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DIVISION 1
PROCEDURAL RULES

847-001-0000
Notice of Proposed Rule

Prior to adoption, amendment or repeal of any permanent rule,
the Oregon Medical Board must give notice of the intended action:

(1) In the Secretary of State’s Bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360
at least 21 days before the effective date of the intended action.

(2) Mail a copy of the notice to persons on the Oregon Medical
Board’s mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335 (8) at least
28 days before the effective date of the rule;

(3) In regard to rules adopted on or after January 1, 2000, at least
49 days before the effective date of the rule, the Board must provide
notice to the persons specified in ORS 183.335(15); and

(4) Mail or furnish a copy of the notice to:

(a) The Associated Press; and

(b) The Capitol Press Room.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.341, 677.275

Hist.: ME 1-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88; ME 20-1994, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-94; BME
13-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 14-20006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; OMB 1-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-
12

847-001-0005
Model Rules for Contested Cases

The Oregon Medical Board adopts the Attorney General’s Uni-
form and Model Rules for Contested Cases of the Attorney General
in effect on January 1, (2008), and all amendments thereto are here-

by adopted by reference as rules of the Oregon Medical Board.
[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure is
available from the office of the Attorney General or the Medical Board.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.341, 677.275
Hist.: ME 4, f. 11-3-71, ef. 11-15-71; ME 26, f. 3-15-72, ef. 4-1-72; ME 27, f. 3-
27-72,ef. 4-15-72; ME 30, f. 3-5-74, ef. 3-25-74; ME 32, f. & ef. 5-11-76; Renum-
bered from 847-060-0005; ME 2-1978, f. & ef. 7-31-78; ME 3-1980, f. & ef. 5-14-
80; ME 6-1980, f. & ef. 8-13-80; ME 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 5-1983, f. & ef.
11-3-83; ME 2-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 14-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-87; ME 1-1988,
f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88; ME 13-1988, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-88; ME 13-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 10-20-88; ME 10-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-7-90; ME 13-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-16-
90; ME 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-92; ME 20-1994, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-94; BME
13-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; BME 13-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 14-
20006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; OMB 6-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; [OMB 1-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; Temporary suspended by OMB 12-
2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12]

847-001-0007
Agency Representation at Hearings

(1) Subject to the approval of the Attorney General, an employ-
ee of the Oregon Medical Board is authorized to appear on behalf of
the Board in contested case hearings conducted on civil penalties
issued by the Board with no other formal disciplinary action proposed
against the licensee.

(2) The agency representative may not make legal argument on
behalf of the Board.

(a) “Legal argument” includes arguments on:

(A) The jurisdiction of the Board to hear the contested case;

(B) The constitutionality of a statute or rule or the application of
a constitutional requirement to an agency; and

(C) The application of court precedent to the facts of the partic-
ular contested case proceeding.

(b) “Legal argument” does not include presentation of motions,
evidence, examination and cross-examination of witnesses or pre-
sentation of factual arguments or arguments on:

(A) The application of the statutes or rules to the facts in the con-
tested case;

(B) Comparison of prior actions of the Board in handling simi-
lar situations;

(C) The literal meaning of the statutes or rules directly applica-
ble to the issues in the contested case;

(D) The admissibility of evidence;

(E) The correctness of procedures being followed in the contested

case hearing.
Stat.s Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.452
Hist.: OMB 2-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 18-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12
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847-001-0010
Public Attendance

Contested case hearings are closed to members of the public.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341

Hist.: BME 13-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; BME 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03;
[OMB 1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; Temporary suspended by
OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12]

847-001-0015
Delegation of Authority

(1) The Oregon Medical Board (Board) has delegated to the
Executive Director the authority to make certain procedural determi-
nations on its behalf on matters arising under the Attorney General’s
Model Rules for Contested Cases in OAR 137-003-0001 to OAR 137-
003-0700. The procedural functions include, but are not limited to:

(a) For discovery requests before the Board, to authorize or deny
requested discovery in a contested case, to include specifying the
methods, timing and extent of discovery;

(b) To review all requests to take a deposition of a witness and
to authorize or deny any request for deposition. If a request to take a
deposition is authorized, the Executive Director may specify the terms
on which the deposition is taken, to include, but not limited to the loca-
tion, the manner of recording, the time of day, the persons permitted
to be present, and the duration of the deposition;

(c) Whether a request for hearing filed after the prescribed time
will be accepted, based upon a finding of good cause. In making this
determination, the Executive Director may require the request to be
supported by an affidavit or other writing to explain why the request
is late and may conduct such further inquiry as deemed appropriate.
The Executive Director may authorize a hearing on whether the late
filing should be accepted. If any party disputes the facts contained in
the explanation as to why the request was late or the accuracy of the
reason that the request was late, the requestor has a right to a hearing
before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) on the reasons for that fac-
tual dispute;

(d) Whether the late filing of a document may be accepted based
upon a finding of good cause;

(e) Whether to issue a subpoena for the attendance of witnesses
or to produce documents at the hearing;

(f) Prior to the issuance of a proposed order issued by an ALJ,
whether the Board will consider taking notice of judicially cognizable
facts or of general, technical or scientific facts in writing which are
within the specialized knowledge of the Board;

(g) Whether to submit to the Board prior to an ALJ’s proposed
final order the following issues:

(A) The Board’s interpretation of its rules and applicable statutes;

(B) Which rules or statutes are applicable to a proceeding;

(C) Whether the Board will answer a question transmitted to it
by the ALJ;

(h) In regard to a proposed order issued by an ALJ, whether the
Board’s legal representative will file exceptions and present argument
to the Board; and

(1) Whether a request for delay of hearing on emergency sus-
pension will be accepted.

(2) All actions taken under this delegation must be reported to the
Board at the regularly scheduled meeting in which the Board delib-

erates on the proposed order in the case.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.341, 677.275
Hist.: BME 13-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; BME 13-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04;
BME 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; OMB 6-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 1-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-
12

847-001-0020
Discovery
(1) Before the hearing, upon request by the Board or by a licensee
or applicant, the Board and the licensee or applicant must provide:
(a) The names, telephone numbers, and addresses of witnesses
expected to testify at the hearing, except rebuttal witnesses;
(b) Documents expected to be offered as evidence;
(c) Objects for inspection, if expected to be offered as evidence;
(d) Responses to no more than 20 requests for admission (each
subpart to count as a separate request) unless otherwise authorized,
limited, or prohibited by the administrative law judge; and

(e) Responses to no more than 20 written interrogatories (each
subpart to count as a separate interrogatory), unless otherwise autho-
rized, limited, or prohibited by the administrative law judge.

(2) The Board may deny any discovery request under this section
if:

(a) The request would unduly complicate or interfere with the
hearing process, and

(b) Alternative procedures for sharing relevant information exist.

(3) Parties must provide the list of witnesses and documents no
later than ten working days prior to the beginning of the contested case
hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.341, 677.275

Hist.: BME 13-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 14-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06;

OMB 1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef.

4-17-12

847-001-0022
Confidentiality in the Investigative Process

(1) Information pertaining to an ongoing investigation or Board
action that has been disclosed to a licensee or applicant by the Board
pursuant to ORS 676.175(3) is confidential and may be further dis-
closed by the licensee or applicant only to the extent necessary to pre-
pare for a contested case hearing related to a Complaint and Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action, a Notice of Denial of Licensure or an
Order of Emergency Suspension issued against the licensee or appli-
cant.

(2) All licensees and applicants under Board investigation or fac-
ing Board disciplinary action or license denial, to include consultants
for a licensee, an applicant or the Board, have an obligation to protect
the confidentiality of information obtained by the Board in an inves-
tigation.

(3) Violation of this rule is grounds for disciplinary action.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335, 183.341, 677.275

Hist.: OMB 6-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; [OMB 1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-7-
12 thru 8-5-12; Temporary suspended by OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12]

847-001-0030
Approval of Interim Stipulated Orders

(1) The Executive Director, via his/her signature, has the author-
ity to grant approval of an Interim Stipulated Order that has been
signed by a licensee of the Board.

(2) The Executive Director’s or Medical Director’s signature
grants approval of the Interim Stipulated Order, which allows the
Order to become a public document. As a public document, the Inter-
im Stipulated Order may be released to hospitals, clinics, and other
practice locations.

(3) The Executive Director or Medical Director must forward

Interim Stipulated Orders to the Board in a timely manner.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 677.275
Hist.: BME 13-2008(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-16-08 thr 10-31-08; BME 22-2008, f.
& cert. ef. 10-31-08; BME 7-2009, f. & cert. ef. 5-1-09; OMB 1-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 2-7-12 thru 8-5-12; OMB 12-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12

DIVISION 2
CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS

847-002-0000
Purpose and Intent

The purpose of these rules is to provide for the reasonable screen-
ing of subject individuals to determine if they have a history of crim-
inal behavior such that they are not fit to work or volunteer for the
Board. The fact that the Board determines that a subject individual is
fit does not guarantee the individual a position as a Board employee,

volunteer, or that the individual will be hired by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534,303, 676 & 677.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-002-0005
Definitions
As used in OAR 847-002-0000 through 847-002-0050, unless the
context of the rule requires otherwise, the following definitions apply:
(1) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board.
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(2) “Conviction” means a final judgment on a verdict or finding
of guilty, a plea of guilty, or a plea of nolo contendere (no contest) or
any determination of guilt entered by a court of law against a subject
individual in a criminal case, unless that judgment has been reversed
or set aside by a subsequent court decision.

(3) “Criminal offender information” means records and related
data concerning physical description and vital statistics, fingerprints
received and compiled by the Oregon State Police (OSP) to identify
criminal offenders and alleged offenders, records of arrests and the
nature and disposition of criminal charges, including sentencing, con-
finement, parole and release records.

(4) “Criminal records check” means one or more of the follow-
ing three processes undertaken by the Board to check the criminal his-
tory of a subject individual:

(a) Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS) Check: A name-based
check of criminal offender information maintained by the OSP;

(b) Oregon Criminal Records Check: A check of Oregon crimi-
nal offender information, through fingerprint identification and other
means, conducted by the OSP at the Board’s request; or

(c) Nationwide Criminal Records Check: A nationwide check of
federal criminal offender information, through fingerprint identifica-
tion and other means, conducted by the OSP through the Federal
Bureau of Investigations (FBI) or otherwise at the Board’s request.

(5) “Criminal records request form” means a Board-approved
form, completed by a subject individual, requesting the Board to con-
duct a criminal records check.

(6) “False statement” means, in association with an activity gov-
erned by these rules, a subject individual either:

(a) Provided the Board with false information about the subject
individual’s criminal history, including but not limited to false infor-
mation about the individual’s identity or conviction record; or

(b) Failed to provide the Board information material to determine
the individual’s criminal history.

(7) “Fitness determination” means a determination made by the
Board, pursuant to the process established under OAR 847-002-0020,
that a subject individual is fit or not fit to be a Board employee or vol-
unteer.

(8) “OSP” means the Oregon State Police.

(9) “Subject individual” means an individual the Board may
require to complete a criminal records check pursuant to these rules
because the person is:

(a) A Board employee;

(b) A Board volunteer; or

(c) An applicant for employment with the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534,303, 676 & 677.280

Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534

Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-002-0010
Criminal Records Check Process

(1) A subject individual must disclose information required by the
Board as described below:

(a) Before a criminal records check, a subject individual must
complete and sign the Board Criminal Records Request form and a fin-
gerprint card, both of which may include identifying information (e.g.,
name, birth date, social security number, physical characteristics, driv-
er’s license or identification card number and current and previous
addresses).

(b) A subject individual must complete and submit to the Board
the Criminal Records Request form and, if requested, a fingerprint card
within five business days of receiving the forms. The deadline may be
extended for good cause.

(c) Additional information may be required from the subject indi-
vidual as necessary to complete the criminal records check and fitness
determination, including but not limited to, proof of identity or addi-
tional criminal, judicial, or other background information.

(d) The Board may not request a fingerprint card from a subject
individual under the age of 18 years unless the subject individual is
emancipated pursuant to ORS 419B.550 et seq, or unless the Board
also requests the written consent of a parent or guardian. Such parent
or guardian and youth must be informed that they are not required to
consent. Notwithstanding, failure to consent may be construed as a
refusal to consent under OAR 847-002-0015(4).

(2) The Board or its staff may conduct, or request the OSP to con-
duct, a criminal record check when:

(a) An individual meets the definition of a subject individual; or

(b) A federal law or regulation, state statute or administrative rule,
or contract or written agreement with the Board requires a criminal

record check.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-002-0015
Final Fitness Determination

(1) After a criminal records check, the Board or its staff must
make a fitness determination about a subject individual based on infor-
mation provided by the subject individual under OAR 847-002-
0010(1), any criminal records check conducted, and any false state-
ment made by the subject individual.

(2) In relation to information described in section (1) of this rule
and other known information, the following factors will be considered:

(a) Whether the subject individual has been convicted, found
guilty except for insanity (or a comparable disposition), or has a pend-
ing indictment for a crime listed in OAR 847-002-0020;

(b) The nature of any crime identified under section (2)(a) of this
rule;

(c) The facts that support the conviction, finding of guilty except
for insanity, or pending indictment;

(d) Any facts that indicate the subject individual made a false
statement;

(e) The relevance, if any, of a crime identified under section (2)(a)
of this rule or of a false statement made by the subject individual to
the specific requirements of the subject individual’s present or pro-
posed position, services or employment; and

(f) The following intervening circumstances, to the extent that
they are relevant to the responsibilities and circumstances of the posi-
tion, services or employment:

(A) The passage of time since the commission or alleged com-
mission of the crime identified under section (2)(a) of this rule;

(B) The age of the subject individual at the time of the commis-
sion or alleged commission of the crime identified under section (2)(a)
of this rule;

(C) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the commis-
sion of another crime;

(D) The subsequent commission of another crime listed in OAR
847-002-0020;

(E) Whether the conviction identified under section (2)(a) of this
rule has been set aside, and the legal effect of setting aside the con-
viction;

(F) A recommendation of an employer;

(G) The disposition of the pending indictment identified under
section (2)(a) of this rule;

(H) Whether the subject individual has been arrested for or
charged with a crime listed under OAR 847-002-0020;

(I) Whether the subject individual is being investigated, or has
an outstanding warrant, for a crime listed under OAR 847-002-0020;

(J) Whether the subject individual is currently on probation,
parole or another form of post-prison supervision for a crime listed
under OAR 847-002-0020;

(K) Whether the subject individual has a deferred sentence or
conditional discharge in connection with a crime listed under OAR
847-002-0020;

(L) Whether the subject individual has been adjudicated in a juve-
nile court and found to be within the court’s jurisdiction for an offense
that would have constituted a crime listed in OAR 847-002-0020 if
committed by an adult;

(M) Periods of incarceration of the subject individual; and

(N) The education and work history (paid or volunteer) of the
subject individual since the commission or alleged commission of a
crime.

(3) The subject individual must meet with the Board or its staff
if requested and provide additional relevant information or autho-
rization to obtain other relevant information within a reasonable peri-
od of time, as established by the Board.

(4) If a subject individual refuses to submit or consent to a crim-
inal records check including fingerprint identification, the Board may
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deny the position, employment or services. A person may not appeal
any determination made based on a refusal to consent.

(5) If a subject individual is determined to be not fit, the subject
individual may not be employed by or provide services as a volunteer
to the Board.

