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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 1

 

PROCEDURAL RULES

 

250-001-0000

Notice of Proposed Rule

Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule, the State Marine Board shall give notice of the proposed
adoption, amendment, or repeal:

(1) In the Secretary of State's Bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date.

(2) By mailing notice to persons on the State Marine Board's mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(7) at
least 28 days before the effective date of the rule.

(3) By mailing notice to the following persons, organizations, or publications:

(a) Associated Press;

(b) Capitol Press Room;

(c) State agencies affected;

(d) Port and park and recreation districts in the area affected;

(e) City and/or county officials in the area affected;

(f) Newspapers of general circulation and broadcast media in the political subdivision affected.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 72, f. & ef. 11-4-75; MB 2-1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85; MB 7-1994, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-94
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250-001-0005

Model Rules of Practice and Procedure

The effective edition of the Oregon Attorney General's Model Rules and Uniform Rules of Procedure are by this
reference adopted as the rules of practice and procedure of the Marine Board.

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General's Model Rules of Procedure is available from the office of the Attorney General or the Marine
Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110(1)

Hist.: MB 68, f. 5-19-75, ef. 6-11-75; MB 78, f. & ef. 8-27-76; MB 3-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78; MB 1-1982, f. & ef. 3-1-82; MB 4-1984, f. & ef. 1-19-
84; MB 4-1986, f. 4-15-86, ef. 4-18-86

 

250-001-0010

Availability of the Rules

Pursuant to ORS 830.110(11), the laws and rules of the Marine Board shall be available at the office of the State Marine
Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; Renumbered from 250-10-020

 

250-001-0020

Fees for Furnishing Information

The Marine Board may charge reasonable fees to cover those costs resulting from requests for reproduction of agency
records.

(1) Individuals or firms requesting an alphabetical or numerical listing of boat owners, and information concerning their
boats, will be charged a fee as follows:

(a) Labels or printouts are $250 for up to 1,000 names printed on labels and/or print-out, plus $25 for each 1,000
additional names or portion thereof. This fee includes the cost of data processing, labels, administrative expense and
shipping;

(b) Magnetic tapes are $165. Customer will furnish tapes on which to produce the file;

(c) An advance deposit to cover the anticipated cost will be required.

(2) The Board may recover actual costs for supplies and staff time for research, file review, compiling and duplication
required to provide copies of material, whether printed, computerized or in other media, that was produced by Marine
Board or by a vendor under contract to the Marine Board and which is not intended for general distribution. That
includes but is not limited to items such as internal reports, studies, engineering drawings, CAD files, maps, computer
diskettes, tapes, transcripts, or mailing lists. Generally, information is available only in the means (paper, computer
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program or otherwise) it was created. Exempt: Brochures, booklets and other mass-produced items intended for general
distribution are not included as "documents" under this rule.

(a) The standard charge for single page reproduction shall not exceed $.25 per standard 8-1/2 x 11" page, $.35 per
11x17" page, $1.00 per 24 x 36" drawing sheet (blueprint), $2.50 per 24 x 36" drawing sheet (bond paper). Double-
sided copies count as two pages. Mailing costs include postage fees and actual cost of special mailers required.

(b) The standard charge for duplication of audio and/or video tapes shall be the actual cost of the tapes, staff time
involved in research, file review, compiling and duplication, and shipping costs;

(c) The charge for computer diskettes will be $1.00 each plus staff time required for copying requested files, the actual
cost of special mailers and postage;

(d) There will be no charge for an individual request of five or fewer copies of a single 8-1/2 X 11" page;

(e) An advance deposit of up to 50 percent of the estimated total charge may be required for those people or
organizations who require a considerable number of reproduced copies.

(3) The Director may reduce or waive the fee for non-profit organizations and government agencies requesting lists or
documents in the interest of boating access, safety programs or law enforcement purposes.

(4) For outfitter/guide listings the fees shall be as follows:

(a) Machine reproductions are $.25 per standard 8-1/2 x 11" page. There will be no charge for an individual request of
five or fewer copies of a single page;

(b) Machine generated labels or listings are $50 for up to 1,000 names plus $10 for each 1,000 additional names or
portion thereof;

(c) Machine generated labels, listings or printouts in other than the standard format are actual cost of programming,
processing and administrative expenses, but not less than $75 for up to 1,000 names, plus $20 for each 1,000 additional
names or portion thereof;

(d) The fees charged will be $1.00 for each computer diskettes, cost of staff time required for copying requested files,
plus actual cost of special mailers and postage.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 195, 283 & 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 12, f. 3-27-62; MB 8-1978(Temp), f. & ef. 10-5-78; MB 10-1978, f. & ef. 12-21-78; Renumbered from 250-10-165; MB 16-1984, f. &
ef. 12-3-84; MB 2-1986, f. & ef. 1-30-86; MB 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 4-4-97

 

250-001-0030

Hearings Authorized

The Director, or a designated agent, upon the order of the Board or any member of the Board, with the approval of the
Board, may conduct public hearings for the purpose of promulgating special regulations consistent with the safety of the
public relating to the operation of boats, when a request for such hearing is received from the governing body of a
political subdivision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 10

 

STATEWIDE RULES

 

250-010-0010

Definitions

As used in OAR Chapter 250, unless otherwise required by context:

(1) "Board" means the Oregon State Marine Board.

(2) "Boat Livery" means a person, persons, or a business establishment engaged in renting or hiring out boats for profit.

(3) "Float Tube" means a manufactured floating device constructed of canvas, nylon or other similar material encasing
an inner tube capable of supporting one person sitting inside with their legs dangling below the vessel, used as a means
of transportation on the water. Single float tubes are boats as defined in ORS 830.005(2) and if powered by machinery,
single float tubes are motorboats as defined in ORS 830.005(5) and subject to numbering according to OAR 250-010-
0040.

(4) "Operator" means the person who operates or who has charge of the navigation or use of a boat.

(5) "Person" means an individual, partnership, firm, corporation, association, or other entity.

(6) "Person on Board" means every person being carried on board or being towed by a vessel.

(7) "Propel" means but is not limited to floating, rowing, paddling, sailing or otherwise operating a boat (as defined in
ORS 830.005), a vessel or ship.

(8) "Ship's Lifeboats" means lifeboats used solely for lifesaving purposes and does not include dinghies, tenders,
speedboats, or other types of craft carried aboard a vessel and used for other than lifesaving purposes.

(9) "Undocumented Vessel" means any vessel which is not required to have, or does not have, a valid marine document
issued by the U.S. Coast Guard.

(10) "Underway" means when a boat is not at anchor, or moored, or made fast to the shore, or aground.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; MB 10, f. 11-14-61; MB 24, f. 3-13-64; MB 4-1982, f. & ef. 6-1-82; MB 21-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 1-1992, f. &
cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-96; MB 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96

 

250-010-0025

Basic Rule for "Slow-No Wake"

(1) No person shall operate a boat on the waters of this state in excess of a "Slow-No Wake", maximum 5 MPH speed
within 200 feet of a boat launch ramp, marina with a capacity for six or more moored vessels, floating home/boathouse
moorage with six or more contiguous structures, and locations where persons are working at water level on floats, logs
or waterway construction.

(2) Section (1) of this rule does not apply to commercial vessels or vessels engaged in navigation on rivers where a
speed in excess of 5 MPH is needed to ensure safe passage.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 9-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-88; MB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-96

 

250-010-0030

Application for Certificate of Number and Title

(1) The application shall be made on a form furnished by the Board and mailed direct to the Board or presented to an
appointed agent of the Board, together with the required fee.

(2) The application shall be available at the office of the Board, appointed agents of the Board, boat dealers, sheriffs,
and Motor Vehicle Licensing offices.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; MB 24, f. 3-13-64

 

250-010-0040

Oregon Boat Numbering System

(1) The numbering system adopted for use in the State of Oregon shall consist of the State Designator (OR) followed by
the maximum of three digits and three letters. The letters "O", "I", and "Q" and offensive combinations shall not be
used.

EXAMPLES:

-1- OR-1-AA through OR-999-AA
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-2- OR-1-AB through OR-999-AB

-3- OR-1-AAA through OR-999-AAA

(2) Significant numbers are as follows:

(a) State-owned Boats: OR-1-XX through OR-999-XX;

(b) County-owned Boats: OR-1-XC through OR-999-XC;

(c) County-owned Law Enforcement Boats: OR-1-XCX through OR-999-XCX;

(d) Eleemosynary organizations Boats: OR-1-XE to OR-999-XE;

(e) Municipality-owned Boats: OR-1-XM through OR-999-XM;

(f) Dealers numbers: OR-1-DR through OR-999-DR.

(3) The numbers shall be placed on each side of the forward half of the vessel in such position as to provide clear
legibility for identification. The numbers shall read from left to right and shall be in block characters of good proportion
not less than three inches in height. The numbers shall be of a color which will contrast with the color of the background
and so maintained as to be clearly visible and legible; i.e., dark letters on a light background, or light letters on a dark
background.

(4) With each Annual Certificate of Number issued by the Board there shall be issued a set of 3" by 3" validation decals.
The decals shall be placed on each side of the vessel, three inches aft (towards the stern) and directly in line with the
registration numbers.

(5) Documented vessels issued a certificate of registration and validation decal under ORS 830.775, shall display the
decals on both sides of the aftermost part of the hull in the upper, square foot, below the deckline.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; MB 10, f. 11-14-61; MB 24, f. 3-13-64; MB 20-1985, f. & ef. 11-22-85; MB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0055

Certificates of Boat Title

(l) When the owner of a boat submits an application for Certificate of Boat Title only, and under normal circumstances
the boat would require in addition to the title, a certificate of number, the Director shall not issue the title until first
obtaining from the owner a signed statement that the boat will not be used on any waters over which this state has
jurisdiction until all registration requirements have been complied with.

(2) Prior to issuing a Certificate of Title for a boat the Director shall require "Proof of Ownership" which may include a
Manufacturer's Statement of Origin properly executed by the manufacturer, a Homemade Boat Builder Certificate
properly executed by the builder, a Certificate of Boat Title issued by another state or an original certificate of number
for boats previously registered in another state which does not issue a Certificate of Title for a Boat.

(a) In making application for an initial Oregon title, the following boats must be inspected by the Oregon State Police,
an Oregon county sheriff's representative, or Marine Board staff:

(A) Homemade boats; and
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(B) Boats not titled and/or registered in Oregon or another state with the exception of new boats where a manufacturer's
statement of origin is submitted.

(b) The Board at its discretion may inspect any boat prior to issuing an Oregon title.

(3) When an application for a certificate of boat title indicates that the legal owner of the boat is other than the principal
owner, the title will be mailed to the legal owner.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; MB 8, f. 6-30-61; MB 10, f. 11-14-61; MB 12, f. 3-27-62; MB 24, f. 3-13-64; Suspended by MB 9-1983(Temp), f. 11-29-83,
ef. 12-1-83; MB 3-1984, f. & ef. 1-5-84; MB 5-1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-97

 

250-010-0057

Issuance and Duplication Fees

(1) Fees for title issuance and duplication shall be:

(a) Title original issuance, title change (requires reissuance) or title duplication without change when original has been
lost, mutilated, destroyed or stolen (requires reissuance) -- $7;

(b) Title reissued with change of ownership when original has been lost, mutilated, destroyed or stolen (requires
reissuance) -- Additional $3.

(2) Fees for duplication of certificate of number, certificate or registration and/or duplication of validation stickers -- $3.

(3) All references to the previous $2 title fee on existing documents are, by this action, superseded.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.820

Hist.: MB 19-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-010-0058

Refunds

(1) Pursuant to ORS 293.445(4), the Board will refund amounts more than $5 when it determines that moneys have been
received in excess of the amount legally due the Board.

(2) If the refund amount owed is $5 or less, a refund shall be paid upon receipt of a written request from the person who
paid the money or their legal representative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 293 & 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 9-1986, f. 7-28-86, ef. 8-1-86
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250-010-0059

Reinstatement Fee

A fee of $25 shall be charged to reinstate a Certificate of Number for owners of boats who have had a certificate
cancelled for failure to appear or failure to comply with a court judgement as provided in ORS 830.815.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.815

Hist.: MB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0060

Report of Transfer, Abandonment or Wrecking of a Boat, Change of Address, Late Penalty Fees

(1) The owner of a boat for which a valid identifying number has been awarded by this state shall notify the Board
within 30 days of the transfer, abandonment, or destruction of the boat.

(2) Within 30 days after any change in address, the owner of a boat with a valid identifying number shall report the
change to the Board.

(3) Title transfers received for processing 31 or more days after transfer, abandonment or destruction shall be assessed a
late penalty of $25. All late penalty fees shall be in addition to the prescribed original issuance title fee.

(4) The Board will waive the penalty fee for the following reasons:

(a) The applicant did not have possession of the title or replacement title form; or

(b) The person became physically or mentally incapacitated following the purchase of the vessel, directly preventing or
making it impractical for the person to meet requirements for delivery of documents.

(5) Examples of situations the Board shall consider to be beyond a person's control include but shall not be limited to
where:

(a) The person is involved in an accident or suffers a debilitating illness, condition or occurrence immediately following
the purchase of the vessel that prevents this person from conducting business for an extended time period following
vessel purchase;

(b) The vessel is purchased from a person who fails to provide the purchaser with the title or replacement title.

(6) Examples of situations the Board would not consider to be beyond a person's control include but shall not be limited
to situations where the:

(a) Applicant purchases a vessel and the seller provides the title or replacement title to the purchaser within 25 days of
the sale;

(b) The applicant made no attempt to obtain the title or replacement title from the seller;

(c) Applicant sustained minor injury, or incurred a short-term hospital stay which did not directly affect their ability to
conduct business or to otherwise comply with requirements for delivery of documents.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.905

Hist.: MB 1, f. 2-4-60; MB 17-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 8-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-16-92

 

250-010-0065

County Use Permit Programs

(1) This rule establishes standards for review of county use permit programs as authorized by ORS 830.172(2).

(2) Applicability. The Board will only consider use permit programs from counties bordering a state that allows
imposition of a boat use permit fee.

(3) Use of funds. All funds collected by a county from out-of-state residents for a boat use permit shall be dedicated to
the maintenance, improvement and/or development of boating facilities and services for boating recreation on waters
within the county. The enforcement of boating laws, rules, and use permits is an allowable use of county boat use permit
revenues.

(4) Amount of fee. Fees should be commensurate with those fees charged to Oregon residents visiting states with boat
use permits. Maximum fees shall not exceed the following:

(a) Daily permit: $1 per day, 4 days ($4) maximum;

(b) Annual permits: Less than 12 feet: $5; 12 feet and over: $5 plus $2 for each foot over 12;

(c) A vendor fee/commission not to exceed $2 is allowable.

(5) Administration. The proposed ordinance shall also prescribe where permits will be available, proper display of
permits, exemptions to permits as set forth in ORS 830.172, permit expiration, and transferability of permits.

(6) Enforcement. The county ordinance shall contain a penalty section for violations, and shall state that county sheriffs
and other peace officers are authorized to enforce the provisions of the use permit system.

(7) The permit system shall clearly identify that Oregon residents with current Oregon registrations are exempt from the
county use permit. Manually propelled vessels are also exempt. The permit system shall exempt the Snake River and its
reservoirs where such waters form a common border with the State of Idaho, provided that Idaho provides reciprocity on
these waters and exempts Oregon vessels on those common waters.

(8) The county permit system ordinance shall provide reciprocity with other Oregon counties that require out-of-state
boat use permits.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.172

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.172 & 830.200

Hist.: MB 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 1-15-93

 

250-010-0085

Capacity Plates
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The capacity plate required by Chapter 467, Oregon Laws of 1967, shall meet the following specifications:

(1) The information relating to maximum capacity required to appear thereon shall be determined in accordance with
methods and formulas recognized by the United States Coast Guard, as published in the Official U.S. Coast Guard
Recreational Boating Guide, CG-340, issue of June, 1966, on pages 90 to 93 inclusive, which is attached hereto and
hereby adopted and prescribed.

(2) The plate shall be of a form and size which will permit the information marked thereon to be clearly visible and
legible from the position designed for, or normally intended to be occupied by, the operator of the vessel underway.

(3) The plate shall be of material which will retain optimum legibility despite continued exposure to weather.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.355

Hist.: MB 38, f. 1-18-68

 

250-010-0095

Application for Marine Events

(1) For the purpose of this rule the term Marine Event includes Regattas, Boat Races, Marine Parades, Tournaments or
Exhibitions which are organized boating water events of limited duration conducted according to a prearranged
schedule. Predicted log races, cruises and/or other marine events conducted by individual groups, which do not
introduce extra or unusual water safety hazards are exempted from the provisions of this rule.

(2) An individual or organization planning to sponsor or conduct a marine event which, by its nature, circumstances or
location, will introduce extra or unusual hazards to water safety on waters of this state, shall submit a completed
application to the State Marine Board at least 30 days prior to the event. Examples of conditions which are deemed to
introduce extra or unusual hazards include, but are not limited to: an inherently hazardous competition, the customary
presence of commercial or pleasure craft in the area, any obstruction to navigation which may result, and/or the
expected accumulation of spectators or spectator craft. A completed application contains the signatures of the federal,
state and/or local agencies specified on the application.

(3) The sponsor shall submit an advance copy of the application as soon as the event date(s) and location(s) have been
determined by the sponsor. This copy will be without endorsements and serves to reserve the date(s) and location(s)
until the completed application is received. Marine Event date(s) and location(s) are reserved on a first come, first serve
basis.

(4) If the sponsoring organization is requesting Coast Guard Auxiliary assistance a "Request for Coast Guard Auxiliary
Safety Patrol Services" application shall be completed and filed with the Marine Board after the sponsoring organization
has made arrangements with the local Coast Guard flotilla.

(5) The agency shall authorize or deny the permit and so notify the sponsor and other interested agencies.

(6) The agency, in authorizing an event, may condition the authorization subject to meeting certain requirements as
specified by responsible federal, state or local agencies.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.375
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Hist.: MB 7-1982, f. 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82

 

250-010-0097

Application for Special Use Device Permits

(1) For the purpose of this rule the term Special Use Device includes waterski courses, ski jumps, race buoys, kayak
race gates and other floating devices used to mark water events. These rules apply to all of the waters of this state.

(2) An individual or organization planning to install a special use device on the waters of this state shall submit a
completed application for a special use device permit to the Marine Board at least 30 days before an anticipated
installation.

(3) Exemptions. Devices installed in conjunction with an authorized marine event do not require a separate permit other
than the permit by ORS Chapter 830 and OAR 250-010-0095. Devices installed for private non-commercial use are
permitted for a period up to 12 hours, between sunrise and sunset, without a permit, provided the device is removed
before sunset.

(4) The application shall be in such form as required by the Board. The applicant must furnish information on the type
of device, dates of installation and proposed use, a description of the location including maps sufficient to locate the
planned placement of the device, information identifying adjacent property owners by name and address, and other
information deemed necessary by the Board.

(5) The Marine Board will circulate a notice of the proposed installation for public comment and review. Particular
notice will be provided to adjacent landowners, the county sheriff and other interested parties. A hearing on the
proposed device installation may be held if requested.

(6) The State Marine Director shall evaluate the application and consider public comments in deciding whether to issue
a permit. The Director shall consider the size of the waterbody, season of use, probable impacts to adjacent properties,
potential for use conflicts and other factors related to the public health, safety and welfare.

(7) The Director may condition permits as to days and hours of operation, anchoring materials and methods, special
lighting requirements if any, and other requirements as necessary

(8) The applicant or other affected parties may appeal the decision of the Director to the Board. Requests for Board
review must be in writing within 30 days of the Directors decision on a permit.

(9) A special use permit does not authorize Marine Events. A separate permit is required if a permitted special use
device is to be used for a boat race, regatta, tournament or exhibition.

(10) A Marine Board special use permit does not relieve the applicant from other federal, state or local permits, licenses,
or approval which may be required.

(11) Permits may be valid for a period up to three years. The permit may be revoked or cancelled for violation of permit
conditions, complaints regarding use by the public or county sheriff, or a request by ten or more persons.

(12) The Permittee shall be responsible for ensuring the safety of the proposed device area and keep it clear of debris,
obstructions and other elements that constitute a safety hazard. A special device permit shall not give the permittee
exclusive use of the waters of the state in the permit area.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110



OSMB_250_010_1998

250_010_1998.html[6/24/21, 3:13:39 PM]

Hist.: MB 3-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88

 

250-010-0110

Investigation of Accidents

(1) The operator of any boat involved in an accident resulting in an injury or death to any person shall within 48 hours
forward a complete written report of such accident to the Board on a State Marine Board Accident Report form.

(2) Accidents involving only property or equipment damage must be reported within ten days if the damage is in excess
of $500. Forms may be obtained from the State Marine Board or the local sheriff.

(3) Upon receipt of an accident report indicating the death of any person as the result of the accident, the Director of the
Board, or a person designated by him, may investigate the accident and prepare an accident report which will be for the
confidential use of administrative and enforcement agencies only.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.475

Hist.: MB 8, f. 6-30-61; MB 7-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 2-1989, f. & cert. ef. 7-6-89; MB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-90; MB 3-1991, f. &
cert. ef. 10-15-91

 

250-010-0121

Mufflers

(1) The exhaust of every internal combustion engine used on any motorboat shall be effectively muffled at all times in
accordance with ORS 830.260. The term "effectively muffled" shall mean the exhaust system contains a mechanical
device or appliance, designed, constructed and so used as to reduce the exhaust noise emissions of a motorboat below
the maximum noise levels established in section (2) of this rule. Such device or appliance must be integral to the
motorboats' exhaust system. Water muffling systems which meet this standard are those which incorporate a marine
exhaust manifold.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat on the waters of this state that exceeds a noise level as follows:

(a) For engines manufactured before January 1, 1993, a maximum noise level of 90 dBA when subjected to a stationary
test as prescribed by SAE J-2005;

(b) For engines manufactured after January 1, 1993, a maximum noise level of 88 dBA when subjected to a stationary
test as prescribed by SAE J-2005.

(3) This regulation shall not apply to motor-boats competing, under a permit issued by the State Marine Board pursuant
to ORS 830.375 or a United States Coast Guard permit, in a regatta, a boat race, or while on official trials for speed
records during the time and in a designated area authorized by the permit; and those boats testing in areas designated by
the State Marine Board pursuant to ORS 830.350.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.250 & 830.260

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.260
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Hist.: MB 51, f. 5-3-73, ef. 5-15-73; MB 2-1980, f. 4-23-80, ef. 5-1-80; MB 9-1981, f. & ef. 11-16-81; MB 14-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92

 

250-010-0122

Carburetors

(1) All gasoline engines, except outboard motors, must be equipped with an acceptable means of backfire flame control.
Installations consisting of backfire flame arresters approved by the U.S. Coast Guard under 46 CFR Parts 25 and 58 are
acceptable.

(2) A Coast Guard Approved Flame Arrester bearing basic Approval Nos. 162.016 or 162.041 or engine air and fuel
induction systems bearing basic Approval Nos. 162.015 or 162.042 may be continued in use as long as they are
serviceable and in good condition. New installations or replacements must meet the applicable requirements of section
(3) of this rule.

(3) The following are acceptable means of backfire flame control for gasoline engines:

(a) A backfire flame arrester complying with SAE J-1928 or UL 1111 and marked accordingly. The flame arrester must
be suitably secured to the air intake with a flametight connection;

(b) An engine air and fuel induction system which provides adequate protection from propagation of backfire flame to
the atmosphere equivalent to that provided by an acceptable backfire flame arrester. A gasoline engine utilizing an air
and fuel induction system, and operated without an approved backfire flame arrester, must either include a reed valve
assembly or be installed in accordance with SAE J-1928;

(c) An arrangement of the carburetor or engine air induction system that will disperse any flames caused by engine
backfire. The flames must be dispersed to the atmosphere outside the vessel in such a manner that the flames will not
endanger the vessel, persons on board, or nearby vessels and structures. Flame dispersion may be achieved by
attachments to the carburetor or location of the engine air induction system. All attachments shall be of metallic
construction with flametight connections and firmly secured to withstand vibration, shock, and engine backfire. Such
installations do not require formal approval and labeling, but must comply with this rule.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.235 & 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.235

Hist.: MB 52, f. 8-17-73, ef. 9-1-73; MB 15-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92

 

250-010-0125

Ventilation

Pursuant to ORS 830.240, the following ventilation system standards shall apply to all boats:

(1) Powered ventilation (applicable to boats constructed after July 31, 1980 that utilize a gasoline engine for electrical
generation, mechanical power or propulsion):

(a) Each compartment in a boat that has a permanently installed gasoline engine with a cranking motor must:

(A) Be open to the atmosphere; or
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(B) Be ventilated by an exhaust blower system.

(b) Each exhaust blower or combination of blowers must be rated at an air flow capacity not less than that computed by
the formulas given in Table 1 &endash; Column 2. Blower rating must be determined according to AMCA Standard
210-74, Figure 12, dated 1974, or UL Standard 1128dated August 23, 1977;

(c) Each exhaust blower system required by paragraph (1)(a)(B) of this rule must exhaust air from the boat at a rate
which meets the requirements of Table 1 &endash; Column 3 when the engine is not operating;

(d) Each intake duct for an exhaust blower must be in the lower one-third of the compartment and above the normal
level of accumulated bilge water;

(e) More than one exhaust blower may be used in combination to meet these requirements;

(f) Each boat that is required to have an exhaust blower must have a label that:

(A) Is located as close as practicable to each ignition switch;

(B) Is in plain view of the operator; and

(C) Has at least the following information:

WARNING -- GASOLINE VAPORS CAN EXPLODE. BEFORE STARTING ENGINE OPERATE BLOWER
FOR 4 MINUTES AND CHECK ENGINE COMPARTMENT BILGE FOR GASOLINE VAPORS.

(2) Natural ventilation system:

(a) Except for compartments open to the atmosphere, a natural ventilation system that meets the requirements of
paragraphs (2)(c)(A) and (B) of this rule must be provided for each compartment in a boat that:

(A) Contains a permanently installed gasoline engine;

(B) Has openings between it and a compartment that requires ventilation where the aggregate area of those openings
exceeds two percent of the area between the compartments;

(C) Contains a permanently installed fuel tank and an electrical component that is not ignition protected in accordance
with existing U.S. Coast Guard regulations;

(D) Contains a fuel tank that vents into that compartment; or

(E) Contains a non-metallic fuel tank with an aggregate permeability rate of more than the greater of 1.2 grams of fuel
loss in 24 hours, or 1.2 grams of fuel loss in 24 hours per cubic foot of net compartment volume (Permeability Rate --
reference: fuel "C" at 40° C. plus or minus 2° C. from ASTM Standard D-241, dated April 1975).

(b) Each natural ventilation system must be constructed so that:

(A) Each supply opening required is forward facing and located on the exterior surface of a boat; or

(B) Air flow will occur into or out of the supply or exhaust openings when the boat is in a wind flowing from bow to
stern at a velocity of ten miles per hour (boat's engine not operating).

(c) For the purpose of this section "natural ventilation" means an airflow in a boat compartment achieved by having:

(A) A supply opening or duct from the atmosphere or from a ventilated compartment or from a compartment that is
open to the atmosphere; and
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(B) An exhaust opening into another ventilated compartment or an exhaust duct to the atmosphere.

(d) Each exhaust opening or exhaust duct must originate in the lower third of the compartment;

(e) Each supply opening or supply duct and each exhaust opening or exhaust duct in a compartment must be located
above the normal accumulation of bilge water.

NOTE: Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, supply openings or supply ducts and exhaust opening or exhaust ducts must each have a
minimum aggregate internal cross-sectional area calculated as follows: A = 5 in. (V/5): where:

(A) "A" is the minimum aggregate internal cross-sectional area of the openings or ducts in square inches;

(B) "V" is the net compartment volume in cubic feet, including the net volume of other compart-ments connected by
openings that exceed two percent of the area between the compartments; and

(C) In (V/5) is the natural logarithm of the quantity (V/5).

(f) The minimum internal cross-sectional area of each supply opening or duct and exhaust opening or duct must exceed
3.0 square inches;

(g) The minimum internal cross-sectional area of terminal fittings for flexible ventilation ducts installed to meet the
requirements of subsection (2)(d) of this rule must not be less than 80 percent of the required internal cross-sectional
area of the flexible ventilation duct.

(3) Nothing in this rule shall apply to:

(a) Boats of open construction having at least 15 square inches of open area directly exposed to the atmosphere for each
cubic foot of net compartment volume;

(b) An accommodation compartment above a compartment requiring ventilation that is separated from the compartment
requiring ventilation by a deck or other structure.

[ED. NOTE: The Table(s) referenced in this rule is not printed in the OAR Compilation. Copies are available from the Marine Board.]

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.240

Hist.: MB 37, f. 1-16-68; MB 1-1981, f. & ef. 3-3-81

 

250-010-0150

Exemptions

(1) Undocumented vessels used exclusively for racing shall be exempt from the numbering and title requirements of
ORS 830.770 and 830.810.

(2) The provisions of ORS 830.220 and 830.230 shall not apply to motorboats propelled by outboard motors while
competing in any race previously arranged and announced or, if such boats be designed and intended solely for racing,
while engaged in such navigation as is incidental to the tuning up of the boats and engines for the race.

(3) Boats classified as "University or College" racing shells which compete in intercollegiate crew races shall be exempt
from the requirements of carrying life-saving devices.
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(4) The Lightship Columbia shall be exempt from the numbering and titling requirements of ORS Chapter 830.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: MB 7, f. 8-19-60; MB 8, f. 6-30-61; MB 11, f. 11-14-61; MB 24, f. 3-13-64; MB 33, f. 3-30-67; MB 10-1984, f. 8-13-84, ef. 8-14-84

 

250-010-0152

Use of Sirens Prohibited by Other Than Expressly Authorized Peace Officers

Only law enforcement boats are allowed to use a siren on the waters over which this state has jurisdiction.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.035

Hist.: MB 8, f. 6-30-61

 

250-010-0154

Personal Flotation Devices

(1) No person may use a boat on the waters of this state unless at least one Personal Flotation Device (PFD) of the
following types is on board for each person:

(a) Type I PFD;

(b) Type II PFD;

(c) Type III PFD.

(2) No person may use a boat 16 feet or more in length unless one Type IV PFD is on board in addition to the total
number of PFD's required in section (1) of this rule.

(3) A Type V PFD may be carried in lieu of any PFD required in section (1) of this rule provided:

(a) The approval label on the Type V PFD indicates that it is approved for the activity in which the vessel is being used,
or that it is approved as a substitute for a PFD of the Type required on the vessel in use;

(b) The PFD is used in accordance with any requirements on the approval label; and

(c) The PFD is used in accordance with requirements in its owner's manual, if the approval label makes reference to
such a manual.

(4) Canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length and over are exempted from the requirements for carriage of the additional
Type IV PFD.

(5) Racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes and racing kayaks are exempted from the requirements for carriage of
any Type PFD. Racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes, and racing kayaks are manually propelled vessels that are
recognized by national or international racing associations for use in competitive racing an in which all occupants row,
scull, or paddle, with the exception of a coxswain, if one is provided, and are not designed to carry and do not carry any
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equipment not solely for competitive racing.

(6) PFD is defined as follows:

(a) Type I - A Type I PFD is an approved device designed to turn an unconscious person in the water from a face
downward position to a vertical or slightly backward position, and to have more than 20 pounds of buoyancy;

(b) Type II - A Type II PFD is an approved device designed to turn an unconscious person in the water from a face
downward position to a vertical or slightly backward position and to have at least 15.5 pounds of buoyancy;

(c) Type III - A Type III PFD is an approved device designed to keep a conscious person in a vertical or slightly
backward position and to have at least 15.5 pounds of buoyancy;

(d) Type IV - A Type IV PFD is an approved device designed to be thrown to a person in the water and not worn. It is
designed to have at least 16.5 pounds of buoyancy;

(e) Type V - A Type V PFD is an approved device for restricted use. A Type V PFD may be carried in lieu of any PFD,
but only if that Type V PFD is approved for that activity in which the recreational boat is being used.

(7) No person shall operate a personal watercraft, as defined in OAR 250-021-0020, unless each person operating or
riding on the vessel is wearing an inherently buoyant Coast Guard approved Type I, II or III PFD, (see OAR 250-021-
0030(1)).

(8) Exemptions:

(a) Sailboards are exempted from the requirements for carriage of any Type PFD.

