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DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURAL RULES 

847-001-0000 
Notice of Proposed Rule 

Prior to adoption, amendment or repeal of any permanent rule, 
the Oregon Medical Board must give notice of the intended action:  

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS 
183.360 at least 21 days before the effective date of the intended 
action.  

(2) Mail a copy of the notice to persons on the Oregon Medi-
cal Board’s mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335 (8) at 
least 28 days before the effective date of the rule; 

(3) In regard to rules adopted on or after January 1, 2006, at 
least 49 days before the effective date of the rule, the Board must pro-
vide notice to the persons specified in ORS 183.335(15); and  

(4) Mail or furnish a copy of the notice to: 
(a) The Associated Press; and  
(b) The Capitol Press Room.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.341, 677.275 
Hist.: ME 1-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88; ME 20-1994, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-94; 
BME 13-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; OMB 
1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-
17-12 

847-001-0005 
Model Rules for Contested Cases 

The Oregon Medical Board adopts the Attorney General’s Uni-
form and Model Rules for Contested Cases of the Attorney Gener-
al in effect on January 1, (2008), and all amendments thereto are 
hereby adopted by reference as rules of the Oregon Medical Board.  

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure 
is available from the office of the Attorney General or the Medical Board.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.341, 677.275 
Hist.: ME 4, f. 11-3-71, ef. 11-15-71; ME 26, f. 3-15-72, ef. 4-1-72; ME 27, f. 3-
27-72, ef. 4-15-72; ME 30, f. 3-5-74, ef. 3-25-74; ME 32, f. & ef. 5-11-76; Renum-
bered from 847-060-0005; ME 2-1978, f. & ef. 7-31-78; ME 3-1980, f. & ef. 5-
14-80; ME 6-1980, f. & ef. 8-13-80; ME 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 5-1983, 
f. & ef. 11-3-83; ME 2-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 14-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-87; ME 
1-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88; ME 13-1988, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-88; ME 13-1988, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-20-88; ME 10-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-7-90; ME 13-1990, f. & cert. 
ef. 8-16-90; ME 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-92; ME 20-1994, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-
94; BME 13-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; BME 13-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; 
BME 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; OMB 6-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; [OMB 
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1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; Temporary suspended by OMB 
12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12] 

847-001-0007 
Agency Representation at Hearings 

(1) Subject to the approval of the Attorney General, an employ-
ee of the Oregon Medical Board is authorized to appear on behalf of 
the Board in contested case hearings conducted on civil penalties 
issued by the Board with no other formal disciplinary action pro-
posed against the licensee.  

(2) The agency representative may not make legal argument on 
behalf of the Board. 

(a) “Legal argument” includes arguments on: 
(A) The jurisdiction of the Board to hear the contested case; 
(B) The constitutionality of a statute or rule or the application 

of a constitutional requirement to an agency; and  
(C) The application of court precedent to the facts of the par-

ticular contested case proceeding. 
(b) “Legal argument” does not include presentation of motions, 

evidence, examination and cross-examination of witnesses or pre-
sentation of factual arguments or arguments on: 

(A) The application of the statutes or rules to the facts in the 
contested case; 

(B) Comparison of prior actions of the Board in handling sim-
ilar situations; 

(C) The literal meaning of the statutes or rules directly appli-
cable to the issues in the contested case; 

(D) The admissibility of evidence; 
(E) The correctness of procedures being followed in the con-

tested case hearing. 
Stat.s Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.452 
Hist.: OMB 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 18-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12 

847-001-0010 
Public Attendance 

Contested case hearings are closed to members of the public. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341 
Hist.: BME 13-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; BME 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; 
[OMB 1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; Temporary suspended by 
OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12] 

847-001-0015 
Delegation of Authority 

(1) The Oregon Medical Board (Board) has delegated to the 
Executive Director the authority to make certain procedural deter-
minations on its behalf on matters arising under the Attorney Gen-
eral’s Model Rules for Contested Cases in OAR 137-003-0001 to 
OAR 137-003-0700. The procedural functions include, but are not 
limited to:  

(a) For discovery requests before the Board, to authorize or 
deny requested discovery in a contested case, to include specifying 
the methods, timing and extent of discovery;  

(b) To review all requests to take a deposition of a witness and 
to authorize or deny any request for deposition. If a request to take 
a deposition is authorized, the Executive Director may specify the 
terms on which the deposition is taken, to include, but not limited to 
the location, the manner of recording, the time of day, the persons 
permitted to be present, and the duration of the deposition;  

(c) Whether a request for hearing filed after the prescribed time 
will be accepted, based upon a finding of good cause. In making this 
determination, the Executive Director may require the request to be 
supported by an affidavit or other writing to explain why the request 
is late and may conduct such further inquiry as deemed appropriate. 
The Executive Director may authorize a hearing on whether the late 
filing should be accepted. If any party disputes the facts contained 
in the explanation as to why the request was late or the accuracy of 
the reason that the request was late, the requestor has a right to a hear-
ing before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) on the reasons for that 
factual dispute; 

(d) Whether the late filing of a document may be accepted based 
upon a finding of good cause; 

(e) Whether to issue a subpoena for the attendance of witness-
es or to produce documents at the hearing;  

(f) Prior to the issuance of a proposed order issued by an ALJ, 
whether the Board will consider taking notice of judicially cogniz-
able facts or of general, technical or scientific facts in writing which 
are within the specialized knowledge of the Board;  

(g) Whether to submit to the Board prior to an ALJ’s proposed 
final order the following issues:  

(A) The Board’s interpretation of its rules and applicable 
statutes;  

(B) Which rules or statutes are applicable to a proceeding;  
(C) Whether the Board will answer a question transmitted to it 

by the ALJ;  
(h) In regard to a proposed order issued by an ALJ, whether the 

Board’s legal representative will file exceptions and present argu-
ment to the Board; and  

(i) Whether a request for delay of hearing on emergency sus-
pension will be accepted.  

(2) All actions taken under this delegation must be reported to 
the Board at the regularly scheduled meeting in which the Board 
deliberates on the proposed order in the case.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.341, 677.275 
Hist.: BME 13-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; BME 13-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-
04; BME 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; OMB 6-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; 
OMB 1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-17-12 

847-001-0022 
Confidentiality in the Investigative Process 

(1) Information pertaining to an ongoing investigation or Board 
action that has been disclosed to a licensee or applicant by the Board 
pursuant to ORS 676.175(3) is confidential and may be further dis-
closed by the licensee or applicant only to the extent necessary to pre-
pare for a contested case hearing related to a Complaint and Notice 
of Proposed Disciplinary Action, a Notice of Denial of Licensure or 
an Order of Emergency Suspension issued against the licensee or 
applicant. 

(2) All licensees and applicants under Board investigation or 
facing Board disciplinary action or license denial, to include con-
sultants for a licensee, an applicant or the Board, have an obligation 
to protect the confidentiality of information obtained by the Board 
in an investigation. 

(3) Violation of this rule is grounds for disciplinary action. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.341, 677.275 
Hist.: OMB 6-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; [OMB 1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
7-12 thru 8-5-12; Temporary suspended by OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12] 

847-001-0024 
Compliance 

(1) Licensees and applicants must comply with a Board inves-
tigation, including responding to inquiries and providing requested 
materials within the time allowed and complying with a subpoena. 
Failure to comply with a Board investigation violates ORS 
677.190(17) and is grounds for disciplinary action. 

(2) Licensees and applicants must comply with the terms of all 
Board Orders and Agreements, including Corrective Action Agree-
ments and Consent Agreements. Failure to comply with the terms of 
a Board Order or Agreement violates ORS 677.190(17) and is 
grounds for disciplinary action.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190, 677.205, 677.270 & 677.320 
Hist.: OMB 1-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-14 

847-001-0030 
Approval of Interim Stipulated Orders 

(1) The Executive Director, via his/her signature, has the author-
ity to grant approval of an Interim Stipulated Order that has been 
signed by a licensee of the Board.  

(2) The Executive Director’s or Medical Director’s signature 
grants approval of the Interim Stipulated Order, which allows the 
Order to become a public document. As a public document, the Inter-
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im Stipulated Order may be released to hospitals, clinics, and other 
practice locations.  

(3) The Executive Director or Medical Director must forward 
Interim Stipulated Orders to the Board in a timely manner.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 677.275 
Hist.: BME 13-2008(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-16-08 thr 10-31-08; BME 22-2008, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; BME 7-2009, f. & cert. ef. 5-1-09; OMB 1-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12 

847-001-0035 
Approval of Suspensions and Terminations of Orders by 
Operation of Law 

(1) The Executive Director or Medical Director has the author-
ity to grant approval of Suspensions or Terminations of Orders that 
occur by operation of law. 

(2) The Executive Director’s or Medical Director’s signature 
grants approval of the Suspension or Termination of Order, which 
becomes a public document. As a public document, the Suspension 
or Termination of Order may be released to the public. 

(3) The Executive Director or Medical Director must forward 
Suspensions and Terminations of Orders to the Board in a timely 
manner. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.750, 25.774, 677.190, 677.225 & 677.265 
Hist.: OMB 19-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-13 

847-001-0040 
Approval of Notices of Civil Penalty 

(1) The Executive Director has the authority to issue Notices of 
Civil Penalty, which include default final orders, for violations of the 
Board’s administrative rules.  

(2) The Executive Director’s signature grants approval of the 
Notice of Civil Penalty, which becomes a public document. As a pub-
lic document, the Notice of Civil Penalty may be released to the pub-
lic. However, the civil penalty is not an adverse action. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190, 677.205, 677.265 
Hist.: OMB 12-2013(Temp), f. 7-12-13, cert. ef. 7-15-13 thru 1-11-14; OMB 24-
2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-001-0045  
Approval of Consent Agreements for Re-entry to Practice 

(1) The Executive Director or Medical Director has the author-
ity to review and approve the terms and conditions in a Consent 
Agreement for re-entry to practice based on Board-established guide-
lines.  

(2) The Executive Director’s or Medical Director’s signature 
grants approval of the Consent Agreement, which becomes a pub-
lic document. As a public document, the Consent Agreement may be 
released to the public. However, the Consent Agreement is not an 
adverse action. 

(3) The Applicant may be granted a license once the Consent 
Agreement is signed by the Executive Director or Medical Director. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.175, 677.265, 677.512, 677.759 & 
677.825 
Hist.: OMB 11-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-14 

DIVISION 2 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS 

847-002-0000 
Purpose and Intent 

The purpose of these rules is to provide for the reasonable 
screening of subject individuals to determine if they have a history 
of criminal behavior such that they are not fit to work or volunteer 
for the Board. The fact that the Board determines that a subject indi-
vidual is fit does not guarantee the individual a position as a Board 
employee, volunteer, or that the individual will be hired by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-002-0005 
Definitions 

As used in OAR 847-002-0000 through 847-002-0050, unless 
the context of the rule requires otherwise, the following definitions 
apply:  

(1) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board. 
(2) “Conviction” means a final judgment on a verdict or find-

ing of guilty, a plea of guilty, or a plea of nolo contendere (no con-
test) or any determination of guilt entered by a court of law against 
a subject individual in a criminal case, unless that judgment has been 
reversed or set aside by a subsequent court decision. 

(3) “Criminal offender information” means records and relat-
ed data concerning physical description and vital statistics, finger-
prints received and compiled by the Oregon State Police (OSP) to 
identify criminal offenders and alleged offenders, records of arrests 
and the nature and disposition of criminal charges, including sen-
tencing, confinement, parole and release records.  

(4) “Criminal records check” means one or more of the fol-
lowing three processes undertaken by the Board to check the crim-
inal history of a subject individual: 

(a) Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS) Check: A name-
based check of criminal offender information maintained by the 
OSP;  

(b) Oregon Criminal Records Check: A check of Oregon crim-
inal offender information, through fingerprint identification and other 
means, conducted by the OSP at the Board’s request; or  

(c) Nationwide Criminal Records Check: A nationwide check 
of federal criminal offender information, through fingerprint iden-
tification and other means, conducted by the OSP through the Fed-
eral Bureau of Investigations (FBI) or otherwise at the Board’s 
request. 

(5) “Criminal records request form” means a Board-approved 
form, completed by a subject individual, requesting the Board to con-
duct a criminal records check.  

(6) “False statement” means, in association with an activity gov-
erned by these rules, a subject individual either: 

(a) Provided the Board with false information about the subject 
individual’s criminal history, including but not limited to false infor-
mation about the individual’s identity or conviction record; or  

(b) Failed to provide the Board information material to deter-
mine the individual’s criminal history.  

(7) “Fitness determination” means a determination made by the 
Board, pursuant to the process established under OAR 847-002-
0020, that a subject individual is fit or not fit to be a Board employ-
ee or volunteer.  

(8) “OSP” means the Oregon State Police. 
(9) “Subject individual” means an individual the Board may 

require to complete a criminal records check pursuant to these rules 
because the person is: 

(a) A Board employee; 
(b) A Board volunteer; or  
(c) An applicant for employment with the Board. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-002-0010 
Criminal Records Check Process 

(1) A subject individual must disclose information required by 
the Board as described below:  

(a) Before a criminal records check, a subject individual must 
complete and sign the Board Criminal Records Request form and a 
fingerprint card, both of which may include identifying information 
(e.g., name, birth date, social security number, physical characteris-
tics, driver’s license or identification card number and current and 
previous addresses).  

(b) A subject individual must complete and submit to the Board 
the Criminal Records Request form and, if requested, a fingerprint 
card within five business days of receiving the forms. The deadline 
may be extended for good cause.  

(c) Additional information may be required from the subject 
individual as necessary to complete the criminal records check and 
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fitness determination, including but not limited to, proof of identi-
ty or additional criminal, judicial, or other background information. 

(d) The Board may not request a fingerprint card from a sub-
ject individual under the age of 18 years unless the subject individ-
ual is emancipated pursuant to ORS 419B.550 et seq, or unless the 
Board also requests the written consent of a parent or guardian. Such 
parent or guardian and youth must be informed that they are not 
required to consent. Notwithstanding, failure to consent may be con-
strued as a refusal to consent under OAR 847-002-0015(4).  

(2) The Board or its staff may conduct, or request the OSP to 
conduct, a criminal record check when: 

(a) An individual meets the definition of a subject individual; 
or 

(b) A federal law or regulation, state statute or administrative 
rule, or contract or written agreement with the Board requires a crim-
inal record check. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-002-0015  
Final Fitness Determination  

(1) After a criminal records check, the Board or its staff must 
make a fitness determination about a subject individual based on 
information provided by the subject individual under OAR 847-002-
0010(1), any criminal records check conducted, and any false state-
ment made by the subject individual. 

(2) In relation to information described in section (1) of this rule 
and other known information, the following factors will be consid-
ered:  

(a) Whether the subject individual has been convicted, found 
guilty except for insanity (or a comparable disposition), or has a 
pending indictment for a crime listed in OAR 847-002-0020;  

(b) The nature of any crime identified under section (2)(a) of 
this rule;  

(c) The facts that support the conviction, finding of guilty except 
for insanity, or pending indictment;  

(d) Any facts that indicate the subject individual made a false 
statement;  

(e) The relevance, if any, of a crime identified under section 
(2)(a) of this rule or of a false statement made by the subject indi-
vidual to the specific requirements of the subject individual’s present 
or proposed position, services or employment; and  

(f) The following intervening circumstances, to the extent that 
they are relevant to the responsibilities and circumstances of the posi-
tion, services or employment:  

(A) The passage of time since the commission or alleged com-
mission of the crime identified under section (2)(a) of this rule;  

(B) The age of the subject individual at the time of the com-
mission or alleged commission of the crime identified under section 
(2)(a) of this rule;  

(C) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the com-
mission of another crime;  

(D) The subsequent commission of another crime listed in OAR 
847-002-0020; 

(E) Whether the conviction identified under section (2)(a) of 
this rule has been set aside, and the legal effect of setting aside the 
conviction;  

(F) A recommendation of an employer;  
(G) The disposition of the pending indictment identified under 

section (2)(a) of this rule;  
(H) Whether the subject individual has been arrested for or 

charged with a crime listed under OAR 847-002-0020;  
(I) Whether the subject individual is being investigated, or has 

an outstanding warrant, for a crime listed under OAR 847-002-0020;  
(J) Whether the subject individual is currently on probation, 

parole or another form of post-prison supervision for a crime listed 
under OAR 847-002-0020;  

(K) Whether the subject individual has a deferred sentence or 
conditional discharge in connection with a crime listed under OAR 
847-002-0020;  

(L) Whether the subject individual has been adjudicated in a 
juvenile court and found to be within the court’s jurisdiction for an 
offense that would have constituted a crime listed in OAR 847-002-
0020 if committed by an adult;  

(M) Periods of incarceration of the subject individual; and  
(N) The education and work history (paid or volunteer) of the 

subject individual since the commission or alleged commission of a 
crime.  

(3) The subject individual must meet with the Board or its staff 
if requested and provide additional relevant information or autho-
rization to obtain other relevant information within a reasonable peri-
od of time, as established by the Board.  

(4) If a subject individual refuses to submit or consent to a crim-
inal records check including fingerprint identification, the Board may 
deny the position, employment or services. A person may not appeal 
any determination made based on a refusal to consent.  

(5) If a subject individual is determined to be not fit, the sub-
ject individual may not be employed by or provide services as a vol-
unteer to the Board.  

(6) A completed final fitness determination is a final order of 
the Board unless the affected subject individual appeals the deter-
mination by requesting a contested case hearing as provided by OAR 
847-002-0035(1) or an alternative appeals process as provided by 
OAR 847-002-0035(6).  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-002-0020 
Potentially Disqualifying Crimes 

(1) Crimes Relevant to a Fitness Determination: 
(a) All felonies; 
(b) All misdemeanors; and 
(c) Any United States Military crime or international crime. 
(2) A crime will be evaluated on the basis of the law of the juris-

diction in which the crime or offense occurred, as those laws are in 
effect at the time of the fitness determination.  

(3) Under no circumstances may a subject individual be deter-
mined to be not fit under these rules on the basis of the existence or 
contents of a juvenile record that has been expunged pursuant to ORS 
419A.260 and ORS 419A.262. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-002-0025  
Incomplete Fitness Determination.  

(1) A preliminary or final fitness determination is incomplete 
when:  

(a) Circumstances change so that a person no longer meets the 
definition of a “subject individual” under OAR 847-002-0005;  

(b) The subject individual does not submit materials or infor-
mation within the time required under OAR 847-001-0045;  

(c) The Board cannot locate or contact the subject individual;  
(d) The subject individual fails or refuses to cooperate with 

attempts to acquire other criminal records information under OAR 
847-002-0015;  

(e) The subject individual is not eligible or not qualified for the 
position of employee or volunteer, for a reason unrelated to the fit-
ness determination process; or  

(f) The position is no longer open. 
(2) A subject individual does not have a right to a contested case 

hearing under OAR 847-002-0035(1) or a right to an alternative 
appeals process under OAR 847-002-0035(6) to challenge the clos-
ing of a fitness determination as incomplete.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-002-0030  
Notice to Subject Individual of Fitness Determination.  

The Board must inform the subject individual if he or she is 
determined not to be fit via personal service or registered or certi-
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fied mail to the most current address provided by the subject  
individual. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-002-0035  
Appealing a Fitness Determination  

(1) Appeal process:  
(a) To request a contested case hearing, the subject individual 

or the subject individual’s legal representative must submit a writ-
ten request for a contested case within 14 calendar days of the date 
of the notice provided under OAR 847-002-0030 to the address spec-
ified in that notice. The Board must address a request received after 
expiration of the deadline as provided under OAR 137-003-0528. 

(b) When a timely request is received, a contested case hearing 
will be conducted by an administrative law judge assigned by the 
Office of Administrative Hearings, pursuant to the Attorney Gener-
al’s Uniform and Model Rules, “Procedural Rules, Office of Admin-
istrative Hearings” OAR 137-003-0501 to 137-003-0700, as sup-
plemented by the provisions of this rule. 

(2) Discovery: The Board or the administrative law judge may 
protect information made confidential by ORS 181.534(15) or other 
applicable law as provided under OAR 137-003-0570(7) or (8).  

(3) Contested case hearings on fitness determinations are closed 
to non-participants.  

(4) Proposed and Final Order:  
(a) After a hearing, the administrative law judge will issue a pro-

posed order.  
(b) Exceptions, if any, must be filed within 14 calendar days 

after service of the proposed order. The proposed order must provide 
an address to which exceptions must be sent. 

(c) A completed final fitness determination made under OAR 
847-002-0015 becomes final:  

(A) Unless the subject individual makes a timely request for a 
hearing; or  

(B) When a party withdraws a hearing request, notifies the 
Board or the Administrative Law Judge that the party will not appear, 
or fails to appear at the hearing.  

(5) The only remedy that may be awarded is a determination 
that the subject individual is fit or not fit. Under no circumstances 
may the Board be required to place a subject individual in any posi-
tion, nor may the Board be required to accept services or enter into 
a contractual agreement with a subject individual.  

(6) Alternative Process: A subject individual currently employed 
by the Board may choose to appeal a fitness determination either 
under the process made available in sections (1) to (5) of this rule or 
through a process made available by applicable personnel rules, poli-
cies and collective bargaining provisions. A subject individual’s deci-
sion to appeal a fitness determination through applicable personnel 
rules, policies, and collective bargaining provisions is an election of 
remedies as to the rights of the individual with respect to the fitness 
determination and is a waiver of the contested case process made 
available by this rule.  

(7) A subject individual may not use the appeals process estab-
lished by this rule to challenge the accuracy or completeness of infor-
mation provided by the OSP, the FBI, or agencies reporting infor-
mation to the OSP or the FBI.  

(a) To challenge such information, a subject individual may use 
any process made available by the agency that provided the infor-
mation.  

(b) If the subject individual successfully challenges the accu-
racy or completeness of such information and the position for which 
the original criminal history check was conducted is vacant and avail-
able, the subject individual may request that the Board conduct a new 
criminal records check and re-evaluate the original fitness determi-
nation made under OAR 847-002-0015 by submitting a new Board 
Criminal Records Request form. 

(8) Appealing a fitness determination under section (1) or sec-
tion (6) of this rule, challenging criminal offender information with 
the agency that provided the information, or requesting a new crim-
inal records check and re-evaluation of the original fitness determi-

nation under section (7)(b) of this rule, will not delay or postpone the 
Board’s hiring process or employment decisions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-002-0040  
Recordkeeping and Confidentiality 

Any information obtained in the criminal records check is con-
fidential. The Board must restrict the access and dissemination of 
information obtained in the criminal records check to only those per-
sons with a demonstrated and legitimate need to know the informa-
tion. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-002-0045 
Fees  

(1) The Board may charge a fee for acquiring criminal offend-
er information for use in making a fitness determination that will not 
exceed the fee charged the Board by the OSP and the FBI to obtain 
such information.  

(2) The Board may charge the fee to the subject individual on 
whom criminal offender information is sought.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534 
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

DIVISION 3 

BOARD ADMINISTRATION 

847-003-0100 
Declared Emergency — Delegation of Authority 

(1) An emergency under this rule exists when: 
(a) A State of Emergency or a Public Health Emergency has 

been declared by the Governor of Oregon under ORS 401.165 or 
433.441 through 433.452; or 

(b) The provisions of any relevant rules in Chapter 847 Oregon 
Administrative Rules have been suspended by the Governor under 
the authority of ORS 401.168(2); or 

(c) A signatory to the Pacific Northwest Emergency Manage-
ment Arrangement (the states of Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Wash-
ington, and the Province of British Columbia and the Yukon Terri-
tory) has requested assistance during a civil emergency as authorized 
in ORS 402.250; or  

(d) The President of the United States or another federal offi-
cial has declared a public health emergency; or 

(e) The Governor has authorized the Public Health Director to 
take the actions described in ORS 431.264. 

(2) When an emergency exists as defined above, any authority 
vested in the Board may be exercised by the Executive Director, any 
person acting as Executive Director in the Executive Director’s 
absence or incapacity, or any person the Executive Director desig-
nates to make such decisions on the Executive Director’s behalf. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 401.168, 402.105, 433.441 & 677.265  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 401.165 & 677.265 
Hist.: OMB 19-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12 

847-003-0200 
Board Member Compensation 

(1) Board members of the Oregon Medical Board shall receive 
up to $250 compensation for each day or portion thereof during 
which the member is actually engaged in the performance of official 
duties, which includes Board and committee meetings and activities 
that the Board has pre-approved or requested that the member attend 
as its representative. 

(2) The compensation amount shall be in addition to the allow-
able reimbursement for travel expenses. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.235 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 292.495, 677.235 
Hist.: OMB 25-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 
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DIVISION 5 

FEES 

847-005-0005 
Fees 

(1) Licensing Fees:  
(a) Doctor of Medicine/Doctor of Osteopathy (MD/DO) Initial 

License Application — $375.  
(b) MD/DO Registration: Active, Administrative Medicine, 

Inactive, Locum Tenens, Military/Public Health, Telemedicine, Tele-
monitoring and Teleradiology — $253/year+*.  

(c) MD/DO Registration: Emeritus — $50/year.  
(d) MD/DO Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX, Visiting Pro-

fessor, Fellow, Medical Faculty, Postgraduate Application — $185.  
(e) MD/DO Application to Supervise a Physician Assistant — 

$100.  
(f) Acupuncture Initial License Application — $245.  
(g) Acupuncture Registration: Active, Inactive, Locum Tenens 

and Military/Public Health — $161/year*.  
(h) Acupuncture Registration: Emeritus — $50/year.  
(i) Acupuncture Limited License, Visiting Professor, Pending 

Examination Application — $75.  
(j) Physician Assistant Initial License Application — $245.  
(k) Physician Assistant Registration: Active, Inactive, Locum 

Tenens and Military/Public Health — $191/year*.  
(l) Physician Assistant Registration: Emeritus — $50/year.  
(m) Physician Assistant Surcharge for 2014–2015 registration 

period — $65.  
(n) Physician Assistant Limited License, Pending Examination 

Application — $75.  
(o) Podiatrist Initial Application — $340.  
(p) Podiatrist Registration: Active, Administrative Medicine, 

Inactive, Locum Tenens, Military/Public Health, Telemedicine and 
Telemonitoring — $243/year*.  

(q) Podiatrist Registration: Emeritus — $50/year.  
(r) Podiatrist Limited License, Postgraduate Application — 

$185.  
(s) Reactivation Application Fee — $50.  
(t) Electronic Prescription Drug Monitoring Program — 

$25/year**.  
(u) Workforce Data Fee — $5/license period***.  
(v) Criminal Records Check Fee — $52****.  
(w) Oral Specialty or Competency Examination ($1,000 deposit 

required) — Actual costs.  
(2) Delinquent Registration Renewals:  
(a) Delinquent MD/DO Registration Renewal — $195.  
(b) Delinquent Acupuncture Registration Renewal — $80.  
(c) Delinquent Physician Assistant Registration Renewal — 

$80.  
(d) Delinquent Podiatrist Registration Renewal — $195.  
(3) Licensee Information Request Charges:  
(a) Verification of Licensure — Individual Requests (1–4 

Licenses) — $10 per license.  
(b) Verification of Licensure — Multiple (5 or more) — $7.50 

per license.  
(c) Malpractice Report — Individual Requests — $10 per 

license.  
(d) Malpractice Report — Multiple (monthly report) — $15 per 

report.  
(e) Disciplinary — Individual Requests — $10 per license.  
(4) Base Service Charges for Copying — $5 + .20/page.  
(5) Record Search Charges (+ copy charges in section (4) of this 

rule):  
(a) Clerical — $20 per hour.  
(b) Administrative — $40 per hour.  
(c) Executive — $50 per hour.  
(d) Medical — $75 per hour.  
(6) Data Order Charges:  
(a) Standard Licensee Data Order — $75 each.  
(b) Custom Licensee Data Order — $75 + $40.00 per hour 

Administrative time.  

(c) Address Label Disk — $50 each.  
(7) All Board fees and fines are non-refundable and non-trans-

ferable.  
(8) The Board may waive or reduce fees for public records upon 

written request if the Board determines that making the record avail-
able primarily benefits the general public. 

+Per ORS 677.290(3), fee includes $10.00 for the Oregon Health and Sci-
ence University Library. 
*Collected biennially excepted where noted in the Administrative Rules.  
**Per ORS 431.960-431.978, fee is assessed to licensees authorized to pre-
scribe or dispense controlled substances in Oregon for the purpose of cre-
ating and maintaining the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program admin-
istered by the Oregon Health Authority.  
***Per ORS 676.410, fee is assessed for the purpose of creating and main-
taining a healthcare workforce data base administered by the Oregon Health 
Authority. 
****Per ORS 181.534(9)(g), fee is the actual cost of acquiring and fur-
nishing criminal offender information.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 431.972, 676.410, 677.265 & 677.290 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534, 192.440, 431.972, 676.410, 677.265 & 
677.290 
Hist.: ME 7-1984, f. & ef. 1-26-84; ME 17-1984, f. & ef. 11-5-84; ME 6-1985, 
f. & ef. 7-30-85; ME 3-1986(Temp), f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 4-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-
86; ME 9-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86; ME 2-1987, f. & ef. 1-10-87; ME 7-1987(Temp), 
f. & ef. 1-26-87; ME 9-1987, f. & ef. 4-28-87; ME 25-1987, f. & ef. 11-5-87; ME 
9-1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-88; ME 14-1988, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-88; ME 1-1989, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-25-89; ME 5-1989 (Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-16-89; ME 6-1989, f. 
& cert. ef. 4-27-89; ME 9-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-1-89; ME 17-1989, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-20-89; ME 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 9-1990, f. & cert. ef. 
8-2-90; ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 11-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-
21-91; ME 6-1992, f. & cert. ef. 5-26-92; ME 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-93; ME 
13-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-93; ME 14-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-93; ME 
1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; ME 6-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-95; ME 7-1996, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-29-96; ME 3-1997, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-97; BME 7-1998, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-22-98; BME 7-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-99; BME 10-1999, f. 7-8-99, cert. 
ef. 8-3-99; BME 14-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-99; BME 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-
22-00; BME 6-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-18-01 thru 11-30-01; BME 10-2001, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 8-2003, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-03; BME 16-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-23-03; BME 17-2004, f. & cert. ef. 9-9-04; BME 6-2005, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-20-05; BME 15-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; BME 1-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-
24-07; BME 1-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; BME 15-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; 
BME 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; BME 15-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-11-09 
thru 3-8-10; BME 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10; OMB 10-2011(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 7-13-11 thru 1-4-12; OMB 18-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-
12; OMB 22-2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-18-11; OMB 33-2011(Temp), f. 12-28-11, cert. 
ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 3-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 9-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 3-2-12 thru 8-29-12; OMB 20-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12; OMB 27-
2012(Temp), f. 10-12-12 thru 4-10-13; OMB 5-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13; OMB 
13-2013(Temp), f. 7-12-13, cert. ef. 7-15-13 thru 1-11-14; OMB 26-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-15-13; OMB 10-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-14 

847-005-0010 
Copying Charges and Charges for Oregon Medical Board 
Documents 

(1) A charge per image for photo copies requested by state 
employees for their personal use, by state agencies and by the gen-
eral public shall be made as follows:  

(a) 5¢ for state employees copying their own material;  
(b) 5¢ for state agencies;  
(c) 20¢ for the general public copying state records available in 

the Oregon Medical Board only.  
(2) A charge for documents developed by the Oregon Medical 

Board may, at the discretion of the Board’s administrator, be made 
in an amount not exceeding the actual cost per copy of such docu-
ments.  

(3) In addition to the above charges, at the discretion of the 
Board’s administrator, a charge may be made for the actual cost of 
staff time required for search, copying, handling and/or certification. 

(4) The above charges for state employees obtaining documents 
or copying for their personal use and for the general public obtain-
ing documents or copying shall be payable in cash only. The above 
charges for state agencies obtaining documents or copying shall be 
paid in cash unless, at the discretion of the Board’s administrator, 
billing to such agencies is authorized.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265(1) 
Hist.: ME 8-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; Renumbered from 847-010-0085; ME 7-
1984, f. & ef. 1-26-84  
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DIVISION 6 

MEDIATION COMMUNICATIONS 

847-006-0000 
Confidentiality and Inadmissibility of Mediation 
Communications 

(1) The words and phrases used in this rule have the same mean-
ing as given to them in ORS 36.110 and 36.234. 

(2) Nothing in this rule affects any confidentiality created by 
other law. Nothing in this rule relieves a public body from comply-
ing with the Public Meetings Law, ORS 192.610 to 192.690. 
Whether or not they are confidential under this or other rules of the 
agency, mediation communications are exempt from disclosure 
under the Public Records Law to the extent provided in 192.410 to 
192.505. 

(3) This rule applies only to mediations in which the agency is 
a party or is mediating a dispute as to which the agency has regula-
tory authority. This rule does not apply when the agency is acting as 
the “mediator” in a matter in which the agency also is a party as 
defined in ORS 36.234. 

(4) To the extent mediation communications would otherwise 
be compromise negotiations under ORS 40.190 (OEC Rule 408), 
those mediation communications are not admissible as provided in 
40.190 (OEC Rule 408), notwithstanding any provisions to the con-
trary in section (9) of this rule. 

(5) Mediations Excluded. Sections (6)–(10) of this rule do not 
apply to: 

(a) Mediation of workplace interpersonal disputes involving the 
interpersonal relationships between this agency’s employees, offi-
cials or employees and officials, unless a formal grievance under a 
labor contract, a tort claim notice or a lawsuit has been filed; or  

(b) Mediation in which the person acting as the mediator will 
also act as the hearings officer in a contested case involving some 
or all of the same matters; 

(c) Mediation in which the only parties are public bodies; 
(d) Mediation involving two or more public bodies and a pri-

vate party if the laws, rule or policies governing mediation confi-
dentiality for at least one of the public bodies provide that mediation 
communications in the mediation are not confidential; 

(e) Mediation involving 15 or more parties if the agency has 
designated that another mediation confidentiality rule adopted by the 
agency may apply to that mediation. 

(6) Disclosures by Mediator. A mediator may not disclose or 
be compelled to disclose mediation communications in a mediation 
and, if disclosed, such communications may not be introduced into 
evidence in any subsequent administrative, judicial or arbitration pro-
ceeding unless: 

(a) All the parties to the mediation and the mediator agree in 
writing to the disclosure; or 

(b) The mediation communication may be disclosed or intro-
duced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding as provided in sub-
sections (c)–(d), (j)–(l) or (o)–(p) of section (9) of this rule. 

(7) Confidentiality and Inadmissibility of Mediation Com-
munications. Except as provided in sections (8)–(9) of this rule, 
mediation communications are confidential and may not be disclosed 
to any other person, are not admissible in any subsequent adminis-
trative, judicial or arbitration proceeding and may not be disclosed 
during testimony in, or during any discovery conducted as part of a 
subsequent proceeding, or introduced as evidence by the parties or 
the mediator in any subsequent proceeding. 

(8) Written Agreement. Section (7) of this rule does not apply 
to a mediation unless the parties to the mediation agree in writing, 
as provided in this section, that the mediation communications in the 
mediation will be confidential and/or nondiscoverable and inad-
missible. If the mediator is the employee of and acting on behalf of 
a state agency, the mediator or an authorized agency representative 
must also sign the agreement. The parties’ agreement to participate 
in a confidential mediation must be in substantially the following 
form. This form may be used separately or incorporated into an 
“agreement to mediate.” [Form not included. See ED. NOTE.] 

(9) Exceptions to confidentiality and inadmissibility.  

(a) Any statements, memoranda, work products, documents and 
other materials, otherwise subject to discovery that were not prepared 
specifically for use in the mediation are not confidential and may be 
disclosed or introduced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding. 

(b) Any mediation communications that are public records, as 
defined in ORS 192.410(4), and were not specifically prepared for 
use in the mediation are not confidential and may be disclosed or 
introduced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding unless the sub-
stance of the communication is confidential or privileged under state 
or federal law. 

(c) A mediation communication is not confidential and may be 
disclosed by any person receiving the communication to the extent 
that person reasonably believes that disclosing the communication 
is necessary to prevent the commission of a crime that is likely to 
result in death or bodily injury to any person. A mediation commu-
nication is not confidential and may be disclosed in a subsequent pro-
ceeding to the extent its disclosure may further the investigation or 
prosecution of a felony crime involving physical violence to a per-
son. 

(d) Any mediation communication related to the conduct of a 
licensed professional that is made to or in the presence of a person 
who, as a condition of his or her professional license, is obligated to 
report such communication by law or court rule is not confidential 
and may be disclosed to the extent necessary to make such a report.  

(e) The parties to the mediation may agree in writing that all or 
part of the mediation communications are not confidential or that all 
or part of the mediation communications may be disclosed and may 
be introduced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding unless the 
substance of the communication is confidential, privileged or oth-
erwise prohibited from disclosure under state or federal law. 

(f) A party to the mediation may disclose confidential media-
tion communications to a person if the party’s communication with 
that person is privileged under ORS Chapter 40 or other provision 
of law. A party to the mediation may disclose confidential mediation 
communications to a person for the purpose of obtaining advice con-
cerning the subject matter of the mediation, if all the parties agree. 

(g) An employee of the agency may disclose confidential medi-
ation communications to another agency employee so long as the dis-
closure is necessary to conduct authorized activities of the agency. 
An employee receiving a confidential mediation communication 
under this subsection is bound by the same confidentiality require-
ments as apply to the parties to the mediation. 

(h) A written mediation communication may be disclosed or 
introduced as evidence in a subsequent proceeding at the discretion 
of the party who prepared the communication so long as the com-
munication is not otherwise confidential under state or federal law 
and does not contain confidential information from the mediator or 
another party who does not agree to the disclosure. 

(i) In any proceeding to enforce, modify or set aside a media-
tion agreement, a party to the mediation may disclose mediation 
communications and such communications may be introduced as 
evidence to the extent necessary to prosecute or defend the matter. 
At the request of a party, the court may seal any part of the record 
of the proceeding to prevent further disclosure of mediation com-
munications or agreements to persons other than the parties to the 
agreement.  

(j) In an action for damages or other relief between a party to 
the mediation and a mediator or mediation program, mediation com-
munications are not confidential and may be disclosed and may be 
introduced as evidence to the extent necessary to prosecute or defend 
the matter. At the request of a party, the court may seal any part of 
the record of the proceeding to prevent further disclosure of the medi-
ation communications or agreements. 

(k) When a mediation is conducted as part of the negotiation of 
a collective bargaining agreement, the following mediation com-
munications are not confidential and such communications may be 
introduced into evidence in a subsequent administrative, judicial or 
arbitration proceeding: 

(A) A request for mediation; or 
(B) A communication from the Employment Relations Board 

Conciliation Service establishing the time and place of mediation; or  
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(C) A final offer submitted by the parties to the mediator pur-
suant to ORS 243.712; or 

(D) A strike notice submitted to the Employment Relations 
Board. 

