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ORS 183.335(5), the Oregon Institute of Technology shall give
notice of the proposed adoption, amendment, or repeal:

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS
183.360 at least 15 days prior to the effective date.

(2) By mailing a copy of the notice to persons on the Oregon
Institute of Technology mailing list established pursuant to ORS
183.335(7).

(3) By mailing a copy of the notice to the following ten days
prior to the hearing:

(a) KAGO Radio — Klamath Falls:

(b) KDKF Television — Klamath Falls;

(c) KFLS Radio — Klamath Falls;

(d) KLAD Radio — Klamath Falls;

(e) KOTI Television — Klamath Falls;

(f) KTEC Radio — Oregon Institute of Technology, Klamath
Falls;

(g) KWSA Radio — Klamath Falls;

(h) The Edge — Oregon Institute of Technology, Klamath Falls.

(4) By informing the campus community via electronic mail or
other means.

(5) By sending a copy of the notice sent to media to the Board

of Higher Education Chancellor’s Office.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335
Hist.: OIT 1, f. & ef. 2-4-76; OIT 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-24-92; OIT 8-1992, f.
& cert. ef. 12-4-92

578-001-0015
Contents of Notice of Rulemaking When Public Hearing Will
be Held Only If Requested

When the agency plans to hold a public hearing on proposed
rulemaking only if sufficient requests are received, the notice
required by OAR 578-001-0000 shall include the following:

(1) The subject matter and purpose of the intended action in
sufficient detail to inform a person that his interest may be affected;

(2) A description of the agency’s intended action (adoption,
amendment, or repeal of rule) and where practicable and appropriate
setting forth verbatim any rule proposed to be adopted, amended, or
repealed. (Lengthy rules may be summarized.) If the proposed rule,
amendment, or repeal thereof is not set forth verbatim in the notice,
the notice shall state the time, place, and manner in which the rule
or amendment may be obtained;

(3) The time and place at which data or views may be submitted
in writing to the agency;

(4) A citation of the statutory or other legal authority relied upon
and bearing upon the promulgation of the rule;

(5) A statement of the need for the rule and a statement of how
the rule is intended to meet the need;

(6) A list of the principal documents, reports or studies, if any,
prepared by or relied upon by the agency in considering the need for
an in preparing the rule, and a statement of the location at which
those documents are available for public inspection. The list may be
abbreviated if necessary, and if so abbreviated there shall be identi-
fied the location of a complete list; and

(7) A statement of fiscal impact identifying state agencies, units
of local government and the public which may be economically
affected by the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the rule and an
estimate of that economic impact on state agencies, units of local
government and the public;

(8) A statement that if ten persons or an association having not
less than ten members request a public hearing, the agency will

schedule a public hearing.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335
Hist.: OIT 2-1980, f. & ef. 1-28-80

578-001-0020
Postponing Intended Action

(1) The agency shall postpone its intended action upon request
of an interested person received within 15 days after agency notice
to allow the requesting person an opportunity to submit data, views,
or arguments concerning the proposed action.

(2) Postponement of the date of intended action shall be no less
than ten nor more than 90 days. In determining the length of post-
ponement, the agency shall consider the time necessary to give rea-
sonable notice of the postponement and the complexity of the subject
and issues of the intended action.

(3) The agency shall give notice of the postponement pursuant
to OAR 578-001-0000 except that publication in the Secretary of
State’s Bulletin is not required.

(4) This rule does not apply to the agency adopting a temporary
rule pursuant to ORS 183.335(5) and OAR 578-001-0080.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335
Hist.: OIT 2-1980, f. & ef. 1-28-80

578-001-0060
Notice of Agency Action; Certification to Secretary of State;
Submitting Copy to Legislative Counsel

(1) The agency shall file in the office of the Secretary of State
a certified copy of each rule adopted or amended, or notice of repeal
of any rule.

(2) The agency shall submit a copy of the rule adopted, amend-
ed, or repealed to Legislative Counsel within ten days after filing a
certified copy in the office of the Secretary of State.

(3) The rule shall be effective upon filing with the Secretary of

State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in the rule.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335
Hist.: OIT 2-1980, f. & ef. 1-28-80

578-001-0080
Temporary Rules

(1) The agency may proceed without prior notice or hearing or
upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that is practicable, to adopt,
amend, or suspend a rule, if the agency prepares:

(a) A statement of its findings that its failure to act promptly will
result in serious prejudice to the public interest or the interest of the
parties concerned and the specific reasons for its findings of preju-
dice;

(b) A citation of the statutory or other legal authority relied upon
and bearing upon the promulgation of the rule;

(c) A statement of the need for the rule and a statement of how
the rule is intended to meet the need; and

(d) A list of the principal documents, reports or studies, if any,
prepared by or relied upon by the agency in considering the need for
and in preparing the rule, and a statement of the location at which
those documents are available for public inspection.

(2) The agency shall take appropriate measures to make the
temporary rule known to the persons who may be affected.

(3) A temporary rule adopted in compliance with this rule
becomes effective immediately upon filing a certified copy with the
Secretary of State or at a designated later date. The statements and
other information required by section (1) of this rule shall be embod-
ied in one document and shall be filed with the rule.

(4) The agency shall submit a copy of the rule adopted, amend-
ed or suspended to Legislative Counsel within ten days after filing
a certified copy in the office of the Secretary of State.

(5) A rule temporarily suspended shall regain effectiveness
upon expiration of the temporary period of suspension unless the rule
is repealed prior to the the expiration of the temporary period.

(6) A temporary rule may be effective for no longer than 180
days. No temporary rule may be renewed after it has been in effect
180 days. The agency may, however, adopt an identical rule on notice
in accordance with this division.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335
Hist.: OIT 2-1980, f. & ef. 1-28-80

578-001-0090
Availability

The public may review any Oregon Institute of Technology
documents that are designated public records. See ORS 192.005(5)
for the definition of “public records.” Copies of public records are
available to the public upon request in writing. Charges for these
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copies will be made in accordance with the most recent fee schedule
on record with the OIT Business Office. All such fees must reflect

material and labor costs to the College as determined by the College.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 192
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.420
Hist.: OIT 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-24-92; OIT 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-92

578-001-0100
Authority to Deny

The College may deny any request for information if there is
reason to believe that the information is not public or that the infor-
mation is private or confidential or if the conditions for information
requests from the public have not been met as determined in ORS
192.430(2). Requests that are unreasonably burdensome or disrupt
College operations shall also be denied unless arrangements can be

made to accommodate the requester.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 192
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.501
Hist.: OIT 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 9-24-92; OIT 7-1992, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-92

DIVISION 12

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES IN CASES OF
PROHIBITED DISCRIMINATION

578-012-0010
Institutional Policy

(1) It is the policy of this institution to treat all personnel,
whether student, classified staff, or faculty, equally and fairly with
regard to age, handicap, national origin, race, marital status, religion,
or sex. Not to do so, whether an act is intended or unintended, is dis-
crimination by definition.

(2) Should any individual, or group of individuals, believe that
an act of discrimination has been committed against that person or
group, hereafter called grievant, and such an act has in fact been com-
mitted, the grievant is entitled to a redress of that grievance.

(3) No individual participating in these grievance procedures
shall be subject to any reprimand or retaliatory action by any officer
or member of the OIT community.

(4) The intent of these procedures is to solve the grievant’s pro-
blem at the lowest level possible. While all grievances are very real
to the grievant, many will have been caused unintentionally and some
may well be imaginary. Most of these should be able to be resolved
informally at the level of their alleged occurrence. When a grievance
cannot be solved in this manner, the grievant may request a formal
redress. In all instances, it is intended that the grievant’s immediate
supervisors or faculty advisors should be afforded the opportunity to
redress the grievance prior to forwarding it for resolution. Procedures
to be followed are as specified below:

(a) Classified employees. Grievance procedures will be the
same as those required by the current Collective Bargaining Contract
entered into between the Oregon State Employees Association and
the Oregon Institute of Technology;

(b) Faculty. Grievance procedures are as listed in OIT rules
OAR 578-042-0510 through 578-042-0530;

(c) Students. Grievance procedures are as listed in OIT rules

OAR 578-033-0010 through 578-033-0020.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 240 & 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 240.321 & 351.070
Hist.: OIT 7, f. & ef. 12-2-76

DIVISION 15
ALLIED HEALTH STUDENT LIABILITY INSURANCE

578-015-0010
Allied Health Student Liability Insurance

Students enrolled in health related academic coursework involv-
ing patient care shall be required to carry liability insurance. The cov-
erage shall be carried either as a part of a group insurance plan or by
an independent policy as specified in the following paragraphs:

(1) Nursing Students: All students enrolled in the Associate
Degree or Baccalaureate Degree Nursing Programs shall either pre-
sent proof of a current liability insurance policy with coverage of
$200,000 for each claim with an aggregate limit of $600,000 or make
payment of a fee of between $10 and $12, depending upon the insur-
ance premium, toward the cost of a group liability insurance policy.
Payment of the premium, or the presentation of proof of a current
policy, shall be made in the fall of each academic year. The students
shall be required to keep this policy in effect for the duration of
enrollment in this program.

(2) All other Allied Health Students: All students in any Allied
Health program, except for the Nursing program, shall present proof
of a current liability insurance policy with coverage of $200,000 for
each claim with an aggregate limit of $600,000 or make payment of
a fee of between $10 or $12, depending upon the insurance premium,
toward the cost of a group liability insurance policy whenever such
students are scheduled to take any of the following courses during
the academic year:

(a) DA 122, 123;

(b) DH 221, 222, 223, 321, 322, 323;

(c) MT 392, 480 (RFWS), 495;

(d) RAD 249, 250, 251, 310 (RFWS);

(e) NUR 102, 104, 106;

(f) NUR 202, 204, 206;

(g) NUR 200, 331, 421, 422, 423, 424,

(h) NUR 431, 432;

(i) R.N. Re-entry.

(3) Payment of the premium shall be made during the first term
of enrollment for any academic year in which one or more of the
above courses will be taken and shall remain in effect during the
remainder of that academic year. Allied Health Students not enrolled
in any of the courses listed above may make payment of the insur-

ance premium on a voluntary basis.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.072
Hist.: OIT 7-1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-12-80; OIT 9-1980, . & ef. 12-17-80

578-015-0020
Student Identification Cards

(1) All students must purchase an Oregon Institute of Technol-
ogy Identification Card (I.D. Card) upon registering for classes. The
I.D. Card will be the official identification for all college purposes
and functions. There will be a $2 fee for each I.D. Card, and the Card
will be valid for as long as the student remains enrolled at OIT.
Should a student leave OIT and register again after being out of col-
lege for one or more terms, a new [.D. Card must be purchased for
the $2 fee.

(2) Students purchasing a meal plan through the college must
have their I.D. Cards validated for that purpose and have their meal
plan records entered into the computer system. If no meal plan has
been purchased by a student, this validation is not required.

