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PROCEDURAL RULES 

257-001-0000 
Notice of Proposed Rule

Prior to the adoption, amend ment, or repeal of any rule, the
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Department of State Police shall give notice of the proposed
adoption, amend ment, or repeal: 

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least 15 days prior to the effective date. 

(2) By mailing a copy of the Notice to persons on the
Department’s mailing list established pursuant to ORS
183.335(6). 

(3) By mailing a copy of the Notice to the following persons,
organizations, or publications: 

(a) United Press International and Associated Press;
(b) Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police;
(c) Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association;
(d) Oregon Police Officers’ Association; 
(e) Oregon District Attorneys’ Association; 
(f) Oregon Circuit Judges’ Association; 
(g) Oregon District Judges’ Association; 
(h) Oregon Law Enforcement Council; 
(i) Oregon Newspaper Publishers’ Association; 
(j) American Civil Liberties Union; 
(k) Law Enforcement Data System Advisory Board; 
(l) Board on Public Safety Standards and Training. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: DSP 3, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; DSP 4-1981, f. 12-14-81, ef. 12-15-81 

257-001-0005
Model Rules of Practice and Procedure 

Except as provided in OAR 257-001-0020 and 257-01-025
with respect to the rules for impoundment hearings under ORS
806.016, the Model Rules of Procedure as promulgated by the
Attorney General of the State of Oregon under the Administrative
Procedure Act effective November 4, 1993, are adopted as the
Rules of Procedure of the Department of State Police and shall be
controlling except as otherwise required by statute or rule. 

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure
is available from the office of the Attorney General or Oregon State Police.]
[Publication: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this
rule are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.040, 181.280, 806.014, 806.016, Ch. 181, 183, 806 &
814
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: DSP 1, f. 4-19-74, ef. 5-11-74; DSP 4, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; DSP 4-
1979, f. & ef. 12-13-79; DSP 5-1981, f. 12-14-81, ef. 12-15-81; OSP 1-1986, f.
& ef. 7-28-86; OSP 2-1994(Temp), f. 6-30-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94; OSP 5-1994, f.
11-21-94, cert. ef. 11-22-94

257-001-0015 
Requiring Reporting of Precursor Trans actions

(1) When contacted by a person that desires to purchase
precursor substances, the transferer (seller/supplier) is required to
complete Oregon State Police Form 310-1. The completion of this
form requires the purchaser/receiver to contact the transferer in
person and provide valid, state-issued photo identification. The
identification may be in the form of a driver’s license or state
identifi cation card. Upon completion of OSP Form 310-1, the
original must be forwarded to the Oregon State Police Precursor
Substance Unit. After receipt of the form, the Precursor Substance
Unit will issue that transaction an authorization number and notify
the transferer of that number by telephone. The transferer will
note on the remain ing copies the number, date, and time of
receiving the authorization. The 72-hour statutory waiting period
prior to delivery of the precursor sub stance(s) will commence at
the time of receipt by the Oregon State Police Precursor Substance
Unit of the transferer’s notification.

(2) After the appropriate waiting period has elapsed and the
receiver contacts the transferer to take possession of the precursor
substance(s), the receiver will be provided a copy of OSP Form
310-1 by the Oregon State Police.

(3) The Precursor Substance Monthly Trans action Report,
OSP Form 310-2, will be used only upon approval by the Oregon
State Police Precursor Substance Unit. Use of this form shall
apply only when a patter or regular supply, for lawful purposes, of
the precursor substances has been established. The request for its

use must be made in writing by the purchaser and shall include the
business name, address, intended use of the precursor substances,
and location(s) where the precursor substances are to be used.

(4) Any person/business in possession of precursor
substances who discovers the loss, theft, or discrepancy of any
amount of precursor sub-stances must complete and submit OSP
Form 310-3 to the Oregon State Police Precursor Substance Unit
within three days. These forms shall be provided by the Oregon
State Police upon request.

(5) OSP Forms 310-1, 310-2, and 310-3 are hereby adopted
and incorporated into this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: OSP 2-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 9-28-87; OSP 3-1987, f. 10-14-87, ef. 12-
11-87

257-001-0020
Notices and Requests for Hearings Under ORS 806.016

(1) A “person entitled to lawful possession” of a vehicle
means the owner as defined in ORS 801.375 or a security interest
holder. A person not listed as the owner or security interest hold
on the records of the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Branch
(DMV) shall have the burden of establishing right possession by
clear and convincing evidence.

(2) A person entitled to lawful possession of an impounded
vehicle may request a hearing to contest the validity of the
impoundment. Such request must be in writing and, within 5 days
from the date of the impoundment, be mailed to or received by the
agency conducting the hearing. The hearing request must include
the person’s full name, address, driver’s license number, daytime
telephone number, the names of and daytime telephone numbers
for any other persons (e.g. attorney, witnesses) expected to
participate in the hearing, date of the impoundment, the
registration number and a description of the vehicle impounded,
and a brief statement describing the person’s interest in the
vehicle (e.g. owner, lessee) and why the person believes the
impoundment was impounded. A person who will need an
interpreter for the hearing or accommodation for an impairment
must also give notice of that in the hearing request.

(3) Notice of the hearing date shall be sent to the person
request the hearing as soon as practicable after receipt of the
hearing request. The notice shall include or be accompanied by:

(a) The time and date of the hearing;
(b) Notice of the scope of the hearing, which shall be limited

to the validity of the impoundment;
(c) The name of the hearing officer assigned;
(d) A copy of the documents then in the hearing officer’s file;
(e) A form with instructions on the hearing procedures, and

advising persons with impairments of the opportunity to use a
telecommunication device line.

(f) Information that the hearing costs may be assessed against
the person if the impoundment is held proper.

(4) The hearing officer, upon finding the impoundment to
have been proper, may assess the costs of the hearing pursuant to
ORS 806.016(4) or may waive, in whole or in part the hearing
costs upon finding that the person is indigent. A person claiming
indigence shall have the burden of establishing that, and the
person’s eligibility for food stamps shall be the primary factor to
be considered by the hearing officer in determining indigence.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.040, 181.280, 806.014 & 806.016; Ch. 181, 183, 806,
814
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: OSP 2-1994(Temp), f. 6-30-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94; OSP 5-1994, f. 11-21-
94, cert. ef. 11-22-94

257-001-0025
Rules for Impoundment Hearings Under ORS 806.016

Hearings to determine the validity of the impoundment of
vehicles under ORS 806.014 shall be subject to the following
procedural rules.

(1) The following of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of
Procedure adopted under OAR 257-001-0005, and no other, shall
apply:
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(a) OAR 137-003-0001 Contested Case Notice;
(b) OAR 137-003-0002 Rights of Parties in Contested

Cases;0
(c) OAR 137-0003-0003 Late Filing;
(d) OAR 137-003-0040 Conducting Contested Case Hearing;
(e) OAR 137-003-0045 Telephone Hearings
(f) OAR 137-003-0050 Evidentiary Rules;
(g) OAR 137-003-0055 Ex Parte Communications;
(h) OAR 137-003-0075 Final Orders by Default;
(i) OAR 137-003-0080 Reconsideration and Rehearing-

Contested Cases;
(j) OAR 137-003-0090 Stay Request;
(k) OAR 137-003-0091 Intervention in Stay Proceeding;
(l) OAR 137-003-0092 Stay Proceeding and Order.
(2) With reference to model OAR 137-003-0045, all hearings

will be conducted by telephone unless the person requesting the
hearing:

(a) Includes in the hearing request a request for an in-person
hearing;

(b) Provides adequate justification for holding the hearing in-
person (EXAMPLE: hearing impairment or other physical
disability making telephone hearings impractical); and

(c) Agrees to waive the statutory time limit for the hearing.
(3) Discovery shall be limited to the documents contained in

the hearings officer’s file. Such documents shall be sent to the
person requesting the hearing at the time the notice of the
scheduled hearing is sent, or as soon thereafter as possible.

(4) The Department shall enter into an interagency agreement
with another state agency which has an established hearings unit,
to ensure that hearings under ORS 806.016 are conducted as fairly
and efficiently as practicable. Exceptions to hearings’ officers
proposed orders under ORS 806.016 may be submitted to the
Director of the Patrol Division of the Oregon State Police who
shall have all authority to issue a final order. Written argument
submitted with the exceptions will be considered; no opportunity
for oral argument will be allowed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.040, 181-280, 806.014 & 806.016; Ch. 181, 183, 806,
814
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: OSP 2-1994(Temp), f. 6-30-94, cert. ef. 7-1-94; OSP 5-1994, f. 11-21-
94, cert. ef. 11-22-94

DIVISION 10
OREGON CRIMINAL OFFENDER

INFORMATION SYSTEM
257-010-0010
Scope of System

(1) Rules adopted herein relate solely to the Oregon Criminal
Offender Information System as maintained by the Oregon State
Police. The rules do not affect in any way other agencies’ original
records of arrest, arrest logs, or reports of crimes available for
inspection under terms of the Oregon Public Records Law (ORS
192.410 to 192.500).

(2) Oregon Criminal Offender Information files contain
information, contributed by Criminal Justice Agencies, on a
person’s record of arrests, the nature and disposition of criminal
charges, sentencing, confinement, and release, plus identifying
data only relating to fingerprints of applicants submitted under
Oregon Law. The fingerprints, photographs, records and reports
compiled under ORS 137.225, 166.291, 166.412, 181.010,
181.511, 181.521, 181.540, 181.555, 181.880 and 806.060 are
confidential and exempt from public inspection except as
provided in 181.540. These files shall not contain information
about the political, religious, or social views, associations, or
activities of any individual, group, association, corporation,
business, or partnership unless such information directly relates to
an investigation of past or threatened criminal acts or activities
and there are reasonable grounds to suspect the subject of the
information is or may be involved in criminal acts or activities.

(3) The Oregon CCH System is a computer ization of

essentially the same criminal offender, regulatory and applicant
information, and is maintained by the OSP under provisions of
Oregon Law. Computerization of the files is designed to provide
faster access to criminal offender informa tion for Oregon
Criminal Justice and Designated Agencies.

(4) The Oregon Firearm Instant Check System is a
computerization of firearm and firearm purchaser information,
and is maintained by the OSP under provisions of Oregon Law.
The record of the information obtained by the OSP during a
request for a criminal records check by a gun dealer is exempt
from disclosure under public records law.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 166.291, 166.412, 181.537, 181.555, 181.560(4), 183.310 -
183.550 & 192.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 166.291, 166.412 & 181.800
Hist.: DSP 2, f. 6-14-74, ef. 7-11-74; DSP 4, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; OSP 1-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 6-4-90; OSP 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-16-92; OSP 4-1993, f.
& cert. ef. 12-20-93; OSP 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-94; OSP 3-1996, f. 5-24-
96, cert. ef. 7-1-96

257-010-0010
Scope of System

(1) Rules adopted herein relate solely to the Oregon Criminal
Offender Information System as maintained by the Oregon State
Police. The rules do not affect in any way other agencies’ original
records of arrest, arrest logs, or reports of crimes available for
inspection under terms of the Oregon Public Records Law (ORS
192.410 to 192.500).

(2) Oregon Criminal Offender Information files contain
information, contributed by Criminal Justice Agencies, on a
person’s record of arrests, the nature and disposition of criminal
charges, sentencing, confinement, and release, plus identifying
data only relating to fingerprints of applicants submitted under
Oregon Law. The fingerprints, photographs, records and reports
compiled under ORS 137.225, 166.291, 166.412, 181.010,
181.511, 181.521, 181.540, 181.555, 181.880 and 806.060 are
confidential and exempt from public inspection except as
provided in 181.540. These files shall not contain information
about the political, religious, or social views, associations, or
activities of any individual, group, association, corporation,
business, or partnership unless such information directly relates to
an investigation of past or threatened criminal acts or activities
and there are reasonable grounds to suspect the subject of the
information is or may be involved in criminal acts or activities.

(3) The Oregon CCH System is a computer ization of
essentially the same criminal offender, regulatory and applicant
information, and is maintained by the OSP under provisions of
Oregon Law. Computerization of the files is designed to provide
faster access to criminal offender information for Oregon
Criminal Justice and Designated Agencies.

(4) The Oregon Firearm Instant Check System is a
computerization of firearm and firearm purchaser information,
and is maintained by the OSP under provisions of Oregon Law.
The record of the information obtained by the OSP during a
request for a criminal records check by a gun dealer is exempt
from disclosure under public records law.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 166.291, 166.412, 181.537, 181.555, 181.560(4), 183.310 - 1
83.550 & 192.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 166.291, 166.412 & 181.800
Hist.: DSP 2, f. 6-14-74, ef. 7-11-74; DSP 4, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; DSP 1-
1981, f. & ef. 5-1-81; DSP 3-1981, f. 10-30-81, ef. 11-1-81; OSP 3-1988, f. 8-
22-88, cert. ef. 9-1-88; OSP 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 6-4-90; OSP 1-1991, f. 5-17-
91, cert. ef. 7-1-91; OSP 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-20-93; OSP 4-1994, f. &
cert. ef. 8-2-94; OSP 3-1996, f. 5-24-96, cert. ef. 7-1-96

257-010-0020 
System Responsibilities

(1) Maintenance and Dissemination of Criminal Offender
Information. The Oregon State Police has statutory and
administrative re sponsibility for the maintenance and dissemina -
tion of criminal offender information in Oregon.

(2) Accuracy and Completeness of Information. Information
entered into Criminal Offender Information files is based on
written documents submitted to the OSP by Criminal Justice
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Agencies reporting their record of official action, which
documents contain fingerprint or other verification as to the
identity of the individual to whom the information refers:

(a) OSP is responsible for the accuracy and completeness of
information entered into the Oregon Criminal Offender
Information System and any information sub sequently transmitted
for inclusion in the FBI Interstate Identification Index;

(b) This responsibility extends only to information contained
in the documents as submitted to OSP.

(3) Removal of Information. OSP is responsible for removal
of information from the Oregon and Federal Criminal Offender
Information Systems when required by law or court order. In the
event the OSP discovers there has been an erroneous entry in
criminal offender information records maintained by OSP or the
FBI, OSP shall correct or purge the inaccurate information. 

(4) Entry of Information. Only terminals located at the OSP,
Identification Services Section or others designated by the
Superintendent of the OSP are allowed to enter, update, or modify
records in the Oregon CCH File.

(5) Information to Qualified Criminal Justice and Designated
Agencies. OSP is responsible for providing Criminal Offender
Information to qualified Criminal Justice and Designated
Agencies. Such information will be furnished, after proper
inquiry, in either computerized or document form.

(6) Development of Operational Procedures. OSP is
responsible for development of operational procedures to be
followed by Criminal Justice and Designated Agencies permitted
access to Oregon Criminal Offender Information and FBI
Interstate Identification Index files.

(7) All Criminal Offender information distributed by the OSP
shall contain a notice in writing in substantially the following
language: Because additions or deletions may be made at any
time, a new CCH record should be requested when needed for
subsequent use.

(8) All agencies shall insofar as is feasible, taking into
consideration the then existing capability of the OSP to respond,
request and obtain a current criminal offender information record
when that record is to be disseminated outside that agency.

(9) NCIC and NLETS Control Terminal Responsibility. OSP
is the “state control terminal” for the NCIC and NLETS computer
interface to Oregon and is responsible for assuring that all policies
and rules for computer access to Oregon and Federal Criminal
Offender Information Systems are adhered to by Oregon user
agencies.

(10) System Development and Operation. OSP is responsible
for providing the computer hardware and software capabilities
necessary to insure secure access, efficient processing and
integrity of the information stored in the Oregon Criminal
Offender Information System and for interfacing to the Federal
Criminal Offender Information System.

