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DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURES 

818-001-0000 
Notice of Proposed Rule Making 

Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any permanent 
rule, the Oregon Board of Dentistry shall give notice of the 
proposed adoption, amendment, or repeal: 

(1) By publishing a notice in the Secretary of State’s Bulletin 
referred to in ORS 183.370 at least 21 days prior to the effective 
date. 

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the mailing 
list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(8) at least 28 days before 
the effective date of the adoption, amendment, or repeal. 

(3) By mailing a copy of the notice to the following persons 
and publications: 

(a) Oregon Dental Hygienists’ Association; 
(b) Oregon Dental Assistants Association; 
(c) Oregon Association of Dental Laboratories; 
(d) Oregon Dental Association; 
(e) The Oregonian; 
(f) Oregon Health & Science University, School of Dentistry; 
(g) The United Press International; 
(h) The Associated Press; 
(i) The Capitol Building Press Room. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 192, 670 & 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.370 & 183.335(7) 
Hist.: DE 24, f. & ef. 12-2-75; DE 2-1978, f. & ef. 5-4-78; DE 3-1982, f. & ef. 
5-26-82; DE 11-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; 
DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 1-2-97; OBD 
2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09 

818-001-0002 
Definitions 

As used in OAR chapter 818:  
(1) “Board” means the Oregon Board of Dentistry, the 

members of the Board, its employees, its agents, and its consultants.  
(2) “Dental Practice Act” means ORS Chapter 679 and 

680.010 to 680.170 and the rules adopted pursuant thereto.  

(3) “Dentist” means a person licensed pursuant to ORS 
Chapter 679 to practice dentistry.  

(4) “Direct Supervision” means supervision requiring that a 
dentist diagnose the condition to be treated, that a dentist authorize 
the procedure to be performed, and that a dentist remain in the 
dental treatment room while the procedures are performed.  

(5) “General Supervision” means supervision requiring that a 
dentist authorize the procedures, but not requiring that a dentist be 
present when the authorized procedures are performed. The autho-
rized procedures may also be performed at a place other than the 
usual place of practice of the dentist.  

(6) “Hygienist” means a person licensed pursuant to ORS 
680.010 to 680.170 to practice dental hygiene.  

(7) “Indirect Supervision” means supervision requiring that a 
dentist authorize the procedures and that a dentist be on the 
premises while the procedures are performed.  

(8) “Informed Consent” means the consent obtained following 
a thorough and easily understood explanation to the patient, or 
patient’s guardian, of the proposed procedures, any available alter-
native procedures and any risks associated with the procedures. 
Following the explanation, the licensee shall ask the patient, or the 
patient’s guardian, if there are any questions. The licensee shall 
provide thorough and easily understood answers to all questions 
asked.  

(9)(a) “Licensee” means a dentist or hygienist.  
(b) “Volunteer Licensee” is a dentist or dental hygienist 

licensed according to rule to provide dental health care without 
receiving or expecting to receive compensation.  

(10) “Limited Access Patient” means a patient who, due to 
age, infirmity, or handicap is unable to receive regular dental 
hygiene treatment in a dental office.  

(11) “Specialty." Specialty areas of dentistry are as defined by 
the American Dental Association, Council on Dental Education. 
The specialty definitions are added to more clearly define the scope 
of the practice as it pertains to the specialty areas of dentistry.  

(a) “Dental Public Health” is the science and art of preventing 
and controlling dental diseases and promoting dental health through 
organized community efforts. It is that form of dental practice 
which serves the community as a patient rather than the individual. 
It is concerned with the dental health education of the public, with 
applied dental research, and with the administration of group 
dental care programs as well as the prevention and control of dental 
diseases on a community basis.  

(b) “Endodontics” is the branch of dentistry which is concerned 
with the morphology, physiology and pathology of the human 
dental pulp and periradicular tissues. Its study and practice encom-
pass the basic and clinical sciences including biology of the normal 
pulp, the etiology, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of diseases 
and injuries of the pulp and associated periradicular conditions.  

(c) “Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology” is the specialty of den-
tistry and discipline of pathology that deals with the nature, identi-
fication, and management of diseases affecting the oral and max-
illofacial regions. It is a science that investigates the causes, 
processes, and effects of these diseases. The practice of oral pathol-
ogy includes research and diagnosis of diseases using clinical, 
radiographic, microscopic, biochemical, or other examinations.  

(d) “Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology” is the specialty of 
dentistry and discipline of radiology concerned with the production 
and interpretation of images and data produced by all modalities of 
radiant energy that are used for the diagnosis and management of 
diseases, disorders and conditions of the oral and maxillofacial 
region.  

(e) “Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery” is the specialty of 
dentistry which includes the diagnosis, surgical and adjunctive 
treatment of diseases, injuries and defects involving both the func-
tional and esthetic aspects of the hard and soft tissues of the oral 
and maxillofacial region.  

(f) “Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics” is the area of 
dentistry concerned with the supervision, guidance and correction 
of the growing or mature dentofacial structures, including those 
conditions that require movement of teeth or correction of malrela-
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tionships and malformations of their related structures and the 
adjustment of relationships between and among teeth and facial 
bones by the application of forces and/or the stimulation and redi-
rection of functional forces within the craniofacial complex. Major 
responsibilities of orthodontic practice include the diagnosis, pre-
vention, interception and treatment of all forms of malocclusion of 
the teeth and associated alterations in their surrounding structures; 
the design, application and control of functional and corrective 
appliances; and the guidance of the dentition and its supporting 
structures to attain and maintain optimum occlusal relations in 
physiologic and esthetic harmony among facial and cranial struc-
tures.  

(g) “Pediatric Dentistry” is an age defined specialty that pro-
vides both primary and comprehensive preventive and therapeutic 
oral health care for infants and children through adolescence, 
including those with special health care needs.  

(h) “Periodontics” is the specialty of dentistry which encom-
passes the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the 
supporting and surrounding tissues of the teeth or their substitutes 
and the maintenance of the health, function and esthetics of these 
structures and tissues.  

(i) “Prosthodontics” is the branch of dentistry pertaining to the 
restoration and maintenance of oral functions, comfort, appearance 
and health of the patient by the restoration of natural teeth and/or 
the replacement of missing teeth and contiguous oral and maxillo-
facial tissues with artificial substitutes.  

(12) “Full-time” as used in ORS 679.025 and 680.020 is 
defined by the Board as any student who is enrolled in an 
institution accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation 
of the American Dental Association or its successor agency in a 
course of study for dentistry or dental hygiene.  

(13) For purposes of ORS 679.020(4)(h) the term “dentist of 
record” means a dentist that either authorized treatment for, super-
vised treatment of or provided treatment for the patient in clinical 
settings of the institution described in 679.020(3).  

(14) “Dental Study Group” as used in ORS 679.050, OAR 
818-021-0060 and OAR 818-021-0070 is defined as a group of 
licensees who come together for clinical and non-clinical educational 
study for the purpose of maintaining or increasing their competence. 
This is not meant to be a replacement for residency requirements. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.010 & 680.010 
Hist.: DE 11-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; 
DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-001-0001; DE 3-
1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-27-97; OBD 7-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 2-2005, f. 
1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06; OBD 1-
2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert,. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 
1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15 

818-001-0005 
Model Rules of Procedure 

Pursuant to the provisions of ORS 183.341, the Oregon Board 
of Dentistry adopts the Attorney General’s Model Rules of 
Procedure under the Administrative Procedures Act current edition; 
these rules of procedure shall be controlling except as otherwise 
required by statute or rule. 

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure 
is available from the office of the Attorney General or the Board of Dentistry.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 192, 670 & 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341(1) 
Hist.: DE 20, f. 12-19-73, ef. 1-11-74; DE 26, f. & ef. 2-6-76; DE 1-1978, f. & 
ef. 4-27-78; DE 3-1981, f. & ef. 12-16-81; DE 3-1983, f. & ef. 10-19-83; DE 
11-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 4-1986, f. & ef. 5-23-86; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, 
cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 
1-2-97; OBD 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-00; OBD 3-2000, f. & cert. ef. 6-2-00; 
OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05 

818-001-0011 
Time for Requesting a Contested Case Hearing 

A request for a contested case hearing must be in writing and 
must be received by the Board within twenty-one days from the 
date the contested case notice was served. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679.250 & 183.341 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250 & 183.341 OL 1999, Ch. 849 
Hist.: OBD 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01 

818-001-0025 
Confidentiality and Inadmissibility of Mediation 
Communications 

(1) The words and phrases used in this rule have the same 
meaning as given to them in ORS 36.110 and 36.234. 

(2) Nothing in this rule affects any confidentiality created by 
other law. Nothing in this rule relieves a public body from 
complying with the Public Meetings Law, ORS 192.610 to 192.690. 
Whether or not they are confidential under this or other rules of the 
agency, mediation communications are exempt from disclosure 
under the Public Records Law to the extent provided in 192.410 to 
192.505. 

(3) This rule applies only to mediations in which the agency is 
a party or is mediating a dispute as to which the agency has regula-
tory authority. This rule does not apply when the agency is acting 
as the “mediator” in a matter in which the agency also is a party as 
defined in ORS 36.234. 

(4) To the extent mediation communications would otherwise 
be compromised negotiations under ORS 40.190 (OEC Rule 408), 
those mediation communications are not admissible as provided in 
40.190 (OEC Rule 408), notwithstanding any provisions to the 
contrary in section (9) of this rule. 

(5) Mediations Excluded. Sections (6)–(10) of this rule do not 
apply to: 

(a) Mediation of workplace interpersonal disputes involving 
the interpersonal relationships between this agency’s employees, 
officials or employees and officials, unless a formal grievance 
under a labor contract, a tort claim notice or a lawsuit has been 
filed; or  

(b) Mediation in which the person acting as the mediator will 
also act as the hearings officer in a contested case involving some 
or all of the same matters;  

(c) Mediation in which the only parties are public bodies;  
(d) Mediation involving two or more public bodies and a 

private party if the laws, rule or policies governing mediation con-
fidentiality for at least one of the public bodies provide that media-
tion communications in the mediation are not confidential; or 

(e) Mediation involving 15 or more parties if the agency has 
designated that another mediation confidentiality rule adopted by 
the agency may apply to that mediation. 

(6) Disclosures by Mediator. A mediator may not disclose or 
be compelled to disclose mediation communications in a mediation 
and, if disclosed, such communications may not be introduced into 
evidence in any subsequent administrative, judicial or arbitration 
proceeding unless: 

(a) All the parties to the mediation and the mediator agree in 
writing to the disclosure; or 

(b) The mediation communication may be disclosed or intro-
duced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding as provided in sub-
sections (c)–(d), (j)–(l) or (o)–(p) of section (9) of this rule. 

(7) Confidentiality and Inadmissibility of Mediation Commu-
nications. Except as provided in sections (8)–(9) of this rule, medi-
ation communications are confidential and may not be disclosed to 
any other person, are not admissible in any subsequent administra-
tive, judicial or arbitration proceeding and may not be disclosed 
during testimony in, or during any discovery conducted as part of a 
subsequent proceeding, or introduced as evidence by the parties or 
the mediator in any subsequent proceeding. 

(8) Written Agreement. Section (7) of this rule does not apply 
to a mediation unless the parties to the mediation agree in writing, 
as provided in this section, that the mediation communications in 
the mediation will be confidential and/or nondiscoverable and 
inadmissible. If the mediator is the employee of and acting on 
behalf of a state agency, the mediator or an authorized agency rep-
resentative must also sign the agreement. The parties’ agreement to 
participate in a confidential mediation must be in substantially the 
following form. This form may be used separately or incorporated 
into an “agreement to mediate.” [Form not included. See ED. 
NOTE.] 

(9) Exceptions to confidentiality and inadmissibility: 
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(a) Any statements, memoranda, work products, documents 
and other materials, otherwise subject to discovery that were not 
prepared specifically for use in the mediation are not confidential 
and may be disclosed or introduced into evidence in a subsequent 
proceeding; 

(b) Any mediation communications that are public records, as 
defined in ORS 192.410(4), and were not specifically prepared for 
use in the mediation are not confidential and may be disclosed or 
introduced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding unless the 
substance of the communication is confidential or privileged under 
state or federal law; 

(c) A mediation communication is not confidential and may 
be disclosed by any person receiving the communication to the 
extent that person reasonably believes that disclosing the commu-
nication is necessary to prevent the commission of a crime that is 
likely to result in death or bodily injury to any person. A mediation 
communication is not confidential and may be disclosed in a subse-
quent proceeding to the extent its disclosure may further the inves-
tigation or prosecution of a felony crime involving physical 
violence to a person; 

(d) Any mediation communication related to the conduct of a 
licensed professional that is made to or in the presence of a person 
who, as a condition of his or her professional license, is obligated 
to report such communication by law or court rule is not confidential 
and may be disclosed to the extent necessary to make such a report; 

(e) The parties to the mediation may agree in writing that all 
or part of the mediation communications are not confidential or 
that all or part of the mediation communications may be disclosed 
and may be introduced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding 
unless the substance of the communication is confidential, privileged 
or otherwise prohibited from disclosure under state or federal law; 

(f) A party to the mediation may disclose confidential 
mediation communications to a person if the party’s communication 
with that person is privileged under ORS Chapter 40 or other pro-
vision of law. A party to the mediation may disclose confidential 
mediation communications to a person for the purpose of obtaining 
advice concerning the subject matter of the mediation, if all the 
parties agree; 

(g) An employee of the agency may disclose confidential 
mediation communications to another agency employee so long as 
the disclosure is necessary to conduct authorized activities of the 
agency. An employee receiving a confidential mediation communi-
cation under this subsection is bound by the same confidentiality 
requirements as apply to the parties to the mediation;  

(h) A written mediation communication may be disclosed or 
introduced as evidence in a subsequent proceeding at the discretion 
of the party who prepared the communication so long as the com-
munication is not otherwise confidential under state or federal law 
and does not contain confidential information from the mediator or 
another party who does not agree to the disclosure;  

(i) In any proceeding to enforce, modify or set aside a 
mediation agreement, a party to the mediation may disclose media-
tion communications and such communications may be introduced 
as evidence to the extent necessary to prosecute or defend the 
matter. At the request of a party, the court may seal any part of the 
record of the proceeding to prevent further disclosure of mediation 
communications or agreements to persons other than the parties to 
the agreement; 

(j) In an action for damages or other relief between a party to 
the mediation and a mediator or mediation program, mediation 
communications are not confidential and may be disclosed and 
may be introduced as evidence to the extent necessary to prosecute 
or defend the matter. At the request of a party, the court may seal 
any part of the record of the proceeding to prevent further 
disclosure of the mediation communications or agreements; 

(k) When a mediation is conducted as part of the negotiation 
of a collective bargaining agreement, the following mediation 
communications are not confidential and such communications 
may be introduced into evidence in a subsequent administrative, 
judicial or arbitration proceeding: 

(A) A request for mediation; or 

(B) A communication from the Employment Relations Board 
Conciliation Service establishing the time and place of mediation; 
or 

(C) A final offer submitted by the parties to the mediator pur-
suant to ORS 243.712; or 

(D) A strike notice submitted to the Employment Relations 
Board. 

(l) To the extent a mediation communication contains infor-
mation the substance of which is required to be disclosed by 
Oregon statute, other than ORS 192.410 to 192.505, that portion of 
the communication may be disclosed as required by statute; 

(m) Written mediation communications prepared by or for the 
agency or its attorney are not confidential and may be disclosed 
and may be introduced as evidence in any subsequent administrative, 
judicial or arbitration proceeding to the extent the communication 
does not contain confidential information from the mediator or 
another party, except for those written mediation communications 
that are: 

(A) Attorney-client privileged communications so long as 
they have been disclosed to no one other than the mediator in the 
course of the mediation or to persons as to whom disclosure of the 
communication would not waive the privilege; or 

(B) Attorney work product prepared in anticipation of litigation 
or for trial; or 

(C) Prepared exclusively for the mediator or in a caucus 
session and not given to another party in the mediation other than a 
state agency; or 

(D) Prepared in response to the written request of the mediator 
for specific documents or information and given to another party in 
the mediation; or 

(E) Settlement concepts or proposals, shared with the mediator 
or other parties. 

(n) A mediation communication made to the agency may be 
disclosed and may be admitted into evidence to the extent the 
Board determines that disclosure of the communication is necessary 
to prevent or mitigate a serious danger to the public’s health or 
safety, and the communication is not otherwise confidential or 
privileged under state or federal law; 

(o) The terms of any mediation agreement are not confidential 
and may be introduced as evidence in a subsequent proceeding, 
except to the extent the terms of the agreement are exempt from 
disclosure under ORS 192.410 to 192.505, a court has ordered the 
terms to be confidential under 30.402 or state or federal law 
requires the terms to be confidential; 

(p) The mediator may report the disposition of a mediation to 
the agency at the conclusion of the mediation so long as the report 
does not disclose specific confidential mediation communications. 
The agency or the mediator may use or disclose confidential medi-
ation communications for research, training or educational purposes, 
subject to the provisions of ORS 36.232(4). 

(10) When a mediation is subject to section (7) of this rule, the 
agency will provide to all parties to the mediation and the mediator 
a copy of this rule or a citation to the rule and an explanation of 
where a copy of the rule may be obtained. Violation of this 
provision does not waive confidentiality or inadmissibility. 

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 36.224 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 36.224, 36.228, 36.230 & 36.232 
Hist.: OBD 4-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 7-1-00 

818-001-0030 
Award of Hearings Costs 

The Board may assess the following costs against a licensee 
disciplined by the Board: 

(1) Fee for service of complaint. 
(2) Fee for service of subpoenas. 
(3) Reporter fee for depositions and hearing including tran-

scriptions. 
(4) Hearing officer’s fee. 
(5) Witness fees and mileage or other costs incurred in 

insuring the attendance of any witness. 
(6) Cost of Board counsel. 
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 192, 670 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(5)(h) 
Hist.: DE 11-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 1-1988, f. 
12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; OBD 3-1999, 
f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02 

818-001-0082 
Access to Public Records 

(1) Public records not exempt from disclosure may be 
inspected during office hours at the Board office upon reasonable 
notice. 

(2) Copies of public records not exempt from disclosure may 
be purchased upon receipt of a written request. The Board may 
withhold copies of public records until the requestor pays for the 
copies. 

(3) The Board establishes the following fees: 
(a) $25 per hour for the time required to locate and remove 

non-public records or for filling special requests; 
(b) Up to ten (10) pages at no cost; more than 10 pages, $0.50 

for each page plus postage necessary to mail the copies; 
(c) $0.10 per name and address for computer-generated lists 

on paper or labels; $0.20 per name and address for computer-gen-
erated lists on paper or labels sorted by specific zip code; 

(d) Data files on diskette or CD: 
(A) All Licensed Dentists — $50; 
(B) All Licensed Dental Hygienists — $50; 
(C) All Licensees — $100. 
(e) $60 per year for copies of minutes of all Board and com-

mittee meetings; 
(f) Written verification of licensure — $2.50 per name; and 
(g) Certificate of Standing — $20. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 192, 670 & 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.420, 192.430 & 192.440 
Hist.: DE 11-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; 
DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-001-0080; DE 1-
1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; DE 1-1991(Temp), f. 8-5-91, cert. ef. 8-15-91; 
DE 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-91; OBD 3-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; 
OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-001-0083 
Relief from Public Disclosure 

Upon the receipt of a written request of an individual who has 
been disciplined by the Oregon Board of Dentistry, the Board shall 
remove from its website, and other publicly accessible print and 
electronic publications under the Board’s control, all information 
related to disciplining the individual under ORS 679.140 and any 
findings and conclusions made by the Board during the disciplinary 
proceeding, if: 

(1) The request is made 10 years or more after the date on 
which any disciplinary sanction ended; 

(2) The individual was not disciplined for financially or phys-
ically harming a patient as determined by the Board; 

(3) The individual informed the Board of the matter for which 
the individual was disciplined before the Board received information 
about the matter or otherwise had knowledge of the matter; 

(4) The individual making the request, if the individual is or 
was a licensee, has not been subjected to other disciplinary action 
by the Board following the imposition of the disciplinary sanction; 
and 

(5) The individual fully complied with all disciplinary 
sanctions imposed by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: HB 4095 (2016) 
Stats. Implemented:  
Hist.: OBD 1-2016, f. 10-25-16, cert. ef. 11-1-16 

818-001-0087 
Fees 

(1) The Board adopts the following fees: 
(a) Biennial License Fees: 
(A) Dental —$390; 
(B) Dental — retired — $0; 
(C) Dental Faculty — $335; 
(D) Volunteer Dentist — $0; 
(E) Dental Hygiene —$230; 

(F) Dental Hygiene — retired — $0; 
(G) Volunteer Dental Hygienist — $0. 
(b) Biennial Permits, Endorsements or Certificates: 
(A) Nitrous Oxide Permit — $40; 
(B) Minimal Sedation Permit — $75; 
(C) Moderate Sedation Permit — $75; 
(D) Deep Sedation Permit — $75; 
(E) General Anesthesia Permit — $140; 
(F) Radiology — $75; 
(G) Expanded Function Dental Assistant — $50; 
(H) Expanded Function Orthodontic Assistant — $50; 
(I) Instructor Permits — $40; 
(J) Dental Hygiene Restorative Functions Endorsement — 

$50; 
(K) Restorative Functions Dental Assistant — $50; 
(L) Anesthesia Dental Assistant — $50; 
(M) Dental Hygiene, Expanded Practice Permit — $75; 
(N) Non-Resident Dental Background Check - $100.00; 
(c) Applications for Licensure: 
(A) Dental — General and Specialty — $345; 
(B) Dental Faculty — $305; 
(C) Dental Hygiene — $180; 
(D) Licensure Without Further Examination — Dental and 

Dental Hygiene — $790. 
(d) Examinations: 
(A) Jurisprudence — $0; 
(e) Duplicate Wall Certificates — $50. 
(2) Fees must be paid at the time of application and are not 

refundable. 
(3) The Board shall not refund moneys under $5.01 received 

in excess of amounts due or to which the Board has no legal 
interest unless the person who made the payment or the person’s 
legal representative requests a refund in writing within one year of 
payment to the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 293.445, 679.060, 679.115, 679.120, 679.250, 
680.050, 680.075, 680.200 & 680.205  
Hist.: DE 6-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 9-20-85; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 1-
1987, f. & ef. 10-7-87; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-
27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-001-0085; DE 2-1989(Temp), f. 
& cert. ef. 11-30-89; DE 1-1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; DE 1-1991(Temp), 
f. 8-5-91, cert. ef. 8-15-91; DE 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-91; DE 1-
1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92; DE 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-93; OBD 1-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-8-98; OBD 3-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Adminis-
trative correction, 8-2-99; OBD 5-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 7-1-00; OBD 
8-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-
2007, f. 4-26-07, cert. ef. 5-1-07; OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-
2009(Temp), f. 6-11-09, cert. e. 7-1-09 thru 11-1-09; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, 
cert. ef. 11-1-09; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 3-2011(Temp), 
f. 6-30-11, cert. ef. 7-1-11 thru 12-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; 
OBD 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-12; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; 
OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 2-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-26-
15 thru 12-22-15; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-
2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-001-0090 
Board Member Compensation 

(1) Board members of the Oregon Board of Dentistry, who are 
authorized by law to receive compensation for time spent in perfor-
mance of their official duties, shall receive compensation based on 
the amount fixed for the standard per diem allowance for the Con-
tinental United States which has been authorized by the United 
States Internal Revenue Service for each day or portion of each day 
during which the Board member is actually engaged in the perfor-
mance of official duties. This compensation amount shall be in 
addition to the reimbursement of travel expenses per Oregon 
Statewide Travel Policy OAM 40.10.00 PO. 

