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DIVISION 1
PROCEDURAL RULES

Notice of Proposed Rule

Prior to adopting, amending, or repealing a permanent rule,
the State Marine Board will give notice of the intended action:

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date of the rule.

(2) By mailing or emailing notice to persons on the State
Marine Board’s interested parties list established pursuant to ORS
183.335(8) at least 28 days before the effective date of the rule.

(3) By emailing a copy of the notice to the legislators as spec-
ified in ORS 183.335(15) at least 49 days before the effective date

of the rule.

(4) By sending notice to the following persons and organiza-

tions:

(a) State and federal agencies, if affected;
(b) Port and park and recreation districts in the area affected;

and

(c) City and county officials in the area affected.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335

Hist.: MB 72, f. & ef. 11-4-75; MB 2-1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85; MB 7-1994, f. &
cert. ef. 6-1-94; OSMB 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14

250-001-0005

Model Rules of Practice and Procedure

(1) The Model Rules of Procedure, OAR 137-003-0501 to
137-003-0700, as promulgated by the Attorney General of the
State of Oregon, apply to all contested case hearings conducted by
a hearing officer from the Hearing Officer Panel on behalf of the

Board.
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(2) The Board adopts the current edition of the Model Rules
of Procedure, OAR chapter 137, division001, as promulgated by

the Attorney General of the State of Oregon and effective July1.
[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure
is available from the office of the Attorney General or the Marine Board.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341
Hist.: MB 68, f. 5-19-75, ef. 6-11-75; MB 78, f. & ef. 8-27-76; MB 3-1978,f. &
ef. 4-5-78; MB 1-1982, f. & ef. 3-1-82; MB 4-1984, f. & ef. 1-19-84; MB 4-
1986, f. 4-15-86, ef. 4-18-86; OSMB 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14; OSMB 10-
2014, f. 10-30-14, cert. ef. 11-1-14

250-001-0010
Availability of the Rules

Pursuant to ORS 830.110(11), the laws and rules of the
Marine Board shall be available at the office of the State Marine

Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; Renumbered from 250-010-0020

250-001-0020
Fees for Furnishing Information

The Marine Board may charge reasonable fees to cover those
costs resulting from requests for reproduction of agency records.

(1) Individuals or firms requesting an alphabetical or numerical
listing of boat owners, and information concerning their boats, will
be charged a fee as follows:

(a) Labels or printouts are $250 for up to 1,000 names printed
on labels and/or print-out, plus $25 for each 1,000 additional
names or portion thereof. This fee includes the cost of data pro-
cessing, labels, administrative expense and shipping;

(b) Electronic format — $165 including actual cost of
computer generated media, electronic files, staff time involved in
research, file review, compiling and duplication, and shipping
costs;

(c) An advance deposit to cover the anticipated cost will be
required.

(2) The Board may recover actual costs for supplies and staff
time for research, file review, compiling and duplication required
to provide copies of material, whether printed, computerized or in
other media, that was produced by Marine Board or by a vendor
under contract to the Marine Board and which is not intended for
general distribution. That includes but is not limited to items such
as internal reports, studies, engineering drawings, CAD files,
maps, computer diskettes, tapes, computer generated media, elec-
tronic files, transcripts, or mailing lists. Generally, information is
available only in the means (paper, computer program or otherwise)
it was created.

Exempt: Brochures, booklets and other mass-produced items intended

for general distribution are not included as “documents” under this rule.

(a) The standard charge for single page reproduction shall not
exceed $.25 per standard 8-1/2 x 117 page, $.35 per 11x17” page,
$1.00 per 24x36” drawing sheet (blueprint), $2.50 per 24x36”
drawing sheet (bond paper). Double-sided copies count as two
pages. Mailing costs include postage fees and actual cost of special
mailers required.

(b) The standard charge for duplication of audio and/or video
tapes shall be the actual cost of the tapes, staff time involved in
research, file review, compiling and duplication, and shipping
costs;

(c) The charge for computer diskettes will be actual cost plus
staff time required for copying requested files, the actual cost of
special mailers and postage;

(d) There will be no charge for an individual request of five or
fewer copies of a single 8-1/2 X 11” page;

(e) An advance deposit of up to 50 percent of the estimated
total charge may be required for those people or organizations who
require a considerable number of reproduced copies.

(3) The Director may reduce or waive the fee for non-profit
organizations and government agencies requesting lists or documents
in the interest of boating access, safety programs or law enforcement
purposes.

(4) For outfitter/guide listings the fees shall be as follows:

(a) Machine reproductions — $.25 per standard 8-1/2 x 117
page. There will be no charge for an individual request of five or
fewer copies of a single page;

(b) Machine generated labels or listings — $50 for up to 1,000
names plus $10 for each 1,000 additional names or portion thereof;

(c) Machine generated labels, listings or printouts in other
than the standard format — Actual cost of programming, processing
and administrative expenses, but not less than $75 for up to 1,000
names, plus $20 for each 1,000 additional names or portion
thereof;

(d) The fees charged will be actual cost of electronic media or
files, computer diskettes, cost of staff time required for copying
requested files, plus actual cost of special mailers and postage.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 195, 283 & 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 12, f. 3-27-62; MB 8-1978(Temp), f. & ef. 10-5-78; MB 10-1978, f.

& ef. 12-21-78; Renumbered from 250-010-0165; MB 16-1984, f. & ef. 12-3-

84; MB 2-1986, f. & ef. 1-30-86; MB 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 4-4-97; OSMB 1-

2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-03

250-001-0030
Hearings Authorized

The Director, or a designated agent, upon the order of the
Board or any member of the Board, with the approval of the Board,
may conduct public hearings for the purpose of promulgating
special regulations consistent with the safety of the public relating
to the operation of boats, when a request for such hearing is

received from the governing body of a political subdivision.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 5, f. 7-13-60; MB 88(Temp), f. & ef. 11-4-77; MB 4-1978, f. & ef. 4-
5-78; Renumbered from 250-010-0170

250-001-0040
Petition to Promulgate, Amend, or Repeal Rule: Contents of
Petition, Filing of Petition

The filing of petitions for rulemaking action by the Board
shall be in accordance with the Attorney General’s Uniform Rule
of Procedure set forth in OAR 137-001-0070.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.390

Hist.: OSMB 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14

250-001-0050
Policy

(1) It is the policy of the State Marine Board to promote mul-
tiple use and enjoyment of waters of the state for a variety of
boating activities. The Board recognizes and will uphold to the
extent practicable the universal right of the public to navigate and
use the waters of the state for boating.

(2) The Board is authorized to regulate through administrative
rules boating in specific locations or on specific waterways in the
interest of protecting public safety, property, water quality, fish and
wildlife resources or for the purpose of reducing excessive conges-
tion and conflict between users, and promoting uniformity of laws
pertaining to such use.

(3) The Board will seek to resolve problems arising from or
between boating activities on a waterway by using a variety of
management measures including education, information, signing,
voluntary restrictions or increased law enforcement of existing
laws before acting to restrict public use and enjoyment of boats.

(4) It is the policy of the Board to exercise its regulatory
authority based upon sufficient information, public testimony or
evidence that establishes a demonstrated need to enact administrative
rules.

(5) The Board will seek the concurrence and recommendations
of affected local jurisdictions and authorities before adopting regu-

lations for local waterways.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175
Hist.: OSMB 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation

2016 Edition
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250-001-0060
Scope of Rules

(1) The Board may regulate watercraft on all waters of this
state. The Board’s primary interest lies in waterways where public
access for boating is provided, available, allowed, or reasonably
accomplishable and is commonly or frequently used by the general
boating public.

(2) The Board will not normally regulate waters of this state
which are surrounded exclusively by privately owned lands, are
sufficiently small so as to preclude access or severely limit public
boating use, or are inaccessible to the general boating public by
ordinary and usual means.

(3) Restrictions on boats and boat operations adopted by the
Board in compliance with statutory authorization shall apply to all
watercraft including boats used for commercial activities, exclud-
ing:

(a) Watercraft used for the law enforcement activities of
authorized public safety agencies;

(b) Search and rescue activities conducted by or under the
direction of these agencies; and

(c) Watercraft used for administrative or management functions
performed by public agencies with jurisdiction over the subject

waters or adjacent lands.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175
Hist.: OSMB 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14

DIVISION 10
STATEWIDE RULES

250-010-0010
Definitions

As used in OAR Chapter 250, unless otherwise required by
context:

(1) “Board” means the Oregon State Marine Board.

(2) “Boat Livery” means a person, persons, or a business
establishment engaged in renting or hiring out boats for profit.

(3) “Float Tube” means a manufactured floating device con-
structed of canvas, nylon or other similar material encasing an
inner tube capable of supporting one person sitting inside with their
legs dangling below the vessel, used as a means of transportation
on the water. Single float tubes are boats as defined in ORS
830.005(2) and if powered by machinery, single float tubes are
motorboats as defined in ORS 830.005(5) and subject to numbering
according to OAR 250-010-0040.

(4) “Operator” means the person who operates or who has
charge of the navigation or use of a boat.

(5) “Person” means an individual, partnership, firm, corpora-
tion, association, or other entity.

(6) “Person on Board” means every person being carried on
board or being towed by a vessel.

(7) “Propel” means but is not limited to floating, rowing, pad-
dling, sailing or otherwise operating a boat (as defined in ORS
830.005), a vessel or ship.

(8) “Slow-No Wake” means operating a boat at the slowest
speed necessary to maintain steerage and that reduces or eliminates
waves that appear as white water behind the boat.

(9) “Ship’s Lifeboats” means lifeboats used solely for lifesaving
purposes and does not include dinghies, tenders, speedboats, or
other types of craft carried aboard a vessel and used for other than
lifesaving purposes.

(10) “Undocumented Vessel” means any vessel which is not
required to have, or does not have, a valid marine document issued
by the U.S. Coast Guard.

(11) “Underway” means when a boat is not at anchor, or

moored, or made fast to the shore, or aground.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 1, f.2-4-60; MB 10, f. 11-14-61; MB 24, f. 3-13-64; MB 4-1982,f. &
ef. 6-1-82; MB 21-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-

13-92; MB 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-96; MB 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96;
OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0025
Basic Rule for “Slow-No Wake”

(1) No person shall operate a boat on the waters of this state in
excess of a “slow-no wake” speed within 200 feet of a boat launch
ramp, marina with a capacity for six or more moored vessels,
floating home/boathouse moorage with six or more contiguous
structures, and locations where persons are working at water level
on floats, logs or waterway construction.

(2) Section (1) of this rule does not apply to commercial
vessels or vessels engaged in navigation on rivers where a speed in

excess of “slow-no wake” is needed to ensure safe passage.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 9-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-88; MB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-96;
OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0030
Application for Certificate of Number and Title

(1) The application shall be made on a form furnished by the
Board and mailed direct to the Board or presented to an appointed
agent of the Board, together with the required fee.

(2) The application shall be available at the office of the
Board, appointed agents of the Board, boat dealers, sheriffs, and
Motor Vehicle Licensing offices.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 1, f.2-4-60; MB 24, f. 3-13-64

250-010-0040
Oregon Boat Numbering System

(1) The numbering system adopted for use in the State of Ore-
gon shall consist of the State Designator (OR)followed by the max-
imum of three digits and three letters. The letters “O,” “1,” and “Q”
and offensive combinations shall not be used.

Examples: -1- OR-1-AA through OR-999-AA

-2- OR-1-AB through OR-999-AB

-3- OR-1-AAA through OR-999-AAA

(2) Significant numbers are as follows:

(a) State-owned Boats: OR-1-XX through OR-999-XX;

(b) County-owned Boats: OR-1-XC through OR-999-XC;

(c) County-owned Law Enforcement Boats: OR-1-XCX
through OR-999-XCX;

(d) Eleemosynary organizations Boats: OR-1-XE to OR-999-
XE;

(e) Municipality-owned Boats: OR-1-XM through OR-999-
XM;

(f) Dealers numbers: OR-1-DR through OR-999-DR.

(3) These numbers shall be placed on each side of the forward
half of the vessel in such a position as to provide clear legibility for
identification The numbers shall read from left to right and shall be
in block characters of good proportion not less than three inches in
height. The numbers shall be of a color which will contrast with the
color of the background ad so maintained as to be clearly visible
and legible; i.e., dark letters on a light background, or light letter on
a dark background.

(4) With each Certificate of Number issued by the Board there
shall be issued a set of 3” by 3” validation decals. The decals shall
be placed on each side of the vessel, three inches aft (towards the
stern) and directly in line with the registration numbers.

(5) Documented vessels issued a certificate of registration and
validation decal under ORS 830.775, shall display the decals on
both sides of the aftermost part of the hull in the upper, square foot,

below the deckline.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; MB 10, f. 11-14-61; MB 24, f. 3-13-64; MB 20-1985, f.
& ef. 11-22-85; MB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; OSMB 4-2002, f. & cert. ef.
7-5-02
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250-010-0051
Definition of “Operate” and “Otherwise Use a Boat on Water”

(1) For the purpose of ORS 830.700(5), the term “operate”
means to navigate or otherwise use a boat on water:

(2) The term “otherwise use” includes, but is not limited to,
being at anchor, adrift, moored on the water, use as live-a-board
residence on water or otherwise being afloat on the waters of this
state.

(3) A boat does not have to be “underway” to be in use for the
purpose of titling and registration requirements as provided in ORS
830.070 to 830.830.

Stat. Auth: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: OSMB 5-2002, f. 10-15-02, cert. ef. 11-1-02

250-010-0053
Safety Inspections

The sheriff of each county and all other police officers respon-
sible for enforcement of Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 704 and
830 and the amplifying Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 250,
are authorized to “signal boat operator to bring the boat to a stop”
to conduct safety inspections:

(1) With the owner or operator’s consent; or

(2) If a sheriff or other police officer confirms that a safety
violation has occurred the sheriff or officer shall conduct a
complete safety inspection to determine compliance with all other

applicable safety laws.
Stat. Auth: ORS 830.110 & 830
Stats. Implemented:
Hist.: OSMB 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-04

250-010-0055
Certificates of Boat Title

(1) When the owner of a boat submits an application for Cer-
tificate of Boat Title only, and under normal circumstances the boat
would require in addition to the title, a certificate of number, the
Director shall not issue the title until first obtaining from the owner
a signed statement that the boat will not be used on any waters over
which this state has jurisdiction until all registration requirements
have been complied with.

(2) Before issuing a Certificate of Title for a boat the Director
shall require “Proof of Ownership” which may include a notarized
transfer of title by the previous title owners, a Manufacturer’s
Statement of Origin (MSO) properly executed by the manufacturer,
a Homemade Boat Builders Certificate properly executed by the
builder, a Certificate of Boat Title issued by another state or an
original certificate of number for boats previously registered in
another state that does not issue a Certificate of Title for a Boat.

(a) When an application is made for an initial Oregon title, the
following boats must be inspected by the Oregon State Police, an
Oregon county sheriff’s representative, or Marine Board staff:

(A) Homemade boats; and

(B) Boats not titled and/or registered in Oregon or another
state with the exception of new boats when a manufacturer’s state-
ment of origin has been submitted.

(C) When a boat is currently unavailable for inspection or
when it is evident that a typographical error or misinterpretation of
a number or letter has occurred, a title and registration may be
issued after a pencil tracing (rubbing) or digital photo is submitted,
provided:

(i) The boat has a title or out of state registration;

(i1) There are no stolen records or red flags; and,

(iii) The boat is more than 20 years old and/or has an
estimated value less than $2.,000.

(b) The Board at its discretion may inspect any boat before
issuing an Oregon title.

(3) When an application for a certificate of boat title indicates
that the legal owner of the boat is other than the principal owner,
the title must be mailed to the legal owner.

(4) An application to replace a lost boat title may be made to
the Board. A lost boat title must be issued to the title owners
indicated in the Board’s records, unless a notarized transfer of title

signed by the previous title owners has been submitted in connection

with the lost title application.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; MB 8, f. 6-30-61; MB 10, f. 11-14-61; MB 12, f. 3-27-
62; MB 24, f. 3-13-64; Suspended by MB 9-1983(Temp), f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-
83; MB 3-1984, f. & ef. 1-5-84; MB 5-1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-9; OSMB 4-
20006, f. & cert ef. 7-3-06; OSMB 9-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07

250-010-0057
Issuance and Duplication Fees

(1) Fees for the title issuance and duplication fee shall be:

(a) Title original issuance — $30;

(b) Title duplication without change when original has been
lost, mutilated, destroyed or stolen — $15;

(c) Title reissued with change of ownership — $30.

(2) Fees for duplication of certificate of number, certificate or
registration and/or duplication of validation stickers — $10. The
agency shall waive the fee for duplicate decal if the original decal

issued is found to be defective.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.820
Hist.: MB 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; OSMB 1-2002, f. 4-15-02 cert. ef.
6-1-02; OSMB 6-2002, f. & cert. 10-15-02; OSMB 1-2005, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-
05

250-010-0058
Refunds

(1) Pursuant to ORS 293.445(4), the Board will refund
amounts more than $7 when it determines that moneys have been
received in excess of the amount legally due the Board.

(2) If the refund amount owed is $7 or less, a refund shall be
paid upon receipt of a written request from the person who paid the
money or their legal representative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 293 & 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 9-1986, f. 7-28-86, ef. 8-1-86; OSMB 1-2002, f. 4-15-02 cert. ef. 6-

1-02

250-010-0059
Reinstatement Fee

A fee of $25 shall be charged to reinstate a Certificate of
Number for owners of boats who have had a certificate cancelled
for failure to appear or failure to comply with a court judgement as

provided in ORS 830.815.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.815
Hist.: MB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

250-010-0060
Report of Transfer, Abandonment or Wrecking of a Boat,
Change of Address, Late Penalty Fees

(1) The owner of a boat for which a valid identifying number
has been awarded by this state shall notify the Board within 30
days of the transfer, abandonment, or destruction of the boat.

(2) Within 30 days after any change in address, the owner of a
boat with a valid identifying number shall report the change to the
Board.

(3) Title transfers received for processing 31 or more days
after transfer, abandonment or destruction shall be assessed a late
penalty of $25. All late penalty fees shall be in addition to the pre-
scribed original issuance title fee.

(4) The Board will waive the penalty fee for the following
reasons:

(a) The applicant did not have possession of the title or
replacement title form; or

(b) The person became physically or mentally incapacitated
following the purchase of the vessel, directly preventing or making
it impractical for the person to meet requirements for delivery of
documents.

(5) Examples of situations the Board shall consider to be
beyond a person’s control include but shall not be limited to where:

(a) The person is involved in an accident or suffers a
debilitating illness, condition or occurrence immediately following
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the purchase of the vessel that prevents this person from conducting
business for an extended time period following vessel purchase;

(b) The vessel is purchased from a person who fails to provide
the purchaser with the title or replacement title.

(6) Examples of situations the Board would not consider to be
beyond a person’s control include but shall not be limited to situa-
tions where the:

(a) Applicant purchases a vessel and the seller provides the
title or replacement title to the purchaser within 25 days of the sale;

(b) The applicant made no attempt to obtain the title or
replacement title from the seller;

(c) Applicant sustained minor injury, or incurred a short-term
hospital stay which did not directly affect their ability to conduct
business or to otherwise comply with requirements for delivery of
documents.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.905

Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; MB 17-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 8-1992, f. &

cert. ef. 6-16-92

250-010-0065
County Use Permit Programs

(1) This rule establishes standards for review of county use
permit programs as authorized by ORS 830.172(2).

(2) Applicability. The Board will only consider use permit
programs from counties bordering a state that allows imposition of
a boat use permit fee.

(3) Use of funds. All funds collected by a county from out-of-
state residents for a boat use permit shall be dedicated to the main-
tenance, improvement and/or development of boating facilities and
services for boating recreation on waters within the county. The
enforcement of boating laws, rules, and use permits is an allowable
use of county boat use permit revenues.

(4) Amount of fee. Fees should be commensurate with those
fees charged to Oregon residents visiting states with boat use
permits. Maximum fees shall not exceed the following:

(a) Daily permit: $1 per day, 4 days ($4) maximum;

(b) Annual permits: Less than 12 feet: $5; 12 feet and over: $5
plus $2 for each foot over 12;

(¢) A vendor fee/commission not to exceed $2 is allowable.

(5) Administration. The proposed ordinance shall also prescribe
where permits will be available, proper display of permits, exemp-
tions to permits as set forth in ORS 830.172, permit expiration, and
transferability of permits.

(6) Enforcement. The county ordinance shall contain a penalty
section for violations, and shall state that county sheriffs and other
peace officers are authorized to enforce the provisions of the use
permit system.

(7) The permit system shall clearly identify that Oregon resi-
dents with current Oregon registrations are exempt from the county
use permit. Manually propelled vessels are also exempt. The
permit system shall exempt the Snake River and its reservoirs
where such waters form a common border with the State of Idaho,
provided that Idaho provides reciprocity on these waters and
exempts Oregon vessels on those common waters.

(8) The county permit system ordinance shall provide reciproc-
ity with other Oregon counties that require out-of-state boat use

permits.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.172
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.172 & 830.200
Hist.: MB 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-93

250-010-0075
Boating Safety/Education Assistance Program
(1) The Board is authorized by ORS 830.110 (1), (4), (7), and
(8) to carry out the provisions of boating safety education. The
Boating Safety/Education Assistance Program provides funds for
new, unique or innovative ideas or programs to promote safe
boating and increase youth involvement in recreational boating.
(2) The Board may adopt policies, guidelines and procedure
manuals to implement these rules. Assistance funds will be
provided only to participants who meet eligibility guidelines. The
Program process is competitive in nature. Applications are reviewed

and evaluated on the basis of applicant’s eligibility, project
feasibility, merit and effectiveness and the proposal’s compatibility
with goals, needs and priorities of the Board.

(3) Applications will be accepted from nonprofit corporations
or organizations. The application will be submitted to the Agency
as described in the “Let’s Go Boating” Assistance Program Manu-
al.

(A) Following Marine Board staff consideration, the applicant
will be advised in writing of the Marine Board Director’s or
designee’s decision. If the application is denied, Marine Board staff
will provide specific notice indicating the reasons.

(B) Upon application approval, Marine Board staff will award
a written contract stipulating project specifications and expectations.
The recipient must sign and return the contract to the Agency
within forty-five (45) days or award may be rescinded.

(4) An annual allotment of funds is available each biennial
period as prescribed by the Board Proposals requesting more than
the amounts prescribed may be considered on a case-by-case basis
based on available funds.

(A) Only items approved by the Marine Board Director or
designee and identified in the scope of work from the recipient’s
finalized contract’s itemized cost estimates or amendments are eli-
gible for funding. Eligible project costs are those identified specif-
ically with and charged directly to a particular scope item.

(B) In determining approval, Marine Board staff will give pri-
ority to those applicants providing their program or services free to
the general public.

(C) Applications for funding are accepted, reviewed and con-
sidered on an annual basis set by the Board. Applicants should con-
tact the Agency for program application deadlines and availability
of funds.

(D) The Board requires projects or programs to be completed
within the timeframe set by the Board. Under extraordinary cir-
cumstances, the Marine Board Director or designee may authorize
project extensions up to ninety (90) days.

(5) Each approved project must clearly acknowledge the use
of Marine Board funds. This will be done as appropriate in print or
by sign.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented:

Hist.: OSMB 14-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-10-07 thru 5-31-08; OSMB 2-

2008, f. 4-11-08, cert. ef. 5-1-08

250-010-0085
Capacity Plates

This rule applies to monohull boats less than 20 feet in length,
except sailboats, canoes, kayaks, inflatable boats, and other boats
exempted by the U.S. Coast Guard. Each boat must display a
capacity plate which shall meet the following specifications:

(1) The information relating to maximum capacity required to
appear thereon shall be determined in accordance with methods
and formulas recognized by the United States Coast Guard, as pub-
lished in 33 CFR 183.23.

(2) The plate shall be of a form and size prescribed by 33 CFR
183.25.

Stat. Auth: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 38, f. 1-18-68; MB 13-1997, f. & cert. ef. 12-5-97

250-010-0095
Application for Marine Events

(1) For the purpose of this rule the term Marine Event
includes Regattas, Boat Races, Marine Parades, Tournaments or
Exhibitions which are organized boating water events of limited
duration conducted according to a prearranged schedule. Predicted
log races, cruises and/or other marine events conducted by
individual groups, which do not introduce extra or unusual water
safety hazards are exempted from the provisions of this rule.

(2) An individual or organization planning to sponsor or con-
duct a marine event which, by its nature, circumstances or location,
will introduce extra or unusual hazards to water safety on waters of
this state, shall submit a completed application to the State Marine
Board at least 30 days prior to the event. Examples of conditions
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which are deemed to introduce extra or unusual hazards include,
but are not limited to: an inherently hazardous competition, the
customary presence of commercial or pleasure craft in the area,
any obstruction to navigation which may result, and/or the expected
accumulation of spectators or spectator craft. A completed applica-
tion contains the signatures of the federal, state and/or local
agencies specified on the application.

(3) The sponsor shall submit an advance copy of the
application as soon as the event date(s) and location(s) have been
determined by the sponsor. This copy will be without endorsements
and serves to reserve the date(s) and location(s) until the completed
application is received. Marine Event date(s) and location(s) are
reserved on a first come, first serve basis.

(4) If the sponsoring organization is requesting Coast Guard
Auxiliary assistance a “Request for Coast Guard Auxiliary Safety
Patrol Services” application shall be completed and filed with the
Marine Board after the sponsoring organization has made arrange-
ments with the local Coast Guard flotilla.

(5) The agency shall authorize or deny the permit and so
notify the sponsor and other interested agencies.

(6) The agency, in authorizing an event, may condition the
authorization subject to meeting certain requirements as specified
by responsible federal, state or local agencies.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.375

Hist.: MB 7-1982, f. 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82

250-010-0097
Application for Special Use Device Permits

(1) For the purpose of this rule the term Special Use Device
includes waterski courses, ski jumps, race buoys, kayak race gates
and other floating devices used to mark water events. These rules
apply to all of the waters of this state.

(2) An individual or organization planning to install a special
use device on the waters of this state shall submit a completed
application for a special use device permit to the Marine Board at
least 30 days before an anticipated installation.

(3) Exemptions. Devices installed in conjunction with an
authorized marine event do not require a separate permit other than
the permit by ORS Chapter 830 and OAR 250-010-0095. Devices
installed for private non-commercial use are permitted for a period
up to 12 hours, between sunrise and sunset, without a permit, pro-
vided the device is removed before sunset.

(4) The application shall be in such form as required by the
Board. The applicant must furnish information on the type of
device, dates of installation and proposed use, a description of the
location including maps sufficient to locate the planned placement
of the device, information identifying adjacent property owners by
name and address, and other information deemed necessary by the
Board.

(5) The Marine Board will circulate a notice of the proposed
installation for public comment and review. Particular notice will
be provided to adjacent landowners, the county sheriff and other
interested parties. A hearing on the proposed device installation
may be held if requested.

(6) The State Marine Director shall evaluate the application
and consider public comments in deciding whether to issue a
permit. The Director shall consider the size of the waterbody,
season of use, probable impacts to adjacent properties, potential for
use conflicts and other factors related to the public health, safety
and welfare.

(7) The Director may condition permits as to days and hours
of operation, anchoring materials and methods, special lighting
requirements if any, and other requirements as necessary.

(8) The applicant or other affected parties may appeal the
decision of the Director to the Board. Requests for Board review
must be in writing within 30 days of the Directors decision on a
permit.

(9) A special use permit does not authorize Marine Events. A
separate permit is required if a permitted special use device is to be
used for a boat race, regatta, tournament or exhibition.

(10) A Marine Board special use permit does not relieve the
applicant from other federal, state or local permits, licenses, or
approval which may be required.

(11) Permits may be valid for a period up to three years. The
permit may be revoked or cancelled for violation of permit condi-
tions, complaints regarding use by the public or county sheriff, or a
request by ten or more persons.

(12) The Permittee shall be responsible for ensuring the safety
of the proposed device area and keep it clear of debris, obstructions
and other elements that constitute a safety hazard. A special device
permit shall not give the permittee exclusive use of the waters of

the state in the permit area.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 3-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88

250-010-0110
Investigation of Accidents

(1) The operator of any boat involved in an accident resulting
in an injury or death to any person shall within 48 hours forward a
complete written report of such accident to the Board on a State
Marine Board Accident Report form.

(2) Accidents involving only property or equipment damage
must be reported within ten days if the damage is in excess of
$2000. Forms may be obtained from the State Marine Board or the
local sheriff.

(3) Upon receipt of an accident report indicating the death of
any person as the result of the accident, the Director of the Board,
or a person designated by him, may investigate the accident and
prepare an accident report which will be for the confidential use of
administrative and enforcement agencies only.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.475

Hist.: MB 8, f. 6-30-61; MB 7-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 2-1989, f. &

cert. ef. 7-6-89; MB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-90; MB 3-1991, f. & cert. ef. 10-

15-91; OSMB 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-01

250-010-0121
Mufflers

(1) The exhaust of every internal combustion engine used on
any motorboat shall be effectively muffled at all times in accordance
with ORS 830.260. The term “effectively muffled” shall mean the
exhaust system contains a mechanical device or appliance, designed,
constructed and so used as to reduce the exhaust noise emissions of
a motorboat below the maximum noise levels established in section
(2) of this rule. Such device or appliance must be integral to the
motorboats’ exhaust system. Water muffling systems which meet
this standard are those which incorporate a marine exhaust
manifold.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat on the waters of this
state that exceeds a noise level as follows:

(a) For engines manufactured before January 1, 1993, a maxi-
mum noise level of 90 dBA when subjected to a stationary test as
prescribed by SAE J-2005;

(b) For engines manufactured after January 1, 1993, a maxi-
mum noise level of 88 dBA when subjected to a stationary test as
prescribed by SAE J-2005.

(3) This regulation shall not apply to motor-boats competing,
under a permit issued by the State Marine Board pursuant to ORS
830.375 or a United States Coast Guard permit, in a regatta, a boat
race, or while on official trials for speed records during the time
and in a designated area authorized by the permit; and those boats
testing in areas designated by the State Marine Board pursuant to
ORS 830.350.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.250 & 830.260

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.260

Hist.: MB 51, f. 5-3-73, ef. 5-15-73; MB 2-1980, f. 4-23-80, ef. 5-1-80; MB 9-

1981, f. & ef. 11-16-81; MB 14-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92

250-010-0122
Carburetors

(1) All gasoline engines, except outboard motors, must be
equipped with an acceptable means of backfire flame control.
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Installations consisting of backfire flame arresters approved by the
U.S. Coast Guard under 46 CFR Parts 25 and 58 are acceptable.

(2) A Coast Guard Approved Flame Arrester bearing basic
Approval Nos. 162.016 or 162.041 or engine air and fuel induction
systems bearing basic Approval Nos. 162.015 or 162.042 may be
continued in use as long as they are serviceable and in good condi-
tion. New installations or replacements must meet the applicable
requirements of section (3) of this rule.

(3) The following are acceptable means of backfire flame con-
trol for gasoline engines:

(a) A backfire flame arrester complying with SAE J-1928 or
UL 1111 and marked accordingly. The flame arrester must be
suitably secured to the air intake with a flametight connection;

(b) An engine air and fuel induction system which provides
adequate protection from propagation of backfire flame to the
atmosphere equivalent to that provided by an acceptable backfire
flame arrester. A gasoline engine utilizing an air and fuel induction
system, and operated without an approved backfire flame arrester,
must either include a reed valve assembly or be installed in accor-
dance with SAE J-1928;

(c) An arrangement of the carburetor or engine air induction
system that will disperse any flames caused by engine backfire.
The flames must be dispersed to the atmosphere outside the vessel
in such a manner that the flames will not endanger the vessel,
persons on board, or nearby vessels and structures. Flame dispersion
may be achieved by attachments to the carburetor or location of the
engine air induction system. All attachments shall be of metallic
construction with flametight connections and firmly secured to
withstand vibration, shock, and engine backfire. Such installations
do not require formal approval and labeling, but must comply with
this rule.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.235 & 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.235
Hist.: MB 52, f.8-17-73, ef. 9-1-73; MB 15-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92

250-010-0125
Ventilation

Pursuant to ORS 830.240, the following ventilation system
standards shall apply to all boats:

(1) Powered ventilation (applicable to boats constructed after
July 31, 1980 that utilize a gasoline engine for electrical generation,
mechanical power or propulsion):

(a) Each compartment in a boat that has a permanently
installed gasoline engine with a cranking motor must:

(A) Be open to the atmosphere; or

(B) Be ventilated by an exhaust blower system.

(b) Each exhaust blower or combination of blowers must be
rated at an air flow capacity not less than that computed by the for-
mulas given in Table 1 — Column 2. Blower rating must be deter-
mined according to AMCA Standard 210-74, Figure 12, dated
1974, or UL Standard 1128 dated August 23, 1977;

(c) Each exhaust blower system required by paragraph
(1)(a)(B) of this rule must exhaust air from the boat at a rate which
meets the requirements of Table 1 — Column 3 when the engine is
not operating;

(d) Each intake duct for an exhaust blower must be in the
lower one-third of the compartment and above the normal level of
accumulated bilge water;

(e) More than one exhaust blower may be used in combination
to meet these requirements;

(f) Each boat that is required to have an exhaust blower must
have a label that:

(A) Is located as close as practicable to each ignition switch;

(B) Is in plain view of the operator; and

(C) Has at least the following information:

WARNING — GASOLINE VAPORS CAN EXPLODE. BEFORE

STARTING ENGINE OPERATE BLOWER FOR 4 MINUTES AND

CHECK ENGINE COMPARTMENT BILGE FOR GASOLINE

VAPORS.

(2) Natural ventilation system:

(a) Except for compartments open to the atmosphere, a natural
ventilation system that meets the requirements of paragraphs

(2)(c)(A) and (B) of this rule must be provided for each compartment
in a boat that:

(A) Contains a permanently installed gasoline engine;

(B) Has openings between it and a compartment that requires
ventilation where the aggregate area of those openings exceeds two
percent of the area between the compartments;

(C) Contains a permanently installed fuel tank and an electrical
component that is not ignition protected in accordance with
existing U.S. Coast Guard regulations;

(D) Contains a fuel tank that vents into that compartment; or

(E) Contains a non-metallic fuel tank with an aggregate per-
meability rate of more than the greater of 1.2 grams of fuel loss in
24 hours, or 1.2 grams of fuel loss in 24 hours per cubic foot of net
compartment volume (Permeability Rate — reference: fuel “C” at
40° C. plus or minus 2° C. from ASTM Standard D-241, dated
April 1975).

(b) Each natural ventilation system must be constructed so
that:

(A) Each supply opening required is forward facing and
located on the exterior surface of a boat; or

(B) Air flow will occur into or out of the supply or exhaust
openings when the boat is in a wind flowing from bow to stern at a
velocity of ten miles per hour (boat’s engine not operating).

(c) For the purpose of this section “natural ventilation” means
an airflow in a boat compartment achieved by having:

(A) A supply opening or duct from the atmosphere or from a
ventilated compartment or from a compartment that is open to the
atmosphere; and

(B) An exhaust opening into another ventilated compartment
or an exhaust duct to the atmosphere.

(d) Each exhaust opening or exhaust duct must originate in the
lower third of the compartment;

(e) Each supply opening or supply duct and each exhaust
opening or exhaust duct in a compartment must be located above
the normal accumulation of bilge water.

NOTE: Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, supply open-

ings or supply ducts and exhaust opening or exhaust ducts must each

have a minimum aggregate internal cross-sectional area calculated as fol-

lows: A =35 in. (V/5): where:

(A) “A” is the minimum aggregate internal cross-sectional
area of the openings or ducts in square inches;

(B) “V” is the net compartment volume in cubic feet,
including the net volume of other compart-ments connected by
openings that exceed two percent of the area between the compart-
ments; and

(C) In (V/5) is the natural logarithm of the quantity (V/5).

(f) The minimum internal cross-sectional area of each supply
opening or duct and exhaust opening or duct must exceed 3.0
square inches;

(g) The minimum internal cross-sectional area of terminal fit-
tings for flexible ventilation ducts installed to meet the requirements
of subsection (2)(d) of this rule must not be less than 80 percent of
the required internal cross-sectional area of the flexible ventilation
duct.

(3) Nothing in this rule shall apply to:

(a) Boats of open construction having at least 15 square inches
of open area directly exposed to the atmosphere for each cubic foot
of net compartment volume;

(b) An accommodation compartment above a compartment
requiring ventilation that is separated from the compartment
requiring ventilation by a deck or other structure.

[ED. NOTE: Tables & Publications referenced are available from the agency]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.240

Hist.: MB 37, f. 1-16-68; MB 1-1981, f. & ef. 3-3-81

250-010-0150
Exemptions

(1) Undocumented vessels used exclusively for racing shall
be exempt from the numbering and title requirements of ORS
830.770 and 830.810.

(2) The provisions of ORS 830.220 and 830.230 shall not
apply to motorboats propelled by outboard motors while competing
in any race previously arranged and announced or, if such boats be
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designed and intended solely for racing, while engaged in such
navigation as is incidental to the tuning up of the boats and engines
for the race.

(3) Boats classified as “University or College” racing shells
which compete in intercollegiate crew races shall be exempt from
the requirements of carrying life-saving devices.

(4) The Lightship Columbia shall be exempt from the num-
bering and titling requirements of ORS Chapter 830.

(5) Federally documented commercial vessels are exempt
from the numbering and title requirements of ORS 830.705,
830.710, 830.770, 830.780, 830.785, 830.795 to 830.805 and

830.830 to 830.870.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 7, f. 8-19-60; MB 8, . 6-30-61; MB 11, f. 11-14-61; MB 24, f. 3-13-
64; MB 33, f. 3-30-67; MB 10-1984, f. 8-13-84, ef. 8-14-84; OSMB 5-2012, f.
& cert. ef. 4-20-12

250-010-0152
Use of Sirens Prohibited by Other Than Expressly Authorized
Peace Officers

Only law enforcement boats are allowed to use a siren on the
waters over which this state has jurisdiction.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.035

Hist.: MB 8, f. 6-30-61

250-010-0154
Personal Flotation Devices

(1) No person shall operate a boat on the waters of this state
unless at least one Personal Flotation Device (PFD) of the
following types is on board for each person:

(a) Type I PFD;

(b) Type 11 PFD;

(c) Type I1I PFD.

(2) No person shall operate a boat 16 feet or more in length
unless one Type IV PFD is on board in addition to the total number
of PFD’s required in section (1) of this rule.

(3) No person shall operate a boat on the waters of this state
with a child age 12 and under, unless the child is wearing a U.S.
Coast Guard approved personal flotation device, of the appropriate
size, while the boat is underway. For the purpose of ORS 830.215,
a personal flotation device shall not be considered “readily accessi-
ble” for children age 12 and under unless the device is worn while
the boat is underway. The PFD must be worn at all times by a child
age 12 and under whenever the boat is underway and the child is on
an open deck or open cockpit of the vessel. The following circum-
stances are excepted:

(a) While the child is below deck, or in the cabin of a boat
with enclosed cabin.

(b) While a child is on a sailboat and tethered by means of a
lifeline or harness attached to the sailboat.

(c) While a child is on a U.S. Coast Guard inspected passen-
ger-carrying vessel operating on the navigable waters of the United
States.

(4) A Type V PFD may be carried in lieu of any PFD required
in section (1) of this rule provided:

(a) The approval label on the Type V PFD indicates that it is
approved for the activity in which the vessel is being used, or that it
is approved as a substitute for a PFD of the Type required on the
vessel in use;

(b) The PFD is used in accordance with any requirements on
the approval label; and

(c) The PFD is used in accordance with requirements in its
owner’s manual, if the approval label makes reference to such a
manual.

(5) Canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length and over are
exempted from the requirements for carriage of the additional Type
IV PFD.

(6) Racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes and racing
kayaks are exempted from the requirements for carriage of any
Type PFD. Racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes, and racing
kayaks are manually propelled vessels that are recognized by

national or international racing associations for use in competitive
racing an in which all occupants row, scull, or paddle, with the
exception of a coxswain, if one is provided, and are not designed to
carry and do not carry any equipment not solely for competitive
racing.

(7) PFD is defined as follows:

(a) Type I — A Type I PFD is an approved device designed to
turn an unconscious person in the water from a face downward
position to a vertical or slightly backward position, and to have
more than 20 pounds of buoyancy;

(b) Type I — A Type II PFD is an approved device designed
to turn an unconscious person in the water from a face downward
position to a vertical or slightly backward position and to have at
least 15.5 pounds of buoyancy;

(c) Type III — A Type III PFD is an approved device designed
to keep a conscious person in a vertical or slightly backward
position and to have at least 15.5 pounds of buoyancy;

(d) Type IV — A Type IV PFD is an approved device
designed to be thrown to a person in the water and not worn. It is
designed to have at least 16.5 pounds of buoyancy;

(e) Type V. — A Type V PFD is an approved device for
restricted use. A Type V PFD may be carried in lieu of any PFD,
but only if that Type V PFD is approved for that activity in which
the recreational boat is being used.

(8) No person shall operate a personal watercraft, as defined
in OAR 250-021-0020, unless each person operating or riding on
the vessel is wearing an inherently buoyant Coast Guard approved
Type L, IT or III PFD, (see 250-021-00030(1)).

(9) Exemptions:

(a) Sailboards are exempted from the requirements for carriage
of any Type PFD.

(b) Float tubes as defined in OAR 250-010-0010 are exempted
from the requirements for carriage of any Type PFD.

(10) Personal Flotation Device Requirements for Class III or
Higher Water:

(a) A properly secured personal flotation device must be worn
by persons in a boat while navigating sections of river with a com-
monly accepted scale of river difficulty rated Class III or higher.

(b) The personal flotation devices worn by boaters must:

(A) Be approved by the U.S. Coast Guard as a Type I, III, or V
personal flotation device.

(B) Not have a limitation or restriction on its approval that
would prevent its use on whitewater rivers.

(C) Not be an inflatable personal flotation device regardless of
rating type.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830

Hist.: MB 8, f. 6-30-61; MB 18, f. 2-5-63; MB 54, f. 10-29-73, ef. 11-25-73;

Suspended by MB 11-1983(Temp), f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 2-1984, f. &

ef. 1-5-84; MB 12-1988, f. 12-28-98, cert. ef. 1-1-89; MB 1-1995, f. 3-21-95,

cert. ef. 5-1-95; MB 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-96; MB 9-1997, {. & cert. ef. 10-

8-97; MB 1-1998, f. 1-15-98, cert. ef. 2-14-98; OSMB 2-2010, . & cert. ef. 1-
15-10

250-010-0155
Fire Extinguishers

(1) Every motorboat, except outboard motorboats less than 26
feet in length of open construction, shall carry on board, fully
charged and in serviceable condition the following hand portable
marine approved fire extinguishers:

(a) Motorboats with no fixed fire extinguishing system in the
machinery space and which are:

(A) Less than 26 feet in length — One extinguisher;

(B) Twenty-six feet but less than 40 feet in length — Two
extinguishers;

(C) Forty feet or longer in length — Three extinguishers.

(b) Motorboats with a fixed extinguishing system in the
machinery space and which are:

(A) Less than 26 feet — No hand portable extinguisher
required;

(B) Twenty-six feet or longer in length, but less than forty feet
in length — One extinguisher;

(C) Forty feet or longer in length — Two extinguishers.
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(2) The fire extinguishers required by this section are Class B-
I as described in Title 46, Code of Federal Regulation, 25.30,
however, one Class B-II described in that regulation may be substi-
tuted for two Class B-I extinguishers.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.220

Hist.: MB 17-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

250-010-0156
Sound Signaling Appliances

(1) A vessel of less than 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) shall not
be obliged to carry sound signaling appliances prescribed in
section (2) of this rule, but if no such appliance is aboard then some
other means of making an efficient sound signal shall be provided.

