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DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURAL RULES 

837-001-0000 
Notice of Proposed Rule 

Before adopting, amending or repealing any permanent rule, 
the State Fire Marshal will give notice of the intended action: 

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS 
183.360 at least twenty-one (21) days before the effective date of 
the rule; 

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the State 
Fire Marshal’s mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(7) 
at least 28 days before the effective date of the rule; 

(3) By mailing a copy of the notice to the legislators specified 
in ORS 183.335(14) at least 49 days before the effective date of the 
rule; and 

(4) By mailing or furnishing a copy of the notice to: 
(a) The Associated Press; 
(b) League of Oregon Cities; 
(c) State Building Code Division; 
(d) Fire Standards and Accreditation Board; 
(e) Accident Prevention Division, Workmen’s Compensation 

Board; 
(f) Association of Oregon Counties; 
(g) Oregon Fire Chiefs Association; 
(h) Oregon Fire Marshals Association; 
(i) Associated General Contractors; 
(j) Oregon Council of AIA; 
(k) International Conference of Building Officials; 
(l) Housing Urban Development; 
(m) Oregon State Health Division; 
(n) Department of Commerce; 
(o) Professional Engineers of Oregon; 
(p) Oregon Association of Hospitals; 
(q) Northwest Natural Gas; 
(r) Capitol Press Room; 
(s) Oregon State Bar; 
(t) Department of Human Resources; 
(u) Oregon Labor Press; 
(v) Oregon States Association of PHCC; 
(w) Oregon Health Care Association; 
(x) Oregon State Home Builders Association. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.360 & 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.360 & 476.030 
Hist.: FM 72, f. & ef. 1-26-76; OSFM 11-2000, f. 9-22-00, cert. ef. 11-13-00 

837-001-0005 
Model Rules of Procedure 

Pursuant to the provisions of ORS 183.341, the State Fire 
Marshal adopts by reference the Attorney General’s Uniform and 
Model Rules of Procedure under the Administrative Procedures 
Act effective January 1, 2006.  

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure 
is available from the office of the Attorney General or Fire Marshal.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.341, 183.360 & 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 476.030 & 183.341 
Hist.: FM 14a, f. 2-2-60, ef. 3-10-60; FM 82, f. & ef. 6-7-76; FM 2-1978, f. 4-
27-78, ef. 5-1-78; FM 1-1980, f. & ef. 2-20-80; FM 1-1982, f. 1-22-82, ef. 2-1-
82; FM 3-1983, f. 10-18-83, ef. 11-1-83; FM 4-1986, f. & ef. 3-20-86; FM 6-
1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-88; FM 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-3-90; FM 1-1992, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-7-92; OSFM 2-2000, f. 2-3-00, cert. ef. 3-22-00; OSFM 16-2000, f. 
12-8-00, cert. ef. 1-26-01; OSFM 11-2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-06 

Refund of Moneys 

837-001-0010 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) Pursuant to ORS 293.445, this rule provides for the refund 
of fees paid in excess of the amount legally due the State Fire Mar-
shal pursuant to ORS Chapters 476 and 480. 

(2) The State Fire Marshal shall not refund fees paid in excess 
of the amount legally due, if the amount is $10 or less: 
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(a) Unless a refund is requested in writing by the applicant or 
the applicant’s legal representative; and 

(b) Unless the request is received within three years after the 
date payment is received by the State Fire Marshal. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 293, 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 293.445 
Hist.: FM 2-1987, f. & ef. 6-16-87 

837-001-0015 
Authorized Representatives in Contested Case Hearings 
Contemplated Under ORS 453.382, 453.404, 480.355, 480.385, 
and 183.310 

(1) A partnership, corporation, association, organized group 
or governmental authority other than a state agency may appear in 
a contested case by an authorized representative if the Fire Marshal 
has determined that appearance by an authorized representative 
will not hinder the orderly and timely development of the record in 
the contested case. This rule applies to the types of contested cases 
contemplated under ORS 453.382, 453.404, 480.355, 480.385, and 
183.310. 

(2) For purposes of this rule, “authorized representative” 
means a member of a participating partnership, an authorized 
officer or employee or a participating corporation, association or 
organized group, or an authorized officer or employee of a partici-
pating governmental authority other than a state agency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.455(2) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.455(2), 453.382, 453.404, 480.355, 480.385 & 
183.310 
Hist.: OSFM 2-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-25-98 thru 12-18-98; OSFM 4-
1998, f. 11-24-98, cert. ef. 12-18-98 

DIVISION 12 

PUBLIC DISPLAY OF FIREWORKS IN OREGON 

Agricultural Use of Fireworks in Oregon 

837-012-0305 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) These rules establish agricultural permit, permit application 
and other requirements for those persons permitted under ORS 
480.122 and 480.124 to obtain agricultural permits to control birds 
and predatory animals that are injurious to crops. 

(2) An agricultural permit allows the permit holder to engage 
only in those activities including the purchase, transportation, pos-
session, storage and use of agricultural fireworks (1.4E) when 
those activities are otherwise in conformance with the requirements 
of ORS 480.122 and 480.124, these rules, and any other applicable 
state, federal, or local requirements. 

(3) An individual member of the general public may not buy 
or use agricultural fireworks unless they have applied for and 
obtained an agricultural permit from the Office of State Fire 
Marshal pursuant to these rules. Violation of these rules may result 
in confiscation of the fireworks, and the assessment of penalties in 
accordance with ORS 480.990 and OAR 837-012-0560. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0005; OSFM 
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 
2-25-02; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0310 
Agricultural Permit Applications 

(1) Any person engaged in, or intending to engage in, the use 
of agricultural fireworks must apply for and obtain an agricultural 
permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(2) Upon receipt of a properly completed and approved appli-
cation, the Office of State Fire Marshal will issue a nontransferable 
permit to the applicant or persons designated to discharge the fire-
works. The State Fire Marshal may deny any application for a 
permit to discharge agricultural fireworks upon determining the 
proposed purchase or use is not in accordance with these rules or 
applicable statutes. A separate agricultural permit must be applied 

for and obtained for each person who desires to use agricultural 
fireworks. 

(3) The permit application for an agricultural permit must be 
made on a form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(4) All information provided by the applicant on the permit 
application must be true and correct to the agricultural permit 
applicant’s knowledge. 

(5) As part of the permit application process, the applicant 
must obtain the signature of either the state game management or 
federal game management authority on the permit application. 

(6) The applicant must obtain the signature of the game man-
agement authority prior to submitting the permit application to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(7) Permit applications that do not contain the signature 
required in OAR 837-012-0360(5) will not be approved, and will 
be returned to the applicant. 

(8) The Office of State Fire Marshal may grant or deny permit 
applications within 10 days following receipt of a properly 
completed and submitted permit application. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0010; OSFM 
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 
2-25-02; OSFM 7-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-
06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0315 
Definitions 

(1) “Agent” means an individual designated by the permit 
holder to pick up the agricultural fireworks authorized by the agri-
cultural permit from an Oregon licensed wholesaler when the 
permit holder is unable to pick up the agricultural fireworks. The 
agent must have the agricultural permit (or a copy) issued by the 
State Fire Marshal in their possession at the time the agricultural 
fireworks are picked up from the wholesaler. 

(2) “Agricultural Fireworks” means: 
(a) Fireworks with a cardboard/pasteboard-type tube up to 4” 

in length and 3/4 inch in diameter or a shotgun shell type container, 
(b) Fireworks containing only pyrotechnic compositions, e g., 

black powder, flash powder, or smokeless powder, with an audible 
report containing up to 40 grains, or 2.592 grams, of explosive 
composition, 

(c) Fireworks tested, classified and approved by the United 
States Department of Transportation, 

(d) Fireworks designed and intended solely for use in: 
(A) Controlling predatory animals allowed by ORS 480.124 

or, 
(B) Controlling birds or animals which are or may injure 

forest or agricultural products or crops, allowed by ORS 480.122, 
(e) Fireworks referred to as explosive pest control devices, 
(f) Fireworks not including retail fireworks, display fireworks, 

or exempt fireworks. 
(3) “Agricultural Permit” means the official written document 

issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal pursuant to ORS 
480.122 and 480.124 and OAR 837-012-0305 through 837-012-
0370 granting permission to a person to purchase and use 
agricultural fireworks. 

(4) “Agricultural Crop” means a plant or animal or plant or 
animal product that can be grown or harvested extensively for 
profit or subsistence. 

(5) “Agricultural Product” means a product that is naturally 
grown and brings a profit. 

(6) “Fire Protection District” means any district created under 
the laws of Oregon or the United States, including rural Fire Pro-
tection Districts and any federal, state or private forest patrol areas. 

(7) “Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 480.111(7). 
(8) “Illegal Fireworks” has the meaning provided in OAR 

837-012-0610. 
(9) “Individual” means a real, actual person. 
(10) “Individual Member of the General Public” means any 

person who has not been issued a wholesale permit, a general, 
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limited or special effects public display permit, a retail permit or an 
agricultural permit by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(11) “Local Fire Authority” means the local fire authority 
having jurisdiction over the agricultural fireworks use and storage 
sites. 

(12) “May” means a regulation of conduct and implies proba-
bility or permission. 

(13) “May not” means a prohibition of conduct. 
(14) “Must” means a mandatory requirement. 
(15) “Permit Application” means the form and accompanying 

documentation required to be completed and submitted to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the issuance of an 
agricultural permit. 

(16) “Permit Holder” means the person referred to in ORS 
480.122 who: 

(a) Desires to purchase, maintain, use, and explode agricultural 
fireworks for the purpose of scaring away or repelling birds or ani-
mals which are or may be injurious or destructive to forest or agri-
cultural products or crops, 

(b) Has applied to the State Fire Marshal for an agricultural 
permit; 

(c) The State Fire Marshal has issued an agricultural permit 
referred to in ORS 480.122; 

(d) Is responsible for any activities conducted under the agri-
cultural permit. 

(17) “Person” means one or more individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations 
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public cor-
porations. 

(18) “Sell” means to transfer possession of property from one 
person to another person for consideration. 

(19) “Wholesaler” means any person who sells or provides by 
any other means, or intends to sell or provide by any other means 
fireworks, retail fireworks, display fireworks, or agricultural fire-
works. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0015; OSFM 
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 
2-25-02; OSFM 7-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-
06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; OSFM 8-2010(Temp), f. 12-20-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11 thru 6-
29-11; OSFM 3-2011, f. 4-22-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-14 

837-012-0320 
Storage of Agriculture Fireworks 

Agricultural fireworks must be stored in accordance with the 
requirements of these rules, the Oregon Fire Code 2014 Edition 
and the Oregon Structural Specialty Code 2014 Edition. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0020; OSFM 
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 
2-25-02; OSFM 7-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-
06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0325 
Permits-Denial, Suspension, Revocation 

(1) The State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or revoke an 
agricultural permit for violation of ORS 480.111 through 480.165 
and OAR chapter 837, division 12. Any such revocation, suspension 
or denial will be in conformance with ORS 183.310 to 183.550. 

(2) The period of denial, suspension or revocation may not 
exceed three years. 

(3) The following criteria are used by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal to determine the appropriate sanction: 

(a) The severity of the violation or violations and the impact 
on public safety, particularly if the circumstances of a violation 
presented a significant fire hazard or other public safety danger; 

(b) The number of similar or related violations; alleged to 
have been committed in the current transaction or occurrence; 

(c) Whether the violation or violations were willful or inten-
tional; 

(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal against the agricultural permit holder or 
applicant; and 

(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation or violations. 

(4) Suspension or revocation of an agricultural permit may 
include suspension or revocation of the current permit and the right 
to apply for a subsequent permit. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0025; OSFM 
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 
2-25-02; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0330 
General 

(1) Agricultural permit holders desiring to engage in other 
types of fireworks activities, including wholesale sales, fireworks 
displays or retail sales, must meet all applicable requirements in 
ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12. 

(2) Agricultural permit holders must notify the Office of State 
Fire Marshal, in writing, within 24 hours of the date of change, of: 

(a) The agricultural permit holder’s mailing address, telephone 
number, 

(b) The storage address of the agricultural fireworks. 
(3) Change of the storage location of the agricultural fireworks 

is subject to prior written approval by the local fire authority and 
the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(4) Agricultural permit holders must comply with all applicable 
federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations including, 
without limitation: 

(a) ORS 480.111 through 480.165; 
(b) OAR chapter 837, division 12; 
(c) Oregon Fire Code, 2014 Edition; and 
(d) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2014 Edition. 
(5) Agricultural permit holders must purchase agricultural 

fireworks only from wholesalers having the necessary and current 
permits required by ORS 480.111 to 480.160 and OAR 837-012-
0500 through 837-012-0570. 

(6) Agricultural permit holders may request a duplicate copy 
of their agricultural permit by certifying to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal, in writing, their agricultural permit has been lost, stolen, 
or destroyed. Written requests must be signed and dated by the 
agricultural permit holder. 

(7) The issuance of an agricultural permit does not in any way 
constitute approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of any agri-
cultural fireworks purchased, sold, or provided pursuant to the 
agricultural permit. 

(8) An agricultural permit allows the permit holder to engage 
in the purchase, transportation, possession, storage and use of agri-
cultural fireworks when those activities are otherwise in conformance 
with the applicable requirements of ORS 480.111 through 480.165, 
OAR chapter 837, division 12 and any other federal, state or local 
laws, rules or regulations pertaining to fireworks. 

(9) An agricultural permit does not authorize the: 
(a) Purchase, possession or sale of illegal fireworks by or to 

any person; or 
(b) The sale, re-sale, or provision of agricultural fireworks by 

or to any person other than the agricultural permit holder. 
(10) Any agricultural permit holder, other than an individual, 

is required by the State Fire Marshal to list the name, age, address, 
and phone number of one individual in a management position 
within their company or organization, on the permit application. 

(11) Individuals firing agricultural fireworks must be a mini-
mum of 18 years of age. 
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(12) Only the agricultural permit holder, and any employees 
of the agricultural permit holder, may engage in activities authorized 
by the agricultural permit. 

(13) Agricultural permits, and the rights conveyed by the agri-
cultural permit, are not transferable. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0030; OSFM 
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 
2-25-02; OSFM 7-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-
06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; OSFM 8-2010(Temp), f. 12-20-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11 thru 6-
29-11; OSFM 3-2011, f. 4-22-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-14 

837-012-0340 
Permit Fees 

There are no fees for this application. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Hist.:OSFM 10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, 
f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; OSFM 3-
2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0350 
Issuance of Agricultural Permits 

(1) Each agricultural permit is assigned a unique number by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(2) Only one agricultural permit is required for each agricultural 
location. A permit application may contain multiple use locations 
provided each location is owned, leased, or used by the permit 
holder, and located within the same fire district. 

(3) The agricultural permit is valid only for the location of use 
listed on the agricultural permit. 

(4) The agricultural permit will be mailed to the permit holder 
at the mailing addressed listed on the permit application. 

(5) An initial agricultural permit issued by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal is valid from the date of issue up to three years as 
determined by the OSFM. 

(6) Upon renewal, agricultural permits are valid for a period 
not to exceed three years. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0360 
Purchase of Agricultural Fireworks 

(1) Permit holders must be 18 years of age or older. 
(2) Agricultural permit holders may purchase or otherwise 

obtain agricultural fireworks only from wholesalers who possess a 
valid and current wholesale permit issued by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. Exception: In the case of state game management or 
federal game management authorities who provide agency approved 
game management assistance to permit holders; once a permit has 
been issued – state game management or federal game management 
authorities may supply agricultural fireworks to the permit holder 
under the following criteria: 

(a) Agricultural permit holders may only obtain agricultural 
fireworks listed on their agricultural fireworks permit. 

(b) The state game management or federal game management 
authority who supplies agricultural fireworks must maintain a 
record of all agricultural fireworks supplied and make such records 
available to the Office of State Fire Marshal upon request. 

(c) Any decision by a state game management or federal game 
management authority to supply agricultural fireworks must be in 
conformance with their specific agency policies and procedures for 
the distribution of agricultural fireworks. 

(3) Once an agricultural permit has been issued and the 
wholesaler selected; if an agricultural permit holder desires to 
obtain agricultural fireworks from another wholesaler, the agricul-
tural permit holder must notify the Office of State Fire Marshal at 
least 24 hours prior to purchasing the agricultural fireworks from 
another licensed agricultural fireworks wholesaler. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0370 
Prohibited Acts and Limitations 

(1) An agricultural permit does not allow the permit holder to 
purchase, possess, or sell any other types of fireworks. 

(2) Agricultural fireworks may not be utilized for any purpose 
other than the use as stated on the permit application. 

(3) Agricultural fireworks utilized for any other use than the 
permitted use may result in the immediate suspension of the agri-
cultural permit and confiscation of the unused agricultural fire-
works. 

(4) A permit holder may not sell or provide by any other 
means agricultural fireworks or any other fireworks to any other 
person including other permit holders. 

(5) The agricultural permit does not authorize the manufacture, 
sale, use, discharge or possession of agricultural fireworks in any 
city or county where agricultural fireworks are prohibited by law or 
ordinance. 

(6) No permit holder may maintain or allow the existence of a 
fire hazard at any location under their control where agricultural 
fireworks are stored, transported, or used. 

(7) Permit holders may not provide agricultural fireworks to 
anyone other than an authorized employee or owner of the permit 
holder’s business for the purpose specified on the permit applica-
tions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.122 & 480.124 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 15-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

Wholesale Sales and Storage of Fireworks in Oregon 

837-012-0500 
Purpose and Scope 

These rules establish permit and other requirements for 
Persons who Sell or provide by any other means, or intend to Sell 
or provide by any other means, at wholesale, Fireworks, Retail 
Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks in or into 
Oregon, or from Oregon for delivery into another state. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 3-
2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0505 
Effective Dates 

OAR 837-12-500 through 837-012-0570 are effective July 1, 
2014. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0510 
Definitions 

For purposes of ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and OAR 837-
012-0500 through 837-012-0570, the following definitions apply: 

(1) “Agricultural Fireworks” means Fireworks used for the 
purpose of scaring away or repelling birds or animals pursuant to 
ORS 480.122 or controlling predatory animals pursuant to 480.124. 

(2) “BATFE” means the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms 
and Explosives. 

(3) “Carton, Container, or Case” means any box, parcel, 
bundle, or other package used to hold or contain Fireworks, Retail 
Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks for pur-
poses of transportation and storage. The term does not include: 
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(a) The wrapping or packaging used to hold or contain a 
single or small number of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display 
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks; or 

(b) A vehicle or other mobile container used to transport Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works. 

(4) “Display Fireworks” means Fireworks defined in ORS 
480.111(4) that are authorized under a general, limited, or special 
effects display permit issued pursuant to 480.130, 480.140 and 
480.150. 

(5) “Domicile” means a Person’s legal home; the particular 
place that a Person intends to make the Person’s fixed and 
permanent home and abode. 

(6) “Exempt Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(5). 

(7) “Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 480.111(7). 
(8) “Illegal Fireworks” means any Fireworks other than con-

sumer fireworks including but not limited to, any Firework that 
flies into the air, or explodes or behaves in an uncontrolled and 
unpredictable manner. 

(9) “Individual” means a single human being. 
(10) “Individual Member of the General Public” means: 
(a) For Persons in Oregon, any Person who has not been 

issued a Wholesale Permit, a general, limited or special effects dis-
play permit, a retail permit, or an agricultural permit by the Office 
of State Fire Marshal. 

(b) For Persons outside of Oregon, any Person who has not 
been issued a license or permit when such a license or permit is 
required, authorizing the Person to Sell, purchase, obtain, transport, 
possess, use or discharge Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display 
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks. 

(11) “In-state Wholesaler” means a Wholesaler who owns, 
possesses, or occupies a Wholesale Site located in Oregon. 

(12) “Local Fire Authority” means the local fire official 
having jurisdiction over the Wholesale Site and Wholesale Opera-
tions. 

(13) “Manager” means the Individual identified on the Permit 
Application who is responsible for and directs the operations at the 
Wholesale Site. 

(14) “Manufacture” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(13). 

(15) “NFPA” means the National Fire Protection Association. 
(16) “Novelties and Trick Noisemakers” means those items 

described in ORS 480.111(5) and the American Pyrotechnics 
Association Standard 87-1. It also means Exempt Fireworks. 

(17) “Out-of-State Wholesaler” means a Wholesaler who 
owns, occupies, or possesses a Wholesale Site located outside of 
Oregon. 

(18) “Permit Application” means the application forms and 
accompanying documentation required to be completed and sub-
mitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the 
issuance of a Wholesale Permit. 

(19) “Pyrotechnic articles” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(14). 

(20) “Pyrotechnic composition” has the meaning provided in 
ORS 480.111(15). 

(21) “Pyrotechnic device” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(16). 

(22) “Residence” means the particular dwelling place where a 
Person lives and has a present intent to remain for a period of time. 

(23) “Resident” means any Person who occupies a dwelling in 
a state and has a present intent to remain in the state for a period of 
time. 

(24) “Retail Fireworks” means consumer fireworks as defined 
in ORS 480.111(2). The term includes a firework designed with the 
means to roll or move while remaining on the ground, that travels 
12’ or less horizontally on smooth surfaces. 

(25) “Retailer” means any Person who, Sells, transfers, or 
provides by any other means, or intends to Sell, transfer or provide 
by any other means, Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the 
General Public. 

(26) “Sales Representative” means an Individual who is an 
employee of the Wholesale Permit holder and is authorized to con-
duct sales for the Wholesale Permit holder. 

(27) “Sell” means to transfer possession of property from one 
Person to another Person for consideration. 

(28) “Special effects” has the meaning defined in ORS 
480.111(17). 

(29) “Wholesale Operations” means the sale of Fireworks, 
Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks 
and related activities, including the purchase, possession, storage 
and transportation of such Fireworks. 

(30) “Wholesale Permit” means the official written document 
issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal that authorizes the pur-
chase, transport, possession, packaging, storing and sale of Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works when otherwise in compliance with all applicable 
requirements of ORS 480.111 through 480.165, OAR chapter 837, 
division 12, and any other applicable federal, state and local laws, 
rules and regulations. 

(31) “Wholesale Site” means the location where a Wholesaler’s 
sales and storage facilities are operated and maintained. 

(32) “Wholesaler” means any Person who Sells or provides by 
any other means, or intends to Sell or provide by any other means, 
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural 
Fireworks. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 7-
2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-13-04 thru 6-10-05; OSFM 8-2005, f. 5-24-05, 
cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 4-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-06; OSFM 5-2010(Temp), f. 
& cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, f. 3-15-11, cert. ef. 5-2-11; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0515 
General 

(1) Definitions. For purposes of this administrative rule, the 
following definitions apply: 

(a) “Fireworks” has the definition contained in ORS 480.111(7). 
(b) “Person” means any business, entity, or individual. 
(c) “Wholesaler” means a person that possesses an Oregon 

wholesale permit issued by the State Fire Marshal. 
(2) Any person intending to sell or provide fireworks by any 

means within the state of Oregon, must first obtain an Oregon 
wholesale permit. 

(3) Any person intending to sell or provide items described in 
ORS 480.111(2) by any means within the state of Oregon, must 
first obtain an Oregon wholesale permit, unless that person 
possesses an Oregon retail sales permit. 

(4) A wholesaler may sell or provide by any means fireworks 
as defined in ORS 480.111(7) in the state of Oregon only to 
persons having obtained one of the following State Fire Marshal 
issued permits: 

(a) Fireworks display permit, including general, limited, close 
proximity, and special effects; 

(b) Retail sales permit for the sale of retail fireworks to the 
general public; or 

(c) Agricultural fireworks permit for scaring away birds or 
animals injurious to crops. 

(5) Wholesalers desiring to engage in any Fireworks activities, 
including retail sales, agricultural use, or fireworks displays must 
meet all applicable requirements of ORS 480.111 through 480.165 
and OAR chapter 837, division 12, including obtaining permits for 
such activities from local, federal, and state authorities. 

(6) Wholesale Permit holders must comply with all applicable 
federal, state, and local laws, rules and regulations pertaining to 
Fireworks, including: 

(a) ORS 480.111 through 480.165; and 
(b) OAR chapter 837, division 12 
(7) Wholesalers must notify the State Fire Marshal, in writing, 

within two weeks of the date of change of: 
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(a) Identity of the Wholesaler’s Manager; 
(b) The Wholesaler’s mailing address or telephone number; 
(c) Ownership of the Wholesaler’s Site; 
(d) Ownership of the Wholesaler’s Operation; or 
(e) The addition or subtraction of a Sales Representative for 

the Wholesaler. 
(8) Exempt Fireworks are exempt from the permit requirements 

set forth in ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, 
division 12. Exempt Fireworks may be sold and purchased at any 
time, and do not require a permit. 

(9) Wholesalers who provide 1.3g Fireworks must provide a 
minimum of one general operator certification training course 
annually as required by OAR 837-012-0780. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 3-5-82; FM 3-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 4-16-82; 
FM 3-1985, f. & ef. 4-17-85; FM 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-9-86; FM 6-1986(Temp), f. 
& ef. 6-10-86; FM 9-1986, f. & ef. 12-10-86; Suspended by FM 2-1989(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-89; Renumbered from 837-
012-0125; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 
15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 8-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-02; OSFM 6-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-17-04 thru 
5-15-05; Administrative correction 5-20-05; OSFM 8-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 
6-7-05; OSFM 5-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, 
f. 3-15-11, cert. ef. 5-2-11; OSFM 4-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-6-12 thru 8-3-
12; OSFM 6-2012, f. 4-23-12, cert. ef. 8-3-12; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-
14 

837-012-0520 
Wholesale Permit Applications 

(1) Any In-State Wholesaler engaged in, or intending to 
engage in, the sale, provision, or shipment of Fireworks, Retail 
Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks, within 
Oregon, or from Oregon for delivery into another state, must first 
apply for and obtain a Wholesale Permit issued by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal. 

(2) Any Out-of-State Wholesaler engaged in, or intending to 
engage in, the sale, provision, or shipment of Fireworks, Retail 
Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks, in or into 
Oregon must first apply for and obtain a Wholesale Permit issued 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(3) A separate Wholesale Permit must be applied for and 
obtained for each Wholesale Site that may conduct Wholesale 
Operations within, from, or into Oregon. 

(4) The application for a Wholesale Permit must be made on a 
form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(5) All information provided by the applicant on the Permit 
Application must be true and correct to the applicant’s knowledge. 

(6) In addition to completion of the Wholesale Permit applica-
tion forms, applicants must submit: 

(a) A copy of a current photographic identification card of all 
applicants. The Office of State Fire Marshal may only accept photo 
identification issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the 
applicant’s state of residency. For purposes of this rule, if the appli-
cant is a corporation, the applicant must submit copies of photo-
graphic identification of all the corporate officers. If the applicant 
is a partnership, the applicant must submit copies of the photographic 
identification of all partners. 

(b) A description of the types, pursuant to United States 
Department of Transportation classification, and the maximum 
quantities, by total gross weight, of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, 
Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks to be stored at the 
Wholesale Site for which a Wholesale Permit has been applied; 

(7) As part of the Permit Application process, the applicant 
must obtain the approval of the Local Fire Authority and the local 
building official prior to submitting their application to the Office 
of State Fire Marshal. 

(8) Exception to 837-012-0520(7): If the applicant’s Wholesale 
Site address was continuous during the year preceding the year for 
which the Wholesale Permit renewal is sought, the applicant is 
required only to re-submit to the Office of State Fire Marshal, as 
part of the Wholesale Permit renewal application, the approval of 
the Local Fire Authority. 

(9) As part of the Permit Application, Wholesale Permit appli-
cants who intend to Sell or provide 1.3G Fireworks must submit to 
the Office of State Fire Marshal a copy of their appropriate license 
issued by BATFE. 

(10) Additional wholesale requirements pertaining to fireworks, 
where applicable, must include: 

(a) Provide $1M premises liability insurance as part of whole-
sale permit application; 

(b) Compliance with federal DOT insurance requirements of 
$5,000,000 per shipment of 1.3G fireworks and $1,000,000 per 
shipment of 1.4G fireworks; 

(c) Hazardous Material Certificate of Registration required by 
49 CFR Part 107, Subpart G; as part of wholesale permit applica-
tion; 

(d) File Federal DOT MCS 90, MCS 150B; 
(e) Provide proof of wholesale permit to offer manufactured 

pyrotechnics into commerce as required by ORS 480.120; 
(f) Compliance with BATF 5400; 
(g) Annually file the Oregon Hazardous Substance Possession 

Survey; 
(h) Submit a Certificate of Occupancy for all buildings as part 

of wholesale permit application; 
(i) Compliance with NFPA 68 guide for explosive venting 

Hazardous group H as part of wholesale permit application; 
(j) Compliance with NFPA 1124 manufacturing and storage 

requirements; 
(k) Any structures utilized as storage exceeding 30 days must 

be classified as permanent storage and meet NFPA 1124 require-
ments. 

(l) Compliance with Oregon Structural Specialty Code Section 
307; 2014 Edition, 

(m) Compliance with Oregon OSHA requirements. 
(11) “BE” and “EX” numbers must be obtained before any 

manufactured pyrotechnic device is entered into commerce or 
transported. 

(12) Applicants must submit the completed Permit Application 
to the Local Fire Authority for review and signature approving the 
Wholesale Site prior to submission of the Permit Application to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(13) Permit Applications must be signed by all applicants. 
(a) If the applicant is a partnership, the application must be 

signed by every partner. 
(b) If the applicant is a corporation, the application must be 

signed by an officer of the corporation. 
(c) If the applicant is an Out-of-State Wholesaler, the applica-

tion must be signed by the applicant and the Manager. 
(14) Permit Applications may not be submitted to the Office 

of State Fire Marshal prior to October 1 of the year preceding the 
year for which the Wholesale Permit is sought. 

(15) Permit Applications must be postmarked by a United 
States Postmark, or received at the Office of State Fire Marshal, no 
later than December 18 of the year preceding the year for which the 
Wholesale Permit is sought. If December 18 falls on a day when a 
postmark cannot be obtained, applications must be postmarked on 
the preceding business day when a postmark can be obtained. If 
December 18 falls on a day when the Office of State Fire Marshal 
is closed, and the applicant wishes to hand deliver their application, 
it must be delivered to the Office of State Fire Marshal at the Salem 
office on the preceding business day. However, due to limited 
resources in the fireworks program, it is recommended that 
wholesale fireworks permit applications be postmarked or submitted 
to the OSFM by December 1 of the year preceding the year for 
which the permit is sought. 

(16) Relocation of the Wholesale Site requires submission of 
a new Permit Application and Wholesale Permit fee. 

(17) Only one Wholesale Permit may be applied for or issued 
for each Wholesale Site. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110–480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 3-5-82; FM 3-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 4-16-82; 
FM 3-1985, f. & ef. 4-17-85, FM 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-9-86; FM 6-1986(Temp), f. 
& ef. 6-10-86; FM 9-1986, f. & ef. 12-10-86; Suspended by FM 2-1989(Temp), 
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f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-89; Renumbered from 837-
012-0120; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 
15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 8-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-02; OSFM 7-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-13-04 thru 
6-10-05; OSFM 8-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 1-2008(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 1-25-08 thru 7-3-08; OSFM 2-2008, f. 4-3-08, cert. ef. 5-1-08; OSFM 
5-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, f. 3-15-11, 
cert. ef. 5-2-11; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0525 
Wholesale Permits 

(1) Within 30 days of receipt of a properly completed and 
timely submitted Permit Application and Wholesale Permit fee, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal must issue or propose to deny the 
Wholesale Permit. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal may not approve a Permit 
Application or issue a Wholesale Permit without the prior approval 
of the Local Fire Authority. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal will assign a unique num-
ber to each Wholesale Permit issued. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal will mail the original 
Wholesale Permit to the applicant at the mailing address listed on 
the Permit Application. 

(5) Wholesale Permit holders may request a duplicate copy of 
their permit by certifying to the Office of State Fire Marshal, in 
writing, that their permit has been lost, stolen or destroyed. Written 
requests must be signed and dated by the applicant pursuant to 
OAR 837-012-0520(12). 

(6) The issuance of a Wholesale Permit does not in any way 
constitute approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of any Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works purchased, sold or provided by any other means pursuant to 
the permit. 

(7) A Wholesale Permit allows the holder of the permit to 
engage in the purchase, transportation, possession, storage and 
sales of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agri-
cultural Fireworks, when those activities are otherwise in confor-
mance with applicable requirements of ORS 480.111 through 
480.165, OAR chapter 837, division 12, and any other applicable 
federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations pertaining to 
Fireworks. 

(8) A Wholesale Permit authorizes the holder of the permit to 
Sell or provide by any other means, Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, 
Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks, within or into 
Oregon, only to holders of: 

(a) General, limited, or special effects display permits; 
(b) Retail permits; 
(c) Wholesale Permits; or 
(d) Agricultural use permits. 
(9) A Wholesale Permit does not authorize the sale or 

provision by any other means, of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Dis-
play Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks to Individual Members 
of the General Public. 

(10) The Wholesale Permit and permit number issued by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal are valid from January 1 to December 
31 of the year for which they are issued. All Wholesale Permits and 
permit numbers expire on December 31 of the year in which they 
are valid. A Wholesale Permit holder may be issued the same 
permit number every year if the permit holder applies for and 
obtains a Wholesale Permit in consecutive years. 

(11) The Wholesale Permit is not transferable to another 
Person nor can another Person perform any activities authorized by 
the Wholesale Permit unless that Person is listed in the Permit 
Application. 

(12) Only the Wholesale Permit holder and the employees of 
the Wholesale Permit holder may engage in Wholesale Operations 
authorized by the Wholesale Permit. 

(13) The Wholesale Permit holder’s name, mailing address 
and Wholesale Permit number must be imprinted or affixed by the 
Wholesale Permit holder to: 

(a) All sales forms, orders, invoices, inventory sheets and any 
other similar or related documents issued, used or completed by the 

Wholesale Permit holder in conducting its Wholesale Operations; 
and 

(b) The outside of all Cartons, Containers, or Cases of Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works being shipped, transported, or otherwise provided by the 
Wholesale Permit holder.  

(c) Care should be taken to ensure any other required labeling 
is not obscured when marking items required by 837-012-0525(13) 
(a) and (b). 

(14) All shipments by a Wholesale Permit holder of Fireworks, 
Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks 
must show on the outside of each Carton, Container or Case, sales 
forms, orders, invoices, inventory sheets and any other similar or 
related documents issued, used or completed by the Wholesale Per-
mit holder the full name and permit number of the permit holder to 
whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or 
Agricultural Fireworks are being provided. 

(a) If the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or 
Agricultural Fireworks are being shipped, transported or otherwise 
provided in or into Oregon, the shipment must show an Office of 
State Fire Marshal-issued permit number. 

(b) If the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or 
Agricultural Fireworks are being shipped, transported or otherwise 
provided from Oregon for delivery into another state, the shipment 
must show the appropriate license or permit number, if the Person 
to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or 
Agricultural Fireworks are being provided is required under the 
laws of the other state to possess a license or permit. 

(c) Care should be taken to ensure any other required labeling 
is not obscured when marking items required by 837-012-0525 
(14) (a) and (b). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: 
Hist.: FM 2-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 3-5-82; FM 3-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 4-16-82; 
FM 3-1985, f. & ef. 4-17-85, FM 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-9-86; FM 6-1986(Temp), f. 
& ef. 6-10-86; FM 9-1986, f. & ef. 12-10-86; Suspended by FM 2-1989(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-89; Amended and renum-
bered from 837-012-0120;OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 
12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-
14-02; OSFM 8-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-02; OSFM 7-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
12-13-04 thru 6-10-05; OSFM 8-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 5-
2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, f. 3-15-11, cert. 
ef. 5-2-11; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0530 
Permit Fees 

(1) Permit fees may be paid at, or mailed to, the Office of 
State Fire Marshal and must accompany the Permit Application. 

(2) Payment may be made by personal check, business check, 
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check, 
the Office of State Fire Marshal may not take any action on the Per-
mit Application until the check has cleared the bank. 

(3) The permit fee is $3,000. 
(4) Permit fees are non-refundable. Exception: The State Fire 

Marshal may refund all or part of the permit fee if it is determined 
the application is not appropriate or the permit is denied. 

(5) Permit fees are non-transferable to any other individual or 
business. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 6-
2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-17-04 thru 5-15-05; Administrative correction 
5-20-05; OSFM 8-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 9-2008(Temp), f. 
11-14-08, cert. ef. 11-17-08 thru 5-8-09; OSFM 1-2009, f. 4-9-09, cert. ef. 4-10-
09; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0535 
Denial, Suspension and/or Revocation of Wholesale Permit 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or 
revoke a Wholesale Permit if a Wholesale Permit holder, or an 
applicant for a Wholesale Permit, fails to comply with ORS 
480.111 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12. 
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(2) The period of denial, suspension or revocation may not 
exceed three years. In determining the appropriate sanction, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal may consider the following criteria: 

(a) The severity of the violation or violations and the impact 
on public safety, particularly whether the circumstances of the vio-
lation or violations presented a significant fire hazard or other 
public safety danger; 

(b) The number of similar or related violations alleged to have 
been committed in the current transaction, event or occurrence; 

(c) Whether the violation or violations were willful or inten-
tional; 

(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal against the Wholesale Permit holder or applicant; 
and 

(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation or violations. 

(3) Suspension or revocation of a Wholesale Permit may 
include suspension or revocation of the current permit and the right 
to apply for a renewal permit. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or 
revoke all Wholesale Permits issued to a Wholesale Permit holder 
or applicant for each of the permit holder’s or applicant’s Wholesale 
Sites pursuant to OAR 837-012-0520(3). 

(5) At any time after the expiration of any period of denial of 
a Permit Application, or suspension or revocation of a Wholesale 
Permit, imposed by the Office of State Fire Marshal, the applicant 
or Wholesale Permit holder subject to the denial, suspension or 
revocation may submit a Permit Application to the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. The Office of State Fire Marshal must either grant or 
deny the application pursuant to OAR 837-012-0525(1). If granted, 
the Wholesale Permit is valid for the remainder of the calendar 
year. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 5-
2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, f. 3-15-11, cert. 
ef. 5-2-11; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0540 
Wholesale Sites Located in Oregon 

(1) The location of a Wholesale Site may not present a signif-
icant risk to surrounding life and property or to the ability of local 
emergency response agencies to respond. 

(2) The Wholesale Site must be designed, constructed, 
operated, maintained and separated in conformance with the appli-
cable requirements of: 

(a) NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation, 
and Storage of Fireworks, the Edition as published in August 2012 
(The separation distances must be met as required by NFPA 1124, 
the Edition as published in August 2012. All Fireworks stored at 
the Wholesale Site must be considered in calculating the separation 
distances); 

(b) NFPA 68, Guide for Explosion Venting, 2014 Edition; 
(c) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2014 Edition; 
(d) Oregon Fire Code, 2014 Edition; 
NOTE: Wholesale Sites that are currently approved may not be required 
to be altered or updated to comply with these standards. 
(3) Temporary structures, including tents, vehicles and trailers 

of less than 10,000 pound gross carrying capacity, and buildings, 
structures, vehicles, or trailers not approved by the Local Fire 
Authority and the Office of State Fire Marshal may not be used as 
Wholesale Sites. 

(4) Security for storage facilities must be provided by con-
struction and maintenance of a solid or chain-link fence, at least six 
feet high with locking gates, that surrounds the facility. Security 
may be provided by an alternative means only if first approved by 
the Local Fire Authority. 

(5) Smoking, other ignition sources, or the use of Fireworks, 
Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks 
may not be allowed within 100 feet of the storage or sales facilities. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 8-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-02; OSFM 7-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-13-04 thru 
6-10-05; OSFM 8-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 5-2010(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, f. 3-15-11, cert. ef. 5-2-11; OSFM 
3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0545 
Sales and Records — General 

(1) All Individuals involved in Wholesale Operations Must be 
at least 18 years of age. See OAR 837-012-0555(5) and (6). 

(2) The Manager and Sales Representatives of the Wholesale 
Operations, while not required to be present at all times the site is 
open for business Must be located at the Wholesale Site. 

(3) A copy of the Wholesale Permit Must be posted in an area 
readily visible to all Individuals entering the sales facility. 

(4) Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agri-
cultural Fireworks may be displayed in the sales facility in accor-
dance with the following requirements: 

(a) 1.3G Fireworks May not be displayed; 
(b) 1.4G Fireworks may be displayed. Only one of each type 

of Firework May be displayed unless multiples of one type of Fire-
work are contained in a single package. In that case, only the 
smallest available package May be displayed and in accordance 
with Local Fire Authority and Office of State Fire Marshal require-
ments. 

(5) All sales or provision of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Dis-
play Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks, including donation, by 
Wholesale Permit holders Must be recorded on a form provided by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal or, for sales of 1.3G Fireworks, the 
BATFE form P5400.4. Sales or provision of Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks may be 
recorded on an alternative form if approved, in writing, by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal or the BATFE. 

(6) The records described in subsection (5) of this rule Must 
include, at a minimum: 

(a) The name, address, and license or permit number, if 
required, of the Person to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, 
Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are being sold or oth-
erwise provided, including the state that issued the license or 
permit, the date of issuance and the expiration date of the license or 
permit; 

(b) The address, including street number, city and state, and 
telephone number of the destination for the Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks; 

(c) The permit number of the Wholesale Permit holder, 
including the date of issuance and expiration date; and 

(d) A list of the types, trade names and quantity of Fireworks, 
Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks 
sold or otherwise provided. 

(7) The record form described under subsection (5) of this rule 
Must be completed in full by the Wholesale Permit holder and 
signed by the Person purchasing or obtaining the Fireworks, Retail 
Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks. 

(8) All records described under subsection (5) of this rule, 
whether originals or copies, Must be clear, legible and accurate. 

(9) Records described under subsection (5) of this rule Must 
be maintained at the Wholesale Site. Records Must be retained for 
five years from the date of sale or provision. Upon request, records 
Must be immediately provided to the Local Fire Authority, law 
enforcement authority or representative of the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 

(10) Wholesale Permit holders Must maintain at the Wholesale 
Site at all times a list of all employees involved in the Wholesale 
Operations, including their names, addresses, phone numbers 
(including home), driver’s license numbers, and birth dates. Upon 
request a legible copy of the list Must be provided immediately to 
the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(11) Wholesale Permit holders Must maintain at the Wholesale 
Site at all times a list of all vehicles used to transport Fireworks, 

Chapter 837     Department of State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2016 Edition                                                                                      23 - 317                                                                                         (11-15-15)



Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks, 
including year, make, model, license number and lease agreement, 
if applicable. A legible copy of the list Must be provided 
immediately to the Office of State Fire Marshal, upon request. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 7-
2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-13-04 thru 6-10-05; OSFM 8-2005, f. 5-24-05, 
cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0550 
Sales to Out-of-State Residents by In-State Wholesalers 

(1) In addition to any other requirements set forth in these 
rules, the sale or provision by any other means, of Fireworks, 
Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks or Agricultural Fireworks to 
out-of-state Residents must comply with the laws of the state 
where the Person to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, 
Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are to be sold or pro-
vided resides and the laws of the state where the Fireworks, Retail 
Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are to be 
transported or shipped, if the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display 
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are to be transported or 
shipped to a state other than where the Person resides. 

(2) The Person to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Dis-
play Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are sold or otherwise 
provided must present to the Wholesale Permit holder for inspection, 
at the time of sale or provision, the original or a certified copy of 
the Person’s valid license or permit when such license or permit is 
required by the laws of the other state. 

(3) The Person to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Dis-
play Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are sold or otherwise 
provided must present to the Wholesaler for inspection, at the time 
of sale or provision, proof of the Person’s identity. Such proof must 
be an official, signed and sealed photo-identification card, such as 
a driver’s license issued by the Person’s state of Residence or 
Domicile. 

(4) Wholesale Permit holders with Wholesale Sites located 50 
miles or less from the borders of the State of Oregon, must make a 
good faith effort to determine if customers are Oregon Residents or 
out-of-state Residents. 

(5) Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agri-
cultural Fireworks may not be sold or otherwise provided to out-of-
state Residents whose state of Residence prohibits the sale, 
provision, purchase, possession, or use of Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks. Exception: 
This does not apply to an out-of-state resident that has applied for 
and been granted a permit pursuant to ORS 480.111 through 
480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 5-
2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, f. 3-15-11, cert. 
ef. 5-2-11; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0555 
Prohibited Acts and Limitations 

(1) Wholesale Permit holders may not create, maintain, or 
allow the existence of a fire hazard at any location under their 
control where Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or 
Agricultural Fireworks are stored, transported, sold, or used. 

(2) No Wholesale Permit holder may Sell or provide by any 
other means, including donation: 

(a) Fireworks or Display Fireworks to any Individual under 21 
years of age; 

(b) Retail Fireworks or Agricultural Fireworks to any Individual 
under 18 years of age if the sale or provision of Retail Fireworks or 
Agricultural Fireworks is to an Individual in Oregon; 

(c) Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks or Agri-
cultural Fireworks to any Person who does not possess a valid 
permit for such Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or 

Agricultural Fireworks issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal, 
or if required, a valid license or permit issued by the equivalent 
agency in the Person’s state of Residence or the state of destination 
for the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agri-
cultural Fireworks; 

(d) Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks or Agri-
cultural Fireworks which have been altered in any manner. 

(3) No Person who has been convicted of a violation of ORS 
480.111 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12, or who 
has had any Fireworks permit or operator certificate suspended, 
denied or revoked, may participate in any manner in Wholesale 
Operations, for a period not to exceed three years. 

(4) A Wholesale Permit holder may not knowingly employ, or 
have direct business ties with, any Person whose Wholesale or 
Retail Fireworks Permit or operator certificate is revoked or sus-
pended. 

(5) No Individual under 18 years of age may participate in any 
manner in Wholesale Operations involving Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks. 

(6) No Individual under 21 years of age may participate in any 
manner in Wholesale Operations involving Display Fireworks. 

(7) A Wholesale Permit holder may not fill out, complete or 
submit a general, limited, or special effects display permit, retail 
permit, or agricultural use permit previously filled out or completed 
by a different Wholesaler unless the Wholesale Permit holder has 
applied for and received approval from the Office of State Fire 
Marshal to do so. 

(8) Wholesale Permit holders may not sell, provide, ship, 
transport, keep, offer for sale, expose for sale, possess, use, 
explode or have exploded any Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display 
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks that have not been approved, 
certified or listed for transport by the United States Department of 
Transportation and the United States Consumer Product Safety 
Commission, or if the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks do not have a United States 
Bureau of Explosives Temporary Transfer Permit. 

(9) A Wholesale Permit or permit number that has expired or 
has not been issued does not authorize the purchase, use, discharge, 
transportation, storage, possession, sale or provision by any other 
means, including donation, of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display 
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks. 

(10) Every Person who knows of, engages in, allows, or is 
otherwise a party to, Wholesale Operations not in conformance 
with ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 
12, may be subject to denial, revocation, or suspension of the Per-
son’s Fireworks permit or operator certificate issued by the Office 
of State Fire Marshal, and a civil penalty. 

(11) No Person may purchase or otherwise obtain, possess, 
use, discharge, transport, offer for sale, sell, transfer or otherwise 
provide Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks or Agri-
cultural Fireworks without first applying for and obtaining the 
appropriate permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal pur-
suant to ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, divi-
sion 12. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 1-
2005(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-13-05 thru 7-11-05; OSFM 8-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. 
ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 4-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-06; OSFM 5-2010(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, f. 3-15-11, cert. ef. 5-2-11; OSFM 
3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0560 
Civil and Criminal Enforcement Actions 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal, Local Fire Authority, or 
law enforcement authority may confiscate, remove or have removed 
any Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks or Agricultural 
Fireworks offered for sale, sold, provided, transported, purchased 
or otherwise obtained, stored, possessed, used or discharged in vio-
lation of ORS 480.111 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, divi-
sion 12. 
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(2) The Wholesale Permit holder, or any other Person respon-
sible for any violation or violations, may be responsible for 
payment of the agency’s costs in confiscating or removing any 
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks or Agricultural 
Fireworks pursuant to subsection (1) of this rule. 

(3) Upon finding a violation, the Office of State Fire Marshal 
may order that any confiscated Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, 
Display Fireworks or Agricultural Fireworks be: 

(a) Returned to the manufacturer of the Fireworks, Retail 
Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural fireworks; or 

(b) Disposed of in any manner approved by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal, including destruction of the Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 5-
2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, f. 3-15-11, cert. 
ef. 5-2-11; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0565 
Transportation 

(1) All shipments of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display 
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks within or into Oregon, or 
from Oregon for delivery to another state may be transported only 
by Persons who comply with all applicable United States Department 
of Transportation requirements and any other federal, state, or local 
laws, rules, or regulations pertaining to the transportation of Fire-
works. 

(2) All Persons engaged in the transportation of Fireworks, 
Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks 
within, into or out of Oregon must verify that the outside of all Car-
tons, Containers or Cases, containing such Fireworks and any 
accompanying documentation, are marked with all the information 
required under OAR 837-012-0525(13) and (14). 

(3) Wholesale Permit holders may not sell or provide Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works to any Person for transport when the permit holder knows or 
should know that the Person cannot or will not transport such Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works in accordance with United States Department of Transporta-
tion requirements or any other applicable federal, state or local 
laws, rules or regulations. 

(4) Common carriers must immediately notify, verbally or in 
writing, the Local Fire Authority or the Office of State Fire 
Marshal of all shipments of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display 
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks to be delivered within or into 
Oregon. Such shipments shall be subject to examination by the 
Local Fire Authority and the Office of State Fire Marshal to deter-
mine compliance with all applicable federal, state and local laws, 
rules, and regulations pertaining to Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, 
Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks. If necessary, the 
Consumer Product Safety Commission, United States Customs, the 
United States Department of Transportation and the Oregon 
Department of Transportation may be contacted for assistance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 5-
2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10 thru 5-2-11; OSFM 1-2011, f. 3-15-11, cert. 
ef. 5-2-11; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0570 
Hazardous Materials Reporting for Wholesalers with Oregon 
Storage Sites 

All Persons possessing more than ten pounds of 1.3G 
Fireworks or 1.4G Fireworks, as classified by the United States 
Department of Transportation, must annually complete the Haz-
ardous Substance Survey pursuant to ORS 453.307 to 453.372 and 
OAR chapter 837, division 85. Contact the Office of State Fire 
Marshal for survey forms and instructions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 

Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-

89; OSFM 15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; 

OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

Retail Sales and Storage of Pyrotechnics 

(Allowed Fireworks) in Oregon 

837-012-0600 

Purpose and Scope 

These rules establish permit and other requirements for 

Persons who Sell or otherwise provide, intend to Sell or otherwise 

provide, Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the General 

Public. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 480 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 

480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 

Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-

90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 

f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. 

& cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14
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837-012-0605 
Effective Dates 

OAR 837-012-0600 through 837-012-0675 are effective July 
1, 2014. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 
480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0610 
Definitions 

For purposes of ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and OAR 837-
012-0600 through 837-012-0675, the following definitions apply: 

(1) “Agricultural Fireworks” means Fireworks used for the 
purpose of scaring away or repelling birds or animals pursuant to 
ORS 480.122 or controlling predatory animals pursuant to ORS 
480.124. 

(2) “BATFE” means the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms 
and Explosives. 

(3) “Building” has the same meaning provided in the Oregon 
Structural Specialty Code, 2014 Edition. The term does not include 
a Tent, Canopy, Stand or trailer. 

(4) “Canopy” means a temporary structure, enclosure or 
shelter; constructed of fabric or pliable materials; supported by any 
manner, except by air or the contents it protects, and is open 
without sidewalls or drops on 75 percent or more of the perimeter. 

(5) “Carton, Container, or Case” means any box, parcel, 
bundle, or other package used to hold or contain Fireworks, Retail 
Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks for pur-
poses of transportation or storage. The term does not include: 

(a) The wrapping or packaging used to hold or contain a 
single, or small number of, Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display 
Fireworks or Agricultural Fireworks; or 

(b) A vehicle or other mobile container used to transport Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works. 

(6) “Combination Item” means a consumer fireworks device 
that contains combinations of two or more effects. 

(7) “Cone Fountain” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(1). 

(8) “Consumer Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(2). 

(9) “Cylindrical Fountain” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(3). 

(10) “Display Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(4). 

(11) “Employee” means an Individual hired by a Retail Permit 
holder to Sell Retail Fireworks from a Retail Sales Outlet, or to 
otherwise engage in Retail Operations. 

(12) “Exempt Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(5). 

(13) “Exit” means an opening or passageway that: 
(a) Provides a means of leaving an enclosed space or area; and 
(b) Is required to be constructed in accordance with the 

Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2014 Edition. The term may 
include a check stand Exit. 

(14) “Explosive mixture” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(6). 

(15) “Fire Protection District” means any district created 
under the laws of Oregon or the United States, including rural fire 
protection districts and any federal, state or private forest patrol 
areas.  

(16) “Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 480.111(7). 
(17) “Flitter Sparkler” has the meaning provided in ORS 

480.111(9). 
(18) “Ground Spinner” has the meaning provided in ORS 

480.111(10). The term does not include “Crazy Jacks,” “Jumping 
Jacks” and similar spinning devices that do not have a means to 
prevent uncontrolled and unpredictable behavior during discharge, 
and due to uncontrolled and unpredictable behavior, present a 
s e v e r e  

hazard of fire and injury. The sale of such devices is therefore  
prohibited. 

(19) “Illegal Fireworks” means any Fireworks other than con-
sumer fireworks including but not limited to, any Firework that 
flies into the air, or explodes or behaves in an uncontrolled and 
unpredictable manner. 

(20) “Illuminating Torch” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(11). 

(21) “Individual” means a single human being. 
(22) “Individual Member of the General Public” means any 

Person who has not been issued a wholesale permit, a general, lim-
ited or special effects display permit, a Retail Permit or an agricul-
tural permit by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(23) “Individual Responsible for Sales” means the Individual 
identified on the Permit Application who is responsible for the 
operation of the Retail Sales Outlet listed on the Permit Applica-
tion. 

(24) “Indoor Sales” means sales of Retail Fireworks from 
inside a Building or Tent. 

(25) “Local Fire Authority” means the local fire official 
having jurisdiction over the Retail Site or the Retail Fireworks stor-
age location. 

(26) “NFPA” means the National Fire Protection Association. 
(27) “Novelties and Trick Noisemakers” means those items 

described in the American Pyrotechnics Association Standard 87-
1. It also means Exempt Fireworks. 

(28) “Outdoor Sales” means sales of Retail Fireworks from a 
Tent, Canopy, Stand or trailer. 

(29) “Permit Application” means the application form and 
accompanying documentation required to be completed and sub-
mitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the 
issuance of a Retail Permit. 

(30) “Pyrotechnic device” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(16). 

(31) “Retail Fireworks” means consumer fireworks, as defined 
in ORS 480.111(2). The term does include a firework designed 
with the means to roll or move while remaining on the ground, that 
travels 12’ or less horizontally on smooth surfaces. 

(32) “Retail Operations” means the sale of Retail Fireworks 
from a Retail Sales Outlet to Individual Members of the General 
Public and related activities, including the purchase, possession, 
storage and transportation of Retail Fireworks. 

(33) “Retail Permit” means the official written document 
issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal pursuant to ORS 
480.127 that authorizes the purchase, transport, possession, storage 
and sale of Retail Fireworks, at retail, when otherwise in confor-
mance with all applicable requirements of ORS 480.111 through 
480.165, OAR chapter 837, division 12, and any other applicable 
federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations pertaining to 
fireworks. 

(34) “Retail Sales Outlet” means a permanently or temporarily 
erected structure or enclosure located at the Retail Site and from 
which Retail Fireworks are sold to Individual Members of the Gen-
eral Public. The term includes Stands, Tents, Canopies, Buildings, 
and trailers. 

(35) “Retail Site” means the physical location or address of 
the Retail Sales Outlet listed on the Retail Permit where Retail 
Fireworks are sold. 

(36) “Retailer” means any Person who Sells, transfers, or pro-
vides by any other means, or intends to Sell, transfer or provide by 
any other means, Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the 
General Public. 

(37) “Sales Display” means the placement at a Retail Sales 
Outlet of Retail Fireworks to allow Individual Members of the 
General Public to view, handle and purchase the Retail Fireworks. 

(38) “Sell” means to transfer possession of property from one 
Person to another Person for consideration. 

(39) “Stand” means a booth temporarily erected and used for 
the sale of Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the General 
Public. 
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(40) “Tent” means a temporary structure, enclosure or shelter 
constructed of fabric or pliable material supported by any manner 
except by air or the contents it protects and is in compliance with 
Oregon Fire Code requirements for tents. 

(41) “Volunteer” means a member of a non-profit organization 
that has applied for and obtained a Retail Permit. 

(42) “Wheel” has the meaning provided in ORS 480.111(18). 
(43) “Wholesaler” means any Person who Sells or provides by 

any other means, or intends to Sell or provide by any other means 
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricul-
tural Fireworks and has obtained a fireworks wholesale permit 
issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01; OSFM 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-
05; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-14 

837-012-0615 
General 

(1) Retailers desiring to engage in other types of Fireworks 
activities, including wholesale sales, public displays or agricultural 
use, must meet all applicable requirements in ORS 480.111 
through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12, including 
those pertaining to obtaining permits for such activities from local 
and state authorities. 

(2) Retail Permit holders must comply with all applicable fed-
eral, state and local laws, rules and regulations, pertaining to Fire-
works, including: 

(a) ORS 480.111 through 480.165; 
(b) All applicable requirements of OAR chapter 837, division 

12; 
(c) Oregon Fire Code, 2014 Edition; and 
(d) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2014 Edition. 
(3) Retail Permit holders must notify the Office of State Fire 

Marshal, verbally or in writing, within 24 hours of the date of 
change, of: 

(a) The Retail Permit holder’s mailing address or telephone 
number; or 

(b) The mailing address or 24-hour contact number for the 
Individual Responsible for Sales. 

(4) Retail Permit holders must notify the Office of State Fire 
Marshal and the Local Fire Authority, in writing of a change in the 
identity of the Individual Responsible for Sales at least 24 hours 
before the new Individual becomes the Individual Responsible for 
Sales. Such a change is subject to the prior approval of the Local 
Fire Authority and the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(5) Exempt Fireworks are exempt from the permit requirements 
set forth in ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, 
division 12. Exempt Fireworks may be sold and purchased without 
either the seller or purchaser having to first obtain a permit issued 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01; OSFM 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-
05; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0620 
Retail Permit Applications 

(1) Any Person engaged in, or intending to engage in, the sale 
or provision by any other means of Retail Fireworks to Individual 
Members of the General Public must apply for and obtain a Retail 
Permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(2) A separate Retail Permit must be applied for and obtained 
for each Retail Sales Outlet that may conduct sales of Retail Fire-
works in Oregon. 

(3) Only one application for a Retail Permit may be made for 
each Retail Site except pursuant to OAR 837-012-0630(3). 

(4) The application for a Retail Permit must be made on a 
form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(5) All information provided by the applicant on the Permit 
Application must be true and correct to the applicant’s knowledge. 

(6) In addition to completion of the application form, applicants 
must submit copies of a sketch of the Retail Site in accordance with 
subsection (7) of this rule. 

(7) The sketch of the Retail Site, required pursuant to 
subsection (6) of this rule, must include without limitation, the fol-
lowing: 

(a) A diagram of the Retail Sales Outlet and its relationship to 
adjacent areas located at the Retail Site; 

(b) For all Outdoor Sales, the location and distances of all 
structures, Buildings, highways, streets, trees, and other vegetation 
within 50 feet of the Retail Sales Outlet; 

(c) For all Indoor Sales, the location of the Sales Display and 
the location and distances of all highly combustible materials 
within a 20-foot radius of the Sales Display; 

(A) For Retail Sales Outlets located within structures or 
Buildings of less than 1,000 square feet, all Exits from the Building 
or structure; 

(B) For Retail Sales Outlets located in structures or Buildings 
of greater than 1,000 square feet, all Exits from the Building or 
structure located within 75 feet of the Sales Display; 

(C) For tents, all exits from the tent. 
(D) A list of the general types of merchandise located within 

20 feet of the Sales Display. This requirement does not apply to 
Tents. 

