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PROCEDURAL RULES

837-001-0000 
Notice of Proposed Rule

Before adopting, amending or repealing any permanent rule, the
State Fire Marshal will give notice of the intended action:
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(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least twenty-one (21) days before the effective date of the
rule;

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the State Fire
Marshal’s mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335 (7) at
least 28 days before the effective date of the rule;

(3) By mailing a copy of the notice to the legislators specified
in ORS 183.335(14) at least 49 days before the effective date of the
rule; and

(4) By mailing or furnishing a copy of the notice to:
(a) The Associated Press;
(b) League of Oregon Cities;
(c) State Building Code Division;
(d) Fire Standards and Accreditation Board;
(e) Accident Prevention Division, Workmen’s Compensation

Board;
(f) Association of Oregon Counties;
(g) Oregon Fire Chiefs Association;
(h) Oregon Fire Marshals Association;
(i) Associated General Contractors;
(j) Oregon Council of AIA;
(k) International Conference of Building Officials;
(l) Housing Urban Development;
(m) Oregon State Health Division;
(n) Department of Commerce;
(o) Professional Engineers of Oregon;
(p) Oregon Association of Hospitals;
(q) Northwest Natural Gas;
(r) Capitol Press Room;
(s) Oregon State Bar;
(t) Department of Human Resources;
(u) Oregon Labor Press;
(v) Oregon States Association of PHCC;
(w) Oregon Health Care Association;
(x) Oregon State Home Builders Association.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.360 & ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, ORS 183.360 & ORS 476.030
Hist.: FM 72, f. & ef. 1-26-76; OSFM 11-2000, f. 9-22-00, cert. ef. 11-13-00

837-001-0005 
Model Rules of Procedure

Pursuant to the provisions of ORS 183.341, the State Fire Mar-
shal adopts by reference the 2000 Attorney General’s Uniform and
Model Rules of Procedure, OAR 137-001-0005 through 137-001-
0085 and OAR 137-003-0000 through 137-003-0700 and OAR 137-
004-0010 through 137-004-0080 and OAR 137-005-0010 through
137-005-0070, under the Administrative Procedures Act effective
January 1, 2000.

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure
is available from the office of the Attorney General or Fire Marshal.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.341, ORS 183.360 & ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, ORS 476.030 & ORS 183.341
Hist.: FM 14a, f. 2-2-60, ef. 3-10-60; FM 82, f. & ef. 6-7-76; FM 2-1978, f. 4-
27-78, ef. 5-1-78; FM 1-1980, f. & ef. 2-20-80; FM 1-1982, f. 1-22-82, ef. 2-1-
82; FM 3-1983, f. 10-18-83, ef. 11-1-83; FM 4-1986, f. & ef. 3-20-86; FM 6-1988,
f. & cert. ef. 7-28-88; FM 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-3-90; FM 1-1992, f. & cert. ef.
1-7-92; OSFM 2-2000, f. 2-3-00, cert. ef. 3-22-00; OSFM 16-2000, f. 12-8-00,
cert. ef. 1-26-01

Refund of Moneys
837-001-0010 
Purpose and Scope

(1) Pursuant to ORS 293.445, this rule provides for the refund
of fees paid in excess of the amount legally due the State Fire Mar-
shal pursuant to ORS Chapters 476 and 480.

(2) The State Fire Marshal shall not refund fees paid in excess
of the amount legally due, if the amount is $10 or less:

(a) Unless a refund is requested in writing by the applicant or
the applicant’s legal representative; and

(b) Unless the request is received within three years after the
date payment is received by the State Fire Marshal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 293, ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 293.445
Hist.: FM 2-1987, f. & ef. 6-16-87

837-001-0015 
Authorized Representatives in Contested Case Hearings
Contemplated Under ORS 453.382, 453.404, 480.355, 480.385,
and 183.310

(1) A partnership, corporation, association, organized group or
governmental authority other than a state agency may appear in a
contested case by an authorized representative if the Fire Mar shal has
determined that appearance by an authorized repre senta tive will not
hinder the orderly and timely development of the re cord in the con-
tested case. This rule applies to the types of con test ed cases con-
templated under ORS 453.382, 453.404, 480.355, 480.385, and
183.310.

(2) For purposes of this rule, “authorized representative” means
a member of a participating partnership, an authorized offi cer or
employee or a participating corporation, association or or ga nized
group, or an authorized officer or employee of a par ti ci pat ing gov-
ernmental authority other than a state agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.455(2)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.455(2), ORS 453.382, ORS 453.404, ORS 480.355,
ORS 480.385 & ORS 183.310
Hist.: OSFM 2-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-25-98 thru 12-18-98; OSFM 4-1998,
f. 11-24-98, cert. ef. 12-18-98

DIVISION 12
PUBLIC DISPLAY OF FIREWORKS IN OREGON

837-012-0021 
Special Effects

(1) “Special Effects” as used in this rule means the use of arti-
cles containing a pyrotechnic composition which are manu factured,
assembled, designed, or discharged in connection with television,
motion picture productions, stage shows or other entertainment
events.

(2) Special Effects are exempt from the provisions of OAR 837-
012-0020 under the following conditions:

(a) Each such Special Effects use is approved by and will be
under the effective supervision of the local file authority having juris-
diction;

(b) All Special Effects displays conducted indoors shall be in
a room or area protected by an approved automatic sprinkler system,
or providing equivalent safety.

(3) One permit may allow a series of Special Effects displays
when in conjunction with repetitive performances at one location.

(4) Special Effect materials shall be stored in accordance with
National Fire Protection Association Standard No. 1124 “Code
for the Manufacture, Transportation, and Storage of Fire -
works.”

(5) Any Special Effects, devices or materials not in use and des-
ignated as Class B explosives by the U.S. Department of Trans-
portation, shall be stored in a TYPE 2 magazine constructed in accor-
dance with the National Fire Protection Association Standard No.
1124.

(6) Quantities of Special Effect materials at the display site
shall:

(a) Be stored in a safe manner as specified by the local fire
authority having jurisdiction;

(b) Not exceed the maximum limits established by the local fire
authority having jurisdiction, and stipulated on the permit applica-
tion.

(7) Responsibility: Persons in charge of the use and handling
of Special Effects materials shall be responsible for their safe use.

(8) Insurance: Persons responsible for the conduct of Special
Effect displays shall provide evidence of public liability and prop-
erty damage insurance as required by the local authority having juris-
diction.

(9) Qualifications: Persons in charge of the use and handling of
Special Effect materials shall be qualified by experience and/or train-
ing acceptable to the local fire authority having jurisdiction, and shall
follow recognized safety procedures for use within the industry.
(Recommended Safety Precautions for Special Effects Pyrotech-
nics— Available at the Office of State Fire Marshal.)
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(10) A test demonstration of the actual display shall be con-
ducted prior to the public performance when required by the local
fire authority having jurisdiction.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Hist.: FM 4-1988(Temp), cert. & ef. 3-31-88; FM 9-1988, f. & cert. ef. 9-19-88

Agricultural Use of Fireworks in Oregon
837-012-0305 
Purpose and Scope

(1) These rules establish Agricultural Permit, Permit Applica-
tion and other requirements for those Persons permitted under ORS
480.122 and 480.124 to obtain Agricultural Permits to control birds
and predatory animals that are injurious to crops.

(2) An Agricultural Permit allows the Permit Holder to engage
only in those activities including the purchase, transportation, pos-
session, storage and use of Agricultural Fireworks (1.4E) when those
activities are otherwise in conformance with the requirements of
ORS 480.122 and 480.124, these rules, and any other applicable
state, federal, or local requirements.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & ORS 480.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0005; OSFM
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef.
2-25-02

837-012-0310 
Agricultural Permit Applications

(1) Any Person engaged in, or intending to engage in, the use
of Agricultural Fireworks shall apply for and obtain an Agricultur-
al Permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(2) Upon receipt of a properly completed and approved appli-
cation, the Office of State Fire Marshal shall issue a nontransferable
permit to the applicant or Persons designated to discharge the Fire-
works. The State Fire Marshal may deny any application for a per-
mit to discharge Agriculture Fireworks upon showing just cause for
such denial. A separate Agricultural Permit shall be applied for an
obtained for each Person who desires to use Agricultural Fireworks.

(3) The Permit Application for an Agricultural Fireworks Per-
mit shall be made on a form provided by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal.

(4) All information provided by the applicant on the Permit
Application shall be true and correct to the Agricultural Permit appli-
cant’s knowledge.

(5) As part of the Permit Application process, the applicant shall
obtain the signature of either the state game management or feder-
al game management agent on the Permit Application.

(6) The required signature shall be obtained prior to submitting
the Permit Application to the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(7) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall not grant approval of
Permit Applications without the applicant first obtaining the signa-
ture required in OAR 837-012-0360(5).

(8) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall either grant or deny
Permit Applications within 10 days following receipt of a properly
completed and submitted Permit Application.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & ORS 480.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0010; OSFM
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef.
2-25-02

837-012-0315 
Definitions

(1) “Agent” shall mean an Individual designated by the Permit
Holder to pick up the Agricultural Fireworks authorized by the Agri-
cultural Permit from an Oregon licensed Wholesaler when the Per-
mit Holder is unable to pick up the Agricultural Fireworks. The
Agent shall have the Agricultural Permit (or a copy) issued by the
State Fire Marshal in their possession at the time the Agricultural
Fireworks are picked up from the Wholesaler.

(2) “Agricultural Fireworks” shall mean Fireworks used for the
purpose of scaring away or repelling birds or animals pursuant to
ORS 480.122 or controlling Predatory Animals pursuant to ORS

480.124. Agricultural Fireworks do not include Retail Fireworks,
Public Display Fireworks, or Exempt Fireworks.

(3) “Agricultural Permit” shall mean the official written docu-
ment issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal pursuant to ORS
480.122 and 480.124 and OAR 837-012-0300 through 837-012-0400
granting permission to a Person to use Agricultural Fireworks.

(4) “Exempt Fireworks” shall mean Novelties and Trick Noise-
makers.

(5) “Fire Protection District” shall mean any district created
under the laws of Oregon or the United States, including rural Fire
Protection Districts and any federal, state or private forest patrol
areas. Reference ORS 480.110(2).

(6) “Fireworks” shall have the meaning provided in ORS
480.110(1). The term includes Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, and Agricultural Fireworks. The term does not include
Exempt Fireworks.

(7) “Illegal Fireworks” shall mean any Fireworks other than
those described in ORS 480.127(4) including but not limited to, any
Firework that flies into the air, or explodes or behaves in an uncon-
trolled and unpredictable manner.

(8) “Individual” shall mean a single human being.
(9) “Individual Member of the General Public” shall mean any

Person who has not been issued a wholesale permit, a general, lim-
ited or special effects public display permit, a retail permit or an
Agricultural Permit by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(10) “Local Fire Authority” shall mean the Local Fire Author-
ity having jurisdiction over the Agricultural Fireworks use and stor-
age sites.

(11) “Novelties and Trick Noisemakers” shall mean those Items
described in ORS 480.110(1)(a) through 480.110(1)(b) and NFPA
1124, Section 1.4, 1998 Edition. It also means Exempt Fireworks.

(12) “Permit Application” shall mean the form(s) and accom-
panying documentation required to be completed and submitted to
the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the issuance of
an Agricultural Permit.

(13) “Permit Holder” shall mean the Person referred to in ORS
480.122 who:

(a) Desires to purchase, maintain, use, and explode Agricultural
Fireworks for the purpose of scaring away or repelling birds or ani-
mals which are or may be injurious or destructive to forest or agri-
cultural products or crops,

(b) Has applied to the State Fire Marshal for an Agricultural
Permit;

(c) The State Fire Marshal has issued an Agricultural Permit
referred to in ORS 480.122;

(d) Is responsible for any activities conducted under the Agri-
cultural Permit.

(14) “Person” shall mean one or more Individuals, legal repre-
sentatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of Persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public cor-
porations.

(15) “Public Display Fireworks” shall mean Fireworks that are
authorized under a general, limited, or special effects public display
permits issued pursuant to ORS 480.130, 480.140 and 480.150.

(16) “Retail Fireworks” shall mean those items described in
ORS 480.127(4), specifically Combination Items, Cone Fountains,
Cylindrical Fountains, Flitter Sparklers, Ground Spinners, Illumi-
nating Torches, and Wheels. The term does include a firework
designed with the means to roll or move while remaining on the
ground, that travels 12’ or less horizontally on smooth surfaces.

(17) “Sell” shall mean to transfer possession of property from
one Person to another Person for consideration.

(18) “Wholesaler” shall mean any Person who Sells or provides
by any other means, or intends to Sell or provide by any other means
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricul-
tural Fireworks.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & ORS 480.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
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Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0015; OSFM
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef.
2-25-02

837-012-0320 
Storage of Agriculture Fireworks

Agricultural Fireworks shall be stored in accordance with the
requirements of these rules, the Oregon Uniform Fire Code and the
Oregon Structural Specialty Code.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & ORS 480.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0020; OSFM
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef.
2-25-02

837-012-0325 
Permits-Denial, Suspension and/or Revocation

(1) The State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or revoke an
Agricultural Permit for violation of ORS 480.110 through 480.165
and OAR chapter 837, division 12. Any such revocation, suspension
or dential shall be in conformance with ORS 183.310 to 183.550.

(2) The period of denial, suspension or revocation shall not
exceed three years.

(3) In determining the appropriate sanction, the Office of State
Fire Marshal shall consider the following criteria:

(a) The severity of the violation(s) and/or its impact on public
safety, particularly whether the circumstances of the violations pre-
sented a significant fire hazard or other public safety danger;

(b) The number of similar or related violations; alleged to have
been committed in the current transaction or occurrence;

(c) Whether the violation(s) was willful or intentional;
(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of State

Fire Marshal against the Agricultural Permit Holder or applicant; and
(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire

Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation(s).
(4) Suspension or revocation of an Agricultural Permit may

include suspension or revocation of the current Permit and the right
to apply for a subsequent permit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & ORS 480.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0025; OSFM
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef.
2-25-02

837-012-0330 
General

(1) Agricultural Permit Holders desiring to engage in other
types of Fireworks activities, including wholesale sales, public dis-
plays or retail sales, must meet all applicable requirements in ORS
480.110 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12.

(2) Agricultural Permit Holders shall notify the Office of State
Fire Marshal, in writing, within 24 hours of the date of change, of:

(a) The Agricultural Permit Holder’s mailing address, telephone
number,

(b) The storage address of the Agricultural Fireworks.
(3) Change of the storage location of the Agricultural Fireworks

is subject to prior written approval by the Local Fire Authority and
the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(4) Agricultural Permit Holders shall comply with all applica-
ble federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations including,
without limitation:

(a) ORS 480.110 through 480.165;
(b) OAR chapter 837, division 12;
(c) Oregon Uniform Fire Code, 1998 Edition; and
(d) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edition.
(5) Agricultural Permit Holders shall purchase Agricultural

Fireworks only from Wholesalers having the necessary and current
Permits required by ORS 480.110 to 480.160 and OAR 837-012-
0500 through 837-012-0570.

(6) Agricultural Permit Holders may request a duplicate copy
of their Agricultural Permit by certifying to the Office of State Fire
Marshal, in writing, that their Agricultural Permit has been lost,

stolen, or destroyed. Written requests shall be signed and dated by
the Agricultural Permit Holder.

(7) The issuance of an Agricultural Permit does not in any way
constitute approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of any Agri-
cultural Fireworks purchased, sold, or provided pursuant to the Agri-
cultural Permit.

(8) An Agricultural Permit allows the Permit Holder to engage
in the purchase, transportation, possession, storage and use of Agri-
cultural Fireworks when those activities are otherwise in confor-
mance with the applicable requirements of ORS 480.110 through
480.165, OAR chapter 837, division 12 and any other federal, state
or local laws, rules or regulations.

(9) An Agricultural Permit does not authorize the:
(a) Purchase, possession or sale of Illegal Fireworks by or to any

Person; or
(b) Sale or provision of Agricultural Fireworks to any Person.
(10) Any Agricultural Permit Holder, other than an Individu-

al, shall list the name, age, address, and phone number of one Indi-
vidual in a management position within their company or organiza-
tion, on the Permit Application as required by the State Fire Marshal.

(11) Individuals firing the Agricultural Fireworks shall be a
minimum of 18 years of age.

(12) Only the Agricultural Permit Holder, and any employees
of the Agricultural Permit Holder may engage in activities authorized
by the Agricultural Permit.

(13) Agricultural Permits, and the rights conveyed by the Agri-
cultural Permit, are not transferable.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122 & ORS 480.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 42, f. 4-15-70, ef. 5-11-70; Renumbered from 837-031-0030; OSFM
10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002, f. & cert. ef.
2-25-02

837-012-0340 
Permit Fees

There are no fees for this application.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.122& ORS 480.124
Hist.:OSFM 10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002,
f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-012-0350 
Issuance of Agricultural Permits

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall assign a unique num-
ber to each Agricultural Permit issued.

(2) Only one Agricultural Permit shall be issued for each agri-
cultural location. A Permit Application may contain multiple use
locations so long as each location is owned, leased, or used by the
Permit Holder.

(3) The Agricultural Permit is valid only for the location of use
listed on the Agricultural Permit.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall mail the original Agri-
cultural Permit to the Permit Holder at the mailing address listed on
the Permit Application.

(5) The Agricultural Permit issued by the Office of State Fire
Marshal is valid from the date of issue through December 31 of the
year following the year in which the Permit is issued.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.122 & ORS 480.124
Hist.: OSFM 10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002,
f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-012-0360
Purchase of Agricultural Fireworks 

(1) Permit Holders shall be 18 years of age or older.
(2) Agricultural Permit Holders shall purchase or otherwise

obtain Agricultural Fireworks only from Wholesalers who possess
a valid and current wholesale permit issued by the Office of State
Fire Marshal. Exception: In the case of state game management or
federal game management agents who provide agency approved
game management assistance to Permit Holders; once a Permit has
been issued – state game management or federal game management
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agents may supply Agricultural Fireworks to the Permit Holder under
the following criteria:

(a) Agricultural Permit Holders shall obtain only the Agricul-
tural Fireworks listed on their Agricultural Fireworks Permit.

(b) The state game management or federal game management
agent who supplies Agricultural Fireworks shall maintain a record
of all Agricultural Fireworks supplied and shall make such records
available to the Office of State Fire Marshal upon request.

(c) Any decision by a state game management or federal game
management agent to supply Agricultural Fireworks shall be in con-
formance with their specific agency policies and procedures for the
distribution of Agricultural Fireworks.

(3) If the Wholesaler who supplies the Agricultural Fireworks
to the Permit Holder is different from the Wholesaler listed on the
Agricultural Permit, the Permit Holder shall notify, in writing, the
Office of State Fire Marshal of the change at least 24 hours prior to
purchasing the Agricultural Fireworks from the Wholesaler.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122
Stats. Implemented: 480.122 & ORS 480.124
Hist.: OSFM 10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002,
f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-012-0370
Prohibited Acts and Limitations

(1) An Agricultural Permit does not allow the Permit Holder to
purchase, possess, or Sell any other types of Fireworks.

(2) Agricultural Fireworks shall not be utilized for any purpose
other than the use as stated on the Permit Application.

(3) Agricultural Fireworks utilized for any other use than the
permitted use shall result in the immediate suspension of the Agri-
cultural Permit and confiscation of the unused Agricultural Fire-
works.

(4) A Permit Holder shall not Sell or provide by any other
means Agricultural Fireworks or any other Fireworks to any other
Person including other Permit Holders.

(5) The Agricultural Permit does not authorize the manufacture,
sale, use, discharge or possession of “Agricultural Fireworks” in any
city or county in which such Agricultural Fireworks are prohibited
by law or ordinance.

(6) No Permit Holder shall maintain or allow the existence of
a fire hazard at any location under their control where Agricultural
Fireworks are stored, transported, or used.

(7) Permit Holders shall not provide Agricultural Fireworks to
anyone other than an authorized employee or owner of the Permit
Holder’s business for the purpose specified on the Permit Applica-
tion.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.122
Stats. Implemented: 480.122 & ORS 480.124
Hist.: OSFM 10-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-12-01 thru 6-9-02; OSFM 3-2002,
f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

Wholesale Sales and Storage of Fireworks in Oregon
837-012-0500 
Purpose and Scope

These rules establish permit and other requirements for Persons
who Sell or provide by any other means, or intend to Sell or provide
by any other means, at wholesale, Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Pub-
lic Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks in or into Oregon,
or from Oregon for delivery into another state. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

837-012-0505 
Effective Dates

OAR 837-12-500 through 837-012-0570 are effective upon date
of filing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

837-012-0510 
Definitions

For purposes of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and OAR 837-
012-0500 through 837-012-0570, the following definitions apply:

(1) “Agricultural Fireworks” shall mean Fireworks used for the
purpose of scaring away or repelling birds or animals pursuant to
ORS 480.122 or controlling predatory animals pursuant to ORS
480.124.

(2) “BATF” shall mean the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and
Firearms.

(3) “Carton, Container, or Case” shall mean any box, parcel,
bundle, or other package used to hold or contain Fireworks, Retail
Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks for
purposes of transportation and/or storage. The term does not include:

(a) The wrapping and/or packaging used to hold or contain a
single or small number of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Dis-
play Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks; or

(b) A vehicle or other mobile container used to transport Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural
Fireworks.

(4) “Domicile” shall mean a Person’s legal home; the particu-
lar place that a Person intends to make the Person’s fixed and per-
manent home and abode.

(5) “Exempt Fireworks” shall mean Novelties and Trick Noise-
makers. 

(6) “Fireworks” shall have the meaning provided in ORS
480.110(1). The term includes Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works and Agricultural Fireworks. The term does not include
Exempt Fireworks.

(7) “Individual” shall mean a single human being.
(8) “Individual Member of the General Public” shall mean:
(a) For Persons in Oregon, any Person who has not been issued

a Wholesale Permit, a general, limited or special effects public dis-
play permit, a retail permit, or an agricultural permit by the Office
of State Fire Marshal.

(b) For Persons outside of Oregon, any Person who has not been
issued a license and/or permit when such a license and/or permit is
required, authorizing the Person to Sell, purchase, obtain, transport,
possess, use or discharge Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Dis-
play Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks.

(9) “In-state Wholesaler” shall mean a Wholesaler who owns,
possesses, or occupies a Wholesale Site located in Oregon.

(10) “Local Fire Authority” shall mean the local fire official
having jurisdiction over the Wholesale Site and Wholesale Opera-
tions.

(11) “Manager” shall mean the Individual identified on the Per-
mit Application who is responsible for, and directs the operations at,
the Wholesale Site.

(12) “NFPA” shall mean the National Fire Protection Associ-
ation.

(13) “Novelties and Trick Noisemakers” shall mean those items
described in ORS 480.110(1)(a) and (b) and NFPA 1124, Section
1.4, 1998 Edition. It also means Exempt Fireworks.

(14) “Out-of-State Wholesaler” shall mean a Wholesaler who
owns, occupies, or possesses a Wholesale Site located outside of
Oregon.

(15) “Permit Application” shall mean the application form(s)
and accompanying documentation required to be completed and sub-
mitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the
issuance of a Wholesale Permit.

(16) “Public Display Fireworks” shall mean Fireworks that are
authorized under a general, limited, or special effects public display
permit issued pursuant to ORS 480.130, 480.140 and 480.150.

(17) “Residence” shall mean the particular dwelling place
where a Person lives and has a present intent to remain for a period
of time. 

(18) “Resident” shall mean any Person who occupies a dwelling
in a state and has a present intent to remain in the state for a period
of time. 

(19) “Retail Fireworks” shall mean those items described in
ORS 480.127(4).
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(20) “Retailer” shall mean any Person who, Sells, transfers, or
provides by any other means, or intends to Sell, transfer or provide
by any other means, Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the
General Public. 

(21) “Sales Representative” shall mean an Individual who is an
employee of the Wholesale Permit holder and is authorized to con-
duct sales for the Wholesale Permit holder.

(22) “Sell” shall mean to transfer possession of property from
one Person to another Person for consideration.

(23) “Wholesale Operations” shall mean the sale of Fireworks,
Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works and related activities, including the purchase, possession, stor-
age and transportation of such Fireworks.

(24) “Wholesale Permit” shall mean the official written docu-
ment issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal that authorizes the
purchase, transport, possession, packaging, storing and sale of Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural
Fireworks when otherwise in compliance with all applicable require-
ments of ORS 480.110 through 480.165, OAR chapter 837, division
12, and any other applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and
regulations.

(25) “Wholesale Site” shall mean the location where a Whole-
saler’s sales and storage facilities are operated and maintained. 

(26) “Wholesaler” shall mean any Person who Sells or provides
by any other means, or intends to Sell or provide by any other means,
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricul-
tural Fireworks. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

837-012-0515 
General

(1) Wholesalers desiring to engage in other types of Fireworks
activities, including retail sales, agricultural use, or public displays
must meet all applicable requirements in ORS 480.110 through
480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12, including those per-
taining to obtaining permits for such activities from local, federal,
and state authorities.

(2) A Wholesale Permit holder shall not Sell or provide by any
other means Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks,
or Agricultural Fireworks for shipment or transport in or into the
State of Oregon, to any Person who does not possess and present to
the Wholesaler for inspection at the time of sale, a valid permit issued
by the Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing the holder of the per-
mit to purchase, obtain, possess, use, discharge, transport, store, dis-
tribute, or Sell Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks.

(3) A Wholesale Permit holder shall not Sell or provide by any
other means Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks,
or Agricultural Fireworks for shipment or transport out of the State
of Oregon and for delivery into another state, to any Person who does
not possess and present to the Wholesaler for inspection at the time
of sale, a valid license and/or permit, when such a license and/or per-
mit is required by the laws of such other state to purchase, obtain,
possess, use, discharge, transport, store, distribute, or Sell Fireworks,
Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works.

(4) The burden of determining whether the sale or provision of
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricul-
tural Fireworks is lawful shall be entirely on the Wholesale Permit
holder.

(5) Wholesale Permit holders shall comply with all applicable
federal, state, and local laws, rules and regulations pertaining to Fire-
works, including:

(a) ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and
(b) OAR chapter 837, division 12
(6) Wholesale Permit holders shall notify the Office of State

Fire Marshal, in writing, within two weeks of the date of change of:
(a) Identity of the Manager;

(b) The Wholesale Permit holder’s mailing address or telephone
number;

(c) Ownership of the Wholesale Site;
(d) Ownership of the Wholesale Operation; or
(e) The addition, or subtraction, of a Sales Representative for

the Wholesale Permit holder.
(7) Exempt Fireworks are exempt from the permit requirements

set forth in ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837,
division 12. Exempt Fireworks may be sold and purchased without
either the seller or purchaser having first obtained a permit issued by
the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(8) Wholesale Permit holders, who provide 1.3g Fireworks,
shall provide, at a minimum, one general operator certification train-
ing course annually as required by OAR 837-012-0780.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 3-5-82; FM 3-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 4-16-82;
FM 3-1985, f. & ef. 4-17-85; FM 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-9-86; FM 6-1986(Temp), f.
& ef. 6-10-86; FM 9-1986, f. & ef. 12-10-86; Suspended by FM 2-1989(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-89; Renum bered from 837-
012-0125; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM
15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 8-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-02

837-012-0520 
Wholesale Permit Applications

(1) Any In-State Wholesaler engaged in, or intending to engage
in, the sale, provision, or shipment of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks,
Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks, within Oregon,
or from Oregon for delivery into another state, shall first apply for
and obtain a Wholesale Permit issued by the Office of State Fire
Marshal.

(2) Any Out-of-State Wholesaler engaged in, or intending to
engage in, the sale, provision, or shipment of Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks, in or
into Oregon shall first apply for and obtain a Wholesale Permit issued
by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(3) A separate Wholesale Permit shall be applied for and
obtained for each Wholesale Site that may conduct Wholesale Oper-
ations within, from, or into Oregon.

(4) The application for a Wholesale Permit shall be made on a
form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(5) All information provided by the applicant on the Permit
Application shall be true and correct to the applicant’s knowledge.

(6) In addition to completion of the Wholesale Permit applica-
tion forms, applicants shall submit:

(a) A copy of a current photographic identification card of the
applicant(s). The Office of State Fire Marshal shall accept only photo
identification issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the
applicant’s state of residency. For purposes of this rule, if the appli-
cant is a corporation, the applicant shall submit copies of photo-
graphic identification of all the corporate officers. If the applicant is
a partnership, the applicant shall submit copies of the photographic
identification of all partners.

(b) A description of the types, pursuant to United States Depart-
ment of Transportation classification, and the maximum quantities,
by total gross weight, of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks to be stored at the Wholesale
Site for which a Wholesale Permit has been applied;

(7) As part of the Permit Application process, the applicant shall
obtain the approval of the Local Fire Authority and the local build-
ing official prior to submitting their application to the Office of State
Fire Marshal.

(8) Exception to 837-012-0520(7) If the applicant’s Wholesale
Site address was continuous during the year preceding the year for
which the Wholesale Permit renewal is sought, the applicant is
required only to re-submit to the Office of State Fire Marshal, as part
of the Wholesale Permit renewal application, the approval of the
Local Fire Authority.

(9) As part of the Permit Application, Wholesale Permit appli-
cants who intend to Sell or provide 1.3G Fireworks shall submit to
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the Office of State Fire Marshal a copy of their appropriate license
issued by BATF.

(10) Applicants shall submit the completed Permit Application
to the Local Fire Authority for review and signature approving the
Wholesale Site prior to submission of the Permit Application to the
Office of State Fire Marshal.

(11) Permit Applications shall be signed by the applicant(s).
(a) If the applicant is a partnership, the application shall be

signed by every partner.
(b) If the applicant is a corporation, the application shall be

signed by an officer of the corporation.
(c) If the applicant is an Out-of-State Wholesaler, the applica-

tion shall be signed by the applicant and the Manager.
(12) Permit Applications shall not be submitted to the Office of

State Fire Marshal prior to October 1 of the year preceding the year
for which the Wholesale Permit is sought.

(13) Permit Applications shall be postmarked by a United States
Postmark, or received at the Office of State Fire Marshal, no later
than November 1 of the year preceding the year for which the Whole-
sale Permit is sought. If November 1 falls on a day when a postmark
cannot be obtained, applications shall be postmarked on the pre-
ceding business day when a postmark can be obtained. If November
1 falls on a day when the Office of State Fire Marshal is closed, and
the applicant wishes to hand deliver their application, it shall be
delivered to the Office of State Fire Marshal at the Salem office on
the preceding business day.  

(14) Relocation of the Wholesale Site shall require submission
of a new Permit Application and Wholesale Permit fee.

(15) Only one Wholesale Permit shall be applied for or issued
for each Wholesale Site.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 3-5-82; FM 3-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 4-16-82;
FM 3-1985, f. & ef. 4-17-85, FM 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-9-86; FM 6-1986(Temp), f.
& ef. 6-10-86; FM 9-1986, f. & ef. 12-10-86; Suspended by FM 2-1989(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-89; Renum bered from 837-
012-0120; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM
15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 8-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-02

837-012-0525 
Wholesale Permits

(1) Within 60 days of receipt of a properly completed and time-
ly submitted Permit Application and Wholesale Permit fee, the
Office of State Fire Marshal shall either issue or propose to deny the
Wholesale Permit.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall not approve a Permit
Application or issue a Wholesale Permit without the prior approval
of the Local Fire Authority.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall assign a unique num-
ber to each Wholesale Permit issued.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall mail the original
Wholesale Permit to the applicant at the mailing address listed on the
Permit Application.

(5) Wholesale Permit holders may request a duplicate copy of
their permit by certifying to the Office of State Fire Marshal, in writ-
ing, that their permit has been lost, stolen or destroyed. Written
requests shall be signed and dated by the applicant pursuant to OAR
837-012-0520(12).

(6) The issuance of a Wholesale Permit does not in any way
constitute approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of any Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural
Fireworks purchased, sold or provided by any other means pursuant
to the permit. 

(7) A Wholesale Permit allows the holder of the permit to
engage in the purchase, transportation, possession, storage and sales
of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agri-
cultural Fireworks, when those activities are otherwise in confor-
mance with applicable requirements of ORS 480.110 through
480.165, OAR chapter 837, division 12, and any other applicable
federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations pertaining to Fire-
works.

(8) A Wholesale Permit authorizes the holder of the permit to
Sell or provide by any other means, Fireworks, Retail Fireworks,
Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks, within or into
Oregon, only to holders of:

(a) General, limited, or special effects public display permits;
(b) Retail permits;
(c) Wholesale Permits; or
(d) Agricultural use permits.
(9) A Wholesale Permit does not authorize the sale or provision

by any other means, of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks to Individual Members of the
General Public. 

(10) The Wholesale Permit and permit number issued by the
Office of State Fire Marshal are valid from January 1 to December
31 of the year for which they are issued. All Wholesale Permits and
permit numbers expire on December 31 of the year in which they are
valid. A Wholesale Permit holder may be issued the same permit
number every year if the permit holder applies for and obtains a
Wholesale Permit in consecutive years.

(11) The Wholesale Permit is not transferable to another Per-
son nor can another Person perform any activities authorized by the
Wholesale Permit unless that Person is listed in the Permit Appli-
cation.

(12) Only the Wholesale Permit holder and the employees of
the Wholesale Permit holder may engage in Wholesale Operations
authorized by the Wholesale Permit. 

(13) The Wholesale Permit holder’s name, mailing address and
Wholesale Permit number shall be imprinted and/or affixed by the
Wholesale Permit holder to:

(a) All sales forms, orders, invoices, inventory sheets and any
other similar or related documents issued, used or completed by the
Wholesale Permit holder in conducting its Wholesale Operations;
and 

(b) The outside of all Cartons, Containers, or Cases of Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural
Fireworks being shipped, transported, or otherwise provided by the
Wholesale Permit holder. 

(14) All shipments by a Wholesale Permit holder of Fireworks,
Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works must show on the outside of each Carton, Container or Case,
sales forms, orders, invoices, inventory sheets and any other simi-
lar or related documents issued, used or completed by the Wholesale
Permit holder the full name and permit number of the permit hold-
er to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks are being provided.

(a) If the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks are being shipped, transported or
otherwise provided in or into Oregon, the shipment must show an
Office of State Fire Marshal-issued permit number.

(b) If the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks are being shipped, transported or
otherwise provided from Oregon for delivery into another state, the
shipment must show the appropriate license or permit number, if the
Person to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are being provided is required
under the laws of the other state to possess a license or permit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Hist.: FM 2-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 3-5-82; FM 3-1982(Temp), f. & ef. 4-16-82;
FM 3-1985, f. & ef. 4-17-85, FM 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-9-86; FM 6-1986(Temp), f.
& ef. 6-10-86; FM 9-1986, f. & ef. 12-10-86; Suspended by FM 2-1989(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-89; Amended and renum-
bered from 837-012-0120;OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru
12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-
14-02; OSFM 8-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-4-02

837-012-0530 
Permit Fees

(1) Permit fees shall be paid at, or mailed to, the Office of State
Fire Marshal and shall accompany the Permit Application. 

(2) Payment shall be made by personal check, business check,
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Office of State
Fire Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check,
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the Office of State Fire Marshal shall not take any action on the Per-
mit Application until the check has cleared the bank.

(3) The permit fee shall be $2,500. 
(4) Permit fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

837-012-0535 
Denial, Suspension and/or Revocation of Wholesale Permit

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or
revoke a Wholesale Permit if a Wholesale Permit holder, or an appli-
cant for a Wholesale Permit, fails to comply with ORS 480.110
through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12.

(2) The period of denial, suspension or revocation shall not
exceed three years. In determining the appropriate sanction, the
Office of State Fire Marshal shall consider the following criteria:

(a) The severity of the violation(s) and/or its impact on public
safety, particularly whether the circumstances of the violation(s) pre-
sented a significant fire hazard or other public safety danger;

(b) The number of similar or related violations alleged to have
been committed in the current transaction, event or occurrence;

(c) Whether the violation(s) was willful or intentional;
(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of State

Fire Marshal against the Wholesale Permit holder or applicant; and
(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire

Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation(s).
(3) Suspension or revocation of a Wholesale Permit may

include suspension or revocation of the current permit and the right
to apply for a renewal permit.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or
revoke all Wholesale Permits issued to a Wholesale Permit holder
or applicant for each of the permit holder’s or applicant’s Wholesale
Sites pursuant to OAR 837-012-0520(3).

(5) At any time after the expiration of any period of denial of
a Permit Application, or suspension or revocation of a Wholesale
Permit, imposed by the Office of State Fire Marshal, the applicant
or Wholesale Permit holder subject to the denial, suspension or revo-
cation may submit to the Office of State Fire Marshal a Permit Appli-
cation. The Office of State Fire Marshal shall either grant or deny the
application pursuant to OAR 837-012-0525(1). If granted, the
Wholesale Permit shall be valid for the remainder of the calendar
year. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

837-012-0540 
Wholesale Sites Located in Oregon

(1) The location of a Wholesale Site shall not present a signif-
icant risk to surrounding life and property or to the ability of local
emergency response agencies to respond.

(2) An In-state Wholesaler shall have both storage and sales
facilities located at the same Wholesale Site.

(3) The Wholesale Site shall be designed, constructed, operat-
ed, maintained and separated in conformance with the applicable
requirements of: 

(a) NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation, and
Storage of Fireworks, 1998 Edition (The separation distances shall
be met as required by NFPA 1124, 1998 Edition. All Fireworks
stored at the Wholesale Site shall be considered in calculating the
separation distances);

(b) NFPA 68, Guide for Explosion Venting, 1998 Edition;
(c) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edition;
(d) Oregon Uniform Fire Code, 1998 Edition;
(e) Pursuant to the Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edi-

tion, the occupancy designation for the storage facility shall be H-
1; and 

(f) Pursuant to the Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edi-
tion, the occupancy designation for the sales facility shall be B.

NOTE: Wholesale Sites that are currently approved may not be required
to be altered or updated to comply with these standards.
(5) Temporary structures, including tents, vehicles and/or trail-

ers of less than 10,000 pound gross carrying capacity, and buildings,
structures, vehicles, or trailers not approved by the Local Fire
Authority and the Office of State Fire Marshal shall not be used as
Wholesale Sites.

(6) Security for storage facilities shall be provided by con-
struction and maintenance of a solid or chain-link fence, at least six
feet high with locking gates, that surrounds the facility. Security may
be provided by an alternative means only if first approved by the
Local Fire Authority .

(7) Smoking, other ignition sources, or the use of Fireworks,
Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works shall not be allowed within 100 feet of the storage or sales
facilities.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02; OSFM 8-2002, f. &
cert. ef. 10-4-02

837-012-0545 
Sales and Records — General

(1) All Individuals involved in Wholesale Operations shall be
at least 18 years of age. See OAR 837-012-0555(5) and (6).

(2) The Manager and Sales Representatives of the Wholesale
Operations, while not required to be present at all times the site is
open for business shall be located at the Wholesale Site.

(3) A copy of the Wholesale Permit shall be posted in an area
readily visible to all Individuals entering the sales facility.

(4) Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or
Agricultural Fireworks may be displayed in the sales facility in
accordance with the following requirements:

(a) 1.3G Fireworks shall not be displayed;
(b) 1.4G Fireworks may be displayed. Only one of each type of

Firework shall be displayed unless multiples of one type of Firework
are contained in a single package. In that case, only the smallest
available package shall be displayed and in accordance with Local
Fire Authority and Office of State Fire Marshal requirements.

(5) All sales or provision of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Pub-
lic Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks, including donation,
by Wholesale Permit holders shall be recorded on a form provided
by the Office of State Fire Marshal or, for sales of 1.3G Fireworks,
the BATF form P5400.4. Sales or provision of Fireworks, Retail
Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks may
be recorded on an alternative form if approved, in writing, by the
Office of State Fire Marshal or the BATF.

(6) The records described in subsection (5) of this rule shall
include, at a minimum:

(a) The name, address, and license and/or permit number, if
required, of the Person to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks,
Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are being sold
or otherwise provided, including the state that issued the license
and/or permit, the date of issuance and the expiration date of the
license and/or permit;

(b) The address, including street number, city and state, and
telephone number of the destination for the Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks;

(c) The permit number of the Wholesale Permit holder, includ-
ing the date of issuance and expiration date; and 

(d) A list of the types, trade names and quantity of Fireworks,
Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works sold or otherwise provided.

(7) The record form described under subsection (5) of this rule
shall be completed in full by the Wholesale Permit holder and signed
by the Person purchasing or obtaining the Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks.
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(8) All records described under subsection (5) of this rule,
whether originals or copies, shall be clear, legible and accurate. 

(9) Records described under subsection (5) of this rule shall be
maintained at the Wholesale Site. Records shall be retained for five
years from the date of sale or provision. Upon request, records shall
be immediately provided to the Local Fire Authority, law enforce-
ment authority or representative of the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(10) Wholesale Permit holders shall maintain at the Wholesale
Site at all times a list of all employees involved in the Wholesale
Operations, including their names, addresses, phone numbers
(including home), driver’s license numbers, and birth dates. Upon
request a legible copy of the list shall be provided immediately to the
Office of State Fire Marshal.

(11) Wholesale Permit holders shall maintain at the Wholesale
Site at all times a list of all vehicles used to transport Fireworks,
Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works, including year, make, model, license number and lease agree-
ment, if applicable. A legible copy of the list shall be provided imme-
diately to the Office of State Fire Marshal, upon request.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

837-012-0550 
Sales to Out-of-State Residents by In-State Wholesalers 

(1) In addition to any other requirements set forth in these rules,
the sale or provision by any other means, of Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Public Display Fireworks or Agricultural Fireworks to out-
of-state Residents shall comply with the laws of the state where the
Person to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are to be sold or provided
resides and the laws of the state where the Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are to
be transported or shipped, if the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Pub-
lic Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are to be transported
or shipped to a state other than where the Person resides.

(2) The Person to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Pub-
lic Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are sold or other-
wise provided shall present to the Wholesale Permit holder for
inspection, at the time of sale or provision, the original or a certified
copy of the Person’s valid license and/or permit when such license
and/or permit is required by the laws of the other state.

(3) The Person to whom the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Pub-
lic Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks are sold or otherwise
provided shall present to the Wholesaler for inspection, at the time of
sale or provision, proof of the Person’s identity. Such proof shall be
an official, signed and sealed photo-identification card, such as a driv-
er’s license issued by the Person’s state of Residence or Domicile.

(4) Wholesale Permit holders with Wholesale Sites located 50
miles or less from the borders of the State of Oregon, shall make a
good faith effort to determine if customers are Oregon Residents or
out-of-state Residents.

(5) Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or
Agricultural Fireworks shall not be sold or otherwise provided to out-
of-state Residents whose state of Residence prohibits the sale, pro-
vision, purchase, possession, or use of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks,
Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks. Exception:
This shall not apply to an out-of-state resident that has applied for
and been granted a permit pursuant to ORS 480.110 through 480.165
and OAR chapter 837, division 12.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

837-012-0555 
Prohibited Acts and Limitations

(1) Wholesale Permit holders shall not create, maintain, or
allow the existence of a fire hazard at any location under their con-

trol where Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks,
or Agricultural Fireworks are stored, transported, sold, or used.

(2) No Wholesale Permit holder shall Sell or provide by any
other means, including donation:

(a) Fireworks or Public Display Fireworks to any Individual
under 21 years of age;

(b) Retail Fireworks or Agricultural Fireworks to any Individ-
ual under 18 years of age if the sale or provision of Retail Fireworks
or Agricultural Fireworks is to an Individual in Oregon;

(c) Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks or
Agricultural Fireworks to any Person who does not possess a valid
permit for such Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks issued by the Office of State Fire
Marshal, or if required, a valid license and/or permit issued by the
equivalent agency in the Person’s state of Residence or the state of
destination for the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks;

(d) Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks or
Agricultural Fireworks which have been altered in any manner.

(3) No Person who has been convicted of a violation of ORS
480.110 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12, or who
has had any Fireworks permit or operator certificate suspended,
denied or revoked, shall participate in any manner in Wholesale
Operations, for a period not to exceed three years.

(4) A Wholesale Permit holder shall not employ, or have direct
business ties with, any Person whose Fireworks permit or operator
certificate has been revoked, denied or suspended within the last
three years.

(5) No Individual under 18 years of age shall participate in any
manner in Wholesale Operations involving Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks.

(6) No Individual under 21 years of age shall participate in any
manner in Wholesale Operations involving Public Display Fire-
works.

(7) A Wholesale Permit holder shall not fill out, complete or
submit a general, limited, or special effects public display permit,
retail permit, or agricultural use permit previously filled out or com-
pleted by a different Wholesaler unless the Wholesale Permit hold-
er has applied for and received approval from the Office of State Fire
Marshal to do so.

(8) Wholesale Permit holders shall not sell, provide, ship, trans-
port, keep, offer for sale, expose for sale, possess, use, explode or
have exploded any Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks that have not been approved, cer-
tified or listed for transport by the United States Department of
Transportation and/or the United States Consumer Product Safety
Commission, or if the Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display
Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks do not have a United States
Bureau of Explosives Temporary Transfer Permit.

(9) A Wholesale Permit or permit number that has expired or
has not been issued, shall not authorize the purchase, use, discharge,
transportation, storage, possession, sale or provision by any other
means, including donation, of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public
Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks.

(10) Every Person who knows of, engages in, allows, or is oth-
erwise a party to, Wholesale Operations not in conformance with
ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12,
may be subject to denial, revocation, or suspension of the Person’s
Fireworks permit or operator certificate issued by the Office of State
Fire Marshal, and/or a civil penalty.

(11) No Person shall purchase or otherwise obtain, possess, use,
discharge, transport, offer for sale, sell, transfer or otherwise provide
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks or Agricul-
tural Fireworks without first applying for and obtaining the appro-
priate permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal pursuant to
ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02
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837-012-0560 
Civil and Criminal Enforcement Actions

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal, Local Fire Authority, or
law enforcement authority may confiscate, remove or have removed
any Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks or Agri-
cultural Fireworks offered for sale, sold, provided, transported, pur-
chased or otherwise obtained, stored, possessed, used or discharged
in violation of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837,
division 12.

(2) The Wholesale Permit holder, or any other Person respon-
sible for the violation(s), shall be responsible for payment of the
agency’s costs in confiscating or removing any Fireworks, Retail
Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks or Agricultural Fireworks pur-
suant to subsection (1) of this rule.

(3) Upon finding a violation, the Office of State Fire Marshal
may order that any confiscated Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public
Display Fireworks or Agricultural Fireworks be:

(a) Returned to the manufacturer of the Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural fireworks; or

(b) Disposed of in any manner approved by the Office of State
Fire Marshal, including destruction of the Fireworks, Retail Fire-
works, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

837-012-0565
Transportation

(1) All shipments of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Dis-
play Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks within or into Oregon, or
from Oregon for delivery to another state shall be transported only
by Persons who comply with all applicable United States Department
of Transportation requirements and any other federal, state, or local
laws, rules, or regulations pertaining to the transportation of Fire-
works.

(2) All Persons engaged in the transportation of Fireworks,
Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works within, into or out of Oregon shall verify that the outside of
all Cartons, Containers or Cases, containing such Fireworks and any
accompanying documentation, are marked with all the information
required under OAR 837-012-0525(13) and (14).

(3) Wholesale Permit holders shall not sell or provide Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural
Fireworks to any Person for transport when the permit holder knows
or should know that the Person cannot or will not transport such Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural
Fireworks in accordance with United States Department of Trans-
portation requirements or any other applicable federal, state or local
laws, rules or regulations.

(4) Common carriers shall immediately notify, verbally or in
writing, the Local Fire Authority or the Office of State Fire Marshal
of all shipments of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, or Agricultural Fireworks to be delivered within or into Ore-
gon.

(5) Common carriers of Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public
Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks shipments to be deliv-
ered to Persons in Oregon shall hold for at least 24 hours, or until
released by the Local Fire Authority or the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal, all such shipments. Such shipments shall be subject to exami-
nation by the Local Fire Authority and/or the Office of State Fire
Marshal to determine compliance with all applicable federal, state
and local laws, rules, and regulations pertaining to Fireworks, Retail
Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks. If
necessary, the Consumer Product Safety Commission, United States
Customs, the United States Department of Transportation and/or the
Oregon Department of Transportation may be contacted for assis-
tance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165

Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 6-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 15-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

837-012-0570 
Hazardous Materials Reporting for Wholesalers with Oregon
Storage Sites

All Persons possessing more than ten pounds of 1.3G Fireworks
or 1.4G Fireworks, as classified by the United States Department of
Transportation, must annually complete the Hazardous Substance
Survey pursuant to ORS 453.307 to 453.372 and OAR chapter 837,
division 85. Contact the Office of State Fire Marshal for survey
forms and instructions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-89; FM 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-15-
89; OSFM 15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 6-14-02

Retail Sales and Storage of Pyrotechnics 
(Allowed Fireworks) in Oregon 

837-012-0600 
Purpose and Scope

These rules establish permit and other requirements for Persons
who Sell or otherwise provide, intend to Sell or otherwise provide,
Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the General Public.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f.
& cert. ef. 12-14-01

837-012-0605 
Effective Dates

OAR 837-012-0600 through 837-012-0675 are effective upon
date of filing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00

837-012-0610 
Definitions

For purposes of ORS 480.110 though 480.165 and OAR 837-
012-0600 through 837-012-0675, the following definitions apply:

(1) “Agricultural Fireworks” shall mean Fireworks used for the
purpose of scaring away or repelling birds or animals pursuant to
ORS 480.122 or controlling predatory animals pursuant to ORS
480.124.

(2) “BATF” shall mean the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and
Firearms.

(3) “Building” shall have the meaning provided in the Oregon
Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edition. The term does not include
a Tent, Canopy, Stand or trailer.

(4) “Canopy” shall mean a temporary structure, enclosure or
shelter; constructed of fabric or pliable materials; supported by any
manner, except by air or the contents it protects, and is open with-
out sidewalls or drops on 75 percent or more of the perimeter.

(5) “Carton, Container, or Case” shall mean any box, parcel,
bundle, or other package used to hold or contain Fireworks, Retail
Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fireworks for
purposes of transportation and/or storage. The term does not include:

(a) The wrapping and/or packaging used to hold or contain a
single, or small number of, Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Dis-
play Fireworks or Agricultural Fireworks; or

(b) A vehicle or other mobile container used to transport Fire-
works, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricultural
Fireworks.

(6) “Combination Item” shall mean a device that contains com-
binations of two or more of the effects described in ORS
480.127(4)(b) to (g). See ORS 480.127(4)(a).
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(7) “Cone Fountain” shall mean a cardboard or heavy paper
cone containing not more than 50 grams of pyrotechnic composition.
The effect upon ignition is the same as that of a cylindrical fountain.
See ORS 480.127(4)(b).

(8) “Cylindrical Fountain” shall mean a cylindrical tube not
more than three-fourths inch (19mm) inside diameter and contain-
ing not more than 75 grams of pyrotechnic composition. Upon igni-
tion, a shower of colored sparks and sometimes a whistling effect is
produced. This device may be provided with a spike for insertion into
the ground, a wood or plastic base for placing on the ground or a
wood or cardboard handle if intended to be hand-held. See ORS
480.127(4)(c).

(9) “Employee” shall mean an Individual hired by a Retail Per-
mit holder to Sell Retail Fireworks from a Retail Sales Outlet, or to
otherwise engage in Retail Operations.

(10) “Exempt Fireworks” shall mean Novelties and Trick
Noisemakers. 

(11) “Exit” shall mean an opening or passageway that:
(a) Provides a means of leaving an enclosed space or area and
(b) Is required to be constructed and/or maintained by the Ore-

gon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edition. The term may include
a checkstand Exit.

(12) “Fire Protection District” shall mean any district created
under the laws of Oregon or the United States, including rural fire
protection districts and any federal, state or private forest patrol areas.
See ORS 480.110(2).

(13) “Fireworks” shall have the meaning provided in ORS
480.110(1). The term includes Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, and Agricultural Fireworks. The term does not include
Exempt Fireworks.

(14) “Flitter Sparkler” shall mean a narrow paper tube con-
taining not more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition that
produces colored sparks upon ignition. The paper at one end of the
tube is ignited to make the device function. See ORS 480.127(4)(d).

(15) “Ground Spinner” shall mean a small device similar to a
Wheel in design and effect and containing not more than 60 grams
of pyrotechnic composition. When placed on the ground and ignit-
ed, a shower of colored sparks is produced by the rapidly spinning
device. See ORS 480.127(4)(e). The term does not include “Crazy
Jacks”, “Jumping Jacks” and similar spinning devices that do not
have a means to prevent uncontrolled and unpredictable behavior
during discharge, and due to uncontrolled and unpredictable
behavior, present a severe hazard of fire and injury. The sale of such
devices is therefore prohibited.

(16) “Illegal Fireworks” shall mean any Fireworks other than
those described in ORS 480.127(4) including but not limited to, any
Firework that flies into the air, or explodes or behaves in an uncon-
trolled and unpredictable manner.

(17) “Illuminating Torch” shall mean a cylindrical tube con-
taining not more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition. This
device may be provided with a spike for insertion into the ground,
a wood or plastic base for placing on the ground or a wood or card-
board handle if intended to be hand-held. See ORS 480.127(4)(f).

(18) “Individual” shall mean a single human being. 
(19) “Individual Member of the General Public” shall mean any

Person who has not been issued a wholesale permit, a general, lim-
ited or special effects public display permit, a Retail Permit or an
agricultural permit by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(20) “Individual Responsible for Sales” shall mean the Indi-
vidual identified on the Permit Application who is responsible for the
operation of the Retail Sales Outlet listed on the Permit Application.

(21) “Indoor Sales” shall mean sales of Retail Fireworks from
inside a Building or Tent.

(22) “Local Fire Authority” shall mean the local fire official
having jurisdiction over the Retail Site and/or the Retail Fireworks
storage location.

(23) “NFPA” shall mean the National Fire Protection Associ-
ation.

(24) “Novelties and Trick Noisemakers” shall mean those items
described in ORS 480.110(1)(a) through 480.110(1) and (b) and
NFPA 1124, Section 1.4, 1998 Edition. It also means Exempt Fire-
works.

(25) “Outdoor Sales” shall mean sales of Retail Fireworks from
a Tent, Canopy, Stand or trailer.

(26) “Permit Application” shall mean the application form(s)
and accompanying documentation required to be completed and sub-
mitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the
issuance of a Retail Permit.

(27) “Public Display Fireworks “ shall mean Fireworks that are
authorized under a general, limited, or special effects public display
permit issued pursuant to ORS 480.130, 480.140 and 480.150.

(28) “Retail Fireworks” shall mean those items described in
ORS 480.127(4), specifically Combination Items, Cone Fountains,
Cylindrical Fountains, Flitter Sparklers, Ground Spinners, Illumi-
nating Torches, and Wheels. The term does include a firework
designed with the means to roll or move while remaining on the
ground, that travels 12’ or less horizontally on smooth surfaces.

(29) “Retail Operations” shall mean the sale of Retail Fireworks
from a Retail Sales Outlet to Individual Members of the General Pub-
lic and related activities, including the purchase, possession, storage
and transportation of Retail Fireworks.

