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DIVISION 1
PROCEDURAL RULES

Providing Notice of Rule Adoption
Prior to adoption, amendment, or repeal of any Rule, the State
Board of Clinical Social Workers shall give notice of the intended

action:

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS

183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date.

(2) By furnishing a copy of the notice to persons on the Board’s
mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(7) at least 28 days
before the effective date of the rule.

(3) By furnishing a copy of the notice to:

(a) The United Press International;

(b) The Associated Press;

(c) The Oregon Chapter of the National Association of Social
Workers.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 675.510 - 675.600

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335

Hist.: BCSW 1-1980, f. & ef. 8-27-80; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91;

BCSW 1-1995, f. 6-26-95, cert. ef. 7-1-95; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-

05

877-001-0005
Model Rules of Procedure
The most current Model Rules of Procedure as promulgated by
the Attorney General of the State of Oregon under the Administra-
tive Procedures Act are by this reference adopted as the rules and pro-
cedures of the State Board of Clinical Social Workers and shall be
controlling except as otherwise required by statutes or rules.
[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure
is available from the office of the Attorney General or the Board of Clinical Social
Workers.]
Stat. Auth: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-92;
BCSW 1-1995, . 6-26-95, cert. ef. 7-1-95; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97;
BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01
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877-001-0010
Rulemaking

(1)(a) Pursuant to ORS 183.330-183.410 and rules adopted
August 5, 1980, the Board may make rules necessary to carry out
provisions of Chapter 769, Oregon Laws 1979 and ORS 44.040 and
amend or repeal any rule or regulation it makes;

(b) Any person may appear and be heard at a hearing on any
rules or regulations. The Board Administrator shall record the names
and addresses of persons appearing. The Administrator shall send
written notice to any person heard or represented at a hearing or
requesting notice of the action taken by the Board;

(c) Before it becomes effective, a rule or regulation, or amend-
ment or repeal, may be reviewed by the Attorney General’s office.

(2) Contents of the Rules: The Board is authorized to adopt
rules and regulations relating to the professional behavior and ethics
of the practice of Clinical Social Work and the qualifications for cer-
tification and licensing of Clinical Social Workers consistent with the
protection of the health and general welfare of the people in the State
of Oregon, and consistent with the intent of Chapter 769, Oregon
Laws 1979.

(3) Copies of the Rules: Copies of the proposed rules may be

obtained from the State Board of Clinical Social Workers.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 675.510 - 675.600
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.360
Hist.. BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91;
BCSW 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-92

DIVISION 10
BOARD DUTIES AND PROCEDURES

877-010-0000
Board Meetings

The State Board of Clinical Social Workers shall meet a least
six times a year to accomplish its work. The Board shall meet at a
time and place specified by the Board and at such other times and
places as specified on call of the Chair, or a majority of Board mem-
bers, or by the Governor. Notice of time and place of regularly sched-
uled, special, and emergency meetings shall be given by notification
to the Associated Press, United Press International and other parties

who have expressed an interest in the Board’s activities.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.590
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 2-
1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-010-0005
Quorum Required

A majority of the Board constitutes a quorum for the transaction
of business. A majority of the quorum of the Board must concur upon

any official business transacted by the Board at the meeting.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.590
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-94

877-010-0010
Internal Organization

At the first meeting beginning each fiscal year, organizational
matters, including review of responsibilities assigned to Board mem-
bers, shall be the first order of business. The terms of the previous
Chair and Vice-Chair and all other positions of assigned responsi-
bility shall expire at this time. However, a Chair or Vice-Chair or any
assigned responsibility can be changed or replaced by a majority vote
of the members at any meeting where the proposal has been placed
on the agenda and sent to the members two weeks in advance of the

meeting, or by unanimous consent of members at the meeting.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.590
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-010-0015
Chair’s Responsibilities

(1) Decisions required to be made by the Board, and adminis-
trative actions which the Chair intends to carry out shall be presented
for the Board’s review at the next meeting. The Chair is authorized
to take emergency action between Board meetings, subject to ratifi-
cation by the Board. However, in the case of actions significant
enough to normally require Board decision, the Chair shall first
attempt to get authorization for such decision for the Board members
through telephone communication. All emergency actions of any
kind shall be noted in the agenda for the next meeting and shall
become the first order of business at that next meeting.

(2) The Vice-Chair shall officiate in lieu of the Chair when the
Chair is unable to perform the required duties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.590

Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82

877-010-0020
Board Communications

All correspondence in support of Board activities shall be pre-
pared by the Board Administrator. When deemed necessary or appro-
priate, the Administrator will review correspondence with the Board
Chair and/or the Board’s legal counsel. The full Board should approve
in advance any correspondence which may materially affect Board
policies and procedures. When a delay might render the Board’s func-
tioning ineffective, the Chair may be required to take immediate

action which shall be reviewed at the next meeting of the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.590
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 2-
1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-010-0025
Board Files

All Board files shall be retained in the Board’s official office.
The Board Administrator shall maintain a master record of any files
which are checked out of the Board office by Board members. The
Board Administrator shall be notified whenever any Board file is
transferred from the possession of one person to another, and shall
so note in the Board’s records. Individuals who have in their pos-
session documents or files pertaining to Board affairs are responsi-
ble for their protection and privacy. Board files shall be retained for

a period of seven years after the lapse of a license.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.590
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91;
BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05

877-010-0030
Minutes and Agendas

(1) The minutes of a meeting shall be distributed to all Board
members within three weeks following the meeting.

(2) The Board Administrator shall prepare a draft agenda with
review by the Chair before distribution to Board members and the
public. The agenda items shall include reports by the Board’s Admin-
istrator, the Chair, and each Board member who has received a spe-
cific assignment at the previous meeting or has a report to make
regarding standing assignments. If there is insufficient time to inform
the Chair, the Board Administrator may make additional scheduling
at the direct request of Board members. The Board, may, at its dis-
cretion, revise the agenda or limit it to a particular topic under spe-
cial circumstances. Reports not discussed may be added to the typed
minutes of any meeting.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.590

Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 2-

1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-94; BCSW 1-2001,

f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-010-0040
Publications

The Board shall make available upon request and payment of
a fee, a list of the names and addresses of all persons who have been
certified or licensed under ORS 675.510 to 675.600.
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Hist.: BSCW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91;
BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; Renumbered from 877-020-0040; BCSW
1-1997, . & cert. ef. 3-25-97

877-010-0045
Charges for Materials and Services

(1) All requests for copies of public records pertaining to the
State Board of Clinical Social Workers available at the Board office
shall be submitted in writing.

(2) Charges for copies, documents, and services shall be as fol-
lows:

(a) For machine copies requested by other state agencies and by
the general public, the accepted government agency rate per copy.

(b) For documents developed by the Board, an amount fixed by
the Board Administrator not exceeding the actual preparation and
materials cost per copy.

(c) For both machine copies and documents, an additional
amount set at the discretion of the Board Administrator for staff time
required for search, handling, and copying.

(3) Charges for the general public may be payable in cash.
Charges to state agencies may be payable in cash unless billing to

such agencies is authorized by the Board Administrator.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.590
Hist.: BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-
01

DIVISION 20
PROCEDURE FOR CERTIFICATION AND LICENSING

877-020-0000
Definitions

An “agency” is an organization that, through its employees,
engages in clinical social work (defined in ORS 675.510(2)) and in
which:

(1) Cases are assigned through a central process;

(2) Billing is centralized and done in the organization’s name;

(3) The organization collects all fees including deductibles and
co-payments;

(4) The organization controls client records and is responsible
for their proper storage and destruction;

(5) The organization controls office space by renting, owning,
or leasing it;

(6) The organization displays its name on the premises so as to
be clearly visible to clients;

(7) The name of the organization is on all forms given to the
client;

(8) The organization maintains the responsibilities for hiring
and firing of staff;

(9) The organization pays the staff for clinical services;

(10) Supervision of clinical social work associates is provided
on a regular basis;

(11) Evaluation of the competence of social workers who pro-
vide social work services at the organization is provided on a regu-
lar basis; and

(12) Policies and procedures of the organization are available
in written form for the staff and clients.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 — 675.600 & 675.990

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.590

Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 2-

1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 2-1993,

f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 2-2005, f.
& cert. ef. 12-22-05; BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0005
Rules Applicable to Certification and Licensing

This division of rules contains:

(1) The requirements to obtain and renew a certificate of social
work associate.

