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DIVISION 1

PROCEDURAL RULES

Procedure for Rule Adoption

Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule
except a temporary rule, the Oregon Health Sciences University
shall give notice of the proposed adoption, amendment, or repeal:

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least 15 days prior to the effective date;

(2) By posting on appropriate institutional bulletin boards;

(3) By mailing a copy to the Oregonian and the Skanner;

(4) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the Oregon

Health Sciences University mailing list established pursuant to
ORS 183.335(3). This mailing list may, at the discretion of the
responsible official, be purged at yearly intervals if the affected
individual has not affirmatively indicated a request that mailing be
continued.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 183 & 351

Hist.: UOD 6, f. & ef. 1-6-76; HSU 3-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-001-0005
Model Rules of Practice and Procedure

Pursuant to the provisions of ORS 183.340, the Oregon
Health Sciences University adopts Division 1 of the Attorney
General’s Model Rules of Practice and Procedure under the
Administrative Procedures Act.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 183 & 351
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Hist.: UOD 1, f. 10-29-73, ef. 11-25-73; HSC 2-1982, f. & ef. 2-8-82; HSU 3-
1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-001-0020
Availability of Public Records

The public may review all University documents that are
designated public records, except medical records. Documents,
except medical records, will be available for review in the Office
of the OHSU Vice President or such other place as designated by
the Vice President during regular working hours. Copies of public
records, except medical records, are available to the public upon
request. The following charges will be made, payable in advance
or when the materials are received:

(1) Administrative Rules of Oregon Health Sciences
University, and revisions for a two-year period — $15.

(2) Copies of documents:

(a) 1 - 10 copies, $0.20 per page;

(b) 11 or more copies, $0.15 per page.

(3) Documents and other materials such as computer tapes,
microfilm and microfiche copies, audio tape cassettes, computer
services, etc. shall be provided at a fee reasonable calculated to
reimburse the University for actual costs.

(4) The President of the University may waive these charges
if their imposition would cause undue hardship or in the presence
of mitigating circumstances.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 183,192 & 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 2-12-87; HSU 7-1987, f. & ef. 9-3-87;

HSU 9-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 12-17-87

572-001-0040
Contested Cases: Appointed Chair/Presiding Officer
Notwithstanding anything in OHSU administrative rules to
the contrary, the President or the President’s designee may elect to
appoint as Chair or Presiding Officer of any contested case
hearing committee a person with legal training or expertise
whether or not that person is a member of the committee which
would otherwise hear the contested case. The Chair or Presiding
Officer will have the authority to make all necessary rulings
related to the conduct of hearing and will have control of all
discovery.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.450(7) & Ch. 351
Hist.. HSU 10-1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-20-92; HSU 1-1993(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 1-28-93; HSU 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

572-001-0050
Contested Cases: Failure to Comply

Failure or refusal to comply with an order entered against or
directed to a particular named individual as a result of a contested
case hearing at the Oregon Health Sciences University may serve
as a basis for further discipline or other appropriate action against
that individual who so fails or refuses to comply. The original
findings of fact, conclusions of law and final order will be
provided to the hearings committee as the background of the
history of the original order. Further review or evidence regarding
the underlying facts or causes of the original order will not occur
and are not required to serve as the basis for further action. The
further action authorized under this rule will be based upon
necessary proof of failure or refusal to comply with the original
order.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.450(7) & Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 11-1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-20-92; HSU 3-1993, . & cert. ef.

5-11-93

DIVISION 5
PUBLIC ACTIVITY
572-005-0000

Purpose
(1) It is the purpose of this rule to inform members of the

public and the University community of the time, place, and
manner in which they may engage in constitutionally protected
public activities on the University campus. It also has the further
purpose of insure non-interference with the University’s missions
of education, research and public service/patient care.

(2) This rule does not limit otherwise authorized University
community use of University facilities.

(3) This rule does not affect any right which an employee
organization certified as the exclusive representative for OHSU
employees pursuant to ORS 243.005 et seq., may have been
granted pursuant to its collective bargaining agreement or Oregon
Revised Statutes.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192.430 - 192.450 & 351.070

Hist.: HSU 6-1992, . & cert. ef. 7-15-92; HSU 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

572-005-0010
Definitions

(1) “Plazas” means outdoor open space within the campus
community used as gathering/social area by faculty, staff, students
and visitors.

(2) “Person” means any member of the public or the
University community.

(3) “Public” means any individual or group not included in
the definition of “University community”.

(4) “Public Activity” means leafletting, picketing, speech-
making, video tape recording, demonstration, petition circulation,
and similar activities which are not limited or restricted to a
particular person or class of persons but are open to observation
and are likely to be seen by persons casually passing by.

(5) “University” means Oregon Health Sciences University.

(6) “University Community” means all University
recognized student, faculty, and staff sponsored organizations,
University alumni organizations, and University Foundation and
their affiliates which are engaged in activities directly related to
the statutory mission of the University.

(7) “University Assistant Vice President for Facilities
Management” shall include any Univer-sity official later
designated by the University to perform the functions of the
Assistant Vice President for Facilities Management under this
rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192.430 - 192.450 & 351.070

Hist.: HSU 6-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-92; HSU 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

572-005-0020
Limited Public Areas

(1) The University grounds open to the public and the
University community for public activity, including soliciting,
leafletting, picketing, speech-making, video tape recording and
demonstrating, are sidewalks and plazas within the campus proper
at 3181 S.W. Sam Jackson Park Road, Portland, OR.

(2) Additional areas open to the University community for
public activities, except picketing, speech-making, video tape
recording and demonstrating, are the first floor corridor adjacent
to the cafeteria in MacKenzie Hall, the main lobby of the
University Library, the third floor corridor adjacent to the
cafeteria in University Hospital South, the first floor corridor
adjacent to the cafeteria in University Hospital North and the
second floor corridor adjacent to the cafeteria in the Child
Development and Rehabilitation Building. Activity in these areas
must take place from a table located by the University Assistant
Vice President for Facilities Management.

(3) Access to and scheduling of conference rooms,
auditoriums, classrooms and other non-public forums by the
University community are not covered by this rule. Scheduling of
such use shall be in accordance with other established institutional
manuals or procedures.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192.430 - 192.450 & 351.070

Hist.: HSU 6-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-92; HSU 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

572-005-0025
Registration and Priority

(1) In order to allow scheduling and assure public safety,
persons wishing to engage in speech activities in the above
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designated areas are encouraged to register 24 hours in advance
with the University Assistant Vice President for Facilities
Management. The registration should include a statement of the
number of people expected to participate, the anticipated length of
the activity, the area where it will occur, and the name and phone
number of a contact person. The registration shall not be used to
regulate the content of the proposed public activities.

(2) Priority for the use of public areas is given to University
sponsored events and, after that, to those who schedule an event in
advance. If all or part of such an area is reserved for a University
sponsored event, the University Assistant Vice President of
Facilities Management may require a non-sponsored or non-
scheduled use to reschedule for a different time or for an area not
previously reserved.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192.430 - 192.450 & 351.070

Hist.: HSU 6-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-92; HSU 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93;

Renumbered from 572-05-040

572-005-0030
Access and Noise

(1) All public activities must be conducted in such a manner
that both pedestrian and vehicle traffic are not impeded, and the
normal activities in classrooms, offices, hospitals and other
University facilities are not disrupted.

(2) The University Assistant Vice President for Facilities
Management may require any public activities to be conducted 15
feet or more away from any exit, entrance, staircase, parking lot or
roadway if necessary to allow normal pedestrian or vehicle traffic.

(3) Devices for the amplification of sound are prohibited.

(4) The Assistant Vice President for Facilities Management
may designate the portion of a University street and the time of
day during which a University street is not available for public
activities in order to meet traffic, emergency access, and public
transit needs.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192.430 - 192.450 & 351.070

Hist.: HSU 6-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-92; HSU 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

572-005-0040 [Renumbered to 572-05-025]

572-005-0070
Enforcement

(1) Any person violating these rules is subject to:

(a) Institutional disciplinary proceedings, if a student or
employee;

(b) An order to leave the immediate premises or property
owned or controlled by the University by a person in charge of
University property.

(2) Persons failing to comply with an order by a person in
charge to leave or to remain off the immediate premises or
property owned or controlled by the University are subject to
arrest for criminal trespass.

(3) The President, Vice President for Develop-ment and
Public Affairs, Assistant Vice President for Facilities
Management, and their designees, have the authority of “persons
in charge” of University property for purposes of ORS 164.205(5)
and these rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192.430 - 192.450 & 351.070

Hist.: HSU 6-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-92

DIVISION 10

FACULTY RECORDS AND RELEASE OF STUDENT
DIRECTORY INFORMATION

572-010-0005
Regulations Governing Faculty Records

These regulations govern faculty records, their content,
accessibility, custody, and location. They comply with ORS
351.065, the basic state law on this subject, and OAR 580-022-
0060 to 580-022-0125 of the Administrative Rules of the State
Board of Higher Education. They are so formulated as to preserve
the faculty member’s right to privacy and to accommodate

legitimate public interest.
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-010-0010
Definitions

OAR 580-022-0065 of the Board of Higher Education’s
rules, establishes the two following definitions:

(1)(a) “Personal Records” means records containing
information kept by the institution, school, division, or department
concerning a faculty member and furnished by the faculty member
or by others, including, but not limited to:

(A) Information as to discipline, membership activity, other
behavioral records;

(B) Administrative counseling;

(C) Professional preparation and experience;

(D) Professional performance (e.g., assignment and
workload, quality of teaching, research, and service to the
institution);

(E) Personnel data relating to such matters as promotions,
tenure, leaves, retirement credits, and the like; and

(F) Professional activities external to the institution,
including, but not necessarily limited to, awards, recognition,
research activities, travel.

(b) Additionally, “Personal Records” include:

(A) Correspondence file relating to original appointment
including faculty application form, curriculum vitae, and letters of
reference;

(B) Personnel action forms and letters from department
chairmen relating to salary, rank, tenure, and other changes; and

(C) Initial and annual notice of appointment.

(2) “Records of Academic Achievement” for purposes of
compliance with ORS 351.065, shall mean the record of credits
earned toward a degree or in post doctoral work and/or
certificate(s), diplomag(s), license(s), and degree(s) received.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-010-0015
Information Not Included in Faculty Personnel Records

(1) No faculty member shall be required to give, although he
or she may voluntarily provide, information as to race, religion,
sex, political affiliation or preferences, except as required by state
statute, federal law, or valid federal rules, regulations, or orders.
In those instances in which the faculty member is asked for such
self-designation for any purpose (including federal requests for
information), the request shall state the purpose of the inquiry and
shall inform the individual of the right to decline to respond.
Except as the faculty member makes the foregoing information
available, or except as required by state or federal law, rule, or
regulation, there shall be no designation in faculty personnel
record files as to the faculty member’s race, religion, sex, political
affiliation, or national origin.

(2) Medical and psychiatric records, insti-tutional time and
effort reports, affirmative action data compiled by OHSU
Affirmative Action Office, and patent rights agreements are not
part of personnel files.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-010-0020
Release of and Access to Faculty Records

(1) Appropriate information about the faculty member may
be released upon request and without the faculty member’s
consent. Such information shall be limited to the following:

(a) Directory information, that is, information generally
needed in identifying or locating a named faculty member
including such information as is readily to be found in published
documents such as institutional catalogs;

(b) Objective evidence of a faculty member’s academic
achievement, limited to information as to the number of credits
earned toward a degree or in post doctoral work, and certificate(s),
diploma(s), license(s), and degree(s) received;
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(c) Salary information and the record of terms or conditions
of employment.

(2) All information in the faculty member’s personal record
file, apart from that identified above, shall be considered personal
and subject to restricted access as hereinafter set forth.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76

572-010-0025
Confidential Records — Restrictions on Release

(1) Personal records designated as subject to restricted access
shall be available only to institutional personnel, such as faculty
administrators, students, and others serving on official
institutional committees or in other official institutional capacities,
who have a demonstrably legitimate need to review them in order
to fulfill their official, professional responsibilities and to the
faculty member who is the subject of the records. These records
may not be released to any other person or agency without the
faculty member’s written consent, unless upon receipt of a valid
subpoena or other court order or process or as required by state
statute, federal law, or valid federal or state rules, regulations, or
orders.

(2) Where a subpoena or other court order or process seeking
access to faculty records is received, the recipient must notify the
President or the President’s designee prior to any institutional
response. The latter will determine whether the validity of the
subpoena, court order, or process shall be tested in court and will
designate the officer responsible for so doing.

(3) Personal records of faculty members will be made
available to the OHSU Affirmative Action Committee by the
institutional executive in those instances where there is a need to
obtain information regarding possible violations of the OHSU
affirmative action procedure or the need to investigate a charge of
discrimination. When possible, permission of the faculty member
will be obtained.

(4) Information about faculty members may be released for
research purposes provided that the identity of the faculty member
is adequately concealed. If the confidentiality of the records
appears to be jeopardized in any way by the release of information
for research purposes, the researcher must obtain the written
consent of the faculty member and provide it to the Office of
Academic Affairs prior to the release of the date by the Oregon
Health Sciences University.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-010-0030
Evaluation Records

(1) A copy of a written record of a faculty member’s annual
evaluation will be given to the faculty member after discussion
with him or her. A copy of the evaluative statement, duly signed
by the faculty member signifying that he or she has been given a
copy thereof, shall be placed in the faculty member’s personal
file.

(2) Classroom survey evaluation by students of a faculty
member’s classroom or laboratory performance shall be
anonymous.

(3) After July 1, 1975, the OHSU, when evaluating its
employed faculty members, shall not solicit nor accept letters,
documents, or other materials, given orally or in written form,
from individuals or groups who wish their identity kept
anonymous or the information they provide kept confidential.

(4) Any evaluation received by telephone shall be
documented in the faculty member’s file by means of a written
summary of the conversation with the names of the conversants
identified.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-010-0035
Access to and Correction of Records

(1) The faculty member has the right to review with
appropriate institutional personnel any information contained in

his or her personal file. The file may be reviewed in the office in
which it is maintained and shall not be removed from that office.

(2) Letters and other information submitted in confidence
prior to July, 1975, shall be maintained in the personal file.
However, if a faculty member requests access to those files, the
anonymity of the contributor of letters and other information
obtained prior to July 1, 1975, shall be protected. The full text
shall be made available except that portions of the text which
would serve to identify the contributor shall be excised.

(3) Confidential letters and other information submitted to or
solicited after July 1, 1975, prior to the employment of a
prospective employee are exempt from the provisions of this
section. However, if a prospective employee is employed, the
confidential pre-employment materials shall be placed in the
personal file. If a faculty member requests access to his or her
files, the anonymity of the contributor of confidential pre-
employment letters and other pre-employment information shall
be protected. The full text shall be made available except that
portions of the text which would serve to identify the contributor
shall be excised and retained in a file other than the personal file.

(4) A faculty member shall be entitled to submit evidence
rebutting, correcting, amplifying, or explaining any document
contained therein and other material which the member believes
might be of assistance in the evaluation process.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-010-0040
Excised Material — Preservation of Confidentiality

OHSU is obligated to observe the right to privacy of
individuals who submit, pursuant to OAR 572-010-0035(3) and
(4), whether by solicitation or voluntarily, evaluative materials
respecting present or prospective faculty members, including
materials labeled “confidential”. This is the counterpart of the
right to privacy observed within the institution and is
accomplished as follows:

(1)(a) Evaluative materials respecting faculty members now
employed shall have names or other matter that would serve to
identify the contributor(s) excised by a faculty committee
appointed for that purpose by the President of the OHSU.
Excision shall be made on a xerox copy of the original document.
The excised xerox copy is to remain in the faculty member’s file.
The original document is to be transferred to the member’s
Excised Materials File, stamped and dated as having been excised;

(b) A statement is to be appended to the excised xerox copy
attesting that only the material which would identify the
contributor(s) has been excised and that in all other respects, the
material is unaltered from the original.

(2) Pre-employment evaluative materials respecting persons
not subsequently employed shall be placed in an inactive file and
plainly stamped “Subject to Excision”. Before such materials are
returned to an active file, they must be excised, as necessary, per
section (1) of this rule.

(3) Access to files of excised materials is limited to deans or
higher ranks, to appropriate State System personnel, and to such
faculty committees as the President may designate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-010-0045
Permanence, Duplication, and Disposal of Faculty Records

(1) An individual faculty member’s record shall be
maintained only for the minimum period required to serve the
basic official functions of the office which generates and
maintains it. In the case of resignation or retirement of the faculty
member, the file will be maintained for not more than five years
and then disposed of by incineration.

(2) The permanent retention of faculty records shall be
limited to those which the President or the State Archivist shall
determine to be of long-range value to the individual faculty
member, to the institution, or to the public. Access to personal
records more than 25 years old may not be limited.

(3) Duplication of faculty records shall be kept to a
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minimum. At the appropriate time, duplicates shall be disposed of
as specified in section (1) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76

572-010-0050
Location and Custody of Faculty Records

(1) The OHSU generates and maintains only such personal
records as are demonstrably and substantially relevant to the
educational and related purposes of the institution. Table 1 is a
summary of these records and their location.

(2) All records containing personal information about faculty
members shall be kept in secured files.

(3) The head of each academic or administrative unit
maintaining faculty records shall be responsible for maintaining
the confidentiality and security of all faculty records within that
unit in accordance with the provisions of these rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 11, f. & ef. 6-7-76

[ED NOTE: The Table referenced in this rule is not printed in the OAR

Compilation. Copies are available from the Oregon Health Sciences

University.]

Release of Student Directory Information

572-010-0055
Release of Student Directory Information

(1) The following information maintained by the Oregon
Health Sciences University in its student record files is considered
to be directory information and may be disclosed upon request,
except that the student has the right to designate any or all of this
information as not being subject to release without his consent:

(a) Full name;

(b) Address;

(c) Telephone number;

(d) Name of spouse;

(e) Major field of study.

(2) On or about the time of registration, the Registrar’s
Office, or other appropriate office, will provide to each student a
form entitled “Request to Restrict Directory Information” to be
used by the student to designate those items of directory
information which may be released without the student’s consent.
If the student does not return the completed form within seven
days, it will be assumed that the institution may release any or all
of the directory information pertaining to that student. Other
departments and divisions of the Oregon Health Sciences
University which receive directory information requests about
students are to refer such inquiries to the Registrar’s Office,
except that if the inquiry concerns interns or residents, it is to be
referred to the Office of the Director of Graduate Medical
Education.

(3) With respect to inquiries for information about students
other than directory information, no such information is to be
released without the student’s consent.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 18(Temp), f. & ef. 10-1-76; UOD 20, f. & ef. 12-2-76; HSU 4-

1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-010-0070
Student Immunization Requirements

(1) Oregon Health Sciences University, for the protection of
the public health and benefit of the students, requires that students
as a condition of enrollment must present appropriate proof of a
current tuberculin skin test, chest x-ray (if positive tuberculin) and
proof of up to date immunizations for:

(a) Diphtheria-Tetanus;

(b) Polio;

(¢) Rubella;

(d) Rubeola;

(e) Hepatitis B or proof of prior disease (Required for Dental
School, Medical School, and Nursing School students);

(f) Immunization for Mumps is recommended for all students
but is not required.

(2) An acceptable proof of current immunization must be
provided to the Student Health Services Department prior to
completion of the registration process.

(3) All of these tests and immunizations are available at the
time of registration in the Student Health Services Department.
Any student needing these tests or immunizations will be charged
for each immunization needed at the current Student Health
Service rate.

(4) The Director of Student Health Services may waive the
requirement for Hepatitis B vaccination for short term students
who will have no contact with patients or blood borne pathogens
during their course of study.

(5) Students who are unable to meet these requirements due
to medical conditions shall furnish an explanation from their
health care provider which will be reviewed by the Student Health
Services Department Director who will make a recommendation
to the Vice President for Academic Affairs, or his/her designee,
who may waive the requirement if deemed appropriate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 13-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; HSU 5-1992, . & cert. ef.

5-15-92; HSU 7-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-93

Traffic and Parking on the Campus of the Oregon Health
Sciences University

572-010-0100 [Renumbered to 572-011-0005]
572-010-0105 [Renumbered to 572-011-0015]
572-010-0110 [Renumbered to 572-011-0020]
572-010-0115 [Renumbered to 572-011-0020]
572-010-0120 [Renumbered to 572-011-0025]
572-010-0125 [Renumbered to 572-011-0020]
572-010-0130 [Renumbered to 572-011-0040]
572-010-0135 [Renumbered to 572-011-0015]
572-010-0140 [Renumbered to 572-011-0015]
572-010-0145 [Renumbered to 572-011-0035]
572-010-0150 [Renumbered to 572-011-0035]
572-010-0155 [Renumbered to 572-011-0040]
572-010-0160 [Renumbered to 572-011-0020 and 0030]
Procedure for Termination for Cause of a House Officer
572-010-0200 [Renumbered to 572-012-0005]
572-010-0205 [Renumbered to 572-012-0010]
572-010-0210 [Renumbered to 572-012-0015]
572-010-0215 [Renumbered to 572-012-0020]
572-010-0220 [Renumbered to 572-012-0025]
572-010-0225 [Renumbered to 572-012-0030]
572-010-0230 [Renumbered to 572-012-0035]
572-010-0235 [Renumbered to 572-012-0040]
572-010-0240 [Renumbered to 572-012-0045]

572-010-0245 [Renumbered to 572-012-0050]
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572-010-0250 [Renumbered to 572-012-0055]
572-010-0255 [Renumbered to 572-012-0060]
Residence Hall House Rules
572-010-0300 [Renumbered to 572-013-0005]
Student Activities Building Guest Fee
572-010-0400 [Renumbered to 572-014-0005]

572-010-0405 [Renumbered to 572-014-0010]

DIVISION 11

TRAFFIC AND PARKING ON THE CAMPUS OF THE
OREGON HEALTH SCIENCES UNIVERSITY

572-011-0005
Statement of Responsibility
All members of the University community will be held
responsible for reading and knowing these regulations and for all
violations of the regulations involving vehicles under their control
or registered by them with the OHSU Parking/Traffic
Management.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.360
Hist.: UOD 16, f. 8-30-76, ef. 9-1-76; HSC 9-1979, f. 10-12-79, ef. 11-1-79;
HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81; HSU 1-1984, f. 5-11-84, ef. 5-14-84;
Renumbered from 572-10-100; HSU 12-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-90; HSU 3-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-31-94

572-011-0010
Authority to Establish Rules and Regulations

(1) To regulate vehicular traffic on the campus of the Oregon
Health Sciences University, rules and regulations are established
under the authority provided by ORS 352.360.

(2) The Oregon Health Sciences University, through the
President and the President’s designees, is hereby authorized to
place these rules and regulations into effect and to enforce them as
provided in ORS 352.360.

(3) All motor vehicle laws and regulations promulgated by
the State of Oregon are enforceable on the OHSU campus.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.360

Hist.: HSU 1-1984, f. 5-11-84, ef. 5-14-84; HSU 12-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-

90

572-011-0015
Driving and Parking on Campus

(1) No motor vehicle will be parked on the campus except in
those areas set aside for University parking. A map designating
these areas will be kept on file in the Parking/Traffic Manage-
ment Office. The manner of parking will be in accordance with
the provisions of these rules and regulations.

(2) No driver of a vehicle will stop or park contrary to
parking regulations or disobey the instructions of any sign posted
by the University City or State, except when necessary to avoid
conflict with other traffic or as directed.

(3) A motor vehicle parked on the campus shall be parked
within lines or markings and/or in a manner prescribed by signs.

(4) No vehicle shall stop or park in any of the following
places on campus 24 hours/day:

(a) In a crosswalk;

(b) In a loading zone, except for loading/un-loading, (20
minute limit unless otherwise posted);

(c) At any place where official traffic signs prohibit stopping
or parking;

(d) At any place where the vehicle will be double parked
(except where designated);

(e) At any place where the vehicle will occupy more than one
parking space including parking over a designated parking space

line;

(f) At any place where the vehicle will obstruct a roadway;

(g) Occupying and/or obstructing a fire zone;

(h) In or on any landscaped area (unless authorized by
special permit from the Parking/ Traffic Management Office);

(i) In a restricted handicapped-designated space unless
displaying Department of Motor Vehicles disabled license plates
or permit in accordance with State directives, ORS 487.915 -
487.940, or in an OHSU disabled employee assigned space;

(j) No unauthorized vehicle shall be parked at a hooded
meter, indicating restricted parking;

(k) No vehicle shall be parked in a space/area which has been
reserved on a 24 hour basis for Carpoolers. These spaces/areas
shall be designated by signage;

(1) In a space designated “State Service Vehicles™;

(m) Any parking lot or space which is designated as a 24
hour restricted zone;

(n) Any parking lot or space which is signed “No Parking”;

(o) Any space/area which is indicated “Reserved” or
“Restricted” by specific signage.

(5) All motor vehicles approaching a clearly marked
crosswalk will come to a complete stop if the crosswalk is
occupied by a pedestrian.

(6) Motor vehicles will not be driven faster than the posted
speed limit (emergency vehicles will be exempt as designated by
state law). Vehicles will not exceed five miles per hour in any
parking lot or structure. No person will drive a vehicle faster than
is reasonable or prudent for traffic, street surface or width, or any
hazardous conditions.

(7) Any campus parking area or roadway may be closed to
the general public at the discretion of the Parking/Traffic
Management Director.

(8) Any motor vehicle accidents which occur on OHSU
property involving damage to state property, personal injury, or
substantial personal property damages will be investigated by
University Parking/Traffic Management Director/Designee.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.360

Hist.: UOD 16, f. 8-30-76, ef. 9-1-76; HSC 9-1979, f. 10-12-79, ef. 11-1-79;

HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81; HSU 1-1984, f. 5-11-84, ef. 5-14-84;

Renumbered from 572-10-105, 572-10-135 & 572-10-140; HSU 12-1990, f. &

cert. ef. 7-26-90; HSU 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-31-94

572-011-0020
Permits and Parking Areas

(1) Visitors. Specific metered parking areas will be
designated for use by visitors to the campus. Long term parking
may also be available to visitors for a fee. Use of the Patient
Parking Structure is governed by current campus Parking Rules
and Regulations and University Hospital and Clinics Policy.

(2) Patients. All Hospital/Clinic patients may park in the
patient designated area and have their parking validated. Others
using the patient designated parking area will pay a fee as posted
at the entrance of the area:

(a) Patient parking will be validated Monday - Friday, during
daytime hours;

(b) Patients will have their parking cards validated by the
primary department where they are receiving care. Patients being
admitted or discharged will have their parking cards validated by
the Admitting Departments;

(c) Patients utilizing the Emergency Room will continue to
be able to park in the designated spaces adjacent to the Emergency
Room;

(d) Use of the parking garage is available to employees and
their families only during the period of time they are being seen as
a patient:

(A) Other campus visitors, sales representa-tives, faculty,
staff, students, volunteers, etc., will be directed to obtain a permit
to park in areas other than the patient designated areas;

(B) Evening and night shift personnel with current parking
stickers may utilize this lot between 5 p.m. and 6 a.m.

