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DIVISION 1 
PROCEDURAL RULES 

573-001-0000
Notice of Proposed Rule 

Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule, other
than a temporary rule which shall be adopted in accordance with
ORS 183.335(5), Southern Oregon University shall give notice of
the proposed adoption, amendment, or repeal:

(1) In the Secretary of State's Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date.

(2) By mailing a copy of the Notice to persons on Southern
Oregon University's mailing list established pursuant to ORS
183.335(7).

(3) By mailing a copy of the Notice to the following persons,
organizations, or publications:

(a) The Medford Mail Tribune;
(b) The Daily Tidings;
(c) The Siskiyou; 
(d) SOU News Groups
(e) ASSOU President. 
(f) Legislator(s) sponsoring legislation per HB 2799
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.335 & Ch. 729, OL
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-001-005
Hist.: SOSC 1, f. & ef. 4-1-76; SOSC 6-1985, f. & ef. 6-12-85; SOSC 1-1994,
f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-001-0005
Availability of Public Records 

The public may review any Southern Oregon University doc-
uments that are designated public records. See ORS 192.005(5)
for the definition of "public records". These documents are on file
in University offices and may be reviewed during regular working
hours. Copies of public records are available to the public upon
request. The following charges will be made, payable in advance
or when the materials are furnished:

(1) Administrative Rules of Southern Oregon University,
current notebook -- $10. 

(2) Copies of documents:
(a) 1 - 10 copies -- 20¢ per page (40¢ if printed front and

back);
(b) 11 or more copies -- 15¢ per page (30¢ if printed front

and back).
(3) Other materials such as computer tapes, microfilm, and

microfiche copies, audio tape cassettes, computer services, etc.,
shall be provided at a fee reasonably calculated to reimburse the
University for actual costs incurred in making records available to
the public.

(4) When materials are not readily available, such as in the
case of files in the archives, or require an inordinate length of time
to assemble due to the scope of the request, an additional charge
of $10 per hour may be assessed to cover staff time required to

make the information available. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-001-0020
Hist.: SOSC 1-1986, f. & ef. 5-5-86; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 5
FACULTY GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES 

573-005-0005
General Provisions

According to OAR 580-021-0050, "grievance" means a com-
plaint by an academic employee that the employee was wronged
in connection with compensation, tenure, promotion, or other con-
ditions of employment, or the employee's rights were denied as to
reappointment:

(1) "Other conditions of employment" shall include, but are
not necessarily limited to, violations of academic freedom, dis-
criminatory employment practices, and laws, rules, policies, and
procedures under which the institution operates.

(2) Procedures for hearing cases which may lead to termina-
tion or other sanctions for cause and also Oregon State Board of
Higher Education review of sanctions are summarized in Section
7.400 of the Faculty Constitution and Bylaws and are found in
OAR 580-021-0320 through 580-021-0470.

(3) A personal complaint by a faculty member against anoth-
er faculty or staff member which does not allege a wronging of
the complainant through a personnel action is not subject to the
procedures set out in this section. Refer to Section 7.500 of the
Faculty Constitution and Bylaws.

(4) The procedures set out in this section are available to any
faculty member as defined within the Faculty Constitution and
Bylaws.

(5) The faculty member may not proceed with a grievance
under this section if the grievant is seeking resolution of that same
grievance in another forum. 

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0015
Definitions

(1) "Days" shall mean calendar days unless otherwise speci-
fied.

(2) "Hearing Committee" shall means a Faculty Senate Hear-
ing Committee as provided in Section 1.225 of the Faculty Consti-
tution and Bylaws.

(3) "Formal Grievance" shall mean a written statement
including the information outlined below; the procedures of this
section may not be invoked unless the grievance is presented in
writing. These procedures are not intended to be used in the hear-
ing of charges which may lead to disciplinary sanctions. Those
procedures are outlined in Section 7.400 of the Faculty Constitu-
tion and Bylaws and also OAR 580-021-0320 ff. 

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0025
Informal Procedures

(1) Prior to filing a formal grievance, a faculty member is
encouraged to seek mediation of the grievance with the faculty
member's dean, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost,
or, in the case of discrimination, including sexual harassment, the
appropriate administrative officer. The faculty member must have
the initial discussion within ten days of receiving notice of a per-
sonnel action. If the administrator agrees to seek resolution, the
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administrator must provide the faculty member with a written
report on the results of the mediation not more than 15 days after
the initial discussion with the grievant unless the administrator
and the grievant agree in writing to extend the time limit. In no
case may the time limit be extended to more than 30 days after the
initial discussion with the grievant.

(2) The appropriate administrative officer must be notified of
any grievance alleging discrimination, including sexual harass-
ment. That officer will identify the specific allegations, investigate
each allegation of discrimination, and attempt to help the parties
resolve the issue.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0035
Initiation of Formal Procedure

(1) If a grievance is not resolved to the satisfaction of the
grievant at the informal stage or if the grievant chooses to bypass
the informal stage, the grievant may initiate the formal grievance
by filing a formal grievance in writing with the chair of the Facul-
ty Senate, who shall immediately notify the parties involved in the
grievance. If the grievant does not want the grievance heard by a
Faculty Senate Hearing Committee, the grievant may file the
grievance directly with the President, accompanied by a letter
indicating that the grievant waives the right to a hearing before a
Faculty Senate Hearing Committee. The grievance will then be
heard by the President or a designee within 15 days of the
grievance being filed with the President. The President will render
a written decision within 30 days of the conclusion of the hearing
following the provisions of OAR 573-005-0055(3).

(2) The formal grievance must be filed within ten days of the
faculty member receiving notice of a personnel action. If the fac-
ulty member has sought informal resolution of the grievance with-
in ten days of receiving notice of a personnel action, the formal
grievance must be filed within ten days of receiving the written
report from the administrator detailing the results of the mediation
efforts.

(3) The formal grievance must be addressed to the chair of
the Faculty Senate and must contain the grievant’s name, address,
and telephone number; the date and nature of the personnel action
being appealed; the parties responsible for the personnel action;
and the remedy requested.

(4) Once a formal grievance has been filed with the chair of
the Faculty Senate, it may be with drawn only with the written
consent of the grievant and the parties named within the
grievance.

(5) The chair of the Faculty Senate shall cause a Faculty Sen-
ate Hearing Committee to be formed, and the Hearing Committee
shall meet within 15 days of the receipt of the grievance by the
chair of the Faculty Senate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

573-005-0045
Hearing Committee Procedures

(1) The Hearing Committee shall send to all parties a written
notice of the time and place of the hearing at least seven days
prior to the hearing.

(2) The grievant shall have the option to be present through-
out the hearing. The grievant shall present the grievance first, fol-
lowed by responses from the person or persons who are the object
of the grievance. Thereafter the grievant shall have an opportunity
to respond, and the Hearing Committee shall have the opportunity
to question any party to the grievance.

(3) Each party shall have a right to call and examine witness-
es and to introduce exhibits or other documents. The members of
the Committee may question any witness and may call additional
witnesses.

(4) Where the personnel action was based upon materials
assembled as specified within the policies and procedures of the

University, the Hearing Committee shall base their action upon
those materials. Exception shall be made when the grievant argues
that the materials:

(a) Were assembled in a manner contrary to University poli-
cy and procedures;

(b) Included or excluded materials contrary to University
policy and procedures; and/or 

(c) Were otherwise flawed due to a violation of University
policy and procedures. 

(5) The grievant may be accompanied by or represented at
the hearing by another person of the grievant's choosing. The
grievant will be responsible for any costs of representation except
as allowed in ORS 30.285 ff.

(6) The chair of the Hearing Committee shall provide for a
sound recording of the hearing which shall be filed with the Vice
President for Academic Affairs and Provost. The Vice President
for Academic Affairs and Provost will make such tapes available
to parties of the grievance upon request. 

(7) The hearing shall be open to the public at the option of
the grievant to the extent allowed by law. However, deliberations
of the Hearing Committee shall not be open to the public or the
parties involved.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0055
Decision of the Hearing Committee

(1) The Hearing Committee will render its decision in the
form of a written recommendation to the President and will for-
ward it to the chair of the Faculty Senate. The recom mendation
shall be based solely upon the evidence presented at the hearing.

(2) The chair of the Faculty Senate will forward the recom-
mendation without comment to both the President and the
grievant and will notify the Faculty Senate that the Hearing Com-
mittee has completed its work. The recommendation shall be for-
warded to the President within 60 days of the receipt of the formal
grievance by the chair of the Faculty Senate.

(3) The President shall review the recom mendation and ren-
der a written decision within 30 days notifying the grievant and
the chair of the Faculty Senate of the decision. The President may
interview any person concerning the grievance to supplement the
record of the hearing, provided that the decision lists each person
so interviewed and includes a written synopsis of the contents of
each interview. In addition, the President may review any docu-
ments, provided that the decision shall identify any such docu-
ments that were not a part of the record of the hearing. The
grievant shall be informed of such additional information obtained
by the President in preparing the decision and shall be given seven
days to provide any comment or response prior to the President
rendering a decision. If the President rejects or modifies the rec-
ommendations of the Hearing Committee, the reasons shall be
stated in the decision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

573-005-0065
Protection from Retaliation

A faculty member filing a grievance in good faith or other-
wise participating in any of the actions authorized under these
grievance rules shall not be subject to retaliatory action of any
kind by any employee of the University, the Oregon University
System, or the State Board of Higher Education.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0075
Unmet Deadlines

Should the Faculty Senate not meet the deadlines provided in
this section, the grievant may file the grievance directly with the
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President. Should the President not meet the deadlines provided
herein, the grievant may file the grievance with the Chancellor.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

Procedure for Hearing a Charge Which May Lead to Termi -
nation or Other Sanction of a Faculty Member for Cause

573-005-0085
Procedures for Hearing Charges

Procedures for hearing charges which may lead to term -
ination or other sanction of a faculty member for cause are out-
lined in OAR 580-021-0320 ff. These procedures are to be used
whenever “there is probable cause to impose a sanction or sanc-
tions more severe than an oral or written warning or reprimand”
(OAR 580-021-0330).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

573-005-0095
Definition of Cause

“Cause” includes conviction of a felony or a crime of moral
turpitude during the period of employment by the department,
commit ting an act of proscribed conduct as defined in OAR 580-
022-0045, failure to perform responsibilities, evidence of incom -
petence, gross inefficiency, default of academic integrity in teach-
ing, research, or scholarship, intentional or habitual neglect of
duty, and failure to perform adequately for medical reasons.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

573-005-0105
Attempts at Resolution

Procedures for formal proceedings are only to be invoked
after the President has been unable to make a satisfactory resolu-
tion of the matter through informal means.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

573-005-0115
Initiation of Formal Proceedings

The President is to initiate formal proceedings by the pre -
paration of formal charges against the faculty member as
described in OAR 580-021-0330. The following are provided for
in OAR 580-021:

(1) Rules for the temporary suspension of a faculty member
(OAR 580-021-0335).

(2) Faculty member’s request for a formal hearing on charges
(OAR 580-021-0340).

(3) Constitution and formation of the Hearing Committee
(OAR 580-021-0345).

(4) Conduct of the hearing (OAR 580-021-0350).
(5) Report by the Committee (OAR 580-021-0355).
(6) Action by the President (OAR 580-021-0360).
(7) Date of termination (OAR 580-021-0365).
(8) Procedure to obtain review by the Board (OAR 580-021-

0370).
(9) Effect on personnel record of investigations which do not

result in formal charges or which have not resulted in oral or writ-
ten warning or reprimand (OAR 580-021-0385).

(10) Subpoenas (OAR 580-021-0410).
(11) Powers of hearing officers (OAR 580-021-0425).
(12) Who may appear (OAR 580-021-0430).
(13) Evidence (OAR 580-021-0455).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

Faculty Complaints Against Other Faculty, 
Administrators, or Staff

573-005-0125
General Provisions

These procedures are to be used whenever a faculty member
has a complaint against another faculty member, administrator, or
staff person which is not covered in any other section of the Fac-
ulty Constitution and Bylaws or the Oregon Administrative Rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

573-005-0135
Informal Procedures

(1) Parties to a disagreement must first seek mediation of the
disagreement with the supervisor or supervisors of the parties
involved. The supervisor(s) must provide both parties to the com-
plaint with a written report on the results of the mediation not
more than 15 days after the initial discussion with the complainant
unless the administrator or either party to the complaint requests
in writing to extend the time limit. In no case may the time limit
be extended to more than 30 days after the initial discussion with
the complainant.

(2) Should the complaint not be resolved to the satisfaction
of any party to the complaint at this level, then the complaint may
be taken to the next-higher administrative level for rehearing. This
process may continue up through the President, except in situa-
tions when the complaint is against the President, in which case
the complaint shall be filed with the Chancellor of the Oregon
State Board of Higher Education.

(3) All complaints alleging unlawful discrimi nation, includ-
ing sexual harassment, must be filed with the appropriate adminis-
trative officer. That officer will identify the specific allegations,
investigate each allegation of discrimination, and attempt to help
the parties resolve the issue.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

573-005-0145
Initiation of Formal Procedures

(1) If a complaint is not resolved to the satisfaction of the
complainant at the informal stage, the complainant may initiate
the formal complaint by filing it in writing with the Vice President
for Academic Affairs and Provost, who shall immediately notify
the parties involved in the complaint. The complaint shall then be
heard by a Complaint Hearing Panel empowered by the Vice Pres-
ident for Academic Affairs and Provost within 15 days of the fil-
ing of the complaint. The Complaint Hearing Panel shall render a
written decision within 30 days of the conclusion of the hearing:

(a) Complaints against the Vice President for Academic
Affairs and Provost shall be filed with the President and shall fol-
low the same procedures outlined below, substituting President
for Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost;

(b) Complaints against the President shall be filed with the
Chancellor and shall follow the same procedures outlined below,
substituting Chancellor for Vice President for Academic Affairs
and Provost.

(2) The formal complaint must be addressed to the Vice Pres-
ident for Academic Affairs and Provost and contain the com-
plainant's name, address, and telephone number; the date and
nature of the complaint; the parties involved; and the action
requested.

(3) Once a formal complaint has been filed with the Vice
President for Academic Affairs and Provost, it may be withdrawn
only with the written consent of the complainant and the parties
named within the complaint.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98
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573-005-0155
Composition of Complaint Hearing Panels

(1) The Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
shall appoint a Complaint Hearing Panel to hear the complaint. 

(2) Complaint Hearing Panels to hear faculty-faculty and fac-
ulty-administrator complaints shall be composed as follows: Three
faculty members, at least one from the home department of the
complainant, and two administrators, at least one from the school
of the complainant.

(3) Complaint Hearing Panels to hear faculty-staff com-
plaints shall include two faculty members (at least one from the
department of the faculty member), one administrator, and two
staff members (one from the department of the faculty member
and one from the department of the staff person).

(4) Each disputant shall have the right to challenge an unlim-
ited number of Committee members for cause. Any challenge for
cause shall be referred to the Vice President for Academic Affairs
and Provost or his designee for disposition.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0165
Hearing Procedures

(1) The Complaint Hearing Panel shall send to all parties a
written notice of the time and place of the hearing at least seven
days prior to the hearing. 

(2) The complainant shall have the option to be present
throughout the hearing. 

(3) The complainant shall present the complaint first, fol-
lowed by responses from the person or persons who are the object
of the complaint. Both parties shall have full rights of rebuttal.
The Complaint Hearing Panel shall have the opportunity to ques-
tion any party to the complaint. 

(4) Each party shall have the right to call and examine wit-
nesses and to introduce exhibits or other documents. The members
of the Panel may question any witness and may call additional
witnesses.

(5) The complainant may be accompanied by or represented
at the hearing by another person of the complainant's choosing.
The cost of legal counsel shall be borne by those individuals solic-
iting such help, except as provided for in ORS 30.285 ff.

(6) The chair of the Complaint Hearing Panel shall provide
for a sound recording of the hearing which shall be filed with the
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost. The Vice Presi-
dent for Academic Affairs and Provost shall make such tapes
available to all parties of the complaint upon request.

(7) The hearing shall be open to the public at the option of
the complainant to the extent allowed by law. However, delibera-
tions of the Complaint Hearing Panel shall not be open to the pub-
lic or parties involved.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 30.285, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0175
Decision of the Hearing Panel

(1) The Complaint Hearing Panel shall render its decision in
the form of a written recommendation to the Vice President for
Academic Affairs and Provost within 60 days of the empower-
ment of the Panel. The recommendation shall be based solely
upon the evidence presented at the hearing. The Complaint Hear-
ing Panel shall also forward a copy of its decision to each party of
the complaint.

(2) The Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
shall review the recommendation and render a written decision
within 30 days. Each party to the complaint shall be provided a
written copy of the decision. Before rendering a decision, the Vice
President for Academic Affairs and Provost may interview any
person concerning the complaint in order to supplement the record
of the hearing, provided that the decision lists each person so
interviewed and includes a written synopsis of the contents of

each interview. In addition, the Vice President for Academic
Affairs and Provost may review pertinent documents, provided
that the decision shall identify any such documents that were not a
part of the record of the hearing. The complainant shall be
informed of such additional information obtained by the Vice
President for Academic Affairs and Provost in preparing the deci-
sion and shall be given seven days to provide any comment or
response prior to the Vice President for Academic Affairs and
Provost rendering a decision. If the Vice President for Academic
Affairs and Provost rejects or modifies the recommendation of the
Complaint Hearing Panel, the reasons shall be stated in the deci-
sion.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0185
Protection from Retaliation

A faculty member filing a complaint in good faith or other-
wise participating in any of the actions authorized under these
complaint rules shall not be subject to retaliatory action of any
kind by any employee of the University, the Oregon University
System, or the State Board of Higher Education.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0195
Unmet Deadlines

Should the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
not meet the deadlines provided in this section, the complainant
may file the complaint directly with the President. Should the
President not meet the deadlines provided herein, the complainant
may file the complaint with the Chancellor.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-005-0205
Review of Decision

(1) Should any member to the complaint disagree with the
decision of the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost,
he/she may request the chair of the Faculty Senate to convene a
Faculty Senate Hearing Committee. The purpose of the Hearing
Committee is not to rehear the entire case, but to examine the
materials presented and the procedures followed in arriving at the
decision. Possible reasons for recommending a reversal of a deci-
sion would be overlooked evidence, misplaced emphasis on evi-
dence, and bias in the procedures for evidence collection or con-
ducting the hearing.

(2) The request for a Faculty Senate hearing must include a
copy of the decision and the basis for requesting the review.

(3) Procedure for formal review by Faculty Senate Hearing
Committee:

(a) At least seven days prior to the review, the Hearing Com-
mittee shall notify all parties in writing of the time and place of
the review;

(b) The faculty member shall have the option to be present
throughout the review; 

(c) The faculty member shall present evidence and call wit-
nesses first, followed by the Vice President for Academic Affairs
and Provost. Thereafter, both parties shall have the opportunity for
rebuttal;

(d) The review shall, at the option of the faculty member and
to the extent allowed by law, be open to the public. However,
deliberations of the Hearing Committee shall not be open to the
public or the parties involved;

(e) The Hearing Committee will render a written recommen-
dation to the President, forwarding it through the chair of the Fac-
ulty Senate. The recommendation shall be based solely upon the
evidence presented at the review;

(f) The chair of the Faculty Senate will forward the recom-
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mendation without comment to both the President and the faculty
member, and will notify the Faculty Senate that the Hearing Com-
mittee has completed its work. The recommendation shall be for-
warded to the President within 60 days of the receipt of the formal
request for review by the chair of the Faculty Senate;

(g) The President shall review the recommendation and ren-
der a written decision within 30 days, notifying the faculty mem-
ber and the chair of the Faculty Senate of the decision. The Presi-
dent may interview any person concerning the review to
supplement the record of the review, provided that the decision
lists each person so interviewed. In addition, the President may
review any pertinent documents, so long as such documents are
identified in the President's written decision. The faculty member
shall be informed of such additional information obtained by the
President in preparing the decision and shall be given seven days
to provide any comment or response prior to the President render-
ing a decision. If the President rejects or modifies the recommen-
dations of the Hearing Committee, the reasons shall be stated in
the decision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

Imposition and Review of Disciplinary Sanctions
573-005-0215
Removal of Administrative Personnel from Office

If it should appear that an admin istrative officer does not
have the support and confidence of those within the administrative
unit to such an extent that its operation is jeopardized, a formal
written request for the removal of the officer may be submitted to
the Faculty Senate by two-thirds of the members of the unit
involved. The request will be considered by the Senate and sent
with the Senate’s recommendation to the proper authority.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

DIVISION 10
FACULTY RECORDS POLICY 

573-010-0005
Purpose 

The Oregon Legislature and the Board of Higher Education
have recognized by law the importance of maintaining the faculty
member's right to privacy in an educational environment. South-
ern Oregon University is now bound by law to carry out such poli-
cy. This policy is promulgated in accordance with ORS 351.065
and the Administrative Rules of the Oregon State Board of Higher
Education. The Administrative Rules of OSBHE and the ORS
shall control in the event of any conflict with the SOU Faculty
Records policy. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-010-0010
Limitation on Records to Be Maintained 

Acting through its various divisions and departments, South-
ern Oregon University may maintain only such records as are
demonstrably and substantially relevant to the educational, admin-
istrative, and research purposes of this institution. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-010-0015
Definitions 

(1) “Personal Records” means records containing inform -
ation kept by the institution, division, or department concerning a

faculty member and furnished by him or by others about him at
his or at the institution’s, division’s, or department’s request,
including, but not limited to, information as to discipline, counsel-
ing, membership activity, other behavioral records, pro fessional
preparation and experience, professional performance (e.g. assign-
ment and workload, quality of teaching, research, and service to
the institution), personnel data relating to such matters as promo-
tions, tenure, leaves, retirement credits and the like, and profes-
sional activities external to the institution, including, but not nec-
essarily limited to, awards, recognition, research activities, travel.

(2) “Records of Academic Achievement” are reports of cred-
its earned toward a degree or in post-doctoral work and/or cer -
tificate(s), diploma(s), license(s), degree(s) received and dates
thereof.

