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DIVISION 5

ADOPTION; DEFINITIONS;

CONSTRUCTION; NOTICES REQUIRED

438-005-0005

Statutory Authority
These rules are adopted under the Board’s general rule-

making authority of ORS 656.726(4) to provide rules of practice
and procedure for hearing and review proceedings under ORS
656.001 to 656.990, for exercising its continuing authority under
ORS 656.278 and providing for the payment of attorney fees in
cases under the Workers’ Compensation Law pursuant to ORS
656.388.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-005-0011
Effective Date; Applicability

Except as otherwise provided below, these rules are effective
January 1, 1996 and shall apply to all cases pending before the

Hearings Division and the Board under the provisions of ORS
Chapter 656 on and after that date. These rules are also applicable
to cases pending before the Hearings Division and the Board
arising under ORS Chapter 655.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 9-1990(Temp), f.

8-24-90, cert. ef. 8-27-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB

1-1993, f. 5-19-93, cert. ef. 6-1-93; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-005-0015
Adoption of Attorney General’s Model Rules

To the extent that the following rules are applicable to
contested cases under the Workers’ Compensation Law (Chapter
656), the Board hereby adopts by reference OAR 137-001-0005
through 137-001-0085, 137-003-0055 and 137-004-0010
(Attorney General’s Model and uniform Rules).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341(1)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, . 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-005-0016
Notice of Rulemaking

(1) Prior to adoption, amendment or repeal of any adminis-
trative rule, other than a temporary rule adopted under ORS
183.355(5), the Board shall give notice of the intended action:

(a) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least 21 days before the effective date of the intended
action;

(b) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the Board’s
mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(7) at least 28
days before the effective date of the intended action; and

(c) By mailing or furnishing a copy of the notice to:

(A) The Oregonian;

(B) The Associated Press; and

(C) The Capitol Press Room.

(2) The Board shall give notice of any administrative
rulemaking hearing:

(a) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least 14 days before the hearing; and

(b) By mailing notice of the hearing to any person requesting
the hearing and to the persons on the Board’s mailing list
established pursuant to ORS 183.335(7) at least 21 days before
the hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 1-1995, f. 3-20-95, cert.

ef. 6-1-95

438-005-0030
Safety Rules Reference

Rules pertaining to the Oregon Safe Employment Act, ORS
Chapter 654, may be found at OAR Chapter 438, Division 85.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 656

Stats. Implemented: ORS Ch. 183 & 656

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84

438-005-0035
Board Policy

It is the policy of the Board to expedite claim adjudication
and amicably dispose of controversies. In accordance with ORS
656.012(3), these rules shall be interpreted in an impartial and
balanced manner. The overriding principle is substantial justice.
With respect to postponement or continuance of hearings,
substantial justice requires consideration of the relative financial
hardship of the parties. The unrepresented party shall not be held
strictly accountable for failure to comply with these rules. Any
individual who undertakes to represent a party in proceedings
under these rules shall be required to comply with these rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.012(2)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96
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438-005-0037
Penalty for Failure to Comply with Rules

If failure to comply with these rules by an insurer or self-
insured employer results in delay in compensation ultimately
ordered paid to a claimant by an Administrative Law Judge, an
additional amount may be assessed on such compensation for
unreasonable delay under the provisions of ORS 656.262(11).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.262(10)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef.

1-1-96

438-005-0040
General Definitions

(1) “Administrative Law Judge” means an individual
appointed by the Board to perform the duties, functions and
powers provided in ORS 654, 655 and 656, and such other duties,
functions and powers as may be prescribed by the Board.

(2) “Aggravation” means an actual worsening of the
compensable condition(s) after the last award or arrangement of
compensation, which is established by medical evidence
supported by objective findings, and otherwise satisfies the
statutory requirements of ORS 656.273.

(3) “Aggravation rights” means the time periods specified in
ORS 656.273 during which an injured worker is entitled to
additional compensation for worsened conditions as a matter of
right.

(4) “Benefits Section” means the Benefits Section of the
Workers’ Compensation Division of the Department of Consumer
& Business Services.

(5) “Board” means the Workers” Compensation Board.

(6) “Claimant” means an injured worker or any other person
entitled to initiate or continue a claim for compensation.

(7) “Director” means the Director of the Department of
Consumer & Business Services or his/her designee.

(8) “Evaluation” means the Evaluation Unit of the Workers’
Compensation Division of the Department of Consumer &
Business Services.

(9) “Hearings Division” means the Hearings Division of the
Workers” Compensation Board.

(10) “Insurer” means the State Accident Insurance Fund
Corporation or an insurer authorized under ORS Chapter 731 to
transact workers’ compensation insurance in this state.

(11) “Party” means a claimant, an employer, including a
noncomplying employer, the SAIF Corporation as processing
agent in cases under ORS 656.054, and an insurer.

(12) “Self-insured employer” means an employer or group of
employers certified under ORS 656.430 as meeting the
qualifications set out in ORS 656.407.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.

1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-005-0046
Filing and Service of Documents; Correspondence

(1) Filing:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in these rules, “filing”
means the physical delivery of a thing to any permanently staffed
office of the Board, or the date of mailing;

(b) If filing of a request for hearing or Board review of either
an Administrative Law Judge’s order or a Director’s order finding
no bona fide medical services dispute is accomplished by mailing,
it shall be presumed that the request was mailed on the date shown
on a receipt for registered or certified mail bearing the stamp of
the United States Postal Service showing the date of mailing. If
the request is not mailed by registered or certified mail and the
request is actually received by the Board after the date for filing, it
shall be presumed that the mailing was untimely unless the filing
party establishes that the mailing was timely;

(c) Except for the documents specified in subsection (b) of
this section, filing of any other thing required to be filed within a

prescribed time may be accomplished by mailing by first class
mail, postage prepaid. An attorney’s certificate that a thing was
deposited in the mail on a stated date is proof of mailing on that
date. If the thing is not received within the prescribed time and no
certificate of mailing is furnished, it shall be presumed that the
filing was untimely unless the filing party establishes that the
filing was timely;

(d) “Filing” shall not include the submission of any thing to
any permanently staffed office of the Board by means of a
telephone facsimile communication device (FAX).

(2) Service:

(a) A true copy of any thing delivered for filing under these
rules shall be simultaneously served personally or by mailing by
first-class mail, postage prepaid, through the United State Postal
Service, to each other party, or to their attorneys. Service by mail
is complete upon mailing;

(b) Any thing delivered for filing under these rules shall
include or have attached thereto either an acknowledgment of
service by the person served or proof of service in the form of a
certificate executed by the person who made service showing
personal delivery deposit in the mails together with the names and
addresses of he persons served.

(3) Correspondence. All correspondence to the Board shall
be captioned with the name of the claimant, the WCB Case
number and the insurer or self-insured employer claim number.
Correspondence to the Hearings Division shall also be captioned
with the date of the hearing and name of the assigned
Administrative Law Judge, if any.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 656.388(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, cert. ef. 1-1-88; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-

90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 3-

1991(Temp), f. 5-24-91, cert. ef. 5-28-91; WCB 8-1991, f. 11-6-91, cert. ef.

11-7-91

438-005-0050
Notice of Claim Acceptance and Hearing Rights Under ORS
656.262(6)(d)

(1) Every notice of claim acceptance shall include all of the
information prescribed by ORS 656.262(6)(b) and OAR Chapter
436.

(2) In the event that the insurer or self-insured employer
disagrees with all or any portion of a worker’s objections to a
notice of claim acceptance under ORS 656.262(6)(d), the insurer’s
or self-insured employer’s written response shall specify the
reasons for the disagreement, and shall contain a notice, in
prominent or bold-face type, as follows:

“If you disagree with this decision, you may file
a letter with the Workers’ Compensation Board,
2250 McGilchrist Street, S.E., Salem, Oregon 97310.
Your letter should state that you want a hearing,
your address, the date of your injury, and your claim
number.”

“If your claim qualifies, you may receive an
expedited hearing within 30 days. Your request
cannot, by law, affect your employment. You may be
represented by an attorney of your choice at no cost
to you for attorney fees. If you have questions you
may call the benefits section toll free in Oregon 1-
800-452-0288 or in Salem or from outside Oregon at
(503) 945-7585.”

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.262(6)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, . 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-005-0053
Notice of Denial of Responsibility

(1) If a self-insured employer or insurer intends to deny
responsibility for a claim on the basis of injury or exposure with
another employer, the self-insured employer or insurer shall,
within the 90 days allowed under ORS 656.262 for processing the
claim, so indicate in or as part of a denial otherwise meeting the
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requirements of ORS 656.262 and OAR 438-005-0055.

(2) The notice shall:

(a) Identify the condition(s) for which responsibility is being
denied;

(b) State the factual and legal reasons for the denial; and

(c) Advise the claimant to file separate, timely claims against
other potentially responsible insurers or self-insured employers,
including other insurers for the same employer, in order to protect
the claimant’s rights to obtain benefits on the claim.

(3) The denial may:

(a) List the names and addresses of other insurers or self-
insured employers who may be responsible for the claimant’s
condition; and

(b) State whether the self-insured employer or insurer has
requested the appointment of a paying agent pursuant to ORS
656.307.

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented.: ORS 656.308(2) & 656.262(6)

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-

1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-005-0055
Notice of Claim Denial and Hearing Rights
In addition to the requirements of ORS 656.262, the notice of
denial shall specify the factual and legal reasons for denial, and
shall contain a notice, in prominent or bold-face type, as follows:
“If you think this denial is not right, within 60
days after the mailing of this denial you must file a
letter with the Workers’ Compensation Board, 2250
McGilchrist Street, S.E., Salem Oregon 97310. Your
letter must state that you want a hearing, your
address and the date of your accident if you know the
date. If your claim qualifies, you may receive an
expedited hearing within 30 days. Your request
cannot, by law, affect your employment. If you do not
file a request within 60 days, you will lose any right
you may have to compensation unless you can show
good cause for delay beyond 60 days. After 180 days
all your rights will be lost. You may be represented
by an attorney of your choice at no cost to you for
attorney fees. If you have questions you may call the
benefits section toll free in Oregon 1-800-452-0288 or
in Salem or from outside Oregon at (503) 945-7585.”
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.262(6)
Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-
88; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94,
cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-005-0060
Notice of Partial Denial and Hearing Rights

Every notice of partial denial shall set forth with particularity
the injury, condition, benefit or service for which liability is
denied and the factual and legal reasons therefor. The notice shall
be in the form specified by OAR 438-005-0055.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.262(6)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-005-0065
Manner of Giving Notice

Notice of denial or other notice from which statutory time
runs against a claimant shall be in writing and shall be delivered
by registered or certified mail with return receipt requested or by
personal service meeting the requirements for service of a
summons.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.543 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.262(6)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-005-0070

Request for Hearing

Proceedings before the Hearings Division are begun by filing
a request for hearing meeting the requirements of ORS 656.283.
The request for hearing should be on a form prescribed by the
Board. A request by an insurer or self-insured employer should
also recite whether payment of compensation has been or will be
stayed under ORS 656.313. In addition to the information
required by ORS 656.283(3), the person requesting a hearing
should include the person’s full name, the name of the injured
worker if different from that of the person requesting the hearing,
the injured worker’s social security account number, the date of
the injury or exposure, the name of the employer and its insurer, if
any, and the claim number. A copy of the request should be
mailed to the insurer, self-insured employer, claimant, or if
represented, claimant’s counsel.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.283(1)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.

1-1-95

438-005-0072
Expedited Hearing/Compensation Stayed Under ORS 656.313
For purposes of OAR 438 Divisions 005-006, compensation
is deemed stayed under ORS 656.313 if the employer/insurer has
filed a request for hearing on or after July 1, 1990 on a reconsider-
ation order and compensation is due and unpaid under the order
for temporary disability benefits, permanent total disability
benefits, or death benefits payable to a surviving spouse prior
to remarriage, to children or dependents that accrued before the
date of the order, or permanent disability benefits.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.313
Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.
1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-005-0075
Duty to Forward Misdirected Request

If a claimant sends a request for hearing or Board review to
the employer or insurer, the employer or insurer shall promptly
forward the request to the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

DIVISION 6

PROCEDURES PRIOR TO HEARING IN ORDINARY
CASES

438-006-0020
Acknowledgment; Notice of Conference and Hearing in
Ordinary Hearing Process

The Hearings Division shall, by mail, acknowledge receipt of
a request for hearing. Such acknowledgment may include notice
of date for an informal prehearing conference pursuant to OAR
438-006-0062 or notice of hearing date. The hearing shall be
scheduled for a date that is within 90 days of the request for
hearing and not less than ten days after mailing of a notice of
hearing date.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.283(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89; WCB 6-1990(Temp), f. 4-24-90, cert.

ef. 4-25-90; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f.

12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-006-0031
Specification of Issues

Not later than 15 days after the first disclosure of documents
under OAR 438-007-0015, the party who requested the hearing
shall, on a form prescribed by the Board, file with the Board and
simultaneously mail copies to all other parties a specific listing of
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all issues to be raised at the hearing and all relief requested.
Amendments shall be freely allowed up to the date of the hearing.
If, during the hearing, the evidence supports an issue or issues not
previously raised, the Administrative Law Judge may allow the
issue(s) to be raised during the hearing. The Administrative Law
Judge may continue the hearing upon motion of an adverse party
if the party is surprised and prejudiced by the additional issue(s)
and a continuance is necessary to allow the party an opportunity to
cure the surprise and prejudice.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 3-1987(Temp), f. 8-27-87, ef. 9-15-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87,

ef. 1-1-88

438-006-0036
Response

Not later than 15 days after receiving the listing of issues and
other information required by OAR 438-006-0031, a party
defending against a request for hearing shall, on a form prescribed
by the Board, file and simultaneously mail copies to all other
parties a response specifying the respondent’s position on the
issues raised and relief requested and any additional issues raised
and relief requested by the respondent. Amendments shall be
freely allowed up to the date of the hearing. If, during the hearing,
the evidence supports an issue or issues not previously raised, the
Administrative Law Judge may allow the issue(s) to be raised
during the hearing. The Administrative Law Judge may continue
the hearing upon motion of an adverse party if the party is
surprised and prejudiced by the additional issue(s) and a
continuance is necessary to allow the party an opportunity to cure
the surprise and prejudice.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 3-1987(Temp), f. 8-27-87, ef. 9-15-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87,

ef. 1-1-88

438-006-0037
Waiver of Notice
A party may waive objection to lack of notice, or a defect in
the form of notice, of any issue raised at a hearing.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)
Hist.: WCB 3-1987(Temp), f. 8-27-87, ef. 9-15-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87,
ef. 1-1-88

438-006-0038
Hearings on Worker Subjectivity

Notwithstanding OAR 438-006-0031, 438-006-0036 and
438-006-0037, when a hearing is granted in which a worker
challenges a determination by the Compliance Section, Workers’
Compensation Division, that the worker is not a subject worker,
the only issue to be considered by the Administrative Law Judge
shall be whether the worker was a subject worker of a subject
employer on the date of the alleged injury.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.290

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.290

Hist.: WCB 2-1992(Temp), f. 4-8-92, cert. ef. 4-15-92; WCB 6-1992, f. 10-9-

92, cert. ef. 10-12-92

438-006-0045
Motions, Arguments

Unless otherwise agreed among the parties and the Adminis-
trative Law Judge, pre or post hearing motions shall be filed in
writing and copies shall be simultaneously served on all parties or
their attorneys. Unless otherwise ordered by the Administrative
Law Judge, ten days after filing shall be allowed for written
response to a motion.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-006-0050

Preliminary Rulings
The Presiding Administrative Law Judge or his or her
delegate shall rule on all preliminary matters.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)
Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-
88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-006-0055
Depositions

Depositions of medical or vocational experts are permitted
by agreement of the parties, or by approval of an Administrative
Law Judge, subject to the provisions of ORS 656.285. Depositions
of claimants are permitted in the manner prescribed by ORS
656.262(14). Depositions of other lay witnesses are not permitted
over objection unless the Presiding Administrative Law Judge or
his or her delegate finds that extraordinary circumstances justify
the deposition.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-

96

438-006-0062
Prehearing Conference

(1) An informal prehearing conference may be held by the
Hearings Division as provided by, and for the purposes stated in
ORS 656.726(4).

(2) The parties shall be given not less than ten days notice of
the date of the conference.

(3) At the conference, any party may participate in the
conference with or without an attorney.

(4) If a party is represented by counsel at the conference, a
client representative with settlement authority (claimant, employer
or claims examiner, as applicable) must attend the conference
with counsel, or be available by telephone during that time.

(5) The Administrative Law Judge who conducts a
prehearing conference on the merits shall not conduct the hearing
on the matter over objection by any party.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4) & 656.283(9)

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

438-006-0065
Consolidation and Joinder

(1) An Administrative Law Judge shall consolidate into one
proceeding all cases in which a claimant has requested hearings
involving denials of responsibility for a claim issued by insurers
or self-insured employers under ORS 656.308(2)(a).

(2) The following kinds of cases (which do not involve
responsibility denials issued under ORS 656.308(2)(a)) shall be
consolidated for hearing at the same time and place if the
Administrative Law Judge finds that consolidation is necessary or
desirable for full determination of the issues:

(a) Cases in which a claimant has requested hearings
involving more than one claim, regardless of date of injury,
against the same employer, insurer, or self-insured employer; and

(b) Cases in which a claimant has requested a hearing or
hearings involving matters concerning a claim or claims in which
any party has also requested a hearing involving matters of
compliance with the workers’ compensation law where the
primary issues relate to the same alleged injury or occupational
disease.

(3) An Administrative Law Judge may consolidate cases for
hearing at the same time and place if all parties and the
Administrative Law Judge agree that consolidation of the cases is
in the interest of substantial justice.

(4) Unless already a party to a case with the same claimant
before the Hearings Division on a common issue, an insurer or
self-insured employer shall not be joined by another insurer or
self-insured employer in any proceeding unless it is established:



Chapter 438 Department of Consumer and Business Services, Workers’ Compensation Board
OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 1997 COMPILATION

(a) That the insurer or self-insured employer is a party to an
Order Designating Paying Agent pursuant to ORS 656.307; or

(b) That, in compliance with ORS 656. 308(2)(a)(b), the
worker has first filed a timely, written claim against that insurer or
self-insured employer.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.308 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert.

ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-

13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-006-0071
Failure of Party to Pursue or to Appear at Hearing

(1) A request for hearing may be dismissed if an Adminis-
trative Law Judge finds that the party that requested the hearing
has abandoned the request for hearing or has engaged in conduct
that has resulted in an unjustified delay in the hearing of more
than 60 days.

(2) Unjustified failure of a party or the party’s representative
to attend a scheduled hearing is a waiver of appearance. If the
party that waives appearance is the party that requested the
hearing, the Administrative Law Judge shall dismiss the request
for hearing as having been abandoned unless extraordinary
circumstances justify postponement or continuance of the hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Hist.. WCB 3-1987(Temp), . 8-27-87, ef. 9-15-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87,

ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-006-0075
Expedited Remedy for Failure to Pay Temporary Disability

(1) If it is alleged that the self-insured employer or insurer
has terminated temporary disability compensation without: the
attending physician advising the worker and documenting in
writing that the worker is released to return to regular
employment; or the injured worker’s actual return to regular or
modified employment; or the attending physician advising the
worker and documenting in writing that the worker is released to
return to modified employment, when such employment has been
offered in writing to the worker and the worker fails to begin such
employment; or any other event that causes temporary disability
benefits to be lawfully suspended, withheld or terminated under
ORS 656.262(4) or other provisions under chapter 656; or the
issuance of a determination order or notice of closure; or
authorization of the Board or the Director, the claimant may file
with the Hearings Division with copies to the insurer, a motion
supported by affidavit asserting the failure to receive such
compensation.

(2)(a) If the Hearings Division determines that the amount in
controversy is less than $1,000, the case shall be referred to the
Expedited Claims Service under the provisions of Division 013 of
these rules;

(b) If the matter cannot be resolved by referral to the
Expedited Claims Service, the Hearings Division shall
immediately upon receipt of the motion and affidavit issue an
Order requiring the self-insured employer or insurer to show cause
within 15 days why said compensation has not been provided to
the claimant. The show cause order shall contain notice of the
date, time and place of the show cause hearing.

