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DIVISION 1 

RULES OF PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE 

856-001-0000 
Notice of Proposed Rule 

Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any rules, the 
Board shall give notice of the intended action:  

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS 
183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date of the intended 
action;  

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the Board’s 
mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(8) at least 28 
days before the effective date of the rule;  

(3) By mailing a copy of the notice to the legislators specified 
in ORS 183.335(15) at least 49 days before the effective date of the 
rule; and 

(4) By mailing or furnishing a copy of the notice to:  
(a) The Associated Press;  
(b) The following groups:  
(A) Columbia River Pilots  
(B) Columbia River Bar Pilots;  
(C) Yaquina Bay Pilots;  
(D) Coos Bay Pilots Association;  
(E) Columbia River Steamship Operators Association, Inc.;  
(F) Capitol Press Room. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.025, 183.335 & 776.135 
Hist.: PC 9, f. & ef. 11-12-76; PC 1-1982, f. & ef. 10-7-82; MP 2-1984, f. & ef. 
10-4-84; Renumbered from 856-020-0140; MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-88 ; 
MP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96; BMP 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-08 

856-001-0005 
Model Rules of Procedures 

The Model Rules of Procedure under the Administrative Pro-
cedures Act adopted by the Attorney General, effective January 1, 
2008 are hereby adopted as the rules of procedure for the Board of 
Maritime Pilots, except as specified under OAR chapter 856, 
division 030, Ratemaking Procedures.  

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure 
is available from the office of the Attorney General or Board of Maritime 
Pilots.] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341 
Hist.: MP 2-1984, f. & ef. 10-4-84; MP 1-1986, f. & ef. 10-6-86; MP 3-1988, f. 
& cert. ef. 11-9-88; MP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96; BMP 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 
8-29-02; BMP 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-08 

856-001-0010 
Organization 

(1) The Board of Maritime Pilots, created by ORS Chapter 
776, is responsible for licensing of pilots in the State of Oregon and 
setting of pilotage rates.  

(2) Information can be obtained from the Board’s office at 800 
N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 507, Portland, OR 97232, telephone 971-
673-1530 and fax 971-673-1531. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: MP 2-1984, f. & ef. 10-4-84; MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-88; MP 2-
1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92 

DIVISION 10 

GENERAL 

856-010-0003 
Definitions 

(1) “Barge” — A general term for a heavy, flat bottomed, 
often rectangular vessel used to carry cargo, usually in sheltered 
and inland waters but also, sometimes at sea; usually pushed or 
towed by tug. By U.S. Government definition, barges are any non-
self propelled vessels other than houseboats and dredges.  
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(2) “Loaded tanker” — A tanker whose mean draft equals or 
exceeds 80 percent of its maximum allowable draft, or whose mean 
draft exceeds 30 feet.  

(3) “Ocean-going vessel” — Any ship actively engaged in 
carrying cargo or passengers for hire in offshore navigation 
between ports.  

(4) “Pilot” — An individual licensed pursuant to ORS 
Chapter 776 and any individual who had notified the board that the 
individual is in a pilot trainee status.  

(5) “Pilotage” — The act or business of piloting. Also the fee 
paid for a pilot’s services.  

(6) “Piloting” — The act of assisting the master of a vessel in 
navigating the vessel while it is underway on a pilotage ground.  

(7) “Licensed physician” — Means an individual who holds a 
degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy and has a 
valid license issued by the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners or 
the Washington Medical Quality Assurance Commission.  

(8) “Ship” — A floating, decked vessel that is self-propelled 
and regularly carries cargo or passengers for hire or is engaged in 
military purposes in deep water oceanic navigation. Deep water 
oceanic navigation is navigation in seas beyond the territorial juris-
diction of the United States.  

(9) “Ship turn” — For purposes of OAR 856-010-0010(4), 
“ship turn” is defined as meaning turning a ship in the Willamette 
River from a generally upstream orientation to a generally down-
stream orientation, or from a generally downstream orientation to a 
generally upstream orientation, which may be made with or 
without the aid of a tug or towboat.  

(10) “Tank barge” — A barge with double bottoms designed 
to transport liquids.  

(11) “Tanker” — A vessel specially constructed for carriage of 
bulk liquids including, but not limited to, petroleum and its 
products, chemicals and liquified natural gas.  

(12) “Transit” — For purposes of OAR 856-010-0010(4) a 
“transit” is a complete trip over part of the Columbia and 
Willamette River pilotage ground, with one end of the trip at 
Astoria and the other end at Portland or Vancouver harbor. A transit 
also includes any combination of trip segments between ports or 
anchorages, which together begin at Astoria and end at Portland or 
Vancouver harbor, or begin at Portland or Vancouver and end at 
Astoria.  

(13) “Trip” — Any instance of travel by a vessel under the 
direction of a pilot as required by ORS 776.405 between two points 
on any of the pilotage grounds defined by 776.025(1) through (4).  

(14) “Tug”; “towboat”; “towing vessel” — A strongly built, 
high-powered vessel of small tonnage specially designed for 
towing or pushing vessels or for use in berthing large ships.  

(15) “Unlimited state-licensed pilot” — An individual who 
holds an Oregon license to pilot a vessel without any restriction or 
limitation.  

(16) “Upper harbor in Portland” — That portion of the 
pilotage ground defined by ORS 776.025(2) lying on the Willamette 
River between the St. Johns Bridge and the Ross Island Bridge.  

(17) “Vessel” — Includes every description of water craft, 
including nondisplacement craft, used or capable of being used as a 
means of transportation on water, except that, for the purposes of 
ORS 776.405(1)(a), and the board operations fee authorized by 
Oregon Laws 2013, Chapter 539, a barge is not a vessel.  

(18) “Working pilot” — An unlimited state-licensed pilot who 
regularly provides piloting services for compensation pursuant to 
the published tariff.  

(19) “Pilot apprentice trainee” — For purposes of OAR 856-
010-0014, an individual who does not meet the experience require-
ments of 856-010-0010(3) and (4), and who has been certified by 
the Board to enter the Apprentice Training Program.  

(20) “Pilot trainee” — For purposes of OAR 856-010-0014 
and 856-010-0018, an individual who meets the experience require-
ments of 856-010-0010(3) and (4)(a).  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776.115 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 775.405 & 2013 OL Ch. 539 
Hist.: MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92; MP 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-95; MP 
2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-96; BMP 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-08; BMP 3-

2013(Temp), f. 8-12-13, cert. ef. 8-15-13 thru 2-10-14; BMP 1-2014, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-23-14 

856-010-0005 
Meetings of the Board 

(1) The board shall meet on a regular monthly basis or as 
often as it is necessary to conduct the business of the board, but not 
less than once each year. Meetings shall be called by the chair or a 
majority of the board members and shall be held at such time and 
place as specified by the chair or a majority of the board members. 

(2) A special meeting of the board may be called by the chair 
or a majority of the board members upon 24 hours notice, in 
writing by letter or facsimile, or by telephone to the other members 
of the board.  

(3) A special meeting may be called whenever an accident of 
any importance such as stranding, collision, or the like, shall occur 
to any vessel, inward or outward bound, while in the charge of a 
pilot, for the purpose of making the necessary investigation into the 
cause of such accident. 

(4) In the absence of the administrator, the chair may appoint 
an administrator pro tem, with consent of a majority of the 
members present at each meeting.  

(5) Pilots, when notified in writing by letter or facsimile, shall 
report in person to the board at any meeting specified in the notice. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670 & 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: PC 1, f. 10-29-57, ef. 7-1-57; PC 7, f. 6-13-73, ef. 7-15-73; PC 1-1980, f. 
& ef. 2-27-80; MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92; MP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-
96 

856-010-0006 
Board Operations Fee 

(1) The Board operations fee authorized by Oregon Laws 
2013, Chapter 539, shall be $50 effective July 15, 2013. Thereafter, 
the fee shall be reviewed quarterly and adjusted as needed as pro-
vided in subsection (2) of this section, subject to the maximum 
allowed by ORS Chapter 776. 

(2) The amount of the Board operations fee shall be reviewed 
quarterly, at the first Board meeting following each September 30, 
December 31, March 31 and June 30. Based upon the Board’s 
review, the operations fee may be adjusted down or up, subject to 
the maximum fee amount allowed by Oregon Laws 2013, Chapter 
539 and subsection (3) of this section. In reviewing the fee and 
deciding whether to adjust it, the Board shall consider the total of 
fees remitted to the Board during the preceding quarter or quarters, 
the Board’s current and projected budgetary needs, the total of fees 
projected to be remitted to the Board during the following quarter 
or quarters, and any other factors deemed relevant by the Board. If 
the Board concludes that an adjustment to the fee is appropriate, it 
shall request approval for the recommended adjustment from the 
Oregon Department of Administrative Services, and if such 
approval is obtained, shall report the adjustment to the Legislature’s 
Emergency Board. 

(3) The maximum allowed amount for the Board operations 
fee shall be $100 until July 1, 2015. The maximum allowed amount 
shall be adjusted each biennium on July 1, beginning July 1, 2015. 
The change in the maximum allowed amount shall be proportional 
to the percentage change in the 24-month period prior to the begin-
ning of the biennium in the Portland-Salem, OR-WA, Consumer 
Price Index for All Urban Consumers for All Items, as published 
by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department 
of Labor. 

(4) The amount of the Board operations fee shall be published 
in the Oregon Pilotage Tariff for each pilotage ground under the 
paragraph heading “Board Operations Fee.”  

(5) Licensees of the Board shall invoice vessels for the Board 
operations fee when invoicing vessels for other authorized pilotage 
fees and charges. For vessels entering or leaving the Columbia 
River, Board licensees for the Columbia River Bar shall invoice 
and collect fees from inbound vessels, and licensees for the 
Columbia and Willamette River pilotage ground shall invoice and 
collect the fee from outbound vessels. For vessels entering or 
leaving the Yaquina Bay bar or Coos Bay bar pilotage grounds, the 
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Board operations fee shall be invoiced and collected by the 
licensees for such grounds from both inbound and outbound ves-
sels. 

(6) On or before the 10th day of each month, Board licensees 
shall remit to the Board the full amount of all Board operations fees 
collected from vessels during the preceding calendar month. At the 
time of remitting the collected fees to the Board, the remission 
shall be accompanied by a report of the number of vessels invoiced 
for the fee during the preceding month, the total amount of fees 
invoiced, the number of vessels from which the fee was collected 
during the preceding month, the total of Board operations fees col-
lected, and the amount that remains invoiced but uncollected. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: 2013 OL Ch. 539 
Hist.: BMP 3-2013(Temp), f. 8-12-13, cert. ef. 8-15-13 thru 2-10-14; BMP 1-
2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-14 

856-010-0007 
Fee For Copies 

(1) The board, through its administrator, will make copies of 
the board’s records and files available during the regular business 
hours of its office, as provided by ORS 192.410 to 192.505. 

(2) The fee for copies will be $.30 per page, plus postage 
when mailed. 

(3) The fee for copies of tapes will be $3.00 each, plus postage 
when mailed. Prepayment for items (2) and (3) may be required 
prior to mailing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192 & 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.410 - 192.440 
Hist.: MP 6-1983, f. & ef. 12-15-83; MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92; MP 1-
1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96 

856-010-0008 
Trainee and Apprentice Application Requirements 

(1) An applicant for selection as an apprentice pursuant to 
OAR 856-010-0014(1) through (5), or an applicant for selection as 
a trainee pursuant to 856-010-0014(12) through (14), 856-010-
0018, or 856-010-0026, shall provide the following when making 
application to the Board: 

(a) A photocopy of the applicant’s most recent U.S. Coast 
Guard physical examination report form, completed and signed by 
a physician licensed in the United States, verifying that the 
applicant meets the physical, medical and mental criteria required 
to qualify for the federal mariner’s license held by the applicant. 

(b) One of the following: 
(A) Proof the applicant has been a participant in maritime 

employer’s random drug testing program during the 90 days pre-
ceding the date of application; or 

(B) Negative results of a test performed within the preceding 
30 days for the presence in the applicant of cocaine, opiates, mari-
juana (THC or its metabolites), amphetamines and PCP (phencycli-
dine). Testing must be in accordance with the U.S. Coast Guard, 
Department of Homeland Security guidelines outlined in the Code 
of Federal Regulations. A positive drug test must be reported to the 
Board. 