(d) The location of any open flames, exposed heating elements 
or other direct sources of ignition, including, but not limited to, 
coffee makers, food warmers, cookers and broilers located inside 
the Retail Sales Outlet or, for Indoor Sales, within 20 feet of the 
Sales Display. 

(8) Any applicant for a Retail Permit, other than an Individual, 
must list on the application form the name, address, and phone 
number of one Individual holding a management position within 
the permit holder’s company or organization. See definition of 
“Person” in ORS 174.100(4) and “Individual” in OAR 837-012-
0610(21). 

(9) As part of the Permit Application process, the applicant 
must apply for and obtain, in writing when available; 

(a) All required local and state building code, fire code and 
business licensing inspections, approvals, permits and licenses; 
and 

(b) All required state and local land use and zoning permits, 
licenses and approvals for the Retail Site. 

(10) Applicants must submit their completed Permit Applica-
tion to the Local Fire Authority for review and signature approving 
the Retail Site prior to submission of the Permit Application to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(11) The required Local Fire Authority signatures are: 
(a) For retail sales conducted inside city limits, the Permit 

Application must be signed by the city Fire Chief or his authorized 
representative; 

(b) For retail sales conducted outside city limits, but inside a 
rural Fire Protection District, the Permit Application must be 
signed by the district Fire Chief or his authorized representative; 

(c) For retail sales conducted outside both city limits and a 
rural Fire Protection District, the Permit Application must be 
signed by the District Deputy State Fire Marshal. 

(d) Applicants must also obtain the signature of the Local Fire 
Authority with jurisdiction over the Retail Fireworks storage loca-
tion, regardless of whether the storage location is the same as the 
Retail Site. 

(12) Proof of identification of the Individual Responsible for 
Sales that will occur at temporary outdoor locations such as tents or 
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stands must be provided to the Local Fire Authority at the time the 
Permit Application is submitted to the Local Fire Authority for 
review and signature. The proof of identification must be a current 
and recognizable photographic identification. 

(13) Permit Applications may not be submitted to the Office 
of State Fire Marshal prior to January 1 of the year for which the 
permit is sought. 

(14) ORS 480.127 requires retail fireworks sales applicants to 
apply in writing to the State Fire Marshal for a permit at least 15 
days in advance of the proposed sale. However, due to limited 
resources in the fireworks program, it is recommended that retail 
fireworks permit applications be postmarked or submitted to the 
OSFM by April 15 of the year for which the permit is sought. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 
480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef.12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, f. 
& cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-
00; Administrative correction 6-14-01; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; 
OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-05; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; 
OSFM 5-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-06; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0625 
Retail Permit Fees 

(1) Permit fees may be paid at, or mailed to, the Office of 
State Fire Marshal and must accompany the Permit Application. 

(2) Payment may be made by personal check, business check, 
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check, 
the Office of State Fire Marshal will not take any action on the 
Permit Application until the check has cleared the bank. 

(3) The permit fee for each Permit Application is $100. 
(4) Permit fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-
01; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-05; OSFM 13-2005(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
8-16-05 thru 2-11-06; OSFM 2-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-13-06 thru 3-10-06; 
OSFM 5-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-06; OSFM 9-2008(Temp), f. 11-14-08, cert. 
ef. 11-17-08 thru 5-8-09; OSFM 1-2009, f. 4-9-09, cert. ef. 4-10-09; OSFM 3-
2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0630 
Issuance of Retail Permits 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may not approve a Permit 
Application, or issue a Retail Permit, without the prior approval of 
the Local Fire Authority. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal will assign a unique num-
ber to each Retail Permit issued. 

(3) Only one Retail Permit may be issued for each Retail Site 
with the following exception: More than one Retail Sales Outlet 
may be erected and operated at the same Retail Site, whether 
indoors or outdoors, when there is sufficient space to allow each 
Retail Sales Outlet to conform to the requirements of ORS 480.111 
to 480.165 and these rules. For example, Retail Permits may be 
issued for both Outdoor Sales and Indoor Sales located at the same 
Retail Site. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal will mail the original 
Retail Permit to the applicant at the mailing address listed on the 
Permit Application. 

(5) Retail Permit holders may request a duplicate copy of their 
permit by certifying to the Office of State Fire Marshal, in writing, 
that their permit has been lost, stolen, or destroyed. Written 
requests must be signed and dated by the Retail Permit holder. 

(6) The issuance of a Retail Permit does not in any way con-
stitute approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of any Retail 
Fireworks purchased, sold or provided pursuant to the Retail Per-
mit. 

(7) A Retail Permit allows the holder of the permit to engage 
in the purchase, transportation, possession, storage and sales of 
Retail Fireworks when those activities are otherwise in conformance 
with the applicable requirements of ORS 480.111 through 480.165, 

OAR chapter 837, division 12 and any other applicable federal, 
state or local laws, rules or regulations pertaining to Fireworks. 

(8) A Retail Permit holder is authorized only to Sell or other-
wise provide Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the 
General Public. 

(9) A Retail Permit does not authorize the: 
(a) Purchase, possession or sale of Illegal Fireworks by or to 

any Person; or 
(b) Sale or provision of Retail Fireworks to any Person other 

than an Individual Member of the General Public. 
(10) The Retail Permit and permit number issued by the 

Office of State Fire Marshal are valid for the sale of Retail 
Fireworks from June 23 through July 6 of the year in which the 
permit was issued. 

(11) A Retail Permit is valid only for the Retail Sales Outlet 
and Retail Site listed on the permit. 

(12) Only the Retail Permit holder, and any Employees or 
Volunteers of the Retail Permit holder, may engage in Retail Oper-
ations authorized by the Retail Permit. 

(13) Retail Permits, and the rights conveyed by the permits, 
are not transferable. 

(14) Retail Permit holders must contract directly with the 
Wholesaler listed on the Retail Permit for the purchase of Retail 
Fireworks. 

(15) Retail Permit holders may not contract, subcontract, 
lease, sub-lease or convey by any other means to another Person 
any rights granted under the Retail Permit. 

(16) The Retail Permit issued by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal does not require property owners or others to allow sales of 
Retail Fireworks on their property. The Office of State Fire 
Marshal will not intercede on the behalf of Retail Permit holders 
with property owners who refuse to allow sales of Retail Fireworks 
on their property, or, in the case of two Permit Applications 
submitted or two Retail Permits inadvertently issued for the same 
Retail Site, when there is a question of which applicant or Retail 
Permit holder has permission from the property owner to conduct 
sales at the Retail Site. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; FM 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-97; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), 
f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; 
OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0635 
Purchase of Retail Fireworks by Retail Permit Holder 

(1) Retail Permit holders must purchase or otherwise obtain 
Retail Fireworks only from Wholesalers who possess a valid and 
current wholesale permit issued by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal. 

(2) A Retail Permit holder must purchase or otherwise obtain 
Retail Fireworks only from the Wholesaler listed on the Retail Per-
mit. 

(3) If the Wholesaler who supplies the Retail Fireworks to the 
Retail Permit holder is different from the Wholesaler listed on the 
Retail Permit, the Retail Permit holder must notify, in writing, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal and Local Fire Authority of the 
change at least 24 hours prior to purchasing the Retail Fireworks 
from the Wholesaler. 

(4) Prior to acceptance of Retail Fireworks from a Wholesaler, 
the Retail Permit holder must confirm that the outside of all 
Cartons, Containers, or Cases of Retail Fireworks, and any accom-
panying documentation are imprinted or affixed with the wholesale 
permit number pursuant to OAR 837-012-0525(13). 

(5) Prior to acceptance of Retail Fireworks from a Wholesaler, 
the Retail Permit holder must confirm that the outside of all 
Cartons, Containers, or Cases of Retail Fireworks and any accom-
panying documentation are imprinted or affixed with the full name 
and Retail Permit number of the Retail Permit holder. 

(6) Retail Permit holders may not accept any Cartons, Con-
tainers, or Cases of Retail Fireworks or accompanying documenta-
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tion that does not show the information required pursuant to sub-
sections (4) and (5) of this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 14-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 2-
2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 
3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0640 
Permits — Denial, Suspension and/or Revocation 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or 
revoke a Retail Permit if a Retail Permit holder, or an applicant, 
fails to comply with ORS 480.111 through 480.165 or OAR 
chapter 837, division 12. 

(2) The period of denial, suspension or revocation may not 
exceed three years. In determining the appropriate sanction, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal must consider the following criteria: 

(a) The severity of a violation and the impact on public safety, 
particularly whether the circumstances of the violation presented a 
significant fire hazard or other public safety danger; 

(b) The number of similar or related violations alleged to have 
been committed in the current transaction, event or occurrence; 

(c) Whether the violation was willful or intentional; 
(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of 

State Fire Marshal against the Retail Permit holder or applicant; 
and 

(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation. 

(3) Suspension or revocation of a Retail Permit may include 
suspension or revocation of the current permit and the right to 
apply for a subsequent permit. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend, or 
revoke all Retail Permits issued to a Retail Permit holder for each 
of the permit holder’s or applicant’s Retail Sales Outlets pursuant 
to OAR 837-012-0620(2). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 
480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-14 

837-012-0645 
Sales and Storage of Retail Fireworks 

(1) A Retail Sales Outlet may never be left unattended during 
the business hours of the outlet. Any Retail Sales Outlet in 
violation of these rules may be subject to closure. 

(2) The Retail Permit holder or the Individual Responsible for 
Sales must be present at the Retail Sales Outlet at least 50% of the 
outlet’s business hours each day. When not present at the outlet, the 
Individual Responsible for Sales must be readily available, day or 
night, by telephone or other reliable means of communication. The 
Individual Responsible for sales may be absent from the Retail 
Sales Outlet for up to 48 consecutive hours twice during the period 
of time the Retail Permit is valid. The two 48-hour time periods 
may not be consecutive. The Individual Responsible for sales, 
when not at the Retail Site, must be available through their 24-hour 
contact number listed on their Permit Application. 

(3) Any time the Individual Responsible for Sales is not 
present at the Retail Sales Outlet during the business hours of the 
outlet, at least one individual, 18 years of age or older, must be pre-
sent at the outlet. Such Individual must be an Employee or 
Volunteer of the Retail Permit holder’s volunteer non-profit organi-
zation. Such Individual must be directly responsible for, and in 
charge of, the Retail Sales Outlet and be present in the Retail Sales 
Outlet at all times. 

(4) The Individual Responsible for Sales may be: 
(a) The Retail Permit holder listed on the Retail Permit; or 
(b) An Employee of the Retail Permit holder; or 

(c) If the Retail Permit holder is a volunteer, non-profit orga-
nization, an Individual who is a member of the Retail permit 
holder’s volunteer non-profit organization. 

(5) The Individual Responsible for Sales may only be respon-
sible for the Retail Sales Outlet listed on the Retail Permit. 

(6) The Retail Site may be changed if: 
(a) The new Retail Site is located in the same fire jurisdiction 

as the Retail Site listed in the Retail Permit; 
(b) The Local Fire Authority approves the new Retail Site and 

indicates that approval in writing; and 
(c) The Office of State Fire Marshal is notified of the change 

at least 24 hours prior to the commencement of retail sales. 
(7) Retail Fireworks may only be sold at a Retail Sales Outlet 

for which a Retail Permit has been issued. 
(8) Retail Fireworks may not be sold or otherwise provided 

from an establishment or business that serves alcoholic beverages, 
single or multi-family residences, an Internet site, or automobiles. 

(9) All Retail Sales Outlets must comply with all applicable 
federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations pertaining to 
Fireworks including: 

(a) ORS 480.111 through 480.165; 
(b) OAR chapter 837, division 12; 
(c) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2014 Edition; and 
(d) Oregon Fire Code, 2014 Edition. 
(10) All Retail Fireworks not sold during the time the Retail 

Permit is valid, must be returned to the supplying Wholesaler no 
later than July 31 of the year in which the permit is valid. 

(11) At all times during the business hours of the Retail Sales 
Outlet, Exits may not be locked or blocked and all exits must be 
passable. 

(12) No Fireworks may be discharged within 100 feet of any 
Retail Sales Outlet. 

(13) The Retail Permit holder, Individual Responsible for 
Sales, and any Employees or Volunteers of the Retail Permit holder 
must ensure that all Retail Fireworks sold or otherwise provided, 
possessed, transported, stored or offered for sale comply with ORS 
480.111 through 480.165 and these rules. 

(14) The type of Retail Sales Outlet (Tent, Stand, Canopy or 
trailer) to be utilized must be described on the Permit Application, 
including its outside dimensions. The dimensions of the Retail 
Sales Outlet listed on the Permit Application may not be increased, 
but they may be decreased, after the Permit Application is 
submitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(15) Retail Permit holders may store their Retail Fireworks 
from June 1 through July 31 of the year in which their Retail 
Permit is valid. The Local Fire Authority must approve the storage 
and the storage location of the Retail Fireworks and indicate that 
approval by signing the Permit Application. 

(16) Retail Fireworks shall be stored: 
(a) In compliance with Section 307.1.2 of the Oregon 

Structural Specialty Code, 2014 Edition; or 
(b) In an explosives magazine pursuant to NFPA 495, 2013 

Edition. 
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01; OSFM 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-
04; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-05; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0650 
Outdoor Sales 

(1) The location of an outdoor Retail Sales Outlet must not 
present a significant risk of fire or injury to those Individuals con-
ducting sales of Retail Fireworks, Individual Members of the 
General Public, and any surrounding property. 

(2) Every outdoor Retail Sales Outlet must maintain at least 
one Exit opening, or outward swinging Exit door, for each 1,000 
square feet of area covered or each 20 feet of structure length. The 
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Exit opening must be at least two feet wide and five feet high or as 
required by the Local Fire Authority. 

(3) Trailers must have their wheels blocked or removed, or the 
tongue locked. Trailers must be disconnected from any power 
source which can potentially move the trailer any distance. Any 
fuel tanks or other ignition sources, including those for propane, 
must be removed and placed a minimum of 20 feet from the trailer. 
Individual Members of the General Public may not have access to 
the interior of the trailer. 

(4) Tent and Canopy fabrics and any materials used on the 
floor of the Tent or Canopy, such as sawdust, must be treated to be 
fire retardant. 

(5) Tents having three or more enclosing sides must comply 
with the requirements for both Indoor Sales and Outdoor Sales. 

(6) Fire extinguishers must be provided at each outdoor Retail 
Sales Outlet. At a minimum, at least one 2A rated water type extin-
guisher, or an equivalent water type extinguishing system as 
approved by the Local Fire Authority must be placed at each Retail 
Sales Outlet. 

(7) All electrical wiring, lighting and other electrical fixtures 
and installations must be in accordance with the Oregon Electrical 
Specialty Code, 2011 Edition and any other applicable state or 
local requirements. 

(8) Outdoor Retail Sales Outlets that operate at night must 
erect and maintain sufficient light fixtures to enable customers and 
those Individuals selling Retail Fireworks to see all areas of the 
outlet. Standard electrical installations, battery powered lanterns, 
street or parking lot lighting or nearby Building interior and 
exterior lighting may be used for this purpose. 

(9) Outdoor Retail Sales Outlets must be located: 
(a) At least 50 feet from any dispensary of flammable liquids 

or gases; 
(b) At least 15 feet, or as otherwise specified by the Local Fire 

Authority, from any street or public right-of-way; 
(c) At least 10 feet from any combustible structures; 
(d) At least 10 feet from any entrances to, or Exits and 

openings from, any surrounding Buildings or structures; and 
(e) At least 20 feet from exposed heating elements or any 

other such sources of ignition including fuel-powered electrical 
generators. 

(10) A Stand including any vertical extensions may not be 
more than one story in height unless it has sufficient size, weight or 
tie-downs to prevent toppling in the wind. 

(11) “No Smoking” signs must be posted on the outside of all 
enclosing sides of an outdoor Retail Sales Outlet. The signs must 
be visible to all Individuals located at the Retail Sales Outlet. Sign 
lettering must be red and at least 2-1/2 inches high on a white back-
ground. 

(12) Smoking, open flames, and other such ignition sources or 
the use of Fireworks are prohibited within 100 feet of the Retail 
Sales Outlet. 

(13) All fuel used to power electrical generators must be 
stored in containers listed and approved by Underwriter’s Labora-
tories. 

(14) Heaters having exposed electrical elements or open 
flames may not be used at any Outdoor Retail Sales Outlet. 

(15) Outdoor Retail Sales Outlets, and parking for customers 
of the Retail Sales Outlet, may not impede or endanger the normal 
flow of traffic on public streets or highways, or parking lots. 

(16) The Retail Permit holder, Individual Responsible for 
Sales and any Employees or Volunteers of the Retail Permit holder 
are responsible for maintaining the grounds within 20 feet of the 
Retail Sales Outlet in a clean and orderly manner. 

(17) Retail permit holders, their employees or volunteers may 
not sleep inside an Outdoor Retail Sales Outlet. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 
480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-

14-01; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-05; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 
6-7-05; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0655 
Indoor Sales 

(1) The location of an indoor Retail Sales Outlet may not pre-
sent a significant risk of fire or injury to those Individuals 
conducting sales of Retail Fireworks, Individual Members of the 
General Public, and any surrounding property. 

(2) A specific area inside the Building must be designated and 
maintained as the Sales Display area. 

(3) The location of the Sales Display area shall not hinder or 
block any Exit, including, if applicable, a required check-stand 
Exit. 

(4) The Individual Responsible for Sales must regularly 
monitor and oversee Retail Operations at the Retail Sales Outlet to 
ensure the Sales Display and storage areas are orderly and 
maintained in accordance with these rules. 

(5) Retail Fireworks, in excess of those needed for the Sales 
Display, may be stored inside the Retail Sales Outlet only if they 
are separated from all Sales Display areas, Exits, flammable and 
highly combustible materials and public access areas to the 
Building, in accordance with Local Fire Authority requirements 
and these rules. This subsection does not apply to Tents or 
canopies. 

(6) Fire extinguishers must be placed throughout the indoor 
Retail Sales Outlet in the quantities and locations required by 
NFPA 10, 2013 Edition and any applicable local ordinances and 
rules. At a minimum, at least one 2A rated water type fire extin-
guisher, or an equivalent water type fire extinguishing system, as 
approved by the Local Fire Authority must be placed at the outlet. 

(7) Smoking at an indoor Retail Sales Outlet by the Retail Per-
mit holder, Individual Responsible for Sales or an Employee or 
Volunteer of the Retail Permit Holder may be the basis for 
suspension or revocation of the Retail Permit. 

(8) All trash, rubbish, empty boxes and discarded Retail Fire-
works wrapping or packaging must be removed daily or more often 
as needed, to maintain the Sales Display and storage areas in a neat 
and clean manner. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 
480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-14 

837-012-0660 
Records and Postings 

(1) The Retail Permit must be posted at the Retail Sales Outlet 
and must be readily visible to all individuals approaching or 
entering the outlet. 

(2) A copy of the Retail Permit may be posted instead of the 
original if the original is maintained at the Outlet and is immediately 
available for inspection by the Local Fire Authority or the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, upon request. 

(3) A record of each shipment of Retail Fireworks received by 
the Retail Permit Holder must be maintained. The record shall 
include the Wholesaler’s name, address and wholesale permit 
number, the Retail Permit holder’s name and permit number, and a 
complete list of the names and quantities of each type of Retail 
Firework received. 

(4) All records described under subsection (3) of this rule 
must be maintained by either the Retail Permit holder or the 
Wholesaler who supplied the Retail Fireworks. The records must 
be maintained for three years from the date of the Retail Permit 
holder’s receipt of the shipment. 

(5) Upon request, the records described in subsection (3) of 
this rule, must be readily available for review and inspection by the 
Local Fire Authority or representatives of the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. All records must be clear, legible, and accurate. 
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(6) Retail Permit holders must maintain at all times a list of 
Employees or Volunteers, including their names, addresses, ages, 
and phone numbers. Upon request, a legible copy of the list must 
be provided immediately to the Office of State Fire Marshal or the 
Local Fire Authority. 

(7) All Persons possessing, for 30 days or more, more than ten 
pounds of Retail Fireworks must annually complete and submit the 
Hazardous Substance Survey pursuant to ORS 453.307 to 435.372 
and OAR chapter 837, division 85. Contact the Office of State Fire 
Marshal for survey forms and instructions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 
480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. 
& cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0665 
Advertisements 

(1) No person may publish or cause to be published: 
(a) Any advertisement, for distribution to Individual Members 

of the General Public, concerning the sale of Fireworks which have 
been declared unlawful by ORS 480.111 to 480.165, or these rules, 
for Individual Members of the General Public to purchase, use, 
store, transport, Sell, discharge, or possess; 

(b) Any advertisement for the sale of consumer fireworks in 
any county, municipality or Fire Protection District that by law or 
ordinance has declared the sale, use, or possession of such items to 
be prohibited. 

(2) Section (1) of this rule does not apply to advertisements 
placed in media when the primary distribution of that media is into 
areas which allow the Fireworks even though some secondary dis-
tributions of that media may occur into areas which prohibit these 
Fireworks. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 
480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 3-2014, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0670 
Prohibited Acts and Limitations 

(1) Retail Permit holders may not create, maintain or allow 
the existence of a fire hazard at any location under their control 
where Retail Fireworks are stored, transported, sold, or used. 

(2) Retail Permit holders may not Sell or provide by any other 
means including donation: 

(a) Retail Fireworks to any Individual Member of the General 
Public under 16 years of age; 

(b) Illegal Fireworks to any Individual Member of the General 
Public; 

(c) Any Retail Fireworks that have been altered; 
(d) Any Retail Fireworks not supplied and distributed to the 

Retail Permit holder by a Wholesaler who possesses a valid and 
current wholesale permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal 
pursuant to OAR 837-012-0635(1) through (3). 

(3) No Person who has been convicted of a violation of ORS 
480.111 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12, or who 
has had any Fireworks permit or operator certificate suspended, 
denied or revoked, may participate in any manner in the storage, 
distribution, transportation or sale of Retail Fireworks for a period 
not to exceed three years. 

(4) Retail Permit holders may not Sell, provide, keep, or offer 
for sale, expose for sale, possess, use, explode or have exploded 
any Retail Firework that has not been approved, certified or listed 
for transport by the United States Department of Transportation 
and the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission, or 
does not have a United States Bureau of Explosives Temporary 
Transfer Permit. 

(5) No Retail Sales Outlet may be erected prior to the issuance 
of a Retail Permit for that Retail Sales Outlet location. 

(6) No Person may Sell, transfer or otherwise provide Retail 
Fireworks to Individual Members of the General Public without 
first obtaining a Retail Permit. 

(7) A Retail Permit holder may not employ or have direct 
business ties with any Person whose Wholesale or Retail Fireworks 
Permit or operator certificate is revoked or suspended. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 
480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01; OSFM 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-05; OSFM 9-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 
6-7-05; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0675 
Civil and Criminal Enforcement Actions 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal, Local Fire Authority or 
law enforcement officials may confiscate, remove or have removed 
any Fireworks offered for sale, sold, provided, transported, 
purchased or otherwise obtained, stored, used, discharged or pos-
sessed in violation of ORS 480.111 through 480.165 or these rules. 

(2) The Retail Permit holder, or Person responsible for the 
violation, is responsible for payment of the agency’s costs in con-
fiscating or removing any Retail Fireworks pursuant to subsection 
(1) of this rule. 

(3) Upon finding a violation, the Office of State Fire Marshal 
may order that any confiscated Fireworks be: 

(a) Returned to the Wholesaler who supplied the Fireworks; 
or 

(b) Disposed of in any manner approved by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal, including destruction of the Fireworks. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, 480.120, 480.127, 480.130, 480.150, 
480.152, 480.154, 480.156, 480.158, 480.160 & 480.165 
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, 
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & 
cert. ef. 12-14-01; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

Display of Fireworks in Oregon 

837-012-0700 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) The purpose of OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-
0970 is to adopt rules to implement the standards, policies and pro-
cedures for Fireworks Displays. 

(2) These rules establish application, Permit and other require-
ments for Fireworks Displays, certification requirements for Fire-
works Display Operators and requirements for Fireworks Display 
Assistants. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0710 
Effective Dates 

OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970 are effective July 
1, 2014. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0720 
Definitions 

For the purpose of these rules, the following definitions apply 
to OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970: 

(1) “Aerial Fireworks” means Fireworks that function in the 
air. 

Chapter 837     Department of State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2016 Edition                                                                                      23 - 325                                                                                         (11-15-15)



(2) “Aerial Shell” means a cylindrical or spherical cartridge 
containing pyrotechnic compositions, a Lead Fuse or Electric 
Match wires, and a black powder Lift Charge. 

(3) “Agricultural Fireworks” means Fireworks used for the 
purpose of scaring away or repelling birds or animals pursuant to 
ORS 480.122 or controlling predatory animals pursuant to 480.124. 

(4) “Approved Applicant” means any Individual that meets 
the requirements of OAR chapter 837, division 12. 

(5) “Assistant” means an Individual as set forth by OAR 837-
012-0780 who works under the direction of an Operator to put on a 
Fireworks Display. 

(6) “Barge” means a floating vessel or a floating platform. 
(7) “Barrage” means a rapid-fire sequence of Aerial Fireworks. 

Mortars are loaded prior to the Display and the Aerial Shells are 
chain fused to fire in rapid sequence. 

(8) “Black Match” means fuse made from string impregnated 
with black powder and used for igniting Fireworks devices. 

(9) “Break” means an individual burst from an Aerial Shell, 
generally either producing a visual effect (stars) or noise (Salute). 
Aerial Shells can be either single-Break (having only one burst) or 
multi-Break (having two or more bursts). 

(10) “Burst” means Break. 
(11) “Burst Charge” means the composition in an Aerial Shell 

that, when ignited by the time fuse, ruptures the shell casing, 
ignites the shell contents and disperses the shell contents into the 
sky. 

(12) “Cake Device” means Multi-shot Device. 
(13) “Chain Fusing” means a series of two or more Aerial 

Shells or pyrotechnic devices used to fire in sequence from a single 
ignition. Finales and Barrages typically are Chain Fused. 

(14) “Comet” means a firework consisting of a large pellet of 
pyrotechnic composition that is ignited and propelled from a 
Mortar tube by a black powder charge. 

(15) “Designated Agent” means the Individual designated by 
the Permit Holder to pick up the Fireworks authorized by the 
Permit from an Oregon licensed Wholesaler when the Permit 
Holder is unable to pick up the Fireworks. The Designated Agent 
must have the Permit authorized by the State Fire Marshal in their 
possession at the time the Fireworks are picked up from the Whole-
saler. 

(16) “Discharge Site” means the area immediately surrounding 
the area where Fireworks are ignited for an outdoor Display. 

(17) “Display” means an outdoor General or Limited Fireworks 
Display or an indoor or outdoor Fireworks Display using Special 
Effects Fireworks. 

(18) “Display Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(4). 

(19) “Display Permit Application” “ means the form and 
accompanying documentation required to be completed and sub-
mitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the 
issuance of a Limited, General, or Special Effects Display Permit. 

(20) “Display Site” means the immediate area where a Fire-
works Display is conducted and includes the Discharge Site, the 
Fallout Area, and the required separation distance from Fireworks 
Discharge Site to spectator viewing areas. The Display Site does 
not include spectator viewing areas or vehicle parking areas. 

(21) “Dud” means a Firework that leaves the mortar and 
returns to earth without producing the intended Break or effect. 

(22) “Electric Match” means a device consisting of wires ter-
minating at a relatively high resistance element surrounded with a 
small quantity of heat-sensitive Fireworks composition. When a 
sufficient electric current is passed through the wire circuit, the 
heat that is generated ignites the Fireworks composition, producing 
a small burst of flame. 

(23) “Electrical Firing Unit” means the source of electrical 
current used to ignite Electric Matches. Generally, the firing unit 
will have switches to control the firing order and have test circuits 
and warning indicator, etc. 

(24) “Electrical Ignition” means a technique used to discharge 
Fireworks in which an Electric Match and source of electric current 
are used to ignite fuses or Lift Charges. 

(25) “Exempt Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(5). 

(26) “Fall-Out Area” means the area over which Aerial Shells 
are fired. The shells burst over this area, and unsafe debris and mal-
functioning Aerial Shells fall into this area. The Fall-Out Area is 
the location where a typical Aerial Shell dud will fall to the ground 
considering wind and the angle of Mortar placement. At a 
minimum, the Fall Out Area must be the required separation 
distance based on table of distances listed in OAR 837-012-0840. 

(27) “Finale” means a rapid-fire sequence (Barrage) of Aerial 
Fireworks, typically fired at the end of a Display. The Mortars are 
loaded prior to the Display, and the Aerial Fireworks are Chain 
Fused to fire in rapid sequence. 

(28) “Fire Protection District” means any district created 
under the laws of Oregon or the United States, including rural Fire 
Protection Districts and any federal, state or private forest patrol 
areas. 

(29) “Fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 480.111(7). 
(30) “Fireworks Detonation” means the entire contents of the 

Aerial Shell and the lift charge are consumed in one simultaneous 
explosion at or near the bottom of the Mortar. 

(31) “Fireworks Display” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(8). 

(32) “Flash Powder” means explosive composition intended 
for use in firecrackers and Salutes. Flash Powder produces an 
audible report and a flash of light when ignited. Typical Flash Pow-
der composition contains potassium chlorate or potassium perchlo-
rate, sulfur or antimony sulfide, and powdered aluminum. 

(33) “Flower Pot” means an Aerial Shell that Bursts before it 
leaves the Mortar, projecting its contents out of the Mortar similar 
to a mine. The force of the Aerial Shell Bursting usually does not 
rupture the Mortar. 

(34) “Fusee” means a highway distress flare, sometimes used 
to ignite Fireworks at outdoor Displays. 

(35) “General Display Operator” means an Individual who 
has been issued a General Display Operator Certificate who meets 
the requirements of OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970 
and is qualified to be an Operator on a General or Limited Display. 

(36) “General Display Permit” means a Permit to hold an out-
door Display using 1.3g Fireworks. General Displays may also 
include 1.4g Fireworks or Special Effects Fireworks. 

(37) “General Fireworks Display” means a Display held out-
doors, utilizing 1.3g Fireworks and may include 1.4g Fireworks, 
and Special Effects Fireworks and may only be conducted by a 
General Display Operator. 

(38) “General Operator Certificate” means a document issued 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing the holder of the 
certificate to be an Operator at a General Fireworks Display. 

(39) “Ground Display Piece” means a Firework that functions 
on the ground (as opposed to an Aerial Shell that functions in the 
air). Typical ground Fireworks Display pieces include fountains, 
wheels, and “set pieces”. 

(40) “Individual” means a single human being. 
(41) “Individual Member of the General Public” means any 

Person who has not been issued a Wholesale Permit, a Display Per-
mit, a Retail Permit or an Agricultural Permit by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. 

(42) “Instructor” means the Individual who delivers the 
training required under OAR 837-012-0780. 

(43) “Lance” means a thin cardboard tube packed with a color 
producing pyrotechnic composition and used to construct Ground 
Display Pieces. 

(44) “Law Enforcement Authority” means any law enforcement 
official having jurisdiction over the Fireworks Display Site. 

(45) “Lead Fuse” means a Fireworks fuse made of Quick 
Match that transfers fire from an ignition source to the Lift Charge 
of an Aerial Shell or other Fireworks. 

(46) “Lift Charge” means composition in an Aerial Shell that 
propels the Aerial Fireworks into the air when ignited. 

(47) “Limited Fireworks Display” means a Display held out-
doors limited to 1.4G Fireworks labeled UN0336. Fireworks 
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authorized by the Limited Permit are subject to limitation by the 
Local Fire Authority and the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(48) “Limited Display Operator” means an Individual who 
has been issued a Limited Display Operator Certificate who meets 
the requirements of OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970 
and is qualified to be an Operator on a Limited Display. 

(49) “Limited Display Permit” means a Permit to hold a 
Display using 1.4g Fireworks labeled UN0336. 

(50) “Limited Operator Certificate” means a document issued 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing the holder of the 
certificate to be an Operator at a Limited Fireworks Display. 

(51) “Local Fire Authority” means the local fire official 
having jurisdiction over the Display Site or the site where 
Fireworks may be stored prior to the date and time of the Display. 

(52) “Local government” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(12). 

(53) “Low Break” means an Aerial Shell that functions signif-
icantly lower than its prescribed height. 

(54) “Manual Firing” means using a handheld ignition source 
such as a Fusee or Portfire to ignite Fireworks. 

(55) “Manufacture” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(13). 

(56) “May” means a regulation of conduct and implies proba-
bility or permission. 

(57) “May not” means a prohibition of conduct. 
(58) “Mine” means a device designed to project stars or other 

effects, such as whistles and firecrackers into the air from a Mortar 
charged by black powder that ignites the contents of the Mine. 

(59) “Misfire” means a Firework fails to function after an 
ignition source is applied to the ignition point. 

(60) “Monitor” means an Individual designated by the 
Sponsors of the Display to keep the audience in the intended 
viewing area and out of the Display Site, Discharge Site and 
Fallout Area. 

(61) “Mortar” means a tube, closed at one end, from which 
Aerial Fireworks are fired into the air. 

(62) “Mortar Rack” means a frame containing Mortars and are 
most often used for Barrages and Finales and in electrically ignited 
General Fireworks Displays. 

(63) “Mortar Trough” means an aboveground structure filled 
with sand or similar materials in which Mortars are positioned for 
use in General Fireworks Displays. 

(64) “Multi-Break Shell” means a cylindrical Aerial Shell 
with more than one main compartment connected with internal fus-
ing and performs with successive breaks. An Aerial Shell with 
more than one distinctive type of effect contained within one main 
compartment is not a Multi-break Shell. 

(65) “Multi-Shot Device” means a Firework consisting of 
more than one tube each containing a Firework item. It is ignited 
once with each of its tubes chain fused together to fire in 
succession until all tubes have been fired. Multi-Shot Devices are 
also referred to as cake devices. 

(66) “Must” means a mandatory requirement. 
(67) “Muzzle Break” means an Aerial Shell that Bursts imme-

diately as it leaves the Mortar. 
(68) “Operator” means the Individual qualified as set forth in 

OAR 837-012-0780 to conduct the Display. 
(69) “Operator Certificate Application” means the form and 

accompanying documentation required to be completed and sub-
mitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the 
issuance of a Limited Operator Certificate or a General Operator 
Certificate. 

(70) “Peanut Shell” means two or more Aerial Shells in a 
common wrapper propelled by the same lift charge with separate 
external time fuses. 

(71) “Permit” means the official written document issued by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing a Display allowing the 
Permit Holder to purchase Fireworks for the Display as detailed on 
the Permit when otherwise in conformance with OAR chapter 837 
division 12. 

(72) “Permit Holder” means the Person as listed on the 
Display Permit as the Person to whom the Permit is issued. 

(73) “Person” means one or more Individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations 
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group or Persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public cor-
porations. 

(74) “Portfire” means a tube containing slow burning pyrotech-
nic composition sometimes used to ignite Fireworks at a Limited or 
General Fireworks Display. 

(75) “Pyrotechnic Articles,” also referred to as “Articles, 
Pyrotechnic” has the meaning provided in ORS 480.111(14). 

(76) “Pyrotechnic Composition” has the meaning provided in 
ORS 480.111(15). 

(77) “Pyrotechnic Device” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(16). 

(78) “Quick Match” means a Black Match encased in a loose 
fitting sheath and is used in fuses for Aerial Fireworks and for 
rapid sequential ignition of Fireworks such as Lances in a Ground 
Display Piece or Barrage. 

(79) “Ready Box” means a container used for the storage of 
Fireworks during a fireworks display. 

(80) “Retail Fireworks” means those items described in ORS 
480.111(2) as Consumer Fireworks, specifically Combination 
Items, Cone Fountains, Cylindrical Fountains, Flitter Sparklers, 
Ground Spinners, Illuminating Torches, and Wheels. The term 
does include a Firework designed with the means to roll or move 
while remaining on the ground, that travels 12’ or less horizontally 
on smooth surfaces. 

(81) “Roman Candle” means a cardboard tube containing 
pyrotechnic devices which, when lit, are expelled into the air at 
timed intervals. 

(82) “Safety Cap” means a paper tube, closed at one end, that 
is placed over the end of a Fireworks fuse to protect the fuse from 
damage or accidental ignition. 

(83) “Salute” means a special Firework that is designed to 
produce a loud report. 

(84) “Set Piece” means a Ground Display Piece usually con-
sisting of Lances and Quick Match arranged on a frame. 

(85) “Sell” means to transfer possession of property from one 
Person to another Person for consideration. 

(86) “Special Effects Display” means a Display held either 
indoors or outdoors limited to Special Effects Fireworks authorized 
by the Special Effects Permit. 

(87) “Special Effects Fireworks” has the meaning provided in 
ORS 480.111(17). 

(88) “Special Effects Permit” means a Permit issued by the 
State Fire Marshal to hold a Display using Special Effects Fire-
works. 

(89) “Sponsor” means the Person that has applied for and 
been issued a Display Permit. 

(90) “Sticky Match” means the trademarked name for a type 
of match that uses a continuous black powder trail inside a wrapper 
that is prepared with exposed adhesive along its length. The 
adhesive is used to attach Sticky Match to Fireworks devices. 

(91) “Supervision” means Displays must be under the Super-
vision of the Law Enforcement Authority, Local Fire Authority, or 
the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(92) “Training Course” means the course required under OAR 
837-012-0780. 

(93) “Wholesaler” means any Person who Sells or provides by 
any other means, or intends to Sell or provide by any other means, 
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural 
Fireworks. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; 
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 
3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 3-
2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 
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837-012-0730 
General 

(1) The location of the Display Site, the Operator or Assistant 
for a Display, the date or time of the Display, or the quantity of 
Fireworks to be discharged at the Display, may be changed if: 

(a) For the location of the Display Site only, the proposed new 
Display Site is located in the same fire jurisdiction as the Display 
Site listed on the Display Permit; 

(b) For the Operators only, the Individual to replace the Oper-
ator listed on the Display Permit possesses a current and valid 
Operator Certificate. 

(c) The Local Fire Authority having jurisdiction over the Dis-
play Site and the Office of State Fire Marshal approves the change 
prior to the beginning of the Display as listed on the Display 
Permit; and 

(d) The change is documented in the after-show report 
pursuant to OAR 837-012-0970. 

(2) All Displays, all participants in a Display, including but 
not limited to, the Monitors, Sponsor, Wholesaler, Operator and 
Assistants must comply with the following: 

(a) ORS 480.111 through 480.165. 
(b) All applicable requirements of OAR chapter 837, division 

12; 
(c) Any other applicable federal, state or local, law, rule or 

regulation pertaining to Fireworks. 
(3) Display Permit Holders or Operator Certificate Holders 

desiring to engage in other types of Fireworks activities, including 
wholesale or retail sales or agricultural use, must meet all applicable 
requirements in ORS 480.111 to 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, 
division 12, including those requiring Permits to be obtained from 
local, state, and federal authorities. 

(4) Display Permit Holders May purchase Fireworks only 
from Wholesalers having the necessary and current Permits 
required by ORS 480.111 to 480.165 and OAR 837-012-0500 
through 837-012-0570. 

(5) Issuance of a Display Permit does not constitute an 
endorsement of the Fireworks purchased or sold. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0740 
Display Permit Applications 

(1) Any Person intending to have, put on, or Sponsor a 
Display Must apply for and obtain a Display Permit from the 
Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(2) A separate Display Permit Must be applied for and 
obtained for each Display that may be conducted in Oregon. 

(3) Each Display Permit Must be for a specific date and time 
of day. Permits May not be continuous throughout the date of Dis-
play. 

(4) The Application for Display Permit Must be made on a 
form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(5) The Display Permit Application may be completed by the 
Sponsor, Wholesaler, Operator or Assistant for the intended 
Display as listed on the Application. 

(6) All information provided by the applicant on the Display 
Permit Application Must be true and correct to the applicant’s 
knowledge. 

(7) In addition to completion of the Application, applicants 
Must submit: A diagram of the Display Site in accordance with 
subsection (9) of this rule; 

(8) As part of the Display Permit Application process, appli-
cants Must apply for and obtain, in writing when available; 

(a) All required state and local licenses, Permits and approvals; 
and 

(b) Liability insurance, if required pursuant to ORS 480.150(1). 
(9) The diagram of the Display Site, required pursuant to sub-

section (7) of this rule, Must include without limitation, the follow-
ing: 

(a) The location and size of the Discharge Site. All the other 
distances required by the subsection below Must be measured from 
the outside perimeter of the Discharge Site; 

(b) The location of the Fallout Area; 
(c) The location of all buildings, structures, highways, streets 

or other means of travel in and within 100 feet of the Discharge 
Site and Fallout Area; 

(d) The location of the spectator viewing areas and their dis-
tance from the Discharge Site and Fallout Area; and 

(e) The location of all trees, power lines of any type and any 
other overhead obstructions 25 feet or higher in and within 100 feet 
of the Discharge Site and Fallout Area. 

(10) Applicants Must submit their completed Display Permit 
Application to the Local Fire Authority and Law Enforcement 
Authority for review and signature approving, but not limited to, 
the proposed Display Site, Discharge Site, spectator viewing areas, 
parking areas and Fallout Areas, prior to submission of the Display 
Permit Application to the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(11) The Local Fire Authority and the Law Enforcement 
Authority May not sign a Display Permit Application if, but not 
limited to, the Display Site, Discharge Site, spectator viewing 
areas, parking areas or Fallout Areas or the Display Permit Appli-
cation does not comply with ORS 480.111–480.165, OAR 837 
division 12 or any other applicable federal, state or local laws, rules 
or regulations pertaining to Fireworks. 

(12) Display Permit Applications Must be postmarked by a 
United States Postmark or received at the Salem Office of State 
Fire Marshal a minimum of 15 days prior to the date of the 
proposed Display. 

(13) Display Permit Applications postmarked or received 
after the deadline set forth under subsection (12) of this rule may 
be returned unprocessed. 

(14) A Permit is not transferable from the Permit Holder to 
another Permit Holder or Person. 

(15) Another Person or Permit Holder cannot perform any 
acts allowed by the Display Permit unless that Person is listed on 
the Display Permit or is a Designated Agent for the Permit Holder. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0750 
Display Permit Application Fees 

(1) Display Permit Application fees May be paid at, or mailed 
to, the Office of State Fire Marshal and Must accompany the 
Display Permit Application. 

(2) Payment May be made by personal check, business check, 
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check, 
the Office of State Fire Marshal May not take any action on the 
Display Permit Application until the check has cleared the bank. 

(3) The Display Permit Application fee for a Display Permit is 
$100. 

(4) Display Permit Application fees are non-refundable and 
non-transferable. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 2-2005, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-15-05; OSFM 13-2005(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-16-05 thru 2-11-06; 
OSFM 3-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-13-06 thru 3-10-06; OSFM 6-2006, f. & 
cert. ef. 3-10-06; OSFM 9-2008(Temp), f. 11-14-08, cert. ef. 11-17-08 thru 5-8-
09; OSFM 1-2009, f. 4-9-09, cert. ef. 4-10-09; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-
14 

837-012-0760 
Issuance of Display Permits 

(1) Within 15 days of receipt of a properly completed and 
timely submitted Display Permit Application and Display Permit 
Application fee, the Office of State Fire Marshal May either grant 
or deny the Application. 
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(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal May not approve a 
Permit Application, or issue a Display Permit, without the prior 
approval of the Local Fire Authority and Law Enforcement 
Authority. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal will assign a unique num-
ber to each Display Permit issued. 

(4) Only one Display Permit May be issued for a Display Site 
for a particular date and time. Multiple Permits may be issued for 
the same Display Site and the same day, but not for the same time. 

(5) The Office of State Fire Marshal will mail the original 
Display Permit to the Individual who completed the Display Permit 
Application at the mailing address of the Individual completing the 
Display Permit Application listed on the Display Permit Applica-
tion. 

(6) Display Permit Holders may request a duplicate copy of 
their Permit by certifying to the Office of State Fire Marshal, in 
writing, that their Permit has been lost, stolen, or destroyed. 
Written requests Must be signed and dated by the Display Permit 
Holder. 

(7) A Display Permit is valid only for the date, time, and Dis-
play Site listed on the Permit. 

(8) A Display Permit authorizes the Display Permit Holder to 
purchase, transport, possess and store Display Fireworks, for the 
purposes of holding the approved Display, when those activities 
are otherwise in conformance with the applicable requirements of 
ORS 480.111 - 480.165, OAR chapter 837, division 12 and any 
other federal, state or local laws, rules or regulations pertaining to 
Fireworks. 

(9) A Display Permit authorizes a Display only: 
(a) At the Display Site diagrammed on the Display Permit 

Application and listed on the Display Permit; 
(b) On the date and time listed on the Display Permit; and 
(c) Conducted by the Operator and Assistants listed on the 

Display Permit. 
(10) A Display Permit authorizes the use and discharge of 

only the type and quantity of Display Fireworks listed on the 
Display Permit. 

(11) A Display Permit does not authorize the sale, purchase, 
possession, storage, discharge or provision by any other means of 
any Fireworks except as specifically stated on the Display Permit. 

(12) The issuance of a Display Permit does not in any way 
constitute approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of any Dis-
play Fireworks sold, purchased, possessed, stored provided or dis-
charged pursuant to the Display Permit. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; 
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & 
cert. f. 6-20-02 ; OSFM 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0770 
Operator Certificate Applications 

(1) The application for an Operator Certificate Must be made 
on a form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(2) Any Individual who intends to participate as the Operator 
at a General Display or Limited Display Must first apply for and 
obtain an Operator Certificate issued by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 

(3) All information provided by the applicant on the Operator 
Certificate Application Must be true and correct to the applicant’s 
knowledge. 

(4) Completed Operator Certificate Applications Must be 
postmarked by a United States Postmark, or received by the Office 
of State Fire Marshal at least 90 days prior to the date of the first 
Display at which the applicant intends to participate as the Opera-
tor. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; 
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & 
cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0780 
Operator and Assistant Qualifications 

(1) To be eligible for a General Operator Certificate, an appli-
cant Must comply with the following: 

(a) Must be at least 21 years of age; 
(b) Must have participated as an Assistant in three or more 

General Displays in Oregon within three years of the date of appli-
cation: 

(A) Participation means completing any of the following 
duties: firing of the Display, installation of Mortars, installation of 
set pieces, loading shells, after-Display clean-up and inspection, 
installation of electrical firing system, and tending the magazine, 
which may include reloading the Mortars. 

(B) At a minimum, an applicant must have installed Mortars, 
loaded shells, and participated in after-Display clean-up and 
inspection on all three Displays in Oregon. 

(C) At a minimum, an applicant must have manually fired on 
at least one of the three Displays required for certification. 

(D) The Office of State Fire Marshal may review after-show 
reports as proof of an applicant’s requisite participation. 

(c) Must have passed a written examination, administered by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal; and 

(A) The purpose of the examination is to assess the applicant’s 
knowledge of ORS 480.111 - 480.165 and OAR 837-012-0700 - 
837-012-0970. 

(B) To pass the examination, the applicant Must answer 80% 
or more of the examination questions correctly. 

(d) Must have attended and completed one training course, 
approved by the Office of State Fire Marshal and administered by 
an instructor certified by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(2) To be eligible for a Limited Operator Certificate, an appli-
cant Must comply with the following: 

(a) Must be at least 18 years of age; and 
(b) Must certify that the applicant is knowledgeable of the 

applicable requirements of ORS 480.111– 480.165 and OAR 
chapter 837, division 12. 

(3) Any Individual who desires to participate in a General 
Display or Limited Display as an Assistant Must comply with the 
following: 

(a) Be at least 18 years of age; and 
(b) Work under the direct Supervision and control of a 

General Operator or Limited Operator. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0790 
Issuance of Operator Certificate 

(1) Upon receipt of a properly completed and timely submitted 
Operator Certificate Application, the Office of State Fire Marshal 
May either grant or deny the Application. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal will assign a unique num-
ber to each Operator Certificate issued. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal will mail the original 
Operator Certificate to the applicant at the mailing address listed 
on the Operator Certificate Application. 

(4) Holders of an Operator Certificate may request a duplicate 
copy of the Certificate by certifying to the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal, in writing, their Operator Certificate has been lost, stolen or 
destroyed. Written requests Must be signed and dated by the holder 
of the Operator Certificate. 

(5) An Operator Certificate allows the holder of the Certificate 
to possess, store, use and discharge Display Fireworks for purposes 
of a Display when those activities are otherwise in conformance 
with the applicable requirements of ORS 480.111–480.165, OAR 
chapter 837, division 12 and any other applicable federal, state or 
local laws, rules or regulations pertaining to Fireworks. 

Chapter 837     Department of State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2016 Edition                                                                                      23 - 329                                                                                         (11-15-15)



(6) A General Operator Certificate authorizes the holder of the 
Certificate to participate as the Operator at either a General Display 
or a Limited Display. 

(7) A Limited Operator Certificate authorizes the holder of the 
Certificate to participate as the Operator only at a Limited Display. 

(8) Only the holder of the Operator Certificate may engage in 
the activities authorized by the Certificate. 

(9) An Operator Certificate does not authorize: 
(a) The sale or provision of Fireworks; or 
(b) The purchase, transportation, possession or storage of 

Fireworks. 
(10) An Operator Certificate, and the rights conveyed by the 

Certificate, is not transferable. 
(11) An Operator Certificate is valid for three years from the 

date of issue unless revoked or suspended. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0800 
Renewal of Operator Certificate 

(1) An Operator Certificate must be renewed every three 
years. 

(2) The holder of a General Operator Certificate is not 
required to re-take the examination required under OAR 837-012-
0780(1)(c) unless the current certificate expires. General Operators 
whose certificate expires are required to retake the qualifying 
examination. 

(3) Applications for renewal of an Operator Certificate Must 
be received by the Office of State Fire Marshal at least 90 days 
prior to the expiration date of their current Certificate. 

(4) All other requirements for the issuance of a renewal Oper-
ator Certificate are the same as for the issuance of the original Cer-
tificate, with the exception of the manual firing requirement. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; FM 1-1995, f. 8-14-95, cert. ef. 8-15-95; 
FM 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 1-18-96; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 
thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 
7-1-14 

837-012-0810 
Training Course Instructor 

(1) Individuals who intend to provide the training course 
required under OAR 837-012-0780 Must work under the direction 
and control of an Oregon permitted wholesaler who supplies 1.3g 
Fireworks. 

(2) At a minimum, Instructors Must meet the following 
requirements: 

(a) Be currently certified as a General Display Operator under 
OAR 837-012-0790; and 

(b) Has been a General Display Operator consecutively for six 
years prior to the date of training. If the Instructor has not been 
consecutively certified for six years prior to the date of training, 
then the Instructor must be approved by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal prior to providing the General Operator certification 
training or the training May not be accepted by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal for General Operator certification. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02 ; OSFM 3-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0820 
Pyrotechnician Training Course Requirements 

(1) The training course required by OAR 837-012-0780(1)(d) 
is developed by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(2) All Individuals providing Operator Certification training 
required under OAR 837-012-0780 Must provide at a minimum the 
training course developed by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(3) Any training course not developed by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal does not comply with OAR 837-012-0780(1)(d). 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may update the training 
course annually to ensure it is consistent and current with federal 
and state laws, rules and regulations pertaining to Fireworks Dis-
plays. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0830 
Denial, Suspension or Revocation of Display Permit or General 
or Limited Operator Certificate 

(1) The State Fire Marshal may deny, revoke or suspend a 
Display Permit or General or Limited Operator Certificate when a 
Person listed on the Display Permit or Operator Certificate fails to 
comply with ORS 480.111 through 480.165, OAR chapter 837, 
division 12 or any other applicable federal, state or local law, rule 
or regulation pertaining to Fireworks. 

(2) Any such denial, revocation, or suspension Must be in 
conformance with ORS 183.310 to 183.550. 

(3) Grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a display 
permit or operator certificate include, but are not limited to the fol-
lowing: 

(a) A Person named on the Permit Application fails to comply 
with applicable federal, state, or local laws, rules, ordinances or 
regulations pertaining to the manufacture, sale, use, discharge, 
transportation, storage or possession of Fireworks; or 

(b) The Office of State Fire Marshal is presented with 
evidence and a recommendation to deny, suspend or revoke an 
Application, or Permit by fire or law enforcement authority. The 
evidence Must support the conclusion that the Sponsor, Permit 
Holder, or applicant has violated applicable rules or statutes; or 

(c) The Permit Holder knowingly hires, employs, or utilizes 
someone who has had a Wholesale, Retail or Display Permit 
revoked, denied or suspended within the last three years; or 

(d) There has been a failure to obtain and maintain necessary 
local or state on-site inspections, approvals, proof of liability insur-
ance and other required permits; or 

(e) Sells, donates or otherwise provides Fireworks to any Per-
son; or 

(f) A Permit, or permit number that has expired, or that does 
not exist, or which has not been issued, is used to support the pur-
chase, use, discharge, transportation, storage, possession or sale of 
Fireworks; or 

(g) The applicant submitted a fraudulent Permit Application; 
or 

(h) Any other violation of the Fireworks statutes or rules. 
(4) The period of denial, revocation or suspension May not 

exceed three years. In determining the appropriate sanction, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal May consider the following criteria: 

(a) The severity of the violations or its impact on public 
safety, particularly whether the circumstances of the violations pre-
sented a significant fire hazard or other public safety danger; 

(b) The number of similar or related violations alleged to have 
been committed in the current transaction, event or occurrence; 

(c) Whether the violation was willful or intentional; 
(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of 

State Fire Marshal against the holder of, or applicant for, a Display 
Permit or Operator Certificate; and 

(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation. 

(5) Suspension or revocation of a Display Permit or Operator 
Certificate may include suspension or revocation of the current 
Permit or Certificate and the right to apply for a subsequent Permit 
or Certificate. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0835 
Purchase, Transportation and Storage of Display Fireworks 

(1) General and Limited Display Permit Holders Must 
purchase or otherwise obtain Display Fireworks only from Whole-
salers who possess a current and valid wholesale Permit issued by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(2) General and Limited Display Permit Holders Must 
purchase or otherwise obtain Display Fireworks only from the 
Wholesaler listed on the Display Permit. 

(3) If the Wholesaler who supplies the Display Fireworks is 
different from the Wholesaler listed on the Display Permit, the Dis-
play Permit Holder Must notify, in writing, the Office of State Fire 
Marshal and the Local Fire Authority of the change at least 24 
hours prior to purchasing the Display Fireworks from the Whole-
saler. 

(4) The Designated Agent may pick up Fireworks from the 
Wholesaler and deliver only to the storage site as listed on the Dis-
play Permit or directly to the Display Site as listed on the Permit. 

(5) The Permit Holder, or their Designated Agent, Must 
possess the Display Permit at the time the Display Fireworks are 
picked up from or delivered by the Wholesaler. 

(6) The Permit Holder, or their Designated Agent, May trans-
port the Display Fireworks only to the: 

(a) Storage site approved by the Local Fire Authority and the 
Office of State Fire Marshal [and] listed on the Display Permit; or 

(b) The Display Site listed on the Display Permit. 
(7) The Permit Holder or their Designated Agent, Must 

comply with all applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and 
regulations pertaining to the transportation of Fireworks. 

(8) Prior to acceptance of Display Fireworks from a Wholesaler, 
the Permit Holder, or their Designated Agent, Must confirm that 
the outside of all Cartons, Containers or Cases of Display 
Fireworks, and any accompanying documentation, are affixed with 
the full Permit Holder name and Display Permit number of the Dis-
play Permit corresponding to the Permit Holder authorizing the 
Display Fireworks being received and the Wholesaler Name and 
their Oregon Wholesale Permit number of the Oregon Wholesaler 
who supplied the Display Fireworks. 

(9) Display Permit Holders, or their Designated Agent, May 
not accept any Cartons, Containers or Cases of Display Fireworks 
or accompanying documentation that do not show the required 
information pursuant to subsections (8) of this rule. If the required 
Permit Holder name and Display Permit number is not on the 
outside of all Cartons, Containers or Cases of Display Fireworks, 
and any accompanying documentation, the Permit Holder Must 
refuse to accept the Display Fireworks. 

(10) Permit Holder name and Display Permit number and the 
Wholesaler name and Permit number Must be maintained on any 
Carton, Container or Case containing Display Fireworks authorized 
by a Display Permit. 

(11) The storage of Display Fireworks Must comply with the 
following: 

(a) OAR chapter 837, division 12; 
(b) Oregon Fire Code, 2014 Edition. 
(c) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2014 Edition. 
(d) NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation and 

Storage of Fireworks as published in August 2012; and 
(e) United States Department of Transportation laws and reg-

ulations. See also CFR Title 17, Part 18, Subparts J and JJ. 
(12) The transportation of Display Fireworks Must comply 

with the following: 
(a) ORS 480.111 through 480.165; 
(b) OAR chapter 837, division 12; 
(c) NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation and 

Storage of Fireworks as published in August 2012; and 

(d) United States Department of Transportation laws and reg-
ulations. See also CFR Title 17, Part 18, Subparts J and JJ. 

(13) Fireworks may be delivered to the Display Site up to a 
maximum of 72 hours prior to the date and time of the permitted 
Display. Security at the Display Site will be continuous until the 
date and time of the Display. Fireworks may be delivered to the 
Display Site up 72 hours prior only after a security plan has been 
submitted to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explo-
sives and approved by the Local Fire Authority. 

(14) Special consideration may be given for increasing the 72 
hours maximum as allowed in 837-012-0835(13) for exceptionally 
large displays. Approval Must be granted prior to arriving at the 
Display Site and Must be approved by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal, the Local Fire Authority, and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, 
Firearms and Explosives. 

(15) All Fireworks at the Display Site Must meet the require-
ments of NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation 
and Storage of Fireworks as published in August 2012. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, 
f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0840 
Selection of Display Site and Set Up 

(1) Prior to the Display, the areas selected for the Discharge 
Site, Fallout Area, spectator viewing and parking May be inspected 
and approved by the Local Fire Authority and Law Enforcement 
Authority. 

(2) The purpose of this rule is to provide guidance for 
clearances upon which the Local Fire Authority and Law Enforce-
ment Authority May base their approval or denial of the Display 
Site. 

(3) The required minimum separation distance between the 
Discharge Site and any spectators, vehicles or readily combustible 
materials is set forth in Table 1. This distance is determined by the 
largest size Aerial Shell to be discharged at the intended Display. 
At a minimum, the Fallout Area for a Display Must be the required 
minimum separation distance set forth in Table 1. 

(a) Where added safety precautions have been taken, or par-
ticularly favorable conditions exist, the Local Fire Authority may 
decrease the required separation distance pursuant to Table 1. In no 
case may the required separation distance be less than 70’ per inch 
of Aerial Shell diameter. Final approval of the decrease in distance 
is the responsibility of the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(b) When unusual or safety threatening conditions exist, the 
Local Fire Authority May increase the required separation distance 
pursuant to Table 1 as necessary to provide adequate safety for the 
Display Site, spectators, and surrounding property. 

(4) The required minimum distance from the Discharge Site to 
any health care, detention or correctional facility Must be at least 
twice the distance set forth in Table 1. 

(5) The required minimum distance from the Discharge Site to 
any bulk storage area of materials that pose a flammability, 
explosive or toxic hazard Must be at least twice the distance set 
forth in Table 1. 

NOTE: To determine whether materials pose these hazards, see NFPA’s 
Fire Protection Guide to Hazardous Materials. [Table not included. See 
ED. NOTE.] 
(6) Figure 1 demonstrates some of the location requirements 

for a suitable Display Site where Mortars are placed vertically, 
such as may be the case for an electrically ignited Display: [Figure 
not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(7) The Discharge Site Must be located so that the trajectory 
of the Aerial Shells do not come within 25 feet of any overhead 
object. 