(e) Long-Term Parking: Should a patient require long-term
parking (i.e., an unaccompanied admission), the parking attendant
will make note of the vehicle make, license number, driver’s name
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and expected length of stay.

(3) Visitors:

(a) Patient visitors will receive a meter validation card from
the campus Parking/ Information Booth;

(b) Other campus visitors will use metered areas or purchase
a permit from the Parking/ Information Booth or Parking Office.

(4) Faculty, staff, and students:

(a) Specific parking areas on campus will be designated for
use by faculty, staff and students, and appropriate signs will
clearly indicate the restricted use of such areas and the exact time
during which parking in these areas is restricted. Only those with
specific authorization in the form of a permit or sticker will park
in these areas. Per-mits will be sold on an “as space is available”
basis;

(b) Faculty, staff and students will not park in metered areas
8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except as designated in
OAR 572-011-0025(9);

(c) Permits for on campus parking assignment will be issued
as space becomes available in the parking program. Permit
assignments will be for designated zones only. Responsibility for
locating a legal parking space will rest with the operator of the
motor vehicle;

(d) Special parking area will be identified for use by evening
and night shift permit holders. Security measures including
lighting, surveillance cameras, and officer patrol will be provided
in this area;

(e) Preferential or zone parking assignments will be offered
to carpoolers. Only one vehicle may be on campus at a given time.
When it is necessary for more than one pool vehicle to be on
campus simultaneously, the carpool member may purchase a one
day permit for the additional vehicle from the Parking/Traffic
Management Office, or the Parking Booth, as space is available.

(5) Permits for additional vehicles. Parkers may acquire
additional vehicle permits for cars used interchangeably for
driving to work. Only one vehicle will be on campus at any given
time. Each registrant will be limited to three vehicles.

(6) Loaned vehicles. Faculty, staff and students who are
members of the parking program and who are required to bring a
loaned vehicle to campus must obtain a free temporary permit
from the Parking/Traffic Management Office/Parking Information
Booth. Permit must be obtained and displayed on vehicle; phone
calls are not accepted in lieu of permit.

(7) Visiting residents, interns, and students. Residents,
interns, and students who are on rotation from another institution
may purchase short term permits for a designated zone on a space
available basis. Prior arrangements should be made with the
Parking/Traffic Management Office.

(8) Government vehicles:

(a) City, county, state or other governmental body owned
with the state “E” license plate or federally-owned vehicles with
federal license plates may park free in any metered or monthly
space on campus not having 24 hour restrictions for short periods
of time. University assigned State “E” License vehicles will pay a
monthly fee to the Parking/Traffic Management Office for
vehicles utilizing space on a continual monthly basis;

(b) University assigned state vehicles parking rate. State-
owned vehicles used on a permanent basis at the University will
be charged a rate equal to the average on-campus fee. Department
Heads responsible for each vehicle will provide either monthly
cash payment or a department account number for Journal
Voucher charges to the Parking/Traffic Management Office;

(c) University assigned state vehicle “reserved” parking rate.
State-owned vehicles used on a permanent basis at the University
may purchase a “Reserved” space including a sign in any monthly
zone for a fee of twice the Gold Zone rate. This will reserve the
space 24 hours per day, Department Heads responsible for each
vehicle will provide either monthly cash payment or a department
account number for Journal Voucher charges to the
Parking/Traffic Management Office.

(9) Emergency parking. In case of an emergency where staff
must respond to urgent calls for assistance in the University
Hospital, it is appropriate for the staff member currently registered
and paying for parking, to park in the nearest non-metered parking

space. In this event, the Parking/ Traffic Management Office must
be notified within one hour or as soon as possible without endan-
gering a patient’s life.

(10) Volunteer staff. Volunteers who have a 20percent of
full-time, or less staff appointment and are registered in the
volunteer program at OHSU may be issued a permit to allow
parking in a designated non-metered zone and in specially
designated volunteer staff spaces. Permits will be issued by the
Parking/Traffic Management Office, and may be renewed
annually. A parking fee for volunteer staff will be paid by the
appropriate administrative unit. All volunteer staff must register
and show proof of vehicle ownership to the Parking/Traffic
Management Office and will be personally responsible for any
citation received for violating the parking rules/regulations.

(11) Complimentary parking:

(a) Permits will be issued through the office of the Vice
President to the members of the State Board of Higher Education,
representatives of the Board’s Office, OHSU Foundation Board of
Trustees, Legislative Fiscal Analyst, Department of
Administrative Services Budget Analyst, and others designated by
the Vice President. Permits will be effective for a limited time,
and will allow parking in any metered or non-metered zone. The
office of the Vice President will inform the Parking/Traffic
Management Office of all permits issued. A parking fee for
special guests will be paid by the office of the Vice President;

(b) One day permits for parking in specified zones may also
be issued at the discretion of the President, Vice President, or their
designated representative. These permits will be available by
making arrangements through the Parking/Traffic Management
Office/Parking Information Booth.

(12) Special events. Parking for participants in continuing
education seminars, lectures, campus tours, and other special
events will be arranged through the Parking/Traffic Management
Office. Two weeks advance notice will be required. Parking must
be paid for in advance by either the department or the individuals
involved unless alternate arrangements have been made. Parking
arrangements will be authorized on an “as space available basis.”

(13) Commercial representatives, delivery vehicles, and
contractors:

(a) Vendors may purchase parking permits utilizing a
reserved parking area between the hours of 7 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. in a
specified zone and rate identified in the OHSU Campus Parking
Fee Schedule;

(b) Commercial representatives (vendors) may purchase
permits to park, subject to the restrictions of these rules and
regulations. Commercial representatives may also purchase a day
or long term permit for parking in a specified monthly space,
when space is available, from the Parking/ Traffic Management
Office;

(c) Delivery vehicles may use any designated loading zone or
may purchase a parking permit from the Parking/Traffic
Management Office/ Parking Information Booth, for any delivery
which is estimated to take longer than 20 minutes;

(d) Contractors, construction employees, and contract
maintenance personnel shall purchase parking permit(s), at the
Parking/Traffic Manage-ment Office or the Parking Information
Booth for all vehicles parked on campus and all revenue
generating spaces that are occupied/utilized during construction.
Parking will be specified in the terms of the contract prior to
award. Parking will be sold on an “as available” status and
arrangements for contractors, construction employees and
construc-tion maintenance personnel must be made prior to
beginning work on campus.

(14) Use of personal vehicles for University business. A
Department Zone Pass will be issued upon receipt of an approved
application from a Department Head or Principal Administrative
Officer for those needing to use their vehicles during working
hours. The requesting Departments will be responsible for the
correct use of the Department Zone Pass. The Department Zone
Pass remains the property of the Parking/Traffic Management
Office. Use is limited to OHSU faculty, staff, and students
currently enrolled in the parking program. In the event of misuse
of the Department Zone Pass, the Parking/Traffic Management
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Office may revoke the Department Zone Pass after notifying the
responsible depart-ment. Application guidelines and restrictions
will be available in the Parking/Traffic Management Office. A
monthly charge will be assessed the requesting department.

(15) Bicycles. Bicycle racks are provided in several areas
throughout Campus. Bicycles may not be parked in any area
designated for vehicle parking or chained to railings, parking
meters or sign posts. Bicycles are not allowed in campus
buildings, stairwells, or chained to any trees, shrubbery or
vegetation. Maps identifying the bicycle rack locations are
available in the Parking/ Traffic Management Office.

(16) Motorcycles. Motorcycles/mopeds may be parked in
special motorcycle lots or in any other non-metered lot at the rate
specified in the OHSU Campus Parking Fee Schedule.
Motorcycles/ mopeds can be combined with other vehicles for
multiple vehicle status.

(17) Parking permits will be unaltered and permanently
affixed and/or displayed in the manner prescribed, and only on the
vehicles for which they are assigned. Except where specified,
permits will not be transferable between vehicles or individuals.
Permits remain the property of OHSU and there will be a charge
for any permit not returned as specified in OAR 572-011-0025.

(18) All parking permits remain the property of OHSU and
must remain in possession of the purchaser during their use. In
applying for a parking permit, the applicant will certify that he or
she owns the vehicle and/or controls its use. Ownership will be
established by presenting a copy of the vehicle registration/title to
Parking/Traffic Management Office personnel. If an individual
sells the vehicle or withdraws from the parking program he or she
must return the permit to the Parking/ Traffic Management Office.
A $25 fee will be charged for each lost or stolen monthly parking
permit. Cash permits, including short-term, and quarterly, will be
replaced at a cost equal to the balance of the current cash contract
term.

(19) OHSU will not be responsible for any motor vehicle or
its contents parked on University property. Individual parkers
assume all risk of accident and expressly agree that the University
shall not be liable for any reason for injury to persons, for losses,
or for property damage.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in

this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.360

Hist.: UOD 16, f. 8-30-76, ef. 9-1-76; UOD 28, f. 8-31-77, ef. 9-1-77; HSC 9-

1979, f. 10-12-79, ef. 11-1-79; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81; HSC 6-

1982, f. & ef. 7-1-82; HSC 10-1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; HSU 1-1984, f. 5-11-

84, ef. 5-14-84; Renumbered from 572-10-110, 572-10-115, 572-10-125 &

572-10-160; HSU 5-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85; HSU 12-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-

90; HSU 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-31-94

572-011-0025
Time Limits and Fees

(1) Parking fees shall be charged to faculty, staff, and
students to allow parking in one of five designated zones or
satellite parking area(s). These zones will be identified as Gold
Zone, Red Zone, Blue Zone, Satellite Green Zone and Purple
Zone. A map designating these areas will be kept on file in the
Campus Parking Office. Fees for parking in these locations will be
identified by the OHSU Campus Parking Fee Schedule. This
fee schedule is based on projections for 3,600 on and off campus
parking spaces and anticipated utilization by various categories of
parkers. The rates in the attached schedule shall be effective upon
adoption of this rule and/or as indicated in the OHSU Campus
Parking Fee Schedule.

(2) Monthly payroll deductions will be offered to faculty and
staff who have .1 FTE or greater. School term cash sales (in
advance) will be offered to students. All other fees will be payable
in quarterly cash payments at the Campus Parking Office.

(3) Proof of part-time employment is required to qualify for
part-time rates.

(4) The Parking/Traffic Management Office must be notified
within 30 days by an employee of any change in FTE status. Back
fees must be paid if the change results in increased parking use.

(5) The parking fees for participants in the carpool program

will be divided between the members in the carpool. Each
participant will pay their portion by payroll deduction or quarterly
cash payments. Participation in this program will be governed by
Guidelines and Contract Applications which are available from
the Parking Traffic/ Management Office.

(6) Gold, Red, Blue, Green and Purple monthly zone permits
will be observed during the following periods:

(a) Day Rate — 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in designated zone, any zone
5p.m.to 8 am.;

(b) Evening Rate — 2 p.m. to midnight;

(c) Night Rate — 10 p.m. to 8 a.m.

(7) All students not participating in the parking program
must register their vehicles with OHSU Campus Parking Office
and will receive a permit valid from 5 p.m. to 8 a.m., Monday
through Friday and all day Saturday and Sunday, in order to park
in the designated zones.

(8) Registered parkers in satellite parking areas may utilize
any designated zone from 5 p.m. to 8 a.m. with a valid permit
displayed.

(9) The metered parking areas are designated for use as
follows:

(a) Visitors, guests and patients — 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday
thru Friday;

(b) Faculty, staff and students* — 10 p.m. to 8§ a.m. Monday
through Friday and 24 hours per day on Saturday and Sunday.

*Faculty, staff and students may park in the metered areas during the

designated hours without paying the meter.

(10) The parking meter rate is identified by the OHSU
Campus Parking Fee Schedule.

(11) The display of a sign showing expired parking on any
meter while the motor vehicle is parked in a space assigned to the
meter shall be prima facia evidence that the motor vehicle has
been parked overtime unless a campus parking permit is displayed
in accordance with section (6) of this rule. Violations will result in
citation, fine, and/or towing.

(12) Vehicles remaining on University property for more
than 72 hours without a proper permit or notification to the
Campus Parking Office will be considered abandoned and
removed at owner’s expense.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in

this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.360

Hist.: UOD 16, f. 8-30-76, ef. 9-1-76; UOD 28, f. 8-31-77, ef. 9-1-77; HSC 9-

1979, f. 10-12-79, ef. 11-1-79; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81; HSC 6-

1982, f. & ef. 7-1-82; HSU 4-1983, f. & ef. 8-1-83; HSU 1-1984, f. 5-11-84,

ef. 5-14-84; Renumbered from 572-10-120; HSU 3-1987, f. 3-4-87, ef. 4-1-87;

HSU 6-1988, HSU 6-1988, f. 8-19-88, cert. ef. 9-1-88; HSU 3-1990(Temp), f.

& cert. ef. 3-1-90; HSU 12-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-90; HSU 3-1994, f. &

cert. ef. 3-31-94

572-011-0030
Refunds and Replacement of Parking Permits

(1)(a) Monthly payroll deductions will not be refundable
except for the current pay period. There will be no retroactive
refunds — It is the responsibility of each person to verify their
payroll deduction and notify the Parking/Traffic Management
Office within five days of any error. All permits must be returned
prior to the 20th of the month in order to stop participation in the
parking program and subsequent payroll deductions. A temporary
permit will be issued for the balance of the paid month;

(b) Students or staff who have paid cash for parking on a
quarterly basis may receive a pro-rata refund from the
Parking/Traffic Management Office if the permit is returned
within ten days from the start of the term. Students or staff who
have paid cash for annual parking are eligible for pro-rata refunds
upon return of their parking permit. Pro-rating will only be for
successive months already paid after the return of the OHSU
permit.

(c) Maternity/Sabbatical Leave. All stickers/ permits for all
vehicles must be turned in to the Parking/Traffic Management
Office prior to the taking of a maternity or sabbatical leave to
receive a pro-rated refund of prepaid parking fees, or to stop
automatic payroll deductions;
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(d) Vacations. No refunds are offered for vacations, as that
time away from OHSU is built into the anticipated parking lot
usage/fee schedule.

(2) Permit holders must report lost or stolen permits to the
Parking/Traffic Management Office as soon as the loss is
discovered. Regular and evening/night shift permits will be
replaced for a $25 service charge. All stolen/lost permits must be
reported on a Report Form prior to replacement. Any vehicle
found to have a permit which has been reported lost or stolen is
subject to citation, and/or impoundment at the owner’s expense.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.360

Hist.: UOD 16, f. 8-30-76, ef. 9-1-76; HSC 9-1979, f. 10-12-79, ef. 11-1-79;

HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81; HSC 6-1982, f. & ef. 7-1-82; HSC 10-

1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; HSU 1-1984, . 5-11-84, ef. 5-14-84; Renumbered

from 572-10-160; HSU 12-1990, . & cert. ef. 7-26-90; HSU 3-1994, f. & cert.

ef. 3-31-94

572-011-0035
Enforcement

(1) Campus parking enforcement regulations are in effect 24
hours a day, seven days a week.

(2) It is unlawful for any person to refuse or fail to comply
with any lawful order, signal or direction of any traffic officer
displaying an official badge and vested by law with the authority
to direct, control or regulate traffic or parking on campus.

(3) Tickets issued by the University will be payable in full to
the OHSU Parking/Traffic Management Office within ten days of
the ticket date. Failure to pay within ten days will result in the
amount doubling. In lieu of payment faculty, staff, students, and
visitors may petition to the Parking/Traffic Management Director,
as described in OAR 572-011-0045 Parking Appeals if such
appeal is made within ten days of issue date. If appeal is not made
within the specified ten days, all rights to further appeal will be
forfeited.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.360

Hist.: UOD 16, f. 8-30-76, ef. 9-1-76; HSC 9-1979, f. 10-12-79, ef. 11-1-79;

HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81; HSU 1-1984, f. 5-11-84, ef. 5-14-84;

Renumbered from 572-10-145 & 572-10-150; HSU 5-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85;

HSU 12-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-90; HSU 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-31-94

572-011-0040
Penalties for Offenses

(1) Citations for both single and multiple offenses will be
issued with fines as specified in the Oregon Health Sciences
University Schedule of Fines for the following offenses:

(a) Overtime Limit;

(b) Improper Display of Permit:

(c) lllegal Use/Altered Permits;

(d) Unauthorized Zone;

(e) Expired /No Permit;

(f) Unauthorized Use of Patient Parking Structure;

(g) No Parking Anytime;

(h) More Than One Car on Campus;

(1) Improper Parking;

(j) Student/Staff at Meters;

(k) 24 Hour Restricted Zone;

(1) Impoundment Fee;

(m) No DMV Handicap Permit Displayed.

(2) If no action is taken (either in the form of payment or
written petition to the appropriate authority) within the times
specified on the citation, fines will be deducted from faculty or
staff salaries, student deposits, or other funds in the possession of
the institution, as provided by ORS 352.360(2). Right to further
appeal will then be forfeited.

(3) Patients and visitors to campus may choose to appeal
citations through the campus appeals process. If no action is taken
(either in the form of appeal or payment) within the specified
times, enforcement of the citation will be turned over to the
District Court, and the vehicle may be restricted from parking on
campus.

(4) Repeated violation of parking regulations may result in a
parker’s termination from the parking program, and/or citation,
and/or towing.

(5) In cases involving repeat violations, unlawful parking
which creates a traffic hazard, or other circumstances identified by
a Campus Patrol Officer, vehicles may be booted, towed, and/or
impounded; thus subjecting the vehicle operator to storage and
towing fees in addition to penalties. Tampering with or
destruction of an impoundment lock may result in criminal
charges being brought against the violator.

(6) The penalty for violation of the bicycle parking rules will
be impoundment of the bicycle. Impoundment may involve the
destruction of the operator’s locking device. It may be reclaimed
by contacting the Parking/Traffic Management Office and after
paying the fine you will receive a release to claim property. If
bicycle is not claimed within ten days it will be sold by the
Parking/Traffic Management Office in order to recoup storage
charges.

(7)(a) Towing and Impoundment. Vehicles in violation of
parking or payment regulations are, in addition to penalties
provided herein, subject to being towed away or impounded.
Release of towed or impounded vehicle will be made upon
payment of all outstanding fines to the Parking/Traffic
Management Office;

(b) Tow Notice. A vehicle having any outstanding parking
citations may be subject to a Tow Notice and subsequent tow;

(c) Vehicles remaining on University property, including
mechanical break-downs, for more than 72 hours without a proper
permit or notification to the Parking/Traffic Management Office
will be considered abandoned and removed at owner’s expense.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in

this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University — Vice

President.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.360

Hist.: UOD 16, f. 8-30-76, ef. 9-1-76; HSC 9-1979, f. 10-12-79, ef. 11-1-79;

HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81; HSC 6-1982, f. & ef. 7-1-82; HSC 10-

1982, f. & ef. 10-20-82; HSU 1-1984, f. 5-11-84, ef. 5-14-84; Renumbered

from 572-10-130 and 572-10-155; HSU 5-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85; HSU 5-1986,

f. 10-30-86, ef. 11-1-86; HSU 12-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-90; HSU 3-1994, {.

& cert. ef. 3-31-94

572-011-0045
Parking Appeals

(1) Faculty, staff and students of OHSU may appeal any
parking citation. Petitions of appeal shall be presented in writing
on an Appeals Form to the Parking/Traffic Management Director
within ten days of the citation date.

(2) The Parking/Traffic Management Director or designee
will issue a written response to the petitioner. After the petitioner
receives this response, the petitioner may within five days, file a
second appeal and either request a meeting with the
Parking/Traffic Management Director to discuss any factors
pertaining directly to the citation which they feel were not
considered or request a review by the University Parking Appeals
Board.

(3) The Parking/Traffic Management Director will have the
authority to:

(a) Dismiss the citation;

(b) Reduce the penalty of the citation;

(c) Issue a reprimand or warning and suspend full or partial
payment of the citation;

(d) Make recommendations to the Vice President as to the
restriction or suspension of driving and parking privileges on
campus;

(e) Refer the matter to the Parking Appeals Board;

(f) Uphold the citation as written.

(4)(a) Should the second appeal petition request a hearing
with the University Parking Appeals Board, the appeal will be
heard at the next regularly scheduled meeting. The petitioner must
demonstrate that the decision of the Parking Director was
unreasonable, arbitrary, or unsup-ported by evidence. The
decision of the Board will be final;

(b) No further appeal is allowed after deter-mination of the
second appeal; and the petitioner will have ten days in which to
pay the fine before the University takes action. Payments for fines
after ten days will be twice the original amount.
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(5) The Parking Appeals Board shall consist of five persons
selected from the University Parking Committee. A quorum shall
be three members. Appointments to the Board shall be made by
the Vice President. A majority vote of the members present is
needed to overturn the decision of the Parking/Traffic
Management Director. The Parking Appeals Board may:

(a) Confirm the Parking/Traffic Management Director’s
decision and uphold the citation as written;

(b) Provide information to prevent repetition of the offense,
issue a reprimand or warning, and dismiss payment;

(c) Reduce citation fine.

(6) The Parking Appeals Board shall meet regularly, on a
timely basis, to review parking citation appeals.

(7) Patients and visitors to campus may choose to appeal
citations through the campus appeals process. If they choose do
so, all decisions of the process will be binding. All citation fines
must be paid within the required time limits. If a citation is
reduced, dismissed or suspended an appropriate refund will be
made.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352.360

Hist.: HSU 1-1984, f. 5-11-84, ef. 5-14-84; HSU 12-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-

90; HSU 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-31-94

572-011-0060
Vehicular Safety, Operation, and Maintenance Policy

(1) The Oregon Health Sciences University is committed to
taking every practical step which will result in providing safe,
vehicular transportation for faculty, staff, and students traveling
on University approved business. This rule is adopted in
accordance with the requirement of the Oregon State Board of
Higher Education embodied in OAR 580-040-0030 that each state
system institution enact travel safety rules that are consistent with
that of the Board.

(2) This rule shall apply to all vehicles used for University
business, whether owned by or loaned to the state, and to private
vehicles owned or used by the employee/driver or student/driver,
if carrying passengers on University business.

(3) No person convicted within the past three years of a
major traffic offense as defined in ORS 153.500 shall be permitted
to drive vehicles owned by or loaned to the state for University
approved business, or to drive a private vehicle, if carrying
passengers on University business. A major traffic offense, as
defined in ORS 153.500, includes:

(a) Reckless driving as defined in ORS 811.140;

(b) Driving while under the influence of intoxicants, as
defined in ORS 813.010;

(c) Failure to perform the duties of a driver involved in an
accident or collision, as defined in ORS 811.700 or 811.705;

(d) Criminal driving while suspended or revoked, as defined
in ORS 811.182;

(e) Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer, as defined
in ORS 811.540.

(4) Vehicles loaned to the state shall be covered by insurance
approved by the Office of Administra-tion.

(5) Travel on University business in private vehicles owned
or used by an employee/driver or a student/driver shall be
authorized only in accordance with Department of Administrative
Services rules and upon condition that the driver waive any and all
liability which may accrue to the Board of Higher Education
because of the driver’s failure to abide by the travel safety rules
required under OAR 580-040-0030.

(6) All vehicles owned by or loaned to the state and all
private vehicles owned or used by an employee/driver or a
student/driver carrying passengers traveling on University
approved business shall be equipped with operable seat belts for
every person to be transported; an emergency reflector kit; flares;
an ice scraper; an operable flashlight; service station credit cards,
except in private vehicles owned or used by an employee/ driver
or a student/driver; a first aid kit; accident reporting blanks; and
instructions for handling emergencies. Exceptions to requirements
that vehicles carry emergency reflector kits, flares, flashlights,
service station credit cards, shall be made for vehicles used only
within the campus boundaries or for trips to locations within the

community around the campus.

(7) Employees or students driving private cars carrying
passengers on University business shall be expected to certify
through a signed statement filed annually with the departmental
office (employees) or with the appropriate Dean’s office
(students) that their vehicle is equipped as is specified in section
(6) of this rule; that to the best of the driver’s knowledge the car is
in good repair; that the driver holds a valid U.S. driver’s license;
and that the driver has not been convicted within the past three
years of a major traffic offense as defined in ORS 153.500.

(8) Employees traveling on University business in state,
loaned, or private vehicles shall file a trip itinerary with their
office.

(9) Employees or student drivers of cars owned by or loaned
to the state carrying passengers on University business shall be
expected to certify through a signed statement filed in the course
of checking out a car prior to the beginning of the trip that the
driver holds a valid U.S. driver’s license and has not been
convicted within the past three years of a major traffic offense as
defined in ORS 153.500.

(10) In the event of an injury accident, the Vice President or
a designee shall attempt to notify next of kin of the injured
employee of the accident and the Dean or a designee of the
respective school in which an injured student is enrolled shall
attempt to notify next of kin of the injured student.

(11) The University may require private cars driven by
employees or students which carry passengers on University
business to be equipped with approved traction devices depending
on weather conditions.

(12) State owned vehicles and loaned vehicles available
through the OHSU motor pool shall be equipped as prescribed in
section (6) of this rule. Such vehicles shall be subjected to
periodic safety inspections and shall be given appropriate
maintenance. Before being released to an authorized driver,
vehicles available through the OHSU motor pool shall be checked
for fuel, oil, tire conditions, any other visible maintenance
problem, and for the presence of equipment identified in section
(6) of this rule. Additional equipment including tire chains,
civilian band radios, and trauma kits shall be available for use in
OHSU vehicles to be driven long distances.

(13) OHSU shall make available for check-out a small
number of kits containing safety equipment described in section
(6) of this rule to drivers of private cars traveling on University
approved business. Additional equipment including tire chains,
civilian band radios, and trauma kits also shall be available in
small numbers for check-out by drivers of private cars who are
driving a long distance on University approved business.

(14) OHSU owned vehicles and vehicles loaned to the state
shall not be released when weather conditions are adverse and
pose an undue risk to the safety and welfare of the vehicle
occupants.

(15) OHSU owned vehicles and vehicles loaned to the state
shall not be driven at night over hazardous roads in adverse
weather conditions.

(16) Authorized drivers of OHSU owned vehicles or vehicles
loaned to the state shall make
provision for a relief driver on trips involving four or more hours
of travel without a break. Drivers shall be encouraged to drive no
more than two hours without a rest break, where it is practical to
do so.

(17) The University shall enroll employees whose primary
job duty is driving in an appropriate defensive driving course.