(b) Float tubes as defined in OAR 250-010-0010 are exempted from the requirements for carriage of any Type PFD.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS Ch. 830

Hist.: MB 8, f. 6-30-61; MB 18, f. 2-5-63; MB 54, f. 10-29-73, ef. 11-25-73; Suspended by MB 11-1983(Temp), f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 2-
1984, f. & ef. 1-5-84; MB 12-1988, f. 12-28-98, cert. ef. 1-1-89; MB 1-1995, f. 3-21-95, cert. ef. 5-1-95; MB 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-96; MB 9-
1997, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-97

 

250-010-0155

Fire Extinguishers

(1) Every motorboat, except outboard motorboats less than 26 feet in length of open construction, shall carry on board,
fully charged and in serviceable condition the following hand portable marine approved fire extinguishers:

(a) Motorboats with no fixed fire extinguishing system in the machinery space and which are:

(A) Less than 26 feet in length -- One extinguisher;

(B) Twenty-six feet but less than 40 feet in length -- Two extinguishers;

(C) Forty feet or longer in length -- Three extinguishers.

(b) Motorboats with a fixed extinguishing system in the machinery space and which are:

(A) Less than 26 feet -- No hand portable extinguisher required;
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(B) Twenty-six feet or longer in length, but less than forty feet in length -- One extinguisher;

(C) Forty feet or longer in length -- Two extinguishers.

(2) The fire extinguishers required by this section are Class B-I as described in Title 46, Code of Federal Regulation,
25.30, however, one Class B-II described in that regulation may be substituted for two Class B-I extinguishers.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.220

Hist.: MB 17-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-010-0156

Sound Signaling Appliances

(1) A vessel of less than 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) shall not be obliged to carry sound signaling appliances prescribed
in section (2) of this rule, but if no such appliance is aboard then some other means of making an efficient sound signal
shall be provided.

(2) A vessel of 39 feet 4 inches (12 meters) in length but less than 65 feet 6 inches (20 meters) shall be provided with a
whistle and a bell. The whistle and the bell shall comply with the existing Federal specifications.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.230

Hist.: MB 18-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-010-0160

Board not to Approve Products of Manufacturers

The Marine Board will not endorse or approve the products of any individual or firm.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 5, f. 7-13-60

 

Uniform Waterway Marking System

 

250-010-0175

Definitions
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(1) "Waterway Marker" is any device (except devices of the U.S. or an agency of the U.S.) designed to be placed in, or
near water to convey an official message to a boat operator. The term "waterway marker" includes within its meaning
the terms "buoy" and "sign".

(2) "Buoy" is any device designed to float and to be held in a fixed position in a water area and which is used to convey
an official message.

(3) "Sign" is any device for carrying a message which is attached to another object such as a piling, buoy, pier, or the
land itself.

(4) "Display Area" the area needed for display of a waterway marker symbol such as a diamond, circle, or square.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63

 

250-010-0180

Waterway Markers Used on the Waters of This State Shall be as Follows

(1) A solid red marker shall indicate that side of a channel to be kept to the right of a vessel when entering the channel
from the main water body.

(2) A solid green marker shall indicate that side of a channel to be kept to the left of a vessel when entering the channel
from the main water body.

(3) A red and white vertically striped marker shall indicate the center of a navigable channel.

(4) Markers indicated in sections (1), (2), and (3) of this rule shall be used only to mark a clearly defined channel.

(5) A diamond shape of international orange with white center shall be used to indicate danger from natural or man-
made hazard. The nature of the hazard may be indicated by words or well-known abbreviations in black letters inside
the diamond shape, or above and/or below it on white background.

(6) A diamond shape of international orange with a cross of the same color within it against a white center shall be used
to indicate a water zone where vessels may not enter. Any vessels to be permitted within the zoned area must be
specifically designated on such markers in words or well-known abbreviations in black letters above and/or below the
shape on white background.

(7) A circle of international orange with white center shall be used to indicate water zone within which a control or
restriction is imposed upon operation of vessels and/or use of the zoned area. The nature of the control shall be indicated
by words, numerals, or well-known abbreviations in black letters inside the circular shape, or above and/or below it.

(8) A rectangular shape of international orange with white center may be used to convey other information of an official
nature which will contribute to the health, safety, and well being of boaters using the state's waters. The message will be
presented within the shape in black letters.

(9) Markers may be numbered for identification. In the case of channel markers, red markers will be identified with
even numbers and green markers with odd numbers. All numbers used to identify markers will be preceded by letters
"OR".

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63; MB 7-1984, f. 2-14-84, ef. 2-15-84

 

250-010-0185

Buoys

(1) Signs may be mounted on the buoy as in the case of a fixed support, or the symbol may be placed on the face of the
buoy itself.

(2) When a buoy is used to carry a marker symbol on its surface, it will be white, with bands of international orange at
the top and bottom, above the water line. Each orange band will occupy approximately one fifth of the total area of the
buoy above the water line.

(3) When a buoy is used to carry a sign above it, it will be marked with alternating bands of international orange and
white, each band occupying approximately one fifth of the total area of the buoy above the water line, except where the
sign itself incorporates these bands.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63

 

250-010-0190

Signs

When marker symbols are placed on signs, a white background may be used outside the symbol.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63

 

250-010-0195

Letter or Numeral Elements of Marker

Letters, numerals, or figures used with the marker symbol shall be black, and in block characters of good proportion,
and spaced in a manner which will provide maximum legibility.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63
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250-010-0200

Specifications for Water Markers

(1) The size of a display area shall be as required by circumstances, except that no display area shall be smaller than one
foot in height. The size shall increase in increments of six inches; provided, however, that this specification for increase
in increments shall not apply to markers in existence prior to enactment of this regulation.

(2) The thickness of the symbol outline shall be one tenth of the height of the display area.

(3) The outside width of the diamond, the inner diameter of the circle, and the average of the inside and outside width of
a square shall be two thirds of the display area height.

(4) The sides of the diamond shall slope at a 35 angle from the vertical on a plane surface. Appropriate adjustments for
curvature may be made when applied to a cylindrical surface.

(5) Materials: Waterway markers shall be made of materials which will retain, despite weather and other exposures, the
characteristics essential to their basic significance, such as color, shape, legibility, and position.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63

 

250-010-0205

Mooring Buoys

In order that mooring buoys shall not be mistaken for navigational aids, they shall be white with a blue band clearly
visible above the water line, except those in officially designated mooring areas.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63

 

250-010-0210

The "Divers" Flag

(1) A red flag with a white diagonal running from the upper left hand corner to the lower right hand corner (from mast
head to lower outside corner) and know as the "Diver Flag" shall, when displayed on the water, indicate the presence of
a diver submerged in the immediate area.

(2) Recognition of this flag by regulation will not be construed as conferring any rights or privileges on its users, and its
presence in a water area will not be construed in itself as restricting the use of the water area so marked.

(3) Operators of support vessels shall comply with OAR 250-012-0030 as required.

(4) Operators of transiting vessels shall exercise caution commensurate with conditions indicated when in the vicinity of
indicated diving operations.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 19, f. 2-20-63; MB 8-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 11-1984, f. 8-13-84, ef. 8-14-84

 

Floating Home/Boathouse Registration and Titling System

 

250-010-0300

Definitions

(1) "Board" means the Oregon State Marine Board.

(2) "Boathouse" means a covered structure on floats or piles used for the protected moorage of boats.

(3) "Floating Home" means a moored structure that is secured to a pier or filings and is used primarily as a domicile and
not as a boat.

(4) "Owner" means a person or persons who have a property interest other than a security interest in a floating home or
boathouse, and the right of use or possession of the floating home or boathouse, but does not include a lessee.

(5) "Ownership" means a property interest other than a security interest.

(6) "Person" means an individual, partnership, firm, corporation, association, or other entity.

(7) "Security Interest" means an interest reserved or created by agreement which secures payment or performance of an
obligation as more particularly defined by subsection (37) of ORS 71.2010.

(8) "Waters of This State" means all waters within the territorial limits of this state, the marginal sea adjacent to this
state, and the high seas when navigated as a part of a journey or ride to and from the shore of this state.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.850

Hist.: MB 1-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78

 

250-010-0310

Certificate of Registration and Title for a Floating Home or Boathouse

(1) The application shall be made on a form furnished by the Board and mailed directly to the Oregon State Marine
Board or presented in person with the required fee.

(2) Application forms shall be available at the office of the Board.

(3) The Certificate of Registration shall contain ownership data, location, and property description. The certificate of
title shall contain ownership data, transfer of ownership data, location, and property description.

(4) With each Certificate of Registration issued by the Board, there shall be issued one registration plate. The plate shall
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be placed on the structure near the electric meter, to be clearly visible from the access walkway. If a meter is not on the
premises, or if it is located in an area that is not accessible, the registration plate shall be placed on the structure in an
area that is clearly visible from the access walkway.

(5) The numbers on the plate will correspond with the registration serial number issued by the Board on the original
application. The plate color will be white background with green numbers and so maintained to be clearly visible and
legible at all times.

(6) When an application for a Certificate of Title indicates that the legal owner of the Floating Home/Boathouse is other
than the principal owner, the title will be mailed to the legal owner.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.855

Hist.: MB 1-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78; Suspended by MB 10-1983(Temp), f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 1-1984, f. & ef. 1-5-84

 

250-010-0315

Issuance and Duplication Fees

(1) Fees for title issuance and duplication shall be: Title original issuance, title change (requires reissuance) and title
duplication with or without change when original has been lost, mutilated, destroyed or stolen (requires reissuance) --
$20.

(2) Fees for duplicate registration plate -- $20.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.870

Hist.: MB 20-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 17-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 1-1-88

 

250-010-0320

Oregon Floating Home/Boathouse Registration Numbering System

The Floating Home/Boathouse numbering system adopted for use in the State of Oregon shall consist of the designator
FH (Floating Home), BH (Boathouse), or C (Combination Floating Home/Boathouse), followed by the maximum of
five digits and alpha letter to designate the year of registration. The letters "O", "I", and "Q" and all offensive
combinations shall not be used.

EXAMPLES:

-1- FH-00001-A-00 thru FH-99999-A-36

-2- BH-00001-A-00 thru BH-99999-A-36

-3- C-00001-A-00 thru C-99999-A-36

The "A" designates the year registered; i.e., A = 1977, B = 1978, etc. The last two digits indicate the county number
where the structure is located.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.870

Hist.: MB 1-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78

 

250-010-0325

Report of Transfer, Abandonment, or Wrecking of Floating Home/Boathouse or Change of Address

(1) The owner of a Floating Home/Boathouse for which a valid identifying number has been awarded by this state shall
notify the Board within 30 days of transfer of ownership. Abandonment or destruction of the structure also requires
mailing the title to the Board within 30 days for cancellation.

(2) Within 30 days after any change of address, the owner of a Floating Home or Boathouse shall report the change of
location to the Board.

(3) Title transfers received for processing 31 or more days after transfer, abandonment or destruction shall be assessed a
late penalty fee of $25. All late penalty fees shall be in addition to the prescribed original issuance title fee.

(4) The Board will waive the penalty fee for the following reasons:

(a) The applicant did not have possession of the title or replacement title form; or

(b) The person became physically or mentally incapacitated following the purchase of the vessel, directly preventing or
making it impractical for the person to meet requirements for delivery of documents.

(5) Examples of situations the Board shall consider to be beyond a person's control include but shall not be limited to
where:

(a) The person is involved in an accident or suffers a debilitating illness, condition or occurrence immediately following
the purchase of the vessel that prevents this person from conducting business for an extended time period following
vessel purchase;

(b) The vessel is purchased from a person who fails to provide the purchaser with the title or replacement title.

(6) Examples of situations the Board would not consider to be beyond a person's control include but shall not be limited
to situations where the:

(a) Applicant purchases a vessel and the seller provides the title or replacement title to the purchaser within 25 days of
the sale;

(b) The applicant made no attempt to obtain the title or replacement title from the seller;

(c) Applicant sustained minor injury, or incurred a short-term hospital stay which did not directly affect their ability to
conduct business or to otherwise comply with requirements for delivery of documents.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.710

Hist.: MB 1-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78; MB 17-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 8-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-16-92

 

Boating Under the Influence of Intoxicants
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250-010-0400

Boating Under the Influence of Intoxicants

The following rules are in addition to and support of all other applicable laws and rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0410

Definitions

"Chemical Test/Chemical Analysis" means a quantitative analysis for alcohol by means of direct or indirect
measurement of physiochemical technique performed on a sample of breath.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.505

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

 

250-010-0420

Officer Report

(1) The arresting officer shall, within ten days of the arrest of an operator for operating a boat while under the influence
of intoxicants, complete and submit to the Board the following:

(a) Operating Under the Influence Report;

(b) Consent Report.

(2) The Board shall publish and distribute in such form and content as required, report forms specified in subsections (1)
(a) and (b) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.520

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

 

250-010-0430

Chemical Analyses

(1) In accordance with ORS 830.535 the chemical analyses of a person's blood shall be performed according to
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approved methods as contained in OAR Chapter 333, Division 13 of the Health Division, Department of Human
Resources.

(2) The chemical analysis of a person's breath shall be performed by an individual possessing a valid permit to perform
such analyses issued by the Department of State Police under ORS 813.160 as contained in OAR Chapter 257, Division
30 or as approved by the Board in OAR 250-010-0440.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.535

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0440

Qualifications of Breath Test Equipment Operators

(1) No individual shall operate approved breath testing equipment to determine the alcohol content of the blood of a
person in accordance with the provisions of ORS 830.535 unless that individual has been issued a permit to operate such
equipment by the Oregon State Police or the Board.

(2) To qualify for training in the operation of approved breath testing equipment, an individual must be a police officer
as defined under ORS 181.610 or a technician of the Marine Board, or a technician of the Oregon State Police:

(a) An exception to the above rule may be granted by the Board in the case of sworn reserve officers if a written request
for such exemption is submitted by the administrative head of the law enforcement unit of which the officer is a
member;

(b) An exception may also be granted by the Board in the case of sworn city or county corrections officers employed by
a city or county law enforcement unit, as defined in ORS 181.610, and written request for exception is submitted by the
administrative head of the law enforcement unit employing that corrections officer.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.535

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

 

250-010-0450

Training for Operators of Breath Test Equipment

(1) Upon request of the administrative head of a city, port or county law enforcement unit, as defined in ORS 181.610,
the Oregon State Police, or the Board will provide training in the operation of approved breath test equipment for
individuals qualified under OAR 250-010-0440.

(2) The Oregon State Police or the Board will provide a course of instruction covering the chemical analysis of a
person's breath to determine the alcohol content thereof, which instruction shall include, but not be limited to:

(a) Approved methods and techniques of chemical analyses;

(b) Use of approved equipment;
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(c) Interpretation of test results.

(3) Upon completion of the course of instruction, a written examination will be given and a passing grade of 80 percent
or above will be required.

(4) Upon receipt of a passing grade, a permit shall be issued by the Oregon State Police or the Board to the officer
stating the methods and equipment the officer is qualified to use.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.535

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

 

250-010-0460

Certification of Accuracy of Breath Test Equipment

(1) Accuracy testing of approved breath testing equipment shall be performed by qualified personnel of:

(a) The Oregon State Police Forensic Services Division; or

(b) A state agency with appropriate laboratory facilities and personnel trained in testing such equipment; or

(c) An independent laboratory facility with personnel trained in testing such equipment.

(2) The testing facility shall certify the accuracy of the instrument if accuracy test performance is within a range of 0.01
high to 0.02 low from the expected value of a reference sample provided by the laboratory.

(3) Instrument testing may be accomplished either by remote telephone modem or by on-site evaluation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.535

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

 

250-010-0470

Breath Testing Equipment Approval

Approval of any instrument or equipment to be used for the testing of a person's breath to determine the alcohol content
of the blood may be issued by Department of State Police under ORS 813.160 as contained in OAR Chapter 257
Division 30 or as approved by the Board. The Board may use one of the following means:

(1) Submission by the manufacturer or distributor of the instrument of at least two reports of studies correlating blood
analyses and breath tests performed with this instrument, conducted by two separate laboratories of governmental health
or law enforcement agencies, or independent organizations, financially unrelated to the manufacturer or distributor of
such instruments.

(2) Provision of a production model of the instrument by the manufacturer or distributor to the Board for a sufficient
period of time to allow technicians to conduct sufficient investigation and laboratory tests to adequately ascertain its
accuracy and repro-ducibility.
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(3) Those instruments which have been found to conform to the model specifications for evidential breath testing
devices set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

(4) Subsequent series of above instruments, so long as the subsequent changes and series do not diminish the
instrument's ability to accurately determine blood alcohol content.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.505 - 830.550

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.535

Hist.: MB 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92; MB 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

 

Offender Education Program Administration

 

250-010-0500

Offender Education Program Administration

(1) The following rules support the offender education program specified in ORS 830.110.

(2) The primary purposes of this program are:

(a) To provide information to the student concerning state and federal laws and regulations as they pertain to boat
operation;

(b) To increase student awareness of basic boating safety considerations;

(c) To suggest reasons for the student to modify his/her attitude so as to decrease the probability of future violations or
boating accidents.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0510

Definitions

As used in OAR 250-010-0520 through 250-010-0550:

(1) "NASBLA" means National Association of State Boating Law Administrators.

(2) "Board" means the State Marine Board.

(3) "Sponsoring Organization/Agency" means name of organization or agency that provides course and examination.

(4) "Official" means individual representing the organization which sponsors the course.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0520

Content

Content for boating offender education course must meet NASBLA education standards. This shall include but not be
limited to courses taught by the United States Power Squadrons, United States Coast Guard Auxiliary and the State
Marine Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0530

Implementation

The Board shall, upon agreement, make available a boating education course through those law enforcement agencies
which are already under contract to the Board for law enforcement services.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0540

Fees

Fees for the course shall not exceed the expenses associated with providing the course.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0550

Qualified Courses

In order that the court may inform a student of the availability of boating education courses, the Board shall compile and
maintain a list of qualified courses.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-010-0560

Completion Certificate

(1) The certificate format will be made available by the Board to the organization sponsoring the course.

(2) Certificate for successful completion of the course shall include the name of the person passing the course, name of
the sponsoring organization, official's name, date of completion, and the court case number.

(3) Upon successful completion of the course, the defendant is responsible for sending the original copy of his/her
certificate to the sentencing court.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 11

 

RULES OF RIGHT-OF-WAY

 

250-011-0005

Conduct of Vessels in Any Condition of Visibility

(1) Every vessel shall at all times maintain a proper lookout by sight and hearing as well as by all available means
appropriate in the prevailing circumstances and conditions so as to make a full appraisal of the situation and of the risk
of collision.

(2) Every vessel shall at all times proceed at a safe speed so that she can take proper and effective action to avoid
collision and be stopped within a distance appropriate to the prevailing circumstances and conditions. In determining a
safe speed the following factors shall be among those taken into account by all vessels:

(a) The state of visibility;

(b) The traffic density including concentration of fishing vessels or any other vessels;

(c) The maneuverability of the vessel with special reference to stopping distance and turning ability in the prevailing
conditions;

(d) At night the presence of background light such as from shore lights or from back scatter of her own lights;

(e) The state of wind, sea, and current, and the proximity of navigational hazards;

(f) The draft in relation to the available depth of water;

(g) The characteristics, efficiency and limitations of the radar equipment;

(h) Any constraints imposed by the radar range scale in use;

(i) The effect on radar detection of the sea state, weather, and other sources of interference;

(j) The possibility that small vessels, ice and other floating objects may not be detected by radar at an adequate range;
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(k) The number, location, and movement of vessels detected by radar; and

(l) The more exact assessment of the visibility that may be possible when radar is used to determine the range of vessels
or other objects in the vicinity.

(3) Every vessel shall use all available means appropriate to the prevailing circumstances and conditions to determine if
risk of collision exists. If there is any doubt such risk shall be deemed to exist. Proper use shall be made of radar
equipment if fitted and operational, including long-range scanning to obtain early warning of risk of collision and radar
plotting or equivalent systematic observation of detected objects. Assumptions shall not be made on the basis of scanty
information, especially scanty radar information. In determining if risk of collision exists the following consid-erations
shall be among those taken into account:

(a) Such risk shall be deemed to exist if the compass bearing of an approaching vessel does not appreciably change; and

(b) Such risk may sometimes exist even when an appreciable bearing change is evident, particularly when approaching a
very large vessel or a tow or when approaching a vessel at close range.

(4) Any action taken to avoid collision shall, if the circumstances of the case admit, be positive, made in ample time and
with due regard to the observance of good seamanship. Any alteration of course or speed to avoid collision shall, if the
circumstances of the case admit, be large enough to be readily apparent to another vessel observing visually or by radar;
a succession of small alterations of course or speed should be avoided. If there is sufficient sea room, alteration of
course alone may be the most effective action to avoid a close-quarters situation provided that it is made in good time, is
substantial and does not result in another close-quarters situation. Action taken to avoid collision with another vessel
shall be such as to result in passing at a safe distance. The effectiveness of the action shall be carefully checked until the
other vessel is finally past and clear. If necessary to avoid collision or allow more time to assess the situation, a vessel
shall slacken her speed or take all way off by stopping or reversing her means of propulsion.

(5) A vessel proceeding along the course of a narrow channel of a fairway shall keep as near to the outer limit of the
channel or fairway which lies on her starboard side as is safe and practicable:

(a) Notwithstanding section (5) of this rule and OAR 250-011-0010(3), a powerdriven vessel operating in narrow
channels or fairways on waters of this state, and proceeding downbound with a following current shall have the right-of-
way over an upbound vessel, shall propose the manner and place of passage, and shall initiate the maneuvering signals
prescribed by OAR 250-013-0010(1)(a), as appropriate. The vessel proceeding upbound against the current shall hold as
necessary to permit safe passing;

(b) A vessel of less than 20 meters in length or a sailing vessel shall not impede the passage of a vessel that can safely
navigate only within a narrow channel or fairway;

(c) A vessel engaged in fishing shall not impede the passage of any other vessel navigating within a narrow channel or
fairway;

(d) A vessel shall not cross a narrow channel or fairway if such crossing impedes the passage of a vessel which can
safely navigate only within that channel or fairway. The latter vessel shall use the danger signal prescribed in OAR 250-
013-0010(4) if in doubt as to the intention of the crossing vessel;

(e) In a narrow channel or fairway when overtaking, the vessel intending to overtake shall indicate her intention by
sounding the appropriate signal prescribed in OAR 250-013-0010(3)(a) and (b), and take steps to permit safe passing.
The overtaken vessel, if in agreement, shall sound the same signal. If in doubt she shall sound the danger signal
prescribed in OAR 250-013-0010(4). This does not relieve the overtaking vessel of her obligation under OAR 250-011-
0010(2);

(f) A vessel nearing a bend or an area of a narrow channel or fairway where other vessel may be obscured by an
intervening obstruction shall navigate with particular alertness and caution and shall sound the appropriate signal
prescribed in OAR 250-013-0010(5);
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(g) Every vessel shall, if the circumstances of the case admit, avoid anchoring in a narrow channel.

(6) Any vessel approaching, overtaking, being approached, or being overtaken by a moving law enforcement vessel
operating with a siren or an illuminated flashing blue light, or any vessel approaching a stationary law enforcement
vessel displaying an illuminated blue light, shall:

(a) Immediately slow to a speed sufficient to maintain steerage only, shall alter its course, within its ability, so as not to
inhibit or interfere with the operation of the law enforcement vessel, and shall proceed, unless otherwise directed by the
operator of the law enforcement vessel, at the reduced speed until beyond the area of operation of the law enforcement
vessel;

(b) Notwithstanding the operational requirements of subsection (a) of this section, vessels shall not be required to
operate in a manner that would endanger or be likely to endanger that craft, other nearby watercraft, or other persons or
property.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.335 & 830.340

Hist.: MB 14-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-93

 

250-011-0010

Conduct of Vessels in Sight of One Another

(1) When two sailing vessels are approaching one another, so as to involve risk of collision, one of them shall keep out
of the way of the other as follows:

(a) When each has the wind on a different side, the vessel which has the wind on the port side shall keep out of the way
of the other;

(b) When both have the wind on the same side, the vessel which is to windward shall keep out of the way of the vessel
which is to leeward; and

(c) If a vessel with the wind on the port side sees a vessel to windward and cannot determine with certainty whether the
other vessel has the wind on the port or on the starboard side, she shall keep out of the way of the other;

(d) For the purpose of this section the windward side shall be deemed to be the side opposite to that on which the
mainsail is carried or, in the case of a square-rigged vessel, the side opposite to that on which the largest fore-and-aft
sail is carried.

(2) Notwithstanding anything contained in OAR 250-011-0005 through 250-011-0010 any vessel overtaking any other
shall keep out of the way of the vessel being overtaken. A vessel shall be deemed to be overtaking when coming up with
another vessel from a direction more than 22.5 degrees abaft her beam; that is, in such a position with reference to the
vessel she is overtaking, that at night she would be able to see only the sternlight of that vessel but neither of her
sidelights. When a vessel is in any doubt as to whether she is overtaking another, she shall assume that this is the case
and act accordingly. Any subsequent alteration of the bearing between the two vessels shall not make the overtaking
vessel a crossing vessel within the meaning of these rules or relieve her of the duty of keeping clear of the overtaken
vessel until she is finally past and clear.

(3) Unless otherwise agreed, when two power-driven vessels are meeting on reciprocal or nearly reciprocal courses so
as to involve risk of collision each shall alter her course to starboard so that each shall pass on the port side of the other.
Such a situation shall be deemed to exist when a vessel sees the other ahead or nearly ahead and by night she could see
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the masthead lights of the other in a line or nearly in a line or both sidelights and by day she observes the corresponding
aspect of the other vessel. When a vessel is in any doubt as to whether such a situation exists she shall assume that it
does exist and act accordingly.

(4) Notwithstanding section (3) of this rule, a power-driven vessel operating on waters of this state, and proceeding
down-bound with a following current shall have the right-of-way over an up-bound vessel, shall propose the manner of
passage, and shall initiate the maneuvering signals prescribed by OAR 250-013-0010(1)(a), (2)(a), or (3)(a), as
appropriate.

(5) When two power-driven vessels are crossing so as to involve risk of collision, the vessel which has the other on her
starboard side shall keep out of the way and shall, if the circumstances of the case admit, avoid crossing ahead of the
other vessel. Notwithstanding this section on the waters of this state, a vessel crossing a river shall keep out of the way
of a power-driven vessel ascending or descending the river.

(6) Every vessel which is directed to keep out of the way of another vessel shall, so far as possible, take early and
substantial action to keep well clear.

(7) Where one of two vessels is to keep out of the way, the other shall keep her course and speed:

(a) The latter vessel may, however, take action to avoid collision by her maneuver alone, as soon as it becomes apparent
to her that the vessel required to keep out of the way is not taking appropriate action in compliance with these rules;

(b) When, from any cause, the vessel required to keep her course and speed finds herself so close that collision cannot
be avoided by the action of the give-way vessel alone, she shall take such action as will best aid to avoid collision. A
power-driven vessel which takes action in a crossing situation in accordance with subsection (7)(a) of this rule to avoid
collision with another power-driven vessel shall, if the circumstances of the case admit, not alter course to port for a
vessel on her own port side. This rule does not relieve the give-way vessel of her obligation to keep out of the way.

(8) Except where OAR 250-011-0005(5) and section (2) of this rule otherwise require:

(a) A power-driven vessel underway shall keep out of the way of:

(A) A vessel not under command;

(B) A vessel restricted in her ability to maneuver;

(C) A vessel engaged in fishing; and

(D) A sailing vessel.

(b) A sailing vessel underway shall keep out of the way of:

(A) A vessel not under command;

(B) A vessel restricted in her ability to maneuver; and

(C) A vessel engaged in fishing.

(c) A vessel engaged in fishing when underway shall, so far as possible, keep out of the way of:

(A) A vessel not under command; and

(B) A vessel restricted in her ability to maneuver.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 14-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85

 

250-011-0015

Conduct of Vessels in Restricted Visibility

Every vessel shall proceed at a safe speed adapted to the prevailing circumstances and conditions of restricted visibility.
A power-driven vessel shall have her engines ready for immediate maneuver:

(1) Every vessel shall have due regard to the prevailing circumstances and conditions of restricted visibility when
complying with OAR 250-011-0005.

(2) A vessel which detect by radar alone the presence of another vessel shall determine if a close-quarters situation is
developing or risk of collision exists. If so, she shall take avoiding action in ample time, provided that when such action
consists of an alteration of course, so far as possible the following shall be avoided:

(a) An alteration of course to port for a vessel forward of the beam, other than for a vessel being overtaken; and

(b) An alteration of course toward a vessel abeam or abaft the beam.

(3) Except where it has been determined that a risk of collision does not exist, every vessel which hears, apparently
forward of her beam the fog signal of another vessel, or which cannot avoid a close-quarters situation with another
vessel forward of her beam, shall reduce her speed to the minimum at which she can be kept on course. She shall if
necessary take all her way off and, in any event, navigate with extreme caution until danger of collision is over.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 14-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85
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OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 12

 

LIGHTS AND SHAPES

 

250-012-0001

Definitions

As used in this Division unless the context otherwise requires:

(1) "All-Round Light" means a light showing an unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 360 degrees.

(2) "Flashing Light" means a light flashing at regular intervals at a frequency of 120 flashes or more per minute.

(3) "Masthead Light" means a white light placed over the fore and aft centerline of the vessel showing an unbroken light
over an arc of the horizon of 225 degrees and so fixed as to show the light from right ahead to 22.5 degrees abaft the
beam on either side of the vessel, except that on a vessel of less than 12 meters in length the masthead light shall be
placed as nearly as practicable to the fore and aft centerline of the vessel.

(4) "Sidelights" means a green light on the starboard side and a red light on the port side each showing an unbroken light
over an arc of the horizon of 112.5 degrees and so fixed as to show the light from right ahead to 22.5 degrees abaft the
beam on its respective side. On a vessel of less than 20 meters in length the sidelights may be combined in one lantern
carried on the fore and aft centerline of the vessel, except that on a vessel of less than 12 meters in length the sidelights
when combined in one lantern shall be placed as nearly as practicable to the fore and aft centerline of the vessel.

(5) "Special Flashing Light" means a yellow light flashing at regular intervals at a frequency of 50 to 70 flashes per
minute, placed as far forward and as nearly as practicable on the fore and aft centerline of the tow and showing on
unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of not less than 180 degrees nor more than 225 degrees and so fixed as to
show the light from right ahead to abeam and no more than 22.5 degrees abaft the beam on either side of the vessel.

(6) "Sternlight" means a white light placed as nearly as practicable at the stern showing an unbroken light over an arc of
the horizon of 135 degrees and so fixed as to show the light67.5 degrees from right aft on each side of the vessel.

(7) "Towing Light" means a yellow light having the same characteristics as the "sternlight" defined in section (6) of this
rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830



OSMB_250_012_1998

250_012_1998.html[6/24/21, 3:13:38 PM]

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-012-0003

Visibility of Lights

The lights herein prescribed shall have an intensity so as to be visible at the following minimum ranges:

(1) In a vessel of 50 meters or more in length:

(a) A masthead light, six miles;

(b) A sidelight, three miles;

(c) A sternlight, three miles;

(d) A towing light, three miles;

(e) A white, red, green or yellow all-round light, three miles; and a special flashing light, two miles.

(2) In a vessel of 12 meters or more in length but less that 50 meters in length:

(a) A masthead light, five miles; except that where the length of the vessel is less than 20 meters, three miles;

(b) A sidelight, two miles;

(c) A sternlight, two miles;

(d) A towing light, two miles;

(e) A white, red, green or yellow all-round light, two miles; and a special flashing light, two miles.

(3) In a vessel of less than 12 meters in length:

(a) A masthead light, two miles;

(b) A sidelight, one mile;

(c) A sternlight, two miles;

(d) A towing light, two miles;

(e) A white, red, green or yellow all-round light, two miles; and a special flashing light, two miles.

(4) In an inconspicuous, partly submerged vessel or object being towed: A white all-round light, three miles.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 



OSMB_250_012_1998

250_012_1998.html[6/24/21, 3:13:38 PM]

250-012-0005

Application

(1) The requirements concerning lights shall be complied with from sunset to sunrise, and during such times no other
lights shall be exhibited, except such lights as cannot be mistaken for lights herein specified, or do not impair their
visibility or distinctive character, or interfere with the keeping of a proper look-out.

(2) The lights herein prescribed shall, if carried, also be exhibited from sunrise to sunset in restricted visibility and may
be exhibited in all other circumstances when it is deemed necessary.

(3) When specified, shapes shall be complied with by day.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 16-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92

 

250-012-0010

Power-driven Vessels Underway

(1) A power-driven vessel underway shall exhibit:

(a) A masthead light forward; except that a vessel of less than 20 meters in length need not exhibit this light forward of
amidships but shall exhibit it as far forward as is practicable;

(b) A second masthead light abaft of and higher than the forward one; except that a vessel of less than 50 meters in
length shall not be obliged to exhibit such light but may do so;

(c) Sidelights; and

(d) A sternlight.