(2) No Board member shall be required to accept compensation 
or reimbursement of travel expenses while performing their official 
duties as a Board member. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679.230  
Stats. Implemented: HB 2058, OL Ch. 535 (2009 Laws) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09 
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DIVISION 5 

CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECK 
AND FITNESS DETERMINATION RULES 

818-005-0035 
Contesting a Fitness Determination 

(1) This rule sets forth a contested case hearing process by 
which a subject individual may appeal a fitness determination 
made under OAR 818-005-0050 that he or she is fit or not fit to be 
a Board employee, volunteer, contractor, or vendor.  

(2) The Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure, OAR 
137-003-0001 through 137-003-0092, apply unless the Board 
refers the matter to the Office of Administrative Hearings to assign 
an Administrative Law Judge. If the Board refers the matter to the 
Office of Administrative Hearings, 137-003-0501 through 137-
003-0700 shall apply.  

(3) Process.  
(a) To request a contested case hearing, the employee appli-

cant/employee or the employee applicant/employee individual’s 
legal representative must submit a written request to the Executive 
Director of the Board. To be timely, the request must be received 
by the Executive Director of the Board within 21 business days of 
the postmark of the fitness determination notification letter.  

(b) A contested case hearing shall be conducted by an Admin-
istrative Law Judge appointed by the Office of Administrative 
Hearings once a timely request has been received by the Board as 
outlined in section (3)(a).  

(4) The Administrative Law Judge will establish the time and 
place of the hearing. Notice of the hearing shall be served on the 
Board or designee and participants at least ten working days in 
advance of the hearing date.  

(5) No Public Attendance. Contested case hearings on fitness 
determinations are closed to non-participants.  

(6) A fitness determination made under OAR 818-005-0050 
becomes final when:  

(a) A timely request for hearing is not filed; or  
(b) A party withdraws a hearing request, notifies the Board or 

the Administrative Law Judge that the party will not appear, or 
fails to appear for the hearing.  

(7) The Administrative Law Judge will issue a proposed order 
following a hearing. Exceptions, if any, must be received by the 
Board within 10 working days after the service of the proposed 
order.  

(8) An employee applicant/employee currently employed by 
the Board who is denied as unfit pursuant to a final fitness determi-
nation may appeal the fitness determination either under the con-
tested case process made available by this rule or through a process 
available under applicable personnel rules, policies and collective 
bargaining agreements. An employee applicant’s/employee’s deci-
sion to appeal a fitness determination through applicable personnel 
rules, policies, and collective bargaining agreements is an election 
of remedies as to the rights of the individual with respect to the fit-
ness determination and is a waiver of the contested case process 
made available by this rule.  

(9) The only remedy that may be awarded is a determination 
that the employee applicant/employee is fit or not fit. Under no cir-
cumstances shall the Board be required to place an employee appli-
cant/employee in any position, nor shall the Board be required to 
accept services or enter into a contractual agreement with an 
employee applicant/employee.  

(10) An employee applicant/employee may not use the appeals 
process established by this rule to challenge the accuracy or com-
pleteness of information provided by the Oregon State Police, the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation, or agencies reporting information 
to the Oregon State Police or the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 
To challenge the accuracy or completeness of information identified 
in this section, an employee applicant/employee may use any 
process made available by the agency that provided the information.  

(11) Appealing a fitness determination, challenging criminal 
offender information with the agency that provided the information, 
or requesting a new criminal records check and re-evaluation of the 

original fitness determination will not delay or postpone the 
Board’s hiring process or employment decisions.  

(12) Alternative Process. An employee currently employed by 
the Board may choose to appeal a fitness determination either 
under the process made available by this rule or through a process 
made available by applicable personnel rules, policies and collective 
bargaining provision. A subject individual’s decision to appeal a 
fitness determination through applicable personnel rules, polices 
and collective bargaining provisions is an election of remedies as 
to the rights of the individual with respect to the fitness determination 
and is a waiver of the contested case process made available by this 
rule. 

(13) The only remedy that may be awarded is a determination 
that the employee is fit or not fit. Under no circumstances shall the 
Board be required to place an employee in any position, or shall the 
Board be required to accept services or enter into a contractual 
agreement with an employee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 676.303 & 679.253 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.303 & 181.534 
Hist.: OBD 4-2011, f. & cert,. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-
1-17 

818-005-0040 
Agency Representation 

(1) Subject to the approval of the Attorney General, an officer 
or employee of the Board, designated by the Executive Director, is 
authorized to appear on behalf of the Board in contested case hear-
ings conducted pursuant to these rules.  

(2) Board officers, employees, or other authorized personnel 
may not present legal argument as defined under OAR 137-003-
0008 on behalf of the Board in contested case hearings conducted 
pursuant to these rules.  

(3) When the Board determines it is necessary to consult with 
the Attorney General’s office, the Administrative Law Judge will 
provide a reasonable period of time for a Board’s representative to 
consult with the Attorney General’s office and to obtain either 
written or oral legal argument or advice, if necessary.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 676.303 & 679.253 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.303 & 181.534 
Hist.: OBD 4-2011, f. & cert,. ef. 11-15-11 

818-005-0050   
Criminal Records Check for Employees, Volunteers and 
Applicants 

(1) The Board may require a criminal records check and 
fitness determination for Board employees, volunteers or applicants 
for employment with the Board. 

(2) Criminal records checks and fitness determinations are 
conducted pursuant to ORS 181A.170 to 181A.215 and OAR 125-
007-0200 to 125-007-0310. 

(a) To complete the criminal records check and fitness deter-
mination, the Board may require additional information from the 
employee, volunteer or applicant, such as, but not limited to, proof 
of identity or additional criminal, judicial or other background 
information. 

(b) If the employee, volunteer or applicant has potentially dis-
qualifying criminal offender information, the Board will consider 
factors listed in ORS 181A.195 before making a fitness determina-
tion. 

(c) An approved fitness determination does not guarantee 
employment. 

(d) An incomplete fitness determination does not entitle the 
employee, volunteer or applicant the right to appeal under OAR 
125-007-0300. 

(3) Pursuant to ORS 181A.195, 676.175, and OAR 125-007-
0310, information obtained in the criminal records check is confi-
dential and will not be disseminated by the Board except to persons 
with a demonstrated and legitimate need to know the information. 

(4) The Board may charge a fee to the employee, volunteer or 
applicant for the criminal records check. The fee will not exceed 
the fee charged the Board by the OSP and the FBI to obtain such 
information. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181A.195, 676.303 
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Stats. Implemented:  ORS 181A.170, 181A.195, 181A215, 676.175, 676.303, 
679.250 
Hist.: OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

DIVISION 12 

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE 

818-012-0005 
Scope of Practice 

(1) No dentist may perform any of the procedures listed 
below: 

(a) Rhinoplasty; 
(b) Blepharoplasty; 
(c) Rhydidectomy; 
(d) Submental liposuction; 
(e) Laser resurfacing; 
(f) Browlift, either open or endoscopic technique; 
(g) Platysmal muscle plication; 
(h) Otoplasty; 
(i) Dermabrasion; 
(j) Hair transplantation, not as an isolated procedure for male 

pattern baldness; and 
(k) Harvesting bone extra orally for dental procedures, includ-

ing oral and maxillofacial procedures. 
(2) Unless the dentist: 
(a) Has successfully completed a residency in Oral and Max-

illofacial Surgery accredited by the American Dental Association, 
Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA), or 

(b) Holds privileges either: 
(A) Issued by a credentialing committee of a hospital 

accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations (JCAHO) to perform these procedures in a hospital 
setting; or 

(B) Issued by a credentialing committee for an ambulatory 
surgical center licensed by the State of Oregon and accredited by 
either the JCAHO or the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory 
Health Care (AAAHC). 

(3) A dentist may utilize Botulinum Toxin Type A and dermal 
fillers to treat a condition that is within the scope of the practice of 
dentistry after completing a minimum of 20 hours in a hands on 
clinical course(s), which includes both Botulimum Toxin Type A 
and dermal fillers, and the provider is approved by the Academy of 
General Dentistry Program Approval for Continuing Education 
(AGD PACE) or by the American Dental Association Continuing 
Education Recognition Program (ADA CERP). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.010(2), 679.140(1)(c), 679.140(2), 679.170(6) & 
680.100 
Hist.: OBD 6-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-
13; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 
8-1-14; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-012-0010 
Unacceptable Patient Care 

The Board finds, using the criteria set forth in ORS 679.140(4), 
that a licensee engages in or permits the performance of unacceptable 
patient care if the licensee does or permits any person to: 

(1) Provide treatment which exposes a patient to risk of harm 
when equivalent or better treatment with less risk to the patient is 
available. 

(2) Fail to seek consultation whenever the welfare of a patient 
would be safeguarded or advanced by having recourse to those 
who have special skills, knowledge and experience; provided, 
however, that it is not a violation of this section to omit to seek con-
sultation if other competent licensees in the same locality and in 
similar circumstances would not have sought such consultation. 

(3) Fail to provide or arrange for emergency treatment for a 
patient currently receiving treatment. 

(4) Fail to exercise supervision required by the Dental Practice 
Act over any person or permit any person to perform duties for 
which the person is not licensed or certified. 

(5) Render services which the licensee is not licensed to pro-
vide. 

(6) Fail to comply with ORS 453.605 to 453.755 or rules 
adopted pursuant thereto relating to the use of x-ray machines. 

(7) Fail to maintain patient records in accordance with OAR 
818-012-0070. 

(8) Fail to provide goods or services in a reasonable period of 
time which are due to a patient pursuant to a contract with the 
patient or a third party. 

(9) Attempt to perform procedures which the licensee is not 
capable of performing due to physical or mental disability. 

(10) Perform any procedure for which the patient or patient’s 
guardian has not previously given informed consent provided, 
however, that in an emergency situation, if the patient is a minor 
whose guardian is unavailable or the patient is unable to respond, a 
licensee may render treatment in a reasonable manner according to 
community standards. 

(11) Use the behavior management technique of Hand Over 
Mouth (HOM) without first obtaining informed consent for the use 
of the technique. 

(12) Use the behavior management technique of Hand Over 
Mouth Airway Restriction (HOMAR) on any patient. 

(13) Fail to determine and document a dental justification 
prior to ordering a Cone Beam CT series with field greater than 
10x10 cm for patients under 20 years of age where pathology, 
anatomical variation or potential treatment complications would 
not be otherwise visible with a Full Mouth Series, Panoramic or 
Cephalometric radiographs.  

(14) Fail to advise a patient of any recognized treatment com-
plications.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(1)(e), 679.140(4) & 680.100 
Hist.: DE 6, f. 8-9-63, ef. 9-11-63; DE 14, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-10-72; DE 5-1980, f. 
& ef. 12-26-80; DE 2-1982, f. & ef. 3-19-82; DE 5-1982, f. & ef. 5-26-82; DE 
9-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; Renumbered from 818-010-0080; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 
3-31-86; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. 
ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-011-0020; DE 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 2-20-97; 
DE 3-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-27-97; OBD 7-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 2-
2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-012-0015 
Licensee to Notify Board of Certain Events 

Licensees shall report to the Board incidents of mortality that 
occur in the course of the licensee’s practice. 

(1) The licensee performing the dental procedure must submit 
a written detailed report to the Board within five working days of 
the incident along with the patient’s complete original dental 
records. The detailed report(s) must include: 

(a) Name, age and address of patient; 
(b) Name of the licensee and other persons present during the 

incident; 
(c) Address where the incident took place; 
(d) Type of anesthesia and dosages of drugs administered to 

the patient; and 
(e) A narrative description of the incident including approximate 

times and evolution of symptoms. 
(2) Reports filed with the Board under this rule are confidential 

and are only subject to public disclosure pursuant to ORS 
192.502(2). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) 
Hist.: OBD 10-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01 

818-012-0020 
Additional Methods of Discipline for Unacceptable Patient 
Care 

In addition to other discipline, the Board may order a licensee 
who engaged in or permitted unacceptable patient care to: 

(1) Make restitution to the patient in an amount to cover actual 
costs in correcting the unacceptable care. 

(2) Refund fees paid by the patient with interest. 
(3) Complete a Board-approved course of remedial education. 
(4) Discontinue practicing in specific areas of dentistry or 

hygiene. 
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(5) Practice under the supervision of another licensee. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(5)(h) & 680.100 
Hist.: DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 
1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89, Renumbered from 818-001-0045 

818-012-0030 
Unprofessional Conduct 

The Board finds that in addition to the conduct set forth in 
ORS 679.140(2), unprofessional conduct includes, but is not 
limited to, the following in which a licensee does or knowingly 
permits any person to:  

(1) Attempt to obtain a fee by fraud, or misrepresentation. 
(2) Obtain a fee by fraud, or misrepresentation. 
(a) A licensee obtains a fee by fraud if the licensee knowingly 

makes, or permits any person to make, a material, false statement 
intending that a recipient, who is unaware of the truth, rely upon 
the statement. 

(b) A licensee obtains a fee by misrepresentation if the 
licensee obtains a fee through making or permitting any person to 
make a material, false statement. 

(c) Giving cash discounts and not disclosing them to third 
party payers is not fraud or misrepresentation. 

(3) Offer rebates, split fees, or commissions for services ren-
dered to a patient to any person other than a partner, employee, or 
employer. 

(4) Accept rebates, split fees, or commissions for services ren-
dered to a patient from any person other than a partner, employee, 
or employer. 

(5) Initiate, or engage in, with a patient, any behavior with 
sexual connotations. The behavior can include but is not limited to, 
inappropriate physical touching; kissing of a sexual nature; gestures 
or expressions, any of which are sexualized or sexually demeaning 
to a patient; inappropriate procedures, including, but not limited to, 
disrobing and draping practices that reflect a lack of respect for the 
patient’s privacy; or initiating inappropriate communication, verbal 
or written, including, but not limited to, references to a patient’s 
body or clothing that are sexualized or sexually demeaning to a 
patient; and inappropriate comments or queries about the profes-
sional’s or patient’s sexual orientation, sexual performance, sexual 
fantasies, sexual problems, or sexual preferences. 

(6) Engage in an unlawful trade practice as defined in ORS 
646.605 to 646.608. 

(7) Fail to present a treatment plan with estimated costs to a 
patient upon request of the patient or to a patient’s guardian upon 
request of the patient’s guardian. 

(8) Misrepresent any facts to a patient concerning treatment or 
fees. 

(9)(a) Fail to provide a patient or patient’s guardian within 14 
days of written request: 

(A) Legible copies of records; and 
(B) Duplicates of study models, radiographs of the same 

quality as the originals, and photographs if they have been paid for. 
(b) The licensee may require the patient or guardian to pay in 

advance a fee reasonably calculated to cover the costs of making 
the copies or duplicates. The licensee may charge a fee not to 
exceed $30 for copying 10 or fewer pages of written material and 
no more than $0.50 per page for pages 11 through 50 and no more 
than $0.25 for each additional page (including records copied from 
microfilm), plus any postage costs to mail copies requested and 
actual costs of preparing an explanation or summary of information, 
if requested. The actual cost of duplicating radiographs may also 
be charged to the patient. Patient records or summaries may not be 
withheld from the patient because of any prior unpaid bills, except 
as provided in (9)(a)(B) of this rule. 

(10) Fail to identify to a patient, patient’s guardian, or the 
Board the name of an employee, employer, contractor, or agent 
who renders services. 

(11) Use prescription forms pre-printed with any Drug 
Enforcement Administration number, name of controlled substances, 
or facsimile of a signature. 

(12) Use a rubber stamp or like device to reproduce a 
signature on a prescription form or sign a blank prescription form. 

(13) Order drugs listed on Schedule II of the Drug Abuse Pre-
vention and Control Act, 21 U.S.C. Sec. 812, for office use on a 
prescription form. 

(14) Violate any Federal or State law regarding controlled 
substances. 

(15) Becomes addicted to, or dependent upon, or abuses alco-
hol, illegal or controlled drugs, or mind altering substances, or 
practice with an untreated substance use disorder diagnosis that 
renders the licensee unable to safely conduct the practice of 
dentistry or dental hygiene. 

(16) Practice dentistry or dental hygiene in a dental office or 
clinic not owned by an Oregon licensed dentist(s), except for an 
entity described under ORS 679.020(3) and dental hygienists prac-
ticing pursuant to ORS 680.205(1)(2). 

(17) Make an agreement with a patient or person, or any 
person or entity representing patients or persons, or provide any 
form of consideration that would prohibit, restrict, discourage or 
otherwise limit a person’s ability to file a complaint with the 
Oregon Board of Dentistry; to truthfully and fully answer any 
questions posed by an agent or representative of the Board; or to 
participate as a witness in a Board proceeding. 

(18) Fail to maintain at a minimum a current BLS for Health-
care Providers certificate or its equivalent. (Effective January 
2015). 

(19) Conduct unbecoming a licensee or detrimental to the best 
interests of the public, including conduct contrary to the recognized 
standards of ethics of the licensee’s profession or conduct that 
endangers the health, safety or welfare of a patient or the public. 

(20) Knowingly deceiving or attempting to deceive the Board, 
an employee of the Board, or an agent of the Board in any 
application or renewal, or in reference to any matter under investi-
gation by the Board.  This includes but is not limited to the 
omission, alteration or destruction of any record in order to 
obstruct or delay an investigation by the Board, or to omit, alter or 
falsify any information in patient or business records. 

(21) Knowingly practicing with a physical or mental impair-
ment that renders the Licensee unable to safely conduct the 
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene.  

(22) Take any action which could reasonably be interpreted to 
constitute harassment or retaliation towards a person whom the 
licensee believes to be a complainant or witness. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(1)(c), 679.140(2), 679.170(6) & 680.100 
Hist.: DE 6, f. 8-9-63, ef. 9-11-63; DE 14, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-10-72; DE 5-1980, f. 
& ef. 12-26-80; DE 2-1982, f. & ef. 3-19-82; DE 5-1982, f. & ef. 5-26-82; DE 
9-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; Renumbered from 818-010-0080; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 
3-31-86; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. 
ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-011-0020; DE 1-1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-
2-90; DE 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 2-20-97; OBD 3-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-
99; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06; OBD 1-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-1-07; 
OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-
08; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 
8-1-14; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. 
ef. 3-1-17 

818-012-0032  
Diagnostic Records  

(1) Licensees shall provide duplicates of physical diagnostic 
records that have been paid for to patient or patient’s guardian 
within 14 calendar days of receipt of written request.  

(A) Physical records include silver emulsion radiographs, 
physical study models, paper charting and chart notes. 

(B) Licensees may require the patient or patient’s guardian to 
pay in advance the fee reasonably calculated to cover costs of 
making the copies or duplicates.  

(1) Licensee may charge a fee not to exceed $30 for copying 
10 or fewer pages of written material and no more than $0.50 per 
page for 11-50 and no more than $0.25 for each additional page, 
including cost of microfilm plus any postage costs to mail copies 
requested and actual costs of preparing an explanation or summary 
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of information, if requested.  The actual costs of duplicating radio-
graphs may also be charged to the patient. 