(3) “Directory Information” is that information generally
needed in locating a named faculty member, including infor -
mation readily found in published documents. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76 

573-010-0020
Certain Information Not Required to Be Given by Faculty
Members 

No faculty member shall be required to give — although the
faculty member may voluntarily provide — information as to
race, religion, sex, national origin, marital status, political affilia-
tion or preferences, except as required by state statute, federal law,
or valid federal rules, regulations, or orders. In those instances in
which the faculty member is asked for such self-designation for
any purpose (including federal requests for information), the
request shall state the purpose of the inquiry and shall inform the
individual of the right to decline to respond. Except as the faculty
member makes the foregoing information available, or except as
required by state or federal law, rule, or regulation, there shall be
no designation in faculty personnel record files as to the faculty
member’s race, religion, sex, marital status, national origin, politi-
cal affiliation, or preferences. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76 

573-010-0025
Locations and Custody of Faculty Records 

(1) The number of files relating to the evaluation of a faculty
member shall be limited to three. One file of personal records
relating to evaluation of the faculty member shall be kept by each
of the following: President, Vice President for Academic Affairs
and Provost, and the appropriate academic dean or division or
department in which the faculty member is employed. Faculty
records pertaining to matters other than evaluation shall not be
limited to the three files designated above.

(2) All records containing personal information about faculty
members shall be kept in secured files.

(3) The head of each academic or administrative unit main-
taining faculty records shall be responsible for maintaining the
confidentiality and security of all faculty records within that unit
in accordance with the provisions of these regulations. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-010-0030
Release and Access to Faculty Records 

(1) Appropriate information about the faculty member may
be released upon request and without the faculty member's con-
sent. Such information shall be limited to the following:

(a) Directory information: the faculty member's full name,
campus address and telephone number, home address, birthday (as
distinguished from birthdate) and such other information as is
readily found in published documents such as institutional directo-
ries and catalogs;
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(b) Objective evidence of a faculty member's academic
achievement, limited to information as to the number of credits
earned toward a degree or in post-doctoral work, and
certificate(s), diploma(s), license(s), degree(s) received and dates
thereof;

(c) Salary information and the record of terms or conditions
of employment.

(2) All other information contained in faculty records is con-
sidered confidential and may not be released to any person or
agency without the faculty member's written consent. Exceptions
to this policy are limited to the following:

(a) Records of a faculty member are available to University
personnel who have a demonstrably legitimate need to review
them in order to fulfill their official, professional responsibility
with regard to the faculty member; 

(b) Upon receipt of a subpoena or other court order or pro-
cess seeking access to faculty records, the recipient unit head must
take reasonable efforts to notify the faculty member (including
sending a registered or certified letter to the address of record) and
must notify the President or his designated representative prior to
any institutional responses. The latter will determine whether or
not appropriate University personnel should appear in court to test
the validity of the subpoena or court order or process;

(c) The University President or his designated representative
may release personal information contained in faculty records
only when he determines that there is a clear and present danger to
the safety of the faculty member or others and/or property and that
disclosure of relevant personal information about the faculty
member is essential in order to avoid or substantially minimize the
danger. (The basis for such determination shall be provided to the
faculty member in writing.) No such disclosure shall violate any
evidentiary or testimonial privilege accorded by law. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-010-0035
Open Faculty Record Files 

No regulation, rule, or order promulgated pursuant to this
section shall deny to a faculty member full access to the member’s
personnel file or personal records kept by the board or its institu-
tions, schools, or departments, except as follows: 

(1) Letters and other information submitted in confidence to
the board or its institutions, schools, or departments prior to July
1, 1975, shall be maintained in the files designated. However, if a
faculty member requests access to those files, the anonymity of
the contributor of letters and other information obtained prior to
July 1, 1975, shall be protected. The full text shall be made avail-
able except that portions of the text which would serve to identify
the contributor shall be excised by a faculty committee. Only the
names of the contributors and the excised portions of the docu-
ments may be kept in a file other than the three prescribed by Sec-
tion 5 of ORS 351.065.

(2) Confidential letters and other information submitted to or
solicited after July 1, 1975, by the board or its institutions, schools
or departments prior to the employment of a prospective employee
are exempt from the provisions of this section. However, if a
prospective employee is employed by the board or its institutions,
schools, or departments, the confidential pre-employment materi-
als shall be placed in the three authorized files. If a faculty mem-
ber requests access to the member’s files, the anonymity of the
contributor of confidential pre-employment letters and other pre-
employment information shall be protected. The full text shall be
made available, except that portions of the text which would serve
to identify the contributor shall be excised and retained in a file
other than the three designated in Section 5 of ORS 351.065. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76 

573-010-0040
Post-Employment Evaluative Materials 

After July 1, 1975, the board, its institutions, schools, or
departments when evaluating its employed faculty members shall
not solicit nor accept letters, documents, or other materials, given
orally or in written form, from individuals or groups who wish
their identity kept anonymous or the information they provide
kept confidential. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76 

573-010-0045
Access to and Correction of Records 

(1) The personal file shall be only open to the faculty mem-
ber and to those officials of the institution who have demonstrable
need of such access in fulfilling their official professional duties.

(2) All evaluative materials or other records originated or uti-
lized by the president, deans, or department heads, or by personnel
review committees at the department, division, or University level
in reviewing a faculty member, shall be available upon a single
request to the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, to
the subject faculty member at a reasonable place and time. A fac-
ulty member may make copies of materials in the files.

(3) Each faculty member shall be given a copy of his or her
periodic regular written evaluation made by the administrative
officer (department or divisional head or dean of the unit in those
instances in which the dean is the evaluating administrator). The
evaluation given to the faculty member shall contain or have
attached to it a statement informing the faculty member that he or
she may discuss the evaluative statement with the evaluating
administrator. A copy of the evaluative statement, duly signed by
the faculty member signifying that he or she has been given a
copy thereof, shall be placed in the faculty member's personal
record file.

(4) A faculty member shall be entitled to submit, for place-
ment in the three files, evidence rebutting, correcting, amplifying
or explaining any document contained therein and other material
which the member believes might be of assistance in the evalua-
tion process. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-010-0050
Telephone Evaluations 

Any evaluation received by telephone shall be documented in
each of the faculty member’s files by means of a written summary
of the conversation with the names of the conversants identified. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76 

573-010-0055
Classroom Evaluations 

Classroom survey evaluation by students of a faculty mem-
ber’s classroom or laboratory performance shall be anon ymous.
The record of tabulated reports shall be placed in the department
or division files. All survey instruments used to obtain evaluation
data shall be returned to the faculty members. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76 

573-010-0060
Information on Categories of Staff 

A faculty member who feels he has been adversely affected
by personnel action or lack thereof may request from the Vice
President for Academic Affairs and Provost objective or quantita-
tive information contained in the files which are limited as to
access concerning the personnel actions affecting categories of
faculty members. The request shall be granted where such actions
appear to have relevance to the case of the faculty member mak-
ing the request for information. Evaluative statements concerning
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individual faculty members shall not be released except with the
consent of the faculty members concerned. The request for infor-
mation shall be in writing containing a summary of the adverse
decision, statement of need for the information, and the specific
information requested. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-010-0065
Availability of Faculty Records for Research Purposes 

Information about academic staff members for research pur-
poses may be provided, contingent upon the existence of adequate
provisions to conceal from the person(s) doing the research, the
identity of the individual academic staff members whose personal
data or information are being included in the research. If the con-
fidentiality of faculty personal records would be jeopardized in
any way by the release of information for research purposes, the
written consent of the academic staff member must be obtained
prior to the release of information. All such requests for informa-
tion must be submitted to the Vice President for Academic Affairs
and Provost. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-010-0070 
Permanence, Duplication, and Disposal of Faculty Records 

(1) The individual faculty member's record shall be main-
tained only for the minimum period of time required to serve the
basic official functions of the office which generates and main-
tains it. It should then be disposed of in a manner such as to pro-
tect its confidentiality.

(2) The permanent retention of faculty records shall be limit-
ed to those which the institutional executive or the State Archivist
shall determine to be of long-range value to the individual faculty
member, to the institution, or to the public. (ORS 351.065 pro-
vides that access to personal records more than 25 years old may
not be limited.) 

(3) Duplication of permanent faculty records shall be kept to
a minimum. (A log shall be kept in each file of every duplication
of faculty records.) Such duplicated permanent records as are
made shall be destroyed in the same manner as temporary records,
as provided for in section (4) of this rule.

(4) All duplicate copies of permanent faculty records and all
temporary faculty records shall be maintained for a minimum
period of three years after a faculty member departs from the Uni-
versity. Such records shall thereafter be destroyed as soon as they
are no longer needed and may not be retained in any event for
more than seven (7) years after a faculty member's appointment is
terminated by the University. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-22
Hist: SOSC 2, f. & ef. 7-12-76; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 15 
COLLECTING ACCOUNTS AND NOTES RECEIVABLE 

573-015-0005
Collecting Accounts and Notes Receivable 

(1) As directed by Oregon State Board of Higher Education
Administrative Rule OAR 580-041-0010(1), the Department of
Business Services at Southern Oregon University exercises dili-
gence in collecting accounts and notes receivable due it by follow-
ing, as appropriate, these remedies:

(a) Withholds transcript service, placement service and other
applicable campus services;

(b) Denies or cancels registration;
(c) Withholds further account receivable privileges;
(d) With employee's approval, withholds wages;
e) Applies any non-exempt credits in favor of debtor to debt;

(f) Adds penalties, interest, and collection costs as permitted
by law;

(g) Sends regular billings and past due notices;
(h) Utilizes telephone inquiries;
(i) Sends letter of demand;
(j) Uses "skip trace" information as permitted by law;
(k) Utilizes offset procedures with other state agencies;
(l) Utilizes Department of Revenue as a collection agent;
(m) Utilizes various commercial collection agencies, by con-

tract, as permitted by law;
(n) Institutes legal action as permitted by law;
(o) Uses commercial credit reporting agencies by contract

and as permitted (or required by law);
(p) Seeks collection on judgments as permitted by law.
(2) The Director of Business Services, Southern Oregon Uni-

versity, may waive any of the above remedies only in those cir-
cumstances which serve the best interests of the institution, the
state, or the federal government, or where required by state or fed-
eral statutes. (The discharge of debt through bankruptcy prevents
the taking of any further action to collect.)

(3) The procedures are in conformity with the requirements
of federal and state laws and regulations and were formally adopt-
ed as a rule after public hearing under the Administrative Proce-
dure Act.

(4) The Southern Oregon University Department of Business
Services will grant hearings to any individual requesting informa-
tion or expressing concern about the amount owed or circum-
stances related thereto. The written procedures to be followed in
requesting a hearing are available at the Department of Business
Services. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351,070
Hist.: SOSC 1-1979, f. & ef. 6-20-79; SOSC 5-1985, f. & ef. 6-3-85; SOU 1-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-015-0010
Southern Oregon State College Revolving Charge Account Plan

(1) Southern Oregon University adopts the Revolving Charge
Account program as permitted by OAR 580-040-0041, as amended. 

(2) The following are eligible to participate in the Revolving
Charge Account program:

(a) Students enrolled at Southern Oregon University;
b) Any person who incurs charges, fines, or penalties at

Southern Oregon University, including, but not limited to library
fines, parking tickets, facilities rental charges, program user
charges, and lease agreements.

(3) The terms and conditions of the program are set out in the
document entitled "Southern Oregon University Revolving
Charge Account Plan", the most recent of which is hereby adopted
by reference as a permanent rule and is available on file in the
Department of Business Services.

(4) Participants in the program shall sign an agreement to
abide by the terms and conditions of the program, except for debts
arising from fines, penalties, and the like.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351,070
Hist.: SOSC 1-1979, f. & ef. 6-20-79; SOSC 5-1985, f. & ef. 6-3-85; SOSC 4-
1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-90; SOSC 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91;
SOSC 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-22-92; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 20
STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

573-020-0005 
Student’s Rights 

(1) Within the basic philosophies, goals, and guidelines for
Southern Oregon University, the student shall have the right to
pursue educational, recreational, social, cultural, and residential
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activities in an atmosphere where the rights, dignity, and worth of
every individual is respected.

(2) The student has the right to a campus environment char-
acterized by safety and order.

(3) The student has the right to organize and join associations
to promote interests held in common with other students.

(4) The student has the right to the services of the faculty,
administrative offices, and counseling agencies of the University.

(5) The student has the right to fair and impartial educational
evaluations.

(6) The student has the right to have the University maintain
and protect the confidential status of personal and academic
records as set forth in the Administrative Rules and applicable
laws.

(7) The student has the right to participate through represen-
tatives in the formulation of regulations affecting student affairs.

(8) The student has the right to dissent, to protest, or to
demonstrate on University-owned property in opposition to Uni-
versity, city, state, or national policy provided such behavior does
not infringe on the rights of others.

(9) The student has the right to participate in University
activities without being discriminated against on the basis of race,
color, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital status, vet-
eran status, gender, or sexual orientation and shall be referred to
the Grievance Officer in the Vice President of Student Affairs’
office in matters of alleged discrimination.

(10) The student has the right to be accompanied to an insti-
tutional hearing, disciplinary or otherwise, by any person the stu-
dent desires and to consult such advisor at any time during a hear-
ing for the purpose of securing advice. The advisor shall not
actively participate in a hearing unless the committee chair deems
it necessary. In the instance of a contested case proceeding, the
student has the right to be represented by counsel as provided
under the Oregon Administrative Procedures Act. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83; SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-
85; SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU
1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0010
Student Responsibilities 

(1) The student is responsible for maintaining standards of
educational performance after being informed in advance of the
standards required. 

(2) The student is responsible for complying with University
rules and regulations, as well as local, state, and federal laws.

(3) The student is responsible for conduct which helps to cre-
ate and maintain a learning atmosphere in which the rights, digni-
ty, and worth of every individual in the University community are
respected. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83; SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-
87; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0015
Proscribed Conduct 

(1) Conduct proscribed by the Oregon State Board of Higher
Education Administrative Rules, Chapter 580, Division 22, Sec-
tion 045 is applicable on this campus. In March 1987, that rule
read as follows: "Procedures to impose applicable sanctions may
be instituted against any person engaging in any of the following
proscribed conduct":

(a) Obstruction or disruption of teaching, research, adminis-
tration, disciplinary procedures, or other institutional activities,
including the institution's public service functions or other autho-
rized activities on institutionally owned or controlled property;

(b) Obstruction or disruption interfering with freedom of
movement, either pedestrian or vehicular, on institutionally owned
or controlled property; 

(c) Possession or use of firearms, explosives, dangerous
chemicals, or other dangerous weapons or instrumentalities on
institutionally owned or controlled property, in contravention of
law or institutional rules;

(d) Detention or physical abuse of any person or conduct
intended to threaten imminent bodily harm or endanger the health
of any person on any institutionally owned or controlled property;

(e) Malicious damage, misuse, or theft of institutional prop-
erty, or the property of any other person where such property is
located on institutionally owned or controlled property, or, regard-
less of location, is in the care, custody, or control of the institu-
tion;

(f) Refusal by any person while on institutional property to
comply with an order of the President or appropriate authorized
official to leave such premises because of conduct proscribed by
this rule when such conduct constitutes a danger to personal safe-
ty, property, or educational or other appropriate institutional activ-
ities on such premises; 

(g) Unauthorized entry to or use of institutional facilities,
including buildings and grounds;

(h) Illegal use, possession, or distribution of drugs on institu-
tionally owned or controlled property;

(i) Inciting others to engage in any of the conduct or to per-
form any of the acts prohibited herein. Inciting means that advoca-
cy of proscribed conduct which calls on the person or persons
addressed for imminent action, and is coupled with a reasonable
apprehension of imminent danger to the functions and purposes of
the institution, including the safety of persons, and the protection
of its property;

(j) Violating the Board's Policy for Intercollegiate Athletics
as described in Section 8 of its Internal Management Directives,
specifically including the subsection thereof entitled Code of
Ethics.

(2) Conduct proscribed by Southern Oregon University. Any
person who engages in any of the following proscribed conduct is
subject to sanctions according to University procedures:

(a) Academic dishonesty including, but not limited to, cheat-
ing and plagiarism;

(b) Furnishing or withholding information to the University
with intent to deceive; 

(c) Forgery, alteration, or misuse of documents, records, or
identification cards to misrepresent information on the University
campus;

(d) Possession, consumption, or furnishing of alcoholic bev-
erages on University-owned or controlled property, or at Universi-
ty-sponsored or supervised functions unless authorized by the
President;

(e) Disorderly conduct, including actions resulting from vol-
untary intoxication which interferes with one or more of the fol-
lowing:

(A) The programs and functions of the University, both aca-
demic and non-academic. The teaching, research, administration,
disciplinary procedures or other institutional activities including
the institution's public service functions, or other authorized activ-
ities on institutionally owned or controlled property; 

(B) The health and safety of members of the University com-
munity;

(C) The security of University-owned or controlled property;
(D) The conduct of non-classroom activities (lectures, con-

certs, athletic events, and social functions); or
(E) Off-campus activities when such activities are a part of a

campus-sponsored organization or event.
(f) Possession of "any instrument, article or substance which

under the circumstances in which it is used, attempted to be used
or threatened to be used, is readily capable of causing death or
serious physical injury". ORS 161.015(1);

(g) Violation of Residence Hall rules and procedures as listed
in the official residence hall publication;

(h) On-campus violation of University, local, state, or federal
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laws and regulations; 
(i) Persons exhibiting behavior suggesting a serious medical

or mental problem which is detrimental to themselves or the Uni-
versity;

(j) Hearing witness that has knowingly given false testimony
at a disciplinary hearing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 & ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-012-0010 & 580-022-0045
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83; SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-
85; SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

Administration of Discipline 
573-020-0021
Academic Standards 

The maintenance of academic standards is a joint responsibil-
ity of the students and the faculty at Southern Oregon University.
Freedom to teach and freedom to learn are dependent upon indi-
vidual and collective conduct to permit the pursuit and exchange
of knowledge and opinion. Faculty have the responsibility to cre-
ate an atmosphere in which students may display their knowledge.
This atmosphere includes an orderly testing room and sufficient
safeguards to inhibit dishonesty. Students have the responsibility
to rely on their own knowledge and resources in the evaluation
process:

(1) Academic dishonesty is defined as cheating, plagiarism,
or otherwise obtaining grades under false pretenses.

(2) Plagiarism is defined as knowingly submitting the lan-
guage, ideas, thoughts, or work of another author as one's original
work, or allowing one's work to be used in this fashion.

(3) Cheating is defined as:
(a) Using unauthorized information during an examination

verbally, visually, or by unauthorized notes, books and other
materials;

(b) Obtaining or providing information concerning an exami-
nation, all or in part, in advance of that examination;

(c) Taking an examination for another student, or arranging
to have someone else take an examination for you;

(d) Altering or changing:
(A) Test answers after that test has been submitted for grad-

ing;
(B) Grades after the grades have been awarded; or
(C) Other academic records, after those records have become

official.
(e) Obtaining copies of an examination prior to its intended

use by an instructor without the instructor's approval.
(4) Procedures: The faculty member who suspects a student

of academic dishonesty should confront the student with the accu-
sation. In the event that the student disputes the allegation of aca-
demic dishonesty, then the incident should always be referred to
the Vice President for Student Affairs. The academic decision
should then be deferred pending finding on the allegation. If the
student admits to the misconduct, then one or more of the follow-
ing sanctions shall be imposed by the instructor. 

(a) Academic: 
(A) Administratively withdraw the student from class. This

action must have the approval of the School Director or the Vice
President for Academic Affairs and is subject to appeal through
Grievance Procedures in OAR Chapter 573, Division 30;

(B) Award a failing mark on the test or paper; or
(C) Require the student to take another test or resubmit the

paper. The academic sanctions described above may be employed
alone, or in concert with disciplinary procedures. Refer to "Pro-
scribed Conduct" rule OAR 573-020-0015(2)(a).

(b) Disciplinary: Refer the incident to the Vice President for
Student Affairs. Depending on the severity of the incident the
Vice President for Student Affairs or designated representative
may:

(A) Take a summary action of warning, censure or disci-
plinary action;

(B) Refer the incident to a hearing. The possible outcomes
are warning, censure, disciplinary probation, disciplinary suspen-
sion or expulsion; or

(C) If the student agrees to the charge, the Vice President for
Student Affairs will assign appropriate disciplinary action.

(D) It is suggested that more serious incidents of academic
dishonesty be referred to the Vice President for Student Affairs or
designated representative. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0024
Sanctions 

The Dean of Students is responsible for the administration of
disciplinary procedures. Such proceedings are designed to protect
the educational purposes of Southern Oregon State College,
including the health and safety of students, staff, and faculty. Dis-
ciplinary action may include:

(1) Loss of Privileges — Removal from a living group, use
of a specific College facility or denial of on-campus use of an
automobile. Loss of privileges may be accompanied by other
sanctions.

(2) Restitution — Reimbursement by transfer of property or
services to the College or member of the College community in an
amount not in excess of the damage or loss incurred. Reimburse -
ment may be accompanied by other sanctions.

(3) Warning — Violation of “Proscribed Conduct” which is
of a relatively minor nature has occurred; the student may be noti-
fied that if this type of behavior is repeated, more severe disci-
plinary actions will be taken.

(4) Probation — Serious or continuous violation of “Pro-
scribed Conduct” has occurred; the student may be permitted to
continue enrollment at the College but is in danger of being sus-
pended or expelled. The student is entitled to all rights of a student
in good standing. 

(5) Suspension — Serious violation of “Proscribed Conduct”
has occurred; the student may be excluded from the College for a
specific period of time not to exceed one year, after which the stu-
dent may petition for readmission. All services of the College are
withheld for the duration of the suspension except by order of the
President.

(6) Expulsion — Serious violation of “Proscribed Conduct”
has occurred; the student may be permanently excluded from
Southern Oregon State College. All services of the College are
withheld except by order of the President.

(7) All of the above sanctions may be enhanced with addi-
tional conditions deemed appropriate by the disciplinary authority. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87 

573-020-0025
Procedural Fairness 

(1) The student through publication of this code in the Stu-
dent Handbook is given notice of these standards of conduct.

(2) The student charged with a violation of University rules
shall be advised in writing of the charges, the nature of the inci-
dent, and a notice of a student's right to a hearing. This notifica-
tion is hand delivered to the student, or the notice shall be sent to
the student's address of record.