(3) Immediately upon the conclusion of the hearing or
expiration of the 15 days, the Administrative Law Judge shall
enter an Order denying or granting temporary disability
compensation and awarding penalties and attorney fees when
appropriate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.262(4), 656.2273(4) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-

90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-006-0078
Request for Expedited Hearing

(1) If it is alleged that the claimant is suffering a financial
hardship or medical hardship, the claimant may file with the
Presiding Administrative Law Judge with copies to the insurer, a
written motion asserting the hardship and requesting an expedited
hearing:

(a) For purposes of this rule, “financial hardship” means that
the claimant is receiving neither compensation nor regular wages
nor other income in lieu of wages which is comparable in amount
to compensation;

(b) For purposes of this rule, “medical hardship” means that
the claimant’s condition will permanently and irreversibly
deteriorate if the hearing is scheduled in the ordinary course of
business and that such deterioration may be avoided by scheduling
the hearing at an earlier date.

(2) A motion for expedited hearing shall be accompanied
with supporting evidence:

(a) If the motion is based on financial hardship, supporting
evidence shall include an affidavit from claimant or family
member establishing such hardship;

(b) If the motion is based on medical hardship, supporting
evidence shall include a medical report from the attending
physician establishing medical hardship.

(3) A motion for expedited hearing shall state whether
opposing counsel (or the party if the party is not represented by
counsel), objects to, concurs in or has no comment regarding the
motion.

(4) If opposing counsel (or the party if the party is not
represented by counsel) concurs with the motion, the motion shall
be accompanied by three mutually suitable dates for an expedited
hearing.

(5) If opposing counsel (of the party if the party is not
represented by counsel) either objects to the motion or has no
comment, counsel for the moving party shall arrange and place a
conference telephone call with the Presiding Administrative Law
Judge or his or her designee and counsel for the parties.

(6) Within a reasonable time after receipt of the motion for
expedited hearing and completion of the telephone call, if
required, the Presiding Administrative Law Judge or his or her
designee shall notify the parties in writing of the Administrative
Law Judge’s ruling:

(a) If the motion is granted, the Presiding Administrative
Law Judge or his or her designee shall also notify the parties of
the date for the expedited hearing;

(b) If the motion is denied, hearing shall be held on a date
scheduled in the ordinary course of business.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.283(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1991, f. 8-22-91, cert. ef. 9-2-91

438-006-0081
Postponement of Hearings

A scheduled hearing shall not be postponed except by order
of an Administrative Law Judge upon a finding of extraordinary
circumstances beyond the control of the party or parties requesting
the postponement. “Extraordinary circumstances” shall not
include:

(1) Failure of the insurer or self-insured employer to refer or
delay in referring the case or any pertinent information to its
representative;

(2) Unavailability of a party, witness or representative due to
nonemergency medical or dental appointment, occupational,
personal or professional business or appointments, or
unwillingness to appear, provided that a postponement may be
granted if the unavailable person is a worker who is temporarily
working out of state and is reasonably expected to return to the
state within a time certain or is a person who has been duly
subpoenaed and has failed to comply with the subpoena;

(3) An attorney’s party’s, representative’s or witness’
conflict with administrative proceedings scheduled more than
three days after mailing of the notice of hearing;

(4) Incomplete case preparation, unless the Administrative
Law Judge finds that completion of the record could not be
accomplished with due diligence.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.283(4)

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 3-1987(Temp), f. 8-27-87, ef. 9-15-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87,
ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, cert. ef. 4-1-89

438-006-0091
Continuances

The parties shall be prepared to present all of their evidence
at the scheduled hearing. Continuances are disfavored. The
Administrative Law Judge may continue a hearing for further
proceedings. The Administrative Law Judge shall state the
specific reason for the continuance:

(1) If the time allocated for the scheduled hearing is
insufficient to allow all parties to present their evidence and
argument;

(2) Upon a showing of due diligence if necessary to afford
reasonable opportunity to cross-examine on documentary medical
or vocational evidence;

(3) Upon a showing of due diligence if necessary to afford
reasonable opportunity for the party bearing the burden of proof to
obtain and present final rebuttal evidence or for any party to
respond to an issue raised for the first time at a hearing; or

(4) For any reason that would justify postponement of a
schedule hearing under OAR 438-06-081.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.283(4) & 656.726(4)

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 3-1987(Temp), f. 8-27-87, cert. ef. 9-15-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-

18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-006-0095
Change of Administrative Law Judge

(1) An Administrative Law Judge may withdraw from a case
whenever he or she considered himself or herself disqualified.

(2) Any party may request that the Administrative Law Judge
be removed from a case, on grounds of personal bias or conflict of
interest, by filing with the Presiding Administrative Law Judge,
promptly upon discovery of the alleged facts, an affidavit which
sets forth in detail the matters believed to constitute the grounds
for disqualification.

(3) If, in the opinion of the Presiding Administrative Law
Judge, the request for disqualification is filed with the diligence
and the supporting affidavit is sufficient on its face, the Presiding
Administrative Law Judge shall either disqualify the Adminis-
trative Law Judge and assign another Administrative Law Judge
to the case or order a hearing on the allegations in the affidavit.

(4) If the Presiding Administrative Law Judge does not
disqualify the Administrative Law Judge, the Presiding Adminis-
trative Law Judge shall so rule on the record, stating the grounds
for his ruling, and the case shall proceed with the Administrative
Law Judge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593, 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, . 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-006-0100
Representation by Counsel

(1) Except as permitted by ORS 656.291 and this rule,
corporations and state agencies must be represented by members
of the Oregon State Bar. The Board encourages injured workers
also to be represented in formal hearings.

(2) Notwithstanding section (1) of this rule, a state agency
officer or employee may represent the Director as permitted by
rule of the Director.

(3)(a) A law student authorized to appear before courts and
administrative tribunals of this state in accordance with Rule 9.05
through 9.30 of the Supreme Court Rules for Admission of
Attorneys (Law Student Appearance Rules) has the consent of the
Board to appear on behalf of a client at a hearing if:

(A) All of the following documents have been filed with the
Presiding Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing:

(1) A true copy of the student’s certification to appear under
the Law Student Appearance Rules showing approval by the
Supreme Court and filing with the State Court Administrator;

(ii) The client’s written consent to representation under the
Law Student Appearance Rules, which shall be made a part of the
official record of each case; and

(iii) The student’s supervising attorney has introduced the
student to the Presiding Administrative Law Judge in a letter of
introduction signed by the supervising attorney; and

(B) The Presiding Administrative Law Judge has approved
the law student’s appearance prior to the hearing.

(b) The supervising attorney is encouraged, though not
required, to personally introduce the law student to the assigned
Administrative Law Judge in each case.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4) & 9.320

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 1-1990, f. 1-24-90, cert. ef. 2-28-90; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-

90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-006-0105
Deferred Hearings

A hearing may be deferred until a time specified in the order
of deferral if:

(1) The primary issue is unscheduled permanent disability
and the claimant is entitled to temporary disability compensation
under an Authorized Training Program, except where there is an
interruption of compensation or upon a showing of good cause;

(2) Consolidation with a pending hearing under OAR 438-
005-0065(1) cannot be accomplished prior to the time scheduled
for the pending hearing; or

(3) The claimant has made a claim that the Administrative
Law Judge finds should be resolved with the pending hearing and
the insurer or self-insured employer will not be allowed the full
time for processing of the new claim under the provisions of ORS
656.262 prior to the time scheduled for the pending hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4) & 656.268(8)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert.

ef. 7-1-90

438-006-0110
Hearing Security

Any party or attorney having knowledge or reasonable belief
that any party or witness to the hearing may potentially present a
danger or may be a threat to anyone involved in the claim or
hearing shall immediately notify the hearing Administrative Law
Judge and the opposing attorney(s) of the potentially dangerous
situation. All decisions involving security at the hearing shall be
within the discretion of the Presiding Administrative Law Judge
or his/her designee.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1993, f. 5-19-93, cert. ef. 6-1-93; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90,

cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-006-0115
Motion to Dismiss a Party Under ORS 656.308(2)(c)

(1) If an insurer or self-insured employer is alleging that the
record does not contain substantial evidence to support a finding
of responsibility against it, the insurer or self-insured employer
may file a “written notice” pursuant to ORS 656.308(2)(c)
requesting its dismissal as a party to the proceeding.

(2) The written notice described in section (1) of this rule
shall be considered by the Administrative Law Judge if:

(a) The written notice is labeled “308 Dismissal Motion™;

(b) The written notice (including any supporting documen-
tation) is filed not more than 28 days or less than 14 days before
the hearing; and

(c) A copy of the written notice (including any supporting
documentation) is simultaneously served on the other parties, or if
represented, on their attorneys in the manner provided in OAR
438-005-0046(2)(a), and proof of such service is provided in
accordance with OAR 438-005-0046(2)(b).

(3) Written responses to the written notice described in
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sections (1) and (2) of this rule shall be considered if:

(a) The written response is labeled “308 Dismissal
Response™;

(b) The written response (including supporting documen-
tation) is filed within seven days after the written notice is filed;
and

(c) A copy of the written response (including supporting
documentation) is simultaneously served on the other parties or, if
represented, on their attorneys in the manner provided in OAR
438-005-0046(2)(a) and proof of such service is provided in
accordance with OAR 438-005-0046(2)(b).

(4) For purposes of ORS 656.308(2)(c) and this rule, the
record shall include any document filed with the Hearings
Division which was considered by the Administrative Law Judge
prior to the issuance of his / her decision.

(5) Not less than seven days before the hearing, the Adminis-
trative Law Judge shall inform the parties either that:

(a) The party filing the written notice shall be dismissed as a
party to the hearing; or

(b) The party filing the written notice shall not be dismissed
as a party to the hearing; or

(c) The hearing shall be postponed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.308(2)(c)

Hist.: WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

DIVISION 7
EVIDENCE — HEARINGS

438-007-0005
Medical and Vocational and Other Documentary Evidence

(1) Statutory references: medical reports as evidence, ORS
656.310(2); vocational reports, ORS 656.287.

(2) To avoid unnecessary delay and expense medical
evidence should be presented in the form of written reports and
should include:

(a) History of the injury or disease;

(b) Pertinent medical history;

(c) Present complaints;

(d) All sources of history and complaints;

(e) Date of examination;

(f) Findings on examination;

(g) Impairment of physical or mental function including loss
of reserve capacity;

(h) Restrictions of activities, such as lifting, bending,
twisting, sitting, standing and repetitive use;

(i) Cause of the impairment and opinion whether the
impairment is all or in part work related;

(j) Medical treatment indicated;

(k) Likelihood of permanent impairment and opinion whether
the condition is likely to change; and

(1) The reason for the opinion.

(3) The insurer may subpoena the claimant’s attending or
consulting physician(s) or vocational expert for cross-exami-
nation. Medical, surgical, hospital and vocational reports offered
by the insurer will also be accepted as prima facie evidence
provided the insurer agrees to produce the medical or vocational
expert for cross-examination upon request of the claimant. The
reports of any medical or vocational expert who has refused to
make herself or himself available for cross-examination shall be
excluded from the record unless good cause is shown why such
evidence should be received. The cost of cross-examination of any
medical or vocational expert under this section shall be paid by
the insurer.

(4) To avoid unnecessary cost and delay, the Board
encourages the use of written interrogatories or depositions to
secure medical or vocational expert testimony.

(5) The Administrative Law Judge may appoint a medical or
vocational expert to examine the claimant and to file a report with
the Administrative Law Judge. The parties may also agree in
advance to be bound by such expert’s findings. The cost of

examination and reports under this rule shall be paid by the
insurer.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.287 & 656.310(2)
Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 1-1987, f. 3-4-87, ef. 4-15-87;
WCD 2-1987(Temp), f. 4-13-87, ef. 4-15-87; WCB 4-1987, f. 11-6-87, ef. 11-
16-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-007-0010
Competency of Vocational Experts

Vocational reports and testimony are admissible as expert
opinion evidence if the Administrative Law Judge finds the author
or witness to be qualified as an expert or if the parties stipulate to
the author’s or witness’ qualifications as an expert in vocational
assistance matters.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.287

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-007-0015
Entitlement to Claims Information-Full Disclosure Required

(1) References to the insurer and the claimant include their
representatives.

(2) Documents pertaining to claims are obtained by mailing a
copy of the Request for Hearing, or a written demand accom-
panied by an attorney retention agreement or medical infor-mation
release, to the insurer or self-insured employer. Within 15 days of
said mailing, the insurer or self-insured employer shall furnish the
claimant and other insurers, without cost, originals or legible
copies of all medical and vocational reports, records of compen-
sation paid, and all other documents pertaining to the claim(s).
Upon specific demand by the claimant, payroll records shall be
obtained by the insurer from the employer and provided in the
same manner as other documents.

(3) Upon written demand by the insurer(s) or self-insured
employer(s), the claimant shall within 15 days of the mailing of
said demand, furnish to the insurer(s), without cost, copies of all
medical and vocational reports and other documents pertaining to
the claim which the claimant did not receive from the insurer or
self-insured employer making the demand.

(4) Documents acquired after the initial exchanges shall be
provided to the other parties within seven days after the disclosing
party's receipt of the documents.

(5) It is the express policy of the Board to promote the full
and complete disclosure of all facts and opinion pertaining to the
claim being litigated before the Hearings Division. Failure to
comply with this rule shall, if found unreasonable, be considered
delay or refusal under ORS 656.262(11). Failure to comply with
this rule may also be considered grounds for continuance of a
hearing or exclusion of evidence under OAR 438-007-0018(4).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; Suspended by WCB 3-1987(Temp),

f. 8-27-87, ef. 9-15-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f.

3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-007-0016
Disclosure of Expert Witness Required

Within the times provided for the initial exchanges of
exhibits and indexes under OAR 438-007-0018 each party shall
disclose to all other parties the identity of each expert witness the
party will call to testify at the hearing. A statement by a party that
the party “reserves the right,” or similar language, to call as a
witness any expert whose opinion has been included in the
documents filed in the case is not compliance with this rule. At the
hearing the Administrative Law Judge may, in his or her
discretion, allow the testimony of expert witnesses not disclosed
as required by this rule. In the exercise of this discretion, the
Administrative Law Judge shall determine whether material
prejudice has resulted from the timing of the disclosure and, if so,
whether there is good cause for the failure to timely disclose that
outweighs the prejudice to the other party or parties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)
Hist.: WCB 3-1987(Temp), f. 8-27-87, ef. 9-15-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87,
ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-007-0017
Impeachment Evidence

(1) Impeachment evidence shall not include any material
disclosed to, or reviewed by, a medical or vocational expert.

(2) Unless withheld as impeachment evidence, the following
material shall be disclosed under OAR 438-007-0015:

(a) All medical or vocational material, whether created or
existing before, on, or after the date of injury or exposure; and

(b) All audio tapes, video tapes, transcriptions, summaries,
and notes of recorded or unrecorded statements given by a
claimant to an insurer, self-insured employer, claims adminis-
tration agency, or employer.

(3) Impeachment evidence consisting of medical or voca-
tional reports not used during the course of the hearing must be
provided to any opposing party at the conclusion of the presen-
tation of evidence and before closing arguments are presented.
Any other withheld impeachment evidence is not subject to
disclosure.

(4) Impeachment evidence shall not be considered by the
Administrative Law Judge as substantive evidence, unless any
opposing party offers any withheld medical or vocational reports
as substantive evidence.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.

1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-007-0018
Exchange and Admission of Exhibits at Hearing

(1) Not later than 28 days before the hearing, the insurer or
self-insured employer shall provide the claimant and other insurer
or self-insured employer legible copies of all documents that are
relevant and material to the matters in dispute in the hearing,
together with an index. The index shall include the document
numbers, description of each document, author, number of pages
and date of the document. The documents shall be arranged in
chronological order and numbered, in Arabic numerals, in the
lower right corner of each page, beginning with the document of
earliest date. The numbers shall be preceded by the designation
“Ex,” and pagination of multiple-page documents shall be desig-
nated by a hyphen followed by the page number. For example,
page two of document two shall be designated “Ex 2-2.” A
physician’s chart notes constitute a multi-page document to the
extent that the date of each individual chart note is subsequent to
the date of the preceding exhibit and is earlier than the date of the
next exhibit. However, for deposition transcripts, only the cover
page of the deposition need be numbered; i.e., “Ex. 3.”

(2) Not less than 14 days before the hearing, or within seven
days of receipt of the insurer document index and documents,
whichever is later, the claimant shall provide the insurer(s) or self-
insured employer(s) legible copies of any additional documents
that are relevant and material to the matters in dispute in the
hearing. The additional documents shall be marked and accom-
panied by a supplemental document index, prepared in the same
manner as the insurer documents and index and numbered to
coincide in chronological order with the insurer’s documents.
Letter subdesignations shall be used to ensure chronological
numbering. For example, a document which is chronologically
between documents six and seven of the insurer documents shall
be designated “Ex 6A.”

(3) Before the hearing, the parties shall delete from their
indexes and packets of documents those documents which are
cumulative, or which no party can in good faith represent to be
relevant and material to the issues, and the revised indexes and
packets of documents shall be submitted to the Administrative
Law Judge. For compliance with this rule, it is sufficient for the
parties to mark neatly through the index description of the
documents not being offered in evidence with ink, and to remove
the corresponding documents from the packets submitted to the

Administrative Law Judge.

(4) Subject to ORS 656.287(1), at the hearing the Adminis-
trative Law Judge may in his or her discretion allow admission of
additional medical reports or other documentary evidence not
disclosed as required by OAR 438-007-0015. In the exercise of
this discretion, the Administrative Law Judge shall determine
whether material prejudice has resulted from the timing of the
disclosure and, if so, whether there is good cause for the failure to
timely disclose that outweighs any prejudice to the other party or
parties. Following a finding of material prejudice, the Adminis-
trative Law Judge may exclude a document or continue the
hearing for such action as is appropriate to cure the material
prejudice caused by the late disclosure of the document.

(5) Within the time provided for the initial exchanges of
exhibits and indexes under Section (1), if a party intends to
present any portion of the “reconsideration record” obtained from
the Director for admission under ORS 656.283(7) at the hearing,
that party shall notify the other parties.

(6) The notifying party’s copy of the Director’s reconsider-
ation record is subject to the “disclosure” requirements of OAR
438-007-0015. However, presentation of the Director’s recon-
sideration record is not subject to the “exchange and admission”
requirements of this rule.

(7) At the hearing, rather than presenting the Director’s
reconsideration record for admission, the parties shall present their
oral or written stipulation identifying the exhibits in the hearing
record which were also included in the Director’s reconsideration
record under ORS 656.283(7). If the parties cannot reach an
agreement, any disputed portions of the Director’s reconsideration
record may be presented for admission.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) & 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-

89; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert.

ef. 1-1-96

438-007-0019
Testimony at Hearings

All testimony at the hearing shall be upon oath or affirmation
administered by the Administrative Law Judge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(2)(b)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-007-0020
Witness Fees

Witness fees and mileage in workers’ compensation cases are
payable as in civil actions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.283(8) & 656.726(2)(c)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-007-0022
Manner of Taking Testimony of Lay Witnesses

(1) Testimony of lay witnesses shall be taken by personal
appearance of the witness before the Administrative Law Judge at
the hearing.

(2) When a lay witness is unable to attend the hearing due to
extraordinary circumstances beyond the control of the party
offering the testimony and the testimony of the witness cannot be
taken by deposition, the Administrative Law Judge may allow
testimony to be taken in any manner that will afford substantial
justice and insure a complete and accurate record of all
examination and testimony.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(2)(d)

Hist.: WCB 6-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 12-18-87; WCB 1-1988, f. & ef. 6-1-88;

WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-007-0023

Order of Presentation of Evidence and Argument at Hearing
The party bearing the burden of proof on an issue in a

hearing has the right of first and last presentation of evidence and
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argument on the issue.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(2)(d)
Hist.: WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-007-0025
Reconsideration

(1) The Administrative Law Judge may reopen the record
and reconsider his or her decision before a request for review is
filed or, if none is filed, before the time for requesting review
expires. Reconsideration may be upon the Administrative Law
Judge’s own motion or upon a motion by a party showing error,
omission, misconstruction of an applicable statute or the discovery
of new material evidence.

