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DIVISION 1
PROCEDURAL RULES

Prior to adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule, the com-
mission shall give notice of the intended action:

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date of the intended

action.

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the com-
mission’s mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(7) at
least 28 days before the effective date of the rules.

(3) By mailing or furnishing a copy of the notice to:

(a) The United Press International;

(b) The Associated Press;

(c) Associations which have expressed an interest in and
requested notice about the commission’s activities;

(d) The Capitol Press Room.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 3-27-
90; OHC 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 1-4-95

130-001-0005
Purpose

(1) The Oil Heat Commission,
established by Oregon Laws 1989, Chapter 926, is authorized by
law to adopt rules to carry out its statutory responsibilities.
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(2) These rules describe how the commission will provide
notice prior to the adoption of rules.

(3) These rules supercede the temporary rules adopted Jan-
uary 18, 1990 and are effective March 27, 1990.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 3-27-

90

130-001-0010
Statutory Authority and Procedure

These rules are authorized by and carry out purposes of Ore-
gon Laws 1989, Chapter 926 and were adopted pursuant to Sec-
tion 39 of Oregon Laws 1989, Chapter 926 and ORS 183.310 et.
seq.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 3-27-

90

DIVISION 5
HEATING OIL ASSESSMENT

130-005-0000
Purpose

(1) The Oil Heat Commission, established by Oregon Laws
1989, Chapter 926, is charged with assessing oil marketers to
finance the costs of the commission for education and conserva-
tion and for remedial action for leaking heating oil tanks.

(2) These rules describe the basis for determining and col-
lecting that assessment.

(3) These rules supercede the temporary rules adopted
December 7, 1989 and are effective April 1, 1990.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,

cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0010
Statutory Authority and Procedure

These rules are authorized by and carry out purposes of Ore-
gon Laws 1989, Chapter 926 and were adopted pursuant to Sec-
tion 39 of Oregon Laws 1989, Chapter 926 and ORS 183.310 et
seq.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,

cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0020
Definitions

All terms in these rules have the same meaning as their com-
mon usage unless the rules state a different meaning. In addition,
the following specific definitions shall apply:

(1) “Assessments” means the moneys to be collected from oil
marketers under Sections 19 and 29 of Oregon Laws 1989, Chap-
ter 926.

(2) “Commission” or “OHC” means the Oil Heat Commis-
sion established by Section 4(1) Oregon Laws 1989, Chapter 926.

(3) “Heating Oil” means Number 1 or 2 heating oil that is
delivered to a tank and used to create heat, excluding only the
petroleum products that are subject to the requirements of Section
3, Article IX of the Oregon Constitution, ORS 319.020 or
319.530.

(4) “Heating Oil Education and Conservation Assessment”
means the assessment established by Section 19 of Oregon Laws
1989, Chapter 926.

(5) “Heating Oil Remedial Action Assessment” means the
assessment established by Section 29 of Oregon Laws 1989,
Chapter 926.

(6) “Oil Marketer” means a person who supplies heating oil
at retail in this state.

(7) “Person” has the meaning given that term in ORS
174.100.

(8) “Gross revenue” means gross receipts, excluding taxes,
from retail sales of heating oil made or provided in Oregon by an
oil marketer. The term includes all revenue derived from retail
sale of product by an oil marketer in Oregon in the regular course
of business, but does not include revenue derived from any other
products or services not directly related to the retail sale of heating
oil.

(9) “Retail Sales” means sales to the ultimate consumer.

(10) “Ultimate consumer” means a customer who purchases
heating oil for his own use and not for resale.

Stat. Auth.:
Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,
cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0030
Heating Oil Education and Conservation Account Assessment

The commission shall by order establish the amount and the
effective date of the Heating Oil Education and Conservation
Assessment:

(1) The assessment shall not exceed one and one-quarter per-
cent of the gross revenues derived from the retail sale of heating
oil in Oregon by oil marketers.

(2) The assessment shall not apply to any gross revenues
derived before the effective date of the order.

(3) The maximum dollar limit for the account for which
assessments may be collected shall be $1.5 million, excluding
interest earnings and miscellaneous receipts.

(4) Each oil marketer shall pay monthly to the commission
an amount equal to the assessment on the gross revenues derived
form the retail sale of heating oil in Oregon.

Stat. Auth.:
Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,
cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0040
Heating Remedial Action Account Assessment

The commission shall by order establish the amount and the
effective date of the Heating Oil Remedial Action Account
Assessment:

(1) The assessment shall not exceed one and one-quarter per-
cent of the gross revenues derived from the retail sale of heating
oil in Oregon by oil marketers;

(2) The assessment shall not apply to any gross revenues
derived before the effective date of the order;

(3) The maximum dollar limit for the account for which
assessments may be collected shall be $2.5 million, excluding
interest earnings and miscellaneous receipts;

(4) Each oil marketer shall pay monthly to the commission
an amount equal to the assessment on the gross revenues derived
from the retail sale of heating oil in Oregon.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,

cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0041
Failure to Report

If any oil marketer fails or refuses to file any required report,
the Commission may estimate the oil marketer’s gross revenue
and make a demand for the assessments due.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 1-1992, . & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-005-0042
Notice of Late Payment and Collections Policy

(1) Twenty calendar days after payment is due, the Commis-
sion will mail a notice of delinquent account and statement that
payment is required.

(2) If payment is not received within 35 days of the payment
due date, the Commission may refer the matter to the Attorney
General’s Office.

(3) If payment has not been received within fifteen days of
the attorney general’s request for payment, the Commission may

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation

1999 Edition

1-306

(11-13-98)



Chapter 130  QOil Heat Commission

file a suit or action, in the name of the State of Oregon, for collec-
tion of the assessment and authorized penalties, fees and costs.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248
Hist.: OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-005-0050
Forms

Each oil marketer shall complete and submit to the commis-
sion the appropriate forms listed below. The forms shall be sup-
plied by the commission. All information provided on the forms
shall relate to the marketer’s Oregon business for the calendar
month preceding the month of submission unless the form speci-
fies otherwise. The forms shall be prepared accurately and com-
pletely by the oil marketer:

(1) OHC Form OM-MS. “Monthly Statement of Gross Reve-
nues” requires information monthly relating to the retail sale of
heating oil in Oregon by oil marketers and gross revenues derived
from those sales. Based on the gross revenue reported and the
assessments ordered by the commission, the oil marketer shall cal-
culate the amount due the commission.

(2) OHC Form OM-ES. “Certification of Excluded Sales”
requires certification that the person derives no gross revenues
from the retail sale of heating oil in Oregon and is not subject to
the assessment.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,

cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0060
Submission Deadline

(1) Except as provided in OAR 130-005-0040, each oil mar-
keter shall submit the completed OHC Form OM-MS required by
OAR 130-005-0030 and payment of the assessments required by
OAR 130-005-0020 and 130-005-0025 on or before the 20th cal-
endar day of the month following the month of reporting.

(2) Except as provided in OAR 130-005-0040, the completed
OHC Form OM-ES shall be submitted on or before the 20th cal-
endar day of the month following the effective date of the com-
mission’s assessment order.

(3) Forms and payments subject to these rules shall be
deemed submitted as of the date of receipt by the commission.
Submissions shall be properly addressed and postage shall be pre-
paid. Each form shall be legible and complete.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,

cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0070
Extension or Revision of Submission Deadline

(1) Any oil marketer which finds it cannot meet the deadline
set forth in OAR 130-005-0035 may apply to the commission for
an extension of time or revision of the submission deadline. The
application shall be by petition setting forth:

(a) The reasons why the deadline cannot be met;

(b) The measures being taken to comply with the deadline;
and

(c) The date on which the oil marketer intends to submit the
required form and payment.

(2) A petition for an extension of time or revision of the
deadline must be submitted no later than 15 days before the dead-
line from which an extension is sought.

(3) The commission may accept and consider petitions sub-
mitted less than 15 days before the deadline, if warranted by
extenuating circum-stances, but may in its sole discretion choose
to waive or impose the penalty for late submission of required
reports or payments.

(4) The commission may grant an extension of not more than
15 days if:

(a) The petitioner makes a showing of hardship caused by the
deadline;

(b) The petitioner provides reasonable assurance that the
revised deadline can be met; and

(c) The extension of time does not prevent the commission
from fulfilling its statutory responsibilities.

(5) Within ten days of receipt of a petition, the commission
shall either grant or deny the petition. If the commission fails to
act within ten days, the petition shall be deemed denied.

(6) The commission chairman is delegated authority to
approve or deny petitions if necessary to ensure timely response,
in compliance with these provisions.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,

cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0080
Assessment Cancellation

(1) The commission, by order, may cancel an assessment
which has been delinquent for five years or more if it determines
that:

(a) The amount of the assessment is less than $1 and that fur-
ther collection effort or expense does not justify the collection
thereof; or

(b) The assessment is wholly uncollectible.

