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Administrative Actions
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DIVISION 1
PROCEDURAL RULES

160-001-0000
Notice of Intent to Adopt, Amend or Repeal Rules

Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule under
ORS Chapters 56, 58, 60, 62, 63, 65,70,79, 87,128, 194, 554, 647
and 648, the Secretary of State shall give notice of the proposed
adoption, amendment, or repeal at least 21 days prior to the effec-
tive date.

(1) By placing a notice in the Secretary of State’s Bulletin
referred to in ORS 183.360;

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the Division
mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(7); and

(3) By mailing a copy of the notice to the following persons and
publication for:

(a) Business Registry:

(A) The Oregon State Bar;

(B) Capitol Press Room;

(C) Associated Press;

(D) Oregon Bankers Association;

(E) Department of Revenue;

(F) Internal Revenue Service;

(G) McCord,

(H) Fairchild Record Search;

(I) Prentice Hall;

(J) Chairperson of the Executive Committee of the Business
Law Section of the Oregon State Bar;

(K) Chairperson of the Executive Committee of the Patent and
Trademark Section of the Oregon State Bar;

(L) Commerce Clearing House, Inc.;

(M) CT Corporation System.

(b) Notary Public:

(A) Associated Press;

(B) Capitol Press Room;

(C) Oregon Bar Association;

(D) Department of Justice;

(E) Oregon Bankers Association.

(¢) Uniform Commercial Code:

(A) Associated Press;

(B) Capitol Press Room;

(C) Oregon Bar Association;

(D) Department of Justice;

(E) Oregon Bankers Association;

(F) Department of Revenue;

(G) Internal Revenue Service;

(H) Department of Employment;

(I) McCord Co.;

(J) Fairchild Record Search;

(K) Prentice Hall;

(L) Unisearch.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 56, ORS 58, ORS 60, ORS 62, ORS 63, ORS 65, ORS 68, ORS
70, ORS 128, ORS 183, ORS 554, ORS 647 & ORS 648

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335

Hist.: CC 2-1985, f. & ef. 3-6-85; Renumbered from 815-050-0001; PRD 1-1988,
f. & cert. ef. 2-5-88; Renumbered from former paragraphs 164-001-0000(3)(b)(A)
- (K) & (c)(A) - (M); CC 2-1988, f. 9-28-88, cert. ef. 10-3-88; CORP 1-1991, f.
& cert. ef. 1-22-91; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-001-0005
Model Rules of Procedure

The Model Rules of Procedure as promulgated by the Attorney
General of the State of Oregon under the Administrative Procedures

Act effective November 4, 1993, are adopted as the rules of proce-

dure for the Corporation Division of the Secretary of State’s office.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341
Hist.: CC 1-1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; CORP 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 12-5-90;
CORP 3-1991, f. & cert. ef. 12-6-91; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

DIVISION §
FEES AND REFUNDS

160-005-0005
Fees For Records

(1) This rule establishes fees for copies of or access to Business
Registry records.

(2) The fee for computer screen printouts is $1 per entity.

(3) Fees for special computer searches are as follows:

(a) Customized searches:

(A) Associated Name Search (30 names) — $50;

(B) SIC Code Search (30 numbers) — $50;

(C) Zip Code Search (30 numbers) — $50;

(D) Searches requiring additional programming and/or multi-
ple reports $25 per hour.

(b) Tape (per data set) — $200;

(c) Active, inactive and history (tape) — $300;

(d) New business subscription:

(A) Paper:

(i) Per month — $15;

(ii) Per year — $150.

(B) Tape — $15.

(e) Expedite fee for all requests, $50. Requires delivery with-
in 48 hours of receipt;

(f) Form fees:

(A) Labels (starting with 2nd thousand) — $2 per thousand,

(B) Paper (starting with 2nd box) — $30 per box.

(4) Fees for remote telephone access to Business Registry’s files
through the user’s own terminal (word processor, personal comput-
er, dedicated computer terminal), modem, and telephone lines are as
follows:

(a) Initial Hook-up fee — $50;

(b) Administrative fee — $50;

(c) Actual computer and long distance charges. A billing state-
ment will be issued each month. To avoid interruption of service,
payment must be received within ten working days of the statement
date.

(5) The fee for paper copies used for certification purposes of
documents is $15 per copy of a document file. A document file
includes:

(a) Documents initially filed for corporations, limited partner-
ships, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, busi-
ness trusts and trade and service marks; and

(b) Supplementary documents for corporations, limited part-
nerships, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships,
business trusts and trade and service marks; and

(c) Assumed business name applications, amendments, with-
drawals, cancellations and renewals.

(6) The fee for paper copies of documents is $5 per copy of a
document file.

(7) The fee for paper copies of single documents not part of the
document file is $5 per document. Examples of single documents
are:

(a) Annual reports;

(b) Change of registered agent of office and registered agent res-
ignation.

(8) Microfilm copies of actual documents filed with Business
Registry is $20 per reel of microfilm.

(9) The subscription fees for trade and service marks are as fol-
lows:

(a) Monthly transactions:

(A) Paper — $65;

(B) 3.5 inch floppy disk, provided by customer — $15;

(C) 3.5 inch floppy disk, provided by Division — $30;
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(b) Full Data Base (3.5 inch floppy disk provided by customer)
— $15;

(c) Full Data Base 3.5 inch floppy disk provided by Division)
— $30,

(10) The fee for a copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules
(Chapter 160) and the ORS Chapters administered by Business Reg-
istry is $5 per chapter.

(11) The fee for a No Record Certificate is $5.

(12) Research fee of $20 per hour with the first 1/2 hour free.

(13) The Secretary of State may charge a fee for providing via
dedicated telecommunications media (such as a 900 number) infor-
mation on potential business entity name conflicts. Entity name con-
flict information shall be preliminary and non-binding. The name
availability fee shall not exceed $5.00 for the initial two minutes and
$2.00 each additional minute.

(14) The Secretary of State may charge fees for expedited
copies and certificate service via dedicated telecommunications
media (such as a 900 number) not to exceed:

(a) Copies of a document file — $10;

(b) Copies of single documents not part of the document file —
$10;

(c) Certificate of existence or authorization and/or other facts
of record — $15;

(d) Copies of document file used for certification purposes —
$20;

(e) Only one copy or certificate request per phone call.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 56,0RS 58,0RS 60, ORS 62, ORS 63, ORS 65,0RS 68, ORS

70, ORS 128, ORS 183, ORS 192, ORS 554, ORS 647 & ORS 648

Stats. Implemented: ORS 68.675 & ORS 647.009

Hist.: CC 9-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 9-25-85; CC 4-1986, f. & ef. 1-6-86; Renum-

bered from 815-010-0004; CC 2-1988, f. 9-28-88, cert. ef. 10-3-88; CORP 1-

1991, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-91; Renumbered from 160-001-0010; CORP 2-1991, f.

6-21-91, cert. ef. 7-1-91; CORP 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-18-92; CORP 1-1993, .

12-29-93, cert ef. 1-1-94; CORP 1-1994, f. 12-30-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; CORP 4-

1995, f. 12-5-95, cert. ef. 12-6-95

160-005-0010
Refund Of Monies

(1) This rule, pursuant to ORS 293.445, provides for the refund
of fees paid in excess of the amount legally due to the Corporation
Division.

(2) The Secretary of State shall not refund fees paid in excess
of the amount legally due to the Division if the amount is $10 or less,
unless a refund is requested in writing by the applicant or the appli-
cant’s legal representative. However, the Secretary of State shall not
make refunds unless the request is received within three years after

the date payment is received by the Division.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 56, ORS 58, ORS 60, ORS 62, ORS 63, ORS 65, ORS 68, ORS
70, 0RS 79, ORS 87, ORS 128, ORS 183, ORS 194, ORS 293, ORS 554, ORS
647 & ORS 648
Stats. Implemented: ORS 56.140
Hist.: CC 15, f. 1-11-74, ef. 2-11-74; CC 6-1985, f. & ef. 5-3-85; Renumbered
from 815-010-0001; CC 2-1988, f. 9-28-88, cert. ef. 10-3-88; CORP 1-1991, f.
& cert. ef. 1-22-91; Renumbered from 160-001-0015; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-
93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; CORP 4-1995, f. 12-5-95, cert. ef. 12-6-95

DIVISION 10
BUSINESS REGISTRY SECTION

160-010-0010
Guideline for Determining Business and Entity Name
Availability

(1) This rule furnishes guidelines designed to determine
whether a proposed name is distinguishable on the active records of
Business Registry. The records consist of corporation, limited lia-
bility company, limited liability partnership, limited partnership or
business trust names, reserved or registered names, and assumed
business names. Registration or filing of a name by the Division
advises the public that the name is registered to individuals or a par-
ticular entity. The Secretary of State’s role is ministerial. Registra-
tion or filing of a name does not grant rights or interests in that name.
The Secretary of State does not have the power to determine or set-

tle competing claims to a name under other statutes or under the com-
mon law.

(2 Items which do not make a requested name distinguishable
from all other registered names on the record are:

(a) The presence or absence, or differences between, the fol-
lowing words when they are the last word in the name: “Corpor-
ation”, “Company”, “Incorporated”, “Limited”, “Limited Liability
Company”, “Limited Liability Partnership”, “Limited Partnership”,
“Professional Corporation”, or any abbreviation or derivation there-
of;

(b) “Corporation”, “Company”’, “Incorporated”, “Limited”,
“Limited Liability Company”, “Limited Liability Partnership”,
“Limited Partnership”, “Professional corporation”, or any abbrevi-
ation or derivation thereof when used in conjunction with the same
as a double entity identifier”.

EXAMPLE: “ABC Construction Company, Inc.” and “ABC Construction

Company” are not distinguishable.

“Northwest Corporation Services Company” and “Northwest
Services Company” are distinguishable.

(c) The presence or absence of any article, preposition, or con-
junction;

(d) Differences in punctuation;

(e) Differences in the use of special characters;

(f) Differences in capitalization;

(g) Differences between ampersand and the word “and”. The
ampersand is the equivalent of the word “and”;

(h) Making a word plural.

(3) Prohibitions:

(a) A name cannot begin with more than seven numbers unless
the seventh number is followed by a space(s) or letter(s);

(b) Entity identifiers, such as “corporation”, “incorporated”,
“limited”, “limited liability company”, “limited liability partnership”,
“business trust”, “professional corporation” or “limited partnership”
or any abbreviation or derivation thereof cannot be used with an
assumed business name unless all the registrants on the assumed
business name are entities identified in the name;

(c) The Division shall not approve requested names which
imply in any way that it is an agency of the state or any of its polit-
ical subdivisions without proof of authorization to register such a

name.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 56, ORS 58, ORS 60, ORS 62, ORS 63, ORS 65, ORS 68, ORS
70, ORS 128, ORS 183, ORS 554 & ORS 648

Stats. Implemented: ORS 58.085, ORS 60.094, ORS 62.131, ORS 63.094, ORS
65.094, ORS 68.735,0RS 70.010, ORS 128.580, ORS 554.005 & ORS 648.051
Hist.: CC 14-1986, f. & ef. 7-23-86; Renumbered from 815-050-0041, 815-050-
0043, 815-050-0045, 815-050-0051 & 815-050-0055; CC 2-1988, f. 9-28-88, cert.
ef. 10-3-88; CORP 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-91; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; CORP 1-1994, f. 12-30-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; CORP 3-1995, f. 8-31-
95, cert. ef. 9-1-95

160-010-0020
Designation of Authorized Representative

If the authorized representative of an assumed business name
registration withdraws and the registrants fail within the time pre-
scribed to replace the withdrawn authorized representative, the new
authorized representative shall be the first listed registrant who has
not resigned as authorized representative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 648

Stats. Implemented: ORS 648.010

Hist.: CC 8-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 9-25-85; CC 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-6-86; Renum-

bered from 815-050-0070; CC 2-1988, f. 9-28-88, cert. ef. 10-3-88; CORP 1-

1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-010-0100
Code List for Designating Primary Business Activity

(1) The Secretary of State designates the classification codes
found in the current Standard Industrial Classification Manual as the
codes to be used for designating primary business activity. This fed-
eral manual may be obtained at public libraries, through bookstores,
or by ordering from: Standard Industrial Classification Manual,
National Technical Information Service, 5285 Port Royal Rd.,
Springfield, VA 22161, Order No. PB 87-10012.

(2) A description of the category of the primary business activ-
ity shall be sufficient for coding purposes.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 56, ORS 58, ORS 60, ORS 62, ORS 65,0RS 68,0RS 70, ORS
128, ORS 554 & ORS 648

Stats. Implemented: ORS 58.225, ORS 60.787, ORS 62.453, ORS 63.787, ORS
65.787,0RS 68.715, ORS 70.460, ORS 128.595, ORS 554.315 & ORS 648.010
Hist.: CC 10-1985, f. & ef. 9-25-85; Renumbered from 815-050-0030; CC 2-1988,
.9-28-88, cert. ef. 10-3-88; CORP 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-91; CORP 1-1993,
f.12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; CORP 1-1994, f. 12-30-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

160-010-0200
Classes of Goods and Services

Pursuant to ORS 647.024, the Secretary of State establishes the
following classes of goods and services. Applications to register a
trade or service mark must designate the code number for goods or
services with which the mark is being used:

(1) Goods:

(a) 101:

(A) Chemical Products used in industry;

(B) Artificial and Synthetic Resins;

(C) Plastics in the Form of Powders, Liquids or Paste;

(D) Fertilizers;

(E) Tanning and Adhesive Substances.

(b) 102:

(A) Paints, Varnishes, and Lacquers;

(B) Coloring Matters and Natural Resins.