(11) Physical Security of Computer Installation. OSP is
responsible for development and implementation of policies and
procedures to safeguard the criminal offender information at the
central computer site from accidental or malicious damage or
unauthorized access or use.

(12) Audit and Inspection of the User Agencies. OSP is
responsible for periodically auditing and inspecting each computer
terminal location accessing Oregon and Federal Criminal
Offender Information to insure compliance with state and federal
law, published rules, policies, and procedures.

(13) CCH computer terminal transaction records will be
maintained at and by OSP and will be made available, upon
written request, to participating Criminal Justice Agencies. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.555, 181.560(4), 183.310 - 183.550 & 192.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: DSP 2, f. 6-14-74, ef. 7-11-74, DSP 4, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; OSP 1-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 6-4-90; OSP 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-20-93

257-010-0025
Access To and Use of Criminal Offender Information

(1) Access to OSP criminal offender information by any
means shall be limited to:

(a) Criminal Justice Agencies, where the information is to be

used for the administration of criminal justice, Criminal Justice
Agency employ ment, or the information is required to implement
a federal or state statute, local ordinance, Executive Order, or
administrative rule that expressly refers to criminal conduct and
contains requirements or exclusions expressly based on such
conduct, or other demonstrated and legitimate needs;

(b) Designated Agencies upon Executive Order of the
Governor, where the information is required to implement a
federal or state statute, Executive Order, or administrative rule
that expressly refers to criminal conduct and contains
requirements or exclusions expressly based on such conduct or for
agency employment purposes, or licensing purposes, or other
demonstrated and legitimate needs:

(A) When a Designated Agency requests criminal offender
information about an individual from OSP under ORS 181.555(1)
for agency employ ment, licensing or other permissible purposes,
the agency shall provide documentation that the individual:

(i) Gave prior written consent for the agency to make a
criminal offender record check through the OSP; or

(ii) Has received written notice from the agency that a
criminal offender record check may be made through the OSP.
Notice shall be provided prior to the time the request is made and
shall include: Notice of the manner in which the individual may
be informed of the procedures adopted under ORS 181.555(3) for
challenging inaccurate criminal offender information; and notice
of the manner in which the individual may become informed of
rights, if any, under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964;
and notice that discrimination by an employer on the basis of
arrest records alone may violate federal civil rights law and that
the individual may obtain further information by contacting the
Bureau of Labor and Industries.

(B) When a Designated Agency or public defender
organization requests, in written form, criminal offender
information about an individual from OSP under ORS 181.555(1),
that agency will be charged a fee of $2 for each individual
checked (fee does not apply when check is made by agency using
their LEDS terminal) or $12 for each fingerprint card inquiry.
Agencies authorized by Oregon Revised Statute to submit
fingerprint record checks to the FBI, Identification Division via
OSP, are responsible to pay the prevailing user fee charged by the
FBI for those fingerprint record checks in addition to the OSP
user fee.

(c) A person or agency not defined as a Criminal Justice or
Designated Agency has access only through the OSP
Identification Services Section pursuant to ORS 181.555 and
181.560. The request must be submitted in writing and may be
hand carried or mailed to the OSP Identification Services Section.
A personal computer bulletin board system is also available for
use. A fee of $15 will be charged for each check. A fee of $5 will
be charged for each request for copy certification by a notary
public in addition to any other applicable fee. Checks are to be
made payable to the Oregon State Police. In quiries are to be
addressed to Oregon State Police, Identification Services Section,
3772 Portland Road N.E., Salem, OR 97303.

(d) The requesting party must furnish OSP with sufficient
information to assist identifying and notifying the individual of
interest. If the information is sought for employment purposes the
requester must state on the written request that the individual has
been so advised and the manner in which the individual was so
advised;

(e) These individuals will be advised by letter that they are
allowed to review their criminal history for inaccurate or
incomplete information. They will also be advised that they may
become informed of certain rights under Title VII of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964 by contacting the Bureau of Labor and
Industries;

(f) If a challenge is received prior to the end of the statutory
14 day waiting period, response to the requester will be held in
abeyance until the challenge is resolved;

(g) OSP will respond to all requests and furnish Oregon
conviction information and any arrest information less than one
year old on which there has been no acquittal or dismissal. If the
compiled information does not meet the above criteria or there is
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no record of the subject, OSP will reply to the requester that there
is no criminal record.

(2) Access to Oregon CCH information by means of
computer terminals shall be limited to Criminal Justice and
Designated Agencies using their agency identification number
(ORI) as authorized by OSP in an “Agency Agreement”.

(3) Oregon criminal offender information may be shared
between authorized Criminal Justice and Designated Agencies.
All other secondary dissemination of criminal offender
information by authorized agencies or personnel is prohibited
unless expressly permitted by Oregon Revised Statute.
Dissemination of Oregon criminal offender in for ma tion by the
Department of Human Re sources or the Employment Department
to public or private agencies authorized by ORS 181.537(1) (d)
shall be limited to persons with a demonstrated and legitimate
need to know the information. Such need must be demonstrated to
the satisfaction of the Department of Human Resources or the
Employment Department responsible for the dissemination of the
information. Title 28, United States Code, Section 534 and Title
28, Code of Federal Regulations, Section 20.33(b), prohibits
dissemination of FBI criminal offender information to public or
private agencies by Criminal Justice or Designated Agencies. A
person wishing to review their criminal history record maintained
by the FBI should write to: Federal Bureau of Investigation,
Identification Division, Room 10104, Washington, D.C. 20537-
9700. The FBI will inform the person how to obtain a copy of
their record and, if neces sary, how to challenge the accuracy or
com pleteness of that record. Inquiries for nonofficial purposes or
the checking of records for un  authorized persons or agencies is
prohibited.

(4) Criminal offender information may be furnished to
authorized Criminal Justice and Designated Agency employees
and no person who has been convicted of a crime which could
have resulted in a sentence to a federal or state pen itenti ary will be
allowed to operate a computer terminal accessing CCH
information or have access to Criminal offender information. All
authorized agency employees as described above must be
fingerprinted and the fingerprint card submitted to OSP. The
fingerprint cards will be searched against the state and federal
criminal record files. The “Reason Fingerprinted” may be for
criminal justice employment such as “Police Officer”,
“Corrections Officer” or “Access to CCH”. These fingerprint
cards will be retained by OSP and entered into the CCH File.
Exceptions to this rule may be made in extra ordinary
circumstances upon written application to the Superintendent of
the Oregon State Police setting forth such circumstances. The
Super intendent of OSP will maintain a central file where such
exception authorization shall be filed.

(5) Screening of Criminal Justice and De signated Agency
employees who have access to CCH or criminal offender
information records is the responsibility of the employing agency.

(6) Any Criminal Justice or Designated Agency obtaining
Oregon or FBI criminal offender informa tion, either directly
through that agency’s computer terminal, through the computer
terminal of another agency, or directly from OSP, must have
executed a written “Agency Agreement” with the OSP prior to
such access. Any public or private agency receiving Oregon
criminal offender infor mation from the Depart ment of Human
Resources or the Employ ment Department pursuant to ORS
181.537(1)(c) or (d) must have executed a written “Agency
Agree ment” with the Department of Human Resources or the
Employment Department prior to receiving the information.
Dissemination of Oregon criminal offender information received
under authority of ORS 181.537(1)(d) by a public or private
agency is strictly prohibited.

(7) Security of computer terminals. Any computer terminal
with CCH accessing capability must be physically secure and
placed in a location not available to unauthorized persons.
Computer terminals must be so placed that unauthorized persons
may not observe the content of messages transmitted or received
on such computer terminal.

(8) Security of criminal offender information records. Any
Criminal Justice or Designated Agency or private entity obtaining

or receiving criminal offender information shall maintain those
records in secure files, available only to authorized agency
employees, until they are destroyed by burning, shredding or
secure and confidential recycling and shall treat those records in
such a manner that the record does not become public informa tion
in any later proceeding, except through court order or as otherwise
provided by law.

(9) Radio Transmission. Any radio transmission of criminal
offender information records shall be limited to essential details
only, with information identifying individuals and offenses
concealed insofar as possible. Plain text transmission of an entire
(summary or full CCH) record is prohibited.

(10) Fee for relief from the bar of purchasing/ possessing a
firearm. When a person barred from possessing a firearm under
ORS 166.250(1)(c)(A), (B), (D) or (E) or barred from purchasing
a firearm under ORS 166.470 and is granted relief from the bar by
a court under ORS 166.274, a fee of $12 will be charged to enter
and maintain this information in the CCH File as authorized under
ORS 166.274 (4)(c).

(11) Fee for conducting fingerprint check for concealed
handgun license. A fee of $15 will be charged to conduct, enter
and maintain a concealed handgun license applicant record check
as authorized under ORS 166.291(5)(a)(A).

(12) Fee for conducting fingerprint check for regulation of
private security officers. A fee of $15 will be charged to conduct,
enter and maintain a private security officer applicant record
check as authorized under ORS 181.880(4) and (5).

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 166.291, 166.412, 181.537, 181.555, 181.560(4), 183.310 -
183.550, 192.440 & 194.164
Stats. Implemented: ORS 166.291, 166.412 & 181.800
Hist.: DSP 2, f. 6-14-74, ef. 7-11-74; DSP 4, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; DSP 1-
1981, f. & ef. 5-1-81; DSP 3-1981, f. 10-30-81, ef. 11-1-81; DSP 1-1982, f. 3-
12-82, ef. 3-15-82; OSP 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 6-4-90; OSP 1-1991, f. 5-17-91,
cert. ef. 7-1-91; OSP 1-1992, f. 3-17-92, cert. ef. 3-18-92; OSP 4-1993, f. &
cert. ef. 12-20-93; OSP 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-94; OSP 3-1996, f. 5-24-96,
cert. ef. 7-1-96

257-010-0030
Criminal Justice Research and Evaluation Projects

Criminal offender information will be made available to
qualified persons for research and evaluation related to criminal
justice activity, or in exigent circumstances for temporary access,
upon written application to the Superintendent of the Oregon State
Police but authorization to utilize such information will be
conditioned upon:

(1) The execution of nondisclosure agreements by all
participants in the program.

(2) When such qualified persons acknowledge a fundamental
commitment to respect individual privacy interests with the
identification of subjects of such information divorced as fully as
possible from the data received, and agree to comply with any
additional requirements and conditions found necessary to assure
the protection of personal privacy and system security interests.

(3) When a specific agreement is executed between such
qualified persons and the OSP, the agreement stating the scope of
the project, the permissible dissemination of information for any
purpose other than that for which it was obtained.

(4) Where temporary access is authorized by the
Superintendent of the OSP, he shall report the reasons for such
temporary grant to the Governor. No temporary grant of access
shall be valid for more than 30 days.

(5) OSP will retain the right to monitor and audit any
approved criminal justice research and evaluation project and to
terminate access to CCH or criminal offender information if a
violation of this rule is detected. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.555, 181.560(4), 183.310 - 183.550, 192.440 & 194.164
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: DSP 2, f. 6-14-74, ef. 7-11-74; DSP 4, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; DSP 1-
1981, f. & ef. 5-1-81; OSP 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-20-93

257-010-0035
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Access by Individuals for Purpose of Review and/or Challenge
(1) All individuals desiring to review information concerning

them maintained in the OSP Criminal Offender Information
System or Firearm Instant Check System, or who believes that the
information as maintained is inaccurate, incomplete, or
maintained in violation of any state or federal statute or act, shall
be entitled to review such information and obtain a copy thereof
for the purpose of review, challenge or correction.

(2) Verification of such individual’s identity may only be
effected through submission, in writing, of name, date of birth,
and a set of rolled ink finger prints to the Oregon State Police,
Identification Services Section, 3772 Portland Road N.E., Salem,
OR 97303. The request for review may be made at the Oregon
State Police, Identification Services Section, 3772 Portland Road
N.E., Salem, OR 97303, or through mail or postal service. The
OSP may prescribe reasonable hours and places of inspection. If
the request is made by mail or postal service, after positive
identification by the OSP of the fingerprints submitted, copy of
the record, along with the fingerprints submitted for that purpose,
will be returned to the individual making the request to the
address provided in the request.

(3) All data included in the Criminal Offender Information
System is obtained from contributing Criminal Justice and
Designated Agencies. All data included in the Firearm Instant
Check System is obtained from contributing Oregon Gun Dealers
as defined in 18 U.S.C. §921. If after review of the information
concerning them as maintained in such record, the individual
believes that it is incomplete or incorrect in any respect and
wishes changes, corrections, or updating of the alleged deficiency,
they must make application directly to the contri butor of the
questioned information, requesting the appropriate agency or Gun
Dealer to correct it in accordance with its respective
administrative rules and procedures. Upon receipt of an official
communication directly from the agency or Gun Dealer which
contributed the original information, the OSP will make any
changes necessary in accordance with the information supplied by
the agency or Gun Dealer.

(4) Any individual whose record is not removed, modified,
or corrected as they may request, following refusal by the agency
originally contri buting such information, may proceed under the
provisions of Rules 30.00 to 30.80 of the Attorney General’s
Model Rules of Practice and Procedures under the
Administrative Proce dure Act, relating to contested cases and
judicial review. After conclusion of such procedure or review, any
infor ma tion found to be inaccurate, incomplete, or improperly
maintained, shall be removed from the individual’s record and the
originating agency so notified with copy of the record as corrected
being furnished to the challenging individual.

(5) Any Criminal Justice or Designated Agency receiving a
record after such notice of contested case has been filed and prior
to final determination, shall be notified by the OSP that the record
is being challenged.

(6) All individuals desiring to obtain a police clearance or
documentation of no record main tained in the OSP Criminal
Offender Information System for purposes other than review,
challenge or correction specified in (1) will be charged a fee of
$12 for each request.

(7) All individuals desiring to obtain a set of their inked
fingerprints for purposes other than review, challenge or
correction specified in section (1) of this rule will be charged a fee
of $5 for each fingerprint card provided.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 166.291, 166.412, 181.537, 181.555, 181.560(4), 183.310 -
183.550, 192.440 & 194.164
Stats. Implemented: ORS 166.291, 166.412 & 181.800
Hist.: DSP 2, f. 6-14-74, ef. 7-11-74; DSP 4, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; OSP 1-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 6-4-90; OSP 1-1991, f. 5-17-91, cert. ef. 7-1-91; OSP 1-
1992, f. 3-17-92, cert. ef. 3-18-92; OSP 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-20-93; OSP 4-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-94; OSP 3-1996, f. 5-24-96, cert. ef. 7-1-96

257-010-0045 
Violation of Rules 

(1) Willful violation of Oregon Revised Statute, Executive
Order or published rules relating to the Oregon Criminal Offender
Information System by any authorized agency or employee may
result in immediate termination of such agency’s authorization to
receive such information from the Oregon and/or Federal
Criminal Offender Information Systems.

(2) Reinstatement will be effected only upon demonstration
by the agency that the cause of such violation has been corrected.
Final determination as to the reinstatement of any agency so
terminated will be the responsibility of the OSP. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.555, 181.560(4), 183.310 - 183.550 & 192.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: DSP 2, f. 6-14-74, ef. 7-11-74; DSP 4, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; OSP 1-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 6-4-90; OSP 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-20-93

257-010-0050
Rights of Appeal 

A Criminal Justice or Designated Agency or employee
desiring to appeal any action, order, or administrative ruling by
the OSP may proceed under the provisions of Rules 30.00 to
30.80 of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Practice and
Procedures under the Administrative Procedure Act relating to
contested cases and judicial review. 

