an indication of attendance signed by the 
student on that orientation day acknowledging that school policies 
and procedures were explained and student questions were 
answered. 

(e) A copy of the student’s signed payment plan if separate 
from the enrollment agreement; 

(f) A schedule of anticipated student payments due, payments 
made, and copies of receipts for all payments; 

(g) All documentation regarding third party training contracts, 
e.g., NAFTA, Vocational Rehabilitation, etc., 

(h) Written progress reports that shall include at a minimum 
information on how the student is progressing in areas such as 
classroom attendance and performance (but not used as final 
grades) updated at appropriate intervals; 

(i) Progress reports may be maintained by electronic means 
provided there is an electronic system in place with sufficient 
security protocols to allow for student access while maintaining 
confidentiality. A log of student access activity must be placed in 
the student file at intervals corresponding with the stated progress 
report intervals to demonstrate that the student is reviewing the 
progress report and receiving appropriate feedback and improvement 
planning; 

(j) Copies of any documentation required for admission, or a 
written evaluation of required documentation, when appropriate, 
signed by a member of the school admissions staff explaining 
scoring of documentation and evaluation criteria; 
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(k) A copy of the results of any enrollment evaluation or 
examination or evaluation of transfer credit or competencies, and 
any calculations used to determine awarding of credit or hours; and 

(l) Record of operations completed, if applicable, with dates 
and scores received; 

(7) The school must maintain each student’s file for a 
minimum of 3 years from the date the student graduated, withdrew, 
or was expelled. 

(8) Schools shall maintain a record of each student’s attendance, 
updated weekly. This record shall include each student’s dates and 
hours of attendance. 

(9) Upon the student’s satisfactory completion of instruction, 
schools shall: 

(a) Issue an appropriate certificate or diploma; and 
(b) Issue appropriate educational transcripts that shall include, 

but are not limited to: 
(A) School name and location; 
(B) Student’s name; 
(C) First and last date of attendance; 
(D) Specific program(s) taken; 
(E) Clock and credit hours (if applicable); 
(F) Grade for each course; 
(G) Name of accrediting agency, if the school is accredited; 
(H) Statement indicating the school maintains transcripts for a 

minimum of 25 years; and 
(I) Signature of the appropriate school official with school 

seal (if any) and date of issue. 
(10) Schools shall maintain and issue transcripts as follows: 
(a) Store transcripts in a safe, vault, or file having a minimum 

one-hour fire-safe rating unless duplicate records are kept in a safe 
location outside the school building. The address of locations 
outside the school building must be on file with the Department; 

(b) Keep transcripts of all former students that include the 
information described in subsection (5)(b)(A)-(H) of this rule for a 
period of no less than 25 years from date of termination of enroll-
ment. Transcripts must be stored under the same conditions as 
described in paragraph (a) of this subsection; 

(c) Make a student’s records available to the student upon 
request. Availability of records shall comply with the “Family Edu-
cational Rights and Privacy Act” (Public Law 93-380 as amended 
by Public Law 93-568). The educational institution shall respond 
within a reasonable period of time, but not more than 45 days after 
receipt of the request; 

(d) Deliver to the Superintendent all permanent student tran-
scripts for safekeeping if the school should cease to operate. The 
Superintendent will maintain the transcripts of all closed schools. 
If available, certified copies of the transcripts will be provided, 
when a written request signed by the student, is received at the 
Department. A non-refundable search fee of $10 must accompany 
the request; and 

(e) A school may withhold an official transcript, certificate of 
completion, or diploma if the student has any outstanding debt 
owed to the school. Forms, letters, questionnaires, or other material 
printed or written for the purpose of debt collection must clearly 
and conspicuously state that they are used for the purpose of 
attempting to collect a debt or attempting to obtain information 
concerning a debtor. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.325 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.325 
Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. 
ef. 10-1-02; ODE 17-2003, f. 12-30-03, cert. ef. 1-1-04; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-
06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; ODE 16-2010, f. 11-15-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; Renumbered 
from 581-045-0018 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14; HECC 8-2014, f. 
& cert. ef. 12-18-14 

715-045-0019 
School Catalogs 

A school catalog shall have numbered pages and include the 
following elements. If any of the following elements do not appear 
in the body of the catalog, a reference to other specific documents 
where the required information appears must be in the catalog. 
Copies of ancillary documents referred to in the catalog must be 
approved by and on file with the Department:  

(1) Name, address, phone number, and other relevant contact 
information (e.g., fax number, website address) of the school;  

(2) Effective dates for the catalog, not to exceed one year, and 
other reference identifiers such as volume or edition, or version 
numbers, etc.;  

(3) A Table of Contents;  
(4) Name(s) of school owner(s);  
(5) Names and positions of administrative and instructional 

staff;  
(6) Names and contact information for all licensing and 

accrediting institutions that have governing authority over the 
school;  

(7) School’s mission statement;  
(8) The educational or vocational objective of each program 

including the name and level of occupations for which the program 
purports to train;  

(9) The number of clock hours and credit hours (if applicable) 
of instruction in each program and the length of time in weeks or 
months expected for completion; if a program is lesson based, the 
number of lessons comprising the program must also be included;  

(10) Maximum time allowed for completion of each program;  
(11) A complete listing and description of courses offered by 

program, describing subjects included in each course in sufficient 
detail to clearly identify the scope, sequence, and coverage of the 
training. If a course is for the purpose of continuing education or 
self-improvement, the course must be clearly identified as such;  

(12) A description of the school’s physical facilities, equipment, 
and instructional resources available for student use, including a 
description of any library or media resources available to the 
student, and the policies governing use of these resources;  

(13) Admission process including:  
(a) Admission requirements;  
(b) Documentation requirements;  
(c) Criteria for acceptance on each requirement;  
(d) Schedule of all admission fees and the purpose of each 

listed fee;  
(e) Ability to benefit (ATB) policy:  
(A) If a school uses an ATB test, the school must provide;  
(i) The name of ATB test used;  
(ii) The name and location of proctor;  
(iii) The method of test administration; and  
(iv) The minimum acceptable score; or  
(B) If the school does not use an ATB test, the alternative 

methods of determining ability to benefit and accompanying pro-
cedures and criteria used by the school;  

(f) Identity verification policy (if applicable);  
(g) Drug testing policy (if applicable);  
(h) Policy for notification of acceptance or denial of admissions 

request including time lines;  
(i) Reapplication policy for denied applicants;  
(j) A statement of non-discrimination for admission on the 

basis of sex, age, race, color, religion, ethnic origin, or sexual ori-
entation.  

(14) Transfer policy, including:  
(a) Documentation requirements for previous training or 

experience;  
(b) Method for evaluating documentation of previous training 

or experience;  
(c) Description of any skills evaluation processes or exams 

given by the school to determine credit to award for previous 
training or experience;  

(d) Time line for evaluation process and notification of 
results; 

(e) Description of how program requirements, cost and length 
will be adjusted;  

(15) Enrollment process, including; 
(a) A school calendar indicating enrollment / registration 

dates, start and end dates for each program, holidays, other days 
school is not in session, and any other important dates that are rea-
sonably likely to affect the decision of a potential student to enroll;  

Chapter 715     Higher Education Coordinating Commission

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2017 Edition                                                                                       20 - 25                                                                                          (11-15-16)



(b) Schedule of enrollment fees showing cost of tuition, regis-
tration fee, other instructional fees for books, supplies, laboratory 
time, etc., and any other costs for which the student may be respon-
sible. Schedule will present total costs for each program offered 
and provide clear disclosure of what is and is not included specifi-
cally in the individual fee for tuition. This information may be pre-
sented as an addendum or insert to the publication. A copy of the 
current fee schedule must be on file with the Department at all 
times.  

(c) Options and terms for payment of tuition and other fees, 
including clear disclosure of any associated discounts and deposits 
required, with timing of such deposits indicated;  

(d) Fee waiver policy, criteria, and procedure;  
(e) Criteria for any in-house scholarship programs available, 

the process for application, notification of award or denial, the dis-
bursement schedule, and the credit methodology;  

(f) Clear disclosure of policy for return of books, supplies, or 
other materials, and refund of fees paid for such items;  

(g) State approved refund policy or school’s refund policy if 
determined by the Superintendent or designee to be more favorable 
to the student;  

(h) Clear and conspicuous disclosure of student’s cancellation 
rights;  

(16) Policies and procedures relating to:  
(a) Attendance, including course minimum and program 

cumulative satisfactory progress standards;  
(b) Excused and unexcused absence criteria and effect of such 

absence on satisfactory attendance progress;  
(c) Tardiness;  
(d) Leaves of absence, including how a leave of absence 

affects satisfactory attendance progress;  
(e) Make-up work;  
(f) Overall grading system, including rating scale, point 

system, or other rubric used, with definitions of performance indi-
cated by rating levels or ranges;  

(g) All institutions with which the school has an articulation 
agreement, if applicable;  

(h) Academic satisfactory progress standards for:  
(A) Minimum acceptable performance for courses and pro-

grams according to grading system;  
(B) Cumulative acceptable performance for programs according 

to grading system; and  
(C) Frequency and method of reporting student progress, 

including:  
(i) Elements of performance reported on;  
(ii) Recourse of student to challenge report information and 

process for doing so;  
(iii) Process for performance improvement planning and other 

uses of progress reports;  
(iv) Effect of course incompletes, repetitions, and remedial 

courses on satisfactory progress calculations  
(17) Specific requirements for graduation or completion;  
(18) Description of the certificate, diploma, or credential 

awarded upon graduation or completion;  
(19) If the school has negotiated any articulation agreements 

with other institutions for transfer or awarding of credit based on 
course completion at the school, a description of those articulation 
agreements will be included in the school catalog. Description will 
include at a minimum:  

(a) Name of all institutions with which an official articulation 
agreement is in place;  

(b) Name of all programs or courses that are eligible for 
transfer to each institution identified;  

(c) Description of process to initiate request for transfer of 
credit.  

(20) Policies and procedures relating to discipline:  
(a) Description of verbal and written warning systems 

including number and timing of warnings issued of each type and 
how warnings trigger further disciplinary action. When a student 
receives a verbal or written warning, the student will sign an 
acknowledgment that they have received a warning. This acknowl-

edgment does not constitute agreement by the student with the con-
tent of the warning.  

(b) Student conduct standards, including:  
(A) Standards regarding discriminatory behavior of students 

against other students, school personnel, or other related persons;  
(B) Clear disclosure of types of conduct violations;  
(c) Probation, including:  
(A) Clear indicators for when probation is invoked, according 

to stated standards for conduct and satisfactory progress;  
(B) Length of probation and terms for reinstatement to good 

standing;  
(C) Number of times probation is allowed in a set period of 

time and the consequences if that number is exceeded;  
(D) Effect of probationary status on satisfactory progress stan-

dards and student financial obligations and awards;  
(d) Suspension, including:  
(A) Clear indicators for when suspension is invoked, according 

to stated standards for conduct and satisfactory progress;  
(B) Length of suspension and terms for reinstatement to good 

standing;  
(C) Number of times suspension is allowed in a set period of 

time and the consequences if that number is exceeded;  
(D) Effect of suspension status on satisfactory progress stan-

dards and student financial obligations and awards;  
(e) Termination, including:  
(A) Clear indicators for when termination is invoked, according 

to stated standards for conduct and satisfactory progress;  
(B) Effect of termination on student’s financial obligation to 

the school.  
(f) Policies and procedures relating to reinstatement or reentry:  
(A) When student’s withdrawal was voluntary and the student 

was in compliance with all school policies, and  
(B) When the student’s withdrawal was not voluntary and 

involved noncompliance of academic, attendance, or conduct poli-
cies, or financial obligations, or any combination thereof.  