(3) The replacement costs for lost, stolen or misplaced I.D.
Cards is:

(a) $5 for a non-meal validated I.D. Card;

(b) $15 for a meal plan validated 1.D. Card.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 8-1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-12-80; OIT 9-1980, f. & ef. 12-17-80

DIVISION 33
STUDENT CONDUCT CODE

578-033-0210
Purpose

(1) It is the responsibility of all persons associated with the col-
lege — students, faculty, administrators, and alumni — to strive to
maintain and improve a campus climate for learning and respect for
human dignity in all relations among students, faculty, and admin-
istrators; to represent the College in a broader social community in
a manner consistent with the principles and purposes of the College;
and to respect the rules and regulations by which OIT is governed
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and abide by the standards of conduct set forth below. These stan-
dards of conduct are designed to promote individual and group gov-
ernance in accordance with dignity, decency, and maturity. In partic-
ular, such standards are directed toward social and living
relationships pertinent to the College campus. It is assumed that indi-
viduals recognize their responsibility to the College community and
that ultimately they can be held accountable by other members of the
community for failure to assume those responsibilities. The College’s
disciplinary jurisdiction over students and student organizations
extends six months beyond the last date of enrollment, registration,
or recognition. This jurisdiction applies to all cases except plagiarism
or fraudulently obtaining a degree, which have no termination date.

(2) Standards of conduct are authorized to establish such stan-
dards and rules by concurrent action of the Student Senate and the
Faculty Senate with approval of the President of the College acting
on behalf of the Oregon State Board of Higher Education. Standards
of conduct represent the best consensus that has been achieved
through the active participation of the various constituent parts of the
College community. As such, these are community expectations and
neither legal prescriptions nor moral absolutes. Measures taken in
regard to those who do not conform to these standards are not pun-
ishment for actions committed, but are sanctions for failure to fulfill
responsibility.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77; OIT 9-1991, f. &

cert. ef. 10-22-91

578-033-0220
Responsibility of Individuals, Conduct Regulations

The following actions are prohibited by the College and will
normally result in initiation of disciplinary proceedings against a stu-
dent.

(1) Academic dishonesty — Honesty in academic work is a cen-
tral element of learning. Academic dishonesty includes presentation
of another individual’s work as one’s own and also includes, but is
not limited, to:

(a) Plagiarism is defined as submitting material in assignments,
examinations, and other academic work which is not the work of the
student in question and where there is no clear and appropriate indi-
cation in the text of the assignment that the work is not that of the
student;

(b) Cheating is defined as submitting material in assignments,
examinations, or other academic work which is based upon sources
forbidden by the instructor. Cheating also means the furnishing of
materials to another person for purposes of aiding the other person
to cheat.

(2) Illegal use, possession, or distribution of drugs on institu-
tionally owned or controlled property.

(3) Falsification or misuse, including forgery, alteration, or
fraudulent misuse, of college records, permits, documents, or identi-
fication card.

(4) Knowingly furnishing false or incomplete information to the
College in response to an authorized request.

(5) Disorderly, lewd, indecent, or obscene conduct or behavior,
including, but not limited to, that which disrupts the orderly function-
ing of the academic community or interferes with an individual’s pur-
suit of an education on College owned or controlled property or dur-
ing an authorized College class, field trip, seminar, competition, or
other meeting or College related activity on or off College property.

(6) Detention or physical abuse of any person or conduct which
threatens imminent bodily harm or endangers the health of any per-
son on any institutionally owned or controlled property or at any col-
lege related activity off college property.

(7) Malicious destruction, damage, or misuse of institutional
property or the property of any other person or group where such
property is located on institutionally owned or controlled property,
or regardless of location is in the care, custody, or control of the insti-
tution.

(8) Theft or conversion of College owned or controlled prop-
erty.

(9) Hazing or any practice by a group or individual that de-
grades a student, endangers the student’s health and safety or inter-
feres with the individual’s pursuit of an education.

(10) Sexual harassment — Any unwelcome and unwanted sex-
ual advances, requests for sexual favors and other verbal or physical
conduct of a sexual nature when:

(a) Submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or
implicitly a term or condition of employment or participation in a
college related activity; or

(b) Submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individ-
ual is used as a basis for employment or college related decisions
affecting such individual; or

(c) Such conduct has the purpose or effect of unreasonably
interfering with an individual’s work or academic performance or
creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive working or learning
environment.

(11) Sexual assault.

(12) Rape.

(13) Intentional obstruction or disruption of teaching, research,
administration, disciplinary procedures, or other institutional activ-
ities, including the institution’s public service functions or other
authorized activity on institutionally owned or controlled property,
obstruction or disruption which interferes with the freedom of move-
ment, both pedestrian and vehicular, on institutionally owned or con-
trolled property.

(14) Possession or use of firearms, explosives, dangerous chem-
icals, or other dangerous weapons or instrumentality on institu-
tionally owned or controlled property except as expressly authorized
by law or institutional regulation.

(15) Unauthorized entry into or use or defacement of insti-
tutional facilities including residence halls, and other buildings and
grounds including unauthorized entry into or presence in a College
building after its closing hours, unauthorized erection or use on Col-
lege property of any structures including specifically, but not limited
to, tents, huts, gazebos, shelters, platforms, and public address sys-
tems; unauthorized sales of food, merchandise, or service; unautho-
rized use of college property for dances, and concerts, assemblies,
meetings, sleeping, cooking, or eating if said activity interferes with
the operation of the college or the surrounding community.

(16) Publication, posting, or distribution on college property or
at authorized college activities of material that violates the laws of
libel, copyright, (including duplication of any copyrighted computer
software), postal regulations or any other law or statute.

(17) Failure to comply with an order of a college official or law
enforcement officer acting in the performance of their duties on cam-
pus including, but not limited to, an order to leave such premises.

(18) Illegal or unauthorized possession, consumption, or sale of
alcoholic beverages, or the furnishing or possession of alcoholic bev-
erages to persons under the age of 21 years on college property, or
possession and consumption of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized
areas by those over 21.

(19) Traffic offenses listed under the OIT regulations govern-
ing traffic control.

(20) Contempt of adjudicative proceedings, including impair-
ing or interrupting the due course of proceedings in the presence of
any tribunal created under this code.

(21) Intentionally assisting in or being an accessory to a viola-
tion of the OIT Student Conduct Code.

(22) Tampering with fire-fighting equipment, turning in a false
alarm, or engaging in behavior that constitutes a significant fire haz-
ard.

(23) Unauthorized access and use of any computer account not
issued directly to the student by Computing Services. This includes,
but is not limited to, log on to the account, access to programs, and
reading or alteration of computer records.

(24) Any other conduct regulations proscribed in OAR 580-

022-0045.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77; OIT 9-1991, f. &
cert. ef. 10-22-91
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578-033-0230
Disciplinary Sanctions

(1) The authority for sanctions for students who fail to accept
responsibility to abide by the Standards of Conduct is provided in the
Administrative Rules of the Oregon State Board of Higher Educa-
tion, OAR 580-033-0200 and 580-042-0410. The specific authority
for applying sanctions for student failure to accept responsibility to
abide by Standards of Conduct is vested in the President of the Col-
lege who has in part delegated this authority to the Dean of Students.

(2) The following sanctions may be imposed as a result of any
disciplinary hearing. Sanctions may be imposed only after a dis-
ciplinary hearing at which the student has had the opportunity to be
present.

(3) Students whose behavior or acts violate any of the Standards
of Conduct are subject to:

(a) Loss of Privileges — Denial of on-campus use of an auto-
mobile for a specified period of time, removal from the Residence
Hall complex, or other loss of privilege including the use of specific
College facilities consistent with the offense committed;

(b) Fines — Financial assessment imposed by the Hearing Offi-
cer;

(c) Restitution — Reimbursement by transfer of property or ser-
vices to the College as a member of the College community in an
amount not in excess of the damages or loss incurred;

(d) Warning — Official notice to a student that certain conduct
or actions are in violation of the Student Conduct Regulations. The
continuation of such conduct or actions may result in further disci-
plinary action;

(e) Disciplinary Probation — A period of observation and re-
view of conduct during which the student must demonstrate com-
pliance with the Student Conduct Regulations;

(f) Deferred Suspension — A period of observation and review
during which time, if a student is found to have violated College reg-
ulations, suspension will result;

(g) Suspension — Exclusion for a period of time, generally
from two terms to one year, after which application may be made for
readmission. Suspension means a student is denied any privileges
and services of the institution 24 hours after notification of the sus-
pension and during the period specified. Privileges and services
include that of residing in the Residence Hall during the period of
suspension, attending classes, or using other college facilities;

(h) Expulsion — Permanent exclusion from the College;

(1) Revocation of degree — An academic degree previously
awarded by the College may be revoked on proof that it was obtained
by fraud or that a significant part of the work submitted in fulfillment
of, and indispensable to, the requirements for such degree was pla-
giarized. The Academic Progress and Petitions Committee may, upon
appeal of a college graduate subjected to a degree revocation, stip-
ulate the requirements for legitimately obtaining the degree;

(j) A combination of any of the above sanctions.

(4) Any student charged with an offense under the Student Con-
duct Code which can result in suspension, expulsion, or monetary
penalty or payment is entitled to a contested case hearing unless:

(a) The student signs a written waiver of right to a hearing under
the contested case procedure;

(b) The case involves collection of fees or fines for parking,
improper parking, or traffic fines or penalties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77; OIT 9-1991, f. &
cert. ef. 10-22-91

578-033-0240
Contested Case

(1) A contested case exists whenever a constitutional provision
or a state or federal statute requires that individual legal rights, duties,
or privileges be determined by an institutional hearing upon the mat-
ter and the student submits in writing to the Dean of Students a
request to have a contested case hearing. Within ten days after receipt
of the request for a hearing, the institution shall give notice to all par-
ties concerned with the contested case. The notice shall include:

(a) A statement of the time and place of the hearing, name of
the hearing officer or commission, hereafter referred to as hearing
officer, and name and title of the person who is authorized by the
institution to issue a final order after the hearing;

(b) A statement of the authority and jurisdiction under which
the hearing is to be held;

(c) A reference to the particular sections of the statutes and rules
which the institution deems to be involved;

(d) A short and plain statement of the matters asserted or
charged;

(e) A statement that the party may be represented by counsel at
the hearing;

(f) A statement that the contested case hearing is being held at
the request of the student.

(2) The notice shall be served personally or by registered or
certified mail sent to the address of the student as shown on the
records in the Registrar’s Office.

(3) Should the student sign a written waiver to a contested case
hearing, the Dean of Students, or the designated hearing officer
should hear the case informally. This hearing officer shall then have
the power to recommend the same sanctions as in a contested case
hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77; OIT 9-1991, f. &

cert. ef. 10-22-91

578-033-0241
Order If a Student Fails to Appear

(1) When the student fails to appear at the specified time and
place, or at the time to which the hearing may have been continued
by mutual consent or by order of the hearing officer, this institution
shall issue an order based on the information available to it.

(2) The order supporting the action of this institution shall set
forth the material on which the action is based or the material shall
be attached to and made a part of the order.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77

578-033-0242
Subpoena, Deposition

(1) The institution’s hearing officer shall issue subpoenas in
hearings on contested cases on a showing of need, relevancy to the
issues stated in the notice of the hearings, and a showing that the evi-
dence to be elicited from the witness or witnesses will be reasonably
within the scope of the proceedings.