(2) A motion to reconsider shall be served on the opposite
parties by the movant and, if based on newly discovered evidence,
shall state;

(a) The nature of the new evidence; and

(b) An explanation why the evidence could not reasonably
have been discovered and produced at the hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.283(7) & 656.726(4)

Hist.. WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-007-0030
Unofficial Recording of Hearing Prohibited

An Administrative Law Judge shall prohibit broadcasting,
televising, sound or video recording and the taking of photographs
within the hearing room and of events in the hearing room from
outside the hearing room while the hearing is in session and
during recesses between sessions, except sound recording of a
hearing by the Administrative Law Judge or an official hearing
reporter for the purpose of making a record of the hearing. To the
extent the Administrative Law Judge deems necessary, the same
prohibitions may be applied to areas immediately adjacent to the
hearing room where the activities may interrupt or interfere with
entry to or exit from the hearing room, distract or disturb
proceedings within the hearing room or otherwise interfere with
the conduct of the hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.283(7) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1988, f. & ef. 6-1-88

438-007-0035
Interpreters

(1) “Interpreter” means a person qualified to interpret oral
and written proceedings from a language other than English to
English and English to the other language, or the operator of
appropriate assistive communication devices necessary to allow a
disabled person to fully participate in proceedings.

(2) The Workers” Compensation Board (Board) will pay for
the services of an interpreter if:

(a) The party seeking to offer evidence that requires
interpretation, or who requires interpretation to fully participate in
the proceeding, has engaged the services of an interpreter;

(b) The interpreter is under a current personal services
contract with the Board at the time interpretation services are
performed; and

(c) A proceeding, whether or not recorded, is conducted in
the presence of an Administrative Law Judge or pursuant to a
Administrative Law Judge’s order.

(3) The party who engages the services of an interpreter is
responsible for notifying the interpreter of the dates, times and
places of proceedings and of any changes in those factors,
including cancellations of hearings.

(4) Payment shall be at the rate(s) prescribed in the personal
services contract, except that:

(a) Interpretation services will be paid only for proceedings,
whether or not recorded, conducted in the presence of a Adminis-
trative Law Judge or pursuant to a Administrative Law Judge’s
order;

(b) The Board will reimburse the interpreter for travel costs
only if travel of more than 40 miles round trip is required to

perform interpretation services and the travel is approved in
advance by the Board’s Administrator; and

(c) If a scheduled hearing has been cancelled, any appearance
charges billed by the interpreter shall be the responsibility of the
party who engaged the interpreter.

(5) A list of interpreters under contract with the Board may
be obtained by contacting the Hearings Division, 2250
McGilchrist Street, S.E., Salem, OR 97310.

(6) This rule does not prohibit the parties from engaging the
services of interpreters not under Board contract, either as
volunteers or at the expense of one or more of the parties, if the
parties and the Administrative Law Judge so agree.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(2)(d)

Hist.: WCB 4-1992(Temp), f. 6-16-92, cert. ef. 6-17-92; WCB 7-1992, f. 12-

10-92, cert. ef. 12-14-92; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

DIVISION 9
COMPROMISE AND SETTLEMENT

438-009-0001
Special Definitions

As used in this Division:

(1) “Claim Disposition Agreement” means a written agree-
ment executed by all parties in which a claimant agrees to release
rights, or agrees to release an insurer or self-insured employer
from obligations, under ORS 656.001 to 656.794 except for
medical services, in an accepted claim.

(2) “Disputed Claim Settlement” means a written agreement
executed by all parties in which the parties agree to make a
reasonable disposition of a claim in which there is a bona fide
dispute over the compensability of the claim.

(3) “Settlement Stipulation” means a written agreement, or
an oral agreement if made on the oral record of a hearing and
approved in writing by a Administrative Law Judge, in which any
matter contested between the parties, other than matters resolvable
in a claim disposition agreement or disputed claim settlement, are
resolved by agreement of the parties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236, 656.289(4) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-009-0005
Settlement Stipulations

(1) Contested matters arising out of a claim closure may be
resolved by the parties at any time after the conclusion of the
reconsideration proceeding by Evaluation under ORS 656.268,
whether or not a hearing has been requested by a party.

(2) Any contested matters not arising out of a claim closure
may be resolved by the parties at any time, whether or not a
hearing has been requested by a party.

(3) All settlement stipulations that provide for an award of
compensation for permanent partial disability shall recite the body
part(s) for which the award(s) is (are) made and shall recite all
awards in both degrees and percent of loss. In the event there is
any inconsistency between the stated degrees and percent of loss
awarded in a settlement stipulation, the stated percent of loss shall
be controlling.

(4) For purposes of ORS 656.289(1)-(3), a Administrative
Law Judge’s order approving a settlement stipulation is a determi-
nation of all matters included within the terms of the settlement
stipulation.

(5) All settlement stipulations shall recite whether a claim
disposition agreement in the claim has been filed for approval by
the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.268 & 656.289(1-3)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-

90, cert. ef. 12-31-90
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438-009-0010
Disputed Claim Settlements

(1) Any document submitted for approval by the Board or the
Hearings Division as a settlement of a denied or disputed claim
shall be in the form specified by this rule.

(2) A disputed claim settlement shall recite, at a minimum:

(a) The date and nature of the claim;

(b) That the claim has been denied and the date of the denial;

(c) That a bona fide dispute as to the compensability of the
claim exists and that the parties have agreed to compromise and
settle the denied and disputed claim under the provisions of ORS
656.289(4);

(d) The factual allegations and legal positions in support of
the claim;

(e) The factual allegations and legal positions in support of
the denial of the claim;

(f) That each of the parties has substantial evidence to
support the factual allegations of that party;

(g) A list of medical service providers who shall receive
reimbursement in accordance with ORS 656.313(4), including the
specific amount each provider shall be reimbursed, and the
parties’ acknowledgment that this reimbursement allocation
complies with the reimbursement formula prescribed in ORS
656.313(4)(d); and

(h) The terms of the settlement, including the specific date on
which those terms were agreed.

(3) If an accepted claim is later denied entirely at any time
based on fraud, misrepresentation or other illegal activity by the
worker, the disputed claim settlement shall further recite the
specific factual allegations and legal positions of the parties
concerning the fraud, misrepresentation or other illegal activity.

(4) If a claim was previously accepted in good faith but later
denied, in whole or in part, based on later obtained evidence that
the claim is not compensable or evidence that the paying agent is
not responsible for the claim, the disputed claim settlement shall
further recite:

(a) If the accepted claim is later denied entirely at any time
up to two years from the date of claim acceptance, an allegation
that the self-insured employer or insurer has obtained later
evidence that the claim is not compensable or that the paying
agent is not responsible for the claim; or

(b) If the denial is a denial of aggravation, current need for
medical services or a partial denial of a medical condition on the
ground that the condition is not related to the accepted injury, that
the claimant retains all rights that may later arise under ORS
656.245, 656.273, 656.278 and 656.340, insofar as these rights
may be related to the original accepted claim.

(5) If the claimant is unrepresented, the denial of the claim
which is being settled by any document described in section (1) of
this rule shall not be contained within that document, but rather
shall be issued separately. In addition, any document described in
section (1) of this rule shall recite that the unrepresented claimant
has been orally advised of:

(a) The right to an attorney of the claimant’s choice at no
cost to the claimant for attorney fees; and

(b) The existence of the office of the Ombudsman pursuant
to ORS 656.709.

(6) Any document described in section (1) of this rule shall
also recite that the claimant has been orally advised that:

(a) The claimant has the right to request a hearing concerning
the claim, after which an Administrative Law Judge will deter-
mine whether the claimant will receive workers’ compensation
benefits;

(b) If, following the hearing, the claim is finally determined
compensable, the claimant would be entitled to workers’ compen-
sation benefits, which could include temporary disability,
permanent disability, medical treatment, and vocational
rehabilitation;

(c) If, following the hearing, the claim is finally determined
not compensable, the claimant would not be entitled to workers’
compensation benefits;

(d) As a result of this agreement, the claimant’s rights to seek

workers’ compensation benefits concerning this claim would be
extinguished;

(e) Both parties agree that the terms of the agreement are
reasonable; and

(f) The agreement shall not be binding upon the parties
unless and until the agreement is signed by an Administrative Law
Judge or the Board, depending upon which forum is considering
the dispute.

(7) No document described in section (1) of this rule shall be
approved unless the document submitted by the parties establishes
that a bona fide dispute as to compensability exists and the pro-
posed disposition of the dispute is reasonable. If an Adminis-
trative Law Judge or the Board is not satisfied that a bona fide
dispute exists or that disposition of the dispute is reasonable, the
Administrative Law Judge or Board may reject the agreement or
specify the manner in which objection(s) can be cured.

(8) All disputed claim settlements shall recite whether a
claim disposition agreement in the claim has been filed for
approval by the Board. All disputed claim settlements shall be in a
separate document from a claim disposition agreement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.313(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236, 656.289(4) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1984, f. 4-5-84, ef. 5-1-84; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 5-1990, f. 4-19-90, cert. ef. 5-21-90; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-

90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 3-

1993, . 10-27-93, cert. ef. 11-4-93; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-009-0015
Notice of Settlement; Submission of Documents

(1) The party that requested the hearing shall promptly notify
the Presiding Administrative Law Judge, or his or her delegate,
when a case is settled in whole or in part.

(2) The party that requested Board review shall promptly
notify the Board’s Closing and Appeals Division in writing when
a case is settled in whole or in part.

(3) The Presiding Administrative Law Judge, or his or her
delegate, may require written notice of settlement as a condition
of cancellation of a scheduled hearing.

(4) With the consent of the assigned Administrative Law
Judge, the parties may enter a settlement on the oral record at the
time and place scheduled for the hearing. With the exception of a
disputed claim settlement, the Administrative Law Judge may
enter an order reciting and approving the settlement in such cases,
without the submission of documents by the parties. With the
consent of the parties, the official oral record, including the
Administrative Law Judge’s approval, which is subject to
transcription if necessary, is sufficient authority for the payment
of settlement amounts in advance of the formal written order.

(5) In all cases settled by written stipulation of the parties,
the original and six legible copies of the settlement document
shall be submitted to the Administrative Law Judge or the Board
for approval. If the written stipulation pertains to the resolution of
disputes pending before both the Hearings Division and the
Board, the settlement document shall recite the issues resolved by
the Opinion and Order which is pending before the Board. If the
written stipulation is submitted to the Hearings Division for
approval and the agreement either formally or effectively modifies
a dispute which is pending before the Board, the stipulation shall
be submitted in a format to provide for both Hearings Division
and Board approval. The original document shall be retained in
the Board’s file and necessary copies shall be conformed and
distributed to the parties and Compliance.

(6) Unless a party has filed prior written notice with the
Hearings Division or the Board that the party wants an exhibit
returned to them, all exhibits (with the exception of exhibit lists)
may be discarded from the record following:

(a) Administrative Law Judge or Board approval of a settle-
ment stipulation or disputed claim settlement;

(b) An Administrative Law Judge order dismissing a party’s
hearing request in response to that party’s withdrawal of the
request; or

(c) A Board order dismissing a party’s request for Board
review in response to that party’s withdrawal of the request for
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Board review.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236, 656.289(4) & 656.726(4)
Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 1-1990, f. 1-24-90, cert. ef.
2-28-90; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

438-009-0020
Claim Disposition Agreements; Form

Any document filed for approval by the Board as a claim
disposition agreement shall:

(1) Contain the terms, conditions, and information as
prescribed by the Board pursuant to OAR 438-009-0022;

(2) Be in a separate document from a disputed claim settle-
ment; and

(3) Include, in prominent or bold-face type, the following
paragraph, which shall be located at the conclusion of the
document after the signature lines for the parties:

“THIS AGREEMENT IS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE TERMS AND
CONDITIONS PRESCRIBED BY THE BOARD. SEE ORS 656.236(1).
ACCORDINGLY, THIS CLAIM DISPOSITION AGREEMENT IS
APPROVED. AN ATTORNEY FEE PAYABLE TO CLAIMANT’S
ATTORNEY ACCORDING TO THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT IS

ALSO APPROVED.
IT IS SO ORDERED.
DATED THIS DAY OF 19
Board Member
Board Member

NOTICE TO ALL PARTIES: THIS ORDER IS FINAL AND IS NOT
SUBJECT TO REVIEW. ORS 656.236(2).”

(4) If the document filed for approval lacks any of the
information required by section (1) of this rule, the Board may:

(a) Mail a letter notifying the parties that the deficiency must
be corrected and that an addendum signed by the parties or their
representatives must be filed with the Board within 21 days from
the date of the letter; and

(b) In the event that the deficiency is not corrected in the
manner and within the time described in subsection (a) of this
section, disapprove the proposed agreement as unreasonable as a
matter of law under ORS 656.236(1)(a).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-8-91; WCB 5-

1991, f. 8-22-91, cert. ef. 9-2-91; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-009-0022
Required Information in a CDA

(1) If a claim disposition agreement involves more than one
claim, the disposition shall contain all of the information required
by this rule for each claim including a separate first page of the
claim disposition agreement as set forth in section (3) of this rule.

(2) The insurer/self-insured employer shall provide the
claimant information explaining claim dispositions in a separate
enclosure accompanying the proposed claim disposition
agreement. The Board shall prescribe by a bulletin the specific
form and format for the enclosure. If the claimant does not read or
comprehend English, or is otherwise unable to understand written
language, the insurer/self-insured employer shall provide this
information in a language or other manner which ensures the
worker understands the meaning of the disposition.

(3) The first page of the claim disposition agreement shall
include, but not be limited to, the following information:

(a) The worker’s name;

(b) The case number assigned to the claim by the Board, if
any;

(c) The insurer’s/self-insured employer’s claim number;

(d) The date of the compensable injury or disease;

(e) The file number assigned to the claim by the Workers’

Compensation Division, if known;

(f) The worker’s social security number;

(g) The name of the insurer/self-insured employer;

(h) Specific identification of all benefits, rights and insurer/
self-insured employer obligations under Workers’ Compensation
Law which are released by the agreement;

(i) The total attorney fee, if any, to be paid to claimant’s
attorney;

(j) The total amount (excluding attorney fee) to be paid to the
claimant; and

(k) A statement indicating whether or not the parties are
waiving the “30-day” approval period of ORS 656.236(1)(a)(C) as
permitted by ORS 656.236(1)(b).

(4) The claim disposition agreement shall also contain, but
not be limited to, the following:

(a) Identification of the accepted conditions that are the
subject of the disposition;

(b) The date of the first claim closure, if any;

(c) The amount of any permanent disability award(s), if any;

(d) Whether the worker has ever been able to return to the
work force following the industrial injury or occupational disease;

(e) The worker’s age, highest education level, and the extent
of vocational training (or in the event that the worker is deceased,
the age, highest education level, and the extent of vocational
training of the worker’s beneficiaries);

(f) A list of occupations that the worker has performed (or in
the event that the worker is deceased, a list of occupations that
each of the deceased worker’s beneficiaries has performed);

(g) That the worker has been provided the informational
enclosure prescribed by bulletin pursuant to section (2) of this rule
(attachment of the informational enclosure to the parties’ claim
disposition agreement is not required, unless the enclosure is
expressly incorporated into the agreement); and

(h) The following notice in prominent or bold face type,
which shall either be included in the claim disposition agreement
or incorporated by reference into the agreement:

“NOTICE TO CLAIMANT: UNLESS YOU ARE REPRE-

SENTED BY AN ATTORNEY AND YOUR CLAIM DISPOSITION

AGREEMENT INCLUDES A PROVISION WHICH WAIVES THE

30-DAY “COOLING OFF” PERIOD, YOU WILL RECEIVE A

NOTICE FROM THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BOARD

TELLING YOU THE DATE THIS AGREEMENT WAS RE-

CEIVED BY THEM FOR APPROVAL. YOU HAVE 30 DAYS

FROM THE DATE THE BOARD RECEIVES THE AGREEMENT

TO REJECT THE AGREEMENT, BY TELLING THE BOARD IN

WRITING. DURING THE 30 DAYS ALL OTHER PROCEEDINGS

AND PAYMENT OBLIGATIONS OF THE INSURER/ SELF-

INSURED EMPLOYER, EXCEPT FOR MEDICAL SERVICES,

ARE STAYED ON YOUR CLAIM. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE AN

ATTORNEY, YOU MAY DISCUSS THIS AGREEMENT WITH

THE BOARD IN PERSON WITHOUT FEE OR CHARGE. TO

CONTACT THE BOARD, WRITE OR CALL: WORKERS’

COMPENSATION BOARD, 2250 MCGILCHRIST STREET SE,

SALEM, OREGON 97310, TELEPHONE: (503) 378-3308, 8:00 TO

5:00, MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY.

“YOU MAY ALSO DISCUSS THIS AGREEMENT WITH

THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION OMBUDSMAN, WITHOUT

FEE OR CHARGE. TO CONTACT THE OMBUDSMAN, WRITE

OR CALL: WORKERS’ COMPENSATION OMBUDSMAN,

LABOR & INDUSTRIES BUILDING, SALEM, OR 97310,

TELEPHONE: (503) 378-3351, 8:00 TO 5:00, MONDAY

THROUGH FRIDAY.”

“YOU MAY ALSO CALL THE WORKERS’ COMPENSA-

TION DIVISION’S INJURED WORKER HOTLINE, TOLL-FREE

IN OREGON, AT 1-800-452-0288.”

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats Implemented: ORS 656.236

Hist.: WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-009-0023
Notice to Claimant Required

Each claimant shall, at the time of execution of a Claim
Disposition Agreement, be given a written notice, separate from
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the agreement, in the form prescribed by the Board pursuant to
OAR 438-009-0022.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236
Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-
13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 2-1995, . 11-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-009-0025
Claim Disposition Agreements; Processing

(1) The parties shall file an original and one legible copy of
the claim disposition agreement for the Board’s approval. Any
claim disposition agreement filed for approval by the Board shall
be mailed or delivered to the Board at 2250 McGilchrist Street,
SE, Salem, Oregon 97310. The original claim disposition
agreement shall be retained in the Board’s file and a copy shall be
conformed and distributed to the Director.

(2) Any claim disposition agreement filed under section (1)
of this rule, shall be deemed to have been submitted as of the date
the agreement is received by the Board. All times to be calculated
shall be calculated from the date of the Board’s receipt of the
agreement.

(3) A request by an unrepresented claimant to meet with the
Board must be made to the Board not more than 30 days after the
Board’s receipt of a claim disposition agreement, but need not be
in any particular form; verbal requests will be accepted.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 2-1993, f. 9-9-93, cert. ef. 12-1-93; WDB 1-

1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

438-009-0028
Postcard Announcing CDA Approval Order

(1) The parties shall also file self-addressed “Announcement
of CDA Approval Order” postcards which shall be mailed by the
Board to all parties and their attorneys if the claim disposition
agreement is approved.

(2) The postcard, which shall be in a form prescribed by the
Board, shall provide the following information:

(a) The claimant’s name;

(b) The claim number; and

(c) Blank spaces for the Board to insert:

(A) The CDA case number; and

(B) The date when the claim disposition agreement was
approved.

(3) If an insufficient number of postcards is filed by the
parties or if any postcard lacks the information set forth in section
(2) of this rule, the Board may follow the procedures described in
OAR 438-009-0020(4).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2), 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236

Hist.: WCB 2-1993, f. 9-9-93, cert. ef. 12-1-93; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert.

ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-009-0030
Claim Disposition Agreements; Stay of Other Proceedings;
Payment of Proceeds

(1) Notwithstanding OAR 438-006-0081, 438-006-0091,
438-011-0020 and 438-011-0025, the Board’s receipt of a claim
disposition agreement shall suspend all other proceedings before
the Board and the Hearings Division until completion of action
upon the agreement, except that the Board shall accept and file
requests for hearing and Board review for purposes of establishing
jurisdiction.

(2) In those cases where the claimant is unrepresented or the
claim disposition agreement does not include a provision in which
the parties waive their “30-day” rights to seek Board disapproval,
the Board shall notify the parties and the Director of its receipt of
a claim disposition agreement.

(3) In all cases, the Board shall notify the Director of its
receipt of a claim disposition agreement.

(4) In cases in which a party has requested judicial review of
an order of the Board and such judicial review is pending on the

date the Board receives the claim disposition agreement, the
Board shall notify the State Court Administrator of its receipt of
the agreement.

(5) In the event that the Board issues a separate written
decision, copies of the Board’s decision approving or disap-
proving a claim disposition agreement shall be mailed to parties,
their attorneys, and the Director.

(6) Except as otherwise provided in section (4) of this rule,
the signature of two Board members on a claim disposition
agreement shall constitute a final order approving the disposition
under ORS 656.236(1). Notice of this approval shall be
accomplished by the Board mailing the postcards filed pursuant to
OAR 438-009-0028 to the parties and their attorneys.