(6) A completed final fitness determination is a final order of the
Board unless the affected subject individual appeals the determination
by requesting a contested case hearing as provided by OAR 847-002-
0035(1) or an alternative appeals process as provided by OAR 847-
002-0035(6).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534,303, 676 & 677.280

Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-002-0020
Potentially Disqualifying Crimes

(1) Crimes Relevant to a Fitness Determination:

(a) All felonies;

(b) All misdemeanors; and

(c) Any United States Military crime or international crime.

(2) A crime will be evaluated on the basis of the law of the juris-
diction in which the crime or offense occurred, as those laws are in
effect at the time of the fitness determination.

(3) Under no circumstances may a subject individual be deter-
mined to be not fit under these rules on the basis of the existence or
contents of a juvenile record that has been expunged pursuant to ORS

419A.260 and ORS 419A.262.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534,303, 676 & 677.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-002-0025
Incomplete Fitness Determination.

(1) A preliminary or final fitness determination is incomplete
when:

(a) Circumstances change so that a person no longer meets the
definition of a “subject individual” under OAR 847-002-0005;

(b) The subject individual does not submit materials or infor-
mation within the time required under OAR 847-001-0045;

(c) The Board cannot locate or contact the subject individual;

(d) The subject individual fails or refuses to cooperate with
attempts to acquire other criminal records information under OAR
847-002-0015;

(e) The subject individual is not eligible or not qualified for the
position of employee or volunteer, for a reason unrelated to the fitness
determination process; or

(f) The position is no longer open.

(2) A subject individual does not have a right to a contested case
hearing under OAR 847-002-0035(1) or a right to an alternative
appeals process under OAR 847-002-0035(6) to challenge the closing

of a fitness determination as incomplete.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534,303, 676 & 677.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-002-0030
Notice to Subject Individual of Fitness Determination.

The Board must inform the subject individual if he or she is deter-
mined not to be fit via personal service or registered or certified mail

to the most current address provided by the subject individual.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534,303, 676 & 677.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534
Hist.: OMB 112011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-002-0035
Appealing a Fitness Determination

(1) Appeal process:

(a) To request a contested case hearing, the subject individual or
the subject individual’s legal representative must submit a written
request for a contested case within 14 calendar days of the date of the
notice provided under OAR 847-002-0030 to the address specified in
that notice. The Board must address a request received after expira-
tion of the deadline as provided under OAR 137-003-0528.

(b) When a timely request is received, a contested case hearing
will be conducted by an administrative law judge assigned by the
Office of Administrative Hearings, pursuant to the Attorney General’s
Uniform and Model Rules, “Procedural Rules, Office of Administra-

tive Hearings” OAR 137-003-0501 to 137-003-0700, as supplement-
ed by the provisions of this rule.

(2) Discovery: The Board or the administrative law judge may
protect information made confidential by ORS 181.534(15) or other
applicable law as provided under OAR 137-003-0570(7) or (8).

(3) Contested case hearings on fitness determinations are closed
to non-participants.

(4) Proposed and Final Order:

(a) After a hearing, the administrative law judge will issue a pro-
posed order.

(b) Exceptions, if any, must be filed within 14 calendar days after
service of the proposed order. The proposed order must provide an
address to which exceptions must be sent.

(c) A completed final fitness determination made under OAR
847-002-0015 becomes final:

(A) Unless the subject individual makes a timely request for a
hearing; or

(B) When a party withdraws a hearing request, notifies the Board
or the Administrative Law Judge that the party will not appear, or fails
to appear at the hearing.

(5) The only remedy that may be awarded is a determination that
the subject individual is fit or not fit. Under no circumstances may the
Board be required to place a subject individual in any position, nor
may the Board be required to accept services or enter into a contrac-
tual agreement with a subject individual.

(6) Alternative Process: A subject individual currently employed
by the Board may choose to appeal a fitness determination either under
the process made available in sections (1) to (5) of this rule or through
a process made available by applicable personnel rules, policies and
collective bargaining provisions. A subject individual’s decision to
appeal a fitness determination through applicable personnel rules, poli-
cies, and collective bargaining provisions is an election of remedies
as to the rights of the individual with respect to the fitness determi-
nation and is a waiver of the contested case process made available by
this rule.

(7) A subject individual may not use the appeals process estab-
lished by this rule to challenge the accuracy or completeness of infor-
mation provided by the OSP, the FBI, or agencies reporting informa-
tion to the OSP or the FBI.

(a) To challenge such information, a subject individual may use
any process made available by the agency that provided the informa-
tion.

(b) If the subject individual successfully challenges the accura-
cy or completeness of such information and the position for which the
original criminal history check was conducted is vacant and available,
the subject individual may request that the Board conduct a new crim-
inal records check and re-evaluate the original fitness determination
made under OAR 847-002-0015 by submitting a new Board Crimi-
nal Records Request form.

(8) Appealing a fitness determination under section (1) or section
(6) of this rule, challenging criminal offender information with the
agency that provided the information, or requesting a new criminal
records check and re-evaluation of the original fitness determination
under section (7)(b) of this rule, will not delay or postpone the Board’s

hiring process or employment decisions.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534,303, 676 & 677.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-002-0040
Recordkeeping and Confidentiality

Any information obtained in the criminal records check is con-
fidential. The Board must restrict the access and dissemination of
information obtained in the criminal records check to only those per-
sons with a demonstrated and legitimate need to know the informa-

tion.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534,303, 676 & 677.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-002-0045
Fees

(1) The Board may charge a fee for acquiring criminal offender
information for use in making a fitness determination that will not
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exceed the fee charged the Board by the OSP and the FBI to obtain
such information.
(2) The Board may charge the fee to the subject individual on

whom criminal offender information is sought.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 303, 676 & 677.280
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534
Hist.: OMB 11-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

DIVISION 3
DECLARED EMERGENCY

847-003-0100
Declared Emergency — Delegation of Authority

(1) An emergency under this rule exists when:

(a) A State of Emergency or a Public Health Emergency has been
declared by the Governor of Oregon under ORS 401.165 or 433.441
through 433.452; or

(b) The provisions of any relevant rules in Chapter 847 Oregon
Administrative Rules have been suspended by the Governor under the
authority of ORS 401.168(2); or

(c) A signatory to the Pacific Northwest Emergency Management
Arrangement (the states of Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington,
and the Province of British Columbia and the Yukon Territory) has
requested assistance during a civil emergency as authorized in ORS
402.250; or

(d) The President of the United States or another federal official
has declared a public health emergency; or

(e) The Governor has authorized the Public Health Director to
take the actions described in ORS 431.264.

(2) When an emergency exists as defined above, any authority
vested in the Board may be exercised by the Executive Director, any
person acting as Executive Director in the Executive Director’s
absence or incapacity, or any person the Executive Director designates

to make such decisions on the Executive Director’s behalf.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 401.168,402.105, 433 441 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 401.165 & 677.265
Hist.: OMB 19-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12

DIVISION 5
FEES

847-005-0005
Fees

(1) Licensing Fees:

(a) Doctor of Medicine/Doctor of Osteopathy (MD/DO) Initial
License Application — $375.

(b) MD/DO Registration: Active, Administrative Medicine, Inac-
tive, Locum Tenens, Military/Public Health, Telemedicine, Telemon-
itoring and Teleradiology — $232/year+*.

(c) MD/DO Registration: Emeritus — $50/year.

(d) MD/DO Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX, Visiting Pro-
fessor, Fellow, Medical Faculty, Postgraduate, Special Application —
$185.

(e) Acupuncture Initial License Application — $245.

(f) Acupuncture Registration: Active, Inactive, Locum Tenens
and Military/Public Health — $148/year*.

(g) Acupuncture Registration: Emeritus — $50/year.

(h) Acupuncture Limited License, Special, Visiting Professor,
Postgraduate Application — $75.

(i) Physician Assistant Initial License Application — $245.

(j) Physician Assistant Registration: Active, Inactive, Locum
Tenens and Military/Public Health — $175/year*.

(k) Physician Assistant Registration: Emeritus — $50/year.

(1) Physician Assistant Limited License, Special, Postgraduate
Application — $75.

(m) Podiatrist Initial Application — $340.

(n) Podiatrist Registration: Active, Administrative Medicine,
Inactive, Locum Tenens, Military/Public Health, Telemedicine and
Telemonitoring — $222/year*.

(o) Podiatrist Registration: Emeritus — $50/year.

(p) Podiatrist Limited License, Special, Postgraduate Application
— $185.

(q) Reactivation Application Fee — $50.

(r) Electronic Prescription Drug Monitoring Program —
$25/year**.

(s) Workforce Data Fee — $5/license period***.

(t) Oral Specialty or Competency Examination ($1,000 deposit
required) — Actual costs.

(2) Delinquent Registration Renewals:

(a) Delinquent MD/DO Registration Renewal — $195.

(b) Delinquent Acupuncture Registration Renewal — $80.

(c) Delinquent Physician Assistant Registration Renewal — $80.

(d) Delinquent Podiatrist Registration Renewal — $195.

(3) Licensee Information Request Charges:

(a) Verification of Licensure — Individual Requests (1-4 Licens-
es) — $10 per license.

(b) Verification of Licensure — Multiple (5 or more) — $7.50
per license.

(c) Verification of MD/DO License Renewal — $150 Biennial-

ly.

(d) Malpractice Report — Individual Requests — $10 per
license.

(e) Malpractice Report — Multiple (monthly report) — $15 per
report.

(f) Disciplinary — Individual Requests — $10 per license.

(g) Disciplinary Report - Multiple (quarterly report) — $15 per
report.

(4) Base Service Charges for Copying — $5 + .20/page.

(5) Record Search Charges (+ copy charges in section (4) of this
rule):

(a) Clerical — $20 per hour.

(b) Administrative — $40 per hour.

(c) Executive — $50 per hour.

(d) Medical — $75 per hour.

(6) Data Order Charges:

(a) Standard Licensee Data Order — $150 each.

(b) Custom Licensee Data Order — $150.00 + $40.00 per hour
Administrative time.

(c) Address Label Disk — $100 each.

(7) All Board fees and fines are non-refundable and non-trans-

ferable.
+ Per ORS 677.290(3), fee includes $10.00 for the Oregon Health and Sci-
ence University Library.
* Collected biennially excepted where noted in the Administrative Rules.
** Per ORS 431.960-431.978, fee is assessed to licensees authorized to pre-
scribe or dispense controlled substances in Oregon for the purpose of creat-
ing and maintaining the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program administered
by the Oregon Health Authority.
*##%Per ORS 676.410, fee is assessed for the purpose of creating and main-
taining a healthcare workforce data base administered by the Oregon Health
Authority.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 431.972, 676.410, 677.265 & 677.290
Stats. Implemented: ORS 431.972, 676.410, 677.265 & 677.290
Hist.: ME 7-1984, f. & ef. 1-26-84; ME 17-1984, f. & ef. 11-5-84; ME 6-1985, f.
& ef. 7-30-85; ME 3-1986(Temp), f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 4-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86;
ME 9-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86; ME 2-1987, f. & ef. 1-10-87; ME 7-1987(Temp), f.
& ef. 1-26-87; ME 9-1987, f. & ef. 4-28-87; ME 25-1987, f. & ef. 11-5-87; ME 9-
1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-88; ME 14-1988, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-88; ME 1-1989, f. &
cert. ef. 1-25-89; ME 5-1989 (Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-16-89; ME 6-1989, f. & cert.
ef. 4-27-89; ME 9-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-1-89; ME 17-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-
20-89; ME 4-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 9-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-90; ME 5-
1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 11-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-21-91; ME 6-1992,
f. & cert. ef. 5-26-92; ME 1-1993, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-93; ME 13-1993, f. & cert. ef.
11-1-93; ME 14-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-93; ME 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-
94; ME 6-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-95; ME 7-1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96; ME 3-
1997, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-97; BME 7-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 7-1999, f.
& cert. ef. 4-22-99; BME 10-1999, f. 7-8-99, cert. ef. 8-3-99; BME 14-1999, f. &
cert. ef. 10-28-99; BME 4-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-22-00; BME 6-2001(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-18-01 thru 11-30-01; BME 10-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 8-2003,
f. & cert. ef. 4-24-03; BME 16-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-03; BME 17-2004, f. &
cert. ef. 9-9-04; BME 6-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME 15-2006, f. & cert. ef.
7-25-06; BME 1-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 1-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08;
BME 15-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; BME 15-
2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-11-09 thru 3-8-10; BME 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10;
OMB 10-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11 thru 1-4-12; OMB 18-2011(Temp), f.
& cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; OMB 22-2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-18-11; OMB 33-
2011(Temp), f. 12-28-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 3-2012, f. & cert. ef.
2-10-12; OMB 9-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-2-12 thru 8-29-12; OMB 20-2012, f.
& cert. ef. 8-3-12; OMB 27-2012(Temp), f. 10-12-12 thru 4-10-13
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847-005-0010
Copying Charges and Charges for Oregon Medical Board
Documents

(1) A charge per image for photo copies requested by state
employees for their personal use, by state agencies and by the gener-
al public shall be made as follows:

(a) 5¢ for state employees copying their own material;

(b) 5¢ for state agencies;

(c) 20¢ for the general public copying state records available in
the Oregon Medical Board only.

(2) A charge for documents developed by the Oregon Medical
Board may, at the discretion of the Board’s administrator, be made in
an amount not exceeding the actual cost per copy of such documents.

(3) In addition to the above charges, at the discretion of the
Board’s administrator, a charge may be made for the actual cost of staff
time required for search, copying, handling and/or certification.

(4) The above charges for state employees obtaining documents
or copying for their personal use and for the general public obtaining
documents or copying shall be payable in cash only. The above charges
for state agencies obtaining documents or copying shall be paid in cash
unless, at the discretion of the Board’s administrator, billing to such

agencies is authorized.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265(1)
Hist.: ME 8-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; Renumbered from 847-010-0085; ME 7-1984,
f. & ef. 1-26-84

DIVISION 6
MEDIATION COMMUNICATIONS

847-006-0000
Confidentiality
Communications

(1) The words and phrases used in this rule have the same mean-
ing as given to them in ORS 36.110 and 36.234.

(2) Nothing in this rule affects any confidentiality created by
other law. Nothing in this rule relieves a public body from complying
with the Public Meetings Law, ORS 192.610 to 192.690. Whether or
not they are confidential under this or other rules of the agency, medi-
ation communications are exempt from disclosure under the Public
Records Law to the extent provided in 192.410 to 192.505.

(3) This rule applies only to mediations in which the agency is
a party or is mediating a dispute as to which the agency has regula-
tory authority. This rule does not apply when the agency is acting as
the “mediator” in a matter in which the agency also is a party as
defined in ORS 36.234.

(4) To the extent mediation communications would otherwise be
compromise negotiations under ORS 40.190 (OEC Rule 408), those
mediation communications are not admissible as provided in 40.190
(OEC Rule 408), notwithstanding any provisions to the contrary in
section (9) of this rule.

(5) Mediations Excluded. Sections (6)—(10) of this rule do not
apply to:

(a) Mediation of workplace interpersonal disputes involving the
interpersonal relationships between this agency’s employees, officials
or employees and officials, unless a formal grievance under a labor
contract, a tort claim notice or a lawsuit has been filed; or

(b) Mediation in which the person acting as the mediator will also
act as the hearings officer in a contested case involving some or all of
the same matters;

(c) Mediation in which the only parties are public bodies;

(d) Mediation involving two or more public bodies and a private
party if the laws, rule or policies governing mediation confidentiali-
ty for at least one of the public bodies provide that mediation com-
munications in the mediation are not confidential;

(e) Mediation involving 15 or more parties if the agency has des-
ignated that another mediation confidentiality rule adopted by the
agency may apply to that mediation.