(2) A vessel of 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) in length but less
than 65 feet 6 inches (20 meters) shall be provided with a whistle
and a bell. The whistle and the bell shall comply with the existing
Federal specifications.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.230
Hist.: MB 18-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

250-010-0160
Board Not to Approve Products of Manufacturers
The Marine Board will not endorse or approve the products of

any individual or firm.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 5, f. 7-13-60

250-010-0164
Visual Distress Signals

Vessels operating in ocean or coastal waters, and on the
Columbia River west of the Astoria-Megler Bridge, are required to
carry visual distress signals as defined in Title 33 Part 175 of the

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), effective January 1, 2015.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.245, 830.250
Hist.: OSMB 2-2015, f. 4-29-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

Uniform Waterway Marking System
250-010-0175 [Renumbered to 250-010-0201]
250-010-0180 [Renumbered to 250-010-0240]
250-010-0185 [Renumbered to 250-010-0245]
250-010-0190 [Renumbered to 250-010-0255]
250-010-0195 [Renumbered to 250-010-0260]
250-010-0205 [Renumbered to 250-010-0265]
250-010-0210 [Renumbered to 250-010-0275]

250-010-0201
Definitions

(1) “Buoy” is any device designed to float and to be held in a
fixed position in a water area and which is used to convey an
official message.

(2) “Calm water buoy” is a buoy designed for use in lakes,
reservoirs, or other waterbodies where currents are minimal.

(3) “Display Area” is the area needed to display a waterway
marker symbol such as a diamond, circle, or square.

(4) “Fast water buoy” is a buoy designed for use in rivers,
tidal areas, or other waterways where water currents exist.

(5) “Information marker” is a waterway marker used to
convey information to boat operators other than regulatory matters,
such as warnings of dangers or obstructions to navigation or other
information of an official nature which will contribute to the
health, safety, and well-being of boaters.

(6) “Mooring buoy” is a device that is permanently secured to
the bottom of a body of water and to which a vessel may be secured
when not underway.

(7) “Regulatory marker” is a waterway marker used to alert
boat operators to restrictions set in law including, but not limited
to, boat exclusion areas and motor, horsepower, speed, or wake
restrictions.

(8) “Sign” is a device which is attached to another object such
as a piling, buoy, pier, or the land itself which is used to convey an
official message.

(9) “Waterway Marker” is any device placed by the Marine
Board, or by a political subdivision or person with the permission
of the Marine Board, under the authority of ORS 830.110(13),
designed to be placed in, or near water to convey an official
message to a boat operator. The term “waterway marker” includes

within its meaning the terms “buoy” and “sign”
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63; Renumbered from 250-010-0175 by OSMB 3-2015, f.
4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0206
Waterway Marker Permits Required and Exemptions

(1) No person or political subdivision shall place or cause to
be placed any waterway marker in, on, or over the waters of this
state without a permit from the Marine Board after July 1, 2015.

(2) Regulatory markers established before July 1, 2015,
including markers deployed year-round and markers deployed sea-
sonally, when supported by statute or rule, are exempt from the
permit requirements of OAR 250-010-0215 to 250-010-0235 until
the equipment is replaced. Existing regulatory markers that are not
supported by statute or rule or that are an unreasonable hazard to
navigation are subject to the removal provisions of 250-010-
0235(4).

(3) A Marine Board waterway marker permit does not relieve
the applicant from obtaining other federal, state or local permits,
licenses, or approval which may be required.

(4) The permit requirements of OAR 250-010-0206 to 250-
010-0235 shall not apply to:

(a) The US Government or its agencies, nor to any aid to nav-
igation, waterway marker, mooring buoy, or other similar device
placed by the US Government or its agencies on federally navigable
waterways;

(b) Contracted law enforcement agencies placing markers
purchased and owned by the Marine Board;

(c) Persons or political subdivisions placing a special use
device if the owner of the special use device applied for and
received a special used device permit as specified in OAR 250-
010-0097.

(d) Persons or political subdivisions placing waterway markers
used only during a marine event approved under OAR 250-010-
0095.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: OSMB 3-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0215
Application for Waterway Marker Permit

(1) Any person or political subdivision not exempted in OAR
250-010-0206(4), desiring to place a waterway marker shall apply
for a permit from the Marine Board.

(2) The information marker application and the regulatory
marker application, provided by the Marine Board, must identify
information on the type of device, a description of the location
including maps sufficient to locate the planned placement of the
device, any comments or reference to required permits from other
waterway management agencies, and other information deemed
necessary by the Board.

(3) Persons or political subdivisions who have received per-
mission from the US Army Corps of Engineers and the US Coast
Guard to establish private aids to navigation pursuant to 33 CFR
§66 prior to July 1, 2015 can submit a copy of the private aid to
navigation approval in lieu of the form required in OAR 250-010-
0215(2).

(4) The agency will authorize or deny the permit within 30
days and so notify the sponsor and other interested agencies.
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(5) The applicant or other affected parties may appeal the
decision of the agency to the Board. Requests for Board review
must be in writing within 30 days of the agency’s decision on a per-
mit. Any person aggrieved by a decision of the Board regarding the
issuance or denial of a waterway marker permit is entitled to
judicial review of the decision in accordance with the procedure for
contested cases provided by ORS Chapter 183.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: OSMB 3-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0225
Waterway Marker Placement Conditions

(1) After obtaining the requested waterway marker permit, the
applicant must install, inspect, maintain, and remove the permitted
marker at their own expense and as directed by the Marine Board.

(2) All markers must comply with the characteristics and stan-
dards of OAR 250-010-0240 to 250-010-0275 and all permits
issued pursuant to this chapter are subject to the following condi-
tions

(a) Placement of these markers must be as requested in the
application. Any deviation will require the applicant to apply to
have the permit amended.

(b) The applicant must attach a Marine Board supplied coding
device or permanently attach the permit number on the top of the
marker.

(c) All markers must be maintained in proper condition at all
times. A discrepancy exists whenever a marker is not as described
in the approved application or is destroyed, damaged, moved, or is
otherwise unserviceable.

(d) Authorization by the Marine Board for the placement of a
marker does not authorize any invasion of private rights, nor grant
any exclusive privileges, nor does it preclude the necessity of com-

plying with any other federal, state or local laws or regulations.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: 830.110
Hist.: OSMB 3-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0230
Transfer of Ownership of Waterway Markers

When any waterway marker(s) authorized under permit by the
Marine Board, or the facility with which the marker(s) are
associated, is sold or transferred, the Marine Board must be
notified within 30 days.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: 830.110

Hist.: OSMB 3-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0235
Discontinuance and Removal of Waterway Markers

(1) Any permitted waterway marker may be discontinued and
removed by the permittee. Upon completion of the removal of the
marker, the permitee shall notify the Marine Board in writing
within 30 days.

(2) If the statute or rule supporting a regulatory marker is
amended, the permittee must relocate or otherwise modify those
waterway markers placed by the permittee in order to implement
the statute or rule, within 30 days of notification from the Marine
Board.

(3) If the statute or rule supporting a regulatory marker is
repealed, the permittee shall remove from the waters of this state
all regulatory markers the permittee placed that correspond to the
repealed statute or rule, within 30 days of notification from the
Marine Board of the rule or statute repeal.

(4) The Marine Board or any peace officer charged with the
enforcement of OAR Chapter 250 may remove, or cause the
removal of, any marker found in violation of OAR Chapter 250, or
that does not conform to the permit authorizing the placement of
the marker, if the violation is not corrected within 30 days
following notification of the permittee of the violation. Waterway
markers that create an unreasonable hazard to navigation may be
removed immediately.

(5) Non-conforming or non-permitted waterway markers
removed from the waterway remain the property of the owner.
Reoccurring removals of non-conforming or non-permitted markers
may result in permanent seizure and will be disposed of in accor-
dance with ORS 98.245.

(6) The permittee may appeal the decision to remove non-con-
forming or non-permitted waterway markers to the Board. Requests
for Board review must be in writing within 30 days of the removal
action. Any person aggrieved by a decision of the Board regarding
the issuance or denial of a waterway marker permit is entitled to
judicial review of the decision in accordance with the procedure for

contested cases provided by ORS Chapter 183.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: 830.110
Hist.: OSMB 3-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0240
Characteristics of Waterway Markers

(1) Channel markers shall be designated as follows:

(a) A solid red marker shall indicate that side of a channel to
be kept to the right of a vessel when entering the channel from the
main water body;

(b) A solid green marker shall indicate that side of a channel
to be kept to the left of a vessel when entering the channel from the
main water body;

(c) Ared and white vertically striped marker shall indicate the
center of a navigable channel.

(2) Informational and regulatory markers shall contain the
symbols and messages as follows:

(a) A diamond shape of international orange with white center
shall be used to indicate danger from natural or man-made hazard.
The nature of the hazard may be indicated by words or well-known
abbreviations in black letters inside the diamond shape, or above
and/or below it on white background. Common messages include
Danger, Rocks, and Low Water.

(b) A diamond shape of international orange with a cross of
the same color within it against a white center shall be used to indi-
cate a water zone where vessels may not enter. Any words or well-
known abbreviations must be in black letters above and/or below
the shape on white background. Common messages include Exclu-
sion Zone, No Entry, Swim Area, and No Boats.

(c) A circle of international orange with white center shall be
used to indicate water zone within which a control or restriction is
imposed upon operation of vessels and/or use of the zoned area.
The nature of the control shall be indicated by words, numerals, or
well-known abbreviations in black letters inside the circular shape,
or above and/or below it. Common messages include Slow No
Wake, speed restrictions, and motor type restrictions.

(d) A rectangular shape of international orange with white
center may be used to convey other information of an official
nature which will contribute to the health, safety, and well-being of
boaters using the state’s waters. The message will be presented
within the shape in black letters. Common messages include
Marina Entrance, Wildlife Refuge, services, and other general
information.

(3) Markers may be numbered for identification. In the case of
channel markers, red markers will be identified with even numbers

and green markers with odd numbers
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 19, f.2-20-63; MB 7-1984, f. 2-14-84, ef. 2-15-84; Renumbered from
250-010-0180 by OSMB 3-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0245
Buoy Standards

(1) Buoys must meet the following specifications for design
and construction:

(a) Be a commercial available design approved by the Marine
Board;

(b) Be self-righting;

(c) Have a durable hard plastic shell;

(d) Have internal foam floatation and a ballast system.
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(2) Calm water buoys must conform to the following minimum
dimensions:

(a) The minimum height above the waterline must be 34 inch-
es;

(b) The minimum diameter must be 8 inches.

(3) Fast water buoys must conform to the following minimum
dimensions:

(a) The minimum height above the waterline must be 36 inch-
es;

(b) The minimum can diameter must be 10 inches;

(c) The minimum float collar base diameter must be 21inches

(4) When a buoy is used as an informational or regulatory
marker, it shall:

(a) Be white with horizontal bands of international orange
placed completely around the buoy circumference. One band shall
be at the top of the buoy body, with a second band placed just
above the water line of the buoy so that both international orange
bands are clearly visible to approaching vessels. The area of the
buoy body visible between the two bands shall be white;

(b) Contain the symbols and messages described in 250-010-
240(2)(a)—(d) placed in the center of the display area, between the
horizontal bands.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63; Renumbered from 250-010-0175 by OSMB 3-2015, f.
4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0255
Sign Standards

(1) Signs shall be made of materials which will retain, despite
weather and other exposure, the characteristics essential to their
basic significance, such as color, shape, legibility, and position.
Acceptable materials include:

(a) 0.080” aluminum;

(b) Fluted twin wall corrugated plastic sheet; or

(c) Other materials as approved by request to the Marine
Board.

(2) The size of a display area shall be as required by circum-
stances, except no display area shall be smaller than 24 inches in
height by 18 inches in width.

(3) When a sign is used as an informational or regulatory
marker it shall:

(a) Be rectangular in shape and have a white background;

(b) Contain the symbols and messages described in 250-010-
240(2)(a)—(d) placed in the center of the display area.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63; Renumbered from 250-010-0190 by OSMB 3-2015, f.
4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0260
Standards for Letter or Numeral Elements of Markers
Letters, numerals, or figures used with the marker symbol
shall be black, and in block characters of good proportion, and
spaced in a manner which will provide maximum legibility.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63; Renumbered from 250-010-0195 by OSMB 3-2015, .
4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0265
Standards for Mooring Buoys

In order that mooring buoys shall not be mistaken for
waterway markers, they shall be white with a blue band clearly vis-
ible above the water line, except those in officially designated

mooring areas.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63; Renumbered from 250-010-0205 by OSMB 3-2015, f.
4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0270
Standards for Swim Area Markers

(1) Only swim areas established by a public body in statute,
rule or ordinance shall be considered marked swimming areas
under ORS 830.345(2).

(2) Swim area markers must include regulatory buoys or signs
at the corners of the designated swim area that display the message
“swim area” and a diamond shape of international orange with a
cross of the same color within it against a white background. The
regulatory buoys or signs must be connected by a visible floating

line to demarcate the boundaries of the swim area.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: 830.110, 830.345
Hist.: OSMB 3-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-010-0275
The “Divers” Flag

(1) A red flag with a white diagonal running from the upper
left hand corner to the lower right hand corner (from mast head to
lower outside corner) and known as the “Diver Flag” shall, when
displayed on the water, indicate the presence of a diver submerged
in the immediate area.

(2) Recognition of this flag by regulation will not be construed
as conferring any rights or privileges on its users, and its presence
in a water area will not be construed in itself as restricting the use
of the water area so marked.

(3) Operators of vessels engaged in diving operations shall
comply with OAR 250-011-0140 as required.

(4) Operators of transiting vessels shall exercise caution com-
mensurate with conditions indicated when in the vicinity of

indicated diving operations.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63; MB 8-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 11-1984, f.
8-13-84, ef. 8-14-84; Renumbered from 250-010-0210 by OSMB 3-2015, f. 4-
30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

Floating Home/Boathouse Registration and Titling System

250-010-0300
Definitions

(1) “Board” means the Oregon State Marine Board.

(2) “Boathouse” means a covered structure on floats or piles
used for the protected moorage of boats.

(3) “Floating Home” means a moored structure that is secured
to a pier or pilings and is used primarily as a domicile and not as a
boat.

(4) “Owner” means a person or persons who have a property
interest other than a security interest in a floating home or
boathouse, and the right of use or possession of the floating home
or boathouse, but does not include a lessee.

(5) “Ownership” means a property interest other than a
security interest.

(6) “Person” means an individual, partnership, firm, corpora-
tion, association, or other entity.

(7) “Security Interest” means an interest reserved or created
by agreement which secures payment or performance of an obliga-
tion as more particularly defined by subsection (37) of ORS
71.2010.

(8) “Waters of This State” means all waters within the
territorial limits of this state, the marginal sea adjacent to this state,
and the high seas when navigated as a part of a journey or ride to
and from the shore of this state.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.850

Hist.: MB 1-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78; OSMB 9-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07

250-010-0310
Certificate of Registration and Title for a Floating Home or
Boathouse

(1) The application shall be made on a form furnished by the
Board and mailed directly to the Oregon State Marine Board or
presented in person with the required fee.
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(2) Application forms shall be available at the office of the
Board.

(3) The Certificate of Registration shall contain ownership
data, location, and property description. The certificate of title shall
contain ownership data, transfer of ownership data, location, and
property description.

(4) With each Certificate of Registration issued by the Board,
there shall be issued one registration plate. The plate shall be
placed on the structure near the electric meter, to be clearly visible
from the access walkway. If a meter is not on the premises, or if it
is located in an area that is not accessible, the registration plate
shall be placed on the structure in an area that is clearly visible
from the access walkway.

(5) The numbers on the plate will correspond with the regis-
tration serial number issued by the Board on the original application.
The plate color will be white background with green numbers and
so maintained to be clearly visible and legible at all times.

(6) When an application for a Certificate of Title indicates that
the legal owner of the Floating Home/Boathouse is other than the

principal owner, the title will be mailed to the legal owner.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.855
Hist.: MB 1-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78; Suspended by MB 10-1983(Temp), f. 11-29-
83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 1-1984, f. & ef. 1-5-84

250-010-0315
Issuance and Duplication Fees

(1) Fees for title issuance and duplication shall be: Title
original issuance, title change (requires reissuance) and title dupli-
cation with or without change when original has been lost,
mutilated, destroyed or stolen (requires reissuance) — $20.

(2) Fees for duplicate registration plate — $20.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.870

Hist.: MB 20-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 17-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 1-1-88

250-010-0320
Oregon Floating Home/Boathouse Registration Numbering
System

(1) The Floating Home/Boathouse numbering system adopted
for use in the State of Oregon shall consist of the designator FH
(Floating Home), BH (Boathouse), or C (Combination Floating
Home/Boathouse). The assigned number will correspond to the
identifying registration plate issued with the initial title or the
replacement plate if applicable. NUMBERING EXAMPLES:

(a) FHOOO1 through FH9999.

(b) BHOOO1 through BH9999.

(c) C0001 through C9999.

(2) The title number will contain seven numeric characters
preceded by an alpha letter upon issuance of the second title, begin-
ning with the letter A and continuing through Z as subsequent titles
are issued. TITLE NUMBERING EXAMPLES: Initial title 0000001

then AOO00001 through Z9999999.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.870
Hist.: MB 1-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78; OSMB 9-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07

250-010-0325
Report of Transfer, Abandonment, or Wrecking of Floating
Home/Boathouse or Change of Address

(1) The owner of a Floating Home/Boathouse for which a
valid identifying number has been awarded by this state shall
notify the Board within 30 days of transfer of ownership. Aban-
donment or destruction of the structure also requires mailing the
title to the Board within 30 days for cancellation.

(2) Within 30 days after any change of address, the owner of a
Floating Home or Boathouse shall report the change of location to
the Board.

(3) Title transfers received for processing 31 or more days
after transfer, abandonment or destruction shall be assessed a late
penalty fee of $25. All late penalty fees shall be in addition to the
prescribed original issuance title fee.

(4) The Board will waive the penalty fee for the following rea-
sons:

(a) The applicant did not have possession of the title or
replacement title form; or

(b) The person became physically or mentally incapacitated
following the purchase of the vessel, directly preventing or making
it impractical for the person to meet requirements for delivery of
documents.

(5) Examples of situations the Board shall consider to be
beyond a person’s control include but shall not be limited to where:

(a) The person is involved in an accident or suffers a
debilitating illness, condition or occurrence immediately following
the purchase of the vessel that prevents this person from conducting
business for an extended time period following vessel purchase;

(b) The vessel is purchased from a person who fails to provide
the purchaser with the title or replacement title.

(6) Examples of situations the Board would not consider to be
beyond a person’s control include but shall not be limited to situa-
tions where the:

(a) Applicant purchases a vessel and the seller provides the
title or replacement title to the purchaser within 25 days of the sale;

(b) The applicant made no attempt to obtain the title or
replacement title from the seller;

(c) Applicant sustained minor injury, or incurred a short-term
hospital stay which did not directly affect their ability to conduct
business or to otherwise comply with requirements for delivery of
documents.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.710

Hist.: MB 1-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78; MB 17-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 8-

1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-16-92

Boating Under the Influence of Intoxicants

250-010-0400
Boating Under the Influence of Intoxicants
The following rules are in addition to and support of all other

applicable laws and rules.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550
Stats. Implemented:

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92
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250-010-0410
Definitions

“Chemical Test/Chemical Analysis” means a quantitative
analysis for alcohol by means of direct or indirect measurement of

physiochemical technique performed on a sample of breath.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.505
Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

250-010-0420
Officer Report

(1) The arresting officer shall, within ten days of the arrest of
an operator for operating a boat while under the influence of intox-
icants, complete and submit to the Board the following:

(a) Operating Under the Influence Report;

(b) Consent Report.

(2) The Board shall publish and distribute in such form and
content as required, report forms specified in subsections (1)(a)
and (b) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.520

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

250-010-0430
Chemical Analyses

(1) The chemical analysis of a person’s breath for alcohol can
be performed using breath testing equipment as approved under
OAR 257-030-0040

(2) Accuracy testing of approved breath testing equipment

shall be performed in accordance with OAR 257-030-0170.
Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; OSMB 3-2001, f.& cert. ef. 3-29-01;
OSMB 2-2011, f. 1-14-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11; OSMB 14-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-
11

250-010-0440
Qualifications and Training of Breath Test Equipment
Operators

(1) No individual shall operate approved breath testing equip-
ment to determine the alcohol content of the blood of a person in
accordance with the provisions of ORS 830.535 unless that indi-
vidual has been issued a permit to operate such equipment by the
Oregon State Police or the Board.

(2) To qualify for training in the operation of approved breath
testing equipment, an individual must be a police officer as defined
under ORS 181.610 or a technician of the Marine Board, or a tech-
nician of the Oregon State Police.

(3) Upon request of the administrative head of a city, port or
county law enforcement unit, as defined in ORS 181.610, the
Oregon State Police, or the Board will provide training in the oper-
ation of approved breath test equipment for individuals qualified
under OAR 250-010-0440.

(4) The Oregon State Police or the Board will provide a

course of instruction as outlined in OAR 257-030-0160.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.535
Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95;
OSMB 14-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11; OSMB 18-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-
22-11 thru 6-18-12; OSMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-12

250-010-0450
Training for Operators of Breath Test Equipment

(1) Upon request of the administrative head of a city, port or
county law enforcement unit, as defined in ORS 181.610, the
Oregon State Police, or the Board will provide training in the oper-
ation of approved breath test equipment for individuals qualified
under OAR 250-010-0440.

(2) The Oregon State Police or the Board will provide a
course of instruction covering the chemical analysis of a person’s
breath to determine the alcohol content thereof, which instruction
shall include, but not be limited to:

(a) Approved methods and techniques of chemical analyses;

(b) Use of approved equipment;

(c) Interpretation of test results.

(3) Upon completion of the course of instruction, a written
examination will be given and a passing grade of 80 percent or
above will be required.

(4) Upon receipt of a passing grade, a permit shall be issued
by the Oregon State Police or the Board to the officer stating the

methods and equipment the officer is qualified to use.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.535
Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95;
OSMB 3-2001, f. & cert. ef. 3-29-01; OSMB 2-2011, f. 1-14-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11

250-010-0460
Certification of Accuracy of Breath Test Equipment

(1) Accuracy testing of approved breath testing equipment
shall be performed by qualified personnel of:

(a) The Oregon State Police Forensic Services Division; or

(b) A state agency with appropriate laboratory facilities and
personnel trained in testing such equipment; or

(c) An independent laboratory facility with personnel trained
in testing such equipment.

(2) The testing facility shall certify the accuracy of the instru-
ment if accuracy test performance is within a range of 0.01 high to
0.02 low from the expected value of a reference sample provided
by the laboratory.

(3) Instrument testing may be accomplished either by remote
telephone modem or by on-site evaluation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.535

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

250-010-0470
Breath Testing Equipment Approval

Approval of any instrument or equipment to be used for the
testing of a person’s breath to determine the alcohol content of the
blood may be issued by Department of State Police under ORS
813.160 as contained in OAR 257 division 30 or as approved by
the Board. The Board may use one of the following means:

(1) Submission by the manufacturer or distributor of the
instrument of at least two reports of studies correlating blood anal-
yses and breath tests performed with this instrument, conducted by
two separate laboratories of governmental health or law enforcement
agencies, or independent organizations, financially unrelated to the
manufacturer or distributor of such instruments.

(2) Provision of a production model of the instrument by the
manufacturer or distributor to the Board for a sufficient period of
time to allow technicians to conduct sufficient investigation and
laboratory tests to adequately ascertain its accuracy and repro-
ducibility.

(3) Those instruments which have been found to conform to
the model specifications for evidential breath testing devices set by
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

(4) Subsequent series of above instruments, so long as the
subsequent changes and series do not diminish the instrument’s

ability to accurately determine blood alcohol content.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.535
Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

Offender Education Program Administration

250-010-0500
Offender Education Program Administration

(1) The following rules support the offender education
program specified in ORS 830.110.

(2) The primary purposes of this program are:

(a) To provide information to the student concerning state and
federal laws and regulations as they pertain to boat operation;

(b) To increase student awareness of basic boating safety con-
siderations;

(c) To suggest reasons for the student to modify his/her
attitude so as to decrease the probability of future violations or
b o a t i n g
accidents.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

250-010-0510
Definitions

As used in OAR 250-010-0520 through 250-010-0550:

(1) “NASBLA” means National Association of State Boating
Law Administrators.

(2) “Board” means the State Marine Board.

(3) “Sponsoring Organization/Agency” means name of orga-
nization or agency that provides course and examination.

(4) “Official” means individual representing the organization
which sponsors the course.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

250-010-0520
Content

Content for boating offender education course must meet
NASBLA education standards. This shall include but not be
limited to courses taught by the United States Power Squadrons,
United States Coast Guard Auxiliary and the State Marine Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

250-010-0530
Implementation

The Board shall, upon agreement, make available a boating
education course through those law enforcement agencies which
are already under contract to the Board for law enforcement ser-
vices.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

250-010-0540
Fees
Fees for the course shall not exceed the expenses associated

with providing the course.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

250-010-0550
Qualified Courses

In order that the court may inform a student of the availability
of boating education courses, the Board shall compile and maintain
a list of qualified courses.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

250-010-0560
Completion Certificate

(1) The certificate format will be made available by the Board
to the organization sponsoring the course.

(2) Certificate for successful completion of the course shall
include the name of the person passing the course, name of the
sponsoring organization, official’s name, date of completion, and
the court case number.

(3) Upon successful completion of the course, the defendant is
responsible for sending the original copy of his/her certificate to
the sentencing court.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

Aquatic Invasive Species

250-010-0650
Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Permit

(1) Definitions:

(a) “Manually powered boat” means any watercraft as defined
in ORS 830.005(2), but not a motorboat as defined in 830.005(6).

(b) “Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Permit” is an autho-
rization issued by the Oregon State Marine Board (Board) or
through designated agents that certifies payment to the Aquatic
Invasive Species Prevention Fund.

(c) “Board” means the Oregon State Marine Board.

(d) “Valid temporary permit” means a temporary aquatic inva-
sive species prevention permit generated from a person purchasing
a permit from a designated Internet agent.

(e) “Eleemosynary” means an organization supported by gifts
or charity which is operated primarily as a part of organized
activities for the purpose of teaching youth’s scout craft, camping,
seamanship, self-reliance, patriotism, courage and kindred virtues.

(2) Permit Rules:

(a) A person may not operate a manually powered boat that is
10 feet or more in length, or a motorboat of any length, or a
sailboat 12 feet or more in length, on the waters of this state
without first obtaining an aquatic invasive species prevention
permit from the Board or designated agent.

(b) The aquatic invasive species prevention permit for
manually powered boats may be issued as either an annual or bien-
nial permit to be carried or otherwise displayed on the boat. The
biennial permit is valid for two calendar years and will cost double
the annual permit as described in ORS 830.570 and 830.575.

(c) The owner of a boat for which fees for a certificate of
number or registration under ORS 830.790(1)(a)(b)(c) are required
will pay an aquatic invasive species prevention permit surcharge of
$5 per biennium at the time of boat registration.

(A) The registration validation stickers are in lieu of an
Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Permit.

(B) The validation stickers are non-transferable.

(d) Persons age 14 and older operating manually powered
boats that are 10 feet or more in length shall have a valid aquatic
invasive species prevention permit or valid temporary permit on
board when the boat is in use on the waters of this state.

(e) Out-of-state motorboats and out-of-state sailboats 12 feet
in length or more that are of the same boat category that would be
required to be registered in Oregon per ORS 830.790, shall carry a
non-resident aquatic invasive species prevention permit on board
when in use on waters of the state.

(f) Boats required to carry permits must present their permit
for inspection upon request by a law enforcement officer.

(A) Motor boats and sailboats 12 feet in length or more, regis-
tered in Washington or Idaho, that launch directly into waters that
form a common interstate boundary, or launch in Oregon tributaries
within one mile of these waters, that have a current boat registration,
Coast Guard documentation, or an aquatic invasive species preven-
tion permit issued by the States of Idaho or Washington, are
exempt from the non-resident Oregon aquatic invasive species pre-
vention permit.

(B) Manually powered boats from Idaho that are 10 feet or
longer and affixed with an Idaho Aquatic Invasive Species Preven-
tion sticker, and all manually powered boats from Washington, are
exempt from Oregon aquatic invasive species permit carriage
requirements when launching into waters that form a common
interstate boundary, or when launching into Oregon tributaries
within one mile of these waters.

(g) Manually powered boats and out-of-state motor boat
permits are transferrable only within their respective boat categories.
The name on the permit does not need to match the name of the
person operating the boat. Persons may purchase multiple permits
for use by family and friends.

(h) Operators of manually powered boat liveries, and guides
using manually powered watercraft for group-guided activities,
may qualify to purchase aquatic invasive species prevention
permits at a discounted rate described in ORS 830.575. To qualify
for the discounted rate:

(A) These operators shall register with the Board by docu-
menting current business status as a livery.

(B) All boats rented by the livery must be clearly labeled with
the livery name.
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(i) Clubs or organizations that possess or own boats for com-
munal use by members, participants, racing teams, or for public
educational purposes except as exempted under this rule, may pur-
chase aquatic invasive species prevention permits under the name
of the organization or the club’s presiding officer or secretary.

(A) For racing shells, dragon boats or resident boats exempt
from registration under OAR 250-010-0150(2), aquatic invasive
species prevention permits numbering not less than the maximum
number of boats in use on the water at any given time during a
planned event may be held by the event organizer, coach or other
designated person at the event site as long as the permits are readily
available for inspection by a peace officer.

(B) A $5 annual or $10 biennial aquatic invasive species
permit may be held as described in (2)(i)(A) for events involving
motorized race boats which are owned by Oregon residents but that
are otherwise exempt from registration under OAR 250-010-
0150(2).

(j) The Board or designated agent may issue a temporary
aquatic invasive species prevention permit to an individual who
pays for the permit using a Board designated Internet agent.

(A) The temporary aquatic invasive species prevention permit
will be valid for 14 days from the date of issue listed on the tempo-
rary permit.

(B) Each temporary permit shall contain a unique number that
corresponds to the electronic record for the individual named on
the permit and to the annual permit.

(k) A person is considered in violation of the provisions con-
tained this rule and subject to the penalties prescribed by law when
they:

(A) Alter an aquatic invasive species prevention permit; or

(B) Produce or possess an unauthorized replica of an aquatic
invasive species prevention permit; or

(C) Exhibit an altered aquatic invasive species prevention per-
mit to a peace officer.

(1) The aquatic invasive species prevention permit expires on
December 31 of the year indicated on the permit.

(m) The following vessels or classifications are exempt from
the requirement to carry an aquatic invasive species prevention
permit:

(A) State-owned boats

(B) County-owned boats

(C) Municipality-owned boats

(D) Eleemosynary-owned boats which a supervising adult can
confirm through documentation are engaged in an organization-
related activity.

(E) A ship’s lifeboat used solely for lifesaving purposes.

(F) Seaplanes

(G) Federal government-owned boats

(H) Surfboards, sailboards and kite boards.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830 & HB 2220

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: OSMB 4-2009, f. 10-30-09, cert. ef. 1-1-10; OSMB 1-2010(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 1-5-10 thru 6-30-10; OSMB 6-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-15-10 thru
6-30-10; OSMB 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 5-6-10; OSMB 3-2011, f. 1-14-11, cert.
ef. 2-1-11; OSMB 12-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-18-11 thru 1-31-12; OSMB
2-2012, f. 1-13-12, cert. ef. 2-1-12; OSMB 3-2012, f. & cert. ef. 3-14-12

250-010-0660
Watercraft Inspection Stations

(1) For the purpose of this rule, the following definitions
apply:

(a) “Check Station” is a location in Oregon that a watercraft
inspection team has designated for conducting watercraft inspections
for aquatic invasive species.

(b) “Decontamination” is the removal of aquatic invasive
species from a watercraft.

(c) “Inspector” is an individual certified and authorized by the
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife to conduct boat inspections
for aquatic invasive species.

(d) “Inspection Certificate” is a form used by the inspector to
conduct and record watercraft inspection information.

(e) “Seal” is a plastic zip tie or cable with a unique number
that is affixed to the trailer or other device to carry or convey the
watercraft.

(f) “Watercraft Inspection Team” is one or more inspectors
authorized to inspect for aquatic invasive species on all types of
watercraft being transported over roads.

(g) “Watercraft” are recreational or commercial, motorized
and non-motorized boats, including canoes, kayaks and rafts, as
provided in ORS 830.005, and any equipment used to transport a
boat and any auxiliary equipment, as provided in ORS 570.850.

(2) The watercraft inspection team will select Oregon locations
to conduct mandatory watercraft inspections as described in the
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife Aquatic Invasive Species
Watercraft Inspection Handbook. Signs will be placed along roads,
as prescribed by the Oregon Department of Transportation, directing
motorists transporting a watercraft over roads to a designated
inspection station.

(3) The watercraft inspection team will inspect every watercraft
that enters the check station for the presence of aquatic invasive
species and may order decontamination of the watercraft. The
inspection will include the hull, motor, propulsion system or com-
ponent, anchor or other attached apparatus, trailer or other device
used to transport the boat, and the bilge, live-well, motor-well and
other interior locations that could harbor aquatic plants or animals.

(4) The watercraft inspection team will complete, submit and
file an inspection certificate with the Oregon Department of Fish
and Wildlife for each watercraft inspection conducted.

(5) The watercraft owner, operator or carrier must provide to
the inspector, on request, his or her name and ZIP code. If an
inspector determines that decontamination is required, the owner,
operator or carrier must provide the additional information requested
on the inspection certificate form including contact information.

(a) The decontamination process will include the hull, motor,
propulsion system or component, anchor or other attached apparatus,
trailer or other device used to transport the watercraft, bilge, live-
well, motor-well or other interior location that could harbor aquatic
plants or animals.

(b) Means of decontamination include, but are not limited to,
one or more of the following: hot water washing or flushing, high-
pressure water jets, hand removal and chemical treatment as deter-
mined necessary by the watercraft inspection team.

(6) The inspector will determine that the watercraft is a severe
risk if the boat contains quagga or zebra mussels or other high risk
aquatic invasive species, as defined in Oregon Department of Agri-
culture OAR chapter 603, division 052 “Quarantine; Noxious
Weeds” or Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife OAR chapter
635, division 056 “Importation, possession, confinement, trans-
portation and sale of nonnative wildlife”, or is of a design that pre-
vents or inhibits effective on-site decontamination and the watercraft
is from a known aquatic invasive species contaminated waterbody.
In such cases, the inspector will place a seal on the watercraft indi-
cating potential contamination. Only the inspector may attach this
seal. Tampered, broken or removed seals are void and no longer
valid for the purposes as to when they were attached.

(7) When the inspector determines the watercraft is clean or
fully decontaminated, the inspector will attach a seal between the
watercraft and trailer or other carriage device indicating a completed
inspection. Only the inspector may attach this seal. Tampered,
broken or removed seals are void.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: HB3399, ORS 570.855

Hist.. OSMB 13-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-23-11 thru 1-31-12; OSMB 2-

2012, f. 1-13-12, cert. ef. 2-1-12
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DIVISION 11
STEERING AND SAILING RULES
General
250-011-0005 [Renumbered to 250-011-0050]
250-011-0010 [Renumbered to 250-011-0060]
250-011-0015 [Renumbered to 250-011-0070]

250-011-0020
Division Application

(1) This division applies to all vessels upon waters of this state
shoreward of the navigational demarcation lines dividing the high
seas from harbors, rivers, and other inland waters.

(2) All vessels operating on the high seas seaward of the nav-
igational demarcation lines fall under the authority of the Interna-
tional Rules, 72 COLREGS, as amended November 19, 1989.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & ORS 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.335 & ORS 830.340

Hist.: OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0030
Division Responsibility

(1) Nothing in this division shall exonerate any vessel, or the
owner, master, or crew thereof, from the consequences of any
neglect to comply with this division or of the neglect of any pre-
caution which may be required by the ordinary practice of seamen,
or by the special circumstance of the case.

(2) In construing and complying with this division, due regard
shall be had to all dangers of navigation and collision and to any
special circumstances, including the limitation of the vessels
involved, which may make a departure from this division necessary
to avoid immediate danger.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & ORS 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.335 & ORS 830.340

Hist.: OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0040
Division Definitions

(1) “All-Round Light is a light showing an unbroken light
over an arc of the horizon of 360 degrees.

(2) “Flashing Light” is a light flashing at regular intervals at a
frequency of 120 flashes or more per minute.

(3) “In sight” is when one vessel can be observed visually by
the other.

(4) “Masthead Light” is a white light placed over the fore and
aft centerline of the vessel showing an unbroken light over an arc
of the horizon of 225 degrees and so fixed as to show the light from
right ahead to 22.5 degrees abaft the beam on either side of the ves-
sel, except that on a vessel of less than 12 meters in length the
masthead light shall be placed as nearly as practicable to the fore
and aft centerline of the vessel.

(5) “Power-driven vessel” is any vessel propelled by machin-
ery.

(6) “Prolonged blast” is a blast of from four to six second’s
duration.

(7) “Restricted visibility” is any condition in which visibility
is restricted by fog, mist, falling snow, heavy rainstorms, sandstorms,
or any other similar causes.

(8) “Sailing vessel” is any vessel under sail provided that pro-
pelling machinery, if fitted, is not being used.

(9) “Seaplane” includes any aircraft designed to maneuver on
the water.

(10) “Short blast” is a blast of about one second’s duration.

(11) “Sidelights” is a green light on the starboard side and a
red light on the port side each showing an unbroken light over an
arc of the horizon of 112.5 degrees and so fixed as to show the light
from right ahead to 22.5 degrees abaft the beam on its respective
side. On a vessel of less than 20 meters in length the sidelights may
be combined in one lantern carried on the fore and aft centerline of
the vessel, except that on a vessel of less than 12 meters in length

the sidelights when combined in one lantern shall be placed as
nearly as practicable to the fore and aft centerline of the vessel.

(12) “Special Flashing Light” is a yellow light flashing at reg-
ular intervals at a frequency of 50 to 70 flashes per minute, placed
as far forward and as nearly as practicable on the fore and aft cen-
terline of the tow and showing on unbroken light over an arc of the
horizon of not less than 180 degrees nor more than 225 degrees and
so fixed as to show the light from right ahead to abeam and no
more than 22.5 degrees abaft the beam on either side of the vessel.

(13) “Sternlight” is a white light placed as nearly as practicable
at the stern showing an unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of
135 degrees and so fixed as to show the light 67.5 degrees from
right aft on each side of the vessel.

(14) “Towing Light” is a yellow light having the same charac-
teristics as the “sternlight” defined in of this rule.

(15) “Vessel” includes every description of water craft,
including non-displacement craft and seaplanes, used or capable of
being used as a means of transportation on the water.

(16) “Vessel not under command” is a vessel which through
some exceptional circumstances is unable to maneuver as required
by this section and is therefore unable to keep out of the way of
another vessel.

(17) “Vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver” is a vessel
which from the nature of its work is restricted in its ability to
maneuver as required by this section and is therefore unable to
keep out of the way of another vessel; vessels restricted in their
ability to maneuver include, but are not limited to:

(a) a vessel engaged in laying, servicing, or picking up a nav-
igation mark, submarine cable, or pipeline;

(b) a vessel engaged in dredging, surveying, or underwater
operations;

(c) a vessel engaged in replenishment or transferring persons,
provisions, or cargo while underways;

(d) a vessel engaged in the launching of recovery of aircraft;

(e) a vessel engaged in mine clearance operations; and

(f) a vessel engaged in towing operations such as severely
restricts the towing vessel and its tow in their ability to deviate
from their course.

(18) “Whistle” is any sound signaling appliance capable of
producing the prescribed blasts and which complies with current
U.S. Coast Guard specifications.

(19) “Wing-In-Ground (WIG) craft” is a multimodal craft
which, in its main operational mode, flies in close proximity to the
surface by utilizing surface-effect action.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225

Hist.: OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0050
Conduct of Vessels in Any Condition of Visibility

(1) Every vessel shall at all times maintain a proper lookout
by sight and hearing as well as by all available means appropriate
in the prevailing circumstances and conditions so as to make a full
appraisal of the situation and of the risk of collision.

(2) Every vessel shall at all times proceed at a safe speed so
that it can take proper and effective action to avoid collision and be
stopped within a distance appropriate to the prevailing circumstances
and conditions. In determining a safe speed the following factors
shall be among those taken into account by all vessels:

(a) The state of visibility;

(b) The traffic density including concentration of fishing
vessels or any other vessels;

(c) The maneuverability of the vessel with special reference to
stopping distance and turning ability in the prevailing conditions;

(d) At night the presence of background light such as from
shore lights or from back scatter of its own lights;

(e) The state of wind, sea, and current, and the proximity of
navigational hazards;

(f) The draft in relation to the available depth of water;

(g) The characteristics, efficiency and limitations of the radar
equipment;

(h) Any constraints imposed by the radar range scale in use;
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(i) The effect on radar detection of the sea state, weather, and
other sources of interference;

(j) The possibility that small vessels, ice and other floating
objects may not be detected by radar at an adequate range;

(k) The number, location, and movement of vessels detected
by radar; and

(1) The more exact assessment of the visibility that may be
possible when radar is used to determine the range of vessels or
other objects in the vicinity.

(3) Every vessel shall use all available means appropriate to
the prevailing circumstances and conditions to determine if risk of
collision exists. If there is any doubt such risk shall be deemed to
exist. Proper use shall be made of radar equipment if fitted and
operational, including long-range scanning to obtain early warning
of risk of collision and radar plotting or equivalent systematic
observation of detected objects. Assumptions shall not be made on
the basis of scanty information, especially scanty radar information.
In determining if risk of collision exists the following considerations
shall be among those taken into account:

(a) Such risk shall be deemed to exist if the compass bearing
of an approaching vessel does not appreciably change; and

(b) Such risk may sometimes exist even when an appreciable
bearing change is evident, particularly when approaching a very
large vessel or a tow or when approaching a vessel at close range.

(4) Any action taken to avoid collision shall be taken in accor-
dance with OAR 250-011-0050, 250-011-0060, 250-011-0070 and
shall, if the circumstances of the case admit, be positive, made in
ample time and with due regard to the observance of good seaman-
ship.

(a) Any alteration of course or speed to avoid collision shall,
if the circumstances of the case admit, be large enough to be
readily apparent to another vessel observing visually or by radar; a
succession of small alterations of course or speed should be avoid-
ed.

(b) If there is sufficient sea room, alteration of course alone
may be the most effective action to avoid a close-quarters situation
provided that it is made in good time, is substantial and does not
result in another close-quarters situation.

(c) Action taken to avoid collision with another vessel shall be
such as to result in passing at a safe distance. The effectiveness of
the action shall be carefully checked until the other vessel is finally
past and clear.

(d) If necessary to avoid collision or allow more time to assess
the situation, a vessel shall slacken its [speed or take all way off by
stopping or reversing its means of propulsion.

(e) A vessel, which, by any of these rules is required not to
impede the passage or safe passage of another vessel shall, when
required by the circumstances of the case, take early action to allow
sufficient sea room for the safe passage of the other vessel.