(8) Ground Display Pieces Must be located at a minimum dis-
tance of 75 feet from spectator viewing and parking areas. 

EXCEPTION: For Ground Display Pieces with greater hazard potential 
(such as large wheels with powerful drivers, and items employing large 
Salutes), and roman candles and multi-shot devices, the minimum sepa-
ration distance Must be increased to 140 feet minimum or 100 feet per 
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inch of shell diameter. Example: 1.75” artillery type mortar shells Must 
have a minimum separation distance of 175’. 
EXCEPTION: Limited Display Permits that authorize only Retail Fire-
works May not be subject to the 140 foot separation requirement. Separa-
tion requirements for Limited Display Permits authorizing only the use of 
Retail Fireworks are at the discretion of the Local Fire Authority. 

(9) Where Aerial Shells are to be stored at the Discharge Site 
for subsequent loading into Mortars during the Display, the 
Mortars Must be placed at least 1/6, but not more than 1/3, the dis-
tance from the center of the Display Site toward the main spectator 
area. The Mortars Must be angled such that any dud shells will fall 
at a point approximately equal to the offset of the Mortars from the 
center of the Display Site but in the opposite direction. 

(10) Figure 2 demonstrates some of the location requirements 
for a suitable Display Site when Aerial Shells are to be stored at the 
Discharge Site for subsequent loading into Mortars during the Dis-
play, such as may be the case with a manually ignited Display: 
[Figure not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(11) Fireworks May not be discharged within 100 feet of any 
tent or canvas shelter. Unauthorized tents May not be located 
within the Display Site. 

(12) Fallout Areas: 
(a) The Fallout Area Must be a large, open area; 
(b) Spectators, vehicles, or readily combustible materials May 

not be located within the Fall Out Area during the Display. 
[ED. NOTE: Figures & tables referenced are available from the agency.] 
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; 
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & 
cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0850 
Construction of Fireworks Aerial Shells 

(1) Shells May be classified and described only in terms of the 
inside diameter of the Mortar in which they can be safely used, 
such as three inch shells are only for use in three inch Mortars[)]; 

(2) Aerial Shells Must be constructed so that they fit easily 
into the appropriate size Mortar and so that the Lift Charge and 
internal delay fuse are appropriate to propel the shell to a safe 
altitude before functioning. 

(3) Shells Must be labeled with the type of shell, the shell size 
and the name of the manufacturer or distributor. 

(4) The label or wrapper of any type of Aerial Shell Must be 
conspicuously marked with a number to indicate the shell size (the 
diameter of the Mortar to be used). 

(5) The label or wrapper of any type of aerial Salute Must be 
conspicuously marked with the word “Salute”; 

(6) For Aerial Shells using Quick Match fuse to ignite the Lift 
Charge, that fuse Must be long enough to allow not less than six 
inches of fuse to protrude from the Mortar after the shell has been 
properly inserted. 

EXCEPTION: This requirement does not apply when shells are to be 
fired electrically. 

(7) In order to allow the Individual igniting the Aerial Shells 
to safely retreat, the time delay between igniting the tip of the 
shell’s fuse and the firing of the shell May not be less than three 
seconds or more than six seconds. 

EXCEPTION: For electrically ignited Displays, there is no requirement 
for a delay period. 

(8) A Safety Cap Must be installed over the exposed end of 
the fuse. The Safety Cap Must be of a different color than that of 
the fuse. The Safety Cap Must be installed in such a manner so the 
fuse is not damaged; 

EXCEPTION: For electrically fired Displays, there is no requirement 
for Safety Caps except there Must be no exposed pyrotechnic composi-
tion. 

(9) Single Break Salute shells May not exceed three inches in 
diameter or three inches in length (exclusive of the Lift Charge). 
The maximum quantity of Salute powder in such Salutes May not 
exceed 3 ounces; 

(10) Storage of Fireworks and Aerial Shells not in Mortars: 

(a) All Fireworks Must be stored and transported according to 
the requirements prior to reaching the Display Site. (See also CFR 
Title 27, Part 18, Subparts J and JJ.); 

(b) As soon as the Fireworks have been delivered to the 
Display Site, they May not be left unattended or allowed to become 
wet; 

(c) All Fireworks Must be inspected when practical after 
delivery to the site but always prior to the start of loading shells by 
the Operator or a qualified Assistant. Any shells having tears, 
leaks, broken fuses, or showing signs of having been wet Must be 
set aside and Must not be fired. After the Display, any such shells 
Must either be returned to the Wholesaler or destroyed according 
to the Wholesaler’s instructions; 

EXCEPTION: Minor repairs to fuses May be allowed. Also, for electri-
cally ignited Displays, attachment of Electric Matches and other similar 
tasks May be permitted. 
(d) Upon delivery to the Display Site, all shells Must be sepa-

rated according to size and as to whether they are Salutes. Until 
they are loaded into Mortars, shells Must be stored in covered con-
tainers such as Ready Boxes or corrugated cartons meeting U.S. 
Department of Transportation requirements for the transportation 
of Fireworks; 

(e) During performance of an outdoor Display, Ready Boxes 
Must be located at a distance of not less than 30 feet upwind from 
the Mortar placements. If the wind should shift during a Display, 
the Ready Boxes Must be re-located to be 30 feet upwind from the 
Discharge Site. 

EXCEPTIONS: 
(A) When acceptable to the Local Fire Authority, alternate 

measures May be taken. 
(B) When there are no shells needing storage during a 

Display, such as for an electrically ignited Display, or where all 
shells are preloaded into their mortars prior to the start of the 
display, there is no need for Ready Boxes. 

(11) Installation of Mortars: 
(a) Prior to placement Mortars Must be carefully inspected for 

defects, such as dents, bent ends, damaged interiors, and damaged 
plugs. Mortars found to be defective Must not be used; 

(b) Mortars Must be positioned vertically or so that shells are 
propelled away from spectators and over a Fallout Area. Under no 
circumstances May Mortars be angled toward the spectator viewing 
areas; 

NOTE: It is generally believed that when manually firing aerial 
Fireworks, mortars should be angled 2 to 4 degrees. 
(c) Mortars Must be buried to a depth of a minimum of 2/3 of 

their length, either in the ground or in aboveground troughs or 
drums; 

EXCEPTION: Securely positioned Mortar Racks may be used for the 
firing of single Break shells not exceeding six inches in diameter. 
(d) Refer to NFPA 1123, Table A.4.3.9 for minimum inside 

mortar length requirements. 
(e) Under conditions when paper Mortars may be damaged by 

placement in damp ground, paper Mortars Must be placed inside a 
moisture-resistant bag prior to placement in damp ground; 

(f) Whenever there is the likelihood of ground water leaking 
into the Mortar, the Mortar Must be placed inside a water-resistant 
bag prior to placement in the ground; 

(g) Weather-resistant coverings Must be placed over the 
mouth of Mortars whenever there is imminent danger of water col-
lecting in the Mortars; 

(h) In soft ground, when there is significant danger of the 
Mortars being driven further into the ground when they are fired, 
sufficient added support Must be placed beneath the Mortars; 

EXCEPTION: When a Mortar is only to be used once, such as for an 
electrically fired Display, added support is optional. 
(i) Mortars that are buried in the ground, in troughs, or in 

drums Must be separated from adjacent Mortars by a distance at 
least equal to the diameter of the Mortar. Mortars in troughs or 
drums Must be positioned to afford the maximum protection to the 
Operator; 

EXCEPTION: The requirements do not apply when electrical firing is 
used. 

Chapter 837     Department of State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2016 Edition                                                                                      23 - 332                                                                                         (11-15-15)



(j) If troughs and drums are used, they Must be filled with 
sand or soft dirt; in no case May stones or other possible dangerous 
debris be used; 

(k) Whenever more than three shells are to be Chain Fused, 
such as for sequential firing, additional measures are required to 
prevent adjacent Mortars from being repositioned in the event a 
shell detonates in a Mortar, causing the Mortar to burst. For buried 
Mortars, this must be accomplished by placing the Mortars with a 
minimum separation of four times their diameter. For Mortars in 
racks, this Must be accomplished by using Mortar Racks that have 
sufficient strength to successfully withstand such a failure; 

EXCEPTIONS: 
(A) When there is doubt concerning the strength of racks 

holding Chain Fused Mortars, the separation distances for those 
racks from spectator or parking areas Must be twice those listed in 
Table 1. 

(B) When the separation distance is two times that required in 
Table 1, buried Mortars Must be separated from each other by a 
minimum of one times the internal diameter of the largest Mortar 
in the sequence. 

(l) When Mortars are to be reloaded during a Display, Mortars 
of various sizes May not be intermixed. Mortars of the same size 
Must be placed in groups, and the groups Must be separated from 
each other; 

(m) When Operators or Assistants are to be in the immediate 
area of the Mortars during a Display, sand bags or other suitable 
protection Must be placed around the Mortars up to the approximate 
level of the mouth of the Mortar in each direction where Operators 
or Assistants could be located; 

(n) Mortars Must be inspected before the first shells are 
loaded to be certain that no water or debris has accumulated in the 
bottom of the Mortar; 

(o) Mortars Must be of sufficient strength and durability to 
safely fire the Aerial Shells to be used; 

(p) Cast iron Mortars May not be used; 
(q) Metal Mortars May be either seamed or seamless; however, 

seamed Mortars must be placed so the seam is facing either right or 
left as one faces the line of Mortars; 

(r) Mortars Must be of sufficient length to cause Aerial Shells 
to be propelled to safe heights; 

(s) A cleaning tool Must be provided for the cleaning of debris 
from Mortars as necessary; 

EXCEPTION: When Mortars are not to be reloaded during a Display, 
there is no requirement for a cleaning tool. 
(t) Numerals indicating the inside diameter of the Mortar may 

be conspicuously painted or otherwise marked near the top of all 
Mortars. 

(12) When more than one Operator or Assistant will be 
igniting the Aerial Shells for a Display, it is preferred the line of 
Mortars be separated in some manner and that only one Operator or 
Assistant light shells in each designated area. 

(13) Electrical Firing Unit: 
(a) The purpose of this section is to provide guidance for the 

design of Electrical Firing Units to be used when it is decided to 
electrically fire Displays; 

(b) At no point May electrical contact be allowed to occur 
between any wiring associated with the Electrical Firing Unit and 
any metal object in contact with the ground; 

(c) If the Electrical Firing Unit is powered from AC power 
lines, some form of line isolation Must be employed such as a line 
isolation transformer; 

(d) The Electrical Firing Unit Must include a key-operated 
switch or other similar device that greatly reduces the possibility 
that unauthorized or unintentional firings can occur; 

EXCEPTION: When the Electrical Firing Unit is very small in size and 
attached to the wire running to Electric Matches for the brief duration of 
the actual firing, there is no requirement for a key-operated switch. 
(e) Manually activated Electrical Firing Units Must be 

designed such that at least two positive actions must be taken to 
apply electric current to an Electric Match. For example, this may 
be accomplished with two switches in series, both of which must 
be operated in order to pass current; 

(f) Computer-activated automatic sequencing type Electrical 
Firing Units Must have some form of “dead-man-switch,” such 
that firings will cease the moment the switch is released; 

(g) If the Electrical Firing Unit has a built-in-test circuit, the 
unit Must be designed to limit the test current (into a short circuit) 
to 0.05 ampere or to 20 percent of the no-fire current of the Electric 
Match, whichever is less; 

(h) Multi-testers such as Volt-Ohm Meters, May not be used 
for testing unless their maximum current delivering potential has 
been measured and found to meet the requirements of subsection 
(g) of this section; 

(i) When any testing of firing circuits is performed, no Person 
May be present in the immediate area of Fireworks that have been 
attached to the Electrical Firing Unit. 

[ED. NOTE: Figures referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; 
OSFM 3-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0855 
Barge Requirements 

(1) Barges May be permitted to be manned or unmanned as 
long as the Barge operators remain in control of the Barge, and the 
Operator and Assistants remain in control of the Barge Display Site 
and firing of the Display. 

(2) The movement and location of a Barge Must be controlled 
at all times, whether self-propelled, controlled by another vessel, or 
secured by anchoring or mooring. 

(3) The means of controlling the movement and location of a 
Barge pursuant to subsection (2) of this rule Must be done so by 
means approved by the Local Fire Authority prior to the Display. 

(4) Barges May be used as a Discharge Site only if the Barge 
is sufficiently stable and seaworthy so the type of Fireworks and 
the placement of the Fireworks, Mortars, and accompanying equip-
ment on the Barge does not compromise the stability or seaworthi-
ness of the Barge when the Fireworks are discharged. 

(5) When a Barge is manned during the firing of the Display, a 
safety shelter Must be present on the Barge. The safety shelter 
Must: 

(a) Be of sufficient size to accommodate all Individuals 
present during the actual firing of the Display; 

(b) Have a minimum of three sides and a roof; and 

(c) Have walls and a roof constructed of at least 3/4 in. (19 
mm) plywood or equivalent material. 

(6) Separation between Mortars and a safety shelter Must be 
2ft/in. (0.6 m/25 mm) of diameter of any Mortars up to 6 in. (152 
mm) in diameter. For shells larger than 6 in. (152 mm) in diameter, 
the minimum separation distance Must be 4 ft/in. (1.22 m/25 mm) 
of shell diameter. 

EXCEPTION: If the safety shelter is constructed of stronger material, 
the separation distance between Mortars and the shelter May be permitted 
to be reduced at the discretion of the Local Fire Authority and the Office 
of State Fire Marshal. 

(7) The required minimum size for a Barge (in square feet) for 
a particular Display Must be determined by the following calcula-
tions; 

(a) Minimum Discharge Site (in square ft) = sum of (total 
number of each size Mortar times its inside diameter) divided by 
two (2). 

EXCEPTIONS: Multi-shot devices up to 3 in. in diameter Must be cal-
culated at twice the actual footprint of each such device (length X width). 
Ground Display Pieces May be excluded from the calculations for mini-
mum Display set-up area. 

(b) Total # of 3 in. Mortar x 3 + total number of 4 in. Mortars 
x 4 + total number of 5 in. Mortars x 5 + etc. )/2 

EXAMPLE: A Display containing 100 - 3 in. shells, 50 - 4 in. shells, 20 
- 5 in. shells, 10- 6 in. shells, and 5- 8 in. shells would require the 
following minimum Display set-up area. [Table not included. See ED. 
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NOTE.] 

(8) Barges Must be configured, and the Display arranged, so 
Operators, Assistants and any other Individuals on the Barge can 
readily exit the Barge in case of an emergency. 

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, 
f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 6-2006, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-06; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0860 
Operation of Fireworks Display 

(1) The Sponsor of the Display Must provide adequate fire 
protection for the Display. 

(2) The Sponsor or the Operator Must consult with the fire 
authority to determine the level of fire protection required. 

(3) Monitors whose sole duty is enforcement of crowd control 
Must be located around the Display area by the Sponsor. The fire 
authority Must approve the provisions for crowd control. 

(4) Monitors Must be located around the Display Site to 
prevent spectators or any other unauthorized Individuals from 
entering the Display Site. The Display Site Must be so restricted 
throughout the Display and until the Display Site has been 
inspected after the Display. Where practical, fences and rope 
barriers May be used to aid in crowd control. 

(5) During the period before the Display, when Fireworks 
materials are present, public access to the Display Site Must not be 
allowed. 

(6) The Operator has the primary responsibility for safety. 
While the Operator is allowed to actively participate in the firing of 
the Display, safety Must be the primary concern. 

(7) The Operator is responsible for ensuring [that] a sufficient 
number of Assistants are on hand for the safe conduct of the 
Display. Only the Operator and necessary Assistants May be per-
mitted in the discharge area while the Display is in progress. 

NOTE: In some situations, it is believed it is appropriate to have one 
Individual tending each Ready Box or shell storage area in use at a given 
time. Similarly, it is believed there should be two Individuals reloading 
shells into Mortars for each Individual igniting the Aerial Shells. Unless 
racks of Chain Fused shells are being fired, it generally is believed a 
single Individual can safely ignite no more than about ten shells per 
minute. If a greater rate of firing is desired, it is appropriate to have more 
than one Individual lighting the shells. 
(8) The Display Operator is responsible for meeting the 

administrative rules, statutory requirements and any other applicable 
requirements for the Display including ensuring all Assistants are 
fully trained in the proper performance of their assigned tasks and 
they are knowledgeable of safety hazards. 

(9) If at any time before or during the Display, the Operator, 
Local Fire Authority, or the Law Enforcement Authority knows or 
should know an adverse condition exists that significantly affects 
safety, the Display Must be postponed until the condition is cor-
rected. 

(10) If at any time before or during the Display, the Operator, 
Local Fire Authority, or the Law Enforcement Authority knows or 
should know the lack of crowd control poses a danger, the Display 
Must immediately be discontinued until such time as the situation 
is corrected. 

(11) If at any time before or during the Display, the Operator, 
Local Fire Authority, or the Law Enforcement Authority knows or 
should know that high winds, precipitation, or other adverse 
weather conditions prevail, such that a significant safety danger 
exists; the Display Must be postponed until weather conditions 
improve to an acceptable level. 

NOTE: Changes that occur as a result of sections (9), (10) and (11) of 
this rule Must meet the requirements of OAR 837-012-0740. 
(12) Operators and Assistants May use only flashlights or 

electric or chemical-luminescent lighting for artificial illumination. 
(13) Smoking is not allowed within 100 feet of any area where 

Fireworks or other pyrotechnic materials are present. 
(14) Measures Must be taken to protect all Fireworks and 

materials to be used in the Display from adverse weather conditions. 
Moisture-damaged materials Must not be used. 

(15) No Individual May be allowed in the Discharge area 
while under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or drugs. 

(16) The fire official having jurisdiction may require an effec-
tive means of communication between the Operator, the Local Fire 
Authority, and others as deemed necessary. That method may 
consist of cellular or digital telephones, walkie-talkies, marine 
radio, or similar methods approved by the Local Fire Authority. 

(17) Operators Must be continuously responsible for the Dis-
play from the beginning of the Display through completion of the 
Display including the after Display cleanup and inspection. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0865 
Operations for Barge Displays 

(1) Manual Firing of Displays May be allowed only under the 
following conditions: 

(a) Shells Must be loaded into Mortars and put into place prior 
to the Display. Reloading of any kind during a barge display is pro-
hibited; 

(b) Shells May be single-Break only and May not exceed 6” in 
diameter; 

(c) The Barge Must meet double the size requirements estab-
lished by OAR 837-012-0855; 

(d) All Individuals, other than Operators and Assistants Must 
be behind protective barriers during the Display. Protective barriers 
must meet the strength requirements of 3/4 inch (19mm) plywood 
or equivalent. 

(e) Electrical Firing and Manual Firing on the same Barge is 
allowed when the Mortars to be used for Manual Firing are 
separated from Mortars to be used for Electrical Firing by a mini-
mum of 25 feet. 

(f) All Aerial Shells greater than 6” in diameter Must be fired 
using Electrical Ignition or other means of remote ignition that 
place the Operator and Assistants at least 75 feet away from the 
Mortar or behind a sturdy barricade at the time of ignition of the 
Lift Charge. 

(2) A U.S. Coast Guard approved personal flotation device 
(PFD) Must be provided and available for each Individual working 
on the Barge. PFD’s Must be properly worn anytime the Barge is 
not moored at the dock. PFD’s Must have or include a visual 
location device. 

(3) A watercraft Must be ready and capable of providing a 
rapid emergency response during the Display. 

(4) During the Display only necessary Individuals May be 
present on the Barge. No spectators May be present on the Barge. 

(5) Necessary Individuals May include: 
(a) Operator and Assistants; 
(b) Local Fire Authority department personnel; 
(c) Barge Operators; and 
(d) Local Fire Authority, Coast Guard, law enforcement, or 

other regulatory authority acting within the scope of their official 
capacity. 

(6) Barges Must be free of all nonessential combustible  
materials. 

(7) Fuel tanks are deemed essential material to perform the 
Display for vessels controlling, marshaling, or adjoining the Barge 
from which Fireworks are being discharged. 

(8) Barges constructed of wood or other combustible material 
May be permitted to be used as a Fireworks Display Site when the 
requirements of these rules and any other applicable state, local, 
and federal requirements pertaining to Fireworks are met. 

(9) Barges constructed of wood or other combustible material 
can be used provided the surface of the Barge has been protected 
from fire by means acceptable to the Local Fire Authority. The 
Barge should also be of sufficient construction and configuration to 
safely allow the firing of the Display. Consideration should be 
given to the conditions that could affect the separation distance of 
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the Barge from the public. Greater distance might be required to 
allow for the effects of sea conditions, wind, and drift of the Barge. 

(10) Whenever, in the opinion of the Local Fire Authority, the 
Operator, or the Barge captain, conditions such as high seas or 
rapid current pose a potential safety hazard to the Operator and 
Assistants, spectators, surrounding area, or any other Individuals, 
the Display Must be postponed until conditions improve. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, 
f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0870 
Loading and Firing of Shells 

(1) Shells Must be carried from the storage area to the 
Discharge Site only by their bodies, never by their fuses. 

EXCEPTION: It is generally believed it is not safe to be loading Mortars 
within ten feet of Mortars being fired. When loading a shell into a 
recently fired Mortar, the Person should crouch alongside the Mortar with 
his back toward the area where shells are being fired. 
(2) Shells Must be checked for proper fit in their Mortars prior 

to the Display. 
(3) When being loaded into the Mortars, shells Must be held 

by their fuses or lowering cord if provided and carefully lowered 
into the Mortar. At no time May the Person loading the shells place 
any part of their body over the mouth of the Mortar. 

(4) The Person loading shells Must be reasonably certain the 
shells are properly seated in the bottom of the Mortars. 

(5) Shells Must not, under any circumstances, be forced into a 
Mortar too small to accept them. Shells that do not fit properly into 
the Mortars Must not be fired. 

(6) The Safety Cap protecting the fuse Must not be removed 
until immediately before the shell is to be fired. 

EXCEPTION: Where Electrical Ignition is used, there is no requirement 
for a Safety Cap.  
(7) Shells May be ignited by lighting the tip of the fuse with a 

Fusee, torch, Portfire, or similar device. The Operator Must never 
place any part of their body over the Mortar at any time. As soon as 
the fuse is ignited, the Operator Must turn away from or retreat 
from the Mortar area. 

EXCEPTION: Alternatively, Electrical Ignition may be used. 
(8) The first shell fired Must be observed carefully by the 

Operator to determine that its trajectory is such that the shell func-
tions over the Fall-Out Area and that any dangerous debris or unex-
ploded shells will land in the Fall-Out Area. The Operator Must 
determine whether or not to begin the Display and Must Monitor 
the Display continuously to determine if the Display continues to 
meet all requirements for the continuance of the Display. 

(9) The Display Must be interrupted and the Mortars Must be 
re-angled or repositioned as necessary for safety any time during a 
Display. In the case of a Barge, the Display Must be interrupted and 
the Barge Must be repositioned as necessary for safety any time 
during Display. 

(10) In the event of a shell failing to ignite in the Mortar, the 
Mortar Must be marked in some manner to indicate the presence of 
an unfired shell, and the Mortar May not be reloaded or reused so 
long as the misfired shell remains. Immediately following the Dis-
play but no sooner than 15 minutes after the attempted firing, if the 
shell still has not fired, the Mortar Must be cautiously flooded with 
water and let stand for a minimum of five minutes before it is cau-
tiously emptied of the shell. The Operator Must be knowledgeable 
in the proper disposal methods. 

NOTE: Flooding the mortar with water may not be advisable in all cases, 
perhaps allow the mortar to stand additional time before removing the 
shell if it is not to be flooded. 
EXCEPTION: When Electrical Ignition is used and the firing failure is 
electrical in nature or the Aerial Shell was intentionally not fired, the 
shell may be salvaged by the Operator. 
(11) It is the responsibility of the Person igniting the Aerial 

Shells to detect when a shell does not fire from a Mortar. That 
Person Must warn others in the area and immediately cause the 
Mortar to be marked to indicate the presence of an unfired Aerial 
Shell. 

EXCEPTION: When electrically firing, it is not necessary to mark the 

Mortar. However, Individuals entering the area after the Fireworks 
Display Must conduct themselves as though unfired shells remain until 
advised to the contrary by the Operator. 

(12) Manual re-ignition of Chain Fused Aerial Shells May 
only be attempted at properly installed ignition points. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; 
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & 
cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0875 
Mortar Racks for Barge Displays 

(1) Mortar Racks Must be constructed in a thorough manner 
to be capable of holding multiple Mortars in position during 
normal functioning. 

(2) Mortar Racks that are not inherently stable Must be 
secured or braced to stabilize them. Stabilization May be accom-
plished by using stakes, legs, A-frames, side-boards, or equivalent 
means. Inherently stable means if the base of the rack, before being 
loaded with Fireworks, were tipped 50 degrees from the horizontal 
in any direction, it would then return to the horizontal position. 

(3) Mortar Racks Must be oriented, angled, or oriented and 
angled in such a way to maximize spectator safety. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, 
f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0880 
Ground Display Fireworks 

When Ground Display Pieces are to be fired electrically, they 
May be located in the Fall-Out Area. 

(b) When Aerial Shells have been preloaded, Ground Display 
Pieces May be located in the Discharge area. 

(2) Dry grass Must be wet down or removed before the Dis-
play. 

(3) Combustible materials Must be removed or adequately 
protected as approved by the fire authority if deemed a fire hazard 
by the fire authority. 

(4) Poles for Ground Display Pieces Must be securely placed 
and firmly braced so they will not fall over during functioning of 
the firework device. 

(5) Specific instructions from the supplier Must accompany 
all Ground Display Pieces. A list of required accessories also Must 
be supplied. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0890 
Site Clean-Up 

(1) Following the Display, the Operator, and Assistants Must 
conduct an inspection of the Fall-Out Area for the purpose of 
locating any unexploded Aerial Shells or components. This inspec-
tion Must be conducted before any public access to the site is 
allowed. Any shells or components found during the search Must 
not be handled until at least fifteen minutes have elapsed from the 
time the shells or components were fired. The Fireworks Must then 
be doused with water and allowed to remain for at least five more 
minutes before being cautiously placed in a plastic bucket or fiber-
board box. The Wholesaler who supplied the Fireworks Must be 
contacted as soon as possible for disposal instructions. 

(2) Mortar inspection and removal May be conducted upon 
the elapse of not less than 10 minutes from the completion of the 
Display to allow for Mortar cool-down or misfires. 

(3) When Fireworks are displayed at night and it is not 
possible to thoroughly inspect the site, the Operator Must ensure 
the entire site is re-inspected very early the following morning. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
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Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0900 
Transportation and Storage 

(1) Storage of Fireworks in residential locations, mini-storage 
units or other structures is prohibited unless such storage is in 
accordance with the Oregon Fire Code 2014 Edition, Oregon 
Structural Specialty Code 2014 Edition, and NFPA 1124 Manufac-
ture, Transportation, and Storage of Fireworks and Pyrotechnic 
Articles as published in August 2012, these rules or requirements 
of the Local Fire Authority. 

(2) Applicants Must also provide a complete and detailed 
description of how and where they will store Fireworks in their 
possession before, during and after the Display. The description 
Must include: 

(a) The address of the storage site and the location of the 
storage areas at the storage site; 

(b) The dates the Fireworks will be at each storage site; and 
(c) The type of magazine in which the Fireworks are to be 

stored. 
(3) Fireworks may be stored up to a maximum of 30 days 

prior to the Display. 
(4) Unused Fireworks Must be returned to the Wholesaler 

who provided them within 7 days after the Display date. 
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 6-2006, f. & 
cert. ef. 3-10-06; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0910 
Prohibited Acts and Limitations 

(1) No Individuals May be allowed in the discharge area while 
under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or drugs. 

(2) Smoking is not allowed within 100 feet of any area where 
Fireworks or other pyrotechnic materials are present. 

(3) Only authorized Individuals will be allowed within the 
Discharge Site. 

(4) No Individual May maintain or allow the existence of a 
fire hazard at any location under their control where Fireworks are 
stored, transported, sold, or used. 

(5) No Permit Holder May use: 
(a) Any Fireworks that have been altered; 
(b) Any Fireworks other than those supplied or distributed by 

a Person with a current Oregon wholesale Fireworks Permit. 
(6) No Person who has been cited or arrested for Fireworks 

violations or who has had a Wholesale, Retail Fireworks Permit or 
operator certificate suspended or revoked May participate in any 
manner in the Fireworks Display, including storage, distribution, or 
transportation of pyrotechnics for a period not to exceed three 
years. 

(7) The Permit does not authorize the manufacture, sale, use, 
discharge or possession of Fireworks in any city or county in which 
such devices are prohibited by law or ordinance. 

(8) Permit Holders May not use, explode or have exploded 
any Fireworks device that has not been approved, certified or listed 
for transport by the U.S. Department of Transportation or has a 
U.S. Bureau of Explosive Temporary Transfer Permit. 

(9) Displays May not be conducted in the event the Office of 
State Fire Marshal or fire authority has invoked a burning ban. If 
the Display Site is a large body of water or close proximity indoor 
event, and in the opinion of the Local Fire Authority and the State 
Fire Marshal the Display presents no more fire hazard than at other 
times, the Permit May be issued. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 6-2006, f. & 
cert. ef. 3-10-06; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0920 
Records Keeping 

(1) Permit Holders Must keep a record of each shipment of 
Fireworks received. The record Must include the Wholesaler’s 
name, address, Display Permit number and a list of the Fireworks 
received including the name and quantity of each Fireworks. 

(2) Upon request, the records for each shipment received 
Must be readily available for review and inspection by the Local 
Fire Authority or representatives of the State Fire Marshal. 

(3) All records must be clear, legible, accurate, and maintained 
for three years from the date of receipt of the Fireworks. The 
records Must be submitted to the Local Fire Authority or the State 
Fire Marshal upon request. 

NOTE: The Wholesaler from whom the Fireworks were purchased may 
maintain the records. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0940 
Civil and Criminal Enforcement Actions 

(1) In addition to denying, revoking or suspending Permits 
and Certification pursuant to administrative hearing and appeals 
procedures as specified in law, the State Fire Marshal, Fire or Law 
Enforcement Authority may: 

(a) Confiscate, remove or have removed at the violator’s 
expense all Fireworks offered for sale, used, transported, stored, or 
possessed in violation of these rules; and 

(b) Destroy seized Fireworks when it has been determined 
that destruction is necessary for the preservation of public safety or 
health, that the sale, transport, storage or possession of the seized 
Fireworks was in violation of the laws and rules of the State of 
Oregon or the ordinances of local municipalities. 

NOTE: Upon the confiscation or prior to the destruction of any seized 
pyrotechnics, the Person responsible for the confiscation or destruction, 
May contact the Person who the fireworks were seized from. 

(2) All civil disputes arising as a result of the administration 
and enforcement of these rules and regulations, May be referred to 
the State Fire Marshal who has the final administrative authority in 
all cases. 

(3) Violation of any provision of ORS 480.111 through 
480.160 is a Class B misdemeanor. Violations thereof may be pros-
ecuted in state or municipal courts when violations occur within 
the municipality served thereby. Justice and district courts have 
concurrent jurisdiction with circuit courts in all proceedings arising 
within ORS 480.111 to 480.160: 

(a) The sentence for a Class B misdemeanor is set forth by 
ORS 161.615; 

(b) The sentence to pay a fine for a Class B misdemeanor is 
set forth by ORS 161.635 and 161.655. 

(4) If a Person has gained money or property through commis-
sion of a misdemeanor or violation, then upon conviction thereof, 
the court, instead of imposing the fine authorized by these rules, 
may sentence the defendant to pay an amount fixed by the court, 
not exceeding double the amount of the defendant’s gain from the 
commission of the offense in accordance with ORS 161.635 and 
161.655. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-10-03; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14
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837-012-0950 
Insurance Requirements 

The governing body of any municipality or of any county, 
may require liability insurance or other form of indemnity deemed 
adequate by the municipality, or the county, from any Person, in a 
sum not less than $500, conditioned for payment of all damages 
which may be caused either to a Person or property by reason of 
the authorized Fireworks Display and arising from any acts of any 
Person or agents, employees or subcontractors of the Person.  

NOTE: Local Fire Authorities often require the industry standard 
amount of liability insurance of $1 million. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0960 
Fire Protection 

Fire extinguishers Must be provided in numbers and locations 
throughout the Display Site as required by the Local Fire Authori-
ty. 

NOTE: At a minimum, at least two 2A rated water type extinguishers, or 
equivalent water type extinguishing system, or an alternative determined 
by the Local Fire Authority Must be provided. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-0970 
Reports for General Displays 

(1) Within 10 days following each General Display, the Oper-
ator in charge of the Display Must complete a report on forms pro-
vided by the State Fire Marshal, submit to the State Fire Marshal, 
and certify the information contained in the report is accurate. Cer-
tification and future Permits may be denied, suspended, or revoked 
for false reporting or failure to complete the report. 

(2) The Operator Must provide the information on the report 
form provided by the State Fire Marshal. At a minimum, each 
report Must contain the following: 

(a) The printed name, signature, mailing address, certification 
number and telephone number of the Operator in charge of the Dis-
play and who is completing the report; 

(b) Name of Permit Holder to whom the Permit was issued; 
(c) The number assigned to the Permit by the State Fire Mar-

shal; 
(d) The date and time of day the Display was actually held; 
(e) The location of the Display. Include address or description 

sufficient to locate; 
(f) A list of all Fireworks discharged including the size and 

number of shells and set pieces; 
(g) A list of all Operators that assisted in assembling, dis-

charging, or supervising the Display. The list Must include the 
name, certification number, and description of duties performed for 
each Operator; 

(h) A list of all Assistants that assisted Operators with the Dis-
play. The list Must include the name, mailing address, telephone 
number, and a description of duties performed for each Assistant; 

(i) A list of all Fireworks that were duds, malfunctioned, or 
were defective. For each Firework listed, the report Must include, 
type of Firework and size of Firework, if applicable (example six 
inch shell); 

(j) A description of any injuries caused by Fireworks authorized 
by the Permit. Each injury Must be listed separately, and include 
the name of the Firework, when known, that injured the Person, the 
cause of the injury, and name, address, age and telephone number 
of the injured Person; 

(k) A description of any fires caused by Fireworks authorized 
by the Permit. Each fire Must be listed separately and include the 
name of the Firework, when known, that started the fire, the cause 
of the fire, and a brief description of the damage that occurred. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; 
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & 
cert. f. 6-20-02; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

Fireworks Citations and Civil Penalty Assessments 

837-012-1000 
Authority and Application 

(1) These rules are promulgated under the State Fire Marshal’s 
authority contained in ORS 476.030 and 480.165. 

(2) These rules apply to any Person who violates any 
provision of ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and the rules adopted 
thereto including, but not limited to, those for fireworks displays, 
agricultural use of fireworks, wholesale and retail sales of fireworks, 
special effect fireworks, and manufacturing of fireworks. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1010 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) These rules establish the basis and process by which Cita-
tions and penalties will be determined and issued for Violations of 
ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12. 

(2) These rules provide for fire authorities, as defined in ORS 
476.060, to issue Citations and proposed penalties. 

(3) Each Violation is classified and penalty assessed according 
to Violation Type and Instance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1020 
Effective Dates 

OAR 837-12-1000 through 837-12-1110 are effective July 1, 
2014. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1030 
Definitions 

(1) “Citation” means a document issued by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal or a fire authority pursuant to ORS 480.165 to issue a 
civil penalty for a Violation of ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and 
OAR chapter 837, division 12. A Citation may include, but is not 
limited to, a description of each Violation and a notice of civil 
penalty assessment. 

(2) “Display fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(4). 

(3) “Exempt fireworks” has the meaning provided in ORS 
480.111(5). 

(4) “Fireworks has the meaning provided in ORS 480.110(7). 
(5) “Formal Hearing” means a hearing before a hearings 

officer where the laws, rules, and evidence are presented, considered, 
and a proposed opinion and order issued. 

(6) “Hazard” means a condition which could result in fire loss 
injury or damage to a Person or property. 

(7) “Hearings Request” means the written request for a 
Formal Hearing to contest a civil penalty. 

(8) “Illegal Fireworks” means any Fireworks other than con-
sumer fireworks including but not limited to, any Firework that 
flies into the air, or explodes or behaves in an uncontrolled and 
unpredictable manner. 

(9) “Individual” means a single human being. 
(10) “Informal Hearing” means a conference to discuss if 

there is a basis for informal disposition of a civil penalty by stipu-
lation, agreed settlement, or other means. 

(11) “Instance” means the number of times a Person has been 
cited. These are identified as 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Instances. 
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(12) “Local Fire Authority” means the local fire official 
having jurisdiction. 

(13) “May” means a regulation of conduct and implies proba-
bility or permission. 

(14) “Must” means a mandatory requirement. 
(15) “Person” means one or more Individuals, legal represen-

tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations 
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of Persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts, and other public cor-
porations. 

(16) “Retail Permit” means the official written document 
issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal pursuant to ORS 
480.127 that authorizes the purchase, transport, possession, storing 
and sale of Retail Fireworks, at retail, when otherwise in confor-
mance with all applicable requirements of ORS 480.111 through 
480.165, OAR chapter 837, division 12, and any other federal, 
state and local laws, rules and regulations. 

(17) “State Fire Marshal” means the State Fire Marshal or 
his/her administrative designee. 

(18) “Type” means the classification of Violation, i.e., least, 
minimal, moderate, or severe. These are identified as Type I, II, III 
or IV. 

(19) “Violation” Types mean: 
(a) “Least Violation” means a Type I Violation which poses 

very little Hazard or threat; 
(b) “Minimal Violation” means a Type II Violation which 

poses a minor Hazard or threat; 
(c) “Moderate Violation” means a Type III Violation which 

poses a significant Hazard or threat; 
(d) “Severe Violation” means a Type IV Violation which 

poses a substantial Hazard or threat. 
(20) “Wholesale Permit” means the official written document 

issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal that authorizes the pur-
chase, transport, possession, packaging, storing and sale of Fire-
works, retail fireworks, display fireworks, or agricultural fireworks 
when otherwise in compliance with all applicable requirements of 
ORS 480.111 through 480.165, OAR chapter 837, division 12, and 
any other federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations. 

(21) “Wholesaler” means any Person who sells or provides by 
any other means, or intends to sell or provide by any other means, 
Fireworks, retail fireworks, display fireworks, or agricultural fire-
works. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1040 
General 

(1) These rules establish civil penalty criteria for Types I, II, 
III and IV Violations and the Instances for each Type of Violation. 

(2) These rules apply to Persons who violate the requirements 
of ORS 480.111 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12. 

(3) Fire authorities may apply these rules per ORS 476.060. 
(4) A Citation describing the Violation and assessed penalty 

May be issued to Persons in non-compliance with ORS 480.111 
through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12. 

(5) Each separate Instance of non-compliance with ORS 
480.111 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12 is con-
sidered a separate Violation. 

(6) Each day that a Violation continues is considered a 
separate Violation. 

(7) The distribution, sale, use, manufacture, or possession of 
any amount of illegal Fireworks is prohibited and subject to 
Citation and penalty. 

(8) In addition to the issuance of Citations and penalties under 
these rules, the State Fire Marshal and fire authority acting in 
accordance with ORS 476.060 and 480.154(2) and OAR 837-12-
560(1)(a) and 837-12-675(1)(a): 

(a) May confiscate any amount of illegal Fireworks; and 

(b) May confiscate other Fireworks possessed by Persons vio-
lating ORS 480.111 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, 
division 12. 

(9) In addition to the issuance of Citations, penalties, and the 
confiscation of Fireworks, the State Fire Marshal may also revoke, 
suspend, or deny any Fireworks permit provided for under ORS 
480.111 through 480.165 to any Person who fails to pay a penalty 
assessed under these rules. 

(10) The penalty for each Violation ranges from $0 to $500 a 
day depending upon the Type and Instance of the Violation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1050 
Violation Types, Instances, and Penalty Assessments 

(1) Penalties May be assessed according to Violation Type 
and Instance in Table 2 and OAR 837-12-1130 through 837-12-
1160, except as provided in OAR 837-12-1100. 

(2) The Types of Violations are: 
(a) Least — Type I; 
(b) Minimal — Type II; 
(c) Moderate — Type III; 
(d) Severe — Type IV. 
(3) The Violation Instance is determined based on the number 

of times a Person has committed a Violation. *Table 2 is a 
guideline for penalty assessments. Also refer to OAR 837-12-1130 
through 837-12-1160. [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 8-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. 
ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; OSFM 3-2014, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1060 
Issuance of Civil Penalty Citation and Forwarding to the Office 
of State Fire Marshal 

(1) Local Fire Authority, pursuant to ORS 476.060, has the 
authority to issue civil penalty Citations for Violation of ORS 
480.111 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12. 

(2) A Citation may impose a penalty or provide a warning 
(OAR 837-12-1050, Table 2). 

(3) The Citation Must be forwarded to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal within ten days of issuance. Where possible, each Citation 
May be accompanied by a copy of the issuing authority’s written 
report, inspection sheets, Fire District Property Report (or evidence 
receipt — Form #920-021-06) or any other forms that are 
completed during the process of issuing Citations. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal will issue a notice of civil 
penalty based upon the information contained in the Citation and 
any accompanying documentation. 

[ED. NOTE: Tables and Forms referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1070 
Hearings 

(1) Any Person may request a hearing regarding the assessment 
of a civil penalty. 

(2) Hearings Requests Must be filed at the Salem Office of 
State Fire Marshal within 20 days from the date of service of the 
notice of civil penalty. 

(3) Any Person who requests a hearing is entitled to a hearing. 
(4) The hearing process may include: 
(a) An informal conference to discuss if there is a basis for 

informal disposition of a civil penalty by stipulation, agreed settle-
ment, or other means; 

Chapter 837     Department of State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2016 Edition                                                                                      23 - 338                                                                                         (11-15-15)



(b) A Formal Hearing before a hearings officer where the 
laws, rules, and evidence are presented, considered, and a proposed 
opinion and order issued. 

(5) The Formal Hearing Must be conducted as a contested 
case hearing according to the provision of the Administrative Pro-
cedures Act (APA) ORS 183.413 to 183.470. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1080 
Informal Conference 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal will provide an opportunity 
for a Person to informally discuss a civil penalty assessed against 
them. 

(2) An informal conference may be requested prior to a 
request for a Formal Hearing; however, a Formal Hearing Must be 
requested within 20 days of the date of service of the notice of civil 
penalty. 

(3) The request for an informal conference may be in any 
form; and 

(a) Must be addressed to the Office of State Fire Marshal; and 
(b) Must clearly state the subject to be discussed. 
(4) An informal conference concerning civil penalties May 

not extend the 20 days allowed for filing a Formal Hearing request. 
(5) If the parties agree, an informal conference may be held by 

telephone. 
(6) As the result of an informal conference, the State Fire 

Marshal may, for good cause, amend, withdraw, or reduce a civil 
penalty. Such action is done in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1090 
Formal Hearing 

(1) A Person may request a Formal Hearing at any time before 
or after an informal conference, as long as the 20 day period for 
requesting a hearing has not lapsed. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal will arrange for a 
hearings officer to conduct the Formal Hearing. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal will set a date, time, and 
location for the Formal Hearing. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal will notify, by letter, the 
Person requesting the hearing (or their designated representative) 
of the date, time, location, and the hearings officer conducting the 
Formal Hearing. 

(5) The hearings officer will hear the case and render a 
proposed opinion and order, including recommended findings of 
fact and conclusions of law, according to the Administrative Proce-
dures Act (APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725. 

(6) The Formal Hearing will be conducted as follows: 
(a) The hearings officer will act as an impartial third party; 
(b) It is not necessary for the Person that requested the hearing 

to be represented by legal counsel; 
(c) The Office of State Fire Marshal may or may not elect to 

be represented by legal counsel; 
(d) Testimony Must be taken under oath; 
(e) All evidence of a Type commonly relied upon by a reason-

ably prudent Person in the conduct of their serious affairs is admis-
sible; 

(f) Hearsay evidence is admissible if it meets statutory 
standards for being reliable and trustworthy. 

(7) The proposed opinion and order Must be reviewed by the 
State Fire Marshal and, if accepted, finalized and issued as a final 
order. 

NOTE: Final orders Must be forwarded to the authority issuing the 
Citation within ten days of signing of the Final Order. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  

Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1100 
Penalty Adjustments 

(1) The assessment or adjustment of penalties for amounts 
other than those set by OAR 837-12-1050 May be done only by the 
State Fire Marshal through a hearings process either formally or 
informally. 

(2) The assessment of penalties not in conformance with OAR 
837-12-1050 may be made only after considering: 

(a) The gravity and magnitude of the Violation; 
(b) The Person’s previous record; 
(c) Such other considerations as the State Fire Marshal may 

consider appropriate. 
(3) During a Formal Hearing or informal conference, the 

Office of State Fire Marshal may modify or adjust the Citation, 
cited Violations, or penalties assessed in order to meet the require-
ments of these rules and to ensure uniformity and consistency in 
their application statewide. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1110 
Judicial Review 

Judicial review of an agency order made after a hearing May 
be provided according to ORS 183.480 or 183.497. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1120 
Payment of Civil Penalty 

(1) The penalty Must be paid to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal within ten days after an order assessing a civil penalty 
becomes final by operation of law or on an appeal. 

(2) Penalties not paid within ten days after the order becomes 
final may be recorded with the county clerk in any county in Ore-
gon. 

(3) Upon recording of the penalty, the county clerk Must 
record the name of the Person incurring the penalty and the amount 
of the penalty in the County Clerk Lien Record. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1130 
Type I Violations 

(1) Type I Violations are subject to penalties ranging from $0 
to $75 a day depending upon Instance and in accordance with OAR 
837-12-1050(3). 

(2) Examples of Type I Violations include but are not limited 
to: 

(a) Failure to post “No Smoking” signs at the retail Fireworks 
sales stand; 

(b) Failure to provide required fire extinguishing equipment at 
the retail Fireworks sales stand; 

(c) Failure to maintain a clean, orderly area within 20 feet of 
the retail sales area; 

(d) Failure to keep a copy of the retail sales permit at the retail 
sales stand while the stand is open; 

(e) Possession of illegal Fireworks worth less than $50. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1140 
Type II Violations 

(1) Type II Violations are subject to penalties ranging from 
$25 to $150 a day depending upon Instance and in accordance with 
OAR 837-12-1050(3). 
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(2) Examples of Type II Violations include but are not limited 
to: 

(a) Failure to have Person 18 years of age or over inside the 
retail sales stand during business hours; 

(b) Omission of the required Wholesale Permit number, 
address and name of the Wholesaler on any Fireworks shipped 
within or into the State of Oregon; 

(c) Omission of the name of the retail sales permit holder and 
retail sales permit number on Fireworks cartons, containers, cases, 
and associated paperwork purchased by the permit holder and 
shipped within or into the State of Oregon; 

(d) Possession of more than $50 but less than $100 worth of 
illegal Fireworks; 

(e) Discharge of less than $50 worth of illegal Fireworks; 
(f) Smoking or the ignition of Fireworks within 100 feet of 

any Fireworks stand. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1150 
Type III Violations 

(1) Type III Violations are subject to penalties ranging from 
$75 to $250 a day depending upon Instance and in accordance with 
OAR 837-12-1050(3). 

(2) Examples of Type III Violations include but are not 
limited to: 

(a) Possession of $100 or more of illegal 1.4g Fireworks; 
(b) Sale of any amount of 1.4g Fireworks without the 

necessary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal and, 
where required, the local authority having jurisdiction; 

(c) Sales of allowed Fireworks to children less than 16 years 
of age; 

(d) The purchase of Fireworks by an Oregon Retail Permit 
holder from an unlicensed Wholesaler; 

(e) Purchase of any amount of 1.4g Fireworks without the 
necessary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal or, 
where required, the local authority having jurisdiction; 

(f) Manufacturing or altering any Fireworks; 
(g) Storage of any amount of 1.3g Fireworks without the nec-

essary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal and, 
where required, the local authority having jurisdiction; 

(h) Use of Fireworks in a manner that presents a danger to life 
or property. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 8-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. 
ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; OSFM 3-2014, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-012-1160 
Type IV Violations 

(1) Type IV Violations are subject to penalties ranging from 
$125 to $500 a day depending upon Instance and in accordance 
with OAR 837-12-1050(3). 

(2) Examples of Type IV Violations include but are not 
limited to: 

(a) Possession of $50 or more of 1.3g Fireworks without the 
necessary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal and, 
where required, the local authority having jurisdiction; 

(b) Conducting a public Fireworks display without the neces-
sary permits or pyrotechnician certification issued by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal and, where required, the local authority having 
jurisdiction 

(c) Purchase of any amount of 1.3g Fireworks without the 
necessary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal and, 
where required, the local authority having jurisdiction; 

(d) Conducting the sale of any amount of 1.3g Fireworks 
without the necessary permits issued by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal and, where required, the local authority having jurisdic-
tion; 

(e) Conducting a fireworks display using illegal or unauthorized 
Fireworks; 

(f) Intentional or indiscriminate use of Fireworks which injure 
someone or cause more than $250 in property damage; 

(g) Wholesale sales of Fireworks without an Oregon Wholesale 
Permit; 

(h) Storage of Fireworks by a Wholesaler in an unapproved 
location. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & 480.110 - 480.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - 480.165  
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01; 
OSFM 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14 

Explosives 

837-012-1200 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) The purpose of these rules is to establish standards, 
policies, and procedures for the possession, storage, and use of 
explosives for the protection and safety of the public, first 
responders, and individuals purchasing, possessing, storing, using, 
and transporting explosives. 

(2) The scope of these rules applies to the implementation of 
ORS 480.200 through 480.290. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & 480.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 
12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1210 
Definitions 

For purposes of OAR 837-012-1200 through 837-012-1420 
the following definitions apply: 

(1) “Authorized Agent” as referenced in ORS 480.210 means 
an employee or representative of a manufacturer of explosives or 
dealer in explosives licensed by BATFE who possesses explosives 
for purposes of manufacturing or dealing. The term does not 
include an employee or representative who uses or possesses 
explosives for other purposes. 

(2) “BATFE” means the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms 
and Explosives. 

(3) “Certificate of Possession” has the meaning provided in 
ORS 480.200(1). 

(4) “Certificate of Registration” has the meaning provided in 
ORS 480.200(2). 

(5) “Day Box” means: 
(a) A structure or container used for the temporary transport or 

temporary keeping of explosives for present use. 
(b) Is always attended and in line of sight vision of a holder of 

a certificate of possession. 
(c) Complies with the construction requirements of NFPA 

495, Explosive Materials Code, 2001 Edition, 8-6.3 (A) and (B). 
(6) “Dealer” as referenced in ORS 480.210 means any person 

engaged in the business of distributing explosives at wholesale or 
retail.  

(7) “Detonator” means any device containing an initiating or 
primary explosive that is used for initiating detonation, and not 
containing more than 10g of total explosive material per unit, 
excluding ignition or delay charges. The term includes, but is not 
limited to, electric detonators of the instantaneous and delay types, 
detonators for use with safety fuses, detonating cord delay connec-
tors, and non-electric detonators of the instantaneous and delay 
types that consist of a detonating cord, a shock tube, or any other 
replacement for electric leg wires according to NFPA 495, Explosive 
Materials Code, 2001 Edition. 

(8) “Expire” as referenced in ORS 480.239 and 480.244 
means a renewal certificate of possession or renewal of certificate 
of registration has not been issued by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal on or before the expiration date of the current certificate.  

(9) “Explosive” or “Explosives” has the meaning provided in 
ORS 480.200(3). 
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(10) “Facility” means a single building, structure, or container 
used or intended to be used for the storage of explosives. A day box 
is not a facility. 

(11) “Fertilizer” means any substance, or any combination or 
mixture of substances, designed for use principally as a source of 
plant food, in inducing increased crop yields or plant growth, or 
producing any physical or chemical change in the soil and contains 
five percent or more of available nitrogen, phosphorus pentoxide 
(phosphoric acid) or potassium oxide (potash), singly, collectively 
or in combination, except hays, straws, peat and leaf mold, and 
unfortified animal manures according to ORS 633.310(5). 

(12) “Formal Hearing” means a proceeding before a hearings 
officer conducted pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act 
(APA), ORS chapter 183.  

(13) “Individual” means a single human being.  
(14) “Informal Conference” means a meeting between the 

party and the Office of State Fire Marshal, prior to a formal 
hearing, that may include a discussion about whether a basis exists 
for informal disposition of a contested case by stipulation, agreed 
settlement, consent order or other means.  

(15) “Lapse” as referenced in ORS 480.239 and 480.244, has 
the meaning provided in subsection (8) of this rule. 

(16) “Magazine” has the meaning provided in ORS 480.200(5). 
(Refer to OAR 837-012-1210(10) for a definition of facility). 

(17) “Manufacturer” as referenced in ORS 480.210 means 
any person engaged in the business of manufacturing explosives 
for purposes of sale or distribution or for the person’s own use. 

(18) “May” means a regulation of conduct and implies proba-
bility or permission. 

(19) “May Not” means a prohibition of conduct. 
(20) “Must” means a mandatory requirement. 
(21) “NFPA” means the National Fire Protection Association. 
(22) “Owner” means a person with a vested ownership 

interest in the magazine. The term does not mean a renter, lessor, or 
sub-lessor of the magazine. 

(23) “Person” means one or more individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations 
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts, and other public cor-
porations. 

(24) “Possession” means to own, to have physical possession 
of, or otherwise to exercise dominion or control over explosives. 

(25) “Re-location” for purposes of ORS 480.244 and OAR 
837-012-1360 means moving a magazine any distance.  

(26) “Request for Hearing” means a written request for a 
formal hearing.  

(27) “Small arms ammunition” has the meaning provided in 
ORS 480.200(6).  

(28) “Small arms ammunition primers” has the meaning pro-
vided in ORS 480.200(7).  

(29) “Store” means to deposit and place explosives in a maga-
zine for safekeeping and future use.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6)  
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 10-
2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 
thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1220 
General 

(1) A certificate of possession allows the holder of the 
certificate to engage in those activities including the purchase, pos-
session, storage and transportation of explosives when those 
activities are otherwise in conformance with the requirements of 
these rules and any other applicable federal, state and local laws, 
rules and regulations. 

(2) Holders of a certificate of possession must comply with 
the following:  

(a) ORS 480.200 through 480.290.  
(b) OAR 837-012-1200 through 837-012-1420. 

(c) All applicable regulations in the Oregon Fire Code, 2004 
Edition, and Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2004 Edition.  

(d) NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 2001 Edition, as 
adopted in OAR 837-012-1340. 

(e) All applicable federal, state and local laws, rules, and reg-
ulations governing explosives.  

(3) Holders of a certificate of possession may purchase explo-
sives only from those persons who have a BATFE license to sell 
explosives.  

(4) Pursuant to ORS 480.210(1)(b), a BATFE dealer or manu-
facturer license authorizes the holder of such a license to possess 
explosives only when the possession is for purposes of a use or 
activity expressly authorized by the license, namely the business of 
manufacturing or dealing in explosives.  

(5) Proof pursuant to ORS 480.210(3)(b) must be:  
(a) A certified copy of a manufacturer or dealer license issued 

by the BATFE;  
(b) A written certification signed by a person that holds the 

license referred to in subsection (a) that certifies under penalty of 
perjury that the person charged under ORS 480.210(1) is an 
employee or representative of the licensed person and is engaged 
in the business of manufacturing or dealing in explosives.  

(6) Holders of a certificate of possession or a certificate of 
registration must notify the Office of State Fire Marshal in writing 
of a change in their address within two weeks of the date of the 
change.  

(7) Holders of a certificate of registration must notify the 
Office of State Fire Marshal in writing of a change in ownership of 
a magazine within two weeks of the date of the change.  

(8) Holders of an unexpired certificate of possession or certifi-
cate of registration may request a duplicate copy of their certificate 
by certifying in writing to the Office of State Fire Marshal that 
their certificate has been lost, stolen or destroyed. Written requests 
must be signed and dated by the holder of the certificate.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 10-
2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 
thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1230 
Fees 

(1) Fees must be payable to the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
(2) Fees may be paid at, or mailed to, the Office of State Fire 

Marshal and must accompany the appropriate application. 
(3) Payment may be made by personal check, business check, 

cashier’s check or money order. If the fee is paid by a personal or 
business check, the application will be placed in a pending status 
until the check clears the bank. 

(4) Fees are: 
(a) $50 — Certificate of Possession 
(b) $30 — Examination 
(c) $125 — Initial two-year magazine registration with Office 

of State Fire Marshal inspection 
(d) $187.50 — three-year magazine registration renewal with 

Office of State Fire Marshal inspection 
(e) $250 — four-year magazine registration with Office of 

State Fire Marshal inspection 
(f) $50 — Initial two-year magazine registration with accep-

tance of BATFE inspection 
(g) $75 — three-year magazine registration renewal with 

acceptance of BATFE inspection 
(h) $100 — four-year magazine registration renewal with 

acceptance of BATFE inspection 
(5) Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. 
(6) Three- and four-year renewal fee authority is in accordance 

with ORS 183.705 and OAR 837-012-1330(2). 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6)  
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 5-
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2004, f. & cert. ef. 11-10-04; OSFM 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-05; OSFM 13-

2005(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-16-05 thru 2-11-06; OSFM 14-2005, f. 10-21-05, 

cert. ef. 10-22-05; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; 

OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06

837-012-1240 
Applications 

(1) Applications for the examination required under ORS 
480.225(1)(j), a certificate of possession, and a certificate of regis-
tration must be on forms provided by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal. 

(2) Applicants must complete the applications in full and pay 
the applicable fees before the Office of State Fire Marshal will pro-
cess the applications. 

(3) Pursuant to federal law, the Office of State Fire Marshal 
requires disclosure of the applicant’s social security number on the 
applications. Any social security number disclosed on an application 
may be used for identification purposes only and remains confidential 
unless otherwise provided by law. 

(4) Application for the examination required under ORS 
480.225(1)(j):  

(a) The application must be completed by the individual who 
will be taking the required examination. 

(b) The application and fee must be received by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal a minimum of fourteen days before the 
applicant intends to complete the examination to allow time for: 

(A) The fee payment to clear the bank. 
(B) The Office of State Fire Marshal to notify the applicant of 

the acceptance of the application and fee payment.  
(5) Application for a certificate of possession under ORS 

480.210. Any individual who intends to possess explosives must: 
(a) Complete the application. 
(b) Submit a separate application and fee for each certificate 

of possession to be issued. 
(c) Submit with their application a fingerprint card compatible 

with the processing requirements of the Oregon State Police Identi-
fication Services Division. 

(6) Application for a certificate of registration of magazine 
under ORS 480.244. The owner of the magazine must: 

(a) Complete the application. 
(b) Submit a separate application for each magazine to be reg-

istered. 
(c) Specify on their application which agency they select to 

inspect their magazine: 
(A) The Office of State Fire Marshal. 
(B) The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 
10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. 
ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1250 
Eligibility for a Certificate of Possession 

To be eligible for a certificate of possession, applicants must 
meet the requirements under ORS 480.225 and 480.230. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 
12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1260 
Certificate of Possession — Examination 

(1) Upon receipt and processing of a completed application, 
the Office of State Fire Marshal will notify the applicant of the 
date, time and place for the examination. 

(2) Applicants must provide valid photo identification at the 
time they appear to take the examination. Only photo identification 
issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the applicant’s state 
of residency is accepted by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(3) The examination is based upon, and examines the appli-
cant’s knowledge of: 

(a) NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 2001 Edition as 
adopted in OAR 837-012-1340  

(b) ORS 480.200 through 480.290. 
(4) The examination is open book. 
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(a) Applicants are responsible for providing their own copy of 
NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 2001 Edition, to use during 
the examination. 