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.555, 181.560(4), 183.310 - 183.550 & 192.440 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: DSP 2, f. 6-14-74, ef. 7-11-74; DSP 4, f. 4-22-76, ef. 4-30-76; OSP 1-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 6-4-90; OSP 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-20-93

257-010-0055
Firearm Instant Check System

(1) The Oregon Firearm Instant Check System is a
computerization of firearm and firearm purchaser information,
and is maintained by the OSP under provisions of Oregon Law.
The purpose of the Firearm Instant Check System is to receive
information from Oregon Gun Dealers and determine if the person
purchasing the firearm is disqualified under Oregon (ORS
166.470) and Federal Law from completing the purchase of a
firearm and if the firearm being transferred is stolen.

(2) The OSP may retain a record of the information obtained
during a request for a criminal records check for no more than five
years. Access to and dissemination of the OSP Firearm Instant
Check System information by any means shall be limited to
Criminal Justice Agencies, where the information is to be used for
the investigation of criminal offenses.

(3) The record of the information obtained by the OSP during
a request for a criminal records check by a gun dealer is exempt
from disclosure under public records law.

(4) Identification required of the purchaser shall include one
piece of current identification bearing a photograph and date of
birth of the purchaser that is issued under the authority of the
United States government, a state, a political subdivision of a
state, a foreign government, a political subdivision of a foreign
government, an international governmental organization or an
international quasi-governmental organization; and is intended to
be used for identification of an individual or is commonly
accepted for the purpose of identification of an individual.

(5) If the identification presented by the purchaser under (4)
of this rule does not include the current address of the purchaser,
the purchaser shall present a second piece of current identifica tion
that contains the current address of the purchaser and corroborates
the name on the first piece of identification. Examples of a second
piece of identification that will be accepted are: current vehicle
registration, current rent receipt and current utility bill.

(6) The OSP may require that the gun dealer verify the
identification of the purchaser if that identity is in question by
sending the thumbprints of the purchaser to the OSP,
Identification Services Section. The OSP shall publish the
firearms transaction thumbprint form and shall furnish the form to
gun dealers on application at cost.

(7) The OSP may adopt a fee schedule for criminal history
record checks and collect a fee for each criminal history record
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check requested. The fee schedule shall be calculated to recover
the cost of performing criminal history record checks, but may not
exceed $10 per record check.

(8) The OSP may respond to a telephone request from any
person requesting that the OSP determine if the firearm is stolen.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 166.291, 166.412, 192.440 & 194.164
Stats. Implemented: ORS 166.291, 166.412 & 181.800
Hist.: OSP 3-1996, f. 5-24-96, cert. ef. 7-1-96

DIVISION 15
ENFORCEMENT DATA SYSTEM

[ED. NOTE: Chapter 188, Oregon Laws 1993 transferred rulemaking
authority from the Criminal Justice Services Division, Executive Department, OAR
Chapter 107 to Department of State Police, OAR Chapter 257.]

257-015-0000
Purpose of Rules

Rules adopted herein prescribe the policies and procedures
for operation and use of the Oregon Law Enforcement Data
System (LEDS).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0010
Authority

(1) The Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS) was
established by act of the 1969 Oregon Legislature (ORS 181.710)
which authorized the state Executive Department to develop and
operate a police information network. In 1973, the term “Police
Information Network” was amended to read “Law Enforcement
Data System”. Senate Bill 1044 in the 1993 legislative session
transferred LEDS to the Department of Oregon State Police (ORS
181.730).

(2) The Law Enforcement Data System is a program
organized within the Intergovernmental Services Bureau of the
Department of Oregon State Police. It provides a criminal justice
telecommunications and information system for the State of
Oregon, and is the control point for access to similar programs
operated by other states and the Federal Government.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0020
Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS) Advisory Committee

(1) The LEDS Advisory Com mittee advises the
Superintendent of State Police on general policy concerning the
philosophy, concept, and operational principles of the LEDS
program. In its deliberations the Committee places particular
emphasis on the following areas:

(a) Continued responsiveness of the LEDS program to the
state’s criminal justice information needs;

(b) System security; and
(c) Rules, regulations and procedures to maintain the

integrity of LEDS information.
(2) The LEDS Advisory Committee is composed of members

appointed by the Governor re presenting the following areas:
(a) The Judicial Department;
(b) The Oregon Juvenile Department Directors’ Association;
(c) The Oregon Peace Officers’ Association;
(d) The Associated Public Safety Communications Officers,

Inc.
(e) The Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police;
(f) The Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association;
(g) The Oregon District Attorneys’ Association;
(h) Attorney General;
(i) The Oregon State Police;
(j) The Department of Transportation, Driver and Motor

Vehicle Services Branch (DMV);
(k) The Department of Corrections; and
(l) Such other members as the Governor con siders

appropriate for purposes of the committee.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0030
Definitions

(1) “LEDS” means the Depart ment of State Police, Law
Enforcement Data System.

(2) “NCIC” means the Federal Bureau of Investigation,
National Crime Information Center.

(3) “NLETS” means the National Law Enforcement
Telecommunications System, Incorporated.

(4) “Associated Systems” means any automated or manual
information system which is accessible via LEDS.

(5) “Criminal Justice Agency” means the following as
defined by the National Crime Information Center:

(a) Courts;
(b) A government agency or any subunit thereof which

performs the administration of criminal justice pursuant to a
statute or executive order, and which allocates a substantial part of
its annual budget to the administration of criminal justice.

(6) “Criminal Justice Purpose” means: The administration of
criminal justice, as defined in section (7) of this rule.

(7) The “Administration of Criminal Justice” means
performance of any of the following act ivities: detection,
apprehension, detention, pretrial release, post trial release,
prosecution, adjudica tion, correctional supervision, or
rehabilitation of accused persons or criminal offenders. The
administration of criminal justice shall include criminal
identification activities and the collection, storage, and
dissemination of criminal history record information. Criminal
justice employment investigations are included, as is the licensing
of or issuing of a permit for a weapon or explosive when required
to be performed by a criminal justice agency, pursuant to a
federal, state or local law. (This category includes firearms dealers
and purchasers, carriers of concealed weapons, explosives dealers
and users and lethal weapons dealers and users). State and Federal
Inspector General offices are included. Defense of accused
persons, whether by private counsel, public defender or other
court appointed counsel is not included in the definition of the
administration of criminal justice.

(8) “Investigative Files” means computerized records stored
in LEDS, NCIC or other state criminal justice information
systems, as follows: outstanding arrest warrants and other wanted
persons; missing persons; unidentified persons; restraining orders;
lost or stolen identification; Psychiatric Security Review Board
Orders; persons who have threatened a Secret Service protected;
Persons under the supervision of a Court or a Corrections agency;
gang members; armed career criminals; Sex offender registrants;
concealed handgun license records; stolen, repossessed,
impounded vehicles; stolen vehicle license plates, vehicle parts,
vehicle identification plates and title certificates; vehicles used in
the commission of a felony; stolen and pawned firearms; stolen
securities; stolen boats and associated equipment; other stolen and
pawned property; other files of a similar nature which may be
established to assist in law enforcement investigations or to
enhance other criminal justice purposes.

(9) “NCIC State Control Terminal Agency” means the
agency in each state which is responsible for the state’s computer
link with the National Crime Information Center and which is
responsible for ensuring that NCIC system security and
operational policies and procedures are carried out within the
state.

(10) “NLETS State Control Terminal Agency” means the
agency in each state which is responsible for the state’s computer
link with the National Law Enforcement Telecommunications
System, Inc., and which is responsible for ensuring that NLETS’
system security and operational policies and procedures are
carried out within the state.
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(11) “Management Control Agreement” means a written
agreement between a criminal justice agency and a non-criminal
justice agency which provides services (dispatching, record
keeping, computer services, etc.) to the criminal justice agency.
The agreement gives the criminal justice agency management
control over the operations of the non-criminal justice agency as
they relate to access to the Law Enforcement Data System
network.

(12) “Management Control” means the autho rity to set and
enforce:

(a) Priorities;
(b) Standards for the selection, supervision and termination

of personnel; and
(c) Policy governing the operation of computers, circuits, and

telecommunications terminals used to process, store, or transmit
information to or receive information from the Law Enforcement
Data System.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0040
LEDS Responsibilities

The general responsibilities of the Law Enforcement Data
System program are as follows:

(1) Develop and operate a computerized criminal justice
telecommunications and information system providing message
switching and record storage and retrieval capabilities.

(2) Provide a level of training adequate to enable effective
use of LEDS and associated systems.

(3) Function as the NCIC Control Terminal Agency and the
NLETS Control Terminal Agency for the State of Oregon.

(4) Assist and train criminal justice agencies in the develop -
ment of information from LEDS and associated systems for use in
criminal investigations.

(5) Develop and maintain linkages with the Driver and Motor
Vehicle Services Branch (DMV), the State Marine Board, the
Public Utility Commission, and other non-criminal justice
agencies to make appropriate information available to Oregon
criminal justice agencies to assist in the en force ment of state
criminal and traffic laws and regulations.

(6) Provide staff support to the Law Enforcement Data
System Advisory Committee.

(7) Develop and operate the State Uniform Crime Reporting
Program to collect crime statistics information from local and
state law enforcement agencies; provide information to the public,
the Governor, the Legislature, contributing agencies, and others
who have a responsibility for the prevention or reduction of crime.

(8) Provide monthly and annual Oregon crime statistics
information to the Federal Bureau of Investigation to satisfy
national uniform crime reporting program requirements.

(9) Operate a program of record validation, quality control,
and audits to ensure that records entered into LEDS and NCIC
files by user agencies are kept accurate and complete and that
compliance with state and national standards is maintained.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0050
User Responsibilities

(1) “User Agreement” Any agency using a terminal to access
the Law Enforcement Data System, whether directly or through
another agency, is responsible for adhering to all applicable LEDS
rules and policies and must sign an agreement with LEDS to that
effect.

(2) “Record Validation” Any agency that enters information
into LEDS or NCIC files is responsible for the accuracy,
timeliness and completeness of that information. LEDS will send
a record validation review list, regularly, to each agency.
Validation is accomplished by reviewing the original entry and
current supporting documents. Recent reconsultation with any
appropriate complainant, victim, prosecutor, court, motor vehicle

registry files, or other appropriate source or individual also is
required with respect to the Wanted Person, Missing Person, and
Vehicle Files. In the event the agency is unsuccessful in its
attempts to contact the victim, complainant, etc., the entering
authority must make a determination based on the best
information and knowledge available whether or not to retain the
original entry in the file. Validation procedures must be
formalized and copies of these procedures must be on file for
review during a LEDS or NCIC audit. When the agency has
completed the validation they must return a signed certification of
their validity within an appropriate time as established by LEDS.

(3) “Minimum Training” Each agency employee who
operates a terminal to access the LEDS network must complete a
LEDS System Training Guide at a level consistent with the
employee’s duties. Pursuant to procedures outlined in the LEDS
Operating Manual, the agency LEDS Representative must issue a
Training Guide to such employees within ten (10) calendar days
of the person beginning to access LEDS via a terminal. The
Training Guide must be completed within 60 calendar days from
the date of issue. Each employee who operates a terminal to
access LEDS must be re-certified by the agency every two years
per schedules and procedures as prescribed by LEDS.

(4) “Hit Confirmation” When another agency receives a
positive record response (Hit) from LEDS or NCIC and requests
confirmation of the status of the record (warrant, stolen vehicle,
etc.), the agency responsible for entry of the record must respond
within 10 minutes for urgent hit confirmation requests or within
one (1) hour for routine hit confirmation requests, with an answer
indicating the status of the record or indicating when the record
status will be confirmed.

(5) “Agency LEDS Representatives” The agency
administrator of each agency with terminal access to LEDS must
designate an agency LEDS Re presentative who shall be the
primary contact for all matters relating to use of LEDS by the
agency. The agency LEDS Representative must complete the
LEDS System Training Guide before a training guide will be
issued to other agency employees. The agency LEDS Re  -
presentative must complete a LEDS System Training Guide at
the highest level required by any person in the agency before a
training guide will be issued to other agency personnel. Every
LEDS Representative must satisfactorily com plete no less than the
Inquiry Level Training Guide.

(6) “Background Checks of Terminal Operators Required”
Policies for access to the FBI-NCIC system require background
screening of all terminal operators with access to the NCIC
system. For efficiency and consistency, the key ele ments of the
NCIC back ground screening policies are also adopted for all
LEDS access, as follows:

(a) Appropriate Background investigations, including a check
of LEDS and NCIC fugitive warrant files, the Oregon
computerized criminal history (CCH) system, and the FBI
Interstate Identification Index (III), must be conducted on all
terminal operators with LEDS access. To assure positive
identification, sub mission of a completed applicant fingerprint
card to the FBI Identification Division through the Oregon State
Police Identifi cation Services Section is also required;

(b) If the applicant is found to be a fugitive or to be the
subject of a current pro secution, access will be denied. If the
applicant has been convicted of a crime which could have resulted
in a sentence to a Federal or State penitentiary, access will be
denied;

(c) Exceptions to denials based upon prior criminal con -
victions may be made in extraordinary circumstances upon
application by the user agency to the Superintendent of State
Police setting forth the circumstances. The Super intendent or
his/her designee will maintain a central file where such exception
authorizations shall be filed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0060
Information Access and Dissemination
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Information is made available to LEDS users rom various
sources and agencies, including LEDS and other state information
system files, motor vehicle departments, NCIC, Oregon State
Police Identification Services Section, etc. Each user must observe
any restrictions placed on the use or dissemination of information
by its source. It is LEDS’ responsibility to advise user agencies of
any restrictions which apply to any information accessed via the
Law Enforcement Data System.

(1) Investigative Files: Information from investigative files
maintained by LEDS, NCIC, or other agencies is for criminal
justice use only and is not to be disseminated to any person for
other than an official criminal justice purpose. Inquiries from the
public regarding the status of an invest igative file should be
referred to the agency holding the case.

(2) Oregon Computerized Criminal History Records (CCH):
(a) Oregon criminal history records are available via LEDS,

from the Oregon State Police Computerized Criminal History
Files, to agencies which are authorized by the Oregon State
Police.

(b) All agencies accessing the Oregon CCH files must have a
signed agreement with the Oregon State Police and must adhere to
Oregon Administrative OARs 257-010-0030 through 257-010-
0050 adopted by the Department of State Police.

(3) Federal Bureau of Investigation -- Interstate Identification
Index (FBI-III): The Federal Bureau of Investigation maintains
the Interstate Criminal Identification Index which is available
through LEDS. Access to this information is restricted to criminal
justice agencies, as defined in OAR 257-015-0015(5), in the
discharge of their official responsibilities, or to non-criminal
justice agencies which provide services to criminal justice
agencies, and which have signed a management control agreement
with a criminal justice agency.

(4) Oregon Motor Vehicle and Driver Records:
(a) Oregon motor vehicle registration and driving records are

the responsibility of the Oregon Department of Transportation,
Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Branch (DMV). Agencies in
Oregon have access to these records via LEDS for authorized
criminal justice purposes. Commu-nication, dis semination, or use
of this information for other than authorized purposes is
prohibited.