(18) The University shall review periodically the records of
accidents involving OHSU owned vehicles as well as vehicles
loaned to OHSU. Should it appear that certain drivers have been
involved in a disproportionate number of accidents, the University
shall require that these individuals successfully complete a
defensive driving course before allowing them to drive on
institutional business in a state car or to carry passengers on
institutional business in a private car.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070

Hist.: HSU 1-1986, f. 3-4-86, ef. 3-15-86; HSU 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-31-94
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DIVISION 12

PROCEDURE FOR TERMINATION FOR CAUSE OF A
HOUSE OFFICER

572-012-0005
Introduction

(1) Whereas each University Hospital house officer (intern,
resident, or fellow), hereinafter referred to as house officer,
successfully completing a course of training at the Oregon Health
Sciences University is certified to be competent to perform the
duties of a physician or other professional; and

(2) Whereas a certain level of competence is required to
perform the duties of a physician or other professional; and

(3) Whereas certain types of behavior and conduct are not
compatible with performing the duties of a physician or other
professional;

(4) Therefore the Oregon Health Sciences University may
terminate the appointment of any house officer demonstrated not
to have the level of competency required for the performance of
duties assigned to him/her or for behavior or conduct proscribed
by the rules of the Oregon State Department of Higher Education
and the Oregon Health Sciences University.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-200

572-012-0010
Definitions of Cause for Termination of a House Officer

Cause for termination of a house officer includes, but is not
limited to:

(1) Conviction of a felony.

(2) Obstruction or disruption of institutional activities.

(3) Malicious damage, misuse, or theft of institutional
property.

(4) Illegal use, possession, or distribution of drugs on
institutional property.

(5) Failure to perform the responsibilities of a house officer
toward patients and colleagues, including incompetency, gross
inefficiency, default of professional integrity, and intentional or
habitual neglect of duty.

(6) Other conduct proscribed by Administrative Rule OAR
580-022-0245 of the Oregon State Board of Higher Education.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-205; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-012-0015
Initiation of Formal Proceedings
If the Director of the University Hospital of the Oregon
Health Sciences University shall determine to his or her satisfac-
tion that there is probable cause to terminate the appointment of a
house officer, the Director shall authorize the preparation of
formal written charges. The charges shall state specifically the
facts alleged to be the cause for termination. Within ten days after
the authorization to prepare formal written charges, they shall be
filed with the Director of the University Hospital. A copy shall be
delivered personally or sent by certified mail to the house officer.
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;
Renumbered from 572-10-210; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-012-0020
Temporary Suspension of a House Officer

If at any time during the pendency of the charges against a
house officer the Director of the University Hospital finds that
there is danger that the house officer’s continued performance of
duty presents a hazard to the institution or its patients, students, or
staff, the Director of the University Hospital may suspend the
house officer without financial penalty from any or all duties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-215; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-012-0025
Request for Formal Hearing

Within ten days after the delivery or mailing of the formal
written charges to the house officer, the house officer will file in
writing to the Director of the University Hospital whether he/she
desires a formal hearing on the charges. If the house officer
requests in writing that he/she not have a formal hearing, the
Director of the University Hospital may then terminate the
appointment of the house officer and give written notice thereto to
the house officer terminated. The date of termination shall be no
sooner than 10 days from the date of the written notice from the
Director of the University Hospital and shall be specified in the
written notice. One month’s pay shall be given to the house
officer beyond the date of termination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist. UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-220; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-012-0030
Hearing Committee

Unless the house officer requests in writing that he/she not
have a formal hearing on the charges, such hearing shall be before
a special ad hoc committee of five members. Two members of
this committee shall be members of the house staff of the Oregon
Health Sciences University, appointed by the Director of Graduate
Medical Education. Two members of the hearing committee shall
be members of the active Medical Staff of the Oregon Health
Sciences University Hospital and shall be appointed by the
Executive Committee of the Medical Staff. The chairman of the
hearing committee shall be a faculty member of one of the Basic
Science Departments of the School of Medicine of the Oregon
Health Sciences University and shall be appointed by the Dean of
the School of Medicine. The hearing committee shall be
constituted promptly and shall complete the hearing and its report
within thirty days of its constitution, if possible.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-225; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-012-0035
Conduct of Hearing

The committee shall set a date for the hearing giving
sufficient time to the house officer to prepare his/her case. Not
less than one week before the hearing date, the house officer shall
file with the committee any written statement of his/her case that
he/she elects to make. At the hearing, the testimony of witnesses
and other evidence concerning any disputed facts shall be received
by the committee. All testimony must be taken under oath or
affirmation by the witness from whom received. The chairman has
the authority to admininster an oath or affirmation. The house
officer shall have the right to appear and to participate in the
hearing and to present relevant evidence to the committee, and
he/she may be represented by counsel or any other advisor of
his/her choosing. Subpoenas may be issued on a showing by an
interested party of need, general relevancy and within reasonable
scope of the proceedings. An interested party may petition for an
order that the testimony of a material witness be taken by
deposition. Fees and mileage are to be paid by the Oregon Health
Sciences University Hospital as determined by applicable statutes.
The house officer and the person or persons bringing the charges
shall have the right to confront and cross-examine all witnesses
and reasonable opportunity to submit rebuttal testimony or other
evidence. At the conclusion of the testimony, each side may
present an oral or written summation. When the committee is
satisfied that all pertinent and available evidence has been
received, the hearing will be adjourned. At all times, the hearing
shall be under the control of the committee chairman and subject
to the procedure of the committee. A verbatim record of the
hearing shall be kept. At the adjournment of the hearing, the
committee will go into executive session for the purpose of
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deliberation.
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;
Renumbered from 572-10-230

572-012-0040
Committee Report

The committee, by agreement of at least a majority of the
members, shall make explicit findings and conclusions of law
based upon the hearing record with respect to each specification in
the formal charges, and shall, within ten days of the hearing,
submit a written report on their findings and conclusions of law
and a recommendation as to whether there should be a termination
of the appointment of the house officer. The Director of the
University Hospital and the house officer shall be given copies of
the findings and recommendations.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-235; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-012-0045
Action by the Director of the University Hospital of the
Oregon Health Sciences University

The Director of the University Hospital shall promptly, after
receipt of the committee’s report and after having a reasonable
opportunity to consult with the Dean of the School of Medicine
and the President of the Oregon Health Sciences University, give
the house officer written notice of his decision as to whether to
terminate the appointment of the house officer.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-240; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-012-0050
Date of Termination

If the appointment of the house officer is to be terminated,
the appointment shall not be terminated sooner than ten days
following the date of written notice from the Director of the
University Hospital and shall be specified in the written notice;
provided, however, that the house officer shall receive salary for
one month from the date of termination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-245; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-012-0055
No Reprisals

No employe of the Oregon Health Sciences University shall
be subject to reprimand or other adverse action by reason of
appearing as a witness or for participating as a member of a
committee in any of the proceedings provided for in these
procedures.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-250

572-012-0060
Personnel Record

No notations shall be made in the personnel record of a house
officer of any charges brought against him or her or any
investigation of the charges unless the charges are found to be fact
by the hearing committee through the procedures specified in this
document.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: UOD 14, f. & ef. 8-24-76; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;

Renumbered from 572-10-255; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

DIVISION 13
RESIDENCE HALL

572-013-0010

Purpose of Residence Hall Program

The Residence Hall program’s purpose is to extend
educational opportunity to students and to contribute to Oregon
Health Sciences University’s educational, research and patient
care mission.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 352.055

Hist.: HSU 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

572-013-0020
Access to Residence Hall Program

Students or authorized persons attending educational
activities at the University, or who are a part of the University’s
educational, research or patient care mission, are eligible to stay in
the Residence Hall. The Vice President of Academic Affairs or his
or her designee shall examine the qualifications of each person
who applies to the Residence Hall program, and shall approve or
deny an application utilizing the following criteria, however, for
good cause, an access exception may be made if it is in the best
interest of the University’s educational, research, or patient care
mission. For the purposes of this rule, the following definitions
will be used:

(1) “Student”. A student who is admitted and enrolled in an
academic degree program at the Oregon Health Sciences
University or Portland State University.

(2) “Authorized Person”:

(a) An undergraduate, graduate or post graduate student or
health professional who attends educational activities sponsored
by the University or who is a part of the University’s educational,
research, or patient care mission;

(b) A member of an educationally-related conference group
which has signed a contract with the University;

(c) A University Hospital patient, who contributes to the
University’s educational, research or patient care mission;

(d) An immediate family member of a University Hospital
patient, or an immediate family member of a Residence Hall
tenant, who is adjunct to the University’s educational, research or
patient care mission.

(3) “Tenant”. A student or authorized person who has signed
a long term tenancy Residence Hall Contract and who resides in
the Residence Hall for one month or longer.

(4) “Occupant”. A student or authorized person who has
signed a short term occupancy Residence Hall Contract and who
resides in the Residence Hall for less than one month.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 352.055

Hist.: HSU 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

572-013-0030
Assignment Priorities and Lengths of Stay

Room assignments shall generally be made utilizing the
following priority classifications. Priority classifications and
occupancy constraints shall govern lengths of stay. For good
cause, the Vice President of Academic Affairs or his or her
designee shall advance a priority or extend a stay if it is in the best
interest of the University’s educational, research, or patient care
mission. For the purposes of this rule, the following definitions
will be used:

(1) “First Priority”. An Oregon Health Sciences University or
Portland State University student, on a short term occupancy or
long term tenancy basis, for a maximum of four terms per
academic year.

(2) “Second Priority”. An authorized person who is an
undergraduate, graduate or post graduate student or a health
professional, on a short term occupancy or long tern tenancy
basis, for a maximum of four terms per academic year.

(3) “Third Priority”. An authorized person who is a member
of an educationally-related conference group which has signed a
contract with the University, on a short term occupancy basis, for
a maximum of four weeks.

(4) “Fourth Priority”. An authorized person who is a
University Hospital patient, on a short term occupancy basis, for a
maximum of two weeks.

(5) “Fifth Priority”. An authorized person who is an
immediate family member of a University Hospital patient, or an
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immediate family member of a Residence Hall tenant, on a short
term occupancy basis, for a maximum of two weeks.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 352.055

Hist.: HSU 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

572-013-0040
Rates of Charges and Deposits

(1) “Room Rates”. Based on provisions found in OAR 580-
040-0040, Residence Hall room rates are set by the Oregon State
Board of Higher Education following a public hearing. Room
rates will be available from the Residence Hall Director following
action by the Oregon State Board of Higher Education. The State
Board of Higher Education has the authority and reserves the right
to change room rates during the academic year.

(2) “Proration of Room Charges”:

(a) If a tenant or occupant moves into the Residence Hall
prior to the first day of classes or commencement of a University
sponsored educational activity, the tenant or occupant shall pay to
the University for each day a daily charge based on 1/30th of the
selected Residence Hall Contract monthly rate;

(b) The date on which the tenant or occupant officially
checks out of the Residence Hall will be used to determine the
proration of charges rather than the date on which the tenant or
occupant withdraws from an academic degree program at the
Oregon Health Sciences University or Portland State University,
or from an Oregon Health Sciences University sponsored
educational activity. The tenant or occupant shall pay to the
University for each day a daily charge based on one thirtieth of
the selected Residence Hall Contract monthly rate. In no case,
however, will the proration of charges be based on a check-out
date earlier than the date the tenant or occupant officially
withdrew from an academic degree program at the Oregon Health
Sciences University or Portland State University or from an
Oregon Health Sciences University sponsored educational
activity.

(3) “Rent Payments”. Rent is due the first of each month
from tenants. A $15 charge shall be assessed to a Residence Hall
tenant on the 15th of the month, unless the Residence Hall
Director is notified that the rent payment will be late. For late
receipt of financial aid monies, a tenant shall sign a non-interest
bearing promissory note payable to the Oregon Health Sciences
University and signed and delivered to the Residence Hall
Director. Occupants staying at the OHSU Residence Hall on a
short term basis shall pay room charges in full on the first day of
occupancy, unless prior arrangements have been made with and
approved by the Residence Hall Director.

(4) “Deposits”. A deposit specified in the Oregon Health
Sciences University Residence Hall Contract shall be assessed to
each Residence Hall tenant as an application fee/security deposit
for the faithful performance by the tenant of all terms, covenants,
and conditions of the Residence Hall Contract, to include
occupancy during the entire Contract period.

(5) “Social Fee”. A $15 social fee charge shall be assessed
each academic year to a tenant who has signed a three or four term
Residence Hall Contract.

(6) “Keys and Entry Cards”. A $25 charge shall be assessed
to a tenant or occupant for each lost key and entry card. No refund
shall be given to a tenant or occupant for a key or entry card
returned more than two days after he or she vacated the Residence
Hall.

(7) “Laundry Facility Charge”. Each month, a $5 laundry
charge will be assessed to each tenant for use of the laundry
facilities. The laundry charge shall be prorated at $1.25 per week
when a tenant moves in or moves out of the Residence Hall. An
occupant staying in the Residence Hall for more than two
consecutive days shall pay the weekly charge of $1.25 for use of
the laundry facilities.

(8) “Contract Termination Charge”. A charge specified in the
Residence Hall Contract will be assessed to a tenant who is
evicted from, moves from, or otherwise leaves the Residence Hall,
but is not released from the Residence Hall Contract or does not
withdraw from an academic degree program at the Oregon Health
Sciences University or Portland State University or an Oregon

Health Sciences University sponsored educational activity.
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 352.055
Hist.: HSU 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

572-013-0050
Residence Hall Housing Rules

(1) “General Rules”. Each Residence Hall tenant or occupant
shall abide by all federal laws, Oregon laws, Portland city
ordinances, Oregon State Board of Higher Education rules or
policies, and all University rules and policies. The Residence Hall
Director shall have the authority to define and adopt general
housekeeping, public safety, good neighbor, and miscellaneous
housing policies.

(2) “Behavior”. Good judgement, personal honesty, and
common sense are expected of each tenant or occupant staying in
the Residence Hall.

(3) “Alcoholic Beverages”. In compliance with Oregon State
Law, each Residence Hall tenant or occupant must be 21 years of
age or older to possess or consume any alcoholic beverage.
Excessive use or drunkenness is prohibited. No alcoholic
beverages are allowed in common areas on the Residence Hall
premises during sponsored events, unless an alcohol permit form
has been applied for an authorized in writing by the Vice
President of Academic Affairs or his or her designee, and a copy
of which has been submitted to the Residence Hall Director.
Violations may result in University disciplinary action.

(4) “Appliances”:

(a) The following appliances are prohibited in Residence
Hall rooms:

(A) Heating or cooking appliances;

(B) Sun lamps;

(C) Air conditioners.

(b) Refrigerators are allowable if counter size (2.5 cubic feet
maximum). Electric toaster ovens, toasters, crock pots, microwave
ovens, and frying pans may be used in kitchen areas only.

(5) “Flammables”. Open flames such as candles, lab burners,
or torches are prohibited, as they create a fire hazard.

(6) “Laundry Facilities”. Laundry facilities are only for the
use of tenants and occupants of the Residence Hall.

(7) “Noise”. Each Residence Hall tenant or occupant is
expected to be considerate of other residents at all times. This
means respecting anothers right to sleep, study, and generally not
to be disturbed. Quiet hours are from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. Sunday
through Thursday, and 12 a.m. to 6 a.m. on Fridays and
Saturdays.

(8) “Personal Property”. Each Residence Hall tenant or
occupant is responsible for the custody and security of his or her
personal belongings at all times. The University is not responsible
for loss or damage of personal property in the Residence Hall due
to fire, theft, water or interruptions of water, heat, or other utilities
or resulting from any other cause.

(9) “Pets”. Except for fish in aquariums, pets are prohibited
in the Residence Hall.

(10) “Damages/Loss”. Each Residence Hall tenant or
occupant is financially responsible for the general condition of the
room and equipment assigned to him or her, including loss and
damages, and shall keep the assigned room, equipment and
fixtures free from damage. The tenant or occupant shall reimburse
the University for any costs, expenses or liabilities resulting from
damage to the assigned room, fixtures, equipment, or Residence
Hall common areas by the tenant or occupant or guest(s) or
invitees of the tenant or occupant.

(11) “Drugs”. Controlled substances not prescribed by a
physician are prohibited on the Residence Hall premises.

(12) “Smoking”. Each Residence Hall tenant or occupant
may only smoke in the privacy of his or her own room. Smoking
is expressly prohibited in all common areas of the Residence Hall.

(13) “Fire Safety Equipment”. Tampering with fire safety
equipment (smoke alarms, pull stations, hoses, sprinklers, room
signs, etc.) or setting off fire alarms is prohibited and punishable
by eviction. Fire escapes shall be used only in emergency
situations.

(14) “Firearms”. Firearms and dangerous weapons are
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prohibited in the Residence Hall.

(15) “Fireworks”. Possession of fireworks, volatile
chemicals, or explosives are prohibited in the Residence Hall.

(16) “Room Painting, Remodeling and Repairs”. The tenant
or occupant is not permitted to paint, remodel, or repair any
Residence Hall rooms or common area without written permission
from the Residence Hall Director. Any needed repair work or
damaged equipment or fixtures shall be reported promptly to the
Residence Hall Director. The tenant or occupant may
individualize his or her living area, but shall not create safety, fire
or health hazards.

(17) “Roof Access”. Access to the Residence Hall room is
prohibited, and a tenant or occupant staying in the Residence Hall
who is found on the roof is subject to eviction. A $50 charge shall
also be assessed.

(18) “Single Rooms”. Single rooms are limited. If available
single rooms have not been assigned, incoming tenants will be
given single rooms based on the date they move into the building
contingent upon their commitment to a three or four term
Residence Hall Contract. If there are more tenants requesting
single rooms than there is space available, and a three or four term
Residence Hall Contract has been signed, a tenant will be placed
on the Single Room Waiting List. The priority of the list is based
on the move-in date of the tenants waiting; i.e., the earlier a tenant
has moved in, the higher he or she is on the waiting list. In the
absence of single room availability, an incoming tenant, even if he
or she has requested a single room, will be given a double room,
will be charged the double room rate, and will be subject to
having a roommate. Tenants signing a Residence Hall Contract
for less than three terms are not eligible for a single room. An
exception to this priority list rule may occur during Summer term
when occupancy is low and single rooms may be rented without
displacing tenants, conference attendees, or other occupants
provided that the tenant shall be reassigned to a double room
during the subsequent Fall term, thus returning the tenant to his or
her former status on the Single Room Waiting List. For good
cause, the Vice President of Academic Affairs or his or her
designee may advance a tenant or occupant on the Single Room
Waiting List if it is in the best interest of the University’s
educational, research or patient care mission.

(19) “Room Assignments”. The Residence Hall Director may
make assignments and reassignments of room accommodations at
any time during any term.

(20) “Rights of Entry”. The University shall have reasonable
access to a tenant’s or occupant’s assigned room and at reasonable
times for the purpose of performing any of the University’s
responsibilities with regard to maintenance, cleaning, replacement
and repairs of utilities and fixtures on or about the premises, for
the purpose of inspecting the premises to determine whether a
tenant or occupant is complying with all of the terms and
conditions of the Residence Hall Contract, for locating missing
common area furniture and fixtures, and for the purpose of
performing any work in those premises which may be necessary
by reason of the tenant’s or occupant’s default under the terms of
the Residence Hall Contract. The University shall have an
absolute right of entry to the tenant’s or occupant’s assigned room
whenever the University reasonably believes that emergency
conditions exist which might threaten the health, safety, welfare or
property of the University, the tenant or occupant, or other tenants
and occupants living in the Residence Hall.

(21) “Contract Renewal”. The University reserves the right
not to renew a Residence Hall Contract with any tenant or
occupant.

(22) “Previous Contracts”. The Residence Hall Contract, as
executed each academic year, or for the purposes of short term
occupancy, supercedes and replaces all prior housing Contracts
between the University and the tenant or occupant.

(23) “Cancellation of Residence Hall Contract”. Cancellation
of the Residence Hall Contract at the request of a Residence Hall
tenant shall occur upon submission to and approval by the
Residence Hall Director of a completed Contract Waiver Form.

(24) “Termination of Residence Hall Contract”. Termination
of the Residence Hall Contract with any Residence Hall tenant or

occupant shall be for late arrivals/no shows, for default or breach
of Residence Hall Contract, for non-admission and enrollment in
an academic degree program at the Oregon Health Sciences
University or Portland State University, academic disqualification
or suspension from Oregon Health Sciences University or
Portland State University, or for withdrawal from an Oregon
Health Sciences University sponsored educational activity.

(25) “Notice of Eviction”. Any Residence Hall tenant or
occupant who violates any federal law, Oregon law, Portland city
ordinance, Oregon State Board of Higher Education rule or policy,
or any University rule and policy or the Residence Hall contract
may be subject to eviction.

(26) “Legal Costs”. A Residence Hall tenant or occupant
shall pay all costs of proceedings by the University for recovery of
the possession of the premises, or for the enforcement of any
terms and conditions of the Residence Hall Contract, including
reasonable attorneys fees at trial or upon appeal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 352.055

Hist.: HSU 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93

DIVISION 14

STUDENT ACTIVITIES BUILDING

572-0140-005
Student Activities Building Guest Fee
The Schedule of Fees of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for use by guests of the Student Activities Building is
hereby adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the OHSU Vice President.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: HSC 1-1979, f. 1-31-79, ef. 2-1-79; HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81;
Renumbered from 572-10-400; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-0140-010
Student Activities Building Fee Schedule, Equipment Rental,
and Course Fees
The Student Activities Building Fee, Equipment Rental,
and Course Fees Schedules for the Oregon Health Sciences
University are hereby adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the OHSU Vice President.
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: HSC 4-1979, f. 6-21-79, ef. 7-1-79; HSC 9-1980, f. 12-30-80, ef. 1-1-81;
HSC 5-1981, f. 7-29-81, ef. 8-1-81; HSC 6-1981, f. 8-20-81, ef. 9-1-81;
Renumbered from 572-10-405; HSU 4-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

DIVISION 15

UNCLASSIFIED STAFF GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE
(Other Than Discrimination Complaints)

572-015-0005
Resolution of Grievances

(1) The following procedures are intended to provide an
aggrieved person who is a member of the unclassified staff at
Oregon Health Sciences University (or a recently terminated
employee, i.e., within one month), and for whom no other
grievance procedure exists with an opportunity to have the
grievance examined by an appropriate group of colleagues.
Unclassified staff means:

(a) Teaching Faculty;

(b) Administrative Faculty; and

(c) Research Assistants and Associates;

(d) Resolution of a grievance shall be sought as quickly as
possible within the framework of these rules.

(2) The following procedures fulfill OHSU’s obligations
under OAR 580-021-0050 to adopt grievance procedures for
academic employees. These procedures apply to all members of
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the unclassified staff of OHSU, including those who are not acting
in an academic role. However, the Medical Board of the
University Hospital may establish grievance procedure bylaws for
members of the medical staff for actions relating to the member’s
clinical appointment at the University Hospital. These rules shall
govern in the absence of any grievance procedures adopted or
addressed in the by laws of the Medical Board.

(3) These procedures apply to persons who have a grievance
as defined by OAR 580-021-0050(2). They are not available to
grieve or appeal sanctions for cause. Detailed procedures covering
sanctions for cause are provided in the Administrative Rules of
the Oregon State Board of Higher Education. This grievance
procedure also is not intended for use in cases involving
affirmative action or discrimination grievances. A separate
grievance procedure applies to these grievances. It is also not
intended for use in the case of termination of tenured faculty due
to program elimination or reduction. The University procedure for
program elimination or reduction includes an appeal process.

(4) The Institution may elect not to proceed with a grievance
if the grievant also seeks resolution in another forum.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 7-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 1-1990, f. 2-13-90, cert. ef. 2-9-90

572-015-0010
Grievance Panel

(1) A 50 member Grievance Panel shall be selected from:

(a) Teaching Faculty, as represented by the Faculty Senate;

(b) Administrative Faculty; and

(c) Research Assistants and Research Associates;

(d) Each group shall have proportional representation on the
Panel based on the size of each group as determined by the Office
of Academic Affairs. Members from Teaching Faculty will be
selected by the Faculty Senate. Members from the Administrative
Faculty and from the Research Assistants and Associate group
will be selected by a process each group develops. Lacking that,
they will be appointed by the President or his designee.

(2) The President of the University, or his designee, shall
convene and charge the Grievance Panel. The Panel shall elect
from among its members a Chair and a Vice Chair. The Chair and
Vice Chair shall serve two year terms. The Vice Chair shall
succeed the Chair for a two year term following the end of the
Chair’s term. Upon the succession, the Panel shall elect a new
Vice Chair. The Chair and Vice Chair may not be from the same
school or affiliated units.

(3) Grievance Panel members shall serve for four year terms.
Individuals are eligible to be reappointed for a second term after
which a period of at least one year must elapse before they are
eligible to be reappointed. Each constituent group will make new
appointments and/or reappoint-ments by the same mechanism
described in section (1) of this rule.

(4) If a Panel member cannot complete a term, the remaining
portion of the member’s term will be completed by an individual
from and appointed by the same constituent group as the resigning
member.

(5) When the Panel is initially formed, each constituent
group will designate approximately half of their appointees to
serve for a period of two years, and half to serve a full term of
four years. After two years, each person appointed to serve for this
period shall be eligible to be reappointed for a full four year term.
Those members who are reappointed shall have the same
limitations on reappointment as described in section (3) of this
rule.

(6) A Panel member who is serving on a Hearing Committee
considering a grievance at the time the appointment to the Panel
expires, shall continue to serve in this capacity until the grievance
has been adequately resolved, even though a replacement on the
Grievance Panel has been appointed.

(7) The Panel is empowered to set its own rules regarding
internal operations, such as replacing a Chair who resigns.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 7-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 1-1990, f. 2-13-90, cert. ef. 2-9-90

572-015-0015
Initiation of Grievance Procedures

(1) A person who has a grievance shall bring the grievance to
the attention of an appropriate individual (i.e., immediate
supervisor, advisor, department chairman, or appropriate
administrator) within 20 week days from the date that the grievant
knew or should have known of the alleged grievance. Upon being
notified of the matter, the appropriate individual will arrange for a
meeting, at a time convenient to the grievant, but within five
working days of notification.

(2) If the grievant is unable to resolve the grievance to the
grievant’s satisfaction, the grievant may file a grievance with any
of the following designated individuals or offices: Office of
Academic Affairs, Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity
Department, Chairman of the Grievance Panel, or acting
representative of the Chairman of the Grievance Panel. The
grievant will briefly describe the nature of the grievance and the
nature of the redress which the grievant is seeking. The grievant
also will choose whether to enter the informal process (OAR 572-
015-0020) or the formal process (OAR 572-015-0025).

(3) All grievances will be forwarded to the Affirmative
Action/Equal Opportunity Department to determine whether the
grievance should be classified as a discrimination complaint.

(4) The Chair of the Grievance Panel, with the assistance of
the Office of Academic Affairs, will ascertain that the person or
persons being grieved against have been properly identified.