(g) A discrimination policy, including;  
(A) Standards for treatment of students who are members of 

protected classes as defined in ORS 659.850;  
(B) Recourse of students who believe they have been discrim-

inated against, including this statement: “Any person unlawfully 
discriminated against, as described in ORS 345.240, may file a 
complaint under 659A.820 with the Commissioner of the Bureau 
of Labor and Industries”;  

(C) Statement that school’s policies governing employees will 
be enforced in situations where instructional staff or other school 
personnel have been found to have engaged in discriminatory 
behavior;  

(21) A student grievance policy, which includes: 
(a) The process for initiating a complaint or grievance against 

the school, its staff, or students;  
(b) Appeal process, including point of contact for initiating 

appeal;  
(c) School personnel, by name or by position, involved in 

evaluating an appeal. This staff person or group of persons shall 
not include the same staff that evaluated and ruled on the initial 
grievance;  

(d) Time line for issuing a decision on an appeal; and  
(e) This statement: “students aggrieved by action of the school 

should attempt to resolve these problems with appropriate school 
officials. Should this procedure fail students may contact: Higher 
Education Coordinating Commission, (use current address), Salem, 
OR (use current ZIP code).” After consultation with appropriate 
staff and if the complaint alleges a violation of Oregon Revised 
Statutes 345.010 to 345.470 or standards of the Oregon Adminis-
trative Rules 715-045-0001 through 715-045-0210, the commission’s 
executive director will begin the complaint investigation process as 
defined in OAR 715-045-0023, Appeals and Complaints.  

(22) Student Services, including: 
(a) A description of the extent and nature of placement assis-

tance provided to students and graduates, including but not limited 
to:  
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(A) Job search techniques;  
(B) Resume’ writing or the industry equivalent;  
(C) Job interview techniques or the industry equivalent;  
(D) The assistance the school provides in establishing job 

contacts or interviews for graduates;  
(E) A clear statement that the institution does not and cannot 

guarantee employment;  
(b) Specifics describing the availability of and eligibility for 

student housing,  
(c) Availability of career or other counseling services,  
(d) Statement of rights of student to access their files and pro-

cedure for doing so,  
(e) Policy regarding release of information about an individual 

student, including applicable requirements of the “Family Educa-
tional Rights and Privacy Act of 1974” (FERPA) (20 USC § 1232g; 
34 CFR Part 99), and  

(f) Other student services, if any.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.325 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.325 
Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 17-2003, f. 12-30-03, 
cert. ef. 1-1-04; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; ODE 16-2010, f. 
11-15-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; Renumbered from 581-045-0019 by HECC 2-2014, f. 
& cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0022 
Facilities 

(1) All schools shall demonstrate that premises owned, rented, 
leased, occupied, maintained, used or approved by the school, are 
maintained in compliance with applicable city, county or state ordi-
nances and laws relating to safety and health of persons on the 
premises.  

(2) Safety and health inspection data required by OR-OSHA 
(ORS 654.010) and other applicable statute, ordinance or adminis-
trative rule shall be available for review by Higher Education 
Coordinating Commission staff. All applicants for an initial license 
must have a fire inspection by appropriate city or county Fire Mar-
shall’s office prior to issuance of a license and all licensees must 
have an annual fire inspection if annual service is provided by 
applicable Fire Marshall’s office. Schools must be clean, well 
maintained and provide good lighting and ventilation. Schools 
must arrange classrooms, equipment and demonstration areas to 
enhance instruction, provide sufficient storage, use prescribed con-
tainers for hazardous materials, and provide for safe and orderly 
classroom management for the type of educational programs 
offered.  

(3) A school shall notify the Superintendent in writing at least 
30 calendar days in advance of any change of its principal location 
or name. In the event of change of location, Department staff may 
inspect the new site. Deficiencies, if any, must be corrected in a 
timely manner for continued approval to operate in the new 
location. Failure to notify the commission’s executive director of 
name or address change may result in the imposing of civil 
penalties per OAR 715-045-0190. An exception may be granted if 
the executive director determines a legitimate emergency or a cir-
cumstance exists which would prevent the school from complying.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.080  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.080 
Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; Renumbered from 581-045-
0022 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0023 
Appeals and Complaints 

(1) Each school shall implement a process for the prompt res-
olution of a complaint by a student of the school. Unless specifically 
provided by state or federal law or administrative rule, the decision 
of the school shall be final. 

(2) Complaints filed on behalf of or by a student against a 
school must be postmarked within one year of the student’s last 
date of attendance.  

(3) If the complaint alleges a violation of Oregon Revised 
Statutes, ORS 345.010 to 345.470 or standards of OAR 715-045-
0006 through 715-045-0210, the complainant may direct an appeal 
to the Higher Education Coordinating Commission, after exhausting 

the school’s procedures or after 45 days from filing a written com-

plaint with the school, whichever occurs first. The appeal shall be 

in writing and shall contain:  

(a) The complainant’s name, address, phone number, and sig-

nature;  

(b) School name, address, and phone number; 

(c) A brief statement indicating which statute or rule the 

school is alleged to have violated and how the school is alleged to 

have violated it, e.g., failure to refund tuition, failure to provide a 

portion of the program described in the enrollment agreement; 

(d) Facts detailing dates of attendance, termination date, date 

of occurrence, names, addresses and positions of school officials 

contacted, financial loss, if any, and any other pertinent information;  

(e) An explanation of what efforts have been taken to resolve 

the problem with the school, if any; and  

(f) Copies of pertinent documents, such as the enrollment 

agreement, catalog and advertisements.  

(4) After receipt of a complaint or other allegation that a 

school has failed or is failing to comply with the provisions of any 

laws or rules, the commission’s executive director shall investigate 

the facts surrounding the allegations.  

(5) The executive director shall notify the complainant and the 

school of the findings resulting from the investigation.  

(6) The commission may impose penalties as defined in OAR 

581-045-0190 if the school is found to be in violation of any 

standard or rule.  

(7) Subsections (1) and (2) of this rule do not limit the 

statutory authority of the commission to investigate schools regard-

less of receiving allegations from the public. 

(8) At the request of the executive director, complaints may be 

resolved with the assistance of such other parties as the Oregon 

Student Assistance Commission, Oregon Department of Justice, 

U.S. Department of Education, and other appropriate organizations 

and/or individuals.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.120 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.120 

Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 17-2003, f. 12-30-03, 

cert. ef. 1-1-04; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; Renumbered from 

581-045-0023 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14
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715-045-0029 
Tuition Protection Fund 

(1) There shall be a fund known as the Private Career School 
Tuition Protection Fund (as described in ORS 345.110). The 
Tuition Protection Fund is hereby established in the custody of the 
State Treasurer. The Executive Director of the Higher Education 
Coordinating Commission shall deposit in the fund all monies 
received under this rule. Monies from the fund shall be spent only 
for the purposes under this rule. Disbursements from the fund shall 
be on authorization from the commission and no appropriation is 
required for such disbursements. All earnings on investments of 
the fund shall be credited to the fund. To be and remain licensed, 
each private career school authorized in accordance with the provi-
sions of ORS Chapter 345 shall pay to the state an initial capitaliza-
tion deposit and 14 semiannual payments. The fund shall be 
initially capitalized at a minimum of $200,000 and shall achieve 
and maintain an operating balance of at least $1 million. Said fund 
is intended to be a fund of last resort.  

(2) Purpose of the fund:  
(a) Students attending schools licensed by the State of Oregon, 

other than students covered by another state’s tuition protection, 
may apply to the commission, when a school ceases to provide 
educational services, for a refund of tuition from the fund 
established pursuant to this rule to the extent that such fund exists 
or has reached the level necessary to pay outstanding approved 
claims. The liability of the fund for claims against the school shall 
not exceed the total amount of the liability limit assigned to the 
school under subsection (3)(a) of this rule. Such limitation on each 
school’s liability remains unchanged by single or cumulative dis-
bursements made on behalf of the school. If the commission’s 
executive director finds that a student is entitled to a refund of 
tuition, the executive director shall determine the amount of refund 
based on criteria established by the commission;  

(b) The commission shall direct the State Treasurer to pay the 
refund on behalf of the student to the student and/or the student’s 
financial sponsor(s). If the student is a minor, payment shall be 
made to the student’s financial sponsor(s). Each recipient of a 
tuition refund shall, as a condition for receiving the claim, assign 
all rights to the commission of any action against the school or its 
owner(s) for tuition amounts reimbursed pursuant to this section;  

(c) Upon such assignment, the executive director shall take 
appropriate action against the school or its owner(s) in order to 
reimburse the Tuition Protection Fund for any expenses or claims 
that are paid from the fund and to reimburse the commission for the 
reasonable and necessary expenses in undertaking such action;  

(d) The executive director shall attempt to recover from the 
school all funds disbursed from the Tuition Protection Fund and 
other costs of recovery;  

(e) The Tuition Protection Fund shall not be used to reimburse 
private party attorney fees;  

(f) Under no circumstances will any party, person or entity, 
other than the commission, be allowed to access funds from the 
Tuition Protection Fund; and  

(g) No liability accrues to the State of Oregon from claims 
made against the fund.  

(3) Establishment of fund liability limits: 
(a) The amount of liability that can be satisfied by this fund, 

on behalf of each individual school licensed under this rule, shall 
be based on the gross tuition income reported on the last license 
renewal application: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE]  

(b) The calculation of gross annual tuition for a school located 
outside the State of Oregon shall include only that income derived 
from residents of this state during the school’s preceding year of 
operation, as evidenced in the financial statement required by OAR 
581-045-0032;  

(c) Institutions not yet in operation or otherwise lacking a full 
year’s financial data prior to initial licensing, shall have a liability 
limit calculated on the basis of an estimation of gross annual 
tuition;  

(d) Each school subject to this rule shall submit to the com-
mission in cash or by check or money order, the following nonre-

fundable* amounts for its initial capitalization deposit into the 
Tuition Protection Fund: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE]  

(e) After the date of its nonrefundable initial capitalization 
deposit, as a condition to remaining licensed, each school shall 
remit to the commission for deposit into the Tuition Protection 
Fund semiannual payments (on January 31 and July 31) in cash or 
by check or money order, in accordance with the schedule in sub-
section (3)(d) of this rule. If the semiannual payment is not post-
marked (or date stamped if hand delivered to the Department) 
before or on the due date, the commission may impose a civil 
penalty as allowed under ORS 345.995 and OAR 715-045-0190. 
Failure of a school to make payment within 30 days of due date 
shall be grounds for suspension or revocation of the school’s 
license; and 

(f) The executive director shall prepare and mail to each 
licensee semiannual notices of the due dates and amounts of 
deposits required under subsection (3) of this rule. Each notice 
shall include therein at least once each year:  

(A) A notation showing the licensee’s aggregate prior deposits 
into the fund;  

(B) A notation showing the licensee’s balance of remaining 
payments based on the most recent deposit received; 

(C) A notation showing the cumulated balance existing in the 
fund at the most recent half-year accounting; and 

(D) A summary showing all disbursements made from the 
fund to satisfy claims in the period since the last such similar sum-
mary was disseminated.  