(l) To the extent a mediation communication contains infor-
mation the substance of which is required to be disclosed by Oregon 
statute, other than ORS 192.410 to 192.505, that portion of the com-
munication may be disclosed as required by statute. 

(m) Written mediation communications prepared by or for the 
agency or its attorney are not confidential and may be disclosed and 
may be introduced as evidence in any subsequent administrative, 
judicial or arbitration proceeding to the extent the communication 
does not contain confidential information from the mediator or anoth-
er party, except for those written mediation communications that are: 

(A) Attorney-client privileged communications so long as they 
have been disclosed to no one other than the mediator in the course 
of the mediation or to persons as to whom disclosure of the com-
munication would not waive the privilege; or 

(B) Attorney work product prepared in anticipation of litigation 
or for trial; or 

(C) Prepared exclusively for the mediator or in a caucus session 
and not given to another party in the mediation other than a state 
agency; or 

(D) Prepared in response to the written request of the mediator 
for specific documents or information and given to another party in 
the mediation; or 

(E) Settlement concepts or proposals shared with the mediator 
or other parties. 

(n) A mediation communication made to the agency may be dis-
closed and may be admitted into evidence to the extent the Execu-
tive Director determines that disclosure of the communication is nec-
essary to prevent or mitigate a serious danger to the public’s health 
or safety, and the communication is not otherwise confidential or 
privileged under state or federal law. 

(o) The terms of any mediation agreement are not confidential 
and may be introduced as evidence in a subsequent proceeding, 
except to the extent the terms of the agreement are exempt from dis-
closure under ORS 192.410 to 192.505, a court has ordered the terms 
to be confidential under 17.095 or state or federal law requires the 
terms to be confidential. 

(p) The mediator may report the disposition of a mediation to 
the agency at the conclusion of the mediation so long as the report 
does not disclose specific confidential mediation communications. 
The agency or the mediator may use or disclose confidential medi-
ation communications for research, training or educational purpos-
es, subject to the provisions of ORS 36.232(4). 

(10) When a mediation is subject to section (7) of this rule, the 
agency will provide to all parties to the mediation and the mediator 
a copy of this rule or a citation to the rule and an explanation of 
where a copy of the rule may be obtained. Violation of this provision 
does not waive confidentiality or inadmissibility.  

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced in this rule are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 36.220 & 36.245 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 36.220 & 36.245 
Hist.: BME 1-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-26-99 thru 7-16-99; BME 3-
1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-17-99 thru 7-16-99; BME 8-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-
22-99 

DIVISION 8 

REGISTRATION, USE OF NAME, 
CHANGE OF ADDRESS 

847-008-0000 
Definitions 

As used in OAR chapter 847, “Licensee” means an individual 
holding a valid license, or certificate issued by the Board to practice 
as a Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Osteopathy, Doctor of Podiatric 
Medicine, Physician Assistant, or Acupuncturist. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.800 - 688.835 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 11-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-92; 
BME 7-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98 

847-008-0003 
Delegation of Authority 

(1) The Executive Director or, in the absence of the Executive 
Director, the Medical Director has the authority to grant, renew and 
reactivate licensure for all license types and statuses upon satisfac-
tory completion of the application.  

(2) The Executive Director or, in the absence of the Executive 
Director, the Medical Director has the authority to approve visiting 
physician applications and visiting acupuncturist applications.  

(3) The Executive Director has the authority to waive the reg-
istration fee for good and sufficient reason.  

(4) The Executive Director has the authority to require addi-
tional documentation or explanatory statements for the application 
file to be considered satisfactorily complete.  

(5) The Executive Director has the authority to determine that 
an applicant qualifies for licensure by expedited endorsement.  

(6) The Executive Director has the authority to perform initial 
reviews of applications to determine whether an applicant or licensee 
meets the qualifications, has satisfactorily completed the application 
and should be approved or whether the application file contains 
derogatory information that requires review by an advisory com-
mittee and a determination by the Board.  

(7) The Executive Director or Medical Director has the author-
ity to review and approve Consent Agreements for re-entry to prac-
tice for applicants who have ceased clinical practice for a period of 
24 or more consecutive months and grant a license to the applicant 
upon the Executive Director’s or Medical Director’s signature.  

(8) The Medical Director has the authority to determine whether 
an applicant or licensee has significant malpractice claims or patient 
care issues that require additional review by an advisory committee 
and a determination by the Board.  

(9) The Executive Director has the authority to grant waivers 
of the competency examinations if the applicable waiver require-
ments are met. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 677.235  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 292.495, 677.235  
Hist.: OMB 14-2013(Temp), f. 7-12-13, cert. ef. 7-15-13 thru 1-11-14; OMB 27-
2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13; OMB 11-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-14 

847-008-0005 
Registration Periods 

Every licensee of the Board shall renew their registration prior 
to the last day of each renewal period as follows: 

(1) The registration renewal form and fee for Doctors of 
Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathy, Doctors of Podiatric Medicine and 
Physician Assistants must be received in the Board office during reg-
ular business hours and must be satisfactorily complete on or before 
December 31 of each odd-numbered year.  

(2) The registration renewal form and fee for Doctors of 
Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathy, Doctors of Podiatric Medicine and 
Physician Assistants with Emeritus status must be received in the 
Board office during regular business hours and must be satisfacto-
rily complete on or before December 31 of every year.  

(3) Doctors of Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathy and Doctors of 
Podiatric Medicine in a qualified postgraduate training program may 
elect to register on an annual basis. 

(4) The registration renewal form and fee for Licensed 
Acupuncturists must be received in the Board office during regular 
business hours and must be satisfactorily complete on or before June 
30 of each even-numbered year. 

(5) If the registration renewal form and fee are not received in 
the Board office during regular business hours and are not satisfac-
torily complete on or before the last day of the renewal period, the 
license will lapse. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 
11-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-92; BME 7-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 3-2003, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 16-2008, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-21-08 
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847-008-0010 
Initial Registration 

(1) An applicant for licensure as a physician (MD/DO), podi-
atrist, physician assistant, or acupuncturist, whose application file is 
complete, must submit to the Board the initial registration form and 
fee prior to being granted a license by the Board. 

(2) Per OAR 847-020-0110(2), a person applying for licensure 
who has not completed the licensure process within a 12 month con-
secutive period must file a new application, documents, letters and 
pay a full filing fee as if filing for the first time.  

(3) An individual who initially becomes licensed, certified or 
registered by the Board at any time during the first 12 months of a 
biennial registration period must pay the entire biennial registration 
fee for that period, except as provided in OAR 847-008-0015 and 
847-008-0025.  

(4) An individual who initially becomes licensed, certified, or 
registered by the Board at any time during the second 12 months of 
the biennial registration period must pay the registration fee for one 
year. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172, 677.190 & 677.205 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; BME 
8-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 2-2002, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; OMB 13-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12; OMB 12-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-8-14 

847-008-0015 
Active Registration 

(1) Each licensee of the Board who practices within the State 
of Oregon shall register and pay a biennial active registration fee 
prior to the last day of the registration period, except where:  

(a) The licensee is in a qualified training program and elects to 
register on an annual basis.  

(b) The licensee practices on an intermittent, locum-tenens 
basis, as defined in OAR 847-008-0020.  

(c) The licensee is in the Military or Public Health Service or 
employed with the US Department of Veteran Affairs, the US Depart-
ment of State, Foreign Service or the Indian Health Service where 
the licensee’s official state of residence is Oregon as defined in OAR 
847-008-0018.  

(d) The licensee practices teleradiology as defined in OAR 847-
008-0022, telemonitoring as defined in OAR 847-008-0023, or 
telemedicine as defined in OAR 847-025.  

(2) Each licensee of the Board whose practice address of record 
with the Board is within 100 miles of the border of the State of Ore-
gon and who intends to practice within Oregon shall qualify for 
active registration status. Such licensee shall submit a statement to 
the Board attesting to practice in Oregon.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.228 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; BME 
2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 7-2006, 
f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 8-2008, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-24-08; BME 16-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 21-2012, f. & cert. ef. 
8-3-12 

847-008-0018 
Military/Public Health Active Registration 

(1) Any licensee who is deployed with the US Military or 
employed with the US Public Health Service, US Department of Vet-
eran Affairs, the US Department of State Foreign Service or the Indi-
an Health Service for more than 12 months and whose official state 
of residence is Oregon must obtain a Military/Public Health Active 
status by providing the Board with written notification of current 
assignment or employment, a copy of their Oregon Driver’s License 
or other proof of residence, and payment of the biennial registration 
fee.  

(2) The Military/Public Health Active status remains valid as 
long as the licensee maintains active duty in the military or public 
health, and the licensee’s official state of residence is Oregon. At the 
conclusion of the military assignment or employment, the licensee 
must reactivate according to 847-008-0055 before beginning active 
practice in Oregon.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 8-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08; BME 16-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10; 
OMB 12-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11; OMB 21-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12 

847-008-0020 
Locum Tenens Registration 

(1) Any licensee whose official state of residence is a state other 
than Oregon who proposes to practice intermittently within the State 
shall register and pay the biennial locum tenens registration fee. 

(2) The licensee practicing in Oregon with a locum tenens reg-
istration status may practice for a period not longer than two hundred 
and forty consecutive days in the biennium, or a total of two hundred 
and forty days on an intermittent basis in the biennium. A licensee 
practicing in Oregon with a locum tenens registration status who 
wishes to reactivate to active registration status, may be granted an 
additional ninety days to complete the reactivation process. 

(3) A volunteer camp physician, who provides medical care at 
a non-profit camp, shall practice with locum tenens registration sta-
tus. The volunteer camp physician with locum tenens status may 
practice in Oregon for a period not longer than fourteen days per 
year. 

(4) A licensee who registers as locum tenens and who does not 
practice in Oregon during the biennium, shall be registered as inac-
tive at the time of registration renewal, and shall be required to reac-
tivate to locum tenens registration status prior to practicing in Ore-
gon. 

(5) Requirements, procedures, and fees for a Locum Tenens reg-
istration shall be the same as for active registration. 

(6) Any licensee registered as locum tenens shall provide the 
Board with timely notification of the location and duration of each 
Oregon practice prior to beginning of such practice. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; BME 
6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 7-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-18-01; BME 11-2002, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-25-02; BME 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09 

847-008-0022 
Teleradiology Registration 

(1) Teleradiology is the electronic transmission of radiological 
images from one location to another for the purposes of interpreta-
tion and/or consultation.  

(2) A physician whose specialty is radiology or diagnostic radi-
ology who practices in a location outside of Oregon and receives 
radiological images via teleradiology from an Oregon location for 
interpretation or consultation and who communicates his/her radio-
logical findings back to the ordering physician is practicing telera-
diology for Oregon. A physician practicing teleradiology for Oregon 
is not required to be licensed in Oregon. The Board, however, offers 
a license with Active — Teleradiology registration status for those 
physicians who require such for administrative reasons.  

(3) Physicians granted Active — Teleradiology status register 
and pay a biennial active registration fee. The physician with Active 
— Teleradiology status desiring to have Active status to practice in 
Oregon must submit the Affidavit of Reactivation and processing fee, 
and satisfactorily complete the reactivation process before beginning 
active practice in Oregon.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172 
Hist.: BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; 
BME 8-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08 

847-008-0023 
Telemonitoring Registration 

(1) Telemonitoring is the intraoperative monitoring of data col-
lected during surgery and electronically transmitted to a physician 
who practices in a location outside of Oregon via a telemedicine link 
for the purpose of allowing the monitoring physician to notify the 
operating team of changes that may have a serious effect on the out-
come and/or survival of the patient. The monitoring physician is in 
communication with the operation team through a technician in the 
operating room. 

(2) The facility where the surgery is to be performed must be 
a licensed hospital or ambulatory surgical center licensed by the 
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Department of Human Services, must grant medical staff member-
ship and/or clinical privileges to the monitoring physician, and must 
request the Oregon Medical Board grant Active-Telemonitoring sta-
tus to the monitoring physician to perform intraoperative telemoni-
toring on patients during surgery. 

(3) Physicians granted Active-Telemonitoring status may reg-
ister and pay a biennial active registration fee. The physician with 
Active-Telemonitoring status desiring to have Active status to prac-
tice in Oregon must submit the Affidavit of Reactivation and pro-
cessing fee, and satisfactorily complete the reactivation process 
before beginning active practice in Oregon. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: BME 1-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06 thru 7-7-06; BME 8-2006, f. & 
cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 8-2008, f. & cert. ef. 
4-24-08; BME 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10 

847-008-0025 
Inactive Registration 

Each licensee of the Board who is licensed, certified or regis-
tered but who does not practice within the State of Oregon, shall reg-
ister and pay a biennial inactive registration fee prior to the last day 
of the registration period, except where the licensee is a physician 
in a qualified training program and elects to register on an annual 
basis. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90 

847-008-0030 
Emeritus Registration 

A licensee who has retired from active practice, but does only 
volunteer, non-remunerative practice and receives no direct mone-
tary compensation, may register and pay an annual emeritus regis-
tration fee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00 

847-008-0035 
Retired Status 

A licensee who is fully retired and not practicing any form of 
medicine, whether paid, volunteer, or writing prescriptions in any 
state, may request retirement status and pay no biennial renewal fee. 
Prior to retirement a licensee shall notify the Board in writing of 
intent to retire. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 11-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-92; 
BME 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00 

847-008-0036 
Revoked or Suspended Status 

The Board may suspend or revoke the license to practice of a 
licensee of the Board: 

(1) For one or more reasons listed in ORS 677.190; 
(2) For reasons involving controlled substances as stated in 

ORS 677.480; 
(3) Upon notification by the Department of Justice that a child 

support case is being maintained and enforced and that the licensee 
is under judgment or order to pay monthly child support and is in 
arrears in an amount equal to three months of support or $2,500, 
whichever occurs later, as stated in ORS 25.750 and .780;  

(4) For mental illness or imprisonment as stated in ORS 
677.225; and 

(5) If the Board finds that evidence in its possession indicates 
that a continuation in practice of the licensee constitutes an imme-
diate danger to the public as stated in ORS 677.205. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: BME 16-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08 

847-008-0037 
Administrative Medicine 

(1) A physician or podiatric physician who proposes to practice 
Administrative Medicine within the State shall apply for and obtain 
a license. 

(2) A physician or podiatric physician with an Administrative 
Medicine license may not examine, care for or treat patients. A physi-
cian or podiatric physician with an Administrative Medicine license 
may advise organizations, both public and private, on healthcare mat-
ters; authorize and deny financial payments for care; organize and 
direct research programs; review care provided for quality; and other 
similar duties that do not require direct patient care. 

(3) Physicians or podiatric physicians granted Active — Admin-
istrative Medicine status must register and pay a biennial active reg-
istration fee. 

(4) The licensee with Active — Administrative Medicine sta-
tus desiring to have Active status to practice in Oregon must submit 
the Affidavit of Reactivation and processing fee, and satisfactorily 
complete the reactivation process before beginning active practice 
in Oregon. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 21-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-
24-07 thru 4-7-08; BME 2-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; BME 8-2008, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-24-08 

847-008-0040 
Process of Registration 

(1) The application for registration must be submitted to the 
Board by the first day of the month in which the license is due to 
expire.  

(2) The application for registration must be accompanied by the 
appropriate fee as listed in 847-005-0005.  

(3) At its discretion, the Board may waive the fee for good and 
sufficient reason.  

(4) If the licensee is the supervising physician of a physician 
assistant or the primary supervising physician of a supervising physi-
cian organization for a physician assistant, the application for reg-
istration must include any updates to existing practice agreements or 
Board-approved practice descriptions for every physician assistant 
the licensee supervises.  

(5) If the licensee has been out of practice for more than 12 con-
secutive months or there are other concerns regarding the licensee’s 
medical competency or fitness to practice, the Board may renew 
licensee at Inactive status once the license renewal form has been 
completed satisfactorily.  

(6) The Board must provide to all licensees who have complied 
with this section a certificate of registration, which must be displayed 
in a prominent place in the licensee’s primary practice location 
through the end of the last business day of the registration period.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.175, 677.265 & 677.510 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; 
BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 16-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 
2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; OMB 19-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 
4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OMB 27-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 
4-10-12; OMB 31-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 
4-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 22-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12; OMB 4-
2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-11-13 thru 7-10-13; OMB 7-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-
5-13; OMB 12-2014, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-14 

847-008-0045 
Failure to Apply for Registration 

(1) A license or certificate shall be considered delinquent if not 
renewed by the first day of the final month of the registration peri-
od. 

(2) A license or certification shall lapse if not received in the 
Board office during regular business hours on or before the final day 
of the registration period. 

(3) A licensee who wishes to officially surrender license must 
submit the engrossed license and wallet-sized card. This must be 
done prior to the expiration of registration. 

(4) Should a licensee continue to practice while a license or cer-
tificate is lapsed, that individual shall be considered practicing with-
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out a valid license or certificate, and may be subject to prosecution 
under ORS 677.205, or may be subject to discipline by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 
12-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-27-93; ME 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 
14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04 

847-008-0050 
Reinstatement of License Lapsed Due to Non-Renewal 

(1) A licensee of the Board whose license has lapsed through 
failure to renew registration may:  

(a) Reinstate within 90 days of the end of the registration peri-
od by paying a late registration fee, paying renewal fees for the 
lapsed registration period, completing and submitting the required 
forms, and meeting any other requirements defined by Oregon law. 
The reinstatement will be effective on the date the renewal is pro-
cessed. 

(b) Reactivate after 90 days from the end of the registration peri-
od but within two biennia by completing and submitting the reacti-
vation application and processing fee, paying a late registration fee, 
paying renewal fees for the lapsed registration periods, and meeting 
any other requirements defined by Oregon law. If a licensee has 
ceased the practice of medicine for a period of 12 or more consec-
utive months, the licensee may be required to demonstrate clinical 
competency. If a licensee has ceased the practice of medicine for a 
period of 24 or more consecutive months, the licensee may be 
required to complete a re-entry plan. The reactivation will be effec-
tive on the date the renewal is processed.  

(2) A license will expire if it is not reinstated or reactivated with-
in two biennia from the date the license lapsed. A previous licensee 
of the Board who wishes to be relicensed after the license has expired 
must apply as a new applicant by submitting the license application 
form and fee, meeting all current licensing requirements, and satis-
factorily completing the application process.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 11-1990, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; ME 
12-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-27-93; ME 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 
1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME 17-2003, f. & cert. ef. 12-8-03; OMB 12-
2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

847-008-0051 
Reinstatement Following Surrender of Licensure 

A licensee who wishes to be relicensed after surrendering licen-
sure, must apply as a new applicant, and submit the license appli-
cation form and fee. If the license had lapsed prior to surrender, the 
lapsed registration must be cleared by payment of the back regis-
tration fees and late fee. The applicant must meet all current licens-
ing requirements before being considered for relicensure.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.175 
Hist.: ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 12-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-
27-93; ME 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; 
BME 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-01 

847-008-0053 
Restoration of License from Revoked Status 

(1) A licensee whose license has been revoked may request 
restoration of the licensure two years after the date of revocation of 
his license, and must apply as a new applicant. 

(2) The applicant must meet all current licensing requirements, 
and pay all applicable fees. 

(3) Prior to the Board reviewing the request for restoration of 
a revoked license the applicant shall provide the Board with: 

(a) All relevant disciplinary actions in the applicant’s history; 
and 

(b) Professional history since the date of revocation, including 
continuing medical education, and professional or personal rehabil-
itation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.220 
Hist.: BME 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 7-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-18-01 

847-008-0055 
Reactivation from Locum Tenens/Inactive/Emeritus/Active-
Military or Public Health to Active/Locum Tenens Status 

(1) A licensee of the Board who wishes to reactivate from an 
inactive or emeritus status to an active or locum tenens status, or from 
locum tenens status to active status, must provide the Board with the 
following:  

(a) Completed Affidavit of Reactivation form;  
(b) Completed application(s) for registration;  
(c) Appropriate fees for processing of affidavit and registration;  
(d) A Board Action Databank Inquiry report sent directly to the 

Board from the Federation of State Medical Boards or Federation of 
Podiatric Medical Boards;  

(e) The results of a Practitioner Self-Query from the National 
Practitioner Data Bank sent to the Board by the applicant;  

(f) Verification of current licensure sent directly from each of 
the State Boards in the United States or Canada where the licensee 
has been practicing during the past 5 years, or from the date the 
license to practice in Oregon changed to inactive, locum tenens or 
emeritus status, whichever is the shorter period of time, showing 
license number, date issued, and status; and  

(g) An official letter sent directly to the Board from the direc-
tor, administrator, dean, or other official of each hospital, clinic, 
office, or training institute where the licensee was employed, prac-
ticed, had hospital privileges (MD/DO/DPM), or trained in the Unit-
ed States or foreign countries during the past 5 years, or from the date 
the license to practice in Oregon changed to locum tenens, inactive 
or emeritus status, whichever is the shorter period of time. The let-
ter must include an evaluation of overall performance, and specific 
beginning and ending dates of practice/employment/training.  

(2) A licensee who wishes to reactivate from an active-military 
or public health status to an active or locum tenens status must pro-
vide the Board with a completed Affidavit of Reactivation form and 
a copy of the Active Duty Orders, Change of Duty Orders or Reas-
signment Orders.  

(3) A personal appearance before the Board may be required.  
(4) If, in the judgment of the Board, the conduct of the licensee 

has been such, during the period of active-military or public health, 
locum tenens, inactive or emeritus registration, that the licensee 
would have been denied a license if applying for an initial license to 
practice medicine, the Board may deny active registration.  

(5) If a licensee has ceased the practice of medicine for a peri-
od of 12 or more consecutive months, the licensee may be required 
to demonstrate clinical competency.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-97; BME 
6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 7-2002, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-02; BME 2-2004, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 25-2006, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 2-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; OMB 12-2011, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-13-11; OMB 28-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-008-0056 
Reactivation from Retired to Emeritus/Locum Tenens/Active 
Status 

(1) A licensee who wishes to reactivate from a retired status to 
an emeritus, locum tenens, or active status must provide the Board 
with the following: 

(a) Completed affidavit form provided by the Board, describ-
ing activities during the period of retired registration; 

(b) Completed application(s) for registration; and 
(c) Appropriate fees for processing of affidavit, and registration 

fees. 
(2) If the license had lapsed prior to the change to retired sta-

tus, the lapsed registration must be cleared by payment of the reg-
istration renewal late fee before reactivation can be completed. 

(3) A personal appearance before the Board may be required. 
(4) If, in the judgment of the Board, the conduct of the licensee 

has been such, during the period of retired registration, that the 
licensee would have been denied a license if applying for an initial 
license to practice medicine, the Board may deny emeritus/locum 
tenens/active registration. 
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(5) If a licensee has ceased the practice of medicine for 12 or 
more consecutive months, the licensee may be required to take an 
examination to demonstrate medical competency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172 
Hist.: BME 16-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00 

847-008-0058 
Fraud or Misrepresentation 

(1) Omissions or false, misleading or deceptive statements or 
information on any Board application, affidavit or registration is a 
violation of ORS 677.190(8) and is grounds for a $195 fine for the 
first violation, a $250 fine for the second violation, and a $500 fine 
for the third or subsequent violation. The applicant or licensee may 
be subject to further disciplinary action by the Board. 

(2) If a fine is issued under section (1) of this rule, the Board 
will not approve an application, affidavit or registration until the 
applicant or licensee has paid the fine or is proceeding to a hearing 
as provided by ORS 183.745. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.175, 677.190, 677.205, 677.265 
Hist.: OMB 12-2014, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-14; OMB 7-2015(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
7-14-15 thru 1-9-16; OMB 9-2015, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-15 

847-008-0060 
Notification of Change of Location 

Each licensee of the Board shall notify the Board in writing 
within 30 days of any change in residence address, practice location, 
or mailing address. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 8-2009, f. & cert. ef. 5-1-09 

847-008-0065 
Use of Name 

(1) Each licensee of the Board must be licensed under licensee’s 
legal name and must practice under that legal name. 

(a) “Legal name” means the first name, middle name and last 
or surname, without the use of initials or nicknames and is the name 
given at birth or subsequently acquired through marriage, court order, 
adoption or naturalization.  

(b) Evidence of legal name must be in the form of official 
records such as a birth certificate, marriage certificate or a court 
order/decree.  

(2) When a name is changed, all of the following must be sub-
mitted to the Board within 30 days of the name change: 

(a) A signed change of name notification affidavit provided by 
this Board; 

(b) A copy of the legal document showing the name change; and 
(c) The returned original Oregon license and license card, or 

engrossed certificate, whichever is applicable. 
(3) Violation of this rule will result in a $195 fine and may be 

cause for further disciplinary action by the Board. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 24-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; 
OMB 23-2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-18-11; OMB 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-11-13 

847-008-0068 
State and Nationwide Criminal Records Checks, Fitness 
Determinations 

(1) The purpose of these rules is to provide for the reasonable 
screening of applicants and licensees in order to determine if they 
have a history of criminal behavior such that they are not fit to be 
granted or renewed a license that is issued by the Board.  

(2) These rules are to be applied when evaluating the criminal 
history of an applicant or licensee and conducting fitness determi-
nations based upon such history. The fact that an applicant or licensee 
has cleared the criminal history check does not guarantee the grant-
ing or renewal of a license.  

(3) The Board may require legible fingerprints of all applicants 
for a medical (MD/DO), podiatric (DPM), physician assistant (PA), 
and acupuncturist (LAc) license, licensees reactivating their license, 
licensees renewing their license and licensees under investigation to 

determine the fitness of an applicant or licensee. These fingerprints 
will be provided on prescribed forms made available by the Board. 
Fingerprints may be obtained at a law enforcement office or at a pri-
vate service acceptable to the Board; the Board will submit finger-
prints to the Oregon Department of State Police to conduct a Crim-
inal History Check and a National Criminal History Check. Any 
original fingerprint cards will subsequently be destroyed.  

(4) The Board will determine whether an applicant or licensee 
is fit to be granted a license based on the criminal records background 
check, any false statements made by the applicant or licensee regard-
ing the criminal history of the individual, any refusal to submit or 
consent to a criminal records check including fingerprint identifi-
cation, and any other pertinent information obtained as part of an 
investigation. If an applicant is determined to be unfit, the applicant 
may not be granted a license. If the licensee is determined to be unfit, 
the licensee’s license may not be reactivated or renewed. The Board 
may make a fitness determination conditional upon applicant’s or 
licensee’s acceptance of probation, conditions, limitations, or other 
restrictions upon licensure.  

(5) In making the fitness determination, the Board will consider:  
(a) The nature of the crime;  
(b) The facts that support the conviction or pending indictment 

or that indicate the making of the false statement;  
(c) The relevancy, if any, of the crime or the false statement to 

the specific requirements of the applicant’s or licensee’s present or 
proposed license; and  

(d) Intervening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities 
and circumstances of the license. Intervening circumstances include 
but are not limited to:  

(A) The passage of time since the commission of the crime;  
(B) The age of the applicant or licensee at the time of the crime;  
(C) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the com-

mission of another crime;  
(D) The subsequent commission of another relevant crime;  
(E) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of 

setting aside the conviction; and  
(F) A recommendation of an employer. 
(6) All background checks must include available state and 

national data, unless obtaining one or the other is an acceptable alter-
native.  

(7) In order to conduct the Oregon and National Criminal His-
tory Check and fitness determination, the Board may require addi-
tional information from the licensee or applicant as necessary, such 
as but not limited to, proof of identity; residential history; names used 
while living at each residence; or additional criminal, judicial or other 
background information.  

(8) Criminal offender information is confidential. Information 
received may be disseminated only to people with a demonstrated 
and legitimate need to know the information. The information is part 
of the investigation of an applicant or licensee and as such is confi-
dential pursuant to ORS 676.175(1).  

(9) The Board will permit the individual for whom a fingerprint-
based criminal records check was conducted to inspect the individ-
ual’s own state and national criminal offender records and, if request-
ed by the subject individual, provide the individual with a copy of 
the individual’s own state and national criminal offender records.  

(10) The Board may consider any conviction of any violation 
of the law for which the court could impose a punishment and in 
compliance with ORS 670.280. The Board may also consider any 
arrests and court records that may be indicative of an individual’s 
inability to perform as a licensee with care and safety to the public.  

(11) If an applicant or licensee is determined not to be fit for a 
license, the applicant or licensee is entitled to a contested case pro-
cess pursuant to ORS 183.414-183.470. Challenges to the accuracy 
or completeness of information provided by the Oregon Department 
of State Police, Federal Bureau of Investigation and agencies report-
ing information must be made through the Oregon Department of 
State Police, Federal Bureau of Investigation, or reporting agency 
and not through the contested case process pursuant to ORS 183.  
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(12) If the applicant discontinues the application process or fails 
to cooperate with the criminal history check process, the application 
is considered incomplete.  

(13) The applicant or licensee must pay a criminal records 
check fee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534, 677.100 & 677.265 
Hist. BME 20-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-14-06 thru 3-12-07; BME 4-2007, f. 
& cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; OMB 20-2011(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; OMB 5-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 
10-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-2-12 thru 8-29-12; OMB 24-2012, f. & cert. ef. 
8-3-12; Renumbered from 847-020-0155 by OMB 6-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13; 
OMB 15-2013(Temp), f. 7-12-12, cert. ef. 7-15-13 thru 1-11-14; OMB 29-2013, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-008-0070 
Continuing Medical Competency (Education) 

The Oregon Medical Board is committed to ensuring the con-
tinuing competence of its licensees for the protection, safety and well 
being of the public. All licensees must engage in a culture of con-
tinuous quality improvement and lifelong learning.  

(1) Licensees renewing registration who had been registered 
with Active, Administrative Medicine Active, Locum Tenens, 
Telemedicine Active, Telemonitoring Active, or Teleradiology Active 
status for the previous registration period must demonstrate ongoing 
competency to practice medicine by:  

(a) Ongoing participation in maintenance of certification by an 
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) board, the Amer-
ican Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists 
(AOA-BOS), the American Board of Podiatric Medicine (ABPM), 
the American Board of Podiatric Surgery (ABPS), the National Com-
mission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA), or the 
National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental 
Medicine (NCCAOM); or  

(b) 60 hours of continuing medical education (CME) per two 
years relevant to the licensee’s current medical practice, or 30 hours 
of CME if licensed during the second year of the biennium, as fol-
lows:  

(A) American Medical Association (AMA) Category 1;  
(B) American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Category 1-A or 

2-A;  
(C) American Podiatric Medical Association’s (APMA) Coun-

cil on Podiatric Medical Education approved sponsors of continuing 
education; or  

(D) American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) Cat-
egory 1 (pre-approved); or  

(c) 30 hours of NCCAOM-approved courses per two years rel-
evant to the licensee’s current practice, or 15 hours if licensed dur-
ing the second year of the biennium.  

(2) Licensees renewing registration who had been registered 
with Emeritus status for the previous registration period must demon-
strate ongoing competency by:  

(a) Ongoing participation in re-certification by an ABMS board, 
the AOA-BOS, the ABPM, the ABPS, the NCCPA, or the 
NCCAOM; or  

(b) 15 hours of CME per year as follows:  
(A) AMA Category 1 or 2;  
(B) AOA Category 1-A, 1-B, 2-A or 2-B;  
(C) APMA-approved continuing education; or  
(D) AAPA Category 1 or 2; or  
(c) 8 hours of NCCAOM-approved courses.  
(3) Licensees who have lifetime certification without partici-

pation in maintenance of certification with the ABMS, AOA-BOS, 
ABPM, ABPS, or NCCPA must submit the required CME in section 
(1) (b) of this rule or section (2)(b) of this rule if renewing with Emer-
itus status.  

(4) Licensees who have lifetime certification without partici-
pation in maintenance of certification with the NCCAOM must sub-
mit the required CME in section (1)(c) of this rule or section (2)(c) 
of this rule if renewing with Emeritus status.  

(5) CME in cultural competency is considered relevant CME 
for the current practice of all licensees and may be used toward sat-
isfying the required CME hours. 

(6) Licensees who perform Level II office-based surgical pro-
cedures and who are not eligible or maintaining certification with an 
ABMS, AOA-BOS, ABPM, ABPS or NCCPA specialty board, must 
obtain 50 hours of CME each year. The CME hours must be relevant 
to the surgical procedures to be performed in the office-based facil-
ity and must be accredited as described in section (1)(b) of this rule. 
This requirement may not be satisfied with cultural competency 
CME or other CME that is only generally relevant to the licensee’s 
practice. 

(7) The Board may audit licensees for compliance with CME. 
Audited licensees have 60 days from the date of the audit to provide 
course certificates. Failure to comply or misrepresentation of com-
pliance is grounds for disciplinary action.  

(8) As the result of an audit, if licensee’s CME is deficient or 
licensee does not provide adequate documentation, the licensee will 
be fined $250 and must comply with CME requirements within 120 
days from the date of the audit.  

(a) If the licensee does not comply within 120 days of the date 
of the audit, the fine will increase to $1000; and  

(b) If the licensee does not comply within 180 days of the date 
of the audit, the licensee’s license will be suspended for a minimum 
of 90 days.  

(9) The following licensees are exempt from this rule:  
(a) Licensees in residency training;  
(b) Licensees serving in the military who are deployed outside 

Oregon for 90 days or more during the reporting period; and  
(c) Volunteer Camp licensees. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: BME 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; BME 16-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09; 
OMB 7-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 23-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12; OMB 
2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-14 

847-008-0075 
Mandatory Pain Management Education 

(1) All licensees of the Oregon Medical Board, except the 
licensees listed in section (2) of this rule, must complete mandato-
ry continuing medical education (CME) in the subjects of pain man-
agement and/or the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients as 
follows: 

(a) A one-hour pain management course specific to Oregon pro-
vided by the Pain Management Commission of the Department of 
Human Services; and 

(b) A minimum of six continuing medical education credit hours 
in the subjects of pain management and/or the treatment of terminally 
ill and dying patients. Any combination of CME coursework focus-
ing on pain management and/or treatment of terminally ill and dying 
patients may be used to fulfill this requirement. 

(2) Licensees holding the following types of licenses are not 
required to meet this requirement: 

(a) Lapsed license; 
(b) Limited License; 
(c) Telemedicine license;  
(d) Teleradiology license; or 
(e) Telemonitoring license. 
(3) The required CME must be completed after January 1, 2000, 

and before January 2, 2009. 
(4) Licensees must be prepared to provide documentation of 

CME if requested by the Board. 
(5) All applicants granted a license after January 2, 2009, except 

those granted a license listed in section (2), must obtain the required 
CME coursework no later than 12 months after the date the Board 
granted licensure. 

(6) Licensees who wish to reactivate to a status requiring com-
pletion of this CME who have not previously completed the required 
CME must obtain the required coursework no later than 12 months 
after the date the Board approved reactivation. 

(7) The continuing medical education hours in pain manage-
ment and/or the treatment of terminally ill or dying patients may be 
used to fulfill the continuing medical education hours required for 
registration renewal under 847-008-0070. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
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Hist.: BME 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME 3-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; 
Renumbered from 847-010-0100 by OMB 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-11; OMB 
12-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 

DIVISION 10 

GENERAL 

847-010-0005 
Tenses, Gender, and Number 

For the purpose of the rules and regulations contained in this 
chapter, the present tense includes the past and future tenses, and the 
future, the present; the masculine gender includes the feminine, and 
the feminine, the masculine; and the singular includes the plural, the 
singular. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010 - 677.800 
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68 

847-010-0010 
Definitions 

For the purpose of the rules and regulations contained in this 
chapter, the term “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board, the term 
“Act” means the Medical Practice Act, and the term “approved fel-
lowship” means a fellowship training program approved by the 
American Osteopathic Association, the Accreditation Council for 
Graduate Medical Education, or is accepted for certification by a spe-
cialty board recognized by the American Board of Medical Spe-
cialties. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010 
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68; ME 21-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87 

847-010-0012 
Certification of Examination Scores and Verification of 
Oregon Licensure 

(1) Certification of examination scores will be furnished pro-
vided that: 

(a) The licensee submits a written request, fee and proper form 
for certification; 

(b) The license was issued on the basis of written examination 
taken in this state. 

(2) Verification of Oregon license number, date issued and cur-
rent status will be furnished regardless of the status of the license 
(revoked/suspended/lapsed) provided the licensee submits a written 
request and fee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.110 
Hist.: ME 11-1984(Temp), f. & ef. 7-30-84; ME 16-1984, f. & ef. 11-5-84; ME 
8-1986(Temp), f. & ef. 5-5-86; ME 10-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86 

847-010-0025 
Refunding of Filing Fees — Reciprocity with a Sister State 

When a person files an application for licensure based upon 
reciprocity with a sister state, and later withdraws such application, 
no refund shall be provided. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68; ME 2-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79 

847-010-0030 
Refunding of Filing Fees — Written Examination 

When a person files an application for licensure based upon 
Oregon State Board written examination, and later withdraws such 
application, no refund shall be provided. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68; ME 2-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79 

847-010-0035 
Refunding of Filing Fees — Endorsement by National Board 
of Medical Examiners, National Board of Osteopathic Medical 
Examiners, or the Medical Council of Canada (LMCC) 

When a person files an application for licensure based upon the 
National Board of Medical Examiners, the National Board of Osteo-

pathic Medical Examiners, or the Medical Council of Canada 
(LMCC), and later withdraws such application, no refund shall be 
provided. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68; ME 2-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 15-1993, f. & cert. ef. 
11-1-93 

847-010-0038 
Fee for Re-application 

A person re-applying for licensure under OAR 847-010-0025, 
847-010-0030, or 847-010-0035, after a period exceeding 12 months, 
shall file a new application and pay the full filing fee as if filing for 
the first time. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: ME 2-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79 

847-010-0042 
Posting Medicare Notice 

(1) Every physician licensed to practice medicine in Oregon 
who is treating Medicare patients shall post a notice in the office stat-
ing whether or not the physician is currently participating in a Medi-
care Assignment Program. Where there is more than one physician 
in the medical practice, one Medicare notice is sufficient, provided 
all physicians have the same participation or non-participation sta-
tus. Otherwise, two notices are required, one listing the participat-
ing physicians and the other listing non-participating physicians. 

(2) A physician currently a participating physician in the Medi-
care Assignment Program under 42 U.S.C. 1395(b)(3)(B)II shall 
post a notice reading: (Physician’s name) is participating in the 
Medicare Assignment Program. The physician will not charge 
you fees above the Medicare determined annual deductible and 
the per visit co-payment. Ask your physician for more informa-
tion concerning your fees. 

(3) A physician not currently a participating physician in the 
Medicare Assignment Program under 42 U.S.C. 1395(b)(3)(B)II 
shall post a notice reading: (Physician’s name) is not participat-
ing in the Medicare Assignment Program and may legally charge 
you fees in addition to the Medicare determined annual 
deductible and per visit co-payment. Ask your physician for 
more information concerning your fees. 

