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DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURAL 

833-001-0000 
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking 

Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule, the 
Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists must:  

(1) Publish notice of the adoption, amendment, or repeal in 
the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 
21 days prior to the effective date.  

(2) Deliver by electronic or postal mail such notice to persons 
on the Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists 
mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(1)(c), and deliver 
by electronic mail to the legislators specified in 183.335(1)(d) at 
least 49 days before the effective date of the rule.  

(3) Deliver by electronic mail such notice to the following:  
(a) United Press International and Associated Press;  
(b) Oregon Counseling Association;  
(c) Oregon Chapter of the American Association of Marriage 

and Family Therapists; and  
(d) Oregon college and university departments offering grad-

uate degrees in counseling and marriage and family therapy.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. 
ef. 9-1-90; LPCT 2-1992, f. 11-30-92, cert. ef. 12-1-92; LPCT 1-1994, f. 12-30-
94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; LPCT 1-1998, f. 1-2-98, cert. ef. 1-5-98; BLPCT 1-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2016, f. & cert. ef. 8-8-16 

833-001-0005 
Model Rules of Procedure 

The most current Model Rules of Procedure as promulgated 
by the Attorney General of the State of Oregon under the Adminis-
trative Procedures Act, are by this reference adopted as the rules of 
procedure of the Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and 
Therapists and must be controlling except as otherwise required by 
statute or rule.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. 
ef. 9-1-90; LPCT 2-1992, f. 11-30-92, cert. ef. 12-1-92; LPCT 1-1994, f. 12-30-
94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; LPCT 1-1998, f. 1-2-98, cert. ef. 1-5-98; BLPCT 2-2001, f. 
9-19-01, cert. ef. 10-1-01; BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-001-0010 
Requiring an Answer to Charges as Part of Notices to Parties 
in Contested Cases 

In addition to the requirements stated in OAR 137-003-0000 
of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure adopted by 
833-001-0005, the notice to parties in contested cases may include 
a statement that an answer to the assertions or charges will be 
required, and if so, the consequence of failure to answer. A 
statement of the consequences of failure to answer may be satisfied 
by enclosing a copy of 833-001-0015 with the notice. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. 
ef. 9-1-90; BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10

833-001-0015 
Hearing Request and Answers; Consequences of Failure to 
Answer 

(1) A hearing request must be made in writing to the Board by 
the party or the party’s attorney within 21 calendar days after the 
date the notice was issued.  

(2) If an answer is required, it must be made in writing to the 
Board by the party or the party’s attorney within 21 calendar days 
after the date the notice was issued and must include the following:  

(a) An admission or denial of each factual matter alleged in 
the notice;  

(b) A short and plain statement of each relevant affirmative 
defense the party may have.  

(3) Except for good cause:  
(a) Factual matters alleged in the notice and not denied in the 

answer will be presumed admitted;  
(b) Failure to raise a particular defense in the answer will be 

considered a waiver of such defense;  
(c) New matters alleged in the answer (affirmative defenses) 

will be presumed to be denied by the agency; and  
(d) Evidence will not be taken on any issue not raised in the 

notice and the answer.  
(4) Contested case hearings are closed to the public. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.413 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. 
ef. 9-1-90; BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2016, f. & cert. ef. 8-
8-16 

833-001-0020 
Obtaining Information 

(1) The Board will provide the following information to mem-
bers of the public in response to in-person or telephone inquiries 
regarding a particular applicant, registered intern, or licensee: 
name, license/registration number, date licensed/registered, if 
license/registration is active or expired, business address and tele-
phone number, summary of education and experience, and if there 
are or have been any disciplinary actions proposed by the Board 
plus the status, disposition, or resolution of the proposed disciplinary 
actions, unless otherwise subject to or prohibited by law, statute, 
rule or regulation.  

(2) Requests for any information other than that listed in 
section (1) of this rule, including written verifications of licensure, 
may be required to be in writing, and may require payment for 
copies of documents.  

(3) Pursuant to ORS 676.175, information regarding complaints 
against or information obtained through investigations into the 
conduct of licensees, non-licensed individuals, or applicants for 
licensure will not be disclosed.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. 
ef. 9-1-90; LPCT 2-1992, f. 11-30-92, cert. ef. 12-1-92; LPCT 1-1998, f. 1-2-98, 
cert. ef. 1-5-98; BLPCT 2-2001, f. 9-19-01, cert. ef. 10-1-01; BLPCT 1-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2016, f. & cert. ef. 8-8-16 

DIVISION 10 

DEFINITIONS 

833-010-0001 
Definitions 

The definitions of terms used in ORS 675.705 to 675.835 and 
these administrative rules of the Board are:  

(1) “AAMFT” means the American Association for Marriage 
and Family Therapy. 

(2) “Accredited program” means the graduate program is 
fully accredited by COAMFTE, CACREP, or CORE.  

(3) “Board” means the Oregon Board of Licensed Professional 
Counselors and Therapists. 

(4) “Board approved program” means a graduate program that 
the Board had found to be comparable to an accredited program.  
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(5) “CACREP” means the Council for Accreditation of Coun-
seling and Related Educational Programs.  

(6) “CRCC” means the Commission on Rehabilitation Coun-
selor Certification. 

(7) “Client record” means any information maintained in a 
written or electronic form about a client.  

(8) “Clinical experience” means the professional practice of 
applying principles and methods to provide assessment, diagnosis, 
and treatment of individuals and families with mental health disor-
ders.  

(9) “COAMFTE” means the Commission on Accreditation of 
Marriage and Family Therapy Education.  

(10) “CORE” means the Council on Rehabilitation Education.  
(11) “Direct client contact hours” means only those clinical 

experience hours that are therapeutic or a combination of assessment 
and subsequent therapeutic interactions.  

(12) “Distance learning” means coursework, or training that 
does not involve attending a presentation or program in the 
presence of the instructor or facilitator and other courses through 
electronic communication.  

(13) “Distance Services” means any use of technology that 
replaces face to face delivery of counseling or therapy service. 
Such technologies include, but are not limited to, use of computer 
hardware and software, telephones, the internet, online assessment 
instruments and other communication devices.  

(14) “Electronic communication” means communication 
through use of videoconference, telephone, teleconference, internet, 
electronic mail, chat-based, or video-based.  

(15) “Equivalent” means comparable in content and quality, 
but not identical. 

(16) “Hour Equivalents” means that when requirements for 
licensure are given in quarter hours, the following formula will be 
used to determine equivalent hours:  

(a) Two semester hours is equal to three quarter hours;  
(b) One semester is equal to 1.5 quarters;  
(c) One quarter credit hour equals 10 clock hours;  
(d) One semester credit hour equals 15 clock hours.  
(17) “Intern registration plan” means a written description of 

post-graduate supervised work experience activities an applicant 
must complete to qualify for a license as a professional counselor 
or marriage and family therapist.  

(18) “LMFT” means licensed marriage and family therapist. 
(19) “LPC” means licensed professional counselor. 
(20) “NBCC” means the National Board for Certified Coun-

selors. 
(21) “Official transcript” means a document certified by an 

accredited college or university indicating degree earned, hours 
and types of coursework, examinations and scores, completed by 
the student; and submitted by the school to the Board.  

(22) “Practicing” means engaging in any of the activities 
listed in the definitions of marriage and family therapy and profes-
sional counseling set forth in ORS 675.705, including but not 
limited to providing clinical supervision to another mental health 
professional who is providing counseling or therapeutic services to 
clients.  

(23) “Receipt” means the date received by the Board office as 
shown by US Postal Service postmark, or date received stamp if 
document was not mailed or without postmark. 

(24) “Regional accrediting agency” means of one of the 
regional institutional accreditation bodies recognized by the United 
States Secretary of Education and established to accredit senior 
institutions of higher education.  

(25) “Registered intern” means an applicant for licensure who 
has met the educational requirement for licensure, and is in the pro-
cess of obtaining the required supervised work experience under a 
registration plan approved by the Board.  

(26) “Supervision” means a professional relationship between 
a qualified supervisor and an intern, counselor, or therapist during 
which the supervisor provides guidance and professional skill 
development and oversight to the intern, counselor or therapist.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.715 & 675.785  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 

Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. 
ef. 9-1-90; LPCT 2-1992, f. 11-30-92, cert. ef. 12-1-92; LPCT 1-1993, f. 12-30-
93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; LPCT 1-1998, f. 1-2-98, cert. ef. 1-5-98; BLPCT 1-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 4-2012, 
f. 10-24-12, cert. ef. 11-1-12; BLPCT 3-2016, f. & cert. ef. 8-8-16 

DIVISION 20 

APPLICATION METHODS 

833-020-0011 
Applications 

(1) Application for licensure as a professional counselor and 
marriage and family therapist must be submitted to the Board and 
be on forms provided by the Board.  

(2) Application for licensure must include gender, date of 
birth, social security number, practice and residence addresses, 
email address, similar licenses held in other states, and history of 
professional discipline, litigation, and criminal involvement and be 
accompanied by:  

(a) The non-refundable application fee;  
(b) Official transcript sent directly to the Board from the 

college or university and supporting documentation as necessary 
showing education requirements have been met;  

(c) Documentation to prove experience requirements have 
been met or request for registration as an intern with a proposed 
plan to obtain required experience;  

(d) Verification that approved examination has been passed, 
or state examination is being requested;  

(e) Proposed professional disclosure statement for review and 
approval;   

(f) Criminal history information as specified in OAR 833-
120-0021; and 

(g) Other clarifying information requested by the Board.  
(3) Applicants will be allowed one year from Board receipt of 

an application to file a completed application which documents 
that the applicant meets the educational and experience qualifications 
for licensure.  

(4) Failure to withdraw the application or complete the 
process within the allowed time will result in closure of the file. An 
incomplete application includes but is not limited to an application 
in which:  

(a) Required information or original signatures are not  
provided;  

(b) Required forms are not submitted; or 
(c) No fee or an insufficient fee is received.  
(5) The Board retains the right to extend the one year period to 

complete application for good cause.  
(6) Applicants who submit complete documentation but are 

not approved for registration, examination, or licensure will be 
notified in writing that the application is being denied and state the 
reason(s) for denial.  

(7) To be reconsidered for licensure, applicants who failed to 
become licensed, who were refused licensure, who withdrew from 
consideration, or interns who have allowed their registration to 
expire will be required to file a new application, fee, and resubmit 
all documentation necessary to meet the standards for licensure in 
effect at the time of reapplication. Applicants reapplying must 
fulfill any deficiencies that are the result of changes to requirements 
that may have been implemented between former and current 
application.  

(8) An applicant must notify the Board immediately, but not 
less than within 30 days, if any information submitted on the appli-
cation changes, including but not limited to: name, address, email 
address, telephone number, complaints, disciplinary actions, litiga-
tion, criminal involvement, and employment investigations which 
results in disciplinary action.  Failure to do so may be grounds for 
denial of the application or revocation of the license, once issued. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
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Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 1-2011, f. 1-13-11, cert. ef. 
2-1-11; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-020-0021 
Methods of Application 

(1) Applications for licensure must indicate one of the follow-
ing: 

(a) Intern registration method pursuant to OAR 833 Division 
50;  

(b) Direct method pursuant to OAR 833-020-0041;  
(c) Reciprocity method pursuant to OAR 833-020-0051;  
(d) Re-licensure method pursuant to OAR 833-020-0061; or  
(e) Reapplication method pursuant to OAR 833-020-0071.  
(2) Applicants may request permission to change their method 

of application or license requested without re-application if they do 
so within the year allowed to complete application.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 1-2012, f. 4-23-12, cert. ef. 
5-15-12; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-020-0041 
Direct Method 

(1) The direct method is required for applicants who seek 
acceptance of supervised clinical experience completed in another 
jurisdiction or in Oregon before June 30, 2002.  