(4) After disbursements made to settle claims reduce the oper-
ating balance below $500,000, and recovery of such funds has not 
been ensured by the affected school within 30 days, the commission 
shall assess each licensee a pro rata share of the amount required to 
restore the balance in the fund to $500,000. When calculating each 
share, the commission shall employ a pro rata percentage of 
liability. If the amount of any single such assessment equals or is 
less than the semiannual amount of deposit established for the 
licensee, the assessment shall be paid within 30 days of notice. If 
any single assessment exceeds the amount of its semiannual 
deposit, the school may apply to the commission for a schedule of 
deferred payments. The commission shall grant such deferrals on 
application, but in no case shall the time extended exceed one year 
beyond the date of an assessment. 

(5) The executive director shall determine, based on annual 
financial data supplied by the school, whether the semiannual 
deposit assigned to the school on the matrix established under sub-
section (3) has changed. If an increase or decrease has occurred, a 
corresponding change in the semiannual deposit shall be made 
before the date of its next scheduled deposit into the fund. 

(6) When any ownership interest in a school is conveyed 
through sale or other means that results in the transferee (buyer) 
owning more than 50 percent of the school, the contribution 
schedule of the prior owner is canceled. All contributions made up 
to the date of the transfer accrue to the fund. The new owner com-
mences contributions under provisions applying to a new applicant. 
Exception shall be granted to any transferee (buyer) who held more 
than 50 percent of the ownership interest prior to the transfer and to 
any transferee who owned any interest in the school for more than 
four years prior to the transfer. In such instances the transferee 
(buyer) shall provide the executive director with legal evidence to 
validate the percent and time period of ownership.  

(7) When deposits total $3,000,000, and the history of dis-
bursements so warrants, the commission may reduce the schedule 
of deposits whether as to time, amount, or both. When such level is 
achieved, the commission may return any excess funds to currently 
licensed schools that have completed their required contributions 
to the fund.  

(8) Additional procedures established to deal with a school 
that ceases to provide educational services: 

(a) A school ceases to provide educational services when the 
school or a division of the school ceases to provide classes or 
instruction;  
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(b) The executive director shall attempt to notify all potential 
claimants within 60 days of the date the executive director deter-
mines a school has ceased to provide educational services. The 
absence of records and other circumstances may make it impossible 
or unreasonable for the executive director to ascertain the name 
and address of each potential claimant, but the executive director 
shall make reasonable inquiries to secure that information from all 
likely sources including but not limited to public notification. The 
notification to students shall inform them of the opportunity and 
the deadline for submitting claims against the Tuition Protection 
Fund; 

(c) Claims against the Tuition Protection Fund may be made 
only by students who were enrolled at the time a school ceases to 
provide educational services;  

(d) All claims must be filed with the commission by the dead-
line established in the executive director’s notification. Each 
student filing a claim must specify and verify any and all sources 
and amounts of tuition that were paid on the student’s behalf. The 
commission may refuse to pay any claim that does not contain suf-
ficient verification or other information required by the executive 
director;  

(e) The executive director shall not consider any claims filed 
after the deadline established in the executive director’s notification. 
Failure of a student to receive notification shall not be a basis for 
the commission to consider any claims filed after the deadline;  

(f) The executive director shall seek to recover such disbursed 
funds from the assets of the defaulted school, including but not 
limited to asserting claims as a creditor in bankruptcy proceedings; 
and  

(g) A school shall have no vested right, claim or interest in any 
deposit to the Tuition Protection Fund and all payments shall 
accrue to the fund.  

(9) In the event of a potential and actual school closure a 
school shall inform its students in writing of their rights under the 
provisions governing the Tuition Protection Fund. 

(10) If a school closure is in violation of OAR 715-045-0067, 
the commission may allocate monies from the Tuition Protection 
Fund, as a fund of last resort, to teach-out arrangements for 
displaced students. The liability level for teach-out costs shall be 
the same as that established in subsection (3) of this rule. Students 
signing a written agreement as a result of this option would not be 
entitled to a refund from the school or the Tuition Protection Fund.  

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.110 & 345.995  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.110  
Hist.: EB 32-1991, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-91; EB 18-1992 (Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-
13-92; EB 34-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-92; EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; 
ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 
10-1-02; Renumbered from 581-045-0029 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-
14 

715-045-0032 
Standards for Financial Reporting 

(1) All private career schools shall submit at initial licensing, 
and annually thereafter in conjunction with the license renewal, 
financial information reflecting the fiscal condition of the school at 
its start-up or at the close of its most recent fiscal or calendar year, 
whichever is applicable. For such purposes the information 
submitted shall conform to the following:  

(a) At initial application for licensing, the school must submit 
a business plan based on the major goals of the school for the first 
two years of operation along with the methods and procedures for 
achieving the goals. Included as part of the plan will be an opening 
balance sheet, along with worksheets documenting the source and 
method of calculation for amounts listed on the balance sheet. The 
school shall have sufficient capital to provide all the appropriate 
instruction, support and administrative services (including appro-
priate comprehensive general liability insurance), staffing, equip-
ment, and facilities. The Executive Director of the Higher Education 
Coordinating Commission will use financial ratios relevant to the 
private career school industry, such as those suggested by national 
professional organizations, accrediting organizations, and other 
appropriate financial statistics to determine the sufficiency of the 

planned capital. The plan also shall include a projected income 
statement showing the projected income and expenses for each of 
the first two years of operation, with the first year’s projections cal-
culated on a monthly basis, and the second year’s projections cal-
culated on a quarterly basis.  

(b) In addition to the licensing requirements cited in paragraph 
(a) of this subsection, financial requirements shall be based on a 
school’s ability to fulfill its obligations to students, meet refund 
obligations, meet operational expenses and other financial obliga-
tions, and make the required contributions to the existing tuition 
protection fund. When the sufficiency of the planned capital is 
questionable, the executive director may require mechanisms be 
put in place to ensure the availability of operating funds and funds 
required to satisfy student tuition refund requests, including but not 
limited to a letter of credit, or the escrow of unearned tuition funds.  

(c) The financial report for license renewal may be prepared 
by the school owner or competent school personnel for schools 
with gross annual tuition income of less than $225,000. Such report 
shall cover the most recent annual accounting period completed. 
The balance sheet information must clearly show all assets, liabili-
ties, and net worth, while the income statement must clearly show 
the profit or loss for the fiscal year. Each school also must provide 
a cash flow statement showing its:  

(A) Cash flow from operations;  
(B) Cash flow used in investing; and  
(C) Cash flow from financing activities.  
(d) The information for license renewal must also show total 

instructional income and expense for the school for the preceding 
fiscal year, along with supporting worksheets and documentation 
as provided by the commission. If a school offers both licensed 
programs and programs exempt from licensure, total instructional 
income for licensed programs and exempt programs shall be dis-
played separately so that gross tuition income from which license 
fees and the tuition protection fund assessment will be computed is 
clearly identified. At the option of the school owner, expenses may 
or may not be displayed separately for licensed and exempt pro-
grams. The amount of the tuition protection fund assessment 
required for an initial license will be computed on the basis of pro-
jected first year tuition income but shall not be less than a liability 
limit of $6,250;  

(e) At the option of the school, the financial report may be in 
the format provided by the commission;  

(f) Each school must certify in its financial report that all 
refunds due students have been made and are not in default. If any 
refund requests are pending, the school must disclose this informa-
tion along with a status report of the request(s); documentation pre-
pared for accreditation reviews or from reviewed financial reports 
may be submitted to satisfy this requirement;  

(g) In all instances, information supplied must be certified 
true and correct by the school owner or an authorized representative;  

(h) Schools reporting gross tuition income between $225,000 
and $1,999,999, inclusive, will submit a reviewed financial report 
that conforms to Generally Accepted Accounting Principles 
(GAAP) and is completed and signed by an independent Certified 
Public Accountant (CPA). In lieu of a reviewed financial report, 
schools may submit income tax forms if all of the following condi-
tions are met:  

(A) The income tax forms were prepared and signed by an 
independent Certified Public Accountant (CPA), and  

(B) The income tax forms are reporting financial information 
solely for the career school or the organization within which the 
school function is embedded if the career school is not a legal 
entity in its own right, and  

(C) The school or organization’s fiscal year matches the tax 
year, and  

(D) All sensitive information such as social security numbers 
have been redacted, and  

(E) The income tax forms are complete with all related sched-
ules and worksheets and include all information that would be used 
to prepare a reviewed financial report, and  
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(F) The requirements of paragraph (d) of this subsection are 
met. Separate forms displaying tuition costs for licensed programs 
versus exempt programs and other activities must be included if the 
career school is embedded within the operation of a larger organi-
zation and is not a legal entity in its own right.  

(G) Any income tax forms received by the commission that do 
not meet the requirements of paragraph (h) of this subsection will 
be shredded upon receipt.  

(i) Schools that are accredited and offer students state or 
federal financial aid may not submit income tax forms and must 
submit an audited financial report signed by an independent 
Certified Public Accountant, regardless of amount of gross tuition 
income.  

(j) Schools reporting gross tuition income of $2,000,000 or 
more will submit an audited financial report that conforms to Gen-
erally Accepted Accounting Principles, (GAAP), Generally Accept-
ed Audit Standards, (GAAS), and Statements for Accounting and 
Review Services (SAARS) currently in effect.  

(2) If after analyzing a school’s financial reports and records, 
the executive director determines the school is not financially 
responsible, as described in OAR 581-045-0063, or that the 
school’s records are incomplete or inaccurate, the executive 
director may require the school to submit within 75 calendar days 
of written notice:  

(a) An audited financial report signed by an independent Cer-
tified Public Accountant (CPA); and  

(b) Its most recent federal and state income tax reports. 
(3) The executive director may waive or modify all or part of 

the requirements in subsections (1) and (2) of this rule for a school 
that operates within the context of a larger business structure and is 
not a legal business entity in its own right, or has other financial 
considerations that are best evaluated through examination of a dif-
ferent set of financial data. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.325(8) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.325 
Hist.: 1EB 34-1978, f. & ef. 10-5-78; 1EB 30-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; EB 11-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-90; EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; Renumbered 
from 581-045-0016, ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 17-2003, 
f. 12-30-03, cert. ef. 1-1-04; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; ODE 
16-2010, f. 11-15-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; Renumbered from 581-045-0032 by 
HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0033 
Standards for Advertising 

(1) Printed school publications, brochures, or pamphlets shall 
be on file at the school and available upon request to any 
prospective student, enrolled student, and the Department. 

(2) A school catalog shall meet the requirements of OAR 715-
045-0019.  