(6) Disclosures by Mediator. A mediator may not disclose or be
compelled to disclose mediation communications in a mediation and,
if disclosed, such communications may not be introduced into evi-
dence in any subsequent administrative, judicial or arbitration pro-
ceeding unless:

and Inadmissibility of Mediation

(a) All the parties to the mediation and the mediator agree in writ-
ing to the disclosure; or

(b) The mediation communication may be disclosed or intro-
duced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding as provided in sub-
sections (¢)—(d), (j)—(1) or (0)—(p) of section (9) of this rule.

(7) Confidentiality and Inadmissibility of Mediation Com-
munications. Except as provided in sections (8)—(9) of this rule, medi-
ation communications are confidential and may not be disclosed to any
other person, are not admissible in any subsequent administrative, judi-
cial or arbitration proceeding and may not be disclosed during testi-
mony in, or during any discovery conducted as part of a subsequent
proceeding, or introduced as evidence by the parties or the mediator
in any subsequent proceeding.

(8) Written Agreement. Section (7) of this rule does not apply
to a mediation unless the parties to the mediation agree in writing, as
provided in this section, that the mediation communications in the
mediation will be confidential and/or nondiscoverable and inadmis-
sible. If the mediator is the employee of and acting on behalf of a state
agency, the mediator or an authorized agency representative must also
sign the agreement. The parties’ agreement to participate in a confi-
dential mediation must be in substantially the following form. This
form may be used separately or incorporated into an “agreement to
mediate.” [Form not included. See ED. NOTE.]

(9) Exceptions to confidentiality and inadmissibility.

(a) Any statements, memoranda, work products, documents and
other materials, otherwise subject to discovery that were not prepared
specifically for use in the mediation are not confidential and may be
disclosed or introduced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding.

(b) Any mediation communications that are public records, as
defined in ORS 192.410(4), and were not specifically prepared for use
in the mediation are not confidential and may be disclosed or intro-
duced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding unless the substance
of the communication is confidential or privileged under state or fed-
eral law.

(c) A mediation communication is not confidential and may be
disclosed by any person receiving the communication to the extent that
person reasonably believes that disclosing the communication is nec-
essary to prevent the commission of a crime that is likely to result in
death or bodily injury to any person. A mediation communication is
not confidential and may be disclosed in a subsequent proceeding to
the extent its disclosure may further the investigation or prosecution
of a felony crime involving physical violence to a person.

(d) Any mediation communication related to the conduct of a
licensed professional that is made to or in the presence of a person
who, as a condition of his or her professional license, is obligated to
report such communication by law or court rule is not confidential and
may be disclosed to the extent necessary to make such a report.

(e) The parties to the mediation may agree in writing that all or
part of the mediation communications are not confidential or that all
or part of the mediation communications may be disclosed and may
be introduced into evidence in a subsequent proceeding unless the sub-
stance of the communication is confidential, privileged or otherwise
prohibited from disclosure under state or federal law.

(f) A party to the mediation may disclose confidential mediation
communications to a person if the party’s communication with that
person is privileged under ORS Chapter 40 or other provision of law.
A party to the mediation may disclose confidential mediation com-
munications to a person for the purpose of obtaining advice concern-
ing the subject matter of the mediation, if all the parties agree.

(g) An employee of the agency may disclose confidential medi-
ation communications to another agency employee so long as the dis-
closure is necessary to conduct authorized activities of the agency. An
employee receiving a confidential mediation communication under
this subsection is bound by the same confidentiality requirements as
apply to the parties to the mediation.

(h) A written mediation communication may be disclosed or
introduced as evidence in a subsequent proceeding at the discretion of
the party who prepared the communication so long as the communi-
cation is not otherwise confidential under state or federal law and does
not contain confidential information from the mediator or another
party who does not agree to the disclosure.

(1) In any proceeding to enforce, modify or set aside a mediation
agreement, a party to the mediation may disclose mediation commu-
nications and such communications may be introduced as evidence to
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the extent necessary to prosecute or defend the matter. At the request
of a party, the court may seal any part of the record of the proceeding
to prevent further disclosure of mediation communications or agree-
ments to persons other than the parties to the agreement.

(j) In an action for damages or other relief between a party to the
mediation and a mediator or mediation program, mediation commu-
nications are not confidential and may be disclosed and may be intro-
duced as evidence to the extent necessary to prosecute or defend the
matter. At the request of a party, the court may seal any part of the
record of the proceeding to prevent further disclosure of the media-
tion communications or agreements.

(k) When a mediation is conducted as part of the negotiation of
a collective bargaining agreement, the following mediation commu-
nications are not confidential and such communications may be intro-
duced into evidence in a subsequent administrative, judicial or arbi-
tration proceeding:

(A) A request for mediation; or

(B) A communication from the Employment Relations Board
Conciliation Service establishing the time and place of mediation; or

(C) A final offer submitted by the parties to the mediator pursuant
to ORS 243.712; or

(D) A strike notice submitted to the Employment Relations
Board.

(1) To the extent a mediation communication contains informa-
tion the substance of which is required to be disclosed by Oregon
statute, other than ORS 192.410 to 192.505, that portion of the com-
munication may be disclosed as required by statute.

(m) Written mediation communications prepared by or for the
agency or its attorney are not confidential and may be disclosed and
may be introduced as evidence in any subsequent administrative, judi-
cial or arbitration proceeding to the extent the communication does not
contain confidential information from the mediator or another party,
except for those written mediation communications that are:

(A) Attorney-client privileged communications so long as they
have been disclosed to no one other than the mediator in the course
of the mediation or to persons as to whom disclosure of the commu-
nication would not waive the privilege; or

(B) Attorney work product prepared in anticipation of litigation
or for trial; or

(C) Prepared exclusively for the mediator or in a caucus session
and not given to another party in the mediation other than a state agen-
cy; or

(D) Prepared in response to the written request of the mediator
for specific documents or information and given to another party in
the mediation; or

(E) Settlement concepts or proposals shared with the mediator or
other parties.

(n) A mediation communication made to the agency may be dis-
closed and may be admitted into evidence to the extent the Executive
Director determines that disclosure of the communication is necessary
to prevent or mitigate a serious danger to the public’s health or safe-
ty, and the communication is not otherwise confidential or privileged
under state or federal law.

(o) The terms of any mediation agreement are not confidential
and may be introduced as evidence in a subsequent proceeding, except
to the extent the terms of the agreement are exempt from disclosure
under ORS 192.410 to 192.505, a court has ordered the terms to be
confidential under 17.095 or state or federal law requires the terms to
be confidential.

(p) The mediator may report the disposition of a mediation to the
agency at the conclusion of the mediation so long as the report does
not disclose specific confidential mediation communications. The
agency or the mediator may use or disclose confidential mediation
communications for research, training or educational purposes, sub-
ject to the provisions of ORS 36.232(4).

(10) When a mediation is subject to section (7) of this rule, the
agency will provide to all parties to the mediation and the mediator a
copy of this rule or a citation to the rule and an explanation of where
a copy of the rule may be obtained. Violation of this provision does

not waive confidentiality or inadmissibility.
[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced in this rule are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265,36.220 & 36.245
Stats. Implemented: ORS 36.220 & 36.245

Hist.. BME 1-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-26-99 thru 7-16-99; BME 3-
1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-17-99 thru 7-16-99; BME 8-1999, f. & cert. ef.
4-22-99

DIVISION 8

REGISTRATION, USE OF NAME,
CHANGE OF ADDRESS

847-008-0000
Definitions

As used in OAR chapter 847, “Licensee” means an individual
holding a valid license, or certificate issued by the Board to practice
as a Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Osteopathy, Doctor of Podiatric

Medicine, Physician Assistant, or Acupuncturist.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.800 - 688.835
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 11-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-92; BME
7-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98

847-008-0005
Registration Periods

Every licensee of the Board shall renew their registration prior
to the last day of each renewal period as follows:

(1) The registration renewal form and fee for Doctors of
Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathy, Doctors of Podiatric Medicine and
Physician Assistants must be received in the Board office during reg-
ular business hours and must be satisfactorily complete on or before
December 31 of each odd-numbered year.

(2) The registration renewal form and fee for Doctors of
Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathy, Doctors of Podiatric Medicine and
Physician Assistants with Emeritus status must be received in the
Board office during regular business hours and must be satisfactori-
ly complete on or before December 31 of every year.

(3) Doctors of Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathy and Doctors of
Podiatric Medicine in a qualified postgraduate training program may
elect to register on an annual basis.

(4) The registration renewal form and fee for Licensed Acupunc-
turists must be received in the Board office during regular business
hours and must be satisfactorily complete on or before June 30 of each
even-numbered year.

(5) If the registration renewal form and fee are not received in the
Board office during regular business hours and are not satisfactorily
complete on or before the last day of the renewal period, the license

will lapse.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 11-
1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-92; BME 7-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 3-2003, f.
& cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 16-2008, f. & cert.
ef. 7-21-08

847-008-0010
Initial Registration

(1) An applicant for licensure as a physician (MD/DO), podia-
trist, physician assistant, or acupuncturist, whose application file is
complete, must submit to the Board the initial registration form and
fee prior to being granted a license by the Board.

(2) If the initial registration form and fee are not received by the
Board within three months from the date mailed to the applicant, the
applicant must update the application for licensure by completing an
affidavit and submitting it to the Board with the affidavit fee.

(3) Per OAR 847-020-0110(2), a person applying for licensure
who has not completed the licensure process within a 12 month con-
secutive period must file a new application, documents, letters and pay
a full filing fee as if filing for the first time.

(4) An individual who initially becomes licensed, certified or reg-
istered by the Board at any time during the first 12 months of a bien-
nial registration period must pay the entire biennial registration fee for
that period, except as provided in OAR 847-008-0015 and 847-008-
0025.

(5) An individual who initially becomes licensed, certified, or
registered by the Board at any time during the second 12 months of
the biennial registration period must pay the registration fee for one
year.
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(6) Omissions or false, misleading or deceptive statements or
information on an application for licensure is a violation of ORS
677.190(8) and is grounds for a $195 fine. The applicant may be sub-

ject to further disciplinary action by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172, 677.190, 677.205
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; BME
8-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 2-2002, f.
& cert. ef. 1-28-02; OMB 13-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12

847-008-0015
Active Registration

(1) Each licensee of the Board who practices within the State of
Oregon shall register and pay a biennial active registration fee prior
to the last day of the registration period, except where:

(a) The licensee is in a qualified training program and elects to
register on an annual basis.

(b) The licensee practices on an intermittent, locum-tenens basis,
as defined in OAR 847-008-0020.

(c) The licensee is in the Military or Public Health Service or
employed with the US Department of Veteran Affairs, the US Depart-
ment of State, Foreign Service or the Indian Health Service where the
licensee’s official state of residence is Oregon as defined in OAR 847-
008-0018.

(d) The licensee practices teleradiology as defined in OAR 847-
008-0022, telemonitoring as defined in OAR 847-008-0023, or
telemedicine as defined in OAR 847-025.

(2) Each licensee of the Board whose practice address of record
with the Board is within 100 miles of the border of the State of Ore-
gon and who intends to practice within Oregon shall qualify for active
registration status. Such licensee shall submit a statement to the Board

attesting to practice in Oregon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.228
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; BME
2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 7-2006,
f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 8-2008, f. & cert.
ef. 4-24-08; BME 16-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 21-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-
3-12

847-008-0018
Military/Public Health Active Registration

(1) Any licensee who is deployed with the US Military or
employed with the US Public Health Service, US Department of Vet-
eran Affairs, the US Department of State Foreign Service or the Indi-
an Health Service for more than 12 months and whose official state
of residence is Oregon must obtain a Military/Public Health Active sta-
tus by providing the Board with written notification of current assign-
ment or employment, a copy of their Oregon Driver’s License or other
proof of residence, and payment of the biennial registration fee.

(2) The Military/Public Health Active status remains valid as long
as the licensee maintains active duty in the military or public health,
and the licensee’s official state of residence is Oregon. At the con-
clusion of the military assignment or employment, the licensee must
reactivate according to 847-008-0055 before beginning active practice

in Oregon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172, 677.265
Hist.: BME 8-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08; BME 16-2010, . & cert. ef. 10-25-10;
OMB 12-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11; OMB 21-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12

847-008-0020
Locum Tenens Registration

(1) Any licensee whose official state of residence is a state other
than Oregon who proposes to practice intermittently within the State
shall register and pay the biennial locum tenens registration fee.

(2) The licensee practicing in Oregon with a locum tenens reg-
istration status may practice for a period not longer than two hundred
and forty consecutive days in the biennium, or a total of two hundred
and forty days on an intermittent basis in the biennium. A licensee
practicing in Oregon with a locum tenens registration status who wish-
es to reactivate to active registration status, may be granted an addi-
tional ninety days to complete the reactivation process.

(3) A volunteer camp physician, who provides medical care at a
non-profit camp, shall practice with locum tenens registration status.
The volunteer camp physician with locum tenens status may practice
in Oregon for a period not longer than fourteen days per year.

(4) A licensee who registers as locum tenens and who does not
practice in Oregon during the biennium, shall be registered as inactive
at the time of registration renewal, and shall be required to reactivate
to locum tenens registration status prior to practicing in Oregon.

(5) Requirements, procedures, and fees for a Locum Tenens reg-
istration shall be the same as for active registration.

(6) Any licensee registered as locum tenens shall provide the
Board with timely notification of the location and duration of each

Oregon practice prior to beginning of such practice.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; BME
6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 7-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-18-01; BME 11-2002,
f. & cert. ef. 10-25-02; BME 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09

847-008-0022
Teleradiology Registration

(1) Teleradiology is the electronic transmission of radiological
images from one location to another for the purposes of interpretation
and/or consultation.

(2) A physician whose specialty is radiology or diagnostic radi-
ology who practices in a location outside of Oregon and receives radi-
ological images via teleradiology from an Oregon location for inter-
pretation or consultation and who communicates his/her radiological
findings back to the ordering physician is practicing teleradiology for
Oregon. A physician practicing teleradiology for Oregon is not
required to be licensed in Oregon. The Board, however, offers a license
with Active — Teleradiology registration status for those physicians
who require such for administrative reasons.

(3) Physicians granted Active — Teleradiology status register and
pay a biennial active registration fee. The physician with Active — Tel-
eradiology status desiring to have Active status to practice in Oregon
must submit the Affidavit of Reactivation and processing fee, and sat-
isfactorily complete the reactivation process before beginning active

practice in Oregon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172
Hist.: BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07;
BME 8-2008, . & cert. ef. 4-24-08

847-008-0023
Telemonitoring Registration

(1) Telemonitoring is the intraoperative monitoring of data col-
lected during surgery and electronically transmitted to a physician who
practices in a location outside of Oregon via a telemedicine link for
the purpose of allowing the monitoring physician to notify the oper-
ating team of changes that may have a serious effect on the outcome
and/or survival of the patient. The monitoring physician is in com-
munication with the operation team through a technician in the oper-
ating room.

(2) The facility where the surgery is to be performed must be a
licensed hospital or ambulatory surgical center licensed by the Depart-
ment of Human Services, must grant medical staff membership and/or
clinical privileges to the monitoring physician, and must request the
Oregon Medical Board grant Active-Telemonitoring status to the mon-
itoring physician to perform intraoperative telemonitoring on patients
during surgery.