(3) The above requirements must be met before any disci-
plinary procedures beyond notification can be carried out.

(4) Student exhibiting behavior suggesting a serious medical
or mental problem, or disruptive to the academic process or other
institutional activities, or lacks the capacity to respond to disci-
plinary procedures, or cannot understand the nature or the wrong-
fulness of the conduct in question, or poses potential harm to the
welfare of self or others, will be referred to the Vice President for
Student Affairs for immediate action. If charged the student may
ask in writing for a contested case hearing. Immediate action may
include, but is not limited to, one or more of the following:
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(a) Immediate and voluntary withdrawal from the University.
This action is taken in order to prevent a clear and present danger
to the University community. In cases involving a student's medi-
cal or psychological condition this shall be done in consultation
with the Director of the Health Center and the Director of the
Counseling Center. The student's family/guardian may be advised
and their cooperation solicited;

(b) The student may be required to secure a medical/ psycho-
logical evaluation through the Student Health Center or at another
facility at the student's own expense. The medical/ psychological
evaluation will be used to determine the appropriateness of the
student's continued enrollment;

(c) The student may be referred to a Medical Review Board,
if the evaluation deems it appropriate. The membership of this
Medical Review Board will include the Director of the Student
Health Center, Director of the Counseling Center and one profes-
sional mental health consultant, who may be of the student's own
choosing as long as the choice is acceptable to the Vice President
for Student Affairs. The Medical Review Board will recommend
action to the Vice President for Student Affairs who will make the
final decision. All decisions of the Medical Review Board shall be
provided in writing to the student after the final decision has been
confirmed by the Vice President for Student Affairs. The student
may appeal the final decision through the President or the Presi-
dent's designated representative.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 & ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83; SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-
85; SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0030
Notification Procedures and Student Options for Disciplinary
Action 

When alleged cases of violation of "Proscribed Conduct"
occur, the Associate Dean of Students shall inform the accused
student of the following: 

(1) The charges, including:
(a) A citation of the relevant proscribed conduct;
(b) The date of the alleged violation, along with;
(c) The location; and
(d) A description of the alleged violation.
(2) The evidence upon which the charges are based.
(3) The student's option to choose a hearing body to adjudi-

cate the case.
(4) The student's right to be accompanied to the hearing by

an advisor. The advisor cannot actively participate in a hearing
except as stipulated in OAR 573-020-0005(10) entitled "Student
Rights".

(5) The prior conduct of the student which may be consid-
ered in determining a penalty in the event the student is found
guilty of the charges.

(6) Upon being informed of the charges the accused has three
academic days to choose, in writing, to have the case adjudicated
as described below. (For the purposes of this document academic
days are those calendar days within each academic term or ses-
sion, excluding Saturday, Sunday and holidays observed by the
University, between the first day scheduled for student registration
and the final day scheduled for final examinations, inclusive of
both days. Any time period calculated on the basis of academic
days which is not completed within one term or session is contin-
ued with the first academic day of the commencement of the next
term or session until the completion of the time period in question.
Any intervening calendar days which are non-academic days shall
not be counted. Any exceptions applied for within the time period
as calculated above may be granted by the Vice President for Stu-
dent Affairs for good cause.):

(a) By the Vice President for Student Affairs, if the student
does not contest the charges; or if the student refuses to respond to

the charges;
(b) By a special student/faculty board, or a Contested Case

Hearing when appropriate, if the student contests the charges. The
choice made by the student is final and binding. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 & ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83; SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-
85; SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0031
Procedures: When the Student Does Not Contest the Charges 

If the student does not contest the charges, a committee shall
be formed comprising the Associate Dean of Students and at least
two members of the special student/faculty hearing board, one of
which should be a currently enrolled student, to recommend disci-
plinary action to the Dean of Students. The Dean of Students shall
inform the student in writing of the disciplinary action. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83;
SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-85; SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94

573-020-0032
Option: When the Student Contests the Charges 

(1) If the student contests the charges and chooses a hearing
before a special student/faculty hearing board, said hearing shall
be conducted in accordance with the procedures outlined in the
following section. The board will consist of five voting members,
and one non-voting faculty chair. A quorum shall consist of at
least two students and one faculty member. The composition will
be as follows: Three students annually recommended by the
ASSOU Committee on Committees and approved by the ASSOU
Senate; two faculty members annually recommended by the Vice
President for Student Affairs and approved by the University Pres-
ident; one non-voting faculty chair, annually recommended by the
Vice President for Student Affairs and approved by the University
President.

(2) If the student contests the charges and chooses a contest-
ed case hearing, the procedures set forth in OAR Chapter 573,
Division 30, is followed. Copies of the rules are available in the
Vice President for Student Affairs. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83;
SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0035
Procedures Governing Hearings by Student/ Faculty Board 

Disciplinary hearings conducted by a student/faculty board,
referred to herein as Hearing Board, shall observe the following
procedures:

(1) All affected parties will be given notice of the hearing at
least five academic days prior to the hearing date.

(2) A representative of the Office of the Vice President for
Student Affairs shall investigate alleged student violation of "Pro-
scribed Conduct", and present the collected evidence at the hear-
ing.

(3) If the student is not present at the hearing, or if the stu-
dent should leave the hearing prior to its conclusion or adjourn-
ment, the hearing shall proceed nevertheless. The Hearing Board
shall render a decision based on the evidence presented. The stu-
dent, upon satisfactory explanation to the Hearing Board, may
request a change of hearing date. The student will be advised of a
change in the hearing date at least three academic days prior to the
new hearing.

(4) Hearings shall be closed to the public unless the accused
student wishes them to be open. If a disruption occurs, the Hear-
ing Board may order that the hearing be closed.

(5) The student has the right to be accompanied to the hear-
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ing by an advisor. The advisor is free to be at the student's side
and the student is free to consult with the advisor, but the advisor
is not free to address the panel or to ask questions of them, except
as stipulated in OAR 573-020-0005(10) "Students Rights".

(6) The Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs and
the accused shall make available to the Hearing Board a list of
witnesses pertaining to the alleged violation. 

(7) Reasonable rules of relevancy shall guide the Hearing
Board in ruling on the admissibility of evidence.

(8) Witnesses who testify are cautioned concerning the seri-
ous nature of the hearing and the obligation and responsibility to
give truthful testimony. Disciplinary action may be imposed for
knowingly giving false testimony.

(9) The Hearing Board shall make a tape recording of the
hearing which is maintained at least one year in the Office of the
Vice President for Student Affairs. Final disposition of recordings
and/or typed transcripts is made in accordance with the directives
of the University President.

(10) The Board shall clear the hearing room, and make a
determination of guilt or innocence based on evidence presented,
requiring a simple majority. If the verdict is guilty, the Board shall
reconvene with the student present. At this time the student will
have an opportunity to present evidence concerning an appropriate
penalty. Also at this time, the student's prior conduct will be con-
sidered. The Board shall then clear the room again to make a rec-
ommendation concerning the appropriate penalty.

(11)(a) Within five academic days from the day closing argu-
ments at the hearing are completed, the Hearing Board shall state
in writing:

(A) The violation;
(B) The verdict, and, if the student is found guilty;
(C) The penalty. 
(b) A copy is sent to the Vice President for Student Affairs

who shall announce the action taken on the recommendation of
the Hearing Board within seven academic days after receiving
said recommendation. This announcement is in the form of a writ-
ten statement and is sent to the accused student and to the chair of
the Hearing Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83; SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-
85; SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-85; SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOSC 1-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0036
Rehearing 

A student has the right to request another hearing based on
evidence not known at the time of the previous hearing of the
case. A written request for a new hearing along with the evidence
is presented to the Vice President for Student Affairs within five
academic days from the date the student receives the final deci-
sion. The Vice President shall make the decision to grant or deny
the student a new hearing. If a rehearing is granted, the same hear-
ing board is used. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 & ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83;
SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0037
Appeals 

(1)(a) The decision of the Hearing Board may be appealed by
the student to the Student Affairs Appeals Board. Appeals must be
submitted to the Vice President for Student Affairs within five (5)
academic days from the announcement of the decision by the Vice
President. The Chairman of the Student Affairs Committee, duly
notified by the Vice President for Student Affairs, will convene
the Student Affairs Appeals Board which will consist of an equal
number of students and faculty members. The chair of this board
will be a faculty member who will vote only in the case of a tie;

(b) The Student Affairs Appeal Board will review the tape
recordings and documents submitted from the original hearing and
decide whether to hear the case based on one or more of the fol-
lowing criteria:

(A) The original hearing was not conducted according to the
procedures set forth in this document;

(B) The verdict was not supported by clear and convincing
evidence;

(C) The penalty or disciplinary action is too severe for the
charge or is not supported by clear and convincing evidence.

(2) Evidence presented to the Appeals Board is limited to
that evidence which was presented by the original adjudicative
body. New evidence and new testimony will not be admitted
unless it is to support an appeal for rehearing based on evidence
which was not available at the time of the original adjudication.

(3) If the Appeals Board hears an appeal, it shall submit its
findings to the President of the University within three academic
days from the time a decision is reached. The President shall
review the Board's findings and render a decision, in writing, to
the accused student, the chairperson of the Appeals Board, and the
Vice President for Student Affairs. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 & ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 5-1983, f. & ef. 8-3-83;
SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-85; SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOU 1-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

Administration of Grievances 
573-020-0045
Grievances Between the Students and the College 

(1) Within 30 academic days of the incident, the grievant
shall state to the Grievance Officer how the University has wrong-
fully or erroneously:

(a) Denied registration;
(b) Cancelled registration;
(c) Required the payment of a fine, with the exception of

parking or traffic fee or fine;
(d) Withheld money; or
(e) Denied amendment of educational records.
(2) The Grievance Officer shall inform the grievant of the

right to obtain counsel and be represented at all subsequent meet-
ings or hearings that might arise from the complaint.

(3) The Grievance Officer shall, if necessary, arrange for the
grievant to meet with an agent of the University who has suffi-
cient authority to resolve the dispute. The agent may request that
other persons relevant to the dispute attend the meeting. This
meeting shall be considered an informal hearing to resolve the dis-
pute and shall be held at a time and place suitable to both the
agent and the grievant.

(4) If the grievance is still not resolved to the satisfaction of
the grievant, the student may request a Contested Case Hearing.
The request must be made in writing within five academic days
from the close of the informal hearing.

(5) Procedures for Contested Case Hearings are set forth in
OAR Chapter 573, Division 30. Copies of the Rules are available
in the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs.

(6) Grievance matters are resolved by other standing commit-
tee when appropriate. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-015
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-85; SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-
87; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0049
Grievances Between Students and Faculty Members or
Administrators 

When grievances between students and faculty members or
administrators arise, the initial attempt to resolve the dispute is
made within the appropriate department. Grievances are initiated
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and conducted as follows: 
(1) Alleged violations of federal laws prohibiting discrimina-

tion must be filed within 180 days of the incident. Complaints of
discrimination within the educational program of the University
shall be filed with the University Grievance Officer. Those which
involve employment shall be filed with the Affirmative Action
Officer. Procedures governing such complaints are set forth in
OAR Chapter 573, Division 35.

(2) The student registering a non-discrimination complaint
must do so within 30 days following the incident which is the
basis for the grievance. Exceptions to this rule may be granted by
the dean of the school in which the department is located, or by
the University Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost. 

(3) If resolution is not reached after talking with the faculty
member and the faculty member's immediate supervisor, and the
student wishes to pursue the grievance, the student shall file a
written, explicit complaint on the form which is available in the
appropriate department office. Copies of the grievance are given
to the department chair, who shall give copies to the chair of the
School/Departmental Grievance Committee and the faculty mem-
ber or administrator involved. Given constraints of the academic
calendar, all attempts must be made to schedule the
School/Departmental grievance hearing within ten academic days
from the date of filing. All affected parties will be given notice of
the hearing at least five academic days prior to the confirmed
hearing date.

(4) The School/Departmental Grievance Committee is com-
posed of seven members which shall include both faculty and stu-
dent representation, five of whom must be present to convene the
Committee.

(a) The Committee is a standing committee and is appointed
annually following procedures set by the appropriate department.

(b) The Committee has a chair and a recording secretary.
(c) The Committee shall conduct the meeting in an orderly

way, so as to give both parties an opportunity to present their
cases.

(5) If, after following the above procedures, the student's
grievance has not been resolved, the student shall meet with the
University Grievance Officer to determine whether to proceed
with the contested case hearing or to continue with the established
grievance hearing process. The choice must be made in writing
within five academic days from the time the informal grievance
hearing was held. The choice is final and binding. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-015
Hist: SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-85; SOSC 3-1987, f. & ef. 7-16-87; SOSC 1-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0052
Procedures Governing Formal Grievance Hearings 

(1) If a Contested Case Hearing is chosen, the procedures set
forth in OAR Chapter 573, Division 30, is followed.

(2) If a Grievance Committee is chosen to adjudicate the
case, the Grievance Officer shall give copies of the written request
to the disputants, to the immediate supervisor of the faculty mem-
ber or the administrator involved, and to the Chairperson of the
Student Affairs Committee who empanels a Grievance Committee
to review the request.

(3) The Grievance Committee is composed of five members:
(a) An administrator;
(b) Two faculty members on full-time teaching assignments,

one required to be in the same academic school as the grievant;
and

(c) Two students, one of which is from the same academic
school as the grievant.

(4) Each disputant has the right to one pre-emptory challenge
of a Committee member. Each disputant shall also have the right
to challenge an unlimited number of Committee members for
cause. Any challenge for cause is referred to the student/faculty
Hearing Board for disposition.

(5) The Grievance Officer or other designee of the Vice Pres-
ident for Student Affairs is present at the hearing and ensures that

procedures for Grievance Hearings, as set forth in this document,
are followed. The designee shall not give testimony nor be present
during the Committee's final deliberations.

(6) If the Grievance Committee decides, upon reading the
grievance, that a hearing is warranted, it shall empanel itself and
shall select from among its group a chairperson and a recording
secretary. The chairperson and a representative from the Office of
the Vice President for Student Affairs shall conduct a hearing as
follows:

(a) Presentation of student testimony, witnesses, and
exhibits;

(b) Questions to the student and witnesses from the faculty
member or administrator;

(c) Presentation of faculty member/administrator testimony,
witnesses, and exhibits;

(d) Questions to the faculty member/administrator and wit-
nesses from the student; 

(e) Questions at any reasonable time to the disputants and
witnesses from Committee members;

(f) Closing statements from the faculty member/administra-
tor; and

(g) Closing statements from the student.
(7) After hearing the case, the Grievance Committee shall

deliberate and submit its decision and rationale in writing to the
disputants, the Grievance Officer, and the chairperson of the Stu-
dent Affairs Committee within five academic days from the time
the closing arguments of the hearing are completed. Either dis-
putant may appeal the Grievance Committee's decision.

(8) Tape recordings and other records of the hearing shall be
the responsibility of the Grievance Officer and shall be kept for at
least one year. 

(9) Either disputant has a right to request a rehearing based
on evidence not known at the time of the previous hearing of the
case. A written request for a rehearing along with the new evi-
dence must be presented to the original hearing committee within
five academic days from the time the new evidence is discovered.
New evidence shall not be accepted as a basis for a rehearing after
thirty days have elapsed from the announcement of the Grievance
Committee's original decision. 

(10) The decision of the Grievance Committee may be
appealed by either disputant. Appeals must be submitted to the
Vice President for Student Affairs within five academic days from
the announcement of the decision and rationale of the Grievance
Committee. The Vice President shall notify the Student Affairs
Committee chairperson to empanel the Student Affairs Appeal
Board who shall decide if it will hear the appeal based on one or
more of the following criteria:

(a) The original hearing was not conducted according to
appropriate procedures set forth in this document;

(b) The decision was not supported by clear and convincing
evidence.

(11) If the Appeals Committee hears an appeal, it shall sub-
mit its findings to the President of the University within three aca-
demic days from the time a decision is reached. The President
reviews the findings of the Board and makes the decision. The
final decision shall take effect five academic days after it is
announced by the President. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 & ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-015
Hist: SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 7-1985, f. & ef. 6-19-85 ;
SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

Administration of Student Records 
573-020-0060
Maintenance of Records 

The following rules shall be observed by all persons dealing
with student records:

(1) Only such student records as are demon strably relevant to
the educational and related purposes of the institution, division, or
department shall be generated and maintained. Institutional offi-
cials generating or maintaining such student records shall annually
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review the continued relevancy of such records and shall destroy
all such records which are no longer demonstrably needed, unless
a student has requested access to said records or the State
Archivist has directed their retention.

(2) Institutional officials generating or main taining duplicate
copies of student records (whether permanent or temporary) shall
review them in the same manner as designated above.

(3) No student is required to give, though the student may
voluntarily provide, information as to race, religion, political affil-
iation or preference, or personal values of the student except as
required by state statute, federal law, or valid federal rules, regula-
tions, or orders.

(4) Student records shall be kept in locations central to the
institution, division, or department by which they are maintained,
with the custody thereof assigned in writing to designated person-
nel specifically charged with maintaining the con fidentiality of the
records and shall circulate a written statement of policy regarding
the handling of such records to the personnel so designated.

(5) The duplication of permanent student records and the
generation of temporary student records is kept to a minimum and
is maintained only for the minimum time required to serve the
basic official function of the office which generated and/ or main-
tains them.

(6) The permanent retention of student records is limited to
those which the institutional executive shall determine to be of
long-range value to the individual student or the institution.

(7) Student records, both originals and duplicate copies, shall
be disposed of in such a manner as to protect their confidentiality. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-13 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81

573-020-0065
Definition of Terms 

(1) "Student" means a person currently, or previously, attend-
ing Southern Oregon University. The payment of required fees is
a prerequisite for legal attendance.

(2) "Parent" means includes a natural or adoptive parent, a
legal guardian, or an individual acting in lieu of a parent or
guardian.

(3) "Education Record" means files, documents, materials, or
data recorded in, but not limited to, such media as handwriting,
print, tapes, electronic records, film, microfilm, microfiche, con-
taining information directly related to a student and maintained by
the institution or by a person acting for it.

(4) "Directory Information" means a student's name, local
and permanent addresses and telephone numbers, date and place
of birth, academic major, participation in officially recognized
activities and sports, dates of attendance, degrees and awards
received, and the most recent educational agency or institution
attended. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-013 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert.
ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0070
Availability of Records 

With an appropriate office or department staff member, a stu-
dent may see and review all education records that pertain to him/
her, except as noted below. No education records are to be
released to other persons or organizations without the student's
prior approval, except as noted below. Access of the student to
his/her records as well as a request for copies, at the student's
expense, is provided as early as possible, but at least within 45
days of the student's request:

(1) The following education records are not available to stu-
dents:

(a) Records of an instructional, advisory, or administrative
nature in the sole possession of the maker thereof, if such records
are only accessible to the maker or a substitute (grade books, as an
example);

(b) Records made or maintained by a physician, psychiatrist,
psychologist, or other professional or paraprofessional acting in a
professional capacity related to treating a student. However, such
records can be reviewed by a physician or other appropriate pro-
fessional with the student's written consent; 

(c) Financial records of the student's parents, unless they
have given written consent to the student seeing said records;

(d) Confidential evaluations/recommendations put in educa-
tion records prior to January 1, 1975, if the evaluations/ recom-
mendations continue to be used only for their original purpose; 

(e) Education records to which the student has waived the
right of access. Such records should be limited to applications to
an educational institution, an application for employment, or a
recommendation for an honor, award, or other form of recogni-
tion;

(f) Confidential evaluations/recommendations received after
January 1, 1975, for which the student has signed a waiver of the
right of access;

(g) Records compiled about an employee of the University
which are made and maintained in the normal course of business
and which relate exclusively to the individual in question in
his/her capacity as an employee, and are not available for any
other purpose.

(2) Release of Records Without Student Permission. Educa-
tion records can be released without permission to:

(a) Other institutional officials who have a legitimate educa-
tional interest (as determined by the institution) in the records;

(b) Officials of schools to which the student seeks or intends
to enroll. In such cases, the student is notified of the transfer of
records, and if the student desires, shall receive a copy of the
record sent and have the opportunity for a hearing to challenge the
record's contents; 

(c) The U.S. Comptroller General, the Secretary of HEW, the
Administrator of the Office of Education, and the Chancellor of
OUS;

(d) An agency from which the student has applied for, or is
receiving financial aid; 

(e) State and local authorities for whom information was
specifically required to be disclosed by state statute prior to
November 19, 1974;

(f) Organizations conducting legitimate education research,
testing, accreditation, granting financial aid, or improving instruc-
tion; if such data does not permit identification of the student or
parents to others, and if the information is destroyed when no
longer needed to carry out its specified purpose(s).

(3) Except as otherwise noted herein, other education records
may be released only with the student's prior written permission.
The written notice of permission is filed with the record thereby
released. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-13 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0075
Student Right to Waive Access 

A student may voluntarily waive the right of access to an
education record. A student cannot be compelled to waive the
right of access. Additionally, a student who waives the right must
be informed of the names of persons making confidential evalua-
tions/recommendations and that such evaluations/ recommenda-
tions are being used only for the purposes originally intended. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-13 & Family Educ. & Privacy

Chapter 573     Oregon State System of Higher Education, Southern Oregon University

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
1999 Edition 10 - 345 (11-13-98)



Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81

573-020-0080
Challenge to Content of Records 

The student has the right to challenge the content of educa-
tion records in order to ensure that they are accurate and in com-
pliance with the privacy or other rights of the student. Additional-
ly, the student has the right to request the amendment of the
education record. If the student challenges the content of a record
and requests deletion or modification of said record, the student is
entitled to a hearing. The procedure concerning challenges will
be:

(1) The person maintaining the challenged record, in review-
ing the record with the student, may agree to correct matters of
fact or allow the student to enter an explanatory statement relating
to matters of opinion. 

NOTE: Grades are not included as "matters of fact" unless an
error was made in transcribing or recording the grade.

(2) If the custodian of the record does not concur with the
request of the student for a deletion or modification of the record,
the student may request a hearing.

(3) Requests for a hearing will be submitted to the Office of
the Vice President for Student Affairs, as Custodian of Student
Records, who will act in accordance with the Contested Case
Hearing process.

