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DIVISION 1
PROCEDURAL RULES

670-001-0000
Procedure for Notice of Intended Rulemaking

Before adopting, amending or repealing any permanent rule, the
Oregon Blueberry Commission will give notice of the intended
action:

(1) By causing the notice to be published in the Secretary of
State’s Bulletin, referred to in ORS 183-360, at least 21 days before
the effective date of the rule;

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the Oregon
Blueberry Commission’s mailing list established pursuant to ORS
183.335(7) at least 28 days before the effective date of the rule;

(3) By mailing a copy of the notice to the legislators specified
in ORS 183.335(14) at least 49 days before the effective date of the
rule; and

(4) By mailing or furnishing a copy of the notice to:

(a) The Associated Press;

(b) Associations with an interest in a commission’s rulemaking
and publications whose readers have an interest in commission’s
activities, and

(c) Newspapers in primary production regions of the com-

modities represented by the commission.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 576.305
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335 & ORS 183.341(4)
Hist.: OBC 1-1986, f. 5-28-86, ef. 6-1-86; OBC 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-95;
Renumbered from 670-10-030; OBC 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-01

DIVISION 10

REPORTING AND PAYMENT OF ASSESSMENTS DUE
THE OREGON BLUEBERRY COMMISSION

670-010-0005
Definitions

(1) “Person” means any individual, corporation, association,
partnership or joint stock company.

(2) “Commission” means the Oregon Blueberry Commission.

(3) “First Purchaser” means any person who buys blueberries
from the producer in the first instance, or handler who receives the
blueberries in the first instance from the producer for resale or pro-
cessing.

(4) “Producer” means a person or other legal entity producing
blueberries in Oregon, for market, whether as a landowners, landlord,
tenant, sharecropper or otherwise.

(5) “Handler” means any producer, processor, distributor or
other person engaged in handling or marketing of or dealing in blue-
berries, whether as owner, agent, employee, broker or otherwise.

(6) “Blueberries” means blueberries that belong to the genus
Vaccinium (including but not limited to the cultivars “high bush”,
“rabbiteye” and “low-bush” or “wild”’) grown commercially in the

State of Oregon. All blueberry cultivars sold commercially for what-
ever purpose are subject to these rules .

(7) “Casual Sales” means any sales of blueberries made by the
producer directly to the consumer where the total accumulated sales
during the fiscal year are not more than 500 pounds.

(8) “Reporting Year” means a calendar year beginning May 1
and ending April 30.

(9) “Limit Period” means the most recent complete three report-
ing years used by the commission

to determine the industry average unit price.

(10) “Assessment Period” means the current reporting year, plus
the previous two reporting

years.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 576.305 - ORS 576.325(1)(c)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 576.325

Hist.: OBC 1-1986, f. 5-28-86, ef. 6-1-8; OBC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 5-17-94; OBC

1-2003, f. 10-15-03, cert. ef. 11-1-03

670-010-0006
Industry Average Unit Price

(1) As required by OAR 603-043-0030 the commission will
adopt an industry average unit price by May 14 of each year.

(2) The industry average unit price for the previous reporting
year will be obtained from the Oregon Agricultural Statistics, Berry
Crop Report published in January of each year from the Price (All)
category for Oregon blueberries for the previous calendar year.

(3) Using a weighted average, the commission will add the
Value of Utilized Production for the three years of the assessment
period and the Utilized Production (Total) from the three years of the
assessment, divide the sum of the Value of Utilized Production by
the sum of the Utilized Production (Total) to equal the industry aver-
age unit price for the limit period. The figures for the Value of Uti-
lized Production and the Utilized Production (Total) will be obtained
from the Oregon Agricultural Statistics Berry Crop Report.

(4) A “weighted average” for the producer will be determined
by dividing the total sum of the amount received each reporting year
for the last three years by the total sum of the pay weight each report-
ing year for the last three years.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 576

Stats. Implemented: ORS 576

Hist.: OBC 1-2003, f. 10-15-03, cert. ef. 11-1-03

670-010-0010
Assessments

(1) Any producer, handler or first purchaser shall deduct and
withhold an assessment of four-tenths of a cent ($.004) per pound or
$8 per ton after June 1, 2001 for all blueberries grown in Oregon.
(See definition of “First Purchaser.”)

(2) The maximum assessment for a reporting year (670-010-
0005(8)) will be determined by multiplying the industry average unit
price (670-010-0006) for the limit period (670-010-0005(9)) by
1.5%.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 576

Stats. Implemented: ORS 576.325 & ORS 576.335

Hist.: OBC 1-1986, f. 5-28-86, ef. 6-1-86; OBC 1-1990, f. 5-23-90 & cert. ef. 6-

1-90; OBC 2-2001, f. 5-8-01, cert. ef. 6-1-01; OBC 1-2003, f. 10-15-03, cert. ef.

11-1-03

670-010-0011
Challenge Process

(1) Pursuant to ORS 576.370 and OAR 603-043-0040, a pro-
ducer may file a challenge by obtaining a Commission Assessment
Challenge Form from the commission. The producer must file the
completed Challenge Form with a US Postmark dated no later than
60 days from April 30th of each year.

(2) In calculating whether a producer has paid an assessment
that exceeds one and one-half percent of the total dollar amount
received by the producer for the raw commodity during the assess-
ment period the, the producer must use the assessment period as
defined by 670-010-0005(10).

(3) Pursuant to OAR 603-043-0050, all prices for any method
of selling the commodity reported on the Commission Assessment
Challenge Form must be the same term(s) that the commission uses
to calculate the industry average unit price and the assessment rate.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 576
Stats. Implemented: ORS 576
Hist.: OBC 1-2003, f. 10-15-03, cert. ef. 11-1-03

670-010-0015
Reports and Payments of Assessment Moneys

(1) The reporting period to the Commission is annually with the
assessment report and payment postmarked on or before November
30th of each reporting year.

(2) First purchasers must include the producer’s name, full
address, total pounds, and assessment collected for all purchases by
or deliveries received during the reporting year on the assessment
report. The first purchasers must sign each assessment report to cer-
tify the information provided.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 576

Stats. Implemented: ORS 576.325, ORS 576.335 & ORS 576.345

Hist.: OBC 1-1986, f. 5-28-86, ef. 6-1-86; OBC 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-01;

OBC 1-2003, f. 10-15-03, cert. ef. 11-1-03

670-010-0020

Penalties

Penalty for delaying transmittal of assessment moneys (ORS
576.355) “In addition to the penalties prescribed in ORS 576.371,
any first purchaser or other person who delays transmittal of
funds beyond the time set by the Commission shall pay five per-
cent of the amount due for the first month of delay and one per-

cent of the amount due for each month of delay thereafter.”
Stat. Auth.: ORS 576
Stats. Implemented: ORS 576.325 & ORS 576.355
Hist.: OBC 1-1986, f. 5-28-86, ef. 6-1-86

670-010-0025
Effective Date of Assessment

The assessment to be withheld and paid by a producer, first pur-
chaser or handler, as required by ORS Chapter 576 and subsection
(1) of Section 2, or reports required under Section 3, applies to and
covers any sales, purchases or delivery on or after June 1, 1986, of

blueberries grown in Oregon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 576
Stats. Implemented: ORS 576.325 & ORS 576.335
Hist.: OBC 1-1986, f. 5-28-86, ef. 6-1-86
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