(3) Physicians granted Active-Telemonitoring status may regis-
ter and pay a biennial active registration fee. The physician with
Active-Telemonitoring status desiring to have Active status to prac-
tice in Oregon must submit the Affidavit of Reactivation and pro-
cessing fee, and satisfactorily complete the reactivation process before
beginning active practice in Oregon.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265

Hist.: BME 1-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06 thru 7-7-06; BME 8-2006, f. & cert.

ef. 5-8-06; BME 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 8-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08;

BME 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10

847-008-0025
Inactive Registration

Each licensee of the Board who is licensed, certified or registered
but who does not practice within the State of Oregon, shall register and
pay a biennial inactive registration fee prior to the last day of the reg-
istration period, except where the licensee is a physician in a qualified

training program and elects to register on an annual basis.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172
Hist.: ME 5-1990, . & cert. ef. 4-25-90

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation

2013 Edition

18 - 358

(11-15-12)



Chapter 847 Oregon Medical Board

847-008-0030
Emeritus Registration

A licensee who has retired from active practice, but does only
volunteer, non-remunerative practice and receives no direct monetary
compensation, may register and pay an annual emeritus registration

fee.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00

847-008-0035
Retired Status

A licensee who is fully retired and not practicing any form of
medicine, whether paid, volunteer, or writing prescriptions in any state,
may request retirement status and pay no biennial renewal fee. Prior
to retirement a licensee shall notify the Board in writing of intent to

retire.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 11-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-92; BME
6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00

847-008-0036
Revoked or Suspended Status

The Board may suspend or revoke the license to practice of a
licensee of the Board:

(1) For one or more reasons listed in ORS 677.190;

(2) For reasons involving controlled substances as stated in ORS
677.480;

(3) Upon notification by the Department of Justice that a child
support case is being maintained and enforced and that the licensee is
under judgment or order to pay monthly child support and is in arrears
in an amount equal to three months of support or $2,500, whichever
occurs later, as stated in ORS 25.750 and .780;

(4) For mental illness or imprisonment as stated in ORS 677.225;
and

(5) If the Board finds that evidence in its possession indicates that
a continuation in practice of the licensee constitutes an immediate dan-

ger to the public as stated in ORS 677.205.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: BME 16-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08

847-008-0037
Administrative Medicine

(1) A physician or podiatric physician who proposes to practice
Administrative Medicine within the State shall apply for and obtain
a license.

(2) A physician or podiatric physician with an Administrative
Medicine license may not examine, care for or treat patients. A physi-
cian or podiatric physician with an Administrative Medicine license
may advise organizations, both public and private, on healthcare mat-
ters; authorize and deny financial payments for care; organize and
direct research programs; review care provided for quality; and other
similar duties that do not require direct patient care.

(3) Physicians or podiatric physicians granted Active — Admin-
istrative Medicine status must register and pay a biennial active reg-
istration fee.

(4) The licensee with Active — Administrative Medicine status
desiring to have Active status to practice in Oregon must submit the
Affidavit of Reactivation and processing fee, and satisfactorily com-
plete the reactivation process before beginning active practice in Ore-

gon.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172, 677.265
Hist.: BME 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 21-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-
24-07 thru 4-7-08; BME 2-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; BME 8-2008, f. & cert. ef.
4-24-08

847-008-0040
Process of Registration

(1) The application for registration must be made on a form pro-
vided by the Board.

(2) Except as provided in OAR 847-008-0015 and 847-008-0025,
the application must be accompanied by the appropriate fee as listed
in 847-005-0005.

(3) If the licensee is the supervising physician of a physician
assistant or the primary supervising physician of a supervising physi-
cian organization for a physician assistant, the application must include
any updates to existing practice agreements for every physician assis-
tant the licensee supervises.

(4) The satisfactorily complete application for registration must
be filed with the Board by the first day of the month in which the
license or certification is due to expire.

(5) At its discretion, the Board may waive the fee for good and
sufficient reason.

(6) If the licensee has been out of-practice for more than 12 con-
secutive months and/or there are other concerns regarding the
licensee’s medical competency or fitness to practice, the Board may
renew licensee at Inactive status once the license renewal form has
been completed satisfactorily.

(7) The Board must mail to all licensees who have complied with
this section a certificate of registration which must remain in effect
until the end of the last business day of the registration period.

(8) Such certificate must be displayed in a prominent place in the
holder’s primary place of practice.

(9) Omissions or false, misleading or deceptive statements or
information on an application for registration is a violation of ORS
677.190(8) and is grounds for a $195 fine. The licensee may be sub-

ject to further disciplinary action by the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.175, 677.265 & 677.510

Hist.: ME 5-1990, . & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME
14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 16-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 2-2009,
f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; OMB 19-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12;
Suspend temporary by OMB 27-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12;
OMB 31-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 4-2012, f.
& cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 22-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12

847-008-0045
Failure to Apply for Registration

(1) A license or certificate shall be considered delinquent if not
renewed by the first day of the final month of the registration period.

(2) A license or certification shall lapse if not received in the
Board office during regular business hours on or before the final day
of the registration period.

(3) A licensee who wishes to officially surrender license must
submit the engrossed license and wallet-sized card. This must be done
prior to the expiration of registration.

(4) Should a licensee continue to practice while a license or cer-
tificate is lapsed, that individual shall be considered practicing with-
out a valid license or certificate, and may be subject to prosecution

under ORS 677.205, or may be subject to discipline by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 12-
1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-27-93; ME 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 14-
2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04

847-008-0050
Reinstatement of License Lapsed Due to Non-Renewal

(1) A licensee of the Board whose license has lapsed through fail-
ure to renew registration may:

(a) Reinstate within 90 days of the end of the registration peri-
od by paying a late registration fee, paying renewal fees for the lapsed
registration period, completing and submitting the required forms, and
meeting any other requirements defined by Oregon law. The rein-
statement will be effective on the date the renewal is processed.

(b) Reactivate after 90 days from the end of the registration peri-
od but within two biennia by completing and submitting the reacti-
vation application and processing fee, paying a late registration fee,
paying renewal fees for the lapsed registration periods, and meeting
any other requirements defined by Oregon law. If a licensee has ceased
the practice of medicine for a period of 12 or more consecutive
months, the licensee may be required to demonstrate clinical compe-
tency. If a licensee has ceased the practice of medicine for a period of
24 or more consecutive months, the licensee may be required to com-
plete a re-entry plan. The reactivation will be effective on the date the
renewal is processed.

(2) Alicense will expire if it is not reinstated or reactivated with-
in two biennia from the date the license lapsed. A previous licensee of
the Board who wishes to be relicensed after the license has expired
must apply as a new applicant by submitting the license application
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form and fee, meeting all current licensing requirements, and satis-

factorily completing the application process.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 11-1990, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-90; ME
12-1993(Temp), . & cert. ef. 10-27-93; ME 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 1-
2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME 17-2003, f. & cert. ef. 12-8-03; OMB 12-2011,
f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-008-0051
Reinstatement Following Surrender of Licensure

A licensee who wishes to be relicensed after surrendering licen-
sure, must apply as a new applicant, and submit the license applica-
tion form and fee. If the license had lapsed prior to surrender, the
lapsed registration must be cleared by payment of the back registra-
tion fees and late fee. The applicant must meet all current licensing

requirements before being considered for relicensure.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.175
Hist.: ME 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 12-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-27-
93; ME 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME
2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-01

847-008-0053
Restoration of License from Revoked Status

(1) A licensee whose license has been revoked may request
restoration of the licensure two years after the date of revocation of
his license, and must apply as a new applicant.

(2) The applicant must meet all current licensing requirements,
and pay all applicable fees.

(3) Prior to the Board reviewing the request for restoration of a
revoked license the applicant shall provide the Board with:

(a) All relevant disciplinary actions in the applicant’s history; and

(b) Professional history since the date of revocation, including
continuing medical education, and professional or personal rehabili-

tation.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.220
Hist.: BME 6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 7-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-18-01

847-008-0055
Reactivation from Locum Tenens/Inactive/Emeritus/Active-
Military or Public Health to Active/Locum Tenens Status

(1) Alicensee of the Board who wishes to reactivate from an inac-
tive or emeritus status to an active or locum tenens status, or from
locum tenens status to active status, must provide the Board with the
following:

(a) Completed Affidavit of Reactivation form;

(b) Completed application(s) for registration;

(c) Appropriate fees for processing of affidavit and registration;

(d) A completed “Reports for Disciplinary Inquiries”
(MD/DO/DPM) sent to the Board from the Federation of State Med-
ical Boards or Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards and the results
of the Practitioner Request for Information Disclosure (Self-Query)
from the National Practitioners Data Bank and the Healthcare Integri-
ty and Protection Data Bank, sent to the Board by the applicant;

(e) Verification of current licensure sent directly from each of the
State Boards in the United States or Canada where the licensee has
been practicing during the past 5 years, or from the date the license
to practice in Oregon changed to inactive, locum tenens or emeritus
status, whichever is the shorter period of time, showing license num-
ber, date issued, and status; and

(f) An official letter sent directly to the Board from the director,
administrator, dean, or other official of each hospital, clinic, office, or
training institute where the licensee was employed, practiced, had hos-
pital privileges (MD/DO/DPM), or trained in the United States or for-
eign countries during the past 5 years, or from the date the license to
practice in Oregon changed to locum tenens, inactive or emeritus sta-
tus, whichever is the shorter period of time. The letter must include
an evaluation of overall performance, and specific beginning and end-
ing dates of practice/employment/training.

(2) A licensee who wishes to reactivate from an active-military
or public health status to an active or locum tenens status must pro-
vide the Board with a completed Affidavit of Reactivation form and
a copy of the Active Duty Orders, Change of Duty Orders or Reas-
signment Orders.

(3) A personal appearance before the Board may be required.

(4) If, in the judgment of the Board, the conduct of the licensee
has been such, during the period of active-military or public health,
locum tenens, inactive or emeritus registration, that the licensee would
have been denied a license if applying for an initial license to practice
medicine, the Board may deny active registration.

(5) If a licensee has ceased the practice of medicine for a period
of 12 or more consecutive months, the licensee may be required to

demonstrate clinical competency.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-97; BME
6-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 7-2002, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-02; BME 2-2004, f.
& cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 14-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 25-2000, f. & cert.
ef. 10-23-06; BME 2-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; OMB 12-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-
13-11

847-008-0056
Reactivation from Retired to Emeritus/Locum Tenens/Active
Status

(1) A licensee who wishes to reactivate from a retired status to
an emeritus, locum tenens, or active status must provide the Board
with the following:

(a) Completed affidavit form provided by the Board, describing
activities during the period of retired registration;

(b) Completed application(s) for registration; and

(c) Appropriate fees for processing of affidavit, and registration
fees.

(2) If the license had lapsed prior to the change to retired status,
the lapsed registration must be cleared by payment of the registration
renewal late fee before reactivation can be completed.

(3) A personal appearance before the Board may be required.

(4) If, in the judgment of the Board, the conduct of the licensee
has been such, during the period of retired registration, that the licensee
would have been denied a license if applying for an initial license to
practice medicine, the Board may deny emeritus/locum tenens/active
registration.

(5) If a licensee has ceased the practice of medicine for 12 or
more consecutive months, the licensee may be required to take an

examination to demonstrate medical competency.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172
Hist.: BME 16-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00

847-008-0060
Notification of Change of Location

Each licensee of the Board shall notify the Board in writing with-
in 30 days of any change in residence address, practice location, or

mailing address.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.172
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 8-2009, f. & cert. ef. 5-1-09

847-008-0065
Use of Name

(1) Each licensee of the Board must be licensed under licensee’s
legal name and must practice under that legal name.

(2) When a name is changed, all of the following must be sub-
mitted to the Board within 30 days of the name change:

(a) A signed change of name notification affidavit provided by
this Board;

(b) A copy of the legal document showing the name change; and

(c) The returned original Oregon license and license card, or
engrossed certificate, whichever is applicable.

(3) Violation of this rule will result in $195 fine and may be cause

for further disciplinary action by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: ME 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 24-2007, 1. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; OMB
23-2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-18-11

847-008-0070
Continuing Medical Competency (Education)

The Oregon Medical Board is committed to ensuring the con-
tinuing competence of its licensees for the protection, safety and well
being of the public. All licensees must engage in a culture of contin-
uous quality improvement and lifelong learning.

(1) Licensees renewing registration who had been registered with
Active, Administrative Medicine Active, Locum Tenens, Telemedicine
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Active, Telemonitoring Active, or Teleradiology Active status for the
previous registration period must demonstrate ongoing competency to
practice medicine by:

(a) Ongoing participation in re-certification by an American
Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) board, the American Osteo-
pathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (AOA-BOS),
the American Board of Podiatric Orthopedics and Primary Podiatric
Medicine (ABPOPPM), the National Commission on Certification of
Physician Assistants (NCCPA), or the National Certification Com-
mission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM); or

(b) 60 hours of continuing medical education (CME) per two
years relevant to the licensee’s current medical practice, or 30 hours
of CME if licensed during the second year of the biennium, as follows:

(A) American Medical Association (AMA) Category 1;

(B) American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Category 1-A or
2-A;

(C) American Podiatric Medical Association’s (APMA) Council
on Podiatric Medical Education approved sponsors of continuing edu-
cation; or

(D) American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) Cate-
gory 1 (pre-approved); or

(c) 30 hours of NCCAOM-approved courses per two years rel-
evant to the licensee’s current practice, or 15 hours if licensed during
the second year of the biennium.

(2) Licensees renewing registration who had been registered with
Emeritus status for the previous registration period must demonstrate
ongoing competency by:

(a) Ongoing participation in re-certification by an ABMS board,
the AOA-BOS, the ABPOPPM, the NCCPA, or the NCCAOM; or

(b) 15 hours of CME per year as follows:

(A) AMA Category 1 or 2;

(B) AOA Category 1-A, 1-B, 2-A or 2-B;

(C) APMA-approved continuing education; or

(D) AAPA Category 1 or 2; or

(c) 8 hours of NCCAOM-approved courses.

(3) Licensees who have lifetime certification with the ABMS,
AOA-BOS, ABPOPPM, or NCCPA must submit the required CME in
section (1) (b) of this rule or section (2) (b) of this rule if renewing with
Emeritus status.

(4) Licensees who have lifetime certification with the NCCAOM
must submit the required CME in section (1) (c) of this rule or section
(2) (c) of this rule if renewing with Emeritus status.

(5) The Board may audit licensees for compliance with CME.
Audited licensees have 60 days from the date of the audit to provide
course certificates. Failure to comply or misrepresentation of com-
pliance is grounds for disciplinary action.

(6) As the result of an audit, if licensee’s CME is deficient or
licensee does not provide adequate documentation, the licensee will
be fined $250 and must comply with CME requirements within 120
days from the date of the audit.

(a) If the licensee does not comply within 120 days of the date
of the audit, the fine will increase to $1000; and

(b) If the licensee does not comply within 180 days of the date
of the audit, the licensee’s license will be suspended for a minimum
of 90 days.