(30) “Retail Permit” shall mean the official written document
issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal pursuant to ORS 480.127
that authorizes the purchase, transport, possession, storage and sale
of Retail Fireworks, at retail, when otherwise in conformance with
all applicable requirements of ORS 480.110 through 480.165, OAR
chapter 837, division 12, and any other applicable federal, state and
local laws, rules and regulations. 

(31) “Retail Sales Outlet” shall mean a permanently or tem-
porarily erected structure or enclosure located at the Retail Site and
from which Retail Fireworks are sold to Individual Members of the
General Public. The term includes Stands, Tents, Canopies, Build-
ings, and trailers.

(32) “Retail Site” shall mean the physical location or address
of the Retail Sales Outlet listed on the Retail Permit where Retail
Fireworks are sold.

(33) “Retailer” shall mean any Person who Sells, transfers, or
provides by any other means, or intends to Sell, transfer or provide
by any other means, Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the
General Public. 

(34) “Sales Display” shall mean the placement at a Retail Sales
Outlet of Retail Fireworks to allow Individual Members of the Gen-
eral Public to view, handle and/or purchase the Retail Fireworks. 

(35) “Sell” shall mean to transfer possession of property from
one Person to another Person for consideration;

(36) “Stand” shall mean a booth temporarily erected and used
for the sale of Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the Gen-
eral Public.

(37) “Tent” shall mean a temporary structure, enclosure or shel-
ter constructed of fabric or pliable material supported by any man-
ner except by air or the contents it protects and is in compliance with
Uniform Fire Code requirements for tents.

(38) “Volunteer” shall mean a member of a non-profit organi-
zation that has applied for and obtained a Retail Permit. 

(39) “Wheel” shall mean a pyrotechnic device attached to a post
or tree by means of a nail or string. Each wheel may contain not more
than six driver units or tubes not exceeding one-half inch (12.5mm)
inside diameter and containing not more than 60 grams of pyrotech-
nic composition. Upon ignition, the wheel revolves and produces a
shower of colored sparks, and sometimes a whistling effect. See ORS
480.127(4)(g).

(40) “Wholesaler” shall mean any Person who Sells or provides
by any other means, or intends to Sell or provide by any other means
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fireworks, or Agricul-
tural Fireworks.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01
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837-012-0615 
General

(1) Retailers desiring to engage in other types of Fireworks
activities, including wholesale sales, public displays or agricultural
use, must meet all applicable requirements in ORS 480.110 through
480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12, including those per-
taining to obtaining permits for such activities from local and state
authorities.

(2) Retail Permit holders shall comply with all applicable fed-
eral, state and local laws, rules and regulations including, without
limitation:

(a) ORS 480.110 through 480.165;
(b) All applicable requirements of OAR chapter 837, division

12;
(c) Oregon Uniform Fire Code, 1998 Edition; and
(d) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edition.
(3) Retail Permit holders shall notify the Office of State Fire

Marshal, verbally or in writing, within 24 hours of the date of change,
of:

(a) The Retail Permit holder’s mailing address or telephone
number; or

(b) The mailing address or 24-hour contact number for the Indi-
vidual Responsible for Sales.

(4) Retail Permit holders shall notify the Office of State Fire
Marshal and the Local Fire Authority, in writing of a change in the
identity of the Individual Responsible for Sales at least 24 hours
before the new Individual becomes the Individual Responsible for
Sales. Such a change is subject to the prior approval of the Local Fire
Authority and the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(5) Exempt Fireworks are exempt from the permit requirements
set forth in ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837,
division 12. Exempt Fireworks may be sold and purchased without
either the seller or purchaser having to first obtain a permit issued
by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01

837-012-0620 
Retail Permit Applications

(1) Any Person engaged in, or intending to engage in, the sale
or provision by any other means of Retail Fireworks to Individual
Members of the General Public shall apply for and obtain a Retail
Permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(2) A separate Retail Permit shall be applied for and obtained
for each Retail Sales Outlet that may conduct sales of Retail Fire-
works in Oregon.

(3) Only one application for a Retail Permit may be made for
each Retail Site except pursuant to OAR 837-012-0630(4).

(4) The application for a Retail Permit shall be made on a form
provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(5) All information provided by the applicant on the Permit
Application shall be true and correct to the applicant’s knowledge. 

(6) In addition to completion of the application form, applicants
shall submit copies of a sketch of the Retail Site in accordance with
subsection (7) of this rule; 

(7) The sketch of the Retail Site, required pursuant to subsec-
tion (6) of this rule, shall include without limitation, the following:

(a) A diagram of the Retail Sales Outlet and its relationship to
adjacent areas located at the Retail Site;

(b) For all Outdoor Sales, the location and distances of all struc-
tures, Buildings, highways, streets, trees, and other vegetation with-
in 50 feet of the Retail Sales Outlet;

(c) For all Indoor Sales, the location of the Sales Display and
the location and distances of all highly combustible materials with-
in a 20-foot radius of the Sales Display;

(i) For Retail Sales Outlets located within structures or Build-
ings of less than 1,000 square feet, all Exits from the Building or
structure;

(ii) For Retail Sales Outlets located in structures or Buildings
of greater than 1,000 square feet, all Exits from the Building or struc-
ture located within 75 feet of the Sales Display; 

(iii) For tents, all exits from the tent.
(iv) A list of the general types of merchandise located within

20 feet of the Sales Display. This requirement does not apply to
Tents.

(d) The location of any open flames, exposed heating elements
or other direct sources of ignition, including, but not limited to, cof-
fee makers, food warmers, cookers and broilers located inside the
Retail Sales Outlet or, for Indoor Sales, within 20 feet of the Sales
Display. 

(8) Any applicant for a Retail Permit, other than an Individu-
al, shall list on the application form the name, address, and phone
number of one Individual holding a management position within the
permit holder’s company or organization. See definition of “Person”
in ORS 174.100(4) and “Individual” in OAR 837-012-0610(18).

(9) As part of the Permit Application process, the applicant shall
apply for and obtain, in writing when available;

(a) All required local and state building code, fire code and busi-
ness licensing inspections, approvals, permits and/or licenses; and

(b) All required state and local land use and zoning permits,
licenses and/or approvals for the Retail Site.

(10) Applicants shall submit their completed Permit Applica-
tion to the Local Fire Authority for review and signature approving
the Retail Site prior to submission of the Permit Application to the
Office of State Fire Marshal.

(11) The required Local Fire Authority signatures are:
(a) For retail sales conducted inside city limits, the Permit

Application must be signed by the city Fire Chief or his authorized
representative;

(b) For retail sales conducted outside city limits, but inside a
rural Fire Protection District, the Permit Application must be signed
by the district Fire Chief or his authorized representative;

(c) For retail sales conducted outside both city limits and a rural
Fire Protection District, the Permit Application must be signed by the
District Deputy State Fire Marshal.

(d) Applicants must also obtain the signature of the Local Fire
Authority with jurisdiction over the Retail Fireworks storage loca-
tion, regardless of whether the storage location is the same as the
Retail Site.

(12) Proof of identification of the Individual Responsible for
Sales shall be provided to the Local Fire Authority at the time the
Permit Application is submitted to the Local Fire Authority for
review and signature. The proof of identification shall be a current
and recognizable photographic identification.

(13) Permit Applications shall not be submitted to the Office of
State Fire Marshal prior to January 1 of the year for which the per-
mit is sought.

(14) Permit Applications shall be postmarked by a United States
Postmark, or received at the Office of State Fire Marshal, no later
than April 15th of the year for which the permit is sought. If April
15th falls on a day when a postmark cannot be obtained, the appli-
cations shall be postmarked on the preceding business day when a
postmark can be obtained. If April 15 falls on a day when the Office
of State Fire Marshal is closed, and the applicant wishes to hand
deliver their application, it shall be delivered to the Office of State
Fire Marshal at the Salem office on the preceding business day prior
to the close of the regular business hours.

(15) Permit Applications postmarked or received after the dead-
line set forth under subsection (14) of this rule shall be returned to
the applicant unprocessed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef.12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, f.
& cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-
00; Administrative correction 6-14-01; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01

Chapter 837     Department of Oregon State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2003 Edition 15 - 306 (11-15-02)



837-012-0625 
Retail Permit Fees

(1) Permit fees shall be paid at, or mailed to, the Office of State
Fire Marshal and shall accompany the Permit Application.

(2) Payment shall be made by personal check, business check,
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Office of State
Fire Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check,
the Office of State Fire Marshal shall not take any action on the Per-
mit Application until the check has cleared the bank.

(3) The permit fee for each Permit Application shall be $50.
(4) Permit fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-
01

837-012-0630 
Issuance of Retail Permits

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall not approve a Permit
Application, or issue a Retail Permit, without the prior approval of
the Local Fire Authority.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall assign a unique num-
ber to each Retail Permit issued.

(3) Only one Retail Permit shall be issued for each Retail Site
with the following exception: More than one Retail Sales Outlet may
be erected and operated at the same Retail Site, whether indoors or
outdoors, when there is sufficient space to allow each Retail Sales
Outlet to conform to the requirements of ORS 480.110 to 480.165
and these rules. For example, Retail Permits may be issued for both
Outdoor Sales and Indoor Sales located at the same Retail Site.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall mail the original
Retail Permit to the applicant at the mailing address listed on the Per-
mit Application

(5) Retail Permit holders may request a duplicate copy of their
permit by certifying to the Office of State Fire Marshal, in writing,
that their permit has been lost, stolen, or destroyed. Written requests
shall be signed and dated by the Retail Permit holder.

(6) The issuance of a Retail Permit does not in any way con-
stitute approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of any Retail
Fireworks purchased, sold or provided pursuant to the Retail Permit.

(7) A Retail Permit allows the holder of the permit to engage
in the purchase, transportation, possession, storage and sales of Retail
Fireworks when those activities are otherwise in conformance with
the applicable requirements of ORS 480.110 through 480.165, OAR
chapter 837, division 12 and any other applicable federal, state or
local laws, rules or regulations.

(8) A Retail Permit holder is authorized only to Sell or other-
wise provide Retail Fireworks to Individual Members of the General
Public.

(9) A Retail Permit does not authorize the:
(a) Purchase, possession or sale of Illegal Fireworks by or to any

Person; or
(b) Sale or provision of Retail Fireworks to any Person other

than an Individual Member of the General Public.
(10) The Retail Permit and permit number issued by the Office

of State Fire Marshal are valid for the sale of Retail Fireworks from
June 23 through July 6 of the year in which the permit was issued.

(11) A Retail Permit is valid only for the Retail Sales Outlet and
Retail Site listed on the permit.

(12) Only the Retail Permit holder, and any Employees or Vol-
unteers of the Retail Permit holder, may engage in Retail Operations
authorized by the Retail Permit.

(13) Retail Permits, and the rights conveyed by the permits, are
not transferable.

(14) Retail Permit holders shall contract directly with the
Wholesaler listed on the Retail Permit for the purchase of Retail Fire-
works.

(15) Retail Permit holders shall not contract, subcontract, lease,
sub-lease or convey by any other means to another Person any rights
granted under the Retail Permit.

(16) The Retail Permit issued by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal does not require property owners or others to allow sales of

Retail Fireworks on their property. The Office of State Fire Marshal
will not intercede on the behalf of Retail Permit holders with prop-
erty owners who refuse to allow sales of Retail Fireworks on their
property, or, in the case of two Permit Applications submitted or two
Retail Permits inadvertently issued for the same Retail Site, when
there is a question of which applicant or Retail Permit holder has per-
mission from the property owner to conduct sales at the Retail Site.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; FM 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-97; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-
98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f.
6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00;
OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01

837-012-0635 
Purchase of Retail Fireworks by Retail Permit Holder

(1) Retail Permit holders shall purchase or otherwise obtain
Retail Fireworks only from Wholesalers who possess a valid and cur-
rent wholesale permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(2) A Retail Permit holder shall purchase or otherwise obtain
Retail Fireworks only from the Wholesaler listed on the Retail Per-
mit.

(3) If the Wholesaler who supplies the Retail Fireworks to the
Retail Permit holder is different from the Wholesaler listed on the
Retail Permit, the Retail Permit holder shall notify, in writing, the
Office of State Fire Marshal and Local Fire Authority of the change
at least 24 hours prior to purchasing the Retail Fireworks from the
Wholesaler.

(4) Prior to acceptance of Retail Fireworks from a Wholesaler,
the Retail Permit holder shall confirm that the outside of all Cartons,
Containers, or Cases of Retail Fireworks, and any accompanying
documentation are imprinted and/or affixed with the wholesale per-
mit number pursuant to OAR 837-012-0520(13).

(5) Prior to acceptance of Retail Fireworks from a Wholesaler,
the Retail Permit holder shall confirm that the outside of all Cartons,
Containers, or Cases of Retail Fireworks and any accompanying doc-
umentation are imprinted and/or affixed with the full name and Retail
Permit number of the Retail Permit holder.

(6) Retail Permit holders shall not accept any Cartons, Con-
tainers, or Cases of Retail Fireworks or accompanying documenta-
tion that does not show the information required pursuant to sub-
sections (4) and (5) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 14-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01

837-012-0640 
Permits — Denial, Suspension and/or Revocation

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or
revoke a Retail Permit if a Retail Permit holder, or an applicant, fails:

(a) to comply with ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or OAR
chapter 837, division 12.

(2) The period of denial, suspension or revocation shall not
exceed three years. In determining the appropriate sanction, the
Office of State Fire Marshal shall consider the following criteria:

(a) The severity of the violation(s) and/or its impact on public
safety, particularly whether the circumstances of the violations pre-
sented a significant fire hazard or other public safety danger;

(b) The number of similar or related violations alleged to have
been committed in the current transaction, event or occurrence;

(c) Whether the violation(s) was willful or intentional;
(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of State

Fire Marshal against the Retail Permit holder or applicant; and
(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire

Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation(s).
(3) Suspension or revocation of a Retail Permit may include

suspension or revocation of the current permit and the right to apply
for a subsequent permit.
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(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend, or
revoke all Retail Permits issued to a Retail Permit holder for each of
the permit holder’s or applicant’s Retail Sales Outlets pursuant to
OAR 837-012-0620(2).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01

837-012-0645 
Sales and Storage of Retail Fireworks

(1) A Retail Sales Outlet shall never be left unattended during
the business hours of the outlet. Any Retail Sales Outlet in violation
of these rules may be subject to closure.

(2) The Retail Permit holder or the Individual Responsible for
Sales shall be present at the Retail Sales Outlet at least 50% of the
outlet’s business hours each day. When not present at the outlet, the
Individual Responsible for Sales shall be readily available, day or
night, by telephone or other reliable means of communication. The
Individual Responsible for sales may be absent from the Retail Sales
Outlet for up to 48 consecutive hours twice during the period of time
the Retail Permit is valid. The two 48 hour time periods shall not be
consecutive. The Individual Responsible for sales, when not at the
Retail Site, shall be available through their 24-hour contact number
listed on their Permit Application.

(3) Any time the Individual Responsible for Sales is not present
at the Retail Sales Outlet during the business hours of the outlet, at
least one Individual, 18 years of age or older, shall be present at the
outlet. Such Individual shall be an Employee or Volunteer of the
Retail Permit holder’s volunteer non-profit organization. Such Indi-
vidual shall be directly responsible for, and in charge of, the Retail
Sales Outlet and shall be present in the Retail Sales Outlet at all
times. 

(4) The Individual Responsible for Sales shall be:
(a) The Retail Permit holder listed on the Retail Permit; or 
(b) An Employee of the Retail Permit holder; or 
(c) If the Retail Permit holder is a volunteer, non-profit orga-

nization, an Individual who is a member of the Retail permit hold-
er’s volunteer non-profit organization.

(5) The Individual Responsible for Sales shall be responsible for
only the Retail Sales Outlet listed on the Retail Permit.

(6) The Retail Site may be changed if:
(a) The new Retail Site is located in the same fire jurisdiction

as the Retail Site listed in the Retail Permit;
(b) The Local Fire Authority approves the new Retail Site and

indicates that approval in writing; and
(c) The Office of State Fire Marshal is notified of the change

at least 24 hours prior to the commencement of retail sales.
(7) Retail Fireworks shall be sold only at a Retail Sales Outlet

for which a Retail Permit has been issued.
(8) Retail Fireworks shall not be sold or otherwise provided

from an establishment or business that serves alcoholic beverages,
single or multi-family residences, an Internet site, or automobiles.

(9) All Retail Sales Outlets shall comply with all applicable fed-
eral, state and local laws, rules and regulations including, without
limitation:

(a) ORS 480.110 through 480.165;
(b) OAR chapter 837, division 12;
(c) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edition; and
(d) Oregon Uniform Fire Code, 1998 Edition.
(10) All Retail Fireworks not sold during the time the Retail

Permit is valid, shall be returned to the supplying Wholesaler no later
than July 31 of the year in which the permit is valid.

(11) At all times during the business hours of the Retail Sales
Outlet, no Exits shall be locked or blocked and all exits shall be pass-
able.

(12) No Fireworks shall be discharged within 50 feet of any
Retail Sales Outlet.

(13) The Retail Permit holder, Individual Responsible for Sales,
and any Employees or Volunteers of the Retail Permit holder shall
ensure that all Retail Fireworks sold or otherwise provided, pos-
sessed, transported, stored or offered for sale comply with ORS
480.110 through 480.165 and these rules.

(14) The type of Retail Sales Outlet (Tent, Stand, Canopy or
trailer) to be utilized shall be described on the Permit Application,
including its outside dimensions. The dimensions of the Retail Sales
Outlet listed on the Permit Application shall not increase, but they
may decrease, after the Permit Application is submitted to the Office
of State Fire Marshal.

(15) Retail Permit holders may store their Retail Fireworks from
June 1 through July 31 of the year in which their Retail Permit is
valid. The Local Fire Authority shall approve the storage and the
storage location of the Retail Fireworks and indicate that approval
by signing the Permit Application.

(16) Retail Fireworks shall be stored:
(a) In compliance with the Oregon Structural Specialty Code,

1998 Edition; or
(b) In an explosives magazine pursuant to NFPA 495, 1996 Edi-

tion.
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01

837-012-0650 
Outside Sales

(1) The location of an outdoor Retail Sales Outlet shall not pre-
sent a significant risk of fire or injury to those Individuals conduct-
ing sales of Retail Fireworks, Individual Members of the General
Public, and any surrounding property.

(2) Every outdoor Retail Sales Outlet shall maintain at least one
Exit opening, or outward swinging Exit door, for each 1,000 square
feet of area covered or each 20 feet of structure length. The Exit
opening shall be at least two feet wide and five feet high or as
required by the Local Fire Authority.

(3) Trailers shall have their wheels blocked or removed, or the
tongue locked. Trailers shall be disconnected from any power source
which can potentially move the trailer any distance. Any fuel tanks
or other ignition sources, including those for propane, shall be
removed and placed a minimum of 20 feet from the trailer. Individ-
ual Members of the General Public shall not have access to the inte-
rior of the trailer.

(4) Tent and Canopy fabrics and any materials used on the floor
of the Tent or Canopy, such as sawdust, shall be treated to be fire
retardant.

(5) Tents having three or more enclosing sides shall comply
with the requirements for both Indoor Sales and Outdoor Sales.

(6) Fire extinguishers shall be provided at each outdoor Retail
Sales Outlet. At a minimum, at least one 2A rated water type extin-
guisher, or an equivalent water type extinguishing system as
approved by the Local Fire Authority shall be placed at the each
Retail Sales Outlet.

(7) All electrical wiring, lighting and other electrical fixtures
and installations shall be in accordance with the Oregon Electrical
Code, 1999 Edition and any other applicable state or local require-
ments.

(8) Outdoor Retail Sales Outlets that operate at night shall erect
and maintain sufficient light fixtures to enable customers and those
Individuals selling Retail Fireworks to see all areas of the outlet.
Standard electrical installations, battery powered lanterns, street or
parking lot lighting or nearby Building interior and exterior lighting
may be used for this purpose.

(9) Outdoor Retail Sales Outlets shall be located:
(a) At least 50 feet from any dispensary of flammable liquids

or gases;

Chapter 837     Department of Oregon State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2003 Edition 15 - 308 (11-15-02)



(b) At least 15 feet, or as otherwise specified by the Local Fire
Authority, from any street or public right-of-way;

(c) At least 10 feet from any combustible structures;
(d) At least 10 feet from any entrances to, or Exits and open-

ings from, any surrounding Buildings or structures; and
(e) At least 20 feet from exposed heating elements or any other

such sources of ignition including fuel-powered electrical generators.
(10) A Stand including any vertical extensions, shall not be

more than one story in height unless it has sufficient size, weight or
tie-downs to prevent toppling in the wind.

(11) “No Smoking” signs shall be posted on the outside of all
enclosing sides of an outdoor Retail Sales Outlet. The signs shall be
visible to all Individuals located at the Retail Sales Outlet. Sign let-
tering shall be red and at least 2-1/2 inches high on a white back-
ground.

(12) Smoking, open flames, and other such ignition sources or
the use of Fireworks are prohibited within 50 feet of the Retail Sales
Outlet.

(13) All fuel used to power electrical generators shall be stored
in containers listed and approved by Underwriter’s Laboratories.

(14) Heaters having exposed electrical elements or open flames
shall not be used at any Outdoor Retail Sales Outlet.

(15) Outdoor Retail Sales Outlets, and parking for customers of
the Retail Sales Outlet, shall not impede or endanger the normal flow
of traffic on public streets or highways, or parking lots.

(16) The Retail Permit holder, Individual Responsible for Sales
and/or any Employees or Volunteers of the Retail Permit holder shall
be responsible for maintaining the grounds within 20 feet of the
Retail Sales Outlet in a clean and orderly manner.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01

837-012-0655 
Indoor Sales

(1) The location of an indoor Retail Sales Outlet shall not pre-
sent a significant risk of fire or injury to those Individuals conduct-
ing sales of Retail Fireworks, Individual Members of the General
Public, and any surrounding property.

(2) A specific area inside the Building shall be designated and
maintained as the Sales Display area.

(3) The location of the Sales Display area shall not hinder or
block any Exit, including, if applicable, a required checkstand Exit.

(4) The Individual Responsible for Sales shall regularly mon-
itor and oversee Retail Operations at the Retail Sales Outlet to ensure
the Sales Display and/or storage area(s) are orderly and maintained
in accordance with these rules.

(5) Retail Fireworks, in excess of those needed for the Sales
Display, may be stored inside the Retail Sales Outlet only if they are
separated from all Sales Display areas, Exits, flammable and high-
ly combustible materials and public access areas to the Building, in
accordance with Local Fire Authority requirements and these rules.
This subsection does not apply to Tents or canopies.

(6) Fire extinguishers shall be placed throughout the indoor
Retail Sales Outlet in the quantities and locations required by NFPA
10, 1998 Edition and any applicable local ordinances and rules. At
a minimum, at least one 2A rated water type fire extinguisher, or an
equivalent water type fire extinguishing system, as approved by the
Local Fire Authority shall be placed at the outlet.

(7) Smoking at an indoor Retail Sales Outlet by the Retail Per-
mit holder, Individual Responsible for Sales or an Employee or Vol-
unteer of the Retail Permit Holder may be the basis for suspension
and/or revocation of the Retail Permit.

(8) All trash, rubbish, empty boxes and discarded Retail Fire-
works wrapping or packaging shall be removed daily or more often

as needed, to maintain the Sales Display and storage areas in a neat
and clean manner.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01

837-012-0660 
Records and Postings

(1) The Retail Permit shall be posted at the Retail Sales Outlet
and shall be readily visible to all individuals approaching or enter-
ing the outlet.

(2) A copy of the Retail Permit may be posted instead of the
original if the original is maintained at the Outlet and is immediate-
ly available for inspection by the Local Fire Authority and/or the
Office of State Fire Marshal, upon request.

(3) A record of each shipment of Retail Fireworks received by
the Retail Permit Holder shall be maintained. The record shall
include the Wholesaler’s name, address and wholesale permit num-
ber, the Retail Permit holder’s name and permit number, and a com-
plete list of the names and quantities of each type of Retail Firework
received.

(4) All records described under subsection (3) of this rule shall
be maintained by either the Retail Permit holder or the Wholesaler
who supplied the Retail Fireworks. The records shall be maintained
for three years from the date of the Retail Permit holder’s receipt of
the shipment.

(5) Upon request, the records described in subsection (3) of this
rule, shall be readily available for review and inspection by the Local
Fire Authority and/or representatives of the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal. All records shall be clear, legible, and accurate.

(6) Retail Permit holders shall maintain at all times a list of
Employees or Volunteers, including their names, addresses, ages,
and phone numbers. Upon request, a legible copy of the list shall be
provided immediately to the Office of State Fire Marshal and/or the
Local Fire Authority.

(7) All Persons possessing, for 30 days or more, more than ten
pounds of Retail Fireworks shall annually complete and submit the
Hazardous Substance Survey pursuant to ORS 453.307 to 435.372
and OAR chapter 837, division 85. Contact the Office of State Fire
Marshal for survey forms and instructions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f.
& cert. ef. 12-14-01

837-012-0665 
Advertisements

(1) No person shall publish or cause to be published:
(a) Any advertisement, for distribution to Individual Members

of the General Public, concerning the sale of Fireworks which have
been declared unlawful by ORS 480.110 to 480.165, or these rules,
for Individual Members of the General Public to purchase, use, store,
transport, Sell, discharge, or possess;

(b) Any advertisement for the sale of items described in ORS
480.127 in any county, municipality or Fire Protection District that
by law or ordinance has declared the sale, use, or possession of such
items to be prohibited.

(2) Section (1) of this rule does not apply to advertisements
placed in media when the primary distribution of that media is into
areas which allow the Fireworks even though some secondary dis-
tributions of that media may occur into areas which prohibit these
Fireworks.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00

837-012-0670 
Prohibited Acts and Limitations

(1) Retail Permit holders shall not create, maintain or allow the
existence of a fire hazard at any location under their control where
Retail Fireworks are stored, transported, sold, or used.

(2) No Retail Permit holder shall Sell or provide by any other
means including donation:

(a) Retail Fireworks to any Individual Member of the General
Public under 16 years of age; 

(b) Illegal Fireworks to any Individual Member of the Gener-
al Public;

(c) Any Retail Fireworks that have been altered;
(d) Any Retail Fireworks not supplied and/or distributed to the

Retail Permit holder by a Wholesaler who possesses a valid and cur-
rent wholesale permit issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal pur-
suant to OAR 837-012-0635(1) through (3).

(3) No Person who has been convicted of a violation of ORS
480.110 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12, or who
has had any Fireworks permit or operator certificate suspended,
denied or revoked, shall participate in any manner in the storage, dis-
tribution, transportation or sale of Retail Fireworks for a period not
to exceed three years.

(4) Retail Permit holders shall not Sell, provide, keep, or offer
for sale, expose for sale, possess, use, explode or have exploded any
Retail Firework that has not been approved, certified or listed for
transport by the United States Department of Transportation and/or
the United State Consumer Product Safety Commission, or does not
have a United States Bureau of Explosives Temporary Transfer Per-
mit.

(5) No Retail Sales Outlet shall be erected prior to the issuance
of a Retail Permit for that Retail Sales Outlet location.

(6) No Person shall Sell, transfer or otherwise provide Retail
Fireworks to Individual Members of the General Public without first
obtaining a Retail Permit.

(7) A Retail Permit holder shall not employ, or have direct busi-
ness ties with, any Person whose Fireworks permit or operator cer-
tificate has been revoked, denied or suspended within the last three
years.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 7-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert. ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-
1-00; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. ef. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01

837-012-0675 
Civil and Criminal Enforcement Actions

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal, Local Fire Authority or
law enforcement officials may confiscate, remove or have removed
any Retail Fireworks offered for sale, sold, provided, transported,
purchased or otherwise obtained, stored, used, discharged or pos-
sessed in violation of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or these rules.

(2) The Retail Permit holder, or Person responsible for the vio-
lation(s), shall be responsible for payment of the agency’s costs in
confiscating or removing any Retail Fireworks pursuant to subsec-
tion (1) of this rule.

(3) Upon finding a violation, the Office of State Fire Marshal
may order that any confiscated Retail Fireworks be: 

(a) Returned to the Wholesaler who supplied the Retail Fire-
works; or 

(b) Disposed of in any manner approved by the Office of State
Fire Marshal, including destruction of the Retail Fireworks.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480

Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110, ORS 480.120, ORS 480.127, ORS 480.130,
ORS 480.150, ORS 480.152, ORS 480.154, ORS 480.156, ORS 480.158, ORS
480.160 & ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-12-90; FM 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-10-
90; OSFM 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-14-98 thru 6-12-99; OSFM 2-1999,
f. & cert. ef. 6-21-99; OSFM 14-2000, f. & cert. 12-4-00; OSFM 11-2001, f. &
cert. ef. 12-14-01

Public Display of Fireworks in Oregon
837-012-0700 
Purpose and Scope

(1) The purpose of OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970
is to adopt rules to implement the standards, policies and procedures
for public Fireworks Displays.

(2) These rules establish application, Permit and other require-
ments for public Fireworks Displays, certification requirements for
public Fireworks Display Operators and requirements for public
Fireworks Display Assistants.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0710 
Effective Dates

OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970 are effective upon
date of filing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0720 
Definitions

For the purpose of these rules, the following definitions apply
to OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970:

(1) “Aerial Fireworks” means Fireworks that function in the air.
(2) “Aerial Shell” means a cylindrical or spherical cartridge

containing pyrotechnic compositions, a long fuse or Electric Match
wires, and a black powder Lift Charge.

(3) “Agricultural Fireworks” Shall mean Fireworks used for the
purpose of scaring away or repelling birds or animals pursuant to
ORS 480.122 or controlling predatory animals pursuant to ORS
480.124.

(4) “Approved Applicant” means any Individual that meets the
requirements of OAR chapter 837, division 12.

(5) “Assistant” means an Individual as set forth by OAR 837-
012-0780 who works under the direction of an Operator to put on a
Fireworks Display.

(6) “Barge” means a floating vessel or a floating platform.
(7) “Barrage” means a rapid fire sequence of Aerial Fireworks.

Mortars are loaded prior to the Display and the Aerial Shells are
chain fused to fire in rapid sequence.

(8) “Black Match” means fuse made from string impregnated
with black powder and used for igniting Fireworks devices.

(9) “Break” means an Individual burst from an Aerial Shell,
generally either producing a visual effect (stars) or noise (Salute).
Aerial Shells can be either single-Break (having only one burst) or
multi-Break (having two or more bursts).

(10) “Chain Fusing” means a series of two or more Aerial Shells
used to fire in sequence from a single ignition. Finales and Barrages
typically are Chain Fused.

(11) “Comet” means a firework consisting of a large pellet of
pyrotechnic composition that is ignited and propelled from a Mor-
tar tube by a black powder charge.

(12) “Designated Agent” means the Individual designated by
the Permit Holder to pick up the Fireworks authorized by the Per-
mit from an Oregon licensed Wholesaler when the Permit Holder is
unable to pick up the Fireworks. The Designated Agent Shall have
the Permit authorized by the State Fire Marshal in their possession
at the time the Fireworks are picked up from the Wholesaler.

(13) “Discharge Site” means the area immediately surrounding
the area where Fireworks are ignited for an outdoor Display.
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(14) “Display” means an outdoor General or Limited Fireworks
Display or an indoor or outdoor Fireworks Display using Special
Effects Fireworks.

(15) “Display Fireworks” Shall mean Fireworks that are autho-
rized under a General, Limited, or Special Effects Display Permit
issued pursuant to ORS 480.130, 480.140 and 480.150.

(16) “Display Permit Application” Shall mean the form(s) and
accompanying documentation required to be completed and sub-
mitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the
issuance of a Limited, General, or Special Effects Display Permit.

(17) “Display Site” Shall mean the immediate area where a
Fireworks Display is conducted and Shall include the Discharge Site,
the Fallout Area, and the required separation distance from Fireworks
Discharge Site to spectator viewing areas. The Display Site does not
include spectator viewing areas or vehicle parking areas.

(18) “Electric Match” means a device consisting of wires ter-
minating at a relatively high resistance element surrounded with a
small quantity of heat-sensitive Fireworks composition. When a suf-
ficient electric current is passed through the wire circuit, the heat that
is generated ignites the Fireworks composition, producing a small
burst of flame.

(19) “Electrical Firing Unit” means the source of electrical cur-
rent used to ignite Electric Matches. Generally, the firing unit will
have switches to control the firing order and Shall have test circuits
and warning indicator, etc. 

(20) “Electrical Ignition” means a technique used to discharge
Fireworks in which an Electric Match and source of electric current
are used to ignite fuses or Lift Charges.

(21) “Exempt Fireworks” Shall mean Novelties and Trick
Noisemakers.

(22) “Fall-Out Area” means the area over which Aerial Shells
are fired. The shells burst over this area, and unsafe debris and mal-
functioning Aerial Shells fall into this area. The Fall-Out Area is the
location where a typical Aerial Shell dud will fall to the ground con-
sidering wind and the angle of Mortar placement. At a minimum, the
Fall Out Area Shall be the required separation distance based on table
of distances listed OAR 837-012-0850.

(23) “Finale” means a rapid fire sequence (Barrage) of Aerial
Fireworks, typically fired at the end of a Display. The Mortars are
loaded prior to the Display, and the Aerial Shells are Chain Fused
to fire in rapid sequence.

(24) “Fireworks” Shall have the meaning provided in ORS
480.110(1). The term includes Retail Fireworks, Public Display Fire-
works, Special Effects Fireworks, and Agricultural Fireworks. The
term does not include Exempt Fireworks.

(25) “Flash Powder” means explosive composition intended for
use in firecrackers and Salutes. Flash Powder produces an audible
report and a flash of light when ignited. Typical Flash Powder com-
position contains potassium chlorate or potassium percholorate, sul-
fur or antimony sulfide, and powdered aluminum.

(26) “Fusee” means a highway distress flare, sometimes used
to ignite Fireworks at outdoor Displays.

(27) “General Display Operator” means an Individual who has
been issued a General Display Operator Certificate who meets the
requirements of OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970 and is
qualified to be an Operator on a General or Limited Display.

(28) “General Display Permit” means a Permit to hold an out-
door Display using 1.3g Fireworks. General Displays may also
include 1.4g Fireworks or Special Effects Fireworks.

(29) “General Fireworks Display” means a Display held out-
doors, utilizing 1.3g Fireworks and may include 1.4g and Shall be
conducted by a General Display Operator.

(30) “General Operator Certificate” means a document issued
by the Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing the holder of the cer-
tificate to be an Operator at a General Fireworks Display.

(31) “Ground Display Piece” means a Firework that functions
on the ground (as opposed to an Aerial Shell that functions in the air).
Typical ground Fireworks Display pieces include fountains, roman
candles, wheels, and “set pieces”.

(32) “Individual” Shall mean a single human being.
(33) “Individual Member of the General Public” means any Per-

son who has not been issued a Wholesale Permit, a Display Permit,

a Retail Permit or an Agricultural Permit by the Office of State Fire
Marshal.

(34) “Lance” means a thin cardboard tube packed with a color
producing pyrotechnic composition and used to construct Ground
Display Pieces.

(35) “Law Enforcement Authority” means any law enforcement
official having jurisdiction over the public Fireworks Display Site.

(36) “Lift Charge” means composition in an Aerial Shell that
propels the Aerial Shell into the air when ignited.

(37) “Limited Display” means a Display held outdoors limited
to 1.4G Fireworks. Fireworks authorized by the Limited Permit are
subject to limitation by the Local Fire Authority and/or the Office
of State Fire Marshal.

(38) Limited Display Operator” means an Individual who has
been issued a Limited Display Operator Certificate who meets the
requirements of OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970 and is
qualified to be an Operator on a Limited Display.

(39) “Limited Display Permit” means a Permit to hold a Dis-
play using 1.4 Fireworks.

(40) “Limited Operator Certificate” means a document issued
by the Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing the holder of the cer-
tificate to be an Operator at a Limited Fireworks Display.

(41) “Local Fire Authority” Shall mean the local fire official
having jurisdiction over the Display Site and/or the site where Fire-
works may be stored prior to the date and time of the Display.

(42) “Manual Firing” means using a handheld ignition source
such as a Fusee or Portfire to ignite Fireworks.

(43) “Mine” means a device designed to project stars and other
effects, such as whistles and firecrackers into the air from a Mortar
charged by black powder that ignites the contents of the Mine.

(44) “Monitor” means an Individual designated by the Sponsors
of the Display to keep the audience in the intended viewing area and
out of the Display Site, Discharge Site and Fallout Area.

(45) “Mortar” Shall mean a tube from which Aerial Shells are
fired into the air.

(46) “Mortar Rack” means a frame containing Mortars and are
most often used for Barrages and Finales and in electrically ignited
General Fireworks Displays.

(47) “Mortar Trough” means an aboveground structure filled
with sand or similar materials in which Mortars are positioned for
use in General Fireworks Displays.

(48) “Operator” means the Individual qualified as set forth in
OAR 837-012-0780 to conduct the Display.

(49) “Operator Certificate Application” Shall mean the form(s)
and accompanying documentation required to be completed and sub-
mitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the
issuance of a Limited Operator Certificate or a General Operator Cer-
tificate.

(50) “Permit” means the official written document issued by the
Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing a Display allowing the Per-
mit Holder to purchase Fireworks for the Display as detailed on the
Permit when otherwise in conformance with OAR chapter 837 divi-
sion 12.

(51) “Permit Holder” means the Person as listed on the Display
Permit as the Person to whom the Permit is issued.

(52) “Person” means one or more Individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group or Persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public cor-
porations.

(53) “Portfire” means a tube containing slow burning pyrotech-
nic composition sometimes used to ignite Fireworks at a Limited or
General Fireworks Display.

(54) “Quick Match” means a Black Match encased in a loose
fitting sheath and is used in fuses for Aerial Shells and for simulta-
neous ignition of Fireworks such as Lances in a Ground Display
Piece.

(55) “Ready Box” means a container used for the storage of
Fireworks at a Fireworks Discharge Site.

(56) “Retail Fireworks” Shall mean those items described in
ORS 480.127(4), specifically Combination Items, Cone Fountains,
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Cylindrical Fountains, Flitter Sparklers, Ground Spinners, Illumi-
nating Torches, and Wheels. The term does include a Firework
designed with the means to roll or move while remaining on the
ground, that travels 12’ or less horizontally on smooth surfaces.

(57) “Safety Cap” means a paper tube, closed at one end, that
is place over the end of a Fireworks fuse to protect the fuse from
damage or accidental ignition.

(58) “Salute” means a special Firework that is designed to pro-
duce a loud report.

(59) “Sell” Shall mean to transfer possession of property from
one Person to another Person for consideration.

(60) “Shall” means that the rule establishes a mandatory
requirement.

(61) “Special Effects Display” Shall mean a Display held either
indoors or outdoors limited to Special Effects Fireworks authorized
by the Special Effects Permit.

(62) “Special Effects Fireworks” Shall mean any effect creat-
ed by utilizing flammable, combustible or explosive composition or
substance, or any combination of such compositions or substances,
or any articles including Fireworks, explosives, or smoke which are
prepared for the purpose of providing a visible or audible effect by
combustion, explosion, deflagration or detonation, and/or fire and are
primarily designed or discharged in connection with performances,
events, gatherings, television, radio, theater, motion picture pro-
ductions, or similar venues which may or may not be presented
before live audiences.

(63) “Special Effects Permit” Shall mean a Permit to hold a Dis-
play using Special Effects Fireworks.

(64) “Sponsor” means the Person that has applied for and been
issued a Display Permit.

(65) “Sticky Match” means the trademarked name for a type of
match that uses a continuous black powder trail inside a wrapper that
is prepared with exposed adhesive along its length. The adhesive is
used to attach Sticky Match to Fireworks devices.

(66) “Supervision” means Displays Shall be under the Super-
vision of the Law Enforcement Authority, Local Fire Authority,
and/or the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(67) “Wholesaler” Shall mean any Person who Sells or provides
by any other means, or intends to Sell or provide by any other means,
Fireworks, Retail Fireworks, Display Fireworks, or Agricultural Fire-
works.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93;
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 4-2002(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0730 
General

(1) The location of the Display Site, the Operator or Assistant
for a Display, the date or time of the Display, or the quantity of Fire-
works to be discharged at the Display, may be changed if:

(a) For the location of the Display Site only, the proposed new
Display Site is located in the same fire jurisdiction as the Display Site
listed on the Display Permit;

(b) For the Operators only, the Individual to replace the Oper-
ator listed on the Display Permit possesses a current and valid Oper-
ator Certificate.

(c) The Local Fire Authority having jurisdiction over the Dis-
play Site and the Office of State Fire Marshal approve the change
prior to the beginning of the Display as listed on the Display Permit;
and

(d) The change is documented in the after-show report pursuant
to OAR 837-012-0970.

(2) All Displays, all participants in a Display, including but not
limited to, the Monitors, Sponsor(s), Wholesaler(s), Operator and
Assistant(s) Shall comply with the following:

(a) ORS 480.110 through 480.165.
(b) All applicable requirements of OAR chapter 837, division

12;
(c) Any other applicable federal, state or local, law, rule or reg-

ulation pertaining to Fireworks.
(3) Display Permit Holders or Operator Certificate Holders

desiring to engage in other types of Fireworks activities, including

wholesale or retail sales or agricultural use, must meet all applica-
ble requirements in ORS 480.110 to 480.165 and OAR chapter 837,
division 12, including those requiring Permits to be obtained from
local, state, and/or federal authorities.

(4) Public Display Permit Holders Shall purchase Fireworks
only from Wholesalers having the necessary and current Permits
required by ORS 480.110 to 480.165 and OAR 837-012-0500
through 837-012-0570.

(5) Issuance of a public Display Permit does not constitute an
endorsement of the Fireworks purchased or sold.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0740 
Display Permit Applications

(1) Any Person intending to have, put on, or Sponsor a Display
Shall apply for and obtain a Display Permit from the Office of State
Fire Marshal.

(2) A separate Display Permit Shall be applied for and obtained
for each Display that may be conducted in Oregon.

(3) Each Display Permit Shall be for a specific date and time
of day. Permits Shall not be continuous throughout the date of Dis-
play.

(4) The Application for Display Permit Shall be made on a form
provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(5) The Display Permit Application may be completed by the
Sponsor, Wholesaler, Operator or Assistant for the intended Display
as listed on the Application.

(6) All information provided by the applicant on the Display
Permit Application Shall be true and correct to the applicant’s knowl-
edge.

(7) In addition to completion of the Application, applicants
Shall submit:

(a) A diagram of the Display Site in accordance with subsec-
tion (9) of this rule;

(8) As part of the Display Permit Application process, appli-
cants Shall apply for and obtain, in writing when available;

(a) All required state and/or local licenses, Permits and/or
approvals; and

(b) Liability insurance, if required pursuant to ORS 480.150(1).
(9) The diagram of the Display Site, required pursuant to sub-

section (7) of this rule, Shall include without limitation, the follow-
ing:

(a) The location and size of the Discharge Site. All the other dis-
tances required by the subsection below Shall be measured from the
outside perimeter of the Discharge Site;

(b) The location of the Fallout Area;
(c) The location of all buildings, structures, highways, streets

or other means of travel in and within 100 feet of the Discharge Site
and Fallout Area;

(d) The location of the spectator viewing area(s) and their dis-
tance from the Discharge Site and Fallout Area; and

(e) The location of all trees, power lines of any type and any
other overhead obstructions 25 feet or higher in and within 100 feet
of the Discharge Site and Fallout Area.

(10) Applicants Shall submit their completed Display Permit
Application to the Local Fire Authority and Law Enforcement
Authority for review and signature approving, but not limited to, the
proposed Display Site, Discharge Site, spectator viewing areas, park-
ing areas and Fallout Areas, prior to submission of the Display Per-
mit Application to the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(11) The Local Fire Authority and the Law Enforcement
Authority Shall not sign a Display Permit Application if, but not lim-
ited to, the Display Site, Discharge Site, spectator viewing areas,
parking areas or Fallout Areas or the Display Permit Application
does not comply with ORS 480.110 through 480.165, OAR 837 divi-
sion 12 or any other applicable federal, state or local laws, rules or
regulations.

(12) Display Permit Applications Shall be postmarked by a
United States Postmark or received at the Salem Office of State Fire
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Marshal a minimum of 15 days prior to the date of the proposed Dis-
play.

(13) Display Permit Applications postmarked or received after
the deadline set forth under subsection (12) of this rule may be
returned unprocessed.

(14) A Permit is not transferable from the Permit Holder to
another Permit Holder or Person.

(15) Another Person or Permit Holder cannot perform any acts
allowed by the Display Permit unless that Person is listed on the Dis-
play Permit and/or is a Designated Agent for the Permit Holder.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0750 
Display Permit Application Fees

(1) Display Permit Application fees Shall be paid at, or mailed
to, the Office of State Fire Marshal and Shall accompany the Display
Permit Application.

(2) Payment Shall be made by personal check, business check,
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Office of State
Fire Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check,
the Office of State Fire Marshal Shall not take any action on the Dis-
play Permit Application until the check has cleared the bank.

(3) The Display Permit Application fee for a Display Permit is
$50.

(4) Display Permit Application fees are non-refundable and
non-transferable.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0760 
Issuance of Display Permits

(1) Within 15 days of receipt of a properly completed and time-
ly submitted Display Permit Application and Display Permit Appli-
cation fee, the Office of State Fire Marshal Shall either grant or deny
the Application.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall not approve a Per-
mit Application, or issue a Display Permit, without the prior approval
of the Local Fire Authority and Law Enforcement Authority.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall assign a unique num-
ber to each Display Permit issued.

(4) Only one Display Permit Shall be issued for a Display Site
for a particular date and time. Multiple Permits may be issued for the
same Display Site and the same day, but not for the same time.

(5) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall mail the original Dis-
play Permit to the Individual who completed the Display Permit
Application at the mailing address the Individual completing the Dis-
play Permit Application listed on the Display Permit Application.

(6) Display Permit Holders may request a duplicate copy of
their Permit by certifying to the Office of State Fire Marshal, in writ-
ing, that their Permit has been lost, stolen, or destroyed. Written
requests Shall be signed and dated by the Display Permit Holder.

(7) A Display Permit is valid only for the date, time, and Dis-
play Site listed on the Permit.

(8) A Display Permit authorizes the Display Permit Holder to
purchase, transport, possess and store Display Fireworks, for the pur-
poses of holding the approved Display, when those activities are oth-
erwise in conformance with the applicable requirements of ORS
480.110 through 480.165, OAR chapter 837, division 12 and any
other federal, state or local laws, rules or regulations.

(9) A Display Permit authorizes a Display only:
(a) At the Display Site diagrammed on the Display Permit

Application and listed on the Display Permit;
(b) On the date and time listed on the Display Permit; and
(c) Conducted by the Operator and Assistant(s) listed on the

Display Permit.
(10) A Display Permit authorizes the use and discharge of only

the type and quantity of Display Fireworks listed on the Display Per-
mit.

(11) A Display Permit does not authorize the sale, purchase,
possession, storage, discharge or provision by any other means of
any Fireworks except as specifically stated on the Display Permit.

(12) The issuance of a Display Permit does not in any way con-
stitute approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of any Display
Fireworks sold, purchased, possessed, stored provided or discharged
pursuant to the Display Permit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93;
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. &
cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0770 
Operator Certificate Applications

(1) The application for an Operator Certificate Shall be made
on a form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(2) Any Individual who intends to participate as the Operator
at a General Display or Limited Display Shall first apply for and
obtain an Operator Certificate issued by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal.

(3) All information provided by the applicant on the Operator
Certificate Application Shall be true and correct to the applicant’s
knowledge.

(4) In addition to completion of the Application, applicants
Shall submit proof of identification. Proof of identification Shall be
a copy of a current and recognizable photographic identification.

(5) Completed Operator Certificate Applications Shall be post-
marked by a United States Postmark, or received by the Office of
State Fire Marshal at least 90 days prior to the date of the first Dis-
play at which the applicant intends to participate as the Operator.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93;
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. &
cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0780 
Operator and Assistant Qualifications

(1) To be eligible for a General Operator Certificate, an appli-
cant Shall comply with the following: 

(a) Shall be at least 21 years of age;
(b) Shall have participated as an Assistant in three or more Gen-

eral Displays in Oregon within three years of the date of application:
(i) Participation Shall mean completing the following duties: fir-

ing of the Display, installation of Mortars, installation of set pieces,
loading shells, after-Display clean-up and inspection, installation of
electrical firing system, and tending the magazine, which may
include reloading the Mortars.

(ii) At a minimum, an applicant must have installed Mortars,
loaded shells, and participated in after-Display clean-up and
inspection on all three Displays in Oregon.

(iii) At a minimum, an applicant must have manually fired at
least one of the three Displays.

(iv) The Office of State Fire Marshal may review after-show
reports as proof of an applicant’s requisite participation.

(c) Must have passed a written examination, administered by
the Office of State Fire Marshal; and

(i) The examination Shall assess the applicant’s knowledge of
ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and OAR 837-012-0700 through 837-
012-0970.

(ii) To pass the examination, the applicant Shall answer 80% or
more of the examination questions correctly. 

(d) Shall have attended and completed one training course,
approved by the Office of State Fire Marshal and administered by
an instructor certified by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(2) To be eligible for a Limited Operator Certificate, an appli-
cant Shall comply with the following:

(a) Must be at least 18 years of age; and
(b) Must certify that the applicant is knowledgeable of the appli-

cable requirements of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and Oregon
Administrative Rules, chapter 837, division 12.
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(3) Any Individual who desires to participate in a General Dis-
play or Limited Display as an Assistant Shall comply with the fol-
lowing:

(a) Must be at least 18 years of age; and
(b) Must work under the direct Supervision and control of a

General Operator or Limited Operator.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-
02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0790 
Issuance of Operator Certificate

(1) Upon receipt of a properly completed and timely submitted
Operator Certificate Application, the Office of State Fire Marshal
Shall either grant or deny the Application.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall assign a unique num-
ber to each Operator Certificate issued.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall mail the original
Operator Certificate to the applicant at the mailing address listed on
the Operator Certificate Application.

(4) Holders of an Operator Certificate may request a duplicate
copy of the Certificate by certifying to the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal, in writing, that their Operator Certificate has been lost, stolen
or destroyed. Written requests Shall be signed and dated by the hold-
er of the Operator Certificate.

(5) An Operator Certificate allows the holder of the Certificate
to possess, store, use and discharge Display Fireworks for purpos-
es of a Display when those activities are otherwise in conformance
with the applicable requirements of ORS 480.110 through 480.165,
OAR chapter 837, division 12 and any other applicable federal, state
or local laws, rules or regulations.

(6) A General Operator Certificate authorizes the holder of the
Certificate to participate as the Operator at either a General Display
or a Limited Display. 

(7) A Limited Operator Certificate authorizes the holder of the
Certificate to participate as the Operator only at a Limited Display.

(8) Only the holder of the Operator Certificate may engage in
the activities authorized by the Certificate.

(9) An Operator Certificate does not authorize:
(a) The sale or provision of Fireworks; or
(b) The purchase, transportation, possession or storage of Fire-

works.
(10) An Operator Certificate, and the rights conveyed by the

Certificate, is not transferable.
(11) An Operator Certificate is valid for three years from the

date of issue unless revoked or suspended.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-
02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0800 
Renewal of Operator Certificate

(1) An Operator Certificate must be renewed every three years. 
(2) The holder of a General Operator Certificate is not required

to re-take the examination required under OAR 837-012-0780(1)(c)
unless the current certificate expires. General Operators whose cer-
tificate expires are required to retake the qualifying examination.

(3) Applications for renewal of an Operator Certificate Shall be
received by the Office of State Fire Marshal at least 90 days prior to
the expiration date of their current Certificate.

(4) All other requirements for the issuance of a renewal Oper-
ator Certificate Shall be the same as for the issuance of the original
Certificate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; FM 1-1995, f. 8-14-95, cert. ef. 8-15-95;
FM 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 1-18-96; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02
thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0810 
Training Course Instructor Applications

Individuals who intend to provide the training course required
under OAR 837-012-0780 Shall apply to the Office of State Fire
Marshal on application forms provided by the Office of State Fire
Marshal. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-
02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0820 
Pyrotechnician Training Course Requirements

(1) The training course required by OAR 837-012-0780(1)(d)
Shall be developed by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(2) All Individuals providing Operator Certification training
required under OAR 837-012-0780 Shall follow the training course
established by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(3) Any training course not developed and established by the
Office of State Fire Marshal Shall not comply with OAR 837-012-
0780(1)(d).

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may update the training
course annually to assure it is consistent and current with federal and
state laws, rules and regulations pertaining to Fireworks Displays.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 2-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-10-
93; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-
02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0830 
Denial, Suspension and/or Revocation of Display Permit or
General or Limited Operator Certificate

(1) The State Fire Marshal may deny, revoke or suspend a Dis-
play Permit or General or Limited Operator Certificate when a Per-
son listed on the Display Permit or Operator Certificate fails to com-
ply with ORS 480.110 through 480.165, OAR chapter 837, division
12 or any other applicable federal, state or local law, rule or regula-
tion.

(2) Any such denial, revocation, or suspension Shall be in con-
formance with ORS 183.310 to 183.550.

(a) A Person named on the Permit Application fails to comply
with applicable federal, state, or local laws, rules, ordinances or reg-
ulations pertaining to the manufacture, sale, use, discharge, trans-
portation, storage or possession of Fireworks; or

(b) The Office of State Fire Marshal is presented with evidence
and a recommendation to deny, suspend and/or revoke an Applica-
tion, or Permit by fire or law enforcement authority. The evidence
Shall support the conclusion that the Sponsor, Permit Holder, or
applicant has violated applicable rules and/or statutes; or

(c) The Permit Holder hires, employs, utilizes, etc., someone
who has had a Wholesale, Retail or Display Permit has been revoked,
denied or suspended within the last three years; or

(d) There has been a failure to obtain and maintain necessary
local or state on-site inspections, approvals, proof of liability insur-
ance and other required permits; or

(e) Sells, donates or otherwise provides Fireworks to any Per-
son; or

(f) A Permit, or permit number that has expired, or that does not
exist, or which has not been issued, is used to support the purchase,
use, discharge, transportation, storage, possession or sale of Fire-
works; or

(g) The applicant submitted a fraudulent Permit Application; or
(h) Any other violation of the Fireworks statutes or rules.
(3) The period of denial, revocation and/or suspension Shall not

exceed three years. In determining the appropriate sanction, the
Office of State Fire Marshal Shall consider the following criteria:

(a) The severity of the violations(s) and/or its impact on pub-
lic safety, particularly whether the circumstances of the violations(s)
presented a significant fire hazard or other public safety danger;

(b) The number of similar or related violations alleged to have
been committed in the current transaction, event or occurrence;
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(c) Whether the violation(s) was willful or intentional;
(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of State

Fire Marshal against the holder of, or applicant for, a Display Per-
mit or Operator Certificate; and

(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire
Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation(s).

(4) Suspension or revocation of a Display Permit or Operator
Certificate may include suspension or revocation of the current Per-
mit or Certificate and the right to apply for a subsequent Permit or
Certificate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0835 
Purchase, Transportation and Storage of Display Fireworks

(1) General and Limited Display Permit Holders Shall purchase
or otherwise obtain Display Fireworks only from Wholesalers who
possess a current and valid wholesale Permit issued by the Office of
State Fire Marshal.