(2) An air-cushion vessel when operating in the nondisplacement mode shall, in addition to the lights prescribed in
section (1) of this rule, exhibit an all-round flashing yellow light where it can best be seen.

(3) A power-driven vessel of less than 12 meters in length may, in lieu of the lights prescribed in section (1) of this rule,
exhibit an all-round white light and sidelights.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225 & 830.250

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-012-0015

Towing and Pushing

(1) A power-driven vessel when towing astern shall exhibit:
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(a) Instead of the light prescribed either in OAR 250-012-0010(1)(a) or (b), two masthead lights in a vertical line. When
the length of the tow, measuring from the stern of the towing vessel to the after end of the tow exceeds 200 meters, three
such lights in a vertical line;

(b) Sidelights;

(c) A sternlight;

(d) A towing light in a vertical line above the sternlight; and

(e) When the length of the tow exceeds 200 meters, a diamond shape where it can best be seen.

(2) When a pushing vessel and a vessel being pushed ahead are rigidly connected in a composite unit they shall be
regarded as a power-driven vessel and exhibit the lights prescribed in OAR 250-012-0010.

(3) A power-driven vessel when pushing ahead or towing alongside, except as required by sections (2) and (9) of this
rule, shall exhibit:

(a) Instead of the light prescribed either in OAR 250-012-0010(1)(a) or (b), two masthead lights in a vertical line;

(b) Sidelights; and

(c) Two towing lights in a vertical line.

(4) A power-driven vessel to which sections (1) and (3) of this rule apply shall also comply with OAR 250-012-0010(1)
(a) and (b).

(5) A vessel or object other than those referred to in section (7) of this rule being towed shall exhibit:

(a) Sidelights;

(b) A sternlight; and

(c) When the length of the tow exceeds 200 meters, a diamond shape where it can best be seen.

(6) Provided that any number of vessels being towed alongside or pushed in a group shall be lighted as one vessel:

(a) A vessel being pushed ahead, not being part of a composite unit, shall exhibit at the forward end sidelights, and a
special flashing light; and

(b) A vessel being towed alongside shall exhibit a sternlight and at the forward end sidelights.

(7) An inconspicuous, partly, submerged vessel or object being towed shall exhibit:

(a) If it is less than 25 meters in breadth, one all-round white light at or near each end;

(b) If it is 25 meters or more in breadth, four all-round white lights to mark its length and breadth;

(c) If it exceeds 100 meters in length, additional all-round white lights between the lights prescribed in subsections (7)
(a) and (b) of this rule so that the distance between the lights shall not exceed 100 meters: Provided, that any vessels or
objects being towed alongside each other shall be lighted as one vessel or object;

(d) A diamond shape at or near the aftermost extremity of the last vessel or object being towed; and

(e) The towing vessel may direct a searchlight in the direction of the tow to indicate its presence to an approaching
vessel.
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(8) Where from any sufficient cause it is impracticable for a vessel or object being towed to exhibit the lights prescribed
in sections (5) and (7) of this rule, all possible measures shall be taken to light the vessel or object towed or at least to
indicate the presence of the unlighted vessel or object.

(9) Notwithstanding section (3) of this rule, on the Western Rivers and on waters specified by the U.S. Secretary of
Transportation, a power-driven vessel when pushing ahead or towing alongside, except as section (2) of this rule
applies, shall exhibit:

(a) Sidelights; and

(b) Two towing lights in a vertical line.

(10) Where from any sufficient cause it is impracticable for a vessel not normally engaged in towing operations to
display the lights prescribed by sections (1), (3) and (9) of this rule, such vessel shall not be required to exhibit those
lights when engaged in towing another vessel in distress or otherwise in need of assistance. All possible measures shall
be taken to indicate the nature of the relationship between the towing vessel and the vessel being assisted. The
searchlight authorized by OAR 250-013-0020 may be used to illuminate the tow.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83; MB 16-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92

 

250-012-0020

Sailing Vessels Underway and Vessels Manually Propelled

(1) A sailing vessel underway shall exhibit:

(a) Sidelights; and

(b) A sternlight.

(2) In a sailing vessel of less than 20 meters in length the lights prescribed in section (1) of this rule may be combined in
one lantern carried at or near the top of the mast where it can best be seen.

(3) A sailing vessel underway may, in addition to the lights prescribed in section (1) of this rule, exhibit at or near the
top of the mast, where they can best be seen, two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being red and the lower
green, but these lights shall not be exhibited in conjunction with the combined lantern permitted by section (2) of this
rule.

(4)(a) A sailing vessel of less than seven meters in length shall, if practicable, exhibit the lights prescribed in section (1)
or (2) of this rule, but if she does not, she shall have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted lantern showing a white
light which shall be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision;

(b) A vessel under oars may exhibit the lights prescribed in this rule for sailing vessels, but if she does not, she shall
have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted lantern showing a white light which shall be exhibited in sufficient time
to prevent collision.

(5) A vessel proceeding under sail when also being propelled by machinery shall exhibit forward where it can best be
seen a conical shape, apex downward. A vessel of less than 12 meters in length is not required to exhibit this shape, but
may do so.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-012-0025

Fishing Vessels

(1) A vessel engaged in fishing, whether underway or at anchor, shall exhibit only the lights and shapes prescribed in
this rule.

(2) A vessel when engaged in trawling, by which is meant the dragging through the water of a dredge net or other
apparatus used as a fishing appliance, shall exhibit:

(a) Two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being green and the lower white, or a shape consisting of two cones
with their apexes together in a vertical line one above the other; a vessel of less than 20 meters in length may instead of
this shape exhibit a basket;

(b) A masthead light abaft of and higher than the all-round green light; a vessel of less than 50 meters in length shall not
be obliged to exhibit such a light but may do so; and

(c) When making way through the water, in addition to the lights prescribed in this paragraph, sidelights and a
sternlight.

(3) A vessel engaged in fishing, other than trawling, shall exhibit:

(a) Two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being red and the lower white, or a shape consisting of two cones
with apexes together in a vertical line one above the other; a vessel of less than 20 meters in length may instead of this
shape exhibit a basket;

(b) When there is outlying gear extending more than 150 meters horizontally from the vessel, an all-round white light or
a cone apex upward in the direction of the gear; and

(c) When making way through the water, in addition to the lights prescribed in this section, sidelights and a sternlight.

(4) A trawler or purse seiner engaged in fishing in close proximity to other vessels engaged in fishing may exhibit such
additional signals as may be promulgated by the U.S. Secretary of Transportation.

(5) A vessel when not engaged in fishing shall not exhibit the lights or shapes prescribed in this rule, but only those
prescribed for a vessel of her length.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-012-0030

Vessels Not Under Command or Restricted in Their Ability to Maneuver
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(1) A vessel not under command shall exhibit:

(a) Two all-round red lights in a vertical line where they can best be seen;

(b) Two balls or similar shapes in a vertical line where they can best be seen; and

(c) When making way through the water, in addition to the lights prescribed in this subsection, sidelights and a
sternlight.

(2) A vessel restricted in her ability to maneuver, except a vessel engaged in mine-sweeping operations, shall exhibit:

(a) Three all-round lights in a vertical line where they can best be seen. The highest and lowest of these lights shall be
red and the middle light shall be white;

(b) Three shapes in a vertical line where they can best be seen. The highest and lowest of these shapes shall be balls and
the middle one a diamond;

(c) When making way through the water, masthead lights, sidelights and a sternlight, in addition to the lights prescribed
in subsection (2)(a) of this rule; and

(d) When at anchor, in addition to the lights or shapes prescribed in subsections (2)(a) and (b) of this rule, the light,
lights or shapes prescribed in OAR 250-012-0040.

(3) A vessel engaged in a towing operation which severely restricts the towing vessel and her tow in their ability to
deviate from their course shall, in addition to the lights or shapes prescribed in subsections (2)(a) and (b) of this rule,
exhibit the lights or shape prescribed in OAR 250-012-0015.

(4) A vessel engaged in dredging or underwater operations, when restricted in her ability to maneuver, shall exhibit the
lights and shapes prescribed in subsections (2)(a), (b), and (c) of this rule and shall in addition, when an obstruction
exists, exhibit:

(a) Two all-round red lights or two balls in a vertical line to indicate the side on which the obstruction exists;

(b) Two all-round green lights or two diamonds in a vertical line to indicate the side on which another vessel may pass;
and

(c) When at anchor, the lights or shape prescribed by this subsection, instead of the lights or shapes prescribed in OAR
250-012-0040 for anchored vessels.

(5) Whenever the size of a vessel engaged in diving operations makes it impracticable to exhibit all lights and shapes
prescribed in section (4) of this rule, the following shall instead be exhibited:

(a) Three all-round lights in a vertical line where they can best be seen. The highest and lowest of these lights shall be
red and the middle light shall be white;

(b) A rigid replica of the international code flag "A" not less than one meter in height. Measures shall be taken to insure
its all-round visibility.

(6) A vessel engaged in minesweeping operations shall, in addition to the lights prescribed for a power-driven vessel in
OAR 250-012-0010, exhibit three all-round green lights or three balls. One of these lights or shapes shall be exhibited
near the foremast head and one at each end of the fore yard. These lights or shapes indicate that it is dangerous for
another vessel to approach closer than 1,000 meters a stern or 500 meters on either side of the minesweeper.

(7) A vessel of less than 12 meters in length, except when engaged in diving operations, is not required to exhibit the
lights or shapes prescribed in this rule.
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(8) The signals prescribed in this rule are not signals of vessels in distress and requiring assistance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-012-0035

Pilot Vessels

(1) A vessel engaged on pilotage duty shall exhibit:

(a) At or near the masthead, two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being white and the lower red;

(b) When underway, in addition, sidelights and a sternlight; and

(c) When at anchor, in addition to the lights prescribed in subsection (1)(a) of this rule, the anchor light, lights, or shape
prescribed in OAR 250-012-0040 for anchored vessels.

(2) A pilot vessel when not engaged on pilotage duty shall exhibit the lights or shapes prescribed for a vessel of her
length.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-012-0040

Anchored Vessels and Vessels Aground

(1) A vessel at anchor shall exhibit where it can best be seen:

(a) In the fore part, an all-round white light or one ball; and

(b) At or near the stern and at a lower level than the light prescribed in subsection (1)(a) of this rule, an all-round white
light.

(2) A vessel of less than 50 meters in length may exhibit an all-round white light where it can best be seen instead of the
lights prescribed in section (1) of this rule.

(3) A vessel at anchor may, and a vessel of 100 meters or more in length shall, also use the available working or
equivalent lights to illuminate her decks.

(4) A vessel aground shall exhibit the lights prescribed in section (1) or (2) of this rule and in addition, if practicable,
where they can best be seen:

(a) Two all-round red lights in a vertical line; and

(b) Three balls in a vertical line.
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(5) A vessel of less than seven meters in length, when at anchor, not in or near a narrow channel, fairway, anchorage, or
where other vessels normally navigate, shall not be required to exhibit the lights or shape prescribed in sections (1) and
(2) of this rule.

(6) A vessel of less than 12 meters in length when aground shall not be required to exhibit the lights or shapes
prescribed in subsections (4)(a) and (b) of this rule.

(7) A vessel of less than 20 meters in length, when at anchor in a special anchorage area designated by the United States
Secretary of Transportation, shall not be required to exhibit the anchor lights and shapes required by this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.250

Hist.: MB 15-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-012-0045

Law Enforcement Vessels

(1) Law enforcement vessels may display a flashing blue light when engaged in direct law enforcement or public safety
activities. This light must be located so that it does not interfere with the visibility of the vessel's navigation lights.

(2) The blue light described in this section may be displayed only by law enforcement vessels of the United States,
Oregon and its political subdivi-sions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.035

Hist.: MB 16-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92

 

250-012-0050

Public Safety Activities

(1) Vessels engaged in government sanctioned public safety activities, and commercial vessels performing similar
functions, may display an alternately flashing red and yellow light signal. This identification light signal must be located
so that it does not interfere with the visibility of the vessel's navigation lights. The identification light signal may be
used only as an identification signal and conveys no special privilege. Vessels using the identification light signal during
public safety activities must abide by the Inland Navigation Rules and OAR Chapter 250, Division 11, and must not
presume that the light or the exigency gives them precedence or right of way.

(2) Public safety activities include but are not limited to patrolling marine parades, regattas, or special water
celebrations; traffic control; salvage; firefighting; medical assistance; assisting disabled vessels; and search and rescue.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.035

Hist.: MB 16-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-92

This online version of the OARs is provided for convenience of reference and enhanced access. The official, record copy of these publications is the
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 13

 

SOUND AND LIGHT SIGNALS

 

250-013-0001

Definitions

(1) The word "whistle" means any sound signaling appliance capable of producing the prescribed blasts and which
complies with current U.S. Coast Guard specifications.

(2) The term "short blast" means a blast of about one second's duration.

(3) The term "prolonged blast" means a blast of from four to six second's duration.

Stat. Auth: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.210, 830.230 & 830.250

Hist.: MB 16-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-013-0005

Equipment for Sound Signals

(1) A vessel of 12 meters or more in length shall be provided with a whistle and a bell and a vessel of 100 meters or
more in length shall, in addition, be provided with a gong, the tone and sound of which cannot be confused with that of
the bell. The whistle, bell and gong shall comply with current U.S. Coast Guard specifications. The bell or gong or both
may be replaced by other equipment having the same respective sound characteristics, provided that manual sounding of
the prescribed signals shall always be possible.

(2) A vessel of less than 12 meters in length shall not be obliged to carry the sound signaling appliances prescribed in
section (1) of this rule but if she does not, she shall be provided with some other means of making an efficient sound
signal.

Stat. Auth: ORS Ch. 830
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.230

Hist.: MB 16-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-013-0010

Maneuvering and Warning Signals

(1) When power-driven vessels are in sight of one another and meeting or crossing at a distance within half a mile of
each other, each vessel underway, when maneuvering as authorized or required by these rules:

(a) Shall indicate that maneuver by the following signals on her whistle: one short blast to mean "I intend to leave you
on my port side"; two short blasts to mean "I intend to leave you on my starboard side"; and three short blasts to mean "I
am operating astern propulsion";

(b) Upon hearing the one or two blast signal the other shall, if in agreement, sound the same whistle signal and take the
steps necessary to effect a safe passing. If, however, from any cause, the vessel doubts the safety of the proposed
maneuver, she shall sound the danger signal specified in section (4) of this rule and each vessel shall take appropriate
precautionary action until a safe passing agreement is made.

(2) A vessel may supplement the whistle signals prescribed in section (1) of this rule by light signals:

(a) These signals shall have the following significance: one flash to mean "I intend to leave you on my port side"; two
flashes to mean "I intend to leave you on my starboard side"; three flashes to mean "I am operating astern propulsion";

(b) The duration of each flash shall be about one second; and

(c) The light used for this signal shall, if fitted, be one all-round white or yellow light, visible at a minimum range of
two miles, synchronized with the whistle, and shall comply with current U.S. Coast Guard specifications.

(3) When in sight of one another:

(a) A power-driven vessel intending to overtake another power-driven vessel shall indicate her intention by the
following signals on her whistle: one short blast to mean "I intend to overtake you on your starboard side"; two short
blasts to mean "I intend to overtake you on your port side"; and

(b) The power-driven vessel about to be overtaken shall, if in agreement, sound a similar sound signal. If in doubt she
shall sound the danger signal prescribed in section (4) of this rule.

(4) When vessels in sight of one another are approaching each other and from any cause either vessel fails to understand
the intentions or actions of the other, or is in doubt whether sufficient action is being taken by the other to avoid
collision, the vessel in doubt shall immediately indicate such doubt by giving at least five short and rapid blasts on the
whistle. This signal may be supplemented by a light signal of at least five short and rapid flashes.

(5) A vessel nearing a bend or an area of a channel or fairway where other vessels may be obscured by an intervening
obstruction shall sound one prolonged blast. This signal shall be answered with a prolonged blast by an approaching
vessel that may be within hearing around the bend or behind the intervening obstruction.

(6) If whistles are fitted on a vessel at a distance apart of more than 100 meters, one whistle only shall be used for giving
maneuvering and warning signals.

(7) When a power-driven vessel is leaving a dock or berth, she shall sound one prolonged blast.
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(8) A vessel that reaches agreement with another vessel in a meeting, crossing, or overtaking situation by using the
radiotelephone as prescribed by the Federal Bridge-to-Bridge Radio-Telephone Act (85 Stat. 165; 33 U.S.C. 1207),
is not obliged to sound the whistle signals prescribed by this rule, but may do so. If agreement is not reached, then
whistle signals shall be exchanged in a timely manner and shall prevail.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.230 & 830.250

Hist.: MB 16-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-013-0015

Sound Signals in Restricted Visibility

In or near an area of restricted visibility, whether by day or night, the signals prescribed in this rule shall be used as
follows:

(1) A power-driven vessel making way through the water shall sound at intervals of not more than two minutes one
prolonged blast.

(2) A power-driven vessel underway but stopped and making no way through the water shall sound at intervals of not
more than two minutes two prolonged blasts in succession with an interval of about two seconds between them.

(3) A vessel not under command; a vessel restricted in her ability to maneuver, whether underway or at anchor; a sailing
vessel; a vessel engaged in fishing, whether underway or at anchor; and a vessel engaged in towing or pushing another
vessel shall, instead of the signals prescribed in section (1) or (2) of this rule, sound at intervals of not more than two
minutes, three blasts in succession; namely, one prolonged followed by two short blasts.

(4) A vessel towed or if more than one vessel is towed the last vessel of the tow, if manned, shall at intervals of not
more than two minutes sound four blasts in succession; namely, one prolonged followed by three short blasts. When
practicable, this signal shall be made immediately after the signal made by the towing vessel.

(5) When a pushing vessel and a vessel being pushed ahead are rigidly connected in a composite unit they shall be
regarded as a power-driven vessel and shall give the signals prescribed in section (1) or (2) of this rule.

(6) A vessel at anchor shall at intervals of not more than one minute ring the bell rapidly for about five seconds. In a
vessel of 100 meters or more in length the bell shall be sounded in the forepart of the vessel and immediately after the
ringing of the bell the gong shall be sounded rapidly for about five seconds in the after part of the vessel. A vessel at
anchor may in addition sound three blasts in succession; namely, one short, one prolonged and one short blast, to give
warning of her position and of the possibility of collision to an approaching vessel.

(7) A vessel aground shall give the bell signal and if required the gong signal prescribed in section (6) of this rule and
shall, in addition, give three separate and distinct strokes on the bell immediately before and after the rapid ringing of
the bell. A vessel aground may in addition sound an appropriate whistle signal.

(8) A vessel of less than 12 meters in length shall not be obliged to give the above-mentioned signals but, if she does
not, shall make some other efficient sound signals at intervals of not more than two minutes.

(9) A pilot vessel when engaged on pilotage duty may in addition to the signals prescribed in section (1), (2) or (6) of
this rule sound an identity signal consisting of four short blasts.
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(10) The following vessels shall not be required to sound signals as prescribed in section (6) of this rule when anchored
in a special anchorage area designated by the United States Secretary of Transportation:

(a) A vessel of less than 20 meters in length; and

(b) A barge, canal boat, scow, or other nondescript craft.

Stat. Auth: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.230

Hist.: MB 16-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83

 

250-013-0020

Signals to Attract Attention

If necessary to attract the attention of another vessel, any vessel may make light or sound signals that cannot be
mistaken for any signal authorized elsewhere in these rules, or may direct the beam of her searchlight in the direction of
the danger, in such a way as not to embarrass any vessel.

Stat. Auth: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.225, 830.230 & 830.250

Hist.: MB 16-1983, f. 11-29-83, ef. 12-1-83
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 14

 

MARINE FACILITY PROGRAM RULES

 

250-014-0001

Definitions

For the purposes of OAR-250-014-0001 to 250-014-0005, the following definitions shall apply:

(1) "Biennium" means The 24-month period beginning July 1 of each odd numbered year and ending June 30 of the next
odd numbered year.

(2) "Board" means The State Marine Board.

(3) "Director" means The State Marine Board Director.

(4) "Fiscal Year" means The twelve-month period beginning July 1 of any year and ending June 30 of the next year.

(5) "Improved Public Marine Facility" - Includes improved public facilities with a hard ramp surface, parking area (for
at least 10 boat trailers), and sanitary facilities (may be seasonal). Also included are designated public transient
moorages 200 feet or longer in length and developed marine parks only accessible by boat.

(6) "Maintenance Assistance Program" ("MAP"), means funding assistance to eligible public participants for the routine
maintenance and operations of improved marine facilities. Funds are provided on an allocation basis.

(7) "Marine Facility Grant Program" means the program authorized by ORS 830.150. Funds are available for the
acquisition, development and rehabilitation of public marine facilities available to, and ordinarily used by, motorized
boats.

(8) "Public Facility Grant Project" means a project to acquire property, or develop, improve, rehabilitate or replace
public marine facilities.

(9) "Private Facility Grant Project" means a project to develop, improve, rehabilitate or replace private marina facility
vessel waste collection system.

(10) "Public Marine Facility" or "Public Boating Facility" - includes public launch ramps, parking, boarding floats,
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transient moorages, restrooms, access roads, pump out stations, signing and water markers, potable water systems and
related facilities for the use and convenience of the boating public.

(11) "Private Marine Facility" or "Private Marina Facility" - includes private facilities that have the capability to provide
vessel waste collection systems that are open and available for public use.

(12) "Procedure Guide" means The Public Boating Facility Grant Program Procedure Guide and Private Vessel
Waste Collection Grant Program Procedure Guide, published by the Board.

(13) "Public Project Sponsor","Eligible Public Participants", or "Public Entity" includes publicly owned and operated
boating facilities by cities, counties, park and recreation districts, port districts and state agencies as specified in the
rules.

(14) "Private Project Sponsor","Eligible Private Participants", or "Private Entity" means any individual firm,
corporation, association, partnership, consortium, joint venture, industry, or any other nonpublic entity which operate a
marina facility as specified in the rules.

(15) "Vessel Waste Collection System" includes all types of stationary or portable systems that pumps or removes
human waste from recreational boats holding tank or porta potty. This includes pumpouts, dump stations, related
forward sewage lift stations, necessary floats, piles, and gangways, and related facilities.

(16) "Vessel Waste Collection Grant Program" means the program authorized by ORS 830.150. Funds are available for
the development and rehabilitation of Vessel Waste Collection Systems at public and private marine facilities available
to, and ordinarily used by, recreational boats.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the office of the Marine Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.150

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.150

Hist.: MB 18-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 11-1987, f. 5-20-87, ef. 6-1-87; MB 12-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 5-15-92; MB 8-
1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-6-95

 

250-014-0002

Eligibility

(1) The Marine Facility Grant Program is available to eligible public project sponsors.

(2) The Vessel Waste Collection Grant Program is available to eligible public and private project sponsors.

(3) The Maintenance Assistance Program is available to eligible public project sponsors.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.150

Stats Implemented: ORS 830.150

Hist.: MB 18-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 11-1987, f. 5-20-87, ef. 6-1-87; MB 12-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 5-15-92; MB 8-
1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-6-95

 

250-014-0003
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Marine Facility Grant Program

(1)Program Description:

(a) The Board is authorized by ORS 830.150 (2)(a) to provide funds for the construction,rehabilitation, and replacement
of boating facilities. The program can provide for the acquisition of property and related development projects such as
ramps, parking, potable water, sanitation, docks, and other facilities for the convenience of the public using those
boating facilities. he funds are available to eligible participants on a full grant or matching basis. Applicants are strongly
encouraged to provide some form of matching funds. This will enhance a project's potential for funding. The match may
be a hard match of dollars, or a soft match of "in-kind" services such as administration, design, labor, and engineering as
set forth in the Procedure Guide;

(b) In granting funds, ORS 830.150 (2)(a), requires the Board to give first priority to applications for facilities designed
to control water pollution or otherwise enhance water quality, including but not limited to, pumping stations for
recreational boat holding tanks, and to those other facilities for which there appears the greatest public need. Funds may
also be granted for removal of obsolete and abandoned dock or mooring facilities, if these constitute a boating or
navigational hazard;

(c) Projects may be submitted by:

(A) Cities;

(B) Counties;

(C) Park and Recreation Districts;

(D) Port Districts;

(E) State Agencies.

(d) In addition, counties with consent of the County Commission may sponsor a Federal Agency participant such as
U.S. Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management or Corps of Engineers;

(e) Prior to issuing any grant, the Board shall hold a public hearing in the area where a facility is to be constructed or
land acquired if, in the judgement of the Board, use of the facility would stimulate significant change in the character of
the recreational use of the waters;

(f) Cities, counties, park and recreation districts, port districts, and state agencies which have developed long-range
plans for development of boating facilities are encouraged to file a copy with the State Marine Board.

(2) Procedures:

(a) Pre-Application: Prior to submitting an application for a Marine Board facility grant, the applicant should contact the
Oregon Marine Board for a pre-application conference to discuss the proposed project. This will provide applicants with
an opportunity to ask any questions regarding the grant program, and will permit the Marine Board staff to assist the
applicant in the early planning stages of a project. Requests for application forms, guidance, and assistance may be
obtained from: Facility Program, Oregon State Marine Board, 435 Commercial St NE, Salem, OR 97310, Phone: (503)
378-8587;

(b) Application: When an applicant for a grant has completed the planning phase, application shall be made to the Board
on such forms as described in the Procedure Guide. The application must include the following enclosures:

(A) Completed original application form, and five (5) copies, for a total of six copies;

(B) A resolution or statement from the governing body authorizing the project;
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(C) Certification from the local city or county planning agency that the project is in compliance with local
comprehensive plans and zoning ordinances;

(D) The following planning attachments must be submitted:

(i) Location map of the city or county, and state showing the location of the project;

(ii) Vicinity map showing entire facility, boundaries, geographical features and land use adjacent to the project;

(iii) Site Plan showing the area to be developed with this grant. All items should be clearly labeled on the plan as
existing or proposed development. Include dimensions to scale;

(iv) Photographs of existing project site. These should be sufficient to show major site features and any special
characteristics. (An aerial photo is desirable if available);

(v) A preliminary cost estimate, with calculations and quantities, including all proposed facilities and work tasks. For
projects in which the marine facilities are only a portion of the total cost, indicate the boating related facilities to be
developed with Marine Board funds;

(vi) Preliminary Plans of all proposed structures, including a plan view (top) and elevation view (side) of each proposed
structure;

(vii) Third Party Agreements including copy of leases, special use permits, or intergovernmental agreements if applicant
manages but does not own the project site. If applicable, cooperative agreement between eligible sponsor and other third
party participant outlining scope and nature of the project.

(E) If lands are to be acquired, give complete information pertaining to description, present ownership, appraised value,
etc;

(F) For all projects, a brief Environmental Assessment (EA) describing the anticipated environmental impacts of the
project is required;

(G) For certain projects, various regulatory permits, leases, licenses, certifications, and plan reviews must be obtained. It
is the responsibility of the applicant to secure the necessary clearances prior to implementing any project. The applicant
shall indicate to the Board the status of any such permits, etc., as part of its application;

(H) Incomplete applications will not be considered by the Board.

(c) Notice to Applicants: Following Board consideration, the applicant shall be advised in writing of the Board's
decision. If a denial is made based on the protection of water quality, specific notice shall be provided indicating the
point or points of the plan which are inadequate (ORS 830.150(4));

(d) Approval of Marine Facility Grant: In order to approve a Marine Facility Grant, the Board shall assure that the
project complies with the statewide planning goals and is compatible with applicable acknowledged comprehensive
plans by following the procedures set out in the Board's state agency coordination program adopted pursuant to ORS
197.180;

(e) Approved Projects: Following Board approval of a project, a special cooperative agreement shall be entered into
between the applicant and the Board. This agreement shall describe the responsibilities of both parties;

(f) Completion and Final Billing: Upon completion of the project, the sponsor shall notify the Board. A final billing with
cost documentation shall be provided to the Board. After a satisfactory final inspection by the Board, reimbursement
funding will be authorized;

(g) The Public Boating Facility Grant Program Procedure Guide: The Procedure Guide, adopted by the Board
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shall set forth policies, application form and sample cooperative agreement for use by all eligible participants;

(h) Program Funds Availability: Grant funds are available each biennial period as prescribed by the Board. Large
projects may be phased in over a period of years or bienniums to maximize leverage, distribution and availability of
funds. Notice of grant fund availability will be given once on or about January 15 preceding the upcoming new biennial
period to all interested applicants.

(3) Priorities:

(a) The Board shall provide grants for Marine facilities as the need for facilities appear to the Board (830.150(2)).;

(b) Since funding for the program is derived from boat registration fees and state motorboat gas tax, the highest
priorities will go to projects that serve registered motorboats and sailboats;

(c) When applications for grants exceed funds available, the Marine Board will, pursuant to ORS 830.150 (2), consider
the results of the Boating Survey conducted in accordance with ORS 830.115 in determining areas of greatest need.
The Statewide Six Year Boating Facilities Plan, prepared under ORS 830.110 (6), with input from cities, counties,
park districts, port districts, state and federal agencies, shall also be used to guide the allocation of funds to priority
needs;

(d) The Board in its Procedure Guide shall prescribe specific ranking of project priorities.

(4) Policies:

(a) It is the policy of the Board to encourage applicants to make use of matching funds. As a part of this policy,
applicants will be encouraged to seek other sources of matching monies and/or to provide some form of local
contribution. This local share may be a "hard" match of dollars and/or a "soft" match of administrative, design, labor,
and engineering services. The Board recognizes that, in some instances, this local share may be beyond the applicant's
capabilities. In such cases, the Board may provide a grant covering the full project costs. The availability of matching
funds and/or local participation, while not the primary factor in considering a grant application, will be examined as one
aspect of the project in the decision-making process. The Board in its Procedure Guide shall develop a general policy
on applicant matching funds;

(b) Grants will be limited to actual certified expenditures for materials, equipment, labor, and services. Applicants will
be encouraged to supply their "in-house" administrative, design, labor, equipment and engineering services as a form of
match to the Marine Board grant. "In-kind" participation shall be documented, to the maximum extent possible;

(c) The Board requires project sponsors to place a sign at facilities developed with a Marine Board grant. This sign shall
indicate that the facility was developed with assistance from the Marine Board. The Board will provide this sign to the
project sponsor, who shall place it in a suitable location at the facility;

(d) In determining approval of the grants, the Board will give priority to those facilities providing free services to the
general public;

(e) Marine Board staff will, within budgetary limitations, inspect each proposed facility site with the grant applicant
prior to Board consideration of any grant. On-site visits shall be made to assure that the facts presented in the
application are correct and to furnish Board members such additional data as may be desired. A final inspection will,
within budgetary limitations, also be made prior to the final grant payment;

(f) Grant applications must be received 30 calendar days or more prior to scheduled State Marine Board meetings to be
considered by the Board. Applicants should contact the Board concerning grant application deadlines and availability of
funds;

(g) It is the policy of the Board to require that projects be completed within a period of two years or less from the date of
grant approval. Exceptions may be allowed by the Director if extraordinary circumstances warrant it. The Director is
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authorized to approve project time extensions up to 90 days, provided this is reported to the Board;

(h) Partial grant payments can be made based upon percentage of project completed with submission of appropriate
documentation (bills, receipts, photographs, etc.). Final payment will be forwarded upon receipt of appropriate final
billing data, and a satisfactory final inspection by the staff. Project sponsors must inform the staff of any alterations to
the project, and should provide an early indication of any possible cost overruns or delays which will necessitate a time
extension beyond the two year limit;

(i) Applicants shall attend the Marine Board meeting at which their facility grant request is being considered. The
Marine Board staff shall inform applicants as to the date, time, and location of the Board meeting. Failure to appear at
the meeting may result in a deferral of the grant request. The Director may waive this requirement for smaller projects
or if special conditions prevent the applicant from being present;

(j) When substantial renovation or major improvements (over $2,000) are proposed for Marine Board funding, the
applicant shall provide for adequate sanitary facilities, if no such facilities are available at or near the project;

(k) Reimbursement will not be made for facility projects initiated or completed prior to Board approval. Recognizing
that emergencies may arise which necessitate quick action, applicants in such a situation should contact the Director for
instructions before initiating any improvements;

(l) Grants will not be approved for the routine maintenance of facilities (e.g., cleaning, litter pickup, lawn care, painting,
etc.). These items may be eligible for funding through the Maintenance Assistance Program;

(m) The Director is authorized to approve minor cost overruns (less than $10,000). Applicants must notify the agency of
possible overruns prior to incurring them in order to be eligible for possible reimbursement;

(n) All property or facilities developed with Facility Grant funds must be dedicated for public use and maintained for a
period not less than twenty (20) years. In the event the applicant fails to maintain the facility, or converts the use of the
facility, the applicant shall promptly reimburse the Board for all improvement costs provided by the Board;

(o) All launch ramp facilities developed with Marine Board funds must have at least one uniform boat ramp sign placed
on roads leading to the facility in order to direct the public;

(p) It is the policy of the Board to have all projects designed and engineered unless completed using force account labor
or otherwise provided by law. This will assure the applicant and the Board that proper and necessary provisions are
being met with respect to public safety through best use of materials and labor at a minimal cost;

(q) A publication available by the Board titled Layout and Design Guidelines for Recreational Boat Launching and
Transient Tie-Up Facilities provides basic technical specifications and design criteria for the development of facility
grant projects. All projects must comply with these guidelines or other approved methods;

(r) Applicants shall forward one copy of the final plans and specifications to the Board for review, prior to soliciting for
quotations or commencing any work at the project site. The Board will notify applicants of plan approval, at which time
they may commence solicitation or work;

(s) The Board has the capability to provide some design-engineering services for grant applicants. Requests for technical
engineering assistance should be directed to the Board.