(A) A vessel required not to impede the passage or safe
passage of another vessel is not relieved of this obligation if
approaching the other vessel so as to involve risk of collision and
shall, when taking action, have full regard to the action which may
be required by OAR 250-011-0050, 250-011-0060, and 250-011-
0070.

(B) A vessel the passage of which is not to be impeded
remains fully obliged to comply with OAR 250-011-050, 250-011-
0060, and 250-011-0070 when the two vessels are approaching one
another so as to involve risk of collision.

(5) A vessel proceeding along the course of a narrow channel
or fairway shall keep as near to the outer limit of the channel or
fairway which lies on its starboard side as is safe and practicable:

(a) Notwithstanding section (5) of this rule and OAR 250-
011-0060(3), a power-driven vessel operating in narrow channels
or fairways on waters of this state, and proceeding downbound
with a following current shall have the right-of-way over an
upbound vessel, shall propose the manner and place of passage,
and shall initiate the maneuvering signals prescribed by OAR 250-
011-0200(1)(a), as appropriate. The vessel proceeding upbound
against the current shall hold as necessary to permit safe passing;

(b) A vessel of less than 20 meters in length or a sailing vessel
shall not impede the passage of a vessel that can safely navigate
only within a narrow channel or fairway;

(c) A vessel engaged in fishing shall not impede the passage
of any other vessel navigating within a narrow channel or fairway;

(d) A vessel shall not cross a narrow channel or fairway if
such crossing impedes the passage of a vessel which can safely
navigate only within that channel or fairway. The latter vessel shall
use the danger signal prescribed in OAR 250-011-0200(4) if in
doubt as to the intention of the crossing vessel;

(e) In a narrow channel or fairway when overtaking, the
vessel intending to overtake shall indicate its intention by sounding
the appropriate signal prescribed in OAR 250-011-0200(3)(a)
and(b), and take steps to permit safe passing. The overtaken vessel,
if in agreement, shall sound the same signal. If in doubt it shall
sound the danger signal prescribed in OAR 250-011-0200(4). This
does not relieve the overtaking vessel of its obligation under OAR
250-011-0060(2);

(f) A vessel nearing a bend or an area of a narrow channel or
fairway where other vessel may be obscured by an intervening
obstruction shall navigate with particular alertness and caution and
shall sound the appropriate signal prescribed in OAR 250-011-
0200(5);

(g) Every vessel shall, if the circumstances of the case admit,
avoid anchoring in a narrow channel.

(6) Any vessel approaching, overtaking, being approached, or
being overtaken by a moving law enforcement vessel operating
with a siren or an illuminated flashing blue light, or any vessel
approaching a stationary law enforcement vessel displaying an
illuminated blue light, shall:

(a) Immediately slow to a speed sufficient to maintain steerage
only, shall alter its course, within its ability, so as not to inhibit or
interfere with the operation of the law enforcement vessel, and
shall proceed, unless otherwise directed by the operator of the law
enforcement vessel, at the reduced speed until beyond the area of
operation of the law enforcement vessel;

(b) Notwithstanding the operational requirements of section 6
(a) of this rule, vessels shall not be required to operate in a manner
that would endanger or be likely to endanger that craft, other
nearby watercraft, or other persons or property.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.335 & 830.340

Hist.: MB 14-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-93;

Renumbered from 250-011-0005, OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0060
Conduct of Vessels in Sight of One Another

(1) When two sailing vessels are approaching one another, so
as to involve risk of collision, one of them shall keep out of the way
of the other as follows:

(a) When each has the wind on a different side, the vessel
which has the wind on the port side shall keep out of the way of the
other;

(b) When both have the wind on the same side, the vessel
which is to windward shall keep out of the way of the vessel which
is to leeward; and

(c) If a vessel with the wind on the port side sees a vessel to
windward and cannot determine with certainty whether the other
vessel has the wind on the port or on the starboard side, it shall
keep out of the way of the other;

(d) For the purpose of this section the windward side shall be
deemed to be the side opposite to that on which the mainsail is car-
ried or, in the case of a square-rigged vessel, the side opposite to
that on which the largest fore-and-aft sail is carried.

(2) Notwithstanding anything contained in OAR 250-011-
0050 through 250-011-0060 any vessel overtaking any other shall
keep out of the way of the vessel being overtaken. A vessel shall be
deemed to be overtaking when coming up with another vessel from
a direction more than 22.5 degrees abaft its beam; that is, in such a
position with reference to the vessel it is overtaking, that at night it
would be able to see only the sternlight of that vessel but neither of
its sidelights. When a vessel is in any doubt as to whether it is over-
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taking another, it shall assume that this is the case and act accord-
ingly. Any subsequent alteration of the bearing between the two
vessels shall not make the overtaking vessel a crossing vessel
within the meaning of these rules or relieve it of the duty of
keeping clear of the overtaken vessel until it is finally past and
clear.

(3) Unless otherwise agreed, when two power-driven vessels
are meeting on reciprocal or nearly reciprocal courses so as to
involve risk of collision each shall alter its course to starboard so
that each shall pass on the port side of the other. Such a situation
shall be deemed to exist when a vessel sees the other ahead or
nearly ahead and by night it could see the masthead lights of the
other in a line or nearly in a line or both sidelights and by day it
observes the corresponding aspect of the other vessel. When a
vessel is in any doubt as to whether such a situation exists it shall
assume that it does exist and act accordingly.

(4) Notwithstanding section (3) of this rule, a power-driven
vessel operating on waters of this state, and proceeding down-
bound with a following current shall have the right-of-way over an
up-bound vessel, shall propose the manner of passage, and shall
initiate the maneuvering signals prescribed by OAR 250-011-
0200(1)(a) as appropriate.

(5) When two power-driven vessels are crossing so as to
involve risk of collision, the vessel which has the other on its star-
board side shall keep out of the way and shall, if the circumstances
of the case admit, avoid crossing ahead of the other vessel.
Notwithstanding this section on the waters of this state, a vessel
crossing a river shall keep out of the way of a power-driven vessel
ascending or descending the river.

(6) Every vessel which is directed to keep out of the way of
another vessel shall, so far as possible, take early and substantial
action to keep well clear.

(7) Where one of two vessels is to keep out of the way, the
other shall keep its course and speed:

(a) The latter vessel may, however, take action to avoid
collision by its maneuver alone, as soon as it becomes apparent to
it that the vessel required to keep out of the way is not taking
appropriate action in compliance with these rules;

(b) When, from any cause, the vessel required to keep its
course and speed finds itself so close that collision cannot be
avoided by the action of the give-way vessel alone, it shall take
such action as will best aid to avoid collision. A power-driven
vessel which takes action in a crossing situation in accordance with
section (7)(a) of this rule to avoid collision with another power-
driven vessel shall, if the circumstances of the case admit, not alter
course to port for a vessel on its own port side. This rule does not
relieve the give-way vessel of its obligation to keep out of the way.

(8) Except where OAR 250-011-0050(5) and section (2) of
this rule otherwise require:

(a) A power-driven vessel underway shall keep out of the way
of:

(A) A vessel not under command;

(B) A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver;

(C) A vessel engaged in fishing; and

(D) A sailing vessel.

(b) A sailing vessel underway shall keep out of the way of:

(A) A vessel not under command;

(B) A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver; and

(C) A vessel engaged in fishing.

(c) A vessel engaged in fishing when underway shall, so far as
possible, keep out of the way of:

(A) A vessel not under command; and

(B) A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 14-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85;
Renumbered from 250-011-0010, OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0070
Conduct of Vessels in Restricted Visibility

Every vessel shall proceed at a safe speed adapted to the pre-
vailing circumstances and conditions of restricted visibility. A

power-driven vessel shall have its engines ready for immediate
maneuver:

(1) Every vessel shall have due regard to the prevailing cir-
cumstances and conditions of restricted visibility when complying
with OAR 250-011-0050.

(2) A vessel which detect by radar alone the presence of
another vessel shall determine if a close-quarters situation is devel-
oping or risk of collision exists. If so, it shall take avoiding action
in ample time, provided that when such action consists of an alter-
ation of course, so far as possible the following shall be avoided:

(a) An alteration of course to port for a vessel forward of the
beam, other than for a vessel being overtaken; and

(b) An alteration of course toward a vessel abeam or abaft the
beam.

(3) Except where it has been determined that a risk of
collision does not exist, every vessel which hears, apparently
forward of its beam the fog signal of another vessel, or which
cannot avoid a close-quarters situation with another vessel forward
of its beam, shall reduce its speed to the minimum at which it can
be kept on course. The vessel shall, if necessary, take all its way off
and, in any event, navigate with extreme caution until danger of
collision is over.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 14-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85;

Renumbered from 250-011-0015, OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

Lights and Shapes

250-011-0080
Application

(1) The rules in this section shall be complied with in all
weathers.

(2) Light requirements apply from sunset to sunrise, during
which time, no other lights shall be exhibited, except for such
lights which cannot be mistaken for the lights described in this
division, do not impair their visibility, distinctive character, or
interfere with the keeping of a proper look-out.

(3) The prescribed lights, shall, if carried, also be exhibited
from sunrise to sunset in restricted visibility and may be exhibited
in all other circumstances when it is deemed necessary.

(4) The rules concerning shapes shall be complied with by
day.

(5) A vessel’s navigation lights and shapes may be lowered if
necessary to pass under a bridge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & ORS 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 16-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-

92; Renumbered from 250-012-0005, OSMB 5-2015, . 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0090
Visibility of Lights

(1) Vessel lights as prescribed herein shall have visible inten-
sity.

(2) In a vessel of 50 meters or more in length:

(a) A masthead light, six miles;

(b) A sidelight, three miles;

(c) A sternlight, three miles;

(d) A towing light, three miles;

(e) A white, red, green or yellow all-round light, three miles;
and a special flashing light, two miles.

(3) In a vessel of 12 meters or more in length but less that 50
meters in length:

(a) A masthead light, five miles; except that where the length
of the vessel is less than 20 meters, three miles;

(b) A sidelight, two miles;

(c) A sternlight, two miles;

(d) A towing light, two miles;

(e) A white, red, green or yellow all-round light, two miles;
and a special flashing light, two miles.

(4) In a vessel of less than 12 meters in length:

(a) A masthead light, two miles;

(b) A sidelight, one mile;
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(c) A sternlight, two miles;

(d) A towing light, two miles;

(e) A white, red, green or yellow all-round light, two miles;
and a special flashing light, two miles.

(5) In an inconspicuous, partly submerged vessel or object
being towed, a white all-round light, three miles.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-012-0003,

OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0100
Power-driven Vessels Underway

(1) A power-driven vessel underway shall exhibit:

(a) A masthead light forward; except that a vessel of less than
20 meters in length need not exhibit this light forward of amidships
but shall exhibit it as far forward as is practicable;

(b) A second masthead light abaft of and higher than the for-
ward one; except that a vessel of less than 50 meters in length shall
not be obliged to exhibit such light but may do so;

(c) Sidelights; and

(d) A sternlight.

(2) An air-cushion vessel when operating in the non-displace-
ment mode shall, in addition to the lights prescribed in section (1)
of this rule, exhibit an all-round flashing yellow light where it can
best be seen.

(3) A WIG craft only when taking off, landing and in flight
near the surface shall, in addition to the lights prescribed in section
(1) of this rule, exhibit a high intensity all-round flashing red light.

(4) A power-driven vessel of less than 12 meters in length
may, in lieu of the lights prescribed in section (1) of this rule,

exhibit an all-round white light and sidelights.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225 & ORS 830.250
Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-012-0010,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0110
Towing and Pushing

(1) A power-driven vessel when towing astern shall exhibit:

(a) Instead of the light prescribed either in OAR 250-011-
0100(1)(a) or (b) two masthead lights in a vertical line. When the
length of the tow, measuring from the stern of the towing vessel to
the after end of the tow exceeds 200 meters, three such lights in a
vertical line;

(b) Sidelights;

(c) A sternlight;

(d) A towing light in a vertical line above the sternlight; and

(e) When the length of the tow exceeds 200 meters, a diamond
shape where it can best be seen.

(2) When a pushing vessel and a vessel being pushed ahead
are rigidly connected in a composite unit they shall be regarded as
a power-driven vessel and exhibit the lights prescribed in OAR
250-011-0100.

(3) A power-driven vessel when pushing ahead or towing
alongside, except as required by sections (2) and (9) of this rule,
shall exhibit:

(a) Instead of the light prescribed either in OAR 250-011-
0100(1)(a) or (b), two masthead lights in a vertical line;

(b) Sidelights; and

(c) Two towing lights in a vertical line.

(4) A power-driven vessel to which sections (1) and (3) of this
rule apply shall also comply with OAR 250-011-0100(1)(a) or (b).

(5) A vessel or object other than those referred to in section
(7) of this rule being towed shall exhibit:

(a) Sidelights;

(b) A sternlight; and

(c) When the length of the tow exceeds 200 meters, a diamond
shape where it can best be seen.

(6) Provided that any number of vessels being towed alongside
or pushed in a group shall be lighted as one vessel, except as pro-
vided in section 6(c) of this rule:

(a) A vessel being pushed ahead, not being part of a composite
unit, shall exhibit at the forward end sidelights, and a special
flashing light; and

(b) A vessel being towed alongside shall exhibit a sternlight
and at the forward end sidelights

(c) When vessels are towed alongside on both sides of the
towing vessel, a sternlight shall be exhibited on the stern of the out-
board vessel on each side of the towing vessel, and a single set of
sidelights as far forward and as far outboard as is practicable, and a
single special flashing light.

(7) An inconspicuous, partly, submerged vessel or object
being towed shall exhibit:

(a) If it is less than 25 meters in breadth, one all-round white
light at or near each end;

(b) If it is 25 meters or more in breadth, four all-round white
lights to mark its length and breadth;

(c) If it exceeds 100 meters in length, additional all-round
white lights between the lights prescribed in sections (7)(a) and (b)
of this rule so that the distance between the lights shall not exceed
100 meters: Provided, that any vessels or objects being towed
alongside each other shall be lighted as one vessel or object;

(d) A diamond shape at or near the aftermost extremity of the
last vessel or object being towed; and

(e) The towing vessel may direct a searchlight in the direction
of the tow to indicate its presence to an approaching vessel.

(8) Where from any sufficient cause it is impracticable for a
vessel or object being towed to exhibit the lights prescribed in sec-
tions (5) and (7) of this rule, all possible measures shall be taken to
light the vessel or object towed or at least to indicate the presence
of the unlighted vessel or object.

(9) Notwithstanding section (3) of this rule, on the Western
Rivers and on waters specified by the U.S. Secretary of Transporta-
tion, a power-driven vessel when pushing ahead or towing
alongside, except as section (2) of this rule applies, shall exhibit:

(a) Sidelights; and

(b) Two towing lights in a vertical line.

(10) Where from any sufficient cause it is impracticable for a
vessel not normally engaged in towing operations to display the
lights prescribed by sections (1), (3) and (9) of this rule, such
vessel shall not be required to exhibit those lights when engaged in
towing another vessel in distress or otherwise in need of assistance.
All possible measures shall be taken to indicate the nature of the
relationship between the towing vessel and the vessel being
assisted. The searchlight authorized in OAR 250-011-0230 may be

used to illuminate the tow.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & ORS 830.250
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250
Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 16-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-
92; Renumbered from 250-012-0015, OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0120
Sailing Vessels Underway and Vessels Manually Propelled

(1) A sailing vessel underway shall exhibit:

(a) Sidelights; and

(b) A sternlight.

(2) In a sailing vessel of less than 20 meters in length the
lights prescribed in section (1) of this rule may be combined in one
lantern carried at or near the top of the mast where it can best be
seen.

(3) A sailing vessel underway may, in addition to the lights
prescribed in section (1) of this rule, exhibit at or near the top of the
mast, where they can best be seen, two all-round lights in a vertical
line, the upper being red and the lower green, but these lights shall
not be exhibited in conjunction with the combined lantern permitted
by section (2) of this rule.

(4)(a) A sailing vessel of less than seven meters in length
shall, if practicable, exhibit the lights prescribed in section (1) or
(2) of this rule, but if it does not, the vessel shall exhibit an all-
round white light or have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted
lantern showing a white light which shall be exhibited in sufficient
time to prevent collision;
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(b) A vessel under oars may exhibit the lights prescribed in
this rule for sailing vessels, but if it does not, the vessel shall
exhibit an all-round white light or have ready at hand an electric
torch or lighted lantern showing a white light which shall be exhib-
ited in sufficient time to prevent collision.

(5) A vessel proceeding under sail when also being propelled
by machinery shall exhibit forward where it can best be seen a con-
ical shape, apex downward. A vessel of less than 12 meters in

length is not required to exhibit this shape, but may do so.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250
Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-012-0020,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0130
Fishing Vessels

(1) A vessel engaged in fishing, whether underway or at
anchor, shall exhibit only the lights and shapes prescribed in this
rule.

(2) A vessel when engaged in trawling, by which is meant the
dragging through the water of a dredge net or other apparatus used
as a fishing appliance, shall exhibit:

(a) Two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being
green and the lower white, or a shape consisting of two cones with
their apexes together in a vertical line one above the other; a vessel
of less than 20 meters in length may instead of this shape exhibit a
basket;

(b) A masthead light abaft of and higher than the all-round
green light; a vessel of less than 50 meters in length shall not be
obliged to exhibit such a light but may do so; and

(c) When making way through the water, in addition to the
lights prescribed in this paragraph, sidelights and a sternlight.

(3) A vessel engaged in fishing, other than trawling, shall
exhibit:

(a) Two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being red
and the lower white, or a shape consisting of two cones with apexes
together in a vertical line one above the other; a vessel of less than
20 meters in length may instead of this shape exhibit a basket;

(b) When there is outlying gear extending more than 150
meters horizontally from the vessel, an all-round white light or a
cone apex upward in the direction of the gear; and

(c) When making way through the water, in addition to the
lights prescribed in this section, sidelights and a sternlight.

(4) A trawler or purse seiner engaged in fishing in close prox-
imity to other vessels engaged in fishing may exhibit such
additional signals as may be promulgated by the U.S. Secretary of
Transportation.

(5) A vessel when not engaged in fishing shall not exhibit the
lights or shapes prescribed in this rule, but only those prescribed
for a vessel of its length.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-012-0025,

OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0140
Vessels Not Under Command or Restricted in Their Ability to
Maneuver

(1) A vessel not under command shall exhibit:

(a) Two all-round red lights in a vertical line where they can
best be seen;

(b) Two balls or similar shapes in a vertical line where they
can best be seen; and

(c) When making way through the water, in addition to the
lights prescribed in this section, sidelights and a sternlight.

(2) A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver, except a
vessel engaged in mine-sweeping operations, shall exhibit:

(a) Three all-round lights in a vertical line where they can best
be seen. The highest and lowest of these lights shall be red and the
middle light shall be white;

(b) Three shapes in a vertical line where they can best be seen.
The highest and lowest of these shapes shall be balls and the
middle one a diamond;

(c) When making way through the water, masthead lights,
sidelights and a sternlight, in addition to the lights prescribed in
section, (2)(a) of this rule; and

(d) When at anchor, in addition to the lights or shapes
prescribed in sections, (2)(a) and (b) of this rule, the light, lights or
shapes prescribed in OAR 250-011-0160.

(3) A vessel engaged in a towing operation which severely
restricts the towing vessel and its tow in their ability to deviate
from their course shall, in addition to the lights or shapes prescribed
in in sections, (2)(a) and (b) of this rule, exhibit the lights or shape
prescribed in OAR 250-011-0110.

(4) A vessel engaged in dredging or underwater operations,
when restricted in its ability to maneuver, shall exhibit the lights
and shapes prescribed in sections, (2)(a), (b), and (c) of this rule
and shall in addition, when an obstruction exists, exhibit:

(a) Two all-round red lights or two balls in a vertical line to
indicate the side on which the obstruction exists;

(b) Two all-round green lights or two diamonds in a vertical
line to indicate the side on which another vessel may pass; and

(c) When at anchor, the lights or shape prescribed by this sec-
tion, instead of the lights or shapes prescribed in OAR 250-011-
0160 for anchored vessels.

(d) Dredge pipelines that are floating or supported on trestles
shall display the following lights at night and in periods of
restricted visibility:

(A) One row of yellow lights. The lights must be: Flashing 50
to 70 times per minute, visible all around the horizon, visible for at
least 2 miles, not less than 1 and not more than 3.5 meters above
the water, approximately equally spaced, and not more than 10
meters apart where the pipeline crosses a navigable channel.
Where the pipeline does not cross a navigable channel the lights
must be sufficient in number to clearly show the pipeline’s length
and course.

(B) Two red lights on each end of the pipeline, including the
ends in a channel where the pipeline is separated to allow vessels to
pass (whether open or closed). The lights must be: Visible for all
around the horizon, visible for at least 2 miles, and one meter apart
in a vertical line with the lower light at the same height above the
water as the flashing yellow light.

(5) Whenever the size of a vessel engaged in diving operations
makes it impracticable to exhibit all lights and shapes prescribed in
section (4) of this rule, the following shall instead be exhibited:

(a) Three all-round lights in a vertical line where they can best
be seen. The highest and lowest of these lights shall be red and the
middle light shall be white;

(b) A rigid replica of the international code flag “A” not less
than one meter in height. Measures shall be taken to insure its all-
round visibility.

(6) A vessel engaged in minesweeping operations shall, in
addition to the lights prescribed for a power-driven vessel in OAR
250-011-0100, exhibit three all-round green lights or three balls.
One of these lights or shapes shall be exhibited near the foremast
head and one at each end of the fore yard. These lights or shapes
indicate that it is dangerous for another vessel to approach closer
than 1,000 meters a stern or 500 meters on either side of the
minesweeper.

(7) A vessel of less than 12 meters in length, except when
engaged in diving operations, is not required to exhibit the lights or
shapes prescribed in this rule.

(8) The signals prescribed in this rule are not signals of

vessels in distress and requiring assistance.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250
Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-012-0030,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0150
Pilot Vessels

(1) A vessel engaged on pilotage duty shall exhibit:

(a) At or near the masthead, two all-round lights in a vertical
line, the upper being white and the lower red;
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(b) When underway, in addition, sidelights and a sternlight;
and

(c) When at anchor, in addition to the lights prescribed in sec-
tion (1)(a) of this rule, the anchor light, lights, or shape prescribed
in OAR 250-011-0160 for anchored vessels.

(2) A pilot vessel when not engaged on pilotage duty shall

exhibit the lights or shapes prescribed for a vessel of its length.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250
Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-012-0035,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0160
Anchored Vessels and Vessels Aground

(1) A vessel at anchor shall exhibit where it can best be seen:

(a) In the fore part, an all-round white light or one ball; and

(b) At or near the stern and at a lower level than the light pre-
scribed in section (1)(a) of this rule, an all-round white light.

(2) A vessel of less than 50 meters in length may exhibit an
all-round white light where it can best be seen instead of the lights
prescribed in section (1) of this rule.

(3) A vessel at anchor may, and a vessel of 100 meters or more
in length shall, also use the available working or equivalent lights
to illuminate its [decks.

(4) A vessel aground shall exhibit the lights prescribed in sec-
tion (1) or (2) of this rule and in addition, if practicable, where they
can best be seen:

(a) Two all-round red lights in a vertical line; and

(b) Three balls in a vertical line.

(5) A vessel of less than seven meters in length, when at
anchor, not in or near a narrow channel, fairway, anchorage, or
where other vessels normally navigate, shall not be required to
exhibit the lights or shape prescribed in sections (1) and (2) of this
rule.

(6) A vessel of less than 12 meters in length when aground
shall not be required to exhibit the lights or shapes prescribed in
sections (4)(a) and (b) of this rule.

(7) A vessel of less than 20 meters in length, when at anchor in
a special anchorage area designated by the United States Secretary
of Transportation, shall not be required to exhibit the anchor lights

and shapes required by this rule.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250
Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-012-0040,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0170
Law Enforcement Vessels

(1) Law enforcement vessels may display a flashing blue light
when engaged in direct law enforcement or public safety activities.
This light must be located so that it does not interfere with the vis-
ibility of the vessel’s navigation lights.

(2) The blue light described in this section may be displayed
only by law enforcement vessels of the United States, Oregon and

its political subdivisions.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & ORS 830.250
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.035
Hist.: MB 16-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92; Renumbered from 250-012-0045,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0180
Public Safety Activities

(1) Vessels engaged in government sanctioned public safety
activities, and commercial vessels performing similar functions,
may display an alternately flashing red and yellow light signal.
This identification light signal must be located so that it does not
interfere with the visibility of the vessel’s navigation lights. The
identification light signal may be used only as an identification
signal and conveys no special privilege. Vessels using the identifi-
cation light signal during public safety activities must abide by the
Inland Navigation Rules and OAR Chapter 250, Division 11, and
must not presume that the light or the exigency gives them prece-
dence or right of way.

(2) Public safety activities include but are not limited to
patrolling marine parades, regattas, or special water celebrations;
traffic control; salvage; firefighting; medical assistance; assisting

disabled vessels; and search and rescue.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & ORS 830.250
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.035
Hist.: MB 16-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92; Renumbered from 250-012-0050,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

Sound and Light Signals

250-011-0190
Equipment for Sound Signals

(1) A vessel of 12 meters or more in length shall be provided
with a whistle, a vessel of 20 meters or more in length shall be pro-
vided with a bell in addition to a whistle, and a vessel of 100 meters
or more in length shall, in addition, be provided with a gong, the
tone and sound of which cannot be confused with that of the bell.
The whistle, bell and gong shall comply with current U.S. Coast
Guard specifications. The bell or gong or both may be replaced by
other equipment having the same respective sound characteristics,
provided that manual sounding of the prescribed signals shall
always be possible.

(2) A vessel of less than 12 meters in length shall not be
obliged to carry the sound signaling appliances prescribed in
section (1) of this rule but if it does not, the vessel shall be provided

with some other means of making an efficient sound signal.
Stat. Auth: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.230
Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-013-0005,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0200
Maneuvering and Warning Signals

(1) When power-driven vessels are in sight of one another and
meeting or crossing at a distance within half a mile of each other,
each vessel underway, when maneuvering as authorized or required
by these rules:

(a) Shall indicate that maneuver by the following signals on
its whistle: one short blast to mean “I intend to leave you on my
port side”; two short blasts to mean “I intend to leave you on my
starboard side”; and three short blasts to mean “I am operating
astern propulsion”;

(b) Upon hearing the one or two blast signal the other shall, if
in agreement, sound the same whistle signal and take the steps nec-
essary to effect a safe passing. If, however, from any cause, the
vessel doubts the safety of the proposed maneuver, it shall sound
the danger signal specified in section (4) of this rule and each
vessel shall take appropriate precautionary action until a safe
passing agreement is made.

(2) A vessel may supplement the whistle signals prescribed in
section (1) of this rule by light signals:

(a) These signals shall have the following significance: one
flash to mean “I intend to leave you on my port side”; two flashes
to mean “I intend to leave you on my starboard side”; three flashes
to mean “I am operating astern propulsion”;

(b) The duration of each flash shall be about one second; and

(c) The light used for this signal shall, if fitted, be one all-
round white or yellow light, visible at a minimum range of two
miles, synchronized with the whistle, and shall comply with
current U.S. Coast Guard specifications.

(3) When in sight of one another:

(a) A power-driven vessel intending to overtake another
power-driven vessel shall indicate its intention by the following
signals on its whistle: one short blast to mean “I intend to overtake
you on your starboard side”’; two short blasts to mean “I intend to
overtake you on your port side”’; and

(b) The power-driven vessel about to be overtaken shall, if in
agreement, sound a similar sound signal. If in doubt it shall sound
the danger signal prescribed in section (4) of this rule.

(4) When vessels in sight of one another are approaching each
other and from any cause either vessel fails to understand the inten-
tions or actions of the other, or is in doubt whether sufficient action
is being taken by the other to avoid collision, the vessel in doubt
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shall immediately indicate such doubt by giving at least five short
and rapid blasts on the whistle. This signal may be supplemented
by a light signal of at least five short and rapid flashes.

(5) A vessel nearing a bend or an area of a channel or fairway
where other vessels may be obscured by an intervening obstruction
shall sound one prolonged blast. This signal shall be answered with
a prolonged blast by an approaching vessel that may be within
hearing around the bend or behind the intervening obstruction.

(6) If whistles are fitted on a vessel at a distance apart of more
than 100 meters, one whistle only shall be used for giving maneu-
vering and warning signals.

(7) When a power-driven vessel is leaving a dock or berth, it
shall sound one prolonged blast

(8) A vessel that reaches agreement with another vessel in a
meeting, crossing, or overtaking situation by using the radiotele-
phone as prescribed by the Federal Bridge-to-Bridge Radio-Tele-
phone Act (85 Stat. 165; 33 U.S.C. 1207), is not obliged to sound
the whistle signals prescribed by this rule, but may do so. If agree-
ment is not reached, then whistle signals shall be exchanged in a

timely manner and shall prevail.
Stat. Auth: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.230 & ORS 830.250
Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-013-0010,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0220
Sound Signals in Restricted Visibility

In or near an area of restricted visibility, whether by day or
night, the signals prescribed in this rule shall be used as follows:

(1) A power-driven vessel making way through the water shall
sound at intervals of not more than two minutes one prolonged
blast.

(2) A power-driven vessel underway but stopped and making
no way through the water shall sound at intervals of not more than
two minutes two prolonged blasts in succession with an interval of
about two seconds between them.

(3) A vessel not under command; a vessel restricted in its
ability to maneuver, whether underway or at anchor; a sailing
vessel; a vessel engaged in fishing, whether underway or at anchor;
and a vessel engaged in towing or pushing another vessel shall,
instead of the signals prescribed in section (1) or (2) of this rule,
sound at intervals of not more than two minutes, three blasts in suc-
cession; namely, one prolonged followed by two short blasts.

(4) A vessel towed or if more than one vessel is towed the last
vessel of the tow, if manned, shall at intervals of not more than two
minutes sound four blasts in succession; namely, one prolonged
followed by three short blasts. When practicable, this signal shall
be made immediately after the signal made by the towing vessel.

(5) When a pushing vessel and a vessel being pushed ahead
are rigidly connected in a composite unit they shall be regarded as
a power-driven vessel and shall give the signals prescribed in
section (1) or (2) of this rule.

(6) A vessel at anchor shall at intervals of not more than one
minute ring the bell rapidly for about five seconds. In a vessel of
100 meters or more in length the bell shall be sounded in the
forepart of the vessel and immediately after the ringing of the bell
the gong shall be sounded rapidly for about five seconds in the
after part of the vessel. A vessel at anchor may in addition sound
three blasts in succession; namely, one short, one prolonged and
one short blast, to give warning of its position and of the possibility
of collision to an approaching vessel.

(7) A vessel aground shall give the bell signal and if required
the gong signal prescribed in section (6) of this rule and shall, in
addition, give three separate and distinct strokes on the bell imme-
diately before and after the rapid ringing of the bell. A vessel
aground may in addition sound an appropriate whistle signal.

(8) A vessel of less than 12 meters in length shall not be
obliged to give the above-mentioned signals but, if it does not,
shall make some other efficient sound signals at intervals of not
more than two minutes.

(9) A pilot vessel when engaged on pilotage duty may in addi-
tion to the signals prescribed in section (1), (2) or (6) of this rule
sound an identity signal consisting of four short blasts.

(10) The following vessels shall not be required to sound
signals as prescribed in section (6) of this rule when anchored in a
special anchorage area designated by the United States Secretary of
Transportation:

(a) A vessel of less than 20 meters in length; and

(b) A barge, canal boat, scow, or other nondescript craft.

Stat. Auth: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.230

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-013-0015,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-011-0230
Signals to Attract Attention

If necessary to attract the attention of another vessel, any
vessel may make light or sound signals that cannot be mistaken for
any signal authorized elsewhere in this division, or may direct the
beam of its searchlight in the direction of the danger, in such a way

as not to embarrass any vessel.
Stat. Auth: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225, ORS 830.230 & ORS 830.250
Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; Renumbered from 250-013-0020,
OSMB 5-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

DIVISION 12

LIGHTS AND SHAPES
250-012-0003 [Renumbered to 250-011-0090]
250-012-0005 [Renumbered to 250-011-0080]
250-012-0010 [Renumbered to 250-011-0100]
250-012-0015 [Renumbered to 250-011-0110]
250-012-0020 [Renumbered to 250-011-0120]
250-012-0025 [Renumbered to 250-011-0130]
250-012-0030 [Renumbered to 250-011-0140]
250-012-0035 [Renumbered to 250-011-0150]
250-012-0040 [Renumbered to 250-011-0160]
250-012-0045 [Renumbered to 250-011-0170]
250-012-0050 [Renumbered to 250-011-0180]

DIVISION 13
SOUND AND LIGHT SIGNALS
250-013-0005 [Renumbered to 250-011-0190]
250-013-0010 [Renumbered to 250-011-0200]
250-013-0015 [Renumbered to 250-011-0220
250-013-0020 [Renumbered to 250-011-0230]

DIVISION 14
MARINE FACILITY PROGRAM RULES

250-014-0001
Definitions

For the purposes of OAR 250-014-0001 to 250-014-0005, the
following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Annual Maintenance” means routine maintenance and
operation activities performed by the participant during the one-
year allocation period.
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(2) “Biennium” means the 24-month period beginning July 1
of each odd numbered year and ending June 30 of the next odd
numbered year.

(3) “Board” means the State Marine Board.

(4) “Boarding Float” means a floating structure on or adjacent
to a launch ramp that provides temporary short term use for loading
or off- loading from a boat. Floats are normally 6 to 8 feet wide.

(5) “Boating Facility Grant Program” means the program
authorized by ORS 830.150. Funds are available for the acquisition,
development and rehabilitation of public boating facilities available
to, and ordinarily used by, motorized boats.

(6) “Boating Infrastructure Grants Program” (BIG) means the
federal program authorized by 50 CFR Part 80 and ORS 830.150.
Funds are available for the development and rehabilitation of non-
home port transient tie-up facilities at public and private facilities
used principally by non-trailered recreational boats.

(7) “Clean Vessel Act (CVA) Grant Program” means the
federal program authorized by 50 CFR Part 85 and ORS 830.150.
Clean Vessel Act grants can be used to develop, refurbish, or main-
tain floating restrooms and vessel waste collection systems
ordinarily used by recreational boats at public and private boating
facilities.

(8) “Director” means the State Marine Board Director.

(9) “Fiscal Year” means the twelve-month period beginning
July 1 of any year and ending June 30 of the next year.

(10) “Floating Restroom” means a floating structure moored
in open water that is not connected to shore and provides toilet
facilities to boaters.

(11) “Grounds” includes the area at or immediately adjacent
to an improved boating facility where garbage pickup and mainte-
nance of turf, vegetation, trees/shrubs, bank stabilization and small
picnic areas occurs.

(12) “Improved Public Boating Facility” means developed
public facilities with hard surface launch ramps, boarding floats,
parking areas, access roads, restrooms, grounds, transient tie-up
floats or vessel waste collection facilities.

(13) “Launch Ramp” is an inclined hard surface consisting of
asphalt or concrete used to launch and retrieve boats. A launch
ramp consists of one or more launch lanes. Each launch lane is nor-
mally 15 to 20 feet wide.

(14) “Maintenance Assistance Program” (MAP), means fund-
ing assistance to eligible public participants for the routine mainte-
nance and operations of improved public boating facilities.

(15) “Mixed Use Site” means a boating facility where annual
use is mixed (31%-69%) between motorized (or registered) and
non-motorized (or non-registered boats).

(16) “Motorized Use Site” means a boating facility where
annual use by motorized (or registered) boats is 70% or more of all
boat use.

(17) “Non-Motorized Use Site” means a boating facility
where the annual use by motorized (or registered) boats is 30% or
less of all boat use.

(18) “Off-Season” means the six-month period of lowest
motorized (or registered) boat use generally the period from
October 15 to April 15.

(19) “Parking Area” means a developed gravel or asphalt sur-
face with a least six boat trailer spaces (10’ x 40’) and two single
car spaces (10’ x 20°) associated with a launch ramp. This includes
any required accessible parking spaces.

(20) “Participant” means any public or private party that qual-
ifies to receive funds from the Boating Facility Grant Program or
Maintenance Assistance Program and voluntarily participates in
either program.

(21) “Peak Season” means the three month period of heaviest
boat use generally the period from June 1 to August 31.

(22) “Public Boating Facility Grant Project” means a project
to develop, improve, rehabilitate or replace public boating facilities
or to acquire property for the development of an improved boating
facility.

(23) “Private Boating Facility Grant Project” means a project
to develop, improve, rehabilitate or replace private marina facility

vessel waste collection systems and transient tie-up facilities that
are available/open for public use.

(24) “Public Boating Facility” or “Public Marine Facility”
means public launch ramps, parking, boarding floats, transient tie-
up facilities, restrooms, access roads, floating restrooms, vessel
waste collection systems, signing and water markers, potable water
systems and related facilities for the use and convenience of the
boating public.

(25) “Private Marine Facility” or “Private Marina Facility”
means private facilities that have the capability to provide vessel
waste collection systems or transient tie-up facilities that are open
and available for public use.

(26) “Public Project Sponsor,” “Eligible Public Participants,”
or “Public Entity” means cities, counties, park and recreation dis-
tricts, port districts and state or federal agencies that own and or
operate public boating facilities as specified in these rules.

(27) “Private Project Sponsor,” “Eligible Private Participants,”
or “Private Entity” means any individual firm, corporation, associ-
ation, partnership, consortium, joint venture, industry, or any other
nonpublic entity that operates a marina facility as specified in these
rules.

(28) “Restroom” means all types of landside facilities used to
collect human waste to include flush, vault, composting and
portable toilets. A restroom may include one or more stalls (urinal
or toilet).

(29) “Routine Maintenance” means all types of ordinary
maintenance activities completed on a regular basis (daily, weekly
or monthly).

(30) “Shoulder Season” means the three month period of
moderate boat use generally the period from April 15 to May 31
and September 1 to October 15.

(31) “Transient Tie-Up” means a floating structure at least
100 feet in length used for short term boat tie-up and broadside tie-
up or space for mooring at least six non-trailered boats. Transient
tie-up does not include tenant based moorage or facilities that
allow stays longer than ten consecutive days.

(32) “Use Fee” means any form of user fee charged to boaters
for access or use of a boating facility. This includes day use,
launch, parking, tie-up or any other general entrance or use fee.

(33) “Vessel Waste Collection System” means all types of sta-
tionary or portable systems that pump or remove human waste
from a recreational boat holding tank or portable potties. This
includes pumpouts, dump stations, related forward sewage lift sta-

tions, necessary floats, piles, and gangways, and related facilities.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.150
Stats. Implemented ORS 830.150
Hist.: MB 18-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 11-1987, f. 5-20-87, ef. 6-1-87; MB
12-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 5-15-92; MB 8-1995, f. &
cert. ef. 11-6-95; OSMB 6-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-15-98; OSMB 8-2001, f. & cert.
ef. 7-30-01; OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef. 7-1-07; OSMB 6-2012, f. 4-
20-12, cert. ef 5-1-12; OSMB 7-2013, f. 10-28-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14

250-014-0002
Eligibility

(1) The Boating Facility Grant Program is available to eligible
public project sponsors.

(2) The Clean Vessel Act and Boating Infrastructure Grant
programs are available to eligible public and private project spon-
Sors.

(3) The Maintenance Assistance Program is available to

eligible public project sponsors excluding federal agencies.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.150
Hist.: MB 18-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 11-1987, f. 5-20-87, ef. 6-1-87; MB
12-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 5-15-92; MB 8-1995, f. &
cert. ef. 11-6-95; OSMB 6-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-15-98; OSMB 8-2001, f. & cert.
ef. 7-30-01; OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef. 7-1-07; OSMB 7-2013, f. 10-
28-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14

250-014-0003
Boating Facility Grant Program

(1) Program Description:

(a) The Board is authorized by ORS 830.150(2)(a) to provide
funds for the construction, rehabilitation, and replacement of
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boating facilities. The program can provide for the acquisition of
property and related development projects such as ramps, parking,
potable water, sanitation, docks, and other facilities for the conve-
nience and safety of recreational boaters. The Board may adopt
other policies, guidelines, and procedure manuals as necessary to
implement these rules. The funds are available to eligible participants
on a full grant or matching basis. Applicants are strongly encouraged
to provide some form of matching funds. This will enhance a pro-
ject’s potential for funding. The applicant’s match may be a hard
match of cash or a soft match of “in-kind” materials or services
such as project administration, design, engineering, force-account
labor and permit fees specifically related to the Boating Facility
Grant as set forth in the Procedure Guide. Eligible permit fees
include application fees for US Army Corps of Engineers and
Department of State Lands section 404 and section 10 permits,
other state and local government permit fees required for construc-
tion or other activities associated with the grant, but not system
development charges, impact fees, and general government overhead
charges, or waterway leases and licenses associated with ownership
of property.

(b) In granting funds, ORS 830.150(2)(a), requires the Board
to give first priority to applications for facilities designed to control
water pollution or otherwise enhance water quality, including but
not limited to, pumping stations for recreational boat holding tanks,
and to those other facilities for which there appears the greatest
public need. Funds may also be granted for removal of obsolete
and abandoned dock or mooring facilities, if these constitute a
boating or navigational hazard.

(c) Applications for grants may be submitted by:

(A) Cities;

(B) Counties;

(C) Park and Recreation Districts;

(D) Port Districts;

(E) State Agencies; and

(F) Federal Agency participants such as U.S. Forest Service,
Bureau of Land Management and the Corps of Engineers.

(d) Prior to issuing any grant, the Board shall hold a public
hearing in the area where a facility is to be constructed or land
acquired if, in the judgment of the Board, use of the facility would
stimulate significant change in the character of the recreational use
of the waters.

(e) Cities, counties, park and recreation districts, port districts,
and state or federal agencies that have developed long-range plans
for development of boating facilities are encouraged to file a copy
with the State Marine Board.

(2) Procedures:

(a) Pre-Application: Prior to submitting an application for a
Marine Board boating facility grant, the applicant should contact
the Marine Board for a pre-application conference to discuss the
proposed project. This will provide applicants with an opportunity
to ask any questions regarding the grant program, and will permit
the Marine Board staff to assist the applicant in the early planning
stages of a project. Requests for application forms, guidance, and
assistance may be obtained from: Boating Facilities Section,
Oregon State Marine Board.

(b) Application: When an applicant for a grant has completed
the planning phase, application shall be made to the Board on such
forms as described in the Procedure Guide. A complete application
must include the following enclosures:

(A) Completed original application form.

(B) A resolution or statement from the governing body autho-
rizing the project.

(C) Certification from the local city or county planning
agency that the project is in compliance with local comprehensive
plans and zoning ordinances or not subject to local plans and ordi-
nances.

(D) The following supporting documents must be submitted:

(i) Location map of the city or county, showing geographic
reference location of the project.

(i1) A vicinity map showing the entire facility, boundaries,
geographical features and land use adjacent to the project.

(iii) A site plan showing the area to be developed with this
grant. All items should be clearly labeled on the plan as existing or
proposed development. The plan should show appropriate dimen-
sions to scale.

(iv) Photographs of the existing project site. These should be
sufficient to show major site features and any special characteristics.
(An aerial photo is desirable if available).

(v) A preliminary cost estimate, with calculations and
quantities, including all proposed facilities and work tasks. Where
marine facilities are only a portion of the total project cost, indicate
the boating related facilities to be developed with Marine Board
funds.

(vi) Preliminary Plans of all proposed structures, including a
plan view (top) and elevation view (side) of each proposed struc-
ture.