(5) The Vice President for Academic Affairs may waive the
time limits of section (1) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 7-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 1-1990, f. 2-13-90, cert. ef. 2-9-90

572-015-0020
Informal Procedure

(1) The Chair of the Grievance Panel, in conjunction with the
Office of Academic Affairs, will appoint a mediator or mediators
acceptable to both parties within five week days of receipt of the
grievance. In the event the parties fail to agree to one of the
nominated mediator(s) the Vice-President for Academic Affairs or
the Vice-President’s designee may declare mediation unsuccessful
in which case the grievance shall move to the next stage of the
grievance procedure. The mediator and the two parties will meet
within the next ten working days to discuss the problem. Further
meetings will continue to be arranged as long as the mediator and
both parties believe that progress is being made. The mediator will
apprise the Chair of the Grievance Panel every 20 working days of
the progress being made.

(2) The grievant will be informed by the mediator of the
grievant’s right to have a resolution of the grievance within 180
calendar days of having filed a grievance. The grievant will also
be informed that by entering the informal process, it is possible to
take longer than 180 days, but that no other internal administrative
rights accorded to the grievant will be lost by attempting to
resolve the grievance through the informal process. Additionally,
the grievant may at any time choose to enter the formal procedure
(OAR 572-015-0025) which shall be concluded in no more than
180 days of entering the formal procedure.

(3) If a satisfactory resolution is reached, the mediator will
prepare a statement for both parties to sign. The statement will
include a summary of the grievance and the agreed to resolution.
A copy of the agreement will be given to both parties, the Office
of Academic Affairs, and the Chair of the Grievance Panel.

(4) The Office of Academic Affairs will be responsible for
overseeing the implementation of the agreement.

(5) The mediator may withdraw from nego-tiations if the
mediator believes that an acceptable resolution is not likely to
occur. If the mediator decides to withdraw, the mediator will
inform both parties, the Chair of the Grievance Panel, and the
Office of Academic Affairs. The Chair then has five week days to
either appoint another mediator, with the help of the Office of
Academic Affairs, or to inform both parties that the Chair is
terminating the informal procedure.
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(6) Whenever the informal procedure is terminated without a
resolution, the mediator will prepare a written report within ten
week days of the termination. The report will include:

(a) A summary of the grievance;

(b) A summary of the information gathered by the mediator;

(c) A recommendation concerning the merits of the
grievance; and

(d) any recommended remedial action.

(7) The report will also inform the grievant of the grievant’s
right to file a formal grievance and explain to the grievant the
steps necessary to accomplish this as described in OAR 572-015-
0025(1). A copy of the report will be sent to both parties and the
Chair of the Grievance Panel. If the grievant chooses to enter the
formal grievance process, the report will also be sent to the
Hearing Committee assigned to the grievance under OAR 572-
015-0025.

(8) When the informal grievance procedure is terminated
without a resolution, the grievant has ten week days after
receiving the mediator’s written report as described in section (6)
of this rule to file a formal grievance as described in OAR 572-
015-0025. The grievant may terminate the informal procedure by
informing the mediator in writing. The mediator will acknowledge
receipt of the termination notice in writing to both parties and the
Chair of the Grievance Panel.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 7-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 1-1990, f. 2-13-90, cert. ef. 2-9-90; HSU 2-1992(Temp), f. &

cert. ef. 1-14-92; HSU 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-11-92

572-015-0025
Initiation of a Formal Grievance Procedure

(1) To initiate the formal grievance procedure, the grievant
must file a written grievance with the Chair of the Grievance
Panel within either:

(a) 20 week days of the time the grievant’s first meeting with
the appropriate individual; or

(b) Within ten days of receiving the mediator’s report; or

(c) The Vice President for Academic Affairs may waive the
time limits of section (1) of this rule. To file the grievance, the
grievant will submit documentation describing the nature of the
grievance, a description of the circumstances under which the
grievance took place, and the redress which the grievant is seeking
to the Chair of the Grievance Panel.

(2) Upon being notified of the existence of a formal
grievance, the Chair of the Grievance Panel shall select a Hearing
Committee consisting of three to seven members of the Panel. The
Hearing Committee will attempt to resolve the matter. The size of
the committee will depend on the circumstances of the case in
question and will be determined by the Chair. If the Chair is
unable to act because of reasons set out in section (4) of this rule,
or if the Chair is unable to appoint a Hearing Committee in five
week days, or for any other reason, the Vice Chair shall select the
Hearing Committee. If neither the Chair nor the Vice Chair can
act in the allotted time, responsibility for committee selection
shall go to the most senior available member of the Panel. For this
purpose, seniority shall be determined first by length of service on
the Panel and second by alphabetical order of last name. This
seniority list will be maintained by the Office of Academic Affairs
and that office will notify the appropriate person so that a
grievance may be acted upon speedily.

(3) Use of the hearing committee must be at the grievant’s
option.

(4) Both parties to the grievance shall be accorded two
general peremptory challenges in which they may object to the
inclusion of a member selected to serve on the Hearing
Committee.

(5) Both parties shall be accorded two additional peremptory
challenges in which each party may object to the inclusion of a
member selected to serve on the Hearing Committee who is not a
member of either party’s constituent group as defined in OAR
572-015-0010(1). In this event, other members of the Panel will
be selected to serve on the Hearing Committee.

(6) Panel members are not eligible to serve on the Hearing

Committee if they belong to the same academic department or
office as either party, believe themselves to have a special interest
in, or have special knowledge of the grievance. The person
responsible for committee selection as described in section (2) of
this rule who fulfills any of the above conditions is disqualified
from the committee selection process, which will then be carried
out by the next most senior qualified member of the Panel.

(7) The Hearing Committee will be convened within ten
week days following receipt by the Grievance Panel Chair of the
grievant’s written complaint. The President, or his designee shall
instruct the hearing committee regarding the conduct of the
hearing and the scope of their authority.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 7-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 1-1990, f. 2-13-90, cert. ef. 2-9-90

572-015-0030
Hearing Procedure for a Formal Grievance

(1) At the first meeting, the Hearing Committee shall elect
one member to act as Chair until the grievance under
consideration has been resolved or until a recommended solution
has been forwarded to the appropriate administrative head as
defined in OAR 572-015-0040.

(2) The hearing will be open to the public at the option of the
grievant, to the extent allowed by law.

(3) The Committee will hear all sides of the matter and
review such documentation as is made available to it. All parties
to the grievance and individuals having custody of records, special
knowledge, or other factors relevant to the grievance, will be
expected to cooperate with the Hearing Committee, to supply any
relevant documentation it requests, and to appear before the
Committee if it so requests.

(4) Each party must have an opportunity to present argument
and the grievant has the right of rebuttal at the hearing.

(5) The grievance procedure outlined in this document is not
intended to be an adversarial legal procedure. However, at any
stage of the proceedings, each party to the grievance may be
accompanied by an advisor of that party’s choice. If authorized by
the party to the grievance and the Chair of the Committee, such
advisors may speak on the party’s behalf. A written summary of
this hearing must be maintained by the Committee. All parties to
the grievance have access to this summary. Each party is
responsible for the costs of that party’s representation.

(6) Besides its role as a fact finding body, the Hearing
Committee will attempt to mediate the grievance. Any time during
the hearing procedure that an acceptable resolution is reached, the
Hearing Committee will prepare a statement for both parties to
sign. The statement will include a summary of the grievance and
the agreed to resolution. A copy of the agreement will be given to
both parties, to the Office of Academic Affairs, and to the Chair
of the Grievance Panel.

(7) The Office of Academic Affairs will be responsible for
overseeing implementation of the agreement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 7-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 1-1990, f. 2-13-90, cert. ef. 2-9-90

572-015-0035
Hearing Committee’s Report

(1) The hearing may be recorded and all parties to the
grievance shall have access to this recording.

(2) The Chair of the Hearing Committee will prepare a
written summary of each meeting. After amendments as
appropriate, each committee member will sign and thus attest to
the accuracy of these summaries. The summaries shall be
appended to the copy of the committee’s report which is sent to
the President of the university.

(3) If a satisfactory resolution is reached, the Chair of the
Hearing Committee will prepare a statement for both parties to
sign. The statement will include a summary of the grievance and
the agreed to resolution. A copy of the agreement will be given to
both parties, to the office of Academic Affairs, and to the Chair of
the Grievance Panel.
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(4) The Office of Academic Affairs will be responsible for
overseeing the implementation of the agreement.

(5) If a satisfactory resolution to the problem cannot be found
within 30 calendar days after convening the Hearing Committee,
then a written report from the committee shall be forwarded to the
President of the University. The report shall include:

(a) A report of the committee’s findings of fact in the matter;

(b) Written conclusions based only on the evidence presented
at the hearing;

(c) A list of solutions and/or compromises which have been
proposed to the parties to the grievance by the Hearing
Committee; and

(d) The recommended solution to the grievance. Copies of
the Hearing Committee’s report shall be forwarded to all parties to
the grievance.

(6) Each party will have ten working days after receipt of the
Hearing Committee’s Report to submit comments on the report to
the President of the University.

(7) The President will take action to resolve the grievance
within 20 week days of receiving the Hearing Committee’s report.

(8) If the President rejects or modifies the recommendation
of the Hearing Committee, the reasons shall be stated in writing
and a copy given to both parties to the grievance, the Hearing
Com-mittee, and the President of the Grievance Panel.

(9) A description of reports is already provided in situations
where the parties have already reached an acceptable resolution
(OAR 572-015-0020(3) for resolutions reached during the
informal process and OAR 572-015-0030(6) for resolutions
reached during the formal hearing procedure).

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 7-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 1-1990, f. 2-13-90, cert. ef. 2-9-90

572-015-0040
Appeals

The President’s decision may be appealed within ten week
days of receipt of the President’s decision to the Board of the
Oregon State System of Higher Education as specified in OAR
580-021-0055.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 7-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 1-1990, f. 2-13-90, cert. ef. 2-9-90

DIVISION 16

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES

572-016-0005
Introduction

(1) In accordance with the Affirmative Action Policy of the
Oregon Health Sciences University, the procedures that follow are
established to provide an opportunity to request and receive
consideration of any grievances relating to services and/or terms
and conditions of employment or education that are believed to be
the result of prohibited discrimination.

(2) The procedures described below are applicable to any
member of the public, student, trainee, employe or applicant for
educational programs, services or employment who believes that
she/he has been the victim of illegal discrimination on the basis of
race, color, religion, marital status, national origin, sex, age,
handicap, Vietnam era veteran’s status, or any other applicable
basis in Law. These procedures are promulgated for their
accessibility, simplicity, speed, and high standards of fairness in
seeking redress of perceived injustices. The Affirmative
Action/Equal Opportunity (AA/EO) Department shall provide
assistance to any person at any point in the process.

(3) Persons who make use of these procedures are entitled to
a fair hearing without fear of harassment or retaliation. Retaliation
of any kind taken against anyone as a result of that person’s using
or attempting to use these procedures, cooperating in an
investigation, or participating in any manner in any activities

under these procedures is prohibited and shall be regarded as a
separate and distinct grievable matter.

(4) These grievance procedures are intended to fulfill the
requirements of OAR 580-015-0015 and to provide a procedure
for nondisciplinary personnel decisions in matters of employment
discrimination pursuant to OAR Chapter 580, Division 21. The
Oregon Health Sciences University may elect not to proceed with
a grievance if the complainant also seeks resolution in another
forum.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 8-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 2-1990, f. & cert. ef.2-13-90

572-016-0010
The Affirmative Action Grievance Panel

(1) The Affirmative Action Grievance Panel shall be formed
to provide a pool from which Affirmative Action Grievance
Committees are appointed. The Grievance Committee has the
responsibilities specified under OAR 572-016-0015(3) STEP 3:
Committee Hearing, below.

(2) The Grievance Panel shall be composed of individuals
representing the diverse population of the University, including
racial/ethnic minorities and both sexes. The Panel shall include
representation from the following categories:

(a) Teaching faculty, administrative faculty, research
assistants and research associates who are members of the
Division 15 Grievance Panel shall also be members of this
grievance panel;

(b) Five students: one from each school, the graduate
programs and allied health programs;

(c) Ten classified-represented employes from bargaining
units that represent OHSU employes;

(d) Five from management service;

(e) A representative from the University Hospital Patient
Advocate’s Office;

(f) Two members of the executive staff.

(3) All representatives to the Panel are to be selected
according to the following guidelines:

(a) Every attempt shall be made to ensure that nominees
reflect the diverse population of the University;

(b) The groups of employes concerned and/or their
representatives shall be given adequate opportunity to express
interest and provide nominations of employes to serve on the
panel.

(c) The emphasis shall be on nominating able individuals
who are willing to serve;

(d) Students are nominated by the All-Hill Student Council;

(e) Classified-represented personnel, management service
personnel, executive staff personnel, and the patient advocate’s
representative shall be nominated by the Executive Staff and the
AA/EO Department;

(f) Except for the members of the Division 15 Grievance
Panel, at least twice the number of names necessary to fill the
positions allocated to each of the groups shall be submitted to the
President. The President shall appoint the members to the
Grievance Panel from the individuals nominated.

(4) The Grievance Panel shall elect a Chair and a Vice Chair.
For purposes of this election representation from the Division 15
Grievance Panel shall consist of the following:

(a) Six members of the teaching faculty plus three
administrative faculty;

(b) Three research associates or research assistants. The
Chair shall serve for a period of one year, and then shall be
succeeded by the Vice Chair. Thereupon, the Grievance Panel
shall elect a new Vice Chair. The Chair and the Vice Chair shall
be from different organizational units within the University. The
Chair shall be responsible for notifying the President of vacancies
on the Panel.

(5) The term of service on the Panel is four years. Individuals
may be reappointed for a second term after which a period of at
least one year must elapse before any further reappointment.
When the Panel is initially formed, the President shall designate
approximately one half of the members to serve a two year term,
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the remaining members shall serve the full term of four years. At
the expiration of an individual’s term of service, that individual
shall be replaced by an individual from the same category of
representation. In the event that a Panel member is serving on an
Affirmative Action Grievance Committee when their term of
service expires, the member shall continue to serve in that
capacity until the Committee has completed its activities.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 8-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-90

572-016-0015
The Grievance Procedure

(1) STEP 1: Informal Process: Any person having a
discrimination grievance is encouraged to bring the grievance to
the attention of the Appropriate Individual with direct
responsibility for the work, service, or academic unit involved;
(i.e., immediate supervisor, patient advocate representative, or
advisor), within 20 week days from the date that the person knew
or should have known of the alleged discrimination. Upon being
notified of the matter, the Appropriate Individual shall arrange for
a meeting, at a time convenient to the complainant, but within five
week days of notification. The AA/EO Department shall provide
assistance in preparing for this meeting, including identifying the
Appropriate Individual. The Appropriate Individual and the
complainant shall discuss the grievance in an attempt to resolve
the matter in a mutually satisfactory manner. For purposes of this
document a mutually acceptable resolution is one that is
acceptable to the complainant, the Appropriate Administrator2, the
party or parties complained against, and the AA/EO Department.
Within five week days of the conclusion of the meeting the
Appropriate Individual shall send a brief dated written summary
of the grievance and any mutually acceptable resolution(s) to the
complainant, the party or parties complained against and the
AA/EO Department. The statement shall be read and reviewed by
the complainant with the understanding that this is merely to
record this informal attempt at resolution. The complainant and
the party or parties complained against may include a brief
version of the same with this summary. The complainant, the
party or parties complained against, the Appropriate Individual,
and the AA/EO Department shall retain a copy of the sum-
mary(ies). The AA/EO Department shall assist in implementing
the resolution(s) and shall periodically inform the Appropriate
Administrator of the progress in implementing the resolution(s).

(2) STEP 2: Grievances Filed with the AA/EO Department.
If the complainant, the party or parties complained against and the
Appropriate Individual are not able to reach a mutually acceptable
resolution of the grievance, or if the complainant chooses not to
use STEP 1, the complainant may file a written grievance with the
AA/EO Department. The written grievance must be filed within
five week days from the date that the complainant received the
summary of the STEP 1 meeting. If the complainant chooses not
to use STEP 1, then the written grievance should be filed within
20 week days from the time the complainant knew or should have
known of the alleged discrimination. The written grievance shall
include a full description of the alleged discrimination and the
redress sought. Within ten week days following the filing of the
written grievance the AA/EO Department shall interview the
complainant, begin a thorough investigation? into the facts
surrounding the grievance, and attempt to arrive at a mutually
satisfactory resolution. After completing the investigation or
arriving at a mutually satisfactory resolution, the AA/EO
Department shall prepare a report for the Appropriate
Administrator. The report shall contain the following:

(a) A summary of the grievance;

(b) A summary of the activities taken in response to the
grievance;

(c) A summary of the information obtained as a result of
these activities;

(d) An evaluation of the information in light of the
allegations; and applicable law(s) and/or policy(ies);

(e) Where appropriate, a record of any mutually acceptable
resolution;

(f) If there is no mutually acceptable resolution, then a
recommendation concerning the merits of the grievance and any
remedial action. The AA/EO Department shall forward a copy of
the report to the complainant, the party or parties complained
against and the Major Unit administrator.> The Appropriate
Administrator shall inform the complainant, the party or parties
complained against and the AA/EO Department of their decision
concerning the recommendation(s) contained in the STEP 2 report
within five week days of receiving the STEP 2 report. The AA/EO
Department shall assist in implementing the action(s) taken in
response to the grievance. The AA/EO Department shall
periodically inform the Appropriate Administrator of the progress
in implementing these action(s). Students who are not satisfied
with the results of STEP 2 may appeal directly to the Oregon State
System of Higher Education in accordance with Administrative
Rule 580-015-0105.

(3) STEP 3: Committee Hearing: In the event that the
complainant is not satisfied with the results of STEP 2, the
complainant may request a hearing before an Affirmative Action
Grievance Committee. The request for a hearing shall be in
writing, include a copy of the STEP 2 report, and shall be
delivered to the Chair of the Grievance Panel within ten week
days following the complainant’s receipt of the notice of the
STEP 2 results. The AA/EO Department shall assist in making the
request for a hearing. Within ten week days following receipt of
the request for hearing, a Grievance Committee shall review the
grievance in its entirety. As part of this review, the Committee
shall conduct an independent investigation of the grievance to the
extent that they, in consultation* with the AA/EO Department,
determine necessary for a complete and thorough consideration of
the grievance. The investigation may require participation of any
and all persons with knowledge pertaining to the grievance. Upon
receiving a request for a hearing the Chair of the Grievance Panel
shall select an Affirmative Action Grievance Committee
consisting of three to seven members. If the Chair is subject to
disqualification because of reasons set out below, or is unable to
perform these duties within the prescribed time-lines, the Vice
Chair shall select the Committee. If both the Chair and the Vice
Chair are disqualified or unable to perform these duties within the
prescribed time-lines, responsibility for committee selection shall
go to the most senior available member of the Grievance Panel.
For this purpose, seniority shall be determined first by length of
service on the Panel, and second, by alphabetical order of the last
name. The Committee shall contain at least one member who
belongs to the same job group’ as the complainant and one
member who belongs to the same job group as the party accused.
If the complainant or party accused is a student, then at least one
member of the Committee shall be a student. The seniority list and
a list of job groups shall be maintained in the AA/EO Department.
The AA/EO Department shall provide assistance so that a
grievance may be acted on within the prescribed time-lines.
Reasons for disqualification from serving on an Affirmative
Action Grievance Committee include; belonging to the same
department or immediate administrative unit as a party to the
grievance, working closely with any of the parties to the
grievance, or having a special interest in the case. The Committee
shall elect a Chair to preside over the hearing. Any parties to the
grievance and individuals having custody of any documents,
records, or knowledge of the grievance shall cooperate with the
Committee, supply any documents requested, and appear before
the Committee. The grievance procedures described in this
document are not intended to be an adversarial legal procedure.
The hearing shall be open to the public at the option of the
complainant to the extent allowed by law. At any stage of the
proceedings parties may be accompanied by an advisor of their
choice at their own expense. If authorized by the Committee and
the party such advisors may speak on behalf of their clients. A
written summary of this hearing must be maintained by the
committee. All parties to the grievance have access to this
summary. The hearing may be recorded and all parties to the
grievance shall have access to this recording. Within 5 week days
of the completion of the review of the grievance the Committee
shall prepare a report and recommendation for the President. The
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report shall include:

(a) A copy of the STEP 2 report prepared by the AA/EO
Department;

(b) A copy of the request for a hearing;

(c) A summary of the hearing and the information obtained;

(d) An evaluation of the information in light of the
allegations and applicable law(s) and/or policy(ies);

(e) A recommendation concerning the merits of the grievance
and, where appropriate, any remedial action.

(f) A copy of this report will be forwarded to the
complainant, the party or parties complained against, the AA/EO
Department, and the Major Unit Administrator. The President or
designee shall have 10 week days from receipt of the report to
accept, modify, or reject the recommendation(s) of the
Committee. The President or designee will notify the complainant,
party complained against, AA/EO Department, Chair of the
Affirmative Action Grievance Committee, Chair of the Grievance
Panel, and the Major Unit Administrator, of the President’s
decision within these ten week days. In cases where the
President’s decision is to modify or reject the recommendation(s)
of the Committee the notice must list the reasons for these actions.
The President’s decision shall be final and binding insofar as
internal administrative procedures are concerned. Members of the
academic staff and students may appeal the President’s decision to
the Oregon State System of Higher Education in accordance with
Administrative Rule 580-021-0055. In the event that the grievance
involves the President, then the Affirmative Action Grievance
Committee shall forward their report to the Chancellor of the
Oregon State System of Higher Education for action.

IThe Appropriate Administrator is the administrator having
responsibility for the work, service, or academic unit involved and who

is not an accused party or a complainant. This person has responsibility

for the appropriate individual identified in step 1.

2A thorough investigation is one that conforms to the Affirmative

Action/Equal Opportunity Department’s procedures and includes,

among other things, notice of the complaint to any party accused of

discrimination and an opportunity to for any such party to present, and

have considered, any relevant information.

3The Major Administrative Units are defined in the Oregon

Health Sciences University Affirmative Action Plan. They currently are:

the School of Medicine, the School of Nursing, the School of Dentistry,

University Hospital and Clinics, Central Administration, the Vollum

Institute for BioMedical Research, the Child Development &

Rehabilitation Center, the Biomedical Information & Communication

Center, and the Center for Research or Occupational and Environmental

Toxicology.

4A portion of this consultation shall consist of a Grievance

Committee Orientation conducted according to Affirmative

Action/Equal Opportunity Department’s procedures which includes,

among other things, orientation concerning confidentiality issues,

managing the hearing, processing evidence, evaluating the grievance,

and findings and recommendations.

5Job Groups, or Primary Occupational Activity, (P.O.A.), are
defined in the OHSU Affirmative Action Plan and currently consist of

the following: P.O.A.10 Executive; P.O.A. 20 Faculty Tenured; P.O.A.

21 Faculty on Tenure Track; P.O.A. 22 Faculty Other; P.O.A. 30

Professional Non-Faculty Health Care Provider; P.O.A. 31 Professional

Non-Faculty Administrative; P.O.A. 32 Professional Non-Faculty

Nurses; P.O.A. 33 House Officers, P.O.A. 40 Clerical & Secretarial;

P.O.A. 50 Technical Para-Professional Health Care Provider; P.O.A. 51

Technical Para-Professional Administrative; P.O.A. 60 Skilled Crafts,

P.O.A. 70 Service & Maintenance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSU 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-26-88; HSU 8-1988, f. & cert. ef.

12-1-88; HSU 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-90

572-016-0020 [Renumbered to 572-016-0015]

DIVISION 17

HEALTH INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS
FOR NONIMMIGRANT STUDENTS AND THEIR

DEPENDENTS

572-017-0200
Health Insurance Requirements for Nonimmigrant Foreign
Students and Their Dependents

(1) In order to assist the University in executing its reporting
and certifying obligations under federal regulations, nonimmigrant
foreign students at the Oregon Health Sciences University must
demonstrate their ability to meet their financial responsibilities in
full. The University hereby establishes that these responsibilities
include the provision by nonimmigrant foreign students for health
and accident care for themselves and dependent family members
in the United States.

(2) All nonimmigrant foreign students enrolled part- or full-
time at the Oregon Health Sciences University will be required to
carry health and accident insurance for themselves and all their
dependent family members in the United States.

(3) The health and accident policy carried by each
nonimmigrant foreign student must provide coverage comparable
to the one offered through OHSU or meet guidelines established
by the National Association for Foreign Student Affairs or the
American College Health Association. The policy may be
underwritten by a foreign insurance carrier but it must be payable
in the United States for medical expenses incurred in this country.

(4) Such insurance policy must be in force for a 12 month
period commencing during the registration period of the student's
first term at the University. Request for term-by-term insurance
coverage, or for any coverage extending for a period of less than
one year from the date of a student's first registration, must be
made in writing to a foreign student advisor in the University's
Office of Student Services. Exceptions may be granted in cases
involving factors including, but not limited to, graduation during
the academic year.

(5) Nonimmigrant foreign students must
provide proof of adequate insurance coverage acceptable to the
Office of Student Services before they are permitted to register for
classes during their first term of enrollment for any given
academic year. Documentation of such adequate coverage must
indicate in English the insurance company's name and address for
billing purposes, policy number, the coverage terms of the policy,
the effective dates of the policy, any exclusions, the names of the
individuals covered by the policy, and the maximum amount of
coverage per accident and illness and/or in terms of cumulative
benefits.

(6) If an enrolling nonimmigrant foreign student does not
provide acceptable proof of adequate health insurance for him- or
herself and for dependent family members in the United States,
the Office of Student Services may restrict University registration
and issuance of immigration documents (for travel, extensions of
stay, employment request, practical training, dependent matters,
etc.) for the student and the student's dependent family members.

(7) Nonimmigrant foreign students shall be notified in
writing of these requirements before departing for Portland and
again before they complete matriculation at the University. A
similar notice shall appear in the University Bulletins next
regularly published after the adoption of this rule. These notices
shall inform such students that they may contest the factual
premise underlying and proposed restriction referred to in section
(6) of this rule by presenting their documentation and arguments
before the Director of Student Services or that person's designee.

(8) Pending the resolution of any dispute over the conformity
of a proffered policy with guidelines referred to in section (3) of
this rule, the student proffering the insurance in question shall be
permitted to register, and shall, in the event of an adverse decision
compelling withdrawal from the University subsequent to
registration, be guaranteed a refund of any tuition paid for the
term in which withdrawal took place.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 352

Hist.: HSU 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-89

DIVISION 18
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STUDENT AND TRAINEE GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES

572-018-0000
Grievance for Complaints Other Than Discrimination,
Sanction for Cause, or Academic Performance

(1) The following procedures are intended to provide an
aggrieved person who is a formally admitted student or post-
doctoral trainee and who was so enrolled at the time the action
grieved occurred, and for whom no other grievance procedure
exists with an opportunity to have the grievance examined by an
appropriate group of colleagues.