(7) The following licensees are exempt from this rule:

(a) Licensees in residency training;

(b) Licensees serving in the military who are deployed outside
Oregon for 90 days or more during the reporting period; and

(c) Volunteer Camp licensees.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265

Hist.: BME 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; BME 16-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09;
OMB 7-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 23-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12

847-008-0075
Mandatory Pain Management Education

(1) All licensees of the Oregon Medical Board, except the
licensees listed in section (2) of this rule, must complete mandatory
continuing medical education (CME) in the subjects of pain man-
agement and/or the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients as fol-
lows:

(a) A one-hour pain management course specific to Oregon pro-
vided by the Pain Management Commission of the Department of
Human Services; and

(b) A minimum of six continuing medical education credit hours
in the subjects of pain management and/or the treatment of terminal-
ly ill and dying patients. Any combination of CME coursework focus-
ing on pain management and/or treatment of terminally ill and dying
patients may be used to fulfill this requirement.

(2) Licensees holding the following types of licenses are not
required to meet this requirement:

(a) Lapsed license;

(b) Limited License;

(c) Telemedicine license;

(d) Teleradiology license; or

(e) Telemonitoring license.

(3) The required CME must be completed after January 1,2000,
and before January 2, 2009.

(4) Licensees must be prepared to provide documentation of
CME if requested by the Board.

(5) All applicants granted a license after January 2, 2009, except
those granted a license listed in section (2), must obtain the required
CME coursework no later than 12 months after the date the Board
granted licensure.

(6) Licensees who wish to reactivate to a status requiring com-
pletion of this CME who have not previously completed the required
CME must obtain the required coursework no later than 12 months
after the date the Board approved reactivation.

(7) The continuing medical education hours in pain management
and/or the treatment of terminally ill or dying patients may be used to
fulfill the continuing medical education hours required for registration

renewal under 847-008-0070.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: BME 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME 3-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09;
Renumbered from 847-010-0100 by OMB 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-11; OMB 12-
2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

DIVISION 10
GENERAL

847-010-0005
Tenses, Gender, and Number

For the purpose of the rules and regulations contained in this
chapter, the present tense includes the past and future tenses, and the
future, the present; the masculine gender includes the feminine, and
the feminine, the masculine; and the singular includes the plural, the

singular.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010 - 677.800
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68

847-010-0010
Definitions

For the purpose of the rules and regulations contained in this
chapter, the term “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board, the term
“Act” means the Medical Practice Act, and the term “approved fel-
lowship” means a fellowship training program approved by the Amer-
ican Osteopathic Association, the Accreditation Council for Graduate
Medical Education, or is accepted for certification by a specialty board

recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68; ME 21-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87

847-010-0012
Certification of Examination Scores and Verification of Oregon
Licensure

(1) Certification of examination scores will be furnished provided
that:

(a) The licensee submits a written request, fee and proper form
for certification;

(b) The license was issued on the basis of written examination
taken in this state.

(2) Verification of Oregon license number, date issued and cur-
rent status will be furnished regardless of the status of the license
(revoked/suspended/lapsed) provided the licensee submits a written

request and fee.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.110
Hist.: ME 11-1984(Temp), f. & ef. 7-30-84; ME 16-1984, f. & ef. 11-5-84; ME 8-
1986(Temp), f. & ef. 5-5-86; ME 10-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86

847-010-0025

Refunding of Filing Fees — Reciprocity with a Sister State
When a person files an application for licensure based upon

reciprocity with a sister state, and later withdraws such application, no

refund shall be provided.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68; ME 2-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79

847-010-0030
Refunding of Filing Fees — Written Examination

When a person files an application for licensure based upon Ore-
gon State Board written examination, and later withdraws such appli-

cation, no refund shall be provided.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68; ME 2-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79

847-010-0035

Refunding of Filing Fees — Endorsement by National Board of
Medical Examiners, National Board of Osteopathic Medical
Examiners, or the Medical Council of Canada (LMCC)

When a person files an application for licensure based upon the
National Board of Medical Examiners, the National Board of Osteo-
pathic Medical Examiners, or the Medical Council of Canada
(LMCC), and later withdraws such application, no refund shall be pro-

vided.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: ME 17, f.5-2-68; ME 2-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 15-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-
1-93

847-010-0038
Fee for Re-application

A person re-applying for licensure under OAR 847-010-0025,
847-010-0030, or 847-010-0035, after a period exceeding 12 months,
shall file a new application and pay the full filing fee as if filing for

the first time.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: ME 2-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79

847-010-0042
Posting Medicare Notice

(1) Every physician licensed to practice medicine in Oregon who
is treating Medicare patients shall post a notice in the office stating
whether or not the physician is currently participating in a Medicare
Assignment Program. Where there is more than one physician in the
medical practice, one Medicare notice is sufficient, provided all physi-
cians have the same participation or non-participation status. Other-
wise, two notices are required, one listing the participating physicians
and the other listing non-participating physicians.

(2) A physician currently a participating physician in the Medi-
care Assignment Program under 42 U.S.C. 1395(b)(3)(B)II shall post
a notice reading: (Physician’s name) is participating in the Medi-
care Assignment Program. The physician will not charge you fees
above the Medicare determined annual deductible and the per
visit co-payment. Ask your physician for more information con-
cerning your fees.

(3) A physician not currently a participating physician in the
Medicare Assignment Program under 42 U.S.C. 1395(b)(3)(B)II shall
post a notice reading: (Physician’s name) is not participating in the
Medicare Assignment Program and may legally charge you fees
in addition to the Medicare determined annual deductible and per
visit co-payment. Ask your physician for more information con-
cerning your fees.

(4) The dimension of the sign shall be no smaller than 8” x 10”;
the type size shall be no smaller than 30 point type.

(5) The posting of the sign shall assure that it can be seen and
read by Medicare beneficiaries.

(6) If the physician has reasonable cause to believe that the
patient cannot read the sign or cannot comprehend its content, the

physician shall endeavor to explain the meaning of the notice.
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.099
Hist.: ME 20-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 9-30-87; ME 2-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88

847-010-0045
Definition of Hospitals as Standard in the State of Oregon

The Oregon Medical Board of the State of Oregon will accept the
following hospitals as standard as required under ORS 677.060: Those
legally incorporated hospitals which are approved for internship and/or
residency training by the Council on Medical Education and Hospi-
tals of the American Medical Association or any similar body of the
American Medical Association in the future whose function is that of
approving hospitals for internship and/or residency training; or by any

similar body of the American Osteopathic Association.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100
Hist.: ME 17, f. 5-2-68

847-010-0051
Limited License, Postgraduate

(1) This limited license applies to interns (PG1) and residents as
defined in ORS 677.010. This limited license permits the physician to
practice medicine only as part of a supervised postgraduate training
program of a school of medicine or hospital approved by the Board.

(2) The Limited License, Postgraduate shall be granted for a peri-
od of thirteen months, which allows the postgraduate the flexibility of
using up to four weeks of time either before or after the start or end
of twelve months of postgraduate training. The majority of the Lim-
ited License, Postgraduates are requested for the training year of late
June one year to early July of the following year. When needed, the
additional four weeks (thirteenth month) of training or adjustment of
training dates will be used in earlier June or later July. A smaller num-
ber of Limited License, Postgraduates are requested for dates that are
considered “off-cycle.” The Limited License, Postgraduate may be
renewed for each additional year of training. The physician must sub-
mit a limited license form and fee 30 days before the end of the thir-

teen months to be granted a new limited license.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132
Hist.: ME 10-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-4-89; ME 18-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
89; ME 9-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; BME 4-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME
17-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09

847-010-0052
Limited License, Visiting Professor

(1) A physician who does not qualify for a medical license under
any of the provisions of this Chapter and who is offered a teaching fel-
lowship in an approved medical school or affiliated teaching institu-
tion in this state may, after application to and approval by the Board,
be issued a Limited License, Visiting Professor. This license allows the
physician to practice medicine only to the extent that such practice is
incident to and a necessary part of the applicant’s duties as approved
by the Board in connection with such teaching fellowship.

(2) The Limited License, Visiting Professor is valid for a period
of one year, and upon written request may be renewed for one addi-
tional year. The two years must be consecutive, and any unused por-
tion of time can not be requested at a later date.

(3) Every physician who is issued a Limited License, Visiting
Professor to practice in this state and who intends to continue practice
in such teaching position beyond the period granted for the license
must submit a new limited license application and fee at least 30 days
before the expiration date of the license.

(4) To qualify for a Limited License, Visiting Professor, an appli-
cant must furnish documentary evidence satisfactory to the Board of
graduation from a school of medicine, and a curriculum vitae.

(5) The head of the department in which the applicant is to be
appointed must certify in writing to the Board that the applicant has
been offered a teaching fellowship which will be under the direction
of the head of the department and will not be permitted to practice
medicine unless as a necessary part of the applicant’s duties as

approved by the Board in section (1) of this rule.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100 & 677.132
Hist.: ME 21-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87; ME 11-1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-88; ME 1-
1991(Temp), f. 1-30-91, cert. ef. 1-31-91; ME 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 4-19-91; ME
4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; BME 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME 4-2003, f.
& cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 2-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; BME 23-2008, f. & cert. ef.
10-31-08
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847-010-0053
Limited License, Special

(1) An applicant for a license to practice medicine who possess-
es all of the qualifications required by the Board may be issued a Lim-
ited License, Special, provided the applicant has completed an appli-
cation under ORS 677.120, 677.825 or 677.830 to the satisfaction of
the Board and has requested a Limited License, Special.

(2) A Limited License, Special, permits the licensee to practice
medicine only until the adjournment of the next regular Board meet-
ing which date shall be specified in the license. However, the Board
may, in its discretion, and upon written request of the licensee, extend
said limited license to the adjournment of the Board meeting next fol-

lowing the Board meeting specified in the license.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132
Hist.: ME 10-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-4-89; ME 18-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
89

847-010-0056
Limited License, Fellow

(1) Any physician who proposes to do a fellowship in Oregon and
who does not wish to register under OAR 847-020-0120 or 847-020-
0130 may apply for a Limited License, Fellow. A fellow is a physician
who is pursuing some special line of study as part of a supervised pro-
gram of an approved school of medicine or affiliated teaching insti-
tution. A Limited License, Fellow permits the physician to practice
medicine only as part of a supervised fellowship program.

(2) A Limited License, Fellow shall be granted for a period of one
year, and upon written request from the head of the training program
submitted 30 days before the end of the first year, may be renewed for
only one additional year. The two years must be consecutive.

(3) Arequest for a Limited License, Fellow must be accompanied
by a copy of the appointment letter or contract, and a letter sent direct-
ly from the head of the training program advising that the applicant
has been offered a fellowship position and the dates of the program.

(4) Every physician who is issued a Limited License, Fellow to
practice in this state shall complete a limited license application form
and pay the limited license fee as of the beginning of his appointment,
and 30 days before the end of the first year must submit a new limit-
ed license application form and fee for the second year.

(5) Fellowships approved by the Accreditation Council for Grad-
uate Medical Education (ACGME) may be used to qualify for a license
under OAR 847-020-0120 or 847-020-0130. Non-approved fellow-

ships may not be used toward licensure.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132
Hist.: ME 9-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-93; BME
2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME 4-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 5-2004, f.
& cert. ef. 4-22-04

847-010-0060
Limited License, Special, Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX,
and Limited License, Postgraduate

A physician who is granted a Limited License, Special, Limited
License, SPEX/COMVEX, or Limited License, Postgraduate in the
State of Oregon is entitled to apply for and obtain a federal narcotic

stamp.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132
Hist.: ME 17, £. 5-2-68; ME 10-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-8; ME 3-1988(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 1-29-88; ME 6-1988, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-88; BME 11-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-
99; BME 3-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08

847-010-0063
Limited License, Medical Faculty

(1) A physician qualifying under OAR 847-020-0140 may be
granted a Limited License, Medical Faculty after applying to and being
approved by the Board at a quarterly Board meeting. This license
allows the physician to practice medicine only to the extent that such
practice is incident to and a necessary part of the applicant’s duties as
approved by the Board in connection with the faculty position.

(2) A Limited License, Medical Faculty is valid for one year after
issuance and may be renewed as frequently as needed for a total peri-
od not to exceed four years. The four years must be consecutive.

(3) Every physician who is issued a Limited License, Medical
Faculty to practice in this state and who intends to continue practice
in such faculty position beyond the period granted for the license must

submit a new limited license application and fee at least 30 days before

the expiration date of the license.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100 & 677.132
Hist.: ME 21-1987, . & ef. 10-29-87; ME 11-1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-88; ME 4-1993,
f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; BME 5-2001, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-01; BME 2-2002, f. & cert.
ef. 1-28-02; BME 5-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-
07; BME 23-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08

847-010-0064
Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX

(1) An applicant for a license to practice medicine, who, being
otherwise qualified for the unlimited license, but who must take a
Competency Examination (Special Purpose Examination-SPEX or
Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable-Purpose Examination-
COMVEX), may be issued a Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX pro-
vided the applicant has completed an application under ORS 677.100
to 677.132 which is satisfactory to the Board.

(2) A Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX may be granted for a
period of 6 months and permits the licensee to practice medicine only
until grade results are available, and the applicant completes the ini-
tial registration process. The Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX
would become invalid should the applicant fail the SPEX or
COMVEX examination and the applicant, upon notification of failure
of the examination, must cease practice in this state as expeditiously
as possible, but not to exceed two weeks after the applicant receives

notice of failure of the examination.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.120 & 677.132
Hist.: ME 10-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-4-89; ME 18-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-
89; ME 8-1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96; ME 4-1997, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-97; BME 3-
2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08

847-010-0066
Visiting Physician Requirements

(1) The Oregon Medical Board may grant approval for a visiting
physician to practice in a hospital, in a facility accredited per OAR
847, Division 017, or under the supervision of an actively licensed
Oregon physician in order to obtain or provide training for a period
up to thirty days per year. The visiting physician who requests addi-
tional time beyond the thirty days must apply for and obtain a license
to practice in the state of Oregon.

(2) Prior to being granted approval, the following information
must be submitted to the Oregon Medical Board:

(a) A letter from the requesting hospital administrator or admin-
istrator of the accredited facility, and a letter from the hospital chief
of staff, hospital department chairman or member of the governing
body of the accredited facility, or a letter from the Oregon licensed
physician supervising the visiting physician, with the following infor-
mation:

(A) Dates of Oregon practice of the visiting physician;

(B) Description of the procedure(s);

(C) Name of responsible staff physician who will be in atten-
dance. The attending staff physician or supervising physician must be
an Oregon licensed physician with Active status without disciplinary
action;

(D) Documentation that the requesting hospital or accredited
facility has approved privileges for the visiting physician.

(b) A curriculum vitae for the visiting physician, and

(c) Documentation that the visiting physician’s license in the state
or country in which they are practicing is active and in good standing.

(3) The request for approval to practice in the state of Oregon as
a visiting physician must be received at least two weeks prior to the
beginning date of such practice.

(4) Patients shall be informed that they are being treated by an

approved visiting physician, who is not an Oregon licensed physician.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132, 677.265
Hist.: BME 7-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 13-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-02;
BME 24-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 17-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09

847-010-0068
Practice in Oregon by Out-of-State Physicians and Physician
Assistants in the Event of an Emergency

(1) In the event of a disaster emergency declared by the Gover-
nor of Oregon, the Oregon Medical Board shall allow physicians
and/or physician assistants licensed in another state to provide med-
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ical care in Oregon under special provisions during the period of the
declared disaster emergency, subject to such limitations and conditions
as the Governor may prescribe.