(7) Payment of the disposition shall be made no later than the
14th day after the Board mails notice of its approval of the agree-
ment to the parties, unless otherwise stated in the agreement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 2-1993, f. 9-9-93, cert. ef. 12-1-93; WCB 2-

1995, f. 11-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-009-0035
Reconsideration of Claim Disposition Agreements

(1) A motion for reconsideration of final orders issued by the
Board under ORS 656.236 and these rules shall be filed within ten
days of the date of mailing of the order.

(2) The Board may reconsider final orders under ORS 656.
236, provided that the motion for reconsideration:

(a) Is filed in accordance with section (1) of this rule; and

(b) States specifically the reason(s) reconsideration is
requested.

(3) Reconsideration of a final order issued by the Board
under ORS 656.236 and these rules shall be
limited to the record before the Board at the time its final order
was mailed and no additional information will be considered,
unless the Board finds good cause for allowing the additional
submission.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236

Hist.: WCB 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-8-91; WCB 5-1991, f. 8-22-91, cert.

ef. 9-2-91

DIVISION 10

APPLICABILITY OF THE PERMANENT DISABILITY
RATING STANDARDS

438-010-0000
Applicability of the Permanent Disability Rating Standards
for Rating Extent of Disability

The disability rating standards adopted by the Director, OAR
Chapter 436, Division 35, pursuant to Oregon Laws 1987, Chapter
884, Section 2, for rating permanent disability shall apply to
hearings conducted on and after July 1, 1988 and shall apply only
to claims closed and evaluated by the Evaluation Section, Unit
Compensation Division, Department of Consumer and Business
Services, insurers and self-insured employers on and after July 1,
1988, where the claimant last became medically stationary on an
after January 1, 1988.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.283(7) & 656.295(5)

Hist.. WCB 2-1988(Temp), f. 6-30-88, f. 7-1-88; WCB 5-1988, f. 12-22-88,

ef. 12-28-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-010-0010
Effective Date for Applying Disability Standards
In applying the disability rating standards at hearing and on
review, the Administrative Law Judge and the Board shall apply
the disability rating standards as required by OAR 436-035-0003.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.283(7) & 656.295(5)
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Hist.: WCB 1-1989(Temp), f. & ef. 2-1-89; WCB 4-1989, f. 6-15-89, ef. 7-1-
89; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 4-1991(Temp), f. 6-
14-91, cert. ef. 6-17-91; WCB 8-1991, f. 11-6-91, cert. ef. 11-7-91; WCB 5-
1992(Temp), f. 6-26-92, cert. ef. 6-29-92; WCB 7-1992, f. 12-10-92, ef.,12-
14-92

DIVISION 11
BOARD REVIEW; THIRD PARTY ORDERS

438-011-0005
Request for Board Review

(1) The time for and manner of filing a request for Board
review of a Administrative Law Judge’s order are set forth in ORS
656.289 and 656.295.

(2) Copies of a request for Board review of a Administrative
Law Judge’s order shall be simultaneously mailed to all parties
who appeared at the hearing and to their attorneys, if represented
by an attorney.

(3) The request should recite the name of the claimant, the
WCB case number, the identity of the party requesting review and
should contain a brief statement of the reason review is requested.

(4) The request should also recite whether payment of
compensation will be stayed under ORS 656.313.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.289(3) & 656.295(1)(2)

Hist.: WCB 4-1986, f. 10-8-86, ef. 11-1-86; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 2-1991(Temp), f. 3-28-91, cert. ef. 4-8-91; WCB 5-1991, f. 8-22-91,

cert. ef. 9-2-91

438-011-0010
Applicability

These rules apply to all cases in which a party or parties
request Board review of an order of an Administrative Law Judge
pursuant to ORS 656.289, 656.291, 656.295 and 656.307 and to
cases in which a party requests a decision of the Board under the
third party law, ORS 656.576 to 656.595. These rules do not
apply to proceedings before the Board on its own motion pursuant
to ORS 656.278 and proceedings before the Board after remand
from an appellate court.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.295, 656.307, 656.587 & 656.594

Hist.. WCB 4-1986, f. 10-8-86, ef. 11-1-86; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88

438-011-0015
Scope of Board Review

(1) Review by the Board is de novo upon the entire record.
The Board may remand a matter to the Hearings Division to take
additional evidence, report findings to the Board or to enter an
Opinion and Order on remand.

(2) The Board will not ordinarily entertain oral argument. All
issues and arguments should be reduced to writing and filed
pursuant to OAR 438-011-0020. The case will be reviewed in the
ordinary course of business without prior notice to the parties of
the date or time of review.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.295(5)

Hist.: WCB 4-1986, f. 10-8-86, ef. 11-1-86; WCB 5-1986(Temp), f. 10-30-86,

ef. 11-1-86; WCB 1-1987, f. 3-4-87, ef. 4-15-87; WCB 2-1987(Temp), . 4-13-

87, ef. 4-15-87; WCB 4-1987, f. 11-6-87, ef. 11-16-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-

87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-011-0020
Briefs and Other Documents

(1) Filing of briefs is not jurisdictional; however, the Board
views briefs as a significant aid to the review process. Briefs
submitted for consideration by the Board shall comply with this
section.

(2) The party requesting Board review shall file its appel-
lant’s brief to the Board within 21 days after the date of mailing of
the transcript of record to the parties. Respondent(s) shall file its

(their) brief(s) within 21 days after the date of mailing of the
appellant’s brief. Any party who has filed a cross-request for
review shall include its cross-appellant’s opening brief as a part of
its respondent’s brief. An appellant may file a reply and/or cross-
respondent’s brief within 14 days after the date of mailing of the
respondent’s and/or cross-appellant’s brief. Any party who has not
filed a request for review may file a cross-respondent’s brief
within 14 days after the date of mailing of the cross-appellant’s
brief. A cross-appellant may file a cross-reply brief within 14 days
of the mailing date of a cross-respondent’s brief. Unless otherwise
authorized by the Board, no other briefs will be considered.

(3) Extensions of time for filing of briefs will be allowed
only on written request filed no later than the date the brief is due.
A statement whether opposing counsel (or a party if the party is
not represented by counsel) objects to, concurs in or has no
comment regarding the extension of time requested shall be
furnished in all cases. Briefing extensions will not be allowed
unless the Board finds that extraordinary circumstances beyond
the control of the party requesting the extension justify the
extension. For purposes of this section, “extraordinary
circumstances beyond the control of the party requesting the
extension” shall not include the press of business.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.295(5) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 4-1986, f. 10-8-86, ef. 11-1-86; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88; WCB 4-1990(Temp), f. 4-13-90, cert. ef. 4-30-90; WCB 10-1990(Temp),

f. 10-25-90, cert. ef. 10-27-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90;

WCB 1-1993, . 5-19-93, cert. ef. 6-1-93

438-011-0022
Expedited Review

(1) For purposes of OAR Chapter 438 Division 11, compen-
sation is deemed stayed under ORS 656.313 if the employer/
insurer has filed a request for Board review on or after July 1,
1990 of an Administrative Law Judge’s order and compensation is
due and unpaid under the order for medical services, temporary
disability benefits, permanent total disability benefits, or to a
surviving spouse prior to remarriage, to children or dependents
that accrued before the date of the order, or permanent disability
benefits.

(2) Board review of Administrative Law Judge orders in
cases described in section (1) of this rule will be expedited.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented.: ORS 656.313(1)(6) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 2-1991(Temp), f. 3-28-91, cert. ef. 4-8-91; WCB 5-1991, f. 8-22-

91, cert. ef. 9-2-91; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-011-0023
Request for Recusal of Board Member

A request by a party that a Board member not participate in
the review of a case shall be made in writing and filed with the
Board not later than the due date of the party’s first brief. The
request shall state specifically why the Board member should not
participate in review of the case. A Board member may decline to
participate in the review if the Board member finds that he or she
has a personal conflict of interest involving a matter or matters
directly in issue in the case.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-011-0025
Motions That Toll Time

Unless otherwise ordered by the Board, the filing of a motion
to dismiss a request or cross-request for review or to remand a
case to the Hearings Division tolls the time for the next event in
the review process.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.295(5) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 4-1986, . 10-8-86, ef. 11-1-86; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88

438-011-0030
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Motion for Waiver of Rules

Except as otherwise prohibited by law, the Board may waive
any provision of OAR 438-011 upon motion of a party. A motion
for waiver of rules shall include a statement of the facts and
circumstances relied upon and shall be simultaneously served
upon all other parties or their attorneys. The motion may be
allowed if the Board finds that extraordinary circumstances
beyond the control of the party requesting waiver of a rule or rules
justify such an action.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.295(5) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 4-1986, f. 10-8-86, ef. 11-1-86; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-

88

438-011-0031
Request for Oral Argument

(1) At any time before expiration of the briefing schedule, a
party may request that the Board entertain oral argument.

(2) The Board may grant a request under section (1) of this
rule or, on its own motion, at any time prior to issuance of its
order schedule oral argument if the Board finds that:

(a) The case presents an issue of first impression; and

(b) The issue for resolution may have a significant impact on
the workers’ compensation system.

(3) Whether or not oral argument is permitted is a decision
within the sole discretion of the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.295(5)

Hist.: WCB 1-1994, f. 1-11-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

438-011-0032
Procedure at Oral Argument

(1) In those cases where the Board has granted oral argument
under OAR 438-011-0031, each party shall have 30 minutes to
present its argument, unless the Board member who is presiding at
the argument designates a longer or shorter period.

(2) The appellant shall argue first and may reserve not more
than 10 minutes of the time allowed for argument in which to
reply.

(3) Unless the Board member who is presiding at the argu-
ment orders otherwise, a party’s argument must be presented by
only one individual.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.295(5)

Hist.: WCB 1-1994, f. 1-11-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

438-011-0035
Review; Board Order; Reconsideration

(1) The Board order on review shall set forth the parties, the
issues, the Board’s decision and shall advise all parties of appeal
rights.

(2) A request for reconsideration of a Board order shall
include a concise statement of the reason(s) reconsideration is
requested. An order on reconsideration shall state whether or not
the original order is withdrawn for reconsideration.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.295(5)

Hist.: WCB 5-1986(Temp), f. 10-30-86, ef. 11-1-86; WCB 1-1987, f. 3-4-87,

ef. 4-15-87; WCB 2-1987(Temp), f. 4-13-87, ef. 4-15-87; WCB 4-1987, f. 11-

6-87,ef. 11-16-87; WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-011-0045
Third Party Orders

(1) Any party requesting the Board’s resolution of a contro-
versy arising under the third party law, ORS 656.576 to 656.595,
shall petition the Board for relief. The party requesting relief is the
petitioner and all other parties are respondents.

(2) The petition shall clearly identify the party seeking relief,
shall clearly state the relevant facts and the nature of the dispute
and shall specify the relief sought. All relevant evidence shall be
attached to the petition. Testimonial evidence shall be by deposi-
tion, affidavit or written interrogatories. True copies of the
petition and all attachments shall be served on all other parties to

the dispute.

(3) The Board shall acknowledge receipt of the petition to all
named parties. The respondent(s) shall be allowed 21 days to file
evidence and argument in response to the petition. The petitioner
shall be allowed 14 days to file a reply argument. The time for
filing may be extended by the Board upon motion of a party. The
Board will issue its order within a reasonable time after all
argument and evidence has been filed.

(4) Settlement documents in civil actions under ORS 656.576
to 656.595 shall not be submitted to the Board unless there is a
dispute requiring resolution by the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.587 & 656.593

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

DIVISION 12
BOARD’S OWN MOTION JURISDICTION

438-012-0001
Definitions

(1) “Own Motion Claim” means a written request by or on
behalf of a claimant for:

(a) Temporary disability compensation, where claimant’s
aggravation rights have expired; and/or

(b) Medical benefits for a compensable injury that occurred
before January 1, 1966, unless the injury occurred from August 5,
1959 through December 31, 1965 and resulted in an award of
permanent total disability.

(2) “Own Motion Insurer,” “Insurer” and “Paying Agent”
mean a guaranty contract insurer or self-insured employer which
is or may be responsible for payment of compensation under the
provisions of ORS 656.278.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-
89; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert.
ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0016
Communication with Board and Parties in Own Motion Cases
A copy of any document in an own motion proceeding,
including correspondence, directed to the Board or to a party in
the claim shall be simultaneously mailed to all other parties
involved in the claim or, if a party is currently represented by an
attorney, to the party's attorney.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)
Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f.
11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0018
Applicability of Rules
These rules apply to claims in which a request for compen-
sation under the Board’s own motion jurisdiction is in existence or
arose on or after the effective date of these rules.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2), 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)
Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 8-1990(Temp), f. 8-23-90,
cert. ef. 9-15-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1994,
f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef.
1-1-96

438-012-0020
Insurer to Process Own Motion Claim: Notice and Contents of
Claim

(1) All own motion claims shall first be directed to and
processed by the insurer. An own motion claim shall be legibly
date-stamped on the date it is received by the insurer.

(2) An own motion claim shall contain sufficient information
to identify the claimant and the claim.

(3) An insurer is deemed to have notice of an own motion
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claim for temporary disability compensation when one of the
following documents is submitted to the insurer by or on behalf of
the claimant after the expiration of aggravation rights:

(a) A written request for temporary disability compensation
or a claim reopening; or

(b) Any document that reasonably notifies the insurer that the
claimant’s compensable injury requires surgery or hospitalization.

(4) Except as provided in section (5) of this rule, an insurer is
deemed to have notice of an own motion claim for medical
benefits and/or temporary disability compensation relating to a
compensable injury that occurred before January 1, 1966, when
one of the following documents is submitted to the insurer by or
on behalf of the claimant:

(a) A written request for medical benefits relating to the
compensable injury;

(b) Any document that reasonably notifies the insurer that the
claimant is seeking medical benefits for the compensable injury;

(c) A written request for temporary disability compensation
or claim reopening; or

(d) Any document that reasonably notifies the insurer that
claimant’s compensable injury requires surgery or hospitalization.

(5) An own motion claim for medical benefits does not
include a claim for medical benefits relating to a compensable
injury that occurred from August 5, 1959 through December 31,
1965 and resulted in an award of permanent total disability. Such
claims shall be processed as a claim for medical services under
ORS 656.245.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented.: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, . 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.

1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, . 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0030
Insurer Recommendation of Reopening or Denial of Claim
Voluntarily Reopening

(1) Except as provided in section (2) of this rule, the own
motion insurer shall, within 90 days after receiving an own
motion claim, submit to the Board a written recommendation as to
whether the claim should be reopened or denied, on a form
prescribed by the Board, accompanied by the required evidence
supporting the recommendation. The own motion insurer shall
supply all information and evidence required by the form. Copies
of the recommendation form and any supporting evidence shall be
mailed to the claimant and the claimant’s attorney, if any.

(2) In extraordinary circumstances, the Board may grant the
insurer an extension for submission of its recommendation.

(3) Nothing in these rules shall prevent the insurer from
voluntarily reopening any claim to provide benefits or grant
additional medical or hospital care to the claimant; however,
subsequent authorization of such benefits will not be granted by
the Board unless the claim qualifies for own motion relief under
ORS 656.278 and these rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90,

cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1994, f.

11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-

1-96

438-012-0031
Notification of Pending Proceedings

Parties to an own motion proceeding shall notify the Board
of any pending proceeding involving a contested case under ORS
656.283 to 656.295, ORS 656.307 or ORS 656.308, an arbitration
or mediation proceeding under ORS 656.307, or a Director’s
medical review under ORS 656.245, 656.260 or 656.327. The
parties shall also specify the issues raised in that proceeding.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995,

f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0032

Consent to Designation of Paying Agent

(1) Except as provided in section (2) of this rule, when the
Benefits Section notifies the Board that it is prepared to issue an
order designating a paying agent under ORS 656.307 and OAR
436-060-0180 if the Board consents to the order where one or
more insurers involved in the proceeding is subject to ORS
656.278, the Board shall notify the Benefits Section within ten
days whether it consents to the order.

(2) If the Board is unable to determine from the available
evidence whether the claimant would be entitled to own motion
relief if the own motion insurer was determined to be the
responsible insurer, the Board may require the parties to state their
positions in writing and submit any supporting evidence to the
Board within ten days. The time for the Board’s response to the
Benefits Section is suspended during this process.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.307

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.

1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0035
Temporary Disability Compensation

(1) The Board shall order the payment of temporary
disability compensation from the date the claimant is actually
hospitalized or undergoes outpatient surgery in those cases where:

(a) The own motion claim for temporary disability compen-
sation is filed after the aggravation rights have expired;

(b) There is a worsening of a compensable injury requiring
either inpatient or outpatient surgery or other treatment requiring
hospitalization; and

(c) The claimant was in the work force at the time of the
worsening of the compensable injury.

(2) The claimant is deemed to be in the work force if:

(a) The claimant is engaged in regular employment;

(b) The claimant, although not employed, is willing to work
and is making reasonable efforts to obtain employment; or

(c) The claimant is willing to work, but the claimant is not
employed, and the claimant is not making reasonable efforts to
obtain employment because such efforts would be futile as a result
of the effects of the compensable injury.

(3) The insurer shall make the first payment of temporary
disability compensation within 14 days from the date of an order
of the Board reopening the claim.

(4) Temporary disability compensation shall be paid until
one of the following events occurs:

(a) The claim is closed pursuant to OAR 438-012-0055;

(b) A claim disposition agreement is submitted to the Board
pursuant to ORS 656.236(1), unless the claim disposition agree-
ment provides for the continued payment of temporary disability
compensation; or

(c) Termination of such benefits is authorized by the terms of
ORS 656.268.

(5) If the own motion insurer believes that temporary
disability compensation should be suspended for any reason, the
insurer may make a written request for such suspension. Copies of
the request shall be mailed to the claimant and the claimant’s
attorney, if any, by certified or registered mail. Unless an
extension is granted by the Board, claimant or claimant’s attorney
shall have 14 days to respond to the Board in writing to the
request. Unless an extension is granted by the Board, the insurer
shall have 14 days to reply in writing to claimant's response. The
insurer shall not suspend compensation under this section without
prior written authorization by the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 8-1990(Temp), f. 8-23-90,

cert. ef. 9-15-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1994,

f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef.

1-1-96

438-012-0037
Payment of Medical Benefits
Except as otherwise provided in OAR 438-012-0020(5), for
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every condition resulting from a compensable injury occurring
before January 1, 1966, the Board shall order the own motion
insurer to pay for reasonable and necessary medical services
when:

(1) Undertaken for curative purposes;

(2) Provided to a claimant who has been determined to have
permanent total disability;

(3) Provided in the form of prescription medications;

(4) Necessary to administer prescription medication or to
monitor administration of prescription medication;

(5) Provided in the form of prosthetic devices, braces and
supports;

(6) Necessary to maintain and monitor the status, replace-
ment or repair of a prosthetic device, brace or support;

(7) Necessary to diagnose the claimant’s condition;

(8) Necessary to enable the claimant to continue current
employment;

(9) Provided in the form of life-preserving modalities similar
to insulin therapy, dialysis and transfusions; or

(10) The Board determines that special circumstances justify
the provision of further medical services.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1)(b) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 8-1990(Temp), f. 8-23-90, cert. ef. 9-15-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-

1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0040
Action by Board After Insurer Recommendation

Except as provided in OAR 438-012-0050, within a
reasonable time after receipt of the insurer’s recommendation and
supporting evidence and any additional evidence and argument
from the claimant the Board may:

(1) Issue its order based upon the evidence and argument
submitted by the parties;

(2) Request additional evidence from one or more of the
parties; or

(3) Refer the matter to the Hearings Division for an
evidentiary hearing and recommended findings of fact and
conclusions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.

1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0050
Board Will Act Unless Claimant Has Not Exhausted Other
Available Remedies

(1) The Board will act promptly upon a request for relief
under the provisions of ORS 656.278 and these rules unless:

(a) The claimant has available administrative remedies under
the provisions of ORS 656.273;

(b) The claimant’s condition is the subject of a contested case
under ORS 656.283 to 656.298, ORS 656.307 or ORS 656.308,
or an arbitration or mediation proceeding under ORS 656.307; or

(c¢) The claimant’s request for payment of temporary
disability compensation is based on surgery or hospitalization that
is the subject of a Director’s medical review under ORS 656.245,
656.260 or 656.327.