(2) An interested party may petition the institution for an order
that the testimony of a material witness be taken by deposition.
Depositions may also be taken by the use of audio or audiovisual
recordings.

(3) On petition of any party to a contested case, the institution
may order the testimony of any material witness be taken by dep-
osition in the manner prescribed by law for depositions in civil
actions. The petition shall set forth:

(a) The name and address of the witness whose testimony is
desired;

(b) A showing of the materiality of the testimony;

(c) A request for an order that the testimony of such witness be
taken before an officer named in the petition for that purpose.

(4) Fees and mileage shall be paid to the witnesses by the appli-
cant for the subpoena in the amounts determined by statutes appli-
cable to witnesses in civil actions, except that fees and mileage are
not required to be paid to officers and employees of this institution.

(5) If the institution issues an order for the taking of a deposi-
tion and the witness resides in the state and is unwilling to appear,
the hearing officer may issue a subpoena requiring the appearance
of the witness as provided in ORS 183.440.

(6) Service of subpoena and payment of witness and mileage
fees shall be the responsibility of the applicant.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
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Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77; OIT 9-1991, f. &
cert. ef. 10-22-91

578-033-0243
Hearing

(1) The hearing shall be conducted by and shall be under the
control of the hearing officer.

(2) Subject to the discretion of the hearing officer, the hearing
shall be conducted in the following manner:

(a) Statement and evidence of institution officials or employ-
ees in support of the institution’s action;

(b) Statement and evidence of affected persons disputing the
institution’s action;

(c) Rebuttal testimony.

(3) The hearing officer and the affected parties and this insti-
tution or their attorneys shall have the right to question or examine
or cross-examine any witness.

(4) The hearing may be continued with recesses as determined
by the hearing officer.

(5) The hearing officer may set reasonable time limits for oral
presentation.

(6) Exhibits shall be marked and the markings shall identify the
person offering the exhibits. The exhibits shall be preserved by this
institution as part of the record of the proceedings.

(7) A verbatim oral, written, or mechanical record shall be made
of all motions, rulings, and testimony. The record need not be tran-
scribed unless requested for purposes of rehearing or court review.
The college may charge the party requesting transcription the cost
of a copy of transcription, unless the party files an appropriate affi-
davit of indigency. However, upon petition, a court having jurisdic-
tion to review under ORS 183.480 may reduce or eliminate the
charge upon finding that it is equitable to do so, or that matters of
general interest would be determined by review of the order of the

college.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77; OIT 9-1991, f. &
cert. ef. 10-22-91

578-033-0244
Evidentiary Rules

(1) Evidence of a type commonly relied upon by reasonably
prudent persons in the conduct of their serious affairs shall be ad-
missible.

(2) All offered evidence, not objected to, will be received by the
hearing officer subject to his power to exclude irrelevant, immaterial,
or unduly repetitious matter.

(3) Evidence objected to may be received by the hearing offi-
cer with rulings on its admissibility to be made when offered, at a
later time during the hearing or at the time a final order is issued.

(4) The institution may take notice of judicially cognizable
facts, and may take official notice of general, technical or scientific
facts within specialized knowledge. Parties shall be notified at any
time during the proceeding but in any event prior to the final decision
of material officially noticed and they shall be afforded an opportu-
nity to contest the facts so noticed. The institution may utilize expe-
rience, technical competence and specialized knowledge in the eval-

uation of the evidence presented to it.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77; OIT 9-1991, . &
cert. ef. 10-22-91

578-033-0245
Proposed Orders on Contested Cases; Filing of Exceptions
and Arguments

(1) If the majority of officials who are to render the final order
have not heard the case and considered the record, and the order is
adverse to a party (excluding this institution), a proposed order
including findings of fact and conclusions of law shall be served
upon the parties.

(2) When the contested case is heard by a commission, the pro-
posed order shall be as determined by majority vote of the com-
mission.

(3) The adversely affected parties shall be given the opportun-
ity to file exceptions and present argument to the official who renders
the final order prior to its issuance.

(4) The proposed order shall become final after the 30th day fo-
llowing the date of service of the proposed order, unless the inst-
itution within that period issues an amended order.

(5) If the institution determines that additional time will be ne-
cessary to allow for adequate review of a proposed order, the insti-
tution may extend the time after which the proposed order will
become final by a specified period of time. The institution shall noti-

fy all parties to the hearing of the period of extension.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77; OIT 9-1991, f. &
cert. ef. 10-22-91

578-033-0246
Final Orders on Contested Cases; Notification

(1) Final orders on contested cases shall be in writing and in-
clude the following:

(a) Rulings on admissibility of offered evidence if the ruling
was deferred to that time;

(b) Findings of fact — Those matters which are either agreed
as fact or which, when disputed, are determined by the fact-finder,
on substantial evidence, to be facts even though there are contentions
to the contrary;

(c) Conclusions of law — Applications of the controlling law
and rules to the facts found and the legal results arising therefrom;

(d) Order — The action taken by this institution as the result of
the findings of fact and conclusions of law.

(2) Parties to contested cases and their attorneys of record shall
be served a copy of the final order. Parties shall be notified of their
right to judicial review of the order.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, . & ef. 1-26-77

578-033-0252
Appeals

(1) Within the College structure, there is an opportunity for
appeals from decisions made by the student governing group, disci-
pline committees, and College administrators. Particular care is taken
to provide safeguards in any action which significantly alters the stu-
dents’ status at the college, i.e. changes the living situation, prohibits
the student from participation in certain activities, or suspends the
student from the institution.

(2) Any questions regarding appeal procedures should be direct-
ed to the Dean of Students.

(3) Disciplinary action taken by the Residence Hall Judicial
Board, or a designated hearing officer may be appealed to the Dean
of Students

(4) Disciplinary action taken by the Dean of Students is subject
to appeal to the President of the College. The appeal of a disciplinary
action and the justification thereof must be submitted to the President
in writing:

(a) Filing of an appeal must be made within a seven-day period
following the date the action is taken;

(b) Specific justification for an appeal must be submitted in
writing by the student. New evidence may be used as grounds to
make a request for a new hearing;

(c) The request for a new hearing and/or an appeal shall include
specific justification (errors, failure to consider all of the evidence
presented, or any other error or action which denied the student a fair
and due process hearing);

(d) The President will review the records involved with the
appeal or request for rehearing and decide upon one of two actions:

(A) That the action taken stand; or

(B) That the case be referred to the hearing officer or the Dean
of Students for further deliberation and/or rehearing.
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(5) A student suspended for misconduct who wishes to return
to the College must apply for re-instatement by writing to the Dean
of Students.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77; OIT 9-1991, f. &

cert. ef. 10-22-91

578-033-0260
Utilization of Hearing Officers as a Contingency Measure

If the President determines that the commission and/or admin-
istrators are not operating adequately because of an inability to
schedule all cases for prompt hearing or because of repeated or con-
tinuous disruption of normal proceedings, he may temporarily set
aside and/or supplement the Student Conduct Code Procedures by
appointing a hearing officer or officers. When hearing officers are
appointed as a contingency measure, they shall be persons outside
of the College community and shall be practicing attorneys or per-
sons otherwise considered qualified to serve in this capacity. The
hearing officer will be directed to hear individual student discipline
cases in accordance with due process procedures and to recommend

to the President appropriate action in each case.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 4(Temp), f. & ef. 9-22-76; OIT 9, f. & ef. 1-26-77

DIVISION 34
EDUCATIONAL RECORDS POLICY

578-034-0010
Institutional Responsibility

(1) In order to plan educational opportunities to meet the needs
of individual students and to counsel effectively with them, Oregon
Institute of Technology must accumulate data and keep records on
students. The educational records of students enable the faculty and
administrators to understand the individual student better and to pro-
vide more effective education and counseling assistance.

(2) From the time a student enters the College and submits the
required personal data for academic and personal records, there is an
implicit and justifiable assumption of good faith placed in the Col-
lege as custodian of these materials. The College maintains a similar
posture relative to subsequent data generated during the student’s
enrollment. Preserving the confidential nature of student records pro-
tects the individual’s rights to privacy and enhances the effectiveness
of the College’s educational and counseling processes. Accordingly,
the College shall exercise care and concern in obtaining, recording,
maintaining, and disseminating information about students with
duplication of records kept to a minimum.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(4)(e)

Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

Regulations

578-034-0020
Type and Content of Educational Records

(1) Definitions:

(a) “Educational Records.” For purposes of this policy, edu-
cational records are files, documents, materials, or data recorded in
any medium but not limited to handwriting, print, tapes, film, micro-
film, and microfiche, kept by the College, division, or department,
which contain information concerning a student and which is fur-
nished by the student or by others about the student at the student’s
or at the College’s, division’s, or department’s request, including, but
not limited to, records of grades attained, information concerning dis-
cipline, counseling, membership activity, employment performance,
financial aid material, or other behavioral records of individual
persons;

(b) Excluded from the category of “educational records” that are
available to the student are the following:

(A) Records of instructional, supervisory, and administrative
personnel and education personnel ancillary thereto which are cre-

ated by an individual staff member for the sole possession of the
maker, such as notes to oneself, and which are not accessible to any
other person(s);

(B) Records compiled about an employee of the College which
are made and maintained in the normal course of business and which
relate exclusively to the individual in question in his or her capacity
as an employee, and are not available for any other purpose;

(C) Psychiatric and psychological records which are maintained
only in connection with provision of treatment to the student and
which are not available to persons other than the College Custodian
of Educational Records and those providing treatment except that
such records:

(i) May be reviewed by the student with the consent and under
the conditions of the attending professional; and/or

(i1) May be personally reviewed by a physician or other appro-
priate professional of the student’s choice and with the student’s writ-
ten consent.

(D) Financial records of the parent(s)/guardian(s) of a student
or any information contained therein that relates to the parent(s)/
guardian(s) unless written consent has been granted by the
parent(s)/guardian(s);

(E) Confidential letters and statements of appraisal which were
placed in the student’s education records prior to January 1, 1975,
if such letters were solicited with an assurance of confidentiality, and
are used only for purposes for which they were specifically intended;

(F) Confidential letters and statements of appraisal received
after January 1, 1975, for which the student has signed a waiver of
the right of access and which pertain to:

(i) Admission to this or any other educational institution or
agency;

(i1) Application for employment; or

(iii) Receipt of an honor or honorary recognition so long as
these letters are used solely for the purpose(s) for which they were
specifically intended.

(c) “Student.” For purposes of this policy, anyone who is or has
been enrolled at Oregon Institute of Technology.

(d) “College Custodian of Educational Records.” A person offi-
cially delegated College-wide responsibility by the College Presi-
dent.

(e) “Unit Custodian of Educational Records.” Except as other-
wise designated in this policy, the head of each academic or admin-
istrative unit responsible for the educational records within the unit.

(f) “Consent” (release consent elements). Consent shall be in
writing and shall be signed and dated by the person giving consent.
It shall include:

(A) Specification of records to be released;

(B) Purposes for such release; and

(C) Parties or class of parties to whom such records may be
released.