(4) The dimension of the sign shall be no smaller than 8” x 10”; 
the type size shall be no smaller than 30 point type. 

(5) The posting of the sign shall assure that it can be seen and 
read by Medicare beneficiaries. 

(6) If the physician has reasonable cause to believe that the 
patient cannot read the sign or cannot comprehend its content, the 
physician shall endeavor to explain the meaning of the notice. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.099 
Hist.: ME 20-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 9-30-87; ME 2-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88 

847-010-0045 
Definition of Hospitals as Standard in the State of Oregon 

The Oregon Medical Board of the State of Oregon will accept 
the following hospitals as standard as required under ORS 677.060: 
Those legally incorporated hospitals which are approved for intern-
ship and/or residency training by the Council on Medical Education 
and Hospitals of the American Medical Association or any similar 
body of the American Medical Association in the future whose func-
tion is that of approving hospitals for internship and/or residency 
training; or by any similar body of the American Osteopathic Asso-
ciation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100 
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68 

847-010-0051 
Limited License, Postgraduate 

(1) This limited license applies to interns (PG1) and residents 
as defined in ORS 677.010. This limited license permits the physi-
cian to practice medicine only as part of a supervised postgraduate 
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training program of a school of medicine or hospital approved by the 
Board.  

(2) The Limited License, Postgraduate shall be granted for a 
period of thirteen months, which allows the postgraduate the flexi-
bility of using up to four weeks of time either before or after the start 
or end of twelve months of postgraduate training. The majority of the 
Limited License, Postgraduates are requested for the training year of 
late June one year to early July of the following year. When need-
ed, the additional four weeks (thirteenth month) of training or adjust-
ment of training dates will be used in earlier June or later July. A 
smaller number of Limited License, Postgraduates are requested for 
dates that are considered “off-cycle.” The Limited License, Post-
graduate may be renewed for each additional year of training. The 
physician must submit a limited license form and fee 30 days before 
the end of the thirteen months to be granted a new limited license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132 
Hist.: ME 10-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-4-89; ME 18-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-
20-89; ME 9-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; BME 4-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; 
BME 17-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 

847-010-0052 
Limited License, Visiting Professor 

(1) A physician who does not qualify for a medical license under 
any of the provisions of this Chapter and who is offered a teaching 
fellowship in an approved medical school or affiliated teaching insti-
tution in this state may, after application to and approval by the 
Board, be issued a Limited License, Visiting Professor. This license 
allows the physician to practice medicine only to the extent that such 
practice is incident to and a necessary part of the applicant’s duties 
as approved by the Board in connection with such teaching fellow-
ship. 

(2) The Limited License, Visiting Professor is valid for a peri-
od of one year, and upon written request may be renewed for one 
additional year. The two years must be consecutive, and any unused 
portion of time can not be requested at a later date. 

(3) Every physician who is issued a Limited License, Visiting 
Professor to practice in this state and who intends to continue prac-
tice in such teaching position beyond the period granted for the 
license must submit a new limited license application and fee at least 
30 days before the expiration date of the license. 

(4) To qualify for a Limited License, Visiting Professor, an 
applicant must furnish documentary evidence satisfactory to the 
Board of graduation from a school of medicine, and a curriculum 
vitae. 

(5) The head of the department in which the applicant is to be 
appointed must certify in writing to the Board that the applicant has 
been offered a teaching fellowship which will be under the direction 
of the head of the department and will not be permitted to practice 
medicine unless as a necessary part of the applicant’s duties as 
approved by the Board in section (1) of this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100 & 677.132 
Hist.: ME 21-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87; ME 11-1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-88; ME 1-
1991(Temp), f. 1-30-91, cert. ef. 1-31-91; ME 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 4-19-91; ME 
4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; BME 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME 4-2003, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 2-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; BME 23-2008, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-31-08 

847-010-0056 
Limited License, Fellow 

(1) Any physician who proposes to do a fellowship in Oregon 
and who does not wish to register under OAR 847-020-0120 or 847-
020-0130 may apply for a Limited License, Fellow. A fellow is a 
physician who is pursuing some special line of study as part of a 
supervised program of an approved school of medicine or affiliated 
teaching institution. A Limited License, Fellow permits the physician 
to practice medicine only as part of a supervised fellowship program. 

(2) A Limited License, Fellow shall be granted for a period of 
one year, and upon written request from the head of the training pro-
gram submitted 30 days before the end of the first year, may be 
renewed for only one additional year. The two years must be con-
secutive. 

(3) A request for a Limited License, Fellow must be accompa-
nied by a copy of the appointment letter or contract, and a letter sent 
directly from the head of the training program advising that the appli-
cant has been offered a fellowship position and the dates of the pro-
gram. 

(4) Every physician who is issued a Limited License, Fellow to 
practice in this state shall complete a limited license application form 
and pay the limited license fee as of the beginning of his appoint-
ment, and 30 days before the end of the first year must submit a new 
limited license application form and fee for the second year. 

(5) Fellowships approved by the Accreditation Council for 
Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) may be used to qualify for 
a license under OAR 847-020-0120 or 847-020-0130. Non-
approved fellowships may not be used toward licensure. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132 
Hist.: ME 9-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-93; BME 
2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME 4-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 5-2004, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04 

847-010-0060 
Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX, and Limited License, 
Postgraduate 

A physician who is granted a Limited License, 
SPEX/COMVEX, or Limited License, Postgraduate in the State of 
Oregon is entitled to apply for and obtain a federal narcotic stamp.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132 
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68; ME 10-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-8; ME 3-1988(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 1-29-88; ME 6-1988, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-88; BME 11-1999, f. & cert. ef. 
7-23-99; BME 3-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; OMB 3-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-
14 

847-010-0063 
Limited License, Medical Faculty 

(1) A physician qualifying under OAR 847-020-0140 may be 
granted a Limited License, Medical Faculty. This license allows the 
physician to practice medicine only to the extent that such practice 
is incident to and a necessary part of the applicant’s duties as 
approved by the Board in connection with the faculty position. 

(2) A Limited License, Medical Faculty is valid for one year 
after issuance and may be renewed as frequently as needed for a total 
period not to exceed four years. The four years must be consecutive. 

(3) Every physician who is issued a Limited License, Medical 
Faculty to practice in this state and who intends to continue practice 
in such faculty position beyond the period granted for the license 
must submit a new limited license application and fee at least 30 days 
before the expiration date of the license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100 & 677.132 
Hist.: ME 21-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87; ME 11-1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-88; ME 4-
1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; BME 5-2001, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-01; BME 2-2002, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME 5-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 3-2007, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-24-07; BME 23-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; OMB 16-2013(Temp), f. 7-
12-13, cert. ef. 7-15-13 thru 1-11-14; OMB 30-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-010-0064 
Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX 

(1) An applicant for a license to practice medicine, who, being 
otherwise qualified for the unlimited license, but who must take a 
Competency Examination (Special Purpose Examination-SPEX or 
Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable-Purpose Examination-
COMVEX), may be issued a Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX 
provided the applicant has completed an application under ORS 
677.100 to 677.132 which is satisfactory to the Board. 

(2) A Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX may be granted for a 
period of 6 months and permits the licensee to practice medicine only 
until grade results are available, and the applicant completes the ini-
tial registration process. The Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX 
would become invalid should the applicant fail the SPEX or 
COMVEX examination and the applicant, upon notification of fail-
ure of the examination, must cease practice in this state as expedi-
tiously as possible, but not to exceed two weeks after the applicant 
receives notice of failure of the examination. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.120 & 677.132 
Hist.: ME 10-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-4-89; ME 18-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-
20-89; ME 8-1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96; ME 4-1997, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-97; 
BME 3-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08 

847-010-0066 
Visiting Physician Requirements 

(1) The Oregon Medical Board may grant approval for a visit-
ing physician to practice under the supervision of an actively licensed 
Oregon physician who is in good standing without disciplinary action 
in order to:  

(a) Obtain or provide training unrelated to enrollment in a post-
graduate training program for a period up to thirty days per year in 
a hospital, ambulatory surgical center or accredited office-based 
surgery facility per OAR 847-017-0010; or  

(b) Provide health care services without compensation at a com-
munity nonprofit organization for a period up to five consecutive 
days per year.  

(2) Prior to being granted approval, the physician must submit 
an application and the following information to the Board: 

(a) A letter from the requesting hospital administrator or admin-
istrator of the accredited facility and a letter from the hospital chief 
of staff, hospital department chairperson or member of the govern-
ing body of the accredited facility; or a letter from the community 
nonprofit organization; or a letter from the Oregon licensed physi-
cian supervising the visiting physician. The letter(s) must contain the 
following information: 

(A) Dates of Oregon practice of the visiting physician; 
(B) Description of the procedure(s); 
(C) Name of the responsible Oregon-licensed staff physician 

who will supervise; and 
(D) If the visiting physician application is requested under sec-

tion (1)(a) of this rule, documentation that the requesting hospital, 
ambulatory surgical center or accredited facility has approved priv-
ileges for the visiting physician. 

(b) Documentation that the visiting physician’s license in the 
state or country in which they are practicing is active and in good 
standing. 

(3) The visiting physician application must be submitted at least 
two weeks prior to the beginning date of such practice. 

(4) Patients shall be informed that they are being treated by an 
approved visiting physician, who is not an Oregon licensed physi-
cian. 

(5) The visiting physician who requests additional time in Ore-
gon must apply for and obtain a license to practice in the State of 
Oregon. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 7-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 13-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-02; 
BME 24-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 17-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09; 
OMB 31-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-010-0068 
Practice in Oregon by Out-of-State Physicians and Physician 
Assistants in the Event of an Emergency 

(1) In the event of a disaster emergency declared by the Gov-
ernor of Oregon, the Oregon Medical Board shall allow physicians 
and/or physician assistants licensed in another state to provide med-
ical care in Oregon under special provisions during the period of the 
declared disaster emergency, subject to such limitations and condi-
tions as the Governor may prescribe. 

(2) The out-of-state physician and/or physician assistant shall 
submit to the Board the following information:  

(a) Verification of a permanent, current, and unrestricted license 
to practice in another state which is not the subject of a pending 
investigation by a hospital, a state medical board, or another state or 
federal agency; and 

(b) Current federal or state photo identification, i.e., driver 
license or passport. 

(3) The requirement for completing and submitting the infor-
mation to the Board is waived if the physician is a member of the 
National Disaster Medical System (NDMS) under the Office of 
Emergency Preparedness, U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services, and submits to the Board a copy of his/her NDMS photo 
identification. 

(4) The physician and/or physician assistant shall provide the 
Board documentation demonstrating a request to provide medical 
care from a hospital, clinic or private medical practice, public health 
organization, EMS agency, or federal medical facility, or has other-
wise made arrangements to provide medical care in Oregon as the 
result of the declaration of a disaster emergency.  

(5) The physician and/or physician assistant shall not practice 
in Oregon under the special disaster emergency provisions beyond 
the termination date of the emergency. Practice in Oregon beyond the 
termination date of the declared disaster emergency requires licen-
sure through the Oregon Medical Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.060(4) 
Hist.: BME 12-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-02 

847-010-0070 
Competency Examination 

(1) Whenever the Board of Medical Examiners orders a med-
ical competency examination pursuant to ORS 677.420, it may 
require or administer one, all, or any combination of the following 
examinations: 

(a) The Special Purpose Examination (SPEX); 
(b) The Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable-Purpose 

Examination (COMVEX); 
(c) Oral examination; 
(d) Any other examination that the Board determines appro-

priate. 
(2) Failure to achieve a passing grade on any examination shall 

constitute grounds for suspension or revocation of examinee’s license 
on the grounds of Manifest Incapacity to Practice Medicine as pro-
vided by ORS 677.190(15). 

(3) If an oral examination is ordered by the Board, an Exami-
nation Panel shall be appointed. The examination shall include ques-
tions which test basic knowledge and also test for knowledge expect-
ed of a physician with a practice similar in nature to that of the 
examinee’s. The panel shall establish a system for weighing the score 
for each question in the examination. After it is prepared, the exam-
ination shall be submitted to the Board for review and approval. 

(4) Appointment of an Examination Panel is required only when 
administering an oral examination. 

(5) The examinee shall be given no less than two weeks’ notice 
of the date, time and place of any examination to be administered.  

(6) The medical competency examination shall be paid for by 
the licensee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.110 
Hist.: ME 34, f. & ef. 5-10-77; ME 3-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 8-1982, f. & ef. 
10-27-82; ME 3-1985, f. & ef. 5-6-85; BME 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; 
BME 9-2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-2-03; BME 3-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08 

847-010-0073 
Reporting Requirements 

(1) Board licensees and health care facilities must report to the 
Board as required by ORS 676.150, 677.092, 677.190, and 677.415. 
These reports include, but are not limited to, the following: 

(a) A licensee must self-report to the Board: 
(A) Any conviction of a misdemeanor or felony or any arrest 

for a felony crime to the Board within 10 days after the conviction 
or arrest;  

(B) Any adverse action taken by another licensing jurisdiction 
or any peer review body, health care institution, professional or med-
ical society or association, governmental agency, law enforcement 
agency or court for acts or conduct similar to acts or conduct that 
would constitute grounds for disciplinary action as described in ORS 
chapter 677;  

(C) Any official action taken against the licensee within 10 busi-
ness days of the official action; or  

(D) A voluntary withdrawal from practice, voluntary resigna-
tion from the staff of a health care facility or voluntary limitation of 
the licensee’s staff privileges at a health care facility if the licensee’s 
voluntary action occurs while the licensee is under investigation by 
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the health care facility or its committee for any reason related to pos-
sible medical incompetence, unprofessional conduct or physical inca-
pacity or impairment.  

(b) A licensee who has reasonable cause to believe that anoth-
er state licensed health care professional has engaged in prohibited 
or unprofessional conduct must report the conduct within 10 work-
ing days to the board responsible for the other professional unless 
disclosure is prohibited by state or federal laws relating to confi-
dentiality or protection of health information. 

(c) A licensee must report within 10 business days to the Board 
any information that appears to show that a licensee is or may be 
medically incompetent or is or may be guilty of unprofessional or 
dishonorable conduct or is or may be a licensee with a physical inca-
pacity.  

(d) A health care facility must report to the Board: 
(A) Any official action taken against a licensee within 10 busi-

ness days of the date of the official action; or  
(B) A licensee’s voluntary withdrawal from practice, voluntary 

resignation from the staff of a health care facility or voluntary lim-
itation of the licensee’s staff privileges at a health care facility if the 
licensee’s voluntary action occurs while the licensee is under inves-
tigation by the health care facility or its committee for any reason 
related to possible medical incompetence, unprofessional conduct or 
physical incapacity or impairment.  

(2) For purposes of the statutes, reporting to the Board means 
making a report to the Board’s Investigation Unit or the Board’s 
Executive Director or the Board’s Medical Director. Making a report 
to the Board’s Health Professionals’ Services Program (HPSP) or 
HPSP’s Medical Director does not satisfy the duty to report to the 
Board. 

(3) For the purposes of the statutes, the terms medical incom-
petence, unprofessional conduct, and impaired licensee have the fol-
lowing meanings: 

(a) Medical Incompetence: A licensee who is medically incom-
petent is one who is unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill 
or safety due to lack of knowledge, ability, or impairment. Evidence 
of medical incompetence shall include: 

(A) Gross or repeated acts of negligence involving patient care. 
(B) Failure to achieve a passing score or satisfactory rating on 

a competency examination or program of evaluation when the exam-
ination or evaluation is ordered or directed by a health care facility.  

(C) Failure to complete a course or program of remedial edu-
cation when ordered or directed to do so by a health care facility. 

(b) Unprofessional conduct: Unprofessional conduct includes 
the behavior described in ORS 677.188 (4) and is conduct which is 
unbecoming to a person licensed by the Board of Medical Examin-
ers or detrimental to the best interest of the public and includes: 

(A) Any conduct or practice contrary to recognized standards 
of ethics of the medical, podiatric or acupuncture professions or any 
conduct which does or might constitute a danger to the public, to 
include a violation of patient boundaries. 

(B) Willful performance of any surgical or medical treatment 
which is contrary to acceptable medical standards. 

(C) Willful and repeated ordering or performance of unneces-
sary laboratory tests or radiologic studies, administration of unnec-
essary treatment, employment of outmoded, unproved, or unscien-
tific treatments, except as allowed in ORS 677.190 (1)(b), failing to 
obtain consultations when failing to do so is not consistent with the 
standard of care, or otherwise utilizing medical service for diagno-
sis or treatment which is or may be considered unnecessary or inap-
propriate. 

(D) Committing fraud in the performance of, or the billing for, 
medical procedures.  

(E) Engaging in repeated instances of disruptive behavior in the 
health care setting that could adversely affect the delivery of health 
care to patients. 

(F) Any conduct related to the practice of medicine that poses 
a danger to the public health or safety. 

(G) Sexual misconduct: Licensee sexual misconduct is behav-
ior that exploits the licensee-patient relationship in a sexual way. The 
behavior is non-diagnostic and non-therapeutic, may be verbal or 

physical, and may include expressions of thoughts and feelings or 
gestures that are sexual or that reasonably may be construed by a 
patient as sexual. Sexual misconduct includes but is not limited to: 

(i) Sexual violation: Licensee-patient sex, whether or not initi-
ated by the patient, and engaging in any conduct with a patient that 
is sexual or may be reasonably interpreted as sexual, including but 
not limited to: 

(I) Sexual intercourse  
(II) Genital to genital contact 
(III) Oral to genital contact 
(IV) Oral to anal contact 
(V) Genital to anal contact 
(VI) Kissing in a romantic or sexual manner 
(VII) Touching breasts, genitals, or any sexualized body part for 

any purpose other than appropriate examination or treatment, or 
where the patient has refused or has withdrawn consent 

(VII) Encouraging the patient to masturbate in the presence of 
the licensee or masturbation by the licensee while the patient is pre-
sent 

(IX) Offering to provide practice-related services, such as med-
ications, in exchange for sexual favors 

(ii) Sexual impropriety: Behavior, gestures, or expressions that 
are seductive, sexually suggestive, or sexually demeaning to a patient 
or their family or associates, to include: 

(I) Sexually exploitative behavior, to include taking, transmit-
ting, viewing, or in any way using photos or any other image of a 
patient, their family or associates for the prurient interest of others.  

(II) Intentional viewing in the health care setting of any sexu-
ally explicit conduct for prurient interests. 

(III) Having any involvement with child pornography, which is 
defined as any visual depiction of a minor (a child younger than 18) 
engaged in sexually explicit conduct. 

(c) Licensee Impairment: A licensee who is impaired is a 
licensee who is unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill or 
safety due to factors which include, but are not limited to: 

(A) The use or abuse of alcohol, drugs, or other substances 
which impair ability. 

(B) Mental or emotional illness. 
(C) Physical deterioration or long term illness or injury which 

adversely affects cognition, motor, or perceptive skills. 
(4) For the purposes of the reporting requirements of this rule 

and ORS 677.415, licensees shall be considered to be impaired if 
they refuse to undergo an evaluation for mental or physical compe-
tence or chemical impairment, or if they resign their privileges to 
avoid such an evaluation, when the evaluation is ordered or direct-
ed by a health care facility or by this Board. 

(5) A report made by a board licensee or the Oregon Medical 
Association or other health professional association, to include the 
Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons of Oregon, Inc, or the Oregon 
Podiatric Medical Association to the Board of Medical Examiners 
under ORS 677.415 shall include the following information: 

(a) The name, title, address and telephone number of the per-
son making the report;  

(b) The information that appears to show that a licensee is or 
may be medically incompetent, is or may be guilty of unprofessional 
or dishonorable conduct or is or may be a licensee with an impair-
ment. 

(6) A report made by a health care facility to the Board under 
ORS 677.415 (5) and (6) shall include: 

(a) The name, title, address and telephone number of the health 
care facility making the report; 

(b) The date of an official action taken against the licensee or 
the licensee’s voluntary action withdrawing from practice, voluntary 
resignation or voluntary limitation of licensee staff privileges; and  

(c) A description of the official action or the licensee’s volun-
tary action, as appropriate to the report, including:  

(A) The specific restriction, limitation, suspension, loss or 
denial of the licensee’s medical staff privileges and the effective date 
or term of the restriction, limitation, suspension, loss or denial; or 

(B) The fact that the licensee has voluntarily withdrawn from 
the practice of medicine or podiatry, voluntarily resigned from the 
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staff of a health care facility or voluntarily limited the licensee’s priv-
ileges at a health care facility and the effective date of the withdrawal, 
resignation or limitation. 

(7) A report made under ORS 677.415 Section 2 may not 
include any information that is privileged peer review data, see ORS 
41.675. 

(8) All required reports shall be made in writing. 
(9) Any person who reports or provides information in good 

faith as required by the statutes is immune from civil liability for 
making the report.  

(10) A licensee’s failure to report information or conduct as 
required by this rule is a violation of ORS 676.150, 677.092, 
677.190, 677.205, or 677.415 and is grounds for a $500 fine. The 
licensee may be subject to further disciplinary action by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.150, 677.205 & 677.265  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.150, 677.092, 677.190, 677.205, 677.265 & 
677.415 
Hist.: BME 5-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 9-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 
3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 3-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; BME 9-2009, 
f. & cert. ef. 5-1-09; BME 3-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10; OMB 4-2015, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-3-15 

847-010-0075 
Reporting of Alleged Professional Negligence 

(1) As required in ORS 742.400 any insurer or approved self 
insurance association shall report claims of alleged professional neg-
ligence to the Oregon Medical Board within 30 days of filing of the 
claim. Incidents and inquiries not leading to claims need not be filed. 

(2) All settlements, awards or judgments against a physician 
paid as a result of alleged professional negligence shall be reported 
to the Board within 30 days after the date of settlement, award or 
judgment. 

Stat. Authority: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 742 
Hist.: ME 3-1987, f. & ef. 1-23-87; ME 10-1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-88; BME 1-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-00 

847-010-0078 
Agreement Prohibited between Physician and Patient that 
Limits a Patient’s Rights 

Licensees and applicants shall not make an agreement with a 
patient or person, or any person or entity representing patients, nor 
provide any form of consideration, that would prohibit, restrict, dis-
courage or otherwise limit a person’s ability to file a complaint with 
the Oregon Medical Board, to truthfully and fully answer any ques-
tions posed by an agent or representative of the Board, or to partic-
ipate as a witness in a Board proceeding. 

Statutory Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132 
Hist.: BME 3-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-01 

847-010-0081 
Physician- Assisted Death with Dignity 

A licensee’s compliance with ORS 127.800 et seq shall not be 
considered a violation of 677.190(1), unprofessional or dishonorable 
conduct, as defined in 677.188(4)(a), (b), or (c). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 127.885 
Hist.: BME 2-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-4-98 thru 7-31-98; BME 4-1998, f. & 
cert. ef. 4-22-98; OMB 29-2012, f. & cert. ef. 11-22-12 

847-010-0090 
Hospital Clinical Clerkships 

Because students of medicine doing hospital clinical clerkships 
(externships) in hospitals will be participating in the diagnosis and 
treatment of patients, it is necessary that the Oregon Medical Board 
establish minimum standards under which these students will be 
working. Therefore, the Board establishes the following rules per-
taining to both hospitals and students participating in clinical clerk-
ships. These rules do not apply to non-hospital proceptorships: 

(1) Hospitals: 
(a) Only hospitals conducting internship/residency programs 

approved by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Edu-
cation of the American Medical Association or the Canadian Med-
ical Association or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of 

Canada or the American Osteopathic Association may provide clerk-
ships; 

(b) Clerkships may be offered only in those subjects in which 
an approved internship/residency program exists in that hospital; 

(c) Hospitals conducting clerkships shall have a written agree-
ment with the school of medicine sponsoring the student; 

(d) Hospital clinical physicians responsible for the supervision 
of clinical clerks shall have an academic appointment from a school 
of medicine; 

(e) Regular evaluation of the work of the clinical clerks shall 
be recorded and a copy forwarded to the school of medicine; 

(f) Hospitals offering clerkships shall notify the Board of the 
clerkships offered and the schools with which they are affiliated. 

(2) Students: 
(a) Only students in the last two years of their training may par-

ticipate in clerkships; 
(b) Students from schools not approved by the Board shall pass 

Day 1 of FMGEMS before participating in the clerkship in this state. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100 
Hist.: ME 4-1985, f. & ef. 5-6-85 

847-010-0095 
Peer Review 

The Oregon Medical Board will participate in a peer review 
process to implement the provisions of ORS 441.055 by using the 
following rules: 

(1) The Board will receive requests to appoint physicians to 
conduct peer review provided the requests are made jointly by all of 
the following: 

(a) The physician whose practice is being reviewed; 
(b) The executive committee of the health care facility’s med-

ical staff; 
(c) The governing body of the health care facility. 
(2) The Board will review requests and may decide to appoint 

physicians to conduct peer review. 
(3) If the Board decides to appoint physicians to conduct peer 

review, the parties will be required to sign a contract agreeing to pay 
all costs. The Board will not be a party to such contract. 

(4) The Board will appoint one or more physicians to conduct 
peer review in accordance with the medical staff by-laws of the facil-
ity. 

(5) Reports will be processed according to Board protocol. 
(6) The report of findings and conclusions of the panel will be 

forwarded to the requesting facility for processing according to the 
medical staff by-laws of the facility. 

(7) If further action necessitates appropriate hearing proceed-
ings, a panel of physicians will be appointed to conduct the hearings 
in accordance with the medical staff by-laws of the facility. 

(8) The report of findings and conclusions of the hearings panel 
will be forwarded to the requesting facility in accordance with the 
medical staff by-laws. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 441.055 
Hist.: ME 2-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88 

847-010-0110 
Physicians and Physician Assistants to Honor Life-Sustaining 
Treatment Orders 

(1) A physician or physician assistant licensed pursuant to ORS 
Chapter 677 shall respect the patient’s wishes including life-sus-
taining treatments. Consistent with the requirements of ORS Chap-
ter 127, a physician or physician assistant shall respect and honor 
life-sustaining treatment orders executed by a physician, physician 
assistant or nurse practitioner. The fact that a physician, physician 
assistant or nurse practitioner who executed a life-sustaining treat-
ment order does not have admitting privileges at a hospital or health 
care facility where the patient is being treated does not remove the 
obligation under this section to honor the order. In keeping with ORS 
Chapter 127, a physician or physician assistant shall not be subject 
to criminal prosecution, civil liability or professional discipline.  

(2) Should new information on the health of the patient become 
available the goals of treatment may change. Following discussion 
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with the patient, or if incapable their surrogate, new orders regard-
ing life-sustaining treatment should be written, dated and signed.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 127.505–127.660, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 13-2007, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-07 

DIVISION 12 

PATIENT’S ACCESS TO MEDICAL RECORDS 

847-012-0000 
Patient’s Access to Medical Records 

(1) Licensees of the Oregon Medical Board must make pro-
tected health information in the medical record available to the 
patient or the patient’s representative upon their request, to inspect 
and obtain a copy of protected health information about the indi-
vidual, except as provided by law and this rule. The patient may 
request all or part of the record. A summary may substitute for the 
actual record only if the patient agrees to the substitution. Board 
licensees are encouraged to use the written authorization form pro-
vided by ORS 192.566. 

(2) For the purpose of this rule, “health information in the med-
ical record” means any oral, written or electronic information in any 
form or medium that is created or received and relates to: 

(a) The past, present, or future physical or mental health of the 
patient. 

(b) The provision of healthcare to the patient. 
(c) The past, present, or future payment for the provision of 

healthcare to the patient. 
(3) Upon request, the entire health information record in the 

possession of the Board licensee will be provided to the patient. This 
includes records from other healthcare providers. Information which 
may be withheld includes: 

(a) Information which was obtained from someone other than 
a healthcare provider under a promise of confidentiality and access 
to the information would likely reveal the source of the information; 

(b) Psychotherapy notes; 
(c) Information compiled in reasonable anticipation of, or for 

use in, a civil, criminal, or administrative action or proceeding; and 
(d) Other reasons specified by federal regulation. 
(4) Licensees who have retired, failed to renew their license, 

relocated their practice out of the area, had their license revoked, or 
had their license suspended for one year or more must notify each 
patient seen within the previous two years and the Oregon Medical 
Board of the change in licensee’s status and how patients may access 
or obtain their medical records. Notifications must be in writing and 
sent by regular mail to each patient’s last known address within 45 
days of the change in licensee’s status. 

(5) Licensees who have been suspended for less than one year 
must notify the Board within 10 days of the suspension how patients 
may access or obtain their medical records.  

(6) A reasonable cost may be imposed for the costs incurred in 
complying with the patient’s request for health information. These 
costs may include: 

(a) No more than $30 for copying 10 or fewer pages of written 
material, and no more than 50 cents per page for pages 11 through 
50, and no more than 25 cents for each additional page; 

(b) A bonus charge of $5 if the request for records is processed 
and the records are mailed by first class mail to the requester with-
in seven business days after the date of the request; 

(c) Postage costs to mail copies of the requested records; 
(d) Actual costs of preparing an explanation or summary of the 

health information, if such information is requested by the patient; 
and 

(e) Actual costs of reproducing films, x-rays, or other reports 
maintained in a non-written form. 

(7) A patient may not be denied summaries or copies of his/her 
medical records because of inability to pay. 

(8) Requests for medical records must be complied with with-
in a reasonable amount of time not to exceed 30 days from the receipt 
of the request. 

(9) Violation of this rule will result in a $195 fine and may be 
cause for further disciplinary action by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.553, 192.556, 192.558, 192.563, 192.566, 
677.265 
Hist.: ME 7-1988, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-88; BME 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 
18-2004, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-04; BME 17-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; OMB 24-
2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-18-11; OMB 8-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13 

DIVISION 15 

GENERAL LICENSING RULES, RELATING 
TO CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 

847-015-0005 
Scheduled II Controlled Substance — Bariatrics Practice 

(1) A physician shall not utilize a Schedule II controlled sub-
stance for purposes of weight reduction or control. 

(2) A violation of any provision of this rule, as determined by 
the Board, shall constitute Unprofessional Conduct as the term is 
used in ORS 677.188(4)(a), (b), or (c), whether or not actual injury 
to a patient is established. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.188 & 677.190 
Hist.: ME 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-20-87; ME 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-95 

847-015-0010 
Schedule III or IV Controlled Substances — Bariatrics 
Practice  

(1) A physician shall not utilize a Schedule III or IV controlled 
substance for purposes of weight reduction, other than in accordance 
with federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) product guide-
lines in effect at the time of utilization and with all the provisions of 
this rule. 

(2) A physician may utilize a Schedule III or IV controlled sub-
stance for purposes of weight reduction in the treatment of Exoge-
nous Obesity in a regimen of weight reduction based on caloric 
restriction, behavior modification and prescribed exercise, provid-
ed that all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) Before initiating treatment utilizing a Schedule III or IV con-
trolled substance, the physician determines through review of the 
physician’s own records of prior treatment, or through review of the 
records of prior treatment which another treating physician or 
weight-loss program has provided to the physician, that one of the 
following conditions exist: 

(A) Patient’s body mass index exceeds 30 Kg/M sq; or 
(B) Patient’s body mass index exceeds 27 Kg/M sq and the 

excess weight represents a threat to the patient’s health (as with 
hypertension, diabetes, or hypercholesterolemia.) 

(b) Before initiating treatment utilizing a Schedule III or IV con-
trolled substance, the physician obtains a thorough history, performs 
a thorough physical examination of the patient, and rules out the exis-
tence of any recognized contraindications to the use of the controlled 
substance to be utilized. 

(3) Continuation of Schedule III or IV designated as FDA short 
term use controlled substances beyond three (3) months requires doc-
umentation of an average two (2) pound per month weight loss dur-
ing active weight reduction treatment, or documentation of mainte-
nance of goal weight. Use of Schedule III or IV controlled substances 
with FDA approval for bariatric therapy and designated for long term 
use where FDA guidelines are followed may also be used beyond 
three months. 

(4) A violation of any provision of this rule, as determined by 
the Board, shall constitute Unprofessional Conduct as the term is 
used in ORS 677.188(4)(a), (b), or (c), whether or not actual injury 
to a patient is established. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.188(4) & 677.190(25) 
Hist.: ME 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-20-87; ME 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-95; ME 1-1997, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-28-97; BME 9-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 17-2000(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00 thru 2-28-01; BME 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-01 
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847-015-0015 
Maintenance of Controlled Substances Log by Prescribing 
Practitioners 

Any practitioner dispensing or administering controlled sub-
stances from the practitioner’s office must have a Drug Enforcement 
Administration registration indicating the address of that office. The 
practitioner shall maintain an inventory log showing all controlled 
substances received, and administered or dispensed. This log shall 
also list for each controlled substance, the patient’s name, amounts 
used, and date administered or dispensed. This log shall be available 
for inspection on request by the Oregon Medical Board or its autho-
rized agents. Controlled substances samples are included in this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 475.165 
Hist.: ME 15-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-87 

847-015-0020 
Maintenance of Controlled Substances Log — Ambulance and 
Medical Rescue Services Receiving Controlled Substances 
from Physicians 

Any physician providing controlled substances for use by 
ambulance and medical rescue services must have a Drug Enforce-
ment Administration registration for the address where the controlled 
substances and inventory log are stored. The inventory log at the reg-
istered address shall be maintained showing all controlled substances 
received, or dispensed to the emergency vehicle. The administration 
log shall also show for each controlled substance, the patient’s name 
and amount used, date, and by whom administered or dispensed, and 
may be maintained in the emergency vehicle. This log should be 
reviewed for accuracy on a monthly basis and be readily retrievable 
for inspection on request by the Board, the ambulance licensing 
authority as specified in ORS 682.015, or their authorized agents. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245 
Hist.: ME 10-1987, f. & ef. 4-28-87; ME 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-97; BME 8-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-18-01 

847-015-0025 
Dispensing, Distribution and Administration  

(1) Any actively licensed physician or podiatric physician who 
dispenses drugs must register with the Board as a dispensing physi-
cian before beginning to dispense drugs.  

(2) A physician must register with the Board as a dispensing 
physician before supervising a physician assistant or any other health 
care provider with dispensing privileges.  

(3) At the time of license registration renewal, all dispensing 
physicians must indicate their status as a dispensing physician on the 
registration renewal form.  

(4) Dispensing of drugs must be documented in the patient 
record. Documentation must include the name of the drug, the dose, 
the quantity dispensed, the directions for use and the name of the 
physician or physician assistant dispensing the drugs. The physician 
or physician assistant must verbally counsel the patient concerning 
any new medications and must provide written information on the 
directions for use.  

(5) Distribution of samples, without charge, is not dispensing 
under this rule. Distribution of samples must be documented in the 
patient record. Documentation must include the name of the drug, 
the dose, the quantity distributed and the directions for use. The 
physician or physician assistant must verbally counsel the patient 
concerning any new medications and must provide written infor-
mation on the directions for use.  

(6) Administering drugs in the physician’s or podiatric physi-
cian’s office is not dispensing under this rule. Administration of drugs 
must be documented in the patient record. Documentation must 
include the name of the drug, the dose and the quantity administered. 

(7) Any physician or podiatric physician who dispenses drugs 
or who supervises a physician assistant with drug dispensing author-
ity without first registering with the Board will be fined $195 and 
may be subject to further disciplinary action by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010, 677.089, 677.510, 677.515 

Hist.: ME 22-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87; ME 9-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-93; BME 
1-2005, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-05; BME 24-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; OMB 30-
2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-27-11; OMB 32-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-015-0030 
Written Notice Disclosing the Material Risks Associated with 
Prescribed or Administered Controlled Substances for the 
Treatment of “Intractable Pain” 

(1) Definitions 
(a) “Controlled substance” has the meaning given that term 

under ORS 475.005. 
(b) “Intractable pain” means a chronic pain state in which the 

cause of the pain cannot be removed or otherwise treated and for 
which, in the generally accepted course of medical practice, no relief 
or cure of the cause of the pain has been found after reasonable 
efforts, including, but not limited to, evaluation by the attending 
physician. 

(2) Controlled substances may be prescribed for long term treat-
ment of intractable pain. The attending physician records must con-
tain the attending physician’s examination, diagnosis and any other 
supporting diagnostic evaluations and other therapeutic trials, includ-
ing records from previous providers. If there is a consulting physi-
cian, written documentation of his/her corroborating findings, diag-
nosis and recommendations shall be included in the record. 

(3) Before initiating treatment of intractable pain with con-
trolled substances or, when it is apparent that pain which is already 
being treated with controlled substances has now become intractable, 
the attending physician shall discuss with the patient the procedures, 
alternatives and risks associated with the prescribing or administer-
ing controlled substances for long term management of pain. Fol-
lowing the discussion the patient will be given an opportunity to 
request further explanations. When the patient is satisfied with the 
explanation of the issues related to the prescribing of these drugs over 
long periods of time, the attending physician shall provide to the per-
son and the person shall sign a written document outlining the issues 
discussed associated with the prescribed or administered controlled 
substances.  

(4) The material risk notice should include but not be limited 
to: 

(a) The diagnosis; 
(b) The controlled substance and/or group of controlled sub-

stances to be used; 
(c) Anticipated therapeutic results; 
(A) Pain relief; 
(B) Functional goals; 
(d) Alternatives to controlled substance therapy; 
(e) Potential additional therapies to be used in conjunction with 

controlled substances; and  
(f) Potential side effects (if applicable): 
(A) Cardiovascular; 
(B) Central Nervous System; 
(C) Gastrointestinal; 
(D) Endocrine; 
(E) Respiratory; 
(F) Dermatologic; 
(G) Urinary; 
(H) Pregnancy, and 
(I) Other.  
(g) Allergy Potential; 
(h) Interaction/Potentiation of other medications; 
(i) Potential for dose escalation/tolerance; 
(j) Withdrawal precautions; 
(k) Potential for dependence and addiction; 
(l) Potential for impairment of judgment and/or motor skills; 
(m) Satisfaction with or desire for more explanation; and 
(n) Patient signature (dated). 
(5) The material risk consent form will be maintained as a per-

manent component of the patient record as shall documentation of 
long term follow-up to demonstrate the continued need for this form 
of therapy. A dispensing record of the amount and dose of the pre-
scribed or administered controlled substances shall be maintained as 
part of the patient record. 
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, SB 880 2007 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.470 - 485 
Hist.: ME 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; BME 8-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 
6-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 9-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08 

847-015-0035 
Attending Physicians Prescribing Medications to Physician-
Assisted Death with Dignity Patients 

Attending physicians prescribing medications pursuant to ORS 
127.800–127.897 must: 

(1) Dispense medications directly, including ancillary medica-
tions intended to facilitate the desired effect to minimize the patient’s 
discomfort, provided the attending physician is registered as a dis-
pensing physician with the Oregon Medical Board, has a current 
Drug Enforcement Administration (D.E.A.) certificate, and complies 
with the provisions of ORS 677.089, OAR 847-015-0015 and 847-
015-0025; or 

(2) With the patient’s written consent: 
(a) Contact a pharmacist, and inform the pharmacist of the pur-

pose of the prescription; and 
(b) Deliver the written prescription personally or by mail to the 

pharmacist who will dispense the medications to either the patient, 
the attending physician, or an expressly identified patient’s agent. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 127.800 - 127.995 
Hist.: BME 3-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-8-98 thru 10-5-98; BME 10-1998, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-22-98; OMB 29-2012, f. & cert. ef. 11-22-12 

847-015-0040 
Collaborative Drug Therapy Management 

(1) “Collaborative Drug Therapy Management” as used in this 
section means the participation by a physician and a pharmacist in 
the management of drug therapy pursuant to a written protocol that 
includes information specific to the dosage, frequency, duration and 
route of administration of the drug, authorized by a physician and ini-
tiated upon a prescription order for an individual patient and: 

(a) Is agreed to by one physician and one pharmacist; or  
(b) Is agreed to by one or more physicians in a single organized 

medical group, such as a hospital medical staff, clinic or group prac-
tice, including but not limited to organized medical groups using a 
pharmacy and therapeutics committee, and one or more pharmacists 
at a single pharmacy registered by the Board of Pharmacy. 