(b) The Office of State Fire Marshal provides a copy of ORS 
480.200 through 480.290 for use during the examination. 

(5) To pass the examination, the applicant must answer 
correctly 80% or more of the examination questions. 

(6) The Office of State Fire Marshal notifies applicants of the 
results of their examination using the address listed on the 
applicant’s examination application. 

(7) If an applicant fails to: 
(a) arrive at the scheduled examination appointment, (b) com-

plete the examination, or 
(c) pass the examination, the applicant must submit a new 

application and fee pursuant to OAR 837-012-1230 and 837-012-
1240 to the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(8) Passing examination scores are valid for two years from 
the date of the examination. If the examinee does not apply for and 
receive a certificate of possession within two years from the date of 
passing the examination, the examination score will be considered 
invalid and the applicant must re-take and pass the examination. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 10-
2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 
thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1270 
Certificate of Possession — Issuance 

(1) Upon receipt of a properly completed application, applica-
tion fee, and fingerprint card, the Office of State Fire Marshal will 
conduct an investigation to ensure the applicant meets the require-
ments of ORS 480.225 and 480.230. 

(2) The investigation includes, but is not limited to: 
(a) Electronic processing of fingerprint cards through the Law 

Enforcement Data System. 
(b) Accessing records at Mental Health and Developmental 

Disability Services Division pursuant to ORS 480.225(1)(d). 
(3) Upon its approval of an application, the Office of State 

Fire Marshal issues a certificate of possession to the applicant. 
(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal assigns a unique number 

to each certificate of possession issued.  
(5) The issuance of a certificate of possession does not in any 

way constitute an approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of 
any explosives possessed under the certificate. 

(6) The Office of State Fire Marshal mails the original certifi-
cate of possession to the applicant at the address listed on the appli-
cation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 
12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1280 
Certificate of Possession - Renewal 

(1) A certificate of possession must be renewed every three 
years. 

(2) The holder of the certificate of possession is not required 
to retake the examination required under ORS 480.225(1)(j) unless 
the current certificate expires or lapses. 

(3) All other requirements for the issuance of a renewal of 
certificate of possession are the same as the issuance of the original 
certificate. 

(4) Applications for the renewal of a certificate of possession 
may not be submitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal more than 
90 days prior to the expiration date of the current certificate. 

(5) Applications for the renewal of a certificate of possession 
should be received by the Office of State Fire Marshal at least 60 
days prior to the expiration date of the current certificate. This 
allows the Office of State Fire Marshal adequate time to process 
the application prior to the expiration date of the current certificate. 

(6) Applications not received by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the current may 
not certificate of possession could result in the expiration or lapse, 
of the current certificate.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 
12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1290 
Explosives Storage 

(1) Explosives may be stored only in a magazine that has been 
issued a certificate of registration by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal. 

(2) The storage of explosives must be in compliance with all 
applicable requirements of: 

(a) NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 2001 Edition as 
adopted in OAR 837-012-1340. 

(b) Oregon Fire Code, 2004 Edition. 
(c) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2004 Edition. 
(d) All applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and regu-

lations pertaining to explosives. 
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-
04; OSFM 10-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1300 
Magazine Registration and Inspection 

(1) Magazines not issued a certificate of registration may not 
be used for the storage of explosives. 

(2) To be eligible for a certificate of registration, a magazine 
must comply with all requirements of: 

(a) ORS 480.200 through 480.290. 
(b) OAR 837-012-1200 through 837-012-1240.  
(c) Oregon Fire Code, 2004 Edition.  
(d) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 2004 Edition. 
(e) NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 2001 Edition as 

adopted in OAR 837-012-1340 
(f) All applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and regu-

lations pertaining to explosives. 
(3) Prior to the issuance of a certificate of registration, the 

magazine must be inspected for compliance with these rules. 
(4) The inspection may be completed by: 
(a) The Office of State Fire Marshal 
(b) The BATFE pursuant to OAR 837-012-1320. 
(5) A certificate of registration allows the holder of the certifi-

cate to store explosives in the registered magazine when otherwise 
in conformance with the requirements of these rules. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-
04; OSFM 10-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1310 
State Fire Marshal Inspection of Magazines 

(1) The State Fire Marshal may complete an inspection of a 
magazine prior to the issuance of a certificate of registration 
pursuant to OAR 837-012-1300(3) and (4). 

(2) Upon receipt of information that a magazine is not in com-
pliance with the requirements of these rules, the Office of State 
Fire Marshal may conduct an inspection of the magazine.  

(3) If, upon its inspection, the Office of State Fire Marshal 
determines the magazine is not in compliance, the Office of State 
Fire Marshal may issue a notice of correction to the owner of the 
magazine. 

(4) All notices of correction are on forms provided by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal. 
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(5) Notices of correction specify the deficiencies required to 
be corrected prior to the magazine being issued a certificate of reg-
istration. 

(6) Notices of correction specify the date by which the defi-
ciencies are to be corrected. 

(7) A copy of each notice of correction is provided by the 
OSFM to the owner of the magazine by: 

(a) Personal service; 
(b) Service by certified mail 
(c) Service by regular mail. 
(8) After presenting a copy of the notice of correction to the 

owner of the magazine, the Office of State Fire Marshal retains all 
remaining copies of the notice until the re-inspection of the 
magazine is completed. 

(9) At the end of the time allowed for correction of the defi-
ciencies, as required by the notice of correction, the Office of State 
Fire Marshal may: 

(a) Re-inspect the magazine to determine if the deficiencies 
specified in the notice of correction have been corrected. 

(b) Complete the re-inspection section of the notice of correc-
tion. 

(10) Upon re-inspection of the magazine, the Office of State 
Fire Marshal provides a copy of the completed notice of correction 
to the owner of the magazine pursuant to subsection (7) of this rule. 

(11) Failure to correct the deficiencies noted in the notice of 
correction will result in the following, until such time as the defi-
ciencies are corrected: 

(a) The magazine will not be issued a certificate of registra-
tion. 

(b) The magazine will not be issued a renewal certificate of 
registration. 

(c) The certificate of registration for the magazine may be 
suspended or revoked.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. 
ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 
14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1320 
Certificate of Registration of Magazine — With Bureau of 
Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives Inspection 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may accept an inspection 
completed by BATFE in lieu of the Office of State Fire Marshal 
inspection. 

(2) The decision to accept or not accept the BATFE inspection 
rests solely with the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal may consider, but is not 
limited to, the following criteria in deciding whether to accept a 
BATFE inspection: 

(a) The inspection was completed not more than 180 days 
prior to the date of the application for a certificate of registration; 

(b) A United States Post Office postmark date is used to deter-
mine the date of application. 

(c) The inspection proves the magazine is in compliance with 
these rules. 

(4)(d) If deficiencies are noted on the BATFE inspection, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal may decide to conduct its own inspec-
tion. Should the Office of State Fire Marshal decide to complete its 
own inspection, the applicant must submit additional payment of 
the following applicable fee prior to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal conducting its inspection: 

(a) $75 for an initial two-year registration. 
(b) $137.50 for a three-year renewal. 
(c) $175 for a four-year renewal.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 5-
2004, f. & cert. ef. 11-10-04; OSFM 10-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 6-7-05; 
OSFM 15-2005(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-9-05 thru 5-7-06; OSFM 7-2006, f. & 
cert. ef. 5-5-06; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; 
OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1330 
Certificate of Registration of Magazine — Renewal 

(1) All requirements for the issuance of a certificate of regis-
tration must be met before a certificate is renewed. 

(2) Pursuant to ORS 183.705, certificates of registration may 
be renewed every two years, or up to four years, as determined by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal, in order to bring the Office of 
State Fire Marshal magazine registration renewal dates in alignment 
with the BATFE renewal dates. 

(3) Applications for the renewal of a certificate of registration 
may not be submitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal more than 
120 days prior to the expiration date of the current certificate.  

(4) Applications for the renewal of a certificate of registration 
should be received by the Office of State Fire Marshal at least 90 
days prior to the expiration date of the current certificate. This 
allows the Office of State Fire Marshal adequate time to process 
the application, including inspection by the State Fire Marshal of 
the magazine, prior to the expiration date of the current certificate.  

(5) Applications not received by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal at least 90 days prior to the expiration date of the current cer-
tificate of registration may result in the expiration or lapse, of the 
current certificate.  

(6) If a current certificate of registration expires or lapses, 
explosives may not be stored in the magazine until the magazine is 
issued a renewal certificate of registration.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1340 
Fire and Life Safety Standards 

NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 2001 Edition, is hereby 
adopted with the following exceptions: 

(1) Chapter four is not adopted.  
(2) Although NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 2001 Edi-

tion, requires magazines to be opened and inspected at intervals of 
three days, the Office of State Fire Marshal requires magazines to 
be opened and inspected at intervals of seven days. (See NFPA 495, 
Explosive Materials Code, 2001 Edition, 8-7.2). 

(3) NFPA standards regarding the transportation of explosives 
are hereby adopted for purposes of the examination required under 
ORS 480.225(1)(j).  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 10-
2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 
12-1-06 

837-012-1350 
Removal/Confiscation of Explosives 

(1) Explosives may not be stored in a magazine, or possessed 
by an individual if: 

(a) An application for a certification of registration, or certifi-
cate of possession, is denied.  

(b) A certificate of registration, or certificate of possession, is 
suspended or revoked pursuant to ORS 480.244(9) or 480.270 or 
these rules. 

(c) A certificate of registration, or certificate of possession, 
expires or lapses.  

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal may confiscate explosives 
possessed or stored in violation of ORS 480.200 to 480.290 or 
these rules.  

(3) Any confiscation of explosives by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal are carried out pursuant to a warrant.  

(4) Upon finding a violation, the Office of State Fire Marshal 
may order that any explosives be:  

(a) Transferred to a magazine that has been issued a certificate 
of registration by the Office of State Fire Marshal  

(b) Teturned to the supplier of the explosives 
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(c) Disposed of in any manner the Office of State Fire 
Marshal sees fit, including destruction of the explosives.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & 480.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.239 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 
12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1360 
Magazine Re-location — Reporting 

(1) Re-location of any magazine required to be registered 
under ORS 480.244 must be reported to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal within 24 hours of its relocation. 

(2) The owner or the individual with either: 
(a) Physical possession; or 
(b) Control of the magazine is the individual responsible for 

reporting the relocation of the magazine.  
(3) The toll free reporting number for reporting relocation of 

magazines is 1-877-459-9366.  
(4) A report of relocation of the magazine must include the 

following information:  
(a) Certificate of registration number issued to the magazine.  
(b) New location of the magazine including the street address, 

city, and state.  
(c) The name and phone number of the individual reporting 

the relocation of the magazine. 
(d) The name of the fire department having jurisdiction, if 

known.  
(3) There is no fee for reporting the relocation of a magazine.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1370 
Record Keeping Requirements for Explosives 

(1) Holders of a certificate of possession must maintain a 
record of the type and quantity of all explosives possessed. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal may inspect the records 
required to be maintained under ORS 480.235(5) and subsection 
(1) of this rule:  

(a) At the time of the magazine inspection by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal; or 

(b) Upon demand by the Office of State Fire Marshal.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1380 
Hazardous Materials Reporting 

Persons possessing 10 pounds or more of explosives, as clas-
sified by the United States Department of Transportation, must 
annually complete the Hazardous Substance Survey pursuant to 
ORS 453.307 to 453.372 and OAR chapter 837, division 85. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453, 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 
12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1390 
Denial, Suspension or Revocation 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or 
revoke a certificate of possession if: 

(a) An individual who has applied for, or has been issued, a 
certificate of possession is ineligible for the certificate under ORS 
480.225 or 480.230; or 

(b) The individual who has been issued a certificate of posses-
sion has been convicted of a violation under ORS 480.990(6).  

(2) If an individual to whom a certificate of possession was 
issued is found to be ineligible for the certificate under ORS 
480.225 or 480.230, the Office of State Fire Marshal may revoke 
t h e  
certificate.  

(a) An individual is ineligible for a certificate of possession if, 
before or after being issued a certificate, the individual fails to 
comply with ORS 480.225 or 480.230.  

(b) An individual is ineligible for a certificate of possession 
under ORS 480.225(1)(l) if the individual fails to possess, use, 
store or transport explosives in accordance with these rules and all 
other applicable federal, state or local laws, rules or regulations.  

(3) If an individual to whom a certificate of possession was 
issued has been convicted of a violation under ORS 480.990(6), the 
Office of State Fire Marshal may consider the following guidelines:  

(a) If the individual has been convicted of one violation, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or revoke the cer-
tificate of possession for up to one year.  

(b) If the individual has been convicted of two violations, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or revoke the cer-
tificate of possession for up to two years.  

(c) If the individual has been convicted of three or more viola-
tions, the Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or revoke 
the certificate of possession for up to three years.  

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or 
revoke a certificate of registration if:  

(a) The magazine registered, or to be registered, is ineligible 
for registration under ORS 480.200 to 480.290 or these rules; or 

(b) For failure to comply with any provision of ORS 480.200 
to 480.290 or these rules.  

(5) If a magazine that has been issued a certificate of registra-
tion is found to be ineligible, the Office of State Fire Marshal may 
revoke the certificate.  

(6) A magazine is ineligible for a certificate of registration if, 
before or after the magazine is registered, the magazine does not 
comply with ORS 480.244 or these rules.  

(7) Suspension or revocation of a certificate of possession or a 
certificate of registration may include suspension or revocation of 
the current certificate and the right to apply for a renewal 
certificate.  

(8) The period for denial, suspension or revocation of a cer-
tificate of possession or certificate of registration may not exceed 
three years, unless otherwise provided by law. In determining the 
appropriate sanction, the Office of State Fire Marshal may consider 
the following criteria:  

(a) The severity of the violation or violations and the impact 
on public safety.  

(b) The number of similar or related violations.  
(c) Whether the violation or violations were willful or inten-

tional.  
(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of 

State Fire Marshal against the individual or person. 
(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire 

Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation.  
(9) Any notice of denial, suspension or revocation issued by 

the Office of State Fire Marshal is mailed by certified mail to the 
most recent address on file with the Office of State Fire Marshal 
pursuant to OAR 837-012-1220(6). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6)  
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. 
ef. 6-7-05; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 
14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1400 
Contested Cases 

(1) A person may request a formal hearing regarding the sus-
pension, revocation, or denial of a certificate of registration or a 
certificate of possession by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(2) A request for hearing must be timely filed. 
(3) A request for hearing is timely filed when the request is 

postmarked or received by the Office of State Fire Marshal within 
20 days from the date of service of the notice of suspension, revo-
cation, or denial, unless a 60-day deadline applies pursuant to ORS 
183.435. 
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(4) If a request for hearing is not timely filed under section (3) 
of this rule, the person waives the right to a contested case under 
ORS chapter 183. 

(5) A person may write to or call the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal to informally discuss the notice of suspension, revocation, or 
denial; however, an informal communication may not extend the 
deadline established in subsection (3) of this rule. 

(6) A contested case may include: 
(a) An informal conference, or 
(b) A formal hearing. 
(7) Contested cases are conducted pursuant to the provisions 

of ORS chapter 183 and the rules adopted thereto. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.:OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1410 
Informal Conference 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may provide an 
opportunity for an informal conference. 

(2) A request for an informal conference may be made 
verbally or in writing; and: 

(a) Be made or addressed to the Office of State Fire Marshal; 
and 

(b) Clearly state the issue or issues to be discussed. 
(3) If the Office of State Fire Marshal and the party agrees, an 

informal conference may be held by telephone. 
(4) After an informal conference, the Office of State Fire Mar-

shal may amend, withdraw, or reduce the suspension, revocation or 
denial in accordance with ORS chapter 183 and the rules adopted 
thereto. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

837-012-1420 
Formal Hearing 

(1) A person may file a written request for hearing before or 
after an informal conference, at any time before the deadline estab-
lished in OAR 837-012-1400(3). 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal has the responsibility to 
arrange for a hearings officer to conduct the formal hearing. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal has the responsibility to 
set the date, time, and location for the formal hearing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 476, 478 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6) 
Hist.:OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00; OSFM 10-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 
6-7-05; OSFM 10-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-15-06 thru 12-12-06; OSFM 14-
2006, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-06 

DIVISION 20 

FLAMMABLE AND COMBUSTIBLE LIQUIDS 

Flammable Liquid Dispensing Regulations 

837-020-0025 
Purpose and Scope 

These rules establish licensing requirements for nonretail 
facility and conditional nonretail facility owners and operators. 
These rules also establish the requirements that each nonretail cus-
tomer and conditional use customer must meet to dispense Class 1 
flammable liquids at those facilities. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.310 - 480.385 
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, 
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07 

837-020-0030 
Effective Dates 

837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125 are effective upon date 
of filing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.310 - 480.385 
Hist.: OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 

837-020-0035 
Definitions 

For purposes of ORS 480.310 to 480.385 and OAR 837-020-
0025 through 837-020-0125 only, the following definitions apply: 

(1) “Business Use” means that all Class 1 flammable liquids 
dispensed into motor vehicles and containers must be used only in 
the course of business activities.  

(2) “Class 1 Flammable Liquid” means any liquid with a flash 
point below 25 degrees Fahrenheit, closed cup tester. Note: Diesel 
fuel is not a Class 1 flammable liquid. 

(3) “Container” means all types of portable containers. 
(4) “Conditional Use Customer” means a person who may 

dispense Class 1 flammable liquids at a licensed conditional nonre-
tail facility, and meets the requirements of OAR 837-020-0045 
through 837-020-0125.  

(5) “Conditional Nonretail Facility” means a nonretail facility 
licensed by the State Fire Marshal, where conditional use customers 
may dispense Class 1 flammable liquids.  

(6) “Dispensing” means the transfer of a Class 1 flammable 
liquid from a facility to a motor vehicle or container. 

(7) “Documentation” means a verifiable Federal Employer 
Identification Number or documentation that verifies participation 
in a business or employment with a government agency or 
nonprofit or charitable organization. Documentation may be photo-
copies or facsimiles of the original documents, or printouts of web 
site licensing information that shows the business is currently 
licensed to operate. 

(8) “Dual Operations” means a nonretail facility where Class 
1 flammable liquids are dispensed at retail and nonretail with either 
a time separation of the retail and nonretail operations or a 
separation of the retail and nonretail pump islands by a distance of 
at least 50 feet.  

(9) “Emergency” means any man-made or natural element or 
circumstance causing or threatening loss of life, injury to person or 
property, human suffering or financial loss, and includes, but is not 
limited to, fire, explosion, flood, severe weather, drought, earthquake, 
volcanic activity, spills or releases of oil or hazardous material as 
defined in ORS 466.605, contamination, utility or transportation 
emergencies, disease, blight, infestation, crisis influx of migrants 
unmanageable by the county, civil disturbance, riot, sabotage and 
war. 

(10) “Emergency Management Agency” means an organization 
created and authorized under ORS 401.015 to 401.105, 401.260 to 
401.325 and 401.355 to 401.580 by the state, county or city to pro-
vide for and ensure the conduct and coordination of functions for 
comprehensive emergency program management. 

(11) “Emergency Service Agency” means an agency defined 
in ORS 401.025 or an entity authorized by an emergency service 
agency to provide services during an emergency. 

(12) “Emergency Service Worker” means an individual who, 
under the direction of an emergency service agency or emergency 
management agency, performs emergency services and: 

(a) Is a registered volunteer or independently volunteers to 
serve without compensation and is accepted by the office or the 
emergency management agency of a county or city; or 

(b) Is a member of the Oregon State Defense Force acting in 
support of the emergency service system. 

(13) “Emergency Services” means and includes those activities 
provided by state and local government agencies with emergency 
operational responsibilities to prepare for and carry out any activity 
to prevent, minimize, respond to or recover from an emergency. 
These activities include, without limitation, coordination, pre-
paredness planning, training, interagency liaison, fire fighting, oil 
or hazardous material spill or release cleanup as defined in ORS 
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466.605, law enforcement, medical, health and sanitation services, 
engineering and public works, search and rescue activities, warning 
and public information, damage assessment, administration and 
fiscal management, and those measures defined as “civil defense” 
in section 3 of the Act of January 12, 1951, P.L. 81-920 (50 U.S.C. 
22520). 

(14) “Employee” means an individual who works for an oper-
ator or an owner. 

(15) “Equivalent Documentation” means verifiable documen-
tation that meets or exceeds the requirements of documentation 
required under ORS 480.345. The final decision as to what is 
acceptable as equivalent documentation rests with the State Fire 
Marshal. 

(16) “Facility” means a site where Class 1 flammable liquids 
are dispensed. A facility can be either retail, non-retail or a combi-
nation or both. 

(17) “General Public” means someone other than a nonretail 
customer or a conditional use customer. 

(18) “Individual” means a single human being. 
(19) “License” means the official document issued by the 

State Fire Marshal that authorizes the operation of a nonretail 
facility or a conditional nonretail facility when otherwise in com-
pliance with all applicable requirements of OAR 837-020-0040. 

(20) “License Application” means the form and accompanying 
documentation required to be completed and submitted to the State 
Fire Marshal for approval prior to the issuance of a nonretail 
facility or a conditional nonretail facility license. 

(21) “May” means a regulation of conduct and implies proba-
bility or permission. 

(22) “May not” means a prohibition of conduct.  
(23) “Motor Vehicle” means a vehicle that is self-propelled or 

designed for self-propulsion, as defined by Oregon Vehicle Code 
801.360. 

(24) “Must” means a mandatory requirement. 
(25) “Nonretail Customer” means an operating business enter-

prise, government agency, or nonprofit or charitable organization 
who otherwise meets the customer requirements of ORS 480.345 

(26) “Nonretail Facility” means a facility licensed by the State 
Fire Marshal, where Class 1 flammable liquids are dispensed 
through a fuel dispensing device that limits access to qualified non-
retail customers. 

NOTE: A dual operation facility is also a nonretail facility. 
(27) “Operator” means a person that operates a nonretail 

facility or a conditional nonretail facility. 
(28) “Oregon Fire Code (OFC)” means the Oregon Fire Code, 

2007 Edition. 
(29) “Owner” means any person that is the owner of a 

nonretail facility or a conditional nonretail facility. An owner may 
also be an operator. 

(30) “Person” means one or more individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations 
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public cor-
porations.  

(31) “Retail Facility” means a facility that sells Class 1 
flammable liquids to the general public in compliance with ORS 
480.330. 

(32) “Verifiable Documentation” means documentation that 
can be verified by the State Fire Marshal as true and accurate.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.310 - 480.385 
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, 
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 2-1995, f. 10-11-
95, cert. ef. 10-16-95; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-
24-05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07; OSFM 4-
2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07 thru 5-27-08; OSFM 3-2008, f. 4-3-08, cert. 
ef. 5-1-08 

837-020-0040 
General 

(1) Nonretail facility and conditional nonretail facility operators 
desiring to engage in nonretail facility or conditional nonretail 

facility operations must comply with all applicable state, federal 
and local laws, rules and regulations including, but not limited to: 

(a) ORS 480.310 through 480.385; 
(b) OAR 837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125; 
(c) Oregon Fire Code (OFC), 2010 Edition;  
(d) OAR chapter 837, division 85, Hazardous Materials 

Reporting; and 
(e) NFPA 30 and 30A, 2012 Edition. 
(2) In addition to other applicable provisions of law, each non-

retail facility and conditional nonretail facility must meet the fol-
lowing requirements as per OAR 837-020-0040: 

(a) Proper drainage grades or curbs must be situated to 
prevent any spills from flowing towards any building or other 
pump islands; 

(b) Locations for the emergency fuel shut off devices must be 
clearly and conspicuously posted; 

(c) Instructions for the operation of nonretail dispensers must 
be clearly and conspicuously posted; 

(d) Locations of all fire extinguishers must be clearly and con-
spicuously posted; 

(e) Fire extinguishers must be accessible; 
(f) Be adequately lighted at all times when available for use; 
(g) A fire alarm transmitting device or a telephone not 

requiring a coin or credit card to operate must be provided, and be 
accessible, at each nonretail facility and conditional nonretail 
facility during all hours of operation. This equipment must be 
maintained in good working order in the event emergency assistance 
is needed; and 

(h) All applicable provisions of the OFC must be met. 
(3) All nonretail facilities and conditional nonretail facilities 

must have the following warning signs posted. These signs must be 
readily visible and readable from each Class 1 flammable liquid 
dispensing pump from a distance of ten feet and state: 

(a) Smoking is prohibited; 
(b) Vehicle engines must be shut off while fueling; 
(c) The nonretail facility or conditional use facility address; 
(d) The telephone number of the owner or operator; 
(e) Do not fill unapproved containers; 
(f) Portable containers must be removed from inside the trunk, 

passenger compartment, or truck bed of a vehicle and placed on the 
ground before filling. 

(g) It is a violation of law, subject to penalty, to dispense Class 
1 flammable liquids without first receiving the training required by 
OAR 837-020-0055; and 

(h) It is a violation of law, subject to penalty, to dispense Class 
1 flammable liquids for personal use or into motor vehicles or con-
tainers not owned or used by a business, government, non-profit, or 
charitable organization, per ORS 480.345(4), (not required at con-
ditional nonretail facilities). 

(i) Discharge your static electricity before fueling by touching 
a metal surface away from the nozzle. 

(j) To prevent static charge, do not reenter your vehicle while 
gasoline is pumping. 

(k) If a fire starts, do not remove nozzle, use emergency fuel 
shut off. 

(l) Persons dispensing fuel must remain outside the vehicle 
being fueled, with the fueling nozzle in full view at all times. 

(4) In addition to the provisions required by OAR 837-020-
0040, nonretail dual operation facilities separated by distance 
must: 

(a) Have signs visible from each driveway access point identi-
fying the retail and nonretail pump islands. Signs must be readily 
visible and readable, be at least three feet by four feet in size, and 
have a minimum height of six inch letters on a contrasting back-
ground; 

(b) Where retail and nonretail dispensing of Class 1 flammable 
liquids occurs during the same hours, nonretail pump islands must 
be separated from retail pump islands by a space of at least 50 feet. 
Nonretail and retail pump islands may be separated by a distance of 
no less than 20 feet, provided prior approval is given by the State 
Fire Marshal, and that one of the following barriers is present: 
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(A) An approved solid physical barrier or a solid wall at least 
four feet high, constructed of fire resistive materials, and which 
runs the entire length of the pump island; or 

(B) A fire resistive building, meeting the requirements of the 
building code. 

(c) Unless pump islands are separated by at least 50 feet (20 
feet with an approved barrier), retail and nonretail dispensing may 
not occur during the same hours at a facility. 

(d) Where retail and nonretail dispensing is separated only by 
time, signs must be visible from each driveway access point and 
each Class 1 flammable liquid dispensing pump stating the days 
and hours that separate retail and nonretail operations occur. These 
signs must be readily visible and readable, be at least three feet by 
four feet in size, and have a minimum height of six inch letters on a 
contrasting background. 

(5) At least 45 days prior to the start of intended operations, 
the facility owner or operator of each new nonretail facility and 
conditional nonretail facility covered by OAR 837-020-0040 must 
file the appropriate license application forms and certifications 
with the State Fire Marshal. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.310 - 480.385  
Hist.: FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 2-1995, f. 10-11-95, cert. ef. 
10-16-95; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 10-2002, f. & cert. ef. 
12-6-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, 
cert. ef. 4-1-07; OSFM 7-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 9-2012, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-2-12 

837-020-0045 
Operation of Class 1 Flammable Liquid Dispensing Device by 
General Public Prohibited 

Owners or operators of facilities where Class 1 flammable 
liquids are dispensed at retail may not allow any individual other 
than owners, operators, and their employees, when acting in their 
employment capacity to use or manipulate any pump, hose, pipe or 
other device used at the facility to dispense Class 1 flammable 
liquids into a fuel tank of a motor vehicle or container. 

EXCEPTIONS:  
(1) Individuals other than owners, operators and employees of the 
nonretail facility may be authorized to dispense Class 1 flammable 
liquids at nonretail facilities if such individuals meet the requirements of 
ORS 480.310 through 480.385 and OAR 837-020-0025 through 837-
020-0125. 
(2) Motorcycle assisted fueling at retail facilities. A motorcyclist 
operating their motorcycle may handle the nozzle for dispensing fuel, but 
may not activate or deactivate any fuel dispensing device. Individuals 
who violate this fueling procedure may be subject to citation under OAR 
837-020-0125. 
(3) Aviation fuel dispensed at airports permitted by the Oregon Department 
of Aviation. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.330 & 480.345 
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, 
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07 

837-020-0050 
Conditions for Operation of Dispensing Device by Nonretail 
Customers 

Notwithstanding ORS 480.330 and 480.340 or OAR 837-020-
0045, persons, other than owners, may be authorized to dispense 
Class 1 flammable liquids at nonretail facilities only under the fol-
lowing conditions: The nonretail customer and conditional use 
customer satisfies all requirements of 837-020-0045 through 837-
020-0095. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345 
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, 
cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 10-2002, f. & 
cert. ef. 12-6-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 
3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07 

837-020-0055  
Fire Safety Training 

(1) Owners or operators of nonretail facilities and conditional 
nonretail facilities must provide an initial fire safety training 

course to each nonretail customer and each conditional use 
customer authorized to dispense Class 1 flammable liquids. The 
training may be delivered through any suitable method that 
contains all provisions of 837-020-0055(2) and must be provided 
prior to allowing nonretail customers and conditional use customers 
to dispense Class 1 flammable liquids. A signed document 
indicating receipt of safety training must be maintained by each 
operator as part of each customer file.  

(2) The fire safety training described in section (1) must 
include: 

(a) The hazards of all forms of Class 1 flammable liquids to be 
dispensed by the nonretail customers and conditional use cus-
tomers; 

(b) The location and operation of emergency fuel shut off 
devices required under the OFC; 

(c) The no smoking set-back requirements of the OFC; 
(d) Procedures for contacting the local fire department and 

other emergency service organizations;  
(e) The use of the fire extinguishers required under the OFC; 

and 
(f) The type of portable containers that may be filled and the 

safe procedures for filling them.  
(3) All nonretail customers and conditional use customers 

who wish to dispense Class 1 flammable liquids at nonretail 
facilities and conditional nonretail facilities must successfully 
complete the fire safety training described in sections (1) and (2) of 
this rule prior to engaging in dispensing operations.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345 
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 
7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. 
ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07 

837-020-0060 
Quantity of Purchase Criteria 

(1) Except as provided below, each nonretail customer must 
file documentation with the owner or operator to show the 
nonretail customer purchases at least 900 gallons of Class 1 
flammable liquids fuel every 12 months for business, government, 
nonprofit, or charitable purposes.  

(2) The 900 gallons may have been purchased from any 
source. The nonretail customer must provide documentation to the 
owner or operator to demonstrate this requirement has been met if 
the nonretail customer does not purchase 900 gallons from the 
owner or operator they have entered into an agreement with. This 
documentation must be readily available for review by the State 
Fire Marshal. 

(3) Diesel fuel used for the purpose of fueling a motor vehicle 
may be counted toward the 900 gallon minimum fuel purchase 
requirement. 

(4) Nonretail customers that do not meet the requirements of 
ORS 480.345 and this section must have their access to nonretail 
fuel dispensing revoked by the nonretail facility owner or operator. 

(5) Nonretail customers who wish to dispense Class 1 
flammable liquids at a nonretail facility are not required to meet the 
provisions of this section if: 

(a) The nonretail customer annually provides documentation 
that the fuel qualifies as a deductible farming expense on the non-
retail customer’s Schedule F of their federal income tax return; or 

(b) The fuel was purchased by a governmental agency provid-
ing fire, ambulance or police services; or 

(c) The nonretail customer was a customer of a nonretail 
facility on and since June 30, 1991, and meets all other requirements 
of OAR 837-020-0050. 

(6) Nonretail customer applicants must certify under ORS 
162.075 they will purchase the quantity of fuel required by OAR 
837-020-0060 within 12 months of the date of their first fuel pur-
chase or when their account was established. Customers failing to 
meet this requirement must be terminated as a nonretail customer. 

NOTE: This section does not apply to Conditional Use Customers. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345 & 480.360 
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Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, 
cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 10-2002, f. & 
cert. ef. 12-6-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 
3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07 

837-020-0065 
Certification and Record Keeping 

(1) Each owner or operator of a nonretail facility or a condi-
tional nonretail facility must provide the safety training required by 
OAR 837-020-0055 to all their nonretail customers and their con-
ditional use customers. 

(2) Owners or operators of nonretail facilities and conditional 
nonretail facilities must maintain electronic or hard copy documen-
tation that is readily accessible to demonstrate all nonretail 
customers and conditional use customers meet the requirements of 
OAR 837-020-0050.  

(3) Owners or operators of nonretail facilities and conditional 
nonretail facilities must maintain documentation to demonstrate 
that, at a minimum, weekly site visits of each nonretail facility and 
conditional nonretail facility have been performed. Such documen-
tation must be noted on forms approved by the State Fire Marshal, 
and must be readily accessible to demonstrate this requirement has 
been met. 

(4) Owner or operators of nonretail facilities and conditional 
nonretail facilities must provide documentation to the State Fire 
Marshal to certify violations of OAR 837-020-0025 through 837-
020-0125 have been corrected. 

(5) The documentation of corrections must be received by the 
specified time referenced in the Notice and Order of Correction 
provided by the State Fire Marshal. 

(6) Failure to provide documentation in accordance with OAR 
837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125 constitutes a violation which 
may result in civil penalty assessment to the owner or operator, 
and may result in the revocation of their license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345 - 480.375 
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, 
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 
3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07 

837-020-0070 
Nonretail and Conditional Use Customer Agreements 

(1) The owner or operator must enter into a written agreement 
with nonretail customers and conditional use customers permitted 
under OAR 837-020-0050 to dispense fuel at the nonretail facility 
and conditional nonretail facility. Except as otherwise provided in 
ORS 480.355, the agreement must at a minimum: 

(a) Certify that the nonretail customer will purchase at least 
900 gallons of Class 1 flammable liquids, including diesel fuel, 
from any source during a 12-month period, or if the amount of 
Class 1 flammable, including diesel fuel, purchased is less than 900 
gallons annually, file documentation that: 

(A) The fuel qualifies as a deductible farming expense on the 
nonretail customer’s current Schedule F of their federal income tax 
return; or 

(B) The fuel was purchased by a governmental agency provid-
ing fire, ambulance or police services; 

(C) The nonretail customer was a customer of nonretail 
facility on and since June 30, 1991, and meets all other requirements 
of OAR 837-020-0050. 

(b) Provide a verifiable federal employer identification number 
or equivalent documentation to indicate participation in a business 
or employment with a government agency or nonprofit or charitable 
organization; 

(c) Certify that the nonretail customer is employed by a busi-
ness, government agency or nonprofit or charitable organization 
and that the nonretail customer will dispense Class 1 flammable 
liquids only into the fuel tank of a motor vehicle or container 
owned or used by the business, government agency or nonprofit or 
charitable organization; 

(d) That all Class 1 flammable liquids dispensed at nonretail 
facilities will be for business use only, and that the nonretail 

customer is subject to a penalty if fueling a motor vehicle or con-

tainer for personal use; and 

(e) Certify that the nonretail customer or conditional use cus-

tomer has satisfied safety training requirements in compliance with 

rules of the State Fire Marshal; and 

(f) Require the nonretail customer or conditional use customer 

to submit a sworn statement, as defined in ORS 162.055, that the 

information supplied in the agreement is true and correct. 

(2) The requirements of subsections (1)(a), (b), (c), and (d) of 

this rule to not apply to conditional use customer agreements. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345 & 480.355 

Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, 

cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-

05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07
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837-020-0075 
Complaint and Enforcement Procedures 

(1) Alleged violations at retail facilities, nonretail facilities, 
and conditional nonretail facilities are subject to investigation by 
the State Fire Marshal. 

(2) Upon request of the State Fire Marshal, the owner or oper-
ator must be able to demonstrate that all nonretail customers and 
conditional use customers dispensing Class 1 flammable liquids at 
their nonretail facilities and conditional nonretail facilities meet 
the requirements of OAR 837-020-0050. 

(3) Owners or operators of retail facilities, nonretail facilities, 
and conditional nonretail facilities who fail to meet the applicable 
requirements of OAR 837-020-0040 may be subject to the enforce-
ment and closure provisions of ORS 479.170 in addition to the pro-
visions in OAR 837-020-0125. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.365 - 480.375 & 480.385 
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, 
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07 

837-020-0080 
Nonretail Fuel Dispensing During a Governor Declared 
Emergency 

(1) During an emergency as defined in ORS 401.025, a nonre-
tail facility may permit individuals who are not otherwise qualified 
under ORS 480.345 to dispense Class 1 flammable liquids if all 
conditions specified in this section are satisfied.  

(2) The owner or operator of the nonretail facility holds a 
valid nonretail facility license issued by the State Fire Marshal;  

(3) The owner or operator has paid an application fee for each 
nonretail facility and customer fees required by House Bill 3696, 
Chapter 107, 2010 Special Session, ORS 480.350.  

(4) The owner or operator has provided a blank copy of the 
form required by ORS 480.345 and OAR 837-020-0070 that will 
be used as the written agreement between the owner or operator 
and nonretail customer that outlines the safety training and emer-
gency procedures to be used at the nonretail facility.  

(5) The nonretail customer and the owner or operator of the 
nonretail facility have entered into a written agreement that meets 
the requirements of OAR 837-020-0070.  

(6) The Class 1 flammable liquid is dispensed only into a 
motor vehicle or container of an emergency service agency as 
defined in ORS 401.025 or to an entity authorized by an emergency 
service agency to provide services during an emergency.  

(7)(a) The nonretail customer, other than the owner or 
operator, is an emergency service worker as defined in ORS 
401.025 and dispenses Class 1 flammable liquids only into the fuel 
tank of a motor vehicle or container owned or used by the 
emergency service agency; or  

(b) An owner or employee of the entity authorized by the 
emergency service agency to provide services during an emergency 
and dispenses Class 1 flammable liquids only into the fuel tank of a 
motor vehicle or other container owned or used by the entity autho-
rized by that agency to provide services during an emergency.  

(8) The nonretail customer, other than the owner or operator 
or employee, dispensing Class 1 flammable liquids satisfies safety 
training requirements of OAR 837-020-0055.  

(9) The owner or operator is responsible to bear the burden of 
production and proof that the requirements of OAR 837-020-0040, 
and any other rules of the State Fire Marshal have been satisfied.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.347 
Stats Implemented: ORS 480 
Hist.: OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 10-2002, f. & cert. ef. 12-6-
02; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07; OSFM 3-2012, f. & cert. ef.  
1-24-12

837-020-0085 
Nonretail and Conditional Nonretail Facility License 
Requirements 

(1) Nonretail and conditional nonretail facilities must obtain a 
valid license issued by the State Fire Marshal, prior to operating a 
nonretail facility or a conditional nonretail facility.  

(2) A separate license is required for each nonretail facility 
and conditional nonretail facility. 

(3) All initial facility licenses be valid for one year from the 
date of issue.  

(4) In accordance with ORS 183.705, a renewal date of a 
facility license may be adjusted or prorated to correspond with 
existing State Fire Marshal licensing year dates, 

(5) The State Fire Marshal will issue a license to the owner or 
operator if the owner or operator has:  

(a) Complied with the requirements established by OAR 837-
020-0040;  

(b) Submitted the application to the State Fire Marshal on 
forms supplied by the State Fire Marshal;  

(c) Certified that the owner or operator will comply with all 
provisions of ORS 480.345, the OFC, and this division;  

(d) Provided a blank copy of the form that will be used as the 
written agreement required under ORS 480.345 and OAR 837-
020-0070;  

(e) Provided a blank copy of the safety training that is 
provided to their nonretail customers and conditional use customers, 
to ensure the safety training meets all requirements of OAR 837-
020-0055;  

(f) Paid an application fee for each facility site and customer 
fees required by House Bill 3696, Chapter 107, 2010 Special 
Session, ORS 480.350. 

(6) Any and all certification required by this section must be 
made in accordance with ORS 162.075. 

(7) The owner or operator bears the burden of production and 
proof that the requirements of this Division, and all applicable 
rules of the State Fire Marshal have been satisfied.  

(8) The State Fire Marshal may conduct an on-site inspection 
to determine compliance with OAR 837-020-0040 and other appli-
cable fire and life safety laws prior to issuing a nonretail facility or 
conditional nonretail facility license to the owner or operator under 
section (4) of this rule.  

(9) In addition to the requirements set forth in this section, 
owners or operators who wish to operate a dual operations facility, 
the owner or operator must provide to the State Fire Marshal, on 
State Fire Marshal forms, the specific hours and days when the 
owner or operator proposes to conduct only retail dispensing and 
the specific hours and days when the owner or operator proposes to 
conduct only nonretail dispensing.  

(10) In addition to the requirements set forth in this section, 
owners or operators who wish to operate a conditional nonretail 
facility, must comply with the following:  

(a) A conditional nonretail facility may permit persons who 
are not otherwise qualified under OAR 837-020-0050 to dispense 
Class 1 flammable liquids if all conditions specified in this section 
are satisfied;  

(b) After investigation and public hearing, and after considering 
the comments of local residents and government officials, the State 
Fire Marshal may issue a conditional nonretail license to an owner 
or operator for local non-commercial use if the State Fire Marshal 
finds:  

(A) There is no facility where Class 1 flammable liquids are 
dispensed by attendants at retail, including dual operation facilities, 
within seven miles of the owner or operator’s nonretail facility, and 
other undue hardship conditions exist. Such undue hardship condi-
tions are determined on a case by case basis and may include, but 
are not limited to, road conditions, and volume and type of traffic 
in the affected area;  

(B) The owner or operator has certified that the owner or 
operator will comply with the applicable provisions of ORS 
480.345(1), (5), (6)(d), and (6)(e), and this division;  
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(C) The method of access to a conditional nonretail facility 
only allows access to that specific conditional nonretail facility and 
no other nonretail facility or conditional nonretail facility.  

(11) Within a given geographical area, applications for condi-
tional nonretail licenses issued under this section are considered in 
order of priority of receipt. The date the State Fire Marshal actually 
receives the application determines its priority.  

(12) A conditional nonretail license may not be renewed if the 
requirements of this Section are not met at the time of application 
for renewal. There is no guarantee of continued operations under 
this section.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380 & 480.355 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.350 & 480.355 
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, 
cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-
05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07; OSFM 3-2012, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-24-12 

837-020-0105 
License Denials, Revocations and Suspensions; Civil Penalties 
and Appeals 

(1) The State Fire Marshal may deny, revoke, or suspend a 
nonretail facility or conditional nonretail facility license if the 
owner or operator: 

(a) Fails to comply with OAR 837-020-0040, or any other 
rule, pertaining to nonretail fuel dispensing, adopted by the State 
Fire Marshal; or 

(b) Falsifies any information in the application for the license. 
(2) The option of denial, revocation or suspension may be 

based on the following: 
(a) The number of similar or related violations alleged to have 

been committed in the current license year; 
(b) Whether the violation or violations were willful or inten-

tional; 
(c) The prior history of violations committed by the owner or 

operator; or 
(d) Other circumstances determined by the State Fire Marshal 

to be applicable to the particular violation or violations. 
(3) Suspension or revocation of a license may include suspen-

sion or revocation of the current license and the right to apply for a 
subsequent license. 

(4) Where the State Fire Marshal has alleged a self-service 
violation at a retail facility, nonretail facility, or conditional 
nonretail facility, the burden of proof to show the purchase was in 
compliance with the requirements of ORS 480.330 through 480.385 
and OAR chapter 837, division 20 shifts from the state to the owner 
or operator once the state establishes and provides the owner or 
operator with the following information: 

(a) The date and time of the alleged violation; 
(b) The facility location, including the pump number where 

the alleged violation occurred; 
(c) The vehicle description and license number; and 
(d) A description of the individual dispensing the Class 1 

flammable liquids. 
(5) Any owner or operator who applies for a license required 

by OAR 837-020-0085, and whose application is denied, is entitled 
to file an appeal. Appeals are conducted as contested case proceed-
ings pursuant to ORS 183.413 to 183.470. 

(6) Before suspending, revoking or terminating a license 
issued under OAR 837-020-0085, the State Fire Marshal will give 
prior notice to the licensee and offer a hearing. If requested, such 
hearings are conducted as contested case proceedings pursuant to 
ORS 183.413 to 183.470. 

(7) Where the State Fire Marshal proposes to assess a civil 
penalty under ORS 480.385 and OAR 837-020-0125, appropriate 
notice of appeal rights will be given under ORS 480.385. 

(8) Judicial review of a final order made after a hearing 
requested under section (1) or (2) of this rule will be as provided in 
ORS 183.480 to 183.497 for judicial review of contested cases. 

(9) Nothing in this Section may prevent the State Fire Marshal 
from closing a nonretail facility or a conditional nonretail facility 

under ORS 479.170, provided that the accelerated appeals process 
explained in ORS 479.180 is observed. 

(10) Where a nonretail customer or a conditional use customer 
account list has been submitted to the State Fire Marshal during 
enforcement or appeal proceedings, the State Fire Marshal will 
treat the list as confidential to the extent allowed by law. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.355, 480.365 - 480.375 & 480.385 
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, 
cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-
05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07 

837-020-0115 
Application, License Renewals, and Annual Fees 

(1) Any owner or operator engaged in, or intending to engage 
in, the operation of a nonretail facility or a conditional nonretail 
facility must apply for and obtain a license issued by the State Fire 
Marshal. The application, fees, and supporting documents for new 
facilities must be submitted and received by the State Fire Marshal 
45 days prior to the start of the operation.  

(2) A separate license must be applied for and obtained for 
each nonretail facility or conditional nonretail facility.  

(3) The license must be obtained prior to start of the nonretail 
facility or conditional nonretail facility operation, or the owner or 
operator may be assessed a civil penalty and be subject to closure 
of the Nonretail or conditional nonretail facility.  

(4) The application fee for each nonretail facility and condi-
tional nonretail facility license is established by ORS 480.350. 
Licenses are valid for one year from the date of issue.  

(5) In accordance with ORS 183.705, the license renewal date 
of a facility may be adjusted or prorated to correspond with 
existing State Fire Marshal licensing year dates.  

(6) License fees may be either paid at, or mailed to, the State 
Fire Marshal. The license application may be either delivered to or 
mailed to the State Fire Marshal.  

(7) Payment may be made by personal check, business check, 
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the State Fire 
Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check, the 
State Fire Marshal may not take any action on the license 
application until the check has cleared the bank.  

(8) In addition to the application and renewal fees assessed by 
this section, owners or operators of nonretail facilities and condi-
tional nonretail facilities must pay to the State Fire Marshal an 
annual account fee established by ORS 480.350 for each nonretail 
customer and conditional use customer who has access to dispense 
Class 1 flammable liquids at any time during the applicable license 
year.  

(9) License renewal applications, accompanying documenta-
tion, and payment must be postmarked by a United States Postmark, 
or received at the Office of State Fire Marshal, no later than 30 
days prior to the license expiration for a license renewal valid for 
the following license. If the 30 days prior to the license expiration 
date falls on a day when a postmark cannot be obtained, the appli-
cations must be postmarked or received by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal on the preceding business day.  

(10) License application renewals postmarked or received 
after the deadline set forth under subsection (8) of this rule may be 
subject to a civil penalty.  

(11) License and customer fees received by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal are deposited with the State Treasurer, placed in the 
State Fire Marshal Fund, and used to fund the non-retail fuel dis-
pensing program.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.350 & 480.355 
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 3-1992(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 4-24-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & 
cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 
3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07; OSFM 4-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07 thru 5-
27-08; OSFM 3-2008, f. 4-3-08, cert. ef. 5-1-08; OSFM 3-2012, f. & cert. ef.  
1-24-12 
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837-020-0120 
Hearings and Contested Cases 

A person may request a Formal Hearing regarding the suspen-
sion, revocation, or denial of a license by the State Fire Marshal. 

(1) A Request for Hearing must be timely filed. 
(2) A Request for Hearing is timely filed when the request is 

postmarked or received by the State Fire Marshal within 20 days 
from the date of service of the notice of suspension, revocation, or 
denial, unless a 60-day deadline applies pursuant to ORS 183.435. 

(3) If a Request for Hearing is not timely filed under section 
(c) of this rule, the person waives the right to a contested case 
under ORS Chapter 183. 

(4) A person may write to or call the State Fire Marshal to 
informally discuss the notice of suspension, revocation, or denial; 
however, an informal communication does not extend the deadline 
established in 837-020-0105 subsection (3). 

(5) A contested case may include: 
(a) An Informal Conference; 
(b) A Formal Hearing, or both. 
(6) A contested case will be conducted pursuant to the provi-

sions of ORS Chapter 183 and the rules adopted thereto. 
(7) The State Fire Marshal may provide an opportunity for an 

Informal Conference. A request for an Informal Conference must 
be in writing; and must: 

(a) Be addressed to the State Fire Marshal; and 
(b) Clearly state the issue or issues to be discussed; and 
(c) If the State Fire Marshal and the party or parties agree, an 

Informal Conference may be held by telephone. 
(8) After an Informal Conference, the State Fire Marshal may 

amend, withdraw, or reduce the suspension, revocation, or denial. 
Such action will be taken in accordance with ORS Chapter 183 and 
the rules adopted thereto. 

(9) A person may file a written Request for Hearing before or 
after an Informal Conference, at any time before the deadline 
established in section (3) of the Contested Cases section of OAR 
837-020-0120. 

(10) The State Fire Marshal is responsible to arrange for a 
hearings officer to conduct the Formal Hearing. 

(11) The State Fire Marshal will set a date, time, and location 
for the Formal Hearing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & 480.310 - 480.385 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.310 - 480.385 
Hist.: OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 5-26-05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, 
cert. ef. 4-1-07 

837-020-0125 
Penalties 

The State Fire Marshal may impose a civil penalty of up to 
$500 for each violation of ORS 480.310 through 480.385, and 
OAR 837-020-0040. All penalties are imposed in accordance with 
the following penalty matrix established by the State Fire Marshal. 
Penalties may be based on history, violation types, number of 
instances of violations identified, and severity of violations. 

Violation Types, Instances, and Penalty Assessments 
(1) The Types of Violations are: 
(a) Minimal — Type I; 
(b) Moderate — Type II; 
(c) Severe — Type III. 
(2) The violation instance is determined based on the number 

of times a person, individual, owner, or operator has committed a 
violation. A violation occurs each time a person, individual, owner, 
or operator breaks a rule established by OAR 837-020-0040. 

PENALTY MATRIX: 
VIOLATION TYPE 

PENALTY INSTANCE 1 — 2 — 3 — 4 — 5 
I MINIMAL — $50 — $100 — $150 — $200 — $250 
II MODERATE — $150 — $200 — $250 — $300 — $400 
III SEVERE — $300 — $400 — $500 — $500 — $500 
 
TYPE I MINIMAL 
Eligibility Documentation (excluding safety training) 
Signs 
Retail/Nonretail locations 
Phone # of operator 

It is a violation of law 
Days and hours of operation of time separation facility not present or cor-
rect 
License applications not received by deadline 
AST labels for above ground tanks not present 
Dispensing instructions not present 
Other __________________________ 
TYPE II MODERATE  
Unlawful dispensing at nonretail facilities 
Certification of correction of deficiencies not provided in accordance 
with Notice and Order 
Weekly Site Inspections not completed 
Signs 
No Smoking 
Emergency Fuel Shut Off Device location 
Fire Extinguisher location 
Do Not Fill Unapproved Containers 
In Case of Fire, Spill or Release 
Do Not Fill Portable containers 
Discharge static electricity 
Other __________________________ 
TYPE III SEVERE 
Falsified license application 
Falsified Weekly Site Inspection forms 
Required facility equipment not present or not in good working order 
Safety training not provided prior to allowing customer to dispense fuel 
Unlawful dispensing at retail facilities 
Operating a nonretail facility or conditional nonretail facility without a 
license  
Other __________________________ 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.380 & 480.385 
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, 
cert. ef. 7-15-92 (and corrected 6-22-92); OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; 
OSFM 10-2002, f. & cert. ef. 12-6-02; OSFM 6-2005, f. 5-24-05, cert. ef. 5-26-
05; OSFM 1-2007, f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07; OSFM 9-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-
2-12 

DIVISION 30 

LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS 

837-030-0100 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) The purpose of these rules is to implement the standards, 
policies and procedures for liquefied petroleum gas for the 
protection and safety of the public and persons using or handling 
liquefied petroleum gas, pursuant to the authority vested in the 
State Fire Marshal by ORS 476.030 and 480.320. 

(2) The scope of these rules apply to the implementation of 
the statutes in ORS 480.410 through 480.460 relating to liquefied 
petroleum gas. 

(3) These rules establish application, examination, reporting 
inspection criteria, and other requirements for liquefied petroleum 
gas. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.410 - 480.460 
Hist.: FM 22, f. 11-15-65; FM 1-1981, f. 7-20-81, ef. 8-1-81; FM 6-1985, f. & 
ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; 
Renumbered from 837-030-0005 

837-030-0110 
Effective Dates 

OAR 837-030-0100 through 837-030-0280 are effective upon 
date of filing for adoption. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.420 
Stats. Implemented: 
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; 
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 

837-030-0120 
Definitions 

(1) For the purpose of these rules, the following definitions 
apply to OAR 837-030-0100 through 837-030-0280. 

(2) Application means the forms required by the State Fire 
Marshal to be completed and submitted to the State Fire Marshal. 

(3) Bulk Plant is a facility where the primary function is to 
store LP-Gas prior to further distribution. LP-Gas is received by 
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cargo tank vehicle, railroad tank car, or pipeline, and then 
distributed by portable container (package) delivery, by cargo tank 
vehicle, or through gas piping. 

(4) Company License means the same as an Installation 
License defined in OAR 837-030-0120(14). 

(5) Company Representative means an individual who has 
passed the installation examination administered by the State Fire 
Marshal and represents the company at a specific site. 

(6) Delivery Unit means any unit that is used to deliver or 
transport liquefied petroleum gas. 

(7) Examination means a document designed to test an appli-
cant’s knowledge regarding liquefied petroleum gas, its properties, 
related equipment and applicable safety regulations. 

(8) Fitter License in general means a license issued to an indi-
vidual who performs LP-Gas container and container appurtenance 
installation or replacement, and or, performs work on liquefied 
petroleum fuel gas systems including but not limited to, LP-gas 
containers, plumbing and pipe fitting, gas venting, installs, repairs 
or remodels any piping or venting, installs or repairs, connects, or 
disconnects any liquefied petroleum gas appliance. The specific 
types of Fitter Licenses are: 

(a) HVAC Fitter — Required for all individuals who install or 
perform LPG work on HVAC equipment, including hearth products; 
does not include piping up to the final shut off valve upstream of 
the equipment (see Master Fitter); 

(b) IC Fitter (Internal Combustion) — Required for all indi-
viduals who work on LPG fuel systems of LPG powered internal 
combustion engines; 

(c) Master Fitter — Required for all individuals who perform 
LPG fuel gas plumbing work including but not limited to, fitting or 
venting work, install or replace LP-Gas containers and container 
appurtenances, install, replace, repair or remodel any LP-Gas con-
tainer, appliance, piping or venting. This license covers all areas of 
LPG work. 

NOTE: Individuals licensed as a fitter prior to May 16, 2005, are consid-
ered a Master Fitter; 
(d) RV Fitter — Required for all individuals who work on 

recreational vehicle LPG fuel gas systems (license not required for 
construction or warranty work for manufactured dwellings or 
recreational vehicles). 

(9) Individual means one distinct, individual human being. It 
does not mean person. 

(10) Installation means an LP-Gas container or containers set 
on a specific customer property with the intent of supplying fuel 
gas to utilization equipment. (See ORS 480.450(1)). 

(11) Installer means, a licensed company who provides a 
licensed individual making the connection from an installation to a 
LP-Gas fuel gas system and who conducts required leak testing and 
ensures the installation and piping system are in compliance to 
applicable codes and standards. 

(12) Installation License means a license issued to a company 
or business (hereinafter referred to as a Company License) that 
engages in or works at the business of installing LP-Gas containers 
and container appurtenances, installing extending, altering or 
repairing any liquefied petroleum fuel gas systems including but 
not limited to, gas appliances or piping, vent or flue connection 
pertaining to or in connection with liquefied petroleum gas installa-
tions. This includes the operation of delivery equipment on motor-
ized vehicles. 

(13) License means the official written permission granted by 
the State Fire Marshal for the purpose of working in the liquefied 
petroleum gas business. 

(14) Liquefied Petroleum Gas means any liquid composed 
predominately of any of the following hydrocarbons or mixtures of 
the same: Propane, propylene, butanes (normal butane or isobutene) 
and butylenes. 

(15) Person means one or more individuals, legal representa-
tives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations 
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public cor-
porations or subdivisions. 

(16) Truck Equipment Operator License means a license 
issued to an individual who operates liquefied petroleum gas 
delivery equipment installed on a motorized vehicle. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.410 
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; 
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 16-2005, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-05; 
OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-
12 

837-030-0130 
Fire and Life Safety Standards 

(1) The following National Fire Protection Association Stan-
dards (NFPA) are hereby adopted by reference and are the 
Standards on which the examinations referenced in these rules will 
be primarily based: 

(a) NFPA 54 — National Fuel Gas Code; (2012 Edition); 
and 

(b) NFPA 58 — Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code (2011 Edi-
tion). 

(c) NFPA 1192 — Standard on Recreational Vehicles (2011 
Edition).  

(2) Whenever the following phrases or abbreviations appear 
in the above referenced standards, they mean the following: 

(a) Authority Having Jurisdiction means the State Fire Mar-
shal; 

(b) National Electrical Code means the Oregon Electrical 
Specialty Code; and  

(c) NFPA means the National Fire Protection Association. 
(3) The State Fire Marshal has adopted the Oregon Fire 

Code, 2010 Edition for inspection and enforcement of liquefied 
petroleum gas installations pursuant to ORS 476.030(1) and 
480.420(1). (Refer to OAR 837, division 40.) 

(4) The State Fire Marshal recognizes the Oregon Building 
Codes Division inspection and enforcement authority on those por-
tions of liquefied petroleum gas installations downstream of the 
first stage regulator. Depending on occupancy classification, these 
portions may be regulated under the Oregon Mechanical Specialty 
Code as adopted by OAR 918-440-0010 or the Oregon Residential 
Specialty Code as adopted by OAR 918-480-0005. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.420 
Hist.: FM 22, f. 11-15-65; FM 59, f. 2-25-72, ef. 3-15-72; FM 62, f. 6-14-73, ef. 
7-1-73; FM 66, f. 2-20-75, ef. 3-11-75; FM 1-1981, f. 7-20-81, ef. 8-1-81; FM 
6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 1-1987, f. & ef. 3-18-87; FM 6-1987, f. & ef. 10-
20-87; FM 3-1995, f. & cert.e f. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-0010, 
837-030-0015, 837-030-0020 & 837-030-0025; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 
4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02; OSFM 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 16-2005, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-
05; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 
10-2-12 

837-030-0140 
Licenses Required 

(1) A company license is required for any company engaged 
in the business of installing, extending, altering or repairing any 
liquefied petroleum fuel gas system including but not limited to gas 
appliances or piping, vent or flue connection pertaining to or in 
connection with liquefied petroleum gas installations, and includes 
the installation of LP-Gas containers, container appurtenances and 
the operation of delivery equipment on motorized vehicles. 

(2) A fitter license is required for any individual performing 
the installation or replacement of LPG containers, container appur-
tenances and or performs work on LPG fuel gas systems including 
but not limited to liquefied petroleum gas fitting, venting, installation 
or repair or remodel to any piping or venting, installs or repairs, 
connects, or disconnects any liquefied petroleum gas appliance. 

(3) A Truck Equipment Operator license is required for any 
individual who operates liquefied petroleum gas delivery equipment 
installed on a motorized vehicle. 