(2) The order shall contain adequate information as to why
the assessment cannot be collected.

Stat. Auth.:
Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,
cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0090
Confidentiality

ORS 192.500(1)(e) exempt from public disclosure the infor-
mation reported under these rules pertaining to gross revenues to
the extent that such information is in a form that would permit
identification of an individual concern or enterprise, unless the
public interest requires disclosure in the particular instance.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,

cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0100
Public Availability of Information

(1) Upon request, the commission shall make available com-
mission records with regard to information submitted under these
rules in accordance with ORS 192.410 through 192.500.

(2) The commission may charge fees to reimburse it for its
actual cost in making such records available.

(3) If under the provisions of ORS 192.410 through 192.500,
a request for records is denied, the commission shall notify the
requestor, in writing, of the basis for the denial and of the
requestor’s right to appeal the denial to the Attorney General of
the State of Oregon, as provided in ORS 192.450.

Stat. Auth.:
Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,
cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0110
Retention of Supporting Documentation

Each person required to complete forms prescribed under
OAR 130-005-0030 shall keep for three years records sufficient to
enable the commission to determine by inspection and audit the
accuracy of assessments paid or due the commission and of
reports made or due the commission.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,

cert. ef. 4-1-90

130-005-0120
Penalties

(1) Except as provided under OAR 130-005-0040, any oil
marketer who fails to pay the required assessments within 60 days
of the time set by the Commission shall pay an additional fine
equal to twice the amount of the assessment.

(2) Except as provided under OAR 130-005-0040, any per-
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son who is ten calendar days late in paying the assessed fees shall
pay five percent of the amount due then and one percent for each
month of delay beyond the first month.

(3) If the oil marketer fails to make timely payment, the
Commission may add the cost of collection to the penalty for non-
payment or late payment.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 1-1989(Temp), f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; OH 3-1990, f. 2-26-90,

cert. ef. 4-1-90; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

DIVISION 10
ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

130-010-0000
Authority and Purpose
(1) The purpose of these rules is to provide procedures for
the orderly conduct of meetings of the Oil Heat Commission.
These rules are adopted pursuant to ORS Chapter 183, ORS
183.330(1) and Section 39 of Oregon Laws 1989, Chapter 926.
(2) These rules supercede the temporary rules adopted Jan-
uary 18, 1990, and are effective March 20, 1990.
Stat. Auth.:
Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, . & cert. ef. 3-20-
91

130-010-0010
Quorum and Rules of Order

(1) Four members of the Commission constitute a quorum.
The Commission may meet to discuss any matter in the absence of
a quorum as provided by ORS 192.610 to 192.690 but may take
no formal action on any matter unless a quorum is present.

(2) A majority of the Commission members present at a
meeting must concur upon any action transacted by the Com-
mission at such meeting. Any proposed Commission action must
be moved by a Commission member and seconded by another
Commission member before a vote may be taken by the Commis-
sion.

(3) Whenever a quorum is present, the members may not
deliberate on or discuss any matter subject to review by the Com-
mission without having first given public notice.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91

130-010-0020
Officers

(1) Section 12, Oregon Laws 1989, Chapter 926 provides
that the Commission shall annually elect a chair. The chair shall
serve for one year or until a successor is elected. Members may
serve successive full terms as chair. The chair may be removed by
a unanimous vote of the other Commission members.

(2) The chair shall preside over all Commission meetings and
shall determine the location of the Commission meetings.

(3) The Commission also shall have a vice chairperson. The
vice chairperson shall be selected in the same manner as the chair-
person and shall serve for the same period of time. The vice chair-
person shall preside over Commission meetings when the chair-
person is unavailable and otherwise assist the chairperson as
needed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92
130-010-0030
Meetings — Date and Location Notice

The Commission shall meet periodically, but at least once
every six months and as determined by a majority of the Com-
mission, at a time and place specified by the chair. The chair may
call a special meeting to be held at any place in this State, upon 24
hours notice to each member and the public. The Commission will
endeavor to vary the locations of its meetings to give persons

throughout the state an opportunity to observe and participate in
its activities. The chair or his designee, consistent with the
requirements of ORS 192.610 to 192.690, shall give notice of
each meeting of the Commission. In the event of an actual emer-
gency, a meeting may be held upon such notice as is appropriate
to the circumstances, but the minutes for such a meeting shall
describe the emergency justifying less than 24 hours notice.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, . & cert. ef. 3-20-

91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0040
Agendas for Regular Meetings

(1) The agenda for each regular meeting will be prepared by
the administrator and shall set out all matters expected to come
before the Commission at the meeting.

(2) The agenda may contain a “Consent Calendar” identi-
fying items which are considered routine, such as minutes of pre-
vious meetings and personnel recognitions which will acted upon
without public discussion. However, if a Commission member
objects to an item on the Consent Calendar, it will be removed
from the Consent Calendar and placed on the regular agenda for
discussion.

(3) Each agenda shall include a designated time period which
has been reserved for the presentation of concerns by interested
citizens who wish to address the Commission. The duration of this
period will be established by the chair and may be lengthened or
shortened at the Commission meeting by the chair as the length of
the meeting, timing and duration of other Commission business
dictate.

(4) The agenda shall identify the proponent of items placed
thereon at the request of members of the public pursuant to these
procedures.

(5) The agenda, together with minutes of all previous meet-
ings which have not been approved by the Commission, will nor-
mally be sent to members at least one week prior to a regular
meeting. The agenda will also be sent to each person or organi-
zation on the Oil Heat Commission’s mailing list, which has
requested a copy.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0050
Matters Not on Agenda

Commission members may with the approval of a majority
of the members, raise matters at a meeting which were not placed
on the agenda. A matter not on the agenda will not be acted upon
unless a majority of the members present agree that the matter is
of substantial immediate concern which should not be deferred
until the next regular Commission meeting. The next Commission
agenda will provide notification of such action.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91

130-010-0060
Order of Business

(1) The order of business of Commission meetings shall be
as follows:

(a) Introduction of new Commission members, resolutions
for retiring Commission members, and other personnel recog-
nition;

(b) Announcements;

(c) Minutes of previous Commission meetings. (Because the
minutes previously will have been sent to the members, the read-
ing of the minutes may be waived.) Corrections, additions and
approval of minutes;

(d) Reports of standing and special committees;

(e) Consideration of agenda items.

(2) The chair, unless a majority of the Commission disagrees
may revise the order of business, and may limit debate on any
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item as necessary to conduct the meeting fairly and efficiently.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248
Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-
91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0070
Requests to Place Items on Agenda

Requests to place items on agendas for discussion only: Any
person wishing to have an item placed on the agenda, including a
suggested place of meeting, of a regular Commission meeting for
purpose of discussion only shall give notice of the request in writ-
ing to the Oil Heat Commission at least two weeks prior to each
meeting. The item will be placed on the agenda only with the con-
currence of the chair.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0080
Requests for Commission Action

Any person wishing the Oil Heat Commission to take formal
action with respect to a particular subject shall file such request,
together with all supporting information, with the Oil Heat Com-
mission at least 20 calendar days prior to the date of the regular
Commission meeting at which action is proposed to be taken. The
item will be placed on the agenda only with the concurrence of the
chair. The foregoing does not apply to petitions requesting the
Commission to initiate a rulemaking proceeding, or petitions
requesting the Commission to issue a declaratory ruling, for which
procedures are set forth in the Attorney General’s Model Rules of
Procedure under the Administrative Procedures Act, as adopted by
the Commission.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0090
Working Groups
The chair may appoint such Working Groups as it deems
necessary, subject to disapproval of a majority of the Commis-
sion. The chair may determine the number of members of such
committees and select the individual members. Those committees
may include such Commission members or other interested per-
sons as the chair deems appropriate. The chair may with a majori-
ty approval of the Commission abolish committees at any time.
The individuals on such committees need not act as a group nor
reach a consensus but may report to the Commission individually.
Stat. Auth.:
Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-
91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0096
Working Group Appointments

(1) It is the policy of the Oil Heat Commission that the com-
mittees and working groups established by the Commission shall
be fairly representative of the industry.

(2) The chairperson of each working group shall be a Com-
missioner, who will be appointed by the Commission chairperson.