(vii) Third Party Agreements including copies of leases,
special use permits, or intergovernmental agreements if the
applicant manages but does not own the project site. If applicable,
a cooperative agreement between the eligible applicant and a third
party participant outlining scope and nature of the project should
be included.

(viii) A description and chronology of notice given to the
public of the application or proposed project and the opportunities
for public input and the comments received.

(E) If lands are to be acquired, complete information pertaining
to description, present ownership, appraised value, etc. is required.

(F) For all applications, a brief Environmental Checklist
describing the anticipated environmental impacts of the project is
required.

(G) For certain projects, various regulatory permits, leases,
licenses, certifications, and plan reviews must be obtained. It is the
responsibility of the applicant to secure the necessary clearances
prior to implementing any project. The applicant shall indicate to
the Board the status of any such permits, etc., as part of its applica-
tion.

(H) The Board will not consider incomplete applications.

(c) Notice to Applicants: Following Board consideration, the
applicant shall be advised in writing of the Board’s decision. If a
denial is made based on the protection of water quality, specific
notice shall be provided indicating the point or points of the plan
which are inadequate ORS 830.150(4).

(d) Approval of Boating Facility Grant: In order to approve a
Boating Facility Grant, the Board shall assure that the project com-
plies with the statewide planning goals and is compatible with
applicable acknowledged comprehensive plans by following the
procedures set out in the Board’s state agency coordination
program adopted pursuant to ORS 197.180.

(e) Approved Boating Facility Grants: Following Board
approval of a Boating Facility Grant, a special cooperative
agreement shall be entered into between the applicant and the
Board. This agreement shall describe the responsibilities of both
participants. Failure by the applicant to execute the grant agreement
within 90 calendar days of project approval by the Board may
result in the cancellation of the Boating Facility Grant.

(f) Completion and Final Reimbursement: Upon completion
of the project, the sponsor shall notify the Board. A final billing
with cost documentation shall be provided to the Board. After a
satisfactory review of billing documents and final inspection by
Marine Board staff, final reimbursement will be authorized.

(g) Boating Facilities Grant Procedure Guide: The Procedure
Guide, adopted by the Board shall set forth policies, application
form, billing form and sample cooperative agreement for use by all
eligible participants.

(h) Boating Facility Grant Availability: Boating Facility
Grants are available each biennial period as prescribed by the
Board. Large projects may be phased in over a period of years or
bienniums to maximize leverage, distribution and availability of
funds. Notice of grant fund availability will be given once to all
interested applicants on or about February 15 for the ensuing new
biennial period.

(3) Priorities:
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(a) The Board shall provide grants for boating facilities as the
need for facilities appear to the Board as authorized by ORS
830.150(1).

(b) Since funding for the program is derived from boat regis-
tration fees and state motorboat gas tax, the highest priorities will
2o to projects that serve registered motorboats and sailboats.

(c) When applications for grants exceed funds available, the
Marine Board will, pursuant to ORS 830.150(2), consider the
results of the Boating Survey conducted in accordance with ORS
830.115 in determining areas of greatest need. The Statewide Six
Year Boating Facilities Plan, prepared under ORS 830.110(6), with
input from cities, counties, park districts, port districts, state and
federal agencies, shall also be used to guide the allocation of funds
to priority needs.

(d) The Board in its Procedure Guide shall prescribe specific
ranking criteria for grant applications. The Board may convene an
advisory committee to assist in the review grant project requests.

(4) Policies:

(a) It is the policy of the Board to encourage applicants to
make use of matching funds. As a part of this policy, applicants
will be encouraged to seek other sources of matching monies or
provide some form of local matching contribution. This local
matching contribution may be a “hard” match of cash and a “soft”
match of “in-kind” materials or services such as project administra-
tion, design, engineering, force account labor, and permit fees
specifically related to the Boating Facility Grant. The Board recog-
nizes that, in some instances, this local matching contribution may
be beyond the applicant’s capabilities. In such cases, the Board
may provide a grant covering the full eligible costs. The availability
of matching funds or local participation, while not the primary
factor in considering a grant application will be examined as one
aspect of the project in the decision-making process. The Board in
its Procedure Guides shall develop a general policy on applicant
matching funds.

(b) Grants will be limited to actual certified expenditures for
materials, equipment, labor, and services directly related to con-
struction. Applicants are encouraged to supply “in-house” adminis-
tration, labor, equipment and services as a form of match to the
Marine Board grant. “In-kind” participation shall be documented
to the maximum extent possible.

(c) The Board requires project sponsors to place a credit sign
at facilities developed with a Marine Board grant. This sign shall
indicate that the facility was developed with assistance from the
Marine Board. The credit sign shall also recognize grant funding
received through the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Services Clean Vessel
Act, Boating Infrastructure, or Sport Fish Restoration programs, or
other funding sources as appropriate. The cost of design, fabrication
and installation is an eligible cost and may be included in the con-
struction contract. The sponsor shall place the required sign in a
suitable location at the facility.

(d) In determining approval of the grants, the Board will give
priority to those facilities providing free services to the general
public.

(e) Marine Board staff will, within budgetary limitations,
inspect each proposed facility site with the grant applicant prior to
Board consideration of any grant. On-site visits shall be made to
assure that the facts presented in the application are correct and to
furnish Board members such additional data as may be desired. A
final inspection will, within budgetary limitations, also be made
prior to the final grant reimbursement.

(f) Grant applications must be received 30 calendar days or
more prior to scheduled State Marine Board meetings to be consid-
ered by the Board. Applicants should contact the Boating Facilities
Section Manager concerning grant application deadlines and avail-
ability of funds.

(g) At the discretion and direction of the Board, the Director
may be authorized each biennium to approve small grants up to
$10,000 for minor public boating facility improvements not to
exceed $20,000 in total cost. The Board may limit the total amount
of funds available for small grants each biennium. Applicants
eligible to receive Boating Facilities Grants may apply for small

grants by letter from the governing body of the applicant, addressed
to the Director and accompanied by appropriate supporting infor-
mation sufficient to describe the proposed project, including a
drawing or plan of the site and proposed improvements, photographs,
and a cost estimate or written cost quote from a qualified contractor
or vendor. Small grants may not be used for routine maintenance
activities that are eligible under the Maintenance Assistance Pro-
gram. The Director may waive all or part of the standard
cooperative agreement for small grants. At each regularly scheduled
Board meeting, the Director will report on the status of all
authorized small grants.

(h) It is the policy of the Board to require that projects be
completed within a biennial budget period or less from the date of
grant approval. Exceptions may be allowed by the Director if war-
ranted by extraordinary circumstances. The Director is authorized
to approve project time extensions up to 90 days, provided this is
reported to the Board or as provided by state rule.

(i) Partial reimbursement can be made based upon percentage
of project completion with submittal of appropriate documentation
(invoices, receipts, photographs, etc.). Final reimbursement will be
forwarded upon receipt and approval of appropriate final billing
documentation, and a satisfactory final inspection by Board staff.
Project sponsors must inform the staff of any alterations to the pro-
ject, and should provide an early indication of any possible cost
overruns or delays which will necessitate a time extension beyond
the two year limit.

(j) Except as provided in the Consent Agenda Grant Consider-
ation Policy applicants shall attend the Marine Board meeting at
which their facility grant request is being considered. The Marine
Board staff shall inform applicants as to the date, time, and location
of the Board meeting. Failure to appear at the meeting may result in
a deferral of the grant request. The Director may waive this
requirement for smaller projects or if special conditions prevent the
applicant from being present.

(k) Reimbursement will not be made for projects initiated or
completed prior to approval by the Board and federal granting
agency. Recognizing that emergencies may arise necessitating
quick action, applicants with emergencies should contact the
Boating Facilities Section Manager for instructions before initiating
any improvements.

(1) Grants will not be approved for the routine maintenance of
facilities (e.g., cleaning, litter pickup, lawn care, painting, etc.).
These items may be eligible for funding through the Maintenance
Assistance Program.

(m) The Director is authorized to approve minor cost overruns
(less than $10,000). Applicants must notify the Board of possible
cost overruns prior to incurring them in order to be eligible for pos-
sible reimbursement.

(n) In submitting the Grant Application and by execution of
the Cooperative Grant Agreement the Applicant certifies that all
developments will occur on property owned, leased or controlled
by Applicant during the term of the agreement. All property or
facilities developed with Facilities Grant funds must be dedicated
for public use and maintained for a period not less than twenty (20)
years. In the event the applicant fails to maintain the facility, or
converts the use of the facility, the applicant shall promptly
reimburse the Board for all improvement costs provided by the
Board.

(o) All projects must comply with “Uniform Sign Guidelines”
as published by the Board. All launch ramp facilities developed
with Marine Board funds must have at least one uniform boat ramp
sign placed on roads leading to the facility in order to direct the
public.

(p) All projects must be designed and engineered by a
registered engineer or architect unless completed using force
account labor or otherwise provided by law. This will assure the
applicant and the Board that proper and necessary provisions are
being met with respect to public health, life and safety through the
best use of materials and labor at a minimal cost.

(q) A publication by the Board titled “Design Guidelines for
Recreational Boating Facilities” provides basic technical specifica-
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tions and design criteria for the development of facility grant pro-
jects. All projects must comply with these guidelines or other
approved methods.

(r) Applicants shall forward one copy of the final plans and
specifications to the Board for review, prior to procuring any con-
tractor, material supplier or commencing any work at the project
site. Marine Board staff will notify applicants of plan approval, at
which time they may commence implementation of the approved
plan.

(s) The Board has the capability to provide some design-engi-
neering services for grant applicants. Requests for technical engi-
neering assistance should be directed to the Boating Facilities

Section Manager.
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.150
Hist.: MB 18-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 11-1987, f. 5-20-87, ef. 6-1-87; MB
12-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 4-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88; MB 7-1992,
f. & cert. ef. 5-14-92; MB 9-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-94; MB 8-1995, f. & cert. ef.
11-6-95; OSMB 6-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-15-98; OSMB 8-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-
30-01; OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef. 7-1-07; OSMB 7-2013, f. 10-28-
13, cert. ef. 1-1-14

250-014-0004
Maintenance Assistance Program

(1) Program Description:

(a) The Board is authorized by ORS 830.150(2)(a) to provide
funds for annual maintenance of improved public boating facilities.

(b) The Board is also authorized to provide federal Clean
Vessel Act CFR 50 Part 85 funds made available through the U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service, to assist in the maintenance of vessel
waste collection facilities, floating restrooms, and related support
facilities.

(c) Federal Clean Vessel Act funds require at least a 25% non-
federal match of funds, which is provided by participants and doc-
umented in expenditure reports and maintenance activity logs. All
participants receiving federal funds must agree to comply with any
and all federal funding requirements.

(d) The Program is voluntary and by accepting MAP funds the
participant agrees to comply with all program rules, policies and
procedures.

(e) The Program provides annual matching grants, which are
intended to augment existing levels of routine maintenance at
improved public boating facilities.

(f) Eligible participants include cities, counties, park and
recreation districts, port districts and state agencies.

(g) MAP funds may only be used for routine and ordinary
maintenance of boating facilities to include but not limited to:
cleaning launch ramps, floats, parking areas, restrooms, garbage
service, grounds keeping, utilities, and minor repairs to eligible
facilities. Federal Clean Vessel Act funds may be used for routine
and ordinary maintenance of vessel waste collection facilities and
floating restrooms to include cleaning, septic disposal, utilities,
minor repairs, deployment and winterization.

(h) Only motorized and mixed use facilities are eligible for
MAP.

(i) Eligible facilities include launch ramps, boarding floats,
restrooms, parking areas, access roads, transient tie-up floats, ski
floats, floating restrooms, vessel waste collection systems grounds
and garbage service. To be eligible, a facility must be open at least
during the peak season of use and, at a minimum, provide:

(A) A single-lane launch ramp with at least six vehicle/boat
trailer and two single car parking spaces or at least 100 linear feet
of transient tie-up floats; Vessel waste collection facilities; or
floating restrooms. (Item B and C are not required for Vessel waste
collection facilities or floating restrooms).

(B) A single-stall restroom; and

(C) One garbage can.

(j) MAP funds may not be used for operation, maintenance or
overhead costs associated with fish cleaning stations, boat wash
stations, marine fuel stations, long-term marina or moorage
facilities, campgrounds, trails, picnic areas or shelters, swim areas,
other large day-use components. MAP funds may also not be used

for the operation, maintenance or overhead of any eligible improved
boating facility or portion of eligible improved boating facility
used for commercial activities that limit public recreational boating
use or access, unless the commercial activities are incidental.

(2) Allocation:

(a) MAP funds are provided, on an allocation basis each fiscal
year, to eligible participants who own or operate eligible facilities.
The amount of MAP funds available in any biennium will be con-
tingent upon the legislatively adopted budget.

(b) Federal Clean Vessel Act funds are provided to eligible
participants contingent on availability and approval by the U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service.

(c) The MAP allocation formula uses a point system based on
site elements found at eligible facilities. Each point has a value of
$100. MAP payment shall be made to eligible participants annually
after receipt and approval of all required reports and logs using the
allocation methodology as follows:

(A) Determine the Base Allocation for each boating facility.
Calculate the number of launch lanes, boat trailer parking spaces,
restroom stalls, length of boarding floats, length of transient tie-up
floats, grounds and garbage service by the point values as
prescribed by the Board. Eligible boating facilities accessible only
by boat receive additional points. Participants who provide four or
more eligible facilities also receive additional points.

(B) Adjust the Base Allocation for fees charged. Facility fees
may be any day use, entry, launch, parking or other fee charged to
users for a single use of the boating facility. The highest of any
single use fee paid by the boater for use of an improved boating
facility will be used to adjust the base allocation. The highest fee
does not include annual passes or donation boxes. Any fee charged
over $5 will disqualify that facility from receiving any MAP funds.
The Board may prescribe other fee reduction values for transient
tie-up facilities based on local or regional market conditions.
Eligible participants who have transient tie-up facilities that have
utility connections are allowed to charge use fees to recover direct
utility costs without reduction to their MAP allocation. Adjust the

Base Allocation for fees charged as follows:
$0-$2.00 — no reduction
$2.01-$3.00 — 15% reduction
$3.01-$4.00 — 40% reduction
$4.01-$5.00 — 75% reduction
$5.01 and above — not eligible

(C) The Allocation may further be adjusted to balance the
number of launch lanes to the number of parking spaces in confor-
mance with the Board’s Design Guidelines for Recreational
Boating Facilities; to account for restrooms and parking that
clearly serve other developed activity areas besides boating, such
as large day use areas, marinas, campgrounds and downtown areas
(these facilities will assume to have joint use and points will be
adjusted accordingly); and restrooms that have seasonal closures
where the restroom facility is not open to the public.

(D) Adjust the Boating Facility Allocation for boating facility
seasonal availability:

(1) Receive 50% adjusted Boating Facility Allocation for each
site element at an eligible facility that is open, available, and oper-
ational only during the required minimum three-month peak sea-
son;

(i1) Receive 75% of the Boating Facility Allocation for each
site element at an eligible facility that is open, available, and oper-
ational during the required minimum three-month peak season and
three-month shoulder season.

(E) Determine Total Eligible Boating Facility Participant
Allocation. Participant’s annual allocation is the sum total of each
eligible facility as adjusted for season of use and fees.

(d) Determine the Base Allocation for each vessel waste col-
lection facility. Calculate the number of pumpouts, dump stations
and floating restrooms by the point values as prescribed by the
Board.

(A) Boat waste collection facilities built with Boating Facility
Grants are required to provide free use for the public. No user fees
may be collected or charged. The facility must be open and
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available to the general boating public to include hoses, adapters,
power and other necessary items for operation and use.

(B) Adjust the Vessel Waste Collection Systems Base Alloca-
tion for seasonal closures when the facility is not open for public
use or non-operational, based on the following:

(i) Receive 50% of the Base Facility Allocation for each
eligible element that is open, available, and operational during the
required minimum three-month peak season.

(ii) Receive 75% of the Base Facility Allocation for each eli-
gible element at an eligible facility that is open, available, and
operational during the required minimum three-month peak season
and the three-month peak seasons.

(C) Determine Total Eligible Vessel Waste Collection Systems
Participant Allocation. Participant’s annual allocation is the sum
total of each eligible facility as adjusted for season of use. The
Base Allocation for eligible Vessel Waste Collection System ele-
ments is not reduced if user fees are charged at the site but there is
no additional fee to use the eligible Vessel Waste Collection
System elements.

(e) The Board shall re-allocate any MAP funds remaining in
the biennium to the Marine Facility Grant Program.

(3) Procedures:

(a) Prior to the beginning of each fiscal year, the Board deter-
mines the funds available, and using the point system, estimates
each participant’s allocation.

(b) Eligible participants shall be notified in writing of their
estimated allocation for the ensuing fiscal year.

(c) In order to participate in the MAP Program each participant
must provide a completed Allocation Certification Agreement to
the Board each fiscal year certifying the following:

(A) The participant has adopted a budget that includes the
estimated MAP allocation; and

(B) The number of eligible improved marine facilities and site
elements maintained by the participant; and

(C) That the MAP funds will be spent only to maintain
improved marine facilities in accordance with the MAP procedures
and policies; and

(D) The season(s) of use that the improved boating facility
will be open and maintained for public use; and

(E) The amount of any user fees to be charged during the
fiscal year for use of the eligible boating facility by boaters. User
fees include the highest of any entrance, day use, launch ramp,
parking, transient moorage or other fees paid excluding annual
passes and donations

(F) The Participant will allow representatives of the Board
access to all eligible boating facilities, provide park maintenance
expenditure and performance records upon request, and cooperate
during any audit.

(G) MAP funds will not exceed sixty percent of the overall
maintenance cost of eligible boating facilities.

(H) Participant match does not include any cash or in-kind
activities expended on campgrounds, marinas, fuel stations, trails,
picnic shelters, swim areas or other large day-use components. The
Participant has documented percentages for shared use facilities
such as restrooms and parking that serve eligible marine facilities
and other park uses.

(I) That MAP funds are principally targeted for labor, supplies,
or contract services that will be expended at the site. Justification
will be required for expenditures for overhead, program adminis-
tration, supervision or other general service assessments/charges
that amount to 15% or more of MAP funds received.

(J) MAP funds may not be used for capital projects or as
match to other grants.

(d) Any participant that does not certify to the Board by
August 1, as required above, may be deemed to have waived par-
ticipation in the MAP program.

(e) Participants shall submit to the Board an estimated expen-
diture report at the end of each fiscal year period and an operations
and maintenance budget outlining actual MAP and participant
expenditures for labor, supplies, materials and services for all
eligible sites individually. Reports shall be in the manner and form

as required by the Board. Failure to submit this report within the
specified time may result in participant disqualification.

(f) At the end of each fiscal year period, participants that have
eligible pumpouts, dump stations and floating restrooms shall
submit Maintenance Reporting Logs for these elements.

(4) Policies:

(a) It is the policy of the Board that the MAP program is
designed to supplement funds expended by an eligible participant
in the maintenance of improved boating facilities. The intent of the
Board is to assist in improving the quality of maintenance at
improved boating facilities.

(b) It is the policy of the Board to encourage free public
access to improved public marine facilities.

(c) It is the policy of the Board to allow participants to expend
MAP funds to purchase small tools or equipment for the maintenance
of improved marine facilities, not to exceed ten percent of the
annual allocation. This is contingent upon the applicant providing
sufficient maintenance that complies with expectations as established
by the Board.

(d) Participants shall reimburse the Board for any funds not
expended within the fiscal year. However, a participant may
request permission to carry over a maximum of ten percent of the
total MAP Allocation from one fiscal year to the next but must be
expended within that fiscal year. Unexpended funds allocated to
maintain pumpouts, dump stations, and floating restrooms cannot
be carried over from one fiscal year to the next and must be
returned to the Board.

(e) MAP participants are encouraged to develop a cost
accounting system that separates out MAP funds by line item
revenue and expenditures. Expenditure detail should be sufficient
to demonstrate that MAP funds provided are being appropriately
expended.

(f) MAP participants that provide four or more sites may shift
up to 25% of the individual MAP site allocation in a fiscal year to
other eligible MAP sites to accommodate changing use patterns,
water conditions or maintenance needs, provided that minimum
maintenance expectations are met at all sites. Written justification
will be required for fund shifts in excess of 25%. Funds allocated to
maintain pumpouts, dump stations, and floating restrooms cannot
be shifted to other eligible MAP sites.

(g) Any daily, monthly or annual use fees charged at MAP
sites must be uniform for a specific class of users. No differential
in-area or out-of-area annual, seasonal or day use fees may be
charged at MAP sites.

(h) It is a policy of the Board to encourage participants to
allow for full public use and access to improved public boating
facilities. MAP funds may not be used for the operation, maintenance
or overhead associated with any public boating facilities or
portions of public boating facilities where commercial use is
allowed. Commercial use means any regular or non-incidental
activity or event at an improved public boating facility that is con-
ducted by a business, concessionaire, or any non-public entity for
the purpose of selling products or providing goods or services for a
profit or private financial gain and displaces or precludes recreational
boat use or public access, including the loss of public parking or
dock space or regular or prolonged closures of portions of an
improved public boating facility that results as a part of the activity
or event. Any use that is permitted, licensed, or allowed by agree-
ment from the site owner or managing agent that conveys exclusive
use or a preference in use to any individual, group or entity and not
the general boating public may be considered by the Board as a
commercial use. Examples include: permanent or portable stores,
restaurants, shops, commercial fishing vessel moorage, ocean char-
terboat moorage, fish cleaning services, tour or excursion boats
boarding or moorage, shuttle services, ticket sales, watercraft
rentals, etc. Incidental or occasional use by boat manufacturers or
dealers to test or demonstrate boats or use by outfitters and guides
will not be considered commercial use by the Board as long as the
use is not exclusive or guaranteed or a proprietary preference is not
given to this use over use by the general boating public. Single or
annual events such as festivals, contests, etc. are not considered a
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commercial use by the Board unless the event is repetitive,
extensive, and results in the loss of access or use by the public
boating facility for an excessive amount of time or the event has
the potential to damage or degrade public boating facilities more
than the Board considers reasonable. The Board encourages partic-
ipants to charge all commercial users a use fee to help offset the
added operation and maintenance costs associated with the activities
generated by the commercial use. Commercial use fees are not
considered as a fee for the purpose of calculating the participants
MAP allocation.

(1) Funding for the program may be denied to an eligible par-
ticipant if the Board determines that a sponsor has expended MAP
funds for purposes other than those allowed by these rules, failed to
provide an adequate level of maintenance, failed to provide addi-
tional funds beyond MAP, or failed to report any changes in facility
user fees or season of use. Participants are required to reimburse
MAP funds in the event the Participant has unexpended MAP
funds or makes any changes (fee increase, seasonal closures or
facility components) within the fiscal year that would affect the
approved allocation. The amount of reimbursement can be prorated
based upon the effective date of the changes that affect the
allocation. Failure to notify the Board of changes and make prompt
reimbursement of the allocation overpayment may result in dis-
qualification from the program or other action as deemed necessary
by the Board.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.150

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.150

Hist.: MB 18-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 11-1987, f. 5-20-87, ef. 6-1-87; MB
12-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 5-15-92; MB 9-1994, f. &
cert. ef. 8-5-94; MB 8-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-6-95; OSMB 6-1998, f. & cert. ef.
4-15-98; OSMB 8-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06,
cert. ef. 7-1-07; OSMB 6-2012, f. 4-20-12, cert. ef 5-1-12

250-014-0005
Vessel Waste Collection and Boating Infrastructure Grant
Program

(1) Program Descriptions:

(a) The Board is authorized to provide federal Clean Vessel
Act and Boating Infrastructure Grant funds made available through
the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, in the form of grants in accor-
dance with ORS 830.137 for the construction, rehabilitation or
replacement of facilities, such as vessel waste collection systems,
transient tie-ups and related support facilities.

(b) Federal Clean Vessel Act and Boating Infrastructure Grant
funds are provided to the Board contingent on availability and
approval by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Federal Clean
Vessel Act and Boating Infrastructure Grant funds require at least a
25% non-federal match. For Clean Vessel Act projects, the required
non-federal matching funds are generally provided by the Board.
All participants must agree to comply with any and all federal
funding requirements including but not limited to compliance with
the Single Audit Act. federal OMB Circular A-133.

(c) Clean Vessel Act Grant Funds may be used for the con-
struction/renovation of pumpouts, dump stations and floating
restrooms.

(d) Clean Vessel Act Grant Funds may not be used for the
construction/renovation of upland restroom facilities; or the con-
struction/renovation, operation and maintenance of onsite sewage
treatment plants such as package treatment plants and septic
systems, or municipal sewage treatment plants for primary and sec-
ondary treatment.

(e) Boating Infrastructure Grant funds may be used for the
construction/renovation of docks and piers, gangways, fixed and
floating breakwaters, debris booms, vessel waste collection systems,
utilities and restrooms that principally support tie-up facilities
serving non-trailered boats.

(f) Boating Infrastructure Grant funds may not be used for the
construction/renovation of any trailered boat facilities, routine
maintenance activities, dry stack storage, annual, seasonal or
homeport moorage or other related facilities.

(g) Cities, counties, parks and recreation districts, port districts,
state agencies, federal agency participants such as U.S. Forest Ser-

vice, Bureau of Land Management, the Corps of Engineers and pri-
vate project sponsors are eligible to submit applications for grants.

(2) Procedures:

(a) Pre Application:

(A) Cities, counties, park and recreation districts, port districts,
state and federal agencies and private project sponsors that have
developed long-range plans for development of boating facilities
are encouraged to file a copy with the State Marine Board.

(B) Prior to submitting an application for a Marine Board
facility grant, the applicant should contact the Marine Board for a
pre-application conference to discuss the proposed project. This
will provide applicants with an opportunity to ask any questions
regarding the grant program, and will permit the Marine Board
staff to assist the applicant in the early planning stages of a project.
Requests for application forms, guidance, and assistance may be
obtained from: Boating Facilities Section, Oregon State Marine
Board.

(C) The Public Boating Facility Grant Procedure Guide,
adopted by the Board shall set forth policies, application form and
sample cooperative agreement for use by all eligible public partici-
pants.

(D) The Private Grant Procedure Guide shall set forth polices,
application form and sample cooperative agreement for use by all
eligible private participants.

(b) Application: When an applicant for a grant has completed
the planning phase, application shall be made to the Board on such
forms and manner as described in the Public or Private Procedure
Guide. The application must include the following enclosures:

(A) A completed original application form and enclosures.

(B) For Public Project Sponsors, a resolution or statement
from the governing body authorizing the project.

(C) For Private Project Sponsors, a statement from the legal
owner, corporation or entity authorizing the project.

(D) Permits and Environmental Assessment:

(i) Certification is from the local city or county planning
agency that the project is in compliance with local comprehensive
plans and zoning ordinances or statement that the project is not
subject to these.

(i1) For certain projects, various regulatory permits, leases,
licenses, certifications, and plan reviews must be obtained. It is the
responsibility of the applicant to secure the necessary clearances
prior to implementing any project. The applicant shall indicate to
the Board the status of any such permits, etc., as part of its applica-
tion.

(iii) For all projects, a brief Environmental Checklist describing
the anticipated environmental impacts of the project is required.

(E) The following planning attachments must be submitted:

(1) Location map of the city or county, showing geographic
reference location of the project.

(i1) Vicinity map showing entire facility, boundaries, geo-
graphical features and land use adjacent to the project.

(iii) Site Plan showing the area to be developed with the grant.
All items should be clearly labeled on the plan as existing or pro-
posed development including dimensions to scale.

(iv) Photographs of the existing project site. These should be
sufficient to show major site features and any special characteristics.
(An aerial photo is desirable if available).

(v) A preliminary cost estimate, with calculations and
quantities, including all proposed facilities and work tasks. For
projects where proposed boating facilities are only a portion of the
total cost, the estimate must indicate the boating related facilities to
be developed with Marine Board funds.

(vi) Preliminary Plans of all proposed structures, including a
plan view (top) and elevation view (side) of each proposed struc-
ture.

(vii) Third Party Agreements including copy of leases, special
use permits, or intergovernmental agreements if the applicant man-
ages but does not own the project site. If applicable, a cooperative
agreement between the eligible applicant and a third party
participant outlining scope and nature of the project should be
included.
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(viii) A description and chronology of notice given to the
public of the application or proposed project and the opportunities
for public input and the comments received.

(c) Application Evaluation:

(A) Marine Board staff shall evaluate each and every complete
grant application using evaluation criteria as established by the
Board.

(B) Marine Board staff shall prepare a report and funding rec-
ommendation for the Board. A copy of this report will be
forwarded to the applicant prior to the Board meeting when the
application will be considered.

(C) Incomplete applications will not be considered by the
Board.

(D) Board Consideration:

(a) Except as provided in the Consent Agenda Grant Consid-
eration Policy applicants shall plan to attend the Marine Board
meeting at which their facility grant request is being considered.
The Marine Board staff shall inform applicants as to the date, time,
and location of the Board meeting. Failure to appear at the meeting
may result in a deferral of the grant request. The Director may
waive this requirement for smaller projects or if special conditions
prevent the applicant from being present.

(b) Following Board consideration, the applicant shall be
advised in writing of the Board’s decision. If a denial is made based
on the protection of water quality, specific notice shall be provided
indicating the point or points of the plan which are inadequate
(ORS 830.150(4)).

(c) Prior to issuing any grant, the Board shall hold a public
hearing in the area where a facility is to be constructed or land
acquired if, in the judgment of the Board, use of the facility would
stimulate significant change in the character of the recreational use
of the waters.

(d) In order to approve a Facility Grant, the Board shall assure
that the project complies with the statewide planning goals and is
compatible with applicable acknowledged comprehensive plans by
following the procedures set out in the Board’s state agency coordi-
nation program adopted pursuant to ORS 197.180.

(E) Approved Projects:

(a) Following Board approval of a grant, a special cooperative
agreement shall be entered into between the applicant and the
Board. This agreement shall describe the responsibilities of all par-
ties. Failure by the applicant to execute the grant agreement within
90 calendar days of project approval by the Board may result in the
cancellation of the grant.

(b) The Board requires that projects be completed within a
biennial budget period or less from the date of grant approval.
Exceptions may be allowed by the Director if warranted by
extraordinary circumstances. The Director is authorized to approve
project time extensions up to 90 days, provided this is reported to
the Board.

(F) Project Closeouts:

(a) The public or private project sponsor shall notify the
Board of projection completion. A final billing with cost documen-
tation shall be provided to the Board. After a satisfactory review of
billing documentation and final inspection by Marine Board staff,
final reimbursement will be authorized.

(B) Upon final approval and inspection by the Marine Board
staff, ownership of all facilities (and components) developed with
partial or full grant funds shall remain with the public or private
project sponsor subject to the terms of the Cooperative Agreement.

(3) Priorities:

(A) Funding:

(a) The funds are available to eligible participants on a full
grant or matching basis.

(b) In granting funds, the Board shall give first priority to
applications for public facilities and to those facilities which
appear to have the greatest public need as determined by the
Marine Board.

(c) Grant funds are available each biennial period as prescribed
by the Board. Large projects may be phased in over a period of

years or bienniums to maximize leverage, distribution and avail-
ability of funds.

(d) Notice of grant fund availability will be given once to all
interested applicants on or about February 15 for the ensuing new
biennial period.

(B) Need:

(a) The Board shall provide grants for Marine facilities as the
need for facilities appear to the Board ORS 830.150(2).

(b) When applications for grants exceed funds available, the
Marine Board will, pursuant to ORS 830.150(2), consider the
results of the Boating Survey conducted in accordance with ORS
830.115 in determining areas of greatest need. The Statewide Six
Year Boating Facilities Plan, prepared under ORS 830.110(6), with
input from cities, counties, park districts, port districts, state and
federal agencies, and private project sponsors, shall also be used to
guide the allocation of funds for boat waste collection facilities.

(c) The Board’s Public and Private Procedures Guides shall
prescribe specific ranking criteria and project priorities.

(4) Policies:

(A) Matching Funds:

(a) It is the policy of the Board to encourage applicants to
make use of matching funds. As a part of this policy, applicants
will be encouraged to seek other sources of matching monies or to
provide some form of matching contribution. This public or private
matching contribution may be a “hard” match of cash or a “soft”
match may consist of “in-kind’ materials such as project adminis-
tration, design, engineering, force account labor, permit fees exclu-
sively related to the eligible grant component, and in the case of
private participants long term maintenance costs. The Board recog-
nizes that, in some instances, this matching contribution may be
beyond the applicant’s capabilities. In such cases, the Board may
provide a grant covering the full eligible project costs.

(b) Grants will be limited to actual certified expenditures for
materials, equipment, labor, and services directly related to con-
struction. Applicants are encouraged to supply “in-house” adminis-
trative, design, labor, equipment and engineering services as a form
of match to the Marine Board grant. “In-kind” participation shall
be documented to the maximum extent possible.

(B) Fees:

(a) Since the Board intends to provide the majority of capital
development costs in the form of grants, public and private project
sponsors shall not charge any type of user fee for the use of vessel
waste collection facilities during the term of the Agreement.

(b) To encourage public use, all public and private vessel
waste collection facilities developed in whole or in part by grant
funds shall be available free for public use during the term of the
Agreement.

(c) Approval must be obtained by the Board prior to charging
any user fees for all facilities funded by Boating Infrastructure
Grant funds. Any fees charged shall be reasonable and based on the
prevailing rate charged by other public and private facilities in the
area.

(C) Signs:

(a) The Board requires public and private project sponsors to
place a credit sign at facilities developed with a Marine Board
grant. The use of any federal Clean Vessel Act or Boating Infras-
tructure Grant funds requires placement of a credit sign at the
facility indicating use of federal funds.

(b) The sponsor shall place a standard logo pumpout or dump
station sign at each facility developed with federal Clean Vessel
Act grant funds.

(c) The cost of design, fabrication and installation of required
signs is an eligible cost and may be included in the construction
contract.

(D) Applications:

(a) Grant applications must be received 30 calendar days or
more prior to scheduled State Marine Board meetings to be consid-
ered by the Board. Applicants should contact the Boating Facilities
Section Manager concerning grant application deadlines and avail-
ability of funds.
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(b) Applications will be considered by the Board at regular or
special meetings as determined by the Board. Funding periods
(rounds) shall be established on or about February 15 for the
ensuing new biennium period. Notice will be given to any
interested applicant.

(E) Public Use and Access:

(a) All vessel waste collection and transient tie-up facilities
developed with Boating Facility Grant funds must be open and
available for public use. Reasonable hours of operation may be
prescribed if necessary. The facility may be closed for short periods
to protect against cold weather damage.

(b) Public and private project sponsors shall agree to provide
unrestricted and unencumbered access to the general public by
either land or water to vessel waste collection facilities or Boating
Infrastructure Grant facilities developed in whole or part with
Facility Grants or federal funds.

(F) Cooperative Agreements:

(a) Public and private project sponsors shall enter into an
agreement with the Board in the manner and form prescribed by
the Board. This agreement, which outlines the terms and conditions
of funding and other obligations by all parties, must be executed by
the Director and the project sponsor prior to commencing any
project work. Failure by the applicant and to execute the agreement
within 90 calendar days of project approval by the Board may
result in the cancellation of the grant.

(b) The term of the Cooperative agreement for Vessel Waste
Collection Systems shall be 10 years and Boating Infrastructure
Grant facilities shall be 20 years, the assumed average useful life
span of these facilities.

(c) The public or private project sponsor shall provide
ordinary and routine maintenance activities during the term of this
agreement.

(d) The public or private sponsor shall agree to allow unen-
cumbered facility access to the Board or its authorized agents
during the term of the Cooperative Agreement.

(e) Funding recipients shall maintain accurate records on the
expenditure of project funds, provide the Board with these records
consistent with the agreement and upon request, and permit the
Board to audit the use of grant funds in accordance with generally
accepted audit practices and standards.

(f) Private project sponsors are not required to follow State of
Oregon Public Contract Laws but must procure goods and services
at reasonable cost and avoid any favoritism with contractors,
vendors or suppliers.

(g) In the event the public or private project sponsor fails to
maintain the facility or converts the use of the facility, the public or
private project sponsor shall reimburse the Board for all grant
funds provided by the Board.

(G) Operation and Maintenance:

(a) Grants will not be approved for the routine maintenance of
facilities.

(b) Private Project Sponsors -- Since the Board intends to pro-
vide the majority of all capital development costs in the form of
grants, the private project sponsor shall agree to furnish long term
ordinary and routine operation and maintenance costs as “match”
to the project. Annual usage reports will be submitted to the
Marine Board in the manner and form described.

(H) Engineering and Design Criteria:

(a) All projects must be designed and engineered by a
registered engineer or architect unless completed using force
account labor or otherwise provided by law. This will assure the
applicant and the Board that proper and necessary provisions are
being met with respect to public health, life and safety through the
best use of materials and labor at a minimal cost.

(b) Applicants shall forward one copy of the final plans and
specifications to the Marine Board staff for review, prior to
procuring any contractor or material supplier or commencing any
work at the project site. Marine Board staff will notify applicants of
plan approval, at which time they may commence implementation
of the approved plan.

(c) The Marine Board staff has the capability to provide some
design-engineering services for grant applicants. Requests for tech-
nical engineering assistance should be directed to the Boating
Facilities Section Manager.

(d) A publication by the Board titled Vessel Waste Collection
System Guidelines or Layout and Design Guidelines for Recreational
Boat Launching and Transient Tie-up Facilities provides basic
technical specifications and design criteria for the development of
facility grant projects. All projects must comply with these
guidelines or other approved methods.

(I) Payments and Inspection:

(a) Partial reimbursement can be made monthly based upon
percentage of project completion with submittal of appropriate
documentation (invoices, receipts, photographs, etc.). Final reim-
bursement will be forwarded upon receipt and approval of appro-
priate final billing documentation, and a satisfactory final inspection
by Board staff;

(b) Project sponsors must inform the staff of any alterations to
the project, and should provide an early indication of any possible
cost overruns or delays which will necessitate a time extension
beyond the two year limit;

(c) Reimbursement will not be made for projects initiated or
completed prior to approval by the Board and federal granting
agency. Recognizing that emergencies may arise, necessitating
quick action, applicants with emergencies should contact the
Boating Facilities Section Manager for instructions before initiating
any improvements;

(d) The Director is authorized to approve minor cost overruns
(not to exceed $10,000). Project sponsors must notify the Board of
possible overruns prior to incurring them in order to be eligible for
possible reimbursement;

(e) Marine Board staff will, within budgetary limitations,
inspect each proposed facility site with the grant applicant prior to
Board consideration of any grant. A final inspection will, within
budgetary limitations, also be made by Marine Board staff prior to
the final grant reimbursement;

(f) On-site visits by Marine Board staff shall be made to
assure that the facts presented in the application are correct, to
furnish Board members such additional data as may be desired, to
inspect work in progress, and to perform final project inspections.
The public or private project sponsor or third party participant shall
agree to give the Board and its authorized agents unrestricted
access to the project at all times during the term of the Cooperative
Agreement.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.150

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.150

Hist.: MB 8-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-6-95; OSMB 6-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-15-98;

OSMB 8-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-30-01; OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef. 7-1-

07; OSMB 7-2013, f. 10-28-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14

Floatation Encapsulation Rules

250-014-0010
Definitions

For the purposes of OAR 250-014-0001 to 250-014-0005, the
following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Annual Maintenance” means routine maintenance and
operation activities performed by the participant during the one-
year allocation period.

(2) “Biennium” means the 24-month period beginning July 1
of each odd numbered year and ending June 30 of the next odd
numbered year.

(3) “Board” means the State Marine Board.

(4) “Boarding Float” means a floating structure on or adjacent
to a launch ramp that provides temporary short term use for loading
or off- loading from a boat. Floats are normally 6 to 8 feet wide.

(5) “Boating Facility Grant Program” means the program
authorized by ORS 830.150. Funds are available for the acquisition,
development and rehabilitation of public boating facilities available
to, and ordinarily used by, motorized boats.

(6) “Boating Infrastructure Grants Program” (BIG) means the
federal program authorized by 50 CFR Part 80 and ORS 830.150.
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Funds are available for the development and rehabilitation of non-
home port transient tie-up facilities at public and private facilities
used principally by non-trailered recreational boats.

(7) “Clean Vessel Act (CVA) Grant Program” means the
federal program authorized by 50 CFR Part 85 and ORS 830.150.
Clean Vessel Act grants can be used to develop, refurbish, or main-
tain floating restrooms and vessel waste collection systems
ordinarily used by recreational boats at public and private boating
facilities.

(8) “Director” means the State Marine Board Director.

(9) “Fiscal Year” means the twelve-month period beginning
July 1 of any year and ending June 30 of the next year.

(10) “Floating Restroom™ means a floating structure moored
in open water that is not connected to shore and provides toilet
facilities to boaters.

(11) “Grounds” includes the area at or immediately adjacent
to an improved boating facility where garbage pickup and mainte-
nance of turf, vegetation, trees/shrubs, bank stabilization and small
picnic areas occurs.

(12) “Improved Public Boating Facility” means developed
public facilities with hard surface launch ramps, boarding floats,
parking areas, access roads, restrooms, grounds, transient tie-up
floats or vessel waste collection facilities.

(13) “Launch Ramp” is an inclined hard surface consisting of
asphalt or concrete used to launch and retrieve boats. A launch
ramp consists of one or more launch lanes. Each launch lane is nor-
mally 15 to 20 feet wide.

(14) “Maintenance Assistance Program” (MAP), means fund-
ing assistance to eligible public participants for the routine mainte-
nance and operations of improved public boating facilities.

(15) “Mixed Use Site” means a boating facility where annual
use is mixed (31%-69%) between motorized (or registered) and
non-motorized (or non-registered boats).

(16) “Motorized Use Site” means a boating facility where
annual use by motorized (or registered) boats is 70% or more of all
boat use.

(17) “Non-Motorized Use Site” means a boating facility
where the annual use by motorized (or registered) boats is 30% or
less of all boat use.

(18) “Off-Season” means the six-month period of lowest
motorized (or registered) boat use generally the period from
October 15 to April 15.

(19) “Parking Area” means a developed gravel or asphalt sur-
face with a least six boat trailer spaces (10’ x 40”) and two single
car spaces (10’ x 20’) associated with a launch ramp. This includes
any required accessible parking spaces.

(20) “Participant” means any public or private party that qual-
ifies to receive funds from the Boating Facility Grant Program or
Maintenance Assistance Program and voluntarily participates in
either program.

(21) “Peak Season” means the three month period of heaviest
boat use generally the period from June 1 to August 31.

(22) “Public Boating Facility Grant Project” means a project
to develop, improve, rehabilitate or replace public boating facilities
or to acquire property for the development of an improved boating
facility.

(23) “Private Boating Facility Grant Project” means a project
to develop, improve, rehabilitate or replace private marina facility
vessel waste collection systems and transient tie-up facilities that
are available/open for public use.

(24) “Public Boating Facility” or “Public Marine Facility”
means public launch ramps, parking, boarding floats, transient tie-
up facilities, restrooms, access roads, floating restrooms, vessel
waste collection systems, signing and water markers, potable water
systems and related facilities for the use and convenience of the
boating public.

(25) “Private Marine Facility” or “Private Marina Facility”
means private facilities that have the capability to provide vessel
waste collection systems or transient tie-up facilities that are open
and available for public use.

(26) “Public Project Sponsor,” “Eligible Public Participants,”
or “Public Entity” means cities, counties, park and recreation dis-
tricts, port districts and state or federal agencies that own and or
operate public boating facilities as specified in these rules.