(2) The Board may postpone its review of the merits of the
claimant’s request for relief if the available remedies set forth in
section (1) of this rule could affect the Board’s authority to award
compensation under the provisions of ORS 656.278.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.

1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, . 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0055
Closure of Claims Reopened Under ORS 656.278

(1)Except as provided in section (2) of this rule, when a
claim has been voluntarily reopened or ordered reopened by the
Board but not simultaneously closed by the Board and the medical

reports indicate to the insurer that the claimant’s condition has
become medically stationary, the claim shall be closed by the
insurer without the issuance of a Board order. In all such cases the
insurer shall issue a Notice of Closure (Form 2066) to the
claimant with copies to the claimant’s attorney, if any, and
Benefits Section. The notice shall be on the form prescribed by
the Director and shall inform the claimant of the amount and
duration of temporary disability compensation and the medically
stationary date, and shall include the following notice in
prominent or bold face type:

“IF YOU THINK THIS CLAIM CLOSURE IS WRONG, YOU

MAY ASK THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BOARD TO

REVIEW IT AND DECIDE WHETHER YOU ARE ENTITLED TO

MORE COMPENSATION. IF YOU DO NOT ASK FOR REVIEW

WITHIN 60 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS NOTICE YOU WILL

LOSE ANY RIGHT YOU MAY HAVE TO CONTEST THIS

NOTICE UNLESS YOU CAN SHOW GOOD CAUSE FOR DELAY

BEYOND 60 DAYS. AFTER 180 DAYS ALL RIGHTS WILL BE

LOST. YOU MAY ASK FOR A REVIEW BY WRITING TO THE

BOARD AT 2250 MCGILCHRIST STREET, S.E., SALEM,

OREGON 97310. YOU MAY HAVE AN ATTORNEY OF YOUR

CHOICE, WHOSE FEE WILL BE LIMITED TO A

PERCENTAGE OF ANY MORE COMPENSATION YOU MAY

BE AWARDED.”

(2) When an own motion claim has been reopened for the
payment of temporary disability compensation, and the Board
approves a claim disposition agreement under ORS 656.236 by
which the claimant releases his right to further payment of
temporary disability compensation, the claim shall be closed
administratively by the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236, 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 3-1988(Temp), f. 10-20-88,

ef. 11-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89; WCB 8-1990(Temp), f. 8-23-

90, cert. ef. 9-15-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-

1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95,

cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0060
Board Review of Insurer Closure

(1) The request for Board review of the insurer’s claim clo-
sure pursuant to OAR 438-012-0055(1) shall be in writing,
signed by the claimant or the claimant’s attorney, and shall
include the claimant’s name and mailing address, a statement that
Board review is requested, the name of the insurer and a copy of
the Notice of Closure (Form 2066). To be considered, the request
must be filed with the Board within 60 days after the mailing date
of the notice of closure, or within 180 days after the mailing date
if the claimant establishes good cause for the failure to file the
request within 60 days after the mailing date. The Board shall
notify all parties that review has been requested.

(2) Within 15 days after notification from the Board that a
review has been requested, the insurer shall submit to the Board
and to the claimant and the claimant’s attorney, if any, legible
copies of all evidence considered by the insurer in closing the
claim, except any evidence already submitted to the Board with
the insurer’s recommendation pursuant to OAR 438-012-0030(1).
The insurer may also submit written arguments at this time.

(3) The claimant may submit additional evidence and written
argument to the Board. To be considered, such evidence and
argument must be submitted within 15 days from the date the
insurer mails the evidence pursuant to section (2) of this rule.

(4) No additional written argument may be submitted unless
authorized by the Board.

(5) The Board may, prior to issuing its order, refer a matter to
the Hearings Division for an evidentiary hearing and recom-
mended findings of fact and conclusions.

(6) The Board shall issue its order within a reasonable time
after receipt of all evidence and argument from the parties and any
recommendations from the Hearings Division.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-
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89; WCB 2-1990, f. 1-24-90, cert. ef. 2-28-90; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert.
ef. 1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0062
Referral of Request for Enforcement of Board’s Own Motion
Order to Hearings Division

(1) The Board may refer a request to enforce an own motion
order to the Hearings Division for an evidentiary hearing and
recommended findings of fact and conclusions.

(2) The Board shall issue its order within a reasonable time
after receipt of all evidence and argument from the parties and any
recommendations from the Hearings Division.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89; WCB 1-1994, . 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-

1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-012-0065
Reconsideration of Own Motion Orders

(1) All final orders issued by the Board under the provisions
of ORS 656.278 shall set forth the parties, the request for relief,
the Board’s decision and shall advise all parties of appeal rights.

(2) A motion for reconsideration of a final order issued by
the Board under the provisions of ORS 656.278 shall be filed
within 30 days after the date of mailing of the order, or within 60
days after the mailing date if the party requesting reconsideration
establishes good cause for the failure to file the request within 30
days after the mailing date.

(3) Notwithstanding section (2) of this rule, in extraordinary
circumstances the Board may, on its own motion, reconsider any
prior Board order.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1), (3) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-

89; WCB 2-1990, f. 1-24-90, cert. ef. 2-28-90; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert.

ef. 1-1-95, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

DIVISION 13
EXPEDITED CLAIMS SERVICE

438-013-0005
Expedited Claims Service Established

Pursuant to the mandate of 1987 Oregon Laws, Chapter 884,
Section 18, there is established within the Hearings Division the
Expedited Claims Service. The purpose of the Expedited Claims
Service is to provide for prompt, informal dispute resolution and
to insure fair and just treatment of workers in all proceedings.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.291

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.291

Hist.: WCB 5-1987,f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-013-0010
Referral of Request for Hearing to Expedited Claim Service

(1) A request for hearing shall be referred to the Expedited
Claims Service if:

(a) The request does not involve the compensability of or
responsibility for a claim, and the total amount in controversy,
exclusive of penalties and/or related attorney fees, is $1,000 or
less;

(b) The only issue in the case is entitlement to penalties
and/or related attorney fees; or

(c) The request involves a denial under ORS 656.262(15) for
a worker’s failure to cooperate in a claim investigation.

(2) If an Administrative Law Judge finds at the hearing or at
any time prior to the hearing that the case should not have been
referred to the Expedited Claims Service, the Administrative Law
Judge shall refer the case for decision under the ordinary hearing
process. With the consent of the Administrative Law Judge, the
parties may agree on the oral record to proceed with the hearing as
referred to the ordinary hearing process without further delay.
Such an agreement to proceed is a waiver of any claim of defect

as to notice of hearing or issues.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.291(2)
Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-
89; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-013-0015
Determination of Amount in Controversy

For the purpose of referral to the Expedited Claims Service,
the total amount in controversy shall be presumed to be $1,000 or
less if the party requesting the hearing so states on a form
prescribed by the Board or in the request for hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.291(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-013-0020
Representation of Parties in Expedited Claims

(1) A claimant need not be represented by any other person
in proceedings before the Expedited Claims Service.

(2) A claimant may be represented by an attorney or by an
individual who is not an attorney in proceedings before the
Expedited Claims Service.

(3) Notwithstanding OAR 438-006-0100, an insurer, self-
insured employer or claim processing agent for an insurer or self-
insured employer may be represented by an authorized claims
representative at any proceeding under the Expedited Claims
Service.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.291(5)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-013-0025
Notice of Hearing Date

The Hearings Division shall mail a notice of hearing date to
all parties and to all other individuals who represent the parties.
The hearing shall be scheduled for a date that is not less than 15
days from the mailing of the notice of hearing nor more than 30
days from the date of receipt of the request for hearing by the
Hearings Division .

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.291

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-013-0030
Hearings in Expedited Claims; Informal Dispute Resolution

(1) OAR 438-007-0018 does not apply to the Expedited
Claim Service. The insurer’s representative shall bring all medical
and vocational reports, records of compensation paid, and all other
documents pertaining to the claim to the hearing. The Adminis-
trative Law Judge shall, before convening the hearing, determine
whether the case may be resolved informally or decided on agreed
facts.

(2) If the case can be decided on agreed facts, the agreement
of the facts shall be stated on the oral record. No testimony shall
be taken and the record shall be closed upon oral argument, if any,
on behalf of the parties.

(3) If the case cannot be decided on agreed facts, the
Administrative Law Judge shall so state on the oral record of the
hearing or in the order. The Administrative Law Judge shall admit
into evidence those documents furnished by the insurer that are
relevant to a determination of the dispute, along with any other
relevant documents offered by the claimant.

(4) It is the intent of the Board in adopting these rules that all
cases under the Expedited Claim Service be heard and decided
quickly and fairly. Administrative Law Judges shall take an active
role in the hearing.

(5) Unless more time is allowed in advance after a showing
of good cause, no hearing under the expedited Claims Service
shall be scheduled to exceed one hour in duration.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.291(4)(6)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 3-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef.



Chapter 438 Department of Consumer and Business Services, Workers’ Compensation Board
OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 1997 COMPILATION

3-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef 12-31-90

438-013-0035
Postponements and Continuances

(1) A hearing under the Expedited Claims Service shall not
be postponed except upon a showing of extraordinary circum-
stances beyond the control of the party requesting the postpone-
ment. “Extraordinary circumstances” shall be as defined in OAR
438-006-0081 except that unavailability of an individual who
represents an insurer shall not be a reason to postpone a hearing
under any circumstances and unavailability of an individual who
represents a claimant shall not be a reason to postpone a hearing
under the Expedited Claims Service unless the Administrative
Law Judge finds that the claimant is physically or mentally
incapable of representing himself or herself at the hearing.

(2) A hearing under the Expedited Claims Service may be
continued for further proceedings only if the Administrative Law
Judge finds and states on the oral record that a continuance is
required to achieve substantial justice.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.291(3)(b) & (4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-013-0040
Order of Administrative Law Judge; Review

(1) The Administrative Law Judge shall issue an order
deciding the case not later than ten days after the closing of the
record. The order may adopt by reference findings and conclu-
sions stated on the oral record.

(2) The Administrative Law Judge’s order shall include a
notice of rights of review by the Workers’ Compensation Board
under the provisions of ORS 656.295.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.291(3)(b) & (4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

DIVISION 15
ATTORNEY FEES

438-015-0003
Authority for Adoption
These rules are adopted pursuant to ORS 656.236, 656.388
and 656.593, under the general rulemaking authority of the Board
pursuant to ORS 656.726(4).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236(4), 656.388(3), 656.593(1)(a) & 656.726(4)
Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-
89; Suspended by WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-
1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-015-0005
Definitions

In addition to the definitions set forth in OAR 438-005-0040:

(1) “Approved fee” means an attorney fee paid out of a
claimant’s compensation.

(2) “Assessed fee” means an attorney fee paid to a claimant’s
attorney by an insurer or self-insured employer in addition to
compensation paid to a claimant.

(3) “Attorney” means a member of the Oregon State Bar.

(4) “Attorney fee” means payment for legal services per-
formed by an attorney on behalf and at the request of a claimant
under ORS Chapter 656.

(5) “Compensation” means all benefits, including medical
services, provided for a compensable injury to a subject worker or
the beneficiaries of a subject worker pursuant to ORS Chapter
656.

(6) “Costs” means money expended by an attorney for things
and services reasonably necessary to pursue a matter on behalf of
a party, but do not include fees paid to any attorney. Examples of
costs referred to include, but are not limited to, costs of indepen-
dent medical examinations, depositions, expert witness opinions,

witness fees and mileage paid to execute a subpoena and costs
associated with travel.

(7) “Denied claim” means a claim for compensation which
an insurer or self-insured employer refuses to pay on the express
ground that the injury or condition for which compensation is
claimed is not compensable or otherwise does not give rise to an
entitlement to any compensation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.388(3) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-

89; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-

90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 2-1995, . 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-015-0010
General Principles

(1) Attorney fees for an attorney representing a claimant shall
be authorized only if an executed attorney retainer agreement has
been file with the Administrative Law Judge or Board.

(2) Attorney fees for an attorney representing a claimant shall
be paid out of the claimant’s compensation award except as
provided by ORS 656.307, 656.382 and 656.386.

(3) An approved fee awarded or allowed to an attorney
representing a claimant shall be a lien upon the claimant’s
compensation.

(4) In any case where an Administrative Law Judge or the
Board is required to determine a reasonable attorney fee, the
following factors shall be considered:

(a) The time devoted to the case;

(b) The complexity of the issue(s) involved;

(c) The value of the interest involved;

(d) The skill of the attorneys;

(e) The nature of the proceedings;

(f) The benefit secured for the represented party;

(g) The risk in a particular case that an attorney’s efforts may
go uncompensated; and

(h) The assertion of frivolous issues or defenses.

(5) Percentage limitations on fees established by these rules
apply to the amount of compensation paid the claimant exclusive
of medical, hospital or other expenses of treatment.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-

89; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-

90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-015-0015
Charge for Legal Services Must be Authorized
No charge for legal services for representation of claimants
in connection with any claim under ORS Chapter 656 is valid
unless the charge has been authorized in accordance with ORS
656.307, 656.382 - 656.390 or 656.593 or these rules.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.388(1)
Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 4-1988(Temp), f. & ef. 11-
15-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90,
cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-015-0025
Maximum Attorney Fees Out of Compensation

Except in situations where a claimant’s attorney fee is an
assessed fee, in settlement of disputed claims or claim disposition
agreements and in cases under the third-party law, unless there is
a finding in a particular case by an Administrative Law Judge or
the Board that extraordinary circumstances justify a higher fee,
the established fees for attorneys representing claimants are as set
forth in OAR 438-015-0040, 438-015-0045, 438-015-0055(1) and
438-015-0080.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236(4), 656.289(4), 656.386(2), 656.388(3) &

656.593(1)(a)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-

89; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-

90, cert. ef. 12-31-90
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438-015-0029
Request at Board Review Level for Assessed Fees

(1) On Board review of an Administrative Law Judge’s
order, to assist the Board in determining the amount of a
reasonable assessed fee for services at the hearing level and/or for
services on Board review, a claimant’s attorney may file a request
for a specific fee, which the attorney believes to be reasonable.

(2) The request shall be considered by the Board if:

(a) The request is filed within 14 days from the date of filing
of the last appellate brief under OAR 438-011-0020;

(b) The request describes in detail the manner in which the
factors set forth in OAR 438-015-0010(4) specifically apply to the
case, as well as any other information deemed relevant; and

(c) A copy of the request is simultaneously served upon the
other parties and their attorneys who appeared at hearing and on
Board review in the manner provided in OAR 438-005-0046(2)(a)
and proof of such service is provided in accordance with OAR
438-005-0046(2)(b).

(3) A written response raising objection to the request shall
be considered by the Board if:

(a) The response is filed within 14 days from the date of
filing of claimant’s attorney’s request for a specific fee under
subsection (2)(a) of this rule; and

(b) A copy of the request is simultaneously served upon the
other parties and their attorneys who appeared at hearing and on
Board review in the manner provided in OAR 438-005-0046(2)(a)
and proof of such service is provided in accordance with OAR
438-005-0046(2)(b).

(4) A request or response that does not comply with this rule
shall not be considered by the Board in determining the amount of
a reasonable assessed fee.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.382(2), 656.386(1) & 656.388(3)

Hist.. WCB 1-1992, . 3-5-92, cert. ef. 4-6-92; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert.

ef. 1-1-95

438-015-0030
Attorney Fees When There is No Hearing

If an attorney is instrumental in obtaining compensation for a
claimant without a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge, a
reasonable attorney fee may be approved or assessed. The amount
of the fee shall be determined by an Administrative Law Judge or
by agreement of the parties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.386(1)(2)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-

89; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-

90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

438-015-0035
Attorney Fees When a Claimant Requests a Hearing on a
Denied Claim

If the Administrative Law Judge orders the acceptance of a
previously denied claim, the Administrative Law Judge shall
award a reasonable assessed fee. This rule applies to denials of
original claims for accidental injury and occupational disease,
denials of aggravation and partial denials.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.386(1) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987,f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-015-0038
Attorney Fees When a Claimant Requests a Hearing on a
Responsibility Denial

If the claimant appears in any proceeding regarding a respon-
sibility denial issued under ORS 656.308(2), and actively and
meaningfully participates through an attorney, and finally prevails
against that responsibility denial, the Administrative Law Judge
shall award a reasonable assessed fee to be paid by the insurer or
self-insured employer who issued the responsibility denial. Absent
a showing of extraordinary circumstances, the assessed attorney
fee shall not exceed $1,000.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.386(1) & 656.388(3)
Hist.: WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

438-015-0040
Attorney Fees When a Claimant Requests a Hearing on
Extent of Permanent Disability

(1) If the Administrative Law Judge awards additional comp-
ensation for permanent partial disability the Administrative Law
Judge shall approve a fee of 25 percent of the increased compen-
sation, but not more than $2,800, to be paid out of the increased
compensation.

(2) If the Administrative Law Judge awards compensation
for permanent total disability the Administrative Law Judge shall
approve a fee of 25 percent of the increased compensation, but not
more than $4,600, to be paid out of the award for permanent total
disability.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.386(2) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-

89; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-

90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-015-0045
Attorney Fees When a Claimant Requests a Hearing on
Extent of Temporary Disability

If the Administrative Law Judge awards additional compen-
sation for temporary disability the Administrative Law Judge shall
approve a fee of 25 percent of the increased compensation, but not
more than $1,050, to be paid out of the increased compensation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.386(2) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

438-015-0050
Attorney Fees in Connection With Disputed Claim
Settlements

(1) When a denied and disputed claim is settled under the
Administrative Law Judge provisions of ORS 656.289(4) and
OAR 438-009-0010, an attorney fee may be approved by the
Administrative Law Judge or the Board in an amount up to 25
percent of the first $12,500 of the settlement proceeds plus ten
percent of any amount of the settlement proceeds in excess of
$12,500. Under extraordinary circumstances, a fee may be
authorized in excess of this calculation.

(2) When the settlement proceeds are to be paid in more than
one payment payable within a period of more than one year from
the date of approval, for purposes of approving an attorney fee
under section (1) of this rule, settlement proceeds shall be
calculated based on the “present value” of the total settlement
proceeds. “Present value” may be represented by the actual
present value of the total settlement proceeds or the purchase price
of any annuity designed to fund payment of the total settlement
proceeds. The parties shall provide the Board with a written
statement of the “present value” of the total settlement proceeds.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.388(4) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.289(4) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-

89; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-

90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 6-1991(Temp), f. 8-29-91, cert. ef. 9-2-91; WCB

8-1991, f. 11-6-91, cert. ef. 11-7-91

438-015-0052
Attorney Fees in Connection With Claim Disposition
Agreements

(1) When a claim disposition agreement is approved under
the provisions of ORS 656.236 and OAR 438-009-0020, an
attorney fee may be approved by the Board in an amount up to 25
percent of the first $12,500 of the agreement proceeds plus ten
percent of any amount of the proceeds in excess of $12,500.
Under extraordinary circumstances, a fee may be authorized in
excess of this calculation.

(2) When the agreement proceeds are to be paid in more than
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one payment payable within a period of more than one year from
the date of approval, for purposes of approving an attorney fee
under section (1) of this rule, agreement proceeds shall be calcu-
lated based on the “present value” of the total proceeds. “Present
value” may be represented by the actual present value of the total
agreement proceeds or the purchase price of any annuity designed
to fund payment of the total agreement proceeds. The parties shall
provide the Board with a written statement of the “present value”
of the total agreement proceeds.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.388(4) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.236(4) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 6-1991(Temp), f. 8-29-91, cert. ef. 9-2-91;

WCB 8-1991, . 11-6-91, cert. ef. 11-7-91

438-015-0055
Attorney Fees When a Claimant Requests Review by the
Board

(1) If a claimant requests review of an Administrative Law
Judge’s order on the issue of compensation for temporary or
permanent disability and the Board awards additional compen-
sation, the Board shall approve a fee of 25 percent of the increased
compensation, provided that the total of fees approved by the
Administrative Law Judge and the Board shall not exceed $3,800,
except in cases where the Board awards compensation for
permanent total disability, in which cases the total of fees awarded
by the Administrative Law Judgeand the Board shall not exceed
$6.,000.

(2) If a claimant requests review of a Administrative Law
Judge’s order that upheld a denial of a claim and the Board orders
the claim accepted, the Board shall assess a reasonable attorney
fee to be paid by the insurer or self-insured employer to the
claimant’s attorney.