(c) A report prepared by the applicant that identifies the fol-
lowing: 

(A) Any positive results within the preceding 60 months of 
any tests for the presence in the applicant of cocaine, opiates, mar-
ijuana (THC or its metabolites), amphetamines or PCP (phencycli-
dine). 

(B) Any conviction within the preceding 60 months for any 
alcohol-related motor vehicle infraction. 

(C) A description of any maritime incidents occurring while 
the applicant was master, operator or otherwise directing the move-
ment of a vessel, that resulted in either a disciplinary proceeding 
against the applicant’s federal license or a civil penalty proceeding 
by the U.S. Coast Guard, and the final disposition of any such pro-
ceedings. 

(2) During the selection process, and upon request by the 
Board, but before commencement of any training, applicants must 
again submit those items described in subsection (1)(a), (b)(B) and 
(c) of this section.” 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stas. Implemented: ORS 776.115 & 776.345 
Hist.: BMP 2-2009, f. 6-19-09, cert. ef. 6-23-09 

856-010-0009 
Training Organizations 

(1) Upon application made in writing by interested organiza-
tions of pilots, the Board shall license training organizations for 
each pilotage ground. Every organization of pilots licensed by the 
Board to provide training to apprentices or pilot trainees shall 
satisfy the requirements of ORS 776.311(1). 

(2) It shall be the obligation of each member of every organi-
zation of pilots licensed by the Board as a training organization to 
provide training and interact with apprentices and pilot trainees to a 
degree sufficient to teach skills and impart information and to eval-
uate performance as required by the Board. 

(3) The Board shall assign apprentices and pilot trainees for 
training purposes to the training organizations licensed for each 
ground. If more than one training organization is licensed for a 
pilotage ground, apprentices and pilot trainees for that ground shall 
be provided training by all such organizations. 

(4) Nothing in this rule requires or prohibits payment of com-
pensation by training organizations to apprentices or pilot trainees. 

(5) A training organization license issued by the Board shall 
be valid for one year from the date of issue. Application for 
renewal shall be made in writing not less than 60 days prior to 
expiration. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.311 
Hist.: MP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96 

856-010-0010 
Original Licensing Requirements 

In addition to the qualifications required for licensing of pilots 
under ORS 776, the applicant shall: 

(1) Present an application in writing to the administrator of the 
board on the form provided by the board for the pilotage ground for 
which the applicant intends to become licensed. The application 
shall be filed not less than 30 days prior to appearance before the 
board for a written examination and may be supplemented at any 
time until the examination is taken. The board shall consider the 
application and upon approval, the written examination will be 
scheduled. The examination shall be proctored by the board’s 
administrator. The examination for each pilotage ground shall be 
prepared by the board with the assistance of the board’s licensed 
training organization for that pilotage ground. The examination 
will test for skill and knowledge of those factors identified in ORS 
776.035(2) and 776.325(1)(b). The examination will be graded by 
the board member from the pilotage ground for which the applicant 
is seeking a license. If requested by the training course monitor, up 
to two additional pilots selected by the training course monitor and 
approved by the board may participate with the board member in 
grading the exam. The examination will be pass/fail. 

(2) Accompany the application with a photocopy of a U.S. 
Coast Guard physical examination report and signed by an Oregon 
or Washington licensed physician verifying that the applicant 
meets the physical, medical and mental criteria required to qualify 
for a federal pilot’s license. 

(a) If the examining physician determines that the applicant is 
not competent to perform the duties of a pilot, the applicant is not 
then medically eligible to receive a license from the board. 

(b) If the examining physician determines that the applicant is 
competent to perform the duties of a pilot, or if the examining 
physician determines that the applicant’s physical, medical or 
mental condition is in need of further review, then the applicant is 
then considered medically eligible to receive a license from the 
board, subject to any later review and conclusion by the U.S. Coast 
Guard that the applicant is not competent for continued federal 
licensure as a pilot 

(c) If the U.S. Coast Guard undertakes further medical review 
of an applicant’s physical, medical or mental competency, either 
upon recommendation by the examining physician or otherwise, 
then the applicant shall report to the board at least every 30 days 
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regarding the status of such further review. If, at the conclusion of 
such review process, the U.S. Coast Guard declines to approve the 
applicant for continued federal licensure as a pilot, the applicant 
shall immediately notify the board and the board will treat the deci-
sion as a suspension of the applicant’s federal license. Any license 
issued by the board shall be automatically suspended as of the date 
the board receives notice of the U.S. Coast Guard’s decision, 
notwithstanding any appeal that may be taken from such decision. 
If the Coast Guard concludes its review by issuing a waiver to the 
applicant, the terms of the waiver shall be immediately reported to 
the board, and the license issued by the board shall become subject 
to the terms of the waiver issued by the Coast Guard. 

(3) Have actual experience as a pilot handling ships over the 
pilotage ground for which a state license is sought and state in the 
application the names of ships piloted, dates, draft, gross tonnage, 
and length over all, as specified in (but not limited to) (4), (5), (6) 
and/or (7) in this section, and: 

(a) Hold a valid license as Master endorsed for Radar 
Observer issued by the U.S. Coast Guard; 

(b) Hold an unlimited federal pilot’s endorsement for the 
ground for which a state license is sought; and 

(c) Have served at least two years as Master aboard vessels, or 
when applying for a license over the Columbia and Willamette 
River pilotage ground, have completed a program of apprenticeship 
training which has been approved by the Board. 

(4) In addition to the requirements in OAR 856-010-0010(1), 
(2), (3), to qualify for a Grade “C” license over the Columbia and 
Willamette River pilotage ground, the applicant shall, prior to 
taking the board’s examination required under section (1) above: 

(a) Have served at least 730 active working days as captain of 
towing vessels on the Columbia River and its tributaries, or have 
completed a program of apprenticeship training which has been 
approved by the Board, as specified in OAR 856-010-0014; 

(b) Complete at least six trips under the supervision of an 
unlimited state-licensed pilot while on the bridge of a ship of not 
less than 500 feet length over-all (L.O.A.) through the bridges in 
the upper harbor in Portland, up to and including the Broadway 
Bridge, which shall be made with and without the aid of a tug or 
towboat, including at least one trip in each direction. The training 
course monitor may defer satisfaction of the requirement for trips 
through the Broadway Bridge if insufficient training trip opportu-
nities through that bridge are available, provided that any license 
issued without fully satisfying this subsection will be restricted to 
below the Broadway Bridge until the requirements of this subsection 
are fully satisfied, and provided further than the holder of such a 
restricted license must complete the requirements at the earliest 
opportunity training trips through the Broadway Bridge are avail-
able; 

(c) Complete at least 110 transits while on the bridge of a ship 
of not less than 500 feet L.O.A. within the 270 days preceding the 
examination, with at least 70 of these transits made under the 
supervision of an unlimited state-licensed pilot and at least 80 of 
the transits completed within 150 days after the first transit is com-
pleted; 

(d) When combining trip segments to establish a transit, each 
trip segment may be used only once; 

(e) Complete at least six trips under the supervision of an 
unlimited state-licensed pilot within the 270 days preceding the 
examination while on the bridge of a ship of not less than 500 feet 
L.O.A. in a combination of the following directions, with at least 
three trips in each direction: 

(A) From the Willamette River, turning east (upstream) into 
the Columbia River; and 

(B) From the Columbia River upstream of the mouth of the 
Willamette River, turning south into the Willamette River. 

(f) Complete at least 10 trips in either direction between 
Astoria and Longview or Kalama under the supervision of an 
unlimited state-licensed pilot. 

(g) Complete at least 4 trips from dock to dock or anchor to 
dock while on ships not less than 500 feet L.O.A. while under the 

supervision of an unlimited state-licensed pilot, with each such trip 
requiring a 180 degree turn before docking. 

(h) Train at least 25 additional days as directed by the training 
course monitor, with assignments chosen at the discretion of the 
training course monitor that may include, but need not be limited 
to, shipboard training, electronic navigation training, manned 
model training, attendance at meetings with maritime-related gov-
ernmental agencies or exposure to maritime related administrative 
activities. 

(i) Present recommendations from the training course monitor 
and from at least ten unlimited state-licensed pilots who participated 
in the training, certifying that the applicant has demonstrated suffi-
cient knowledge and shiphandling skills to pilot ocean-going ships 
up to 600 feet L.O.A. on the pilotage ground. 

(5) When applying for a license on the Coos Bay bar pilotage 
ground, the applicant shall: 

(a) Hold a valid license as Master endorsed for Radar 
Observer issued by the U.S. Coast Guard and shall have served at 
least two years as Master aboard vessels; 

(b) Obtain an unlimited federal pilot’s endorsement for the 
Coos Bay bar pilotage ground; 

(c) Complete at least one hundred (100) crossings of the Coos 
Bay bar while under the supervision of an unlimited state-licensed 
Coos Bay bar pilot, with at least ten crossings with each unlimited 
state-licensed Coos Bay bar pilot and with at least 25 of the bar 
crossings completed during hours of darkness; 

(d) Dock and undock at least 25 ships under the supervision of 
an unlimited state-licensed pilot; 

(e) Make at least 25 trips through each of the bridges; and 
(f) Submit letters from each of the Coos Bay bar pilots who 

have supervised the training of the applicant, certifying that the 
applicant has demonstrated local knowledge of the pilotage ground 
and shiphandling skills sufficient to pilot ocean-going ships on the 
pilotage ground. 

(6) When applying for a license on the Yaquina Bay bar 
pilotage ground the applicant shall: 

(a) Hold a valid license as Master endorsed for Radar 
Observer issued by the U.S. Coast Guard and shall have served at 
least two years as Master aboard vessels; 

(b) Obtain an unlimited federal pilot’s endorsement for the 
Yaquina Bay bar pilotage ground; 

(c) Complete at least one hundred (100) crossings of the 
Yaquina Bay bar while under the supervision of an unlimited state-
licensed Yaquina Bay bar pilot, or after completing two years of 
piloting with a state license in Coos Bay, the number of bar 
crossings at Yaquina Bay may be reduced to 12, with at least one 
such crossing with each unlimited state-licensed Yaquina Bay bar 
pilot and with at least twenty-five percent (25%) of the bar 
crossings completed during the hours of darkness; 

(d) Dock and undock at least 25 ships under the supervision of 
an unlimited state-licensed Yaquina Bay bar pilot, or after 
completing two years of piloting with a state license in Coos Bay, 
the number of dockings and undockings may be reduced to 12; 

(e) Make at least twenty-five (25) trips through the bridge, or 
after completing two years of piloting with a state license in Coos 
Bay, the number of trips may be reduced to 12; and 

(f) Submit letters from each of the Yaquina Bay bar pilots who 
have supervised training of the applicant, certifying that the 
applicant has demonstrated local knowledge of the pilotage ground 
and shiphandling skills sufficient to pilot ocean-going ships on the 
pilotage ground. 

(7) When applying for an original license on the Columbia 
River bar pilotage ground the applicant shall: 

(a) Hold a valid license issued by the U.S. Coast Guard as 
“Unlimited Master any oceans — any tonnage”, endorsed for 
Radar Observer; 

(b) Have served at least two years as Master of an offshore 
merchant ship of 5,000 gross tons or more, certified by Certificates 
of Discharge or Continuous Discharge Book; 

(c) Obtain a federal pilot’s endorsement for the Columbia 
River bar pilotage ground, after which a minimum of one hundred 



(100) crossings of the Columbia River bar shall be made under the 
supervision of an unlimited state-licensed pilot, and make crossings 
with at least five unlimited state-licensed Columbia River bar 
pilots; 

(d) Be on board a minimum of ten ships docking or undocking 
from the Astoria Port Docks, Tongue Point, and other facilities; 

(e) Make approximately twenty-five percent (25%) of the 
crossings of the Columbia River bar during the hours of darkness. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776, 670 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 & 670.310 
Hist.: PC 1, f. 10-29-57, ef. 7-1-57; PC 7, f. 6-13-73, ef. 7-15-73; MP 2-1984, f. 
& ef. 10-4-84; MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-88; MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-
92; MP 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-95; MP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96; BMP 2-
1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-24-99; BMP 3-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BMP 1-2003, 
f. & cert. ef. 2-26-03; BMP 3-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06; BMP 1-2007, 
f. 1-25-07, cert. ef. 1-26-07; BMP 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-07; BMP 4-2008, 
f. & cert. ef. 1-24-08; BMP 2-2009, f. 6-19-09, cert. ef. 6-23-09; BMP 4-2009, 
f. & cert. ef. 8-5-09; BMP 4-2011, f. 6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11; BMP 5-2011, f. 
6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11; BMP 2-2014(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-23-14 thru 11-19-
14; BMP 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-14 

856-010-0011 
Restrictions on Licenses 

After receiving an original license the following restrictions 
shall apply: 

(1) Columbia and Willamette River Grade “C” and Grade “B” 
license holders shall not pilot vessels with a draft of 38 feet or 
greater. Columbia and Willamette River Grade “A” license holders 
shall not pilot vessels with a draft of 40 feet or greater. Columbia 
and Willamette River Grade “C”, “B” and “A” license holders shall 
not pilot tankers.  