(4) Any individual required to have a fitter or truck equipment 
operator license is also required to have an installation license 
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unless the individual is an employee of an employer who has a 
company license. 

(5) Company licenses are not transferable. When a company 
transfers ownership, the new company must complete the licensing 
process the same as any other new company. 

(6) Fitter and truck equipment operator licensees may transfer 
from licensed company to licensed company without relicensing if 
the license has not expired. 

(7) Company representatives may transfer their company rep-
resentative status from licensed company to licensed company 
without re-testing if their existing license has not expired. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.432 
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, 
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert. 
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-
2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-
12-00; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0150 
Company License (Company Representative) 

(1) Each company business or dealership location must obtain 
a separate company license. 

(2) A separate company license is not needed for dispatch cen-
ters. 

(3) Each location must have a company representative unique 
to that location. 

(4) To qualify the company for a company license, an 
individual company representative at each location and unique to 
that location must pass an examination, as detailed in OAR 837-
030-0190, and administered by the State Fire Marshal, with a score 
of 80 percent or more of the questions answered correctly. 

(5) If the company representative transfers or resigns employ-
ment with the company, the company must notify the State Fire 
Marshal, in writing, within two weeks of the transfer or resigna-
tion. 

(6) The new company representative must meet examination 
requirements within 60 calendar days of the last date of employment 
of the preceding company representative. 

(7) Exceptions to this requirement for a company license are 
as follows: 

(a) This rule does not apply to liquefied petroleum gas instal-
lations made in a manufactured dwelling or recreational vehicle 
when those installations are made during the construction of the 
manufactured dwelling or recreational vehicle.  

(b) This rule does not apply to warranty work for liquefied 
petroleum gas installations in a manufactured dwelling or recre-
ational vehicle so long as the work performed falls in the scope of 
the original manufacturer’s warranty issued at the time the home or 
recreational vehicle was manufactured. 

(c) This rule does not apply to a person who holds a valid 
journeyman plumber’s certificate that was issued under ORS 
693.060 or who is in an approved journeyman plumber apprentice-
ship established under ORS 660. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.432 
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, 
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert. 
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-
2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-
12-00; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0160 
Fitter License 

(1) Any individual performing liquefied petroleum gas fitting, 
venting, installation or repair must obtain a fitter license. 

(2) To qualify for a fitter license, an individual must pass a 
written examination, as detailed in OAR 837-030-0190, and 
administered by the State Fire Marshal, with a score of 80 percent 
or more of the questions answered correctly. 

(3) An individual may work under probationary status only as 
detailed in OAR 837-030-0180. 

(4) A fitter may transfer their license to another company. 
(5) The State Fire Marshal must be notified in writing within 

two weeks of employment by the new company that the fitter’s 
license is to be transferred. 

(6) Exceptions to this requirement for a fitter license are as 
follows: 

(a) This rule does not apply to individuals who perform lique-
fied petroleum gas installations made in a manufactured dwelling 
or recreational vehicle when those installations are made during the 
construction of the manufactured dwelling or recreational vehicle. 

(b) This rule does not apply to individuals who perform war-
ranty work for liquefied petroleum gas installations in a manufac-
tured dwelling or recreational vehicle so long as the work 
performed falls in the scope of the original manufacturer’s warranty 
issued at the time the home or recreational vehicle was manufac-
tured. 

(c) This rule does not apply to an individual who holds a valid 
journeyman plumber’s certificate issued under ORS 693.060 or 
who is in an approved journeyman plumber apprenticeship estab-
lished under ORS 660, when installing piping. If a journeyman 
plumber intends to install an LP gas container or make any connec-
tion to an LP gas container, the journeyman plumber must first 
obtain a fitter license through the State Fire Marshal. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.432 
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, 
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert. 
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-
2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0170 
Truck Equipment Operator License 

(1) Any individual operating liquefied petroleum gas delivery 
equipment installed on a motorized vehicle must obtain a truck 
equipment operator license. 

(2) To qualify for a truck equipment operator license, an indi-
vidual must pass a written examination, as detailed in OAR 837-
030-0190, and administered by the State Fire Marshal, with a score 
of 80 percent or more of the questions answered correctly.  

(3) An individual may work under probationary status only as 
detailed in OAR 837-030-0180. 

(4) A truck equipment operator may transfer their license to 
another company. 

(5) The State Fire Marshal must be notified in writing within 
two weeks of employment by the new company that the truck 
equipment operator’s license is to be transferred. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.432 
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, 
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert. 
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-
2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0180 
Probationary Status (On-the-Job Training) 

(1) Individuals who desire to obtain a fitter or truck equipment 
operator license may work up to 60 days of on-the-job training. 

(2) The 60 days of training consist of actual work days. (For 
the purposes of tracking an individual’s probationary status, work 
days are considered to be Monday through Friday unless the com-
pany submits documentation to the State Fire Marshal of another 
work schedule.) 

(3) On-the-job training for fitters must be under the supervision 
of a licensed fitter. 

(4) On-the-job training for truck equipment operators must be 
under the supervision of a licensed truck equipment operator. 

(5) Individuals receiving on-the-job training must pass the 
written examination required under OAR 837-030-0190 and obtain 
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the required license after not more than 60 days probationary 
period of on-the-job training. 

(6) Any individual who exceeds the 60 days probationary 
status time, and has not yet obtained their fitter or truck equipment 
operator license, must immediately cease working as a fitter or 
truck equipment operator until such time as they have obtained the 
required license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.435 
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, 
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert. 
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08 

837-030-0190 
Examinations 

(1) Persons applying for installation (company), fitter or truck 
equipment operator licenses must pass a written examination, 
administered by the State Fire Marshal, with a score of 80 percent 
or more of the questions answered correctly on each applicable 
section of the examination. 

(2) Examinations for fitter and truck equipment operator 
licenses assess the individual’s knowledge of liquefied petroleum 
gas, its properties, related equipment, and applicable codes, statutes 
and safety regulations. 

(3) Examinations for the company representative assess the 
individual’s knowledge of applicable codes, statutes, safety regula-
tions, Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules 
that regulate and govern liquefied petroleum gas. 

(4) License types and combinations are:  
(a) Company Representative; 
(b) Master Fitter; 
(c) Truck Equipment Operator; 
(d) Company Representative, Fitter, Truck Equipment Operator 

Combination; 
(e) Company Representative, Fitter Combination; 
(f) Company Representative, Truck Equipment Operator 

Combination; 
(g) Fitter, Truck Equipment Operator Combination; 
(h) IC Fitter; 
(i) RV Fitter; 
(j) HVAC Fitter; 
(k) Company Representative, RV Fitter; 
(l) Company Representative, HVAC Fitter; 
(m) Company Representative, IC Fitter. 
(5) Examinations are open book and administered on-line by 

the State Fire Marshal. No individual person completing an exami-
nation can use any information other than the information referenced 
in these rules to complete the examination, nor can they use any 
other means to obtain a passing score on the examination. 

(6) Examinations will be based primarily on the standards ref-
erenced in OAR 837-030-0130, ORS 480.410 through 480.460, 
480.990, and OAR 837-030-0100 through 837-030-0280.  

(7) All applications to take examination must be made on a 
form provided by the State Fire Marshal and must be accompanied 
by the fee required in ORS 480.434.  

(8) Upon receipt of a properly completed application and fee, 
the State Fire Marshal will provide the applicant with instructions 
to access the on-line examination. 

(9) If an applicant fails to complete the examination within 30 
days of having access to the examination, or fails to pass the exam-
ination, the applicant must submit to the State Fire Marshal a new 
application and fee pursuant to ORS 480.434. 

(10) License holders and persons previously licensed are not 
required to complete new examinations unless a period of two 
years or more has elapsed from the date of their last license expira-
tion date.  

(11) Examinations are automatically graded and results pro-
vided to the applicant upon completion of the examination. 

(12) The State Fire Marshal reserves the right to disqualify an 
applicant’s examination score for valid cause.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.434 
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, 
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert. 
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 16-2005, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-05; OSFM 8-2008, f. 
9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0200 
License Application, Approval, Issuance 

(1) All license applications must be on a form provided by the 
State Fire Marshal. 

(2) License applications may not be submitted until the appli-
cant has passed the appropriate qualifying examination. 

(3) The completed application form must contain the follow-
ing: 

(a) Applicant’s name; 
(b) Type of license applied for; 
(c) Name and address of the company; 
(d) Signature of the company representative; and 
(e) Company number assigned by the State Fire Marshal. 
(4) Applications must be accompanied by the appropriate 

license fee. 
(5) Upon approval of the application, a license will be issued 

and mailed to the company. 
(6) Company licenses are valid for a period of one year from 

date of issue. Fitter and truck equipment operator licenses are valid 
for a period of two years from date of issue. If the examinee has not 
applied for and been issued a license within two years from the 
date of completion of the examination in which the passing score 
was received, the examination score will be invalid and the 
applicant must re-take and pass the examination. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.434 
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, 
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert. 
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-
2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-
12-00; OSFM 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02; OSFM 16-2005, f. & cert. ef. 
11-9-05; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0210 
License Revocation, Suspension or Denial 

(1) The State Fire Marshal may revoke, suspend, or refuse to 
issue or renew a license required under ORS 480.410 to 480.460. 
Any such revocation, suspension, or refusal to issue must be in 
conformance with ORS 183.310 to 183.550. Valid cause exists for 
the revocation, suspension, or refusal to issue a license when any of 
the following occur: 

(a) The licensee or applicant deliberately falsifies an application 
for an examination or license; 

(b) Has committed a violation of ORS 162.305; 
(c) Has failed to comply with any provision of ORS 480.410 

to 480.460; 
(d) Has failed to comply with any provision of OAR 837-030-

0100 through 837-030-0280; 
(e) Has failed to maintain the status required under ORS 

480.434; or 
(f) Has violated any other provision of the liquefied petroleum 

gas statutes, administrative rules, or applicable fire and life safety 
standards. 

(2) The period of denial, revocation or suspension may not 
exceed three (3) years if the circumstances of the licensee’s or 
applicant’s failure to comply with applicable laws and rules per-
taining to liquefied petroleum gas presented a significant hazard or 
other public danger. 

(3) Licenses are the property of the State Fire Marshal and 
must be surrendered upon request of the State Fire Marshal or a 
State Fire Marshal assistant. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.435 
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, 
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert. 
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ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 
10-2-12 

837-030-0220 
License Renewal 

(1) All licenses must be renewed on or before a date specified 
by the State Fire Marshal. This date will be 30 days after service of 
written notice by the State Fire Marshal and will be specified on 
the renewal application. 

(2) License renewals must be made on a form provided by the 
State Fire Marshal and must be accompanied by the appropriate 
fees. 

(3) Company license renewals are valid for a period of one 
year. Fitter or truck equipment operator licenses renewals are valid 
for a period of two years. 

(4) Licenses not renewed by the specified date are subject to a 
late fee. The fees for the liquefied petroleum gas program are 
located in Oregon Revised Statute as follows: ORS 480.436 
License fees; term of licenses; delinquency penalty. 

(5) Licenses not renewed by their expiration date are invalid 
and the licensee must cease working until such time as licensing is 
brought current. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.436 
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; 
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 5-2003(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-4-
03 thru 12-31-03; OSFM 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-
08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0230 
Motor Fuel Installations (Conversions)/Plan Approval 

(1) Any company converting or manufacturing any vehicle or 
machinery to use liquefied petroleum gas for motor fuel must 
obtain the company and fitter licenses as required in OAR 837-
030-0140. 

(2) Any manufacture of vehicle or machinery, or any 
conversion of existing vehicle or machinery to use liquefied 
petroleum gas as motor fuel, must be in compliance with all appli-
cable liquefied petroleum gas laws, rules and regulations. 

(3) All equipment must be installed in accordance with these 
regulations and the applicable safety standards as adopted, unless 
written approval is otherwise granted by the State Fire Marshal. 

(4) The State Fire Marshal or a State Fire Marshal assistant 
may make on-site inspections of manufacturing plants where lique-
fied petroleum gas motor fuel systems are being installed to ensure 
compliance with applicable safety standards. 

(5) Any company manufacturing or converting vehicles or 
machinery to use liquefied petroleum gas as motor fuel may make 
application for plan approval of a model or prototype to the State 
Fire Marshal. The application and plans must include two complete 
sets of plans which show in detail: 

(a) The location of all liquefied petroleum gas equipment 
including containers, fuel lines, carburetion system, vaporizers, 
and all pertinent equipment; and 

(b) The name of the equipment manufacturer and model num-
bers when available; 

(c) Sufficient information to permit the State Fire Marshal to 
determine compliance or noncompliance with fire and life safety 
regulations relating to the use of liquefied petroleum gas as motor 
fuel. 

(6) Upon approval, one copy of the plans will be returned to 
the applicant with the written approval and an assigned permit 
number. One copy of the plans will be retained by the State Fire 
Marshal; 

(7) If the plans are disapproved, the applicant will be notified 
in writing the reason the plans were disapproved and provided 
information on how to meet the applicable fire and life safety regu-
lations so the plans may be approved. 

(8) All vehicles or machinery manufactured or converted to 
use liquefied petroleum gas as motor fuel and installing liquefied 

petroleum gas motor fuel tanks must be reported to the State Fire 
Marshal. 

(9) The State Fire Marshal must be notified by the last day of 
each month by the installation company of all new liquefied 
petroleum motor fuel installations made during the preceding 
month. 

(10) United States Post Office postmark date will be used to 
determine the reporting date. If the last day of a month falls on a 
day when a postmark cannot be obtained, notification must be 
postmarked on the preceding business day when a postmark can be 
obtained. 

(11) Notification must be made on a form (Notice of 
Installation of Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank for Motor Fuel) and 
must include the following information: 

(a) Customer name for whom the conversion was made; 
(b) Address where the vehicle or machinery may be inspected; 
(c) Date conversion was completed; 
(d) Water capacity of tank; 
(e) Signature of fitter who installed tank and their fitter license 

number; 
(f) Tank serial number; 
(g) Name of company installing tank and their company 

license number; 
(h) Any other information that may be helpful in locating the 

tank. 
(12) The company representative must sign the notice verifying 

the information is correct; and 
(13) The appropriate tank installation fee for the Liquefied 

Petroleum Gas Program is located in Oregon Revised Statute as 
follows: ORS 480.450 Notice of new installations; inspection fees; 
inspections after original inspection; notice of changes; correction 
of improper installations required. 

EXCEPTION: This section does not apply to liquefied petroleum gas 
installations made in manufactured dwellings or recreational vehicles 
performed during the construction of the manufactured dwelling or recre-
ational vehicle, or the alteration or repair of the liquefied petroleum gas 
installation in a manufactured dwelling or recreational vehicle when they 
are made pursuant to the manufacturer’s warranty. All repairs or 
alterations performed outside of the initial construction or the manufac-
turer’s warranty must be completed by a licensed company and a licensed 
fitter. 
(14) Any vehicle or machinery manufactured or converted to 

use liquefied petroleum gas as motor fuel that is found to be in vio-
lation of the applicable fire and life safety standards, may be 
ordered by the State Fire Marshal to be taken out of service. Once 
out of service, it may not be placed back in service, sold or offered 
for sale until all necessary corrections have been made, the State 
Fire Marshal notified and the vehicle or machinery put back in ser-
vice by the State Fire Marshal. 

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.450 
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 81, f. & ef. 3-3-76; FM 6-1985, f. & 
ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 3-1995, f. & cert.e f. 11-14-95, 
Renumbered from 837-030-0035; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99 
thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 
4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 5-2003(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-4-03 thru 
12-31-03; OSFM 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. 
ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0235 
Plan Review of Certain Storage Tanks 

(1) Liquefied petroleum gas installations wherein a single 
container is more than 2,000 gallons in water capacity, or the 
aggregate capacity of the installation is greater than 4,000 gallons, 
require a plan review from the State Fire Marshal. 

(2) Applications for plan reviews must be submitted to the 
State Fire Marshal within 10 working days from the proposed 
installation date. 

(3) Applications for plan reviews must be submitted on a State 
Fire Marshal form and be accompanied by a $100 fee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.033 & 480.410 - 480.460  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.033 & 480.410 - 480.460 
Hist.: OSFM 16-2005, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-05; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 
10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12 
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837-030-0240 
Reporting Tank Installations 

(1) The State Fire Marshal must be notified by the last day of 
each month by the installing company of all new liquefied 
petroleum gas tank installations made during the preceding month. 
New installations include tank replacements. 

(2) United States Post Office postmark date will be used to 
determine the reporting date. If the last day of a month falls on a 
day when a postmark cannot be obtained, notification must be 
postmarked on the preceding business day when a postmark can be 
obtained. 

(3) Notification must be made on a form (Notice of Installation 
of Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank) provided by the State Fire 
Marshal and include the following information: 

(a) Customer name and contact phone number for whom the 
tank was installed; 

(b) Address where tank was installed; 
(c) County of installation; 
(d) Date tank was installed; 
(e) Water capacity of tank; 
(f) Tank serial number; 
(g) Signature of fitter who installed tank and their fitter 

license number; 
(h) Name of company installing tank and their company 

license number; 
(i) A site map providing detailed directions to the tank loca-

tion. 
(4) Tank installation notices must be accompanied by a sum-

mary sheet that details the number and size of tanks installed 
during the preceding month. 

(5) The company representative must sign the summary sheet 
verifying the information is correct. 

(6) Installation notices for tanks installed underground must 
be accompanied by a tank underground worksheet. 

(7) LP-Gas containers, including customer owned containers, 
that have not been reported as specified in ORS 480.450 shall not 
be filled or refilled. 

(8) The appropriate tank installation fees must accompany the 
tank installation notices and summary sheet. The fee for the 
liquefied petroleum gas program is located in Oregon Revised 
Statute as follows: ORS 480.450 Notice of new installations; 
inspection fees; inspections after original inspection; notice of 
changes; correction of improper installations required. 

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.450 
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; 
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 5-2003(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-4-
03 thru 12-31-03; OSFM 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-
08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0250 
Inspection of Tank Installations 

(1) State Fire Marshal Deputies or State Fire Marshal assistants 
will inspect a reasonable number of reported tank installations. 

(2) Inspection records will be maintained at the State Fire 
Marshal. 

(3) Tank installation companies will be notified in writing by 
an inspection notice when a tank installation is not in compliance 
with State Fire Marshal requirements. 

(4) The State Fire Marshal will notify the company of: 
(a) Necessary corrections to bring the installation into compli-

ance; 
(b) The number of days (not to exceed 60 days) the company 

has to bring the installation into compliance. 
(5) The installing company must notify the State Fire Marshal 

that the corrections have been made to bring the installation into 
compliance, as follows: 

(a) The date the corrections were made must be in writing; 
including a signature of those making corrections, and 

(b) Must be returned to the State Fire Marshal. 

(6) Corrections not made or not reported within the number of 

days allowed to bring the installation into compliance, are subject 

to fees for the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Program located in Oregon 

Revised Statute as follows: ORS 480.450 Notice of new installations; 

inspection fees; inspections after original inspection; notice of 

changes; correction of improper installations required. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  

Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.450 

Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-

23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; 

OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 5-2003(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-4-

03 thru 12-31-03; OSFM 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-

08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12
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837-030-0260 
Bulk Storage Sites: Inspections/Notifications 

(1) State Fire Marshal deputies or State Fire Marshal assistants 
may inspect bulk storage sites annually. 

(2) Inspection records will be maintained at the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. 

(3) The installing company will be notified in writing by an 
inspection notice when a bulk site is not in compliance with State 
Fire Marshal requirements. 

(4) The State Fire Marshal will notify the company of: 
(a) Necessary corrections to bring the installation into compli-

ance; 
(b) The number of days (may not exceed 60 days) the 

company has to bring the installation into compliance. 
(5) The installing company must notify the State Fire Marshal 

that the corrections have been made to bring the installation into 
compliance, as follows: 

(a) The date the corrections were made and the signature of 
those making corrections must be written on the copy of the 
inspection notice provided to the company; 

(b) The inspection notice must be returned to the State Fire 
Marshal. 

(6) Any changes to the bulk site, including but not limited to 
the installation of one or more additional tanks, removal of one or 
more tanks, and closure of the site, must be reported to the State 
Fire Marshal in writing within two weeks of the change. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.440 & 480.450 
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-
1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0270 
Delivery Units: Inspections/Notifications 

(1) State Fire Marshal deputies or State Fire Marshal assistants 
may inspect delivery units annually. 

(2) Delivery units must be made readily available to the 
deputy or assistant for the annual inspection after notification by 
the State Fire Marshal that the annual inspection is due. 

(3) Inspection records will be maintained at the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. 

(4) Companies will be notified in writing by an inspection 
notice when a delivery unit is not in compliance with State Fire 
Marshal requirements. 

(5) The State Fire Marshal will notify the company of: 
(a) Necessary corrections to bring the delivery unit into com-

pliance; 
(b) The number of days (may not exceed 60 days) the 

company has to bring the delivery unit into compliance. 
(6) The company must notify the State Fire Marshal that the 

corrections have been made to bring the delivery unit into compli-
ance, as follows: 

(a) The date the corrections were made must be written on the 
copy of the inspection notice provided to the company. 

(b) The inspection notice must be returned to the State Fire 
Marshal. 

(7) Any changes to the delivery units, including but not 
limited to the addition of one or more delivery units to the 
company, and transfer, sale, disposal, or taking out of service of 
one or more delivery units must be reported to the State Fire 
Marshal in writing within two weeks of the change. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.440 & 480.450 
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-955; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; 
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-
08; OSFM 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-12 

837-030-0280 
Fees/Penalties 

(1) Fees must be paid at, or mailed to, the State Fire Marshal 
and must accompany the appropriate application. 

(2) Payment may be made by personal check, business check, 
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the State Fire 

Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check, the 
State Fire Marshal will not take any action on the application until 
the check has cleared the bank. 

(3) Fees for the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Program are located 
in Oregon Revised Statutes as follows: 

(a) Examination Fees — ORS 480.434 Examination of appli-
cants for licenses; issuance of license. Examination fees are non-
refundable and non-transferable. 

(b) Company License — ORS 480.436 License fees; term of 
licenses; delinquency penalty. 

(c) Fitter License — ORS 480.436 License fees; term of 
licenses; delinquency penalty. 

(d) Truck Equipment Operator License — ORS 480.436 
License fees; term of licenses; delinquency penalty. 

(e) Company, Fitter, and Truck Equipment Operator License 
— ORS 480.436 License fees; term of licenses; delinquency penal-
ty. 

(f) Plan Review Fee — ORS 480.450 Notice of new installa-
tions; inspection fees; inspections after original inspection; notice 
of changes; correction of improper installations required. 

(g) Bulk Plant Inspection Fee — ORS 480.440 Inspection of 
certain storage tanks. (Excludes initial inspection during plant con-
struction). 

(h) Delivery Unit Inspection Fee — ORS 480.440 Inspection 
of certain storage tanks. 

(4) Tank Installation Fees for all tanks — ORS 480.450 
Notice of new installations; inspection fees; inspections after 
original inspection; notice of changes; correction of improper 
installations required. 

(5) Tank Reinspection Fees — ORS 480.450 Notice of new 
installations; inspection fees; inspections after original inspection; 
notice of changes; correction of improper installations required. 10 
year tank inspection fee — ORS 480.450 Notice of new installations; 
inspection fees; inspections after original inspection; notice of 
changes; correction of improper installations required. 

(6) Penalty Fees for the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Program are 
located in Oregon Revised Statutes as follows: 

(a) ORS 480.436 License fees; term of licenses; delinquency 
penalty. 

(b) ORS 480.450 Notice of new installations; inspection fees; 
inspections after original inspection; notice of changes; correction 
of improper installations required. 

(c) ORS 480.990 Penalties. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 480  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.436, 480.440, 480.450 & 480.460 
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; 
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 5-2003(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-4-
03 thru 12-31-03; OSFM 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-04; OSFM 16-2005, f. & 
cert. ef. 11-9-05; OSFM 8-2008, f. 9-26-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2012, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-2-12 

DIVISION 35 

FIRE STANDARD COMPLIANT 
(REDUCED IGNITION PROPENSITY) CIGARETTES 

837-035-0000 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) The purpose of these rules is to implement the standards, 
policies and procedures for fire standard compliant (reduced 
ignition propensity) cigarettes. 

(2) The scope of these rules applies to the implementation of 
ORS 476.755 through 476.806 and 476.995, relating to fire 
standard compliant (reduced ignition propensity) cigarettes. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07; OSFM 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-12 
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837-035-0020 
Effective Dates 

OAR 837-035-0000 through 837-035-0340 are effective upon 
date of filing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

837-035-0040 
Definitions 

For the purpose of these rules, the following definitions apply 
to OAR 837-035-0000 through 837-035-0340: 

(1) “Authorized Representative of the State Fire Marshal” 
means an employee of the State Fire Marshal, as well as Assistants 
to the State Fire Marshal as defined in ORS 476.060.  

(2) “Cigarette” means a roll for smoking:  
(a) That is made wholly of tobacco, or of tobacco and any 

other substance, regardless of size, shape or flavoring or adulteration 
by or mixing with other ingredients, the wrapper of which is made 
of paper or other non tobacco materials; and 

(b) That, because of its appearance, the type of tobacco used 
in the filler or its packaging and labeling, is likely to be offered to 
or purchased by consumers as a cigarette. 

(3) “Distribute” means to do any of the following: 
(a) Sell cigarettes or deliver cigarettes for sale by another 

person to consumers; 
(b) Receive or retain more than 199 cigarettes at a place of 

business where the person receiving or retaining the cigarettes cus-
tomarily sells cigarettes or offers cigarettes for sale to consumers; 

(c) Place cigarettes in vending machines; 
(d) Sell or accept orders for cigarettes to be transported from a 

point outside this state to a consumer within this state; 
(e) Buy cigarettes directly from a manufacturer or wholesale 

dealer for resale in this state; 
(f) Give cigarettes as a sample, prize, gift or other promotion. 
(4) “Fire standard compliant” (FSC) cigarette means a 

cigarette that has been tested and meets the fire safety performance 
standard described in ORS 476.770. 

(5) “Manufacturer” means: 
(a) Any entity that produces, or causes the production of, 

cigarettes for sale in this state; 
(b) An importer or first purchaser of cigarettes that intends to 

resell within this state cigarettes that were produced for sale 
outside this state; or 

(c) A successor to an entity, importer or first purchaser 
described in paragraph (a) or (b) of this subsection. 

(6) “Packaging” means, but is not limited to, cigarette soft 
packs, boxes, cartons and cases. 

(7) “Quality control and assurance program” means laboratory 
procedures implemented to ensure that operator bias, systematic 
and nonsystematic methodological errors and equipment-related 
problems do not affect the results of testing. 

(8) “Reduced ignition propensity” means meeting the fire 
safety performance standard described in ORS 476.770(6), when 
tested as described in ORS 476.775(2). 

(9) “Reduced ignition propensity cigarette” means a cigarette 
that has been tested as described in ORS 476.775(2), and meets the 
fire safety performance standard described in ORS 476.770(6). 

(10) “Repeatability” means the range of values within which 
the repeat results of ignition propensity testing by a single 
laboratory will fall 95 percent of the time. 

(11) “Retail dealer” means a person, other than a manufacturer 
or wholesale dealer that engages in distributing cigarettes. 

(12) “Sell” means to transfer, or agree to transfer, title or pos-
session for a monetary or non-monetary consideration. 

(13) “Transporter” means any person importing or transporting 
into this state, or transporting in this state, cigarettes obtained from 
a source located outside this state, or from any person not licensed 
as a distributor under ORS 323.005 to 323.482. It does not include 
a licensed distributor, a common carrier to whom is issued a certifi-
cate or permit by the United States Surface Transportation Board to 

carry commodities in interstate commerce, or to a carrier of federal 
tax-free cigarettes in bond, or any person transporting no more 
than 199 cigarettes at any one time. 

(14) “Variety” means a type of cigarette marketed by the man-
ufacturer as being distinct from other types of cigarettes on the 
basis of brand name, length, filter, wrapping, flavoring or other 
characteristics. 

(15) “Wholesale dealer” means a person that distributes 
cigarettes to: 

(a) A retail dealer or other person for resale; or 
(b) A person that owns, operates or maintains cigarette 

vending machines on premises owned or operated by another per-
son. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

837-035-0060 
General 

(1) All cigarettes sold or offered for sale in Oregon must be 
fire standard compliant (reduced ignition propensity) as required 
by ORS 476.760(1). 

(2) Initial written certification attesting the cigarette variety 
has been subjected to ignition propensity testing under ORS 
476.780 and meets the fire safety performance standard under 
476.770(6), must be provided to the Oregon State Fire Marshal 
(OSFM) prior to selling cigarettes. Refer to OAR 837-035-0080 
for certification requirements. 

(3) Re-certification of cigarettes is required every three years 
after initial certification. Refer to OAR 837-035-0100 for re-certi-
fication requirements. 

(4) In addition to the above listed requirements, cigarette 
manufacturers, wholesaler dealers and retailers who sell cigarettes 
in Oregon must also comply with: 

(a) ORS 476.755 through 476.806; 
(b) OAR 837-035-0000 through 837-035-0340; 
(c) All applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and regu-

lations pertaining to cigarettes. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07; OSFM 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-12 

837-035-0080 
Certification Requirements 

(1) Cigarette manufacturers must submit written certification 
to the OSFM attesting the cigarette variety has been subjected to 
ignition propensity testing under ORS 476.780, and meets the fire 
safety performance standard under 476.755 through 476.806 as 
proof that cigarette varieties have reduced ignition propensity. 

(2) Certifications are valid for three years from the date of 
receipt by the OSFM. 

(3) Written certifications must fulfill the requirements of ORS 
476.780, for each cigarette variety. In particular, certifications must 
contain the following information for each variety of cigarette list-
ed: 

(a) The brand name shown on the cigarette packaging; 
(b) The style or pack identifier; 
(c) The length in millimeters; 
(d) The circumference in millimeters; 
(e) The flavor, such as menthol or chocolate, if applicable; 
(f) Whether the cigarette is filtered or nonfiltered; 
(g) A packaging description, such as soft pack or box; 
(h) A description of the packaging marking approved by the 

OSFM under ORS 476.785; 
(i) The name, address and telephone number of the laboratory 

conducting the ignition propensity testing, if other than the 
laboratory of the manufacturer; 

(j) The date of the ignition propensity testing. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07; OSFM 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-12
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837-035-0100 
Recertification Requirements 

(1) Manufacturers must provide written re-certification to the 
OSFM within three years after the initial certification was received 
by the OSFM, and each three year period afterward. 

(2) The re-certification must fulfill the requirements of ORS 
476.780, for each cigarette variety. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07; OSFM 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-12 

837-035-0120 
Test Method 

(1) Cigarette varieties must be tested using the American 
Society for Testing & Materials (ASTM) International specification 
E2187-04, Standard Test Method for Measuring the Ignition 
Strength of Cigarettes or another test method approved by the 
OSFM consistent with ORS 476.770. 

(2) The laboratory conducting ignition propensity testing 
must have a quality control and assurance program. The program 
must ensure the testing repeatability value for all test trials used to 
certify a cigarette variety. The repeatability value of ignition 
propensity testing may not be greater than 0.19. 

(3) Ignition propensity testing used in a manufacturer certifi-
cation submitted to the OSFM must be conducted in a laboratory 
accredited under: 

(a) The International Organization for Standardization/Inter-
national Electrotechnical Commission ISO/IEC 17025 Standard of 
International Organization for Standardization, or 

(b) A standard recognized by the OSFM consistent with ORS 
476.775(b). 

(4) Refer to ORS 476.770 and 476.775 for all testing and 
quality control requirements. 

(5) A cigarette manufacturer may propose a test method and 
performance standard if OSFM determines that a variety of 
cigarettes cannot be tested as described in OAR 837-035-0120(1). 
Upon approval by the OSFM, the manufacturer may use the test 
method and performance standard to certify the cigarette. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

837-035-0140 
Performance Standard 

(1) As required by ORS 476.770(6), no more than 25 percent 
of the cigarettes tested in a complete test trial conducted in accor-
dance with an ignition propensity testing method described in 
476.775, may exhibit full length burns. 

(2) Each cigarette listed in a certification using lowered per-
meability bands in the cigarette paper to achieve compliance must 
have (for cigarettes on which the bands are not positioned by 
design): 

(a) At least two nominally identical bands on the paper sur-
rounding the tobacco column; and  

(b) At least one complete band must be located at least 15 mil-
limeters from the lighting end of the cigarette. 

(3) For cigarettes on which the bands are positioned by 
design, there must be: 

(a) At least two bands fully located at least 15 millimeters 
from the lighting end and 10 millimeters from the filter end of the 
tobacco column; or  

(b) 10 millimeters from the labeled end of the tobacco column 
for a non-filtered cigarette. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

837-035-0160 
Packaging Marking 

(1) Manufacturers must mark all packaging for cigarettes to 
indicate that cigarettes sold in this state are fire standard compliant 

(reduced ignition propensity). A manufacturer must submit to the 
State Fire Marshal a proposal for marking cigarette packaging. 
Proposed packaging marking must be in eight-point font or larger 
and consist of one of the following: 

(a) Modification of the universal product code to indicate a 
visible mark printed at or around the universal product code. The 
mark may consist of alphanumeric or symbolic characters perma-
nently printed, stamped, engraved or embossed in conjunction with 
the universal product code; 

(b) A visible combination of alphanumeric or symbolic char-
acters permanently stamped, engraved or embossed upon the pack-
aging or cellophane wrapping; 

(c) Printed, stamped, engraved or embossed test indicating the 
cigarettes meet the fire safety performance standard established in 
ORS 476.770(6). 

(2) The OSFM will approve or disapprove the proposal for 
packaging marking, and packaging marking proposals not approved 
or denied by the OSFM within 10 days of receipt are deemed 
approved. In determining whether to approve or disapprove a pro-
posal for packaging marking, the OSFM must approve packaging 
marking with the letters “FSC” (signifying fire standard compli-
ant). 

(3) Violations of this section are subject to a civil penalty as 
referenced in OAR 837-035-0320. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07; OSFM 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-12 

837-035-0180 
Modification of Packaging Markings 

(1) Any proposed modifications to packaging markings must 
be submitted to the OSFM for approval before use. 

(2) Violations of this section are subject to a civil penalty as 
referenced in OAR 837-035-0320. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

837-035-0200 
Manufacturer Requirements 

(1) In addition to the requirements of this division, manufac-
turers may sell only cigarettes that are fire standard compliant 
(reduced ignition propensity) to Oregon wholesaler and retailer 
dealers. 

(2) Manufacturers of any cigarette varieties must submit 
written certification to the OSFM and their wholesale dealers 
ensuring their cigarettes are fire standard compliant (reduced 
ignition propensity). 

(3) If a manufacturer makes any changes to a cigarette that are 
likely to alter the cigarette’s compliance with the fire safety perfor-
mance standard described in ORS 476.770(6), the manufacturer 
must retest to ensure the cigarette still is fire standard compliant 
(reduced ignition propensity) before distributing. 

(4) Manufacturers must retain copies of all test data for at 
least three years, and provide test data to the OSFM or Attorney 
General upon request. 

(5) Manufacturers must submit proposals for packaging mark-
ing to the OSFM for approval. Refer to OAR 837-035-0160 for 
packaging marking requirements. 

(6) Manufacturers must provide enough copies of the packaging 
marking illustration to wholesale dealers to allow them to provide 
one copy to each retail dealer. 

(7) Violations of this section are subject to a civil penalty as 
referenced in OAR 837-035-0320. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07; OSFM 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-12 
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837-035-0220 
Wholesale Dealer Requirements 

(1) Wholesale dealers must provide one copy of the manufac-
turer’s cigarette packaging marking illustration to each retail  
dealer. 

(2) Wholesale dealers may sell only fire standard 
compliant/reduced ignition propensity cigarettes. 

(3) Wholesale dealers may house non-compliant cigarettes in 
Oregon, provided they are not to be sold in Oregon. 

(4) Violations of this section are subject to a civil penalty as 
referenced in ORS 476.765, 476.995 and OAR 837-035-0320. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07; OSFM 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-12 

837-035-0240 
Retail Dealer Requirements 

(1) Retail dealers may sell only fire standard compliant/reduced 
ignition propensity cigarettes. 

(2) Violations of this section are subject to a civil penalty as 
referenced in ORS 476.765 and OAR 837-035-0320. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07; OSFM 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-12 

837-035-0260 
Inspections 

The OSFM or an authorized representative may inspect 
Oregon wholesale dealers, agents, and retailers for compliance 
with ORS 476.760. Inspections include packaging, certification, 
cigarettes, and any other documents to determine compliance with 
ORS 476.760, 476.770 and 476.785. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

837-035-0280 
Cooperative Agreements 

The OSFM may enter into a cooperative agreement with any 
state or local agency allowing the agency to act as an authorized 
representative of the OSFM for enforcement purposes of this divi-
sion. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

837-035-0300 
Seizure of Non-Compliant Product 

(1) The OSFM, or an authorized representative, may seize 
and make subject to forfeiture any cigarette that: 

(a) Is not fire standard compliant/reduced ignition propensity; 
(b) Bears a packaging marking not approved by the OSFM.  
(2) If seized cigarettes are determined to be non-compliant, 

the manufacturer will be given the opportunity to inspect the 
cigarettes and packaging. 

(3) Non-compliant cigarettes that have been forfeited must be 
destroyed by the OSFM only after allowing the manufacturer to 
inspect the cigarettes and packaging. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

837-035-0320 
Civil Penalties 

(1) The OSFM may impose civil penalties in accordance with 
ORS 183.745 for any violation of ORS 476.760 through 476.806, 
or OAR 837-035-0000 through 837-035-0340. Refer to the 
following penalty matrix for penalties established by ORS 476.995: 

(a) Distributing or offering to sell non-compliant cigarettes to 
a wholesale or retail dealer: $10,000 or five times the wholesale 

invoice cost of the cigarettes involved in the violation, whichever 
is greater; 

(b) Distributing or offering to sell not more than 1,000 non-
compliant cigarettes to consumers: $500; 

(c) Distributing or offering to sell more than 1,000 non-com-
pliant cigarettes to consumers: $1,000 or five times the retail value 
of the cigarettes involved in the violation, whichever is greater. 

(2) Each day a person distributes or offers to sell cigarettes 
after being notified by the OSFM that the distribution or offer to 
sell cigarettes is in violation of ORS 476.760, constitutes a 
separate violation and subjects the person to additional civil penal-
ties. 

(3) All monies collected from civil penalties are to be 
deposited to the Cigarette Fire Safety Fund of the OSFM. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

837-035-0340 
Procedures, Hearings and Judicial Review 

(1) Hearings are conducted according to ORS 183.413 through 
183.470. 

(2) The Attorney General may bring action for the OSFM to: 
(a) Seek injunctive relief to prevent or end a violatio; 
(b) Recover civil penaltie; 
(c) Recover attorney fees and other enforcement costs and dis-

bursements.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.755 - 476.806 & 476.995 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-2-07 thru 12-28-07; OSFM 3-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 11-16-07 

DIVISION 39 

ADMINISTRATION OF FIRE PREVENTION PROGRAMS 

837-039-0001 
Scope and Application 

(1) This Division improves fire protection services by: 
(a) Eliminating duplication in the administration of state and 

local fire protection programs; 
(b) Giving the regulated community reasonable notice of how 

governmental subdivisions must enforce fire regulations and 
provide fire prevention services; and 

(c) Providing a procedure to assure that fire codes adopted and 
administered by local governmental subdivisions are consistent 
with the minimum standards established by the State Fire Marshal. 

(2) This Division includes six program elements: 
(a) The criteria and application procedures to be used by gov-

ernmental subdivisions applying for exempt status under ORS 
476.030(3); 

(b) The evaluation process to be used by the State Fire 
Marshal to assure that the adoption and administration of local fire 
codes equal or exceed those adopted and administered by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal; 

(c) A description of those programs which must not be dele-
gated to local jurisdictions under the exempt jurisdiction program; 

(d) A description of nonexempt jurisdictions’ responsibilities 
under ORS 476.060 and the enforcement activities including immi-
nent life or property threats, and inspection and enforcement of the 
state fire code. 

(e) A description of the appeals process to be used for fire 
code inconsistency findings, denied applications for exempt status, 
or for terminations of exempt status. 

(f) The certification and training requirements for plan reviews 
and conducting fire code enforcement related to a fire official’s 
scope of practice. 

(3) This Division does not provide for the creation of fully 
exempt jurisdictions in the State of Oregon. 

NOTE: There has been some confusion in past years as to the scope of 
the exempt jurisdiction program. Although ORS 476.030(3) authorizes 
the State Fire Marshal to “fully” exempt qualifying local governmental 
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subdivisions from the State’s fire laws, the State has not done so. There 
are some programs which have statewide impact and are, therefore, more 
reasonably managed at the state level. See OAR 837-039-0050. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476 
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-
22-00; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

837-039-0003 
Definitions 

(1) “Administration” (or “administrative”) means the inspec-
tion, enforcement and record-keeping systems used in the manage-
ment of a fire prevention/investigation program. 

(2) “Appeal” means the administrative process which is 
offered to an aggrieved party by the authority having jurisdiction 
which: 

(a) Assures the aggrieved party is given the due process of 
law; 

(b) Is in response to the aggrieved party having received an 
order from the authority having jurisdiction; 

(c) Is requested by the aggrieved party; and 
(d) Is consistent with the lawful authority of the authority hav-

ing jurisdiction. 
(3) “Assistant” means an Assistant to the State Fire Marshal 

under ORS 476.060, including, but not limited to, “all fire marshals 
in those governmental subdivisions having such officers, and 
where no such officer exists, the chief of the fire department of 
every city or rural fire protection district in which a fire department 
is established.” 

(4) “Authority Having Jurisdiction” means a local governmental 
subdivision recognized by the State Fire Marshal under this 
Division including, but not limited to: 

(a) Municipal fire departments operated under home rule 
charter; 

(b) Rural fire protection districts operating under ORS 478; 
(c) Water supply districts operating under ORS 264; or 
(d) Public fire protection agencies not described above, and 

which are subject to the laws of the State of Oregon. 
(5) “Classroom” means an instructional environment the 

instructor believes is most conducive for the student to learn the 
material in a specific unit. 

(6) “Company Inspector” means an individual who has met 
the job performance requirements to conduct basic fire code 
enforcement in one- and two-story Business Group B occupancies 
and Mercantile Group M occupancies with no high-piled or rack 
storage. 

(7) “DPSST” means the Department of Public Safety Standards 
and Training. 

(8) “DPSST’s NFPA Fire Inspector I” means an individual 
who has been certified by DPSST for meeting the requisite knowl-
edge and skills identified in the DPSST NFPA Fire Inspector I task 
book to conduct basic fire code enforcement and apply codes and 
standards. 

(9) “DPSST’s NFPA Fire Inspector II” means an individual 
who has been certified by DPSST for meeting the requisite knowl-
edge and requisite skills identified in the DPSST NFPA Fire 
Inspector I and II task books to conduct moderately technically 
challenging fire code enforcement and interpret codes and stan-
dards. 

(10) “DPSST’s NFPA Fire Inspector III” means an individual 
who has been certified by DPSST for meeting the requisite knowl-
edge and requisite skills identified in the DPSST NFPA Fire 
Inspector I, II, and III task books to conduct advanced technically 
challenging fire code enforcement and resolve complex code-
related issues. 

(11) “Delegated Appeals Process” means an administrative 
procedure established by an exempt authority which the State Fire 
Marshal has found to be the equivalent of a contested case proceed-
ing established under ORS Chapter 183 and the accelerated appeals 
process established under 479.180. 

(12) “Deputy State Fire Marshal” means an employee of the 
Office of State Fire Marshal as authorized in ORS 476.040. 

(13) “Enforcement” means the investigation, inspection, cita-
tion, and/or prosecution of alleged violations of state and local fire 
protection laws, rules and regulations. 

(14) “Exempt” means a local governmental subdivision which 
is partially exempt from statutes, rules and regulations administered 
by the State Fire Marshal as authorized in ORS 476.030(3) and as 
defined in the Division. 

(15) “Fire Code” means all Oregon fire protection statutes, the 
administrative rules of the State Fire Marshal and local government 
regulations which are adopted in conformance with this Division. 

(16) “Fire Code Official” means the fire chief or other desig-
nated authority charged with the administration and enforcement of 
the fire code, or duly authorized representative. 

(17) “Fire Official” means any individual authorized to 
enforce the state or local fire code. 

(18) “Local Appeals Process” means the administrative pro-
cedure adopted and operated by a local government subdivision 
under local ordinance or resolution. 

(19) “Local Governmental Subdivision” means a city, county 
or rural fire protection district whose function includes regulation 
of building use and occupancy and the administration of fire safety 
laws, ordinances and regulations. 

(20) “NFPA” means National Fire Protection Association. 
(21) “Nonexempt Jurisdiction” means a local governmental 

subdivision which has not applied for and been granted exempt 
status by the State Fire Marshal under this Division. 

(22) “Partially Exempt Jurisdiction” means a local govern-
mental subdivision which has received authorization from the State 
Fire Marshal under this Division to administer specified fire pre-
vention programs within it’s legally established political boundary. 

(23) “Promulgate” means to lawfully develop and adopt an 
administrative rule, local ordinance, code or regulation authorized 
by law. 

(24) “Requisite Knowledge” means the fundamental knowledge 
one must have in order to perform a specific task. 

(25) “Requisite Skills” means the essential skills one must 
have in order to perform a specific task. 

(26) “Review Board” means an advisory committee consisting 
of five Exempt Jurisdiction Fire Marshals appointed by the State 
Fire Marshal for a term of three years. 

(27) “Scope of Practice” means an established list of compe-
tencies that are required to administer the Oregon fire code in an 
elected range of complexity. 

(28) “Service Area” means the geographic area contained 
within the municipal city limits, corporate boundaries of the fire 
district or areas to which the Exempt Jurisdiction provides fire pro-
tection and prevention services under contract. 

(29) “State Appeals Process” means an administrative contested 
case proceeding under ORS Chapter 183 and, if applicable, the 
accelerated appeals process established under ORS 479.180. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476 
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-
22-00; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

837-039-0010 
Applications for Exempt Status 

(1) Local governmental subdivisions seeking exempt status 
must submit a written request to the State Fire Marshal that 
describes in detail the scope of the proposed exemption.  

(2) The request must include a detailed explanation of the fire 
prevention and investigation programs to be provided by the 
requesting jurisdiction. Such programs must include but are not 
limited to:  

(a) Fire code enforcement.  
(b) Fire cause determination.  
(c) Juvenile firesetter intervention.  
(d) Fire and life safety education.  
NOTE: Submitting a business plan demonstrating measurable goals and 
objectives in each of the categories is the method of explaining the pro-
posed programs preferred by the State Fire Marshal. However, other for-
mats may be used if they adequately demonstrate what must be done and 
how it is accomplished. 
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(3) The request must include an explanation of the Delegated 
Appeals Process to be employed and how it generally conforms to 
ORS 476.113 and 476.115.  

(4) The request must include an explanation of how the juris-
diction satisfies the qualifications specified in these rules.  

(5) The request must include such documentation and sup-
portive materials as may be necessary to support the exemption 
request, including a copy of any locally adopted fire code and inter-
governmental agreements.  

(6) The State Fire Marshal must distribute copies of the 
request(s) to each of the review board members, requesting an 
advisory by them within 60 days of receiving the material as to the 
sufficiency of the application. Such advisories, both individually 
and collectively, may not be binding on the State Fire Marshal but 
may be considered by the State Fire Marshal in deciding whether to 
grant the exemption.  

(7) The State Fire Marshal must determine whether to grant 
the exemption and notify the applicant accordingly within 30 days 
of receipt of the board’s written advisory.  

(8) Once granted, exempt status may remain in effect:  
(a) Unless terminated by the State Fire Marshal for cause pur-

suant to ORS 476.030(3) and OAR 837-039-0055; or  
(b) Upon 90 days written termination notice by the exempt 

jurisdiction to the State Fire Marshal; or  
(c) Unless there is an unsatisfactory biennial review by the 

State Fire Marshal of the exempt authority’s program and adminis-
tration.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3) 
Hist.: FM 3-1978, f. & ef. 6-16-78; FM 5-1978, f. & ef. 9-29-78; FM 2-1988, f. 
& cert. ef. 2-17-88; FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. 
& cert. ef. 8-22-00; OSFM 8-2006 f. & cert. ef. 5-22-06; OSFM 12-2006, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-29-06; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

837-039-0015 
Minimum Fire Code Requirements 

(1) Under ORS 476.030 and 476.120, the State Fire Marshal 
is responsible for promulgating rules and regulations which 
establish minimum standards for the protection of life and property 
from the dangers of fire.  

(2) To meet this responsibility and to promote uniformity, the 
State Fire Marshal must assure that locally adopted fire codes in 
both exempt and non-exempt jurisdictions are consistent with min-
imum state fire code standards. Therefore, in adopting a fire code, 
local governmental subdivisions must:  

(a) Adopt by reference the fire code promulgated by the State 
Fire Marshal; or  

(b) Adopt a code that is consistent with state fire protection 
statutes and, is equal to or more stringent than, the fire code pro-
mulgated by the State Fire Marshal.  

(3) Nothing in this Division requires a local governmental 
subdivision to adopt a fire code.  

(4) Nothing in this Division may prevent a local governmental 
subdivision from adopting a fire code which is more stringent than 
the State Fire Code, if such local fire code is otherwise lawful.  

(5) When an authority having jurisdiction proposes a new 
local fire code, or proposes to amend an existing fire code, they 
must provide a draft copy of the proposed fire code or amendment 
to the State Fire Marshal for a pre-adoption evaluation at the 
earliest date possible prior to final adoption and a final copy within 
30 days after adoption.  

(6) The State Fire Marshal must evaluate the fire codes or 
amendments submitted under section (5) to assure conformity with 
state fire protection statutes and the minimum standards established 
by the State Fire Marshal.  

(7) When the State Fire Marshal determines that a fire code 
submitted under section (5) of this rule conforms with minimum 
state standards, the State Fire Marshal must issue a consistency 
finding at the earliest date possible.  

(8) When the State Fire Marshal determines that a fire code or 
amendment submitted under section (5) of this rule does not meet 
minimum state standards, the State Fire Marshal must:  

(a) Notify the authority having jurisdiction of the proposed 
finding; and  

(b) Give the authority having jurisdiction a reasonable time to 
amend or delete such inconsistencies. 

(9) When the State Fire Marshal issues a proposed inconsis-
tency finding under section(8) of this rule, and the authority having 
jurisdiction disagrees with the proposed finding, the aggrieved 
party may within 20 days of receiving the inconsistency finding 
appeal and request a contested case hearing under ORS Chapter 
183 and OAR 837-039-0055. Thereafter, the State Fire Marshal 
must process the appeal within a reasonable time. 

(10) When an appeal is not filed within 20 days of notification, 
and the authority having jurisdiction has failed to delete or amend 
the inconsistent fire code provision identified by the State Fire 
Marshal, a final inconsistency finding must be issued.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3) & 476.120 
Hist.: FM 3-1978, f. & ef. 6-16-78; FM 2-1988, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-88; FM 5-
1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-00; OSFM 
8-2006 f. & cert. ef. 5-22-06; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

837-039-0040 
Exemption Criteria 

(1) In order to qualify for partially exempt status, applicants 
must provide evidence that they effectively administer and enforce 
the fire code sections specified in their application. 

(2) To the extent of the proposed exemption, an ability to 
effectively administer a fire code is demonstrated by meeting or 
exceeding the qualifications described in this section. 

(3) The applicants must employ a number of fire prevention 
personnel they deem adequate to: 

(a) Inspect regulated buildings on a frequency they deem nec-
essary to provide a reasonable level of fire and life safety in the 
applicant’s service area. 

(b) Annually inspect; 
(A) Hospitals (I-2) and for licensing or certification by the 

Health Division except for I-2 Nursing Homes; and 
(B) Licensed Day Cares (I-4) and for licensing by the 

Employment Department; and 
(C) Mental Hospitals (I-2), Jails (I-3), Prisons (I-3) and Refor-

matories (I-3) in the applicant’s service area. 
(c) Inspect licensed Boarding/Residential Schools (E), Group 

Homes and Residential Board/Care Facilities (SR) bi-annually or 
at the request of the Licensing Agency for a license renewal; and 

(d) Initially inspect Ambulatory Health Care Facilities (I-2) 
and Clinic-outpatient (B) and then every three years. A self inspec-
tion program may be initiated in the two intervening years. The 
process for the self inspection must be explained in the Exempt 
Jurisdiction’s business plan; and 

(e) Inspect licensed Sheltered Workshops (various occupancies) 
every three years. 

(f) Make necessary reinspections at appropriate intervals to 
assure compliance with correction orders issued in response to 
noted deficiencies in the applicant’s service area; and 

(g) Make necessary special inspections as warranted for 
unusual conditions, including but not limited to, response to com-
plaints of special hazards and special events requiring supervision 
in the applicant’s service area. 

(h) Provide consultation upon request of the licensing agency 
for Adult Foster Care Homes, pursuant to ORS 476.030(6) in the 
applicant’s service area. 

(4) Fire code administration personnel must meet the compe-
tency requirements for their elected scope of practice as outlined in 
section 837-039-0120. 

(5) Applicants must provide evidence that they assure coordi-
nation among all authorities responsible for structural fire safety 
and fire protection within the applicant’s service area. 

(6) Applicants must: 
(a) Provide the services specified in this rule to all service 

areas. 
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(b) Have the ability to provide an administrative appeals 
process upon the request of any party who may receive a fire code 
compliance order issued by the applicant. Such delegated appeal 
process must generally conform to a contested case proceedings 
described under ORS Chapter 183 unless otherwise provided for 
by state law; or 

(c) Establish or maintain a fire code appeals board generally 
performing the functions outlined in ORS 476.115. If such Appeals 
Board meets the criteria established in subsection (6)(c) of this 
rule, the Board may hear local and delegated appeals and rule on 
fire code or other issues such as alleged unnecessary hardship, 
inconsistent regulations, requests for alternate materials or methods, 
etc. 

(7) When a fire code delegated appeals process or board has 
been established under section (6) of this rule, applicants must: 

(a) Coordinate the interpretation of state fire laws with the 
State Fire Marshal to assure uniformity; 

(b) Submit a list of hearing officers or board members, includ-
ing their term of appointment, to the State Fire Marshal. An 
updated list must be submitted annually or upon any change; and 

(c) Submit a written summary of the results of any fire code 
appeal to the State Fire Marshal within 30 days of issuance of a 
final order. 

(8) To the extent of the proposed exemption, applicants must 
employ an adequate number of fire investigation personnel to 
investigate the origin, cause, and circumstances of those fires, 
where the investigation is not completed at the company level, 
within the applicant’s jurisdiction. Applicants must substantiate 
that their investigators are reasonably qualified through: 

(a) Being DPSST certified as a NFPA Fire Investigator; or 
(b) Possess the nationally recognized certification of Certified 

Fire Investigator (CFI) issued by the International Association of 
Arson Investigators (IAAI) or Certified Fire and Explosion Investi-
gator (CFEI) issued by the National Association of Fire Investigators 
(NAFI); or 

(c) Possess a state or federal certification that fully meets the 
requirements set forth in the National Fire Protection Association 
1033 Professional Qualifications for Fire Investigator. 

(9) To the extent of the proposed exemption, applicants must 
employ an adequate number of trained personnel, as determined by 
the applicant to provide effective fire prevention education for all 
schools, institutions, and similar occupancies in the applicant’s ser-
vice area. 

(10) To the extent of the proposed exemption, applicants must 
maintain records of their fire code administration and delegated 
appeal activities or other related functions as follows: 

(a) Fire prevention inspection records must be maintained in 
accordance with the requirements of the Records Retention 
Schedule of the Secretary of State Archives Division. 

(b) Records of fire code appeals must be maintained in accor-
dance with the requirements of the Records Retention Schedule of 
the Secretary of State Archives Division. 

(c) Fire investigation records which document a loss of life 
must be maintained for a period of 75 years. Other investigation 
records must be maintained in accordance with the requirements of 
the Records Retention Schedule of the Secretary of State Archives 
Division. 

(d) Records of public fire education efforts must be maintained 
in accordance with the requirements of the Records Retention 
Schedule of the Secretary of State Archives Division. 

(e) Records not otherwise described in this section must be 
maintained in accordance with the requirements of the Records 
Retention Schedule of the Secretary of State Archives Division. 

(11) In the event an exempt jurisdiction ceases for any reason 
to be exempt, all records described in this section must be 
maintained by the jurisdiction as per the Records Retention 
Schedule of the Secretary of State Archives Division. 

(12) Applicants must forward to the State Fire Marshal a 
written annual report which: 

(a) Clearly describes the fire prevention and investigation 
activities of the applicant; 

(b) Is on a calendar year basis; and 
(c) Is forwarded to the State Fire Marshal no later than July 

1st of the following year. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3) 
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-
22-00; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08; OSFM 8-2012, f, & cert. ef. 6-27-12 

837-039-0050 
Programs Eligible for Delegation 

(1) As indicated by statutory reference and title, the adminis-
tration of the following functional areas must be retained in all 
cases by the State Fire Marshal: 

(a) ORS 453.307 through 453.414, Community Information 
on Hazardous Substances; 

(b) ORS 476.055, State Fire Marshal Fund; 
(c) ORS 476.060, Local officers and Constables as Assistants 

to the State Fire Marshal; 
(d) ORS 476.090, Record of Fires; 
(e) ORS 476.420, Standardization of Existing Fire Protection 

Equipment; Exemption; 
(f) ORS 476.440, Sale of Nonstandard Equipment Prohibited; 
(g) ORS 476.510 through 476.610, Protection of Life and 

Property from Fire in Case of Emergency (Emergency Conflagration 
Act); 

(h) ORS 476.855, Discretionary Powers of the State Fire Mar-
shal; 

(i) ORS 476.900 through 476.925, Forest Fire Protection 
Equipment Acquisition; 

(j) Except as otherwise provided in OAR 837, division 40, 
ORS 480.010 through 480.095, Explosives Generally; 

(k) Except as otherwise provided in OAR chapter 837, 
division 40, ORS 480.200 through 480.280, Manufacture, Sale, 
Possession and Transfer of Explosives; 

(l) Except as otherwise provided in OAR 837, division 12, 
ORS 480.130, Permits Required for Sale or Public Display of Fire-
works; fee. 

(m) Except as otherwise provided in OAR 837, division 12, 
ORS 480.150, Permits for Fireworks Sales or Displays; Rules; 
Security. 

(n) Except as otherwise provided in OAR 837, division 12, 
ORS 480.156, Sales of Fireworks to Out-of-State Residents; 

(o) ORS 480.350, Nonretail Facility License; 
(p) ORS 480.355, Conditional Nonretail Facility License; 
(q) ORS 480.375(2), Audits of Nonretail Facilities; 
(r) ORS 480.432 through 480.440 LPG Licensing Program; 

and 
(s) Those other statutory functions reserved exclusively to the 

State Fire Marshal. 
(2) Although the administration of the functional areas listed 

in section (1) of this rule are reserved to the State Fire Marshal, 
nothing in this division prevents an authority having jurisdiction 
from enforcement of state statutes or the State Fire Code if such 
provisions are not covered in the Local Fire Code or are more strin-
gent than the Local Fire Code. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3) 
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-
22-00; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

837-039-0055 
Review and Appeals 

(1) The State Fire Marshal may review all approvals issued 
under this division every two years and may terminate any 
approval for cause. 

(2) When a termination is proposed under section (1) of this 
rule, the State Fire Marshal must give the affected jurisdiction 
written notice at least 30 days before a proposed termination 
becomes effective. 

(3) An affected jurisdiction may appeal in writing any refusal 
of the State Fire Marshal to grant an approval or a proposed termi-
nation. 
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(4) Upon receipt of an appeal under section (3) of this rule, the 
State Fire Marshal must initiate an administrative appeals process. 
The process must conform to the contested case provisions of ORS 
Chapter 183. 