(g) “Directory Information.” Student’s full name; the fact that
the student is or has been enrolled in the College; local and perma-
nent address(es) and telephone number(s); dates of attendance; cur-
riculum; degrees and awards received; marital status; educational
institution(s) attended by the student; job title(s) and dates of employ-
ment for student employees who have been or are paid from College-
administered funds;

(h) “School Officials.” Faculty, staff, student employees, or
committees (when the members of the committee are appointed or
elected to an officially constituted committee) who perform a func-
tion, or task on behalf of and at the request of, the College, its faculty,
or divisions;

(1) “Legitimate Educational Interests.” The interest of College
personnel who have a demonstrably legitimate need to review re-
cords in order to fulfill their official professional responsibilities.
Such responsibilities must involve the College in its primary edu-
cational and scholarly functions and/or secondary administrative
functions of maintaining property, receipt and disbursing funds,
keeping records, providing living accomodations and other services,
sponsoring activities, and protecting the health and safety of persons
or property in the College community. This paragraph shall be strict-
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ly construed, and instances of doubt shall be referred to the College
Custodian of Educational Records.

(2) General Policies:

(a) Only such records as are demonstrably and substantially rel-
evant to the educational and related purposes of the College, division,
or department shall be generated or maintained;

(b) No student shall be required to give (although the student
may voluntarily provide) information as to the student’s race, reli-
gion, political affiliation or preferences, or personal values, except
as specifically required by state statute, federal law, or valid federal

and/or state rules or orders.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(4)(e)
Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0025
Location and Custody of Educational Records

(1) All educational records shall be kept in locations central to
the division or department by which they are maintained.

(2) Each unit custodian of educational records shall be respon-
sible for maintaining the confidentiality of all educational records
within that respective academic or administrative unit.

(3) The Dean of Students shall be the College Custodian of Edu-
cational Records.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(4)(e)
Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0030
Student Rights to Access and Copies of Educational Records

(1) A student has the right (unless otherwise provided by this
policy) to see and review with a staff member of the department that
maintains the record, that educational record or portion of the record
that pertains to the student. Access of the student to the education
record shall be provided as early as possible but shall be within 45
days of the student’s request:

(a) Copies of any such records shall be provided to the student
(unless otherwise provided by this policy) at the student’s request and
expense. Unless otherwise provided in the “List of Special Fees,
Fines, Penalties, Service Charges, Etc. Levied by Oregon Institute
of Technology” (published in the catalog), the charge to the student
for any such records may not exceed 25¢ per page;

(b) Copies of psychiatric or psychological records shall not be
provided to a student without the consent of the attending profes-
sional and College Custodian of Educational Records. In the event
such copies are released to a student, the unit custodian shall secure
a signed release from said student. No unit custodian shall release
said records to the student without his or her written consent;

(c) If any question arises as to the identity of the requesting stu-
dent, the student shall be asked to provide his or her College I.D.
Card and/or other positive identification;

(d) All requests for information under this section shall be
directed to the head of the academic or administrative unit who is
responsible for maintaining the particular records involved or to the
College Custodian of Educational Records.

(2) Release of non-directory educational records of an individ-
ual who:

(a) Has not been enrolled in the College, but who has filed a for-
mal application for admission; or

(b) Has sought and been denied admission; or

(c) Has been admitted but did not enroll in the College is pro-
hibited (unless otherwise permitted by the unit custodian) except to
a third party as provided under OAR 578-034-0040 of this policy,
and under the provisions relating to statements of recommendation
and letters of appraisal.

(3) Notwithstanding any provision included in this student
records policy, no information shall be released where such release

is contrary to the laws or rules of the State of Oregon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(4)(e)
Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0035
Student’s Right to Challenge Information Contained in Edu-
cational Records

A student may challenge the content of an educational record
on the grounds that the record is inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise
in violation of the privacy or other rights of the student. However,
no hearing under this policy shall be granted for challenging any
grade except the accurancy of its recording. The following procedure
for challenging the content of an educational record shall apply:

(1) The student has the right upon reasonable requests, for brief
explanations and interpretations of the records in question, from the
respective unit custodian.

(2) The unit custodian of the challenged education record, after
reviewing the record with the student, may settle the dispute infor-
mally with the student with regard to deletion or modification of the
education record. The unit custodian shall make his or her decision
within 14 days after the request and shall notify the student of the
decision.

(3) In the event the unit custodian disapproves the student’s
request to delete or modify the record in question, the student shall
be notified by the unit custodian, in writing, of the decision and of
the student’s right to a formal hearing upon the request:

(a) All requests for formal hearings by the student shall be
directed to the College Custodian of Educational Records, and shall
contain a plain and concise written statement of the specific facts
constituting the student’s claim;

(b) The hearing shall be scheduled and conducted by Oregon
Institute of Technology’s Hearing Officer. The hearing shall be held
in accordance with the established rules for contested case hearings;

(c) The student shall bear the burden of proof of a preponder-
ance of the evidence in order to prove the validity of his or her claim
at the hearing;

(d) Oregon Institute of Technology rules for the conduct of con-
tested cases shall regulate the conduct of the hearing, unless the stu-
dent waives said provisions. If a student waives formal proceedings,
he or she will nonetheless be afforded a full and fair opportunity to
present his or her case (at the student’s expense);

(e) Based solely on the evidence presented at the hearing and
within ten working days of the hearing, the Hearing Officer shall
make a written recommendation to the College Custodian of Student
Records together with written findings of fact concerning the stu-
dent’s request. Within an additional 14 working days of receipt of the
Hearing Officer’s report, the College Custodian of Educational
Records shall notify the student in writing of the decision:

(A) In the event the decision of the College Custodian of Edu-
cational Records is adverse to the student’s request, the student shall
be notified of the opportunity to place within the file in question, a
summary statement commenting upon the information in the records
and/or setting forth any reason for disagreeing with the decision. In
the event release of the questioned document is provided to a third
person, the before-described student’s statement shall accompany the
release of any such information;

(B) If a student challenge to the content of a given record is
successful, and upon the student’s specific written request to the Col-
lege Custodian of Educational Records, the College shall make a rea-
sonable effort to contact student-designated third persons who have
received copies of the previous record to inform them of the change
which has been made.

(f) Additional procedures may be added in order to comply with
state laws.

(4) If the student cannot make the time scheduled for the hear-
ing, he may request an extension from the Custodian of Educational
Records.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(4)(e)
Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0040
Release of Personally Identifiable Records

Information, except that directory information not restricted by
the student, laws, or rules, that is identifiable by individual and which
is maintained in educational records is designated as confidential and,

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation

2008 Edition

11 - 260

(11-15-07)



Chapter 578

Oregon University System, Oregon Institute of Technology

without the written consent of that individual, may not be released
to any party or for any purpose except the following:

(1) School officials within the educational institution or local
educational agency who have been determined by the College to
have legitimate educational interests.

(2) Officials of another school in which the student seeks or
intends to enroll.

(3) When complying with a judicial order or lawfully issued
subpoena. However, the Custodian of Educational Records will make
a reasonable effort to notify the student of the order or subpoena in
advance of compliance. In the event a court appearance by a College
official is required to fulfill an obligation described in this paragraph
and the student has not been notified prior to said appearance, the
College official shall notify the court or other officer before whom
he or she is to appear that the student has not been informed of the
pending action nor provided an opportunity to defend against the
release by the College of information of his or her educational
records.

(4) Information released to appropriate parties in connection
with an emergency if knowledge of the information is necessary to
protect the health or safety of the student or other individuals. The
facts which shall be taken into account in determining whether infor-
mation may be released include:

(a) The need for such information to avoid or substantially min-
imize the danger;

(b) Whether the persons to whom such information is released
are in a position to deal with the emergency; and

(c) The extent to which time is of the essence in dealing with
the emergency;

(d) The College Custodian of Educational Records or his
designee shall release the information.

(5) Organizations conducting studies for, or on behalf of, edu-
cational agencies or institutions for the purpose of developing, val-
idating, or administering predictive tests, administering student aid
programs, improving instruction, and for accreditation purposes, in
those instances where the personal identification is kept confidential.
The information shall be destroyed when no longer needed for the
purposes for which the study was conducted.

(6) The Comptroller General of the United States, the Secretary
of the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare, the U.S.
Commissioner of Education, the Director of the National Institute of
Education, the Assistant Secretary for Education in the Department
of Health, Education and Welfare, and state educational authorities
when necessary in connection with the audit and evaluation of fed-
erally supported education programs, or in connection with the
enforcement of or compliance with the federal legal requirements
which relate to those programs. Information released under this para-
graph shall be protected in a manner which will not permit the per-
sonal identification of students by other than those officials, and per-
sonally identifiable data shall be destroyed when no longer needed
for such audit, evaluation, or enforcement of or compliance with fed-
eral legal requirements.

(7) Parents of a dependent student, as defined in Section 152
of the Internal Revenue Code.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(4)(e)

Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0045
Release and Restriction of Directory Information

The College shall disclose upon request directory information
as defined in this policy. A currently enrolled College student may
request that directory information not be released to a third party. The
student must complete and file the request with the Dean of Students
(Snell Hall, Room 111) prior to the conclusion of the scheduled first
day of class, during the term of the academic year in which the stu-
dent first enrolls. The request will remain in effect only for that aca-
demic year and the request may not be exercised or changed for the

balance of that academic year.
EXAMPLE: If a student enrolls for the first time during the winter term
of the 197677 academic school year, and opts to restrict certain directory
information for the winter term, said restriction shall apply for the balance
of the 197677 academic school year.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(4)(e)
Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0050
Waivers

(1) A person applying for admission, or a student, may waive
the right of access to confidential letters of appraisal regarding ad-
mission, employment, and the receipt of an honor or honorary recog-
nition. The waiver under this section may be made with respect to
specified classes of educational records, and persons or institutions.
The person is entitled, upon request, to be notified by the appropriate
office of the names of all persons making confidential appraisals in
such an instance where a waiver has been exercised. Waiver of the
right to access under this paragraph shall only apply so long as the
letters or statements of appraisal are used solely for the purpose(s)
for which they were specifically intended.

(2) A waiver under this section may be revoked with respect to
any actions occurring after the revocation. All waivers and revoca-
tions must be in writing, signed and dated by the student or person
applying for admission.

(3) Waivers which conform with these provisions and which are
given in conjunction with the writing of a confidential evaluation
may be relied upon by any College personnel when the evaluation
is used in conformity with its stated purpose. Waivers shall not be
required as a condition for admission to, receipt of financial aid from,

or receipt of any other service or benefits from the College.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0055
Files or Records Containing Letters of Appraisal

(1) No letters of appraisal received prior to January 1, 1975,
shall be revealed to a person applying for admission or a student un-
less the author notifies the unit custodian in writing of his or her
agreement.

(2) Letters of Appraisal received after January 1, 1975, shall be
treated as follows:

(a) Unless a waiver in accordance with this policy is on file, let-
ters solicited with an assurance to the writer of confidentiality, or if
the writer claims confidentiality, shall be returned by the department
to the writer. The departmental letter to the writer shall contain the
notation that under 20 USC Sec 12232¢g the document is open to
review by the student. If the writer is willing to resubmit the letter
under that condition, the writer is asked to return the letter to the unit;

(b) Letters which were not solicited with an assurance of con-
fidentiality nor which claim confidentiality, shall be open for review
by the applicant or student involved unless a waiver, in accordance
with this policy, is on file.