(2) Columbia and Willamette River license holders shall not 
pilot any vessel through or above the Broadway Bridge in the 
upper harbor of Portland until the licensee has completed the 
requirements of OAR 856-010-0010(4)(b) for the Broadway 
Bridge.  

(3) Except for Columbia River bar pilots who have a minimum 
of two years’ experience on tankers as Master or pilot, no 
Columbia River bar pilot shall pilot a loaded tanker during the first 
two years as a licensee. 

(4) Coos Bay bar pilots shall not move any ship exceeding 
40,000 gross tons, or exceeding 700 feet in length, or exceeding 
106 feet of beam, or any ship exceeding 300 feet in length with the 
wheelhouse forward of amidships, during the first two years as a 
licensee. 

(5) Coos Bay bar pilots shall not move loaded tankers during 
the first two years as a licensee, nor shall Coos Bay bar pilots move 
any ship exceeding 23,000 gross tons through the bridges during 
the first two years as a licensee. 

(6) Yaquina Bay bar pilots shall not move any ship exceeding 
23,000 gross tons, or any ship exceeding 300 feet in length with the 
wheelhouse forward of amidships, during the first two years as a 
licensee. 

(7) Yaquina Bay bar pilots shall not move loaded tankers 
during the first two years as a licensee. 

(8) The Board may, upon application by the licensee, recognize 
any combination of master’s tanker and pilot’s experience to equal 
any time period required by this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670 & 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 & 670.310 
Hist.: MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92; MP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96; BMP 
1-2007, f. 1-25-07, cert. ef. 1-26-07; BMP 4-2011, f. 6-28-11. cert. ef. 6-29-11; 
BMP 2-2014(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-23-14 thru 11-19-14; BMP 4-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 11-26-14 

856-010-0012 
Degrees of Licenses for the Columbia and Willamette River 
Pilotage Ground 

(1) Grade “C” License: The initial license issued by the Board 
to a pilot for the Columbia and Willamette River pilotage ground 
shall only authorize the pilot to pilot vessels under 600 feet length 
over-all (L.O.A.). 

(2) To obtain a Grade “B” License while holding a Grade “C” 
License: In order to obtain authority from the Board to pilot vessels 

from and including 600 feet L.O.A. up to 700 feet L.O.A. on the 
Columbia and Willamette River pilotage ground, an applicant must 
meet the following requirements: 

(a) Complete at least 180 days service on the pilotage ground 
while holding a Grade “C” license; 

(b) Complete at least 30 transits on the pilotage ground 
piloting ships of between 300 and 600 feet L.O.A.; 

(c) Complete at least 25 transits on ships 600 feet L.O.A. or 
greater under the supervision of a minimum of ten different pilots, 
at least six of whom have held unlimited state licenses for at least 5 
years; 

(d) Complete at least 5 trips in either direction between 
Astoria and either Longview or Kalama on ships 600 feet L.O.A. 
or greater under the supervision of an unlimited state-licensed 
pilot; 

(e) Make at least 6 trips under the supervision of unlimited 
state-licensed pilots while on the bridge of ships not less than 500 
feet L.O.A., with at least 3 trips in each of the following directions: 

(A) From the Willamette River, turning east (upstream) into 
the Columbia River; and 

(B) From the Columbia River upstream of the mouth of the 
Willamette River, turning south (upstream) into the Willamette 
River; 

(f) Complete at least 2 trips from dock to dock or anchor to 
dock while on ships not less than 600 feet L.O.A. while under the 
supervision of an unlimited state-licensed pilot, with each such trip 
requiring a 180 degree turn before docking; 

(g) Present recommendations from the training course monitor 
and from at least ten pilots holding unlimited state licenses who 
participated in the training, certifying that the applicant has 
sufficient knowledge and shiphandling skills to pilot vessels from 
and including 600 feet L.O.A. up to 700 feet L.O.A.; and 

(h) The requirements specified in subsections (b), (c), (d), (e), 
and (f) of this section must have been met during the 180 days pre-
ceding application for authority to pilot vessels from and including 
600 feet L.O.A. up to 700 feet L.O.A.; and 

(i) When the foregoing requirements are met, the Board shall 
issue a license to the applicant authorizing the applicant to pilot 
vessels which are less than 700 feet L.O.A., except that the 
applicant shall not pilot tankers, or vessels with a draft of 38 feet or 
greater, on the pilotage ground. 

(3) To obtain a Grade “A” License while holding a Grade “B” 
License: In order to obtain authority from the Board to pilot vessels 
from and including 700 feet L.O.A. up to 800 feet L.O.A. on the 
Columbia and Willamette River pilotage ground, an applicant must 
meet the following requirements: 

(a) Complete at least 270 days service on the pilotage ground 
while holding a Grade “B” license; 

(b) Complete at least 40 transits piloting ships of between 300 
and 700 feet L.O.A. as a state-licensed pilot; 

(c) Complete at least 20 transits on ships 700 feet L.O.A. or 
greater while under the supervision of at least ten unlimited state-
licensed pilots; 

(d) Complete 2 trips from dock to dock or from an anchorage 
to a dock under the supervision of unlimited state-licensed pilots 
while on ships 700 feet L.O.A. or greater, with each trip including 
a 180 degree turn before docking; 

(e) Make at least 4 trips under the supervision of unlimited 
state-licensed pilots within the 270 days preceding the application 
while on the bridge of a ship 700 feet L.O.A. or greater, with trips 
in each of the following directions: 

(A) At least 3 trips from the Willamette River, turning east 
(upstream) into the Columbia River; and 

(B) At least 1 trip from the Columbia River upstream of the 
mouth of the Willamette River, turning south (upstream) into the 
Willamette River; 

(f) Train at least 5 additional days as directed by the training 
course monitor, with assignments chosen at the discretion of the 
training course monitor; 

(g) Present recommendations from the training course monitor 
and from at least ten unlimited pilots who participated in the 
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training, certifying that the applicant has sufficient knowledge and 
shiphandling skills to pilot vessels from and including 700 feet 
L.O.A. up to 800 feet L.O.A. on the pilotage ground; 

(h) The requirements specified in subsections (b), (c), (d), (e) 
and (f) of this section must have been met during the 270 days pre-
ceding application for authority to pilot vessels from and including 
700 feet L.O.A. up to 800 feet L.O.A.; and 

(i) When the foregoing requirements are met, the Board shall 
issue a license to the applicant authorizing the applicant to pilot 
vessels which are less than 800 feet L.O.A. on the pilotage ground, 
except that the applicant shall not pilot tankers, or vessels with a 
draft of 40 feet or greater. 

(4) To obtain an Unlimited License while holding a Grade 
“A” License: In order to obtain authority from the Board to pilot 
vessels on the Columbia and Willamette River pilotage ground 
without any limitation on the length and draft of the vessels, 
including tankers and vessels with a draft of 40 feet or greater, an 
applicant must meet the following requirements: 

(a) Complete at least 180 days service on the pilotage ground 
while holding a Grade “A” license; 

(b) Complete at least 30 transits on ships of between 300 and 
800 feet L.O.A. during the 180 days preceding application for an 
unlimited license; 

(c) Train at least 10 additional days as directed by the training 
course monitor, with assignments chosen at the discretion of the 
training course monitor; 

(d) While holding a Grade “B” or Grade “A” license, 
complete at least ten transits on ships greater than 800 feet L.O.A. 
while under the supervision of ten different unlimited pilots. Five 
of these transits must be supervised by pilots with not less than five 
years’ experience as unlimited state-licensed pilots; 

(e) Present recommendations from the training course monitor 
and from at least ten unlimited pilots who participated in training, 
certifying that the applicant has sufficient knowledge and shiphan-
dling skills to pilot vessels 800 feet L.O.A. or greater on the 
pilotage ground; 

(f) While holding a Grade “B” or Grade “A” license, complete 
at least 12 transits on tankers (including at least nine transits on 
loaded tankers) while under the supervision of at least six different 
state-licensed pilots with not less than five years’ experience as 
unlimited state-licensed pilots; 

(g) Present recommendations from the training course monitor 
and from at least six pilots who participated in training on tankers, 
certifying that the applicant has sufficient knowledge and shiphan-
dling skills to pilot tankers on the pilotage ground and understands 
the risks and hazards peculiar to piloting tankers on the pilotage 
ground; 

(h) While holding a Grade “B” or a Grade “A” license, com-
plete at least twelve transits on ships with drafts of 40 feet or 
greater while under the supervision of at least six different state-
licensed pilots with not less than five years’ experience as unlimited 
state-licensed pilots; 

(i) Present recommendations from the training course monitor 
and from at least six unlimited pilots who participated in training 
on vessels with drafts 40 feet or greater, certifying that the 
applicant has sufficient knowledge and shiphandling skills to pilot 
vessels with drafts 40 feet or greater; 

(j) Provide proof of completion of a United States Coast 
Guard approved course in automatic radar plotting aids (ARPA). 

(k) Submit a license fee, which may be pro-rated, in order to 
synchronize the annual license renewal with the renewal of an 
unlimited license. 

(l) When the foregoing requirements are met, the Board shall 
issue an unlimited license to the applicant authorizing the applicant 
to pilot vessels of any length and draft, including tankers, on the 
pilotage ground. 

(5) Each grade of license will be valid for one year. No license 
except an unlimited license may be renewed. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776, 670 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115, 670.310 
Hist.: MP 2-1985, f. & ef. 6-7-85; MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-88; MP 1-1992, 
f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92; BMP 3-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BMP 1-2005, f. & 

cert. ef. 11-29-05; BMP 1-2007, f. 1-25-07, cert. ef. 1-26-07; BMP 4-2008, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-24-08; BMP 5-2011, f. 6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11; BMP 2-2014(Temp), 
f. & cert. ef. 5-23-14 thru 11-19-14; BMP 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-14; BMP 
2-2015, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-15 

856-010-0013 
Grounds for Denying Original License Application 

The Board may deny an application for a pilot’s license, if the 
Board finds, after notice and hearing, that:  

(1) The applicant fails to meet any one or all of the 
requirements of the physical examination as specified in OAR 856-
010-0010 and/or the physical health of the applicant is such that the 
applicant is not physically capable of competently exercising the 
license privilege and performing the work involved without 
creating an unreasonable risk of harm to the applicant or to the 
person or property of others.  

(2) The mental or emotional health of an applicant is such that 
the applicant is not competent to exercise the license privilege and 
is unable to perform the work involved without creating an unrea-
sonable risk of harm to the applicant or to the person or property of 
others.  

(3) The applicant has committed a criminal act, the facts and 
circumstances of which bear a demonstrable relationship to the 
exercise of the license privilege. Conviction of a crime is not 
required to deny an application under this provision.  

(4) The applicant uses or has used alcohol, drugs, or any other 
substance in such a manner as to impair the applicant’s physical or 
mental ability to exercise the license privilege without creating an 
unreasonable risk of harm to the applicant or the person or property 
of others.  

(5) The applicant has engaged in conduct involving dishonesty 
or misrepresentation, the facts and circumstances of which bear a 
demonstrable relationship to the exercise of the license privilege.  

(6) The applicant has failed to fulfill all the minimum require-
ments as stated in ORS Chapter 776 and OAR chapter 856.  

(7) The applicant has been charged with a drug or alcohol 
offense during the past five years, the facts and circumstances of 
which bear a demonstrable relationship to the exercise of the 
license privilege.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670 & 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 670.280, 670.310 & 776.115  
Hist.: MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-88; MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92; BMP 
3-2011, f. 6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11 

856-010-0014 
Pilot Trainee Selection and Apprentice Selection and Training 
Program 

(1) Application for a Certificate as a Pilot Apprentice for the 
Columbia and Willamette River pilotage ground shall be made on a 
form provided by the Board.  