(3) Each working group chairperson shall be responsible for
selecting individuals. Each working group member serves at the
pleasure of the chairperson for so long as the chairperson deter-
mines it appropriate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0097
Working Group Responsibilities

The working groups and committees provide recommen-
dations and support to the Commission staff. They report to the
Commission’s administrator.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0100
Commission Files
All Commission files shall be assembled in the Commis-
sion’s official office. The Commission’s files shall be maintained
under the direction of the administrator. The Commission shall
maintain a record of the location of all files. Minutes of all Com-
mission meetings shall be maintained in the Commission files for
at least five years, and thereafter deposited in the State Archives.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248
Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, . & cert. ef. 3-20-
91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0110
Commission Communications

Only the chair and/or the Administrator shall write other than
routine or form letters in the name of the Commission unless
members are specifically authorized in a Commission meeting to
do so. All letters to be sent on behalf of the Commission should be
prepared by Commission staff and copies appropriately filed and
transmitted to the Commission. The Commission should approve
in advance any correspondence which may materially affect poli-
cies and procedures. When a delay might render the Commis-
sion’s functioning ineffective, the administrator may be required
to take immediate action which shall be reviewed at the next
meeting of the Commission.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0120
Commission Agreements

Unless another member is expressly authorized by the Com-
mission, only the chair and/or the administrator may enter into
agreements on behalf of the Commission. The chair and adminis-
trator may enter into such agreements as are necessary to carry out
Commission policy and to enable the effective functioning of the
Commission. Those agreements may include, but not be limited to
working agreements with other governmental agencies as neces-
sary to fulfill the statutory and administrative obligations of the
Commission.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, . & cert. ef. 3-20-

91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0130
Commission Expenditures

Unless another member is expressly authorized by the Com-
mission, only the chair and/or administrator may incur financial
obligations or authorize expenditures on behalf of the Commis-
sion. All such expenses shall be consistent with the legislatively
approved budget and applicable state rules and regulations.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91; OH 1-1992, . & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0140
Conflict of Interest

Because five of the seven Commission members are required
by law to operate as oil marketers, there is a potential or conflict
of interest or the the appearance of such a conflict. Prior to each
meeting the chair shall announce that potential conflict of interest.
Individual Commission members shall also announce a potential
conflict prior to consideration of or action on any agenda item
which may result in benefit to that member distinct from the bene-
fit to all oil marketers.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-010-0150
Rules of Procedure
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The Commission adopts the Attorney General’s Model Rules
of Procedure under the Administrative Procedures Act, June, 1988
edition. In any conflict between the Model Rules and specific
Commission rules, the specific rules shall apply.

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure

is available from the office of the Attorney General or Oil Heat Commission.]

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91

130-010-0160
Waiver and Suspension

These rules are intended to provide guidance for orderly con-
duct of the commission’s business. Inadvertent failure by the
Commission to comply with these rules shall not invalidate any
action. The Commission may also, by a majority of the quorum
present, temporarily suspend these rules.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91

130-010-0170
Amendments

These rules, or portions thereof, may be amended or repealed
at any time by a vote of a majority of the members, and in compli-
ance with the provisions of ORS Chapter 183 governing rulemak-
ing activities.

Stat. Auth.:

Hist.: OH 2-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-90; OH 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-20-

91

DIVISION 15
ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION PROGRAM

130-015-0000
Purpose

(1) The Oil Heat Commission, established by ORS 469.232,
is charged with financing the costs of remedial action undertaken
in compliance with standards and rules adopted by the Department
of Environmental Quality for releases from qualified heating oil
tanks.

(2) These rules describe the basis for that financial assis-
tance.

(3) These rules supercede temporary rules adopted Septem-
ber 1, 1997 and are effective January October 1, 1997 or upon fil-
ing with the Secretary of State, whichever is later.

(4) The provisions of OAR 130-015-0000 to 130-015-0037,
OAR 130-015-0200 to 130-015-0275, and OAR 130-015-0400 to
130-015-0420 apply to remedial action claims for which the
Notice of Claim was received prior to July 1, 1997 and for which
authorization to proceed was granted prior to the effective date of
these rules.

(5) The provisions of OAR 130-015-0000 to 130-015-0037,
OAR 130-015-0300 to 130-015-0330, and OAR 130-015-0400 to
130-015-0420 apply to remedial action claims for which the
Notice of Claim was received on or after July 1, 1997 or for which
authorization to proceed was granted on or after the effective date
of these rules.

(6) Notwithstanding any other provision of these rules, the
administrator shall not approve, provide written authorization to
proceed, or otherwise accept Notices of Claims received on or
after October 1, 1997 or the date this rule is filed with the Secre-
tary of State, whichever is later, unless expressly authorized by
the commission to do so.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-

29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef .1-1-97; OHC 1-1997(Temp), f. &

cert. ef. 9-2-97; OHC 2-1997(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-1-97

130-015-0010
Statutory Authority and Procedure

These rules are authorized by and carry out purposes of ORS
469.228 to 469.286 and were adopted pursuant to ORS 469.248
and 183.310 et seq.

Stat. Auth.:

Stats. Implemented:

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90

130-015-0020
Definitions

All terms in these rules have the same meaning as their com-
mon usage unless the rules state a different meaning. In addition,
the following specific definitions shall apply:

(1) "Administrator" means the Administrator for the Oil Heat
Commission.

(2) "Abandoned Tanks" means a heating oil tank which has
been disconnected from a supply line, return line, or furnace, and
is no longer in use to produce heat.

(3)"Assessments" means the moneys to be collected from oil
marketers under ORS 469.254.

(4) "Building" means any oil heated building with human
habitation, except a building owned by a government agency.

(5) "Commercial processing" means the process use of heat
or water to produce or manufacture a product.

(6) "Commission" means the Oil Heat Commission estab-
lished by ORS 469.232.

(7) “Complex site” means a site which requires remedial
actions under rules other than OAR 340-122-0305 through 340-
122-0360 and presents an imminent risk to public health and safe-
ty.

(8) "Department" means the Department of Environmental
Quality.

(9) "Heating oil" means Number 1 or 2 heating oil that is
delivered to a tank and used to create heat, excluding only the
petroleum products that are subject to the requirements of section
3, Article IX of the Oregon Constitution, ORS 319.020 or 319.
530, or are otherwise used as transportation fuels.

(10) "Heating Oil Remedial Action Account" or "Account"
means the account established by ORS 469.269.

(11)(a)"Heating oil tank" means any one or combination of
above ground or underground tanks and above ground or under-
ground pipes connected to the tank, which is used to contain heat-
ing oil used for space heating a building with human habitation or
water heating not used for commercial processing.

(b) "Heating oil tank" does not include tanks that:

(A) Were abandoned when a release was discovered as
reported to the Department of Environmental Quality;

(B) Are used to contain oil used for space or water heating
for a government owned building;

(C) Are used to contain oil used predominantly for commer-
cial processing; or,

(D) Have been abandoned then placed back into service with-
out a soundness test to demonstrate there has been no prior release
from the heating oil tank.

(12) "Human habitation" means commonly occupied by peo-
ple.

(13) “Imminent risk” to public health and safety means that
the heating oil release is in the immediate vicinity of and endan-
gering drinking water supplies, is intruding or likely to intrude
into structures used for human habitation, or is otherwise deter-
mined by the commission to present a clear and compelling need
for exceptional financial assistance based on potential adverse
public health and safety impacts.

(14) "Oil marketer" means a person who supplies heating oil
at retail in this state.

(15) "Person" has the meaning given that term in ORS
174.100.

(16) "Reasonable cost" means the most cost-effective
removal or remedial actions necessary to comply with these rules
as determined by the commission. "Reasonable cost" does not
include:
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(a) Costs associated with restoring site improvements,
including but not limited to patios, decks, sidewalks, concrete
work, driveways, landscaping, shrubs, plants, or grasses.

(b) Costs paid by the property owner's insurance.

(¢) Costs associated with review of removal or remedial
actions by the department without prior written authorization from
the administrator.

(d) Costs incurred without prior authorization from the
administrator.

(e) Costs associated with removal of the tank, including ini-
tial removal of heating oil and water from the tank, cleaning and
disposal of the tank, and removal and disposal of ground cover to
expose the tank; or replacement of the tank, including replacement
heating oil, installation of the interim or replacement tank, and fill
and ground cover directly associated with the replacement tank.

(f) Costs to complete remedial actions which exceed the most
cost-effective compliance with the rules of the department as
authorized by the commission under OAR 130-015-0079.

(g) Costs associated with remedial actions necessary because
of third-party negligence, including heating oil tank overfill,
release of heating oil through disconnected or broken fuel lines,
release of heating oil through damage to the heating oil tank, or
other causes of release which could have been prevented through
reasonable and prudent actions.

(h) Costs exceeding rates charged other nongovernmental
entities or individuals; and

(i) Costs otherwise not eligible for reimbursement under
these rules.

(16) "Release" means any spilling, leaking, emitting, escap-
ing or leaching into the environment reported to the Department
of Environmental Quality on or after August 2, 1989, the effective
date of the enabling legislation.

(17) "Remedial Action" means those actions consistent with
a permanent remedial action taken instead of or in addition to
removal actions, in the event of the release of heating oil from a
heating oil tank into the environment, to prevent or minimize the
release of heating oil from a heating oil tank so that it does not
migrate to cause substantial danger to present or future public
health, safety, welfare or the environment, but excluding such
costs as may be associated with removal of the tank. "Remedial
action" includes, but is not limited to:

(a) Such actions at the location of the release as storage, con-
finement, perimeter protection using dikes, trenches or ditches,
clay cover, neutralization, cleanup of released heating oil from a
heating oil tank and associated contaminated materials, recycling
or reuse, diversion, destruction, segregation of reactive wastes,
collection of leachate and runoff, onsite treatment or incineration,
provision of alternative drinking and household water supplies,
and any monitoring reasonably required to assure that such actions
protect the public health, safety, welfare and the environment.