(2) Licensees shall provide duplicates of digital patient 
records within 14 calendar days of receipt of written request by the 
patient or patient’s guardian.  

(A) Digital records include any patient diagnostic image, 
study model, test result or chart record in digital form.  

(B) Licensees may require the patient or patient’s guardian to 
pay for the typical retail cost of the digital storage device, such as a 
CD, thumb drive, or DVD as well as associated postage.  

(C) Licensees shall not charge any patient or patient’s guardian 
to transmit requested digital records over email if total records do 
not exceed 25 Mb.  

(D) A clinical day is defined as a day during which the dental 
clinic treated scheduled patients.  

(E) Licensees may charge up to $5 for duplication of digital 
records up to 25Mb and up to $30 for more than 25Mb.  

(F) Any transmission of patient records shall be in compliance 
with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
(HIPAA Act) and the Health Information Technology for Economic 
and Clinical Health Act (HITECH Act). 

(G) Duplicated digital records shall be of the same quality as 
the original digital file. 

(3) If a records summary is requested by patient or patient’s 
guardian, the actual cost of creating this summary and its transmittal 
may be billed to the patient or patient’s guardian.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679 
Hist.: OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-012-0040 
Infection Control Guidelines 

In determining what constitutes unacceptable patient care 
with respect to infection control, the Board may consider current 
infection control guidelines such as those of the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention and the American Dental Associa-
tion.  

(1) Additionally, licensees must comply with the following 
requirements:  

(a) Disposable gloves shall be worn whenever placing fingers 
into the mouth of a patient or when handling blood or saliva con-
taminated instruments or equipment. Appropriate hand hygiene 
shall be performed prior to gloving.  

(b) Masks and protective eyewear or chin-length shields shall 
be worn by licensees and other dental care workers when spattering 
of blood or other body fluids is likely.  

(c) Between each patient use, instruments or other equipment 
that come in contact with body fluids shall be sterilized.  

(d) Environmental surfaces that are contaminated by blood or 
saliva shall be disinfected with a chemical germicide which is 
mycobactericidal at use.  

(e) Impervious backed paper, aluminum foil, or plastic wrap 
may be used to cover surfaces that may be contaminated by blood 
or saliva and are difficult or impossible to disinfect. The cover shall 
be replaced between patients.  

(f) All contaminated wastes and sharps shall be disposed of 
according to any governmental requirements. 

(2) Dentists must comply with the requirement that heat steril-
izing devices shall be tested for proper function by means of a bio-
logical monitoring system that indicates micro-organisms kill each 
calendar week in which scheduled patients are treated. Testing 
results shall be retained by the dentist for the current calendar year 
and the two preceding calendar years. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679.120, 679.250(7), 680.075 & 680.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140, 679.140(4) & 680.100 
Hist.: DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 
2-1-89; DE 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. ef. 6-1-
04; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. 
ef. 1-1-14; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, 
cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-012-0060 
Failure to Cooperate with Board 

(1) No licensee shall: 
(a) Fail to report to the Board violations of the Dental Practice 

Act. 
(b) Use threats or harassment to delay or obstruct any person 

in providing evidence in any investigation, contested case, or other 
legal action instituted by the Board. 

(c) Discharge an employee based primarily on the employee’s 
attempt to comply with or aid in the compliance with the Dental 
Practice Act. 

(d) Use threats or harassment to obstruct or delay the Board in 
carrying out its functions under the Dental Practice Act. 

(e) Deceive or attempt to deceive the Board with respect to 
any matter under investigation including altering or destroying any 
records. 

(f) Make an untrue statement on any document, letter, or 
application submitted to the Board. 

(g) Fail to temporarily surrender custody of original patient 
records to the Board when the Board makes a written request for 
the records. For purposes of this rule, the term records includes, but 
is not limited to, the jacket, treatment charts, models, radiographs, 
photographs, health histories, billing documents, correspondence 
and memoranda.  

(h) Fail to cooperate with the Board during the course of an 
investigation.  

(2) No applicant shall: 
(a) Deceive or attempt to deceive the Board with respect to 

any matter under investigation including altering or destroying any 
records. 

(b) Make an untrue statement on any document, letter, or 
application submitted to the Board. 

(c) Fail to cooperate with the Board during the course of an 
investigation.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.060(4), 679.170(5), 679.250(8), 679.290, 
679.310(1), 680.050(4) & 680.100 
Hist.: DE 9-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 
1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-011-0050; DE 2-
1997, f. & cert. ef. 2-20-97; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 2-
2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-012-0070 
Patient Records 

(1) Each licensee shall have prepared and maintained an accu-
rate record for each person receiving dental services, regardless of 
whether any fee is charged. The record shall contain the name of 
the licensee rendering the service and include: 

(a) Name and address and, if a minor, name of guardian; 
(b) Date description of examination and diagnosis; 
(c) An entry that informed consent has been obtained and the 

date the informed consent was obtained. Documentation may be in 
the form of an acronym such as “PARQ” (Procedure, Alternatives, 
Risks and Questions) or “SOAP” (Subjective Objective Assessment 
Plan) or their equivalent. 

(d) Date and description of treatment or services rendered; 
(e) Date, description and documentation of informing the 

patient of any recognized treatment complications; 
(f) Date and description of all radiographs, study models, and 

periodontal charting; 
(g) Health history; and 
(h) Date, name of, quantity of, and strength of all drugs dis-

pensed, administered, or prescribed. 
(2) Each licensee shall have prepared and maintained an accu-

rate record of all charges and payments for services including 
source of payments. 

(3) Each licensee shall maintain patient records and radiographs 
for at least seven years from the date of last entry unless: 

(a) The patient requests the records, radiographs, and models 
be transferred to another licensee who shall maintain the records 
and radiographs; 

(b) The licensee gives the records, radiographs, or models to 
the patient; or 
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(c) The licensee transfers the licensee’s practice to another 
licensee who shall maintain the records and radiographs. 

(4) When changing practice locations, closing a practice loca-
tion or retiring, each licensee must retain patient records for the 
required amount of time or transfer the custody of patient records 
to another licensee licensed and practicing dentistry in Oregon. 
Transfer of patient records pursuant to this section of this rule must 
be reported to the Board in writing within 14 days of transfer, but 
not later than the effective date of the change in practice location, 
closure of the practice location or retirement. Failure to transfer the 
custody of patient records as required in this rule is unprofessional 
conduct.  

(5) Upon the death or permanent disability of a licensee, the 
administrator, executor, personal representative, guardian, conser-
vator or receiver of the former licensee must notify the Board in 
writing of the management arrangement for the custody and 
transfer of patient records. This individual must ensure the security 
of and access to patient records by the patient or other authorized 
party, and must report arrangements for permanent custody of 
patient records to the Board in writing within 90 days of the death 
of the licensee.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(1)(e) & 679.140(4) 
Hist.: DE 9-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 
1-1989, f. 1-27-90, cert. ef. 2-1-90; Renumbered from 818-011-0060; DE 1-
1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; OBD 7-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 2-
2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-012-0075 
Administration of Local Anesthesia — Lip Color Procedures 

A dentist licensed in Oregon may administer local anesthesia 
to a person who proposes to receive permanent lip color and/or per-
manent hair removal in the lip area from a permanent color techni-
cian/tattoo artist or an electrologist licensed under ORS 690.350 to 
690.430. Prior to the administration of local anesthesia for this pur-
pose, the licensed dentist shall:  

(1) Receive a written order from a licensed permanent color 
technician/tattoo artist or a licensed electrologist, which shall be 
maintained in the patient record; 

(2) Obtain a current health history;  
(3) Perform an oral examination; and 
(4) Create and maintain a patient record as required by OAR 

818-012-0070. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.500 
Hist.: OBD 6-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 7-1-00; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. 
ef. 6-1-04 

818-012-0080 
Improper Prescription Practices 

(1) In conjunction with dental treatment, a dentist may pre-
scribe, dispense, or administer medications relevant to the care 
being provided. 

(2) It is improper to prescribe or dispense drugs outside the 
scope of the practice of dentistry or in a manner that impairs the 
health and safety of an individual including:  

(a) Prescribing or dispensing drugs in such amounts as to con-
stitute a departure from the prevailing standards of acceptable 
dental practice; and 

(b) Prescribing or dispensing controlled substances for persons 
who are not patients of record in the dentist’s practice unless the 
dentist is acting on behalf of the dentist of record. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(2)(h) & 680.100 
Hist.: DE 9-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 
1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-011-0070; OBD 13-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 4-18-01 

818-012-0090 
Obtaining Controlled Substances 

(1) No licensee shall obtain or attempt to obtain any controlled 
substance by any misrepresentation or subterfuge. 

(2) No licensee shall prescribe any controlled substance for 
the licensee’s personal consumption. 

(3) No licensee shall purchase any controlled substance for 
the licensee’s personal consumption other than by prescription 
from a licensed practitioner in conjunction with treatment to the 
licensee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(2)(g) & 680.100 
Hist.: DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 
2-1-89 

818-012-0100 
Controlled Substances Record Keeping Requirements 

(1) Each dentist shall have a current and constant inventory of 
all controlled substances. 

(2) Each time a dentist dispenses any drug listed on Schedule 
II of the Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act, 21 U.S.C., Sec 
812, the dentist shall record the following information on a readily 
retrievable record of dispensing maintained separate from patient 
records: 

(a) Name of each patient; 
(b) Name, strength, and quantity of the drug dispensed; and 
(c) Date the drug was dispensed. 
(3) Each dentist shall: 
(a) Maintain a record of any controlled substance lost, 

destroyed, or stolen which shall include the name and quantity of 
the controlled substance and the date of such loss, destruction or 
theft; and 

(b) Report the loss, destruction, or theft to the United States 
Drug Enforcement Administration regional office. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(2)(g) & 679.140(2)(h) 
Hist.: DE 9-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 
1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-011-0100 

818-012-0110 
Extension of Authority to Operate a Dental Practice 

(1) Upon the death or disability of a shareholder dentist, the 
administrator, executor, personal representative, guardian, conser-
vator or receiver of the former dentist shareholder shall notify the 
Board in writing of the management arrangement for the dental 
practice. 

(2) At least 30 days prior to the expiration of an initial 12-
month period following the creation of an ownership interest 
described in ORS 679.020(7), the administrator, executor, personal 
representative, guardian, conservator or receiver of the former 
dentist shareholder shall submit to the Board a written request for 
extension of authority to continue maintaining and operating a 
dental practice. One 12-month extension (for a total of 24 months) 
shall be automatically granted. 

(3) Any request for extension beyond 24 months shall be sub-
mitted in writing to the Board at least 60 days prior to the 
expiration of the 24-month period. The Board on a case-by-case 
basis shall review such requests. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020 
Hist.: OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. ef. 6-1-04 

DIVISION 13 

HEALTH PROFESSIONALS’ SERVICES PROGRAM 

818-013-0001 
Definitions 

For the purpose of this section, the following definitions 
apply: 

(1) “Confidential” means that, to the highest degree possible, 
the identities of the licensees investigated for alleged addiction to, 
dependence upon, or abuse of alcohol, drugs, and mind altering 
substances, or mental health disorders, and who have a diagnosed 
substance abuse disorder or mental health disorder, will be kept 
confidential by the Board and not be a matter of public record. 

(2) “Diagnosis” means the principal mental health or substance 
use diagnosis listed in the DSM. The diagnosis is determined 
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through the evaluation and any examinations, tests, or consultations 
suggested by the evaluation, and is the medically appropriate 
reason for services.  

(3) “Direct Observe” means that a collection taker is in the 
restroom with donor and observes the providing of the sample 
throughout the entire process. 

(4) “Diversion Coordinator” means the individual(s) authorized 
by the Board and the Executive Director to know the identities of 
the licensees who are candidates for or who are enrolled in HPSP. 

(5) “Division” means the Oregon Health Authority, Addictions 
and Mental Health Division. 

(6) “DSM” means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders, published by the American Psychiatric Associa-
tion. 

(7) “Evaluation” means the process a Board approved, inde-
pendent evaluator uses to diagnose the licensee’s symptoms and to 
recommend treatment options for the licensee. 

(8) “Health Professionals’ Services Program” (HPSP) means 
the consolidated, statewide health professionals program for 
licensees diagnosed with a substance use disorder, a mental health 
disorder, or both types of disorders, as established by ORS 
676.190. 

(9) “Independent evaluator” means a Board approved individual 
or entity qualified to evaluate, diagnose, and recommend treatment 
regimens for substance abuse disorders, mental health disorders, or 
co-occurring disorders. 

(10) “Mental health disorder” means a clinically significant 
behavioral or psychological syndrome or pattern that occurs in an 
individual and that is associated with present distress or disability 
or with a significantly increased risk of suffering death, pain, dis-
ability, or an important loss of freedom that is identified in the 
DSM. “Mental health disorder” includes gambling disorders. 

(11) “Monitoring agreement” means an individualized agree-
ment between a licensee and the HPSP vendor that meets the 
requirements for a diversion agreement set by ORS 676.190.  

(12) “Monitoring Entity” means an independent third-party 
that monitors licensees’ program enrollment statuses and monitoring 
agreement compliance. 

(13) “Non-disciplinary” means the Board will not take disci-
plinary action or enter disciplinary orders against a licensee who 
agrees to enter into the HPSP and remains compliant with that pro-
gram. 

(14) “Non-identifying” means a system where the licensee is 
referred to by number rather than name and the licensee’s identity 
remains confidential to the Board. 

(15) “Program” means the process whereby allegations of 
addiction to, dependence upon, or abuse of alcohol, drugs, or mind 
altering substances or mental health disorders are investigated, 
evaluated, and reported to the Board for action. 

(16) “Substance Use Disorders” means disorders related to 
the taking of a drug of abuse including alcohol, to the side effects 
of a medication, and to a toxin exposure. The disorders include 
substance use disorders such as substance dependence and substance 
abuse, and substance-induced disorders, including substance intox-
ication, withdrawal, delirium, and dementia, as well as substance 
induced psychotic disorder, mood disorder, etc., as defined in DSM 
criteria. 

(17) “Substantial non-compliance” means that a licensee is in 
violation of the terms of his or her monitoring agreement in a way 
that gives rise to concerns about the licensee’s ability or willingness 
to participate in the program. Substantial non-compliance and non-
compliance include, but are not limited to, the factors listed in ORS 
676.190(1)(f). Conduct that occurred before a licensee entered into 
a monitoring agreement does not violate the terms of that 
monitoring agreement. 

(18) “Successful completion” means the licensee has complied 
with the licensee’s monitoring agreement to the satisfaction of the 
Board. 

(19) “Toxicology testing” means urine testing or alternative 
chemical monitoring including, but not limited to blood, saliva, or 
breath as conducted by a laboratory certified, accredited or licensed 
and approved for toxicology testing. 

(20) “Treatment” means the planned, specific, individualized 
health and behavioral-health procedures, activities, services and 
supports that a treatment provider uses to remediate symptoms of a 
substance use disorder, mental health disorder or both types of dis-
orders. 

(21) “Vendor” means the entity that has contracted with the 
Division to conduct the program. 

(22) “Voluntary” means that the Board cannot compel a 
licensee to enter the HPSP.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676, 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented:ORS 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676.200 & 676.140(e) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-10 thru 2-1-11; OBD 1-2011, f. 1-
11-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-
24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

818-013-0005 
Participation in Health Professionals’ Services Program 

(1) Effective July 1, 2010, the Board participates in the Health 
Professionals’ Services Program (HPSP). 

(a) The Board establishes procedures to process cases of 
licensees preparatory to transfer to HPSP. 

(b) The procedures will be confidential, non-disciplinary, and 
voluntary. 

(c) The Executive Director will have overall management 
responsibilities for the procedures. The Executive Director will 
designate Board staff to serve as Diversion Coordinator(s) who 
will manage and conduct investigations and report to the Board. 

(d) The Diversion Coordinator(s) will investigate information 
related to addiction to, dependence upon, or abuse of alcohol, 
drugs, or mind altering substances or mental health disorders, by 
licensees and provide licensees with resources for evaluations, if 
appropriate. 

(2) Only licensees of the Board who meet the referral criteria 
may be referred by the Board to the HPSP. 

(a) The Board may refer a licensee to the HPSP in lieu of 
public discipline. 

(b) In the event a licensee declines to submit to an evaluation 
or declines referral to HPSP, the Diversion Coordinator(s) will pre-
sent the matter to the Board for decision and the Board’s action 
may jeopardize the confidential nature of licensee’s status as a can-
didate for, or enrollment in, HPSP. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676, 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676.200 & 676.140(e) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-10 thru 2-1-11; OBD 1-2011, f. 1-
11-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14 

818-013-0010 
Procedures for Board Referrals 

(1) When the Board receives information involving a licensee 
who may have a substance related disorder, mental disorder, or 
both types of disorders, the Board staff will investigate and 
complete a non-identifying confidential report to be presented at a 
Board meeting.  

(2) The Board will consider all relevant factors before deter-
mining whether to refer a licensee to the HPSP, including but not 
limited to licensee’s disciplinary history; the severity and duration 
of the licensee’s impairment; the extent to which licensee’s practice 
can be limited or managed to eliminate danger to the public; and 
the likelihood that licensee’s impairment can be managed with 
treatment.  

(3) If a licensee meets referral criteria and the Board approves 
entry into the HPSP, the Board will provide a written referral to 
HPSP.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676, 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676.200 & 676.140(e) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-10 thru 2-1-11; OBD 1-2011, f. 1-
11-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11 
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818-013-0015 
Referral of Licensees to the HPSP 

(1) A Board referral to HPSP will include, at a minimum:  
(a) Copies of documents from a Board approved independent 

evaluator which provide a diagnosis of a substance related disorder 
or a mental health disorder or both disorders, and provide treatment 
options;  

(b) A written statement from the Board as to whether the 
licensee’s impairment presents, or presented, a danger to the 
public;  

(c) A written statement from the licensee agreeing to enter the 
HPSP in lieu of discipline and agreeing to abide by all of the terms 
and conditions established by the vendor;  

(d) A written statement that the licensee has agreed to report 
any arrest for or conviction of a misdemeanor or felony crime to 
the Board within three (3) business days after the licensee is 
arrested or convicted; and  

(e) A letter of instruction to the vendor detailing the additional 
agreement provisions required by the Board.  

(2) For referral to HPSP, the licensee shall:  
(a) Sign an Agreement to Enter the Health Professionals’ Ser-

vices Program.  
(b) Provide written authorization allowing for the release of 

documents by the Board to the HPSP vendor, and permit the verbal 
exchange of information between the Board and the HPSP vendor.  

(c) Within one (1) business day of the effective date of the 
Agreement to Enter the Health Professionals’ Services Program, 
licensee will make contact with the HPSP vendor to initiate proce-
dures to enter HPSP.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676, 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676.200 & 676.140(e) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-10 thru 2-1-11; OBD 1-2011, f. 1-
11-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11 

818-013-0020 
Additional Required Provisions 

(1) Prior to referral to HPSP, the licensee shall agree, by 
written statement, to waive any privilege with respect to any phys-
ical, psychiatric, psychological, or substance use treatment, in 
favor of the Board; and to execute waivers or releases with any and 
all health care providers to permit exchange of information 
between the health care providers and the Board.  

(2) Monitoring agreement will be for a minimum of five (5) 
years, or as determined by the Board. 

(3) Urinalysis testing shall be directly observed. 
(4) Licensee shall assure that at all times the Board has the 

most current information regarding licensee’s address and telephone 
numbers for both residences and employments. 

(5) Licensee will be responsible for all costs for treatment 
including, but not limited to, evaluations, residential treatment, 
after care regimens, group therapy programs, counseling, and toxi-
cology testing. Failure to meet those financial obligations may con-
stitute substantial non-compliance. 

(6) As warranted, the Board shall add any additional agreement 
provisions and will convey those to the vendor by letter of instruc-
tion. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676, 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676.200 & 676.140(e) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-10 thru 2-1-11; OBD 1-2011, f. 1-
11-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11 

818-013-0025 
Approval of Independent Evaluators 

(1) To be approved by the Board as an independent evaluator, 
an evaluator must be: 

(a) Licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the eval-
uator works; and 

(b) Able to provide a comprehensive assessment of and 
written report describing a licensee’s diagnosis, degree of impair-
ment, and treatment options. 

(2) The Board will not accept an independent evaluator in a 
particular case if, in the Board’s judgment, the evaluator’s judgment 

is likely to be influenced by a personal or professional relationship 
with a licensee. 

(3) The Board will maintain a list of approved independent 
evaluators on the Board’s Web site at www.oregon.gov/Dentistry. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676, 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676.200 & 676.140(e) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-10 thru 2-1-11; OBD 1-2011, f. 1-
11-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11 

818-013-0030 
Approval of Treatment Providers 

(1) To be approved by the Board as a treatment provider, a 
provider must be: 

(a) Licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the 
provider works; and 

(b) Able to provide appropriate treatment considering licensee’s 
diagnosis, degree of impairment, and treatment options proposed 
by the independent evaluator. 

(2) The Board will not accept a provider as a treatment 
provider in a particular case if, in the Board’s judgment, the 
treatment provider’s judgment is likely to be influenced by a 
personal or professional relationship with a licensee. 