(4) The person initiating the hearing shall bear the burden of
proof of a preponderance of the evidence in order to prove the
validity of his/her claim at the hearing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-013 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0085
Non-Release to Third Parties 

All copies of education records provided to non-institutional
individuals/organizations should bear a statement to the effect
that: “Under the provisions of Public Law 93-380 (as amend-
ed), the information contained in this document is not to be
released to others without the written consent of the student
named herein”.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-13 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81

573-020-0090
Record of Access to Student Records 

A written notation is made in the education record of a stu-
dent on each occasion that either a person outside the University,
or a University employee who does not customarily work with
said record, either requests or is given access to the record. The
notation should indicate the name of the person, the organization
represented, and the reason for granting access. Though not
required by law, the date of access should be noted as a matter of
record. However, such notation is not required where:

(1) The disclosure is made to the student as allowed in this
policy;

(2) The disclosure is made pursuant to the written consent of
the student;

(3) The disclosure is made to University officials with a
legitimate educational interest (as defined by the University);

(4) The disclosure consists of directory information not
restricted by the student; or

(5) The disclosure is made to other officials as noted in OAR

573-020-0070(2). 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 315
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-013 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0095
Destruction of Records 

Prior access is granted to students who have requested access
before the records are destroyed, and the State Archivist is
empowered to order the retention of some categories of records. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-13 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81

573-020-0100
Delay in Granting Access 

A maximum delay of 45 days is authorized in granting access
to education records involving students. (HEW regulations require
that requests for access to, or copies of, student records must be
acted on within 45 days. However, it is institutional policy that
such requests be acted on within 15 days, except in unusual cir-
cumstances. Should such circumstances arise, the custodian of
said records shall provide the student making the request a written
explanation for the delay.) 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-13 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81 

573-020-0105
Health or Safety Emergencies 

(1) An educational institution may release information from
education records to appropriate persons in connection with an
emergency, if the knowledge of such information is necessary to
protect the health or safety of a student or other persons.

(2) However, such information may be released only if the
threat to health or safety is serious, if the records are needed to
meet the emergency, if there are persons who can use the informa-
tion to deal with the emergency, and if time is of the essence in
dealing with the emergency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-13 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81

573-020-0110
Access to Records on Several Students 

If a student requests access to an institutional record con -
taining data on several students, the student is given access to only
that data relating to him/herself. The privacy of the other students’
data shall not be violated. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-13 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81

573-020-0115
Annual Publication of Institutional Policy 

The Custodian of Student Records shall annually give notice
to students and to the parents of dependent students of the follow-
ing:

Chapter 573     Oregon State System of Higher Education, Southern Oregon University

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
1999 Edition 10 - 346 (11-13-98)



(1) Their right of access to education records;
(2) The types of education records and informa tion directly

relating to students being maintained;
(3) The name and position of the official responsible for the

maintenance of each type of record, the person(s) having access to
these records, and the reason for their having access;

(4) The institutional policy for reviewing and expunging
these records;

(5) The right of the student to copies of certain records, for a
reasonable charge;

(6) The right of the student to have the meaning of entries in
personal education records explained;

(7) The procedures for challenging the content of education
records and for inserting a denial or correction of disputed data;

(8) The categories of information designated as directory
information, and which of these categories the student may opt not
to have released. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-13 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81

573-020-0120
Procedure for Student Access to Records 

(1) If there is any doubt as to the identity of the person
requesting access to education records, positive identification
must be secured from the applicant. 

(2) If the applicant can produce a current SOU I.D. Card and
a current fees-paid card, the student can obtain access under the
conditions noted in OAR 573-020-0070. A note must be made on
the record if a request was made for copies of the document and
what response was made to the request.

(3) If the applicant cannot produce valid current campus
identification, verification of the previous student status of the
applicant must be obtained from the Office of the Vice President
for Student Affairs before granting access. Once verification has
been made, access will be granted under the same conditions as
those for current students. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-013 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0125
Non-Release of Directory Information 

(1) A Student May Opt in Writing to Keep Confidential All
"Directory Information" as Defined in OAR 573-020-0065(4).

(2) Exclusion of any one of the above items (OAR 573-020-
0065(4)) will exclude all items. This option can be made by filing
a written, dated, and signed request at the Office of the Vice Presi-
dent for Student Affairs prior to the close of registration, during
the term of the academic year in which the student first enrolls.
This option remains in effect for the remainder of the academic
year, and the option may not be exercised or changed for the bal-
ance of the academic year. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 315. 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-013 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-020-0130
Questions and Inquiries Relating to Student Records 

(1) This statement on the administration of student records
provides students at Southern Oregon University the rights under
Section 438 of the General Education Provisions Act, as amended
(added by Section 513 of Public Law 93-380 as amended by Sec-

tion 2 of Public Law 93-568), and the regulations thereunder. All
questions and inquiries regarding the policy and copies of the pol-
icy may be directed and obtained in the Office of the Vice Presi-
dent for Student Affairs. Students have the right to file complaints
with the Department of Health, Education and Welfare concerning
any alleged failure of the University to comply with the regula-
tions of sections 438 and 439 of the Act and its supporting regula-
tions.

(2) The University annually shall inform the students of their
rights under this policy by publishing the rules contained herein,
or the substance thereof, in the Student Handbook, or in the time
schedule of classes. In any instance where the provisions of insti-
tutional policy regarding student records are determined by legal
counsel to be inconsistent with the requirements, limitations, or
restrictions of 20 U.S.C. 1232g, the Custodian of Student Records
is empowered to waive the provision in question and to administer
this policy consistent with 20 U.S.C. 1232g and its implementing
regulations.

(3) If federal or state authorities amend current legislative
directives on student records during the academic year, the Custo-
dian of Student Records will make such amendments known to
the students via The Siskiyou.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 315 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, OAR 580-013 & Family Educ. & Privacy
Act
Hist: SOSC 7(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; SOSC 9, f. & ef. 12-21-76; SOSC
13(Temp), f. & ef. 9-15-77; SOSC 3-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 1-1981, f. 1-
8-81, ef. 1-12-81; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 25 
STUDENT LIABILITY INSURANCE 

573-025-0005
Student Liability Insurance 

(1) Students enrolled in health related academic coursework
which involves patient care shall be required to carry liability
insurance. The coverage shall be carried either as part of a group
insurance plan or by an independent policy, depending on the aca-
demic program in which the student is enrolled.

(2) All students enrolled in health related academic course-
work which involves patient care shall be required to pay a fee
determined by the insurance premium, toward the cost of a group
liability insurance policy, which includes the cost for naming the
University as an additional insured on the student's policy and
other costs required by the insurance carrier. The list of specified
courses and the actual premium fee charged for any academic year
is available in the Schedule of Classes and from the Department of
Business Services. Students shall be required to make payment
each academic year at registration during the first term enrolled
for that academic year. The insurance policy shall have a mini-
mum limit of $1,000,000 for each claim with an aggregate mini-
mum limit of $1,000,000 per year.

(3) Pre-Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy Students,
Athletic Training Students, and Experiential Learning Students:
All students enrolled in selected practicum, internship, capstone,
or other experiential learning courses requiring liability coverage
shall be required to pay a fee determined by the insurance premi-
um, toward the cost of a group liability insurance policy, which
includes the cost for naming the University as an additional
insured on the student's policy and other costs required by the
insurance carrier. The list of specified courses and the actual pre-
mium fee charged for any academic year is available in the Sched-
ule of Classes and from the Department of Business Services. The
insurance policy shall have a minimum limit of $1,000,000 for
each claim with an aggregate minimum limit of $1,000,000 per
year.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
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Hist.: SOSC 6-1979, f. & ef. 9-27-79; SOSC 1-1980, f. & ef. 3-5-80; SOSC 3-
1983, f. & ef. 5-9-83; SOSC 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-28-92; SOSC 1-1994, f. &
cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 26
MEDICAL INSURANCE

573-026-0005
Medical Insurance Requirements for Nonimmigrant Foreign
Students and Their Dependents

(1) To assist the University in complying with federal regula-
tions, nonimmigrant foreign students admitted and enrolled at
Southern Oregon University must demonstrate their ability to
meet their financial responsibilities in full. These responsibilities
include the provision by nonimmigrant foreign students for medi-
cal care for themselves and dependent family members while in
the United States.

(2) All nonimmigrant foreign students admitted and enrolled
part-or full-time at Southern Oregon University will be required to
carry medical insurance for themselves and all their dependent
family members in the United States.

(3) The medical insurance policy carried by each nonimmi-
grant foreign student must provide coverage with the maximum
dollar limits at least comparable to the one offered through the
University. The policy may be underwritten by a foreign insur-
ance carrier, but it must be payable in the Untied States for medi-
cal expenses incurred in the United States.

(4) Such insurance policy must be in force continuously dur-
ing the student's enrollment at SOU, commencing during the reg-
istration period of the student's first term at the University. Stu-
dents are required to provide a 30-day notice to the University
Director of Business Services if their insurance is cancelled or
materially changed.

(5) Nonimmigrant foreign students must provide proof of
adequate insurance coverage acceptable to the Foreign Student
Office and the Business Office before they are permitted to regis-
ter for classes. Documentation of such comparable coverage is to
be provided by completing the "Foreign Student Medical Insur-
ance Certification" form and receiving an authorized waiver. The
form and waiver authorization will be available at the site of regis-
tration and in the Foreign Student Office. Documentation must
indicate in English the insurance company's name and address for
billing purposes, policy number, the effective dates of the policy,
a list of persons covered by the policy, and a certification that the
coverage limits meet the established minimums.

(6) If an enrolling nonimmigrant foreign student does not
provide acceptable proof of adequate medical insurance for him-
or herself and for dependent family members in the United States,
the Foreign Student Office may restrict University registration and
issuance of immigration documents (for travel, extensions of stay,
employment requests, practical training, dependent matters, etc.)
for the student and the student's dependent family members.

(7) Nonimmigrant foreign students may contest the factual
premise underlying any decision to deny a comparable insurance
waiver and any subsequent restriction allowed under section 

(6) of this rule by presenting their documentation and argu-
ments before the Vice President of Student Affairs or that person's
designee.

(8) Pending the resolution of any dispute over a decision
under this administrative rule, the student shall be permitted to
register, and shall, in the event of an adverse decision compelling
withdrawal from the University subsequent to registration, be
guaranteed a refund of any tuition paid for the term in which with-
drawal takes place.

(9) New nonimmigrant foreign students shall be notified in
writing of these requirements by the Admissions Office with their
letter of admittance. Returning nonimmigrant foreign students
shall be notified in writing of these requirements by the Foreign
Students Office.

(10) Foreign institution exchange agreements, foreign study

agreements, and foreign visitation program agreements executed
with SOU shall include a requirement that the sponsoring institu-
tion or organization is responsible for ensuring that its foreign par-
ticipants are covered by medical insurance as required in sections
(3) and (4) of this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351,070 & ORS 351.072
Hist.: SOSC 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-5-88; SOSC 1-1989, f. & cert. ef.
2-16-89; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 30 
MODEL RULES OF PROCEDURE APPLICABLE TO

CONTESTED CASES 
573-030-0005 
Contested Case Defined 

(1) A contested case exists whenever:
(a) A constitutional provision or institutional enabling act

requires a hearing upon the action; or
(b) The institution has discretion to suspend or revoke a right

or privilege of a person; or
(c) There is a proceeding in which the institution by rule or

order provides for a hearing, in accordance with contested case
requirements.

(2) "Contested case" does not include proceedings in which
an institution decision rests solely on the results of a test. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80; SOU 1-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-030-0015
Entitlement to Contested Case Hearing 

(1) A person is entitled to a contested case hearing whenever
a contested case exists as defined in OAR 573-030-0005.

(2) A person is not entitled to a contested case hearing when:
(a) Any optional hearing method defined by Administrative

Rule has been selected as the method of resolving the conflict;
(b) In any case involving collection of fees or fines for park-

ing, improper parking, or traffic fines or penalties. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0025 
Notice of Hearing 

(1) Within ten days after receipt of request for a hearing, the
institution shall give notice to all parties in a contested case. The
notice shall include:

(a) A statement of the time and place of the hearing, name of
the hearing officer and name and title of the person who is autho-
rized by the institution to issue a final order after the hearing;

(b) A statement of the authority and jurisdiction under which
the hearing is to be held;

(c) A reference to the particular sections of the statutes and
rules which the institution deems to be involved;

(d) A short and plain statement of the matters asserted or
charged;

(e) A statement that the party may be represented by counsel
at the hearing;

(f) A statement that the contested case hearing is being held
at the request of the grievant.

(2) The notice shall be served personally or by registered or
certified mail sent to the address of the grievant as shown on the
records of this institution. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0026 

Chapter 573     Oregon State System of Higher Education, Southern Oregon University

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
1999 Edition 10 - 348 (11-13-98)



Rights of Parties in Contested Cases 
(1) The written or oral information required to be given

under ORS 183.413(2) before commencement of a contested case
hearing shall include:

(a) If a party is not represented by an attorney, a general de -
scription of the hearing procedure including the order of presenta-
tion of evidence, what kinds of evidence are admissible, whether
objections may be made to the introduction of evidence and what
kind of objections may be made and an explanation of the burdens
of proof or burdens of going forward with the evi dence;

(b) Whether a record will be made of the proceedings and the
manner of making the record and its availability to the parties;

(c) The function of the record-making with respect to the per-
petuation of the testimony and evidence and with respect to any
appeal from the determination or order of the agency;

(d) That an attorney will represent the institution in matters
to be heard and whether the parties ordinarily and customarily are
represented by an attorney;

(e) The title and function of the person presiding at the hear-
ing with respect to the decision process, including, but not limited
to, the manner in which the testimony and evidence taken by the
person presiding at the hearing are reviewed, the effect of that per-
son’s determination, who makes the final determination on behalf
of the institution, whether the person presiding at the hearing is or
is not an employee, officer or other representative of the institu-
tion and whether that person has the authority to make a final
independent determination;

(f) In the event a party is not represented by an attorney,
whether the party may during the course of proceedings request a
recess if at that point the party determines that representation by
an attorney is necessary to the protection of the party’s rights;

(g) Whether there exists an opportunity for an adjournment at
the end of the hearing if the party then determines that additional
evidence should be brought to the attention of the institution and
the hearing reopened;

(h) Whether there exists an opportunity after the hearing and
prior to the final determination or order of the institution to review
and object to any proposed findings of fact, conclusions of law,
summary of evidence or recommendations of the officer presiding
at the hearing;

(i) A description of the appeal process from the deter -
mination or order of the agency.

(2) The information required in section (1) may be given in
writing or orally before the commencement of the hearing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0030 
Order When Party Fails to Appear 

(1) When the party fails to appear at the specified time and
place, or at the time to which the hearing may have been contin-
ued by mutual consent or by order of the hearing officer, this insti-
tution shall issue an order based on the information available to it.

(2) The order supporting the action of this institution shall set
forth the material on which the action is based or the material
shall be attached to and made a part of the order. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0035
Subpoena, Deposition 

(1) The hearing officer shall issue subpoenas to any party to a
contested case request upon a showing of general relevance and
reasonable scope of the evidence sought.

(2) Witnesses appearing pursuant to subpoena, other than
parties or officers or employees of the institution, shall be ten-
dered fees and mileage as prescribed by law for witnesses in civil
actions. The party requesting the subpoena shall be re sponsible for
service of the subpoena and tendering the witness and mileage
fees to the witness.

(3) On petition of any party to a contested case, the instit -
ution may order the testimony of any material witness be taken by
deposition in the manner prescribed by law for depositions in in
civil actions (ORS Chapter 45). Depositions may also be taken by
the use of audio or audiovisual recordings. The petition shall set
forth:

(a) The name and address of the witness whose testimony is
desired;

(b) A showing of materiality of the testimony;
(c) A request for an order that the testimony of the witness be

taken before an officer named in the petition for that purpose.
(4) If the institution issues an order for the taking of a deposi-

tion and the witness resides in this state and is unwilling to
appear, the institution may issue a subpoena as provided in section
(1) requiring his appearance before the officer taking the deposi-
tion. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0040
Hearing 

(1) The hearing shall be conducted by and shall be under the
control of the hearing officer. The hearing officer may be the
President of the institution or his designee.

(2) Subject to the discretion of the hearing officer, the hear-
ing shall be conducted in the following manner:

(a) Statement and evidence of this institution in support of its
action;

(b) Statement and evidence of affected persons disputing the
institution’s action;

(c) Rebuttal testimony.
(3) The hearing officer and the affected parties and this insti-

tution or their attorneys shall have the right to question or examine
or cross-examine any witness. 

(4) The hearing may be continued with recesses as deter-
mined by the hearing officer.

(5) The hearing officer may set reasonable time limits for
oral presentation and may excluded or limit cumulative, repeti-
tious or immaterial matter.

(6) Exhibits shall be marked and the markings shall identify
the person offering the exhibits. The exhibits shall be preserved by
this institution as part of the record of the proceedings.

(7) The burden of presenting evidence to support a fact or
position rests on the proponent of the fact or position. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0045
Evidentiary Rules 

(1) Evidence of a type commonly relied upon by reasonably
prudent persons in the conduct of their serious affairs shall be
admissible.

(2) All offered evidence, not objected to, will be received by
the hearing officer subject to his power to exclude irrelevant,
immaterial, or unduly repetitious matter.

(3) Evidence objected to may be received by the hearing offi-
cer with rulings on its admissibility to be made when offered, at a
later time during the hearing or at the time a final order is issued.

(4) Any time ten days or more before a hearing, any party
may serve on an opposing party a copy of any affidavit, certificate
or other document the party proposes to introduce in evidence.
Unless the opposing party requests cross-examination of the affi-
ant, certificate preparer, or other document preparer or custodian,
more than 5 days prior to the hearing, the affidavit or certificate
may be offered and received with the same effect as oral testimo-
ny.

(5) If the opposing party requests cross-examination of the
affiant, certificate preparer, or other document preparer or custodi-
an as provided in section (4) and the opposing party is informed
more than five days prior to the hearing,that the person will not be
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able to appear for cross-examination, the affidavit, certificate or
other document may be received in evidence, provided the agency
or hearings officer determines that:

(a) The contents of the affidavit, certificate or other docu-
ment is of a type commonly relied upon by reasonably prudent
persons in the conduct of their serious affairs; and

(b) The party requesting cross-examination would not be
unduly prejudiced or injured by lack of cross-examination. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0050
Proposed Orders on Contested Cases; Filing of Exceptions
and Arguments 

(1) If the official who is to render the final order was not pre -
sent at the hearing or has not reviewed and considered the record,
and the order is adverse to a party (excluding this institution), a
proposed order including findings of fact and conclusions of law
shall be served upon the parties.

(2) The parties shall be given the opportunity to file excep-
tions and present argument to the official who renders the final
order prior to its issuance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0051
Ex Parte Communications to the Institution 

(1) The institution shall place on record a statement of the
substances of any written or oral ex parte communications on a
fact in issue made to the institution during its review of a contest-
ed case.

(2) The institution shall give notice to all parties of ex parte
communications. The notice shall include:

(a) The substance of the communication if oral; if in writing
a copy of the communication;

(b) Whether or not the institution will consider the ex parte
communication in considering the case.

(3) If the institution gives notice that the ex parte com -
munication will be considered in deciding the case, the agency at
its discretion shall:

(a) Set a date when the other parties may rebut the substance
of the ex parte communication in writing; or

(b) Schedule a hearing for the limited purposes of receiving
evidence relating to the ex parte communication.

(4) If an agency schedules a hearing, it may remand the mat-
ter to a hearing officer. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0052
Ex Parte Communications 

(1) The officer presiding at the hearing shall place on the
record a statement of the substances of any written or oral ex parte
communications or a fact in issue made to the officer during the
pendency of the proceeding.

(2) The presiding officer shall give notice to all parties of ex
parte communications. The notice shall include:

(a) The substance of the communication if oral; if in writing
a copy of the communication;

(b) Whether or not the officer will consider the ex parte com-
munication in making a recommendation to the institution or in
deciding the case.

(3) If the presiding officer gives notice that the ex parte com-
munication will be considered in making a recommendation to the
institution or in deciding the case, the officer shall either:

(a) Set a date when the other parties may rebut the substance
of the ex parte communication in writing; or

(b) Schedule a hearing for the limited purposes of receiving
evidence relating to the ex parte communication. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0053
Ex Parte Communication Record 

If an ex parte communication is made to the institution or a
presiding officer as described in OAR 573-030-0051 and 573-
030-0052 the record shall include:

(1) The ex parte communication if in writing;
(2) A statement of the substance of the ex parte communi -

cation if oral;
(3) The institution’s or presiding officer’s notice to the par-

ties of the ex parte communication;
(4) Rebuttal Documents; and
(5) If a hearing is held the evidence, exhibits and transcripts

of the proceedings.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0055
Final Orders on Contested Cases: Notification 

(1) Final orders on contested cases shall be in writing and
include the following:

(a) Rulings on admissibility of offered evidence if the ruling
was deferred to that time;

(b) Findings of fact — Those matters which are either agreed
as fact or which, when disputed, are determined by the fact-finder,
on substantial evidence, to be facts even though there are con-
tentions to the contrary;

(c) Conclusion(s) of law — Applications of the controlling
law and rules to the facts found and the legal results arising there-
from;

(d) Order — The action taken by this institution as the result
of the findings of fact and conclusions of law.

(2) The final order may include an opinion explaining the
reasons and rationale adopted by the agency in arriving at the con-
clusions supporting its action.

(3) Parties to contested cases and their attorneys of record
shall be served a copy of the final order and any accompanying
findings and conclusions.

(4) The final order shall include a citation of the statute under
which the order may be appealed. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

573-030-0060
When OAR 573-030-0005 Through 573-030-0055 Do Not
Apply 

OAR 573-030-0005 through 573-030-0055 do not apply to
procedures for imposition of sanctions on an academic staff mem-
ber. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8, f. & ef. 12-9-76; SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

530-030-0065
Petitions for Reconsideration, Rehearing 

(1) A party may file a petition for reconsideration or rehear-
ing on a final order with the institution within 30 days after the
order is served.

(2) The petition shall set forth the specific ground or grounds
for requesting the reconsideration or rehearing. The petition may
be supported by a written argument.