(2) The out-of-state physician and/or physician assistant shall
submit to the Board the following information:

(a) Verification of a permanent, current, and unrestricted license
to practice in another state which is not the subject of a pending inves-
tigation by a hospital, a state medical board, or another state or fed-
eral agency; and

(b) Current federal or state photo identification, i.e., driver license
or passport.

(3) The requirement for completing and submitting the infor-
mation to the Board is waived if the physician is a member of the
National Disaster Medical System (NDMS) under the Office of Emer-
gency Preparedness, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services,
and submits to the Board a copy of his/her NDMS photo identifica-
tion.

(4) The physician and/or physician assistant shall provide the
Board documentation demonstrating a request to provide medical care
from a hospital, clinic or private medical practice, public health orga-
nization, EMS agency, or federal medical facility, or has otherwise
made arrangements to provide medical care in Oregon as the result of
the declaration of a disaster emergency.

(5) The physician and/or physician assistant shall not practice in
Oregon under the special disaster emergency provisions beyond the
termination date of the emergency. Practice in Oregon beyond the ter-
mination date of the declared disaster emergency requires licensure

through the Oregon Medical Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.060(4)
Hist.: BME 12-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-02

847-010-0070
Competency Examination

(1) Whenever the Board of Medical Examiners orders a medical
competency examination pursuant to ORS 677.420, it may require or
administer one, all, or any combination of the following examinations:

(a) The Special Purpose Examination (SPEX);

(b) The Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable-Purpose
Examination (COMVEX);

(c) Oral examination;

(d) Any other examination that the Board determines appropri-
ate.

(2) Failure to achieve a passing grade on any examination shall
constitute grounds for suspension or revocation of examinee’s license
on the grounds of Manifest Incapacity to Practice Medicine as pro-
vided by ORS 677.190(15).

(3) If an oral examination is ordered by the Board, an Examina-
tion Panel shall be appointed. The examination shall include questions
which test basic knowledge and also test for knowledge expected of
a physician with a practice similar in nature to that of the examinee’s.
The panel shall establish a system for weighing the score for each
question in the examination. After it is prepared, the examination shall
be submitted to the Board for review and approval.

(4) Appointment of an Examination Panel is required only when
administering an oral examination.

(5) The examinee shall be given no less than two weeks’ notice
of the date, time and place of any examination to be administered.

(6) The medical competency examination shall be paid for by the

licensee.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.110
Hist.: ME 34, f. & ef. 5-10-77; ME 3-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 8-1982, f. & ef. 10-
27-82; ME 3-1985, f. & ef. 5-6-85; BME 12-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00; BME 9-
2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-2-03; BME 3-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08

847-010-0073
Reporting Incompetent or Impaired Licensees to the Board

(1) Per ORS 677.415,677.188, and 677.190 Board licensees and
health care facilities must report to the Board as soon as possible, but
not later than ten (10) days after official action taken against a Board
licensee, to include any of the following:

(a) The licensee must report any arrest for a felony crime or any
conviction for a misdemeanor or felony.

(b) If the licensee has reasonable cause to believe that another
state licensed health care professional has engaged in prohibited or

unprofessional conduct and is not protected by state or federal laws
relating to confidentiality or protection of health care information pro-
hibiting disclosure, licensee shall report the conduct to the board
responsible for the licensee who is believed to have engaged in the
conduct.

(c) The licensee and health care facility must report any action
brought against a licensee by the facility, based upon a finding of med-
ical incompetence, unprofessional conduct or licensee impairment.

(2) For purposes of the statute, reporting to the Board means
making a report to the Board’s Investigation Unit or the Board’s Exec-
utive Director or the Board’s Medical Director. Making a report to the
Board’s Health Professionals Program (HPP) or HPP’s Medical Direc-
tor does not satisty the duty to report to the Board.

(3) For the purposes of the statute, the terms medical incompe-
tence, unprofessional conduct, and impaired licensee have the fol-
lowing meanings:

(a) Medical Incompetence: A licensee who is medically incom-
petent is one who is unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill
or safety due to lack of knowledge, ability, or impairment. Evidence
of medical incompetence shall include:

(A) Gross or repeated acts of negligence involving patient care.

(B) Failure to achieve a passing score or satisfactory rating on a
competency examination or program of evaluation when the exami-
nation or evaluation is ordered or directed by a health care facility.

(C) Failure to complete a course or program of remedial educa-
tion when ordered or directed to do so by a health care facility.

(b) Unprofessional conduct: Unprofessional conduct includes the
behavior described in ORS 677.188(4) and is conduct which is unbe-
coming to a person licensed by the Board of Medical Examiners or
detrimental to the best interest of the public and includes:

(A) Any conduct or practice contrary to recognized standards of
ethics of the medical, podiatric or acupuncture professions or any con-
duct which does or might constitute a danger to the public, to include
a violation of patient boundaries.

(B) Willful performance of any surgical or medical treatment
which is contrary to acceptable medical standards.

(C) Willful and repeated ordering or performance of unnecessary
laboratory tests or radiologic studies, administration of unnecessary
treatment, employment of outmoded, unproved, or unscientific treat-
ments, except as allowed in ORS 677.190(1)(b), failing to obtain con-
sultations when failing to do so is not consistent with the standard of
care, or otherwise utilizing medical service for diagnosis or treatment
which is or may be considered unnecessary or inappropriate.

(D) Committing fraud in the performance of, or the billing for,
medical procedures.

(E) Engaging in repeated instances of disruptive behavior in the
health care setting that could adversely affect the delivery of health
care to patients.

(F) Any conduct related to the practice of medicine that poses a
danger to the public health or safety.

(G) Sexual misconduct: Licensee sexual misconduct is behavior
that exploits the licensee-patient relationship in a sexual way. The
behavior is non-diagnostic and non-therapeutic, may be verbal or
physical, and may include expressions of thoughts and feelings or ges-
tures that are sexual or that reasonably may be construed by a patient
as sexual. Sexual misconduct includes but is not limited to:

(I) Sexual violation: Licensee-patient sex, whether or not initi-
ated by the patient, and engaging in any conduct with a patient that is
sexual or may be reasonably interpreted as sexual, including but not
limited to:

(i) Sexual intercourse;

(ii) Genital to genital contact;

(iii) Oral to genital contact;

(iv) Oral to anal contact;

(v) Genital to anal contact

(vi) Kissing in a romantic or sexual manner;

(vii) Touching breasts, genitals, or any sexualized body part for
any purpose other than appropriate examination or treatment, or where
the patient has refused or has withdrawn consent;

(viii) Encouraging the patient to masturbate in the presence of the
licensee or masturbation by the licensee while the patient is present;

(ix) Offering to provide practice-related services, such as medi-
cations, in exchange for sexual favors.
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(II) Sexual impropriety: Behavior, gestures, or expressions that
are seductive, sexually suggestive, or sexually demeaning to a patient
or their family or associates, to include:

(i) Sexually exploitative behavior, to include taking, transmitting,
viewing, or in any way using photos or any other image of a patient,
their family or associates for the prurient interest of others.

(i) Intentional viewing in the health care setting of any sexual-
ly explicit conduct for prurient interests.

(iii) Having any involvement with child pornography, which is
defined as any visual depiction of a minor (a child younger than 18)
engaged in sexually explicit conduct.

(c) Licensee Impairment: A licensee who is impaired is a licensee
who is unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill or safety due
to factors which include, but are not limited to:

(A) The use or abuse of alcohol, drugs, or other substances which
impair ability.

(B) Mental or emotional illness.

(C) Physical deterioration or long term illness or injury which
adversely affects cognition, motor, or perceptive skills.

(4) For the purposes of the reporting requirements of this rule and
ORS 677.415, licensees shall be considered to be impaired if they
refuse to undergo an evaluation for mental or physical competence or
chemical impairment, or if they resign their privileges to avoid such
an evaluation, when the evaluation is ordered or directed by a health
care facility or by this Board.

(5) A report made by a board licensee or the Oregon Medical
Association or other health professional association, to include the
Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons of Oregon, Inc, or the Oregon
Podiatric Medical Association to the Board of Medical Examiners
under ORS 677.415 shall include the following information:

(a) The name, title, address and telephone number of the person
making the report;

(b) The information that appears to show that a licensee is or may
be medically incompetent, is or may be guilty of unprofessional or dis-
honorable conduct or is or may be a licensee with an impairment.

(6) A report made by a health care facility to the Board under
ORS 677.415(5) and (6) shall include:

(a) The name, title, address and telephone number of the health
care facility making the report;

(b) The date of an official action taken against the licensee or the
licensee’s voluntary action withdrawing from practice, voluntary res-
ignation or voluntary limitation of licensee staff privileges; and

(c) A description of the official action or the licensee’s voluntary
action, as appropriate to the report, including:

(A) The specific restriction, limitation, suspension, loss or denial
of the licensee’s medical staff privileges and the effective date or term
of the restriction, limitation, suspension, loss or denial; or

(B) The fact that the licensee has voluntarily withdrawn from the
practice of medicine or podiatry, voluntarily resigned from the staff
of a health care facility or voluntarily limited the licensee’s privileges
at a health care facility and the effective date of the withdrawal, res-
ignation or limitation.

(7) A report made under ORS 677.415 § 2 may not include any
information that is privileged peer review data, see ORS 41.675.

(8) All required reports shall be made in writing.

(9) Any person who reports or provides information to the board
under ORS 677.205 and 677.410 to 677.425 and who provides infor-
mation in good faith shall not be subject to an action for civil damages

as a result thereof.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, HB 2059 (2009)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190, 677.265, HB 2059 (2009)
Hist.: BME 5-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 9-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME
3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 3-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; BME 9-2009, f.
& cert. ef. 5-1-09; BME 3-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10

847-010-0075
Reporting of Alleged Professional Negligence
(1) As required in ORS 742.400 any insurer or approved self
insurance association shall report claims of alleged professional neg-
ligence to the Oregon Medical Board within 30 days of filing of the
claim. Incidents and inquiries not leading to claims need not be filed.
(2) All settlements, awards or judgments against a physician paid
as a result of alleged professional negligence shall be reported to the

Board within 30 days after the date of settlement, award or judgment.
Stat. Authority: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 742
Hist.: ME 3-1987, f. & ef. 1-23-87; ME 10-1988, f. & cert. ef. 8-5-88; BME 1-2000,
f.& cert. ef. 2-7-00

847-010-0078
Agreement Prohibited between Physician and Patient that
Limits a Patient’s Rights

Licensees and applicants shall not make an agreement with a
patient or person, or any person or entity representing patients, nor pro-
vide any form of consideration, that would prohibit, restrict, discour-
age or otherwise limit a person’s ability to file a complaint with the
Oregon Medical Board, to truthfully and fully answer any questions
posed by an agent or representative of the Board, or to participate as

a witness in a Board proceeding.
Statutory Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132
Hist.: BME 3-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-01

847-010-0081
Physician- Assisted Death with Dignity

A licensee’s compliance with ORS 127.800 et seq shall not be
considered a violation of 677.190(1), unprofessional or dishonorable

conduct, as defined in 677.188(4)(a), (b), or (c).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 127.885
Hist.: BME 2-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-4-98 thru 7-31-98; BME 4-1998, f. & cert.
ef. 4-22-98; OMB 29-2012, f. & cert. ef. 11-22-12

847-010-0090
Hospital Clinical Clerkships

Because students of medicine doing hospital clinical clerkships
(externships) in hospitals will be participating in the diagnosis and
treatment of patients, it is necessary that the Oregon Medical Board
establish minimum standards under which these students will be work-
ing. Therefore, the Board establishes the following rules pertaining to
both hospitals and students participating in clinical clerkships. These
rules do not apply to non-hospital proceptorships:

(1) Hospitals:

(a) Only hospitals conducting internship/residency programs
approved by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Educa-
tion of the American Medical Association or the Canadian Medical
Association or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Cana-
da or the American Osteopathic Association may provide clerkships;

(b) Clerkships may be offered only in those subjects in which an
approved internship/residency program exists in that hospital;

(c) Hospitals conducting clerkships shall have a written agree-
ment with the school of medicine sponsoring the student;

(d) Hospital clinical physicians responsible for the supervision
of clinical clerks shall have an academic appointment from a school
of medicine;

(e) Regular evaluation of the work of the clinical clerks shall be
recorded and a copy forwarded to the school of medicine;

(f) Hospitals offering clerkships shall notify the Board of the
clerkships offered and the schools with which they are affiliated.

(2) Students:

(a) Only students in the last two years of their training may par-
ticipate in clerkships;

(b) Students from schools not approved by the Board shall pass

Day 1 of FMGEMS before participating in the clerkship in this state.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100
Hist.: ME 4-1985, f. & ef. 5-6-85

847-010-0095
Peer Review

The Oregon Medical Board will participate in a peer review pro-
cess to implement the provisions of ORS 441.055 by using the fol-
lowing rules:

(1) The Board will receive requests to appoint physicians to con-
duct peer review provided the requests are made jointly by all of the
following:

(a) The physician whose practice is being reviewed;

(b) The executive committee of the health care facility’s medi-
cal staff;

(c) The governing body of the health care facility.

(2) The Board will review requests and may decide to appoint
physicians to conduct peer review.
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(3) If the Board decides to appoint physicians to conduct peer
review, the parties will be required to sign a contract agreeing to pay
all costs. The Board will not be a party to such contract.

(4) The Board will appoint one or more physicians to conduct
peer review in accordance with the medical staff by-laws of the facil-
ity.

(5) Reports will be processed according to Board protocol.

(6) The report of findings and conclusions of the panel will be
forwarded to the requesting facility for processing according to the
medical staff by-laws of the facility.

(7) If further action necessitates appropriate hearing proceedings,
a panel of physicians will be appointed to conduct the hearings in
accordance with the medical staff by-laws of the facility.

(8) The report of findings and conclusions of the hearings panel
will be forwarded to the requesting facility in accordance with the

medical staff by-laws.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 441.055
Hist.: ME 2-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88

847-010-0110
Physicians and Physician Assistants to Honor Life-Sustaining
Treatment Orders

(1) A physician or physician assistant licensed pursuant to ORS
Chapter 677 shall respect the patient’s wishes including life-sustain-
ing treatments. Consistent with the requirements of ORS Chapter 127,
a physician or physician assistant shall respect and honor life-sus-
taining treatment orders executed by a physician, physician assistant
or nurse practitioner. The fact that a physician, physician assistant or
nurse practitioner who executed a life-sustaining treatment order does
not have admitting privileges at a hospital or health care facility where
the patient is being treated does not remove the obligation under this
section to honor the order. In keeping with ORS Chapter 127, a physi-
cian or physician assistant shall not be subject to criminal prosecution,
civil liability or professional discipline.

(2) Should new information on the health of the patient become
available the goals of treatment may change. Following discussion
with the patient, or if incapable their surrogate, new orders regarding

life-sustaining treatment should be written, dated and signed.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 127.505-127.660, 677.265
Hist.: BME 13-2007, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-07

DIVISION 12

PATIENT’S ACCESS TO
PHYSICIAN MEDICAL RECORDS

847-012-0000
Patient’s Access to Medical Records

(1) Licensees of the Oregon Medical Board must make protect-
ed health information in the medical record available to the patient or
the patient’s representative upon their request, to inspect and obtain
a copy of protected health information about the individual, except as
provided by law and this rule. The patient may request all or part of
the record. A summary may substitute for the actual record only if the
patient agrees to the substitution. Board licensees are encouraged to
use the written authorization form provided by ORS 192.522.

(2) For the purpose of this rule, “health information in the med-
ical record” means any oral or written information in any form or
medium that is created or received and relates to:

(a) The past, present, or future physical or mental health of the
patient.