[Publications:The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.150

Stats. Implemented: 830.150

Hist.: MB 18-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 11-1987, f. 5-20-87, ef. 6-1-87; MB 12-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 4-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88;
MB 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 5-14-92; MB 9-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-94; MB 8-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-6-95
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250-014-0004

Maintenance Assistance Program

(1) Program Description:

(a) The Board is authorized by 830.150(2)(A) to provide funds for maintenance of boating facilities.

(b) The Board is also authorized to provide federal Clean Vessel Act funds made available through the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service, Sport Fish and Wildlife Restoration Program to assist in the maintenance of boat waste collection
facilities to include but not limited to boat pump out, porta potty dump stations, floating restrooms and related support
facilities.

(c) Federal Clean Vessel Act funds require at least a 25% non-federal match of funds usually provided by the Board. All
participants must agree to comply with any and all federal funding requirements.

(d) The intent of the Maintenance Assistance Program (MAP) is to assist eligible participants with the cost of
maintaining improved marine facilities throughout the state. Eligible participants are encouraged to use MAP funds to
enhance their existing level of funding and to improve the quality of maintenance provided.

(e) This program is not intended to replace all funding of boating facility maintenance and responsibility to care for park
and recreation sites owned and operated by eligible participants. Participation in the program is not mandatory.

(f) Eligible participants include:

(A) Cities;

(B) Counties;

(C) Park and Recreation Districts;

(D) Port Districts;

(E) State Parks Department.

(g) The MAP funds may be used for routine and ordinary maintenance of boating facilities to include but not limited to:
cleaning boat ramps, docks, parking areas, restrooms, garbage and litter pick up, grounds keeping, and minor repairs to
such facilities. Federal Clean Vessel Act funds may be used for routine and ordinary maintenance of boat waste
collection facilities to include cleaning, septage disposal and minor repairs.

(2) Allocation:

(a) MAP funds are provided, on an allocation basis each fiscal year, to eligible participants who operate improved
marine facilities. The amount of MAP funds available in any fiscal year shall be one-half of the biennial amount
approved by the Board.

(b) Federal Clean Vessel Act funds are provided to eligible participants contingent on availability and approval by the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

(c) For boat ramps, parking areas and restrooms payments shall be made to eligible participants annually, on or about
August 1, using allocation methodology as follows:

(A) Determine the Base Allocation for each facility.
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No. of Facilities Base Allocation per Facility
(a) 1 - 2 $2,500
(b) 3 - 5 $3,000
(c) 6 + $3,500

 

(B) Determine the Gross Allocation for each facility. Adjust the Base Allocation for each facility by adding $1,000 for
each launch lane the facility has in excess of one. The number of launch lanes will be determined by the Director
according to the Board's Design Guidelines.

 

Gross = Base + ($1,000/lane) (No. of lanes - 1)

 

(C) Determine the Facility Allocation. Adjust the Gross Allocation with a 25 percent reduction for each $1 facility fee
charged in excess of $1. Facility fees may be any day use, entry, launch, parking or other fee charged to users of the
boating facility. Any fee charged over $4 will disqualify that facility from receiving any MAP funds.

 

Facility Allocation = Gross - (.25Gross) (Fee -$1)

 

(D) Determine Total Eligible Participant Allocation. Participant's annual allocation is the sum total of each eligible
facility.

 

Total Allocation = (Facility 1 + Facility 2 +...)

 

(d) For boat waste collection facilities to include pump out, porta potty dump and floating restrooms payments shall be
made to eligible participants annually, on or about August 1, using allocation methodology as follows:

(A) Dump station connected to sewer system -- $250;

(B) Pump out station connected to sewer system -- $500;

(C) Pump out and dump station connected sewer system -- $750;

(D) Dump station connected to holding tank (requires septic pumper service to dispose of waste) -- $750;

(E) Pump out station connected to holding tank (requires septic pumper service to dispose of waste) -- $1,000;

(F) Pump out and dump station connected to holding tank (requires septic pumper service to dispose of waste) -- $1,250;

(G) Floating restroom in service each full calender month during the peak months boating season. (Example; June, July,
and August) Calculated at $1,000 monthly with a maximum annual allocation not to exceed -- $3,000;
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(H) Floating restroom in service each full calender month during the shoulder months of the boating season. (Example;
April, May, September, and October) Calculated at $750 monthly with a maximum annual allocation not to exceed --
$3,000;

(I) Floating restroom in service each full calender month during the off season months. (Example; November,
December, January, February, and March) Calculated at $500 monthly with a maximum annual allocation not to exceed
-- $2,500;

(e) Boat waste collection facilities are to be provided free for public use. No user fees may be collected or charged. The
facility must be open and available to the general public to include hoses, adapters and power;

(f) Maintenance funds remaining after the allocation process may be available for distribution by the Director upon
application by participants for extraordinary and emergency maintenance needs at eligible facilities. The Director shall
report these emergency allocations to the Board. No emergency allocation shall exceed $10,000 without prior approval
by the Board;

(g) Subsequent to this subsection, the Board shall re-allocate any MAP funds remaining in the biennium to the Marine
Facility Grant Program.

(3) Procedures:

(a) On or about January 15 of each year, the Board shall estimate the funds available for the next fiscal year, and shall
use the allocation methodology in section 2 of this rule to estimate each participant's allocations;

(b) Eligible participants shall be notified of their allocation in writing;

(c) For the fiscal year beginning July 1 and ending June 30, the participant shall certify by July 15 to the Board the
following:

(A) The participant has adopted a budget which includes the estimated MAP allocation; and

(B) The number of eligible improved marine facilities maintained by the participant; and

(C) That the MAP funds will be spent only to maintain improved marine facilities in accordance with the MAP
procedures and policies; and

(D) That no budget has been adopted for the next fiscal year with the MAP funds and that the participant waives the use
of its allocation; and

(E) The amount of any user fees that are presently charged or will be charged during the fiscal year to boaters using the
eligible boating facility. User fees include the highest of any entrance, day use, launch ramp, parking, transient moorage
or other fees paid daily, monthly, or annually.

(d) Participants allocated more than $20,000 annually shall submit an estimated expenditure report at the end of each
fiscal year period an actual operations and maintenance budget outlining actual MAP expenditures for labor, supplies,
materials and services for all eligible sites. Report shall be in the manner and form as required by the Board. Failure to
submit this report within the specified time shall result in program disqualification;

(e) Any participant that does not certify by July 15 shall be deemed to have certified in accordance with paragraph (3)(c)
(D) of this rule and funds estimated for allocation to that participant will be available for extraordinary and emergency
maintenance needs under subsection (2)(f) of this rule.

(4) Policies:

(a) It is the policy of the Board that the MAP program is designed to supplement funds expended by an eligible
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participant in the maintenance of improved boating facilities. The intent of the Board is to assist in improving the
quality of maintenance at improved boating facilities;

(b) Funding for the program may be denied to an eligible participant if the Board determines that a sponsor has
expended MAP funds for purposes other than those allowed by these rules;

(c) It is the policy of the Board to encourage eligible participants to develop and improve the quality of facilities using
the Facility Grant Program in order to reduce the cost of maintenance and operations;

(d) It is the policy of the Board to encourage free public access to the waters of this state;

(e) MAP funds shall only be expended on routine and ordinary operations and maintenance activities for supplies,
personnel, or services as provided in subsection (1)(g) of this rule. No MAP funds shall be expended on purchases of
capital equipment;

(f) The Board requires that park maintenance expenditure records be available to the Board for inspection and audit
upon request;

(g) Restroom facilities at each site must be available and maintained for at least three months each calendar year during
the active boating season;

(h) Only improved marine facilities are eligible for MAP. It is the policy of the Board that facilities located on bodies of
water where motorboat use is prohibited or which are not ordinarily used by motorboats are not eligible for MAP;

(i) The Board may require participants to report on the maintenance needs and activities performed. The report shall be
in such form and detail as the Board may require;

(j) If a participant's actual annual maintenance expenditures or budget for marine facility maintenance is less than the
MAP allocation, the eligible participant shall promptly notify and reimburse the Board for the unexpended MAP funds.
In such cases, the MAP allocation shall be limited to actual expenditures only. Failure to notify the Board may result in
disqualification from the Program.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS.830.150

Hist.: MB 18-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 11-1987, f. 5-20-87, ef. 6-1-87; MB 12-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 5-15-92; MB 9-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-94; MB 8-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-6-95

 

250-014-0005

Vessel Waste Collection Grant Program

(1) Program Description:

(a) The Board is authorized to provide federal Clean Vessel Act funds made available through the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service, Sport Fish and Wildlife Restoration Program in the form of grants in accordance with ORS 830.150(2)
(a), for the construction, rehabilitation or replacement of Vessel Waste Collection Systems to include but not limited to
boat pumpout, porta potty dump stations, floating restrooms and related support facilities.

(b) Federal Clean Vessel Act funds are provided to the Board contingent on availability and approval by the U.S. Fish
and Wildlife Service. Federal Clean Vessel Act funds require at least a 25 percent non-federal match of funds that is
generally provided by the Board. All participants must agree to comply with any and all federal funding requirements.
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(c) Capital construction and renovation grant projects are limited to construction/renovation of facilities including
floating restrooms in the water, not connected to land or structures connected to land used solely by boaters.

(d) Vessel Waste Collection Grant Funds may not be used for the construction/renovation of upland restroom facilities;
or the construction/ renovation, operation and maintenance of on-site sewage treatment plants such as package treatment
plants and septic systems, or municipal sewage treatment plants for primary and secondary treatment.

(e) Projects may be submitted by:

(A) Cities;

(B) Counties;

(C) Park and Recreation Districts;

(D) Port Districts;

(E) State Agencies; and

(F) Private Project Sponsors.

(G) In addition, Counties with consent of the County Commission may sponsor a Federal Agency participant such as
U.S. Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management or Corps of Engineers.

(2) Pre Application Procedures:

(a) Cities, counties, park and recreation districts, port districts, state agencies and private project sponsors which have
developed long-range plans for development of boating facilities are encouraged to file a copy with the State Marine
Board.

(b) Prior to submitting an application for a Marine Board facility grant, the applicant should contact the Oregon Marine
Board for a pre-application conference to discuss the proposed project. This will provide applicants with an opportunity
to ask any questions regarding the grant program, and will permit the Marine Board staff to assist the applicant in the
early planning stages of a project. Requests for application forms, guidance, and assistance may be obtained from:
Facility Program, Oregon State Marine Board, 435 Commercial St NE, Salem, OR 97310, Phone: 378-8587.

(c) The Public Boating Facility Grant Program Procedure Guide, adopted by the Board shall set forth policies,
application form and sample cooperative agreement for use by all eligible public participants.

(d) The Private Vessel Waste Collection Grant Program Procedure Guide shall set fourth polices, application form
and sample cooperative agreement for use by all eligible private participants.

(b) Application: When an applicant for a grant has completed the planning phase, application shall be made to the Board
on such forms and manner as described in the Public or Private Procedure Guide. The application must include the
following enclosures:

(A) Completed original application form, and five (5) copies, for a total of six copies;

(B) Public Project Sponsors - a resolution or statement from the governing body authorizing the project;

(C) Private Project Sponsors - a statement from the legal owner, corporation or entity authorizing the project;

(D) Permits and Environmental Assessment:

(i) Certification from the local city or county planning agency that the project is in compliance with local
comprehensive plans and zoning ordinances;
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(ii) For certain projects, various regulatory permits, leases, licenses, certifications, and plan reviews must be obtained. It
is the responsibility of the applicant to secure the necessary clearances prior to implementing any project. The applicant
shall indicate to the Board the status of any such permits, etc., as part of its application;

(iii) For all projects, a brief Environmental Assessment (EA) describing the anticipated environmental impacts of the
project is required;

(E) The following planning attachments must be submitted:

(i) Location map of the city or county, and state showing the location of the project;

(ii) Vicinity map showing entire facility, boundaries, geographical features and land use adjacent to the project;

(iii) Site Plan showing the area to be developed with this grant. All items should be clearly labeled on the plan as
existing or proposed development. Include dimensions to scale;

(iv) Photographs of existing project site. These should be sufficient to show major site features and any special
characteristics. (An aerial photo is desirable if available);

(v) A preliminary cost estimate, with calculations and quantities, including all proposed facilities and work tasks. For
projects in which the marine facilities are only a portion of the total cost, indicate the boating related facilities to be
developed with Marine Board funds;

(vi) Preliminary Plans of all proposed structures, including a plan view (top) and elevation view (side) of each proposed
structure;

(vii) Third-Party Agreements including copy of leases, special use permits, or intergovernmental agreements if applicant
manages but does not own the project site. If applicable, cooperative agreement between eligible sponsor and other
third- party participant outlining scope and nature of the project.

(c) Application Evaluation:

(A) Marine Board staff shall evaluate each and every complete grant application using evaluation criteria as established
by the Board;

(B) Marine Board staff shall prepare a report and funding recommendation for the Board. A copy of this report will be
forwarded to the applicant prior to the meeting at which it will be considered;

(C) Incomplete applications will not be considered by the Board.

(d) Board Consideration:

(A) Applicants shall plan to attend the Marine Board meeting at which their facility grant request is being considered.
The Marine Board staff shall inform applicants as to the date, time, and location of the Board meeting. Failure to appear
at the meeting may result in a deferral of the grant request. The Director may waive this requirement for smaller projects
or if special conditions prevent the applicant from being present;

(B) Following Board consideration, the applicant shall be advised in writing of the Board's decision. If a denial is made
based on the protection of water quality, specific notice shall be provided indicating the point or points of the plan
which are inadequate (ORS 830.150(4));

(C) Prior to issuing any grant, the Board shall hold a public hearing in the area where a facility is to be constructed or
land acquired if, in the judgement of the Board, use of the facility would stimulate significant change in the character of
the recreational use of the waters;
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(D) In order to approve a Marine Facility Grant, the Board shall assure that the project complies with the statewide
planning goals and is compatible with applicable acknowledged comprehensive plans by following the procedures set
out in the Board's state agency coordination program adopted pursuant to ORS 197.180.

(e) Approved Projects:

(A) Following Board approval of a project, a special cooperative agreement shall be entered into between the applicant
and the Board. This agreement shall describe the responsibilities of both parties;

(B) The Board requires that projects be completed within a period of two years or less from the date of grant approval.
Exceptions may be allowed by the Director if extraordinary circumstances warrant it. The Director is authorized to
approve project time extensions up to 90 days, provided this is reported to the Board.

(f) Project Closeouts:

(A) Upon completion of the project, the public or private project sponsor shall notify the Marine Board staff. A final
billing with cost documentation shall be provided to the Board. After a satisfactory final inspection by the Marine Board
staff, reimbursement funding will be authorized;

(B) Upon final approval and inspection by the Marine Board staff, ownership of all facilities (and components)
developed with partial or full grant funds shall remain with the public or private project sponsor subject to the terms of
the Cooperative Agreement.

(3) Priorities:

(a) The funds are available to eligible participants on a full grant or matching basis;

(b) In granting funds, the Board shall give first priority to applications for public facilities and to those facilities which
appear to have the greatest public need as determined by the Marine Board;

(c) Grant funds are available each biennial period as prescribed by the Board. Large projects may be phased in over a
period of years or bienniums to maximize leverage, distribution and availability of funds;

(d) Notice of grant fund availability will be given once on or about January 15 preceding the upcoming new biennial
period to all interested applicants.

(e) The Board shall provide grants for marine facilities as the need for facilities appear to the Board (ORS 830.150 (2));

(f) When applications for grants exceed funds available, the Marine Board will, pursuant to ORS 830.150 (2), consider
the results of the Boating Survey conducted in accordance with ORS 830.115 in determining areas of greatest need.
The Statewide Six Year Boating Facilities Plan, prepared under ORS 830.110 (6), and the Statewide Boat Waste
Facility Plan prepared for the federal Clean Vessel Act of 1992, with input from cities, counties, park districts, port
districts, state and federal agencies, and private project sponsors, shall also be used to guide the allocation of funds for
boat waste collection facilities;

(g) The Board's Procedure Guide shall prescribe specific ranking criteria and project priorities.

(4) Policies:

(a) Matching Funds:

(A) It is the policy of the Board to encourage applicants to make use of matching funds. As a part of this policy,
applicants will be encouraged to seek other sources of matching monies and/or to provide some of contribution. This
public or private share may be a "hard" match of dollars and/or a "soft" match of administrative, design, labor,
engineering services or long term maintenance costs. The Board recognizes that, in some instances, this match may be
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beyond the applicant's capabilities. In such cases, the Board may provide a grant covering the full project costs;

(B) Grants will be limited to actual certified expenditures for materials, equipment, labor, and services. Applicants will
be encouraged to supply their "in-house" administrative, design, labor, equipment and engineering services as a form of
match to the Marine Board grant. "In-kind" participation shall be documented, to the maximum extent possible.

(b) Fees:

(A) Since the Board intends to provide the majority of capital development costs in the form of grants, public and
private project sponsors shall not charge any type of user fee for the use of vessel waste collection facilities;

(B) In addition, to encourage public use, all public and private vessel waste collection facilities developed in whole or in
part by grant funds shall be available free for public use.

(c) Signs:

(A) The Board requires pubic and private project sponsors to place a credit sign at facilities developed with a Marine
Board grant. The use of any federal Clean Vessel Act funds require placement of a credit sign at the facility indicating
use of federal funds;

(B) The sponsor shall place a standard logo pumpout and/or dump station sign at each facility developed with grant
funds;

(C) The Board will provide these signs to the project sponsor, who shall place them in a predetermined location at the
facility.

(d) Applications:

(A) Grant applications must be received 30 calendar days or more prior to scheduled State Marine Board meetings to be
considered by the Board. Applicants should contact the staff concerning grant application deadlines and availability of
funds;

(B) Applications will be considered by the Board at regular or special meetings as determined by the Board. Funding
periods (rounds) shall be established on or about January 15 preceding the upcoming new biennium period. Notice will
be given to any interested applicant.

(e) Public Use and Access:

(A) All vessel waste collection facilities developed with Facility Grant funds must be dedicated open and available for
public use. Reasonable hours of operation may be prescribed if necessary;

(B) Public and private project sponsors shall agree to provide unrestricted and/or unencumbered access to the general
public by either land or water to vessel waste collection facilities developed in whole or part with Board and/or federal
funds.

(f) Cooperative Agreements:

(A) Public and private project sponsors shall enter into an agreement in the manner and form prescribed by the Board,
which will outline terms and conditions of funding and other obligations by all parties. This agreement must be executed
by the Director and the project sponsor prior to commencing any project work;

(B) The term of the Cooperative Agreement shall be 15 years, the assumed average useful life span of vessel waste
collection facilities;

(C) The public or private project sponsor shall provide ordinary and routine maintenance activities during the term if
this agreement;
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(D) The public or private public sponsor shall agree to allow unencumbered facility access to the Board or its authorized
agents during the term of the Cooperative Agreement;

(E) Funding recipients shall maintain accurate records on the expenditure of project funds, provide the Board with these
records consistent with the agreement and upon request, and permit the Board to audit the use of funds in accordance
with generally accepted audit practices and standards;

(F) All projects using any grant funds shall be advertised, bid, and awarded in accordance with the State of Oregon
Public Contract Laws;

(G) In the event the public or private project sponsor fails to maintain the facility, or converts the use of the facility, the
public or private project sponsor shall reimburse the Board for all improvement cost provided by the Board.

(g) Operation and Maintenance:

(A) Grants will not be approved for the routine maintenance of facilities;

(B) Private Project Sponsors - Since the Board intends to provide the majority of all capital development costs in the
form of grants, the private project sponsor shall agree to furnish long term ordinary and routine operation and
maintenance costs as "match" to the project.

(h) Engineering and Design Criteria:

(A) All projects shall be designed and engineered by a registered professional engineer unless completed using force
account labor or otherwise provided by law. This will assure the applicant and the Board that proper and necessary
provisions are being met with respect to public health, life and safety through best use of materials and labor at a
minimal cost;

(B) Applicants shall forward one copy of the final plans and specifications to the Marine Board staff for review, prior to
soliciting for quotations or commencing with any work at the project site. The Board will notify applicants of plan
approval, at which time they may commence solicitation or wok;

(C) The Marine Board staff has the capability to provide some design-engineering services for grant applicants.
Requests for technical engineering assistance should be directed to the Marine Board staff;

(D) A publication available by the Board titled Layout and Design Guidelines for Vessel Waste Collection provides
basic technical specifications and design criteria for the development of facility grant projects. All projects must comply
with these guidelines or other approved methods.

(i) Payments and Inspection:

(A) Partial grant payments can be made monthly based upon percentage of project completed with submission of
appropriate documentation (bills, receipts, photographs, etc.). Final payment will be forwarded upon receipt of
appropriate final billing data, and a satisfactory final inspection by the staff;

(B) Project sponsors must inform the staff of any alterations to the project, and should provide an early indication of any
possible cost overruns or delays which will necessitate a time extension beyond the two year limit;

(C) Reimbursement will not be made for facility projects initiated or completed prior to Board approval. Recognizing
that emergencies may arise which necessitate quick action, applicants in such a situation should contact the Director for
instructions before initiating any improvements;

(D) The Director is authorized to approve minor cost overruns (less than $10,000). Project sponsors must notify the
agency of possible overruns prior to incurring them in order to be eligible for possible reimbursement;
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(E) Marine Board staff will, within budgetary limitations, inspect each proposed facility site with the grant applicant
prior to Board consideration of any grant. A final inspection will, within budgetary limitations, also be made prior to the
final grant payment;

(F) On-site visits shall be made to assure that the facts presented in the application are correct, to furnish Board
members such additional data as may be desired, to inspect work in progress and final project inspection. The project
sponsor agrees to give the Board and its authorized parties unrestricted access to the project at all times.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.150

MB 8-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-6-95

 

Floatation Encapsulation Rules

 

250-014-0010

Definitions

For the purposes of OAR 250-014-0010 to 250-014-0090 the following definitions shall apply:

(1) "Addition or Alteration" -- Any change or modification to existing floating structures.

(2) "Approved" -- The items accepted and for-mally approved for use in waterways or marine use.

(3) "Board" -- The State Marine Board.

(4) "Bonded" -- An effective and permanent means of physical or chemical adhesion.

(5) "Buoy" -- Any public or private floating device used as a waterway marker or a sign for the purpose of a navigation
aid.

(6) "Director" -- The State Marine Board Director.

(7) "Dock" -- Same as float or floating struc-ture.

(8) "Encapsulated or Encapsulation" -- A protective covering or physical barrier between the polystyrene foam
floatation and the water.

(9) "Floats or Floating Structure" -- A struc-ture supported by polystyrene foam floatation and held in place by piling
and mooring devices, including but not limited to boathouses, floating homes, marinas, and walkways, boarding floats
or combination thereof, representative of one defined project.

(10) "Fuel Floats" -- Any floating structure used to dispense any form of fuel or any floating structure used to store,
maintain or repair boat engines.

(11) "Mil(s)" -- One-one thousand of an inch of thickness or 0.001 of an inch.

(12) "Maintenance and Repair" -- The recon-struction or renewal of any part of an existing floating structure for the
purpose of its maintenance.
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(13) "New Construction" -- Any new floating structure.

(14) "Polystyrene Foam Floatation" -- All products manufactured that are expanded into polystyrene foam beads with
cell diameters of 0.125" or larger used as floatation.

(15) "Project" -- Means one floating structure or series of floats physically connected, which would be representative of
one defined activity.

(16) "Submersible Polystyrene Device" -- Any molded or expanded type of polystyrene foam used for floatation.

(17) "Treated Wood" -- Pressure treated, dimensional wood or plywood, by a commercial supplier with preservative,
that is acceptable for use in waterways as specified by the EPA.

(18) "Waters of This State" -- Means all waters within the territorial limits of this state, the marginal sea adjacent to this
state and the high seas when navigated as part of a journey or ride to or from the shore of this state.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-014-0020

Purpose and Scope

(1) It is the purpose of this rule to protect our waterways, fish and wildlife from polystyrene foam floatation that may
escape from floating structures. It is the intent through use of appropriate encapsulation method(s) and material(s), that
deterioration of polystyrene foam and resulting loss of particulate matter into waterways will be reduced or eliminated.

(2) These rules recognize that floating structures by their very nature are unique in design and construction methods
from land structures. Nothing in this rule is intended to conflict or displace any other relevant local, state or federal;
permits, regulations, or health, life and safety codes.

(3) The following rules shall govern the encapsulation of all submersible polystyrene devices placed on the waters of
this state.

(4) As of January 1, 1992, no person shall install a submersible polystyrene device on a dock, buoy or float unless the
device is encapsulated by a protective covering or is designed to prevent the polystyrene from disintegrating into the
waters of this state.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-014-0030

Materials and Methods of Encapsulation for New Construction

(1) Effective methods of encap-sulation shall completely cover or be a physical barrier between the polystyrene foam
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floatation and the water. Small gaps up to 0.75 inch diameter ballast holes are permitted in the physical barrier or
covering provided they are 0.1 percent or less of the square footage of the floating structure.

(2) All materials and methods of encapsulation shall meet Environmental Protection Agency or approved material
testing requirements for use and placement in waterways and must be effective for a period not less than ten years. Any
fasteners used to hold encapsulation materials together shall be effectively treated or be of such form as to reduce
corrosion and decay.

(3) Any polystyrene foam floatation or part thereof installed, removed, replaced or repaired during construction or
maintenance activities must be effectively contained. All unused or replaced polystyrene foam shall be removed from
the waters of this state and disposed of in an approved manner at an upland disposal site.

(4) The Board may approve other encapsulation materials, categories or methods, if based on their judgement it meets or
exceeds the provision of this rule. The Board shall not approve or endorse specific products of any individual or firm.

(5) The following materials or methods of encapsulation are approved:

(a) Treated dimensional wood, 1.5 inches (actual) or more in thickness. Non-Treated dimen-sional wood 4.0 inches or
more in thickness and round wood logs are permitted;

(b) Treated plywood 0.5 inches or more in thickness. Non-Treated marine grade plywood 0.5 inches or more in
thickness is permitted;

(c) Concrete 1.0 inch or more in thickness;

(d) Galvanized steel 0.065 inch or 16 gauge or more in thickness;

(e) Liquid coatings, 30 mils or more in thickness, chemically or securely bonded;

(f) Rigid (hard) plastics, 50 mils or more in thickness;

(g) Fiberglass and plastic resins, 30 mils or more in thickness, chemically or securely bonded;

(h) Pliable (soft) plastic sheets, seven mils or more in thickness, chemically or securely bonded. Multiple layers of
single plastic sheets less than seven mils in thickness are not permitted. The process of using shrink wrap is permitted.

(6) All fuel floats or floating structures used to store, maintain or repair boat engines shall be encapsulated with
materials that are not subject to degradation by fuel oils or products.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-014-0040

Encapsulation Certification Form

(1) No person shall place any polystyrene foam floatation supporting a new construction project on the waters of the
state without prior written approval by the Board.

(2) A Maintenance or Repair project is subject to provisions as specified in OAR 250-014-0050. An Alteration or
Addition project is subject to provisions as specified in OAR 250-014-0060. Buoys and Other Floating Devices are
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subject to provisions as specified in OAR 250-014-0070.

(3) Applicants shall submit a completed Certification Form, for each project, to the Board for review and approval. The
Certification Form shall be in such form as required by the Board. Incom-plete Certification Forms will not be
considered.

(4) The applicant shall furnish information on the method(s) and material(s) used to encapsulate a floating structure and
include any other information deemed necessary by the Board to ascertain compliance with this rule.

(5) If the proposed project is found to be consistent with these rules, the Board shall give the applicant written approval.

(6) Each approved Certification shall be valid for a period of 20 years or the useful life expectancy of the floating
structure.

(7) If the Board finds the proposed project to be inconsistent with the rules, the Board shall notify the applicant in
writing of its findings. The applicant may alter, amend or modify the method(s) or material(s) used and resubmit an
amended Certification Form to the Board.

(8) Any person failing to submit a required Certification Form and who places any non-encapsulated floating structure
on the waters of this state shall be found in violation of this rule and be subject to a penalty as specified in OAR 250-
014-0090.

(9) An approved Encapsulation Certification does not relieve the applicant from obtaining any other federal, state or
local permits, licenses or approval which may be required.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-014-0050

Maintenance or Repair of Existing Structures

(1) A person may repair or maintain an existing floating structure placed on the waters of this state prior to January 1,
1992 with like materials in a like manner.

(2) All repair or maintenance construction activities must comply with the provisions in OAR 250-014-0030(3).

(3) Any repairs or maintenance requiring the replacement of more than ten percent in square footage of a floating
structure shall comply to provisions as specified in New Construction OAR 250-014-0030.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-014-0060

Alteration or Addition of Existing Facilities
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Any Alteration or addition of an existing floating structure which leads to an increase in the square footage of that
floating structure, must comply with the provisions as specified in the New Construction OAR 250-014-0030.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-014-0070

Buoys and Other Floating Devices

(1) All polystyrene foam private or public buoys, markers, ski floats, bumpers, fish

trap markers or similar devices shall be encapsulated in accordance with the New Construction OAR 250-014-0030.

(2) An Encapsulation Certification Form is not required for this section.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-014-0080

Exemptions

(1) This rule does not apply to construction, maintenance or operation of boats or vessels.

(2) Any polystyrene foam device manufactured into extruded closed cell beads 0.125 inch or smaller, approved for
marine use, are exempt.

(3) No exemptions shall apply to any polystyrene foam device used to support fuel floats, docks, or floating structures
used to store, maintain or repair boat engines. These structures must comply with New Construction OAR 250-014-
0030.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

 

250-014-0090

Inspection and Penalties

(1) The Board and all peace officers shall be responsible for the enforcement of these rules and, upon proper and
reasonable notification to the owner of any structure, float or like device, may board and conduct an inspection to
ascertain compliance with these rules.
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(2) The Director may order any person in violation of this rule to perform reasonable corrective actions in a timely
manner.

(3) Any person who violates this rule commits a Class A misdemeanor, ORS 830.990.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.950

Hist.: MB 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-92

This online version of the OARs is provided for convenience of reference and enhanced access. The official, record copy of these publications is the
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 15

 

OCEAN CHARTER VESSELS

 

250-015-0001

Definitions

As used in this Division:

(1) "Approved" means those items accepted and formally approved for use by the U.S. Coast Guard.

(2) "Carrying Passengers for Hire" means the carriage of any person or persons by a vessel for a paid valuable
consideration, whether directly or indirectly flowing to the owner, charterer, operator or any other person interested in
the vessel.

(3) "Nearest Port" means a straight line measurement between the vessel and either the closest point on the demarcation
line of a port entrance or a harbor of refuge.

(4) "Port" means a coastal town or city where ocean charter vessels normally depart from and return to. As used in this
Division the term "Nearest Port" shall also include beach sites where passenger carrying dory-styled craft normally
depart from and return to.

(5) "Ocean" means those waters of the Pacific Ocean that are west of the demarcation lines described in the applicable
sections of Part 80, Title 33 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

(6) "Ocean Charter Vessel" means a vessel used in the business of carrying passengers for hire for angling, sightseeing
or other recreational purposes in the ocean.

(7) "Open Boat(s)" means motorboats with engine and fuel tank compartments and/or other spaces so constructed as to
be open to the atmosphere thereby preventing entrapment of flammable gases.

(8) "Open to the Atmosphere" means an otherwise enclosed compartment/space containing at least 15 square inches of
open area per cubic foot of the net compartment/space volume.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0002

Applicability

(1) This division is applicable to all ocean charter vessels, carrying passengers for hire, on waters of this state.

(2) The specified safety equipments are considered minimum requirements.

(3) The rules herein are in addition to and not in lieu of any other applicable federal laws or regulations.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0005

License Application and Fees

(1) An owner shall make application to the Board by completing and signing the Charter Vessel License application as
provided by the Board.