(2) The direct method requires the applicant to document no 
less than the total minimum number of supervised clinical 
experience hours required for licensure, all of which must have 
been completed prior to the date of application for licensure.  

(3) Applicants seeking licensure as a professional counselor 
must meet the requirements specified in OAR 833, division 30.  

(4) Applicants seeking licensure as a marriage and family 
therapist must meet the requirements specified in OAR 833, 
division 40.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-020-0051 
Reciprocity Method 

(1) The reciprocity method is for applicants who seek accep-
tance of education and supervised clinical experience previously 
used to obtain a comparable license in another jurisdiction. The 
reciprocity method requires the applicant to document that the edu-
cation and experience requirements under which the applicant 
obtained a comparable license held in another state are equivalent 
to the standards required for Oregon licensure as a professional 
counselor or as a marriage and family therapist.  

(2) Applicants for licensure by reciprocity must possess a cur-
rent, active license to practice professional counseling or marriage 
and family therapy issued by another state credentialing entity. The 
Board will compare the minimum standards in effect in the other 
jurisdiction when it granted a license with the current education, 
clinical experience, and examination standards required for Oregon 
licensure.  

(3) Application for licensure must be submitted to the Board 
office in accordance with OAR 833-020-0011.  

(4) The application must also include an official verification 
of each healthcare professional license, registration or certification 
held, sent directly from the credentialing entity, that includes:  

(a) The license type and current status in that state;  
(b) Verification that the license is not temporary, probationary, 

expired, revoked, or suspended;  
(c) Any history of adverse licensure action (disciplines), 

including proposed actions; and  
(d) Documentation of the education, clinical experience, and 

examination requirements for licensure in that state at the time 
licensure was granted (if applicable).  

(5) To be considered equivalent, the applicant’s license in the 
state upon which reciprocity is based must have:  

(a) Required at least a graduate degree in counseling, a 
graduate degree in marriage and family therapy, or a related 
degree. A related degree must have systemic coursework for a 
license as a marriage and family therapist;  

(b) Been issued to an applicant whose qualifying degree meets 
the educational requirements specified in: 

(A) OAR 833-030-0011 for licensure as a professional coun-
selor; or 

(B) OAR 833-040-0011 for licensure as a marriage and family 
therapist. 

(c) Required passage of a state or national competency exam; 
and  

(d) Been obtained by a method of application that involved 
state review of documentation of education and clinical experience 
under adopted standards, and not obtained through reciprocity; act 
of portability; mutual recognition; recognition of non-governmental, 
professional certification or membership; waiver of any of the edu-
cation, experience, or examination requirements; or “grandparent-
ing".  

(6) The applicant must meet the supervised clinical experience 
requirements specified in: 

(a) OAR 833-030-0021 for licensure as a professional coun-
selor; or 

(b) OAR 833-040-0021 for licensure as a marriage and family 
therapist.  

(7) The applicant must meet the examination requirements 
specified in:  

(a) OAR 833-020-0081 and 833-030-0041 for licensure as a 
professional counselor; or  

(b) OAR 833-020-0081 and 833-040-0041 for licensure as a 
marriage and family therapist.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10; BLPCT 1-2011, f. 1-13-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11; BLPCT 1-2013, f. 1-11-13, 
cert. ef. 2-1-13; BLPCT 1-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-14; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-10-16 

833-020-0061 
Re-Licensure Method 

(1) The re-licensure method is required for applicants who 
have previously been licensed by the Board. The re-licensure 
method requires the applicant, as a previous Board licensee, to 
request a new license with a new license number, but without doc-
umenting further supervised clinical experience.  

(2) To be considered for re-licensure, all of the following 
items must be received from an applicant no more than two years 
from the expiration date of the prior license:  

(a) An application for re-licensure, using forms provided by 
the Board that must include a sworn statement that there is no 
reason for denial, including that applicant:  

(A) Has not been subject to any disciplinary action by a pro-
fessional mental health licensing or certification agency; and  

(B) Has not been convicted of a crime related to practice 
within the mental health field.  

(b) The current application fee plus one current annual 
renewal fee;  

(c) Updated professional disclosure statement, statement that 
the applicant is not currently practicing professional counseling or 
marriage and family therapy, or request for waiver of the 
professional disclosure statement; and  

(d) Report at least the minimum continuing education activities 
required in OAR Chapter 833, Division 80 completed within two 
years prior to the date the Board will receive the new application.  

(3) To be considered for re-licensure more than two years 
after the expiration date of the prior license, all of the following 
items must be received from an applicant:  

(a) A new application, using forms provided by the Board, to 
show compliance with the standards in effect at the time the Board 
will receive this new application;  
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(b) The application fee;  
(c) Proposed professional disclosure statement, statement that 

applicant is not currently practicing professional counseling or 
marriage and family therapy, or request for waiver of the 
professional disclosure statement; and  

(d) Request for examination or proof of passage of a compe-
tency examination acceptable to the Board which was passed 
within 10 years of date of new application.  

(4) All applicants for re-licensure must successfully pass the 
current Oregon law and rules examination. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-020-0071 
Reapplication 

(1) Former applicants who reapply for licensure must submit a 
new, fully completed application form and application fee to the 
Board.  

(2) Applicants may request to transfer previously filed docu-
ments to the new application file if the documents have not been 
destroyed under state records retention schedules and are still in the 
possession of the Board. Such documents include, but are not 
limited to, documentation of supervised work experience, exami-
nation results, and transcripts.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef.  
10-10-16 

833-020-0081 
Examination 

(1) All applicants must pass a competency exam and an 
Oregon law and rules exam approved by the Board.  

(2) Applicants who have passed the competency exam within 
10 years prior to applying for licensure are not required to retake 
the exam.  

(3) Applicants applying by the reciprocity method who have 
passed the exam 10 years or more prior to applying for licensure in 
Oregon must:  

(a) Retake the exam; or  
(b) Document a minimum of 40 clock hours of continuing 

education in the core curriculum areas specified in OAR 833, divi-
sion 60. Continuing education that substitutes for passage of the 
exam must be completed within two years prior to licensure.  

(4) For all application methods except for intern registration, 
failure to document passage of an acceptable competency examina-
tion or failure to register and attempt to pass the competency exam-
ination at least once per year will result in denial of licensure.  

(5) Registered interns, after meeting the experience require-
ments for licensure, must register and attempt to pass the 
competency examination at least once per year, and must pass the 
competency exam within two years. Failure to comply with this 
rule will result in denial of licensure and termination of internship 
registration. The Board will only approve a subsequent reapplication 
under the direct method. 

(6) Failure to achieve a passing score on the competency 
examination after taking the exam three times will result in denial 
of licensure.  The Board will not review a reapplication until at 
least one year has elapsed from the date of the previous denial.  

(7) Applicants must complete and return the Oregon law and 
rules examination within 30 days of the date the Board sends the 
examination to the applicant. Failure to complete and return the 
examination to the Board office will result in closure of the appli-
cation. To be considered for licensure, the person must reapply pur-
suant to OAR 833-020-0071. 

(8) The Board may extend the deadline to take an exam for 
good cause upon written request of the applicant, which must be 
received or postmarked prior to the exam deadline. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 

Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 

1-1-11; BLPCT 1-2013, f. 1-11-13, cert. ef. 2-1-13; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. 

ef. 10-10-16
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DIVISION 30 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSED  
PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR 

833-030-0011 
Educational Requirements for Licensure as a Professional 
Counselor 

To qualify for licensure as a professional counselor under 
ORS 675.715(1)(b), an applicant must hold a graduate degree from 
one of the following:  

(1) A counseling program approved by the Council for 
Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs 
(CACREP) as of the date the degree was conferred;  

(2) A counseling program approved by the Council on Reha-
bilitation Education (CORE) as of the date the degree was con-
ferred; 

(3) A program at an institution of higher learning that was 
accredited by a regional accrediting agency as of the date the 
degree was conferred; or  

(4) A foreign program that has been evaluated by a credentialing 
body recognized by the Board. Submission of foreign degree eval-
uation and cost of the foreign degree qualification determination 
are the responsibility of the applicant. 

(5) A graduate degree under sections (1) or (2) must have 
included at least two semester credit hours or three credit quarter 
hours of coursework in the diagnosis of mental disorders. 

(6) A graduate degree under sections (3) or (4) must have 
included all of the following requirements: 

(a) At least two years in duration, including at least: 
(A) 48 semester credit hours or 72 quarter hours for graduate 

degrees granted before October 1, 2014; or  
(B) 60 semester credit hours or 90 quarter credit hours for 

graduate degrees granted on or after October 1, 2014. 
(b) At least two semester credit hours or three credit quarter 

hours in each of the following coursework: 
(A) Counseling Theory;  
(B) Human Growth and Development;  
(C) Social and Cultural Foundations;  
(D) The Helping Relationship;  
(E) Group Dynamics Processing and Counseling;  
(F) Lifestyle and Career Development;  
(G) Diagnosis of mental disorders;  
(H) Research and Evaluation; and 
(I) Professional Orientation (Ethics). 
(c) At least 16 semester hours or 24 quarter hours of 

supporting coursework for specialty areas; and 
(d) A supervised clinical practicum or internship experience 

that: 
(A) Included at least 600 total clock hours, including 240 

direct client contact hours, for graduate degrees granted before 
October 1, 2014;  

(B) Included at least 700 total clock hours, including 280 
direct client contact hours, for graduate degrees granted on or after 
October 1, 2014;  

(C) Had supervisory staff with a minimum of a master’s 
degree in the program emphasis and with pertinent professional 
experience; 

(D) Made provision for faculty monitoring of operations;  
(E) Kept records of student-client contact hours including 

summary of student progress by the supervisor;  
(F) Had a written agreement with the program and student 

specifying learning objectives; and  
(G) Had a mechanism for program evaluation. 
(e) Deficiencies in the credit hour requirements of sections 

(a), (b) or (c) may be remedied by completing graduate level 
coursework in the deficient area(s) at a regionally accredited insti-
tution. 

(f) For reciprocity applicants only, five years or more of 
licensed clinical experience in another state may substitute for a 
maximum of 15 semester or 20 quarter credits of academic 
education required for licensure. Clinical experience may not sub-

stitute for diagnosis 
training. 

(g) Deficiencies in the supervised experience requirement of 
section (d) may be remedied by completion of: 

(A) At least 700 clock hours of supervised clinical experience, 
including 280 direct client contact hours; or 

(B) At least five years of full-time post-degree clinical experi-
ence. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef.  
10-10-16 

833-030-0021 
Experience Requirements for Licensure as a Professional 
Counselor 

(1) To qualify for licensure as a professional counselor under 
ORS 675.715(1)(c)and 675.720, an applicant must have completed 
at least three years, defined as 36 months, of supervised clinical 
counseling experience. 

(2) To qualify for licensure through the internship registration 
method, supervised clinical experience must meet the requirements 
of OAR Chapter 833, Divisions 50 and 130. 

(3) To qualify for licensure through direct method, supervised 
clinical experience must have consisted of no less than 2,400 
supervised direct client contact hours of counseling. The supervised 
clinical counseling experience must have included any combination 
of the following:  

(a) Post-graduate degree supervised experience completed in 
Oregon prior to June 30, 2002;  

(b) Post-graduate degree supervised experience completed in 
another jurisdiction pursuant to the jurisdiction’s laws and rules;  

(c) Experience completed while a registered intern with the 
Board; or 

(d) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience 
and 400 hours of supervised direct client contact completed during 
the clinical portion of the qualifying graduate degree program. 

(4) To qualify for licensure through the reciprocity method, 
supervised clinical experience must have consisted of no less than 
2,400 hours of supervised post-graduate experience: 

(a) A minimum of 1,200 hours of the required 2,400 must be 
direct client contact;  

(b) A maximum of 1,200 hours of the required 2,400 may be 
from supervision, consulting, reporting. 