(2) General and Limited Display Permit Holders Shall purchase
or otherwise obtain Display Fireworks only from the Wholesaler list-
ed on the Display Permit.

(3) If the Wholesaler who supplies the Display Fireworks is dif-
ferent from the Wholesaler listed on the Display Permit, the Display
Permit Holder Shall notify, in writing, the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal and the Local Fire Authority of the change at least 24 hours prior
to purchasing the Display Fireworks from the Wholesaler.

(4) The Designated Agent may pick up Fireworks from the
Wholesaler and deliver only to the storage site listed on the Display
Permit or directly to the Display Site as listed on the Permit. 

(5) The Permit Holder, or their Designated Agent, Shall possess
the Display Permit at the time the Display Fireworks are picked up
from or delivered by the Wholesaler.

(6) The Permit Holder, or their Designated Agent, Shall trans-
port the Display Fireworks only to the:

(a) Storage site approved by the Local Fire Authority and the
Office of State Fire Marshal and listed on the Display Permit; or

(b) The Display Site listed on the Display Permit.
(7) The Permit Holder or their Designated Agent, Shall com-

ply with all applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and regu-
lations pertaining to the transportation of Fireworks.

(8) Prior to acceptance of Display Fireworks from a Wholesaler,
the Permit Holder, or their Designated Agent, Shall confirm that the
outside of all Cartons, Containers or Cases or Display Fireworks, and
any accompanying documentation, are affixed with the full Permit
Holder name and Display Permit number of the Display Permit cor-
responding to the Permit Holder authorizing the Display Fireworks
being received and the Wholesaler Name and their Oregon Whole-
sale Permit number of the Oregon Wholesaler who supplied the Dis-
play Fireworks.

(9) Display Permit Holders, or their Designated Agent, Shall not
accept any Cartons, Containers or Cases of Display Fireworks or
accompanying documentation that do not show the required infor-
mation pursuant to subsections (8) of this rule. If the required Per-
mit Holder name and Display Permit number is not on the outside
of all Cartons, Containers or Cases of Display Fireworks, and any
accompanying documentation, the Permit Holder Shall refuse to
accept the Display Fireworks.

(10) Permit Holder name and Display Permit number and the
Wholesaler name and Permit number Shall be maintained on any
Carton, Container or Case containing Display Fireworks authorized
by a Display Permit.

(11) The storage of Display Fireworks Shall comply with the
following:

(a) OAR chapter 837, division 12;
(b) Oregon Uniform Fire Code, 1998 Edition;
(c) Oregon Specialty Code, 1998 Editions;
(d) NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation and

Storage of Fireworks 1998 Edition; and

(e) United States Department of Transportation laws and reg-
ulations. See also CFR Title 17, Part 18, Subparts J and JJ.

(12) The transportation of Display Fireworks Shall comply with
the following:

(a) ORS 480.110 through 480.165;
(b) OAR chapter 837, division 12;
(c) NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation and

Storage of Fireworks 1998 Edition; and
(d) United States Department of Transportation laws and reg-

ulations. See also CFR Title 17, Part 18, Subparts J and JJ. 
(13) Fireworks may be delivered to the Display Site up to a

maximum of 72 hours prior to the date and time of the permitted Dis-
play. Security at the Display Site will be continuous until the date and
time of the Display. Fireworks may be delivered to the Display Site
up 72 hours prior only after a security plan has been submitted to and
approved by the Local Fire Authority.

[Publications: Publications referenced  are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & ORS 480-150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002,
f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0840 
Selection of Display Site and Set Up

(1) Prior to the Display, the areas selected for the Discharge
Site, Fallout Area, spectator viewing and parking Shall be inspect-
ed and approved by the Local Fire Authority and Law Enforcement
Authority.

(2) The purpose of this rule is to provide guidance for clearances
upon which the Local Fire Authority and Law Enforcement Author-
ity Shall base their approval of the Display Site.

(3) The required minimum separation distance between the Dis-
charge Site and any spectators, vehicles or readily combustible mate-
rials is set forth in Table 1. This distance is determined by the largest
size Aerial Shell to be discharged at the intended Display. At a min-
imum, the Fallout Area for a Display Shall be the required minimum
separation distance set forth in Table 1.

(a) Where added safety precautions have been taken, or par-
ticularly favorable conditions exist, the Local Fire Authority may
decrease the required separation distance pursuant to Table 1. In no
case may the required separation distance be less than 70’ per inch
of Aerial Shell diameter. Final approval of the decrease in distance
Shall be the responsibility of the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(b) When unusual or safety threatening conditions exist, the
Local Fire Authority Shall increase the required separation distance
pursuant to Table 1 as necessary to provide adequate safety for the
Display Site, spectators, and surrounding property.

(4) The required minimum distance from the Discharge Site to
any health care, detention or correctional facility Shall be at least
twice the distance set forth in Table 1.

(5) The required minimum distance from the Discharge Site to
any bulk storage area of materials that pose a flammability, explo-
sive or toxic hazard Shall be at least twice the distance set forth in
Table 1. 

NOTE: To determine whether materials pose these hazards, see NFPA’s
Fire Protection Guide to Hazardous Materials.
Table 1
Minimum Radius of Display Site for Outdoor Display of Fireworks
Shell Size — Distance in Feet
2” — 200
3” — 300
4” — 400
5” — 500
6” — 600
7” — 700
8” — 800
9” — 900
10” — 1000
11” — 1100
12” — 1200
More Than 12” — Approval of Local Fire Authority
This Table requires a minimum separation distance of 100 feet per inch of
Aerial Shell plus additional footage as may be necessitated by the Display
Site.
(6) Figure 1 demonstrates some of the location requirements for

a suitable Display Site where Mortars are placed vertically, such as
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may be the case for an electrically ignited Display: [Figure not
included. See ED. NOTE.]

(7) The Discharge Site Shall be located so that the trajectory of
the Aerial Shells Shall not come within 25 feet of any overhead
object.

(8) Ground Display Pieces Shall be located at a minimum dis-
tance of 75 feet from spectator viewing and parking areas.

EXCEPTION: For Ground Display Pieces with greater hazard potential
(such as large wheels with powerful drivers, and items employing large
Salutes), and roman candles and multishot devices, the minimum separa-
tion distance Shall be increased to 140 feet minimum or 100 feet per inch
of shell diameter. Example: 1.75” artillery type mortar shells Shall have a
minimum separation distance of 175’.
EXCEPTION: Limited Display Permits that authorize only Retail Fire-
works Shall not be subject to the 140 foot separation requirement. Sepa-
ration requirements for Limited Display Permits authorizing only the use
of Retail Fireworks Shall be at the discretion of the Local Fire Authority.
(9) Where Aerial Shells are to be stored at the Discharge Site

for subsequent loading into Mortars during the Display, the Mortars
Shall be placed at least 1/6, but not more than 1/3, the distance from
the center of the Display Site toward the main spectator area. The
Mortars Shall be angled such that any dud shells will fall at a point
approximately equal to the offset of the Mortars from the center of
the Display Site but in the opposite direction.

(10) Figure 2 demonstrates some of the location requirements
for a suitable Display Site when Aerial Shells are to be stored at the
Discharge Site for subsequent loading into Mortars during the Dis-
play, such as may be the case with a manually ignited Display: [Fig-
ure not included. See ED. NOTE.]

(11) Fireworks Shall not be discharged within 100 feet of any
tent or canvas shelter. Unauthorized tents Shall not be located with-
in the Display Site.

(12) Fallout Areas:
(a) The Fallout Area Shall be a large, open area;
(b) Spectators, vehicles, and/or readily combustible materials

Shall not be located within the Fall Out Area during the Display.
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
[ED. NOTE: Figures referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93;
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. &
cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0850 
Construction of Fireworks Aerial Shells 

(1) Shells Shall be classified and described only in terms of the
inside diameter of the Mortar in which they can be safely used (e.g.,
three inch shells are only for use in three inch Mortars);

(2) Aerial Shells Shall be constructed so that they fit easily into
the appropriate size Mortar and so that the Lift Charge and internal
delay fuse are appropriate to propel the shell to a safe altitude before
functioning.

(3) Shells Shall be labeled with the type of shell, the shell size
and the name of the manufacturer or distributor.

(4) The label or wrapper of any type of Aerial Shell Shall be
conspicuously marked with a number to indicate the shell size (the
diameter of the Mortar to be used).

(5) The label or wrapper of any type of aerial Salute Shall be
conspicuously marked with the word “Salute”;

(6) For Aerial Shells using Quick Match fuse to ignite the Lift
Charge, that fuse Shall be long enough to allow not less than six inch-
es of fuse to protrude from the Mortar after the shell has been prop-
erly inserted.

EXCEPTION: This requirement does not apply when shells are to be fired
electrically.
(7) In order to allow the Individual igniting the Aerial Shells to

safely retreat, the time delay between igniting the tip of the shell’s
fuse and the firing of the shell Shall not be less than three seconds
or more than six seconds.

EXCEPTION: For electrically ignited Displays, there is no requirement
for a delay period.
(8) A Safety Cap Shall be installed over the exposed end of the

fuse. The Safety Cap Shall be of a different color than that of the

fuse. The Safety Cap Shall be installed in such a manner that the fuse
is not damaged;

EXCEPTION: For electrically fire Displays, there is no requirement for
Safety Caps except that there Shall be no exposed pyrotechnic composi-
tion.
(9) Single Break Salute shells Shall not exceed three inch in

diameter or three inch in length (exclusive of the propellant charge).
The maximum quantity of Salute powder in such Salutes Shall not
exceed 3 ounces;

(10) Storage of Aerial Shells not in Mortars:
(a) All Fireworks Shall be stored and transported according to

the requirements of prior to reaching the Display Site. (See also CFR
Title 27, Part 18, Subparts J and JJ.);

(b) As soon as the Fireworks have been delivered to the Display
Site, they Shall not be left unattended nor Shall they be allowed to
become wet;

(c) All shells Shall be inspected upon delivery to the Display
Site by the Operator. Any shells having tears, leaks, broken fuses,
or showing signs of having been wet Shall be set aside and Shall not
be fired. After the Display, any such shells Shall either be returned
to the Wholesaler or destroyed according to the Wholesaler’s instruc-
tions;

EXCEPTION:Minor repairs to fuses Shall be allowed. Also, for electri-
cally ignited Displays, attachment of Electric Matches and other similar
tasks Shall be permitted.
(d) Upon delivery to the Display Site, all shells Shall be sepa-

rated according to size and as to whether they are Salutes. Until they
are loaded into Mortars, shells Shall be stored in covered containers
such as Ready Boxes or corrugated cartons meeting U.S. Department
of Transportation requirements for the transportation of Fireworks;

(e) During performance of an outdoor Display, Ready Boxes
Shall be located at a distance of not less than 25 feet upwind from
the Mortar placements. If the wind should shift during a Display, the
Ready Boxes Shall be located so as to be upwind from the Discharge
Site.

EXCEPTIONS:
-1- When acceptable to the Local Fire Authority, alternate measures Shall
be taken.
-2- When there are no shells needing storage during a Display, such as for
an electrically ignited Display, there is no need for Ready Boxes.
(11) Installation of Mortars:
(a) Prior to placement Mortars Shall be carefully inspected for

defects, such as dents, bent ends, damaged interiors, and damaged
plugs. Mortars found to be defective Shall not be used;

(b) Mortars Shall be positioned so that shells are propelled away
from spectators and over a Fallout Area. Under no circumstances
Shall Mortars be angled toward the spectator viewing areas;

(c) Mortars Shall be buried to a depth of at least 2/3 to 3/4 of
their length, either in the ground or in above-ground troughs or
drums;

EXCEPTION: Securely positioned Mortar Racks may be used for the fir-
ing of single Break shells not exceeding six inches in diameter.
(d) Under conditions when paper Mortars may be damaged by

placement in damp ground, paper Mortars Shall be placed inside a
moisture-resistant bag prior to placement in damp ground;

(e) Whenever there is the likelihood of ground water leaking
into the Mortar, the Mortar Shall be placed inside a water-resistant
bag prior to placement in the ground;

(f) Weather-resistant coverings Shall be placed over the mouth
of Mortars whenever there is imminent danger of water collecting
in the Mortars;

(g) In soft ground, when there is significant danger of the Mor-
tars being driven further into the ground when they are fired, suffi-
cient added support Shall be placed beneath the Mortars;

EXCEPTION:When a Mortar is only to be used once, such as for an elec-
trically fired Display, added support Shall be optional.
(h) Mortars that are buried in the ground, in troughs, or in drums

Shall be separated from adjacent Mortars by a distance at least equal
to the diameter of the Mortar. Mortars in troughs or drums Shall be
positioned to afford the maximum protection to the shooter;

EXCEPTION: The requirements Shall not apply when electrical firing is
used.
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(i) If troughs and drums are used, they Shall be filled with sand
or soft dirt; in no case Shall stones or other possible dangerous debris
be present;

(j) Whenever more than three shells are to be Chain Fused, such
as for sequential firing, additional measures are required to prevent
adjacent Mortars from being repositioned in the event that a shell det-
onates in a Mortar, causing it to burst. For buried Mortars, this Shall
be accomplished by placing the Mortars with a minimum separation
of four times their diameter. For Mortars in racks, this Shall be
accomplished by using Mortar Racks that have sufficient strength to
successfully withstand such a failure;

EXCEPTIONS:
-1- When there is doubt concerning the strength of racks holding Chain
Fused Mortars, the separation distances for those racks Shall be twice those
listed in Table 1.
-2- When the separation distance is two times that required in Table 1,
buried Mortars Shall be separated by a minimum of one times the internal
diameter of the largest Mortar in the sequence.
(k) When Mortars are to be reloaded during a Display, Mortars

of various sizes Shall not be intermixed. Mortars of the same size
Shall be placed in groups, and the groups must be separated from one
another;

(l) When Operators or Assistants are to be in the immediate area
of the Mortars during a Display, sand bags or other suitable protec-
tion Shall be placed around the Mortars up to the approximate level
of the mouth of the Mortar in each direction where Operators or
Assistants could be located;

(m) Mortars Shall be inspected before the first shells are load-
ed to be certain that no water or debris has been accumulated in the
bottom of the Mortar;

(n) Mortars Shall be of sufficient strength and durability to safe-
ly fire the Aerial Shells to be used;

(o) Cast iron Mortars Shall not be used;
(p) Metal Mortars Shall be either seamed or seamless; howev-

er, seamed Mortars must be placed such that the seam is facing either
right or left as one faces the line of Mortars;

(q) Mortars Shall be of sufficient length to cause Aerial Shells
to be propelled to safe heights;

(r) A cleaning tool Shall be provided for the cleaning of debris
from Mortars as necessary;

EXCEPTION: When Mortars are not to be reloaded during a Display,
there is no requirement for a cleaning tool.
(s) Numerals indicating the inside diameter of the Mortar Shall

be conspicuously painted or otherwise marked on the top of all Mor-
tars.

(12) When more than one Operator or Assistant will be ignit-
ing the Aerial Shells for a Display, it is preferred that the line of Mor-
tars be separated in some manner and that only one Operator or
Assistant light shells in each designated area.

(13) Electrical Firing Unit:
(a) The purpose of this section is to provide guidance for the

design of Electrical Firing Units to be used when it is decided to elec-
trically fire Displays;

(b) At no point Shall electrical contact be allowed to occur
between any wiring associated with the Electrical Firing Unit and
any metal object in contact with the ground;

(c) If the Electrical Firing Unit is powered from AC power lines,
some form of line isolation Shall be employed (i.e., a line isolation
transformer);

(d) The Electrical Firing Unit Shall include a key-operated
switch or other similar device that greatly reduces the possibility that
unauthorized or unintentional firings can occur;

EXCEPTION:When the Electrical Firing Unit is very small in size and
attached to the wire running to Electric Matches for the brief duration of
the actual firing, there is no requirement for a key-operated switch.
(e) Manually activated Electrical Firing Units Shall be

designed such that at least two positive actions must be taken to apply
electric current to an Electric Match. For example, this may be
accomplished with two switches in series, both of which must be
operated in order to pass current;

(f) Computer-activated automatic sequencing type Electrical
Firing Units Shall have some form of “dead-man-switch,” such that
firings will cease the moment the switch is released;

(g) If the Electrical Firing Unit has a built-in-test circuit, the unit
Shall be designed to limit the test current (into a short circuit) to 0.05
ampere or to 20 percent of the no-fire current of the Electric Match,
whichever is less;

(h) Multi-testers such as Volt-Ohm Meters, Shall not be used
for testing unless their maximum current delivering potential has
been measured and found to meet the requirements of subsection (g)
of this section;

(i) When any testing of firing circuits is performed, no Person
Shall be allowed to be present in the immediate area of Fireworks
that have been attached to the Electrical Firing Unit.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
[ED. NOTE: Figures referenced in this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0855 
Barge Requirements

(1) Barges Shall be permitted to be manned or unmanned as
long as the Operator and Assistants remain in control of the Barge,
Barge Display Site and firing of the Display.

(2) The movement and location of a Barge(s) Shall be con-
trolled at all times, whether self propelled, controlled by another ves-
sel, or secured by anchoring or mooring.

(3) The means of controlling the movement and location of a
Barge pursuant to subsection (2) of this rule Shall be done so by
means that have been approved by the Local Fire Authority prior to
the Display.

(4) Barges Shall be used as a Discharge Site only if the Barge
is sufficiently stable and seaworthy so that the type of Fireworks and
the placement of the Fireworks, Mortars, and accompany equipment
on the Barge Shall not compromise the stability or seaworthiness of
the Barge when the Fireworks are discharged.

(5) When the Operator and/orAssistant(s) Shall be located on
the Barge during the Display, the Barge(s) that are manned during
firing Shall have a safety shelter. The safety shelter Shall:

(a) Be of sufficient size to accommodate all Individuals present
during the actual firing of Display;

(b) Have a minimum of three sides and a roof; and
(c) Have walls and a roof constructed of at least 3/4 in. (19 mm)

plywood or equivalent material.
(6) Separation between Mortars and safety shelter Shall be 2ft

/ in. (0.6 m / 25 mm) of diameter of any Mortars up to 6 in. (152 mm)
in diameter. For shells larger than 6 in. (152 mm) in diameter, the
minimum separation distance Shall be 4 ft / in. (1.22 m / 25 mm) of
shell diameter.

EXCEPTION: If the safety shelter is constructed of stronger material, then
the separation distance between Mortars and the shelter Shall be permit-
ted to be reduced at the discretion of the Local Fire Authority and/or the
Office of State Fire Marshal.
(7) The required minimum size for a Barge (in square feet) for

a particular Display Shall be determined by the following calcula-
tions;

(a) Minimum Discharge Site (in square ft) = sum of (total num-
ber of each size Mortar times its inside diameter) divided by two (2).

EXCEPTIONS: Multi-shot devices up to 3 in. in diameter Shall be cal-
culated at twice the actual footprint of each such device (length X width).
Ground Display Pieces Shall be excluded from the calculations for mini-
mum Display set-up area.
(b) Total # of 3 in. Mortar x 3 + total number of 4 in. Mortars

x 4 + total number of 5 in. Mortars x 5 + etc.)/2
EXAMPLE: A Display containing 100 - 3 in. shells, 50 - 4 in. shells, 20
- 5 in. shells, 10- 6 in. shells, and 5- 8 in. shells would require the follow-
ing minimum Display set-up area.

100 x 3 + 50 x 4 + 20 x 5 + 10 x 6 + 5 x 8
2

300 + 200 + 100 + 60 + 40
2

700 / 2 = 350 sq ft
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(8) Barges Shall be configured, and the Display so arranged,
that Operators, Assistants and any other Individuals on the Barge can
readily exit the Barge in case of an emergency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002,
f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0860 
Operation of the Public Fireworks Display

(1) The Sponsor of the Display Shall provide adequate fire pro-
tection for the Display.

(2) The Sponsor and/or Operator Shall consult with the fire
authority to determine the level of fire protection required.

(3) Monitors whose sole duty Shall be the enforcement of crowd
control Shall be located around the Display area by the Sponsor. The
fire authority Shall approve the provisions for crowd control.

(4) Monitors Shall be located around the Display Site to prevent
spectators or any other unauthorized Individuals from entering the
Display Site. The Display Site Shall be so restricted throughout the
Display and until the Display Site has been inspected after the Dis-
play. Where practical, fences and rope barriers Shall be used to aid
in crowd control.

(5) During the period before the Display, when Fireworks mate-
rials are present, public access to the Display Site Shall not be
allowed.

(6) The Operator has the primary responsibility for safety.
While the Operator is allowed to actively participate in the firing of
the Display, safety Shall be the primary concern.

(7) The Operator is responsible for ensuring that a sufficient
number of Assistants are on hand for the safe conduct of the Display.
Only the Operator and necessary Assistants Shall be permitted in the
discharge area while the Display is in progress.

NOTE: In most situations, it is believed that it is appropriate to have one
Individual tending each Ready Box or shell storage area in use at a given
time. Similarly, it is believed that there should be two Individuals reload-
ing shells into Mortars for each Person igniting the Aerial Shells. Unless
racks of Chain Fused shells are being fired, it generally is believed that a
single Individual can safely ignite no more than about ten shells per minute.
If a greater rate of firing is desired, it is appropriate to have more than one
Individual lighting them.
(8) The Display Operator is responsible for meeting the admin-

istrative rules, statutory requirements and any other applicable
requirements for the Display including ensuring that all Assistants
are fully trained in the proper performance of their assigned tasks and
that they are knowledgeable of safety hazards.

(9) If at any time before or during the Display, the Operator,
Local Fire Authority, or the Law Enforcement Authority knows or
should know that an adverse condition exists that significantly affects
safety, Display Shall be postponed until the condition is corrected.

(10) If at any time before or during the Display, the Operator,
Local Fire Authority, or the Law Enforcement Authority knows or
should know that the lack of crowd control poses a danger, the Dis-
play Shall immediately be discontinued until such time as the situ-
ation is corrected.

(11) If at any time before or during the Display, the Operator,
Local Fire Authority, or the Law Enforcement Authority knows or
should know that high winds, precipitation, or other adverse weath-
er conditions prevail, such that a significant safety danger exists; the
Display Shall be postponed until weather conditions improve to an
acceptable level.

NOTE: Changes that occur as a result of sections (9), (10) and (11) of this
rule Shall meet the requirements of OAR 837-12-740.
(12) Operators and Assistants Shall use only flashlights or elec-

tric lighting for artificial illumination.
(13) No smoking Shall be allowed within 50 feet of any area

where Fireworks or other pyrotechnic materials are present.
(14) Measures Shall be taken to protect all Fireworks and mate-

rials to be used in the Display from adverse weather conditions.
Moisture-damaged materials Shall not be used.

(15) No Individual Shall be allowed in the Discharge area while
under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or drugs.

(16) Communication when required by the fire official means
the Displays Shall be provided with a method. Such method may

consist of a cellular or digital telephone, marine radio, walkie talkie
systems or other approved means. Method of communication
between the Operator, the Local Fire Authority and others as deemed
necessary by the Local Fire Authority, example: ship-to-shore com-
munication for Barge Displays. The method of communication Shall
be determined by the Local Fire Authority.

(17) Operators Shall be continuously responsible for the Dis-
play from the beginning of the Display through completion of the
Display including the after Display cleanup and inspection.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0865
Operations for Barge Displays

(1) Manual Firing of Displays Shall be allowed only under the
following conditions:

(a) Shells Shall be loaded into Mortars and put into place prior
to the Display. There Shall be no reloading of any kind during the
Display;

(b) Shells Shall be single-Break only and Shall not exceed 6”
in diameter;

(c) The Barge Shall meet double the size requirements estab-
lished by OAR 837-012-0855;

(d) All Individuals, other than Operators Shall be behind pro-
tective barriers during the Display. Protective barrier(s) must meet
the strength requirements of 3/4 inch (19mm) plywood or equivalent.

(e) Electrical Firing and Manual Firing on the same Barge is
allowed when the Mortars to be used for Manual Firing Shall be sep-
arated from Mortars to be used for Electrical Firing by a minimum
of 25 feet.

(f) All Aerial Shells greater than 6” in diameter Shall be fired
using Electrical Ignition or other means of remote ignition that place
the shooter and Assistants at least 75 feet away from the Mortar or
behind a sturdy barricade at the time of ignition of the Lift Charge.

(2) A U.S. Coast Guard approved personal flotation device
(PFD) Shall be provided and available for each Individual working
on the Barge. Those PFD’s Shall be properly worn anytime the Barge
is not moored at the dock. PFD’s Shall have or include a visual loca-
tion device.

(3) A watercraft Shall be ready and capable of providing a rapid
emergency response during the Display.

(4) During the Display only necessary Individuals Shall be pre-
sent on the Barge. No spectators Shall be present on the Barge.

(5) Necessary personnel include:
(a) Operator and Assistants;
(b) Local Fire Authority department personnel; and
(c) Barge Operators.
(6) Barge Shall be free of all nonessential combustible materi-

als.
(7) Fuel tanks are deemed essential material to perform the Dis-

play for vessels controlling, marshaling, or adjoining the Barge from
which Fireworks are being discharged.

(8) Barges constructed of wood or other combustible material
Shall be permitted to be used as a Fireworks Display Site when the
requirements of these rules and any other applicable state, local, and
federal requirements are met.

(9) Barges constructed of wood or other combustible material
can be used provided the surface of the Barge has been protected
from fire by means acceptable to the Local Fire Authority. The Barge
should also be of sufficient construction and configuration to safe-
ly allow the firing of the Display. Consideration should be given to
the conditions that could affect the separation distance. Greater dis-
tance might be required to allow for the effects of sea conditions,
wind, and drift of the Barge.

(10) Whenever, in the opinion of the Local Fire Authority, the
Operator, or the Barge captain, conditions such as high seas or rapid
current pose a potential safety hazard to the Operator and Assistants,
spectators, surrounding area, or any other Individuals, the Display
Shall be postponed until conditions improve. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
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Hist.: OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002,
f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0870 
Loading and Firing of Shells

(1) Shells Shall be carried from the storage area to the Discharge
Site only by their bodies, never by their fuses.

EXCEPTION: It generally is believed that it is not safe to be loading Mor-
tars within ten feet of Mortars that are being fired. When loading a shell
into a recently fired Mortar, the Person should crouch along side the Mor-
tar with his back toward the area where shells are being fired.
(2) Shells Shall be checked for proper fit in their Mortars prior

to the Display.
(3) When being loaded into the Mortars, shells Shall be held by

their fuses or lowering cord if provided and carefully lowered into
the Mortar. At no time Shall the Person loading the shells place any
part of their body over the mouth of the Mortar.

(4) The Person loading shells Shall be reasonably certain that
the shell is properly seated in the bottom of the Mortar.

(5) Shells Shall not, under any circumstances, be forced into a
Mortar too small to accept them. Shells that do not fit properly into
the Mortars Shall not be fired.

(6) The Safety Cap protecting the fuse Shall not be removed by
the Person responsible for igniting the fuse until immediately before
the shell is to be fired.

EXCEPTION:Where Electrical Ignition is used. The Electric Matches are
attached prior to the Display, generally with wires connected to an Elec-
trical Firing Unit during the Display. The Operator or an Assistant ignites
the Fireworks from the Electrical Firing Unit during the Public Fireworks
Display.
(7) Shells Shall be ignited by lighting the tip of the fuse with a

Fusee, torch, Portfire, or similar device. The Operator Shall never
place any part of their body over the Mortar at any time. As soon as
the fuse is ignited, the Operator Shall retreat from the Mortar area.

EXCEPTION: Alternatively, Electrical Ignition may be used.
(8) The first shell fired Shall be observed carefully by the Oper-

ator to determine that its trajectory is such that the shell functions
over the Fall-Out Area and that any dangerous debris or unexplod-
ed shells will land in the Fall-Out Area. The Operator Shall deter-
mine whether or not to begin the Display and Shall Monitor the Dis-
play continuously to determine if the Display continues to meet all
requirements for the continuance of the Display.

(9) The Display Shall be interrupted and the Mortars Shall be
reangled or repositioned as necessary for safety any time during a
Display. In the case of a Barge, the Display Shall be interrupted and
the Barge Shall be repositioned as necessary for safety any time dur-
ing Display.

(10) In the event of a shell failing to ignite in the Mortar, the
Mortar Shall be marked in some manner to indicate the presence of
an unfired shell, and the Mortar shall not be reloaded or reused so
long as the misfired shell remains. Immediately following the Dis-
play but no sooner than 15 minutes after the attempted firing, if the
shell still has not fired, the Mortar Shall be cautiously flooded with
water and let stand for a minimum of five minutes before it is cau-
tiously emptied of the shell. The Operator Shall be knowledgeable
in the proper disposal methods.

EXCEPTION: When Electrical Ignition is used and the firing failure is
electrical in nature or the Aerial Shell was intentionally not fired, the shell
may be salvaged by the Operator.
(11) It is the responsibility of the Person igniting the Aerial

Shells to detect when a shell does not fire from a Mortar. That Per-
son Shall warn others in the area and Immediately Shall cause the
Mortar to be marked to indicate the presence of an unfired Aerial
Shell.

EXCEPTION: When electrically firing, it is not necessary to mark the
Mortar. However, Individuals entering the area after the Fireworks Display
Shall conduct themselves as though unfired shells remain until advised to
the contrary by the Operator.
(12) Manual reignition of Chain Fused Aerial Shells Shall only

be attempted at properly installed ignition points.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93;
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. &
cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0875 
Mortar Racks for Barge Displays

(1) Mortar Racks Shall be constructed in a thorough manner to
be capable of holding multiple Mortars in position during normal
functioning.

(2) Mortar Racks that are not inherently stable Shall be secured
or braced to stabilize them. Stabilization Shall be accomplished by
using stakes, legs, A-frames, side-boards, or equivalent means. Inher-
ently stable Shall mean that if the base of the rack, before being load-
ed with Fireworks, were tipped 50 degrees from the horizontal in any
direction, it would then return to the horizontal position.

(3) Mortar Racks Shall be oriented, angled, or oriented and
angled in such a way that maximizes the spectator’s safety.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002,
f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0880 
Ground Display Fireworks

(1) To the extent that it is practical, all ground pieces Shall be
positioned outside of the Discharge area of aerial Displays.

EXCEPTIONS:
-1- When Ground Display Pieces are to be fired electrically, they can be
located in the Fall-Out Area.
-2- When Aerial Shells have been preloaded, Ground Display Pieces can
be located in that Discharge area.
(2) Dry grass Shall be wet down or removed before the Display.
(3) Combustible materials Shall be removed if deemed a fire

hazard by the fire authority.
(4) Poles for ground Display pieces Shall be securely placed and

firmly braced so that they will not fall over during functioning of the
firework device.

(5) Specific instructions from the supplier Shall accompany all
Ground Display Pieces. A list of required accessories also Shall be
supplied.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0890 
Site Clean-Up

(1) Following the Display, the Operator, and Assistants Shall
conduct an inspection of the Fall-Out Area for the purpose of locat-
ing any unexploded Aerial Shells. This inspection Shall be conducted
before any public access to the site is allowed. Any shells found dur-
ing the search Shall not be handled until at least fifteen minutes have
elapsed from the time the shells were fired. The Fireworks Shall then
be doused with water and allowed to remain for at least five more
minutes before being cautiously placed in a plastic bucket or fiber-
board box. The Wholesaler who supplied the Fireworks Shall be con-
tacted as soon as possible for disposal instructions.

(2) Mortar inspection and removal Shall be conducted upon the
elapse of not less than 10 minutes from the completion of ground
Display to allow for Mortar cooldown or misfires.

(3) When Fireworks are displayed at night and it is not possi-
ble to thoroughly inspect the site, the Operator Shall ensure that the
entire site is reinspected very early the following morning.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0900 
Transportation and Storage

(1) Storage of Fireworks in residential locations, mini-storage
units or other structures is prohibited unless such storage is in accor-
dance with the Oregon Uniform Fire Code 1998 Edition, Oregon
Structural Specialty Code 1998 Edition, and NFPA 1124 Manufac-
ture, Transportation, and Storage of Fireworks and Pyrotechnic Arti-
cles 1998 Edition, these rules or requirements of the Local Fire
Authority.

(2) Applicants Shall also provide a complete and detailed
description of how and where they will store Fireworks in their pos-
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session before, during and after the Display. The description Shall
include:

(a) The address of the storage site and the location of the stor-
age area(s) at the storage site;

(b) The dates the Fireworks will be at each storage site, and
(c) The type of magazine in which the Fireworks Shall be

stored.
(3) Fireworks may be stored up to a maximum of 30 days prior

to the Display.
(4) Unused Fireworks Shall be returned to the Wholesaler who

provided them within 7 days after the Display date.
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0910 
Prohibited Acts and Limitations

(1) No Individuals Shall be allowed in the discharge area while
under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or drugs.

(2) No smoking Shall be allowed within 50 feet of any area
where Fireworks or other pyrotechnic materials are present.

(3) Only authorized Individuals will be allowed within the Dis-
charge Site.

(4) No Individual Shall maintain or allow the existence of a fire
hazard at any location under their control where Fireworks are stored,
transported, sold, or used.

(5) No Permit Holder Shall use:
(a) Any Fireworks that have been altered;
(b) Any Fireworks other than those supplied and/or distribut-

ed by a Person with a current Oregon wholesale Fireworks Permit.
(6) No Person who has been cited or arrested for Fireworks vio-

lations or who has had a Fireworks Permit suspended, denied or
revoked in any jurisdiction Shall participate in any manner in the
public Fireworks Display, including storage, distribution, or trans-
portation of pyrotechnics for a period not to exceed three years.

(7) The Permit does not authorize the manufacture, sale, use,
discharge or possession of Fireworks in any city or county in which
such devices are prohibited by law or ordinance.

(8) Permit Holders Shall not use, explode or have exploded any
Fireworks device that has not been approved, certified or listed for
transport by the U.S. Department of Transportation or has a U.S.
Bureau of Explosive Temporary Transfer Permit.

(9) Displays Shall not be conducted in the event the Office of
State Fire Marshal or fire authority has invoked a burning ban. If the
Display Site is a large body of water or close proximity indoor event,
and in the opinion of the Local Fire Authority and the State Fire Mar-
shal the Display presents no more fire hazard than at other time, the
Permit Shall be issued.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0920 
Records Keeping

(1) Permit Holders Shall keep a record of each shipment of Fire-
works received. The record Shall include the Wholesaler’s name,
address, Display Permit number and a list of the Fireworks received
including the name and quantity of each Fireworks.

(2) Upon request, the records for each shipment received Shall
be readily available for review and inspection by the Local Fire
Authority and/or representatives of the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(3) All records Shall be clear, legible, accurate and maintained
for three years from the date of receipt of the Fireworks. The records
Shall be submitted to the Local Fire Authority and/or the Office of
State Fire Marshal upon request.

NOTE: The Wholesaler from whom the Fireworks were purchased may
maintain the records.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0930 
Advertisements

(1) No Person Shall publish or cause to be published:
(a) Any advertisement for distribution to the general public con-

cerning the sale of Fireworks which have been declared unlawful by
ORS 480.110 to 480.160, or these rules, for residents to purchase,
use, store transport, Sell, discharge, or possess;

(b) Any advertisement for the sale of items described in ORS
480.127 in any county, municipality or fire protection district that by
law or ordinance has declared the sale, use, or possession of such
items to be prohibited.

NOTE: The rules in this section concerning advertisements do not apply
to any advertising medium which accepts such advertising in good faith,
without knowledge of the violation of law or these rules.
(2) Section (1) of this rule, does not apply to advertisements

placed in media when the primary distribution of that media is into
areas which allow the Fireworks even through some secondary dis-
tributions of that media may occur into areas which prohibit these
items.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0940 
Civil and Criminal Enforcement Actions

(1) In addition to denying, revoking and/or suspending Permits
and Certification pursuant to administrative hearing and appeals pro-
cedures as specified in law, the Office of State Fire Marshal, fire or
Law Enforcement Authority may:

(a) Confiscate, remove or have removed at the violator(s)
expense all Fireworks offered for sale, used transported, stored, or
possessed in violation of these rules; and

(b) Destroy seized Fireworks when it has been determined that
destruction is necessary for the preservation of public safety or
health, that the sale, transport, storage or possession of the seized
Fireworks was in violation of the laws and rules of the State of Ore-
gon or the ordinances of local municipalities.

NOTE: Upon the confiscation and/or prior to the destruction of any seized
pyrotechnics, the Person responsible for the confiscation and/or destruc-
tion, Shall contact the Oregon licensed Wholesaler listed on the Permit
Application.
(2) All civil disputes arising as a result of the administration and

enforcement of these rules and regulations, Shall be referred to the
State Fire Marshal who Shall be the final administrative authority in
all cases.

(3) Violation of any provision of ORS 480.110 through 480.160
and the administrative rules adopted thereto is a Class B misde-
meanor. Violations thereof may be prosecuted in state or municipal
courts when violations occur within the municipality served there-
by. Justice and district courts Shall have concurrent jurisdiction with
circuit courts in all proceedings arising within ORS 480.110 to
480.160:

(a) The sentence for a Class B misdemeanor Shall be for a def-
inite term and within the maximum limitation of six months or as
otherwise provided by ORS 161.615;

(b) The sentence to pay a fine for a Class B misdemeanor Shall
be to pay any amount not exceeding $1,000 or $2,500, as appropri-
ate, and in accordance with ORS 161.635 and 161.655.

(4) If a Person has gained money or property through com-
mission of a misdemeanor or violation, then upon conviction there-
of, the court, instead of imposing the fine authorized by these rules,
may sentence the defendant to pay an amount fixed by the court, not
exceeding double the amount of the defendant’s gain from the com-
mission of the offense in accordance with ORS 161.635 and 161.655.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0950 
Insurance Requirements

The governing body of any municipality or of any county, may
require liability insurance or other form of indemnity deemed ade-
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quate by the municipality, or the county, from any Person, in a sum
not less than $500, conditioned for payment of all damages which
may be caused either to a Person or property by reason of the autho-
rized public Fireworks Display and arising from any acts of any Per-
son or agents, employees or subcontractors of the Person.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0960 
Fire Protection

Fire extinguishers Shall be provided in numbers and locations
throughout the Display Site as required by the Local Fire Authori-
ty.

NOTE: At a minimum, at least two 2A rated water type extinguishers, or
equivalent water type extinguishing system, or an alternative determined
by the Local Fire Authority Shall be provided.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. & cert. f. 6-20-02

837-012-0970 
Reports for General Displays

(1) Within 10 days of each General Display, the Operator in
charge of the Display Shall complete a report on forms provided by
the Office of State Fire Marshal, submit to the State Fire Marshal,
and certify the information contained in the report is accurate. Cer-
tification and/or future Permits may be denied, suspended, and/or
revoked for false reporting or failure to complete the report.

(2) The Operator Shall provide the information on the report
form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal. At a minimum,
each report Shall contain the following:

(a) The printed name, signature, mailing address, certification
number and telephone number of the Operator in charge of the Dis-
play and who is completing the report;

(b) Name of Permit Holder to whom the Permit was issued;
(c) The number assigned to the Permit by the Office of State

Fire Marshal;
(d) The date and time of day the Display was actually held;
(e) The location of the Display. Include address and/or descrip-

tion sufficient to locate;
(f) A list of all Fireworks discharged including the size and

number of shells and set pieces;
(g) A list of all Operators that assisted in assembling, dis-

charging, and/or supervising the Display. The list Shall include the
name, certification number, and description of duties performed for
each Operator;

(h) A list of all Assistants that assisted Operators with the Dis-
play. The list Shall include the name, mailing address, social secu-
rity number, telephone number, and a description of duties performed
for each Assistant;

(i) A list of all Fireworks that were duds, malfunctioned, or
defective. For each Firework listed, the report Shall include, type of
Firework, and size of Firework if applicable (example six inch shell);

(j) A description of any injuries caused by Fireworks authorized
by the Permit. Each injury Shall be listed separately, and Shall
include the name of the Firework that injured the Person, cause of
the injury, and name, address, age and telephone number of the
injured Person;

(k) A description of any fires caused by Fireworks authorized
by the Permit. Each fire Shall be listed separately and Shall include
the name of the Firework that started the fire, cause of the fire, and
brief description of the damage that occurred.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-10-92; FM 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 12-10-93;
OSFM 4-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02 thru 8-19-02; OSFM 7-2002, f. &
cert. f. 6-20-02

Fireworks Citations and Civil Penalty Assessments
837-012-1000 

Authority and Application
(1) These rules are promulgated under the State Fire Marshal’s

authority contained in ORS 476.030 and 480.165.
(2) These rules apply to any Person who violates any provision

of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and the rules adopted thereto
including, but not limited to, those for public fireworks displays, agri-
cultural use of fireworks, wholesale and retail sales of fireworks, spe-
cial effect fireworks, and/or manufacturing of fireworks.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1010 
Purpose and Scope

(1) These rules establish the basis and process by which Cita-
tions and penalties will be determined and issued for Violations of
ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division 12.

(2) These rules provide for fire authorities, as defined in ORS
476.060, to issue Citations and proposed penalties.

(3) Each Violation(s) is classified and penalty (ies) assessed
according to Violation Type and Instance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1020 
Effective Dates

OAR 837-012-1000 through 837-012-1110 are effective upon
date of filing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93

837-012-1030 
Definitions

(1) “Citation” means a document issued by the Office of State
Fire Marshal or a fire authority pursuant to ORS 480.165 to issue a
civil penalty for a Violation of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and
OAR chapter 837, division 12. A Citation may include, but is not
limited to, a description of the Violation(s) and a notice of civil
penalty assessment.

(2) “Exempt Fireworks” shall mean Novelties and Trick Noise-
makers.

(3) “Fireworks” shall mean those items described in ORS
480.110(1).

(4) “Formal Hearing” is a hearing before a hearings officer
where the laws, rules, and evidence are presented, considered, and
a proposed opinion and order issued.

(5) “Hazard” means a condition which could result in fire loss
injury or damage to a Person or property.

(6) “Hearings Request” means the written request for a Formal
Hearing to contest a civil penalty.

(7) “Individual” shall mean a single human being.
(8) “Informal Hearing” is a conference to discuss if there is a

basis for informal disposition of a civil penalty by stipulation, agreed
settlement, or other means.

(9) “Instance” means the number of times a Person has been
sited. These are identified as 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Instances.

(10) “Local Fire Authority” shall mean the local fire official
having jurisdiction.

(11) “Person” means one or more Individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of Persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts, and other public cor-
porations.

(12) “Retail Permit” shall mean the official written document
issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal pursuant to ORS 480.127
that authorizes the purchase, transport, possession, storing and sale
of Retail Fireworks, at retail, when otherwise in conformance with
all applicable requirements of ORS 480.110 through 480.165, OAR
chapter 837, division 12, and any other federal, state and local laws,
rules and regulations.
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(13) “State Fire Marshal” means the State Fire Marshal or
his/her administrative designee.

(14) “Type” means the classification of Violation, i.e., least,
minimal, moderate, or severe. These are identified as Type I, II, III
or IV.

(15) “Violation” Types shall mean:
(a) “Least Violation” means a Type I Violation which poses

very little Hazard or threat;
(b) “Minimal Violation” means a Type II Violation which poses

a minor Hazard or threat;
(c) “Moderate Violation” means a Type III Violation which

poses a significant Hazard or threat;
(d) “Severe Violation” means a Type IV Violation which poses

a substantial Hazard or threat.
(16) “Wholesale Permit” shall mean the official written docu-

ment issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal that authorizes the
purchase, transport, possession, packaging, storing and sale of Fire-
works, retail fireworks, public display fireworks, or agricultural fire-
works when otherwise in compliance with all applicable require-
ments of ORS 480.110 through 480.165, OAR chapter 837, division
12, and any other federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations.

(17) “Wholesaler” shall mean any Person who sells or provides
by any other means, or intends to sell or provide by any other means,
Fireworks, retail fireworks, public display fireworks, or agricultur-
al fireworks.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1040 
General

(1) These rules establish civil penalty criteria for Types I, II, III
and IV Violations and the Instances for each Type of Violation. 

(2) These rules apply to Persons who violate the requirements
of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12.

(3) Fire authorities may apply these rules per ORS 476.060.
(4) A Citation describing the Violation(s) and assessed penal-

ty(ies) shall be issued to Persons in non-compliance with ORS
480.110 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12.

(5) Each separate Instance of non-compliance with ORS
480.110 through 480.165 or OAR chapter 837, division 12 shall be
considered a separate Violation.

(6) Each day that a Violation continues shall be considered a
separate Violation.

(7) The distribution, sale, use, manufacture, or possession of any
amount of illegal Fireworks is prohibited and subject to Citation and
penalty.

(8) In addition to the issuance of Citations and penalties under
these rules, the State Fire Marshal and fire authority acting in accor-
dance with ORS 476.060 and 480.154(2) and OAR 837-12-560(1)(a)
and 837-12-675(1)(a):

(a) May confiscate any amount of illegal Fireworks; and
(b) May confiscate other Fireworks possessed by Persons vio-

lating ORS 480.110 through 480.165 and OAR chapter 837, division
12.

(9) In addition to the issuance of Citations, penalties, and the
confiscation of Fireworks, the State Fire Marshal may also revoke,
suspend, or deny any Fireworks permit provided for under ORS
480.110 through 480.165 to any Person who fails to pay a penal-
ty(ies) assessed under these rules.

(10) The penalty for each Violation shall range from $0 to $500
a day depending upon the Type and Instance of the Violation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1050 
Violation Types, Instances, and Penalty Assessments

(1) Penalties shall be assessed according to Violation Type and
Instance in Table 2 and OAR 837-12-1130 through 837-12-1160,
except as provided in OAR 837-12-1100.

(2) The Types of Violations are:
(a) Least — Type I;

(b) Minimal — Type II;
(c) Moderate — Type III;
(d) Severe — Type IV.
(3) The Violation Instance is determined based on the number

of times a Person has committed a Violation. Table 2. [Table not
included. See ED. NOTE.]

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced in this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 8-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert.
ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1060 
Issuance of Civil Penalty Citation and Forwarding to the Office
of State Fire Marshal

(1) Local Fire Authority, pursuant to ORS 476.060, shall have
the authority to issue civil penalty Citations for Violation of ORS
480.110 through 480.165 and/or OAR chapter 837, division 12.

(2) A Citation may impose a penalty or provide a warning
(OAR 837-12-1050, Table 2).

(3) The Citation shall be forwarded to the Office of State Fire
Marshal within ten days of issuance. Where possible, each Citation
shall be accompanied by a copy of the issuing authority’s written
report, inspection sheets, Fire District Property Report (or evidence
receipt — Form #920-021-06) or any other forms that are complet-
ed during the process of issuing Citations.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall issue a notice of civil
penalty based upon the information contained in the Citation and any
accompanying documentation.

[ED. NOTE: Tables and Forms referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1070 
Hearings

(1) Any Person may request a hearing regarding the assessment
of a civil penalty.

(2) Hearings Requests shall be filed at the Salem Office of State
Fire Marshal within 20 days from the date of service of the notice
of civil penalty.

(3) Any Person who requests a hearing shall be entitled to a
hearing.

(4) The hearing process may include:
(a) An informal conference to discuss if there is a basis for

informal disposition of a civil penalty by stipulation, agreed settle-
ment, or other means;

(b) A Formal Hearing before a hearings officer where the laws,
rules, and evidence are presented, considered, and a proposed opin-
ion and order issued.

(5) The Formal Hearing shall be conducted as a contested case
hearing according to the provision of the Administrative Procedures
Act (APA) ORS 183.413 to 183.470.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1080 
Informal Conference

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal will provide an opportu-
nity for a Person to informally discuss a civil penalty that has been
assessed against them.

(2) An informal conference may be requested prior to a request
for a Formal Hearing; however, a Formal Hearing shall be request-
ed within 20 days of the date of service of the notice of civil penal-
ty.

(3) The request for an informal conference may be in any form;
and

(a) Shall be addressed to the Office of State Fire Marshal; and
(b) Shall clearly state the subject to be discussed.
(4) An informal conference concerning civil penalties shall not

extend the 20 days allowed for filing a Formal Hearing request.
(5) If the parties agree, an informal conference may be held by

telephone.

Chapter 837     Department of Oregon State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2003 Edition 15 - 322 (11-15-02)



(6) As the result of an informal conference, the State Fire Mar-
shal may, for good cause, amend, withdraw, or reduce a civil penal-
ty. Such action is done in accordance with the Administrative Pro-
cedures Act (APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1090 
Formal Hearing

(1) A Person may request a Formal Hearing at any time before
or after an informal conference, as long as the 20 day period for
requesting a hearing has not lapsed.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal will arrange for a hearings
officer to conduct the Formal Hearing.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal will set a date, time, and
location for the Formal Hearing.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal will notify, by letter, the
Person requesting the hearing (or their designated representative) of
the date, time, location, and the hearings officer conducting the For-
mal Hearing.

(5) The hearings officer will hear the case and render a proposed
opinion and order, including recommended findings of fact and con-
clusions of law, according to the Administrative Procedures Act
(APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725.

(6) The Formal Hearing shall be conducted as follows:
(a) The hearings officer will act as an impartial third party;
(b) It is not necessary for the Person that requested the hearing

to be represented by legal counsel;
(c) The Office of State Fire Marshal may or may not elect to be

represented by legal counsel;
(d) Testimony shall be taken under oath;
(e) All evidence of a Type commonly relied upon by a reason-

ably prudent Person in the conduct of their serious affairs is admis-
sible;

(f) Hearsay evidence is admissible if it meets statutory standards
for being reliable and trustworthy.

(7) The proposed opinion and order shall be reviewed by the
State Fire Marshal and, if accepted, finalized and issued as a final
order.

NOTE: Final orders shall be forwarded to the authority issuing the Cita-
tion within ten days of signing of the Final Order.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1100 
Penalty Adjustments

(1) The assessment or adjustment of penalties for amounts other
than those set by OAR 837-012-1050 shall be done only by the State
Fire Marshal through a hearings process either formally or informally.

(2) The assessment of penalties not in conformance with OAR
837-012-1050 may be made only after considering:

(a) The gravity and magnitude of the Violation;
(b) The Person’s previous record;
(c) Such other considerations as the State Fire Marshal may

consider appropriate.
(3) During a Formal Hearing or informal conference, the Office

of State Fire Marshal may modify or adjust the Citation, cited Vio-
lations, or penalties assessed in order to meet the requirements of
these rules and to ensure uniformity and consistency in their appli-
cation statewide.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1110 
Judicial Review

Judicial review of an agency order made after a hearing shall
be provided according to ORS 183.480 or 183.497.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93

837-012-1120 
Payment of Civil Penalty

(1) The penalty shall be paid to the Office of State Fire Marshal
within ten days after an order assessing a civil penalty becomes final
by operation of law or on an appeal.

(2) Penalties not paid within ten days after the order becomes
final may be recorded with the county clerk in any county in Ore-
gon.

(3) Upon recording of the penalty, the county clerk shall record
the name of the Person incurring the penalty and the amount of the
penalty in the County Clerk Lien Record.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1130 
Type I Violations

(1) Type I Violations are subject to penalties ranging from $0
to $75 a day depending upon Instance and in accordance with OAR
837-12-1050(3).

(2) Examples of Type I Violations include but are not limited
to:

(a) Failure to post “No Smoking” signs at the retail Fireworks
sales stand;

(b) Failure to provide required fire extinguishing equipment at
the retail Fireworks sales stand;

(c) Failure to maintain a clean, orderly area within 20 feet of the
retail sales area;

(d) Failure to keep a copy of the retail sales permit at the retail
sales stand while the stand is open;

(e) Possession of illegal Fireworks worth less than $50.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1140 
Type II Violations

(1) Type II Violations are subject to penalties ranging from a
warning to $150 a day depending upon Instance and in accordance
with OAR 837-012-1050(3).

(2) Examples of Type II Violations include but are not limited
to:

(a) Failure to have a Person 18 years of age or over inside the
retail sales stand during business hours;

(b) Omission of the required Wholesale Permit number, address
and name of the Wholesaler on any Fireworks shipped within or into
the State of Oregon;

(c) Omission of the name of the retail sales permit holder and
retail sales permit number on Fireworks cartons, containers, cases,
and associated paperwork purchased by the permit holder and
shipped within or into the State of Oregon;

(d) Possession of more than $50 but less than $100 worth of ille-
gal Fireworks;

(e) Discharge of less than $50 worth of illegal Fireworks;
(f) Smoking or the ignition of Fireworks within 50 feet of any

Fireworks stand.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1150 
Type III Violations

(1) Type III Violations are subject to penalties ranging from $75
to $250 a day depending upon Instance and in accordance with OAR
837-012-1050(3).

(2) Examples of Type III Violations include but are not limit-
ed to:

(a) Possession of $100 or more of illegal 1.4g Fireworks;
(b) Sale of any amount of 1.4g Fireworks without the necessary

permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal and/or, where
required, the local authority having jurisdiction;

(c) Sales of allowed Fireworks to children less than 16 years of
age;
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(d) The purchase of Fireworks by an Oregon Retail Permit hold-
er from an unlicensed Wholesaler;

(e) Purchase of any amount of 1.4g Fireworks without the nec-
essary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal or, where
required, the local authority having jurisdiction;

(f) Manufacturing or altering any Fireworks;
(g) Storage of any amount of 1.3g Fireworks without the nec-

essary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal and/or,
where required, the local authority having jurisdiction;

(h) Use of Fireworks in a manner that presents a danger to life
or property.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 – ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 8-2000(Temp), f. 6-5-00, cert.
ef. 6-5-00 thru 12-1-00; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

837-012-1160 
Type IV Violations

(1) Type IV Violations are subject to penalties ranging from
$125 to $500 a day depending upon Instance and in accordance with
OAR 837-012-1050(3).

(2) Examples of Type IV Violations include but are not limit-
ed to:

(a) Possession of $50 or more of 1.3g Fireworks without the
necessary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal and/or,
where required, the local authority having jurisdiction;

(b) Conducting a public Fireworks display without the neces-
sary permits and/or pyrotechnician certification issued by the Office
of State Fire Marshal and/or, where required, the local authority hav-
ing jurisdiction

(c) Purchase of any amount of 1.3g Fireworks without the nec-
essary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal and/or,
where required, the local authority having jurisdiction;

(d) Conducting the sale of any amount of 1.3g Fireworks with-
out the necessary permits issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal
and/or, where required, the local authority having jurisdiction;

(e) Conducting a public display using illegal or unauthorized
Fireworks;

(f) Intentional or indiscriminate use of Fireworks which injure
someone or cause more than $250 in property damage;

(g) Wholesale sales of Fireworks without an Oregon Wholesale
Permit;

(h) Storage of Fireworks by a Wholesaler in an unapproved
location.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.090 & ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.110 - ORS 480.165 
Hist.: FM 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-93; OSFM 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-23-01

Explosives
837-012-1200
Purpose and Scope

(1) The purpose of these rules is to establish standards, policies,
and procedures for the Possession, storage, and use of Explosives for
the protection and safety of the public, first responders, and Indi-
viduals purchasing, possessing, storing, using, and transporting
Explosives.