(5) The results of the appeals process conducted under section 
(4) of this rule must be final and thereafter not appealable. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3) 
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-
22-00, Renumbered from 837-039-0100; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

837-039-0060 
Nonexempt Jurisdictions 

(1) Local government subdivisions who have not applied for 
and been granted exempt status by the State Fire Marshal operate 
fire code administration programs in conformance with this divi-
sion. 

(2) Under ORS 476.060, public fire marshals and fire chiefs 
are designated as Assistants to the State Fire Marshal and enforce 
the fire code in conformance with this division. 

(3) There are two areas of nonexempt enforcement activities: 
(a) Responses to imminent life or property threats; and 
(b) Inspection and enforcement of the state fire code. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.060 & 476.070 
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-
22-00; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

837-039-0070 
Nonexempt Response to Imminent Life or Property Threats 

(1) When an Assistant to the State Fire Marshal in a 
nonexempt jurisdiction encounters a situation which presents an 
imminent threat to life or property, the Assistant to the State Fire 
Marshal must: 

(a) Take such measures as are reasonably necessary to 
stabilize the situation including, but not limited to closing the 
building or premises for use or occupancy under ORS 479.170 
until such dangerous conditions are remedied; and 

(b) Notify the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
(2) Any enforcement action taken under this section by an 

Assistant to the State Fire Marshal must be considered an act of the 
State Fire Marshal. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.060 & 476.070 
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-
08 

837-039-0080 
Inspections or Other Activities by Nonexempt Jurisdictions 

(1) When an Assistant to the State Fire Marshal in a 
nonexempt jurisdiction administers a fire prevention program, the 
Assistant must do so in conformance with this section. 

(2) The Assistant to the State Fire Marshal must have a 
written plan of their fire prevention program which includes and 
describes the following: 

(a) Types of inspection activities; 
(b) Frequency of inspections; 
(c) Type of enforcement actions that may be taken; and 
(d) Record keeping system. 
(3) The Assistant to the State Fire Marshal must ensure per-

sonnel that are responsible for fire code administration meet the 
competency recognition requirements for their scope of practice as 
outlined in section 837-039-0120. 

(4) Records must be maintained of all fire code inspections 
and reinspections, investigations, appeal activities and any other 
related functions. 

(5) When any lawful order of the Assistant to the State Fire 
Marshal is appealed, the State Fire Marshal must provide a 
contested case appeals process under OAR 837-039-0055, unless 
otherwise provided by law, as follows: 

(a) The Assistant to the State Fire Marshal who took the 
enforcement action which was appealed must be available and pre-
pared to participate in the appeals process; 

(b) The State Fire Marshal must pursue and present the state 
through the appeals process; and 

(c) The State Fire Marshal must determine what, if any, orders 
are to be issued and/or penalties are to be assessed. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.070 
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-
22-00; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

837-039-0110 
Certification and Training Requirements for Plan Review 

(1) These rules establish standards for certification of fire offi-
cials who review plans for input to a building official for new con-
struction, alterations, and specifications from a Fire Code approved 
by the State Fire Marshal.  

(2) All fire officials who review plans for new construction, 
alterations, and specifications must obtain an ICC Fire Inspector II 
and ICC Fire Plans Examiner certification or equivalent certification 
approved by the State Fire Marshal.  

(3) Fire Officials who review plans only for fire department 
access and fire protection water supplies must successfully complete 
the State Fire Marshal’s Fire and Life Safety Awareness courses on 
fire department access, water supply, and fire flow.  

(4) All fire chiefs and every assistant to the state fire marshal 
meeting the definition under ORS 476.060 must complete the state 
fire marshal’s Fire and Life Safety Awareness course module 1, 
Scope of Authority and Assembly Group A Occupancies.  

(5) The State Fire Marshal must maintain a roster of ICC Fire 
Inspector II and ICC Fire Plans Examiner certified fire officials. A 
current list of ICC Fire Inspector II and ICC Fire Plans Examiners 
certified fire officials are provided to each building jurisdiction 
annually. Certifications must be maintained to continue participation 
in the plan review process.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.165 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-1-94; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-00; 
OSFM 8-2006 f. & cert. ef. 5-22-06; OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

837-039-0120 
Certification and Training Requirements for Conducting Fire 
Code Enforcement 

(1) These rules establish statewide standards for certification 
and training requirements of fire officials responsible for adminis-
tration of a Fire Code approved by the State Fire Marshal. 

(a) Every person who performs fire code enforcement must 
possess an Oregon Fire and Life Safety Competency Recognition 
certificate for the scope of work being performed.  

(A) Company Inspector certificate for fire officials performing 
fire code enforcement at this scope of practice. Fire officials have 
until January 1, 2009 to comply with the Oregon Fire and Life 
Safety Competency certificate provisions; 

(B) Fire and Life Safety Specialist I certificate for fire 
officials whose scope of practice is equivalent to DPSST’s NFPA 
Fire Inspector I. Fire officials have until July 1, 2010 to comply 
with the Oregon Fire and Life Safety Competency certificate provi-
sions; 

(C) Fire and Life Safety Specialist II certificate for fire 
officials whose scope of practice is equivalent to DPSST’s NFPA 
Fire Inspector II. Fire officials have until January 1, 2011 to 
comply with the Oregon Fire and Life Safety Competency 
certificate provisions; 

(D) Fire Marshal certificate for fire officials whose scope of 
practice is equivalent to DPSST’s, NFPA Fire Inspector III. Fire 
officials have until July 1, 2011 to comply with the Oregon Fire 
and Life Safety Competency certificate provisions. 

(b) Every person who is transitioning between recognition 
levels or newly hired must receive the necessary on-the-job 
training experience and related technical instruction under the 
direct supervision of an appropriately recognized fire official.  

(A) When the fire code official determines that a newly pro-
moted or hired fire official responsible for fire code enforcement 
are fully qualified to perform the duties of a Fire and Life Safety 

Chapter 837     Department of State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2016 Edition                                                                                      23 - 365                                                                                         (11-15-15)



Specialist I, Fire and Life Safety Specialist II, or Fire Marshal, the 
newly hired fire official may work independently without direct 
supervision. 

(B) The newly promoted or hired fire official responsible for 
fire code enforcement must meet the requirements of OAR 837-
039-0120 (1)(a) within 12 months from date of hire.  

(2) All persons who seek to perform the scope of practice of a 
Company Inspector must successfully complete the State Fire Mar-
shal’s course Company Inspection. 

(3) All persons who seek to perform the scope of practice of a 
Fire and Life Safety Specialist I, Fire and Life Safety Specialist II, 
or Fire Marshal must apply for the Oregon Fire and Life Safety 
Competency Recognition certificate as follows: Submit a Fire and 
Life Safety Competency Recognition application to the Office of 
State Fire Marshal. Include proof of certifications held and training 
completed. 

(4)(a) Fire and Life Safety Specialist I, Fire and Life Safety 
Specialist II, and Fire Marshal certificates expire three years from 
the issue date, unless renewed. 

(b) The issue date is printed on all certificates. 
(5)(a) Fire officials who fail to renew their Fire and Life 

Safety Specialist I, Fire and Life Safety Specialist II, or Fire 
M a r s h a l  
certificates must not perform work within the respective scope of 
practice. 

(b) A fire official who fails to renew a competency recognition 
certificate may reapply for certification. Include with application 
proof of certifications held and trainings completed.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 (1) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030 
Hist.: OSFM 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-08 

DIVISION 40 

FIRE AND LIFE SAFETY REGULATIONS 

837-040-0001 
Scope 

(1) The International Fire Code and the Oregon amendments 
represent a total scope of regulation.  

(2) None of the individual chapters in the International Fire 
Code and Oregon amendments are stand alone requirements. (Ref-
erenced publications are available for review at the agency. See 
agency web site for information on where to purchase publica-
tions.) 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030 
Hist.: FM 6-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 4-2004, f. 3-26-04, cert. 
ef. 10-1-04; OSFM 1-2006(Temp), f. 1-9-06 cert. ef. 2-1-06 thru 7-28-06; 
OSFM 9-2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-12-06; OSFM 13-2006, f. 12-1-06, cert. ef. 4-1-
07; OSFM 10-2008, f. 12-18-09, cert. ef. 12-31-09 

837-040-0010 
Adoption of the International Fire Code 

(1) The Oregon Fire Code is generally adopted every three 
years coinciding with the publication of a nationally recognized 
fire code.  

(2) Effective July 1, 2014 the 2014 Oregon Fire Code is the 
2012 edition of the International Fire Code, as published by the 
International Code Council, and as amended by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. (Referenced publications are available for review at 
the agency. See agency web site for information on where to pur-
chase publications.)  

(3)(a) For the purposes of new construction plan review only a 
phase-in period is being implemented for the 2010 Oregon Fire 
Code, the 2010 Oregon Fire Code is adopted for a period of 90-
days beginning July 1, 2014 and ending September 30, 2014.  

(b) During the 90-day phase-in period established in subsection 
(3)(a), new construction plan review will be done to either the 2014 
Oregon Fire Code or the 2010 Oregon Fire Code as directed by the 
local building official. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030 

Hist.: FM 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-11-86; FM 5-1986 (corrects FM 3-1986), f. & ef. 4-
30-86 & Renumbered from 837-040-0005, Sec. (3) Uniform Fire Code; FM 3-
1989, f. 6-30-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; FM 6-1990, f. & cert. ef. 9-13-90; F)M 6-
1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 2-1996, f. 1-22-96, cert. ef. 4-1-96; 
OSFM 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-30-98; OSFM 3-1998, f. & cert. ef. 9-30-98; 
OSFM 4-1999, f. 12-29-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OSFM 3-2000, f. 4-1-00, cert. ef. 5-
1-00; OSFM 13-2000, f. 10-3-00, cert. ef. 11-1-00; OSFM 9-2001, f. 10-3-01, 
cert. ef. 2-1-02; OSFM 4-2004, f. 3-26-04, cert. ef. 10-1-04; OSFM 8-
2004(Temp), f. 12-29-04, cert. ef. 1-3-05 thru 6-30-05; OSFM 11-2005, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-27-05; OSFM 1-2006(Temp), f. 1-9-06 cert. ef. 2-1-06 thru 7-28-06; 
OSFM 9-2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-12-06; OSFM 13-2006, f. 12-1-06, cert. ef. 4-1-
07; OSFM 4-2009, f. 11-19-09, cert. ef. 4-1-10; OSFM 2-2010(Temp), f. 2-3-
10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 9-30-10; Administrative correction 10-26-10; OSFM 4-
2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10; OSFM 2-2014, f. 5-7-14, cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-040-0015 
Proposed Code Amendment Criteria 

(1) All proposed code amendments are submitted to the Office 
of State Fire Marshal in writing or on an agency approved form. 

(2) All proposed code amendments must provide justification 
and the particular circumstances requiring the amendment. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal screens proposed code 
amendments to determine whether they substantially meet the 
requirements of OAR 837-040-0015(5). Proposed code amendments 
not substantially meeting the requirements of 837-040-0015(5) 
may be returned to the applicant with specific reasons included in 
the returned application. 

(4) Proposed Code amendments that substantially meet the 
requirements of OAR 837-040-0015(5) will be reviewed by a fire 
code advisory committee. Final approval or denial of the proposed 
code amendment will be at the discretion of the State Fire Marshal. 

(5) As required by OAR 837-040-0015(2), a proposed code 
amendment must address, where applicable, whether or not the 
proposed code amendment: 

(a) Is necessary to correct any unforeseen or probable 
outcomes resulting from the application of a code section, and if 
so, why; 

(b) Is needed to protect the health, safety, welfare, comfort 
and security of occupants, emergency responders, and the public, 
and if so, why; 

(c) Corrects inadequate application by a code section to a 
method, material or design, and if so, how; 

(d) Is necessary to address unique geographic or climatic con-
ditions within Oregon, and if so, why; 

(e) Is needed to eliminate conflicting, obsolete, or duplicative 
code provisions or standards between Oregon adopted codes, 
statutes or regulations, and if so, why; 

(f) Provides for the use of unique or emerging technologies, or 
promote advances in construction methods, devices, materials and 
techniques, and if so, how; 

(g) Any adverse fiscal impact or cost savings passed on to the 
general public, the construction industry, local and state govern-
ments, and small businesses. If applicable, an interested person 
must describe the added or reduced cost of a proposed code amend-
ment, describe the adverse fiscal impact or cost savings in relation 
to the current Oregon Fire Code and include any standards of mea-
sure used to arrive at the result given. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2008, f. 12-18-09, cert. ef. 12-31-09 

837-040-0020 
Amendments to the Oregon Fire Code 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may amend the Oregon 
Fire Code approximately midway between publications of the 
International Fire Code based on proposed code amendments sub-
mitted for consideration by interested persons. 

(2) Any time between publications of the international Fire 
Code, the Office of State Fire Marshal may initiate and adopt code 
amendments to the Oregon Fire Code, as circumstances merit (Ref-
erenced publications are available for review at the agency. See 
agency web site for information on where to purchase publications). 
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the 
agency.]  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
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Stat. Auth: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030 
Hist.: OSFM 1-2006(Temp), f. 1-9-06 cert. ef. 2-1-06 thru 7-28-06; OSFM 9-
2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-12-06; OSFM 13-2006, f. 12-1-06, cert. ef. 4-1-07; OSFM 
6-2008, f. 9-2-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; OSFM 10-2008, f. 12-18-09, cert. ef. 12-31-
09; OSFM 4-2009, f. 11-19-09, cert. ef. 4-1-10; OSFM 2-2010(Temp), f. 2-3-
10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 9-30-10; Administrative correction 10-26-10; OSFM 4-
2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10; OSFM 2-2011, f. 3-15-11, cert. ef. 4-1-11; OSFM 
4-2011, f. 11-10-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; OSFM 2-2012, f. 1-24-12, cert. ef. 3-1-12; 
OSFM 5-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 thru 8-3-12; OSFM 7-2012, f. 5-16-
12, cert. ef. 8-2-12; OSFM 2-2014, f. 5-7-14, cert. ef. 7-1-14 

837-040-0140 
Adoption of the Oregon Structural Specialty Code and Oregon 
Mechanical Specialty Code 

The fire and life safety provisions of the 2014 edition of the 
Oregon Structural Specialty Code and the 2014 edition of the 
Oregon Mechanical Specialty Code is hereby adopted as a standard 
for the purpose of evaluation of existing buildings. (Referenced 
publications are available for review at the agency. See Building 
Codes Division web site for information on where to purchase pub-
lications.)  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030 
Hist.: OSFM 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-30-98; OSFM 9-2001, f. 10-3-01, cert. ef. 
2-1-02; OSFM 4-2004, f. 3-26-04, cert. ef. 10-1-04; OSFM 1-2006(Temp), f. 1-
9-06 cert. ef. 2-1-06 thru 7-28-06; OSFM 9-2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-12-06; OSFM 
13-2006, f. 12-1-06, cert. ef. 4-1-07; OSFM 4-2009, f. 11-19-09, cert. ef. 4-1-
10; OSFM 2-2010(Temp), f. 2-3-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 9-30-10; Administrative 
correction 10-26-10; OSFM 4-2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-10; OSFM 2-2014, f. 5-
7-14, cert. ef. 7-1-14 

DIVISION 41 

FIRE PROTECTION REGULATIONS RELATING 
TO EXISTING NON-CONFORMING, HIGH 

LIFE HAZARD FACILITIES 

Exitway Protection 

837-041-0050 
Protection of the Means of Egress — General Provisions 

(1) “High Life Hazard” definition: For the purpose of this 
rule, a “high life hazard” is any condition, or combination of condi-
tions, where a reasonable adequate level of exiting safety has not 
been provided for the building occupants in the event of a fire or 
fire-related emergency.  

(2) All existing buildings and structures, that constitute a high 
hazard to the occupants in the event of a fire or fire-related emer-
gency, other than institutional, group care and single family 
dwelling occupancies, must provide a reasonable adequate level of 
exiting safety through substantial compliance with the requirements 
for new construction under the 2010 Edition of Oregon Structural 
Specialty Code, or any of the following methods or combinations 
thereof which the State Fire Marshal or deputy approved for the 
building or structure:  

(a) A partial automatic sprinkler system as specified in 
N.F.P.A. Standard No. 13, 2007, installed throughout the complete 
exit system and inside every unprotected opening into the exit sys-
tem. The sprinkler system must be fitted with a swing check valve 
on the supply side and a fire department connection, except that the 
fire department connection may be omitted when waived by the 
authority having jurisdiction. A water flow detection device must 
be installed that sounds an alarm on the premises or when a 
building has a fire alarm system, the device is connected into the 
building fire alarm system.  

(b) An automatic smoke detection system engineered specifi-
cally for life safety and early warning, installed throughout the 
premises as specified in N.F.P.A. Standard No. 72 2007 Edition. 
Heat detectors may be installed in place of smoke detectors in 
mechanical service rooms, storage rooms, kitchens, custodial 
closets, and areas not normally occupied or traversed by people. 
Fire detection system(s) must be interconnected with the building 
evacuation fire alarm system.  

EXCEPTION: In Group E Occupancies, detectors shall not be required 

in classrooms normally under the direct supervision of a staff member 
unless required by other Oregon Revised Statutes or Oregon Administrative 
Rules.  
(c) An approved direct means of egress from each room open-

ing to the outside at ground level. Direct exterior exits must consist 
of doors, landings, and necessary stairs or ramps complying with 
the 2010 Edition of the Oregon Structural Specialty Code.  

(d) Any other plan submitted by the owner, lessee, agent, or 
occupant and certified by a registered architect or engineer of the 
State of Oregon of reasonably adequate expertise in fire and life 
safety, which will provide a reasonable adequate level of exiting 
safety from the building or structure in the event of a fire or fire-
related emergency.  

(3) In determining whether a building or structure constitutes 
a high life hazard and in determining whether to approve a method 
of improvement, the State Fire Marshal or deputy shall determine 
whether the level of hazard is unreasonable by considering among 
other factors the following:  

(a) Type of construction;  
(b) Type of use;  
(c) Type and density of occupancy;  
(d) Type of contents and equipment;  
(e) Fire division walls creating horizontal exits;  
(f) Compartmentation;  
(g) Areas of refuge;  
(h) Ceiling height;  
(i) Corridor and stair construction;  
(j) Alarm, communication and detection systems;  
(k) Fire suppression systems;  
(l) Exit design and fire escapes;  
(m) Automatic smoke control; and  
(n) Fuel loading.  
(4) The State Fire Marshal or deputy shall submit to the 

owner, lessee, agent or occupant written findings setting forth the 
facts supporting the determination that a high life hazard exists. 
Except as provided in ORS 479.170, the owner, lessee, agent or 
occupant must have sixty (60) days after receipt of such findings to 
propose the method of improvement to the State Fire Marshal or 
deputy, who shall have sixty (60) days thereafter to approve or dis-
approve of the proposed method of improvement. If the proposed 
method of improvement is disapproved by the State Fire Marshal 
or deputy, a written statement of the reasons for disapproval shall 
be provided to the owner, lessee, agent or occupant within such 
sixty (60) day 
period.  

(5) Except for governmental subdivisions exempt under ORS 
476.030(3), the owner, lessee, agent or occupant aggrieved by the 
determination that the building or structure constitutes a high life 
hazard or by the disapproval of the proposed method of improvement 
(hereafter the order) and desires a hearing, the owner, lessee, agent 
or occupant may appeal in writing to the State Fire Marshal within 
(10) days from the service of the written findings of a high life 
hazard or the statement of reasons for disapproval of the proposed 
method of improvement. The appeal must set forth the specific 
grounds of the appeal and no other grounds shall be considered 
thereafter. The appeal must be accompanied by a fee of $40 
payable to the State Fire Marshal, and the State Fire Marshal may 
refer the appeal to the Regional Appeal Advisory Board established 
for that region by notifying the chairman of that board and sending 
a copy of the notice to the appellant. The Board shall fix a time for 
a hearing and notify the appellant of the time and place thereof 
which shall be within ten (10) days after such referral by the State 
Fire Marshal. If the State Fire Marshal does not refer the matter to 
a Regional Appeal Advisory Board, the State Fire Marshal shall fix 
a time and place, not less than five (5) and not more than ten (10) 
days thereafter, when and where the appeal will be heard by the 
State Fire Marshal. Within ten (10) days after receiving a recom-
mendation from the Regional Appeal Advisory Board, or if no 
referral was made to such Board, within ten (10) days after the 
hearing before the State Fire Marshal, the State Fire Marshal may 
affirm, modify, revoke or vacate the order. If the State Fire Marshal 
affirms the order, the State Fire Marshal shall fix the time within 
which the owner, lessee, agent or occupant must comply with the 
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requirements of this rule. If the State Fire Marshal vacates or 
revokes the order, or modifies it in any particular manner other 
than extending time for compliance, the fee paid with the appeal 
shall be refunded. Otherwise, it shall be credited to appropriate 
state funds, and the State Fire Marshal shall so notify the State 
Treasurer.  

(6) If the appellant under section (5) of this rule is aggrieved 
by the final order of the State Fire Marshal, the appellant may, 
within ten (10) days thereafter, appeal to the circuit court of the 
county in which the building or structures is situated, in the manner 
provided in ORS 479.180(2).  

(7) In governmental subdivisions exempt under ORS 
476.030(3), the owner, lessee, agent or occupant, aggrieved by the 
determination that the building or structure constitutes a high life 
hazard or by the disapproval of the proposed method of improve-
ment, and desires a hearing, the owner, lessee, agent or occupant 
may appeal in writing to the Board of Appeals as provided by the 
ordinance and rules of the governmental subdivision.  

(8) Commentary:  
(a) Upgrading deficient exit facilities should always be of pri-

mary concern in any occupancy, but it must be recognized that 
there are degrees of deficiency from a very slight or negligible 
hazard to what is defined as a high life hazard under this rule. Fire 
officials should not equate the level of exiting safety required for 
new construction under the current building code with the 
reasonably adequate level of exiting safety required by this rule. 
The intent of this rule is to allow the continued use of existing 
buildings which provide a level of exit safety that substantially 
comply with the requirements for new construction under the 
current building code or use one of the alternatives to come within 
the range of reasonable safety that the public should be provided. 
Structural Changes shall not be required in buildings built, occupied 
and maintained in conformity with state building code regulations 
applicable at the time of construction, ORS 476.030(c).  

NOTE: The state building code was first adopted in 1974.  
(b) Rather than looking strictly to the current standard for new 

construction under the building code, fire officials must use their 
own judgment on a case-by-case basis as to reasonableness of the 
degree of hazard and adequacy of exit safety after evaluating all of 
the relevant factors stated in the rule and any other factors unique 
to the building or structure (historical structures ORS 476.035). 
The written findings required by this rule shall list and analyze the 
relevant factors so that if the determination of the fire official is 
appealed, a written record of the reasons for the determination will 
be available for review.  

(c) While fire and life safety must be given primary consider-
ation, the determination of whether the existing level of hazard is 
unreasonable requires the fire official to consider the cost of the 
possible improvements in relation to the benefits provided by 
increased exiting safety from such improvements. The cost benefit 
analysis shall be considered in deciding which method of improve-
ment to approve once the determination of high life hazard has 
been made.  

(d) The rule has been amended to provide greater flexibility in 
the method of improvement of deficient buildings. The fire official 
must not approve any proposed plan of improvement unless it will 
provide the reasonably adequate level of exiting safety required. 
While the fire official is not expected to plan the method of 
improvement for the building owner, much time will be saved if 
the fire official will actively assist the building owner or the 
owner’s engineer in finding the least expensive method of improve-
ment providing the reasonably adequate level of exiting safety.  

(e) Substantial compliance with the requirements for new 
construction under the current building code will often be impossible 
or so expensive as to be impractical in existing buildings. The 
approval for one or more of the remaining three alternatives shall 
always be given on a case-by-case basis after a consideration of all 
of the same factors considered in determining that the building 
constitutes a high life hazard and after balancing the costs against 
the benefits provided by the different methods. For example, in a 
hotel or apartment building the existence of a passive occupancy 
where cooking, portable space heaters, smoking in bed and other 
such activities create a significantly higher risk of undetected 

and/or uncontrolled fire incidents, the fire official might justifiably 
refuse to approve any plan that does not include significant use of 
automatic sprinklers. In contrast, where an active occupancy is 
involved such as in an office building, approval may be given for a 
plan of improvement consisting of horizontal exits and areas of 
refuge.  

(f) In approving a plan of improvement, the fire official shall 
require a commitment to a date of completion for the improvements, 
but shall allow a sufficient period for completion.  

(g) Once the improvement is completed, unless there is a sig-
nificant change in one or more of the factors considered in the 
determination of a high life hazard, no further improvements shall 
be required under this rule.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(C) 
Hist.: FM 68, f. 5-2-75, ef. 5-25-75; FM 7-1981, f. & ef. 11-5-81; OSFM 7-
2001, f. 6-27-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01; OSFM 5-2008, f. 8-29-08, cert. ef. 9-1-08; 
OSFM 6-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-10 

DIVISION 45 

SMOKE ALARMS AND SMOKE DETECTORS 

837-045-0040 
Purpose and Scope 

The purpose of these rules is to establish safety requirements 
for the installation and maintenance of smoke alarms and smoke 
detectors in existing buildings, and to establish standards and pro-
cedures for the enforcement of those requirements, for the protection 
o f  
Oregon residents from fire. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.255 & 479.295 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0045 
Definitions 

(1) “Approved Sprinkler Fire Suppression System” means a 
fire suppression system: 

(a) Constructed in accordance with the National Fire Protection 
Association (NFPA) Standard 13 or 13R as referenced in the State 
Building Code under OAR 918-460-0010 in effect on October 1, 
2000; and 

(b) Inspected and approved by the building official; and 
(c) Inspected and certified annually by the Authority Having 

Jurisdiction as being in compliance with NFPA Standard 25 (1998 
ed.). 

(2) “Efficiency Dwelling Unit” means a dwelling unit con-
taining only one habitable room. 

(3) “Formal Hearing” means a proceeding before a hearings 
officer conducted pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act 
(APA), ORS 183.413 to 183.470. 

(4) “Hotel” as defined in ORS 479.250 includes, but is not 
limited to: Hotels, Motels, Auto Courts, Motor Inns and all similar 
occupancies by any other name (i.e., School Dormitories, Fraterni-
ties, Sororities, and any other similar buildings) with six or more 
sleeping/guestrooms for non-family members that are rented, hired 
out or made available on a regular basis for sleeping purposes but 
are not used as a primary residence. 

(5) “Informal Conference” means a meeting between the 
party(ies) and the Office of State Fire Marshal, prior to a formal 
hearing, that may include a discussion about whether a basis exists 
for informal disposition of a contested case by stipulation, agreed 
settlement, consent order or other means. 

(6) “Ionization Smoke Detection” means the principle of 
using a small amount of radioactive material to ionize the air 
between two differentially charged electrodes to sense the presence 
of smoke particles. 

(7) “Local Fire Authority” means persons described in ORS 
476.060(1). 

(8) “Lodging House” as defined in ORS 479.250 includes, but 
is not limited to: School Dormitories, Fraternities, Sororities, 
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Youth Camps and Private Dwellings that have five or less 
sleeping/guestrooms that are made available for sleeping purposes 
in exchange for compensation in money, goods, labor, or other ten-
der, but that are not used as a primary residence. 

(9) “Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory” means an 
accredited laboratory listed by the International Conference of 
Building Officials Evaluation Services or an equivalent laboratory 
approved by the Authority Having Jurisdiction. 

(10) “Owner” includes a duly authorized agent or attorney, a 
purchaser, devisee, fiduciary, lessor or sublessor and/or a person 
having a vested or contingent interest in the property in question. 

(11) “Person” means one or more individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations 
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts, and other public cor-
porations or subdivisions. 

(12) “Photoelectric Smoke Detection” means the principle of 
utilizing a light source and a photosensitive sensor to detect 
particles of combustion. Photoelectric smoke detection incorporates 
either a “light obscuration” or a “light scattering” method of opera-
tion. 

(13) “Request for Hearing” means a written request for a 
formal hearing to contest the assessment of a civil penalty. 

(14) “Smoke Alarm for Hearing Impaired Persons” means a 
device that: 

(a) Meets the definition in ORS 479.250(1); 
(b) Causes a strobe to emit a white light when activated; and 
(c) Is listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory for 

the purpose of alerting hearing impaired persons in the event of a 
fire. 

(15) “Smoke Detector for Hearing Impaired Persons” means a 
device that: 

(a) Meets the definition in ORS 479.250(2); 
(b) Causes a strobe to emit a white light when activated; and 
(c) Is listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory for 

the purpose of alerting hearing impaired persons in the event of a 
fire. 

(16) “State Fire Marshal” means the State Fire Marshal 
appointed under ORS 476.020 and the Chief Deputy State Fire 
Marshal and Deputy State Fire Marshals appointed by the State 
Fire Marshal under ORS 476.040. 

(17) “Ten-Year Smoke Alarm Battery” means a battery power 
source that is warranted by the battery manufacturer to be free from 
defects in materials and workmanship for a period of at least ten 
(10) years when used in an ionization smoke alarm that: 

(a) Is listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory; and 
(b) Has been approved by the nationally recognized testing 

laboratory for use with a ten-year battery. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.040, 476.060, 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0050 
Installation and Location of Smoke Alarms and Smoke Detectors 

(1) All smoke alarms or smoke detectors shall be installed and 
located in accordance with the listing and manufacturer’s instructions 
and OAR 837-045-0045 through 837-045-0060. 

(2) Dwelling Units: 
(a) Smoke alarms and smoke detectors in dwelling units shall 

be installed in each sleeping room as per the applicable requirements 
of the State Building Code at the time of construction and in the 
corridor or area giving access to sleeping areas according to the 
manufacturer’s instructions. Where sleeping areas are located on 
an upper level, the smoke alarm or smoke detector shall be 
installed in an accessible location as close as practical to the center 
of the ceiling directly over the stairway. Where sleeping areas are 
widely separated (i.e., on different levels or opposite ends of the 
dwelling unit) and/or where a single smoke alarm or smoke 
detector will not adequately service all sleeping areas, a smoke 
alarm or smoke detector shall be installed adjacent to each sleeping 
area. 

(b) When activated, the installed smoke alarm(s) or smoke 
detector(s) shall produce an alarm sound audible in the dwelling 
unit, guestroom(s) and sleeping area(s). 

(3) Efficiency Dwelling Units, Lodging Houses and Hotels: 
(a) In an efficiency dwelling unit, lodging house guestroom or 

hotel room or suite, the smoke alarm or smoke detector shall be 
installed on the ceiling or a wall of the main room or sleeping area. 

(b) When activated, the smoke alarm(s) or smoke detector(s) 
shall produce an alarm sound audible in the main room and 
sleeping area(s). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.255 & 479.295 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00; OSFM 5-2002, f. 3-26-02, 
cert. ef. 4-1-02 

837-045-0055 
Hotels with Approved Sprinkler Fire Suppression Systems 

Hotels that have installed an approved sprinkler fire suppression 
system are exempt from the requirements of ORS 479.257(1). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.257 & 479.295 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0060 
Power Source 

(1) The power supply of a smoke alarm shall be a commercial 
power source, an integral battery or batteries or a combination of 
both. The power supply for a smoke detector shall be a commercial 
power source. 

(2) When a smoke alarm or smoke detector is served from a 
commercial power source, the wiring shall be permanent and shall 
not have a disconnecting switch other than that required for over 
current protection. 

(3) When a line cord and plug is used, it shall be plugged 
directly into a fixed outlet box and the plug shall be secured by a 
device that cannot be removed without the use of a tool. 

(4) The owner of a dwelling unit, lodging house or hotel shall 
obtain a permit from the local building official for the installation 
of a 110-volt smoke alarm or a low-voltage smoke detector con-
nected to a fire alarm control panel. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.255 & 479.295 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0065 
Smoke Alarms for Hearing Impaired Persons or Smoke 
Detectors for Hearing Impaired Persons 

(1) Smoke alarms for hearing impaired persons or smoke 
detectors for hearing impaired persons shall meet: 

(a) The requirements of ORS 479.250 to 479.300, except 
479.297; 

(b) The applicable requirements of the State Building Code 
under OAR 918-460-0010 in effect on October 1, 2000; and 

(c) OAR 837-045-0040 to 837-045-0110. 
(2) If a hotel requires a guest to pay a refundable deposit for 

providing a smoke alarm for hearing impaired persons, the amount 
of the deposit shall not exceed 50 percent of the purchase price of 
the smoke alarm. 

(3) A hotel shall provide a printed notice pursuant to ORS 
479.255(5) and in accordance with the following requirements: 

(a) The notice shall be printed or typed and the printed or 
typed wording shall be a contrasting color to the background color 
of the notice; 

(b) The notice shall be a contrasting color to the surface on 
which the notice is mounted; 

(c) The notice shall state, “Smoke alarms or smoke detectors 
for hearing impaired persons are available upon request” or other 
appropriate wording as may be specifically approved by the State 
Fire Marshal or local fire authority. 

(d) If the notice is posted at the place of registration, the notice 
shall be posted in such a manner that it is readily visible and legible 
from the public side of the registration desk or counter. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.255 & 479.295 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 
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Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0070 
Issuance of Notice of Deficiency Citations 

(1) The State Fire Marshal or local fire authority may issue a 
notice of deficiency citation for a violation under ORS 479.990(6) 
or the rules adopted thereto. 

(2) Each separate instance of non-compliance under ORS 
479.990(6) or the rules adopted thereto shall be considered a 
separate violation. 

(3) A notice of deficiency citation may be issued for each sep-
arate violation under ORS 479.990(6). 

(4) A notice of deficiency citation shall be on a form approved 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(5) For violations of ORS 479.255, 479.260, 479.270 or 
479.280 or the rules adopted thereto, the State Fire Marshal or local 
fire authority shall present a copy of the notice of deficiency 
citation to the owner of the dwelling unit, lodging house or hotel. 

(6) For violations of ORS 479.297, or the rules adopted 
thereto, the State Fire Marshal or local fire authority shall present a 
copy of the notice of deficiency citation to the owner or employee 
selling a smoke alarm in violation of ORS 479.297. 

(7) For violations of ORS 479.300, or the rules adopted 
thereto, the State Fire Marshal or local fire authority shall present a 
copy of the notice of deficiency citation to the person believed to 
have removed or tampered with a properly functioning smoke 
alarm or smoke detector. 

(8) The State Fire Marshal or local fire authority shall present 
a copy of the notice of deficiency citation by: 

(a) Personal service; 
(b) Service by certified mail; or 
(c) Service by regular mail. 
(9) Upon presenting a copy of the notice of deficiency citation 

under OAR 837-045-0070(5) through (8), the State Fire Marshal or 
local fire authority shall retain all remaining copies of the notice of 
deficiency citation until the re-inspection of the premises. 

(10) After 10 days have passed from the date the notice of 
deficiency citation was issued, the State Fire Marshal or local fire 
authority shall: 

(a) Re-inspect the premises; and 
(b) Complete the “Re-Inspection of Premises” section of the 

notice of deficiency citation. 
(11) Issuance of a notice of deficiency citation under this rule 

shall have no effect on the use of a uniform citation under ORS 
Chapter 153 for offenses subject to ORS Chapter 153. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.280, 479.295 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0075 
Forwarding Notice of Deficiency Citation to the Office of State 
Fire Marshal 

(1) Upon re-inspection of the premises and completion of the 
notice of deficiency citation under OAR 837-045-0070(10), the 
State Fire Marshal or local fire authority shall: 

(a) Retain a copy of the notice of deficiency citation for its 
records; and 

(b) Forward the original notice of deficiency citation to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal within ten days of the re-inspection. 

(2) If applicable, each notice of deficiency citation forwarded 
to the Office of State Fire Marshal shall be accompanied by a copy 
of the issuing authority’s written report, inspection sheets, Fire Dis-
trict Property Report, or evidence receipt — Form #920-021-06, or 
any other forms that the issuing authority completes during the pro-
cess of issuing notice of deficiency citations and/or re-inspecting 
the premises. 

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.280, 479.295 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0080 
Assessment of Civil Penalty and Issuance of Notice of Civil 
Penalty 

(1) Upon receipt and review of a notice of deficiency citation 
and, if applicable, any accompanying documentation, the Office of 
State Fire Marshal may assess a civil penalty(ies). 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall assess a penalty 
amount determined by the Office of State Fire Marshal to be appro-
priate for the particular violation(s). In determining an appropriate 
penalty amount, or whether to assess a penalty amount at all, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal may use the schedule set forth in OAR 
837-045-0085 as a guideline and may consider the following crite-
ria: 

(a) The severity of the violation(s) or its impact on public  
safety; 

(b) The number of similar or related violations; 
(c) Whether the violation(s) was willful or intentional; 
(d) The prior history of penalties imposed by the Office of 

State Fire Marshal against the person; 
(e) Other circumstances determined by the office of State Fire 

Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation(s). 
(3) Upon assessment of the civil penalty(ies), the Office of 

State Fire Marshal shall issue a notice of civil penalty pursuant to 
the provisions of ORS 183.090. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall: 
(a) Retain the original notice of civil penalty; 
(b) Serve a copy of the notice of civil penalty pursuant to ORS 

183.090. 
(5) The Office of State Fire Marshal may mail a copy of the 

notice of civil penalty to the authority that issued the notice of defi-
ciency citation. 

(6) If the Office of State Fire Marshal does not assess a civil 
penalty, the Office of State Fire Marshal may: 

(a) Mail a certified letter to the person against whom the 
notice of deficiency citation was issued that notifies the person that 
the Office of State Fire Marshal will not assess a civil penalty for 
the violation(s) described in the notice of deficiency citation; and 

(b) Mail a copy of the letter to the authority that issued the 
notice of deficiency citation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.280, 479.295 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0085 
Schedule of Civil Penalties 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal adopts this civil penalty 
schedule. As used in this rule, a violation will be considered a 
second or subsequent violation if the person against whom the civil 
penalty is assessed was notified verbally or in writing within three 
previous years of the occurrence of the same or a substantially 
similar violation, and was given an opportunity for hearing on the 
previous alleged violation. 

(2) Failure to comply with any provisions of the statutes cited 
in ORS 479.990(6), or the rules adopted thereto, may be punishable 
by a civil penalty as follows: 

(a) For first violation: $50; 
(b) For second violation: $100; 
(c) For third or subsequent violation(s): $250. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0090 
Contested Cases 

(1) A person may request a hearing regarding the assessment 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal of a civil penalty, subject to the 
requirements of ORS 183.090. 

(2) A request for hearing shall be timely filed. 
(3) A request for hearing is timely filed when the request is 

postmarked or received at the Office of State Fire Marshal within 
20 days from the date of service of the notice of civil penalty. 

(4) The 20-day deadline shall be computed by excluding the 
date of the notice of civil penalty and including the 20th day. If the 



20th day falls upon any legal holiday, Saturday or Sunday, the 20th 
day shall be the following work day. 

(5) If a request for hearing is not timely filed under sections 
(3) and (4) of this rule, the person shall have waived the right to a 
contested case under ORS Chapter 183.090. 

(6) A person may write to or call the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal to informally discuss the assessment of a civil penalty; 
however, an informal communication shall not extend the 20-day 
deadline by which a request for hearing must be made. 

(7) A contested case may include: 
(a) An informal conference; and/or 
(b) A formal hearing. 
(8) A contested case shall be conducted pursuant to the provi-

sions of ORS 183.090 and the rules adopted thereto. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0095 
Informal Conference 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may provide an opportu-
nity for an informal conference. 

(2) A request for an informal conference may be made 
verbally or in writing; and shall: 

(a) Be made or addressed to the Office of State Fire Marshal; 
and 

(b) Clearly state the issue(s) to be discussed. 
(3) If the Office of State Fire Marshal and the party(ies) agree, 

an informal conference may be held by telephone. 
(4) After an informal conference, the Office of State Fire Mar-

shal may amend, withdraw, or reduce a civil penalty. Such action 
shall be taken in accordance with the Administrative Procedures 
Act (APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725, and the rules adopted there-
to. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0100 
Formal Hearing 

(1) A person may file a written request for hearing before or 
after an informal conference, at any time before the 20-day 
deadline for filing such a request expires. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall arrange for a 
hearings officer to conduct the formal hearing. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall set a date, time, and 
location for the formal hearing. 

(4) A formal hearing shall be conducted pursuant to ORS 
183.090. 

(5) The Office of State Fire Marshal may mail certified a copy 
of the final order to the fire authority that issued the notice of defi-
ciency citation within ten days of signing of the final order. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.:OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0105 
Adjustment of Civil Penalty 

(1) At any time during a contested case, and prior to the 
issuance of a final order, the Office of State Fire Marshal may mit-
igate the civil penalty amount and may agree to payment of an 
amount less than that stated in the notice of civil penalty, after 
review of: 

(a) The criteria listed in OAR 837-045-0080(2); and 
(b) Any explanatory information provided to the Office of 

State Fire Marshal. 
(2) If the Office of State Fire Marshal adjusts a civil penalty, 

the Office of State Fire Marshal shall issue an amended notice of 
civil penalty. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall: 
(a) Retain the original amended notice of civil penalty; 
(b) Serve a copy of the amended notice of civil penalty on the 

person against whom the civil penalty was assessed. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may mail a copy of the 
amended notice of civil penalty to the authority that issued the 
notice of deficiency citation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

837-045-0110 
Payment of Civil Penalty 

A civil penalty shall be paid to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal within ten days after an order assessing a civil penalty 
becomes final by operation of law or on an appeal. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & 479.990 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 - 479.300 & 479.990 
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00 

DIVISION 46 

NOVELTY/TOYLIKE LIGHTERS 

837-046-0000 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) The purpose of these rules is to implement the standards, 
policies and procedures pertaining to the regulation of novelty 
lighters by the Office of State Fire Marshal (OSFM). 

(2) The scope of these rules applies to the implementation of 
2009 HB 2365, relating to novelty lighters.  

Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 
Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 
5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09 

837-046-0020 
Effective Dates 

OAR 837-046-0000 through 837-046-0180 are effective upon 
the date of filing. 

Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 
Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 
5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09 

837-046-0040 
Definitions 

For the purpose of these rules, the following definitions apply 
to OAR 837-046-0000 through 837-046-0180: 

(1) “Audio effects” means music, animal sounds and whistles, 
buzzers, beepers or other noises not pertinent to the flame-
producing function of a lighter. 

(2) “Authorized Representative of the State Fire Marshal” 
means an employee of the State Fire Marshal, as well as Assistants 
to the State Fire Marshal as defined in ORS 476.060.  

(3) “Distribute” means to: 
(a) Deliver to a person other than the purchaser; or 
(b) Provide as part of a commercial promotion or as a prize or 

premium. 
(4) “Importer” means a person who causes a lighter to enter 

this state from a manufacturing, wholesale, distribution or retail 
sales point outside this state, for the purpose of selling or 
distributing the lighter within this state or with the result that the 
lighter is sold or distributed within this state. 

(5) “Lighter” means a handheld device of a type typically 
used for igniting tobacco products by use of a flame. 

(6) “Manufacturer” means a person or business that makes 
lighters by hand or by machine.  

(7) “Misleading design” means a lighter that has a shape that 
resembles or imitates an object other than a lighter. Misleading 
design applies to lighters of all types and includes lighters that 
resemble or imitate: 

(a) Cartoon characters, figurines or action figures; 
(b) Toys or game pieces; 
(c) Musical instruments; 
(d) Vehicles; 
(e) Animals; 
(f) Human body parts; 
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(g) Food, beverages or food or beverage packages; 

(h) Weaponry; 

(i) Furniture; 

(j) Sports equipment; 

(k) Holiday decoration; 

(l) Tools; or 

(m) Household products. 

(8) “Novelty lighter”: 

(a) Means a lighter that has misleading design, audio effects 

or visual effects, or that has other features of a type that would rea-

sonably be expected to make the lighter appealing or attractive to a 

child less than 10 years of age. 

(b) Does not mean: 

(A) A lighter manufactured before January 1, 1980;  

(B) A lighter that has been rendered permanently incapable of 

producing a flame or otherwise causing combustion; or 

(C) A lighter with only logos, decals, decorative artwork or 

heat-shrinkable sleeves. 

(9) “Retail dealer” means a person, other than a manufacturer 

or wholesale dealer that engages in distributing novelty lighters.  

(10) “Sell” means to provide or promise to provide to a whole-

sale, retail, mail-order or other purchaser in exchange for consider-

ation. 

(11) “Visual effect”means flashing lights, color-changing 

lights and changing images. Visual effect does not mean a 

continuous LED light used as a flashlight. 

(12) “Wholesale dealer” means a person that distributes 

novelty lighters to a retail dealer or other person for resale.  

Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 

Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 

Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 

5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09

837-046-0060 
General 

(1) As of June 2, 2009, lighters meeting the definition of 
novelty lighters may not be sold, offered for sale, distributed in 
Oregon or manufactured or possessed for the purpose of sale or 
distribution in Oregon. 

(2) Wholesale dealers, importers or retail dealers must 
comply with: 

(a) 2009 HB 2365; and 
(b) OAR 837-046-0000 through 837-046-0180.  
(3) A list of lighters, classes and types of lighters determined 

to be novelty lighters is available on the OSFM website or upon 
request. Photographs of novelty lighters are representative of 
lighter types, but may not include all prohibited lighters. 

(4) Photographs of acceptable lighters are available on the 
OSFM website or upon request. Photographs of acceptable lighters 
are examples and do not include all acceptable lighters. 

Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 
Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 
5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09 

837-046-0080 
Inspections 

The OSFM or an authorized representative may inspect 
Oregon wholesale dealers, agents, and retailers for compliance 
with 2009 HB 2365. Inspections include any documents to 
determine compliance with 2009 HB 2365. 

Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 
Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 
5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09 

837-046-0100 
Lighter Review Committee 

Requests may be made for a review of a lighter determined to 
be a novelty lighter by the OSFM. Submit a written request and 
color photo to the OSFM. The lighter review committee will 
review the lighter and make a recommendation to the OSFM. 

Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 
Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 
5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09 

837-046-0120 
Cooperative Agreements 

The OSFM may enter into a cooperative agreement with any 
state or local agency allowing the agency to act as an authorized 
representative of the OSFM for enforcement purposes of this divi-
sion. 

Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 
Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 
5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09 

837-046-0140 
Seizure of Non-Compliant Product 

The OSFM, an authorized representative, or a law enforcement 
agency may seize and make subject to forfeiture any lighter 
described in OAR 837-046-0040 and 2009 HB 2365. 

Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 
Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 
5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09 

837-046-0160 
Civil Penalties 

(1) The OSFM may impose civil penalties in accordance with 
ORS 183.745 for any violation of 2009 HB 2365 or OAR 837-046-
0000 through 837-046-0180. Refer to the following penalty matrix 
for penalties established by 2009 HB 2365:  

(a) $10,000 if the person is a manufacturer or importer of 
lighters; 
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(b) $1,000 if the person is a wholesale dealer of lighters or 
distributes lighters by means other than distribution directly to 
consumers;  

(c) $500 if the person is: 
(A) A retail seller of lighters; or  
(B) A person distributing lighters, if the person is other than a 

manufacturer, importer or wholesale dealer. 
(2) Each day a person distributes or sells novelty lighters after 

being notified of the violation by the OSFM constitutes a separate 
violation and subjects the person to additional civil penalties.  

(3) All monies collected from civil penalties are to be 
deposited to the State Fire Marshal Fund. 

Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 
Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 
5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09 

837-046-0180 
Procedures, Hearings and Judicial Review 

(1) Hearings are conducted according to ORS 183.413 through 
183.470.  

(2) The Attorney General may bring action for the OSFM to:  
(a) Seek injunctive relief to prevent or end a violation;  
(b) Recover civil penalties;  
(c) Obtain access for inspections; or 
(d) Recover attorney fees and other enforcement costs and 

disbursements. 
Stat. Auth.: 2009 HB 2365 
Stats. Implemented: 2009 HB 2365 
Hist.: OSFM 2-2009(Temp), f. 5-29-09, cert. ef. 6-2-09 thru 11-20-09; OSFM 
5-2009, f. 11-20-09, cert. ef. 11-21-09 

DIVISION 47 

CARBON MONOXIDE ALARMS AND DETECTORS 

837-047-0100 
Purpose and Scope  

The purpose of these rules is to establish minimum standards 
for the design, inspection, testing, placement and location and 
maintenance of carbon monoxide alarms in one and two family 
dwellings, manufactured dwellings, and multifamily housing.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.725 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.725 
Hist.: OSFM 3-2010(Temp), f. 4-8-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; OSFM 7-
2010, f. 12-1-10, cert. ef. 12-28-10 

837-047-0110 
Definitions  

(1) “Attached garage” means a garage with a door, ductwork, 
or ventilation shaft communicating directly with or connected to a 
living space and does not include:  

(a) A carport; 
(b) An open parking garage; or  
(c) An enclosed parking garage ventilated in accordance with 

Section 404 of the State Mechanical Code. 
(2) “Bedroom” means a room designed or intended for sleep-

ing. 
(3) “Carbon monoxide alarm” means a device that: 
(a)(A) Detects carbon monoxide; 
(B) Produces a distinctive audible alert when carbon monoxide 

is detected; 
(C) Is listed by Underwriters Laboratories as complying with 

ANSI/UL 2034 or ANSI/UL 2075 or any other nationally recognized 
testing laboratory or an equivalent organization; and 

(D) Operates as a distinct unit, as two or more single station 
units wired to operate in conjunction with each other or as part of a 
system that includes carbon monoxide detectors.  

(b) For the purposes of these rules, “carbon monoxide 
detectors that are part of a system that produces a distinctive 
audible alert and are listed as complying with ANSI/UL 2075 shall 
be considered carbon monoxide alarms.  

(4) “Carbon monoxide source” means: 

(a) A heater, fireplace, furnace, appliance, or cooking source 
that uses coal, wood, petroleum products, and other fuels that emit 
carbon monoxide as a by-product of combustion. Petroleum 
products include, but are not limited to, kerosene, natural gas, or 
propane. 

(b) An attached garage with a door, ductwork, or ventilation 
shaft that communicates directly with a living space. 

(5) “Dwelling unit” means: A structure or the part of a 
structure that is used as a home, residence or sleeping place by one 
person who maintains a household or by two or more persons who 
maintain a common household. 

(6) “Landlord” means the owner, lessor, or sublessor of the 
rental dwelling unit or the building or premises of which it is a part. 
“Landlord” includes but is not limited to a person who is authorized 
by the owner, lessor, or subleasor to manage the premises or to 
enter into a rental agreement. 

(7) “Manufactured Dwelling” means a dwelling as defined in 
ORS 446. 

(8) “Multifamily housing” means a building, excluding town-
houses, in which three or more residential dwelling units each have 
space for eating, living, sleeping, and permanent provisions for 
cooking and sanitation. 

(9) “Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory” means a 
nationally recognized testing laboratory (NRTL) that is U.S. Occu-
pational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) accredited to 
test and certify to American National Standards Institute (ANSI) 
standards. 

(10) “One and two family dwelling” means a residential 
building that is regulated under the state building code as a one and 
two family dwelling and includes a townhouse. 

(11) “Owner” includes a duly authorized agent or attorney, a 
purchaser, devisee, fiduciary, lessor or sublessor and/or a person 
having a vested or contingent interest in the property in question.  

(12) “Person” means one or more individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations 
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts, and other public cor-
porations or subdivisions.  

(13) “State Fire Marshal” means the State Fire Marshal 
appointed under ORS 476.020 and the Chief Deputy State Fire 
Marshal and Deputy State Fire Marshals appointed by the State 
Fire Marshal under ORS 476.040. 

(14) “Townhouse” means a single-family dwelling unit con-
structed in a group of three or more attached units in which each 
extends from the foundation to the roof and at least two sides abut 
open space. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.725 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.725 
Hist.: OSFM 3-2010(Temp), f. 4-8-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; OSFM 7-
2010, f. 12-1-10, cert. ef. 12-28-10 

837-047-0120 
Carbon Monoxide Alarm Requirements  

(1) Properly functioning carbon monoxide alarms shall be 
required when: 

(a) A person conveys fee title to a one and two family 
dwelling or multifamily housing containing a carbon monoxide 
source on or after April 1, 2011; or 

(b) A person transfers possession under a land sale contract of 
a one and two family dwelling or multifamily housing containing a 
carbon monoxide source on or after April 1, 2011; or 

(c) A person transfers ownership of a manufactured dwelling 
containing a carbon monoxide source on or after April 1, 2011; or 

(d) A landlord enters into a rental agreement for a dwelling 
unit containing a carbon monoxide source on or after July 1, 2010. 

(2) By April 1, 2011, every rental dwelling unit subject to 
these rules must contain properly functioning carbon monoxide 
alarms.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.725 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.725 
Hist.: OSFM 3-2010(Temp), f. 4-8-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; OSFM 7-
2010, f. 12-1-10, cert. ef. 12-28-10 
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837-047-0130 
Installation and Location of Carbon Monoxide Alarms and 
Detectors 

(1) All carbon monoxide alarms or detectors must be installed 
in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommended instructions 
and located in accordance with these rules and applicable building 
code at the time of construction or alteration of the dwelling.  

(2) One and Two Family Dwellings and Manufactured 
Dwellings: A properly functioning carbon monoxide alarm must be 
located within each bedroom or within 15 feet outside of each bed-
room door. Bedrooms on separate floors in a structure containing 
two or more stories require separate carbon monoxide alarms. 

(3) Multi Family Housing:  
(a) A properly functioning carbon monoxide alarm must be 

located within each bedroom or within 15 feet outside of each bed-
room door in dwelling units containing a carbon monoxide source 
or are connected to a common area containing a carbon monoxide 
source. Bedrooms on separate floors in a structure containing two 
or more stories require separate carbon monoxide alarms.  

(b) A carbon monoxide alarm must be installed in any 
enclosed common area within the building if the common area is 
connected by a door, ductwork, or ventilation shaft to a carbon 
monoxide source located within or attached to the structure.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.725 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.725 
Hist.: OSFM 3-2010(Temp), f. 4-8-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; OSFM 7-
2010, f. 12-1-10, cert. ef. 12-28-10 

837-047-0135 
Exemption  

A landlord who rents a space for a manufactured dwelling or 
who rents moorage space for a floating home as defined in ORS 
830.700, but does not rent the manufactured dwelling home or 
floating home is exempt from these rules. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.725 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.725 
Hist.: OSFM 7-2010, f. 12-1-10, cert. ef. 12-28-10 

837-047-0140 
Power Source 

Carbon monoxide alarms must be battery operated or receive 
their primary power source from the building wiring with a battery 
back-up. Plug in devices must have a battery back-up.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.725 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.725 
Hist.: OSFM 3-2010(Temp), f. 4-8-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; OSFM 7-
2010, f. 12-1-10, cert. ef. 12-28-10 

837-047-0150 
Testing and Maintenance of Carbon Monoxide Alarms 

Carbon monoxide alarms and systems must be maintained 
and tested according to the manufacturer’s recommended instruc-
tions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.725 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.725 
Hist.: OSFM 3-2010(Temp), f. 4-8-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; OSFM 7-
2010, f. 12-1-10, cert. ef. 12-28-10 

837-047-0160 
Rental Dwelling Units Subject to ORS Chapter 90 

(1) Effective July 1, 2010, before a landlord transfers 
possession of a dwelling unit subject to these rules to a tenant, the 
landlord must: 

(a) Install a properly functioning carbon monoxide alarm;  
(b) Provide working batteries if a carbon monoxide alarm is 

battery operated or has a battery operated backup system; and  
(c) Provide the new tenant with alarm testing instructions. 
(2) If the landlord receives written notice from the tenant of a 

deficiency of a carbon monoxide alarm, other than dead batteries, 
the landlord must repair or replace the alarm. 

(3) A tenant must test, at least every six months, and replace 
batteries as needed in any carbon monoxide alarm provided by the 
landlord and notify the landlord in writing of any operating defi-
ciencies. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.725 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.725 

Hist.: OSFM 3-2010(Temp), f. 4-8-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; OSFM 7-

2010, f. 12-1-10, cert. ef. 12-28-10
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837-047-0170 
Tampering with a Carbon Monoxide Alarm Prohibited 

A person may not remove or tamper with a carbon monoxide 
alarm installed in accordance with these rules. Tampering includes 
removal of working batteries. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.725 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.725 
Hist.: OSFM 3-2010(Temp), f. 4-8-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; OSFM 7-
2010, f. 12-1-10, cert. ef. 12-28-10 

DIVISION 61 

FIRE FIGHTING 

Standardization of Fire Protection Equipment 

837-061-0005 
Purpose 

(1) ORS 476.030 requires the State Fire Marshal to make 
rules and regulations relating to standards for equipment used for 
fire protection purposes. ORS 476.410 requires that all fire 
protection equipment purchased by state and municipal authorities 
shall be equipped with standard thread for fire hose couplings and 
hydrant fittings as adopted by the State Fire Marshal. ORS 476.440 
prohibits any person from selling in Oregon any fire protection 
equipment unless such equipment is fitted and equipped with the 
standard thread for fire hose couplings and hydrant fittings as 
adopted by the State Fire Marshal. This statute also provides for 
exemption from this requirement for special purposes. 

(2) The following rules and standards for fire protection 
equipment are adopted in order to implement the intent of the 
above statutes to provide for the interchangeability of fire hose and 
related equipment between fire departments during emergency 
operations. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.410 - 476.440 
Hist.: FM 40, f. 3-5-70, ef. 3-25-70; FM 3-1988, f. & cert ef. 2-17-88 

837-061-0010 
Threaded Couplings and Fittings 

All equipment used for fire protection purposes , having hose 
couplings and fittings of nominal 1-1/2 inch inside diameter and 
larger, shall have threads designated “American National Fire Hose 
Connection Screw Threads.” The form, dimensions, tolerances, 
gauges, and overall design and construction of threads on threaded 
couplings and fittings shall conform to “National Fire Protection 
Association Standard No. 1963, 1998 edition.” 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.410 
Hist.: FM 40, f. 3-5-70, ef. 3-25-70; FM 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-88; OSFM 8-
2001, f. 6-27-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01 

837-061-0015 
Exemptions 

(1) Fire protection equipment used under the authority of ORS 
Chapters 477 and 526 are exempt from the provisions of this divi-
sion. 

(2) The State Fire Marshal may grant exemption from these 
rules for private fire protection equipment used for special purposes, 
research programs, or special features of fire protection equipment 
found appropriate for uniformity within a particular protection area 
and not essential to the coordination of public fire protection oper-
ations. Any such exemption shall be granted in writing by the State 
Fire Marshal. 

(3) Fire protection equipment having non-threaded couplings 
or fittings with an inside diameter greater than three inches may be 
purchased and used without written exemption form the State Fire 
Marshal under the following conditions: 

(a) Non-threaded couplings shall conform to the specifications 
contained in “National Fire Protection Association Standard 
No. 1963, 1998 edition.” 

(b) All fire apparatus carrying hose equipped with non-
threaded couplings shall also carry inlet and discharge adapters in 
accordance with the following: 3-1/2 inch or larger Hose: — For 
the initial 1,000 feet, or portion thereof, and each additional 1,000 
feet, or major portion thereof (500 feet or more); 

(A) Inlet — Minimum of one 2 or 3-way 2-1/2 inch threaded 
female with inlets (clappered) adapted to non-threaded coupling 
hose size; 

(B) Discharge — Minimum of one 2 or 3-way 2-1/2 inch 
threaded male gated outlets adapted from non-threaded coupling 
hose size. 