(b) Offsite transport and offsite storage, treatment, destruc-
tion or secure disposition of heating oil released from a heating oil
tank and associated contaminated materials.

(c) Such actions as may be necessary to monitor, assess,
evaluate or investigate a release of heating oil from a heating oil
tank in accordance with standards set forth in ORS 465.315 and
rules adopted pursuant to ORS 465.400.

(d) "Remedial action" does not include replacement or instal-
lation of a new heating oil tank or the costs of removal and dispos-
al of the tank, except as provided in OAR 130-020-0005 through
130-020-0025.

(18) "Remedial action costs" mean reasonable costs which
are attributable to or associated with a removal or remedial action
undertaken in accordance with the standards set forth in ORS
465.315 and rules adopted pursuant to ORS 465.400 and 469.248.

(19) "Removal" means:

(a) The cleanup or removal from the environment of heating
oil released from a heating oil tank;

(b) Such actions as may be necessary in the event of a release
of heating oil from a heating oil tank into the environment;

(c) Such actions as may be necessary to monitor, assess,
evaluate the release of heating oil from a heating oil tank;

(d) The disposal of removed material; or

(f) The taking of such other actions as may be necessary to
prevent, minimize or mitigate damage to the public health, safety,
welfare or to the environment, which may otherwise result from a
release of heating oil from a heating oil tank.

(f) "Removal" also includes, but is not limited to, security
fencing or other measures to limit access, provisions of alternative
drinking and household water supplies, temporary evacuations
and housing of threatened individuals and action taken under ORS
465.260 relating to a release of heating oil from a heating oil tank.

(20) “Site Assessment” means the characterization of a site to
determine the most cost-effective remedial actions necessary to
comply with these rules.

(21) "Soundness Test" means a site-specific sampling and
analysis plan adequate to determine if a release has occurred from
a tank, lines or other related elements of a tank system. The plan
shall be approved by the administrator prior to implementation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-

92; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-92; OH 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-93; OH

2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 9-14-93; OH 3-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-14-93; OH 1-

1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-94; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996,

f. 12-26-96, cert. ef .1-1-97; Administrative Correction 11-29-97

130-015-0025
Remedial Action Account Reserves and Balances

(1) The administrator shall periodically determine the bal-
ances available to accept Notice of Claims and pay final claims.

(2) A Notice of Claim balance shall be calculated based on
the sum of the estimated ending cash balance for the biennium
plus the remaining expenditure authority allocated by the commis-
sion to pay claims less pending accepted claims less an operating
reserve, which shall be based on the estimated operating costs
(excluding claim payments) of the commission for 12 months.

(3) A final claim payment balance shall be calculated based
on the lesser of the remaining expenditure authority allocated by
the commission to pay claims, or the preceding month’s estimated
cash balance, less an operating reserve based on the estimated
operating costs (excluding claim payments) of the commission for
12 months.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-

92; OHC 2-1995(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-31-95; OHC 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-

95; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0030;

OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef .1-1-97

130-015-0029
Eligibility Of Tanks For Cost Reimbursement

(1) The remedial action costs associated with a release from
an abandoned tank, line, pipe, or tank system are not eligible for
reimbursement.

(2) If an abandoned tank, line, pipe, or tank system is re-
turned to service, a soundness test, as defined in OAR 130-015-
0020, must be provided to the commission before the tank will be
eligible for remedial action cost reimbursement for any releases
that occur after the tank was returned to service.

(3) The property owner must agree in writing in such form as
may be prescribed by the commission to retain oil heat as the pri-
mary heating source for one year following the date of commis-
sion payment of final cost reimbursement for the heating oil
release cleanup.

(4) Any property owner who fails to retain oil heat as the pri-
mary heating source for one year shall repay to the commission
the full amount of the cost reimbursement plus $300 in adminis-
trative cost.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 3-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-14-93; OH 1-1994, . & cert. ef. 1-20-

94; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0045;
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OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97

130-015-0031
Transferability of Claims

(1) Effective with initial Notice of Claims filed after January
1, 1997, the claims are not transferable to a new property owner.

(2) The new property owner may file a new Notice of Claim
subject to all applicable terms and conditions governing new
claims as of the date of the acceptance of the claim from the new
property owner, except for timeliness requirements of the original
Notice of Release and Notice of Claim, which if met by the origi-
nal responsible property owner shall be deemed to have been sat-
isfied by the new property owner. The new property owner must
file a new Notice of Claim within 20 days of the date of change of
ownership.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97

130-015-0035
Notice Of Release

(1) The responsible property owner or the remedial action
service provider on behalf of the responsible property owner shall
give notice to the department within 24 hours of discovery that a
release from a heating oil tank has occurred.

(2) The responsible property owner or the remedial action
service provider shall give notice to the commission within 48
hours of discovery that a release from a heating oil tank may have
occurred and that there is a potential claim.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef 1-

1-97

130-015-0037
Priority Order Of Payment

(1) Priority for reimbursement shall be based on the date of
receipt of the accepted Notice of Claim up to the Notice of Claim
balance as calculated in OAR 130-015-0025. Priority for costs
added by revisions to the Notice of Claim or in the final claim
shall be based on the date of receipt of an accepted cost revision,
not to exceed the Notice of Claim balance.

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of section (1), property
owners signing an expedited/cost-share agreement shall be paid at
such time as the final claim payment balance is sufficient to make
payment, and prior to those claims which are not participating in
the expedited/cost-share agreement. Expedited/cost-share claims
shall be eligible for reimbursement based on the date of receipt of
the cost-share agreement.

(3) Claims eligible for payment, except for those subject to
the expedited/cost-share program, shall be paid up to the amount
of the final claim payment balance and in the amount and order of
the date of receipt of the accepted Notice of Claim and of any sub-
sequent accepted revisions, up to the final claim payment balance.
Claims eligible for payment which are subject to the
expedited/cost-share program are eligible for reimbursement up to
the amount of the final claim payment balance, and in the amount
and order of date of receipt of the cost-share participation agree-
ment.

(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of sections (1), (2) and
(3), the administrator may assign a higher priority for reimburse-
ment of a claim or categories of claims if the administrator deter-
mines that such action would be cost advantageous to the commis-
sion.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.

1-1-97: Renumbered from 130-015-0089

130-015-0200
Initial Site Assessment and Response
(1) The administrator may authorize in writing qualified

remedial action service providers to complete initial site assess-
ment and response actions at all sites where there has been a
release subject to such limitations as the administrator may
impose.

(2) The initial site assessment may include such actions as
are necessary and authorized under section (1) to characterize fur-
ther remedial action requirements.

(3) The initial assessment and response actions shall not
exceed a cost of $2,500, unless warranted by site specific condi-
tions and approved by the administrator or designee, and exclude
costs associated with tank removal or replacement as defined in
OAR 130-015-00200 (14)(e).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.

1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0041

130-015-0205
Initial Notice Of Claim

(1) Any person liable for the cleanup of a release under ORS
465.255, when incurring remedial action costs, shall give written
Notice of Claim to the commission within 20 days of the date the
release was discovered.

(2) The notice shall be filed in such form as may be required
by the commission and shall include, but not be limited to:

(a) A remedial action proposal, including estimated costs and
the basis for those estimates.

(b) Certification by the property owner as to the eligible use
of the property as defined in OAR 130-015-0020 and 130-015-
0095.

(c) Certification by the property owner as to the eligibility of
the heating oil tank as defined in OAR 130-015-0020 and 130-
015-0029.

(d) Certification by the property owner as to agreement to
use oil heat as the primary heat source, consistent with the provi-
sions of OAR 130-015-0029.

(3) If the estimated remedial action costs in the Notice of
Claim exceed $10,000, the administrator may require the property
owner to receive and submit up to three written proposals with
cost estimates from qualified remedial action service providers to
complete remedial actions consistent with the commission’s rules,
before accepting the Notice of Claim.

(4) With the Notice of Claim, the property owners shall
include evidence of filing a claim with their homeowner insurance
company and a copy of the insurance policy, and shall assign any
cause of action related to such claim to the commission on a form
acceptable to the commission, if such form is available.

(5) In filing the Notice of Claim, the property owner must
elect to use:

(a) The standard Notice of Claim and reimbursement
method;

(b) The expedited/cost-share Notice of Claim and reimburse-
ment method; or

(c) The application for future funding method.

(6) If the initial site assessment has not been completed, the
remedial action proposal shall provide a schedule of intended site
assessment actions and associated costs.

(7) If the initial site assessment has been completed, the
Notice of Claim shall report the results of that assessment and pro-
pose a specific remedial action plan, schedule and estimated costs.