(c) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience 
and 400 hours of supervised direct client contact may have been 
completed during the clinical portion of the qualifying graduate 
degree program; 

(d) Five or more years of post-license clinical experience may 
substitute for 1,000 hours of required supervised direct client con-
tact. 

(5) Direct client contact hours must have been face to face 
with a client or clients and/or contact via electronic communication 
consistent with OAR Chapter 833, Division 90. 

(6) For direct and reciprocity methods, the experience must be 
a formal arrangement under the supervision of a person who holds 
a graduate-level state-issued license or registration, as a professional 
counselor or equivalent as determined by the Board such as a 
clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, or marriage and 
family therapist. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10; BLPCT 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-14; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-
10-16 

833-030-0041 
Examination Requirement for Licensure as a Professional 
Counselor 

(1) All applicants for licensure as a professional counselor 
must pass a competency examination and an Oregon law and rules 
examination pursuant to OAR 833-020-0081.  
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(2) To qualify for licensure as a professional counselor under 
ORS 675.715(1)(d), an applicant must pass, or have passed within 
ten years prior to the date the application was received by the 
Board, one of the following competency examinations:  

(a) National Counselor Examination;  
(b) National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination; 

or 
(c) Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination.  
(3) Applicants applying via the reciprocity method may meet 

the competency exam requirements specified in 833-020-0081.  
(4) To qualify to sit for the competency examination, a LPC 

applicant must:  
(a) Submit an application; and  
(b) Meet the graduate program and coursework requirements 

in OAR 833-030-0011.  
(5) Candidates will pay exam and exam administration fees to 

the prescribed examination providers.  
(6) Passing scores will be:  
(a) Established by the National Board of Certified Counselors 

for applicants who plan to take the exam after applying for Oregon 
licensure.  

(b) Established by the agency verifying passage of its exami-
nation for applicants who took a state competency exam before 
applying for Oregon licensure.  

(7) The Board will notify examinees in writing of the results 
of their examination.  

(8) Following passage of the approved competency examina-
tion, the Board requires passage of an Oregon state law and rules 
examination with a passing score determined by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 1-2013, f. 1-11-13, cert. ef. 
2-1-13; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-030-0051 
Documentation of Requirements for Licensure as a 
Professional Counselor 

Applicants for licensure as a professional counselor must doc-
ument meeting the requirements for licensure as follows: 

(1) Educational requirements by official transcript, and by a 
completed graduate degree standards form with required attachments 
if supporting documentation is necessary; 

(2) Experience requirements by submission of attestations 
from employers or supervisors regarding the setting, hours of expe-
rience and supervision received, and background and training of 
supervisor; and  

(3) Examination requirement by submission of verification an 
approved examination was taken and passed by the approved 
testing, licensing, or certification organization, or passage of the 
state examination. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

DIVISION 40 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSED MARRIAGE  
AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

833-040-0011 
Educational Requirements for Licensure as a Marriage and 
Family Therapist 

To qualify for licensure as a marriage and family therapist 
under ORS 675.715(1)(b), an applicant must hold a graduate 
degree from one of the following:  

(1) A marriage and family therapy program approved by the 
Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy 
Education (COAMFTE) or a marital and family therapy program 
fully accredited by the Counsel for Accreditation of Counseling 
and Related Educational Programs (CACREP); 

(2) A program at an institution of higher learning that was 
accredited by a regional accrediting agency as of the date the 
degree was conferred; or  

(3) A foreign program that has been evaluated by a credentialing 
body recognized by the Board. Submission of foreign degree eval-
uation and cost of the foreign degree qualification determination 
are the responsibility of the applicant. 

(4) A graduate degree under section (1) must have included at 
least two semester credit hours or three credit quarter hours of 
coursework in the diagnosis of mental disorders. 

(5) A graduate degree under sections (2) or (3) must have 
included all of the following requirements: 

(a) For graduate degrees granted before October 1, 2014: 
(A) At least two years in duration, including at least 48 

semester credit hours or 72 quarter credit hours; 
(B) At minimum, the following coursework: 
(i) Human Development- four semester hours or six quarter 

hours;  
(ii) Marital and Family Theoretical Foundation Studies- two 

semester hours or three quarter hours;  
(iii) Marital and Family Therapy Diagnosis and Assessment, 

Treatment, Principles and Techniques Studies- eight semester 
hours or 12 quarter hours;  

(iv) Professional Studies- two semester hours or three quarter 
hours;  

(v) Research Methods or Statistics- two semester hours or 
three quarter hours;  

(vi) Supporting Coursework Focusing on the Systems Paradigm 
for Specialty Areas- 16 semester hours or 24 quarter hours; and 

(C) A supervised clinical practicum or internship experience 
of at least 600 clock hours, including 240 direct client contact 
hours. 

(b) For graduate degrees granted on or after October 1, 2014:  
(A) At least two years in duration, including at least 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate-level credit; 
(B) At minimum, the following graduate-level coursework: 
(i) Individual and Family Development- four semester hours 

or six quarter hours;  
(ii) Couple and Family Theoretical Foundation Studies- six 

semester hours or nine quarter hours;  
(iii) Couple and Family Therapy, Treatment, and Techniques 

Studies- six semester hours or nine quarter hours;  
(iv) Diagnosis of mental disorders- two semester hours or 

three quarter hours;  
(v) Diversity studies that include issues related to diversity, 

power and privilege- two semester hours or three quarter hours; 
(vi) Ethical and Professional Studies- two semester hours or 

three quarter hours;  
(vii) Research Methods or Statistics- two semester hours or 

three quarter hours;  
(viii) Supporting coursework focusing on counseling and/or 

systems approaches- 36 semester hours or 54 quarter hours; and 
(C) A supervised clinical practicum or internship experience 

of at least 700 clock hours with 280 hours of direct client contact. 
(c) The program’s clinical practicum or internship experience 

must have:  
(A) Had supervisory staff with a minimum of a master’s 

degree in the program emphasis and with pertinent professional 
experience; 

(B) Made provision for faculty monitoring of operations;  
(C) Kept records of student-client contact hours including 

summary of student progress by the supervisor;  
(D) Had a written agreement with the program and student 

specifying learning objectives; and  
(E) Had a mechanism for program evaluation. 
(e) Deficiencies in the credit hour requirements of sections 

(a), (b) or (c) may be remedied by completing graduate level 
coursework in the deficient area(s) at a regionally accredited insti-
tution. 

(f) Deficiencies in the supervised experience requirement of 
section (d) may be remedied by completion of: 
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(A) At least 700 clock hours of supervised clinical experience, 
including 280 direct client contact hours; or 

(B) At least five years of full-time post-degree clinical experi-
ence, the majority of which must consist of work in relationship 
issues. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef.  
10-10-16 

833-040-0021 
Experience Requirements for Licensure as a Marriage and 
Family Therapist 

(1) To qualify for licensure as a marriage and family therapist 
under ORS 675.715(1)(c) and 675.720, an applicant must have 
completed at least three years, defined as 36 months, of supervised 
clinical experience. 

(2) To qualify for licensure through the internship registration 
method, supervised clinical experience must meet the requirements 
of OAR Chapter 833, Divisions 50 and 130. 

(3) To qualify for licensure through direct method, supervised 
clinical experience must have:  

(a) For those that apply to become a licensed marriage and 
family therapist before January 2, 2014, consisted of no less than 
2,000 supervised direct client contact hours of therapy with at least 
1,000 of those hours working with couples and families.  

(b) For those who apply to become a licensed marriage and 
family therapist on or after January 2, 2014, consisted of no less 
than 2,400 supervised direct client contact hours of therapy with at 
least 1,000 of those hours working with couples and families.  

(c) Included any combination of the following:  
(A) Post-graduate degree supervised experience completed in 

Oregon prior to June 30, 2002;  
(B) Post-graduate degree supervised experience completed in 

another jurisdiction pursuant to the jurisdiction’s laws and rules;  
(C) Experience completed while a registered intern with the 

Board; or  
(D) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience 

and 400 hours of supervised direct client contact completed during 
the clinical portion of the qualifying graduate degree program. 

(4) To qualify for licensure through the reciprocity method, 
supervised clinical experience must have consisted of no less than 
2,400 hours of supervised post-graduate experience: 

(a) A minimum of 1,200 hours of the required 2,400 must be 
direct client contact;  

(b) A maximum of 1,200 hours of the required 2,400 may be 
from supervision, consulting, reporting. 

(c) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience 
and 400 hours of supervised direct client contact may have been 
completed during the clinical portion of the qualifying graduate 
degree program; 

(d) Five or more years of post-license clinical experience may 
substitute for 1,000 hours of required supervised direct client con-
tact. 

(5) Direct client contact hours must have been face to face 
with a client or clients and/or contact via electronic communication 
consistent with OAR Chapter 833, Division 90. 

(6) For direct and reciprocity methods, the experience must be 
a formal arrangement under the supervision of a person who is 
trained specifically in the systemic approach to couples and family 
therapy and holds a graduate-level state-issued license or registration, 
as a marriage and family therapist or equivalent as determined by 
the Board such as a clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, or 
professional counselor. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10; BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; BLPCT 1-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-8-14; BLPCT 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-14; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 
10-10-16 

833-040-0031 
Supervision of Direct Client Contact Hours 

(1) For those applying for licensure through the direct or 
reciprocity methods, supervision must:  

equivalent certification or license as determined by the Board, 
such as that required for clinical psychologists, clinical social 
workers and professional counselors; and  

(A) Been trained specifically in the systemic approach to cou-
ples and family therapy;  

(B) Completed a minimum of five (5) years of clinical experi-
ence; and  

(C) For any supervision hours after June 30, 1992, completed 
thirty (30) clock hours of training in supervision theory and 
practice in post-master’s academic coursework or equivalent 
training, as determined by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10 

833-040-0041 
Examination Requirement for Licensure as a Marriage and 
Family Therapist 

(1) All applicants for licensure as a marriage and family ther-
apist must pass a competency examination and an Oregon law and 
rules examination pursuant to OAR 833-020-0081.  

(2) To qualify for licensure as a marriage and family therapist 
under ORS 675.715(1)(d), an applicant must pass, or have passed 
within ten years prior to the date the application was received by 
the Board, a competency examination.  

(3) The Board prescribes as the competency examination the 
marital and family therapy examination of the Association of 
Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB).  

(4) Applicants applying via the reciprocity method may meet 
the competency exam requirements specified in 833-020-0081.  

(5) To qualify to sit for the competency examination, a LMFT 
applicant must:  

(a) Submit an application; and  
(b) Meet the graduate program and coursework requirements 

prescribed in OAR 833-040-0011.  
(6) Candidates will pay exam and exam administration fees to 

the prescribed examination providers.  
(7) Passing scores will be:  
(a) Established by the AMFTRB for applicants who plan to 

take the exam after making application for Oregon licensure; or  
(b) Established by the agency verifying passage of its exami-

nation for applicants who have completed an approved alternative 
examination.  

(8) The Board will notify examinees in writing of the results 
of their examination.  