(b) The provision of healthcare to the patient.

(c) The past, present, or future payment for the provision of
healthcare to the patient.

(3) Upon request, the entire health information record in the pos-
session of the Board licensee will be provided to the patient. This
includes records from other healthcare providers. Information which
may be withheld includes:

(a) Information which was obtained from someone other than a
healthcare provider under a promise of confidentiality and access to
the information would likely reveal the source of the information;

(b) Psychotherapy notes;

(c) Information compiled in reasonable anticipation of, or for use
in, a civil, criminal, or administrative action or proceeding; and

(d) Other reasons specified by federal regulation.

(4) Licensees who have retired, failed to renew their license, relo-
cated their practice out of the area, had their license revoked, or had
their license suspended for one year or more must notify each patient
seen within the previous two years and the Oregon Medical Board of
the change in licensee’s status and how patients may access or obtain
their medical records. Notifications must be in writing and sent by reg-
ular mail to each patient’s last known address within 45 days of the
change in licensee’s status.

(5) Licensees who have been suspended for less than one year
must notify the Board within 10 days of the suspension how patients
may access or obtain their medical records.

(6) A reasonable cost may be imposed for the costs incurred in
complying with the patient’s request for health information. These
costs may include:

(a) No more than $30 for copying 10 or fewer pages of written
material, and no more than 50 cents per page for pages 11 through 50,
and no more than 25 cents for each additional page;

(b) A bonus charge of $5 if the request for records is processed
and the records are mailed by first class mail to the requester within
seven business days after the date of the request;

(c) Postage costs to mail copies of the requested records;

(d) Actual costs of preparing an explanation or summary of the
health information, if such information is requested by the patient; and

(e) Actual costs of reproducing films, x-rays, or other reports
maintained in a non-written form.

(7) A patient may not be denied summaries or copies of his/her
medical records because of inability to pay.

(8) Requests for medical records must be complied with within
a reasonable amount of time not to exceed 30 days from the receipt
of the request.

(9) Violation of this rule will result in a $195 fine and may be

cause for further disciplinary action by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 192.521
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 192.521
Hist.: ME 7-1988, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-88; BME 1-2004, . & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME
18-2004, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-04; BME 17-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; OMB 24-
2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-18-11

DIVISION 15

GENERAL LICENSING RULES, RELATING
TO CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

847-015-0005
Scheduled IT Controlled Substance — Bariatrics Practice

(1) A physician shall not utilize a Schedule II controlled sub-
stance for purposes of weight reduction or control.

(2) A violation of any provision of this rule, as determined by the
Board, shall constitute Unprofessional Conduct as the term is used in
ORS 677.188(4)(a), (b), or (c), whether or not actual injury to a patient

is established.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.188 & 677.190
Hist.: ME 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-20-87; ME 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-95

847-015-0010
Schedule III or I'V Controlled Substances — Bariatrics Practice

(1) A physician shall not utilize a Schedule III or IV controlled
substance for purposes of weight reduction, other than in accordance
with federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) product guidelines
in effect at the time of utilization and with all the provisions of this
rule.

(2) A physician may utilize a Schedule III or IV controlled sub-
stance for purposes of weight reduction in the treatment of Exogenous
Obesity in a regimen of weight reduction based on caloric restriction,
behavior modification and prescribed exercise, provided that all of the
following conditions are met:

(a) Before initiating treatment utilizing a Schedule III or IV con-
trolled substance, the physician determines through review of the
physician’s own records of prior treatment, or through review of the
records of prior treatment which another treating physician or weight-
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loss program has provided to the physician, that one of the following
conditions exist:

(A) Patient’s body mass index exceeds 30 Kg/M sq; or

(B) Patient’s body mass index exceeds 27 Kg/M sq and the
excess weight represents a threat to the patient’s health (as with hyper-
tension, diabetes, or hypercholesterolemia.)

(b) Before initiating treatment utilizing a Schedule III or IV con-
trolled substance, the physician obtains a thorough history, performs
a thorough physical examination of the patient, and rules out the exis-
tence of any recognized contraindications to the use of the controlled
substance to be utilized.

(3) Continuation of Schedule III or IV designated as FDA short
term use controlled substances beyond three (3) months requires doc-
umentation of an average two (2) pound per month weight loss dur-
ing active weight reduction treatment, or documentation of mainte-
nance of goal weight. Use of Schedule III or IV controlled substances
with FDA approval for bariatric therapy and designated for long term
use where FDA guidelines are followed may also be used beyond three
months.

(4) A violation of any provision of this rule, as determined by the
Board, shall constitute Unprofessional Conduct as the term is used in
ORS 677.188(4)(a), (b), or (c), whether or not actual injury to a patient
is established.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.188(4) & 677.190(25)

Hist.: ME 1-1987, f. & ef. 1-20-87; ME 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-95; ME 1-1997,

f. & cert. ef. 1-28-97; BME 9-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 17-2000(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00 thru 2-28-01; BME 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-01

847-015-0015
Maintenance of Controlled Substances Log by Prescribing
Practitioners

Any practitioner dispensing or administering controlled sub-
stances from the practitioner’s office must have a Drug Enforcement
Administration registration indicating the address of that office. The
practitioner shall maintain an inventory log showing all controlled sub-
stances received, and administered or dispensed. This log shall also list
for each controlled substance, the patient’s name, amounts used, and
date administered or dispensed. This log shall be available for inspec-
tion on request by the Oregon Medical Board or its authorized agents.

Controlled substances samples are included in this rule.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 475.165
Hist.: ME 15-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-87

847-015-0020
Maintenance of Controlled Substances Log — Ambulance and
Medical Rescue Services Receiving Controlled Substances from
Physicians

Any physician providing controlled substances for use by ambu-
lance and medical rescue services must have a Drug Enforcement
Administration registration for the address where the controlled sub-
stances and inventory log are stored. The inventory log at the regis-
tered address shall be maintained showing all controlled substances
received, or dispensed to the emergency vehicle. The administration
log shall also show for each controlled substance, the patient’s name
and amount used, date, and by whom administered or dispensed, and
may be maintained in the emergency vehicle. This log should be
reviewed for accuracy on a monthly basis and be readily retrievable
for inspection on request by the Board, the ambulance licensing

authority as specified in ORS 682.015, or their authorized agents.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245
Hist.: ME 10-1987, f. & ef. 4-28-87; ME 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-97; BME 8-
2001, . & cert. ef. 7-18-01

847-015-0025
Dispensing Physicians and Podiatric Physicians

(1) Any actively licensed physician or podiatric physician who
dispenses drugs must register with the Board as a dispensing physi-
cian before beginning to dispense drugs.

(2) A physician must register with the Board as a dispensing
physician before supervising a physician assistant or any other health
care provider with emergency dispensing privileges.

(3) Dispensing of samples, without charge, is not dispensing
under this rule.

(4) Administering drugs in the physician’s or podiatric physi-
cian’s office is not dispensing under this rule.

(5) At the time of license registration renewal, all dispensing
physicians must indicate their status as a dispensing physician on the
registration renewal form.

(6) Any physician or podiatric physician who dispenses drugs
after January 1, 1988, without first registering with the Board will be
fined $195 and may be subject to further disciplinary action by the

Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010 & 677.089
Hist.: ME 22-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87; ME 9-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-93; BME 1-
2005, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-05; BME 24-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; OMB 30-2011,
f. & cert. ef. 10-27-11

847-015-0030

Written Notice Disclosing the Material Risks Associated with
Prescribed or Administered Controlled Substances for the
Treatment of “Intractable Pain”

(1) Definitions

(a) “Controlled substance” has the meaning given that term under
ORS 475.005.

(b) “Intractable pain” means a chronic pain state in which the
cause of the pain cannot be removed or otherwise treated and for
which, in the generally accepted course of medical practice, no relief
or cure of the cause of the pain has been found after reasonable efforts,
including, but not limited to, evaluation by the attending physician.

(2) Controlled substances may be prescribed for long term treat-
ment of intractable pain. The attending physician records must con-
tain the attending physician’s examination, diagnosis and any other
supporting diagnostic evaluations and other therapeutic trials, includ-
ing records from previous providers. If there is a consulting physician,
written documentation of his/her corroborating findings, diagnosis and
recommendations shall be included in the record.

(3) Before initiating treatment of intractable pain with controlled
substances or, when it is apparent that pain which is already being
treated with controlled substances has now become intractable, the
attending physician shall discuss with the patient the procedures, alter-
natives and risks associated with the prescribing or administering con-
trolled substances for long term management of pain. Following the
discussion the patient will be given an opportunity to request further
explanations. When the patient is satisfied with the explanation of the
issues related to the prescribing of these drugs over long periods of
time, the attending physician shall provide to the person and the per-
son shall sign a written document outlining the issues discussed asso-
ciated with the prescribed or administered controlled substances.

(4) The material risk notice should include but not be limited to:

(a) The diagnosis;

(b) The controlled substance and/or group of controlled sub-
stances to be used;

(c) Anticipated therapeutic results;

(A) Pain relief;

(B) Functional goals;

(d) Alternatives to controlled substance therapy;

(e) Potential additional therapies to be used in conjunction with
controlled substances; and

(f) Potential side effects (if applicable):

(A) Cardiovascular;

(B) Central Nervous System;

(C) Gastrointestinal;

(D) Endocrine;

(E) Respiratory;

(F) Dermatologic;

(G) Urinary;

(H) Pregnancy, and

(I) Other.

(g) Allergy Potential;

(h) Interaction/Potentiation of other medications;

(i) Potential for dose escalation/tolerance;

(j) Withdrawal precautions;

(k) Potential for dependence and addiction;

(1) Potential for impairment of judgment and/or motor skills;

(m) Satisfaction with or desire for more explanation; and

(n) Patient signature (dated).
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(5) The material risk consent form will be maintained as a per-
manent component of the patient record as shall documentation of long
term follow-up to demonstrate the continued need for this form of ther-
apy. A dispensing record of the amount and dose of the prescribed or
administered controlled substances shall be maintained as part of the

patient record.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, SB 880 2007
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677470 - 485
Hist.: ME 4-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; BME 8-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME
6-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 9-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08

847-015-0035
Attending Physicians Prescribing Medications to Physician-
Assisted Death with Dignity Patients

Attending physicians prescribing medications pursuant to ORS
127.800-127.897 must:

(1) Dispense medications directly, including ancillary medica-
tions intended to facilitate the desired effect to minimize the patient’s
discomfort, provided the attending physician is registered as a dis-
pensing physician with the Oregon Medical Board, has a current Drug
Enforcement Administration (D.E.A.) certificate, and complies with
the provisions of ORS 677.089, OAR 847-015-0015 and 847-015-
0025; or

(2) With the patient’s written consent:

(a) Contact a pharmacist, and inform the pharmacist of the pur-
pose of the prescription; and

(b) Deliver the written prescription personally or by mail to the
pharmacist who will dispense the medications to either the patient, the

attending physician, or an expressly identified patient’s agent.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 127.800 - 127.995
Hist.: BME 3-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-8-98 thru 10-5-98; BME 10-1998, f. &
cert. ef. 7-22-98; OMB 29-2012, f. & cert. ef. 11-22-12

847-015-0040
Collaborative Drug Therapy Management

(1) “Collaborative Drug Therapy Management” as used in this
section means the participation by a physician and a pharmacist in the
management of drug therapy pursuant to a written protocol that
includes information specific to the dosage, frequency, duration and
route of administration of the drug, authorized by a physician and ini-
tiated upon a prescription order for an individual patient and:

(a) Is agreed to by one physician and one pharmacist; or

(b) Is agreed to by one or more physicians in a single organized
medical group, such as a hospital medical staff, clinic or group prac-
tice, including but not limited to organized medical groups using a
pharmacy and therapeutics committee, and one or more pharmacists
at a single pharmacy registered by the Board of Pharmacy.

(2) A physician shall engage in collaborative drug therapy man-
agement with a pharmacist only under a written arrangement that
includes:

(a) The identification, either by name or by description, of the
participating pharmacist(s);

(b) The identification, by name, of the participating physician(s);

(c) The name of the physician and principal pharmacist who are
responsible for development, training, administration, and quality
assurance of the arrangement;

(d) A detailed description of the collaborative role the pharma-
cist(s) shall play, including but not limited to:

(A) Written protocol for specific drugs pursuant to which the
pharmacist will base drug therapy management decisions for an indi-
vidual patient;

(B) Circumstances which will cause the pharmacist to initiate
communication with the physician, including but not limited to the
need for new prescription orders and reports of patients’ therapeutic
responses or adverse effects;

(C) Training requirement for pharmacist participation and ongo-
ing assessment of competency, if necessary;

(D) Quality assurance and periodic review by a panel of the par-
ticipating physicians(s) and pharmacist(s).

(e) Authorization by the physician(s) for the pharmacist(s) to par-
ticipate in the collaborative drug therapy;

(f) A provision for the collaborative drug therapy arrangement to
be reviewed and updated, or discontinued at least every two years; and

(g) A description of the mechanism for the pharmacist(s) to com-
municate to the physician(s) and for documentation of the imple-
mentation of the collaborative drug therapy.

(3) Collaborative drug therapy management is valid only when
initiated upon the prescription order of a participating physician for
each individual patient.

(4) Nothing in this rule shall be construed to allow therapeutic
substitution.

(5) The collaborative drug therapy protocol must be filed with the
Board of Pharmacy, kept on file in the pharmacy and made available
to the Board of Pharmacy and the Oregon Medical Board upon

request.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 689.005(30)
Hist.: BME 12-1999, . & cert. ef. 7-23-99

DIVISION 17
OFFICE-BASED SURGERY

847-017-0000
Preamble

Licensees of the Oregon Medical Board providing office-based
invasive procedures are accountable for the welfare and safety of their

patients.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06

847-017-0005
Definitions

For the purpose of these rules, the following terms are defined:

(1) “Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) trained” means that
a practitioner has successfully completed and maintains certification
with advanced resuscitative techniques appropriate to the practition-
er’s field of practice. For example, for those practitioners treating adult
patients, training in advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) is appro-
priate; for those treating children, training in pediatric advanced life
support (PALS) or advanced pediatric life support (APLS) is appro-
priate.

(2) “Anesthesia, continuum of sedation:” Level of Sedation —
Responsiveness Airway — Spontaneous Ventilation — Cardiovascu-
lar Function:

(A) Conscious (Moderate) Sedation/ Analgesia — Purposeful
response to verbal or tactile stimulation—No intervention required —
Adequate — Usually maintained;

(B) Deep Sedation/Analgesia — Purposeful response following
repeated or painful stimulation 1 — Intervention may be required —
May be inadequate — Usually maintained;

(C) General Anesthesia — Unarousable, even with painful stim-
ulus — Intervention often required — Frequently inadequate — May
be impaired. Reflex withdrawal from a painful stimulus is not con-
sidered a purposeful response.

(3) “Anesthetic agent” means any drug or combination of drugs
administered with the purpose of creating conscious (moderate) seda-
tion, deep sedation, regional anesthesia, or general anesthesia.

(4) “Adverse incident” means an untoward event occurring at any
time within seven (7) days of any surgery, special procedure, or the
administration of anesthesia agent(s) in an office setting.

(5) “Basic Life Support (BLS)” trained means that a practition-
er has successfully completed and maintains certification in car-
diopulmonary resuscitation. BLS training includes teaching the use of
an automated external defibrillator (AED).