(c) 103:

(A) Laundry, Cleaning, and Polishing Substances;

(B) Cleansing and Cosmetic Items;

(C) Perfumery and Essential Oils.

(d) 104:

(A) Industrial Oils and Greases;

(B) Lubricants and Absorbing Compositions;

(C) Fuels and Illuminants.

(e) 105:

(A) Pharmaceutical, Veterinary and Sanitary Substances;

(B) Infants’ and Invalids’ Foods;

(C) Bandaging Material;

(D) Dental Wax;

(E) Disinfectants and Weed Killers.

(f) 106: Metal and Articles Made from Metal and not Included
in Other Classes.

(g)107:

(A) Machines and Machine Tools;

(B) Motors (Except for Land Vehicles);

(C) Large Size Agricultural Implements;

(D) Incubators.

(h) 108: Hand Tools and Cutlery.

(1) 109:

(A) Scientific, Nautical, Surveying and Electrical Apparatus
and Instruments;

(B) Photographic, Cinematographic, Optical, Lifesaving, and
Teaching Apparatus;

(C) Cash Registers and Calculating Machines.

(j) 110: Surgical, Medical, Dental, and Veterinary Instruments
and Apparatus.

(k) 111: Installations for Lighting, Heating, Steam Generating,
Cooking, Refrigerating, Drying, Ventilating, Water Supply and San-
itary Purposes.

(1) 112: Vehicles.

(m) 113: Firearms, Ammunition, and Fireworks.

(n) 114: Precious Metals and Jewelry.

(o) 115: Musical Instruments and Supplies; Phonographs,
Recording Tapes, Records, and Tape Recorders.

(p) 116:

(A) Paper Articles and Bookbinding Materials;

(B) Printed Matter, Photographs and Stationery;

(C) Artists’ Materials and Paint Brushes;

(D) Instructional and Teaching Material.

(q) 117:

(A) Plastics in the Form of Sheets, Blocks and Rods;

(B) Packing or Insulating Materials;

(C) Hose Pipes (Non-metallic).

(r) 118:

(A) Leather, Imitations and Articles Made from Both and Not
Included in Other Classes;

(B) Skins and Hides;

(C) Travel Gear, Umbrellas and Walking Sticks;

(D) Saddlery.

(s) 119:

(A) Building and Road Materials;

(B) Stone, Stone Products; Cement and Earthenware Pipes.

(t) 120:

(A) Furniture, Mirrors, Picture Frames;

(B) Articles (not Included in Other Classes) of Wood, Wicker,
Ivory, Shell;

(C) Substitutes for all These Materials, or of Plastics.

(u) 121:

(A) Small Domestic Utensils and Containers;

(B) Combs, Sponges and Brushes (Other than Paint Brushes);

(C) Brush Making Materials;

(D) Glassware, Porcelain and Earthenware, Not Included in
Other Classes.

(v) 122:

(A) Ropes, String and Nets;

(B) Canvas Products and Stuffing Materials.

(w) 123: Yarns and Threads.

(x) 124:

(A) Bed and Table Covers;

(B) Textile Articles not Included in Other Classes.

(y) 125: Clothing and Footwear.

(z) 126: Garment Decorations and Buttons.

(aa) 127: Floor Coverings and Non-textile Wall Hangings.

(bb) 128: Toys; Sporting Articles (except Clothing); Decor-
ations.

(cc) 129:

(A) Meats; Fruits and Vegetables (Except Fresh);

(B) Dairy Products; Jams; Oils; Fats; Preserves and Pickles.

(dd) 130: Coffee, Tea, Cocoa and Coffee Substitutes, Rice,
Tapioca, Sago, Flour, Cereals, Yeast, Baking Powder and Condi-
ments, Breads, Pastry, Confectionary, and Honey.

(ee) 131:

(A) Agricultural, Horticultural, Forestry Products and Grains
not Included in Other Classes;

(B) Living Animals, Plants and Flowers;

(C) Fruits, Vegetables and Seeds;

(D) Foodstuffs for Animals.

(ff) 132: Beer and Nonalcoholic Drinks.

(gg) 133: Wines, Spirits and Liqueurs.

(hh) 134: Tobacco and Smokers’ Articles.

(2) Services:

(a) 135: Advertising and Business.

(b) 136: Insurance and Financial.

(c) 137: Construction and Repair.

(d) 138: Communication.

(e) 139: Transportation and Storage.

(f) 140: Material Treatment.

(g) 141: Education and Entertainment.

(h) 142: Miscellaneous.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 647

Stats. Implemented: ORS 647.024

Hist.: CC 11-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 9-25-85; CC 2-1986, f. & ef. 1-6-86; Renum-
bered from 815-050-0060; CC 2-1988, f. 9-28-

160-010-0300
Business Registry Mailing List

(1) Business Registry records provided through customized
computer searches or new business subscription lists may show a
“No Solicitations” symbol associated with an address or addresses
of the party(s) of record.

(2) A “No Solicitations” symbol shall denote the declared desire
of the record holder to receive no direct mail marketing or unsolicited
business mail.

(3) The Corporation Division shall provide a “No Solicitations”
option on new assumed business registrations, articles of incorpo-
ration, partnership registrations and other new filings.
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(4) An explanation of the “No Solicitations” mark shall accom-
pany customized computer searches or new business subscription
lists.

(5) The Corporation Division shall use its best efforts to accu-
rately record the “No Solicitations” mark in accordance with this
rule. Business registrants should be informed that there is no obli-
gation on the part of persons using the lists to refrain from mailing
solicitations to businesses which have requested the mark. The mark

is simply informational.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 56.022
Stats. Implemented: ORS 56.022
Hist.: CORP 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 5-22-97

160-010-0400
Professional Corporation Limit on Joint and Several Liability

(1) The Secretary of State, assisted by the Office of Economic
Analysis, Department of Administrative Services, has calculated the
inflation factor affecting joint and several liability caps of Profes-
sional Corporations to be 1.171467764, following the formula pre-
scribed in ORS 58.187.

(2) Therefore, joint and several liability claims under ORS
58.185(5) & (8) made against a single shareholder shall not exceed
$350,000.

(3) The total joint and several liability for a single claim made
against one or more licensed Oregon shareholders under ORS
58.185(5) and (8) shall not exceed $2,350,000.

(4) As required by ORS 58.187(1), the Corporation Division
hereby adopts said figures.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 58.187

Stats. Implemented: ORS 58.187
Hist.: CORP 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-00

DIVISION 50
UNIFORM COMMERCIAL CODE

160-050-0000
Definitions and Abbreviations

(1) “UCC”: Uniform Commercial Code.

(2) “Standard Form”: Those forms approved by the Secretary
of State’s Office for use in the UCC system. The approval speci-
fications include the content, layout, and manner of printing. Forms
which do not meet every criteria may not be considered standard
forms.

(3) “Walk-In Search”: A walk-in search shall be a request, in
person, for information from our UCC information retrieval systems
and/or copies of statements on file in this office.

(4) “Secured Party of Record™: is The original secured party list-
ed on the filing unless amended or assigned. If amended or assigned,
the “secured party of record” is the latest assignee or amended name
and address:

(a) The address used to mail renewal notices shall be the
secured party name and address of record. If the secured party has
not specifically filed an amendment showing a change in address, the
renewal notice shall be sent to the address of record, regardless of
what may show on continuations, renewals, or other filings;

(b) The UCC Section may attempt to trace or obtain an accu-
rate name or address and/or resend a renewal notice returned because

of incorrect name or address.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4025 & ORS 79.4030(3)(b)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4025
Hist.: PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

160-050-0010
Uniform Commercial Code Forms — Standard

The following forms have been approved by the Secretary of
State’s Office in accordance with ORS 79.4025 as the standard forms
for general use in filing statements and requesting searches pursuant
to the Oregon Uniform Commercial Code:

(1) UCC-1 — Uniform Commercial Code Financing Statement.

(2) UCC-1A — Financing Statement — Real Property (for
county use only).

(3) UCC-3 — Uniform Commercial Code Statement of Con-
tinuation, Release, Assignment, Termination, Amendment, etc.

(4) UCC-3A — Statements of Continuation, Release, Assign-
ment, Termination, etc. — For Collateral Related to Real Estate(for
county use only).

(5) UCC-11 — Request for Copies or Information.

(6) General instructions for filling out the approved standard
forms are contained on the form and in printed material from the Sec-
retary of State Office. Persons who make filings under the code
should consult these instructions in preparing their statements for fil-
ing. Individuals may obtain approved standard forms from publish-

ers of legal forms.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4025(1)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4025
Hist.: SD 120, f. & ef. 12-21-77; SD 3-1978, f. 6-30-78, ef. 7-1-78; SD 39-1980,
f. & ef. 3-24-80; PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; Renumbered from 165-
025-0005; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0020
Uniform Commercial Code Forms — Non-Standard

Reproduced, reset or in-house forms may not be approved by
the Secretary of State’s Office and may therefor be subject to a non-
standard form fee. To obtain prior approval of reproduced, reset or
in-house forms, a written request must be submitted.

(1) Minimum form standards shall include use of 20 1b. bond
paper, 8 1/2 x 11 inch pages, information identical to a standard form,
clear and legible copy for the purposes of document storage and
retrieval, and meets all filing standards.

(2) Forms not meeting minimum filing and form standards as
determined by the Secretary of State’s Office may be charged a non-
standard form fee.

(3) Forms accepted by other states must meet Oregon filing and
form standards to be accepted as standard forms in Oregon.

NOTE: General instructions for filing are contained on the standard forms

and in printed material from the Secretary of State’s Office. Persons who

make filings under the code should consult these instructions in preparing

their statements for filing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4025(1) & ORS 79.4025(3)(b)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4025

Hist.: PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, . 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0030
Uniform Commercial Code Filing Standards

(1) A filing officer is not required to determine if a financing
statement is properly prepared or presented to the appropriate filing
officer. This is the sole responsibility of the individual filing the
financing statement:

(a) UCC-1 and UCC-3 forms should be filed only at the Sec-
retary of State Uniform Commercial Code office;

(b) UCC-1A and UCC-3A forms should be filed only at a coun-
ty office.

(2) All forms filed with a UCC filing officer must comply with
all information requirements, and include all required fees and sig-
nature(s):

(a) All required fees must be prepaid. No filing will be accept-
ed without adequate fees;

(b) Signature requirements for each form shall be original sig-
natures unless the financing statement or security agreement provides
for a carbon, photographic or other reproduction, pursuant to ORS
79.4020(1);

(c) The Secretary of State may require filings under ORS
79.4020(2) to provide copies of previous filings under which filer
claims signature exemption.

(3) Forms not meeting these requirements shall be rejected, and
the form returned to the sender without being filed.

(4) Non-standard forms which comply with all other require-
ments may be accepted instead of the standard forms listed in OAR
160-050-0010.

(5) The endorsement date of the cancelled check (or other pay-
ment media) tendered as filing fees, and not the filing date of record,
will serve as the date of presentation under ORS 79.4030(1) only:

(a) For the purposes of ORS 79.3120(4); and
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(b) For the period beginning May 24, 1996 through August 30,
1996, and

(c) If the statement was accepted by the filing officer.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4025

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4020, ORS 79.4025 & ORS 79.4040

Hist.: PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94; CORP 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 3-1-96; CORP 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-24-

97

160-050-0040
Uniform Commercial Code Filing and Certified Search Fees
(1) The Uniform Commercial Code filing fees are:
(a) UCC-1, Standard form — $10 per form;
(b) More than one debtor name — no additional fee;
(c) Assumed Business names — no additional fee;
(d) UCC-1A (County Office) — $5 per page;
(e) UCC-3, Standard form (except Terminations) — $10 per
form.
(f) UCC-3A (County Office) — $5 per page.
(g) Termination (Secretary of State office) — no fee;
(h) Termination (County Office) — $5 per page;
(i) Transmitting Utilities/Supplemental Indentures — $10 per
form;
(j) IRS Tax Liens — $10 per form;
(k) IRS Tax Liens (County Office — $5 per page;
(1) Oregon Department of Revenue Warrants — $10 per form;
(m) Oregon Employment Department Warrants — $10 per
form.
(2) The Uniform Commercial Code search service fees are:
(a) UCC-11 information search, Standard form — $10 per name
(each distinct debtor name to be searched);
(b) Requested copies of UCC documents — $5 per names
searched;
Copy fee will be levied per request, whether or not any copies
are found.
EXAMPLES: The copy fee for UCC documents found on a search for
John Doe is:
For Information search, $10;
Plus, for requested copies, $5;
Total, $15.
The copy fee for UCC documents found on a search for John and Jane Doe
182
For information search ($10 per name x 2 =), $20;
plus, for requested copies, ($5 per name x 2 =), $10;
Total, $30.
(c) State Seal Certificate — $10 per cert.
plus (for requested copies) — $5 per name searched;
(d) Copy(ies) of a UCC (filing number provided) — $5;
(e) UCC Search (County Office) — $3.75 per name;
(f) Copy of a UCC (County Office) — $0.25 per page.
(3) A fee of $10 for a non-standard form may be added to any
other fee due.
(4) UCC Customer Guide — $5 each
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4025 & ORS 205.320(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4025
Hist.: PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-
16-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; CORP 1-1995, f. 2-8-95, cert.
ef. 9-1-95

160-050-0050
UCC Summaries of Financing Statements

Summaries or compilation of filed financing statements are
available in the form of microfilm rolls. Duplicate copies of each

microfilm roll may be obtained for a fee of $20 each.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4025(3)(d) & ORS 79.4025(3)(e) & ORS 79.4080(1) & ORS
79.4080(2)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4025 & ORS 79.4080
Hist.: SD 4-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-1-79; SD 8-1979, f. & ef. 12-7-79; PRD 1-
1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; Renumbered from 165-025-0010; CORP 1-
1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0060

UCC Remote/Local Access Subscription Service
(1) The fees for the Remote/Local Access program are:
(a) Required registration fee — $25 per month;
(b) Access/use fee — $0.20 per minute.