(3) Upon request of the student, the school must provide the 
following information no later than at the time the student signs an 
enrollment agreement:  

(a) Number of students enrolled in the program at the 
beginning of the current reporting period;  

(b) Number of students who enrolled in the program during 
the last reporting period;  

(c) Number of students who left the program without complet-
ing it during the last reporting period;  

(d) Number of students who graduated from the program 
during the last reporting period; and  

(e) Number of those who graduated and were placed or 
working full time in directly related occupations during the last 
reporting period.  

(4) Subsections (3)(b) through (e) of this rule do not apply to 
prelicense schools as in OAR 715-045-0014. 

(5) A school shall have records available to document any 
statements made by the school through its advertising including 
salary and placement claims.  

(6) A school shall not advertise that it is endorsed, recom-
mended, or approved by the Higher Education Coordinating com-
mission or the commission’s executive director. The school may 
use the phrase “licensed by the Oregon Higher Education Coordi-
nating Commission” in its advertising material.  

(7) If a school offers programs licensed by the commission 
and also offers programs that do not require licensure, the school 
shall clearly identify each type of program in any publication.  

(8) Any school that performs services for the public shall con-
spicuously display in the reception area a sign indicating that 
exclusively either students or employees, or both perform its ser-
vices.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.325 & SB 326.051 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.325 
Hist.: 1EB 257, f. 1-3-77, ef. 7-1-77; 1 EB 30-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; EB 11-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-90; EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; ODE 23-
2000(Temp), f. 7-27-00, cert. ef. 7-27-00 thru 1-22-01; Renumbered from 581-
045-0021, ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 
cert. ef. 10-1-02; Renumbered from 581-045-0033 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0034 
False, Deceptive, Inaccurate or Misleading Representations 

No private career school or its agents may intentionally or 
knowingly make false, deceptive, inaccurate or misleading repre-
sentations of fact in any oral, written, visual or electronic 
presentation in connection with the offering or publicizing of a 
subject or course of instruction. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.325 & 326.051 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.325 
Hist.: ODE 23-2000(Temp), f. 7-27-00, cert. ef. 7-27-00 thru 1-22-01; ODE 31-
2000, f. 12-11-00, cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 9-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-27-01 
thru 8-17-01, Renumbered from 581-045-0585; Renumbered from 581-045-
0585, ODE 12-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-15-01; Renumbered from 581-045-0034 by 
HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0036 
Cancellation and Refund Policy: Resident Instruction 

(1) A student may cancel enrollment by giving written notice 
to the school. Unless the school has discontinued the program of 
instruction, the student is financially obligated to the school 
according to the following:  

(a) If cancellation occurs within five business days of the date 
of enrollment, and before the commencement of classes, all monies 
specific to the enrollment agreement shall be refunded;  

(b) If cancellation occurs after five business days of the date 
of enrollment, and before the commencement of classes, the school 
may retain only the published registration fee. Such fee shall not 
exceed 15 percent of the tuition cost, or $150, whichever is less;  

(c) If withdrawal or termination occurs after the commencement 
of classes and before completion of 50 percent of the contracted 
instruction program, the student shall be charged according to the 
published class schedule. The student shall be entitled to a pro rata 
refund of the tuition when the amount paid exceeds the charges 
owed to the school. In addition to the pro rated tuition, the school 
may retain the registration fee, book and supply fees, and other 
legitimate charges owed by the student;  

(d) If withdrawal or termination occurs after completion of 50 
percent or more of the program, the student shall be obligated for 
the tuition charged for the entire program and shall not be entitled 
to any refund;  

(e) The enrollment agreement shall be signed and dated by 
both the student and the authorized school official. For cancellation 
of the enrollment agreement referenced in subsections (1)(a) and 
(b) of this rule, the “date of enrollment” will be the date that the 
enrollment agreement is signed by both the student and the school 
official, whichever is later.  

(2) Published Class Schedule (for the purpose of calculating 
tuition charges) means the period of time between the commence-
ment of classes and the student’s last date of attendance as offered 
by the school and scheduled by the student.  

(3) The term “Pro rata Refund” means a refund of tuition that 
has been paid for a portion of the program beyond the last recorded 
date of attendance.  

(4) When a program is measured in clock hours, the portion of 
the program for which the student will be charged is determined by 
dividing the total clock hours into the number of clock hours 
accrued according to the published class schedule as of the last date 
of attendance.  
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(5) When a program is measured in credit hours, the portion 
of the program for which the student will be charged is determined 
by dividing the total number of weeks into the number of weeks 
accrued according to the published class schedule as of the last date 
of attendance.  

(6) For other measurements of time such as days or weeks, the 
portion of the enrollment period for which the student will be 
charged is determined by dividing the total number of days or 
weeks into the number of days or weeks, accrued according to the 
published class schedule as of the last date of attendance. 

(7) The term “tuition cost” means the charges for instruction 
including any lab fees. “Tuition cost” does not include application 
fees, registration fees, or other identified program fees and costs. 
The school shall adopt and publish policies regarding the return of 
resalable books and supplies and/or the prorating of user fees, other 
than lab fees.  

(8) The school shall not charge a withdrawal fee of more than 
$25.  

(9) The school may adopt and apply refund calculations more 
favorable to the student than those described under this policy.  

(10) When a cancellation, withdrawal, termination, or com-
pletion occurs, a calculation of all allowable charges under this rule 
shall be made. If such calculations evidence that the school 
received total payments greater than its allowable charges:  

(a) Within 40 days after notification of such cancellation, 
withdrawal, termination, or completion, a written statement showing 
allowable charges and total payments received shall be delivered to 
the student by the school, together with a refund equal in amount to 
monies paid to the school in excess of those allowable charges;  

(b) In the event payments to a student account are derived 
from federal and/or state tuition assistance program(s), including 
student loan programs, regulations governing refund notification 
and awarding within respective program(s) shall prevail in lieu of 
paragraph (a) of this subsection, but only with respect to the 
covered portions thereof; and 

(c) In the event payments to a student account are derived 
from a sponsoring public agency, private agency, or any source 
other than the student, the statement of charges and payments 
received together with an appropriate refund described under para-
graph (a) of this subsection may be delivered instead to such 
party(ies) in interest, but only with respect to the covered portions 
thereof. 

(11) In case of disabling illness or accident, death in the 
immediate family, or other circumstances beyond the control of the 
student that causes the student to leave school, the school shall 
arrange a prorated tuition settlement that is reasonable and fair to 
both parties.  

(12) A school shall be considered in default of the enrollment 
agreement when a course or program is discontinued or canceled or 
the school closes prior to completion of contracted services. When 
a school is in default, student tuition may be refunded by the school 
on a pro rata basis. The pro rata refund shall be allowed only if the 
Superintendent determines that the school has made provision for 
students enrolled at the time of default to complete a comparable 
program at another institution. The provision for program completion 
shall be at no additional cost to the student in excess of the original 
contract with the defaulting school. If the school does not make 
such provision, a refund of all tuition and fees shall be made by the 
school to the students.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.115 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.115 
Hist.: 1EB 24-1978, f. 6-30-78, ef. 7-1-78; 1EB 30-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; EB 
11-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-90; EB 41-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; EB 13-1996, 
f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, 
f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 10-1-02; ODE 17-2003, f. 12-30-03, cert. ef. 1-1-04; Renum-
bered from 581-045-0026, ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; Renum-
bered from 581-045-0036 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0037 
Cancellation and Refund Policies: Distance Learning 
Instruction 

(1) A student may cancel enrollment by giving written notice 
to the school. Unless the school has discontinued the program of 

instruction, the student is financially obligated to the school 
according to the following:  

(a) If cancellation occurs within 5 business days of the date of 
enrollment and lesson materials have not been delivered, all 
monies related to the enrollment agreement shall be refunded;  

(b) If cancellation occurs within 5 business days of the date of 
enrollment and lesson materials have been delivered, all monies 
related to the enrollment agreement shall be refunded with the 
exception of the cost of unreturned lesson materials or the cost of 
replacement for returned materials that are damaged or marked;  

(c) If cancellation occurs after five business days of the date 
of enrollment and the lesson materials have been shipped but not 
delivered to the student:  

(A) The school may charge an amount equal to 15 percent of 
the tuition cost, or $150, whichever is less; that being established 
as its registration fee;  

(B) If the student returns the unopened books and supplies to 
the school within five days of receipt, the school will refund the 
total cost of lesson materials.  

(d) If cancellation occurs after five business days of the date 
of enrollment and the lesson materials have been delivered to the 
student but not returned within five days of receipt, and before the 
completion of the first lesson assignment, the school may charge:  

(A) An amount equal to 15 percent of the tuition cost, or $150, 
whichever is less; that being established as its registration fee; and  

(B) The total cost of books and supplies. 
(e) If withdrawal or termination occurs after the completion of 

the first lesson assignment and before 50 percent of the total lesson 
assignments are completed, the student shall be entitled to a pro 
rata refund of the tuition when the amount paid for the instructional 
program exceeds the charges owed to the school. In addition to the 
pro rated tuition charge, the school may retain the registration fee, 
book and supply fees, and any other legitimate charges owed by the 
student;  

(f) If withdrawal or termination occurs after completion of 50 
percent or more of the total lesson assignments, the student shall be 
obligated for the tuition charged for the entire instructional program 
and shall not be entitled to any refund; 

(2) For cancellation under subsection (1) of this rule, the “date 
of enrollment” will be determined:  

(a) When enrollment occurs by a document exchange through 
a mail delivery service, the enrollment date shall be the date the 
enrollment agreement is signed by both the student and the autho-
rized school official, whichever is later;  

(b) When the enrollment occurs online, the date of enrollment 
will be the date the school receives:  

(A) A copy of the enrollment agreement signed by the student 
and the student is granted access to the program; or 

(B) Submission of student enrollment information through a 
secured website. The website must have a registration process that 
includes, but is not limited to, statements detailing the legal and 
financial obligations related to enrollment in a school. The student 
must verify that he/she has read and understands the enrollment 
agreement. A copy of the student enrollment agreement information 
that includes “a declaration by the student acknowledging the read-
ing, understanding and acceptance of the enrollment obligations” 
shall be placed in the student file in lieu of a signed enrollment 
agreement.  

(3) When a program is measured in lesson assignments, the 
portion of tuition cost for which the student will be charged is 
determined by dividing the number of lesson assignments completed 
by the total number of lesson assignments for the program. 

(4) A program that includes both distance learning and 
resident instruction must state separately on the enrollment agree-
ment the costs for the distance learning portion of the program and 
the costs for the resident portion. The appropriate refund policies 
for distance learning and resident instruction will apply for each 
portion of the program.  

(5) Resident instruction dates must be scheduled by the time 
the student completes 50 percent of the distance learning portion of 
the program.  
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(a) For the resident portion, charges can be assessed only after 
a student attends the first resident class session;  

(b) Maximum charges shall be calculated by applying the pro 
rata refund requirements established under subsection (1) of this 
rule; and  

(c) In the event that a school denies a student entrance in the 
residence portion of the program because of scheduling delays 
exceeding 30 days between completion of the distance learning 
portion and commencement of the residence portion, or other 
changes in contract conditions, all tuition paid for both the distance 
learning and scheduled residence portions must be refunded.  