(3) The institution may grant a reconsideration petition if suf-
ficient reason therefor is made to appear. If the petition is granted
an amended order shall be entered.

(4) The institution may grant a rehearing petition if sufficient
reason therefor is made to appear. The rehearing may be limited
by the institution to specific matters. If a rehearing is held an
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amended order shall be entered.
(5) If the institution does not act on the petition within the

60th day following the date the petition was filed, the petition
shall be deemed denied. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-021
Hist.: SOSC 8-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80 

DIVISION 35
DISCRIMINATION 

573-035-0005 
Definition 

As used in OAR 573-035-0010 and 573-035-0015, “discrimi -
nation” means any act or practice, either in form or operation,
whether intended or unintended, that unreasonably interferes with
the rights of students or employees to pursue educational, recre-
ational, social, cultural, residential, employment, or professional
activities in an atmosphere where the rights, dignity, and worth of
every individual are respected. These rights are granted indepen-
dent of an individual’s race, color, national origin, religion, age,
disability, marital status, veteran status, gender, or sexual orienta-
tion.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & 659
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-15; Civil Rights Act; Title VII;
Title VI; Americans with Disabilities Act; Equal Pay Act; Executive Order
11246; Age Discrimination Act
Hist.: SOSC 9-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80; SOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93

573-035-0010
Discrimination

Harassing, threatening, or intimidating activities, or any prac-
tice by an employee or a student, which abuses, endangers, jeopar-
dizes personal safety, or interferes with the official duties, class
attendance, or educational pursuits of any person, are prohibited.
Southern Oregon University is committed to free speech. Nothing
in this policy is intended to limit constitutional protections of
speech. If any person feels subject to prohibited discrimination,
the procedures outlined in OAR 573-035-0015, or procedures out-
lined in an applicable collective bargaining agreement, shall be
used for redressing the grievance. An employee who is a faculty
member may alternatively elect to follow the grievance procedure
outlined in the Faculty Constitution. Faculty members alleging
harassment or intimidation by students may file complaints under
applicable student conduct codes.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & ORS 659
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-015; Civil Rights Act; Title
VII; Title VI; Americans with Disabilities Act; Equal Pay Act; Executive
Order 11246; Age Discrimination Act
Hist.: SOSC 9-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80; SOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93;
SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-035-0015
Grievance Procedure

The following procedures are to be used in resolving com-
plaints alleging discrimination by a student or employee of SOU,
if not otherwise processed under a collective bargaining contract
or the Faculty Constitution: 

(1) For the purpose of this rule, the following definitions
shall be used:

(a) "University Representative": The person who is alleged to
be responsible for the policy, practice, or act considered by the
grievant to be discriminatory;

(b) "Compliance Officer": The Vice President for Student
Affairs for education-related complaints; the Vice President for
Academic Affairs and Provost for academic employment-related
complaints; the Vice President for Administration and Finance for
other employment-related complaints;

(c) "Grievance Officer": The Associate Dean of Students for
education-related complaints; the Affirmative Action Officer for

all employment-related complaints;
(d) "Grievant": The person initiating the complaint;
(e) "Sexual Harassment" (includes sexual orientation harass-

ment): Unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, or
other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature when:

(A) Submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or
implicitly a term or condition of employment or participation in
an academic program or activity;

(B) Such conduct has the purpose or effect of unreasonably
interfering with an individual's work or academic performance or
creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive working or learning
environment.

(f) "Status": Role of grievant at the time of the alleged dis-
criminatory act, i.e., student employee, applicant, etc.

(g) "Investigating Officer":University official appointed by
the designated compliance officer to investigate complaints of dis-
crimination. This may be the Associate Dean of Students, the
Affirmative Action Officer, or other official as deemed appropri-
ate by the compliance officer.

(h) "Institution Official":University administrator, supervi-
sor, faculty member, graduate assistant, or other person acting in
an official capacity for the University.

(2) A complaint alleging discrimination shall be processed as
described below. Cases involving allegations of discrimination are
especially sensitive, and special attention will be given to the issue
of privacy for all individuals. However, absolute confidentiality
cannot be guaranteed. Investigation may make complete confiden-
tiality impossible:

(a) Informal Resolution. A grievant is encouraged to attempt
to resolve the complaint with the University representative
responsible for the policy, practice, or act considered discrimina-
tory within 30 days of the alleged discriminatory act. The grievant
may do this individually, or request assistance from the appropri-
ate grievance officer. If no resolution is reached, a formal
grievance may be filed. Informal grievances filed after the 30-day
period may be resolved informally, providing the President deter-
mines it is in the best interest of the institution to do so. Other-
wise, formal resolution may be pursued;

(b) Formal Resolution. A grievant may file a formal
grievance even if no informal resolution has been pursued. To file
a formal grievance, the grievant shall submit the complaint, in
writing, within 180 days of the alleged discriminatory act. The
grievant may request the assistance of the appropriate grievance
officer in writing the complaint. The grievant shall have access to
all relevant records which are not protected under state and/or fed-
eral law. The complaint shall be addressed to the appropriate com-
pliance officer, and shall contain the following:

(A) The grievant's name, address, status, and telephone num-
ber where the grievant may be contacted;

(B) The date(s) of the alleged act of discrimination and a
detailed description, including possible witnesses;

(C) An outline of the attempts to resolve the grievance,
including the name of the University representative alleged to be
responsible for the discriminatory policy, practice, or act and the
date(s) of the attempt at resolution, if any;

(D) All information pertaining to the complaint;
(E) Resolution proposed by the grievant;
(F) Grievant's signature;
(G) The complaints relating to educational programs, the

compliance officer shall forward summaries of the written com-
plaint to the University representative named in the complaint, the
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, the President,
and the Chancellor's Office; for employment-related complaints,
the compliance officer shall forward copies of the written com-
plaint to the President;

(H) The compliance officer shall direct that the grievance
officer or other University official as determined by the compli-
ance officer, conduct an investigation into the circumstances sur-
rounding the complaint. Even if informal review shows that the
formal complaint does not appear to be valid, all formally submit-
ted complaints shall receive a formal response under these guide-
lines. The investigating officer shall request a statement from the
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University representative named in the complaint, investigate the
grievance, and attempt resolutions. If unable to resolve the
grievance promptly, the compliance officer shall recommend
appropriate action to the President. The President shall order cor-
rection of any noncompliance found to exist or to have occurred;

(I) The final decision shall be given to the grievant, in writ-
ing, by the President within 30 days after receipt of the written
complaint by the compliance officer, unless additional time is
granted by the President for employment-related complaints, or
the Chancellor's Office for education-related complaints. Copies
of the President's decision shall be sent to the named University
representative, the appropriate compliance officer, the appropriate
Dean, and, for education-related complaints, to the Chancellor's
Office;

(J) If the grievant in an education-related complaint finds the
President's decision unsatisfactory, the grievant may request a
hearing in the manner provided in the Administrative Rules of the
Oregon State Board of Higher Education. (See OAR 580-015-
0105.) The compliance officer shall send a copy of the grievant's
response and request for a hearing to the named University repre-
sentative, the appropriate Dean, the Vice President for Academic
Affairs and Provost, the President, and the Chancellor's Office;

(K) If the respondent in a discrimination complaint wishes to
appeal any sanctions imposed, applicable grievance procedures
may be used. Academic staff members having indefinite tenure
may alternatively request review by the Board as outlined in OAR
580-021-0370.

(c) Institution-initiated complaints. If institution officials
learn of incidents of potential discrimination, but the alleged vic-
tim(s) are reluctant to bring a complaint, the President may direct
an investigation on behalf of the institution. Such investigations
will be conducted as outlined in OAR 573-035-0015(2)(b)(H)
unless the President determines that it is in the best interests of the
University to do otherwise. The University may take corrective
action, if appropriate, based on this investigation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 & ORS 659
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-15; Civil Rights Act; Title VII;
Title VI; Americans with Disabilities Act; Equal Pay Act; Executive Order
11246; Age Discrimination Act
Hist.: SOSC 9-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80; SOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93;
SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-035-0040
Formal Investigations

Formal investigations are neces sary whenever:
(1) A formal complaint has been received;
(2) The nature of the complaint (formal or informal) is such

that the alleged harassment may lead to formal disciplinary act -
ions; or 

(3) Directed by the President.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-15; Civil Rights Act; Title VII;
Title VI; Americans with Disabilities Act; Equal Pay Act; Executive Order
11246; Age Discrimination Act
Hist.: SOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93

573-035-0050
Responsibility of Institutional Officials

Institution officials, as defined in OAR 573-035-0015(1)(h),
who learn of incidents of potential sexual harassment must take
prompt and appropriate corrective action whenever it is within
their authority to do so unless to do so would violate a communi-
cation protected by the Oregon Code of Evidence. Institution offi-
cials who learn of potential incidents of sexual harassment who do
not have the authority to take corrective action shall report the
incidents of harassment promptly to institution officials with such
authority unless to do so would violate a communication protected
by the Oregon Code of Evidence. 

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-015; Civil Rights Act; Title

VII; Title VI; Americans with Disabilities Act; Equal Pay Act; Executive
Order 11246; Age Discrimination Act
Hist.: SOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-035-0060
Disciplinary Action

(1) Informal resolution of com plaints is aimed at stopping the
discriminatory action(s). Informal resolution is educational, rather
than legal in intent for both the complainant and the alleged
harasser. Persons complained against may agree to actions such as
apologies, reprimands, demotions, or voluntary resignations, with-
out going through formal disciplinary procedures.

(2) Formal resolution may result in formal sanctions or disci-
plinary action as outlined in the applicable collective bar gaining
agreement, Faculty Constitution, Oregon Admin istrative Rules, or
other personnel policies.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-15; Civil Rights Act; Title VII;
Title VI; Americans with Disabilities Act; Equal Pay Act; Executive Order
11246; Age Discrimination Act
Hist.: SOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93

573-035-0070
Retaliation

It is a violation of University policy to intimidate, discipline,
discharge, or harass any individual because she or he has filed a
complaint, instituted proceedings, assisted in an investigation, or
formally or informally objected to discriminatory practices. It is a
violation of University policy to intimidate, discharge, or harass
any individual even if his or her complaint is not sustained. If
retaliation occurs, the incident should be reported immediately to
the appropriate grievance officer.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-015; Civil Rights Act; Title
VII; Title VI; Americans with Disabilities Act; Equal Pay Act; Executive
Order 11246; Age Discrimination Act
Hist.: SOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-035-0080
Frivolous or False Charges

This policy shall not be used to bring frivolous or malicious
charges against fellow students, faculty members, or other
employees. Disciplinary action under the appropriate per sonnel
policies concerning personal misconduct or under student disci-
plinary codes shall be taken against any person bringing a charge
of discrimi nation in bad faith.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-15; Civil Rights Act; Title VII;
Title VI; Americans with Disabilities Act; Equal Pay Act; Executive Order
11246; Age Discrimination Act
Hist.: SOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93

573-035-0090
Alternative Complaint Procedures

Charges of discrimination may also be filed with appropriate
federal, state, or local agencies. The University may suspend an
investigation under this procedure if the grievant also seeks
review under another internal or external review procedure.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-015; Civil Rights Act; Title
VII; Title VI; Americans with Disabilities Act; Equal Pay Act; Executive
Order 11246; Age Discrimination Act
Hist.: SOSC 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 40
SCHEDULE OF FEES

573-040-0005 
Special Fees

The Special Fees for certain courses and general services
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approved by Southern Oregon University are hereby adopted by
reference.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-0040-0010
Hist.: SOSC 4, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 10, f. & ef. 5-9-77; SOSC 6-1978, f. &
ef. 6-2-77; SOSC 8-1978, f. & ef. 12-15-78; SOSC 2-1979, f. & ef. 6-20-79;
SOSC 4-1980, f. & ef. 5 20-80; SOSC 4-1980, f. & ef. 5-20-80; SOSC 2-1981,
f. & ef. 6-2-81; SOSC 3-1982, f. & ef. 7-1-82; SOSC 4-1983, f. & ef. 5-26-83;
SOSC 1-1984, f. & ef. 6-20-84; SOSC 4-1985, f. & ef. 6-3-85; SOSC 9-1985,
f. & ef. 12-17-85; SOSC 2-1986, f. & ef. 5-30-86; SOSC 1-1987, f. & ef. 6-5-
87; SOSC 4-1987, f. & ef. 9-4-87; SOSC 1-1988, f. & cert. ef. 5-19-88; SOSC
2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-2-88; SOSC 4-1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-23-88;
SOSC 3-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; SOSC 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-90;
SOSC 3-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; SOSC 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-3-92;
SOSC 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-21-93; SOSC 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-94;
SOSC 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 6-7-95; SOSC 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 6-5-96; SOU
1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-20-97; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 41
GUIDELINES AND PROCEDURES FOR 
ALLOCATION OF INCIDENTAL FEES 

573-041-0005
Incidental Fees 

(1) An incidental fee is assessed quarterly as part of each stu-
dent’s tuition and is used to finance certain auxiliary campus
activities including the College Union operation; educational, cul-
tural, and student government activities; and athletic activities.

(2) This document outlines the policies and procedures relat-
ed to the funding of activities, programs, and services supported
by the incidental fee and supersedes all previous guidelines and
policy statements. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-10-090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94

573-041-0010
Authority to Prescribe Fees 

(1) The Oregon State Board of Higher Education (OSBHE)
established the incidental fee to be assessed at each institution in
accordance with applicable statutes and upon the recommendation
of the institutional President and the Chancellor.

(2) The Incidental Fee Committee is a recognized standing
committee of the Associated Students of Southern Oregon Univer-
sity (ASSOU) and, as such, is assigned advisory functions, includ-
ing responsibility for conducting budget investigations, matching
program requests for funding with available resources, and recom-
mending the budgets for those activities, as well as the incidental
fee level required to support them.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0020
Operating Procedures 

(1) The College Union Committee and the Athletic Com -
mittee are advisory to their respective Directors, who, together
with the Chairpersons, present budget requests directly to the Inci-
dental Fee Committee. The Educational Activities Committee is
advisory to the Associate Director of the College Union who,
together with the Chairperson, presents that budget request direct-
ly to the Incidental Fee Committee. College Union, Athletic, and
Educational Activities Advisory Committees are herein referred to
as sub-committees of the Incidental Fee Committee. 

(2) The Chairperson of the Incidental Fee Committee and the
subcommittees shall be selected by the members of the respective
committees at their first meeting. Chairpersons and Vice-Chair-
persons of the Incidental Fee Committee and subcommittees shall

be chosen from the student membership of each committee and
shall be conferred by the ASSOU Senate.

(3) Absences, whether excused or not, shall be determined by
the Chairperson of the committee. Members shall be considered to
have resigned from their respective committees after the third
unexcused absence from scheduled meetings during the course of
the academic year. 

(4) An "academic year" is defined herein as starting on
September 15 and extending through June 14 of the following
year. "Fiscal year" is defined as starting July 1 and extending
through June 30 of the following year, and includes both the aca-
demic and summer terms. 

(5) All student members of the Incidental Fee Committee and
its subcommittees must maintain at least half-time enrollment sta-
tus.

(6) Proxies shall not be permitted.
(7) With the exception of the two-year appointments, the

term of each member of the Incidental Fee Committee and sub-
committees will coincide with the academic year.

(8) A quorum shall be necessary for the transaction of busi-
ness.

(9) Minority reports may be submitted to the Chairperson of
the appropriate subcommittee or committee, or ASSOU Senate.

(10) No person shall serve as a voting member simul -
taneously on the Incidental Fee Committee and any subcom -
mittees. 

(11) All meetings of the Incidental Fee Committee and relat-
ed subcommittees are subject to the provisions of the Public Meet-
ing Law, ORS 192.610 et seq. Under this law meetings are to be
considered open and appropriate notice shall be given.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80 ; SOSC 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94;
SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

Incidental Fee Committee 
573-041-0025
Function of Incidental Fee Committee 

(1) The Oregon State Board of Higher Education (OSBHE)
established the incidental fee to be assessed at each institution in
accordance with applicable statutes and upon the recommendation
of the institutional President and the Chancellor.

(2) The Incidental Fee Committee is a recognized standing
committee of the Associated Students of Southern Oregon Univer-
sity (ASSOU) and, as such, is assigned advisory functions, includ-
ing responsibility for conducting budget investigations, matching
program requests for funding with available resources, and recom-
mending the budgets for those activities, as well as the incidental
fee level required to support them.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0027
Operating Procedures

(1) The Incidental Fee committee shall establish a prelimi-
nary incidental fee for purposes of budget preparation by the sub-
committees as well as the distribution of funds. The recommenda-
tions shall be forwarded to the ASSOU President.

(2) Incidental fee allocation and budget preparation proce-
dures shall be established by the Incidental Fee Committee with
the assistance of the institutional Budget Director.

(3) The institutional Budget Director shall initiate budget
instructions which will consider proposed salary adjustments,
inflation rates as supported by the Chancellor's staff, and any
other pertinent data which would be helpful in the preparation of
the annual budget request.

(4) The Committee shall review, and modify if necessary, the
budget instructions and then transmit them to subcommittees
according to an accepted budget calendar.
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(5) The Incidental Fee Committee shall not be involved in
budget management of individual programs once allocation has
been approved for those programs. It is the responsibility of indi-
vidual program directors to manage their respective budgets.

(6) The IFC shall send its final recommendation simultane-
ously to each subcommittee Chairperson and the ASSOU Presi-
dent by a specified date to be set by the IFC during the budget
process.

(7) The ASSOU will only consider those appeals involving
failure to follow prescribed procedure, changes in Initial Budget
Level, or changes to priority rankings from the subcommittee. The
ASSOU Senate is responsible for hearing any valid appeals, act-
ing on the Incidental Fee Committee's recommendation, and for-
warding the final recommendation to the SOU President by a date
specified by the IFC during the budget process.

(8) Once the SOU President receives theASSOU recommen-
dation, within ten academic working days the President shall
accept the recommendation in writing or, should there be modifi-
cations to the recommendation, communicate these modifications
and reasons to theASSOU and the IFC. 

(9) If theASSOU concurs with the President's proposed mod-
ifications, such shall be communicated in writing to the President
within ten academic working days.

(10) If theASSOU does not concur with the President's pro-
posed modifications, such shall be communicated in writing to the
President within ten academic working days. During the next two
weeks, the President (or designee) shall meet with the ASSOU
representatives to attempt to reconcile the differences. If the Presi-
dent and theASSOU do not reach agreement, either party may
request a hearing before the SOU Hearings Board (see OAR 573-
041-0095).

(11) All subcommittees must have an accounting structure
that will enable the production of monthly reports for review.
Each subcommittee chairperson shall be expected to review the
monthly reports with the subcommittee director as needed, and
advise the full subcommittee on the status of each account.

(12) Any change in subcommittee expenditures from the
approved budget must be reported and approved by the IFC.

(13) Subcommittees must identify income elements, the use
of these funds, and discuss potential effects to their operating bud-
gets if such income were not realized.

(14) Requests for supplemental funding from the IFC
accounts shall be made by individual subcommittees only when
the subcommittees do not have sufficient reserves to fund the par-
ticular need.

(15) If budget cuts are recommended due to unrealized
income, the directors of each program shall be responsible, with
the assistance of their advisory subcommittees, for making those
cuts. It is expected that there shall be minimal cutting of programs
affecting students whenever possible.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0030
Membership of Incidental Fee Committee 

(1) The Incidental Fee committee shall establish a prelimi-
nary incidental fee for purposes of budget preparation by the sub-
committees as well as the distribution of funds. The recommenda-
tions shall be forwarded to the ASSOU President.

(2) Incidental fee allocation and budget preparation proce-
dures shall be established by the Incidental Fee Committee with
the assistance of the institutional Budget Director.

(3) The institutional Budget Director shall initiate budget
instructions which will consider proposed salary adjustments,
inflation rates as supported by the Chancellor's staff, and any
other pertinent data which would be helpful in the preparation of
the annual budget request.

(4) The Committee shall review, and modify if necessary, the
budget instructions and then transmit them to subcommittees
according to an accepted budget calendar.

(5) The Incidental Fee Committee shall not be involved in

budget management of individual programs once allocation has
been approved for those programs. It is the responsibility of indi-
vidual program directors to manage their respective budgets.

(6) The IFC shall send its final recommendation simultane-
ously to each subcommittee Chairperson and the ASSOU Presi-
dent by a specified date to be set by the IFC during the budget
process.

(7) The ASSOU will only consider those appeals involving
failure to follow prescribed procedure, changes in Initial Budget
Level, or changes to priority rankings from the subcommittee. The
ASSOU Senate is responsible for hearing any valid appeals, act-
ing on the Incidental Fee Committee's recommendation, and for-
warding the final recommendation to the SOU President by a date
specified by the IFC during the budget process.

(8) Once the SOU President receives theASSOU recommen-
dation, within ten academic working days the President shall
accept the recommendation in writing or, should there be modifi-
cations to the recommendation, communicate these modifications
and reasons to theASSOU and the IFC. 

(9) If theASSOU concurs with the President's proposed mod-
ifications, such shall be communicated in writing to the President
within ten academic working days.

(10) If theASSOU does not concur with the President's pro-
posed modifications, such shall be communicated in writing to the
President within ten academic working days. During the next two
weeks, the President (or designee) shall meet with the ASSOU
representatives to attempt to reconcile the differences. If the Presi-
dent and theASSOU do not reach agreement, either party may
request a hearing before the SOU Hearings Board (see OAR 573-
041-0095).

(11) All subcommittees must have an accounting structure
that will enable the production of monthly reports for review.
Each subcommittee chairperson shall be expected to review the
monthly reports with the subcommittee director as needed, and
advise the full subcommittee on the status of each account.

(12) Any change in subcommittee expenditures from the
approved budget must be reported and approved by the IFC.

(13) Subcommittees must identify income elements, the use
of these funds, and discuss potential effects to their operating bud-
gets if such income were not realized.

(14) Requests for supplemental funding from the IFC
accounts shall be made by individual subcommittees only when
the subcommittees do not have sufficient reserves to fund the par-
ticular need.