(2) A billing statement will be issued at the end of each month
of service. To avoid interruption in service payment must be sub-

mitted within ten working days of statement date.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4025(3)(e)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4025 & ORS 79.4080
Hist.: PRD 5-1988, f. & cert. ef. 4-19-88; Renumbered from 164-010-0020; PRD
1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90

160-050-0070
Uniform Commercial Code Fax Service

Fax filings must be clear and legible copy for the purposes of
document storage and retrieval. Forms not meeting these require-
ments shall be rejected and the form returned to the sender without

being filed. All fees must be prepaid by VISA/Mastercard.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4025(3)(b)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4025
Hist.: PRD 1-1989, . 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, . 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0080
Uniform Commercial Code Research Service

In addition to debtor name based search requests and summaries
and compilations, the UCC section may provide other information
retrieval and research services.

(1) The fees for research service shall be $20 per hour based on
actual costs incurred. Amounts of less than one hour shall be charged
in 1/2 hour increments.

(2) The fee for research service computer printouts shall be $1
per page.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4080(1) & ORS 79.4080(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4080

Hist.: PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0085
Establishing Fees for Uniform Commercial Code Data
Records

The Secretary of State, Corporation Division, Uniform Com-
mercial Code Section, may charge a fee for supplying copies of the
Uniform Commercial Code, Farm Products and Statutory Lien elec-
tronically stored records on request. Pursuant to ORS 177.130 and
192.440, based upon actual costs of production, the copies of elec-
tronically recorded media shall be charged at the rate of $200 per
hour required to generate the copies with a minimum time of one
hour charged. The Secretary of State shall provide the aforemen-
tioned records in magnetic tape form in the most current record for-
mat in which the records are maintained. The requester shall provide
the appropriate magnetic tapes necessary for the copying of the
records.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 177.130 & ORS 192.440

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4080

Hist.: CORP 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 12-3-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef.
1-1-94

Statutory Liens

160-050-0100
Definitions and Abbreviations

(1) “ASL”: Agricultural Services Lien.

(2) “Standard Form”: Those forms approved by the Secretary
of State’s Office for use in the ASL system. The approval specifi-
cations include the content, layout, and manner of printing. Forms
which do not meet every criteria may not be considered standard
forms.

(3) “UCC” Uniform Commercial Code.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 87.226 & ORS 87.246(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 87.246

Hist.: PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0110
Statutory Lien Standard Forms

The following forms have been approved by the Secretary of
State as the standard forms for general use in filing statements:

(1) Notice of Claim of Agricultural Services Lien — Farm
Labor, Services, Materials.
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(2) Certificate of Satisfaction of Discharge of Claim of Lien for
Farm Labor, Services, Materials.

(3) Cessation Form (available from Secretary of State’s Office).

(4) Amendment Form (use Notice of Claim of Agricultural Ser-
vices Lien).

(5) General instructions for filling out the approved standard
forms are contained in printed material from the Secretary of State’s
Office.

(6) Persons who make Statutory Lien filings should consult
these instructions in preparing their statements for filing. Individu-
als may obtain approved standard forms from publishers of legal

forms, unless otherwise noted.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 87.246 & ORS 87.346
Stats. Implemented: ORS 87.246
Hist.: PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0120
Statutory Lien Non-Standard Forms

Reproduced, reset or in-house forms may not be approved by
the Secretary of State’s Office. To obtain prior approval of repro-
duced, reset or in-house forms, a written request must be submitted.

(1) Minimum form standards shall include use of 20 1b. bond
paper, 8-1/2 x 11 inch page size, information identical to a standard
form, a clear and legible copy for the purposes of document storage
and retrieval, and meets all filing standards.

(2) Forms not meeting minimum filing and form standards as
determined by the Secretary of State’s Office shall be returned with-
out being filed.

(3) Forms accepted by other states must meet Oregon filing and

form standards to be accepted in Oregon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 87.246(2)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 87.246
Hist.: PRD 1-1989, . 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0130
Statutory Filing Standards

(1) A filing officer is not required to determine if a lien is prop-
erly prepared or presented to the appropriate filing officer. This is the
sole responsibility of the individual filing the lien.

(2) All forms filed with a UCC filing officer must comply with
all information requirements and include all required fees and sig-
natures.

(3) Grain Producer’s Lien — Minimum information required
for a Notice of Filing Extension of Grain Producer’s Lien shall be:

(a) Grain producer’s name and address, purchaser’s name and
address;

(b) A description of the grain charged with the lien;

(c) The producer’s demand amount, less all credits and offsets;

(d) The date on which payment was due to the agricultural pro-
ducer for the grain charged with the lien;

(e) All statements required by ORS Chapter 87;

(f) Properly completed and signed oath/affirmation;

(g) Signed and sealed notary statement.

(4) Minimum information required for a Certificate of Grain
Producer’s Lien Satisfaction shall be:

(a) Filing number and date of lien;

(b) Grain producer’s name and address, purchaser’s name and
address;

(c) A description of the grain charged with the lien;

(d) The producer’s demand amount, less all credits and offsets;

(e) A statement declaring that full payment has been received
and that the claim of lien is discharged;

(f) Producer’s signature and date of signature.

(5) Hazardous Waste Lien — Minimum information required
for a Notice of Claim of Lien for Environmental Cleanup of Haz-
ardous Waste shall be:

(a) Name and address of the person(s) against whose property
the lien attaches;

(b) Name and address of lien claimant; claimant’s signature;

(c) Statement of lien claimant’s demand;

(d) Description of the property charged with the lien;

(e) All statements required by ORS Chapter 465 and/or 466.

(6) All required fees must be prepaid. No filing will be accept-
ed without adequate fees.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 87.242(2), ORS 87.762, ORS 87.777, ORS 465.335 & ORS

466.835

Stats. Implemented: ORS 87.242, ORS 87.762, ORS 465.335 & ORS 466.835

Hist.: PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0140
Statutory Lien Filing and Search Fees

(1) The Statutory Lien filing fees are:

(a) Agricultural Services Lien:

(A) Notice of Claim of Agricultural Services Lien — $10 per
form;

(B) Certificate of Satisfaction — No Charge;

(C) Cessation — $10 per form.

(b) Grain Producer’s Lien:

(A) Notice of Filing Extension of Grain Producer’s Lien — $10
per form;

(B) Certificate of Grain Lien Satisfaction — No Charge.

(c) Hazardous Waste Lien: Notice of Claim of Lien for Envi-
ronmental Cleanup of Hazardous Waste — $10 per form.

(2) The Statutory Lien search fees are:

(a) Lien Search — $10 per name;

(b) Requested Lien Copy(ies) — $5;

(c) Certificate(State seal) — $10 per cert.

(3) A fee of $10 for a non-standard form may be added to any

other fee due.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 87.246(3), ORS 87.767, ORS 177.130 & ORS 192.440
Stats. Implemented: ORS 87.246, ORS 87.767, ORS 177.130 & ORS 192.440
Hist.: PRD 4-1988, f. & cert. ef. 3-17-88; Renumbered from 164-010-0030; PRD
1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
CORP 1-1995, f. 2-8-95, cert. ef. 9-1-95

160-050-0160
Statutory Lien Miscellaneous Services

(1) Remote Access to the Statutory Lien data base may be
offered. The fees for the Remote Access program are:

(a) Required registration/administration fee — $25 per month;

(b) Access/use fee — $0.20 per minute;

(c) A billing statement will be issued at the end of each month
of service. To avoid interruption in service payment must be sub-
mitted within ten working days of statement date.

(2) In addition to debtor name based search requests and sum-
maries, the UCC section may provide other information retrieval and
research services:

(a) The fees for research service shall be $20 per hour based on
actual costs incurred. Amounts of less than one hour shall be charged
in 1/2 hour increments;

(b) The fee for research service computer printouts shall be $1
per page.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.4025(3)(e), ORS 79.4080(1), ORS 79.4080(2) & ORS

79.4080(4) & ORS 87.246(3)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.4080

Hist.: PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94

Oregon Farm Products Central Filing System

160-050-0170
Authority and References

(1) Public Law 99-198, section 1324.

(2) Title 9, C.F.R., Part 205 (1986).

(3) ORS 79.4010, 79.4025, 79.4080 and 79.6020 through
79.8010.

(4) ORS 192.015.

(5) USDA Letter dated November 28, 1986, Certifying Oregon
Farm Products Central Filing System as of November 28, 1986.

(6) Chapter 111, Oregon Laws 1989.

(7) USDA Letter dated August 22, 1989, Certifying Oregon
Farm Products Central Filing System as including all farm products
produced in the State.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 79 & ORS 192

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6030

Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-2-87;
SOS 11-1987,f.7-9-87, ef. 8-1-87; SOS 24-1987, . 11-5-87,ef. 11-15-87; PRD
1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; Renumbered from 164-050-0000

160-050-0180
Oregon Farm Products Central Filing System

(1) Oregon Farm Products Central Filing System is a statewide
filing system which permits the registering of a security interest in
farm products by filing an effective financing statement (EFS) with
the Office of the Secretary of State.

(2) Within the context of the Oregon Farm Products Central Fil-
ing System, farm products means an agricultural commodity includ-
ing but not limited to wheat, corn, soybeans, or a species of fish or
livestock such as cattle, hogs, sheep, horses, or poultry used or pro-
duced in farming operations, or a product of such crop, fish or live-
stock in its unmanufactured state, including but not limited to wool
clip, milk and eggs, that is in the possession of a person engaged in
farming operations.

(3) In Oregon, the effective financing statement does not cre-
ate a security interest in the farm products. It is not the same as a
financing statement or security agreement filed under the Uniform
Commercial Code laws. The effective financing statement is a doc-
ument which meets the requirements of Section 1324 of Public Law
99-198.

(4) The secured party must submit a UCC filing under ORS

Chapter 79 to perfect a security interest in farm products.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6020(4) & ORS 79.6020(5) & ORS 79.6030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6030
Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-2-87;
SOS 11-1987,f.7-9-87, ef. 8-1-87; SOS 24-1987, f. 11-5-87, ef. 11-15-87; PRD
1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; Renumbered from 164-050-0010

160-050-0190
Definitions and Abbreviations

(1) Where terms used in this rule are not explicitly or com-
pletely defined in ORS 79.6020 or herein, definitions and usage of
terms from the references are applicable.

(2) “EFS”: An effective financing statement relating to farm
products.

(3) “Debtor”: For purposes of this rule, the term “debtor” shall
mean any persons subjecting farm products to security interests, even
if they are not debtors but are subjecting products to security inter-
ests for other debts.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6020 - ORS 79.7010

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6030

Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-2-87;

PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; Renumbered from 164-050-0020;

CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0200
EFS Requirements

(1) An EFS must be filed on a form prescribed and approved
by the Secretary of State. The form shall be designated “EFS-1". The
fee for filing a Form EFS-1 is $10 per filing. The filing fee is required
to be submitted with the EFS.

(2) The information on the Form EFS-1 should meet the fol-
lowing requirements:

(a) Name and address of the debtor:

(A) The name and address of the debtor are required;

(B) The debtor name or names must be entered completely and
precisely;

(C) The name of individuals must be entered in order of last
name (surname), first name, and, if any, middle initial or name;

(D) Assumed business names and corporate names must appear
beginning with first word or character that is not an article or punc-
tuation mark;

(E) The address of the debtor is the mailing address of the
debtor;

(F) If there are multiple debtors, the address of each debtor must
be shown;

(G) If there are more than three debtors, use the Form EFS-5
with the Form EFS-1.

(b) Social Security Number or IRS taxpayer identification num-
ber of the debtor:

(A) The Social Security Number or IRS taxpayer identification
number of the debtor is required. The Social Security Number or IRS
taxpayer identification number for each debtor must appear next to
each debtor’s name. For each debtor listed, there must be a Social
Security Number or IRS taxpayer identification number;

(B) If the debtor is a sole proprietorship which has adopted an
assumed business name which is listed on the EFS, the Social Secu-
rity Number of the debtor should appear next to the assumed busi-
ness name;

(C) If more than one individual is liable on the debt, then the
Social Security Number of each individual must appear next to the
assumed business name.

(c) Name, address and telephone number of the secured party:

(A) The name and address of the secured party are required;

(B) The same rules for the name of the debtor are applicable to
the way the name of the secured party is submitted;

(C) The address of the secured party must be the address where
information pertaining to the security interest may be obtained;

(D) The telephone number of the secured party is requested.

(d) Farm Product name or code:

(A) Each farm product that is produced in Oregon is assigned
a four-digit numerical code. The codes are located on the back side
of the Form EFS-1;

(B) The farm product code is required;

(C) Each filing party is responsible for listing the appropriate
farm product code for a farm product on which the EFS or notice of
security interest is being filed;

(D) The four-digit product code for each farm product subject
to the security interest must be entered. A table of product codes
appears on the back of the Form EFS-1;

(E) If the space provided on the Form EFS-1 for farm product
codes is not adequate, Form EFS-5 should be used to submit addi-
tional codes.

(e) Crop year:

(A) The crop year, for crops grown in soil, is the calendar year
in which it is harvested or to be harvested;

(B) For animals, the crop year is the calendar year in which they
are born or acquired;

(C) For poultry or eggs, the crop year is the calendar year in
which they are sold or to be sold;

(D) If an EFS does not show a crop year, it will be regarded as
applicable to the crop or farm product in question for every year the
EFS is effective;

(E) The crop year is a two-digit or four-digit code representing
the actual year;

(F) The crop year is required to be shown on the Form EFS-1
unless every year of the farm product in question, for the duration
of the EFS, is subject to the particular security interest.