(2) The applicant must certify in the space provided that the vessel complies with the equipment requirements
established by the Board.

(3) The completed application must be accompanied by copies of the following required documents:

(a) Last U.S. Coast Guard "Certificate of Inspection" (if an inspected vessel);

(b) Certificate of insurance showing proof that the applicant has protection against liability imposed by law covering
occurrences by the operator of the ocean charter vessel, and the employees of the operator, for the payment of damages
for bodily injuries, including death resulting therefrom, in the minimum amount of $300,000 per occurrence, at any time
while engaging in carrying passengers for hire.

(4) The fees for an ocean charterboat license are:

(a) For vessels owned by residents of this state if the vessel has license, title and number issued pursuant to ORS
Chapter 830, $50;

(b) For vessels owned by residents of this state if the vessel has a valid marine document issued by an agency of the
Federal Government, $100;

(c) For vessels owned by persons who reside in a state that requires Oregon residents to pay a license fee to operate an
ocean charter vessel in the waters of that state, such fee as is charged Oregon residents to operate an ocean charter vessel
in the state where the nonresident applicant resides;
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(d) For all vessels owned by nonresidents other than those described in subsection (c) of this section, $100.

(5) Upon approval of the application an Oregon Ocean Charter Vessel license, decal and validation sticker shall be
provided to the applicant:

(a) The Oregon Ocean Charter Vessel license issued shall identify the applicant, the vessel, whether or not the vessel
operates within 20 or less miles from port, the license expiration and such other items as deemed appropriate by the
Board. It shall be carried on board and made available upon demand of a peace officer;

(b) The Oregon Ocean Charter Vessel decal shall be of such size and color as designated by the Board and shall be
displayed in any visually unobstructed location on the vessel's port and starboard cabin sides or windows, or in the case
of an open boat, at or near the operator's position, port and starboard, in as highly visible a location as possible. The
validation sticker shall be affixed to this decal in the space provided.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0008

License Transfer, Cancellation or Suspension

(1) When a licensed charter vessel is sold or otherwise transferred to new ownership the former owner(s) must notify the
Board within 15 days of such ownership change by completing the reverse side of the Ocean Charter Vessel license and
returning it to the Board.

(2) The reverse side shall contain such information as is needed to determine whether the valid Ocean Charter Vessel
license:

(a) Is transferred to the new owner upon sale or transfer of the vessel;

(b) Remained with the former owner and is/will be assigned to a replacement vessel; and

(c) The identifying number of such replacement vessel.

(3) It shall be the responsibility of the former owner to remove or have removed the assigned Ocean Charter Vessel
license decals and validation stickers when the license is not transferred with the vessel.

(4) Upon determination of the license disposition a new or replacement license will be issued the appropriate licensee.

(5) An Oregon Charter Vessel license may be suspended when a licensee fails to maintain, in full force and effect, the
required liability protection.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0010
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Equipment Requirements

(1) Title 46, Part 25, Title 33, Part 81, Title 46, Parts 180 through 185, and Title 47, Parts 901 through 935 of the
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), are by this reference hereby adopted and made part of this rule for all ocean
charter vessels.

(2) Table 1 displays safety equipment requirements for all licensed Oregon Ocean Charter Vessels. Specific
requirements are dependent upon a vessels operational distance from the nearest port. All required equipment shall be in
proper working order.

[ED. NOTE: The Table referenced in this rule is not printed in the OAR Compilation. Copies are available from the Marine Board.]

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.430 - 830.460

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0015

Safety Equipment Specifications

The adopted Code of Federal Regulations provides technical detail and specifications for safety equipment on certain
passenger carrying vessels. Where equipment requirements and/or specifications for certain vessels are less than those
required by this rule, are not addressed or are considered inappropriate for a class of vessels the following shall prevail.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0016

First Aid Kit

Each vessel shall carry on board a first aid kit containing at least the items specified in the current Department of
Consumer and Business Services, Occupational Health and Safety Division Administrative Rules (OAR 437-127-0015)
or such future first aid kit rules as are adopted.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0017

Bilge High Water Warning System
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(1) An automatically activated bilge high water warning system shall be installed which provides an audible warning
signal. A visual warning indicator may also be installed. The warning indicator(s) shall be installed at each steering
station. The audible warning may be provided with a disabling switch, provided there is a visual warning indicator
which is incapable of deactivation until the high water condition is remedied.

(2) A bilge high water warning system shall not be required on dory style vessels of open construction where the bilge is
readily visible to the operator.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0018

Depth Finder

An installed (not portable), functioning depth finding unit shall be at or near the vessel's primary steering station. The
equipment shall provide an adequate range of depth scales allowing the operator to select scales that provide ample
safety warning of abrupt ocean bottom contour changes.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0019

Power/Hand Operated Bilge Pump

In addition to any U.S.C.G. required power operated bilge pump(s) each vessel shall carry at least:

(1) One portable hand pump (minimum capacity ten gallons per minute, minimum main body length 24 inches).

(2) One five gallon bucket.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0020

Anchor and Anchor Chain or Line

Each vessel shall carry on board an anchor of such design and construction; and, anchor line or chain of such size and
length as to provide emergency anchoring capabilities for the vessel.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0021

Magnetic Compass

An installed, marine style magnetic compass shall be located at the vessel's primary steering station. Uninspected
vessels less than 26 feet of open construction can use a portable or hand-held compass as an alternative means of
compliance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; MB 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-28-94

 

250-015-0022

Loran C or Radar Navigation Equipment

Each vessel shall have installed either a LORAN C, a RADAR, or a GLOBAL POSITIONING SYSTEM (GPS)
navigation system. It shall be capable of providing the operator with rapid, reliable vessel positioning information.
Portable, or hand-held GPS is allowable on uninspected vessels less than 26 feet of open construction as an alternative
means of compliance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; MB 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-28-94

 

250-015-0023

Emergency Position Indicating Radio Beacon (EPIRB)

Uninspected vessels not required by federal law to carry an (EPIRB) are exempt from this section. Vessels carrying
more than six passengers on voyages that are not international routes must carry a Class "A" EPIRB for service beyond
20 miles from a safe harbor of refuge. A satellite 406 MHz EPIRB is an acceptable alternative means of compliance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; MB 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-28-94

 

250-015-0024

Navigational Charts



OSMB_250_015_1998

250_015_1998.html[6/24/21, 3:13:38 PM]

Each vessel shall carry on board a National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration published "Harbor" and "Coast"
navigation chart as appropriate to the ocean charter vessel's operating area.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.450

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

 

250-015-0030

Exemptions

Open construction, dory-styled craft of less than 23 feet in length, departing from and returning to beach sites shall be
exempt from the provisions of Table 1(i).

[ED. NOTE: The Table referenced in this rule is not printed in the OAR Compilation. Copies are available from the Marine Board.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 6-1989, f. 12-20-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 16

 

OUTFITTER/GUIDE REGISTRATION

 

250-016-0001

Definitions

(l) "Board" means the State Marine Board.

(2) "Employee" means an individual who, in exchange for compensation or other pecuniary gain, provides outfitting and
guiding services exclusively under the direction, supervision and control of an outfitter and guide or an ocean guide.

(3) "Ocean guide" means any individual who carries passengers for hire for outdoor recreational activities only on the
waters of the Pacific Ocean over which the State of Oregon has jurisdiction and who possesses therefore a valid United
States Coast Guard vessel operator license.

(4) "Outdoor recreational activities" include, but are not limited to, boating, angling, hunting, jeep touring, backpacking,
alpine mountain climbing, camping, trips utilizing pack animals, dog sled trips, helicopter skiing, whitewater float trips,
rafting trips, drift boat trips, kayak trips, inflatable canoe trips, and canoe trips. The duration of any outdoor recreational
activities may be for a few hours or for several days or weeks.

(5) "Outfitter and guide" means any person:

(a) Who provides, or who offers to provide, for compensation or other pecuniary gain:

(A) Outfitting and guiding services in Oregon; or

(B) Outfitting and guiding services and either equipment, supplies, livestock, or materials for use in Oregon.

(b) Who holds one or more Federal permits for commercial outfitting and guiding services for use in any forest or
wilderness or on any river in Oregon.

(6) "Outfitter and guide" does not include:

(a) An ocean guide or an employee of an outfitter and guide or ocean guide; or
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(b) An individual who, for compensation or other pecuniary gain, provides outfitting and guiding services for the
conduct of outdoor recreational activities exclusively upon property owned or controlled by the individual.

(7) "Outfitting and guiding services" include, but are not limited to, leading, protecting, instructing, training, cooking
packing, guiding, transporting, supervising, interpreting, or otherwise assisting any person in the conduct of outdoor
recreational activities. The rental of equipment alone does not constitute outfitting and guiding services.

(8) Outfitting and guiding services are not offered or provided for compensation or pecuniary gain if:

(a) No individual receives any dues, fees, salary, commission, bonus, tip, compensation, equipment, materials, livestock,
supplies, rental payment, amortization payment, depreciation payment, or other financial gain; and

(b) No money or other remuneration is in any manner paid or collected except as a sharing by trip participants of the
costs or expenses for the trip.

(9) Exclusions. The following activities and services do not constitute "outfitting and guiding services":

(a) Services supplied by governmental agencies which conduct outdoor recreational activities;

(b) Services supplied by private colleges and universities which teach outdoor recreational activities in the curriculum,
provided these courses are open to enrolled students and faculty members only;

(c) Services supplied by non-profit organizations that meet the criteria of (8)(a) and (b) of this section;

(d) Services supplied by schools which teach outdoor recreational activity classes such as ski schools, horseback riding
schools, swimming instructions, scuba instruction, sailing lessons, flying lessons, photography, nor such activities where
being under the tutelage or instruction of a person is ancillary to the primary course of instruction or study. (This does
not include fishing, hunting, backcountry, and whitewater schools.)

(10) "Deposits" are any advance payments in excess of $100 per person for a trip, including a credit card to hold a trip
with a value.

(11) "Person" means an individual, partnership, corporation or non-profit organization.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.500 & Ch. 704, OL 1995 - SB 2093

Hist.: MB 7-1986, f. 7-28-86, ef. 8-1-86; MB 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96; MB 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 4-4-97

 

250-016-0002

Registration Instructions

Registration requirements are contained in ORS 704.020.

(1) Application forms are available from the State Marine Board, 435 Commercial Street, N.E., P.O. Box 14145, Salem,
OR 97309-5065, (503) 378-8587, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

(2) The completed and signed application, with all required attachments, original first aid card if applicable, certificate
of insurance, proof of surety bond or letter of credit if applicable, notarized copy of Coast Guard Operator's license if
applicable, and the fee required by ORS 704.020 must be submitted to the Board at the address in section (l) of this rule.
The required fee is non-refundable. Where an application is submitted for a partnership, one partner must sign the
application and provide his/her proof of first aid. For a corporation or non-profit organization, the application must be
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signed by an authorized officer of the corporation or organization. The authorized officer of the corporation or
organization must sign a statement certifying that all their employees possess in their name a current standard first aid
card or a medical equivalent. The certificate of insurance shall be:

(a) Provided direct by mail to the Marine Board;

(b) Be issued in the applicant's name;

(c) Reflect all insured business names;

(d) Reflect the lawfully required insurance minimum amounts.

(3) Proof of first aid training shall consist of one of the following:

(a) The original card or certificate issued by the American Red Cross showing completion of a standard or multimedia
first aid course or equivalent. (Original card will be returned to the applicant.);

(b) Proof of training and certification as an Emergency Medical Technician I, II, or III (original card will be returned to
applicant), or licensed or registered nurse or medical doctor (copy of license is acceptable). Should an outfitter/guide's
first aid card or the equivalent expire, the outfitter/guide is responsible for submitting the original updated card to the
Board. If there is a lapse of time between expiration and renewal, the outfitter/guide's registration is automatically
suspended during that period of time.

(4) An incomplete application shall, after twelve months from date of receipt and lacking any action on the applicants
part to complete the application, be deemed inactive. Should the applicant desire to register, the instructions contained
in section (3) of this rule shall apply.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704 & 705

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.500 & Ch. 704, OL 1995 - SB 2093

Hist.: MB 7-1986, f. 7-28-86, ef. 8-1-86; MB 22-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96; MB 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 4-4-97

 

250-016-0003

Proof of Registration Compliance

(l) Outfitter/Guide certificate of registration:

(a) Upon meeting the registration requirements of ORS 704.020, the Board shall issue to the applicant proof of
compliance in the form of a laminated card containing the applicant's:

(A) Name and address;

(B) Registration number;

(C) Business name (if any); and

(D) Expiration date.

(b) When the registration is for a corporation or non-profit organization, the provided Outfitter/Guide certificate of
registration shall contain:

(A) Registration number;
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(B) Corporation or non-profit organization name and address;

(C) Expiration date; and

(D) The Statement "Corporation (or Non-Profit Organi-zation) Identification Only -- Not for personal identification".

(c) If the outfitter/guide uses boat(s)in his/her business, a decal will be issued with the following information:

(A) For motorized boats used on Federally navigable waters, the decal shall show the type of Coast Guard operator's
license the outfitter/guide possesses, the area of operation, and the passenger carrying capacity.

(B) For motorized boats used on inland waters only, the decal shall show the passenger carrying capacity.

(C) Passenger carrying capacity information shall not be required on the decal for non-motorized boats.

(D) Non-motorized boats used in the outfitter/guide business that display identifying numbers, letters, or decal issued by
another governmental agency and used only within that agency's area of operation, are exempt from display of an
outfitter/guide decal.

(E) Boats not under the direct operation of an outfitter/guide or employee of an outfitter/guide are exempt from the decal
requirement. Boats operated exclusively by the client of an outfitter/guide are exempt from the decal requirement.

(2) Duplicates:

(a) A duly registered outfitter or guide may apply to the Board for a duplicate proof of compliance card when an original
has been lost, stolen or mutilated;

(b) A duplication fee of $5 shall be required for each replacement requested.

(3) The outfitter/guide identification card issued shall be carried at all times while providing outfitting or guiding
services and shall be presented to any peace officer upon demand.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.500 & Ch. 704, OL 1995 - SB 2093

Hist.: MB 7-1986, f. 7-28-86, ef. 8-1-86; MB 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96; MB 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 4-4-97

 

250-016-0004

Employee Agent or Party of Interest

(l) Each outfitter/guide shall maintain a current record at the State Marine Board of all employees, agents, or parties of
interest as denoted in ORS 704.020(l)(c).

(2) Notice of additions or deletions shall be immediately provided to the Board by telephone, FAX, or written, dated
communication. The notification shall include:

(a) The outfitter/guide's name and address; and

(b) The added or deleted individual's full name.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.500, Chapter 704, Oregon Laws 1995 - SB 2093
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Hist.: MB 7-1986, f. 7-28-86, ef. 8-1-86; MB 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96

 

250-016-0005

Cancellation of Registration

(1) An outfitter/guide registration shall be cancelled upon notification from an insurance company that such outfitter or
guide's required insurance has been suspended or cancelled.

(2) The Board shall give written notice to such outfitter or guide of the effective date of such insurance suspension or
cancellation.

(3) The affected outfitter/guide shall, within ten working days of receipt of such registration suspension or cancellation
notice, return to the Board the previously issued outfitter/guide identification card.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.500 & 830.110

Hist.: MB 7-1986, f. 7-28-86, ef. 8-1-86

 

250-016-0006

Reinstatement of Registration

(1) A previously cancelled outfitter/guide registration shall be reinstated immediately upon receipt of notification
(certificate of insurance) from an insurance company of the outfitter or guide's procurement of the required insurance
coverage.

(2) The Board shall return the previously surrendered outfitter/guide identification card, and it shall remain effective for
the unexpired duration of its issuance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704

Sats. Implemented: ORS Ch. 704 & 830.110

Hist.: MB 7-1986, f. 7-28-86, ef. 8-1-86

 

250-016-0007

Registration Renewal

(1) The Board shall notify a registered outfitter or guide in writing approximately 30 days in advance of the impending
registration expiration.

(2) The notification shall include instructions for registration renewal and any appropriate forms for such renewal.

(3) An applicant must, in order to avoid an interrupted valid registration, return the completed application and all
necessary documents and fees at least ten working days prior to the current registration expiration date.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704
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Stats. Implemented: ORS Ch. 704 & 830.110

Hist.: MB 7-1986, f. 7-28-86, ef. 8-1-86

 

250-016-0008

Board's Authority to Reprimand an Outfitter/Guide or Suspend, Revoke, or Deny a Registration

(l) The Marine Board may reprimand an outfitter and guide or suspend, revoke, or deny for a period of up to 24 months
the registration of an outfitter and guide for:

(a) Any serious or repeated violation of ORS chapter 496, 497, 498, 501, 506, 508, 509, 511, or 704 or any rule adopted
pursuant thereto;

(b) Any serious or repeated violation of the fish and wildlife laws or regulations of the Federal Government or of
another state for committing or omitting acts which, if committed or omitted in this State, would be a violation of ethical
or professional standards established by the Board. A certified copy of the record of suspension or revocation of the
state making such suspension or revocation is conclusive evidence thereof;

(c) Having an outfitter/guide registration, license, permit or certificate suspended, revoked, canceled,or denied by
another state or by an agency of the United States for committing or omitting acts which, if committed or omitted in this
State, would be a violation of ethical or professional standards established by the Board;

(d) Having a United States Coast Guard vessel operator license revoked, suspended, or canceled by the United States
Coast Guard for committing or omitting acts that if committed or omitted in this state would be a violation of standards
established by the Board; or

(e) Engaging in fraudulent, untruthful, or seriously misleading advertising in the conduct of the outfitting and guiding
services.

(2) Upon receipt of notice of conviction from the court or a certified copy of a record of suspension, revocation, or
cancellation, it shall be the discretion of the Board to determine to reprimand an outfitter/guide or suspend, revoke, or
deny the outfitter/guide registration based on the following criteria:

(a) Serious violation shall be conviction of a Class A or B misdemeanor or three Class A or B infractions in a three-
year;

(b) Repeated violations shall constitute two Class A or B misdemeanor convictions within a period of ten years;

(3) The Board may issue conditional registrations contingent on the outfitter/guide not having any violations or
convictions as defined in this section for a period of 24 months from issue.

(4) The Board may reprimand an outfitter/guide for violations of the ethical and professional standards adopted under
OAR 250-16-010.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704.500

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.500, Chapter 704, Oregon Laws 1995 - SB 2093

Hist.: MB 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96

 

250-016-0009
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Contested Case Hearings

The State Marine Board shall accord opportunity for a hearing as provided in ORS 183.310 to 183.550. The Marine
Board has adopted the current edition of the Attorney General's Model Rules of Procedure in accordance with OAR 250,
Division 1.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704.500

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.500, Chapter 704, Oregon Laws 1995 - SB 2093

Hist.: MB 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96

 

250-016-0010

Outfitter/Guide Ethical and Professional Standards

All outfitter/guides shall:

(1) Make every effort to operate with respect for the rights of others, private and public property, and provide for the
health, safety, and well being of their clients, employees, and the general public;

(2) Provide services on public land in a manner such that they do not interfere with the general public access to public
land or waterways or access to wildlife on public land;

(3) Lave clean camps, striving to maintain the environment in as good or better condition than before and dispose of all
garbage, debris, and human waste in a proper, approved manner;

(4) Cooperate with Federal, State, and local fish and wildlife officials; advise clients of all applicable conservation
standards, fish and game laws, license requirements, statutes and regulations and not condone their violation;

(5) Not use any illegal drug, or excessively use alcohol, or any other drug or substance, to the extent that the use impairs
the user physically or mentally while engaged by a client;

(6) Not violate any law, rule, or policy of the Department of Fish and Wildlife concerning the certification of residents
and nonresidents for procuring hunting and fishing licenses;

(7) Not engage in fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or concealment of any material fact in advertising, soliciting, or
providing professional services to members of the public;

(8) Provide any animal used in the conduct of business with proper food, water, and shelter and not subject any animal
to needless abuse or cruel and inhuman treatment;

(9) Not solicit clients or another outfitter/guide while client is engaging in an outfitting activity;

(10) Promptly refund deposits paid by participants upon request if such deposits are due to the participant in accordance
with the outfitter/ guide's written deposit refund policy;

(11) Not substantially breach a contract with any person using guiding services of the outfitter/guide;

(12) Treat clients, employees, and the general public in a fair and professional manner.

(13) It is unprofessional and unethical to have an outfitter/guide registration, license, permit or certificate suspended,
revoked, canceled, or denied by another state or by an agency of the United States

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704.500
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.500, Chapter 704, Oregon Laws 1995 - SB 2093

Hist.: MB 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96

 

250-016-0011

Surety Bond

(l) Outfitter/guides who collect deposits in excess of $100 per person for a trip are required to furnish proof of a $5,000
surety bond or a fully-executed Letter of Credit issued by a financial institution licensed to do business in Oregon in the
amount of $5,000.

(2) Proof shall consist of a fully executed Surety Bond or a Letter of Credit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 704.500

Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.500, Chapter 704, Oregon Laws 1995 - SB 2093

Hist.: MB 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 17

 

ADOPT-A-RIVER PROGRAM

 

250-017-0000

Purpose

The purpose of this program is to provide citizens of Oregon an opportunity to control litter and improve the quality of
the waters of this state in accordance with Chapter 54, Oregon Laws 1993.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.055

Hist.: MB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-94

 

250-017-0010

Scope

Any person, as defined by ORS 174.100(4) and these rules, may adopt a section of the rivers and waterways of this state
for the purpose of picking up and removing litter and trash.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.055

Hist.: MB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-94

 

250-017-0020

Definitions

As used in these rules:
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(1) A "person" is defined as including individuals, corporations, associations, firms, partnerships, and joint stock
companies.

(2) An "applicant" is defined as the individual, group, or person adopting the section of river or waterway.

(3)A "spokesperson" is defined as the individual chosen by an applicant group to represent the group.

(4) A "participant" is defined as an individual or member of an applicant group actually performing work on the river or
waterway under this program.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.055

Hist.: MB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-94

 

250-017-0030

General Requirements

(1) The applicant's spokesperson must apply in writing to the Director of the Marine Board for the river or waterway
being adopted.

(2) An "Adopt-a-River" permit will be executed by the applicant's spokesperson and the Marine Board. The permit will
list the specific requirements and obligations of both the applicant and/or its participants and the Marine Board.

(3) For designated sections of rivers or waterways that flow through National Forests, BLM resource areas, or other
specified state or federal lands, a three party cooperative agreement will be issued.

(4) The section of river or waterway being adopted shall be at least two miles in length for litter pickup work. (If there
are unique or unusual situations or features having to do with litter pickup on a specific river or waterway section the
Director may modify this minimum.)

(5) The term of the permit will be for a period of at least two years.

(6) If more than one applicant requests the same section of waterway, the Director may make the selection by earliest
date of application or by a drawing.

(7) Assignment of a specific section of waterway shall be at the discretion of the Director.

(8) The Director may consider factors such as land ownership, sensitive resource values, congestion, and size of
waterway in determining which rivers or waterway sections will be eligible for this program.

(9) Subcontracting or assigning the adopted section by the applicant is prohibited and will result in cancellation of the
permit.

(10) The Director may cancel a permit for any reason including, but not limited to safety considerations, failure of the
applicant to perform and failure of the applicant or its participants to comply with provisions of the permit. This
cancellation will be issued in writing.

(11) The applicant may cancel the permit with 30 days written notice to the Marine Board.

(12) An applicant has the option of renewing the permit for subsequent terms, subject to the approval of the Director.



OSMB_250_017_1998

250_017_1998.html[6/24/21, 3:13:38 PM]

(13) The Director shall not issue a permit under this program to any applicant whose objectives and values are
determined to be inconsistent with the public interest and the Marine Board's charge and responsibilities under Oregon
law. To make this determination, the Director will rely on:

(a) Oregon Marine Board published mission;

(b) All of the information provided in the application and any other information considered to be common knowledge of
the general public in the geographic area of the waterway section to be adopted;

(c) Information which may be requested of the applicant by the Director. This information may include bylaws, articles
of incorporation, or literature of the applicant. Failure to provide such information upon request may be grounds for
denial of a permit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.055

Hist.: MB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-94

 

Specific Requirements

 

250-017-0040

Applicant Organization and Participant Responsibilities

(1) Each participant will be required to execute a liability release form reflecting the participant's awareness and
acknowledgement of the potentially hazardous nature of the work involved.

(2) Each participant will be required to comply with and abide by all laws, rules, and regulations relating to safety and
use of rivers and waterways, and such other terms and conditions as may be required by the Director for special
conditions on a particular adopted waterway section. Individual participants may be excluded from participation or the
permit cancelled, at the discretion of the Director for violation of this section.

(3) Adult supervision is required. Participation by or presence at the work site of individuals under 18 years of age
without adult supervision is not permitted.

(4) Each applicant is required to conduct at least one safety meeting per year to inform each participant concerning
personal, group, and water safety. Each participant is required to attend a safety briefing before participating in the
actual work.

(5) Each applicant is required to pick up litter a minimum of once a year. More frequent pick up is permissible.

(6) Each applicant will be responsible for appointing or selecting a spokesperson. The spokesperson's responsibilities
include assuring compliance by participants with safety procedures, proper participant clothing and footwear, proper
parking of vehicle(s), providing a first-aid kit and adequate drinking water, and arranging transpor-tation of the
participants to and from the work site.

(7) Each group participant will be responsible

for placing litter in trashbags furnished by the Board. The applicant will be responsible for removal of the filled bags
and proper disposal. The applicant agrees to coordinate their litter pickup activity with the designated managing agency
if another federal, state or local agency is party to the agreement.
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 19

 

PROCEDURES FOR ADOPTING, AMENDING AND

REPEALING LOCAL AND SPECIAL RULES

 

250-019-0010

Policy

(1) It is the policy of the State Marine Board to promote multiple use and enjoyment of waters of the state for a variety
of recreational boating activities. The Board recognizes and will uphold to the extent practicable the universal right of
the public to navigate and use the waters of the state for recreational boating.

(2) The Board is authorized to regulate through administrative rules recreational boating in specific locations or on
specific waterways in the interest of protecting public safety, property, water quality, fish and wildlife resources, or
reducing excessive congestion and conflict between users, and promoting uniformity of laws pertaining to such use.

(3) The Board will seek to resolve problems arising from or between recreational boating activities on a waterway by
using a variety of management measures, including education, information, signing, voluntary restrictions and/or
increased law enforcement of existing laws, before acting to restrict public use and enjoyment of recreational boats.

(4) It is the policy of the Board to exercise its regulatory authority based upon sufficient information, public testimony
or evidence which establishes a demonstrated need to enact administrative rules.

(5) The Board will seek the concurrence and recommendations of affected local jurisdictions and authorities before
adopting regulations for local waterways.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 11-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-05-96

 

250-019-0020
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Definitions

For the purposes of 250-019-0010 to 250-019-0090, the following definitions shall apply:

(1) "Board" means the State Marine Board.

(2) "Local jurisdiction or authority" includes cities, counties, park and recreation districts, port districts, state agencies,
tribal councils, and agencies of the federal government.

(3) "Outfitter and guide" is used as defined in OAR 250-016-0001(5-7).

(4) "Procedural Rules" means procedures for rulemaking as outlined in OAR 250-001-0000, 250-001-0005 Model Rules
of Practice and Procedure, and 250-001-0030.

(5) "Recreational boating" means non-commercial use of a watercraft as a means of transportation and for recreational
purposes such as fishing, cruising, sailing, diving, water- skiing, and hunting, etc. In this section, it also refers, unless
otherwise stated, to numerous watercraft types including registered motorized boats and sailboats, personal watercraft,
canoes, rafts, kayaks, row boats, skiffs, sculls, shells, float tubes, and other non-motorized vessels.

(6) "Waters of this state" means all waters within the terriorial limits of this state, the marginal sea adjacent to this state
and the high seas when navigated as part of a journey or ride to or from the shore of this state.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 11-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-05-96

 

250-019-0030

Statutory Authority

(1) The Board's authority to regulate recreational boating through rulemaking is contained in Title 61, Chapter 830,
Small Watercraft of Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS). General rulemaking authority is stated in 830.110 Powers and
Duties of the Board, 830.175 Regulations for Specific Areas, and 830.195 Preventing User Conflicts.

(2) Additionally, 830.175(2) enables the governing bodies of political subdivision of the state to apply to the Board for
special regulations relating to the operation of boats on waters within the territorial limits of the political subdivision.

(3) State law (ORS 830.040) prohibits political subdivisions of the state from enacting or enforcing any laws contrary to
the provisions of Chapter 830. This prohibition together with the provisions of 830.175(2) gives the Board exclusive
authority to regulate recreational boats and boating activities on the waters of the state.

(4) On federally navigable waterways and the territorial sea, the Board shares concurrent jurisdiction with the U.S.
Coast Guard. Additionally, Oregon has entered into a Boating Offense Compact (ORS 830.080) with the states of
Washington and Idaho establishing concurrent jurisdiction over boundary waters with these states.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 11-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-05-96
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250-019-0040

Scope

(1) The Board may regulate recreational watercraft on all waters of this state. The Board's primary interest lies in
waterways where public access for recreational boating is provided, available, allowed, or reasonably accomplishable
and is commonly or frequently used by the general boating public.

(2) The Board will not normally regulate waters of this state which are surrounded exclusively by privately owned
lands, are sufficiently small so as to preclude access or severely limit public boating use, or are inaccessible to the
general boating public by ordinary and usual means.

(3) Restrictions on recreational boats and boat operations adopted pursuant to this rule shall apply to recreational
watercraft, including boats used for commercial recreation activities, such as guided trips. Watercraft used for
commercial non-recreational activities are not affected by these restrictions unless specifically included by reference.
Commercial recreational tour boats subject to inspection and licensing by the U.S. Coast Guard are not subject to rules
adopted pursuant to this Division unless they are specifically included by reference.

(4) Rules adopted by the Board to restrict recreational watercraft and their operation pursuant to this Division, shall not
apply to:

(a) Watercraft used for the law enforcement activities of authorized public safety agencies;

(b) Search and rescue activities conducted by or under the direction of these agencies; and

(c) Watercraft used for administrative or management functions performed by public agencies with jurisdiction over the
subject waters or adjacent lands.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 11-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-05-96

 

250-019-0050

Existing Laws

Nothing in this division shall change, amend, or alter any duly established laws or rules contained in Title 61, Chapter
830 of the Oregon Revised Statutes or Chapter 250 of Oregon Administrative Rules, except to add this division in its
entirety.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 11-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-05-96

 

250-019-0060

Types or Methods of Regulations Used

(1) The Board's regulatory authority accorded by Title 61, includes, but is not limited to the following:
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(a) Establishment of designated speeds;

(b) Prohibition or the use of motorboats;

(c) Designation of areas and times for testing racing motorboats; and

(d) Designation of moorage areas.

(2) Historic regulatory actions by the Board have expanded this list to include administrative rule restrictions on:

(a) Motor type and/or horsepower;

(b) Type of watercraft allowed;

(c) Direction of watercraft travel;

(d) Time of day, day of week, or seasons of operation;

(e) Wave and wake;

(f) Anchoring;

(g) Water-skiing;

(h) Boat entry, and;

(i) Equipment required to be carried on a boat or persons using a boat.

(3) In addition to the types and methods of regulations described above, the Board may restrict recreational watercraft
and/or their operation in other lawful ways.

(4) Restrictions on recreational watercraft and/or their operation which are adopted by the Board under the procedures
contained in this section may consist of permanent, temporary, or emergency administrative rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 11-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-05-96

 

250-019-0070

Procedures for Submitting and Accepting Requests to Adopt, Amend or Repeal Local Boating Regulations

(1) The Board may accept requests to adopt, amend, or repeal local boating regulations submitted by any interested
person in accordance with the Attorney General's Uniform Rule 137-001-0070.

(2)(a) The Attorney General's Uniform Rules governing petitions for rulemaking require the petition to include the name
and address of the petitioner and any other persons known to the petitioner to be interested in the rule; that the petitioner
propose specific language for the rule, with proposed deletions shown in brackets and any proposed new language
shown in boldface; that the petition contain a detailed statement to show the reasons for and the general effects of the
proposed rule; and that the petition set forth all propositions of law the petitioner asserts.