(3) The Board will maintain a list of approved treatment 
providers on the Board’s Web site at www.oregon.gov/Dentistry. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676, 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676.200 & 676.140(e) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-10 thru 2-1-11; OBD 1-2011, f. 1-
11-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11 

818-013-0035 
Non-Compliance Action 

The Board, upon being notified of a licensee’s substantial 
non-compliance, will investigate and determine the appropriate 
sanction which may include, but is not limited to, a limitation of 
licensee’s practice and any other sanction, up to and including ter-
mination from HPSP and formal discipline. In the event the HPSP 
vendor or the monitoring entity reports a matter of non-compliance 
to the Diversion Coordinator(s), the matter, following an investiga-
tion, will be brought to the Board for decision and the Board’s 
action may jeopardize the confidential nature of licensee’s enrollment 
in HPSP. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676, 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676.200 & 676.140(e) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-10 thru 2-1-11; OBD 1-2011, f. 1-
11-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11 

DIVISION 15 

ADVERTISING 

818-015-0005 
General Provisions 

(1) “To advertise” means to publicly communicate information 
about a licensee’s professional services or qualifications for the 
purpose of soliciting business. 

(2) Advertising shall not be false, deceptive, misleading or not 
readily subject to verification and shall not make claims of profes-
sional superiority which cannot be substantiated by the licensee, 
who shall have the burden of proof. 

(3) A licensee who authorizes another to disseminate informa-
tion about the licensee’s professional services to the public is 
responsible for the content of that information unless the licensee 
can prove by clear and convincing evidence that the content of the 
advertisement is contrary to the licensee’s specific directions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(2)(e) 
Hist.: DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-
1-89; DE 3-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-27-97; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-
1-08 
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818-015-0007 
Specialty Advertising 

(1) A dentist may only advertise as a specialist in an area of 
dentistry which is recognized by the Board and in which the dentist 
is licensed or certified by the Board. 

(2) The Board recognizes the following specialties: 
(a) Endodontics; 
(b) Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery; 
(c) Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology; 
(d) Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology; 
(e) Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics; 
(f) Pediatric Dentistry; 
(g) Periodontics; 
(h) Prosthodontics; and 
(i) Dental Public Health. 
(3) A dentist whose license is not limited to the practice of a 

specialty under OAR 818-021-0017 may advertise that the dentist 
performs or limits practice to specialty services even if the dentist 
is not a specialist in the advertised area of practice so long as the 
dentist clearly discloses that the dentist is a general dentist or a spe-
cialist in a different specialty. For example, the following disclosures 
would be in compliance with this rule for dentists except those 
licensed pursuant to 818-021-0017: “Jane Doe, DDS, General 
Dentist, practice limited to pediatric dentistry." “John Doe, DMD, 
Endodontist, practice includes prosthodontics." 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(2)(e) 
Hist.: DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-
1-89; DE 1-1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; DE 3-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-27-97; 
OBD 5-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06; 
OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-
1-10; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11 

DIVISION 21 

EXAMINATION AND LICENSING 

818-021-0010 
Application for License to Practice Dentistry 

(1) An applicant to practice general dentistry, in addition to 
the requirements set forth in ORS 679.060 and 679.065, shall 
submit to the Board satisfactory evidence of: 

(a) Having graduated from a school of dentistry accredited by 
the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association; or 

(b) Having graduated from a dental school located outside the 
United States or Canada, completion of a predoctoral dental educa-
tion program of not less than two years at a dental school 
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 
American Dental Association, and proficiency in the English lan-
guage; and 

(c) Certification of having passed the dental examination 
administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Exami-
nations or Canadian National Dental Examining Board Examina-
tion. 

(2) An applicant who has not met the educational requirements 
for licensure may apply for examination if the Dean of an 
accredited school certifies the applicant will graduate. 

(3) An applicant must pass a Board examination consisting of 
a clinical portion administered by the Board, or any clinical Board 
examination administered by any state or regional testing agency 
and a jurisprudence portion administered by the Board. Clinical 
examination results will be recognized by the Board for five years. 

(4) An applicant who passes the clinical portion but not the 
jurisprudence portion of the examination may retake the jurispru-
dence examination without limit on the number of times. The 
applicant must pass the jurisprudence portion within five years of 
passing the clinical portion or must retake the clinical examination. 

(5) A person who fails any Board approved clinical examination 
three times must successfully complete the remedial training rec-
ommended by the testing agency. Such remedial training must be 

conducted by a dental school accredited by the Commission on 
Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670 & 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.060, 679.065, 679.070 & 679.080 
Hist.: DE 10-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 7-1985, f. & ef. 11-1-85; DE 1-1988, f. 
12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered 
from 818-20-053 & 818-20-055; DE 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 1-2-97; DE 5-1997, f. 
& cert. ef. 12-31-97; OBD 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-
04, cert. ef. 6-1-04; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05 

818-021-0011 
Application for License to Practice Dentistry Without Further 
Examination 

(1) The Oregon Board of Dentistry may grant a license 
without further examination to a dentist who holds a license to 
practice dentistry in another state or states if the dentist meets the 
requirements set forth in ORS 679.060 and 679.065 and submits to 
the Board satisfactory evidence of: 

(a) Having graduated from a school of dentistry accredited by 
the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association; or 

(b) Having graduated from a dental school located outside the 
United States or Canada, completion of a predoctoral dental educa-
tion program of not less than two years at a dental school 
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 
American Dental Association or completion of a postdoctoral Gen-
eral Dentistry Residency program of not less than two years at a 
dental school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation 
of the American Dental Association, and proficiency in the English 
language; and 

(c) Having passed the dental clinical examination conducted 
by a regional testing agency or by a state dental licensing authority; 
and 

(d) Holding an active license to practice dentistry, without 
restrictions, in any state; including documentation from the state 
dental board(s) or equivalent authority, that the applicant was 
issued a license to practice dentistry, without restrictions, and 
whether or not the licensee is, or has been, the subject of any final 
or pending disciplinary action; and 

(e) Having conducted licensed clinical practice in Oregon, 
other states or in the Armed Forces of the United States, the United 
States Public Health Service or the United States Department of 
Veterans Affairs for a minimum of 3,500 hours in the five years 
immediately preceding application. Having conducted licensed 
clinical practice in Oregon for a minimum of 3,500 hours in the 
five years immediately prior to application for licensed dentists 
employed by a dental education program, CODA accredited dental 
school, with documentation from the dean or appropriate adminis-
tration of the institution regarding length and terms of employment, 
the applicant’s duties and responsibilities, the actual hours involved 
in teaching clinical dentistry, and any adverse actions or restrictions; 
and 

(f) Having completed 40 hours of continuing education in 
accordance with the Board’s continuing education requirements 
contained in these rules within the two years immediately preceding 
application. 

(2) Applicants must pass the Board’s Jurisprudence Examina-
tion. 

(3) A dental license granted under this rule will be the same as 
the license held in another state; i.e., if the dentist holds a general 
dentistry license, the Oregon Board will issue a general (unlimited) 
dentistry license. If the dentist holds a license limited to the 
practice of a specialty, the Oregon Board will issue a license 
limited to the practice of that specialty. If the dentist holds more 
than one license, the Oregon Board will issue a dental license 
which is least restrictive. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.060, 679.065, 679.070, 679.080 & 679.090 
Hist.: OBD 4-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-
01; OBD 12-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-9-01 thru 7-7-01; OBD 14-
2001(Temp), f. 8-2-01, cert. ef. 8-15-01 thru 2-10-02; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, 
cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 1-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-17-02 thru 1-12-03; 
Administrative correction 4-16-03; OBD 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 4-18-03; OBD 1-
2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. ef. 6-1-04; OBD 3-2004, f. 11-23-04 cert. ef. 12-1-04; 
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OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-
17 

818-021-0012 
Specialties Recognized 

(1) A dentist may advertise that the dentist is an endodontist, 
oral and maxillofacial pathologist, oral and maxillofacial surgeon, 
oral and maxillofacial radiologist, orthodontist and dentofacial 
orthopedist, pediatric dentist, periodontist, prosthodontist or dental 
public health dentist, only if the dentist is licensed or certified by 
the Board in the specialty in accordance with Board rules. 

(2) A dentist may advertise that the dentist specializes in or is 
a specialist in endodontics, oral and maxillofacial pathology, oral 
and maxillofacial surgery, oral and maxillofacial radiology, 
orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics, pediatric dentistry, peri-
odontics, prosthodontics or dental public health only if the dentist 
is licensed or certified by the Board in the specialty in accordance 
with Board rules. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140 
Hist.: DE 5-1997, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-97; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-
06; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-
15-11 

818-021-0015 
Certification as a Specialist 

The Board may certify a dentist as a specialist if the dentist: 
(1) Holds a current Oregon dental license; 
(2) Is a diplomate of or a fellow in a specialty board 

accredited or recognized by the American Dental Association; or 
(3) Has completed a post-graduate program approved by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association; or 

(4) Was qualified to advertise as a specialist under former 
OAR 818-010-0061. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(2)(d) 
Hist.: DE 3-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-27-97; OBD 5-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef.  
7-1-99 

818-021-0017 
Application to Practice as a Specialist 

(1) A dentist who wishes to practice as a specialist in Oregon, 
who does not have a current Oregon license, in addition to meeting 
the requirements set forth in ORS 679.060 and 679.065, shall 
submit to the Board satisfactory evidence of:  

(a) Having graduated from a school of dentistry accredited by 
the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association and active licensure as a general dentist in another 
state. Licensure as a general dentist must have been obtained as a 
result of the passage of any clinical Board examination administered 
by any state or regional testing agency;  

(b) Certification of having passed the dental examination 
administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Exami-
nations or Canadian National Dental Examining Board Examination; 
and  

(c) Proof of satisfactory completion of a post-graduate 
specialty program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accred-
itation of the American Dental Association.  

(2) A dentist who graduated from a dental school located out-
side the United States or Canada who wishes to practice as a spe-
cialist in Oregon, who does not have a current Oregon license, in 
addition to meeting the requirements set forth in ORS 679.060 and 
679.065, shall submit to the Board satisfactory evidence of:  

(a) Completion of a post-graduate specialty program of not 
less than two years at a dental school accredited by the Commission 
on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, pro-
ficiency in the English language, and evidence of active licensure 
as a general dentist in another state obtained as a result of the 
passage of any clinical Board examination administered by any 
state or regional testing agency; or  

(b) Completion of a post-graduate specialty program of not 
less than two years at a dental school accredited by the Commission 
on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, pro-

ficiency in the English language and certification of having suc-
cessfully passed the clinical examination administered by any state 
or regional testing agency within the five years immediately pre-
ceding application; and  

(c) Certification of having passed the dental examination 
administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Exami-
nations or Canadian National Dental Examining Board Examination; 
and  

(3) An applicant who meets the above requirements shall be 
issued a specialty license upon:  

(a) Passing a specialty examination approved by the Board.  
(b) Passing the Board’s jurisprudence examination.  
(4) Any applicant who does not pass the first examination for 

a specialty license may apply for a second and third regularly 
scheduled specialty examination. The applicable fee and application 
for the reexamination shall be submitted to the Board at least 45 
days before the scheduled examination. If the applicant fails to 
pass the third examination for the practice of a recognized 
specialty, the applicant will not be permitted to retake the particular 
specialty examination until he/she has attended and successfully 
passed a remedial program prescribed by a dental school accredited 
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 
Dental Association and approved by the Board.  

(5) Licenses issued under this rule shall be limited to the prac-
tice of the specialty only.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140, 679.060, 679.065, 679.070, 679.080 679.090 
Hist.: DE 4-1997, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-97; OBD 2-1999(Temp), f. 3-10-99, cert. 
ef. 3-15-99 thru 9-10-99; OBD 5-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 11-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 1-
2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; 
OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & 
cert. ef. 11-15-11 

818-021-0020 
Application for License to Practice Dental Hygiene 

(1) An applicant to practice dental hygiene, in addition to the 
requirements set forth in ORS 680.040 and 680.050, shall submit 
to the Board satisfactory evidence of: 

(a) Having graduated from a dental hygiene program accredited 
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 
Dental Association; or 

(b) Having graduated from a dental hygiene program located 
outside the United States or Canada, completion of not less than 
one year in a program accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of the American Dental Association, and proficiency 
in the English language; and 

(c) Certification of having passed the dental hygiene examina-
tion administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental 
Examinations or the Canadian National Dental Hygiene Certificate 
Examination. 

(2) An applicant who has not met the educational requirements 
for licensure may apply if the Director of an accredited program 
certifies the applicant will graduate. 

(3) An applicant must pass a Board examination consisting of 
a clinical portion administered by the Board, or any clinical Board 
examination administered by any state or regional testing agency 
and a jurisprudence portion administered by the Board. Clinical 
examination results will be recognized by the Board for five years. 

(4) An applicant who passes the clinical portion but not the 
jurisprudence portion of the examination may retake the jurispru-
dence examination without limit on the number of times. The 
applicant must pass the jurisprudence portion within five years of 
passing the clinical portion or must retake the clinical examination. 

(5) A person who fails any Board approved clinical examination 
three times must successfully complete the remedial training rec-
ommended by the testing agency. Such remedial training must be 
conducted by a dental hygiene program accredited by the Commis-
sion on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.010, 680.040, 680.050, 680.060 & 680.070 
Hist.: DE 15, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-10-72; DE 29, f. & ef. 3-2-77; DE 7-1985, f. & ef. 
11-1-85; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. 
ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-20-053 & 818-20-055; DE 5-1997, f. & cert. 
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ef. 12-31-97; OBD 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. 
ef. 6-1-04; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05 

818-021-0025 
Application for License to Practice Dental Hygiene Without 
Further Examination 

(1) The Oregon Board of Dentistry may grant a license 
without further examination to a dental hygienist who holds a 
license to practice dental hygiene in another state or states if the 
dental hygienist meets the requirements set forth in ORS 680.040 
and 680.050 and submits to the Board satisfactory evidence of: 

(a) Having graduated from a dental hygiene program accredited 
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 
Dental Association; or 

(b) Having graduated from a dental hygiene program located 
outside the United States or Canada, completion of not less than 
one year in a program accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of the American Dental Association, and proficiency 
in the English language; and 

(c) Having passed the clinical dental hygiene examination 
conducted by a regional testing agency or by a state dental or 
dental hygiene licensing authority; and 

(d) Holding an active license to practice dental hygiene, 
without restrictions, in any state; including documentation from the 
state dental board(s) or equivalent authority, that the applicant was 
issued a license to practice dental hygiene, without restrictions, and 
whether or not the licensee is, or has been, the subject of any final 
or pending disciplinary action; and 

(e) Having conducted licensed clinical practice in Oregon, in 
other states or in the Armed Forces of the United States, the United 
States Public Health Service, the United States Department of Vet-
erans Affairs for a minimum of 3,500 hours in the five years imme-
diately preceding application. Having conducted licensed clinical 
practice in Oregon for a minimum of 3,500 hours in the five years 
immediately prior to application, for licensed dental hygienists 
employed by a dental hygiene program, CODA accredited, with 
documentation from the dean or appropriate administration of the 
institution regarding length and terms of employment, the applicant’s 
duties and responsibilities, the actual hours involved in teaching 
clinical dental hygiene, and any adverse actions or restrictions; and 

(f) Having completed 24 hours of continuing education in 
accordance with the Board’s continuing education requirements 
contained in these rules within the two years immediately preceding 
application. 

(2) Applicants must pass the Board’s Jurisprudence Examina-
tion. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.040, 680.050, 680.060, 680.070 & 680.072 
Hist.: OBD 4-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-
01; OBD 12-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-9-01 thru 7-7-01; OBD 14-
2001(Temp), f. 8-2-01, cert. ef. 8-15-01 thru 2-10-02; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, 
cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 1-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-17-02 thru 1-12-03; 
Administrative correction 4-16-03; OBD 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 4-18-03; OBD 1-
2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. ef. 6-1-04; OBD 3-2004, f. 11-23-04 cert. ef. 12-1-04; 
OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-
1-09; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-
1-17 

818-021-0026 
State and Nationwide Criminal Background Checks, Fitness 
Determinations 

(1) The Board requires fingerprints of all applicants for a 
dental or dental hygiene license to determine the fitness of an 
applicant. The purpose of this rule is to provide for the reasonable 
screening of dental and dental hygiene applicants and licensees in 
order to determine if they have a history of criminal behavior such 
that they are not fit to be granted or hold a license that is issued by 
the Board. 

(2) These rules are to be applied when evaluating the criminal 
history of all licensees and applicants for a dental or dental hygiene 
license and for conducting fitness determinations consistent with 
the outcomes provided in OAR 125-007-0260.  

(3) Criminal records checks and fitness determinations are 
conducted according to ORS 181A.170 to 181A.215, ORS 670.280 
and OAR 125-007-0200 to 127-007-0310. 

(a) The Board will request the Oregon Department of State 
Police to conduct a state and nationwide criminal records check. 
Any original fingerprint cards will subsequently destroyed. 

(b) All background checks must include available state and 
national data, unless obtaining one or the other is an acceptable 
alternative. 

(c) The applicant or licensee must disclose all arrests, charges, 
and convictions regardless of the outcome or date of occurrence.  
Disclosure includes but is not limited to military, dismissed or set 
aside criminal records.  

(4) If the applicant or licensee has potentially disqualifying 
criminal offender information, the Board will consider the following 
factors in making a fitness determination: 

(a) The nature of the crime; 
(b) The facts that support the conviction or pending indictment 

or that indicates the making of the false statement; 
(c) The relevancy, if any, of the crime or the false statement to 

the specific requirements of the subject individual’s present or pro-
posed position, services, employment, license, or permit; and 

(d) Intervening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities 
and circumstances of the position, services, employment, license, 
or permit. Intervening circumstances include but are not limited to: 

(A) The passage of time since the commission of the crime; 
(B) The age of the subject individual at the time of the crime; 
(C) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the com-

mission of another crime: 
(D) The subsequent commission of another relevant crime; 
(E) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect 

of setting aside the conviction; and 
(F) A recommendation of an employer. 
(e) Any false statements or omissions made by the applicant 

or licensee; and  
(f) Any other pertinent information obtained as part of an 

investigation. 
(5) The Board will make a fitness determination consistent 

with the outcomes provided in OAR 125-007-0260. 
(a) A fitness determination approval does not guarantee the 

granting or renewal of a license. 
(b) An incomplete fitness determination results if the applicant 

or licensee refuses to consent to the criminal history check, refuses 
to be fingerprinted or respond to written correspondence, or dis-
continues the criminal records process for any reason.  Incomplete 
fitness determinations may not be appealed. 

(6) The Board may require fingerprints of any licensed 
Oregon dentist or dental hygienist, who is the subject of a 
complaint or investigation for the purpose of requesting a state or 
nationwide criminal records background check. 

(7) All background checks shall be requested to include avail-
able state and national data, unless obtaining one or the other is an 
acceptable alternative. 

(8) Additional information required. In order to conduct the 
Oregon and National Criminal History Check and fitness determi-
nation, the Board may require additional information from the 
licensee/applicant as necessary, such but not limited to, proof of 
identity; residential history; names used while living at each resi-
dence; or additional criminal, judicial or other background infor-
mation. 

(9) Criminal offender information is confidential. Dissemina-
tion of information received may be disseminated only to people 
with a demonstrated and legitimate need to know the information. 
The information is part of the investigation of an applicant or 
licensee and as such is confidential pursuant to ORS 676.175(1). 

(10) The Board will permit the individual for whom a finger-
print-based criminal records check was conducted, to inspect the 
individual’s own state and national criminal offender records and, 
if requested by the individual, provide the individual with a copy of 
the individual’s own state and national criminal offender records. 
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(11) The Board shall determine whether an individual is fit to 
be granted a license or permit, based on fitness determinations, on 
any false statements made by the individual regarding criminal his-
tory of the individual, or any refusal to submit or consent to a crim-
inal records check including fingerprint identification, and any 
other pertinent information obtained as a part of an investigation. If 
an individual is determined to be unfit, then the individual may not 
be granted a license or permit. The Board may make fitness deter-
minations conditional upon applicant’s acceptance of probation, 
conditions, or limitations, or other restrictions upon licensure. 

(12) An applicant or licensee may appeal a final fitness deter-
mination pursuant to OAR 125-007-0300. Challenges to the 
accuracy of completeness of criminal history information must be 
made in accordance with OAR 125-007-0030(7). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181, 183, 670.280, 679.060, 679.115, 679.140, 
679.160, 680.050, 680.082 & 680.100 
Hist.: OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-
15-11; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-021-0030 
Dismissal from Examination 

(1) The Board may dismiss any applicant from an examination 
whose conduct interferes with the examination and fail the 
applicant on the examination.  

(2) Prohibited conduct includes but is not limited to: 
(a) Giving or receiving aid, either directly or indirectly, during 

the examination process; 
(b) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the 

examination, including termination of procedures; 
(c) Endangering the life or health of a patient; 
(d) Exhibiting behavior which impedes the normal progress of 

the examination; or 
(e) Consuming alcohol or controlled substances during the 

examination. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.070 & 680.060 
Hist.: DE 10-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; 
DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89, Renumbered from 818-020-0075 

818-021-0040  
Examination Review Procedures 

(1) An applicant may review the applicant’s scores on each  
section of the examination. 

(2) Examination material including test questions, scoring 
keys, and examiner’s personal notes shall not be disclosed to any 
person. 