(2) The scope of these rules applies to the implementation of
ORS 480.200 through 480.290.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & ORS 480.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1210
Definitions

For purposes of OAR 837-12-1200 through 837-12-1420 the
following definitions apply:

(1) “Authorized Agent” as referenced in ORS 480.210 means
an employee or representative of a Manufacturer of Explosives or
Dealer in Explosives licensed by BATF who possesses Explosives
for purposes of manufacturing or dealing. The term does not include
an employee or representative who uses or possesses Explosives for
other purposes.

(2) “BATF” means the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and
Firearms.

(3) “Certificate of Possession” has the meaning provided in
ORS 480.200(1).

(4) “Certificate of Registration” has the meaning provided in
ORS 480.200(2).

(5) “Day Box” means:
(a) a structure or container used for the temporary transport or

temporary keeping of explosives for present use;
(b) that is always attended and in the line of sight vision of a

holder of a Certificate of Possession; and
(c) that complies with the construction requirements of NFPA

495, Explosive Materials Code, 1996 Edition, 6-6.3 (a) and (b).
(6) “Dealer” as referenced in ORS 480.210 means any Person

engaged in the business of distributing Explosives at wholesale or
retail.

(7) “Detonator” means any device containing an initiating or
primary Explosive that is used for initiating detonation, and not con-
taining more than 10g of total Explosive material per unit, exclud-
ing ignition or delay charges. The term includes, but is not limited
to, electric Detonators of the instantaneous and delay types, Deto-
nators for use with safety fuses, detonating cord delay connectors,
and nonelectric Detonators of the instantaneous and delay types that
consist of a detonating cord, a shock tube, or any other replacement
for electric leg wires according to NFPA 495, Explosive Materials
Code, 1996 Edition.

(8) “Expire” as referenced in ORS 480.239 and 480.244 means
a renewal Certificate of Possession or renewal of Certificate of Reg-
istration has not been issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal on
or before the expiration date of the current certificate.

(9) “Explosive” or “Explosives” has the meaning provided in
ORS 480.200(3).

(10) “Facility” means a single building, structure, or container
used or intended to be used for the storage of Explosives. A Day Box
is not a Facility.

(11) “Fertilizer” means any substance, or any combination or
mixture of substances, designed for use principally as a source of
plant food, in inducing increased crop yields or plant growth, or pro-
ducing any physical or chemical change in the soil and Shall contain
five percent or more of available nitrogen, phosphorus pentoxide
(phosphoric acid) or potassium oxide (potash), singly, collectively
or in combination, except hays, straws, peat and leaf mold, and unfor-
tified animal manures according to ORS 633.310 (5).

(12) “Formal Hearing” means a proceeding before a hearings
officer conducted pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act
(APA), ORS chapter 183.

(13) “Individual” means a single human being.
(14) “Informal Conference” means a meeting between the

party(ies) and the Office of State Fire Marshal, prior to a Formal
Hearing, that may include a discussion about whether a basis exists
for informal disposition of a contested case by stipulation, agreed set-
tlement, consent order or other means.

(15) “Lapse” as referenced in ORS 480.239 and 480.244, has
the meaning provided in subsection (h) of this rule.

(16) “Magazine” has the meaning provided in ORS 480.200(5).
(Refer to OAR 837-12-1210(j) for a definition of Facility).

(17) “Manufacturer” as referenced in ORS 480.210 means any
Person engaged in the business of manufacturing Explosives for pur-
poses of sale or distribution or for the Person’s own use.

(18) “NFPA” means the National Fire Protection Association.
(19) “Owner” means a Person with a vested ownership inter-

est in the Magazine. The term does not mean a renter, lessor, or sub-
lessor of the Magazine.

(20) “Person” means one or more Individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of Persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public cor-
porations.

(21) “Possession” means to own, to have physical Possession
of, or otherwise to exercise dominion or control over Explosives.
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(22) “Re-location” for purposes of ORS 480.244 and OAR 837-
12-1360 means moving a Magazine any distance.

(23) “Request for Hearing” means a written request for a For-
mal Hearing.

(24) “Shall” means that the rule establishes a mandatory
requirement.

(25) “Small arms ammunition” has the meaning provided in
ORS 480.200(6).

(26) “Small arms ammunition primers” has the meaning pro-
vided in ORS 480.200(7).

(27) “ Store” means to deposit and place Explosives in a Mag-
azine for safekeeping and future use.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1220
General

(1) A Certificate of Possession allows the holder of the certifi-
cate to engage in those activities including the purchase, Possession,
storage and transportation of Explosives when those activities are
otherwise in conformance with the requirements of these rules and
any other applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and regula-
tions.

(2) Holders of a Certificate of Possession Shall comply with the
following:

(a) ORS 480.200 through 480.290; 
(b) OAR 837-012-1200 through 837-012-1420;
(c) All applicable regulations in the Oregon Uniform Fire Code,

1997 Edition, and Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edition;
(d) NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 1996 Edition, as

adopted in OAR 837-12-1340; and
(e) All applicable federal, state and local laws, rules, and reg-

ulations governing Explosives.
(3) Holders of a Certificate of Possession Shall purchase Explo-

sives only from those Persons who have a BATF license to sell
Explosives.

(4) Pursuant to ORS 480.210(1)(b), a BATF Dealer or Manu-
facturer license authorizes the holder of such a license to possess
Explosives only when the Possession is for purposes of a use or
activity expressly authorized by the license, namely the business of
manufacturing or dealing in Explosives.

(5) Proof pursuant to ORS 480.210(3)(b) Shall be:
(a) A certified copy of a Manufacturer or Dealer license issued

by the BATF; or
(b) A written certification signed by a Person that holds the

license referred to in subsection (a) that certifies under penalty of per-
jury that the Person charged under ORS 480.210(1) is an employee
or representative of the licensed Person and is engaged in the busi-
ness of manufacturing or dealing in Explosives.

(6) Holders of a Certificate of Possession or a Certificate of
Registration Shall notify the Office of State Fire Marshal in writing
of a change in their address within two weeks of the date of the
change.

(7) Holders of a Certificate of Registration Shall notify the
Office of State Fire Marshal in writing of a change in ownership of
a Magazine within two weeks of the date of the change.

(8) Holders of an unexpired Certificate of Possession or Cer-
tificate of Registration may request a duplicate copy of their cer-
tificate by certifying in writing to the Office of State Fire Marshal
that their certificate has been lost, stolen or destroyed. Written
requests shall be signed and dated by the holder of the certificate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1230 
Fees

(1) Fees Shall be payable to the Office of State Fire Marshal.
(2) Fees Shall be paid at, or mailed to, the Office of State Fire

Marshal and Shall accompany the appropriate application.

(3) Payment Shall be made by personal check, business check,
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Office of State
Fire Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check,
the Office of State Fire Marshal Shall not take any action on the
application until the check has cleared the bank.

(4) Fees are:
(a) $50 - Certificate of Possession
(b) $30 - Examination
(c) $125 - Magazine Registration with Office of State Fire Mar-

shal inspection
(d) $50 Magazine Registration with acceptance of BATF

inspection
(5) Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1240 
Applications

(1) Applications for the examination required under ORS
480.225(1)(j), a Certificate of Possession, and a Certificate of Reg-
istration Shall be on forms provided by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal.

(2) Applicants Shall complete the applications in full and pay
the applicable fees before the Office of State Fire Marshal will pro-
cess the applications.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall request disclosure of
the applicant’s social security number on the applications. Any social
security number disclosed on an application may be used for iden-
tification purposes only and Shall be kept confidential unless other-
wise provided by law.

(4) Application for the examination required under ORS
480.225(1)(j):

(a) The application Shall be completed by the Individual who
will be taking the required examination.

(b) The application and fee Shall be received by the Office of
State Fire Marshal a minimum of fourteen days before the applicant
intends to complete the examination to:

(i) Allow time for the fee payment to clear the bank; and
(ii) Allow time for the Office of State Fire Marshal to notify the

applicant of the acceptance of the application and fee payment.
(5) Application for a Certificate of Possession under ORS

480.210:
(a) The Individual who intends to possess Explosives Shall

complete the application.
(b) A separate application and fee Shall be submitted for each

Certificate of Possession to be issued.
(c) Applicants Shall submit with their application a fingerprint

card compatible with the processing requirements of the Oregon
State Police Identification Services Division.

(6) Application for a Certificate of Registration of Magazine
under ORS 480.244:

(a) The Owner of the Magazine Shall complete the application.
(b) A separate application and fee Shall be submitted for each

Magazine to be registered.
(c) Applicants Shall specify on their applications whether:
(i) They request the Office of State Fire Marshal to inspect the

Magazine to be registered; or
(ii) They request the Office of State Fire Marshal to accept a

BATF inspection of the Magazine to be registered in lieu of the
Office of State Fire Marshal inspection.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - 480.290 & 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1250 
Eligibility for a Certificate of Possession

To be eligible for a Certificate of Possession, applicants Shall
meet the requirements under ORS 480.225 and 480.230.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 and ORS 480.990(6)
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Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1260 
Certificate of Possession – Examination

(1) Upon receipt and processing of a completed application, the
Office of State Fire Marshal Shall notify the applicant of the date,
time and place for the examination.

(2) Applicants Shall provide photo identification at the time
they appear to take the examination. The Office of State Fire Mar-
shal Shall only accept photo identification issued by the Department
of Motor Vehicles in the applicant’s state of residency.

(3) The examination is based upon, and Shall examine the appli-
cant’s knowledge of:

(a) NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 1996 Edition as
adopted in OAR 837-12-1340; and 

(b) ORS 480.200 through 480.290.
(4) The examination Shall be open book.
(a) Applicants are responsible for providing their own copy of

NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 1996 Edition, to use during
the examination.

(b) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall provide a copy of
ORS 480.200 through 480.290 for use during the examination.

(5) To pass the examination, the applicant must answer cor-
rectly 80% or more of the examination questions.

(6) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall notify applicants of
the results of their examination at the address listed on their exam-
ination application.

(7) If an applicant fails to arrive at the scheduled examination
appointment, fails to complete the examination, or fails to pass the
examination, to reschedule the examination or to take the examina-
tion again, the applicant Shall submit to the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal a new application and fee pursuant to OAR 837-12-1230 and
837-12-1240.

(8) Passing examination scores Shall remain valid for two years
from the date the examination was completed. If the examinee has
not applied for and been issued a Certificate of Possession within two
years from the date of completion of the examination in which the
passing score was received, the examination score Shall be invalid
and the applicant Shall re-take and pass the examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1270 
Certificate of Possession - Issuance

(1) Upon receipt of a properly completed application, applica-
tion fee, and fingerprint card, the Office of State Fire Marshal Shall
conduct an investigation to ensure the applicant meets the require-
ments of ORS 480.225 and 480.230.

(2) The investigation Shall include, but is not limited to:
(a) Electronic processing of fingerprint cards through the Law

Enforcement Data System.
(b) Accessing records at Mental Health and Developmental Dis-

ability Services Division pursuant to ORS 480.225(1)(d).
(3) Upon its approval of an application, the Office of State Fire

Marshal Shall issue a Certificate of Possession to the applicant.
(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall assign a unique num-

ber to each Certificate of Possession issued. 
(5) The issuance of a Certificate of Possession does not in any

way constitute an approval by the Office of State Fire Marshal of any
Explosives possessed under the certificate.

(6) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall mail the original Cer-
tificate of Possession to the applicant at the address listed on the
application.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1280

Certificate of Possession - Renewal
(1) A Certificate of Possession Shall be renewed every three

years.
(2) The holder of the Certificate of Possession is not required

to retake the examination required under ORS 480.225(1)(j) unless
the current certificate Expires or Lapses.

(3) All other requirements for the issuance of a renewal of Cer-
tificate of Possession Shall be the same as for the issuance of the
original certificate.

(4) Applications for the renewal of a Certificate of Possession
Shall not be submitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal more than
90 days prior to the expiration date of the current certificate.

(5) Applications for the renewal of a Certificate of Possession
should be received by the Office of State Fire Marshal at least 60
days prior to the expiration date of the current certificate. This allows
the Office of State Fire Marshal adequate time to process the appli-
cation prior to the expiration date of the current certificate.

(6) Applications not received by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the current Cer-
tificate of Possession may not allow adequate processing time and
could result in the expiration, or Lapse, of the current certificate. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 and ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1290 
Explosives Storage

(1) Explosives Shall be Stored only in a Magazine that has been
issued a Certificate of Registration by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal.

(2) The storage of Explosives Shall be in compliance with all
applicable requirements of:

(a) NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 1996 Edition as
adopted in OAR 837-12-1340;

(b) Oregon Uniform Fire Code, 1997 Edition;
(c) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edition; and
(d) All applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and regu-

lations.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1300
Magazine Registration and Inspection

(1) Magazines not issued a Certificate of Registration Shall not
be used for the storage of Explosives.

(2) To be eligible for a Certificate of Registration, a Magazine
Shall comply with the requirements of:

(a) ORS 480.200 through 480.290;
(b) OAR 837-12-1200 through OAR 837-012-1240; 
(c) Oregon Uniform Fire Code, 1997 Edition; 
(d) Oregon Structural Specialty Code, 1998 Edition; 
(e) NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 1996 Edition as

adopted in OAR 837-12-1340; and
(f) All applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and regu-

lations.
(3) Prior to the issuance of a Certificate of Registration, the

Magazine Shall be inspected for compliance with these rules.
(4) The inspection Shall:
(a) Be completed by the Office of State Fire Marshal; or
(b) Be completed by the BATF pursuant to OAR 837-12-1320.
(5) A Certificate of Registration allows the holder of the cer-

tificate to Store Explosives in the registered Magazine when other-
wise in conformance with the requirements of these rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1310 
State Fire Marshal Inspection of Magazines

(1) The State Fire Marshal may complete an inspection of a
Magazine prior to the issuance of a Certificate of Registration pur-
suant to OAR 837-012-1300(3) and (4).
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(2) Upon receipt of information that a Magazine is not in com-
pliance with the requirements of these rules, the Office of State Fire
Marshal may conduct an inspection of the Magazine. 

(3) If, upon its inspection, the Office of State Fire Marshal
determines that the Magazine is not in compliance, the Office of
State Fire Marshal may issue a Notice of Correction to the Owner
of the Magazine.

(4) The Notice of Correction Shall be on a form provided by the
Office of State Fire Marshal.

(5) The Notice of Correction Shall specify the deficiencies
required to be corrected prior to the Magazine being issued a Cer-
tificate of Registration.

(6) The Notice of Correction Shall specify the date by which the
deficiencies are to be corrected.

(7) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall present a copy of the
Notice of Correction to the Owner of the Magazine by:

(a) Personal service;
(b) Service by certified mail; or
(c) Service by regular mail.
(8) After presenting a copy of the Notice of Correction to the

Owner of the Magazine, the Office of State Fire Marshal Shall retain
all remaining copies of the notice until the reinspection of the Mag-
azine is completed.

(9) At the end of the time allowed for correction of the defi-
ciencies, as stated in the Notice of Correction, the Office of State Fire
Marshal Shall:

(a) Reinspect the Magazine to determine if the deficiencies
specified in the Notice of Correction have been corrected; and

(b) Complete the reinspection section of the Notice of Correc-
tion.

(10) Upon reinspection of the Magazine, the Office of State Fire
Marshal shall provide a copy of the completed Notice of Correction
to the Owner of the Magazine pursuant to subsection (7) of this rule.

(11) Failure to correct the deficiencies noted in the Notice of
Correction will result in the following, until such time as the defi-
ciencies are corrected:

(a) The Magazine Shall not be issued a Certificate of Regis-
tration;

(b) The Magazine Shall not be issued a renewal Certificate of
Registration; or

(c) The Certificate of Registration for the Magazine Shall be
suspended or revoked.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1320
Certificate of Registration of Magazine – With Bureau of
Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms Inspection

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may accept an inspection
completed by BATF in lieu of the Office of State Fire Marshal
inspection.

(2) The decision to accept or not accept the BATF inspection
rests solely with the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall consider, but is not
limited to, the following criteria in deciding whether to accept a
BATF inspection:

(a) The inspection Shall be completed not more than three
months prior to the date of the application for a Certificate of Reg-
istration;

(b) The inspection Shall show the Magazine is in compliance
with these rules.

(c) If deficiencies are noted on the BATF inspection, the Office
of State Fire Marshal may decide to conduct its own inspection.
Should the Office State Fire Marshal decide to complete its own
inspection, the applicant Shall submit payment of the additional fee
amount of $75 required for a Certificate of Registration with a State
Fire Marshal inspection prior to the Office of State Fire Marshal con-
ducting its inspection.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1330
Certificate of Registration of Magazine – Renewal

(1) All requirements for the issuance of a Certificate of Regis-
tration Shall be met before a certificate is renewed.

(2) A Certificate of Registration Shall be renewed every two
years.

(3) Applications for the renewal of a Certificate of Registration
Shall not be submitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal more than
120 days prior to the expiration date of the current certificate. 

(4) Applications for the renewal of a Certificate of Registration
should be received by the Office of State Fire Marshal at least 90
days prior to the expiration date of the current certificate. This allows
the Office of State Fire Marshal adequate time to process the appli-
cation, including inspection by the State Fire Marshal of the Maga-
zine, prior to the expiration date of the current certificate.

(5) Applications not received by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal at least 90 days prior to the expiration date of the current Cer-
tificate of Registration may not allow adequate processing time and
could result in the expiration, or Lapse, of the current certificate.

(6) If a current Certificate of Registration Expires, or Lapses,
Explosives Shall no longer be Stored in the Magazine until the Mag-
azine is issued a renewal Certificate of Registration.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1340
Fire and Life Safety Standards

NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 1996 Edition, is hereby
adopted with the following exceptions:

(1) Chapter two is not adopted;
(2) Although NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, 1996 Edi-

tion, requires Magazines to be opened and inspected at intervals of
three days, the Office of State Fire Marshal requires Magazines to
be opened and inspected at intervals of seven days. (See NFPA 495,
Explosive Materials Code, 1996 Edition, 6-7.2);

(3) NFPA standards regarding the manufacture of Explosives
are not adopted; and 

(4) NFPA standards regarding the transportation of Explosives
are hereby adopted for purposes of the examination required under
ORS 480.225(1)(j).

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200  – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1350
Removal/Confiscation of Explosives

(1) Explosives Shall not be Stored in a Magazine, or possessed
by an Individual if:

(a) An application for a Certificate of Registration, or Certifi-
cate of Possession, is denied; 

(b) A Certificate of Registration, or Certificate of Possession,
is suspended or revoked pursuant to ORS 480.244(9) or 480.270 or
these rules; or

(c) A Certificate of Registration, or Certificate of Possession,
Expires or Lapses. 

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal may confiscate Explosives
possessed or Stored in violation of ORS 480.200 to 480.290 or these
rules.

(3) Any confiscation of Explosives by the Office of State Fire
Marshal Shall be done pursuant to a warrant.

(4) Upon finding a violation, the Office of State Fire Marshal
may order that any Explosives be: 

(a) Transferred to a Magazine that has been issued a Certificate
of Registration by the Office of State Fire Marshal; 

(b) Returned to the supplier of the Explosives; or
(c) Disposed of in any manner the Office of State Fire Marshal

sees fit, including destruction of the explosives.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030 & ORS 480.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.239
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00
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837-012-1360
Magazine Re-location — Reporting

(1) Re-location of any Magazine required to be registered under
ORS 480.244 Shall be reported to the Office of State Fire Marshal
within 24 hours of its Relocation.

(2) The Owner, or the Individual with physical Possession
and/or control of the Magazine, Shall be the Individual responsible
for reporting the Relocation of the Magazine.

(3) The toll free reporting number for reporting Relocation of
the Magazine is 1-877-459-9366.

(4) A report of Relocation of the Magazine Shall include the fol-
lowing information:

(a) Certificate of Registration number issued to the Magazine;
(b) New location of the Magazine including the street address,

city, and state;
(c) The name and phone number of the Individual reporting the

Relocation of the Magazine; and
(d) The name of the fire department having jurisdiction, if

known.
(3) There is no fee for the reporting of the Relocation of a Mag-

azine.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 - ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1370
Record Keeping Requirements for Explosives

(1) Holders of a Certificate of Possession Shall maintain a
record of the type and quantity of all Explosives possessed.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal may inspect the records
required to be maintained under ORS 480.235(5) and subsection (1)
of this rule:

(a) At the time of the Magazine inspection by the Office of State
Fire Marshal; or

(b) Upon demand by the Office of State Fire Marshal.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1380
Hazardous Materials Reporting

Persons possessing 10 pounds or more of Explosives, as clas-
sified by the United States Department of Transportation, Shall annu-
ally complete the Hazardous Substance Survey pursuant to ORS
453.307 to 453.372 and OAR chapter 837, division 85.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453, ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 5-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00 thru 10-9-00; OSFM 12-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1390
Denial, Suspension or Revocation

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or
revoke a Certificate of Possession if:

(a) An Individual who has applied for, or who has been issued,
a Certificate of Possession is ineligible for the certificate under ORS
480.225 or 480.230; or

(b) The Individual who has been issued a Certificate of Pos-
session has been convicted of a violation under ORS 480.990(6).

(2) If an Individual to whom a Certificate of Possession was
issued is found to be ineligible for the certificate under ORS 480.225
or 480.230, the Office of State Fire Marshal Shall revoke the cer-
tificate.

(a) An Individual is ineligible for a Certificate of Possession if,
before or after being issued a certificate, the Individual fails to com-
ply with ORS 480.225 or 480.230.

(b) An Individual is ineligible for a Certificate of Possession
under ORS 480.225(1)(L) if the Individual fails to possess, use, Store
or transport Explosives in accordance with these rules and all other
applicable federal, state or local laws, rules or regulations.

(3) If an Individual to whom a Certificate of Possession was
issued has been convicted of a violation under ORS 480.990(6), the
Office of State Fire Marshal Shall consider the following guidelines:

(a) If the Individual has been convicted of one violation, the
Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or revoke the Cer-
tificate of Possession for up to one year;

(b) If the Individual has been convicted of two violations, the
Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or revoke the Cer-
tificate of Possession for up to two years; 

(c) If the Individual has been convicted of three or more viola-
tions, the Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or revoke
the Certificate of Possession for up to three years.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, suspend or
revoke a Certificate of Registration:

(a) If the Magazine registered, or to be registered, is ineligible
for registration under ORS 480.200 to 480.290 or these rules;

(b) For failure to comply with any provision of ORS 480.200
to 480.290 or these rules.

(5) If a Magazine that has been issued a Certificate of Regis-
tration is found to be ineligible, the Office of State Fire Marshal Shall
revoke the certificate.

(6) A Magazine is ineligible for a Certificate of Registration if,
before or after the Magazine is registered, the Magazine does not
comply with ORS 480.244 or these rules.

(7) Suspension or revocation of a Certificate of Possession or a
Certificate of Registration may include suspension or revocation of
the current certificate and the right to apply for a renewal certificate.

(8) The period for denial, suspension or revocation of a Cer-
tificate of Possession or Certificate of Registration Shall not exceed
three years, unless otherwise provided by law. In determining the
appropriate sanction, the Office of State Fire Marshal Shall consid-
er the following criteria:

(a) The severity of the violation(s) and/or its impact on public
safety;

(b) The number of similar or related violations; 
(c) Whether the violation(s) was willful or intentional;
(d) The prior history of sanctions imposed by the Office of State

Fire Marshal against the Individual or Person; and
(e) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire

Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation(s).
(9) Any notice of denial, suspension or revocation issued by the

Office of State Fire Marshal Shall be mailed by certified mail to the
most recent address on file with the Office of State Fire Marshal pur-
suant to OAR 837-12-1220(6).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist. : OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1400
Contested Cases

(1) A Person may request a Formal Hearing regarding the sus-
pension, revocation, or denial of a Certificate of Registration or a
Certificate of Possession by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(2) A Request for Hearing Shall be timely filed.
(3) A Request for Hearing is timely filed when the request is

postmarked or received by the Office of State Fire Marshal within
20 days from the date of service of the notice of suspension, revo-
cation, or denial, unless a 60-day deadline applies pursuant to ORS
183.435.

(4) If a Request for Hearing is not timely filed under section (3)
of this rule, the Person Shall have waived the right to a contested case
under ORS chapter 183.

(5) A Person may write to or call the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal to informally discuss the notice of suspension, revocation, or
denial, however, an informal communication Shall not extend the
deadline established in subsection (3) of this rule.

(6) A contested case may include:
(a) An Informal Conference; and/or
(b) A Formal Hearing.
(7) A contested case Shall be conducted pursuant to the provi-

sions of ORS chapter 183 and the rules adopted thereto.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.:OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00
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837-012-1410 
Informal Conference

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may provide an opportu-
nity for an Informal Conference.

(2) A request for an Informal Conference may be made verbally
or in writing; and Shall:

(a) Be made or addressed to the Office of State Fire Marshal;
and

(b) Clearly state the issue(s) to be discussed.
(3) If the Office of State Fire Marshal and the party(ies) agree,

an Informal Conference may be held by telephone.
(4) After an Informal Conference, the Office of State Fire Mar-

shal may amend, withdraw, or reduce the suspension, revocation or
denial. Such action Shall be taken in accordance with ORS chapter
183 and the rules adopted thereto.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 80.990(6)
Hist.: OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

837-012-1420
Formal Hearing 

(1) A Person may file a written Request for Hearing before or
after an Informal Conference, at any time before the deadline estab-
lished in OAR 837-12-1400(3).

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall arrange for a hear-
ings officer to conduct the Formal Hearing.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall set a date, time, and
location for the Formal Hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, ORS 476, ORS 478 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.200 – ORS 480.290 & ORS 480.990(6)
Hist.:OSFM 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-00

DIVISION 20
FLAMMABLE AND COMBUSTIBLE LIQUIDS
Flammable Liquid Dispensing Regulations

837-020-0025
Purpose and Scope

These rules establish licensing requirements for Nonretail and
Conditional Nonretail Facility Owner and Operators and the require-
ments each Nonretail and Conditional Use Customer shall meet to
dispense Class 1 Flammable Liquids at those Facilities.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.310 - ORS 480.385
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91,
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert.
ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0030
Effective Dates

837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125 are effective upon date of
filing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.310 - ORS 480.385
Hist.: OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0035 
Definitions

For purposes of ORS 480.310 to 480.385 and OAR 837-020-
0025 through 837-020-0125 only, the following definitions apply:

(1) “Business Use” shall mean that all Class 1 Flammable Liq-
uids dispensed into Motor Vehicles and Containers shall be used only
in the course of business activities. 

(2) “Class 1 Flammable Liquid” shall mean any liquid with a
flash point below 25 degrees Fahrenheit, closed cup tester.

(3) “Container” shall mean all types of portable containers.
(4) “Conditional Use Customer” shall mean a Person who may

dispense Class 1 Flammable Liquids at a licensed Conditional Non-
retail Facility, and meets the requirements of OAR 837-020-0045
through 837-020-0095. 

(5) “Conditional Nonretail Facility” shall mean a Nonretail
Facility licensed by the State Fire Marshal, where Conditional Use
Customers may dispense Class 1 Flammable Liquids. 

(6) “Dispensing” shall mean the transfer of a Class 1
Flammable Liquid from a Facility to a Motor Vehicle or Container.

(7) “Documentation” shall mean providing a Federal Employ-
er Identification Number, or verifiable documents, which provide
proof of Equivalent Documentation. Initial documents may be pho-
tocopies or facsimiles of the original documents. Subsequent Doc-
umentation may be photocopies or facsimiles of the original docu-
ments, or printouts of web site licensing information that shows the
business is currently licensed to operate.

(8) “Dual Operations “ shall mean a Nonretail Facility at which
Class 1 Flammable Liquids are dispensed at Retail and Nonretail
with either a time separation of the Retail and Nonretail operations
or a separation of the retail and nonretail pump islands by a distance
of at least 50 feet.

(9) “Emergency” shall mean any man-made or natural element
or circumstance causing or threatening loss of life, injury to Person
or property, human suffering or financial loss, and includes, but is not
limited to, fire, explosion, flood, severe weather, drought, earthquake,
volcanic activity, spills or releases of oil or hazardous material as
defined in ORS 466.605, contamination, utility or transportation
emergencies, disease, blight, infestation, crisis influx of migrants
unmanageable by the county, civil disturbance, riot, sabotage and war.

(10) “Emergency Management Agency” shall mean an orga-
nization created and authorized under ORS 401.015 to 401.105,
401.260 to 401.325 and 401.355 to 401.580 by the state, county or
city to provide for and assure the conduct and coordination of func-
tions for comprehensive Emergency program management.

(11) “Emergency Service Agency” shall mean an agency
defined in ORS 401.025 or an entity authorized by an Emergency
Service Agency to provide services during an Emergency.

(12) “Emergency Service Worker” shall mean an Individual
who, under the direction of an Emergency Service Agency or Emer-
gency Management Agency, performs Emergency services and:

(a) Is a registered volunteer or independently volunteers to serve
without compensation and is accepted by the office or the Emergency
Management Agency of a county or city; or

(a) Is a member of the Oregon State Defense Force acting in
support of the Emergency service system.

(13) “Emergency Services” includes those activities provided
by state and local government agencies with Emergency operational
responsibilities to prepare for and carry out any activity to prevent,
minimize, respond to or recover from an Emergency. These activi-
ties include, without limitation, coordination, preparedness planning,
training, interagency liaison, fire fighting, oil or hazardous materi-
al spill or release cleanup as defined in ORS 466.605, law enforce-
ment, medical, health and sanitation services, engineering and pub-
lic works, search and rescue activities, warning and public
information, damage assessment, administration and fiscal man-
agement, and those measures defined as “civil defense” in section 3
of the Act of January 12, 1951, P.L. 81-920 (50 U.S.C. 22520.

(14) “Employee” shall mean an Individual who works for an
Operator or an Owner.

(15) “Equivalent Documentation” shall mean: Documentation
that meets or exceeds the requirements of Documentation required
under ORS 480.345. The final decision as to what is acceptable as
Equivalent Documentation rests with the State Fire Marshal.

(16) “General Public” shall mean someone other than a Non-
retail or Conditional Use Customer.

(17) “Individual” shall mean a single human being.
(18) “License” shall mean the official document issued by the

Office of State Fire Marshal that authorizes the operation of a Non-
retail or Conditional Nonretail Facility when otherwise in compliance
with all applicable requirements of OAR 837-020-0040.

(19) “License Application” shall mean the form(s) and accom-
panying Documentation required to be completed and submitted to
the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval prior to the issuance of
a Nonretail or Conditional Nonretail Facility License.
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(20) “Motor Vehicle” shall mean, a vehicle that is self-propelled
or designed for self-propulsion, as defined by Oregon Vehicle Code
801.360.

(21) “Nonretail Customer” shall mean an operating business
enterprise, government agency, or nonprofit or charitable organiza-
tion who otherwise meets the customer requirements of ORS
480.345.

(22) “Nonretail Facility” shall mean a facility licensed by the
State Fire Marshal, where Class 1 Flammable Liquids are dispensed
through a fuel Dispensing device that limits access to qualified Non-
retail Customers. 

NOTE: A Dual Operation Facility is also a Nonretail Facility.
(23) “Operator” shall mean a Person that operates a Nonretail

or a Conditional Nonretail Facility.
(24) “Oregon Uniform Fire Code (OUFC)” shall mean the Ore-

gon Uniform Fire Code, 1998 Edition.
(25) “Owner” shall mean any Person that is the Owner of a

Nonretail or a Conditional Nonretail Facility. An Owner may also
be an Operator.

(26) “Person” shall mean one or more Individuals, legal repre-
sentatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of Persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public cor-
porations. 

(27) “Retail Facility” shall mean a Facility that sells Class 1
flammable Liquids to the General Public in compliance with ORS
480.330.

(28) “Verifiable Documentation” shall mean Documentation
that can be verified by the State Fire Marshal as true and accurate. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.310 - ORS 480.385
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91,
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 2-1995, f. 10-11-
95, cert. ef. 10-16-95; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0040 
General

(1) Nonretail and Conditional Nonretail Facility Operators
desiring to engage in Nonretail and Conditional Nonretail Facility
operations shall comply with all applicable state, federal and local
laws, rules and regulations including, but not limited to:

(a) ORS 480.310 through 480.385;
(b) OAR 837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125;
(c) Oregon Uniform Fire Code, 1998 Edition;
(d) OAR Chapter 837, Division 85 – Hazardous Materials

Reporting; and
(e) NFPA 30 and 30A.
(2) In addition to other applicable provisions of law, each Non-

retail and Conditional Nonretail Facility shall meet the following
requirements as per OAR 837-020-0040:

(a) Proper drainage grades or curbs shall be situated to prevent
any spills from flowing towards any building or other pump islands;

(b) Locations for the emergency fuel shutdown devices must be
clearly and conspicuously posted;

(c) Instructions for the operation of Nonretail Dispensing
devices shall be clearly and conspicuously posted;

(d) Locations and instructions for all fire extinguishers shall be
clearly and conspicuously posted;

(e) Be adequately lighted at all times when available for use;
(f) A fire alarm transmitting device or a telephone not requir-

ing a coin or credit card to operate shall be provided at each Nonre-
tail and Conditional Nonretail Facility during all hours of operation.
This equipment shall be maintained in good working order in the
event Emergency assistance is needed; and

(g) All applicable provisions of the OUFC shall be met.
(3) All Nonretail and Conditional Nonretail Facilities shall have

the following warning signs posted. These signs shall:
(a) Be readily visible and readable from each Class 1

Flammable Liquid Dispensing pump from a distance of ten feet;
(b) State that it is a violation of law, subject to penalty, to dis-

pense Class 1 Flammable Liquids without first receiving the train-
ing required by OAR 837-020-0055; and

(c) At all Nonretail Facilities (except Conditional Nonretail
Facilities), state that it is a violation of law, subject to penalty, to dis-
pense Class 1 Flammable Liquids for personal use or into Motor
Vehicles or Containers not owned or used by a business, government,
non-profit, or charitable organization, per ORS 480.345(4);

(4) In addition to the provisions required by OAR 837-020-
0040, Nonretail Dual Operation Facilities shall:

(a) Have signs visible from each driveway access point direct-
ing customers to the “ Retail” and/or “Nonretail” pump islands. Signs
shall be readily visible and readable, be at least three feet by four feet
in size, and have a minimum height of six-inch letters on a con-
trasting background;

(b) Where Retail and Nonretail Dispensing of Class 1
Flammable Liquids occurs during the same hours, Nonretail pump
islands shall be separated from Retail pump islands by a space of at
least 50 feet. After February 1, 2002, Nonretail and Retail pump
islands may be separated by a distance of no less than 20 feet, pro-
vided prior approval is given by the Office of State Fire Marshal, and
that an approved barrier is installed according to the provisions of
the OUFC;

(c) Unless pump islands are separated by at least 50 feet (20 feet
after February 1, 2002), Retail and Nonretail Dispensing shall not
occur during the same hours at a Facility.

(d) Where Retail and Nonretail Dispensing is separated only by
time, signs shall be visible from each driveway access point and each
Class 1 Flammable Liquid Dispensing pump stating the days and
hours that separate retail and nonretail operations occur. These signs
shall be readily visible and readable, be at least three feet by four feet
in size, and have a minimum height of six-inch letters on a con-
trasting background.

(5) At least 45 days prior to the start of intended operations, the
Facility Owner or Operator of each new Nonretail and Conditional
Nonretail Facility covered by OAR 837-020-0040 shall file the
appropriate License Application forms and certifications with the
Office of State Fire Marshal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.310 - ORS 480.385
Hist.: FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 2-1995, f. 10-11-95, cert. ef.
10-16-95; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0045 
Operation of Class 1 Flammable Liquid Dispensing Device by
General Public Prohibited

No Owner or Operator of a Facility where Class 1 Flammable
Liquids are dispensed at Retail shall allow any Individual other than
Owners, Operators, and their Employees, when acting in their
employment capacity to use or manipulate any pump, hose, pipe or
other device used at the facility to dispense Class 1 Flammable Liq-
uids into a fuel tank of a Motor Vehicle or Container.

EXCEPTIONS: 
(1) Individuals other than Owners, Operators and Employees of the Non-
retail facility may be authorized to dispense Class 1 flammable Liquids at
Nonretail Facilities if such Individuals meet the requirements of ORS
480.310 through 480.385 and OAR 837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125.
(2) Motorcycle assisted fueling at Retail Facilities. A motorcyclist operating
their motorcycle may handle the nozzle for the Dispensing of fuel, but shall
not activate or deactivate any fuel Dispensing device. Individuals who vio-
late this fueling procedure shall be subject to citation under OAR 837-020-
0125.
(3) Aviation fuel dispensed at airports permitted by the Oregon Department
of Aviation.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.330 & ORS 480.345
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91,
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert.
ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0050 
Conditions for Operation of Dispensing Device by Nonretail
Customers

Notwithstanding ORS 480.330 and 480.340 or OAR 837-020-
0045, Persons, other than owners, may be authorized to dispense
Class 1 Flammable Liquids at nonretail facilities only under the fol-
lowing condition: The Nonretail and Conditional Facility Customer
satisfies all requirements of OAR 837-020-0045 through 837-020-
0095.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert.
ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0055 
Fire Safety Training

(1) Owners or Operators of Nonretail and Conditional Nonre-
tail Facilities shall provide an initial fire safety training course to each
Nonretail and Conditional Use Customer authorized to dispense
Class 1 Flammable Liquids. The training may be delivered through
any suitable method that contains all provisions of 837-020-0055(2)
and shall be provided prior to allowing Nonretail and Conditional
Use Customers to dispense 

Class 1 Flammable Liquids. A signed document indicating
receipt of safety training shall be maintained by each operator as part
of each customer file. 

(2) The fire safety training described in section (1) shall include,
but not be limited to, instruction on:

(a) The hazards of all forms of Class 1 Flammable Liquids to
be dispensed by the Nonretail and Conditional Use Customer ;

(b) The location and operation of emergency fuel shutdown
devices required under the OUFC;

(c) The no smoking set-back requirements of the OUFC;
(d) Procedures for contacting the local fire department and other

emergency service organizations; 
(e) The use of the fire extinguishers required under the OUFC;

and
(f) The type of portable Containers that may be filled and the

safe procedures for filling them. 
(3) All Nonretail and Conditional Use Customers who wish to

dispense Class 1 Flammable Liquids at Nonretail and Conditional
Nonretail Facilities shall successfully complete the fire safety train-
ing described in sections (1) and (2) of this rule prior to engaging in
Dispensing operations. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef.
7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0060 
Quantity of Purchase Criteria

(1) Except as provided below, effective January 1, 2002, each
Nonretail Customer must file Documentation with the Owner or
Operator to show the Nonretail Customer purchases at least 900 gal-
lons of Class 1 Flammable Liquids and/or diesel fuel every 12
months for business, government, nonprofit, or charitable purposes.

(2) The 900 gallons may have been purchased from any source.
The Nonretail Customer shall provide Documentation to the Owner
or Operator to demonstrate this requirement has been met if the Non-
retail Customer does not purchase 900 gallons from the Owner or
Operator they have entered into an agreement with. This Docu-
mentation shall be readily available for review by the OSFM.

(3) Nonretail Customers that do not meet the requirements of
ORS 480.345 and this section shall have their access to Nonretail fuel
Dispensing revoked by the Nonretail Facility Owner or Operator.

(4) Nonretail Customers who wish to dispense Class 1
Flammable Liquids at a Nonretail Facility are not required to meet
the provisions of this section if:

(a) The Nonretail Customer annually provides Documentation
that the fuel qualifies as a deductible farming expense on the Non-
retail Customer’s Schedule F of their federal income tax return; or

(b) The fuel was purchased by a governmental agency provid-
ing fire, ambulance or police services; or

(c) The Nonretail Customer was a Customer of the Nonretail
Facility on and since June 30, 1991, and meets all other requirements
of OAR 837-020-0050.

(5) Nonretail Customer applicants must certify under ORS
162.075 they will purchase the quantity of fuel required by OAR
837-020-0060 within 12 months of the date of their first fuel pur-
chase or when their account was established. Failure to meet this
requirement shall result in termination as a Nonretail Customer. 

NOTE: this section does not apply to Conditional Use Customers.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345 & ORS 480.360
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert.
ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0065 
Certification and Record Keeping

(1) Each Owner or Operator of a Nonretail or Conditional Non-
retail Facility shall certify in writing that they have provided the safe-
ty training required by OAR 837-020-0055 to all their Nonretail and
Conditional Use Customers.

(2) Owner or Operators of Nonretail and Conditional Nonretail
Facilities shall maintain electronic or hard copy Documentation that
is readily accessible to demonstrate all Nonretail and Conditional Use
Customers meet the requirements of OAR 837-020-0050. 

NOTE: Failure to provide the required safety training, certify the fire safe-
ty training was provided in accordance with OAR 837-020-0055, make the
necessary certifications, maintain current customer eligibility Documen-
tation required by OAR 837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125 constitutes
a violation which may result in civil penalty assessment to the Owner or
Operator, and may result in the revocation of their License.
(3) Owner or Operators of Nonretail and Conditional Nonretail

Facilities shall provide Documentation to the OSFM to certify vio-
lations of OAR 837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125 have been cor-
rected.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345 - ORS 480.375
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91,
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert.
ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0070 
Nonretail and Conditional Use Customer Agreements

(1) The Owner or Operator shall enter into a written agreement
with Nonretail and Conditional Use Customers permitted under OAR
837-020-0050 to dispense fuel at the Nonretail and Conditional Non-
retail Facility prior to the Nonretail and Conditional Use Customer
dispensing fuel. Except as otherwise provided in ORS 480.355, the
agreement shall at a minimum include the following elements:

(a) Certify that the Nonretail Customer will purchase at least
900 gallons of Class 1 Flammable Liquids and/or diesel fuel from
any source during a 12-month period, or if the amount of Class 1
Flammable and/or diesel fuel purchased is less than 900 gallons
annually, file Documentation that:

(A) The fuel qualifies as a deductible farming expense on the
Nonretail Customer’s current Schedule F of their federal income tax
return; or

(B) The fuel was purchased by a governmental agency provid-
ing fire, ambulance or police services;

(C) The Nonretail Customer was a Customer of the Nonretail
Facility on and since June 30, 1991, and meets all other requirements
of OAR 837-020-0050.

(b) Provide a federal employer identification number or Equiv-
alent Documentation to indicate participation in a business or
employment with a government agency or nonprofit or charitable
organization;

(c) Certify that the Nonretail Customer is employed by a busi-
ness, government agency or nonprofit or charitable organization and
that the Nonretail Customer shall dispense Class 1 Flammable Liq-
uids only into the fuel tank of a Motor Vehicle or other Container
owned or used by the business, government agency or nonprofit or
charitable organization;

(d) That all Class 1 Flammable Liquids dispensed at Nonretail
Facilities shall be for Business Use only, and that the Nonretail Cus-
tomer is subject to a penalty if fueling a Motor Vehicle or Contain-
er for personal use; and

(e) Certify that the Nonretail Customer has satisfied safety train-
ing requirements in compliance with rules of the State Fire Marshal;
and

(f) Require the Nonretail Customer to submit a sworn statement,
as defined in ORS 162.055, that the information supplied in the
agreement is true and correct.
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(2) The requirements of subsections (1)(a), (b), (c), and (d) of
this rule to not apply to Conditional Use Customer agreements.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.345 & ORS 480.355
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert.
ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0075 
Complaint and Enforcement Procedures

(1) Alleged violations at Retail, Nonretail, and Conditional
Nonretail Facilities shall be investigated by the State Fire Marshal.

(2) Upon request of the State Fire Marshal, the Owner or Oper-
ator shall be able to demonstrate that all Nonretail and Conditional
Use Customers Dispensing Class 1 Flammable Liquids at their Non-
retail and Conditional Nonretail Facilities meet the requirements of
OAR 837-020-0050.

(3) Owner or Operators of Retail, Nonretail, and Conditional
Nonretail Facilities who fail to meet the applicable requirements of
OAR 837-020-0040 may be subject to the enforcement and closure
provisions of ORS 479.170 in addition to the provisions in OAR 837-
020-0125.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.365 - ORS 480.375 & ORS 480.385
Hist.: FM 5-1990, f. 7-13-90, cert. ef. 10-15-90; FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91,
cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert.
ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0080
Nonretail Fuel Dispensing During a Governor Declared
Emergency

(1) During an Emergency as defined in ORS 401.025, a Non-
retail Facility may permit Individuals who are not otherwise quali-
fied under ORS 480.345 to dispense Class 1 Flammable Liquids if
all conditions specified in this section are satisfied.

(2) The Owner or Operator of the Facility holds a valid Non-
retail Facility License issued by the State Fire Marshal;

(3) The Owner or Operator has paid an application fee of $250
as required by ORS 480.350 for each Nonretail Facility and an annu-
al fee of $5 for each Nonretail Customer that enters into a written
agreement with the Owner or Operator.

(4) The Owner or Operator has provided a blank copy of the
form required by ORS 480.345 and OAR 837-020-0070 that will be
used as the written agreement between the Owner or Operator and
Nonretail Customer that outlines the safety training and Emergen-
cy procedures to be used at the Facility.

(5) The Nonretail Customer and the Owner or Operator of the
Nonretail Facility have entered into a written agreement that meets
the requirements of OAR 837-020-0070.

(6) The Class 1 Flammable Liquid is dispensed only into a
Motor Vehicle or Container of an Emergency Service Agency as
defined in ORS 401.025 or to an entity authorized by an Emergen-
cy Service Agency to provide services during an Emergency.

(7)(a) The Nonretail Customer, other than the Owner or Oper-
ator, is an Emergency Service Worker as defined in ORS 401.025
and dispenses Class 1 Flammable Liquids only into the fuel tank of
a Motor Vehicle or Container owned or used by the Emergency Ser-
vice Agency; or

(b) An owner or Employee of the entity authorized by the Emer-
gency Service Agency to provide services during an Emergency and
dispenses Class 1 Flammable Liquids only into the fuel tank of a
Motor Vehicle or other Container owned or used by the entity autho-
rized by that agency to provide services during an Emergency.

(8) The Nonretail Customer, other than the Owner or Operator
or Employee, Dispensing Class 1 Flammable Liquids satisfies safe-
ty training requirements of OAR 837-020-0055.

(9) The Owner or Operator shall bear the burden of production
and proof that the requirements of OAR 837-020-0040, and any other
rules of the State Fire Marshal have been satisfied.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.347
Stats Implemented: ORS 480
Hist.: OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0085 
Nonretail and Conditional Nonretail Facility License Require -
ments

(1) Nonretail and Conditional Nonretail Facilities shall not oper-
ate without a valid License issued by the State Fire Marshal.

(2) A separate License is required for each Nonretail and Con-
ditional Nonretail Facility.

(3) All Licenses shall be valid for one year from the date of
issue.

(4) The State Fire Marshal shall issue a License to the Owner
or Operator if the Owner or Operator has:

(a) Complied with the requirements established by OAR 837-
020-0040;

(b) Submitted the application to the State Fire Marshal on forms
supplied by the State Fire Marshal;

(c) Certified that the Owner or Operator will comply with all
provisions of ORS 480.345, the OUFC, and this Division;

(d) Provided a blank copy of the form that will be used as the
written agreement required under ORS 480.345 and OAR 837-020-
0070;

(e) Provided a blank copy of the safety training that is provid-
ed to their Nonretail and Conditional Use Customers, to ensure the
safety training meets all requirements of OAR 837-020-0055. 

(f) Paid an application fee of $250 for each Facility site and $5
for each Nonretail and Conditional Use Customer as required by
OAR 837-020-0115.

(5) Any and all certification required by this section shall be
made under ORS 162.075.

(6) The Owner or Operator shall bear the burden of production
and proof that the requirements of this Division, and all applicable
rules of the State Fire Marshal have been satisfied.

(7) The State Fire Marshal may conduct an on-site inspection
to determine compliance with OAR 837-020-0040 and other appli-
cable fire and life safety laws prior to issuing a Nonretail or Condi-
tional Nonretail Facility License to the Owner or Operator under sec-
tion (4) of this rule.

(8) In addition to the requirements set forth in this section,
Owner or Operators who wish to operate a Dual Operations Facili-
ty, the Owner or Operator shall provide to the State Fire Marshal, on
State Fire Marshal forms, the specific hours and days when the
Owner or Operator proposes to conduct only Retail Dispensing and
the specific hours and days when the Owner or Operator proposes
to conduct only Nonretail Dispensing.

(9) In addition to the requirements set forth in this section,
Owner or Operators who wish to operate a Conditional Nonretail
Facility, shall comply with the following:

(a) A Nonretail Conditional Facility may permit Persons who
are not otherwise qualified under OAR 837-020-0050 to dispense
Class 1 Flammable Liquids if all conditions specified in this section
are satisfied.

(b) After investigation and public hearing, and after consider-
ing the comments of local residents and government officials, the
State Fire Marshal may issue a Conditional Nonretail License to an
Owner or Operator if the State Fire Marshal finds:

(A) There is no Facility where Class 1 Flammable Liquids are
dispensed by attendants at Retail, including Dual Operations, with-
in seven miles of the Owner or Operator’s Nonretail Facility, and
other undue hardship conditions exist. Such undue hardship condi-
tions shall be determined on a case by case basis and may include,
but are not limited to, road conditions, and volume and type of traf-
fic in the affected area;

(B) The Owner or Operator has certified that the Owner or
Operator will comply with the applicable provisions of ORS
480.345(1), (5), (6)(d), and (6)(e), and this Division;

(C) The method of access to the Conditional Nonretail Facili-
ty do not allow the user to access any other Nonretail or Condition-
al Nonretail Facility. 

(10) Within a given geographical area, applications for Condi-
tional Nonretail Licenses issued under this section shall be consid-
ered in order of priority of receipt. The date the State Fire Marshal
actually receives the application shall determine its priority. A Con-
ditional Nonretail License may not be renewed if the requirements
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of this Section are not met at the time of application for renewal.
There is no guarantee of continued operations under this section.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380 & 480.355
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.350 & 480.355
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert.
ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0105 
License Denials, Revocations and Suspensions; Civil Penalties
and Appeals

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may deny, revoke, or sus-
pend a Nonretail or Conditional Nonretail Facility License if the
Owner or Operator:

(a) Fails to comply with OAR 837-020-0040;
(b) Falsified any information in the application for the

License; or
(c) Failed to comply with any applicable provision of OAR 837-

020-0040, or any other rule adopted by the State Fire Marshal. 
(2) The option of denial, revocation or suspension may be based

on the following:
(a) The number of similar or related violations; alleged to have

been committed in the current License year;
(b) Whether the violation(s) was willful or intentional;
(c) The prior history of violations committed by the Owner or

Operator; or
(d) Other circumstances determined by the Office of State Fire

Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation(s).
(3) Suspension or revocation of a License may include sus-

pension or revocation of the current License and the right to apply
for a subsequent License.

(4) Where the State Fire Marshal has alleged a self-service vio-
lation at a Facility, the burden of proof to show the purchase was in
compliance with the requirements of ORS 480.330 through 480.385
and OAR chapter 837, division 20 shall shift from the state to the
Owner or Operator once the state establishes and provides the Owner
or Operator with the following information:

(a) The date and time of the alleged violation;
(b) The precise location, and the pump number, of the alleged

violation;
(c) The vehicle description and License number; and
(d) The description of the Individual Dispensing the Class 1

Flammable Liquids.
(5) Any Owner or Operator who applies for a License required

by OAR 837-020-0085, and whose application is denied, is entitled
to file an appeal. Such appeals shall be conducted as contested case
proceedings pursuant to ORS 183.413 to 183.470.

(6) Before suspending, revoking or terminating a License issued
under OAR 837-020-0085, the State Fire Marshal shall give prior
notice to the Licensee and offer a hearing. If requested, such hear-
ings shall be conducted as contested case proceedings pursuant to
ORS 183.413 to 183.470.

(7) Where the State Fire Marshal proposes to assess a civil
penalty under ORS 480.385 and OAR 837-020-0125, appropriate
notice of appeal rights shall be given under ORS 480.385.

(8) Contested Cases:
(a) A Person may request a Formal Hearing regarding the sus-

pension, revocation, or denial of a License by the Office of State Fire
Marshal.

(b) A Request for hearing Shall be timely filed.
(c) A Request for Hearing is timely filed when the request is

postmarked or received by the Office of State Fire Marshal within
20 days from the date of service of the notice of suspension, revo-
cation, or denial, unless a 60-day deadline applies pursuant to ORS
183.435.

(d) If a Request for Hearing is not timely filed under section (c)
of this rule, the Person Shall have waived the right to a contested case
under ORS chapter 183.

(e) A Person may write to or call the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal to informally discuss the notice of suspension, revocation, or
denial, however, an informal communication Shall not extend the
deadline established in subsection (3) of this rule.

(f) A contested case may include:

(i) An Informal Conference; and/or
(ii) A Formal Hearing.
(g) A contested case Shall be conducted pursuant to the provi-

sions of ORS Chapter 183 and the rules adopted thereto.
(9) Informal Conference:
(a) The Office of State Fire Marshal may provide an opportu-

nity for an Informal Conference.
(b) A request for an Informal Conference may be made verbally

or in writing; and Shall:
(c) Be made or addressed to the Office of State Fire Marshal;

and
(d) Clearly state the issue(s) to be discussed.
(e) If the Office of State Fire Marshal and the party(ies) agree,

an Informal Conference may be held by telephone.
(f) After an Informal Conference, the Office of State Fire Mar-

shal may amend, withdraw, or reduce the suspension, revocation or
denial. Such action Shall be taken in accordance with ORS Chapter
183 and the rules adopted thereto.

(10) Formal Hearing:
(a) A Person may file a written Request for Hearing before or

after an Informal Conference, at any time before the deadline estab-
lished in section (c) of the Contested Cases section of OAR 837-020-
0105.

(b) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall arrange for a hear-
ings officer to conduct the Formal Hearing.

(c) The Office of State Fire Marshal Shall set a date, time, and
location for the Formal Hearing.

(11) Judicial review of a final order made after a hearing
requested under section (1) or (2) of this rule shall be as provided in
ORS 183.480 to 183.497 for judicial review of contested cases.

(12) Nothing in this Section shall prevent the State Fire Mar-
shal from closing a Nonretail or Conditional Nonretail Facility under
ORS 479.170, provided that the accelerated appeals process
explained in ORS 479.180 is observed.

(13) Where a Nonretail or Conditional Use customer account
list has been submitted to the State Fire Marshal during enforcement
or appeal proceedings, the State Fire Marshal shall treat the list as
confidential to the extent allowed by law.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS480.355, ORS 480. 365 - ORS 480.375 & ORS 480.385
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert.
ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0115 
Application, License Renewals, and Annual Fees

(1) Any Owner or Operator engaged in, or intending to engage
in, the operation of a Nonretail or Conditional Nonretail Facility shall
apply for and obtain a License issued by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal.

(2) A separate License shall be applied for and obtained for each
Nonretail or Conditional Nonretail Facility.

(3) The License shall be obtained prior to start of the Nonretail
or Conditional Nonretail Facility operation, or the Owner or Oper-
ator shall be assessed a civil penalty and/or be subject to closure of
the Nonretail or Conditional Nonretail Facility.