(2) A physician shall engage in collaborative drug therapy man-
agement with a pharmacist only under a written arrangement that 
includes: 

(a) The identification, either by name or by description, of the 
participating pharmacist(s); 

(b) The identification, by name, of the participating physi-
cian(s); 

(c) The name of the physician and principal pharmacist who are 
responsible for development, training, administration, and quality 
assurance of the arrangement; 

(d) A detailed description of the collaborative role the pharma-
cist(s) shall play, including but not limited to: 

(A) Written protocol for specific drugs pursuant to which the 
pharmacist will base drug therapy management decisions for an indi-
vidual patient; 

(B) Circumstances which will cause the pharmacist to initiate 
communication with the physician, including but not limited to the 
need for new prescription orders and reports of patients’ therapeu-
tic responses or adverse effects; 

(C) Training requirement for pharmacist participation and ongo-
ing assessment of competency, if necessary; 

(D) Quality assurance and periodic review by a panel of the par-
ticipating physicians(s) and pharmacist(s). 

(e) Authorization by the physician(s) for the pharmacist(s) to 
participate in the collaborative drug therapy; 

(f) A provision for the collaborative drug therapy arrangement 
to be reviewed and updated, or discontinued at least every two years; 
and  

(g) A description of the mechanism for the pharmacist(s) to 
communicate to the physician(s) and for documentation of the imple-
mentation of the collaborative drug therapy. 

(3) Collaborative drug therapy management is valid only when 
initiated upon the prescription order of a participating physician for 
each individual patient. 

(4) Nothing in this rule shall be construed to allow therapeutic 
substitution. 

(5) The collaborative drug therapy protocol must be filed with 
the Board of Pharmacy, kept on file in the pharmacy and made avail-
able to the Board of Pharmacy and the Oregon Medical Board upon 
request. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 689.005(30) 
Hist.: BME 12-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99 

DIVISION 17 

OFFICE-BASED SURGERY 

847-017-0000 
Preamble 

Licensees of the Oregon Medical Board providing office-based 
invasive procedures are accountable for the welfare and safety of 
their patients and responsible for ensuring that the performance of 
these procedures meets the standard of care.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
13 

847-017-0003 
Classification of Office-Based Surgery 

Office-based surgeries are classified by complexity. 
(1) Level I are minor surgical procedures performed without 

anesthesia or under topical, local, or minor conduction block anes-
thesia not involving drug-induced alteration of consciousness, other 
than minimal sedation utilizing preoperative oral anxiolytic medi-
cations.  

(a) The licensee must pursue continuing medical education in 
the field for which the services are being provided and in the prop-
er drug dosages, management of toxicity, and hypersensitivity to 
local anesthetic and other drugs.  

(b) The licensee must maintain active basic life support (BLS) 
certification. 

(2) Level II are minor or major surgical procedures performed 
under moderate sedation/analgesia, such as oral, parenteral, or intra-
venous sedation or under analgesic or dissociative drugs. 

(a) In addition to the requirements in section (1) of this rule, the 
licensee must: 

(A) Maintain board certification or board eligibility in a spe-
cialty recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties 
(ABMS), the American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of Osteo-
pathic Specialists (AOA-BOS), the American Board of Podiatric 
Medicine (ABPM), the American Board of Podiatric Surgery 
(ABPS) or the National Commission on Certification of Physician 
Assistants (NCCPA), or 

(B) Obtain fifty hours each year of accredited continuing med-
ical education (CME) relevant to the Level II surgical procedures to 
be performed in the office-based facility. This requirement may not 
be satisfied with cultural competency CME or other CME that is only 
generally relevant to the licensee’s practice.  

(b) The licensee must be certified in advanced resuscitative 
techniques and must be on site at all times when patients are under 
the effects of anesthetic. 

(c) The patient must be appropriately monitored as defined in 
847-017-0005. 

(3) Level III are major surgical procedures that require deep 
sedation/analgesia, general anesthesia, or regional blocks, and require 
support of vital bodily functions. 

(a) In addition to the requirements in section (1) of this rule, the 
licensee must:  

(A) Have staff privileges to perform the same procedure in a 
hospital or ambulatory surgical center, or  
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(B) Maintain board certification or board eligibility in an appro-
priate specialty recognized by the ABMS, the AOA-BOS, the 
ABPM, the ABPS or the NCCPA.  

(b) The licensee must be certified in advanced resuscitative 
techniques and must be on site at all times when patients are under 
the effects of anesthetic. 

(c) The patient must be appropriately monitored as defined in 
847-017-0005. 

(d) The licensee performing the procedure may not administer 
anesthesia other than additional local anesthesia and may not be pri-
marily responsible for monitoring anesthesia during the procedure.  

(4) Procedures or treatments involving the injection of a med-
ication or substance for cosmetic purposes are the practice of 
medicine and must be performed as an office-based surgical proce-
dure. 

(5) Lipoplasty involving the removal of 500 cc or less volume 
of supernatant fat may be performed as a Level I surgical procedure. 
Office-based lipoplasty involving more than 500 cc volume of super-
natant fat must be performed as a Level II or Level III surgical pro-
cedure.  

(a) The performance of lipoplasty in an office-based setting may 
not result in the removal of more than 5% of total body weight or 
more than 4500 cc volume of supernatant fat removed, whichever is 
less. 

(b) The licensee may not use more than 55 mg/kg of Lidocaine 
or 70 mcg/kg of epinephrine for tumescent anesthesia. The concen-
tration of epinephrine in tumescent solutions may not exceed 1.5 
mg/L.  

(6) The following may not be performed in an office-based sur-
gical facility: 

(a) Procedures that may result in blood loss of more than 4% 
of the estimated blood volume in a patient with a normal 
hemoglobin;  

(b) Procedures requiring intracranial, intrathoracic, or abdom-
inal cavity entry; and  

(c) Joint replacement procedures.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-017-0005 
Definitions 

For the purpose of these rules, the following terms are defined: 
(1) “Ambulatory surgical center” has the meaning given in ORS 

442.015. Nothing in OAR chapter 847, division 17 is meant to 
exempt a physician’s office from the licensure requirements in ORS 
441.015 if the office meets the definition of an ambulatory surgical 
center in ORS 442.015. A physician’s office that meets the definition 
of an ambulatory surgical center must comply with OAR chapter 
333, division 76.  

(2) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board. 
(3) “Certified in advanced resuscitative techniques” means that 

the individual is currently certified either with Advanced Cardiac 
Life Support (ACLS) for adults or Pediatric Advanced Life Support 
(PALS) or Advanced Pediatric Life Support (APLS) for children. 

(4) “Deep sedation/analgesia” means the administration of a 
drug or drugs that produces depression of consciousness during 
which patients cannot be easily aroused and only respond purpose-
fully following repeated or painful stimulation. The ability to inde-
pendently maintain ventilatory function may be impaired. Patients 
may require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and sponta-
neous ventilation may be inadequate.  

(5) “Facility” has the same definition as “office.” 
(6) “General anesthesia” means a drug-induced loss of con-

sciousness during which patients are not able to be aroused, even by 
painful stimulation. The ability to independently maintain ventilatory 
function is often impaired. Patients often require assistance in main-
taining a patent airway, and positive pressure ventilation may be 
required because of depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-
induced depression of neuromuscular function.  

(7) “Health care personnel” means any person, licensed or unli-
censed, who is directly related to the provision of health care services 

including, but not limited to, a physician assistant, nurse practition-
er, certified registered nurse anesthetist, registered nurse, licensed 
practical nurse or medical assistant.  

(8) “Hospital” has the meaning given in ORS 442.015. 
(9) “Licensee” means an individual holding a valid license 

issued by the Board. 
(10) “Lipoplasty” means any instrumentation under the skin 

through incisions for the reduction of subcutaneous volume. This 
includes, but is not limited to, liposuction, laser lipolysis, suction 
assisted lipectomy and liposculpture.  

(11) “Local anesthesia” means the administration of a drug or 
drugs that produces a transient and reversible loss of sensation in a 
circumscribed portion of the body. 

(12) “Minimal sedation” (anxiolysis) means the administration 
of a drug or drugs that produces a state of consciousness that allows 
the patient to tolerate unpleasant medical procedures while respond-
ing normally to verbal commands. Cardiovascular or respiratory 
function is unaffected and defensive airway reflexes remain intact. 

(13) “Minor conduction block” means the injection of local 
anesthesia to stop or prevent a painful sensation in a circumscribed 
area of the body (that is, infiltration or local nerve block), or the block 
of a nerve by direct pressure and refrigeration. Minor conduction 
blocks include but are not limited to, intercostal, retrobulbar, par-
avertebral, peribulbar, pudendal, and sciatic nerve and ankle 
blocks.  

(14) “Moderate sedation/analgesia” means the administration 
of a drug or drugs that produces depression of consciousness during 
which patients respond purposefully to verbal commands, either 
alone or accompanied by a light tactile stimulation. Reflex with-
drawal from painful stimulation is NOT considered a purposeful 
response. No interventions are required to maintain a patent airway, 
and spontaneous ventilation is adequate.  

(15) “Monitor” means regular visual observation and continu-
ous physiologic measurement of the patient as deemed appropriate 
by the level of sedation or recovery using appropriate instruments to 
measure, display, and record physiologic values, such as heart rate, 
blood pressure, respiration, oxygen saturation, and end tidal 
capnography. 

(16) “Office” means a location, other than a hospital or ambu-
latory surgical center, at which medical or surgical services are ren-
dered. 

(17) “Office-based surgery” means the performance of any sur-
gical or other invasive procedure requiring anesthesia, analgesia, or 
sedation, including cryosurgery, laser surgery and the use of lasers 
that penetrate the skin, which results in patient stay of less than 24 
consecutive hours and is performed by a licensee in a location other 
than a hospital or ambulatory surgical center. 

(18) “PARQ conference” means a Procedures, Alternatives, 
Risks and Questions conference, in which the licensee performing 
the procedure explains in general terms the procedure or treatment 
to be undertaken, any alternative procedures or methods of treatment, 
and any risks to the procedure or treatment and allows questions from 
the patient. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
13 

847-017-0008 
Standard of Practice 

A licensee performing office-based surgery must have received 
appropriate training and education in the safe and effective perfor-
mance of all surgical procedures performed in the office. Such train-
ing and education should include:  

(1) Indications and contraindications for each procedure;  
(2) Identification and selection of appropriate patients for each 

procedure; 
(3) Identification of realistic and expected outcomes of each 

procedure;  
(4) Selection, maintenance, and utilization of products and 

equipment;  
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(5) Appropriate technique for each procedure, including infec-
tion control and safety precautions;  

(6) Pharmacological intervention specific to each procedure;  
(7) Identification of complications and adverse reactions for 

each procedure;  
(8) Standards in surgical medical care; and 
(9) Emergency procedures to be used in the event of:  
(a) Complications;  
(b) Adverse reactions; or  
(c) Equipment malfunction. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-017-0010 
Licensee Use of Office-Based Surgical Facilities  

A licensee performing office-based surgery must ensure that the 
facility meets standards to ensure patient safety. 

(1) Facilities where office-based surgeries are performed must 
comply with all federal and state laws and regulations that affect the 
practice.  

(2) Facilities where Level II or Level III office-based surgeries 
are performed must be accredited by an appropriate, Board-recog-
nized accreditation agency, including the American Association for 
Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgical Facilities (AAAASF), the 
Accreditation Association of Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC), the 
Joint Commission, or the Institute for Medical Quality (IMQ). Facil-
ities accredited by the Oregon Medical Association (OMA) prior to 
January 1, 2013, will continue to be recognized as accredited facil-
ities until the accreditation period expires. Licensees of the Board 
performing office-based procedures in a new or existing facility, must 
ensure that facility is accredited within one year of the start date of 
the office-based procedures being performed or the date these rules 
are adopted, whichever is later. During the period of time the facil-
ity is in the accreditation process, the facility will make changes to 
come into compliance with the Administrative Rules in this Division.  

(3) Facilities where Level II or Level III office-based surgeries 
are performed must provide health care personnel who have appro-
priate education and training for administration and monitoring of 
moderate sedation/analgesia, deep sedation/analgesia, general anes-
thesia or regional block. 

(4) A licensee who holds a MD or DO degree as well as a DDS 
(Doctor of Dental Surgery) or DMD (Doctor of Dental Medicine) 
degree and is an active member of the Oregon Society of Oral Max-
illofacial Surgeons (OSOMS) may perform maxillofacial procedures 
in a facility approved by the OSOMS and function under the admin-
istrative rules of the Oregon Board of Dentistry, OAR chapter 818, 
division 026. For all procedures that are not oral maxillofacial in 
nature, licensees with medical and dental licenses must follow rules 
laid out in OAR chapter 847, division 017. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 679.255 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.060, 677.265, 679.255 
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 14-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-
07; BME 10-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08; OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-017-0015 
Selection of Procedures and Patients 

(1) The licensee who performs the office-based surgery or anes-
thetic is responsible for the safety of the patient. 

(a) The licensee must evaluate and document the condition of 
the patient and the potential risks associated with the proposed treat-
ment plan; 

(b) The licensee must be satisfied that the procedure to be 
undertaken is within the scope of practice of the health care per-
sonnel, the capabilities of the facility and the condition of the patient; 
and 

(c) The licensee must examine the patient immediately before 
the procedure to evaluate the risks of the procedure and the risks of 
anesthesia if applicable. 

(2) Informed consent for the nature and objectives of the anes-
thesia planned and office-based surgery to be performed must be in 
writing and obtained from the patient[s] before the office-based 
surgery is performed. Informed consent is only to be obtained after 

a PARQ conference and must be documented in the medical record. 
The informed consent must include a disclosure of the licensee’s spe-
cialty board certification through the ABMS, the AOA-BOS, the 
ABPM, the ABPS or the NCCPA or lack thereof. The requirement 
for written informed consent is not necessary for minor Level I pro-
cedures limited to the skin and mucosa.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
13 

847-017-0020 
Patient Medical Records 

(1) A legible, complete, comprehensive and accurate medical 
record must be maintained for each patient evaluated or treated. The 
record must include: 

(a) Identity of the patient; 
(b) History and physical, diagnosis and plan; 
(c) Appropriate lab, x-ray or other diagnostic reports; 
(d) Documentation of the PARQ conference; 
(e) Disclosure of the licensee’s specialty board certification 

through the ABMS, the AOA-BOS, the ABPM, the ABPS or the 
NCCPA or lack thereof;  

(f) Appropriate preanesthesia evaluation; 
(g) Narrative description of procedure;  
(h) Intraoperative and postoperative monitoring; 
(i) Pathology reports;  
(j) Documentation of the outcome and the follow-up plan; and 
(k) Provision for continuity of post-procedure care. 
(2) If the office-based surgery is a Level II or Level III surgi-

cal procedure, the patient record must include a separate anesthetic 
record that contains documentation of anesthetic provider, procedure, 
and technique employed. This must include the type of anesthesia 
used, drugs (type and dose) and fluids administered during the pro-
cedure, patient weight, level of consciousness, estimated blood loss, 
duration of procedure, and any complication or unusual events relat-
ed to the procedure or anesthesia. 

(3) The patient record must document if tissues and other spec-
imens have been submitted for histopathologic diagnosis. 

(4) The licensee must ensure that the facility has specific and 
current protocols in place for patient confidentiality and security of 
all patient data and information. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
13 

847-017-0025 
Discharge Evaluation 

The licensee performing the procedure is responsible for the 
determination that the patient is safe to be discharged from the office 
after the procedure.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
13 

847-017-0030 
Emergency Care and Transfer Protocols 

In facilities where Level II or Level III office-based surgeries 
are performed, the licensee must ensure that a written plan is in place 
for the provision of emergency medical care as well as the safe and 
timely transfer of patients to a nearby hospital should hospitalization 
be necessary.  

(1) Age-appropriate emergency supplies, equipment, and 
medication should be provided in accordance with the scope of sur-
gical and anesthesia services provided at the licensee’s office.  

(2) All office personnel must be familiar with the documented 
plan for arranging emergency medical services and the safe and time-
ly transfer of patients to a nearby hospital and must be able to take 
necessary actions. If cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) is insti-
tuted, the plan must include immediate contact with emergency med-
ical services.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
13 

847-017-0035 
Quality Assessment 

(1) Office-based surgical practices must develop a system of 
quality assessment that effectively and efficiently strives for con-
tinuous quality improvement. 

(2) Documentation of complications and adverse incident 
review must be available. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
13 

847-017-0037 
Reporting Requirement  

(1) Licensees performing office-based surgery must report the 
following complications and adverse incidents to the Board within 
ten business days of the event if the complication occurred within 30 
days of the procedure: 

(a) Surgical related death;  
(b) Emergency transfer of the surgical patient to the hospital; 
(c) Anesthetic or surgical event requiring cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation (CPR); and 
(d) Unscheduled hospitalization related to the office-based 

surgery.  
(2) Licensees performing or intending to perform office-based 

surgery must report any restriction, limitation, loss or denial of priv-
ileges in a hospital or accredited outpatient facility within ten busi-
ness days of the restriction, limitation, loss or denial of privileges. 

(3) The Board will review reports made under this rule to deter-
mine whether an investigation is necessary. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.415  
Hist.: OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-017-0040 
Facility Administration and Equipment 

The licensee must ensure that specific and current arrangements 
are in place for obtaining laboratory, radiological, pathological and 
other ancillary services as may be required to support the surgical 
and/or anesthetic procedures undertaken.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; OMB 33-2013, f. & cert. ef.  
10-15-13 

DIVISION 20 

RULES FOR LICENSURE TO  
PRACTICE MEDICINE IN OREGON 

847-020-0100 
Definitions 

For the purpose of OAR chapter 847, division 020, the fol-
lowing terms are defined: 

(1) “Approved school of medicine” means a school offering a 
full-time resident program of study in medicine or osteopathy lead-
ing to a degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy, such 
program having been fully accredited or conditionally approved by 
the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, or its successor agen-
cy, or the American Osteopathic Association, or its successor agen-
cy, or having been otherwise determined by the Board to meet the 
association standards. 

(2) “School of medicine” means approved schools of medicine 
(as defined above) and international medical and osteopathic schools.  

(3) “Specialty board” means a certification board recognized by 
the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the Ameri-
can Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialties 
(AOA-BOS).  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010 & 677.265 

Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 6-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10; 
OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13 

847-020-0110 
Application for Licensure 

(1) Any person who wishes to practice medicine in this state 
beyond the first post-graduate training year must apply for an Ore-
gon license to practice medicine. 

(2) When applying for licensure, the applicant must submit to 
the Board the completed application, fees, documents and letters. 

(3) A person applying for licensure under these rules who has 
not completed the licensure process within a 12 month consecutive 
period must file a new application, documents, letters and pay a full 
filing fee as if filing for the first time. 

(4) The applicant may be required to appear before the Board 
for a personal interview regarding information received during the 
processing of the application. Unless excused in advance, failure to 
appear before the Board for a personal interview violates ORS 
677.190(17) and may subject the applicant to disciplinary action. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100 & 677.190 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 4-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; 
OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13; OMB 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-14 

847-020-0120 
Basic Requirements for Licensure of an Approved Medical 
School Graduate 

The following requirements for licensure must be met by grad-
uates of an approved school of medicine: 

(1) Must have graduated from a school offering a full-time res-
ident program of study in medicine or osteopathy leading to a degree 
of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy, such program hav-
ing been fully accredited or conditionally approved by the Liaison 
Committee of Medical Education, or the American Osteopathic 
Association, or having been otherwise determined by the Board to 
meet the association standards; 

(2) Must satisfactorily complete an approved internship, resi-
dency or fellowship in the United States or Canada of at least one 
year in not more than one training program accredited for internship, 
residency or fellowship training by the Accreditation Council for 
Graduate Medical Education, the American Osteopathic Association, 
the College of Family Physicians of Canada, or the Royal College 
of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada; 

(3) Must pass a written licensing examination as provided in 
ORS 677.110 and OAR 847-020-0170; and 

(4) Must satisfactorily meet the requirements of ORS 677.100. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100 & 677.110 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13 

847-020-0130 
Basic Requirements for Licensure of an International Medical 
School Graduate 

The following requirements must be met in lieu of graduation 
from an approved school of medicine in order to qualify under ORS 
677.100:  

(1) Must speak English fluently and write English legibly. 
(2) Must have graduated from an international school of 

medicine: 
(a) The medical school must be chartered in the country in 

which it is located and must provide a resident course of professional 
instruction, be accredited by an accrediting organization acceptable 
to the Board, or be recognized by the appropriate civil authorities of 
the country in which the school is located as an acceptable educa-
tion program. The Board may determine that the accreditation of an 
international medical school is not acceptable if the Board receives 
documentation that the medical school has had its authorization, 
accreditation, certification or approval denied or removed by any 
state, country or territorial jurisdiction or that its graduates were 
refused a license by any state, country or territorial jurisdiction on 
the grounds that the school failed or fails to meet reasonable stan-
dards for medical education facilities.  
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(b) The graduate must have attended at least four full terms of 
instruction of eight months each, with all courses having been com-
pleted by physical on-site attendance in the country in which the 
school is chartered. The requirement for four full terms of instruc-
tion of eight months each term may be waived for any applicant for 
licensure who has graduated from an international school of 
medicine, has substantially complied with the attendance require-
ments provided herein, and is certified by a specialty board.  

(c) Any clinical clerkships obtained in a country other than that 
in which the school is chartered must be satisfactorily completed.  

(d) If requested, the applicant must provide the Board with doc-
umentation to substantiate that the medical school from which the 
applicant graduated meets the requirements in subsection (2)(a) of 
this rule.  

(3) Must have obtained certification by the Educational Com-
mission for Foreign Medical Graduates. This requirement may be 
waived if:  

(a) The accredited postgraduate training was completed in 
Canada; or  

(b) The accredited postgraduate training was completed prior 
to the enforcement of the ECFMG certification; or  

(c) The applicant has been certified by a specialty board; or  
(d) The applicant has successfully completed a Fifth Pathway 

training program. 
(4) Must have satisfactorily completed an approved internship, 

residency or clinical fellowship in the United States or Canada of at 
least three years of progressive training in not more than two spe-
cialties in training programs accredited for internship, residency or 
fellowship training by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Med-
ical Education, the American Osteopathic Association, the College 
of Family Physicians of Canada or the Royal College of Physicians 
and Surgeons of Canada. 

(a) The following may be used in lieu of the three years of post-
graduate training: 

(A) Current certification by a specialty board; or 
(B) Successful completion of four years of practice in Oregon 

under a Limited License, Medical Faculty, in accordance with OAR 
847-020-0140(1); or 

(C) Successful completion of four years of practice in another 
United States jurisdiction under a license substantially similar to the 
Limited License, Medical Faculty.  

(b) If the applicant is unable to satisfy the requirement in sec-
tion (4) of this rule for postgraduate training, and the applicant has 
been granted a dispensation by a specialty board whereby the spe-
cialty board has granted credit for postgraduate training completed 
abroad toward fulfillment of the requirements for admission to a 
future specialty board’s certification examination, the Board may 
consider the dispensation as fulfilling that same portion of the 
Board’s requirement for postgraduate training. 

(5) Must pass a written licensure examination as provided in 
ORS 677.110 and OAR 847-020-0170. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110 & 677.265 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 8-2002, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-02; 
BME 10-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04 thru 10-15-04; BME 15-2004, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 8-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME 4-2006(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 2-8-06 thru 7-7-06; BME 10-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 20-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 4-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; BME 6-2010, f. & 
cert. ef. 4-26-10; BME 11-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-26-10 thru 1-10-11; BME 
17-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13 

847-020-0140 
Limited License, Medical Faculty Qualifications 

(1) Any physician who does not qualify for a medical license 
under any of the provisions of this chapter and who is offered by the 
Dean of an approved medical school in this state a full-time faculty 
position may, after application to and approval by the Board, be 
granted a Limited License, Medical Faculty to engage in the prac-
tice of medicine only to the extent that such practice is incident to 
and a necessary part of the applicant’s duties as approved by the 
Board in connection with such faculty position. 

(2) To qualify for a Limited License, Medical Faculty an appli-
cant must meet all the following requirements: 

(a) Furnish documentary evidence satisfactory to the Board that 
the applicant is a United States citizen or is legally admitted to the 
United States. 

(b) Furnish documentary evidence satisfactory to the Board that 
the applicant has been licensed to practice and has practiced medicine 
and surgery for not less than four years in another state or country 
whose requirements for licensure are satisfactory to the Board, or has 
been engaged in the practice of medicine in the United States for at 
least four years in approved hospitals, or has completed a combina-
tion of such licensed practice and training.  

(c) The dean of the medical school must certify in writing to the 
Board that the applicant has been appointed to a full-time faculty 
position; that a position is available; and that because the applicant 
has unique expertise in a specific field of medicine, the medical 
school considers the applicant to be a valuable member of the fac-
ulty. 

(d) The head of the department in which the applicant is to be 
appointed must certify in writing to the Board that the applicant will 
be under the direction of the head of the department and will not be 
permitted to practice medicine unless as a necessary part of the appli-
cant’s duties as approved by the Board in subsection (1)(a) of this 
rule. 

(e) The applicant may be required to take and pass an exami-
nation by the Board. 

(3) A Limited License, Medical Faculty is valid for one year 
after issuance and may be renewed as frequently as needed for a total 
period not to exceed four years. The four years must be consecutive.  

(4) Having completed four years of practice under a Limited 
License, Medical Faculty and successfully passed one of the exam-
inations or combination of examinations per OAR 847-020-0170, the 
applicant is eligible for licensure. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.132 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110, 677.132 & 677.265 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; 
BME 5-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 3-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; BME 4-
2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 18-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 23-2008, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13; OMB 23-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-1-13 

847-020-0150 
Documents and Forms to be Submitted for Licensure 

The documents submitted must be legible and no larger than 8 
1/2” x 11”. All documents and photographs will be retained by the 
Board as a permanent part of the application file. If original docu-
ments are larger than 8 1/2” x 11”, the copies must be reduced to the 
correct size with all wording and signatures clearly shown. Official 
translations are required for documents issued in a foreign language. 
The following documents are required: 

(1) Application: Completed formal application provided by the 
Board. Required dates must include month, day and year.  

(2) Birth Certificate: A copy of birth certificate. 
(3) Medical School Diploma: A copy of a diploma showing 

graduation from an approved school of medicine or an internation-
al school of medicine.  

(4) American Specialty Board Certificate or Recertification Cer-
tificate: A copy of the certificate issued by the American Specialty 
Board in the applicant’s specialty, if applicable.  

(5) Photograph: A close-up, passport quality photograph, front 
view, head and shoulders (not profile), with features distinct, taken 
within 90 days preceding the filing of the application.  

(6) The results of a Practitioner Self-Query from the National 
Practitioner Data Bank sent to the Board by the applicant. 

(7) Legible fingerprints as described in 847-008-0068 for the 
purpose of a criminal records background check. 

(8) An applicant must pass an open-book examination on the 
Medical Practice Act (ORS Chapter 677) and an open-book exam-
ination on the Drug Enforcement Administration’s regulations gov-
erning the use of controlled substances. If an applicant fails one or 
both examinations three times, the applicant’s application will be 
reviewed by the Board’s Administrative Affairs Committee and the 
applicant must attend an informal meeting with a Board member, a 
Board investigator and/or the Medical Director of the Board to dis-
cuss the applicant’s failure of the examination(s), before being given 



a fourth and final attempt to pass the examination(s). If the applicant 
does not pass the examination(s) on the fourth attempt, the applicant 
may be denied licensure. 

(9) Any other documentation or explanatory statements as 
required by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.100 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010 & 677.265 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 3-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; BME 
15-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07; BME 20-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 6-
2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10; OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13; OMB 34-2013, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-020-0160 
Letters and Official Verifications to be Submitted for 
Licensure 

The applicant must ensure that official documents are sent to the 
Board directly from: 

(1) The Medical/Osteopathic School: 
(a) A Dean’s Letter of Recommendation must include a state-

ment concerning the applicant’s moral and ethical character and over-
all performance as a medical student. If the school attests that a 
Dean’s Letter is unavailable or the Board determines that it is unac-
ceptable, a copy of the transcripts may be acceptable. 

(b) Verification of Medical Education form must include degree 
issued, date of degree, dates of attendance for each year, dates and 
reason for any leaves of absence or repeated years, and dates, name 
and location of school of medicine if a transfer student. 

(2) The Fifth Pathway Hospital, if such applies: An evaluation 
of overall performance and specific beginning and ending dates of 
training. 

(3) The Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Gradu-
ates: Verification of certification.  

(4) The Director of Medical Education, Chairman or other offi-
cial of the internship, residency and fellowship hospitals in the Unit-
ed States and other countries: An evaluation of overall performance, 
specialty and specific beginning and ending dates of training. 

(5) The Director or other official for practice and employment 
in hospitals, clinics, etc. in the United States and foreign countries: 
A currently dated original letter (a copy is not acceptable), sent 
directly from the hospital/clinic, must include an evaluation of over-
all performance and specific beginning and ending dates of practice 
and employment, for the past five (5) years only. If the applicant has 
not practiced for more than two years, employment verifications will 
be required for the past ten (10) years. For physicians who have been 
or are in solo practice without hospital privileges at the time of solo 
practice, provide three reference letters from physicians in the local 
medical community who are familiar with the applicant’s practice 
and who have known the applicant for more than six months. 

(6) All health licensing boards in any jurisdiction where the 
applicant has ever been licensed; regardless of status, i.e., current, 
lapsed, never practiced there: Verification, sent directly from the 
boards, must show license number, date issued, examination grades 
if applicable and status. 

(7) Official Examination Certifications: An official examination 
certification showing the examination score is required directly from 
the National Board of Medical Examiners, the National Board of 
Osteopathic Medical Examiners, the Medical Council of Canada, the 
Federation of State Medical Boards or the individual state adminis-
tering the exam. 

(8) The Federation of State Medical Boards: A Board Action 
Databank Inquiry report. 

(9) Any other documentation as required by the Board, includ-
ing but not limited to medical records and criminal or civil records. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010, 677.100 & 677.265 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 8-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; 
BME 15-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07; BME 18-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 
6-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10; OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13 

847-020-0165 
Application for Licensure by Military Spouse or Domestic 
Partner 

(1) “Military spouse or domestic partner” means a spouse or 
domestic partner of an active member of the Armed Forces of the 
United States who is the subject of a military transfer to Oregon. 

(2) To qualify for licensure under this rule, the military spouse 
or domestic partner must: 

(a) Meet the qualifications for licensure as stated in OAR 847-
020-0120, 847-020-0130, and 847-020-0170; 

(b) Be married to, or in a domestic partnership with, a member 
of the Armed Forces of the United States who is assigned to a duty 
station located in Oregon by official active duty military order;  

(c) Be licensed to practice medicine in another state or territo-
ry of the United States; 

(d) Be in good standing, with no restrictions or limitations upon, 
actions taken against, or investigation or disciplinary action pending 
against his or her license in any jurisdiction where the applicant is 
or has been licensed; and  

(e) Have at least one year of active practice or teaching of 
medicine during the three years immediately preceding the applica-
tion.  

(3) If a military spouse or domestic partner applies for a license 
to practice medicine, the Board may accept: 

(a) A copy of the medical school diploma to fulfill the require-
ment for a Dean’s Letter of Recommendation and the Verification of 
Medical Education form; and  

(b) Verification of licensure in good standing from the juris-
diction of current or most recent practice of medicine to fulfill the 
requirement of verifications of licensure from all jurisdictions of 
prior and current health related licensure. 

(4) If a military spouse or domestic partner applies for a license 
to practice medicine, the Board will obtain the following on behalf 
of the applicant: 

(a) The results of a query of the National Practitioner Data 
Bank; and 

(b) The results of a query of the Federation of State Medical 
Boards’ Board Action Data Bank. 

(5) In addition to the documents required in section (3) of this 
rule and by OAR 847-020-0150 and 847-020-0160, the military 
spouse or domestic partner must submit a copy of the: 

(a) Marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration with 
the name of the applicant and the name of the active duty member 
of the Armed Forces of the United States; and 

(b) Assignment to a duty station located in Oregon by official 
active duty military order for the spouse or domestic partner named 
in the marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & HB 2037 (2013) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010, 677.100, 677.265 & HB 2037 (2013) 
Hist.: OMB 21-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 35-
2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-020-0170 
Examination for Licensure 

(1) The applicant must have passed one of the following exam-
inations or combinations of examinations: 

(a) United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) 
Steps 1, 2, and 3. 

(b) National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners 
(NBOME) examination or the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical 
Licensing Examination (COMLEX) or any combination of their 
parts. 

(c) Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Examination 
(MCCQE) Parts 1 and 2.  

(d) Federation Licensing Examination (FLEX) Components 1 
and 2 or FLEX Days I, II, and III. 

(e) National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) Parts I, II, 
and III. 

(f) State licensing examination administered by a state or ter-
ritory of the United States, if approved by the Board. 

(g)(A) NBME Part I or USMLE Step 1; and  
(B) NBME Part II or USMLE Step 2; and  
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(C) NBME Part III or USMLE Step 3 or FLEX Component 2.  
(h) FLEX Component 1 and USMLE Step 3.  
(2) The score achieved on each Step, Part, Component or state 

examination must equal or exceed the figure established by the enti-
ty administering the examination as a passing score.  

(3) All Steps, Parts or Components listed in subsections (1)(g)–
(h) must be administered prior to January 2000, except for applicants 
who participated in and completed a combined MD/DO/PhD pro-
gram.  

(4) The applicant who bases an application on passing the 
USMLE or the NBOME examination or the COMLEX must have 
done so under the following conditions: 

(a) All three Steps of USMLE, or all three Levels of the 
NBOME examination or COMLEX or any combination, must be 
passed within a seven-year period which begins when the first Step 
or Level, either Step 1 or Step 2 or Level 1 or Level 2, is passed. An 
applicant who has not passed all three Steps or Levels within the 
seven-year period may request an exception to the seven-year 
requirement if he/she: 

(A) Has current certification by a specialty board as defined in 
847-020-0100; or  

(B) Suffered from a documented significant health condition 
which by its severity would necessarily cause a delay to the appli-
cant’s medical or osteopathic study; or  

(C) Participated in a combined MD/DO/PhD program; or 
(D) Completed continuous approved post-graduate training with 

the equivalent number of years to an MD/DO/PhD program; or  
(E) Experienced other extenuating circumstances that do not 

indicate an inability to safely practice medicine as determined by the 
Board. 

(b) The applicant must have passed USMLE Step 3 or 
NBOME’s COMLEX Level 3 within four attempts whether for Ore-
gon or any other state. After the third failed attempt, the applicant 
must have completed one additional year of postgraduate training in 
the United States or Canada prior to readmission to the examination. 
The Board must approve the additional year of training to determine 
whether the applicant is eligible for licensure. The applicant, after 
completion of the required year of training, must have passed 
USMLE Step 3 or COMLEX Level 3 on their fourth and final 
attempt. An applicant who has passed USMLE Step 3 or COMLEX 
Level 3, but not within the four attempts as required, may request a 
waiver of this requirement if he/she has current certification by a spe-
cialty board as defined in 847-020-0100.  

(5) The applicant who bases an application upon passing the 
FLEX examination must have done so under the following condi-
tions: 

(a) The FLEX examination must have been passed within seven 
years of the first attempt. The applicant who has taken the FLEX 
examination (Day I, II, and III) administered between June 1968 and 
December 1984 must have taken the entire examination at one sit-
ting. The applicant who has taken the FLEX examination (Compo-
nents 1 and 2), in June 1985 or after, was not required to take both 
Components 1 and 2 at one sitting.  

(b) The applicant may not have taken the FLEX examination 
more than a total of four times, whether in Oregon or other states, 
whether the components were taken together or separately. After the 
third failed attempt, the applicant must have satisfactorily complet-
ed one year of approved training in the United States or Canada prior 
to having taken the entire FLEX examination at one sitting on the 
fourth and final attempt. An applicant who has passed the FLEX 
examination but not within the four attempts may request a waiver 
of this requirement if he/she has current certification by a specialty 
board as defined in 847-020-0100.  

(c) Only the applicant’s scores on the most recently taken FLEX 
examination will be considered to determine eligibility. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.110, 677.120 & 677.265 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 5-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; 
BME 10-2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-2-03; BME 14-2003(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-9-03 
thru 3-1-04; BME 3-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 7-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-
22-04; BME 15-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 8-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; 
BME 3-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; BME 4-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06 thru 
7-7-06; BME 10-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 20-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-

07; BME 18-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 6-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-9-
09 thru 10-2-09; Administrative correction 10-22-09; OMB 24-2012, f. & cert. 
ef. 8-3-12; OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13 

847-020-0182 
SPEX or COMVEX Requirements 

(1) If an applicant for licensure or reactivation has not com-
pleted postgraduate training within the past 10 years or been certi-
fied or recertified by a specialty board within the past 10 years, the 
applicant may be required to demonstrate clinical competency by 
passing the Special Purpose Examination (SPEX) or Comprehensive 
Osteopathic Medical Variable-Purpose Examination (COMVEX). 

(2) The SPEX/COMVEX requirement may be waived if the 
applicant has done one or more of the following:  

(a) Received a current appointment as Professor or Associate 
Professor at the Oregon Health and Science University or the West-
ern University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine 
of the Pacific;  

(b) Completed at least 50 hours of Board-approved continuing 
medical education each year for the past three years; or 

(c) Can demonstrate ongoing participation in maintenance of 
certification with a specialty board as defined in 847-020-0100. 