(6) “Withdrawal or Termination” is acknowledged to have 
occurred when:  

(a) Written notice of same is provided to the school by the stu-
dent; or  

(b) The student has failed to submit completed lesson assign-
ments and/or to otherwise maintain the school’s published standards 
of satisfactory progress; or  

(c) In the instance of a resident portion of a program, the 
student has failed to attend classes and/or to otherwise maintain the 
school’s published standards for satisfactory progress. 

(7) The term “tuition cost” means the charges for instruction 
including any lab fees. Tuition cost does not include application 
fees, registration fees, or other identified program fees and costs. 
The school shall adopt and publish policies regarding the return of 
resalable books and supplies and/or the prorating of user fees, other 
than lab fees.  

(8) The term “Pro rata refund” means a refund of tuition paid 
for that portion of the program not completed by the student.  

(9) The school shall not charge a withdrawal fee of more than 
$25.  

(10) The school may adopt and apply refund calculations 
more favorable to the student than those described under this poli-
cy. 

(11) When a cancellation, withdrawal, termination, or com-
pletion occurs, a calculation of all allowable charges under this rule 
shall be made. If such calculations evidence that the school 
received total payments greater than its allowable charges: 

(a) Within 40 days after notification of such cancellation, 
withdrawal, termination, or completion, a written statement showing 
allowable charges and total payments received shall be delivered to 
the student by the school, together with a refund equal in amount to 
monies paid to the school in excess of those allowable charges;  

(b) In the event payments to a student account are derived 
from federal and/or state tuition assistance program(s), a sponsoring 
public agency, private agency, or any source other than the student, 
the statement of charges and payments received together with an 
appropriate refund described under paragraph (a) of this subsection 
may be delivered instead to such party(ies) in interest, but only 
with respect to the covered portions thereof.  

(12) In case of disabling illness or accident, death in the 
immediate family, or other circumstances beyond the control of the 
student that causes the student to leave school, the school shall 
arrange a prorated tuition settlement that is reasonable and fair to 
both parties.  

(13) A school shall be considered in default of the enrollment 
agreement when a functioning course or program is discontinued 
or canceled or the school closes prior to completion of contracted 
services. When a school is in default, student tuition may be 
refunded by the school on a pro rata basis. The pro rata refund shall 
be allowed only if the Superintendent determines that the school 
has made provision for students enrolled at the time of default to 
complete a comparable program at another institution. The provision 
for program completion shall be at no additional cost to the student 
in excess of the original contract with the defaulting school. If the 
school does not make such provision, a refund of all tuition and 
fees shall be made by the school to the students. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.115 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.115 
Hist.: 1EB 31-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; EB 11-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-90; EB 41-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; ODE 32-2000, 
f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; Renumbered from 581-045-0027, ODE 15-2006, f. 

12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; Renumbered from 581-045-0037 by HECC 2-2014, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0038 
Cancellation and Refund Policy: Self-Directed Instruction 
(Clock Hour Program/Lesson Based) 

(1) A student may cancel enrollment by giving written notice 
to the school. Unless the school has discontinued the program of 
instruction, the student is financially obligated to the school 
according to the following:  

(a) If cancellation occurs within five business days of the date 
of enrollment, and lesson materials have not been delivered, all 
monies specific to the enrollment agreement shall be refunded;  

(b) If cancellation occurs within 5 business days of the date of 
enrollment and lesson materials have been delivered, all monies 
related to the enrollment agreement shall be refunded with the 
exception of the cost of unreturned lesson materials or the cost of 
replacement for returned materials that are damaged or marked;  

(c) If cancellation occurs after five business days of the date 
of enrollment and the lesson materials have been shipped but not 
delivered to the student:  

(A) The school may charge an amount equal to 15 percent of 
the tuition cost, or $150, whichever is less; that being established 
as its registration fee;  

(B) If the student returns the unopened books and supplies to 
the school within five days of receipt, the school will refund the 
total cost of lesson materials.  

(d) If cancellation occurs after five business days of the date 
of enrollment and lesson materials have been delivered to the 
student but not returned within five days of receipt, and before the 
commencement of the accrual of clock-hours or the completion of 
the first lesson, the school may charge: 

(A) An amount equal to 15 percent of the tuition cost, or $150, 
whichever is less; that being established as its registration fee; and  

(B) The total cost of books and supplies. 
(e) If withdrawal or termination occurs after the commencement 

of the accrual of clock-hours or the completion of the first lesson 
assignment and before either 50 percent of the program has been 
offered, or before 50 percent of the program clock-hours or lesson 
assignments are completed, the student shall be entitled to a pro 
rata refund of the tuition when the amount paid exceeds the charges 
owed to the school. In addition to the pro rated tuition charge, the 
school may retain the registration fee, book and supply fees, and 
any other legitimate charges owed by the student; 

(f) If withdrawal or termination occurs after completion of 50 
percent or more of the program has been offered or after completion 
of 50 percent or more of the program clock-hours or lesson assign-
ments, whichever occurs first, the student shall be obligated for the 
tuition charged for the entire instructional program and shall not be 
entitled to any refund.  

(2) For cancellation under subsections (1) of this rule, the 
“date of enrollment” will be determined:  

(a) When enrollment occurs in the school setting, the 
enrollment date shall be the date the enrollment agreement is 
signed by both the student and the authorized school official, 
whichever is later;  

(b) When enrollment occurs online, the date of enrollment 
will be the date the school receives:  

(A) A copy of the enrollment agreement signed by the student, 
and the student is granted access to the program, or 

(B) Submission of student enrollment information through a 
secured website. The website must have a registration process that 
includes, but is not limited to, statements detailing the legal and 
financial obligations related to enrollment in a school. The student 
must verify that he/she has read and understands the enrollment 
agreement. A copy of the student enrollment agreement information 
that includes “a declaration by the student acknowledging the read-
ing, understanding and acceptance of the enrollment obligations” 
shall be placed in the student file in lieu of a signed enrollment 
agreement.  
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(3) Under subsection (1) of this rule, the term “offered” means 
the period of time between the beginning date and ending date of 
the program as identified on the enrollment agreement.  

(4) Under subsection (1) of this rule, the portion of tuition cost 
for which the student shall be charged is determined by dividing 
the total clock hours into the number of clock hours accrued by the 
student, or the total number of lessons into the number of lessons 
completed by the student.  

(5) The term “tuition cost” means the charges for instruction 
including any lab fees. Tuition cost does not include application 
fees, registration fees, or other identified program fees and costs. 
The school shall adopt and publish policies regarding the return of 
resalable books and supplies and/or the prorating of user fees, other 
than lab fees.  

(6) The term “Pro rata refund” means a refund of tuition paid 
for that portion of the program not completed by the student.  

(7) The school shall not charge a withdrawal fee of more that 
$25;  

(8) The school may adopt and apply refund calculations more 
favorable to the student than those described under this policy.  

(9) When a cancellation, withdrawal, termination, or completion 
occurs, a calculation of all allowable charges under this rule shall 
be made. If such calculations evidence that the school received 
total payments greater than its allowable charges:  

(a) Within 40 days after notification of such cancellation, 
withdrawal, termination, or completion, a written statement showing 
allowable charges and total payments received shall be delivered to 
the student by the school, together with a refund equal in amount to 
monies paid to the school in excess of those allowable charges;  

(b) In the event payments to a student account are derived 
from federal and/or state tuition assistance program(s), including 
student loan programs, regulations governing refund notification 
and awarding within respective program(s) shall prevail in lieu of 
paragraph (a) of this subsection, but only with respect to the 
covered portions thereof; and  

(c) In the event payments to a student account are derived 
from a sponsoring public agency, private agency, or any source 
other than the student, the statement of charges and payments 
received together with an appropriate refund described under 
section (9)(a) of this rule may be delivered instead to such 
party(ies) in interest, but only with respect to the covered portions 
thereof. 

(10) In case of disabling illness or accident, death in the 
immediate family, or other circumstances beyond the control of the 
student that causes the student to leave school, the school shall 
arrange a prorated tuition settlement that is reasonable and fair to 
both parties.  

(11) A school shall be considered in default of the enrollment 
agreement when a course or program is discontinued or canceled or 
the school closes prior to completion of contracted services. When 
a school is in default, student tuition may be refunded by the school 
on a pro rata basis. The pro rata refund shall be allowed only if the 
Superintendent determines that the school has made provision for 
students enrolled at the time of default to complete a comparable 
program at another institution. The provision for program completion 
shall be at no additional cost to the student in excess of the original 
contract with the defaulting school. If the school does not make 
such provision, a refund of all tuition and fees shall be made by the 
school to the students.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.115 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.115 
Hist.: ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; Renumbered from 581-045-
0038 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0039 
Cancellations, Tuition and Refund Policies: Exceptions 

(1) A school may adopt a refund or cancellation policy 
different from the policies described under OAR 715-045-0036, 
715-045-0037, and 715-045-0038 only if:  

(a) The policy is more favorable to the student than what those 
respective rules require; or  

(b) The school enters into contractual arrangements for 
training services where the costs are paid by a contract with 
another agency, and no refund liability is created between those 
students and the school.  

(2) The Executive Director of the Higher Education Coordi-
nating Commission may, upon request, establish an alternative 
refund policy for a school that offers courses or programs with 
such an organizational structure that application of the refund 
policies prescribed, if applied, would cause unfair results to either 
the school or enrollees.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.115 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.115 
Hist.: 1EB 31-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; EB 11-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-90; EB 13-
1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 
21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 10-1-02; Renumbered from 581-045-0028, ODE 
15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; Renumbered from 581-045-0039 by 
HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0060 
Standards Governing Recruitment for Private Career Schools 
and their Agents 

All agents and schools will be subject to the following condi-
tions of this rule:  

(1) A school shall provide training to admissions staff that 
includes:  

(a) Knowledge of the Oregon Private Career School laws, and 
rules; and  

(b) Detailed understanding of the school’s catalog, admission 
standards, application fee if charged, enrollment agreement/contract, 
refund policy, other written school policies, and code of ethical 
conduct when dealing with prospective students and parent(s) or 
guardian(s).  

(2) As the recruitment of prospective students relates to 
admissions policies and practices:  

(a) The school or agent shall clearly explain to each applicant 
for enrollment the nature of the course under consideration and 
what the training can reasonably be expected to do for the student 
in preparation for or furtherance of a trade or occupation;  

(b) The school shall not enroll, and no agent or any person 
involved in recruitment or admission shall recommend for enroll-
ment, any person without having reason to believe that the person 
is likely to succeed in and benefit from the proposed training or 
course of instruction;  

(c) Where a school or agent enrolls a person who does not 
meet regular basic admission qualifications of the school, the 
school must have a written record of the reasons why the enrollee 
was permitted to enroll, and be prepared to justify its action in 
accepting the enrollment;  

(d) No school or agent may accept an enrollment from a 
person of compulsory school age, nor one attending a school of 
elementary or secondary level, until the agent has written assurance 
from the enrollee’s parent, guardian, or principal of the elementary 
or secondary school attended, that pursuit of the course would not 
be detrimental to enrollee’s regular school work; and  

(e) The school must produce, upon demand of the Higher 
Education Coordinating Commission, documents attesting to com-
pletion of subsection (1)(a) and (b) of this rule and, when 
applicable, subsection (1)(c) and (d) of this rule.  