(4) The Application fee for each Nonretail and Conditional
Nonretail Facility License shall be $250 per Facility. Licenses shall
be valid for one year from the date of issue.

(5) License fees shall be paid at, or mailed to, the Office of State
Fire Marshal. The License Application shall be delivered to or mailed
to the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(6) Payment shall be made by personal check, business check,
cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Office of State
Fire Marshal. If the fee is paid by either personal or business check,
the Office of State Fire Marshal shall not take any action on the
License Application until the check has cleared the bank.

(7) License fees are non-refundable.
(8) In addition to the application and renewal fees assessed by

this section, Owners or Operators of Nonretail and Conditional Non-
retail Facilities shall pay to the State Fire Marshal an annual account
fee of $5 for each Nonretail and Conditional Use Customer who has
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access to dispense Class 1 Flammable Liquids at any time during the
applicable License year.

(9) License renewal Applications, accompanying Documenta-
tion, and payment shall be postmarked by a United States Postmark,
or received at the Office of State Fire Marshal, no later than 30 days
prior to the License expiration for a License renewal valid for the fol-
lowing License. If the 30 days prior to the License expiration date
falls on a day when a postmark cannot be obtained, the applications
shall be postmarked or received by the Office of State Fire Marshal
on the preceding business day.

(10) License Application renewals postmarked or received after
the deadline set forth under subsection (9) of this rule may be sub-
ject to a civil penalty.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.350 & ORS 480.355
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 3-1992(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 4-24-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 1-2002, f. &
cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-020-0125 
Penalties

(1) The State Fire Marshal may impose a civil penalty of up to
$500 for each violation of ORS 480.310 through 480.385, and OAR
837-020-0040. Penalties shall be imposed in accordance with the fol-
lowing penalty matrix established by the State Fire Marshal. Penal-
ties may be based on history, violation types, number of instances
of violations identified, and severity of violations. 

(1) Violation Types, Instances, and Penalty Assessments. The
Types of Violations are:

(a) Least — Type I;
(b) Minimal — Type II
(c) Moderate — Type III
(d) Severe — Type IV
(2) The violation instance is determined based on the number

of times a Person, Individual, Owner, or Operator has committed a
violation. A violation occurs each time a Person, Individual, Owner,
or Operation breaks a rule established by OAR 837-020-0040.

PENALTY MATRIX:
VIOLATION TYPE   PENALTY INSTANCE
Level 1, 2, 3
I. LEAST $0 $25 $75
II. MINIMAL $25 $75 $150 
III. MODERATE $75 $150 $250
IV. SEVERE $125 $250 $500
TYPE I: LEAST
Eligibility Documentation (excluding safety training)
Falsified License Application
Signs –
Retail/nonretail locations
Phone # of Operator
It’s a violation of law
Days/Hours of Operation of time separation facility not present or correct
Other __________________________
TYPE II: MINIMAL
Unlawful Dispensing at nonretail facilities
AST labels for above ground tanks not present
Dispensing instructions not present
Other __________________________
TYPE III: MODERATE
Signs – 
No Smoking…
Emergency Fuel Shutdown Device location
Fire Extinguisher location
In Case of Fire,…
Other __________________________
TYPE IV: SEVERE
Required facility equipment not present or not in good working order
Safety training not provided prior to allowing customer to dispense fuel
Unlawful Dispensing at retail facilities
Operating a Nonretail Facility without a License
Other __________________________
Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.380 & ORS 480.385
Hist.: FM 4-1991(Temp), f. 12-31-91, cert. ef. 1-1-92; FM 4-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert.
ef. 7-15-92 (and corrected 6-22-92); OSFM 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

DIVISION 30
LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS

837-030-0100 
Purpose and Scope

(1) The purpose of these rules is to implement the standards,
policies and procedures for liquefied petroleum gas for the protec-
tion and safety of the public and persons using or handling liquefied
petroleum gas, pursuant to the authority vested in the State Fire Mar-
shal by ORS 476.030 and 480.320.

(2) The scope of these rules apply to the implementation of the
statutes in ORS 480.410 through 480.460 relating to liquefied
petroleum gas.

(3) These rules establish application, exami nation, reporting
inspection criteria, and other requirements for liquefied petroleum
gas.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480.
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.410 - ORS 480.460
Hist.: FM 22, f. 11-15-65; FM 1-1981, f. 7-20-81, ef. 8-1-81; FM 6-1985, f. &
ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95;
Renumbered from 837-030-0005

837-030-0110 
Effective Dates

OAR 837-030-0100 through 837-030-0280 are effective upon
date of filing for adoption.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 480.420
Stats. Implemented:
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00;
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0120 
Definitions

(1) For the purpose of these rules, the following definitions
apply to OAR 837-030-0100 through 837-030-0280.

(2) Application means the forms required by the Office of State
Fire Marshal to be completed and submitted to the Office of State
Fire Marshal.

(3) Bulk Plant or Terminal means that portion of a property
where liquefied petroleum gas is received by tank vessel, pipelines,
tank car or tank vehicle and are stored or blended in bulk for the pur-
pose of distributing such liquid by tank vessel, pipeline, tank car, tank
vehicle, portable tank or container.

(4) Company representative means an individual who has
passed the installation examination administered by the Office of
State Fire Marshal and represents the company at a specific site.

(5) Delivery Unit means any unit that is used to deliver and/or
transport liquefied petroleum gas.

(6) Examination means a document designed to test an appli-
cant’s knowledge regarding liquefied petroleum gas, its properties,
related equipment and/or applicable safety regulations.

(7) Fitter license means a license issued to an individual who
performs liquefied petroleum gas fitting or gas venting work, installs,
repairs or remodels any piping or venting, installs or repairs, con-
nects, or disconnects any liquefied petroleum gas appliance.

(8) “Individual” shall mean one distinct, individual human
being. It shall not mean person.

(9) Installation license means a license issued to a company or
business (hereinafter referred to as a company license) that engages
in or works at the business of installing, extending, altering or repair-
ing any liquefied petroleum gas appliance or piping, vent or flue con-
nection pertaining to or in connection with liquefied petroleum gas
installations.

(10) License shall mean the official written permission grant-
ed by the State Fire Marshal for the purpose of working in the liq-
uefied petroleum gas business.

(11) Liquefied petroleum gas means any liquid composed pre-
dominately of any of the following hydrocarbons or mixtures of the
same: Propane, propylene, butanes (normal butane or isobutane) and
butylenes.

(12) “Person” shall mean one or more individuals, legal repre-
sentatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations
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(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public cor-
porations or subdivisions.

(13) Truck Equipment Operator license means a license issued
to an individual who operates liquefied petroleum gas delivery equip-
ment installed on a motorized vehicle. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.410
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00;
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0130 
Fire and Life Safety Standards

(1) The following National Fire Protection Association Stan-
dards (NFPA) are hereby adopted by reference and are the Standards
on which the examinations referenced in these rules will be primar-
ily based:

(a) NFPA 54 - National Fuel Gas Code; (1999 edition), and
(b) NFPA 58 - Storage and Handling of Liquefied Petroleum

Gases (2001 edition).
(2) Whenever the following phrases or abbreviations appear in

the above referenced standards, they shall mean the following:
(a) Authority Having Jurisdiction means the State Fire Marshal,
(b) National Electrical Code means the Oregon Electrical Spe-

cialty Code, and
(c) NFPA means the National Fire Protection Association;
(3) The Oregon State Fire Marshal has adopted the Uniform

Fire Code, Article 82 (Liquefied Petroleum Gas) and Uniform Fire
Code Standard 82-1 (NFPA 58-1998 edition) as amended for inspec-
tion and enforcement of liquefied petroleum gas installations pur-
suant to ORS 476.030(1) and 480.420(1). (Refer to OAR 837, divi-
sion 40.)

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.420
Hist.: FM 22, f. 11-15-65; FM 59, f. 2-25-72, ef. 3-15-72; FM 62, f. 6-14-73, ef.
7-1-73; FM 66, f. 2-20-75, ef. 3-11-75; FM 1-1981, f. 7-20-81, ef. 8-1-81; FM
6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 1-1987, f. & ef. 3-18-87; FM 6-1987, f. & ef. 10-
20-87; FM 3-1995, f. & cert.e f. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-0010, 837-
030-0015, 837-030-0020 & 837-030-0025; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00;
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00; OSFM 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-030-0140 
Licenses Required

(1) A company license is required for any company engaged in
the business of installing, extending, altering or repairing any liq-
uefied petroleum gas appliance or piping, vent or flue connection
pertaining to or in connection with liquefied petroleum gas installa-
tions.

(2) A fitter license is required for any individual performing liq-
uefied petroleum gas fitting, venting, installation or repair or remod-
el to any piping or venting, installs or repairs, connects, or discon-
nects any liquefied petroleum gas appliance.

(3) A Truck Equipment Operator license is required for any
individual who operates liquefied petroleum gas delivery equipment
installed on a motorized vehicle.

(4) Any individual required to have a Fitter and/or Truck Equip-
ment Operator license is also required to have an Installation license
unless the individual is an employee of an employer who has a com-
pany license.

(5) Company licenses are not transferable. When a company
transfers ownership, the new company shall complete the licensing
process the same as any other new company.

(6) Fitter and/or Truck Equipment Operator licensees may
transfer from company to company without relicensing as long as the
license has not expired. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.432
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987,
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-

2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-
12-00

837-030-0150 
Company License (Company Representative)

(1) Each company business or dealership location shall obtain
a separate company license.

(2) Each location shall have a company representative unique
to that location.

(3) To qualify the company for a company license, an individ-
ual (company representative) at each location and unique to that loca-
tion shall pass a written examination, as detailed in OAR 837-030-
0190, and administered by the Office of State Fire Marshal, with a
score of 80 percent or more of the questions answered correctly.

(4) If the company representative transfers or resigns employ-
ment with the company, the State Fire Marshal shall be notified, in
writing, within two weeks of the transfer or resignation.

(5) The new company representative shall meet examination
requirements within 60 calendar days of the last date of employment
of the preceding company representative.

(6) Exceptions to this requirement for a company license are as
follows:

(a) This rule does not apply to liquefied petroleum gas instal-
lations made in a manufactured dwelling or recreational vehicle
when those installations are made during the construction of the man-
ufactured dwelling or recreational vehicle.

(b) This rules does not apply to warranty work for liquefied
petroleum gas installations in a manufactured dwelling or recre-
ational vehicle so long as the work performed falls in the scope of
the original manufacturer’s warranty issued at the time the home or
recreational vehicle was manufactured.

(c) This rule does not apply to a person who holds a valid jour-
neyman plumber’s certificate that was issued under ORS 693.060 or
who is in an approved journeyman plumber apprenticeship estab-
lished under ORS 660. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.432
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987,
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-
2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-
12-00

837-030-0160 
Fitter License

(1) Any individual performing liquefied petroleum gas fitting,
venting, installation or repair shall obtain a Fitter license.

(2) To qualify for a fitter license, an individual shall pass a writ-
ten examination, as detailed in OAR 837-030-0190, and administered
by the Office of State Fire Marshal, with a score of 80 percent or
more of the questions answered correctly.

(3) An individual may work under probationary status only as
detailed in OAR 837-030-0190.

(4) A Fitter may transfer their license to another company.
(5) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall be notified in writ-

ing within two weeks of employment by the new company that the
Fitter’s license is to be transferred. 

(6) Exceptions to this requirement for a fitter license are as fol-
lows:

(a) This rule does not apply to individuals who perform lique-
fied petroleum gas installations made in a manufactured dwelling or
recreational vehicle when those installations are made during the
construction of the manufactured dwelling or recreational vehicle.

(b) This rules does not apply to individuals who perform war-
ranty work for liquefied petroleum gas installations in a manufac-
tured dwelling or recreational vehicle so long as the work performed
falls in the scope of the original manufacturer’s warranty issued at
the time the home or recreational vehicle was manufactured.

(c) This rule does not apply to an individual who holds a valid
journeyman plumber’s certificate that was issued under ORS
693.060 or who is in an approved journeyman plumber apprentice-
ship established under ORS 660. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.432
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987,
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0170 
Truck Equipment Operator License

(1) Any individual operating liquefied petroleum gas delivery
equipment installed on a motorized vehicle shall obtain a Truck
Equipment Operator license.

(2) To qualify for a truck equipment operator license, an indi-
vidual shall pass a written examination, as detailed in OAR 837-030-
0190, and administered by the Office of State Fire Marshal, with a
score of 80 percent or more of the questions answered correctly.

(3) An individual may work under probationary status only as
detailed in OAR 837-030-0180.

(4) A Truck Equipment Operator may transfer their license to
another company.

(5) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall be notified in writ-
ing within two weeks of employment by the new company that the
Truck Equipment Operator’s license is to be transferred. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.432
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987,
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0180 
Probationary Status (On-the-Job Training)

(1) Individuals who desire to obtain a Fitter and/or Truck Equip-
ment Operator license may work up to 60 days of on-the-job train-
ing.

(2) The 60 days of training shall be actual work days. (For the
purposes of tracking an individual’s probationary status, work days
shall be considered to be Monday through Friday unless the company
submits documentation to the State Fire Marshal of another work
schedule.)

(3) On-the-job training for Fitters shall be under the supervision
of a licensed Fitter.

(4) On-the-job training for Truck Equipment Operators shall be
under the supervision of a licensed Truck Equipment Operator.

(5) Individuals receiving on-the-job training shall pass the writ-
ten examination required under OAR 837-030-0190 and obtain their
license(s) after not more than 60 days probationary period of on-the-
job training.

(6) Any individual who exceeds the 60 days probationary sta-
tus time, and has not yet obtained their fitter and/or truck equipment
operator license(s), shall immediately cease working as a fitter and/or
truck equipment operator until such time as they have obtained the
required license(s). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.435
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987,
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0190 
Examinations

(1) Persons applying for Installation (company), Fitter, and/or
Truck Equipment Operator licenses shall pass a written examination,
administered by the Office of State Fire Marshal, with a score of 80
percent or more of the questions answered correctly on each appli-
cable section of the examination.

(2) Examinations for Fitter and Truck Equipment Operator
licenses shall assess the individual’s knowledge of liquefied
petroleum gas, its properties, related equipment, and applicable
codes, statutes and safety regulations.

(3) Examinations for the company representative shall assess
the individual’s knowledge of applicable codes, statutes, safety reg-

ulations, Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules
that regulate and govern liquefied petroleum gas.

(4) License qualifying examinations shall have the following
maximum time limits: Company Representative — 1 hour; Fitter —
2 hours; Truck Equipment Operator — 1.75 hours; Company Rep-
resentative, Fitter, Truck Equipment Operator Combination — 3.75
hours; Company Representative, Fitter Combination — 2.5 hours;
Company Representative, Truck Equipment Operator Combination
— 2.25 hours; Fitter, Truck Equipment Operator Combination —
3.25 hours.

(5) Examinations are open book, however, all examinations are
required to have an on-site examination proctor that is present
throughout the examination process to assure that appropriate test-
ing processes are adhered to. No individual person completing an
examination shall use any information other than the information ref-
erenced in these rules to complete the examination, nor shall they use
any other means to obtain a passing score on the examination.
Removal of the examination or the answer sheet from the examina-
tion site will result in automatic failure of the examination.

(6) Examinations will be based primarily on the standards ref-
erenced in ORS 480.410 through 480.460, 480.990, and OAR 837-
030-0100 through 837-030-0280.

(7) All applications to take examinations shall be made on a
form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(8) Upon receipt of a properly completed application, the Office
of State Fire Marshal will notify the applicant of a time and place for
examination.

(9) License holders and persons previously licensed are not
required to complete new examinations unless a period of two years
or more has elapsed from the date of their last license expiration date.

(10) Notification of examination results will be mailed to the
company following the completion of the examination process.

(11) The State Fire Marshal reserves the right to disqualify an
applicant’s examination score for valid cause.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.434
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987,
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0200 
License Application, Approval, Issuance

(1) All license applications shall be on a form provided by the
Office of State Fire Marshal.

(2) License applications shall not be submitted until the appli-
cant has passed the appropriate qualifying examination(s).

(3) The completed Application form shall contain the follow-
ing:

(a) Applicant’s name,
(b) Type of License(s) applied for,
(c) Name and address of the Company,
(d) Signature of the Company Representative and,
(e) Company number assigned by the Office of State Fire Mar-

shal.
(4) Applications shall be accompanied by the appropriate

license fee(s).
(5) Upon approval of the application, a license will be issued

and mailed to the company.
(6) Company licenses shall be valid for a period of one year

from date of issue. Fitter and Truck Equipment Operator licenses
shall be valid for a period of two years from date of issue. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.434
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987,
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-
2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-
12-00; OSFM 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-25-02

837-030-0210 
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License Revocation, Suspension, and/or Denial
(1) The State Fire Marshal may revoke, suspend, and/or refuse

to issue or renew a license required under ORS 480.410 to 480.460.
Any such revocation, suspension, or refusal to issue shall be in con-
formance with ORS 183.310 to 183.550. Valid cause exists for the
revocation, suspension, and/or refusal to issue a license when any of
the following occur:

(a) The licensee or applicant deliberately falsifies an applica-
tion for an examination or license;

(b) Has committed a violation of ORS 162.305;
(c) Has failed to comply with any provision of ORS 480.410 to

480.460;
(d) Has failed to comply with any provision of OAR 837-030-

0100 through 837-030-0280;
(e) Has failed to maintain the status required under ORS

480.434; or
(f) Has violated any other provision of the liquefied petroleum

gas statutes, administrative rules, or applicable fire and life safety
standards.

(2) The period of denial, revocation and/or suspension shall be
as follows: Not to exceed three (3) years if the circumstances of the
licensee’s or applicant’s failure to comply with applicable laws and
rules pertaining liquefied petroleum gas presented a significant haz-
ard or other public danger.

(3) Licenses are the property of the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal and shall be surrendered upon request of the State Fire Marshal
or his assistant.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.435
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 6-1985, f. & ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987,
f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 5-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 3-31-88; FM 10-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 9-19-1988; FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95, Renumbered from 837-030-
0030

837-030-0220 
License Renewal

(1) All licenses shall be renewed on or before a date specified
by the State Fire Marshal. Such date shall be 30 days after service
of written notice by the State Fire Marshal and shall be specified on
the renewal application.

(2) License renewal shall be made on a form provided by the
Office of State Fire Marshal and shall be accompanied by the appro-
priate fees.

(3) Company license renewals shall be valid for a period of one
year. Fitter and/or truck equipment operator licenses renewals shall
be valid for a period of two years.

(4) Licenses not renewed by the specified date are subject to a
late fee as follows: Company License — Instate: $15.00; Company
License — Out of State: $22.00; Fitter License: $15.00; Truck
Equipment Operator License: $15.00.

(5) Licenses not renewed by their expiration date are invalid and
the licensee shall cease working until such time as licensing is
brought current. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.436
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00;
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0230 
Motor Fuel Installations (Conversions)/Plan Approval

(1) Any company converting or manufacturing any vehicle or
machinery to use liquefied petroleum gas for motor fuel shall obtain
the company and fitter licenses as required in OAR 837-030-0140.

(2) Any manufacture of vehicle or machinery, or any conver-
sion of existing vehicle or machinery to use liquefied petroleum gas
as motor fuel, shall be in compliance with all applicable liquefied
petroleum gas laws, rules and regulations.

(3) All equipment shall be installed in accordance with these
regulations and the applicable safety standards as adopted, unless
written approval is otherwise granted by the State Fire Marshal.

(4) The State Fire Marshal or his assistant may make on-site
inspections of manufacturing plants where liquefied petroleum gas

motor fuel systems are being installed to ensure compliance with
applicable safety standards.

(5) Any company manufacturing or converting vehicles or
machinery to use liquefied petroleum gas as motor fuel may make
application for plan approval of a model or prototype to the State Fire
Marshal. The application and plans shall include two complete sets
of plans which shall show in detail:

(a) The location of all liquefied petroleum gas equipment
including containers, fuel lines, carburetion system, vaporizers, and
all pertinent equipment; and

(b) The name of the equipment manufacturer and model num-
bers when available; 

(c) Sufficient information to permit the State Fire Marshal to
determine compliance or noncompliance with fire and life safety reg-
ulations relating to the use of liquefied petroleum gas as motor fuel. 

(6) Upon approval, one copy of the plans shall be returned to
the applicant with the written approval and a permit number shall be
assigned. One copy of the plans shall be retained by the State Fire
Marshal; 

(7) If the plans are disapproved, the applicant will be notified
in writing the reason the plans were disapproved and provided infor-
mation on how to meet the applicable fire and life safety regulations
so the plans may be approved. 

(8) All vehicles or machinery manufactured or converted to use
liquefied petroleum gas as motor fuel and installing liquefied
petroleum gas motor fuel tanks shall be reported to the State Fire
Marshal: 

(9) The State Fire Marshal shall be notified by the last day of
each month by the installation company of all new liquefied
petroleum motor fuel installations made during the preceding month. 

(10) United States Post Office postmark date shall be used to
determine the reporting date. 

(11) Notification shall be made on a form (Notice of Installa-
tion of Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank for Motor Fuel) and shall
include the following information: 

(a) Customer name for whom the conversion was made, 
(b) Address where the vehicle or machinery may be inspected, 
(c) Date conversion was completed, 
(d) Water capacity of tank, 
(e) Signature of fitter who installed tank and their fitter license

number, 
(f) Tank serial number, 
(g) Name of company installing tank and their company license

number, 
(h) Any other information that may be helpful in locating the

tank, 
(12) The company representative shall sign the notice verify-

ing the information is correct, and
(13) The appropriate tank installation fee of $24 shall accom-

pany the Notice of Installation. 
EXCEPTION: This section shall not apply to liquefied petroleum gas
installations made in manufactured dwellings or recreational vehicles per-
formed during the construction of the manufactured dwelling or recre-
ational vehicle, or the alteration or repair of the liquefied petroleum gas
installation in a manufactured dwelling or recreational vehicle when they
are made pursuant to the manufacturer’s warranty. All repairs or alterations
performed outside of the initial construction or the manufacturer’s warranty
shall be completed by a licensed company and a licensed fitter. 
(14) Any vehicle or machinery manufactured or converted to

use liquefied petroleum gas as motor fuel that is found to be in vio-
lation of the applicable fire and life safety standards, may be ordered
by the State Fire Marshal to be taken out of service. Once out of ser-
vice, it shall not be placed back in service, sold or offered for sale
until all necessary corrections have been made, the State Fire Mar-
shal notified and the vehicle or machinery put back in service by the
State Fire Marshal. 

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.450
Hist.: FM 52, f. 4-29-71, ef. 5-25-71; FM 81, f. & ef. 3-3-76; FM 6-1985, f. &
ef. 9-20-85; FM 6-1987, f. & ef. 10-20-87; FM 3-1995, f. & cert.e f. 11-14-95,
Renumbered from 837-030-0035; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99
thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00; OSFM
4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00
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837-030-0240 
Reporting Tank Installations

(1) The State Fire Marshal shall be notified by the last day of
each month by the installing company of all new liquefied
petroleum gas tank installations made during the preceding month.

(2) United States Post Office postmark date shall be used to
determine the reporting date.

(3) Notification shall be made on a form (Notice of Installation
of Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank) provided by the Office of State
Fire Marshal and include the following information:

(a) Customer name and contact phone number for whom the
tank was installed,

(b) Address where tank was installed,
(c) County of installation,
(d) Date tank was installed,
(e) Water capacity of tank,
(f) Tank serial number,
(g) Signature of fitter who installed tank and their fitter license

number,
(h) Name of company installing tank and their company license

number,
(i) Any other information that may be helpful in locating the

tank including a map providing directions to the tank location.
(4) Tank installation notices shall be accompanied by a sum-

mary sheet that details the number and size of tanks installed during
the preceding month.

(5) The company representative shall sign the summary sheet
verifying the information is correct.

(6) The appropriate tank installation fees shall accompany the
tank installation notices and summary sheet. Refer to 837-030-0280
for fee schedule. 

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced in this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.450
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00;
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0250 
Inspection of Tank Installations

(1) State Fire Marshal Deputies or State Fire Marshal assistants
shall inspect a certain number of reported tank installations.

(2) Inspection records shall be maintained at the Office of State
Fire Marshal.

(3) Tank installation companies shall be notified in writing by
an inspection notice when a tank installation is not in compliance
with State Fire Marshal requirements.

(4) The State Fire Marshal shall notify the company of:
(a) Necessary corrections to bring the installation into compli-

ance;
(b) The number of days (shall not exceed 60 days) the compa-

ny has to bring the installation into compliance. 
(5) The installing company shall notify the State Fire Marshal

that the corrections have been made to bring the installation into
compliance, as follows:

(a) The date the corrections were made shall be in writing;and
(b) Shall be mailed to the Office of State Fire Marshal.
(6) Corrections not made and/or not reported within the num-

ber of days allowed to bring the installation into compliance, are sub-
ject to reinspection and a reinspection fee of $24. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.450
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00;
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0260 
Bulk Storage Sites: Inspections/Notifications

(1) State Fire Marshal Deputies or State Fire Marshal assistants
shall inspect bulk storage sites annually.

(2) Inspection records shall be maintained at the Office of State
Fire Marshal.

(3) The installing company shall be notified in writing by an
inspection notice when a bulk site is not in compliance with State
Fire Marshal requirements.

(4) The State Fire Marshal shall notify the company of:
(a) Necessary corrections to bring the installation into compli-

ance;
(b) The number of days (shall not exceed 60 days) the compa-

ny has to bring the installation into compliance.
(5) The installing company shall notify the State Fire Marshal

that the corrections have been made to bring the installation into
compliance, as follows:

(a) The date the corrections were made shall be written on the
copy of the inspection notice provided to the company;

(b) The inspection notice shall be mailed to the Office of State
Fire Marshal.

(6) Any changes to the bulk site, including but not limited to the
installation of one or more additional tanks, removal of one or more
tanks, and closure of the site, shall be reported to the State Fire Mar-
shal in writing within two weeks of the change.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.440 & ORS 480.450
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95

837-030-0270 
Delivery Units: Inspections/Notifications

(1) State Fire Marshal Deputies or State Fire Marshal assistants
may inspect delivery units annually.

(2) Delivery units shall be made readily available to the Deputy
or assistant for the annual inspection after notification by the Office
of State Fire Marshal that the annual inspection is due.

(3) Inspection records shall be maintained at the Office of State
Fire Marshal.

(4) Companies shall be notified in writing by an inspection
notice when a delivery unit is not in compliance with State Fire Mar-
shal requirements.

(5) The State Fire Marshal shall notify the company of:
(a) Necessary corrections to bring the delivery unit into com-

pliance
(b) The number of days (shall not exceed 60 days) the compa-

ny has to bring the delivery unit into compliance.
(6) The company shall notify the State Fire Marshal that the cor-

rections have been made to bring the delivery unit into compliance,
as follows:

(a) The date the corrections were made shall be written on the
copy of the inspection notice provided to the company.

(b) The inspection notice shall be mailed to the Office of State
Fire Marshal.

(7) Any changes to the delivery units, including but not limit-
ed to the addition of one or more delivery units to the company, and
transfer, sale, disposal, or taking out of service of one or more deliv-
ery units shall be reported to the State Fire Marshal in writing with-
in two weeks of the change. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.440 & ORS 480.450
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-955; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
7-23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00;
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

837-030-0280 
Fees/Penalties

(1) Fees are:
(a) Company License for businesses located in Oregon — $75

Annually;
(b) Company License for businesses located outside Oregon —

$220 Annually;
(c) Fitter License (located inside or outside Oregon) — $15

each Biennially;
(d) Truck Equipment Operator License (located inside or out-

side Oregon) — $15 each. Biennially;
(e) Bulk Plant Inspection Fee — $57.50 Per Inspection

(Excludes initial inspection during plant construction);
(f) Delivery Unit Inspection Fee — $24 Per Inspection.
(2) Tank Installation Fees are:
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(a) All tanks $24 each;
(b) Multiple tanks at the site have a total combined capacity of

200 gallons or less — $24. 
(3) Reinspection Fees — $24 each.
(4) Motor Fuel Tank Installation Fees for each motor fuel tank

installed — $24 each.
(5) 10-year tank inspection fee — $24 each.
(6) Penalty Fees as follows: Company License — Instate:

$15.00; Company License — Out of State: $22.00; Fitter License:
$15.00; Truck Equipment Operator License: $15.00; Tank Installa-
tion Fee: $15.00.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 480 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 480.436, ORS 480.440, ORS 480.450, & ORS 480.460
Hist.: FM 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-14-95; OSFM 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
23-99 thru 1-18-00; OSFM 1-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-18-00 thru 4-15-00;
OSFM 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-00

DIVISION 39
ADMINISTRATION OF FIRE PREVENTION PROGRAMS
837-039-0001 
Scope and Application

(1) This Division improves fire protection services by:
(a) Eliminating duplication in the administration of state and

local fire protection programs;
(b) Giving the regulated community reasonable notice of how

governmental subdivisions will enforce fire regulations and provide
fire prevention services; and

(c) Providing a procedure to assure that fire codes adopted and
administered by local governmental subdivisions are consistent with
the minimum standards established by the State Fire Marshal.

(2) This Division includes four program elements:
(a) The application procedures to be used by governmental sub-

divisions applying for exempt status under ORS 476.030(3);
(b) The evaluation process to be used by the State Fire Marshal

to assure that the adoption and administration of local fire codes
equal or exceed those adopted and administered by the Office of
State Fire Marshal;

(c) A description of those programs which will not be delegat-
ed to local jurisdictions under the exempt jurisdiction program;

(d) A description of the appeals process to be used for fire code
inconsistency findings, denied applications for exempt status, or for
terminations of exempt status.

(3) This Division does not provide for the creation of fully
exempt jurisdictions in the State of Oregon.

NOTE: There has been some confusion in past years as to the scope of the
exempt jurisdiction program. Although ORS 476.030(3) authorizes the
State Fire Marshal to “fully” exempt qualifying local governmental sub-
divisions from the State’s fire laws, the State has not done so. There are
some programs which have statewide impact and are, therefore, more rea-
sonably managed at the state level. See OAR 837-039-0050.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-
00

837-039-0003 
Definitions

(1) “Administration” (or “administrative”) means the inspec-
tion, enforcement and record-keeping systems used in the manage-
ment of a fire prevention/investigation program.

(2) “Appeal” means the administrative process which is offered
to an aggrieved party by the authority having jurisdiction which:

(a) Assures the aggrieved party is given the due process of law;
(b) Is in response to the aggrieved party having received an

order from the authority having jurisdiction;
(c) Is requested by the aggrieved party; and
(d) Is consistent with the lawful authority of the authority hav-

ing jurisdiction.
(3) “Applicant” means a local governmental subdivision or

authority having jurisdiction which has applied to the State Fire Mar-
shal for exempt status or authorization to conduct a fire code enforce-
ment program.

(4) “Assistant” means an Assistant to the State Fire Marshal
under ORS 476.060, including, but not limited to, “all fire marshals
in those governmental subdivisions having such officers, and where
no such officer exists, the chief of the fire department of every city
or rural fire protection district in which a fire department is estab-
lished.

(5) “Authority Having Jurisdiction” means a local governmental
subdivision recognized by the State Fire Marshal under this Division
including, but not limited to:

(a) Municipal fire departments operated under home rule char-
ter;

(b) Rural fire protection districts operating under ORS 478;
(c) Water supply districts operating under ORS 264; or
(d) Public fire protection agencies not described above, and

which are subject to the laws of the State of Oregon.
(6) “DPSST” means the Department of Public Safety Standards

and Training.
(7) “Delegated Appeals Process” means an administrative pro-

cedure established by an exempt authority which the State Fire Mar-
shal has found to be the equivalent of a contested case proceeding
established under ORS Chapter 183 and the accelerated appeals pro-
cess established under ORS 479.180.

(8) “Deputy State Fire Marshal” means an employee of the
Office of State Fire Marshal as authorized in ORS 476.040.

(9) “Enforcement” means the investigation, inspection, citation,
and/or prosecution of alleged violations of state and local fire pro-
tection laws, rules and regulations.

(10) “Exempt” means a local governmental subdivision which
is partially exempt from statutes, rules and regulations administered
by the State Fire Marshal as authorized in ORS 476.030(3) and as
defined in the Division.

(11) “Fire Code” means all Oregon fire protection statutes, the
administrative rules of the State Fire Marshal and local government
regulations which are adopted in conformance with this Division.

(12) “Local Appeals Process” means the administrative proce-
dure adopted and operated by a local government subdivision under
local ordinance or resolution.

(13) “Local Governmental Subdivision” means a city, county
or rural fire protection district whose function includes regulation of
building use and occupancy and the administration of fire safety
laws, ordinances and regulations.

(14) “Nonexempt Jurisdiction” means a local governmental
subdivision which has not applied for and been granted exempt sta-
tus by the State Fire Marshal under this Division.

(15) “Partially Exempt Jurisdiction” means a local govern-
mental subdivision which has received authorization from the State
Fire Marshal under this Division to administer specified fire pre-
vention programs within it’s legally established political boundary.

(16) “Promulgate” means to lawfully develop and adopt an
administrative rule, local ordinance, code or regulation authorized by
law.

(17) “Review Board” means an advisory committee consisting
of five Exempt Jurisdiction Fire Marshals appointed by the State Fire
Marshal for a term of three years.

NOTE: the term will have staggered expiration dates to start and then
appointments will be for three years after initial expiration.
(18) “Service Area” means the geographic area contained with-

in the municipal city limits, corporate boundaries of the fire district
or areas to which the Exempt Jurisdiction provides fire protection and
prevention services under contract.

(19) “State Appeals Process” means an administrative contest-
ed case proceeding under ORS Chapter 183 and, if applicable, the
accelerated appeals process established under ORS 479.180.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-
00

837-039-0010 
Applications for Exempt Status

(1) Local governmental subdivisions seeking exempt status
shall submit a written request to the State Fire Marshal that describes
in detail the scope of the proposed exemption.
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(2) The request shall include a detailed explanation of the fire
prevention and investigation programs to be provided by the request-
ing jurisdiction and how the programs will be provided. Such pro-
grams will include but are not limited to:

(a) Fire code enforcement.
(b) Fire cause determination.
(c) Juvenile firesetter intervention.
(d) Fire and life safety education.
NOTE: Submitting a business plan demonstrating measurable goals and
objectives in each of the categories is the method of explaining the pro-
posed programs preferred by the State Fire Marshal. However, other for-
mats may be used and will be considered where they adequately demon-
strate what will be done and how it is accomplished.
(3) The request shall include an explanation of the Delegated

Appeals Process to be employed and how it generally conforms to
ORS 476.113 and 476.115.

(4) The request shall include an explanation of how the juris-
diction satisfies the qualifications specified in these rules.

(5) The request shall include such documentation and support-
ive materials as may be necessary to support the exemption request,
including a copy of any locally adopted fire code and intergovern-
mental agreements.

(6) The State Fire Marshal will distribute copies of the
request(s) to each of the review board members, requesting an advi-
sory by them within 60 days of receiving the material as to the suf-
ficiency of the application. Such advisories, both individually and
collectively, shall not be binding on the State Fire Marshal but will
be considered by the State Fire Marshal in deciding whether to grant
the exemption.

(7) The State Fire Marshal will make a determination as to
granting the exemption and notify the applicant accordingly within
30 days of receipt of the board’s written advisory.

(8) Once granted, exempt status shall remain in effect:
(a) Unless terminated by the State Fire Marshal for cause pur-

suant to ORS 476.030(3) and OAR 837-039-0100; or
(b) Upon 90 days written termination notice to the State Fire

Marshal at the discretion of the local jurisdiction; or
(c) Unless there is an unsatisfactory biennial review by the State

Fire Marshal of the exempt authority’s program and administration.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3)
Hist.: FM 3-1978, f. & ef. 6-16-78; FM 5-1978, f. & ef. 9-29-78; FM 2-1988, f.
& cert. ef. 2-17-88; FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f.
& cert. ef. 8-22-00

837-039-0015 
Minimum Fire Code Requirements

(1) Under ORS 476.030 and ORS 476.120, the State Fire Mar-
shal is responsible for promulgating rules and regulations which
establish minimum standards for the protection of life and property
from the dangers of fire.

(2) To meet this responsibility and to promote uniformity, the
State Fire Marshal shall assure that locally adopted fire codes are
consistent with minimum state fire code standards. Therefore, in
adopting a fire code, local governmental subdivisions will:

(a) Adopt by reference the fire code promulgated by the State
Fire Marshal; or 

(b) Adopt a code that is consistent with state fire protection
statutes and, is equal to or more stringent than, the fire code pro-
mulgated by the State Fire Marshal.

(3) Nothing in this Division requires a local governmental sub-
division to adopt a fire code.

(4) Nothing in this Division shall prevent a local governmen-
tal subdivision from adopting a fire code which is more stringent than
the State Fire Code, if such local fire code is otherwise lawful.

(5) When an authority having jurisdiction proposes a new local
fire code, or proposes to amend an existing fire code, a draft copy
of the proposed fire code or amendment shall be provided to the State
Fire Marshal for a pre-adoption evaluation at the earliest date pos-
sible prior to final adoption and a final copy within 30 days after
adoption.

(6) The State Fire Marshal shall cause the fire codes or amend-
ments submitted under section (5) to be evaluated to assure confor-

mity with state fire protection statutes and the minimum standards
established by the State Fire Marshal to the extent possible within
the time frame requested by the applicant.

(7) If the State Fire Marshal determines that a fire code sub-
mitted under section (5) of this rule conforms with minimum state
standards, the State Fire Marshal shall issue a consistency finding at
the earliest date possible.

(8) If the State Fire Marshal determines that a fire code or
amendment submitted under section (5) of this rule does not meet
minimum state standards, the State Fire Marshal shall:

(a) Notify the authority having jurisdiction of the proposed find-
ing; and

(b) Give the authority having jurisdiction a reasonable time to
amend or delete such inconsistencies.

(9) Whenever the State Fire Marshal issues a proposed incon-
sistency finding under section(8) of this rule, and the authority hav-
ing jurisdiction disagrees with the proposed finding, the aggrieved
party may within 20 days of receiving the inconsistency finding
appeal and request a contested case hearing under ORS Chapter 183
and OAR 837-039-0055. Thereafter, the State Fire Marshal shall pro-
cess the appeal within a reasonable time.

(10) If an appeal is not filed within 20 days of notification, and
the authority having jurisdiction has failed to delete or amend the
inconsistent fire code provision identified by the State Fire Marshal,
a final inconsistency finding shall be issued.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3) & ORS 476.120
Hist.: FM 3-1978, f. & ef. 6-16-78; FM 2-1988, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-88; FM 5-1992,
f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-00

837-039-0040 
Exemption Criteria

(1) In order to qualify for partially exempt status, applicants
shall provide evidence that they effectively administer and enforce
the fire code sections specified in their application.

(2) To the extent of the proposed exemption, an ability to effec-
tively administer a fire code is demonstrated by meeting or exceed-
ing the qualifications described in this section.

(3) The applicants shall employ a number of fire prevention per-
sonnel they deem adequate to:

(a) Inspect regulated buildings on a frequency they deem nec-
essary to provide a reasonable level of fire and life safety in the appli-
cant’s service area.

(b) Annually inspect;
(A) Hospitals (I-1.1) and for licensing or certification by the

Health Division except for I-1.1 and I-2 Nursing Homes; and
(B) Licensed Day Cares (E-3) and for licensing by the Employ-

ment Department; and
(C) Mental Hospitals (I-3), Jails (I-3), Prisons (I-3) and Refor-

matories (I-3) in the applicant’s service area.
(c) Inspect licensed Boarding/Residential Schools (E-1 and E-

2), Group Homes and Residential Board/Care Facilities (SR) bi-
annually or at the request of the Licensing Agency for a license
renewal; and

(d) Initially inspect Surgical Centers (I-1.2 and I-1.3) and then
every three years. A self inspection program may be initiated in the
two intervening years. The process for the self inspection shall be
explained in the Exempt Jurisdiction’s business plan; and

(e) Inspect licensed Sheltered Workshops (various occupancies)
every three years.

(f) Make necessary reinspections at appropriate intervals to
assure compliance with correction orders issued in response to noted
deficiencies in the applicant’s service area; and

(g) Make necessary special inspections as warranted for unusu-
al conditions, including but not limited to, response to complaints of
special hazards and special events requiring supervision in the appli-
cant’s service area.

(h) Provide consultation upon request of the licensing agency
for Adult Foster Care Homes, pursuant to ORS 476.030(6) in the
applicant’s service area.

(4) Applicants shall employ fire prevention personnel who are
reasonably qualified. Such qualifications shall be substantiated by:
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(a) Being DPSST certified as a Fire Prevention Officer; or
(b) Having documented training and experience, as determined

by the exempt jurisdiction, equivalent to DPSST certification; or
(c) Having documented professional competency, as deter-

mined by the exempt jurisdiction, equivalent to either subsection (a)
or (b) of this section; or

(d) Having documented training and experience, as determined
by the exempt jurisdiction, equivalent to the requirements of NFPA
1031, Professional Qualifications for Fire Inspector and Plans Exam-
iner for Fire Inspector I, II or III; or

(e) Being certified to a nationally recognized standard and
approved by the State Fire Marshal; or

(f) Certification of the fire prevention administration by the
Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI).

(5) Applicants shall provide evidence that they assure coordi-
nation between all authorities responsible for structural fire safety
and fire protection within the applicant’s service area.

(6) Applicants shall:
(a) Provide the services specified in this rule to all service areas.
(b) Have the ability to provide an administrative appeals pro-

cess upon the request of any party who may receive a fire code com-
pliance order issued by the applicant. Such delegated appeal process
shall generally conform to a contested case proceedings described
under ORS Chapter 183 unless otherwise provided for by state law;
or

(c) Establish or maintain a fire code appeals board generally
performing the functions outlined in ORS 476.115. If such Appeals
Board meets the criteria established in subsection (6)(c) of this rule,
the Board may hear local and delegated appeals and rule on fire code
or other issues such as alleged unnecessary hardship, inconsistent
regulations, requests for alternate materials or methods, etc.

(7) Where a fire code delegated appeals process or board has
been established under section (6) of this rule, applicants shall:

(a) Coordinate the interpretation of state fire laws with the State
Fire Marshal to assure uniformity;

(b) Submit a list of hearing officers or board members, includ-
ing their term of appointment, to the State Fire Marshal. An updat-
ed list shall thereafter be submitted annually or upon any change; and

(c) Submit a written summary of the results of any fire code
appeal to the State Fire Marshal within 30 days of issuance of a final
order.

(8) To the extent of the proposed exemption, applicants shall
employ an adequate number of fire investigation personnel to inves-
tigate the origin, cause, and circumstances of each fire occurring in
the applicant’s service area. Applicants shall substantiate that their
investigators are reasonably qualified through:

(a) Being DPSST certified as a Fire Investigation Officer; or
(b) Having documented training and experience, as determined

by the exempt jurisdiction, equivalent to DPSST certification; or
(c) Having documented professional competency, as deter-

mined by the exempt jurisdiction, equivalent to either subsection (a)
or (b) of this section; or

(d) Having documented training and experience, as determined
by the exempt jurisdiction, equivalent to the requirements of NFPA
1033, Professional Qualifications for Fire Investigator; or

(e) Certification of the fire prevention administration by the
Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI).

(9) To the extent of the proposed exemption, applicants shall
employ an adequate number of trained personnel, as determined by
the applicant to provide effective fire prevention education for all
schools, institutions, and similar occupancies in the applicant’s ser-
vice area.

(10) To the extent of the proposed exemption, applicants shall
maintain records of their fire code administration and delegated
appeal activities or other related functions as follows:

(a) Fire prevention inspection records shall be maintained in
accordance with the requirements of the Records Retention Sched-
ule of the Secretary of State Archives Division.

(b) Records of fire code appeals shall be maintained in accor-
dance with the requirements of the Records Retention Schedule of
the Secretary of State Archives Division.

(c) Fire investigation records which document a loss of life shall
be maintained for a period of 75 years. Other investigation records
shall be maintained in accordance with the requirements of the
Records Retention Schedule of the Secretary of State Archives Divi-
sion.

(d) Records of public fire education efforts shall be maintained
in accordance with the requirements of the Records Retention Sched-
ule of the Secretary of State Archives Division.

(e) Records not otherwise described in this section shall be
maintained in accordance with the requirements of the Records
Retention Schedule of the Secretary of State Archives Division.

(11) In the event an exempt jurisdiction ceases for any reason
to be exempt, all records described in this section shall be maintained
by the jurisdiction as per the Records Retention Schedule of the Sec-
retary of State Archives Division.

(12) Applicants shall forward to the State Fire Marshal a writ-
ten annual report which:

(a) Clearly describes the fire prevention and investigation activ-
ities of the applicant;

(b) Is on a calendar year basis; and
(c) Will be forwarded to the State Fire Marshal no later than

July 1st of the following year.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3)
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-
00

837-039-0050 
Programs Eligible for Delegation

(1) As indicated by statutory reference and title, the adminis-
tration of the following functional areas shall be retained in all cases
by the State Fire Marshal:

(a) ORS 453.307 through 453.414, Community Information on
Hazardous Substances;

(b) ORS 476.055, State Fire Marshal Fund;
(c) ORS 476.060, Local officers and Constables as Assistants

to the State Fire Marshal;
(d) ORS 476.090, Record of Fires;
(e) ORS 476.420, Standardization of Existing Fire Protection

Equipment; Exemption; 
(f) ORS 476.440, Sale of Nonstandard Equipment Prohibited;
(g) ORS 476.510 through 476.610, Protection of Life and Prop-

erty from Fire in Case of Emergency (Emergency Conflagration
Act);

(h) ORS 476.855, Discretionary Powers of the State Fire Mar-
shal;

(i) ORS 476.900 through 476.925, Forest Fire Protection Equip-
ment Acquisition;

(j) Except as otherwise provided in OAR chapter 837, division
040, ORS 480.010 through 480.095, Explosives Generally;

(k) Except as otherwise provided in OAR chapter 837, division
040, ORS 480.200 through 480.280, Manufacture, Sale, Possession
and Transfer of Explosives;

(l) Except as otherwise provided in OAR chapter 837, division
012, ORS 480.130, Permits Required for Sale or Public Display of
Fireworks; fee.

(m) Except as otherwise provided in OAR chapter 837, division
012, ORS 480.150, Permits for Fireworks Sales or Displays; Rules;
Security.

(n) Except as otherwise provided in OAR chapter 837, division
012, ORS 480.156, Sales of Fireworks to Out-of-State Residents;

(o) ORS 480.350, Nonretail Facility License;
(p) ORS 480.355, Conditional Nonretail Facility License;
(q) ORS 480.375(2), Audits of Nonretail Facilities;
(r) ORS 480.432 through 480.440 LPG Licensing Program; and
(s) Those other statutory functions reserved exclusively to the

State Fire Marshal.
(2) Although the administration of the functional areas listed in

section (1) of this rule are reserved to the State Fire Marshal, noth-
ing in this division prevents an authority having jurisdiction from
enforcement of state statutes or the State Fire Code if such provi-
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sions are not covered in the Local Fire Code or are more stringent
than the Local Fire Code.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3)
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-
00

837-039-0055
Review and Appeals

(1) The State Fire Marshal may review all approvals issued
under this division every two years and may terminate any approval
for cause.

(2) If a termination is proposed under section (1) of this rule,
the State Fire Marshal shall give the affected jurisdiction written
notice at least 30 days before a proposed termination becomes effec-
tive.

(3) An affected jurisdiction may appeal in writing any refusal
of the State Fire Marshal to grant an approval or a proposed termi-
nation.

(4) Upon receipt of an appeal under section (3) of this rule, the
State Fire Marshal shall initiate an administrative appeals process.
The process shall conform to the contested case provisions of ORS
Chapter 183.

(5) The results of the appeals process conducted under section
(4) of this rule shall be final and thereafter not appealable.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(3)
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-
00, Renumbered from 837-039-0100

837-039-0060 
Nonexempt Jurisdictions

(1) Local government subdivisions who have not applied for
and been granted exempt status by the State Fire Marshal operate fire
code administration programs in conformance with this division.

(2) Under ORS 476.060, public fire marshals and fire chiefs are
designated as Assistants to the State Fire Marshal and enforce the fire
code in conformance with this division.

(3) There are two areas of nonexempt enforcement activities:
(a) Responses to imminent life or property threats; and
(b) Inspection and enforcement of the state fire code.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.060 & ORS 476.070
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-
00

837-039-0080 
Inspections or Other Activities by Nonexempt Jurisdictions

(1) If an Assistant to the State Fire Marshal in a nonexempt
jurisdiction desires to administer a fire prevention program, the
Assistant may do so in conformance with this section.

(2) The Assistant to the State Fire Marshal will have a written
plan of their fire prevention program which includes and describes
the following:

(a) Types of inspection activities;
(b) Frequency of inspections;
(c) Type of enforcement actions that may be taken; and
(d) Record keeping system.
(3) The State Fire Marshal may advise Assistants to the State

Fire Marshal with fire prevention inspection and enforcement pro-
grams if the requirements of the state fire codes are not being
enforced in a uniform manner.

(4) Records will be maintained of all fire code inspections and
reinspections, investigations, appeal activities and any other related
functions.

(5) If any lawful order of the Assistant to the State Fire Mar-
shal is appealed, the State Fire Marshal shall provide a contested case
appeals process under OAR 837-039-0055, unless otherwise pro-
vided by law, as follows:

(a) The Assistant to the State Fire Marshal who took the
enforcement action which was appealed shall be available and pre-
pared to participate in the appeals process;

(b) The State Fire Marshal shall pursue and present the state
through the appeals process; and

(c) The State Fire Marshal shall determine what, if any, orders
are to be issued and/or penalties are to be assessed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.070
Hist.: FM 5-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-
00

837-039-0110 
Certification Requirements for Plan Review

(1) These rules establish standards for certification of fire offi-
cials who review plans for new construction, alterations, and spec-
ifications from a Fire Code approved by the State Fire Marshal.

(2) All fire officials who review plans for new construction,
alterations, and specifications shall obtain a Fire Code certification
approved by the State Fire Marshal.

(3) The State Fire Marshal shall maintain a roster of Fire Code
certified fire officials. A current list of Fire Code certified fire offi-
cials will be provided to each building jurisdiction annually. All fire
officials who review plans shall provide documentation of certifi-
cation to the building official. Certification must be maintained to
continue participation in the plan review process.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.165
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.165
Hist.: FM 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-1-94; OSFM 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-00

DIVISION 40
FIRE AND LIFE SAFETY REGULATIONS

837-040-0001 
Scope

(1) The Uniform Fire Code and these Oregon amendments
represent a total scope of regulation.

(2) None of the individual articles in the Uniform Fire Code and
Oregon amendments are stand alone requirements.

(3) The provisions of these articles are not retroactive for exist-
ing facilities unless the chief determines that the condition presents
a distinct hazard to life or property.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476
Hist.: FM 6-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92

837-040-0010 
Adoption of the Uniform Fire Code

The 1997 edition of the Uniform Fire Code as promulgated by
the International Fire Code Institute is hereby adopted as the Oregon
Uniform Fire Code subject to the exclusions therefrom and amend-
ments thereto as hereafter set forth in these regulations.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth: ORS 476.030, ORS 479,& ORS 480
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476, ORS 479, & ORS 480
Hist.: FM 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-11-86; FM 5-1986 (corrects FM 3-1986), f. & ef. 4-
30-86 & Renumbered from 837-040-0005, Sec. (3) Uniform Fire Code; FM 3-
1989, f. 6-30-89, cert. ef. 7-1-89; FM 6-1990, f. & cert. ef. 9-13-90; F)M 6-1992,
f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 2-1996, f. 1-22-96, cert. ef. 4-1-96; OSFM 1-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-30-98; OSFM 3-1998, f. & cert. ef. 9-30-98; OSFM 4-1999,
f. 12-29-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OSFM 3-2000, f. 4-1-00, cert. ef. 5-1-00; OSFM 13-
2000, f. 10-3-00, cert. ef. 11-1-00; OSFM 9-2001, f. 10-3-01, cert. ef. 2-1-02

837-040-0140
Adoption of the Oregon Structural Specialty Code and Oregon
Mechanical Specialty Code.

The fire and life safety provisions of the 1998 edition of the
Oregon Structural Specialty Code and the 1999 edition of the Ore-
gon Mechanical Specialty Code is hereby adopted as a standard for
the purpose of evaluation of existing buildings.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030
Hist.: OSFM 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-30-98; OSFM 9-2001, f. 10-3-01, cert. ef.
2-1-02
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DIVISION 41
FIRE PROTECTION REGULATIONS RELATING TO

INSTITUTIONAL CARE FACILITIES
Exitway Protection

837-041-0050 
Exitway Protection — General Provisions

(1) “High Life Hazard” definition: For the purpose of this rule,
a “high life hazard” is any condition, or combination of conditions,
where a reasonable adequate level of exiting safety has not been pro-
vided for the building occupants in the event of a fire or fire-relat-
ed emergency.

(2) All existing buildings and structures (other than institutional,
group care and single family dwelling occupancies) which constitute
a high hazard to the occupants in the event of a fire or fire-related
emergency shall provide a reasonable adequate level of exiting safe-
ty through substantial compliance with the requirements for new con-
struction under the 1998 Edition of Oregon Structural Specialty
Code, or any of the following methods or combinations thereof
which the State Fire Marshal or deputy approved for the building or
structure:

(a) A partial automatic sprinkler system as specified in N.F.P.A.
Standard No. 13, 1999 Edition or the 1998 Edition of Oregon
Structural Specialty Code, Standard 9-1, installed throughout the
complete exit system and inside every unprotected opening into the
exit system. The sprinkler system shall be fitted with a swing check
valve on the supply side and a fire department connection, except that
the fire department connection may be omitted when waived by the
authority having jurisdiction. A water flow detection device shall be
installed that sounds an alarm on the premises or when a building has
a fire alarm system, it is connected into the building fire alarm sys-
tem.

(b) An automatic smoke detection system engineered specifi-
cally for life safety and early warning, installed throughout the
premises as specified in N.F.P.A. Standard No. 72 1999 Edition.
Heat detectors may be installed in place of smoke detectors in
mechanical service rooms, storage rooms, kitchens, custodial clos-
ets, and areas not normally occupied or traversed by people. Fire
detection system(s) shall be interconnected with the building evac-
uation fire alarm system.

EXCEPTION: In Group E Occupancies, detectors shall not be required in
classrooms normally under the direct supervision of a staff member unless
required by other Oregon Revised Statutes or Oregon Administrative Rules.
(c) An approved direct means of egress from each room open-

ing to the outside at ground level. Windows may be accepted if they
are easily openable, provide a clear opening with the least dimension
of 24 inches, and have a minimum clear opening of not less than 5.7
square feet; the maximum sill to ground level not to exceed 4 feet
and suitable means are provided for the occupants to use the open-
ing.

EXCEPTION: In Group E Occupancies, direct exterior exits shall consist
of doors, landings, and necessary stairs or ramps complying with the State
Building Code, except that outswinging casement windows equipped with
a latch or lock requiring no key, special effort, or knowledge may be
allowed if the opening is a minimum of 24 inches in width, 5 feet in height
and is provided with sill-height landings 30 inches square, and access from
floor to landing and from landing to grade is by way of stairs which have
a maximum rise of nine (9) inches and are equipped with code-complying
handrails.
(d) Any other plan submitted by the owner, lessee, agent, or

occupant and certified by a registered architect or engineer of the
State of Oregon of reasonably adequate expertise in fire and life safe-
ty, which will provide a reasonable adequate level of exiting safety
from the building or structure in the event of a fire or fire-related
emergency.