(2) The requirements to obtain and renew a clinical social work
license.

(3) The rules regarding the surrender and reissuance of a license.
(4) The rules regarding the surrender and reissuance of a cer-
tificate.

(5) The process of de-activating and re-activating a license.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.537

Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90;
BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01; BCSW
1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0008
Licensing Requirements

To be eligible for an initial license, except when the provisions
of OAR 877-020-0016 apply, a person must meet the requirements
in sections (1) through (5) of this rule:

(1) The person must complete the requirements in OAR 877-
020-00009 to receive a certificate of social work associate and must
hold a current certificate in good standing.

(2) The person must be fit to practice social work in Oregon.
The board uses the following standard and procedure to make a fit-
ness determination:

(a) To be fit to practice social work in Oregon, the person must
have demonstrated and must currently have:

(A) Good moral character. For purposes of this rule, lack of
“good moral character” may be established by reference to acts or
conduct which would cause a reasonable person to have substantial
doubts about the individual’s honesty, fairness, and respect for the
rights of others and for the laws of the state and the nation. The con-
duct or acts in question should be rationally connected to the appli-
cant’s fitness to practice clinical social work; and

(B) A personal history of conduct that is consistent with the
standards contained in division 30 of this chapter of rules.

(b) In the event the person’s history includes conduct that may
call into question the person’s fitness, the board will consider, if made
available by the person, the amount of time elapsed since the con-
duct and the person’s relevant conduct since the questioned conduct,
including remedial or compensatory actions taken by the person, if
appropriate.

(3) The person must not be the subject of a pending investiga-
tion or disciplinary action by a regulatory board.

(4) The person must complete the requirements of an approved
plan of practice and supervision in accordance with the rules in this
division of rules.

(5) The person must meet the following requirements for tak-
ing and passing written examinations:

(a) Within two years following the board’s authorization to take
the exams, the person must pass both the examination administered
by the board on the subjects listed in section (6)(a) of this rule and
a national examination for clinical social workers administered by
an organization approved by the board on the subjects listed in sec-
tion (6)(b) of this rule.

(b) An applicant who fails either portion of the examination a
second time must obtain special permission from the board to take
any subsequent examination. The board may approve the request if
the last report required by OAR 877-020-0012(2)(e)(A) has been
received by the board and shows the associate is meeting the require-
ments of the plan and that the associate otherwise meets the require-
ments for licensure.

(c) To pass the two required examinations, the candidate must
score not less than the following:

(A) For the examination on the Oregon statutes and rules — a
score of 90 percent.

(B) For the national examination — a score of 70.

(6) The subjects tested on the exam are:

(a) For the portion of the examination on the Oregon statutes
and rules:

(A) The contents of ORS 675.510 to 675.600 and OAR chap-
ter 877, which are the Oregon statutes and administrative rules gov-
erning the practice standards and responsibilities of a licensed clin-
ical social worker.

(B) Oregon Revised Statutes relating to mental health practice
that may be relevant to clinical social work practice.
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(b) For the national portion of the examination:

(A) Human Development and Behavior.

(B) Issues of Diversity.

(C) Diagnosis and Assessment.

(D) Psychotherapy and Clinical Practice.

(E) Communication.

(F) The Therapeutic Relationship.

(G) Professional Values and Ethics.

(H) Clinical Supervision, Consultation, and Staft Development.

(I) Practice Evaluation and the Utilization of Research.

() Service Delivery.

(K) Clinical Practice and management in the Organizational
Setting.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 — 675.600 & 675.990

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.535

Hist.: BCSW 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90; BCSW 3-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef.

10-15-90; BCSW 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-91; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-

30-91; BCSW 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-92; BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-

93; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-99;

BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01; BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0009
Requirements for Certificate of Clinical Social Work Associate

To be eligible for an initial certificate of social work associate,
a person must:

(1) Submit a complete and accurate application on a form pro-
vided by the board.

(2) Hold a master’s degree in social work from a college or uni-
versity accredited by a credentialing body approved by the board.

(3) Submit to the board for approval and, following approval,
satisfactorily work toward completing an approved plan of practice
and supervision that:

(a) Shows that the person will meet the requirements in OAR
877-020-0010(3) while working in an agency that:

(A) Provides the associate with sufficient support to progress
toward licensure;

(B) Screens patients who are served by the agency and by the
associate; and

(C) Either:

(i) Is licensed by the Oregon Department of Human Services;
or

(ii) If not required to be licensed by the Oregon Department of
Human Services, is in compliance with the requirements to conduct
business in Oregon.

(b) Requires a minimum of 3,500 practice hours of which at
least 2,000 hours must involve direct contact with a client of the
agency.

(c) Provides for supervision of the associate that meets the
requirements of OAR 877-020-0012.

(d) Provides that the associate meet with the plan supervisor for
a minimum of one hour not fewer than two times a month. This
requirement of the supervision is not met through a training or
administrative activity. The associate may meet alone with the super-
visor (individual supervision) or may meet with the supervisor and
as many as four other mental health professionals (group supervi-
sion).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 — 675.600 & 675.990

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.537

Hist.: BCSW 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-

91; BCSW 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-92; BCSW 2-1993, . & cert. ef. 10-13-93;

BCSW 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-99; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05; BCSW

1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0010
Plan of Practice and Supervision
(1) After a person submits an application described in OAR
877-020-0009, the board will inform the person whether the appli-
cation, including the plan of practice and supervision, is approved.
(2) After an application has been approved, an associate may
request a change to a plan of practice and supervision by submitting
arequest to the board that provides a justification for the change and
ensures that the plan, as modified, will meet the requirements of this
division of rules.

(3) For the associate to satisfactorily complete a plan of prac-
tice and supervision, the following requirements must be met while
the associate is working under an approved plan of practice and
supervision:

(a) The contact with clients described in OAR 877-020-
0009(3)(b) must be direct contact during which the associate prac-
tices social work, which is defined in ORS 675.510(2).

(b) The associate must meet with a supervisor identified in the
plan, as required in OAR 877-020-0009(3)(d):

(A) For a total of 100 hours over a period of not less than 24
consecutive months nor more than 60 consecutive months, of which
a minimum of 50 hours must be individual supervision. The associ-
ate must meet at least twice each month with a plan supervisor for
a minimum of one hour. If there is a second supervisor for group
supervision, the requirement in this paragraph is met by a single one-
hour meeting with each supervisor.

(B) At least once each month with a plan supervisor for a min-
imum of one hour after the associate is authorized to take the exam-
ination identified in OAR 877-020-0008(5)(b).

(c) All supervision must be accomplished directly, in a profes-
sional setting.

(d) The associate must submit to the board, on a form provid-
ed by the board, each evaluation by the supervisor (or supervisors in
the event two are authorized) required by OAR 877-020-
0012(2)(e)(A) of the progress by the associate toward completion of
the plan.

(e) After April 1, 2009, the associate must pass the national
examination required by OAR 877-020-0008(4) by achieving a score
of not less than 70.