(f) County Code:

(A) Each county in Oregon is assigned a two-digit numerical
code. The county code represents the county in which the farm prod-
uct is produced or is to be produced. The county codes are located
on the back side of the Form EFS-1;

(B) The county code is required;

(C) Below is a list of the county codes for Oregon:

(i) Baker — 01;

(ii) Benton — 02;

(iii) Clackamas — 03;

(@iv) Clatsop — 04;

(v) Columbia — 05;

(vi) Coos — 06;

(vii) Crook — 07,

(viii) Curry — 08;

(ix) Deschutes — 09;

(x) Douglas — 10;

(xi) Gilliam — 11;

(xii) Grant — 12;

(xiii) Harney — 13;

(xiv) Hood River — 14;

(xv) Jackson — 15;
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(xvi) Jefferson — 16;

(xvii) Josephine — 17;

(xviii) Klamath — 18;

(xix) Lake — 19;

(xx) Lane — 20;

(xxi) Lincoln — 21;

(xxii) Linn — 22;

(xxiii) Malheur — 23;

(xxiv) Marion — 24,

(xxv) Morrow — 25;

(xxvi) Multnomah — 26;

(xxvii) Polk — 27;

(xxviii) Sherman — 28;

(xxix) Tillamook — 29;

(xxx) Umatilla — 30;

(xxxi) Union — 31;

(xxxii) Wallowa — 32;

(xxxiii) Wasco — 33;

(xxxiv) Washington — 34;

(xxxv) Wheeler — 35;

(xxxvi) Yamhill — 36.

(D) The county code(s) must be listed for each product code
shown.

(g) Amount of farm product (where applicable):

(A) The amount of farm product may or may not be shown on
every EFS and master list entry;

(B) The need to supply this additional information arises only
where some of the product owned by debtor is subject to the secu-
rity interest and some is not;

(C) If the EFS does not show an amount, this constitutes a rep-
resentation that all of such product owned by debtor is subject to the
security interest in question;

(D) The amount must be sufficient to enable a reader of the
information to identify what product owned by the debtor is subject,
as distinguished from what of the same product owned by the same
debtor is not subject;

(E) Twenty characters have been allotted on the master list for
providing information on the amount of farm product. The descrip-
tion of the amount should not be more than 20 characters.

(h) Brief Description of farm product:

(A) A brief description of the farm product may be shown on
the EFS and master list entry;

(B) The need to supply this additional information arises only
where some of the product owned by debtor is subject to the secu-
rity interest and some is not;

(C) Seventy-five characters have been allotted on the master list
for providing information on the description of the farm product. The
farm product description should not be more than 75 characters:

(i) Property location description (where applicable):

(A) A reasonable description of the location of the farm prod-
uct may be shown on the EFS and master list entry;

(B) The need to supply this additional information arises only
where some of the product owned by debtor is subject to the secu-
rity interest and some is not;

(C) Seventy-five characters have been allotted on the master list
for providing information on the description of the property location
of the farm product. The farm product property location description
should not be more than 75 characters.

(j) Signatures of Debtor and Secured Party:

(A) Each individual debtor named as the debtor must sign the
EFS;

(B) Each corporate debtor must be signed by an authorized offi-
cer;

(C) Each partnership debtor, when the general partners are not
also named individually as debtors, must be signed by a general part-
ner;

(D) The EFS must be signed by both the debtor and secured
party.

(3) The EFS will be rejected if it does not contain the name and
address of the debtor, Social Security Number or IRS taxpayer iden-
tification number of the debtor, name and address of the secured

party, farm product code, county code, signatures of both the debtor

and secured party, and the EFS filing fees.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6030 & ORS 79.6060
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6030
Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-2-87;
SOS 11-1987, f. 7-9-87, ef. 8-1-87; PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90;
Renumbered from 164-050-0030; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0210
Amendment, Continuation, Assignment and Lapse of EFS

(1) An EFS may be amended, assigned, continued or lapsed by
the secured party of record. An amendment, assignment, continua-
tion or lapse must be filed on a form prescribed and approved by the
Secretary of State. The form shall be designated “Form EFS-3”. A
lapse or termination may be filed on the Acknowledgement Copy of
Form EFS-1 or Form EFS-3.

(2) The document number assigned by the Secretary of State to
the EFS to which the action pertains must be entered.

(3) Signature rules for Form EFS-3:

(a) When the Form EFS-3 is being used to file an amendment,
both the debtor and the secured party must sign the filing;

(b) When the Form EFS-3 is being used to file a continuation,
assignment or lapse statement, only the signature of the secured party
is required;

(c) Each individual debtor named as the debtor must sign the
EFS-3 when it is being used to file an amendment to an EFS;

(d) Each corporate debtor must be signed by an authorized offi-
cer;

(e) Each partnership debtor, when the general partners are not
also named individually as debtors, must be signed by a general part-
ner.

(4) An EFS must be amended in writing, within three (3)
months of any material changes. It must be signed by both the debtor
and secured party.

(5) The EFS remains effective for a period of five years from
the date of filing. Its effectiveness may be extended by an addition-
al five years by refiling or filing a continuation statement within six
months before the expiration of the initial five year period.

(6) If the secured party no longer has a security interest to reg-
ister, the secured party should file a statement of termination or lapse.

(7) Upon the expiration of the effective period of an EFS, the
EFS lapses.

(8) Filing fees:

(a) If the Form EFS-3 is not accompanied by the filing fee, it
will be rejected;

(b) The filing fees of Form EFS-3 transactions are set out in
paragraphs (A) through (D) of this subsection as follows:

(A) Amendments: The filing fee for an amendment is $10 per
filing. If multiple amendments are required to an existing EFS fil-
ing, this can be accomplished by filing a single EFS-3 for a filing fee
of $10;

(B) Assignment: The filing fee for an assignment is $10 per fil-
ing;

(C) Continuation: The filing fee for a continuation is $10 per
filing;

(D) Termination: There is no filing fee for filing a termi-

nation/lapse statement.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6030 & ORS 79.6060
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6030
Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-2-87;
SOS 7-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 5-13-87; SOS 11-1987, f. 7-9-87, ef. 8-1-87; PRD
1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; Renumbered from 164-050-0040; CORP 1-
1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0220
Farm Products
(1) The list of Oregon farm products and codes is as follows:
(a) Grains:
(A) Barley — 0101;
(B) Corn for grain — 0102;
(C) Oats — 0103;
(D) Rye — 0104;
(E) Triticale — 0105;
(F) Wheat — 0106.
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(b) Hay and Forage:

(A) Alfalfa — 0201;

(B) Ensilage — 0202;

(C) Grass and Grain Straw — 0203;
(D) Hay — 0204,

(E) Sorghum — 0205.

(c) Grass and Legume Seeds:
(A) Alfalfa Seed — 0301;
(B) Bentgrass — 0302;

(C) Bluegrass — 0303;

(D) Brome — 0304,

(E) Clover — 0305;

(F) Fescue — 0306;

(G) Field Peas — 0307;

(H) Orchardgrass — 0308;
(D) Rape Seed — 0309;

(J) Ryegrass — 0310;

(K) Timothy — 0311;

(L) Vetch — 0312;

(M) Wheat Grass — 0313;
(N) Other Grass Seed — 0314,
(O) Other Legume Seed — 0315;
(d) Field Crops:

(A) Herbs — 0401;

(B) Hops — 0402;

(C) Mint — 0403;

(D) Oil Seed — 0404;

(E) Potatoes — 0405;

(F) Sugarbeet — 0406;

(G) Vegetable and Flower Seeds — 0407;
(H) Canola — 0408.

(e) Fruits:

(A) Apples — 0501;

(B) Apricots — 0502;

(C) Cantaloupes — 0503;
(D) Cherries — 0504

(E) Grapes — 0505;

(F) Peaches — 05006;

(G) Pears — 0507,

(H) Plums — 0508;

(I) Prunes — 0509;

(J) Watermelons — 0510;
(K) Kiwi — 0511.

(f) Nuts:

(A) Filberts — 0601;

(B) Walnuts — 0602.

(g) Berries:

(A) Blackberries — 0701;
(B) Blueberries — 0702;
(C) Boysen and Youngberries — 0703;
(D) Other Caneberries — 0704;
(E) Cranberries — 0705;

(F) Currants — 0706;

(G) Elderberries — 0707;
(H) Gooseberries — 0708;
(I) Loganberries — 0709;
(J) Marionberries — 0710;
(K) Raspberries — 0711;
(L) Strawberries — 0712.
(h) Vegetables:

(A) Artichokes — 0801;

(B) Asparagus — 0802;

(C) Beans — 0803;

(D) Beets — 0804,

(E) Broccoli — 0805;

(F) Brussel Sprouts — 0806;
(G) Cabbage — 0807;

(H) Carrots — 0808;

(I) Cauliflower — 0809;

(J) Celery — 0810;

(K) Corn — 0811;

(L) Cucumbers — 0812;

2001 Edition

(M) Eggplant — 0813;

(N) Garlic — 0814,

(O) Kohlrabi — 0815;

(P) Lettuce — 0816;

(Q) Mushrooms — 0817,
(R) Onions — 0818;

(S) Peas — 0819;

(T) Peppers — 0820;

(U) Pumpkins — 0821;

(V) Radishes — 0822;

(W) Rhubarb — 0823;

(X) Rutabagas — 0824,
(Y) Spinach — 0825;

(Z) Squash — 0826;

(AA) Tomatoes — 0827,
(BB) Turnips — 0828.

(i) Speciality Products:
(A) Bees — 0901;

(B) Bees Wax — 0902;

(C) Bulbs — 0903;

(D) Greenhouse Stock — 0904;
(E) Honey — 0905;

(F) Logs — 0906;

(G) Nursery Stock — 0907;
(H) Standing Timber — 0908;
(D) Trees (Except Standing Timber) — 0909;
(J) Turf Sod — 0910;

(K) Worms — 0911.

(j) Livestock:

(A) Cattle and Calves — 1001;
(B) Goats — 1002;

(C) Hogs and Pigs — 1003;
(D) Horses — 1004;

(E) Llamas — 1005;

(F) Milk — 1006;

(G) Mink — 1007,

(H) Mules — 1008;

(I) Rabbits — 1009;

(J) Sheep and Lamb — 1010;
(K) Wool — 1011;

(L) Buffaloes — 1012;
(M) Alpaca — 1013;

(N) Reindeer — 1014.

(k) Poultry:

(A) Broilers — 1101;

(B) Chickens — 1102;

(C) Ducks — 1103;

(D) Eggs — 1104;

(E) Geese — 1105;

(F) Turkeys — 1106;

(G) Ostriches — 1107,

(H) Emu — 1108;

(H) Rhea — 1109.

(1) Fish and Shellfish: Fish and Shellfish — 1201.

(2) Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act the Secretary
of State may add, modify or delete farm products and codes.

(3) Buyers, commission merchants, selling agents, farmers or
any interested person may suggest changes to the farm product list.
These suggestions must be submitted in writing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6020, ORS 79.6030 & ORS 79.6070(1)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6070

Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987,f. & ef. 1-2-87;
SOS 11-1987, f. 7-9-87, ef. 8-1-87; PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90;
Renumbered from 164-050-0050; CORP 2-1995, . 7-31-95, cert. ef. 8-1-96

160-050-0230

Master List and Portions of Master List

(1) The master list shall contain all the information submitted
on EFS’s filed in the Secretary of State’s Office. It contains the name
and address of the debtor, name and address of secured party, Social
Security Number or IRS taxpayer identification number of the
debtor, farm product code, farm product name, description of farm
product, description of location, amount of farm product, crop vear,
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county, date of filing, time of filing, and file number of EFS. This
information shall be compiled and entered into a computerized
record for farm products in the system.

(2) The Secretary of State may produce two monthly master
lists: alphabetically by debtor name or numerically by debtor Social
Security Number or IRS taxpayer identification number. The mas-
ter list will be organized by farm product and shall be made avail-
able for all counties and crop years or select counties and crop years.

(3) Portions of the master list will be provided according to the
requests of the subscribing registrants of the system. Each portion of
the master list includes data from all EFS’s which cover a particu-
lar farm product. Within each portion of the master list, EFS data is
organized in the same manner as the master list.

(4) After data entry is complete at the end of the month, the
master list will be run on computer printouts or generated
microfiche. It will include all filings as of the last business day of the
month.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6070

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6070

Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-2-87;

SOS 11-1987,f.7-9-87, ef. 8-1-87; SOS 24-1987,f. 11-5-87 ef. 11-15-87; PRD

1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; Renumbered from 164-050-0060; CORP 1-

1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0240

Registration of Buyers, Commission Merchants and Selling
Agents; Subscription to Master Lists or Portions of Master
Lists

(1) The proper place to register as a buyer, commission mer-
chant or selling agent of farm products is in the Secretary of State’s
Office. The registration or renewal of registration must be submitted
on a form prescribed and approved by the Secretary of State. The
form shall be designated “Form EFS-4”. The registration fee is part
of the subscription fee.

(2) Registration is part of the process to subscribe for master
lists or portions of master lists. Each registrant will be assigned a per-
manent registration number by the Secretary of State. A copy of the
administrative rules on registration is available upon request at no
charge. The master list or portion of master list will be distributed
to registrants monthly.

(3) Registration is effective for a period of 12 calendar months.
Renewal of registration may be filed at any time after 90 days prior
to expiration of a current registration period. The registrant must indi-
cate the registration number on the renewal registration form.