(3) The applicant who fails the SPEX or COMVEX three times, 
whether in Oregon or other states, must successfully complete one 
year of an accredited residency or an accredited or Board-approved 
clinical fellowship before retaking the SPEX or COMVEX.  

(4) The applicant may be granted a Limited License, 
SPEX/COMVEX according to 847-010-0064.  

(5) All rules, regulations and statutory requirements pertaining 
to the medical school graduate remain in full effect.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.132, 677.190 & 677.265 
Hist.: OMB 25-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12; OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13; 
OMB 13-2014, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-14 

847-020-0183 
Re-Entry to Practice — SPEX or COMVEX Examination, Re-
Entry Plan 

If an applicant has ceased the practice of medicine for a peri-
od of 12 or more consecutive months immediately preceding the 
application for licensure or reactivation, the applicant may be 
required to demonstrate clinical competency.  

(1) The applicant who has ceased the practice of medicine for 
a period of 12 or more consecutive months may be required to pass 
the Special Purpose Examination (SPEX) or Comprehensive Osteo-
pathic Medical Variable-Purpose Examination (COMVEX). This 
requirement may be waived if the applicant has done one or more of 
the following:  

(a) The applicant has received a current appointment as Pro-
fessor or Associate Professor at the Oregon Health and Science Uni-
versity or the Western University of Health Sciences College of 
Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific;  

(b) The applicant can demonstrate ongoing participation in 
maintenance of certification with a specialty board as defined in 847-
020-0100; or  

(c) Subsequent to ceasing practice, the applicant has:  
(A) Completed one year of an accredited residency, or  
(B) Completed one year of an accredited or Board-approved 

clinical fellowship, or  
(C) Been certified or recertified by a specialty board as defined 

in 847-020-0100, or  
(D) Obtained continuing medical education to the Board’s sat-

isfaction.  
(2) The applicant who has ceased the practice of medicine for 

a period of 24 or more consecutive months may be required to com-
plete a re-entry plan to the satisfaction of the Board. The re-entry plan 
must be reviewed and approved through a Consent Agreement prior 
to the applicant beginning the re-entry plan. Depending on the 
amount of time out-of-practice, the applicant may be required to do 
one or more of the following:  

(a) Pass the SPEX/COMVEX examination;  
(b) Practice for a specified period of time under a mentor/super-

vising physician who will provide periodic reports to the Board;  
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(c) Obtain certification or re-certification, or participate in main-
tenance of certification, with a specialty board as defined in 847-020-
0100;  

(d) Complete a re-entry program as determined appropriate by 
the Board;  

(e) Complete one year of accredited postgraduate or clinical fel-
lowship training, which must be pre-approved by the Board’s Med-
ical Director;  

(f) Complete at least 50 hours of Board-approved continuing 
medical education each year for the past three years.  

(3) The applicant who fails the SPEX or COMVEX examina-
tion three times, whether in Oregon or other states, must successfully 
complete one year of an accredited residency or an accredited or 
Board-approved clinical fellowship before retaking the SPEX or 
COMVEX examination.  

(4) The applicant may be granted a Limited License, 
SPEX/COMVEX according to 847-010-0064.  

(5) All of the rules, regulations and statutory requirements per-
taining to the medical school graduate remain in full effect.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.190 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 20-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; 
BME 6-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10; OMB 25-2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-18-11; OMB 
9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13; OMB 11-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-14; OMB 13-2014, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-8-14 

847-020-0185 
License Application Withdrawals 

(1) The Board will consider a request by an applicant to with-
draw his/her application for licensure in the State of Oregon under 
the following circumstances: 

(a) The applicant is eligible for licensure; and 
(b) The file contains no evidence of violation of any provision 

of ORS 677.010 — 677.855. 
(2) An applicant may request to withdraw his/her application for 

licensure in the State of Oregon and the withdrawal will be report-
ed to the Federation of State Medical Boards under the following cir-
cumstances: 

(a) The applicant is eligible for licensure; and 
(b) The file contains evidence that the applicant may have vio-

lated any provision of ORS 677.010 — 677.855, but the Board has 
decided that there is an insufficient basis to proceed to formal dis-
cipline, or a licensing body in another state has imposed formal dis-
cipline or entered into a consent agreement for the same conduct, and 
that action has been reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.190, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 11-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; OMB 34-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-020-0190 
Denial of Licensure 

An applicant may not be entitled to a license who: 
(1) Has failed to pass a medical licensure examination for licen-

sure in the State of Oregon; 
(2) Has had a license revoked or suspended in this or any other 

state or country unless the said license has been restored or reinstated 
and the applicant’s license is in good standing in the state or coun-
try which had revoked the same; 

(3) Has been refused a license or certificate in any other state 
or country on any grounds other than failure in a medical licensure 
examination; 

(4) Has been guilty of conduct similar to that which would be 
prohibited by or to which ORS 677.190 would apply; or 

(5) Has been guilty of cheating or subverting the medical licens-
ing examination process. Medical licensing examination means any 
examination given by the Board to an applicant for registration, cer-
tification or licensure under this act. Evidence of cheating or sub-
verting includes, but is not limited to: 

(a) Copying answers from another examinee or permitting one’s 
answers to be copied by another examinee during the examination; 

(b) Having in one’s possession during the examination any 
books, notes, written or printed materials or data of any kind, other 

than examination materials distributed by board staff, which could 
facilitate the applicant in completing the examination; 

(c) Communicating with any other examinee during the admin-
istration of the examination; 

(d) Removing from the examining room any examination mate-
rials; 

(e) Photographing or otherwise reproducing examination 
materials. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 11-2003, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-03; 
OMB 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13 

847-020-0200 
Required School Subjects 

Subjects covered in schools of medicine that grant degrees of 
Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy as set forth in ORS 
677.110 are basic sciences, clinical sciences, clinical competence 
and/or other subjects that may be specified by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.110 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01 

DIVISION 23 

RULES FOR LICENSURE OF VOLUNTEER 
EMERITUS PHYSICIANS 

847-023-0000 
Definitions 

(1) “Health clinic” means a public health clinic or a health clin-
ic operated by a charitable corporation that mainly provides prima-
ry physical health, dental or mental health services to low-income 
patients without charge or using a sliding fee scale based on the 
income of the patient. 

(2) “Emeritus registration” means a licensee who has retired 
from active practice, but does only volunteer, non-remunerative prac-
tice and receives no direct monetary compensation, may register and 
pay an annual emeritus registration fee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.120, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 16-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06 

847-023-0005 
Qualifications 

(1) The Board may issue a volunteer emeritus license to a physi-
cian who volunteers at a health clinic provided that the physician:  

(a) Has a current license to practice medicine in another state 
or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia; and  

(b) Has successfully passed one of the examinations or combi-
nation of examinations per OAR 847-020-0170. 

(2) A physician applying for a license to volunteer in health clin-
ics who has not practiced medicine for more than twenty-four (24) 
months immediately prior to filing the application for licensure with 
the Board, may be required to take and pass the Special Purpose 
Examination (SPEX) or Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Vari-
able-Purpose Examination (COMVEX). This requirement may be 
waived if the applicant has done one or more of the following:  

(a) Within ten years of filing an application with the Board, 
completed an accredited one year residency, or an accredited or 
Board approved one year clinical fellowship; 

(b) Within ten years of filing an application with the Board, 
been certified or recertified by a specialty board recognized by the 
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American 
Osteopathic Association (AOA-BOS); 

(c) Obtained continuing medical education to the Board’s sat-
isfaction; or 

(d) Can demonstrate ongoing participation in maintenance of 
certification with the ABMS or AOA-BOS.  

(3) The Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX may be granted for 
a period of 6 months and permits the licensee to practice medicine 
only until the grade results of the SPEX or COMVEX examination 
are available and the applicant completes the initial registration pro-
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cess. The Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX would become invalid 
should the applicant fail the SPEX or COMVEX examination and 
the applicant, upon notification of failure of the examination, must 
cease practice in this state as expeditiously as possible, but not to 
exceed two weeks after the applicant receives notice of failure of the 
examination.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.120 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.120 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 16-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; BME 5-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; 
OMB 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-13-15 

847-023-0010 
Documents and Forms to be Submitted for Licensure 

The documents submitted must be legible and no larger than 8 
1/2” x 11”. All documents and photographs will be retained by the 
Board as a permanent part of the application file. If original docu-
ments are larger than 8 1/2” x 11”, the copies must be reduced to the 
correct size with all wording and signatures clearly shown. Official 
translations are required for documents issued in a foreign language. 
The following documents are required:  

(1) Application: Completed formal application provided by the 
Board. Required dates must include month, day and year. The appli-
cation fee is waived for physicians applying for a volunteer emeri-
tus license.  

(2) Birth Certificate: A copy of birth certificate.  
(3) Medical School Diploma: A copy of a diploma showing 

graduation from an approved school of medicine or an internation-
al school of medicine. International medical graduates must have 
graduated after meeting the attendance requirements specified in 
OAR 847-020-0130.  

(4) American Specialty Board Certification or Recertification: 
A copy of the certification or recertification certificate issued by the 
American Specialty Board in the applicant’s specialty, if applicable.  

(5) Photograph: A close-up, passport-quality photograph, 
front view, head and shoulders (not profile), with features distinct, 
taken within 90 days preceding the filing of the application.  

(6) The results of a Practitioner Self-Query from the National 
Practitioner Data Bank sent directly to the Board by the applicant.  

(7) Legible fingerprints as described in 847-008-0068 for the 
purpose of a criminal records background check.  

(8) An applicant must pass an open-book examination on the 
Medical Practice Act (ORS Chapter 677) and an open-book exam-
ination on the Drug Enforcement Administration’s regulations gov-
erning the use of controlled substances. If an applicant fails one or 
both examinations three times, the applicant’s application will be 
reviewed by the Board’s Administrative Affairs Committee and the 
applicant must attend an informal meeting with a Board member, a 
Board investigator and/or the Medical Director of the Board to dis-
cuss the applicant’s failure of the examination(s) before being given 
a fourth and final attempt to pass the examination(s). If the applicant 
does not pass the examination(s) on the fourth attempt, the applicant 
may be denied licensure.  

(9) Any other documentation or explanatory statements as 
required by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.120 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 9-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-6-07 thru 8-3-07; BME 16-2007, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-23-07; BME 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10; OMB 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 
1-13-15 

847-023-0015 
Letters and Official Verifications to be Submitted for 
Licensure 

(1) The applicant must ensure that either official documents are 
sent directly to the Board from the source or a certified copy is sent 
directly to the Board from another state medical board where the 
applicant is licensed:  

(a) The Verification of Medical Education form, which 
includes degree issued, date of degree, dates of attendance, dates and 
reason of any leaves of absence or repeated years, and dates, name 
and location of medical school if a transfer student. Graduates of 
medical schools in the United States must have graduated from a 
school per OAR 847-020-0120(1) and graduates of international 

medical schools must have graduated from a school per 847-020-
0130(2). 

(b) A Dean’s Letter of Recommendation, which includes a state-
ment concerning the applicant’s moral and ethical character and over-
all performance as a medical student. If the school attests that a 
Dean’s Letter is unavailable or the Board determines that it is unac-
ceptable, a copy of the transcripts may be acceptable. 

(c) A letter from the Fifth Pathway Hospital, if such applies, 
which includes an evaluation of overall performance and specific 
beginning and ending dates of training.  

(d) A letter from the Director of Medical Education, Chairman 
or other official of the internship, residency and fellowship hospitals 
in the United States and other countries in which the postgraduate 
training was served, which includes an evaluation of overall per-
formance and specific beginning and ending dates of training.  

(2) The applicant must ensure that official documents are sent 
directly to the Board from:  

(a) The Director or other official for practice and employment 
in hospitals, clinics, etc. in the United States and other countries: A 
currently dated original letter (a copy is not acceptable), from the 
hospital/clinic, which must include an evaluation of overall perfor-
mance and specific beginning and ending dates of practice and 
employment, for the past five (5) years only. If the applicant has not 
practiced for more than two years, employment verifications will be 
required for the past ten (10) years. For physicians who have been 
or are in solo practice without hospital privileges at the time of solo 
practice, provide three reference letters from physicians in the local 
medical community who are familiar with the applicant’s practice 
and who have known the applicant for more than six months.  

(b) The health licensing board in a state, district, territory or 
jurisdiction in the United States or Canada where the applicant has 
been licensed and is currently practicing or most recently practiced: 
Verification, which must show license number, date issued and sta-
tus.  

(c) Official Examination Certifications: An official examination 
certification showing the examination score is required from the 
National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME), the National Board 
of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME), the Federation 
Licensing Examination (FLEX), the Federation of State Medical 
Boards for the United States Medical Licensing Examination 
(USMLE), or the Medical Council of Canada.  

(d) The Federation of State Medical Boards: A Board Action 
Databank Inquiry report.  

(e) The Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Gradu-
ates Verification of Certification.  

(f) Any other documentation as required by the Board, includ-
ing but not limited to medical records and criminal or civil records. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.120 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 9-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-6-07 thru 8-3-07; BME 16-2007, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-23-07; BME 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10; OMB 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 
1-13-15 

DIVISION 25 

RULES FOR LICENSURE TO PRACTICE 
MEDICINE ACROSS STATE LINES 

847-025-0000 
Preamble 

(1) A physician granted a license to practice medicine across 
state lines is subject to all the provisions of the Medical Practice Act 
(ORS Chapter 677), and to all the administrative rules of the Oregon 
Medical Board. 

(2) A physician granted a license to practice medicine across 
state lines has the same duties and responsibilities and is subject to 
the same penalties and sanctions as any other physician licensed 
under ORS Chapter 677, including but not limited to the following: 

(a) The physician shall establish a physician-patient relation-
ship; 
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(b) The physician shall make a judgment based on some type 
of objective criteria upon which to diagnose, treat, correct or pre-
scribe; 

(c) The physician shall engage in all necessary practices that are 
in the best interest of the patient; and 

(d) The physician shall refrain from writing prescriptions for 
medication resulting only from a sale or consultation over the  
Internet. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141 
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 14-2008(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
7-15-08 thru 1-9-09; BME 24-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08 

847-025-0010 
Definitions 

“The practice of medicine across state lines” means: 
(1) The direct rendering to a person of a written or otherwise 

documented medical opinion concerning the diagnosis or treatment 
of that person located within Oregon for the purpose of patient care 
by a physician located outside Oregon as a result of the transmission 
of individual patient data by electronic or other means from within 
Oregon to that physician or the physician’s agent outside Oregon; or 

(2) The direct rendering of medical treatment to a person locat-
ed within Oregon by a physician located outside Oregon as a result 
of the outward transmission of individual patient data by electronic 
or other means from within this state to that physician or the physi-
cian’s agent outside the state. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141 
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00 

847-025-0020 
Exemptions 

A license to practice across state lines is not required of a physi-
cian: 

(1) Engaging in the practice of medicine across state lines in an 
emergency (ORS 677.060(3)); or 

(2) Located outside this state who consults with another physi-
cian licensed to practice medicine in this state, and who does not 
undertake the primary responsibility for diagnosing or rendering 
treatment to a patient within this state; 

(3) Located outside the state and has an established physician-
patient relationship with a person who is in Oregon temporarily and 
who requires the direct medical treatment by that physician. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141 
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00 

847-025-0030 
Limitations 

(1) A license for the practice of medicine across state lines does 
not permit a physician to practice medicine in the state of Oregon 
except when engaging in the practice of medicine across state lines. 

(2) A license to practice medicine across state lines is not a lim-
ited license per ORS 677.132. 

(3) A physician issued a license to practice medicine across state 
lines shall not: 

(a) Act as a dispensing physician as described in ORS 677.010 
(5); 

(b) Treat a person within this state for intractable pain, per ORS 
677.470, 677.489; 

(c) Act as a supervising physician of an Oregon licensed Physi-
cian Assistant as defined in ORS 677.495(4); 

(d) Act as a supervising physician of an Oregon-certified First 
Responder or Emergency Medical Technician as defined in ORS 
682.245; 

(e) Be eligible for any tax credit provided by ORS 316.076; 
(f) Participate in the Rural Health Services Program under 

442.550 to 442.570; or 
(g) Assert a lien for services under ORS 87.555. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141 
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00 

847-025-0040 
Qualifications 

(1) To qualify for a license to practice medicine across state 
lines:  

(a) An out-of-state physician must hold a full, unrestricted 
license to practice medicine in any other state, must not have been 
the recipient of a previous disciplinary or other actions by any other 
state or jurisdiction; or 

(b) An out-of-state physician who has been the recipient of pre-
vious disciplinary or other action by any state or jurisdiction may be 
issued a license for the practice of medicine across state lines if the 
Board finds that the previous disciplinary or other action does not 
indicate that the physician is a potential threat to the public interest, 
health, welfare and safety of the citizens of the state of Oregon; and 

(c) Must otherwise meet the standards of licensure under ORS 
677. 

(2) An out-of-state physician would not qualify for a license to 
practice medicine across state lines if the applicant is the subject of 
a pending investigation by a state medical board or another state or 
federal agency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141 
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00 

847-025-0050 
Application 

(1)(a) When applying for a license to practice medicine across 
state lines, the physician shall submit to the Board the completed 
application, fees, documents, letters, and any other information 
required by the Board for physician (MD/DO) licensure as stated in 
OAR 847, division 020. 

(b) A description of the applicant’s intended practice of 
medicine across state lines in the state of Oregon. 

(2) A physician applying for a license to practice medicine 
across state lines who has not completed the licensure process with-
in a 12 month consecutive period shall file a new application, doc-
uments, letters and pay a full filing fee as if filing for the first time.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.139, 677.265 
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; 
BME 5-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07 

847-025-0060 
Medical Records and Personal Appearance 

A physician granted a license to practice medicine across state 
lines shall: 

(1) Comply with all applicable laws, rules, and regulations in 
this state governing the maintenance of patient medical records, 
including patient confidentiality requirements, regardless of the state 
where the medical records of any patient within this state are main-
tained; and 

(2) Produce patient medical records or other materials as 
requested by the Board and appear before the Board following 
receipt of a written notice issued by the Board. Failure of the physi-
cian to appear or to produce records or materials as requested shall 
constitute grounds for disciplinary action per ORS 677.190. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141 
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00 

DIVISION 26 

RULES FOR LICENSE BY EXPEDITED ENDORSEMENT  

847-026-0000 
Qualifications for License by Endorsement 

(1) The Oregon Medical Board may issue a license by endorse-
ment to a physician who:  

(a) Meets the requirements for licensure as stated in OAR 847-
020-0120, 847-020-0130, 847-020-0170, and 847-023-0005; 

(b) Has not had privileges at a hospital, clinic, or surgical cen-
ter denied, reduced, restricted, suspended, revoked, terminated and 
has not been subject to staff disciplinary action or non-renewal of an 
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employment contract for reasons in the Board’s judgment related to 
medical practice or unprofessional conduct, or been requested to vol-
untarily resign or had privileges suspended while under investigation;  

(c) Is eligible for primary source verification of medical edu-
cation, post-graduate training and examination scores through the 
state in which the applicant was originally licensed. The Board may 
use current certification by the American Board of Medical Spe-
cialties or the American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of Osteo-
pathic Specialists as a proxy for verification of medical education, 
post-graduate training and examination scores from the initial state 
of licensure; 

(d) Is in good standing, with no restrictions or limitations upon, 
actions taken against, or investigation or disciplinary action pending 
against his/her license in any state, district, territory, or jurisdiction 
where applicant is or has been licensed;  

(e) Has no significant malpractice claim patterns or patient care 
issues as determined by the Board; 

(f) Has one (1) year of current, active, unrestricted, unlimited 
clinical practice in their medical specialty, if any, as an active, unre-
stricted, unlimited licensee of a state, district, territory, or jurisdic-
tion in the United States or Canada in the year preceding the physi-
cian’s submission to the Board of an application to practice in 
Oregon, or if retired must have been retired for no more than one (1) 
calendar year preceding the physician’s submission to the Board of 
an application to practice in Oregon.  

(A) Clinical patient practice will be documented by verification 
of staff privileges, or non-consulting medical employment.  

(B) A year of accredited clinical fellowship in the applicant’s 
medical specialty as an active, unrestricted, unlimited licensee of a 
state, district, territory or jurisdiction in the United States or Cana-
da qualifies as a year of clinical practice.  

(2) A physician is not eligible for licensure by endorsement if 
the Board finds that the applicant has engaged in conduct prohibit-
ed by ORS 677.190. 

(3) An applicant ineligible for licensure by endorsement may 
make a full and complete application per the requirements of OAR 
847, division 020, or OAR 847, division 023. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.133 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.133 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10; OMB 2-2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-13-15; OMB 8-2015, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-13-15 

847-026-0005 
Application 

The applicant must submit a completed application to the board 
on a form furnished by the Board with the required non-refundable 
application fee. The applicant must attest that all questions have been 
answered completely and all answers and statements are true and cor-
rect. Any false information is grounds for denial, limitation, sus-
pension or revocation of licensure. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009) 
Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10 

847-026-0010 
Documents, Letters, Certifications Obtained by the Board 

The Board will obtain the following documents, letters, certi-
fications if any and results of queries of national databases required 
for licensure on behalf of the applicant:  

(1) Verification of certification by the American Board of Med-
ical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau 
of Osteopathic Specialists;  

(2) Verification of re-certification by the American Board of 
Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association’s 
Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists;  

(3) The results of a query of the National Practitioner Data 
Bank; and  

(4) The results of the query of the Federation of State Medical 
Boards’ Board Action Data Bank.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 677.115 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.115) 

Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10; OMB 36-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-026-0015 
Documents and Forms to be Submitted for Licensure 

(1) The following additional documents are required for a com-
pleted application and can be submitted by the applicant, the appli-
cant’s initial state of licensure, or the Federation of State Medical 
Boards’ Federation Credentialing Verification Service Profile 
(FCVS): 

(a) Birth Certificate: A copy of the applicant’s birth certificate 
for proof of name and birth date, and any name change documenta-
tion if there has been a name change from birth name; 

(b) Medical School Diploma: A copy of a diploma showing the 
applicant’s graduation from an approved school of medicine, or a for-
eign school of medicine that meets the requirement of OAR 847-020-
0130(2)(b)(D); 

(c) Internship, Residency and Fellowship Certificates: A copy 
of official internship, residency and fellowship certificates showing 
the applicant’s completion of all postgraduate training; 

(2) The applicant must submit the following: 
(a) An open-book examination on the Medical Practice Act and 

an open-book examination on the regulations of the Drug Enforce-
ment Administration governing the use of controlled substances; 

(b) The completed fingerprint card with the Identification Ver-
ification form.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009) 
Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10 

847-026-0020 
Letters and Official Grade Certifications to be Submitted for 
Licensure 

The applicant must request official letters or verifications to be 
sent to the Board directly from the following: 

(1) The Executive Secretary of the State Boards in the United 
States or Canada where the applicant has been currently or most 
recently practicing. The currently dated original verification of 
license (copy is not acceptable) shall show license number, date 
issued, grades if applicable and status.  

(2) The National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME), the 
National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME), the 
Medical Council of Canada (LMCC), or the Federation of State Med-
ical Boards (FLEX, USMLE) must provide an official grade certi-
fication if not available from the initial state of licensure; 

(3) The Director or other official for practice and employment 
in hospitals, clinics and surgical centers in the United States and 
Canada. A verification form or letter with original signature must be 
submitted from the practice sites where the applicant was physical-
ly practicing which shall include an evaluation of overall perfor-
mance and specific beginning and ending dates of practice and 
employment from the past five (5) years. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009) 
Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10 

DIVISION 28 

RULES FOR LICENSURE OF VOLUNTEER 
CAMP PHYSICIANS 

847-028-0000 
Preamble 

A physician granted a license to volunteer medical services at 
a camp operated by a nonprofit organization: 

(1) Is subject to all the provisions of the Medical Practice Act 
(ORS Chapter 677), and to all the administrative rules of the Oregon 
Medical Board. 

(2) Has the same duties and responsibilities and is subject to the 
same penalties and sanctions as any other physician licensed under 
ORS Chapter 677. 
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110 & 677.120 
Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02 

847-028-0010 
Qualifications 

The Oregon Medical Board may issue a license for the volun-
tary provision of health care services at a camp operated by a non-
profit organization to a physician who has a current license to prac-
tice medicine in another state or territory of the United States or the 
District of Columbia, provided that:  

(1) The physician practices medicine for no more than 14 days 
in a calendar year at a camp operated by a non-profit organization;  

(2) Renders services within the scope of practice authorized by 
the physician’s license;  

(3) Holds a current license that has not been suspended or 
revoked and is not under current disciplinary action (order) pursuant 
to disciplinary proceedings in any jurisdiction; 

(4) Is not under internal review or discipline in any hospital, 
clinic, or health care facility; and 

(5) Is not under disciplinary investigation by any medical licens-
ing authority that issued the physician a state license to practice 
medicine. 

(6) Must otherwise meet the standards of licensure under ORS 
677. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110 & 677.120 
Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02 

847-028-0020 
Limitations 

(1) A license to volunteer medical services at a camp operated 
by a nonprofit organization does not permit a physician to practice 
medicine in the state of Oregon except when engaging in the provi-
sion of health care services at a camp operated by a non-profit orga-
nization. 

(2) A license to volunteer medical services at a camp operated 
by a nonprofit organization is not a limited license per ORS 677.132. 

(3) A physician issued a license to volunteer medical services 
at a camp operated by a nonprofit organization shall not: 

(a) Act as a dispensing physician as described in ORS 
677.010(5); 

(b) Treat a person within this state for intractable pain, per ORS 
677.470, 677.489; 

(c) Act as a supervising physician of an Oregon licensed Physi-
cian Assistant as defined in ORS 677.495(4); 

(d) Act as a supervising physician of an Oregon-certified First 
Responder or Emergency Medical Technician as defined in ORS 
682.245; 

(e) Be eligible for any tax credit provided by ORS 316.076; 
(f) Participate in the Rural Health Services Program under ORS 

442.550 to 442.570; or 
(g) Assert a lien for services under ORS 87.555. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110 & 677.120 
Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02 

847-028-0030 
Application 

(1) When applying for a license to volunteer medical services 
at a camp operated by a nonprofit organization, the physician shall 
submit to the Board the completed application, fees, documents, let-
ters, and any other information required by the Board for physician 
(MD/DO) licensure as stated in OAR 847, division 020. 

(2) A physician applying for a license to volunteer medical ser-
vices at a camp operated by a nonprofit organization who has not 
completed the process within a 12 month consecutive period shall 
file a new application, documents, letters and pay a full filing fee as 
if filing for the first time. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.265  
Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME 6-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07 

847-028-0040 
Medical Records and Personal Appearance 

A physician granted a license to volunteer medical services at 
a camp operated by a nonprofit organization shall: 

(1) Comply with all applicable laws, rules, and regulations in 
this state governing the maintenance of patient medical records, 
including patient confidentiality requirements, regardless of the state 
where the medical records of any patient within this state are main-
tained; and  

(2) Produce patient medical records or other materials as 
requested by the Board and appear before the Board following 
receipt of a written notice issued by the Board. Failure of the physi-
cian to appear or to produce records or materials as requested shall 
constitute grounds for disciplinary action per ORS 677.190. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110 & 677.120 
Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02  

DIVISION 31 

BOARD APPROVAL OF FOREIGN 
SCHOOLS OF MEDICINE 

847-031-0010 
Criteria for Approval of Foreign Schools of Medicine 

A foreign school of medicine must meet the following criteria 
to be approved by the Oregon Medical Board. 

(1) Objectives: A foreign school of medicine shall have a pro-
gram designed to prepare graduates to enter and complete graduate 
medical education to qualify for licensure, and to provide competent 
medical care. 

(2) Governance: A foreign school of medicine shall be chartered 
by the jurisdiction in which it operates. 

(3) Administration: 
(a) The administrative officers and members of the foreign 

school medicine faculty shall be appointed by, or under the author-
ity of, the governing board of the foreign school of medicine or its 
parent university. 

(b) The dean of the foreign school of medicine shall be quali-
fied by education and experience to provide leadership in medical 
education and in the care of patients. 

(c) The manner in which the foreign school of medicine is orga-
nized, including the responsibilities and privileges of administrative 
officers, faculty, students and committees shall be promulgated in 
medical school or university bylaws. 

(d) If components of the program are conducted at sites geo-
graphically separated from the main campus, the foreign school of 
medicine shall be fully responsible for the conduct and quality of the 
educational program at these sites and for identification of the fac-
ulty there. 

(4) Educational Program for the M.D./D.O. degree: 
(a) Duration: The program in the art and science of medicine 

leading to the M.D./D.O. degree shall include at least 130 weeks of 
instruction preferably scheduled over a minimum of four calendar 
years. 

(b) Design and Management: The program’s faculty shall be 
responsible for the design, implementation, and evaluation of the cur-
riculum. 

(c) Content: 
(A) The program’s faculty shall be responsible for devising a 

curriculum that permits the student to learn the fundamental princi-
ples of medicine, to acquire skills of critical judgment based on evi-
dence and experience, and to develop an ability to use principles and 
skills wisely in solving problems of health and disease. In addition, 
the curriculum shall be designed so that students acquire an under-
standing of the scientific concepts underlying medicine. 

(B) The curriculum shall include the contemporary content of 
those expanded disciplines that have been traditionally titled anato-
my, biochemistry, physiology, microbiology and immunology, 
pathology, pharmacology and therapeutics, and preventive medicine. 
Instruction within the basic sciences shall include laboratory or other 
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practical exercises which facilitate ability to make accurate quanti-
tative observations of biomedical phenomena and critical analyses 
of data. 

(C) The fundamental clinical subjects which shall be offered in 
the form of required patient-related clerkships are internal medicine, 
obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery. Under 
these disciplines or independently, students shall receive basic 
instruction in all organ systems. Instruction and experience in patient 
care shall be provided in both hospital and ambulatory settings and 
shall include the important aspects of acute, chronic, preventive and 
rehabilitative care. 

(D) Each required clerkship shall allow the student to undertake 
a thorough study of a series of selected patients having the major and 
common types of disease problems represented in the primary and 
related disciplines of the clerkship. 

(E) Supervision shall be provided throughout required clerk-
ships by members of the school’s faculty. The required clerkships 
shall be conducted in a teaching hospital or ambulatory care facili-
ty where residents in accredited programs of graduate medical edu-
cation, under faculty guidance, may participate in teaching the stu-
dents. 

(d) Evaluation of Student Achievement: 
(A) A committee of the faculty shall establish principles and 

methods for the evaluation of student achievement and make deci-
sions regarding promotion and graduation. 

(B) The faculty of each discipline shall set the standards of 
achievement by students in the study of the discipline. Narrative 
descriptions of student performance and of non-cognitive achieve-
ments shall be recorded to supplement grade reports. 

(C) The chief academic officer and the directors of all courses 
and clerkships shall design and implement a system of evaluation of 
the work of each student during progression through each course or 
clerkship. 

(5) Medical Students. Admissions: 
(a) The faculty of each foreign school of medicine shall devel-

op criteria and procedures for the selection of students which shall 
be published and available to potential applicants and to their col-
legiate advisors. 

(b) The selection of students for the study of medicine shall be 
the responsibility of the foreign school of medicine faculty through 
a duly constituted committee. 

(c) The number of students to be admitted shall be determined 
by the resources of the school and the number of qualified applicants. 
The clinical resources include finances, the size of the faculty, the 
variety of academic fields represented, the library, the number and 
size of classrooms and student laboratories and the adequacy of their 
equipment and office and laboratory space for the faculty. There shall 
be available a spectrum of clinical resources sufficiently under the 
control of the faculty to ensure breadth and quality of bedside and 
ambulatory clinical teaching. 

(6) Resources for the Educational Program: 
(a) General Facilities: A foreign school of medicine shall pro-

vide buildings and equipment that are quantitatively and qualitatively 
adequate to provide an environment conducive to teaching and learn-
ing. The facilities shall include faculty offices and research labora-
tories, student classrooms and laboratories, facilities for individual 
and group study, offices for administrative and support staff, and a 
library. Access to an auditorium sufficiently large to accommodate 
the student body is desirable. 

(b) Faculty: 
(A) Members of the faculty shall have evidence of clinical com-

petence and commitment to teaching. Effective teaching requires 
understanding of pedagogy, knowledge of the discipline, and con-
struction of a curriculum consistent with learning objectives, subject 
to internal and external formal evaluation. The Administration and 
the faculty shall have knowledge of methods for measurement of the 
student performance in accordance with the stated educational objec-
tives and national norms. 

(B) In each of the major disciplines basic to medicine and in the 
clinical sciences, a critical mass of faculty members shall be appoint-
ed who possess, in addition to a comprehensive knowledge of their 

major discipline, expertise in one or more subdivisions or special-
ties within each of their disciplines. In the clinical sciences, the num-
ber and kind of specialists appointed shall relate to the amount of 
patient care activities required to conduct meaningful clinical teach-
ing at the undergraduate level, as well as for graduate and continu-
ing medical education. 

(C) There shall be clear policies for the appointment, renewal 
of appointment, promotion, granting of tenure and dismissal of mem-
bers of the faculty. The appointment process shall involve the fac-
ulty, the appropriate departmental heads, and the dean. Each 
appointee shall receive a clear definition of the terms of appointment, 
responsibilities, line of communication, privileges and benefits. 

(c) Library: The foreign school of medicine shall have a well-
maintained and catalogued library, sufficient in size and breadth to 
support the educational programs offered by the institution. The 
library should receive the leading biomedical and clinical periodicals, 
the current numbers of which should be readily accessible. The 
library and any other learning resources shall be equipped to allow 
students to learn methods of retrieving information, as well as the use 
of self-instruction materials. A professional library staff shall super-
vise the library and provide instruction in its use. 

(d) Clinical Teaching Facilities: 
(A) The foreign school of medicine shall have adequate 

resources to provide clinical instruction to its medical students. 
Resources shall include ambulatory care facilities and hospitals 
where the full spectrum of medical care is provided and can be 
demonstrated. Each hospital shall either be accredited or otherwise 
demonstrate its capability to provide safe and effective care. The 
number of hospital beds required for education cannot be specified 
by formula, but the aggregation of clinical resources shall be suffi-
cient to permit students in each of the major clerkships to work up 
and follow several new patients each week. 

(B) The nature of the relationship of the foreign school of 
medicine to affiliated hospitals and other clinical resources is 
extremely important. 

(C) There shall be written affiliation agreements that define the 
responsibilities of each party. The degree of the schools authority 
shall reflect the extent that the affiliated clinical facility participates 
in the educational programs of the school. Most critical are the clin-
ical facilities where required clinical clerkships are conducted. In 
affiliated institutions, the school’s department heads and senior clin-
ical faculty members shall have authority consistent with their 
responsibility for the instruction of the students. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.110 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01 

847-031-0020 
Protocol for Evaluation of Foreign Schools of Medicine 

(1) Any foreign school of medicine desiring to be evaluated by 
the Oregon Board shall complete the medical evaluation form pre-
pared by the Federation of State Medical Boards. This form may be 
submitted directly to the Oregon Board through the Federation. 

(2) Any foreign school of medicine desiring to be evaluated by 
the Oregon Board shall post a bond of $20,000 in U.S. Funds with 
the Oregon Board to cover costs of this evaluation. The Board shall 
give an accounting of the expenditure of these funds at the conclu-
sion of the evaluation and any excess funds shall be returned to the 
foreign school of medicine. 

(3) The completed evaluation form will be reviewed by an eval-
uation panel appointed by the Board. This panel may consist of a 
member or members of the Board and as many non-Board members 
as the Board may deem necessary. 

(4) As part of the evaluation, the panel may decide an on-site 
visit is necessary. 

(5) Sixty days after submitting the initial report, the panel shall 
submit to the Board its final recommendations and any additional 
information provided by the school. The Board at its next meeting 
shall accept, reject or modify the recommendations. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 5-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06 
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847-031-0030 
Recertification 

(1) Approval of a foreign school of medicine shall be valid for 
a maximum period of five years. If for any reason the Board deter-
mines that certification should be terminated the Board may, with 
reasonable cause, terminate approval at any time. 

(2) Provisional approval may be granted for periods of time less 
than five years. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01 

847-031-0040 
Approval of Foreign Schools of Medicine by Other States  

The Oregon Medical Board may accept any foreign school of 
medicine which has been approved by another state using criteria 
substantially similar to Oregon’s. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01 

847-031-0050 
Approval of Foreign Schools of Medicine by Foreign 
Accrediting Agencies  

The Oregon Medical Board may accept as approved, a foreign 
school of medicine which has been approved by an agency which uti-
lizes criteria and processes similar to the U.S. Liaison Committee on 
Medical Education. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01 

DIVISION 35 

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 
PROVIDERS AND SUPERVISING PHYSICIANS 

847-035-0001 
Definitions 

(1) “Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT or 
Advanced EMT)” means a person who is licensed by the Authority 
as an Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT).  

(2) “Agent” means a medical or osteopathic physician licensed 
under ORS Chapter 677, actively registered and in good standing 
with the Board, a resident of or actively practicing in the area in 
which the emergency service is located, designated by the super-
vising physician to provide direction of the medical services of emer-
gency medical services providers as specified in these rules.  

(3) “Authority” means the Public Health Division, Emergency 
Medical Services and Trauma Systems of the Oregon Health Author-
ity.  

(4) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board for the State of 
Oregon.  

(5) “Committee” means the EMS Advisory Committee to the 
Oregon Medical Board.  

(6) “Emergency Care” as defined in ORS 682.025(4) means the 
performance of acts or procedures under emergency conditions in the 
observation, care and counsel of persons who are ill or injured or who 
have disabilities; in the administration of care or medications as pre-
scribed by a licensed physician, insofar as any of these acts is based 
upon knowledge and application of the principles of biological, phys-
ical and social science as required by a completed course utilizing 
an approved curriculum in prehospital emergency care. However, 
“emergency care” does not include acts of medical diagnosis or pre-
scription of therapeutic or corrective measures.  

(7) “Emergency Medical Responder” means a person who is 
licensed by the Authority as an Emergency Medical Responder. 

(8) “Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)” means a person 
who is licensed by the Authority as an EMT.  

(9) “Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate (EMT-Inter-
mediate)” means a person who is licensed by the Authority as an 
EMT-Intermediate.  

(10) “In Good Standing” means a person who is currently 
licensed, who does not have any restrictions placed on his/her 
license, and who is not on probation with the licensing agency for 
any reason.  

(11) “Nonemergency care” as defined in ORS 682.025(8) 
means the performance of acts or procedures on a patient who is not 
expected to die, become permanently disabled or suffer permanent 
harm within the next 24 hours, including but not limited to obser-
vation, care and counsel of a patient and the administration of med-
ications prescribed by a physician licensed under ORS Chapter 677, 
insofar as any of these acts are based upon knowledge and applica-
tion of the principles of biological, physical and social science and 
are performed in accordance with scope of practice rules adopted by 
the Oregon Medical Board in the course of providing prehospital 
care.  