(3) College application instructions and appraisal forms shall
inform writers and applicants or students of student rights to letters
of appraisal under this section.

(4) Student objections to letters of appraisal:

(a) The student may choose to have any letter(s) of recom-
mendation permanently removed from the student’s file;

(b) When a review by the Director of Career Planning and
Placement Service of a student’s placement file reveals a confidential
letter of appraisal to be significantly different from other appraisals
in the file and to be of such nature as to be unsubstantiated, unfair,
and seriously damaging to the candidate.

The Director, ensuring confidentiality specified by the writer,
shall advise the candidate that the candidate may elect to have that

appraisal removed from the candidate’s file.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0060
Transfer of Information by Third Parties

Information regarding a student shall be released to a third party
on the condition that the third party will not permit any other party
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to have access to such information without the written consent of the
student, except where:

(1) Such “other parties” otherwise qualify under an exception
in OAR 578-034-0040 of this policy; or

(2) Such information is disclosed to an institution, agency, or
organization in which case the information may be used by its offi-
cers, employees and agents, but only for the purposes for which the
disclosure was originally made.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0065
Lists of Students

(1) The College shall not provide a special service of releasing
lists of the names of its students to individuals, organizations, or com-
mercial enterprises who wish to acquire such lists as a resource to
support their personal or profit-making ventures. Such lists, or mail-
ing labels produced from such lists, are available only to adminis-
trative offices of the College, such as the Alumni Office.

(2) Prior to fall term registration and the publication of the
directory, the Admissions Office may provide the names and address-
es of newly admitted students to the administrative offices of the Col-
lege, to the ASOIT for specified purposes which have been approved
by the College’s New Student Orientation Committee, and to the
local daily newspaper.

(3) In the interim period between the Committee’s planning
activities and registration, requests for lists of new students may be
submitted to the office of the Dean of Students by the agencies men-
tioned above.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0070
Permanence, Duplication, and Disposal of Educational
Records

(1) Permanent retention of educational records shall be limit-
ed to those records which are of long-range value to the individual
and/or to the College; applications for scholarships (if applicant
receives and utilizes the award); honors and awards received by the
student; Registrar’s permanent record and permanent academic fold-
er; Student Health Center records; Career Planning and Placement
Service placement file; and student employee payroll records.

(2) All duplicate copies of permanent records, other than those
maintained by the College Registrar, and all non-permanent educa-
tional records shall be maintained only for the minimum period of
time required to serve the basic, official functions of the individual,
division, or department generating or maintaining them. Such records
shall be destroyed as soon as they are no longer needed unless there
is an outstanding request to inspect and review them, and, with the
exception of records of unpaid accounts, may not be retained for
more than seven years after a student departs from the College.
Records of unpaid College accounts of any form of debt to the Col-
lege may be retained until all payments are completed or otherwise
settled and shall then be destroyed.

(3) Records of applicants for admission who are not admitted

or who, if admitted, do not enroll in the College, need not be retained.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

578-034-0075
Location/Administration of Records Policy

(1) This Educational Records Policy provides students at Ore-
gon Institute of Technology the rights under section 438 and 439 of
the General Education Provisions Act, as amended (added by Sec-
tion 513 of Public Law 93-380 and amended by Section 2 of Public
Law 93-568), and the regulations thereunder. All questions regarding
the policy and copies of the policy may be directed and obtained
respectively, in the Office of the Dean of Students, (Snell Hall 111).
Students have the right to file complaints with the Department of
Health, Education and Welfare concerning any alleged failure by the

College to comply with the requirements of Section 438 and 439 of
the Act and its supporting regulations.

(2) The College shall inform students of their rights under this
policy by publishing the rules contained herein, or the substance
thereof, in the Student Handbook. Copies of the policy are available
as indicated above.

(3) In any instance where the provisions of this College Edu-
cational Records Policy are determined by legal counsel to be incon-
sistent with the requirements, limitations, or restrictions of 10 USC
1232g, the College Custodian of Educational Records is empowered
to waive the provision in question and to administer this policy con-
sistent with 20 USC 1232g and its implementing regulations.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 6, f. & ef. 10-27-76

DIVISION 41
ACCOUNTING POLICIES

578-041-0010
Collection of Accounts and Notes Receivable

(1) As directed by Oregon State Board of Higher Education
OAR 580-041-0010(1), the Business Office at Oregon Institute of
Technology must exercise diligence in collecting accounts and notes
receivable due by following, as appropriate, these remedies:

(a) Withhold transcripts, certificates, and diplomas;

(b) Deny or cancel registration;

(c) Withhold further account receivable privileges;

(d) With employee’s approval, withhold wages;

(e) Apply any non-exempt credits in favor of debtor to debt;

(f) Add penalties and interest as allowed by statutes and regu-
lations;

(g) Utilize telephone inquiries;

(h) Send letter of demand;

(1) Use “skip trace” information as allowed by statutes;

(j) Utilize offset procedures with other state agencies;

(k) Utilize Department of Revenue as a collection agent and col-
lection agencies under contract with the state;

(1) Institute legal action as permitted by statutes and regulations;

(m) Seek collection on judgments as permitted by statutes;

(n) Require exit interviews for borrowers under Federal loan
programs.

(2) The Director of Business Affairs, Oregon Institute of Tech-
nology, may waive any of the above remedies only in those cir-
cumstances which serve the best interests of the institution, the state,
or the federal government, or where required by state or federal
statutes. Collection of non-dischargeable debts in bankruptcy pro-
ceedings continue.

(3) The procedures are in conformity with the requirements of
federal and state laws and regulations and were formally adopted as
a rule after public hearing under the Administrative Procedure Act.

(4) The Oregon Institute of Technology Business Office will
grant hearings to any individual requesting information or expressing
concern about the amount owed or circumstances related thereto.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(2)

Hist.: OIT 3-1980, f. & ef. 4-25-80; OIT 4-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-91

578-041-0030
Special Institution Fees and Charges

The Schedule of Special Institution Fees and Charges establish-
es charges for selected courses and general services for Oregon Insti-
tute of Technology for the academic year 2007-08 and are hereby
adopted by reference.

Copies of this fee schedule may be obtained from the Oregon

Institute of Technology Finance and Administration Office.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(2)
Hist.: OIT 1-1985, f. 1-10-85, ef. 2-1-85; OIT 1-1986, f. & ef. 9-4-86; OIT 4-1991,
f. & cert. ef. 7-22-91; OIT 5-1992, . & cert. ef. 9-24-92; OIT 1-1993, f. & cert.
ef. 9-24-93; OIT 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7- 7-95; OIT 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 9-11-
96; OIT 2-1996; f. & cert. ef. 12-19-96; OIT 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-97; OIT
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2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-98; OIT 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-99; OIT 1-2000,
f. & cert. ef. 7-7-00; OIT 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-01; OIT 1-2002, f. & cert.
ef. 7-15-02; OIT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 6-11-03; OIT 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 6-9-04;
OIT 1-2005, f. & cert. ef. 6-10-05; OIT 1-2006, . & cert. ef. 6-2-06; OIT 1-2007,
f. & cert. ef. 6-7-07

578-041-0040
Revolving Charge Account Plan

Oregon Institute of Technology adopts the Revolving Charge
Account programs as permitted by OAR 580-040-0041 as amended,
for all receivables due the Institute.

(1) The following are eligible to participate in the Revolving
Charge Account program:

(a) Current and past students, faculty and staff;

(b) The general public;

(c) Companies and corporations;

(d) Governments and governmental organizations.

(2) The terms and conditions of the program are set out in the
document entitled, Oregon Institute of Technology Revolving
Charge Account Plan, dated June 30, 1992, which is hereby adopt-
ed by reference as a permanent rule.

(3) Participants in the program shall sign an agreement to abide
by the terms and conditions of the program, including repayment as
required thereby, except for debts arising from fines, penalties, and
the like.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 6-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-92

578-041-0050
Cash Deposit Requirements

(1) Any office or department receiving cash, i.e., money,
checks, money orders and other negotiable instruments, is respon-
sible for the safekeeping and timely deposit with the Cashier’s Office
of these items. All cash received must be deposited. Personal checks
are never to be cashed from money received.

(2) Offices receiving cash must deposit all receipts with the
Cashier’s Office at least every five working days or whenever
$500.00 or more is on hand. Oregon Institute of Technology requires
more frequent deposits if there is not a secure place for holding funds.

(3) All money received in the Cashier’s Office from depart-
ments, by mail or in person, must be deposited to the U.S. Bank the
working day after being processed.

(4) Off-campus sites must deposit to the bank designated by the
State Treasurer’s Office all cash, checks, money orders or other nego-
tiable items at least every five days or whenever $500.00 is on hand.
If the office does not have a secure place to hold the cash, the deposit
must be made daily. Personal checks are never to be cashed from
money received. Deposit slips are provided by the Business Office
and must be filled out by the department and validated by the bank.
The pink copy of the bank deposit slip then is to be forwarded to the
Cashier’s Office along with a cash receipt for credit to the appropriate
account.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070(4)(b)

Hist.: OIT 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 5-12-98

DIVISION 42

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES IN CASES OF
PROHIBITED DISCRIMINATION

578-042-0050
Faculty Grievance Procedure

(1) Oregon Administrative Rule 580-021-0050 requires that
each institution adopt and publish procedures for redressing grie-
vances, including grievances concerning prohibited discrimination.
Actions which discriminate against individuals on the basis of age,
handicap, national origin, race, marital status, religion or sex are pro-
hibited by law:

(a) “Grievance” means a complaint by an academic employee
that the employee was wronged in connection with reappointment,
compensation, tenure, promotion, or other condition of employment;

(b) “Other conditions of employment” shall include, but not be
limited to, violations of academic freedom, discriminatory and non-
discriminatory employment practices, and laws, rules, policies and
procedures under which the institution operates. Grievances requir-
ing disciplinary actions or procedures shall not be filed under this
grievance procedure.

(2) Grievants are urged to resolve their grievances informally
by presenting the grievance directly to their supervisor, department
chair, director, dean, or other appropriate officer within 20 calendar
days from the time the grievant became aware of the act, omission,
or condition which gave rise to the grievance. The supervisor shall
have 15 calendar days to respond.

(3) A grievance may be resolved at any step. In no instance shall
the length of time between the presentation of a written grievance and
the State Board of Higher Education’s decision be more than 180
days, unless agreed to by the grievant. If a decision is not made at
any level within the designated time limit, the grievant may submit
the grievance to the next step.

(4) If the faculty member chooses to follow external statutory
or regulatory procedures to resolve the grievance, the institution may
elect not to follow this grievance procedure.

(5) If a grievance is not resolved informally (as provided in sec-
tion (2) of this rule), formal grievance procedures may be initiated
as follows:

(a) Not later than 45 days after the grievant became aware of
the act, omission, or condition which gave rise to the grievance, the
grievant may present a formal grievance in writing to the immediate
supervisor. The supervisor must respond, in writing, within 20 cal-
endar days of receipt of the grievance;

(b) Should a satisfactory agreement not be reached, the grievant
may appeal, in writing, the decision to the appropriate dean within
14 calendar days of receipt of the supervisor’s decision. The dean
must respond, in writing, within 14 calendar days of receipt of the
appeal;

(c) Should a satisfactory agreement not be reached, the grievant
may request, in writing, a hearing before a faculty grievance com-
mittee (refer to section (6) of this rule) or appeal, in writing, the
dean’s decision to the OIT president within 14 calendar days of
receipt of the dean’s decision;

(d) If the matter being grieved relates to an act or omission by
the immediate supervisor or dean, the grievance maybe presented in
subsection (b) or (¢) of this section as appropriate.