(9) Following passage of the approved competency examina-
tion, the Board requires passage of an Oregon state law and rules 
examination, with a passing score as determined by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10; BLPCT 1-2013, f. 1-11-13, cert. ef. 2-1-13; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-10-16 

833-040-0051 
Documentation of Requirements for Licensure as a Marriage 
and Family Therapist 

Applicants for licensure as a marriage and family therapist 
must document meeting the requirements for licensure as follows:  

(1) Educational requirements by official transcript, and by a 
completed graduate degree standards form with required attachments 
if supporting documentation is necessary; 

(2) Experience requirements by submission of attestations 
from employers or supervisors regarding the setting, hours of expe-
rience and supervision received, and background and training of 
supervisor; and 

(3) Examination requirement by submission of verification 
that an examination was taken and passed by the approved testing, 
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licensing, or certification organization, passage of the state exami-
nation.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

DIVISION 50 

REGISTERED INTERNS 

833-050-0011 
Intern Registration Method 

The intern registration method is required for applicants who 
seek acceptance of post-degree supervised clinical experience 
completed in Oregon after June 30, 2002. The intern registration 
method requires applicant to obtain Board approval of an internship 
plan for completing required supervised direct client contact.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10 

833-050-0021 
Application for Registration as Intern 

(1) An applicant for registration must:  
(a) Meet all registration requirements in effect at the time the 

application is submitted;  
(b) Request registration on Board approved forms;  
(c) Submit a professional disclosure statement for board 

approval as part of his or her application;  
(d) Submit an application fee as specified in OAR 833-070-

0011;  
(e) Meet the educational requirements for licensure according 

to OAR 833-030-0011 (LPC Intern) and/or 833-040-0011 (LMFT 
Intern);  

(f) Agree to complete supervised clinical experience hours to 
meet the total number of hours required for licensure; and  

(g) Abide by the Board’s laws and rules.  
(2) Applicants for professional counselor and marriage and 

family therapist must pay a fee for each license.  
(3) Internship status is a transitional step toward licensure and 

is not intended as a means to avoid licensure.  Applicants approved 
for registration as an intern will have five years to complete the 
supervised direct client contact hours necessary for licensure or for 
examination. Failure to meet the experience requirements for licen-
sure within five years will result in expiration of registration and 
closure of the application file.  The intern may petition the Board to 
allow extension of registration for up to one year beyond the maxi-
mum five years if he/she can show good cause for such extension.  

(4) Former applicants who re-apply may transfer direct client 
contact hours accrued under a board-approved plan to their new 
plan.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10; BLPCT 2-2015, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-15; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-
10-16 

833-050-0031 
Registered Intern Professional Disclosure Statement 

(1) Registered interns must furnish clients with a copy of a 
Board-approved professional disclosure statement before providing 
counseling or therapy.  

(2) A professional disclosure statement must include the fol-
lowing information about the intern:  

(a) Name, business address and telephone number;  
(b) Name of the intern’s supervisor(s);  
(c) Philosophy and approach to counseling or marriage and 

family therapy, including reference to any codes of standards or 
ethics to which the intern subscribes;  

(d) Formal education and training, title of highest relevant 
degree, the school that granted the degree, and major coursework;  

(e) Supervision requirements;  

(f) A statement indicating adherence to the Oregon Licensing 
Board’s Code of Ethics set forth in OAR Chapter 833, Division 
100;  

(g) The standard fee for service, including discounted rates or 
sliding scale and a statement that no fees will be charged and no 
additional fee will be added to another set fee such as a hospital 
room daily charge;  

(h) The bill of rights of clients listed in OAR 833-100-0021 
the Code of Ethics;  

(i) The name, address, telephone number, and email address 
of the Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and 
Therapists; and  

(j) A statement indicating the following: “Additional informa-
tion about this registered intern is available on the Board’s website: 
www.oregon.gov/oblpct.”  

(3) The professional disclosure statement must be accessible 
to people with disabilities.  

(4) Registered interns will assist their clients to understand the 
information in the professional disclosure statement.  

(5) Whenever an intern changes the professional disclosure 
statement, the new statement must be provided to the board for 
approval.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2012, f. 9-5-12, cert. ef. 
10-1-12; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-050-0041 
Intern Professional Disclosure Statement Waiver 

The Board may grant exemptions from requirements of pro-
fessional disclosure statements. Requests for exemption must be in 
writing to the Board and have received written approval from the 
Board. The Board may grant exemptions from providing a profes-
sional disclosure statement if:  

(1) Registered intern can satisfy the Board that there is good 
cause to be exempt from specific requirements; or 

(2) The intern is providing crisis response counseling or 
therapy.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-
16 

833-050-0051 
Intern Registration Plan 

(1) Applicants for intern registration must submit an intern 
plan in the form and manner required by the Board.  

(2) The intern plan must include information to show how 
supervised clinical experience hours will be accrued and that the 
activities will meet Board requirements for professional counselor 
and/or marriage and family therapist. The intern plan will include:  

(a) Name, addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses 
of the parties: intern, supervisor(s), and intern’s employer(s) if 
applicable;  

(b) Description of clinical experience: where counseling/therapy 
will be performed, where supervision will be provided, activities or 
services performed by intern, content of supervision;  

(c) How the intern will meet licensure requirements;  
(d) Responsibilities of all parties;  
(e) Agreement of the supervisor, administrator of agency or 

employer of the intern, and the intern  
(f) Signatures of all parties; and 
(g) The fee for supervision, if any.  If the supervisor is to be 

paid for supervision, then payment must be in the form of a per-
hour fee.  

(3) An approved intern plan may cover up to three separate 
practices, such as private practice and employment by two different, 
autonomous programs.  

(4) To maintain registration, the intern must meet the conditions 
in the approved plan.  

(5) The intern must carry out the registration plan as approved. 
Changes to the plan must be approved by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 

Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 

5-3-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-050-0061 

Effective Dates of Intern Registration 

(1) Initial registration as an intern will be effective when 

applicant completes the registration process that includes approval 

of completed request and internship plan.  

(2) An intern must practice under supervision until all license 

requirements are met and the license is issued. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 

Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 6-11-

14; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16

833-050-0071 
Direct Client Contact 

(1) Registered interns must complete at least three years, 
defined as 36 months, of supervised clinical experience which 
must include no less than 2,400 hours of supervised direct client 
contact to qualify for licensure.  

(a) Registered interns must complete at least 1,000 of the 
required 2,400 hours direct client contact while in a Board-
approved intern work plan.  

(b) Registered interns may count direct client contact hours 
acquired outside a registered intern plan as follows:  

(A) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience 
and 400 direct client contact hours accrued as part of a graduate 
degree internship;  

(B) Post-graduate degree supervised direct client contact 
hours completed in Oregon prior to June 30, 2002; and  

(C) Post-graduate degree supervised direct client contact 
hours completed in another jurisdiction pursuant to the jurisdiction’s 
laws and rules that meet the direct application method experience 
requirements.  

(2) Applicants for LMFT must accrue 2,400 hours of 
supervised direct client contact with at least 1,000 of those hours 
working with couples and families to qualify for licensure.  

(3) Applications for dual licensure as professional counselor 
and marriage and family therapist must meet the requirements for 
both licenses.  

(4) Direct client contact must be face to face with a client or 
clients and/or contact via electronic communication consistent 
with OAR 833 division 90.  

(5) Registered interns must receive and document supervision 
for and report all direct client contact hours at places of practice 
listed as part of their Board-approved plan.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-14; 
BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-050-0081 
Supervision 

(1) Supervision of direct client contact must take place within 
the same calendar month as the completed direct client contact 
hours.  

(2) Supervision meetings must take place at least twice per 
month, and in different weeks.  

(3) Supervision meetings must be no less than one hour.  
(4) Supervision each month must total at least:  
(a) Two (2) hours for months in which 45 or fewer hours of 

direct client contact are completed; or  
(b) Three (3) hours for months in which 46 or more hours of 

direct client contact are completed.  
(5) In addition to all other reporting requirements, during the 

first three months of supervision:  
(a) At least 25% of the reported monthly supervision hours 

must be conducted in a professional setting, and in person.  
(b) Up to 75% of the reported monthly supervision hours may 

be conducted through confidential electronic communications.  
(6) For the remaining required supervision hours:  
(a) At least 25% of the remaining reported supervision hours 

must be conducted in a professional setting and in person;  
(b) Up to 75% of the remaining reported supervision hours 

may be conducted through confidential electronic communications.  
(7) At least 50% of the required number of monthly supervision 

hours must be individual supervision 1-to-1.  
(8) Group supervision must meet the following requirements 

at each meeting.  
(a) Include no more than six (6) supervisees;  
(b) Have leadership that does not shift from one supervisor to 

another; and  
(c) Not be a staff or team meeting, intensive training seminar, 

discussion group, consultation session, or quality assurance or 
review group.  
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(9) If in any month an intern does not receive the minimum 
supervision hours required, no client contact hours would be 
credited for that month.  

(10) An approved plan for a single practice, such as private 
practice or employment by one agency offering services at one or 
more sites, may have no more than two supervisors at any given 
time.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10; BLPCT 5-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-
10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; BLPCT 2-2013, f. 8-7-13, cert. ef. 8-15-13; BLPCT 4-2016, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-050-0091 
Supervisor’s Responsibilities 

(1) The supervisor must:  
(a) Review and evaluate appropriateness of client population 

and caseload, individual charts, case records and management, 
diagnostic evaluation and treatment planning, and methodologies 
for keeping client confidentiality. 

(b) Recommend that the intern refer clients to other therapists 
when client needs are outside the intern’s scope of practice. 

(c) Ensure that letterhead, business cards, advertisements and 
directory listings, brochures, and any other representation includes 
the appropriate title as described in OAR 833-050-0111(1)(a) and 
the supervisor’s name and designation as “supervisor.” 

(d) Assist the intern in developing a plan to prepare for and 
complete the competency exam in a timely manner. 

(e) Notify the Board within 14 days and explain any significant 
interruption to supervision or expected termination of the supervisory 
relationship. 

(f) Create and maintain for at least three years a record of 
hours of supervision and notes for each supervision session con-
temporaneously as supervision occurs, and provide it to the Board 
within fourteen days of request. 

(g) Be someone other than a spouse or relative by blood or 
marriage or a person with whom the intern has or had a personal 
relationship. 

(h) Meet registered intern supervisor qualifications as required 
in OAR Chapter 833, Division 130.  

(i) Submit a written evaluation of the intern’s skills and 
progress every six months and at the conclusion of the plan. The 
report must include progress toward completion of the intern’s 
plan. Supervisors may report to the Board at any time deemed nec-
essary. Reports must be submitted on forms provided by the Board; 

(2) If a supervisor has professional or ethical concerns about a 
supervisee being licensed, the supervisor must promptly notify the 
Board and provide the following information:  

(a) Specific concerns regarding conduct or performance;  
(b) Steps taken to address the concerns;  
(c) A remedial action plan with measureable outcomes to 

address the concerns; and  
(d) The intern’s progress to address the concerns expressed by 

the supervisor.  
(3) The Board may take any or all of the following actions to 

address concerns about registered interns:  
(a) Identify a new supervisor to work with the intern;  
(b) Require an assessment of the intern’s mental and/or 

physical health;  
(c) Require the intern to seek personal therapy;  
(d) Extend the internship;  
(e) Require additional training for the intern;  
(f) Place internship on hold; or  
(g) Deny the intern a license.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-
16 

833-050-0111 
Intern’s Responsibilities 

(1) The intern must: 

(a) Indicate registration and use the title “registered intern", 
“LPC intern", or “LMFT intern” in connection with a practice that 
is covered by an approved plan. All signed materials, letterhead, 
business cards, advertisements and directory listings, brochures, 
and any other representation must include the intern’s appropriate 
title and the supervisor’s name and designation as “supervisor”. 

(b) Take steps to ensure consistency in supervision throughout 
the internship. 

(c) Provide the supervisor with a periodic evaluation of all 
cases and counseling or therapy activities in which the intern is 
engaged. 

(d) Request approval from the Board to change supervisors 
more than three times during the internship and provide steps taken 
to ensure consistency when changing supervisors. 

(e) Submit to the Board reports that include the hours of direct 
client contact accrued by month for the six-month period.  

(A) Reports of direct client contact hours and supervisor eval-
uation are due in the month following each six-month reporting 
period.  

(B) If the Board receives the report after the due date, all 
hours submitted in the report will be denied.  

(C) The Board may consider exceptions to this rule with doc-
umentation of extraordinary circumstances.  

(f) Notify the Board within 14 days and explain any interrup-
tions or proposed termination of supervision or employment.  