(2) The institution may elect not to proceed with a grievance
if the grievant also seeks resolution in another forum.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-95

572-018-0010
Grievance Panel/Committee/Counselors

Mechanisms to appoint grievance counselors, and hearing
committees are described in the grievance section for each
academic unit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-95

572-018-0020
Initiation of Grievance Procedures

(1) A grievant shall bring the grievance to the attention of an
appropriate individual within his/her academic unit/program (i.e.,
advisor, department chairperson, or administrator) within 20 week
days from the date that the grievant knew or should have known
of the alleged grievance. That individual shall arrange for a
meeting with the grievant within 5 week days of the notification.

(2) If the appropriate individual, the grievant and the person
or persons complained against are unable to resolve the grievance
to their mutual satisfaction, the grievant may file a grievance with
the designated individual or Student Affairs Officer for their
academic unit/program. The grievant shall briefly describe the
nature of the grievance and the nature of the redress which the
grievant seeks. The grievant must also choose whether to enter the
informal process (OAR 572-018-0030) or the formal process
(OAR 572-018-0040).

(3) All grievances will be forwarded to the Affirmative
Action/Equal Opportunity Officer to determine whether the
grievance should be classified as a discrimination complaint.

(4) The Student Affairs Officer shall determine that the
person or persons being grieved against have been properly
identified, and have been informed of the grievance.

(5) The Dean of the academic unit may waive the time limits
of section (3) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-95

572-018-0030
Informal Procedure

(1) The selection of a mediator(s) is done in the school/unit
in which the student/trainee is enrolled (see individual sections),
but the process will be the same in all cases.

(2) The mediator and the two parties will meet within 10
week days to discuss the problem. Further meetings will continue
to be arranged as long as the mediator and both parties believe
that progress is being made. The mediator will apprise the Student
Affairs Officer for the unit every 20 week days of the progress
being made.

(3) The grievant shall be informed by the mediator of the
grievant’s right to a resolution within 180 calendar days of filing a
formal written grievance. The grievant shall also be informed that
by entering the informal process, the 180 day limit shall not apply,
but that no other internal administrative rights accorded to the
grievant shall be lost solely for attempting to resolve the grievance

through the informal process. Additionally, the grievant shall be
advised that he or she may at any time choose to enter the formal
procedure (see section (5) of this rule) which shall be concluded in
no more than 180 calendar days of filing the formal written
grievance.

(4) If a satisfactory resolution is reached, the mediator shall
prepare a statement for both parties to sign. The statement shall
include a summary of the grievance and the agreed to resolution.
A copy of the agreement shall be provided to both parties and to
the Student Affairs Officer for the unit.

(5) The office of the Dean of the academic unit shall oversee
the implementation of the agreement.

(6) The mediator may terminate the mediation efforts if the
mediator believes an acceptable resolution is not likely to occur.

(7) Whenever the informal mediation is terminated without a
resolution, the mediator shall prepare a written report within 10
days of the termination. The report shall include:

(a) A summary of the grievance;

(b) A summary of the information gathered by the mediator;

(c) A recommendation concerning the merits of the
grievance; and

(d) Any recommended remedial action. A copy of the report
shall be provided to both parties and to the Student Affairs Officer
for the unit. The grievant shall be notified of her/his right to file a
formal grievance. If a formal grievance is filed, a copy of the
report shall also be sent to the Hearing Committee assigned to the
grievance under OAR 572-018-0040.

(8) The grievant may terminate the informal procedure by
informing the mediator in writing. The mediator shall
acknowledge receipt of the termination notice in writing to both
parties and Student Affairs Officer of the Unit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-95

572-018-0040
Initiation of a Formal Grievance Procedure

(1) To initiate the formal grievance procedure, the grievant
must file a written grievance with the Student Affairs Officer of
the unit within either:

(a) Twenty week days of the time of the meeting with the
individual noted in OAR 572-018-0020; or

(b) Within 10 days of receiving the mediator’s report. The
written grievance must describe the nature of the grievance, the
circumstances under which the grievance took place, and the
redress the grievant is seeking.

(2) Management of the formal grievance procedure is vested
in the individual academic units. The procedures followed by a
hearing committee and the preparation of the hearing committee
report are described in each section for that unit. The report will
be forwarded to all parties to the grievance, and to the Student
Affairs Officer for the unit. The Student Affairs Officer shall take
action within 20 week days of receiving
the hearing committee’s report.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-95

572-018-0050
Appeals

Within ten week days of the Student Affairs Officer’s
decision, the grievant may appeal the student Affairs Officer’s
decision to the Dean of the academic unit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-95

DIVISION 19

REVOLVING CHARGE ACCOUNT PLAN
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572-019-0000
Statement of Responsibility

A Revolving Charge Account Plan is available to all Oregon
Health Sciences University students under the following terms
and conditions:

(1) Student: For the purposes of this rule a student is defined
as anyone accepted into a program at OHSU and attending half-
time or more as defined by the program the student is enrolled in.

(2) Payment: One third of the current term’s charges must be
paid prior to or at the beginning of the current term. Any unpaid
balance is part of the Revolving Charge Account Plan. Any
subsequent payments will be applied to the unpaid balance on a
first in, first out basis. Financial aid, refunds, and any other
amounts due to the student from this institution will be applied
toward any amount due this institution before any monies are
released to the student. The option to pay the unpaid balance in
full always exists.

(3) Interest: Interest will be charged each month on any
unpaid balance at the rate of one percent per month, or fraction
thereof (12% APR).

(4) Due Date: All current term’s charges (tuition and fees)
are due and must reach the Cashier’s Office by the date specified
in the “Student Handbook™ each term. Irrespective of the fact that
only a payment of one third of the amount due (plus full payment
of any past due balance) is required to validate the current term’s
registration, the balance of the amount due will incur interest
charges each month until paid. Payment of the remaining amount
due for the current term is required by the last day of the current
term. Payment for all additional charges (i.e., parking fines,
telephone charges, library fines, etc.) are due on the first day of
each month after the charges are incurred.

(5) Past Due Accounts: It is the student’s responsibility to
make the scheduled payments by the due dates regardless of the
circumstances. Failure to receive a billing prior to the first of the
month is not an acceptable excuse for late payment. Interest
charges and applicable late fees will be assessed on all past due
accounts. The following penalties will apply:

(a) An institution collection fee not to exceed $100 will be
assessed to any account not paid in full at the beginning of the
subsequent term;

(b) Registration may be denied to any student whose account
has a past due balance;

(c) The extension of credit, provision of services, grade
reports, diplomas, and transcripts may be withheld from any
student with a past due balance;

(d) Telephone services may be disconnected or denied when
past due accounts relate to tele-communication charges;

(e) Delinquent accounts referred to outside collection
agencies will be assessed all costs and charges incurred, including,
but not limited to, collection costs, attorney’s fees and court filing
fees. The status of this account may be reported to credit bureaus.

(6) Address information: The student is responsible for
informing this institution’s Business Affairs Office of any name
and/or address change occurring during the life of this contract.

(7) Billing Rights: A student may challenge a charge within
60 days of the origination of the charge by direction his/her
inquiry to: Oregon Health Sciences University, Accounts
Receivable, 3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road, Portland, Oregon
97201-3098, (503) 494-7955. Any questions regarding this
agreement can also be directed to the above address.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-95

DIVISION 20
SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY
Dental Clinic Fees and Fee Payment Policies

572-020-0005
Instructional Aids Fee

The Schedule of Fees of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for the Instructional Aids Fee of the School of
Dentistry is hereby adopted by reference. The Instructional Aids
Fee is for the purchase and maintenance of instructional aids
including microscopes, slides, disarticulated skeleton bones,
instrument carts and other instruments or assemblies essential to
the instructional programs.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in

this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of

Dentistry — Vice President.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: UOD 22, f. & ef. 2-16-77; HSU 6-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-020-0010
Continuing Dental Education Fee Schedule
The Schedule of Fees of the Oregon Health Sciences
University Con-tinuing Dental Education Program is hereby
adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of
Dentistry.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: UOD 3, f. & ef. 8-8-75; UOD 17, f. 9-20-76, ef. 1-1-77; HSC 4-1978, f.
8-14-78, ef. 9-1-78; HSU 6-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-020-0015
Student Activity and Publication Fee
The Schedule of Fees of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for the student activity and publication fee of the
School of Dentistry is hereby incorporated by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of
Dentistry.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: UOD 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-17-75; UOD 5, f. 10-21-75, ef. 11-10-75; HSU
6-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85; HSU 13-1985, f. & ef. 9-3-85

572-020-0020

Dental Clinic Fee Schedule
The Schedule of Fees for the Oregon Health Sciences

University School of Dentistry is hereby adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of
Dentistry.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070(c)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(c)
Hist.: UOD 2, f. 11-15-74, f. 12-11-74; UOD 7, f. & ef. 1-8-76; HSC 2-1978,
f. 3-13-78, ef. 4-1-78; HSC 6-1978, f. 8-29-78, ef. 9-1-78; HSC 7-1979, f. 7-
25-79, ef. 8-1-79; HSC 10-1979, f. 12-28-79, ef. 1-1-80; HSC 2-1980, f. & ef.
6-2-80; HSC 2-1981, f. 2-27-81, ef. 3-1-81; HSC 7-1981, f. 8-21-81, ef. 9-1-
81; HSC 8-1982, f. & ef. 9-1-82; HSU 5-1983, f. & ef. 9-1-83; HSU 3-1984, f.
& ef. 9-13-84; HSU 6-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85; HSU 14-1985, f. & ef. 9-3-85;
HSU 3-1986, f. & ef. 7-1-86; HSU 3-1988, f. 6-29-88, cert. ef. 7-1-88; HSU 5-
1989, f. 8-25-89, cert. ef. 9-1-89; HSU 8-1990, f. 6-29-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90;
HSU 3-1991, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-91; HSU 8-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-11-92; HSU
6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-93; HSU 5-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-9-95

572-020-0025
Oral Pathology Laboratory Fees
The Schedule of Fees of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for Oral Pathology Laboratory Fees for the School
of Dentistry is hereby adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of
Dentistry.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: UOD 7, f. & ef. 1-8-76; UOD 26, f. & ef. 8-1-77; HSC 5-1980, f. 8-27-
80, ef. 9-1-80; HSC 1-1982, f. 1-27-82, ef. 2-1-82; HSU 4-1984, f. & ef. 10-1-
84; HSU 6-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85; HSU 9-1990, f. 6-29-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90;
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HSU 4-1991, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-91; HSU 11-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-1-93

572-020-0030
General Payment Policy

(1) Patients admitted to the Dental Clinics for treatment are
provided an estimate for recommended services. The fee to be
assessed shall be that fee established and made public under OAR
572-020-0020 and ORS 351.070(1)(c).

(2) The responsibility for collecting patient fees shall be the
patient’s assigned student or others involved in the treatment
process or business office. Payment may be made by cash, check,
or Visa or Mastercharge credit cards. When appropriate and as
authorized by the Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs or the
Associate Dean’s designee an extended payment plan may be
authorized for qualified patients if it is necessary to insure
continuity of the student experience and the comprehensive care
of the patient.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSC 2-1978, f. 3-13-78, ef. 4-1-78; HSC 6-1978, f. 8-29-78, ef. 9-1-78;

HSU 1-1985, f. 1-21-85, ef. 2-1-85; HSU 6-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-020-0033
Patients Covered by Insurance Plans

For patients covered by insurance, the student and the clinic
business office will assist the patient in obtaining pre-
authorization for services and determination of benefits. The
School of Dentistry will collect the proportionate amounts from
the patient’s insurance company and the patient.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSC 6-1978, f. 8-29-78, ef. 9-1-78; HSU 1-1985, f. 1-21-85, ef. 2-1-85;

HSU 6-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-020-0035
Emergency Treatment

Patients accepted for emergency treatment shall pay the
appropriate fee for the service rendered at the time the service is
performed. Patients with insurance will be assisted in completing
the necessary forms so that the fee can be paid by the insurance
company. Those patients with insufficient funds will be billed by
the School of Dentistry clinic business office or the Oregon
Health Sciences University business office.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSC 2-1978, f. 3-13-78, ef. 4-1-78; HSC 6-1978, f. 8-29-78, ef. 9-1-78;

HSU 1-1985, f. 1-21-85, ef. 2-1-85

572-020-0050
Dental Student Fine

The School of Dentistry shall assess
a fine specified in the Schedule of Fees and Fines of the Oregon
Health Sciences University against dental students who fail to
return any issued patient’s dental record to the chartroom by the
close of business on the day issued. Exception: If an extenuating
circumstance develops precluding same day return of the record it
is the responsibility of the student to notify the chartroom of the
reason for late return, location of the record and expected date of
return (no fine under these circumstances). All fines must be paid
prior to the beginning of each teaching interval as a requirement
for continued clinic participation. Fines for spring interval of the
senior year must be paid as a requirement for graduation.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in

this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of

Dentistry.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSC 8-1979, . 8-30-79, ef. 9-1-79; HSU 6-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

DIVISION 30

SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Fee Schedules

572-030-0005
Children’s Psychiatric Day Treatment Center Fees
The Schedule of Fees of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for Children’s Psychiatric Day Treatment Center
is hereby adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of
Medicine.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: UOD 10, f. & ef. 6-4-76; HSU 7-1985, . & ef. 7-2-85

572-030-0010
Microscope Rental Fee
The Schedule of Fees of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for microscope rental is hereby adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of
Medicine.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: UOD 27, f. & ef. 8-16-77; HSU 7-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

572-030-0015
Instructional Aids Fee
The Schedule of Fees of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for instructional aids is hereby adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of
Medicine.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: UOD 27, f. & ef. 8-16-77; HSC 8-1981, f. & ef. 9-21-81; HSU 7-1985, f.
& ef. 7-2-85

572-030-0020
Continuing Medical Education
The Schedule of Fees of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for Continuing Medical Education courses is hereby
adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of
Medicine.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: UOD 29, f. 9-30-77, ef. 10-1-77; HSC 1-1978, f. & ef. 2-21-78; HSU 7-
1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

DIVISION 50
UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL
Fee Schedules

572-050-0005
Fee Schedules
The Schedule of Fees for the University Hospital as
adopted by the Oregon Health Sciences University is hereby
adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 352.055
Hist.: UOM 1, f. 11-5-73, ef. 11-25-73; UOM 2, f. 5-14-74, ef. 6-11-74; UOM
3, f. 1-21-75, ef. 2-11-75; UOM 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-2-75; UOM 5, f. 9-8-75,
ef. 9-25-75; UOD 7, f. & ef. 1-8-76; UOD 8(Temp), f. 3-31-76, ef. 4-1-76;
UOD 9, f. & ef. 5-19-76; UOD 12, f. 6-30-76, ef. 7-1-76; UOD 13(Temp), f. 7-
30-76, ef. 8-1-76; UOD 15, f. 8-30-76, ef. 9-1-76; UOD 19 (Temp), f. & ef.
12-1-76; UOD 21, f. 1-13-77, ef. 1-15-77; UOD 24(Temp), f. & ef. 4-4-77;
UOD 25, f. 6-30-77, ef. 7-1-77; UOD 32(Temp), f. 12-16-77, ef. 1-1-78; HSC
3-1978, f. 3-24-78, ef. 4-1-78; HSC 7-1978, f. 11-30-78, ef. 12-1-78; HSC 2-
1979(Temp), f. 2-28-79, ef. 3-1-79; HSC 6-1979, f. 6-29-79, ef. 7-1-79; HSC
11-1979, f. 12-28-79, ef. 1-1-80; HSC 3-1980, f. 6-30-80, ef. 7-1-80; HSC 8-
1980, f. 12-26-80, ef. 1-1-81; HSC 4-1981, f. 6-25-81, ef. 7-1-81; HSC 10-
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1981, f. 12-28-81, ef. 1-1-82; HSC 4-1982, f. 6-30-82, ef. 7-1-82; HSC 7-1982
(Temp), f. 8-19-82, ef. 9-1-82; HSC 9-1982, f. 9-30-82, ef. 10-1-82; HSC 11-
1982, f. 12-28-82, ef. 1-1-83; HSU 1-1983, f. 1-27-83, ef. 2-1-83; HSU 2-
1983, f. 6-28-83, ef. 7-1-83; HSU 6-1983, f. 12-27-83, ef. 1-1-84; HSU 2-
1984, f. & ef. 7-3-84; HSU 8-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85; HSU 12-1985, f. & ef. 8-
12-85; HSU 5-1987, f. 4-23-87, ef. 5-1-87; HSU 1-1988, f. 5-19-88, cert. ef. 6-
1-88; HSU 2-1989, f. 4-28-89, cert. ef. 5-1-89; HSU 6-1989, f. 12-29-89, cert.
ef. 1-1-90; HSU 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 3-1-90; HSU 15-1990, f. 12-31-90, cert.
ef. 1-1-91; HSU 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 2-14-92; HSU 13-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94

Financial Policies

572-050-0010
General

(1) University Hospital financial policies included in OAR
572-050-0010 to 572-050-0045 are authorized under Oregon
Department of Higher Education administrative rule OAR 580-
041-0010 and pertain only to Hospital patient accounts receivable
management. Financial policies applicable to professional
services, which are authorized under Oregon Department of
Higher Education administrative rule OAR 580-030-0030, are not
covered by these policies.

(2) Patients will be informed at the time of registration or
admission of billing practices and policies of University Hospital
and Clinics, University Medical Associates, and other professional
service arrangements.

(3) Patients are discouraged from bringing valuables to the
hospital. The hospital shall not be liable for loss or damage to
money, valuables or other personal property unless deposited for
safekeeping.

(4) Discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, age,
handicap or national origin is prohibited.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSC 7-1980(Temp), f. 9-5-80, ef. 9-8-80; HSC 1-1981, f. 2-19-81, ef. 2-

20-81

572-050-0015
Provision of Care

(1) Each patient or responsible party shall be required to sign
a statement of terms and conditions of service. Services will not
be provided without execution of the statement of terms and
conditions except in bona fide emergencies.

(2) Pursuant to the hospital’s policy of providing medical
services to the general public, patients requiring services with
insufficient resources to pay for services will be treated subject to
the provisions of OAR 580-030-0025 of the administrative rules,
Board of Higher Education.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSC 7-1980(Temp), f. 9-5-80, ef. 9-8-80; HSC 1-1981, f. 2-19-81, ef. 2-

20-81

572-050-0020
Financial Responsibility

(1) Third party billing is available as a convenience to
patients and to improve collectibility, provided that benefits are
assigned, timely proof of coverage is furnished, benefits are
verified, and prompt payment is expected. The hospital may
refuse to bill specific third parties, and in such cases will notify
the patient.

(2) The determination of payment sources shall be made
prior to the provision of service except in bona fide emergencies.

(3) Patients indicating difficulty in meeting payment
obligations will be financially screened to determine eligibility for
social agency programs or allowances.

(4) The hospital will assist patients in seeking agency
financial support to meet medical care costs. Until such time as
patients are qualified for third-party sponsorship, they are
responsible for the charges for services rendered.

(5) Deposits covering the patient’s anticipated liability for
services are encouraged whenever possible. Deposits may be
required for specified elective services or when third party
benefits cannot be readily verified.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: HSC 7-1980(Temp), f. 9-5-80, ef. 9-8-80; HSC 1-1981, f. 2-19-81, ef. 2-
20-81

572-050-0025
Rates
All patients will be charged for inpatient, clinic and ancillary
services in accordance with established University Hospital rate
schedules.
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: HSC 7-1980(Temp), f. 9-5-80, ef. 9-8-80; HSC 1-1981, f. 2-19-81, ef. 2-
20-81

572-050-0030
Allowances

(1) Courtesy discounts will not be granted for hospital or
clinic services except for University Hospital Volunteers who may
be granted a ten percent discount, on the cash sale price when
purchasing outpatient prescriptions through the University
Hospital/Clinics Outpatient Pharmacy. To qualify the volunteers
must meet the qualifications as defined by the Volunteer Services
Department at the University Hospital.

(2) Teaching and research allowances for services that are
primarily for the benefit of a specific teaching or research need,
program or project may be authorized. Such authorization must be
approved prior to admission or provision of service.

(3) Educational allowances may be authorized based on
retrospective reviews when the level of charges is extraordinary
due to the teaching program or the teaching hospital setting.

(4) Parameters for the determination of allowances shall be
made at the time of registration, or provision of service. Specific
allowances to be granted will be determined after the application
of all third party resources.

(5) A number of factors may be considered in determining
eligibility for charity allowances including, but not limited to,
household size and member ages, income, living expenses, liquid
and fixed assets, health care obligations, and expected future
resources.

(6) Charity allowances will normally be granted only to
residents of the State of Oregon. Charity allowances for non-
residents must be authorized prior to admission or provision of
service.

(7) Granting of charity allowances is dependent upon receipt
of a request for consideration of an allowance from the patient or
responsible party prior to the provision of service and the timely
receipt of documentation of the patient’s financial condition.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSC 7-1980(Temp), f. 9-5-80, ef. 9-8-80; HSC 1-1981, f. 2-19-81, ef. 2-

20-81; HSU 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-11-94

572-050-0035
Payments

(1) Patient payment arrangements should be determined at
the time of admission.

(2) Inpatients are expected to pay for services at the time of
billing. When third party billing is involved under the provisions
of OAR 572-050-0020(2), anticipated payments from the third
party will be accepted in lieu of payment from the patient.
Amounts in excess of the expected third party payment are to be
paid at the time of billing.

(3) Outpatients are expected to pay for services upon receipt
of the bill. When third party billing is involved upon the provision
of OAR 572-050-0020(2), anticipated payments from the third
party will be accepted in lieu of payment from the patient.
Amounts in excess of the expected third party payment are to be
paid upon receipt of the bill.

(4) Pre-admission or pre-treatment deposits are expected for
specified services including, but not limited to, cosmetic surgery,
obstetrics, return of fertility, therapeutic abortions, sterilizations,
routine dental services, glasses and medical appliances, non-acute
psychiatric care, alcoholism rehabilitation, and ambulatory care.

(5) Monthly payment plans may be established when
sufficient resources are not available to cover services as outlined



Chapter 572  Oregon Health Sciences University
OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 1997 COMPILATION

in section (2) or (3) of this rule. Monthly payment plans should be
sufficient to liquidate the obligation in a reasonable period of
time.

(6) Payment arrangements may be extended at any time, but
in such cases a promissory note normally will be required.
Extensions may be continued beyond the note’s maturity upon
review of the particulars involved and execution of a new note.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSC 7-1980(Temp), f. 9-5-80, ef. 9-8-80; HSC 1-1981, f. 2-19-81, ef. 2-

20-81

572-050-0040
Collections

(1) The hospital will pursue collection action as necessary to
secure payment for services rendered, including, but not limited
to, periodic statements, telephone contacts, collection notice,
notice of demand, and referral for collection or legal action.

(2) The Department of Revenue of the State of Oregon is the
hospital’s primary collection agency; private collection agencies
may be employed as appropriate.

(3) The Department of Justice (Attorney General) of the State
of Oregon is the hospital’s legal counsel.

(4) Delinquent accounts will be referred to the Department of
Revenue, Department of Justice, or an appropriate agency for
collection action based on consideration of each account.

(5) Hospital liens and estate claims will be filed under
provisions of ORS 87.555 and ORS Chapter 115 in order to assure
collection of claims due University Hospital.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351

Hist.: HSC 7-1980(Temp), f. 9-5-80, ef. 9-8-80; HSC 1-1981, f. 2-19-81, ef. 2-

20-81

DIVISION 60

CHILD DEVELOPMENT AND REHABILITATION
CENTER

Fee Schedules

572-060-0015
Fee Schedules
The Fee Schedules for the Oregon Health Sciences
University, Crippled Children’s Division are hereby adopted by
reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 444.010 - 444.050
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: HSC 5-1978, f. 8-29-78, ef. 10-1-78; HSC 5-1979, f. 6-29-79, ef. 7-1-79;
HSC 1-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; HSC 4-1980, f. 6-30-80, ef. 7-1-80; HSC 3-1981,
f. 6-25-81, ef. 7-1-81; HSC 9-1981, f. & ef. 11-2-81; HSC 3-1982, f. 6-25-82,
ef. 7-1-82; HSU 3-1983, f. 6-30-83, ef. 7-1-83; HSU 2-1985, f. 6-26-85, ef. 7-
1-85; HSU 9-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85; HSU 2-1986, f. & ef. 7-1-86; HSU 4-1986,
f. 10-30-86, ef. 11-1-86; HSU 1-1987, f. 1-22-87, ef. 2-1-87; HSU 6-1987, f.
6-29-87, ef. 7-1-87; HSU 8-1987, f. & ef. 12-2-87; HSU 4-1988, f. & cert. ef.
7-5-88; HSU 3-1989, f. 6-30-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; HSU 10-1990, f. 6-29-90,
cert. ef. 7-1-90; HSU 16-1990, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-90; HSU 6-1991, f. & cert.
ef. 7-17-91; HSU 9-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-13-93; HSU 10-1993, f. &
cert. ef. 9-10-93; HSU 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 11-16-94

572-060-0100
Function and Responsibility

(1) The function of the Child Development and
Rehabilitation Center (CDRC) of the Oregon Health Sciences
University (OHSU) is to administer teaching and research
activities, multidiscipline consultative and tertiary care clinics,
and a statewide public health program, Oregon Services for
Children with Special Health Needs (OSCSHN). The purpose of
OSCSHN is to enable the state to extend and improve diagnostic,
treatment, prevention and follow up services to children who are
disabled or who are suffering from conditions which lead to
disability. The CDRC maintains offices in Portland, Eugene and

Medford and coordinates community based clinical and other
services through the state. Responsibility for the operation of
CDRC is delegated by the President of OHSU to a Director. The
functions of OSCSHN are as follows:

(a) To provide for early evaluation of disabled children with
conditions eligible for the services of OSCSHN;

(b) To develop and implement a mechanism for evaluation
and diagnosis required to carry out the purposes of this program;

(c) To offer or arrange for the necessary specialized medical
care and related habilitative services for eligible disabled children;

(d) To develop, promote or improve the standards of care
required by disabled children;

(e) To make efforts, within the resources of OSCSHN, to
coordinate benefits for children who are eligible for other state
programs providing benefits to children with special health needs.

(2) All services are provided subject to budgetary limitations
and annual appropriations to the state and federal programs
through which OSCSHN is funded.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 440.010 - 440.050

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 4-1989, f. 6-30-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; HSU 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 2-

15-91; HSU 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-11-94

572-060-0105
Definitions

(1) “Adjusted Family Income”: The amount equal to the
family’s Annual Gross Income as defined in these rules, OAR
572-060-0120(4)(b), less allowable expenses as determined
pursuant to OAR 572-060-0120(4)(d).

(2) “Advisory Panel”: Voluntary group of individuals
representing parents, insurance companies, private providers,
hospitals, and health agencies who meet at the invitation of the
Director to review and comment on plans, policies, program
proposals, and other items as determined by the Director.