(f) The associate must work with each supervisor identified in
an approved plan for not less than six months unless a change in
supervision is required by the agency in which the associate is work-

ing and the board approves the change.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.537
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, . & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
1987, f. & ef. 12-29-87; BCSW 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90; BCSW 2-1991, f.
& cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-92; BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert.
ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05; BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08,
cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0012
Requirements of Supervision

(1) Qualifications of supervisor.

(a) The supervisor of the associate must be a licensed clinical
social worker, approved by the board at the time the applicant sub-
mits the plan of practice and supervision for approval, unless the
associate works more than 50 miles from the nearest licensed clin-
ical social worker able to serve as supervisor of the associate. In this
event, upon request of the associate, the board may authorize a super-
visor who is one of the following:

(A) A clinical psychologist licensed in Oregon, a psychiatrist
licensed in Oregon, or a person similarly qualified.

(B) A person who meets the following requirements for licen-
sure but has not been licensed by the board:

(i) The educational requirement in OAR 877-020-0009(2).

(ii) Field experience requirement described in OAR 877-020-
0009(3).

(b) The supervisor of the associate:

(A) Must have completed two years of licensed practice.

(B) Must have completed and reported to the board at least six
hours of continuing education hours described in OAR 877-025-
0006(1) or (2) in techniques of supervision within five years prior to
commencing the supervision of an associate.

(2) Requirements of the supervision.

(a) The associate may have one supervisor for individual super-
vision and a different supervisor for group supervision.

(b) The relationship between the supervisor and the associate
must be of a professional nature, and the ethical standards for social
workers, including standards contained in this division of rules, are
applicable to each of them.

(c) The supervisor must have the authority to direct the caseload
and treatment plans of the associate.
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(d) In order that the goals of the supervision are reached:

(A) The supervisor and associate are expected to discuss cases
with each other based on case notes, charts, records, and audio or
visual tapes of clients, if available.

(B) The associate must present to the supervisor assessments,
diagnoses, and treatment plans of clients seen by the associate.

(C) The treatment plans presented by the associate must be
appropriate, and the supervisor must focus on the therapeutic skill
of the associate in promoting change in the client.

(D) The supervisor must have the authority to determine the
appropriateness of the associate’s client population to the associate’s
level of expertise.

(e) A licensed clinical social worker or other person authorized
by the board who agrees to supervise an associate must:

(A) Submit to the board at intervals not to exceed six months
an evaluation of the associate’s progress toward completion of the
plan, on a form provided by the board.

(B) Report to the board in writing immediately in the event the
associate is not complying with the plan of practice and supervision.

(C) Report to the board in writing immediately in the event the
relationship between the supervisor and the associate ends earlier
than the date provided for in the Plan.

(D) Make other reports as required by the board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.990

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.537

Hist.: BCSW 1-1987, f. & ef. 12-29-87; BCSW 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90;
BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-30-92; BCSW
2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05; BCSW 1-2008,
f.6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0015
Required Documentation

The board will accept as evidence that an applicant meets the
degree requirement in OAR 877-020-0009(2) only:

(1) A certified transcript from the institution awarding the
degree; or

(2) A copy of a transcript from the awarding institution or other
written verification provided by the social work registry maintained

by the Association of Social Work Boards.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.535
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
1987, f. & ef. 12-29-87; BCSW 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90; BCSW 2-1991, f.
& cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 1-1992, . & cert. ef. 6-30-92; BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert.
ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01; BCSW 2-2005, . & cert. ef.
12-22-05; BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0016
Licensing of People Qualified in Another Jurisdiction

A person licensed, certified, or registered as a clinical social
worker in another jurisdiction is eligible to be licensed in Oregon if:

(1) The person meets the education requirement in OAR 877-
020-0009(2);

(2) The person is fit to practice social work in Oregon and is not
subject of an investigation or disciplinary action by a licensing board;

(3) As a condition of licensure, certification, or registration in
the other jurisdiction, the person was required to meet requirements
for supervised practice substantially equivalent to those set out in this
division of rules; and

(4) The person successfully completes the exam on Oregon law
and the national exam for clinical social worker described in and sub-

ject to the limitation in OAR 877-020-0008(4).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.535(4)
Hist.: BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 9-14-
98; BCSW 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-99; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05;
BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0020
Fees for Certification and Licensing

Following are the fees due, without pro ration, in connection
with obtaining and retaining a certificate or license under this divi-
sion of rules:

(1) With an application for a certificate — $150

(2) With an application for a license — $150

(3) For the initial certificate — $60

(4) For the renewal of a certificate — $60

(5) For the initial license — $130

(6) For the renewal of a license — $130

(7) For a renewal of an inactive license — $48

(8) For a request for renewal of a certificate or license received
by the board after the certificate or license has expired — $50 in addi-

tion to the fee required by this rule for renewal.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.571
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, . & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
1988, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-88; BCSW 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90; BCSW 2-1993,
f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-1995, f. 6-26-95, cert. ef. 7-1-95; BCSW 2-
1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-1-99 thru 11-1-99; BCSW 3-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-
13-99; BCSW 1-2003(Temp), f. 5-15-03, cert. ef. 7-1-03 thru 12-28-03; BCSW
2-2003, f. 11-21-03, cert. ef. 12-1-03; BCSW 1-2005(Temp), f. 9-15-05, cert. ef.
10-1-05 thru 3-30-06; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05; BCSW 1-2008, f.
6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0030
Renewals of Certificates and Licenses

(1) The holder of a certificate or license may renew it by time-
ly submitting the following to the board:

(a) A completed application for renewal.

(b) The fee required by OAR 877-020-0020.

(2) The board will act on an application only if, not later than
30 days after the person’s birth month, the complete application and
required fee are received by the board.

(3) The board will issue a certificate upon renewal only if the
last report required by OAR 877-020-0012(2)(e)(A) has been
received by the board and demonstrates that satisfactory progress is
being made toward completion of the associate’s current board-
approved plan of practice and supervision.

(4) The application for renewal of a license must show that the
licensee:

(a) Has been actively engaged in clinical social work during the
effective period of the current license; and

(b) Has met the requirement for continuing education in divi-
sion 25 of this chapter of rules.

(5) If the application for renewal of a certificate or license fails
to meet the requirements of this rule, the application is incomplete

and will not be acted upon by the board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.560
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
1987, f. & ef. 12-29-87; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 2-1993, f.
& cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-2001, f. &
cert. ef. 5-4-01; BCSW 1-2005(Temp), f. 9-15-05, cert. ef. 10-1-05 thru 3-30-06;
BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05; BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-
08

877-020-0031
Surrender of License or Certificate

(1) A licensed clinical social worker or clinical social work
associate may offer to surrender his or her license or certificate at any
time.

(2) No complaint pending. If no complaint is pending at the
time an offer to surrender is received, the board may accept the sur-
render and void the license or certificate.

(3) Complaint pending:

(a) A licensed clinical social worker or clinical social work
associate may offer to surrender his or her license or certificate after
a complaint has been filed with the board or after the board has ini-
tiated disciplinary action. Such an offer to surrender may be accept-
ed by the board, and the board may make acceptance contingent upon
terms of a final order in a contested case.

(b) If the surrender of a license or certificate is required by a
final order in a contested case, the final order may specify whether
and under what conditions the holder of the license or certificate may
apply for a new license or certificate and may attach conditions that

restrict the use of the license or certificate.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595
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Hist.: BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-
05; BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0036
Reissuance of Certificate or License

(1) Following the voluntary surrender of a certificate or license
under OAR 877-020-0031(2), the board may reissue it if:

(a) The applicant submits a letter to the board explaining the
reasons for returning to practice;

(b) The board approves the applicant’s proposal to demonstrate
competence to hold the certificate or license. The plan may involve
participation in continuing education programs or clinical supervi-
sion; and

(c) The applicant takes and passes the examinations described
in OAR 877-020-0008.