(2) The intern must submit a written request on a board 
approved form to the Board in order to change the intern plan. 
Approval of the following changes to the plan are required:  

(a) Supervision;  
(b) Employment;  
(c) Practice locations; and  
(d) Supervisor(s).  
(3) A registered intern who files a request to change the 

internship plan must meet Board requirements in place at the time 
of the change request. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-
16 

833-050-0131 
Intern Registration Renewal 

(1) An intern must renew registration annually each year fol-
lowing initial registration.  Annual renewal is due by the first day 
of the month of initial registration to be considered timely.  

(2) Registration renewal requires the intern to provide to the 
Board a renewal fee as established in OAR 833-070-0011, renewal 
forms, and an updated Professional Disclosure Statement if there 
have been changes.  

(3) Late Renewal.  An intern may renew a registration after 
the first day of the month but within the renewal month by, in addi-
tion to completing the requirement in section (2) above, submitting 
to the Board the required delinquent fee. If these are not timely 
submitted, then the internship will be expired. Expired interns must 
reapply pursuant to OAR 833-020-0071 in order to practice as an 
intern or be considered for licensure. 

(4) Renewal may be denied if any of the conditions of the plan 
are not being met.  

(5) Interns must renew registration annually until being 
granted a license or the expiration or denial of intern registration. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 6-11-
14; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-050-0141 
Placing Internship on Hold 

(1) Intern may request to place internship on hold for up to 90 
days by submitting a written request to the board with explanation 
of need for being on hold. 

(2) Intern must notify the Board within 10 days, in writing, of 
a plan to return to practice. 
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(3) If after 90 days, the intern does not submit a plan to return 
to practice, the internship will expire. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-050-0151 
Termination of Intern Registration Plan 

A registered intern may voluntarily resign registration. A 
resigned registration will constitute withdrawal of application for 
licensure. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-050-0161 
Current Information to Board 

(1) All registered interns must provide current contact infor-
mation to the Board, including:  

(a) Physical residence address and post office box, if applicable;  
(b) Electronic mail address;  
(c) Home and work telephone numbers; and  
(d) An updated, current Professional Disclosure Statement 

being provided to clients as required above.  
(2) Intern must inform the Board office in writing of any 

changes to information within 30 days of the change.  
(3) Interns must submit a change of name form provided by 

the Board, accompanied by a copy of the legal document showing 
the name change, within 30 days of the change. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef.  
10-10-16 

DIVISION 70 

FEES 

833-070-0011 
Fees 

Fees established by the Board of Licensed Professional Coun-
selors and Therapists are as follows:  

(1) Application for licensure — $175; applicants are also 
required to pay the actual cost to the Board to conduct a criminal 
background check.  

(2) Initial license — $125.  
(3) Annual renewal of license:  
(a) Active status license — $125; or  
(b) Inactive status license — $100.  
(4) Restoration fees:  
(a) Delinquent fee for late renewals — $50; 
(b) Reactivation of inactive status license — $125. 
(5) Examination — Candidates will pay exam and exam 

administration fees to the prescribed examination providers.  
(6) Duplicate license or certificate of licensure — $5.  
(7) Verification of licensure or examination scores for applicant 

or licensee to other licensing or certifying agencies — $10.  
(8) Annual renewal of registration as intern in accordance 

with OAR 833-120-0011 — $80. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2010(Temp), f. 1-8-10, 
cert. ef. 1-11-10 thru 7-9-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; 
BLPCT 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-15; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-070-0021 
Fee Refunds 

Fees are nonrefundable, except that overpayment of fees or 
fees submitted as part of application before required will be refund-
ed. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef.  
10-10-16

833-070-0031 
Availability of Public Records 

(1) Members of the public may review all Board documents 
that are public records other than those records that need not be dis-
closed under law. These documents are on file in the Board’s office 
during regular working hours. Copies of public records are 
available to the public upon request. Charges for records will be 
payable in advance or when the materials are received. 

(2) Copies of documents: $.25 per page. 
(3) Documents and other materials will be provided at a fee 

reasonably calculated to reimburse the Board for actual costs 
incurred in making records available to the public. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

DIVISION 75 

GENERAL LICENSURE PROVISIONS 

833-075-0010 
Effective and Expiration Dates of Licenses 

(1) Initial licenses will be effective for no more than one year, 
expiring on the last day of licensee’s birth month.  

(2) Date of issue will be the date all qualifications for 
licensure are met.  

(3) Licenses will not be issued without payment of the 
required initial license or renewal fees.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-075-0020  
License Renewal/Late Renewal 

(1) Before the Board will renew a license, a licensee must, no 
more than 45 days before or during the renewal month:  

(a) Submit a completed renewal form provided by the Board 
which will include responses to all character and fitness questions 
and a sworn statement that there is no reason for denial of renewal; 

(b) Pay the appropriate renewal fee;  
(c) Submit continuing education information detailing com-

pliance with the requirements, if applicable;  
(d) Submit an updated professional disclosure statement, if 

there have been changes or if renewal information indicates that 
the one on file with the Board contains false, incomplete, outdated 
or misleading information; and 

(e) Complete the required healthcare workforce data survey 
and pay the fee established by the Oregon Health Authority 
pursuant to ORS 676.410. 

(2) Late Renewal.  A licensee may renew a license in the 
month following the renewal month by, in addition to completing 
the requirements of section (1) above, submitting to the Board the 
required delinquent fee.  If these are not timely submitted, then the 
license shall lapse. 

(3) The licensee holds the burden of proof of submission of 
the items required for renewal.  Failure to receive a courtesy 
reminder from the Board shall not relieve a licensee of the renewal 
requirements and consequences. 

(4) The Board shall have discretion to waive the delinquent 
fee in cases of documented hardship. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & ORS 676.410 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & ORS 676.410 
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-075-0030 
Inactive Status 

(1) Inactive status may be granted to licensees who have made 
a request in writing to the Board. Inactive licensees may not 
practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy in 
the State of Oregon, and are required to reactivate to active status 
in order to practice.  

(2) To reactivate a license from inactive status to active status, 
the licensee shall submit a written request and fee to the Board. 
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(a) The licensee must document completion of continuing 
education activities which at a minimum meet the requirements 
described in OAR Chapter 833, Division 80 within the 24 month 
period immediately preceding the requested date of reactivation. 

(b) If the license reactivation is to occur more than five years 
after inactive status was granted, the Board will not reactivate the 
license until the licensee retakes the Oregon law and rules exam 
and obtains a passing score.  

(c) The residual continuing education requirements from the 
date of reactivation to the end of the reporting period shall be cal-
culated on a prorated basis.   

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-075-0040 
Duplicate Licenses 

(1) Duplicate licenses or certificates may be obtained by:  
(a) Certifying, by signed statement, that the current license or 

certificate has been lost or destroyed; or  
(b) Requesting a duplicate for additional place(s) of business;  
(c) In either case, payment of the required fee.  
(2) Reproduction of a license or certificate by anyone other 

than Board staff for use as a license document or for display is pro-
hibited.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-075-0050 
Licensee Professional Disclosure Statement 

(1) To be approved by the Board, the professional disclosure 
statement shall include the following information required by this 
section and ORS 675.755:  

(a) The name, address and telephone number of the business;  
(b) Philosophy and approach to counseling or marriage and 

family therapy, including reference to any codes of standards or 
ethics to which the licensee subscribes;  

(c) A statement indicating adherence to the Oregon Licensing 
Board’s Code of Ethics set forth in OAR Chapter 833, Division 
100;  

(d) The bill of rights of clients listed in OAR 833, division 
100, Code of Ethics;  

(e) Formal education and training, title of highest relevant 
degree earned, school granting degree, and major coursework;  

(f) Oregon licensure requirements for continuing education 
and supervision, as well as any significant post-degree work 
relating to professional practice;  

(g) The standard fee for service, including discounted rates or 
sliding scale and a statement that no fees will be charged and no 
additional fee will be added to another set fee such as a hospital 
room daily charge;   

(h) A statement indicating the following: “Additional infor-
mation about this counselor or therapist is available on the Board’s 
website: www.oregon.gov/oblpct”; and  

(i) The Board’s name, address, telephone number, and email 
address.  

(2) Prior to providing services, licensees must provide each 
client with a professional disclosure statement consistent with the 
content and in a format as specified in section (1).  

(3) Licensees must make a reasonable effort to assist the client 
to understand the information presented in the disclosure statement 
as required by the Code of Ethics.  

(4) The professional disclosure statement must be accessible 
to people with disabilities. 

(5) Exemptions to the professional disclosure statement 
requirements set forth in ORS 675.755 include:  

(a) Applicants for licensure not practicing professional coun-
seling or marriage and family therapy in Oregon, except those 
seeking registration as an intern;  

(b) Licensees on inactive status or not practicing professional 
counseling or marriage and family therapy in Oregon;  

(c) Licensees providing crisis response; and  

(d) Licensees who have submitted a written request and can 
satisfy the Board that there is good cause to be exempt from 
specific requirements, and have received written exemption from 
the Board.  

(6) If the licensee fails to provide the statement, the licensee 
may not charge the client a fee for services.  

(7) Whenever a licensee changes a professional disclosure 
statement, the new statement must be presented to the Board for 
approval.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.755 & 675.785  
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-075-0060  
Current Information to Board 

(1) All licensees must provide current contact information to 
the Board, including:  

(a) Physical residence address and post office box, if applicable;  
(b) Electronic mail address;  
(c) Home and work telephone numbers; and 
(d) An updated, current Professional Disclosure Statement 

being provided to clients.  
(2) Licensees must inform the Board office in writing of any 

changes to information within 30 days of the change.  
(3) Licensees must submit a change of name form provided by 

the Board, accompanied by a copy of the legal document showing 
the name change, within 30 days of the change. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.755 & 675.785 
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-075-0070  
Client Records  

(1) A licensed professional counselor and licensed marriage 
family therapist or registered intern must:  

(a) Maintain client records for each client;  
(b) Ensure that client records are legible;  
(c) Keep records in a secure, safe, and retrievable condition; 

and  
(d) Notify the Board if client records have been destroyed or 

lost.  
(2) At a minimum, client records should be recorded concur-

rently with the services provided and must include:  
(a) A formal or informal assessment of the client;  
(b) Counseling goals or objectives; and  
(c) Progress notes of therapy or counseling sessions.  
(3) A licensee must retain client records for at least seven 

years from the date of the last session with the client.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-075-0080  
Custodian of Record  

(1) A licensee or registered intern must:  
(a) Arrange for the maintenance of and access to client 

records that ensure the client’s right to confidentiality and access to 
records in the event of the death or incapacity of the licensee;  

(b) Register with the Board the name and contact information 
of a custodian of record that will have case files and can make nec-
essary referrals if licensee becomes incapacitated or dies; and  

(c) Notify the Board of changes of the custodian of record.  
(2) If the licensee or registered intern is an employee of an 

organization, the organization may be named as the custodian of 
record.  

(3) The Board will not release the name of the custodian of 
record except in the following cases:  

(a) The death or incapacity of the licensee; or  
(b) When a client is unable to locate the licensee.  
(4) A custodian of record under this rule must be a licensed 

mental health professional licensed under Oregon law, a licensed 
medical professional, a health care or mental health organization, 
an attorney, a school, or a medical records company.  
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-075-0090 
Representation of Credentials 

A person may not use the title of “licensed professional coun-
selor” or “licensed marriage and family therapist,” including the 
abbreviations “LPC” and “LMFT,” unless the person holds a 
current license issued by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

DIVISION 80 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

833-080-0011 
Continuing Education 

Licensees must complete approved continuing education and 
report the hours to the Board on even numbered years as a 
condition of license renewal.  

(1) “Reporting period” means the 24-month period between 
license renewals that occur in even numbered years. 

(2) A “clock hour” for continuing education means one hour 
spent in a program meeting the requirements for continuing educa-
tion. Clock hours exclude refreshment breaks, receptions and other 
social gatherings, and meals that do not include an approved pro-
gram. 