(27) “Private Project Sponsor,” “Eligible Private Participants,”
or “Private Entity” means any individual firm, corporation, associ-
ation, partnership, consortium, joint venture, industry, or any other
nonpublic entity that operates a marina facility as specified in these
rules.

(28) “Restroom” means all types of landside facilities used to
collect human waste to include flush, vault, composting and
portable toilets. A restroom may include one or more stalls (urinal
or toilet).

(29) “Routine Maintenance” means all types of ordinary
maintenance activities completed on a regular basis (daily, weekly
or monthly).

(30) “Shoulder Season” means the three month period of
moderate boat use generally the period from April 15 to May 31
and September 1 to October 15.

(31) “Transient Tie-Up” means a floating structure at least
100 feet in length used for short term boat tie-up and broadside tie-
up or space for mooring at least six non-trailered boats. Transient
tie-up does not include tenant based moorage or facilities that
allow stays longer than ten consecutive days.

(32) “Use Fee” means any form of user fee charged to boaters
for access or use of a boating facility. This includes day use,
launch, parking, tie-up or any other general entrance or use fee.

(33) “Vessel Waste Collection System” means all types of sta-
tionary or portable systems that pump or remove human waste
from a recreational boat holding tank or portable potties. This
includes pumpouts, dump stations, related forward sewage lift sta-
tions, necessary floats, piles, and gangways, and related facilities.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; OSMB 3-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-4-99;
OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef. 7-1-07

250-014-0020
Purpose and Scope

(1) The purpose of this rule is to protect Oregon’s waterways,
fish and wildlife from polystyrene foam floatation that may escape
from floating structures. The intent of this rule is to require the use
of appropriate encapsulation method(s) and material(s) that reduce
or eliminate deterioration of polystyrene foam and resulting loss of
particulate matter into waterways.

(2) These rules recognize that floating structures by their very
nature are unique in design and construction methods from land
structures. Nothing in this rule is intended to conflict or displace
any other relevant local, state or federal; permits, regulations, or
health, life and safety codes.

(3) The following rules shall govern the encapsulation of all
submersible polystyrene devices placed on the waters of this state.

(4) As of January 1, 1992, no person shall install a submersible
polystyrene device on a dock, buoy or float unless the device is
encapsulated by a protective covering or is designed to prevent the
polystyrene from disintegrating into the waters of this state.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef.

7-1-07

250-014-0030
Materials and Methods of Encapsulation — New Construction

(1) Effective methods of encapsulation shall completely cover
or be a physical barrier between the polystyrene foam floatation
and the water. Small gaps up to 0.75 inch diameter ballast holes are
permitted in the physical barrier or covering provided they are
0.1% or less of the square footage of the floating structure.

(2) All materials and methods of encapsulation shall meet
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or approved material test-
ing requirements for use and placement in waterways and shall be
effective for a period not less than ten (10) years. Any fasteners
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used to hold encapsulation materials together shall be effectively
treated or be of such form as to reduce corrosion and decay.

(3) Any polystyrene foam floatation or part thereof installed,
removed, replaced or repaired during construction or maintenance
activities shall be effectively contained. All unused or replaced
polystyrene foam shall be removed from the waters of this state
and disposed of in an approved manner at an upland disposal site.

(4) The Board may approve other encapsulation materials,
categories or methods, if based on their judgment the proposed
alternatives meet or exceed the provision of this rule. The Board
shall not approve or endorse specific products of any person or
firm.

(5) The following materials or methods of encapsulation are
approved:

(a) Treated dimensional wood, 1.5 inches (actual) or more in
thickness. Non-Treated dimensional wood 4.0 inches or more in
thickness and round wood logs are permitted.

(b) Treated plywood 0.5 inches or more in thickness. Non-
Treated marine grade plywood 0.5 inches or more in thickness is
permitted.

(¢) Concrete 1.0 inch or more in thickness.

(d) Galvanized steel 0.065 inch or 16 gauge or more in thick-
ness.

(e) Liquid coatings, 30 mils or more in thickness, chemically
or securely bonded.

(f) Rigid (hard) plastics, 50 mils or more in thickness.

(g) Fiberglass and plastic resins, 30 mils or more in thickness,
chemically or securely bonded.

(h) Pliable (soft) plastic sheets, 7 mils or more in thickness,
chemically or securely bonded. Multiple layers of single plastic
sheets less than 7 mils in thickness are not permitted. The process
of using shrink-wrap is permitted.

(6) All fuel floats or floating structures used to store, maintain
or repair boat engines shall be encapsulated with materials that are

not subject to degradation by fuel oils or products.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.950
Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; OSMB 3-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-4-99;
OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef. 7-1-07

250-014-0040
Pre-Certification Encapsulation Form

(1) It is illegal to place any polystyrene foam floatation sup-
porting a new construction project on the waters of the state
without prior written approval by the Board.

(2) A Maintenance or Repair project is subject to provisions as
specified in Section 250-014-0050. An Alteration or Addition
project is subject to provisions as specified in Section 250-014-
0060. Buoys and Other Floating Devices are subject to provisions
as specified in Section 250-014-0070.

(3) The Applicant shall submit a completed Certification
Form for each project to the Board for review and approval. The
Certification Form shall be on such forms as required by the Board.
Incomplete Certification Forms will not be considered.

(4) The Applicant shall furnish information on the method(s)
and material(s) used to encapsulate a floating structure and include
any other information deemed necessary by the Board to ascertain
compliance with this rule.

(5) If the proposed project is found to be consistent with these
rules, the Board shall give the person written approval.

(6) Each approved Certification shall be valid for a period of
20 years or the useful life expectancy of the floating structure.

(7) If the Board finds the proposed project to be inconsistent
with these rules, the Board shall notify the person in writing of its
findings. The person may alter, amend or modify the method(s) or
material(s) used and resubmit an amended Certification Form to
the Board.

(8) Any person failing to submit a required Certification Form
and who places any non-encapsulated floating structure on the
waters of this state shall be found in violation of this rule and be
subject to a penalty as specified in Section 250-014-0090.

(9) An approved Encapsulation Certification does not relieve
the person from obtaining any other federal, state or local permits,

licenses or approval that may be required.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.950
Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; OSMB 3-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-4-99;
OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef. 7-1-07

250-014-0041
Post Certification Encapsulation Log

(1) To quality, for post certification reporting, a contractor
must be licensed with the Oregon Contractors Construction Board
and perform work at ten (10) or more projects within the State of
Oregon each calendar year and report all work on the post certifica-
tion encapsulation log monthly.

(2) If a contractor performs work at less than ten (10) different
projects during a calendar year, the contractor is not eligible for
post certification reporting and shall comply with the pre-certifica-
tion process for persons.

(3) The contractor shall complete and submit a monthly event
log listing all foam encapsulation activities. The log is due by the
first of each month and shall be received no later than the tenth.
The log shall be on the form prescribed by the Board.

(4) Maintenance or Repair projects are subject to provisions
as specified in Section 250-014-0050. An Alteration or Addition
project is subject to provisions as specified in Section 250-014-
0060. Buoys and Other Floating Devices are subject to provisions
as specified in Section 250-014-0070.

(5) The Post Certification Log shall be submitted and approved
by the Board. The Board shall certify that the individual project
listed on the log is in compliance with these rules. Board
certification is valid for a period of 20 years or the useful life
expectancy of the floating structure.

(6) If the Board finds any completed project listed on the log
to be inconsistent with these rules, the Board shall notify the con-
tractor in writing of its findings. The contractor shall perform any
corrective actions(s) necessary to comply with these rules.

(7) Any contractor failing to submit a required Post Certification
Encapsulation Log and placing any non-encapsulated floating
structure on the waters of this state shall be found in violation of
this rule and be subject to a penalty as specified in Section 250-
014-0090 and shall not be eligible for Contractor Post Certification
for one calendar year.

(8) The completion and submittal of a Post Certification Log
does not relieve the contractor from obtaining any other federal,

state or local permits, licenses or approval that may be required.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.950
Hist.: OSMB 3-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-4-99; OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef.
7-1-07

250-014-0050
Maintenance or Repair of Existing Structures

(1) A applicant may repair or maintain an existing floating
structure placed on the waters of this state prior to January 1, 1992
with like materials in a like manner.

(2) All repair or maintenance construction activities shall
comply with the provisions in Section 250-014-0030(3).

(3) Any repairs or maintenance requiring the replacement of
more than ten percent (10%) in square footage of a floating
structure shall comply to provisions as specified in the New Con-
struction Section 250-014-0030.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.950
Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; OSMB 3-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-4-99

250-014-0060
Alteration or Addition of Existing Facilities

Any Alteration or addition of an existing floating structure
which leads to an increase in the square footage of that floating
structure, must comply with the provisions as specified in the New

Construction OAR 250-014-0030.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950
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Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

250-014-0070
Buoys and Other Floating Devices

(1) All polystyrene foam private or public buoys, markers, ski
floats, bumpers, fish trap markers or similar devices shall be encap-
sulated in accordance with the New Construction OAR 250-014-
0030.

(2) An Encapsulation Certification Form is not required for
this section.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

250-014-0080
Exemptions

(1) This rule does not apply to construction, maintenance or
operation of boats or vessels.

(2) Any polystyrene foam device manufactured into extruded
closed cell beads 0.125 inch or smaller, approved for marine use, is
exempt.

(3) No exemptions shall apply to any polystyrene foam device
used to support fuel floats, docks, or floating structures used to
store, maintain or repair boat engines. These structures must

comply with New Construction OAR 250-014-0030.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950
Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; OSMB 10-2006, f. 11-22-06, cert. ef.
7-1-07

250-014-0090
Inspection and Penalties

(1) The Board and all peace officers shall be responsible for
the enforcement of these rules and, upon proper and reasonable
notification to the owner of any structure, float or like device, may
board and conduct an inspection to ascertain compliance with these
rules.

(2) The Director may order any person in violation of this rule
to perform reasonable corrective actions in a timely manner.

(3) Any person who violates this rule commits a Class A mis-
demeanor, ORS 830.990.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

DIVISION 15
OCEAN CHARTER VESSELS

250-015-0001
Definitions

As used in this Division:

(1) “Approved” means those items accepted and formally
approved for use by the U.S. Coast Guard.

(2) “Inland Charter Boat” means a vessel used in the business
of carrying passengers for hire for angling, sightseeing or other
recreational purposes solely on state waters.

(3) “Open Boat(s)” means motorboats with engine and fuel
tank compartments and other spaces so constructed as to be open to
the atmosphere thereby preventing entrapment of flammable gases.

(4) “Passenger Vessel” has the meaning prescribed in Title
46.70.10-1 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), effective
January 1, 2014.

(5) “Small Passenger Vessel” has the meaning prescribed in
Title 46.170.055(y) of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR),

effective January 1, 2014.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460
Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OSMB 4-2008(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 5-7-08 thru 10-31-08; Administrative correction 11-18-08; OSMB 5-2014, f.
& cert. ef. 1-15-14

250-015-0002
Applicability

(1) This division is applicable to all charter boats, carrying
passengers for hire, on waters of this state.

(2) The rules in this Division are in addition to and not in lieu

of any other applicable federal laws or regulations.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460
Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OSMB 5-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-
15-14

250-015-0005
License Application and Fees

(1) An owner shall make application to the Board by
completing and signing the Charter Boat License application as
provided by the Board.

(2) The applicant must certify in the space provided that the
boat complies with the equipment requirements established by the
Board.

(3) The completed application must be accompanied by
copies of:

(a) The current U.S. Coast Guard “Certificate of Inspection”
(if an inspected boat); or

(b) Documents prescribed in OAR 250-015-0035.

(4) The charter boat operator must be in possession of a valid
USCG Operators License appropriate for the area of operation.

(5) Upon approval of the application a charter boat license,
decal and validation sticker shall be provided to the applicant:

(a) The Oregon charter boat license issued shall identify the
applicant, the boat, whether or not the boat operates within 20 or
less miles from shore, the license expiration and such other items
as deemed appropriate by the Board. It shall be carried on board
and made available upon demand of a peace officer;

(b) The charter boat decals shall be of such size and color as
designated by the Board and shall be displayed in any visually
unobstructed location on the boat’s port and starboard cabin sides
or windows, or in the case of an open boat, at or near the operator’s
position, port and starboard, in as highly visible a location as possi-
ble. The validation sticker shall be affixed to this decal in the space

provided.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460
Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OSMB 5-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-
15-14

250-015-0006
Reciprocity Provisions for Charter Boats on the Columbia
River

(1) The purpose of this rule is to implement reciprocity
between Oregon and Washington regarding the licensing of charter
boats on the Columbia River downstream of the bridge at Longview,
Washington. Reciprocity avoids the conflict, confusion and difficulty
of attempting to find the exact location of the state boundary in or
on the waters of the Columbia River when carrying passengers for
hire for angling, sightseeing or other recreational purposes on
licensed charter boats.

(2) The reciprocity provisions of this rule and the reciprocity
provisions adopted by the State of Washington, do not authorize
the launching, pick-up or discharge of passengers for any purpose

in a state other than the state where the charter boat is licensed.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.025 & 830.435
Hist.: OSMB 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-07; OSMB 5-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-
14

250-015-0008
License Transfer, Cancellation or Suspension

(1) When a licensed charter boat is sold or otherwise
transferred to new ownership the former owner(s) must notify the
Board within 15 days of such ownership change by completing the
license transfer portion of the charter boat license and submitting it
to the Board with the application.

(2) The license transfer portion shall contain such information
as is needed to determine whether the valid charter boat license:
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(a) Is transferred to the new owner upon sale or transfer of the
boat;

(b) Remained with the former owner and will be assigned to a
replacement boat; and

(c) The identifying number of such replacement boat.

(3) It shall be the responsibility of the former owner to remove
or have removed the assigned charter boat license decals and vali-
dation stickers when the license is not transferred with the boat.

(4) Upon determination of the license disposition a new or
replacement license will be issued to the appropriate licensee.

(5) A charter boat license may be suspended when a licensee
fails to maintain, in full force and effect, the required liability
insurance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OSMB 5-2014, {. & cert. ef. 1-

15-14

250-015-0010
Equipment Requirements

(1) The following Titles and Parts of the Code of Federal Reg-
ulations (CFR), that are in effect on January 1, 2014, are by this
reference hereby adopted and made part of this rule Title 46 CFR
Parts 15.401; Title 46 CFR Parts 25.25-1, 25.25 -5, 25.30-10(d),
25.30-20(a), 25.35-1 & 25.40; Title 46 CFR Part 26.20-1Title 46
CFR Part 130.330; Title 46 CFR Part 160.054-4; Title 46 CFR
Parts 180.15, 180.64 & 180.70; Title 46 CFR Parts 182.520,
[182.520(a) & 180] 182.530; Title 46 CFR Parts 184.300, 184.402,
184.404 & 184.410; Title 47 CFR Parts 80.905(a)(1) & (2),
80.933(b) & 80.1051.

(2) Specific safety equipment requirements are dependent
upon a vessel’s operational distance from shore. All required
equipment shall be in proper working order. The Code of Federal
Regulations is available online.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OSMB 3-2005, f. & cert, ef, 1-

24-05; OSMB 5-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14

250-015-0018
Depth Finder

An installed (not portable), functioning depth finding unit
shall be at or near the vessel’s primary steering station. The equip-
ment shall provide an adequate range of depth scales allowing the
operator to select scales that provide ample safety warning of

abrupt ocean bottom contour changes.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450
Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

250-015-0022
Navigation Equipment

Each vessel shall have installed a RADAR or a GLOBAL
POSITIONING SYSTEM (GPS) navigation system. It shall be
capable of providing the operator with rapid, reliable vessel posi-
tioning information. Portable or hand-held GPS is allowable on
uninspected vessels less than 26 feet of open construction as an
alternative means of compliance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; MB 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-28-

94; OSMB 5-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14

250-015-0026
Light/Smoke Flares

Vessels operating in ocean or coastal waters and bays/rivers,
with an opening to the seas of 2 miles or more, are required to carry
light and or smoke flares as follows:

(1) One electronic distress light, or 3 approved flares; and

(2) One distress flag or 3 approved flares or 3 approved smoke

signals.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460
Hist.: OSMB 3-2005, f. & cert, ef, 1-24-05; OSMB 5-2014, f. & cert. ef.
1-15-14

250-015-0035
Charter Boats Operating on Sole State Waters

(1) A Charter boat may not be operated on sole state waters
unless the vessel is:

(a) Licensed by the US Coast Guard and is operated within the
specifications of the vessel’s Certificate of Inspection; or

(b) Licensed as an Inland Charter Boat by the Oregon State
Marine Board.

(c) Operated by a USCG-licensed mariner with an Operator’s
License appropriate to the type of operation conducted.

(2) An Inland Charter License will not be issued until the fol-
lowing documents, in addition to the charter boat application docu-
ments, have been provided and approved by the Marine Board:

(a) A Marine Survey conducted by a person certified by the
National Association of Marine Surveyors (NAMS) or accredited
by the Society of Marine Surveyors (SAMS).

(A) The Marine Survey must be complete as per NAMS or
SAMS professional standards.

(B) Marine Survey will be completed out of water except by
special exemption of the Board and must include a sea trial.

(C) All issues, problems, concerns or recommendations noted
in the Marine Survey must be addressed to the satisfaction of the
Surveyor before the Marine Board can approve the Marine Survey.

(D) Marine Survey report shall include internal and external
pictures of the vessel, its machinery and furnishings.

(b) A stability test and capacity designation signed by a
certified Naval Architect who is a registered professional engineer,
except as provided in paragraphs (2)(b)(A) and (2)(b)(B) of this
section.

(A) The stability test may be dispensed with, or a deadweight
survey may be substituted for the stability test, if the Marine Board
has a record of, or is provided with, the approved results of a
stability test of a sister vessel.

(B) The stability test of a vessel may be dispensed with if the
Marine Surveyor determines that an accurate estimate of the
vessel’s lightweight characteristics can be made and that locating
the precise position of the vessel’s vertical center of gravity is not
necessary to ensure that the vessel has adequate stability in all
probable loading conditions.

(3) The Marine Survey for an Inland Charter License must be
successfully completed every three years before a new charter
license will be issued.

(4) A dock-side inspection will be conducted annually by a
Marine Board designated law enforcement officer to ensure the
vessel complies with life jacket, sound-making device, fire extin-
guisher and vessel lighting requirements.

(5) Before getting underway on a voyage or as soon as practi-
cable thereafter, the operator of an Inland Charter shall ensure that
suitable public announcements are made informing all passengers
of the following:

(a) The location of emergency exits, survival craft embarkation
areas, and ring life buoys;

(b) The stowage location(s) of life jackets;

(c) The proper method of donning and adjusting life jackets of
the type(s) carried on the vessel including a demonstration of the
proper donning of a life jacket;

(d) The location of the instruction placards for life jackets and
other lifesaving devices; and

(e) That all passengers will be required to don life jackets
when possible hazardous conditions exist as directed by the opera-
tor.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460
Hist.: OSMB 5-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14
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DIVISION 16
OUTFITTER/GUIDE REGISTRATION

250-016-0020
Definitions

(1) “Deposit™ is a collection of fees prior to providing outdoor
recreational activities.

(2) “Drop Camp” is a site whose location is chosen either by
the Outfitter and Guide or the client but where no guided hunt or
fishing services are provided to the client.

(3) “Guide Boatsman Trainee” is an individual who is an Out-
fitter and Guide or an employee of an Outfitter and Guide who is
receiving experience on whitewater as required in ORS 704.070.

(4) “Outfitter and Guide Hunt” is an outdoor recreational
activity in which the client is physically accompanied in the field
by the registered Outfitter and Guide or the employee(s) of the reg-
istered Outfitter and Guide during the hunt.

(5) “Owned or Controlled” land means any lands owned or
under a formal leasing giving the individual as a sole-proprietor,
partnership, or other corporation exclusive control of the use of the
lands.

(6) “Packing” is the act by the registered Outfitter and Guide
or the employee(s) of the registered Outfitter and Guide to lead
clients in overland outdoor recreational activities including but not
limited to the transportation of client, equipment and supplies, har-
vested game, by machine, boat, animal or guide.

(7) “Person” means an individual, partnership, corporation or
non-profit organization.

(8) “Resident” is a person who permanently or continuously
resides in Oregon.

(9) “Serious” violation is:

(a) A Felony or Class A, B or C misdemeanor conviction for a
violation of any requirements listed in ORS 704.040(5) or any
rules adopted pursuant to those Chapters; or

(b) An action that results in a fishing or hunting license or per-
mit to be suspended, revoked, canceled or denied by the courts or
by a state or federal agency with appropriate jurisdiction; or

(c) Any violation of the requirements in ORS 704.040(5)(b),
or any rules adopted pursuant to those Chapters, while the guide
was operating with a conditional registration.

(10) “Repeated” violation is:

(a) Any combination of three Class A,B, C or D infractions, or
violations of ethical or professional standards in OAR 250-016-
0060, during a five year period; or

(b) Any two felony or Class A, B or C misdemeanor

convictions within a period of ten (10) years.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11; OSMB 7-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef.
7-1-15

250-016-0025
Employees, Agents or Parties in Interest

(1) At the time of application, the Outfitter and Guide will
supply the Marine Board a current record of all employees,
including agents and parties in interest, as outlined in ORS
704.020(1)(c), who physically provide, or directly assist in
physically providing Outfitting and Guiding services in Oregon.

(2) The Marine Board shall be notified of all changes to the
record before any Outfitting and Guiding services are provided.

(3) Written change notifications will be dated, include the
Outfitter and Guide’s name and address, and indicate the added or
deleted employee’s full name.

(4) The change notification must be received by the Marine
Board by email, facsimile or U.S. mail.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0030
Exclusions
Outfitter and Guide services do not include:

(1) Services provided by governmental agencies that conduct
outdoor recreational activities.

(2) Services provided by state or private colleges and univer-
sities that teach outdoor recreational activities as part of their cur-
riculum open only to enrolled students and faculty members.

(3) Services provided by schools that teach outdoor recreational
activities including but not limited to equestrian, swimming, scuba,
sailing, flying, photography or other outdoor activities that accom-
pany the primary course of instruction or study.

(4) Services provided by non-profit organizations that meet
the criteria in 250-016-0030(2) and 250-016-0030(3).

(5) Services provided by Outfitter and Guide employees who
work as office staff, shuttle staff, warehouse worker, lunch packer
or other capacity not directly involved with leading or assisting
clients in outdoor recreation activities.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0035
Registration Requirement

(1) The completed and signed application, with all required
attachments, original first aid card if applicable, certificate of
insurance, proof of surety bond or letter of credit if applicable,
copy of US Coast Guard Operator’s license if applicable and the
fee required by ORS 704.020 must be submitted to the Marine
Board. The required fee is non-refundable. Where an application is
submitted for a partnership, one partner must sign the application
and provide their proof of first aid. For a corporation or non-profit
organization, the application must be signed by an authorized
officer of the corporation or organization. The authorized officer of
the corporation or organization must sign a statement certifying
that all their employees possess in their name a current standard
first aid card or a medical equivalent. The certificate of insurance
shall be:

(a) Provided by fax, e-mail or US Mail to the Marine Board;

(b) Be issued in the applicant’s name;

(c) Reflect all insured business names;

(d) Reflect the lawfully required insurance minimum amounts.

(2) Proof of first aid training and CPR shall consist of one of
the following:

(a) The original card or certificate issued by the American
Red Cross showing completion of a standard or multimedia first
aid course or equivalent including CPR (original card will be
returned to the applicant);

(b) Proof of training and certification as an Emergency
Medical Technician I, II, or III (original card will be returned to
applicant), or licensed or registered nurse or medical doctor (copy
of license is acceptable).

(¢) Should an Outfitter and Guide’s first aid card, CPR, or the
equivalent expire, the Outfitter and Guide is responsible for sub-
mitting the original updated card to the Marine Board. If there is a
lapse of time between expiration and renewal, the Outfitter and
Guide’s registration is automatically suspended during that period
of time.

(3) An incomplete application will not be processed. An
incomplete application will be deemed inactive following twelve
(12) months from date of receipt and lacking any action on the
applicant’s part to complete.

(4) Applications for non-boating related outfitter and guide
licenses issued between July 1 and December 31 of each year will

expire on June 30 of the following year.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11; OSMB 7-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef.
7-1-15

250-016-0040
Proof of Registration Compliance

(1) Outfitter and Guide certificate of registration:

(a) Upon meeting the registration requirements as outlined in
ORS 704.020, the Marine Board will issue proof of compliance in
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the form of a registration card to the applicant. This card will
contain the applicant’s:

(A) Name and address;

(B) Registration number;

(C) Business name (if any)

(D) Expiration date; and

(E) Area of operation as defined by permits or licenses issued
by the federal government, including but not limited to the US
Coast Guard, US Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management or
others.

(b) When the registration is for a corporation or non-profit
organization, the provided Outfitter and Guide certificate of regis-
tration shall contain:

(A) Registration number;

(B) Corporation or non-profit organization name and address;

(C) Expiration date; and

(D) The Statement “Corporation (or Non-Profit Organization)
Identification Only — Not for personal identification.”

(E) Area of operation as defined by permits or licenses issued
by the federal government, including but not limited to the US
Coast Guard, US Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management or
others.

(c) If the Outfitter and Guide uses boat(s) in their business, a
decal will be issued with the following information:

(A) For motorized boats used on federally navigable waters,
an oval decal shall show the type of US Coast Guard operator’s
license the Outfitter and Guide possesses, the area of operation
allowed by the license, and the passenger carrying capacity.

(B) For all non-motorized and motorized boats where the
operator does not have a US Coast Guard license, a square decal
shall show the passenger carrying capacity.

(C) Passenger carrying capacity information shall not be
required on the decal for non-motorized boats.

(D) Boats not under the direct operation of an Outfitter and
Guide or employee of an Outfitter and Guide are exempt from the
decal requirement. Boats operated exclusively by the client of an
Outfitter and Guide are exempt from the decal requirement.

(d) If an Outfitter and Guide want to participate in Oregon
Department of Fish & Wildlife allocation of non-resident tags for
outfitter and guides established under ORS 496.151, the individual
must obtain a hunting certification in addition to Outfitter and
Guide registration. To be certified, an Outfitter and Guide must:

(A) Certify that they have three (3) years hunting experience
working as a registered Outfitter and Guide in Oregon or another
state, or working as an employee of an Outfitter and Guide
registered or licensed in Oregon or another state. If the experience
has been gained working as an employee, the Outfitter and Guide
must submit a signed affidavit outlining the employee’s experience.
Outfitter and Guides who participated in the Oregon Department of
Fish and Wildlife Outfitter and Guides Hunting Tag Program in
1998 are exempt from the experience requirement.

(B) Pass a written examination on the Outfitter and Guide pro-
gram and Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife laws and rules.
If the applicant fails the test, they may retake it after a thirty (30)
day waiting period. If the applicant fails it a second time, the
hunting certification for that year will be denied. The passing score
is (75) seventy five percent.

(C) Provide, along with their application, proof that the
Outfitter and Guide has the necessary federal government permits
(U.S. Forest Service and/or Bureau of Land Management) or
private land leases or authorizations of not less than 1,280
contiguous acres for the area in which the Department of Fish and
Wildlife hunting tags are to be requested. Proof shall be a copy of
the federal permit, or for Land Owner Preference tags issued for
private land leases, a map of the area and the applicable lease
agreement.

(D) Submit a $75.00 certification fee. The renewal fee is
$25.00.

(2) Duplicates:

(a) A duly registered Outfitter and Guide may apply to the
Marine Board for a duplicate proof of compliance card when an
original has been lost, stolen or mutilated;

(b) A duplication fee of $5.00 shall be paid for each
replacement requested.

(3) The Outfitter and Guide identification card issued shall be
carried at all times while providing outfitting or guiding services
and shall be presented to any peace officer upon demand.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705

Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0045
Registration Requirements

(1) Registration Renewal:

(a) The Marine Board will notify a registered Outfitter and
Guide, in writing, no later than thirty (30) days in advance of the
impending registration expiration.

(b) The notification will include instructions for registration
renewal and identify the required forms.

(2) Registration Cancellation:

(a) An Outfitter and Guide registration will be cancelled upon
notification from an insurance company that such Outfitter and
Guide’s required insurance has been suspended or cancelled.

(b) The Marine Board will give written notice to such
Outfitter and Guide of the effective date of such insurance
suspension or cancellation.

(c) The affected Outfitter and Guide shall, within ten working
days of receipt of such registration suspension or cancellation
notice, return the previously issued Outfitter and Guide identification
card to the Marine Board.

(3) Registration Reinstatement:

(a) A previously cancelled Outfitter and Guide registration
will be reinstated upon receipt of notification (certificate of insur-
ance) from an insurance company.

(b) The Marine Board will return the previously surrendered
Outfitter and Guide identification card and it will remain effective

for the unexpired duration of its issuance.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0050
Process to Reprimand an Outfitter and Guide or Suspend,
Revoke, or Deny a Registration

(1) The Marine Board, with input from the Guide Advisory
Committee, will monitor application of statute and rule and
modify, as recommended, to encourage high standards of ethical
conduct, customer service, safety and natural resource protection.

(2) The Marine Board Director will notify the outfitter and
guide by registered letter of the agency’s decision to reprimand,
suspend, revoke or deny for a period of up to 24 months the regis-
tration of an outfitter and guide for conduct noted in ORS
704.040(5).

(3) For the purpose of ORS 704.040(5)(a), convictions related
to the provisions of services regulated by this chapter would be
criminal offenses under ORS 163, 166, or 475.

(4) For the purpose of ORS 704.040(5)(b)and(5)(c), serious
and repeated violation shall be defined by OAR 250-016-0020.

(5) The Marine Board may issue conditional registrations
contingent on the Outfitter and Guide not having any violations or
convictions as defined in this section for a period of twenty-four
(24) months from issue.

(6) The Marine Board may seek advice from the Guide Advi-
sory Committee prior to taking action under 250-016-0050(2), and
will provide an annually summary report to the Guide Advisory
Committee of all said action.

(7) Any actions taken under 250-016-0050(2) that are not
reversed through a contested case hearing shall be made a part of

the public record.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
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Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11; OSMB 7-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef.
7-1-15

250-016-0055
Contested Case Hearings

The Marine Board will accord opportunity for a hearing as
provided in ORS 183.310 to 183.550. The Marine Board has
adopted the current edition of the Attorney General’s Model Rules
of Procedure, as referenced in OAR 250-001-0005.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705

Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0060
Outfitter and Guide Ethical and Professional Standards

(1) All Outfitter and Guides shall:

(a) Make every effort to operate with respect for the rights of
others, private and public property, and provide for the health,
safety, and well-being of their clients, employees, and the general
public;

(b) Provide services on public land in a manner such that they
do not interfere with the general public access to public land or
waterways or access to wildlife on public land;

(c) Leave clean camps, striving to maintain the environment
in as good or better condition than before and dispose of all
garbage, debris, and human waste in a proper, approved manner;

(d) Cooperate with Federal, State, and local fish and wildlife
officials; advise clients of all applicable conservation standards,
fish and game laws, license requirements, statutes and regulations
and not condone their violation;

(e) Not use any illegal drug, or excessively use alcohol, or any
other drug or substance, to the extent that the use impairs the user
physically or mentally while engaged by a client;

(f) Not violate any law, rule, or policy of the Oregon Depart-
ment of Fish and Wildlife concerning the certification of residents
and nonresidents for procuring hunting and fishing licenses;

(g) Not engage in fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or conceal-
ment of any material fact in advertising, soliciting, or providing
professional services to members of the public;

(h) Provide any animal used in the conduct of business with
proper food, water, and shelter and not subject any animal to
needless abuse or cruel and inhuman treatment;

(i) Not solicit clients or another Outfitter and Guide while
client is engaging in an outfitting activity;

(j) Promptly refund deposits paid by participants upon request
if such deposits are due to the participant in accordance with the
Outfitter and Guide’s written deposit refund policy;

(k) Not substantially breach a contract with any person using
guiding services of the Outfitter and Guide;

(1) Treat clients, employees, and the general public in a fair
and professional manner.

(2) It is unprofessional and unethical to have an Outfitter and
Guide registration, license, permit or certificate suspended, revoked,
canceled, or denied by another state or by an agency of the United

States.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0065
Surety Bond

(1) Outfitter and Guides who collect deposits in excess of
$100.00 per person for a trip are required to furnish proof of a
$5,000.00 surety bond or a fully-executed Letter of Credit issued
by a financial institution licensed to do business in Oregon in the
amount of $5,000.00.

(2) Proof shall consist of a fully executed Surety Bond or a

Letter of Credit.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0070
Requirements of Recreational Activities

(1) An “Outdoor Recreational Activity” as defined in ORS
704.010(5)(a) begins at the time the Outfitter and Guide provides
direct service to the client. This time period excludes any
preparation activities by the Outfitter and Guide including trans-
portation of equipment.

(2) The Outfitter and Guide and client will complete a written
and signed contract outlining the packing services the Outfitter and
Guide will provide a client to a drop camp. These services will
include but are not limited to:

(a) Transportation of the client and equipment to and from the
drop camp;

(b) A basic description of the drop camp, camp amenities and
equipment provided;

(c) Pack-out of harvested game animal and gear;

(d) Maintaining regular communication with client via cell or
satellite telephone or other communication device and be ready to
provide services, as needed;

(e) Other services the Outfitter and Guide and client agree
upon.

(3) The Outfitter and Guide and client will complete a written
and signed contract outlining the packing services the Outfitter and
Guide will provide in an Outfitter and Guide Hunt. These services
will include but are not limited to:

(a) The physical accompaniment of the client in the field by
the registered Outfitter and Guide or the employee(s) of the regis-
tered Outfitter and Guide during the hunt.

(b) Transportation of the client and equipment to and from the
camp site;

(c) A basic description of the camp site, camp amenities and
equipment provided;

(d) Pack-out of harvested game animal and gear;

(e) Maintaining regular communication with client via cell or
satellite telephone or other communication device and be ready to
provide services, as needed;

(f) Other services the Outfitter and Guide and client agree
upon.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705

Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0075
Requirements for Safety Equipment, Experience and Training

(1) Registered outfitters and guides who carry passengers for
consideration on rivers rated as Class III or higher on a commonly
accepted scale of river difficulty are required to have all employees
and passengers wear a properly secured personal flotation device
on those sections of river that are rated Class III or higher.

(2) The personal flotation devices used by outfitters and
guides must:

(a) Be approved by the U.S. Coast Guard as a Type I, III, or V
personal flotation device that is suitable for use on whitewater
rivers.

(b) Not have a limitation or restriction on its approval that
would prevent its use on whitewater rivers.

(c) Not be an inflatable personal flotation device, regardless
of rating type.

(3) A Guide Boatsman Trainee may operate a boat to transport
equipment and gear, but not passengers for consideration, on those
sections of rivers rated as Class III or higher. The Guide Boatsman
must be either a registered Outfitter and Guide, or a listed

employee of a registered Outfitter and Guide.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0080
Reciprocity Provisions for Outfitters and Guides on the lower
Columbia River downstream of the bridge at Longview —
Rainier

(1) The purpose of this rule is to give outfitters and guides
operating on the lower Columbia River downstream of the Lewis
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and Clark Bridge at Longview — Rainier the opportunity to share
in the reciprocity between Oregon and Washington regarding the
licensing of charter vessels. Reciprocity avoids the conflict, confu-
sion and difficulty of attempting to find the exact location of the
state boundary in or on the waters of the Columbia River
downstream of the bridge at Longview — Rainier while operating
on the lower Columbia River.

(2) ORS 830.435(2) allows persons with a license or registration
issued by the State of Washington to engage in the business of car-
rying passengers for hire for angling, sightseeing or other
recreational purposes in Oregon ocean waters north of Cape Falcon
or in the Columbia River as long as the State of Washington main-
tains provisions that allow vessels with an Oregon charter guide
registration to engage in these activities in Washington ocean
waters south of Leadbetter Point and in the Columbia River.

(3) The Revised Code of Washington RCW 77.65.010(3) pro-
vides authority for reciprocity between Washington charter boat
licenses and equivalent Oregon licenses on the Columbia River, if
the director of the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
identifies what Oregon licenses are equivalent to a Washington
charter boat license, and if Oregon recognizes as valid the
equivalent Washington license.

(4) ORS 704.025(1) provides that the State Marine Board may
adopt rules that exempt persons possessing a valid Washington
license, permit or registration from the outfitter and guide
registration required under Chapter 704, if the Board determines
the license, permit or registration requirements of Washington are
comparable to those of Oregon. Washington has decided to grant
reciprocity to Oregon Ocean Charter boats on the lower Columbia
River (WAC 220-20-005).

(5) The Marine Board finds that a Washington charter license
issued under RCW 77.65.150 is comparable to an Oregon Ocean
Charter license and a charter guide registration for the carrying of
passengers for hire for angling purposes on the lower Columbia
River downstream of the Lewis and Clark bridge at Longview-
Rainier.

(6) The reciprocity provisions of this rule, and those of the
State of Washington, do not authorize the launching, pick-up or
discharge of passengers for any purpose in a state other than the
state where the outfitter and guide is registered or charter vessel is

licensed.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.025
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11; OSMB 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-
14

250-016-0085
Reciprocity Provisions for Outfitters and Guides on the
Columbia River upstream of the bridge at Longview-Rainier

(1) The purpose of this rule is to give outfitters and guides
operating on the Columbia River upstream of the Lewis and Clark
bridge at Longview-Rainier the opportunity to share in reciprocity
between Oregon and Washington regarding the registration of out-
fitters and guides. Reciprocity avoids the conflict, confusion and
difficulty of attempting to find the exact location of the state
boundary in or on the waters of the Columbia River upstream of
the bridge at Longview-Rainier while operating on the Columbia
River.

(2) ORS 704.025(1) provides that the State Marine Board may
adopt rules that exempt persons possessing a valid Washington
license, permit or registration from the outfitter and guide
registration required under Chapter 704, if the Board determines
the license, permit or registration requirements of Washington are
comparable to those of Oregon. Washington has decided to grant
reciprocity to Oregon Outfitters and Guides on the upper Columbia
River (WAC 220-20-005(3)).

(3) The State Marine Board finds that a Washington Profes-
sional Salmon Guide License under RCW 77.65.370 or a Washington
Professional Game Fish License under RCW 77.65.480(3) is com-
parable to an Oregon Outfitter and Guide registration for the
carrying of passengers for hire for angling purposes on the

Columbia River upstream of the Lewis and Clark bridge at
Longview-Rainier.

(4) Oregon grants reciprocity for Washington fishing guides
on the Columbia River upstream of the Lewis and Clark Bridge at
Longview-Rainier, provided the Washington Department of Fish
and Wildlife adopts regulations that provide the same reciprocity
for Oregon Outfitters and Guides.

(5) The reciprocity provisions of this rule and those of the
State of Washington do not authorize the launching, pick-up or dis-
charge of passengers for any purpose in a state other than the state

where the outfitter and guide is registered or licensed.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.435
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704 & 705
Hist.: OSMB 15-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-11

250-016-0090
Guide Advisory Committee; Charter Representation

(1) The Guide Advisory Committee (GAC) shall be composed
of eight members from seven active organizations that represent or
include licensed outfitters and guides.

(2) Two GAC members shall be from the organization of out-
fitters and guides with the most documented members active at the
time of appointment.

(3) An active organization is one that:

(a) Convened and recorded at least one meeting of the general
membership in the previous 12 month period;

(b) Has a verifiable roster of members that includes currently
registered outfitters and guides; and

(c) Has a charter or bylaws by which it conducts its regular
business.

(4) Members shall represent outfitters and guides but do not
need to be a currently licensed outfitter and guide.

(5) GAC members shall serve no more than two consecutive
four-year terms.

(6) Vacancies shall be filled through a process described by a
GAC charter agreement and will include a process to limit annual
turnover to less than half the GAC.

(7) One of the three public members selected by the Board for
the GAC may represent charter boats as defined in ORS 830.430.

(8) The GAC will be chaired by a non-voting employee of the
Oregon State Marine Board.

(9) The GAC will have no fewer than two meetings annually;
timing will be determined through GAC charter agreement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.435, 830.430 & 830.440

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.525

Hist.: OSMB 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14

DIVISION 17
ADOPT-A-RIVER PROGRAM

250-017-0000
Purpose

The purpose of this program is to provide volunteers an
opportunity to remove litter and invasive species to improve the

quality of the waters of this state in accordance with ORS 830.055.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.055
Hist.: MB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-94; OSMB 1-2012, f. 1-13-12, cert. ef. 2-
1-12

250-017-0010
Scope

Any applicant or person, as defined by ORS 174.100(4), may
adopt a section of the rivers and waterbodies of this state for the

purpose of picking up and removing litter and invasive species.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.055
Hist.: MB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-94; OSMB 1-2012, f. 1-13-12, cert. ef. 2-
1-12

250-017-0020
Definitions
As used in these rules:
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(1) An “applicant” is an individual or individuals, group, cor-

poration, company, business, partnership, adopting a section of

river or waterbody.

(2) A “spokesperson” is one individual with the authority to

speak on behalf of the applicant.

(3) A “participant” is an individual or member performing

work on the river or waterbody as a representative of the applicant.

(4) “Invasive Species” are noxious weeds identified by the

Oregon Department of Agriculture in OAR chapter 603, division

052 “Quarantine; Noxious Weeds” or the appropriate county gov-

erning body as described in ORS 569.

(5) “Litter” is any improperly discarded item including but not

limited to wastepaper, garbage, cigarette butts, tires or appliances.

(6) “Director” is the Director of the State Marine Board or the

appointed representative or organization administering the Adopt-

A-River Program.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.055

Hist.: MB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-94; OSMB 1-2012, f. 1-13-12, cert. ef. 2-

1-12

250-017-0030
General Requirements

(1) The spokesperson must submit a written application to the
Director requesting to adopt a river or waterbody and identifying
the intended scope of work.

(2) An “Adopt-a-River” adoption will be executed between
the spokesperson and the Director. The adoption will list the
specific requirements and obligations of both the applicant and the
Director.

(3) The section of river or waterbody being adopted shall be at
least two miles in length for litter pickup work and can include
shorelines of lakes and reservoirs. If unique situations exist then
this requirement may be altered if approved by the Director.

(4) The term of the adoption will be for a period of at least two
years.

(5) If more than one applicant requests the same section of
waterbody, the Director may make the selection by earliest date of
application or by a drawing.

(6) Assignment of a specific section of waterbody shall be at
the discretion of the Director.

(7) The Director may consider factors such as land ownership,
sensitive resource values, congestion, and size of waterway in
determining which rivers or waterbody sections will be eligible for
this program.

(8) Subcontracting or assigning the adopted section by the
applicant is prohibited and will result in cancellation of the adop-
tion.

(9) The Director may cancel an adoption for any reason
including, but not limited to safety considerations, failure of the
applicant to perform and failure of the applicant or its participants
to comply with provisions of the adoption. This cancellation will
be issued in writing.

(10) The spokesperson may cancel the adoption with 30 days
written notice to the Director.

(11) A spokesperson has the option of renewing the adoption
for subsequent terms, subject to the approval of the Director.

(12) The Director shall not issue an adoption under this
program to any applicant whose objectives and values are
determined to be inconsistent with the public interest and the
Marine Board’s charge and responsibilities under Oregon law. To
make this determination, the Director will rely on:

(a) Oregon Marine Board published mission;

(b) All of the information provided in the application and any
other information considered to be common knowledge of the gen-
eral public in the geographic area of the waterbody section to be
adopted and;

(c) Information which may be requested of the applicant by
the Director. This information may include bylaws, articles of
incorporation, or literature of the applicant. Failure to provide such
information upon request may be grounds for denial of an adop-
tion.