(6) The faculty senate, through its own procedures, will annu-
ally appoint a faculty grievance committee consisting of three
tenured faculty members. The faculty grievance committee will hold
its hearing within 20 calendar days after receiving notification of the
request, in writing, for a hearing by the grievant.

(7) The rules of procedures for the faculty grievance committee
shall allow for:

(a) A meaningful opportunity for the grievant to be heard;

(b) An opportunity for each party to present evidence, argument,
and rebuttal;

(c) The right to representation for each party at that party’s
expense;

(d) A hearing open to the public, unless closed at the option of
the grievant, as permitted by law;

(e) Written conclusions by the committee, based only upon evi-
dence presented at the hearing;

(f) Access by each party to a tape recording of the hearing; and

(g) Other lawful procedures not in conflict with subsections (a)
through (f) of this section which may be adopted by the committee.

(8) The faculty grievance committee shall make written recom-
mendations to the president regarding the disposition of the grievance
within ten calendar days of the conclusion of the hearing.

(9) The president of the institution, or his designee, shall review
the grievance and issue a decision in writing within 12 calendar days
after receipt of the grievance or faculty grievance committee recom-
mendations. If the president rejects or modifies the recommendations
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of the faculty grievance committee, the reasons shall be stated in
writing, and a copy provided to the grievant.

(10) The grievant may appeal, in writing, the decision of the
president to the State Board of Higher Education within 15 calendar
days of receipt of the president’s decision for hearing in accordance

with the Board’s procedures in OAR 580-021-0055.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 2-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-17-88; OIT 1-1991(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 1-4-91; OIT 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-91

Faculty Records Policy

578-042-0710
Definitions

(1) “Faculty records” mean documents containing information
kept by the institution, Dean, or department concerning a faculty
member and furnished by him or by others at his or at the
institution’s, Dean’s or department’s request, including, but not lim-
ited to, information as to professional preparation and experience;
personnel data relating to such matters as position description, aca-
demic rank, tenure status, compensation, other conditions of employ-
ment, leaves, retirement credits, workload, supplemental employ-
ment, and the like; employment performance relating to instruction,
research, and scholarly achievement, professionally-related public
service, and institutional service; and professional development plans
and activity reports including, but not limited to, industrial employ-
ment, academic achievement, professional membership, leaves,
patents, grants, awards, and recognition.

(2) For purposes of compliance with ORS 351.065, “records of
academic achievement” shall mean the record of credits earned
toward a degree or in post-doctoral work and/or certificate(s), diplo-

ma(s), license(s), and degree(s) received.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065(1)
Hist.: OIT 3, f. & ef. 9-7-76

578-042-0720
Limitation on Records

(1) Only such records as are demonstrably and substantially
related to the educational and related purposes of the institution, divi-
sion, or department shall be generated and maintained.

(2) No faculty member shall be required to give — although he
or she may voluntarily provide — information as to race, religion,
marital status, sex, political affiliation or preferences, except as
required by valid state or federal laws, statutes, rules, regulations, or
orders. In those instances in which the faculty member is asked for
such self-designation for any purpose (including federal requests for
information), the request shall state the purpose of the inquiry and
shall inform the individual of the right to decline to respond. There
shall be no designation in faculty records as to the foregoing except

as the faculty member voluntarily makes the information available.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065
Hist.: OIT 3, f. & ef. 9-7-76

578-042-0730
Location and Custody of Faculty Records

(1) All faculty records shall be kept within the President’s,
Dean’s, or department chairman’s offices in which they are utilized.
The President, Dean, or department chairman shall be the official
custodian of the personal records contained within the operating unit,
unless another person is specifically designated in writing to assume
this responsibility.

(2) The custodian of personal records shall maintain them in a
manner which shall insure their confidentiality and security in accor-
dance with these regulations.

(3) Any person, including administrative and clerical person-
nel, seeking access to personal records for authorized purposes, shall
first secure the consent of the custodian.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065

Hist.: OIT 3, f. & ef. 9-7-76

578-042-0740
Open Faculty Records for Access and Additions

(1) Each faculty member shall have access, upon request at a
reasonable place and time, to all evaluative materials or other records
originated or utilized by the President, Dean, division head, depart-
ment chairman, or by personnel review committees relating to his or
her renewal or appointment, promotion, tenure, or post-tenure review
except as provided in subsections (a) and (b) of this section:

(a) Letters and other information submitted in confidence to the
institution prior to July 1, 1975, shall be maintained in the files des-
ignated. However, if a faculty member requests access to those files,
the anonymity of the contributor of letters and other information
obtained prior to July 1, 1975, shall be protected. The full text shall
be made available except that portions of the text which would serve
to identify the contributor shall be excised by a faculty committee.
Only the names of the contributors and the excised portions of the
documents may be kept in a file other than the three designated in
OAR 578-042-0730;

(b) Confidential letters and other information submitted to or
solicited after July 1, 1975, by the institution prior to the employment
of a prospective employee shall not be made available to the prospec-
tive employee. However, if the prospective employee is employed
by the institution, the confidential pre-employment materials shall
be placed in the three authorized files. If a faculty member requests
access to the member’s files, the anonymity of the contributor of con-
fidential pre-employment letters and other pre-employment informa-
tion shall be protected. The full text shall be made available, except
those portions of the text which would serve to identify the contrib-
utor shall be excised and retained in a file other than the three des-
ignated in OAR 578-042-0730.

(2) Any evaluation received by telephone shall be documented
in each of the faculty member’s files by means of a written summary
of the conversation with the names of the conversants identified.

(3) Classroom survey evaluation by students of a faculty mem-
ber’s classroom or laboratory performance shall be anonymous. The
record of tabulated reports shall be placed in at least one of the files
designated in OAR 578-042-0730 of this policy. All survey instru-
ments used to obtain evaluation data shall be returned to the faculty
member.

(4) The institution shall not solicit nor accept letters, documents,
or other material, given orally or in written form, from individuals
or groups who wish their identity kept anonymous or the information
they provided kept confidential when evaluating employed faculty
members except as noted in section (3) of this rule.

(5) Each faculty member shall review his or her periodic regular
written evaluation with the immediate evaluating officer (department
chairman, division head, Dean, or President). A copy of the evalu-
ative statement, duly signed by the faculty member, shall be placed
in the faculty member’s personal record file. Other evaluations given
to the faculty member shall contain or have attached to it a statement
informing the faculty member that he may, at his option, discuss the
evaluative statement with the evaluating administrator.

(6) Each faculty member who believes the evaluative statement
is incorrect or incomplete may enter into his or her personal record
file such comments, explanation, or rebuttals as desired. These addi-
tions shall be attached to each copy of the evaluative statement
retained by the institution.

(7) Faculty records shall be closed to all other persons and agen-
cies except institutional personnel who have demonstrably legitimate
need for particular information in order to fulfill their official, pro-
fessional responsibilities with regard to the faculty member. Such
personnel shall include, but not be limited to, the President, Deans,
division heads, department chairman, and members of the institution-
al, divisional, and departmental personnel committees.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065

Hist.: OIT 3, f. & ef. 9-7-76

578-042-0750
Release of Faculty Record Information

(1) Certain information about the faculty member may be
released upon request and without the faculty member’s consent.
Such information shall be limited to directory information (that is,
information generally needed in identifying or locating a named
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faculty member); the faculty member’s full name, campus address
and telephone number, home address, birthday (as distinguished from
birth date) and such other information as is readily found in published
documents such as institutional catalogs.

(2) All other information, subject to such restrictions as the fac-
ulty member determines, can be made available only upon written
consent directing the custodian to furnish specific information to the
named individual or individuals.

(3) The President or his designated representative may release
personal information contained in faculty records only when he
determines that there is a clear and present danger to the safety of the
faculty member or others and/or property and that disclosure of rel-
evant personal information about the faculty member is essential in
order to avoid or substantially minimize the danger. (The basis for
such determination shall be provided to the faculty member in writ-
ing.) No such disclosure shall violate any evidentiary or testimonial

privilege accorded by law.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065
Hist.: OIT 3, f. & ef. 9-7-76

578-042-0760
Permanence, Duplication, and Disposal of Faculty Records

(1) Faculty records shall be maintained only for the minimum
period of time required to serve the basic official functions of the
office which generates and maintains it. It shall be disposed of in a
manner such as to protect its confidentiality. The permanent retention
of faculty records shall be limited to those which the institutional
executive or the State Archivist shall determine to be of long-range
value to the individual faculty member, to the institution, or to the
public.

(2) Duplication of permanent faculty records shall be permitted
only when such records are required to serve the official functions
of the office which maintains them and when the custodian has given
his consent. Such duplicated permanent records as are made shall be
destroyed in the same manner as temporary records, immediately fol-
lowing completion of the use which justified the duplicating. The
duplicate copies will be lodged as provided in OAR 578-042-
0730(1). All duplicate copies of permanent faculty records and all
temporary faculty records shall be maintained for a minimum period
of three years after a faculty member departs from the institution.
Such records shall thereafter be destroyed as soon as they are no
longer needed and may not be retained in any event for more than
seven years after a faculty member departs. Such records shall be

destroyed in such a manner as to protect their confidentiality.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.065
Hist.: OIT 3, f. & ef. 9-7-76

DIVISION 45
USE OF CAMPUS FOR COMMERCIAL PURPOSES

578-045-0005
Definitions

As used in this rule the following definitions apply:

(1) “Sale,” “Selling,” or “Purchasing” means an activity which
creates an obligation to transfer property or services for a valuable
consideration.

(2) “Commercial Solicitation” means any direct and personal
communication in the course of a trade or business reasonably in-
tended to result in a sale.

(3) “Solicitation” means to importune, or endeavor to persuade
or obtain by asking, but does not include commercial solicitation.

(4) “Private Sale” means occasional selling between persons
who are campus students or employees.

(5) “Commercial Transaction” means selling or purchasing, or
both selling and purchasing by any person in the course of employ-
ment in, or in the carrying on of, a trade or business.

(6) “Recognized Campus Organization” means any club, group,
or organization which has a charter or constitution approved or
accepted by the president of Oregon Institute of Technology.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.060
Hist.: OIT 5-1980, f. & ef. 5-8-80

578-045-0010
Commercial Solicitation, Commercial Transactions and
Solicitation

Commercial solicitation, commercial transactions and solicita-
tion are prohibited on campus except upon written application by the
vendor or solicitor, and with written permission by the college pres-
ident or his designated representative:

(1) The application shall include:

(a) The applicant’s name;

(b) The name, address and telephone number of the company
or organization represented by the applicant;

(c) The purpose of the visit to the campus;

(d) The type of activity to be engaged in;

(e) The duration of the visit;

(f) Any other information deemed to be relevant.