(15) If budget cuts are recommended due to unrealized
income, the directors of each program shall be responsible, with
the assistance of their advisory subcommittees, for making those
cuts. It is expected that there shall be minimal cutting of programs
affecting students whenever possible.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0035
Authority to Operate

Authority to adopt by-laws and rules for the Incidental Fee
Committee is delegated by the State Board of Higher Education to
the SOU President. The Committee is authorized to recommend
by-laws and rules to the ASSOU for approval and transmittal to
the President for final approval. In carrying out its authority, this
committee shall do the following:

(1) Select its own Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and Secre-
tary.

(2) Meet on an "as needed" basis, and meet on a scheduled
basis at least one time per month.

(3) Establish additional subcommittees as it deems necessary.
(4) Conduct open hearings on the three major categories: the

College Union operations; educational, cultural, and student gov-
ernment activities; and athletic activities.

(5) Consult with Director of Athletics (AAC), the Director of
the College Union (CUAC), and the Associate Director of the
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College Union (EAAC), or any other resource persons on campus
to obtain the necessary information and recommendations to carry
on its work.

(6) Provide notification of all committee meetings, including
budget hearings, to The Siskiyou at least three academic working
days prior to the meeting. All meetings to be held in conformity
with the Public Meeting Law. 

(7) The following actions shall take place prior to the close of
fall term:

(a) Orient the IFC;
(b) Discuss distribution of budget instructions to subcommit-

tees and encourage IFC members to attend subcommittee meet-
ings;

(c) Review criteria for funding;
(d) Set time lines for receipt of AAC, CUAC, and EAAC

budgets;
(e) Set time lines for conducting budget hearings;
(8) The Incidental Fee Committee is responsible for conduct-

ing a joint in-service training of committee members, subcommit-
tee members, and interested student groups. Such training shall
include a review of incidental fee policies and procedures, the
annual budget request, and the opportunity for those interested to
present procedural questions to the IFC. This in-service training
shall take place no later than the fifth week of the fall term. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0036
Operating Procedures for Incidental Fee Subcommittees

Each of the subcommittees, in carrying out its authority as
advisory to the Incidental Fee Committee, shall do the following:

(1) Select its own student chairperson, student vice-chairper-
son, and secretary, who will be confirmed by the ASSOU Senate.

(2) Meet on an "as needed" basis, and meet on a scheduled
basis at least once a month. A quorum must be present to conduct
business. No proxies shall be allowed.

(3) Conduct open budget hearings as outlined in OAR 573-
041-0037(5) and (6).

(4) Every effort should be made to schedule meetings early
enough so they may be published in The Siskiyou. The subcom-
mittees should provide notification of all committee meetings,
including budget hearings, early enough to be published in The
Siskiyou at least three academic working days prior to the meet-
ing. All meetings of the subcommittees are subject to the Public
Meeting Law, ORS 192.610 et. seq.

(5) Send minutes of each meeting to the IFC Chairperson, the
Vice President for Student Affairs, and the ASSOU President.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0037
General Budget Guidelines for Incidental Fee Committee Sub 
Committees

The following guidelines pertain to the Incidental Fee Com-
mittee subcommittees.

(1) The subcommittees shall identify income elements, indi-
cate how they will be used, and provide information as to what
would happen to operating budgets if such income were not real-
ized. The potential for and plan to generate program funds should
also be addressed.

(2) All subcommittees must have a formal accounting struc-
ture, with monthly reports available for review, to assure the man-
agers that budgets and expenditures are on target. Such reports are
to be forwarded, on a monthly basis, to the student union business
office, where they will be made available for review by interested
parties.

(3) Requests for funds from the IFC reserve must be initiated
on the form "Application for Funding from the SOU Incidental
Fee Reserve" (such forms are available in the College Union

Office and the athletic department). This Incidental Fee Commit-
tee shall consider all requests on the basis of emergency or contin-
gency need. No consideration shall be given to any request that
could have reasonably been anticipated but failed to be submitted
through the normal budget process.

(4) If budget cuts are recommended due to unrealized
income, the manager of each designated program shall be respon-
sible for making those cuts with the assistance of their advisory
subcommittees. It is expected that there shall be minimal cutting
of programs affecting students whenever possible.

(5) The three subcommittees shall be required to hold at least
two scheduled open hearings on their proposed budgets before
submitting them to the Incidental Fee Committee. All account
managers (i.e., coaches, educational activities program managers)
must present and justify their budget requests to the appropriate
subcommittees at this time.
(6) Each subcommittee shall be given sufficient time to present
and explain its budget to the Incidental Fee Committee. All hear-
ings shall be open and in accordance with the Public Meeting
Law.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

Educational Activities Advisory Committee 
573-041-0040
Function 

A variety of educational and cultural activities funded by the
incidental fee are available that enrich and supplement curricular
programs, as well as provide opportunities for constructive use of
leisure time. The EAAC oversees budget requests, holds hearing
for requests from the reserve, and monitors the expenditures of
funds throughout the fiscal year. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94

573-041-0045
Membership

The membership of this subcommittee shall be composed of
11 persons, 10 of whom have voting privileges. A quorum shall
consist of 5 students and 1 faculty. The Chairperson of the com-
mittee, in cooperation with the Associate Director of the College
Union, will jointly present the budget to the Incidental Fee Com-
mittee. All members have voting privileges except as noted.

(1) Student Membership (9):
(a) Senator, recommended by the ASSOU Committee on

Committees, approved by the ASSOU Senate (4);
(b) Students-at-large, representing a broad base of students,

selected by the ASSOU Committee on Committees using an
application process, and approved by the ASSOU Senate. The at-
large members shall not be ASSOU Senators (4).

(c) ICC representative approved by the ASSOU Senate (1).
(2) Faculty Membership (2);
(a) Faculty recommended by Vice President for Student

Affairs (1);
(b) Associate Director of the College Union, Ex Officio, non-

voting (1).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

College Union Advisory Committee 
573-041-0050 
Function

The primary purpose of the College Union Advisory Com-
mittee (CUAC) is to help in the formulation of the Union bud get
and to be available to provide a sounding board for Union poli-

Chapter 573     Oregon State System of Higher Education, Southern Oregon University

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
1999 Edition 10 - 355 (11-13-98)



cies. The CUAC oversees budget requests, holds hearings for
requests from the CUAC reserve, and monitors the expenditures
of funds throughout the fiscal year.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94

573-041-0055
Membership 

The membership of this subcommittee shall be composed of
11 persons, 10 of whom have voting privileges. A quorum shall
consist of 5 students and 1 faculty. The Chairperson of the com-
mittee, in cooperation with the Associate Director of the College
Union, will jointly present the budget to the Incidental Fee Com-
mittee. All members have voting privileges except as noted.

(1) Student Membership (9):
(a) Senator, recommended by the ASSOU Committee on

Committees, approved by the ASSOU Senate (4);
(b) Students-at-large, representing a broad base of students,

selected by the ASSOU Committee on Committees using an
application process, and approved by the ASSOU Senate. The at-
large members shall not be ASSOU Senators (4).

(c) ICC representative approved by the ASSOU Senate (1).
(2) Faculty Membership (2);
(a) Faculty recommended by Vice President for Student

Affairs (1);
(b) Associate Director of the College Union, Ex Officio, non-

voting (1).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

Athletics Advisory Committee 
573-041-0060
Function 

This subcommittee shall be responsible for recommendations
concerning the development and operation of programs which
encourage participation in physical development activities by all
students at SOU. This includes both a strong intramural program
of mixed and varied activities, as well as intercollegiate athletic
competition. These programs not only provide satisfaction to
those who desire to participate in competitive sports, but also sup-
port the physical education curricular program aimed at the devel-
opment and maintenance of a healthy body and lifetime recre-
ational skills. Also, these programs provide spectator
opportunities for SOU and the wider community. The AAC over-
sees budget requests, holds hearings for requests from the AAC
reserve, and monitors the expenditures of funds throughout the
fiscal year.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU
1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0065
Membership

The membership of this subcommit-tee shall be composed of
11 members, 10 of whom have voting privileges. A quorum shall
consist of five students and 1 non-student voting member. The
Chairperson of the subcommittee, with cooperation with the Ath-
letic Director, shall present the budget to the Incidental Fee Com-
mittee. All members have voting privileges except as noted:

(1) Student Membership (8):
(a)ASSOU senator, recommended by the ASSOU Committee

on Committees, approved by ASSOU Senate (4);
(b) Students at-large, representing a broad base of students,

selected by theASSOU Committee on Committees using an appli-
cation process, and approved by ASSOU Senate. The at-large
members shall not be ASSOU senators (4);

(2) Other Membership (3):
(a) Community Representative, recommended by Vice Presi-

dent for Student Affairs, non-voting, two-year term (1);
(b) Alumnus, recommended by Vice President for Student

Affairs, two-year term (1);
(c) Athletic Director, Ex Officio, non-voting (1).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

Southern Oregon State College Hearings Board
573-041-0085
Function

If the President and ASSOU cannot reconcile differences as
to proposed modifications to the recommendations, then a Hear-
ings Board shall be established. It shall hear testimony from both
parties, provide written findings of fact, and make recom -
mendations for resolution of the disagreement to both parties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0090
Membership

Membership of the Hearings Board shall be composed of five
voting persons.

(1) Two senators shall be appointed by ASSOU. Appointees
shall not be members of the Incidental Fee Committee or its sub-
committees.

(2) A student-at-large will be mutually agreed upon. Prior to
November 1 of each year, both parties will compile a list of stu-
dents mutually acceptable to sit on the Hearings Board. Both par-
ties shall select this fifth member from this list.

(3) Two faculty shall be appointed by the SOU President
with the same qualifications as in section (1) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0095
Hearings Board Process

(1) If the institution President and ASSOU do not reach
agreement within ten academic working days, either party may
request a hearing board.

(2) A hearing shall be held within the next five academic
working days. The SOU President and the ASSOU President shall
be given notice of the time and place of the hearing at least 48
hours before the hearing. All meetings of the Hearings Board shall
be open to the public and at least two academic working days'
notice shall be given.

(3) A representative of ASSOU and the President (or
designee) shall present to members of the Hearings Board relevant
information that may include, but is not limited to, memoranda,
budget requests, minutes, and correspondence.

(4) The hearings Board shall make written findings of fact
and recommendations for resolution of the disagreement and shall
provide such findings and recommendations to both parties within
five academic working days after the hearing.

(5) Both parties shall provide written notification to the Hear-
ings Board within five academic working days as to whether they
accept or reject the recommendations of the Hearings Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU
1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-041-0096
OSBHE Appeals Process
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(1) After completion of the SOU Hearings Board Process, the
President shall recommend to the Chancellor the amount of inci-
dental fee for the University. A representative of ASSOU or IFC
may appeal to the Chancellor the recommendations of the Presi-
dent regarding the amount of incidental fee or the allocation
among the three major categories listed in OAR 573-041-0005(1).
Allocations among programs and activities within a major catego-
ry are not subject to appeal. The Chancellor shall order a timely
review of the appeal and shall communicate to the parties
involved a decision in writing within a reasonable period of time.

(2) The Chancellor shall recommend to the OSBHE an inci-
dental fee for each institution. Representatives of ASSOU, the
IFC, as well as members of the public, may appear in support of,
in opposition to, or to request modification of, the recommended
incidental fee in accordance with the provisions of OAR 580-001-
0005 (Procedural Rule for Changes and Additions to Administra-
tive Rules). The Board will concurrently consider appeals of the
substantial unresolved differences in the allocation of incidental
fees among the three major categories. The Board will not consid-
er allocations within a major category except in extraordinary cir-
cum-stances or upon its own motion.

(3) Within one week or five academic working days after
final action taken by the OSBHE, the SOU President shall confer
with the ASSOU and IFC in making any necessary adjustments in
the allocations. The SOU President shall communicate the final
action of the Board and the President in writing to the ASSOU
and Incidental Fee Committee Chairperson.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

Summer Incidental Fee Committee 
573-041-0100
Incidental Fee Committee 

(1) The summer term IFC handles all business of the regular
IFC according to established policies and procedures. This may
include requests for summer use of incidental fees, including edu-
cation activities, athletics, and College Union programs. The sum-
mer IFC acts as a sounding board for union policy changes that
occur over the summer months and hears regular and emergency
requests for athletic and/or activity funds needed during the sum-
mer and early fall months. The summer IFC meets on an "as need-
ed" basis and meets on a scheduled basis at least once in the sum-
mer term. The summer IFC continues to act for the regular IFC
and each of the subcommittees until the summer IFC Chairperson
reports the actions and decisions of the summer IFC to the regular
IFC. The summer IFC operate according to the operating proce-
dures described in the Incidental Fee Guidelines and Procedures. 

(2) During the spring term the ASSOU shall appoint four stu-
dents, two ASSOU senators and two students-at-large, who, along
with the ASSOU President (or designee) and one faculty member
appointed by the Vice President for Student Affairs, shall make up
the Summer Incidental Fee Committee. All student members must
be registered students of SOU. A quorum shall consist of three
voting members.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 & OAR 580-010-0090
Hist: SOSC 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-1-80; SOSC 7-1983, f. & ef. 10-6-83; SOSC 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOSC 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 12-7-94; SOU 1-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 42
FEES FOR THE COLLEGE COMMUNITY 

RECREATION PROGRAM
573-042-0005 
College Community Recreation Program Policies and Fees

(1) Physical education facilities at Southern Oregon Univer-
sity may be used for the College Community Recreation Program.

Such usage is on a space-available basis after the needs of aca-
demic programs and student activities have been met. Questions
regarding scheduling of the facilities shall be directed to the Com-
munity Recreation Director. The following fees pertain to usage
by employes and students and their family members and guests as
well as the general public.

(2) Policies Governing Facilities Use:
(a) Community Memberships:
(A) Memberships may be used by paying members only and

are not transferable;
(B) Membership identification cards are required for the use

of all facilities;
(C) Memberships entitle the members to the use of all facili-

ties when they are scheduled for Community Recreation use.
Facilities include pool, racquetball courts, track, gym, lockers and
showers, fields, and sauna.

(b) All individuals using Health/PE facilities will be required
to show identification:

(A) SOU student body card;
(B) Faculty/staff card;
(C) Community Recreation pass.
(c) Student, faculty, and staff passes will be honored through

summer session. Community recreation passes will be honored
through the term of purchase, or for the year of purchase;

(d) The facility schedule is subject to change;
(e) Facilities users will be responsible for payment of costs

for repair or replacement due to damage of facility or equipment
during rental time beyond normal wear and tear.

(3) Fee Schedule:
(a) SOU Students:
(A) Facilities for which there is no charge include gyms,

lockers and showers, track, fields, and sauna;
(B) $10.00 fee per term per person or $25.00 fee per year per

person for the pool and racquetball courts;
(C) $2 fee per visit per person for the pool;
(D) $2.00 fee per visit per person for the racquetball courts.
(b) SOU Faculty and Staff:
(A) Facilities for which there is no charge include gyms,

lockers and showers, track, fields, and sauna; 
(B) Emeritus and adjunct faculty receive faculty/staff rates.

Part-time faculty below .50 FTE do not receive faculty/staff rates;
(C) $15 fee per term per person to use the pool and racquet-

ball courts;
(D) $45 fee per year per person to use the pool and racquet-

ball courts;
(E) $2 fee per visit per person for the pool and $2 fee per

visit per person for the racquetball courts.
(c) Immediate family members of SOU students, faculty, and

staff (i.e., spouse, son, or daughter) will pay same fees as the stu-
dents, faculty, and staff;

(d) Community Members:
(A) Facilities include gyms, lockers and showers, track,

fields, racquetball courts, pool, and sauna;
(B) $30.00 fee per term per person for use of swimming pool

and all community recreation facilities except racquetball courts; 
(C) 30.00 fee per term per person for use of racquetball

courts and all community recreation facilities except swimming
pool.

(D) $2 fee per visit per person for use of swimming pool and
all community recreation facilities except racquetball courts.

(E) Charges for group use for extended periods will be nego-
tiated considering the number of participants, equipment used, fre-
quency of use, and any lifeguard requirement;

(F) $2.00 fee per visit per person for use of racquetball courts
and all community recreation facilities except swimming pool;

(G) You must sign up and make a reservation to play rac-
quetball. 

(e) Alumni (must be active member of SOU Alumni Associ-
ation):

(A) $25.00 fee per term per person for use of swimming pool
and all community recreation facilities except racquetball courts;

(B) $25.00 fee per term per person for use of racquetball
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courts and all community recreation facilities except swimming
pool.

(C) $2 fee per visit per person for use of swimming pool and
all community recreation facilities except racquetball courts;

(D) $2.00 fee per visit per person for use of racquetball
courts and all community recreation facilities except swimming
pool.

(f) For rental of activity areas, refer to "Basic Rental Rates"
available from Community Recreation Director at 552-6273.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist: SOSC 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-16-85; SOSC 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-91;
SOSC 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 9-20-91; SOSC 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-22-93;
SOSC 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-94; SOSC 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 6-7-95; SOU
1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 50
REGULATIONS GOVERNING USE OF VEHICLES

573-050-0005
Authority to Establish Motor Vehicle Regulations

Authority to establish regulations governing the use of motor
vehicles on the Southern Oregon University campus for visitors,
faculty, staff, and students is derived from ORS 352.360 and
action of the Oregon State Board of Higher Education pursuant to
such statute. The regulations as herein published have been
approved by the Office of the Chancellor and filed with the Secre-
tary of State in accordance with provisions of ORS 183.310 to
183.500. Strict enforcement of these regulations is necessary to
minimize congestion, maintain safety on campus streets, enhance
security, and maximize the use of existing parking facilities.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
Hist.: SOSC 5, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 4-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 5-
1980, f. & ef. 8-19-80; SOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-97

573-050-0010
Application of Motor Vehicle Laws of the State of Oregon and
the City of Ashland

All motor vehicle laws of the State of Oregon and City of
Ashland, including specifically, but not by way of limitation, ORS
Chapters 810, 811, 814, 815 and 816, together with amendments
hereafter adopted, are applicable and enforceable on the campus
of Southern Oregon University to the same extent as if this cam-
pus and its streets were public highways.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360 
Hist.: SOCS 5, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 4-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 5-
1980, f. & ef. 8-19-80; SOSC 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-90; SOU 2-1997, f. &
cert. ef. 8-26-97

573-050-0015
Definitions

(1) For the purpose of these regulations, the word “parking”
means any vehicle which is stopped and/or waiting, regardless of
the period of time the vehicle is stopped or whether a driver is pre-
sent, except for a vehicle immobilized by traffic control, conges-
tion, or accident.

(2) The word “vehicle” means any type of motor-powered
conveyance including, but not limited to, automobiles, trucks,
trailers, motor cycles, mopeds, scooters and all methods of trans -
portation on wheels where license registration is required by
motor vehicle laws of Oregon.

(3) The word “permit” as used in these regula tions includes
all the following:

(a) Faculty/Staff decal;
(b) Student Commuter decal;
(c) Residence Hall decal;
(d) Motorcycle and Scooter decal;
(e) Carpool decal;

(f) Temporary Substitute permit;
(g) Weekly Parking permit;
(h) Guest Parking permit;
(i) Service Vehicle permit;
(j) Daily Parking permit.
(4) A “decal” is the permanent permit affixed to a vehicle.
(5) The word “permit” means a valid decal or permit as rec-

ognized by the Parking Department.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
Hist.: SOSC 5, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 4-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 5-
1980, f. & ef. 8-19-80; SOSC 4-1982, f. & ef. 7-28-82; SOSC 6-1983, f. & ef.
8-23-83; SOSC 2-1984, f. & ef. 8-14-84; SOSC 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-12-85;
SOSC 5-1987, f. & ef. 9-8-87; SOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-96

573-050-0020
Driver Responsibility

(1) All persons operating vehicles on campus are responsible
for knowing and adhering to the regulations herein. The regula-
tions are enforced 24 hours per day, unless posted otherwise.

(2) The responsibility for locating a legal parking space rests
with the operator of the vehicle. Lack of parking space or an over-
abundance of parking space is not a valid excuse for violating any
University parking regulation.

(3) Persons whose vehicles have broken down on the campus
must immediately notify the Security and Safety Office. Major
mechanical repairs to vehicles on the campus are prohibited.
Abandoned or junked vehicles remaining on the campus more
than 72 hours will be removed at the owner's expense. Unlicensed
vehicles parked on the campus will be considered abandoned and
subject to removal at the owner's expense. Unlicensed vehicles
include those with expired vehicle registration.

(4) Southern Oregon University assumes no liability for per-
sonal injuries or for the care and/or protection of any vehicle or its
contents while the vehicle is operated or parked on campus.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
Hist.: SOSC 5, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 4-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 5-
1980, f. & ef. 8-19-80; SOSC 6-1983, f. & ef. 8-23-83; SOSC 2-1984, f. & ef.
8-14-84; SOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-97

573-050-0025
Vehicle Permits and Parking Areas

(1) All vehicles operated on the University campus are
required to display a permit when the posted signs require a per -
mit. Permits are not required in timed lots. Faculty/Staff lots are
posted yellow; Student Commuter lots are posted green; Resident
Stu dent lots are posted red. The Parking Department can be con -
tacted for the location where other types of permits may be ob -
tained. Failure to display a permit may result in the issuance of a
par king citation. Decals may be purchased during normal regis -
tration or at the Business Services Office located in Churchill
Hall.

(2) Parking decals are serialized for use on a specific vehicle
with a license plate designated by the purchaser at the time of
pur chase. The decal must be affixed outside to left-rear bumper,
left- rear body, left-rear window, or rear side window behind driv-
er of the vehicle where visible. The adhesive on the back of the
decal must be the attaching mechanism. If a vehicle is disposed of,
the decal must be removed and returned to the Parking Office.

(3) Parking decals may be purchased for the remainder of the
aca demic year or for each quarter. The academic year begins and
ends in September. Parking decals purchased during the winter,
spring, or summer quarters are at a proportionately reduced rate.

(4) "Faculty/Staff" parking decals will be sold to classified
employees, graduate assistants, temporary employees who are
half-time or more, and to faculty. Vehicles displaying Fac -
ulty/Staff decals are authorized to park in designated Faculty/Staff
(yellow), Student Commuter (green), and Residence Hall (red)
parking areas.

(5) "Student Commuter" parking decals will be sold to per -
sons who live off campus and wish to bring vehicles on campus.
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Vehicles displaying Student Commuter decals will park in Student
Commuter (green) parking lots only. 