(2) The Board of Maritime Pilots shall certify from among the 
eligible applicants the best qualified individual or individuals for 
apprenticeship. Selection shall be in accordance with selection cri-
teria procedures, based upon numerical ranking, promulgated by 
the Board of Maritime Pilots.  

(3) No more than two apprentices shall be in the apprenticeship 
program at any time. The Board shall accept new apprentices into 
training at intervals of two years or longer.  

(4) Numerical ranking of apprentice applicants shall be based 
upon a 100-point system, with points for each of the following cat-
egories:  

(a) Academic: Completion of a four-year course of study and 
receipt of a degree from an accredited maritime academy will be 
awarded 25 points.  

(b) Previous Maritime Experience: Applicants shall be awarded 
45 points based on federal licensure and a minimum of two years 
of actual experience as an officer in charge of a navigation watch 
while holding one or more of the following licenses:  

(A) Master of Towing Vessels (Inland Waterways); 
(B) Master of Towing Vessels (Ocean); 
(C) Master, Vessels Greater than 1,600 Tons; 
(D) Master, Vessels 1,600 Tons or Less; 
(E) Chief or Second Mate on Vessels Greater than 1,600 Tons  
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(c) Applicants with a First Class Pilot Endorsement for any 
U.S. inland waterway will be awarded 5points.  

(d) Interview: Every applicant shall be interviewed by the 
Board of Maritime Pilots. Each person interviewed shall be 
assigned from 0 to 25 points based upon objective scoring 
guidelines published by the Board of Maritime Pilots.  

(5) The apprentice candidate with the highest point total shall 
be awarded a Certificate of Apprenticeship by the Board and enter 
the apprentice training program. Said Certificate shall terminate 
upon satisfactory completion of the apprentice training program or 
upon the termination of the apprentice for cause or resignation.  

(6) Training and qualification of pilot apprentices are subject 
to the following provisions:  

(a) The term of apprenticeship for every apprentice shall be a 
minimum of three years.  

(b) The apprentice training and qualification program shall 
include the satisfactory completion of an Apprentice Training 
Course approved by the Board of Maritime Pilots. The apprentice 
training and qualification program shall consist of both the 
approved Apprentice Training Course and the term of apprentice 
training.  

(c) Satisfactory completion of the Apprentice Training Course, 
as approved by the Board of Maritime Pilots, requires that the 
apprentice must have satisfactorily completed the following training 
activities:  

(A) 500 vessel movements between Astoria and Portland or 
Vancouver under the supervision of state licensed pilots; and  

(B) 500 vessel movements under the supervision of state 
licensed pilots between any two points on the pilotage grounds 
selected by the Course Monitor based upon an evaluation of the 
apprentice’s skills and training needs. Assignments under this sub-
section may include, but are not necessarily limited to, transits 
between Astoria and Portland or Vancouver.  

(C) Up to 30 days of industry-related training that the Course 
Monitor, in his or her discretion, may assign based upon the Course 
Monitor’s evaluation of the apprentice’s skills and training needs. 
Each day of training assigned under this subsection shall be substi-
tuted for a vessel movement otherwise required under subsection 
(B) above.  

(d) In order to satisfactorily complete this training course, 
every apprentice must ride with a majority of the pilots, on every 
route, day and night, ebb and flood tides, and on every size 
category of vessel calling at the port. The curriculum of the 
approved course requires that apprentices learn to direct the move-
ment of vessels, apply the proper rules of the nautical road and 
other maritime procedures, and interface and coordinate with other 
affected vessels and facilities.  

(e) During each vessel movement to which the apprentice is 
assigned, the apprentice shall accompany the licensed pilot assigned 
to the vessel. The licensed pilot serves as the expert-master and 
interacts with the apprentice in observational and mastery learning 
process. The licensed pilot is obligated to interact with the 
apprentice to a degree sufficient to teach skills and impart informa-
tion and to assess the apprentice’s progress during periods of 
“hands on” piloting by the apprentice under supervision by the 
pilot.  

(f) The progress of every apprentice must be marked semi-
annually during his or her term of apprentice training by the pilots 
with whom he or she has received instruction in the areas of: proce-
dures, skillfulness, communications, and attitude.  

(g) Every apprentice must receive satisfactory evaluations 
from the majority of the pilots and the Training Course Monitor 
during each semiannual progress report period. The Course Monitor 
shall semiannually advise each apprentice regarding his or her 
progress and shall also advise the Board of Maritime Pilots.  

(h) Failure to make satisfactory progress during the Apprentice 
Training Course can result in the termination of the apprentice-
training program for any apprentice at any point in the program by 
the Board of Maritime Pilots.  

(i) The discovery that any apprentice fails to satisfy the 
physical requirements for federal licensure shall be just cause for 

the termination of any such apprentice, without regard to progress 
in the Apprentice Training Course.  

(j) Upon satisfactory completion of the approved Apprentice 
Training Course, the apprentice will be awarded a Certificate of 
Completion by the designated Course Monitor.  

(7) Satisfactory completion of the Apprentice Training Program 
requires that the apprentice obtain a federal First Class Pilot license 
for the grounds from Astoria to Portland and Vancouver. However, 
any federal licensure as a federal First Class Pilot obtained by any 
apprentice before the completion of the apprenticeship training and 
qualification program shall not terminate nor shorten the three-year 
minimum term of apprentice training.  

(8) No person shall represent himself or herself as an 
apprentice unless he or she has been approved and certified as an 
apprentice by the Board of Maritime Pilots. No pilot shall be 
required to train any uncertified person on board any vessel subject 
to the jurisdiction of the Board of Maritime Pilots. Any uncertified 
person posing as an apprentice aboard any vessel subject to the 
jurisdiction of the Board of Maritime Pilots shall be considered in 
violation of ORS 776.405.  

(9) Upon the successful completion of the minimum three 
year apprenticeship training and qualification program, including 
certification by the Course Monitor of satisfactory completion of 
the Apprentice Training Course, the pilots shall provide the Board 
of Maritime Pilots with the name and complete training record of 
every successful apprentice along with their recommendations 
regarding his or her prospective licensure by the Board.  

(10) Nothing shall prohibit the Board of Maritime Pilots from 
periodically reviewing the progress of any apprentice undergoing 
training, and reviewing the progress reports on every apprentice 
that have been submitted by the pilots.  

(11) Every person who successfully completes the Appren-
ticeship Training Course shall begin the regular pilot training pro-
gram for Class C, Class B, Class A and Unlimited licenses, upon 
the opening of a position by either the anticipated retirement or res-
ignation of a licensed pilot, or the Board-approved increase in the 
number of pilots.  

(12) If no person has successfully completed the Apprenticeship 
Training Course at the time a need for a pilot trainee arises, then 
the Board shall appoint a person who meets the requirements of 
OAR 856-010-0010(2) and (4)(a), and who has been selected by 
the Board from qualified applicants pursuant to procedures and cri-
teria set forth in subsections (13), (14), and (15) below.  

(13) Applicants for trainee positions under subsection (12) 
above must submit their applications to the Board of Maritime 
Pilots on forms provided by the Board. When the board determines 
that a need for a trainee pursuant to subsection (12) exists, it shall 
select from among the eligible applicants the best qualified for 
training. Selection shall be based upon numerical ranking according 
to the point system set forth in subsection (14) below.  

(14) Applicants for trainee positions under subsection (12) 
above shall be ranked based upon a point system, with points 
awarded for each of the following categories:  

(a) Academic: Graduation from high school or equivalent cer-
tification: 10 points. Two or more years at an accredited college or 
university: five points. Post-graduate or professional degree: five 
points. Completion of a four-year course of study at an accredited 
maritime academy: 15 points. Maximum total points under this 
section are 25.  

(b) Previous Maritime Experience and Licensure: First Class 
Pilot License from Tansey point, Oregon to Ryan Point, Washington 
on the Columbia River, and from Kelley Point, Oregon to the Ross 
Island Bridge on the Willamette River: 25 points. Federal pilotage 
endorsement on the Columbia River from Vancouver, Washington 
to Pasco, Washington: five points. Federal unlimited radar observer 
endorsement: five points. 1,460 or more active working days as 
master of towing vessels on the Columbia River and tributaries: 
five points. Additional certified training in each of the following 
categories: Bridge Resource Management, Emergency Medical 
Training, Hazardous Materials, Marine Firefighting, Oil Spill Con-
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trol: one point each, up to a maximum of five points. Maximum 
total points under this section are 45.  

(c) Interview: Every applicant with a combined point total of 
50 or more from points awarded under subsections (14)(a) and 
(14)(b), shall be interviewed by three or more members of the 
Board, provided at least one member is a public member, one 
member is a pilot member, and one member is a member engaged 
in the activities of a company that operates commercial ocean-
going vessels. Each person interviewed shall be assigned from 0 to 
35 points based on the interviewee’s poise and confidence, potential 
as an asset to the pilotage system, recommendations from within 
the maritime community, knowledge of trade and commerce on the 
Columbia River System, and such other factors as may be deemed 
relevant by the Board.  

(15) Trainees selected by the Board shall be free to join the 
organization of pilots of their choosing upon completion of their 
training. No trainee may join an organization of pilots until after 
training is complete, except that trainees may associate with an 
organization of pilots on a provisional, temporary basis that ends 
upon receipt of an unlimited state pilot’s license. Any such provi-
sional, temporary association between trainees and organizations 
of pilots shall not obligate the trainee to join any particular organi-
zation of pilots after training is complete. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776.115 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 & 776.300 
Hist.: MP 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-95; MP 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-16-95; BMP 
1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; BMP 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-99; BMP 1-2002, 
f. & cert. ef. 8-29-02; BMP 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-08; BMP 2-2010, f. & 
cert. 12-14-10 

856-010-0015 
Renewal of License 

(1) Application for renewal of license shall be made on a form 
provided by the board, signed by the applicant, accompanied by the 
physical examination form provided by the board and presented to 
the administrator of the board at least thirty (30) days prior to expi-
ration of license.  

(2) All state-licensed pilots shall be required to have an annual 
physical examination by an Oregon or Washington licensed physi-
cian within ninety (90) days prior to expiration of their license, the 
physical requirements for which are the same as for the original 
license as specified in OAR 856-010-0010(2), except for drug test-
ing.  

(3) All state-licensed pilots shall, within six months prior to 
the expiration of their license, submit to a test indicating licensee is 
free of illegal substance abuse. Testing will be for the presence of 
Cocaine, Opiates, Marijuana (THC), Amphetamines and PCP 
(phencyclidine). Testing will be in accordance with the Department 
of Transportation (Coast Guard) guidelines outlined in the Code of 
Federal Regulations 46, CFR § 16 (2009). Urine specimens are to 
be analyzed by a laboratory that meets DHHS regulations set forth 
by the National Institute of Drug Abuse (NIDA); or provide proof 
to the board that licensee is participating in a US Coast Guard 
approved random drug testing program;  

(4) All applicants for renewal of licenses shall submit a photo-
copy of their currently applicable United States government license 
with radar endorsement issued by the United States Coast Guard.  

(5) All applicants for renewal of unlimited licenses shall 
provide certification of meeting the continuing professional devel-
opment requirements specified in OAR 856-010-0027. Unless 
waived as provided below in this paragraph, failure to comply with 
all requirements for renewal of license shall constitute the failure to 
submit a complete application for renewal and will result in the 
withholding of the renewal license. A pilot who is unable to 
complete the requirements within the time allowed due to unex-
pected, emergency circumstances may request in writing a waiver 
and the Board may, upon good cause shown, permit a license 
renewal for one year without the requirements being met, provided 
that all required certifications must be made by the applicant at the 
time application for renewal is made the following year.  

(6) Each license issued is valid for one year and only the 
unlimited state license may be renewed.  