(b) Authorized purposes do not include inquiries for the
collection of taxes and parking violation fees or fines;

(c) Authorized purposes are specifically defined as follows:
(A) Enforcement of state traffic and criminal laws, and

regulations;
(B) Identification of vehicles which have been towed or

impounded by police;
(C) Screening of prospective or present agency employees

who will have access to LEDS equipment or information;
(D) Identification of vehicles or individuals associated with

criminal investigations;
(E) Review of driving and registration records for

prosecution and sentencing functions;
(F) Processing of school bus driver applications by the State

Department of Education;
(G) Access to vehicle registration information by fire and

rescue agencies in emergency situations where waiting for the
availability of a law enforcement officer would com pound the
emergency;

(H) The identification of vehicles or individuals associated
with the Weighmaster enforcement function;

(I) Inquiries for any purpose other than those specified in
paragraphs (4)(c)(A)-(4)(c)(H) of this section must be directed to
the department of Transportation, Driver and Motor Vehicle
Services Branch (DMV) by telephone or by mail, together with
the proper fee or account number. Violations of these policies may
result in the suspension or termination of motor vehicle records
access.

(5) National Law Enforcement Telecommunica tions System
(NLETS) Access: NLETS provides a link to criminal justice
information systems in other states for the purpose of point-to-
point communications between criminal justice agencies and for
access to information systems. Access to criminal history records

in other states, via NLETS, is restricted to criminal justice
agencies, as defined in OAR 257-15-030(5). Access to motor
vehicle records in other states and the use of the agency-to-agency
communication facilities may be limited by NLETS policies or
policies in other states.

(6) Corrections Offender Records:
(a) The Corrections Offender File contains records of persons

under the active supervision of a state or local corrections agency.
Entries and changes to this file can be made only as authorized by
the Oregon Department of Corrections.

(b) Access to Corrections offender records via LEDS is
restricted to criminal justice agencies for criminal justice
purposes.

(7) Administrative Messages: An administrative message
(AM) is a free text message, from one agency to one or more
agencies.

(a) All administrative messages transmitted via LEDS must
be by the authority of an authorized user.

(b) Use of administrative messages via LEDS is restricted to
criminal justice purposes, with the following exceptions:

(A) Emergency public safety messages such as storm
warnings, disaster warnings, road conditions, etc., may be
transmitted by agencies with res ponsibilities in these areas.

(B) Emergency inter-departmental and intra-departmental
non-criminal justice business messages may be transmitted at any
time. Non criminal justice non-emergency business messages may
be transmitted between 12:00 and 1:00 p.m. Monday through
Friday, between 5:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. Monday through Friday,
or any time on weekends and holidays.

(C) Messages from agencies recruiting for personnel are not
to be sent as all points bulletins or area broadcast messages. They
may be sent to LEDS. LEDS will then compile and transmit a
consolidated bulletin weekly, or as needed.

(D) Messages from agencies regarding equipment wanted, or
for sale, are not to be sent as all points bulletins or area broadcast
messages. They may be sent to LEDS. LEDS will then compile
and transmit a consolidated bulletin weekly, or as needed.

(E) Announcements of meetings of recognized criminal
justice professional organizations may be sent by the authorized
officers of such organizations.

(F) Announcements of official inter-departmental or intra-
departmental activities such as training classes, shooting
tournaments and other organized professional competition or
sports events, public service projects, etc., may be sent by the
agency responsible for scheduling the activity. The addressees of
such announcements should be limited to those participating in, or
interested in, the activity.

(G) Use of LEDS for promotion of a particular political point
of view (lobbying) regarding proposed legislation, elections, or
other issues is prohibited. However, this does not preclude
information announcements of association meetings, hearings, or
other forums where such issues will be discussed.

(8) Demonstration or Display of Records: Any public
demonstration involving the display of records or communication
received via LEDS shall be confined to information pertaining to
the individual performing the demonstration, a person viewing the
demonstration and consenting to the display, or to appropriate test
records.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0070
System Security and Privacy

The data stored in the LEDS, NCIC, and other criminal
justice information system files is documented criminal justice
information. This information must be protected to ensure its
integrity and its correct, legal and efficient storage, dissemination
and use. It is incumbent upon and agency operating a LEDS
terminal, or a terminal on another system which has access to the
LEDS network, to implement the procedures necessary to make
the terminal secure from any unauthorized use. All agency
personnel authorized to access the LEDS network must be

Chapter 257     Department of Oregon State Police
OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES     1997 COMPILATION



instructed in the proper use and dissemination of the information.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0080
Criteria for Terminal Access to LEDS

LEDS uses the following criteria to determine if an agency
qualifies for placement of a LEDS terminal, or for access via a
terminal on another system which has access to the LEDS
network. Questions about whether or not an agency meets one of
these criteria or whether LEDS access is appropriate will be
resolved by the LEDS Advisory Committee:

(1) The agency is a criminal justice agency as defined in
OAR 257-015-0030(5); or

(2) The agency is a service agency which provides computer
services, dispatching support, or other direct support service to
one or more criminal justice agencies, and which has signed a
management control agreement with a criminal justice agency; or

(3) The agency is a non-criminal justice agency with a
statutory requirement to use in formation or capabilities which
may be available via LEDS, and use of a terminal by the agency
will not adversely affect criminal justice agency users, and use of
the terminal will be for a criminal justice purpose as defined in
OAR 257-015-0030(6); or

(4) The agency is a non-criminal justice agency which
provides information or capabilities needed by criminal justice
agencies for a criminal justice purpose, and use of a terminal will
improve the ability to provide such information or capabilities; or

(5) The agency is one of the non-criminal justice agencies
listed below:

(a) The Emergency Management Division of the Department
of Oregon State Police;

(b) The Pupil Transportation Unit of the Depart ment of
Education;

(c) The Board on Public Safety Standards and Training;
(d) The Children’s Services Division of the Department of

Human Resources;
(e) The Oregon Racing Commission;
(f) The Senior Services Division of the Depart ment of

Human Resources(s)
(g) The Teachers Standards and Practices Commission;
(h) The Emergency Medical Services Unit of the State Health

Division;
(i) A State or County Weighmaster;
(j) Any other agency as authorized by the LEDS Advisory

Committee.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0090
Criteria for Revocation of Terminal or Informational Access
to LEDS

The authorization of any agency to access the LEDS network
or associated systems or to retain access is subject to revocation or
cancellation by LEDS on the following grounds:

(1) Violation by the agency or a by a member of the agency
of any state statute, administrative rule, or policy pertaining to the
use of LEDS or associated systems.

(2) Violation of the security of the LEDS system.
(3) Accessing, retrieving or using information from or

through the LEDS system for non-official or unauthorized
purposes.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

257-015-0100
Criteria for Computer Access to the LEDS Network

(1) A local or state government computer center may be
given direct access to the LEDS network if the agency operating

the computer is a criminal justice agency. If the agency operating
the computer is not a criminal justice agency, then there must be a
current management control agreement in effect between the
computer center management and one of the criminal justice
agencies served by the computer center.

(2) The criteria for allowing terminal access to LEDS are
described in OAR 257-015-0080. A local or state computer
system connected to LEDS my allow such access after giving
written notification to the LEDS Director of the agency requesting
access, the terminal identifier, and other information needed by
LEDS to ensure proper authorization.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.730(3)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.730
Hist.: OSP 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-95

DIVISION 20
PUBLIC RECORDS

257-020-0005
Fees for Furnishing Certified Copies of Public Records of
Department of State Police 

(1) Payment of fees will be required in advance to obtain
certified copies of public records of the Department of State
Police. A schedule of fees will be established and published by
the Department of State Police to cover the reasonable costs
involved in the preparation of the re quested copies. The fee
schedule will be amended from time to time to reflect the changes
in costs for said preparation. The fee schedule will be available
from the Department of State Police on the re  quest of any party.

(2) Oregon State Police fee schedule:
(a) Publications and Report:
(A) Accident reports ..........................$4.50 for first 10 pages, 

$10 for reports 11 pages 
and over;

(B) Crime reports (including Game Bureau investigating
reports) .......................................................................................$ 8;

(C) State Police Manual ...............................................$17.50:
(i) Including revisions and updates for 

2 years ......................................................................................$30;
(ii) Each additional 2 years................................................$10.
(D) Official maintenance records with respect

to one specific radar unit.............................................................$3;
(E) Department Radar Training Manual ............................$5;
(F) Manufacturer’s Operator’s Manual ..............................$5;
(G) Other Department Publications ....................................$5.
(b) Implied Consent Program:
(A) Official maintenance report with respect 

to one specific breath alcohol instrument ...................................$3;
(B) Operator’s permit of the police 

officer administering the specific breath 
alcohol instrument.......................................................................$3.

(c) Photograph:
(A) Contact sheets:
(i) Black and white...............................$2.50 per 8 x 10 sheet;
(ii) Color .............................................$3.00 per 8 x 10 sheet.
(B) Three by five inch prints:
(i) Black and white...................................................$.75 each;
(ii) Color .....................................................................$1 each.
(C) Five by seven inch prints:
(i) Black and white.................................................$1.75 each;
(ii) Color .....................................................................$2 each.
(D) Eight by ten inch prints:
(i) Black and white.................................................$2.50 each;
(ii) Color .....................................................................$3 each.
(d) Videotapes...........................................................$25 each;
(e) Communication tapes:
(A) Cassette copy of requested .........................................$30;
portion of master tape:
(Includes cost of cassette.)
(B) Replacement fee for master.........................................$75.
tape held over seven months:
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(f) Autoradiographs ..................................................$30 each;
(g) All other reports, publications, or other written materials

of the Oregon State Police not enumerated above shall be
furnished at the rate of $4.50 for the first ten pages and $10 for
reports 11 pages and over;

(h) When the department receives a request for reports or
publications requiring an employee or employees to screen and
retrieve more than five separate reports or publications, or other
specified materials, employee labor costs will be charged to the
recipient of the reports or publications or other materials. The rate
of labor com pensation shall be that of a top step Clerical
Specialist, which is to be charged per hour and pro-rated for any
portion there of;

(i) No charge will be made for furnishing copies to govern -
mental agencies, victims named in the crime reports, or relatives
of deceased persons.

..................................................................Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & Ch. 192 
Hist.: DSP 5(Temp), f. & ef. 6-23-77; DSP 6, f. & ef. 9-2-77; DSP 2-1981, f.
& ef. 9-1-81; OSP 2-1989, f. 5-1-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; OSP 4-1989, f. 12-18-89,
cert. ef. 12-16-89; OSP 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-91

DIVISION 25
FIELD SOBRIETY TESTS

257-025-0000
Statement of Purpose

The purpose of these rules is to implement and interpret ORS
801.272 with regard to field sobriety tests. The Department of
State Police is empowered to make rules interpreting and
implementing the described statute. It is intended by these rules to
standardize field sobriety tests throughout the state.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 801.272
Stats. Implemented: ORS 801.272
Hist.: OSP 5-1989, f. 12-27-89, cert. ef. 1-15-90; OSP 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-
16-96

257-025-0005
General Requirements of ORS 801.272

(1) ORS 801.272 generally provides that the Oregon State
Police approve by rule, after consultation with the Board on
Public Safety Standards and Training (BPSST), physical and/or
mental tests that enable a police officer or trier of fact to screen
for or detect evidence of physical condition that indicates probable
impairment from intoxicating liquor, a controlled substance or a
combination of intoxicating liquor and controlled substance. Tests
meeting the requirements of ORS 801.272 are defined as field
sobriety tests and are listed and described in OAR 257-025-0012
and OAR 257-025-0020.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 801.272
Stats. Implemented: ORS 801.272
Hist.: OSP 5-1989, f. 12-27-89, cert. ef. 1-15-90; OSP 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-
16-92; OSP 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-16-96

257-025-0010
What Are Not Field Sobriety Tests 

The following acts, signs or symptoms are, typically, present
in circumstances of intoxicant impairment. They are not field
sobriety tests. A police officer may testify to their presence at any
proceeding, criminal or civil, resulting from a DUII (driving under
the influence of intoxicants) arrest. These acts, signs and
symptoms include, but are not limited to:

(1) Difficulty in walking or unusual walking.
(2) Difficulty standing. 
(3) Difficulty following directions. 
(4) Odor of alcoholic beverage on the breath. 
(5) Flushed or pale appearance. 
(6) Speech difficulties or unusual speech patterns.
(7) Disorderly or unusual conduct or demeanor.
(8) Lack of muscular coordination or muscular tremors. 
(9) Evidence of mental disturbance.
(10) Visual disorders or difficulties. 

(11) Sleepiness or drowsiness. 
(12) Dizziness.
(13) Nausea or vomiting.
(14) Mood swings.
(15) Difficulty with divided attention.
(16) Bloodshot and/or watery and/or glassy eyes.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 801.272
Stats. implemented: ORS 801.272
Hist.: OSP 5-1989, f. 12-27-89, cert. ef. 1-15-90; OSP 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-
16-96

257-025-0012
Levels of Training

(1) The following three levels of “field sobriety tests”, as that
phrase is defined by ORS 801.272, are dependant upon the level
of officer training, and are hereby approved by the Department of
State Police, after consultation with the Board on Public Safety
Standards and Training (BPSST).

(a) Level I. Basic DUII Standard Field Sobriety Test training
is required before an officer is authorized to ask or request a
person to submit to the following tests:

(A) Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN);
(B) Walk and Turn Test;
(C) One Leg Stand;
(D) Modified Finger to Nose Test;
(E) Finger Count;
(F) Alphabet;
(G) Counting.
(b) Level II. Basic DUII Standard Field Sobriety Test

training and Basic Drug Impairment training are required before
an officer is authorized to ask or request a person to submit to the
following tests in addition to all the Field Sobriety Tests listed
under Level I:

(A) Internal Clock;
(B) Romberg Balance Test;
(C) Lack of Convergence Test;
(D) Pupil Size Estimation;
(E) Pulse Rate Examination.
(c) Level III. Basic DUII Standard Field Sobriety Test

training, Basic Drug Impairment training and Drug Recognition
Expert (DRE) training are required before an officer is authorized
to ask or request a person to submit to the following tests in
addition to all the Field Sobriety Tests listed under Level I and
Level II: Limited physical examination including the following:
the person’s vital signs (pulse, temperature and blood pressure);
the person’s psychophysical responses (coordination of mind and
body); signs of administration of drugs (injection sites, etc.); eye
responses (horizontal/vertical  gaze  nystagmus, eye convergence,
pupil size under varying light intensities); and physical and
behavioral charac teristics (muscle rigidity or flaccidity,
hyperactivity, etc.).

(2) These rules are necessary for the implemen ta tion of ORS
801.272. No stop, arrest, civil or criminal proceeding commenced
prior to the effec tive date of these rules is affected by the require -
ments of these rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 801.272
Stats. Implemented: ORS 801.272
Hist.: OSP 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-16-96

257-025-0020
Conducting Approved Field Sobriety Tests

(1) Nothing in this rule prohibits the police officer from
providing additional information to the person asked or requested
to take the field sobriety tests that the officer considers convenient
or appropriate. By way of example, but not limitation, the officer
may orally describe some or all of the tests intended to be
administered.  Prior to the administration of  each field sobriety
test, the officer shall generally explain the field sobriety test to the
person requested to take the test. The field sobriety tests shall be
administered substantially as described below. Each field sobriety
test, as described below, is specifically found to meet the
requirements of ORS 801.272:

(a) Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus: The police officer must
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have received training in the adminis tra tion of the Horizontal
Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test by the Oregon State Police, BPSST
or other governmental entity prior to its administra tion under this
rule. The officer shall use a stimu lus (such as a finger, pencil or
penlight) held vertically in front of the person’s face 12 to about
15 inches away from the person’s face. The person tested must
hold their head still. The officer, during the administration of the
testing procedures, should conduct the testing procedures in the
order listed unless circumstances or conditions dictate otherwise:

(A) The officer shall move the stimulus from the center of
the face to the side, checking for the lack of smooth pursuit of the
eyes as they track the stimulus;

(B) The officer shall check for distinct nystagmus at the
maximum deviation of each eye;

(C) The officer shall check for the onset of nystagmus prior
to 45 degrees in each eye.