(8) With the Notice of Claim proposing a specific remedial
action plan, the property owner shall state whether the remedial
actions will be completed under the Soil Matrix Rules specified in
OAR 340-122-0205 through 340-122-0360 or through a proposed
alternative method under the department’s rules.

(9) The property owner shall further certify understanding
and acceptance of the cost reimbursement limitations imposed by
the commission on remedial actions completed under the Soil
Matrix Rules by signing the agreement to those limitations on the
Notice of Claim form.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286
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Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.
1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0049

130-015-0210
Revised Notice Of Claim

(1) Any person who has filed a Notice of Claim with the
commission shall submit a revised Notice of Claim documenting
any change from the information provided in the prior Notice of
Claim.

(2) A revised Notice of Claim shall be filed upon completion
of the initial site assessment to report the results of that assess-
ment and to propose a specific remedial action plan, if such infor-
mation was not provided in the initial Notice of Claim.

(3) With the Notice of Claim proposing a specific remedial
action plan, the property owner shall state whether the remedial
actions will be completed under the Soil Matrix Rules specified in
OAR 340-122-0205 through 340-122-0360 or through a proposed
alternative method under the department’s rules. The property
owner shall further certify understanding and acceptance of the
cost reimbursement limitations imposed by the commission on
remedial actions completed under the Soil Matrix Rules by sign-
ing the agreement to those limitations on the Notice of Claim
form.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.

1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0055

130-015-0215
Standard Claim

(1) Unless the person filing the Notice of Claim elects to use
either the Expedited/Cost Share or Request for Future Funding
methods of reimbursement, the claim shall follow the standard
process for reimbursement of costs incurred as prescribed by these
rules.

(2) The person filing the Initial Notice of Claim for the stan-
dard method of reimbursement may submit a revised Notice of
Claim to use either the Expedited/Cost Share or Request for
Future Funding methods of reimbursement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.

1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0059

130-015-0220
Expedited/Cost-Share

(1) Property owners shall have the option of participating in
an expedited/cost-share program. If the property owner signs an
expedited/cost-share agreement, the commission shall be finan-
cially responsible for only the first $3,000 of actual, eligible reme-
dial action costs of the approved Notice of Claim, in accordance
with all other provisions of these rules. In lieu of the $3,000 pay-
ment, commission may offer other alternate financial incentives.
The property owner shall be financially responsible for all remain-
ing costs and loan payments. If costs eligible for commission
reimbursement in an approved Notice of Claim for an
expedited/cost-share program cleanup exceed $10,000, the com-
mission will reimburse the property owner for approved remedial
action costs exceeding $10,000.

(2) For property owners participating in the expedited/cost-
share Notice of Claim, all remaining elements of the commission
Environmental Protection program, OAR 130, Division 15, must
be followed.

(3) Property owners who filed Notice of Claim prior to the
effective date of these rules shall have 45 days from receipt of a
letter from the commission stating that they are eligible to enroll
in the expedited/cost-share portion of the program to sign the
agreement and return it to the commission.

(4) The person filing the Initial Notice of Claim for the Expe-
dited/Cost Share method of reimbursement may submit a revised
Notice of Claim within seven days of filing the Initial Notice of
Claim to use either the standard or Request for Future Funding

methods of reimbursement.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248
Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286
Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.
1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0065

130-015-0225
Request For Future Funding

(1) A property owner who has complied with all other provi-
sions of these rules and decides to proceed with a cleanup prior to
receiving authorization to proceed shall first submit an application
to the commission for future funding approval, on such form as
may be approved and provided by the commission. The form will
include a section for the administrator to authorize the property
owner to proceed with future funding.

(2) The property owner shall be liable for paying all costs
incurred by the remedial action service provider and will be reim-
bursed by the commission only when funds are available.

(3) Only those charges which are reasonable under the com-
mission's rules will be reimbursed, and any charges incurred
which the commission concludes are not reasonable will be the
property owner’s responsibility.

(4) The commission will release funds only when it has
received all information necessary to determine compliance with
the commission’s rules and to issue a record of environmental
cleanup.

(5) If the administrator has approved the application for
future funding, the administrator may authorize reimbursement
not to exceed $3,000 or eligible actual, reasonable and necessary
costs, whichever is less.

(6) This process does not change the priority order for pay-
ment of the claim.

(7) Remedial actions completed under these provisions shall
meet all other rules and standards of the commission.

(8) The person filing the application for the Request for
Future Funding method of reimbursement may submit a revised
Notice of Claim within seven days of filing the application to use
either the standard or Expedited/Cost Share methods of reim-
bursement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.

1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0069

130-015-0230
Initial Determination Of Eligibility

(1) Except as provided in the provisions for Initial Assess-
ment and Response, within five working days of receiving a com-
plete Notice of Claim, the administrator shall notify the respon-
sible property owner in writing whether the claim is eligible for
cost reimbursement or has been denied in whole or in part.

(2) A Notice of Claim will not be considered complete unless
all required information is provided, and the administrator may
not accept a claim as complete unless the administrator concludes
that the proposed remedial action and costs meet the commis-
sion’s requirements for cost reimbursement.

(3) If the Notice of Claim balance as calculated in OAR 130-
015-0025 is insufficient to cover the claim and to issue an authori-
zation to proceed with the remedial actions, the notification shall
state that the property owner is responsible for all costs incurred
and may be eligible for reimbursement only when the final claim
payment balance is sufficient to make payment.

(4) Until administrator approval, rejection or modification of
the written Notice of Claim, eligible remedial action costs are lim-
ited to those authorized under the provisions for Initial Assess-
ment and Response. The Notice of Claim approved by the
administrator shall be for the specific actions and specific dollar
limit for work to be completed at an eligible site, unless modified
in writing by the administrator.

(5) The administrator shall approve only those Notices of
Claims that include the most cost-effective method of meeting the
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requirements contained in these rules.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248
Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286
Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.
1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0072

130-015-0235
Authorization To Proceed

(1) When the administrator determines that the Notice of
Claim balance as calculated in OAR 130-015-0025 is sufficient to
cover the claim, the administrator shall provide the property
owner and the remedial action service provider with written
authorization to proceed with the approved remedial actions,
based on the accepted Notice of Claim.

(2) Such authorization shall be contingent upon receiving
within 20 days of the date of written authorization, a remedial
action schedule, including estimated billing amounts on a sched-
ule of two-month periods beginning with January of the respective
calendar year.

(3) The authorization to proceed shall be rescinded if:

(a) The remedial action schedule is not received within 20
days; or

(b) Work is not completed within 120 days of the authori-
zation or consistent with an alternate schedule filed by the proper-
ty owner or remedial action service provider and approved by the
administrator in writing, before the initial 120 day period or the
period provided in an approved alternate schedule has elapsed.

(4) If the authorization to proceed is rescinded under the pro-
visions of section (3) of this rule, a person incurring costs for
remedial action may submit a new Notice of Claim, which will be
subject to all applicable provisions of these rules.

(5) If additional costs are anticipated, a revised Notice of
Claim shall be filed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.

1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0079

130-015-0240
Cost Reimbursement Limitation

(1) The amount of cost reimbursement shall be limited by the
following percentage of the approved Notice of Claim:

(a) Single Family Dwelling: 100 percent.

(b) Commercial, Non Profit: 50 percent.

(2) The designated use of the property shall be based on the
use with the lowest eligible percentage of reimbursement during
the period beginning with the date the release was discovered and
ending with final payment by the commission.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 3-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-14-93; OH 1-1994, . & cert. ef. 1-20-

94; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0046;

OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0095

130-015-0245
Remedial Action Progress Review

(1) The administrator or designee shall review claims in pro-
cess to determine whether the remedial actions are consistent with
the requirements contained in these rules.

(2) The property owner shall provide the administrator or
designee with information on request and reasonable access to
inspect the site as may be necessary for this review and determi-
nation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-

92; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0070;

OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0105

130-015-0250
Reasonable Cost Standards
(1) Only those costs which are not paid by the property

owner’ insurance shall be eligible for cost reimbursement.

(2) Remedial action service providers shall not receive reim-
bursement for costs exceeding those set forth in Table 1 unless
the administrator has given written authorization. The administra-
tor may grant specific exceptions for any specific Notice of Claim
if warranted based on extenuating circumstance documented by
the remedial action service provider.

(3) Property owners and remedial action service providers
shall not receive reimbursement for costs exceeding those reason-
ably required to cost-effectively meet the department’s standards
as authorized by the commission.

(4) Remedial action service providers are prohibited from
directly or indirectly charging either the commission or the
responsible property owner for any remedial action costs in addi-
tion to those included in the Notice of Claim or revised Notice of
Claim, unless the property owner has agreed in writing to pay
such costs.