(3) Licensees must complete at least 40 continuing education 
clock hours within each reporting period.  

(4) New licensees: 
(a) There is no continuing education reporting required for 

individuals licensed less than 12 months on their first even 
numbered year renewal date.  

(b) Individuals licensed between 12 and 23 months on their 
first even numbered year renewal date must report at least 20 clock 
hours of continuing education.  

(c) Individuals licensed 24 or more months on their first even 
numbered year renewal date must report at least 40 clock hours of 
continuing education. 

(5) There is no continuing education reporting required for 
licensees on or changing to inactive status. 

(6) Licensees’ continuing education must include six clock 
hours of training in professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws 
and regulations pertaining to the practice of professional counseling 
or marriage and family therapy within each reporting period. 

(7) For licensees who supervise registered interns, including 
all licensees on the Supervisor Registry, licensees’ continuing edu-
cation must include three clock hours of supervision-related 
training within each reporting period. 

(8) For renewal periods beginning January 1, 2017 and later, 
licensees’ continuing education must include four clock hours of 
training in cultural competency within each reporting period. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2012, f. 9-5-12, cert. ef. 
10-1-12; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-16 

833-080-0021 
Continuing Education Waiver 

(1) Licensees may request a waiver for meeting the continuing 
education requirements by submitting a written request on forms 
provided by the Board.  

(2) The Board may grant exemptions in whole or in part, 
including extension of deadlines, to licensees who cannot timely 
attend the required hours of training because of a documented med-
ical condition. The licensee must include the following information 
as part of the request.  

(a) The rationale for a waiver;  
(b) The nature of the illness or disability;  
(c) The time period the waiver would cover;  

(d) A statement as to how the condition prevents participation 
in continuing education;  

(e) Signature by the licensee or legal representative; and  
(f) Signed statement from a healthcare practitioner who is 

licensed or certified by the state to provide services.  
(3) The Board will notify the licensee in writing whether the 

request is approved. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-
16 

833-080-0031 
Continuing Education Content 

Policy. Continuing education must be a learning activity that 
contributes directly to the professional competence of the licensee. 

(1) Continuing education content must focus on increasing 
knowledge and/or skills in the following substantive areas relevant 
to the field:  

(a) Counseling or marriage and family therapy theory & tech-
niques;  

(b) Human development and family studies;  
(c) Social and cultural foundations in counseling or marriage 

and family therapy;  
(d) The helping relationship;  
(e) Group dynamics;  
(f) Life style and career development;  
(g) DSM diagnosis and assessment;  
(h) Research and evaluation;  
(i) Professional orientation and ethics;  
(j) Professional supervision training;  
(k) Disability and life transitions;  
(l) Substance abuse;  
(m) Psychopharmacology;  
(n) Diagnosis and treatment of mental health disorders.  
(2) The program must be conducted by a qualified instructor 

or discussion leader, which means a person whose background, 
training, education, or experience makes it appropriate for the 
person to make a presentation or lead a discussion on the subject 
matter. 

(3) A record of attendance, such as a certificate of completion, 
must be obtained. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-
16 

833-080-0041 
Methods of Obtaining Hours 

(1) Approvable continuing education credits may be obtained 
in the following ways:  

(a) Continuing education activities with no limits on clock 
hours:  

(A) Attending college or university courses -- 15 clock hours 
per semester credit and 10 clock hours per quarter credit.  

(B) Live seminars, workshops, conferences and/or trainings. 
(C) Home study (distance learning), including internet and 

tele-courses. 
(D) Service as an Oregon Board of Licensed Professional 

Counselors and Therapists member or committee volunteer. 
(b) Continuing education activities for which licensees can 

obtain a maximum of 20 clock hours within a two year reporting 
period:  

(A) Publication activities include:  
(i) Five credits per article or review in a refereed journal that 

is directly related to counseling;  
(ii) Five credits per chapter in edited books, 20 credits for 

authorship of an entire book;  
(iii) Five credits per 30 minutes of initial video production 

directly related to counseling;  
(iv) Five credits for reviewing a book proposal; and  
(v) Five credits for each year of service on an editorial board 

of a professional counseling journal.  
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(B) Professional presentations. Credit is given for the initial 
research and development of a professional presentation. No credit 
shall be allowed for repeat presentations unless it is demonstrated 
that the program content was substantially changed and such 
change required significant additional study or research. The 
number of credits given is twice the number of hours spent making 
the presentation; 

(c) Continuing education activities for which licensees can 
obtain a maximum of 10 clock hours within a two year reporting 
period:  

(A) Serving as an officer of a state or national counseling 
organization;  

(B) Serving as a member of a national certification board;  
(C) Chairing a national counseling conference or convention; 

or 
(D) Receiving supervision for a fee from a supervisor who 

meets the Board’s standards on supervision. Credit shall only be 
given to the licensee receiving supervision, not to a licensee pro-
viding supervision.  No credit shall be given to licensees receiving 
supervision to fulfill licensure or discipline requirements. 

(2) An approvable continuing education program is one 
designed and offered by an agency or institution that is recognized 
as an approved provider of continuing education units, e.g., 
NBCC-approved programs, to include:  

(a) Academic courses offered in accredited degree counseling 
or marriage and family therapy programs;  

(b) Presentations sponsored by counseling related departments 
of accredited educational institutions; national, regional, state, or 
local professional organizations or associations; public or private 
human services agencies or organizations; or individuals that meet 
all of the following approved provider guidelines:  

(A) Program is presented by competent individuals as docu-
mented by appropriate academic training, professional licensure or 
certification, or professionally recognized experience. Presenters 
should have an identifiable involvement with human services;  

(B) Program meets the professional needs of the licensee’s 
intended clientele;  

(C) Program has a minimum duration of one clock hour;  
(D) Except for non-classroom distance learning, program is 

offered in a place which is accessible to persons with disabilities;  
(E) Distance learning program includes mechanism for evalu-

ation, measurement, or confirmation of exchange of information; 
and  

(F) Programs approved by organizations such as: National 
Association of Social Workers, National Board for Certified Coun-
selors, Oregon Psychological Association, Commission on Reha-
bilitation Counselor Certification, Art Therapy Credentials Board, 
American Art Therapy Association, American Association for 
Marriage and Family Therapy, and American Counseling Associa-
tion.  

(c) Content of programs are consistent with OAR 833-080-
0031.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-
16 

833-080-0051 
Documentation and Submission of Continuing Education 

(1) Licensees must certify to the Board, at the time of annual 
renewal on even-numbered years, that the continuing education 
requirements were met by providing a summary list of continuing 
education activities/courses as described in OAR 833-080-0041.  

(2) Licensees must maintain documentation as proof that the 
licensee has satisfied the continuing professional education require-
ments for a minimum of two years after the reporting period. If 
requested by the Board, licensees will make continuing education 
records available for inspection.  

(3) Responsibility for documenting the acceptability of the 
program and the validity of credit rests with the licensee. Docu-
mentation must include proof of actual attendance, participation, 

certification, or completion as well as content, duration, and if rel-
evant, provider as follows:  

(a) For college or university courses: A copy of a transcript 
showing satisfactory completion of the course;  

(b) For seminars, workshops, conferences, trainings, or home 
study: Dated certificates (originals or copies) of completion of  
training;  

(c) Program/activity descriptions, including (but not limited 
to) written verification of professional services, copies of published 
works or other proof of publication, letter from president/director 
of organization in which professional activity was conducted; and  

(d) Signed statement of professional supervision by the indi-
vidual providing the supervision.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-
16 

833-080-0061 
Continuing Education Audit and Penalties 

(1) The Board will conduct an audit of the records of 
randomly selected licensees to verify actual participation, comple-
tion, and compliance with standards for content and providers of 
approved continuing professional education. Failure to maintain or 
document actual completion of continuing professional education 
activities claimed, failure to make such records available to the 
Board for inspection, or falsification of reports may result in disci-
plinary action by the Board. Audited licensees hold the burden of 
proof of mailing. 

(2) A licensee selected for the continuing education audit 
whose hours are deficient, including a licensee’s failure to submit 
complete documentation, is subject to disciplinary action, to 
include but not limited to the following sanctions:  

(a) Persons successfully documenting 31-39 hours -- $250;  
(b) Persons successfully documenting 21-30 hours -- $500;  
(c) Persons successfully documenting 11-20 hours -- $750;  
(d) Persons successfully documenting 10 or fewer hours -- 

$1,000.  
(3) The civil penalty may not be paid in lieu of training.  
(4) Failure to document required hours, or certifying programs 

or supervision not meeting approval requirements will result in 
non-renewal or, in the case of discovery after renewal, possible 
suspension of license.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-
16 

DIVISION 90 

DISTANCE COUNSELING 

833-090-0010 
Technology-Assisted Services 

(1) When providing technology-assisted distance counseling 
services, licensees must: 

(a) Use secure web sites and e-mail communications to help 
ensure confidentiality; 

(b) Determine that technology-assisted services are appropriate, 
available, and meets the needs of the particular client; and 

(c) Have a working knowledge of the particular technology 
used to meet the needs of clients. 

(d) Conduct due diligence in confirming the identity of 
potential clients. 

(2) When the use of encryption is not possible, limit electronic 
transmissions to general communications that are not client specif-
ic. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

Chapter 833     Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2017 Edition                                                                                      22 - 387                                                                                         (11-15-16)



833-090-0020 
Inappropriate Services 

When technology-assisted distance counseling services are 
deemed inappropriate for any reason by the counselor or client, 
counselors must ensure that a professional and clinically sound 
referral is made to counseling resources in the client’s geographic 
area. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-090-0030 
Laws and Statutes 

Licensees providing Distance Services must ensure that the 
use of technology is consistent with the Board’s laws and rules. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-090-0040 
Technology and Informed Consent 

(1) Licensees must give all potential clients access to the 
licensee’s Professional Disclosure Statement (PDS) prior to service 
delivery with a means of confirming receipt and acknowledgement 
of the PDS. 

(2) Licensees must inform clients of the benefits and limitations 
of distance service delivery, including: 

(a) Issues related to the difficulty of maintaining the confiden-
tiality of electronically transmitted communications; 

(b) Names of colleagues, supervisors, and employees, such as 
Informational Technology (IT) administrators, who may have 
authorized or unauthorized access to electronic transmissions; 

(c) The risks of all authorized or unauthorized people who 
have access to any technology clients may use in the counseling 
process. This includes family members, friends, acquaintances, 
and fellow employees; 

(d) Limitations governing the practice of the LPC or LMFT 
profession in the State of Oregon, including that the laws and 
statutes regarding the practice of professional counseling and mar-
riage and family therapy differ from state-to-state; 

(e) Contact information and alternate methods of contact in 
case of technology failure; and 

(f) Emergency procedures for situations when the counselor is 
not available. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

DIVISION 100 

CODE OF ETHICS 

833-100-0011 
General Purpose and Scope 

(1) This code constitutes the standards against which the 
required professional conduct of licensed professional counselors 
and marriage and family therapists is measured. It has as its goal 
the welfare and protection of the individuals and groups with 
whom counselors and therapists work. This code applies to the 
conduct of all licensees, registered interns and applicants, including 
the applicant’s conduct during the period of education, training, 
and employment which is required for licensure. Violation of the 
provisions of this code of ethics will be considered unprofessional 
or unethical conduct and is sufficient reason for disciplinary action, 
including, but not limited to, denial of licensure. 

(2) If ethical responsibilities appear to conflict with law, regu-
lations, or other governing legal authority, licensees are to make 
known their commitment to their ethical responsibilities and take 
steps to resolve the apparent conflict. If demands of an organization 
with which a licensee is affiliated conflicts with any aspect of the 
code of ethics, the licensee must clarify the nature of the conflict, 
make known their commitment to this code and resolve the conflict 
in a way that permits adherence to this code of ethics. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-100-0021 
Informed Consent 

(1) A licensee’s primary professional responsibility is to the 
client. A licensee makes every reasonable effort to advance the 
welfare and best interests of all clients for whom the licensee pro-
vides professional services. A licensee respects the rights of those 
persons seeking assistance and makes reasonable efforts to ensure 
that the licensee’s services are used appropriately.  