(b) Walk and Turn Test: The officer will instruct the person,
while standing, to place the person’s left foot on a line (if no line
is available, use a general direction for the person to walk an
imaginary line) then place the right foot on the line with the heel
of that foot ahead of the toes of the left foot. Instruct the person to
take nine steps down the line, keeping arms at sides, looking at
feet, while walking heel-to-toe. Instruct the person how to turn (at
the discretion of the officer) and to walk back in the same manner
previously described. Generally demonstrate the test;

(c) One Leg Stand: Instruct the person to stand straight with
the person’s feet together and arms at the sides. Instruct the person
to raise one foot approximately six inches off the ground while
looking at the foot for 30 seconds or when told to stop. The officer
will then time the person for thirty seconds or if the person
consents, the person will count 1,001, 1002, 1003, etc., to 1,030.
The officer may conduct the same test with the other foot.
Generally demonstrate the test;

(d) Romberg Balance Test;
(A) Instruct the person to stand straight with feet together

with arms at the person’s sides.
(B) While standing as described above, instruct the person to

tilt their head backward, close their eyes and estimate the passage
of thirty seconds before opening their eyes again. Generally
demon strate the test;

(e) Modified Finger to Nose Test: Instruct the person to stand
straight with heels together, eyes closed, arms at sides, and head
tilted back. Instruct the person to touch the end of the person’s
nose with end of the index finger by bringing the person’s arm
and hand from the person’s side directly to the end of the nose.
Have the person repeat for the other index finger and repeat the
test in the same manner, if deemed appropriate. Generally
demonstrate the test.

(f) Finger count: Have the person hold a hand out and touch
each of the four fingers with the thumb of that hand and count 1-
2-3-4, 4-3-2-1, or any other order deemed appropriate by the
officer. Generally demonstrate the test; 

(g) Alphabet: Have the person say the alphabet or any
portion of the alphabet the officer may choose. This test may be
used as part of the Romberg test;

(h) Counting: Have the person count any length of numbers,
forward or backward, as the officer may require. This test may be
used as part of the Romberg test;

(i) Internal Clock: Ask the person to tell you when 30
seconds has elapsed. Time the person’s estimation.

(2) A police officer may administer any, all, or none of the
field sobriety tests described in this rule as deemed appropriate in
the sole discretion of the police officer.

(3) Without limitation by these rules, a police officer who
reasonably suspects a person has committed the offense of
Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants in violation of ORS
813.010 or a municipal ordinance may request the per formance of
any act reasonably related to the inquiry.

(4) These rules do not limit the admissibility of evidence by a
police officer at any proceeding regarding a person’s response to
the police officer’s request, as described in section (3) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 801.272
Stats. Implemented: ORS 801.272

Hist.: OSP 5-1989, f. 12-27-89, cert. ef. 1-15-90; OSP 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-
16-92; OSP 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-16-96

257-025-0025
Effective Date

These rules take effect upon filing.  These rules are necessary
for the implementation of ORS 801.272. No stop, arrest, civil or
criminal proceeding commenced prior to the effective date of
these rules is affected by the requirements of these rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 801.272
Stats. Implemented: ORS 801.272
Hist.: OSP 5-1989, f. 12-27-89, cert. ef. 1-15-90; OSP 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-
16-96

DIVISION 30
ALCOHOL BREATH TESTING

[ED. NOTE: Chapter 410, Oregon Laws 1979, signed by the Governor and
effective on July 17, 1979, statutorily transferred Alcohol Breath Testing
responsibilities from the Health Division (OAR Chapter 333, Division 13) to
the Department of State Police.
Subsequently the Department of State Police adopted administrative Order
DSP 1-1979(Temp), f. & ef. July 2, 1979, and DSP 2-1979(Temp), f. & ef.
July 18, 1979.]

257-0030-0040
Criteria for Approval of Breath Testing Equipment

Any instrument or equipment to be used for the testing of a
person’s breath to determine the alcohol content of the blood may
be approved by the Oregon State Police if one or more of the
following criteria are met:

(1) Submission by the manufacturer or distributor of the
instrument of at least two reports of studies correlating blood
analysis and breath tests performed with this instrument,
conducted by two separate laboratories of governmental health or
law enforcement agencies, or independent organ izations,
financially unrelated to the manufacturer or distributor of such
instruments.

(2) Provision of a production model of the instrument by the
manufacturer or distributor to the Oregon State Police for a
sufficient period of time to allow Oregon State Police
technician(s) to conduct sufficient investigation and laboratory
tests to adequately ascertain accuracy and re producibility of the
breath testing equipment.

(3) Those instruments which have been found by the
National Highway Traffic Safety Adminis tration to conform to the
model specifications for evidential breath testing devices, and
which are listed on the Conforming Products List in the
Federal Register.

(4) Subsequent series of above instruments, so long as the
subsequent changes and series do not diminish the instrument’s
ability to accurately determine blood alcohol content.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by
reference in this rule are available from the Office of State Police General
Headquarters.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & Ch. 813
Stats. Implemented: ORS 813.160

Hist.: OSP 2-1992, f. 7-20-92 (and corrected 8-11-92), cert. ef. 9-1-92;
OSP 1-1993, f. 1-19-93, cert. ef. 1-20-93; OSP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-96

257-030-0050 
Definitions

As used in these rules, “Chemical Test” and “Chemical
Analysis” both mean a quanti ta tive analysis for alcohol by means
of direct or indirect measurement of physicochemical technique
performed on a sample of breath.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 813
Stats. Implemented: ORS 

Hist.: OSP 2-1992, f. 7-20-92 (and corrected 8-11-92), cert. ef. 9-1-92

257-030-0060
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Approved Breath Testing Equipment
The following breath testing equipment is approved under

OAR 257-030-0040 for performing chemical analysis of a
person’s breath: The Intoxilyzer 5000 and the Intoxilyzer 1400:

(1) Reports of correlation studies furnished by the man -
ufacturer(s) are main tained by the Oregon State Police.

(2) Correlation studies performed with the Intoxilyzer 5000
by Oregon State Police tech nician(s) are incorporated as
Appendix 1.

(3) Correlation studies performed with the Intoxilyzer 1400
by Oregon State Police tech nician(s) are incorporated as
Appendix 2.

[ED. NOTE: The Appendicies referenced in this rule are not printed in
the OAR Compilation. Copies are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & Ch. 813
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.160

Hist.: OSP 2-1992, f. 7-20-92 (and corrected 8-11-92), cert. ef. 9-1-92;
OSP 1-1993, f. 1-19-93, cert. ef. 1-20-93; OSP 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-8-93;
OSP 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-96

257-0030-0070
Approved Methods for Operating the Intoxily zer 5000

The following method of per forming Chemical Analysis of a
subject’s breath is approved for the Intoxilyzer 5000:

(1) Test Identification: A check list containing an outline of
the approved procedures shall be used and completed by all
operators of this instrument.

(2) Pre-Test Requirement:
(a) The operator is certain that the subject has not taken

anything by mouth (drinking, smoking, eating, taking medication,
etc.), vomited, or regurgitated liquid from the stomach into mouth,
for at least fifteen minutes before taking the test;

(b) There is no requirement that the operator be the person
who makes observation of the subject. The person performing the
Pre-Test Requirement (observation period) need not possess a
permit to test the alcoholic content of blood.

(c) There is no requirement that the subject rinse the mouth
or remove dentures.

(3) Test Procedure:
(a) Ensure that the “Power” switch is on and the instrument is

out of the “Not Ready” stage;
(b) Push “Start Test” button to initiate testing sequence;
(c) Insert test record card;
(d) After instructing the subject on how to give a proper

breath sample, have the subject provide a breath sample when
“Please Blow” appears on the display;

(e) Remove the test record card with printout of test results.
(4) Testing Sequence: The testing sequence the instrument

follows will be:
(a) Diagnostics: The instrument will perform a complete

diagnostic check on its components and operational standards. If
all the operational parameters are proper, the instrument will
proceed to the next step;

(b) Air Blank: The instrument will draw in outside air to
purge the unit of any alcohol or other material which may be
present in the sample cell. It is also looking at the operational
environment and analyzing for any possible contaminant which
may be present in the room air. If all parameters are met, the
instrument will proceed to the next step;

(c) Subject Test: At this time the instrument will display
“Please Blow”. The subject is instructed on how to give a proper
breath sample. The subject has approximately three minutes to
comply with this request. The subject test phase has been
completed and will proceed to the next step when:

(A) The instrument has accepted the breath sample and
displayed the result; or

(B) The subject test is aborted by action of the operator or by
the instrument; or

(C) The three minute request period has lapsed; or
(D) The operator has depressed the Start Test button to

indicate a refusal.
(d) Air Blank: This air blank is to purge the instrument of the

collected sample and once again check the operational

environment for any possible contaminants. If all parameters are
proper the instrument will print the testing sequence information
and display “Test Complete”. If the post sample check is improper
the instrument will abort the test and an error message will be
displayed;

(e) Evidence Card: The final phase of the analysis is the
printing of the evidence card. If all parameters and every
operational aspect of the instrument were proper, a completed
evidence card is received. If at any time there was a malfunction,
error or condition that would affect the validity of the test, or any
section of the instrument was not in perfect working order, the test
would have been aborted and a completed evidence card would
not be received.

(5) “Completed” Evidence Card: A “Completed” evidence
card is one which indicates a breath test result, a refusal, or the
presence of an interfering substance:

(a) An evidence card obtained using the “Reprint” option
contains the identical information as would be printed on the
original card and may be used in addition to or in place of the
original test card;

(b) The operator shall record the following information on
the evidence card: Name and date of birth of the subject tested,
operator’s name and breath test permit number;

(c) If the subject did not provide an adequate breath sample
within the three minute request period, the instrument will
indicate “Insufficient” and print an asterisk (*) before the “Subject
Test” result, and “* Insufficient Sample - Value printed was
highest obtained”. The value printed is an accurate measurement
of the sample provided and is equal to or less than the subject’s
actual blood alcohol value;

(d) If during the three minute request period the subject
refuses, through some willful act, to follow the instructions to
provide an adequate breath sample, the operator may depress the
“Start Test” button to terminate the breath test request phase. The
instrument will indicate “Refused” and print “Subject Test
Refused”.

(e) If the instrument detects the presence of acetone or other
substances which could interfere with the instrument’s ability to
accurately measure the amount of ethyl alcohol in the breath, the
message “Interf Detected” will be displayed and the test will be
aborted. The printout on the test record will indicate “Invalid Test
*Interferant Detected”. This is a completed test and the operator
should not restart the testing sequence.

(6) Incomplete Evidence Card: The following conditions will
result in an incomplete evidence card:

(a) If the subject did not provide a breath sample or blow
with sufficient force to activate the breath pressure sensor at any
time within the three minute request period, the instrument will
indicate “No Sample Given” and print an asterisk (*) before
“Subject Test” and “*No Sample Given”. If the evidence card
indicates “*No Sample Given”, the operator should restart the
testing sequence and proceed until a completed evidence card is
obtained or until the subject refuses;

(b) If the operator receives an error message and print out
from the instrument, such as “Invalid Test” (not to include
“Invalid Test *Interferant Detected”), “Residual Alcohol Present”,
“Inhibited.RFI”, “Invalid Mode”, “Check Ambient Conditions”,
etc., the operator should take corrective action as outlined in the
Intoxilyzer 5000 Student Manual, and restart the testing
sequence.

(7) Failure to record information specified in section (1) and
subsection (5)(b) of this rule does not invalidate the test result
obtained if the procedures were followed.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by
reference in this rule are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & Ch. 813
Stats. Implemented: ORS 813.160

Hist.: OSP 2-1992, f. 7-20-92 (and corrected 8-11-92), cert. ef. 9-1-92;
OSP 1-1993, f. 1-19-93, cert. ef. 1-20-93; OSP 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-
23-93; OSP 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-8-93; OSP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-96

257-030-0075
Approved Methods for Operating the Intoxilyzer 1400
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The following method of per forming Chemical Analysis of a
subject’s breath is approved for the Intoxilyzer 1400:

(1) Test Identification: A check list containing an outline of
the approved procedures shall be used and completed by all
operators of this instrument.

(2) Pre-Test Requirement:
(a) The operator is certain that the subject has not taken

anything by mouth (drinking, smoking, eating, taking medication,
etc.), vomited, or regurgitated liquid from the stomach into mouth,
for at least fifteen minutes before taking the test;

(b) There is no requirement that the operator be the person
who makes observation of the subject. The person performing the
Pre-Test Requirement (observation period) need not possess a
permit to test the alcoholic content of blood.

(c) There is no requirement that the subject rinse the mouth
or remove dentures.

(3) Test Procedure:
(a) Ensure that the “Power” switch is on and the instrument is

out of the “Not Ready” stage;
(b) If the instrument is in the “Standby” mode push the “Start

Test” button to enter the “Ready to Test” mode;
(c) Push “Start Test” button to initiate testing sequence;
(d) After instructing the subject on how to give a proper

breath sample, have the subject provide a breath sample when
“Please Blow” appears on the display;

(e) Tear the test record paper, with printout of test results,
from the instrument.

(4) Testing Sequence: The testing sequence the instrument
follows will be:

(a) Diagnostics: The instrument will perform a complete
diagnostic check on its components and operational standards. If
all the operational parameters are proper, the instrument will
proceed to the next step;

(b) Air Blank: The instrument will draw in outside air to
purge the unit of any alcohol or other material which may be
present in the sample cell. It is also looking at the operational
environment and analyzing for any possible contaminant which
may be present in the room air. If all parameters are met, the
instrument will proceed to the next step;

(c) Subject Test: At this time the instrument will display
“Please Blow”. The subject is instructed on how to give a proper
breath sample. The subject has approximately three minutes to
comply with this request. The subject test phase has been
completed and will proceed to the next step when:

(A) The instrument has accepted the breath sample and
displayed the result; or

(B) The subject test is aborted by action of the operator or by
the instrument; or

(C) The three minute request period has lapsed; or
(D) The operator has depressed the Start Test button to

indicate a refusal.
(d) Air Blank: This air blank is to purge the instrument of the

collected sample and once again check the operational
environment for any possible contaminants. If all parameters are
proper the instrument will print the testing sequence information
and display “Test Complete”. If the post sample check is improper
the instrument will abort the test and an error message will be
displayed;

(e) Evidence Record: The final phase of the analysis is the
printing of the evidence record on paper. If all parameters and
every operational aspect of the instrument were proper, a
completed evidence record is received. If at any time there was a
malfunction, error or condition that would affect the validity of
the test, or any section of the instrument was not in perfect
working order, the test would have been aborted and a completed
evidence record would not be received.

(5) “Completed” Evidence Record: A “Com pleted” evidence
record is one which indicates a breath test result, a refusal, or the
presence of an interfering substance:

(a) An evidence record obtained using the “Reprint” option
contains the identical information as would be printed on the
original record and may be used in addition to or in place of the
original test record;

(b) The operator shall enter the following information on the
evidence record: Name and date of birth of the subject tested,
operator’s name and breath test permit number;

(c) If the subject did not provide an adequate breath sample
within the three minute request period, the instrument will
indicate “Insufficient” and print an asterisk (*) before the “Subject
Test” result, and “* Insufficient Sample - Value printed was
highest obtained”. The value printed is an accurate measurement
of the sample provided and is equal to or less than the subject’s
actual blood alcohol value;

(d) If during the three minute request period the subject
refuses, through some willful act, to follow the instructions to
provide an adequate breath sample, the operator may depress the
“Start Test” button to terminate the breath test request phase. The
instrument will indicate “Refused” and print “Subject Test
Refused”.