(b) In addition to the requirements listed in subsection (a), requests from governmental bodies shall be made to the
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Board in writing and include the following items of information, when available and relevant, portrayed on a map or
maps to the extent possible:

(A) Physical characteristics of the waterway such as size in acres during periods of normal use, length of shoreline,
width, depth;

(B) Natural characteristics of the waterway including native or typical aquatic and terrestrial flora and fauna (both
resident and migratory), soils, bottom sediment, turbidity, limnology, water quality, habitat of sensitive, threatened, or
endangered species;

(C) Natural and artificial obstructions or hazards to navigation such as points, bars, shoals, rocks, stumps, logs, snags,
strainers, sunken vessels, weed beds, docks, piers, pilings, dolphins, wharves, dams, spillways, weirs, intakes, outflows,
diversions, rapids, water falls, swimming and diving platforms, designated swimming areas, pipelines and utility lines;

(D) Public and private boating facilities such as boat ramps, floats, docks, piers, marinas, pump-outs, fuel docks,
floating homes, boat houses, house boats, moorages, water-ski courses and jumps or docks, buoys, navigational
markers;

(E) Publicly owned lands such as forests, parks, beaches, campgrounds, picnic areas, and other recreation sites of
federal and state agencies, counties, cities, or special districts;

(F) Upland private ownership (individual, corporate, semi-public, public utility, non-profit) including names and
addresses of all waterfront property owners;

(G) Existing and/or proposed government regulations or management plans and activities affecting public or private
access and/or use of the waterway;

(H) A narrative or graphic depiction of boating and other recreation uses such as location of activities, timing of use
(time of day, days of week, seasons of year), types and numbers of watercraft used on waterway, origin of watercraft
(marinas, launches, private moorages/docks, rentals, etc.), traffic patterns, areas of congestion, results of surveys or
questionnaires;

(I) A narrative description of known and suspected problems and/or conflicts;

(J) A narrative description of boating law enforcement and safety activities on the waterway such as placement and
maintenance of navigational markers and regulatory buoys, patrol schedules, types and numbers of complaints received,
type and nature of public contacts (excluding boat inspections, warnings and citations), consultations with other
managing agencies, and an assessment of law enforcement issues on the subject waterway in the context of county-wide
or regional boating issues;

(K) A base map or maps and/or aerial photographs showing the waterway, boating facilities, access points, safety
hazards, regulated areas, locations of buoys, general land ownership patterns;

(L) A map of the waterway showing key information to support the request for rulemaking such as traffic patterns,
problem or conflict areas, and the area to be subject to the proposed boating restriction;

(M) A description of public input received about the problem or conflict such as public meetings or hearings, advisory
committees, letters and phone calls received, management plans prepared, and contacts received from other government
agencies;

(N) An analysis of alternatives to the requested rule including law enforcement strategies, signs, publications, outreach
or training/education, voluntary efforts, and facilities location and design;

(O) A suggested boating regulation or prescription to address the problems or conflicts described including the specific
area to be regulated, when regulations should become effective, whether the regulation should be permanent or



OSMB_250_019_1998

250_019_1998.html[6/24/21, 3:13:38 PM]

temporary, a recommendation on the location and timing and location of public hearings and whether public hearings
should be held, a list of key groups, individuals or organizations that should be informed of the requested rules, together
with mailing addresses;

(P) A written request on agency letterhead, signed by the responsible government official and addressed to the director
or chair of the Board stating, in summary, the need for boating regulations, the suggested boating regulations the Board
is requested to enact, and a request that the Board consider enacting administrative rules.

(c) In addition to the requirements listed in subsection (a), requests submitted to the Board by other interested persons
shall:

(A) Be addressed to the director or chair of the Marine Board;

(B) Include a concise statement of the problem, conflict, or damage; and

(C) Include legibly printed or typewritten names and addresses of at least ten petitioners, with a straight line separating
each name and address, and each name accompanied by a valid signature.

(d) Requests to adopt, amend or repeal local boating regulations made by Board staff in their official capacity shall only
be made with prior approval of the director and concurrence of the chair and shall be in the form of an agenda item and
staff report presented at a regularly scheduled meeting of the Board.

(e) Requests to adopt, amend or repeal local boating regulations made by Board members shall be addressed to the chair
who may direct Board staff to prepare an agenda item and staff report to be presented at a prescribed meeting of the
Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 11-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-05-96

 

250-019-0080

Procedures for Considering Requests to Adopt, Amend or Repeal Local Boating Regulations

(1) Requests to adopt, amend or repeal local boating regulations shall be reviewed by board staff to determine whether
they are complete, clear, and/or not in conflict or duplicative with existing state or federal boating laws.

(2) Staff will return incomplete or unclear requests to the initiator with a cover letter stating the deficiencies and asking
for additional information.

(3) Requests which would conflict with or duplicate existing state or federal laws will not be referred to the Board and
may be denied by the director or the director's designee, and returned with a cover letter explaining the conflict or
duplication.

(4) The director may retain requests which are substantially complete or clear but lack certain items of information and
may direct staff to contact the requesting agencies or individuals to obtain the lacking information.

(5) Within thirty days of receipt of a completed request, the director or the director's designee shall either deny the
request in writing or initiate rulemaking proceedings in accordance with OAR. 137-007-0070.

(6) Except as provided in subsection (10) and in the case of temporary and emergency rules, the Board may annually
adopt, amend or repeal rules to regulate or restrict boating in local or specific waterways.
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(7) In order to facilitate the incorporation of all available information relating to requests to adopt, amend or repeal
boating regulations for local or specific waterways, and to reduce the costs associated with promulgating rules to
establish regulations and making those regulations available to the public, the following procedures shall be followed by
the Board:

(a) Prior to the first official business day in April of each year, the Board will accept proposals to adopt, amend or repeal
boating regulations for local or specific waterways. Proposals must be submitted in a format prescribed by the Board;

(b) Absent extenuating circumstances only proposals received prior to the first official business day in April each year
will be included in the process described in subsections (d) of this section;

(c) A summary of all proposed rule changes received prior to the first official business day in April each year will be
publicized through the news media and sent to the persons and organizations identified in Section 250-001-0000 (3) (a)
through (f);

(d) Proposals received prior to the first official business day in April shall be reviewed by Board staff and marine law
enforcement personnel. Proposals for the same waterbody may be grouped or consolidated;

(e) If necessary, public meetings will be held to allow opportunity for public comment on proposals to adopt, amend or
repeal local boating regulations;

(f) A Board meeting will be held in September or a subsequent month each year at which time the Board will consider
proposals to adopt, amend or repeal boating regulations for local and specific waterways. All proposals to adopt, amend
or repeal local boating regulations properly submitted in compliance with subsections (a) and (b) of this section shall be
considered by the Board. Other requests or proposals to adopt, amend or repeal boating regulations for local and specific
waterways may be considered at the discretion of the Board;

(g) In determining the merits and necessity of a proposal to adopt, amend or repeal a local boating regulation and in
making the decision on adoption, the Board may consider one or all of the following factors:

(A) Staff analysis of the proposed rule change, such as alternative means of resolving the problem, conformance with
existing state or federal boating laws, boating use data from Board surveys, law enforcement statistics and data, accident
and fatality data, estimated costs of enforcement, an assessment of the adequacy of existing law enforcement efforts and
resources, or other pertinent information;

(B) The endorsement or opposition of local affected jurisdictions and authorities;

(C) Alternatives to the proposed rule change including approaches such as education, information, signing, voluntary
restrictions and/or increased law enforcement of existing laws;

(D) Whether or not the proposed rule change is supported by an adopted management plan of a local, state, tribal, or
federal agency;

(E) The degree to which the proposed rule change, if accepted and adopted, would protect public safety, property, water
quality, fish and wildlife resources, or reduce excessive congestion and conflict between users, or promote uniformity of
boating laws;

(F) Whether or not the proposed rule change can be effectively enforced;

(G) The cost to implement and enforce the proposed rule change.

(h) The Board may adopt rules as proposed, adopt the rules as revised, deny the proposal, or defer the proposal to a
subsequent meeting.

(8) Board staff will notify initiators of the proposals of the Board's action on the proposal within ten working days
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following Board action.

(9) Nothing in this section shall in any way limit any rights conferred under ORS 183.390 and OAR 137-010-0070.

(10) Nothing in this section shall in any way limit or restrict the Board's authority to adopt, amend or repeal boating
regulations at times other than those prescribed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 11-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-05-96
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 20

 

LOCAL AND SPECIAL RULES

 

250-020-0005

Applicability of Terms

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Division, prohibitions and/or speed limitations, where provided, shall
not apply to vessels operated by federal, state or local governments, or their agents having jurisdiction and when
operating in the conduct of official business on an otherwise regulated body of water.

(2) The Director may issue special exemption permits to allow limited research, commercial or marine event boat
operations in areas closed to motorboat use or otherwise regulated by OAR Chapter 250, Divisions 20, 21, and 30.
These permits shall not be issued for normal recreational boating activities or for operations that can reasonably be
carried out without use of a motorboat or within existing motorized restrictions. The Director may condition the permits
to minimize the impacts to the waterway and other users.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 5-1981, f. & ef. 8-31-81; MB 19-1985, f. & ef. 11-22-85; MB 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 8-16-93

 

250-020-0013

Boat Operations in Baker County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow - No Wake" speed in the following areas:

(a) Brownlee Reservoir:

(A) Farewell Bend State Park: Within 100 feet of a designated swimming area or within 200 feet of the boat moorage or
launching ramp;

(B) Hewett County Park: Within 200 feet of shore from a point 100 feet upstream of the west launching ramp to a point
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100 feet downstream of the east launching ramp.

(b) Unity Reservoir: Within 200 feet of the launching ramp.

(c) Phillips Lake:

(A) Within 200 feet of a boat launching ramp or designated swimming area;

(B) That area known as the Union Creek Inlet, beginning at a point approximately 500 feet south of the Union Creek
Boat Launching Ramp and proceeding easterly across the inlet to a point on the opposite shore as marked.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those propelled by electric motors, on Anthony Lake.

(3) No person shall operate a boat for any reason, on Unity Reservoir, below a buoy line near the spillway of Unity
Dam.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.175

Hist.: MB 26, f. 7-20-64; MB 45, f. 8-25-69; MB 50, f. 4-2-73, ef. 4-15-73; MB 9-1978, f. & ef. 12-21-78; Renumbered from 250-20-165; MB 5-
1983, f. 9-13-83, ef. 9-16-83; MB 2-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; MB 3-1997, f. & cert. ef. 4-4-97

 

250-020-0014

Boat Operations on Phillips Lake in Baker County

Marine Toilets: No person shall maintain or operate upon the following-named inland waters of this state any boat
which is equipped with a toilet unless such toilet has an approved device to render waste harmless, or unless such toilet
is rendered inoperative by having the discharge outlet effectively sealed. "An approved device" is a marine toilet, or a
marine toilet attachment, which has been approved by the State Board of Health and the Department of Environmental
Quality: Phillips Lake.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 58, f. 7-2-74, ef. 7-2-74(Temp) & 7-25-74(Perm); Renumbered from 250-20-166

 

250-020-0026

Boat Operations in Benton County

The following area is designated a racing motorboat testing area on the Willamette River: From the Harrison Street
Bridge down-stream approximately .5 of a mile to the rip-rap protected NW bank corner. Testing shall be limited to
between the hours of 7 - 9 p.m. (Daylight Saving Time) on Tuesdays and Thursdays and on Saturdays between the
hours of 10 a.m. and 12 noon.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 52, f. 8-17-73, ef. 9-1-73; Renumbered from 250-20-225; MB 3-1981, f. & ef. 3-3-81
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250-020-0031

Boat Operations and Water Skiing on Lake Oswego in Clackamas County

(1) Definitions as used in these regulations:

(a) "Lake" shall mean Lake Oswego;

(b) "Lake Warden" shall mean the Deputy Sheriff who acts as Lake Warden;

(c) "Corporation" shall mean Lake Oswego Corporation;

(d) "After Dark" shall mean 1/2 hour after sunset and 1/2 hour before sunrise.

(2) Mooring of Boats: No unoccupied boat shall be moored (other than fast to a dock) more than 20 feet from shore.

(3) Basic Rules:

(a) No boat shall exceed the following speeds on the Lake:

(A) When within 100 feet of a swimmer or from shore -- 6 MPH;

(B) When within 100 feet of a canoe -- 6 MPH;

(C) When within the areas marked by buoys -- 6 MPH;

(D) Through channels, canals, and bridges at all time -- 6 MPH;

(E) After dark in unrestricted areas -- 8 MPH;

(F) During daylight hours in unrestricted areas -- 40 MPH.

(b) No person shall operate a paddle board, inner tube, rubber raft, or other unlicensed device more than 100 feet from
shore or under any bridge;

(c) No person shall moor a boat or raft to any navigation buoy or marker.

(4) Towed Equipment (applies to surfboarding and other types of towed equipment as well as to water skiing):

(a) When picking up or standing by a person in the water, the boat's motor must be completely stopped (not just idled or
out of gear, but killed);

(b) Except on safe take-offs, boats with skiers under tow and skier must keep 100 feet or more from shore. A take-off
will not be considered "safe" unless it can be accomplished without risk to any swimmers or craft. Skiers must be picked
up by the boat before coming within the 100 foot from shore line, and brought to shore under the usual speed
restrictions within 100 feet of shore; except, when safe, skier, but not boat, may ski inside the 100 foot from shore line,
in the process of landing, only when entirely within the water area bounded by the extended property lines of the
property from which he is skiing. Skiing is forbidden within the areas specified in subsection (4)(g) of this rule. The red
buoys placed at intervals around the lake shall be deemed to mark a distance of 100 feet from shore;

(c) All boats towing skiers shall go in a counter clockwise pattern; i.e., west on the north side of the lake, and east on the
south of the lake. All boats taking off with skiers from within 100 feet of the shore line shall take off as straight as
practicable from shore. On both take-offs and landings, boats and skiers shall keep as far distant as possible from
adjoining docks, floats, and shore line;
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(d) If a skier falls when more than 50 feet from shore or a float, the towing boat shall return at once to the downed skier
giving due regard to the safety of any other skiers it may be towing;

(e) No boat shall follow behind a skier closer than 300 feet, nor cross the towing boat's bow by less than 200 feet, nor
alongside a skier closer than 100 feet;

(f) Any boat towing a skier must be manned by a competent observer or ski-tender, in addition to the operator;

(g) Skiing and other towed-equipment sports are prohibited:

(A) Under any bridge;

(B) South of the buoy at the entrance to, and within, Blue Heron Bay, except that families living on the Bay may tow
surfboards or similar equipment at low speeds;

(C) West of the buoy at the entrance to, and within West Bay, except that families living on the Bay may tow surfboards
or similar equipment at low speeds;

(D) On the inlet Canal;

(E) On the Canal leading from Main Lake to Lakewood Bay;

(F) At the east end of the Main Lake between buoy and the Swim Resort;

(G) On Kelok Bay (between Alder and Maple Circles) southwest of buoy at mouth of Bay;

(H) West of the buoy at the west end of Lakewood Bay.

(5) Marine Toilets: No person shall maintain or operate upon the waters of Lake Oswego any boat which is equipped
with a toilet unless such toilet has an approved device to render waste harmless, or unless such toilet is rendered
inoperative by having the discharge outlet effectively sealed. "An approved device" is a marine toilet, or a marine toilet
attachment, which has been approved by the State Board of Health and the Department of Environmental Quality.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 60, f. 7-2-74, ef. 7-2-74(Temp) & 7-25-74(Perm); Renumbered from 250-20-012

 

250-020-0032

Boat Operations on the Willamette River in Clackamas County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Between the southern shore of Rocky Island and the mainland;

(b) Within 100 feet of the west shore, between RM 30.0 and 30.5.

(2) No person shall operate a boat:

(a) Downstream from Oregon City Falls in an area from the base of the falls to a line across the river between the
northeast corner of the Crown Zellerbach's Mill A Grinder Room on the west bank of the river to the southwest corner
of Publisher's Paper Company Power Plant on the east bank of the river as marked;
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(b) In the area commonly known as the "cul-de-sac" or the Simpson Paper Company tailrace; beginning at the mouth of
the tailrace on the south bank then extending across the tailrace following the line established by the bridge across the
tailrace to the north bank, then in a westerly, southerly, and easterly direction around the bank of the tailrace to the place
of beginning.

(c) Exceptions:

(A) Boats of any federal, state, county, or local governmental agency and Portland General Electric Sullivan Plant and
Crown Zellerbach Corporation Mill maintenance crews may operate in the closed area when on official business;

(B) Boats used in taking lamprey under a permit issued by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife may operate in the
closed area subject to the conditions specified in the permit.

(3) No person shall operate a boat at a speed in excess of a "Slow - No Wake" maximum 5 MPH speed on the following
waters:

(a) Cedar Island lagoon;

(b) From the north point of the eastern spit of Cedar Island 100 yards due north and thence due west to the shore line;

(c) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp and/or marked swimming area;

(d) Within 200 feet of shore adjacent to George Rogers Park (Lake Oswego), from the southern bank of Sucker Creek
north along the west bank of the Willamette, to a point 200 yards north of the boat ramp, as posted.

(4) For the purpose of this rule, jet ski type craft means any motorized vessel or other description of watercraft which is
generally less than ten feet in length and capable of exceeding a speed of 15 MPH, including but not limited to jet skis,
wet bikes, and surf jets. No person shall ride jet ski type craft in continuous operation on the Willamette River between
Rocky Island and the Southern Pacific Railroad Bridge during the period from May 1 through September 30, except to
transit through this zone.

Stat.Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 26, f. 7-20-64; MB 80, f. & ef. 4-19-77; MB 83, f. & ef. 4-22-77; Renumbered from 250-20-142; MB 9-1982, f. 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82;
MB 6-1986, f. & ef. 5-23-86; MB 1-1987, f. & ef. 2-4-87; MB 13-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 3-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-22-96

 

250-020-0033

Boat Operations in Clackamas County

(1) Clackamas River:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat with a jet pump drive above a point 2.3 miles upstream of the North Fork Dam
on North Fork Reservoir;

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of "Slow -- No Wake" (5 MPH), from the Highway 99 Bridge
downstream to the Willamette River, May 1st through October 15th.

(2) Molalla River: No person shall operate a motorboat with a jet pump drive upstream of the Highway 99 Bridge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
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Hist.: MB 2-1978, f. & ef. 4-5-78; MB 6-1978, f. & ef. 7-31-78; Renumbered from 250-20-143; MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88

 

250-020-0041

Boat Operations in Clatsop County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) On the Skipanon Waterway and Warrenton Small Boat Basin;

(b) On the John Day River within 200 feet of a houseboat;

(c) On Knappa Slough within 200 feet of the Knappa Dock;

(d) On Warren Slough;

(e) On Svensen Slough between the Svensen Island bridge and Bear Creek, as marked.

(2) No motorboat shall be operated at a speed in excess of 10 MPH in the following areas:

(a) On Coffenbury Lake;

(b) On Neacoxie (Sunset) Lake;

(c) The north end of Cullaby Lake within the buoyed area.

(3) No motorboat shall be operated in excess of "Slow -- No Wake" speed when within 200 feet of a boat launching
ramp or designated swimming area in the following areas:

(a) John Day River;

(b) Cullaby Lake. (For purposes of this regulation "Slow -- No Wake" speed means the speed of the boat shall not
exceed 3 MPH.)

(4) All boats towing water skiers or other types of towed equipment on the following bodies of water shall proceed in a
counter-clockwise pattern: Cullaby Lake.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed in the following areas:

(a) Hammond Boat Basin;

(b) Lewis and Clark River from its mouth at Youngs Bay to its confluence with Green Slough, a distance of
approximately 1.8 statute miles;

(c) The East End and the West End Mooring Basins. (For the purposes of section (5) of this rule "Slow -- No Wake"
speed means the speed of a motorboat shall not exceed 5 MPH.)

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 25, f. 6-15-64; MB 43, f. 7-18-69; MB 62, f. 8-14-74, ef. 8-14-74(Temp) & 9-11-74(Perm); MB 63, f. 11-19-74, ef. 12-11-74;
Renumbered from 250-20-160; MB 8-1982, f. 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82; MB 10-1990, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-90
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250-020-0042

Boat Operations on the Nehalem River in Clatsop and Tillamook Counties

(1) South Fork Nehalem. No person shall operate a boat with a motor rated in excess of 15 HP, from the mouth of
Peterson Creek (RM 10.3) to Nehalem River Falls (RM 15.7), from September 1 through March 30.

(2) North Fork Nehalem. No person shall operate a motorboat above Aldervale.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 13-1985, f. & ef. 7-31-85

 

250-020-0043

Boat Operations on the Necanicum River in Clatsop County

No person shall operate a motor-boat in excess of a "Slow-- No Wake", maximum 5 MPH speed upstream of the First
Avenue Bridge in Seaside.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 13-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-92

 

250-020-0051

Boat Operations in Columbia County

(1) No person shall operate a boat in excess of a 5 MPH, "Slow-No Wake" speed in the following areas:

(a) Columbia River. Within 200 feet of the public transient moorage on Sand Island and the St. Helens Courthouse
docks.

(b) Multnomah Channel. Within 200 feet of the public transient moorage at Coon Island (J.J.Collins Park).

(c) Scappoose Bay. Within 200 feet of Bayport Marina and the public ramp.

(d) Gilbert River, Sauvie Island. Within 200 feet of Gilbert River Boat Ramp and boarding floats and the lower 0.5 mile
of the Gilbert River, as posted.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled by electric motors on Lake Vernonia.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-17-86; MB 7-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-12-95
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250-020-0053

Boat Operations in Columbia and Multnomah Counties

Sauvie Island Wildlife Area:

(1) No person shall operate a boat on any water within the Sauvie Island Wildlife Area, including the Gilbert River,
from October 10 to January 20, except for persons possessing a valid Sauvie Island Hunt Permit.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat on Sturgeon Lake from October 10 to January 20.

(3) Exceptions:

(a) Cunningham Slough;

(b) Gilbert River from its mouth upstream to a point 100 feet upstream of the Gilbert River Dock as marked.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed on Dairy Creek and Dairy Creek
Canal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 3-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87

 

250-020-0061

Boat Operations on Eel Lake in Coos and Douglas Counties

No motorboat shall operate at a speed in excess of 10 MPH on Eel Lake

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 14, f. 8-6-62; Renumbered from 250-20-080

 

250-020-0062

Boat Operations on North Ten Mile Lake, Ten Mile Lake, and Ten Mile Creek in Coos County

(1) No person shall operate a motor-boat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area;

(b) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of idling speed in the following areas:

(a) Within 300 feet of the entrance to Ten Mile Creek;
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(b) On Ten Mile Creek.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed on the waters of North Lake Canal,
between North Ten Mile Lake and Ten Mile Lake, or within 200 feet of each entrance to the canal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 20, f. 3-20-63; MB 28, f. 4-20-66; MB 67(Temp), f. & ef. 5-14-75; MB 70(Temp), f. & ef. 6-9-75; MB 71, f. 8-1-75, ef. 8-25-75;
Renumbered from 250-20-087

 

250-020-0063

Boat Operations in Coos County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those propelled by electric motors on the following bodies of water:

(a) Fahy Lake;

(b) Upper Empire Lake;

(c) Middle Empire Lake;

(d) Lower Empire Lake.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH on Bradley Lake.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 3-1983, f. & ef. 6-1-83; MB 10-1986, f. 7-29-86, ef. 8-1-86; MB 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-91

 

250-020-0064

Boat Operations on the Coquille and Millicoma Rivers in Coos County

No person shall operate a motorboat with a jet pump drive on the:

(1) East Fork Millicoma River above Allegany;

(2) West Fork Millicoma River above Allegany.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88

 

250-020-0065
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Boat Operations on the South Slough Estuarine Sanctuary in Coos County

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of "Slow -- No Wake", maximum 5 MPH speed in the South Slough
Estuarine Sanctuary.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 1-1989, f. 4-5-89, cert. ef. 4-15-89

 

250-020-0073

Boat Operations on Ochoco and Prineville Reservoirs in Crook County

NOTE: "Towed equipment" applies to surfboarding and other types of towed equipment, as well as water skiing.

(1) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers and other types of towed equipment must keep 200 feet or
more from shore. If a safe landing as defined in these rules is not possible, skiers must be picked up by the boat before
coming within the 200-foot-from-shore line, and brought to shore under the established speed restrictions (5 MPH
within 200 feet of shore). Boats towing skiers may exceed 5 MPH to the extent necessary to maintain the skiers in a
skiing position within 200 feet from the shore line only when taking off or landing under safe conditions as outlined in
this section. However, boats may not exceed the 5 MPH speed restriction, including the take-off and landing of skiers in
tow, in the areas listed in section (2) of this rule:

(a) A "safe" take-off or landing with a skier in tow is accomplished by leaving or approaching the take-off or landing
site within an arc which has its center at the take-off or landing site and which is not closer than 45 degrees out from the
shore on either side. It is not a "safe" landing to approach a landing site parallel to the shore line. Take-offs and landings
should be made in a counter-clockwise pattern. A take-off or landing will not be considered safe unless it can be
accomplished without risk to the safety of any swimmers or other watercraft;

(b) No boat shall follow behind a skier closer than 300 feet, nor cross the towing boat less than 200 feet, nor alongside a
skier closer than 100 feet.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within 200 feet of the shore line (except under conditions authorized in section (1) of this rule);

(b) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area;

(c) Within 200 feet of a launching ramp;

(d) Within the cove located to the west of Ochoco State Park on Ochoco Reservoir, where the State Park Boat
Launching Ramp and county floats are located;

(e) East of a line from the point east of the Ochoco Boat Rentals across Ochoco Reservoir to a spot marked on the south
side. Markers are identified as orange-colored and tripod shaped;

(f) Within the cove area where the Ochoco Boat Rentals moorage is located and designated by a buoy south of the
moorage and an orange-color tripod marker on the point of land east of the moorage;

(g) East of a line between two markers across the Prineville Reservoir at a point approximately 1/2 mile west of the
entrance of Owl Hollow Creek. The shore markers are identified by their orange color and tripod shape.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 16, f. 8-20-62; Renumbered from 250-20-100

 

250-020-0074

Boat Operations in Crook County

Walton Lake. No person shall operate a motorboat, except those propelled by electric motors not exceeding 30 pounds
thrust, on Walton Lake.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 8-1985, f. & ef. 4-24-85

 

250-020-0082

Boat Operations in Curry County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat: On Floras Creek, except with electric motors.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat with a jet pump drive on the:

(a) Pistol River;

(b) Sixes River upstream of the Highway 101 Bridge;

(c) Elk River upstream of the Ironhead Launch Ramp.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88

 

250-020-0091

Boat Operations in Deschutes County

(1) Marine Toilets: No person shall maintain or operate upon the following named inland waters of this state any boat
which is equipped with a toilet unless such toilet has an approved device to render waste harmless, or unless such toilet
is rendered inoperative by having the discharge outlet effectively seals. "An approved device" is a marine toilet, or
marine toilet attachment, which has been approved by the State Board of Health and the State Sanitary Authority:

(a) Paulina Lake;

(b) East Lake;

(c) Elk Lake;
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(d) Big Lava Lake;

(e) Wickiup Reservoir;

(f) Crane Prairie Reservoir;

(g) Big Cultus Lake;

(h) Little Cultus Lake.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH on: Deschutes River and Davis Creek Arms of Wickiup
Reservoir.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on the following area: Torso Lake.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat except with an electric motor on the following areas:

(a) Meadow Lake;

(b) Hosmer Lake.

(5) Deschutes River:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat for the purpose of towing a person on water skis, surfboard or similar device
and no person shall engage in waterskiing or similar activities on the Deschutes River;

(b) No person shall operate jet ski type boats on the Deschutes River. For the purposes of this rule, jet ski type boat
means any motorized vessel or other description of watercraft which is generally less than ten feet in length and capable
of exceeding a speed of 15 MPH, including but not limited to jetskis, wet bikes, and surf jets;

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow - No Wake", 5 MPH speed limit between Wickiup Dam
and the Deschutes National Forest Boundary in Sec. 14.T.18.S., R.11.E., W.M.;

(d) No person shall operate a motorboat between LaPine State Recreation area boat ramp and Pringle Falls;

(e) No person shall operate a motorboat between Aspen Camp boat ramp and the north end of Lava Island in Sec.
22.T.18.S.,R.11.E., W.M.

(f) No person shall operate a motorboat between the Deschutes National Forest boundary in Sec. 14.T.18.S.,R.11.E.,
W.M. and Mirror Pond Dam.

(g) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose between the Mirror Pond Dam and the Jefferson County Line.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 26, f. 7-20-64; MB 52, f. 8-17-73, ef. 9-1-73; MB 57, f. 7-2-74, ef. 7-2-74(Temp) & 7-25-74(Perm); Renumbered from 250-20-170; MB
10-1988, f. & cert. ef. 6-28-88; MB 13-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 1-1-89; MB 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-93; MB 12-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-96;
MB 7-1997, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-97

 

250-020-0101

Boat Operations on Eel Lake in Douglas and Coos Counties
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No motorboat shall operate at a speed in excess of 10 MPH on Eel Lake.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 14, f. 8-6-62; Renumbered from 250-20-080

 

250-020-0102

Boat Operations in Douglas County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 10 MPH in the following areas:

(a) On Carter Lake;

(b) On Plat I reservoir after 6 p.m. or before 11 a.m.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within the Harbor limits of Salmon Harbor on Winchester Bay;

(b) On the Umpqua River in the vicinity of River Forks Park from a point 30 yards downstream (North) from the
launching ramp to a point upstream 100 yards on each the North Fork and South Fork of the Umpqua River;

(c) On the Umpqua River within 300 feet of the boat launching ramp and designated swimming area at Scottsburg Park.

(3) Lemolo Lake:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" maximum 5 MPH speed within 150 feet of
the shore or pier line in a zone extending from the launch ramp at Lemolo Lake Resort south to Pool Creek Inlet, and
from a point 200 feet south of Pool Creek Inlet south to the small unnamed island, and thence south from the south tip
of the island across to the nearest peninsula;

(b) Boats shall not exceed a "Slow -- No Wake" maximum 5 MPH speed in the area from where U.S. Forest Service
Road Number 2666 crosses the North Umpqua River, to a point 2,000 feet westward thereof;

(c) Boats shall not exceed a maximum speed of 40 MPH on all other waters of Lemolo Lake.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on the following bodies of water:

(a) Amos and Andy Lakes;

(b) June Lake;

(c) Indigo Lake;

(d) Maidu Lake;

(e) Wolf Lake;

(f) Skookum Lake;

(g) Fish Lake;
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(h) Buckeye Lake;

(i) Cliff Lake;

(j) Calamut Lake;

(k) Lucile Lake;

(l) Faller Lake;

(m) Lower Twin Lake;

(n) Upper Twin Lake;

(o) Hemlock Lake;

(p) Lake in the Woods.

(5) Cooper Creek Reservoir. No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of:

(a) 40 MPH on the main body of the Reservoir;

(b) 5 MPH within the buoyed areas of Rachelle Inlet; Pierce Canyon Inlet; Sutherlin Inlet and Douglas Inlet;

(c) 5 MPH within 200 feet of a boat launching ramp or designated swimming area.

(6) Ben Irving Reservoir: No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of:

(a) 35 MPH from the markers (identified by the letter "A") located where the reservoir narrows, downstream for
approximately 1.2 miles to the dam;

(b) 5 MPH:

(A) From the markers (identified by the letter "A") located where the reservoir narrows, upstream for approximately one
mile to the second set of markers (identified by the letter "B");

(B) Within 100 feet of the boat ramp as marked.

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat upstream from the second markers (identified by the letter "B") except that
electric motors of less than 25 pounds thrust may be used;

(d) No boats shall be permitted within the log boomed area in the vicinity of the dam spillway.

(7) Galesville Reservoir. No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of:

(a) 40 MPH on the main body of the lake;

(b) 5 MPH along the north shore between the launch ramp and log boom, in the buoyed areas;

(c) 5 MPH between the buoy line at the upper end of the lake to the powerboat deadline as marked;

(d) Above the 5 MPH zone, as marked, no person shall operate a motorboat, except those propelled by electric motors;

(e) Persons operating a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH in the otherwise unrestricted portions of the lake shall proceed
about the lake in a counter clockwise direction.
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(8) No person shall operate a motorboat on the North Umpqua River between the boat ramp at Lone Rock Camp
(approximate RM 32) upstream to Lemolo Lake.