(2) Such application is submitted at least 72 hours prior to
requested use and permission is granted.

(3) Permission may be granted if the proposed activity does not
interfere with the operation of the institution and if it is not prohibited
by law.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.060
Hist.: OIT 5-1980, f. & ef. 5-8-80; OIT 8-1991, f. & cert. ef. 9-23-91

578-045-0015
Permission to Engage in Solicitation

Any applicant granted permission under OAR 578-045-0010 to
engage in commercial solicitation, commercial transactions, or soli-
citation must abide by any time, place and manner restrictions which
may be imposed as a condition to granting such permission. Normal-

ly, space for such activities will be provided in the college union.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.060
Hist.: OIT 5-1980, f. & ef. 5-8-80

578-045-0020
Discipline for Violation of Solicitation

Persons who violate the provisions of this rule shall be disci-
plined as follows:

(1) Members of the campus community shall be disciplined as
appropriate to that person’s status as a student, faculty member,
employee or other category.

(2) Nonmembers of the campus community shall be prohibited
from entering upon the campus for a period of 90 days.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.060
Hist.: OIT 5-1980, f. & ef. 5-8-80

578-045-0025
Private Sales and Campus Activities

(1) Nothing in this rule shall affect private sales.

(2) Nothing in this rule shall affect advertising in campus news-
papers or over the campus radio station.

(3) Nothing in this rule shall affect the activities of recognized
campus activities.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.060

Hist.: OIT 5-1980, f. & ef. 5-8-80

DIVISION 50
GENERAL

578-050-0005
Dog Control

With the exception of guide dogs for handicapped persons and
dogs in vehicles, all dogs are banned from the Oregon Institute of

Technology campus.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.060
Hist.: OIT 1-1980, f. & ef. 1-9-80
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Possession and Use of Firearms on Campus

578-050-0010
Possession and Use of Firearms and Explosives

(1) ORS 166.370 and OAR 580-022-0045(3) prohibits the pos-
session and use of firearms and explosives on campus unless express-
ly authorized by institutional rule.

(2) OIT further prohibits employees, students and the public
from carrying or possessing firearms and explosives onto OIT prop-
erty, including vehicles, even if they have a concealed weapons per-
mit with the following exception: This policy exempts police, mil-
itary and other law enforcement officials with specific statutory and
agency authority to possess a firearm in the performance of their
duties.

(3) Faculty and staff may request from the president an exemp-
tion to this policy based on a compelling educational interest.

(4) Students living in the OIT Residence Hall and their guests
may store firearms on campus in the Residence Hall gun storage
locker, which is a controlled firearm storeroom.

(a) The controlled firearm storeroom requires that firearms be
tagged with the owner’s name and that the gun has a visible identi-
fication number. The firearms(s) must be unloaded and dismantled
to be inoperable or have a trigger lock in place.

(b) Firearms will be released only to the owner.

(c) Access to the firearms storage area for the purposes of
checking in and out firearms will be during predetermined hours and
controlled by the Residence Hall staff.

(d) OIT may refuse to issue a firearm to the owner, if in the
staft’s judgment the owner’s current physical or emotional condition
or other circumstances make possession of the firearm unreasonably
dangerous. The supervisor’s decision regarding return of the firearm
may be appealed to the Director of Housing and Residence Life who
will decide when the firearm will be returned to the owner.

(e) No fees are required for firearm storage. Temporary storage
for a registered guest of a resident using the controlled firearm store-
room will also be provided at no cost.

(5) Persons observed possessing firearms in the Residence Hall
should be reported immediately to the Director of Housing or Res-
idence Life staff. Persons observed possessing firearms elsewhere on
campus should be reported to Campus Security.

(6) Persons violating this rule are subject to sanctions authorized

by OAR 580-022-0045, Proscribed Conduct.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 166
Stats. Implemented: ORS 166.370
Hist.: OIT 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 6-19-91; OIT 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 5-12-98

578-050-0020
Access to Student Housing

Access to the Oregon Institute of Technology Residence Hall
is open to all single students registered during the regular academic
year. In keeping with the educational mission of Oregon Institute of
Technology, approved by Oregon State Board of Higher Education
(1991), exceptions to this rule may be granted to groups and indi-
viduals participating in related community programs and/or bona fide
educational activities. Requests for exception should be directed to
the Office of Housing and Residence Life. Exceptions will be
reviewed on a case-by-case basis and will take into consideration
extenuating circumstances which may include such things as current
occupancy, length of residency period, time of the year, and groups
of individuals previous registration and residence history.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.060
Hist.: OIT 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 9-24-93

578-050-0050
Firearm Storage Regulations and Fees

(1) Pursuant to OAR 578-050-0010, a controlled firearm stor-
age will be maintained for use of students living in the OIT Resi-
dence Hall or their guests. Such use will be available under the fol-
lowing conditions:

(a) Firearms must be tagged with the owner’s name and have
a visible identification number;

(b) Firearms must be unloaded and have the firing pin removed
or a trigger lock in place;

(c) Access to the storage area for purposes of checking items
in and out will be during pre-determined hours and be controlled by
Residence Hall staff. Weapons must be logged in and out of the area
by the designated staff person;

(d) Weapons will be released only to the owner.

(2) If the storage area is not open and arrangements cannot be
made immediately for storage, the firearm must be stored off campus
or in a vehicle. Regulations for storage in a vehicle on campus are
stated in OAR 578-050-0010.

(3) The controlled storeroom supervisor may refuse to return a
weapon to the owner, if in the supervisor’s judgement, the owner’s
current physical or emotional condition or other circumstances make
possession of the weapon unreasonably dangerous.

(4) The supervisor’s decisions regarding return of weapons may
be appealed to the Dean of Students, who after talking with both the
owner and the supervisor, and others if relevant, will decide when
the weapon will be returned.

(5) A fee of $15 per term, per item, is required for this service.
Temporary storage for a registered guest of a resident using the con-

trolled firearm storeroom will be provided at no additional cost.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 166.370
Hist.: OIT 7-1991, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-91

DIVISION 72
TRAFFIC CONTROL

578-072-0010
Responsibility in Traffic Control

(1) Oregon Revised Statute ORS 352.360 authorizes the State
Board of Higher Education to “enact such regulations as it shall deem
convenient or necessary to provide for the policing, control, and reg-
ulation of traffic and parking of vehicles on the property of any insti-
tution under the jurisdiction of the Board. Such regulations may pro-
vide for the registration of vehicles, the designation of parking areas,
and the assessment and collection of reasonable fees and charges for
parking.”

(2) Strict enforcement for these regulations is necessary to min-
imize congestion and maintain safety of campus roads and in parking
areas. The administration of these regulations lies within the Campus
Traffic Commission working in coordination with the Campus Safety
Officers.

(3) The regulations listed hereinafter, which provide for the
policing, control, and regulating of traffic and parking of vehicles on
campus, are enforceable whenever a vehicle is on campus.

(4) Administrative and disciplinary sanctions may be imposed
upon students, faculty, and staft for violation of the regulations. Sanc-
tions may include, but are not limited to, a reasonable monetary
penalty which may be deducted from student general deposits, and
faculty, staff or student salaries or other funds in the possession of
the Institute as provided in ORS 352.360(2).

(5) For any emergency or special event, parking and traffic reg-
ulations may be waived by the Traffic Commission, Campus Safety
Director, or Vice President for Finance and Administration.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352

Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360

Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; OIT 1-2000, f.
& cert. ef. 7-7-00; OIT 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-02

578-072-0020
Vehicle Registration

(1) A vehicle is any motor conveyance requiring a state or city
license to operate on public highways.

(2) After the first day of classes, vehicles must be registered
when brought on the campus the first time. Permits are issued at the
Cashier’s Office, Snell Hall, or during fee payment at the beginning
of each term.

(3) Parking permits must be permanently affixed to the rear
bumper (left third) on the registered vehicle in plain view. If it is
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impossible to attach a permit to the bumper, it must be attached, in
plain view, to the left rear portion of the vehicle or on the outside
lower left portion of the rear window.

(4) Vehicles must have either a general area or Residence Hall
permit. Double registration of any vehicle is not permitted.

(5) Registration may be rescinded and removal of the permit
required:

(a) For failure to comply with traffic regulations or to rulings
of the Traffic Commission or Traffic Appeals Board;

(b) For failure to pay fines as prescribed in OAR 578-072-0070
or as assessed by the Traffic Commission;

(c) When the permit is used on an unregistered vehicle or by an
unauthorized person;

(d) When registration is found to be false or inaccurate;

(e) When enrollment is terminated;

(f) When the time specified on the permit has expired.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352

Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360

Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 1-1979, f. & ef. 6-8-79; OIT 6-1991, f. & cert.
ef. 7-24-91; OIT 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 6-7-07

578-072-0030
Parking Permit and Fees

(1) Students, faculty and staff permits (adhesive or hanging) will
be issued for a fee of $95.00 per year or $45.00 per term. Vehicles
with these permits must park in the parking areas.

(2) Bicycles must be licensed by the City of Klamath Falls. A
parking permit is not required.

(3) Special permits may be issued at the Cashier’s office under
the following circumstances:

(a) Application for a Disabled Parking permit must be submitted
to the Student Health Service. After approval by Student Health Ser-
vice, a Disabled Parking permit may be purchased at the Cashier’s
office.

(b) Persons displaying either permanent or temporary disabled
permits are authorized open parking on the campus in addition to
parking in the areas designated as disabled parking.

(c) Temporary permits are issued at no charge by Campus Safe-
ty at the Information Booth on Campus Drive. Vehicles displaying
temporary permits must park in the area designated by that permit.
Students, faculty, and staff members are able to obtain up to 10 days
per term of temporary parking permits. Temporary permits are offi-
cial documents and may not be modified or altered in any way.

(d) Visitor permits are issued at no charge at the Information
Booth on Campus Drive and must be displayed as indicated on the
permit. A visitor is any person who is an OIT guest but is not offi-
cially affiliated with OIT.

(e)Special guest permits: Guest permits will be issued by Cam-
pus Safety.

(4) Service Vendor permits are issued by Facilities or Campus
Safety for contractors, media personnel, and vendors performing
work on campus.

(5) Up to three vehicles registered on a single hanging permit-
additional charge $10.00.

(6) Replacement Permits: A replacement permit may be pur-
chased for a substitute vehicle when the original vehicle is sold, dam-
aged beyond repair, or when the permit is lost or damaged. In the
event a permit is stolen, a stolen permit report must be filed with
Campus Safety before a replacement permit may be issued. An adhe-
sive replacement permit may be obtained for a fee of $5.00 upon sub-
mission to the cashier of permit number evidence from the original
permit. Replacement hanging permits are available at the full price
of the original hanging permit.

(7) Possession of a lost or stolen permit may be grounds for
criminal charges, and/or University disciplinary action, including
revocation of parking privileges.

(8) Parking permits are issued by the academic year or for a
term. Refunds will be made only if a parking permit is removed from
the vehicle and returned to the Cashier within ten (10) days of the
purchase date. No other refunds will be given.