(7) Notwithstanding subsection (4) of this section, if a pilot 
has submitted an application for renewal of the pilot’s federal 
license at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of his federal 
license, but the United States Coast Guard has not completed its 
renewal process by the expiration date for the federal license and 
the pilot has, for that reason, no currently applicable federal license 
at the time of renewing his state license, then the board may issue a 
provisionally renewed state license. Any pilot to whom a provi-
sionally renewed state license is issued must report to the board 
every 30 days regarding the status of the pilot’s federal license 
renewal. If the United States Coast Guard completes its processing 
for the federal license but declines to renew the federal license, the 
board may treat the refusal to renew the federal license as a suspen-
sion or revocation of the federal license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776, 670 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115, 670.310 
Hist.: PC 1, f. 10-29-57, ef. 7-1-57; MP 2-1984, f. & ef. 10-4-84; MP 3-1988, f. 
& cert. ef. 11-9-88; MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92; MP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 
5-9-96; BMOP 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-6-00; BMP 4-2006, f. 9-28-06, cert. ef. 
10-6-06; BMP 1-2007, f. 1-25-07, cert. ef. 1-26-07; BMP 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 
1-24-08; BMP 1-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-10-09 thru 8-7-09; Administrative 
correction 8-21-09; BMP 5-2009, f. & cert. ef. 8-24-09; BMP 1-2010, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-27-10; BMP 1-2011, f. 6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11; BMP 7-2011, f. 12-29-
11, cert. ef. 12-30-11 

856-010-0016 
License Fees 

The annual license fee for pilots shall be $2,995.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 & 776.355 
Hist.: MP 1-1991(Temp), f. 6-19-91, cert. ef. 7-1-91; MP 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 
12-27-91; MP 3-1992(Temp), f. 6-26-92, cert. ef. 7-1-92; MP 4-1992, f. 11-13-
92, cert. ef. 12-28-92; BMP 3-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-26-07 thru 1-21-08; 
BMP 1-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-08; BMP 6-2009, f. & cert. ef. 8-24-09; BMP 6-
2011, f. 10-31-11, cert. ef. 11-1-11; BMP 2-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13; BMP 3-
2015, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-15 

856-010-0017 
Reduced License Fees 

Individuals licensed by this Board as pilots for Yaquina Bay 
bar pilotage ground, who anticipate less than full-time employment 
as pilots, may pay a reduced annual license fee of $50.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.355 
Hist.: MP 4-1983, f. & ef. 12-15-83; MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92 

856-010-0018 
Pilot Trainee Selection — Columbia River Bar Pilots 

(1) Individuals interested in qualifying as a candidate to train 
for licensure on the Columbia River Bar pilotage ground shall con-
tact the Board to receive forms and information describing the 
application, evaluation and selection processes. 

 (2) Candidates qualified to submit application for Columbia 
River Bar Pilot Trainee Selection shall first be required to success-
fully complete a physical agility work-test at a nationally recognized, 
independent, certified facility designated by the Board. Candidate 
participation in all further evaluation and selection processes is 
predicated on successful completion of the physical agility work-
test. 

(3) Successful completion of a simulator evaluation, adminis-
tered by a nationally recognized, independent, marine education 
and training facility designated by the Board. The evaluation is 
pass/fail. 

(4) Trainee selection shall be in accordance with selection cri-
teria and procedures, based upon numerical ranking, promulgated 
by the Board.  

(5) Numerical ranking shall be based upon a point system, 
with points for providing the following documentation:  

(a) Federal license as Master, any ocean, any gross tons 
(unlimited Master’s license) and two years’ seatime as Master of an 
ocean-going merchant ship of no less than 5000 gross tons — 25 
points 

(b) Signed certification of a 3-day familiarization visit to 
Astoria — 10 points 
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(6) Interview: Each applicant shall be offered the opportunity 

to participate in periodic interviews conducted by the Board. Each 

person interviewed shall be assigned from 0 to 25 points based 

upon the following guidelines: potential as an asset to the pilotage 

system; stress/environment; personal relations; experience; and 

other factors deemed relevant by the Board. Applicants who do not 

have the two years’ seatime required by (5)(a) may interview if 

they have one year seatime experience and demonstrate that they 

are currently employed in a capacity in which they are earning the 

required seatime experience. 

(7) At such times as vacancies may be forecast or occur within 

the register of pilots, the Board shall offer the highest ranked indi-

vidual or individuals the opportunity to be selected for training on 

the Columbia River Bar pursuant to OAR 856-010-0010(7). The 

individual selected for training must accept or decline the invitation 

to train within 30 days of notification. Failing to do so will cause 

their name to go to the bottom of the ranked applicants’ list. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 

Hist.: MP 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-95; BMP 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 8-29-02; 

BMP 2-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-08

856-010-0019 
Surety Bond or Deposit 

(1) Each pilot licensed by the Board or on file with the Board 
as an individual in pilot trainee status shall file with the Board a 
surety bond in the amount of $250 in the form provided in this rule 
and underwritten by a surety company authorized to do business in 
Oregon. 

(2) In lieu of the surety bond, a pilot may deposit $250 in cash 
or cashier’s check with the Board as surety of the pilot’s obligation 
under ORS Chapter 776. The Board shall deposit the funds 
according to the regulations of the state treasurer.  

(3) If a pilot fails to pay the sum of $250 into the court in 
which a suit or action alleging negligence by the pilot has been 
filed, as required by ORS Chapter 776, the Board shall upon 
demand make such payment from the funds on deposit, if the pilot 
has elected such deposit in lieu of presentation of a bond. 

(4) Failure to present a bond or maintain on deposit a sum of 
$250 as surety shall be grounds for revocation of a pilot’s license. 

(5) When a pilot surrenders his/her license to the Board, and if 
no suits or actions are pending against the pilot, the Board shall 
return the bond or the cash deposit upon receipt of the pilot’s 
written request. 

(6) Upon expiration of the pilot’s license and if no suits or 
actions are pending against the pilot, the Board shall return the 
bond or the cash deposit upon receipt of the pilot’s written request. 

(7) An acceptable form of a bond is hereby made a part of this 
rule as shown in Appendix 1. Copies of the bond may be obtained 
from the administrator of the Board. 

[ED. NOTE: Appendices referenced are available from the agency] 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.540 
Hist.: MP 1-1983(Temp), f. & ef. 10-5-83; MP 3-1983, f. & ef. 12-15-83; MP 1-
1984, f. & ef. 4-5-84; MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-88; MP 1-1996, f. & cert. 
ef. 5-9-96  

856-010-0020 
Incident Reports; Duties to Report 

(1) An incident defined as:  
(a) An accidental grounding;  
(b) An intentional grounding which creates a hazard to navi-

gation, the environment or to the safety of the vessel;  
(c) An unintended collision or allision with any object;  
(d) Loss of life related to the operation of the vessel;  
(e) Serious physical injury related to the operation of the 

vessel;  
(f) Any occurrence resulting in damage to the vessel or other 

property which may reasonably be expected to be in excess of 
$25,000, excluding the cost of salvage, cleaning, gas-freeing, dry-
docking or demurrage; or  

(g) Any boarding or unboarding occurrence which places the 
licensee in peril.  

(2) If any incident occurs on a vessel while a licensee or 
trainee is engaged in the provision of pilotage service for such 
vessel, the licensee or trainee providing such pilotage service shall 
file a written report of the incident with the Board. The report shall 
be filed by the close of business on the fifth calendar day following 
the incident or within five calendar days after the date upon which 
the licensee or trainee first became aware of the incident, whichever 
is later. The report shall be on a form provided by the Board. The 
report shall include, but not be limited to, the date, time and 
location of the incident, a detailed narrative description of the 
nature of the incident and, to the extent known by the licensee or 
trainee, the cause of the incident and the names and addresses of 
the witnesses to the incident. In the case of an incident involving 
loss of life or serious physical injury, the licensee shall immediately 
notify the Board of the incident.  

(3) Any licensee who has reasonable grounds to believe that 
an incident has occurred and that such incident has not been 
reported to the Board, shall contact the Board and determine 
whether a report of the incident has been filed with the Board. If a 
report of the incident has been filed with the Board, the licensee 
making the inquiry shall have no further reporting responsibility. If 

Chapter 856     Public Utility Commission, Board of Maritime Pilots

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation 

   2016 Edition                                                                                      25 - 123                                                                                         (11-15-15)



no report of the incident has been filed, the inquiring licensee shall 
make a written report to the Board regarding the suspected 
incident. This report, which may be in any reasonable form, shall 
include a brief statement containing such information about the 
suspected incident as is known to the reporting licensee. After 
filing this report, the reporting licensee shall have no further 
reporting responsibility.  

(4) Any person may file a complaint with the board regarding 
any suspected violation by Board licensees of the statutes and rules 
regarding pilotage.  

(5) Upon receipt of an incident report filed by an involved 
licensee or by another licensee or upon receipt of a complaint from 
any person, the board shall conduct an investigation. The Board, on 
its own initiative, may conduct an investigation involving any 
matter within its jurisdiction.  

(6) Upon receipt of an incident report from another licensee 
regarding a licensee of the board or upon receipt of a complaint 
regarding a licensee of the Board, the Board shall provide the 
involved licensee with a copy of the report or complaint. When the 
involved licensee receives from the Board a copy of an incident 
report filed by another licensee or a copy of a complaint filed with 
the Board, the involved licensee shall provide the Board with a 
written statement that includes, but is not limited to, a detailed nar-
rative explanation of the occurrence and a detailed response to the 
statements in the report. The written statement required by the 
involved licensee shall be filed with the Board at the close of busi-
ness on the fifth calendar day following receipt of the report from 
the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 & 776.118 
Hist.: PC 1, f. 10-29-57, ef. 7-1-57; MP 2-1984, f. & ef. 10-4-84; MP 1-1992, f. 
& cert. ef. 4-29-92; MP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-95; BMP 3-2008, f. & cert. 
ef. 1-24-08 

856-010-0021 
Miscellaneous Reporting Obligations 

(1) Any licensee or trainee who has a post-incident, random or 
reasonable cause drug or alcohol test with results confirmed 
positive by a medical review officer must report the results in 
writing to the Board within 72 hours after receiving such results. 

(2) Any licensee or trainee who is arrested or cited for any 
alcohol or drug-related offense must report the arrest or citation in 
writing to the Board within 72 hours. Additionally, any licensee or 
trainee arrested or cited for any alcohol or drug-related offense 
must, within 72 hours, report in writing to the Board the ultimate 
resolution of the arrest or citation, whether by conviction, diversion, 
dismissal, acquittal or otherwise. 

(3) Any licensee or trainee who is convicted of any crime 
must report the conviction in writing to the Board within 5 days of 
receiving notice of such conviction. 

(4) Any licensee or trainee who has disciplinary action com-
menced against him or her, or against his or her license by the U.S. 
Coast Guard, must report such action in writing to the Board within 
5 days of receiving notice of the initiation of such action by the 
U.S. Coast Guard. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 & 670 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115, 670.280 & 670.310 
Hist.: BMP 3-2011, f. 6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11 

856-010-0022 
Incident Investigation Procedures 

(1) Upon receiving notice that an incident has occurred, the 
Board member who is a licensee for the pilotage ground where the 
incident occurred will commence a preliminary investigation as 
soon as practicable. If the incident involves that Board member, or 
if that Board member is not available to commence a timely pre-
liminary investigation, then the Board Chair will appoint another 
Board member to commence the preliminary investigation, in 
which case the Board Chair will also seek a volunteer from among 
those who are or have been licensees for the pilotage ground where 
the incident occurred, to serve as an advisor to the Board member 
conducting the preliminary investigation. 

(2) The Board member conducting the preliminary investigation 
will, as soon as possible after receiving notice that an incident has 
occurred, gather sufficient information to form an opinion regarding 
whether the incident is likely to be a Category I or Category II inci-
dent, according to the following criteria: 

(a) Category I Incident:  
(A) Property damage exceeding $150,000; or 
(B) loss of life or serious personal injury (requiring hospital-

ization); or 
(C) allision with a bridge; or 
(D) release of more than 50 gallons of oil or other hazardous 

substance into the water; or 
(E) a pilot may have been acting under the influence of drugs 

or alcohol or there is evidence of gross negligence or willful mis-
conduct; or 

(F) any factor that results in substantial, widespread public 
interest in the incident. 

(b) Category II Incident: 
(A) Any incident reportable under Board regulations that does 

not satisfy any of the criteria in OAR 856-010-0022(2)(a). 
(3) As soon as possible after completing the preliminary 

investigation, the investigating Board member will contact the 
Board’s Chair to make a preliminary report and recommendation 
regarding classification of the incident as Category I or Category 
II. Based on the preliminary report, the investigating Board mem-
ber’s recommendation, and such other factors as the Board Chair 
deems appropriate under the circumstances, the Board Chair will, 
in his or her discretion, determine whether to classify the incident 
as Category I or Category II. 