(9) Loon Lake:

(a) Except for safe take-offs and landings, no person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a 5 MPH "Slow -- No Wake"
speed within 200 feet of the designated swimming area and boat mooring area at the BLM day use area, as marked.
Boats towing skiers may exceed 5 MPH to extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing position, within 200 feet
from the designated swimming area and boat mooring area only under safe conditions as outlined in this section. A safe
take-of or landing will not be considered "safe" unless it can be accomplished without risk to any swimmer or craft
within 200 feet from designated swimming area and boat mooring area. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible,
skiers must be picked up by the boat before coming within 200 fee from the designated swimming area and boat
mooring area and brought to shore under usual speed restrictions (5 MPH with in 200 feet of the designated swimming
area and boat mooring area). Take-offs and landings are required to be made following the mandatory counter-
clockwise pattern;

(b) Persons operating a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH shall proceed in a counter-clockwise direction in the otherwise
unrestricted portions of the lake;

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a 5 MPH "Slow -- No Wake" speed within the buoyed area
extending from the north shore of the cove at Fish Haven Resort in a southwest direction across the lake to the end of
the prominent point of land on the south shore of the lake, as marked.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 20, f. 3-20-63; MB 29, f. 6-17-66; MB 32, f. 9-14-66; MB 34, f. & ef. 6-2-67; MB 41, f. 9-18-68; MB 47, f. 7-14-70, ef. 8-11-70; MB
74(Temp), f. 5-18-76, ef. 6-1-76 thru 9-28-76; MB 82, f. & ef. 4-19-77; Renumbered from 250-20-083; MB 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 4-17-81; MB 7-
1981, f. & ef. 11-16-81; MB 4-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 5-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95

 

250-020-0105

Boat Operations on Cooper Creek Reservoir in Douglas County

The provisions of OAR 250-021-0030(7)(d) shall not apply on Cooper Creek Reservoir in Douglas County in the area
between the existing 5 MPH zones at Douglas Inlet and Sutherlin Inlet. All other provisions of OAR 250, Division 21
shall apply.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830

Hist.: MB 10-1996(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-15-96; MB 4-1997, f. & cert. ef. 4-4-97

 

250-020-0121

Boat Operations in Gilliam County

No person shall operate a motorboat in the Earl Snell Memorial Park Lagoon, City of Arlington, South of the Union
Pacific Railroad Bridge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 18-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 11-15-87

 

250-020-0125

Boat Operations in Grant County

No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on Bull Prairie Lake

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 6-1981, f. & ef. 8-31-81

 

250-020-0132

Boat Operations in Harney County

(1) No motorboat shall operate at a speed in excess of 5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) On Delintment Lake;

(b) On the Burns Gravel Pond adjacent to Highway 78.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on Fish Lake.

(3) No person shall operate a boat, except those propelled manually or by electric motors during Oregon trout season on
Krumbo Reservoir.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 22, f. 8-20-63; MB 27, f. 6-3-65; MB 49, f. 8-14-72, ef. 9-1-72; Renumbered from 250-20-150; MB 5-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87

 

250-020-0141

Boat Operations in Hood River County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH on Green Point Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on Badger Lake.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled by electric motors on Laurance Lake.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 16, f. 8-20-62; MB 45, f. 8-25-69; MB 49, f. 8-14-72, ef. 9-1-72; Renumbered from 250-20-110; MB 19-1987, f. 11-4-87, ef. 11-15-87;
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MB 5-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88

 

250-020-0151

Boat Operations in Jackson County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those propelled by electric motors not to exceed 25 pounds thrust on
Agate Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH on:

(a) Applegate Reservoir;

(b) Fish Lake;

(c) Hyatt Lake;

(d) Willow Lake -- Southern portion as denoted by the Uniform Waterway Marker buoys.

(3) The following areas are "designated moorage areas":

(a) Willow Lake -- Southwest Cove;

(b) Howard Prairie Lake -- Howard Prairie Resort Marina and Klum Landing;

(c) Emigrant Lake -- Spillway Cove area at the northwest corner of the Lake.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of "Slow -- No Wake" speed in the moorage areas designated in
section (3) of this rule. (For purposes of this rule "Slow -- No Wake" speed means the speed of the boat shall not exceed
5 MPH.)

(5) No person shall moor a boat outside the designated moorage areas set forth in section (3) of this rule for more than
48 hours without obtaining a permit from the Jackson County Parks Department.

(6) Rogue River:

(a) No boat shall enter or be operated on the waters of the Rogue River from a buoyed line westerly to the up-river face
of Savage Rapids Dam, a distance of approximately 300 feet;

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 20 MPH, water ski or tow any recreational equipment on the Rogue
River between Wards Creek and Evans Creek;

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 30 MPH on the Rogue River between Evans Creek and the buoyed
line across the Rogue River approximately 300 feet east of Savage Rapids Dam.

(7) Lost Creek Lake:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat between the breakwaters designating the Stewart State Park swimming area;

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a 5 MPH, "Slow -- No Wake" speed:

(A) In the Lost Creek Arm upstream of the "narrows" as marked;

(B) Within the cove area of the Takelma Park Boat Ramp from the intake tower to shore as marked;
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(C) Upstream of the Peyton Bridge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 30, f. 6-17-66; MB 39, f. 4-5-68; MB 84(Temp), f. & ef. 5-20-77; MB 86, f. & ef. 7-20-77; MB 87, f. & ef. 9-16-77; MB 5-1978, f. & ef.
6-15-78; Renumbered from 250-20-175; MB 1-1980, f. 4-1-80, ef. 5-1-80; MB 2-1981, f. & ef. 3-3-81; MB 6-1984, f. 2-14-84, ef. 2-15-84; MB 2-
1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-22-90

 

250-020-0161

Boat Operations in Jefferson County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on the following lakes:

(a) Scout;

(b) Round;

(c) Jack;

(d) Island;

(e) Cache;

(f) Hand; and

(g) Link.

(2) Suttle Lake:

(a) No water skiing or motorboat operation in excess of 10 MPH to be permitted on Suttle Lake between the hours of 8
p.m. and 9 a.m., standard time, each day;

(b) No water skiing or motorboat operation in excess of 10 MPH to be permitted on Suttle Lake between the hours of 9
a.m. and 8 p.m., standard time, each day, except within the signed and designated fast boat area, water skier dropoff
zone, and water skier take-off lanes, at the west end of the lake;

(c) Operating any boat which is equipped with a toilet to be prohibited on Suttle Lake, unless such toilet has an
approved device to render waste harmless, or unless such toilet is rendered inoperative by having the discharge outlet
effectively sealed.

(3) Lake Simtustus:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH, a "Slow -- No Wake" in the area within 300 feet
of the moorage and extending to the opposite shore;

(b) No person shall operate a boat for any reason within the restricted tailrace area enclosed by the log boom
approximately 1200 feet down-stream of Round Butte Dam;

(c) No person shall moor a boat to the log boom or operate a boat for any reason within the restricted intake area
enclosed by the log boom located approximately 200 feet upstream of Pelton Dam;

(d) Boat access in the areas closed by subsections (b) and (c) of this section is permitted for federal, state, local and
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tribal government agencies and Portland General Electric employees or their agents for official business only.

(4) Lake Billy Chinook:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH in the following areas:

(A) On the Crooked River Arm above the Crooked River Bridge;

(B) On the Deschutes River Arm above the Deschutes River Bridge;

(C) On the Metolius River Arm from a point approximately 1,000 feet upstream of Street Creek, as marked.

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of "Slow -- No Wake", maximum 5 MPH speed within the buoyed
areas at:

(A) Cove Palisades State Park Marina;

(B) The Crooked River Launching Ramp;

(C) The Deschutes River Launching Ramp;

(D) Within 200 feet of a designated swimming area;

(E) Within a cove at Chinook Island (Metolius Arm) as marked;

(F) Within the cove at Camp Perry South (Metolius Arm) as marked.

(5) No person shall beach, anchor or moor a boat within 200 feet of shore in the following areas at Lake Billy Chinook
between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.

(a) Crooked River Arm:

(A) East shore-between a point approximately 1,000 feet north of the cove Marina, as marked, and the Crooked River
Bridge;

(B) West Shore -- From the State Park boundary north approximately 2,000 feet, as marked.

(b) Deschutes Arm: East Shore -- Between a point approximately 2,000 feet north of the northernmost boat launch, as
marked, and the Deschutes River Bridge;

(c) This prohibition shall not apply to any leased or rented space within established marinas or moorages.

(6) No person shall operate or provide for others to operate a boat on Lake Billy Chinook which is equipped with a
marine toilet, unless the toilet has a holding tank or is rendered inoperative so as to prevent any overboard discharge.
This section becomes effective January 1, 1987.

(7) Haystack Reservoir. No person shall operate a boat in excess of 5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) In the western cove inside a buoy line approximately 500 feet from shore, as marked;

(b) In the southern cove inside a buoy line extending from south of the boat ramp on the east shore to a point south of
the southeast peninsula, as marked.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
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Hist.: MB 43, f. 7-18-69; MB 58, f. 7-2-74, ef. 7-2-74(Temp) & 7-25-74(Perm); Renumbered from 250-20-200; MB 16-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85;
MB 8-1986, f. & ef. 7-28-86; MB 11-1986, f. & ef. 10-30-86; MB 6-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; MB 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90; MB 10-1992, f.
& cert. ef. 8-21-92; MB 7-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-11-93; MB 8-1994(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-17-94; MB 10-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-28-94

 

250-020-0171

Boat Operations in Josephine County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 10 MPH on Lake Selmac.

(2) The following areas are designated racing motorboat testing areas:

(a) On the Rogue River near Grants Pass:

(A) The primary testing area shall be one-half mile upstream from Findley Bend to a point approximately one mile
above the mouth of the Applegate River;

(B) An alternate testing area shall be between Flannegan's Slough and Findley Bend.

(b) The primary testing area shall be used at all times except when low water creates a hazardous condition, at which
time the alternate area will be used;

(c) Testing in the alternate area will be limited to Wednesdays between the hours of 6 p.m. and 8 p.m., and on Saturdays
between the hours of 9 a.m. and 11 a.m.;

(d) When the water level measures 2.5 feet on the gauge at the City of Grants Pass Water Filtration Plant, use of the
primary testing area will be considered hazardous and closed for testing high speed boats at which time the alternate
testing area will be used.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 10, f. 11-14-61; MB 43, f. 7-18-69; Renumbered from 250-20-060

 

250-020-0201

Boating and Water Skiing on Lake of the Woods in Klamath County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of Slow-No Wake, maximum 5 MPH, or with a water skier
under tow, while within Forest Service approved and marked swimming areas adjacent to summer camps and public
campgrounds, or while within 200 feet of any dock or shore, except for a "safe" take-off or landing. *

NOTE: (*) A safe take-off or landing is accomplished within an arc which has its center at the take-off or landing site and which is not closer than
45 degrees out from the shore line on either side. It is not a "safe" landing to approach a landing site parallel to the shore line. Take-offs and
landings should be made in a counter clockwise pattern. A take-off or landing will not be considered safe unless it can be accomplished without risk
to any swimmers or other watercraft. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers must be picked up by the boat before coming within the
200 feet from the shore or dock line, and brought to shore under the usual speed restrictions. Boats towing skiers may exceed the 5 MPH speed limit
to the extent necessary to maintain skier in a skiing position within the 200 feet from shore or dock, only when taking off or landing under "safe"
conditions as outlined in this section.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 20 MPH between the hours of one our after sunset and one hour
before sunrise. Boats must show the proper lights during these hours.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Hist.: MB 18, f. 2-5-63; Renumbered from 250-20-021; MB 6-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-96

 

250-020-0202

Boat Operations on Miller Lake in Klamath County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH within 100 feet of the shoreline except on the Northwest
end of the lake designated "Water Ski Area".

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of "Slow -- No Wake" speed within 100 feet of a boat launching ramp
or designated swimming area. (For the purposes of this regulation "Slow -- No Wake" speed means the speed of a boat
shall not exceed 5 MPH.)

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 35, f. 1-16-68; Renumbered from 250-20-022

 

250-020-0203

Boat Operations on Klamath Lake in the Vicinity of Moore Park Marina

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed within 100 feet of the entrance to or
within Moore Park Marina. (For the purposes of this regulation "Slow -- No Wake" speed means the speed of a boat
shall not exceed 5 MPH.)

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 10 MPH in the portion of Upper Klamath Lake and Link
River that lies east of a line projected from the west side of the Moore Park pumphouse north to the west boundary line
of the Pelican Marina.

(3) These regulations do not apply during such hours that authorized boat races are held.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 36, f. 1-16-68; Renumbered from 250-20-023

 

250-020-0204

Boat Operations on Spring Creek in Klamath County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH.

(2) Within the boundaries of Collier State Park operating a motorboat for any purpose will be prohibited.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 45, f. 8-25-69; Renumbered from 250-20-024

 

250-020-0205

Regulations -- Klamath County

(1) In accordance with the provisions of ORS Chapter 830, the following area has been designated a "race boat test area
on Upper Klamath Lake".

(2) The race boat testing area will encompass an area on Upper Klamath Lake between an east-west line from the south-
east corner of Wocus Bay and 1/2 mile north of McCormack Point and west of Buck Island.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 56, f. 4-25-74, ef. 5-25-74; Renumbered from 250-20-025

 

250-020-0211

Boat Operations in Lake County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled by electric motors on the following:

(a) Campbell Lake;

(b) Cottonwood Meadows Lake;

(c) Heart Lake;

(d) Lofton Reservoir;

(e) Big Swamp Reservoir;

(f) Deadhorse Lake;

(g) Vee Lake;

(h) Mud Lake;

(i) Withers Lake;

(j) Holbrook Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH on Thompson Reservoir.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH on Dog Lake.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed on Duncan Reservoir.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 49, f. 8-14-72, ef. 9-1-72; MB 81, f. & ef. 4-19-77; MB 4-1979, f. 7-31-79, ef. 8-1-79; Renumbered from 250-20-215; MB 3-1982, f. &
ef. 6-1-82; MB 2-1983, f. & ef. 6-1-83; MB 17-1985, f. & ef. 10-21-85; MB 3-1989, f. & cert. ef. 7-6-89

 

250-020-0221

Boat Operations on Certain Waters in Lane County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH ("Slow-No Wake") in the following areas:

(a) Triangle Lake: Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a designated public launching ramp;

(b) Fern Ridge Lake:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a designated public launching ramp;

(B) In the Coyote Creek Channel;

(C) Between shore and buoy line which extends southerly from the north shore to a point approximately 200 feet of the
northern most Eugene Yacht Club mooring dock thence generally south and west approximately 200 feet of the docks to
a point approximately 200 feet south of the Tri Pass Club mooring dock thence generally west to the southern tip of the
Tri Pass Club dock as buoyed except for the buoyed corridor immediately south of the Eugene Yacht Club southernmost
dock;

(D) South of the buoy line which extends easterly from a point approximately 100 yards north of the Perkins Boat Ramp
to the adjacent shoreline;

(E) In the Main Long Tom River Channel.

(c) Dexter Dam Reservoir:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a designated public launching ramp;

(B) Within 50 feet of the causeway crossing the reservoir.

(d) Lookout Point Reservoir:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a designated public launching ramp;

(B) Southeast of a line between markers on Humphrey Point and the northeast shore.

(e) Cottage Grove Reservoir:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a designated public launching ramp;

(B) South of a line between a marker on the east shore, near the Wilson Creek area, and on the west shore near Cedar
Creek.

(f) Hills Creek Reservoir:

(A) Within 200 feet of a marked swimming area or a designated public launching ramp;

(B) On Packard Creek arm west of Rigdon Road (USFS Road #21);
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(C) On Hills Creek south of the Hills Creek Crossing Bridge;

(D) On the Middle Fork, Willamette River south of the Rigdon Road (USFS #21) (Upper Crossing) Bridge;

(E) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on Larison Creek arm west of Rigdon Road (USFS Road #21).

(g) Collard Lakes;

(h) Picket Lake;

(i) Munsel Lake: West of the line of marker buoys;

(j) Fall Creek Lake:

(A) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp or marked swimming area;

(B) On Fall Creek upriver from the buoys located approximately 200 feet downstream of the Big Fall Creek Road;

(C) On Winberry Creek upriver from the buoys located approximately 1800 feet downstream of the Winberry Creek
Road Bridge.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH on Leaburg Reservoir and the McKenzie River from the
dam upstream to Good Pasture Bridge.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "low-No Wake" speed within 300 feet of a boat launching ramp
or a boat moorage on the following bodies of water (for purpose of this regulation, "Slow-No Wake" speed means the
speed of a boat shall not exceed 5 MPH):

(a) Waldo Lake;

(b) Cougar Reservoir;

(c) Blue River Reservoir;

(d) Siuslaw River-between the river entrance and the highway bridge at Mapleton.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on the following lakes: Scott, Melakwa, Hidden, Blair, Upper
Erma Bell, Middle Erma Bell, Lower Erma Bell, Torrey, Whig, Wahanna, Rigdon, Lower Rigdon, Kiwa, Upper
Eddeeleo, Round, Betty, and Alameda.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose in excess of 10 MPH on Munsel Lake east of the line of marker
buoys, except from June 1 through September 30, between the hours of 10 a.m. and 5 p.m.

(6) No person shall operate a motorboat on the McKenzie River above Good Pasture Bridge, except a representative of
the Oregon State Police or the County Sheriff's Office pursuant to a criminal investigation or search and rescue
operation.

(7) No person shall operate a motorboat, except with an electric motor:

(a) In the Old Long Tom River Channel;

(b) On Hult Reservoir.

Stat. Auth: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stat. Implemented: ORS 830.175
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Hist.: MB 21, f. 8-23-63; MB 27, f. 6-3-65; MB 31, f. 6-20-66; MB 42, f. 12-3-68; MB 44, f. 8-21-69; MB 48, f. 6-28-71, ef. 7-25-71; MB 49, f. 8-
14-72, ef. 9-1-72; MB 3-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 6-22-79; MB 5-1979, f. 7-31-79, ef. 8-1-79; Renumbered from 250-20-131; MB 8-1981, f. & ef. 11-
16-81; MB 5-1982, f. & ef. 6-1-82; MB 6-1982, f. & ef. 6-1-82; MB 15-1984, f. 11-30-84, ef. 12-1-84; MB 6-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-14-95; MB 9-
1996, f. & cert. ef. 5-29-96

 

250-020-0231

Boat Operations in Lincoln County

(1) Depoe Bay. No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 3 MPH on Depoe Bay, and the entrance channel east
of the Highway 101 Bridge.

(2) Devils Lake and adjacent waters:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 3 MPH within 200 feet of the swimming area at "Sand
Point Park" formerly known as "Viewpoint Park";

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 3 MPH on the water adjacent to the "D" River, known
locally as Hostetters Canal;

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH on that part of the "D" River which is west of an
established marker on the south bank of the River near the outlet from Devils Lake.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat powered by a jet pump drive on the:

(a) Alsea River, upstream of Hatchery Creek (approximate RM 12);

(b) Salmon River, upstream of the Highway 101 Bridge;

(c) Siletz River, upstream of Morgan's Park boat ramp.

(4) No person shall operate a boat on the Alsea River in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake", maximum 5 MPH speed within
200 feet of marinas, launch ramps and private docks.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 15, f. 8-6-62; MB 16, f. 8-20-62; Renumbered from 250-20-090; MB 22-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 12-3-85; MB 23-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 12-
10-85; MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 11-1988, f. & cert. ef. 6-28-88

 

250-020-0239

Boat Operations in Linn County on Big Lake

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed in the following areas:

(1) Within 200 feet of the shore.

(2) Within 200 feet of any designated swimming area.

(3) Within the designated posted area surrounding the Big Lake boat landing and ramp.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 4-1980, f. & ef. 9-15-80

 

250-020-0240

Boat Operations in Linn County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose in the following areas:

(a) On Lake Ann;

(b) On Carmen Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH in the following areas:

(a) On Lost Lake;

(b) On Smith Reservoir;

(c) On Trail Bridge Reservoir;

(d) On East, Middle, and West Freeway Lakes.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed within a distance of 50 feet of the boat
dock and launching ramps at Bowman Park in the City of Albany.

(4) The following area is designated a racing motorboat testing area: On the Willamette River near Albany from the
Southern Pacific Railroad Bridge to the east boundary of Bowman Park. Testing will be limited to Wednesdays between
the hours of 8 a.m. and 12 noon.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 34, f. & ef. 6-2-67; MB 47, f. 7-14-70, ef. 8-11-70; MB 50, f. 4-2-73, ef. 4-15-73; Renumbered from 250-20-180; MB 5-1980, f. & ef. 9-
15-80; MB 12-1986, f. & ef. 12-8-86

 

250-020-0241

Boat Operations on Foster Reservoir in Linn County

(1) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers under tow must keep 200 feet or more from shore. A safe
take-off or landing will not be considered "safe" unless it can be accomplished without risk to any swimmer or craft
within 200 feet from shore line. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers must be picked up by the boat
before coming within 200 feet from shore line and brought to shore under the usual speed restrictions (5 MPH within
200 feet of shore). Boats towing skiers may exceed 5 MPH to the extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing
position, within the 200 feet from shore line only when taking off or landing as outlined in this section.

(2) All take-offs and landings shall be made at a 45° angle to the shore.

(3) No boat shall follow behind a skier closer than 300 feet nor cross the towing boat's bow less than 200 feet nor
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alongside a skier closer than 100 feet.

(4) All boats towing water skiers or other towed equipment shall proceed on a counter-clockwise course about the lake.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat at speeds in excess of 5 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within 200 feet of the shore, subject to section (1) of this rule;

(b) Upstream from the highway bridge crossing the Middle Santiam Arm;

(c) Upstream from the highway bridge crossing the South Santiam Arm;

(d) Within 200 feet of any designated swimming area;

(e) Within the posted areas surrounding the Gedney Creek and Lewis Creek Boat Landings.

(6) No person shall operate a boat in the area between the trash boom and the dam.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 43, f. 7-18-69; Renumbered from 250-20-181

 

250-020-0242

Boat Operations on Green Peter Reservoir in Linn County

(1) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers under tow must keep 200 feet or more from shore. A safe
take-off or landing will not be considered "safe" unless it can be accomplished without risk to any swimmer or craft
within 200 feet from shore line. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers must be picked up by the boat
before coming within 200 feet from shore line and brought to shore under the usual speed restrictions (10 MPH within
200 feet of shore). Boats towing skiers may exceed 10 MPH to the extent necessary to maintain the skiers in a skiing
position, within the 200 feet from shore line only when taking off or landing as outlined in this section.

(2) All take-offs and landings shall be made at a 45° angle to the shore.

(3) No boat shall follow behind a skier closer than 300 feet nor cross the towing boat's bow less than 200 feet nor
alongside a skier closer than 100 feet.

(4) All boats towing water skiers or other towed equipment shall proceed on a counter-clockwise course about the lake.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat at speeds in excess of 10 MPH in the following areas:

(a) Within 200 feet of shore, subject to section (1) of this rule excluding the shore of Quartzville Arm from the south
line of Section 20, T. 12S., T. 3E., W.M. upstream to Rocky Top Bridge;

(b) Within the Green Peter Creek Arm as posted;

(c) Within the posted area surrounding the boat launching ramp in Thistle Creek Arm;

(d) Within the Whitcomb Creek Arm upstream from the highway bridge or within the posted area surrounding the
Whitcomb Creek Boat Launching Ramp;

(e) Within the Quartzville Creek Arm upstream from Rocky Top Bridge;
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(f) Within the Middle Fork Santiam River Arm upstream from a point approximately one mile below the Weyerhauser
Bridge;

(g) Within the Tally Creek Arm upstream from the Weyerhauser Bridge;

(h) Within the Rumbaugh Creek Arm as posted;

(i) Within 200 feet of any approved swimming area.

(6) No person shall operate a boat in the area between the trash boom and the dam.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 43, f. 7-18-69; Renumbered from 250-20-182

 

250-020-0243

Boat Operations and Water Skiing on Detroit Dam Reservoir and Tributaries in Linn and Marion Counties

(1) Towed Equipment (applies to surfboarding and other types of towed equipment as well as water skiing):

(a) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers under tow must keep 200 feet or more from shore. A safe
take-off or landing will not be considered "safe" unless it can be accomplished without risk to any swimmer or craft
within 200 feet from shore line. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers must be picked up by the boat
before coming within 200 feet from shore line and brought to shore under the usual speed restrictions (5 MPH within
200 feet of shore). Boats towing skiers may exceed 5 MPH to the extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing
position, within the 200 feet from shore line, only when taking off or landing under safe conditions as outlined in this
subsection. However, water skiing, including take-off and landing, is prohibited in the areas listed in subsections (2)(b),
(c), (d), (e), and (4)(a), and (4)(c) of this rule;

(b) All take-offs and landings will be made perpendicular to the shore line;

(c) No person shall operate a boat following behind a skier closer than 300 feet, nor cross the towing boat's bow less
than 200 feet, nor alongside a skier closer than 100 feet.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of slow-no wake, maximum 5 MPH in the following areas:

(b) Within 200 yards of the northwest shore of Piety Knob;

(c) In the Breitenbush River north of the Breitenbush River Highway 22 Bridge;

(d) Within 200 feet of an approved and marked swimming area;

(e) In the North Santiam River above a point 1,100 feet northwest of Hoover Rock, as marked.

(3) Water skiing, including takeoffs and landing is prohibited in areas listed in subsections (2)(b), (c), (d), (e), (4)(a) and
(4)(c) of this rule.

(4) A "pass-through" one is established in the Breitenbush Arm from the Highway 22 bridge to a point 2000' west, as
marked:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat pulling a water skier or towed device in this zone;
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(b) No person shall operate a personal watercraft, as defined in OAR 250-021-0020, in continuous operation above 5
MPH in this area, except to transit directly through this zone;

(c) No person shall operate any motorboat in excess of slow-no wake maximum 5 MPH speed within 100 yards of any
moorage within the "pass-through" zone.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Hist.: MB 6, f. 8-19-60; Renumbered from 250-20-040; MB 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-23-94; MB 7-1996, f. 4-12-96, cert. ef. 5-1-96

 

250-020-0245

Boat Operations in Linn and Marion Counties

No person shall operate a motor-boat with a jet pump drive on the South Santiam River upstream of the Lebanon Dam
(approximate RM 21).

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; Suspended by MB 1-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-19-88; MB 6-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88

 

250-020-0250

Boat Operations in Malheur County

(1) Lake Owyhee: No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed within:

(a) Cherry Creek Inlet;

(b) 200 feet of a marked swimming area or launching ramp.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 15 MPH on Lake Owyhee or the mainstem Owyhee River within
the designated boundary of the Owyhee Wild and Scenic River beginning at approximately RM 70 as marked.

(3) Bully Creek Reservoir: No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed within 200 feet
of a marked swimming area or launching ramp.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 45, f. 8-25-69; Renumbered from 250-20-210; MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 7-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88; MB 6-
1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-97

 

250-020-0259

Boat Operations in Marion County
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No person shall operate a motor-boat on Mission or Goose Lake except: Electrically propelled motorboats not
exceeding 25 pounds thrust.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 6-1980, f. & ef. 9-15-80; MB 11-1982, f. 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82

 

250-020-0260

Boat Operations and Water Skiing on Detroit Dam Reservoir and Tributaries in Marion and Linn Counties

(1) Towed Equipment (applies to surfboarding and other types of towed equipment as well as water skiing):

(a) Except on safe take-offs and landings, boats with skiers under tow must keep 200 feet or more from shore. A safe
take-off or landing will not be considered "safe" unless it can be accomplished without risk to any swimmer or craft
within 200 feet from shore line. If a safe landing as thus defined is not possible, skiers must be picked up by the boat
before coming within 200 feet from shore line and brought to shore under the usual speed restrictions (5 MPH within
200 feet of shore). Boats towing skiers may exceed 5 MPH to the extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing
position, within the 200 feet from shore line, only when taking off or landing under safe conditions as outlined in this
subsection. However, water skiing, including take-off and landing, is prohibited in the areas listed in subsections (2)(b),
(c), (d), (e), and (4)(a), and (4)(c) of this rule;

(b) All take-offs and landings will be made perpendicular to the shore line;

(c) No person shall operate a boat following behind a skier closer than 300 feet, nor cross the towing boat's bow less
than 200 feet, nor alongside a skier closer than 100 feet.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of slow-no wake, maximum 5 MPH in the following areas:

(b) Within 200 yards of the northwest shore of Piety Knob;

(c) In the Breitenbush River north of the Breitenbush River Highway 22 Bridge;

(d) Within 200 feet of an approved and marked swimming area;

(e) In the North Santiam River above a point 1,100 feet northwest of Hoover Rock, as marked.

(3) Water skiing, including take-offs and landing is prohibited in areas listed in subsections (2)(b), (c), (d), (e), (4)(a)
and (4)(c) of this rule.

(4) A "pass-through" one is established in the Breitenbush Arm from the Highway 22 bridge to a point 2000' west, as
marked:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat pulling a water skier or towed device in this zone;

(b) No person shall operate a personal watercraft, as defined in OAR 250-021-0020, in continuous operation above 5
MPH in this area, except to transit directly through this zone;

(c) No person shall operate any motorboat in excess of slow-no wake maximum 5 MPH speed within 100 yards of any
moorage within the "pass-through" zone.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Hist.: MB 6, f. 8-19-60; Renumbered from 250-20-040; MB 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-23-94; MB 7-1996, f. 4-12-96, cert. ef. 5-1-96

 

250-020-0261

Boat Operations on the Willamette River in Marion and Polk Counties

No boat shall be operated at a speed in excess of 5 MPH on the Willamette River, in Polk and Marion Counties, in the
following locations:

(1) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp or designated swimming area.

(2) From a point 50 feet south of the Center Street Bridge between Salem and West Salem and a point 50 feet north of
the railroad bridge on Marion Street between Salem and West Salem.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 17, f. 2-5-63; Renumbered from 250-20-140

 

250-020-0263

Boat Operations in Marion and Yamhill Counties

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH during July and August between river miles 44.5 and 45.0, as
marked during the hours of 7 - 10 p.m. Thursdays through Sundays, during evenings on which the historic Champoeg
Pageant is performed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 10-1987, f. & ef. 5-5-87

 

250-020-0265

Boat Operations in Marion County

No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled by electric motors on Silverton Reservoir.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 4-1983, f. 9-13-83, ef. 9-16-83; MB 2-1988, f. 2-19-1988, cert. ef. 3-1-88

 

250-020-0266
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Boat Operations in Marion County

No person shall operate a motorboat on Walter Wirth Lake.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 6-6-91

 

250-020-0270

Boat Operations in Morrow County

(1) Lake Penland. No person shall operate a motorboat except those propelled by electric motors not exceeding 30
pounds thrust on Lake Penland.

(2) Willow Creek Lake:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those propelled by electric motors of 30 pounds thrust or less on the
Balm Fork Arm, upstream of a point approximately 1,000 feet downstream of the Balm Fork bridge, as marked;

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a 5 MPH, "Slow -- No Wake" speed within:

(A) Willow Creek Arm upstream of a point on the south shore approximately 1,000 feet east of the boat launching ramp,
as marked;

(B) 200 feet of a launching ramp.

(c) No person shall operate a boat for any reason within the buoy line 100 feet from the dam;

(d) Persons operating in excess of 5 MPH in the otherwise unrestricted portions of the lake shall proceed about the lake
in a counter clockwise direction.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 49, f. 8-14-72, ef. 9-1-72; Renumbered from 250-20-220; MB 5-1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85; MB 9-1985, f. & ef. 4-24-85; MB 5-1992, f. &
cert. ef. 3-18-92

 

250-020-0280

Boat Operations in Multnomah County

(1) No person shall operate a boat in excess of 5 MPH:

(a) In North Portland Harbor (Oregon Slough):

(A) Between a point 300 yards west of the Burlington Northern Railroad Bridge and a point 800 yards west of the
bridge, as marked;

(B) From the east end of North Portland Harbor (Oregon Slough) to a point 700 yards east of the Burlington Northern
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Railroad Bridge, as marked;

(C)Within 200 feet of a launching ramp, moorage or houseboat from the east end of North Portland Harbor (Oregon
Slough) eastward along the south shore to the Lower Airport wing dike.

(b) Within 300 feet of the entrance to and in Rooster Rock boat channel;

(c)Within 200 feet of west shore, as buoyed, between the southern boundary of Willamette Park Launch Ramp and the
northern boundary of the Willamette Sailing Club;

(d) Within Hayden Bay. The Bay is considered to be all waters south and west of a line 200 feet north of the Northeast
point of Hayden Island and 200 feet north of the Northwest point of Tomahawk Island as marked;

(e) Within 200 feet of the Oregon Yacht Club floating home moorage as buoyed (a distance of approximately 1,5000
feet);

(f) Within 200 feet of houseboat moorages in the Govern-ment Island South Channel;

(g) No person shall operate a boat in excess of a maximum 5 MPH, "Slow-No Wake" speed on the Columbia River
south of the buoys along the northern shore of Government Island in the waters adjacent to the I-205 Bridge, commonly
referred to as Commodore's Cove, as marked;

(h) Within 100 feet of the Landing Boat Club at RM 15, Willamette River.

(2) No person shall operate a boat in excess of a maximum 5 MPH, "Slow-No Wake" speed on the Columbia River
within 300 feet of shore between the Big Eddy Wing dike and the wing dike east of the entrance to the Chinook Landing
boat Basin and within the Chinook Landing Boat Basin, as marked.