(3) In determining whether a building or structure constitutes
a high life hazard and in determining whether to approve a method
of improvement, the State Fire Marshal or deputy shall determine
whether the level of hazard is unreasonable by considering among
other factors the following:

(a) Type of construction;
(b) Type of use;

(c) Type and density of occupancy;
(d) Type of contents and equipment;
(e) Fire division walls creating horizontal exits;
(f) Compartmentation;
(g) Areas of refuge;
(h) Ceiling height;
(i) Corridor and stair construction;
(j) Alarm, communication and detection systems;
(k) Fire suppression systems;
(l) Exit design and fire escapes;
(m) Automatic smoke control; and
(n) Fuel loading.
(4) The State Fire Marshal or deputy shall submit to the owner,

lessee, agent or occupant written findings setting forth the facts sup-
porting the determination that a high life hazard exists. Except as pro-
vided in ORS 479.170, the owner, lessee, agent or occupant shall have
sixty (60) days after receipt of such findings to propose the method
of improvement to the State Fire Marshal or deputy, who shall have
sixty (60) days thereafter to approve or disapprove of the proposed
method of improvement. If the proposed method of improvement is
disapproved by the State Fire Marshal or deputy, a written statement
of the reasons for disapproval shall be provided to the owner, lessee,
agent or occupant within such sixty (60) day period.

(5) Except for governmental subdivisions exempt under ORS
476.030(3), the owner, lessee, agent or occupant aggrieved by the
determination that the building or structure constitutes a high life haz-
ard or by the disapproval of the proposed method of improvement
(hereafter the order) and desires a hearing, the owner, lessee, agent
or occupant may appeal in writing to the State Fire Marshal within
(10) days from the service of the written findings of a high life haz-
ard or the statement of reasons for disapproval of the proposed
method of improvement. The appeal shall set forth the specific
grounds of the appeal and no other grounds shall be considered there-
after. The appeal shall be accompanied by a fee of $40 payable to the
State Fire Marshal, and the State Fire Marshal may refer the appeal
to the Regional Appeal Advisory Board established for that region
by notifying the chairman of that board and sending a copy of the
notice to the appellant. The Board shall fix a time for a hearing and
notify the appellant of the time and place thereof which shall be with-
in ten (10) days after such referral by the State Fire Marshal. If the
State Fire Marshal does not refer the matter to a Regional Appeal
Advisory Board, the State Fire Marshal shall fix a time and place,
not less than five (5) and not more than ten (10) days thereafter, when
and where the appeal will be heard by the State Fire Marshal. With-
in ten (10) days after receiving a recommendation from the Region-
al Appeal Advisory Board, or if no referral was made to such Board,
within ten (10) days after the hearing before the State Fire Marshal,
the State Fire Marshal may affirm, modify, revoke or vacate the
order. If the State Fire Marshal affirms the order, the State Fire Mar-
shal shall fix the time within which the owner, lessee, agent or occu-
pant shall comply with the requirements of this rule. If the State Fire
Marshal vacates or revokes the order, or modifies it in any particu-
lar other than extending time for compliance, the fee paid with the
appeal shall be refunded. Otherwise, it shall be credited to appro-
priate state funds, and the State Fire Marshal shall so notify the State
Treasurer.

(6) If the appellant under section (5) of this rule is aggrieved by
the final order of the State Fire Marshal, the appellant may, within
ten (10) days thereafter, appeal to the circuit court of the county in
which the building or structures is situated, in the manner provided
in ORS 479.180(2).

(7) In governmental subdivisions exempt under ORS
476.030(3), the owner, lessee, agent or occupant, aggrieved by the
determination that the building or structure constitutes a high life haz-
ard or by the disapproval of the proposed method of improvement,
and desires a hearing, the owner, lessee, agent or occupant may
appeal in writing to the Board of Appeals as provided by the ordi-
nance and rules of the governmental subdivision.

(8) Commentary:
(a) Upgrading deficient exit facilities should always be of pri-

mary concern in any occupancy, but it must be recognized that there
are degrees of deficiency from a very slight or negligible hazard to
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what is defined as a high life hazard under this rule. Fire officials
should not equate the level of exiting safety required for new con-
struction under the current building code with the reasonably ade-
quate level of exiting safety required by this rule. The intent of this
rule is to allow the continued use of existing buildings which pro-
vide a level of exit safety that substantially comply with the require-
ments for new construction under the current building code or use
one of the alternatives to come within the range of reasonable safe-
ty that the public should be provided. Structural Changes shall not
be required in buildings built, occupied and maintained in conformity
with state building code regulations applicable at the time of con-
struction, ORS 476.030(c). 

Note: The state building code was first adopted in 1974.
(b) Rather than looking strictly to the current standard for new

construction under the building code, fire officials must use their own
judgement on a case-by-case basis as to reasonableness of the degree
of hazard and adequacy of exit safety after evaluating all of the rel-
evant factors stated in the rule and any other factors unique to the
building or structure (Historical structures ORS 476.035). The writ-
ten findings required by this rule should list and analyze the relevant
factors so that if the determination of the fire official is appealed, a
written record of the reasons for the determination will be available
for review.

(c) While fire and life safety must be given primary consider-
ation, the determination of whether the existing level of hazard is
unreasonable requires the fire official to consider the cost of the pos-
sible improvements in relation to the benefits provided by increased
exiting safety from such improvements. The cost benefit analysis
should be considered in deciding which method of improvement to
approve once the determination of high life hazard has been made.

(d) The rule has been amended to provide greater flexibility in
the method of improvement of deficient buildings. The fire official
must not approve any proposed plan of improvement unless it will
provide the reasonably adequate level of exiting safety required.
While the fire official is not expected to plan the method of improve-
ment for the building owner, much time will be saved if the fire offi-
cial will actively assist the building owner or the owner’s engineer
in finding the least expensive method of improvement providing the
reasonably adequate level of exiting safety.

(e) Substantial compliance with the requirements for new con-
struction under the current building code will often be impossible or
so expensive as to be impractical in existing buildings. The approval
for one or more of the remaining three alternatives should always be
given on a case-by-case basis after a consideration of all of the same
factors considered in determining that the building constitutes a high
life hazard and after balancing the costs against the benefits provided
by the different methods. For example, in a hotel or apartment build-
ing the existence of a passive occupancy where cooking, portable
space heaters, smoking in bed and other such activities create a sig-
nificantly higher risk of undetected and/or uncontrolled fire incidents,
the fire official might justifiably refuse to approve any plan that does
not include significant use of automatic sprinklers. In contrast, where
an active occupancy is involved such as in an office building,
approval might be given for a plan of improvement consisting of hor-
izontal exits and areas of refuge.

(f) In approving a plan of improvement, the fire official will
require a commitment to a date of completion for the improvements,
but will allow a sufficient period for completion.

(g) Once the improvement has been completed, unless there is
a significant change in one or more of the factors considered in the
determination of a high life hazard, no further improvements will be
required under this rule.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030(C)
Hist.: FM 68, f. 5-2-75, ef. 5-25-75; FM 7-1981, f. & ef. 11-5-81; OSFM 7-2001,
f. 6-27-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01

DIVISION 45

SMOKE ALARMS AND SMOKE DETECTORS
837-045-0040 
Purpose and Scope

The purpose of these rules is to establish safety requirements
for the installation and maintenance of smoke alarms and smoke
detectors in existing buildings, and to establish standards and pro-
cedures for the enforcement of those requirements, for the protection
of Oregon residents from fire.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.255 & ORS 479.295
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0045 
Definitions

(1) “Approved Sprinkler Fire Suppression System” means a fire
suppression system:

(a) Constructed in accordance with the National Fire Protection
Association (NFPA) Standard 13 or 13R as referenced in the State
Building Code under OAR 918-460-0010 in effect on October 1,
2000; and

(b) Inspected and approved by the building official; and
(c) Inspected and certified annually by the Authority Having

Jurisdiction as being in compliance with NFPA Standard 25 (1998
ed.)

(2) “Efficiency Dwelling Unit” means a dwelling unit con-
taining only one habitable room.

(3) “Formal Hearing” means a proceeding before a hearings
officer conducted pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act
(APA), ORS 183.413 to 183.470.

(4) “Hotel” as defined in ORS 479.250 includes, but is not lim-
ited to: Hotels, Motels, Auto Courts, Motor Inns and all similar occu-
pancies by any other name (i.e., School Dormitories, Fraternities,
Sororities, and any other similar buildings) with six or more sleep-
ing/guestrooms for non-family members that are rented, hired out or
made available on a regular basis for sleeping purposes but are not
used as a primary residence.

(5) “Informal Conference” means a meeting between the
party(ies) and the Office of State Fire Marshal, prior to a formal hear-
ing, that may include a discussion about whether a basis exists for
informal disposition of a contested case by stipulation, agreed set-
tlement, consent order or other means.

(6) “Ionization Smoke Detection” means the principle of using
a small amount of radioactive material to ionize the air between two
differentially charged electrodes to sense the presence of smoke par-
ticles.

(7) “Local Fire Authority” means persons described in ORS
476.060(1).

(8) “Lodging House” as defined in ORS 479.250 includes, but
is not limited to: School Dormitories, Fraternities, Sororities, Youth
Camps and Private Dwellings that have five or less sleeping/gue-
strooms that are made available for sleeping purposes in exchange
for compensation in money, goods, labor, or other tender, but that
are not used as a primary residence.

(9) “Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory” means an
accredited laboratory listed by the International Conference of Build-
ing Officials Evaluation Services or an equivalent laboratory
approved by the Authority Having Jurisdiction.

(10) “Owner” includes a duly authorized agent or attorney, a
purchaser, devisee, fiduciary, lessor or sublessor and/or a person hav-
ing a vested or contingent interest in the property in question.

(11) “Person” means one or more individuals, legal represen-
tatives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations
(whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any orga-
nized group of persons and includes the state, state agencies, coun-
ties, municipal corporations, school districts, and other public cor-
porations or subdivisions.

(12) “Photoelectric Smoke Detection” means the principle of
utilizing a light source and a photosensitive sensor to detect particles
of combustion. Photoelectric smoke detection incorporates either a
“light obscuration” or a “light scattering” method of operation.
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(13) “Request for Hearing” means a written request for a for-
mal hearing to contest the assessment of a civil penalty.

(14) “Smoke Alarm for Hearing Impaired Persons” means a
device that:

(a) Meets the definition in ORS 479.250(1);
(b) Causes a strobe to emit a white light when activated; and
(c) Is listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory for the

purpose of alerting hearing impaired persons in the event of a fire.
(15) “Smoke Detector for Hearing Impaired Persons” means a

device that:
(a) Meets the definition in ORS 479.250(2);
(b) Causes a strobe to emit a white light when activated; and
(c) Is listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory for the

purpose of alerting hearing impaired persons in the event of a fire.
(16) “State Fire Marshal” means the State Fire Marshal appoint-

ed under ORS 476.020 and the Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal and
Deputy State Fire Marshals appointed by the State Fire Marshal
under ORS 476.040.

(17) “Ten-Year Smoke Alarm Battery” means a battery power
source that is warranted by the battery manufacturer to be free from
defects in materials and workmanship for a period of at least ten (10)
years when used in an ionization smoke alarm that:

(a) Is listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory; and
(b) Has been approved by the nationally recognized testing lab-

oratory for use with a ten-year battery.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.040, ORS 476.060, ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS
479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0050
Installation and Location of Smoke Alarms and Smoke Detectors

(1) All smoke alarms or smoke detectors shall be installed and
located in accordance with the listing and manufacturer’s instructions
and OAR 837-045-0045 through 837-045-0060.

(2) Dwelling Units:
(a) Smoke alarms and smoke detectors in dwelling units shall

be installed in each sleeping room as per the applicable requirements
of the State Building Code at the time of construction and in the cor-
ridor or area giving access to sleeping areas according to the man-
ufacturer’s instructions. Where sleeping areas are located on an upper
level, the smoke alarm or smoke detector shall be installed in an
accessible location as close as practical to the center of the ceiling
directly over the stairway. Where sleeping areas are widely separated
(i.e., on different levels or opposite ends of the dwelling unit) and/or
where a single smoke alarm or smoke detector will not adequately
service all sleeping areas, a smoke alarm or smoke detector shall be
installed adjacent to each sleeping area.

(b) When activated, the installed smoke alarm(s) or smoke
detector(s) shall produce an alarm sound audible in the dwelling unit,
guestroom(s) and sleeping area(s).

(3) Efficiency Dwelling Units, Lodging Houses and Hotels:
(a) In an efficiency dwelling unit, lodging house guestroom or

hotel room or suite, the smoke alarm or smoke detector shall be
installed on the ceiling or a wall of the main room or sleeping area.

(b) When activated, the smoke alarm(s) or smoke detector(s)
shall produce an alarm sound audible in the main room and sleep-
ing area(s).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.255 & ORS 479.295
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00; OSFM 5-2002, f. 3-26-02,
cert. ef. 4-1-02

837-045-0055
Hotels with Approved Sprinkler Fire Suppression Systems

Hotels that have installed an approved sprinkler fire suppression
system are exempt from the requirements of ORS 479.257(1).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.257 & ORS 479.295
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0060

Power Source 
(1) The power supply of a smoke alarm shall be a commercial

power source, an integral battery or batteries or a combination of
both. The power supply for a smoke detector shall be a commercial
power source.

(2) When a smoke alarm or smoke detector is served from a
commercial power source, the wiring shall be permanent and shall
not have a disconnecting switch other than that required for over cur-
rent protection.

(3) When a line cord and plug is used, it shall be plugged direct-
ly into a fixed outlet box and the plug shall be secured by a device
that cannot be removed without the use of a tool.

(4) The owner of a dwelling unit, lodging house or hotel shall
obtain a permit from the local building official for the installation of
a 110-volt smoke alarm or a low-voltage smoke detector connected
to a fire alarm control panel.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.255 & ORS 479.295
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0065
Smoke Alarms for Hearing Impaired Persons or Smoke
Detectors for Hearing Impaired Persons

(1) Smoke alarms for hearing impaired persons or smoke detec-
tors for hearing impaired persons shall meet:

(a) The requirements of ORS 479.250 to 479.300, except ORS
479.297;

(b) The applicable requirements of the State Building Code
under OAR 918-460-0010 in effect on October 1, 2000; and

(c) OAR 837-045-0040 to 837-045-0110.
(2) If a hotel requires a guest to pay a refundable deposit for pro-

viding a smoke alarm for hearing impaired persons, the amount of
the deposit shall not exceed 50 percent of the purchase price of the
smoke alarm.

(3) A hotel shall provide a printed notice pursuant to ORS
479.255(5) and in accordance with the following requirements:

(a) The notice shall be printed or typed and the printed or typed
wording shall be a contrasting color to the background color of the
notice;

(b) The notice shall be a contrasting color to the surface on
which the notice is mounted;

(c) The notice shall state, “Smoke alarms or smoke detectors for
hearing impaired persons are available upon request” or other appro-
priate wording as may be specifically approved by the State Fire
Marshal or local fire authority.

(d) If the notice is posted at the place of registration, the notice
shall be posted in such a manner that it is readily visible and legible
from the public side of the registration desk or counter.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.255 & ORS 479.295
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – 479.300
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0070
Issuance of Notice of Deficiency Citations

(1) The State Fire Marshal or local fire authority may issue a
notice of deficiency citation for a violation under ORS 479.990(6)
or the rules adopted thereto.

(2) Each separate instance of non-compliance under ORS
479.990(6) or the rules adopted thereto shall be considered a sepa-
rate violation.

(3) A notice of deficiency citation may be issued for each sep-
arate violation under ORS 479.990(6).

(4) A notice of deficiency citation shall be on a form approved
by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(5) For violations of ORS 479.255, 479.260, 479.270 or
479.280 or the rules adopted thereto, the State Fire Marshal or local
fire authority shall present a copy of the notice of deficiency citation
to the owner of the dwelling unit, lodging house or hotel.

(6) For violations of ORS 479.297, or the rules adopted there-
to, the State Fire Marshal or local fire authority shall present a copy
of the notice of deficiency citation to the owner or employee selling
a smoke alarm in violation of ORS 479.297.
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(7) For violations of ORS 479.300, or the rules adopted there-
to, the State Fire Marshal or local fire authority shall present a copy
of the notice of deficiency citation to the person believed to have
removed or tampered with a properly functioning smoke alarm or
smoke detector.

(8) The State Fire Marshal or local fire authority shall present
a copy of the notice of deficiency citation by;

(a) Personal service;
(b) Service by certified mail; or
(c) Service by regular mail.
(9) Upon presenting a copy of the notice of deficiency citation

under OAR 837-045-0070(5) through (8), the State Fire Marshal or
local fire authority shall retain all remaining copies of the notice of
deficiency citation until the re-inspection of the premises.

(10) After 10 days have passed from the date the notice of defi-
ciency citation was issued, the State Fire Marshal or local fire author-
ity shall:

(a) Re-inspect the premises; and
(b) Complete the “Re-Inspection of Premises” section of the

notice of deficiency citation.
(11) Issuance of a notice of deficiency citation under this rule

shall have no effect on the use of a uniform citation under ORS chap-
ter 153 for offenses subject to ORS chapter 153.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.280, ORS 479.295 & ORS 479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – 479.300 & 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0075
Forwarding Notice of Deficiency Citation to the Office of State
Fire Marshal

(1) Upon re-inspection of the premises and completion of the
notice of deficiency citation under OAR 837-045-0070(10), the State
Fire Marshal or local fire authority shall:

(a) Retain a copy of the notice of deficiency citation for its
records; and

(b) Forward the original notice of deficiency citation to the
Office of State Fire Marshal within ten days of the re-inspection.

(2) If applicable, each notice of deficiency citation forwarded
to the Office of State Fire Marshal shall be accompanied by a copy
of the issuing authority’s written report, inspection sheets, Fire Dis-
trict Property Report, or evidence receipt – Form #920-021-06, or
any other forms that the issuing authority completes during the pro-
cess of issuing notice of deficiency citations and/or re-inspecting the
premises.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.280, ORS 479.295 & ORS 479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0080
Assessment of Civil Penalty and Issuance of Notice of Civil
Penalty

(1) Upon receipt and review of a notice of deficiency citation
and, if applicable, any accompanying documentation, the Office of
State Fire Marshal may assess a civil penalty(ies).

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall assess a penalty
amount determined by the Office of State Fire Marshal to be appro-
priate for the particular violation(s). In determining an appropriate
penalty amount, or whether to assess a penalty amount at all, the
Office of State Fire Marshal may use the schedule set forth in OAR
837-045-0085 as a guideline and may consider the following crite-
ria:

(a) The severity of the violation(s) or its impact on public safe-
ty;

(b) The number of similar or related violations;
(c) Whether the violation(s) was willful or intentional;
(d) The prior history of penalties imposed by the Office of State

Fire Marshal against the person;
(e) Other circumstances determined by the office of State Fire

Marshal to be applicable to the particular violation(s).
(3) Upon assessment of the civil penalty(ies), the Office of State

Fire Marshal shall issue a notice of civil penalty pursuant to the pro-
visions of ORS 183.090.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall:

(a) Retain the original notice of civil penalty;
(b) Serve a copy of the notice of civil penalty pursuant to ORS

183.090.
(5) The Office of State Fire Marshal may mail a copy of the

notice of civil penalty to the authority that issued the notice of defi-
ciency citation.

(6) If the Office of State Fire Marshal does not assess a civil
penalty, the Office of State Fire Marshal may:

(a) Mail a certified letter to the person against whom the notice
of deficiency citation was issued that notifies the person that the
Office of State Fire Marshal will not assess a civil penalty for the vio-
lation(s) described in the notice of deficiency citation; and

(b) Mail a copy of the letter to the authority that issued the
notice of deficiency citation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.280, ORS 479.295 & ORS 479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0085
Schedule of Civil Penalties

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal adopts this civil penalty
schedule. As used in this rule, a violation will be considered a sec-
ond or subsequent violation if the person against whom the civil
penalty is assessed was notified verbally or in writing within three
previous years of the occurrence of the same or a substantially sim-
ilar violation, and was given an opportunity for hearing on the pre-
vious alleged violation.

(2) Failure to comply with any provisions of the statutes cited
in ORS 479.990(6), or the rules adopted thereto, may be punishable
by a civil penalty as follows:

(a) For first violation: $50;
(b) For second violation: $100;
(c) For third or subsequent violation(s): $250.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & ORS 479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0090
Contested Cases

(1) A person may request a hearing regarding the assessment
by the Office of State Fire Marshal of a civil penalty, subject to the
requirements of ORS 183.090.

(2) A request for hearing shall be timely filed.
(3) A request for hearing is timely filed when the request is post-

marked or received at the Office of State Fire Marshal within 20 days
from the date of service of the notice of civil penalty.

(4) The 20-day deadline shall be computed by excluding the
date of the notice of civil penalty and including the 20th day. If the
20th day falls upon any legal holiday, Saturday or Sunday, the 20th
day shall be the following work day.

(5) If a request for hearing is not timely filed under sections (3)
and (4) of this rule, the person shall have waived the right to a con-
tested case under ORS chapter 183.090.

(6) A person may write to or call the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal to informally discuss the assessment of a civil penalty; howev-
er, an informal communication shall not extend the 20-day deadline
by which a request for hearing must be made.

(7) A contested case may include:
(a) An informal conference; and/or
(b) A formal hearing.
(8) A contested case shall be conducted pursuant to the provi-

sions of ORS 183.090 and the rules adopted thereto.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & ORS 479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0095
Informal Conference

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal may provide an opportu-
nity for an informal conference.

(2) A request for an informal conference may be made verbal-
ly or in writing; and shall:
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(a) Be made or addressed to the Office of State Fire Marshal;
and

(b) Clearly state the issue(s) to be discussed.
(3) If the Office of State Fire Marshal and the party(ies) agree,

an informal conference may be held by telephone.
(4) After an informal conference, the Office of State Fire Mar-

shal may amend, withdraw, or reduce a civil penalty. Such action
shall be taken in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act
(APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725, and the rules adopted thereto.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & ORS 479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – 479.300 & 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0100
Formal Hearing

(1) A person may file a written request for hearing before or
after an informal conference, at any time before the 20-day deadline
for filing such a request expires.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall arrange for a hear-
ings officer to conduct the formal hearing.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall set a date, time, and
location for the formal hearing.

(4) A formal hearing shall be conducted pursuant to ORS
183.090.

(5) The Office of State Fire Marshal may mail certified a copy
of the final order to the fire authority that issued the notice of defi-
ciency citation within ten days of signing of the final order.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & ORS 479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS 479.990
Hist.:OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0105
Adjustment of Civil Penalty

(1) At any time during a contested case, and prior to the issuance
of a final order, the Office of State Fire Marshal may mitigate the civil
penalty amount and may agree to payment of an amount less than that
stated in the notice of civil penalty, after review of:

(a) The criteria listed in OAR 837-045-0080(2); and
(b) Any explanatory information provided to the Office of State

Fire Marshal.
(2) If the Office of State Fire Marshal adjusts a civil penalty, the

Office of State Fire Marshal shall issue an amended notice of civil
penalty.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall:
(a) Retain the original amended notice of civil penalty;
(b) Serve a copy of the amended notice of civil penalty on the

person against whom the civil penalty was assessed.
(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal may mail a copy of the

amended notice of civil penalty to the authority that issued the notice
of deficiency citation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & ORS 479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

837-045-0110
Payment of Civil Penalty

A civil penalty shall be paid to the Office of State Fire Marshal
within ten days after an order assessing a civil penalty becomes final
by operation of law or on an appeal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.295 & ORS 479.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.250 – ORS 479.300 & ORS 479.990
Hist.: OSFM 10-2000, f. 9-14-00, cert. ef. 10-1-00

DIVISION 61
FIRE FIGHTING

Standardization of Fire Protection Equipment
837-061-0005 
Purpose

(1) ORS 476.030 requires the State Fire Marshal to make rules
and regulations relating to standards for equipment used for fire pro-
tection purposes. ORS 476.410 requires that all fire protection equip-

ment purchased by state and municipal authorities shall be equipped
with standard thread for fire hose couplings and hydrant fittings as
adopted by the State Fire Marshal. ORS 476.440 prohibits any per-
son from selling in Oregon any fire protection equipment unless such
equipment is fitted and equipped with the standard thread for fire
hose couplings and hydrant fittings as adopted by the State Fire Mar-
shal. This statute also provides for exemption from this requirement
for special purposes.

(2) The following rules and standards for fire protection equip-
ment are adopted in order to implement the intent of the above
statutes to provide for the interchangeability of fire hose and relat-
ed equipment between fire departments during emerg ency opera-
tions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.410 - ORS 476.440
Hist.: FM 40, f. 3-5-70, ef. 3-25-70; FM 3-1988, f. & cert ef. 2-17-88

837-061-0010 
Threaded Couplings and Fittings

All equipment used for fire protection purposes , having hose
couplings and fittings of nominal 1-1/2 inch inside diameter and larg-
er, shall have threads designated “American National Fire Hose Con-
nection Screw Threads.” The form, dimensions, tolerances, gauges,
and overall design and construction of threads on threaded couplings
and fittings shall conform to “National Fire Protection Association
Standard No. 1963, 1998 edition.”

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.410
Hist.: FM 40, f. 3-5-70, ef. 3-25-70; FM 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-88; OSFM 8-
2001, f. 6-27-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01

837-061-0015 
Exemptions

(1) Fire protection equipment used under the authority of ORS
chapters 477 and 526 are exempt from the provisions of this division.

(2) The State Fire Marshal may grant exemption from these
rules for private fire protection equipment used for special purpos-
es, research programs, or special features of fire protection equip-
ment found appropriate for uniformity within a particular protection
area and not essential to the coordination of public fire protection
operations. Any such exemption shall be granted in writing by the
State Fire Marshal.

(3) Fire protection equipment having non-threaded couplings or
fittings with an inside diameter greater than three inches may be pur-
chased and used without written exemption from the State Fire Mar-
shal under the following conditions:

(a) Non-threaded couplings shall conform to the specifications
contained in “National Fire Protection Association Standard No.
1963, 1988 edition”.

(b) All fire apparatus carrying hose equipped with non-thread-
ed couplings shall also carry inlet and discharge adapters in accor-
dance with the following:

(A) 3-1/2” Hose: — For the initial 1,000 feet, or portion there-
of, and each additional 1,000 feet, or major portion thereof (500 feet
or more);

(B) Inlet: — Minimum of one 2-way 2-1/2” threaded female
with inlets (clappered) adapted to non-threaded coupling hose size;

(C) Discharge: — Minimum of one 2-way 2-1/2” threaded male
gated outlets adapted from non-threaded coupling hose size;

(D) 4” Hose and larger: — For the initial 1,000 feet, or portion
thereof, and each additional 1,000 feet or major portion thereof (500
feet or more);

(E) Inlet: — Minimum of one 3-way 2-1/2” threaded female
with inlets (clappered) adapted to non-threaded coupling hose size;

(F) Discharge: — Minimum of one 3-way 2-1/2” threaded male
with gated outlets adapted from non-threaded coupling hose size.

(c) All fire department coupling, i.e., hydrants, sprinkler sys-
tems, standpipes, nozzles, adapters, etc., must be equipped with
“American National Fire Hose Connection Screw Threads” regard-
less of size. However, such equipment may be additionally
equipped with adapters of the non-threaded type when approved by
the chief of the fire department.
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[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.410
Hist.: FM 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-88; OSFM 8-2001, f. 6-27-01, cert. ef. 7-1-
01

DIVISION 85
COMMUNITY RIGHT-TO-KNOW 

SURVEY AND COMPLIANCE PROGRAMS
837-085-0010 
Authority and Application

(1) These rules are promulgated under the Office of State Fire
Marshal’s authority contained in ORS 453.367 and 453.402(2).

(2) OAR chapter 837, division 085 applies to covered em -
ployers, owners and operators of fixed facilities where hazar dous
substances or wastes are likely to be manufactured, gene rated, used,
stored, possessed or disposed of.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 - ORS 453.372
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0020 
Purpose and Scope

(1) The purpose of OAR chapter 837, division 085, is:
(a) To insure that all reportable hazardous substances or wastes

manufactured, generated, used, stored, possessed or disposed of at
fixed facilities are identified and the information is submitted to the
Office of State Fire Marshal;

(b) To address the process by which hazardous substance infor-
mation is identified and communicated to the Office of State Fire
Marshal;

(c) To address the process by which information received
through the Office of State Fire Marshal’s Hazardous Substance
Information Survey and Incident Reporting Systems are distributed
to emergency personnel, public agencies, and the public;

(d) To address the process of assessing penalties;
(e) To address the process by which covered employers, own-

ers and operators will be evaluated to determine their level of com-
pliance with the Oregon Community Right-to-Know and Protection
Act;

(f) To establish procedures for issuing Non-Compliance and
Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order to covered employers,
owners and operators who fail to comply with the reporting require-
ments.

(2) The “Community Right-to-Know and Protection Act”, ORS
453.307 to 453.414, requires covered employers, owners and oper-
ators to report to the Office of State Fire Marshal, the identity, asso-
ciated hazard classification(s) and other information for all
reportable hazardous substances or waste which they manufacture,
generate, use, store or dispose of at fixed facilities.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 – ORS 453.372
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02

837-085-0030 
Covered Employers, Owners, Operators and Standard
Industrial Classifications (SICs)

(1) Persons operating one or more facilities, where hazardous
substances are present in reportable quantities are required to noti-
fy the Office of State Fire Marshal within 30 days and are subject to
the hazardous substance information reporting requirements con-
tained in ORS 453.307 to 453.414 and OAR 837-085-0090.

(2) Persons operating facilities within Standard Industrial Clas-
sification codes that have been identified by the Office of State Fire
Marshal as having the potential to possess, store or otherwise use
hazardous substances in reportable quantities are subject to the haz-
ardous substance information reporting requirements contained in
ORS 453.307 to 453.414 and OAR 837-085-0090 if sent a Haz-
ardous Substance Information Survey by the Office of State Fire
Marshal.

(3) Persons with facilities not covered may voluntarily complete
and submit the Office of State Fire Marshal’s Hazardous Substance
Information Survey. Such persons shall not be subject to Hazardous
Substance Possession Fees.

(4) Person(s) classified within construction or logging SICs are
not required to report their temporary work sites.

(5) Persons having facilities classified within SIC 5193 (whole-
salers of flowers, nursery stock & florist’s supplies) and/or SIC 5261
(retailers of nursery, lawn and garden supplies), that do not sell, or
otherwise market, products that require a material safety data sheet
to be developed by the manufacture, are not required to report for that
facility.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307(2)
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1994, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-15-
94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-085-0040 
Definitions

(1) “Act” means the Community Right-to-Know and Protection
Act, ORS 453.307 to 453.414.

(2) “Appeal” means the written request for a contested case in
order to contest the required submission of Hazardous Substance
Information Survey information or to contest a “Notice of Non-
compliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment” order, or a
response to a request for exemption.

(3) “Approved Form” means a form either provided by or
authorized by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(4) “Audit” means the evaluation of covered employers, own-
ers or operators to determine their level of compliance with the Ore-
gon Community Right-to-Know and Protection Act.

(5) “Chemical” means any element, chemical compound, or
mixture of elements and/or compounds.

(6) “Chemical Name” means the scientific designation of a
chemical in accordance with the nomenclature system developed by
the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) or
the Chemical Abstracts Services (CAS) rules of nomenclature.

(7) “Common Name” means any designation or identification
such as code name, code number, trade name, brand name or gener-
ic name, used to identify a chemical other than by its chemical name.

(8) “Compliance Auditor” means a designated employee of the
Office of State Fire Marshal whose responsibility is to conduct
audits, identify noncompliance issues and propose penalties, estab-
lish correction dates and assist employers, owners and operators in
voluntarily complying with ORS 453.307 to 453.414.

(9) “Compliance or Due Date” means the day set for submit-
ting a Hazardous Substance Information Survey , substantive change
or other information requested by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(10) “Compressed Gas” means:
(a) A gas or mixture of gases, in a container, having an abso-

lute pressure exceeding 40 psi at 70° F. (21.1° C.); or
(b) A gas or mixture of gases, in a container, having an abso-

lute pressure exceeding 104 psi at 130° F. (54.4° C.) regardless of
the pressure at 70° F. (21.1° C.); or

(c) A liquid having a vapor pressure exceeding 40 psi at 100°
F. (37.8°C.) as determined by ASTM D-323-72, Test Method of
Vapor Pressure of Petroleum Products (Reid Method).

(11) “Confidential” means information submitted to a public
body in confidence (ORS 192.502(3)).

(12) “Confidentiality Agreement” means a written agreement
between a covered employer, owner or operator and an entity autho-
rized under ORS 453.337 and OAR chapter 837, division 085 to
request and receive trade secret information.

(13) “Correction Order” means a written order that directs an
employer, owner or operator to submit Hazardous Substance Infor-
mation Survey information.

(14) “Covered Employer, Owner or Operator” means:
(a) Any person(s) operating a facility possessing reportable

quantities of hazardous substances as defined by the Office of State
Fire Marshal in OAR 837-085-0070.

Chapter 837     Department of Oregon State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2003 Edition 15 - 348 (11-15-02)



(b) Any person(s) operating a facility that the Office of State
Fire Marshal believes has the potential to store, generate, use, or oth-
erwise possess hazardous substances in reportable quantities.

(15) “Division” means OAR chapter 837, division 085 of the
Office of State Fire Marshal.

(16) “Emergency” means any human caused or natural event or
circumstance causing or threatening loss of life, injury to person or
property, human suffering or financial loss which includes, but is not
limited to, fire, explosion, flood, severe weather, drought, earth-
quake, volcanic activity, spills of oil or other substances, contami-
nation, utility or transportation accidents, disease, blight, infestation,
civil disturbance, riot, sabotage/war.

(17) “Emergency Service(s)” means those activities provided
by state and local government agencies with emergency operational
responsibilities to prepare for and carry out any activity to prevent,
minimize, respond to or recover from an emergency. Without limi-
tation, these activities include coordination, preplanning, training,
interagency liaison, fire fighting, hazardous substance management,
law enforcement, medical, health and sanitation services, engineer-
ing and public works, search and rescue activities, public informa-
tion, damage assessment, administration and fiscal management.

(18) “Emergency Service Agency” means an organization with-
in a local government, which performs essential services for the pub-
lic’s benefit prior to, during, or following an emergency. This
includes, but is not limited to, organizational units within local gov-
ernments, such as emergency medical technicians, health, medical
and sanitation services, public works and engineering, public infor-
mation and communications.

(19) “Entity” means any individual trust, firm, association, cor-
poration, partnership, joint stock company, joint venture, public or
municipal corporation, commission, political subdivision, the state
or any agency or commission thereof, interstate body, and the fed-
eral government and any agency thereof.

(20) “Exempted Substance” means a substance that is not
required to be reported.

(21) “Exemption” means the written authority given to a per-
son by the Office of State Fire Marshal, granting an exemption from
the requirements of a rule or law.

(22) “Explosives” means a hazardous substance that has been
classified as an explosive by the U.S. Department of Transportation.

(23) “Extension” means the written authorization of the Office
of State Fire Marshal to extend a compliance or due date.

(24) “Facility” means all buildings, equipment structures and
other stationary items that are located on a single site or on con-
tiguous or adjacent sites that are owned or operated by a covered
employer, owner or operator.

(25) “Facility/Reporting” means all buildings, equipment struc-
tures and other stationary items that are located at a single address
that are owned and/or operated by a covered employer, owner or
operator.

(26) “Facility Representative” means any individual designat-
ed by an employer, owner or operator to serve as spokesperson or,
in the absence of a designated spokesperson, the person in charge of
a facility being audited.

(27) “Filed” means the receipt of a document by the Office of
State Fire Marshal, except that an appeal will be considered filed
upon receipt at any regional office of the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal.

(28) “Fire District” means any agency having responsibility for
providing fire protection services.

(29) “Fixed Facility” means a facility having permanent and/or
non-mobile operations.

(30) “Hazard Classification” means the U.S. Department of
Transportation hazard class as published in the Bureau of Explosives
Tariff No.BOE-6000-E, effective June 14, 1985. However, when the
definitions in Tariff No.BOE-6000-E refer to transportation or haz-
ards associated with transportation, they shall be deemed to refer to
storage and/or other regulated activities under OAR chapter 837,
division 085.

(31) “Hazardous Substance” means:

(a) Any substance designated as hazardous by the Director of
the Department of Consumer and Business Services or by the Office
of State Fire Marshal; or

(b) Any substance required to have a Material Safety Data Sheet
(MSDS) pursuant to Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Divi-
sion’s OAR 437, division 2 (CFR 1910.1200), subdivision Z, and
which appears on the list of Threshold Limit Values for Chemical
Substances and Physical Agents in the Work Environment by the
American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienist
(ACGIH); or

(c) Any substance required to have an MSDS pursuant to Ore-
gon Occupational Safety and Health Division’s OAR 437, division
2 (CFR 1910.1200), subdivision Z, except:

(A) Substances exempted by designation of the Office of State
Fire Marshal; or

(B) Substances which are solids and do not react or dissolve and
are stored in unprotected areas; or

(C) Substances exempted by the rules of OAR chapter 837,
division 085; or

(D) Gases intended and used for human ingestion and/or inhala-
tion either directly or added to a product, if the gas is present at the
site where ingestion and/or inhalation occurs; and the gas is not being
used in a manufacturing process; and the gas is not a cryogenic; and
the gas is not being stored at the site in a quantity that exceeds 1,000
cubic feet. This rule applies to gases used for animals as well.

(d) Any substance for which a manufacturer is required to
develop an MSDS, that presents a physical or health hazard to emer-
gency response personnel or the public under normal conditions of
use and/or during an emergency situation; or

(e) Any waste substance that presents a physical or health haz-
ard to emergency response personnel or the public under normal con-
ditions of use and/or during an emergency situation; or

(f) Any radioactive waste and/or radioactive material as defined
in ORS 469.300(19) and radioactive substance as defined in ORS
453.005.

(32) “Hazardous Substance Information Survey” means a haz-
ardous substance report that covered employers, owners or operators
are required to submit, on an approved form, to the Office of State
Fire Marshal.

(33) “Health Professional” means a physician as defined in ORS
677.010, registered nurse, industrial hygienist, toxicologist, epi-
demiologist or emergency medical technician.

(34) “Identity” means any chemical or common name that is
indicated:

(a) On a Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) as required under
OAR 437, Division 2 (CFR 1910.1200), subdivision Z; or

(b) On shipping documents as required under 49 CFR Part 171-
177 under the Transportation Safety Act of 1974 (49 U.S.C. 1801 et
seq.) and as published in the Bureau of Explosives Tariff No.BOE-
6000-E effective June 14, 1985; or

(c) On hazardous waste manifests as required by OAR Chap-
ter 340, Division 102 as adopted by the Department of Environ-
mental Quality; or

(d) On packaging or container labels as required under the Fed-
eral Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (7 U.S.C. 136 et
seq.) and labeling regulations issued under the Act by the Environ-
mental Protection Agency; or

(e) On a radioactive material license as issued under OAR chap-
ter 333, divisions 100 through 113 as adopted by the Radiation Con-
trol Section of the Health Division of the Oregon Department of
Human Resources.

(35) “Incident” means the threatened or actual injury or dam-
age to a human, wildlife, domestic animal or the environment, or any
property loss resulting from a hazardous substance release.

(36) “Law Enforcement Agency” means county sheriffs, munic-
ipal police departments, state police, other police officers of this and
other states and law enforcement agencies of the federal government.

(37) “Liquefied Gas” means a gas that is received and stored as
a liquid through the use of pressure and/or cryogenic conditions.

(38) “Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS)” means written print-
ed or electronic material concerning a hazardous chemical which is
prepared in accordance OAR 437, Division 2 (CFR 1910.1200), sub-
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division Z, Hazard Communication rules of the Occupational Safe-
ty and Health Division of the Department of Consumer and Business
Services.

(39) “No Longer Reportable” means a previously reported sub-
stance was not on site in a reportable quantity during the current sur-
vey period.

(40) “Noncompliance” means failure of a covered employer,
owner or operator to comply with the Community Right-to-Know
and Protection Act and/or its administrative rules.

(41) “Noncompliance Classification” means the category
assigned to issues of noncompliance for the purposes of assessing a
penalty.

(42)”Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty
Assessment Order” means a written document issued to covered
employers, owners or operators that advises them they were not com-
plying with the Community Right-to-Know and Protection Act,
establishes correction dates and notifies them of penalty assessments.

(43) “Person” means:
(a) Any entity including, but not limited to, an individual, trust,

firm, joint stock company, corporation, partnership, association,
municipal corporation, political subdivision, interstate body, the state
and any agency or commission thereof, and the federal government
and any agency thereof;

(44) “Poison Class A and B” means a poisonous substance as
defined in 49 CFR, Part 173.326 as published in the Bureau of Explo-
sives Tariff No. BOE-6000-E effective June 14, 1985.

(45) “Record” means any recorded information.
(46) “Reportable Hazardous Substance” is a hazardous sub-

stance that is manufactured, generated, used, stored, possessed, or
disposed of at a fixed site location(s) by covered employers, own-
ers and operators at or above the reportable quantities at any time
during the survey period.

(47) “Reportable Quantity” means the amount of hazardous
substance that must be present in a facility before reporting is
required.

(48) “Reporting Range” means a range of quantities assigned
by the Office of State Fire Marshal for reporting hazardous sub-
stances.

(49) “Significant Maximum Daily Amount Change” means a
change in the maximum daily quantity reporting range to a higher
reporting range than previously was reported.

(50) “Single Combined Survey” means a survey that has mul-
tiple substations reported on it.

(51) “Source Generation Sites” means facilities generating that
which is relayed, pumped and/or stored by substations.

(52) “Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)” means a system
developed by the Office of Statistical Standards, Executive Office
of the President/Office of Management and Budget for the purpose
of classifying establishments by the type of activity they engage in.
The number assigned to each group classified is called the SIC code.

(53) “State Fire Marshal” means the State Fire Marshal or
designee.

(54) “Substantive Change” means a change(s) in hazardous sub-
stance reporting information that requires notification to the Office
of State Fire Marshal. 

(55) “Substation” means facilities that function only as elec-
trical transmission relays, telephone transmission relays, pager trans-
mission relays, cable TV transmission relays, cellular phone trans-
mission relays, radar transmission relays, water storage reservoir,
water pump and/or chlorinating stations, sewerage/storm water pump
stations, natural gas pump stations and/or road sand storage.

(56) “Survey Period” means the 12 months preceding the date
the Hazardous Substance Information Survey is mailed to, or com-
pleted by, the covered employer, owner and/or operator.

(57) “Temporary Worksite” means a single site location where
activities, such as construction and logging, will likely occur for less
than 24 months.

(58) “Trade Name” means the brand name or trademark given
to a hazardous substance by a manufacturer or distributor.

(59) “Trade Secret(s)” means, but is not limited to, any formula,
plan, pattern, process, tool, mechanism, compound, procedure, pro-
duction data, or compilation of information which is not patented;

which is known only to certain individuals within a commercial con-
cern who are using it to fabricate, produce, or compound an article
of trade or a service or to locate minerals or other substances hav-
ing commercial value; and which gives its user an opportunity to
obtain a business advantage over competitors who do not know or
use it.

(60) “Waste Hazardous Substance” means any substance, which
meets the Department of Environmental Quality’s definition of “haz-
ardous waste”.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99 & cert. ef. 2-
3-99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-085-0050 
Hazardous Substance Survey — General

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall develop and distribute
an annual Hazardous Substance Information Survey to covered
employers, owners and operators. The information received shall be
used to establish and maintain the hazardous substance information
program required by the Community Right-to-Know and Protection
Act.

(2) The Hazardous Substance Information Survey period shall
be for the 12 months preceding the date the survey is mailed to, or
completed by the facility.

(3) Covered employers, owners and/or operators operating
facilities where hazardous substances are present in reportable quan-
tities shall notify the Office of State Fire Marshal that the substances
are present. This notification shall be made within 30 days of the sub-
stance being on site and at a minimum shall include the information
required in OAR 837-085-0090(6)(b), (D), (E), (F), (G), and (H).

(4) Covered employers, owners and/or operators operating facil-
ities where hazardous substances were present in reportable quanti-
ties during the survey period shall complete and submit a Hazardous
Substance Information Survey.

(5) Covered employers, owners and/or operators operating facil-
ities receiving the Hazardous Substance Information Survey for the
first time shall complete and submit the survey by the due date.

(6) Covered employers, owners and/or operators that reported
hazardous substances were present in reportable quantities during the
previous survey period shall complete and submit a Hazardous Sub-
stance Information Survey.

(7) Covered employers, owners and/or operators that have had
changes or additions to the information previously reported on their
Hazardous Substance Information Survey shall complete and submit
the survey.

(8) Covered employers, owners and/or operators operating facil-
ities where hazardous substances were not present in reportable quan-
tities during the survey period and did not have hazardous substances
on the previous Hazardous Substance Information Survey are not
required to submit a Hazardous Substance Information Survey, pro-
vided they are not otherwise required to do so by these rules

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 – ORS 453.372
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-
99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-085-0060 
Hazardous Substance Survey — Substance Determinations

Covered employers, owners and operators shall identify and
evaluate all substances or wastes manufactured, generated, used,
stored, possessed, or disposed of at their facilities to determine if they
are hazardous substances and reportable on the survey. The defini-
tion of hazardous substance in OAR 837-085-0040(31) shall be used.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-
99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-085-0070 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Reportable
Quantities

(1) If at anytime during the survey period, a covered employ-
er, owner or operator has manufactured, generated, used, stored, pos-
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sessed, or disposed of hazardous substance(s) in an amount at or
above the reportable quantities, they shall report the hazardous sub-
stance.

(2) The hazardous substance reportable quantities shall be as
follows:

(a) Any quantity of radioactive substance including radioactive
wastes; Exception: Sealed source radioactive materials, as defined
by OAR 333-100-0005(118) contained in smoke detectors, survey
equipment and small laboratory testing equipment are not required
to be reported.

(b) Any Class A or B poison or explosive in quantities equal to
or greater than ten pounds, five gallons or 20 cubic feet;

(c) Argon, Carbon Dioxide, Helium, Krypton, Neon, Nitrogen
and Xenon in quantities equal to or greater than 1,000 cubic feet. This
applies to non-cryogenic forms of the above gases. 

(d) Any Extremely Hazardous Substance that meets or exceed
the Threshold Planning Quantities as defined by Sara Title III-Emer-
gency Planning and Community Right to Know Act under Section
302.

(e) Any other hazardous substance in quantities equal to or
greater than 50 gallons, 200 cubic feet, or 500 pounds.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1994, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-15-
94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert.
ef. 11-17-02

837-085-0080 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Reportable
Quantities

(1) Covered employers, owners and operators shall calculate the
following for each hazardous substance manufactured, generated,
used, stored, possessed or disposed of during the survey period:

(a) Average daily amount;
(b) Total Maxiumum daily amount for each substance report-

ed;
(c) Maximum daily amount for each storage location reported;
(d) Total amount transported to the facility;
(e) Total amount transported from the facility.
(2) The quantities of hazardous substances shall be measured

in the physical state assumed at “Standard Temperature and Pres-
sure” (STP) or when released uncontrolled into the environment. 

NOTE: Although liquefied gases are reported in gallons, their reportabil-
ity is determined by measuring them in cubic feet.
(3) The total amounts of hazardous substances shall be report-

ed in the following units:
(a) Solids shall be reported in units of pounds;
(b) Liquids shall be reported in units of gallons;
(c) Liquefied gases shall be reported in units of gallons;
(d) Compressed gases that are not liquefied shall be reported in

units of cubic feet;
(e) Radioactive materials shall be reported in units of milli-

curies.
(4) The following methods shall be used to calculate reportable

amounts:
(a) The “Average Amount” of each hazardous substance may

be calculated by dividing the total amount of the hazardous substance
on-site during the year by the total estimated number of days on-site. 

(b) The “Maximum Daily Amount” of each hazardous sub-
stance shall be determined by reviewing purchasing records, inven-
tory records, production records, receiving records, etc., to identify
the one day during the survey period that the highest amount of the
hazardous substance was on-site for more than 24 hours;

(c) The “Amount In” may be calculated for each hazardous sub-
stance by reviewing purchasing records, inventory records, receiv-
ing records, etc., to identify the total amount of the substance trans-
ported to the facility during the survey period;

(d) The “Amount Out” may be calculated for each hazardous
substance by reviewing inventory records, production records, ship-
ping records, etc., to identify the total amount of the substance trans-
ported from the facility during the survey period.

(5) For a mixture, the total amount of the substance is report-
ed regardless of the concentration of hazardous substance(s) in the
mixture.

(6) The amounts of a hazardous substance with the same chem-
ical composition in separate containers at one address shall be added
together for reporting purposes.

(7) Like substances which are exempted from Hazardous Sub-
stance Possession Fee shall be grouped and reported together. Exam-
ples of these groups include but are not limited to: Gasoline, motor
oils, asphalt emulsion, and diesels.

(8) Water based paints, solvent based paints and fertilizers with
the same major components (such as urea and ammonium nitrate)
may be grouped and reported together.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-
99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-085-0090 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Reporting
Requirements

(1) Covered employers, owners and operators shall report haz-
ardous substance information as required by these rules on the sur-
vey form provided or approved by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(2) Covered employers, owners and operators who receive the
Office of State Fire Marshal’s annual Hazardous Substance Infor-
mation Survey shall complete and return it to the Office of State Fire
Marshal by the due date indicated on the survey in accordance with
OAR 837-085-0050(3) through (8) of these rules.

(3) Covered employers, owners and operators receiving a sur-
vey for one or more of their facilities shall submit a separate survey
for each of their facilities that are subject to the reporting require-
ments.

(4) Covered employers, owners and operators who operate sub-
stations, as defined by OAR 837-085-0040(55), that are of the same
type may report all their substations on a single combined survey
instead of reporting each location separately.

(a) Source generation sites, as defined by OAR 837-085-
0040(51), must be reported separately.

(b) Substations that have no hazardous substances are exempt
from reporting.

(c) Each Substation reported on a single combined survey must
have identification posted at it that identifies the site by a company
unique number or name and the survey (Facility) ID number issued
by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(A) The identification must be readable from a distance of 50
feet. 

(B) Substations that are completely underground and can only
be accessed through a manhole or excavation are exempt from this
posting requirement.

(5) Within 30 days of receiving a survey, covered employers,
owners and operators shall request a survey from the Office of State
Fire Marshal for each of their facilities not receiving a survey.

(6) Covered employers, owners and operators receiving the sur-
vey shall provide the following information:

(a) The facilities reporting status, including:
(A) Whether or not hazardous substances were present at the

site in reportable quantities;
(B) Whether or not extremely hazardous substances were pre-

sent that met or exceeded the threshold planning quantity of CFR
Title 40, Part 355, Appendix A and B;

(C) Whether or not the facility is subject to the reporting
requirements of Section 112(r) of the Clean Air Act;

(D) Whether or not the facility is subject to the Process Safety
Management requirements;

(b) Demographic information including:
(A) The primary and, if applicable, secondary Standard Indus-

trial Classification code(s) for the facility;
(B) A description of the type of business. Examples: An auto-

motive repair shop, silicon chip manufacturing, a chemical ware-
house;
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(C) The Dun and Bradstreet Number, if applicable, which can
often be obtained by checking with the firm’s Certified Public
Accountant (CPA);

(D) The name of the manager or person in charge of the site;
(E) The known business name, which the firm operates under

as well as the department, division;
(F) The physical site address including the street, city, county,

and zip code or grid location acceptable to responding fire depart-
ment if no address exists, as well as a phone number for the site;

(G) The e-mail address of the business or contact person if
available;

(H) The mailing address if different from the site address;
(I) The number of employees at the site;
(J) The name and telephone number(s) of personnel qualified

to give technical, on-site information about hazardous substances
present at the facility in the event of an emergency. Listed phone
numbers shall include both business and after-hours contact infor-
mation;

(K) The name of the responding fire department by local juris-
diction;

(L) A brief summary of any procedures established by the cov-
ered employer, owner or operator for the control of hazardous sub-
stances in the event of an emergency; and

(M) Whether the hazardous substance storage location(s) for
each reportable hazardous substance(s) is placarding according to
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Standard 704.

(c) The name and signature of the person completing the sur-
vey and the date the survey was completed.

(d) Information about each reportable hazardous substance
meeting the reportable quantity thresholds including, but not limit-
ed to:

(A) The common name or trade name for each reportable haz-
ardous substance;

(B) The chemical name of the hazardous ingredient present in
the highest concentration in each reportable hazardous substance;

(C) Whether or not the substance reported contains a CFR Title
40, Part 355, listed extremely hazardous substance;

(D) Whether or not the substance reported contains a Clean Air
Act, Section 112(r), listed chemical;

(E) Whether or not the substance reported contains a Process
Safety Management, listed chemical;

(F) Information regarding whether the substance is pure or a
mixture;

(G) The physical state of the hazardous substance as it is
released into the environment at STP (Standard Temperature and
Pressure) relating whether it is a solid, liquid or a gas;

(H) The unit of measure used to report the quantity range of the
hazardous substance, i.e., relating whether it is reported in pounds,
gallons, cubic feet or millicuries;

(I) The average amount of each reportable hazardous substance;
(J) The total maximum amount of each reportable hazardous

substance;
(K) The maximum amount of each reported hazardous sub-

stance for each location reported;
(L) The total amount of each reportable hazardous substance

transported to the facility;
(M) The total amount of each reportable hazardous substance

transported from the facility;
(N) The total estimated number of days each hazardous sub-

stance was on-site;
(O) The type(s)of containers used for storage of each reportable

hazardous substance(s);
(P) The pressure and temperature at which the substance is

stored;
(Q) The primary and secondary associated U.S. Department of

Transportation hazard classification(s) for each reportable hazardous
substance;

(R) The Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) number, if known,
for each reportable hazardous substance;

(S) The four-digit United Nations (UN) or North American
(NA) number, if known, for each reportable hazardous substance;

(T) The EPA Pesticide Registration number for each reportable
hazardous substance; and

(U) The storage location (s) for each reportable hazardous sub-
stance(s);

(e) Upon request of the Office of State Fire Marshal, covered
employers, owners and operators shall provide Material Safety Data
Sheets (MSDSs) for clarification, evaluation and reference purpos-
es;

(f) Other information that may be requested by the Office of
State Fire Marshal in order to meet the intent of The Community
Right-to-Know and Protection Act.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(1) – ORS 453.317(2)
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1994, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-15-
94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert.
ef. 11-17-02

837-085-0100 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Substantive
Changes

(1) Covered employers, owners and operators shall notify the
Office of State Fire Marshal whenever a substantive change occurs.
This notification shall be made within 30 days of the substantive
change on a form provided or approved by the Office of State Fire
Marshal.