(4) Upon the Chair’s classification of an incident as Category 
I, an investigating team will be promptly appointed by the Chair. 
The investigating team will include: 

(a) The Chair or other public member of the Board, to serve as 
the team leader; and 

(b) a shipping industry or port representative member of the 
Board; and 

(c) the pilot member of the Board from the pilotage ground 
where the incident occurred, unless the incident involves that pilot, 
in which case the Chair will appoint another pilot member of the 
Board. If the pilot Board member appointed to the investigating 
team is not a licensee on the pilotage ground where the incident 
occurred, then the Board will request a volunteer from among 
those who are or have been licensees for the pilotage ground where 
the incident occurred, to serve as an advisor to the investigating 
team. 

(5) Upon the Chair’s classification of an incident as Category 
II, the Board member who conducted the preliminary investigation 
shall proceed with completion of the investigation. The Chair may, 
at any time during the course of the investigation, upon receipt of 
new information, elect to reclassify the incident as a Category I 
incident requiring the appointment of an investigating team. 

(6) The services of a qualified independent investigator, or an 
expert in a discipline that is relevant and necessary for determining 
the cause of an incident, should be obtained in the following cir-
cumstances: 

(a) In any Category I incident, upon request of the Chair, or of 
two or more members of the investigating team. 

(b) In any Category II incident, upon agreement of the Chair 
and the Board member conducting the investigation. 

(7) In order to qualify as an expert for purposes of OAR 856-
010-0022(6), a person must have a postgraduate degree, professional 
training or substantial practical experience in a discipline or subject 
matter that the Board investigators determine is relevant and neces-
sary for determining the cause of an incident. 

(8) The Board will keep and periodically update a list of qual-
ified independent investigators who may be available to provide 
services. In order to qualify as an independent investigator for the 
Board, a person must: 

(a) Have had at least four years previous experience investi-
gating maritime casualties; or 
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(b) have served at least two years as pilot or master of vessels 
greater than 1600 GRT, and had formal training in investigations  
procedures or extensive actual experience investigating maritime 
casualties. 

(9) The role of an independent investigator is that of an 
advisor to the investigating team in a Category I incident, or to the 
investigating Board member in a Category II incident. An indepen-
dent investigator is to serve as a fact gatherer at the direction of the 
Board investigators, delivering information to the Board members 
investigating the incident. Information gathered by an independent 
investigator may be used by the investigating Board members for 
their analysis and for use in their preparation of a written report 
with their recommendations to the Board as a whole. 

(10) When the investigation is complete, the investigating 
Board member or members will prepare a written report for consid-
eration by the Board. The report shall describe the scope of the 
investigation, the information gathered, and include an assessment 
of the probable causes of the incident, and recommendations for 
any further Board action that should be considered. The written 
report shall also make a recommendation concerning the scope of 
distribution of the report. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776, 670 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115, 670.310 
Hist.: BMP 3-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-19-09; BMP 1-2011, f. 6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-
29-11 

856-010-0025 
Failure to Report 

The license of any pilot who fails, neglects, or refuses to 
report to the Board, or U.S. Coast Guard, as required by these rules 
for a period of ten days after the date required may be suspended; 
and if the pilot fails to report for a period of 30 days, the pilot will 
be suspended until the pilot has satisfactorily responded to the 
Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: PC 1, f. 10-29-57, ef. 7-1-57; MP 2-1984, f. & ef. 10-4-84; MP 1-1992, f. 
& cert. ef. 4-29-92 

856-010-0026 
Pilot Trainee Selection — Coos Bay Bar and Yaquina Bay Bar 
Pilotage Grounds 

(1) Applicants for trainee positions must submit their applica-
tions to the Board of Maritime Pilots on forms provided by the 
Board. When the Board determines that a need for a trainee exists, 
it shall select from among the eligible applicants the best qualified 
for training. Selection must be based upon numerical ranking 
according to the point system set forth below. The person selected 
shall be appointed for training on both pilotage grounds. 

(2) Applicants for trainee positions shall be ranked based 
upon a point system, with points awarded for each of the following 
categories: 

(a) Academic: Graduation from high school or equivalent cer-
tification: 10 points. Two or more years at an accredited college or 
university: 5 points. Post-graduate or professional degree: 5 points. 
Completion of a four-year course of study at an accredited 
maritime academy: 10 points. Maximum total points under this 
section is 25. 

(b) Previous Maritime Experience and Licensure: Federal 
First Class Pilot License for the Coos Bay Bar or the Yaquina Bay 
Bar: 10 points. Federal unlimited radar observer endorsement: 5 
points. 1,460 or more active working days as master of towing ves-
sels: 20 points. 1,460 or more working days as master of vessels 
greater than 1600 gross tons: 10 points. 50 or more crossings of the 
Coos Bay or Yaquina Bay Bar as master of towing vessels or 
master of vessels greater than 1600 gross tons: 20 points. Unlimited 
state pilot license for a pilotage ground other than Coos Bay Bar or 
Yaquina Bay Bar: 10 points. Additional certified training in each of 
the following categories: Bridge Resource Management, Emergency 
Medical Training, Hazardous Materials, Marine Firefighting, Oil 
Spill Control: 1 point each, up to a maximum of 5 points. 
Maximum total points under this section is 55. 

(c) Interview: Every applicant with a combined point total of 
35 or more from points awarded under subsections (a) and (b) shall 
be interviewed by three or more members of the Board, provided at 
least one member is a public member, one member is a pilot 
member from the Coos Bay Bar or Yaquina Bay Bar Pilotage 
Ground, and one member is a member engaged in the activities of 
a company that operates commercial ocean-going vessels. Each 
person interviewed shall be assigned from 0 to 35 points based on 
the interviewee’s poise and confidence, potential as an asset to the 
pilotage system, recommendations from within the maritime com-
munity, knowledge of trade and commerce, and such other factors 
as may be deemed relevant by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115, 776.300 
Hist.: BMP 1-2006, f. & cert. ef. 1-30-06 

856-010-0027 
Continuing Professional Development and Safety Training 

(1) All applications for renewal of an unlimited license after 
January 1, 2012 shall, within the sixty-three (63) months preceding 
the expiration date of their license, complete of a minimum of 10 
days of continuing professional development training, as provided 
in paragraphs (a) and (b) below. 

(a) Each pilot shall satisfactorily complete a five (5) day 
manned model course at a Board approved manned model facility. 

(b) Each pilot shall satisfactorily complete an additional five 
(5) days of course work, at least one day of which must be Bridge 
Resources Management for Pilots. All courses must be conducted 
at an accredited college, maritime academy, U.S. Coast Guard 
approved training facility or conducted by an expert in a field 
related to the subject matter of the course. All courses must cover 
one or more subject matter topics approved by the Board in 
advance of the course being taken. The Board shall maintain a list 
of approved topics, which may include, but are not limited to: 

(A) Emergency Shiphandling for Pilots 
(B) Advanced Electronic Navigation Systems 
(C) Azipod Controls and Operations with Azipods 
(D) Fatigue, Sleep and Medications for Pilots 
(E) Legal Aspects of Pilotage, including State Statutes and 

Regulations for Pilots 
(F) Maritime Domain Awareness and Security for Pilots 
(G) Crisis Management and Media Response 
(H) Pilot Self-Assessment Simulation 
(I) Advanced Shiphandling Simulation 
(J) Operation with Tugs for Pilots 
(K) Radar Observer (credit limited to one day per reporting 

period) 
(L) Bridge Resources Management for Pilots 
(M) Train the Trainer 
(2) In addition to satisfying the requirements set forth above, 

each pilot holding an unlimited license shall complete a minimum 
of one day of personal safety training during the 12-month period 
preceding the expiration date of their license. The Board shall 
maintain a list of pre-approved training, which may include, but are 
not limited to: 

(a) CPR. 
(b) Man Overboard (MOB). 
(c) Cold Water Survival. 
(d) Helicopter Dunker. 
(e) Pilot Boat Drills. 
(f) Rescue Systems. 
(g) STCW — Basic Safety Training. 
(3) Each pilot shall, within 30 days after completing any train-

ing course required by paragraphs (1)(a) or (1)(b) above, submit to 
the Board an evaluation of the course, on a form provided by the 
Board. The requirement to provide a course evaluation goes into 
effect immediately upon the adoption of this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 & 670 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 & 670.310 
Hist.: BMP 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-27-10; BMP 7-2011, f. 12-29-11, cert. ef. 12-
30-11 
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856-010-0028 
Pilot Exchanges 

(1) The recommended area for the exchange between the Bar 
Pilots and River Pilots is upstream of River Mile 15. Failure to 
complete the exchange at the recommended location will not, by 
itself, subject a pilot to discipline by the Board, but in the event of 
an incident in which it is determined that the exchange took place 
downstream of River Mile 15, the burden will be on the transferee 
pilot to show that the place of the exchange was not a contributing 
factor to the incident. For purposes of this section, pilot “exchange” 
occurs when the transferor pilot relinquishes the conn and the 
transferee pilot takes the conn of the vessel. 

(2) A pilot exchange shall not be completed until the transferor 
pilot has communicated all information that is, in the opinion of the 
transferor pilot, necessary for the transferee pilot to continue with 
the safe navigation of the vessel, and the transferee pilot shall not 
accept the conn until satisfied that he or she has received sufficient 
information to continue with the safe navigation of the vessel. 

(3) As soon as practicable after boarding a vessel, the pilot 
shall conduct an information exchange with the vessel’s master or 
other officer apparently in charge. The information exchange shall 
address those subjects that are, in the pilot’s opinion, necessary for 
safe navigation of the vessel. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: BMP 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-03 

856-010-0029 
Fatigue Mitigation Programs 

(1) Pilot organizations shall adopt and maintain fatigue man-
agement programs that are based on peer-reviewed science in the 
fields of occupational or sleep medicine and that, at a minimum: 

(a) Limit the number of continuous hours on duty; 
(b) Provide off-duty time sufficient for an adequate, continuous 

sleep opportunity at least once each 24 hour period; 
(c) Mitigate cumulative fatigue associated with work during 

successive circadian low periods; and 
(d) Limit the number of successive days on duty. 
(2) Pilot organizations shall submit copies of their fatigue 

management programs and any subsequent modifications of their 
programs to the Board.  

(3) The Board shall establish a regular reporting process for 
the purpose of tracking the results of the fatigue management pro-
grams adopted by the pilot organizations.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: BMP 1-2015, f. 4-2-15, cert. ef. 4-7-15 

856-010-0031 
Complaint Process 

(1) Any person or entity may file a complaint with the Board 
regarding the conduct of a Board licensee or trainee. Such 
complaints shall be in writing, and include a detailed explanation 
of the conduct or events complained of. Anonymous complaints 
are disfavored, but allowed, provided that an explanation is offered 
of the reason why the complainant does not wish to be identified. 
Anonymity may limit the ability of the Board to investigate the 
complaint, and therefore anonymous complaints should allege 
facts sufficient to allow the Board, should it choose to investigate 
as provided in this section, to pursue an investigation without 
further communications with the complainant. 

(2) Each complaint shall be assigned a filing code, and then 
shall be directed to the Board’s Executive Committee, with a copy 
provided to the licensee or trainee who’s conduct is the subject of 
the complaint. The Executive Committee will review each complaint 
and shall, within 10 days of the date of filing, provide an initial 
response to the complainant, if identified, and the licensee or 
trainee, indicating whether a preliminary investigation will be 
undertaken. Every complaint and the Executive Committee’s initial 
response will be announced at the next regularly scheduled meeting 
of the Board. 

(3) If the Executive Committee decides that an investigation 
should be undertaken, the Committee shall determine what resources 

will be necessary to complete the preliminary investigation, which 
may include, but are not limited to, assistance from the Board 
Administrator, Board Counsel, independent investigators, or subject 
matter experts. The Executive Committee may proceed with an 
initial investigation using such resources, provided that the Board 
may subsequently chose to expand or limit access to such resources. 

(4) The Executive Committee shall, at each regularly scheduled 
meeting of the Board, report on the progress of any preliminary 
investigation it has in progress. 

(5) When the preliminary investigation is complete, the Exec-
utive Committee shall report preliminary findings to the Board in 
writing, and shall include a recommendation to the Board of what 
further action, if any, appears appropriate under the circumstances, 
including whether to commence a disciplinary or other action 
authorized by ORS Chapter 776 or the Board’s regulations. A copy 
of the Executive Committee’s preliminary findings and recommen-
dations shall be provided to the complainant, if known, and to the 
licensee or trainee whose conduct was the subject of the preliminary 
investigation. 