(13) If the intended scope of work, as identified on the written
application, includes the removal of invasive species, the applicant
must also complete a noxious weed removal plan and have it
approved by the Director prior to the beginning of any invasive
species removal work.

(a) A noxious weed removal plan shall include permission by
a landowner for a project to proceed, the species of plant to be
removed, the proposed project location, the method of removal, the
timing and frequency of removal, how plant material will be
disposed of and how any equipment used during the project will be
decontaminated to prevent the spread of noxious weeds.

(b) Plans must be completed with direction from one of the
following technical assistance agencies:

(A) Oregon Department of Agriculture;

(B) County Weed Control District;

(C) County Soil and Water Conservation District, or

(D) Another qualified technical assistance agency or business

pre-approved by the Director.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.055
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Hist.: MB 1-1994, . & cert. ef. 2-23-94; OSMB 1-2012, f. 1-13-12, cert. ef. 2-
1-12

Specific Requirements

250-017-0040
Applicant and Participant Responsibilities

(1) Each participant will be required to execute a liability
release form reflecting their awareness and acknowledgement of
the potentially hazardous nature of the work involved.

(2) Each participant will be required to comply with and abide
by all laws, rules, and regulations relating to safety and use of
rivers and waterbodies, and such other terms and conditions as may
be required by the Director for special conditions on a particular
adopted waterbody section. Individual participants may be excluded
from participation or the adoption cancelled, at the discretion of the
Director for violation of this section.

(3) Adult supervision is required. Participation by or presence
at the work site of individuals under 18 years of age without adult
supervision is not permitted.

(4) Each applicant is required to conduct at least one safety
meeting per year to inform each participant concerning personal,
group and water safety. Each participant is required to attend a
safety briefing before participating in the actual work.

(5) Each applicant is required to pick up litter a minimum of
once a year. More frequent pick up is permissible.

(6) Each applicant will be responsible for appointing or select-
ing a spokesperson. The spokesperson’s responsibilities include
assuring compliance by participants with safety procedures, proper
participant clothing and footwear, proper parking of vehicle(s),
providing a first-aid kit and adequate drinking water, and arranging
transportation of the participants to and from the work site.

(7) Each participant will be responsible for placing litter in
trash bags furnished by the Director. The applicant will be respon-
sible for removal of the filled bags and proper disposal. The
applicant agrees to coordinate their litter pickup activity with the
designated managing agency if another federal, state or local
agency is party to the agreement.

(8) If removal of large or heavy items from a river or
waterbody is required then prior approval from the Director must
be granted to the applicant before such items are removed.

(9) If the noxious weed removal plan is approved and a
removal activity is scheduled then an applicant is required to:

(a) Implement the frequency schedule agreed upon in the con-
ditions of the approved noxious weed removal plan;

(b) Review the approved noxious weed removal plan elements
with participants;

(c) Follow the procedures identified within the approved nox-
ious weed removal plan when removing noxious weeds from the
site; and

(d) Confirm proper identification of noxious weeds as outlined

in 250-017-0030(13) prior to removal.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.055
Hist.: MB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-94; OSMB 1-2012, f. 1-13-12, cert. ef. 2-
1-12

DIVISION 18

PROCEDURES FOR IMPLEMENTING MANDATORY
BOATING SAFETY EDUCATION PROGRAM

250-018-0010
Definitions

As used in this Division the following definitions apply:

(1) “Approved Course Provider” is any individual or organi-
zation who instructs or provides a National Association of State
Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approved boating safety
classroom or internet course and who has been approved by the
Oregon State Marine Board.

(2) “Boater Education Card” is the boating safety certificate
required by ORS 830.086 and 830.094. This document, issued by

the Marine Board, certifies that the person named on the card has
established proof of competency and is authorized to operate a boat
in Oregon under ORS 830.082 to 830.096.

(3) “Boating Safety Course” is any NASBLA approved
course of instruction that is offered by an approved course provider
and concludes with an examination containing at least 50 questions
including a minimum of 10 specific questions about Oregon
boating laws.

(4) “Correspondence Course and Self Test” means a boating
safety course and examination provided by the Marine Board that
is taken at home without a proctor. After, January 1, 2001, this cor-
respondence course and self test will satisfy minimum standard of
boating safety education competency only for those individuals
who have qualified for hardship status.

(5) “Direct Supervision” occurs when a person maintains
close visual and verbal contact with, provides adequate direction
to, and can immediately assume control of a motorboat from the
operator of a motorboat. A person who is water skiing, or is in the
cabin of a boat is not considered to be in direct supervision. Direct
supervision is referred to in ORS 830.090 and 830.088.

(6) “Dockside Safety Checklist” is a document provided by
the Marine Board that consists of selected facts about Oregon
boating laws that a rental or livery agent is required to present to
renters/operators of motorboats and must be read and checked by
the renter or operator of the motorboat before a motorboat can be
rented and operated.

(7) “Equivalency Exam” is a comprehensive written examina-
tion created by the Marine Board containing at least 75 questions
including a minimum of 15 specific questions about Oregon
boating laws. The equivalency exam is intended to provide experi-
enced boat operators the opportunity to meet the minimum standard
of boating safety education competency without having to take a
boating safety course.

(8) “Hardship” means a situation or condition that prevents an
individual from attending a boating safety course or taking an
equivalency exam in person within a reasonable amount of time or
within reasonably close proximity to the individual’s place of resi-
dence. The situation or condition must also keep the individual
from taking an approved Internet course. A hardship situation may
allow an individual to utilize a correspondence course and self test
provided by the Marine Board to meet the minimum standard of
boating safety education competency. An individual must submit a
written request for hardship status. The Marine Board director or
his designee has the authority to grant or deny hardship status.

(9) “Internet Course” is any NASBLA approved course of
instruction that is offered through the Internet by an approved
course provider and concludes with an examination containing at
least 75 questions including a minimum of 15 specific questions
about Oregon boating laws.

(10) “Minimum Standard of Boating Safety Education Com-
petency” means a standard of proficiency established by the
Marine Board based on the standards set by NASBLA that deter-
mines whether an applicant for a boater education card has met or
exceeded the requirements of a boating safety course, equivalency
exam, Internet course, or correspondence course and self test.

(11) “Proctor” is an individual who is a member of the U. S.
Coast Guard Auxiliary, U.S. Power Squadron, Marine Patrol, or
other public safety organization or whose organization has been
approved by the Marine Board to administer an equivalency exam.
A “proctor” may also be a public official such as a librarian or com-
munity college instructor who has been approved by the Marine
Board to administer an equivalency exam.

(12) “Proof of Competency” is a document verifying that an
individual has achieved the minimum standard for boating safety
education competency as determined by the Marine Board.

(13) “Temporary Boater Education Card” is a document
issued by the Marine Board or an approved course provider
allowing the bearer to operate a motorboat in Oregon for a period
of time not to exceed 60 days as provided in ORS 830.082 to

830.096.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
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Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; OSMB 10-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-
29-01; OSMB 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 3-31-03; OSMB 1-2007(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 1-9-07 thru 6-30-07; OSMB 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-07

250-018-0020
Minimum Standards for Boating Safety Education
Competency

(1) A person required to possess a boater education card in
order to operate a motorboat in Oregon must meet the minimum
standard for boating safety education competency as set by the
Marine Board.

(2) The minimum standards for boating safety education com-
petency required by the Marine Board are:

(a) Successful completion of a boating safety course in person
and a passing score of at least 70 percent on a written test adminis-
tered at the conclusion of the course by the instructor or a proctor;
or

(b) A score of at least 70 percent on a proctored equivalency
exam. Individuals may take the equivalency exam no more than
once within any 30-day period; or

(c) A score of at least 80 percent on a correspondence course
and self test provided by the Marine Board to individuals qualifying
for hardship status; or

(d) A score of at least 80 percent on a self-test associated with
a boating safety course offered over the Internet. For an Internet
course to meet Marine Board standards, it must be NASBLA
approved and contain at least 75 questions with at least 15 of the
questions Oregon specific. Questions must be pulled randomly
from a database of a 180 questions minimum, and questions must
address each of the key areas of general boat information, national
and Oregon specific boating laws, boat operation, preparation and
trailering, legal requirements and boating emergencies; or

(e) Possession of a certificate, card, or other official document
issued by another state or Canada that is equivalent to Oregon’s
boater education card as determined by the Marine Board; or

() Satisfactory completion of Marine Safety Law Enforcement
Academy; or

(g) U.S. Coast Guard certification as Crewman or Coxswain
or similar classification within other branches of the armed forces.

(3) Suitable evidence of achieving the minimum standard for
boating safety education competency or “proof of competency”
documents must contain the name of the individual applying for
the boater education card and be signed or otherwise certified by
the issuing organization. Proof of competency documents include:

(a) A certificate of completion issued by the U.S. Power
Squadrons, U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, Marine Board or other
approved course provider; or

(b) A certificate, card, or other official document issued by a
proctor stating that the individual passed the equivalency exam
with a score of 70 percent or better; or

(c) A certificate, card, or other official document issued by
another state or Canada that is equivalent to Oregon’s boater edu-
cation card; or

(d) A US. Coast Guard operator’s license either valid or
expired. The following designations will be accepted: First Class
Pilot; Master of Steam or Motor or Auxiliary Sail Vessels of not
more than 25, 50, 100, 150, 200, 500, 1600 or any gross tons; Mate
of Steam or Motor or Auxiliary Sail Vessels of not more than 25,
50, 100, 150, 200, 500, 1600 or any gross tons; Operator of Unin-
spected Towing Vessels Commercial Assistance Towing; Operator
of Uninspected Passenger Vessels; or

(e) A certificate of completion or other official record or doc-
ument stating that the individual successfully completed the
Oregon Marine Safety Law Enforcement Academy; or

(f) A letter from the unit Commanding Officer/Officer in
Charge stating that the individual has achieved certification as a
U.S. Coast Guard Crewman or Coxswain or similar classification
within other branches of the armed forces; or

(g) In the event the original document establishing proof of
competency is not available, a signed statement from an approved-
course provider of a boating safety course stating that the individual

has successfully completed a boating safety course or equivalency
exam will be accepted by the Marine Board.

(4) Correspondence course and self tests taken after January
1,2001, except as stated in (2)(c), will not meet Marine Board stan-

dards.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; OSMB 10-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-
29-01; OSMB 1-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-9-07 thru 6-30-07; OSMB 2-2007,
f. & cert. ef. 3-21-07

250-018-0030
Boater Education Card

(1) To obtain a boater education card a person must provide to
the Marine Board:

(a) A completed application on a form provided by the Marine
Board. The applicant shall provide the following information on
the form: the applicant’s name, address, date of birth, hair color,
eye color and gender. The applicant must also sign a statement
declaring that statements made on the form are true and correct and
that all documents submitted with the form are true and correct
copies of documents issued to the applicant. Incomplete applications
will be returned to the applicant; and

(b) A copy of a proof of competency document. Proof of com-
petency documents must contain the name of the individual
applying for the boater education card. The Marine Board may
require the applicant to provide the original document establishing
proof of competency if the copy accompanying the application is
illegible or the authenticity of the copy is not certain; and

(¢) A $10 fee for a boater education card paid in full in a
manner determined by the Marine Board and stated on the applica-
tion form.

(2) Boater education cards shall contain a unique number that
corresponds to the individual named on the card. Boater education
cards are not transferable.

(3) A person is considered in violation of the provisions con-
tained in ORS 830.730 and subject to the penalties prescribed by
law when they:

(a) Provide a false statement or information or assist another
person in giving a false statement or information on any application,
affidavit, document or statement used to obtain a boater education
card, temporary education card, or replacement boater education
card; or

(b) Exhibit an altered boater education card or any boating
education card other than the one issued to them, to a peace officer;
or

(c) Alter a boater education card, temporary education card, or
replacement boater education card issued by the Marine Board or
its authorized agent; or

(d) Produce or possess an unauthorized replica of a boater
education card, temporary education card, or replacement boater
education card.

(4) In addition to any penalties that may result from a
violation of ORS 830.730, the boater education card of any person
who provides a false statement or information or obtains a card to
which he/she is not entitled is null and void.

(5) Violation of the provisions contained in ORS 830.730 is

punishable as a Class A Misdemeanor.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; OSMB 10-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-
29-01

250-018-0040
Replacement Boater Education Card

(1) A person may apply for a replacement boater education
card from the Marine Board if:

(a) They legally change their name; or

(b) The card is lost, stolen or destroyed; or

(c) Misinformation is printed on the card.

(2) To obtain a replacement boater education card, an applicant
must provide the Marine Board with:
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(a) A completed application on a form provided by the Marine
Board which includes an affidavit signed by the applicant stating
the circumstances that led to the replacement of the original boater
education card; and

(b) A $8 fee for a replacement card paid-in-full in a manner
determined by the Marine Board and stated on the application

form.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; OSMB 1-2007(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 1-9-07 thru 6-30-07; OSMB 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-07

250-018-0050
Temporary Boater Education Card

(1) The registered owner of a new motorboat who is otherwise
required to possess a boater education card may use the temporary
certificate of number issued by the Marine Board or its authorized
agent as a temporary education card and may operate the new
motorboat for no more than 60 days from the date of registration
provided the temporary certificate of number is on board.

(2) A person who is required to possess a boater education
card may use an original proof of competency (Certificate of Com-
pletion) as a temporary card and may operate a boat for no more
than 60 days from date of issue provided the original proof of com-
petency is on board.

(3) A person residing in Oregon who is otherwise required to
possess a boater education card and has received a certificate, card,
or other official document issued by another state or Canada that is
equivalent to Oregon’s boater education card may use that document
as a temporary card and may operate a boat in Oregon for no more
than 60 days from date of residency provided the document is on
board.

(4) A person who legally rents a motorboat and is otherwise
required to possess a boater education card may use the required
dockside checklist as a temporary education card and may operate
the rental motorboat in Oregon for the term of the rental agreement

but not longer than 60 days.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; OSMB 1-2007(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 1-9-07 thru 6-30-07; OSMB 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-07

250-018-0060
Dockside Checklist

(1) Beginning May 1, 2002 any person who provides a motor-
boat for rent in Oregon must require that the renter or operator of
the rental motorboat show proof of possession of a boater education
card before renting the person a motorboat.

(2) If the renter or operator of the rented motorboat does not
possess a boater education card, the rental agent must provide the
renter or operator of the craft with a dockside checklist provided by
the Marine Board.

(3) The renter or operator of a rental motorboat must review
and mark the dockside checklist in the presence of the rental agent
before they may operate the rental motorboat.

(4) The renter or operator of the rental motorboat must retain
the dockside checklist on board when operating the boat.

(5) It is not required that every person who will operate the
rented motorboat complete the checklist. A person age 16 and older
may operate the rented motorboat if they are accompanied and
directly supervised by a person age 16 and older (18 for personal
watercraft) who is carrying a boater education card or proof of

completing the dockside safety checklist.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; OSMB 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 3-31-
03; OSMB 1-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-9-07 thru 6-30-07; OSMB 2-2007, f.
& cert. ef. 3-21-07; OSMB 2-2009, f. 6-25-09, cert. ef. 7-1-09

250-018-0070
Program Phase In

(1) After January 1, 2001, the Marine Board may issue boater
education cards to anyone age 12 and older who submits a
complete application, provides proof of competency, and pays the

fee required in this Division. Possession of a boater education card
is not required until January 1, 2003.

(2) Beginning January 1, 2003, all individuals age 12, 13, 14
or 15 are required to possess a boater education card to operate a
motorboat having 10 horsepower or less. They may operate a
motorboat having 10 horsepower or less without an adult on board.

(3) Beginning January 1, 2003, all individuals 12, 13, 14 or 15
are required to possess a boater education card and be under the
direct supervision of an individual age 16 or older who possesses a
boater education card when operating a motorboat having greater
than 10 horsepower.

(4) Beginning January 1, 2003, all individuals age 11 or
younger may not operate a boat with a motor of any size. They may
not operate a motorboat whether alone or under direct supervision
of a boater education card holding adult.

(5) By January 1, 2003, all individuals age 16 up to and
including age 30 are required to possess a boater education card to
operate a motorboat having more than 10 horsepower. By January
1, 2004, all individuals age 16 up to and including age 40 are
required to possess a boater education card to operate a motorboat
having more than 10 horsepower.

(6) By January 1, 2005, all individuals age 16 up to and
including age 45 are required to possess a boater education card to
operate a motorboat having more than 10 horsepower. By January
1, 2006, all individuals age 16 up to and including age 50 are
required to possess a boater education card to operate a motorboat
having more than 10 horsepower.

(7) By January 1, 2007, all individuals age 16 up to and
including age 60 are required to possess a boater education card to
operate a motorboat having more than 10 horsepower. By January
1, 2008, all individuals age 16 up to and including age 70 are
required to possess a boater education card to operate a motorboat
having more than 10 horsepower.

(8) After January 1, 2009, all individuals age 16 and older
must possess a boater education card to operate a motorboat having

more than 10 horsepower.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00

250-018-0080
Exemptions

(1) ORS 830.092 states that non-resident boaters will be
exempt from carrying a card if operating in Oregon waters for less
than 60 days. This exemption will apply only to non-residents age
12 and older. No one age 11 and under, whether a resident of this
state or not, may operate a power boat of any horsepower after Jan-
uary 1,2003.

(2) In addition to the exemptions granted in ORS 830.092:

(a) A person operating a seaplane with a valid license issued
by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and a seaplane
endorsement is not required to carry a boater education card. Sea-
plane pilots must possess a boater education card to operate a
recreational boat;

(b) A person operating a motorboat in an authorized competitive
marine event on a course authorized by the Marine Board, or
engaged in practicing for a competitive power boat race on a
course authorized by the Marine Board is not required to carry a

boater education card.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; OSMB 10-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-
29-01; OSMB 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 3-31-03; OSMB 1-2007(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 1-9-07 thru 6-30-07; OSMB 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-07

250-018-0090
Fees

(1) The Boater Education Card fee is $10.

(2) The Replacement Card fee is $8. The fee is waived if
replacement is necessary because of a Marine Board error. The
same number will be assigned on any replacement card as was
assigned on the original.
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(3) Fees paid to the Marine Board for a boater education card
or replacement card are not refundable.

(4) Active duty marine officers will not have to pay the $10
fee for the boater education card. Non-active marine officers will
have to pay the $10 fee.

(5) An approved course provider acting under the authority of
the Marine Board may charge a reasonable fee to recover costs
associated with providing a boating safety course or equivalency
exam.

(6) The Agency of the State Marine Board may charge a rea-
sonable fee to recover the cost of providing educational materials
used in safe boating courses. The fee schedule for materials shall
be approved by the five members of the Marine Board who have

been appointed by the Governor of the State of Oregon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; OSMB 10-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-
29-01; OSMB 1-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-9-07 thru 6-30-07; OSMB 2-2007,
f. & cert. ef. 3-21-07; OSMB 2-2009, f. 6-25-09, cert. ef. 7-1-09

250-018-0100
Approved Course Providers

(1) Individuals and organizations who teach their own NAS-
BLA approved boating safety course (i.e. U.S. Coast Guard Auxil-
iary, U.S. Power Squadron, American Power Boating Association)
are considered approved course providers and are not required to
get authorization from the Marine Board to deliver their boating
safety courses.

(2) Individuals or private organizations who would like to
teach the Oregon State Marine Board’s NASBLA approved boating
safety course must apply with the Marine Board to become
approved course providers. To apply each instructor must:

(a) Obtain an Oregon boater education card.

(b) Submit a resume outlining their teaching and boating
experience to the Marine Board.

(c) Submit names and numbers of three references to the
Marine Board.

(d) Submit a course outline or agree to use the outline
provided by the Marine Board.

(e) Allow the Marine Board access to their classes for evalua-
tion purposes.

(3) Public safety organizations or government agencies who
would like to teach the Oregon State Marine Board’s NASBLA
approved boating safety course must apply with the Marine Board
to become approved course providers. Public safety organizations
or government agencies may be given approval to screen their own
instructors, but must:

(a) Meet with the Marine Board to discuss course outline and
materials.

(b) Allow the Marine Board access to their classes for evalua-
tion purposes.

(4) The Marine Board will issue approved individuals and
organizations an approved course provider number and place them
in a database. A list of approved course providers and boating
safety courses shall be kept by the Marine Board and made
available to the public. This list does not constitute an endorsement

of any course or course provider by the Marine Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 - 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 6-2000, . & cert. ef. 10-30-00

250-018-0110
Approved Internet Course Providers

(1) The Marine Board has the authority to regulate, approve,
and limit the number of Internet Boating Safety Courses provided
for use by the boating public.

(2) Individuals and organizations who would like to provide
an approved boating safety Internet course must apply to the
Marine Board to become an approved Internet course provider. To
apply, each Internet course provider must, in the following order:

(a) Obtain NASBLA approval prior to Oregon state approval;

(b) Complete and submit, for Marine Board review and
approval, the Marine Board Internet Course provider application
and boating safety course.

(3) To meet the Marine Board’s Internet standards, Internet
course providers must:

(a) Be approved by NASBLA and have a signed Course
Provider Contract with NASBLA;

(b) Meet the Oregon Internet Approval Standards provided by
the Marine Board;

(c) Write state-specific information consistent with NASBLA
Standard #8. A link to the Marine Board website will not be accept-
ed;

(d) Provide 45 state-specific questions in accordance to NAS-
BLA Testing Standards #1, #2, #3 and #4.

(4) An Internet course provider who offers boaters the option
to obtain the Boater Education Card online must:

(a) Provide the Marine Board compatible electronic data files,
as specified by the Marine Board, containing data of individuals
who are eligible for their boater education card. Files will be trans-
mitted once weekly on a day to be determined by the Marine
Board. The files must contain specified information: name, date of
birth, address, phone number, hair color, eye color, and gender;

(b) Provide the Marine Board weekly deposits, with deposit
day and account number to be determined by the Marine Board;

(c) Provide the Marine Board accounting section weekly
reports indicating the cost of the card for each application and the
total amount to be paid to the Marine Board;

(d) Provide the students information regarding security mea-
sures that are in place for financial transactions before personal
information is exchanged online. All transactions must follow
industry security standards.

(5) All promotion materials and products to be used by the
Internet course provider to promote their website must be approved
by the Marine Board before publishing and distribution to the pub-
lic.

(6) An Internet course provider may charge a testing fee. The
fee amount is at the discretion of the Internet course provider.
However, the testing fee must be clearly communicated to the test-
taker prior to testing on the Internet course provider’s website.

(7) The Marine Board may, upon evidence, place any approved
Internet course provider on probation for a period for up to 24
months or remove an approved Internet course from the Marine
Board website for any of the following reasons:

(a) Making false statements, misusing, or misrepresenting the
Marine Board, its staff, or policies and procedures;

(b) Misinforming boaters in advertising, marketing, or pub-
lishing efforts;

(c) Generating and providing their own Boater Education

Cards for the State of Oregon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.082 — ORS 830.096
Hist.: OSMB 1-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-9-07 thru 6-30-07; OSMB 2-2007,
f. & cert. ef. 3-21-07; OSMB 2-2009, f. 6-25-09, cert. ef. 7-1-09

DIVISION 20
LOCAL AND SPECIAL RULES

250-020-0005
Applicability of Terms

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this division, pro-
hibitions and/or speed limitations, where provided, shall not apply
to vessels operated by federal, state or local governments, or their
agents having jurisdiction and when operating in the conduct of
official business on an otherwise regulated body of water.

(2) The Director may issue special exemption permits to allow
limited research, commercial or marine event boat operations in
areas closed to motorboat use or otherwise regulated by OAR 250,
divisions 20, 21, and 30. These permits shall not be issued for
normal recreational boating activities or for operations that can rea-
sonably be carried out without use of a motorboat or within

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation

2016 Edition

4 -237

(11-15-15)



Chapter 250

Oregon State Marine Board

existing motorized restrictions. The Director may condition the

permits to minimize the impacts to the waterway and other users.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175
Hist.: MB 5-1981,f. & ef. 8-31-81; MB 19-1985, f. & ef. 11-22-85; MB 6-1993,
f. & cert. ef. 8-16-93

250-020-0013
Boat Operations in Baker County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“Slow—No Wake” speed in the following areas:

(a) Brownlee Reservoir:

(A) Farewell Bend State Park: Within 100 feet of a designated
swimming area or within 200 feet of the boat moorage or launching
ramp;

(B) Hewitt County Park: From a point 200 feet upstream of
the west launching ramp to a point 200 feet downstream of the east
launching ramp.

(b) Unity Reservoir: Within 200 feet of the launching ramp.

(c) Phillips Lake:

(A) Within 200 feet of a boat launching ramp or designated
swimming area;

(B) That area known as the Union Creek Inlet, beginning at a
point approximately 500 feet south of the Union Creek Boat
Launching Ramp and proceeding easterly across the inlet to a point
on the opposite shore as marked.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those
propelled by electric motors on:

(a) Anthony Lake;

(b) Balm Creek Reservoir;

(c) Higgins Reservoir.

(3) No person shall operate a boat for any reason, on Unity

Reservoir, below a buoy line near the spillway of Unity Dam.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175
Hist.: MB 26, f. 7-20-64; MB 45, f. 8-25-69; MB 50, f. 4-2-73, ef. 4-15-73; MB
9-1978, f. & ef. 12-21-78; Renumbered from 250-020-0165; MB 5-1983, f. 9-
13-83, ef. 9-16-83; MB 2-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; MB 3-1997, f. & cert. ef.
4-4-97; OSMB 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-00; OSMB 5-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-3-
06

250-020-0014
Boat Operations on Phillips Lake in Baker County

Marine Toilets: No person shall maintain or operate upon the
following-named inland waters of this state any boat which is
equipped with a toilet unless such toilet has an approved device to
render waste harmless, or unless such toilet is rendered inoperative
by having the discharge outlet effectively sealed. “An approved
device” is a marine toilet, or a marine toilet attachment, which has
been approved by the State Board of Health and the Department of

Environmental Quality: Phillips Lake.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 58, f. 7-2-74, ef. 7-2-74(Temp) & 7-25-74(Perm); Renumbered from
250-020-0166

250-020-0026
Boat Operations in Benton County

The following area is designated a racing motorboat testing
area on the Willamette River: From the Harrison Street Bridge
down-stream approximately .5 of a mile to the rip-rap protected
NW bank corner. Testing shall be limited to between the hours of
7-9 p.m. (Daylight Saving Time) on Tuesdays and Thursdays and

on Saturdays between the hours of 10 a.m. and 12 noon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 52, f. 8-17-73, ef. 9-1-73; Renumbered from 250-020-0225; MB 3-
1981, f. & ef. 3-3-81

250-020-0031
Boat Operations and Water Skiing on Lake Oswego in
Clackamas County

(1) Definitions as used in these regulations:

(a) “Lake” shall mean Lake Oswego;

(b) “Lake Warden” shall mean the Deputy Sheriff who acts as
Lake Warden;

(c) “Corporation” shall mean Lake Oswego Corporation;

(d) “After Dark” shall mean 1/2 hour after sunset and 1/2 hour
before sunrise.

(2) Mooring of Boats: No unoccupied boat shall be moored
(other than fast to a dock) more than 20 feet from shore.

(3) Basic Rules:

(a) No boat shall exceed the following speeds on the Lake:

(A) When within 100 feet of a swimmer or from shore — 6
MPH;

(B) When within 100 feet of a canoe — 6 MPH;

(C) When within the areas marked by buoys — 6 MPH;

(D) Through channels, canals, and bridges at all time — 6
MPH;

(E) After dark in unrestricted areas — 8 MPH;

(F) During daylight hours in unrestricted areas — 40 MPH.

(b) No person shall operate a paddle board, inner tube, rubber
raft, or other unlicensed device more than 100 feet from shore or
under any bridge;

(c) No person shall moor a boat or raft to any navigation buoy
or marker.

(4) Towed Equipment (applies to surfboarding and other types
of towed equipment as well as to water skiing):

(a) When picking up or standing by a person in the water, the
boat’s motor must be completely stopped (not just idled or out of
gear, but killed);

(b) Except on safe take-offs, boats with skiers under tow and
skier must keep 100 feet or more from shore. A take-off will not be
considered “safe” unless it can be accomplished without risk to any
swimmers or craft. Skiers must be picked up by the boat before
coming within the 100 foot from shore line, and brought to shore
under the usual speed restrictions within 100 feet of shore; except,
when safe, skier, but not boat, may ski inside the 100 foot from
shore line, in the process of landing, only when entirely within the
water area bounded by the extended property lines of the property
from which he is skiing. Skiing is forbidden within the areas spec-
ified in subsection (4)(g) of this rule. The red buoys placed at inter-
vals around the lake shall be deemed to mark a distance of 100 feet
from shore;

(c) All boats towing skiers shall go in a counter clockwise pat-
tern; i.e., west on the north side of the lake, and east on the south of
the lake. All boats taking off with skiers from within 100 feet of the
shore line shall take off as straight as practicable from shore. On
both take-offs and landings, boats and skiers shall keep as far
distant as possible from adjoining docks, floats, and shore line;

(d) If a skier falls when more than 50 feet from shore or a
float, the towing boat shall return at once to the downed skier
giving due regard to the safety of any other skiers it may be towing;

(e) No boat shall follow behind a skier closer than 300 feet,
nor cross the towing boat’s bow by less than 200 feet, nor alongside
a skier closer than 100 feet;

(f) Any boat towing a skier must be manned by a competent
observer or ski-tender, in addition to the operator;

(g) Skiing and other towed-equipment sports are prohibited:

(A) Under any bridge;

(B) South of the buoy at the entrance to, and within, Blue
Heron Bay, except that families living on the Bay may tow surf-
boards or similar equipment at low speeds;

(C) West of the buoy at the entrance to, and within West Bay,
except that families living on the Bay may tow surfboards or
similar equipment at low speeds;

(D) On the inlet Canal;

(E) On the Canal leading from Main Lake to Lakewood Bay;

(F) At the east end of the Main Lake between buoy and the
Swim Resort;

(G) On Kelok Bay (between Alder and Maple Circles) south-
west of buoy at mouth of Bay;

(H) West of the buoy at the west end of Lakewood Bay.

(5) Marine Toilets: No person shall maintain or operate upon
the waters of Lake Oswego any boat which is equipped with a
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toilet unless such toilet has an approved device to render waste
harmless, or unless such toilet is rendered inoperative by having
the discharge outlet effectively sealed. “An approved device” is a
marine toilet, or a marine toilet attachment, which has been
approved by the State Board of Health and the Department of Envi-

ronmental Quality.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 60, f. 7-2-74, ef. 7-2-74(Temp) & 7-25-74(Perm); Renumbered from
250-020-0012

250-020-0032
Boat Operations on the Willamette River in Clackamas
County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH
in the following areas:

(a) Between the southern shore of Hog Island and the main-
land;

(b) Within 100 feet of the west shore, between RM 30.0 and
30.5.

(2) No person shall operate a boat:

(a) Downstream from Oregon City Falls in an area from the
base of the falls to a line across the river between the northeast
corner of the Crown Zellerbach’s Mill A Grinder Room on the west
bank of the river to the southwest corner of Publisher’s Paper Com-
pany Power Plant on the east bank of the river as marked;

(b) In the area commonly known as the “cul-de-sac” or the
Simpson Paper Company tailrace; beginning at the mouth of the
tailrace on the south bank then extending across the tailrace follow-
ing the line established by the bridge across the tailrace to the north
bank, then in a westerly, southerly, and easterly direction around
the bank of the tailrace to the place of beginning.

(c) Exceptions:

(A) Boats of any federal, state, county, or local governmental
agency and Portland General Electric Sullivan Plant and Crown
Zellerbach Corporation Mill maintenance crews may operate in the
closed area when on official business;

(B) Boats used in taking lamprey under a permit issued by the
State Department of Fish and Wildlife may operate in the closed
area subject to the conditions specified in the permit.

(3) No person shall operate a in excess of a “slow-no wake”
speed on the following waters:

(a) Cedar Island lagoon;

(b) From the north point of the eastern spit of Cedar Island
100 yards due north and thence due west to the shore line;

(c) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp
and/or marked swimming area;

(d) Within 200 feet of shore adjacent to George Rogers Park
(Lake Oswego), from the southern bank of Sucker Creek north
along the west bank of the Willamette, to a point 200 yards north of
the boat ramp, as posted;

(e) From the I-5 Boones Bridge west approximately 1,700 feet
to the Railroad Bridge.

(4) No person shall operate a personal watercraft in continuous
operation on the Willamette River between Hog Island and the
Union Pacific Railroad Bridge during the period from May 1
through September 30, except to transit through this zone.

(5) On the Willamette River from the Hwy 219 Bridge at RM
48.5 to the upper end of Willow Island at RM 31.5, the following
rules apply:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow-
no wake” speed within 100 feet of private docks, boathouses or
moorages legally permitted by the Oregon Department of State
Lands.

(b) No person shall use wake-enhancing devices, including
ballast tanks, wedges or hydrofoils or other mechanical devices, or
un-even loading of persons or gear, to artificially operate bow-
high.

(c) Effective 12:01 am, May 1, 2014 and ending October 31,
2014, 11:59 pm, the use of wake-enhancing devices from the Hwy

219 Bridge at RM 48.5 to RM 47 are allowed.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 26, f. 7-20-64; MB 80, f. & ef. 4-19-77; MB 83, f. & ef. 4-22-77;
Renumbered from 250-020-0142; MB 9-1982, f. 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82; MB 6-
1986, f. & ef. 5-23-86; MB 1-1987, f. & ef. 2-4-87; MB 13-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-
87; MB 3-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-22-96; OSMB 5-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00;
OSMB 5-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-18-07 thru 12-13-07; Administrative cor-
rection 12-20-07; OSMB 5-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-11-08; OSMB 9-2008, f. 10-
22-08, cert. ef. 1-1-09; OSMB 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14; OSMB 4-2015, f.
4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0033
Boat Operations in Clackamas County

(1) Clackamas River: No person shall operate a motorboat in
excess of a “slow—no wake” speed from the Highway 99 Bridge
downstream to the Willamette River, May 1st through October
15th.

(2) Molalla River: No person shall operate a motorboat with a
jet pump drive upstream of the Highway 99 Bridge.

(3) Tualatin River: No person shall operate a motorboat for
the purpose of towing a person on water skis, knee board, wake
board, tube or similar device.

(4) North Fork Reservoir:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat with a jet pump drive
above a point 2.3 miles upstream of the North Fork Dam;

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed on that portion of the reservoir north of
Highway 224 known as North Arm or within 200 feet of the
entrance to North Arm, as marked.

(5) Roslyn Lake: No person shall operate a boat with a motor.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 2-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78; MB 6-1978, f. & ef. 7-31-78; Renumbered
from 250-020-0143; MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; OSMB 7-2000, f. &
cert. ef. 12-1-00; OSMB 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-01; OSMB 3-2004(Temp),
f. 7-14-04, cert. ef. 7-15-04 thru 8-31-04; Administrative correction 9-28-04;
OSMB 8-2010(Temp), f. 5-6-10, cert. ef. 6-1-10 thru 8-31-10; Administrative
correction 9-22-10; OSMB 6-2014(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-10-14 thru 7-31-14;
Temporary suspended by OSMB 7-2014(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-13-14 thru 7-
31-14; Administrative correction, 8-28-14; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef.
5-1-15

250-020-0041
Boat Operations in Clatsop County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) On the Skipanon Waterway and Warrenton Small Boat
Basin;

(b) On the John Day River within 200 feet of a houseboat;

(c) On Knappa Slough within 200 feet of the Knappa Dock;

(d) On Warren Slough;

(e) On Svensen Slough between the Svensen Island bridge
and Bear Creek, as marked.

(2) No motorboat shall be operated at a speed in excess of 10
MPH in the following areas:

(a) On Coffenbury Lake;

(b) On Neacoxie (Sunset) Lake;

(c) The north end of Cullaby Lake within the buoyed area.

(3) No motorboat shall be operated in excess of a “slow—no
wake” speed when within 200 feet of a boat launching ramp or des-
ignated swimming area in the following areas:

(a) John Day River;

(b) Cullaby Lake

(4) All boats towing water skiers or other types of towed
equipment on the following bodies of water shall proceed in a
counter-clockwise pattern: Cullaby Lake.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no Wake” speed in the following areas:

(a) Hammond Boat Basin;

(b) Lewis and Clark River from its mouth at Youngs Bay to its
confluence with Green Slough, a distance of approximately 1.8
statute miles;

(c) The East End and the West End Mooring Basins.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
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Hist.: MB 25, f. 6-15-64; MB 43, f. 7-18-69; MB 62, f. 8-14-74, ef. 8-14-
74(Temp) & 9-11-74(Perm); MB 63, f. 11-19-74, ef. 12-11-74; Renumbered
from 250-020-0160; MB 8-1982, f. 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82; MB 10-1990, f. &
cert. ef. 12-14-90; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0042
Boat Operations on the Nehalem River in Clatsop and
Tillamook Counties

(1) South Fork Nehalem. No person shall operate a boat with
a motor rated in excess of 15 HP, from the mouth of Peterson Creek
(RM 10.3) to Nehalem River Falls (RM 15.7), from September 1
through March 30.

(2) North Fork Nehalem. No person shall operate a motorboat

above Aldervale.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 13-1985, f. & ef. 7-31-85

250-020-0043
Boat Operations on the Necanicum River in Clatsop County
No person shall operate a motor-boat in excess of a “slow-no

wake” speed upstream of the First Avenue Bridge in Seaside.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 13-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
92; OSMB 4-2015, . 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0051
Boat Operations in Columbia County

(1) No person shall operate a boat in excess of a “slow—no
wake” speed in the following areas:

(a) Columbia River. Between Sand Island and the City of St.
Helens from a point 200 feet upstream of the Courthouse docks to
a point 200 feet downstream of the public transient floats on Sand
Island, as marked.

(b) Multnomah Channel. Within 200 feet of the public
transient moorage at Coon Island (J.J.Collins Park).

(c) Scappoose Bay. Within 200 feet of Bayport Marina and the
public ramp.

(d) Gilbert River, Sauvie Island. Within 200 feet of Gilbert
River Boat Ramp and boarding floats and the lower 0.5 mile of the
Gilbert River, as posted.

(e) Clatskanie River. Upstream of a point approximately 100
yards north of Beaver Boat Ramp, as marked.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled

by electric motors on Lake Vernonia.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-17-86; MB 7-1995, . & cert. ef. 10-12-95; OSMB
9-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-98; OSMB 7-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-01; OSMB 4-
2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0053
Boat Operations in Columbia and Multnomah Counties

Sauvie Island Wildlife Area:

(1) It is unlawful to operate a boat on any water within the
Sauvie Island Wildlife Area from October 10 to January 20, with
the following exceptions:

(a) Persons possessing a valid Sauvie Island Hunt Permit.

(b) The Gilbert River from its mouth upstream to a point 100
feet upstream of the Gilbert River Dock as marked.

(2) Except for the Gilbert River, it is unlawful to operate a
motorboat in excess of a 5 mph “Slow—No Wake” speed limit on

any waters within the Sauvie Island Wildlife Area.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 3-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; OSMB 2-2002, . & cert. ef. 4-15-02

250-020-0061
Boat Operations on Eel Lake in Coos and Douglas Counties
No motorboat shall operate at a speed in excess of 10 MPH on
Eel Lake
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 14, f. 8-6-62; Renumbered from 250-020-0080

250-020-0062
Boat Operations on North Ten Mile Lake, Ten Mile Lake, and
Ten Mile Creek in Coos County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area;

(b) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of idling
speed in the following areas:

(a) Within 300 feet of the entrance to Ten Mile Creek;

(b) On Ten Mile Creek.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no Wake” speed on the waters of North Lake Canal,
between North Ten Mile Lake and Ten Mile Lake, or within 200

feet of each entrance to the canal, as marked.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 20, f. 3-20-63; MB 28, f. 4-20-66; MB 67(Temp), f. & ef. 5-14-75;
MB 70(Temp), f. & ef. 6-9-75; MB 71, f. 8-1-75, ef. 8-25-75; Renumbered from
250-020-0087; OSMB 10-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-98; OSMB 4-2015, . 4-30-
15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0063
Boat Operations in Coos County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those
propelled by electric motors on the following bodies of water:

(a) Fahy Lake;

(b) Upper Empire Lake;

(c) Middle Empire Lake;

(d) Lower Empire Lake.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
5 MPH on Bradley Lake.

(3) It is illegal to operate a boat with a motor, except for an
electric motor, on the New River from March 1 to September 30.

From October 1 to the end of February motors are not restricted.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 3-1983, f. & ef. 6-1-83; MB 10-1986, f. 7-29-86, ef. 8-1-86; MB 1-
1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-91; OSMB 5-2001, f. & cert. ef. 3-29-01; OSMB 4-
2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-04

250-020-0064
Boat Operations on the Coquille and Millicoma Rivers in
Coos County

No person shall operate a motorboat with a jet pump drive on
the:

(1) East Fork Millicoma River above Allegany;

(2) West Fork Millicoma River above Allegany.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88

250-020-0065
Boat Operations on the South Slough Estuarine Sanctuary in
Coos County

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow—no

wake” speed in the South Slough Estuarine Sanctuary.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 1-1989, f. 4-5-89, cert. ef. 4-15-89; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert.
ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0073
Boat Operations on Ochoco and Prineville Reservoirs in
Crook County

NOTE: “Towed equipment” applies to surfboarding and other types of

towed equipment, as well as water skiing.

(1) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers
and other types of towed equipment must keep 200 feet or more
from shore. If a safe landing as defined in these rules is not
possible, skiers must be picked up by the boat before coming
within the 200-foot-from-shore line and brought to shore under the
established speed restrictions (5 MPH within 200 feet of shore).
Boats towing skiers may exceed 5 MPH to the extent necessary to
maintain the skiers in a skiing position within 200 feet from the
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shore line only when taking off or landing under safe conditions as
outlined in this section. However, boats may not exceed the 5 MPH
speed restriction, including the take-off and landing of skiers in
tow, in the areas listed in section (2) of this rule:

(a) A “safe” take-off or landing with a skier in tow is accom-
plished by leaving or approaching the take-off or landing site
within an arc which has its center at the take-off or landing site and
which is not closer than 45 degrees out from the shore on either
side. It is not a “safe” landing to approach a landing site parallel to
the shore line. Take-offs and landings should be made in a counter-
clockwise pattern. A take-off or landing will not be considered safe
unless it can be accomplished without risk to the safety of any
swimmers or other watercraft;

(b) No boat shall follow behind a skier closer than 300 feet,
nor cross the towing boat less than 200 feet, nor alongside a skier
closer than 100 feet.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within 200 feet of the shore line (except under conditions
authorized in section (1) of this rule);

(b) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area;

(c) Within 200 feet of a launching ramp;

(d) Within the cove located to the west of Ochoco State Park
on Ochoco Reservoir, where the State Park Boat Launching Ramp
and county floats are located;

(e) East of a line from the point east of the Ochoco Boat
Rentals across Ochoco Reservoir to a spot marked on the south
side. Markers are identified as orange-colored and tripod shaped.

(f) Within the cove area where the Ochoco Boat Rentals
moorage is located and designated by a buoy south of the moorage
and an orange-colored tripod marker on the point of land east of the
moorage;

(g) East of a line between two markers across the Prineville
Reservoir at a point approximately 1/2 mile west of the entrance of
Owl Hollow Creek. The shore markers are identified by their
orange color and tripod shape.