(2) The occurrence of any of the following events shall consti-
tute a substantive change and shall be reported:

(a) A covered employer, owner or operator has become exempt
from reporting requirements;

(b) A covered employer, owner or operator who was previously
surveyed and placed in the inactive files because they had no
reportable quantities now has reportable quantities of hazardous sub-
stances on site;

(c) Hazardous substance(s) not previously reported have been
introduced at the facility;

(d) A significant maximum daily amount change, as defined by
OAR 837-085-0040(49), has occurred (occurs) for a previously
reported hazardous substance;

(e) The reported location of a reportable hazardous substance
has changed and it is now located in another building at the same site
or it has been moved 300 feet or more from its previously reported
location within the same building or it has been moved to a differ-
ent floor level;

(f) A change of mailing or site address has occurred;
(g) A change of emergency contact person has occurred;
(h) A change of phone numbers has occurred; or
(i) A change of ownership or business name has occurred;
(j) The facility has been closed or has gone out of business.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1994, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-15-
94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert.
ef. 11-17-02

837-085-0110 
Record Keeping Requirements

(1) Covered employers, owners and operators shall maintain
complete and accurate records of each hazardous substance they
manufacture, generate, use, store, possess or dispose of (ORS
453.406):

(a) These records shall be maintained for a period of three cal-
endar years;

(b) Copies of these records shall be kept at the facility for which
they apply. EXCEPTION: Records for facilities and/or remote sites,
where the covered employer, owner or operator is not set up to main-
tain such records, may be maintained at another of their facilities
within the state.

(c) Examples of hazardous substance records include, but are
not limited to:

(A) Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDSs);
(B) Invoice and purchase records;
(C) Receiving and shipping papers;
(D) Bills of lading;
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(E) Production records;
(F) Waste/recycling records; and
(G) Inventory/dispensing records.
(H) Risk Management Plan if facility is required to create one

by the Environmental Protection Agency.
(2) Covered employers, owners and operators shall maintain a

copy of Hazardous Substance Information Survey:
(a) Copies of the survey shall be maintained for a period of three

calendar years;
(b) Copies of the survey shall be kept at the facility for which

they apply. EXCEPTION: Surveys for facilities and/or remote sites
where the employers, owners and operators do not have staff avail-
able to complete the survey, may be kept at the facility where the per-
son responsible for submitting the survey works.

(3) Covered employers, owners and operators shall maintain
copies of any Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assess-
ment Order issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal:

(a) Copies of Notices of Noncompliance shall be maintained for
a period of five years;

(b) These copies shall be kept with the covered employer,
owner or operator’s Hazardous Substance Information Survey;

(4) Covered employers, owners and operators shall, upon
request, make records information available and provide copies of
those records to the Office of State Fire Marshal (ORS 453.317(2)).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.406
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02

837-085-0120 
Application for an Exemption

(1) Any covered employer, owner or operator may apply for an
exemption from all or part of reporting requirements of the Com-
munity Right-to-Know and Protection Act and its admin istrative
rules.

(2) An application for an exemption must be in writing and con-
tain the following:

(a) The name and mailing address of the person making appli-
cation;

(b) The site address and location of the facility;
(c) The facility number assigned by the Office of State Fire

Marshal;
(d) The rule or law, identified by number, from which the

exemption is sought; and
(e) The basis for the request.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 - ORS 453.372
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0130 
Administrative Action on Exemption Applic ation

(1) After an exemption request is determined to be complete and
procedurally adequate, as provided in OAR 837-085-0120(2), the
Office of State Fire Marshal shall review the request.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal may conduct an on-site
review of the facility involved in the requested exemption.

(3) An application for an exemption shall be granted only if the
applicant demonstrates and the Office of State Fire Marshal deter-
mines that the exemption requested is consistent with all applicable
ORSs and OARs.

(4) An exemption, if granted, will not be the basis for amend-
ing or withdrawing a previously submitted survey, Notice of Non-
compliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order, or haz-
ardous substance fee not under contest.

(5) If an exemption is granted, written notification shall be
given to the employer, owner or operator specifying the terms of the
exemption.

(6) Affected applicants may appeal the decision on an exemp-
tion application in accordance with OAR 837-085-0330.

(7) If an exemption is denied, a written notice of denial shall be
issued to the requesting employer, owner or operator. The notice will:

(a) Give reasons for the denial;
(b) Notify the applicant of their appeal rights.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.307 - ORS 453.372
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02

837-085-0140 
Trade Secrets — General

(1) A covered employer, owner or operator may request to with-
hold the specific chemical identity, including the chemical name and
other specific identification of a reportable substance, from the Haz-
ardous Substance Information Survey provided that:

(a) The claim that the information withheld is a trade secret can
be supported with the burden of proof placed on the covered employ-
er, owner or operator;

(b) The information required by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal concerning the properties and effects or reportable substances
are disclosed; and

(c) The specific chemical identity is made available to health
professionals in accordance with OAR 837-085-0170(1) and (2).

(2) Any claim of trade secret by a covered employer, owner or
operator must be made in writing and submitted at the time they
return the Hazardous Substance Information Survey or a substantive
change notice to the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(3) A claim of trade secret by a covered employer, owner or
operator may be recognized by the Office of State Fire Marshal as
sufficient if the claim is substantiated by the Occupational Safety and
Health Division of the Department of Consumer and Business Ser-
vices or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 - ORS 453.337
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02

837-085-0150 
Trade Secrets — Claim Submissions

(1) To substantiate a trade secret claim, a covered employer,
owner or operator must submit both of the following:

(a) Hazardous Substance Information Survey with the generic
name(s) included and the information being claimed as Trade Secret
deleted; and

NOTE: Only the identities and/or percentages of the chemical compo-
nent(s) can be claimed as trade secrets.
(b) A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) (as released to the

public) for each chemical or formulation for which the covered
employer is claiming trade secret protection.

(2) Covered employers, owners and operators must submit a
justification to support their trade secret claims. In order to sub-
stantiate a claim, the following must be provided for each chemical
or formulation for which trade secret protection is being requested:

(a) The specific measures the covered employer has taken to
safeguard the confidentiality of any chemical identity claimed as
trade secret;

(b) Whether the chemical identity has been disclosed to any per-
son not an employee of the covered employer or of a local, state, or
federal government entity, who has not signed a confidentiality
agreement requiring the person to refrain from disclosing the chem-
ical identity to others;

(c) A list of all local, state and federal government entities to
which the covered employer has disclosed the specific chemical
identity. For each, indicate whether or not a confidentiality claim was
asserted for the chemical identity, and whether or not the government
entity denied that claim;

(d) The measures that have been taken with respect to distri-
bution of the product to maintain trade secrets;

(e) Whether discovery of trade secret information is feasible by
sophisticated chemical analysis (“reverse engineering”). The covered
employer, owner or operator must provide evidence to support their
answer;

(f) An explanation of why the covered employer owner or oper-
ator’s use of the substance would be valuable information to their
competitors;

(g) An analysis of the nature of the harm to the covered employ-
er, owner or operator’s competitive position that would likely result
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from disclosure of the specific chemical identity, including an esti-
mate of the potential loss in sales and profitability; and

(h) Whether the substance, or the covered employer, owner or
operator’s use of it, is subject to any U.S. patent of which the cov-
ered employer is aware. If so, identify the patent and explain why this
does not protect the covered employer from competitive harm.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 – ORS 453.337
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02

837-085-0160 
Trade Secrets — Determinations and Response

The Office of State Fire Marshal shall respond in writing to the
requesting employer, owner or operator for trade secret protection
within 60 days after the request has been received:

(1) The response shall advise the requesting employer, owner
or operator as to whether or not trade secret protection is granted.

(2) The employer, owner or operator will be advised of disclo-
sure requirements if trade secret protection is granted.

(3) If trade secret protection is denied, the Office of State Fire
Marshal shall provide the employer, owner or operator with the cri-
teria used to make the determination.

(4) If trade secret protection is denied, the Office of State Fire
Marshal shall state the reasons why.

(5) The employer, owner or operator will be advised of the
appeal rights.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 - ORS 453.337
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0170 
Trade Secrets — Disclosures

(1) Where a treating physician, registered nurse, or emer gency
medical technician determines that a medical emergency exists and
the specific identity of a chemical substance or waste is necessary
for emergency or first-aid treatment, the covered employer, owner
or operator shall immediately disclose the specific identity of a trade
secret chemical to that treating physician, registered nurse, or emer-
gency medical technician regardless of a written statement of need
or a confidentiality agreement. The covered employer may require
a written statement of need and a confidentiality agreement in accor-
dance with the provisions of sections (2) and (3) of this rule as soon
as the circumstances permit.

(2) In a non-emergency situation, a covered employer shall,
upon request, disclose a specific chemical identity, otherwise per-
mitted to be withheld under OAR 837-085-0140(1), to a health pro-
fessional, if:

(a) The request is in writing on a form approved by the Office
of State Fire Marshal;

(b) The request describes, with reasonable detail, one or more
of the following community health needs for information:

(A) To assess the hazards of the chemical substance or waste
to which emergency service personnel will be exposed;

(B) To provide medical treatment to exposed employees, emer-
gency service personnel or members of the community;

(C) To select or assess appropriate protective equipment for
potential exposures;

(D) To design or assess engineering controls or other protective
measures for emergency situations.

(c) The request explains, in detail, why the disclosure of the spe-
cific chemical identity is essential and that, in lieu thereof, the dis-
closure of the following information would not enable the health pro-
fessional to provide the services described in subsection (2)(b) of this
rule:

(A) The properties and effects of the chemical;
(B) Measures for controlling community exposure to the chem-

ical; and
(C) Methods of diagnosing and treating harmful exposures to

the chemical.
(d) The request includes a description of the procedures to be

used to maintain the confi dentiality of the disclosed information; and

(e) The health professional, and the covered employer, owner
or operator agree in a written con fidentiality agreement that the
health professional will not use the trade secret information for any
purpose other than the health need(s) asserted and will not release
the information under any circumstances other than to the Office of
State Fire Marshal, except as authorized by the terms of the agree-
ment or by the covered employer.

(3) The confidentiality agreement authorized by section (1) of
this rule:

(a) May restrict the use of the information for the purposes as
indicated in the written statement of need;

(b) May provide for appropriate legal remedies in the event of
a breach of the agreement, including stipulation of a reasonable pre-
estimate of likely damages; and

(c) May not include requirements for the posting of a penalty
bond.

(4) If the health professional receiving the trade secret infor-
mation decides that there is a need to disclose it to the Office of State
Fire Marshal, the covered employer who provided the information
shall be informed by the health professional prior to, or at the same
time as, such disclosure.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 - ORS 453.337
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0180 
Trade Secrets — Refusal to Disclose

(1) If the covered employer denies a written request for dis-
closure of a specific chemical identity, the denial must:

(a) Be provided to the health professional within 30 days of the
request;

(b) Be in writing;
(c) State the specific reasons why the request is being denied;
(d) Include evidence to support the claim that the specific chem-

ical identity is a trade secret; and
(e) Explain in detail how alternative informa tion may satisfy the

specific planning or health need without revealing the specific chem-
ical identity.

(2) The health professional whose request for information, as
authorized by OAR Chapter 837, Division 085, is denied may refer
the request and the covered employer’s written denial to the Office
of State Fire Marshal for consideration.

(3) When the health professional refers the denial to the Office
of State Fire Marshal, the State Fire Marshal shall consider the evi-
dence to determine if:

(a) The covered employer has supported the claim that the spe-
cific chemical identity is a trade secret;

(b) The health professional has supported the claim that there
is a medical, planning, or health need for the information; and

(c) The health professional has demonstrated adequate means
to protect the confidentiality.

(4) If a covered employer, owner or operator demonstrates to
the Office of State Fire Marshal that the execution of a con fidentiality
agreement would not provide sufficient protection against the poten-
tial harm from the unauthorized disclosure of trade secret data, the
State Fire Marshal may issue such orders or impose such addition-
al limitations or conditions upon the disclosure of the requested
chemical information as may be appropriate to assure that the health
or planning services are provided without undue risk of harm to the
covered employer.

(5) If the Office of State Fire Marshal determines that the spe-
cific chemical identity requested under OAR 837-085-0140 is not a
bona fide trade secret, or that it is a trade secret but the requesting
health professional has a legitimate need for the information, has exe-
cuted a written confidentiality agreement and has shown adequate
means to protect the confidentiality of the information, the covered
employer, owner or operator shall pro vide the requested information.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.327 - ORS 453.337
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94
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837-085-0190 
Hazardous Substance Information Survey — Availability of
Survey Information

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall provide a summary
report computer printout, or copies of the information furnished by
covered employers to:

(a) Each county public health authority;
(b) Each local fire district; and
(c) Each county emergency manager.
(2) Upon request, the Office of State Fire Marshal shall also

provide information to the following agencies located in the geo-
graphic jurisdiction of the local fire district:

(a) Emergency service personnel responding to a hazardous
substance incident;

(b) Health professionals;
(c) Law enforcement agencies;
(d) Local emergency management agencies; and
(e) Any public or private safety agency administering an emer-

gency telephone system pursuant to ORS 401.710 to 401.790.
(3) If the Office of State Fire Marshal considers the informa-

tion essential to the safe control of an emergency, the Office of State
Fire Marshal may distribute the information to persons outside the
jurisdiction of the fire district.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall provide, upon request,
access to reportable substance information, except for trade secret
restrictions identified in OAR 837-085-0140, to any agency of this
state.

(5) Site specific information regarding the exact amount and/or
the exact storage location of reportable substances provided to the
Office of State Fire Marshal shall be treated as confidential:

(a) The Office of State Fire Marshal may require written state-
ment of need and a written confidentiality agreement to be execut-
ed by the requesting agency prior to the release of confidential infor-
mation; and

(b) During emergency situations, the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal may immediately release confidential information and require
requesting agencies to complete a written statement of need as soon
as circumstances permit.

(6) The public shall be permitted access to hazardous substance
information that is not otherwise protected as a trade secret or is des-
ignated as confidential under OAR 837-085-0140(1) and ORS
453.332(3) and (4):

(a) Public access to Hazardous Substance Information Survey
information may be provided through the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal in Salem;

(b) If, in the discretion of the Office of State Fire Marshal, it is
necessary to protect the public safety and welfare, the Office of State
Fire Marshal may require a person requesting information to com-
plete an approved form which includes their name, address and proof
of identity.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.322
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02

837-085-0200 
Compliance Audit Program — General

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall provide a compli ance
audit program to assist and ensure covered employers, owners and
operators comply with the statutes, regulations, rules, standards or
orders of the Community Right-to-Know and Protection Act.

(2) The compliance audit program shall include, but is not lim-
ited to:

(a) Providing training, guidance and assistance to covered
employers, owners and operators and the community;

(b) Evaluating and auditing facilities where hazardous sub-
stances are likely to be manu factured, generated, used, stored, pos-
sessed, or disposed of;

(c) Issuing Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penal-
ty Assessment Order for noncompliance with the Commun ity Right-
to-Know and Protection Act and administrative rules;

(d) Issuing correction orders;

(e) Assessing civil monetary penalties for noncompliance;
(f) Holding informal conferences with covered employers, own-

ers and operators or their repre sentatives to discuss notices of non-
compliance and penalty assessments, penalties, survey require ments
or correction orders without limiting or extending their appeal rights;

(g) Granting or denying requests for extensions of the time set
by correction orders; and

(h) Examining and auditing a covered employer, owner or oper-
ator’s hazardous substance information records.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8)
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0210 
Scheduling and Selection of Compliance Audits

(1) Compliance audits may be conducted when the Office of
State Fire Marshal deems it necessary to confirm or validate haz-
ardous substance information surveys.

(2) The reasons the Office of State Fire Marshal would deem
it necessary to conduct an audit include, but are not limited to, the
following:

(a) A covered employer, owner or operator fails to submit their
survey;

(b) A review of survey records show reporting errors may have
been made;

(c) Information is received that indicates reporting errors may
have been made;

(d) A covered employer, owner or operator requests an audit be
conducted;

(e) A Standard Industrial Classification code review indicates
misreporting may exist;

(f) To verify survey information.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8)
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0220 
Right of Entry

(1) In accordance with ORS 453.317(8), a compliance auditor
has the right to enter and audit any facility of a covered employer,
owner or operator during normal working hours or at other reason-
able times.

(2) If the covered employer, owner or operator or their repre-
sentative are not present at the facility, an audit will not be conducted.
Exceptions:

(a) When executing an inspection warrant;
(b) The covered employer, owner or operator has been notified

that the audit is to be conducted.
(3) Compliance auditors will identify them selves as repre -

sentatives of the State Fire Marshal and, as necessary, present their
credentials to the covered employer, owner or operator or their rep-
resentative to establish the right of entry.

(4) The compliance auditor will not sign any form of liability
release or agree to waive any rights of the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8)
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0230 
Compliance Audit Warrants

If a compliance auditor is denied entry, the Office of State Fire
Marshal may institute action(s) to obtain an inspection warrant, as
provided for in ORS 476.155.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8)
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0240 
Compliance Audit Activities

During a compliance audit, the compliance auditor is autho-
rized, but not limited to, the following activities:

(1) Conduct an audit without unreasonably disrupting opera-
tions in the facility;

(2) Conduct a physical audit of the facility and all of its oper-
ations;
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(3) Examine and obtain copies of hazardous substance infor-
mation records;

(4) Inform the covered employer, owner or operator of report-
ing errors; and

(5) Conduct interviews and receive information from anyone in
the facility.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.317(8)
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0250 
Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty 
Assess ments

(1) If, during an audit initiated by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal, it is concluded that a covered employer, owner or operator has
not complied with the Community Right-to-Know and Protection
Act and its administrative rules, a Notice of Noncompliance and Pro-
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order will be issued to the covered
employer, owner or operator which shall:

(a) State the name of the covered employer, owner or operator,
location of the facility, and the date of the compliance audit. The
period of time the employer, owner or operator is in noncompliance
will be included;

(b) Describe how the covered employer, owner or operator was
in noncompliance, such description to take the form of findings of
fact and inclusion of law and rule;

(c) State the classification(s) of noncompliance;
(d) Identify the rule or order the covered employer, owner or

operator failed to comply with and any other statute or rules
involved;

(e) Establish a compliance date if compliance is not obtained
prior to issuing a Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final
Penalty Assessment Order;

(f) State the total dollar amount of penalties assessed and the
amount subject to suspension;

(g) Inform the covered employer, owner or operator of the right
to appeal the Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penal-
ty Assessment Order and the compliance date; and

(h) Notify the covered employer, owner or operator that the
Office of State Fire Marshal has designated its file in this matter as
the record in this case and that the Notice of Noncompliance and Pro-
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order becomes final if a written
appeal is not filed within 30 days of its service.

(2) The Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/ Final Penal-
ty Assessment Order shall be served on the covered employer, owner
or operator in person or by:

(a) Regular mail, postage prepaid, true, exact and full copies
when penalties for noncompliance have been suspended in full;

(b) Certified or registered mail, postage prepaid, true, exact and
full copies when penalties for noncompliance have been assessed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; FM 4-1995, f. 12-14-94, cert. ef. 12-15-
94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-99

837-085-0260 
Covered Employer, Owner or Operator Response to Notice of
Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order

(1) After receipt of a Notice of Noncompliance and Pro -
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order, the covered employer, owner
or operator shall submit all information requested by the Office of
State Fire Marshal on or before the established cor rection date.

(2) The above requirements shall not limit a covered em ployer’s
appeal rights.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0270 
Penalty Criteria for Noncompliance — General

(1) Issuance of any penalty is subject to appeal in accordance
with OAR 837-085-0330 through 837-085-0370.

(2) Any covered employer, owner or operator found to be in
noncompliance may be assessed a penalty of up to $1,000 per day
for each day of noncompliance in accordance with ORS 453.357.

(3) The noncompliance classification estab lished in OAR 837-
085-0280 shall be used to determine the penalty, if any, that will be
assessed.

(4) Covered employers, owners or operators found to be in non-
compliance in more than one Noncompliance Class (OAR 837-085-
0280) shall have a penalty calculated and assessed for each Non-
compliance Class.

(5) At any time prior to a Notice of Noncom pliance and Pro-
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order becomes final, the Office of
State Fire Marshal may modify the notice to reflect the correct non-
compliance classification and/or penalty assessment.

(6) Nothing in these rules shall affect the ability of the Office
of State Fire Marshal to modify penalties through a Stipulated Final
Order.

(7) Penalty suspensions may be made in accordance with OAR
837-085-0310.

(8) Daily penalties may be assessed and accrued in accord ance
with OAR 837-085-0290(2)(b) and 837-085-0310.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0280 
Noncompliance Classes

For the purpose of determining the penalties that may be
assessed for noncompliance, the following “Noncompliance Class-
es” are established:

(1) Class I Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners and
operators who fail to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal they
have reportable quantities of hazardous substances, or fail to request
and/or submit their Hazardous Substance Information Survey or sub-
stantive changes when required, shall be considered in Class I Non-
compliance.

(2) Class II Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners and
operators who fail to maintain records in accordance with OAR 837-
085-0110; or when requested by the Office of State Fire Marshal, fail
to provide an MSDS or other hazardous substance information not
elsewhere classified, shall be considered in Class II Noncompliance.

(3) Class III Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners and
operators who report all their hazardous substances but fail to sub-
mit the information required by OAR 837-085-0090 or who report
the information incorrectly shall be considered in Class III Non-
compliance. Exceptions: Failing to submit or submitting incorrect
information on the following will not be considered Class III Non-
compliance:

(a) Standard Industrial Classification Codes;
(b) Dun and Bradstreet Number;
(c) Send to Attention of;
(d) E-Mail Address;
(e) Department or Division;
(f) Number of Employees;
(g) Special Fire Department Information including, but not lim-

ited to:
(A) Written Emergency Plan and, if so, the location;
(B) Automatic Fire Suppression System;
(C) NFPA 704 Placarding;
(D) Other Types of Placarding.
(h) Pure or Mixture;
(i) Maximum Daily Quantity;
(j) Chemical Abstract Service Number; or
(k) UN or NA Numbers 
(4) Class IV Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners and

operators who fail to immediately provide health professionals with
any pertinent hazardous substance information, in accordance with
OAR 837-085-0170, during a medical emergency, shall be consid-
ered in Class IV Noncompliance.

(5) Class V Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners and
operators who intentionally misreport on their Hazardous Substance
Information Survey, substantive changes, survey corrections or
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records of hazardous substance(s) shall be considered in Class V
Noncompliance.

(6) Class VI Noncompliance. Covered employers, owners and
operators who, when submitting their Hazardous Substance Infor-
mation Survey, substantive changes or survey corrections, fail to
report all reportable hazardous substances or fail to report the cor-
rect maximum daily quantity shall be considered in Class VI Non-
compliance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 1-1999, f. 2-2-99, cert. ef. 2-3-
99; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-085-0290 
Penalties for Class I through V Noncom pliance

(1) Class I through IV Noncom pliance Penalties. Employers,
owners or operators identified as being in Class I, II, III and/or IV
noncompliance shall be assessed a penalty for each non compli ance
class for which they are found to be in non compliance. The penal-
ty assessments shall be made using the following schedule:

(a) Class I Noncompliance: $200;
(b) Class II Noncompliance: $70;
(c) Class III Noncompliance: $30;
(d) Class IV Noncompliance: $1,000.
(2) Class V Noncompliance penalties. Employers, owners or

operators identified as being in Class V Noncompliance shall be
assessed a penalty using the following criteria:

(a) A penalty determination shall be made for each classifica-
tion of noncompliance they are found to be in, due to intentional mis-
reporting. The penalty schedules in OAR 837-085-0290 through 837-
085-0310 shall be used to make this deter mination;

(b) Daily penalties will be assessed for each classification of
noncompliance the employer, owner or operator is found to be in,
due to intentional misreporting;

(c) The daily penalty assessments will be made for each day the
employer, owner or operator has failed to correct the intentional mis-
reporting;

(d) The daily penalty assessments will be made from the date
the Office of State Fire Marshal receives the intentional mis eporting,
to the date the misreporting is identified.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0300 
Penalties for Class VI Noncompliance

(1) A penalty shall be calculated for the total quantity of unre-
ported quantities of radioactive substances, radioactive waste, Class
A and B poisons and explosives. These substances are required to be
reported at the “Lower Reporting Levels” (LRL) of five gallons, ten
pounds or 20 cubic feet. For the purpose of determining Class VI
Noncompliance penalties, these substances shall be identified as LRL
substances.

(2) A separate penalty shall be calculated for the total quanti-
ty of all other unreported quantities of hazardous substances. These
substances are required to be reported at the “Upper Reporting Lev-
els” (URL) of their reportable quantity. For the purpose of deter-
mining Class VI Noncompliance penalties, these substances shall be
identified as URL substances.

(3) To calculate the penalty for LRL and URL substances the
following criteria shall be used:

(a) A “Total Quantity Range” shall be determined and estab-
lished for LRL substances, by adding together the daily maximum
quantity amounts of all LRL substances, not reported;

(b) A “Total Quantity Range” shall be determined and estab-
lished for URL substances, by adding together the daily maximum
quantity amounts of all URL substances, not reported;

(c) The daily maximum quantity amounts shall be added togeth-
er as though they were measured in the same unit of measurement;

(d) The Total Quantity Range(s) shall be converted to a “Penal-
ty Quantity Code” using the following table: [Table not included. See
ED. NOTE.]

(4) A penalty determination shall be made for Lower Report-
ing Levels (LRL) and Upper Reporting Levels (URL) substances
using the “Class VI Noncompliance Penalty Table”:

(a) Penalties will be determined by intersecting the appropriate
“Reporting Level”, i.e., LRL or URL with the corresponding Penal-
ty Quantity Code;

(b) If penalties are determined for both LRL and URL sub-
stances, the higher penalty shall be assessed. [Table not included. See
ED. NOTE.]

[ED. NOTE: Table referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02

837-085-0310 
Penalty Suspensions and Daily Penalty Accrual

(1) First Instance Class I, II, III, and/or VI Noncompliance. For
the first Class I, II, III, or VI Noncompliance within five years, the
penalty will be suspended if the employer submits the required infor-
mation by the compliance date. Failure to submit the information by
the compliance date will result in the assessment of the original
penalty. If not submitted within ten days following the compliance
date, additional penalties shall accrue on a daily basis in the amount
of the original penalty until the information is received by the Office
of State Fire Marshal.

(2) Second Instance Class I, II, III, and/or VI Noncompliance.
For the second Class I, II, III, and/or VI Noncompliance within five
years 50 percent of the penalty will be suspended provided the
employer submits the required information by the compliance date.
Failure to submit the infor mation by the compliance date will result
in the assessment of the original penalty. If not submitted within ten
days following the compliance date, additional penalties shall accrue
on a daily basis in the amount of the original penalty until the infor-
mation is received by the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(3) Third Instance Class I, II, III, and/or VI Noncompliance. For
the third Class I, II, III, and/or VI Noncompliance within five years,
the penalty will not be suspended. If required information is not sub-
mitted within ten days following compliance date, additional penal-
ties shall accrue on a daily basis in the amount of the original penal-
ty until the information is received by the Office of State Fire
Marshal.

(4) Fourth Instance Class I, II, III, and/or VI Noncompliance.
For the fourth Class I, II, III, and/or VI noncompliance within five
years, the penalty will be assessed on a daily basis. The penalty
accrual period will run from the date the information was original-
ly due, to the date the appropriate information is received by the
Office of State Fire Marshal.

(5) Penalty suspensions will not be made on any Class IV or V
Noncompliance penalty assessment.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0320 
Payment of Penalties

(1) All civil penalties become due and owing ten days after the
Notice of Noncom pliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assess ment
becomes a final order.

(2) If payment is not received within ten days after the order
becomes final, it may be docketed as a judgment as provided by law.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0330 
Appeals Process — General

(1) Any person directly affected may appeal, in part or in total,
Notice of Noncom pliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment
Order and decisions related to the application for exemption.

(2) Any person directly affected may participate in the appeals
process which includes, but is not limited to:
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(a) An informal conference to discuss, consider and determine
if there is a basis for informal disposition of an appeal by stipulation,
agreed settlement, consent order, default or other means; or

(b) A formal hearing before a hearings officer where the laws,
rules and evidence are presented and considered and a proposed
opinion and order is issued.

(3) The appeals process shall comply with the requirements of
the Administrative Procedures Act (APA), ORS 183.025 to
183.725, unless specifically addressed in these rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0340 
Filing an Appeal

(1) Appeals shall be filed in writing, within 30 days fol lowing:
(a) The issuance of Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/

Final Penalty Assessment Order;
(b) Issuance of decision related to an appli cation for ex emption.
(2) Appeals shall be sent to the Office of State Fire Marshal and

shall include:
(a) The name, address and telephone number of the person mak-

ing the appeal;
(b) The facility’s name and address;
(c) The facility number assigned to the firm by the Office of

State Fire Marshal;
(d) The Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penalty

Assessment Order number and amount of penalty for which the
appeal is made; and

(e) The basis upon which the appeal is being made and the spe-
cific defense relied upon.

(3) The filing of an appeal shall stay payment of penalties until
the Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed Final Penalty Assess-
ment Order or an Opinion and Order become final.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0350 
Informal Conference

(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal will provide an opportu-
nity for a person to discuss their appeal informally. An informal con-
ference may be requested and held prior to or in lieu of a formal hear-
ing.

(2) An informal conference concerning survey reporting
requirements, Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/Final Penal-
ty Assessment Order shall not extend the 30 days allowed for filing
appeals.

(3) The informal conference may be used to:
(a) Clarify requirements of the Community Right-to-Know and

Protection Act;
(b) Discuss the basis for any Notice of Noncom pliance and Pro-

posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order;
(c) Discuss correction dates;
(d) Clarify the wording and meaning of the Notice of Non-

compliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order;
(e) Improve a person’s understanding of the Community Right-

to-Know and Protection Act;
(f) Correct errors in a Notice of Noncompliance and Proposed/

Final Penalty Assessment Order or penalty;
(g) Narrow issues of concern; and/or
(h) Arrive at the basis for an informal disposi tion of an appeal
(4) As the result of an informal conference, the Office of State

Fire Marshal may amend, withdraw, extend, delete or reduce a Non-
compliance and Proposed/Final Penalty Assessment Order, for good
cause.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0360 

Formal Hearing
(1) The Office of State Fire Marshal will arrange for a hearings

officer to conduct a formal hearing if it is deemed that the issues
being appealed cannot be resolved informally.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal will set a date, time and
location for the formal hearing.

(3) The Office of State Fire Marshal will notify, by letter, the
person filing an appeal or their desig nated representative of the date,
time, location and hearings officer conducting the formal hearing.

(4) The hearings officer will hear the case and render a proposed
Opinion and Order, including recommended findings of fact and con-
clusion of law, according to the Administrative Procedures Act
(APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0370 
Manifest Injustice

(1) To prevent a manifest injustice, if a timely appeal has not
been filed, the Office of State Fire Marshal, at the State Fire Mar-
shal’s own discretion or upon request from the affected employer,
owner or operator, may vacate or amend the Com munity Right-to-
Know reporting require ments, Notice of Non compliance and Pro-
posed/Final Penalty Assessment Order for a facility.

(2) The Office of State Fire Marshal may refer a matter arising
under this rule to a hearings officer for a formal hearing or a region-
al appeals advisory board.

(3) All requests by an employer, owner or operator for consid-
eration based on a manifest injustice shall be in writing and contain
a statement indicating the basis of their request.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0380 
Incident Reporting System

(1) Emergency service personnel responding to an incident of
threatened or actual injury to a human, wildlife, domestic animal, or
in which damage to the environment, or any property loss occurs
resulting from a chemical substance or waste incident shall make a
written report of the incident to the Office of State Fire Marshal:

(a) This report shall be on a form approved by the Office of
State Fire Marshal (Form #814-440-170);

(b) Only one written incident report for each incident is
required. Responsibility for completing the written report shall be in
the following order:

(A) Where fire department unit(s) have responded to the inci-
dent, the fire department having jurisdiction shall be responsible for
completing and forwarding the written report;

(B) Where no fire department unit(s) has responded to the inci-
dent and where one or more law enforcement agency(s) is at the
scene, the first law enforcement agency to have arrived at the scene
shall be responsible for completing and forwarding the written report;

(C) Where no fire department unit(s) or law enforcement agen-
cy(s) has responded to the incident and where health professional(s),
including emergency medical technicians or ambulance personnel,
are at the scene, the first health profes sional to arrive at the scene
shall be responsible for completing and forwarding the written report;
and

(D) Where no fire department unit(s), law enforcement agen-
cy(s) or health professional(s) has responded to the incident, any
other emergency service agency, including agencies of this state, who
are at the scene shall confer and determine who shall be responsible
for completing and forwarding the written report.

(2) The written report required under section (1) of this rule
should be submitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal no later than
ten working days after the incident occurs.

(3) The following incidents are exempted from the reporting
requirements of section (1) of this rule:

(a) Motor fuels which are spilled in quantities of less than 42
gallons from a vehicle, unless it enters a waterway; or is deter mined
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to endanger the public safety or immediate or surrounding environ-
ment, including groundwater; or

(b) Sewage overflows; or
(c) Structure fires or other emergencies where hazardous sub-

stances are involved as exposures, if the quantities exposed are less
than 42 gallons. This means that a Hazardous Materials Incident
Report would not be required for a structure fire or other emergen-
cy if consumer quantities of hazard ous substances did not directly
relate to the cause of the emergency or to injuries or death. If these
consumer quantities caused the incident or contributed to an injury
or death, a written Oregon State Fire Marshal Hazardous Materials
Incident Report would be required. As with any fire, a State Fire
Marshal Fire Report (Form #814-440-10) is required.

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced in this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94

837-085-0390 
Annual Summaries

The Office of State Fire Marshal shall annually summarize all
incidents reported and information received from the Hazardous Sub-
stance Information Survey. Copies of these summaries will be dis-
tributed at no charge to:

(1) Governor;
(2) Legislative Assembly;
(3) Department of Environmental Quality;
(4) Workers’ Compensation Division;
(5) Department of Transportation
(6) Health Division of the Department of Human Resources;
(7) Environmental Health Sciences Center at Oregon State Uni-

versity;
(8) Poison Control Center at Oregon Health Sciences Univer-

sity;
(9) Oregon Emergency Management Division of the Depart-

ment of State Police;
(10) Oregon State Police;
(11) Every public library as defined in ORS 357.400
(12) Public fire departments;
(13) Local law enforcement agencies.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 435.357
Hist.: FM 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-14-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02

DIVISION 90
HAZARDOUS MATERIALS

Hazardous Substance Possession Fees
837-090-1000 
Coverage

(1) Persons with facilities covered by ORS 453.317 and OAR
837-090-1000 through 837-090-1045 shall be subject to a fee assess-
ment for those hazardous substances classified as minimally, gen-
erally, very hazardous, or subject only to a registration fee. 

(2) Each facility site shall have a separate fee assessed based
upon the amounts and classification of hazardous substances pos-
sessed. 

(3) Hazardous Substance Possession Fees assessed by local
governments based on quantity or the Hazardous Substance Infor-
mation Survey shall be billed and collected only through contract
with the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.396 - ORS 453.414
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-090-1005 
General

(1) Annually any person possessing a hazardous substance at a
covered facility in this state shall pay a fee for each facility site. 

(2) The annual fee shall be due following the requirement for
submission of a Hazardous Substance Survey. See OAR 837-090-
1000 to 837-090-1045. 

(3) The annual fee shall be in accordance with the fee sched-
ules in OAR 837-090-1030 unless the substance is subject only to a
registration fee. 

(4) The assessment of a Hazardous Substance Possession Fee
does not relieve any person from any other duty or responsibility
imposed by law or rule. 

(5) The Hazardous Substance Possession Fee imposed by these
rules is in addition to all other state, county, or municipal fees on haz-
ardous substances. 

(6) Local government Hazardous Substance Possession Fees
shall be in accordance with fee schedules established by local gov-
ernment rule or ordinance. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.398 – ORS 353.402
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-090-1010 
Effective Dates

(1) OAR 837-090-1000 through 837-090-1045 are effective
upon date of filing. 

(2) Local government Hazardous Substance Possession Fee
programs shall be in compliance with these rules. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.396 - ORS 453.414
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-090-1015 
Definitions

(1) “Aerosol” means any material which is dispensed from its
container as a mist, spray or foam by propellant under pressure. 

(2) “Blasting Agent” means any material or mixture consisting
of a fuel and oxidizer intended for blasting, not otherwise classified
as an explosive, in which none of the ingredients are classified as
explosives, provided that the finished product as mixed and packaged
for use or shipment cannot be detonated by means of a No. 8 test
blasting cap when unconfined. Materials or mixtures classified as
nitrocarbonitrates by the Department of Transportation regulations
shall be included in this definition. 

(3) “Carcinogen” means any substance that causes the devel-
opment of cancerous growths in living tissue. A chemical is con-
sidered to be a carcinogen if: 

(a) It has been evaluated by the International Agency for
Research on Cancer (IARC) and found to be carcinogenic; or 

(b) It is listed as a carcinogen in the latest edition of the Annu-
al Report on Carcinogens published by the National Toxicology Pro-
gram (NTP); or 

(c) It is regulated by the Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA) as a carcinogen. 

(4) “Combustible Liquid” means any liquid having a flash point
at or above 100° F. Combustible liquids shall be subdivided as fol-
lows: 

(a) Class II liquids shall include those having flash points at or
above 100° F. and below 140° F.; 

(b) Class III-A liquids shall include those having flash points
at or above 140° F. and below 200° F.; 

(c) Class III-B liquids shall include those having flash points at
or above 200° F. 

(5) “Compressed Gas” means: 
(a) A gas or mixture of gases having, in a container, an abso-

lute pressure exceeding 40 psi at 70° F.; or 
(b) A gas or mixture of gases having, in a container, an abso-

lute pressure exceeding 104 psi at 130° F. regardless of the pressure
at 70° F.; or 

(c) A liquid having a vapor pressure exceeding 40 psi at 100°
F. as determined by U.F.C. Standard No. 9-5. 
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(6) “Corrosive” means any chemical that causes visible destruc-
tion of, or irreversible alterations in, living tissue by chemical action
at the site of contact. A chemical is considered to be corrosive if,
when tested on the intact skin of albino rabbits by the method
described in the U.S. Department of Transportation in Appendix A
to CFR 49 Part 173, it destroys or changes irreversibly the structure
of the tissue at the site of contact following an exposure period of
four hours. This term shall not refer to action on inanimate surfaces. 

(7) “Corrosive Liquid” means any liquid which, when in con-
tact with living tissue, will cause destruction or irreversible alteration
of such tissue by chemical action. Examples include acid, alkaline
or caustic materials. 

(8) “Cryogenic Fluids” means those fluids having a normal boil-
ing point below 150° F. (See Table No. 75.102-B of the Uniform Fire
Code). 

(9) “Cutaneous Hazard” means a substance that dames or caus-
es sensitization of the dermal layer of the body. 

(10) “Department” means the Department of Revenue. 
(11) “Dust” means pulverized particles which, if mixed with air

in the proper proportions, become explosive and may be ignited by
a flame or spark or other source of ignition. 

(12) “Entity” means any individual, trust, firm, association, cor-
poration, partnership, joint stock company, joint venture, public or
municipal corporation, commission, political subdivision, the state
or any agency or commission thereof, interstate body, and the Fed-
eral Government and any agency thereof. 

(13) “Explosive” means: 
(a) A chemical which causes a sudden, almost instantaneous

release of pressure, gas and heat when subjected to sudden shock,
pressure, or high temperatures; or 

(b) A material or chemical, other than a blasting agent, that is
commonly used or intended to be used for the purpose of producing
an explosive effect and is regulated by Article 77 of the Uniform Fire
Code. 

(14) “Eye Hazard” means a substance that causes damage to the
eyes, except those that cause damage by mechanical means. 

(15) “Facility” means all buildings, equipment, structures and
other stationary items that are located on a single site or on con-
tiguous or adjacent sites and that are owned or operated by the same
person or by any person who controls, is controlled by or under com-
mon control with such person. 

(16) “Fire Hazard” means any thing or act which increases or
may cause an increase in the hazard or menace of fire to a greater
degree than that customarily recognized as normal by persons in the
public service regularly engaged in preventing, suppressing or extin-
guishing fire; or which may obstruct, delay, hinder or interfere with
the operations of the fire department or the egress of occupants in the
event of fire. 

(17) “Firework” means any combustible or explosive compo-
sition, or any substance or combination of substances, or device pre-
pared for the purpose of producing a visible or audible effect by com-
bustion, explosion, deflagration or detonation, and shall include
blank cartridges, toy pistols, toy cannons, toy canes or toy guns in
which explosives are used, firecrackers, torpedoes, sky-rockets,
Roman candles, Daygo bombs, sparklers or other devices of like con-
struction and any devices containing any explosive or flammable
compound, or any tablet or other device containing an explosive sub-
stance, except that the term “fireworks” shall not include auto flares,
paper caps containing not in excess of an average of 25/100 of a grain
of explosive content per cap and toy pistols, toy canes, toy guns or
other devices for use of such caps. 

(18) “Fissile Materials” means radioisotopes which may under-
go a nuclear fission reaction and are usually found only at reactor
sites or as part of a nuclear weapon. 

(19) “Flammable Anesthetic” means a compressed gas which
is flammable and administered as an anesthetic and shall include
among others, cyclopropane, divinyl ether, ethyl chloride, ethyl ether
and ethylene. 

(20 “Flammable Gas” means a gas which is flammable at a mix-
ture of 13 percent or less (by volume) with air, or the flammable
range with air is wider than 12 percent, regardless of the lower limit. 

(21) “Flammable Liquefied Gas” means a liquefied compressed
gas which under the charged pressure is partially liquid at a tem-
perature of 70° F. and which is flammable. 

(22) “Flammable Liquid” means any liquid having a flash point
below 100° F. and having a vapor pressure not exceeding 40 pounds
per square inch (absolute) at 100° F. Flammable liquids shall be sub-
divided as follows: 

(a) Class I-A shall include those having flash points below 73°
F. and having a boiling point below 100° F.; 

(b) Class I-B shall include those having flash points below 73°
F. and having a boiling point at or above 100° F.; 

(c) Class I-C shall include those having flash points at or above
73° F. and below 100° F. 

(23) “Flammable Solid” means a solid substance, other than one
which is defined in Article 9 of the Uniform Fire Code as a blasting
agent or explosive, that is liable to cause fire through friction or as
a result of retained heat from manufacture, or which has an ignition
temperature below 212° F., or which burns so vigorously or persis-
tently when ignited so as to create a serious hazard. Finely divided
solid materials which when dispersed in air as a cloud may be ignit-
ed and cause an explosion are flammable solids. 

(24) “Generally Hazardous” means hazardous substances which
present a hazard to public health, welfare or safety or the environ-
ment. 

(25) “Hazardous Substance” means: 
(a) Any substance or waste known to present a physical or

health hazard to employees, emergency response personnel, or the
public under normal conditions of use and/or during an emergency
situation; or 

(b) Any hazardous chemical which is required to have a Mate-
rial Safety Data Sheet pursuant to OAR chapter 437, division 155,
the Hazard Communication rules of the Oregon Occupational Safe-
ty and Health Division of the Department of Consumer and Business
Services; or 

(c) Any radioactive substance as defined by ORS 453.005(7);
or 

(d) Any radioactive waste as defined by ORS 469.300; or 
(e) Any substance or waste designated as hazardous by the

Director of the Department of Insurance and Finance or the State Fire
Marshal. 

(26) “Hematopoietic Toxin” means a substance which damages
or disrupts the blood system. 

(27) “Hepatoxin” means a substance that causes damage to the
liver. 

(28) “Highly Toxic Material” means a material which produces
a lethal dose or lethal concentration which falls within any of the fol-
lowing categories: 

(a) A chemical that has a median lethal dose (LD50) of 50 mil-
ligrams or less per kilogram of body weight when administered oral-
ly to albino rats weighing between 200 and 300 grams each; 

(b) A chemical that has a median lethal dose (LD50) of 200 mil-
ligrams or less per kilogram of body weight when administered by
continuous contact for 24 hours (or less if death occurs within 24
hours) with the bare skin of albino rabbits weighing between two and
three kilograms each; 

(c) A chemical that has a median lethal concentration (LC50)
in air of 200 parts per million by volume or less of gas or vapor, or
two milligrams per liter of less of mist, fume or dust, when admin-
istered by continuous inhalation for one hour (or less if death occurs
within one hour) to albino rats weighing between 200 and 300 grams
each; 

(d) Mixture of these materials with ordinary materials, such as
water, may not warrant a classification of highly toxic. While this
system is basically simple in application, any hazard evaluation
which is required for the precise categorization of this type of mate-
rial shall be performed by experienced, technically competent per-
sons. 

(29) “Licensed Vehicle” means a motorized vehicle licensed by
the State of Oregon for travel using its own power on public high-
ways. 
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(30) “Hypergolic Materials” means any materials which are
capable of igniting spontaneously upon contact with another sub-
stance. 

(31) “Highly Hazardous” means and is equivalent to very haz-
ardous. See section (56) of this rule. 

(32) “Liquefied Gas” means a gas that is received and stored as
a liquid through the use of pressure and/or cryogenic conditions. 

(33) “Liquefied Petroleum Gas” means any material which is
composed predominantly of the following hydrocarbons or mixtures
of them: propane, propylene, butane (normal butane or isobutane)
and butylenes. 

(34) “Material Safety Data Sheet” means written or printed
material concerning a hazardous chemical which is prepared pur-
suant to rules OAR chapter 437, division 2 (29 CFR 1910.1200),
Subdivision Z , the Hazard Communication Rules of the Oregon
OSHA Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department
of Consumer and Business Services.

(35) “Minimally Hazardous” means hazardous substances
which present little hazard to public health, welfare, safety or the
environment. 

(36) “Mutagen” means a substance that causes genetic (herita-
ble) changes in the DNA of chromosomes. 

(37) “Nephrotoxin” means a substance that is poisonous to the
kidneys. 

(38) “Neurotoxin” means a substance that causes damage to the
nervous system. 

(39) “Non-hazardous” means a substances which present no
hazard to public health, welfare, safety or the environment. 

(40) “Organic Peroxide” means an organic compound that con-
tains the bivalent -0-0- structure and which may be considered to be
a structural derivative of hydrogen peroxide where one or both of the
hydrogen atoms have been replaced by an organic radical. Organic
peroxides may present an explosion hazard (detonation or deflagra-
tion) or they may be shock sensitive. They may also decompose into
various unstable compounds over an extended period of time. 

(41) “Oxidizer” means a chemical other than a blasting agent
or explosive as defined in Article 9 of the Uniform Fire Code that
initiates or promotes combustion in other materials, thereby causing
fire either of itself or through the release of oxygen or other gases. 

(42) “Peroxide-Forming Chemical” means a chemical which,
when exposed to air, will form explosive peroxides which are shock,
pressure or heat sensitive. 

(43) “Person” means: 
(a) Any entity including, but not limited to, an individual, trust,

firm, joint stock company, corporation, partnership, association,
municipal corporation, political subdivision, interstate body, the state
and any agency or commission thereof and the Federal Government
and any agency thereof; 

(b) Any entity operating a facility that is included in one or more
of the standard industrial classification categories identified by the
State Fire Marshal under ORS 453.408(2). 

(44) “Pesticide” means any substance or mixture of substances,
including fungicides, intended for preventing, destroying, repelling
or mitigating any pest and any substance or mixture of substances
intended for use as a plant regulator, defoliant or desiccant. Products
defined as drugs in the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act are
exempt. 

(45) “Possess” or “Possession” means the physical possession
of a hazardous substance within the state. 

(46) “Pyrophoric” means a chemical that will spontaneously
ignite in air at or below a temperature of 130° F. (54.4° C.). 

(47) “Quantity Range(s)” means a range of values assigned for
reporting the quantities of hazardous materials. It is equivalent to the
term Reporting Range. 

(48) “Radioactive Material” means any material or combination
of materials that spontaneously emits ionizing radiation. 

(49) “Reactive Materials” means those materials which can
enter into a hazardous chemical reaction with other stable or unsta-
ble materials. 

(50) “Registration Fee” means a Hazardous Substance Posses-
sion Fee assessed in lieu of that set by a fee schedule. 

(51) “Respiratory Hazard” means those materials which cause
damage to the respiratory system. 

(52) “Sensitizer” means a chemical that causes a substantial pro-
portion of exposed people or animals to develop an allergic reaction
in normal tissue after repeated exposure to the chemical. 

(53) “Toxic Material” means a material which produces a lethal
dose or a lethal concentration within any of the following categories: 

(a) A chemical or substance that has a median lethal dose
(LD50) of more than 50 milligrams per kilogram but not more than
500 milligrams per kilogram of body weight when administered oral-
ly to albino rats weighing between 200 and 300 grams each; 

(b) A chemical or substance that has a median lethal dose
(LD50) of more than 200 milligrams per kilogram but not more than
1,000 milligrams per kilogram of body weight when administered by
continuous contact for 24 hours (or less if death occurs within 20
hours) with the bare skin of albino rabbits weighing between 2 and
3 kilograms each; 

(c) A chemical or substance that has a median lethal concen-
tration (LC50) in air more than 200 parts per million but not more
than 2,000 parts per million by volume of gas or vapor, or more than
two milligrams per liter but not more than 20 milligrams per liter of
mist, fume or dust, when administered by continuous inhalation for
one hour (or less if death occurs within one hour) to albino rats
weighing between 200 and 300 grams each. 

(54) “Unstable (reactive) Liquid” means a chemical which in
the pure state, or as produced or transported, will vigorously poly-
merize, decompose, condense, or will become self-reactive under
conditions of shock, pressure or temperature. 

(55) “Unstable Materials” means those materials, other than
explosives, which in the pure state or as commercially produced will
vigorously polymerize, decompose, condense or become self-reac-
tive and undergo other violent chemical changes, including explo-
sion, when exposed to heat, friction, shock, or in the absence of an
inhibitor or in the presence of contaminants or in contact with non-
compatible materials. 

(56) “Very Hazardous” means hazardous substances which pre-
sent a significant hazard to public health, welfare or safety or the
environment. 

(57) “Water-Reactive Materials” means materials which
explode violently, react, produce flammable, toxic or other hazardous
gases, or evolve enough heat to cause self-ignition or ignition of near-
by combustibles upon exposure to water or moisture. 

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.396 – ORS 453.414
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 5-1994, f. 12-14-94,
cert. ef. 12-15-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-090-1020 
Hazardous Classification

(1) Hazardous substances shall be classified according to the
hazard(s) they present. 

(2) Hazardous substances shall be classified as generally haz-
ardous unless they meet the criteria for classification as minimally
hazardous, very hazardous or are subject only to a registration fee. 

(3) For purposes of the Hazardous Substance Possession Fee,
the most hazardous classification that can be assigned to a substance
will be used. 

(4) A hazardous substance shall be classified as subject only to
a registration fee if, under normal or reasonably expected conditions: 

(a) Its primary hazard is that only of a nuisance dust and/or
minor irritant; and 

(b) It has no other hazard that would classify it as a minimal-
ly, generally or very hazardous substance; or 

(c) It is classified as such by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
(5) A hazardous substance may be classified as minimally haz-

ardous if, under normal or reason-ably expected conditions: 
(a) It has a National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 704

rating of 1 or less; and 
(b) It is not required to have either the signal Words Danger or

Warning on container labels; and 
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(c) It does not have a Threshold Limit Value (TLV), Permissi-
ble Exposure Limit (PEL) or Recommended Exposure (REL) less
than 10 mg/m3 of total particulate, 5,000 ppm of gas or vapor or 10
fibers/cc; and 

(d) There has been not one reliable animal or human study
showing that it is a hepatoxin, nephrotoxin, neurotoxin, carcinogen,
sensitizer, corrosive, hematopoietic toxin, respiratory hazard, repro-
ductive toxin, mutagen, eye hazard, or cutaneous hazard; and 

(e) It is not a hazardous waste; and 
(f) It is not an aerosol, blasting agent, combustible liquid, com-

pressed gas, corrosive, corrosive liquid, cryogenic fluid, explosive,
fire hazard, fireworks, fissile materials, flammable anesthetic
flammable gas, flammable liquefied gas, flammable liquid,
flammable solid or metal, highly toxic material, highly toxic pesti-
cide, hypergolic material, liquefied petroleum gas, natural gas, organ-
ic peroxide, oxidizer, peroxide, peroxide-forming chemical, pesti-
cide, pyrometric, radioactive material, reactive material, sensitizer,
toxic material, unstable (reactive) liquid, unstable material or water-
reactive material; or 

(g) It is classified as such by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
(6) A hazardous substance will be classified as very hazardous

if, under normal or reasonably expected conditions: 
(a) It has a National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), 704

health and/or reactivity rating of 4; or 
(b) It is required to have the signal word Danger on container

labels; or 
(c) It is a highly toxic material, human carcinogen, high explo-

sive, highly combustible dust or metal, Class 4 oxidizer, Class I
organic peroxide, pyrophoric, Class 4 unstable (reactive) material,
Class 3 water-reactive material, radioactive material, hypergolic; or 

(d) It is classified as such by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
(7) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall make an initial haz-

ard classification of hazardous substances: 
(a) In the absence of information to support classification as

minimally hazardous, very hazardous or subject only to a registra-
tion fee, each hazardous substance shall be classified as generally
hazardous; 

(b) Requests for changes in hazard classifications shall be made
in writing to the Office of State Fire Marshal. The request shall
include the facility ID number, company name, address and tele-
phone number of the facility requesting the change, the name of the
person making the request, the name of the substance and a Materi-
al Safety Data Sheet for the substance. 

(8) If the Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) states, or indicates
by content a mixture of hazardous substances has been tested as a
whole to determine its hazards, the results of such testing shall be
used to determine the mixture’s hazard classification. 

(a) If there is other documentation available that indicates there
may be other hazards associated with the substance being evaluat-
ed, the State Fire Marshal may also consider that information to assist
in determining the hazard rank classification.

(9) If a mixture of hazardous substances has not been tested as
a whole, the health hazard established for the product will be the
same as the most hazardous ingredient that makes up 20 percent (by
weight or volume) or more of the mixture. The mixture shall be con-
sidered to have carcenogenic hazards if it contains a listed carcino-
gen in amounts of 5 percent or more.

(10) If the MSDS indicates the ingredients of a mixture are neu-
tralized or would not create a hazard under normal or reasonably
expected conditions due to a chemical reaction of ingredients, by
encapsulation or bound in a compound, the potential hazard will be
evaluated using the MSDS and any other applicable documents.

(11) If a mixture of hazardous substances has not been tested
as a whole to determine whether the mixture is a physical hazard, the
Office of State Fire Marshal may use whatever scientifically valid
data is available to evaluate the physical hazard potential of the mix-
ture and its hazard classification. 

(12) If there is evidence to indicate that a component present in
the mixture in concentrations of less than 30 percent (or in the case
of carcinogens, less than 10 percent) could be released in concentra-
tions which would exceed an established Permissible Exposure Limit,
ACGIH Threshold Limit Value, or Recommended Exposure Limit,

or could present a health hazard in those concentrations, the mixture
shall be assumed to present the same hazard as the component.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.402(2)
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; FM 5-1994, f. 12-14-94,
cert. ef. 12-15-94; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-090-1025 
Payments and Billings

(1) Hazardous Substance Possession Fee payments are due by
January 1 unless otherwise specified on the fee assessment statement. 