(6) Nothing in this section is intended to limit the Board’s 
authority to initiate and conduct investigations on the Board’s own 
motion, supported by any basis deemed adequate by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776, 670 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115, 670.310 
Hist.: BMP 1-2011, f. 6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11 

856-010-0035 
Disciplinary Actions 

(1) Absence from Pilotage Grounds. A pilot must request in 
writing to the Board on the form provided by the Board permission 
to be absent from the pilotage ground for a period of more than 
sixty days. The Board will discipline any pilot who is absent from 
the pilotage ground for a period of more than 60 days without per-
mission of the Board. A pilot who has been granted permission to 
be absent from piloting duties for a period of more than 60 days 
shall, at the end of 180 days, reapply in writing for an extension or 
shall return to duty. The pilot must notify the Board in writing, ten 
days prior to returning to the pilotage ground, of the pilot’s 
intention to return to duty. A pilot who has been absent with per-
mission from piloting duties for more than 180 days shall notify the 
Board in writing on the form provided by the Board of the pilot’s 
intention to return to the pilotage ground. The notice shall include a 
statement of the number of trips under the supervision of an unlim-
ited state-licensed pilot that will be taken to re-familiarize the pilot 
with the pilotage ground, but in no event shall the returning pilot 
take fewer than two trips for every 90 days’ absence from the 
pilotage grounds. The Board may, following receipt of a pilot’s 
notice of intent to return to the pilotage ground, require more 
familiarization trips than the returning pilot indicates in the notice 
provided to the Board.  

(2) Suspension, Revocation or Lapse of Federal License. The 
state license of any pilot whose federal license is suspended or 
revoked, or whose federal license lapses due to delay in renewal as 
a consequence of a drug or alcohol-related event, shall be automat-
ically suspended or revoked for the same period. The lapse of a 
federal license due to delay in renewal as a consequence of a drug 
or alcohol-related event shall be treated as a suspension for 
purposes of the paragraph. The state license shall be reinstated 
upon restoration of the federal license. The pilot so affected may 
apply to the Board for a review of the case while under suspension. 
If the review of the case shows that circumstances warrant modifi-
cation of the pilot’s suspended status, the Board may order the 
pilot’s state license restored, or it may take any other appropriate 
action.  

(3) Upon suspension, revocation or other disciplinary action 
taken by the Board against a state-licensed pilot, the U.S. Coast 
Guard shall be notified by the Board in writing within 24 hours.  

(4) Pilots shall not refuse to provide pilotage service unless 
necessary for their own or public safety. If a representative of the 
vessel requesting piloting service contests a pilot’s determination 
concerning safety, then, the vessel’s representative may seek a 
determination by the Board.  
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(5) Other Causes for Discipline. See the following administra-
tive rules for other causes for discipline of licensee:  

(a) OAR 856-010-0015, failure to comply with requirements 
for renewal;  

(b) OAR 856-010-0019, failure to present surety bond or 
deposit;  

(c) OAR 856-010-0025, failure to report to Board;  
(d) OAR 856-010-0025, failure to report incident to U.S. 

Coast Guard;  
(e) OAR 856-010-0035, refusal to provide pilotage service;  
(f) OAR 856-010-0045, grounds for pilot discipline.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 670 & 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 670.280, 670.310 & 776.115 
Hist.: PC 1, f. 10-29-57, ef. 7-1-57; MP 5-1983, f. & ef. 12-15-83: MP 2-1984, 
f. & ef. 10-4-84; MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-88; MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-
29-92; MP 1-1997(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-97; BMP 3-2011, f. 6-28-11, cert. 
ef. 6-29-11 

856-010-0041 
Preventative, Corrective or Remedial Actions 

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of its regulations, the 
board may enter into a written agreement with a licensee in lieu of 
license suspension or revocation proceedings or any other disci-
plinary alternative. The board may enter into an agreement pursuant 
to this section if, after the preliminary investigation of an incident 
or other occurrence is complete, it appears that the licensee, the 
pilotage system or the public interest will be served by preventative, 
corrective or remedial action. An agreement between the board and 
a licensee may include any preventative, corrective or remedial 
measures including, but not limited to:  

(a) Supervised retraining trips for the licensee under the 
supervision of pilots from the training organization for the pilotage 
ground;  

(b) Completion of computerized simulated ship-handling 
training, manned model training, radar observer training, or such 
other training or course work as may be appropriate under the cir-
cumstances that is in addition to continuing professional develop-
ment training required of all licenses;  

(c) Counseling relating to the duties and obligations of a pilot; 
or  

(d) Issuance by the board of a letter of warning or concern to 
the licensee.  

(2) An agreement entered into between a licensee and the 
board pursuant to this section shall not be considered an admission 
of a violation of statute or rule and the agreement shall not be con-
sidered to be a board determination of a violation of statute or rule 
on the part of the licensee who enters into the agreement. The pre-
ventative, corrective or remedial measures contained in such agree-
ment and the licensee’s compliance with the agreement may be 
considered by the board in any subsequent proceeding in which 
such matters are relevant.  

(3) A licensee who enters into an agreement with the board 
must complete all requirements in the agreement within the time 
period specified in the agreement. Failure by the licensee to 
complete any agreed upon remedial or corrective measures shall 
constitute a separate ground for discipline pursuant to OAR 856-
010-0045.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: MP 1-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-5-88; MP 2-1988, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-88; 
MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92; MP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96; BMP 2-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-21-01; Renumbered from 856-010-0048, BMP 3-2011, f. 
6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11 

856-010-0045 
Grounds for Pilot Discipline 

The board may revoke or suspend a pilot’s license, impose on 
the pilot a civil penalty of not more than $250 for each offense, or 
issue the pilot a written reprimand if the board finds, after notice 
and hearing, that:  

(1) The physical health of a pilot is such that the pilot is not 
physically capable of competently exercising the license privilege 
and performing the work involved without creating an unreasonable 
risk of harm to the pilot or to the person or property of others.  

(2) The mental or emotional health of a pilot is such that the 
pilot is not competent to exercise the license privilege and is unable 
to perform the work involved without creating an unreasonable risk 
of harm to the pilot or to the person or property of others.  

(3) The pilot has committed a criminal act, the facts and cir-
cumstances of which bear a demonstrable relationship to the 
exercise of the license privilege. Conviction of a crime is not 
required to discipline a pilot under this provision.  

(4) No pilot may act or attempt to act as a pilot on any pilotage 
ground: 

(a) Within 12 hours after the consumption of any alcoholic 
beverage; 

(b) While under the influence of alcohol; or 
(c) While using any drug that affects the pilot’s faculties in 

any way contrary to safety. 
(5) The pilot has used alcohol, drugs, medications or controlled 

substances in a manner that, as the Board determines, casts sub-
stantial doubt on the ability of the pilot to exercise the level of 
sound judgment expected of a pilot, or has used prescription drugs 
in a manner inconsistent with warnings or instructions provided by 
the manufacturer or prescribing physician. 

(6)The pilot has failed to make a timely report to the board as 
required by these rules.  

(7) The pilot when summoned to testify before the board has 
failed to appear before the board, or has failed to answer under oath 
any question touching on any matter connected with the pilot’s ser-
vice or the pilotage ground over which the pilot is licensed as a 
pilot.  

(8) The pilot has been absent from the pilotage ground for a 
period of sixty (60) days without the express permission of the 
board.  

(9) The pilot’s federal license has been suspended, revoked or 
has lapsed.  

(10) The pilot has engaged in conduct involving dishonesty or 
misrepresentation, the facts and circumstances of which bear a 
demonstrable relationship to the exercise of the license privilege.  

(11) The pilot has failed to exercise the license privilege com-
petently or diligently.  

(12) The pilot has violated any provision of ORS 776.015 
through 776.991 or any rule of the Board.  

(13) The pilot has failed to post or maintain a surety bond or 
cash deposit.  

(14) The pilot has failed to obey a directive issued by an 
officer of the United States Customs Service, the United States 
Coast Guard or other law enforcement agency when such a 
directive could have been complied with safely.  

(15) The pilot or trainee has failed to comply with the 
provisions of an agreement in lieu of discipline, entered into 
pursuant to OAR 856-010-0041. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.116 & 776.325 
Hist.: MP 1-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-5-88; MP 2-1988, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-88; 
MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92; MP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96; BMP 2-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-21-01; BMP 3-2011, f. 6-28-11, cert. ef. 6-29-11; BMP 3-
2014, f. & cert. ef. 8-25-14 

856-010-0047 
Disciplinary Sanctions 

(1) Upon determination by the Board that a pilot is subject to 
discipline under OAR 856-010-0045, the Board may consider the 
following factors in determining the appropriate sanction to be 
imposed: 

(a) The nature of the violation; 
(b) The facts and circumstances of the violation; 
(c) The mental state of the pilot in committing the violation, 

e.g., whether the violation was intended or unintended; 
(d) The extent of the harm or injury caused by the violation or 

the potential for harm or injury; 
(e) Any aggravating or mitigating circumstances. 
(2) The Board may consider the following factors as aggravat-

ing circumstances when imposing a disciplinary sanction: 
(a) Prior disciplinary actions; 
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(b) Dishonest or selfish motive; 
(c) A series of violations; 
(d) Multiple violations; 
(e) Failure to cooperate with the Board in the investigation 

and the disciplinary proceeding; 
(f) Submission of false testimony or evidence in the disciplinary 

proceeding; 
(g) Refusal to acknowledge the wrongful nature of the mis-

conduct; 
(h) Substantial experience in pilotage; 
(i) Indifference to making restitution; 
(j) Any other aggravating circumstances. 
(3) The Board may consider the following factors as mitigating 

circumstances when imposing a disciplinary sanction: 
(a) Absence of prior disciplinary actions; 
(b) Absence of a dishonest or selfish motive; 
(c) Personal or emotional problems; 
(d) Timely good faith efforts to make restitution or to rectify 

the consequences of the misconduct; 
(e) Full and free disclosure to the Board in the investigation 

and the disciplinary proceeding; 
(f) Inexperience in pilotage; 
(g) Physical or mental impairment; 
(h) Single act of misconduct or previous misconduct remote in 

time from present offense; 
(i) Interim rehabilitation efforts between the time of the mis-

conduct and Board proceeding; 
(j) Imposition of other penalties or sanctions by other authori-

ties; 
(k) Remorse; 
(l) Any other mitigating circumstances. 
(4) The Board considers the following factors as being neither 

aggravating nor mitigating circumstances: 
(a) Absence of complaint regarding the violation; 
(b) Attempt by complainant to withdraw complaint; 
(c) Forced or compelled restitution; 
(d) Complainant’s recommendation regarding sanction. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92 

856-010-0050 
Pilot Organization Bylaws 

Any pilot or organized group of pilots operating under the 
authority of ORS Chapter 776 and OAR chapter 856 shall maintain 
on file with the Board a current copy of their respective group’s 
bylaws and amendments. Hereafter, they shall file with the Board 
each new amendment adopted by their respective groups in order 
that the Board may be kept informed of pilot groups’ acts and 
activities. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: MP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-92 

856-010-0060 
Compulsory Pilotage Vessel Exemptions 

(1) On the Columbia River Bar, Coos Bay Bar and Yaquina 
Bay Bar pilotage grounds, the following vessels are exempt from 
compulsory pilotage: 

(a) Foreign fishing vessels not more than 100 feet or 250 gross 
tons international,  

(b) Recreational vessels not more than 100 feet in length.  
(2) On the Columbia-Willamette River pilotage grounds, 

there are no vessel exemptions east (upstream) of longitude 123 
degrees, 44 minutes, 00 seconds west. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776.115(7) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.405(1)(C) 
Hist.: BMP 2-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06 

DIVISION 30 

RATEMAKING PROCEDURES 

856-030-0000 
Ratemaking — Substantive Elements 

The Board shall for each pilotage ground, establish a rate 
structure that provides for efficient, economical, and competent 
pilotage services and fair compensation for pilotage services and 
expenses: 

(1) In determining the number of pilot positions needed and 
fair compensation for services and expenses, the Board shall con-
sider: 

(a) The amount of activity, including number of vessels, 
number of pilot assignments, size of vessels by gross registered 
tonnage (GRT), length, and draft; 

(b) Any change in the amount of activity since the last rate 
order; 

(c) The public interest in prompt and efficient service; 
(d) The professional skills and experience required of a pilot 

and the difficulty and inconvenience of providing the service, 
including time necessary to perform the service; 

(e) Evidence of compensation for comparable maritime pro-
fessions, including other state regulated pilotage associations; 

(f) Evidence of the economic and market conditions existing 
both locally and within the region of any pilotage association used 
for the purpose of comparison; 

(g) Total gross and net income for the pilots’ group since the 
last rate order, or as directed by the Board, including sources of 
income by tariff category; and 

(h) Individual amounts paid to pilots since the last rate order, 
or as directed by the Board, which may be shown as both gross and 
adjusted gross income, as reported for tax purposes. 