(2) If the board accepts a voluntary surrender of a certificate or
license after a complaint was filed with the board against the hold-
er while the complaint is pending, the board may reissue the cer-
tificate or license under conditions that take into account the cir-
cumstances of the surrender and may attach conditions to the
certificate or license, including conditions contained in a final order
if one was served in connection with the surrender. The board will
not reinstate a license or certificate that has been surrendered. A per-
son who surrenders a certificate or license may apply for a new
license three years after the date the surrender was accepted by the
board.

(3) If the board revokes or refuses to renew a certificate or
license, other than for the holder’s failure to timely apply for renew-
al, the former holder may request reissuance at the expiration of three
years from the time it was revoked. The board may reissue the license
upon finding the applicant is fit to practice social work and otherwise
meets the requirements for licensure and may attach conditions to the
certificate or license, including conditions contained in a final order
if one was served in connection with the revocation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595

Hist.: BCSW 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-90; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-

91; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-
1-08

877-020-0046
Inactive Status for Licensees

(1) Upon written request and certification by a licensed clini-
cal social worker who plans not to practice clinical social work in
Oregon for an extended period of time, the board may place a license
in inactive status.

(2) A licensed clinical social worker whose license is in inac-
tive status is subject to the requirements imposed on licensed clini-
cal social workers except for the requirement to submit annual
reports of continuing education.

(3) At the time a request to be placed on inactive status is sub-
mitted, a licensed clinical social worker must be current on the fees
required by OAR 877-020-0020. At the time of the request, and at
the time of each renewal of the license while it is inactive, the
licensee must certify on a form provided by the board that the
licensee will not use the title of licensed clinical social worker while
the license is inactive.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.560

Hist.: BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-

97; BCSW 1-2005(Temp), f. 9-15-05, cert. ef. 10-1-05 thru 3-30-06; BCSW 2-

2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05; BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-020-0055
Return to Active Status for Licensees

(1) The holder of an inactive license may submit a written
request to the board to return to active status.

(2) As a condition of approving the request, the board may
require the applicant to complete continuing education in specified
topics. Normally, the board will not impose a requirement to com-
plete continuing education if the period of inactive status is less than
two years.

(3) As a condition of approving the request, the board may
require the applicant to work under a plan of practice and supervi-

sion, or to meet other requirements that demonstrate the candidate’s
fitness before re-activating the license. The requirement to work
under a plan of practice and supervision is based on the candidate’s
circumstances, including the candidate’s practice experience and the
duration of the inactive period. Normally, the board will not impose
arequirement to work under a plan of practice and supervision if the
period of inactive status is less than five years.

(4) The holder of an inactive license must pass the examination
on Oregon statutes and rules described in OAR 877-020-0008(6) if
the request to return to active status is received by the board more
than 36 months after the board notified the licensee that the license

was inactive.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Hist.: BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05; BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef.
7-1-08

DIVISION 22
CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECK

877-022-0005
Requirements Pertaining to Criminal Records Check

(1) A person who wishes to be certified or licensed under this
chapter must be fit to practice clinical social work as defined in OAR
877-020-0008. As part of a fitness determination, the board consid-
ers past conduct, including conduct that resulted in a criminal con-
viction, that is related to a person’s honesty, or is related to the prac-
tice of social work. The purpose of this rule is to implement ORS
181.534(9) and provide for criminal records checks by the board. The
results of criminal records checks are used by the board to determine
fitness to practice clinical social work.

(2) The following persons must, upon request of the board, take
the steps necessary to complete a request for a state or nationwide
criminal records check under ORS 181.534:

(a) A person whose application form and fees for a certificate
of clinical social work associate is received by the board on or after
July 1,2008.

(b) A person whose application form and fees for a license as
a licensed clinical social worker is received by the board on or after
July 1,2008.

(c) The holder of a certificate of clinical social work associate
or a license as a licensed clinical social worker who is the subject of
inquiry by the board.

(3) To complete the request for criminal records, the board may
require the person to:

(a) Provide information necessary to obtain the criminal records
check.

(b) Provide fingerprints on forms made available by the board.

(c) Pay the actual cost to the board of conducting the criminal
records check.

(4) In reviewing the information obtained from a criminal
records check, the board may consider:

(a) Any criminal conviction and related information a court
could consider in imposing a punishment, in compliance with ORS
670.280

(b) Any arrests and records related to any crime that may be
indicative of a person’s inability to perform as a licensee or certifi-
cate holder with care and safety to the public.

(5) Fitness determination. In deciding whether an individual is
fit to hold a license or certificate, the board may consider:

(a) A criminal records background check.

(b) F statements made by the individual regarding criminal his-
tory of the individual.

(c) A refusal to submit or consent to a criminal records check
including fingerprint identification.

(d) Other pertinent information obtained as part of an investi-
gation.

(6) The board may make a fitness determination conditional
upon the individual’s acceptance of probation, conditions, limita-
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tions, or other restrictions upon licensure or certification. In the
process followed by the board for making a fitness determination, the
following apply:

(a) A person identified in section (2) of this rule who makes a
false statement regarding the person’s criminal history is unfit and
subject to denial of an application for license or certificate or to dis-
ciplinary action authorized in ORS 675.510 to 675.990, including
denial of an application for licensure or certification.

(b) If a person identified in section (2) of this rule refuses to con-
sent to a criminal records check or refuses to be fingerprinted, the
board will revoke the person’s license or certificate or, in the case of
an applicant for a certificate or license, will consider the application
incomplete.

(c) For all fitness determinations not covered by subsection (a)
or (b) of this section, the board will consider, at a minimum, the fol-
lowing:

(A) The nature of the crime of which the person has been con-
victed or indicted;

(B) The facts that support the conviction or pending indictment
or that indicate the making of the false statement;

(C) The relevancy, if any, of the crime or the false statement to
the specific requirements of the person’s present or proposed posi-
tion as a holder of a certificate or license; and

(D) Intervening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities
and circumstances of the position as a holder of a certificate or
license. Intervening circumstances include but are not limited to the
following factors with respect to a crime of which the person has
been convicted:

(1) The passage of time since the commission of the crime;

(ii) The age of the subject individual at the time of the crime;

(iii) The likelihood of a repetition of an offense or of the com-
mission of another crime;

(iv) The subsequent commission of another relevant crime;

(v) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of
setting aside the conviction; and

(vi) A recommendation of an employer who employed the per-
son after the conviction.

(E) Other relevant information.

(7) Protection of information:

(a) Information obtained by the board in carrying out its respon-
sibilities under this rule is considered part of the investigation of an
applicant or licensee and is confidential under ORS 676.175.

(b) Criminal offender information obtained from the Law
Enforcement Data System must be handled in accordance with the
applicable requirements in ORS chapter 181 and OAR chapter 257,
division 15.

(8) The board will permit the person for whom a fingerprint-
based criminal records check is conducted to inspect the individu-
al’s own state and national criminal offender records in the posses-
sion of the board and, if requested by the applicant, provide the
individual with a copy of those records.

(9) Challenges to the accuracy or completeness of information
provided by the Oregon Department of State Police, the Federal
Bureau of Investigation, or an agency reporting information to the
Oregon Department of State Police or Federal Bureau of Investiga-
tion must be made through the Oregon Department of State Police,
Federal Bureau of Investigation, or the reporting agency and not to
the board.