(2) A licensee recognizes that there are other professional, 
technical, and administrative resources available to clients. The 
licensee makes a reasonable effort to provide referrals to those 
resources when it is in the best interest of clients to be provided 
with alternative or complementary services or when the client 
requests a referral.  

(3) Licensees do not give or receive commissions, rebates or 
any other form of remuneration when referring clients for profes-
sional services.  

(4) A licensee seeks appropriate professional assistance for 
the licensee’s own personal problems or conflicts that are likely to 
impair the licensee’s work performance or clinical judgment.  

(5) A licensee provides supervision only when the licensee’s 
professional competence is sufficient to meet the needs of the 
trainee or intern. A licensee does not permit a trainee or intern 
under the licensee’s supervision to perform, nor purport to be com-
petent to perform, professional services beyond the trainee’s or 
intern’s level of training and accepts responsibility for the effects 
of the actions of the trainee or intern of which they should be 
aware.  

(6) A licensee does not practice under the influence of alcohol 
or any controlled substance not prescribed by a physician, or if 
incapacitated by habitual or excessive use of intoxicants, drugs or 
controlled substances.  

(7) A licensee does not practice when adversely influenced by 
either physical or emotional impairment that would interfere with 
their ability to provide professional services.  

(8) A licensee abides by all applicable statutes and administra-
tive rules regulating the practice of counseling or therapy or any 
other applicable laws, including, but not limited to, the reporting of 
abuse of children or vulnerable adults.  

(9) A licensee does not condone or engage in discrimination 
based on age, color, culture, disability, ethnicity, national origin, 
gender, race, religion, sexual orientation, marital status, or socioe-
conomic status.  

(10) A licensee does not provide services to a client when the 
licensee’s objectivity or effectiveness is impaired. If a licensee’s 
objectivity or effectiveness becomes impaired during a professional 
relationship with a client, the licensee notifies the client that the 
licensee can no longer serve the client professionally and makes a 
reasonable effort to assist the client in obtaining other professional 
services.  

(11) A licensee respects the right of a client to make decisions 
and helps the client understand the consequences of these decisions. 
A licensee advises a client that all decisions are the responsibility 
of the client.  

(12) A licensee displays in a prominent place, available to 
clients, a Board issued license.  

(13) A licensee practices under his or her name or other name 
that describes a place or organization with which the licensee prac-
tices.  

(14) Licensees and registered interns obtain written informed 
consent from each client for rendering professional services. 
Informed consent constitutes informing the client as early in the 
therapeutic relationship as possible:  

(a) The nature and anticipated course of therapy;  
(b) Services and approaches to be used; 
(c) Potential risks or experimental methods proposed;  
(d) Alternatives for treatment; 
(e) Fees; 
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(f) Involvement of third parties;  
(g) Limits of confidentiality; and  
(h) The client’s right to accept or refuse part or all therapeutic 

treatment. 
(15) Licensees or registered interns may submit a written 

request for an exemption to distribution of informed consent. The 
licensee or intern must: 

(a) Satisfy the Board that good cause exists, justifying exemp-
tion from specific requirements; and 

(b) Obtain written exemption from the Board.  
(c) Situations qualifying for waiver include but are not limited 

to licensees or registered interns providing crisis services.  
(16) A licensee makes available as part of the disclosure state-

ment a bill of rights of clients, including a statement that consumers 
of counseling or therapy services offered by Oregon licensees have 
the right:  

(a) To expect that a licensee has met the minimum qualifications 
of training and experience required by state law;  

(b) To examine public records maintained by the Board and to 
have the Board confirm credentials of a licensee;  

(c) To obtain a copy of the Code of Ethics;  
(d) To report complaints to the Board;  
(e) To be informed of the cost of professional services before 

receiving the services;  
(f) To be assured of privacy and confidentiality while receiving 

services as defined by rule or law, including the following excep-
tions:  

(A) Reporting suspected child abuse;  
(B) Reporting imminent danger to the client or others;  
(C) Reporting information required in court proceedings or by 

client’s insurance company or other relevant agencies;  
(D) Providing information concerning licensee case consulta-

tion or supervision; and  
(E) Defending claims brought by the client against licensee;  
(g) To be free from being the object of discrimination on any 

basis listed in subsection (9) of this rule while receiving services.  
(17) A licensee terminates a client relationship when it is rea-

sonably clear that the treatment no longer serves the client’s needs 
or interests. Whenever possible prior to termination, a licensee pro-
vides pre-termination counseling and recommendations and alter-
natives for the client. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 
1-1-11; BLPCT 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 6-11-14 

833-100-0031 
Client Welfare 

(1) Licensees strive to benefit those with whom they work and 
take care to do no harm. In their professional actions, licensees 
seek to safeguard the welfare and rights of those with whom they 
interact professionally and other affected persons and shall hold the 
welfare and interests of clients as primary. 

(2) Licensees take reasonable steps to avoid harming their 
client, students, supervisees, research participants, organizational 
clients and others with whom they work, and to minimize harm 
where it is foreseeable and unavoidable. 

(3) The primary obligation of licensees is to respect the 
integrity and promote the welfare of their clients, including treating 
the client at all times in a caring, fair, courteous and respectful 
manner. This is particularly true for vulnerable populations such as 
children, seniors or clients with disabilities. 

(4) Licensees actively attempt to understand the diverse 
cultural backgrounds of the clients with whom they work. This 
includes, but is not limited to, learning how the licensee’s own 
background and identity impacts the licensee’s values and beliefs 
about the counseling process. 

(5) Licensees do not engage in physical contact with clients 
when there is a possibility of physical or psychological harm from 
the contact. 

(6) Licensees avoid actions or words that clients could reason-
ably interpret as demeaning or derogatory, including, but not 
limited to, coarse or harsh language directed at the client. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-100-0041 
Integrity 

(1) A licensee acts in accordance with the highest standards of 
professional integrity and competence. A licensee is honest in 
dealing with clients, students, trainees, colleagues, related third 
parties, and the public.  

(2) Licensees are aware of their influential positions with 
respect to their students, employees, supervisees, and clients; they 
avoid exploiting the trust and dependency of such persons. 
Licensees make every effort to avoid conditions and multiple rela-
tionships with clients, clients’ relatives, and supervisees that could 
impair professional judgment or increase the risk of exploitation. 
Such relationships include, but are not limited to, business, 
personal, or sexual relationships with clients, clients’ relatives, stu-
dents, employees, or supervisees. 

(3) A licensee does not enter into an employer, supervisor, or 
other relationship where there is potential for exercising undue 
influence on any client or supervisee. This includes the sale of ser-
vices or goods that will exploit the client for financial gain or per-
sonal gratification of the licensee or a third party. 

(4) A licensee shall not engage in or solicit sexual acts or a 
sexual relationship with a client or supervisee.  

(5) A licensee does not engage in or solicit sexual acts or a 
sexual relationship with a client or with individuals the licensee 
knows to be immediate relatives, guardians, supervisees, or signif-
icant others of current clients, or with a former client within three 
years since the rendering of professional services.  

(6) A licensee does not engage in or solicit sexual acts or a 
sexual relationship with a former client or supervisee after three 
years from the termination of services if such act or solicitation 
could exploit the client or supervisee. Exploitation may be indicated 
by such factors as the time elapsed between the termination of the 
professional relationship and the beginning of the sexual relationship, 
nature and duration of therapy, circumstances of termination of 
professional relationship, client personal history, client’s current 
mental status, likelihood of adverse impact on client, any statements 
or actions made by the licensee during the course of therapy sug-
gesting or inviting the possibility of a post-termination sexual or 
romantic relationship, and whether the licensee attempted to 
protect the client by referral or consultation. Licensees do not 
accept as clients those with whom they have engaged in sexual inti-
macies.  

(7) A licensee does not enter into an employment, business, 
supervisory, or personal relationship, or one that involves the 
exchange of goods and services, with a former client or supervisee 
if exploitation can be demonstrated by review of such factors as 
amount of time that has passed, nature and duration of therapy, cir-
cumstances of termination of professional relationship, client’s 
personal history, client’s current mental status, likelihood of 
adverse impact on client, and whether client encouraged a post-
treatment relationship during the professional relationship.  

(8) A licensee does not allow an individual or agency that is 
paying for the professional services of a client to exert undue influ-
ence over the licensee’s evaluation or treatment of the client. 
Regardless of the source of payment, the licensee’s first obligation 
is to the client.  

(9) A licensee does not engage in sexual or other harassment 
of a client, former client, or supervisee. A licensee does not engage 
in any form of communication or physical behavior that is sexually 
suggestive, seductive, or demeaning to the client or former client.  

(10) A licensee does not use the counseling relationship to fur-
ther personal, religious, political, sexual, or financial interests.  

(11) A licensee informs a client of a divergence of interests, 
values, attitudes, or biases between a client and the licensee that is 
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sufficient to impair their professional relationship. Either the client 
or the licensee may terminate the relationship.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2012, f. 9-5-12, cert. ef. 
10-1-12 

833-100-0051 
Confidentiality 

(1) A licensee holds in confidence all information obtained in 
the course of professional services, as within the limits of the 
setting, such as a public agency. A licensee safeguards client confi-
dences as permitted by rule or law.  

(2) A licensee does not use any confidence of a client to the 
client’s disadvantage.  

(3) A licensee, including employees and professional associates 
of the licensee, does not disclose any confidential information that 
the licensee, employee, or associate may have acquired in rendering 
services except as provided by rule or law. All other confidential 
information is disclosed only with the written informed consent of 
the client.  

(4) A licensee is responsible for being aware of the state and 
federal regulations concerning confidentiality and for informing 
clients of the limits of confidentiality as a part of informed consent 
for services in the context of couple, family, or group treatment. A 
licensee does not reveal any individual’s confidences to others in 
the client unit without the prior written permission of that 
individual.  

(5) Whenever a licensee provides services to groups of clients 
such as couples, families or therapy groups, special care must be 
taken related to issues of confidentiality. In group therapy, confi-
dentiality issues are to be discussed in the beginning of the group. 
The parameters of confidentiality within marriage and family 
therapy are to be discussed early in the counseling process and a 
clear understanding achieved with all involved.  

(6) Whenever a licensee’s services are requested or paid for 
by one client for another, the licensee informs both clients of the 
licensee’s responsibility to treat any information gained in the 
course of rendering the services as confidential information.  

(7) A licensee limits access to client records and informs 
every individual associated with the agency or facility of the 
licensee, such as a staff member, student, or volunteer, that access 
to client records must be limited to only the licensee with whom 
the client has a professional relationship, an individual associated 
with the agency or facility whose duties require access, and an indi-
vidual authorized to have access by the written informed written 
consent of the client.  

(8) A licensee maintains the records of a client after the pro-
fessional relationship between the licensee and the client has 
ceased and informs clients as to how long records are retained. The 
licensee stores and disposes of records in ways that maintain confi-
dentiality. The licensee makes advance provision for the confidential 
disposition of records in the event the licensee is unable to do so 
for reasons such as illness or death.  

(9) A licensee discloses to the Board and its agents any client 
records that the Board and its agents consider germane to a disci-
plinary proceeding. The general requirement that licensees keep 
information confidential does not apply when:  

(a) Disclosure is required to prevent clear and imminent 
danger to the client or others; or  

(b) Legal requirements demand that confidential information 
must be revealed.  

(10) A licensee must obtain written informed consent from 
each client before electronically recording sessions with that client 
or before permitting third party observations of their sessions.  

(11) A licensee adequately disguises the identity of a client 
when using material derived from a counseling relationship for 
purposes of training, research, professional meetings, or publications.  