(6) "Residence Hall" parking decals will be sold to students
living in campus residence halls. Vehicles displaying a Residence
Hall decal may park in any Residence Hall (red) parking lot only.

(7) "Second" parking decals may be purchased for an addi -
tional vehicle if more than one vehicle will be brought to campus.
The purchaser must also be the registered owner of the vehicle.
Only one decal (the original or second decal) is valid on permit-
required lots at a time. If both first and second permits of one per -
son are parked in permit-required lots at the same time, both vehi -
cles will be cited for improper permits. A second decal may not be
purchased for a car if the first decal is for a motorcycle, moped or
scooter.

(8) "Replacement" decals may be obtained to replace a decal
which has become unreadable or to transfer the decal to a different
vehicle. The different vehicle must be registered to the same per -
son the decal originally came from. The decal which is being
replaced will be considered void and should be returned to the
Busi ness Services Office upon purchase of a replacement decal.

(9) "Guest" permits are available at the Parking Office, Busi-
ness Services Office, departmental offices, school offices, and/or
Campus Information Office. Guest permits are issued for one day
only. Guest permits may not be used in timed lots. Buses will be
expected to have a Guest permit, and park where directed by the
Security or Parking Office. If a citation is issued to a vehi cle while
the driver is obtaining a Guest permit, it will be waived if the
Parking Office is notified in a timely manner as stated in the
"Guest Parking Permit Policy". Guest permits will not be valid if
issued to University employees, faculty, students, or vehicles dis -
playing a valid parking permit. Guest permits are not valid and
may be cited for failure to display permit if any of the following
information is illegible or omitted:

(a) Both license number and make or color;
(b) Date permit is valid;
(c) Departmental personnel issuing and telephone extension.
(10) "Carpool" parking decals will be sold for entire school

year only if the carpool meets the following criteria:
(a) The carpool must contain at least two individuals with

cars, but no more than six;
(b) Carpool members must complete a "Statement of Intent",

avail able from the Parking Office, for each member of the car -
pool. No more than one vehicle from the carpool is allowed on
cam pus at a particular time. No Second decals will be sold. How-
ever, Replacement decals are available if requirements, as stated
in regulations for Replacement decals, are met.

(11) Substitute vehicles for a vehicle having a decal may be
brought on campus after obtaining a "Substitute Vehicle Parking"
per mit from the Parking Office. This permit is used for temporary
situa tions of short duration.

(12) "Special" permits may be approved by the Parking
Office on an as-needed basis.

(13) "Weekly" or “Daily” permits for those persons who use
the campus parking facilities only intermittently may be pur -
chased at the Business Services Office in Churchill Hall.

(14) "Reserved Parking" spaces are available for reserved
par king for a one-year period. Applications will be forwarded to
the Transportation Planning & Parking Committee for review, and
recommendation to the President, or designee, who will render
final decision. Applications are available at the Parking Office.
Parking spaces are reserved at all times for the President, Vice
Presi dent for Student Affairs, Vice President for Administration
and Finance, Provost and Director of Institutional Advancement.

(15) "Courtesy Parking" permits are available to personnel
retiring with ten years of service or more, volunteer board mem -
bers, designated governmental officials, media representatives,
and such others as deemed necessary by the President to facilitate
their interaction with the institution.

(16) "Disabled" parking: In accordance with ORS 811.602,
811.605, 811.606, 811.607, and 811.615, only vehicles displaying
permits or placards issued and registered at the Motor Vehicles
Division will be allowed to park in spaces posted for use by dis -

abled persons.
(a) "Temporary (Disabled Person) Parking" permits are

issued by the Motor Vehicle Division for persons with qualifying
tem porary disabilities upon submission of a certificate and fee (as
provided by ORS 811.606 and ORS 811.640);

(b) All other insignia not described above (including official
out-of-state insignia) on vehicles bearing license plates of Oregon
registration will be invalid, and vehicles will be cited;

(c) Vehicles with appropriate disabled insignia may park in
any lot or space without incurring citations, except where the lot
or space is designated for parking limited to 30 minutes or less or
in a parking space reserved for other vehicles.

(17) "Refunds" for a parking decal will be made only for
whole terms (fall, winter, and spring) remaining, and upon return
of the decal or fragments thereof showing the decal number.
Refunds for a term will not be made after the published date for
late school registration for that term. There will be no refunds for
sum mer term permits. Refund schedules are on file in the Parking
Office.

(18) Faculty/Staff, Residence Hall, and Commuter decals
may be purchased for a single term. There is no refund on single-
term decals. Rules related to yearly decals shall apply to single-
term decals while they are valid.

(19) Vehicles displaying valid decals or parking permits are
not guaranteed a parking space on the campus.

(20) Vehicles displaying valid decals or parking permits are
not exempt from timed parking restrictions. Timed parking restric -
tions apply to all vehicles on the University campus regardless of
decals or permits displayed.

(21) Mopeds, scooters, and motorcycles must be parked in
par king spaces designated and posted for "Motorcycles Only".
Mopeds, scooters, and motorcycles parked in bicycle racks and on
the campus grounds will be cited for improper parking. Vehicles
parked inside University buildings will be towed at the owner's
expense.

(22) If, during the process of issuing a parking citation, the
driver of the violating vehicle drives away from the scene, thus
pre venting the issuing agent from placing the citation on the vehi -
cle, the citation will be entered into the parking system as if it had
been placed on the vehicle. When a driver leaves the scene during
the issuing process, this will be considered "constructive notice"
of the citation.

(23) Vehicles parked facing in the direction against one-way
arrows will be cited for improper parking. Vehicles parked on the
side of street opposing direction of usual traffic flow will be cited
for improper parking.

(24) Vehicles using parking lots marked "50-cents-park-all-
day" or "Visitor Pay Parking" are required to display the serialized
permit purchased at each lot of this type. Failure to display the
permit on the dashboard of the vehicle will result in a citation for
Failure To Display A Permit. There is no grace period to obtain
change for the permit machine. Signs in the lots will instruct users
to first occupy a parking space; immediately purchase a parking
permit and place it on the dashboard of the vehicle; and that there
is no grace period for obtaining change for the permit machine.
All day means continuous occupancy of the lot for which a permit
was purchased; departure from said lot invalidates further use of
said permit.

(25) "Loading Zone" spaces are provided for loading and
unloading purposes not to exceed 30 minutes; unless by prior ap -
proval through the Parking Office.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
Hist.: SOSC 5, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 4-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 5-
1980, f. & ef. 8-19-80; SOSC 3-1981, f. & ef. 9-9-81; SOSC 4-1982, f. & ef.
7-28-82; SOSC 1-1983, f. & ef. 1-3-83; SOSC 6-1983, f. & ef. 8-23-83; SOSC
2-1984, f. & ef. 8-14-84; SOSC 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-12-85; SOSC 3-1986, f. &
ef. 7-22-86; SOSC 5-1987, f. & ef. 9-8-87; SOSC 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-19-
89; SOSC 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-90; SOSC 4-1991, f. & cert. ef. 6-11-91;
SOSC 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-94; SOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-96; SOU
2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-97; SOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-16-98
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573-050-0030
Driving and Parking Regulations on Campus 

The Vice President for Administration and Finance, in con -
sultation with the Transportation Planning and Parking Com -
mittee, will designate parking areas on campus:

(1) Anyone operating a vehicle on campus will observe speed
limits, barricades, bicycle lanes, crosswalks, stop signs, and will
drive in a safe and prudent manner. The speed limit on campus is
15 MPH. Driving or parking vehicles, bicycles, motorcycles,
mopeds, scooters, or motorized bicycles on sidewalks, lawns and
other areas not designated for driving, parking, or public thor -
ough fare is prohibited.

(2) Regulations may change from time to time. In the event
of con flict between traffic signs or markings and printed regula -
tions, the signs or markings will be followed.

(3) Vehicles shall be parked within indicated parking areas
only. All lots will have permit requirements suspended during
Satur days, Sundays and institution holidays, except handicapped,
yellow zones, pay lots, reserved parking spaces, and restricted
areas, which are enforced at all times. "Holidays" refers to the fol-
lowing observed state holidays: New Year's Day, Martin Luther
King, Jr. Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day,
Veterans' Day, Thanksgiving Day and the Friday following
Thanksgiving, and Christmas Day.

(4) Residence Hall (red) parking areas and pay lots are
enforced 24 hours a day except for holidays as specified in the
pre vious paragraph.

(5) Bicycle racks are provided on campus for bicycle parking
only. Pedestrians have the right-of-way over bicycles on campus.
Bicy cles to be used or parked on campus will be registered and
licensed with the City of Ashland Bicycle License. Bicycles not
parked in racks and impeding traffic may be removed at the dis -
cretion of the Director.

(6) Persons, departments or schools sponsoring university-
hosted events must contact the Parking office to arrange for par -
king and fee payment as appropriate. Unless otherwise arranged,
participants will be restricted to Lot 1 during the academic school
year. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
Hist.: SOSC 5, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 4-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 5-
1980, f. & ef. 8-19-80; SOSC 3-1981, f. & ef. 9-9-81; SOSC 6-1983, f. & ef.
8-23-83; SOSC 2-1984, f. & ef. 8-14-84; SOSC 3-1986, f. & ef. 7-22-86;
SOSC 5-1987, f. & ef. 9-8-87; SOSC 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-19-89; SOSC 2-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-94; SOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-97; SOU 2-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 7-16-98

573-050-0035
Traffic Committee and Traffic Appeals Board

(1) The “Transportation Planning and Parking Committee" is
established to advise on policies, procedures, and programs which
address the transportation needs of students, faculty, staff, and vis-
itors who access the Ashland campus, including routes and park-
ing within the campus. Further, makes recommendations creating
or modifying traffic and parking policies and assists in the equi-
table, effective, and economic regulation of vehicle use on cam-
pus. Included in these duties is the adjudication of second appeals
for parking citations, and consideration of petitions for reserved
parking. The committee will be convened as necessary to serve as
the institution’s Vehicle Accident Review Board.

(2) The Transportation Planning and Parking Committee will
include: Three faculty members recommended by the Faculty
Senate; three student members recommended by the Student Sen-
ate; and three classified staff members identified through the
Administrative Committee appointment procedure. All members
are subject to final confirmation by the President, or the Presi -
dent's designee. A minimum of three members at a meeting shall
constitute a quorum. Final authority for traffic parking policies
will rest with the President or the President's designee.

(3) Each member of the Transportation Planning and Parking
Committee will be appointed for the period of three years. Terms
of office will be staggered to provide continuity.

(4) The Director of Security and Safety, being responsible for
the enforcement of these regulations, will be an ex-officio (non-
voting) member of the Transportation Planning and Parking Com-
mittee. In this capacity, the Director of Security and Safety will
serve as an advisor concerning traffic problems on the campus and
the fiscal impact of present and proposed parking policies. The
Director will make recommendations on needed improvement or
changes required in this program to ensure the parking program
maintains its mandated self-supporting fiscal status.

(5) The "Traffic Appeals Board" (TAB) is established to pro-
vide an expedient method of handling appeals for citations issued
by Southern Oregon University personnel. The TAB is the first
level of appeal concerning traffic and parking citations on the
campus.

(6) The TAB will consist of: two faculty members nominated
by the Faculty Senate, one classified staff member identified
through the Administrative Committee appointment procedure,
and three students nominated by the Student Senate. All members
are subject to confirmation by the President, or the President's
designee. The Faculty Senate, classified staff, and Student Senate
will provide a minimum of one, but no more than three, alternate
members of the TAB each. Alternate members can only be used in
the absence of appointed members. It will be the responsibility of
the absent member to notify an alternate. Decisions of the TAB
shall reflect the majority vote of those members present.

(7) Each member of the TAB will be appointed for a period
of three years. Terms of office will be staggered.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360 
Hist.: SOSC 5, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 4-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 5-
1980, f. & ef. 8-19-80; SOSC 2-1984, f. & ef. 8-14-84; SOSC 8-1985, f. & ef.
8-12-85; SOSC 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-19-89; SOSC 4-1991, f. & cert. ef. 6-
11-91; SOSC 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-21-93; SOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-97

573-050-0040 
Penalties for Offenses

Multiple violations may be cited for a single incident:
(1) Failure to display valid permit: Fine $25.
(2) Fraudulent display of permit: Fine $55.
(3) Permit not affixed: Fine $20.
(4) Improper permit: Fine $20.
(5) Parking in Disabled Space: Maximum fine $250.
(6) Overtime Parking: Fine $20.
(7) Blocking wheel chair ramp: Fine $30.
(8) Improper Parking: Fine $20.
(9) Parking in Reserved Space: Fine $30.
(10) Blocking Traffic: Fine $30.
(11) A vehicle may be towed off campus property and

impounded at the owner's expense, in addition to fines, under the
following circumstances:

(a) A vehicle causing imminent danger to people or Universi-
ty property;

(b) A vehicle not having a valid yellow, green, or red parking
permit and records of $50 or more in unpaid citations may be
towed or booted. Owner is responsible for towing expenses.

(c) A vehicle left parked or standing in an area not normally
used for parking. This includes parking on a sidewalk, or the
grass.

(d) A vehicle parked in a handicapped space may be towed if
other handicapped spaces are more than 150' away or all handi -
capped spaces within 150' are in use.

(e) A vehicle which is blocking traffic or is blocking any
other vehicle, blocking any door or fire exit, blocking access to
any trash container, standpipe, fire lane, crosswalk, driveway, or
other safety hazard. Vehicles violating these rules may be cited for
blocking traffic.

(12) Vehicles in timed parking areas may be cited when their
time parked exceeds the posted time limit. The vehicle may be
cited again after double the posted time limit is exceeded. Exam-
ple: In a 30-minute parking area, a vehicle may be cited after 30
minutes; again after a total of 90 minutes (including the first 30
minutes); again after 150 minutes, etc.
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(13) Vehicles parked in permit-required parking areas may
be cited every eight hours, not to exceed three citations every 24
hours.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
Hist.: SOSC 5, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 4-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 5-
1980, f. & ef. 8-19-80; SOSC 4-1982, f. & ef. 7-28-82; SOSC 6-1983, f. & ef.
8-23-83; SOSC 2-1984, f. & ef. 8-14-84; SOSC 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-12-85;
SOSC 3-1986, f. & ef. 7-22-86; SOSC 5-1987, f. & ef. 9-8-87; SOSC 4-1989,
f. & cert. ef. 9-19-89; SOSC 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-90; SOSC 4-1991, f. &
cert. ef. 6-11-91; SOSC 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 6- 10-94; SOSC 2-1996, f. &
cert. ef. 8-2-96; SOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-97; SOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef.
7-16-98

573-050-0045
Enforcement and Appeals

(1) Campus regulations are in effect 24 hours a day, seven
days a week, except when parking permits are not required (as
stated in OAR 573-050-0030).

(2) Tow-away zones will be enforced 24 hours a day, seven
days a week.

(3) All penalties prescribed in OAR 573-050-0040 will be
administratively enforced by Southern Oregon University. Viola -
tors will receive a parking citation of offense, together with the
scheduled fine for said violation in accordance with the penalties
set forth in OAR 573-050-0040.

(4) After receipt of a parking citation, the individual must,
within seven calendar days of the date of the citation, file a
request for a hearing before the TAB, or pay the appropriate fine.

(5) Any University personnel or student issuing a Guest per -
mit may contact the Parking Office to transfer responsibility for
cita tions received by their guests to themselves. This in no way
implies the fine will be suspended, only that the guest will not be
billed or pursued to pay the fine. The University personnel or stu -
dent will be responsible, and has all avenues of appeal available as
if the citation were issued to them personally.

(6) Any person wishing to take a case before the TAB must
prepare a "Petition for Appeal of Traffic Violation" for a hearing
indi cating why the citation should be adjudicated. The petition
form, available from the Parking Office, must be completed and
returned to the office within seven calendar days of the citation
date. At this time, the appellant will have the right to request sub -
stitution of any one member of the TAB and select the replace -
ment from the TAB alternate group.

(7) A person appealing the citation may appear before the
TAB to present his/her case. If the appellant does not wish to
appear in person, for reasons he/she may specify, the written
appeal will be reviewed by the TAB which shall render judgment.
The appellant shall be notified by mail of the decision of the TAB.

(8) The party appealing the citation may have legal counsel
to present his/her case to the TAB.

(9) In adjudicating appeals, the TAB shall have full authority
to:

(a) Dismiss the violations.
(b) Find the individual not guilty of the charges of the cita-

tion.
(c) Find the individual guilty of the violation and either

impose the fine stipulated in these rules, or impose a lesser fine.
(d) Enter a finding of guilty without imposing any fine, issue

a repri mand or warning, or impose a fine, but suspend its payment
during a fixed probationary period.

(10) The decision of the TAB may be appealed in writing to
the Transportation Planning and Parking Committee by obtaining,
completing and filing a second appeal form with the Parking
Office within ten calendar days following the decision of the
TAB. The Parking Office will also have an opportunity to submit
a written statement concerning the issuance of the citation.

(11) Once the TAB makes the decision on an appeal for a
parking citation, the student will have ten calendar days from the
decision date to appeal the TAB's decision further via the Trans -
portation Planning and Parking Committee. After a decision has
been made on the second appeal, a student has ten calendar days

to pay any amount owed before it is charged his/her account.
(12) The student's right to receive a registration packet and to

enroll during the registration period will be denied if any fines
owing under these regulations remain unpaid at the time of regis -
tration.

(13) A student who fails to pay the University for any out-
standing fine will have the fine charged to his/her account.

(14) Students leaving or graduating from the University will
con tinue to be responsible for parking fines owed to the Univer -
sity, as long as such fines can be identified as belonging to the stu-
dent(s) responsible.

(15) A faculty or staff member who fails to pay the Univer -
sity for any outstanding parking fines will have the fine deducted
from his/her payroll check 30 days after written notice of the out-
standing fines.

(16) Vehicles having outstanding parking fines will be
denied issuance of a replacement, transferred, or new parking
decal.

(17) Fee Schedule:
(a) Carpool. Sold for entire school year only — $50/each

pool;
(b) Faculty and staff decal for first registered vehicle:
(A) Fall term through summer term — $64;
(B) Winter term through summer term — $53;
(C) Spring term through summer term — $42;
(D) Quarter/Term Decals — $32.
(c) Student Commuter and Residence Hall decal for first

regis tered vehicle:
(A) Fall term through summer term — $60;
(B) Winter term through summer term — $49;
(C) Spring term through summer term — $38;
(D) Quarter/Term Decals — $28.
(d) Motorcycles, Mopeds, and Scooters - one vehicle only:
(A) Fall term through summer term — $23;
(B) Winter term through summer term — $21;
(C) Spring term through summer term — $19;
(D) Quarter/Term decals — $17.
(e) Second Vehicle Permit — $10.
(f) Replacement Permit — $10.
NOTE: The second permit is for the convenience of those per sons who
may be driving a different vehicle from time to time. Only one decal
(the original or second decal) is valid on campus per mit-required lots at
a time. Violation of this rule will result in both vehicles being cited for
improper permit.
(A) Second permits will be sold only to Faculty/Staff, Com-

muter, and Residence Hall permit holders.
(B) One second permit is allowed for each full-price (first

registered vehicle) permit purchased.
(C) Replacement permits can be obtained only in accordance

with OAR 573-050-0025(8).
(g) Reserved Parking spaces (Non-Refundable) — $100 over

and above price for regular parking permit, and $10 fee for each
sub sequent sign-change after a sign is posted.

(h) Weekly parking permits (for red and green lots only) —
$5 per week (available at the Business Services Office and Hous-
ing Office).

(i) Daily parking permits (for red and green lots only) — $1
per day (available at the Business Services Office and Housing
Office).

(j) Park-all-day in specified lots — 50 cents.
(k) Visitor Pay Parking in specified lots — 25 cents/hr.
(l) Handling charges:
(A) For mailing out bills for fines — $2;
(B) For deducting fines from payroll check — $2.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
Hist.: SOSC 5, f. & ef. 9-2-76; SOSC 4-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 5-
1980, f. & ef. 8-19-80; SOSC 3-1981, f. & ef. 9-9-81; SOSC 4-1982, f. & ef.
7-28-82; SOSC 6-1983, f. & ef. 8-23-83; SOSC 2-1984, f. & ef. 8-14-84;
SOSC 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-12-85; SOSC 3-1986, f. & ef. 7-22-86; SOSC 5-1987,
f. & ef. 9-8-87; SOSC 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-19-89; SOSC 3-1990, f. & cert.
ef. 5-31-90; SOSC 4-1991, f. & cert. ef. 6-11-91; SOSC 3-1993, f. & cert. ef.
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5-21-93; SOSC 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-96; SOU 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-
97; SOU 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-16-98

DIVISION 51 
COMMERCIAL SPEECH AND ACTIVITIES 

(SOLICITATION) 
573-051-0005
Statement of Policy 

(1) All students who apply for Southern Oregon University
family housing shall be charged a $25 family housing application
deposit.

(2) At the time of "Check in" to family housing, the $25
application deposit will be transferred to a deposit.

(3) Upon receipt of written notification from the applicant
cancelling their family housing application, the $25 application
deposit will be fully refunded. However, if the applicant fails to
verify their family housing status each term or declines a unit
assignment, the $25 application deposit will be forfeited in full.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 3-1980, f. & ef. 4-10-80; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-051-0010
Definitions 

As used in this rule the following definitions apply:
(1) “Sale”, “Selling”, or “Purchasing” mean an activity

which creates an obligation to transfer property or services for a
valuable consideration.

(2) “Commercial Solicitation” means any direct and personal
communication in the course of trade or business reasonably
intended to result in a sale.

(3) “Solicitation” means to importune, or endeavor to per-
suade or obtain by asking, but does not include “commercial solic-
itation”.

(4) “Private Sale” means occasional selling between persons
who are campus students or employees.

(5) “Commercial Transaction” means selling or purchasing
or both selling and purchasing by any person in the course of
employment, or in the carrying on of, a trade or business. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 3-1980, f. & ef. 4-10-80 

573-051-0020 
Commercial Solicitation, Commercial Transactions and Solici-
tation

(1) To qualify for family housing an applicant must be a stu-
dent at the University

(2) If the resident's student status or family status changes so
that the resident is no longer eligible for family housing tenancy,
the University will terminate tenancy by providing the tenant with
30 days' written notice of the intent to do so.