(9) Parking permits are considered University records, and as
such, may not be falsified, misused, forged, modified or altered in

any way. Vehicles bearing forged or altered permits are subject to a

fine, criminal proceedings, and/or discipline by the University.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented:
Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 10, f. & ef. 6-6-77; OIT 1-1978, f. & ef. 6-5-
78; OIT 1-1979, f. & ef. 6-8-79; OIT 6-1980, . & ef. 6-9-80; OIT 3-1985, f. 8-
5-85, ef. 9-1-85; OIT 1-1988(Temp), f. 6-20-88, cert. ef. 7-1-88; OIT 3-1991, f.
& cert. ef. 7-8-91; OIT 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-92; OIT 1-1993, f. & cert. ef.
9-24-93; OIT 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-25-94; OIT 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 9-11-96;
OIT 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-97; OIT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 11-12-98; OIT 1-
1999, f. & cert. ef. 8-26-99; OIT 1-2000, . & cert. ef. 7-7-00; OIT 1-2001, f. &
cert. ef. 7-19-01; OIT 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-02; OIT 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 6-
10-05; OIT 2-2006, f. & cert. ef. 6-2-06; OIT 2-2007, . & cert. ef. 6-7-07

578-072-0040
Driving on Campus

(1) Any operator of a motor vehicle or bicycle, while driving
on campus, must comply with the traffic laws and ordinances of the
State of Oregon and the City of Klamath Falls, and with the regula-
tions governing motor vehicles and bicycles on campus.

(2) Maximum speeds for operating vehicles on campus are post-
ed.

(3) Vehicles leaving service roads and parking aisles must yield
to vehicles operated on access roads; and these vehicles must in turn
yield to main roads which include Circle Drive; and vehicles oper-
ated on any road must yield to pedestrian traffic.

(4) Driving any vehicle on sidewalks, lawns, landscape areas,
or any area not designated or designed for driving is prohibited.

(5) Cases involving destruction of state property resulting from
the use of a motor vehicle or bicycle shall be automatically referred
to the Business Manager for collection of damages, in addition to the
customary fine.

(6) Visitors must abide by all posted regulations.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352

Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360

Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91

578-072-0050
Parking on Campus

(1) Any operator of a motor vehicle or bicycle, while parking
on campus, must comply with the traffic laws and ordinances of the
State of Oregon, the City of Klamath Falls, and the regulations gov-
erning motor vehicles and bicycles on campus. A “parked vehicle”
refers to any vehicle which is stopped with or without a driver in
attendance.

(2) Areas designated for parking are indicated on the campus
traffic map.

(3) Zones designated as special service are restricted to load-
ing/unloading and for repair services.

(4) Vehicles shall be parked on campus only in areas designated
for parking. Parking of vehicles on any road, driveway, fire lane,
entranceway to building, pedestrian lane, and landscaped area is pro-
hibited. Encroachment upon adjacent spaces and parking aisles is
prohibited, i.e., all vehicles must be parked between parking space
markers.

(5) Parking with the front wheels adjacent to the curb (head in
only) is required where angle or right-angle parking spaces are pro-
vided. Parallel parking is required where paralleled spaces are pro-
vided and is permissible in service zones for purposes of loading and
unloading.

(6) When need has been established, a reserved parking space
may be authorized by the Traffic Commission within a parking area;
no other vehicle may be parked in this space.

(7) Bicycles must be parked in a bike rack. Parking of a bicycle
in any building is prohibited.

(8) Open parking is permissible in designated faculty, staff, stu-
dent, and visitor lots between 6 p.m. and 6 a.m., and on weekends
and school holidays except for parking in reserved spaces, service
areas, fire lanes, and limited parking zones.

(9) Repair of vehicles in any parking area or zone is prohibited.

(10) Visitors may park in any area designated for parking.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
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Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 10, f. & ef. 6-6-77; OIT 1-1978, f. & ef. 6-5-
78; OIT 1-1979, . & ef. 6-8-79; OIT 6-1980, f. & ef. 6-9-80; OIT 6-1991, f. &
cert. ef. 7-24-91; OIT 4-2007, f. & cert. ef. 6-7-07

578-072-0055
Roller Skates and Skateboards

(1) OIT students, faculty, staff and their guests may use skates
on campus. “Skates” meaning in-line skates or roller blades. Non-
campus persons may be asked to leave the campus for skating. Proof
of Oregon Tech identification may be required of skaters.

(2) OIT students, faculty, staff and their guests may skate only
between the hours of 3:00 pm and 7:00 am on weekdays and any
time on weekends. Skating may be prohibited during any posted
scheduled event on campus at any time.

(3) Skaters must abide by all traffic regulations and yield to
pedestrians.

(4) Use of “skateboards” on the OIT campus is prohibited.

(5) The use of skates is prohibited inside buildings, structures,
patios or facilities.

(6) Because of the extreme safety hazard, skaters may not skate
on any stairs on campus. Jumping against buildings or on fixtures is
prohibited.

(7) Skaters must wear approved safety equipment including a
helmet, kneepads and wrist guards.

(8) Campus Safety, building managers, vice presidents, direc-
tors, department chairs and faculty are authorized to enforce these
rules.

(9) Oregon Institute of Technology assumes no liability for
injuries to any skater while skating on campus.

(10) Any person violating these rules is subject up to a $20.00
fine and/or OIT disciplinary action. He or she will also be asked to

remove their skates and leave the premises.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351
Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070
Hist.: OIT 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 9-11-96; OIT 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-02

578-072-0060
Application of Motor Vehicle Laws of the State of Oregon

All motor vehicle laws of the State of Oregon and the City of
Klamath Falls, together with amendments hereafter adopted, are
applicable to the campus of Oregon Institute of Technology to the
same extent as if said campus and its roads were public highways,
and all provisions of said motor vehicle laws are invoked and
enforceable except insofar as they are incompatible or inconsistent
with these regulations.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 352

Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360

Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 10, f. & ef. 6-6-77

578-072-0070
Penalties for Offenses

(1) Vehicle not registered — $20.

(2) Permit not properly displayed — $20.

(3) Falsification of information — 30.

(4) Parking offenses — $20, including metered parking.

(5) Driving a motor vehicle or bicycle in nondesignated areas
— $25, plus the cost of all repairs.

(6) Bicycles parked in illegal areas — $5.

(7) Parking in designated disabled space — $190/$450 (by
authority of ORS 811.625(5).

(8) Using a hanging permit in an unregistered vehicle — $55.

(9) Moving violations, including such offenses as reckless driv-
ing, driving while intoxicated, speeding, driving the wrong way, run-
ning stop signs, excessive noise, and other offenses not otherwise
specified herein, are a violation of the State of Oregon motor vehicle
laws and punishable upon conviction, in accordance with Oregon
State law, or may be referred to the City of Klamath Falls for arrest
and/or prosecution. Campus violators will be fined $30. Violations
referred to the City of Klamath Falls revert to city bails and fines.

(10) Habitual offenders are fined $55 in addition to the regular
fine for the offense for which they are found guilty. Habitual offend-
ers are individuals who have been found guilty of three or more
offenses in an academic year. The $55 fine, in addition to the offense

fine is imposed for the third conviction and each conviction thereafter
during an academic year.

(11) FAILURE TO ANSWER A CITATION AS DIRECTED
OR RESPOND TO A LETTER from the Traffic Appeals Board
within the time specified thereon may be punishable by a fine of $15.
An additional $15 fine is levied for failure to respond to a second let-
ter within the time specified.

(12) Excessive citations may result in revocation of a parking
permit by the Traffic Commission. A student violator may be referred
to the Vice President for Student Affairs. A faculty or staff member
may be referred to the Vice President for Finance and Administra-
tion.

(13) Payment of fines will be required prior to appeal of citation
before the Traffic Appeals Board.

(14) Any student who fails to pay the Cashier’s Office for a traf-
fic citation, after written notice, will have the fine added to their
account balance, or deducted from their payroll check.

(15) Any faculty or staff member who fails to pay the Cashier’s
Office for a traffic citation, after written notice, may have the fine
deducted from their payroll check.

(16) A vehicle may be towed off campus and impounded and
the owner subjected to towing and storage fees in addition to penal-
ties, under the following circumstances.

(a) Any vehicle causing imminent danger to people or college
property;

(b) A vehicle having a parking permit and receiving five (5) or
more citations within the school year;

(c) A vehicle not having a parking permit and receiving three
(3) citations within the school year;

(d) A vehicle left parked or standing in an area not normally
used for vehicular traffic including parking on sidewalks or grass;

(e) Vehicles considered abandoned for at least seven (7) days.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351

Stats. Implemented: ORS 351.070

Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 10, f. & ef. 6-6-77; OIT 1-1978, f. & ef. 6-5-
78; OIT 3-1985, f. 8-5-85, ef. 9-1-85; OIT 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; OIT 1-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-25-94; OIT 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-97; OIT 2-2002, f.
& cert. ef. 10-24-02; OIT 6-2007, f. & cert. ef. 6-7-07

578-072-0080
Enforcement of Penalties

Tickets will be issued after the first day of classes. A student,
faculty, or staff member who is cited for violation of a traffic regu-
lation shall, within the time provided on the citation:

(1) Pay the amount prescribed on the citation.

(2) Request a hearing in person or in writing before the Traffic
Appeals Board and pay the amount prescribed on the citation. The
Traffic Appeals Board shall review the matter and its deci-sion will
be final. Appeal to the Traffic Appeals Board waives the right to
appear before the District Court or Municipal Court of Klamath Falls.
Failure to appear before the Traffic Appeals Board on the hearing
date, unless prior arrangements have been made, shall subject the
person to payment of the fine as shown on the citation.

(3) Any person refusing to appear before the Traffic Appeals
Board or failing to pay their fine may be cited into Municipal or Dis-
trict Court of Klamath Falls under the Oregon Vehicle Code. Oregon
Institute of Technology will transfer the charges through the City

Attorney.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 10, f. & ef. 6-6-77; OIT 1-1978, f. & ef. 6-5-
78; OIT 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91

578-072-0090
Authority of Traffic Commission

The Traffic Commission or Traffic Appeals Board shall have
the full authority to:

(1) Dismiss the violation.

(2) Find the individual not guilty of the charges on the traffic
citation.

(3) Find the individual guilty of the violation and impose the
appropriate fine.
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(4) Enter a finding of guilty and, without imposing any fine,
issue a reprimand or warning, or impose a fine and suspend its pay-
ment during a probationary period.

(5) Recommend to OIT administration a restriction or sus-
pension of driving or parking privileges, or other disciplinary actions.

Such actions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.360
Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 10, f. & ef. 6-6-77; OIT 6-1991, f. & cert. ef.

7-24-91

578-072-0091

Authority of Campus Police Officers

All notices of violations of any of the regulations herein will be
signed by campus safety. Enforcement of OIT Parking regulations
is the responsibility of the OIT Campus Safety Department. OIT
Campus Safety Officers are granted limited powers by the STATE
Board of Higher Education to enforce OIT parking and traffic reg-

ulations.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351 & 352
Stats. Implemented: ORS 352.385
Hist.: OIT 2, f. & ef. 9-7-76; OIT 10, f. & ef. 6-6-77; OIT 6-1991, f. & cert. ef.
7-24-91; OIT 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-02; OIT 5-2007, f. & cert. ef. 6-7-07
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