(3) As recruitment of prospective students relates to enrollment 
agreements or contracts:  

(a) The enrollment agreement or contract must clearly outline 
obligations of both school and student, and a copy of the enrollment 
agreement or contract must be furnished the student by the agent 
before payment is made;  

(b) The school or agent must inform each applicant of the 
nature of the obligation entered into and the responsibilities and 
rights of the student under the enrollment agreement or contract 
before the student signs the document. Evidence of compliance 
with this will be the student’s signature on file at the school 
verifying receipt of a copy of the contract as well as other 
documents required in OAR 715-045-0018;  
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(c) The total tuition for any specific course must be the same 
for all persons enrolling at a specific time, except that a group-
training contract showing lower individual rates may be negotiated;  

(d) Tuition changes in courses shall be effective on specific 
dates and applicable to all who enroll thereafter; and  

(e) All charges and costs incidental to training must be 
revealed by the school or agent to the prospective student before 
any enrollment agreement or contract is signed. 

(4) As recruitment of prospective students relates to advertising 
and promotional literature: No bonus or other incentive may be 
given a prospective student for the purpose of enticing the student 
to sign an enrollment agreement other than that which is offered to 
all students in a special promotional effort. This rule does not 
prohibit a school from establishing a bona fide program with 
clearly identified criteria.  

(5) As recruitment of prospective students relates to the 
school’s responsibility for its agents:  

(a) The school is responsible for ensuring that the agent has 
been provided training and is knowledgeable about the school’s:  

(A) Beginning, history, and owners;  
(B) Program of studies;  
(C) Refund policy;  
(D) Admission and assessment requirements; 
(E) Graduation requirements;  
(F) Rules and regulations;  
(G) Financial policies and procedures; 
(H) Governance by Oregon private career school law and 

rules;  
(I) Relationship to applicable consumer protection laws; and  
(J) Code of ethical conduct when dealing with prospective 

students and parent(s) or guardian(s).  
(b) The school is responsible for all advertising or promotional 

literature used by its agents;  
(c) The school or agent must provide the student a receipt for 

all money collected and a copy of the enrollment agreement;  
(d) No person who has any responsibility for the recruitment 

of students shall use the title of counselor, advisor, or any term of 
similar import, as determined by the Superintendent. Persons 
responsible for student recruiting may use the titles of admissions 
representative, career consultant, or other similar titles. The use of 
such titles shall be allowed so long as neither the school nor any 
such titled person represents, either directly or by implication, that 
they are acting on behalf of the prospective student rather than on 
behalf of the school;  

(e) No school or agent may discredit other schools or agents in 
any manner that may influence a student to leave another school or 
discourage a student from signing an enrollment agreement with 
another school; and 

(f) All schools and their agents shall comply with all standards 
set forth in OAR 715-045-0033 and 581-045-0034 concerning 
advertising and promotional material. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.040 & 345.325 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.040  
Hist.: 1EB 257, f. 1-3-77, ef. 7-1-77; 1EB 30-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; EB 11-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-90; EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; ODE 23-
2000(Temp), f. 7-27-00, cert. ef. 7-27-00 thru 1-22-01; ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-
00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 10-1-02; ODE 15-2006, f. 
12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; Renumbered from 581-045-0060 by HECC 2-2014, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0061 
Private Career School Agents 

(1) An agent shall be a person who has attained the age of 18 
years, is of good moral character and is otherwise competent and 
qualified to safeguard and protect the interests of the public.  

(2) No person shall act in the state as an agent for a private 
career school unless the Superintendent has received the agent’s 
registration.  

(3) Agents shall be considered registered only when the 
school notifies the Department in writing of the name, address, 
date of employment, and geographic territory for each agent. 

(4) For licensing purposes, registered agents shall be considered 
employees of the school.  

(5) No agent shall begin recruiting students until completing 
school-provided training in the areas identified in OAR 715-045-
0060(5)(a).  

(6) The school shall be responsible for developing identifying 
credentials and passport pictures for each of its agents. The creden-
tials shall remain the property of the school. The identifying cre-
dentials shall include:  

(a) The full name and address of the agent; 
(b) The full name and address of the career school to be repre-

sented; and  
(c) A passport-type picture affixed to the identifying credentials.  
(7) The school shall immediately notify the Executive Director 

of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission of the termina-
tion of employment of an agent and demand return of the agent’s  
credentials.  

(8) The school may be fined for failure to keep its agent files 
current and accurate.  

(9) Agents, when representing more than one school, shall 
disclose to each employing institution that they are employed by 
more than one school.  

(10) Agents, when representing a school, shall: 
(a) Report first to the administrative offices of any high school 

or college before conducting any student interviews or presentations;  
(b) Make no statements which are false, misleading or fraudu-

lent;  
(c) Respond with all facts about the school the prospective 

student may wish to know prior to the making of an enrollment 
decision;  

(d) Use only advertising that complies with OAR 715-045-
0033 and 715-045-0034;  

(e) Provide a copy of the school’s catalog/brochure to high 
school administrators or counselors prior to making any presentation 
at a high school;  

(f) Disclose information on tuition and other instructional 
costs upon request by prospective students;  

(g) Explain to the student payment obligations before the stu-
dent signs the enrollment agreement, and explain the school’s 
refund policy;  

(h) Make clear the school’s academic policies and code of 
conduct;  

(i) Accurately describe the school’s facilities and living 
accommodations, and explain living costs;  

(j) Give a report on current job prospects; 
(k) Make available for review samples of the school’s distance 

learning lessons prior to the signing of the enrollment agreement;  
(l) Explain the school’s placement assistance, and provide 

placement statistics;  
(m) Explain the school’s admissions criteria; 
(n) Provide a copy of the enrollment agreement and fully 

explain all terms and conditions;  
(o) Suggest that the prospective student visit the school to talk 

with teachers, guidance counselors, employment counselors and 
students; and  

(p) Wear identifying credentials at all times when involved in 
recruitment activities outside of the school. 

(11) Agents shall not:  
(a) Make false, inaccurate or misleading statements concerning 

any degree, certificate or diploma offered by the school;  
(b) State that credits from the school are transferable unless 

such claims are supported by documentation in the school’s files 
and provided to and on file with the commission. The agent shall, 
at the time of representation, identify each school or type of school 
and program which accepts such credits. The agent shall clearly 
and conspicuously disclose all limitations on such transferability; 
for example, it is not possible to transfer credits from a certificate 
program to a degree program;  

(c) Recommend a prospective student for acceptance if the 
agent does not have reason to believe the student has a chance to 
succeed;  
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(d) Distribute distance learning lessons if to do so limits the 
student’s right to cancel the enrollment within five business days of 
signing and receive a full refund of all monies paid to the school;  

(e) Collect any fee other than the application fee prior to the 
student’s official admittance; or  

(f) Represent that any commodity or service is free when, in 
fact, such commodity or service is regularly included as part of a 
course for which tuition or any other fee is paid. 

(12) The school shall monitor its agent’s activities and sales 
and marketing practices and immediately investigate and resolve 
complaints about their activities. The school shall be accountable 
for the adherence of its agents to ORS Chapter 345 and OAR 
chapter 581, division 45.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.325 & 345.040 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.040 
Hist.: 1EB 119, f. & ef. 7-19-68; 1EB 131, f. 5-19-72, ef. 6-1-72; 1EB 25-1978, 
f. 6-30-78, ef. 7-1-78; 1EB 30-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; EB 11-1990, f. & cert. ef. 
2-1-90; EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; Renumbered from 581-045-0050, 
ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 
1-1-07; Renumbered from 581-045-0061 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef.  
4-23-14 

715-045-0062 
Application for Private Career School License Renewal 

(1) Each school shall annually renew its license. At least 60 
calendar days prior to the anniversary date of its license, the school 
must file with the Higher Education Coordinating Commission a 
completed application for license renewal, including:  

(a) Current financial reports as required by OAR 715-045-
0032;  

(b) Financial report certification form signed by the school’s 
owner or chief administrative officer;  

(c) A current and accurate enrollment agreement or contract;  
(d) A copy of the catalog that will be in effect for the instruc-

tional year that commences during the reporting period for which 
the license is being renewed. The catalog submission must include 
an indication of changes that have been made to the structure or 
wording of the catalog contents;  

(e) A copy of any student handbook, addendums, or supple-
ments to the school catalog, and any additional policies and 
requirements provided to the student that will be in effect for the 
instructional year that commences during the reporting period for 
which the license is being renewed. Submission of these materials 
must include an indication of changes that have been made to the 
structure or wording of these materials as previously approved by 
the Department;  

(f) Copies of any advertising materials used to recruit new stu-
dents;  

(g) Affidavit of ownership form, signed by all owners holding 
more than 10% ownership in the school, or by the chief corporate 
officer (other than the campus president) for publicly held compa-
nies;  

(h) Affidavit of non-delinquency for student refunds, signed 
by the school owner or chief administrative officer, as described by 
OAR 715-045-0032(1)(f);  

(i) Student enrollment, completion, and placement information 
as described in subsection (3) of this rule;  

(j) Roster of all instructional staff utilized during the reporting 
period with dates of service and gross earnings paid;  

(k) Information regarding changes to the instructional design 
as described in subsection (4) of this rule;  

(l) License renewal fee and any outstanding penalties, late 
fees, or other charges owing to the commission.  

(2) If a school has been licensed for three years or more and 
there are no changes in the school’s structure, the commission’s 
executive director may allow the school to submit an abbreviated 
renewal application that confirms the school’s compliance with 
applicable Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative 
Rules. Such abbreviated renewal application shall include the 
required renewal fee.  

(3) The school must provide the following information on the 
forms provided by the commission for the reporting period:  

(a) Names and enrollment information for all students contin-
uing from the prior enrollment period;  

(b) Names and enrollment information for all students who 
enrolled in the program during the reporting period;  

(c) Names and enrollment information for all students who 
left the program without completing it during the reporting period;  

(d) Names and enrollment information for all students who 
transferred between programs during the reporting period;  

(e) Names and enrollment information for all students who 
were graduated from the program during the reporting period; and  

(f) Names of those who graduated and were placed or are 
working in directly related occupations during the reporting period, 
along with employer information.  

(4) If any changes have occurred in the instructional design 
for any course or program during the previous reporting period or 
changes are anticipated during the new reporting period, these 
changes will be submitted to the commission for review and 
approval.  

(5) If the applicant school accepts enrollment of minors, or 
employs agents who have contact with persons under the age of 18 
on behalf of the applicant school, the provisions of OAR 715-045-
0003 will apply to any subject individuals the school currently 
employs or proposes to hire.  

(6) An application for renewal of license shall be considered 
late if not postmarked (or date stamped if hand delivered to the 
commission) before or on the due date. The executive director, as 
allowed under ORS 345.995 and OAR 715-045-0190, may impose 
a late fee for each calendar day the renewal application is late. Such 
fees, where applicable, shall be included with the renewal applica-
tion.  