(3) “Allowable Expenses”: Deductions from the gross family
income as specified in these rules, OAR 572-060-0120(4)(d).

(4) “Amenable to Treatment”: Reasonable certainty of longer
term functional developmental improvement as determined by the
treating health care professional.

(5) “Annual Gross Income”: The amount of a family’s
income determined pursuant to these rules, OAR 572-060-
0120(4)(b) and (c).

(6) “Applicant”: The child applying for OSCSHN eligibility.

(7) “Assistive Technology”: Equipment intended to support,
replace or augment a dysfunctioning or non-functioning part of
the body. Such appliances, which may be mechanical, structural
or electrical, are intended to support specific habilitative
objectives determined by the child’s health care providers.

(8) “Authorized Services”: Direct health care and related care
for a Recipient Child, as more completely set forth in these rules,
OAR 572-060-0135(5), which OSCSHN staff has approved for
payment.

(9) “Care Coordination”: A process undertaken by
professional staff of CDRC on behalf of children with eligible
OSCSHN Disabling Conditions, which may include procedures
for evaluation of the child’s condition, development of a special
health care plan, recommendations of health care providers and
facilities, assistance in arrangement of such care, and subsequent
monitoring of the status of the child and family. The level of
programmatic assistance required will be based on the special
health needs of the child and the needs of the family in the
management of the care of their child.

(10) “Chronic Condition”: Condition which is expected to be
long lasting (greater than one year) or to be lifelong.

(11) “Consent”: An agreement by a Legally Responsible
Adult to a certain course of action involving himself/herself or
his/her Recipient Child. Such consent will only be valid when the
consenting person:

(a) Has been informed by the Health Professional(s) treating
a Recipient Child of such foreseeable risks, results, and
alternatives to a proposed procedure as a reasonable practitioner
of the same discipline, in the same or similar circumstances,
would make known to his/her patients;
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(b) Agrees in writing to the performance of the procedure for
which consent was sought;

(c) Has been informed that the granting of consent is
voluntary and may be revoked at any time.

(12) “Cosmetic Surgery”: Surgery performed for the sake of
appearance rather than functional repair.

(13) “Diagnostic Services”: Those services which provide
information necessary to determine a child’s special health needs
eligibility for participation in the OSCSHN treatment program,
i.e., whether an Applicant has a Disabling Condition. See these
rules, OAR 572-060-0115. Diagnostic Services shall also include
any initial interviews provided as a part of the application process.

(14) “Disabled Child”: An individual below the age of 21
who has a physical impairment or an organic disease, defect, or
condition which may hinder the achievement of normal growth
and development.

(15) “Disabling Condition”: That special health condition
which renders the child eligible for OSCSHN services. OSCSHN
eligible conditions are enumerated in OAR 572-060-0115(2).

(16) “Emancipated Minor”: A child who is 18 years of age or
older and is married or is a parent or is otherwise financially
independent. All persons shall be deemed to have arrived at the
age of majority upon their being married.

(17) “Emergency”: A medical situation requiring immediate
medical care and services to avoid loss of life, permanent loss of
good health, or permanent degradation of state of health.

(18) “Financial Assistance”: OSCSHN payment for all of a
Recipient Child’s OSCSHN authorized services not covered by
the family’s insurance (to the extent covered in these rules). To
determine eligibility see these rules, OAR 572-060-0120.

(19) “Health Care Facility”: Any Diagnostic and Treatment
Facility within the contemplation of OAR 572-060-0150 and any
Outpatient Therapy Center within the contemplation of OAR 572-
060-0150.

(20) “Health Care Professional”: Any individual or
corporation licensed or certified to provide health care services to
a patient and practicing in a commonly recognized field of
knowledge. The term shall include, but shall not be limited to,
Physicians and Other Health Care Professionals as defined in
these rules, OAR 572-060-0145.

(21) “Health Care Provider”: Any Health Care Professional,
Health Care Facility, or any Medical Equipment Supplier within
the meaning of OAR 572-60-145 and 572-060-0150.

(22) “Income”: Money received by an Applicant, Recipient
Child, or his family which can be applied directly to meet basic
needs for food, shelter, and medical expenses. Gross income is
defined in OAR 572-060-0120(4)(b). Adjusted income, i.e., net
income, is figured by reference to OAR 572-060-0120(4)(b), (c)
and (d).

(23) “Income Scale”: The schedule, adjusted for family size,
used to determine financial eligibility.

(24) “Legally Responsible Adult (LRA)”: A person who is
legally required to provide for and entitled to make decisions
about the OSCSHN service Applicant or Recipient Child. This
person may be a parent (biological or adoptive), emancipated
minor or legally appointed guardian.

(25) “Outreach Clinic”: A community-based clinic which
meets on a periodic basis for the purpose of diagnosis and
treatment. Such clinics are organized and operated by OSCSHN
and utilize OSCSHN approved providers.

(26) “Parent”: The biological or adoptive parent of the
Applicant or Recipient Child receiving or seeking OSCSHN
services.

(27) “Recipient Child or Youth™: A child or youth who is
currently receiving OSCSHN services or whose Health Care
Providers are being paid, in whole or part, by OSCSHN.

(28) “Referral”: A procedure by which any person can
introduce a child to the OSCSHN program. See OAR 572-60-
110(2)(c)(A)(i).

(29) “Reimbursement Agreement”: Written agreement signed
by the LRA(s) and/or attorney(s) for the LRA or eligible child
specifying that any money recovered as judgement or settlement
of a lawsuit or from an insurance or personal settlement arising

from a claim relating to the child’s condition for which OSCSHN
is providing care or reimbursing Health Care Providers will be
used to reimburse OSCSHN for its payment of the child’s medical
and related care costs.

(30) “Resident(s) of Oregon”:

(a) Any person living in the State of Oregon with the intent
to remain in the state indefinitely. The term “living in the State of
Oregon” shall be limited to all persons whose primary domicile is
located within the state. Intent to remain indefinitely is established
through a showing that a person has significant contacts with the
State of Oregon as evidenced by indicia thereof, such as
maintaining a bank account in the state, registering to vote in the
state, paying Oregon income taxes, obtaining permanent
employment within the state, owning real estate within the state,
and possessing an Oregon driver’s license or similar permits; or

(b) Any person who is present in the State of Oregon for the
purpose of performing migrant agricultural labor and who has
evidenced a pattern of regularly returning to the state to perform
such work. Migrant agricultural labor is defined as agricultural
work of a seasonal or temporary nature which requires that the
worker be away from his/her permanent place of residence to
perform said work more than overnight. A pattern of regularly
returning to the state to perform such work shall be considered to
have been established if a person is present in the State of Oregon
to perform migrant agricultural work for two successive growing
seasons.

(31) “Retroactive Authorization”: Authorizations which
occur, under specified circumstances, after special health service
has been provided to a Recipient Child. See OAR 572-60-
135(3)(e) for enumeration of the circumstances in which this will
be considered.

(32) “Retroactive Financial Eligibility”: Financial eligibility
which reaches back no more than 30 days prior to the date of
application in certain specified circumstances. See OAR 572-060-
0120(3)(h)(C) for enumeration of these circumstances.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 440.010 - 440.050

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 4-1989, f. 6-30-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; HSU 1-1991, . & cert. ef. 2-

15-91; HSU 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-11-94

572-060-0110
Eligibility: General

(1) Program Purpose:

(a) The purpose of the Oregon Services for Children with
Special Health Needs is to provide diagnostic and treatment
services for children who are disabled as a result of congenital
and/or acquired disabling or disease states or have a condition
which may lead to disabling impairment. The objective is to
provide a program of comprehensive evaluation, medical care and
related habilitative services appropriate to their various needs and
to financially support such care to the extent that their Legally
Responsible Adults (LRAs) require such financial assistance as
determined by the Financial Eligibility Criteria; see OAR 572-60-
120(3). Children who are eligible for Care Coordination only will
be served without regard to a financial means test. Due to
financial limitations, OSCSHN will only provide assistance to
children with certain categories of disabling conditions as defined
in OAR 572-060-0115(2);

(b) Adult hemophiliacs may qualify for certain services, as
may women who are at risk of giving birth to a child with special
health needs as defined in OAR 572-060-0115(2).

(2) Eligibility Criteria for OSCSHN Services:

(a) Be under 21 years of age except that OSCSHN shall
provide services beyond the child’s 21st birthday when necessary
to complete a treatment plan developed before that time if
cessation of treatment would cause an immediate threat to or
damage to the child’s life or good health or would negate gains
resulting from previous rehabilitative efforts. In no event may said
extension continue beyond six months after the child’s 21st
birthday;

(b) Be a Resident of Oregon;

(c) Have a Disabling Condition.

(A) Diagnostic Services:
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(i) Initial diagnostic services are provided when the LRA
meets the financial eligibility criteria set forth in OAR 572-060-
0120(3) to the extent necessary to determine whether the child has
one of the conditions enumerated in OAR 572-060-0115(2),
Disabling Conditions. Whenever eligibility or ineligibility is
established based upon an interview with the child or the LRA,
which occurs when a diagnosis has already been established,
OSCSHN shall not be required to provide further initial diagnostic
services;

(ii) Children may be, but need not be, referred for said
services by an individual or agency or may be self-referred.

(B) Treatment Services and Financial Support:

(1) It is recognized that it is the duty and responsibility of the
LRA to pay for necessary health care services for their children.
OSCSHN will assist the LRA with this responsibility for each
child meeting the criteria of section (2) of this rule by providing
treatment services and financial assistance, provided the LRAs are
Residents of Oregon, and provided;

(ii) The LRAs are lawfully admitted to the United States on a
visa or permit which contemplates that the LRA will be entitled to
legally remain in the United States for as long as is necessary to
complete the Special Health Care Plan established for the child; or

(iii) The child aforedescribed is a United States citizen.

(C) In addition, whenever payment for treatment services or
financial support is desired, each LRA must:

(1) Meet the financial eligibility criteria set forth in OAR
572-060-0120(3);

(i1) Utilize insurance benefits, if any, as well as any other
form of payment, (such as trust funds, gifts, or fund raising drives)
available for the child and/or make the payments toward the
support of the child’s treatment as are determined by his or her
FPA as set forth in OAR 572-060-0130(1);

(ii1) Sign a Reimbursement Agreement if the injuries for

which treatment is sought were caused by any alleged negligent
act (including products liability) and litigation is pending or
contemplated.
Further, any attorney retained to represent the child on any claim
relating to the child’s condition for which OSCSHN will provide
care must separately sign the Reimbursement Agreement. Failure
to comply with this requirement will not, however, delay or hinder
the application process. Families will be notified of a failure to
comply with this requirement.

(3) Application Process: Initial and Continuing Eligibility:

(a) No person participating in or wishing to participate in
CDRC’s programs shall be denied benefits of the program or shall
be discriminated against on the basis of sex, religion, race, color,
national origin or handicap not related to program eligibility;

(b) General responsibilities of Applicants, Recipient
Children, and LRAsS:

(A) Each Applicant and LRA shall furnish requested factual
information regarding eligibility and shall keep OSCSHN
informed of any changes in financial status (defined as any change
in financial circumstances as set forth in OAR 572-060-
0120(3)(h)(D)(iii) which would affect financial eligibility for
OSCSHN benefits;

(B) The application process requires consent by the LRAs to
release or to verify health data and financial information provided
as a part of the application process.

(c) An LRA shall complete and when requested sign an
application on behalf of the Applicant on forms specified by
OSCSHN. Such application process shall include informing the
applicant of all relevant time deadlines with respect to filing of an
application and appealing any adverse decision. An LRA may
choose a person to assist in completing the application. A
representative of a public agency may complete and sign the
application for a child in that agency’s custody. A representative
of a private agency may complete and sign the application for a
child if it is the authorized guardian for the child;

(d) A completed application must be submitted to OSCSHN
within the following time periods:

(A) In the case of self referral or referral by a health care
provider or other agency, an application for initial eligibility must
be received by OSCSHN within 21 days from the date which it is

originally sent to the LRA by OSCSHN. Applications not
received within said 21-day period shall not be considered for
reimbursement for treatment services rendered at the time of
referral to OSCSHN but shall be processed for reimbursement of
treatment services provided no more than 30 days prior to the
actual date of receipt. This time period shall be adjusted by
OSCSHN for good cause if OSCSHN is notified of the
circumstances within the 21-day time period (for purposes of this
clause, “good cause” shall include, but shall not be limited to, a
family emergency, demonstrated delays caused by the U.S. Postal
Service, and demonstrated delays caused by the Internal Revenue
Service in providing a copy of an income tax return, if required);

(B) Applications for continuing financial eligibility shall be
submitted to OSCSHN within 21 days of the date which they are
originally sent to the LRA by OSCSHN. If an application is sub-
mitted after said time period, continuing eligibility shall
recommence no more than 30 days prior to the date the
application is actually received by OSCSHN.

(e) If financial support is desired, the LRAs shall complete
and sign a financial application on behalf of the Applicant on
forms specified by OSCSHN, which shall be submitted within the
time periods specified in subsection (3)(d) of this rule:

(A) Such statement may be required to include a copy of the
LRAs’ most recent federal income tax returns. If an LRA is not
required to file with the Internal Revenue Service, verification of
income must be submitted;

(B) OSCSHN shall accept other supporting documents from
the LRA to verify level of income if OSCSHN determines that the
documents provided prove the information sought and if the LRA
has demonstrated diligence in attempting to obtain federal tax
returns or pay stubs but has been unsuccessful in doing so.

(f) If financial support is not desired, no financial application
is required. Applicants with a Disabling Condition who either do
not desire or do not qualify for OSCSHN financial support shall
be eligible for Care Coordination services. The appli-cant may be
seen in a OSCSHN sponsored clinic. The LRA will be responsible
for the cost of services;

(g) Determination of eligibility is performed at the regional
offices:

(A) The OSCSHN staff shall verify the information provided
on behalf of the Applicant. This will include discussion, including
an interview with the LRAs, if the application is not complete.
The interview shall be conducted at a place and time convenient to
all parties;

(B) If supplemental information required by OSCSHN to
determine eligibility is not provided within 14 days after the LRA
receives notice of a requirement that said information is needed to
complete this application, OSCSHN shall then advise the LRAs
that the application will be invalidated and not given further
consideration unless the LRA was precluded, due to causes
beyond his/her control, from providing the information required;

(C) A written decision regarding eligibility shall be sent to
the LRAs within 30 days of receipt of the completed application
unless the emergent nature of the child’s condition requires a
decision in a more timely fashion.
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572-060-0115
Eligibility: Disabling Conditions

(1) OSCSHN Eligible Conditions Criteria:

(a) Currently OSCSHN serves children whose disabling
impairments are enumerated in the list in the section which
follows. These conditions were determined as covered by the
Director, in consultation with and upon advice of the Advisory
Panel. A list of included diagnoses is on file in the Director’s
office;

(b) Within the resources available and following established
standards, the OSCSHN has determined that it can best serve
children who: Have disabling impairments that are expected to be
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chronic; involve multiple physical defects/ disabilities/handicaps;
are amenable to treatment as determined by the treating physician;
and have a need for long-term highly specialized medical care
including, as necessary, related habilitative services.

(2) Disabling Conditions:

(a) Orthopedic Impairments which are defined as those
affecting bone, joint or muscle are eligible. Such impairments may
be of congenital origin, or may be manifestations of an active
chronic disease, or may represent a persisting result of previous
infection, trauma, toxicity, disease or malignancy, which are
determined to be chronic orthopedic impairments amenable to
treatment requiring long-term management involving specialist
care and required related habilitative or rehabilitative services;

(b) Nervous System Impairments which are defined as those
affecting the brain, spinal cord or peripheral nerves, and present as
physical disabilities are eligible. Such impairments may be of
congenital origin, or may be manifestations of an active chronic
disease, or may represent a persisting result of previous infection,
trauma, toxicity, disease which are determined to be chronic
neurologic impairments responsive to medical treatment requiring
long-term management involving specialist care and required
related habilitative services. Children in a chronic vegetative state
would be eligible upon medically determined emergence of
recovery and sufficient health stability for a program of active
habilitation to be instituted (for purposes of this clause, a chronic
vegetative state is defined as a condition in which a child displays
only brain stem or reflexive activity and no evidence of
progressive positive developmental or neurological improvement,
as determined by usual and customary medical standards);

(¢) Cardiovascular Impairments which are defined as
primarily affecting the heart and the larger blood vessels are
eligible. Such impairments may be of congenital or acquired
origin, the latter representing a persisting result of previous
infection, trauma, toxicity or disease and which are determined to
be a chronic cardiovascular impairment responsive to treatment
requiring multispecialist intervention and a program of extended
supervision and/or long-term active management, specialized
medical care and such related habilitation services as may be
necessary. Children with a disease or past infection known to
primarily affect the heart which predispose to chronic heart
impairment and which requires specialist management to
minimize or preclude such impairment would be eligible;

(d) External Body Impairments, including the oral-facial-
cranial and nasal structures, their extension into the pharynx,
larynx, major bronchi and esophageal structures, defined as
significant (not minor) defects affecting the skin or its underlying
structures and defects of the mucosa or its underlying structures
which may effect breathing, speech or eating. Such impairments
must be determined to be beyond the range of acceptable function
as determined by the OSCSHN program and its appropriate health
care specialists and must be of organic (non-functional) origin.
The impairment must be assumed to be responsive to specialist(s)
intervention or to related habilitative/ rehabilitative services.
Defects of dentition and dental occlusion associated with
craniofacial deformities are included. Impairments acquired as a
result of burns requiring specialized care and/or long-term
habilitation would be eligible;

(e) Hearing Impaired children are eligible for services when
such impairment is considered to be related to an OSCSHN
eligible condition or children under the age of six with severe
prolonged hearing loss may be eligible;

(f) Communication Impairments. This category includes any
congenital or acquired impairment of speech articulation, voice or
language. Eligible etiologies include impairment of the structural,
motor, sensory, or cognitive systems. Excluded are impairments
of non-organic origin, such as stuttering and those related to
maturational delay;

(g) Cystic Fibrosis. Children with cystic fibrosis are eligible
if they manifest symptoms amenable to specialized medical care
and long-term management by a team of specialists organized for
this purpose;

(h) Hemophilia and similar genetic disorders of coagulation
are eligible;

(i) Inborn Errors of Metabolism. Children with inborn errors
of metabolism are eligible if they manifest symptoms amenable to
specialized medical care and long-term management by a team of
specialists organized for this purpose;

(j) Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis (JRA). Children with JRA
are eligible if they manifest symptoms amenable to specialized
care and long-term management by a team of specialists organized
for this purpose;

(k) Child Development. Children between birth and three
years of age who are developmentally delayed or who are
biologically or socially at risk of becoming disabled are eligible;

(1) Genetics. Services are offered to families with or
suspected of having genetic disorders who could benefit from
counseling and diagnostic services;

(m) A special fund is administered by CDRC for Prenatal
Diagnosis and counseling services for those women who are
residents of Oregon and meet financial eligibility tests, and:

(A) Are of advanced maternal age;

(B) Have a family history of, previous child with, or who are
themselves at risk for a prenatally diagnosable condition;

(C) Have an abnormal maternal serum alphafetoprotein
screen; or

(D) Have an abnormal ultrasound examination which reveals
certain structural aberrations.

(n) Hemophilia Assistance Program (HAP) is a financial
assistance program for adult hemophiliacs administered by
CDRC. The use of these funds is almost solely for the purpose of
subvention of antihemophilic factor products.

(3) Health care services which are nor eligible (not provided
by OSCSHN) are those defined as “well child care”, routine
medical and dental and visual care, medical care of acute
childhood illnesses (defined as diseases which are not normally
chronically disabling and which are not unusual in the course of a
child’s maturation) or trauma or short-term complications related
thereto, are not provided by OSCSHN.

(4) Care Beyond Medical Eligible Conditions. Children with
the chronic disabling impairments, which are defined in these
rules as Disabling Conditions, may have associated health impair-
ments which, as isolated health impairments, would not be
considered as medically eligible for OSCSHN services. However,
in order to achieve a realistic habilitation goal, if medically
recommended, the services required to treat such associated health
impairments will be provided to Recipient Children, except those
related to a chronic vegetative state. Treatment of such associated
health impairments must relate to the Disabling Condition and
will continue to be provided only so long as the Recipient Child
has a Disabling Condition which is under continuing and active
treatment. Further, if at any time, one of these other than
Disabling Conditions becomes the Recipient Child’s primary
health problem, as defined by the Recipient Child’s attending
health care provider, these additional services will be
discontinued.

(5) Health care services for children whose disabling
impairment is considered to be “acute” as an immediate associated
consequence of infection, trauma, disease, toxicity would be
considered eligible after completion of medical treatment of such
acute condition and determination of a resulting disabling
impairment.
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572-060-0120
Eligibility: Financial

(1) The LRAs have an obligation to meet the cost of care for
their Recipient Child to the extent they are able. Financial
assistance, in the form described in OAR 572-060-0140, is
provided to LRAs who are unable to meet such expenses from
their own resources as established through a Financial Need
Determination performed pursuant to criteria established in
sections (3) and (4) of this rule.

(2) Exceptions to Financial Need Determination: Financial
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information is not required from LRAs when:

(a) No expenditure of OSCSHN funds is anticipated;

(b) The child is a ward of a state agency;

(c) The child has been determined eligible for services being
provided by or reimbursed by a state agency using criteria the
same as, or more stringent than, OSCSHN.

(3) Criteria for Financial Assistance:

(a) Financial eligibility is based upon the financial status of
the LRAs. If the Applicant or Recipient Child has more than one
LRA and those LRAs are not living together in the same house-
hold, each LRA must submit the required financial data. Separate
determinations shall be made based upon the financial data from
each LRA. Eligibility will be based upon the greater income
determination;

(b) In cases in which OSCSHN is unable to obtain any
financial information from the noncustodial LRA and that LRA is
not providing any financial support to the custodial LRA or child,
OSCSHN will base its determination of financial eligibility on the
Adjusted Family Income of the available LRA;

(c) The Income Scale represents 300 percent of the poverty
income guidelines adjusted for family size as developed by the
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Although this
scale is derived from gross income figures, for purposes of
financial eligibility, a family is placed on the scale according to its
Adjusted Family Income and family size;

(d) Financial assistance is provided when the Adjusted
Family Income considering family size is equal to or less than that
which is allowable in accordance with the Income Scale. The
LRA and attorney must submit a Reimbursement Agreement, if
applicable, as provided in OAR 572-060-0110(2)(c)(C)(iii);

(e) The LRA shall be determined ineligible for financial
assistance from OSCSHN when:

(A) It is determined that the Adjusted Family Income is in
excess of that which is allowable in accordance with the Income
Scale;

(B) An LRA has failed within the time periods established in
OAR 572-060-0110(4)(d) to provide sufficient information to
determine eligibility. In such instances, eligibility shall commence
30 days prior to the date of receipt of such information necessary
to establish eligibility;

(C) An LRA has failed within the time period established in
OAR 572-060-0110(4)(d) to complete and sign the application
(including the financial application), if requested, and the
Reimbursement Agreement, if applicable OAR 572-060-
0110(2)(c) (C)(iii). In such instances, eligibility shall commence
30 days prior to the date of receipt of the signed application,
and/or Reimbursement Agreement;

(D The family is enrolled in a Health Maintenance
Organization (HMO) which has responsibility for provision of
health care for the Applicant or Recipient Child and the HMO is
equipped and qualified to provide the necessary care;

(E) The family appears to be eligible for Medicaid, Medicare
or other third party coverage and has not made application;

(F) In addition, the LRAs shall lose their financial assistance
if: Health insurance payments or other forms of payment available
or paid directly to the LRA to meet the cost of care for the
Recipient Child have not been applied to the cost of care arranged,
authorized, and paid by OSCSHN for that child. In such instances,
eligibility shall be reinstated upon reaching an agreement for
repayment to a health care provider or to OSCSHN of an amount
equal to the health insurance payments made available but not
applied toward the child’s cost of care;

(g) LRAs determined to be ineligible shall be advised of the
right to appeal the determination in accordance with the
procedures as set forth in OAR 572-060-0125;

(h) Period of Financial Eligibility:

(A) Financial eligibility shall be established for a maximum
12-month period;

(B) Financial eligibility can be redetermined on or following
the expiration date established in OAR 572-060-0120 (3)(h)(A)
and (D);

(C) Financial eligibility ordinarily begins at the date of
application for OSCSHN assistance unless circumstances beyond

the control of the child and the LRA precluded timely application.
If OSCSHN, after its own investigation, determines that such
circumstances exist, eligibility shall commence 30 days prior to
the date of application to OSCSHN. Only such care or services
which would have been approved as meeting OSCSHN standards
of care, as set forth in these rules, shall be considered for this
period of retroactive eligibility;

(D) The period of financial eligibility may be less than 12
months under the following circumstances:

(i) If OSCSHN eligibility was based upon eligibility with the
Oregon Human Resources Adult and Family Services Department
and such eligibility has been cancelled. Eligibility for OSCSHN
benefits shall be cancelled at the same time that AFS eligibility is
cancelled. The LRAs must reapply by submitting the same
financial information as is required of all applicants;

(i1) If the Recipient Child, at the time of financial evaluation,
was a ward of an agency or court because adoption had not been
finalized and the adoption is finalized. OSCSHN eligibility shall
be redetermined on the effective date of the finalization of the
adoption;

(iii) If changes occur including but not limited to family size,
income, insurance and medical expenses. The LRA shall notify
OSCSHN within 14 days of such changes;

(iv) If verification of income is from sources which are more
than 12 months old at time of submission. In such event,
OSCSHN shall establish a period of eligibility of sufficient
duration to permit the applicant to submit information with respect
to income from sources which are less than 12 months old.

(4) Financial Determination Calculations:

(a) Family Size: Family size shall be determined by the sum
of the number of persons in each of the following categories when
they share the same household. However, if a person falls into
more than one category, that person shall be counted only once:

(A) The Applicant or Recipient Child;

(B) The Applicant or Recipient Child’s spouse;

(C) An LRA and his/her spouse;

(D) Other persons who, for federal income tax purposes, are
deemed dependents of an LRA.

(b) The family’ Annual Gross Income shall be the sum of the
Annual Gross Income of persons comprising the family unit, as
determined above but excluding income of dependent children.
Annual Gross Income includes:

(A) Wages, salaries, bonuses, other earnings, and tips;

(B) All interest and dividends from financial institutions and
investments and from stocks and bonds;

(C) Alimony, child support payments received;

(D) Income from pensions, annuities, and other retirement
fund sources;

(E) Income from Social Security;

(F) Unemployment compensation;

(G) Workers’ compensation;

(H) Disability/sick leave payments;

(I) Income from rents, royalties, partnerships, estates, trusts,
corporations, farms, and businesses, after expenses to produce
such income are deducted;

(J) Capital gains. All capital gains shall be treated as ordinary
income for purposes of determining a family’s Annual Gross
Income except capital gains realized from the sale of a family
residence which shall be excluded in its entirety;

(K) All supplemental gains income;

(L) All other earned and unearned income not limited to, but
including lottery winnings, which may be applied toward the cost
of care for the Applicant or Recipient Child.