(10) A person against whom disciplinary action is taken by the
board on the basis of information obtained as the result of a crimi-
nal records check conducted pursuant to this rule is entitled to notice
and hearing in accordance with the provisions for contested cases in

ORS chapter 183.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510(3), 675.530(1)(3), 675.535(1), 675.537(1)(3), 675.560
(2),675.571(4), 675.595(3), 675.600(1)(a)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Hist.: BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

DIVISION 25

CONTINUING EDUCATION REPORTING
REQUIREMENTS

877-025-0001
General
A licensed clinical social worker must complete and report con-
tinuing education according to the requirements in this division of
rules.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510(3), 675.530(1)(3), 675.535(1), 675.537(1)(3), 675.560
(2), 675.571(4), 675.595(3), 675.600(1)(a)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Hist.: BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-025-0006
Types of Continuing Education

To meet the requirements of this division of rules, continuing
education must be one of the following:

(1) A conference, seminar, or workshop that:

(a) Addresses subjects related to the licensee’s work practice;

(b) Is attended by the licensee in person, on-line or through a
web cast; and

(c) Is provided or approved by a credentialing body recognized
and approved by the board. The board recognizes and approves a cre-
dentialing body based on the following practices of the body:

(A) The body uses an established process for determining which
training to provide or approve.

(B) The body uses an established process for determining who
will present the training.

(C) The body provides, with respect to the training, written
materials that demonstrate the relevance of the training to the field
of clinical social work.

(D) The body establishes an appropriate number of continuing
education credits for the training.

(E) The body verifies the credentials of the presenters of the
training.

(F) The body uses an established system for the evaluation of
presenters.

(G) The body provides a certificate of completion to those who
attend, based on actual attendance.

(2) A conference, seminar, or workshop that:

(a) Meets the following requirements:

(A) Is related to the field of clinical social work;

(B) Addresses subjects related to the licensee’s work practice;

(C) Is not provided or approved by a credentialing body rec-
ognized and approved by the board; and

(D) Is attended by the licensee in person, on-line, or through a
web cast.

(b) Is approved by the board based on the licensee’s written
application that:

(A) Contains the following information:

(1) Name or description of the event

(ii) Date of the event

(iii) Brief description of the training sufficient to show that the
training meets the requirements of section (2)(a) of this rule.

(iv) Name and credentials of each presenter

(v) Number of continuing education units requested

(vi) Copy of the certificate of completion

(B) Is received by the board not later than the time of the sub-
mission of the report required by OAR 877-025-0021 and not later
than 45 days prior to the last day of the birth month of the licensee.

(3) A course related to social work at an accredited college or
university.

(4) A training video or audio recording approved by a creden-
tialing body recognized and approved by the board. Successful com-
pletion is demonstrated by award to the licensee by the credential-
ing body.

(5) Participation in a study group, subject to the following lim-
itations:

(a) The group must contain a minimum of five and a maximum
of 10 licensed mental health professionals who meet for a minimum
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of an hour on a scheduled basis to discuss topics directly related to
the field of clinical social work.

(b) The focus of the group’s meeting must be a presentation or
discussion of a book or article published by a professional body.

(c) The topics of the group’s discussion must be directly relat-
ed to established mental health care and relevant to good practice.

(d) A maximum of two hours may be credited for a group meet-
ing.

(e) Credit for participation in a study group must be approved
in advance by the board. To apply for approval, a licensee must sub-
mit the names of the group members and discussion topics to the
board.

(6) Development and presentation of a conference, workshop,
or seminar that would be countable for credit under section (1) or (2)

of this rule.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510(3), 675.530(1)(3), 675.535(1),675.537(1)(3), 675.560
(2),675.571(4), 675.595(3), 675.600(1)(a)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Hist.: BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-025-0011
Required Hours of Continued Education

(1) Generally.

(a) A licensee is required to report continuing education for all
periods during which the licensee’s license is active except for the
period covered by the initial license, unless a waiver is granted under
section (2) of this rule. An initial license is the first license issued by
the board to the licensee.

(b) Following the first renewal of a license, except when the
licensee is on inactive status, the licensee must complete continuing
education in each reporting period at the times described in OAR
877-025-0021. The holder of an inactive license is not required to
submit the biennial report.

(c) A report covering a two-year period must contain a mini-
mum of 40 hours of creditable continuing education. A report that
covers shorter period, as may happen in the case of the first report
by a new licensee or following the reactivation of a license, must con-
tain a minimum of 20 hours of creditable continuing education for
each year covered by the report.

(2) Waiver of requirement.

(a) Upon timely written request of a licensee, made as soon as
the licensee is aware of the possible need for a waiver, the board may
reduce the number of hours required in the event the licensee is
unable, due to circumstances beyond the reasonable control of the
licensee, to complete the number of hours of continued education
required by this division of rules.

(b) A reduction authorized by the board would normally reflect
the licensee’s ability to attend training during the time not affected
by the adverse circumstances leading to the request. For instance, a
licensee unaffected by the adverse circumstance during the first year
of a two-year reporting period would be expected to obtain 20 hours
of credit.

(c) Examples of circumstances that may justify a waiver are:

(A) A circumstance beyond the reasonable control of the
licensee makes it impracticable for the licensee to attend training for
an extended time.

(B) The health of the licensee or of another person makes it

impracticable for the licensee to attend training for an extended time.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510(3), 675.530(1)(3), 675.535(1), 675.537(1)(3), 675.560
(2), 675.571(4), 675.595(3), 675.600(1)(a)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Hist.: BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-025-0016
Limitations on Types of Continuing Education

The number of hours creditable in a two-year reporting period
is subject to the following provisions:

(1) A licensee must report a total of six or more hours of con-
tinuing education in ethics:

(a) In the first biennial report required by OAR 877-025-0021
for a two-year period that ends after January 1,2009; and

(b) In each alternate biennial report due thereafter.

(2) No more than 10 hours of continuing education described
in OAR 877-025-0006(2)(b) may be credited in a report.

(3) No more than 20 hours of continuing education described
in OAR 877-025-0006(5) may be credited in a report.

(4) A licensee who reports more than 40 hours for a two-year
reporting period or 20 for a one-year reporting period may carry over
and report the excess hours again in the next required report. No more
than 10 hours may be carried over to the next reporting period. Only
hours described in OAR 877-025-0006(1), (2), or (3) may be carried
over.

(5) If the first reporting period is one year rather than two, the
limits in sections (2) and (3) of this rule are pro-rated.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510(3), 675.530(1)(3), 675.535(1), 675.537(1)(3), 675.560

(2), 675.571(4), 675.595(3), 675.600(1)(a)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600

Hist.: BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

877-025-0021
Reporting Requirements

(1) Licensees must report the completion of continuing educa-
tion every two years on forms prescribed by the board. The report
must be made at the time the licensee submits an application to renew
the license as follows:

(a) A licensee whose license number ends with an odd number
must submit the report of continuing education in odd-numbered
years.

(b) A licensee whose license number ends with an even num-
ber must submit the report of continuing education in even-numbered
years.

(2) The report of continuing education is part of the renewal
application and must contain information sufficient to demonstrate
that the licensee has met the requirements in this division of rules.
A licensee who fails to meet the requirements is subject to a denial
of the application for renewal unless the failure was due to circum-
stances beyond the reasonable control of the licensee and the licensee
agrees to a plan to compensate for the deficiency.