(5) The property owner may elect to perform site remediation
under the department’s Soil Matrix Cleanup Rules specified in
OAR 340-122-0205 through 340-122-0360 or through an alter-
native method complying with the department’s rules. If the prop-
erty owner elects to complete the remedial actions under the
department’s Soil Matrix Rules, the commission will pay a maxi-
mum of $3,000 of cost-effective cleanup costs associated with the
cleanup of the property, not to exceed eligible, reasonable and
necessary actual costs, unless the administrator expressly autho-
rizes additional reimbursement as a more cost-effective than an
alternative method allowed by the department’s rules. The pay-
ment is subject to all commission rules concerning reasonable and
cost-effective cleanups.

[ED. NOTE: The Table referenced in this rule is not printed in the OAR Com-

pilation. Copies are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-

92; OHC 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-14-94; OHC 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 1-4-95;

OHC 2-1995(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-31-95; OHC 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-95;

OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0060; OHC 1-

1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0109

130-015-0255
Record Of Environmental Cleanup

(1) When the administrator or designee conclude that no
additional remedial actions are necessary to comply commission’s
rules, the commission shall issue a record of environmental
cleanup to the property owner indicating that the remedial actions
eligible for cost reimbursement by the commission are complete.
A copy of the record shall be sent to the Remedial Action Service
Provider and the department.

(2) Should new information cause the commission to con-
clude that additional remedial actions are necessary at the site, the
commission will rescind the record of environmental cleanup and
provide guidance on actions which must be completed before a
new record of environmental cleanup will be issued.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 1-4-95; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95;

Renumbered from 130-015-0075; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97;

Renumbered from 130-015-0115

130-015-0260
Progress Payments

(1) The commission may make progress payments on quali-
fied, accepted claims where the remedial actions are limited to soil
or on sites which have affected groundwater and where a Correc-
tive Action Plan is required under OAR 340-122-0250:

(a) The written request to the commission for progress pay-
ments shall be filed with a Notice of Claim.

(b) The request for progress payment shall not exceed actual
costs incurred for services provided.

(¢) The request for progress payment shall not exceed the eli-
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gible percentage of the claim for cost reimbursement.

(d) Invoices may be filed with the commission for the
progress payments, not to exceed actual costs incurred, for up to
100 percent of actual receipted costs and 90 percent of the balance
of the total accepted eligible percentage of the Notice of Claim,
consistent with the accepted remedial action plan and schedule.
The invoices shall include documentation of the actual costs
incurred.

(2) For progress payments for sites affecting groundwater
where a Corrective Action Plan is required under OAR 340-122-
0250, the administrator may make progress payments on accepted
claims for which the remedial actions will not be completed with-
in 60 days of receipt of the Notice of Claim by the commission
and where a Corrective Action Plan is required under OAR 340-
122-0250. In addition:

(a) The written request to the commission for progress pay-
ments shall be filed with a Corrective Action Plan, which shall
include a schedule of proposed remedial actions and payments.

(b) The Corrective Action Plan shall be submitted to the
department for approval.

(c) Within 30 days of receipt of notice of approval of the plan
by the department, the administrator shall either adopt, modify or
reject the proposed progress payment schedule.

(d) Invoices may be filed with the commission for the pro-
gress payments, not to exceed actual costs incurred, for up to 100
percent of actual receipted costs and 90 percent of the balance of
the total eligible percentage of the Notice of Claim, consistent
with the accepted Corrective Action Plan and schedule. The
invoices shall include documentation of the actual costs incurred.

(e) If the remedial action plan has been approved in writing
by the department and both the plan and the proposed payment
schedule have been accepted by the administrator, the commission
may pay the invoices within 30 days of receipt, subject to the pro-
visions of the Remedial Action Account Reserves and Balances
listed in OAR 130-015-0025.

(3) For progress payments at a site where the Remedial
Action Services Provider has been changed, the commission may
pay the original Service Provider 100 percent of actual receipted
costs and 90 percent of the balance of the total accepted Notice of
Claim amount for remedial actions completed, consistent with the
necessary required remedial actions remaining at the site. The
final ten percent billing would be included in the first progress
payment of the new contractor. Invoices shall include documen-
tation of the actual costs incurred.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, t. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-

92; OH 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-93; OH 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 9-14-93; OH

3-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-14-93; OH 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-94; OHC

4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0100; OHC 1-1996,

f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0129

130-015-0265
Claims For Final Payment

(1) A completed claim for final payment must be filed with
the commission within 90 days after the remedial actions are com-
pleted. If the claim for final payment is incomplete, the adminis-
trator may request information needed to make the claim com-
plete.

(2) To be deemed complete, a claim for final payment shall
provide all information necessary for the administrator to deter-
mine that the remedial action complies with the commission’s
rules. Such information shall include, but not be limited to, the
following:

(a) Representative photographic documentation of the site
before, during and after the remedial actions;

(b) Written proof of the remedial action costs, filed in such
form as may be required by the commission and to the extent
practical in such form and including such information as neces-
sary to comply with the department’s reporting requirements; and

(c) Copies of invoices detailing time and materials costs,
including invoices documenting the separate billing of costs and

the actions covered by tank replacement programs.

(3) Claims that are obviously incomplete or that do not con-
tain the required information will not be accepted and shall be
returned for completion. If the administrator determines that addi-
tional information is necessary before making a completeness
determination, it may request such information in writing and set a
reasonable deadline for a response. The claim will not be consid-
ered completed until adequate information is received. If the addi-
tional information is not provided by the deadline specified, the
claim shall be determined to be incomplete, and the claim shall be
denied. When the information in the claim is deemed adequate,
the administrator will process the claim.

(4) Within 60 days of receiving a complete claim for final
payment, the administrator shall determine whether the claim shall
be paid, in full or in part, or rejected. The administrator may
extend this time by up to 30 days by giving written notice of the
extension to the claimant.

(5) No person shall willfully conceal or misrepresent any
material fact or circumstances concerning claim for or proof of the
remedial action costs incurred.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OH 3-1993(Temp), f. & cert.

ef. 9-14-93; OH 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-94; OCH 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 1-4-

95; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0080;

OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0135

130-015-0270
Qualified Remedial Action Service Providers

(1) Eligibility for reimbursement of remedial action costs
incurred by a person providing the service for a fee shall be limit-
ed to persons who have:

(a) Filed with the commission written certification to comply
with the commission’s Reasonable Cost Standards adopted under
OAR 130-015-0109. Such certification shall also apply to billings
for subcontractors used for the commission financed remedial
actions.

(b) Filed with the commission current and adequate certifi-
cates of all insurance, including workers compensation and liabili-
ty, which show the limits of liability for all coverages. A mini-
mum of $1,000,000 in general liability insurance must be
maintained;

(c) Been and are licensed by the Department of Environ-
mental Quality as qualified to perform remedial actions, under
OAR 340, Division 162 or 163.

(d) Filed with the commission documentation as required by
the commission that the person has the necessary skills, experi-
ence and training to meet the Tier I, II, or III provider qualifi-
cations.

(e) Completed the commission’s remedial action training
seminar.

(f) Filed with the commission annually a compiled financial
statement for the company.

(2) To qualify as a Tier I Service Provider, a person shall
demonstrate his/her knowledge of the environmental regulations
which govern petroleum release remediation and its experience in
meeting cleanup requirements in a cost-effective manner.

(3) To qualify as a Tier II Service Provider, a person shall
demonstrate his/her knowledge of the environmental regulations
which govern petroleum release remediation, its experience in
meeting cleanup requirements in a cost-effective manner, and its
ability to accurately predict the movement of petroleum products
underground through complex site geology.

(4) To qualify as a Tier III Service Provider, a person shall
demonstrate his/her knowledge of the environmental regulations
which govern petroleum remediation, its experience in meeting
cleanup requirements in a cost-effective manner, its ability to
accurately predict the movement of petroleum products under-
ground through complex site geology, and its ability to assess and
remediate groundwater contamination in a cost-effective manner.

(5) Within 60 days of the effective date of these rules, the
commission shall establish and may periodically revise a list of
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persons who have met these eligibility requirements.

(6)(a) In addition to other penalties prescribed by law, the
commission may exclude from such lists of qualified persons:

(A) Any person who has concealed, omitted, or misrepre-
sented any material fact or circumstance concerning a claim for or
proof of remedial action costs including providing false informa-
tion regarding charges to be paid on a remedial action or altering
receipts or records such that items which would normally not be
eligible for reimbursement appear to fall within the commission’s
Reasonable Cost Standards or equivalents adopted under OAR
130-015-0109;

(B) Any person who has misrepresented compliance with the
commission’s standards for reimbursement;

(C) Any person who provides false information regarding the
commission’s Environmental Protection Program or the depart-
ment’s cleanup requirements to an oil heat customer eligible for
cleanup claims under this program;

(D) Any person who demonstrates a material lack of know-
ledge regarding the cleanup requirements of the department or a
material lack of knowledge regarding standard practices in proper
remedial actions to be undertaken when petroleum product releas-
es have occurred;

(E) Any person who undertakes other actions the commission
finds to be detrimental to the Environmental Protection Program.