(h) South and west of a line extending across the mouth of
Roberts Bay on Prineville Reservoir, as marked.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
Slow—No Wake in Prineville Reservoir adjacent to the Prineville
Reservoir Resort Marina as marked by buoys beginning approxi-
mately 500 feet north of the Prineville Resort Marina and
continuing 500 feet beyond the perimeter of the marina to a point
approximately 500 feet south of the resort boat ramp from May 15

through September 15.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 16, . 8-20-62; Renumbered from 250-020-0100; OSMB 12-2001, f.
& cert. ef. 10-29-01; OSMB 6-2008, . & cert. ef. 7-11-08

250-020-0074
Boat Operations in Crook County
Walton Lake. No person shall operate a motorboat, except

those propelled by electric motors, on Walton Lake.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 8-1985, f. & ef. 4-24-85; OSMB 7-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-02

250-020-0082
Boat Operations in Curry County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those
propelled by electric motors, on:

(a) Floras Creek;

(b) Sixes River.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat with a jet pump drive
on the Pistol River.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat on the Elk River,
except:

(a) From the Ironhead ramp downstream motors 25 horsepower
or less, other than those having a jet pump, are allowed;

(b) From the Ironhead ramp upstream persons who own land
fronting both sides of the river may, by permit issued by the Marine

Board, use a motorboat with a propeller-driven outboard motor 25
horsepower or less, and;

(c) Electric motors are allowed on the entire river.

(4) It is illegal to operate a boat with a motor, except for an
electric motor, on the New River from March 1 to September 30.

From October 1 to the end of February motors are not restricted.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; OSMB 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-
01; OSMB 6-2001, f. & cert. ef. 3-29-01; OSMB 3-2002(Temp), f. 6-27-02,
cert. ef. 7-1-02 thru 10-31-02; Administrative correction 11-29-02; OSMB 5-
2003(Temp), f. 6-12-03, cert. ef. 7-1-03 thru 10-31-03; Administrative correction
11-10-03; OSMB 4-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-04

250-020-0091
Boat Operations in Deschutes County

(1) Marine Toilets: No person shall maintain or operate upon
the following-named inland waters of this state any boat which is
equipped with a toilet unless such toilet has an approved device to
render waste harmless, or unless such toilet is rendered inoperative
by having the discharge outlet effectively seals. “An approved
device” is a marine toilet, or marine toilet attachment, which has
been approved by the State Board of Health and the State Sanitary
Authority:

(a) Paulina Lake;

(b) East Lake;

(¢) Elk Lake;

(d) Big Lava Lake;

(e) Wickiup Reservoir;

(f) Crane Prairie Reservoir;

(g) Big Cultus Lake;

(h) Little Cultus Lake.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH
on: Deschutes River and Davis Creek Arms of Wickiup Reservoir.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on
the following area: Torso Lake.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat except with an
electric motor on the following areas:

(a) Meadow Lake;

(b) Hosmer Lake.

(5) Deschutes River:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat for the purpose of
towing a person on water skis, surfboard or similar device and no
person shall engage in waterskiing or similar activities on the
Deschutes River;

(b) No person shall operate jet ski type boats on the Deschutes
River. For the purposes of this rule, jet ski type boat means any
motorized vessel or other description of watercraft which is
generally less than ten feet in length and capable of exceeding a
speed of 15 MPH, including but not limited to jetskis, wet bikes,
and surf jets;

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow-
no wake” speed limit between Wickiup Dam and the Deschutes
National Forest Boundary in Sec. 14.T.18.S.,R.11.E., WM.;

(d) No person shall operate a motorboat between LaPine State
Recreation area boat ramp and Pringle Falls;

(e) No person shall operate a motorboat between Aspen Camp
boat ramp and the north end of Lava Island in Sec.
22.T.18.S.R.I1L.LE., WM.

(f) No person shall operate a motorboat between the Deschutes
National Forest boundary in Sec. 14.T.18.S.,R.11.E., WM. and
Mirror Pond Dam.

(g) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose
between the Mirror Pond Dam and the Jefferson County Line.

(h) A person must not operate a boat from the Colorado
Avenue Bridge to 600 feet downriver of the bridge from October
19, 2015 thru December 31, 2015. All boats must exit the river at
the designated take out adjacent to the bridge and may re-enter the

river at the designated put-in location in McKay Park.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 26, f. 7-20-64; MB 52, f. 8-17-73, ef. 9-1-73; MB 57, f. 7-2-74, ef . 7-
2-74(Temp) & 7-25-74(Perm); Renumbered from 250-020-0170; MB 10-1988,
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f. & cert. ef. 6-28-88; MB 13-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 1-1-89; MB 5-1993, f.
& cert. ef. 7-14-93; MB 12-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-96; MB 7-1997, f. & cert.
ef. 7-17-97; OSMB 11-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-15-98 thru 12-31-98;
Administrative correction 8-5-99; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15;
OSMB 10-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-19-15 thru 12-31-15

250-020-0101
Boat Operations on Eel Lake in Douglas and Coos Counties
No motorboat shall operate at a speed in excess of 10 MPH on
Eel Lake.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 14, f. 8-6-62; Renumbered from 250-020-0080

250-020-0102
Boat Operations in Douglas County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
10 MPH in the following areas:

(a) On Carter Lake;

(b) On Plat I Reservoir.

(c) Diamond Lake.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within the Harbor limits of Salmon Harbor on Winchester
Bay;

(b) On the Umpqua River in the vicinity of River Forks Park
from a point 30 yards downstream (North) from the launching
ramp to a point upstream 100 yards on each the North Fork and
South Fork of the Umpqua River;

(c) On the Umpqua River within 300 feet of the boat
launching ramp and designated swimming area at Scottsburg Park.

(3) Lemolo Lake:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow-
no wake” speed within 150 feet of the shore or pier line in a zone
extending from the launch ramp at Lemolo Lake Resort south to
Pool Creek Inlet, and from a point 200 feet south of Pool Creek
Inlet south to the small unnamed island, and thence south from the
south tip of the island across to the nearest peninsula;

(b) Boats shall not exceed a “slow-no wake” speed in the area
from where U.S. Forest Service Road Number 2666 crosses the
North Umpqua River, to a point 2,000 feet westward thereof;

(c) Boats shall not exceed a maximum speed of 40 MPH on all
other waters of Lemolo Lake.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on
the following bodies of water:

(a) Amos and Andy Lakes;

(b) June Lake;

(c) Indigo Lake;

(d) Maidu Lake;

(e) Wolf Lake;

(f) Skookum Lake;

(g) Fish Lake;

(h) Buckeye Lake;

(i) Cliff Lake;

(j) Calamut Lake;

(k) Lucile Lake;

(1) Faller Lake;

(m) Lower Twin Lake;

(n) Upper Twin Lake;

(o) Lake in the Woods.

(5) Cooper Creek Reservoir: No person shall operate a motor-
boat in excess of:

(a) 40 MPH on the main body of the Reservoir;

(b) 5 MPH within the buoyed area of Rachelle Inlet; Pierce
Canyon Inlet; Sutherlin Inlet and Douglas Inlet;

(c) 5 MPH within 200 feet of a boat launching ramp or desig-
nates swimming area.

(6) Ben Irving Reservoir: No person shall operate a motorboat
in excess of:

(a) 35 MPH from the markers (identified by the letter “A”)
located where the reservoir narrows, downstream for approximately
1.2 miles to the dam;

(b) 5 MPH:

(A) From the markers (identified by the letter “A”) located
where the reservoir narrows, upstream for approximately one mile
to the second set of markers (identified by the letter “B”);

(B) Within 100 feet of the boat ramp as marked.

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat upstream from the
second markers (identified by the letter “B”) except that electric
motors may be used;

(d) No boats shall be permitted within the log boomed area in
the vicinity of the dam spillway.

(7) Galesville Reservoir: No person shall operate a motorboat
in excess of:

(a) 40 MPH on the main body of the lake;

(b) 5 MPH along the north shore between the launch ramp and
log boom, in the buoyed areas;

(c) 5 MPH between the buoy line at the upper end of the lake
to the powerboat deadline as marked;

(d) Above the 5 MPH zone, as marked, no person shall
operate a motorboat, except those propelled by electric motors;

(e) Persons operating a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH in the
otherwise unrestricted portions of the lake shall proceed about the
lake in a counter clockwise direction.

(8) No person shall operate a motorboat on the North Umpqua
River between the boat ramp at Lone Rock Camp (approximate
RM 32) upstream to Lemolo Lake.

(9) Loon Lake:

(a) Except for safe take-offs and landings, no person shall
operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow-no wake” speed within
200 feet of the designated swimming area and boat mooring area at
the BLM day use area, as marked. Boats towing skiers may exceed
5 MPH to extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing
position, within 200 feet from the designated swimming area and
boat mooring area only under safe conditions as outlined in this
section. A safe take-off or landing will not be considered “safe”
unless it can be accomplished without risk to any swimmer or craft
within 200 feet from designated swimming area and boat mooring
area. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers must be
picked up by the boat before coming within 200 feet from the des-
ignated swimming area and boat mooring area and brought to shore
under usual speed restrictions (5 MPH within 200 feet of the desig-
nated swimming area and boat mooring area). Take-offs and
landings are required to be made following the mandatory counter-
clockwise pattern.

(b) Persons operating a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH shall
proceed in a counter-clockwise direction in the otherwise unrestricted
portions of the lake.

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow-
no wake” speed within the buoyed area extending from the north
shore of the cove at Fish Haven Resort in a southwest direction
across the lake to the end of the prominent point of land on the
south shore of the lake, as marked.

(10) Hemlock Lake: No person shall operate a motorboat,

except those propelled by electric motors.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.185
Hist.: MB 20, f. 3-20-63; MB 29, . 6-17-66; MB 32, f. 9-14-66; MB 34, f. & ef.
6-2-67; MB 41, f. 9-18-68; MB 47, f. 7-14-70, ef. 8-11-70; MB 74(Temp), f. 5-
18-76, ef. 6-1-76 thru 9-28-76; MB 82, f. & ef. 4-19-77; Renumbered from 250-
020-0083; MB 4-1981(Temp), . & ef. 4-17-81; MB 7-1981, f. & ef. 11-16-81;
MB 4-1987, . 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 5-
1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95; OSMB 8-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-00; OSMB 7-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-02; OSMB 1-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-28-06; OSMB 7-
2006(Temp), f. 8-15-06, cert. ef. 9-5-06 thru 9-30-06; Administrative correction
10-16-06; OSMB 7-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07; OSMB 3-2008, f. 4-11-08, cert.
ef. 4-26-08; OSMB 10-2012(Temp), f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-19-12 thru 8-25-12;
OSMB 11-2012(Temp), f. 8-24-12, cert. ef. 8-26-12 thru 8-31-12; Administrative
correction 9-20-12; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15; OSMB 8-
2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-10-15 thru 9-30-15; Temporary suspended by
OSMB 9-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef 8-25-15 thru 9-30-15; Administrative cor-
rection, 10-22-15
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250-020-0105
Boat Operations on Cooper Creek Reservoir in Douglas
County

The provisions of OAR 250-021-0030(7)(d) shall not apply
on Cooper Creek Reservoir in Douglas County in the area between
the existing 5 MPH zones at Douglas Inlet and Sutherlin Inlet. All

other provisions of OAR 250, division 21 shall apply.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830
Hist.: MB 10-1996(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-15-96; MB 4-1997, f. & cert. ef. 4-4-
97

250-020-0121
Boat Operations in Gilliam County

No person shall operate a motorboat in the Earl Snell
Memorial Park Lagoon, City of Arlington, South of the Union

Pacific Railroad Bridge.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 18-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 11-15-87

250-020-0125
Boat Operations in Grant County

No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on Bull
Prairie Lake

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 6-1981, f. & ef. 8-31-81

250-020-0132
Boat Operations in Harney County

(1) No motorboat shall operate at a speed in excess of 5 MPH
in the following areas:

(a) On Delintment Lake;

(b) On the Burns Gravel Pond adjacent to Highway 78.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on
Fish Lake.

(3) No person shall operate a boat, except those propelled
manually or by electric motors during Oregon trout season on

Krumbo Reservoir.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 22, f. 8-20-63; MB 27, f. 6-3-65; MB 49, f. 8-14-72, ef. 9-1-72;
Renumbered from 250-020-0150; MB 5-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87

250-020-0141
Boat Operations in Hood River County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
5 MPH on Green Point Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on
Badger Lake.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled
by electric motors on Laurance Lake.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of Slow—No
Wake speed in the artificial lagoon, as marked by the Port of Hood
River, immediately to the west of the mouth of the Hood River and
Nichols Boat Basin.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 16, f. 8-20-62; MB 45, f. 8-25-69; MB 49, f. 8-14-72, ef. 9-1-72;

Renumbered from 250-020-0110; MB 19-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 11-15-87; MB 5-

1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88; OSMB 2-2013, f. 3-29-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13

250-020-0151
Boat Operations in Jackson County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those
propelled by electric motors on Agate Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH
on:

(a) Applegate Reservoir;

(b) Fish Lake;

(c) Hyatt Lake;

(d) Willow Lake — Southern portion as denoted by the
Uniform Waterway Marker buoys.

(3) The following areas are “designated moorage areas’:

(a) Willow Lake — Southwest Cove;

(b) Howard Prairie Lake — Howard Prairie Resort Marina
and Klum Landing;

(c) Emigrant Lake — Spillway Cove area at the northwest
corner of the lake.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed in the moorage areas designated in section
(3) of this rule.

(5) No person shall moor a boat outside the designated
moorage areas set forth in section (3) of this rule for more than 48
hours without obtaining a permit from the Jackson County Parks
Department.

(6) Lost Creek Lake:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat between the breakwa-
ters designating the Steward State Park swimming area;

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed:

(A) In the Lost Creek Arm upstream of the “narrows” as
marked;

(B) Within the cove area of the Takelma Park Boat Ramp
from the intake tower to shore as marked;

(C) Upstream of the Peyton Bridge.

(7) Emigrant Lake:

(a) No person shall operate a boat in excess of a “slow—no
wake” speed in the Hill Creek Arm upstream of a line beginning at
a point on the west shore of the Arm that is approximately 1000
feet southeast from the area of the point known as the Quarry and
extending northeast across the arm to the nearest point of land on
the east shore of the arm, as marked;

(b) No person shall operate a boat in excess of a “slow—no
wake” speed in the Emigrant Creek Arm upstream of a line
extending north and south across the arm that approximately coin-
cides with the meridian of longitude equal to 122° 37° 34 North,

as marked.
Stat Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 30, f. 6-17-66; MB 39, f. 4-5-68; MB 84(Temp), f. & ef. 5-20-77; MB
86, f. & ef. 7-20-77; MB 87, f. & ef. 9-16-77; MB 5-1978, f. & ef. 6-15-78;
Renumbered from 250-020-0175; MB 1-1980, f. 4-1-80, ef. 5-1-80; MB 2-
1981, f. & ef. 3-3-81; MB 6-1984, f. 2-14-84, ef. 2-15-84; MB 2-1990, f. & cert.
ef. 2-22-90; OSMB 5-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-99; OSMB 7-2002, . & cert. ef.
10-15-02; OSMB 11-2010(Temp), f. 5-28-10, cert. ef. 6-15-10 thru 10-15-10;
Administrative correction 10-26-10; OSMB 1-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-3-11
thru 6-30-11; OSMB 6-2011, f. 4-25-11, cert. ef. 5-2-11; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-
30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0161
Boat Operations in Jefferson County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on
the following lakes:

(a) Scout;

(b) Round;

(c) Jack;

(d) Island;

(e) Cache;

(f) Hand and

(g) Link.

(2) Suttle Lake:

(a) No water skiing or motorboat operation in excess of 10
MPH to be permitted on Suttle Lake between the hours of 8 p.m.
and 9 a.m., standard time, each day;

(b) No water skiing or motorboat operation in excess of 10
MPH to be permitted on Suttle Lake between the hours of 9 a.m.
and 8 p.m., standard time, each day, except within the signed and
designated fast boat area, water skier dropoff zone, and water skier
take-off lanes, at the west end of the lake;

(c) Operating any boat which is equipped with a toilet is pro-
hibited on Suttle Lake, unless such toilet has an approved device to
render waste harmless, or unless such toilet is rendered inoperative
by having the discharge outlet effectively sealed.

(3) Lake Simtustus:
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(a) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed in the area within 300 feet of the moorage
and extending to the opposite shore;

(b) No person shall operate a boat for any reason within the
restricted tailrace area enclosed by the log boom approximately
1200 feet down-stream of Round Butte Dam;

(c) No person shall moor a boat to the log boom or operate a
boat for any reason within the restricted intake area enclosed by the
log boom located approximately 200 feet upstream of Pelton Dam;

(d) Boat access in the areas closed by subsections (b) and (c)
of this section is permitted for federal, state, local and tribal gov-
ernment agencies and Portland General Electric employees or their
agents for official business only.

(4) Lake Billy Chinook:

(a) No person shall operate motorboat in excess of 10 MPH in
the following areas:

(A) On the Crooked River Arm above the Crooked River
Bridge.

(B) On the Deschutes River Arm above the Deschutes River
Bridge;

(C) On the Metolius River Arm from a point approximately
1,000 feet upstream of Street Creek, as marked.

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed within the buoyed areas at:

(A) Cove Palisades State Park Marina;

(B) The Crooked River Launching Ramp;

(C) The Lower Deschutes River Day Use Area;

(D) The Upper Deschutes River Day Use Area;

(E) Within 300 feet of a designated swimming area;

(F) Within a cove at Chinook Island (Metolius Arm) as
marked;

(G) Within the cove at Camp Perry South (Metolius Arm) as
marked.

(c) No person shall operate a boat inside the log boom
enclosure around Round Butte Dam.

(5) No person shall beach, anchor or moor a boat within 200
feet of shore in the following areas at Lake Billy Chinook between
10 p.m. and 5 a.m.

(a) Crooked River Arm:

(A) East shore — between a point approximately 1,000 feet
north of the cove Marina, as marked, and the Crooked River
Bridge;

(B) West Shore — From the State Park boundary north
approximately 2,000 feet, as marked.

(b) Deschutes Arm: East Shore — Between a point approxi-
mately 2,000 feet north of the northernmost boat launch, as
marked, and the Deschutes River Bridge;

(c) This prohibition shall not apply to any leased or rented
space within established marinas or moorages.

(6) No person shall operate or provide for others to operate a
boat on Lake Billy Chinook which is equipped with a marine toilet,
unless the toilet has a holding tank or is rendered inoperative so as
to prevent any overboard discharge.

(7) Haystack Reservoir. No person shall operate a boat in
excess of 5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) In the western cove inside a buoy line approximately 500
feet from shore, as marked;

(b) In the southern cove inside a buoy line extending from
south of the boat ramp on the east shore to a point south of the

southeast peninsula, as marked.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 43, . 7-18-69; MB 58, f. 7-2-74, ef. 7-2-74(Temp) & 7-25-74(Perm);
Renumbered from 250-020-0200; MB 16-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 8-1986,
f. & ef. 7-28-86; MB 11-1986, f. & ef. 10-30-86; MB 6-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-
1-87; MB 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90; MB 10-1992, f. & cert. ef. 8-21-92;
MB 7-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-11-93; MB 8-1994(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-17-94
thru 12-17-94; MB 10-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-28-94; OSMB 2-2004(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 5-20-04 thru 9-20-04; Administrative correction 10-25-04; OSMB 6-
2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-3-06; OSMB 10-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-4-07 thru 12-
31-07; OSMB 12-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-1-07; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert.
ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0171
Boat Operations in Josephine County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
10 MPH on Lake Selmac.

(2) The following areas are designated racing motorboat
testing areas:

(a) On the Rogue River near Grants Pass:

(A) The primary testing area shall be one-half mile upstream
from Findley Bend to a point approximately one mile above the
mouth of the Applegate River;

(B) An alternate testing area shall be between Flannegan’s
Slough and Findley Bend.

(b) The primary testing area shall be used at all times except
when low water creates a hazardous condition, at which time the
alternate area will be used;

(c) Testing in the alternate area will be limited to Wednesdays
between the hours of 6 p.m. and 8 p.m., and on Saturdays between
the hours of 9 a.m. and 11 a.m.;

(d) When the water level measures 2.5 feet on the gauge at the
City of Grants Pass Water Filtration Plant, use of the primary
testing area will be considered hazardous and closed for testing
high speed boats at which time the alternate testing area will be

used.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 10, f. 11-14-61; MB 43, f. 7-18-69; Renumbered from 250-020-0060;
OSMB 6-2003(Temp), f. 6-30-03, cert. ef. 7-7-03 thru 8-31-03; Administrative
correction, 9-2-05

250-020-0201
Boating and Water Skiing on Lake of the Woods in Klamath
County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a slow-no
wake speed or with a water skier under tow, while within Forest
Service approved and marked swimming areas adjacent to summer
camps and public campgrounds, or while within 200 feet of any
dock or shore, except for a “safe” take-off or landing.

(2) A safe take-off or landing is accomplished within an arc
which has its center at the take-off or landing site and which is not
closer than 45 degrees out from the shore line on either side. It is
not a “safe” landing to approach a landing site parallel to the shore
line. Take-offs and landings should be made in a counter clockwise
pattern. A take-off or landing will not be considered safe unless it
can be accomplished without risk to any swimmers or other water-
craft. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers must
be picked up by the boat before coming within the 200 feet from
the shore or dock line, and brought to shore under the usual speed
restrictions. Boats towing skiers may exceed the 5 MPH speed
limit to the extent necessary to maintain skier in a skiing position
within the 200 feet from shore or dock, only when taking off or
landing under “safe” conditions as outlined in this section.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 20 MPH
between the hours of one hour after sunset and one hour before

sunrise. Boats must show the proper lights during these hours.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195
Hist.: MB 18, f. 2-5-63; Renumbered from 250-020-0021; MB 6-1996, f. &
cert. ef. 4-12-96; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0202
Boat Operations on Miller Lake in Klamath County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH
within 100 feet of the shoreline except on the Northwest end of the
lake designated “Water Ski Area.”

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed within 100 feet of a boat launching ramp

or designated swimming area.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 35, f. 1-16-68; Renumbered from 250-020-0022; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-
30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15
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250-020-0203
Boat Operations on Klamath Lake in the Vicinity of Moore
Park Marina

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed within 100 feet of the entrance to or within
Moore Park Marina.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
10 MPH in the portion of Upper Klamath Lake and Link River that
lies east of a line projected from the west side of the Moore Park
pumphouse north to the west boundary line of the Pelican Marina.

(3) These regulations do not apply during such hours that

authorized boat races are held.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 36, f. 1-16-68; Renumbered from 250-020-0023; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-

30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0204
Boat Operations in Klamath County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 mph
on Fourmile Lake.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow-
no wake” speed on the following waters:

(a) Spring Creek, except within Collier State Park;

(b) Williamson River, within 200 feet of any dock or launch
ramp from mouth to State Highway 97.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on

Spring Creek within the boundaries of Collier State Park.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 45, f. 8-25-69; Renumbered from 250-020-0024; OSMB 8-1998, f. &
cert. ef. 5-21-98; OSMB 12-1998, f. 7-15-98, cert. ef. 8-1-98; OSMB 4-2003, f.
& cert. ef. 6-12-03; OSMB 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-05; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-

15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0205
Regulations — Klamath County

(1) In accordance with the provisions of ORS Chapter 830,
the following area has been designated a “race boat test area on
Upper Klamath Lake.”

(2) The race boat testing area will encompass an area on
Upper Klamath Lake between an east-west line from the south-east
corner of Wocus Bay and 1/2 mile north of McCormack Point and
west of Buck Island.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 56, f. 4-25-74, ef. 5-25-74; Renumbered from 250-020-0025

250-020-0211
Boat Operations in Lake County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled
by electric motors on the following:

(a) Campbell Lake;

(b) Cottonwood Meadows Lake;

(c) Heart Lake;

(d) Lofton Reservoir;

(e) Big Swamp Reservoir;

(f) Deadhorse Lake;

(g) Vee Lake;

(h) Mud Lake;

(i) Withers Lake;

(j) Holbrook Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH
on Thompson Reservoir.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH
on Dog Lake.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a

“slow—no wake” speed on Duncan Reservoir.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 49, f. 8-14-72, ef. 9-1-72; MB 81, f. & ef. 4-19-77; MB 4-1979, f. 7-
31-79, ef. 8-1-79; Renumbered from 250-020-0215; MB 3-1982, f. & ef. 6-1-
82; MB 2-1983, f. & ef. 6-1-83; MB 17-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 3-1989, f.
& cert. ef. 7-6-89; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0221
Boat Operations on Certain Waters in Lane County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed in the following areas:

(a) Triangle Lake: Within 200 feet of a marked swimming
area or a designated public launching ramp;

(b) Fern Ridge Lake:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a
designated public launching ramp;

(B) In the Coyote Creek Channel;

(C) Between shore and buoy line which extends southerly
from the north shore to a point approximately 200 feet of the
northern most Eugene Yacht Club mooring dock thence generally
south and west approximately 200 feet of the docks to a point
approximately 200 feet south of the Tri Pass Club mooring dock
thence generally west to the southern tip of the Tri Pass Club dock
as buoyed except for the buoyed corridor immediately south of the
Eugene Yacht Club southernmost dock;

(D) South of the buoy line which extends easterly from a point
approximately 100 yards north of the Perkins Boat Ramp to the
adjacent shoreline;

(E) In the Main Long Tom River Channel.

(c) Dexter Dam Reservoir:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a
designated public launching ramp;

(B) Within 50 feet of the causeway crossing the reservoir.

(d) Lookout Point Reservoir:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a
designated public launching ramp;

(B) East of the Southern Pacific Railroad bridge.

(e) Dorena Dam Reservoir:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a
designated public launching ramp.

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation

2016 Edition

4 -245

(11-15-15)



Chapter 250

Oregon State Marine Board

(B) Southeast of a line between markers on Humphrey Point
and the northeast shore.

(f) Cottage Grove Reservoir:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a
designated public launching ramp;

(B) South of a line between a marker on the east shore, near
the Wilson Creek area, and on the west shore near Cedar Creek.

(g) Hills Creek Reservoir:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a
designated public launching ramp;

(B) On Packard Creek arm west of Rigdon Road (USFS Road
#21);

(C) On Hills Creek south of the Hills Creek Crossing Bridge;

(D) On the Middle Fork, Willamette River south of the
Rigdon Road (USFS #21) (Upper Crossing) Bridge;

(E) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on
Larison Creek arm west of Rigdon Road (USFS Road #21).

(h) Collard Lakes;

(i) Picket Lake

(j) Munsel Lake — west of the line of marker buoys;

(k) Fall Creek Lake:

(A) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp or
marked swimming area;

(B) On Fall Creek upriver from the buoys located approxi-
mately 200 feet downstream of the Big Fall Creek Road;

(C) On Winberry Creek upriver from the buoys located
approximately 1800 feet downstream of the Winberry Creek Road
Bridge.

(1) Siltcoos Lake:

(A) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp or
marked swimming area;

(B) Between shore and buoy line at the mouth if Kiechle Arm
beginning at a point at the east shoreline of Arrowhead Point and
extending northerly approximately 900 yards to a point approxi-
mately 100 yards off shore of Camp Baker during the period of
June 1 through September 30.

(C) In Miller Arm north of the buoy line, located at the
entrance near Nightingales’ Fishing Camp, during the period of
May 1 through September 31.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH
on Leaburg Reservoir and the McKenzie River from the dam
upstream to Good Pasture Bridge.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow-
no wake” speed within 300 feet of a boat launching ramp or a boat
moorage on the following bodies of water:

(a) Cougar Reservoir;

(b) Blue River Reservoir;

(c) Siuslaw River — between the river entrance and the high-
way bridge at Mapleton.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on
the following lakes: Scott, Melakwa, Hidden, Blair, Upper Erma
Bell, Middle Erma Bell, Lower Erma Bell, Torrey, Whig, Wahanna,
Rigdon, Lower Rigdon, Kiwa, Upper Eddeeleo, Round, Betty, and
Alameda.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose in
excess of 10 MPH on Munsel Lake east of the line of marker
buoys, except from June 1 through September 30, between the
hours of 10 a.m. and 5 p.m.

(6) No person shall operate a motorboat on the McKenzie
River above Good Pasture Bridge, except a representative of the
Oregon State Police or the County Sheriff’s Office pursuant to a
criminal investigation or search and rescue operation.

(7) No person shall operate a motorboat, except with an
electric motor:

(a) In the Old Long Tom River Channel;

(b) On Fern Ridge Reservoir south of State Highway 126;

(c) On Hult Reservoir.

(8) No person shall operate a propeller-driven airboat or non-
displacement hull type hovercraft in the following areas on Fern
Ridge Reservoir where there is emergent vegetation present:

(a) Coyote Creek area — east of a line beginning at the West
Coyote Creek bridge at Highway 126 extending north approximately
one mile to a point near the mouth of Coyote Creek, then extending
north approximately 1.4 miles to a point located approximately 100
yards off shore of the northwest corner of Gibson Island;

(b) Amazon Bay area — east of a line beginning at a point
located approximately 100 yards off shore of the northwest corner
of Gibson Island extending northeast approximately one mile to the
Shore Lane access;

(c) South Marsh area — west of a line extending from a point
on the shoreline at the southern boundary of Zumwalt Park near the
end of Vista Drive extending southeast approximately one mile to a
point on the shoreline at the tip of Perkins Peninsula;

(d) Long Tom Area — southwest of a line beginning at a point
on the shore line at the end of Moyer Lane extending southeast
approximately 0.9 miles to a point on the west shoreline of the
Jeans Peninsula at the north end of Winter Lane.

(9) No person shall operate a motorboat north and east of a
line across the entrance of Bannister Cove on Lookout Point Reser-

voir, as marked.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175
Hist.: MB 21, f. 8-23-63; MB 27, f. 6-3-65; MB 31, f. 6-20-66; MB 42, f. 12-3-
68; MB 44, f. 8-21-69; MB 48, f. 6-28-71, ef. 7-25-71; MB 49, f. 8-14-72, ef. 9-
1-72; MB 3-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 6-22-79; MB 5-1979, f. 7-31-79, ef. 8-1-79;
Renumbered from 250-020-0131; MB 8-1981, f. & ef. 11-16-81; MB 5-1982, f.
& ef. 6-1-82; MB 6-1982, f. & ef. 6-1-82; MB 15-1984, f. 11-30-84, ef. 12-1-
84; MB 6-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95; MB 9-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-29-96; OSMB
2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-00; OSMB 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-01; OSMB 1-
2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-08; OSMB 3-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-10; OSMB 9-
2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-6-10 thru 9-30-10; Administrative correction 10-
26-10; OSMB 13-2010, f. & cert. ef 11-1-10; OSMB 5-2011(Temp), . 3-28-11,
cert. ef. 4-8-11 thru 4-11-11; Administrative correction, 4-25-11; [OSMB 10-
2011(Temp). f. 6-30-11, cert. ef. 7-1-11 thru 10-1-11; OSMB 10-2011(Temp)
Suspended by OSMB 11-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-5-11 thru 10-1-11,
Administrative correction, 8-25-11]; OSMB 4-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-2-12
thru 4-30-12; OSMB 8-2012, . 4-24-12, cert. ef. 5-1-12; OSMB 1-2013(Temp),
f. 3-18-13, cert. ef. 4-12-13 thru 4-27-13; Administrative correction, 5-22-13;
OSMB 6-2013, f. 10-28-13, cert. ef. 11-1-13; OSMB 8-2014(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 4-11-14 thru 5-3-14; Administrative correction, 5-21-14; OSMB 1-
2015(Temp), f. 3-24-15, cert. ef. 4-10-15 thru 4-20-15; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-
15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0231
Boat Operations in Lincoln County

(1) Depoe Bay. No person shall operate a motorboat in excess
of 3 MPH on Depoe Bay, and the entrance channel east of the
Highway 101 Bridge.

(2) Devils Lake and adjacent waters:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
3 MPH within 200 feet of the swimming area at “Sand Point Park”
formerly known as “Viewpoint Park;”

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
3 MPH on the water adjacent to the “D” River, known locally as
Hostetters Canal;

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
5 MPH on that part of the “D” River which is west of an
established marker on the south bank of the river near the outlet
from Devils Lake.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat powered by a jet
pump drive on the:

(a) Alsea River, upstream of Hatchery Creek (approximate
RM 12);

(b) Siletz River, upstream of Morgan’s Park boat ramp.

(4) No person shall operate a boat on the Alsea River in
excess of a “slow-no wake,” speed within 200 feet of marinas,
launch ramps and private docks.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those
propelled by an electric motor, on Olalla Lake.

(6) No person shall operate a motorboat powered by an engine
with greater than 15 horsepower on the Salmon River upstream of
River Mile 3 a point approximately three-fourths mile west of the

Highway 101 Bridge, as marked.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
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Hist.: MB 15, f. 8-6-62; MB 16, f. 8-20-62; Renumbered from 250-020-0090;
MB 22-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 12-3-85; MB 23-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 12-10-85;
MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 11-1988, f. & cert. ef. 6-28-88;
OSMB 13-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-01; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-
15

250-020-0239
Boat Operations in Linn County on Big Lake

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow-no
wake” speed in the following areas:

(1) Within 200 feet of the shore.

(2) Within 200 feet of any designated swimming area.

(3) Within the designated posted area surrounding the Big
Lake boat landing and ramp.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 4-1980, f. & ef. 9-15-80; OSMB 4-2015, . 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0240
Boat Operations in Linn County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose in the
following areas:

(a) On Lake Ann;

(b) On Carmen Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH
in the following areas:

(a) On Lost Lake;

(b) On Smith Reservoir;

(c) On Trail Bridge Reservoir;

(d) On East, Middle, and West Freeway Lakes.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed within a distance of 50 feet of the boat
dock and launching ramps at Bowman Park in the City of Albany.

(4) The following area is designated a racing motorboat
testing area: On the Willamette River near Albany from the
Southern Pacific Railroad Bridge to the east boundary of Bowman
Park. Testing will be limited to Wednesdays between the hours of 8
a.m. and 12 noon.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled

by electric motors on Cheadle Lake.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 34, f. & ef. 6-2-67; MB 47, f. 7-14-70, ef. 8-11-70; MB 50, f. 4-2-73,
ef. 4-15-73; Renumbered from 250-020-0180; MB 5-1980, f. & ef. 9-15-80;
MB 12-1986, f. & ef. 12-8-86; OSMB 4-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-10; OSMB 4-
2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0241
Boat Operations on Foster Reservoir in Linn County

(1) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers
under tow must keep 200 feet or more from shore. A safe take-off
or landing will not be considered “safe” unless it can be accom-
plished without risk to any swimmer or craft within 200 feet from
shore line. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers
must be picked up by the boat before coming within 200 feet from
shore line and brought to shore under the usual speed restrictions (5
MPH within 200 feet of shore). Boats towing skiers may exceed 5
MPH to the extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing posi-
tion, within the 200 feet from shore line only when taking off or
landing as outlined in this section.

(2) All take-offs and landings shall be made at a 45° angle to
the shore.

(3) No boat shall follow behind a skier closer than 300 feet
nor cross the towing boat’s bow less than 200 feet nor alongside a
skier closer than 100 feet.

(4) All boats towing water skiers or other towed equipment
shall proceed on a counter-clockwise course about the lake.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat at speeds in excess of
5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within 200 feet of the shore, subject to section (1) of this
rule;

(b) Upstream from the highway bridge crossing the Middle
Santiam Arm;

(c) Upstream from the highway bridge crossing the South
Santiam Arm;

(d) Within 200 feet of any designated swimming area;

(e) Within the posted areas surrounding the Gedney Creek and
Lewis Creek Boat Landings,

(f) Within 100 feet of the Edgewater RV Resort and Marina,
as marked.

(6) No person shall operate a boat in the area between the
trash boom and the dam.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.. MB 43, f. 7-18-69; Renumbered from 250-020-0181; OSMB 12-

2010(Temp), f. 5-28-10, cert. ef. 6-1-10 thru 10-31-10; Administrative correction
11-23-10; OSMB 7-2011, f. 4-25-11, cert. ef. 5-2-11

250-020-0242
Boat Operations on Green Peter Reservoir in Linn County

(1) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers
under tow must keep 200 feet or more from shore. A safe take-off
or landing will not be considered “safe” unless it can be accom-
plished without risk to any swimmer or craft within 200 feet from
shore line. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers
must be picked up by the boat before coming within 200 feet from
shore line and brought to shore under the usual speed restrictions
(10 MPH within 200 feet of shore). Boats towing skiers may
exceed 10 MPH to the extent necessary to maintain the skiers in a
skiing position, within the 200 feet from shore line only when
taking off or landing as outlined in this section.

(2) All take-offs and landings shall be made at a 45° angle to
the shore.

(3) No boat shall follow behind a skier closer than 300 feet
nor cross the towing boat’s bow less than 200 feet nor alongside a
skier closer than 100 feet.

(4) All boats towing water skiers or other towed equipment
shall proceed on a counter-clockwise course about the lake.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat at speeds in excess of
10 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within 200 feet of shore, subject to section (1) of this rule
excluding the shore of Quartzville Arm from the south line of
Section 20, T. 12S., T. 3E., W.M. upstream to Rocky Top Bridge;

(b) Within the Green Peter Creek Arm as posted;

(c) Within the posted area surrounding the boat launching
ramp in Thistle Creek Arm;

(d) Within the Whitcomb Creek Arm upstream from the high-
way bridge or within the posted area surrounding the Whitcomb
Creek Boat Launching Ramp;

(e) Within the Quartzville Creek Arm upstream from Rocky
Top Bridge;

(f) Within the Middle Fork Santiam River Arm upstream from
a point approximately one mile below the Weyerhauser Bridge;

(g) Within the Tally Creek Arm upstream from the Weyerhauser
Bridge;

(h) Within the Rumbaugh Creek Arm as posted;

(i) Within 200 feet of any approved swimming area.

(6) No person shall operate a boat in the area between the

trash boom and the dam.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 43, f. 7-18-69; Renumbered from 250-020-0182

250-020-0243
Boat Operations and Water Skiing on Detroit Dam Reservoir
and Tributaries in Linn and Marion counties

(1) Towed Equipment (applies to surfboarding and other types
of towed equipment as well as water skiing):

(a) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers
under tow must keep 200 feet or more from shore. A safe take-off
or landing will not be considered “safe” unless it can be accom-
plished without risk to any swimmer or craft within 200 feet from
shore line. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers
must be picked up by the boat before coming within 200 feet from
shore line and brought to shore under the usual speed restrictions (5
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MPH within 200 feet of shore). Boats towing skiers may exceed 5
MPH to the extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing posi-
tion, within the 200 feet from shore line, only when taking off or
landing under safe conditions as outlined in this subsection. How-
ever, water skiing, including take-off and landing, is prohibited in
the areas listed in subsections (2)(b), (c), (d), (¢) and (f) of this rule;

(b) All take-offs and landings will be made perpendicular to
the shore line;

(c) No person shall operate a boat following behind a skier
closer than 300 feet, nor cross the towing boat’s bow less than 200
feet, nor alongside a skier closer than 100 feet.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed in the following areas;

(a) Within 200 feet of the shoreline (except under conditions
authorized in subsection (1)(a) of this rule;

(b) Within 200 yards of the northwest shore of Piety Knob;

(c) In the Breitenbush River north of the Breitenbush River
Highway 22 Bridge;

(d) Within 200 feet of an approved and marked swimming
area;

(e) In the North Santiam River above a point 1,100 feet north-
west of Hoover Rock, as marked;

(f) In the Breitenbush Arm between the Breitenbush River
Highway 22 bridge and a point approximately 2000 feet downstream
of the bridge, as marked.

(3) Water skiing, including takeoffs and landing is prohibited
in areas listed in subsections (2)(b), (c), (d), (e) and (f) of this rule.

(4) No person shall operate a boat inside the log boom

enclosure around Detroit Lake Dam and Big Cliff Dam.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195
Hist.: MB 6, f. 8-19-60; Renumbered from 250-020-0040; MB 2-1994, f. &
cert. ef. 3-23-94; MB 7-1996, f. 4-12-96, cert. ef. 5-1-96; OSMB 3-2000, f. &
cert. ef. 7-14-00; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0245
Boat Operations in Linn and Marion Counties

No person shall operate a motor-boat with a jet pump drive on
the South Santiam River upstream of the Lebanon Dam (approximate

RM 21).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; Suspended by MB 1-1988(Temp), f.
& cert. ef. 2-19-88; MB 6-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88

250-020-0250
Boat Operations in Malheur County

(1) Lake Owyhee: No person shall operate a motorboat in
excess of a “slow—no wake” speed within:

(a) Cherry Creek Inlet;

(b) 200 feet of a marked swimming area or launching ramp.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 15 MPH
on Lake Owyhee or the mainstem Owyhee River within the desig-
nated boundary of the Owyhee Wild and Scenic River beginning at
approximately RM 70 as marked.

(3) Bully Creek Reservoir: No person shall operate a motorboat
in excess of a “slow—no wake” speed within 200 feet of a marked

swimming area or launching ramp.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 45, f. 8-25-69; Renumbered from 250-020-0210; MB 21-1987, f. 12-
31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 7-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88; MB 6-1997, f. &
cert. ef. 5-30-97; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0259
Boat Operations in Marion County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled
by electric motors on the following lakes: Mission or Goose Lake;
Silverton Reservoir; Walter Wirth Lake; and Elk Lake.

(2) No person shall operate a boat on the North Santiam River
from Niagara Park to Packsaddle Park, effective January 1, 2011.
This rule provision will sunset on April 30, 2013.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 6-1980, f. & ef. 9-15-80; MB 11-1982, f. 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82;
OSMB 7-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-02; OSMB 9-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-12-06;
OSMB 14-2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10

250-020-0260
Boat Operations and Water Skiing on Detroit Dam Reservoir
and Tributaries in Marion and Linn counties

(1) Towed Equipment (applies to surfboarding and other types
of towed equipment as well as water skiing):

(a) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers
under tow must keep 200 feet or more from shore. A safe take-off
or landing will not be considered “safe” unless it can be accom-
plished without risk to any swimmer or craft within 200 feet from
shore line. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers
must be picked up by the boat before coming within 200 feet from
shore line and brought to shore under the usual speed restrictions (5
MPH within 200 feet of shore). Boats towing skiers may exceed 5
MPH to the extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing posi-
tion, within the 200 feet from shore line, only when taking off or
landing under safe conditions as outlined in this subsection. How-
ever, water skiing, including take-off and landing, is prohibited in
the areas listed in subsections (2) (b), (¢), (d),(e) and (f) of this rule;

(b) All take-offs and landings will be made perpendicular to
the shore line;

(c) No person shall operate a boat following behind a skier
closer than 300 feet, nor cross the towing boat’s bow less than 200
feet, nor alongside a skier closer than 100 feet.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
a “slow—no wake” speed in the following areas;

(a) Within 200 feet of the shoreline (except under conditions
authorized in subsection (1)(a) of this rule;

(b) Within 200 yards of the northwest shore of Piety Knob;

(¢) In the Breitenbush River north of the Breitenbush River
Highway 22 Bridge;

(d) Within 200 feet of an approved and marked swimming
area;

(e) In the North Santiam River above a point 1,100 feet north-
west of Hoover Rock, as marked;

(f) In the Breitenbush Arm between the Breitenbush River
Highway 22 bridge and a point approximately 2000 feet downstream
of the bridge, as marked.