(e) If the instrument detects the presence of acetone or other
substances which could interfere with the instrument’s ability to
accurately measure the amount of ethyl alcohol in the breath, the
message “Interferant Detected” will be displayed and the test will
be aborted. The printout on the test record will indicate “+Invalid
Test Interferant Detected”. This is a completed test and the
operator should not re-start the testing sequence.

(6) Incomplete Evidence Record: The following conditions
will result in an incomplete evidence record:

(a) If the subject did not provide a breath sample or blow
with sufficient force to activate the breath pressure sensor at any
time within the three minute request period, the instrument will
indicate “No Sample Given” and print a number symbol “#”
before “Subject Test” and “# No Sample Given”. If the evidence
record indicates “# No Sample Given”, the operator should restart
the testing  sequence and proceed until a completed evidence
record is obtained or until the subject refuses;

(b) If the operator receives an error message and print out
from the instrument, such as “Invalid Test” (not to include
“+Invalid Test Interferant Detected”), “Residual Alcohol Present”,
“Inhibited.RFI”, “Invalid Mode”, “Check Ambient Conditions”,
etc., the operator should take corrective action as outlined in the
Intoxilyzer 1400 Student Manual, and re-start the testing
sequence.

(7) Failure to record information specified in section (1) and
subsection (5)(b) of this rule does not invalidate the test result
obtained if the procedures were followed.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by
reference in this rule are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 and Ch. 813
Stats. Implemented: ORS 813.160
Hist.: OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-96

257-030-0080
Qualifications of Breath Test Equipment Operators

(1) No individual shall operate approved breath testing
equipment to determine the alcoholic content of the blood of a
person in accordance with the provisions of ORS 813.160 unless
that individual has been issued a permit to operate such equipment
by the Oregon State Police.

(2) To qualify for training and to obtain a permit for the
operation of approved breath testing equipment, an individual
must be a police officer as defined in ORS 801.395 or a trained
technician of the Oregon State Police. The term police officer
includes reserve police officer.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & Ch. 813
Stats. Implemented: ORS 813.160

Hist.: OSP 2-1992, f. 7-20-92 (and corrected 8-11-92), cert. ef. 9-1-92;
OSP 1-1993, f. 1-19-93, cert. ef. 1-20-93; OSP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-96

257-030-0090
Training for Operators of Breath Test Equipment

(1) The Oregon State Police, or instructors approved by the
Oregon State Police will provide a course of instruction as
provided in ORS 813.160.

(2) Upon completion of the course of instruction, a written
examination will be given and a passing grade of 80 percent or
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above will be required. Each officer or technician obtaining a
passing grade will be issued a permit by the Oregon State Police
stating the method and equipment the officer or technician is
qualified to operate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & Ch. 813
Stats. Implemented: ORS 

Hist.: OSP 2-1992, f. 7-20-92 (and corrected 8-11-92), cert. ef. 9-1-92;
OSP 1-1993, f. 1-19-93, cert. ef. 1-20-93

257-030-0100
Certification of Accuracy of Breath Test Equipment

A trained technician of the Oregon State Police will conduct
an accuracy test of approved breath testing equipment and shall
certify the accuracy of the equipment if accuracy test performance
is within a range of 0.010 high to 0.020 low of the expected value.
The testing can be performed by either an on site test, or by
remote testing via telephone modem utilizing a computer. The
computerized testing will utilize a security system to ensure the
integrity of the scientific testing of the breath test equipment.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & Ch. 813
Stats. Implemented: ORS 813.160

Hist.: OSP 2-1992, f. 7-20-92 (and corrected 8-11-92), cert. ef. 9-1-92;
OSP 1-1993, f. 1-19-93, cert. ef. 1-20-93; OSP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-96

DIVISION 35 
USE OF CRIME DETECTION 
LABORATORIES EQUIPMENT 

257-035-0005
Use of Crime Detection Laboratories Equipment 

“Services” as used in ORS181.080 means the operation of
the equipment by authorized Department personnel and excludes
the private use of laboratory facilities. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 183 & 487 
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 2-1985, f. & ef. 10-1-85 

DIVISION 40
ELECTRONIC SIGNALING DEVICES

257-040-0005
Introductory Provisions

(1) Nothing in these rules is intended to impose any duty or
any standard of care or conduct on any public or private body,
entity or person to initiate or undertake any search and rescue or
related operation, to conduct any such operation in any particular
manner, or to provide any form of monitoring of radio signals in
any geo graphic area.

(2) The distributor of electronic signaling devices may
require that users of the devices execute a release or waiver form
under which users absolve the distributor or liability based on a
claim that the device failed to function successfully, but no such
release shall apply with respect to wilful or wanton misconduct or
to distribution of a device with actual knowledge that is fails to
meet the specifications in Exhibit 1 of theses rules.

(3) Distributors shall require users to report to the distributor,
its agents or employes any activation, dropping, abuse, damage or
impacts sustained by the devices.

[ED. NOTE: The Exhibit referenced in this rule is not printed in the OAR
Compilation. Copies are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 401
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 1-1988(Temp), f. 4-11-88, cert. ef. 4-8-88; OSP 2-1988, f. 8-17-88,
cert. ef. 10-1-88

257-040-0010
Distribution Procedures

(1) Prior to giving any users custody of an electronic
signaling device, the distributor must:

(a) Test the device for minimum power and so indicate on the
user log (a Model User Log is attached as Exhibit 1);

(b) Visually inspect the device for external signs of damage
and so indicate on the user log;

(c) Visually ascertain that the real on the device is intact and
so indicate on the user log;

(d) Provide the user a copy of the written device instructions
and a copy of the user’s fact sheet (a Model User’s Fact Sheet is
attached as Exhibit 2), alert the user to any use instructions on the
device or its harness, and obtain the user’s written ac -
knowledgement that the user has read the written instructions and
witnessed the min imum power test;

(e) Enter his or her initial on the “Check Out Procedures”
portion of the user log.

(f) The distributor shall not permit the use of any device that
fails any test or inspection required above. However, where the
visual inspection discloses only superficial damage of the device,
as opposed to breakage of any component or a breach of the case,
the device may be used it it passes the other tests and inspections.

(2) The distributor must obtain in writing the name, home or
business address, telephone number if any, and state-issued
license to operate a motor vehicle or equally reliable
identification, such as Oregon Division of Motor Vehicles
identification card.

(3) The distributor may require users to provide other
identifying information, to pose security or a deposit to ensure the
return of the device, take other customary business measures to
prevent loss of of damage to the devices, and may limit the
geographic area in which the device may be transported or used.

(4) Nothing in these rules shall be construed as requiring a
distributor to record the anticipated return time of the user or the
device, nor as requiring a distributor to notify any authority in the
event a device is not timely returned.

[ED. NOTE: The Exhibit(s) referenced in this rule is not printed in the OAR
Compilation. Copies are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 401
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 1-1988(Temp), f. 4-11-88, cert. ef. 4-8-88; OSP 2-1988, f. 8-17-88,
cert. ef. 10-1-88 

257-040-0020
Return of a Device to a Distributor

(1) On the return of a device to a distributor, the distributor
must:

(a) Test the device for minimum power and so indicate on the
user log;

(b) Visually inspect the device for external signs of damage
and so indicate on the user log;

(c) Visually inspect the seal on the device and record the seal
number on the user log;

(d) Enter his or her initials on the “Check In Procedures”
portion of the user log.

(2) These rules impose only minimum requirements. Nothing
in theses rules is intended to prevent distributors from using
additional forms, agreements or leases, or from requiring
compensation for use of the devices.

(3) Distributor may use their own instructions, forms, logos
and letterheads as written device instructions, user’s fact sheets
and users logs. However, any user’s fact sheets and user logs shall
contain, as a minimum, the information set forth in Exhibits 1 and
2, which are incorporated into theses rules.

[ED. NOTE: The Exhibit(s) referenced in this rule is not printed in the OAR
Compilation. Copies are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 401
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 1-1988(Temp), f. 4-11-88, cert. ef. 4-8-88; OSP 2-1988, f. 8-17-88,
cert. ef. 10-1-88

257-040-0030
Specifications

(1) The Department of State Police has adopted the document
entitled: “Specifications for the Electronic Signaling Device
Pilot System (ESD), March 28, 1988, Oregon State Police,
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Advisory Committee - Senate Bill 915”, as the specifications
required by ORS 401.635 for electronic signaling devices. Those
specifications are incorporated into these rules and are available at
the Oregon Department of State Police, Communications
Division, 107 Public Service Building, Salem, OR 97310,
(503)378-2575).

(2) Nothing in these rules is intended to restrict the
development of or commerce in electronic signaling devices.
Upon the written request of a manufacturer or distributor of such
devices, the Department of State Police will consider additions or
amendments to the specifications, provided that the proposed
changes will not impair the reliability of electronic location
devices, the safety of climbers or wilderness travelers, and will
comply with federal and state laws regulating electronic
transmitters and transmissions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 401
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 1-1988(Temp), f. 4-11-88, cert. ef. 4-8-88; OSP 2-1988, f. 8-17-88,
cert. ef. 10-1-88

DIVISION 50
NONPREFERENCE TOWING

257-050-0040 
Authority

(1) These administrative rules are promulgated pursuant to
ORS 181.440, that permits the Superintendent of the Oregon State
Police to make rules governing the eligibility of towing businesses
to be placed and remain on any list of such businesses used by the
Department when it requests towing services on behalf of any
person.

(2) All approved towing businesses and tow truck operators
providing service to the public and the Department through calls
received from the Oregon State Police shall conduct their
operation in accordance with all applicable laws of the Federal
Government, the State of Oregon and all applicable rules of the
Department, the Department of Transportation, and the Driver and
Motor Vehicle Services Branch of the Oregon Department of
Transportation (DMV).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440

Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert.
ef. 10-15-89; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-95

257-050-0050
Definitions

(1) “Abandoned Auto” - A vehicle that has been parked or
left standing upon any public way for a period in excess of 24
hours without authorization by statute or local ordinance.

(2) “Business Records” - Those records maintained by the
operator that relate to the nonpreference tows. These include but
are not limited to, tow bills, letters of appointment, and inspection
sheets.

(3) “Department” - The Oregon State Police.
(4) “District Commander” - Means the commanding officer

of the district as established by the Oregon State Police.
(5) “Hazardous Vehicle” - The meaning as given in the

Oregon State Highway Division Administrative Rule OAR 734.
(6) “Hearings Officer” - A person appointed by the Hearings

Program of the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Branch of the
Oregon Department of Transportation authorized to conduct
hearings. The Hearings Program issues final determination of
issues concerning Administrative Rules.

(7) “Highway” - Means every public way, road, street,
thoroughfare and place including bridges, viaducts and other
structures within the boundaries of the state open, used or
intended for use of the general public for vehicles or vehicular
traffic as a matter of right. (ORS 801.305).

(8) “Inspector” - Means a commissioned officer or other
appointed representative of the Oregon State Police who has been

designated as a tow truck inspector by the Department.
(9) “Letter of Appointment” - Means a letter issued by the

Department that authorizes a licensed tow truck operator to tow
on a rotational or contractual basis for the Oregon State Police.

(10) “Motor Vehicles Division” - Means the Driver and
Motor Vehicle Services Branch of the Oregon Department of
Transportation.

(11) “Non-preference List” - The list of authorized tow
operators maintained at Oregon State Police Headquarters that is
used to dispatch the tow operators on an equitable basis when no
choice or preference to a towing company is stated by the vehicle
owner, operator, or other person responsible for the vehicle.

(12) “On Road Time” - The time it takes the operator to have
the tow truck started and on the road from the time the dispatcher
was called by the Department.

(13) “Patrol Services Division” - Means the administrative
body of the Department that is located at General Headquarters in
Salem, Oregon. (14) “Place of Business” - Means a building
which the registered tow truck operator occupies either
continuously or at regular times, where tow business books and
records are kept and tow business is transacted in each assigned
tow zone. Businesses operating on the same business lot shall
maintain individual and separate records, storage facilities, and
letters of appointment for operating authority. 

(15) “Registered Tow Truck Operator” or “Operator” -
Means any person who engages in the impounding, transportation
or storage of vehicles or in the disposal of abandoned vehicles.

(16) “Response Time” - The reasonable driving time it takes
for the tow truck to respond to the scene once it is on the road.
Abandoned vehicles not deemed to be a hazard; tow request will
be made during business hours. (For the purpose of non-hazard
abandoned vehicles business hours are defined as 8 am to 5 pm, 7
days a week inclusive of weekends and holidays.) Requested tow
companies may tow these vehicles at their convenience during
business hours on the date of the tow request. Once the vehicle is
removed from the roadway and in possession of the towing
company they shall notify the requesting Oregon State Police
Office/Dispatch Center, as soon as possible on the date of the tow
request, of their possession of the abandoned vehicle. Notification
of possession of the abandoned vehicle should be made
immediately by the requested towing company. In no case will
this notification to the Oregon State Police be made more than two
hours after the abandoned vehicle comes into the possession of the
responding towing company.

(17) “Station Commander” - Means the local commanding
officer of an area established by the Oregon State Police.

(18) “Tow Vehicle” - Means a motor vehicle that is:
(a) Altered or designed for, equipped for and used in the

business of towing vehicles; and
(b) Used to tow vehicles by means of a crane hoist, tow bar,

tow line or dolly, or otherwise used to render assistance to other
vehicles. (ORS 801.530)

(19) “Tow Zone” - Means that geographical areas designated
by the station commander for the removal of vehicles. 

(20) “Vehicles Storage Area” - Means the approved yard or
enclosed building where stored vehicles are kept. The storage area
and fencing will comply with requirements as established by this
rule and all local zoning rules and regulations. This storage area
will be under the exclusive access and control of the individual
towing service and be separate for each place of business.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440 

Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert.
ef. 10-15-89; OSP 5-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-16-92; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef.
10-20-95

257-50-0060
Application for Appointment

(1) An application for letter of appointment to provide
towing services for the Department shall be filed by the applicant
with the Patrol Services Division on a form prescribed by the
Department. In case of a partnership, each partner will apply on
the form prescribed by the Department. In the case of a

Chapter 257     Department of Oregon State Police
OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES     1997 COMPILATION



corporation, the Department may require that each of the present,
and any subsequent officers, managers, and stockholders holding
10% or more of the total issued and outstanding stock of the
applicant corporation complete an application form.

(2) The application form will be assigned a document
number by the Patrol Services Division which shall be its yearly
identification number for all matters relating to appointments,
granted or denied, and any other correspondence thereafter.

(3) The filing of an application for a letter of appointment to
provide towing to the Department from a non-preference list does
not in itself authorize the towing operator to provide towing
services pursuant to these regulations until a letter of appointment
has been granted by the Department. The Department shall not
call a towing business for non-preference towing unless a
current/valid yearly appointment letter has been issued in
connection with such business by the Department. Nothing herein
shall prohibit the Department from calling the towing business
upon a specific request of the person responsible for the vehicle or
his agent. An appointment letter will not be granted until all
application sections of the application form to qualify as an
approved tow truck operator has been met by the applicant.

(4) During implementation of the Administrative Rules, the
present non-preference tow list system will be in effect until such
time that the Administrative Rules are in place at the Patrol
Services Division of the Department.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-95

257-050-0070
Application for a Letter of Appointment

Application for appointment to provide towing services to
the Department from the non-preference list as a tow truck
business shall be made on the forms furnished by the Department
and shall be accompanied by an inspection report. The inspection
report shall be furnished by the Department, and shall be filled out
by the applicant or the applicants authorized agent or
representative. The application form shall establish:

(1) The applicant has an established place of business at the
address shown.