(12) “Paramedic” means a person who is licensed by the 
Authority as a Paramedic.  

(13) “Scope of Practice” means the maximum level of emer-
gency and nonemergency care that an emergency medical services 
provider may provide as defined in OAR 847-035-0030. 

(14) “Standing Orders” means the written detailed procedures 
for medical or trauma emergencies and nonemergency care to be per-
formed by an emergency medical services provider issued by the 
supervising physician commensurate with the scope of practice and 
level of licensure of the emergency medical services provider. 

(15) “Supervising Physician” means a person licensed as a med-
ical or osteopathic physician under ORS Chapter 677, actively reg-
istered and in good standing with the Board, approved by the Board, 
and who provides direction of, and is ultimately responsible for emer-
gency and nonemergency care rendered by emergency medical ser-
vices providers as specified in these rules. The supervising physician 
is also ultimately responsible for the agent designated by the super-
vising physician to provide direction of the medical services of the 
emergency medical services provider as specified in these rules. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245 
Hist.: ME 2-1983, f. & ef. 7-21-83; ME 7-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 11-1986, f. 
& ef. 7-31-86; ME 15-1988, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-88; ME 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-
24-91; ME 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-96; ME 3-1996, f. & cert. efg. 7-25-96; 
BME 6-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-27-98; BME 13-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99; BME 
10-2002, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-02; BME 18-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 1-
2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-11; OMB 13-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11; OMB 30-2012, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

847-035-0011 
EMS Advisory Committee 

(1) There is created an EMS Advisory Committee, consisting 
of six members appointed by the Oregon Medical Board. The Board 
must appoint two physicians, three emergency medical services 
providers from nominations provided from EMS agencies, organi-
zations, and individuals, and one public member.  

(a) The two physician members must be actively practicing 
physicians licensed under ORS Chapter 677 who are supervising 
physicians, medical directors, or practicing emergency medicine 
physicians.  

(b) The three EMS members must be Oregon licensed emer-
gency medical services providers for at least two years and have been 
residents of this state for at least two years. At least two of the three 
EMS members must be actively practicing prehospital care, and at 
least one of the three EMS members must be a Paramedic. 

(c) Two of the six committee members must be from rural or 
frontier Oregon.  

(d) The public member or the spouse, domestic partner, child, 
parent or sibling of the public member may not be employed as a 
health professional. 

(2)(a) The term of office of a member of the committee is three 
years, and members may be reappointed to serve not more than two 
terms. 

(b) Vacancies in the committee must be filled by appointment 
by the Board for the balance of an unexpired term, and each mem-
ber must serve until a successor is appointed and qualified.  
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(3) The members of the advisory committee are entitled to com-
pensation and expenses as provided for Board members in ORS 
677.235. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 682.245 
Hist.: BME 12-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 18-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-
09; OMB 14-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12; OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12; 
OMB 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13 

847-035-0012 
Duties of the Committee 

(1) The EMS Advisory Committee must: 
(a) Review requests for additions, amendments, or deletions to 

the scope of practice for emergency medical services providers, and 
recommend to the Board changes to the scope of practice.  

(b) Recommend requirements and duties of supervising physi-
cians of emergency medical services providers; and  

(c) Recommend physician nominations for the State EMS Com-
mittee.  

(2) All actions of the EMS Advisory Committee are subject to 
review and approval by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 682.245 
Hist.: BME 12-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-
12 

847-035-0020 
Application and Qualifications for a Supervising Physician 
and Agent 

(1) The Board has delegated to the Authority the following: 
(a) Designing the supervising physician and agent application; 
(b) Approving a supervising physician or agent; and 
(c) Investigating and disciplining any emergency medical ser-

vices provider who violates their scope of practice. 
(2) The Authority must provide copies of any supervising physi-

cian or agent applications and any emergency medical services 
provider disciplinary action reports to the Board upon request. 

(3) The Authority must immediately notify the Board when 
questions arise regarding the qualifications or responsibilities of the 
supervising physician or agent of the supervising physician. 

(4) A supervising physician and agent must meet the following 
qualifications:  

(a) Be a medical or osteopathic physician currently licensed 
under ORS Chapter 677, actively registered and in good standing 
with the Board;  

(b) Be in current practice;  
(c) Be a resident of or actively practicing in the area in which 

the emergency service is located;  
(d) Possess thorough knowledge of skills assigned by standing 

order to emergency medical services providers; and 
(e) Possess thorough knowledge of laws and rules of the State 

of Oregon pertaining to emergency medical services providers; and 
(f) Have completed or obtained one of the following no later 

than one calendar year after beginning the position as a supervising 
physician: 

(A) Thirty-six months of experience as an EMS Medical Direc-
tor; 

(B) Completion of the one-day National Association of EMS 
Physicians (NAEMSP®) Medical Direction Overview Course, or an 
equivalent course as approved by the Authority; 

(C) Completion of the three-day National Association of EMS 
Physicians (NAEMSP®) National EMS Medical Directors Course 
and Practicum®, or an equivalent course as approved by the Author-
ity;  

(D) Completion of an ACGME-approved Fellowship in EMS; 
or 

(E) Subspecialty board certification in EMS. 
(5) A supervising physician must meet ongoing education stan-

dards by completing or obtaining one of the following every two cal-
endar years: 

(a) Attendance at one Oregon Health Authority EMS supervis-
ing physician’s forum; 

(b) Completion of an average of four hours of EMS-related con-
tinuing medical education per year; or 

(c) Participation in maintenance of certification in the subspe-
cialty of EMS. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245 
Hist.: ME 13-1984, f. & ef. 8-2-84; ME 2-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 1-21-85; ME 5-
1985, f. & ef. 5-6-85; ME 7-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-
24-91; ME 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-96; OMB 6-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; 
OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

847-035-0025 
Supervision 

(1) A supervising physician is responsible for the following:  
(a) Issuing, reviewing and maintaining standing orders within 

the scope of practice not to exceed the licensure level of the emer-
gency medical services provider when applicable;  

(b) Explaining the standing orders to the emergency medical 
services provider, making sure they are understood and not exceed-
ed;  

(c) Ascertaining that the emergency medical services provider 
is currently licensed and in good standing with the Division;  

(d) Providing regular review of the emergency medical services 
provider’s practice by:  

(A) Direct observation of prehospital emergency care perfor-
mance by riding with the emergency medical service; and  

(B) Indirect observation using one or more of the following:  
(i) Prehospital emergency care report review;  
(ii) Prehospital communications tapes review;  
(iii) Immediate critiques following presentation of reports;  
(iv) Demonstration of technical skills; and  
(v) Post-care patient or receiving physician interviews using 

questionnaire or direct interview techniques.  
(e) Providing or coordinating formal case reviews for emer-

gency medical services providers by thoroughly discussing a case 
(whether one in which the emergency medical services provider has 
taken part or a textbook case) from the time the call was received 
until the patient was delivered to the hospital. The review should 
include discussing what the problem was, what actions were taken 
(right or wrong), what could have been done that was not, and what 
improvements could have been made; and 

(f) Providing or coordinating continuing education. Although 
the supervising physician is not required to teach all sessions, the 
supervising physician is responsible for assuring that the sessions are 
taught by a qualified person.  

(2) The supervising physician may delegate responsibility to 
his/her agent to provide any or all of the following:  

(a) Explanation of the standing orders to the emergency med-
ical services provider, making sure they are understood, and not 
exceeded;  

(b) Assurance that the emergency medical services provider is 
currently licensed and in good standing with the Division;  

(c) Regular review of the emergency medical services 
provider’s practice by:  

(A) Direct observation of prehospital emergency care perfor-
mance by riding with the emergency medical service; and  

(B) Indirect observation using one or more of the following:  
(i) Prehospital emergency care report review;  
(ii) Prehospital communications tapes review;  
(iii) Immediate critiques following presentation of reports;  
(iv) Demonstration of technical skills; and  
(v) Post-care patient or receiving physician interviews using 

questionnaire or direct interview techniques.  
(d) Provide or coordinate continuing education. Although the 

supervising physician or agent is not required to teach all sessions, 
the supervising physician or agent is responsible for assuring that the 
sessions are taught by a qualified person. 

(3) Nothing in this rule may limit the number of emergency 
medical services providers that may be supervised by a supervising 
physician so long as the supervising physician can meet with the 
emergency medical services providers under his/her direction for a 
minimum of two hours each calendar year. 
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(4) An emergency medical services provider may have more 
than one supervising physician as long as the emergency medical ser-
vices provider has notified all of the supervising physicians involved, 
and the emergency medical services provider is functioning under 
one supervising physician at a time. 

(5) The supervising physician must report in writing to the 
Authority’s Chief Investigator any action or behavior on the part of 
the emergency medical services provider that could be cause for dis-
ciplinary action under ORS 682.220 or 682.224. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245 
Hist.: ME 2-1983, f. & ef. 7-21-83; ME 13-1984, f. & ef. 8-2-84; ME 6-1991, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-96; OMB 13-2011, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-13-11; OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

Scope of Practice 

847-035-0030 
Scope of Practice 

(1) The Oregon Medical Board has established a scope of prac-
tice for emergency and nonemergency care for emergency medical 
services providers. Emergency medical services providers may pro-
vide emergency and nonemergency care in the course of providing 
prehospital care as an incident of the operation of ambulance and as 
incidents of other public or private safety duties, but is not limited 
to “emergency care” as defined in OAR 847-035-0001. 

(2) The scope of practice for emergency medical services 
providers is the maximum functions which may be assigned to an 
emergency medical services provider by a Board-approved super-
vising physician. The scope of practice is not a set of statewide stand-
ing orders, protocols, or curriculum. 

(3) Supervising physicians may not assign functions exceeding 
the scope of practice; however, they may limit the functions within 
the scope at their discretion. 

(4) Standing orders for an individual emergency medical ser-
vices provider may be requested by the Board or Authority and must 
be furnished upon request. 

(5) An emergency medical services provider, including an 
Emergency Medical Responder, may not function without assigned 
standing orders issued by a Board-approved supervising physician. 

(6) An emergency medical services provider, acting through 
standing orders, must respect the patient’s wishes including life-sus-
taining treatments. Physician-supervised emergency medical services 
providers must request and honor life-sustaining treatment orders 
executed by a physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant if 
available. A patient with life-sustaining treatment orders always 
requires respect, comfort and hygienic care. 

(7) Whenever possible, medications should be prepared by the 
emergency medical services provider who will administer the med-
ication to the patient. 

(8) An Emergency Medical Responder may: 
(a) Conduct primary and secondary patient examinations; 
(b) Take and record vital signs; 
(c) Utilize noninvasive diagnostic devices in accordance with 

manufacturer’s recommendation; 
(d) Open and maintain an airway by positioning the patient’s 

head; 
(e) Provide external cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 

obstructed airway care for infants, children, and adults; 
(f) Provide care for musculoskeletal injuries; 
(g) Assist with prehospital childbirth;  
(h) Complete a clear and accurate prehospital emergency care 

report form on all patient contacts and provide a copy of that report 
to the senior emergency medical services provider with the trans-
porting ambulance; 

(i) Administer medical oxygen; 
(j) Maintain an open airway through the use of: 
(A) A nasopharyngeal airway device; 
(B) A noncuffed oropharyngeal airway device;  
(C) A pharyngeal suctioning device;  
(k) Operate a bag mask ventilation device with reservoir; 

(L) Provide care for suspected medical emergencies, including 
administering liquid oral glucose for hypoglycemia;  

(m) Prepare and administer aspirin by mouth for suspected 
myocardial infarction (MI) in patients with no known history of aller-
gy to aspirin or recent gastrointestinal bleed; 

(n) Prepare and administer epinephrine by automatic injection 
device for anaphylaxis;  

(o) Prepare and administer naloxone via intranasal device or 
auto-injector for suspected opioid overdose; and 

(p) Perform cardiac defibrillation with an automatic or semi-
automatic defibrillator, only when the Emergency Medical Respon-
der: 

(A) Has successfully completed an Authority-approved course 
of instruction in the use of the automatic or semi-automatic defib-
rillator; and 

(B) Complies with the periodic requalification requirements for 
automatic or semi-automatic defibrillator as established by the 
Authority; and 

(q) Perform other emergency tasks as requested if under the 
direct visual supervision of a physician and then only under the order 
of that physician. 

(9) An Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) may:  
(a) Perform all procedures that an Emergency Medical 

Responder may perform; 
(b) Ventilate with a non-invasive positive pressure delivery 

device; 
(c) Insert a cuffed pharyngeal airway device in the practice of 

airway maintenance. A cuffed pharyngeal airway device is: 
(A) A single lumen airway device designed for blind insertion 

into the esophagus providing airway protection where the cuffed tube 
prevents gastric contents from entering the pharyngeal space; or 

(B) A multi-lumen airway device designed to function either as 
the single lumen device when placed in the esophagus, or by inser-
tion into the trachea where the distal cuff creates an endotracheal seal 
around the ventilatory tube preventing aspiration of gastric contents. 

(d) Perform tracheobronchial tube suctioning on the endotra-
cheal intubated patient; 

(e) Provide care for suspected shock; 
(f) Provide care for suspected medical emergencies, including: 
(A) Obtain a capillary blood specimen for blood glucose mon-

itoring;  
(B) Prepare and administer epinephrine by subcutaneous injec-

tion, intramuscular injection, or automatic injection device for ana-
phylaxis;  

(C) Administer activated charcoal for poisonings; and 
(D) Prepare and administer albuterol treatments for known asth-

matic and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) patients 
suffering from suspected bronchospasm. 

(g) Perform cardiac defibrillation with an automatic or semi-
automatic defibrillator; 

(h) Transport stable patients with saline locks, heparin locks, 
foley catheters, or in-dwelling vascular devices; 

(i) Assist the on-scene Advanced EMT, EMT-Intermediate, or 
Paramedic by: 

(A) Assembling and priming IV fluid administration sets; and 
(B) Opening, assembling and uncapping preloaded medication 

syringes and vials; 
(j) Complete a clear and accurate prehospital emergency care 

report form on all patient contacts; 
(k) Assist a patient with administration of sublingual nitro-

glycerine tablets or spray and with metered dose inhalers that have 
been previously prescribed by that patient’s personal physician and 
that are in the possession of the patient at the time the EMT is sum-
moned to assist that patient; 

(L) In the event of a release of organophosphate agents, the 
EMT who has completed Authority-approved training may prepare 
and administer atropine sulfate and pralidoxime chloride by autoin-
jector, using protocols approved by the Authority and adopted by the 
supervising physician; and  

Chapter 847     Oregon Medical Board

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

 2016 Edition 24 - 324 (11-15-15)



(m) In the event of a declared Mass Casualty Incident (MCI) as 
defined in the local Mass Casualty Incident plan, monitor patients 
who have isotonic intravenous fluids flowing. 

(10) An Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) 
may: 

(a) Perform all procedures that an EMT may perform; 
(b) Initiate and maintain peripheral intravenous (I.V.) lines;  
(c) Initiate saline or similar locks; 
(d) Obtain peripheral venous blood specimens; 
(e) Initiate and maintain an intraosseous infusion in the pedi-

atric patient; 
(f) Perform tracheobronchial suctioning of an already intubat-

ed patient; and 
(g) Prepare and administer the following medications under spe-

cific written protocols authorized by the supervising physician or 
direct orders from a licensed physician: 

(A) Analgesics for acute pain: nitrous oxide. 
(B) Anaphylaxis: epinephrine; 
(C) Antihypoglycemics: 
(i) Hypertonic glucose;  
(ii) Glucagon; 
(D) Nebulized bronchodilators:  
(i) Albuterol; 
(ii) Ipratropium bromide; 
(E) Vasodilators: nitroglycerine; 
(F) Naloxone; and 
(G) Physiologic isotonic crystalloid solution.  
(11) An EMT-Intermediate may: 
(a) Perform all procedures that an Advanced EMT may per-

form; 
(b) Initiate and maintain an intraosseous infusion; 
(c) Prepare and administer the following medications under spe-

cific written protocols authorized by the supervising physician, or 
direct orders from a licensed physician: 

(A) Vasoconstrictors: 
(i) Epinephrine; 
(ii) Vasopressin; 
(B) Antiarrhythmics: 
(i) Atropine sulfate; 
(ii) Lidocaine; 
(iii) Amiodarone; 
(C) Analgesics for acute pain: 
(i) Morphine;  
(ii) Nalbuphine Hydrochloride; 
(iii) Ketorolac tromethamine; 
(iv) Fentanyl; 
(D) Antihistamine: Diphenhydramine; 
(E) Diuretic: Furosemide; 
(F) Intraosseous infusion anesthetic: Lidocaine; 
(G) Anti-Emetic: Ondansetron; 
(d) Prepare and administer immunizations in the event of an 

outbreak or epidemic as declared by the Governor of the state of Ore-
gon, the State Public Health Officer or a county health officer, as part 
of an emergency immunization program, under the agency’s super-
vising physician’s standing order;  

(e) Prepare and administer immunizations for seasonal and pan-
demic influenza vaccinations according to the CDC Advisory Com-
mittee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), and/or the Oregon State 
Public Health Officer’s recommended immunization guidelines as 
directed by the agency’s supervising physician’s standing order;  

(f) Distribute medications at the direction of the Oregon State 
Public Health Officer as a component of a mass distribution effort;  

(g) Prepare and administer routine or emergency immunizations 
and tuberculosis skin testing, as part of an EMS Agency’s occupa-
tional health program, to the EMT-Intermediate’s EMS agency per-
sonnel, under the supervising physician’s standing order;  

(h) Insert an orogastric tube; 
(i) Maintain during transport any intravenous medication infu-

sions or other procedures which were initiated in a medical facility, 
if clear and understandable written and verbal instructions for such 

maintenance have been provided by the physician, nurse practition-
er or physician assistant at the sending medical facility; 

(j) Perform electrocardiographic rhythm interpretation; and 
(k) Perform cardiac defibrillation with a manual defibrillator. 
(12) A Paramedic may:  
(a) Perform all procedures that an EMT-Intermediate may per-

form; 
(b) Initiate the following airway management techniques: 
(A) Endotracheal intubation; 
(B) Cricothyrotomy; and 
(C) Transtracheal jet insufflation which may be used when no 

other mechanism is available for establishing an airway;  
(c) Initiate a nasogastric tube; 
(d) Provide advanced life support in the resuscitation of patients 

in cardiac arrest; 
(e) Perform emergency cardioversion in the compromised 

patient; 
(f) Attempt external transcutaneous pacing of bradycardia that 

is causing hemodynamic compromise; 
(g) Perform electrocardiographic interpretation;  
(h) Initiate needle thoracostomy for tension pneumothorax in a 

prehospital setting; 
(i) Obtain peripheral arterial blood specimens under specific 

written protocols authorized by the supervising physician; 
(j) Access indwelling catheters and implanted central IV ports 

for fluid and medication administration;  
(k) Initiate and maintain urinary catheters; and  
(L) Prepare and initiate or administer any medications or blood 

products under specific written protocols authorized by the super-
vising physician, or direct orders from a licensed physician. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245 
Hist.: ME 2-1983, f. & ef. 7-21-83; ME 3-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 12-1984, 
f. & ef. 8-2-84; ME 7-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 12-1987, f. & ef. 4-28-87; ME 
27-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 11-5-87; ME 5-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88; ME 12-1988, 
f. & cert. ef. 8-5-88; ME 15-1988, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-88; ME 2-1989, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-25-89; ME 15-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-89, & corrected 9-22-89; ME 6-1991, 
f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 10-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-93; ME 3-1995, f. & cert. 
ef. 2-1-95; ME 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-96; ME 3-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-96; 
BME 6-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-27-98; BME 13-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-98 
thru 2-2-99; BME 14-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-98; BME 16-1998, f. & cert. ef. 
11-24-98; BME 13-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99; BME 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-
30-00; BME 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 9-2002, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-
02; BME 10-2002, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-02; BME 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; 
BME 12-2003, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-03; BME 4-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 
11-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04 thru 10-15-04; BME 12-2004(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 6-11-04 thru 12-8-04; BME 21-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-04 thru 
4-15-05; BME 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-05; BME 5-2005, f. & cert. ef. 4-21-
05; BME 9-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME 18-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; 
BME 22-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 7-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 
11-2007, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-07; BME 24-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 11-
2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08; BME 19-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 10-2009, 
f. & cert. ef. 5-1-09; BME 13-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-09; BME 18-2009, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-23-09; BME 22-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; 
BME 5-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10; BME 8-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10 
thru 10-15-10; BME 12-2010, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-10; BME 18-2010, f. & cert. ef. 
10-25-10; OMB 1-2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-11; OMB 5-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-8-
11; OMB 8-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 15-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12; 
OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12; OMB 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 4-5-13; OMB 
14-2014, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-14; OMB 5-2015, f. & cert. ef. 4-3-15; OMB 11-2015, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-13-15 

DIVISION 50 

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

847-050-0005 
Preamble 

(1) A physician assistant is a person qualified by education, 
training, experience, and personal character to provide medical ser-
vices under the direction and supervision of a physician licensed 
under ORS Chapter 677, in active practice and in good standing with 
the Board. The purpose of the physician assistant program is to 
enable physicians licensed under ORS 677 to extend high quality 
medical care to more people throughout the state. 
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(2) The licensed physician is in all cases regarded as the super-
visor of the physician assistant. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.495 - 677.535 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 13-2003, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-15-03; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Sus-
pend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; 
OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, 
f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0010 
Definitions 

As used in OAR 847-050-0005 to 847-050-0065:  
(1) “Agent” means a physician designated in writing and 

retained at the primary practice location by the supervising physician 
who provides direction and regular review of the medical services 
of the physician assistant when the supervising physician is unavail-
able for short periods of time, such as but not limited to when the 
supervising physician is on vacation.  

(2) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board for the State of 
Oregon.  

(3) “Committee” means Physician Assistant Committee.  
(4) “Grandfathered physician assistant” means the physician 

assistant registered prior to July 12, 1984 who does not possess the 
qualifications of OAR 847-050-0020. Grandfathered physician assis-
tants may retain all practice privileges which have been granted prior 
to July 12, 1984.  

(5) “Physician assistant” means a person who is licensed as such 
in accordance with ORS 677.265, 677.495, 677.505, 677.510, 
677.515, 677.520 and 677.525.  

(6) “Practice agreement” means a written agreement between 
a physician assistant and a supervising physician or supervising 
physician organization that describes the manner in which the ser-
vices of the physician assistant will be used.  

(7) “Practice description” means a written description of the 
duties and functions of the physician assistant in relation to the physi-
cian’s practice, submitted by the supervising physician and the physi-
cian assistant to the Board and approved prior to January 1, 2012. 

(8) “Supervising physician organization” means a group of 
supervising physicians who collectively supervises a physician assis-
tant. One physician within the supervising physician organization 
must be designated as the primary supervising physician of the physi-
cian assistant.  

(9) “Supervising physician” means a physician licensed under 
ORS Chapter 677, actively registered and in good standing with the 
Board as a Medical Doctor or Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine, and 
approved by the Board as a supervising physician, who provides 
direction and regular review of the medical services provided by the 
physician assistant.  

(10) “Supervision” means the routine review by the supervis-
ing physician or designated agent, as described in the practice agree-
ment or Board-approved practice description of the medical services 
provided by the physician assistant. The supervising physician or 
designated agent and the physician assistant must maintain direct 
communication, either in person, by telephone, or other electronic 
means. There are three categories of supervision:  

(a) “General Supervision” means the supervising physician or 
designated agent is not on-site with the physician assistant, but must 
be available for direct communication, either in person, by telephone, 
or other electronic means.  

(b) “Direct Supervision” means the supervising physician or 
designated agent must be in the facility when the physician assistant 
is practicing. 

(c) “Personal Supervision” means the supervising physician or 
designated agent must be at the side of the physician assistant at all 
times, personally directing the action of the physician assistant.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.495 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 

2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-17-92; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 13-2003, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-15-03; BME 12-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-
25-10; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend tem-
porary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-
2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. 
ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0015 
Application 

(1) Each application for the licensure of a physician assistant 
must meet the licensing requirements as set forth in ORS 677.512.  

(2) No applicant is entitled to licensure who:  
(a) Has failed an examination for licensure in the State of Ore-

gon;  
(b) Has had a license or certificate revoked or suspended in this 

or any other state unless the said license or certificate has been 
restored or reinstated and the applicant’s license or certificate is in 
good standing in the state which had revoked the same;  

(c) Has been refused a license or certificate in any other state 
on any grounds other than failure in a medical licensure examination; 
or  

(d) Has been guilty of conduct similar to that which would be 
prohibited by or to which ORS 677.190 would apply.  

(3) A person applying for licensure under these rules who has 
not completed the licensure process within a 12 month consecutive 
period from date of receipt of the application must file a new appli-
cation, documents, letters and pay a full filing fee as if filing for the 
first time.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 677.512 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-17-92; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 13-2010(Temp), f. 
& cert. ef. 7-26-10 thru 1-10-11; BME 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10; [OMB 
21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by 
OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-
2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. 
ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0020 
Qualifications 

On or after January 25, 2008, an applicant for licensure as a 
physician assistant in this state must possess the following qualifi-
cations: 

(1) Have successfully completed a physician assistant education 
program which is approved by the American Medical Association 
Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation 
(C.A.H.E.A.), the Commission on Accreditation for Allied Health 
Education Programs (C.A.A.H.E.P.), or the Accreditation Review 
Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (A.R.C.P.A.).  

(2) Have passed the Physician Assistant National Certifying 
Examination (PANCE) given by the National Commission on Cer-
tification of Physician Assistants (N.C.C.P.A.).  

(a) The applicant may take the PANCE once in a 90-day peri-
od or three times per calendar year, whichever is fewer.  

(A) The applicant has no more than four attempts in six years 
to pass the PANCE. If the applicant does not pass the PANCE with-
in four attempts, the applicant is not eligible for licensure.  

(B) An applicant who has passed the NCCPA certification 
exam, but not within the four attempts required by this rule, may 
request a waiver of this requirement if he/she has current certifica-
tion by the NCCPA.  

(b) Those who have met the requirements of section (1) of this 
rule may make application for a Limited License, Pending Exami-
nation before passing the PANCE examination with the stipulation 
that if the examination is not passed within one year from the date 
of application, the Board withdraws its approval.  

(3) Applicants seeking prescription privileges must meet the 
requirements specified in OAR 847-050-0041. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 677.512 
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Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 10-1984, f. & ef. 7-20-84; ME 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-
23-86; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 
5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 17-1994, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-94; BME 1-1998, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-30-98; BME 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-00; BME 1-2001, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-25-01; BME 6-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 6-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-
22-08; BME 10-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10 thru 10-15-10; BME 14-2010, 
f. & cert. ef. 7-26-10; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-
12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-
10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 
7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 5-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-14 

847-050-0022 
Application for Licensure by Military Spouse or Domestic 
Partner 

(1) “Military spouse or domestic partner” means a spouse or 
domestic partner of an active member of the Armed Forces of the 
United States who is the subject of a military transfer to Oregon. 

(2) To qualify for licensure under this rule, the military spouse 
or domestic partner must:  

(a) Meet the qualifications for licensure as stated in OAR 847-
050-0020; 

(b) Be married to, or in a domestic partnership with, a member 
of the Armed Forces of the United States who is assigned to a duty 
station located in Oregon by official active duty military order;  

(c) Be licensed to practice as a physician assistant in another 
state or territory of the United States; 

(d) Be in good standing, with no restrictions or limitations upon, 
actions taken against, or investigation or disciplinary action pending 
against his or her license in any jurisdiction where the applicant is 
or has been licensed; and  

(e) Have at least one year of active practice as a physician assis-
tant or teaching at a physician assistant education program during the 
three years immediately preceding the application.  

(3) If a military spouse or domestic partner applies for a license 
to practice as a physician assistant, the Board may accept: 

(a) A copy of the physician assistant education program diplo-
ma to fulfill the requirement for the Verification of Medical Educa-
tion form; and  

(b) Verification of licensure in good standing from the juris-
diction of current or most recent practice as a physician assistant to 
fulfill the requirement of verifications of licensure from all juris-
dictions of prior and current health related licensure. 

(4) If a military spouse or domestic partner applies for a license 
to practice as a physician assistant, the Board will obtain the fol-
lowing on behalf of the applicant: 

(a) The results of a query of the National Practitioner Data 
Bank; and 

(b) The results of a query of the Federation of State Medical 
Boards’ Board Action Data Bank. 

(5) In addition to the documents required in section (3) of this 
rule and by OAR 847-050-0015 and 847-050-0020, the military 
spouse or domestic partner must submit a copy of the: 

(a) Marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration with 
the name of the applicant and the name of the active duty member 
of the Armed Forces of the United States; and 

(b) Assignment to a duty station located in Oregon by official 
active duty military order for the spouse or domestic partner named 
in the marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & HB 2037 (2013) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.512 & HB 2037 (2013) 
Hist.: OMB 21-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 35-
2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-050-0023 
Limited License, Pending Examination 

(1) An applicant for a Physician Assistant license who has suc-
cessfully completed a physician assistant education program 
approved by the American Medical Association Council on Allied 
Health Education and Accreditation (CAHEA), or the Commission 
on Accreditation for Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP), 
or the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physi-

cian Assistant (ARCPA) but has not yet passed the Physician Assis-
tant National Certifying Examination (PANCE) given by the Nation-
al Commission for the Certification of Physician Assistants 
(NCCPA) may be issued a Limited License, Pending Examination, 
if the following are met:  

(a) The application file is complete with the exception of cer-
tification by the NCCPA to the satisfaction of the Board; and 

(b) The applicant has submitted the appropriate form and fee 
prior to being issued a Limited License, Pending Examination. 

(2) A practice agreement must be submitted to the Board with-
in ten days after the physician assistant begins practice in accordance 
with OAR 847-050-0040. 

(3) A Limited License, Pending Examination may include pre-
scriptive privileges for Schedules III through V if the supervising 
physician specifies these prescription privileges for the physician 
assistant in the practice agreement;  

(4) A Limited License, Pending Examination may be granted for 
a period of six months.  

(5) Upon receipt of verification that the applicant has passed the 
NCCPA examination, and if their application file is otherwise satis-
factorily complete, the applicant will be considered for a permanent 
license.  

(6) The Limited License, Pending Examination will automati-
cally expire if the applicant fails the NCCPA examination. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132 & 677.535 
Hist.: ME 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 9-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-95; BME 
14-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-02; BME 13-2003, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-03; [OMB 21-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 
28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 
12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 
5-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-14; OMB 15-2014, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-14 

847-050-0025 
Interview and Examination 

(1) In addition to all other requirements for licensure, the Board 
may require the applicant to appear for a personal interview regard-
ing information received in the application process. Unless excused 
in advance, failure to appear before the Board for a personal inter-
view violates ORS 677.190(17) and may subject the applicant to dis-
ciplinary action. 

(2) The applicant is required to pass an open-book examination 
on the Medical Practice Act (ORS Chapter 677) and Oregon Admin-
istrative Rules (OAR) chapter 847, division 050. If an applicant fails 
the open-book examination three times, the applicant’s application 
will be reviewed by the Board. An applicant who has failed the open-
book examination three times must also attend an informal meeting 
with a Board member, a Board investigator and/or the Medical Direc-
tor of the Board to discuss the applicant’s failure of the examination, 
before being given a fourth and final attempt to pass the examina-
tion. If the applicant does not pass the examination on the fourth 
attempt, the applicant may be denied licensure. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.190, 677.265, 677.512 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 1-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979. f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 
1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 9-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-95; 
BME 11-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 13-2003, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-03; BME 
13-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 
4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 
thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; 
OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 6-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-14; OMB 
10-2015(Temp), f. 10-13-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16 

847-050-0027 
Approval of Supervising Physician 

(1) Prior to using the services of a physician assistant under a 
practice agreement, a supervising physician or primary supervising 
physician of a supervising physician organization must be approved 
as a supervising physician by the Board. 

(2) The primary supervising physician of a supervising physi-
cian organization must apply as a supervising physician with the 
Board and must attest that each supervising physician in the super-
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vising physician organization has reviewed statutes and rules relat-
ing to the practice of physician assistants and the role of a supervising 
physician. 

(3) Physicians applying to be a supervising physician or the pri-
mary supervising physician of a supervising physician organization 
must: 

(a) Submit a supervising physician application and application 
fee; and 

(b) Take an online course and pass an open-book exam on the 
supervising physician requirements and responsibilities given by the 
Board. A passing score on the exam is 75%. If the supervising physi-
cian applicant fails the exam three times, the physician’s application 
will be reviewed by the Board. A supervising physician applicant 
who has failed the exam three times must also attend an informal 
meeting with a Board member, a Board investigator and/or the Med-
ical Director of the Board to discuss the applicant’s failure of the 
exam, before being given a fourth and final attempt to pass the exam-
ination. If the applicant does not pass the exam on the fourth attempt, 
the physician’s application may be denied. 

(4) The physician may be subject to Board investigation prior 
to approval or may be limited or denied approval as a supervising 
physician for the following: 

(a) There are restrictions upon or actions against the physician’s 
license; 

(b) Fraud or misrepresentation in applying to use the services 
of a physician assistant. 

(5) The Board may defer taking action upon a request for 
approval as a supervising physician pending the outcome of the 
investigation of the physician for violations of ORS 677.010-990. 

(6) Failure to apply and be approved as a supervising physician 
by the Board prior to using the services of a physician assistant under 
a practice agreement is a violation of ORS 677.510 and is grounds 
for a $195 fine. The licensee may be subject to further disciplinary 
action by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.205 & 677.510 
Hist.: ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 5-
1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; 
ME 21-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-89; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; ME 9-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-95; BME 13-2003, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-15-03; OMB 2-2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-11; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-
15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 
11-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-2-12 thru 8-29-12; OMB 26-2012, f. & cert. ef. 
8-3-12; OMB 2-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-11-13; OMB 17-2013(Temp), f. 7-12-13, 
cert. ef. 7-15-13 thru 1-11-14; OMB 37-2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-050-0029 
Locum Tenens Assignments 

Locum tenens means a temporary absence by the physician 
assistant or supervising physician which is filled by a substitute 
physician assistant or supervising physician. The following is 
required for a locum tenens assignment:  

(1) Within ten days of the start of the locum tenens assignment, 
the supervising physician of the practice which desires the substitute 
must submit a notification of locum tenens assignment to the Board.  

(2) The notification of locum tenens assignment must include 
the name of the substitute physician assistant or supervising physi-
cian who is filling the locum tenens assignment, duration of the 
locum tenens assignment, a description of how supervision of the 
physician assistant will be maintained, and any changes in the prac-
tice agreement or Board-approved practice description for the prac-
tice during the locum tenens assignment.  

(3) The substitute physician assistant or supervising physician 
who is filling the locum tenens assignment must be currently licensed 
in Oregon, with active, locums tenens, or emeritus registration sta-
tus, and be in good standing with the Board.  

(4) The physician assistant must be qualified to provide the 
same type of service as described in the current practice agreement 
or Board-approved practice description for the locum tenens.  

(5) The supervising physician who is filling the locum tenens 
assignment must be approved as a supervising physician by the 

Board in accordance with OAR 847-050-0027 (Approval of Super-
vising Physician). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 677.510 
Hist.: ME 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-21-86; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 7-1990, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 6-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 11-2005, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-12-05; BME 14-2010, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-10; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-
15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0035 
Grounds for Discipline 

(1) The performance of unauthorized medical services by the 
physician assistant constitutes a violation of the Medical Practice Act. 
The supervising physician and/or agent is responsible for the acts of 
the physician assistant and may be subject to disciplinary action for 
such violations by the physician assistant. The physician assistant is 
also subject to disciplinary action for violations. Proceedings under 
these rules are conducted in the manner specified in ORS 677.200. 

(2) In addition to any of the reasons cited in ORS 677.190, the 
Board may refuse to grant, or may suspend or revoke a license to 
practice as a physician assistant for any of the following reasons:  

(a) The physician assistant has held himself/herself out, or per-
mitted another to represent the physician assistant to be a licensed 
physician.  

(b) The physician assistant has in fact performed medical ser-
vices without the direction or under the supervision of a Board-
approved supervising physician or agent.  

(c) The physician assistant has performed a task or tasks beyond 
the physician assistant’s competence or outside the scope of practice 
of the supervising physician or outside the practice agreement as stat-
ed in OAR 847-050-0040. This is not intended to limit the ability of 
a physician assistant to learn new procedures under personal super-
vision. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.190, 677.205 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190, 677.205, 677.265 & 677.505 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 23-2007, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-24-07; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; 
Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-
12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-
2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0037 
Supervision 

(1) A physician may not use the services of a physician assis-
tant without first obtaining Board approval as a supervising physi-
cian. 

(2) The supervising physician, agent, or in the case of a super-
vising physician organization, the primary supervising physician and 
acting supervising physician, are personally responsible for the direc-
tion, supervision and regular review of the medical services provided 
by the physician assistant, in keeping with the practice agreement or 
Board-approved practice description.  

(3) The type of supervision and maintenance of supervision pro-
vided for each physician assistant must be described in the practice 
agreement or Board-approved practice description. The supervising 
physician must provide for maintenance of verbal communication 
with the physician assistant at all times, whether the supervising 
physician and physician assistant practice in the same practice loca-
tion or a practice location separate from each other, as described in 
the following:  

(a) The practice setting is listed in the practice agreement or 
Board-approved practice description of the physician assistant.  

(b) Practice locations, other than primary or secondary practice 
locations, such as schools, sporting events, health fairs and long term 
care facilities, are not required to be listed in the practice agreement 
or Board-approved practice description if the duties are the same as 
those listed in the practice agreement or Board-approved practice 
description. The medical records for the patients seen at these  
additional practice locations must be held either at the supervising 

Chapter 847     Oregon Medical Board

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

 2016 Edition 24 - 328 (11-15-15)



physician’s primary practice location or the additional practice loca-
tions. The supervision of the physician assistant at locations other 
than the primary or secondary practice location must be the same as 
for the primary or secondary practice location.  

(c) The supervising physician or designated agent must provide 
a minimum of eight (8) hours of on-site supervision every month, or 
as approved by the Board.  

(d) The supervising physician or designated agent must provide 
chart review of a number or a percentage of the patients the physi-
cian assistant has seen as stated in the practice agreement or Board-
approved practice description.  