(4) The registration may be amended by filing an amended reg-
istration. If the amended registration is to amend a name or address,
there is no fee. If the amended registration is to add or change prod-
ucts, the amended registration fee is $10 per product.

(5) The Secretary of State shall maintain a list of all buyers of
farm products, commission merchants and selling agents who reg-
ister with the Secretary of State.

(6) Subscriptions for master lists or portion(s) of master lists are
made at the time of registration or at any time during the period for
which the registrant is registered, provided no subscription for a mas-
ter list or portion of the master list will run beyond the month in
which the registration will expire.

(7) Subscriptions made other than at the time of registration
must be made on Form EFS-4, prescribed and approved by the Sec-
retary of State.

(8) A subscription for any master list or portion of the master
list will be for the period of the registration.

(9) The person registering with the Secretary of State must pro-
vide the following information on the Form EFS-4:

(a) Name and mailing address of the registrant. The registrant
must identify the registration as being for a buyer, commission mer-
chant or selling agent;

(b) Social Security Number or IRS taxpayer identification num-
ber of registrant;

(c) Telephone number;

(d) Number of farm product(s) included in the registration;

(e) Farm product code(s);

(f) Crop year or years for which master list or portion of mas-
ter list is to be sent;

(g) Indication of the type of master list or portion of master list
requested;

(h) Signature of the registrant;

(1) Registration/Subscription fee;

(j) Original registration number, if renewal or amended regis-
tration.

(10) Lists will be mailed to registrant within seven working
days from the end of the month.

(11) The subscription fees for the master list or portions of mas-
ter list are as follows:

(a) Standard paper reports — $500 per year per product;

(b) Microfiche — Up to five product code lists included with
the registration/subscription fee of $50, and $10 for each addition-

al product.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6070 & ORS 79.7010
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6070 & ORS 79.7010
Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-2-87;
SOS 11-1987, f. 7-9-87, ef. 8-1-87; PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90;
Renumbered from 164-050-0070

160-050-0250
Forms Used in Oregon Farm Products Central Filing System
The Secretary of State prescribes and approves the list of forms
below for use in the Oregon Farm Products Central Filing System:
(1) Form EFS-1 — Farm Products Effective Financing State-
ment;
(2) Form EFS-3 — Farm Products — Statement of Continua-
tion, Amendment, Assignment and Lapse;
(3) Form EFS-4 — Buyer, Commission Merchant, Selling

Agent Registration/ Subscription.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6030
Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987,f. & ef. 1-2-87;
SOS 2-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 1-9-87; SOS 4-1987, f. & ef. 2-24-87; SOS 11-1987,
f.7-9-87, ef. 8-1-87; PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; Renumbered from
164-050-0080; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0260
Method of Recording the Date and Time of Filing an EFS

(1) Documents are received in the office of the Secretary of
State. The documents will be checked by a filing officer to determine
if they meet the filing requirements and if the proper filing fees have
been submitted with the documents.

(2) The EFS’s, notices, amendments, continuation statements,
and lapsed statements that meet filing requirements are stamped with
the date of filing, time of filing and a file number.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6070(1)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6070

Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-2-87;

PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90; Renumbered from 165-050-0090;

CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0270
Requests of Oral Confirmation

(1) Upon request, the Secretary of State shall respond with an
oral confirmation of the filing of any or all EFS’s naming a partic-
ular debtor on the regular business day following the day on which
the request for oral confirmation is received, at or before the time of
day when it was received. The Secretary of State will include in such
oral confirmation any information specified by the requesting party
which would appear on the master list with regard to such EFS’s.

(2) The request for oral confirmation shall be presented to the
Secretary of State’s Office during regular business hours. Regular
business hours are from 8 am to 5 pm, excluding holidays, Saturdays
and Sundays.

(3) The written request for oral confirmation shall contain the
name and address of the requester, date of request, telephone num-
ber of the requester, and the name and address of the debtor for which
information is being requested.

(4) Upon receipt of a request for oral confirmation, the Secre-
tary of State shall stamp the request with the date, time and search
number.
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(5) A search will be made of the computerized records for the
information on the debtor and this information will be provided oral-
ly.

(6) Secretary of State will provide a written confirmation of the
information given orally on the debtor within two working days from
the date of giving the information orally.

(7) The service fee for a request for oral confirmation is $10 per
debtor name.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6080

Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6080

Hist.: SD 33-1986(Temp), f. 12-5-86, ef. 12-24-86; SOS 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-2-87;

SOS 11-1987, f. 7-9-87, ef. 8-1-87; PRD 1-1989, f. 12-12-89, cert. ef. 1-1-90;

Renumbered from 164-050-0100; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94

160-050-0280
EFS Search Fees
(1) The Effective Financing Statement search fees are:
(a) UCC-11 information search, Standard form — $10 per name
(each distinct debtor name to be searched);
(b) Requested copies of EFS documents — $5 per name
searched.
(2) Copy fee will be levied per request, whether or not any
copies are found.
EXAMPLES: The copy fee for EFS documents found on a search for John
Doe is:
For Information search, $10;
Plus, for requested copies, $5;
Total, $15.
The copy fee for EFS documents found on a search for John and Jane Doe
182
For information search ($10 per name x 2 =), $20;
Plus, for requested copies, ($5 per name x 2 =), $10;
Total, $30.
(a) State Seal Certificate — $10 per certificate; plus, for request-
ed copies — $5 per name searched;
(b) Copy(ies) of a EFS (filing number provided) — $5.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 79.6030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 79.6080
Hist.: CORP 1-1995, f. 2-8-95, cert. ef. 9-1-95

DIVISION 100
NOTARIES PUBLIC

160-100-0000
Definitions

As used in ORS 194.005 to 194.200, ORS 194.505 to 194.595
and OAR 160-100-0000 to 160-100-0620:

(1) “Days” means calendar days.

(2) “File”, “Filed” and “Deliver” means cause to be actually
received by the Secretary of State.

(3) “Notarial Record” means any record of any notarial act per-
formed by a notary public, except when a specified record or act is
excluded.

(4) “Notary Fee” means any money or other thing of value as
consideration for performing a notarial act. A notary fee does not
include a fee for traveling to perform a notarial act.

(5) “Official Seal” or “Official Notary Seal” means a stamp
made of any substance, capable of making a legible imprint on paper
in black ink that can be legibly reproduced by a photographic method
and that meets the description of OAR 160-100-0100. An official
seal does not include the mechanism to which the stamp is attached.

(6) “Official Seal Embosser” or “Official Notary Seal Emboss-
er” means any device capable of creating an embossed imprint on
paper that meets the description of OAR 160-100-0120. An official
seal embosser does not include the mechanism to which the emboss-
er plate is attached.

(7) “Secretary of State” means the Notary Public Section of the

Secretary of State’s office.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.335
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0000

160-100-0010
Date of Mailing

Whenever ORS 194.005 to 194.200, ORS 194.505 to 194.595
and OAR 160-100-0000 to 160-100-0620 require or permit a docu-
ment or object to be mailed to the Secretary of State, the date of mail-
ing shall be the date the document or object was personally delivered
to the U.S. Postal Service or a private courier service or placed in a
mail depository used by such postal or courier service, as evidenced
by a postmark date imprinted on the envelope or package contain-
ing the document or object or on a receipt issued by the postal or
courier service.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.335

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0010

160-100-0020
Name of Notary Public

Whenever ORS 194.005 to 194.200, ORS 194.505 to 194.595,
except ORS 194.014, and OAR 160-100-0000 to 160-100-0620 refer
to the name of a notary public, the name shall be the name of the
notary public as it appears on the notary public’s written commis-
sion.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.335

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0020

160-100-0030
Signature of Notary Public

Whenever ORS 194.005 to 194.200, ORS 194.505 to 194.595
and OAR 160-100-0000 to 160-100-0620 require or permit a notary
public to sign his or her name, the notary public shall sign the name

as it appears on the notary public’s written commission.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.014
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0030

160-100-0040
Administrative Services Fees

The Secretary of State shall charge the following fees for per-
forming the administrative services indicated:

(1) $20, nonrefundable, for processing each application,
including written examination, for a commission as a notary public.

(2) $10 for apostilles for public officials and notaries public.

(3) $10 for each notary public certificate of good standing.

(4) $5 for each duplicate notary public commission.

(5) $5 for each duplicate Certificate of Authorization to Obtain
Official Seal.

(6) $5 for processing a request to change the notary public’s
name on the notary public’s written commission.

(7) $1 for copying each page of a document.

(8) $200 for each computer tape of notary public databases or

portions of databases, new tapes to be provided by purchasers.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 177.130, ORS 192.440, ORS 194.020 & ORS 194.052
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; Suspended by SOS-AD 2-
1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-14-92; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
Renumbered from 164-100-0040; CORP 1-1994, f. 12-30-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95

Certificate of Authorization, Official Seal
and Official Seal Embosser

160-100-0100
Description of Imprint of Official Seal

(1) An outline of an imprint of an official seal of a notary pub-
lic shall be a rectangle measuring 3/4 inch high and 2-3/8 inches long
formed by a continuous solid or braided line.

(2) The imprint of an official seal of a notary public shall con-
tain within the outline border:

(a) The state seal, as described in ORS 186.020, measuring one
half inch in diameter and located in the upper left corner of the offi-
cial seal;
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(b) The following words, in descending order, centered in the
official seal to the right of the state seal:

(A) The words “Official Seal”. The words shall be printed in
not less than 8 point sized type and in capital letters;

(B) The name of the notary public. The name shall be printed
in not less than 8 point sized type, bold print, and in capital letters;

(C) The words “Notary Public — Oregon”. The words shall
be printed in 8 point sized type and in capital letters;

(D) The words “Commission No.” immediately followed by
the commission number. The words shall be printed in not less than
8 point sized type and in capital letters;

(E) The words “My Commission Expires”, immediately fol-
lowed by the notary public’s expiration date, expressed in terms of
the month, day and year, i.e. “January 1, 1990 and printed in not less
than 8 point sized type and in capital letters.

(3) The imprint of an official seal of a notary public shall be
made with black ink:

(a) Of a type that will not be removable under normal condi-
tions; or

(b) Of a type considered permanent, such as India ink, when
applied to plastic or mylar surfaces. EXAMPLES: [Examples not
included. See ED. NOTE.]

[ED. NOTE: Copies of the Examples referenced in this rule are available from
the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.031

Hist.: SD 7-1978, f. & ef. 8-10-78; Renumbered from 165-027-0010; SOS-AD
2-1990, . 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
Renumbered from 164-100-0100

160-100-0110
Use of Official Seal

(1) A notary public shall use the notary public’s official seal to
perform a notarial act.

(2) A notary public shall use the notary public’s official seal by
placing a legible imprint of the official seal on a notarial certificate.

(3) A notary public shall not place an imprint of the notary pub-
lic’s official seal over any signature in a document to be notarized
or in a notarial certificate, nor over any writing in a notarial certifi-
cate.

(4) When a notarial certificate is on a separate piece of paper
attached to the document to be notarized or when there are attach-
ments to the document to be notarized, such as pictures, a notary pub-
lic may use an additional imprint of the notary public’s official seal
to mark for identification the document or attachment if the imprint
does not make any part of the document or attachment illegible.

(5) A notary public shall not use the notary public’s official seal
for any purpose other than to perform a notarial act.

(6) A notary public shall not permit any other person to use the
notary public’s official seal for any purpose.

(7) A notary public shall not use any other notary public’s offi-
cial seal or any other object in lieu of the notary public’s official seal
to perform a notarial act.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.005 & ORS 194.031

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0110

160-100-0120
Description of Official Seal Embosser

(1) An official seal embosser of a notary public shall be two
concentric circles each formed by a continuous solid or intermittent
line. The outer circle shall measure not less than one and one half
inches and not more than two inches in diameter.

(2) The embossment of the official seal embosser of a notary
public shall contain the following printed in capital letters:

(a) The name of the notary public centered at the top and
between the two circles;

(b) The words “STATE OF OREGON” centered at the bot-
tom and between the two circles;

(¢) The word “NOTARY” above the word “PUBLIC” both
centered within the inner circle. EXAMPLE:

% OF A
_.r'.{'-«. - B
.-"_::_T_-" ".L'q,.;'a_
£ WOTARy Y
= S 1
L kb ] § H H
: L AUBLIL 5 f
El & .
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.031

Hist.: SD 7-1978, f. & ef. 8-10-78; Renumbered from 165-027-0005; SOS-AD
2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
Renumbered from 164-100-0120

160-100-0130
Use of Official Seal Embosser

(1) A notary public may use an official seal embosser to per-
form a notarial act but only in addition to the notary public’s offi-
cial seal.

(2) If a notary public uses an official seal embosser, the notary
public shall use it by placing the embossment on a notarial certifi-
cate.

(3) A notary public shall not place the embossment over any
signature in a document to be notarized or in a notarial certificate nor
over any writing in a notarial certificate.

(4) When a notarial certificate is on a separate piece of paper
attached to the document to be notarized or when there are attach-
ments to the document to be notarized, such as pictures, a notary pub-
lic may use an additional embossment of the notary public’s official
seal to mark for identification the document or attachment if the
embossment does not make any part of the document or attachment
illegible.

(5) A notary public shall not use the notary public’s official seal
embosser for any purpose other than to perform a notarial act.

(6) A notary public shall not permit any other person to use the
notary public’s official seal embosser for any purpose.