(3) A "pass-through" zone is established in the south channel of the Columbia River, adjacent to McGuire Island
between the east end of Big Eddy Marina and the west end of McGuire Point Marina as marked.

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat pulling a water skier or towed device in this zone.

(b) No person shall operate a personal watercraft, as defined in OAR 250-021-0020, in continuous operation above 5
MPH in this area, except to transit directly through this zone.

(c) No person shall operate any motorboat in excess of slow-no wake maximum 5 MPH speed within 200 feet of any
houseboat moorage within the "pass-through" zone.

(4) No person shall operate a boat in excess of 3 MPH in Rooster Rock Boat Basin.

(5) The following locations are designated racing motorboat testing areas:

(a) On the Willamette River in Swan Island Lagoon. Testing is limited to the hours of 3-6 p.m. on Thursdays, Fridays,
and Saturdays;

(b) On the Columbia River between the county launching ramp at 43rd Street and Buoy #18 (NOS Chart #18531).
Testing is limited to the hours of 8 a.m. - 12 noon, Tuesday through Friday.

(6) No person shall operate a motorboat on Benson Lake.

(7) No person shall operate a boat for any reason within any restricted area at any time without first obtaining
permission from the District Engineer, Corps of Engineers, U.S. Army, or his duly authorized representative.

(8) At Bonneville Dam. The Waters restricted to only Government vessels are described as all waters of the Columbia
River and Bradford Slough within 1,000 feet above and 2,000 feet below the powerhouse. The restricted areas will be
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designated by signs.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110. 830.175 & 830.195

Hist.: MB 23, f. 9-24-63; MB 26, f. 7-20-64; MB 51, f. 5-3-73, ef. 5-15-73; MB 61, f. 7-26-74, ef. 7-26-74(Temp) & 8-25-74(Perm); Renumbered
from 250-20-155; MB 10-1982, f. 10-13-82, ef. 10-15-82; MB 12-1982, f. 12-29-82, ef. 12-31-82; MB 6-1983, f. 9-28-83, ef. 10-3-83; MB 17-
1984, f. & ef. 12-3-84; MB 6-1985, f. & ef. 2-5-85; MB 10-1985, f. & ef. 4-24-85; MB 15-1985, f. 10-18-85, ef. 10-21-85; MB 20-1987, f. 11-4-87,
ef. 11-15-87; MB 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-90; MB 11-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-16-92; MB 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-3-93; MB 13-1996, f. & cert. ef.
12-4-96

 

250-020-0281

Boat Operations in Multnomah County

No person shall use a motor except an electric motor to propel a boat on Smith and Bybee Lakes in Multnomah County.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-3-93

 

250-020-0282

Boat Operations in Multnomah County on Multnomah Channel

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of "Slow -- No Wake", maximum 5 MPH speed on Multnomah Channel
within 200 feet of boat or floating home moorages located between Hadley's Landing (RM 17.5) dock and the main
Willamette.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 14-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87

 

250-020-0285

Boat Operations in Multnomah and Columbia Counties

Sauvie Island Wildlife Area:

(1) No person shall operate a boat on any water within the Sauvie Island Wildlife Area, including the Gilbert River,
from October 10 to January 20, except for persons possessing a valid Sauvie Island Hunt Permit.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat on Sturgeon Lake from October 10 to January 20.

(3) Exceptions:

(a) Cunningham Slough;
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(b) Gilbert River from its mouth upstream to a point 100 feet upstream of the Gilbert River Dock as marked.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" speed on Dairy Creek and Dairy Creek
Canal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 7-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87

 

250-020-0290

Boat Operations on the Willamette River in Polk and Marion Counties

No boat shall be operated at a speed in excess of 5 MPH on the Willamette River, in Polk and Marion Counties, in the
following locations:

(1) Within 200 feet of a designated public launching ramp or designated swimming area.

(2) From a point 50 feet south of the Center Street Bridge between Salem and West Salem and a point 50 feet north of
the railroad bridge on Marion Street between Salem and West Salem.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 17, f. 2-5-63; Renumbered from 250-20-140

 

250-020-0295

Boat Operations in Sherman County

(1) No person shall operate any boat for any reason within any restricted area at any time without first obtaining
permission from the District Engineer, Corps. of Engineers, U.S. Army, or his duly authorized representative.

(2) At the John Day Dam. The waters restricted to only government vessels are described as all of the waters within a
distance of about 1,000 yards above the dam lying south of the navigation lock channel leading to the lock and bounded
by a line commencing at the upstream end of the guide wall, and running in a direction 54°01'37" true for a distance of
771 yards, thence 144°01'37" true across the river to the south shoreline, as marked. The downstream limit is marked by
orange and white striped monuments on both the north and south shores. These monuments are signs placed very nearly
at the boat fishing deadline of 3,000 feet below the dam.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 6-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-90

 

250-020-0300

Boat Operations on the Nehalem River in Tillamook and Clatsop Counties
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(1) South Fork Nehalem. No person shall operate a boat with a motor rated in excess of 15 HP, from the mouth of
Peterson Creek (RM 10.3) to Nehalem River Falls (RM 15.7), from September 1 through March 30.

(2) North Fork Nehalem. No person shall operate a motorboat above Aldervale.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 14-1985, f. & ef. 7-31-85

 

250-020-0308

Boat Operations in Tillamook County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat, except those propelled by electric motors on the:

(a) Kilchis River, upstream of the Highway 101 Bridge Parks Boat Ramp;

(b) Miami River, upstream of the Highway 101 Bridge;

(c) Wilson River, upstream of the Sollie Smith Bridge Boat Ramp;

(d) Trask River, upstream of the Highway 101 Bridge.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake", maximum 5 MPH speed in the following
areas;

(a) Kilchis River, from RM 0 (as marked) to the Parks Boat Ramp, upstream of Highway 101 Bridge;

(b) Wilson River, from a point 500 feet downstream from the confluence with Hall Slough (as marked) to the Sollie
Smith Bridge Boat Ramp;

(c) Trask River, above RM 0, to the Highway 101 Bridge (as marked);

(d) Hoquarton Slough, entire length;

(e) Tillamook River, above the 3rd Street Bridge.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 21-1987, f. 12-31-87, ef. 1-1-88; MB 12-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-16-92; MB 8-1993, f. 12-27-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

 

250-020-0309

Boat Operations at Three Arch Rocks National Wildlife Refuge, Pacific Ocean, Tillamook County

(1) No person shall operate a boat for any purpose within 500 feet of the principal rocks at Three Arch Rocks National
Wildlife Refuge during the period from May 1 to September 15. Vessel transit through the closed area, including the
arches of the rocks is prohibited. Storm Rock, to the west of Shag Rock, is the westerly boundary of the seasonal closed
area.
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(2) Persons operating boats near Three Arch Rocks National Wildlife Refuge should exercise caution to avoid any
disturbance of nesting birds and marine mammals. Harassment of birds and marine wildlife is strictly prohibited under
federal and state law.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 3-1994, f. 3-23-94, cert. ef. 5-1-94

 

250-020-0310

Boat Operations on Certain Waters in Tillamook County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 3 MPH within the Bay City Boat Basin.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 3 MPH within the Garibaldi Boat Basin.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH within the diked areas of the county boat
landings on Bay Ocean Road and Netarts Bay.

(4) Following special rules apply to Lake Lytle:

(a) "Towed equipment" applies to surfboarding and other types of towed equipment, as well as water skiing;

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 10 MPH between the hours of one hour after sunset and
8 a.m., official time of the State of Oregon;

(c)All boats towing water skiers or other types of towed equipment shall proceed on a counter-clockwise pattern south
on the west shore, east on the south shore and north on the east shore, and west on the north shore;

(d) No motorboat shall follow behind a skier or other towed equipment closer than 200 feet, nor follow alongside a skier
or towed equipment closer than 100 feet;

(e) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH within 300 feet of the south end of the Lake nor within 100
feet of the east shore and the swimming area.

(5) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH on:

(a) Smith Lake;

(b) Cape Meares Lake.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 12, f. 3-27-62; MB 13, f. 8-6-62; Renumbered from 250-20-070; MB 8-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87; MB 12-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-16-92;
MB 14-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-96

 

250-020-0311

Boat Operations on the Nehalem River in Tillamook County



OSMB_250_020_1998

250_020_1998.html[6/24/21, 3:13:37 PM]

No motorboat shall be operated at a speed in excess of 5 MPH within a distance of 200 feet of a boat moorage or boat
launching ramp except under the following conditions:

(1) A boat towing a water skier or other "towed equipment", when departing from a boat moorage may exceed 5 MPH
to the extent necessary to maintain the skier in a skiing position when such departure can be made under the conditions
defined in these regulations as a "safe take-off". The boat towing the skier or other towed equipment departing a boat
moorage under these conditions will proceed directly out of the area where the five mile per hour speed restriction
applies. The five mile per hour speed restriction applies to the boat's return to the boat moorage.

(2) Definitions:

(a) "Towed Equipment" applies to surfboarding and other types of towed equipment as well as to water skiing;

(b) A "Safe Take-Off" is a boat's departure from a site with towed equipment if such departure can be accomplished
without risk of injury or damage to any person or property, including watercraft.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 16, f. 8-20-62; Renumbered from 250-20-071

 

250-020-0312

Boat Operations on the Big Nestucca River in Tillamook County

The following speed restrictions apply to motorboats operating in the Big Nestucca River above the Woods Bridge, "Up
the River"; and below the Woods Bridge, "Down the River" in Tillamook County on Market Road 3A:

(1) Motorboats operating above the Woods Bridge will reduce speed to 5 MPH or less when within 200 feet of a boat
moorage.

(2) Motorboats operating below the Woods Bridge will reduce speed to 5 MPH or less when within 100 feet of a boat
moorage or boat launching ramp.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on that part of the river above Cloverdale between November 1
and March 31.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 16, f. 8-20-62; MB 42, f. 12-3-68; Renumbered from 250-20-072

 

250-020-0323

Boat Operations in Umatilla County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" (5 MPH) speed within 200 feet of a
designated public launching ramp and/or marked swimming area.

(2) All motorboats, including those towing waterskiers operating from the Cold Springs and Sand Station Recreation
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area's on the Columbia River shall maintain a counter clockwise traffic pattern, including launching and landing, as
posted.

(3) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH on Hat Rock Creek Inlet from 100 yards south of the inlet's
confluence with the Columbia River.

(4) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow -- No Wake" (5 MPH) speed on the Umatilla River
between its confluence with the Columbia River and the Three Mile Irrigation Dam.

(5) No person shall operate any boat for any reason within any restricted area at any time without first obtaining
permission from the District Engineer, Corps. of Engineers, U.S. Army, or his duly authorized representative.

(6) At McNary Dam. The waters restricted to all vessels except to Government vessels are described as all waters
commencing at the upstream end of the Oregon fish ladder thence running in the direction of 39°28' true for a distance
of 540 yards; thence 7°49' true for a distance of 1,078 yards; thence 277°10' for a distance of 468 yards to the upstream
end of the navigation lock guidewall. The downstream limits commence at the downstream end of the navigation lock
guidewall thence to the Oregon shore at right angles and parallel to the axis of the dam, as marked.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 5-1984, f. 2-14-84, ef. 2-15-84; MB 16-1987, f. & ef. 6-15-87; MB 7-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-90

 

250-020-0330

Boat Operations in Union County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on:

(a) Grande Ronde Lake;

(b) Mud Lake;

(c) Little Morgan Lake;

(d) Morgan Lake; and

(e) Jubilee Lake except that on Jubilee Lake electric motors are permitted.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat at a speed in excess of 5 MPH on Pilcher Creek Reservoir.

(3) No person shall operate a boat for any purpose within 700 feet of Thief Valley Dam as marked.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 40, f. 4-5-68; MB 7-1978, f. 10-3-78, ef. 10-5-78; Renumbered from 250-20-190; MB 7-1980, f. & ef. 12-31-80; MB 11-1985, f. & ef. 4-
24-85; MB 8-1988, f. 4-21-88, cert. ef. 5-15-88

 

250-020-0340
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Boat Operations in Wallowa County

(1) Wallowa Lake. No person shall operate a boat in excess of 5 MPH within 200 feet from shore along the west side of
Wallowa Lake in the area bounded by the county boat ramp on the north and the mouth of the Wallowa River on the
south.

EXCEPTION: Boats towing water skiers may exceed 5 MPH on safe take offs and landings. A "safe" take-off or landing is one without risk to any
swimmer or craft within 200 feet from shoreline.

(2) Snake River. No person, other than a member of the Department of State Policy, county sheriff, and governmental
agencies of this state and the federal government having jurisdiction over the following described waters, shall use a
motor for propelling a boat for any purpose on the Snake River between Wild Sheep Rapid and Kirkwood Historic
Ranch without a valid permit from the Hells Canyon National Recreation Area or Wallowa-Whitman National forest.

(3) Grande Ronde River. No person, other than a member of the Oregon State Police, county sheriff, and governmental
agencies of this state, and agencies of the federal government having jurisdiction over the following described waters,
shall use a motor to propel a boat for any purpose on the Grande Ronde River between the Umatilla National Forest
Boundary (1.5 miles below the confluence with the Wallowa River at approximately RM 80) downstream to the
Oregon/ Washington state line; except for landowner access for land management activities.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 3-1985, f. & ef. 1-29-85; MB 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-95

 

250-020-0350

Boat Operations in Wasco County

(1) No person shall operate a motorboat for any purpose on Rock Creek Reservoir.

(2) No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 10 MPH on Pine Hollow Reservoir, except between July 1 and the
day following Labor Day, in the area west of a buoy line.

(3) No person shall operate a boat for any reason in any restricted area at any time without first obtaining permission
from the District Engineer, Corps. of Engineers, U.S. Army, or his duly authorized representative.

(4) At The Dalles Dam. The waters restricted to only Government vessels are described as all downstream waters other
than those of the navigation lock downstream approach channel which lie between the Wasco County Bridge and the
project axis including those waters between the powerhouse and the Oregon shore and all upstream water other than
those of the navigation lock upstream approach channel which lie between the project axis and a line projected from the
upstream end of the navigation lock upstream guide wall to the junction of the concrete structure with the earth fill
section of the dam near the upstream end of the powerhouse as marked.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 41, f. 9-18-68; MB 46, f. 4-15-70, ef. 4-17-70; Renumbered from 250-20-195; MB 8-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-90

 

250-020-0360
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Boat Operations on Henry Hagg Lake in Washington County

(1) All boats shall be operated at a "Slow -- No Wake" speed when within 200 feet of shore or marked swim area and on
all waters of the lake lying westerly of a buoyed line located as follows: From a point on the north shore approximately
1,533 yards northwest of Scoggin Dam, to a point on the south shore approximately 2,465 yards northwest of Scoggin
Dam.

(2) Motorboats being operated in the area east of the buoyed line and more than 200 feet from shore shall not exceed a
speed of 35 MPH and shall at all times move in a counter-clockwise direction.

(3) No boats shall enter a buoyed or designated swim area except boats operated by lifeguards or official police boats
during emergency operations.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 65, f. 4-17-75, ef. 4-17-75(Temp), 5-11-75(Perm); Renumbered from 250-20-230

 

250-020-0380

Boat Operations in Yamhill County

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH in the following areas: Within 150 feet of the Newberg
Launching Ramp.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 34, f. & ef. 6-2-67; Renumbered from 250-20-185

 

250-020-0385

Boat Operations in Yamhill and Marion Counties

No person shall operate a motorboat in excess of 5 MPH during July and August between river miles 44.5 and 45.0, as
marked during the hours of 7 - 10 p.m. Thursdays through Sundays, during evenings on which the historic Champoeg
Pageant is performed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 9-1987, f. 4-20-87, ef. 5-1-87
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 21

 

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT RULES

 

250-021-0010

Scope

The following rules shall govern the operation of personal watercraft operating on the waters of this state. These rules
are in addition to all other applicable laws, rules and regulations governing personal watercraft.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1990, f. 5-18-90, cert. ef. 6-1-90

 

250-021-0020

Definitions

"Personal Watercraft" means a motorboat, less than 16 feet, propelled by machinery which:

(1) Uses an outboard motor or an inboard motor powering a water jet pump as its primary source of power;

(2) Is designed to be operated by a person sitting, standing or kneeling on, rather than in the conventional manner of
sitting or standing inside the vessel.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1990, f. 5-18-90, cert. ef. 6-1-90; MB 8-1997, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-97

 

250-021-0030
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Operating Rules

(1) No person shall operate a personal watercraft unless each person operating or riding on such vessel is wearing an
inherently buoyant Coast Guard approved Type I, II, or III personal flotation device (PFD) as defined by OAR 250-010-
0154.

(2) A person operating a personal watercraft equipped by the manufacturer with a lanyard type engine cutoff switch
must attach such lanyard to their person, clothing, or personal flotation device.

(3) No person shall operate a personal watercraft unless it is effectively muffled in accordance with OAR 250-010-0121.

(4) No person shall operate a personal watercraft at any time between sunset and sunrise unless equipped with lights as
prescribed in OAR Chapter 250, Division 12.

(5) Every personal watercraft shall at all times be operated in a reasonable and prudent manner. Maneuvers which
unreasonably or unnecessarily endanger life, limb or property, including but not limited to weaving through congested
vessel traffic, jumping the wake of another vessel unreasonably or unnecessarily close to said vessel or when visibility
around said vessel is obstructed, and swerving at the last possible moment to avoid collision shall constitute unsafe or
reckless operation of a vessel, as provided in ORS 830.305 or 830.315.

(6) The provisions of section (5) of this rule do not apply to a performer engaged in a professional exhibition or a person
preparing to participate or participating in an officially sanctioned regatta, race, marine parade, tournament, or
exhibition.

(7) No person shall operate a personal watercraft in excess of a slow no wake, maximum 5 MPH speed:

(a) Within 200 feet of a boat launch ramp, dock, swim float, pier, marina or moorage, floating home or boathouse, or
locations where persons are working at water levels on floats, logs or waterway construction;

(b) Within 200 feet of a swimmer, surfer, diving flag, bank or wading angler;

(c) Within 100 feet of any anchored or non-motorized vessel.

(d) Except on safe take-offs and landings, personal watercraft shall not operate in excess of a slow no wake, maximum 5
MPH speed within 200 feet of shoreline on all lakes, bays and reser-voirs. A safe take-off or landing will not be
considered "safe" unless it can be accomplished without risk to any swimmer or craft within 200 feet from shoreline.

(8) No person shall operate a personal watercraft in excess of 10 MPH when approaching within 100' of another
motorized or sail vessel underway.

(9) No person shall operate a personal watercraft within 200 feet directly behind a water skier being towed.

(10) No person shall tow a water skier or any floating device with a personal watercraft unless:

(a) Another person on the personal watercraft is continuously observing the person being towed; and

(b) The personal watercraft is large enough to carry operator, observer and the person being towed; and

(c) The personal watercraft is equipped with a "skier-down" flag to be held aloft when the skier or person being towed is
down in the water; and

(d) The personal watercraft is being operated between sunrise and sunset.

(11) Personal watercraft may be used to tow another vessel when rendering assistance.
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(12) No person under the age of 14 shall operate a personal watercraft on the waters of this state, unless accompanied by
a person 18 years of age or over on board.

(13) No person who owns a personal watercraft or who has charge over or control of a personal watercraft shall
authorize or knowingly permit that personal watercraft to be operated by a person under 14 years of age, unless
accompanied by a person 18 years of age or over.

(14) No person shall rent a personal watercraft to a person under the age of 16.

(15) No person shall chase, harass, molest, worry or disturb any wildlife with a personal watercraft except while
engaged in lawfully angling for, hunting or trapping such wildlife (ORS 498.006).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175, 830.195 & 830.250

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 3-1990, f. 5-18-90, cert. ef. 6-1-90; MB 9-1990, f. & cert. ef. 11-16-90; MB 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-28-94; MB 8-1996, f. 4-12-96, cert.
ef. 7-1-96; MB 9-1997, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-97

 

250-021-0040

Special Local Restrictions -- Applicability

The following rules for personal watercraft are in addition to the local operating rules found in OAR Chapter 250,
Division 20:

(1) No person shall operate a personal watercraft on the following rivers, or sections of rivers, that flow to the Pacific
Ocean, with the exception of the Columbia River which is open. This restriction does not apply to reservoir
impoundments on these rivers, unless otherwise noted:

(a) Chetco, above the head of tide;

(b) Rogue, closed between mouth of Snout Creek and the Applegate River. Closed above Gold Rey Dam. All other
areas open;

(c) Pistol, Sixes, Elk Rivers (use OAR 250-020-0082);

(d) Coos, above its confluence with the Millicoma River;

(e) Coquille, above the Highway 42S bridge in the City of Coquille;

(f) East and West Fork Millicoma (use OAR 250-020-0064);

(g) Umpqua, above Scottsburg Park, with exception of impoundments;

(h) Siuslaw, above Highway 126 bridge at Mapleton;

(i) Alsea, Salmon, Siletz Rivers (use OAR 2500-20-0231);

(j) Kilchis, Miami, Wilson, Tillamook, Trask (use OAR 250-020-0308);

(k) Nehalem (use OAR 250-020-0300);

(l) Necanicum (use OAR 250-020-0043);
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(m) Yaquina River upstream of the Toledo Airport boat ramp at RM 9.5.

(2) No person shall operate a personal watercraft on the Willamette River above the Beltline Road overpass at RM 178.
This does not apply to reservoir impoundments.

(3) No person shall operate a personal watercraft on the McKenzie River system. This does not apply to reservoir
impoundments.

(4) No person shall operate a personal watercraft on any tributary stream or river entering the Willamette River.

EXCEPTION: Personal watercraft can use the Clackamas River downstream from Clackamette Lake (RM 0.7) to the Willamette. Clackamette
Lake is open to personal watercraft.

(5) No person shall operate a personal watercraft on the Deschutes River above Heritage Landing boat ramp (RM 0.5).

(6) No person shall operate a personal watercraft on the John Day River (Sherman/Gilliam County) above Tumwater
Falls (RM 10).

(7) No person shall operate a personal watercraft on the Snake River from the Washington border south to Hells Canyon
Dam. Oxbow and Brown-lee Reservoirs are open. The Snake River above Brownlee Reservoir is open to personal
watercraft.

(8) All other rivers of this state are closed to personal watercraft.

(9) Lakes and reservoirs are open to personal watercraft subject to local operating rules found in OAR Chapter 250,
Division 20.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110, 830.175 & 830.195

Hist.: MB 3-1990, f. 5-18-90, cert. ef. 6-1-90; MB 9-1990, f. & cert. ef. 11-16-90; MB 6-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-30-92

 

250-021-0100

Personal Watercraft Livery Operations

No person shall rent, lease or charter a personal watercraft unless the following equipment is provided:

(1) All of the equipment required by ORS 830.210 to 830.420.

(2) An inherently buoyant Type I or III personal flotation device (PFD) shall be provided for each person that will ride
the personal watercraft to comply with ORS 830.215. The PFD must be worn to meet OAR 250-021-0030(1). A Type I
PFD may be substituted for the Type III for rental operations. Fully inflatable PFDs are not acceptable for personal
watercraft rentals.

(3) A decal explaining safe operation of personal watercraft shall be affixed to every rental personal watercraft and
displayed so it is clearly visible to the operator while at the controls. The decal must, at a minimum, contain information
regarding proper use of controls, steering, speed and distance rules, rules of the road and required PFD wearing.

(4) A written copy of the state personal watercraft rules shall be provided to the renter, and any person who will operate
the personal watercraft while rented, leased or chartered. Personal watercraft form PWC-01 shall be reviewed by the
livery operator with the rental customer and signed by both parties. Part I of form PWC-01, signed by the livery
operator and renter, shall be carried on the personal watercraft as required equipment. Part II of form PWC-01 shall be
retained by the livery operator with the record of the rental required by ORS 830.415.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110, 830.250 & 830.410

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.210 - 830.420

Hist.: MB 10-1997, f. & cert. ef. 10-8-97
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Oregon Administrative Rules
1998 Compilation

OREGON STATE MARINE BOARD

 

 

DIVISION 30

 

SCENIC WATERWAYS

 

250-030-0010

Definitions

As used in OAR 250-030-0020 and 250-030-0030:

(1) "Boat" means every description of watercraft used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on the
water, but does not include aircraft equipped to land on the water.

(2) "Carrying Passengers for Hire" means carrying persons by boat for a valuable consideration, whether directly or
indirectly given to or received by an owner, charterer, operator, agent, or other persons having an interest in such boat.

(3) "Emergency Circumstances" means a boat equipped with a motor and passing through an area where the use of
motors is prohibited may, under emergency circumstances, use said motor. Emergency circumstances are deemed to
exist when injury or illness occurs, or when a condition of imminent danger exists.

(4) "Float Boat" means any boat used primarily for drifting with the river current.

(5) "Motorboat" means any boat propelled in whole or in part by machinery, including boats temporarily equipped with
detachable motors.

(6) "Operator" means any person who operates or is in charge of the operation of a boat.

(7) "Oregon Scenic Waterway Boat Permit" means a permit issued by the Oregon State Marine Board, or an agent of the
Board, in accordance with ORS 830.175. The permit authorizes the holder to operate a boat on a specified river, or
section of river, when such river has been designated a Scenic Waterway pursuant to ORS 390.805 to 390.925.

(8) "Party" means one or more persons traveling together.

(9) "Noncommercial Party Leader" means the person organizing a party and applying for a trip permit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS Ch. 830

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110
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Hist.: MB 53, f. 9-26-73, ef. 10-15-73; MB 89, f. 12-27-77, ef. 1-1-78

 

250-030-0020

General Provisions

(1) Types of Propulsion: Motorboats will be propelled by propeller or water jet. Permits will not be issued to hovercraft
or airboats.

(2) Types of Construction: All boats will be of sturdy construction and capable of being operated safely in the currents
and rapids which are encountered. Permits will not be issued to boats or rafts of haphazard construction.

(3) The Director may issue special exemption permits to allow limited research, commercial or marine event boat
operations in areas closed to motorboat use or otherwise regulated by OAR Chapter 250, Division 30. These permits
shall not be issued for normal recreational boating activities or for operations that can reasonably be carried out without
use of a motorboat or within existing motorized restrictions. The Director may condition the permit to minimize the
impacts to the waterway and other users.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110

Hist.: MB 53, f. 9-26-73, ef. 10-15-73; MB 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 8-16-93

 

250-030-0030

Regulations

The State Marine Board is authorized to carry out the provisions of the Federal Wild and Scenic Rivers Act (PL 90-542)
and the State Scenic Waterways Act (ORS 390.805 to 390.925) under ORS 830.175 by regulating boat use through a
permit system initiated by the Board. Authority to limit or prohibit motorboat use is also granted by this statute. The
specific regulations which follow are adopted in accordance with these statutory provisions:

(1) In order to met the goals and objectives of management and recreation plans for the subsequently named rivers, the
State Marine Board will regulate commercial and noncommercial boat use, both for non-powered boats and for
motorboats, by means of a permit system. On occasion the Board may find it necessary to establish interim boat use
levels in order to protect the riverine environment and assure to the users a quality recreation experience. Such limits
may be prescribed in those instances where, in the absence of river management or recreation plans, it finds it necessary
to act to assure compliance with the objectives of appropriate federal and state laws.

(2) It is the policy of the State Marine Board to provide for equitable use of certain designated rivers by commercial and
noncommercial boaters. A system of permits for all boaters, whether they plan to run a river as private individuals or as
patrons of a commercial entrepreneur, may be initiated on controlled rivers when use approaches or exceeds approved
levels or capacity.

(3) No person, other than a member of the Department of State Police, county sheriff, and governmental agencies of this
state and the federal government having jurisdiction over the following described waters, shall use a motor for
propelling a boat for any purpose on the following described waters, with the exceptions stated:

(a) Deschutes River:
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(A) That portion bordering the Warm Springs Reservation, no motors year round. (ORS 830.180)

(B) Between the northern boundary of the Warm Springs Reservation and the mouth of Buckhollow Creek (downstream
from Sherars Falls), no motors from May 15 to October 15, with the exception of ingress/egress by landowners under
special permit issued by the Board. From October 16 to May 14, 1997 no person shall operate a motorboat with the
exception of ingress/egress by landowners under permit issued by the Board.

(C) Between the mouth of Buckhollow Creek and Macks Canyon Campground, no motors from June 15 to September
30, with the exception of ingress/egress by landowners under permit by the Board.

(D) Between Macks Canyon Campground and the Heritage Landing boat ramp, motors will be prohibited during
alternating Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday periods commencing with the first Thursday to Sunday period that
falls on or after June 15, continuing until September 30. No daily restrictions on motorized use from October 1 to June
14.

(E) Between Heritage Landing boat ramp and the confluence with the Columbia River, no prohibitions on motors,
except for OAR 250-030-0041 rule for slow no wake, maximum 5 MPH.

(b) Illinois River - From Deer Creek downstream to Nancy Creek, which is located in the area immediately upstream of
Oak Flat.

(c) John Day River - From State Highway 218 bridge at Clarno downstream to Tumwater Falls between May 1 and
October 1.

(d) Minam River - From Minam Lake downstream to the Wallowa River.

(e) Owyhee River System:

(A) West Little Owyhee;

(B) North Fork Owyhee; and

(C) The mainstem Owyhee River above approximately river mile 70 at Pinnacle Rock, as marked.

(f) Rogue River - from Grave Creek downstream to the lowermost portion of Blossom Bar Rapids approximately 250
feet upstream of the top of Devil's Staircase Rapids as marked, between May 15 and November 15.

(g) Sandy River - From Dodge Park downstream to Dabney State Park.

(h) Waldo Lake - No person shall operate a boat with an outboard or inboard motor at a speed in excess of 10 miles per
hour (ORS 830.185(2)); and no person shall operate a motorboat in excess of a "Slow-No Wake" speed within 300 feet
of a boat launching ramp or boat moorage (for purposes of this regulation, "Slow-No Wake" speed means the speed of a
boat shall not exceed 5 miles per hour) (OAR 250-020-0221(3)).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 53, f. 9-25-73, ef. 1-1-74; MB 64, f. 2-18-75, ef. 3-11-75; MB 66, ef. 4-22-75(Temp), 5-11-75(Perm); MB 76, f. & ef. 5-27-76; MB 79, f.
1-20-77, ef. 5-27-77; MB 89, f. 12-27-77, ef. 1-1-78; MB 12-1984, f. 8-13-84, ef. 8-14-84; MB 12-1985, f. & ef. 7-31-85; MB 21-1985, f. & ef. 12-
4-85; MB 3-1993, f. 2-4-93, cert. ef. 5-15-93; MB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-23-94; MB 15-1996, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-96; MB 6-1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-
97

 

250-030-0041
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Special Regulation -- Manner of Operation

(1) Deschutes River:

(a) No person shall operate a motorboat inexcess of "Slow -- No Wake", maximum 5 MPH, from the Columbia River
upstream to a point approximately 1,500 feet (500 yards) as marked;

(b) No person shall operate more than two round trips from Heritage Landing Boat Ramp or Macks Canyon Boat Ramp
per day, except for emergencies;

(c) No person shall operate a motorboat with more than seven persons on board, including the operator, with the
exception of one U.S. Coast Guard certified tour boat with a maximum of 16 persons operating under BLM Special Use
Permit between the confluence with the Columbia River and Sherars Falls. This passenger capacity does not apply to
persons operating while under landowner ingress/egress permit;

(d) A special "pass through" zone is established from the "Slow -- No Wake", 5 MPH zone below Moody Rapids and
the upstream end of Rattlesnake Rapids, as posted. No person shall stop or anchor any boat for the purpose of picking
up or discharging passengers in this zone, except in an emergency.

(2) Rogue River:

(a) No person shall anchor a boat, except within ten feet of the shoreline, in the following river segments, which are
designated "anchoring prohibited" zones, during the period August 1 to September 30:

(A) From a point approximately 100 yards upstream of the confluence with the Applegate River to a point
approximately 450 yards downstream of that confluence at River Mile (RM) 94.8 as marked;

(B) From RM 93.5 to 94.5, as marked.

(C) Highway Hole -- A 200 foot segment located approximately 1/2 mile upstream of Robertson Bridge (RM 86.7), as
marked.

(b) No person shall anchor, stop or otherwise hold their boats position in such a manner as to impede the safe navigation
of any other craft in the following river segments, which are designated pass through zones, during the period August 1
to September 30;

(c) Brushy Chutes -- From a point approximately 200 feet upstream of the island at RM 88 to a point approximately 750
feet downstream of that island, as marked.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Stats. Implemented: ORS 830.110 & 830.175

Hist.: MB 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 7-6-89; MB 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 7-6-89; MB 3-1993, f. 2-4-93, cert. ef. 5-15-93; MB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-23-94
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