(4) The supervising physician may limit the degree of inde-
pendent judgment that the physician assistant uses but may not 
extend it beyond the limits of the practice agreement or Board-
approved practice description.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.510 & 677.515 
Hist.: ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-1982; f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 8-
1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 1-1998, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-30-98; BME 9-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-99; BME 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-
00; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 4-21-05; BME 
20-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 12-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-14-09 thru 
12-14-09; BME 19-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-
1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0038 
Agents 

(1) The supervising physician who is not a member of a super-
vising physician organization may designate an agent or agents to 
direct and supervise the physician assistant when the supervising 
physician is unavailable for short periods of time. The agents must 
meet the following requirements: 

(a) Be licensed as a medical or osteopathic physician under 
ORS 677, actively registered and in good standing with the Board; 

(b) Practice in the same city or practice area as the supervising 
physician or physician assistant. 

(c) Be qualified to supervise as designated in the practice agree-
ment, and be competent to perform the duties delegated to the physi-
cian assistant. 

(2) The supervising physician is responsible for informing the 
agent of the duties of an agent. Prior to such time as the physician 
assistant is acting under the direction of an agent, the supervising 
physician must determine that the agent understands and accepts 
supervisory responsibility. The agent must sign an acknowledgement 
of all practice agreements between the supervising physician and the 
physician assistant(s) the agent will supervise, and a copy must be 
kept at the primary practice location. Supervision by the agent will 
continue for a certain, predetermined, limited period of time, after 
which supervisory duties revert to the supervising physician. 

(3) In the absence of the supervising physician, the agent 
assumes the same responsibilities as the supervising physician. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.495 & 677.510 
Hist.: ME 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 2-1990, f. 
& cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-
15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0040 
Method of Performance 

(1) The physician assistant may perform at the direction of the 
supervising physician and/or agent only those medical services as 
included in the practice agreement or Board-approved practice 
description. 

(2) The physician assistant or student must be clearly identified 
as such when performing duties. The physician assistant must at all 
times when on duty wear a name tag with the designation of “physi-
cian assistant” or “PA” thereon and clearly identify himself or her-
self as a “physician assistant” or “PA” in oral communications with 
patients and other professionals.  

(3) The supervising physician must furnish reports, as required 
by the Board, on the performance of the physician assistant or stu-
dent.  

(4) The practice agreement must be submitted to the Board 
within ten days after the physician assistant begins practice with the 
supervising physician or supervising physician organization. 

(5) The supervising physician must notify the Board of any 
changes to the practice agreement within ten days of the effective 
date of the change. 

(6) Supervising physicians must update the practice agreement 
biennially during the supervising physician’s license renewal pro-
cess. 

(7) A supervising physician and physician assistant who have 
a Board-approved practice description that was approved prior to 
January 1, 2012 and who wish to make changes to the practice 
description must enter into a practice agreement in accordance with 
ORS 677.510(6)(a).  

(8) Failure to comply with any section of this rule is a violation 
of ORS 677.510 and is grounds for a $195 fine. The licensee may 
be subject to further disciplinary action by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.510 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-
86; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; [OMB 
21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by 
OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-
2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. 
ef. 2-10-12; OMB 31-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

847-050-0041 
Prescribing and Dispensing Privileges 

(1) An Oregon grandfathered physician assistant may issue writ-
ten, electronic or oral prescriptions for Schedule III-V medications, 
which the supervising physician has determined the physician assis-
tant is qualified to prescribe commensurate with the practice agree-
ment or Board-approved practice description, if the physician assis-
tant has passed a specialty examination approved by the Board prior 
to July 12, 1984, and the following conditions are met: 

(a) The Oregon grandfathered physician assistant has passed the 
Physician Assistant National Certifying Examination (PANCE); and 

(b) The Oregon grandfathered physician assistant has docu-
mented adequate education or experience in pharmacology com-
mensurate with the practice agreement or Board-approved practice 
description. 

(2) A physician assistant may issue written, electronic or oral 
prescriptions for Schedule III-V medications, which the supervising 
physician has determined the physician assistant is qualified to pre-
scribe commensurate with the practice agreement or Board-
approved practice description, if the physician assistant has met the 
requirements of OAR 847-050-0020(1).  

(3) A physician assistant may issue written or electronic pre-
scriptions or emergency oral prescriptions followed by a written 
authorization for Schedule II medications if the requirements in (1) 
or (2) are fulfilled and if the following conditions are met:  

(a) A statement regarding Schedule II controlled substances pre-
scription privileges is included in the practice agreement or Board-
approved practice description. The Schedule II controlled substances 
prescription privileges of a physician assistant are limited by the 
practice agreement or Board-approved practice description and may 
be restricted further by the supervising physician at any time.  

(b) The physician assistant is currently certified by the Nation-
al Commission for the Certification of Physician Assistants 
(NCCPA) and must complete all required continuing medical edu-
cation coursework. 

(4) All prescriptions given whether written, electronic, or oral 
must include the name, office address, and telephone number of the 
supervising physician and the name of the physician assistant. The 
prescription must also bear the name of the patient and the date on 
which the prescription was written. The physician assistant must sign 
the prescription and the signature must be followed by the letters 
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“P.A.” Also the physician assistant’s Federal Drug Enforcement 
Administration number must be shown on prescriptions for con-
trolled substances. 

(5) A supervising physician or primary supervising physician of 
a supervising physician organization may apply to the Board for a 
physician assistant to dispense drugs specified by the supervising 
physician or supervising physician organization.  

(a) The physician assistant must have prescribing privileges and 
be in good standing with the Board and the NCCPA to qualify for dis-
pensing authority. The physician assistant may dispense Schedule II 
medications only if the physician assistant has been delegated Sched-
ule II prescription privileges by the supervising physician. 

(b) If the facility where the physician assistant will dispense 
medications serves population groups federally designated as under-
served, geographic areas federally designated as health profession-
al shortage areas or medically underserved areas, or areas designat-
ed as medically disadvantaged and in need of primary health care 
providers as designated by the State, the application must include:  

(A) Location of the practice site; 
(B) Accessibility to the nearest pharmacy; and 
(C) Medical necessity for dispensing. 
(c) If the facility where the physician assistant will be dis-

pensing medications is not in one of the designated areas or popu-
lations described in subsection (5)(b) of this rule:  

(A) The physician assistant may not dispense Schedule I 
through IV controlled substances;  

(B) The physician assistant must complete a drug dispensing 
training program jointly developed by the Oregon Medical Board and 
the State Board of Pharmacy; and  

(C) The supervising physician or primary supervising physician 
of a supervising physician organization must submit to the Board: 

(i) A plan for drug delivery and control; 
(ii) An annual report on the physician assistant’s use of dis-

pensing authority; 
(iii) A list of the drugs or classes of drugs the physician assis-

tant will dispense; and  
(iv) A list of all facilities where the physician assistant will dis-

pense and documentation that each of these facilities has been reg-
istered with the State Board of Pharmacy as a supervising physician 
dispensing outlet. 

(6) A physician assistant with dispensing authority must: 
(a) Dispense medications personally; 
(b) Dispense only medications that are pre-packaged by a 

licensed pharmacist, manufacturing drug outlet or wholesale drug 
outlet authorized to do so under ORS 689, and the physician assis-
tant must maintain records of receipt and dispensing; and 

(c) Register with the Drug Enforcement Administration and 
maintain a controlled substances log as required in OAR 847-015-
0015. 

(7) Distribution of samples, without charge, is not dispensing 
under this rule. Administering drugs in the facility is not dispensing 
under this rule. Distribution of samples and administration of drugs 
must be documented in the patient record. Documentation must 
include the name of the drug, the dose, the quantity distributed or 
administered, and the directions for use if applicable.  

(8) A supervising physician or primary supervising physician of 
a supervising physician organization for a physician assistant who 
is applying for dispensing authority must be registered with the Ore-
gon Medical Board as a dispensing physician. 

(9) Failure to comply with any subsection of this rule is a vio-
lation of the ORS Chapter 677 and is grounds for a $195 fine. The 
licensee may be subject to further disciplinary action by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190, 677.205, 677.470, 677.515 & 677.545 
Hist.: ME 1-1979, f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-
1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-
1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 6-1982, f. & 
ef. 10-27-82; ME 10-1984, f. & ef. 7-20-84; ME 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 
16-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-87; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 
2-7-00; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; 
BME 13-2003, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-03; BME 8-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 
3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-05; BME 6-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; [OMB 21-

2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 
28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 
12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 
16-2012(Temp), f. 5-8-12, cert. ef. 6-1-12 thru 11-28-12; OMB 34-2012(Temp), 
f. 11-8-12, cert. e. 11-28-12 thru 5-27-13; OMB 3-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-11-13 

847-050-0042 
Registration 

(1) The registration renewal form and fee must be received in 
the Board office during regular business hours and must be satis-
factorily complete on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered 
year in order for the physician assistant’s registration to be renewed 
for the next 24 months. This application must also include submis-
sion of an updated practice agreement or validation of an existing 
practice agreement or Board-approved practice description. 

(2) Upon failure to comply with section (1) of this rule, the 
license will automatically lapse as per ORS 677.228.  

(3) A one-time surcharge is required for each physician assis-
tant renewing his or her license for the 2014-2015 biennial regis-
tration period or applying for an initial license during calendar years 
2014 and 2015. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.510 & 677.512 
Hist.: ME 1-1979, f. & ef. 1-2-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-
1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-
1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 7-1984, f. & 
ef. 1-26-84; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 7-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-
90; ME 7-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 
6-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 25-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; [OMB 21-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 
28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 
12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 
17-2013(Temp), f. 7-12-13, cert. ef. 7-15-13 thru 1-11-14; OMB 37-2013, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-050-0043 
Inactive Registration, Initial Licensure, and Re-Entry to 
Practice 

(1) Any physician assistant licensed in this state who changes 
location to some other state or country, or who is not in a current 
supervisory relationship with a licensed physician for six months or 
more, will be listed by the Board as inactive. 

(2) If the physician assistant wishes to resume active status to 
practice in Oregon, the physician assistant must submit the Affidavit 
of Reactivation and processing fee, satisfactorily complete the reac-
tivation process and be approved by the Board before beginning 
active practice in Oregon.  

(3) The Board may deny active registration if it judges the con-
duct of the physician assistant during the period of inactive regis-
tration to be such that the physician assistant would have been denied 
a license if applying for an initial license.  

(4) If a physician assistant applicant has ceased practice for a 
period of 12 or more consecutive months immediately preceding the 
application for licensure or reactivation, the applicant may be 
required to do one or more of the following:  

(a) Obtain certification or re-certification by the National Com-
mission on the Certification of Physician Assistants (N.C.C.P.A.);  

(b) Provide documentation of current N.C.C.P.A. certification;  
(c) Complete 30 hours of Category I continuing medical edu-

cation acceptable to the Board for every year the applicant has ceased 
practice;  

(d) Agree to increased chart reviews upon re-entry to practice.  
(5) The physician assistant applicant who has ceased practice 

for a period of 24 or more consecutive months may be required to 
complete a re-entry plan to the satisfaction of the Board. The re-entry 
plan must be reviewed and approved through a Consent Agreement 
prior to the applicant beginning the re-entry plan. Depending on the 
amount of time out of practice, the re-entry plan may contain one or 
more of the requirements listed in section (4) of this rule and such 
additional requirements as determined appropriate by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.512 
Hist.: ME 12-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-
1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; BME 11-1998, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-00; BME 25-2008, f. & cert. 
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ef. 10-31-08; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Sus-
pend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; 
OMB 29-2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-27-11; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. 
ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 11-2014, f. 
& cert. ef. 4-9-14 

847-050-0046 
Active Status for Temporary, Rotating Assignments 

(1) A physician assistant, upon notification to the Board, may 
retire from active, permanent practice and change to Emeritus sta-
tus which allows the physician assistant to practice temporary, vol-
unteer assignments. A physician assistant with Emeritus status who 
wishes to volunteer at a medical facility must have a practice agree-
ment or Board-approved practice description prior to starting prac-
tice at each assignment.  

(2) A physician assistant, upon notification to the Board, may 
retire from active, permanent practice and maintain Active status by 
practicing at medical facilities for assignments on a rotating basis. 
A physician assistant who wishes to maintain active status and prac-
tice in rotating assignments at permanent locations must have a prac-
tice agreement or Board-approved practice description and must pro-
vide the Board with timely notification of the dates of each 
assignment prior to beginning each rotating assignment. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.545 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.510 & 677.515 
Hist.: BME 9-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. 
ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 
6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0050 
Termination of Supervision 

Upon termination of a supervisory relationship both the super-
vising physician and the physician assistant must submit to the Board 
a written report concerning the reason(s) for termination of the rela-
tionship. Such report must be submitted to the Board within 15 days 
following termination of supervision. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.510 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979. f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; [OMB 21-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 
28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 
12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0055 
Professional Corporation or Partnership 

Whenever the supervising physician is a member of a profes-
sional corporation or employee of a professional corporation or part-
nership, the primary supervising physician and any acting supervis-
ing physician are in all cases personally responsible for the direction 
and supervision of the physician assistant’s work. Such responsibility 
for supervision cannot be transferred to the corporation or partner-
ship even though such corporation or partnership may pay the super-
vising physician and the physician assistant’s salaries or enter into 
an employment agreement with such physician assistant or super-
vising physician. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 58.185 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; [OMB 21-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 
28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 
12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0060 
Physician Assistant Student 

(1) Where applicable, any person who is enrolled as a student 
in any school offering an accredited physician assistant education 
program must comply with OAR 847-050-0005 to 847-050-0065. 

(2) Notwithstanding any other provisions of these rules, a physi-
cian assistant student may perform medical services when such ser-

vices are rendered within the scope of an accredited physician assis-
tant education program. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.515 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-2-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982; f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; [OMB 21-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 
28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 
12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12 

847-050-0063 
Physician Assistant Committee 

(1) There is created a Physician Assistant Committee consist-
ing of five members. Members of the committee are appointed as fol-
lows: 

(a) The Oregon Medical Board for the State of Oregon must 
appoint one of its members and one physician. The physician who 
is not a member of the Board must supervise a physician assistant.  

(b) The Oregon Medical Board must appoint three physician 
assistants after considering persons nominated by the Oregon Soci-
ety of Physician Assistants.  

(2) The term of each member of the committee is three years. 
A member must serve until a successor is appointed. If a vacancy 
occurs, it must be filled for the unexpired term by a person with the 
same qualifications as the retiring member.  

(3) If any vacancy under section (1) of this rule is not filled 
within 45 days, the Governor must make the necessary appointment 
from the category which is vacant.  

(4) The committee elects its own chairperson with such pow-
ers and duties as fixed by the committee.  

(5) A quorum of the committee is three members. The com-
mittee must hold a meeting at least once quarterly and at such other 
times the committee considers advisable to review requests to use the 
services of physician assistants and for dispensing privileges and to 
review applications for licensure or renewal.  

(6) The chairperson may call a special meeting of the Physician 
Assistant Committee upon at least 10 days’ notice in writing to each 
member, to be held at any place designated by the chairperson.  

(7) The committee members are entitled to compensation and 
expenses as provided for Board members in ORS 677.235.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.235, 677.540 
Hist.: BME 15-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-99; BME 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-01; 
BME 25-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-
13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 
6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 32-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-
12; Suspended by OMB 10-2015(Temp), f. 10-13-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-
16 

847-050-0065 
Duties of the Committee 

(1) The Physician Assistant Committee must: 
(a) Review physician assistants’ applications for licensure and 

renewal of licensure. 
(b) Recommend approval or disapproval of physician assistants’ 

applications for licensure and renewal of licensure. 
(c) Review requests to use the services of physician assistants.  
(d) Review the criteria for prescriptive privileges for physician 

assistants. 
(e) Review any other matters related to physician assistant prac-

tice in Oregon. 
(2) All actions of the physician assistant committee are subject 

to review and approval by the Board. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.540 
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979, 
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 
2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 15-1999, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-28-99; BME 6-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. 
& cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 
1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 16-2012(Temp), 
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f. 5-8-12, cert. ef. 6-1-12 thru 11-28-12; OMB 34-2012(Temp), f. 11-8-12, cert. 
e. 11-28-12 thru 5-27-13; OMB 3-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-11-13; Suspended by OMB 
10-2015(Temp), f. 10-13-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16 

DIVISION 65 

HEALTH PROFESSIONALS’ SERVICES PROGRAM 

847-065-0005 
Licensees with Mental Illness Treated in Hospital Exceeding 
25 Consecutive Days 

A licensee’s participation in the Health Professionals’ Services 
Program (HPSP), to include inpatient evaluations or treatment in a 
treatment facility that exceeds 25 consecutive days, does not require 
an automatic suspension of a licensee, if the licensee is in compli-
ance with their HPSP agreement and does not practice medicine dur-
ing a period of impairment. If the HPSP makes a determination that 
the licensee has a mental illness that affects the ability of the licensee 
to safely practice medicine, the HPSP will ask the licensee to imme-
diately withdraw from practice. If the licensee declines, the HPSP 
will immediately report to the Board that the licensee has a mental 
illness that affects the ability of the licensee to safely practice, and 
with this report provide a copy of the evaluation upon which this 
determination is based. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.225, 677.645 
Hist.: BME 20-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09; OMB 3-2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-11 

847-065-0010 
Purpose, Intent and Scope 

The Oregon Medical Board recognizes that substance use dis-
orders and/or mental disorders are potentially progressive, chronic 
diseases. The Board believes that physicians, podiatric physicians, 
physician assistants and acupuncturists who develop these diseases 
can, with appropriate treatment, be assisted with recovery and return 
to the practice of medicine and acupuncture. It is the intent of the 
Board that a licensee with a substance use disorder and/or mental dis-
order may have the opportunity to enter the Health Professionals’ 
Services Program (HPSP). Participation in the HPSP does not shield 
a licensee from possible disciplinary action.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

847-065-0015 
Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 847, division 
065, except as otherwise stated in the definition:  

(1) “Assessment or evaluation” means the process an indepen-
dent third-party evaluator uses to diagnose the licensee and to rec-
ommend treatment options for the licensee.  

(2) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board.  
(3) “Business day” means Monday through Friday, except legal 

holidays as defined in ORS 187.010 (or ORS 187.020).  
(4) “Contractor” means the entity that has contracted with the 

Division to conduct the HPSP.  
(5) “Diagnosis” means the principal mental health or substance 

use diagnosis listed in the current Diagnostic Statistical Manual 
(DSM). The diagnosis is determined through the assessment and any 
examinations, tests or consultations suggested by the assessment.  

(6) “Division” means the Department of Human Services, 
Addictions and Mental Health Division.  

(7) “DSM” means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders, published by the American Psychiatric Associa-
tion.  

(8) “Federal regulations” means:  
(a) As used in ORS 676.185(5)(d), a “positive toxicology test 

result as determined by federal regulations pertaining to drug test-
ing” means a test result that meets or exceeds the cutoff concentra-
tions shown in 49 CFR § 40.87 (2009); and  

(b) As used in ORS 676.190(5)(g), requiring a “licensee to sub-
mit to random drug or alcohol testing in accordance with federal reg-
ulations” means licensees are selected for random testing by a sci-
entifically valid method, such as a random number table or a 
computer-based random number generator that is matched with 
licensees’ unique identification numbers or other comparable iden-
tifying numbers. Under the selection process used, each covered 
licensee must have an equal chance of being tested each time selec-
tions are made, as described in 40 CFR § 199.105(c)(5) (2009). Ran-
dom drug tests must be unannounced and the dates for administer-
ing random tests must be spread reasonably throughout the calendar 
year, as described in 40 CFR § 199.105(c)(7) (2009).  

(9) “Fitness to practice evaluation” means the process a quali-
fied, independent third-party evaluator uses to determine if the 
licensee can safely perform the essential functions of the licensee’s 
health practice.  

(10) “Final enrollment” means a licensee has provided all doc-
umentation required by OAR 847-065-0035 and has met all eligi-
bility requirements to participate in the HPSP.  

(11) “Independent third-party evaluator” means an individual 
or center who is approved by the Board to evaluate, diagnose, and 
offer treatment options for substance use disorders and/or mental dis-
orders.  

(12) “Licensee” means a licensed physician, podiatric physi-
cian, physician assistant or acupuncturist who is licensed or certified 
by the Board.  

(13) “Mental disorder” means a clinically significant syndrome 
identified in the current DSM that is associated with disability or with 
significantly increased risk of disability.  

(14) “Monitoring agreement” means an individualized agree-
ment between a licensee and the contractor that meets the require-
ments for a diversion agreement set by ORS 676.190.  

(15) “Positive toxicology test result” means a test result that 
meets or exceeds the cutoff concentrations shown in 49 CFR 40.87 
(2009), a test result that shows other drugs or alcohol, or a test result 
that fails to show the appropriate presence of a currently prescribed 
drug that is part of a treatment program related to a condition being 
monitored by HPSP.  

(16) “Provisional enrollment” means temporary enrollment, 
pending verification that a licensee meets all program eligibility cri-
teria.  

(17) “Self-referred licensee” means a licensee who seeks to par-
ticipate in the program without a referral from the Board.  

(18) “Substance abuse” means a disorder related to the taking 
of a drug of abuse (including alcohol); to the side effects of a med-
ication; and to a toxin exposure, including: substance use disorders 
(substance dependence and substance abuse) and substance-induced 
disorders (including but not limited to substance intoxication, with-
drawal, delirium, and dementia, as well as substance induced psy-
chotic disorders and mood disorders), as defined in DSM criteria.  

(19) “Substantial non-compliance” means that a licensee is in 
violation of the terms of his or her monitoring agreement in a way 
that gives rise to concerns about the licensee’s ability or willingness 
to participate in the HPSP. Substantial non-compliance and non-com-
pliance include, but are not limited to, the factors listed in ORS 
676.185(5). Conduct that occurred before a licensee entered into a 
monitoring agreement does not violate the terms of that monitoring 
agreement.  

(20) “Toxicology testing” means urine testing or alternative 
chemical monitoring including blood, saliva, breath or hair as con-
ducted by a laboratory certified, accredited or licensed and 
approved for toxicology testing.  

(21) “Treatment” means the planned, specific, individualized 
health and behavioral-health procedures, activities, services and sup-
ports that a treatment provider uses to remediate symptoms of a sub-
stance use disorder and/or mental disorder.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12; OMB 
22-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 38-2013, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-15-13 

Chapter 847     Oregon Medical Board

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

 2016 Edition 24 - 332 (11-15-15)



847-065-0020 
Participation in Health Professionals Services Program 

Effective July 1, 2010, the Board must participate in the Health 
Professionals’ Services Program and may refer eligible licensees to 
the contractor in lieu of or in addition to discipline. Only licensees 
who meet the eligibility criteria may be referred by the Board to the 
contractor.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

847-065-0025 
Eligibility for Participation in Health Professionals Services 
Program 

(1) Licensee must be evaluated by an independent third-party 
evaluator.  

(2) The evaluation must include a diagnosis of a substance use 
disorder and/or mental disorder with the appropriate diagnostic code 
from the DSM, and treatment options.  

(3) Licensee must provide a written statement agreeing to enter 
the HPSP and agreeing to abide by all rules established by the Board.  

(4) Licensee must enter into the “HPSP Monitoring Agree-
ment.”  

(5) The Board will determine whether a Board-referred 
licensee’s practice has presented or presents a danger to the public. 
The contractor will determine whether a self-referred licensee’s prac-
tice has presented or presents a danger to the public. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12; OMB 
22-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 38-2013, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-15-13 

847-065-0030 
Procedure for Board Referrals 

(1) When the Board receives information involving a licensee 
who may have substance abuse and/or a mental disorder, the Board 
staff will investigate and complete a report to be presented at a Board 
meeting.  

(2) If licensee meets eligibility criteria and the Board approves 
entry into the HPSP, the Board will provide a written referral. The 
referral must include:  

(a) A copy of the report from the independent third-party eval-
uator who diagnosed the licensee;  

(b) The treatment options developed by the independent third-
party evaluator;  

(c) A statement that the Board has investigated the licensee’s 
professional practice and conduct;  

(d) A description of any restrictions or requirements imposed by 
the Board or recommended by the Board on the licensee’s profes-
sional practice;  

(e) A written statement from the licensee agreeing to enter the 
HPSP and agreeing to abide by all terms and conditions established 
by the contractor; and  

(f) A statement that the licensee has agreed to report any arrest 
for or conviction of a misdemeanor or felony crime to the Board 
within three business days after the licensee is arrested or convict-
ed.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

847-065-0035 
Procedure for Self-Referred Licensees 

Board licensees may self-refer to the HPSP.  
(1) Provisional Enrollment: To be provisionally enrolled in the 

program, a self-referred licensee must:  

(a) Sign a written consent allowing disclosure and exchange of 
information among the contractor, the licensee’s employer, inde-
pendent third-party evaluators and treatment providers;  

(b) Sign a written consent allowing disclosure and exchange of 
information among the contractor, the Board, the licensee’s employ-
er, independent third-party evaluators and treatment providers in the 
event the contractor determines the licensee to be in substantial non-
compliance with his or her monitoring agreement as defined in OAR 
847-065-0065;  

(c) Attest that the licensee is not, to the best of the licensee’s 
knowledge, under investigation by the Board; and  

(d) Agree to and sign a monitoring agreement.  
(2) Final Enrollment: To move from provisional enrollment to 

final enrollment in the program, a self-referred licensee must:  
(a) Obtain at the licensee’s own expense and provide to the con-

tractor, an independent third-party evaluator’s written evaluation con-
taining a DSM diagnosis and diagnostic code and treatment recom-
mendations;  

(b) Agree to cooperate with the contractor’s investigation to 
determine whether the licensee’s practice while impaired presents or 
has presented a danger to the public; and  

(c) Enter into an amended monitoring agreement, if required by 
the contractor.  

(3) Once a self-referred licensee seeks enrollment in the HPSP, 
failure to complete final enrollment may constitute substantial non-
compliance and may be reported to the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12; OMB 
22-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 38-2013, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-15-13 

847-065-0040 
Disqualification Criteria 

Licensees, either Board-referred or self-referred, may be dis-
qualified from entering the HPSP for factors including, but not lim-
ited to:  

(1) Licensee’s disciplinary history;  
(2) Severity and duration of the licensee’s impairment;  
(3) Extent to which licensee’s practice can be limited or man-

aged to eliminate danger to the public;  
(4) If licensee’s impairment cannot be managed with treatment 

and monitoring;  
(5) Evidence of criminal history that involves injury or endan-

germent to others;  
(6) Evidence of sexual misconduct;  
(7) Evidence of non-compliance with a monitoring program 

from another state;  
(8) Pending investigations with the Board or boards from other 

states;  
(9) Previous Board investigations with findings of substantiat-

ed abuse or dependence; and  
(10) Prior enrollment in, but failure to successfully complete, 

the Oregon Medical Board Health Professionals Program or HPSP.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

847-065-0045 
Approval of Independent Third-Party Evaluators 

(1) To be approved by the Board as an independent third-party 
evaluator, an evaluator must be:  

(a) Licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the eval-
uator works;  

(b) Able to provide a comprehensive assessment of and written 
report describing a licensee’s diagnosis, degree of impairment, and 
treatment options; and  

(c) Able to facilitate a urinalysis of the licensee at intake.  
(2) The Board reserves the right to not approve an independent 

third-party evaluator for any reason.  
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(3) The Board or contractor will not accept an evaluator as inde-
pendent in a particular case if, in the Board’s or contractor’s judg-
ment, the evaluator’s judgment is likely to be influenced by a per-
sonal or professional relationship with a licensee.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

847-065-0050 
Approval of Treatment Providers 

(1) To be approved by the Board as a treatment provider, a 
provider must be:  

(a) Licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the 
provider works;  

(b) Able to provide appropriate treatment considering licensee’s 
diagnosis, degree of impairment, and treatment options proposed by 
the independent third-party evaluator; and  

(c) Able to facilitate a urinalysis of the licensee at intake.  
(2) A treatment provider may not have a personal or profes-

sional relationship with a licensee.  
(3) The Board will maintain a list of treatment providers avail-

able to licensees upon request.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

847-065-0055 
Licensee Responsibilities 

All licensees must:  
(1) Agree to report any arrest for or conviction of a misde-

meanor or felony crime to the contractor within three business days 
after the licensee is arrested or convicted of the crime;  

(2) Comply continuously with his or her monitoring agreement, 
including any restrictions on his or her practice, for at least two years 
or longer, as specified in the monitoring agreement;  

(3) Abstain from mind-altering or intoxicating substances or 
potentially addictive drugs, unless the drug is approved by the con-
tractor and prescribed for a documented medical condition by a per-
son authorized by law to prescribe the drug to the licensee;  

(4) Report use of mind-altering or intoxicating substances or 
potentially addictive drugs within 24 hours to contractor;  

(5) Participate in a treatment plan approved by a third-party 
evaluator or treatment provider;  

(6) Limit practice as required by the contractor or the Board;  
(7) Cooperate with supervised monitoring of practice;  
(8) Participate in a follow-up evaluation, when necessary, of 

licensee’s fitness to practice;  
(9) Submit to random drug or alcohol testing, unless the licensee 

is diagnosed with solely a mental health disorder and the Board does 
not otherwise require the licensee to submit to random drug and alco-
hol testing;  

(10) Report at least weekly to the contractor regarding the 
licensee’s compliance with the monitoring agreement;  

(11) Report applications for licensure in other states, changes 
in employment and changes in practice setting to the contractor;  

(12) Agree to be responsible for the cost of evaluations, toxi-
cology testing, treatment and monitoring;  

(13) Report to the contractor any investigations or disciplinary 
action by any state, or state or federal agency, including Oregon;  

(14) Participate in required meetings according to the treatment 
plan; and  

(15) Maintain current license status and/or report any changes 
in license status.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12; OMB 
22-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 38-2013, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-15-13 

847-065-0060 
Completion Requirements 

(1) The time spent participating in a monitored program before 
transferring from the Health Professionals Program to the Health Pro-
fessionals’ Services Program effective July 1, 2010, will be count-
ed toward the required term of monitored practice.  

(2) The licensee will remain enrolled in the program for a min-
imum of two consecutive years.  

(3) The Board-referred licensee must have complied with the 
licensee’s monitoring agreement to the satisfaction of the Board. The 
self-referred licensee must have complied with the licensee’s mon-
itoring agreement to the satisfaction of the contractor. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12; OMB 
22-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 38-2013, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-15-13 

847-065-0065 
Substantial Non-Compliance Criteria 

(1) The contractor will report substantial non-compliance with 
a diversion agreement to the Board within one business day after the 
contractor learns of the substantial non-compliance, including but not 
limited to information that a licensee:  

(a) Engaged in criminal behavior;  
(b) Engaged in conduct that caused injury, death or harm to the 

public, including engaging in sexual impropriety with a patient;  
(c) Was impaired in a health care setting in the course of the 

licensee’s employment;  
(d) Received a positive toxicology test result;  
(e) Violated a restriction on the license’s practice imposed by 

the contractor or the Board;  
(f) Was civilly committed for mental illness;  
(g) Entered into a diversion agreement, but failed to participate 

in the HPSP;  
(h) Was referred to the HPSP, but failed to enroll in the HPSP;  
(i) Forged, tampered with, or modified a prescription;  
(j) Violated any rules of prescriptive authority;  
(k) Violated any provisions of OAR 847-065-0055;  
(L) Violated any terms of the diversion agreement; or  
(m) Failed to complete the monitored practice requirements as 

stated in OAR 847-065-0060.  
(2) The Board will review reports from the program. The Board 

may request the contractor to provide the licensee’s complete record, 
and the contractor must send these records to the Board as long as 
a valid release of information is in place.  

(3) If the Board finds that a licensee is substantially noncom-
pliant with a diversion agreement, the Board may investigate and 
determine the appropriate sanction. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185 - 676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12; OMB 
22-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 38-2013, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-15-13 

847-065-0070 
Licensees with Primary Residence or Work Site Outside of 
Oregon 

If a licensee’s primary residence or work site is located outside 
the State of Oregon, the licensee must enroll in the HPSP, in accor-
dance with OAR 847-065-0025 and 847-065-0030 for Board-
referred or 847-065-0035 for self-referred licensees, and may choose 
to be monitored by the out-of-state’s health professional program if 
the following conditions are met:  

(1) The other state’s health professional program is substantially 
similar with the relevant Oregon statutes. It is the duty of the con-
tractor to verify this information and notify the Board of any dis-
crepancies;  

(2) The other state’s health professional program sends quarterly 
reports on the licensee to the contractor; and  
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(3) The other state’s health professional program will prompt-
ly report any substantial non-compliance with the licensee’s diver-
sion agreement to the contractor.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185–676.200 & 677.265 
Hist.: OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12 

DIVISION 70 

ACUPUNCTURE 

847-070-0005 
Definitions 

As used in the rules regulating the practice of acupuncture:  
(1)(a) “Acupuncture” means an Oriental health care practice 

used to promote health and to treat neurological, organic or func-
tional disorders by the stimulation of specific points on the surface 
of the body by the insertion of needles. “Acupuncture” includes the 
treatment method of moxibustion, as well as the use of electrical, 
thermal, mechanical or magnetic devices, with or without needles, 
to stimulate acupuncture points and acupuncture meridians and to 
induce acupuncture anesthesia or analgesia.  

(b) The practice of acupuncture also includes the following 
modalities as authorized by the Oregon Medical Board:  

(A) Traditional and modern Oriental Medical and acupuncture 
techniques of diagnosis and evaluation;  

(B) Oriental massage, exercise and related therapeutic methods; 
and  

(C) The use of Oriental pharmacopoeia, vitamins, minerals and 
dietary advice.  

(2) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board for the State of 
Oregon.  

(3) “Clinical training” means supervised clinical training which 
consists of diagnosis and actual patient treatment which includes 
insertion of acupuncture needles. 

(4) “Committee” means the Acupuncture Advisory Committee.  
(5) “Licensed Acupuncturist” means an individual authorized 

by the Board to practice acupuncture pursuant to ORS Chapter 677. 
(6) “Physician” means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine pursuant to ORS Chapter 677.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.759 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.757, 677.759 & 677.780 
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 2-1981, 
f. & ef. 2-3-81; ME 9-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 
6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-3-95; BME 21-2008, 
f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; OMB 3-2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-13-15 

847-070-0007 
Practice of Acupuncture 

(1) No person may practice acupuncture without first obtaining 
a license to practice medicine and surgery or a license to practice 
acupuncture from the Oregon Medical Board.  

(2) A physician who desires to be approved as a clinical super-
visor must meet the requirements of OAR 847-070-0015. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.756 & 677.759 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.759 
Hist.: ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-3-95; OMB 3-
2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-13-15 

847-070-0015 
Application 

(1) Every applicant must satisfactorily complete an application 
and document evidence of qualifications listed in OAR 847-070-
0016 to the satisfaction of the Board. Such application and docu-
mentation must be complete before an applicant may be considered 
eligible for licensure. 

(2) False documentation is grounds for denial of licensure or 
disciplinary action by the Board. 

(3) An applicant applying for licensure under these rules who 
has not completed the licensure process within a 12 month consec-
utive period must file a new application, documents, letters and pay 
a full filing fee as if filing for the first time. 

(4) No applicant is entitled to licensure who: 
(a) Has had his/her license or certificate revoked or suspended 

in this or any other state unless the said license or certificate has been 
restored or reinstated and the applicant’s license or certificate is in 
good standing in the state which had revoked the same; 

(b) Has been refused a license or certificate in any other state 
on any grounds other than failure in an acupuncture licensure exam-
ination; or 

(c) Has been guilty of conduct similar to that which would be 
prohibited by or to which ORS 677.190 would apply. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.759 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.759 
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 2-1980, 
f. & ef. 1-30-80; ME 2-1981, f. & ef. 2-3-81; ME 9-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; ME 
6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-21-85; ME 10-1985, f. & ef. 8-
5-85; ME 13-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86; ME 6-1987, f. & ef. 1-23-87; ME 19-
1987(Temp), f. & ef. 8-7-87; ME 24-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87; ME 8-1988, f. 6-
10-88, cert. ef. 6-6-88; ME 22-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-89; ME 3-1991(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 4-19-91; ME 8-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 1-1992, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-21-92; ME 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 7-1993(Temp), f. 4-22-93, cert. 
ef. 4-23-93; ME 11-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-93; ME 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-
94; ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-3-95; ME 11-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-95; ME 
5-1997, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-97; BME 5-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-98; OMB 3-2015, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-13-15 

847-070-0016 
Qualifications 

(1) An applicant for licensure as an acupuncturist must have: 
(a) Graduated from an acupuncture program that satisfies the 

standards of the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Ori-
ental Medicine (ACAOM), or its successor organization, or an equiv-
alent accreditation body that are in effect at the time of the applicant’s 
graduation. An acupuncture program may be established as having 
satisfied those standards by demonstration of one of the following: 

(A) Accreditation, or candidacy for accreditation by ACAOM 
at the time of graduation from the acupuncture program; or 

(B) Approval by a foreign government’s Ministry of Education, 
or Ministry of Health, or equivalent foreign government agency at 
the time of graduation from the acupuncture program. Each appli-
cant must submit their documents to a foreign credential equivalen-
cy service, which is approved by the National Certification Com-
mission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) for the 
purpose of establishing equivalency to the ACAOM accreditation 
standard. Acupuncture programs that wish to be considered equiv-
alent to an ACAOM accredited program must also meet the curric-
ular requirements of ACAOM in effect at the time of graduation. 

(b) Current certification in acupuncture by the NCCAOM. An 
applicant will be deemed certified by the NCCAOM in Acupuncture 
if the applicant has passed the NCCAOM Acupuncture Certification 
Examinations or has been certified through the NCCAOM Creden-
tials Documentation Examination. The applicant has no more than 
four attempts to pass the NCCAOM Acupuncture Certification 
Examinations. If the applicant does not pass the NCCAOM Certifi-
cation Examinations within four attempts, the applicant is not eligi-
ble for licensure. 

(2) An applicant who does not meet the criteria in OAR 847-
070-0016(1) must have the following qualifications:  

(a) Five years of licensed clinical acupuncture practice in the 
United States. This practice must include a minimum of 500 
acupuncture patient visits per year. Documentation must include: 

(A) Two affidavits from office partners, clinic supervisors, 
accountants, or others approved by the Board, who have personal 
knowledge of the years of practice and number of patient visits per 
year; and 

(B) Notarized copies of samples of appointment books, patient 
charts and financial records, or other documentation as required by 
the Board; and 

(b) Practice as a licensed acupuncturist in the U.S. during five 
of the last seven years prior to application for Oregon licensure. 
Licensed practice includes clinical practice, clinical supervision, 
teaching, research, and other work as approved by the Board with-
in the field of acupuncture and oriental medicine. Documentation of 
this practice will be required and is subject to Board approval; and 
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(c) Successful completion of the ACAOM western medicine 
requirements in effect at the time of graduation from the acupunc-
ture program, unless the applicant graduated from a non-accredited 
acupuncture program prior to 1989; and 

(d) Current certification in acupuncture by the NCCAOM. An 
applicant will be deemed certified in Acupuncture by the NCCAOM 
if the applicant has passed the NCCAOM Acupuncture Certification 
Examinations or has been certified through the NCCAOM Creden-
tials Documentation Examination. The applicant has no more than 
four attempts to pass the NCCAOM Acupuncture Certification 
Examinations. If the applicant does not pass the NCCAOM Certifi-
cation Examinations within four attempts, the applicant is not eligi-
ble for licensure. 