(7) The commission may invoke license suspension as defined 
in OAR 581-045-0001 and begin license revocation procedures 
when:  

(a) A school fails to submit the application for license renewal 
by the due date as described in subsection (1) of this rule;  

(b) The application does not include accurate or adequate, or 
complete materials necessary for license renewal; or  

(c) The school is on probation and not making satisfactory 
progress to comply with all provisions of the program improvement 
plan.  

(8) License renewal may be denied when a renewal application 
is incomplete or received by the commission less than 30 days 
before the license expiration date. Pursuant to ORS 183.484, denial 
of license renewal on these grounds is an order in other than a con-
tested case. Appeal of the decision to deny may be made by written 
request to the Circuit Court within 60 days of the issuance of the 
denial order.  

(9) The executive director may conditionally approve a 
license renewal providing a school agrees to a program improvement 
plan acceptable to the executive director. Conditional license 
approval shall be subject to the provisions of ORS 345.030(8). The 
conditional license issued by the commission shall include the 
period and dates of effectiveness of the license.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.030 
Hist.: EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; Renumbered from 581-045-0004 by 
ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 
10-1-02; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; ODE 3-2010, f. & cert. ef. 
2-8-10; ODE 16-2010, f. 11-15-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; Renumbered from 581-045-
0062 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0063 
Factors of Financial Responsibility 

(1) To retain its license a school must demonstrate to the 
Higher Education Coordinating Commission that it is financially 
responsible under the requirements established in this rule.  

(2) The commission considers a school to be financially 
responsible only if it:  

(a) Is able to provide the services described in its official pub-
lications and statements;  

(b) Is able to provide the administrative resources necessary to 
comply with the requirements of this subpart; 
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(c) Is able to meet all of its financial obligations, including, 
but not limited to:  

(A) Refunds that it is required to make; and 
(B) Repayments to the U.S. Department of Education for lia-

bilities and debts incurred in programs administered by the U.S. 
Department of Education.  

(d) Demonstrates at the end of its latest fiscal year, a ratio of 
current assets to current liabilities of at least 1:1;  

(e) Had, for its latest fiscal year, a positive net worth. For the 
purposes of this section, a positive net worth occurs when the 
school’s assets exceed its liabilities;  

(f) Has not had operating losses over both of its two latest 
fiscal years. In applying this standard, the commission’s executive 
director may consider the effect of unusual events such as natural 
disasters;  

(g) Has not had, for its latest fiscal year, an operating deficit 
exceeding 10 percent of the institution’s net worth. For purposes of 
this section, an operating deficit occurs when operating expenses 
exceed revenues from current business activities; and  

(h) Has not had, as part of the documents prepared by its inde-
pendent accountant on its audited and certified financial statements 
for the institution’s most recently completed fiscal year, a statement 
from the accountant acknowledging substantial doubt about the 
institution’s ability to continue as a going concern.  

(3) A school that is determined by the executive director not to 
be financially responsible may be considered “at-risk,” and will be 
required to follow the procedures cited in OAR 715-045-0024.  

(4) The executive director may waive or modify all or part of 
the requirements in subsections (1) through (3) of this rule for 
schools offering prelicense programs or courses.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.325(8) & 345.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.325 
Hist.: EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; Renumbered from 581-045-0017, 
ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; Renumbered from 581-045-0063 by 
HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0064 
Student Completion and Placement 

(1) Schools shall submit true and correct data annually to the 
Higher Education Coordinating Commission which identifies com-
pletion and placement rates for each approved program. These 
rates shall be computed by individual programs and substantiated 
by worksheets and records.  

(2) Any school failing to maintain completion and placement 
rates for each approved program of at least 50 percent may be 
placed on probation for up to one full year or such time as evidence 
submitted indicates that a 50 percent level of completion and place-
ment is being achieved.  

(3) The commission’s executive director may withdraw 
approval of any program that fails to maintain completion and 
placement rates of at least 50 percent for two consecutive reporting 
periods. Unusual cause or circumstance will be considered by the 
commission and exceptions may be granted.  

(4) The executive director may require the name, address, and 
telephone number of any or all graduates and employers accounted 
for in subsection (1) of this rule for verification and reporting pur-
poses.  

(5) The executive director, upon written request from a 
school, may waive or modify all or part of the requirements of the 
annual submission of student placement data.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.080 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.080 
Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, 
cert. ef. 1-1-07; Renumbered from 581-045-0064 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0065 
Inspection and Periodic Review 

(1) A school shall provide the Higher Education Coordinating 
Commission access to all information, records, physical facilities, 
school employees, and other parties (including advisory groups, 
administrators, students and graduates) as may be necessary to 
verify compliance with Oregon Revised Statutes, ORS 345.010 to 

345.450, or standards of OAR 715-045-0001 through 715-045-
0210. 

(2) A school shall permit the commission’s executive director 
to conduct an investigation or on-site review of the school with or 
without notice. When requested, the school must provide the exec-
utive director with true and accurate information including but not 
limited to records and documents.  

(3) A school located in Oregon may be inspected on an annual 
basis or as the exectuvie director determines necessary. 

(4) A school may be reviewed to determine whether the 
school has and is adhering to policies and procedures in such areas 
as its programs, services and staff conduct.  

(5) Whenever an inspection or other investigation reveals lack 
of compliance with Oregon Revised Statutes, ORS 345.010 to 
345.450 or standards of OAR 715-045-0001 through 715-045-
0210, the executive director may officially notify the school by cer-
tified mail that the school has been placed on probation and send 
the school a report of deficiencies. When deemed appropriate the 
executive director may initiate immediate license suspension or 
revocation proceedings and schools will be provided due process 
through the provisions allowed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule. If 
the executive director elects to place the school on probation, the 
school shall have 20 calendar days after date of notification to 
report on actions that have been taken to correct these deficiencies: 

(a) The school’s response shall indicate corrective action 
taken and/or a program improvement plan for correcting any 
remaining deficiencies;  

(b) If violations cited are not corrected, or if a program 
improvement plan submitted to correct the violations is not accept-
able to the executive director, the executive director shall send 
notice to revoke or suspend the school’s license;  

(c) The school may request a hearing within 21 calendar days 
of receipt of the commission’s notice to revoke or suspend the 
school’s license; and  

(d) A school whose license has been placed on suspension 
shall not be permitted to engage in any advertising, recruitment or 
student enrollment activities, or begin the instruction of any new 
students during the period of suspension. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.080 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.080 
Hist.: ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 17-2003, f. 12-30-03, 
cert. ef. 1-1-04; Renumbered from 581-045-0065 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-23-14 

715-045-0066 
At-Risk School 

(1) The Higher Education Coordinating Commission may 
determine a school is “at risk” if a pattern or history of one or more 
of the conditions cited in the definition for “at risk” exist.  

(2) The school owner and/or director shall be required to meet 
with the commission’s executive director to discuss the conditions. 

(3) A school determined to be “at risk” at any time, will be 
required to provide:  

(a) A school improvement plan acceptable to the executive 
director within 30 days after meeting with commission staff; 

(b) A letter of credit if appropriate; and 
(c) A monthly report for up to 12 months. During that time the 

school shall demonstrate improvement or the executive director 
shall proceed with further action of probation, suspension, or 
license revocation as deemed necessary.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.120 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.120 & SB 326.051 
Hist.: EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; Renumbered from 581-045-0024 by 
ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 
10-1-02; Renumbered from 581-045-0066 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-
14 

715-045-0067 
School Closure 

(1) In the event a school closes, the school shall file a plan 
with the Higher Education Coordinating Commission designed to 
protect the contractual rights of its students and graduates, including 
the right to complete the course of instruction in which they were 
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enrolled. The school shall return its license to the commission 
immediately by certified mail upon cessation of instruction.  

(2) A school that is closing, either voluntarily or involuntarily, 
shall:  

(a) Inform the commission of this action by certified mail at 
least 30 calendar days prior to the anticipated cessation of 
instruction and other normal school business practices. Such notice 
shall detail the school’s closure plan including: 

(A) Teach-out arrangements (if made with another school);  
(B) The name, address, and telephone number of the person, 

who will be responsible for closing arrangements; 
(C) The name, address, telephone number, and the name of 

the course of instruction for every student who will not complete 
their course of instruction; and  

(D) The amount of class time left for each student to complete 
the course with the amount of refund, if any, for which each student 
is eligible;  

(b) Provide written notice to all registered and enrolled 
students of the school’s closure plan at least 30 calendar days prior 
to closure;  

(c) Furnish the commission with copies of the written notice 
being mailed to all enrolled students explaining the procedures 
they are to follow to secure refunds or to continue their education;  

(d) File procedures for disbursement of refunds with the com-
mission and set a date no later than 30 calendar days from the last 
day of instruction to issue refund checks in the full amount for 
which students are entitled; and  

(e) Within four calendar days of its closing transfer permanent 
student transcripts and roster of all students enrolled at the time of 
closure to the commission. All transcripts of students not enrolled 
at the time of closure are due to the commission within 90 calendar 
days after closure. 

(3) If students are receiving instruction prior to the school’s 
closing, the school shall file a plan, approved by the commission’s 
executive director, with the commission to ensure that the school’s 
students will continue to receive training of the same quality and 
content as that for which they contracted.  

(4) If the executive director, in any situation in which students 
are receiving instruction prior to a school’s closing, determines that 
the school has not fulfilled its contractual obligations or that a 
student has reasonable and justifiable objections to the proposed 
transfer resulting from the closing, the school shall refund all 
tuition, fees, and other charges as related to OAR 715-045-
0026(6).  

(5) If the school to be closed offers a combination of distance 
learning and resident training, the school shall refund the entire 
cost of both the distance learning and resident portion paid.  

(6) Any school owner, including a corporation and/or any of 
its officers, involved in the decision to close a school in violation of 
this section will not be granted a license to operate any other 
private career school in Oregon.  

(7) When a school closes or ceases operation, for any reason, 
its license is automatically revoked effective the day following the 
date of closure or cessation of operations. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.115 & SB 326.051 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.115 
Hist.: EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; Renumbered from 581-045-0031 by 
ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 
10-1-02; Renumbered from 581-045-0067 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-
14 

715-045-0068 
Reporting Obligations 

(1) Schools must notify the Higher Education Coordinating 
Commission within 10 days of receipt of a notice from any source 
that involves 

(a) Action against the school; or  
(b) Action against owners, directors, administrators, agents, 

supervisors, and instructors subject to registration, licensure, or 
approval pursuant to ORS 345.010 to 345.450, including but not 
limited to disciplinary, licensure, legal, or conviction of any crime 

and that might affect the person’s ability to fulfill the assigned 
responsibilities.  

(2) Upon request of the commission’s executive director, the 
school must provide the commission with truthful and accurate 
information regarding the disciplinary action, licensure action, 
legal action, or conviction of any crime referenced in OAR 715-
045-0068(1)(b).  

(3) Schools must provide the commission with a copy of any 
notice of warning, if such notice indicates the school is in 
immediate jeopardy of losing recognition from that agency, or any 
notice of suspension or revocation received from any national, 
regional or state accrediting and/or approval agency within 10 days 
of receipt of such notice. The school shall at the same time inform 
the commission in writing of actions being taken to correct the 
deficiencies cited.  