(2) Place of business has an office area that is accessible to
the public without entering the storage area.

(3) Each towing services shall be licensed as a separate legal
entity with a separate business location and separates storage area.
Only one towing business will be permitted to be operated at any
one business location.

(4) The applicant has proof the following minimum
insurance requirements. (Proof of required current insurance
coverage shall be submitted with applications and inspection
forms for appointment.)

(a) $500,000 for liability for bodily injury or property
damage per occurrence, ($500,000 or the minimum required by
the Oregon Public Utilities Commission (PUC), or the Oregon
Department of Transportation (ODOT), which ever is greater
when towing under authority of PUC or ODOT.); and

(b) Garage keepers legal liability (for care, custody and
control) per occurrence will be set at:

(A) Class A  $ 25,000;
(B) Class B  $ 50,000;
(C) Class C  $100,000;
(D) Class D:
(i) Class D - A $ 25,000;
(ii) Class D - B $ 50,000;
(iii) Class D - C $ 100,000.
(c) To protect against vehicle damage including but not

limited to fire and theft, from the time the vehicle comes into
custody and control of the operator and is hooked onto,
throughout the recovery, and until it is reclaimed or sold. 

(d) Insurance for cargo transported in the amount of $15,000
as per ORS 822.205(3).

(e) Nothing in this section will relieve a person from
maintaining insurance in the amounts and providing coverage of

the type for motor carriers in ORS Chapter 767 if the amounts
exceed or coverage is different from that required by this section.

(f) A certificate of insurance from the insurance carrier to the
Department that includes the type and amounts of coverage and
provides for notification of cancellation of the operators insurance
is mandatory.

(5) The information for the certificate of approval may be
included in the inspection form that is completed by the applicant
or the applicants authorized agent or representative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440 
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 5-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-16-92; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
95

257-050-0080
Certificate of Appointment

The certificate of appointment shall be completed by the
Oregon State Police General Headquarters Patrol Services
Division or their designee establishing that the requirements for a
letter of appointment have been met by the applicant. The
designated tow zone(s), class of tow vehicle(s) and any waivers
will be listed in the certificate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440 
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 5-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-16-92; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
95

257-050-0090 
Inspections

Within 30 days of the receipt of a request for an application
for a letter of appointment, the Patrol Services Division shall send
a an application packet to include a current copy of these OAR’s,
and all forms related to the self certification, inspection and
certification of equipment and other related information required
by these OAR’s. The applicant shall self certify under penalty of
suspension and/or revocation from the non-preference tow
rotation that they (their towing business, vehicles and operators)
meet the minimum requirements as required by these OAR’s. This
self certification shall verify that the applicant’s request for a
letter of appointment complies with all the applicable local laws
and regulations as prescribed for the geographical area where the
towing business will be established. If the local zoning regulations
are applicable a copy of the certification of approval from the
local zoning commission will be furnished to the Patrol Services
Division by the applicant. The zoning certification must be
included with the application. This zoning certification will
become part of the permanent record maintained on each
approved towing firm by the Department:

(1) Self certifications/re-inspections will be conducted at
least once a year.Unscheduled inspections may be conducted
without notice of the operator’s place of business by any Oregon
State Police Inspector to determine the fitness of tow trucks,
facilities, and business records. These inspections shall be done
during business hours.

(2)(a) In the event of missing or defective equipment which
is not a safety related requirement but was required for approval
initially, the Oregon State Police shall advise the operator of the
defect. If after l5 days the operator fails or refuses to repair the
defect, the towing company will be suspended from the non-
preference list. If the defect has not been corrected within 30 days
of suspension, the tow company’s letter of authority shall be
revoked;

(b) In the event repairs will take more than 15 days to
complete, a tow company may voluntarily remove the involved
vehicle from the Oregon State Police non-preference list until the
repairs or corrections can be made. This shall be done by sending
a letter to the Oregon State Police General Headquarters, Patrol
Services Division, 400 Public Service Building, Salem, Oregon,
97310, advising of the towing companies voluntary removal of the
vehicle from service on non-preference calls for the Oregon State
Police. This voluntary removal defective equipment letter shall be
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received by the Oregon State Police Patrol Division no later than
10 days after the initial notification of the defect.

(3)(a) In the event of a safety related requirement which
would render the tow truck a safety hazard upon a public highway
the tow truck shall immediately be suspended from the use of the
Department non-preference list, if the defect has not been
corrected and reinspected within 30 days of the suspension, the
tow company’s letter of authority shall be revoked;

(b) In the event repairs will take more than 30 days to
complete, a tow company may voluntarily remove the involved
vehicle from the Oregon State Police non-preference list until the
repairs can be made. This shall be done by sending a letter to the
Oregon State Police General Headquarters, Patrol Division, 400
Public Service Building, Salem, Oregon, 97310, advising of the
towing companies voluntary removal of the vehicle from service
on non-preference calls for the Oregon State Police. This
voluntary removal safety hazard letter shall be received by the
Oregon State Police Patrol Division no later than 15 days after the
initial notification of the defect.

(4) Upon repair of a defect which has previously caused the
tow truck to be suspended or removed from the non-preference
list an Oregon State Police Inspector upon written request of the
affected towing business operator, shall reinspect the equipment
which has been found defective. If the specified corrections have
been satisfactorily completed, the inspector shall reinstate the tow
truck on the non-preference list. In the event an Oregon State
Police Inspector is not readily available to reinspect, another
officer appointed by the inspector’s supervisor may reinspect and
re-institute the tow truck on the non-preference list. The
reinspection shall be completed as soon as possible after a written
request from the operator has been received by the Patrol Services
Division, advising that the defect has been repaired. In no event
longer than ten (10) business days after the written request for
inspection has been received by the Patrol Services Division.

(5) Upon revocation of a letter of appointment the tow truck
operator’s right to conduct towing services at the request of the
Department is cancelled. 

(6) Upon sale or the transfer of the truck from the business,
the operator shall advise the Department so that the truck may be
dropped from the non-preference list. This notification must be
made immediately and in no event exceed ten  days.

(7) Upon the purchase or acquisition of any additional tow
truck(s) to be used pursuant to this rule the operator shall
immediately notify the Department. The operator shall make a self
certified inspection of the new unit and submit this inspection to
the Department, prior to the tow truck being used for non-pre -
ference towing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440 
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 5-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-16-92; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
95

257-050-0100
Issuance of Letter of Appointment

(1) No towing operator shall be called upon to perform a
towing service at the request of the Department unless such
operator has a letter of appointment as described herein by the
Patrol Services Division. No such letter of appointment will be
issued by the Patrol Services Division unless the Patrol Services
Division is satisfied all qualifications set out in these regulations
have been either met by the applicant or that a waiver of one or
more qualifications has been granted by the Patrol Division. 

(2) A letter of appointment will be valid only in the zone or
zones assigned by the station commander. Applications for
additional letters of appointment in other zones must be based on
a complete and separate business location capable of independent
operation within the additional zone. 

(3) A tow operator may petition the Patrol Services Division
for a waiver of a non-safety related requirement. The waiver shall
be sent to the station commander who may make a
recommendation regarding the waiver as an operational need. The
Patrol Services Division may grant a waiver if, it finds that the

towing services available to the Department is inadequate in the
area to meet the needs of the public.

(4) In the event a qualified tow business that meets all
requirements and qualifications receives a letter of appointment in
the same zone as the tow business that has been granted a waiver,
the tow business currently operating under a waiver will have its
letter of appointment rescinded by the Patrol Services Division
and after notification will not be called for Department initiated
tows.

(5) Every letter of appointment shall be issued in the name of
the applicant and the holder thereof shall not allow any other
person to use the letter of appointment.

(6) The letter of appointment will only be valid for the place
of business named on the application and will not apply to any
other place of business. 

(7) A letter of appointment shall be valid for one (1) year
unless suspended or revoked by the Patrol Services Division. 

(8) Each separate place of business will have a letter of
appointment. 

(9) Before a letter of appointment can be issued by the Patrol
Services Division the applicant must have a tow truck meeting the
minimum standards set forth in OAR 257-050-0160.

(10) The letter of appointment shall state the zone the
businesses are authorized to operate in. The zones will be
determined by the station commander. 

(11) All businesses shall agree to tow abandoned vehicles as
required in Chapter 819 of the Oregon Revised Statutes.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440 
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 5-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-16-92; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
95

257-050-0110
Suspension and Revocation of Letter of Appointment

(1) Upon receiving evidence that an appointee or applicant
has failed to comply to; or no longer complies with any
requirement or provision of these rules and regulations, (OAR’s
257-050-0040 through 257-050-0160) or that the appointee or
applicant has falsified any documentation or certification related
to these Administrative Rules and Regulations (OAR’s 257-050-
0040 through 257-050-0160), the Patrol Services Division shall
deny, suspend or revoke the letter of appointment. The Patrol
Services Division may not deny, suspend or revoke the letter of
appointment unless the appointee has been given notice and an
opportunity to be heard as prescribed in these rules.

(2) Upon receiving evidence that an appointee has failed to
comply to or no longer complies with the requirements of
Administrative Rule 257-050-0070 their letter of authority shall
be suspended or revoked by the Patrol Services Division. 

(3) Upon receiving evidence that an appointee has failed to
comply to or no longer complies with the requirements of
0Administrative Rules 257-050-0100, 257-50-0140, 257-050-
0150, and 257-50-160 their letter of appointment shall be
suspended or revoked by the Patrol Services Division as provided
in Administrative Rule 257-050-0090.

(4) The holder of a letter of appointment may voluntarily
relinquish his/her letter. The Patrol Services Division will be
advised in writing of this voluntary relinquishment. After
receiving written notice the Patrol Services Division will cause an
inspector to obtain the original letter of appointment and forward
the same to the Patrol Services Division.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 5-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-16-92; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
95

257-050-0120 
Hearings

The Oregon Administrative Procedures Act shall govern the
conduct of any hearing held pursuant to these regulations. The
burden of proof in any hearing before the Hearings Program shall
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be on the applicant seeking a letter of appointment, or the person
or agency seeking the suspension or revocation of a letter of
appointment, or other action by the Hearings Program. A hearings
officer duly appointed by the Hearings Program shall make
written findings of the facts based on the evidence and written
conclusions based on the findings. Oral proceedings shall be
recorded on tape and such tape shall become part of the hearing
record. Request for a hearing must be made within 30 days.
Hearings must be conducted within 90 days. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440 
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-95

257-050-0130 
Appeal

The person aggrieved by the decision of the Hearings
Program officer denying, suspending, or revoking a letter of
appointment must make any further appeal of such decision to the
Oregon Court of Appeals.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-95

257-050-0140
Business Office and Business Hours/Non Safety Related
Requirements

Business hours for the purpose of inspection of business
records, place of business, and towing equipment shall be 8AM -
5PM, excluding weekends and holidays: 

(1) When an operator is not open for business and does not
have personnel present at the place of business, the operator shall
post a clearly visible telephone number at the business location for
the pur  pose of public con tact for the re lease of vehicles or
personal property.

(2) The operator shall maintain personnel who can be
contacted 24 hours a day to release impounded vehicles within a
30 minute period of time. 

(3) Dispatch service. The operator shall provide dispatch
services 24 hours a day 365 days a year. Each vehicle used under
the agreement shall be equipped with a two-way radio or cellular
phone. Equipment provided shall be subject to approval of the
Oregon State Police. It shall be maintained in proper working
condition at all times. Failure to respond to a call constitutes a call
out:

(a) Refusal or failure of the operator to respond to calls from
the Department for towing services may result in the suspension
or revocation of the operator’s letter of appointment;

(b) The tow operator shall advise the appropriate patrol office
when the tow company is temporarily unavailable to respond to
non-preference tow calls. Unavailability may occur due to
conditions such as, but not limited to, other tow truck
commitments, tow truck disabled and/or under repair, or
unforeseen driver shortage due to illness, vacation, etc. The tow
operator shall advise the patrol office once they are available to
resume its normal operation;

(c) Regardless of the unavailability of any tow operator, the
non-preference list rotation shall continue as if the operator was
available.

(4) Service call response time. Response times are
mandatory. Class A and D-A tow trucks shall be on the road in
fifteen minutes. Class B, C, D-B and D-C tow trucks shall be on
the road in thirty minutes. Once on the road, total response time
shall be as defined in Administrative Rule 257-050-0050, 16. At
the time of the dispatch, all classes of tow trucks shall provide an
estimated time of arrival at the scene. The station commander may
waiver this requirement due to inclement weather or unusual
circumstances that might exist.

(5) Information provided by the state at the time a response is
requested. The Department will provide the location, make,
model, year of car license plate and estimated gross vehicle
weight (if necessary) to the operator. Also, the Department will

inform the operator about any condition or circumstances that may
require special handling or assistance. The operator shall transmit
the information to the tow truck operator.

(6) Operator’s record requirement. Operator shall maintain
records of the following information for a period of three years: 

(a) Vehicle description:
(A) License number;
(B) Issuing state;
(C) Make;
(D) Model;
(E) Year;
(F) Vehicle identification number.
(b) Towing location:
(A) Location vehicle was towed from;
(B) Location to where the vehicle was towed.
(c) Towing operator:
(A) Name of towing operator;
(B) Reasons for towing and/or service;
(C) Time and date of service include storage dates as

applicable;
(D) Class of tow truck or truck number.
(d) All fees for service shall be itemized. A copy of the

invoice shall be filed by invoice number at the business location:
(A) A copy of any voided invoice shall be retained in this

file;
(B) All vehicles shall be handled and returned in

substantially the same condition that existed before being towed.
(7) All employees who serve as tow truck operators shall

have an operator’s license with the proper class or type for vehicle
combinations. As prescribed by the state issuing the license,
Oregon licensees shall comply with all applicable Oregon laws.

(8) Any person who shows proof of ownership or written
authorization from the impound vehicle registered or legal owner
may inspect and view the vehicle without charge during normal
business hours. This does not apply to a vehicle seized and stored
as evidence.

(9) All towing receipts on impounded vehicles, or
confiscated vehicles, shall be hand delivered to the nearest
Department office as soon as possible after the tow has been
completed.

(10) The operator shall notify the Department immediately
when any person seeks to redeem any vehicle towed as
abandoned. Release of vehicle under temporary or formal hold
shall require written release from the Department. When a person
entitled to take possession of the vehicle subject to a hold presents
the operator with an official Oregon State Police release form the
operator shall release the vehicle to the person named.

(11) The address the operator lists on his or her application
shall be the business location of the firm where business records
are kept. The application shall also list all locations of secure
areas for vehicle storage and redemption. If there is a change in
business location the Patrol Division will be notified immediately
and in no event longer than l0 days. 

(12) All tow trucks shall display the firm’s name, city, and
telephone number. This information shall be painted or
permanently affixed to both sides of the vehicle and the lettering
shall be at least 2 inches in height with 1/2 inch stroke and in a
color that is in contrast with the tow truck’s color.

(13) When the reinspection of the tow truck is necessary the
station commander shall designate a location and time for the
inspection to be conducted. When practical the inspection or
reinspection shall be made within ten (10) days following the
request by the operator.

(14) The operator’s storage facility shall be in conformance
with all zoning
requirements of all applicable governments. Operator agrees to
accept abandoned autos and have a fenced and locked facilities for
any vehicles towed at the request of the Oregon State Police.
Storage shall be provided for each different class of vehicles being
towed including semi trucks, motor homes, etc., except as
provided in ORS 819.110.