(3) An individual whose acupuncture training and diploma were 
obtained in a foreign country and who cannot document the require-
ments of subsections (1) or (2) of this rule because the required doc-
umentation is now unobtainable, may be considered eligible for 
licensure if it is established to the satisfaction of the Board that the 
applicant has equivalent skills and training and can document one 
year of training or supervised practice under a licensed acupunctur-
ist in the United States. 

(4) In addition to meeting the requirements in (1), (2) or (3) of 
this rule, all applicants for licensure must have the following qual-
ifications: 

(a) Licensure in good standing from the state or states of all 
prior and current health related licensure; and 

(b) Have good moral character as those traits would relate to the 
applicant’s ability properly engage in the practice of acupuncture; 
and 

(c) Have the ability to communicate in the English language 
well enough to be understood by patients and physicians. This 
requirement is met if the applicant passes the NCCAOM written 
acupuncture examination in English, or if in a foreign language, must 
also have passed an English language proficiency examination, such 
as TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language), or TSE (Test of 
Spoken English). An applicant must obtain a TOEFL score of 500 
or more for the written TOEFL exam and 173 or more for the com-
puter based TOEFL exam, or a TSE score of 200 or more prior to 
July 1995, and a score of 50 or more after July 1995. An applicant 
who is certified through the NCCAOM Credentials Documentation 
Examination must also have passed an English proficiency exami-
nation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.759 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.759 & 677.780 
Hist.: ME 5-1997, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-97; BME 5-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-98; BME 
15-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-98; BME 15-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-98; BME 16-
1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-99; BME 13-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 6-2002, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 12-2005, f. & cert. ef. 10-12-05; BME 21-2006, f. & 
cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 10-2007, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-07; BME 7-2008(Temp), f. 
& cert. ef. 4-24-08 thru 10-6-08; BME 21-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 14-
2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-09; OMB 3-2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-13-15 

847-070-0017 
Clinical Training 

(1) A clinical supervisor must meet the following requirements:  
(a) Be an actively licensed Oregon acupuncturist who has prac-

ticed as an acupuncturist for a period of at least five years, and is in 
good standing with the Board; or 

(b) Be an actively licensed Oregon physician who is in good 
standing with the Board, who has been practicing acupuncture for a 
period of at least five years, and has passed the examination for 
acupuncture; or  

(c) Be an acupuncturist or physician licensed, registered, or cer-
tified by another jurisdiction, who is in good standing with such juris-
diction, who has been practicing acupuncture for a period of a least 
five years and has passed a qualifying examination for acupuncture, 
or been certified in acupuncture by the National Certification Com-
mission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (N.C.C.A.O.M.) 
through its Credentials Documentation Examination. If a portion of 
those five or more years was prior to licensing, registration, or cer-
tification, then prior practice must be documented to the Board’s sat-
isfaction. The N.C.C.A.O.M. Certification Standards for Documen-

tation will be used. All clinical supervisors under this section are sub-
ject to Board approval.  

(2) Board approved clinical supervisors, acupuncturists or 
physicians shall supervise no more than two acupuncture trainees in 
an informal private clinical setting.  

(3) Where applicable, an individual shall comply with OAR 
847-070-0005 to 847-070-0055 if they are: 

(a) Enrolled in a school approved to offer credit for post-sec-
ondary clinical education in Oregon; or 

(b) A practitioner licensed to practice acupuncture in another 
state or foreign country who is enrolled in clinical training approved 
by the Oregon Medical Board.  

(4) Where applicable, an individual may perform acupuncture 
in a training situation only when such services are rendered by an 
acupuncture student: 

(a) Who is enrolled in a school approved to offer credit for post-
secondary clinical education in Oregon; or 

(b) Who is a practitioner licensed to practice acupuncture in 
another state or foreign country who is enrolled in clinical training 
approved by the Oregon Medical Board. 

(5) An individual who is a trainee or student of acupuncture may 
not perform any act that constitutes the practice of medicine or the 
practice of acupuncture, except under direct supervision of a person 
approved by the Board to provide clinical training as described in 
rule 847-070-0017. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.060(3) 
Hist.: ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 14-1984, f. & ef. 8-2-84; ME 10-1985, 
f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 13-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86; ME 8-1988, f. 6-10-88, cert. ef. 
6-6-88; ME 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 
5-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-99; BME 15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00 

847-070-0019 
Interview and Examination 

(1) In addition to all other requirements for licensure, the Board 
may require an applicant to appear for a personal interview regard-
ing information received in the application process. Unless excused 
in advance, failure to appear before a Committee of the Board for a 
personal interview violates ORS 677.190(17) and may subject the 
applicant to disciplinary action. 

(2) If there is reasonable cause to question the qualifications of 
an applicant, the Board in its discretion may require the applicant to 
do one or more of the following:  

(a) Obtain certification or re-certification in Acupuncture or Ori-
ental Medicine by the National Certification Commission for 
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM);  

(b) Pass an evaluation which may be written, oral, practical, or 
any combination thereof;  

(c) Provide documentation of current NCCAOM Acupuncture 
certification;  

(d) Complete 15 hours of continuing education acceptable to the 
Board for every year the applicant has ceased practice prior to appli-
cation for Oregon licensure. Continuing education that meets 
NCCAOM’s recertification requirements would qualify as Board-
approved continuing education;  

(e) Complete a mentorship of at least 20 hours under a Board-
approved mentor who must individually supervise the applicant. The 
mentor must report the successful completion of the mentorship to 
the Board.  

(3) An applicant must pass an open-book examination on the 
Medical Practice Act (ORS Chapter 677) and Oregon Administrative 
Rules (OAR chapter 847, division 70). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 677.759 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.175 & 677.759 
Hist.: BME 12-2005, f. & cert. ef. 10-12-05; BME 21-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-
06; BME 5-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; OMB 8-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-14; OMB 
3-2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-13-15 

847-070-0020 
Regulation of Activities of Acupuncturists 

(1) An individual other than a physician who is not authorized 
by the Board to engage in the practice of acupuncture shall not 
administer acupuncture treatment to any other individual.  
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(2) An acupuncturist shall report promptly to the referring 
physician, if requested, the method of acupuncture treatment and the 
results of such treatment together with such other information as the 
referring physician requires to maintain the records regarding 
acupuncture treatment.  

(3) An acupuncturist must clearly indicate that he/she is an 
acupuncturist to individuals being treated. The acupuncturist must 
wear a name tag with the designation “Acupuncturist” thereon when 
practicing in a hospital or clinic setting where other health care 
providers practice. Acupuncturists are not required to wear name tags 
in a private practice setting. 

(4) An acupuncturist shall not represent him/herself as a physi-
cian or permit another to so represent him/her. 

(5) An acupuncturist who has completed a program that leads 
to a doctoral degree in Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine from a 
school that has federally recognized accreditation may identify 
him/herself as a “doctor of acupuncture and oriental medicine.” 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.759 
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 9-1982, 
f. & ef. 10-27-82; ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; BME 16-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-
28-99; BME 5-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09 

847-070-0022 
Documents to be Submitted for Licensure 

The documents submitted must be legible and no larger than 8 
½” x 11”. All documents and photographs will be retained by the 
Board as a permanent part of the application file. If original docu-
ments are larger than 8 ½” x 11”, the copies must be reduced to the 
correct size with all wording and signatures clearly shown. Official 
translations are required for documents issued in a foreign language. 
The following documents are required: 

(1) Application: Completed formal application provided by the 
Board. Required dates must include month, day and year. 

(2) Birth Certificate: A copy of birth certificate and a copy of 
Change of Name documentation, Marriage Certificate, or Divorce 
Decree if the applicant’s name has been changed by court order, 
adoption, marriage, divorce, etc. 

(3) Acupuncture School Diploma: A copy of a diploma show-
ing graduation from an approved school of acupuncture for those 
applicants who qualify under OAR 847-070-0016(1). 

(4) Photograph: A close-up, passport-quality photograph, 
front view, head and shoulders (not profile), with features distinct, 
taken within 90 days preceding the filing of the application. 

(5) A letter from the Dean of the applicant’s program of 
acupuncture for those applicants who qualify under OAR 847-070-
0016(1). 

(6) A letter from the National Certification Commission for 
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) verifying current 
certification in acupuncture by the NCCAOM for those applicants 
who qualify under OAR 847-070-0016(1) or (2).  

(7) A letter verifying licensure in good standing from the state 
or states of all prior and current health-related licensure. 

(8) A letter from the Director or other official for practice and 
employment to include an evaluation of overall performance and spe-
cific beginning and ending dates of practice and employment, for the 
past five (5) years only. For acupuncturists who have been or are in 
solo practice, three reference letters from acupuncturists in the local 
treatment community who are familiar with the applicant’s practice 
and who have known the applicant for more than six months. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.759 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.275 & 677.759 
Hist.: BME 21-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 19-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-
07; OMB 3-2015, f. & cert. ef. 1-13-15 

847-070-0024 
Application for Licensure by Military Spouse or Domestic 
Partner 

(1) “Military spouse or domestic partner” means a spouse or 
domestic partner of an active member of the Armed Forces of the 
United States who is the subject of a military transfer to Oregon. 

(2) To qualify for licensure under this rule, the military spouse 
or domestic partner must:  

(a) Meet the qualifications for licensure as stated in OAR 847-
070-0016; 

(b) Be married to, or in a domestic partnership with, a member 
of the Armed Forces of the United States who is assigned to a duty 
station located in Oregon by official active duty military order;  

(c) Be licensed to practice acupuncture in another state or ter-
ritory of the United States; 

(d) Be in good standing, with no restrictions or limitations upon, 
actions taken against, or investigation or disciplinary action pending 
against his or her license in any jurisdiction where the applicant is 
or has been licensed; and  

(e) Have at least one year of active practice or teaching of 
acupuncture during the three years immediately preceding the appli-
cation.  

(3) If a military spouse or domestic partner applies for a license 
to practice acupuncture, the Board may accept: 

(a) A copy of the acupuncture school diploma to fulfill the 
requirement for a letter from the Dean of the applicant’s acupunc-
ture school; and  

(b) Verification of licensure in good standing from the juris-
diction of current or most recent practice of acupuncture to fulfill the 
requirement of verifications of licensure from all jurisdictions of 
prior and current health related licensure. 

(4) In addition to the documents required in section (3) of this 
rule and in OAR 847-070-0022, the military spouse or domestic part-
ner must submit a copy of the: 

(a) Marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration with 
the name of the applicant and the name of the active duty member 
of the Armed Forces of the United States; and 

(b) Assignment to a duty station located in Oregon by official 
active duty military order for the spouse or domestic partner named 
in the marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & HB 2037 (2013) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.275, 677.759 & HB 2037 (2013) 
Hist.: OMB 21-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 35-
2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-070-0025 
Disciplinary Proceedings 

The Board may suspend or revoke the authority of an acupunc-
turist to engage in the practice of acupuncture and any disciplinary 
proceedings against an acupuncturist or any individual charged with 
the unlawful practice of acupuncture shall be in accordance with 
ORS Chapter 183. 

Stat. Auth. ORS 183 & 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190 
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 9-1982, 
f. & ef. 10-27-82 

847-070-0030 
Revocation or Suspension of Authority to Engage in the 
Practice of Acupuncture 

The Board may suspend or revoke the authority of an acupunc-
turist to engage in the practice of acupuncture if the Board finds that: 

(1) The acupuncturist has represented him/herself as a physician 
or permitted another to so represent him/her. 

(2) The acupuncturist has performed any act involving the prac-
tice of acupuncture in violation of any applicable law or rules reg-
ulating the practice of acupuncture. 

(3) The acupuncturist has engaged in conduct constituting gross 
negligence in the practice of acupuncture. 

(4) The acupuncturist is manifestly incapable to engage in the 
practice of acupuncture. 

(5) The acupuncturist has violated any of the provisions of ORS 
677.190. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190 
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 9-1982, 
f. & ef. 10-27-82; ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84 

847-070-0033 
Visiting Acupuncturist Requirements 

(1) The Oregon Medical Board may grant approval for a visit-
ing acupuncturist to demonstrate acupuncture needling as part of a 
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seminar, conference, or workshop sponsored by an Oregon school 
or an Oregon school’s program of acupuncture or oriental medicine, 
or professional organization of acupuncture, or any seminar, con-
ference, or workshop approved by the National Certification Com-
mission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) to pro-
vide continuing education training for a period up to ten days no 
more than three times a year. The visiting acupuncturist who requests 
additional time beyond the ten days, or submits more than three 
requests in a year, must apply for and obtain a license to practice in 
the state of Oregon. An Oregon licensed acupuncturist must be in 
attendance at the seminar, conference or workshop. 

(2) Prior to being granted approval, the following information 
must be submitted to the Oregon Medical Board: 

(a) A letter from the school or program of acupuncture or ori-
ental medicine, or organization which will have an out-of-state 
acupuncturist demonstrate needling as part of a seminar, conference, 
or workshop with the following information: 

(A) Dates of the seminar, conference, or workshop in which the 
visiting acupuncturist will be demonstrating acupuncture needling; 

(B) Description of the seminar, conference or workshop; 
(C) Name of the responsible Oregon acupuncturist, licensed 

under ORS 677, actively registered and in good standing with the 
Board, who will be in attendance and responsible for the conduct of 
the visiting acupuncturist at the seminar, conference or workshop. 

(D) A curriculum vitae for the visiting acupuncturist; and 
(b) If the visiting acupuncturist is licensed, certified or regis-

tered to practice as an acupuncturist in the state in which the 
acupuncturist is practicing, the visiting acupuncturist must provide 
documentation that their license, certificate, or registration is active 
and in good standing. 

(3) The request for approval to practice in the state of Oregon 
as a visiting acupuncturist must be received at least two weeks prior 
to the beginning date of such practice. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265(1) & (2) 
Hist.: BME 9-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 19-2004, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-04 

847-070-0037 
Limited License, Pending Examination 

(1) An acupuncturist who meets all requirements for Oregon 
acupuncture licensure but has not yet passed the acupuncture certi-
fication examination given by the National Certification Commission 
on Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) may be issued 
a Limited License, Pending Examination for the purpose of obtain-
ing clinical training in Oregon under the supervision of a Board 
approved clinical supervisor if the following criteria are met:  

(a) The application file is complete to the satisfaction of the 
Board.  

(b) Certification by the NCCAOM is pending.  
(c) The clinical supervisor approved to supervise the applicant 

meets the qualifications in OAR 847-070-0017 and is on-site and 
available to supervise at all times when the applicant is training.  

(d) The applicant has submitted the appropriate form and fee 
prior to being issued a Limited License, Pending Examination.  

(2) Any person obtaining clinical training under a Limited 
License, Pending Examination must identify themselves to patients 
as an acupuncture trainee and wear a name tag identifying them-
selves as a trainee.  

(3) A Limited License, Pending Examination may be granted for 
a period of six months.  

(4) Upon receipt of verification that the applicant has passed the 
acupuncture certification examination given by the NCCAOM, and 
if the applicant’s application file is otherwise satisfactorily complete, 
the applicant shall be scheduled for approval of permanent licensure.  

(5) The Limited License, Pending Examination will automati-
cally be canceled if the applicant fails the acupuncture certification 
examination given by the NCCAOM. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.759 
Hist.: BME 5-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-99; BME 19-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; 
OMB 7-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-14; OMB 16-2014, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-14 

847-070-0038 
Limited License, Visiting Professor 

(1) An acupuncturist who has received a teaching position in a 
school of acupuncture in this state may be issued a Limited License, 
Visiting Professor if the following criteria are met: 

(a) The applicant has established to the satisfaction of the Board 
that he/she has the skills and training equivalent to OAR 847-070-
0016 (1);  

(b) The applicant has at least five years experience as an 
acupuncturist; and 

(c) The applicant has submitted the appropriate form and fee for 
a Limited License, Visiting Professor. 

(2) The head of the acupuncture school in which the applicant 
will be teaching shall certify in writing to the Board that the appli-
cant has been offered a teaching position which will be under the 
direction of the head of the department and will not be permitted to 
practice acupuncture unless as a necessary part of the applicant’s 
teaching position as approved by the Board. 

(3) An acupuncturist who is applying for a Limited License, 
Visiting Professor may also be approved as a clinical supervisor if 
the applicant meets the requirements of OAR 847-070-0017. 

(4) The Limited License, Visiting Professor may be granted for 
one year and may be granted a total of two one-year extensions upon 
annual review of the written justification of the need based upon aca-
demic necessity. The renewal form and fee must be submitted 30 
days before the end of the year if an extension of the Limited 
License, Visiting Professor is requested. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.759 
Hist.: ME 2-1981, f. & ef. 2-3-81; ME 9-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; ME 6-1984, f. 
& ef. 1-20-84; ME 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-21-85; ME 13-1989, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-89; 
ME 8-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 9-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 6-1993, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 10-1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96; ME 5-1997, f. & cert. 
ef. 11-3-97; BME 14-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 15-2003, f. & cert. ef. 
10-23-03; BME 10-2007, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-07 

847-070-0039 
Registration 

(1) Upon Board approval of an applicant to be licensed to prac-
tice acupuncture, the applicant must pay the registration fee before 
being issued a certificate. 

(2) An application for renewal of the biennial registration and 
the statutory registration fee shall be submitted to the Oregon Med-
ical Board prior to midnight June 30 of every even-numbered year.  

(3) Upon failure to comply with section (1) and (2) of this rule, 
the license shall lapse as per ORS 677.228.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.228 & 677.265 
Hist.: ME 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; ME 
10-1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96 

847-070-0045 
Inactive Registration and Re-Entry to Practice 

(1) Any acupuncturist licensed in this state who changes loca-
tion to some other state or country shall be listed by the Board as 
inactive. 

(2) If the acupuncturist wishes to resume active status, the 
acupuncturist must file an Affidavit of Reactivation and pay a pro-
cessing fee, satisfactorily complete the reactivation process and be 
approved by the Board before beginning active practice in Oregon.  

(3) The Board may deny active registration if it judges the con-
duct of the acupuncturist during the period of inactive registration 
to be such that the acupuncturist would have been denied a license 
if applying for an initial license.  

(4) If an acupuncturist applicant has ceased practice for a peri-
od of 24 or more consecutive months immediately preceding the 
application for licensure or reactivation, the applicant may be 
required to do one or more of the following:  

(a) Obtain certification or re-certification in Acupuncture or Ori-
ental Medicine by the National Certification Commission for 
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM);  

(b) Provide documentation of current NCCAOM Acupuncture 
or Oriental Medicine certification;  
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(c) Complete 15 hours of continuing education acceptable to the 
Board for every year the applicant has ceased practice;  

(d) Complete a mentorship of at least 20 hours under a Board-
approved mentor who must individually supervise the licensee. The 
mentor must report the successful completion of the mentorship to 
the Board.  

(5) The acupuncturist applicant who has ceased practice for a 
period of five or more consecutive years may be required to complete 
a re-entry plan to the satisfaction of the Board. The re-entry plan must 
be reviewed and approved through a Consent Agreement prior to the 
applicant beginning the re-entry plan. Depending on the amount of 
time out of practice, the re-entry plan may contain one or more of 
the requirements listed in section (4) of this rule and such addition-
al requirements as determined appropriate by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.759 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.175 & 677.759 
Hist.: ME 24-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87; ME 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 10-
1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96; BME 16-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-99; BME 12-
2005, f. & cert. ef. 10-12-05; BME 5-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; OMB 8-2012, 
f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 11-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-14; OMB 3-2015, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-13-15 

847-070-0050 
Acupuncture Advisory Committee 

(1) An Acupuncture Advisory Committee is established. The 
committee must consist of six members appointed by the Board. The 
Board must appoint one of its members, two physicians, and three 
acupuncturists licensed by the Board. The acupuncture members may 
be appointed from nominations of the Oregon Association of 
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine and other professional acupunc-
ture organizations. 

(2) The term of office of a member of the committee is three 
years, and members may be reappointed to serve not more than two 
terms. Vacancies in the committee must be filled by appointment by 
the Board for the balance of the unexpired term, and each member 
must serve until a successor is appointed and qualified. 

(3) The Board may remove any member from the committee. 
(4) The committee elects its own chairperson with such pow-

ers and duties as fixed by the committee. 
(5) The committee members are entitled to compensation and 

expenses as provided for Board members in ORS 677.235. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.759 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.235, 677.265, 677.759 & 677.780 
Hist.: ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-3-95; ME 10-1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96; BME 
15-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-98; BME 14-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 19-
2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; OMB 16-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11; OMB 18-2013, 
f. & cert. ef. 7-12-13 

847-070-0055 
Duties of the Committee 

The Acupuncture Advisory Committee shall:  
(1) Review and recommend approval or disapproval of all appli-

cations submitted to the Board for acupuncture licensing and for 
renewal thereof.  

(2) Recommend to the Board standards of professional respon-
sibility and practice for licensed acupuncturists.  

(3) Recommend to the Board standards of didactic and clinical 
education and training for acupuncture licensing.  

(4) Recommend to the Board standards for clinical supervisors 
and trainees.  

(5) Recommend to the Board licensing examinations, and tem-
porary licenses as considered appropriate.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.757 - 677.770 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 
Hist.: ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-3-95; BME 14-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01 

DIVISION 80 

PODIATRIC MEDICINE 

847-080-0001 
Definitions 

(1) “Ankle” means the tibial plafond and its posterolateral bor-
der or posterior malleolus, the medial malleolus, the distal fibula or 
lateral malleolus, and the talus. 

(2) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board of the State of 
Oregon. 

(3) “Podiatric physician and surgeon” means a podiatric physi-
cian and surgeon whose practice is limited to treating ailments of the 
human foot, ankle, and tendons directly attached to and governing 
the function of the foot and ankle. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.805 
Hist.: ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; BME 11-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 
8-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 22-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07 

847-080-0002 
Application for Licensure 

(1) When applying for licensure the applicant must submit to 
the Board the completed application, fees, documents and letters. 

(2) A person applying for licensure under these rules who has 
not completed the licensure process within a 12 month consecutive 
period must file a new application, documents, letters and pay a full 
filing fee as if filing for the first time. 

(3) The applicant may be required to appear before the Board 
for a personal interview regarding information received during the 
processing of the application. Unless excused in advance, failure to 
appear before the Board for a personal interview violates ORS 
677.190(17) and may subject the applicant to disciplinary action. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.190, 677.265, 677.810 & 677.840 
Hist.: ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 8-
2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; OMB 20-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-13; OMB 9-2014, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-14-14 

847-080-0010 
Requirements for Licensure 

The applicant for licensure must have: 
(1) Graduated from a school or college of podiatric medicine 

accredited by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CPME) 
of the American Podiatric Medical Association. 

(2) Successfully passed a licensing examination as provided in 
OAR 847-080-0018.  

(3) Fulfilled one of the following: 
(a) Satisfactory completion of one year of post-graduate train-

ing served in a hospital that is approved by the CPME, or  
(b) Satisfactory completion of one year of post-graduate train-

ing in a hospital residency program that was not approved by the 
CPME and current certification by the American Board of Podiatric 
Medicine or the American Board of Podiatric Surgery. 

(4) Satisfactorily met the requirements of ORS 677.820 and 
677.825. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.820, 677.825 & 677.830 
Hist.: ME 4-1982, f. & ef. 4-23-82; ME 7-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; Suspended by 
ME 3-1983(Temp), f. & ef. 10-3-83 to 10-7-83; Suspended by ME 2-1984(Temp), 
f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 11-1985, f. & ef. 8-6-85; ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 
8-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-94; BME 16-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 13-2005, 
f. & cert. ef. 10-12-05; BME 18-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; BME 12-2008, f. & 
cert. ef. 4-24-08; BME 27-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; OMB 20-2013, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-12-13 

847-080-0013 
Documents to Be Submitted for Licensure 

The documents submitted must be legible and no larger than 8 
1/2” x 11”. All documents and photographs will be retained by the 
Board as a permanent part of the application file. If original docu-
ments are larger than 8 1/2” x 11”, the copies must be reduced to the 
correct size with all wording and signatures clearly shown. Official 
translations are required for documents issued in a foreign language. 
The following documents are required: 
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(1) Application: Completed formal application provided by the 
Board. Required dates must include month, day and year. 

(2) Birth Certificate: A copy of birth certificate. 
(3) Doctor of Podiatric Medicine Diploma: A copy of a diplo-

ma showing graduation from a school of podiatry. 
(4) Photograph: A close-up, passport quality photograph, front 

view, head and shoulders (not profile), with features distinct, taken 
within 90 days preceding the filing of the application. 

(5) The results of a Practitioner Self-Query from the National 
Practitioner Data Bank sent directly to the Board by the applicant. 

(6) Legible fingerprints as described in 847-008-0068 for the 
purpose of a criminal records background check. 

(7) An applicant must pass an open-book examination on the 
Medical Practice Act (ORS Chapter 677) and an open-book exam-
ination on the Drug Enforcement Administration’s regulations gov-
erning the use of controlled substances. If an applicant fails one or 
both examinations three times, the applicant must attend an informal 
meeting with a Board member, a Board investigator or the Medical 
Director of the Board to discuss the applicant’s failure of the exam-
ination(s), before being given a fourth and final attempt to pass the 
examination(s). If the applicant does not pass the examination(s) on 
the fourth attempt, the applicant may be denied licensure.  

(8) Any other documentation or explanatory statements as 
required by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.820 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534, 677.820, 677.825 & 677.830 
Hist.: ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 17-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-87; BME 17-2007, 
f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07; OMB 20-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-13 

847-080-0016 
Application for Licensure by Military Spouse or Domestic 
Partner 

(1) “Military spouse or domestic partner” means a spouse or 
domestic partner of an active member of the Armed Forces of the 
United States who is the subject of a military transfer to Oregon. 

(2) To qualify for licensure under this rule, the military spouse 
or domestic partner must:  

(a) Meet the requirements for licensure as stated in OAR 847-
080-0010; 

(b) Be married to, or in a domestic partnership with, a member 
of the Armed Forces of the United States who is assigned to a duty 
station located in Oregon by official active duty military order;  

(c) Be licensed to practice podiatric medicine in another state 
or territory of the United States; 

(d) Be in good standing, with no restrictions or limitations upon, 
actions taken against, or investigation or disciplinary action pending 
against his or her license in any jurisdiction where the applicant is 
or has been licensed; and  

(e) Have at least one year of active practice or teaching of podi-
atric medicine during the three years immediately preceding the 
application.  

(3) If a military spouse or domestic partner applies for a license 
to practice podiatric medicine, the Board may accept: 

(a) A copy of the podiatric medical school diploma to fulfill the 
requirement for a Dean’s Letter of Recommendation and the Veri-
fication of Medical Education form; and 

(b) Verification of licensure in good standing from the juris-
diction of current or most recent practice of podiatric medicine to ful-
fill the requirement of verifications of licensure from all jurisdictions 
of prior and current health related licensure. 

(4) If a military spouse or domestic partner applies for a license 
to practice podiatric medicine, the Board will obtain the results of a 
query of the National Practitioner Data Bank on behalf of the appli-
cant. 

(5) In addition to the documents required in section (3) of this 
rule and in OAR 847-080-0013 and 847-080-0017, the military 
spouse or domestic partner must submit a copy of the: 

(a) Marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration with 
the name of the applicant and the name of the active duty member 
of the Armed Forces of the United States; and 

(b) Assignment to a duty station located in Oregon by official 
active duty military order for the spouse or domestic partner named 
in the marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 677.820 & HB 2037 (2013) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.820, 677.825, 677.830 & HB 2037 (2013) 
Hist.: OMB 21-2013(Temp), f. 8-2-13, cert. ef. 8-3-13 thru 1-30-14; OMB 35-
2013, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-13 

847-080-0017 
Letters and Official Verifications to be Submitted for 
Licensure 

The applicant must ensure that official documents are sent to the 
Board directly from: 

(1) The School of Podiatry: 
(a) The Verification of Medical Education form, which 

includes: degree issued, date of degree, dates of attendance, dates and 
reason of any leaves of absence or repeated years, and dates, name 
and location of school of podiatric medicine school if a transfer stu-
dent. 

(b) A Dean’s Letter of Recommendation, which includes a state-
ment concerning the applicant’s moral and ethical character and over-
all performance as a podiatric medical student. If the school attests 
that a Dean’s Letter is unavailable or the Board determines that it is 
unacceptable, a copy of the transcripts may be acceptable. 

(2) The Director of Podiatric Education, Chairman or other offi-
cial of the residency hospital in U.S.: A currently dated original let-
ter (a copy is not acceptable), sent directly from the hospitals in 
which any post-graduate training was served, which includes an eval-
uation of overall performance and specific beginning and ending 
dates of training. 

(3) The Director or other official for practice and employment 
in hospitals, clinics, etc., in the U.S. and foreign countries: A cur-
rently dated original letter (a copy is not acceptable), sent directly 
from the hospital/clinic, which includes an evaluation of overall per-
formance and specific beginning and ending dates of practice and 
employment. 

(4) All health licensing boards in any jurisdiction where the 
applicant has ever been licensed; regardless of status, i.e., current, 
lapsed, never practiced there: Verification, sent directly from the 
boards, must show license number, date issued and status. 

(5) Official Examination Certification: An official certification 
of examination scores for the American Podiatric Medical Licens-
ing Examination (APMLE) Parts I, II and III or the National Board 
of Podiatric Medical Examiners (NBPME) examination Parts I, II 
and III is required directly from the NBPME or the Federation of 
Podiatric Medical Boards. 

(6) Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards Disciplinary 
Report: A Disciplinary Report sent directly from the Federation of 
Podiatric Medical Boards to the Board. 

(7) Any other documentation as required by the Board, includ-
ing but not limited to medical records and criminal or civil records. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.820 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.820, 677.825 & 677.830 
Hist.: ME 4-1982, f. & ef. 4-23-82; ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 17-1987, 
f. & ef. 8-3-87; BME 20-2004, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-04; BME 19-2006, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-25-06; BME 17-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07; OMB 20-2013, f. & cert. ef. 
7-12-13 

847-080-0018 
Examination for Licensure 

The applicant must base an application upon the licensing 
examination administered by the National Board of Podiatric Med-
ical Examiners (NBPME). The licensing examination is limited to 
the American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination (APMLE) 
or the NBPME examination. No application will be accepted on the 
basis of reciprocity or written examination, other than an examina-
tion administered by the NBPME. 

(1) The applicant must pass Parts I, II and III of the licensing 
examination.  

(2) Part III of the licensing examination may be waived if the 
applicant graduated from a school or college of podiatric medicine 
before January 1, 2001; and 

(a) Is licensed as a podiatric physician in another state; or  
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(b) Is certified by the American Board of Podiatric Medicine 
(ABPM) or the American Board of Podiatric Surgery (ABPS).  

(3) The score achieved on each Part of the examination must 
equal or exceed the figure established by the NBPME as a passing 
score. 

(4) All three Parts of the licensing examination must be passed 
within a seven-year period which begins when the first Part, either 
Part I or Part II, is passed. An applicant who graduated from a school 
or college of podiatric medicine on or after January 1, 2001, and who 
has not passed all three Parts within the seven-year period may 
request a waiver of the seven-year requirement if he or she:  

(a) Has current certification by the ABPM or the ABPS; or  
(b) Suffered from a documented significant health condition 

which by its severity would necessarily cause a delay to the appli-
cant’s podiatric study; or  

(c) Experienced other extenuating circumstances that do not 
indicate an inability to safely practice podiatric medicine as deter-
mined by the Board.  

(5) The applicant who graduated from a school or college of 
podiatric medicine on or after January 1, 2001, must have passed Part 
III of the licensing examination within four attempts, whether for 
Oregon or for any other state. After the third failed attempt, the appli-
cant must have completed one additional year of postgraduate train-
ing in the United States prior to readmission to the examination. The 
Board must approve the additional year of training to determine 
whether the applicant is eligible for licensure. The applicant, after 
completion of the required year of training, must have passed Part 
III on their fourth and final attempt. An applicant who has passed Part 
III of the licensing examination, but not within the four attempts as 
required, may request a waiver of this requirement if he or she has 
current certification by the ABPM or the ABPS. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.825 & 677.830 
Hist.: ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 17-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-87; ME 23-
1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-20-89; ME 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 13-
1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-92; ME 8-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-94; ME 11-1996, f. 
& cert. ef. 10-29-96; BME 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-99; BME 4-1999, f. & cert. 
ef. 2-17-99; BME 10-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME 19-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-
25-06; BME 17-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07; BME 18-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 
7-23-07 thru 1-8-08; BME 22-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 12-2008, f. & 
cert. ef. 4-24-08; BME 27-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; OMB 26-2011, f. & cert. 
ef. 10-18-11; OMB 20-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-13 

847-080-0021 
Competency Examination and Re-Entry to Practice 

(1) The applicant who has not completed postgraduate training 
within the past 10 years or been certified or recertified with the 
ABPM or the ABPS within the past 10 years may be required to pass 
a competency examination in podiatry. The competency examination 
may be waived if the applicant can demonstrate ongoing participa-
tion in maintenance of certification with the ABPM or ABPS, or has 
completed at least 50 hours of Board-approved continuing education 
each year for the past three years. 

(2) The applicant who has ceased practice for a period of 12 or 
more consecutive months immediately preceding an application for 
licensure or reactivation may be required to pass a competency 
examination in podiatry. The competency examination may be 
waived if the applicant can demonstrate ongoing participation in 
maintenance of certification with the ABPM or ABPS, or subsequent 
to ceasing practice, the applicant has:  

(a) Passed the licensing examination administered by the 
NBPME, or  

(b) Been certified or recertified by the ABPM or ABPS, or  
(c) Completed a Board-approved one-year residency or clini-

cal fellowship, or  
(d) Obtained continuing medical education to the Board’s sat-

isfaction.  
(3) The applicant who has ceased the practice of medicine for 

a period of 24 or more consecutive months may be required to com-
plete a re-entry plan to the satisfaction of the Board. The re-entry plan 
must be reviewed and approved through a Consent Agreement prior 
to the applicant beginning the re-entry plan. Depending on the 

amount of time out of practice, the applicant may be required to do 
one or more of the following:  

(a) Pass the licensing examination;  
(b) Practice for a specified period of time under a mentor/super-

vising podiatric physician who will provide periodic reports to the 
Board;  

(c) Obtain certification or re-certification, or participate in main-
tenance of certification, with the ABPM or the ABPS;  

(d) Complete a re-entry program as determined appropriate by 
the Board;  

(e) Complete one year of an accredited postgraduate or clinical 
fellowship training, which must be pre-approved by the Board’s 
Medical Director;  

(f) Complete at least 50 hours of Board-approved continuing 
medical education each year for the past three years.  

(4) Licensure shall not be granted until all requirements of OAR 
chapter 847, division 80, are completed satisfactorily. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.825 & 677.830 
Hist.: OMB 20-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-13; OMB 11-2014, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-14; 
OMB 13-2014, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-14 

847-080-0022 
Qualifications to Perform Ankle Surgery 

Ankle surgery must be conducted in a certified hospital or in an 
ambulatory surgical center certified by the Health Division. To be eli-
gible to perform ankle surgery in the state of Oregon, the licensed 
podiatrist shall meet the qualifications from one of the following sec-
tions prior to being approved by the Board to perform ankle surgery: 

(1) Completion of a Council on Podiatric Medical Education 
(CPME) approved surgical residency; board certification by the 
American Board of Podiatric Surgery (ABPS) in Foot and Ankle 
Surgery; documented clinical experience as approved by the Board; 
and current clinical privileges to perform reconstructive/rearfoot 
ankle surgery in a Joint Commission approved hospital; or 

(2) Completion of a CPME approved surgical residency; and 
board qualified by the ABPS in Reconstructive Rearfoot/Ankle 
Surgery progressing to board certification in Reconstructive Rear-
foot/Ankle Surgery within seven years. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.245 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.812 
Hist.: BM 11-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 7-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; 
OMB 20-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-13 

847-080-0028 
License Application Withdrawals 

(1) The Board will consider a request by an applicant to with-
draw his/her application for licensure in the State of Oregon under 
the following circumstances: 

(a) The applicant is eligible for licensure; and 
(b) The file contains no evidence of violation of any provision 

of ORS 677.010–677.855. 
(2) An applicant may request to withdraw his/her application for 

licensure in the State of Oregon, and the withdrawal will be report-
ed to the Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards under the follow-
ing circumstances: 

(a) The applicant is eligible for licensure; and 
(b) The file contains evidence that the applicant may have vio-

lated any provision of ORS 677.010–677.855, but the Board has 
decided that there is an insufficient basis to proceed to formal dis-
cipline, or a licensing body in another state has imposed formal dis-
cipline or entered into a consent agreement for the same conduct, and 
that action has been reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190, 677.265 & 677.820 
Hist.: OMB 20-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-13 

847-080-0030 
Denial of License 

No applicant is entitled to a podiatry license who: 
(1) Has failed an examination for licensure in the State of  

Oregon; 
(2) Has had a license revoked or suspended in this or any other 

state or country unless the said license has been restored or reinstated 
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and the applicant’s license is in good standing in the state or coun-
try which had revoked the same; 

(3) Has been refused a license or certificate in any other state 
or country on any grounds other than failure in a podiatric licensure 
examination; 

(4) Has been guilty of conduct similar to that which would be 
prohibited by or to which ORS 677.190 would apply; or 

(5) Has been guilty of cheating or subverting the podiatric 
licensing examination process. Podiatric licensing examination 
means any examination given by the Board, other states, or nation-
al testing organization, to an applicant for registration, certification 
or licensure under this act. Evidence of cheating or subverting 
includes, but is not limited to: 

(a) Copying answers from another examinee or permitting one’s 
answers to be copied by another examinee during the examination; 

(b) Having in one’s possession during the examination any 
books, notes, written or printed materials or data of any kind, other 
than examination materials distributed by Board staff, which could 
facilitate the applicant in completing the examination; 

(c) Communicating with any other examinee during the admin-
istration of the examination; 

(d) Removing from the examining room any examination mate-
rials; 

(e) Photographing or otherwise reproducing examination 
materials. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190 & 677.265 
Hist.: ME 4-1982, f. & ef. 4-23-82; ME 11-1985, f. & ef. 8-6-85; ME 6-1986, f. 
& ef. 4-23-86; OMB 20-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-12-13 

847-080-0035 
Approved Podiatry Colleges 

Podiatry colleges approved by the Board are only those 
approved by the American Podiatric Medical Association Council on 
Podiatry Education. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.820 
Hist.: ME 4-1982, f. & ef. 4-23-82; ME 11-1985, f. & ef. 8-6-85
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