(3) Water skiing, including takeoffs and landing is prohibited
in areas listed in subsections (2)(b), (c), (d), (¢) and (f) of this rule.

(4) No person shall operate a boat inside the log boom
enclosure around Detroit Lake Dam and Big Cliff Dam.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Hist.: MB 6, f. 8-19-60; Renumbered from 250-020-0040; MB 2-1994, f. &

cert. ef. 3-23-94; MB 7-1996, f. 4-12-96, cert. ef. 5-1-96; OSMB 4-2000, f. &

cert. ef. 7-14-00; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0261
Boat Operations on the Willamette River in Marion and Polk
Counties

No boat shall be operated at a speed in excess of 5 MPH on
the Willamette River, in Polk and Marion Counties, in the following
locations:

(1) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp or
designated swimming area.

(2) From a point 50 feet south of the Center Street Bridge
between Salem and West Salem and a point 50 feet north of the
railroad bridge on Marion Street between Salem and West Salem.

(3) Within 100 feet of the moorage dock at the Salem
waterfront park.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 17, f.2-5-63; Renumbered from 250-020-0140; OSMB 4-2007(Temp),

f. & cert. ef. 5-2-07 thru 10-28-07; Administrative correction 11-17-07; OSMB

1-2009, f. 4-15-09, cert. ef. 5-1-09

250-020-0263
Boat Operations in Marion and Yamhill Counties

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH
during July and August between river miles 44.5 and 45.0, as
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marked during the hours of 7-10 p.m. Thursdays through Sundays,
during evenings on which the historic Champoeg Pageant is per-
formed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 10-1987, f. & ef. 5-5-87

250-020-0270
Boat Operations in Morrow County

(1) Lake Penland. No person shall operate a motorboat except
those propelled by electric motors on Lake Penland.

(2) Willow Creek Lake:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those propelled
by electric motors on the Balm Fork Arm, upstream of a point
approximately 1,000 feet downstream of the Balm Fork bridge, as
marked;

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed within:

(A) Willow Creek Arm upstream of a point on the south shore
approximately 1,000 feet east of the boat launching ramp, as
marked;

(B) 200 feet of a launching ramp.

(c) No person shall operate a boat for any reason within the
buoy line 100 feet from the dam;

(d) Persons operating in excess of 5 MPH in the otherwise
unrestricted portions of the lake shall proceed about the lake in a

counter clockwise direction.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 49, f. 8-14-72, ef. 9-1-72; Renumbered from 250-020-0220; MB 5-
1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85; MB 9-1985, f. & ef. 4-24-85; MB 5-1992, f. & cert. ef.
3-18-92; OSMB 7-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-02; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert.
ef.5-1-15

250-020-0280
Boat Operations in Multnomah County

(1) No person shall operate a boat in excess of 5 MPH:

(a) In North Portland Harbor (Oregon Slough):

(A) From the east end of North Portland Harbor (Oregon
Slough) to a point 800 yards west of the Burlington Northern Rail-
road Bridge, as marked;

(B) Within 200 feet of a launching ramp, moorage or
houseboat from the east end of North Portland Harbor (Oregon
Slough) eastward along the south shore to the Lower Airport wing
dike.

(b) Within 300 feet of the entrance to and in Rooster Rock
boat channel;

(c) Within 200 feet of west shore, as buoyed, between the
southern boundary of Willamette Park Launch Ramp and the
northern boundary of the Willamette Sailing Club;

(d) Within Hayden Bay. The Bay is considered to be all waters
south and west of a line 200 feet north of the Northeast point of
Hayden Island and 200 feet north of the Northwest point of Toma-
hawk Island as marked;

(e) Within 200 feet of the Oregon Yacht Club floating home
moorage as buoyed (a distance of approximately 1,5000 feet);

(f) Within 200 feet of houseboat moorages in the Government
Island South Channel;

(g) No person shall operate a boat in excess of a “slow-no
wake” speed on the Columbia River south of the buoys along the
northern shore of Government Island in the waters adjacent to the
1-205 Bridge, commonly referred to as Commodore’s Cove, as
marked;

(h) Within 100 feet of the Landing Boat Club at RM 15,
Willamette River.

(2) No person shall operate a watercraft in excess of a “slow-
no wake” speed in:

(a) The Ross Island Lagoon; and

(b) The Holgate Channel from a line extending northeast from
the north side of the Ross Island Lagoon mouth to the east side of
the channel, and to a line extending from the southern (upstream)
tip of Ross Island due south to the Oregon Yacht Club.

(c) This restriction does not apply to:

(A) Federally documented commercial vessels required to be
inspected under Federal law, including those operated for sand and
gravel operations, with the exception of passenger vessels of less
than 100 gross tons, which are subject to the restriction;

(B) Safety launches while accompanying an organized rowing
or paddling program, club or school.

(3) No person shall operate a boat in excess of a “slow-no
wake” speed on the Columbia River within 300 feet of shore
between the Big Eddy Wing dike and the wing dike east of the
entrance to the Chinook Landing boat Basin and within the
Chinook Landing Boat Basin, as marked.

(4) A “pass-through” zone is established in the south channel
of the Columbia River, adjacent to McGuire Island between the
east end of Big Eddy Marina and the west end of McGuire Point
Marina as marked.

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat pulling a water skier
or towed device in this zone.

(b) No person shall operate a personal watercraft, as defined
in OAR 250-021-0020, in continuous operation above 5 MPH in
this area, except to transit directly through this zone.

(c) No person shall operate any motorboat in excess of a
“slow-no wake” speed within 200 feet of any houseboat moorage
within the “pass-through” zone.

(5) No person shall operate a boat in excess of 3 MPH in
Rooster Rock Boat Basin.

(6) The following locations are designated racing motorboat
testing areas:

(a) On the Willamette River in Swan Island Lagoon. Testing is
limited to the hours of 3—-6 p.m. on Thursdays, Fridays, and Satur-
days;

(b) On the Columbia River between the county launching
ramp at 43rd Street and Buoy #18 (NOS Chart #18531). Testing is
limited to the hours of 8 am—12 noon, Tuesday through Friday.

(7) No person shall operate a motorboat on Benson Lake.

(8) No person shall operate a boat for any reason within any
restricted area at any time without first obtaining permission from
the District Engineer, Corps of Engineers, U.S. Army, or his duly
authorized representative.

(9) At Bonneville Dam.

(a) The Waters restricted to only Government vessels are
described as all waters of the Columbia River and Bradford Slough
within 1,000 feet above and 2,000 feet below the powerhouse. The
restricted areas will be designated by signs;

(b) No person shall operate a boat, including a commercial
recreational tour boat subject to inspection and licensing by the
U.S. Coast Guard, within the Boating Restricted Zone located
below Bonneville lock and dam bounded by a line commencing
from the westernmost tip of Robins Island on the Oregon side of
the Columbia River and running at a South 65 degrees West
direction a distance of approximately 2100 feet to a point 50 feet
upstream of the Hamilton Island Boat Ramp on the Washington
side of the Columbia River, as marked.

(10) No person shall operate or anchor a boat in the following
described zone in Oregon Slough (North Portland Harbor):

(a) Commencing at the northwesterly corner of that tract of
land described in a Bargain and Sale Deed to RHODIA, Inc.,
recorded as Document No. 98028586, Multnomah County Deed
Records; Thence, along the northeasterly line of said tract, S
47°46° E, 513.54 feet to the northwest corner of the Alexander
Brown Donation Land Claim; Thence, along the north line of said
Claim S 48°30° E, 764 .51 feet to the POINT OF BEGINNING of
the SITE AREA being described herein; Thence, N 29°58°25” E,
133.84 feet; Thence, S 62°44°22” E, 461.47 feet; Thence, S
29°58°25” W, 227.76 feet to the northeasterly line of said tract;
Thence, along said northeasterly line, N 61°15" W, 60.85 feet;
Thence, along said northeasterly line, N 52°30° W, 115.5 feet;
Thence, along said northeasterly line, N 48°30° W, 291 .49 feet to
the POINT OF BEGINNING as marked.

(b) This area of land contains 2.0 acres (87,008 sq. Ft.), more
or less.
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(c) The intent of this description is to describe a line that sur-
rounds the limits of the sediment cap location, plus a buffer zone.

(d) Bearings based on Document No. 98028586, Multnomah
County Deed Records.

(11) No person shall anchor a boat at approximately River
Mile 7 of the Willamette River in Multnomah County described in
Department of State Lands Easement No. 31530-EA, Exhibit A —
Legal Description — Permanent Easement.

(12) No person shall operate a boat in the Willamette River:

(a) In the area beneath the temporary construction bridges or
lifting cranes used for construction of the Portland-Milwaukie
Light Rail Bridge near river mile 13.8.

(b) In excess of a “slow—no wake” speed as marked 500 feet
upriver and 500 feet downriver from the centerline of the bridge
construction project.

(c) In the area of the Sellwood Bridge Construction Project,
from approximately 375 feet from the west river bank and 200 feet
upstream and downstream of the bridge measured at the bridge
centerline; and about 420 feet from the east river bank and about
200 feet upstream and downstream of the bridge measured at the
bridge centerline.

(d) In excess of a “slow—no wake” speed as marked 500 feet
upriver and 500 feet downriver from the centerline of the Sellwood
Bridge construction project.

(13) The Sellwood Bridge Construction rule provisions will
sunset at the completion of construction in December 2015.

(14) The Portland-Milwaukie Light Rail Bridge rule provisions
will sunset upon removal of the temporary construction bridges or

no later than September 30, 2014.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 23, f. 9-24-63; MB 26, f. 7-20-64; MB 51, f. 5-3-73, ef. 5-15-73; MB
61, f. 7-26-74, ef. 7-26-74(Temp) & 8-25-74(Perm); Renumbered from 250-
020-0155; MB 10-1982, . 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82; MB 12-1982, f. 12-29-82, ef.
12-31-82; MB 6-1983, f. 9-28-83, ef. 10-3-83; MB 17-1984, f. & ef. 12-3-84;
MB 6-1985, f. & ef. 2-5-85; MB 10-1985, f. & ef. 4-24-85; MB 15-1985, f. 10-
18-85, ef. 10-21-85; MB 20-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 11-15-87; MB 5-1990, f. &
cert. ef. 7-19-90; MB 11-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-16-92; MB 2-1993, f. & cert. ef.
2-3-93; MB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-96; OSMB 7-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
5-19-98 thru 11-15-98; OSMB 7-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-18-99; OSMB 2-2005, f.
& cert. ef. 1-20-05; OSMB 8-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-12-06; OSMB 3-20009, f.
10-21-09, cert. ef. 1-1-10; OSMB 4-2011, f. 3-7-11, cert. ef. 5-25-11; OSMB 8-
2011, f. 4-25-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11; OSMB 9-2011(Temp), f. 5-13-11, cert. ef. 6-
15-11 thru 10-31-11; Administrative correction, 11-18-11; OSMB 16-
2011(Temp), f. 11-22-11, cert. ef. 12-1-11 thru 5-28-12; OSMB 17-2011(Temp),
f.12-22-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 5-28-12; OSMB 5-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-12;
OSMB 3-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-8-13 thru 10-31-13; OSMB 4-2013, f. &
cert. ef. 6-28-13; OSMB 5-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13 thru 10-31-13;
Administrative correction, 11-22-13; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0281
Boat Operations in Multnomah County

No person shall use a motor except an electric motor to propel
a boat on Smith and Bybee Lakes in Multnomah County.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-3-93

250-020-0282
Boat Operations in Multnomah County on Multnomah
Channel

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “slow-no
wake” speed on Multnomah Channel within 200 feet of boat or
floating home moorages located between Hadley’s Landing (RM

17.5) dock and the main Willamette.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 14-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0285
Boat Operations in Multnomah and Columbia Counties

Sauvie Island Wildlife Area:

(1) It is unlawful to operate a boat on any water within the
Sauvie Island Wildlife Area from October 10 to January 20, with
the following exceptions:

(a) Persons possessing a valid Sauvie Island Hunt Permit.

(b) The Gilbert River from its mouth upstream to a point 100
feet upstream of the Gilbert River Dock as marked.

(2) Except for the Gilbert River, it is unlawful to operate a
motorboat in excess of a “slow no—wake” speed limit on any
waters within the Sauvie Island Wildlife Area.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 7-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; OSMB 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-15-02;

OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0295
Boat Operations in Sherman County

(1) No person shall operate any boat for any reason within any
restricted area at any time without first obtaining permission from
the District Engineer, Corps. of Engineers, U.S. Army, or his duly
authorized representative.

(2) At the John Day Dam. The waters restricted to only gov-
ernment vessels are described as all of the waters within a distance
of about 1,000 yards above the dam lying south of the navigation
lock channel leading to the lock and bounded by a line commencing
at the upstream end of the guide wall, and running in a direction
54°01°37” true for a distance of 771 yards, thence 144°01°37” true
across the river to the south shoreline, as marked. The downstream
limit is marked by orange and white striped monuments on both the
north and south shores. These monuments are signs placed very

nearly at the boat fishing deadline of 3,000 feet below the dam.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 6-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-90

250-020-0300
Boat Operations on the Nehalem River in Tillamook and
Clatsop Counties

(1) South Fork Nehalem. No person shall operate a boat with
a motor rated in excess of 15 HP, from the mouth of Peterson Creek
(RM 10.3) to Nehalem River Falls (RM 15.7), from September 1
through March 30.

(2) North Fork Nehalem. No person shall operate a motorboat
above Aldervale.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 14-1985, f. & ef. 7-31-85

250-020-0308
Boat Operations in Tillamook County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those
propelled by electric motors on the:

(a) Kilchis River, upstream of the Highway 101 Bridge Parks
Boat Ramp;

(b) Miami River, upstream of the Highway 101 Bridge;

(c) Wilson River, upstream of the Sollie Smith Bridge Boat
Ramp;

(d) Trask River, upstream of the Highway 101 Bridge.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a “Slow—
No Wake,” maximum 5 MPH speed in the following areas;

(a) Kilchis River, from RM 0 (as marked) to the Parks Boat
Ramp, upstream of Highway 101 Bridge;

(b) Wilson River, from a point 500 feet downstream from the
confluence with Hall Slough (as marked) to the Sollie Smith
Bridge Boat Ramp;

(c) Trask River, above RM 0, to the Highway 101 Bridge (as
marked);

(d) Hoquarton Slough, entire length;

(e) Tillamook River, above the 3rd Street Bridge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 12-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-16-92;

MB 8-1993, f. 12-27-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

250-020-0309
Boat Operations at Three Arch Rocks National Wildlife
Refuge, Pacific Ocean, Tillamook County

(1) No person shall operate a boat for any purpose within 500
feet of the principal rocks at Three Arch Rocks National Wildlife
Refuge during the period from May 1 to September 15. Vessel
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transit through the closed area, including the arches of the rocks is
prohibited. Storm Rock, to the west of Shag Rock, is the westerly
boundary of the seasonal closed area.

(2) Persons operating boats near Three Arch Rocks National
Wildlife Refuge should exercise caution to avoid any disturbance
of nesting birds and marine mammals. Harassment of birds and

marine wildlife is strictly prohibited under federal and state law.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 3-1994, f. 3-23-94, cert. ef. 5-1-94

250-020-0310
Boat Operations on Certain Waters in Tillamook County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
3 MPH within the Bay City Boat Basin.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
3 MPH within the Garibaldi Boat Basin.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
5 MPH within the diked areas of the county boat landings on Bay
Ocean Road and Netarts Bay.

(4) Following special rules apply to Lake Lytle:

(a) “Towed equipment” applies to surfboarding and other
types of towed equipment, as well as water skiing;

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
10 MPH between the hours of one hour after sunset and 8 a.m.,
official time of the State of Oregon;

(c) All boats towing water skiers or other types of towed
equipment shall proceed on a counter-clockwise pattern south on
the west shore, east on the south shore and north on the east shore,
and west on the north shore;

(d) No motorboat shall follow behind a skier or other towed
equipment closer than 200 feet, nor follow alongside a skier or
towed equipment closer than 100 feet;

(e) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH
within 300 feet of the south end of the Lake nor within 100 feet of
the east shore and the swimming area.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH
on:

(a) Smith Lake;

(b) Cape Meares Lake.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 12, f. 3-27-62; MB 13, f. 8-6-62; Renumbered from 250-020-0070;

MB 8-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; MB 12-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-16-92; MB 14-

1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-96

250-020-0311
Boat Operations on the Nehalem River in Tillamook County

No motorboat shall be operated at a speed in excess of 5 MPH
within a distance of 200 feet of a boat moorage or boat launching
ramp except under the following conditions:

(1) A boat towing a water skier or other “towed equipment,”
when departing from a boat moorage may exceed 5 MPH to the
extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing position when
such departure can be made under the conditions defined in these
regulations as a “safe take-off.” The boat towing the skier or other
towed equipment departing a boat moorage under these conditions
will proceed directly out of the area where the five mile per hour
speed restriction applies. The five mile per hour speed restriction
applies to the boat’s return to the boat moorage.

(2) Definitions:

(a) “Towed Equipment” applies to surfboarding and other
types of towed equipment as well as to water skiing;

(b) A “Safe Take-Off” is a boat’s departure from a site with
towed equipment if such departure can be accomplished without
risk of injury or damage to any person or property, including water-
craft.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 16, f. 8-20-62; Renumbered from 250-020-0071

250-020-0312
Boat Operations on the Big Nestucca River in Tillamook
County

The following speed restrictions apply to motorboats operating
in the Big Nestucca River above the Woods Bridge, “Up the
River”; and below the Woods Bridge, “Down the River” in Tillam-
ook County on Market Road 3A:

(1) Motorboats operating above the Woods Bridge will reduce
speed to 5 MPH or less when within 200 feet of a boat moorage.

(2) Motorboats operating below the Woods Bridge will reduce
speed to 5 MPH or less when within 100 feet of a boat moorage or
boat launching ramp.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on
that part of the river above Cloverdale between November 1 and

March 31.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 16, f. 8-20-62; MB 42, f. 12-3-68; Renumbered from 250-020-0072

250-020-0323
Boat Operations in Umatilla County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed within 200 feet of a designated public
launching ramp or a marked swimming area.

(2) All motorboats, including those towing waterskiers oper-
ating from the Cold Springs and Sand Station Recreation area’s on
the Columbia River shall maintain a counter clockwise traffic
pattern, including launching and landing, as posted.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH
on Hat Rock Creek Inlet from 100 yards south of the inlet’s conflu-
ence with the Columbia River.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow—no wake” speed on the Umatilla River between its conflu-
ence with the Columbia River and the Three Mile Irrigation Dam.

(5) No person shall operate any boat for any reason within any
restricted area at any time without first obtaining permission from
the District Engineer, Corps. of Engineers, U.S. Army, or his duly
authorized representative.

(6) At McNary Dam. The waters restricted to all vessels
except to Government vessels are described as all waters com-
mencing at the upstream end of the Oregon fish ladder thence run-
ning in the direction of 39°28’ true for a distance of 540 yards;
thence 7°49’ true for a distance of 1,078 yards; thence 277°10° for
a distance of 468 yards to the upstream end of the navigation lock
guidewall. The downstream limits commence at the downstream
end of the navigation lock guidewall thence to the Oregon shore at

right angles and parallel to the axis of the dam, as marked.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 5-1984, f.2-14-84, ef. 2-15-84; MB 16-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 7-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-90; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0330
Boat Operations in Union County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on:

(a) Grande Ronde Lake;

(b) Mud Lake;

(c) Little Morgan Lake;

(d) Morgan Lake; and

(e) Jubilee Lake except that on Jubilee Lake electric motors
are permitted.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
5 MPH on Pilcher Creek Reservoir.

(3) No person shall operate a boat for any purpose within 700

feet of Thief Valley Dam as marked.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 40, f. 4-5-68; MB 7-1978, f. 10-3-78, ef. 10-5-78; Renumbered from
250-020-0190; MB 7-1980, f. & ef. 12-31-80; MB 11-1985, f. & ef. 4-24-85;
MB 8-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88
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250-020-0340
Boat Operations in Wallowa County

(1) Wallowa Lake. No person shall operate a boat in excess of
5 MPH within 200 feet from shore along the west side of Wallowa
Lake in the area bounded by the county boat ramp on the north and
the mouth of the Wallowa River on the south.

EXCEPTION: Boats towing water skiers may exceed 5 MPH on safe

take offs and landings. A “safe” take-off or landing is one without risk to

any swimmer or craft within 200 feet from shoreline.

(2) Snake River. No person, other than a member of the
Department of State Policy, county sheriff, and governmental
agencies of this state and the federal government having jurisdiction
over the following described waters, shall use a motor for
propelling a boat for any purpose on the Snake River between Wild
Sheep Rapid and Kirkwood Historic Ranch without a valid permit
from the Hells Canyon National Recreation Area or Wallowa-
Whitman National forest.

(3) Grande Ronde River. No person, other than a member of
the Oregon State Police, county sheriff, and governmental agencies
of this state, and agencies of the federal government having juris-
diction over the following described waters, shall use a motor to
propel a boat for any purpose on the Grande Ronde River between
the Umatilla National Forest Boundary (1.5 miles below the con-
fluence with the Wallowa River at approximately RM 80) down-
stream to the Oregon/Washington state line; except for landowner

access for land management activities.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 3-1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85; MB 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-95

250-020-0350
Boat Operations in Wasco County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled
by electric motors on Rock Creek Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH
on Pine Hollow Reservoir, except between July 1 and the day fol-
lowing Labor Day, in the area west of a buoy line.

(3) No person shall operate a boat for any reason in any
restricted area at any time without first obtaining permission from
the District Engineer, Corps. Of Engineers, U.S. Army, or his duly
authorized representative.

(4) At The Dalles Dam. The waters restricted to only Govern-
ment vessels are described as all downstream waters other than
those of the navigation lock downstream approach channel which
lie between the Wasco County Bridge and the project axis including
those waters between the powerhouse and the Oregon shore and all
upstream waters other than those of the navigation lock upstream
approach channel which lie between the project axis and a line pro-
jected from the upstream end of the navigation lock upstream guide
wall to the junction of the concrete structure with the earth fill
section of the dam near the upstream end of the powerhouse as
marked.

(5) On Lake Bonneville in Salisbury Slough at West Mayer
State Park. No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a
“slow no—wake” speed between May 1 and September 30 west of
a line originating at the east end of West Mayer State Park
swimming beach and extending northeast across the slough to the
east end of spit of land separating the slough from the main lake, as

marked.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 41, f. 9-18-68; MB 46, f. 4-15-70, ef. 4-17-70; Renumbered from
250-020-0195; MB 8-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-90; OSMB 3-1998, f. & cert. ef.
4-3-98; OSMB 3-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-28-06; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert.
ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0360
Boat Operations on Henry Hagg Lake in Washington County
(1) All boats shall be operated at a “slow—no wake” speed
when within 200 feet of shore or marked swim area and on all
waters of the lake lying westerly of a buoyed line located as
follows: From a point on the north shore approximately 1,533
yards northwest of Scoggin Dam, to a point on the south shore
approximately 2,465 yards northwest of Scoggin Dam.

(2) Motorboats being operated in the area east of the buoyed
line and more than 200 feet from shore shall not exceed a speed of
35 MPH and shall at all times move in a counter-clockwise direc-
tion.

(3) No boats shall enter a buoyed or designated swim area
except boats operated by lifeguards or official police boats during

emergency operations.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 65, f. 4-17-75, ef. 4-17-75(Temp), 5-11-75(Perm); Renumbered from
250-020-0230; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef. 5-1-15

250-020-0370
Boat Operations in Washington County

No person shall operate a motorboat on the Tualatin River for
the purpose of towing a person on water skis, knee board, wake
board, tube or similar device.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: OSMB 7-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-00

250-020-0385
Boat Operations in Yamhill and Marion Counties

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH
during July and August between river miles 44.5 and 45.0, as
marked during the hours of 7-10 p.m. Thursdays through Sundays,
during evenings on which the historic Champoeg Pageant is per-
formed.

(2) On the Willamette River from the Hwy 219 Bridge at RM
48.5 to the upper end of Willow Island at RM 31.5, the following
rules apply:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of
a “slow—no wake” speed within 100 feet of private docks,
boathouses or moorages legally permitted by the Oregon Department
of State Lands.

(b) No person shall use wake-enhancing devices, including
ballast tanks, wedges or hydrofoils or other mechanical devices, or
un-even loading of persons or gear, to artificially operate bow-
high.

(c) Effective 12:01 am, May 1, 2014 and ending October 31,
2014, 11:59 pm, the use of wake-enhancing devices from the Hwy

219 Bridge at RM 48.5 to RM 47 are allowed.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
Hist.: MB 9-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; OSMB 9-2008, f. 10-22-08, cert. ef. 1-
1-09; OSMB 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-14; OSMB 4-2015, f. 4-30-15, cert. ef.
5-1-15

DIVISION 21
PERSONAL WATERCRAFT RULES

250-021-0010
Scope

The following rules shall govern the operation of personal
watercraft operating on the waters of this state. These rules are in
addition to all other applicable laws, rules and regulations governing

personal watercraft.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 3-1990, f. 5-18-90, cert. ef. 6-1-90

250-021-0020
Definitions

“Personal Watercraft” means a motorboat, less than 16 feet,
propelled by machinery which:

(1) Uses an outboard motor or an inboard motor powering a
water jet pump as its primary source of power;

(2) Is designed to be operated by a person sitting, standing or
kneeling on, rather than in the conventional manner of sitting or

standing inside the vessel.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
Hist.: MB 3-1990, f. 5-18-90, cert. ef. 6-1-90; MB 8-1997, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-97
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250-021-0030
Operating Rules

(1) A person must not operate a personal watercraft unless
each person operating or riding on such vessel is wearing an inher-
ently buoyant Coast Guard approved Type I, II, or III personal
flotation device (PFD) as defined by OAR 250-010-0154.

(2) A person operating a personal watercraft equipped by the
manufacturer with a lanyard type engine cutoff switch must attach
such lanyard to their person, clothing, or personal flotation device.

(3) A person must not operate a personal watercraft unless it is
effectively muffled in accordance with OAR 250-010-0121.

(4) A person must not operate a personal watercraft at any
time between sunset and sunrise unless equipped with lights as pre-
scribed in OAR Chapter 250, Division 011.

(5) Every personal watercraft shall at all times be operated in
a reasonable and prudent manner. Maneuvers which unreasonably
or unnecessarily endanger life, limb or property, including but not
limited to weaving through congested vessel traffic, jumping the
wake of another vessel unreasonably or unnecessarily close to said
vessel or when visibility around said vessel is obstructed, and
swerving at the last possible moment to avoid collision shall con-
stitute unsafe or reckless operation of a vessel, as provided in ORS
830.305 or 830.315.

(6) The provisions of section (5) of this rule do not apply to a
performer engaged in a professional exhibition or a person
preparing to participate or participating in an officially sanctioned
regatta, race, marine parade, tournament, or exhibition.

(7) A person must not operate a personal watercraft in excess
of a slow-no wake speed:

(a) Within 200 feet of a boat launch ramp, dock, swim float,
pier, marina or moorage, floating home or boathouse, or locations
where persons are working at water levels on floats, logs or
waterway construction;

(b) Within 200 feet of a swimmer, surfer, diving flag, bank or
wading angler;

(c) Within 100 feet of any anchored or non-motorized vessel;

(d) Except on safe take-offs and landings, a person must not
operate a personal watercraft in excess of a slow-no wake speed
within 200 feet of shoreline on all lakes, bays and reservoirs. A safe
take-off or landing will not be considered “safe” unless it can be
accomplished without risk to any swimmer or craft within 200 feet
from shoreline.

(8) A person must not operate a personal watercraft in excess
of 10 MPH when approaching within 100’ of another motorized or
sail vessel underway.

(9) A person must not operate a personal watercraft within
200 feet directly behind a water skier being towed.

(10) A person must not tow a water skier or any floating
device with a personal watercraft unless:

(a) Another person on the personal watercraft is continuously
observing the person being towed; and

(b) The personal watercraft is large enough to carry operator,
observer and the person being towed; and

(c) The personal watercraft is equipped with a “skier-down”
flag to be held aloft when the skier or person being towed is down
in the water; and

(d) The personal watercraft is being operated between sunrise
and sunset.

(11) Personal watercraft may be used to tow another vessel
when rendering assistance.

(12) A person under the age of 16 must not operate a personal
watercraft on the waters of this state, unless accompanied by a
person 18 years of age or older on board.

(13) A person who owns a personal watercraft or who has
charge over or control of a personal watercraft must not authorize
or knowingly permit that personal watercraft to be operated by a
person under 16 years of age, unless accompanied by a person 18
years of age or older.

(14) A person must not rent a personal watercraft to a person
under the age of 18.

(15) A person must not chase, harass, molest, worry or disturb
any wildlife with a personal watercraft except while engaged in
lawfully angling for, hunting or trapping such wildlife (ORS
498.000).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175, 830.195 & 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1990, f. 5-18-90, cert. ef. 6-1-90; MB 9-1990, f. & cert. ef. 11-16-
90; MB 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-28-94; MB 8-1996, f. 4-12-96, cert. ef. 7-1-96;
MB 9-1997, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-97; OSMB 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-99; OSMB
6-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-021-0040
Special Local Restrictions — Personal Watercraft
Applicability

(1) Lakes and reservoirs (impoundments) are open to the
operation of personal watercraft subject to local operating rules
found in OAR chapter 250, division 20.

(2) All rivers of this state including any tributary streams or
rivers entering the Willamette River are closed to the operation of
personal watercraft, except as noted:

(a) Columbia River is open.

(b) Clackamas River is open only between the Willamette
River and the lagoon (RM 0.7). The lagoon is open.

(c) Willamette River is closed only in the area above the Belt-
line Road overpass at RM 178.

(d) Chetco is closed only in the area above the head of tide.

(e) Rogue is closed only in the area between mouth of Snout
Creek and the Applegate River and the area above the former loca-
tion of Gold Ray Dam.

(f) Yaquina River is closed only in the area upstream of the
Toledo Airport boat ramp at RM 9.5.

(q) John Day River (Sherman/Gilliam County) is closed only
in the area above Tumwater Falls (RM 10).

(h) Deschutes River is closed only in the area above Heritage
Landing boat ramp (RM 0.5).

(i) Coos is closed only in the area above its confluence with
the Millicoma River.

(j) Coquille is closed only in the area above the Highway 42S
bridge in the City of Coquille.

(k) Umpqua is closed only in the area above Scottsburg Park.

(1) Siuslaw is closed only in the area above Highway 126
bridge at Mapleton.

(m) Pistol, Sixes, Elk Rivers as per OAR 250-020-0082.

(n) East and West Fork Millicoma as per OAR 250-020-0064.

(o) Alsea, Salmon and Siletz Rivers as per OAR 250-20-0231.

(p) Kilchis, Miami, Wilson, Tillamook, Trask Rivers as per
OAR 250-020-0308.

(q) Nehalem as per OAR 250-020-0300.

(r) Necanicum as per OAR 250-020-0043.

(s) Snake River above Brownlee Reservoir is open.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Hist.: MB 3-1990, f. 5-18-90, cert. ef. 6-1-90; MB 9-1990, f. & cert. ef. 11-16-
90; MB 6-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-30-92; OSMB 1-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-3-
11 thru 6-30-11; OSMB 6-2011, . 4-25-11, cert. ef. 5-2-11; OSMB 6-2015, f. 6-
26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

250-021-0100
Personal Watercraft Livery Operations

A person must not rent, lease or charter a personal watercraft
unless the following equipment is provided:

(1) All of the equipment required by ORS 830.210, 830.410
and 830.420.

(2) An inherently buoyant Type I or III personal flotation
device (PFD) must be provided for each person that will ride the
personal watercraft to comply with ORS 830.215. The PFD must
be worn to meet OAR 250-021-0030(1). A Type I PFD may be sub-
stituted for the Type III for rental operations. Fully inflatable PFDs
are not acceptable for personal watercraft rentals.

(3) A decal explaining safe operation of personal watercraft
must be affixed to every rental personal watercraft and displayed
so it is clearly visible to the operator while at the controls. The
decal must, at a minimum, contain information regarding proper
use of controls, steering, speed and distance rules, rules of the road
and required PFD wearing.

(4) A written copy of the state personal watercraft rules must
be provided to the renter, and any person who will operate the per-
sonal watercraft while rented, leased or chartered. Personal water-
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craft form PWC-01 shall be reviewed by the livery operator with
the rental customer and signed by both parties. Part I of form PWC-
01, signed by the livery operator and renter, must be carried on the
personal watercraft as required equipment. Part II of form PWC-01
must be retained by the livery operator with the record of the rental
required by ORS 830.415.

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.195 & 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 10-1997, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-97; OSMB 13-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-
98; OSMB 6-2015, f. 6-26-15, cert. ef. 7-1-15

DIVISION 22

KLAMATH LAKE PLANKTON HARVEST
VESSEL RULES

250-022-0010
Purpose

This division prescribes minimum equipment and safety
requirements for vessels engaged in the harvest of plankton from
Klamath Lake. Authority for these rules is found in ORS 830.110

and Chapter 737, Oregon Laws 1997.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.210 & 830.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.990
Hist.: OSMB 4-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-3-98

250-022-0020
Scope

This division contains minimum requirements for boats and
associated equipment, but does not relieve vessel owners and oper-
ators from the need to comply with other federal, state or local reg-
ulations that may apply.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.210 & 830.990

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.990

Hist.: OSMB 4-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-3-98

250-022-0030
Definitions

(1) For the purpose of this division and the applicability of
ORS Chapter 830 and associated administrative rules found in
OAR chapter 250, the terms “vessel” and “associated watercraft,”
as used in Chapter 737, Oregon Laws 1997, have the same
meaning as the term “boat” in ORS 830.005(2).

(2) For the purpose of this division and the applicability of
ORS Chapter 830 and associated administrative rules found in
OAR chapter 250, the terms “vessel” and “associated watercraft,”
as used in Chapter 737, Oregon Laws 1997, have the same
meaning as the term “motorboat” in ORS 830.005(4), if the vessel
or associated watercraft is propelled, in whole, or in part, by

machinery.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.210 & 830.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.990
Hist.: OSMB 4-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-3-98

250-022-0040
Title and Registration Requirements

Unless documented with the U.S. Coast Guard, all vessels
engaged in plankton harvest that are powered by machinery must
be titled and numbered in accordance with ORS Chapter 830, and
must comply with proper display of number as provided in ORS
830.780.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.210 & 830.990

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.990
Hist.: OSMB 4-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-3-98

250-022-0050
Equipment Requirements

All vessels engaged in plankton harvest must comply with the
provisions of the following statutes and related administrative
rules: State Statute — Applicable to Klamath Plankton Harvest
Vessels:

(1) ORS 830.210 — Yes — Operating improperly equipped
boat prohibited.

(2) ORS 830.215 — Modified — Personal Flotation Devices.
All vessels must carry one U.S. Coast Guard approved Type I Per-
sonal Flotation Devices for each crew member. In addition, there
must be at least one U.S. Coast Guard approved throwable device
(Type 1V) in an accessible location on each vessel.

(3) ORS 830.220 — Modified — Fire Extinquishers. Must
comply with U.S. Coast Guard standards for commercial vessels
46 CFR 28.160 and 46 CFR 25.30.

(4) ORS 830.225 — Modified — Lights. Must comply with
U.S. Coast Guard regulations for inland navigation lights contained
in 1972 COLREGS.

(5) ORS 830.230 — Modified — Sound signaling devices.
Must comply with U.S. Coast Guard standards for sound signaling
apparatus on inland waters.

(6) ORS 830.230 — Yes — Bell. Comply with requirements
of 1972 COLREGS. Vessels les than 40 feet in length may in lieu
of ringing a bell shall make some other efficient sound signal.

(7) ORS 830.235 — Yes — Carburetors. Must have approved
backfire flame device.

(8) ORS 830.240 — Yes — Ventilation systems.

(9) ORS 830.260 — Yes — Mulffling devices.

(10) ORS 830.250 — Yes — First aid kit (equivalent to
requirement for ocean charter boats as per OAR 250-015-0016).

(11) OAR 830.250 — Yes — Communications. All vessels
must have a VHF marine band radio, CB or cell phone on board

when underway.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.210 & 830.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.990
Hist.: OSMB 4-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-3-98

250-022-0060
Operating Requirements

The provisions of ORS 830.300 to 830.370, and 830.505 to
830.550 and any related administrative rules do apply to all vessels

engaged in the harvest of plankton on Klamath Lake.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.210 & 830.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.990
Hist.: OSMB 4-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-3-98

DIVISION 26
SALVAGED VESSEL SUBACCOUNT

250-026-0005
Purpose of Rules

(1) The Oregon State Marine Board (Board) will establish and
maintain a Salvaged Vessel Subaccount. Funds from this account
will reimburse enforcement agencies for expenses related to the
removal of abandoned and derelict vessels.

(2) The Board will provide vessel turn-in program grants to
assist in the disposal of vessels at risk of abandonment on the
waters of this state.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948
Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14

250-026-0010
Responsibility for Removal of Abandoned or Derelict Vessels
(1) The enforcement agency that has jurisdictional responsi-
bility for the submerged or submersible land or water on which an
abandoned vessel or a derelict vessel is located will take responsi-
bility for its removal and disposal.
(2) The Board may enter into cooperative agreements to
directly procure vessel salvage and removal services from contrac-

tors.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948
Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14

250-026-0015
Identification of Owners

(1) The enforcement agency must contact the Board to verify
the ownership record of an abandoned or derelict vessel.
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(2) If the vessel is a boat, an enforcement agency must
provide the Board with:

(a) A description of the boat;

(b) The registration numbers and decal information affixed to
the bow of the boat, if present;

(¢) The documentation number if the boat is a documented
vessel; and

(d) A hull identification number (HIN).

(3) If the vessel is a floating home, boathouse or other floating
structure that is normally secured to a pier or pilings the enforcement
agency must provide the identifying license plate number.

(4) The Board will attempt to verify ownership through regis-
tration documentation.

(5) The Board will search the Law Enforcement Database

System (LEDS) to determine if the vessel has been reported stolen.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948
Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14

250-026-0020
Notification of Vessel Seizure

(1) Enforcement agencies that intend to seize an abandoned or
derelict vessel under the authority of ORS 830.911 must provide
the Board with a copy of the “pre-seizure notice” on the same date
it’s sent to the owner.

(2) Enforcement agencies that immediately seize an abandoned
or derelict vessel that presents a hazard to navigation or an
imminent threat to public health or safety under the authority of
ORS 830.923 must provide the Board with a copy of the “post-
seizure notice” within seven days of the seizure.

(3) The Board may request additional information from the
enforcement agency, i.e., location coordinates, photographs of the

vessel, incident or other law enforcement reports.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948
Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14

250-026-0025
Availability of Funds

(1) Enforcement agencies are encouraged to verify the avail-
ability of funds in the Salvaged Vessel Subaccount prior to
incurring salvage, towing, storage and disposal expenses.

(2) The Board will retain up to 20 percent of the Salvaged
Vessel Subaccount until the beginning of the third quarter of the
final year of each biennium; at which time, the funds could be dis-
bursed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948

Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14

250-026-0030
Expense Documentation

(1) The Board requires receipt of expense documentation
from enforcement agencies prior to the release of funds from the
Salvaged Vessel Subaccount:

(a) Pre-seizure: a written estimate of the salvage, towing, stor-
age and disposal costs. This estimate must itemize expenses and
include a description of how the salvage, towing, storage and dis-
posal will be accomplished.

(b) Post-seizure: itemized expenses incurred by the enforcement
agency by reason of the seizure, and the amount of those costs that
have accrued as of the date of the post-seizure notice. The enforce-
ment agency must also submit a complete estimate of remaining
storage and disposal costs, and a description of how the storage and
disposal will be accomplished.

(2) Expense documentation must be in writing and submitted
by email or fax within ten days of seizure action.

(3) The Board will review documentation of incurred expenses
and cost estimates to confirm eligibility and to ensure match
requirements are met.

(4) The Board will prepare an Intergovernmental Project
Agreement for signature by the parties prior to the reimbursement
of eligible expenses.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948
Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14
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250-026-0035

Vessels Eligible for Reimbursement

(1) Enforcement agencies are eligible for reimbursement from

the Salvaged Vessel Subaccount for:

(a) Abandoned or derelict vessels that are seized under ORS

830.908 to 830.944 and are on the waters of this state; and

(b) Vessels surrendered by owners as part of a Board approved

vessel turn-in program.

(2) Enforcement agencies may be eligible for reimbursement

from the Salvaged Vessel Subaccount for vessels surrendered by

owners independent of a Board approved vessel turn-in program.

(3) Enforcement agencies are not eligible for reimbursement

from the Salvaged Vessel Subaccount for :

(a) Vessels that are abandoned on public or private land;

(b) Vessels which have been reported stolen; and

(c) Boats which are 200 gross tons or more.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948

Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14

250-026-0040
Match Requirements

(1) An enforcement agency must contribute a minimum of 10
percent of the total cost of salvage, towing, storage and disposal of
an abandoned vessel or a derelict vessel that is or has been
registered with the Board or is in the determination of the Board a
recreational vessel.

(2) An enforcement agency must contribute a minimum of 25
percent of the total cost of salvage, towing, storage and disposal of
an abandoned vessel or a derelict vessel that has never been regis-
tered with the Board and is or was a commercial vessel.

(3) Match may be cash or “in-kind” materials or services, i.e.,
use of enforcement agency equipment for towing and salvage,
property for storage, enforcement agency staff time for investigation,
identification of owners, contact with owners, preparation of pre
and post seizure notices, hearings, and correspondence and coordi-
nation with the Board and other agencies.

(4) Matching funds may be provided by the enforcement
agency or as part of a cooperative project with another enforcement
agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948
Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14

250-026-0045
Eligible Expenses and Match

(1) An enforcement agency is eligible to receive reimburse-
ments for expenses directly related to the salvage, towing, storage
and disposal of an abandoned or derelict vessel. These expenses
include but are not limited to:

(a) Salvaging a sunken vessel;

(b) Towing a vessel;

(c) Storing a vessel for no more time than is required by ORS
830.908-944;

(d) Dismantling a vessel;

(e) Disposing of the vessel waste.

(2) The following types of expenses are not eligible for reim-
bursement and cannot be used for the matching funds require-
ments:

(a) Indirect costs such as overhead and administration not
specifically related to vessel removal and disposal;

(b) Expenses related to tort claims or compensatory damages
filed by third parties for lost or damaged personal or real property;

(c) Expenses for damages incurred to property belonging to an
enforcement agency;

(d) Expenses for new equipment or machinery purchased by
an enforcement agency to complete a removal or cleanup.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948

Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14

250-026-0050
Use of Contractors

Enforcement agencies must follow all applicable local and
state laws, ordinances, and rules with respect to contracting for ser-
vices.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.948

Hist. : OSMB 9-2014, f. 5-12-14, cert. ef. 6-1-14

250-026-0055
Vessel Turn-in Program Grants

(1) Grants are available to public agencies to sponsor a vessel
turn-in program. These programs will allow owners to surrender
vessels at risk of becoming abandoned or derelict before the
vessels damage the environment or become a hazard to navigation.

(2) Recreational vessels, acknowledged by the Board, in
danger of becoming abandoned or derelict are eligible for removal
through a vessel turn-in grant. The owner of the vessel must:

(a) Surrender the vessel by signing a release of interest on the
certificate of title;

(b) Provide the title to the public agency; or
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