(2) Hazardous Substance Possession Fees shall be due retroac-
tively to January 1 of each year, for those persons who had been noti-
fied but failed to previously submit required complete and accurate
Hazardous Substance Information Surveys as required by OAR 837-
085-0010 to 837-085 0090.

(3) In the absence of other data, current survey data will be used
to assess the fee(s) for the previous year(s) when a firm was subject
to the Hazardous Substance Information Survey and assessed fees. 

(4) Persons who fail to pay the assessed fee within 60 days of
the due date shall be assessed a late penalty fee of five percent of the
fee amount. 

(5) Persons who pay the assessed fee 60 days or more after the
due date on the fee assessment statement shall be subject to payment
of interest at the rate prescribed under ORS 305.220. 

(6) Persons subject to retroactive fee assessments shall be sub-
ject to payment of interest at the rate prescribed under ORS 305.220. 

(7) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall, for each year a fee
is due, send a statement to each person subject to the fee indicating
the amount of fee due and the due date. 

(8) The Office of State Fire Marshal may extend for good cause,
up to one month, the due date for fee payment: 

(a) The extension may be granted at any time if a written request
is filed with the State Fire Marshal within or prior to the period for
which the extension may be granted; 

(b) If the time for payment is extended at the request of a per-
son, interest at the rate established under ORS 305.220, for each
month, or fraction of a month, from the time the payment was orig-
inally due to the time payment is actually made, shall be added and
paid. 

(9) If the person fails to pay the amount due, the State Fire Mar-
shal may either: 

(a) Bring an action for the recovery of the fee due; or 
(b) Initiate a contested case hearing according to the applicable

provisions of ORS 183.310 to 183.550. 
(10) Notwithstanding any provision of ORS 183.310 to

183.550, nothing in section (9) of this rule shall be considered to
require the State Fire Marshal to conduct a contested case hearing
as a prerequisite to bringing an action under subsection (9)(a) of this
rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.400 – ORS 403.404
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-090-1030 
State Fee Schedules

(1) Three state fee schedules shall be developed annually as the
basis for assessing each person returning a Hazardous Substance
Information Survey (see OAR 837-090-1000 to 837-090-1045) a
Hazardous Substance Possession Fee. 

(2) The annual fee assessed under each schedule shall be based
upon the single largest maximum aggregate quantity of substance
reported in the Hazardous Substance Information Survey, that is
manufactured, stored, or otherwise possessed by a facility during the
survey year. 

(3) The programs to be funded from fees collected under ORS
453.396 to 453.414 and these rules, and the range of the fee sched-
ules that may be considered, beginning July 1989, are as follows: 

(a) For funding the Community Right to Know and Protection
Act, not less than $25 and not more than $2,000 per facility; 
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(b) For funding the Toxics Use Reduction and Hazardous Waste
Reduction Act, not less than $25 and not more than $2,000 per facil-
ity; 

(c) For each employer’s share of a total of up to $1 million to
be deposited into the Orphan Site Account established under ORS
465.381, not less than zero and not more than $9,000 per facility.
This schedule shall not require an employer to pay a total more than
$25,000 for all facilities. 

(4) Employers that believe a billing error has occured may
request a fee review. Fee review requests must be made in writing
to the Office of State Fire Marshal within 20 days of the billing mail
date.

(a) Fee review requests must include the company name, facil-
ity ID number, site address, name of the substance the fee was based
on, amount of the fee assessed, telephone number and the reason for
requesting a review.

(5) Any dispute as to the amount or validity of a hazardous sub-
stance fee assessment shall be resolved in accordance with the
appeals process procedures outlined in the Administrative Proce-
dures Act (APA), ORS 183.025 to 183.725, unless specifically
addressed in these rules. 

(6) Hazardous Substance Possession Fee schedules are available
from the agency. 

(7) If a person can provide evidence that all or part of their
propane is derived from the refining of crude oil, the fee assessment
Reporting Quantity Range and the fee shall be adjusted according-
ly; 

(8) If a person can provide evidence that all or part of their
propane is used to power motor vehicles licensed for public highway
use, the fee assessment Reporting Quantity Range and the fee shall
be adjusted accordingly. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408, ORS 833 & ORS 1071
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.402
Hist.: FM 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 8-31-89; FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-
90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef.
7-15-92, Renumbered from 837-090-0900; FM 9-1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-
28-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-090-1035 
Records

(1) Every person who possesses a hazardous substance shall
keep at the registered place of business complete and accurate
records for each facility of any hazardous substance purchased by,
or brought in or caused to be brought in to the facility, or stored, used,
or manufactured at the facility.

(2) The State Fire Marshal or an authorized representative of the
State Fire Marshal, upon oral or written reasonable notice, may make
such examinations of the books, papers, records and equipment
required to be kept under this section as it may deem necessary in
carrying out the pro visions of ORS 453.396 to 453.414 and these
rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.406
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92

837-090-1040 
Exemptions

(1) Units of local government are exempted from the assess-
ment of Hazardous Substance Possession Fees for those substances
which the unit of local government: 

(a) Is specifically required to use by a state or federal law or
rule; or 

(b) Uses to meet a standard imposed by state or federal law or
rule; or 

(c) Produces as a by-product of processes employed to meet a
standard imposed by state or federal law or rule. 

(2) Unit of local government exemption requests shall be made
on forms or by methods specified by the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal. 

(3) The following substances are exempt from the Hazardous
Substance Possession Fee: 

(a) Crude oil and petroleum products derived from the refining
of crude oil, including plant condensate, gasoline, diesel motor fuel,
aviation fuel, lubrication oil, crankcase motor oil, kerosene, benzol,
fuel oil, residual fuel, petroleum coke, asphalt base, liquefied or liq-
uefiable gases such as butane, ethane and propane and other prod-
ucts described during petroleum processing, but not including deriva-
tives, such as petroleum jellies, cleaning solvents or asphalt paving; 

(b) Solid waste as defined in ORS 459.005; 
(c) Hazardous waste as defined in ORS 466.005; 
(d) Any substance or activity which the Constitution or laws of

the United States prohibit the state from taxing; 
(e) Propane used to power licensed motor vehicles; 
(f) Propane when possessed by public schools; 
(g) Natural gas unless stored in liquefied form for non-vehic-

ular use in quantities greater than 200 cubic feet. 
(4) Persons whose property is exempt from taxation under ORS

307.090 are exempt from that portion of the Hazardous Substance
Possession Fee assessed for funding the Orphan Site Account under
ORS 453.402(2)(c). 

(5) The State Fire Marshal by rule may add persons or sub-
stances to or exempt persons or substances from liability for the fee
imposed under ORS 453.396 to 453.414 to conform to the reporting
requirements established by the State Fire Marshal under the Com-
munity Right to Know and Protection Act. See OAR 837-090-1000
to 837-090-1045. Requests for such exemptions shall be made
according to the exemption provisions in OAR 837-090-1040 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.402, ORS 453.414
Hist.: FM 7-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef. 7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-
02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-090-1045 
Local Government Fees

(1) Local government Hazardous Substance Possession Fees
based on quantity or the Hazardous Substance Information Survey
shall be used solely to supplement and not to duplicate the Office of
State Fire Marshal’s programs under ORS 453.307 to 453.372. 

(2) Local government Hazardous Substance Possession Fees
based on quantity or the Hazardous Substance Information Survey,
shall be billed and collected only through contract with the Office
of State Fire Marshal. 

(3) Local governments shall not assess a hazardous Substance
Possession Fee for the same substance to persons who are assessed
a Hazardous Substance Possession Registration Fee by the Office of
State Fire Marshal. 

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal shall not enter into a con-
tract with a local government under OAR 837-090-1000(3) or sec-
tion (2) of this rule, unless the local government meets the follow-
ing requirements: 

(a) The local government certifies that the revenue from the
local Hazardous Substance Possession Fee will be used solely to sup-
plement and not duplicate the Office of State Fire Marshal’s pro-
grams under ORS 453.307 to 453.372; and 

(b) The local Hazardous Substance Possession Fee system is
structured to be compatible with the fee schedules adopted by OAR
837-090-1030; and 

(c) The local Hazardous Substance Possession Fee assessment
program will not raise moneys in excess of that needed to carry out
the local government’s supplemental Community Right-To-Know
programs. 

(5) The contract under these rules shall include: 
(a) Provisions that assure that the local government pays the

portion of the costs that may be attributed to its fee assessment pro-
gram; and 

(b) Conditions that require the local government to bear all costs
related to collection of its fee, including but not limited to costs asso-
ciated with conducting hearings or appeals on the fee; 

(c) If appropriate, provisions to allow local government to con-
duct hearings or appeals on it’s fees. 

(6) Any local government operating a Hazardous Substance
Possession Fee assessment program shall comply with these rules on
or before July 1, 1992. 

Chapter 837     Department of Oregon State Police, Office of State Fire Marshal

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2003 Edition 15 - 363 (11-15-02)



(7) Local government programs funded by Hazardous Sub-
stance Possession Fees will be reviewed by the Office of State Fire
Marshal to ensure against duplication, in accordance with ORS
453.402(7)(b). 

(8) Failure of a local government to comply with section (4) of
this rule will result in cancellation of the Office of State Fire Mar-
shal’s contract and the local government’s Hazardous Substance Pos-
session Fee assessment program. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.408
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.402
Hist.: FM 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-23-91; FM 7-1992, f. 6-15-92, cert. ef.
7-15-92; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-17-02

837-090-1145 
Petroleum Load Fee

(1) As provided in ORS 465.101 to 465.127, the petroleum load
withdrawal fee is established at the rate of $4.75 per load to carry out
the state’s oil, hazardous materials and hazardous substance emer-
gency response program as it relates to the maintenance, operation,
and use of the public highways, roads, streets, and roadside rest areas. 

(2) Fee collection by the Department of Revenue will begin
October 1, 1993. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 465.106
Stats. Implemented: ORS 465.106
Hist.: FM 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-93; OSFM 9-2002, f. 11-14-02, cert. ef. 11-
17-02

DIVISION 110
FIELD BURNING AND PROPANING RULES

837-110-0005 
Purpose and Scope

The purpose of these rules is to increase the degree of public
safety by preventing unwanted wild fires and smoke from field burn-
ing and propaning near highways and freeways within the State of
Oregon. These rules shall apply to that area west of the crest of the
Cascade Range and south to the Douglas/Lane County lines.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0010 
Field Preparation

(1) Prior to burning, all fields shall be prepared by providing a
barrier around the perimeter free of combustibles.

(2) The barrier shall prevent any fire spread and shall be pre-
pared by using one or more of the following methods:

(a) Plowing or disking a 17-foot strip around the field perime-
ter; or

(b) Plowing or disking a five-foot strip around the field perime-
ter and the removal of loose, combustible straw from a 12-foot strip
immediately adjacent to the five-foot strip; or

(c) Having a 17-foot strip of green cover crop or bare earth; or
(d) Retaining a least a 50-foot strip of green cover crop or bare

earth in the immediately adjacent field(s) at the time of burning; or
(e) Other alternatives may be used with the specific written

approval of the State Fire Marshal.
(3) The barrier need not be provided where the perimeter of the

field lies adjacent to a field that meets the provision of this section.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0020 
Firefighting Water Supplies

(1) When burning acreage, the following firefighting vehicles
shall be provided:

(a) Up to 50 acres — At least two water tank vehicles with a
minimum of 1,000 gallon water capacity shall be on site;

(b) 50 to 200 acres — At least three water tank vehicles with a
minimum of 1,500 gallon water capacity shall be on site;

(c) Over 200 acres — At least four water tank vehicles with a
minimum of 3,000 gallon water capacity shall be on site.

(2) Refill Requirements: During actual fire fighting operations
the water requirements described in this section shall be maintained
at or above 25 percent of the specified amount. Within the buffer
zone described in OAR 837-110-0080, this requirement shall be
raised to at least 50 percent.

NOTE: Vehicles with smaller capacity water tanks may be used to meet
the total gallonage capacity required by subsections (1)(a) through (c) of
this rule.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0030 
Firefighting Equipment

The person(s) responsible for the acreage to be burned shall use
firefighting equipment that meets or exceeds the following standards:

(1) All water tank vehicles shall be equipped with a pump in
working order with a pumping capability of 30 gallons per minute
or more and capable of extinguishing a flame at a distance of at least
40 feet.

(2) All required firefighting vehicles shall be adequately staffed
to assure proper operation. It is recommended that at least two
employees who have received basic safety training be assigned to
each firefighting vehicle.

(3) All water tanks shall be filled to 90 percent of their capac-
ity prior to ignition of the field.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0040 
Ignition Criteria

(1) To ensure an adequate, complete, and even burn over the
entire field to be burned, a minimum of two drip torches, propane
lighters, or other pressurized fuel torches shall be on the burn site at
the time of ignition.

(2) Whenever possible ignition shall cause the edges of the field
to burn first and the burn to continue toward the field’s center.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0050 
Prohibited Use

The use of pitch forks, harrows, or the dragging of burning tires
to ignite the fire is prohibited.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 478
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89

837-110-0060 
Communication

Radio communications shall be maintained between:
(1) All firefighting equipment utilized in the burning of the

field(s).
(2) The crew at the burn site and a constantly manned base sta-

tion or home that will receive a call for assistance and summon help
from an appropriate emergency response agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 478
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89

837-110-0070 
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Fire Safety Watch
In addition to the firefighting equipment required by OAR 837-

110-0020 and 837-110-0030, a continuous fire safety watch shall be
provided. The fire safety watch:

(1) Shall patrol the perimeter of the field during burning oper-
ations.

(2) Shall begin prior to the ignition of the field and continue for
at least 30 minutes after open flame ceases. However, the fire watch
shall not leave until it is confirmed that the fire is completely out.

(3) Shall consist of at least one firefighting vehicle having a
water tank with at least a 200 gallon water capacity and which meets
the requirements of OAR 837-110-0030 and 837-110-0060.

(4) May allow a field to burn up to the edge of a secondary road
as long as there is a fire watch at both ends of the road during the time
that the burning is occurring, in order to assure driver safety and
divert traffic if necessary.

(5) May allow burning of a field along a secondary road with
fire watches, only if there are no combustibles or brush between the
edge of the field and the secondary road.

NOTE: For purposes of these rules, secondary roads are rural minor col-
lector roads and local roads as defined by the Federal Highway Adminis-
tration and the Oregon Department of Transportation and quoted herein:
(a) Rural collector roads — Generally serve travel of primarily inter coun-
ty rather than statewide importance and constitute those routes on which
(regardless of traffic volume) predominant travel distances are shorter than
on arterial routes. 
(b) Rural minor collector roads — Roads that collect traffic from local
roads and bring all developed areas within a reasonable distance of a col-
lector road, provide service to the remaining smaller communities, and link
the locally important traffic generators with their rural hinterland.
(c) Rural local roads — Roads that serve primarily to provide access to
adjacent land and provide service to travel over relatively short distances
as compared to collectors or other highway systems.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0080 
Fire Safety Buffer Zones

A fire safety buffer zone shall parallel both sides of all highways
and roadways within the scope and application of these rules. The
buffer zone shall extend 1/2 mile in a perpendicular direction from
the outer edge of each highway or roadway right-of-way. No field
burning shall be allowed in fire safety buffer zones except as pro-
vided in sections (1) and (2) of this rule:

(1) Interstate Highways west of the crest of the Cascade Range,
south to the Douglas/Lane County lines:

(a) Field burning may be permitted in the fire safety buffer zone
only where a 1/4-mile-wide noncombustible ground surface is pro-
vided between the field to be burned and the nearest edge of the free-
way right-of-way. Noncombustible ground surfaces shall meet the
criteria described in section (3) of this rule;

(b) The 1/4-mile noncombustible ground surface shall extend
1/4 mile each direction beyond the permitted field boundaries par-
allel to the freeway right-of-way. 

(2) Other Roadways:
(a) Field burning may be permitted in the fire safety buffer zone

only where a 1/8-mile-wide noncombustible ground surface is pro-
vided between the field to be burned and the nearest edge of the high-
way right-of-way. Noncombustible ground surfaces shall meet the
criteria described in section (3) of this rule;

(b) The 1/8 mile noncombustible ground surface shall extend
1/8 mile in each direction beyond the permitted field boundaries par-
allel to the highway right-of-way;

(c) The designated roadways to which this section applies are:
(A) ORE 99 — The section from Junction City to Eugene;
(B) ORE 99E — The sections from Oregon City to Salem and

from Albany to Junction City;
(C) ORE 99W — The entire section from Portland to Junction

City;
(D) US 20 — The section from Philomath to Lebanon;
(E) ORE 22 — The section from ORE 18 to Mehama;
(F) US 26 — The section from ORE 47 interchange to Portland;

(G) ORE 34 — The section from Corvallis to Lebanon.
(3) Noncombustible ground surfaces mentioned in sub ections

(1)(a) and (b) and (2)(a) and (b) of this rule may be provided by
planting a noncom bustible ground cover approved by the State Fire
Marshal or by disking and plowing the surface. Other alternative
methods may be recognized by the State Fire Marshal or designee.

(4) The Office of State Fire Marshal or designee with the con -
currence of the Office of State Fire Marshal may grant specific writ-
ten approval:

(a) Not to provide the extensions required by subsections (2)(a)
and (b) of this rule, when natural barriers such as rivers or other non-
combustible surfaces exists; or

(b) For the use of alternative methods to provide the non -
combustible ground surfaces required by subsections (1)(a) and (b)
and (2)(a) and (b) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0090 
Ban on Burning

All field burning shall be banned when any two of the follow-
ing criteria are present:

(1) Temperature of 95 degrees Fahrenheit or above;
(2) Relative humidity of 30 percent or below;
(3) Wind speed of 15 miles per hour or higher.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

Propaning
837-110-0110 
Field Preparation

(1) Prior to propaning, all fields shall be prepared by providing
a barrier around the perimeter free of combustible materials.

(2) The barrier may be provided by green cover crop, bare earth,
or other method(s) to prevent any fire spread, and shall be prepared
by using one or more of the following methods:

(a) Plowing or disking a 10-foot strip around the field perime-
ter; or

(b) Plowing or disking a 5-foot strip around the field perime-
ter and removal of loose, combustible straw from a 12-foot strip
immediately adjacent to the 5-foot strip; or

(c) Retaining at least a 50-foot strip of green crop or bare earth
in the immediately adjacent field(s) at the time of propaning; or

(d) Having a 17-foot strip of green cover crop or bare earth; or 
(e) Other alternatives may be used with the specific written

approval of the State Fire Marshal.
(3) The barrier need not be provided where the perimeter of the

field lies adjacent to a field that meets the provisions of this section.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0120 
Firefighting Water Supplies

When propaning acreage, the following safety measures shall
apply:

(1) At least one firefighting water tank vehicle meeting the
equipment requirements of OAR 837-110-0120 through 837-110-
0140 and which has a minimum water tank capacity of 200 gallons
shall be on site.

(2) If additional firefighting assistance is more than five min-
utes from a burn site within a fire safety buffer zone, or ten minutes
otherwise, then water tank capacity mentioned in section (1) of this
rule shall be raised to 500 gallons.

(3) A means to refill the tanks mentioned in sections (1) and (2)
of this rule shall be provided within a ten minute turn around time.
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EXCEPTION:Water tank vehicles of smaller capacity may be used pro-
vided the total gallonage capacity com plies with the above.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0130 
Firefighting Equipment

The person(s) responsible for the acreage to be propaned shall
use firefighting equipment that meets or exceeds the fol lowing stan-
dards:

(1) All water tank vehicles shall be equipped with a pump in
working order with a pumping capability of 30 gallons per minute
or more and capable of extinguishing a flame at a distance of at least
40 feet.

(2) All required water tank vehicles shall be adequately staffed
to assure proper operation. It is recommended that at least two
employees who have received basic safety training be as signed to
each firefighting vehicle.

(3) All water tanks shall be filled to 90 percent of their capac-
ity prior to ignition of the field.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0140 
Communication

Radio communications shall be maintained:
(1) Between all firefighting equipment utilized in the propan-

ing of the field(s);
(2) Between the crew at the propane site and a constantly

manned base station or home that will receive a call for assistance
and sum mon help from an appropriate emergency response agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 478
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89

837-110-0150 
Fire Safety Watch

A fire watch:
(1) Shall begin following the propaning of the field and con-

tinue for at least 30 minutes after completion. However, the fire
watch shall not leave until it is confirmed that the fire and all smoke
sources are completely out.

(2) Shall consist of at least one firefighting vehicle with at least
a 200 gallon water tank which is manned and equipped as stipulat-
ed in OAR 837-110-0020, 837-110-0030, and 837-110-0060.

(3) May allow a field to burn up to the edge of a secondary road
as long as there is a fire watch at both ends of the road during the time
that the burning is occurring, in order to assure driver safety or divert
traffic if necessary.

(4) May allow burning of a field along a secondary road with
fire watches, only if there are no combustibles or brush between the
edge of the field and the secondary road.

NOTE: For purposes of these rules, secondary roads are rural minor col-
lector roads and local roads as defined by the Federal Highway Adminis-
tration and the Oregon Department of Transportation and quoted herein:
-1- Rural collector roads — Generally serve travel of primarily inter coun-
ty rather than statewide importance and constitute those routes on which
(regardless of traffic volume) predominant travel distances are shorter than
on arterial routes.
-2- Rural minor collector roads — Roads that collect traffic from local
roads and bring all developed areas within a reasonable distance of a col-
lector road, provide service to the remaining smaller communities, and link
the locally important traffic generators with their rural hinterland.
-3- Rural local roads — Roads that serve primarily to provide access to
adjacent land and provide service to travel over relatively short distances
as compared to collectors or other highway systems.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030, ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93; FM 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-94

837-110-0160 
Ban on Burning

All propaning shall be banned when any two of the following
criteria are present:

(1) Temperature of 95 degrees Fahrenheit or above.
(2) Relative humidity of 25 percent or below.
(3) Wind speed of 20 miles per hour or higher.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476 & ORS 478
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.380 & ORS 478.960
Hist.: FM 7-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-12-88; FM 8-1988(Temp), f. & cert. 8-
15-88; FM 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-89; FM 4-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-11-
93

DIVISION 120
HAZARDOUS MATERIALS 

EMERGENCY RESPONSE SYSTEM
837-120-0001 
Purpose and Scope

(1) These rules establish criteria and provisions for the imple-
mentation of a statewide hazardous materials emergency response
system.

(2) These rules shall be used to assist and provide direction for
owners of facilities, government officials, and officers of the court
in the interpretation and application of ORS 453.374 through
453.990.

(3) These rules are intended to be consistent with agreements
and contracts entered into by the State of Oregon, and regional and
limited hazardous materials emergency response teams.

(4) These rules also provide for contract team operations and
include, but are not limited to:

(a) Provisions for coordinating team dispatch, duties, and
responsibilities;

(b) Criteria for the types of hazardous materials emergencies
that qualify for regional or limited response team responses;

(c) Establishment of fee schedules for com puting the reim-
bursement of contractor team response costs arising from hazardous
materials emergencies; and

(d) Procedures for state recovery of emergency response costs
from the person(s) responsible for causing a hazardous materials
emergency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0005 
Effective Dates

OAR 837-120-0001 through 837-120-0150 are effective upon
date of filing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0010 
Definitions

For the purposes of these rules the following definitions apply:
(1) “Clean-Up” shall mean the measures taken after emergen-

cy response mitigation and which are intended to permanently
remove the hazard from the incident site.

(2) “Contract” shall mean the entire written agreement
between the State of Oregon and a Regional or Limited Hazardous
Materials Emer gency Response Team contractor.

(3) “Contractor” shall mean the local government agency(ies)
which provide(s) regional or limited hazardous materials emergen-
cy response services under a state contract and this Division.

(4) “Documentation” shall mean the State Fire Marshal billing
form, State Fire Marshal hazard ous materials incident form, the team
incident report, and the Decision Matrix if used, or a form incorpo-
rating these forms.
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(5) “Emergency Response” shall mean those actions taken to
respond to a hazardous materials incident. See also OAR 837-120-
0020(3).

(6) “Emergency Response Cost(s)” shall meant the total emer-
gency response expenses arising from a hazardous materials incident.
See also OAR 837-120-0090(2) and (3).

(7) “Extraordinary Response Cost(s)” shall mean and is equiv-
alent to Team Response cost(s). See also section (28) of this rule and
OAR 837-120-0090(4).

(8) “Facility” shall mean any building, structure, installation,
equipment, pipe or pipe-lines, well, pit, pond, lagoon, impound ment,
ditch, landfill, storage container, motor vehicle, rolling stock, ves-
sel, aircraft, or any other place where there is a release, or threatened
release, of a hazardous material.

(9) “Hazardous Materials” shall mean “hazardous substance”
as that term is defined in ORS 453.307(4).

(10) “Hazardous Materials Emergency Response” shall mean
and be equivalent to emergency response as defined and described
in section (5) of this rule and OAR 837-120-0020(3).

(11) “Hazardous Materials Emergency Response Team” shall
mean an organized group of employees, designated by a contractor,
who are expected to respond under state contract to control and/or
stabilize actual or potential emergency releases of hazardous mate-
rials. Teams shall be designated according to staffing level, the type
of personal protective equipment and training set forth in CFR 29,
Parts 1910.120(q) and its “Appendix A,” as adopted by Oregon-
OSHA’s OAR 437-002-0100, and level of response.

(12) “Incident” shall mean any spill or release, or threat there-
of, rupture, fire or accident that results, or has the potential to result,
in the involvement, loss or escape of a hazardous material.

(13) “Incident Termination” shall means the process of com-
pleting mitigation actions, securing supplies, equipment, materials,
information and communication with command as it relates to a haz-
ardous materials incident.

(14) “Limited Hazardous Materials Emergency Response Team
or Limited Response Team” shall mean a hazardous materials emer-
gency response team operating in conjunction with and providing
assistance to a Regional Response Team in a limited manner or area
of the state. See also section (23) of this rule.

(15) “Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)” shall
mean the statewide hazardous materials emergency planning com-
mittee designated by the Oregon Interagency Hazard Com -
munication Council in its role as the State Emergency Response
Commission under ORS 453.520 and the Emergency Planning and
Community Right-to-Know Act (Public Law 99-499).

(16) “Local Government Agency” shall mean a city, county,
special function district or subdivision thereof.

(17) “Local Response” shall mean a hazardous materials emer-
gency response in the local governmental area where team members
normally conduct emergency response activities and those areas
where the local government has a hazardous materials mutual
response agreement in place and the responding team does not
respond as a state team.

(18) “Mitigation” shall mean actions taken to bring an emer-
gency incident under control using fire suppression contain ment,
confinement and other protocols.

(19) “Motor Vehicle” shall mean, but is not limited to, any ves-
sel, aircraft or automobile, motorcycle or other conveyance driven
upon public or private lands.

(20) “ORS” shall mean Oregon Revised Statutes.
(21) “Person” shall mean any individual, firm, corporation,

association, partnership, consortium, joint venture, commercial enti-
ty, United States Government, state, municipality, com mission, polit-
ical subdivision of this state, and interstate bodies.

(22) “Primary Response Area” shall mean that geographical
region where a contractor is prin cipally responsible for providing
regional or limited hazardous materials emergency response services.

(23) “Regional Hazardous Materials Emergency Response
Team or Regional Response Team” shall mean a contractor’s haz-
ardous materials emergency response team capable of operating
within a region of the state using any of the personal protective
equipment safety limits set forth in CFR 29, Parts 1910.120(q) and

its “Appendix A,” as adopted by Oregon-OSHA’s OAR 437-002-
0100.

(24) “Release” shall mean the same as that term is defined in
ORS 465.200(14).

(25) “Responsible Party” shall mean the person(s) re sponsible
for causing the emergency incident. (See ORS 453.382.)

(26) “State” shall mean the State of Oregon acting by and
through the State Fire Marshal.

(27) “State Spill Response Revolving Fund” shall mean the
revolving fund established under ORS 453.390 et seq.

(28) “Team Response Cost(s)” shall mean those regional or lim-
ited hazardous materials emergency response team contractor
expenses which are expressly allowed under the agreement and con-
tract and approved by the state. This term is equivalent to “Extraor-
dinary Response Cost(s).” See also OAR 837-120-0090(4).

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0020 
Hazardous Materials Response System and Response Team
Contracts

(1) The State Fire Marshal shall develop and implement a
statewide hazardous materials emergency response system.

(2) The statewide hazardous materials emer gency response sys-
tem shall focus on response activities and augment emergency
response systems at local, state and national levels.

(3) Emergency response(s) for hazardous materials incidents
shall include:

(a) Actions taken to monitor, assess and evaluate a spill or
release or threatened spill or release;

(b) First aid, rescue or medical services; and
(c) Fire suppression, containment, confinement, or other actions

appropriate to prevent, minimize or mitigate damage to the public
health, safety, welfare or the environment which may result from a
spill or release, or threatened spill or release, of a hazard ous mate-
rial if action is not taken.

(4) The statewide hazardous materials emer gency response sys-
tem shall include provisions for contracts for regional and limited
hazardous materials emergency response teams.

(5) Regional and limited hazardous materials emergency
response teams shall operate under intergovernmental agreement
between the state and local government agencies.

(6) Regional and limited hazardous materials emergency
response team contracts shall include:

(a) An applicable intergovernmental agreement and contract,
together with all attachments, exhibits, and addenda, if any; and

(b) Referenced documents including but not limited to, corre-
spondence between the state and contractor, contract proposals, and
the state’s Request for Proposal including its specif ications, terms
and conditions, in that order of precedence.

(7) Contractor compensation shall generally include:
(a) Training for regional and limited response team members;
(b) Loans of state emergency response vehicles to con tractors;
(c) Loans of state emergency operations equipment to con-

tractors;
(d) Protection of regional and limited response team members

from tort liability as set forth in ORS 453.384;
(e) Recovery of team response costs on behalf of contractors;

and
(f) Payment of contractor’s team response costs under OAR

837-120-0090 when no payments are forthcoming from responsible
person(s).

(8) Except as specifically agreed to by agreement and contract,
a contractor’s compensation will not include:

(a) Personnel costs associated with non-emergency activities;
or

(b) Team response costs not directly arising from an actual or
threatened release of a hazardous material or which do not otherwise
qualify under section (7) of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
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Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0030 
Emergency Response Criteria

(1) Responses of regional and limited hazardous materials
emergency response teams shall be controlled due to limited dis-
cretionary (State Spill Response Revolving Fund) operating monies.

(2) Regional and limited response teams will only be dispatched
when the reported incident meets the minimum response criteria
described in Appendix 1 or the dispatch procedures in OAR 837-
120-0040.

(3) The State Fire Marshal Hazardous Mate rials Duty Officer
shall have final authority to determine whether an incident qualifies
for a response by one or more regional or limited hazardous mate-
rials emergency response teams.

[ED. NOTE: Appendices referenced in this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0040 
Dispatch Process

(1) Before a regional or limited response team may respond to
an incident, an initial assessment or size-up of the emergency shall
be made.

(2) The initial assessment or size-up will usually be made by
either local government officials (including team members), the
County Sheriff, or Oregon State Police personnel.

(3) If, after making an assessment or size-up of the incident, the
on-scene governmental official determines that the emergency
involves a hazard ous material and that it cannot be success fully con-
trolled with local resources, the on-scene official may request assis-
tance from the regional or limited response team in whose region the
incident occurs.

(4) The general boundaries of the primary response areas for
regional response teams are depicted on the map in Appendix 1.

(5) Emergency response requests shall be directed to the appro-
priate regional response team. A list of the teams and their contact
numbers are included in Appendix 1.

(6) If contact with the appropriate regional response team dis-
patch center cannot be made, or if the incident occurs in an area out-
side of a primary response area, the requesting on-scene government
official shall direct the response request to the Oregon Emergency
Response System (OERS) at 1-800-452-0311 any time or day.

(7) Regional response team contractors, when acting under state
authority, may respond outside of their local jurisdiction in accor-
dance with the criteria established by OAR 837-120-0030(2) and (3),
or under specific written or verbal approval of the State Fire Mar-
shal Hazardous Materials Duty Officer.

(8) Granting of emergency response approval by the State Fire
Marshal Hazardous Materials Duty Officer constitutes the State’s
agreement to pay Contractor’s team expenses from the State Spill
Response Revolving Fund if full recovery of emer gency response
costs from a responsible party(ies) is not possible under OAR 837-
120-0090.

(9) The State Fire Marshal’s emergency response approval may
take the form of written Standard Operating Guidelines wherein the
State Fire Marshal grants regional and limited response team con-
tractor pre-authorization to respond to well-defined types of emer-
gency incidents when time is of the essence.

NOTE: To aid in understanding the dispatch process, a graphic depiction
is provided in Appendix 1.
[ED. NOTE: Appendices referenced in this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0050 
Regional and Limited Response Team Ser vices

(1) Regional and limited hazard ous materials emergency
response team activities shall be limited to emergency responses and
the evaluation and documentation functions arising from hazardous

materials emergency incidents which threaten life, property, or the
environment.

(2) State regional or limited response teams may sample, test,
analyze, treat, remove, recover, package, monitor or track the
involvement of hazardous materials only if it is necessary and inci-
dental for identifying; preventing a release, or threat of re lease, of a
hazardous material; or to stabilize an emergency in cident.

(3) Regional and limited hazardous materials emergency
response teams shall respond to the best of their abilities, subject to
the limitations of available equipment and personnel.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0060 
Regional and Limited Response Team Per formance Condi  tions

(1) Approved regional and limited hazardous materials emer-
gency response team activities shall be limited to those which can
be safely done to stabilize a hazardous materials emergency and,
except as may be incidentally necessary, do not include the transport,
storage, disposal, or remedial clean-up of hazardous materials.

(2) Regional and limited hazardous materials emergency
response teams shall not be required to maintain general security
and/or safety perimeters, locate underground utilities, insure appro-
priate traffic control services, conduct hydrological investi gations
and analysis, or to provide testing, removal and disposal of under-
ground storage tank contamination at or near the hazard ous materi-
als incident to which the contract team is dispatched.

NOTE: These functions are generally the respon sibility of the responsi-
ble party, the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality, or the local
governmental jurisdiction in which the incident occurs. To be absolutely
clear, regional and limited response teams shall not perform “clean-up
activities” nor do they contract for the storage and/or disposal of hazardous
materials; however, they do make contact with and request the Department
of Environmental Quality to do these things.
(3) Regional and Limited response teams are not authorized to

assume command of the hazard ous materials emergency unless they
are the only ones present and/or until a local on-scene Incident Com-
mander arrives and/or if the on-scene Incident Com mander has trans-
ferred the command author ity to a regional or limited response team.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0070 
Emergency Preplanning

(1) Government entities who expect to request assistance from
a regional or limited response team shall be prepared to provide the
regional or limited response team with the following information
upon its arrival:

(a) Sufficient site-specific information, such as drainage loca-
tions, to support tactical decisions by the team officer; and

(b) Sufficient geographical and topological information to sup-
port tactical decisions by the team officer.

(2) In addition to the information described in section (1) of this
rule, local government officials who wish to utilize regional or lim-
ited response team services shall also provide any other information
the regional or limited response team officer reasonably requests in
advance of an incident. Such preplanning data may include, but shall
not be limited to:

(a) Facility site-specific floor plans and occupancy infor mation;
(b) Local maps;
(c) Local resource information;
(d) The types and level of emergency opera tional support and

resources available locally; and
(e) Any other necessary information.
(3) Regional and limited hazardous materials emergency

response teams shall be supplied with the information contained in
the state’s Community Right-to-Know survey database.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.347
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0080 
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Response Fee Schedules
(1) The fee schedules agreed to by the state and contractors as

part of the regional and limited hazardous materials emergency
response team agreements and contracts, shall serve as the basis for
assessment of response costs.

(2) The fee schedules shall be changed as necessary to accu-
rately reflect response costs.

(3) Current regional and limited hazardous materials emergen-
cy response team agreements and contracts are available for review
upon appointment at the central Offices of the State Fire Marshal
between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. weekdays.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0090 
Response Costs and Financial Liability

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of rule or law, when-
ever the State Fire Marshal dispatches a regional or limited hazardous
materials emergency response team to an emergency involving haz-
ardous materials, the State Fire Marshal may bill the person(s)
responsible for causing the emergency for the costs of responding to
the emergency.

(2) Emergency response costs include all response costs
incurred as a result of a hazardous materials emergency. Such costs
generally include, but are not limited to, all state and local govern-
ment expenses that result from the assessment and emergency
response phases of hazardous materials incidents.

(3) Emergency response costs do not include clean-up or dis-
posal costs of hazardous materials, except as they may be reasonably
necessary and incidental to preventing a release or threat of release
of a hazardous material or for stabilizing the emergency response
incident.

(4) Team response costs do not include the wide range of emer-
gency costs associated with a hazardous materials emergency, but
shall be limited to those expenses agreed to by contract as directly
related to regional hazardous materials emergency response team
operations.

(5) The person(s) responsible for causing the emergency shall
be liable for:

(a) All emergency response costs including, but not limited to,
team expenses incurred by the regional or limited hazardous mate-
rials emergency response team, agencies of the State of Oregon, and
the governmental jurisdiction in which the incident occurs; and

(b) Any other necessary and reasonable costs including the
state’s legal or collection expenses and the state’s direct cost of
administration of the hazardous materials emergency response sys-
tem including duty officer personnel costs for coordination which
arise as a result of the emergency.

(6) The State Fire Marshal, using documentation and reports of
the regional or limited response team, will bill the person(s) that
caused the hazardous materials emergency according to the require-
ments of ORS 453.382.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.382
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0100 
Defenses Against Liability

Except for transporters of radio active materials, there shall be
no liability under OAR 837-120-0090 if the responsible person(s)
can establish by a preponderance of the evidence that the release, or
threat of release, of hazardous materials which led to the emergen-
cy response costs was caused solely by:

(1) An Act of God;
(2) An act of war; or
(3) An act or omission of a third person, other than an employ-

ee or agent of the responsible person(s) or one whose act or omis-
sion occurred in connection with a contractual relation ship, existing
directly or indirectly, with the responsible person(s) if the defendant
can establish by a preponderance of the evidence that:

(a) The responsible person(s) exercised due care with respect
to the hazardous material concerned, taking into consideration the

characteristics of such hazardous materials, in light of all relevant
facts and circumstances; and

(b) The responsible person(s) took precautions against fore-
seeable acts and omissions of any such third party and the conse-
quences that could foreseeably result from such acts or omissions.

(4) Liability for radioactive material incidents is established in
ORS 469.615 and OAR 345-060-0045.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.382
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0110 
Disputed Emergency Response Billings

(1) If the responsible party(ies) billed under OAR 837-120-0090
either fails to pay the costs set forth in the State Fire Marshal billing
within 30 days or fails to request a hearing, a second billing which
includes interest shall be sent.

(2) If the responsible party(ies) fail(s) to pay the costs set forth
in the second billing within 30 days:

(a) The State Fire Marshal shall pay the regional or limited haz-
ardous materials emergency response team’s team response costs
from the state revolving fund; and

(b) Contact the responsible person(s) and attempt to resolve the
payment problem informally; or

(c) Initiate a contested case hearing under the applicable pro-
visions of ORS 183.310 to 183.550 to recover any unpaid costs; or

(d) Bring a legal action for the recovery of any unpaid costs.
(3) Any state cost of collection or legal repre sentation will be

added to the outstanding disputed billing and shall become the legal
obligation of the person(s) found responsible for causing the emer-
gency.

(4) A regional or limited response team contractor which has
agreed to operate only under state authority may bill the state for the
costs of state approved responses to incidents within the contractor’s
local jurisdiction.

(5) A regional or limited response team con tractor which has
not agreed to operate only under state authority may bill the state for
costs of responses to incidents within the contractor’s local juris-
diction only were the responsible person(s) have been identified and
have agreed to pay for all costs of emergency response, or there has
been prior advance approval of such billing by the state.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.382
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

837-120-0120 
Government Liability for Emergency Responses

(1) Under the provisions of 42 U.S.C. § 9607(d)(2), no state or
local government shall be liable under the Comprehensive Envi-
ronmental Response, Compensation, and Lia bility Act (CER-
CLA) § 107 for costs or damages as a result of actions taken in
response to an emergency created by a release or threatened release
of a hazardous substance generated by or from a facility owned by
another person.

(2) State or local government shall not be precluded from lia-
bility for costs or damages as a result of gross negligence or inten-
tional misconduct by the state or local government. For purpose of
this rule, reckless, willful, or wanton misconduct shall constitute
gross negligence.

(3) In addition to the federal protections from liability
described under OAR 837-120-0120(1), regional or limited haz-
ardous materials emergency response teams will function as an agent
of the state solely for purposes of the Oregon Tort Claims Act, ORS
30.260 to 30.300 to the extent authorized under ORS 453.384. Con-
tractors shall, therefore, not respond as state sponsored regional or
limited hazardous materials emergency response team except and
unless they have been specifically authorized to do so by the State
Fire Marshal.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.384
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92
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837-120-0140 
Notification and Reporting

Notification of hazardous mate rials incidents is mandatory
under several state and federal statutes, not all of which are consis-
tent as to their definitions of reportable materials:

(1) To ensure timely responses and recovery of costs, and com-
prehensive statistics, all hazardous materials incidents shall be
promptly reported as required by OAR 837-090-000.

(2) A Hazardous Material Emergency Incident Report shall be
completed and submitted for each incident.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374
Hist.: FM 8-1992, f. 7-15-92, cert. ef. 8-15-92

Regional Hazardous Materials Emergency 
Response Team Training Programs

837-120-0301 
Purpose

The purpose of OAR 837-120-0301 through 837-120-0400 is
to outline the requirements for approval of programs that provide
training for Oregon’s regional hazardous materials emergency
response teams implemented under ORS 453.374 to 453.390. Funds
designated for contract response teams’ basic training conducted pur-
suant to these statutes are restricted to programs approved in accor-
dance with the requirements in OAR 837-120-0320 through 837-
120-0400. This document serves to facilitate the development of
advanced hazardous materials training programs by public and pri-
vate providers by identifying the procedure for submission of such
programs for review and approval by the State Fire Marshal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

837-120-0310 
Definitions

(1) “Applicant” shall mean any individual or organization con-
sidering itself capable of developing training programs as required
in OAR 437-002-0100, 29 CFR 1910.120(q)(6)(iii) and (iv) that
wishes to apply for State Fire Marshal approval of its program(s)
under this rule.

(2) “Training Program” shall mean an individual course, class,
or instruction on a specific topic or subject area or a composite of
individual courses, classes or instructions addressing all subject areas
identified in OAR 837-120-0340(1).

(3) “Approval” and “Approved” shall mean only that the State
Fire Marshal has identified an applicant’s training program as hav-
ing met the eligibility requirements identified in OAR 837-120-
0320(1) for expenditure of state funds for training regional hazardous
materials emergency response teams organized in accordance with
ORS 453.374 and 453.380.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

837-120-0320 
Requests for Training Program Approval

Eligibility:
(1) The applicant shall provide, as a minimum, the following

information:
(a) The applicant’s name, address and tele phone number;
(b) The name, title, address and telephone number of person

who will act as liaison with the State Fire Marshal;
(c) Length of training in hours;
(d) Amount and type of hands-on training;
(e) The training program curriculum including the topics to be

covered and the length, format, content and passing scores of exam-
inations;

(f) A copy of all course materials (i.e., student manuals, instruc-
tor manual, lesson plans, and handout materials upon application;
audiovisual aids, etc.) upon initial application for course approval;
and second reviews, upon request of the State Fire Marshal. Propri-
etary and copyrighted course materials shall be denoted by the appli-

cant. The State Fire Marshal shall not duplicate, copy, disseminate,
or release course materials so desig nated without the written per-
mission of the applicant;

(g) A table identifying all student performance objectives for
each course submitted;

(h) A table identifying which training requirements in the fol-
lowing documents that the training program is targeted to meet and
an analysis of how the training program meets them:

(A) OAR 437-002-0100, 29 CFR 1910.120(q) Hazardous
Waste Operations and Emergency Response;

(B) NFPA 472 Standard for Professional Competence of
Responders to Hazardous Materials Incidents; and

(C) OAR 838-010-0005(11) Accreditation Guide for Hazardous
Materials Responders.

(i) A detailed statement about the development process of the
examinations used in the training program, including skill demon-
stration examinations;

(j) The maximum number of students to be accepted into a
given training program course;

(k) The ratio of instructors to students for each hands-on sub-
ject;

(l) Required qualifications for each instructor position by sub-
ject area. Instructors shall have completed an acceptable “train-the-
trainer” type of training session for their subject training area or shall
have the academic credentials, field experi ence or a combination of
both and the training experience for the specific subject they are
teaching. Instructors for “hands-on” skills training shall have actu-
al field experience in the skills subject(s) they teach;

(m) A copy of the roster specified in OAR 837-120-0390(4) that
would identify students who would attend and successfully complete
the training program;

(n) A description of the applicant’s experience in providing
related training programs;

(o) Written certification by the applicant that the information
submitted in the application is accurate and complete.

(2) Filing location. Applications shall be submitted to the head-
quarters of the Office of State Fire Marshal.

(3) Amendments and withdrawals:
(a) The applicant shall be permitted to revise an application any

time prior to a final decision on the approval application;
(b) The applicant shall be permitted to withdraw an ap plication,

without prejudice, at any time prior to the final decision on the
approval application.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

837-120-0330 
Review Process

Acknowledgement. The State Fire Marshal shall acknow ledge
in writing the receipt of all applications it receives. The State Fire
Marshal may request additional information if the State Fire Marshal
believes information relevant to the requirements for approval has
been omitted or is incomplete. The State Fire Marshal may use an
advisory group to review the applications for com pleteness, com-
petency and adequacy of credentials.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

837-120-0340 
Decision Process

Requirements for approval. The requirements for approval are:
(1) That the applicant must demonstrate that it has a written

training program that meets the applicable paragraphs of this section
and its program will train students in topics required in the follow-
ing:

(a) OAR 437-002-0100, 29 CFR 1910.120(q)(6) (iii) and (iv);
and

(b) OAR 838-010-0005(11):
(A) Section 3041 Hazardous Materials Technician/Specialist

and Task Performance Criteria; or
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(B) Section 3042 Hazardous Materials Team Leader.
(2) That its training program is capable of effectively training

students in the topics required in the standards identified in section
(1) of this rule;

(3) That it has an effective method of measuring whether the
students have been adequately trained in the areas of required train-
ing;

(4) That it will maintain adequate records of the program and
of employees who have success fully completed the program; and

(5) That its training program is capable of and will continue to
meet the requirements for approval.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

837-120-0350 
Terms and Conditions of Approval

(1) Issuance of approval. If the State Fire Marshal finds that a
training program, course or instruction thereof satisfies the minimum
requirements established therefor pursuant to OAR 837-120-0340,
the State Fire Marshal shall issue approval to the applicant of any
such training program, course or instruction, for such a term and
upon such conditions as the State Fire Marshal shall prescribe in
accordance with subsection (2)(b) of this rule. An individual com-
plies with any minimum requirement of ORS 476.850(1) when the
individual receives training that is approved under this section.

(2) Approval of program. The following terms and conditions
shall be part of every approval:

(a) The approval of each training program will be evidenced by
a letter of approval from the State Fire Marshal. The letter will pro-
vide the specific details of the scope of the approval as well as any
conditions imposed by the State Fire Marshal;

(b) The approval of each training program shall be valid for up
to three years after the initial approval, and valid for up to five years
for each subsequent renewal unless revoked for good cause. The
dates of the period of approval will be stated in the approval letter;

(c) The applicant of an approved program shall continue to sat-
isfy all the requirements of this section and the letter of approval dur-
ing the period of approval.

(3) Revision of an approved program. The applicant may
change elements of its approved training program by notifying the
State Fire Marshal of the change, certifying that the reviewed pro-
gram change meets the requirements of OAR 837-120-0340, that the
entire approved program continues to meet the require ments of OAR
837-120-0340, and that supporting documentation is provided upon
which its conclusions are based. The applicant may make the change
upon notification to the State Fire Marshal. However, if on subse-
quent review, the State Fire Marshal determines the change is incon-
sistent with OAR 837-120-340 and so notifies the applicant, the
applicant must revert to the original elements.

(4) Lapse of approval; reapplication. The approval of a train-
ing program shall automatically lapse on the date specified in accor-
dance with subsection (2)(b) of this rule. An applicant of an approved
program may renew its approval by filing a renewal request with the
State Fire Marshal not less than 180 calendar days, nor more than one
year, before the expiration date of its current approval. When the
applicant has filed such a renewal request, the current approval will
not expire until a final decision has been made on the renewal
request. The renewal request will be processed in accordance with
the procedures of OAR 837-120-0320 through 837-120-0340.

(5) Transfer of an approved program. An applicant may not
transfer the approval of its program to any other person or organi-
zation without prior written authorization from the State Fire Mar-
shal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

837-120-0360 
Grounds for Revocation of Approval

The State Fire Marshal may revoke the approval of a training
program after written notice and hearing as provided in ORS

476.830, if the State Fire Marshal finds that the applicant of the
approved program has failed to continue to satisfy the require ments
of OAR 837-120-0340 or 837-120-0350 or the State Fire Marshal’s
letter of approval, or has misrepresented itself in its application.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

837-120-0370 
Procedure for Revocation of Approval

(1) If the State Fire Marshal believes that grounds exist under
OAR 837-120-0360 for the revocation of approval of a training pro-
gram approved under OAR 837-120-0350(1) and (2), the State Fire
Marshal shall give notification to the applicant of intention to con-
sider revocation of the approval. Each such notification shall include
a statement of the basis for considering such revocation and a state-
ment that, within ten days after the date of the notice, such applicant
may request a hearing before the State Fire Marshal on the matter.
(ORS 476.830(1))

(2) If any applicant to whom notice has been sent under section
(1) of this rule requests a hearing before the State Fire Marshal with-
in the periods indicated in that section, the State Fire Marshal shall
hold a hearing on the matter within 30 days after the date of the
request for such a hearing. The State Fire Marshal shall give notifi -
cation of the time and place of a hearing held under this section.
(ORS 476.830(2))

(3) A hearing held as provided in section (2) of this rule shall
be limited to the basis for the proposed revocation as stated in the
notification sent to the applicant under section (1) of this rule. Any
applicant appearing before the State Fire Marshal at any such hear-
ing is entitled to be present at such hearing and to be represented by
counsel. (ORS 476.830(3))

(4) Within 20 days after the date of the com pletion of a hear-
ing held as provided in section (2) of this rule, the State Fire Mar-
shal shall give notification in writing of the decision to all parties to
the hearing. If the State Fire Marshal finds grounds for the revoca-
tion of approval, the State Fire Marshal shall issue an order revok-
ing such approval. If the State Fire Marshal finds that no grounds
exist for such revocation, the State Fire Marshal shall dismiss the pro-
ceedings. (See ORS 476.830(4).)

(5) Any interested party may file a complaint stating that the
applicant is not meeting the requirements of approval or of the State
Fire Marshal’s approval letter, or has misrepresented itself in its
application. Such complaint shall contain specific information as to
the deficiencies identified. The State Fire Marshal will acknowledge
such complaints in writing and provide the applicant with a copy of
the complaint subject to federal Privacy Act limitations.

(6) The State Fire Marshal will investigate such complaints and
upon completion of such investi gation may invoke the revocation
procedures described in this section. If the decision is not to pursue
revocation, the complainant will be notified in writing by the State
Fire Marshal of the investigation findings and reasons why the
approval remains valid.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

837-120-0380 
Appeal of Order Revoking Approval; Reapplication

(1) Within 60 days after receiving written notice of the findings
of the State Fire Marshal, any applicant aggrieved by the findings and
order may file an appeal from the final order with the Oregon Court
of Appeals in the manner provided for in ORS 183.482.

(2) Any applicant whose training program, course or instruction
has suffered a loss of approval status pursuant to OAR 837-120-
0350(4), 837-120-0360, or section (1) of this rule may reapply for
approval at any time after the expiration of two years after the date
on which the order revoking approval became final.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91
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837-120-0390 
Requirements of an Applicant Following Program Approval

Each applicant whose program has been approved shall:
(1) Allow the State Fire Marshal or his/her authorized repre-

sentative(s) to attend, evaluate, and monitor any part of the approved
training program without charge or cost to the State Fire Marshal.
The State Fire Marshal need not give advance notice of attendance
at the training program.

(2) Agree to modify the approved training program if the train-
ing requirements of this section or the referenced documents are
changed or if any other applicable federal or state standard which is
the subject of training is changed so that it will affect this section.
The modification in the training program shall take place no later
than 30 days after this section or other relevant standard becomes
effective.

(3) Agree to modify the approved training program if the “state
of the art” changes relative to any of the topics provided in the train-
ing pro gram.

(4) Agree to provide the State Fire Marshal, no later than ten
business days after the final date of delivery of each approved pro-
gram, the name and location of each program given, the date given,
the names, addresses, social security number, and employer of par-
ticipants in each program, and the names of participants that were
certified as having successfully completed each program. Such infor-
mation shall be provided on a roster approved by the State Fire Mar-
shal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

837-120-0400 
Examinations

Examinations shall cover the necessary skills and knowledge.
Each examination shall adequately cover the important topics includ-
ed in the training program and shall be based on the student perfor-
mance objectives for that program as identified in OAR 837-120-
0320(1)(g).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 453.367
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.374 - ORS 453.390
Hist.: FM 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-5-91; FM 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-91

DIVISION 130
STANDARDIZED-COSTS SCHEDULES

837-130-0000 
Purpose and Scope

(1) The purpose of these rules is to adopt by reference stand -
ardized-costs schedules for fire protection agency response to emer-
gency inci dents in unprotected areas and on transportation routes.

(2) These rules are to assist fire protection agencies and local
government officials in the application of ORS 476.290 and 478.310.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.290 & ORS 478.310
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.030
Hist.: FM 1-1993, f. 5-13-93, cert. ef. 6-1-93

837-130-0010 
Definitions

(1) “Unprotected Area” shall mean an area outside the bound-
aries of recognized public or private fire protection.

(2) “Transportation Route” shall mean a road way, waterway,
railroad right-of-way or airplane route against which no taxes or
assessments for fire protection are levied by the municipality, fire
district, or fire protection agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.030
Stats. Implemented: ORS 476.280 & ORS 478.310
Hist.: FM 1-1993, f. 5-13-93, cert. ef. 6-1-93

837-130-0020 
Schedules

(1) The State Fire Marshal adopts the standardized-costs sched-
ules for transportation route response, unprotected area response, and
apparatus cost that are contained in the State Fire Marshal’s Oregon
Fire Service Mobilization Plan.

(2) The State Fire Marshal adopts the volunteer firefighter reim-
bursement rate that is contained in the State Fire Marshal’s Oregon
Fire Service Mobilization Plan.

(3) All responses billed under these rules are subject to a 30-
minute minimum response charge.

(4) Local agencies may determine their own billing cycle and
any appropriate late charges and fees.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 476.290 & ORS 478.310
Stats. Implemented: ORS 453.550, ORS 476.560, ORS 476.290 & ORS478.310
Hist.: FM 1-1993, f. 5-13-93, cert. ef. 6-1-93
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