(3) The Board conducts routine, random audits of reports of
continuing education at the time of the biennial report. Because a
licensee is informed of an audit at the end of the reporting period,
licensees must retain certificates, program information, and other
documents needed to demonstrate that the licensee met the require-
ments of this division of rules and must provide them to the Board

upon request.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510(3), 675.530(1)(3), 675.535(1), 675.537(1)(3), 675.560
(2),675.571(4), 675.595(3), 675.600(1)(a)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600
Hist.: BCSW 1-2008, f. 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08

DIVISION 30

CODE OF ETHICS FOR CLINICAL SOCIAL
WORK ASSOCIATES AND LICENSED
CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKERS

877-030-0025
Applicability

The provisions of OAR chapter 877 division 30 apply to appli-
cants for Certificate of Clinical Social Work Associate, applicants for
licensure, Clinical Social Work Associates, and Licensed Clinical
Social Workers.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595

Hist.: BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-030-0030
Ethical Responsibility

Clinical Social Workers’ ethical responsibilities to their clients
begin when the client-provider contract is entered into by the Clin-
ical Social Worker and the client and remain in effect until the con-
tract is terminated by either party, except as provided in OAR 877-
030-0070.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595
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Hist.: BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-1994, . & cert. ef. 2-17-
94; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-030-0040
Conduct and Reporting Requirements of Clinical Social
Workers and Clinical Social Work Associates

(1) Conduct: The following minimum standards of profession-
al conduct apply to clinical social workers:

(a) Private conduct of Clinical Social Workers is a personal mat-
ter to the same extent as with any other person, except when that con-
duct compromises the fulfillment of professional responsibilities.

(b) Clinical Social Workers may not participate in, condone, or
be associated with dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation.

(c) Clinical Social Workers may not misrepresent their profes-
sional qualifications, education, experience, or affiliations.

(2) Reporting Requirements:

(a) Licensed Clinical Social Workers and Clinical Social Work
Associates must report to the Board as soon as possible, but not later
than 30 days after:

(A) Receiving notice of any civil lawsuit, criminal indictment,
or court-ordered diversion;

(B) Arrest or conviction for driving under the influence of intox-
icants;

(C) In-patient psychiatric hospitalization or psychiatric day
treatment; or

(D) The initiation of a regulatory action related to the Licensed
Clinical Social Worker’s or Clinical Social Work Associate’s pro-
fessional conduct.

(b) Clinical Social Workers must report child and elderly abuse
as required by ORS 419B.005 to 419B.050 and 124.050 to 124.095.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595

Hist.: BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-

01; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05; BCSW 1-2008, . 6-27-08, cert. ef. 7-

1-08

877-030-0050
Professional Education
Licensed Clinical Social Workers must maintain their profes-
sional competency by meeting the continuing education requirements
set out in OAR 877-025-0000.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595
Hist.: BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-
01; BCSW 2-2005, . & cert. ef. 12-22-05

877-030-0070
Ethical Responsibility to Clients

The Clinical Social Worker’s primary responsibility is to clients.
Clinical Social Workers must serve clients with professional skill and
competence including but not limited to the following:

(1) Dual Relationship:

(a) Clinical Social Workers must not violate their position of
power, trust, and dependence;

(b) Clinical Social Workers may not enter into a relationship
with a client that conflicts with the ability of the client to benefit from
social work practice;

(c) Clinical Social Workers may not enter into a relationship
with a client that may impair the Clinical Social Worker’s profes-
sional judgment or increase the risk of exploitation of the client;

(d) Clinical Social Workers may not enter into a relationship
with a client that increases the risk of exploitation for the client for
the Clinical Social Worker’s advantage;

(e) Clinical Social Workers may not enter into therapeutic rela-
tionships with any employee, supervisee, close colleague, or relative,
or with any other person where there is a risk that the relationship
would impair the Clinical Social Worker’s judgment and increase risk
of client exploitation.

(f) Clinical Social Workers may not enter into an employer,
supervisor, or any other relationship where there is a potential for
exercising undue influence on a client. This includes the sale of ser-
vices or goods in a manner that might exploit a client for the finan-
cial gain or personal gratification of the Clinical Social Worker or a
third party, or if there is a risk that such a relationship would be like-

ly to impair the Clinical Social Worker’s judgment and increase the
risk of client exploitation. This applies both to current clients and to
those to whom the Clinical Social Worker, has at anytime in the pre-
vious year, rendered services as a Clinical Social Worker.

(g) Clinical Social Workers may not, under any circumstances,
engage in or solicit sexual acts or engage in any conduct, verbal
behavior or other communication with or towards a client that may
reasonably be interpreted as sexual, seductive or sexually demean-
ing. This prohibition applies to current clients and to clients to whom
the Clinical Social Worker has at anytime within the previous three
years provided clinical social work services. The client’s consent to,
initiation of, or participation in, sexual behavior with the Clinical
Social

Worker does not change the prohibited nature of the conduct.

(2) Clinical Social Workers must provide services with profes-
sional skill, cultural awareness, and language competency with
respect to each client’s needs.

(3) Clinical Social Workers may not provide inappropriate or
unnecessary treatment of therapy to clients.

(4) Clinical Social Workers must provide clients with accurate
and complete information regarding the extent and nature of services
available. This includes the risks, rights, opportunities, and obliga-
tions associated with the provision of professional services to the
client.

(5) Clinical Social Workers must seek consultation or make
referrals whenever it may improve the provision of professional ser-
vice and is in the best interest of the client.

(6) Clinical Social Workers may not attempt to provide services
to clients outside their area of competence, training, and qualifica-
tions established in their practice and continuing education.

(7) Clinical Social Workers must terminate services to clients
when their services are no longer required or no longer serve the
client’s needs or interests.

(8) Clinical Social Workers may withdraw services precipi-
tously only under unusual circumstances, giving careful considera-
tion to all factors in the situation and taking care to minimize pos-
sible adverse effect. Clinical Social Workers in fee-for-service
settings may terminate services to clients who are not paying an over-
due balance if the client does not pose an imminent danger to self or
others; if the financial arrangements have been made clear to the
client; and if the clinical and other consequences of nonpayment have
been addressed and discussed with the client.

(9) Clinical Social Workers who anticipate the termination or
interruption of service to clients must notify those clients promptly
and provide for transfer, referral, or continuation of service in rela-
tion to the client’s needs and preferences.

(10) Clinical Social Workers may not violate the legal rights of
their clients:

(a) When a Clinical Social Worker must act on behalf of a client
who has been adjudged legally incompetent, the Clinical Social
Worker must safeguard the interests and rights of that client.

(b) When another individual is legally authorized to act on
behalf of a client, Clinical Social Workers may conduct business with
that person, always keeping the client’s best interests in mind.

(11) Except as permitted in ORS 675.580 and 40.250, Clinical
Social Workers must respect the privacy of clients and hold in con-
fidence information obtained in the course of professional contact
between client and the Clinical Social Worker.

(a) Information received from a potential client at the point of
initial contact must be treated with the same respect for privacy as
that of information received from a client.

(b) Clinical Social Workers must inform clients fully about the
limits of client-therapist confidentiality.

(c) Clinical Social Workers must provide clients reasonable
access to records concerning them and should take due care to pro-
tect the confidences of others contained in those records. Client
access to their own records should be restricted only in exceptional
circumstances when there is compelling evidence that access would
cause harm to the client. Clinical Social Workers who are concerned
that client access to their own records could cause serious misunder-
standing or harm to the client should assist the client in interpreting
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the records. Both the client’s request and the rationale for with-
holding some or all of the record should be documented in the case
file.

(d) Clinical Social Workers must obtain informed consent from
clients before taping, recording, or permitting third party observation
of their activities.

(e) Clinical Social Workers, when making reports, must obtain
a release of confidentiality and shall avoid undue invasion of priva-
cy by only presenting patient data pertinent to the purpose of the
report.

(12) Fees. Clinical Social Workers in fee-for-service settings
may charge reasonable fees and must inform clients of the fee
arrangement before providing services.

(13) Clinical Social Workers may not solicit the clients of col-
leagues.

(14) Clinical Social Workers may not solicit clients from their
employer for private practice.

(15) Clinical Social Workers may not assume professional
responsibility for the clients of another agency or colleague without
appropriate communication with that agency or colleague.