(7) A notary public shall not use any other notary public’s offi-
cial seal embosser or any other object in lieu of the notary public’s

official seal embosser to perform a notarial act.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.031
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0130

160-100-0140
Filing Imprint of Official Seal with Secretary of State

A notary public shall file the following information with the
Secretary of State within ten days after the date the notary public
receives the notary public’s official seal and Certificate of Autho-
rization from a vendor of official seals:

(1) An imprint of the notary public’s official seal. The imprint
shall be placed in the location designated for the imprint on the Cer-
tificate of Authorization;

(2) The Certificate of Authorization. The Certificate of
Authorization shall be the original Certificate of Authorization issued
by the Secretary of State to the notary public. The Certificate of
Authorization shall be completed by the vendor with the information

required on the Certificate of Authorization.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.031
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0140

160-100-0150
Notification of Secretary of State That Certificate of
Authorization is Unusable

(1) A notary public whose Certificate of Authorization is lost,
misplaced, destroyed or otherwise unusable shall file with the Sec-
retary of State a written statement, under oath or affirmation, with-
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in ten days after the date the notary public discovers that the Cer-
tificate of Authorization was lost, misplaced, destroyed or otherwise
unusable.

(2) The statement shall set forth:

(a) A statement of whether the Certificate of Authorization is
lost, misplaced, destroyed or in some other manner made unusable;

(b) An explanation of how the Certificate of Authorization
became unusable;

(c) The date the notary public discovered that the Certificate of
Authorization was unusable;

(d) If lost or misplaced, a statement that the notary public does
not possess the Certificate of Authorization and does not know who
possesses it or where it is located;

(e) If lost or misplaced, a statement that if the notary public sub-
sequently reacquires possession of the lost or misplaced Certificate
of Authorization, then the notary public shall file it with the Secre-
tary of State within ten days after the date the notary public reac-
quires possession of the lost or misplaced Certificate of Authoriza-
tion;

(f) A request that the Secretary of State issue a duplicate Cer-
tificate of Authorization to the notary public.

(3) The Secretary of State shall issue a duplicate Certificate of
Authorization to the notary public as if the notary public had made
a request pursuant to ORS 194.031(5).

(4) A notary public who is issued a duplicate Certificate of
Authorization pursuant to this rule shall use it to comply with the
requirements of ORS 194.010(4) and OAR 160-100-0140. To com-
ply with OAR 160-100-0140, the notary public shall file with the
Secretary of State an imprint of the notary public’s seal and the dupli-
cate Certificate of Authorization within ten days after the notary pub-
lic receives the completed duplicate Certificate of Authorization from
a vendor of official seals.

(5) If a notary public subsequently reacquires possession of a
lost or misplaced Certificate of Authorization, then the notary pub-
lic shall file with the Secretary of State a written statement of expla-
nation and the lost or misplaced Certificate of Authorization within
ten days after the date the notary public reacquires possession of the

lost or misplaced Certificate of Authorization.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.335
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0150

160-100-0160
Notification of Secretary of State that Official Seal is
Unworkable

(1) A notary public whose official seal is lost, misplaced,
destroyed, broken, damaged or otherwise unworkable shall person-
ally deliver or mail to the Secretary of State a written statement,
under oath or affirmation, within ten days after the date the notary
public discovers that the seal was lost, misplaced, destroyed, broken,
damaged or otherwise unworkable.

(2) The statement shall include:

(a) A statement of whether the official seal is lost, misplaced,
destroyed, broken, damaged or in some other manner made unwork-
able;

(b) An explanation of how the official seal became unworkable;

(c) The date the notary public discovered that the official seal
was unworkable;

(d) If lost or misplaced, a statement that the notary public does
not possess the official seal and does not know who possesses it or
where it is located;

(e) If lost or misplaced, a statement that if the notary public sub-
sequently reacquires possession of the lost or misplaced official seal,
then the notary public shall file it with the Secretary of State with-
in ten days after the date the notary public reacquires possession of
the lost or misplaced official seal;

(f) A request that the Secretary of State issue a duplicate Cer-
tificate of Authorization to the notary public.

(3) A notary public who is issued a duplicate Certificate of
Authorization pursuant to ORS 194.031(5) and this rule shall use it
to comply with the requirements of ORS 194.010(4) and OAR 160-

100-0140. To comply with OAR 160-100-0140, the notary public
shall file with the Secretary of State an imprint of the notary public’s
official seal and duplicate Certificate of Authorization within ten
days after the notary public receives the completed duplicate Cer-
tificate of Authorization from the official seal vendor or vendor’s
representative.

(4) If a notary public subsequently reacquires possession of a
lost or misplaced official seal, then the notary public shall file with
the Secretary of State a written statement of explanation and the lost
or misplaced official seal within ten days after the date the notary

public reacquires possession of the lost or misplaced official seal.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.031
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0160

Notarial Journal

160-100-0200
Form and Content of Notarial Journal

A notarial journal of a notary public may be in any form that
meets the physical requirements set out in this rule and the entry
requirements set out in OAR 160-100-0210:

(1) The cover and pages inside the cover shall be bound togeth-
er by any binding method that is designed to prevent the insertion or
removal of the cover or a page;

(2) Each page shall be consecutively numbered from the begin-
ning to the end of the journal. If a journal provides two pages on
which to record the required information about the same notarial act,
then both pages may be numbered with the same number or each
page may be numbered with a different number. A page number shall
be preprinted;

(3) Each line shall be consecutively numbered from the begin-
ning to the end of the page. If a line extends across two pages, the
line shall be numbered with the same number on both pages. A line
number shall be preprinted;

(4) A notarial journal of a notary public shall contain on the
inside of the front cover or on the first page the following informa-
tion in any order:

(a) The name of the notary public;

(b) The notary public’s commission number;

(c) The notary public’s commission expiration date;

(d) The notary public’s residence or business street or mailing
address;

(e) The earliest date the journal may be destroyed, which shall
be seven years after expiration of the last commission in which entry
was made in the journal;

(f) One of the following statements:

(A) That, in the event of the decease of this notary public, the
journal shall be delivered or mailed to the Secretary of State; or

(B) That, in the event the notary public has entered into a writ-
ten agreement with his/her employer pursuant to OAR 160-100-
0360, the date such written agreement was entered into, the name and
address of the employer and instructions that the journal shall be
delivered or mailed to the employer in the event of the decease of the
notary public;

(g) The meaning of any not commonly abbreviated word or
symbol used in recording a notarial act in the notarial journal;

(h) The signature of the notary public;

(i) At the respective time of entry, the dates of the first and last
notarial acts recorded in the notarial journal.

EXAMPLE: First entry on July 6, 1990, last entry on January 7, 1992.

(5) If a notary public’s name, commission number, commission
expiration date, destruction date or address that is written in the
notarial journal changes before the notary public ceases to use the
notarial journal, the notary public shall draw a single line through the
old information and write the new information to the side of the old

information.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.152
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0200
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160-100-0210
Information Required to Be Recorded in Notarial Journal

Except as provided in OAR 160-100-0220 and 160-100-0230,
a notary public shall record in a notarial journal the following
information about each notarial act performed by the notary public:

(1) The date and time the notarial act was performed;

(2) The type of notarial act performed;

(3) The date of the document notarized;

(4) The type of document notarized,;

(5) The printed name of the person whose statement, signature
or document was notarized;

(6) The signature of the person whose statement, signature or
document was notarized.

(7) A description of how the notary public identified the per-
son whose statement, signature or document was notarized. The
description shall be as follows:

(a) If the notary public identified such person by personally
knowing the person, then the description shall consist of the state-
ments either “personally known” or “personal knowledge”;

(b) If the notary public identified such person by seeing and
hearing a credible witness personally known to the notary public tes-
tify under oath or affirmation, then the description shall consist of,
in the following order, the legal name and residence street address
of the witness;

(c) If the notary public identified such person by seeing iden-
tification documents, then the description shall consist of, in the fol-
lowing order, the name of the organization that issued the document;
the type of document and the number of the identification document,
if any. For example, Oregon driver’s license number 1234567.

(8) An entry may contain any other information.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.152

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0210

160-100-0220
Abbreviated Multiple Entry in Notarial Journal

(1) If a notary public notarizes duplicate originals of a single
statement or document for the same person on the same date, the
notary public may, in lieu of recording individually in the notarial
journal the information required by OAR 160-100-0210 for each
notarized duplicate original, record a single entry in the notarial jour-
nal for all notarizations of the statement or document, which shall set
forth all the information required by OAR 160-100-0210, and the
total numbers of the statement or document notarized.

(2) If a notary notarizes different statements or documents for
the same person on the same date, the notary public may, in lieu of
recording individually in the notarial journal the information required
by OAR 160-100-0210 for each notarized statement or document,
record a single entry in the notarial journal for all notarizations of
such statements or documents, which shall set forth the number of
statements or documents and the information required by OAR 160-
100-0210(1), (2), (5), (6) and (7), and for each statement or document
the information required by OAR 160-100-0210(3) and (4) and, if
there are duplicate originals of any statement or document, the total
number of the statement or document notarized.

(3) If a notary public notarizes more than one statement, sig-
nature or document for the same person but not on the same date, the
notary public may, in lieu of recording individually in the notarial
journal the information required by OAR 160-100-0210(5) and (7)
for each notarization for that person, record a reference to a prior
entry in the notarial journal for that person (identifying the page and
line numbers of the prior entry) which prior entry shall set forth the
information required by OAR 160-100-0210(5) and (7).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.152

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0220

160-100-0230
Notarial Acts Not Required to Be Recorded in Notarial
Journal

A notary public may, but is not required to, record in a notari-
al journal any information about the following notarial acts per-
formed or documents notarized by the notary public:

(1) Administering an oath or affirmation;

(2) Certifying or attesting a copy of a document;

(3) Affidavits;

(4) Billing statements for media advertising;

(5) Protests of commercial paper (to be recorded as provided in
ORS 194.090 and 73.0505).

(6) Verifications upon oath or affirmation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194.152(2)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.152

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; SOS-AD 3-1990(Temp), . &

cert. ef. 7-2-90; SOS-AD 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 1-7-91; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-

93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0230

160-100-0240
Information Required to Be Recorded in Record of Protests

A notary public shall maintain a record of information about
each protest of commercial paper performed by the notary public

consisting of copies of source originals.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.090
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-240

Disposition of Notarial Records Upon
Termination of Commission

160-100-0300
Termination of Commission Due to Expiration — No Applica-
tion for New Commission

(1) A notary public whose commission was terminated
because of expiration, and who has not applied for a new commission
within 30 days after the date of termination shall arrange for the stor-
age of his/her notarial records, except records of protests of com-
mercial paper (see OAR 160-100-0350), in any form and at any loca-
tion. The records or any reproduction of the records must be readable
and the notary public must be able to obtain possession of such
records within 15 days of receipt of a request for such records.

(2) A notary public shall file a statement with the Secretary of
State within ten days after the date the notary public stored such
records. The statement shall include:

(a) The name of the notary public;

(b) The notary public’s commission number;

(c) The notary public’s commission expiration date;

(d) The cause of termination of the notary public’s commission,
i.e., expiration;

(e) The date the notary public stored such notarial records;

(f) The street address and exact location at such address where
such records are stored and any subsequent relocation of such
records.

(3) A notary public shall store such records for a period of seven
years after the date of commission expiration. After the seven-year
period, the notary public may destroy such records.

(4) A notary public shall destroy the official seal and/or official
seal embosser immediately upon expiration of the commission.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.154

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0300

160-100-0310
Termination of Commission Due to Expiration — Application
for New Commission Made Within 30 Days

(1) A notary public whose commission was terminated
because of expiration and who has filed with the Secretary of State
an application for a new commission within 30 days after the date
of termination shall retain his/her notarial records at the notary pub-
lic’s residence or business location. Such records may be retained in
any form as long as such records or any reproduction of such records
are readable.

(2) If the notary public is issued a new commission within three
months after the date of termination, then the notary public shall con-
tinue to retain his/her notarial records at the notary public’s residence
or business location. Such records may be retained in any form as
long as such records or any reproduction of such records are read-
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able. Such records shall be retained for a period of seven years after
the date of expiration of the prior commission during which the
records were kept. After the seven-year period, the notary public may
destroy such records.

(3) If the notary public is not issued a commission for any rea-
son within three months after the date of expiration, then the notary
public shall arrange for the storage of his/her notarial records as

required by OAR 160-100-0300.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.154
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0310

160-100-0320
Termination of Commission Due to Resignation

(1) A notary public whose commission was terminated
because of resignation shall arrange for the storage of his/her notar-
ial records, except records of protests of commercial paper (see OAR
160-100-0350), in any form and at any location within 30 days fol-
lowing resignation. The records or any reproduction of the records
must be readable and the notary public must be able to obtain pos-
session of such records within 15 days of receipt of a request for such
records.

(2) A notary public shall file a statement with the Secretary of
State within ten days after the date the notary public stored such
records. The statement shall include:

(a) The name of the notary public;

(b) The notary public’s commission number;

(c) The notary public’s commission expiration date;

(d) The cause of termination of the notary public’s commission,
i.e., resignation and an explanation why the notary public is resign-
ing;

(e) The notary public’s resignation date;

(f) The date the notary public stored such notarial records;

(g) The street address and exact location at such address where
such records are stored and any subsequent relocation of such
records.

(3) A notary public shall store such records for a period of seven
years after the date of resignation. After the seven-year period, the
notary public may destroy such records.

(4) At the same time that the notary public files the statement
required by section (2) of this rule with the Secretary of State, a
notary public shall file with the Secretary of State the notary public’s
official seal and official seal embosser, if any. The Secretary of State
may destroy the official seal and/or official seal embosser upon

receipt.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.154
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0320

160-100-0330
Termination of Commission Due to Revocation

(1) A notary public whose commission was terminated
because of revocation shall file his/her notarial records with the Sec-
retary of State within 30 days after the date of revocation.