(c) Income from the following sources shall be excluded for
purposes of determining financial eligibility:

(A) The income of dependents (other than the Applicant or
Recipient Child and his/her spouse) under 21 years of age;

(B) Irregular income of not more than $150 quarterly;

(C) Scholarships, grants, or loans to a student for educational
purposes;

(D) The value of coupons or other subsidies provided low
income families by a governmental organization or program;

(E) Lump sum payments from insurance received due to the
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death of an LRA;

(F) Money borrowed;

(G) Funds held in a trust which are legally unavailable for
payment of the Applicant’s or Recipient Child’s special health
care expenses.

(d) The following are allowable expenses which the family
may deduct from their Annual Gross Income in determining
financial eligibility:

(A) Payment of support for non-dependent children;

(B) Child care costs that enable an LRA to maintain
employment;

(C) Business expenses that enable an LRA to maintain
employment;

(D) Health insurance premiums for policies covering the
Applicant or Recipient Child;

(E) Outstanding expenses of the Applicant or Recipient Child
for services related to the OSCSHN eligible condition that are not
recoverable through any insurance plan or other third-party payors
including donated funds.
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572-060-0125
Appeal Process

(1) Notice of Determination:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in these rules, OSCSHN
shall notify the Applicant’s LRAs in writing within 30 days of the
receipt of the completed application that OSCSHN has determined
that the Applicant is eligible or ineligible. If the Applicant or LRA
is determined to be ineligible, the Notice of Determination shall
state the reason for said determination;

(b) In the event that OSCSHN has requested additional
information in order to determine eligibility, including continuing
eligibility, or has requested the LRA to sign a Reimbursement
Agreement and the request has not been complied with within the
time period set forth in OAR 572-060-0110(3)(g)(B), OSCSHN
shall notify the LRAs that the application shall be considered
inactive and provide the reasons therefore;

(c) OSCSHN shall notify a Recipient Child’s LRA in writing
of any action which OSCSHN intends to take which adversely
affects the LRA’s financial eligibility. This written notification
shall provide specific reasons for the action being taken. This
written notification shall be sent to the Recipient Child’s LRA at
least 30 days prior to the effective date of the proposed action.

(2) Right to Reapply: If the Applicant or Recipient Child’s
LRAs have been determined to be ineligible, they may reapply at
any time they believe they have become eligible;

(3) Right to Meeting and Appeal Conference:

(a) The Applicant or Recipient Child’s LRA, or designated
representative, has a right to a meeting with the OSCSHN staff
person responsible for a decision reflected in any Notice of
Determination issued pursuant to subsections (1)(a), (b) , and (c)
of this rule:

(A) The request for such a meeting must be made in writing;

(B) The request must be made within 14 days of receipt of
said Notice of Determination;

(C) OSCSHN shall contact the requester within five days of
receipt of the request in order to schedule a meeting date, time and
place;

(D) Within seven days after the meeting, OSCSHN shall
notify the Applicant or Recipient Child’s LRA of the result of the
meeting and shall state the reasons for the decision made.

(b) The Applicant or Recipient Child’s LRA, or designated
representative, have a right to appeal the results of meeting
decision to the Director in a conference with the Director or
his/her designee held for that purpose. The Director shall not take
part in any original decision or any initial meeting held under
subsection (3)(a) of this rule:

(A) The request for such an appeal conference must be made
in writing;

(B) The request must be made within 14 days of receipt of

notification of result of the meeting referenced in subsection (3)(a)
of this rule;

(C) OSCSHN shall contact the requester within five days of
receipt of the request in order to schedule a meeting date, time and
place;

(D) The Director or his/her designee shall consider the
decision issued pursuant to paragraph (3)(a)(D) of this rule any
written material presented at the meeting provided for in section
(3) of this rule, any evidence presented at the conference, and all
other information which the Director or his/her designee obtains
through an independent investigation of the issues raised by the
appeal;

(E) Within seven days after the appeal conference, OSCSHN
shall notify the Applicant or Recipient Child’s LRAs of the result
of the appeal conference. Such notification shall be in the manner
set forth in section (3) of this rule and shall state the reasons for
the decision made;

(F) The decision rendered by the Director or his designee is
final.

(4) Meeting and Conference Procedure. The Applicant or
Recipient Child’s LRAs, or designated representative, shall be
allowed:

(a) The right at any time to inspect and copy the contents of
the Applicant or Recipient Child’s case file and any other
documents used by OSCSHN in making its determination or
proposing its action; and

(b) The right to appear on their own behalf and/or to be
represented, advised and/or accompanied by a relative, friend,
lawyer or advocate; and

(c) The right to present relevant information, witnesses and
evidence in any form; and

(d) The right to ask questions of OSCSHN staff present.

(5) OSCSHN may deny or dismiss a meeting or appeal
conference if:

(a) The Applicant or Recipient Child’s LRAs, or designated
representative, withdraw the request for the meeting or appeal
conference in writing; or

(b) The Applicant or Recipient Child’s LRA, or designated
representative, fails to appear at the scheduled meeting or appeal
conference.

(6) Benefits While Awaiting Decision: LRAs of Applicants
who are denied financial assistance benefits may appeal the denial
but shall not receive any financial benefits in behalf of the
Applicant while awaiting the meeting or appeal conference;

(7) Effective Dates of OSCSHN Decisions:

(a) If the decision of a meeting or appeal conference is in
favor of an Applicant’s LRA, the financial assistance benefits
determined appropriate as a result of the appeal shall be effective
from the date of the application;

(b) If a Recipient Child’s LRA does not appeal, a Notice of
Determination of termination of OSCSHN benefits, the effective
date thereof shall be as provided for in subsection (1)(c) of this
rule;

(c) If a Recipient Child’s LRA appeals a Notice of
Determination of termination of OSCSHN benefits, no such
termination or reduction shall be effective until ten days after all
appeal rights have been waived or exhausted;

(d) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained
herein, if Notice is sent to an LRA pursuant to subsection (1)(c) of
this rule, based upon a failure of the LRA to comply with the
requirements of OAR 572-060-0110(4)(b)(A) (relating to
reporting of changes in financial condition or family size), and if
OSCSHN determines to act in terminating LRA financial benefits
to the extent such is permitted to it hereunder, after all LRA rights
to appeal have been exhausted or waived, then said action shall be
deemed to be effective on the 45th day after the unreported
change in family circumstances occurred, regardless of when the
notice provided for in subsection (1)(c) of this rule is actually sent
to the LRA. Nothing contained in these rules shall be construed as
reducing any rights of the LRA to object to any proposed
OSCSHN action or as may be otherwise provided in these rules
and no OSCSHN action shall be final unless and until all such
rights have been exhausted or waived.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 440010 - 440.050

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 4-1989, f. 6-30-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; HSU 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 2-
15-91; HSU 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-11-94

572-060-0130
Payment for Services

(1) With respect to Medicaid, Medicare, any health insurance
plan or policy or other third party, unless prohibited by law,
OSCSHN shall be deemed the payer of last resort. Nothing
contained in these regulations shall authorize or require OSCSHN
to provide payment for medical services, hospital services,
supplies or appliances which would otherwise be paid by
Medicaid, Medicare, any health insurance plan or policy or other
third party, including donated funds and such other funds
available for health care derived from settlement of injury claims.

(2) Payments for services are subject to the availability of
funds as determined by the OHSU in its sole discretion:

(a) If OSCSHN determines, based upon its own internal
auditing and record keeping systems, at any time, that it does not
have or will not have sufficient funds to provide payments for
authorized services for additional Applicants, OSCSHN shall:

(A) Cease approving applications;

(B) OSCSHN employees shall inform clinic patients and
other persons that OSCSHN is no longer approving applications
because of insufficient funds, and shall inform such persons of the
probable date on which OSCSHN shall again approve
applications;

(C) Cease authorizing additional health care services for
Recipient Children whose LRAs are eligible for OSCSHN
financial assistance.

(b) If OSCSHN determines, based upon its own internal
auditing and record keeping systems, at any time that it does not
have or will not have sufficient funds to provide payments for
authorized services for Applicants who have applied, but for
whom no determination of eligibility has been made, OSCSHN
shall nevertheless finish processing those applications and
determine the eligibility or ineligibility of each such Applicant
and their LRAs for use in the event that additional funds become
available. In such event, the LRAs of eligible applications shall be
provided funding in the order received unless a child’s life or
good health is threatened, in which event said child’s application
will be given priority;

(c) OSCSHN shall make payments for authorized services in
the order in which OSCSHN receives bills for such services;

(d) If OSCSHN determines due to nonavailability of funds
that it is unable to pay for an authorized service, it shall cancel the
authorization and any related purchase order any time up to the
point at which services have been provided. In the event any
authorization is cancelled pursuant to this limitation, any charges
incurred for services rendered after the date of cancellation shall
not be the obligation of OSCSHN;

(e) Except as otherwise specifically provided herein, in the
event that OSCSHN determines that it does not or will not have
sufficient funds to provide payments for all Applicants, present
and future, as well as to make payments in behalf of all Recipient
Children, it shall first cease accepting applications in accordance
with subsection (a) of this section and finish processing received
applications in accordance with subsection (b) of this section. If
after taking such action, it is still determined that sufficient funds
are not available, it shall take the actions set forth in subsections
(c) and (d) of this section. In the event that the life or good health
of a child is threatened if a procedure is not performed, OSCSHN
shall give funding such procedure priority over other procedures
not posing such threat.

(3) The Director shall establish a system for authorized non-
physician hospital inpatient services based upon usual lengths of
stay or maximum dollar amounts per admission.

(4) By accepting an OSCSHN authorization, the Health Care
Provider agrees not to seek further payment from the patient or the
patient’s family for such authorized services beyond the amounts
available from insurance, OSCSHN, Medicare, Medicaid, or other
third party. In those cases where OSCSHN has notified the

Provider that money is no longer available from OSCSHN, the
Provider shall not be so restricted.

(5) Insurance:

(a) All insurance benefits must be used;

(b) Payment for authorized services for children with
insurance benefits shall not be made until insurance has paid or
rejected the claim. Subject to all the limits on benefits as
contained in these rules, OSCSHN will pay the cost of all required
services above that reimbursed by insurance. The Director shall
approve payment for authorized services prior to settlement of the
insurance claims if such is necessary to avoid undue suffering or
to preserve life and good health, and if immediate payment will
cause OSCSHN funds to be utilized in the most efficient and
effective fashion, all as determined, based on usual and customary
health standards;

(c) The family shall notify OSCSHN within 30 days of any
change in the child’s health insurance coverage which results in
coverage of costs which are currently paid for by OSCSHN.

(6) The Provider shall reimburse OSCSHN first out of any
funds received from Medicaid, Medicare, any medical insurance
plan or policy or other third party, including donated funds and
such other funds available for health care derived from settlement
of injury claims.

(7) OSCSHN will not provide reimbursement for minor
occasional costs of a Recipient Child’s treatment. For purposes of
this clause, “minor costs” shall be defined as charges for supplies,
equipment, replacement parts, repair and replacement of
equipment, and drugs less than $25 each. “Occasional costs” shall
be defined as costs occurring less frequently than once per month.
In the event that minor costs are not occasional, they may be
aggregated by the LRA and will be authorized by OSCSHN.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 440.010 - 440.050

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 4-1989, f. 6-30-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; HSU 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 2-

15-91; HSU 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-11-94

572-060-0135
Availability of Services

(1) Limitations. OSCSHN will not provide the following:

(a) Organ transplants and related anti-rejection drugs;

(b) Surgery which is primarily for cosmetic purposes;

(c) Research or experimental medical or professional
services, hospital services, drugs, devices or equipment:

(A) Research or experimental medical or professional
services, hospital services, drugs, devices or equipment is defined
to include services, drugs, devices or equipment which have not
been recognized as having a proven rehabilitative value as
determined by the professional standards of the applicable
medical or health care specialty groups, including but not limited
to:

(i) Equipment or appliances that do not have the approval of
the Department of Health and Human Services Food and Drug
Administration or other appropriate federal agency (Investi-
gational New Drugs and Devices and Investigational Services and
Treatments shall not be deemed to have received such approval.);

(i) Medical and/or other health related services, including
drugs, food supplements, equipment or appliances not reported on,
described, or discussed in published and recognized professional
journals which have an advisory board passing on its publications;

(iii) Services, drugs, devices, equipment or appliances that
have not been recognized by appropriate national professional
organizations.

(B) If a Health Care Provider wishes to utilize medical and/or
other services, equipment or appliances which are identified as
possibly research or experimental, the Provider must provide a
written justification for doing so. Other pertinent information from
knowledgeable professional sources may be obtained by the
Health Care Provider. Based on the information supplied and the
criteria at subparagraphs (A)(i) - (iii) of this subsection, the
OSCSHN Director shall determine whether services or equipment
are research or experimental;

(C) If OSCSHN authorizes a Health Care Provider to
perform services or to purchase equipment or supplies later
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determined by OSCSHN as research or experimental, and if said
Provider has failed to notify OSCSHN in advance of the possible
experimental or research nature thereof, the Provider shall be
obligated to refund any monies paid to it by OSCSHN or the LRA
to perform such procedure or purchase such item;

(D) Appeals for waivers to the above limitations are to be
made in writing to the Director who may approve services on an
exception basis.

(d) Services outside of the State of Oregon if the Director
determines that identical quality of service can be provided at
facilities within the State of Oregon.

(2) Authorization: General:

(a) Except as otherwise specifically provided in subsection
(3)(e) of this rule, all health care services, equipment or drugs to
be purchased for individuals by OSCSHN, including diagnostic
evaluation services (section (4) of this rule), must be
preauthorized, i.e., authorized by OSCSHN before their delivery.
Such authorizations shall be to specific Health Care Providers and
shall specify the services to be provided;

(b) Prior to any services, equipment or drugs being
authorized by OSCSHN, a completed application must have been
submitted to OSCSHN and eligibility established for the
OSCSHN program;

(c) All authorizations are recorded as part of the individual
patient’s case record.

(3) Authorization Procedure:

(a) An authorization for health care services, equipment or
drugs must be requested from OSCSHN:

(A) Any person may request that OSCSHN issue an
authorization, but authorizations will not be effective until
OSCSHN receives notice from a Health Care Provider which
documents the need for and extent of the services, equipment or
drugs to be provided to the Recipient Child. This notice may be
either written or oral;

(B) Services, drugs or equipment which are duplicative of
those authorized or exceed authorized limits or are arranged
without prior notification to and concurrence by OSCSHN shall
not be authorized.

(b) Authorizations will be issued for health care services,
drugs or equipment only to a specific Health Care Provider and
then only if Provider meets the criteria established in this Part, has
evidenced a willingness to participate in the OSCSHN program,
agrees to accept OSCSHN rates of payment, and agrees to abide
by OSCSHN administrative procedures, as set forth in these rules:

(A) OSCSHN maintains lists of qualifying, currently
participating Health Care Providers;

(B) If the LRA or Recipient Child wishes to use a particular
Health Care Provider, not currently participating in the OSCSHN
program, that Provider will be added to the OSCSHN program if
said Provider meets all the standards enumerated in OAR 572-
060-0145 however, OHSU salaried clinicians will not be paid by
OSCSHN for services performed outside of their OHSU
employment contract.

(c) All hospitalizations and all equipment purchases are
subject to separate authorizations for each occasion of such
service;

(d) Children receiving OSCSHN services shall be
preauthorized a certain set number of professional outpatient
service visits if such is determined medically necessary and said
services will be furnished by a specific Health Care Professional
or Facility. Upon recommendation for additional services by a
Health Care Professional, separate issuance of authorization(s)
will be required;

(e) Exceptions to the pre-authorization requirement:

(A) The initial referral of a child to OSCSHN may be
concurrent with the first visit to an approved Health Care
Professional or Health Care Facility. Upon submission of a
referral from the Health Care Professional or Provider and/or an
application by an LRA (within 30 days of the time services were
rendered), an authorization for the aforedescribed initial medical
services will be issued if the Applicant and LRA are determined
eligible for the OSCSHN program and if the services provided are
determined by OSCSHN to be medically necessary to meet

special health needs through the application of usual and
customary medical criteria.

NOTE: Payment for such services is subject to the time limits on

retroactive benefits.

(B) Retroactive authorizations for services provided will be
made unless:

(i) The service was not provided during a period of eligibility
except as provided in paragraph (A) of this subsection;

(i1)) OSCSHN was not notified within 30 days after the
service was provided;

(iii) Funds are not available to make the reimbursement, as
determined by OSCSHN in accordance with OAR 572-060-
0130(2);

(iv) The service was provided by a Health Care Facility or by
a Health Care Professional not pre-approved by OSCSHN as
meeting the Standards for Health Care Professionals (OAR 572-
060-0145) or Standards for Facilities (OAR 572-060-0150);
unless the service provided was an emergency, in which case the
service will be retroactively authorized if the Facility or
Professional providing the service is deemed by OSCSHN to meet
the standards in these rules after the request for reimbursement is
received;

(v) The LRA has privately arranged for services with a
Health Care Provider expecting private sources of reimbursement
at the level of their usual and customary charges; unless said
Provider subsequently agrees to accept the OSCSHN level of
reimbursement.

(4) The Diagnostic Evaluation Program (Diagnostic
Services):

(a) OSCSHN provides for early identification and diagnostic
evaluation of children eligible for the OSCSHN treatment
program through the qualified professional and support staff
within OSCSHN, through a clinic system which is organized and
operated in cooperation with Health Care Providers from various
regions and through relationships with Health Care Providers in
the private-voluntary sector throughout the state. All appointments
are coordinated through OSCSHN Program Support offices;

(b) Necessary Diagnostic Services are provided without
charge above available insurance or other forms of reimbursement
if the family is OSCSHN eligible;

(c) In specified areas outside of Portland, Eugene and
Medford, OSCSHN arranges for regional clinics with special or
general scope to meet on a periodic basis. These clinics are staffed
by Health Care Professionals participating in the OSCSHN
program and are available for Diagnostic Services as well as
certain treatment services;

(d) In the cities of Portland, Eugene and Medford, OSCSHN
utilizes established CDRC tertiary clinics associated with
OSCSHN approved Health Care Facilities to perform Diagnostic
Services;

(e) If OSCSHN is able to determine, from an interview or
from other existing information, that an Applicant is ineligible,
Diagnostic Services shall not be paid by OSCSHN;

(f) All Diagnostic Services must be provided on an outpatient
basis unless inpatient services for this purpose are specifically
approved by the Director who shall approve such services when
they are required to complete the diagnostic evaluation.

(5) The Treatment Program:

(a) OSCSHN provides for treatment and follow-up services
through established CDRC tertiary clinics, through qualified
professional and support staff within OSCSHN, through a
regional clinic system utilizing OSCSHN approved Health Care
Professionals and Facilities, and through Health Care Providers
throughout the state. The OSCSHN program is oriented in large
part around a tertiary clinic or “specialized centers” model to
encourage coordinated multi-specialist involvement with
OSCSHN Recipient Children;

(b) The services provided through the OSCSHN Treatment
Program, when determined medically necessary by a Recipient
Child’s treating health care professional(s), include the following:

(A) Consultative services through a Health Care Professional
or Facility;

(B) Continuing outpatient supervision furnished by Health
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Care Professionals including office visits or by a Health Care
Facility in a clinic, if such would more adequately meet the health
care needs of the Recipient Child based on all applicable health
criteria than would a OSCSHN regional clinic;

(C) Hospitalization and inpatient health care and/or surgical
treatment including special rehabilitation services. Procedures,
tests, or services customarily performed in outpatient facilities
may be rendered on an inpatient basis if determined to be
indicated by the Director, based on the recommendation of the
Recipient Child’s treating Health Care Professional(s);

(D) Assistive appliances approved by OSCSHN, such as
braces, prosthetic limbs, hearing aids, speech prostheses and
related adaptive devices and special supplies determined
necessary to accomplish rehabilitation goals. Excluded are fixed
architectural modifications of the LRA’s dwelling in which the
child resides, and property related thereto;

(E) Speech-language pathology, audiology;

(F) Physical and occupational therapy;

(G) Nutrition evaluation, guidance and provision of special
dietary substances available through programs of public or private
agencies established for such purposes;

(H) Specialized dental care, such as orthodontics, prostho-
dontics, or oral surgery as required to further the treatment plan of
children with severe orocraniofacial deformities (e.g., cleft lip-
palate). Routine preventive or restorative dentistry is not provided
except for children for whom this services is a specific recom-
mendation to be integrated into an authorized orthodontic or
prosthodontic plan or who, as a special requirement imposed by a
physical impairment or as a result of the severity of an
impairment, requires specialized dental restorative intervention;

(I) Arrangements for home follow-up services by public
health and/or related habilitative services personnel;

(J) Specialized prescriptive drugs integral to the treatment
program of a chronic disability, subject to the limitations of OAR
572-060-0130(6);

(K) Genetic evaluation and family counseling;

(L) Psychological/psychiatric evaluation as recommended for
diagnosis and treatment planning;

(M) Referral to other public or private agencies as required to
further support the special needs of the family and/or child.

(c) In order to make recommended services accessible to
financially eligible families, OSCSHN will support necessary
transportation, lodging, meals, parking costs and interpreter for
the family and child at lowest available rates. OSCSHN shall be
obligated to provide said support only if no other sources are
available for this purpose. The LRA must provide documentation
such as receipts to verify such costs:

(A) Support will be available for the following individuals:
LRAs; the Recipient Child; any additional caretaker whose
presence is medically required to provide care for the Recipient
Child during transportation. Transportation assistance will be
limited to a maximum of one round trip for each authorized
person requiring an overnight stay. Mileage reimbursement will
be at the prevailing rate for non-employees of the Oregon State
System of Higher Education;

(B) When circumstance so dictates to meet the health care
needs of the child, the Director shall authorize payments in excess
of the amount stated above.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 444.010 - 444.050

Stats. Implemented: ORS
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572-060-0140
Rates of Payment

(1) All services subject to payment by OSCSHN shall be
authorized by OSCSHN in accordance with OAR 572-060-
0135(3). All payments shall be approved and made in accordance
with all applicable state laws relating to making disbursements of
public funds.

(2) Methods of Payment:

(a) The rate of payment for the services of Health Care

Professionals shall be established by the Director at a level not in
excess of the usual and customary fee for the service to be
performed as determined by all data, information and value scales
bearing on the appropriateness of the fee. Dental services shall
have the same reimbursement arrangement. OSCSHN will
negotiate other reimbursement formulae or fee schedules if it
determines that such will be required to meet the needs of children
with complex impairments;

(b) Payments for other treatment or services appropriate for
the condition being treated whether at the patient’s home, a
private office, hospital, extended care facility or outpatient
therapy center, shall be determined by the Director utilizing the
criteria described in section (1) of this rule;

(c) Payments for hospital services, including hospital
outpatient clinics, shall be the lower of the hospitals reimbursable
costs as determined by cost reports filed by the hospital with the
Oregon Department of Human Resources or similar agency or its
charges, unless a negotiated per-diem rate is in place between the
hospital and OSCSHN. Hospitals shall be entitled to interim
payments in amounts not to exceed their billed charges. In the
event that these interim payments to the hospital exceed the
hospital’s verified allowable costs, the hospital shall reimburse
any overpayment to OSCSHN. All payments made to hospitals
shall be deemed subject to this provision unless alternative
reimbursement methodologies have been agreed upon;

(d) Payments for outpatient services such as x-rays and
laboratory procedures shall be made in accordance with fee
schedules established by OSCSHN utilizing criteria described in
subsection (a) of this section;

(e) Payments for drugs shall be made at the usual and
customary charges or in accordance with established
reimbursement schedules;

(f) Payments for braces, prostheses, hearing aids, and related
assistive appliances and medical supplies shall be made in
accordance with the laws of the State of Oregon relating to
purchasing and finance;

(g) Payment amounts for services in out-of-state facilities not
otherwise included in subsection (c) of this section shall be said
facility’s charge unless OSCSHN determines that the charge
exceeds the usual and customary level of reimbursement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 440.010 - 440.050
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572-060-0145
Standards for Health Care Professionals

(1) Personnel Receiving OSCSHN Authorizations:

(a) Physicians: General Qualifications. In view of the
specialized care required by children with chronic and often
uncommon physical impairments served by OSCSHN, a
participating physician Health Care Professional shall be certified
by the appropriate board and sub-board, if applicable, of the
American Board of Medical Specialties; be licensed by the State
of Oregon or the state in which the medical services are being
provided; and be a member in good standing of the professional
staff of the Health Care Facility approved by OSCSHN for the
services to be provided. Physicians shall be those who have been
approved by OSCSHN as meeting the above standards as
evidenced by a submission thereof on forms provided by
OSCSHN for that purpose. The Director will authorize the use of
non-certified physicians when such is required to meet the needs
of a specific child (for purposes of this clause, a non-certified
physician is defined as a physician who is qualified by training in
his specialty as determined by the American Board of Medical
Specialties but who has not yet met the minimum experience
qualifications required to complete the credentialing process
through oral and written examinations). In such cases, the Director
will establish limits on the services to be performed by such
Professionals which reflect the extent of the training and
experience of the physician;

(b) Physicians: Special Qualifications: In meeting the unique
needs of individual children, the Director may find it necessary to
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require physicians involved in providing care to said children to
demonstrate that they have completed advanced training germane
to the condition being treated. Such training may include
subspecialty certification by the American Boards of Medical
Specialties or completion of a period of fellowship training in an
approved program. The Director may also require, in such
circumstance, that the physician evidence completion of
continuing medical education in the specialized area needed and
demonstrate significant recent experience in treating low
incidence health impairments. Among the services provided by
OSCSHN which require such qualifications are those involving
medical and surgical management of children with cardiac
defects; surgical management of curvature of the spine;
habilitation of the upper extremity amputee; diagnosis and
management of inborn errors of metabolism; hemophilia; cystic
fibrosis; cleft lip/palate; spina bifida; juvenile rheumatoid arthritis;
and genetic evaluation and counseling;

(¢) Other Health Care Professionals: Other Health Care
Professionals include, but are not limited to, nurses, physician
assistants in rural areas, social workers, specialized dentists,
physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech-language
pathologists, audiologists, ophthal-mologists, psychologists,
nutritionists, genetic counselors, orthotists, prosthetists, and
related consultants. Other Health Care Professionals shall meet
licensure, certification and credentialing requirements of the state
and professional associations in the specialty areas in which they
practice or provide services. Additionally, they shall present
evidence of their training and experience in providing services to
physically impaired children. Evidence of such training and
experience shall be relevant to the prescriptive intervention
ordered. The Director shall require additional qualifications when
further expertise is required in accordance with the standards
enumerated in subsection (b) of this section. Services by other
Health Professionals shall be provided when medically necessary
as determined by the OSCSHN Director considering the
recommendations of the primary physician;

(d) Insurance. All physicians and all other Health Care
Professionals must carry professional liability insurance in such
amounts as are determined by the Director from time to time and
must give OSCSHN assurance of this coverage;

(e) Health Care Professionals providing OSCSHN services
prior to the effective date of these rules. The above qualifications
notwith-standing, physicians and other Health Care Providers who
provided OSCSHN services prior to the effective date of these
rules shall be entitled to continue in such status provided the
Director determines in accordance with findings that they have
demonstrated the skill, knowledge, training and experience
necessary to continue to provide services to Recipient Children.
They shall be deemed to have demonstrated such skill, knowl-
edge, training and experience if past medical outcomes were
satisfactory, past medical diagnoses proved correct, and all past
medical interventions were in accordance with usual and
customary medical standards;

(f) Exclusion from Participation:

(A) Health Care Professionals formally involuntarily
excluded from participation in programs of federal and state
agencies shall automatically be excluded from participation in the
OSCSHN program;

(B) Health Care Professionals shall also be excluded for
cause. Cause for exclusion by OSCSHN shall include, but shall
not be limited to, failure to successfully complete the accreditation
process by the appropriate certifying Board or organization within
the maximum time frame for such certification; documented
evidence of any kind of professional performance not consonant
with the recognized standard of care; adverse action of a hospital
medical board, a professional society or other organization; and
lack of cooperation regarding billing practice or submission of
reports;

(C) Any exclusion for cause shall be communicated to the
Health Care Professional in writing. The Professional shall be
entitled to appeal any such decision in accordance with the
procedures set forth in section (2) of this rule.