(3) Any applicant who fails the examination may request the 
Chief Examiner to review the examination. The request must be in 
writing and must be postmarked within 45 days of the postmark on 
the notification of the examination results. The request must state 
the reason or reasons why the applicant feels the results of the 
examination should be changed. 

(4) If the Chief Examiner finds an error in the examination 
results, the Chief Examiner may recommend to the Board that it 
modify the results. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 192 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.310(2)(b) & 192.501(4) 
Hist.: DE 10-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; 
DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89, Renumbered from 818-020-0080 

818-021-0050 
Community Health Experience for Dental and Dental Hygiene 
Students 

Dental hygiene students or full-time students of dentistry may 
participate in clinical studies off the premises of the school the stu-
dent is attending if the clinical studies are part of the approved cur-
riculum. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(b) & 680.020(2)(b) 
Hist.: DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 
2-1-89; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09 

818-021-0060 
Continuing Education — Dentists 

(1) Each dentist must complete 40 hours of continuing educa-
tion every two years. Continuing education (C.E.) must be directly 
related to clinical patient care or the practice of dental public 
health.  

(2) Dentists must maintain records of successful completion 
of continuing education for at least four licensure years consistent 
with the licensee’s licensure cycle. (A licensure year for dentists is 
April 1 through March 31.) The licensee, upon request by the 
Board, shall provide proof of successful completion of continuing 
education courses.  

(3) Continuing education includes:  
(a) Attendance at lectures, dental study groups, college post-

graduate courses, or scientific sessions at conventions.  
(b) Research, graduate study, teaching or preparation and pre-

sentation of scientific sessions. No more than 12 hours may be in 
teaching or scientific sessions. (Scientific sessions are defined as 
scientific presentations, table clinics, poster sessions and lectures.)  

(c) Correspondence courses, videotapes, distance learning 
courses or similar self-study course, provided that the course 
includes an examination and the dentist passes the examination.  

(d) Continuing education credit can be given for volunteer pro 
bono dental services provided in the state of Oregon; community 
oral health instruction at a public health facility located in the state 
of Oregon; authorship of a publication, book, chapter of a book, 
article or paper published in a professional journal; participation on 
a state dental board, peer review, or quality of care review proce-
dures; successful completion of the National Board Dental Exami-
nations taken after initial licensure; a recognized specialty exami-
nation taken after initial licensure; or test development for clinical 
dental, dental hygiene or specialty examinations. No more than 6 
hours of credit may be in these areas.  

(4) At least three hours of continuing education must be 
related to medical emergencies in a dental office. No more than 
four hours of Practice Management and Patient Relations may be 
counted toward the C.E. requirement in any renewal period.  

(5) All dentists licensed by the Oregon Board of Dentistry will 
complete a one-hour pain management course specific to Oregon 
provided by the Pain Management Commission of the Oregon 
Health Authority. All applicants or licensees shall complete this 
requirement by January 1, 2010 or within 24 months of the first 
renewal of the dentist’s license.  

(6) At least 2 hours of continuing education must be related to 
infection control. (Effective January 1, 2015.) 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(9) 
Hist.: DE 3-1987, f. & ef. 10-15-87; DE 4-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 11-25-87; DE 1-
1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; 
Renumbered from 818-020-0072; DE 1-1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; OBD 
9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-00; OBD 16-2001, f. 12-7-01, cert. ef. 4-1-02; OBD 
3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09; 
OBD 3-2011(Temp), f. 6-30-11, cert. ef. 7-1-11 thru 12-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. 
& cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-
8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15 

818-021-0070 
Continuing Education — Dental Hygienists 

(1) Each dental hygienist must complete 24 hours of continuing 
education every two years. An Expanded Practice Permit Dental 
Hygienist shall complete a total of 36 hours of continuing education 
every two years. Continuing education (C.E.) must be directly 
related to clinical patient care or the practice of dental public 
health.  

(2) Dental hygienists must maintain records of successful 
completion of continuing education for at least four licensure years 
consistent with the licensee’s licensure cycle. (A licensure year for 
dental hygienists is October 1 through September 30.) The licensee, 
upon request by the Board, shall provide proof of successful com-
pletion of continuing education courses.  

(3) Continuing education includes:  
(a) Attendance at lectures, dental study groups, college post-

graduate courses, or scientific sessions at conventions.  
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(b) Research, graduate study, teaching or preparation and pre-
sentation of scientific sessions. No more than six hours may be in 
teaching or scientific sessions. (Scientific sessions are defined as 
scientific presentations, table clinics, poster sessions and lectures.)  

(c) Correspondence courses, videotapes, distance learning 
courses or similar self-study course, provided that the course 
includes an examination and the dental hygienist passes the exami-
nation.  

(d) Continuing education credit can be given for volunteer pro 
bono dental hygiene services provided in the state of Oregon; com-
munity oral health instruction at a public health facility located in 
the state of Oregon; authorship of a publication, book, chapter of a 
book, article or paper published in a professional journal; participa-
tion on a state dental board, peer review, or quality of care review 
procedures; successful completion of the National Board Dental 
Hygiene Examination, taken after initial licensure; or test develop-
ment for clinical dental hygiene examinations. No more than 6 
hours of credit may be in these areas.  

(4) At least three hours of continuing education must be 
related to medical emergencies in a dental office. No more than 
two hours of Practice Management and Patient Relations may be 
counted toward the C.E. requirement in any renewal period.  

(5) Dental hygienists who hold a Nitrous Oxide Permit must 
meet the requirements contained in OAR 818-026-0040(9) for 
renewal of the Nitrous Oxide Permit.  

(6) At least 2 hours of continuing education must be related to 
infection control. (Effective January 1, 2015.) 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 279.250(9) 
Hist.: DE 3-1987, f. & ef. 10-15-87; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; 
DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-020-0073; DE 1-
1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; OBD 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-00; OBD 2-
2002, f. 7-31-02, cert. ef. 10-1-02; OBD 2-2004, f. 7-12-04, cert. ef. 7-15-04; 
OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-
09; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 3-2011(Temp), f. 6-30-11, 
cert. ef. 7-1-11 thru 12-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-
2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15 

818-021-0080 
Renewal of License 

Before the expiration date of a license, the Board will, as a 
courtesy, mail notice for renewal of license to the last mailing 
address on file in the Board’s records to every person holding a 
current license. The licensee must return the completed renewal 
application along with current renewal fees prior to the expiration 
of said license. Licensees who fail to renew their license prior to 
the expiration date may not practice dentistry or dental hygiene 
until the license is reinstated and are subject to the provisions of 
OAR 818-021-0085, “Reinstatement of Expired Licenses.” 

(1) Each dentist shall submit the renewal fee and completed 
and signed renewal application form by March 31 every other year. 
Dentists licensed in odd numbered years shall apply for renewal in 
odd numbered years and dentists licensed in even numbered years 
shall apply for renewal in even numbered years.  

(2) Each hygienist must submit the renewal fee and completed 
and signed renewal application form by September 30 every other 
year. Hygienists licensed in odd numbered years shall apply for 
renewal in odd numbered years and hygienists licensed in even 
numbered years shall apply for renewal in even numbered years. 

(3) The renewal application shall contain: 
(a) Licensee’s full name; 
(b) Licensee’s mailing address; 
(c) Licensees business address including street and number or 

if the licensee has no business address, licensee’s home address 
including street and number; 

(d) Licensee’s business telephone number or if the licensee 
has no business telephone number, licensee’s home telephone num-
ber; 

(e) Licensee’s employer or person with whom the licensee is 
on contract; 

(f) Licensee’s assumed business name; 
(g) Licensee’s type of practice or employment; 

(h) A statement that the licensee has met the educational 
requirements for renewal set forth in OAR 818-021-0060 or 818-
021-0070; 

(i) Identity of all jurisdictions in which the licensee has prac-
ticed during the two past years; and 

(j) A statement that the licensee has not been disciplined by 
the licensing board of any other jurisdiction or convicted of a 
crime. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.090, 679.120, 680.072 & 680.075 
Hist.: DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 
2-1-89; DE 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-30-89; DE 1-1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. 
ef. 4-2-90; OBD 7-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 7-1-00 

818-021-0085 
Renewal or Reinstatement of Expired License 

Any person whose license to practice as a dentist or dental 
hygienist has expired, may apply for reinstatement under the fol-
lowing circumstances:  

(1) If the license has been expired 30 days or less, the 
applicant shall:  

(a) Pay a penalty fee of $50;  
(b) Pay the biennial renewal fee; and 
(c) Submit a completed renewal application and certification 

of having completed the Board’s continuing education require-
ments. 

(2) If the license has been expired more than 30 days but less 
than 60 days, the applicant shall: 

(a) Pay a penalty fee of $100;  
(b) Pay the biennial renewal fee; and  
(c) Submit a completed renewal application and certification 

of having completed the continuing education requirements. 
(3) If the license has been expired more than 60 days, but less 

than one year, the applicant shall: 
(a) Pay a penalty fee of $150; 
(b) Pay a fee equal to the renewal fees that would have been 

due during the period the license was expired; 
(c) Pay a reinstatement fee of $500; and 
(d) Submit a completed application for reinstatement provided 

by the Board, including certification of having completed continuing 
education credits as required by the Board during the period the 
license was expired. The Board may request evidence of satisfactory 
completion of continuing education courses. 

(4) If the license has been expired for more than one year but 
less than four years, the applicant shall: 

(a) Pay a penalty fee of $250; 
(b) Pay a fee of equal to the renewal fees that would have been 

due during the period the license was expired; 
(c) Pay a reinstatement fee of $500; 
(d) Pass the Board’s Jurisprudence Examination;  
(e) Pass any other qualifying examination as may be determined 

necessary by the Board after assessing the applicant’s professional 
background and credentials; 

(f) Submit evidence of good standing from all states in which 
the applicant is currently licensed; and 

(g) Submit a completed application for reinstatement provided 
by the Board including certification of having completed continuing 
education credits as required by the Board during the period the 
license was expired. The Board may request evidence of satisfactory 
completion of continuing education courses. 

(5) If a dentist or dental hygienist fails to renew or reinstate 
his or her license within four years from expiration, the dentist or 
dental hygienist must apply for licensure under the current statute 
and rules of the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.090, 679.120, 680.072 & 680.075 
Hist.: OBD 7-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 7-1-00; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. 
ef. 7-1-12 

818-021-0088 
Volunteer License 

(1) An active licensed dentist or dental hygienist who will be 
practicing for a supervised volunteer dental clinic, as defined in 
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ORS 679.020(3)(e) and (f), may be granted a volunteer license pro-
vided licensee completes the following: 

(a) Licensee must register with the Board as a health care pro-
fessional and provide a statement as required by ORS 676.345.  

(b) Licensee will be responsible to meet all the requirements 
set forth in ORS 676.345.  

(c) Licensee must provide the health care service without 
compensation.  

(d) Licensee shall not practice dentistry or dental hygiene for 
remuneration in any capacity under the volunteer license. 

(e) Licensee must comply with all continuing education 
requirements for active licensed dentist or dental hygienist. 

(f) Licensee must agree to volunteer for a minimum of 40 
hours per calendar year. 

(2) Licensee may surrender the volunteer license designation 
at anytime and request a return to an active license. The Board will 
grant an active license as long as all active license requirements 
have been met.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.345, 679.010, 679.020, 679.025, 679.090, 
680.010, 680.020, 680.050 & 680.072 
Hist.: OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05 

818-021-0090 
Retirement of License 

(1) A dentist or dental hygienist who no longer practices in 
any jurisdiction may retire her or his license by submitting a 
request to retire such license on a form provided by the Board. 

(2) A license that has been retired may be reinstated if the 
applicant: 

(a) Pays a reinstatement fee of $500; 
(b) Passes the Board’s Jurisprudence Examination;  
(c) Passes any other qualifying examination as may be deter-

mined necessary by the Board after assessing the applicant’s pro-
fessional background and credentials; 

(d) Submits evidence of good standing from all states in 
which the applicant is currently licensed; and 

(e) Submits a completed application for reinstatement provided 
by the Board including certification of having completed continuing 
education credits as required by the Board during the period the 
license was expired. The Board may request evidence of satisfactory 
completion of continuing education courses. 

(3) If the dentist or dental hygienist fails to reinstate her or his 
license within four years from retiring the license, the dentist or 
dental hygienist must apply for licensure under the current statute 
and rules of the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.090, 679.120, 680.072 & 680.075 
Hist.: DE 14, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-10-72; DE 22, f. 6-12-74, ef. 7-11-74; DE 10-
1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-
27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-020-0045; DE 1-1990, f. 3-19-
90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; OBD 7-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 7-1-00 

818-021-0095 
Resignation of License 

(1) The Board may allow a dentist or dental hygienist who no 
longer practices in Oregon to resign her or his license, unless the 
Board determines the license should be revoked. 

(2) Licenses that are resigned under this rule may not be rein-
stated. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.090, 679.120, 680.072 & 680.075 
Hist.: OBD 7-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 7-1-00 

818-021-0100 
Competency Examination 

(1) The Board may require any licensee to pass the Board 
examination or require any licensee to participate in a practice 
review as set forth in section (2) of this rule. 

(2) One or more consultants will review the licensee’s 
treatment of patients selected at random and report observations to 
the Board. 

(3) If the results of the examination or practice review provide 
evidence that the licensee lacks competency, the Board may refuse 

to renew the licensee’s license or take disciplinary action against 
the licensee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(9) 
Hist.: DE 3-1979, f. & ef. 8-16-79; DE 11-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; Renumbered 
from 818-010-0095; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-
27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-010-0050 and 818-010-0060; DE 
1-1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90 

818-021-0110 
Reinstatement Following Revocation 

(1) Any person whose license has been revoked for a reason 
other than failure to pay the annual fee may petition the Board for 
reinstatement after five years from the date of revocation. 

(2) The Board shall hold a hearing on the petition and, if the 
petitioner demonstrates that reinstatement of the license will not be 
detrimental to the health or welfare of the public, the Board may 
allow the petitioner to retake the Board examination. 

(3) If the license was revoked for unacceptable patient care, 
the petitioner shall provide the Board with satisfactory evidence 
that the petitioner has completed a course of study sufficient to 
remedy the petitioner’s deficiencies in the practice of dentistry or 
dental hygiene. 

(4) If the petitioner passes the Board examination, the Board 
may reinstate the license, place the petitioner on probation for not 
less than two years, and impose appropriate conditions of proba-
tion. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140 
Hist.: DE 11-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; 
DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89, Renumbered from 818-010-0070 

818-021-0115 
Display of Licenses 

Every licensee of the Board shall have conspicuously displayed 
their current license in every office where that licensee practices in 
plain sight of the licensee’s patients. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679.120, 679.250(7), 680.075 & 680.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020, 679.025 & 680.020 
Hist.: DE 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-93 

818-021-0120 
Application Valid for 180 Days 

(1) If all information and documentation necessary for the 
Board to act on an application is not provided to the Board by the 
applicant within 180 days from the date the application is received 
by the Board, the Board shall reject the application as incomplete. 

(2) An applicant whose application has been rejected as 
incomplete must file a new application and must pay a new appli-
cation fee. 

(3) An applicant who fails the examination or who does not 
take the examination during the 180-day period following the date 
the Board receives the application, must file a new application and 
must pay a new application fee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented.: ORS 679.060, 679.065, 679.070, 679.080, 680.040, 
680.050, 680.060, 680.070 & 680.072  
Hist.: OBD 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01 

818-021-0125 
Reapplication Following Denial of Licensure 

A person whose application for licensure has been denied on 
grounds other than failure of the licensure examination may not 
reapply for five years from the date of the Board’s Final Order 
denying licensure. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented.: ORS 679.060, 679.065, 679.070, 679.080, 680.040, 
680.050, 680.060, 680.070 & 680.072 
Hist.: OBD 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01 
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DIVISION 26 

ANESTHESIA 

818-026-0000 
Purpose 

(1) These rules apply to the administration of substances that 
produce general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, min-
imal sedation or nitrous oxide sedation in patients being treated by 
licensees. These regulations are not intended to prohibit training 
programs for licensees or to prevent persons from taking necessary 
action in case of an emergency.  

(2) Nothing in this Division relieves a licensee from the stan-
dards imposed by ORS 679.140(1)(e) and 679.140(4). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. 
ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, 
cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-
13, cert. ef. 7-1-13 

818-026-0010 
Definitions 

As used in these rules: 
(1) “Anesthesia Monitor” means a person trained in monitoring 

patients under sedation and capable of assisting with procedures, 
problems and emergency incidents that may occur as a result of the 
sedation or secondary to an unexpected medical complication. 

(2) “Anxiolysis” means the diminution or elimination of anx-
iety. 

(3) “General Anesthesia” means a drug-induced loss of con-
sciousness during which patients are not arousable, even by painful 
stimulation. The ability to independently maintain ventilatory 
function is often impaired. Patients often require assistance in 
maintaining a patent airway, and positive pressure ventilation may 
be required because of depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-
induced depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular 
function may be impaired. 

(4) “Deep Sedation” means a drug-induced depression of con-
sciousness during which patients cannot be easily aroused but 
respond purposefully following repeated or painful stimulation. 
The ability to independently maintain ventilatory function may be 
impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining a patent 
airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be inadequate. Cardio-
vascular function is usually maintained. 

(5) “Moderate Sedation” means a drug-induced depression of 
consciousness during which patients respond purposefully to 
verbal commands, either alone or accompanied by light tactile 
stimulation. No interventions are required to maintain a patent air-
way, and spontaneous ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular func-
tion is usually maintained. 

(6) “Minimal Sedation” means minimally depressed level of 
consciousness, produced by non-intravenous pharmacological 
methods, that retains the patient’s ability to independently and con-
tinuously maintain an airway and respond normally to tactile stim-
ulation and verbal command. When the intent is minimal sedation 
for adults, the appropriate initial dosing of a single non-intravenous 
pharmacological method is no more than the maximum recom-
mended dose (MRD) of a drug that can be prescribed for unmoni-
tored home use. Nitrous oxide/oxygen may be used in combination 
with a single non-intravenous pharmacological method in minimal 
sedation. 

(7) “Nitrous Oxide Sedation” means an induced, controlled 
state of minimal sedation, produced solely by the inhalation of a 
combination of nitrous oxide and oxygen in which the patient 
retains the ability to independently and continuously maintain an 
airway and to respond purposefully to physical stimulation and to 
verbal command. 

(8) “Maximum recommended dose” (MRD) means maximum 
Food and Drug Administration-recommended dose of a drug, as 
printed in Food and Drug Administration-Approved labeling for 
unmonitored dose. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. 
ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, 
cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 

818-026-0020 
Presumption of Degree of Central Nervous System Depression 

(1) In any hearing where a question exists as to the degree of 
central nervous system depression a licensee has induced (i.e., gen-
eral anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation 
or nitrous oxide sedation), the Board may base its findings on, 
among other things, the types, dosages and routes of administration 
of drugs administered to the patient and what result can reasonably 
be expected from those drugs in those dosages and routes adminis-
tered in a patient of that physical and psychological status.  

(2) The following drugs are conclusively presumed to produce 
general anesthesia and may only be used by a licensee holding a 
General Anesthesia Permit:  

(a) Ultra short acting barbiturates including, but not limited to, 
sodium methohexital, thiopental, thiamylal;  

(b) Alkylphenols — propofol (Diprivan) including precursors 
or derivatives;  

(c) Neuroleptic agents;  
(d) Dissociative agents — ketamine;  
(e) Etomidate; and 
(f) Volatile inhalational agents.  
(3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under 

any form of sedation or general anesthesia at the same time 
exclusive of recovery.  

(4) A licensee that does not hold a Moderate, Deep Sedation 
or General Anesthesia Permit may not administer, for purpose of 
anxiolysis or sedation, Benzodiazepines or narcotics in children 
under 6 years of age. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. 
ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, 
cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-
13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 

818-026-0030 
Requirement for Anesthesia Permit, Standards and 
Qualifications of an Anesthesia Monitor 

(1) A permit holder who administers sedation shall assure that 
drugs, drug dosages, and/or techniques used to produce sedation 
shall carry a margin of safety wide enough to prevent unintended 
deeper levels of sedation. 

(2) No licensee shall induce central nervous system sedation 
or general anesthesia without first having obtained a permit under 
these rules for the level of anesthesia being induced.  

(3) A licensee may be granted a permit to administer sedation 
or general anesthesia with documentation of training/education 
and/or competency in the permit category for which the licensee is 
applying by any one the following:  

(a) Initial training/education in the permit category for which 
the applicant is applying shall be completed no more than two 
years immediately prior to application for sedation or general anes-
thesia permit; or  

(b) If greater than two years but less than five years since 
completion of initial training/education, an applicant must document 
completion of all continuing education that would have been 
required for that anesthesia/permit category during that five year 
period following initial training; or  

(c) If greater than two years but less than five years since 
completion of initial training/education, immediately prior to 
application for sedation or general anesthesia permit, current com-
petency or experience must be documented by completion of a 
comprehensive review course approved by the Board in the permit 
category to which the applicant is applying and must consist of at 
least one-half (50%) of the hours required by rule for Nitrous 
Oxide, Minimal Sedation, Moderate Sedation and General Anes-
thesia Permits. Deep Sedation and General Anesthesia Permits will 
require at least 120 hours of general anesthesia training.  
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(d) An applicant for sedation or general anesthesia permit 
whose completion of initial training/education is greater than five 
years immediately prior to application, may be granted a sedation 
or general anesthesia permit by submitting documentation of the 
requested permit level from another state or jurisdiction where the 
applicant is also licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene, 
and provides documentation of the completion of at least 25 cases 
in the requested level of sedation or general anesthesia in the 12 
months immediately preceding application; or  

(e) Demonstration of current competency to the satisfaction of 
the Board that the applicant possesses adequate sedation or general 
anesthesia skill to safely deliver sedation or general anesthesia ser-
vices to the public. 