(3) Priority for family housing space is first given to students
who are married with or without dependent children, and to stu-
dents who are single parents with dependent children. Priority for
family housing to all other students is as follows:

(a) First priority is to pregnant women with medical verifi -
cation;

(b) Second priority is to graduate students;
(c) Third priority is to all other students.
(4) Prior to signing the Family Housing Agreement, the Uni-

versity shall require the applicant to provide proof eligibility,
including but not limited to, marriage certificates, custody papers,
and/or children's birth certificates

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 3-1980, f. & ef. 4-10-80; SOSC 11-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80; SOU
1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-051-0030

Permission to Engage in Solicitation 
Any person granted permission under OAR 573-051-0020 to

engage in commercial solicitation, commercial transactions, or
solicitation must abide by anytime, place and manner restrictions
which may be imposed as a condition to the grant of such permis-
sion. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 3-1980, f. & ef. 4-10-80

573-051-0040
Discipline for Violation of Solicitation 

Persons who violate the provisions of OAR 573-051-0010
through 573-051-0030 shall be disciplined as follows:

(1) Members of the campus community shall be disciplined
in accordance with the procedure which is appropriate to that per-
son’s status as a student, faculty member, administrator, employ-
ee, or other category.

(2) Nonmembers of the campus community shall be prohibit-
ed from entering upon the campus for a period of one year. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 3-1980, f. & ef. 4-10-80 

573-051-0050
Private Sales and Campus Advertising 

(1) Nothing in this division shall affect private sales.
(2) Nothing in this division shall affect advertising in campus

newspapers or over campus radio or television stations. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 3-1980, f. & ef. 4-10-80 

DIVISION 70 
PROCEDURAL RULES

573-070-0004
Department of Residence Halls, Conference, Senior Programs,
and Food Services Policies

All departmental policies for residence halls, conferences,
senior programs, and food services shall be maintained in appro-
priate policy documents in the Housing Office. Copies of these
policy documents shall be made available upon request. Policies
shall be developed and/or revised in the following manner:

(1) A sub-committee of the Housing Policy Committee shall
be appointed by the Chairperson and shall work with the depart-
ment director or his/her designee:

(a) The department director or his/her designee shall chair the
committee;

(b) Committee members shall include the following:
(A) The committee Chairperson;
(B) A departmental representative from one of the following

areas appointed by the Advisor to the Housing Policy Committee:
(i) Residence halls;
(ii) Conferences;
(iii) Senior Programs;
(iv) Food Services;
(C) Two students from the Housing Policy Committee;
(D) One classified or faculty member from the Housing Poli-

cy Committee.
(2) The Chairperson of the committee shall convene the com-

mittee on an as-needed basis for policy review and/or revision.
(3) Recommendations of the Housing Policy Sub-committee

shall be forwarded to the Housing Policy Committee for review
and recommendation.

(4) The recommendations of the Housing Policy Committee
shall be forwarded to the department director for review and final
decision.

(5) Those policies needing approval from the appropriate
dean or the president shall be forwarded by the director to the
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appropriate dean or the president.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-94

573-070-0005 
Freshman Live-In Requirement 

Single freshmen students who enroll at Southern Oregon
University within one year of high school graduation must live in
the residence halls unless they are living with parents, legal
guardians, or have written parent or guardian approval to live off
campus. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & ORS 352 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 12, f. & ef. 8-26-77; SOSC 3-1979, f. 8-8-79, ef. 9-1-79; SOSC 6-
1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-23-80; SOSC 10-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80; SOU 1-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-070-0011
Residence Hall Room and Board Agreement 

(1) Each applicant for residence hall accommodations shall
be required to sign a Room and Board Agreement before occupy-
ing a room. The Room and Board Agreement specifies all contrac-
tual obligations for resident students. All rules and regulations in
the Room and Board Agreement are binding. 

(2) The Room and Board Agreement shall be revised each
year during the spring academic term:

(a) The Housing Policy Committee is responsible for revi-
sions;

(b) Revisions must be consistent with existing department
policies or revised policies which have been approved through the
appropriate revision procedure.

(3) The Room and Board Agreement shall be reviewed by
the State Attorney General's Office before being finalized by the
department director.

(4) Copies of the current Room and Board Agreement will be
available in the Student Housing Office.

(5) If a student is evicted from, moves from, or otherwise
leaves a residence hall, but does not withdraw from the institution,
the student is assessed a per day fine for the remaining days of the
agreement period and forfeits his/her housing deposit.

(6) If a student changes rooms anytime during the contract
period, the student will be assessed a $10.00 moving fee for each
move.

(7) If a student fails to follow procedures when completing a
room change, the student is subject to a $20.00 improper moving
fee.

(8) With an approved petition a student may be released from
their Residence Hall Room and Board Agreement without the per
day penalty. The main criteria used in approving such a petition
are as follows:

(a) Health reasons, verified by a licensed physician, preferably
local, who is acceptable to the Housing Policy Sub-Committee;

(b) Marriage, upon receipt of a copy of a student's marriage
certificate;

(c) Student teaching or academic programs requiring the stu-
dent to live in another community;

(d) If a student is a non-freshman, and finds a suitable
replacement to take over the agreement, i.e., someone not required
by University policies to live in residence halls, and someone who
has not previously contacted the Housing Office;

(e) If a student moves to permanent residence of parents or
legal guardian.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 6-1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-23-80; SOSC 10-1980, f. & ef. 11-19-
80; SOSC 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-070-0012
Residence Hall Application/Room Reservation Fee

Students applying for residence hall accommodations shall
be required to complete the Residence Hall Application form and

submit it to the Housing Office accompanied by a $50 non -
refundable application/room reservation fee. When the student
moves into the residence hall, one half of the application/reser -
vation fee will be retained as an application fee and the remaining
one half will be applied to the student’s room and board charges.
Residence hall space is assigned on a first-come, first-served
basis, based upon the date that the $50 application fee is received
by the Housing Office.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93

573-070-0013
Forfeiture of Residence Hall Application/Room Reservation
Fee for Failure to Take Timely Occupancy

If a student fails to take occupancy the date the residence
halls opens for the academic term for which they have reserved a
residence hall space, the $50 application/room reservation fee will
be forfeited and their application will be cancelled. If a student
fails to qualify for admission, the entire application/room reserva-
tion fee will be refunded.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 2-19-93

573-070-0067
Student Housing and Residential Life Student Conduct Poli-
cies and Procedures

(1) All student housing rules and regulations, as well as judi-
cial policies and procedures governing student conduct in and
around the residence halls, shall be published in the following
documents:

(a) The Southern Oregon University Student Handbook;
(b) A summary brochure published by the department.
(2) Copies of the Student Handbook and the summary

brochure shall be made available upon request.
(3) Policies shall be developed and/or revised in the follow-

ing manner:
(a) A sub-committee of the Housing Policy Committee shall

be appointed by the Chairperson and shall work with the depart-
ment director or his/her designee. The department director or
his/her designee shall chair the committee and will be a non-vot-
ing committee participant.

(b) Committee members shall include the following:
(A) The committee chair;
(B) A representative from the Vice President for Student

Affairs;
(C) One departmental representative appointed by the Advi-

sor to the Housing Policy Committee;
(D) Two students serving on the Housing Policy Committee;
(E) One classified or faculty member serving on the Housing

Policy Committee;
(F) The student advocate or his/her designee who will be a

non-voting committee participant.
(3) The Chairperson of the committee shall convene the com-

mittee on an as-needed basis for policy review and/or revision.
(4) Recommendations of the Housing Policy sub-committee

shall be forwarded to the Housing Policy Committee for review
and recommendations.

(5) The recommendations of the Housing Policy Committee
shall be forwarded to the department director for review and final
decision.

(6) Those policies needing approval from the appropriate
dean or president shall be forwarded by the director to the appro-
priate dean or the president. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-070-0068
Resident Hall Policy Implementation

(1) All agencies affected by any change in policy shall be
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notified of any and all policy changes no less than ten working
days before the changes are implemented:

(2) In the case of a policy change that would affect the stu-
dent population of the residence halls, the students shall be
informed and the policy change implemented in the following
manner:

(a) Notice of the policy change shall be sent to the following
agencies:

(A) The Housing and Residential Life Office;
(B) The office of the Student Advocate.
(b) During the first week of the academic term in which the

policy change is to be implemented, notice of the policy change
shall be posted in each of the residence halls.

(c) The student population of the residence halls shall be
informed of the policy change by the Hall Directors during the
mandatory all-hall meeting at the beginning of the academic term
in which the policy change is to be implemented.

(d) After the all-hall meeting, a copy of the changed policy
shall be made available from the Housing Office and the Hall
Directors to any student who requests it.

(e) The policy change shall be implemented one working day
after the last residence hall has had its all-hall meeting for that term.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-94

DIVISION 71
FAMILY HOUSING APPLICATION

573-071-0005 
Family Housing Application Deposit

(1) All students who apply for Southern Oregon University
family housing shall be charged a $25 family housing application
deposit.

(2) At the time of "Check in" to family housing, the $25
application deposit will be transferred to a deposit.

(3) Upon receipt of written notification from the applicant
cancelling their family housing application, the $25 application
deposit will be fully refunded. However, if the applicant fails to
verify their family housing status each term or declines a unit
assignment, the $25 application deposit will be forfeited in full.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-90; SOSC 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-
94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-071-0010
Family Housing

The following words and phrases mean:
(1) "Family Housing" -- All housing and/or apartments oper-

ated by Southern Oregon University which are rented specifically
and only to a student(s) that qualify under these rules to rent such
houses or apartments, and all grounds and buildings used by ten-
ants and/or the Family Housing Office for the operation and
administration of family housing rental units
and programs.

(2) "Family" -- A legally married couple; or a legally married
couple with a dependent child/ children; or an unmarried person
with legal custody of a dependent child/children.

(3) "Student" -- A person who has applied for admission to
Southern Oregon University, and at the time he/she takes posses-
sion of the housing unit has been officially admitted to the Univer-
sity; who registers for and completes a minimum of eight academ-
ic credit hours each academic term; who meets the minimum
qualifications for satisfactory academic progress as stated in the
current University Catalogue; and who is enrolled in three of four
academic terms each calendar year, one of which must be fall
term.

(4) "Graduate Student" -- A person who has applied for
admission to a graduate program or the 5th year teaching certifica-

tion program at Southern Oregon University, and at the time
he/she takes possession of the housing unit has been officially
admitted to the University; who is making satisfactory progress
toward being admitted into a specific graduate program; who reg-
isters for and completes a minimum of eight academic credit
hours each academic term; who meets the minimum qualifications
for satisfactory academic progress as stated in the current Univer-
sity Catalogue; and who is enrolled in three of four academic
terms each calendar year, one of which must be fall term.

(5) Check-outs: 
(a) Twenty-four hours prior to check-out, a student has the

right to schedule a pre-check-out for assessment of cleaning fees
and damages; 

(b) Students have the option at check-out time to request two
student members of the Advisory Committee be present.

(6) Maintenance. Students may request a yearly maintenance
inspection of their rental unit with a list of damage charges.

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in
this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-90; SOSC 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-
94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-071-0020
Qualifications for Family Housing

(1) To qualify for family housing an applicant must be a stu-
dent at the University

(2) If the resident's student status or family status changes so
that the resident is no longer eligible for family housing tenancy,
the University will terminate tenancy by providing the tenant with
30 days' written notice of the intent to do so.

(3) Priority for family housing space is first given to students
who are married with or without dependent children, and to stu-
dents who are single parents with dependent children. Priority for
family housing to all other students is as follows:

(a) First priority is to pregnant women with medical verifica-
tion;

(b) Second priority is to graduate students;
(c) Third priority is to all other students.
(4) Prior to signing the Family Housing Agreement, the Uni-

versity shall require the applicant to provide proof eligibility,
including but not limited to, marriage certificates, custody papers,
and/or children's birth certificates

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-90; SOSC 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-
94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-071-0030
Fees

(1) At the time the Family Housing Agreement is signed the
$25 family housing application deposit will convert to become a
part of the security deposit. 

(2)At the time the Family Housing Agreement is signed the
student applicant must submit an additional $200 deposit.

(3)For family housing units, part of the $200 deposit submit-
ted at the time the Family Housing Agreement is signed may be
retained at the time the student vacates the family housing unit as
a carpet cleaning fee:

(a) $35 may be retained for one bedroom unit;
(b) $40 may be retained for two bedroom units;
(c) $45 may be retained for three bedroom units.
(4) For family housing houses, $50 of the $200 deposit sub-

mitted at the time the Family Housing Agreement is signed may
be retained as a pet fee if, at the time the student vacates, there is
evidence that cat(s) or dog(s) have been in the unit.

(5) The remainder of the $200 deposit plus the $25 applica-
tion deposit will become a security deposit.

(6) Monthly rental rates for family housing units are as fol-
lows:

(a) Monthly rental rates for individual houses owned and
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rented by the University as family housing vary with each particu-
lar house and are determined by the University on an individual
basis;

(b) Monthly rental rates for the family housing apartment
complex located between Wightman and California streets are as
follows, effective July 1, 1996: 

(A) One bedroom, $345;
(B) One bedroom (handicap), $345;
(C) Two bedroom flat, $415;
(D) Two bedroom townhouse, $415;
(E) Three bedroom townhouse, $465.
(c) Monthly rental rates for the family housing apartment

complex located east of Wightman Street between Quincy Street
and the railroad tracks are as follows, effective November 1,
1996:

(A) Studio, $310; 
(B) Three bedroom townhouse, $532;
(C) Four bedroom townhouse, $585.
(d) The monthly rental rate for all apartments may be

increased a minimum of $5 per month each year through June of
2000.

(7) One month's rent or the prorated amount thereof, plus the
$200 security deposit, are payable at the time the Family Housing
Agreement is signed. Thereafter, rent is due on the first day of
each month. Rent must be paid according to the procedures out-
lined in the Family Housing Agreement and the Family Housing
Office policies and procedures.

(8) If rent is not paid on or before 5 p.m. of the seventh day
after the due date, the tenant must pay a late charge of $10.

(9) Charges for lost and replaced keys and changed locks
include:

(a) A charge of $12.50 for each key lost and not returned;
(b) A charge of $16 for each lock changed, which is in addi-

tion to the charge for lost keys. Lock change charges are nonre-
fundable;

(c) No refund of lost key charges will be made for keys
returned after 5 p.m. of the 10th day after vacating the rental unit.

(10) Tenants may be charged for damages, cleaning and
replacement of missing items, over and above normal wear and
tear, as specified in the Family Housing Agreement.

(11) Delinquent accounts will be charged at a rate of 12 per-
cent per annum.

(12) For the family housing apartments located at 1361 Quin-
cy Street, a penalty fee of $100 will be assessed to any student
found to have a nonapproved pet living at or visiting their rental
unit. Beginning June 1, 1996, new residents in family housing
houses will be charged a pet fee of $50 per dog or cat. No more
than a total of two pets (dogs/cats) will be allowed. All applicable
city ordinances regarding pets will apply.

(13) In all family housing units, a fee will be charged for the
cleaning of blinds and drapes if a resident resides in family hous-
ing less than nine months:

(a) One bedroom, $25;
(b) Two bedroom, $30;
(c) Three bedroom, $35;
(d) Four bedroom, $40;
(e) Five bedroom, $45.
(14) In all family housing units, a penalty fee of $25 per day

will be assessed to residents that are still residing in family hous-
ing after their 30-day Notice of Intent to Vacate has expired.

(15) At the time a family housing resident moves from one
College-owned house or apartment to another College-owned
house or apartment, a moving fee of $100 will be charged to cover
routine maintenance moving costs and administrative expenses.

(16) The Family Housing Office shall have discretion to
waive any of the above fees based upon unusual circumstances.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.170
Hist.: SOSC 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-90; SOSC 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-
94; SOSC 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 6-5-96; SOSC 3-1996, f. & cert. ef. 11-29-96;
SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-071-0040
Family Housing Office and Family Housing Advisory Com-
mittee

(1) The Family Housing Office shall establish additional
family housing policies, procedures and practices that may not
conflict with these administrative rules.

(2) A Family Housing Advisory Committee shall be created
to advise the Family Housing Office regarding policies, proce-
dures and administration of family housing operations. It shall be
a standing administrative advisory committee of the University
whose membership shall consist of faculty, staff and students
from the University, appointed through the appropriate adminis-
trative
advisory committee procedures:

(a) At least five members of this committee shall be students,
four of whom must be residents of family housing rental units;

(b) The Associate Director of Family Housing shall be a ex
officio, nonvoting member of the committee;

(c) The chairperson of the committee shall be elected from
within the membership of the committee each academic year;

(d) The term of office of students shall be no more than four
years or until graduation, whichever occurs first. The terms of
staff and faculty will be a three-year rotation.

(3) The Family Housing Advisory Committee shall provide
advice in the following areas:

(a) Family housing policy and procedure formulation and
implementation;

(b) Hear appeals of financial charges imposed upon residents
by the Family Housing Office. Appeals will be administered by
the Family Housing Office following the appropriate appeals pro-
cedures and using the appropriate appeals forms;

(c) Hear appeals regarding exceptions to policies and proce-
dures based upon unusual circumstances;

(d) Review of contracts.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070 
Hist.: SOSC 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-90; SOSC 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-
94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

DIVISION 80 
STUDENT HEALTH CENTER 

573-080-0005
Population Served 

(1) General. The Student Health Center exists primarily to
provide medical care for the registered students of Southern Ore-
gon University. Such care is available only during those hours the
Health Center is open. The provision of all medical services must
be free of discrimination with regard to age, handicap, national
origin, race, marital status, religion, or sex.

(2) Population served:
(a) Full-time registered students. Full-time students (defined

as students carrying at least 9 hours for credit) pay a health fee in
advance each term at registration. The fee, which is subject to
change from year to year, is adopted by the Oregon State Board of
Higher Education;

(b) Students carrying less than 9 hours for credit have the
option of paying a fee for health services;

(c) Participants in selected on-campus activities. Participants
in the following on-campus activities have the option of paying a
fee for health services:

(A) On-campus, non-credit workshops and programs spon-
sored by SOU;

(B) On-campus, non-credit workshops and programs spon-
sored by SOU under contract with an off-campus organization;

(C) On-campus workshops and programs sponsored and
taught by off-campus organizations under a lease or contract with
SOU;

(D) Health service fees charged to these categories of users
shall be a prorated fee based on current fees charged full-time and
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part-time students, prorated according to the period of use, with a
minimum charge of $2.50.

(d) Limited care, such as immunizations and injections, and
emergency services, may be provided for personnel employed by
the University at least half-time (.5 FTE) as permanent classified
employees or academic employees on an annual contract;

(e) Non-registered students (auditor status) are not eligible
for regular services rendered by the Health Center;

(f) Any non-enrolled student who was enrolled the previous
term and will be enrolled the subsequent term is eligible for ser-
vices provided the health fee is paid for that term.

(3) All persons will be charged an additional amount for sup-
plies, pharmaceuticals, lab tests, x-rays, and special procedures.
The charges for these items are posted in a conspicuous place in
the waiting room of the Health Center, or are available upon
request from SOU.

(4) Persons in need of emergency care or first-aid, other than
those eligible for regular Health Center Care as outlined above,
who present themselves or are brought to the Student Health Cen-
ter may receive emergency care. As soon as such a person has
been stabilized, and can safely be transferred, he or she will be
transferred to the care of an appropriate facility and/or physician
for follow-up care. Emergency care is available only during those
hours the Health Center is normally open. Persons receiving emer-
gency care will be billed for services and supplies.

(5) Services to an eligible person must be administered
directly. The patient receiving care should be examined and the
findings, diagnosis, and rationale for treatment carefully docu-
mented for medical and legal reasons. Services or products which
a person might obtain without medical diagnosis, such as over-
the-counter drugs or supplies, are excluded from this stipulation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, ORS 351.590, ORS 689.605 & ORS 580-
011-0005 
Hist.: SOSC 2-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 7-1978, f. & ef. 8-23-78; SOSC 5-
1979, f. & ef. 9-19-79; SOSC 2-1982, f. & ef. 4-15-82; SOSC 2-1983, f. & ef.
4-22-83; SOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-11-94; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-
98

573-080-0025
Funding 

The Student Health Center is funded by fees paid by the pop-
ulation served. In general, there are two types of fees paid:

(1) A health service fee paid each term which covers certain
basic services, such as seeing a nurse or physician; and

(2) A fee charged for specific supplies and services, such as
laboratory tests, x-rays, or certain procedures, such as application
of a cast. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070, ORS 351.590, ORS 689.605 & ORS 580-
11-005 
Hist.: SOSC 2-1978, f. & ef. 1-3-78; SOSC 5-1979, f. & ef. 9-19-79; SOSC 7-
1980, f. & ef. 11-19-80; SOSC 2-1982, f. & ef. 4-15-82; SOSC 1-1994, f. &
cert. ef. 5-11-94 

DIVISION 90 
FIELD TRIP POLICY 

573-090-0000
Definition 

A field trip is a required or optional study trip outside the on-
campus classroom or laboratory for which transportation may be
necessary. Its purpose is to observe and study phenomena not
readily available for classroom or laboratory presentation, but
considered by the instructor to be subject matter important to the
course. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: SOSC 5-1978, f. & ef. 5-18-78; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-090-0005
Procedure 

The faculty member in charge of the course is responsible for
establishing and informing the students in the class of the field
trip's requirements and grading criteria. Students will be held
responsible for knowing and adhering to the policies regarding
conduct as set forth in the Administrative Rules of Oregon State
Board of Higher Education and Administrative Rules of Southern
Oregon University, entitled; "Student Rights and Responsibili -
ties", all of which are available in the Southern Oregon University
library and in the Office of theVice President for Student Affairs. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: SOSC 5-1978, f. & ef. 5-18-78; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98

573-090-0010
Cost 

Individual charges covering the cost of the field trip are to be
borne by the student. Such charges will be established under the
Administrative Procedures Act in the annual listing of Special
Fees by the University. Funds will be collected in advance, and
will be deposited in the Department of Business Services. Costs
will be paid from that account. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: SOSC 5-1978, f. & ef. 5-18-78; SOU 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-98
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