Stat. Auth.: ORS

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.386(1)(2) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-015-0065
Attorney Fees When Insurer or Self-Insured Employer
Requests a Hearing

If an insurer or self-insured employer requests a hearing or
otherwise seeks a reduction in compensation and the Administra-
tive Law Judge does not reduce the compensation, the Adminis-
trative Law Judge shall award a reasonable assessed fee.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.382(2) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-015-0070
Attorney Fees When Insurer or Self-Insured Employer
Requests or Cross-Requests Review by the Board

If an insurer or self-insured employer requests or cross-
requests review of the Administrative Law Judge’s order and the
Board does not disallow or reduce the claimant’s compensation,
the Board shall award a reasonable assessed fee.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.382(2) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-015-0080
Attorney Fees in Own Motion Cases

If an attorney is instrumental in obtaining increased disability
compensation, the Board shall approve a reasonable attorney fee,
not to exceed $1,050, payable out of the increased compensation.
The Board may allow a fee in excess of $1,050 upon a finding that
extraordinary services have been rendered.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.278(1), 656.386(2) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-

89; WCB 2-1990, f. 1-24-90, cert. ef. 2-28-90; WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-

90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-015-0082

Timely Payment of Attorney Fees

(1) An approved attorney fee shall be paid within the time
required for payment of the compensation out of which the
approved fee is to be paid.

(2) An assessed attorney fee shall be paid within 30 days of
the date the order authorizing the fee becomes final.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.382(1), 656.386(1)(2) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 7-1990(Temp), . 6-14-90,

cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-015-0085
Payment of Attorney Fees Out of Compensation; Fee Not
Subject to Offset

(1) If the claimant consents in the attorney retainer
agreement, the Administrative Law Judge or the Board may order
the payment of approved attorney fees directly to the claimant’s
attorney in a lump sum when the fee is to be paid out an award of
compensation for permanent disability. The lump sum shall not be
due until the award of compensation becomes final.

(2) An attorney fee which has been authorized under these
rules to be paid out of increased compensation awarded by a
Administrative Law Judge, the Board or a court shall not be
subject to any offset based upon prior overpayment of compen-
sation to the claimant.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.386(2) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-015-0090
Attorney Fees in Proceeding Under ORS 656.307

If the claimant appears in any proceeding under ORS
656.307 and actively and meaningfully participates through an
attorney, the Administrative Law Judge may require the payment
of a reasonable assessed fee to be paid by the insurer or self-
insured employer determined by the Administrative Law Judge to
be the party responsible for paying compensation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.307(5) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1995, f. 11-13-95, cert. ef.

1-1-96

438-015-0095
Attorney Fees in Third-Party Cases

Unless otherwise ordered by the Board after a finding of
extraordinary circumstances, an attorney fee not to exceed 33-1/3
percent of the gross recovery obtained by the plaintiff in an action
maintained under the provisions of ORS 656.576 - 656.595 is
authorized.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.307, 656.388, 656.593 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.593(1)(a) & 656.388(3)

Hist.: WCB 5-1987, f. 12-18-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 2-1989, f. 3-3-89, ef. 4-1-89

DIVISION 16

BOARD REVIEW OF DIRECTOR’S ORDER FINDING NO
BONA FIDE MEDICAL SERVICES DISPUTE

438-016-0005
Request for Board Review

(1) A request for Board review of a Director’s order finding
no bona fide medical services dispute shall be filed in accordance
with OAR 438-005-0046(1)(a) or (b).

(2) Copies of a request for Board review of the Director’s
order should be simultaneously mailed to the Director, all parties
to the Director’s order, and to their attorneys, if represented by an
attorney. The request should recite the name of the claimant, the
identity of the party requesting review and contain a brief
statement of the reason review is requested. However, the failure
to comply with this section shall not be cause for dismissal of the
request for review.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.327(1)(b) & 656.726(4)
Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-
13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-016-0010
Acknowledgment of Request for Review; Record

(1) The Board shall notify the parties and the Director of its
receipt of the request for review. This acknowledgment shall also
notify the parties of the implementation of a briefing schedule
which will become effective upon the Director’s mailing of the
record.

(2) Not later than 30 days after mailing of the Board’s
acknowledgment, the Director shall file with the Board a certified
copy of the entire record, including an index of all items contained
in the record. The Director shall simultaneously mail to the
parties, or where a party is represented by an attorney, the party’s
attorney, a certified copy of the record.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.327(1)(b) & 656.726(4)

Hist.. WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

438-016-0015
Scope of Review

(1) Review by the Board shall be for substantial evidence in
the record in accordance with ORS 656.327(1)(b). The Board
shall set aside or remand the order only if it finds that the order is
not supported by substantial evidence in the record.

(2) The Board will not ordinarily entertain oral argument. All
issues and arguments should be reduced to writing and filed
pursuant to OAR 438-016-0020. The case will be reviewed in the
ordinary course of business without prior notice to the Director or
the parties of the date or time of review.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.327(1)(b)

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12~

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-016-0015
Briefs and Other Documents

438-016-0020 (1) Filing of briefs is not jurisdictional;
however the Board views briefs as a significant aid to the review
process. Briefs submitted for consideration by the Board shall
comply with this section.

(2) Briefs shall be filed in accordance with OAR 438-011-
0020(2), except that the briefing schedule shall begin upon the
date of mailing of the Director’s certified copy of the record to the
Board.

(3) Requests for extensions of time for filing of briefs will be
processed in accordance with OAR 438-011-0020(3).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.327(1)(b) & 656.726(4)

ORS 656.327(1)(b) & 656.726(4)

Hist.. WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-

13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

438-016-0025
Board Decision; Reconsideration; No Further Review

(1) The Board’s decision shall be mailed to the Director, all
parties, and their attorneys.

(2) Upon its own motion or the request of any interested
party, within 30 days after a final decision of the Board, the Board
may withdraw its decision for reconsideration. On reconsidera-
tion, the Board may affirm its previous decision, issue a new order
or make such other disposition of the case as it deems justified
pursuant to ORS 656.327(1)(b).

(3) An order on reconsideration shall contain the following
notice:

“NOTICE TO ALL PARTIES: This order is final

and is not subject to further reconsideration or

review by any other court or administrative agency.”

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.327(1)(b)

Hist.: WCB 7-1990(Temp), f. 6-14-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; WCB 11-1990, f. 12-
13-90, cert. ef. 12-31-90

DIVISION 82

PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE FOR APPEALS
UNDER THE COMPENSATION ACT FOR
VICTIMS OF CRIME

438-082-0000
Statutory Authority; Adoption Procedures

(1) The statutory authority for the adoption of these rules is
ORS 656.726(4) and ORS 147.155.

(2) These rules are adopted in accordance with ORS Chapter
183 and the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure appli-
cable to rulemaking sanctions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 — 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0005
Applicability; Effective Date; Repeal of Prior Rules

(1) These rules apply to victims or dependents of deceased
victims who apply for compensation under the Compensation Act
for Victims of Crime (ORS Chapter 147 and OAR 137-076-0005,
et. seq.)

(2) These rules are effective September 1, 1986, and apply to
all appeals pending at that time, regardless of the the date of
injury.

(3) OAR 438-082-0000 through 438-082-0055, effective
May 1, 1978 are hereby repealed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 - 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0010
Definitions

(1) “Applicant” means any person who applies to the Depart-
ment for Compensation under the Compensation Act for victims
of Crime (ORS Chapter 147 and OAR 137-076-0005 et seq.).

(2) “Board” means the Workers’” Compensation Board.

(3) “Department” means the Department of Justice.

(4) “Interested person” means an applicant, the Department
and any other persons named and admitted as a full participant in
an appeal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 — 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0015
Request for Review by Board

The request for Board review of a decision of the Department
shall be in writing, signed by the applicant and mailed to the
Board at 2250 McGilchrist Street, S.E. Salem, Oregon 97310, and
shall contain the applicant’s mailing address and telephone
number, if the applicant has a telephone.

(2) The request for Board review should contain a brief
statement of the reasons the applicant disagrees with the decision
of the Department; however, the failure of an applicant to comply
with this section shall not be cause for dismissal of the request for
review.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 - 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0020

Notification of Department; Premature Request for Review
(1) The Board shall forthwith notify the Department in

writing of the request for review and shall mail a copy of the

request for review to the Department. If the Department has not

yet reconsidered its initial order under the provisions of ORS

147.145, the request for review shall be deemed to be a request for
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reconsideration by the Department. Upon receipt from Board of
such a premature request for review, the Department shall
forthwith notify the Board and the applicant and shall proceed to
reconsider the order pursuant to ORS 147.145.

(2) The Department may file a response to the request for
review.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 — 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0025
Acknowledgement of Request for Review; Record

(1) The Board shall forthwith notify the applicant of its
receipt of the request for review. The notice shall direct the
applicant to inform the Board not later than 15 days after the
mailing of the record by the Department whether the applicant
requests a fact finding hearing and, if a hearing is requested, what
findings of fact, conclusions or portions of the Department’s order
are contested.

(2) Not later than 15 days after mailing of notification of the
request for review to the Department, the Department shall file
with the Board a certified copy of the entire Department record,
including an index of all items contained in the record. The
Department shall simultaneously mail to the applicant a certified
copy of the record, except that any material deemed confidential
by the Department may be excluded from the copy of the record
mailed to the applicant. If confidential material in excluded from
the copy of the record mailed to the applicant, the applicant shall
be informed that material has been excluded from the applicant’s
copy of the record on the basis of its confidentiality.

(3) Upon receipt and review of the record, the Board may
release additional material to the applicant or may declare
additional material confidential

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 — 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0030
Standard of Review; Review Without Hearing

(1) The standard of review by the Board shall be de novo
upon the entire record.

(2) If the applicant does not request a fact finding hearing
within 15 days of the mailing of the record, the review shall be
confined to the record filed by the Department and any written
argument filed by the interested parties. The applicant’s written
argument, if any, must be filed with the Board not later than 30
days after the mailing of the record to be considered. The
Department shall be allowed 15 days from the filing of the
applicant’s written argument to file its response, or, of the
applicant files no written argument, the Department’s written
argument, if any, shall be filed not later than 45 days after the
mailing of the record.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 - 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0035
Fact Finding Hearing

(1) If the applicant requests a fact finding hearing, the Board
may appoint a special hearings officer to preside over the hearing.

(2) Any person considered necessary by the Board or its
special hearings officer for a full determination of all issues shall
be joined as a party to the hearing.

(3) The Board or its special hearings officer shall give not
less than ten (10) days written notice of the hearing to all
interested parties.

(4) Postponement of a scheduled hearing shall be requested
as soon as possible and may be allowed by the Board or it special
hearings officer upon reasonable justification. A special hearings
officer may postpone a hearing at the convenience of the Board.
Postponed hearings shall be rescheduled upon not less than ten
(10) days written notice to all interested parties.

(5) The hearing shall be held at Salem, Oregon, unless in the

judgment of the Board the holding of the hearing at some other
place would avoid undue hardship to an interested party.

(6) A prehearing conference may be conducted by the Board
or its special hearings officer for the purpose of simplifying and
clarifying the issues or expediting the proceeding. A prehearing
conference may be conducted by telephone conference call.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 — 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0040
Conduct of Hearing; Evidence; Proposed Order; Notice to
Parties

(1) A record of all proceedings shall be made, except that no
record need be made of prehearing conferences. The record shall
be transcribed only by order of the Board.

(2) Subject to sections (3) and (7) of this rule, the hearing
may be conducted in any manner reasonably calculated to achieve
substantial justice.

(3) The entire record filed by the Department with the Board
shall be received into evidence. No other documentary evidence
shall be received. Only those persons whose statements were
considered by the Department in reaching its decision shall be
permitted to give testimony. Subject only to these limitations,
there are no formal or technical rules of evidence; however,
evidence may be excluded if it is irrelevant or unduly repetitious.

(4) If the applicant fails to appear at the requested hearing,
the special hearings officer shall forthwith issue an order requiring
the applicant to show cause in writing within ten days why the
applicant’s request for Board review of Department’s decision
should not be dismissed as having been abandoned. If no or an
insufficient response is received to the order to show cause, the
Board may dismiss the applicant’s request for review of
Department’s decision or may take such other action as it deems
appropriate.

(5) Not more than 30 days after the conclusion of the
hearing, the special hearings officer shall file with the Board all
documentary evidence received together with written findings of
fact, conclusions and a proposed order. Copies of the written
findings of fact, conclusions and proposed order shall be
simultaneously mailed to all interested parties.

(6) The proposed order shall contain the following notice:

“NOTICE TO ALL PARTIES: This order will be

reviewed automatically by the Workers’ Compen-

sation Board within 30 days and will become a final
order of the Workers’ Compensation Board 30 days
from the mailing date of this order unless this order

is sooner withdrawn or modified by the Board.

Objections to this proposed order must be in writing

and filed with Workers’ Compensation Board, 2250

McGilchrist Street, S.E., Salem, OR 97310 within 20

days from the date of this order to be considered.”

(7) Hearings under these rules shall be open to the public
except:

(a) The Board or a special hearings officer shall close the
hearing to the public upon the motion or request of an applicant
or, if the applicant is minor, a parent or guardian of the applicant,
for any of the reasons set forth in ORS 147.115(1); and

(b) The Board or a special hearings officer may close the
hearing to the public upon the motion or request of an interested
party other than the applicant or upon its or his or her own motion
for any of the reasons set forth in ORS 147.115(1).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 - 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0045
Board Decision

(1) In cases in which the Board’s decision is made upon a
review of the record and written argument only, the Board will
issue its decision in writing within a reasonable time. The decision
shall be mailed to all interested parties.

(2) In cases in which a hearing is held, the Board shall within
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30 days of receipt of the record from the special hearings officer
review the record together with the findings of fact, conclusions
and proposed order. Unless sooner withdrawn or modified by the
Board, the findings of fact, conclusions and proposed order of the
Board’s special hearings officer shall be a final order of the Board
30 days after the filing of the proposed order with the Board and
mailing to interested parties pursuant to OAR 438-082-0040(5).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 — 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0050
Reconsideration; No Further Review

(1) Upon its own motion or the request of any interested
party, within 30 days after a final decision of the Board the Board
may withdraw its decision for reconsideration. On reconsidera-
tion, the Board may affirm its previous decision, issue a new order
or make such other disposition of the case as it deems justified.

(2) An order on reconsideration shall contain the following
notice:

“NOTICE TO ALL PARTIES: This order is final

and is not subject to further reconsideration or

administrative or judicial review.”

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 — 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

438-082-0055
Representation by Counsel; Charging of Fee Prohibited

(1) The Department shall be represented in all proceedings
under these rules by the Department of Justice.

(2) Any other interested party may be represented by an
attorney who is member of the Oregon State Bar.

(3) No applicant shall be charged any fee for any purpose,
including legal representation, in any proceeding under these
rules. (ORS 147.315.)

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.310 — 183.410, 147.155(5) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 147.155 & 656.726(4)

Hist.: WCB 5-1978, f. 4-14-78, ef. 5-1-78; WCB 3-1986, f. 8-28-86, ef. 9-1-86

DIVISION 85

RULES OF PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE FOR
CONTESTED CASES UNDER THE OREGON SAFE
EMPLOYMENT ACT

Scope; Policy; Definitions

438-085-0006
Scope; Authority

(1) These rules (OAR 438-085-0006 to 438-085-0870)
govern practice and procedure for all contested cases under the
Act.

(2) These rules are authorized by the Act and by ORS
Chapter 183.

(3) The model rules of procedure adopted by the Attorney
General pursuant to ORS 183.341 shall not apply to contested
cases under the Act.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2)

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-005 and as part of 436-85-011 by

WCB Admin. Order 5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin.

Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-

005 and as a part of 436-85-011 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form as Rule 436-85-006 by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, . 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0010
Effective Date; Applicability

These rules are effective December 1, 1994 and shall apply
to all appeals filed on or after that date.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2)

Hist.: WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.
1-1-95

438-085-0017
Board Policy; Liberal Construction
(1) It is the policy of the Board to provide for the prompt and
fair disposition of contested cases, encourage informal settlements
consistent with the purposes of the Act, and provide an impartial
forum for hearings on cases that cannot be resolved between the
parties.
(2) These rules shall be liberally construed to carry out the
policy of the Board and the purposes of the Act.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2) & 654.003
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-025 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-025 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.
Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order
4-1978,f.3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78

438-085-0021
Number
For the purpose of these rules, the singular includes the plural
and the plural includes the singular.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2)
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-030 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-030 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted 5-4-77 by WCB Admin. Order,
Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended 6-16-82 by WCB Admin. Order
2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0026
Definitions

For the purpose of these rules, unless the context otherwise
requires, the following definitions apply:

(1) “Act”: The Oregon Safe Employment Act (ORS 654.001
to 654.295 and 654.991).

(2) “Affected Employee”: An employee who, in the course
and scope of the employee’s employment, may be or may have
been exposed to a condition of practice described in a Citation,
Correction Order or Variance. The term also includes a labor
union authorized to bargain collectively for affected employees.

(3) “OR-OSHA”: The Oregon Occupational Safety and
Health Division of the Department of Consumer and Business
Services.

(4) “Appeal”: A written request for a hearing to contest a
citation, notice or order issued by OR-OSHA. Unless the context
otherwise requires, any writing which clearly contests, objects to,
or seeks relief from an OR-OSHA citation, notice or order shall be
construed as an appeal.

(5) “Board”: The Workers’ Compensation Board created by
ORS 656.712.

(6) “Citation”: A document issued by OR-OSHA pursuant to
ORS 654.071 to allege a violation. A citation may include a notice
of penalty and a correction order.

(7) “Contested Case”: A dispute in which an appeal has been
filed.

(8) “Correction Order”: A written OR-OSHA order which
directs a person to stop an alleged violation within a given period
of time. The term also includes a Red Warning Notice posted
pursuant to ORS 654.082.

(9) “Division”: The Workers’ Compensation Division of the
Department of Consumer and Business Services created by ORS
656.708.

(10) “Director’: The Director of the Department of Consu-
mer and Business Services.

(11) “Document: Any notice, form, letter or other writing
relating to a contested case.

(12) “Employee”: Any individual, including a minor whether
lawfully or unlawfully employed, who engages to furnish services
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for a remuneration, financial or otherwise, subject to the direction
and control of an employer, and includes salaried, elected and
appointed officials of the state, state agencies, counties, cities,
school districts and other public corporations, or any individual
who is provided with workers’ compensation coverage as a
subject worker pursuant to ORS Chapter 656, whether by
operation of law or by election. See ORS 654.005(5).

(13) “Employer”: Any person who has one or more
employees, or any sole proprietor or member of a partnership who
elects workers’ compensation coverage as a subject worker
pursuant to ORS 656.128. See ORS 654.005(6).

(14) “Filed”: The receipt of a document by the Hearings
Division, except that an appeal will be considered filed upon
receipt at any office of the Board or OR-OSHA.

(15) “Hearing”: A formal, reported proceeding before an
Administrative Law Judge of the Hearings Division where the
parties to a contested case may present their evidence and
arguments on the issues.

(16) “Hearings Division”: The Hearings Division of the
Board.

(17) “Party”: A person named or admitted as a full
participant in a contested case. The term includes OR-OSHA, a
necessary party to all contested cases under the Act.

(18) “Penalty”: The dollar amount proposed in a written
notice by OR-OSHA as the Director’s assessment against a person
for an alleged violation.

(19) “Person”: One or more individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, association, corporations
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any
organized group of persons, including the state, state agencies,
counties, municipal corporation, school districts and other public
corporations or subdivisions. See ORS 654.005(8).

(20) “Presiding Administrative Law Judge”: The Adminis-
trative Law Judge who presides over and administers the Hearings
Division, as provided in ORS 656.724.

(21) “Administrative Law Judge”: The Administrative Law
Judge of the Hearings Division, or other qualified member of the
Oregon State Bar, who is assigned by the Presiding Adminis-
trative Law Judge to a contested case. The term also means the
Presiding Administrative Law Judge if an Administrative Law
Judge has not been assigned to the case or the assigned Adminis-
trative Law Judge is unavailable.

(22) “Representative”: Any individual authorized by a party
or intervenor to represent the party in a contested case. Any
reference to “OR-OSHA,” “defendant,” “employee,” “employer,”
“intervenor,” “labor union,” “party,” “petitioner,” “plaintiff,” or
“respondent” includes that person’s representative.