(16) Clinical Social Workers must relate to the clients of col-
leagues with full professional consideration.

(17) A Clinical Social Worker who serves the clients of col-
leagues, during a temporary absence or emergency, must serve those

clients with the same professional competence as to his or her own.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Hist.: BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-
94; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01;
BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05

877-030-0080
Administrators, Supervisors, and Teachers of Clinical Practice

Administrators, supervisors, and teachers must promote con-
ditions that foster and support ethical and competent professional
performance:

(1) The same ethical considerations exist between supervisor
and supervisee as exits between Clinical Social Workers and clients.

(2) Clinical Social Workers in the role of administrator, super-
visor, or teacher may not, under any circumstances, engage in a sex-
ual relationship with a supervisee or student.

(3) Clinical Social Workers in the role of administrator, super-
visor, or teacher may not enter into a therapeutic relationship with
any employee, supervisee, or student.

(4) Clinical Social Workers in the role of administrator, super-
visor, or teacher must explicitly define the conditions of their pro-
fessional relationship to their supervisees or students.

(5) Clinical Social Workers as an employer, or in the role of
administrator, supervisor, or teacher, must support and emphasize the
need for formulation, development, enactment, and implementation
of policies and agency rules which provide for safeguarding the rights
of clients.

(6) Clinical Social Workers as employer, or in the role of admin-
istrator, supervisor, or teacher, bear the ethical responsibility for per-
sons practicing under their direct supervision who are not regulated
by professional registration, certification, or license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 2-

1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; Renumbered

from 877-030-0015; BCSW 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-94; BCSW 1-1997,f. &
cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-030-0090
General Provisions Governing Conduct

(1) Unprofessional conduct is defined by, but not restricted to
the items set out in Division 30 of this Chapter. Violation of the Code
of Ethics may result in disciplinary proceedings under ORS 675.540.

(2) Clinical Social Workers must cooperate with the Board, its
investigators, or any of its committees in any investigation it may
make under OAR Chapter 877.

(3) Clinical Social Workers must fully comply with all Final

Orders issued by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595
Hist.: BCSW 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-
01; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05

877-030-0100
Disposition of Client Records in Case of Death or Incapacity
of Licensee

Licensed Clinical Social Workers in private practice shall make
necessary arrangements for maintenance of and access to client
records to ensure confidentiality in the event of the death or inca-
pacity of the licensee. The licensee shall name a qualified person to
intercede for client welfare and to make necessary referrals, when
appropriate, and shall keep the Board notified of the name of the
qualified person. The Board shall not release the name of the qual-
ified person except in the case of the death or incapacity of the
licensee, or if the licensee is Inactive and a former client is unable
to locate the licensee. A qualified person under this Rule shall be
defined as a Clinical Social Worker or other Licensed mental health

professional.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595
Hist.: BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05

DIVISION 35
IMPAIRED PROFESSIONAL PROGRAM

877-035-0000
Definitions

“Impaired Clinical Social Worker” shall mean a Licensed Clin-
ical Social Worker or a Clinical Social Work Associate who is unable
to engage in the practice of social work with the skill and competency
necessary for the protection of the public health because of substance
abuse, mental illness, or incapacity including, but not limited to:

(1) One who uses any controlled substance or intoxicating
liquor to an extent that such use impairs the ability to conduct safe-
ly the practice of clinical social work.

(2) One with a physical or mental condition that makes the

licensee unable to conduct safely the practice of clinical social work.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Hist.: BCSW 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-
91; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97

877-035-0005
Findings and Declarations

The Board pursuant to ORS 675.540(1)(c) finds that because of
the growing problem of chemical dependance and other infirmities
which affect the ability of social workers to engage in the practice
of social work, it is necessary in the interests of the protection of the
public health to identify the impaired social worker and to provide
rehabilitation opportunities for such impaired individuals on a vol-

untary or involuntary basis.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.583
Hist.: BCSW 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-035-0010
Identification and Rehabilitation

Mandatory reporting defined:

(1) It is not the intent of the Board of Clinical Social Workers
that each and every clinical social work error be reported.

(2) It is not the intent of the Board of Clinical Social Workers
that mandatory reporting take away the disciplinary ability and
responsibility from the employer of a Licensed Clinical Social Work-
er or Clinical Social Work Associate.

(3) Any Licensed Clinical Social Worker or Clinical Social
Work Associate knowing of a Licensed Clinical Social Worker or a
Clinical Social Work Associate whose behavior or practice fails to
meet professional standards for the level at which the social work-
er is certified or licensed, shall report the social worker to the per-
son in the work setting who has authority to institute corrective
action. In the event that the Licensed Clinical Social Worker has no
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direct supervisor, this report shall be made to the Board of Clinical
Social Workers.

(4) Any Licensed Clinical Social Worker or Clinical Social
Work Associate who has knowledge or concern that the Licensed
Clinical Social Worker or Clinical Social Work Associate’s behav-
ior or practice presents potential for or actual danger to the public
health, safety, and welfare, shall report or cause a report to be made
to the Board of Clinical Social Workers. Failure of any Licensed
Clinical Social Worker or Clinical Social Work Associate to comply
with this reporting requirement may in itself constitute a violation
of clinical social work standards.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.583

Hist.: BCSW 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-

91; BCSW 1-1997, . & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-2001, . & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-035-0012
Confidentiality of Information Supplied to the Board

(1) The records and proceedings compiled in regard to an
impaired social worker and his/her treatment shall be confidential and
shall not be considered as public records; provided, however, all such
information may be disclosed:

(a) In a disciplinary hearing before the State Board of Clinical
Social Workers or in a subsequent trial or appeal of a Board action
or order.

(b) To Boards of other licensing agencies of other jurisdictions.

(c) Pursuant to an order of court of competent jurisdiction.

(d) To the current employer of the licensee.

(2) The name of any social worker who voluntarily agrees to
enter a rehabilitation program and continues in such program includ-

ing the required aftercare shall not be published.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Hist.: BCSW 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-
91; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05

877-035-0013
Criteria which Disqualify People from Program

Criteria which disqualify Licensed Clinical Social Workers or
Clinical Social Work Associates from involvement in the Impaired
Professional Program are:

(1) Criminal history involving injury/endangerment;

(2) Sale or manufacture of illegal substances;

(3) Sexual offenders;

(4) Three previous disciplines from the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900

Hist.: BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05

877-035-0015
Procedure for Evaluation of Competency

(1) On its own motion or upon complaint by any person the
Board may require any person licensed under ORS 675.510 et seq.
to undergo evaluation and/or rehabilitative therapy for impairment
as defined above.

(2) The Board of Clinical Social Workers may impose one or
more of the disciplinary penalties designated in ORS 675.540(2)
against any social worker found to be an impaired social worker who:

(a) Refuses to cooperate with an evaluation ordered by the
Board.

(b) Refuses to enter a rehabilitation program or ongoing mon-
itoring recognized by the Board.

(c) Fails to sign a release allowing the Board to fully commu-
nicate with the rehabilitation program regarding the clinical social
worker’s progress or lack thereof.

(d) Fails to complete a rehabilitation program or ongoing mon-
itoring recognized by the Board.

(e) Is found by the Board not to be capable of rehabilitation
because of the severity of his or her impairment.

(3) The evaluation will be performed by a drug and evaluation
center or professional of the Board’s choosing. The evaluator shall
have access to all material regarding the Clinical Social Work Asso-
ciate or Licensed Clinical Social Worker in the Board’s files and will
have additional authority to contact all persons who have previous-

ly communicated to the Board regarding the alleged impaired status
of the Clinical Social Work Associate or Licensed Clinical Social

Worker.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.510 - 675.600 & 675.900
Hist.: BCSW 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-
91; BCSW 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-2005(Temp), f. 9-15-05, cert.
ef. 10-1-05 thru 3-30-06; BCSW 2-2005, . & cert. ef. 12-22-05

DIVISION 40

PROCEDURES FOR HANDLING COMPLAINTS
TO THE BOARD

877-040-0000
Management of Complaints

(1) The Board intends to provide fair, expeditious response to
complaints.