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1)(e) above, the Board 
shall at a minimum consider evidence of the compensation and 
benefits provided to pilots in pilotage associations serving Puget 
Sound and San Francisco. 

(3) In determining compensation for expenses the Board shall 
consider evidence of appropriate expenses related to the provision 
of pilotage services as shown by records of the pilots’ group, and 
verified by an independent audit. 

(4) In receiving evidence on any financial or economic issue, 
the Board or its hearings officer may require parties to submit inde-
pendently audited or other financial records in order to hold all par-
ties to a comparable standard of proof. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: MP 2-1983, f. & ef. 12-15-83; MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-88; BMP 3-
2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-23-03; BMP 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 5-29-12 

856-030-0001 
Capital Improvement Planning 

(1) A pilot organization that intends to seek funding through 
pilotage rates at the next available ratemaking opportunity for 
reimbursement of the cost of a proposed major capital improvement 
is encouraged to notify the Board as soon as practicable. A “major 
capital improvement” is a change in an asset used for or in support 
of transportation, offices, accommodations, computing or commu-
nications that, if funded, would require an increase in revenue pro-
duced by rates of five (5) percent or more in the next rate case. 

(2) If a pilot organization notifies the Board of a proposed 
major capital improvement, the Board shall make time on its 
agenda for one or more of its regularly scheduled meetings for the 
presentation of information by the pilot organization and discussion 
of the proposed major capital improvement. The Board may, in 
addition, appoint a subcommittee of its members to meet with the 
organization of pilots and other interested parties to evaluate the 
proposed major capital improvement. 

(3) A pilot organization choosing not to utilize the opportunity 
for Board planning participation provided by this section shall, 
when filing its pre-petition notice as required by section 856-030-
0005, explain its reasons for not doing so.  
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(4) Major capital improvement expenses shall be submitted to 
the process provided by this section unless the proponent shows 
that compliance was prevented by reasons beyond its control and 
which the proponent could not have reasonably anticipated, or 
other circumstances make exclusion of the request for major 
capital improvement funding unjust. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115 
Hist.: BMP 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-23-03 

856-030-0002 
Pre-Petition Notice and Dispute Resolution Process 

(1) Any party intending to request a change in pilotage rates 
must, at least 90 days prior to petitioning the Board, file a notice of 
intent to petition with the Board, with a copy served on each pilot 
association, any association representing the interests of vessel 
owners or operators and any other party that participated in the 
most recent past rate proceedings. The notice shall contain an 
explanation of the proposed change, including a description of 
each new cost item not previously approved by the Board in a rate 
proceeding, any increase in a cost item previously approved by the 
Board where the increase is greater than five (5) percent over the 
amount expended during the prior calendar year, and any requested 
change in pilot compensation and benefits. 

(2) Within 20 days after receipt of the first-filed notice of 
intent to petition, any other pilot association, any association repre-
senting the interests of vessel owners or operators, any other party 
that participated in the most recent past rate proceedings, shall file 
their response to the notice, including a description of any intended 
opposition, or notice of intent to petition for a change on another 
pilotage ground. 

(3) Upon receipt of a notice of intent to petition pursuant to 
paragraph (1) above, the Board’s members representing the public 
shall be formed as a rate subcommittee. 

(4) The Board’s rate subcommittee shall, within 45 days of the 
first filing of a notice of intent to petition, hold a meeting with the 
party filing the notice and with all respondents thereto. The 
purpose of the meeting shall be to clarify the issues and begin 
exploration of possible means of narrowing and simplifying the 
issues. The rate subcommittee shall encourage the interested 
parties to utilize mediation or other alternative dispute resolution 
processes to narrow and simplify issues as much as possible. 

(5) Prior to filing of a petition, the rate subcommittee may 
convene or participate in such additional meetings with interested 
parties as it deems in the best interests of the Board and the public. 
The rate subcommittee may, if requested by the interested parties, 
participate in any mediation or other alternative dispute resolution 
process that is arranged by the interested parties. 

(6) The Board may, in its discretion, waive any or all of the 
provisions of this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 & 183 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 776.115, 776.183, 183.415 
Hist.: BMP 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-23-03; BMP 5-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-28-08 

856-030-0010 
Ratemaking — Petitions, Filing and Response 

When the Board is petitioned to act under ORS 776.115(5) or 
acts upon its own motion, the following procedure shall be 
followed:  

(1) An interested person may petition the Board requesting a 
hearing. The petition is deemed filed when received by the Board 
at its office. Before the petition can be accepted as filed, the person 
must deposit $1,000 with the Board to defray the expenses of the 
hearing. Deposits are also required with petitions filed for other 
pilotage grounds as provided in subsection (3)(a) of this rule.  

(2) The petition must be in writing, signed by petitioner or 
petitioner’s agent and containing a detailed statement of: 

(a) The action requested of the Board, with a detailed listing 
of all cost items and any requested changes in compensation and 
benefits;  

(b) Enough detailed facts to show petitioner’s interest in the 
factors shown in ORS 776.115(5)(b) and in OAR 856-030-0000 if 
applicable;  

(c) The extent to which the parties have been able to narrow or 
simplify issues pursuant to OAR 856-030-0003 prior to the petition 
being filed. 

(d) The name and address of petitioner and of any other 
persons petitioner knows who may be interested in the proceeding; 
and a statement as to whether a copy of the petition has been served 
upon them.  

(3) Upon receipt of the petition, the Board will mail a true 
copy of the petition and a copy of any applicable rules of practice 
to all parties named in the petition unless they have been previously 
served by petitioner. The Board will include in its mailing those 
who the Board believes have interest in the proceeding, including 
pilots’ groups and owner/operator associations on all pilotage 
grounds. The mailing will be by certified or registered mail and 
will be deemed served on the date of mailing to the last known 
address of the person being served:  

(a) The Board will advise all parties that they have 30 days to 
file with the Board and the petitioner a petition for another ground, 
a counter-petition or answer, or other applicable pleading or 
response. For good cause shown, the Board may extend the time 
for filing responses for a period not to exceed an additional 20 
days. If representatives of pilotage grounds other than those of 
petitioner wish a rate change, they must file a petition or answer 
within the time period set by this; 

(b) The responses filed by interested parties, whether counter-
petitions or responses, must address the factors in ORS 776.115(5)(b) 
and in OAR 856-030-0000 and all related issues raised in the peti-
tion.  

(4)(a) Within 45 days of the filing of a petition under this rule, 
the Board shall appoint a hearings officer and delegate to the 
hearings officer its powers to subpoena, swear witnesses and other-
wise conduct a contested case hearing as required under ORS 
Chapters 183 and 776;  

(b) The hearings officer will set the hearing for a date and time 
most convenient to the parties concerned, but not later than 90 days 
after the filing of the petition.  

(5) Pre-hearing Conferences, Exhibits and Testimony:  
(a) In order to make a more effective use of hearing time in 

formal proceedings and to expedite the orderly conduct and dispo-
sition of the proceedings, the hearings officer shall arrange for con-
ferences between the parties to consider:  

(A) Simplifying and clarifying the issues and eliminating 
irrelevant or immaterial issues;  

(B) Obtaining stipulations as to facts, authenticity of documents, 
admissibility of evidence, and other matters;  

(C) Such other aids to the orderly conduct and disposition of 
the proceeding as may be possible.  

(b) Conferences may be called before the hearing, or the 
hearing may be recessed for a conference. The presiding officer 
shall state on the record the results of such a conference;  

(c) Exhibits and testimony. The hearings officer shall require 
the parties to file proposed written testimony and exhibits with the 
Board before the date set for hearing, reserving rights of cross-
examination. Any objections to the pre-filed testimony and exhibits 
shall be resolved prior to the hearing. 

(6) Intervention. Any person with a material interest may by 
written petition seek permission to intervene in any proceeding 
before the Board. The petition shall contain:  

(a) The name and address of the party intervening and the 
party’s attorney, if any;  

(b) Sufficient facts to show clearly the interest of the proposed 
intervention and how any action taken by the Board will affect that 
interest;  

(c) The position of the party in the proceeding. Intervention 
shall not broaden the issues in the proceeding nor shall intervention 
delay the hearing or unfairly prejudice the other parties.  

(7) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the Board 
shall, absent emergency circumstances, refuse to accept any 
petition to change pilotage rates for any pilotage ground if less than 
16 months have elapsed since the effective date of the last rate 
order for that or any other pilotage ground. The burden shall be on 
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a petitioner wishing to shorten this period to demonstrate emergency 
circumstances affecting the public interest. In the event the Board 
determines there are emergency circumstances affecting the public 
interest that require an immediate rate proceeding, the Board shall 
issue an order setting forth its justifications for accepting the 
petition. The order shall be mailed to the petitioner and to other 
persons upon whom a copy of the petition was served. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.413 - 183.470, 776.115, 776.125 & 776.135 
Hist.: PC 6, f. 6-2-72, ef. 6-15-72; MP 2-1983, f. & ef. 12-15-83; MP 2-1984, f. 
& ef. 10-4-84; Renumbered from 856-020-0115; MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-
88; MP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96; BMP 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-23-03 

856-030-0015 
Conduct of the Hearing 

(1) The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with ORS 
183.425 to 183.464 and the Attorney General’s Model Rules.  

(2) If the hearings officer believes that additional evidence or 
written argument is necessary to complete the record, the officer 
may allow additional time for the presentation of further evidence 
on specific issues designated by the officer or for submission of 
written arguments. No further evidence or argument shall be 
received without notice to all parties or later than 10 days after the 
oral hearing. Any party presenting such evidence or argument shall 
provide copies to all parties. 

(3) The hearings officer shall submit the officer’s proposed 
order to the Board and to all parties within 30 days after the close 
of the hearing.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.425 & 776.115 
Hist.: PC 6, f. 6-2-72, ef. 6-15-72; PC 9, f. & ef. 11-12-76; MP 2-1983, f. & ef. 
12-15-83; MP 2-1984, f. & ef. 10-4-84; Renumbered from 856-020-0120; MP 
1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-9-96; BMP 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-23-03 

856-030-0020 
Proposed Orders 

(1) In any case heard under division 030, Ratemaking Proce-
dures, the hearings officer shall prepare and serve on all members 
of the Board, and on all parties to the hearing, a proposed order 
which includes recommended findings of fact and conclusions of 
law.  

(2) The parties affected by the order shall have 15 days from 
the date of the proposed order to present their objections or alterna-
tive proposed orders to the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 776 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.464 & 776.115 
Hist.: PC 6, f. 6-2-72, ef. 6-15-72; MP 2-1983, f. & ef. 12-15-83; MP 2-1984, f. 
& ef. 10-4-84; Renumbered from 856-020-0125; MP 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-9-
88; BMP 3-2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-23-03 

856-030-0025 
Final Orders 

(1) Every final order entered in a proceeding under division 
30, Ratemaking Procedures, shall be in writing and shall be accom-
panied by findings of fact and conclusions of law, and by a citation 
of the statutes under which the order may be appealed.  

(2) The findings of fact shall consist of a concise statement of 
the underlying facts supporting the findings as to each contested 
issue of fact and as to each ultimate fact required to support the 
order.  

(3) The Board shall adopt the final order at its next or second 
meeting after the time for response has run. On a proceeding held 
under OAR 856-030-0010, the final order shall be adopted within 
240 days of the date of the filing of a valid petition and deposit of 
the required sum of money, and shall be effective on the date 
adopted or the second anniversary date of the previous rate order, 
whichever is later.  

(4) The Board shall determine the costs of the proceedings 
and assess such costs equitably among the parties involved as part 
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