(4) In the event of a school name change, the school shall sub-
mit to the commission legal documents from the Secretary of 
State’s office that validates the name change. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.080 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.080 
ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-1-01; ODE 17-2003, f. 12-30-03, cert. ef. 
1-1-04; Renumbered from 581-045-0068 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef.  
4-23-14 

715-045-0190 
Civil Penalties 

(1) Amendments to OAR 715-045-0001 through 715-045-
0210 must be implemented by the schools within 90 days after the 
effective date of the amendments. Failure to implement rule 
changes within 90 days shall subject a school to civil penalties. 

(2) The commission may assess a civil penalty of $500 per 
violation of ORS 345.010 to 345.450, or any administrative rules 
adopted pursuant to 345.010 to 345.450.Before imposing a civil 
penalty under this subsection, the commission shall consider the 
factors established in 345.995. 

(3) Each act in violation of ORS 345.010 to 345.450, or any 
administrative rules adopted pursuant to 345.010 to 345.450 shall 
constitute a separate violation. The imposition of penalties under 
this section shall be in addition to, and does not preclude the impo-
sition of, any other penalties for the same act or conduct pursuant 
to any other provision of law. 

(4) Failure to pay civil penalties within 30 days of the service 
of a final order imposing penalties, unless stayed pending appeal 
by subsequent order of the Executive Director or a court of compe-
tent jurisdiction, may result in revocation of license to operate a 
school. 

(5) The commission may retain reasonable costs related to the 
investigation and assessment of a civil penalty from civil penalties 
imposed under ORS 345.995 and this section. In support of its 
decision to retain civil penalties, the commission shall provide an 
accounting of the costs incurred during its investigation and the 
assessment of civil penalties, including but not limited to staff 
time, mailing costs, and attorney fees. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.992 & 345.995 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.995 
Hist.: EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-
1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 10-1-02; ODE 7-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-
29-09; Renumbered from 581-045-0190 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-
14; HECC 7-2014, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-14 

715-045-0200 
Barbering, Hair Design, Esthetics, and Nail Technology 

In addition to OAR 581-045-0001 through 581-045-0190, 
schools of barbering, hair design, esthetics, and nail technology 
shall comply with this rule and 581-045-0210. 

(1) Minimum hourly training requirements: 
(a) For hair design, 1,450 hours; 
(b) For barbering, 1,100 hours; 
(c) For esthetics, 250 hours; 
(d) For nail technology, 350 hours; and 
(e) In addition to the programs listed above, students are 

required to successfully complete the following requirements once: 
(A) Safety and sanitation, 150 hours; and 
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(B) Career development, 100 hours. 
(2) Individual progress records must be regularly maintained 

for the purpose of monitoring each student’s progress through the 
instructional program and verifying actual hours of instruction in 
each certifiable classification. Once a student completes the mini-
mum hourly training requirements specified in subsection (1) of 
this section and the school’s own program completion requirements, 
the school shall administer a Department-approved written and 
practical exam prior to the student taking the State Board exam for 
licensure. The time required to take the practical exam shall be 
included as part of the contracted program hours included in the 
tuition cost. 

(3) The Commission, with the assistance of a curriculum com-
mittee, will develop minimum standards for each certificated pro-
gram or any combination of programs. 

(4) No student shall perform any task in a clinic lab without 
first having achieved verifiable minimum competence. The follow-
ing hours are recommended as a guideline for classroom and labo-
ratory instruction that students should experience prior to any 
assignment in the clinic lab: 

(a) Hair design, 160 hours; 
(b) Esthetics, 40 hours; 
(c) Nail technology, 40 hours; and 
(d) Barbering, 100 hours. 
(5) The instructional program shall determine the type of 

assignments students will receive in the clinic lab. Clinic lab 
assignments should, as nearly as possible, reflect the emphasis of 
the student’s current and cumulative theory and laboratory experi-
ences. Schools shall establish a minimum and maximum number of 
clinic activities for each type of task required in the clinic lab. 
These minimums/maximums should show a comparable distribution 
of activities reflective of industry practice. Only when students 
have completed the minimum in all areas can they be assigned to 
clinic activities in excess of the maximums. 

(6) With the exception of a commission approved cosmetology 
teacher training program, a school shall not conduct both fixed-
hour and student competency-based training programs in the same 
school facility concurrently unless the school is in transition from 
one training program to another. The Commission may set a time 
limit in which the transition must be completed. 

(7) No school shall enroll a student wishing to transfer hours 
from a school of barbering, hair design, esthetics, and nail 
technology in Oregon or out-of-state without first receiving an offi-
cial transcript properly signed or sealed directly from the previous 
schools. A school may admit a student on a temporary basis 
without receiving an official transcript. In no event should a 
student be considered a graduate until an official transcript from all 
prior schools is in the graduating school’s student file. Schools 
shall evaluate and grant appropriate credit for any education and 
training students received at state regulated postsecondary schools. 

(8) Schools shall validate only their own hours of instruction 
provided a student but not any hours provided by other schools. 

(9) Upon receipt and evaluation of official transcripts from 
schools previously attended: 

(a) Schools shall give full credit for hours earned within the 
last ten years; and 

(b) Schools may grant credit for hours earned prior to the last 
ten years, if approved by the Superintendent. 

(10) No school shall deny a student a record of hours earned. 
A record of hours does not infer or include the official transcript. 

(11) The school shall have as a minimum the following staff 
present at all times: 

(a) 1–15 students present — one approved teacher; 
(b) 16–30 students present — two approved teachers; and 
(c) One additional approved teacher for each additional 20 

students or part thereof. Teachers must be certified in all areas they 
teach and supervise. When only one teacher is present at the 
school, clinic lab operations, and classroom instruction shall not 
occur simultaneously. The lone teacher shall conduct and supervise 
one or the other but not both concurrently. Teachers who supervise 

the clinic lab and/or approve student practical performance must be 
certified in all areas they supervise or approve; 

(d) Exceptions to the student to teacher ratios in (a)–(c) may 
be granted for theory/lecture classes only. All hands-on practical 
lab and clinic lab classes are required to maintain specified staffing 
ratios. 

(12) The minimum teaching staff, as set forth in these rules, 
shall not perform administrative or financial aid or any other non-
instructional duties during the time that the clinic lab and classroom 
instruction are taking place concurrently. 

(13) A teacher or student teacher shall not perform any 
services in the school during school hours except for teaching pur-
poses. 

(14) All services performed by students shall take place under 
the supervision and direction of a certified teacher. 

(15) Premises shall be used during school hours only for 
instructing students and teacher trainees in barbering, hair design, 
esthetics, or nail technology. 

(16) The school shall provide a minimum of 2,800 square feet 
of total floor space to be allocated as follows; one work station for 
each of the first twenty students; one additional work station for 
every five students in excess of twenty; and, where hair design is 
taught, one shampoo bowl for every five work stations. The execu-
tive director must approve any exception to this requirement. 
Classroom and clinic space are in compliance with OAR 715-045-
0022. Schools must comply with ORS 345.240 relative to accessi-
bility of programs for persons with handicapping conditions. 

(17) The executive director may approve a facility of less than 
2,800 square feet of floor space for schools if the school presents a 
written plan as to how the number of students will be served in the 
space provided. The plan must include how the school meets the 
entire model curriculum standards. 

(18) The school shall be separated from adjoining rooms used 
for another business or for domestic purposes, by means of walls or 
substantial partitions extending from floor to ceiling; all doors 
leading to the school from the aforesaid adjoining rooms must be 
kept closed. Access to the school shall be provided by means of an 
outside or separate entrance, or from a public passageway in a 
public building. 

(19) Each school shall include the names of all actively 
employed (full-time or part-time) approved teachers on its annual 
license renewal application. 

(20) A licensed school of barbering, hair design, esthetics, or 
nail technology may offer a teacher training program if it complies 
with the following: 

(a) Courses of teacher training for instruction in barbering, 
hair design, esthetics, and nail technology may be offered only in a 
school of hair design licensed under the provisions of ORS Chapter 
345 or Mt. Hood Community College. Courses of study must be 
submitted to the Superintendent for approval; 

(b) The Standard Course of Study shall require 1,000 hours of 
instruction that shall include the following: 

(A) Preparation and use of lesson plans, 
(B) Use of audiovisual and other instructional aids, 
(C) Development and administration of tests and evaluation 

of test results, 
(D) Evaluation and recording of student progress, and 

recording of attendance, 
(E) Observation of practical demonstrations, 
(F) Assisting with practical demonstrations, 
(G) Setting up and performance of practical demonstrations, 

and 
(H) Practice teaching. 
(c) The Superintendent shall approve teacher-training programs 

of 200 hours for: 
(A) Teachers whose certification has lapsed more than three 

years, and 
(B) Teachers from other states whose licensing requirements 

are less than the minimum requirements for Oregon. 
(d) The school shall: 



(A) Maintain daily records of the teacher trainee’s attendance, 
and the subject matter covered; and 

(B) Conduct and record the results of periodic evaluations of 
each teacher trainee. 

(e) The school may evaluate and give up to 500 hours credit 
for professional teaching experience or any academic training 
received in a community college or institution of higher education 
when that academic training contributes to achievement of the total 
approved Standard Course of Study. The Superintendent may grant 
a waiver to the 500 hour limitation if sufficient evidence is submit-
ted; 

(f) A school shall not have more than three approved teacher 
trainees at one time. The school shall designate who shall have the 
principal supervisory responsibility for the student in the teacher-
training program. Each trainee, when in the clinic lab, must be 
under direct supervision of an approved teacher with a minimum of 
two years teaching experience; 

(g) Teacher trainees shall evaluate students only under the 
direct supervision of a certified teacher; and 

(h) Teacher training students must be registered with the 
Superintendent prior to commencement of their training. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.400 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.400 
Hist.: EB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; ODE 32-2000, f. 12-11-00 cert. ef. 1-
1-01; ODE 21-2002, f. 9-26-02 cert. ef. 10-1-02; ODE 17-2003, f. 12-30-03, 
cert. ef. 1-1-04; ODE 15-2006, f. 12-11-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; ODE 32-
2012(Temp), f. 11-7-12, cert. ef. 11-9-12 thru 5-7-13; Administrative correction, 
5-22-13; Renumbered from 581-045-0200 by HECC 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-
14; HECC 6-2014, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-14 

715-045-0210 
Safety and Sanitation Compliances and Inspections for 
Schools of Hair Design, Barbering, Esthetics and Nail 
Technology Only 

(1) Students, teachers and school owners shall observe and be 
subject to all state, county and municipal laws and regulations per-
taining to public health. Compliance with state and municipal fire 
regulations is required.  

(2) Sanitation and safety rules set forth in OAR chapter 817 
shall be available in the school.  

(3) The current sanitation inspection report required by this 
section shall be conspicuously displayed in the school.  

(4) Sanitation and safety inspections of schools regulated by 
this rule shall be conducted periodically by agents of the Oregon 
Health Licensing Agency. Such inspections shall be for the purpose 
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