(2) Upon receiving notice of OSCSHN intention to terminate

participation in OSCSHN programs for cause, a Health Care
Professional shall be entitled to a hearing thereon before the
OSCSHN Director, if such is requested in writing within 30 days
after said notice is received by the Professional:

(a) The hearing shall be informal in nature and the
Professional shall have the right to present all relevant
information, witnesses, and evidence in any form, whether or not
represented;

(b) The sole question which shall be determined is whether
the Professional is qualified to provide services to OSCSHN
Recipients under the standards established by OAR 572-060-
0100;

(c) Within 30 days after the hearing, the Director shall issue a
decision determining whether the Professional is so qualified and
stating the reasons for the decision. The decision shall be based
upon the facts presented at the hearing and, after sharing with the
professional any supplemental information gathered by the
Director, any supplemental investigation performed by the
Director;

(d) The decision of the Director shall be final.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 440.010 - 440.050

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 4-1989, f. 6-30-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; HSU 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 2-

15-91; HSU 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-11-94

572-060-0150
Standards for Health Care Facilities

(1) Diagnostic and Treatment Facilities — General:

(a) All such facilities utilized by OSCSHN must carry
adequate professional liability insurance in such amounts as are
determined by the Director from time to time and must give
OSCSHN assurance of this coverage;

(b) All hospital and extended care facilities utilized by
OSCSHN for the provision of patient care services shall conform
to written findings of the Director where such exist or to standards
set by an appropriate body, which shall be one or more of the
following:

(A) Licensure by the appropriate state licensing body;

(B) Accreditation by the Joint Commission on Accreditation
of Health Organizations (JCAHO);

(C) Approval of the Commission on Accreditation of
Rehabilitative Facilities.

(c) All hospital and extended care facilities serving Recipient
Children will have a physically definable pediatric unit to which
only children are admitted;

(d) All pediatric cardiology diagnostic and treatment centers
shall meet current guidelines promulgated by the American
Academy of Pediatrics in addition to having met standards set by
the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Health
Organizations;

(e) In making the selection and designation of such approved
patient care facilities, OSCSHN shall give priority to those
Oregon facilities which demonstrate emphasis on quality
children’s health care services pursuant to standards enumerated
above. In a particular service area in which only a single hospital
is utilized to admit all Recipient Children or it is determined that
travel to an appropriate facility in Oregon would constitute a
danger or severe hardship to the child or family, these standards
shall be waived when determined by the OSCSHN Director to be
medically indicated to meet the needs of the Recipient Child;

(f) The above standards shall be waived by the OSCSHN
Director when necessary to meet the medical needs of the child.

(2) Outpatient Therapy Centers, defined as facilities, directly
or not directly associated with approved hospital facilities, which
are organized to provide habilitative services such as physical and
occupational therapy, speech and hearing inter-vention services
(including applicable diagnoses), at the community level, will be
available to patients under OSCSHN authorization provided that:

(a) Such facilities carry adequate professional liability
insurance in such amounts as are determined by the Director from
time to time and OSCSHN is given assurances of this coverage;

(b) Such facilities and staff meet appropriate state
certification whenever such standards exist;
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(c) Such facilities and staff meet accreditation standards of
the Commission for Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities;
where they exist and Accreditation by the Professional Services
Board (PSB) of the American Speech-Language-Hearing
Association (ASHA);

(d) Utilization of Outpatient Therapy Centers or individual
therapist Health Care Professionals must be prescribed by the
Recipient Child’s OSCSHN authorized physician responsible for
the overall management of the physical impairment requiring the
habilitative service.

(3) Health Care Equipment Suppliers:

(a) All medical equipment suppliers must carry professional
liability insurance in such amounts as are determined by the
Director from time to time and must give OSCSHN assurance of
this coverage;

(b) A facility providing braces, appliances and/or prostheses
must be currently approved under the Facility Certification
Program adminis-tered by the American Board of Certification in
Orthotics and Prosthetics, Incorporated, and have in their employ
an orthotist and/or prosthetist who has successfully completed a
training program recognized by the American Board of Orthotists
and Prosthetists, Incorporated, and who is certified by said Board.
Providers of specialized medical equipment shall be authorized or
approved dealers for such equipment as defined by the
manufacturer and shall meet the manufacturer’s standards for
servicing and repairing such equipment;

(c) The above services must be requested by the Recipient
Child’s OSCSHN authorized physician;

(d) All providers of medical equipment must have all
required state and local certification or licenses for dispensing
medical equipment.

(4) Hospitals and other treatment facilities are responsible for
informing OSCSHN of changes in professional staff providing
services to any Recipient Child.

(5) Health Care Facilities not meeting the standards
established by this rule and therefore not
eligible for OSCSHN payment as either a general or specialized
provider shall be entitled to a hearing thereon before the OSCSHN
Director, if such is requested in writing within 30 days after notifi-
cation is received by the facility:

(a) The hearing shall be informal in nature and the Facility
shall have the right to present all relevant information, witnesses,
and evidence in any form, whether or not represented,;

(b) The sole question which shall be determined is whether
the Facility is qualified to provide services to OSCSHN
Recipients under the standards established by this rule;

(c) Within 30 days after the hearing, the Director shall issue a
decision determining whether the Facility is so qualified and
stating the reasons for the decision. The decision shall be based
upon the facts presented at the hearing and any supplemental
information received by the Director.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 440.010 - 440.050

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 4-1989, f. 6-30-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; HSU 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 2-

15-91; HSU 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-11-94

DIVISION 70
LIBRARY

Fee Schedules

572-070-0005
Library Fees and Services for Outside Users
The Fee Schedule of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for the Library is hereby adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Director of Libraries, Oregon Health Sciences
University.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist.: HSC 3-1979, f. 6-21-79, ef. 7-1-79; HSC 5-1982, f. 6-30-82, ef. 7-1-82;

HSU 10-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

DIVISION 80
SCHOOL OF NURSING
Fee Schedules

572-080-0005
Continuing Nursing Education
The Fee Schedule of the Oregon Health Sciences
University for Continuing Nursing Education is hereby
adopted by reference.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Oregon Health Sciences University School of
Nursing.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351
Hist: HSU 11-1985, f. & ef. 7-2-85

DIVISION 90
OFFICE OF RURAL HEALTH

572-090-0005
Procedures for Financial Assistance to Rural Communities
The Oregon Health Sciences University hereby amends by
reference the Office of Rural Health, Procedure Manual for
Financial Assistance, Revision 1 dated November 1, 1991,
when awarding funds to rural communities with the state. The
manual is available at the Office of Rural Health, Oregon Health
Sciences University, Mail Code: ORH 4, 3181 SW Sam Jackson
Park Road, Portland, OR 97201 during regular business hours.
[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the Office of Rural Health — Oregon Health
Sciences University.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351422 & Ch. 442
Stats. Implemented: ORS
Hist.: HSU 6-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-3-90; HSU 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-92

572-090-0010
Definitions

For purposes clarifying definitions used in ORS 442.470
through 442.515, the following will apply:

(1) “Acute inpatient care facility” means a licensed hospital
with an organized medical staff, with permanent facilities that
include inpatient beds, and with comprehensive medical services,
including physician services and continuous nursing services
under the supervision of registered nurses, to provide diagnosis
and medical or surgical treatment primarily for but not limited to
acutely ill patients and accident victims.

(2) “Beds” refers to number of licensed beds in a facility.

(3) “Frontier area” is a county with a population density of
less than six persons per square mile.

(4) “Miles”, for the purpose of defining rural areas only,
means mileage from city to city as calculated and published by the
Oregon Department of Transportation, Highway Division.

(5) “Population” of a town or city refers to population figures
published in the most recent edition of the Oregon Blue Book.

(6) “Rural” means a geographic area ten or more miles from
a population center of 30,000 or more. Rural areas are of three
general types reflecting relative distances between principal health
care delivery sites, including:

(a) “Frontier areas”, which are counties in rural areas that
have a population density of six people per square mile or less;

(b) “Remote rural areas”, which are rural areas that are more
than thirty minutes average travel time from a population center of
10,000 or more and are not within a frontier area; and

(c) “Less remote rural areas”, which are rural areas that are
thirty minutes or less average travel time from a population center
of 10,000 or more and are not within a frontier area;

(d) Although the definitions of rural areas contained in these



Chapter 572  Oregon Health Sciences University
OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 1997 COMPILATION

rules are effective on the date of the adoption of these rules, areas
which have been considered “rural” by virtue of having a Type A,
Type B or Type C rural hospital will continue to be considered
“rural”.

(7) “Rural hospital” means an acute inpatient care facility
characterized by one of the following:

(a) Type A hospitals are small and remote, have fewer than
50 beds and are greater than 30 miles from another acute inpatient
care facility;

(b) Type B hospitals are small and rural, have 50 or fewer
beds and are 30 miles or less from another acute inpatient care
facility;

(c) Type C hospitals are considered rural and have more than
50 beds, but are not federally-designated rural referral centers;

(d) “Rural hospital” of any class does not include a hospital
designated by the Federal Government as a rural referral hospital;

(e) For purposes of determining a rural hospital(s)
classification, the definitions of “rural hospital” in this section
shall be considered effective as of January 1, 1989.

(8) “Thirty minutes travel time” means:

(a) In mountainous terrain, on coastal highways, or in areas
with only secondary roads available, 15 miles; or

(b) Under normal conditions with primary roads available, 20
miles; or

(c) In flat terrain or in areas connected by interstate
highways, 25 miles.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in

this rule are available from Oregon Health Sciences University.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 352 & 442

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 5-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-90; HSU 7-1990, f. & cert. ef. 6-5-

90

572-090-0020
Procedures for Classifying Rural Hospitals

For the purposes of establishing classifications for rural
hospitals as defined in ORS 442.470 through 442.515, the office
of Rural Health shall utilize the following procedure(s):

(1) The Office of Rural health shall maintain and make
available, upon request, a list of hospitals identified as “rural”
according to OAR 572-090-0010(7) and classified as follows:

(a) Type A hospitals are small and remote, have fewer than
50 beds and are greater than 30 miles from another acute inpatient
care facility;

(b) Type B hospitals are small and rural, have 50 or fewer
beds and are 30 miles or less from another acute inpatient care
facility;

(c) Type C hospitals are considered rural and have more than
50 beds, but are not federally-designated rural referral centers;

(d) “Rural hospital” of any class does not include a hospital
designated by the Federal Government as a rural referral hospital.

(2) In order to determine a facility’s correct classification, the
Office of Rural Health may request, from the facility:

(a) A copy of a current health facilities license issued by the
State of Oregon, indicating number of licensed beds; and

(b) A legible map, showing the most direct and most
commonly traveled route on paved roads between the facility and
the nearest licensed acute inpatient care facility available to the
general public; and

(c) A certification of actual and verifiable mileage between
the two facilities. Acceptable certification shall include one of the
following:

(A) Records of a licensed ambulance company indicating
billed mileage between the two facilities;

(B) A written statement by a local or state law enforcement
authority;

(C) A written statement by an official of the local fire
district; or

(D) A written statement from the Oregon Department of
Transportation.

(3) Any rural hospital may petition the Office of
Rural Health for a change in classification by making the request
in writing and including a statement as to why a change in

classification should occur, as well as the information contained in
section (2) of this rule.

(4) Any rural hospital must notify the Office of Rural Health
within 30 days of any changes in licensure, site location or bed
size that may affect the hospital’s classification as a rural hospital.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 352 & 442

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 7-1990, f. & cert. ef. 6-5-90

572-090-0030
Certification Process for State Income Tax Credit Program

The Office of Rural Health shall utilize the following process
to certify a practitioner’s eligibility for annual credits against state
income taxes otherwise due.

(1) The following practitioners may be eligible: physicians
licensed under ORS Chapter 677 as medical doctors (MDs),
doctors of osteopathy (DOs) or podiatrists (DPMs) by the Oregon
Board of Medical Examiners, nurse practitioners licensed by the
Oregon Board of Nursing, certified registered nurse anesthetists
(CRNA:G) licensed under ORS Chapter 678, physician assistants
registered with the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners and
dentists licensed by the Oregon Board of Dentistry.

(2) Practitioners seeking certification must submit a form
prescribed by the Office of Rural Health to the Office of Rural
Health. Applications shall be submitted by each individual
practitioner, not by a clinic or incorporated practice, and will be
reviewed individually.

(3) The Office of Rural Health shall process each application
in a timely fashion using the following criteria:

(a) The practitioner must be engaged in a rural medical,
dental, podiatric or nursing practice which amounts to 60 percent
or more of the practitioner’s total practice. Percentage of practice
deemed “rural” shall be determined on the basis of actual time
spent in practice each week in hours or days, whichever is
considered by the Office of Rural Health to be more appropriate;

(b) In addition to being engaged in a rural practice and
subject to the exceptions in subsections (5)(a) through (c) of this
rule, the eligible MD or DO shall be one or more of the following:

(A) Active member of the medical staff of a Type A rural
hospital; or

(B) Active member of the medical staff of a Type B rural
hospital that is not located within the boundaries of a Metropolitan
Statistical Area; or

(C) Active member of the medical staff of a Type B rural
hospital that is located within the boundaries of a Metropolitan
Statistical Area, and is located 30 or more highway miles from the
closest acute inpatient care facility within the major population
center in the metropolitan statistical area; or

(D) Active member of the medical staff of a Type C rural
hospital that is subject to the conditions listed in paragraphs
(5)(b)(A) - (D) of this rule.

(E). Active member of the medical staff of a Type B rural
hospital located in a Metropolitan Statistical Area that does not
meet the conditions in paragraph (3)(b)(C) of this rule, or active
member of the medical staff of a Type C rural hospital that does
not meet the conditions in paragraph (5)(b)(A) - (D) of this rule,
but whose practice is located outside the immediate service area
of the community where the hospital is situated, whose practice is
determined to be rural by the Office of Rural Health, and whose
options for medical staff membership are limited by geographic or
other circumstances to an otherwise ineligible hospital;

(F) “Active member of the medical staff” is subject to
verification by the Office of Rural Health;

(G) Applications from rural MDs or DOs who are not
members of any hospital medical staff will be reviewed and may
be approved if their medical practice is located in a rural area
where distance from the nearest eligible hospital reasonably
precludes medical staff membership.

(c) In addition to being engaged in a rural practice, the
eligible CRNA must present evidence of employment by or a
contractual relationship with one or more of the rural hospitals
described in ORS 316.143(1)(a) to (c);

(d) In addition to being engaged in a rural practice, the
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eligible podiatrist must present evidence of medical staff
membership at one of the following rural hospitals:

(A) A Type A rural hospital;

(B) A Type B rural hospital that is not located in a
metropolitan statistical area, or if located in a Metropolitan
Statistical Area, is located 30 or more highway miles from the
closest acute inpatient care facility within the major population
center in the Metropolitan Statistical Area; or

(C) A Type C rural hospital that meets the conditions
described in paragraph (5)(b)(A)-(D) of this rule.

(e) In addition to being engaged in a rural practice the
eligible dentist must meet the following conditions in order to be
eligible:

(A) Maintain a dental practice in a county designated by the
Office of Rural Health as a “frontier” county; or

(B) Maintain a dental practice in a rural community with
5,000 or less population and located more than 25 miles from
another source of full time general dental care; and

(C) Attest a willingness to reasonably accommodate the oral
health needs of patients in his/her rural community regardless of
source of payment; and

(D) Present evidence of an agreement with the local rural
hospital to treat emergency dental patients either on the hospital
premises or in the dentist’s operatory regardless of the source of
payment, unless there is no eligible rural hospital in the service
area.

(4) For the purpose of these rules, “Type A hospital”, “Type
B hospital” and “Type C hospital” have the meaning for those
terms provided in OAR 572-090-0010. The classification of rural
hospitals for purposes of determining eligibility for the tax credit
program shall be the classification of the hospital in effect on
January 1, 1991.

(5) The following practitioners are not eligible:

(a) MDs or DOs who are on the active medical staff of a
Type B rural hospital which is located within the boundaries of a
federally-defined Metropolitan Statistical Area unless the
conditions in subsection (3)(a) or paragraph (3)(b)(F) of this rule
are met;

(b) MDs or DOs who are on the active medical staff of a
Type C rural hospital, unless the physician is able to demonstrate
to the Office of Rural Health that all of the following conditions
are present:

(A) The hospital is isolated from other acute inpatient care
providers due to distance and geographic conditions, including but
not limited to mountains, bodies of water, inadequate roadways or
persistent natural occurrences such as floods, inclement weather
or landslides; and

(B) The hospital provides basic emergency care to its
community through a hospital-operated emergency room; and

(C) The hospital has been designated by the Office of Rural
Health as having particular problems in recruiting and retaining
medical staff. In order to obtain such designation, the hospital
must submit, to the Office of Rural Health, a detailed narrative
summary of its retention record and recruitment efforts for the
past two years; and

(D) The hospital is located in an area with unmet health care
needs, designated as such by the Office of Rural Health for the
purposes of these rules using a weighted combination of the
following factors: ratio of population to practicing primary care
physicians percentage of population over 65
years of age and percentage of resident women who receive
inadequate prenatal care. In evaluating the presence or absence of
these factors, the most current and accurate data available to the
Office of Rural Health shall be utilized.

(c) MDs or DOs who are active members of the medical staff
of a federally

designated rural referral hospital designated as such prior to
January 1, 1989.

(6) The Office of Rural Health shall maintain a list of type C
hospitals which meet the criteria listed in paragraphs (5)(b)(A) -
(D) of this rule. The list may be updated periodically as new
information becomes available.

(7) A practitioner who practices in a rural area of Oregon for

only a portion of the calendar year and who has practiced a
portion of the same calendar year in another Oregon practice
setting that would not be deemed eligible may be eligible for a
partial or prorata tax credit, to be determined by the director of the
Office of Rural Health.

(8) The Office of Rural Health shall send a notarized
Certificate of Eligibility to each practitioner determined to be
eligible for the state income tax credit. The Certificate of
Eligibility will be valid on a year-to-year basis and must be
renewed annually.

(9) Any practitioner who has been granted a Certificate of
Eligibility shall inform the Office of Rural Health of any change
in his or her practice which may affect eligibility, including but
not limited to: change in hospital medical staff affiliation, change
in practice site(s) or time spent in practice each week. It shall be
the responsibility of each practitioner to apply to the Office of
Rural Health for recertification on an annual basis.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 442.561 & 442.562

Stat. Implemented: ORS 442.561 & 442.562

Hist.: HSU 11-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-90; HSU 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-7-92;

HSU 7-1995, f. 12-29-95, cert. ef. 1-1-96

DIVISION 100
OREGON POISON CENTER
Household Toxic Product Rules

572-100-0000
Aversive Agent Required

(1) The Poison Prevention Task Force (Task Force) may
approve for compliance with ORS 431.870 to 431.915 antifreeze
(containing ten percent or more ethylene glycol by weight) or
windshield washer fluid (containing four percent or more methyl
alcohol (methanol) by weight) manufactured on or after July 1,
1993, and sold in Oregon which contains an aversive agent at a
concentration level so as to render the products unpalatable.
Unpalatable means a household toxic product with an aversive
agent at a concentration level likely to cause many children to
reject the product upon, or shortly after, tasting it.

(2) As one means, but not the exclusive means, for satisfying
ORS 431.880, a manufacturer of a product specified in section (1)
of this rule may include 30 to 50 milligrams of denatonium
benzoate per kilogram of product.

(3) There is no appeal to any person or official within OHSU
from a Task Force decision approving or disapproving addition of
an aversive agent to a product.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 431.870 - 431.915

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 8-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-30-93; HSU 12-1993, f. & cert. ef.

12-22-93

572-100-0010
Applications for Time Extensions

(1) A timely request for an extension of time to comply with
the requirements of ORS 431.870 to 431.915, must be in writing
addressed to the Chair of the Poison Prevention Task Force with
information demonstrating the manufacturer’s need for the
extension.

(2) The Task Force may grant an extension for 120 days and
may grant an extension for a longer period of time if the
manufacturer demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Task Force
the need for a longer extension of time.

(3) The Task Force will make its decision on an application
for extension of time within 90 days of receipt of the manufacturer
request for the extension.

(4) There is no appeal to any other person or official within
OHSU from a Task Force decision approving or disapproving an
extension request.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 431.870 - 431.915

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 8-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-30-93; HSU 12-1993, f. & cert. ef.
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12-22-93

572-100-0020
Applications for Exemptions

(1) A timely request for an exemption from the requirements
of ORS 431.870 to 431.915 must be in writing addressed to the
Chair of the Poison Prevention Tax Force.

(2) The application must contain information which
demonstrates that because of the chemicals contained within the
manufacturer’s product, any aversive agent would be nonsoluable,
nondis-persable, unstable or would interfere with the safety or
function of the product.

(3) The Task Force will make its decision on the application
for exemption within 90 days of receipt of the manufacturer’s
request for exemption.

(4) There is no appeal to any other person or official within
OHSU from a Task Force decision approving or disapproving the
exemption request.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 431.870 - 431.915

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 8-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-30-93; HSU 12-1993, f. & cert. ef.

12-22-93

572-100-0030
Contested Case Procedures

(1) If a manufacturer’s request for approval of an aversive
agent for its toxic product, or its request for an extension of time,
or its application for exemption from ORS 431.870 to 431.915 is
denied by the Task Force, the manufacturer may, within 21 days
of the denial, request a contested case hearing before the Task
Force to contest the denial.

(2) OAR 137-003-0001 through 137-003-0092 (Contested
Case Rules of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Practice and
Procedure under the Administrative Procedures Act, the 1991
version promulgated under ORS 183.341) are by this reference
adopted and incorporated herein to govern contested case
proceedings before the Task Force.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.340, Ch. 351 & 431.870 - 431915

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 8-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-30-93; HSU 12-1993, f. & cert. ef.

12-22-93

572-100-0040
Statutory Obligations of Manufacturers

The obligations of a manufacturer under ORS 431.870 to
431.915 remain in full force and effect notwithstanding a pending
request for approval of an aversive agent, an extension of time to
comply or an exemption from having to comply with ORS
431.870 to 431.915, a request for a contested case proceeding or
an appeal of a Task Force decision to a court of competent
jurisdiction on a request for approval extension or exemption.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 431.870 - 431.915

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 8-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-30-93; HSU 12-1993, . & cert. ef.

12-22-93

572-100-0050
Procedure for Rule Adoption

Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule
except a temporary rule, the Task Force shall give notice of the
proposed adoption, amendment, or repeal:

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least 15 days prior to the effective date;

(2) By posting on appropriate OHSU institu-tional bulletin
boards;

(3) By mailing a copy to the Oregonian, the Skanner and the
Statesman-Journal;

(4) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the Poison
Prevention Task Force mailing list established pursuant to ORS
183.335(7). This mailing list may, at the discretion of the Chair of
the Task Force, be purged at yearly intervals if the affected party
has not affirmatively indicated a request that mailing be
continued.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 351 & 431.870 - 431.915

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 8-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-30-93; HSU 12-1993, f. & cert. ef.
12-22-93

572-100-0060
Quorum and Vote Requirement

The Task Force is subject to ORS 174.130 which provides
that in order to make a decision, a majority of all members of the
Task Force must concur, i.e., a majority of those present and
voting in favor of a particular action is sufficient to authorize that
action if the majority is more than 1/2 of the five member Task
Force. In other words, at least three members of the Task Force
must meet and at least three must concur in an action to make a
decision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 174.130 & Ch. 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: HSU 8-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-30-93; HSU 12-1993, . & cert. ef.

12-22-93

572-100-0100
Application of Law and Rules Concerning Products Used in
Professional Automotive Repair Facilities

The following products are not subject the to the Oregon
Toxic Household Products Law, ORS 431-870 - 431.915:

(1) Any product that is:

(a) Marketed to and intended for use solely by professional
automotive repair facilities; and

(b) For handling, use and installation in vehicles or
machinery:

(A) Only by professional technicians; and

(B) Only on the grounds of professional automotive repair
facilities; and

(c) Not intended for sale or distribution by such repair
service facilities or any other person, business, corporation,
company or institution to a consumer for the purpose of
permitting the consumer to handle, use and install the product in
the consumer’s vehicle or machinery.

(2) Any resulting product of a treatment performed at a
professional automotive repair facility, provided that the resulting
product is:

(a) Immediately reinstalled into the vehicle at the
professional automotive repair facility; or

(b) Stored in the professional automotive repair facility for a
later reinstallation into a vehicle at the professional automotive
repair facility.
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572-100-0110
Application of Law and Rules Generally to Antifreeze

(1) The requirements of ORS 431.870 to 431.915 as
implemented by OAR 572-100-0000 apply to antifreeze products
manufactured and shipped for distribution for sale in the State of
Oregon after April 30, 1995.

(2) Similarly, the requirements of the law and rule apply to
antifreeze products in the inventory of subsidiaries, agents and
retail and wholesale distributors (hereinafter referred to as
distributors) as of the same date; provided, however, antifreeze
products manufactured and shipped to distributors before April
30, 1995, are not subject to the law. For any antifreeze products
for sale after April 30, 1995, which does not comply with OAR
572-100-0000, the distributor must provide proof of the date the
product was shipped by the manufacturer to a distributor for sale
in Oregon within 15 days of a request by the Oregon Health
Division.
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