(4) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors in a dental office 
shall maintain current certification in Health Care Provider Basic 
Life Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) training, 
or its equivalent, shall be trained in monitoring patient vital signs, 
and be competent in the use of monitoring and emergency 
equipment appropriate for the level of sedation utilized. (The term 
“competent” as used in these rules means displaying special skill or 
knowledge derived from training and experience.)  

(5) A licensee holding a nitrous or minimal sedation permit, 
shall at all times maintain a current BLS for Health Care Providers 
certificate or its equivalent. 

(6) A licensee holding an anesthesia permit for moderate seda-
tion, deep sedation or general anesthesia at all times maintains a 
current BLS for Health Care Providers certificate or its equivalent, 
and a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) Certificate 
or Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) Certificate, whichever 
is appropriate for the patient being sedated. If a licensee permit 
holder sedates only patients under the age of 12, only PALS is 
required.  If a licensee permit holder sedates only patients age 12 
and older, only ACLS is required.  If a licensee permit holder 
sedates patients younger than 12 years of age as well as older than 
12 years of age, both ACLS and PALS are required.  For licensees 
with a moderate sedation permit only, successful completion of the 
American Dental Association’s course “Recognition and Manage-
ment of Complications during Minimal and Moderate Sedation” at 
least every two years may be substituted for ACLS, but not for 
PALS. 

(a) Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) and or Pediatric 
Advanced Life Support (PALS) do not serve as a substitute for 
Health Care Provider Basic Life Support (BLS). 

(7) When a dentist utilizes a single dose oral agent to achieve 
anxiolysis only, no anesthesia permit is required.  

(8) The applicant for an anesthesia permit must pay the appro-
priate permit fee, submit a completed Board-approved application 
and consent to an office evaluation.  

(9) Permits shall be issued to coincide with the applicant’s 
licensing period.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. 
ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, 
cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-
10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2012, 
f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-026-0035 
Classes of Anesthesia Permit 

The Board shall issue the following classes of permits: 
(1) A Nitrous Oxide Permit authorizes a dental hygienist or a 

dentist to induce nitrous oxide sedation. 
(2) A Minimal Sedation Permit authorizes a dentist to induce 

minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 
(3) A Moderate Sedation Permit authorizes a dentist to induce 

moderate sedation, minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 
(4) A Deep Sedation Permit authorizes a dentist to induce 

deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation, and nitrous 
oxide sedation. The Board shall issue a Deep Sedation Permit to a 
licensee who holds a Class 3 Permit on or before July 1, 2010.  

(5) A General Anesthesia Permit authorizes a dentist to induce 
general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal 
sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. 
ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 
10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, 
cert. ef. 7-1-10 

818-026-0040 
Qualifications, Standards Applicable, and Continuing 
Education Requirements for Anesthesia Permits: Nitrous 
Oxide Permit 

Nitrous Oxide Sedation. 
(1) The Board shall issue a Nitrous Oxide Permit to an 

applicant who:  
(a) Is either a licensed dentist or licensed hygienist in the State 

of Oregon;  
(b) Maintains a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate 

or its equivalent; and  
(c) Has completed a training course of at least 14 hours of 

instruction in the use of nitrous oxide from a dental school or 
dental hygiene program accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of the American Dental Association, or as a post-
graduate.  

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on 
site and available for immediate use during the procedure and 
during recovery:  

(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommo-
date the patient on an operating table or in an operating chair and to 
allow delivery of appropriate care in an emergency situation;  

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be 
positioned so that the patient’s airway can be maintained, quickly 
alter the patient’s position in an emergency, and provide a firm 
platform for the administration of basic life support;  

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient’s 
skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient 
intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the 
event of a general power failure;  

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral 
and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction device which will 
function in the event of a general power failure;  

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face masks 
and appropriate connectors that is capable of delivering high flow 
oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an ade-
quate backup system;  

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism 
that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scav-
enger system; and  

(g) Sphygmomanometer and stethoscope and/or automatic 
blood pressure cuff.  

(3) Before inducing nitrous oxide sedation, a permit holder 
shall:  

(a) Evaluate the patient;  
(b) Give instruction to the patient or, when appropriate due to 

age or psychological status of the patient, the patient’s guardian;  
(c) Certify that the patient is an appropriate candidate for 

nitrous oxide sedation; and  
(d) Obtain informed consent from the patient or patient’s 

guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of the informed consent 
shall be documented in the patient’s record.  

(4) If a patient chronically takes a medication which can have 
sedative side effects, including, but not limited to, a narcotic or 
benzodiazepine, the practitioner shall determine if the additive 
sedative effect of nitrous oxide would put the patient into a level of 
sedation deeper than nitrous oxide. If the practitioner determines it 
is possible that providing nitrous oxide to such a patient would 
result in minimal sedation, a minimal sedation permit would be 
required. 

(5) A patient under nitrous oxide sedation shall be visually 
monitored by the permit holder or by an anesthesia monitor at all 
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times. The patient shall be monitored as to response to verbal stim-
ulation, oral mucosal color and preoperative and postoperative 
vital signs.  

(6) The permit holder or anesthesia monitor shall record the 
patient’s condition. The record must include documentation of all 
medications administered with dosages, time intervals and route of 
administration.  

(7) The person administering the nitrous oxide sedation may 
leave the immediate area after initiating the administration of 
nitrous oxide sedation only if a qualified anesthesia monitor is con-
tinuously observing the patient.  

(8) The permit holder shall assess the patient’s responsiveness 
using preoperative values as normal guidelines and discharge the 
patient only when the following criteria are met:  

(a) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time 
as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status;  

(b) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal 
questioning;  

(c) The patient can sit up unaided or without assistance;  
(d) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and  
(e) The patient does not have nausea, vomiting or dizziness.  
(9) The permit holder shall make a discharge entry in the 

patient’s record indicating the patient’s condition upon discharge.  
(10) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Nitrous Oxide 

Permit, the permit holder must provide proof of a current BLS for 
Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent. In addition, 
Nitrous Oxide Permit holders must also complete four (4) hours of 
continuing education in one or more of the following areas every 
two years: sedation, nitrous oxide, physical evaluation, medical 
emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or 
pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken 
to maintain current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its 
equivalent, may not be counted toward this requirement. Continuing 
education hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing 
education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060 and 818-
021-0070. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & (10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. 
ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, 
cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 

818-026-0050 
Minimal Sedation Permit 

Minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 
(1) The Board shall issue a Minimal Sedation Permit to an 

applicant who:  
(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; 
(b) Maintains a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate 

or its equivalent; and 
(c) Completion of a comprehensive training program consisting 

of at least 16 hours of training and satisfies the requirements of the 
ADA Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to 
Dentists and Dental Students (2007) at the time training was com-
menced or postgraduate instruction was completed, or the equivalent 
of that required in graduate training programs, in sedation, recogni-
tion and management of complications and emergency care; or 

(d) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equiv-
alent training or experience in minimal sedation anesthesia. 

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on 
site and available for immediate use during the procedures and dur-
ing recovery: 

(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommo-
date the patient on an operating table or in an operating chair and to 
allow an operating team of at least two individuals to freely move 
about the patient; 

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be 
positioned so the operating team can maintain the patient’s airway, 
quickly alter the patient’s position in an emergency, and provide a 
firm platform for the administration of basic life support; 

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient’s 
skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient 

intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the 
event of a general power failure; 

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral 
and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction device which will 
function in the event of a general power failure; 

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full facemask 
and appropriate connectors that is capable of delivering high flow 
oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an ade-
quate backup system; 

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism 
that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scav-
enger system; 

(g) Sphygmomanometer, stethoscope, pulse oximeter, and/or 
automatic blood pressure cuff; and 

(h) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmaco-
logic antagonists appropriate to the drugs used, vasopressors, corti-
costeroids, bronchodilators, antihistamines, antihypertensives and 
anticonvulsants. 

(3) Before inducing minimal sedation, a dentist permit holder 
who induces minimal sedation shall:  

(a) Evaluate the patient; 
(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions 

to the patient or, when appropriate due to age or psychological 
status of the patient, the patient’s guardian; 

(c) Certify that the patient is an appropriate candidate for min-
imal sedation; and 

(d) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or 
patient’s guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of the informed 
consent shall be documented in the patient’s record. 

(4) No permit holder shall have more than one person under 
minimal sedation at the same time.  

(5) While the patient is being treated under minimal sedation, 
an anesthesia monitor shall be present in the room in addition to the 
treatment provider. The anesthesia monitor may be the dental assis-
tant. After training, a dental assistant, when directed by a dentist 
permit holder, may administer oral sedative agents or anxiolysis 
agents calculated and dispensed by a dentist permit holder under 
the direct supervision of a dentist permit holder. 

(6) A patient under minimal sedation shall be visually moni-
tored at all times, including recovery phase. The dentist permit 
holder or anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient’s 
condition. 

(7) The patient shall be monitored as follows: 
(a) Color of mucosa, skin or blood must be evaluated continu-

ally. Patients must have continuous monitoring using pulse oximetry. 
The patient’s response to verbal stimuli, blood pressure, heart rate, 
and respiration shall be monitored and documented if they can rea-
sonably be obtained. 

(b) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist permit 
holder in the patient’s record indicating the patient’s condition 
upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the 
patient was discharged. 

(8) The dentist permit holder shall assess the patient’s respon-
siveness using preoperative values as normal guidelines and dis-
charge the patient only when the following criteria are met: 

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respi-
ratory rate are stable; 

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time 
as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status; 

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal ques-
tioning;  

(d) The patient can sit up unaided; 
(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and 
(f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea or 

vomiting and has minimal dizziness. 
(g) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient who has 

undergone minimal sedation except to the care of a responsible 
third party. 

(9) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Minimal Sedation Per-
mit, the permit holder must provide documentation of a current 
BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent. In addi-
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tion, Minimal Sedation Permit holders must also complete four (4) 
hours of continuing education in one or more of the following areas 
every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, medical emergencies, 
monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or pharmacology 
of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain 
current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate, or its equivalent, 
may not be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education 
hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education 
requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-
99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 
2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. 
ef. 7-1-10; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. 
ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-026-0055 
Dental Hygiene and Dental Assistant Procedures Performed 
Under Nitrous Oxide or Minimal Sedation 

(1) Under indirect supervision, dental hygiene procedures 
may be performed for a patient who is under nitrous oxide or mini-
mal sedation under the following conditions: 

(a) A licensee holding a Nitrous Oxide, Minimal, Moderate, 
Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Permit administers the 
sedative agents;  

(b) The permit holder, or an anesthesia monitor, monitors the 
patient; or 

(c) if a dental hygienist with a nitrous oxide permit administers 
nitrous oxide sedation to a patient and then performs authorized 
procedures on the patient, an anesthesia monitor is not required to 
be present during the time the patient is sedated unless the permit 
holder leaves the patient. 

(d) The permit holder performs the appropriate pre- and post-
operative evaluation and discharges the patient in accordance with 
818-026-0050(7) and (8).  

(2) Under direct supervision, a dental assistant may perform 
those procedures for which the dental assistant holds the appropriate 
certification for a patient who is under nitrous oxide or minimal 
sedation under the following conditions: 

(a) A licensee holding the Nitrous Oxide, Minimal, Moderate, 
Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Permit administers the 
sedative agents;  

(b) The permit holder, or an anesthesia monitor, monitors the 
patient; and  

(c) The permit holder performs the appropriate pre- and post-
operative evaluation and discharges the patient in accordance with 
818-026-0050(7) and (8). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. 
ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, 
cert. ef. 7-1-12; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14 

818-026-0060 
Moderate Sedation Permit 

Moderate sedation, minimal sedation, and nitrous oxide seda-
tion. 

(1) The Board shall issue or renew a Moderate Sedation 
Permit to an applicant who:  

(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; 
(b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare Providers cer-

tificate or its equivalent, either maintains a current Advanced 
Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a Pediatric 
Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate 
for the patient being sedated; and 

(c) Satisfies one of the following criteria: 
(A) Completion of a comprehensive training program in 

enteral and/or parenteral sedation that satisfies the requirements 
described in Part V of the ADA Guidelines for Teaching Pain 
Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students (2007) at the 
time training was commenced. 

(i) Enteral Moderate Sedation requires a minimum of 24 hours 
of instruction plus management of at least 10 dental patient experi-
ences by the enteral and/or enteral-nitrous oxide/oxygen route. 

(ii) Parenteral Moderate Sedation requires a minimum of 60 
hours of instruction plus management of at least 20 dental patients 
by the intravenous route. 

(B) Completion of an ADA accredited postdoctoral training 
program (e.g., general practice residency) which affords compre-
hensive and appropriate training necessary to administer and 
manage parenteral sedation, commensurate with these Guidelines. 

(C) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equiv-
alent training or experience in moderate sedation anesthesia. 

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on 
site and available for immediate use during the procedures and dur-
ing recovery: 

(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommo-
date the patient on an operating table or in an operating chair and to 
allow an operating team of at least two individuals to freely move 
about the patient; 

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be 
positioned so the operating team can maintain the patient’s airway, 
quickly alter the patient’s position in an emergency, and provide a 
firm platform for the administration of basic life support; 

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient’s 
skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient 
intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the 
event of a general power failure; 

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral 
and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction device which will 
function in the event of a general power failure; 

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask 
and appropriate connectors that is capable of delivering high flow 
oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an ade-
quate backup system; 

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism 
that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scav-
enger system; 

(g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate 
lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The recovery area can be the 
operating room; 

(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, 
capnograph, pulse oximeter, oral and nasopharyngeal airways, 
larynageal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration equip-
ment, automated external defibrillator (AED); and 

(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmaco-
logic antagonists appropriate to the drugs used, vasopressors, corti-
costeroids, bronchodilators, antihistamines, antihypertensives and 
anticonvulsants. 

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under 
moderate sedation, minimal sedation, or nitrous oxide sedation at 
the same time. 

(4) During the administration of moderate sedation, and at all 
times while the patient is under moderate sedation, an anesthesia 
monitor, and one other person holding a current BLS for Healthcare 
Providers certificate or its equivalent, shall be present in the opera-
tory, in addition to the dentist permit holder performing the dental 
procedures. 

(5) Before inducing moderate sedation, a dentist permit holder 
who induces moderate sedation shall: 

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American 
Society of Anesthesiologists Patient Physical Status Classifications, 
that the patient is an appropriate candidate for moderate sedation; 

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions 
to the patient or, when appropriate due to age or psychological 
status of the patient, the patient’s guardian; and 

(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or 
patient’s guardian for the anesthesia.  

(6) A patient under moderate sedation shall be visually moni-
tored at all times, including the recovery phase. The dentist permit 
holder or anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient’s 
condition. 
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(7) The patient shall be monitored as follows: 
(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring using pulse 

oximetry, and End-tidal CO2 monitors. Patients with cardiovascular 
disease shall have continuous electrocardiograph (ECG) monitoring. 
The patient’s blood pressure, heart rate, and respiration shall be 
recorded at regular intervals but at least every 15 minutes, and 
these recordings shall be documented in the patient record. The 
record must also include documentation of preoperative and post-
operative vital signs, all medications administered with dosages, 
time intervals and route of administration. If this information 
cannot be obtained, the reasons shall be documented in the 
patient’s record. A patient under moderate sedation shall be contin-
uously monitored and shall not be left alone while under sedation; 

(b) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored 
by an individual trained to monitor patients recovering from mod-
erate sedation. 

(8) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient who has 
undergone moderate sedation except to the care of a responsible 
third party. 

(a) When a reversal agent is administered, the dentist permit 
holder shall document justification for its use and how the recovery 
plan was altered. 

(9) The dentist permit holder shall assess the patient’s respon-
siveness using preoperative values as normal guidelines and dis-
charge the patient only when the following criteria are met: 

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respi-
ratory rate are stable; 

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time 
as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status; 

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal ques-
tioning;  

(d) The patient can sit up unaided; 
(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and 
(f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea or 

vomiting and has minimal dizziness. 
(10) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist permit 

holder in the patient’s record indicating the patient’s condition 
upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the 
patient was discharged. 

(11) After adequate training, an assistant, when directed by a 
dentist permit holder, may dispense oral medications that have 
been prepared by the dentist permit holder for oral administration 
to a patient under direct supervision.  Pursuant to OAR 818-042-
0115 a Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant, when directed by a 
dentist permit holder, may introduce additional anesthetic agents 
into an infusion line under the direct supervision of a dentist permit 
holder. 

(12) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Moderate Sedation 
Permit, the permit holder must provide documentation of a current 
BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current 
Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a current 
Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate; Successful 
completion of a board approved course on minimal/moderate seda-
tion at least every two years may be substituted for ACLS, but not 
for PALS; and must complete 14 hours of continuing education in 
one or more of the following areas every two years: sedation, phys-
ical evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of 
monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used 
in sedation. Training taken to maintain current ACLS or PALS cer-
tification or successful completion of the American Dental Associ-
ation’s course “Recognition and Management of Complications 
during Minimal and Moderate Sedation” may be counted toward 
this requirement. Continuing education hours may be counted 
toward fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth in 
OAR 818-021- 0060. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 1-1999, f. 2-26-99, cert. 
ef. 3-1-99; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 
8-12-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-00; OBD 
2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-
2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; 

OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. 
ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-
15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14; OBD 1-2014, 
f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, 
f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-026-0065 
Deep Sedation 

Deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation, and 
nitrous oxide sedation. 

(1) The Board shall issue a Deep Sedation Permit to a licensee 
who holds a Class 3 Permit on or before July 1, 2010 who: 

(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; and 
(b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare Providers cer-

tificate or its equivalent, maintains a current Advanced Cardiac 
Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a Pediatric Advanced Life 
Support (PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient 
being sedated. 

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on 
site and available for immediate use during the procedures and dur-
ing recovery: 

(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommo-
date the patient on an operating table or in an operating chair and to 
allow an operating team of at least two individuals to freely move 
about the patient; 

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be 
positioned so the operating team can maintain the patient’s airway, 
quickly alter the patient’s position in an emergency, and provide a 
firm platform for the administration of basic life support; 

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient’s 
skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient 
intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the 
event of a general power failure; 

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral 
and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction device which will 
function in the event of a general power failure; 

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask 
and appropriate connectors that is capable of delivering high flow 
oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an ade-
quate backup system; 

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism 
that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scav-
enger system; 

(g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate 
lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The recovery area can be the 
operating room; 

(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, 
capnograph, pulse oximeter, electrocardiograph monitor (ECG), 
automated external defibrillator (AED), oral and nasopharyngeal 
airways, laryngeal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration 
equipment; and 

(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmaco-
logic antagonists appropriate to the drugs used, vasopressors, corti-
costeroids, bronchodilators, antihistamines, antihypertensives and 
anticonvulsants. 

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under 
deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation, or nitrous 
oxide sedation at the same time. 

(4) During the administration of deep sedation, and at all 
times while the patient is under deep sedation, an anesthesia 
monitor, and one other person holding a current BLS for Healthcare 
Providers certificate or its equivalent, shall be present in the opera-
tory, in addition to the dentist permit holder performing the dental 
procedures. 

(5) Before inducing deep sedation, a dentist permit holder 
who induces deep sedation shall: 

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American 
Society of Anesthesiologists Patient Physical Status Classifications, 
that the patient is an appropriate candidate for deep sedation; 

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions 
to the patient or, when appropriate due to age or psychological 
status of the patient, the patient’s guardian; and 
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(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or 
patient’s guardian for the anesthesia. 

(6) A patient under deep sedation shall be visually monitored 
at all times, including the recovery phase. The dentist permit holder 
or anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient’s condi-
tion. 

(7) The patient shall be monitored as follows: 
(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring using pulse 

oximetry, electrocardiograph monitors (ECG) and End-tidal CO2 
monitors. The patient’s heart rhythm shall be continuously monitored 
and the patient’s blood pressure, heart rate, and respiration shall be 
recorded at regular intervals but at least every 5 minutes, and these 
recordings shall be documented in the patient record. The record 
must also include documentation of preoperative and postoperative 
vital signs, all medications administered with dosages, time 
intervals and route of administration. If this information cannot be 
obtained, the reasons shall be documented in the patient’s record. A 
patient under deep sedation shall be continuously monitored; 

(b) Once sedated, a patient shall remain in the operatory for 
the duration of treatment until criteria for transportation to recovery 
have been met. 

(c) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored 
by an individual trained to monitor patients recovering from deep 
sedation. 

(8) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient who has 
undergone deep sedation except to the care of a responsible third 
party. When a reversal agent is administered, the dentist permit 
holder shall document justification for its use and how the recovery 
plan was altered. 