(c) All fire department coupling, i.e., hydrants, sprinkler sys-
tems, standpipes, nozzles, adapters, etc., must be equipped with 
“American National Fire Hose Connection Screw Threads” regard-
less of size. However, such equipment may be additionally 
equipped with adapters of the non-threaded type when approved by 
the chief of the department. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.410 
Hist.: FM 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-88; OSFM 8-2001, f. 6-27-01, cert. ef. 7-1-
01; OSFM 4-2003, f. 7-2-03, cert. ef. 7-3-03 

DIVISION 85 

COMMUNITY RIGHT-TO-KNOW 
SURVEY AND COMPLIANCE PROGRAMS 

837-085-0010 
Authority and Application 

(1) These rules are promulgated under the Office of State Fire 
Marshal’s authority contained in ORS 453.367 and 453.402(2). 

(2) OAR 837, division 085 applies to covered employers, 
owners and operators of fixed facilities where hazardous substances 
or wastes are likely to be manufactured, generated, used, stored, 
possessed or disposed of. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 - 453.372 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94 

837-085-0020 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) The purpose of OAR chapter 837, division 085 is:  
(a) To ensure that all reportable hazardous substances or 

wastes manufactured, generated, used, stored, possessed or disposed 
of at fixed facilities are identified and the information is submitted 
to the Office of State Fire Marshal;  

(b) To address the process by which hazardous substance 
information is identified and communicated to the Office of State 
Fire Marshal;  

(c) To address the process by which information received 
through the Office of State Fire Marshal’s Hazardous Substance 
Information Survey and Incident Reporting System is distributed 
to emergency personnel, public agencies, and the public;  

(d) To address the process of assessing penalties;  
(e) To address the process by which covered employers, 

owners, and operators will be evaluated to determine their level of 
compliance with the Oregon Community Right-to-Know and Pro-
tection Act;  

(f) To establish procedures for issuing a Notice of Noncompli-
ance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order to covered 
employers, owners, and operators who fail to comply with the 
reporting requirements.  

(2) The Community Right-to-Know and Protection Act, ORS 
453.307 to 453.414, requires covered employers, owners, and 
operators to report to the Office of State Fire Marshal, the identity, 
associated hazard classifications and other information for all 
reportable hazardous substances or waste which they manufacture, 
generate, use, store or dispose of at fixed facilities.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 & 453.372 
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Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, 
cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0030 
Covered Employers, Owners, Operators and the North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 

(1) Persons operating one or more facilities, where hazardous 
substances are present in reportable quantities are required to 
notify the Office of State Fire Marshal within 30 days and are 
subject to the hazardous substance information reporting require-
ments contained in ORS 453.307 to 453.414 and OAR 837-085-
0090. 

(2) Persons operating facilities within North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) codes that have been identified by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal as having the potential to possess, 
store or otherwise use hazardous substances in reportable quantities 
are subject to the hazardous substance information reporting 
requirements contained in ORS 453.307 to 453.414 and OAR 837-
085-0090 if sent a Hazardous Substance Information Survey by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal. 

(3) Persons classified within construction or logging NAICS 
codes are not required to report their temporary work sites unless 
required in 40 CFR 370. 

(4) Persons having facilities classified within the NAICS code 
424930 (Flower, Nursery Stock, and Florists’ Supplies Merchant 
Wholesalers) or the NAICS code 444220 (Nursery, Garden Center, 
and Farm Supply Stores), that do not sell, or otherwise market, 
products that require a Material Safety Data Sheet to be developed 
by the manufacturer, are not required to report for that facility 
unless required in 40 CFR 370. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307(2) 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1994, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-
15-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, 
cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 5-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-26-13 

837-085-0040 
Definitions 

(1) “Act” means the Community Right-to-Know and Protection 
Act, ORS 453.307 to 453.414.  

(2) “Appeal” means the written request for a contested case in 
order to contest the required submission of Hazardous Substance 
Information Survey information or to contest a “Notice of Non-
compliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment” order, or a 
response to a request for exemption.  

(3) “Approved Form” means a form provided by or authorized 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal.  

(4) “Audit” means the evaluation of covered employers, 
owners or operators to determine their level of compliance with the 
Oregon Community Right-to-Know and Protection Act.  

(5) “Average Daily Amount” means the average amount of a 
hazardous substance present at a facility during the twelve-month 
survey period.  

(6) “Chemical” means any element, chemical compound, or 
mixture of elements or compounds.  

(7) “Chemical Name” means the scientific designation of a 
chemical in accordance with the nomenclature system developed 
by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) 
or the Chemical Abstracts Service’s (CAS) rules of nomenclature.  

(8) “Compliance Auditor” means a designated employee of 
the Office of State Fire Marshal whose responsibility is to conduct 
audits, identify noncompliance issues, propose penalties, establish 
correction dates and assist employers, owners, and operators in 
voluntarily complying with ORS 453.307 to 453.414.  

(9) “Compliance or Due Date” means the date set for 
submitting a Hazardous Substance Information Survey, substantive 
change or other information requested by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal.  

(10) “Compressed Gas” means:  
(a) A gas or mixture of gases, in a container, having an 

absolute pressure exceeding 40 psi at 70° F (21.1° C); or  

(b) A gas or mixture of gases, in a container, having an 
absolute pressure exceeding 104 psi at 130° F (54.4° C) regardless 
of the pressure at 70° F (21.1° C); or  

(c) A liquid having a vapor pressure exceeding 40 psi at 100° 
F (37.8°C) as determined by ASTM D-323-72, Test Method of 
Vapor Pressure of Petroleum Products (Reid Method).  

(11) “Confidential” means information submitted to a public 
body in confidence (ORS 192.502(3)).  

(12) “Confidentiality Agreement” means a written agreement 
between a covered employer, owner or operator and an entity 
authorized under ORS 453.337 and OAR chapter 837, division 85 
to request and receive trade secret information.  

(13) “Correction Order” means a written order that directs an 
employer, owner or operator to submit Hazardous Substance Infor-
mation Survey information.  

(14) “Covered Employer, Owner or Operator” means:  
(a) Any person operating a facility possessing reportable 

quantities of hazardous substances as defined by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal in OAR 837-085-0070.  

(b) Any person operating a facility that the Office of State Fire 
Marshal believes has the potential to store, generate, use, or other-
wise possess hazardous substances in reportable quantities.  

(15) “Division” means OAR chapter 837, division 85 of the 
Office of State Fire Marshal.  

(16) “Emergency” means any human caused or natural event 
or circumstance causing or threatening loss of life, injury to person 
or property, human suffering or financial loss which includes, but 
is not limited to, fire, explosion, flood, severe weather, drought, 
earthquake, volcanic activity, spills of oil or other substances, con-
tamination, utility or transportation accidents, disease, blight, 
infestation, civil disturbance, riot, sabotage/war.  

(17) “Emergency Services” means those activities provided 
by state or local government agencies with emergency operational 
responsibilities to prepare for or carry out any activity to prevent, 
minimize, respond to or recover from an emergency. Without limi-
tation, these activities include coordination, preplanning, training, 
interagency liaison, firefighting, hazardous substance management, 
law enforcement, medical, health or sanitation services, engineering 
or public works, search and rescue activities, public information, 
damage assessment, administration and fiscal management.  

(18) “Emergency Service Agency” means an organization, 
which performs essential services for the public’s benefit prior to, 
during, or following an emergency. This includes, but is not limited 
to, organizational units within local governments, such as emergency 
medical technicians, health, medical or sanitation services, public 
works or engineering, public information or communications.  

(19) “Entity” means any individual trust, firm, association, 
corporation, partnership, joint stock company, joint venture, public 
or municipal corporation, commission, political subdivision, the 
state or any agency or commission thereof, interstate body, or the 
federal government or any agency thereof.  

(20) “Exempted Substance” means a substance that is not 
required to be reported.  

(21) “Exemption” means the written authority given to a 
person by the Office of State Fire Marshal, granting an exemption 
from the requirements of a rule or law.  

(22) “Explosive” means a hazardous substance classified as 
an explosive by the U.S. Department of Transportation.  

(23) “Extension” means the written authorization of the 
Office of State Fire Marshal to extend a compliance or due date.  

(24) “Facility” means all buildings, equipment structures or 
other stationary items that are located on a single site or on con-
tiguous or adjacent sites that are owned or operated by a covered 
employer, owner or operator.  

(25) “Facility Representative” means any individual designated 
by an employer, owner or operator to serve as spokesperson or, in 
the absence of a designated spokesperson, the person in charge of a 
facility being audited.  

(26) “Filed” means the receipt of a document by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, except that an appeal will be considered filed 
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upon receipt at any regional office of the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal.  

(27) “Fire District” means any agency having responsibility 
for providing fire protection services.  

(28) “Fixed Facility” means a facility having permanent or 
non-mobile operations.  

(29) “Hazard Classification” means the U.S. Department of 
Transportation hazard classes and divisions as defined in 49 CFR 
173.2. However, when the definitions in 49 CFR 173.2 refer to 
transportation or hazards associated with transportation, they shall 
be deemed to refer to storage or other regulated activities under 
OAR chapter 837, division 085.  

(30) “Hazardous Substance” means:  
(a) Any substance designated as hazardous by the Director of 

the Department of Consumer and Business Services or by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal; or  

(b) Any substance required to have a Material Safety Data 
Sheet (MSDS) pursuant to Oregon Occupational Safety and Health 
Division’s OAR 437, division 2 (29 CFR 1910.1200), subdivision 
Z, and which appears on the list of Threshold Limit Values for 
Chemical Substances and Physical Agents in the Work Environment 
by the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienist 
(ACGIH); or  

(c) Any substance required to have an MSDS pursuant to Ore-
gon Occupational Safety and Health Division’s OAR 437, division 
2 (29 CFR 1910.1200), subdivision Z, except:  

(A) Substances exempted by designation of the Office of State 
Fire Marshal; or  

(B) Substances which are solids and do not react or dissolve 
and are stored in unprotected areas; or  

(C) Substances exempted by the rules of OAR chapter 837, 
division 085; or  

(D) Gases intended and used for human or animal ingestion or 
inhalation either directly or added to a product, if the gas is present 
at the site where ingestion or inhalation occurs; and the gas is not 
being used in a manufacturing process; and the gas is not a 
cryogenic; and the gas is not being stored at the site in a quantity 
that exceeds 1,000 cubic feet.  

(d) Any substance for which a manufacturer is required to 
develop an MSDS, that presents a physical or health hazard to 
emergency response personnel or the public under normal conditions 
of use or during an emergency situation; or  

(e) Any waste substance that presents a physical or health haz-
ard to emergency response personnel or the public under normal 
conditions of use or during an emergency situation; or  

(f) Any radioactive waste or radioactive material as defined in 
ORS 469.300(19) and radioactive substance as defined in 453.005.  

(31) “Hazardous Substance Information Survey” means a 
hazardous substance report that covered employers, owners or 
operators are required to submit, on an approved form, to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal.  

(32)”Health Professional” means a physician as defined in 
ORS 677.010, registered nurse, industrial hygienist, toxicologist, 
epidemiologist or emergency medical technician.  

(33) “Highly Toxic Material” means a material which produces 
a lethal dose or lethal concentration which falls within any of the 
following categories:  

(a) A chemical that has a median lethal dose (LD50) of 50 
milligrams or less per kilogram of body weight when administered 
orally to albino rats weighing between 200 and 300 grams each;  

(b) A chemical that has a median lethal dose (LD50) of 200 
milligrams or less per kilogram of body weight when administered 
by continuous contact for 24 hours (or less if death occurs within 
24 hours) with the bare skin of albino rabbits weighing between 
two and three kilograms each;  

(c) A chemical that has a median lethal concentration (LC50) 
in air of 200 parts per million by volume or less of gas or vapor, or 
two milligrams per liter or less of mist, fume or dust, when admin-
istered by continuous inhalation for one hour (or less if death 
occurs within one hour) to albino rats weighing between 200 and 
300 grams each;  

(d) Mixture of these materials with ordinary materials, such as 
water, may not warrant a classification of highly toxic. While this 
system is basically simple in application, any hazard evaluation 
which is required for the precise categorization of this type of 
material shall be performed by experienced, technically competent 
persons.  

(34) “Identity” means any chemical or common name that is 
indicated:  

(a) On a Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) as required 
under OAR 437, division 2 (CFR 1910.1200), subdivision Z; or  

(b) On shipping documents as required under 49 CFR 171-
177 under the Transportation Safety Act of 1974 (49 U.S.C. 1801 
et seq.); or  

(c) On hazardous waste manifests as required by OAR chapter 
340, division 102 as adopted by the Department of Environmental 
Quality; or  

(d) On packaging or container labels as required under the 
Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (7 U.S.C. 136 
et seq.) and labeling regulations issued under the Act by the Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency; or  

(e) On a radioactive material license as issued under OAR 
chapter 333, divisions 100 through 113 as adopted by the Radiation 
Control Section of the Health Division of the Oregon Department 
of Human Resources.  

(35) “Incident” means the threatened or actual injury or 
damage to a human, wildlife, domestic animal or the environment, 
or any property loss resulting from a hazardous substance release.  

(36) “Law Enforcement Agency” means county sheriffs, 
municipal police departments, state police, other police officers of 
this or other states or law enforcement agencies of the federal gov-
ernment.  

(37) “Liquefied Gas” means a gas that is received and stored 
as a liquid through the use of pressure or temperature.  

(38) “Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS)” means written, 
printed or electronic material concerning a hazardous chemical 
which is prepared in accordance with OAR 437, division 2 (29 
CFR 1910.1200), subdivision Z, Hazard Communication rules of 
the Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department of 
Consumer and Business Services.  

(39) “Maximum Amount” means the largest amount of a haz-
ardous substance located at a facility at any one time during the 12-
month survey period.  

(40) “North American Industry Classification System” means 
a system developed by the Office of Management and Budget for 
the purpose of classifying establishments by the type of activity 
they engage in. The number assigned to each group classified is 
called the NAICS code.  

(41) “No Longer Reportable” means a previously reported 
substance was not on site in a reportable quantity during the current 
survey period.  

(42) “Noncompliance” means failure of a covered employer, 
owner or operator to comply with the Community Right-to-Know 
and Protection Act or its administrative rules.  

(43) “Noncompliance Classification” means the category 
assigned to issues of noncompliance for the purposes of assessing a 
penalty.  

(44) “Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty 
Assessment Order” means a written document issued to covered 
employers, owners or operators that states they were not complying 
with the Community Right-to-Know and Protection Act, establishes 
correction dates and notifies them of penalty assessments.  

(45) “Person” means any entity including, but not limited to, 
an individual, trust, firm, joint stock company, corporation, part-
nership, association, municipal corporation, political subdivision, 
interstate body, the state or any agency or commission thereof, or 
the federal government or any agency thereof.  

(46) “Product Name” means any designation or identification 
such as code name, code number, trade name, brand name, or 
generic name as provided on the Material Safety Data Sheet used 
to identify a substance. 

(47) “Record” means any recorded information.  
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(48) “Repeat Noncompliance” means a covered employer, 
owner and or operator has failed to comply with the same rule of 
OAR 837-085 two or more times within a five year period of time.  

(49) “Reportable Hazardous Substance” is a hazardous sub-
stance that is manufactured, generated, used, stored, possessed, or 
disposed of at a fixed site location by covered employers, owners, 
or operators at or above the reportable quantities at any time during 
the survey period.  

(50) “Reportable Quantity” means the amount of hazardous 
substance that must be present at a facility before reporting is 
required.  

(51) “Reporting Range” means a range of quantities assigned 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal for reporting hazardous sub-
stances.  

(52) “Retail Gasoline Station” means a retail facility engaged 
in selling gasoline and/or diesel fuel principally to the public, for 
motor vehicle use on land.  

(53) “Single Combined Survey” means a survey that has mul-
tiple substations reported on it.  

(54) “Source Generation Sites” means facilities generating 
that which is relayed, pumped or stored by substations.  

(55) “State Fire Marshal” means the State Fire Marshal or 
designee.  

(56) “Substantive Change” means a change in hazardous sub-
stance reporting information that requires notification to the Office 
of State Fire Marshal.  

(57) “Substation” means facilities that function only as elec-
trical transmission relays, telephone transmission relays, pager 
transmission relays, cable TV transmission relays, cellular phone 
transmission relays, radar transmission relays, water storage reser-
voir, water pump or chlorinating stations, sewerage/storm water 
pump stations, natural gas pump stations or road sand storage.  

(58) “Survey Period” means the 12 months preceding the date 
the Hazardous Substance Information Survey is mailed to, or com-
pleted by, the covered employer, owner or operator.  

(59) “Temporary Worksite” means a single site location where 
activities, such as construction or logging, will occur for less than 
24 months.  

(60) “Trade Name” means the brand name or trademark given 
to a hazardous substance by a manufacturer or distributor.  

(61) “Trade Secret” means, but is not limited to, any formula, 
plan, pattern, process, tool, mechanism, compound, procedure, 
production data, or compilation of information which is not 
patented; which is known only to certain individuals within a com-
mercial concern who are using it to fabricate, produce, or compound 
an article of trade or a service or to locate minerals or other sub-
stances having commercial value; and which gives its user an 
opportunity to obtain a business advantage over competitors who 
do not know or use it.  

(62) “Total Amount Transported from the facility” means the 
total amount of a hazardous substance that has been transported 
from the facility site during the 12-month survey period.  

(63) “Total Amount Transported to the facility” means the 
total amount of a hazardous substance that has been transported on 
to the facility site during the 12-month survey period.  

(64) “Waste Hazardous Substance” means any substance, 
which meets the Department of Environmental Quality’s definition 
of “hazardous waste”. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99 & cert. ef. 2-
3-99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, 
cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 1-2013, f. 1-
24-13, cert. ef. 2-1-13; OSFM 5-2013, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-13; OSFM 1-2014, f. 
& cert. ef. 1-9-14 

837-085-0050 
Hazardous Substance Survey — General 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall develop and 
distribute an annual Hazardous Substance Information Survey to 
covered employers, owners, and operators. The information received 
shall be used to establish and maintain the hazardous substance 

information program required by the Community Right-to-Know 
and Protection Act.  

(2) The Hazardous Substance Information Survey period shall 
be for the 12 months preceding the date the survey is mailed to, or 
completed by the facility.  

(3) Covered employers, owners or operators operating facilities 
where hazardous substances are present in reportable quantities 
must notify the Office of State Fire Marshal that the substances are 
present. This notification must be made within 30 days of the sub-
stance being on site and at a minimum must include the information 
required in OAR 837-085-0090(6)(b), (D), (E), (F), (G), and (H).  

(4) Covered employers, owners or operators operating facilities 
where hazardous substances were present in reportable quantities 
during the survey period must complete and submit a Hazardous 
Substance Information Survey.  

(5) Covered employers, owners or operators operating facilities 
receiving the Hazardous Substance Information Survey for the first 
time must complete and submit the survey by the due date.  

(6) Covered employers, owners, or operators that reported 
hazardous substances were present in reportable quantities during 
the previous survey period must complete and submit a Hazardous 
Substance Information Survey.  

(7) Covered employers, owners or operators that have had 
changes or additions to the information previously reported on 
their Hazardous Substance Information Survey must complete and 
submit the survey.  

(8) Covered employers, owners or operators operating facilities 
where hazardous substances were not present in reportable quantities 
during the survey period and did not have hazardous substances on 
the previous Hazardous Substance Information Survey are not 
required to submit a Hazardous Substance Information Survey, 
provided they are not otherwise required to do so by these rules. 

(9) A separate Hazardous Substance Information Survey must 
be submitted for each single address owned or operated by a 
covered employer, owner, or operator that meets the reporting 
requirements of this section. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 - 453.372 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-
99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, 
cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0060 
Hazardous Substance Survey — Substance Determinations 

Covered employers, owners, and operators must identify and 
evaluate all substances and wastes manufactured, generated, used, 
stored, possessed, or disposed of at their facilities to determine if 
they are reportable on the survey. The definition of hazardous sub-
stance in OAR 837-085-0040(31) shall be used.. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-
99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, 
cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0070 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Reportable 
Quantities 

(1) If at any time during the survey period, a covered 
employer, owner or operator has manufactured, generated, used, 
stored, possessed, or disposed of a hazardous substance in an 
amount at or above the reportable quantities, they must report the 
hazardous substance. 

(2) The hazardous substance reportable quantities shall be as 
follows: 

(a) Any quantity of radioactive substance including radioactive 
wastes, except: sealed source radioactive materials, as defined by 
OAR 333-100-0005(123) contained in smoke detectors, survey 
equipment and small laboratory testing equipment. 

(b) Any highly toxic material or explosive in quantities equal 
to, or greater than, ten pounds, five gallons or 20 cubic feet; 

(c) Any Extremely Hazardous Substance that meets or exceeds 
the Threshold Planning Quantities as defined by 40 CFR 355.  
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(d) For gasoline (all grades combined) at a retail gas station, 
in quantities equal to, or greater than, 75,000 gallons if the tank(s) 
was stored entirely underground and the tank(s) was in compliance 
at all times during the preceding reporting year with all applicable 
Underground Storage Tank regulations. 

(e) For diesel fuel (all grades combined) at a retail gas station, 
in quantities equal to, or greater than, 100,000 gallons if the tank(s) 
was stored entirely underground and the tank(s) was in compliance 
at all times during the preceding reporting year with all applicable 
Underground Storage Tank regulations. 

(f) Any other hazardous substance in quantities equal to, or 
greater than, 500 gallons, cubic feet, or pounds. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1994, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-
15-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, 
cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 
1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 1-2013, f. 1-24-13, cert. ef. 2-1-13 

837-085-0080 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Required Survey 
Information 

(1) Covered employers, owners, and operators must calculate 
the following for each hazardous substance manufactured, generated, 
used, stored, possessed or disposed of during the survey period: 

(a) Average daily amount; 
(b) Maximum amount onsite at one time; 
(c) Maximum amount at each storage location reported; 
(d) Total amount transported to the facility; 
(e) Total amount transported from the facility. 
(2) The amounts of hazardous substances shall be measured in 

the physical state assumed at “Standard Temperature and Pressure” 
(STP) or when released into the environment. Liquefied gases are 
under pressure in a liquid state in the container. The reportable 
quantity is determined as a liquid reportable in gallons. 

(3) The amounts of hazardous substances must be reported in 
the following units: 

(a) Solids must be reported in units of pounds; 
(b) Liquids must be reported in units of gallons; 
(c) Liquefied gases must be reported in units of gallons; 
(d) Compressed gases that are not liquefied must be reported 

in units of cubic feet; 
(e) Radioactive materials must be reported in units of milli-

curies. 
(4) For a mixture, the total amount of the substance is reported 

regardless of the concentration of the hazardous substance in the 
mixture. 

(5) The amounts of a hazardous substance with the same 
chemical composition in separate containers at one facility shall be 
added together for reporting purposes. 

(6) Like substances which are exempted from the Hazardous 
Substance Possession Fee shall be grouped and reported together. 
Examples of these groups include, but are not limited to: Gasoline, 
motor oils, asphalt emulsion, and diesels. 

(7) Water-based paints with the same major components shall 
be grouped and reported together. Solvent-based paints with the 
same major components shall be grouped and reported together. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-
99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, 
cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 1-2013, f. 1-
24-13, cert. ef. 2-1-13; OSFM 5-2013, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-13 

837-085-0090 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Reporting 
Requirements 

(1) Covered employers, owners, and operators must report 
hazardous substance information as required by these rules on the 
survey form provided or approved by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal.  

(2) Covered employers, owners, and operators who receive 
the Hazardous Substance Information Survey must complete and 
return it to the Office of State Fire Marshal by the due date 

indicated on the survey in accordance with OAR 837-085-0050(3) 
through (8) of these rules.  

(3) Covered employers, owners, and operators receiving a 
survey for one or more of their facilities must submit a separate 
survey for each of their facilities that are subject to the reporting 
requirements.  

(4) Covered employers, owners, and operators who operate 
substations that are of the same type may report all their substations 
on a single combined survey instead of reporting each location sep-
arately.  

(a) Source generation sites must be reported separately.  
(b) Substations that have no hazardous substances are exempt 

from reporting.  
(c) Each substation reported on a single combined survey 

must have identification posted at it that identifies the site by a 
company unique number or name and the Facility ID number 
issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal.  

(A) The identification must be readable from a distance of 50 
feet.  

(B) Substations that are completely underground and can only 
be accessed through a manhole or excavation are exempt from this 
posting requirement.  

(5) Within 30 days of receiving a survey, covered employers, 
owners, and operators must request a survey from the Office of 
State Fire Marshal for each of their subject facilities not receiving a 
survey.  

(6) Covered employers, owners, and operators receiving the 
survey must provide the following information:  

(a) The facility’s reporting status, including:  
(A) Whether or not hazardous substances were present at the 

site in reportable quantities;  
(B) Whether or not Extremely Hazardous Substances were 

present that met or exceeded the threshold planning quantity of 40 
CFR 355, Appendix A and B. If the facility has Extremely 
Hazardous Substances present that exceed the threshold planning 
quantity, provide the name, email address, phone number, and 24-
hour phone number of the facility emergency coordinator as 
required under EPCRA section 303(d)(1); 

(C) Whether or not the facility is subject to the reporting 
requirements of Section 112(r) of the Clean Air Act. If the facility 
is subject to the chemical accident prevention provisions codified 
in 40 CFR part 68, also known as the Risk Management Program 
(RMP), provide the RMP facility identification number assigned 
by EPA;  

(D) If your facility is subject to the Toxic Release Inventory 
(TRI) program under section 313 of EPCRA, provide the identifi-
cation number assigned by EPA; 

(E) Whether or not the facility is subject to the Process Safety 
Management (PSM) requirements of the Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration (OSHA);  

(b) Demographic information including:  
(A) The primary and, if applicable, secondary North American 

Industry Classification System code for the facility;  
(B) A description of the type of business conducted at the site;  
(C) The Dun and Bradstreet Number, if applicable;  
(D) The owner’s or operator’s full name and email address; 
(E) The business name which the entity operates under;  
(F) The department or division, if applicable;  
(G) The physical site address including the street, city, county, 

and zip code; or a grid location acceptable to the responding fire 
department if no address exists;  

(H) The latitude and longitude of the facility; 
(I) The facility phone number for the site;  
(J) The email address of the business or contact person, if 

available;  
(K) The mailing address, if different from the site address;  
(L) The number of occupants at the site;  
(M) The name, day and night phone number and email 

address of the person that can act as a referral if emergency respon-
ders need assistance in responding to a chemical accident at the 
facility; 
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(N) The name of the responding fire department by local juris-
diction;  

(O) A brief summary of any procedures established by the 
covered employer, owner or operator for the control of hazardous 
substances in the event of an emergency; and  

(P) Whether the hazardous substance storage location for each 
reportable hazardous substance is placarded according to National 
Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Standard 704.  

(Q) Whether the facility is occupied or unoccupied. 
(c) The name and signature of the person completing the 

survey and the date the survey was completed.  
(d) Information about each reportable hazardous substance 

meeting the reportable quantity thresholds including, but not 
limited to:  

(A) The chemical, mixture, or product name; 
(B) The chemical name of the hazardous ingredient present in 

the highest concentration;  
(C) Whether or not the substance reported contains an 

extremely hazardous substance as listed in 40 CFR 355;  
(D) Whether or not the substance meets the threshold planning 

quantity as defined by 40 CFR 355; 
(E) If the chemical contains an Extremely Hazardous Sub-

stances, enter the name and CAS number of the Extremely Haz-
ardous Substances in the mixture; 

(F) Whether or not the substance reported contains a Clean 
Air Act, Section 112(r) listed chemical;  

(G) Whether or not the substance reported contains a Process 
Safety Management listed chemical;  

(H) Information regarding whether the substance is pure or a 
mixture;  

(I) The physical state of the hazardous substance as it is 
released into the environment at Standard Temperature and Pressure 
(STP) relating whether it is a solid, liquid or a gas;  

(J) The unit of measure used to report the quantity range of the 
hazardous substance, relating whether it is reported in pounds, gal-
lons, cubic feet or millicuries;  

(K) The average amount;  
(L) The maximum amount;  
(M) The maximum amount of each reported hazardous sub-

stance for each location reported;  
(N) The total amount transported to the facility;  
(O) The total amount transported from the facility;  
(P) The total estimated number of days the hazardous 

substance was on-site;  
(Q) The type of container the substance is stored in;  
(R) The pressure and temperature at which the substance is 

stored;  
(S) The primary and secondary hazard classification for each 

reportable hazardous substance;  
(T) The Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) number, if known;  
(U) The four-digit United Nations (UN) or North American 

(NA) number, if known;  
(V) The EPA Pesticide Registration number if applicable; and  
(W) The storage location;  
(e) Upon request of the Office of State Fire Marshal, covered 

employers, owners, and operators must provide Material Safety 
Data Sheets (MSDS);  

(f) Other information that may be requested by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal in order to meet the intent of The Community 
Right-to-Know and Protection Act.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(1) & 453.317(2) 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1994, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-
15-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, 
cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 
1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 1-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-14 

837-085-0100 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Substantive 
Changes 

(1) Covered employers, owners, and operators must notify the 
Office of State Fire Marshal whenever a substantive change 

occurs. This notification must be made within 30 days of the sub-
stantive change on a form provided or approved by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal.  

(2) The occurrence of any of the following events is a substan-
tive change and must be reported:  

(a) A covered employer, owner or operator has become 
exempt from reporting requirements;  

(b) A covered employer, owner or operator who was previously 
surveyed and placed in the inactive files because they had no 
reportable quantities now has reportable quantities of hazardous 
substances on site;  

(c) A hazardous substance not previously reported is introduced 
at the facility;  

(d) An increase in the maximum quantity reporting range to a 
higher quantity reporting range than previously reported;  

(e) The reported location of a reportable hazardous substance 
has changed and it is now located in another building at the same 
site or it has been moved 300 feet or more from its previously 
reported location within the same building or it has been moved to 
a different floor level;  

(f) A change of mailing or site address has occurred;  
(g) A change of emergency contact person has occurred;  
(h) A change of phone numbers has occurred;  
(i) A change of ownership or business name has occurred; or 
(j) The facility is no longer in business.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1994, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-
15-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, 
cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0110 
Record Keeping Requirements 

(1) Covered employers, owners, and operators must maintain 
complete and accurate records of each hazardous substance they 
manufacture, generate, use, store, possess or dispose of:  

(a) These records must be maintained for a period of three cal-
endar years;  

(b) Copies of these records must be kept at the facility for 
which they apply.  

EXCEPTION: Records for facilities and/or remote sites, where the cov-
ered employer, owner or operator is not set up to maintain such records, 
may be maintained at another of their facilities within the state.  

(c) Hazardous substance records include, but are not limited 
to:  

(A) Hazardous Substance Information Surveys 
(B) Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDSs);  
(C) Invoice and purchase records;  
(D) Receiving and shipping papers;  
(E) Bills of lading;  
(F) Production records;  
(G) Waste/recycling records; and  
(H) Inventory/dispensing records.  
(I) Risk Management Plan if facility is required to create one 

by the Environmental Protection Agency.  
(2) Covered employers, owners, and operators must maintain 

copies of Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty 
Assessment Orders issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal:  

(a) Copies of Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final 
Penalty Assessment Orders must be maintained for a period of five 
years;  

(b) These copies must be kept with the covered employer, 
owner or operator’s Hazardous Substance Information Survey;  

(3) Covered employers, owners, and operators must, upon 
request, make records information available and provide copies of 
those records to the Office of State Fire Marshal.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.406 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, 
cert. ef. 2-1-10
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837-085-0120 
Application for an Exemption 

(1) Any covered employer, owner or operator may apply for 
an exemption from all or part of the reporting requirements of the 
Community Right-to-Know and Protection Act and its administrative 
rules.  

(2) An application for an exemption must be in writing and 
contain the following:  

(a) The name and mailing address of the person making appli-
cation;  

(b) The site address and location of the facility;  
(c) The facility number assigned by the Office of State Fire 

Marshal;  
(d) The rule or law, identified by number, from which the 

exemption is sought; and  
(e) The basis for the request.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 - 453.372 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-
10 

837-085-0130 
Administrative Action on Exemption Application 

(1) After an exemption request is determined to be complete 
and procedurally adequate, as provided in OAR 837-085-0120(2), 
the Office of State Fire Marshal shall review the request. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal may conduct an on-site 
review of the facility involved in the requested exemption. 

(3) An application for an exemption shall be granted only if 
the applicant demonstrates and the Office of State Fire Marshal 
determines that the exemption requested is consistent with all 
applicable ORSs and OARs. 

(4) An exemption, if granted, will not be the basis for 
amending or withdrawing a previously submitted survey, Notice of 
Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order, or 
hazardous substance fee not under contest. 

(5) If an exemption is granted, written notification shall be 
given to the employer, owner or operator specifying the terms of 
the exemption. 

(6) Affected applicants may appeal the decision on an exemp-
tion application in accordance with OAR 837-085-0330. 

(7) If an exemption is denied, a written notice of denial shall 
be issued to the requesting employer, owner or operator. The notice 
will: 

(a) Give reasons for the denial; 
(b) Notify the applicant of their appeal rights. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 - 453.372 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02 

837-085-0140 
Trade Secrets — General 

(1) A covered employer, owner or operator may request to 
withhold the specific chemical identity, including the chemical 
name and other specific identification of a reportable substance, 
from the Hazardous Substance Information Survey provided that:  

(a) The claim that the information withheld is a trade secret 
can be supported with the burden of proof placed on the covered 
employer, owner or operator;  

(b) The information required by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal concerning the properties and effects of reportable sub-
stances are disclosed; and  

(c) The specific chemical identity is made available to health 
professionals in accordance with OAR 837-085-0170(1) and (2).  

(2) Any claim of trade secret by a covered employer, owner or 
operator must be made in writing and submitted at the time they 
return the Hazardous Substance Information Survey or a substantive 
change notice to the Office of State Fire Marshal.  

(3) A claim of trade secret by a covered employer, owner or 
operator may be recognized by the Office of State Fire Marshal as 
sufficient if the claim is substantiated by the Occupational Safety 

and Health Division of the Department of Consumer and Business 
Services or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 - 453.337 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0150 
Trade Secrets — Claim Submissions 

(1) To substantiate a trade secret claim, a covered employer, 
owner or operator must submit both of the following:  

(a) Hazardous Substance Information Survey with the generic 
name included and the information being claimed as Trade Secret 
deleted; and  

NOTE: Only the identity and percentage of the chemical components can 
be claimed as trade secrets.  
(b) A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) (as released to the 

public) for each chemical or formulation for which the covered 
employer is claiming trade secret protection.  

(2) Covered employers, owners, and operators must submit a 
justification to support their trade secret claims. In order to sub-
stantiate a claim, the following must be provided for each chemical 
or formulation for which trade secret protection is being requested:  

(a) The specific measures the covered employer has taken to 
safeguard the confidentiality of any chemical identity claimed as 
trade secret;  

(b) Whether the chemical identity has been disclosed to any 
person not an employee of the covered employer or of a local, 
state, or federal government entity, who has not signed a confiden-
tiality agreement requiring the person to refrain from disclosing the 
chemical identity to others;  

(c) A list of all local, state and federal government entities to 
which the covered employer has disclosed the specific chemical 
identity. For each, indicate whether or not a confidentiality claim 
was asserted for the chemical identity, and whether or not the gov-
ernment entity denied that claim;  

(d) The measures that have been taken with respect to distri-
bution of the product to maintain trade secrets;  

(e) Whether discovery of trade secret information is feasible 
by sophisticated chemical analysis (“reverse engineering”). The 
covered employer, owner or operator must provide evidence to 
support their answer;  

(f) An explanation of why the covered employer owner or 
operator’s use of the substance would be valuable information to 
their competitors;  

(g) An analysis of the nature of the harm to the covered 
employer, owner or operator’s competitive position that would 
likely result from disclosure of the specific chemical identity, 
including an estimate of the potential loss in sales and profitability; 
and  

(h) Whether the substance, or the covered employer, owner or 
operator’s use of it, is subject to any U.S. patent of which the 
covered employer is aware. If so, identify the patent and explain 
why this does not protect the covered employer from competitive 
harm.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 - 453.337 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0160 
Trade Secrets — Determinations and Response 

The Office of State Fire Marshal shall respond in writing to 
the requesting employer, owner or operator for trade secret 
protection within 60 days after the request has been received: 

(1) The response shall advise the requesting employer, owner 
or operator as to whether or not trade secret protection is granted. 

(2) The employer, owner or operator will be advised of disclo-
sure requirements if trade secret protection is granted. 

(3) If trade secret protection is denied, the Office of State Fire 
Marshal shall provide the employer, owner or operator with the cri-
teria used to make the determination. 

(4) If trade secret protection is denied, the Office of State Fire 
Marshal shall state the reasons why. 

Chapter 837     Department of State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2016 Edition                                                                                      23 - 381                                                                                         (11-15-15)



(5) The employer, owner or operator will be advised of the 
appeal rights. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 - 453.337 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94 

837-085-0170 
Trade Secrets — Disclosures 

(1) Where a treating physician, registered nurse, or emergency 
medical technician determines that a medical emergency exists and 
the specific identity of a chemical substance or waste is necessary 
for emergency or first-aid treatment, the covered employer, owner 
or operator must immediately disclose the specific identity of a 
trade secret chemical to that treating physician, registered nurse, or 
emergency medical technician regardless of a written statement of 
need or a confidentiality agreement. The covered employer may 
require a written statement of need and a confidentiality agreement 
in accordance with the provisions of sections (2) and (3) of this rule 
as soon as the circumstances permit.  

(2) In a non-emergency situation, a covered employer must, 
upon request, disclose a specific chemical identity, otherwise per-
mitted to be withheld under OAR 837-085-0140(1), to a health 
professional, if:  

(a) The request is in writing on a form approved by the Office 
of State Fire Marshal;  

(b) The request describes, with reasonable detail, one or more 
of the following community health needs for information:  

(A) To assess the hazards of the chemical substance or waste 
to which emergency service personnel will be exposed;  

(B) To provide medical treatment to exposed employees, 
emergency service personnel or members of the community;  

(C) To select or assess appropriate protective equipment for 
potential exposures;  

(D) To design or assess engineering controls or other protective 
measures for emergency situations.  

(c) The request explains, in detail, why the disclosure of the 
specific chemical identity is essential and that, in lieu thereof, the 
disclosure of the following information would not enable the health 
professional to provide the services described in subsection (2)(b) 
of this rule:  

(A) The properties and effects of the chemical;  
(B) Measures for controlling community exposure to the 

chemical; and 
(C) Methods of diagnosing and treating harmful exposures to 

the chemical.  
(d) The request includes a description of the procedures to be 

used to maintain the confidentiality of the disclosed information; 
and  

(e) The health professional, and the covered employer, owner 
or operator agree in a written confidentiality agreement that the 
health professional will not use the trade secret information for any 
purpose other than the health needs asserted and will not release 
the information under any circumstances other than to the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, except as authorized by the terms of the agree-
ment or by the covered employer.  

(3) The confidentiality agreement authorized by section (1) of 
this rule:  

(a) May restrict the use of the information for the purposes as 
indicated in the written statement of need;  

(b) May provide for appropriate legal remedies in the event of 
a breach of the agreement, including stipulation of a reasonable 
pre-estimate of likely damages; and  

(c) May not include requirements for the posting of a penalty 
bond.  

(4) If the health professional receiving the trade secret infor-
mation decides that there is a need to disclose it to the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, the covered employer who provided the infor-
mation shall be informed by the health professional prior to, or at 
the same time as, such disclosure. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 - 453.337 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef.  
2-1-10 

837-085-0180 
Trade Secrets — Refusal to Disclose 

(1) If the covered employer denies a written request, submitted 
in accordance with OAR 837-85-170(2), for disclosure of a 
specific chemical identity, the denial must:  

(a) Be provided to the health professional within 30 days of 
the request;  

(b) Be in writing;  
(c) State the specific reasons why the request is being denied;  
(d) Include evidence to support the claim that the specific 

chemical identity is a trade secret; and  
(e) Explain in detail how alternative information may satisfy 

the specific planning or health need without revealing the specific 
chemical identity.  

(2) The health professional whose request for information, as 
authorized by OAR chapter 837, division 085, is denied may refer 
the request and the covered employer’s written denial to the Office 
of State Fire Marshal for consideration.  

(3) When the health professional refers the denial to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal, the State Fire Marshal shall consider 
the evidence to determine if:  

(a) The covered employer has supported the claim that the 
specific chemical identity is a trade secret;  

(b) The health professional has supported the claim that there 
is a medical, planning, or health need for the information; and  

(c) The health professional has demonstrated adequate means 
to protect the confidentiality.  

(4) If a covered employer, owner or operator demonstrates to 
the Office of State Fire Marshal that the execution of a confidentiality 
agreement would not provide sufficient protection against the 
potential harm from the unauthorized disclosure of trade secret 
data, the State Fire Marshal may issue such orders or impose such 
additional limitations or conditions upon the disclosure of the 
requested chemical information as may be appropriate to assure 
that the health or planning services are provided without undue risk 
of harm to the covered employer.  

(5) If the Office of State Fire Marshal determines that the spe-
cific chemical identity requested under OAR 837-085-0140 is not a 
bona fide trade secret, or that it is a trade secret but the requesting 
health professional has a legitimate need for the information, has 
executed a written confidentiality agreement and has shown 
adequate means to protect the confidentiality of the information, 
the covered employer, owner or operator must provide the requested 
information.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 - 453.337 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-
05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0190 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Availability of 
Survey Information 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall provide hazardous 
substance information furnished by covered employers to:  

(a) Each county public health authority;  
(b) Each local fire district; and  
(c) Each county emergency manager.  
(2) Upon request, the Office of State Fire Marshal shall also 

provide information to the following agencies located in the geo-
graphic jurisdiction of the local fire district:  

(a) Emergency service personnel responding to a hazardous 
substance incident;  

(b) Health professionals;  
(c) Law enforcement agencies;  
(d) Local emergency management agencies; and  
(e) Any public or private safety agency administering an 

emergency telephone system pursuant to ORS 401.710 to 401.790.  
(3) If the Office of State Fire Marshal considers the information 

essential to the safe control of an emergency, the Office of State 
Fire Marshal may distribute the information to persons outside the 
jurisdiction of the fire district.  
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(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall provide, upon 
request, access to reportable substance information, except for 
trade secret restrictions identified in OAR 837-085-0140, to any 
agency of this state.  

(5) Site specific information regarding the exact amount and 
the exact storage location of reportable substances provided to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal shall be treated as confidential:  

(a) The Office of State Fire Marshal may require written state-
ment of need and a written confidentiality agreement to be 
executed by the requesting agency prior to the release of confidential 
information; and  

(b) During emergency situations, the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal may immediately release confidential information and require 
requesting agencies to complete a written statement of need as 
soon as circumstances permit.  

(6) The public shall be permitted access to hazardous substance 
information that is not otherwise protected as a trade secret or is 
designated as confidential under OAR 837-085-0140(1) and ORS 
453.332(3) and (4): 

(a) Public access to Hazardous Substance Information Survey 
information may be provided through the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal in Salem;  

(b) If, in the discretion of the Office of State Fire Marshal, it is 
necessary to protect the public safety and welfare, the Office of 
State Fire Marshal may require a person requesting information to 
complete an approved form which includes their name, address and 
proof of identity. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.322 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0200 
Compliance Audit Program — General 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall provide a compliance 
audit program to assist and ensure covered employers, owners, and 
operators comply with the statutes, regulations, rules, standards or 
orders of the Community Right-to-Know and Protection Act.  

(2) The compliance audit program shall include, but is not 
limited to:  

(a) Providing training, guidance and assistance to covered 
employers, owners, and operators and the community;  

(b) Evaluating and auditing facilities where hazardous sub-
stances are likely to be manufactured, generated, used, stored, pos-
sessed, or disposed of;  

(c) Issuing Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final 
Penalty Assessment Orders for noncompliance with the Community 
Right-to-Know and Protection Act and administrative rules;  

(d) Issuing correction orders;  
(e) Assessing civil monetary penalties for noncompliance;  
(f) Holding informal conferences with covered employers, 

owners, and operators or their representatives to discuss notices of 
noncompliance, penalty assessments, survey reporting requirements 
or correction orders without limiting or extending their appeal 
rights;  

(g) Granting or denying requests for extensions of the time set 
by correction orders; and  

(h) Examining and auditing a covered employer, owner or 
operator’s hazardous substance information records.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8) 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-
05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0210  
Scheduling and Selection of Compliance Audits  

(1) Compliance audits may be conducted when the Office of 
State Fire Marshal deems it necessary to confirm or validate Haz-
ardous Substance Information Surveys.  

(2) The reasons the Office of State Fire Marshal would deem 
it necessary to conduct an audit include, but are not limited to, the 
following:  

(a) A covered employer, owner or operator fails to submit 
their survey;  

(b) A review of survey records show reporting errors may 
have been made;  

(c) Information is received that indicates reporting errors may 
have been made;  

(d) A covered employer, owner or operator requests an audit 
be conducted;  

(e) A North American Industry Classification System code 
review indicates misreporting may exist;  

(f) To verify survey information.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8) 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-
05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0220 
Right of Entry 

(1) In accordance with ORS 453.317(8), a compliance auditor 
has the right to enter and audit any facility of a covered employer, 
owner or operator during normal working hours or at other reason-
able times.  

(2) If the covered employer, owner or operator or their repre-
sentative are not present at the facility, an audit will not be 
conducted, except when:  

(a) Executing an inspection warrant;  
(b) The covered employer, owner or operator has been 

notified that the audit is to be conducted.  
(3) Compliance auditors will identify themselves as represen-

tatives of the State Fire Marshal and, as necessary, present their 
credentials to the covered employer, owner or operator or their rep-
resentative to establish the right of entry.  

(4) The compliance auditor will not sign any form of liability 
release or agree to waive any rights of the agency.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8) 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-
10 

837-085-0230 
Compliance Audit Warrants 

If a compliance auditor is denied entry, the Office of State Fire 
Marshal may obtain an inspection warrant, as provided for in ORS 
476.155.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8) 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-
10 

837-085-0240 
Compliance Audit Activities 

During a compliance audit, the compliance auditor is autho-
rized, but not limited to, the following activities: 

(1) Conduct an audit without unreasonably disrupting opera-
tions in the facility; 

(2) Conduct a physical audit of the facility and all of its oper-
ations; 

(3) Examine and obtain copies of hazardous substance infor-
mation records; 

(4) Inform the covered employer, owner or operator of 
reporting errors; and 

(5) Conduct interviews and receive information from anyone 
in the facility. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8) 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94 

837-085-0250 
Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty 
Assessment Order  

(1) If, during an audit initiated by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal, it is concluded that a covered employer, owner or operator has 
not complied with the Community Right-to-Know and Protection 
Act and its administrative rules, a Notice of Noncompliance and 
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Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order will be issued to the 
covered employer, owner or operator which shall:  

(a) State the name of the covered employer, owner or operator, 
location of the facility, and the date of the compliance audit. The 
period of time the employer, owner or operator is in noncompliance 
will be included;  

(b) Describe how the covered employer, owner or operator 
was in noncompliance, such description to take the form of 
findings of fact and inclusion of law and rule;  

(c) State the classification of noncompliance;  
(d) Identify the rule or order the covered employer, owner or 

operator failed to comply with and any other statute or rules 
involved;  

(e) Establish a compliance date if compliance is not achieved 
by the facility prior to issuing a Notice of Noncompliance and Pro-
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order;  

(f) State the total dollar amount of penalties assessed and the 
amount subject to suspension;  

(g) Inform the covered employer, owner or operator of the 
right to appeal the Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final 
Penalty Assessment Order and the compliance date; and  

(h) Notify the covered employer, owner or operator that the 
Office of State Fire Marshal has designated its file in this matter as 
the record in this case and that the Notice of Noncompliance and 
Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order becomes final if a 
written appeal is not filed within 30 days of its service.  

(2) The Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/ Final Penalty 
Assessment Order shall be served on the covered employer, owner 
or operator in person or by:  

(a) Regular mail, postage prepaid, true, exact and full copies 
when penalties for noncompliance have been suspended in full;  

(b) Certified or registered mail, postage prepaid, true, exact 
and full copies when penalties for noncompliance have been 
assessed.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1995, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-
15-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-99; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. 
ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0260 
Facility Response to Notices of Noncompliance 

(1) After receipt of a Notice of Noncompliance and 
Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order, the covered employer, 
owner or operator must submit all information requested by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal on or before the established compliance 
date.  

(2) The above requirements shall not limit a covered employer’s 
appeal rights. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-
05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 6-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. 
ef. 1-1-15 

837-085-0270 
Penalty Criteria for Noncompliance — General 

(1) Issuance of any penalty is subject to appeal in accordance 
with OAR 837-085-0330 through 837-085-0370.  

(2) Any covered employer, owner or operator found to be in 
noncompliance may be assessed a penalty of up to a maximum of 
$1,000 per day for each day of noncompliance in accordance with 
ORS 453.357.  

(a) The number of days the covered employer owner or 
operator is considered in noncompliance shall be based on the total 
number of days that pass between the date compliance was 
required to the date compliance is achieved.  

(b) Compliance shall be considered achieved when the 
required correct and accurate information is received by the Office 
of State Fire Marshal or in the case of noncompliance with OAR 
837-85-0170(1) or (2) the required information is received by the 
requesting health professional. 

(c) The daily maximum penalty is calculated by dividing the 
total penalties assessed by the number of days it takes the covered 
employer, owner or operator to achieve compliance.  

(3) The noncompliance classification established in OAR 
837-085-0280 shall be used to determine the penalty, if any, that 
will be assessed. 

(4) Covered employers, owners or operators found to be in 
noncompliance in more than one Noncompliance Class (OAR 837-
085-0280) shall have a penalty calculated and assessed for each 
Noncompliance Class.  

(5) At any time prior to a Notice of Noncompliance and Pro-
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order becoming final, the Office 
of State Fire Marshal may modify the notice to reflect the correct 
noncompliance classification or penalty assessment.  

(6) Nothing in these rules shall affect the ability of the Office 
of State Fire Marshal to modify penalties through a Stipulated 
Final Order.  

(7) Penalty suspensions may be made in accordance with 
OAR 837-085-0310.  

(8) Daily penalties shall be assessed in accordance with OAR 
837-085-0305.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-
05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 6-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. 
ef. 1-1-15 

837-085-0280 
Noncompliance Classes 

For the purpose of determining the penalties that may be 
assessed for noncompliance, the following Noncompliance Classes 
are established:  

(1) Class I Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners, and 
operators who fail to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal they 
have reportable quantities of hazardous substances, or fail to 
submit their Hazardous Substance Information Survey or substantive 
changes when required shall be considered in Class I Noncompli-
ance.  

(2) Class II Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners, and 
operators who fail to maintain records in accordance with OAR 
837-085-0110; or when requested by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal, fail to provide an MSDS or other hazardous substance infor-
mation not elsewhere classified, who report all their hazardous 
substances but fail to submit the information required by OAR 
837-085-0090 or who report the information incorrectly, shall be 
considered in Class II Noncompliance. Exceptions: Failing to 
submit or submitting incorrect information on the following will 
not be considered Class II Noncompliance or any other class of 
noncompliance: 

(a) North American Industry Classification System; 
(b) Dun and Bradstreet Number; 
(c) Send to Attention of; 
(d) Department or Division; 
(e) Written Emergency Plan and, if so, the location; 
(f) Automatic Fire Suppression System; 
(g) NFPA 704 Placarding; 
(h) Other Types of Placarding.; 
(i) UN or NA Numbers 
(3) Class III Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners, 

and operators who, when submitting their Hazardous Substance 
Information Survey, substantive changes or survey corrections, 
fails to report the hazardous substance information correctly, shall 
be considered in Class III Noncompliance.  

(4) Class IV Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners, 
and operators who when submitting their hazardous substance 
information survey, substantive changes or survey corrections, fail 
to report all reportable hazardous substances or fail to report the 
correct maximum daily quantity shall be considered in Class IV 
Noncompliance.  

(5) Class V Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners, and 
operators who intentionally misreport on their Hazardous Substance 
Information Survey, substantive changes, survey corrections or 
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records of hazardous substances or fail to provide health profes-
sionals with any pertinent hazardous substance information, in 
accordance with OAR 837-085-0170, shall be considered in Class 
V Noncompliance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-
99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, 
cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 1-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-9-14; OSFM 6-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

837-085-0290 
Penalties for Class I, II and III Noncompliance 

(1) Covered employers, owners or operators identified as 
being in Class I, II, or III Noncompliance shall be assessed a 
penalty for each Noncompliance Class for which they are found to 
be in noncompliance. The penalty assessments shall be made using 
the penalty schedule set forth in subsection 2 of this section. 
Exception: If penalties are assessed for Class I non-compliance 
then no other penalties will be assessed for any of the other classes 
of non-compliance. 

(2) Class I, II and III Noncompliance Penalty Schedule:  

(a) Class I — $1000. 

(b) Class II — $150. 

(c) Class III — $200. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-
05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 6-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. 
ef. 1-1-15 

837-085-0300 
Penalties for Class IV Noncompliance 

(1) A penalty shall be calculated for unreported radioactive 
substances, radioactive wastes, explosives or highly toxic materials. 
These substances are required to be reported at the “Lower 
Reporting Levels” (LRL) of five gallons, ten pounds or 20 cubic 
feet. Penalties for all Extremely Hazardous Substances shall be cal-
culated at the LRL.  

(2) A separate penalty shall be calculated for all other unre-
ported hazardous substances. These substances are required to be 
reported at the “Upper Reporting Levels” (URL) of 500 gallons, 
pounds, or cubic feet.  

(3) For the purpose of determining individual substances, 
Material Safety Data Sheets will be used.  

(4) A penalty determination shall be made for Lower Reporting 
Levels (LRL) and Upper Reporting Levels (URL) substances using 
the following criteria:  

(a) When the facility fails to report any number of substances 
required to be reported at the LRL, a penalty of $425 will be 
assessed. 

(b) When the facility fails to report any number of substances 
required to be reported at the URL, a penalty of $225 will be 
assessed. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, 
cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 5-2013, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-13; OSFM 6-2014, f. 12-22-
14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

837-085-0305 
Penalties for Class V Noncompliance 

Covered employers, owners or operators identified as being in 
Class V Noncompliance shall be assessed a $1000 penalty for each 
day they are in noncompliance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, 
cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 6-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

837-085-0310 
Penalty Suspensions 

(1) Penalties assessed for Class I, II, III and IV Noncompliance 
will be suspended in accordance with the following criteria:  

(a) To receive a penalty suspension covered employers, 
owners or operators receiving a Notice of Noncompliance and Pro-
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order must comply with all the 
noncompliance issues identified in the notice.  

(b) Compliance must be achieved no later than the established 
compliance date set forth in the notice.  

(c) Penalty suspensions will be calculated for each class of 
noncompliance identified in the Notice of Noncompliance and Pro-
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order.  

(d) Penalty suspensions will be calculated using the Penalty 
Suspension Schedule set forth in subsection 3 of this section.  

(2) If a covered employer, owner or operator is found to be in 
repeat noncompliance with in a three year period of time the 
amount of penalty suspended shall be reduced based on the 
instance of the repeat noncompliance.  

(3) Penalty Suspension Schedule: 
(a) Instance — Amount Suspended. 
(b) 1st — 100%. 
(c) 2nd — 50%. 
(d) 3rd — 0%. 
(4) Penalty suspensions will not be made on Class V Noncom-

pliance penalty assessments. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-
05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10; OSFM 6-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. 
ef. 1-1-15 

837-085-0320 
Payment of Penalties 

(1) All civil penalties become due and owing ten days after 
the Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assess-
ment Order becomes final. 

(2) If payment is not received within ten days after the order 
becomes final, it may be docketed as a judgment as provided by 
law.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-
05 

837-085-0330 
Appeals Process — General 

(1) Any person directly affected may appeal, in part or in 
total, Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assess-
ment Order and decisions related to the application for exemption. 

(2) Any person directly affected may participate in the appeals 
process which includes, but is not limited to: 

(a) An informal conference to discuss, consider and determine 
if there is a basis for informal disposition of an appeal by 
stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order, default or other 
means; or 

(b) A formal hearing before a hearings officer where the laws, 
rules and evidence are presented and considered and a proposed 
opinion and order is issued. 

(3) The appeals process shall comply with the requirements of 
the Administrative Procedures Act (APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725, 
unless specifically addressed in these rules. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94 

837-085-0340 
Filing an Appeal 

(1) Appeals must be filed in writing, within 30 days following:  
(a) The issuance of Notice of Noncompliance and 

Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order;  
(b) Issuance of decision related to an application for exemption.  
(2) Appeals must be sent to the Office of State Fire Marshal 

and must include:  
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(a) The name, address and telephone number of the person 

making the appeal;  

(b) The facility’s name and address;  

(c) The facility number assigned to the firm by the Office of 

State Fire Marshal;  

(d) The Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty 

Assessment Order number and amount of penalty for which the 

appeal is made; and  

(e) The basis upon which the appeal is being made and the 

specific defense relied upon.  

(3) The filing of an appeal shall stay payment of penalties 

until the Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed Final Penalty 

Assessment Order or an Opinion and Order become final.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 

Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef.  

2-1-10

837-085-0350 
Informal Conference 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal will provide an opportunity 
for a person to discuss their appeal informally. An informal confer-
ence may be requested and held prior to or in lieu of a formal 
hearing.  

(2) An informal conference concerning survey reporting 
requirements, Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty 
Assessment Order shall not extend the 30 days allowed for filing 
appeals.  

(3) The informal conference may be used to:  
(a) Clarify requirements of the Community Right-to-Know 

and Protection Act;  
(b) Discuss the basis for any Notice of Noncompliance and 

Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order;  
(c) Discuss correction dates;  
(d) Clarify the wording and meaning of the Notice of Non-

compliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order;  
(e) Improve a person’s understanding of the Community 

Right-to-Know and Protection Act;  
(f) Correct errors in a Notice of Noncompliance and 

Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order or penalty;  
(g) Narrow issues of concern; or  
(h) Arrive at the basis for an informal disposition of an appeal  
(4) As the result of an informal conference, the Office of State 

Fire Marshal may amend, withdraw, extend, delete or reduce a 
Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment 
Order, for good cause.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 5-2005, f. 3-31-05, cert. ef. 4-1-
05; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-10 

837-085-0360 
Formal Hearing 

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal will arrange for a 
hearings officer to conduct a formal hearing if it is deemed that the 
issues being appealed cannot be resolved informally. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal will set a date, time and 
location for the formal hearing. 

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal will notify, by letter, the 
person filing an appeal or their designated representative of the 
date, time, location and hearings officer conducting the formal 
hearing. 

(4) The hearings officer will hear the case and render a 
proposed Opinion and Order, including recommended findings of 
fact and conclusion of law, according to the Administrative Proce-
dures Act (APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94 

837-085-0370 
Manifest Injustice 

(1) To prevent a manifest injustice, if a timely appeal has not 
been filed, the Office of State Fire Marshal, at the State Fire Mar-
shal’s own discretion or upon request from the affected employer, 
owner or operator, may vacate or amend the Community Right-to-
Know reporting requirements, Notice of Noncompliance and Pro-
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order for a facility. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal may refer a matter arising 
under this rule to a hearings officer for a formal hearing or a 
regional appeals advisory board. 

(3) All requests by an employer, owner or operator for consid-
eration based on a manifest injustice shall be in writing and contain 
a statement indicating the basis of their request. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94 
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837-085-0380 
Incident Reporting System 

(1) Emergency service personnel responding to an incident of 
threatened or actual injury to a human, wildlife, domestic animal, 
or in which damage to the environment, or any property loss occurs 
resulting from a chemical substance or waste incident must make a 
written report of the incident to the Office of State Fire Marshal:  

(a) This report must be on a form approved by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal;  

(b) Only one written incident report for each incident is 
required. Responsibility for completing the written report shall be 
in the following order:  

(A) Where fire department units have responded to the 
incident, the fire department having jurisdiction shall be responsible 
for completing and forwarding the written report;  

(B) Where no fire department unit has responded to the 
incident and where one or more law enforcement agency is at the 
scene, the first law enforcement agency to have arrived at the scene 
shall be responsible for completing and forwarding the written 
report;  

(C) Where no fire department unit or law enforcement agency 
has responded to the incident and where health professionals, 
including emergency medical technicians or ambulance personnel, 
are at the scene, the first health professional to arrive at the scene 
shall be responsible for completing and forwarding the written 
report; and  

(D) Where no fire department unit, law enforcement agency 
or health professional has responded to the incident, any other 
emergency service agency, including agencies of this state, who are 
at the scene shall confer and determine who shall be responsible for 
completing and forwarding the written report.  