(2) A Board member who is unable to render an impartial, ob-
jective decision regarding any complaint shall abstain from partici-
pating in the preparation, hearing, deliberation and disposition of
such that complaint. An abstention shall be effective from the time
a Board member announces his/her the decision not to participate.

(3) If a Board member is a complainant or respondent in a com-
plaint, that Board member shall be disqualified from participating in
the preparation, hearing, deliberation and disposition of such the

complaint.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595(2)
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-99

877-040-0003
Definitions

The following definitions shall apply to this division:

(1) “Complaint” — A mandatory report or specific charge filed
on an approved form that a Clinical Social Worker who is a licensee
or candidate for license has committed an act in violation of ORS
675.540 or the Code of Ethics, OAR 877-030-0030 to 877-030-0090.
A “Complaint” shall specifically describe the act to the best of the
ability of the complainant. A “Complaint” shall identify by name the
complainant and respondent.

(2) “Consumer Protection Committee” — One or more Board
members charged with the investigation and preparation of reports
to the Board concerning complaints or alleged violations. The “Con-
sumer Protection Committee” shall have the full power of the Board
to conduct investigations, prepare reports, negotiate agreements, and
perform such other duties as may be prescribed by the Board from
time to time.

(3) “Complainant” — Any person or group of persons who files
a complaint. The Board may, on its own action, initiate an investi-
gation or file a complaint.

(4) “Contested Case” — A proceeding as defined in ORS
183.310(2).

(5) “Respondent” — A Clinical Social Worker who is a licensee
or candidate for license against whom a complaint has been filed.

(6) “Stipulated Agreement” — A written agreement entered into
at any time after a complaint has been filed which resolves such com-
plaint. A “stipulated agreement” shall be signed by the respondent
and the Chair or the Board’s designee, and shall include at least the
following statements:

(a) The agreement has been freely and voluntarily made by
respondent;

(b) An explanation of the particular facts and violations stipu-
lated to by the respondent and the Board; and

(c) Respondent’s agreement to accept a designated form of dis-

cipline in exchange for the agreement.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595
Hist.: BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW
1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01
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877-040-0010
Form of Complaints

(1) The Consumer Protection Committee shall investigate all
complaints made to the Board.

(2) If the complainant is a client or former client of the re-
spondent, the complainant must sign a waiver of confidentiality al-
lowing the Board and its counsel access to records and other ma-
terials which are the ethical and legal responsibility of the
respondent. Refusal by a complainant to comply with these require-
ments may result in dismissal of the complaint.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595(11)

Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-99

877-040-0015
Notification to Respondent

(1) The Consumer Protection Committee may send a letter to
the respondent stating the nature of the investigation. When appro-
priate, waivers of confidentiality shall be included with this letter. A
written reply, accompanied by any documentation the respondent
considers relevant, shall be requested within 30 days.

(2) If the respondent replies, the reply shall be reviewed by the
Consumer Protection Committee. Additional or more specific infor-
mation may be requested. Materials may be accepted from the
respondent or counsel. Written statements from any other persons
should be accompanied by an explanation of their relevance to the
matter under consideration.

(3) If the respondent does not reply, the Consumer Protection
Committee shall send a letter to the respondent noting the failure to
reply and requiring a response within 15 days of the date of mailing.
This letter shall inform the respondent that the Consumer Protection
Committee may recommend a disposition to the Board at its next reg-
ularly scheduled Board meeting. If there is no response, the Board
will proceed to review the complaint and determine what actions
shall be taken. The Committee may recommend that a formal hear-
ing be called even though there has been no response to the Board’s

request.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595(11)
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-9-99; BCSW 2-2005,
f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05

877-040-0020
Presentation to the Board

When all materials are assembled, the Consumer Protection
Committee may review the file in consultation with the Board’s
counsel. A designated Committee member will make a report to the
Board, following the procedures outlined in ORS 183.310 to
183.500, and shall clearly set forth the issues on which the Board

should consider possible action.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595
Hist.: BCSW 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-29-82; BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-
1997, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-040-0045
Stipulated Agreement

The Consumer Protection Committee shall submit any proposed
stipulated agreement to the full Board for consideration. If the Board
determines that approval is warranted, the Board may authorize the
Chair or the Board’s designee to sign the agreement on behalf of the
Board. If the Board determines that approval is not warranted, the
Board may direct the Consumer Protection Committee to renegoti-
ate the agreement, or may institute disciplinary action by contested

case notice pursuant to ORS 183.310 to 183.550.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595

Hist.: BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 1-1997,f. & cert. ef. 3-25-97; BCSW
1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01

877-040-0050
Contested Case Hearing

(1) When the Board institutes disciplinary actions, notice of pro-
posed actions, orders, or other official documents they must be served
by certified mail, return receipt requested, on respondents and their
attorneys. Notices must include:

(a) A short and plain statement of the matters charged.

(b) Reference to the particular sections of the Statutes and Rules
involved.

(c) A statement that respondents have the right to request a Con-
tested Case Hearing by filing a written request for hearing with the
Board within the time specified in the Notice.

(d) A statement that failure to file a timely request for hearing
shall be deemed a waiver of the right to a hearing under ORS Chap-
ter 183, unless the failure to file a timely request for hearing was
beyond the reasonable control of the respondent.

(e) A statement that the record of the complaint, including infor-
mation in the Board’s files related to the complaint, automatically
becomes part of the contested case record upon default for the pur-
pose of proving a prima facie case.

(2) If the Board disciplines a Licensed Clinical Social Worker
or a Clinical Social Work Associate, notice of this action will be
placed in the Directory of Clinical Social Work Associates and
Licensed Clinical Social Workers. Notice shall be published in the
official newspaper of the county where the Associate or licensee
practices and in Marion County. Notice shall be sent to the Oregon
Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) and
also published in the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB)
Disciplinary Action Reporting System (DARS). Thereafter, inquiries
about the respondent’s status should be answered by the Board’s
Administrator in accordance with ORS 676.175. Requests for addi-
tional information should be considered by the full Board, acting
with the advice of its counsel. Individual Board members and
employees of the Board shall abstain from discussion and disclosure
of details of complaints outside of the official activities described in

these Rules.
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595
Hist.: BCSW 1-1986, f. & ef. 7-7-86; BCSW 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 5-30-91; BCSW
2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-13-93; BCSW 1-1995, . 6-26-95, cert. ef. 7-1-95; BCSW
1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-4-01; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05

877-040-0055
Request for Hearing

(1) A Hearing Request and Answer shall be made in writing to
the Board by a party or his/her attorney and must be received by the
Board within the time specified in the Notice.

(2) An Answer shall include the following:

(a) An admission or denial of each factual matter alleged in the
Notice; and

(b) A short and plain statement of each relevant affirmative
defense the party may have to the allegations in the Notice.

(3) Except for good cause:

(a) Factual matters alleged in the Notice and not denied in the
Answer shall be presumed admitted;

(b) Failure to raise a particular defense in the Answer will be
considered a waiver of such defense;

(c) New matters alleged in the Answer (affirmative defenses)
shall be presumed to be denied by the Board; and

(d) Evidence shall not be taken on any issue not raised in the
Notice and Answer.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.510 - 675.600, 675.900 & 675.990

Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.595(11)

Hist.: BCSW 1-1995, f. 6-26-95, cert. ef. 7-1-95; BCSW 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-

9-99; BCSW 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 12-22-05
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