(b) The exclusion shall remain in effect until restitution has
been made, if ordered by the commission, and the person has
demonstrated to the commission by sworn affidavit or equal proof
that adequate corrective actions have been taken or that appro-
priate procedures have been instituted to prevent recurrence;

(c) Any person excluded shall be notified in writing of the
commission’s action and shall have 30 days to request in writing a
hearing before the commission, except that such a request shall
not stay the commission’s action.

(d) Within 60 days of receipt of a written request for a hear-
ing, the commission shall hold a contested case hearing as provid-
ed by ORS Chapter 183 and enter a final order vacating, modify-
ing, or affirming the action.

(7) The Remedial Action Service Provider for a commission
eligible project shall be qualified by this section.

(8) Once such a list has been established, only remedial
actions provided by qualified persons on the list shall be eligible
for cost reimbursement through the remedial action account.

(9) Notwithstanding section (8) of this rule, the commission
in its discretion may make reimbursements to persons not on the
list, if warranted by exceptional circumstances.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, t. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-

92; OH 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-93; OH 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 9-14-93; OHC

4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0110; OHC 1-1996,

f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0139
130-015-0275
Contracted Remedial Action Service Providers

(1) If following periodic review of claims payments, the
commission concludes that it may be more cost-effective to com-
petitively bid price agreements for remedial action services, it
may do so.

(2) The commission may select from the list of otherwise
qualified service providers, through the competitive biding pro-
cess, those who offer the most cost advantageous terms and condi-
tions or are willing and able to provide the services within price
guidelines established in the solicitation.

(3) The commission shall maintain a list, which shall super-
sede previously established lists, of remedial action service
providers selected, qualified and eligible to receive reimbursement
of remedial action costs.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-

29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0120; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-

1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0145

130-015-0300
Initial Notice Of Claim

(1) Any person liable for the cleanup of a release under ORS
465.255, when incurring remedial action costs, shall give written
Notice of Claim to the commission within 20 days of the date the
release was discovered.

(2) The notice shall be filed in such form as may be required
by the commission and shall include, but not be limited to:

(a) A remedial action proposal, including estimated costs and
the basis for those estimates.

(b) Certification by the property owner as to the eligible use
of the property as defined in OAR 130-015-0020 and 130-015-
0320.

(c) Certification by the property owner as to the eligibility of
the heating oil tank as defined in OAR 130-015-0020 and 130-
015-0029.

(d) Certification by the property owner as to agreement to
use oil heat as the primary heat source, consistent with the provi-
sions of OAR 130-015-0029.

(e) Certification by the property owner that the property
owner has signed a cost-recovery agreement with the department,
unless the commission has waived this certification requirement
because the commission is completing its own environmental
compliance review under the provisions of OAR 130-015-0330
2)(@).

(3) If the claim is eligible for cost reimbursement in excess of
$10,000, the administrator may require the property owner to
receive and submit up to three written proposals with cost esti-
mates from remedial action service providers to complete remedi-
al actions consistent with the commission’s rules, before accepting
the Notice of Claim.

(4) With the Notice of Claim, the property owners shall state
whether they have insurance which may cover all or part of the
claim and certify as to their understanding and agreement that the
reimbursement from the commission shall be exclusive of costs
reimbursable by their insurance coverage.

(5) If sufficient information is not available to fully describe
necessary remedial action services and costs, the remedial action
proposal shall provide a schedule of actions needed to complete
that analysis.

(6) If the analysis has been completed, the Notice of Claim
shall report the results and include the proposed remedial action
plan, schedule and estimated costs.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef .1-1-97

130-015-0305
Revised Notice Of Claim

(1) Any person who has filed a Notice of Claim with the
commission shall submit a revised Notice of Claim documenting
any change from the information provided in the prior Notice of
Claim.

(2) A revised Notice of Claim shall be filed upon completion
of any pending analysis necessary to propose a specific remedial
action plan, if such information was not provided in the initial
Notice of Claim.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef .1-1-97

130-015-0310
Initial Determination Of Eligibility

(1) Within five working days of receiving a complete Notice
of Claim, the administrator shall notify the responsible property
owner in writing whether the claim is eligible for cost reimburse-
ment or has been denied in whole or in part.

(2) A Notice of Claim will not be considered complete unless
all required information is provided, and the administrator may
not accept a claim as complete unless the administrator concludes
that the proposed remedial action and costs meet the commis-
sion’s requirements for cost reimbursement.
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(3) If the Notice of Claim balance as calculated in OAR 130-
015-0025 is insufficient to cover the claim and to issue payment
authorization, the notification shall state that the property owner is
responsible for all costs incurred and may be eligible for reim-
bursement only when the final claim payment balance is sufficient
to make payment.

(4) Remedial action costs incurred prior to acceptance of the
Notice of Claim in writing by the administrator are eligible for
cost reimbursement by the commission if such costs are included
in the accepted Notice of Claim, subject to the cost reimbursement
limitations in effect for such claims when final payment authori-
zation is granted.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef .1-1-97

130-015-0320
Cost Reimbursement Limitation

(1) Effective July 1, 1997 and annually thereafter or at such
other times as the commission deems necessary to maintain pru-
dent final claim balances, the commission shall set the maximum
amount or percentage of cost reimbursement for claims, with the
payment to be the lesser of that amount or actual costs incurred.

(2) The commission may allocate grant financing for special
needs. Notwithstanding the provisions of section (1), the com-
mission may set the maximum amount or percentage of cost
reimbursement for such claims at up to the full amount of the final
claim, not to exceed actual costs incurred, with the total annual
payment of all such claims not to exceed the total amount allocat-
ed by the commission.

(3) In setting such limitations, the commission shall deter-
mine whether the limitations shall apply only to new claims filed
after the effective date of the limitation or to all claims pending
final payment authorization as of the effective date of the limita-
tion.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef .1-1-97

130-015-0325
Payment Authorization

(1) When the administrator determines that the Final Claim
Payment balance as calculated in OAR 130-015-0025 is sufficient
to cover the claim, the administrator shall provide the property
owner and the remedial action service provider with written
authorization of eligibility for payment.

(2) Such authorization shall be contingent upon receiving
within 20 days of the date of written authorization a remedial
action schedule, including estimated billing amount on a schedule
of two-month periods beginning with January of the respective
calendar year.

(3) The authorization shall be rescinded if:

(a) The remedial action schedule is not received within 20
days; or

(b) Work is not completed within 180 days of the authori-
zation or consistent with an alternate schedule filed by the proper-
ty owner or remedial action service provider and approved by the
administrator in writing before the initial 180 day period or the
period provided in the approved alternate schedule has elapsed.

(4) If the authorization is rescinded under the provisions of
section (3) of this rule, a person incurring costs for remedial
action may submit a new Notice of Claim subject to all applicable
terms and conditions governing new claims as of the date of the
acceptance of the new claim, except for the timeliness require-
ments of the original Notice of Release and Notice of Claim,
which if met by original claim shall be deemed to have been satis-
fied.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef .1-1-97; OHC 2-1997(Temp), f. &

cert. ef. 10-1-97

130-015-0330
Claims For Final Payment

(1) A completed claim for final payment must be filed with
the commission within 90 days after the remedial actions are com-
pleted or at such earlier time as the costs incurred are equal to or
greater than the amount of cost reimbursement offered by the
commission. If the claim for final payment is incomplete, the
administrator may request information needed to make the claim
complete.

(2) To be deemed complete, a claim for final payment shall
provide all information necessary for the administrator to deter-
mine that the remedial action complies with the commission’s
rules. Such information shall include, but not be limited to, the
following:

(a) Representative photographic documentation of the site
before, during and after the remedial actions;

(b) Written proof of the remedial action costs, filed in such
form as may be required by the commission and to the extent
practical in such form and including such information as neces-
sary to comply with the department’s reporting requirements; and

(c) Copies of invoices detailing time and materials costs,
including invoices documenting the separate billing of costs and
the actions covered by tank replacement programs.

(d) A copy of the final and complete financial statement of
settlement from any applicable insurance if available at the time
the final claim is filed. If the final and complete financial state-
ment of settlement from any applicable insurance is not then
available, such statement shall be filed with the commission with-
in 30 days of subsequent receipt by the property owner. If the set-
tlement reduces actual costs to the property owner to an amount
less than reimbursed by the commission, the property owner shall
also repay the difference to the commission within 30 days of
receipt of the settlement.

(e) A copy of a letter from the department stating that no fur-
ther action is required at the site if available. If the department
cannot complete or has not completed its review in a timely man-
ner, the commission may complete its own review to determine
whether the actions meet or are consistent with the requirements
of these rules.