(2) At the same time that the notary public files such records
with the Secretary of State, a notary public shall file a statement with
the Secretary of State. The statement shall include:

(a) The name of the notary public;

(b) The notary public’s commission number;

(c) The notary public’s commission expiration date;

(d) The cause of termination of the notary public’s commission,
i.e., revocation;

(e) The notary public’s commission revocation date.

(3) At the same time that the notary public files such records
and statement with the Secretary of State, a notary public shall file
with the Secretary of State the notary public’s official seal and offi-
cial seal embosser, if any.

(4) The Secretary of State shall store such records for a period
of seven years after the date of revocation. After the seven-year peri-
od, the Secretary of State may destroy such records. The Secretary

of State may destroy the official seal and/or official seal embosser

upon receipt.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.154
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0330

160-100-0340
Termination of Commission Due to Death

(1) Within 30 days of termination of a notary public’s com-
mission as a result of death, an heir or personal representative of the
notary public shall file the notary public’s notarial records with the
Secretary of State, unless the notary public entered into a written
agreement with his/her employer pursuant to OAR 160-100-0360.

(2) The heir or personal representative shall file a statement with
the Secretary of State. The statement shall include:

(a) The name of the notary public;

(b) The notary public’s commission number;

(c) The notary public’s commission expiration date;

(d) The cause of termination of the notary public’s commission,
i.e., the notary public is deceased;

(e) The notary public’s date of death.

(3) At the same time that an heir or personal representative files
such record and statement with the Secretary of State, an heir or per-
sonal representative shall file with the Secretary of State the notary
public’s official seal and official seal embosser, if any.

(4) The Secretary of State shall store such records for a period
of seven years after the date of decease of the notary public. After
the seven-year period, the Secretary of State may destroy such
records. The Secretary of State may destroy the official seal and/or

official seal embosser upon receipt.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.156
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0340

160-100-0350
Record of Protests of Commercial Paper

(1) A notary public whose commission terminates because of
expiration, resignation or revocation, shall file his/her records of
protests of commercial paper and any other notarial record relating
only to protests of commercial paper with the Secretary of State with-
in 30 days after the date of termination.

(2) At the same time that the notary public files such records
with the Secretary of State, a notary public shall file a statement with
the Secretary of State. The statement shall include:

(a) The name of the notary public;

(b) The notary public’s commission number;

(c) The notary public’s commission expiration date;

(d) The cause of termination of the notary public’s commission,
i.e., expiration, resignation or revocation;

(e) The notary public’s commission termination date.

(3) The Secretary of State shall store such records for a period
of seven years after the date of termination. After the seven-year peri-

od, the Secretary of State may destroy such records.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.130
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0350

160-100-0360
Notary Public’s Responsibilities When Agreement Has Been
Entered into with Employer

A notary public who has entered into an agreement with his/her
employer relating to the employer’s retention and disposal of the
notary public’s notarial records following termination of employ-
ment pursuant to ORS 194.152(3) shall retain a written copy of the
agreement which may be examined by the Secretary of State upon
request. The agreement shall contain at least the following infor-
mation:

(1) Date agreement was entered into;

(2) Names of parties to agreement;
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(3) Terms of agreement, including retention of records by the
employer for a period not less than seven years after termination of
the notary’s commission;

(4) Signatures of all parties to agreement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.152

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0360

Notarial Fees and Waiver of Notarial Fees

160-100-0400
Maximum Amount of Notary Fees Permitted to be Charged

A notary public shall not charge, attempt to charge, or receive
a notary fee that is more than:

(1) $5 for taking an acknowledgment;

(2) $5 for taking a verification upon an oath or affirmation;

(3) $5 for certifying a copy of a document;

(4) $5 for witnessing or attesting a signature;

(5) $5 for protesting commercial paper, except a check drawn
on an insolvent financial institution in which case the fee is $0;

(6) $1 for administering an oath or affirmation without a sig-
nature;

(7) $1 for taking a deposition, each page;

(8) $1 for all other notarial acts not specified in this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.164

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0400

160-100-0410
Displaying List of Notary Fees

A notary public who charges a fee for a notarial act shall either
display a list of notary fees specified in OAR 160-100-0400 in a con-
spicuous location in the notary public’s place of business or give a
copy of the notice to any person requesting a notarial act to read
before having the notarial act performed. A place of business is the
notary public’s residence, business office or any other location in

which the notary public performs a notarial act.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.162
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0410

160-100-0420
Filing Statement of Waiver of Notary Fees; Withdrawing
Statement of Waiver

(1) A notary public may file with the Secretary of State a state-
ment waiving the right to charge a notary fee.

(2) If a notary public files a written statement of waiver, then
the notary public shall:

(a) Not charge, attempt to charge or receive any notary fee for
anotarial act performed after the date the notary public filed the state-
ment of waiver;

(b) Not display a list of notary fees otherwise required by OAR
160-100-0410.

(3) If a notary public who has filed a statement of waiver wants
to charge a fee to perform a notarial act, then notary public shall file
with the Secretary of State a written statement withdrawing the state-
ment of waiver and shall comply with the requirements of OAR 160-
100-0400 and 160-100-0410.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.010

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.

ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0420

Complaints Against Notaries Public

160-100-0430
Filing Complaint Against Notary Public; Investigation of
Notary Public by Secretary of State

(1) A person may file a complaint against a notary public with
the Secretary of State. A complaint shall be in writing and signed and
dated by the person filing the complaint. A complaint that does not

comply with the requirements of this section shall not be filed,
responded to or acted upon by the Secretary of State.
(2) The Secretary of State may commence an investigation of

a notary public as a result of information received from any source.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.166 & ORS 194.335
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0430

Conviction of a Notary Public or Notary
Public Applicant of a Felony or Lesser Offense
Incompatible with the Duties of a Notary Public

160-100-0500
Notification of Secretary of State of Conviction

Within 30 days of having been convicted of any felony or less-
er offense incompatible with the duties of a notary public, the notary
public shall file a written statement with the Secretary of State con-
taining the following information:

(1) The name of the notary public;

(2) The notary public’s commission number;

(3) The notary public’s Commission expiration date;

(4) Type of conviction;

(5) Court and jurisdiction of court in which convicted;

(6) Sentence imposed by court.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 194

Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.166 & ORS 194.335

Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0500

160-100-0510
Conviction of a Lesser Offense Incompatible with the Duties
of a Notary Public

“Conviction of a lesser offense incompatible with the duties of
a notary public” as cited in ORS 194.166(4) and OAR 160-100-
610(67) shall mean having been convicted in any court of the State
of Oregon or any other state or federal jurisdiction of one of the
crimes listed below or any comparable crime:

(1) 162.075 — False swearing;

(2) 162.085 — Unsworn falsification;

(3) 162.235 — Obstructing governmental or judicial adminis-
tration;

(4) 162.295 — Tampering with physical evidence;

(5) 162.305 — Tampering with public records;

(6) 162.335 — Compounding a felony;

(7) 162.355 — Simulating legal process;

(8) 162.365 — Criminal impersonation;

(9) 162.375 — Initiating a false report;

(10) 162.385 — Giving false information to police officer for
a citation;

(11) 162.425 — Misuse of confidential information;

(12) 165.007 — Forgery in the 2nd degree;

(13) 165.017 — Criminal possession of a forged instrument in
the 2nd degree;

(14) 165.037 — Criminal simulation;

(15) 165.042 — Fraudulently obtaining a signature;

(16) 165.080 — Falsifying business records;

(17) 165.095 — Misapplication of entrusted property;

(18) 165.100 — Issuing a false financial statement;

(19) 165.102 — Obtaining execution of documents by decep-
tion;

(20) Any misconduct identified of the notary offenses listed in
ORS 194.990;

(21) Any other offense of a similar nature to the above listed

crimes which is incompatible with the duties of a notary public.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.166
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0510
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160-100-0600
Refusal to Issue, Revocation, Suspension, Civil Penalties and
Official Warning for Official Misconduct

(1) OAR 160-100-0610 identifies official misconduct, as
defined in ORS 194.005(8), and identifies sanctions that may be
taken by the Secretary of State for first acts of misconduct, includ-
ing refusing to issue, revoking, or suspending a commission in ORS
194.166, assessing a civil penalty in ORS 194.980, or issuing an offi-
cial warning in ORS 194 .985.

(2) The Secretary of State may assess increasingly severe sanc-
tions up to and including a $1500 civil penalty and revocation of a
notary public’s commission, where applicable, for:

(a) Failure to correct or cease official misconduct within time
periods specified by the Secretary of State in a final order (final
notice of assessment) or Official Warning letter;

(b) A repeated act or acts of official misconduct which occur
subsequent to any previous sanction assessed by the Secretary of
State for the same type of misconduct;

(c) Accumulation of more than one different notary mis-

conducts occurring during a seven-year period.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 194
Stats. Implemented: ORS 194.166, ORS 194.980 & ORS 194.985
Hist.: SOS-AD 2-1990, f. 5-9-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; CORP 1-1993, f. 12-29-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 164-100-0600

160-100-0610
Conduct Which Constitutes Official Misconduct

As provided in OAR 160-100-0600, the following conduct con-
stitutes official misconduct, as defined in ORS 194.005, for purposes
of refusing to issue, revoke or suspend a notary public’s commission
pursuant to ORS 194.166, assessing a civil penalty against a person
pursuant to ORS 194.980, or issuing an official warning to a person
pursuant to ORS 194.985:

(1) A person, who is in the business of making or selling offi-
cial seals, provided an official seal to a person who did not present
to such vendor the original Certificate of Authorization issued by the
Secretary of State to the person pursuant to ORS 194.010(2). See
ORS 194.010(4)(a). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official
warning.

(2) A person performed a notarial act within the state of Ore-
gon when the person was not commissioned as a notary public. See
ORS 194.012. Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Refuse to com-
mission. (Class B Misdemeanor)

(3) A notary public used as an official seal an object that was
not a stamp, or was a stamp but the stamp was made of a substance
that was incapable of making a legible imprint on paper or was inca-
pable of making an imprint that could be legibly reproduced under
a photographic method. See ORS 194.031(1). Sanction for First Act
of Misconduct: Official warning.

(4) A notary public, who received the notary public’s official
seal from a vendor of official seals, did not file with the Secretary
of State an imprint of the notary public’s official seal and the infor-
mation required by OAR 160-100-0140 within ten days after the date
the notary public received the official seal from the vendor. See ORS
194.031(4). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(5) A notary public, whose official seal was lost, misplaced,
destroyed, broken, damaged or otherwise unworkable, did not per-
sonally deliver or mail to the Secretary of State a written notice of
that fact within ten days after the date the notary public discovered
that the notary public’s official seal was lost, misplaced, destroyed,
broken, damaged or otherwise unworkable. See ORS 194.031(5) and
OAR 160-100-0160(1). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Offi-
cial warning.

(6) A notary public used the notary public’s seal embosser in
lieu of the notary public’s official seal. See ORS 194.031(6) and
OAR 160-100-0130(1). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Offi-
cial warning.

(7) A notary public performed a notarial act in another state pur-
suant to the authority of the notary public’s Oregon commission. See
ORS 194.043. Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warn-
ing.

(8) A notary public did not deliver or mail to the Secretary of
State a written notice of change of address within 30 days after the
date the notary public changed the notary public’s residence or busi-
ness street or mailing address. See ORS 194.047 and 194.166(15).
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(9) A notary public performed a notarial act using a new name
different than the notary public’s name as it appeared on the notary
public’s written commission. See ORS 194.052(1). Sanction for First
Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(10) A notary public did not deliver or mail to the Secretary of
State a written notice of change of name within 30 days after the date
the notary public’s name changed. See ORS 194.052(2) and
194.166(15). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(11) A notary public issued a certificate of dishonor of a nego-
tiable instrument (also known as a protest of commercial paper as
defined in ORS 73.0505(2)) but in the certificate did not identify the
negotiable instrument protested, certify that due presentment was
made or the reason why presentment was excused, or certify that the
instrument protested was dishonored by nonacceptance or nonpay-
ment, as required by ORS 73.0505(2). See ORS 194.070. Sanction
for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(12) A notary public did not keep a record of all certificates of
dishonor (also known as a protest of commercial paper as defined in
ORS 73.0505(2)) issued by the notary public during the term of a
commission. See ORS 194.090. Sanction for First Act of Miscon-
duct: Official warning.

(13) A notary public performed an acknowledgment of a doc-
ument executed by a corporation of which the notary public was a
shareholder, director, officer or employee at the time of the nota-
rization when the notary public was a party to the document either
in an individual or representative capacity. See ORS 194.100(2)(a).
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(14) A notary public issued a certificate of dishonor of a nego-
tiable instrument (also known as a protest of commercial paper as
defined in ORS 73.0505(2)) that was owned or held for collection
by a corporation of which the notary public was a shareholder, direc-
tor, officer or employee of a corporation at the time of the notariza-
tion when the notary public was a party to the negotiable instrument
in an individual capacity. See ORS 194.100(2)(b). Sanction for First
Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(15) A notary public did not provide, keep, maintain or protect
a chronological journal of notarial acts performed by the notary pub-
lic during the term of a commission. See ORS 194.152(1). Sanction
for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(16) A notary public whose commission was terminated
because of expiration and who did not reapply did not arrange for the
storage of his/her notarial records, file a statement with Secretary of
State or destroy the notary public’s official seal and official seal
embosser, if any. See ORS 194.154 and OAR 160-100-0300. Sanc-
tion for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(17) A notary public whose commission terminated because of
resignation did not arrange for the storage of his/her notarial records,
file a statement or the notary public’s official seal and official seal
embosser, if any, with the Secretary of State. See ORS 194.154 and
OAR 160-100-0320. Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official
warning.