(12) A licensee provides clients reasonable access to records 
concerning them and should take due care to protect the confidences 
of others contained in those records, or when information from 
others about the client could result in harm to that person or 

persons upon disclosure to the client. Following guidelines set 
forth in ORS 192.518(2) and 675.765(1), unless otherwise ordered 
by the court, parents shall have access to the client records of juve-
niles who are receiving professional services from the licensee.  

(13) When a licensee is unclear on professional issues or stan-
dards of practice, consultation is to be obtained while protecting 
any confidentiality issue that may be involved.  

(14) Licensees proceed cautiously when asked to provide ser-
vices to a client currently seeing another professional. Consideration 
is given to the client’s welfare and the situation. Care is given to 
minimize the risk of confusion and conflict; and when appropriate, 
the other service provider is consulted. It is not ethical to provide 
the same therapeutic service that is simultaneously being provided 
by another professional without collaboration regarding the best 
interests of the client. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2012, f. 10-24-12, cert. ef. 
11-1-12 

833-100-0061 
Conduct and Competence 

(1) A licensee accepts the obligation to conform to higher 
standards of conduct in the capacity of a counseling professional. 
The private conduct of a licensee is a personal matter to the degree 
that it does not compromise the fulfillment of professional respon-
sibilities. A licensee will respect the traditions of the profession, 
and refrain from any conduct that would bring discredit to the pro-
fession. 

(2) Licensees correct, wherever possible, false, misleading, or 
inaccurate information and representations made by others con-
cerning the licensee’s qualifications, services, or products. A 
licensee does not advertise in a way that is false, fraudulent, or mis-
leading to the public. Testimonials from current clients are not 
solicited for advertising or other purposes due to the client’s vul-
nerability to undue influence. A licensee does not engage in any 
conduct likely to deceive or defraud the public or the Board. A 
licensee does not participate in, condone, or become associated 
with dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation. 

(3) Licensee reports to the Board within 30 days any civil law-
suit brought against the licensee that relates in any way to the 
licensee’s professional conduct and notifies the Board of any disci-
plinary action or loss of a mental health professional or state 
license, certification, or registration. 

(4) A licensee convicted of a misdemeanor or felony or who is 
arrested for a felony reports that information to the Board within 10 
days after the conviction or arrest. 

(5) A licensee files a complaint with the Board when the 
licensee has reason to believe that another licensee is or has been 
engaged in conduct that violates law or rules adopted by the Board. 
This requirement to file a complaint does not apply when the belief 
is based on information obtained in the course of a professional 
relationship with a client who is the other counselor or therapist. In 
that case, the client-therapist confidentiality supersedes the licensee’s 
requirement to report the other therapist. However, this does not 
relieve a licensee from the duty to file any reports required by law 
concerning abuse of children or vulnerable adults. Licensees do not 
initiate, participate in, or encourage the filing of ethics complaints 
that are unwarranted or intended to harm a counselor/therapist 
rather than to protect clients or the public. 

(6) A licensee who believes that a licensee of another health 
professional licensing agency has engaged in prohibited or unpro-
fessional conduct will report the conduct to the other licensee’s 
board within 10 days of learning of the conduct. 

(7) A licensee does not engage in sexual or other harassment 
or exploitation of clients, students, trainees, employees, colleagues, 
research subjects, or actual or potential witnesses or complainants 
in disciplinary proceedings. A licensee cooperates with the Board, 
or any committee or representative of the Board, in any investigation 
it may pursue relating to licensee misconduct or violation of the 
law or rules of the Board. Failure to cooperate is an ethics viola-
tion. 
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(8) A licensee understands the areas of competence of related 
professions and acts with due regard for the needs, special compe-
tencies, and obligations of colleagues in other allied professions, 
and does not disparage the qualifications of any colleague. 

(9) A licensee recognizes the importance of a clear under-
standings on financial matters with clients. Arrangements for fees 
and payments are made at the beginning of the counseling or thera-
peutic relationship. When a client presents financial hardship, the 
licensee will make reasonable effort to direct the client to possible 
affordable options. Licensees do not withhold records under their 
control that are requested by the client solely because payment has 
not been received for services. Licensees who work in an organiza-
tional setting do not divert clients to the licensee’s own private 
practice unless it is in the best interests of the client in the opinion 
of the client and the organization. 

(10) A licensee makes certain that the qualifications of 
persons in a licensee’s employ are represented in a manner that is 
not false or misleading. 

(11) A licensee does not perform, nor pretend to be able to 
perform, professional services beyond the licensee’s field or fields 
of competence based on their education, training, supervision, con-
sultation, study or professional experience. Licensees are responsible 
for keeping current in areas of competence. When working in 
emerging areas of the profession, the licensee ensures competence 
through relevant education, training, supervised experience, con-
sultation, or study. 

(12) A licensee does not misrepresent professional qualifica-
tions, education, experience, or affiliations. 

(13) A licensee does not provide what is, or may be reasonably 
considered, inappropriate, unnecessary, or inadequate treatment or 
counseling/therapeutic services. A licensee practices within accepted 
professional standards based on recognized knowledge through 
research and theoretical best practices. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-100-0071 
Assessment, Measurement, Research and Consulting 

(1) Licensees who conduct professional services related to 
counseling do so with regard to high ethical standards. 

(2) Licensees conduct proper assessments of clients within 
their level of competence and base findings on reliable information 
and techniques sufficient to substantiate their conclusions. Licensees 
administer, adapt, score, interpret or use assessment techniques, 
such as tests and measurement instruments, only with training and 
consistency with therapeutic objectives. 

(3) Licensees who conduct research do so with the welfare of 
participants of primary importance. Ethical research includes 
informed consent from participants, institutional approval, when 
appropriate, including measures to protect research participants, 
and debriefing participants as soon as possible regarding the 
nature, results and conclusions of the research. The results of 
research are reported accurately without fabrication or unreported 
errors. 

(4) Licensees who consult or provide services where the client 
is an organization do so with a high degree of self-awareness of 
their own values, knowledge, skills, limitations and goals and 
match these factors with the needs and goals of the organization. It 
is the licensee’s responsibility to ensure agreement on the issues, 
goals and predicted consequences of consulting interventions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

DIVISION 110 

COMPLIANCE 

833-110-0011 
Response to Complaints 

(1) The Board will review and accept for consideration a com-
plaint filed by any person, group of persons, or the Board on its 

own action that is specific as to the conduct upon which the com-
plaint is based.  A complaint will be rejected if it does not allege a 
violation for which the Board has the grounds to impose sanctions 
pursuant to ORS 675.745 or 675.825. 

(2) A complaint that a licensee, registered intern or applicant 
for licensure is incompetent or has committed an act or acts in vio-
lation of the law or rules adopted by the Board including the Code 
of Ethics will be considered a complaint of professional misconduct.  
A complaint that an unlicensed person has practiced or used a title 
in violation of ORS 675.825 will be considered a complaint of 
unlicensed practice. 

(3) The Board will make forms available to the public and 
encourage complainants to use the Board’s investigation request 
form. If a complaint is first made in verbal form, or does not 
contain information substantially equivalent to the Board’s form, 
then the Board’s representative may require the complainant to use 
the Board’s form to initiate an investigation. If the complainant is a 
client or former client of the respondent, then the complainant 
should sign a release form allowing the Board and its legal counsel 
access to records and other materials that are the ethical and legal 
responsibility of the respondent. Refusal by a complainant to 
comply with this requirement may result in dismissal of the com-
plaint. 

(4) Upon receipt of a valid complaint, a complaint file will be 
opened. A preliminary investigation or review will be conducted to 
determine if additional investigation and the assignment of 
additional investigators is necessary, or whether to file a report 
with the Board recommending the complaint be dismissed without 
further action.  If additional investigation is deemed necessary, 
then the subject of the complaint will be notified that he/she is 
under investigation and provided with general information regarding 
the allegations being investigated. Notification may request a 
written response.  

(5) Failure to cooperate with Board representatives during an 
investigation constitutes unprofessional conduct which may subject 
a licensee, intern or applicant to disciplinary action.  Cooperation 
includes: 

(a) Submitting client records to the Board’s representative, 
with or without a signed release by the client, for a full investigation 
of the allegations;  

(b) Sending a complete case file to the Board’s representative;  
(c) Being available for a personal interview with the Board’s 

representative; and  
(d) Responding to questions presented by the Board’s repre-

sentative.  
(6) The Board may delay approving a licensure application or 

issuing an intern registration or license until a complaint has been 
resolved. 

(7) The investigator shall collect evidence and interview wit-
nesses.  At the conclusion of the investigation, a report will be filed 
with the Board in accordance with the timelines and procedures 
outlined in ORS 676.160–676.180. The report will clearly set forth 
the issues on which the Board should consider possible action. 

(8) The Board will maintain written procedures for handling 
complaints, which will be available through the Board office.  

(9) Complaint and information gathered by investigation into 
licensee or applicant competency or conduct will be kept confidential 
in accordance with ORS 676.160–676.180.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 
5-3-10; BLPCT 3-2016, f. & cert. ef. 8-8-16 

833-110-0021 
Complaint Disposition 

(1) Following review of the investigation report, the Board 
may: 

(a) Dismiss the complaint; 
(b) Continue the investigation; 
(c) Issue a notice of proposed action;  
(d) Propose non-disciplinary action; or 
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(e) Negotiate a stipulated agreement in lieu of hearing, 
default, or disciplinary action.  

(2) Board discussions will be held in executive session, closed 
to the public. Decisions as to action will be voted upon during a 
public meeting, but case numbers will be used. Decisions to 
propose enforcement action will be made known to the public if 
adopted by a majority vote of the Board. A notice of intent to 
propose enforcement action with opportunity for hearing will be 
issued by the Board Administrator and served upon the applicant or 
licensee, and may be provided to the complainant. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 
1-1-11; BLPCT 3-2016, f. & cert. ef. 8-8-16 

DIVISION 120 

CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECKS 

833-120-0011 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) The purpose of these rules is to provide for the screening 
under ORS 181A.195 of licensees, registered interns, and applicants 
for licensure with the Oregon Board of Licensed Professional 
Counselors and Therapists to determine if they have a history of 
criminal behavior such that they would be unable to, or should not 
be allowed to, perform the services of a Licensed Professional 
Counselor or Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. 

(2) The following persons (“subject individuals”) must take 
the steps necessary to complete a nationwide criminal history 
check under ORS 181A.195:  

(a) All applicants for licensure to the Board in accordance 
with OAR 833 Division 20; and 

(b) A licensee or registered intern who is the subject of inquiry 
or investigation by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-13-11, 
cert. ef. 5-15-11 thru 11-10-11; Administrative correction 11-18-11; BLPCT 3-
2011, f. 12-3-11, cert. ef. 12-15-11; BLPCT 1-2016, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-16; 
BLPCT 3-2016, f. & cert. ef. 8-8-16 

833-120-0021 
Procedural Requirements 

(1) To complete a criminal history check, the Board will 
require each subject individual to: 

(a) Provide fingerprints pursuant to ORS 181A.170 (additional 
fingerprints may be required if the initial fingerprints are rejected);  

(b) Provide personal information necessary to obtain the crim-
inal history check pursuant to OAR 125-007-0220; and  

(c) Pay to the Board the actual costs charged by the Oregon 
State Police (OSP) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).  

(2) The Board may also request, and the applicant, licensee, or 
registered intern must provide, the following information:  

(a) Responses to a criminal history questionnaire; and  
(b) Written response to questions by the Board regarding the 

person’s criminal history.  
(3) The Board will make a final fitness determination based 

on criminal offender information and other factors, pursuant to 
ORS 181A.195(10)(d) and OAR 125-007-0260 to 125-007-0270. 

(4) A subject individual may contest an adverse final fitness 
determination pursuant to OAR 125-007-0300. 
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