(3) Claims that are obviously incomplete or that do not con-
tain the required information will not be accepted and shall be
returned for completion. If the administrator determines that addi-
tional information is necessary before making a completeness
determination, the administrator may request such information in
writing and set a reasonable deadline for a response. The claim
will not be considered completed until adequate information is
received. If the additional information is not provided by the dead-
line specified, the claim shall be determined to be incomplete, and
the claim shall be denied. When the information in the claim is
deemed adequate, the administrator will process the claim.

(4) Within 60 days of receiving a complete claim for final
payment, the administrator shall determine whether the claim shall
be paid, in full or in part, or rejected, subject to the cost reim-
bursement limitations. The administrator may extend this time by
up to 30 days by giving written notice of the extension to the
claimant.

(5) No person shall willfully conceal or misrepresent any
material fact or circumstances concerning claim for or proof of the
remedial action costs incurred.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef .1-1-97; OHC 2-1997(Temp), f. &

cert. ef. 10-1-97

130-015-0400
Denial of Claims

(1) Failure of the property owner or the remedial action ser-
vice provider to comply with the provisions of OAR 130-015-
0029, 130-015-0049(1), (2) or (3), 130-015-0105 shall result in
denial of the claim by the administrator.

(2) Failure of the property owner or the remedial action ser-
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vice provider to comply with any other provisions of these rules
shall be cause for the administrator to deny the claim, unless an
exception is warranted by extenuating circumstances presented in
writing by the property owner.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef.

1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0149

130-015-0405
Appeal

(1)(a) Any person whose claim has been denied or who has
received less than the full amount of the eligible percentage of the
claim for reasons other than insufficient account balances, as pro-
vided in OAR 130-015-0025, may seek up to the full amount of
the claim by filing a demand for a hearing with the commission.

(b) The demand shall identify the name and address of the
claimant, the date proof of the remedial action costs was filed, and
the date of the determination by the administrator paying the
claim in part or rejecting the claim.

(2)(a) The demand for a hearing must be filed within 30 days
of the administrator’s determination paying the claim in part or
rejecting the claim.

(b) If a timely demand for a hearing is filed, the matter shall
be placed on the regular agenda for commission review at the next
regularly scheduled commission meeting.

(c) If the commission and the person reach an agreement on
the claim denial or the amount of the payment, the agreement
shall be entered in the meeting record, and the property owner
shall withdraw the demand for hearing.

(d) If the commission and the person are unable to reach an
agreement, the commission shall hold a contested case hearing as
provided by ORS 183.310 to 183.550 and in accordance with the
Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure, OAR 137-003-
0001 through 137-004-0010.

(3) In the absence of a timely demand for a hearing, no per-
son shall be entitled to judicial review of the determination.

(4) After the hearing, the commission shall enter a final order
vacating, modifying or affirming the administrator’s determi-
nation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.280 - ORS 469.282

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OH 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-

94; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0090;

OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0155

130-015-0410
Delegation of Authority

(1) The commission may by order delegate such authority to
the chairperson as the commission deems appropriate to ensure
timely action in the review and determinations of eligibility of
claims and of approval of payment of pending claims.

(2) All actions taken under this delegation shall be reported
to the commission at the next regularly scheduled meeting.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-

29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0130; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-

1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0160

130-015-0415
Public Availability of Information

(1) Upon request, the commission shall make available com-
mission records with regard to information submitted under these
rules in accordance with ORS 192.410 through 192.500.

(2) The commission may charge fees to reimburse it for its
actual cost in making such records available.

(3) If under the provisions of ORS 192.410 through 192.500,
a request for records is denied, the commission shall notify the
requestor, in writing, of the basis for the denial and of the reques-
tor’s right to appeal the denial to the Attorney General of the State
of Oregon, as provided in ORS 192.450.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented: ORS 469.228 - ORS 469.286

Hist.: OH 5-1990, f. 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-
29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0140 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renum-
bered from 130-015-0130; OHC 1-1996, f. 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; Renum-
bered from 130-015-0165

130-015-0420
Retention of Supporting Documentation

(1) Each person required to complete forms prescribed under
these rules shall keep for three years records sufficient to enable
the commission to determine by inspection and audit the accuracy
of claims made of the commission and whether such claims com-
ply with the rules of the commission.

(2) For remedial action service providers, such documen-
tation shall include records sufficient to determine actual costs and
confirm billings for each claim, including but not limited to time
and equipment logs, billing methodology (direct labor costs,
fringe and benefit costs, general administrative costs, direct costs
and fees).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Stats. Implemented:

Hist.: OH 5-1990, . 9-25-90, cert. ef. 10-1-90; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-

92; OHC 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 9-29-95; Renumbered from 130-015-0150;

OHC 1-1996, . 12-26-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; Renumbered from 130-015-0170

DIVISION 20
TANK INCENTIVE PROGRAM

130-020-0005
Authority and Purpose

(1) HB 2178 authorizes the Commission to reimburse some
of the costs of upgrading certain heating oil tanks that are used to
replace a tank that has caused a release. These rules are authorized
by ORS 469.248 and adopted pursuant to ORS Chapter 183.

(2) These rules describe the basis for the Commission to
determine when tank costs may be reimbursed and how much may
be authorized for tank incentives.

(3) These rules are effective upon filing with the Secretary of
State.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92; OH 2-1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-4-

92; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-92

130-020-0010
Definitions

(1) All terms in these rules have the same meaning as their
common usage or as the definitions contained in ORS 469.228 to
469.286 and OAR 130-015-0020, the Commission’s Environ-
mental Protection Program, unless the rules state a different mean-
ing.

(2) “State Median Income Level” will be determined by the

Commission.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 1-1992, . & cert. ef. 1-9-92

130-020-0015
Program Funding
The tank incentive program shall be funded through the
Heating Oil Remedial Action Account created pursuant to ORS
469.269.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248
Hist.: OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92; OH 2-1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-4-
92; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-92

130-020-0020
Eligibility

(1) For a tank to be eligible for this program, it must meet the
following specifications:

(a) The tank must be .10 or .12 gauge;
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(b) Other tanks that are equivalent to or better than the
specifications in this subsection are acceptable to the Commission
if the Commission specifically approves the installation of such
tank in advance.

(2) This program applies only to the costs of attaching one or
two 20# anodes and does not include the costs of tank or tank
installation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92; OH 2-1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-4-

92; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-92

130-020-0025
Process for Payment

(1) The person responsible for the remedial action shall sub-
mit a request from the Commission for reimbursement of not
more than $125 of the cost of one 20# anode. The person request-
ing reimbursement shall follow the procedures set forth by the
Commission for Notice of Claim and Proof of Costs Incurred,
Environmental Protection Program rules OAR 130-015-0040
through 130-015-0050.

(2) Notwithstanding the monetary limitation stated in section
(1) of this rule, the Commission may reimburse up to $250 for
cost of two 20# anodes if the person responsible for the remedial
action falls below the state median. In such cases, the person
responsible for the remedial action shall submit to the Com-
mission the person’s most recent federal and state tax returns.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-9-92; OH 2-1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-4-

92; OH 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-92

DIVISION 30
ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

130-030-0000
Public Records, Fees for Record Search and Copies of Public
Records

(1) Inspection. All records of the Commission which are
defined as public records and are not exempt from disclosure
under ORS 192.410 and 192.500, shall be available for inspection
by members of the public at the current principal offices of the Oil
Heat Commission in Portland, Oregon or other reasonable loca-
tion designated by the Administrator. Inspection of such records
will be permitted:

(a) Upon request by an interested person of the custodian of
such records;

(b) During normal work hours of the Commission staff;

(c) At reasonable times, provided there is no undue disrup-
tion of the work of the Commission or staff.

(2) Custodians and Certification. The Administrator and the
Administrative Assistant are the custodians of the work of the Oil
Heat Commission. The Administrator or the Administrative Assis-
tant shall certify, upon request, release copies of Commission and
Department public records as true copies.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-92

130-030-0010
Requests to Inspect or Obtain Copies of Public Records

A request to inspect or obtain copies of a public record or
information from public records may be made orally or in writing
and shall include:

(1) The name, address and telephone number of the reques-
ter, except as considered unnecessary by the Commission;

(2) Specification of the number of copies requested of the
record if copies are requested.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-92

130-030-0020
Fees for Inspection and Copies of Public Records

(1) A fee schedule for records search, and for copies of pub-
lic records or information from public records, will be published
by the Commission. The amount of the fees will be established
from time to time on the basis of the Commission’s reasonable
estimates of the cost for:

(a) Staff time necessary to locate and handle the records;

(b) Producing the copies of the information; and

(c) Other supplies for procedures necessary to furnish the
copies of information.

(2) The cost of mailing or shipping the copies of public
records will be added to the amount of the fee from the fee sched-
ule to arrive at the total fee.

(3) No fees will be charged to other state agencies for pro-
viding Commission transcripts, tapes, orders or any document or
record of the Commission which is not exempt from disclosures
under ORS 192.500.

[ED. NOTE: The fee schedule incorporated by reference is available from the

agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 469.248

Hist.: OH 4-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-26-92
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