(9) The dentist permit holder shall assess the patient’s respon-
siveness using preoperative values as normal guidelines and dis-
charge the patient only when the following criteria are met: 

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respi-
ratory rate are stable; 

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time 
as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status; 

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal ques-
tioning;  

(d) The patient can sit up unaided; 
(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and 
(f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea or 

vomiting and has minimal dizziness. 
(10) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist permit 

holder in the patient’s record indicating the patient’s condition 
upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the 
patient was discharged. 

(11) Pursuant to OAR 818-042-0115 a Certified Anesthesia 
Dental Assistant, when directed by a dentist permit holder, may 
administer oral sedative agents calculated by a dentist permit 
holder or introduce additional anesthetic agents into an infusion 
line under the direct visual supervision of a dentist 

(12) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Deep Sedation 
Permit, the permit holder must provide documentation of a current 
BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current 
Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a current 
Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate; and must 
complete 14 hours of continuing education in one or more of the 
following areas every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, 
medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equip-
ment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Train-
ing taken to maintain current ACLS and/or PALS certificates may 
be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education hours 
may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education require-
ment set forth in OAR 818-021-0060. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, 
cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, 
f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-
2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-026-0070 
General Anesthesia Permit 

General anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal 
sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 

(1) The Board shall issue a General Anesthesia Permit to an 
applicant who:  

(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; 
(b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare Providers cer-

tificate or its equivalent, maintains a current Advanced Cardiac 
Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a Pediatric Advanced Life 
Support (PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient 
being sedated, and 

(c) Satisfies one of the following criteria: 
(A) Completion of an advanced training program in anesthesia 

and related subjects beyond the undergraduate dental curriculum 
that satisfies the requirements described in the ADA Guidelines for 
Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental 
Students (2007) consisting of a minimum of 2 years of a 
postgraduate anesthesia residency at the time training was com-
menced. 

(B) Completion of any ADA accredited postdoctoral training 
program, including but not limited to Oral and Maxillofacial 
Surgery, which affords comprehensive and appropriate training 
necessary to administer and manage general anesthesia, commen-
surate with these Guidelines. 

(C) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equiv-
alent training or experience in general anesthesia. 

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on 
site and available for immediate use during the procedure and 
during recovery: 

(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommo-
date the patient on an operating table or in an operating chair and to 
allow an operating team of at least three individuals to freely move 
about the patient; 

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be 
positioned so the operating team can maintain the patient’s airway, 
quickly alter the patient’s position in an emergency, and provide a 
firm platform for the administration of basic life support; 

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient’s 
skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system of sufficient 
intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in the 
event of a general power failure; 

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral 
and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction device which will 
function in the event of a general power failure; 

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask 
and appropriate connectors that is capable of delivering high flow 
oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an ade-
quate backup system; 

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism 
that will insure appropriate continuous oxygen delivery and a scav-
enger system; 

(g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate 
lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The recovery area can be the 
operating room; 

(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, 
capnograph, pulse oximeter, electrocardiograph monitor (ECG), 
automated external defibrillator (AED), oral and nasopharyngeal 
airways, laryngeal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration 
equipment; and 

(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmaco-
logic antagonists appropriate to the drugs used, vasopressors, corti-
costeroids, bronchodilators, intravenous medications for treatment 
of cardiac arrest, narcotic antagonist, antihistaminic, antiarrhythmics, 
antihypertensives and anticonvulsants. 

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under 
general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal 
sedation or nitrous oxide sedation at the same time. 

(4) During the administration of deep sedation or general 
anesthesia, and at all times while the patient is under deep sedation 
or general anesthesia, an anesthesia monitor, and one other person 
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holding a current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its 
equivalent, shall be present in the operatory in addition to the 
dentist permit holder performing the dental procedures. 

(5) Before inducing deep sedation or general anesthesia the 
dentist permit holder who induces deep sedation or general anes-
thesia shall: 

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American 
Society of Anesthesiologists Patient Physical Status Classifications, 
that the patient is an appropriate candidate for general anesthesia or 
deep sedation; 

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions 
to the patient or, when appropriate due to age or psychological 
status of the patient, the patient’s guardian; and 

(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or 
patient’s guardian for the anesthesia. 

(6) A patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia shall 
be visually monitored at all times, including recovery phase. A 
dentist permit holder who induces deep sedation or general anes-
thesia or anesthesia monitor trained in monitoring patients under 
deep sedation or general anesthesia shall monitor and record the 
patient’s condition on a contemporaneous record. 

(7) The patient shall be monitored as follows: 
(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring of their heart 

rate, heart rhythm, oxygen saturation levels and respiration using 
pulse oximetry, electrocardiograph monitors (ECG) and End-tidal 
CO2 monitors. The patient’s blood pressure, heart rate and oxygen 
saturation shall be assessed every five minutes, and shall be con-
temporaneously documented in the patient record. The record must 
also include documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital 
signs, all medications administered with dosages, time intervals 
and route of administration. The person administering the anesthesia 
and the person monitoring the patient may not leave the patient 
while the patient is under deep sedation or general anesthesia; 

(b) Once sedated, a patient shall remain in the operatory for 
the duration of treatment until criteria for transportation to recovery 
have been met. 

(c) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored, 
including the use of pulse oximetry, by an individual trained to 
monitor patients recovering from general anesthesia. 

(8) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient who has 
undergone deep sedation or general anesthesia except to the care of 
a responsible third party. When a reversal agent is administered, 
the dentist permit holder shall document justification for its use and 
how the recovery plan was altered. 

(9) The dentist permit holder shall assess the patient’s respon-
siveness using preoperative values as normal guidelines and dis-
charge the patient only when the following criteria are met: 

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respi-
ratory rate are stable; 

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time 
as appropriate to age and preoperative psychological status; 

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal ques-
tioning;  

(d) The patient can sit up unaided; 
(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and 
(f) The patient does not have nausea or vomiting and has min-

imal dizziness. 
(10) A discharge entry shall be made in the patient’s record by 

the dentist permit holder indicating the patient’s condition upon 
discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the 
patient was discharged. 

(11) Pursuant to OAR 818-042-0115 a Certified Anesthesia 
Dental Assistant, when directed by a dentist permit holder, may 
introduce additional anesthetic agents to an infusion line under the 
direct visual supervision of a dentist permit holder. 

(12) Permit renewal. In order to renew a General Anesthesia 
Permit, the permit holder must provide documentation of a current 
BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current 
Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate and/or a current 
Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certificate; and must 
complete 14 hours of continuing education in one or more of the 

following areas every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, 
medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equip-
ment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Train-
ing taken to maintain current ACLS and/or PALS certificates may 
be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education hours 
may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education require-
ment set forth in OAR 818-021-0060. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. 
ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, 
cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-00; Administrative correction 6-21-01; OBD 3-
2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; 
OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. 
ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-
15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 
9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-026-0080 
Standards Applicable When a Dentist Performs Dental 
Procedures and a Qualified Provider Induces Anesthesia 

(1) A dentist who does not hold an anesthesia permit may per-
form dental procedures on a patient who receives anesthesia 
induced by a physician anesthesiologist licensed by the Oregon 
Board of Medical Examiners, another Oregon licensed dentist 
holding an appropriate anesthesia permit, or a Certified Registered 
Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) licensed by the Oregon Board of Nurs-
ing. 

(2) A dentist who does not hold a Nitrous Oxide Permit for 
nitrous oxide sedation may perform dental procedures on a patient 
who receives nitrous oxide induced by an Oregon licensed dental 
hygienist holding a Nitrous Oxide Permit. 

(3) A dentist who performs dental procedures on a patient who 
receives anesthesia induced by a physician anesthesiologist, another 
dentist holding an anesthesia permit, a CRNA, or a dental hygienist 
who induces nitrous oxide sedation, shall maintain a current BLS 
for Healthcare Providers certificate, or its equivalent, and have the 
same personnel, facilities, equipment and drugs available during 
the procedure and during recovery as required of a dentist who has 
a permit for the level of anesthesia being provided. 

(4) A dentist, a dental hygienist or an Expanded Function 
Dental Assistant (EFDA) who performs procedures on a patient 
who is receiving anesthesia induced by a physician anesthesiologist, 
another dentist holding an anesthesia permit or a CRNA shall not 
schedule or treat patients for non emergent care during the period 
of time of the sedation procedure. 

(5) Once anesthetized, a patient shall remain in the operatory 
for the duration of treatment until criteria for transportation to 
recovery have been met. 

(6) The qualified anesthesia provider who induces moderate 
sedation, deep sedation or general anesthesia shall monitor the 
patient’s condition until the patient is discharged and record the 
patient’s condition at discharge in the patient’s dental record as 
required by the rules applicable to the level of anesthesia being 
induced. The anesthesia record shall be maintained in the patient’s 
dental record and is the responsibility of the dentist who is per-
forming the dental procedures. 

(7) A dentist who intends to use the services of a qualified 
anesthesia provider as described in section 1 above, shall notify the 
Board in writing of his/her intent. Such notification need only be 
submitted once every licensing period. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & (10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. 
ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, 
cert. ef. 4-1-06; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-
15, cert. ef. 10-1-15; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-026-0110 
Office Evaluations 

(1) By obtaining an anesthesia permit or by using the services 
of a physician anesthesiologist, CRNA, an Oregon licensed dental 
hygienist permit holder or another dentist permit holder to 
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administer anesthesia, a licensee consents to in-office evaluations 
by the Oregon Board of Dentistry, to assess competence in central 
nervous system anesthesia and to determine compliance with rules 
of the Board. 

(2) The in-office evaluation may include, but is not limited to: 
(a) Observation of one or more cases of anesthesia to 

determine the appropriateness of technique and adequacy of patient 
evaluation and care; 

(b) Inspection of facilities, equipment, drugs and records; and 
(c) Confirmation that personnel are adequately trained, hold a 

current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate, or its equivalent, 
and are competent to respond to reasonable emergencies that may 
occur during the administration of anesthesia or during the recovery 
period. 

(3) The evaluation shall be performed by a team appointed by 
the Board and shall include: 

(a) A permit holder who has the same type of license as the 
licensee to be evaluated and who holds a current anesthesia permit 
in the same class or in a higher class than that held by the licensee 
being evaluated. 

(b) A member of the Board’s Anesthesia Committee; and 
(c) Any licensed dentist, deemed appropriate by the Board 

President, may serve as team leader and shall be responsible for 
organizing and conducting the evaluation and reporting to the 
Board. 

(4) The Board shall give written notice of its intent to conduct 
an office evaluation to the licensee to be evaluated. Licensee shall 
cooperate with the evaluation team leader in scheduling the evalu-
ation which shall be held no sooner than 30 days after the date of 
the notice or later than 90 days after the date of the notice. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & (10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. 
ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, 
cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-
16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-026-0120 
Reporting of Death, Serious Complications or Injury 

If a death, any serious complication or any injury occurs 
which may have resulted from the administration of any central 
nervous system anesthesia or sedation, the licensee performing the 
dental procedure must submit a written detailed report to the Board 
within five days of the incident along with the patient’s original 
complete dental records. If the anesthetic agent was administered 
by a person other than the person performing the dental procedure, 
that person must also submit a detailed written report. The detailed 
report(s) must include: 

(1) Name, age and address of patient; 
(2) Name of the licensee and other persons present during the 

incident; 
(3) Address where the incident took place; 
(4) Type of anesthesia and dosages of drugs administered to 

the patient; 
(5) A narrative description of the incident including approxi-

mate times and evolution of symptoms; and 
(6) The anesthesia record and the signed informed consent 

form for the anesthesia when required. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. 
ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, 
cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 

818-026-0130 
Anesthesia Committee 

(1) The Board hereby creates a committee to be known as the 
Anesthesia Committee. The chairperson shall be a dentist who is a 
member of the Board. All other members shall hold a Moderate, 
Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Sedation Permit. At least one 
member, other than the chairperson, shall be a practicing specialist 
who holds a General Anesthesia Permit. Members serve at the 
pleasure of the Board and shall be appointed by the President of the 

Board. The Board President shall insure that the committee 
includes representatives of dental specialty groups including 
general dentists. 

(2) The Anesthesia Committee shall, upon request of the 
Board, advise the Board on policies and procedures related to the 
regulation of general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, 
minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.280 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. 
ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 
10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, 
cert. ef. 7-1-10 

DIVISION 35 

DENTAL HYGIENE 

818-035-0010 
Definitions 

All terms used in this Division shall have the meanings 
assigned under ORS 679.010 except that: 

(1) “Limited Access Patient” means a patient who is unable to 
receive regular dental hygiene treatment in a dental office. 

(2) “Long-Term Care Facility” shall have the same definition 
as that established under ORS 442.015(14)(b). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679.250(7) & 680.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.010 & 680.010 
Hist.: DE 5-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92; OBD 3-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-98; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09 

818-035-0020 
Authorization to Practice 

(1) A dental hygienist may practice dental hygiene in the 
places specified by ORS 680.150 under general supervision upon 
authorization of a supervising dentist. 

(2) A dentist who authorizes a dental hygienist to practice 
dental hygiene on a limited access patient must review the 
hygienist’s findings.  

(3) A supervising dentist, without first examining a new 
patient, may authorize a dental hygienist: 

(a) To take a health history from a patient; 
(b) To take dental radiographs; 
(c) To perform periodontal probings and record findings; 
(d) To gather data regarding the patient; and  
(e) To diagnose, treatment plan and provide dental hygiene 

services. 
(4) When hygiene services are provided pursuant to subsection 

(3), the supervising dentist need not be on the premises when the 
services are provided. 

(5) When hygiene services are provided pursuant to subsection 
(3), the patient must be scheduled to be examined by the supervising 
dentist within fifteen business days following the day the hygiene 
services are provided. 

(6) If a new patient has not been examined by the supervising 
dentist subsequent to receiving dental hygiene services pursuant to 
subsection (3), no further dental hygiene services may be provided 
until an examination is done by the supervising dentist. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.150 
Hist.: DE 7, f. 2-3-66, DE 8, f. 3-20-67, ef. 3-21-67; DE 11, f. 3-31-71, ef. 4-25-
71; DE 17, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; DE 21, f. 1-9-74, ef. 2-11-74; DE 5-1978, f. & 
ef. 6-14-78; DE 4-1980, f. & ef. 9-8-80; DE 5-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; 
Renumbered from 818-010-0110; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 2-1992, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-24-92; OBD 3-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, 
cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13
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818-035-0025 
Prohibitions 

A dental hygienist may not:  
(1) Diagnose and treatment plan other than for dental hygiene 

services;  
(2) Cut hard or soft tissue with the exception of root planing;  
(3) Extract any tooth;  
(4) Fit or adjust any correctional or prosthetic appliance 

except as provided by OAR 818-035-0030(1)(h);  
(5) Prescribe, administer or dispense any drugs except as pro-

vided by OAR 818-035-0030, 818-035-0040, 818-026-0060(11) 
and 818-026-0070(11);  

(6) Place, condense, carve or cement permanent restorations 
except as provided in OAR 818-035-0072, or operatively prepare 
teeth;  

(7) Irrigate or medicate canals; try in cones, or ream, file or 
fill canals;  

(8) Use the behavior management techniques of Hand Over 
Mouth (HOM) or Hand Over Mouth Airway Restriction (HOMAR) 
on any patient.  

(9) Place or remove healing caps or healing abutments, except 
under direct supervision.  

(10) Place implant impression copings, except under direct 
supervision. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020(1)  
Hist.: DE 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92; DE 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 2-20-97; OBD 
7-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-
22-00 thru 11-18-00; OBD 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-
01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2007, f. 4-
26-07, cert. ef. 5-1-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 
4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 1-
2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-17-15 thru 10-13-15; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. 
ef. 10-1-15 

818-035-0030 
Additional Functions of Dental Hygienists 

(1) In addition to functions set forth in ORS 679.010, a dental 
hygienist may perform the following functions under the general 
supervision of a licensed dentist:  

(a) Make preliminary intra-oral and extra-oral examinations 
and record findings;  

(b) Place periodontal dressings;  
(c) Remove periodontal dressings or direct a dental assistant 

to remove periodontal dressings;  
(d) Perform all functions delegable to dental assistants and 

expanded function dental assistants providing that the dental 
hygienist is appropriately trained;  

(e) Administer and dispense antimicrobial solutions or other 
antimicrobial agents in the performance of dental hygiene functions.  

(f) Prescribe, administer and dispense fluoride, fluoride 
varnish, antimicrobial solutions for mouth rinsing or other non-sys-
temic antimicrobial agents.  

(g) Use high-speed handpieces to polish restorations and to 
remove cement and adhesive material.  

(h) Apply temporary soft relines to complete dentures for the 
purpose of tissue conditioning.  

(i) Perform all aspects of teeth whitening procedures.  
(2) A dental hygienist may perform the following functions at 

the locations and for the persons described in ORS 680.205(1) and 
(2) without the supervision of a dentist:  

(a) Determine the need for and appropriateness of sealants or 
fluoride; and  

(b) Apply sealants or fluoride. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) 
Hist.: DE 5-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 2-1992, f. 
& cert. ef. 6-24-92; OBD 7-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 1-2001, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-
27-04, cert. ef. 6-1-04; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 2-
2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; 
OBD 1-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-17-15 thru 10-13-15; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-
15, cert. ef. 10-1-15 

818-035-0040 
Expanded Functions of Dental Hygienists 

(1) Upon completion of a course of instruction in a program 
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 
American Dental Association or other course of instruction 
approved by the Board, a dental hygienist who completes a Board 
approved application shall be issued an endorsement to administer 
local anesthetic agents and local anesthetic reversal agents under 
the general supervision of a licensed dentist. Local anesthetic 
reversal agents shall not be used on children less than 6 years of 
age or weighing less than 33 pounds.  

(2) Upon completion of a course of instruction in a program 
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 
American Dental Association or other course of instruction 
approved by the Board, a dental hygienist may administer nitrous 
oxide under the indirect supervision of a licensed dentist in accor-
dance with the Board’s rules regarding anesthesia. 

(3) Upon completion of a course of instruction approved by 
the Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division, a dental 
hygienist may purchase Epinephrine and administer Epinephrine in 
an emergency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7) 
Hist.: DE 5-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 2-1992, f. 
& cert. ef. 6-24-92; OBD 3-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-98; OBD 7-1999, f. 6-25-
99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 8-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 15-2001, f. 
12-7-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 2-2007, f. 4-26-07, cert. ef. 5-1-07; OBD 3-
2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 
1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-035-0065 
Expanded Practice Dental Hygiene Permit 

The Board shall issue an Expanded Practice Permit to a 
Dental Hygienist who holds an unrestricted Oregon license, and 
completes an application approved by the Board, pays the permit 
fee, and 

(1) Certifies on the application that the dental hygienist has 
completed at least 2,500 hours of supervised dental hygiene 
clinical practice, or clinical teaching hours, and also completes 40 
hours of courses chosen by the applicant in clinical dental hygiene 
or public health sponsored by continuing education providers 
approved by the Board; or 

(2) Certifies on the application that the dental hygienist has 
completed a course of study, before or after graduation from a 
dental hygiene program, that includes at least 500 hours of dental 
hygiene practice on patients described in ORS 680.205; and 

(3) Provides the Board with a copy of the applicant’s current 
professional liability policy or declaration page which will include, 
the policy number and expiration date of the policy. 

(4) Notwithstanding OAR 818-035-0025(1), prior to perform-
ing any dental hygiene services an Expanded Practice Dental 
Hygienist shall examine the patient, gather data, interpret the data 
to determine the patient’s dental hygiene treatment needs and for-
mulate a patient care plan. 

(5) An Expanded Practice Dental Hygienist may render the 
services described in paragraphs(6)(a) to (d) of this rule to the 
patients described in ORS 680.205(1) if the Expanded Practice 
Dental Hygienist has entered into a written collaborative agreement 
in a format approved by the Board with a dentist licensed under 
ORS Chapter 679. 

(6) The collaborative agreement must set forth the agreed 
upon scope of the dental hygienist’s practice with regard to: 

(a) Administering local anesthesia; 
(b) Administering temporary restorations without excavation; 
(c) Prescribing prophylactic antibiotics and nonsteroidal anti-

inflammatory drugs; and 
(d) Referral parameters. 
(7) The collaborative agreement must comply with ORS 

679.010 to 680.990. 
(8) From the date this rule is effective, the Board has the 

authority to grant a Limited Access Permit through December 31, 
2011, pursuant to ORS 680.200. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.200 
Hist.: OBD 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-8-98; OBD 3-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; 
OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; 
OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12; 
OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15 

818-035-0066 
Additional Populations for Expanded Practice Dental Hygiene 
Permit Holders 

A dental hygienist with an Expanded Practice Permit may 
practice without supervision at locations and on persons as 
described in ORS 680.205(1)(a) through (e) and on the following 
additional populations: Low-income persons, as defined by earning 
up to 200% of the Federal Poverty Level or on specific population 
groups designated by the Dental Health Professional Shortage 
Areas (DHPSA) that lack access to care and that are underserved. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: 680.205 & 679.250(9) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. 
ef. 7-1-13 

818-035-0072 
Restorative Functions of Dental Hygienists 

(1) The Board shall issue a Restorative Functions Endorsement 
(RFE) to a dental hygienist who holds an unrestricted Oregon 
license, and has successfully completed: 

(a) A Board approved curriculum from a program accredited 
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 
Dental Association or other course of instruction approved by the 
Board, and successfully passed the Western Regional Examining 
Board’s Restorative Examination or other equivalent examinations 
approved by the Board within the last five years; or 

(b) If successful passage of the Western Regional Examining 
Board’s Restorative Examination or other equivalent examinations 
approved by the Board occurred over five years from the date of 
application, the applicant must submit verification from another 
state or jurisdiction where the applicant is legally authorized to per-
form restorative functions and certification from the supervising 
dentist of successful completion of at least 25 restorative procedures 
within the immediate five years from the date of application. 