(23) “Settlement”: A written agreement which, when
approved by all parties and affirmed by the Administrative Law
Judge, will amend the contested OR-OSHA citation, notice or
order and dispose of all issues in the case.

(24) “Variance”: The written authority given by OR-OSHA
to an employer to permit the employer to use a specific alternative
means or method to comply with the intent of an occupational
safety or health law or rule.

(25) “Violation: The breach of a person’s duty to comply
with an Oregon occupational safety or health law, rule or order.

(26) “Withdrawal”: A party’s complete and unconditional
abandonment of its allegations, contentions and participation in a
contested case. An OR-OSHA withdrawal is an abandonment of
the entire citation, notice or order that contains the matters
appealed from.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2) & 654.005

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-020 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form as permanent Rule 436-85-020 by

WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended

form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended

by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by WCB

Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 7-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-

1-88; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-

1-95

Filing Appeals

438-085-0106
Who May Appeal What

(1) A person to whom a citation, notice of penalty or
correction order is issued may file an appeal to deny the alleged
violation, contest the amount of the penalty, or contest the
reasonableness of the correction order.

(2) A person who does not contest the reasonableness of the
time as originally set by a correction order, but appeals to OR-
OSHA for an extension of that time, may file an appeal to contest
OR-OSHA'’s denial of the time extension.

(3) An affected employee may file an appeal to contest the
reasonableness of the time allowed by a correction order or to
contest a subsequent OR-OSHA order which modifies that time.

(4) An adversely-affected person, including an affected
employee, may file an appeal to contest OR-OSHA’s proposed
grant, denial, modification or revocation of a variance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2) & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as parts of Rules 436-85-105, 436-85-110, 436-85-

115, 436-85-125 and 436-85-130 by WCB Admin. Order 5-1973, f. & ef. 12-

20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74;

Reinstated in amended form as parts of permanent Rules 436-85-105, 436-85-

110, 436-85-115, 436-85-125 and 436-85-130 by WCB Admin. Order 10-

1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

4-1978,f.3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78

438-085-0111
Form and Content of Appeal

(1) An appeal does not have to be in any special form, but it
must:

(a) Be in writing;

(b) Identify the particular citation, notice or order that is
appealed from, and the person to whom it was issued;

(c) Specify each alleged violation, penalty, correction order,
or other OR-OSHA action that is contested;

(d) State the grounds upon which the appeal is based; and

(e) Clearly indicate whether the appealing party wants to
attempt to settle informally.

(2) An appeal should include the name, address and
telephone number of the appealing party and of the party’s
representative, if any.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2) & 654.078(1)(2)

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as parts of Rules 436-85-105, 436-85-110, 436-85-

115, 436-85-125 and 436-85-130 by WCB Admin. Order 5-1973, f. & ef. 12-

20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74;

Reinstated in amended form as parts of permanent Rules 436-85-105, 436-85-

110, 436-85-115, 436-85-125 and 436-85-130 by WCB Admin. Order 10-

1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-

22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0116
Where to Appeal

(1) A11 appeals should be filed with the Oregon Occupa-
tional Safety and Health Division at Room 21, Labor and Indus-
tries Building, Salem, Oregon 97310.

(2) An appeal may be delivered to any office of the Board or
OR-OSHA, for forwarding to the Accident Prevention Division,
to meet a filing deadline.

(3) When OR-OSHA receives an appeal, the Division shall
promptly attempt to settle the case or refer the case to the
Hearings Division if no settlement is desired or feasible.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2) & 654.078(1)

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-310 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-310 by WCB Admin. Order
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10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted 5-4-77 by WCB Admin. Order,
Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77, Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978,
f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; WCB 7-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 3-1989, f.
3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0121
When to Appeal

(1) An appeal to contest an alleged violation or a proposed
penalty shall be filed within 20 days after the contested OR-
OSHA citation or notice is received by the person to whom it was
issued.

(2) An appeal relating to a correction order or a variance
shall, except for good cause, be filed within 20 days after the
contested order or notice is received by the person to whom it was
issued

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2) & 654.078(1)(2)

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-135 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form as permanent Rule 436-85-135 by

WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended

form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended

by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78

438-085-0131
Computing Time Periods
Time periods required or allowed by these rules shall be
computed in calendar days. The first full day after the time begins
to run is counted as the first day. If the last day is a Saturday,
Sunday, or State holiday, the period runs until the end of the next
business day.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025(2)
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-305 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, . 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-305 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-
1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-
82, ef. 8-2-82

Jurisdiction Over Appeals: Untimely Appeals

438-085-0211
Jurisdiction of Hearings Division
The jurisdiction of the Hearings Division commences 60
days after the employer’s appeal was filed with any office of the
Board or OR-OSHA unless the employer certifies that it dos not
want to participate in an informal conference, provided that the
case has not been closed. It also commences after a party seeks
reopening of a case under OAR 438-085-0636, or when an
employee objects to a closed case under OAR 438-085-0641, or
when a motion is filed under OAR 4380-85-0305.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as part of Rule 436-85-035 by WCB Admin. Order
5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-
74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form as part of permanent Rule 436-
85-035 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in
amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;
Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; WCB 7-1987,
f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89; WCB 3-
1992(Temp), f. 5-15-92, cert. ef. 5-18-92; WCB 6-1992, f. 10-9-92, cert. ef.
10-12-92; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; WCB 1-1995, f. 3-20-95,
cert. ef. 6-1-95

438-085-0216
Untimely Appeals

(1) If OR-OSHA alleges that an appeal was not timely filed,
the case shall be referred to the Hearings Division to give the
parties an opportunity for a hearing on that issue, upon the request
of one or more parties.

(2) If an Administrative Law Judge finds that an appeal was
not timely filed, and that the Hearings Division lacks jurisdiction

to grant a hearing on the merits of the case, the referee shall issue
an order dismissing the appeal.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078(1-3)
Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;
Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; WCB 3-1989,
f.3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

Procedures in Response to Appeals

438-085-0305
Referral of Appeal to the Hearings Division

(1) If a contested case is not closed within 60 days of the
filing of an appeal, or if there is a request for third party status,
intervener party status, stay of correction date on a serious
violation, extension of time for correction of a serious violation or
any other motion or matter requiring an Administrative Law Judge
decision, OR-OSHA shall immediately refer the case to the
Hearings Division.

(2) If a party seeks reopening of a contested case under OAR
438-085-0636 or an employee objects to a closed case under OAR
438-085-0641, and the case has not been referred to the Hearings
Division, OR-OSHA shall immediately refer the case to the
Hearings Division.

(3) A referral shall transmit to the Hearings Division:

(a) A notice of referral specifying the reason for the referral;

(b) A list of the documents transmitted with the referral;

(c) The original of the appeal document;

(d) A certified true copy of the contested citation, notice or
order;

(e) Where applicable, the original of the application for a
variance, request for extended time on a correction order, or other
petition that initiated the case;

(f) Where applicable, the original of any election to become a
third party filed pursuant to OAR 438-085-0411 or person to
intervene filed pursuant to OAR 438-085-0426;

(g) Where applicable, the original of any application to
reopen filed pursuant to OAR 438-085-0636 or objection to a
closed case filed pursuant to OAR 438-085-0641; and

(h) Where applicable, a copy of any written request for
information submitted by an effected employee pursuant to OAR
438-085-0421.

(4) OR-OSHA shall mail a copy of the notice of referral and
list of documents transmitted to the Hearing Division to the
appealing party.

(5) Once a case is referred to the Hearings Division it shall
remain there unless otherwise ordered by an Administrative Law
Judge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025

Hist.: WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.

1-1-95

438-085-0306
Hearings Division Response to Appeal
(1) When the Hearings Division receives a referral, it shall
caption and assign a docket number to the case, schedule the case
for formal hearing within 90 days of the referral, and mail an
acknowledgment to OR-OSHA and the appealing party.
(2) The acknowledgment shall include notice of the hearing
and request that the party designate a representative.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as part of Rule 436-85-420 by WCB Admin. Order
5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-
74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form 3-18-74 as part of permanent
Rule 436-85-420 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74;
Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77,
ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78;
WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0321
Expedited Proceedings



Chapter 438 Department of Consumer and Business Services, Workers’ Compensation Board
OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 1997 COMPILATION

(1) An expedited proceeding may be ordered by the Adminis-
trative Law Judge, for good cause, upon the motion of any party.

(2) An expedited proceeding shall be ordered by the
Administrative Law Judge upon the motion of any party in a case
in which a correction order relating to a serious violation is being
contested.

(3) An expedited proceeding shall be given priority over
other proceedings; the Administrative Law Judge shall make
necessary rulings with respect to the time for filing documents and
all other matters, without reference to times set forth in these
rules, in order to complete the proceeding in the minimum time
consistent with fairness and the needs of the case.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-515 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, . 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-515 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-

1977, £.5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0326
Stay of Correction Order

When an appeal denies a violation or contests the unreason-
ableness of a correction order, in good faith and not solely for
delay or the avoidance of penalties:

(1) If the contest involves an alleged general violation, the
time allowed for correction of the violation shall not run between
the day the appeal is filed and the day the correction order
becomes final by operation of law or by order of a court.

(2) If the contest involves an alleged serious violation, the
Administrative Law Judge may, upon motion of a party, for good
cause, order a stay of the correction order pending disposition of
the case.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

Parties and Representatives; Employee Third-Party Rights
and Notice; Access to Documents

438-085-0406
Necessary Parties; Adding Parties

(1) OR-OSHA is a necessary party to all contested cases
under the Act.

(2) Any person considered necessary by the Administrative
Law Judge for a full and final determination of the issues in a case
may be added as a party.

(3) If the appeal was filed by an employee or labor union, the
employer who was issued the contested citation, notice or order
shall be considered, and added as, a necessary party.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as part of Rule 436-85-205 and 436-85-435 by

WCB Admin. Order 5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin.

Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as part of permanent Rules

436-85-205 and 436-85-435 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-

15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-

5-77,ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0411
Employee Third-Party Rights

(1) Affected employees may elect to participate as third
parties in a contested case by submitting a request to OR-OSHA,
which shall immediately be referred to the Hearings Division.

(2) An employee election to become a third party in a case
must be filed at least five days before the hearing, if any, on the
merits of the case. The Administrative Law Judge may allow a
later employee appearance only upon a showing of good cause.

(3) The written election to become a third party must show
that the person is an affected employee and must state the issues
to be raised.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as part of Rule 436-85-205 by WCB Admin. Order
5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-
74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as part of permanent Rule 436-85-205 by WCB
Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by
WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-
31-89,ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0416
Notice of Rights to Affected Employees

(1) The employer of affected employees shall:

(a) Post copies of the Notice to Employees, together with
copies of the contested OR-OSHA citation, notice or order, in a
conspicuous manner in a sufficient number of places convenient
for affected employees, until the case is closed; and

(b) Deliver or mail a copy of the Notice to Employees to
each labor union, if any, authorized to bargain collectively for
affected employees.

(2) An employer may satisfy the posting requirement of this
rule by personally delivering or by mailing a copy of the Notice to
Employees and the contested OR-OSHA citation, notice or order
to each of the employer’s employees.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rules 436-85-320, 436-85-325 and 436-85-430

by WCB Admin. Order 5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin.

Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rules 436-85-

320, 436-85-325 and 436-85-430 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977,

f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef.

4-1-78; Amended 6-16-82 by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-

82; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0421
Response to Employee Requests

Upon written request from any affected employee to OR-
OSHA or the Hearings Division, the employee shall be given:

(1) A copy of any settlement which closes a case without
referral to the Hearings Division;

(2) Reasonable notice of any hearing or other scheduled
proceeding in the case;

(3) A copy of any withdrawal or settlement that is filed, with
the Hearings Division; and

(4) A copy of any Opinion and Order entered by an
Administrative Law Judge in deciding the case.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;

Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by

WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89,

ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0426
Intervention

(1) A petition to intervene in a contested case may be filed by
a person at any time before the case is closed without a hearing, or
before any scheduled hearing starts.

(2) The petition must state the petitioner’s interest in the
case, show that participation will assist in the determination of the
issues, and explain why intervention will not unnecessarily delay
the proceedings.

(3) The Administrative Law Judge may grant a petition for
intervention to such extent and upon such terms as considered
appropriate.

(4) When a petition for intervention is granted, the intervenor
becomes a party to the case.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-210 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-210 by WCB Admin. Order

10-19-74, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89
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438-085-0431
Representatives of Parties

(1) Any party may act through a representative and may
appear in a hearing by representative.

(2) A representative is not required to be an attorney at law
or have any other special qualification.

(3) Unless a party is represented by an attorney at law, a
designation of the party’s representative must be in writing, con-
tain the name, address and telephone number of the representative
and be signed by the party. If the party is a corporation, the
designation must be signed by an officer; if a partnership, by one
of the partners; and if a public body, labor union, or other
organization, by an official with the authority to designate a repre-
sentative.

(4) A representative shall be considered to fully control the
interests of the party in the case.

(5) A representative may terminate its status as a repre-
sentative by filing a written notice thereof and serving a copy on
all other parties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-215 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form as permanent Rule 436-85-215 by

WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended

form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended

by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by WCB

Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-

89

438-085-0436
Access to Documents
(1) The employer must maintain, until the case is closed,
copies of all documents filed in the case at a location convenient
for affected employees to inspect and copy them at reasonable
times.
(2) Any person may inspect and copy the documents filed in
a contested case which has been referred to the Hearings Division
at the offices of the Hearings Division. Copies of documents may
be ordered by mail. The cost of copies shall be at the rates set by
the Board for the reproduction of its public records, but a nominal
number of copies may be provided without charge.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-910 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-910 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.
Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order
4-1978, . 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

Captions; Form of Documents; Pleadings; Amendments;
Service

438-085-0506
Captions of Cases

Contested cases shall be captioned by the Hearings Division
and referred to by the following titles:

(1) A case initiated by a contested OR-OSHA citation, notice
of penalty or correction order shall be titled, “Oregon Occupa-
tional Safety and Health Division, Plaintiff v. (name of appealing
party), Defendant”.

(2) A contested case that originated with an application for
modification of a correction order or with an application relating
to a variance shall be titled, “(name of appealing party), Petitioner
v. Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division, Respondent™.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-405 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form 3-18-74 as permanent Rule 436-85-

405 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in

amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;
Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by
WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0511
Form of Documents
(1) All documents, other than exhibits, filed after the
Hearings Division acknowledges referral of a contested case shall:
(a) Contain the case title and docket number assigned by the
Hearings Division;
(b) Contain the name, address and telephone number of the
party or representative submitting the document; and
(c) Be signed by the party or representative submitting the
document.
(2) The Administrative Law Judge may refuse to accept any
document that does not comply with this rule.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-415 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, . 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-415 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.
Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order
4-1978, . 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78

438-085-0516
Pleadings

Formal pleadings are not required. The pleadings in
contested cases are as follows:

(1) In a case of the type described in section (1) of OAR 438-
085-0506, OR-OSHA'’s contested citation, notice of penalty or
correction order is considered to be the “complaint” and the
appeal is considered to be the “answer”.

(2) In a case of the type described in section (2) of OAR 438-
085-0506:

(a) If the appealing party was the original applicant, the
application is considered to be the “petition”, OR-OSHA’s
contested notice or order the “response”, and the appeal the
“reply”; or

(b) If the appealing party was not the original applicant, the
appeal is considered to be the “petition”, and OR-OSHA shall be
presumed to have denied the appeal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-410 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form 3-18-74 as permanent Rule 436-85-

410 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in

amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;

Amended 6-16-82 by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82;

WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0526
Amendments As of Right
(1) At any time before a Notice of Hearing is issued, a party
may, as a matter of right, once amend that party’s pleadings to
clarify the issues in the case and the grounds for the party’s
position.
(2) An amendment made by OR-OSHA under this rule may
not allege a new violation or increase a penalty.
(3) Amendments made in accordance with this rule are
effected upon filing.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as a part of Rule 436-85-440 by WCB Admin.
Order 5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f.
3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form as permanent Rule 436-85-
440 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in
amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;
Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by
WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89,
ef. 5-1-89
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438-085-0531
Correction of Defective Appeal

If an appeal fails to specify the matters contested and the
grounds for the appeal, or otherwise fails to substantially comply
with the requirements of OAR 438-085-0111, the Administrative
Law Judge may, on the Administrative Law Judge’s own motion
or upon motion of a party, order the appealing party to correct the
defects by filing an amended appeal, or a supplement to the
appeal, within such time as the Administrative Law Judge
considers reasonable. If within the time permitted the appealing
party fails to amend or supplement the appeal to conform with
OAR 438-085-0111, the appeal may be dismissed by the Admini-
strative Law Judge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;

Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by

WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0536
Amendments Upon Motion
At any time, upon motion of a party made in accordance with
OAR 438-085-0735, the Administrative Law Judge may allow a
pleading to be amended for good cause shown and upon such
terms as the Administrative Law Judge considers proper to protect
the interests of the parties and affected employees.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as a part of Rule 436-85-440 by WCB Admin.
Order 5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f.
3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form as permanent Rule 436-85-
440 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in
amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;
Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78

438-085-0541
Service of Documents on Other Parties

(1) At the time a party files any document with the Hearings
Division, the party shall serve a copy of that document on every
other party to the case.

(2) Service shall be made upon a party by first class mail or
by personal delivery, and is effected at the time of mailing or
personal delivery.

(3) Service upon a party who is acting through a represen-
tative shall be made upon that representative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-315 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-315 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0545
Proof of Service
(1) A party who files a document with the Hearings Division
shall include with the document a proof of service which states the
date and manner of compliance with OAR 438-085-0541,
including the address at which the other party was served.
(2) Proof of service may be made by:
(a) Affidavit of service;
(b) Written statement made upon the document filed, and
signed by the party or representative making the statement; or
(c) Letter of transmittal.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-315 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, . 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-315 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.
Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order
2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0550
Ex Parte Communications

(1) There shall be no ex parte communication, concerning the
merits of any pending case, between any employee of the Board
and any of the parties, their representatives or their employees.

(2) In the event an ex parte communication occurs, the
Presiding Administrative Law Judge or the Administrative Law
Judge presiding at the hearing shall place on the record a state-
ment of the substance of any written or oral ex parte communi-
cation on a fact in issue made to the Administrative Law Judge
during the pendency of the proceedings and notify the parties of
the communication and of their right to rebut such communication
and may enter such orders or take such action as fairness requires.
The Board will take appropriate disciplinary action against any
employee of the Board who knowingly solicits or makes a
prohibited ex parte communication.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-905 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-905 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-

1977, . 5-5-77; ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-

78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

Closing Cases by Withdrawal or Settlement

438-085-0606
Withdrawal of Appeal

(1) The appealing party may file a written withdrawal of his
appeal at any time before the Administrative Law Judge issues an
Opinion and Order.

(2) When an appeal is withdrawn before referral of a case to
the Hearings Division, OR-OSHA shall affirm the contested
citation and close the case.

(3) When an appeal is withdrawn after referral of a case to
the Hearings Division, provided that a third party has not entered
an appearance, the Administrative Law Judge shall issue an order
dismissing the appeal, affirming the contested OR-OSHA citation,
notice or order, and closing the case. The Administrative Law
Judge’s order shall advise the appealing party of the effect of any
stay of a correction order that has occurred or been granted
pursuant to OAR 438-85-326.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as part of Rule 436-85-505 by WCB Admin. Order

5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-

74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form as part of permanent Rule 436-

85-505 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in

amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;

Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, . 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; WCB 3-1989,

f.3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0611
Withdrawal by Third Party

(1) A third party in a contested case may file a written with-
drawal at any time before the Administrative Law Judge issues an
Opinion and Order.

(2) A withdrawal by a third party shall be effective at the
time of the filing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, . 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0616
Withdrawal by OR-OSHA

(1) OR-OSHA may withdraw its contested citation, notice or
order at any time provided that no third party has entered an
appearance in the case.

(2) OR-OSHA may move to withdraw its contested citation,
notice or order at any time before the Administrative Law Judge
issues an Opinion and Order. After referral the Administrative
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Law Judge shall grant an OR-OSHA motion to withdraw and shall
issue an order vacating the contested OR-OSHA citation, notice or
order and closing the case, without further proceedings, provided
that no third party has entered an appearance in the case.

(3) The OR-OSHA citation, notice or order shall be vacated
with prejudice if the motion to withdraw it is filed more than 20
days after OR-OSHA is notified of the appeal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as a part of Rule 436-85-505 by WCB Admin.

Order 5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f.