(2) The written report required under section (1) of this rule 
should be submitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal no later 
than ten working days after the incident occurs.  

(3) The following incidents are exempted from the reporting 
requirements of section (1) of this rule:  

(a) Motor fuels which are spilled in quantities of less than 42 
gallons from a vehicle, unless it enters a waterway; or is determined 
to endanger the public safety or immediate or surrounding environ-
ment, including groundwater; or  

(b) Sewage overflows; or  
(c) Structure fires or other emergencies where hazardous sub-

stances are involved as exposures, if the quantities exposed are less 
than 42 gallons. This means that a Hazardous Materials Incident 
Report would not be required for a structure fire or other emergency 
if consumer quantities of hazardous substances did not directly 
relate to the cause of the emergency or to injuries or death. If these 
consumer quantities caused the incident or contributed to an injury 
or death, a written Oregon State Fire Marshal Hazardous Materials 
Incident Report would be required. As with any fire, a State Fire 
Marshal Fire Report is required.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-2010, f. 1-27-10, cert. ef. 2-1-
10 

837-085-0390 
Annual Summaries 

The Office of State Fire Marshal shall annually summarize all 
incidents reported and information received from the Hazardous 
Substance Information Survey. Copies of these summaries will be 
distributed at no charge to: 

(1) Governor; 
(2) Legislative Assembly; 
(3) Department of Environmental Quality; 
(4) Workers’ Compensation Division; 
(5) Department of Transportation; 
(6) Health Division of the Department of Human Resources; 
(7) Environmental Health Sciences Center at Oregon State 

University; 
(8) Poison Control Center at Oregon Health Sciences Univer-

sity; 

(9) Oregon Emergency Management Division of the Depart-
ment of State Police; 

(10) Oregon State Police; 
(11) Every public library as defined in ORS 357.400; 
(12) Public fire departments; 
(13) Local law enforcement agencies. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02 

DIVISION 90 

HAZARDOUS MATERIALS 

Hazardous Substance Possession Fees 

837-090-1000 
Coverage 

(1) Persons with facilities covered by ORS 453.317 and OAR 
837-090-1000 through 837-090-1045 shall be subject to a fee 
assessment for those hazardous substances classified as minimally, 
generally, very hazardous, or subject only to a registration fee.  

(2) Each facility site shall have a separate fee assessed based 
upon the amounts and classification of hazardous substances pos-
sessed.  

(3) Hazardous Substance Possession Fees assessed by local 
governments based on quantity or the Hazardous Substance Infor-
mation Survey shall be billed and collected only through contract 
with the Office of State Fire Marshal.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.396 - 453.414 
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02 

837-090-1005 
General 

(1) Annually any person possessing a hazardous substance at 
a covered facility in this state shall pay a fee for each facility site.  

(2) The annual fee shall be due following the requirement for 
submission of a Hazardous Substance Survey. See OAR 837-090-
1000 to 837-090-1045.  

(3) The annual fee shall be in accordance with the fee 
schedules in OAR 837-090-1030 unless the substance is subject 
only to a registration fee.  

(4) The assessment of a Hazardous Substance Possession Fee 
does not relieve any person from any other duty or responsibility 
imposed by law or rule.  

(5) The Hazardous Substance Possession Fee imposed by 
these rules is in addition to all other state, county, or municipal fees 
on hazardous substances.  

(6) Local government Hazardous Substance Possession Fees 
shall be in accordance with fee schedules established by local gov-
ernment rule or ordinance.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.398 - 353.402 
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02 

837-090-1010 
Effective Dates 

(1) OAR 837-090-1000 through 837-090-1045 are effective 
upon date of filing.  

(2) Local government Hazardous Substance Possession Fee 
programs shall be in compliance with these rules.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.396 - 453.414 
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02 
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837-090-1015 
Definitions 

(1) “Aerosol” means any material which is dispensed from its 
container as a mist, spray or foam by propellant under pressure.  

(2) “Blasting Agent” means any material or mixture consisting 
of a fuel and oxidizer intended for blasting, not otherwise classified 
as an explosive, in which none of the ingredients are classified as 
explosives, provided that the finished product as mixed and 
packaged for use or shipment cannot be detonated by means of a 
No. 8 test blasting cap when unconfined. Materials or mixtures 
classified as nitrocarbonitrates by the Department of Transportation 
regulations shall be included in this definition.  

(3) “Carcinogen” means any substance that causes the devel-
opment of cancerous growths in living tissue. A chemical is con-
sidered to be a carcinogen if:  

(a) It has been evaluated by the International Agency for 
Research on Cancer (IARC) and found to be carcinogenic; or  

(b) It is listed as a carcinogen in the latest edition of the 
Annual Report on Carcinogens published by the National Toxicology 
Program (NTP); or  

(c) It is regulated by the Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (OSHA) as a carcinogen.  

(4) “Combustible Liquid” means any liquid having a flash 
point at or above 100° F. Combustible liquids shall be subdivided 
as follows:  

(a) Class II liquids shall include those having flash points at or 
above 100° F. and below 140° F.;  

(b) Class III-A liquids shall include those having flash points 
at or above 140° F. and below 200° F.;  

(c) Class III-B liquids shall include those having flash points 
at or above 200° F.  

(5) “Compressed Gas” means:  
(a) A gas or mixture of gases having, in a container, an 

absolute pressure exceeding 40 psi at 70° F.; or  
(b) A gas or mixture of gases having, in a container, an 

absolute pressure exceeding 104 psi at 130° F. regardless of the 
pressure at 70° F.; or  

(c) A liquid having a vapor pressure exceeding 40 psi at 100° 
F. as determined by U.F.C. Standard No. 9-5.  

(6) “Corrosive” means any chemical that causes visible 
destruction of, or irreversible alterations in, living tissue by 
chemical action at the site of contact. A chemical is considered to 
be corrosive if, when tested on the intact skin of albino rabbits by 
the method described in the U.S. Department of Transportation in 
Appendix A to CFR 49 Part 173, it destroys or changes irreversibly 
the structure of the tissue at the site of contact following an 
exposure period of four hours. This term shall not refer to action on 
inanimate surfaces.  

(7) “Corrosive Liquid” means any liquid which, when in 
contact with living tissue, will cause destruction or irreversible 
alteration of such tissue by chemical action. Examples include 
acid, alkaline or caustic materials.  

(8) “Cryogenic Fluids” means those fluids having a normal 
boiling point below 150° F. (See Table No. 75.102-B of the 
Uniform Fire Code).  

(9) “Cutaneous Hazard” means a substance that dames or 
causes sensitization of the dermal layer of the body.  

(10) “Department” means the Department of Revenue.  
(11) “Dust” means pulverized particles which, if mixed with 

air in the proper proportions, become explosive and may be ignited 
by a flame or spark or other source of ignition.  

(12) “Entity” means any individual, trust, firm, association, 
corporation, partnership, joint stock company, joint venture, public 
or municipal corporation, commission, political subdivision, the 
state or any agency or commission thereof, interstate body, and the 
Federal Government and any agency thereof.  

(13) “Explosive” means:  
(a) A chemical which causes a sudden, almost instantaneous 

release of pressure, gas and heat when subjected to sudden shock, 
pressure, or high temperatures; or  

(b) A material or chemical, other than a blasting agent, that is 
commonly used or intended to be used for the purpose of producing 
an explosive effect and is regulated by Article 77 of the Uniform 
Fire Code.  

(14) “Eye Hazard” means a substance that causes damage to 
the eyes, except those that cause damage by mechanical means.  

(15) “Facility” means all buildings, equipment, structures and 
other stationary items that are located on a single site or on con-
tiguous or adjacent sites and that are owned or operated by the 
same person or by any person who controls, is controlled by or 
under common control with such person.  

(16) “Fire Hazard” means any thing or act which increases or 
may cause an increase in the hazard or menace of fire to a greater 
degree than that customarily recognized as normal by persons in 
the public service regularly engaged in preventing, suppressing or 
extinguishing fire; or which may obstruct, delay, hinder or interfere 
with the operations of the fire department or the egress of 
occupants in the event of fire.  

(17) “Firework” means any combustible or explosive compo-
sition, or any substance or combination of substances, or device 
prepared for the purpose of producing a visible or audible effect by 
combustion, explosion, deflagration or detonation, and shall include 
blank cartridges, toy pistols, toy cannons, toy canes or toy guns in 
which explosives are used, firecrackers, torpedoes, sky-rockets, 
Roman candles, Daygo bombs, sparklers or other devices of like 
construction and any devices containing any explosive or flammable 
compound, or any tablet or other device containing an explosive 
substance, except that the term “fireworks” shall not include auto 
flares, paper caps containing not in excess of an average of 25/100 
of a grain of explosive content per cap and toy pistols, toy canes, 
toy guns or other devices for use of such caps.  

(18) “Fissile Materials” means radioisotopes which may 
undergo a nuclear fission reaction and are usually found only at 
reactor sites or as part of a nuclear weapon.  

(19) “Flammable Anesthetic” means a compressed gas which 
is flammable and administered as an anesthetic and shall include 
among others, cyclopropane, divinyl ether, ethyl chloride, ethyl 
ether and ethylene.  

(20) “Flammable Gas” means a gas which is flammable at a 
mixture of 13 percent or less (by volume) with air, or the 
flammable range with air is wider than 12 percent, regardless of the 
lower limit.  

(21) “Flammable Liquefied Gas” means a liquefied compressed 
gas which under the charged pressure is partially liquid at a tem-
perature of 70° F. and which is flammable.  

(22) “Flammable Liquid” means any liquid having a flash 
point below 100° F. and having a vapor pressure not exceeding 40 
pounds per square inch (absolute) at 100° F. Flammable liquids 
shall be subdivided as follows:  

(a) Class I-A shall include those having flash points below 73° 
F. and having a boiling point below 100° F.;  

(b) Class I-B shall include those having flash points below 73° 
F. and having a boiling point at or above 100° F.;  

(c) Class I-C shall include those having flash points at or 
above 73° F. and below 100° F.  

(23) “Flammable Solid” means a solid substance, other than 
one which is defined in Article 9 of the Uniform Fire Code as a 
blasting agent or explosive, that is liable to cause fire through 
friction or as a result of retained heat from manufacture, or which 
has an ignition temperature below 212° F., or which burns so vigor-
ously or persistently when ignited so as to create a serious hazard. 
Finely divided solid materials which when dispersed in air as a 
cloud may be ignited and cause an explosion are flammable solids.  

(24) “Generally Hazardous” means hazardous substances 
which present a hazard to public health, welfare or safety or the 
environment.  

(25) “Hazardous Substance” means:  
(a) Any substance or waste known to present a physical or 

health hazard to employees, emergency response personnel, or the 
public under normal conditions of use and/or during an emergency 
situation; or  
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(b) Any hazardous chemical which is required to have a Mate-
rial Safety Data Sheet pursuant to OAR 437, division 155, the 
Hazard Communication rules of the Oregon Occupational Safety 
and Health Division of the Department of Consumer and Business 
Services; or  

(c) Any radioactive substance as defined by ORS 453.005(7); 
or  

(d) Any radioactive waste as defined by ORS 469.300; or  
(e) Any substance or waste designated as hazardous by the 

Director of the Department of Insurance and Finance or the State 
Fire Marshal.  

(26) “Hematopoietic Toxin” means a substance which damages 
or disrupts the blood system.  

(27) “Hepatoxin” means a substance that causes damage to 
the liver.  

(28) “Highly Toxic Material” means a material which produces 
a lethal dose or lethal concentration which falls within any of the 
following categories:  

(a) A chemical that has a median lethal dose (LD50) of 50 
milligrams or less per kilogram of body weight when administered 
orally to albino rats weighing between 200 and 300 grams each;  

(b) A chemical that has a median lethal dose (LD50) of 200 
milligrams or less per kilogram of body weight when administered 
by continuous contact for 24 hours (or less if death occurs within 
24 hours) with the bare skin of albino rabbits weighing between 
two and three kilograms each;  

(c) A chemical that has a median lethal concentration (LC50) 
in air of 200 parts per million by volume or less of gas or vapor, or 
two milligrams per liter of less of mist, fume or dust, when admin-
istered by continuous inhalation for one hour (or less if death 
occurs within one hour) to albino rats weighing between 200 and 
300 grams each;  

(d) Mixture of these materials with ordinary materials, such as 
water, may not warrant a classification of highly toxic. While this 
system is basically simple in application, any hazard evaluation 
which is required for the precise categorization of this type of 
material shall be performed by experienced, technically competent 
persons.  

(29) “Licensed Vehicle” means a motorized vehicle licensed 
by the State of Oregon for travel using its own power on public 
highways.  

(30) “Hypergolic Materials” means any materials which are 
capable of igniting spontaneously upon contact with another sub-
stance.  

(31) “Highly Hazardous” means and is equivalent to very haz-
ardous. See section (56) of this rule.  

(32) “Liquefied Gas” means a gas that is received and stored 
as a liquid through the use of pressure and/or cryogenic conditions.  

(33) “Liquefied Petroleum Gas” means any material which is 
composed predominantly of the following hydrocarbons or mixtures 
of them: propane, propylene, butane (normal butane or isobutane) 
and butylenes.  

(34) “Material Safety Data Sheet” means written or printed 
material concerning a hazardous chemical which is prepared pur-
suant to rules OAR 437, division 2 (29 CFR 1910.1200), Subdivision 
Z, the Hazard Communication Rules of the Oregon OSHA Occu-
pational Safety and Health Division of the Department of Consumer 
and Business Services. 

(35) “Minimally Hazardous” means hazardous substances 
which present little hazard to public health, welfare, safety or the 
environment.  

(36) “Mutagen” means a substance that causes genetic (herita-
ble) changes in the DNA of chromosomes.  

(37) “Nephrotoxin” means a substance that is poisonous to the 
kidneys.  

(38) “Neurotoxin” means a substance that causes damage to 
the nervous system.  

(39) “Non-hazardous” means a substances which present no 
hazard to public health, welfare, safety or the environment.  

(40) “Organic Peroxide” means an organic compound that 
contains the bivalent -0-0- structure and which may be considered 

to be a structural derivative of hydrogen peroxide where one or 
both of the hydrogen atoms have been replaced by an organic 
radical. Organic peroxides may present an explosion hazard (deto-
nation or deflagration) or they may be shock sensitive. They may 
also decompose into various unstable compounds over an extended 
period of time.  

(41) “Oxidizer” means a chemical other than a blasting agent 
or explosive as defined in Article 9 of the Uniform Fire Code that 
initiates or promotes combustion in other materials, thereby causing 
fire either of itself or through the release of oxygen or other gases.  

(42) “Peroxide-Forming Chemical” means a chemical which, 
when exposed to air, will form explosive peroxides which are 
shock, pressure or heat sensitive.  

(43) “Person” means:  
(a) Any entity including, but not limited to, an individual, 

trust, firm, joint stock company, corporation, partnership, association, 
municipal corporation, political subdivision, interstate body, the 
state and any agency or commission thereof and the Federal Gov-
ernment and any agency thereof;  

(b) Any entity operating a facility that is included in one or 
more of the standard industrial classification categories identified 
by the State Fire Marshal under ORS 453.408(2).  

(44) “Pesticide” means any substance or mixture of substances, 
including fungicides, intended for preventing, destroying, repelling 
or mitigating any pest and any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for use as a plant regulator, defoliant or desiccant. 
Products defined as drugs in the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic 
Act are exempt.  

(45) “Possess” or “Possession” means the physical possession 
of a hazardous substance within the state.  

(46) “Pyrophoric” means a chemical that will spontaneously 
ignite in air at or below a temperature of 130°F (54.4°C).  

(47) “Quantity Range(s)” means a range of values assigned 
for reporting the quantities of hazardous materials. It is equivalent 
to the term Reporting Range.  

(48) “Radioactive Material” means any material or combination 
of materials that spontaneously emits ionizing radiation.  

(49) “Reactive Materials” means those materials which can 
enter into a hazardous chemical reaction with other stable or 
unstable materials.  

(50) “Registration Fee” means a Hazardous Substance Pos-
session Fee assessed in lieu of that set by a fee schedule.  

(51) “Respiratory Hazard” means those materials which cause 
damage to the respiratory system.  

(52) “Sensitizer” means a chemical that causes a substantial 
proportion of exposed people or animals to develop an allergic 
reaction in normal tissue after repeated exposure to the chemical.  

(53) “Toxic Material” means a material which produces a 
lethal dose or a lethal concentration within any of the following 
categories:  

(a) A chemical or substance that has a median lethal dose 
(LD50) of more than 50 milligrams per kilogram but not more than 
500 milligrams per kilogram of body weight when administered 
orally to albino rats weighing between 200 and 300 grams each;  

(b) A chemical or substance that has a median lethal dose 
(LD50) of more than 200 milligrams per kilogram but not more 
than 1,000 milligrams per kilogram of body weight when adminis-
tered by continuous contact for 24 hours (or less if death occurs 
within 20 hours) with the bare skin of albino rabbits weighing 
between 2 and 3 kilograms each;  

(c) A chemical or substance that has a median lethal concen-
tration (LC50) in air more than 200 parts per million but not more 
than 2,000 parts per million by volume of gas or vapor, or more 
than two milligrams per liter but not more than 20 milligrams per 
liter of mist, fume or dust, when administered by continuous 
inhalation for one hour (or less if death occurs within one hour) to 
albino rats weighing between 200 and 300 grams each.  

(54) “Unstable (reactive) Liquid” means a chemical which in 
the pure state, or as produced or transported, will vigorously poly-
merize, decompose, condense, or will become self-reactive under 
conditions of shock, pressure or temperature.  
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(55) “Unstable Materials” means those materials, other than 
explosives, which in the pure state or as commercially produced 
will vigorously polymerize, decompose, condense or become self-
reactive and undergo other violent chemical changes, including 
explosion, when exposed to heat, friction, shock, or in the absence 
of an inhibitor or in the presence of contaminants or in contact with 
non-compatible materials.  

(56) “Very Hazardous” means hazardous substances which 
present a significant hazard to public health, welfare or safety or 
the environment.  

(57) “Water-Reactive Materials” means materials which 
explode violently, react, produce flammable, toxic or other 
hazardous gases, or evolve enough heat to cause self-ignition or 
ignition of nearby combustibles upon exposure to water or moisture.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.396 - 453.414 
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 5-1994, f. 12-14-94, 
cert. ef. 12-15-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02 

837-090-1020 
Hazardous Classification 

(1) Hazardous substances shall be classified according to the 
hazard(s) they present.  

(2) Hazardous substances shall be classified as generally haz-
ardous unless they meet the criteria for classification as minimally 
hazardous, very hazardous or are subject only to a registration fee.  

(3) For purposes of the Hazardous Substance Possession Fee, 
the most hazardous classification that can be assigned to a 
substance will be used.  

(4) A hazardous substance shall be classified as subject only 
to a registration fee if, under normal or reasonably expected condi-
tions:  

(a) Its primary hazard is that only of a nuisance dust and/or 
minor irritant; and  

(b) It has no other hazard that would classify it as a minimally, 
generally or very hazardous substance; or  

(c) It is classified as such by the Office of State Fire Marshal.  
(5) A hazardous substance may be classified as minimally 

hazardous if, under normal or reason-ably expected conditions:  
(a) It has a National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 704 

rating of 1 or less; and  
(b) It is not required to have either the signal Words Danger or 

Warning on container labels; and  
(c) It does not have a Threshold Limit Value (TLV), Permissible 

Exposure Limit (PEL) or Recommended Exposure (REL) less than 
10 mg/m3 of total particulate, 5,000 ppm of gas or vapor or 10 
fibers/cc; and  

(d) There has been not one reliable animal or human study 
showing that it is a hepatoxin, nephrotoxin, neurotoxin, carcinogen, 
sensitizer, corrosive, hematopoietic toxin, respiratory hazard, repro-
ductive toxin, mutagen, eye hazard, or cutaneous hazard; and  

(e) It is not a hazardous waste; and  
(f) It is not an aerosol, blasting agent, combustible liquid, 

compressed gas, corrosive, corrosive liquid, cryogenic fluid, explo-
sive, fire hazard, fireworks, fissile materials, flammable anesthetic 
flammable gas, flammable liquefied gas, flammable liquid, 
flammable solid or metal, highly toxic material, highly toxic pesti-
cide, hypergolic material, liquefied petroleum gas, natural gas, 
organic peroxide, oxidizer, peroxide, peroxide-forming chemical, 
pesticide, pyrometric, radioactive material, reactive material, sen-
sitizer, toxic material, unstable (reactive) liquid, unstable material 
or water-reactive material; or  

(g) It is classified as such by the Office of State Fire Marshal.  
(6) A hazardous substance will be classified as very hazardous 

if, under normal or reasonably expected conditions:  
(a) It has a National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), 704 

health and/or reactivity rating of 4; or  
(b) It is required to have the signal word Danger on container 

labels; or  

(c) It is a highly toxic material, human carcinogen, high 
explosive, highly combustible dust or metal, Class 4 oxidizer, 
Class I organic peroxide, pyrophoric, Class 4 unstable (reactive) 
material, Class 3 water-reactive material, radioactive material, 
hypergolic; or  

(d) It is classified as such by the Office of State Fire Marshal.  
(7) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall make an initial 

hazard classification of hazardous substances:  
(a) In the absence of information to support classification as 

minimally hazardous, very hazardous or subject only to a registration 
fee, each hazardous substance shall be classified as generally haz-
ardous;  

(b) Requests for changes in hazard classifications shall be 
made in writing to the Office of State Fire Marshal. The request 
shall include the facility ID number, company name, address and 
telephone number of the facility requesting the change, the name of 
the person making the request, the name of the substance and a 
Material Safety Data Sheet for the substance.  

(8) If the Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) states, or 
indicates by content a mixture of hazardous substances has been 
tested as a whole to determine its hazards, the results of such 
testing shall be used to determine the mixture’s hazard classification. 
If there is other documentation available that indicates there may 
be other hazards associated with the substance being evaluated, the 
State Fire Marshal may also consider that information to assist in 
determining the hazard rank classification. 

(9) If a mixture of hazardous substances has not been tested as 
a whole, the health hazard established for the product will be the 
same as the most hazardous ingredient that makes up 20 percent 
(by weight or volume) or more of the mixture. The mixture shall be 
considered to have carcenogenic hazards if it contains a listed car-
cinogen in amounts of 5 percent or more. 

(10) If the MSDS indicates the ingredients of a mixture are 
neutralized or would not create a hazard under normal or reasonably 
expected conditions due to a chemical reaction of ingredients, by 
encapsulation or bound in a compound, the potential hazard will be 
evaluated using the MSDS and any other applicable documents. 

(11) If a mixture of hazardous substances has not been tested 
as a whole to determine whether the mixture is a physical hazard, 
the Office of State Fire Marshal may use whatever scientifically 
valid data is available to evaluate the physical hazard potential of 
the mixture and its hazard classification.  

(12) If there is evidence to indicate that a component present 
in the mixture in concentrations of less than 30 percent (or in the 
case of carcinogens, less than 10 percent) could be released in con-
centrations which would exceed an established Permissible Exposure 
Limit, ACGIH Threshold Limit Value, or Recommended Exposure 
Limit, or could present a health hazard in those concentrations, the 
mixture shall be assumed to present the same hazard as the compo-
nent. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.402(2) 
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 5-1994, f. 12-14-94, 
cert. ef. 12-15-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02 

837-090-1025 
Payments and Billings 

(1) Hazardous Substance Possession Fee payments are due by 
January 1 unless otherwise specified on the fee assessment 
statement.  

(2) Hazardous Substance Possession Fees shall be due retroac-
tively to January 1 of each year, for those persons who had been 
notified but failed to previously submit required complete and 
accurate Hazardous Substance Information Surveys as required by 
OAR 837-085-0010 to 837-085-0090. 

(3) In the absence of other data, current survey data will be 
used to assess the fee(s) for the previous year(s) when a firm was 
subject to the Hazardous Substance Information Survey and 
assessed fees.  
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(4) Persons who fail to pay the assessed fee within 60 days of 
the due date shall be assessed a late penalty fee of five percent of 
the fee amount.  

(5) Persons who pay the assessed fee 60 days or more after the 
due date on the fee assessment statement shall be subject to 
payment of interest at the rate prescribed under ORS 305.220.  

(6) Persons subject to retroactive fee assessments shall be sub-
ject to payment of interest at the rate prescribed under ORS 
305.220.  

(7) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall, for each year a fee 
is due, send a statement to each person subject to the fee indicating 
the amount of fee due and the due date.  

(8) The Office of State Fire Marshal may extend for good 
cause, up to one month, the due date for fee payment:  

(a) The extension may be granted at any time if a written 
request is filed with the State Fire Marshal within or prior to the 
period for which the extension may be granted;  

(b) If the time for payment is extended at the request of a per-
son, interest at the rate established under ORS 305.220, for each 
month, or fraction of a month, from the time the payment was orig-
inally due to the time payment is actually made, shall be added and 
paid.  

(9) If the person fails to pay the amount due, the State Fire 
Marshal may either:  

(a) Bring an action for the recovery of the fee due; or  
(b) Initiate a contested case hearing according to the applicable 

provisions of ORS 183.310 to 183.550.  
(10) Notwithstanding any provision of ORS 183.310 to 

183.550, nothing in section (9) of this rule shall be considered to 
require the State Fire Marshal to conduct a contested case hearing 
as a prerequisite to bringing an action under subsection (9)(a) of 
this rule.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.400 - 403.404 
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02 

837-090-1030 
State Fee Schedules 

(1) Three state fee schedules shall be developed annually as 
the basis for assessing each person returning Hazardous Substance 
Information Survey (see OAR 837-090-1000 to 837-090-1045) a 
Hazardous Substance Possession Fee. 

(2) The annual fee assessed under each schedule shall be 
based upon the single largest maximum aggregate quantity of sub-
stance reported in the Hazardous Substance Information Survey 
that is manufactured, stored, or otherwise possessed by a facility 
during the survey year. 

(3) The programs to be funded from fees collected under ORS 
453.396 to 453.414 and these rules, and the range of the fee sched-
ules that may be considered, beginning July 1989, are as follows: 

(a) For funding the Community Right to Know and Protection 
Act, not less than $25 and not more than $2,000 per facility; 

(b) For funding the Toxics Use Reduction and Hazardous 
Waste Reduction Act, not less than $25 and not more than $2,000 
per facility; 

(c) For each employer’s share of a total of up to $1 million to 
be deposited into the Orphan Site Account established under ORS 
465.381, not less than zero and not more than $9,000 per facility. 
This schedule shall not require an employer to pay a total more 
than $25,000 for all facilities. 

(4) Employers that believe a billing error has occurred may 
request a fee review. Fee review requests must be made in writing 
to the Office of State Fire Marshal within 20 days of the billing 
mail date. Fee review requests must include the company name, 
facility ID number, site address, name of the substance the fee was 
based on, amount of the fee assessed, telephone number and the 
reason for requesting a review. 

(5) Any dispute as to the amount or validity of a hazardous 
substance fee assessment shall be resolved in accordance with the 
appeals process procedures outlined in the Administrative Proce-

dures Act (APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725, unless specifically 
addressed in these rules. 

(6) The Office of State Fire Marshal adopts by reference the 
Hazardous Substance Possession Fee schedules effective July 1, 
2015. Copies of these fee schedules are available for review at the 
central office of the State Fire Marshal during normal business 
hours or online at 
http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/Pages/index.aspx 

(7) If a person can provide evidence that all or part of their 
propane is derived from the refining of crude oil, the fee assessment 
Reporting Quantity Range and the fee shall be adjusted according-
ly; 

(8) If a person can provide evidence that all or part of their 
propane is used to power motor vehicles licensed for public 
highway use, the fee assessment Reporting Quantity Range and the 
fee shall be adjusted accordingly. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408, 833 & 1071 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.402 
Hist.: FM 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 8-31-89; FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-
90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 
7-15-92, Renumbered from 837-090-0900; FM 9-1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-
28-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02; OSFM 2-2013, f. 6-26-13, 
cert. ef. 7-1-13; OSFM 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-14; OSFM 1-2015, f. 6-22-15, 
cert. ef. 7-1-15 

837-090-1035 
Records 

(1) Every person who possesses a hazardous substance shall 
keep at the registered place of business complete and accurate 
records for each facility of any hazardous substance purchased by, 
or brought in or caused to be brought in to the facility, or stored, 
used, or manufactured at the facility. 

(2) The State Fire Marshal or an authorized representative of 
the State Fire Marshal, upon oral or written reasonable notice, may 
make such examinations of the books, papers, records and 
equipment required to be kept under this section as it may deem 
necessary in carrying out the provisions of ORS 453.396 to 
453.414 and these rules. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.406 
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92 

837-090-1040 
Exemptions 

(1) Units of local government are exempted from the assess-
ment of Hazardous Substance Possession Fees for those substances 
which the unit of local government:  

(a) Is specifically required to use by a state or federal law or 
rule; or  

(b) Uses to meet a standard imposed by state or federal law or 
rule; or  

(c) Produces as a by-product of processes employed to meet a 
standard imposed by state or federal law or rule.  

(2) Unit of local government exemption requests shall be 
made on forms or by methods specified by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal.  

(3) The following substances are exempt from the Hazardous 
Substance Possession Fee:  

(a) Crude oil and petroleum products derived from the 
refining of crude oil, including plant condensate, gasoline, diesel 
motor fuel, aviation fuel, lubrication oil, crankcase motor oil, 
kerosene, benzol, fuel oil, residual fuel, petroleum coke, asphalt 
base, liquefied or liquefiable gases such as butane, ethane and 
propane and other products described during petroleum processing, 
but not including derivatives, such as petroleum jellies, cleaning 
solvents or asphalt paving;  

(b) Solid waste as defined in ORS 459.005;  
(c) Hazardous waste as defined in ORS 466.005;  
(d) Any substance or activity which the Constitution or laws 

of the United States prohibit the state from taxing;  
(e) Propane used to power licensed motor vehicles;  
(f) Propane when possessed by public schools;  
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(g) Natural gas unless stored in liquefied form for non-
vehicular use in quantities greater than 200 cubic feet.  

(4) Persons whose property is exempt from taxation under 
ORS 307.090 are exempt from that portion of the Hazardous Sub-
stance Possession Fee assessed for funding the Orphan Site 
Account under ORS 453.402(2)(c).  

(5) The State Fire Marshal by rule may add persons or sub-
stances to or exempt persons or substances from liability for the fee 
imposed under ORS 453.396 to 453.414 to conform to the 
reporting requirements established by the State Fire Marshal under 
the Community Right to Know and Protection Act. See OAR 837-
090-1000 to 837-090-1045. Requests for such exemptions shall be 
made according to the exemption provisions in OAR 837-090-
1040.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.402 & 453.414 
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02 

837-090-1045 
Local Government Fees 

(1) Local government Hazardous Substance Possession Fees 
based on quantity or the Hazardous Substance Information Survey 
shall be used solely to supplement and not to duplicate the Office 
of State Fire Marshal’s programs under ORS 453.307 to 453.372.  

(2) Local government Hazardous Substance Possession Fees 
based on quantity or the Hazardous Substance Information Survey, 
shall be billed and collected only through contract with the Office 
of State Fire Marshal.  

(3) Local governments shall not assess a hazardous Substance 
Possession Fee for the same substance to persons who are assessed 
a Hazardous Substance Possession Registration Fee by the Office 
of State Fire Marshal.  

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall not enter into a con-
tract with a local government under OAR 837-090-1000(3) or 
section (2) of this rule, unless the local government meets the fol-
lowing requirements:  

(a) The local government certifies that the revenue from the 
local Hazardous Substance Possession Fee will be used solely to 
supplement and not duplicate the Office of State Fire Marshal’s 
programs under ORS 453.307 to 453.372; and  

(b) The local Hazardous Substance Possession Fee system is 
structured to be compatible with the fee schedules adopted by OAR 
837-090-1030; and  

(c) The local Hazardous Substance Possession Fee assessment 
program will not raise moneys in excess of that needed to carry out 
the local government’s supplemental Community Right-To-Know 
programs.  

(5) The contract under these rules shall include:  
(a) Provisions that assure that the local government pays the 

portion of the costs that may be attributed to its fee assessment pro-
gram; and  

(b) Conditions that require the local government to bear all 
costs related to collection of its fee, including but not limited to 
costs associated with conducting hearings or appeals on the fee;  

(c) If appropriate, provisions to allow local government to 
conduct hearings or appeals on its fees.  

(6) Any local government operating a Hazardous Substance 
Possession Fee assessment program shall comply with these rules 
on or before July 1, 1992.  

(7) Local government programs funded by Hazardous Sub-
stance Possession Fees will be reviewed by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal to ensure against duplication, in accordance with ORS 
453.402(7)(b).  

(8) Failure of a local government to comply with section (4) 
of this rule will result in cancellation of the Office of State Fire 
Marshal’s contract and the local government’s Hazardous Substance 
Possession Fee assessment program.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.402 
Hist.: FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. 
ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02 

837-090-1145 
Petroleum Load Fee 

(1) As provided in ORS 465.101 to 465.131, the petroleum 
load withdrawal fee is established to carry out the state’s oil, haz-
ardous materials and hazardous substance emergency response 
program as it relates to the maintenance, operation, and use of the 
public highways, roads, streets, and roadside rest areas. Effective 
July 1, 2013 the fee shall be $6.00 per load, effective July 1, 2014 
the fee shall be $7.00 per load and effective July 1, 2015 the fee 
shall be $8.00 per load. 

(2) Fee collection by the Department of Revenue will begin 
October 1, 1993. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 465.106 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 465.106 
Hist.: FM 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-93; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02; OSFM 12-2005, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-05; OSFM 3-2009, f. & cert. ef. 11-
18-09; OSFM 11-2012(Temp), f. 11-1-12, cert. ef. 1-1-13 thru 6-30-13; OSFM 
3-2013, f. 6-26-13, cert. ef. 6-30-13 

DIVISION 95 

STATE EMERGENCY RESPONSE COMMISSION 

837-095-0010 
Purpose and Scope 

These rules establish emergency planning districts as required 
by the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act 
(EPCRA) of 1986 (42 U.S.C. Chapter 116, Section 11001 et seq.). 
The rules provide guidelines for the establishment of a Local 
Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) within each emergency 
planning district. The rules also establish a State Emergency 
Response Commission (SERC) Executive Committee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030(2) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.520 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

837-095-0020 
Definitions 

For purposes of Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 453.520 only, 
the following definitions apply: 

(1) “Emergency Planning District” means geographic bound-
aries designated by the State Emergency Response Commission to 
facilitate preparation and implementation of emergency plans 
related to hazardous materials incidents. 

(2) “Industry” means facilities subject to the Emergency Plan-
ning and Community Right to Know Act of 1986 (42 U.S.C. 
Chapter 11001 et seq.). 

(3) “Local Emergency Planning Committee” means a federally 
mandated, quasi-governmental entity representing local government, 
emergency response officials, facility owners/operators, environ-
mental and citizen groups and other interested parties. 

(4) “State Emergency Response Commission” means the 
Office of the State Fire Marshal as designated by the Governor pur-
suant to the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know 
Act of 1986 (42 U.S.C. Chapter 11001 et seq.). 

(5) “State Emergency Response Commission Executive Com-
mittee” means a body established to assist the SERC in carrying 
out the responsibilities mandated in EPCRA. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030(2) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.520 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

837-095-0030 
SERC Executive Committee 

(1) The State Emergency Response Commission shall form a 
SERC Executive Committee whose purposes include but are not 
limited to: 

(a) Advising the SERC on the designation of Emergency 
Planning Districts consistent with Oregon Administrative Rules 
(OAR) 837-095; 

(b) Advising the SERC on the creation, modification, or dis-
solving of Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPC) and on 
the confirmation of appointments to those committees; 
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(c) Reviewing plans developed by Local Emergency Planning 
Committees and making plan recommendations to the SERC; 

(d) Supporting Local Emergency Planning Committee efforts 
to implement EPCRA and ORS 453.520; 

(e) Supporting and assisting SERC and Local Emergency 
Planning Committee efforts to enhance hazardous materials emer-
gency preparedness and response capabilities; and  

(f) Coordinating hazardous materials training, education, and 
outreach activities as well as grant and technical assistance oppor-
tunities in support of the SERC and Local Emergency Planning 
Committees. 

(2) The membership of the SERC Executive Committee shall 
be by agency or organization, each with one representative and one 
alternate. The SERC Executive Committee shall consist of the fol-
lowing: 

(a) The director or a designee of the following state agencies: 
(A) Oregon State Fire Marshal 
(B) Oregon Office of Emergency Management 
(C) Oregon Department of Transportation 
(D) Oregon State Police 
(E) Oregon Governor’s Office 
(F) Oregon Health Authority 
(G) Oregon Department of Environmental Quality 
(b) A representative from each of the following organizations 

or groups: 
(A) Local Emergency Management  
(B) Oregon Emergency Management Association 
(C) Local Emergency Planning Committees 
(D) Industry  
(E) Oregon Fire Chiefs Association 
(F) Oregon Regional Hazardous Materials Response Teams 
(G) Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association  
(H) Oregon Tribes 
(I) Association of Oregon Counties 
(3) The SERC Executive Committee shall adopt bylaws and 

establish such policies and procedures as necessary to conduct its 
work.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030(2) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.520 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

837-095-0040 
Emergency Planning Districts 

The SERC designates each of the 36 counties of Oregon as an 
Emergency Planning District (EPD) for the purposes of EPCRA. 

(a) Two or more emergency planning districts may combine 
resources and function as a single EPD by providing documentation 
of such request to the SERC from an authorized representative of 
each county. 

(b) Should any county participating in a combined EPD desire 
to dissolve the combined EPD for any reason, an authorized repre-
sentative of the county must notify the SERC as well as the other 
county(ies) involved in the combined EPD of their desire to with-
draw from the combined EPD. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030(2) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.520 
Hist.: OSFM 5-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15 

837-095-0050 
Local Emergency Planning Committees 

(1) A Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) shall be 
formed in each EPD. 

Membership in the LEPC should be guided by the EPCRA 
and be reflective of the stakeholders within each EPD. 

(2) The duties and responsibilities of the LEPC should be con-
sistent with the intent of EPCRA and focus on enhancing hazardous 
materials emergency planning, preparedness and response capabil-
ities within the EPD.  

(3) Each LEPC shall appoint a chairperson and adopt such 
policies and procedures as are necessary to conduct its work. 

(4) Each LEPC shall maintain and provide to the SERC a list 
of contact information for all committee members. 

(5) Each LEPC shall prepare an emergency plan, or annex to 

an appropriate county emergency operations plan, in accordance 

with EPCRA. 

(6) Each LEPC shall review its community emergency 

response plan annually and submit the reviewed plan to the SERC 

for review and recommendations.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030(2) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.520 

Hist.: OSFM 5-2014, f. 12-22-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15
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DIVISION 110 

FIELD BURNING AND PROPANING RULES 

837-110-0005 
Purpose and Scope 

The purpose of these rules is to increase the degree of public 
safety by preventing unwanted wild fires and smoke from field 
burning and propaning near highways and freeways within the 
State of Oregon. These rules shall apply to that area west of the 
crest of the Cascade Range and south to the Douglas/Lane County 
lines. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 

837-110-0007 
Definitions 

(1) Local services road: Serves isolated areas that have little 
or no potential for further development and those serving a 
minimal number of parcels of land. Most of these roads will not be 
through roads (connected to public roads on both ends) but will 
dead end at the service to the last parcel on the road. 

(2) Trained Flagger: Has successfully completed a training 
course taught by a competent person. The training course must 
comply in substance with Oregon Department of Transportation 
flagging course content. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: OSFM 1-2003, f. 1-8-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03 

837-110-0010 
Field Preparation 

(1) Prior to burning, all fields shall be prepared by providing a 
barrier around the perimeter free of combustibles. 

(2) The barrier shall prevent any fire spread and shall be pre-
pared by using one or more of the following methods: 

(a) Plowing or disking a 17-foot strip around the field 
perimeter; or 

(b) Plowing or disking a five-foot strip around the field 
perimeter and the removal of loose, combustible straw from a 12-
foot strip immediately adjacent to the five-foot strip; or 

(c) Having a 17-foot strip of green cover crop or bare earth; or 
(d) Retaining a least a 50-foot strip of green cover crop or bare 

earth in the immediately adjacent field(s) at the time of burning; or 
(e) Other alternatives may be used with the specific written 

approval of the State Fire Marshal. 
(3) The barrier need not be provided where the perimeter of 

the field lies adjacent to a field that meets the provision of this sec-
tion. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 

837-110-0020 
Firefighting Water Supplies 

(1) When burning acreage, the following firefighting vehicles 
shall be provided: 

(a) Up to 50 acres — At least two water tank vehicles with a 
minimum of 1,000 gallon water capacity shall be on site; 

(b) 50 to 200 acres — At least three water tank vehicles with a 
minimum of 1,500 gallon water capacity shall be on site; 

(c) Over 200 acres — At least four water tank vehicles with a 
minimum of 3,000 gallon water capacity shall be on site. 

(2) Refill Requirements: During actual firefighting operations 
the water requirements described in this section shall be maintained 
at or above 25 percent of the specified amount. Within the buffer 
zone described in OAR 837-110-0080, this requirement shall be 
raised to at least 50 percent. 

NOTE: Vehicles with smaller capacity water tanks may be used to meet 
the total gallonage capacity required by subsections (1)(a) through (c) of 

this rule. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 

837-110-0030 
Firefighting Equipment 

The person(s) responsible for the acreage to be burned shall 
use firefighting equipment that meets or exceeds the following 
standards: 

(1) All water tank vehicles shall be equipped with a pump in 
working order with a pumping capability of 30 gallons per minute 
or more and capable of extinguishing a flame at a distance of at 
least 40 feet. 

(2) All required firefighting vehicles shall be adequately 
staffed to assure proper operation. It is recommended that at least 
two employees who have received basic safety training be assigned 
to each firefighting vehicle. 

(3) All water tanks shall be filled to 90 percent of their 
capacity prior to ignition of the field. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 

837-110-0040 
Ignition Criteria 

(1) To ensure an adequate, complete, and even burn over the 
entire field to be burned, a minimum of two drip torches, propane 
lighters, or other pressurized fuel torches shall be on the burn site at 
the time of ignition. 

(2) Whenever possible ignition shall cause the edges of the 
field to burn first and the burn to continue toward the field’s center. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 

837-110-0050 
Prohibited Use 

The use of pitch forks, harrows, or the dragging of burning 
tires to ignite the fire is prohibited. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 478 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89 

837-110-0060 
Communication 

The ability to call assistance and summon help from an appro-
priate emergency response agency shall be maintained at all times 
by phone, or by radio communications between all firefighting 
equipment used in the burning of the field and a constantly staffed 
base station or home with phone access. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 478 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; OSFM 1-2003, f. 1-8-03, cert. ef. 2-1-
03 

837-110-0070 
Fire Safety Watch 

In addition to the firefighting equipment required by OAR 
837-110-0020 and 837-110-0030, a continuous fire safety watch 
shall be provided. The fire safety watch: 

(1) Shall patrol the perimeter of the field during burning oper-
ations. 

(2) Shall begin prior to the ignition of the field and continue 
for at least 30 minutes after open flame ceases. However, the fire 
watch shall not leave until it is confirmed that the fire is completely 
out. 

Chapter 837     Department of State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2016 Edition                                                                                      23 - 394                                                                                         (11-15-15)



(3) Shall consist of at least one firefighting vehicle having a 
water tank with at least a 200 gallon water capacity and which 
meets the requirements of OAR 837-110-0030 and 837-110-0060. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94; OSFM 1-2003, f. 1-8-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03 

837-110-0075 
Traffic Safety 

The person responsible for the acreage being burned shall pro-
vide signage and trained flaggers for traffic safety. The person 
responsible: 

(1) May allow a field to burn next to a state highway without 
designated buffer zones or next to an arterial route as long as there 
are trained flaggers and warning signage on the road at both ends 
of the field during the time that the burning is occurring, in order to 
assure driver safety and stop or divert traffic if necessary. Burning 
may occur next to a state highway without designated buffer zones 
or an arterial route only if there are no combustibles or brush 
between the edge of the field and the highway or route. 

(2) May allow a field to burn next to a rural collector road as 
long as there is signage on the road at both ends of the field 
informing drivers that burning is occurring ahead and they should 
be prepared to stop. Trained flaggers shall be available in the 
vicinity to immediately respond with flagging signs to the road at 
both ends of the field during the time that the burning is occurring, 
in order to assure driver safety and stop or divert traffic if 
necessary. Burning may occur along a rural collector road only if 
there are no combustibles or brush between the edge of the field 
and the rural collector road. 

(3) May allow a field to burn next to a rural local service road 
as long as there is signage on the road at both ends of the field 
informing drivers that burning is occurring ahead. Trained flaggers 
shall be available to be on the road with flagging signs at both ends 
of the field during the time that the burning is occurring, in order to 
assure driver safety and stop or divert traffic if necessary. 

NOTE: For purposes of these rules, state highway, arterial routes and 
collector roads are defined by the Federal Highway Administration and 
the Oregon Department of Transportation. Before burning a field, contact 
your county road authority for road designation and county regulations. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: OSFM 1-2003, f. 1-8-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03 

837-110-0080 
Fire Safety Buffer Zones 

A fire safety buffer zone shall parallel both sides of all 
highways and roadways within the scope and application of these 
rules. The buffer zone shall extend 1/2 mile in a perpendicular 
direction from the outer edge of each highway or roadway right-of-
way. No field burning shall be allowed in fire safety buffer zones 
except as provided in sections (1) and (2) of this rule: 

(1) Interstate Highways west of the crest of the Cascade 
Range, south to the Douglas/Lane County lines: 

(a) Field burning may be permitted in the fire safety buffer 
zone only where a 1/4-mile-wide noncombustible ground surface 
is provided between the field to be burned and the nearest edge of 
the freeway right-of-way. Noncombustible ground surfaces shall 
meet the criteria described in section (3) of this rule; 

(b) The 1/4-mile noncombustible ground surface shall extend 
1/4 mile each direction beyond the permitted field boundaries 
parallel to the freeway right-of-way.  

(2) Other Roadways: 
(a) Field burning may be permitted in the fire safety buffer 

zone only where a 1/8-mile-wide noncombustible ground surface 
is provided between the field to be burned and the nearest edge of 
the highway right-of-way. Noncombustible ground surfaces shall 
meet the criteria described in section (3) of this rule; 

(b) The 1/8 mile noncombustible ground surface shall extend 
1/8 mile in each direction beyond the permitted field boundaries 
parallel to the highway right-of-way; 

(c) The designated roadways to which this section applies are: 

(A) ORE 99 — The section from Junction City to Eugene; 
(B) ORE 99E — The sections from Oregon City to Salem and 

from Albany to Junction City; 
(C) ORE 99W — The entire section from Portland to Junction 

City; 
(D) US 20 — The section from Philomath to Lebanon; 
(E) ORE 22 — The section from ORE 18 to Mehama; 
(F) US 26 — The section from ORE 47 interchange to Port-

land; 
(G) ORE 34 — The section from Corvallis to Lebanon. 
(3) Noncombustible ground surfaces mentioned in subections 

(1)(a) and (b) and (2)(a) and (b) of this rule may be provided by 
planting a noncombustible ground cover approved by the State Fire 
Marshal or by disking and plowing the surface. Other alternative 
methods may be recognized by the State Fire Marshal or designee. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal or designee with the con-
currence of the Office of State Fire Marshal may grant specific 
written approval: 

(a) Not to provide the extensions required by subsections 
(2)(a) and (b) of this rule, when natural barriers such as rivers or 
other noncombustible surfaces exists; or 

(b) For the use of alternative methods to provide the noncom-
bustible ground surfaces required by subsections (1)(a) and (b) and 
(2)(a) and (b) of this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 

837-110-0090 
Ban on Burning 

All field burning shall be banned when any two of the 
following criteria are present: 

(1) Temperature of 95 degrees Fahrenheit or above; 
(2) Relative humidity of 30 percent or below; 
(3) Wind speed of 15 miles per hour or higher. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 

Propaning 

837-110-0110 
Field Preparation 

(1) Prior to propaning, all fields shall be prepared by providing 
a barrier around the perimeter free of combustible materials. 

(2) The barrier may be provided by green cover crop, bare 
earth, or other method(s) to prevent any fire spread, and shall be 
prepared by using one or more of the following methods: 

(a) Plowing or disking a 10-foot strip around the field 
perimeter; or 

(b) Plowing or disking a 5-foot strip around the field perimeter 
and removal of loose, combustible straw from a 12-foot strip 
immediately adjacent to the 5-foot strip; or 

(c) Retaining at least a 50-foot strip of green crop or bare earth 
in the immediately adjacent field(s) at the time of propaning; or 

(d) Having a 17-foot strip of green cover crop or bare earth; or  
(e) Other alternatives may be used with the specific written 

approval of the State Fire Marshal. 
(3) The barrier need not be provided where the perimeter of 

the field lies adjacent to a field that meets the provisions of this 
section. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 
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837-110-0120 
Firefighting Water Supplies 

When propaning acreage, the following safety measures shall 
apply: 

(1) At least one firefighting water tank vehicle meeting the 
equipment requirements of OAR 837-110-0120 through 837-110-
0140 and which has a minimum water tank capacity of 200 gallons 
shall be on site. 

(2) If additional firefighting assistance is more than five 
minutes from a burn site within a fire safety buffer zone, or ten 
minutes otherwise, then water tank capacity mentioned in section 
(1) of this rule shall be raised to 500 gallons. 

(3) A means to refill the tanks mentioned in sections (1) and 
(2) of this rule shall be provided within a ten minute turn around 
time. 

EXCEPTION: Water tank vehicles of smaller capacity may be used pro-
vided the total gallonage capacity complies with the above. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 

837-110-0130 
Firefighting Equipment 

The person(s) responsible for the acreage to be propaned shall 
use firefighting equipment that meets or exceeds the following 
standards: 

(1) All water tank vehicles shall be equipped with a pump in 
working order with a pumping capability of 30 gallons per minute 
or more and capable of extinguishing a flame at a distance of at 
least 40 feet. 

(2) All required water tank vehicles shall be adequately 
staffed to assure proper operation. It is recommended that at least 
two employees who have received basic safety training be assigned 
to each firefighting vehicle. 

(3) All water tanks shall be filled to 90 percent of their 
capacity prior to ignition of the field. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94 

837-110-0140 
Communication 

The ability to call for assistance and summon help from an 
appropriate emergency response agency shall be maintained at all 
times by phone or radio communications between all firefighting 
equipment used in the burning of the fields and a constantly staffed 
base station or home with phone access. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 478 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; OSFM 1-2003, f. 1-8-03, cert. ef. 2-1-
03 

837-110-0150 
Fire Safety Watch 

A fire watch: 
(1) Shall begin following the propaning of the field and con-

tinue for at least 30 minutes after completion. However, the fire 
watch shall not leave until it is confirmed that the fire and all 
smoke sources are completely out. 

(2) Shall consist of at least one firefighting vehicle with at 
least a 200 gallon water tank, which is manned and equipped as 
stipulated in OAR 837-110-0020, 837-110-0030, and 837-110-
0060. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94; OSFM 1-2003, f. 1-8-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03 

837-110-0155 
Traffic Safety 

The person responsible for the acreage being burned shall pro-
vide signage and trained flaggers for traffic safety. The person 
responsible:  

(1) May allow a field to burn next to a state highway without 
designated buffer zones or next to an arterial route as long as there 
are trained flaggers and warning signage on the road at both ends 
of the field during the time that the burning is occurring, in order to 
assure driver safety and stop or divert traffic if necessary. Burning 
may occur next to a state highway with out designated zones or an 
arterial route only if there are no combustibles or brush between 
the edge of the field and the highway or route. 

(2) May allow a field to burn next to a rural collector road as 
long as there is signage on the road at both ends of the field 
informing drivers that burning is occurring ahead and they should 
be prepared to stop. Trained flaggers shall be available in the 
vicinity to immediately respond with flagging signs to the road at 
both ends of the field during the time that the burning is occurring, 
in order to assure driver safety and stop or divert traffic if 
necessary. Burning may occur along a rural collector road only if 
there are no combustibles or brush between the edge of the field 
and the rural collector road. 

(3) May allow a field to burn next to a rural local services road 
as long as there is signage on the road at both ends of the field 
informing drivers that burning is occurring ahead. Trained flaggers 
shall be available to be on the road at both ends of the field during 
the time that the burning is occurring, in order to assure driver 
safety and stop or divert traffic if necessary. 

NOTE: For purposes of these rules, state highway, arterial routes and 
collector roads are defined by the Federal Highway Administration and 
the Oregon Department of Transportation. Before burning a field, contact 
your county road authority for road designation and county regulations. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, 476.380 & 478.960 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: OSFM 1-2003, f. 1-8-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03 

837-110-0160  
Ban on Burning 

All propaning shall be banned when any two of the following 
criteria are present: 

(1) Temperature of 95 degrees Fahrenheit or above. 
(2) Relative humidity of 25 percent or below. 
(3) Wind speed of 20 miles per hour or higher. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & 478 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & 478.960 
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef.  
8-11-93 

DIVISION 120 

HAZARDOUS MATERIALS  
EMERGENCY RESPONSE SYSTEM 

837-120-0001 
Purpose and Scope 

(1) These rules establish criteria and provisions for the imple-
mentation of a statewide hazardous materials emergency response 
system. 

(2) These rules shall be used to assist and provide direction for 
owners of facilities, government officials, and officers of the court 
in the interpretation and application of ORS 453.374 through 
453.990. 

(3) These rules are intended to be consistent with agreements 
and contracts entered into by the State of Oregon, and regional and 
limited hazardous materials emergency response teams. 

(4) These rules also provide for contract team operations and 
include, but are not limited to: 

(a) Provisions for coordinating team dispatch, duties, and 
responsibilities; 

(b) Criteria for the types of hazardous materials emergencies 
that qualify for regional or limited response team responses; 
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(c) Establishment of fee schedules for computing the reim-

bursement of contractor team response costs arising from hazardous 

materials emergencies; and 

(d) Procedures for state recovery of emergency response costs 

from the person(s) responsible for causing a hazardous materials 

emergency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - 453.390 

Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0005 
Effective Dates 

OAR 837-120-0001 through 837-120-0150 are effective upon 
date of filing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - 453.390 
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92 

837-120-0010 
Definitions 

For the purposes of these rules the following definitions 
apply: 

(1) “Clean-Up” shall mean the measures taken after emergency 
response mitigation and which are intended to permanently remove 
the hazard from the incident site. 

(2) “Contract” shall mean the entire written agreement 
between the State of Oregon and a Regional or Limited Hazardous 
Materials Emergency Response Team contractor. 

(3) “Contractor” shall mean the local government agency(ies) 
which provide(s) regional or limited hazardous materials emergency 
response services under a state contract and this division. 

(4) “Documentation” shall mean the State Fire Marshal 
billing form, State Fire Marshal hazardous materials incident form, 
the team incident report, and the Decision Matrix if used, or a form 
incorporating these forms. 

(5) “Emergency Response” shall mean those actions taken to 
respond to a hazardous materials incident. See also OAR 837-120-
0020(3). 

(6) “Emergency Response Cost(s)” shall meant the total emer-
gency response expenses arising from a hazardous materials 
incident. See also OAR 837-120-0090(2) and (3). 

(7) “Extraordinary Response Cost(s)” shall mean and is 
equivalent to Team Response cost(s). See also section (28) of this 
rule and OAR 837-120-0090(4). 

(8) “Facility” shall mean any building, structure, installation, 
equipment, pipe or pipe-lines, well, pit, pond, lagoon, impoundment, 
ditch, landfill, storage container, motor vehicle, rolling stock, 
vessel, aircraft, or any other place where there is a release, or 
threatened release, of a hazardous material. 

(9) “Hazardous Materials” shall mean “hazardous substance” 
as that term is defined in ORS 453.307(4). 

(10) “Hazardous Materials Emergency Response” shall mean 
and be equivalent to emergency response as defined and described 
in section (5) of this rule and OAR 837-120-0020(3). 

(11) “Hazardous Materials Emergency Response Team” shall 
mean an organized group of employees, designated by a contractor, 
who are expected to respond under state contract to control and/or 
stabilize actual or potential emergency releases of hazardous mate-
rials. Teams shall be designated according to staffing level, the 
type of personal protective equipment and training set forth in CFR 
29, Parts 1910.120(q) and its “Appendix A,” as adopted by Ore-
gon-OSHA’s OAR 437-002-0100, and level of response. 

(12) “Incident” shall mean any spill or release, or threat 
thereof, rupture, fire or accident that results, or has the potential to 
result, in the involvement, loss or escape of a hazardous material. 

(13) “Incident Termination” shall means the process of com-
pleting mitigation actions, securing supplies, equipment, materials, 
information and communication with command as it relates to a 
hazardous materials incident. 

(14) “Limited Hazardous Materials Emergency Response 
Team or Limited Response Team” shall mean a hazardous materials 
emergency response team operating in conjunction with and pro-
viding assistance to a Regional Response Team in a limited manner 
or area of the state. See also section (23) of this rule. 

(15) “Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)” shall 
mean the statewide hazardous materials emergency planning com-
mittee designated by the Oregon Interagency Hazard Communica-
tion Council in its role as the State Emergency Response Commis-
sion under ORS 453.520 and the Emergency Planning and 
Community Right-to-Know Act (Public Law 99-499). 

(16) “Local Government Agency” shall mean a city, county, 
special function district or subdivision thereof. 
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(17) “Local Response” shall mean a hazardous materials 
emergency response in the local governmental area where team 
members normally conduct emergency response activities and 
those areas where the local government has a hazardous materials 
mutual response agreement in place and the responding team does 
not respond as a state team. 

(18) “Mitigation” shall mean actions taken to bring an emer-
gency incident under control using fire suppression containment, 
confinement and other protocols. 

(19) “Motor Vehicle” shall mean, but is not limited to, any 
vessel, aircraft or automobile, motorcycle or other conveyance 
driven upon public or private lands. 

(20) “ORS” shall mean Oregon Revised Statutes. 
(21) “Person” shall mean any individual, firm, corporation, 

association, partnership, consortium, joint venture, commercial 
entity, United States Government, state, municipality, commission, 
political subdivision of this state, and interstate bodies. 

(22) “Primary Response Area” shall mean that geographical 
region where a contractor is principally responsible for providing 
regional or limited hazardous materials emergency response ser-
vices. 

(23) “Regional Hazardous Materials Emergency Response 
Team or Regional Response Team” shall mean a contractor’s haz-

ardous materials emergency response team capable of operating 
within a region of the state using any of the personal protective 
equipment safety limits set forth in CFR 29, Parts 1910.120(q) and 
its “Appendix A,” as adopted by Oregon-OSHA’s OAR 437-002-
0100. 

(24) “Release” shall mean the same as that term is defined in 
ORS 465.200(14). 

(25) “Responsible Party” shall mean the person(s) responsible 
for causing the emergency incident. (See ORS 453.382.) 

(26) “State” shall mean the State of Oregon acting by and 
through the State Fire Marshal. 

(27) “State Spill Response Revolving Fund” shall mean the 
revolving fund established under ORS 453.390 et seq. 

(28) “Team Response Cost(s)” shall mean those regional or 
limited hazardous materials emergency response team contractor 
expenses which are expressly allowed under the agreement and 
contract and approved by the state. This term is equivalent to 
“Extraordinary Response Cost(s).” See also OAR 837-120-0090(4). 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - 453.390 
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92 
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