(18) A notary public whose commission terminated because of
revocation did not file his/her notarial records, a statement or the
notary public’s official seal and official seal embosser, if any, with
the Secretary of State. See ORS 194.154 and OAR 160-100-0330.
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: $500.

(19) A notary public whose commission terminated because of
expiration and who filed an application for a new commission with-
in 30 days after the date of termination but was not issued a new
commission within 90 days after the date of termination, did not dis-
pose of the notary public’s notarial records in accordance with OAR
160-100-0310 within 90 days after the date of termination. See ORS
194.154(3). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(20) A notary public notarized a document in which the notary
public signed or was named other than as a notary public. See ORS
194.158(1). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.
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(21) A notary public endorsed or promoted a product, service,
contest or other offering by using the notary public’s title or official
seal. See ORS 194.158(2). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct:
$500 civil penalty.

(22) A notary public made a representation that the notary pub-
lic had powers, qualifications, rights or privileges that the notary pub-
lic did not have. See ORS 194.162(2). Sanction for First Act of Mis-
conduct: $500 civil penalty.

(23) A notary public, who was not licensed to practice law in
the state of Oregon and who advertised in a language other than
English to perform a notarial act, did not include in the advertisement
the statement: “I am not licensed to practice law in the state of Ore-
gon and I am not permitted to give legal advice on immigration or
other legal matters or accept fees for legal advice.” This should be
written in the same language used in the advertisement and in
English and prominently displayed. See ORS 194.162(3)(a) and
194.166(10). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(24) A notary public, who was not licensed to practice law in
the state of Oregon and who advertised in a language other than
English to perform a notarial act, did not include in the advertisement
a list of notarial fees specified in OAR 160-100-0410. See ORS
194.162(3)(b) and 194.166(10). Sanction for First Act of Miscon-
duct: Official warning.

(25) A notary public, who was not licensed to practice law in
the state of Oregon and who advertised in a language other than
English to perform a notarial act, did not display the statement and
list of notarial fees required by ORS 194.162(3) in a conspicuous
place in the notary public’s place of business. See ORS 194.162(4)
and 194.166(10). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official
warning.

(26) A notary public used the term “notario publico” or a non-
English equivalent term in a business card, advertisement, notice,
sign or in any other manner which misrepresents the authority of the
notary public. See ORS 194.162(5). Sanction for First Act of Mis-
conduct: Official warning.

(27) A notary public who charged a fee for traveling to perform
a notarial act did not explain to the person who requested the notar-
ial act that the traveling fee was in addition to the fee to perform the
notarial act or was not required by law, or did not obtain in advance
the agreement of the person who requested the notarial act to the
amount of the traveling fee. See ORS 194.160(2). Sanction for First
Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(28) A notary public, except a notary public who filed with the
Secretary of State a statement waiving the right to charge a notary
fee, did not comply with the fee display requirements specified in
OAR 160-100-0410. See ORS 194.160(3). Sanction for First Act of
Misconduct: Official warning.

(29) A notary public failed to maintain the qualifications to be
a notary public required under ORS 194.022. See ORS 194.166(1).
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Revocation of commission.

(30) A notary public or notary public applicant made a sub-
stantial and material misstatement or omission of fact in an appli-
cation submitted to the Secretary of State. See ORS 194.166(2).
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Revocation of commission or
refusal to issue commission.

(31) A notary public or notary public applicant was convicted
of a felony, or of a lesser offense incompatible with the duties of a
notary public. See ORS 194.166(4) and OAR 160-100-0510. Sanc-
tion for First Act of Misconduct: Revocation of commission or
refusal to issue commission.

(32) A notary public or a notary public applicant had a profes-
sional license that was issued by a governmental entity revoked, sus-
pended, restricted or denied for misconduct, dishonesty or a cause
substantially relating to the duties or responsibilities of a notary pub-
lic. See ORS 194.166(5). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct:
Revocation of commission or refusal to issue commission.

(33) A notary public was judicially determined to be liable for
damages in a suit for fraud or misrepresentation or in a suit for fail-
ing to discharge fully and faithfully the duties as a notary public. See
ORS 194.166(6). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Revocation
of commission.

(34) A notary public used a false or misleading advertisement
in which the notary public represented that the notary public had
powers, qualifications, rights or privileges that the office of notary
public does not have, including but not limited to the power to coun-
sel on immigration matters. See ORS 194.166(7). Sanction for First
Act of Misconduct: Suspension of commission for a period of 90
days and $1,000 civil penalty.

(35) A notary public engaged in the unauthorized practice of
law. See ORS 194.166(8). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Sus-
pension of commission for a period of 90 days and $1,000 civil
penalty.

(36) A notary public charged a notary fee that was more than
the maximum fee specified in OAR 160-100-0400. See ORS
194.166(9). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: $500 civil penal-
ty.

(37) A notary public committed an act involving dishonesty,
fraud or deceit with the intent to substantially benefit the notary pub-
lic or another or substantially injure another. See ORS 194.166(11).
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Suspension of commission for
a period of 90 days and $1,000 civil penalty.

(38) A notary public executed a notarial certificate that con-
tained a statement known to the notary public to be false. See ORS
194.166(13). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: $500 civil penal-
ty.

(39) A notary public used an official seal or official seal
embosser that did not conform to ORS 194.031, OAR 160-100-0100
and 160-100-0120 to perform a notarial act. See ORS 194.166(14).
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(40) A notary public did not determine either from personal
knowledge as defined in ORS 194.505(7) or from satisfactory evi-
dence as defined in ORS 194.515(6) and 194.505(8) that the person
acknowledging a document as defined in ORS 194.505(2) in the
presence of the notary public was the person whose signature was
on the document. See ORS 194.515(1). Sanction for First Act of Mis-
conduct: Suspension of commission for a period of 30 days.

(41) A notary public did not determine either from personal
knowledge as defined in ORS 194.505(7) or from satisfactory evi-
dence as defined in ORS 194.515(6) and 194.505(8) that the person
verifying a statement by oath or affirmation as defined in ORS
194.505(3) in the presence of the notary public is the person whose
signature was on the statement. See ORS 194.515(2). Sanction for
First Act of Misconduct: Suspension of commission for a period of
30 days.

(42) A notary public did not determine either from personal
knowledge as defined in ORS 194.505(7) or from satisfactory evi-
dence as defined in ORS 194.515(6) and 194.505(8) that the signa-
ture on a document was the signature of the person signing the doc-
ument in the presence of the notary public and named in the
document. See ORS 194.515(3). Sanction for First Act of Miscon-
duct: Suspension of commission for a period of 30 days.

(43) A notary public did not determine from satisfactory knowl-
edge as defined in ORS 194.515(6) and 194.505(8) that the copy of
a document presented to the notary public was a complete and cor-
rect transcription or reproduction of the document presented. See
ORS 194.515(4). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Suspension
of commission for a period of 30 days.

(44) A notary public did not determine or from satisfactory
knowledge as defined in ORS 194.515(6) and 194.505(8) the iden-
tity of the negotiable instrument, that presentment was required and
made, or that presentment was excused and not made and the reason
why presentment was excused, that the instrument was dishonored
by nonacceptance or nonpayment, or all or any combination of the
above. See ORS 194.515(5). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct:
Suspension of commission for a period of 30 days.

(45) A notary public did not evidence a notarial act by issuing
anotarial certificate as defined in ORS 194.005(5) containing the sig-
nature of the notary public, the title of the notary public, the date the
notary public’s commission expires, the date the notary public per-
formed the notarial act, the name of the governmental jurisdiction in
which the notarial act was performed, the official seal of the notary
public, and, if a United States commissioned officer on active duty,
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then also the notary public’s military rank. See ORS 194.565(1).
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(46) A notary public did not evidence a notarial act by a notar-
ial certificate as defined in ORS 194.005(5) in a form prescribed by
a law of the United States or of the State of Oregon or, if not pre-
scribed, then in a form permitted by ORS 194.575 or in a form
designed by the notary public that describes the acts of the notary
public and such acts meet all of the requisite elements of the notar-
ial act. See ORS 194.565(2). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct:
Official warning.

(47) A notary public engaged in any other act or omission
involving any act prohibited or mandated by ORS 194.005 to
194.200, 194.505 to 194.595 or any rule adopted by the Secretary of
State or any other law governing notarization. See ORS 194.005(8).
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: $500 civil penalty.

(48) A notary public did not use the notary public’s official seal
in performing a notarial act. See OAR 160-100-0110(1). Sanction for
First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(49) A notary public used the notary public’s official seal or
official seal embosser to perform a notarial act but did not place an
imprint of the official seal or official seal embosser on a notarial cer-
tificate. See OAR 160-100-0110(2) and 160-100-0130(2). Sanction
for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(50) A notary public used the notary public’s official seal or
official seal embosser to perform a notarial act but placed an imprint
of the official seal or official seal embosser over any signature in a
document to be notarized or in a notarial certificate or over any writ-
ing in a notarial certificate. See OAR 160-100-0110(3) and 160-100-
0130(3). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(51) A notary public used the notary public’s official seal or
official seal embosser for a purpose other than to perform a notari-
al act. See OAR 160-100-0110(5) and 160-100-0130(5). Sanction for
First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(52) A notary public permitted another person to use the notary
public’s official seal or official seal embosser. See OAR 160-100-
0110(6) or 160-100-0130(6). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct:
Suspension of commission for a period of 30 days and $500 civil
penalty.

(53) A notary public used another notary public’s official seal
or official seal embosser or an object in lieu of the notary public’s
official seal or official seal embosser to perform a notarial act. See
OAR 160-100-0110(7) and 160-100-0130(7). Sanction for First Act
of Misconduct: Suspension of commission for a period of 30 days
and $500 civil penalty.

(54) A notary public, whose Certificate of Authorization was
lost, misplaced, destroyed or otherwise unusable, did not file with the
Secretary of State a written statement, under oath or affirmation with-
in ten days after the date the notary public discovered that the Cer-
tificate of Authorization was lost, misplaced, destroyed or otherwise
unusable. See OAR 160-100-0150(1). Sanction for First Act of Mis-
conduct: Official warning.

(55) A notary public, whose Certificate of Authorization was
lost, misplaced, destroyed or otherwise unusable, did not file with the
Secretary of State a written statement containing the information
required by OAR 160-100-0150(2). See OAR 160-100-0150(2).
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(56) A notary public, who was issued a duplicate Certificate of
Authorization pursuant to OAR 160-100-0150 and 160-100-0160,
did not file with the Secretary of State an imprint of the notary pub-
lic’s seal and duplicate Certificate of Authorization within ten days
after the notary public received the completed duplicate Certificate
of Authorization from a vendor of official seals. See OAR 160-100-
0150(4) and 160-100-0160(3). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct:
Official warning.

(57) A notary public who subsequently reacquired possession
of a lost, misplaced, destroyed or otherwise unusable Certificate of
Authorization did not file with the Secretary of State a written state-
ment of explanation within ten days after the date the notary public
reacquired possession of the unusable Certificate of Authorization.
See OAR 160-100-0150(5). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct:
Official warning.

(58) A notary public, whose official seal was lost, misplaced,
destroyed, broken, damaged or otherwise unworkable, did not file
with the Secretary of State a written statement containing the infor-
mation required by OAR 160-100-0160(2). See OAR 160-100-
0160(2) Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(59) A notary public who subsequently reacquired possession
of a lost or misplaced official seal did not file with the Secretary of
State a written statement of explanation and the lost or misplaced
official seal within ten days after the date the notary public reacquired
possession of the lost or misplaced official seal. See OAR 160-100-
0160(4). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(60) A notary public used a notarial journal that was not in the
form required by OAR 160-100-0200. See OAR 160-100-0200.
Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(61) A notary public did not enter in a notarial journal the infor-
mation about each notarial act performed by the notary public
required by OAR 160-100-0210. See OAR 160-100-0210. Sanction
for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(62) A notary public recorded information about multiple notar-
ial acts performed by the notary public in a manner that did not com-
ply with the requirements of OAR 160-100-0220. See OAR 160-
100-0220. Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(63) A notary public used a record of protests that did not con-
tain the information about each certificate of dishonor issued by the
notary public required by OAR 160-100-0240. See OAR 160-100-
0240. Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(64) A notary public whose commission was terminated
because of expiration, resignation or revocation did not file with the
Secretary of State the notary public’s record of protests and any other
notarial records relating only to protests of commercial paper in
accordance with OAR 160-100-0350 within 30 days after the date
of termination. See OAR 160-100-0350(1). Sanction for First Act of
Misconduct: Official warning.

(65) A notary public whose commission was terminated
because of expiration, resignation or revocation did not file with the
Secretary of State the statement required by OAR 160-100-0350(2)
within 30 days after the date of termination. See OAR 160-100-
0350(2). Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: Official warning.

(66) A notary public who entered into an agreement with an
employer relating to the employer’s retention and disposal of the
notary public’s notarial records following termination of employ-
ment pursuant to ORS 194.152(3) did not retain a written copy of the
agreement or make such available upon request of the Secretary of
State. See OAR 160-100-0360(1). Sanction for First Act of Mis-
conduct: Official warning.

(67) A notary public who was convicted for a felony or lesser
offense incompatible with the duties of a notary public did not file
a statement with the Secretary of State within 30 days of conviction.
See OAR 160-100-0500. Sanction for First Act of Misconduct: $500
civil penalty.
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160-100-0620
Appeal Process

In the event the Secretary of State sanctions a notary public for
official misconduct or proposes to refuse to appoint or proposes to
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