(2) A dental hygienist may perform the placement and 
finishing of direct alloy and direct composite restorations, under 
the indirect supervision of a licensed dentist, after the supervising 
dentist has prepared the tooth (teeth) for restoration(s): 

(a) These functions can only be performed after the patient 
has given informed consent for the procedure and informed 
consent for the placement of the restoration(s) by a Restorative 
Functions Endorsement dental hygienist; 

(b) Before the patient is released, the final restoration(s) shall 
be checked by a dentist and documented in the chart. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679, 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.010(3), 679.250(7) 
Hist.: OBD 2-2007, f. 4-26-07, cert. ef. 5-1-07; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. 
ef. 7-1-13 

818-035-0100 
Record Keeping 

(1) An Expanded Practice Dental Hygienist shall refer a 
patient annually to a dentist who is available to treat the patient, 
and note in the patient’s official chart held by the facility that the 
patient has been referred.  

(2) When a licensed dentist has authorized an Expanded Prac-
tice Dental Hygienist to administer local anesthesia, place temporary 
restorations without excavation or prescribe prophylactic antibiotics 
and nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, the Expanded Practice 
Dental Hygienist shall document in the patient’s official chart the 
name of the collaborating dentist and date the collaborative agree-
ment was entered into. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.205(2) & (3) 
Hist.: OBD 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-8-98; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-
1-08; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-
15-11 

DIVISION 42 

DENTAL ASSISTING 

818-042-0010 
Definitions 

(1) “Dental Assistant” means a person who, under the super-
vision of a dentist, renders assistance to a dentist, dental hygienist, 
dental technician or another dental assistant or renders assistance 
under the supervision of a dental hygienist providing dental 
hygiene services. 

(2) “Expanded Function Dental Assistant” means a dental 
assistant certified by the Board to perform expanded function 
duties. 

(3) “Expanded Function Orthodontic Assistant” means a 
dental assistant certified by the Board to perform expanded 
orthodontic function duties. 

(4) “Direct Supervision” means supervision requiring that a 
dentist diagnose the condition to be treated, that a dentist authorize 
the procedure to be performed, and that a dentist remain in the 
dental treatment room while the procedures are performed. 

(5) “Indirect Supervision” means supervision requiring that a 
dentist authorize the procedures and that a dentist be on the 
premises while the procedures are performed. 

(6) “General Supervision” means supervision requiring that a 
dentist authorize the procedures, but not requiring that a dentist be 
present when the authorized procedures are performed. The autho-
rized procedures may also be performed at a place other than the 
usual place of practice of the dentist. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7) 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. 
ef. 6-1-04 

818-042-0020 
Dentist and Dental Hygienist Responsibility 

(1) A dentist is responsible for assuring that a dental assistant 
has been properly trained, has demonstrated proficiency, and is 
supervised in all the duties the assistant performs in the dental 
office. Unless otherwise specified, dental assistants shall work 
under indirect supervision in the dental office. 

(2) A dental hygienist who works under general supervision 
may supervise dental assistants in the dental office if the dental 
assistants are rendering assistance to the dental hygienist in 
providing dental hygiene services and the dentist is not in the office 
to provide indirect supervision. A dental hygienist with an Expanded 
Practice Permit may hire and supervise dental assistants who will 
render assistance to the dental hygienist in providing dental 
hygiene services. 

(3) The supervising dentist or dental hygienist is responsible 
for assuring that all required licenses, permits or certificates are 
current and posted in a conspicuous place. 

(4) Dental assistants who are in compliance with written train-
ing and screening protocols adopted by the Board may perform 
oral health screenings under general supervision. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7) 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. 
ef. 6-1-04; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, 
cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-042-0030 
Infection Control 

The supervising dentist shall be responsible for assuring that 
dental assistants are trained in infection control, bloodborne 
pathogens and universal precautions, exposure control, personal 
protective equipment, infectious waste disposal, Hepatitis B and C 
and post exposure follow-up. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00 
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818-042-0040 
Prohibited Acts 

No licensee may authorize any dental assistant to perform the 
following acts: 

(1) Diagnose or plan treatment. 
(2) Cut hard or soft tissue. 
(3) Any Expanded Function duty (818-042-0070 and 818-

042-0090) or Expanded Orthodontic Function duty (818-042-
0100) without holding the appropriate certification. 

(4) Correct or attempt to correct the malposition or malocclu-
sion of teeth except as provided by OAR 818-042-0100. 

(5) Adjust or attempt to adjust any orthodontic wire, fixed or 
removable appliance or other structure while it is in the patient’s 
mouth. 

(6) Administer any drug except fluoride, topical anesthetic, 
desensitizing agents, over the counter medications per package 
instructions or drugs administered pursuant to OAR 818-026-
0030(6), 818-026-0050(5)(a), 818-026-0060(11), 818-026-0065(11), 
818-026-0070(11) and as provided in 818-042-0070 and 818-042-
0115. 

(7) Prescribe any drug. 
(8) Place periodontal packs. 
(9) Start nitrous oxide. 
(10) Remove stains or deposits except as provided in OAR 

818-042-0070. 
(11) Use ultrasonic equipment intra-orally except as provided 

in OAR 818-042-0100. 
(12) Use a high-speed handpiece or any device that is 

operated by a high-speed handpiece intra-orally. 
(13) Use lasers, except laser-curing lights. 
(14) Use air abrasion or air polishing. 
(15) Remove teeth or parts of tooth structure. 
(16) Cement or bond any fixed prosthetic or orthodontic 

appliance including bands, brackets, retainers, tooth moving 
devices, or orthopedic appliances except as provided in 818-042-
0100. 

(17) Condense and carve permanent restorative material 
except as provided in OAR 818-042-0095. 

(18) Place any type of cord subgingivally except as provided 
by in OAR 818-042-0090. 

(19) Take jaw registrations or oral impressions for supplying 
artificial teeth as substitutes for natural teeth, except diagnostic or 
opposing models or for the fabrication of temporary or provisional 
restorations or appliances. 

(20) Apply denture relines except as provided in OAR 818-
042-0090(2). 

(21) Expose radiographs without holding a current Certificate 
of Radiologic Proficiency issued by the Board (818-042-0050 and 
818-042-0060) except while taking a course of instruction approved 
by the Oregon Health Authority, Oregon Public Health Division, 
Office of Environmental Public Health, Radiation Protection Ser-
vices, or the Oregon Board of Dentistry.  

(22) Use the behavior management techniques known as 
Hand Over Mouth (HOM) or Hand Over Mouth Airway Restriction 
(HOMAR) on any patient. 

(23) Perform periodontal probing. 
(24) Place or remove healing caps or healing abutments, 

except under direct supervision. 
(25) Place implant impression copings, except under direct 

supervision. 
(26) Any act in violation of Board statute or rules.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020, 679.025 & 679.250 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, 
cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-00; OBD 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 15-
2001, f. 12-7-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; 
OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; 
OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12; 
OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-
15 

818-042-0050 
Taking of X-Rays — Exposing of Radiographs 

(1) A dentist may authorize the following persons to place 
films, adjust equipment preparatory to exposing films, and expose 
the films under general supervision: 

(a) A dental assistant certified by the Board in radiologic pro-
ficiency; or 

(b) A radiologic technologist licensed by the Oregon Board of 
Medical Imaging and certified by the Oregon Board of Dentistry 
(OBD) who has completed ten (10) clock hours in a Board 
approved dental radiology course and submitted a satisfactory full 
mouth series of radiographs to the OBD. 

(2) A dentist or dental hygienist may authorize a dental 
assistant who has completed a course of instruction approved by 
the Oregon Board of Dentistry, and who has passed the written 
Dental Radiation Health and Safety Examination administered by 
the Dental Assisting National Board, or comparable exam adminis-
tered by any other testing entity authorized by the Board, or other 
comparable requirements approved by the Oregon Board of 
Dentistry to place films, adjust equipment preparatory to exposing 
films, and expose the films under the indirect supervision of a 
dentist, dental hygienist, or dental assistant who holds an Oregon 
Radiologic Proficiency Certificate. The dental assistant must suc-
cessfully complete the clinical examination within six months of 
the dentist or dental hygienist authorizing the assistant to take 
radiographs. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7) 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2003, f. 7-14-03 cert. ef. 
7-18-03; OBD 4-2004, f. 11-23-04 cert. ef. 12-1-04; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 
11-15-11; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. 
ef. 10-1-15; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-042-0060 
Certification — Radiologic Proficiency 

(1) The Board may certify a dental assistant in radiologic pro-
ficiency by credential in accordance with OAR 818-042-0120, or if 
the assistant:  

(2) Submits an application on a form approved by the Board, 
pays the application fee and:  

(a) Completes a course of instruction approved by the Oregon 
Board of Dentistry, in accordance with OAR 333-106-0055 or sub-
mits evidence that the Oregon Health Authority, Center for Health 
Protection, Radiation Protection Services recognizes that the equiv-
alent training has been successfully completed;  

(b) Passes the written Dental Radiation Health and Safety 
Examination administered by the Dental Assisting National Board, 
Inc. (DANB), or comparable exam administered by any other 
testing entity authorized by the Board, or other comparable require-
ments approved by the Oregon Board of Dentistry; and  

(c) Passes a clinical examination approved by the Board and 
graded by the Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. (DANB), or 
any other testing entity authorized by the Board, consisting of 
exposing, developing and mounting a full mouth series of radio-
graphs or by exposing and mounting a digital full mouth series of 
radiographic images (14 to 18 periapical and 4 bitewing radiographic 
images) within one hour and under the supervision of a person per-
mitted to take radiographs in Oregon. No portion of the clinical 
examination may be completed in advance; a maximum of three 
retakes is permitted (i.e., three individual radiographic exposures, 
not three full mouth series); only the applicant may determine the 
necessity of retakes. The radiographic images should be acquired 
on an adult patient with at least 24 fully erupted teeth. The full 
mouth series must be submitted for grading within six months after 
it is taken. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020, 679.025 & 679.250 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2003, f. 7-14-03 cert. ef. 
7-18-03; OBD 4-2004, f. 11-23-04 cert. ef. 12-1-04; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, 
cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. 
ef. 11-15-11; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, 
cert. ef. 8-1-14 
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818-042-0070 
Expanded Function Dental Assistants (EFDA) 

The following duties are considered Expanded Function 
Duties and may be performed only after the dental assistant 
complies with the requirements of 818-042-0080:  

(1) Polish the coronal surfaces of teeth with a brush or rubber 
cup as part of oral prophylaxis to remove stains providing the 
patient is checked by a dentist or dental hygienist after the 
procedure is performed, prior to discharge;  

(2) Remove temporary crowns for final cementation and clean 
teeth for final cementation;  

(3) Preliminarily fit crowns to check contacts or to adjust 
occlusion outside the mouth;  

(4) Place temporary restorative material (i.e., zinc oxide 
eugenol based material) in teeth providing that the patient is 
checked by a dentist before and after the procedure is performed;  

(5) Place and remove matrix retainers for alloy and composite 
restorations;  

(6) Polish amalgam or composite surfaces with a slow speed 
hand piece;  

(7) Remove excess supragingival cement from crowns, 
bridges, bands or brackets with hand instruments providing that the 
patient is checked by a dentist after the procedure is performed;  

(8) Fabricate temporary crowns, and temporarily cement the 
temporary crown. The cemented crown must be examined and 
approved by the dentist prior to the patient being released;  

(9) Under general supervision, when the dentist is not 
available and the patient is in discomfort, an EFDA may recement 
a temporary crown or recement a permanent crown with temporary 
cement for a patient of record providing that the patient is resched-
uled for follow-up care by a licensed dentist as soon as is 
reasonably appropriate; and  

(10) Perform all aspects of teeth whitening procedures. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020, 679.025 & 679.250 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. 
ef. 6-1-04; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-
09, cert. ef. 11-1-09; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15; OBD 2-2016, f. 
11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-042-0080 
Certification — Expanded Function Dental Assistant (EFDA) 

The Board may certify a dental assistant as an expanded func-
tion assistant: 

(1) By credential in accordance with OAR 818-042-0120, or 
(2) If the assistant submits a completed application, pays the 

fee and provides evidence of; 
(a) Certification of Radiologic Proficiency (OAR 818-042-

0060); and satisfactory completion of a course of instruction in a 
program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 
the American Dental Association; or 

(b) Certification of Radiologic Proficiency (OAR 818-042-
0060); and passage of the Basic or CDA examination, and the 
Expanded Function Dental Assistant examination, or equivalent 
successor examinations, administered by the Dental Assisting 
National Board, Inc. (DANB), or any other testing entity authorized 
by the Board; and certification by a licensed dentist that the 
applicant has successfully polished 12 amalgam or composite sur-
faces, removed supra-gingival excess cement from six (6) crowns 
or bridges with hand instruments; placed temporary restorative 
material (i.e., zinc oxide eugenol based material) in six (6) teeth; 
preliminarily fitted six (6) crowns to check contacts or to adjust 
occlusion outside the mouth; removed six (6) temporary crowns for 
final cementation and cleaned teeth for final cementation; fabricated 
six (6) temporary crowns and temporarily cemented the crowns; 
polished the coronal surfaces of teeth with a brush or rubber cup as 
part of oral prophylaxis in six (6) patients; placed two matrix bands 
in each quadrant on teeth prepared for Class II restorations; and 
complete six (6) teeth whitening or bleach procedures. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 10-1999(Temp), f. 12-2-
99, cert. ef. 1-1-00 thru 6-28-00; OBD 8-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 6-29-00; 

OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. ef. 6-1-04; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-
1-09 

818-042-0090 
Additional Functions of EFDAs 

Upon successful completion of a course of instruction in a 
program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 
the American Dental Association, or other course of instruction 
approved by the Board, a certified Expanded Function Dental 
Assistant may perform the following functions under the indirect 
supervision of a dentist or dental hygienist providing that the pro-
cedure is checked by the dentist or dental hygienist prior to the 
patient being dismissed: 

(1) Apply pit and fissure sealants provided the patient is 
examined before the sealants are placed. The sealants must be 
placed within 45 days of the procedure being authorized by a 
dentist or dental hygienist.  

(2) Apply temporary soft relines to complete dentures for the 
purpose of tissue conditioning. 

(3) Place cord subgingivally. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7) 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, cert. 
ef. 1-1-02; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, 
cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 10-1-15 

818-042-0095 
Restorative Functions of Dental Assistants 

(1) The Board shall issue a Restorative Functions Certificate 
(RFC) to a dental assistant who holds an Oregon EFDA Certificate, 
and has successfully completed: 

(a) A Board approved curriculum from a program accredited 
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 
Dental Association or other course of instruction approved by the 
Board, and successfully passed the Western Regional Examining 
Board’s Restorative Examination or other equivalent examinations 
approved by the Board within the last five years, or 

(b) If successful passage of the Western Regional Examining 
Board’s Restorative Examination or other equivalent examinations 
approved by the Board occurred over five years from the date of 
application, the applicant must submit verification from another 
state or jurisdiction where the applicant is legally authorized to per-
form restorative functions and certification from the supervising 
dentist of successful completion of at least 25 restorative procedures 
within the immediate five years from the date of application. 

(2) A dental assistant may perform the placement and finishing 
of direct alloy or direct composite restorations, under the indirect 
supervision of a licensed dentist, after the supervising dentist has 
prepared the tooth (teeth) for restoration(s): 

(a) These functions can only be performed after the patient 
has given informed consent for the procedure and informed 
consent for the placement of the restoration by a Restorative Func-
tions dental assistant. 

(b) Before the patient is released, the final restoration(s) shall 
be checked by a dentist and documented in the chart. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.010 & 679.250(7)  
Hist.: OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 
12-1-08; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13 

818-042-0100 
Expanded Functions — Orthodontic Assistant (EFODA) 

(1) An EFODA may perform the following duties while under 
the indirect supervision of a licensed dentist: 

(a) Remove orthodontic bands and brackets and attachments 
with removal of the bonding material and cement. An ultrasonic 
scaler, hand scaler or slow speed handpiece may be used. Use of a 
high speed handpiece is prohibited; 

(b) Select or try for the fit of orthodontic bands;  
(c) Recement loose orthodontic bands;  
(d) Place and remove orthodontic separators; 
(e) Prepare teeth for bonding or placement of orthodontic 

appliances and select, pre-position and cure orthodontic brackets, 
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attachments and/or retainers after their position has been approved 
by the supervising licensed dentist;  

(f) Fit and adjust headgear;  
(g) Remove fixed orthodontic appliances;  
(h) Remove and replace orthodontic wires. Place and ligate 

archwires. Place elastic ligatures or chains as directed; 
(i) Cut arch wires; and  
(j) Take impressions for study models or temporary oral 

devices such as, but not limited to, space maintainers, orthodontic 
retainers and occlusal guards.  

(2) An EFODA may perform the following duties while under 
the general supervision of a licensed dentist:  

(a) An expanded function orthodontic assistant may remove 
any portion of an orthodontic appliance causing a patient discomfort 
and in the process may replace ligatures and/or separators if the 
dentist is not available, providing that the patient is rescheduled for 
follow-up care by a licensed dentist as soon as is reasonably appro-
priate.  

(b) An EFODA may recement orthodontic bands if the dentist 
is not available and the patient is in discomfort, providing that the 
patient is rescheduled for follow-up care by a licensed dentist as 
soon as is reasonably appropriate. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7) 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. 
ef. 7-1-12 

818-042-0110 
Certification — Expanded Function Orthodontic Assistant 

The Board may certify a dental assistant as an expanded func-
tion orthodontic assistant 

(1) By credential in accordance with OAR 818-042-0120, or 
(2) Completion of an application, payment of fee and satisfac-

tory evidence of; 
(a) Completion of a course of instruction in a program in 

dental assisting accredited by the American Dental Association 
Commission on Dental Accreditation; or 

(b) Passage of the Basic, CDA or COA examination, and 
Expanded Function Orthodontic Assistant examination, or equivalent 
successor examinations, administered by the Dental Assisting 
National Board, Inc. (DANB), or any other testing entity authorized 
by the Board; and certification by a licensed dentist that the 
applicant has successfully removed cement from bands using an 
ultrasonic or hand scaler, or a slow speed hand piece, on six (6) 
patients and recemented loose orthodontic bands, fit and adjust 
headgear, remove fixed orthodontic appliances and take impressions 
for four (4) patients. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) 
Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 10-1999(Temp), f. 12-2-
99, cert. ef. 1-1-00 thru 6-28-00; OBD 8-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 6-29-00; 
OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13 

818-042-0112 
Expanded Function Preventive Dental Assistants (EFPDA) 

The following duties are considered Expanded Function Pre-
ventive Duties and may be performed only after the dental assistant 
complies with the requirements of 818-042-0113: Polish the 
coronal surfaces of teeth with a brush or rubber cup as part of oral 
prophylaxis to remove stains providing the patient is checked by a 

dentist or dental hygienist after the procedure is performed, prior to 
discharge. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679 
Hist.: OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-042-0113 
Certification — Expanded Function Preventive Dental 
Assistants (EFPDA) 

The Board may certify a dental assistant as an expanded func-
tion preventive dental assistant:  

(1) By credential in accordance with OAR 818-042-0120, or  
(2) If the assistant submits a completed application, pays the 

fee and provides evidence of;  
(a) Certification of Radiologic Proficiency (OAR 818-042-

0060); and satisfactory completion of a course of instruction in a 
program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 
the American Dental Association; or  

(b) Certification of Radiologic Proficiency (OAR 818-042-
0060); and passage of the Oregon Basic or Certified Preventive 
Functions Dental Assistant (CPFDA) examination, and the Expanded 
Function Dental Assistant examination, or equivalent successor 
examinations, administered by the Dental Assisting National 
Board, Inc. (DANB), or any other testing entity authorized by the 
Board; and certification by an Oregon licensed dentist that the 
applicant has successfully polished the coronal surfaces of teeth 
with a brush or rubber cup as part of oral prophylaxis to remove 
stains on six patients.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679 
Hist.: OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-042-0115 
Expanded Functions — Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant  

(1) A dentist holding the appropriate anesthesia permit may 
verbally authorize a Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant, who 
possesses a Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant certificate from 
the Oregon Board of Dentistry to: 

(a) Administer medications into an existing intravenous (IV) 
line of a patient under sedation or anesthesia under direct visual 
supervision. 

(b) Administer emergency medications to a patient in order to 
assist the licensee in an emergent situation under direct visual 
supervision. 

(2) A dentist holding the appropriate anesthesia permit may 
verbally authorize a Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant to dis-
pense to a patient, oral medications that have been prepared by the 
dentist and given to the anesthesia dental assistant by the supervising 
dentist for oral administration to a patient under Indirect Supervi-
sion. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020(1), 679.025(1) & 679.250(7)  
Hist.: OBD 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-
06; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17 

818-042-0116 
Certification — Anesthesia Dental Assistant 

The Board may certify a person as an Anesthesia Dental 
Assistant if the applicant submits a completed application, pays the 
certification fee and shows satisfactory evidence of: 

(1) Successful completion of: 
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