3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form as part of permanent Rule

436-85-505 by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted

in amended form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;

Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; WCB 3-1989,

f.3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0621
Settlement

(1) A settlement entered into within 60 days of the filling of
an appeal, unless a contested case has been referred to the
Hearings Division, is effective by signed agreement between the
parties. A settlement by the agreeing parties shall automatically
close the case.

(2) A settlement entered into more than 60 days after the
filing of an appeal or after referral of a contested case to the
Hearings Division is not effective until it is approved by an order
of the Administrative Law Judge approving the settlement and
closing the case, without further proceedings.

(3) The parties may file a settlement at any time before the
Administrative Law Judge issues an Opinion and Order.

(4) In all cases settled by written agreement of the parties, the
original, listing the parties, and four legible copies of the
settlement document shall be submitted to the Administrative Law
Judge for approval. The original document shall be retained in the
Board file, and necessary copies shall be conformed and
distributed to the parties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.290 & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-510 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-510 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, £. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-

22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89; WCB 3-1992(Temp), f.

5-15-92, cert. ef. 5-18-92; WCB 6-1992, f. 10-9-92, cert. ef. 10-12-92

438-085-0631
Failure to File Document

If a party fails to file any document when due, the Adminis-
trative Law Judge may, in the Administrative Law Judge’s
discretion:

(1) Treat the failure as a waiver of the party’s right to file the
document, and presume that the document, if filed, would be
adverse to the party’s position on any issue related to it;

(2) For good cause, treat the failure as an abandonment of the
case and enter an appropriate dismissal order.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-455 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, . 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-455 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-

22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0636
Reopening of Closed Case by Parties

(1) A case that has been closed as the result of a settlement or
withdrawal shall be reopened by the Hearings Division upon the
filing of:

(a) A written application joined in by all parties to the case
and filed within 20 days after the case was closed; or

(b) Any party’s written application, supported by an affidavit
showing that the withdrawal or settlement resulted from material
misrepresenta-tions made knowingly by another party, filed
within 20 days after the party first received knowledge of the facts
on which the application is based.

(2) In a case reopened under this rule, the Hearings Division
shall, at the request of a party, schedule a hearing before an
Administrative Law Judge to determine whether or not the
settlement or withdrawal should be vacated.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;

Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by

WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0641
Employee Objection to Closed Case

(1) A case that has been closed as the result of a settlement or
an OR-OSHA withdrawal shall be reopened if an affected
employee files a timely objection to the settlement or withdrawal
on the ground that:

(a) Notice of the contested case was not provided to affected
employees and to any labor union authorized to bargain
collectively for them as required by OAR 438-085-0416; or

(b) OR-OSHA'’s settlement or withdrawal was unlawful,
capricious or an abuse of discretion; or

(c) OR-OSHA'’s settlement or withdrawal was the result of
material misrepresentations made knowingly by the appealing
party.

(2) An employee objection to a settlement or withdrawal is
timely if it is filed within 20 days after the employee first received
knowledge of the facts upon which the objection is based.

(3) In a case reopened under this rule, the Hearings Division
shall, at the request of a party or the objecting employee, schedule
a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge to determine
whether or not the settlement or withdrawal should be vacated.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;

Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by

WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89,

ef. 5-1-89

Pre-Hearing Procedures

438-085-0705
Decision by Administrative Law Judge Without Hearing

(1) To reduce the cost to the public, to the parties and to their
witnesses, the Board encourages the parties to submit their cause
to the Administrative Law Judge, wherever possible, without
hearing.

(2) A case may be decided by the Administrative Law Judge
without a hearing upon the joint agreement of all parties, and upon
the parties’ written submission of the following:

(a) A joint statement of all issues to be decided;

(b) Stipulations as to all relevant and necessary facts about
which there is no dispute;

(c) Affidavits, depositions, interrogatories or exhibits to
establish facts which are in dispute; and

(d) Written arguments on each party’s contentions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, . 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0710
Setting and Notice of Hearing

(1) Notice of scheduled hearing shall be given to all parties
by the Hearings Division at least 20 days before the hearing date,
unless the parties agree to a shorter period of notice.

(2) The notice of hearing shall include the date, time and
place of hearing.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-425 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-425 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.
Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order
4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-
22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, . 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0715
Place of Hearing
The hearing shall be held in Oregon at a place that is reason-
ably convenient for the appealing party and affected employees,
or at such other place as may be selected by the Administrative
Law Judge.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-610 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-610 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.
Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0720
Postponement or Continuance of Hearing

A scheduled hearing shall not be postponed except by order
of an Administrative Law Judge upon a finding of extraordinary
circumstances beyond the control of the party or parties requesting
the postponement. “Extraordinary circumstances” shall not
include:

(1) Failure of a party to refer or delay in referring the case or
any pertinent information to its representative;

(2) Unavailability of a party, witness or representative due to
nonemergency medical or dental appointment, occupational,
personal or professional business or appointments, or
unwillingness to appear, provided that a postponement may be
granted if the unavailable person is a worker/ employer who is
temporarily working out of state and is reasonably expected to
return to the state within a time certain or is a person who has
been duly subpoenaed and has failed to comply with the
subpoena;

(3) An attorney’s, party’s, representative’s or witness’ con-
flict with administrative proceedings scheduled more than three
days after mailing of the notice of hearing;

(4) Incomplete case preparation, unless the Administrative
Law Judge finds that completion of the record could not be
accomplished with due diligence.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-605 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-605 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 3-1989, . 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0725
Joint Statement of Issues; Pre-Hearing Conference

At any time before hearing the Administrative Law Judge
may order the parties to:

(1) Jointly prepare and submit a written statement setting
forth the relevant facts about which there is no dispute, each
party’s contentions of fact, and the issues of fact and law to be
decided by the Administrative Law Judge.

(2) Exchange information or attended a pre-hearing
conference with the Administrative Law Judge for the purpose of
simplifying and clarifying the issues or expediting the proceeding.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-520 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-520 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.
Order, Safety 6-1977, . 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0730
Consolidation or Separation
If no substantial right of any party will be prejudiced, the
Administrative Law Judge may, for good cause:
(1) Consolidate cases in which there are common parties and
common questions of law or fact; or
(2) Divide the issues of a case into separate cases.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-220 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-220 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, £. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.
Order, Safety 6-1977, . 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0735
Motions

(1) All motions that can be made before hearing shall be filed
with the Administrative Law Judge no later than 15 days before
the hearing date except for good cause shown.

(2) Pre-hearing motions shall be in writing and contain a
clear and plain statement of the relief sought and the grounds for
relief.

(3) Any party on whom a pre-hearing motion is served shall
have ten days, or such greater time as the Administrative Law
Judge may allow, to file response to the motion.

(4) Arguments on pre-hearing motions shall be in writing,
except in the discretion of the Administrative Law Judge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-445 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, . 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-445 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, . 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0740
Discovery Methods

(1) On petition of any party to a contested case, depositions,
depositions upon oral examination (ORCP 39) or written
questions (ORCP 40), and production of documents or things
(ORCP 43), may be taken and used in the same manner and to the
same extent as provided by law in civil actions, except as herein
stated.

(2) The Administrative Law Judge shall make determinations
and issue orders in the manner required by the court by ORCP
36C, except that attorney fees shall not be allowed.

(3) The petition shall set forth:

(a) The name and address of the witness whose testimony is
desired;

(b) A showing of the materiality of the testimony;

(c) A request for an order that the testimony of the witness be
taken before an officer named in the petition for that purpose. The
formality of the petition may be waived between the parties.

(4) A reporter’s fee for a deposition shall be taken by the
party at whose instance the deposition is taken, unless otherwise
agreed by the parties or directed by the Administrative Law Judge.

(5) If any person fails to comply with a subpoena, or any
party or witness refuses to testify on any matters on which the
party or witness may be lawfully questioned, proceedings to
compel obedience may be instituted in accordance with ORS
654.130 or 183.440.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-525 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-525 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82
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438-085-0745
Subpoenas

(1) The attendance and testimony of witnesses at the hearing,
or the production of documentary or physical evidence under the
witnesses’ control or possession, may be compelled by subpoena.

(2) Subpoenas may be issued by the Presiding Administrative
Law Judge, the Administrative Law Judge, or the representative of
record of the party in whose behalf the witnesses are required to
appear. The Hearings Division shall provide subpoenas in blank,
upon request, to a party or the party’s representative of record.

(3) Any person present at the hearing may be required to
testify to the same extent as if the person had been subpoenaed.

(4) If any person fails to comply with a subpoena, or any
party or witness refuses to testify on any matters on which such
party or witness may be lawfully questioned, proceedings to
compel obedience may be instituted in accordance with ORS
654.130 or 183.440.

(5) Witnesses appearing by subpoena shall be paid, by the
party who subpoenas them, the same fees and mileage are
required by law for witnesses in civil actions. Parties and
employees of OR-OSHA shall not receive such witness fees or
mileage.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-540 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-745 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted 5-4-77 by WCB Admin. Order,

Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77, Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978,

f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef.

8-2-82

438-085-0750
Change of Administrative Law Judge

(1) An Administrative Law Judge may withdraw from a case
whenever he or she considers himself or herself disqualified.

(2) Any party may request that the Administrative Law Judge
be removed from a case, on the grounds of personal bias or
conflict of interest, by filing with the Presiding Administrative
Law Judge, promptly upon discovery of the alleged facts, an
affidavit which sets forth in detail the matters believed to
constitute the grounds for disqualification.

(3) If, in the opinion of the Presiding Administrative Law
Judge, the request for disqualification is filed with due diligence
and the supporting affidavit is sufficient on its face, the Presiding
Administrative Law Judge shall either disqualify the Adminis-
trative Law Judge and assign another Administrative Law Judge
to the case or order a hearing on the allegation in the affidavit.

(4) If the Presiding Administrative Law Judge does not dis-
qualify the Administrative Law Judge, the Presiding Adminis-
trative Law Judge shall so rule on the record, stating the grounds
for the ruling, and the case shall proceed with the Administrative
Law Judge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-630 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-630 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted 5-4-77 by WCB Admin. Order,

Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982,

f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 7-1987, . 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88

438-085-0755
Extensions of Time

Requests for extensions of time for filing of any documents
should be received in advance of the day on which the document
is due to be filed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

Hearings

438-085-0800
Special Circumstances; Waiver of Rules

In special circumstances not contemplated by the provisions
of these rules, or for good cause shown, the Administrative Law
Judge may, upon application by any party or intervenor, or on the
Administrative Law Judge’s own motion, after ten days notice to
all parties and intervenors, waive any rule or make such order as
justice or the administration of the Act requires. This rule shall not
apply to OAR 438-085-0121(1).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0805
Duties and Powers of Administrative Law Judge

It is the duty of the Administrative Law Judge to conduct a
fair and impartial hearing and avoid delay. The Administrative
Law Judge has the authority to:

(1) Issue subpoenas;

(2) Order depositions to be taken;

(3) Hold conferences for settlement of the case or
simplification of the issues;

(4) Dispose of procedural requests, motions or similar
matters;

(5) Administer oaths and affirmations;

(6) Rule upon offers of evidence;

(7) Regulate the course of the hearing and, if necessary,
exclude persons from the hearing;

(8) Require a party to state the party’s position on any issue
in the case and the legal basis for that position;

(9) Order a party to produce a witness or other evidence;

(10) Call and examine any party or witness;

(11) Close the hearing record, or reopen it, as the needs of
justice and the hearing require;

(12) Take any other action necessary for a full and fair
disposition of the case.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-625 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-625 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, £. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0810
Failure to Appear

(1) Except as provided in section (2) of this rule, failure of a
party to appear at the hearing shall be considered a default and a
waiver of all rights except the right to be served with a copy of the
Administrative Law Judge’s decision and the right to request
judicial review in accordance with ORS 183.480 to 183.500.

(2) Upon a showing of good cause, the Administrative Law
Judge shall excuse a party’s failure to appear and reconvene the
hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-615 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-615 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-

1977,1.5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77, WCB 3-1989, f. 3-31-89, ef. 5-1-89

438-085-0815
Record and Transcript of Hearing

(1) A verbatim record shall be made of the hearing, including
all motions, rulings and testimony. Reporters’ hearing and
transcript fees shall be paid by the Board, except as provided in
section (3) of this rule.

(2) At any time before the Administrative Law Judge’s
decision becomes final, the Administrative Law Judge may order
a full or partial transcript of the hearing record.
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(3) At any time before the reporter’s notes or recordings of
the hearing are destroyed, any person may order a transcript at
that person’s expense.

(4) When the record of a case if forwarded to the Court of
Appeals for judicial review pursuant to ORS 183.482(4), each
party shall be served with a copy of the record, excepting exhibits.

(5) Reporters’ notes or records of a hearing may be destroyed
six months after final disposition of the case by the Administrative
Law Judge or court.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-620 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated in amended form as permanent Rule 436-85-620 by

WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended

form by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended

by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0820
Burden of Proof

(1) OR-OSHA has the burden of proving:

(a) A denied violation;

(b) The reasonableness of a contested penalty;

(¢) The reasonableness of a contested correction order.

(2) The party who contests OR-OSHA’s grant or denial of a
requested modification of the time for correction of a violation has
the burden of proving that OR-OSHA'’s decision is unreasonable.

(3) The party who contests a proposed, OR-OSHA order that
will grant, deny, modify or revoke a variance has the burden of
proving that the proposed order is unreasonable.

(4) The party having the burden of proving a fact must
establish it by a preponderance of the evidence.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-635 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-625 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0825
Conduct of Hearing

(1) Testimony shall be taken only on oath or affirmation.

(2) Each party shall have these rights:

(a) To call and examine parties and witnesses;

(b) To introduce exhibits;

(c) To question the witnesses of other parties on any matter
relevant to the issues even though that matter was not covered in
the direct examination;

(d) To impeach any witness regardless of which party first
called the witness to testify; and

(e) To rebut the evidence against the party.

(3) The taking of evidence in the hearing shall be controlled
by the Administrative Law Judge in the manner best suited to
ascertain the facts and safeguard the rights of the parties.

(4) The hearing shall be conducted in the English language.
Upon reasonable advance request, a qualified interpreter shall be
provided in accordance with ORS 183.418.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-640 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, . 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-640 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order

2-1982,f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0830
Affidavits

An affidavit may be admitted in lieu of oral testimony if the
matters contained in the affidavit are otherwise admissible and no
other party objects to the admission of the affidavit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, . 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0835
Exclusion of Witness From Hearing Room
At the request of a party, the Administrative Law Judge may
exclude from the hearing room an adverse party’s witness not at
the time under examination, so that the excluded witness will not
hear the testimony of other witnesses, but a party or his
representative shall not be excluded.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-650 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, . 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-650 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.
Order, Safety 6-1977, . 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0840
Rules of Evidence
(1) Evidence that reasonably prudent persons commonly rely
upon in the conduct of their serious affairs shall be admissible.
(2) Irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious evidence shall
be excluded.
(3) The rules of privilege recognized by law shall be
followed.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-645 by WCB Admin. Order 5-
1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,
ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-645 by WCB Admin. Order
10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-
1977, 1. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77

438-085-0845
Official Notice

(1) The Administrative Law Judge may take notice of
judicially cognizable facts and the Administrative Law Judge may
take official notice of general, technical or scientific facts within
the Administrative Law Judge’s specialized knowledge.

(2) The Administrative Law Judge shall advise the parties of,
and give them an opportunity to contest, any facts or other matters
of which official notice is being taken.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;

Amended by WCB Admin. Order 4-1978, f. 3-31-78, ef. 4-1-78; Amended by

WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94,

cert. ef. 1-1-95

438-085-0850
Objections

(1) Any objections to the introduction of evidence or to the
conduct of the hearing shall be accompanied by a brief statement
of the grounds for the objection.

(2) It is not necessary for a party to take an “exception” to an
adverse ruling on an objection in order to preserve the question for
judicial review.

(3) Whenever the Administrative Law Judge excludes the
testimony of a witness, the party adversely affected may make an
offer of proof on the record for the purpose of judicial review.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-660 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-660 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-

1977, . 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-

82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0855
Exhibits

(1) Exhibits, where practicable, shall be on one side only of
paper 8-1/2" x 11" in size or folded in multiples thereof, except
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that copies of the Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Code
which are offered as exhibits may be photocopied on two sides.

(2) The party offering an exhibit shall provide a copy of it to
each of the other parties, unless the Administrative Law Judge
finds it impractical. Wherever possible, unless the exhibit is to be
used solely for impeachment, such copies shall be provided to the
other parties before the hearing commences.

(3) All offered exhibits, whether or not admitted into
evidence, shall be part of the record in the case.

(4) Unless the Administrative Law Judge determines that
exceptional circumstances require that an object or real evidence
accompany the record, an accurate description or photograph of
the object shall be substituted for it. The party offering such
evidence shall be responsible for providing the description or
photograph, and for retaining custody of the object until the case
is closed.

(5) OR-OSHA shall offer as exhibits, prior to the hearing,
copies of those portions of each Division of the Oregon
Occupational Safety and Health Code upon which OR-OSHA
intends to rely or which are otherwise relevant, and shall provide
copies of the same to employer. In addition, OR-OSHA shall
provide employer (or its designated representative or attorney)
with a complete copy of each Division of the Oregon
Occupational Safety and Health Code which contains the above
rules. The exhibit and complete Division of rules so provided
shall include a certification by the Director or the Director’s
designee, or by the Secretary of State, that the applicable rules
offered and provided are true copies of the Oregon Administrative
Rules adopted by the Director, filed with the Secretary of State,
and in effect on the dates relevant to the issues in the case. At
employer’s request, OR-OSHA shall provide employer with
certified copies of other potentially relevant rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-665 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-665 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by WCB Admin.

Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; WCB 1-1994, f. 11-1-94, cert. ef.

1-1-95

438-085-0860
View of Premises
On motion of any party or on the Administrative Law
Judge’s own motion, the Administrative Law Judge may, prior to
the hearing or during a recess of the hearing for that purpose, view
the premises, equipment or processes related to an issue in the
case, in order to obtain a better understanding of the testimony.
All parties shall be given reasonable notice of, and an opportunity
to be present during, a viewing. The Administrative Law Judge
shall not consider as evidence in the case the impressions he
obtains from a viewing.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078
Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-655 by WCB
Admin. Order 5-1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-
1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-655 by
WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted 5-4-77 by
WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB
Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0865
Opinion and Order of Administrative Law Judge

(1) The decision of the Administrative Law Judge in a
contested case shall be rendered in a written Opinion and Order,
which shall also contain findings of fact and conclusions of law.

(2) Except for matters stipulated to by the parties or officially
noticed by the referee, no factual information or evidence that is
not made part of the record shall be considered by the referee in
making determinations.

(3) A default order may be issued only upon a prima facie
case made in the evidentiary record.

(4) The Opinion and Order of the Administrative Law Judge

shall be deemed to be a final order of the Board.

(5) Each party or, if applicable, a party’s representative shall
be mailed or delivered a copy of the Administrative Law Judge’s
Opinion and Order, with notice of the party’s right to judicial
review by the Court of Appeals as provided in ORS 183.480 to
183.500.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted temporarily as Rule 436-85-670 by WCB Admin. Order 5-

1973, f. & ef. 12-20-73; Repealed by WCB Admin. Order 10-1974, f. 3-19-74,

ef. 4-15-74; Reinstated as permanent Rule 436-85-670 by WCB Admin. Order

10-1974, . 3-19-74, ef. 4-15-74; Adopted in amended form by

WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77; Amended by WCB

Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82

438-085-0870
Reconsideration

(1) The Administrative Law Judge may withdraw an Opinion
and Order for the purpose of reconsideration at any time prior to:

(a) The expiration of the period allowed for filing a petition
for judicial review, if one has not been filed; or

(b) The date set for oral argument before the Court of
Appeals on a petition for judicial review, as permitted by subsec-
tion (6) of ORS 183.482.

(2) Reconsideration may be upon the Administrative Law
Judge’s own motion, or upon motion of a party showing error,
omission, or misconstruction of statute or rule.

(3) Written notice of reconsideration shall be given by the
Administrative Law Judge to all parties.

(4) The Administrative Law Judge may affirm, modify or
reverse an Opinion and Order that has been withdrawn.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & 656.726(5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.025 & 654.078

Hist.: Adopted by WCB Admin. Order, Safety 6-1977, f. 5-5-77, ef. 6-1-77;

Amended by WCB Admin. Order 2-1982, f. 6-22-82, ef. 8-2-82