(15) Storage shall be located within the contractual
geographical service area described as zones.
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(16) The operator shall allow anyone authorized in writing by
the Oregon State Police to go to the vehicle and remove items of
personal emergency nature, i.e. eyeglasses, medication, clothing,
etc., except as provided in ORS 8l9.ll0.

(17) The operator shall be responsible for the contents,
storage and disposal of all personal items except that which is
taken by authorized personnel in the above paragraph.

(18) Storage areas are to be protected against unauthorized
entry.

(19) The operator shall provide fenced and locked outside
storage.

(20) All storage areas shall be under the operator’s exclusive
control and cannot be shared with other tow companies.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440 
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 5-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-16-92; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
95

257-050-0150
Towing

(1) The Department shall not establish, recommend or in any
way dictate the cost of the tow by the operator.

(2) The operator shall furnish the Patrol Services Division an
itemized list of charges that can be incurred during a tow
including but not limited to:

(a) Hookup charge;
(b) Mileage fee;
(c) Response fee.
(3) The operator shall not charge for items not declared on

the list relating to the towing of a vehicle. This does not include
mechanical work, body work or other repair work conducted
subsequent to the tow. 

(4) Complaints of unfair charges shall be referred to the
Attorney General’s Office for action. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-95

257-050-0160
Mandatory Equipment Standards for Tow Trucks/Safety
Related Requirements

(1) All tow trucks under this contract shall have the
following minimum equipment:

(a) Minimum of one light mounted behind the cab of the tow
truck which is capable of illuminating the area of the tow under
darkened, foggy or dangerous con ditions;

(b) An FCC licensed two-way radio, in conformance with
Part 93 FCC Regulations, or cellular phone. (Citizen Band
radios are not acceptable.);

(c) Cables as called for in each class. Cable lengths shall be
measured from the point of attachment on each drum. Cables shall
meet the following requirements.

(A) Each cable shall be capable of being fully extended from
and fully wound onto its drum;

(B) Cables or wire ropes shall be free from the following
defects or conditions:

(i) There shall be no more than six randomly distributed
broken wires in one rope lay, or more than three broken wires in
one strand in one rope lay;

(ii) There shall be no evidence of any heat damage from any
cause;

(iii) There shall be no end attachments that are cracked,
deformed, worn or loosened;

(iv) Where a wire rope is attached to a hook with clamps
instead of being swaged, a minimum of three clamps shall be used
on end attachments. Clamps shall be spaced at least six rope
diameters apart and attached with the base or saddle of the clamp
against the longer or “live” end of the rope. The “U” bolt will be
placed over the short or “dead” end of the rope and will be of the
proper size.

(d) One revolving or intermittent red or amber lamp with 360

degree visibility. The truck may also be equipped with flashing
amber lights which may be used in conjunction with the red
lamp(s). Such lighting will not be used when responding to a call,
but only at the scene when necessary to warn approaching traffic
of impending danger.

(e) A broom and a shovel. The broom shall be at least twelve
inches wide and have a handle at least four feet long. The shovel
shall be flat scoop type with a minimum width of seven inches
and overall length of a least three feet. Tow truck driver shall
clean accident/incident scenes of all vehicle glass and debris. As
required by ORS 822.225.

(f) A tow sling, wheel lift, car carrier or other comparable
device made of a material designed to protect vehicles and
motorcycles while being towed.

(g) One fire extinguisher, 25 BC rating or equivalent. 
(h) One snatch block in good working condition or their

equivalent for each working line.
(i) One portable dolly or its equivalent for hauling vehicles

that are not towable.
(Note: This does not apply to Class D tow trucks (Roll Backs.)
(j) Class A and D-A tow vehicles shall have one pinch bar.

Class B, C, D-B and D-C shall have two pinch bars or equivalent
devices; one tapered, one flattened; one three feet and one four
feet; with a minimum diameter of three quarters of one inch. 

(k) Portable lights for unit being towed including, but not
limited to, tail lights, stop lights and directional signals.

(Note: Class D tow trucks roll backs are exempt from this section if not
towing a second vehicle.)
(l) “Wreck Ahead” sign(s) to be set up by tow truck driver

where needed. ORS 822.220
(m) All tow trucks and equipment used to perform services

under this contract shall be maintained in good working order.
Failure to maintain equipment shall be cause for breach of
contract. 

(2) Class A Tow Trucks (Small): Tow trucks shall be
provided that are capable of towing and re covery operations for
passenger cars, pickup trucks, small trailers or equivalent vehicles.
All equipment used in conjunction with the tow truck must be
compatible with the manufacturer’s basic boom rating and must
comply with current state laws and DMV OAR 735-154-0040. In
addition to the equipment required for all trucks used to provide
service under this rule, all trucks in this class shall have:

(a) Ten thousand pounds minimum manufacturer’s gross
vehicle weight rating or equivalent;

(b) Dual tires on the rear axle or duplex type tires, referred to
as super single with a load rating that is comparable to dual tire
rating;

(c) Six ton minimum boom rating dual or single boom with
dual or single winches to control a minimum of one service cable;

(d) A minimum of one hundred feet of 3/8-inch continuous
length cable;

(e) May include wheel lift or roll back tow trucks for this
class of tow truck.

(3) Class B Tow Trucks (Medium): Class B tow trucks shall
be capable of towing and recovery operations for medium size
trucks, trailers, motor homes or equivalent vehicles. In addition to
standard equipment required for all trucks used to provide service
under this rule, all trucks in this class shall have:

(a) Seventeen thousand pounds minimum manufacturer’s
gross vehicle weight rating or equivalent;

(b) Ten ton minimum boom rating dual or single boom with
dual or single winches to control a minimum of one service cable;

(c) Class B tow trucks in excess of 23,000 pounds GVW will
not be required to carry dollies when used for heavy towing;

(d) May include wheel lift;
(e) A minimum of 150 feet of seven-sixteenths inch cable.
(4) Class C Tow Trucks (Large):Tow trucks that are capable

of towing and recovery operations for large trucks, trailers, motor
homes or equivalent vehicles. In addition to the standard
equipment required for all trucks used to provide service under
this rule, all trucks in this class shall have:

(a) Twenty-seven thousand five hundred pounds minimum
manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating or equivalent;
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(b) Twenty-five ton minimum boom rating dual or single
boom with dual or single winches to control a minimum of one
service cable;

(c) Minimum of 150 feet of cable, five-eights inch diameter;
(d) Air brakes and an air system capable of supplying air to

the towed unit;
(e) Portable dollies are not required;
(f) Tandem rear axle truck chassis (three axle truck);
(g) May include wheel lift.
(5) Class D Tow Trucks (Roll Backs):
(a) Tow trucks in this class are to be used for towing pur -

poses only. No recovery can be performed by trucks in this class;
(b) Tow trucks in this class capable of towing passenger cars,

pickup trucks, trailers, trucks or equivalent vehicles, based on the
size and ratings of the Class D tow unit used. All equip ment used
in conjunction with the tow truck must comply with current state
laws and DMV OAR 735-154-0040. In ad dition to the equipment
required for all trucks used to provide service under this rule, all
trucks in the class shall have:

(A) Class D - A:
(i) Eleven thousand pounds minimum manufacturer’s gross

vehicle weight rating or equivalent.
(ii) Dual tires on the rear axle;
(iii) A minimum of fifty feet 3/8 inch continuous length

cable;
(iv) May include wheel lift.
(B) Class D - B:
(i) Seventeen thousand pounds minimum manufacturer’s

gross vehicle weight rating or equivalent.;
(ii) Dual tires on the rear axle;
(iii) A minimum of 50 feet of seven-sixteenths inch cable;
(iv) May include wheel lift.
(C) Class D - C:
(i) Twenty-seven thousand five hundred pounds minimum

manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating or equivalent. 
(ii) Minimum of 50 feet of cable, five-eights inch diameter.
(iii) Tandem rear axle truck chassis (three axle truck).
(iv) May include wheel lift;
(v) Air brakes and an air system capable of supplying air to

the towed unit.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon State Police.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.440 
Hist.: OSP 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; OSP 3-1989, f. 10-16-89, cert. ef. 10-
15-89; OSP 5-1992, f. & cert. ef. 12-16-92; OSP 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
95

DIVISION 60
DNA PROFILING OF 

CONVICTED OFFENDERS
257-060-0005 
Withdrawal and Submission of Blood Samples

(1) Any blood sample drawn under the authority of Oregon
Laws 1991, Chapter 669, shall be collected in two purple-
stoppered vacutainers containing EDTA preservative. The sample
shall consist of at least one full vacutainer, although two full
vacutainers are preferred and should be submitted whenever
resources reasonably permit. The vacutainers shall be labeled with
the contributor’s name and SID number. If no SID number has
been assigned to the contributor, the date of birth shall be used
instead. The person or agency who collects the sample shall
complete a submission form supplied by the Oregon State Police
and enclose the completed form with the sample. 

(2) Before submission to the Oregon State Police Crime Lab,
the sample should be kept refrigerated. Within seven days, the
sample should be delivered to the Oregon State Police Crime Lab
DNA Profiling Unit.\

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335
Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: OSP 2-1991(Temp), f. 9-12-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; OSP 5-1991, f.
& cert. ef. 11-21-91

257-060-0010 
Inspection of DNA Profile Records

(1) Any person who believes that he or she may be the
subject or a record within the criminal offenders DNA profile
database may make a request to verify the existence or accuracy
of such a record. The request must be made in writing to the
Oregon State Police Crime Lab and shall include the requestor’s
name, address, date of birth, SID number (unless no SID number
has been assigned) and signature and a thumbprint from each
thumb.

(2) If the database contains no record pertaining to the
requestor, the Oregon State Police Crime Lab shall so notify the
requestor in writing.

(3) If the Oregon State Police Crime Lab verifies that the
person requesting inspection is the contributor of a record within
the database, the crime lab staff shall contact the contributor to
schedule an opportunity for inspection. The inspection shall occur
during the specific time period scheduled by the crime lab staff
and shall take place at the Oregon State Police Crime Lab during
regular business hours. The contributor may inspect the records,
samples, and autoradiographs pertaining to the contributor, but not
those pertaining to any other person.

(4) If requested to do so by the contributor, the staff shall
make photocopies or duplicates of the record and autoradiograph
and provide them to the contributor. The staff may require the
contributor to pay in advance the cost of preparing photocopies or
duplicates as established by OAR 257-020-0005.

(5) This rule applies only to those records, samples, and
autoradiographs actually stored by the Oregon State Police Crime
Lab, and it is not intended to preclude the crime lab from
destroying those items after analysis.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 2-1991(Temp), f. 9-12-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; OSP 5-1991, f.

& cert. ef. 11-21-91

257-060-0015 
Challenges of DNA Profile Records

(1) Any contributor of a record within the criminal offenders
DNA profile database may challenge the accuracy of the record
by filing a challenge in writing with the Oregon State Police
Crime Lab. The challenge shall identify the record by the name,
date of birth, and SID number of the contributor and shall contain
the contributor’s address and signature and a thumbprint from
each thumb.

(2) If the challenge pertains to the accuracy of the profile, it
must be accompanied by a profile of the contributor’s genetic
material produced by an independent laboratory using the same
genetic markers as those used to create the challenged record. The
Oregon State Police will not be responsible for the cost of
producing this independent profile.

(3) Any discrepancy between the database profile and the
profile filed by the contributor will be classified as either
significant or insignificant. A discrepancy is significant if it is
more than twice the match criteria established by the Oregon State
Police Crime Laboratory. Any lesser discrepancy will be
classified as insignificant.

(4) If the discrepancy is significant, the Oregon State Police
Crime Lab staff shall directly supervise the withdrawal of a new
blood sample from the contributor and shall create a new profile
from that sample. This new profile shall be entered into the
database as the sole profile pertaining to the contributor. 

(5) If the discrepancy is insignificant, the existing database
record shall not be removed or altered, but shall remain the sole
database profile pertaining to the contributor. The Oregon State
Police Crime Lab shall retain in a separate file all materials
submitted by the contributor to challenge the record.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 2-1991(Temp), f. 9-12-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; OSP 5-1991, f.
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& cert. ef. 11-21-91

DIVISION 70
SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION;
VICTIM INFORMATION ACCESS

257-070-0005 
Statement of Purpose

The purpose of these rules is to implement and interpret
Chapter 389, Oregon Laws 1991. The Oregon State Police is
empowered to make rules interpreting and implementing the
described statute. These rules establish procedures for address
registration of subject sex offenders and victim access to sex
offender information.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 3-1991(Temp), f. 9-27-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; OSP 6-1991, f.

& cert. ef. 11-21-91

257-070-0010 
General Requirements

(1) Chapter 389, Oregon Laws 1991 requires, under certain
described circumstances, that sex offenders who committed a sex
crime provide in writing the person’s address to the Oregon State
Police:

(a) Within 30 days of a change of residence; and
(b) Once each year regardless of whether the person changed

address.
(2) Chapter 389, Oregon Laws 1991 requires the Oregon

State Police to establish a toll-free telephone number to provide
victims with updates on the prison status, release information,
parole status and the county of residence of the person who
committed the crime against the victim.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 3-1991(Temp), f. 9-27-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; OSP 6-1991, f.

& cert. ef. 11-21-91

257-070-0015 
Definitions

As used in these rules:
(1) “In Writing” means, in the case of an Oregon resident, to

provide in person, personal identification and required address
information of that person to a designated Oregon State Police
employee at an office of the Oregon State Police, on a form
provided by the Oregon State Police and signed by the person
required to provide the address. In the case of a person residing
outside of the State of Oregon at the time of required registration,
“in writing” means providing to the Oregon State Police, by mail,
required registration information on a form provided by the
Oregon State Police and signed by the person required to provide
the address.

(2) “Once Each Year” means within 12 months of the date of
the last registration (whether resulting from a change of address or
yearly registration) as required by Chapter 389, Oregon Laws
1991.

(3) “Victim” means a person, or the person’s legal guardian,
who is:

(a) The victim of a sex crime listed in ORS 181.517 which
resulted in a guilty plea, no contest plea, or conviction;

(b) Any person who is named in a criminal complaint as a
victim of a sex crime listed in ORS 181.517 who in the course of
any judicial proceeding is acknowledged by the defendant to be
the victim of a sex crime listed in ORS 181.517.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.555 & 181.730
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 3-1991(Temp), f. 9-27-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; OSP 6-1991, f.

& cert. ef. 11-21-91; OSP 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-94

257-070-0020 

Sex Offender Registration
Following discharge, release from active parole or other

supervised release, persons subject to the provisions of Chapter
389, Oregon Laws 1991 shall provide, in writing, the address of
the person to the Oregon State Police:

(1) Within 30 days of a change of residence; and
(2) Once each year regardless of whether the person changed

address.
(3) Mail-in registrants may obtain the registration form by

requesting same from: Oregon State Police Sex Offender
Registration Unit, Oregon Department of State Police, 400 Public
Service Building, Salem, OR 97310, Telephone: (503) 378-3720.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.555 & 181.730
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: OSP 3-1991(Temp), f. 9-27-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; OSP 6-1991, f.

& cert. ef. 11-21-91; OSP 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-1-94

257-070-0025 
Victim Information Access

(1) A victim shall be issued a victim identification number
and shall be given the registry identification number of the person
who committed the crime against the victim:

(a) At any time, upon request by the victim; and
(b) Upon verification of the identification of the victim.
(2) The Oregon State Police has established a toll-free

telephone number, 1-800-551-2934, to provide victims with
updates on the prison status, release information, parole status and
the county of residence of the person who committed the crime
against the victim. The telephone line will be operational 8 a.m. to
5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 
Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: OSP 3-1991(Temp), f. 9-27-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; OSP 6-1991, f. & cert.
ef. 11-21-91
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