(6) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board.

(7) “Local anesthesia” means the administration of an agent that
produces a transient and reversible loss of sensation in a circumscribed
portion of the body.

(8) “Major conduction block anesthesia” means the injection of
a local anesthetic agent in close proximity to a specific nerve or nerves
to stop or prevent a painful sensation in a region of the body. Major
conduction anesthesia includes, but is not limited to, all blocks and
approaches to the brachial or lumbar plexus, sub-arachnoid blocks,
epidural and caudal blocks and regional intravenous blocks.

(9) “Minor procedures” means surgery that can safely and com-
fortably be performed under topical or local anesthesia without more
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than minimal oral or intramuscular preoperative sedation. Minor pro-
cedures include, but are not limited to, surgery of the skin, subcuta-
neous tissue and other adjacent tissue, the incision and drainage of
superficial abscesses, limited endoscopies such as proctoscopies,
arthrocentesis and closed reduction of simple fractures or small joint
dislocations.

(10) “Monitoring” means continuous or regular visual observa-
tion of the patient (as deemed appropriate by the level of sedation or
recovery) and the use of instruments to measure, display, and record
physiologic values, such as heart rate, blood pressure, respiration, and
oxygen saturation.

(11) “Office” means a location at which medical or surgical ser-
vices are rendered and which is not subject to a jurisdiction and licens-
ing requirements of the Oregon Department of Human Services.

(12) “Office-based surgery” means the performance of any sur-
gical or other invasive procedure requiring anesthesia, analgesia, or
sedation, which results in patient stay of less than 24 consecutive
hours, and is performed by a practitioner in a location other than a hos-
pital, diagnostic treatment center, or free-standing ambulatory
surgery center.

(13) “Governing body of the facility” means the licensee or group

of licensees who establish the office-based surgery facility.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06

847-017-0010
Patient Safety

(1) Offices in which only minor procedures are performed do not
require accreditation or the presence of ACLS certified providers.

(2) The facility in which the office-based surgeries or procedures
are performed must be appropriately equipped and maintained to
ensure patient safety through accreditation by an appropriate, Board
recognized, national or state organization, i.e., the Joint Commission
on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), the Accred-
itation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC), the Amer-
ican Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgical Facilities
(AAAASF), the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), the Insti-
tute for Medical Quality (IMQ), the Oregon Society of Oral Max-
illofacial Surgeons (OSOMS), or the Oregon Medical Association
(OMA). Effective August 1, 2007, for an office or facility in which
office-based surgeries are already being performed, the office or facil-
ity must become accredited within two years, or by August 1, 2009.
When licensees of the Board start performing office-based procedures
in a new office or facility, the new office or facility must be accredit-
ed within one year of the start date of the office-based procedures
being performed. During the period of time the facility is in the accred-
itation process, the facility will make changes to come into compliance
with the Administrative Rules in this Division.

(3) The licensee must be able to demonstrate qualifications and
competency for the procedures performed by becoming or being board
certified and maintaining board certification by a member of the Amer-
ican Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). Alternatively, the gov-
erning body of the office facility is responsible for a peer review pro-
cess for privileging physicians based on nationally recognized
credentialing standards.

(4) The licensee must insure that a practitioner administering
deep sedation or anesthesia and or monitoring the patient shall not play
an integral role in performing the procedure.

(5) At least one physician who is currently certified in advanced
resuscitative techniques appropriate for the patient age group (e.g.,
ACLS, PALS or APLS) must be present or immediately available with
age-size-appropriate resuscitative equipment until the patient has met
the criteria for discharge from the facility. In addition other medical
personnel with direct patient contact must at a minimum be trained in
Basic Life Support (BLS).

(6) The governing body of the facility is responsible for provid-
ing healthcare providers who have appropriate education and training
for administration of moderate sedation/analgesia, deep sedation/anal-
gesia or general anesthesia.

(7) A licensee who holds a MD or DO degree as well as a DDS
(Doctor of Dental Surgery) or DMD (Doctor of Dental Medicine)
degree and is an active member of the Oregon Society of Oral Max-
illofacial Surgeons (OSOMS) may perform maxillofacial procedures

in a facility approved by the OSOMS and function under the admin-
istrative rules of the Oregon Board of Dentistry, OAR chapter 818,
division 026. For all procedures that are not oral maxillofacial in
nature, licensees with medical and dental licenses must follow rules

laid out in OAR chapter 847, division 017.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 679.255
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.060, 677.265, 679.255
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 14-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07;
BME 10-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08

847-017-0015
Selection of Procedures and Patients

(1) The licensee who performs the surgical procedure and/or
anesthetic must evaluate and document the condition of the patient and
the potential risks associated with the proposed treatment plan, and be
satisfied that the procedure to be undertaken is within the scope of
practice of the health care providers, the capabilities of the facility and
the condition of the patient.

(2) Informed consent for the nature and objectives of the anes-
thesia planned and surgery to be performed must be in writing and
obtained from patients before the procedure is performed. Informed
consent is only to be obtained after a discussion of the risks, benefits,

and alternatives and must be documented in the medical record.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06

847-017-0020
Patient Medical Records

(1) A legible, complete, comprehensive and accurate medical
record must be maintained for each patient evaluated or treated. The
record must include:

(a) Identity of the patient;

(b) History and physical, diagnosis and plan;

(c) Appropriate lab, x-ray or other diagnostic reports;

(d) Appropriate preanesthesia evaluation;

(e) Narrative description of procedure;

(f) Pathology reports;

(g) Procedure code; and

(h) Documentation of the outcome and the follow-up plan.

(2) If the nature of the surgery is such that analgesia/sedation,
major conduction blockage, conscious (moderate) sedation, or general
anesthesia are provided, the patient record must include a separate
anesthetic record that contains documentation of anesthetic provider,
procedure, and technique employed. This must include the type of
anesthesia used, drugs (type and dose) and fluids administered during
the procedure, patient weight, level of consciousness, estimated blood
loss, duration of procedure, and any complication or unusual events
related to the procedure or anesthesia.

(3) The medical records must contain documentation of the intra-
operative and postoperative monitoring required.

(4) The patient record must document if tissues and other spec-
imens have been submitted for histopathologic diagnosis.

(5) Provision for continuity of post-operative care must be doc-
umented in each patient’s medical chart.

(6) Procedures must be established to assure patient confiden-

tiality and security of all patient data and information.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06

847-017-0025
Discharge Evaluation

The licensee performing the procedure is responsible for the
determination that the patient is safe to be discharged from the office

after the procedure.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06

847-017-0030
Emergency Care and Transfer Protocols

The licensee is responsible for insuring that, in the event of an
anesthetic, medical or surgical complication or emergency all office
personnel are familiar with a written documented plan for the timely
and safe transfer of patients to a nearby hospital. This plan must
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include arrangements for emergency medical services and appropri-

ate escort of the patient to the hospital.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265
Hist.: BME 23-2006, . & cert. ef. 10-23-06

847-017-0035
Quality Assessment

(1) Office-based surgical practices must develop a system of
quality assessment that effectively and efficiently strives for contin-
uous quality improvement.

(2) Documentation of adverse incident review must be available.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265

Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06

847-017-0040
Facility Administration and Equipment

The office facility must document that specific and current
arrangements are in place for obtaining laboratory, radiological, patho-
logical and other ancillary services as may be required to support the

surgical and/or anesthetic procedures undertaken.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.085, 677.097, 677.265
Hist.: BME 23-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06

DIVISION 20

RULES FOR LICENSURE TO
PRACTICE MEDICINE IN OREGON

847-020-0100
Definitions

(1) “Approved school of medicine” means a school offering a
full-time resident program of study in medicine or osteopathy leading
to a degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy, such pro-
gram having been fully accredited or conditionally approved by the
Liaison Committee on Medical Education, or its successor agency, or
the American Osteopathic Association, or its successor agency, or hav-
ing been otherwise determined by the Board to meet the association
standards.

(2) As used in OAR 847-020-0130 through 847-031-0050
“school of medicine” means any school not approved by the Liaison
Committee on Medical Education, the American Osteopathic Asso-
ciation, or the Committee on the Accreditation of the Canadian Med-
ical Schools of the Canadian Medical Association. Graduates of inter-
national medical schools on the list of medical schools recognized by
the Medical Board of California are eligible for licensure under OAR

847-020-0130.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.175 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010, 677.175 & 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 6-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10

847-020-0110
Application for Licensure

(1) When applying for licensure by reciprocity or endorsement,
the applicant shall submit to the Board the completed application, fees,
documents and letters.

(2) A person applying for licensure under these rules who has not
completed the licensure process within a 12 month consecutive peri-
od shall file a new application, documents, letters and pay a full fil-
ing fee as if filing for the first time. If the personal interview is can-
celed and rescheduled within the 12 consecutive months, an update of

the application will be required.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 4-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07

847-020-0120
Basic Requirements for Licensure of an Approved Medical
School Graduate

(1) If a physician has met the basic requirements for licensure and
wishes to pursue further postgraduate training beyond the first post-
graduate year, or wishes to practice medicine in this state, an unlim-
ited license must be applied for and obtained.

(2) The following requirements must be met by graduates of an
approved school of medicine:

(a) Must have graduated from a school offering a full-time res-
ident program of study in medicine or osteopathy leading to a degree
of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy, such program having
been fully accredited or conditionally approved by the Liaison Com-
mittee of Medical Education, or the American Osteopathic Associa-
tion, or having been otherwise determined by the Board to meet the
Association standards;

(b) Must satisfactorily complete an approved internship, resi-
dency or fellowship in the United States or Canada of not less than one
year in not more than one training program accredited for internship,
residency or fellowship training by the Accreditation Council for Grad-
uate Medical Education, American Osteopathic Association, the Col-
lege of Family Physicians of Canada, or the Royal College of Physi-
cians and Surgeons of Canada;

(c) Must pass a written licensing examination as provided in ORS
677.110 and OAR 847-020-0170; and

(d) Have satisfactorily met the requirements of ORS 677.100.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100 & 677.110

Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01

847-020-0130
Basic Requirements for Licensure of an International Medical
School Graduate

(1) The following requirements must be met in lieu of graduation
from a school of medicine approved by the Liaison Committee on
Medical Education of the American Medical Association or the Com-
mittee on the Accreditation of the Canadian Medical Schools of the
Canadian Medical Association in order to qualify under ORS 677.100.

(2) The requirements for licensure of the international medical
school graduate are as follows:

(a) Must speak English fluently and write English legibly.

(b) Must have graduated from an international school of
medicine:

(A) The medical school must be chartered in the country in which
it is located.

(B) The graduate must have attended at least four full terms of
instruction of eight months each, with all courses having been com-
pleted by physical on-site attendance in the country in which the
school is chartered. The requirement for four full terms of instruction
of eight months each term may be waived for any applicant for licen-
sure who has graduated from an international school of medicine, has
substantially complied with the attendance requirements provided
herein, and is certified by a specialty board recognized by the Amer-
ican Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American Osteo-
pathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (AOA-BOS).

(C) Any institutions in which clinical clerkships were obtained
in a country other than that in which the school is chartered must pro-
vide a certificate to prove the time spent and the satisfactory comple-
tion of the clerkships. After June 30, 1988, clinical clerkships served
in the United States or Canada shall be taken only in institutions which
conduct residencies approved by the Accreditation Council for Grad-
uate Medical Education or the College of Family Physicians of Cana-
da or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the
American Osteopathic Association in the specific subject of the clerk-
ship.

(D) The applicant must provide the Board with documentation
to substantiate that the medical school from which the applicant grad-
uated provided a resident course of professional instruction, was
accredited by an accrediting organization acceptable to the Board, or
was recognized by the appropriate civil authorities of the country in
which the school is located as an acceptable education program. The
Board may determine that the accreditation of an international med-
ical school is not acceptable if the Board receives documentation that
the medical school has had its authorization, accreditation, certifica-
tion or approval denied or removed by any state, country or territori-
al jurisdiction or that its graduates were refused a license by any state,
country or territorial jurisdiction on the grounds that the school failed
or fails to meet reasonable standards for medical education facilities.

(c) Must have obtained the Standard Educational Commission for
Foreign Medical Graduates Certificate issued by the Educational Com-
mission for Foreign Medical Graduates. This requirement may be
waived if accredited postgraduate training was completed in Canada,
or prior to the enforcement of the ECFMG certification, or if the appli-
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cant has been certified by a specialty board recognized by the Amer-
ican Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American Osteo-
pathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (AOA-BOS).
In lieu of the ECFMG certificate, Fifth Pathway applicants shall show
evidence of passing the examination pursuant to Oregon standards.

(d) Must have satisfactorily completed an approved internship
and/or residency (or clinical fellowship) in the United States or Cana-
da of not less than three years of progressive training in not more than
two specialties in not more than two training programs accredited for
internship, residency or fellowship training by the Accreditation Coun-
cil for Graduate Medical Education or the College of Family Physi-
cians of Canada or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of
Canada or the American Osteopathic Association.

(A) The following may be used in lieu of the three years of post
graduate training:

(i) A valid certificate issued by a specialty board recognized by
the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteo-
pathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (AOA-BOS);
or

(ii) Successful completion of four years of practice in Oregon
under a Limited License, Medical Faculty, in accordance with OAR
847-020-0140(1)(b)—(c); or

(iii) Successful completion of four years of practice in another
state or the District of Columbia under a license substantially similar
to the Board’s Limited License, Medical Faculty.

(B) If the applicant is unable to satisfy the requirement in section
(d) of this rule for postgraduate training, and the applicant has been
granted a dispensation by a specialty board of the American Board of
Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American Osteopathic Associa-
tion’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (AOA-BOS) whereby the
ABMS or AOA-BOS specialty board has granted credit to the appli-
cant for postgraduate training completed abroad toward fulfillment of
the specialty board’s requirements for admission to a future special-
ty board’s certification examination, the Board may consider the
ABMS or AOA-BOS specialty board’s dispensation as fulfilling that
same portion of the Board’s requirement for postgraduate training.

(e) A graduate of a school of medicine approved by the Oregon
Medical Board pursuant to OAR 847-031-0001, 847-031-0010, 847-
031-0020, 847-031-0030 and 847-031-0040 must have satisfactorily
completed not less than one year of approved training in the United
States or Canada in not more than one hospital accredited for intern-
ship, residency or fellowship training by the Accreditation Council for
Graduate Medical Education or the Canadian Medical Association or
the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

(f) Must pass a written licensure examination as provided in ORS

677.110 and OAR 847-020-0170.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 8-2002, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-02; BME
10-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04 thru 10-15-04; BME 15-2004, f. & cert. ef.
7-13-04; BME 8-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME 4-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-
8-06 thru 7-7-06; BME 10-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 20-2007, f. & cert. ef.
10-24-07; BME 4-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; BME 6-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10;
BME 11-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-26-10 thru 1-10-11; BME 17-2010, f. & cert.
ef. 10-25-10

847-020-0140
Limited License, Medical Faculty, and Limited License, Visiting
Professor

(1)(a) Any physician who does not qualify for a medical license
under any of the provisions of this chapter and who is offered by the
Dean of an approved medical school in this state a full-time faculty
position may, after application to and approval by the Board at a quar-
terly meeting of the Board, be granted a Limited License, Medical Fac-
ulty to engage in the practice of medicine only to the extent that such
practice is incident to and a necessary part of the applicant’s duties as
approved by the Board in connection with such faculty position.

(b) To qualify for a Limited License, Medical Faculty an appli-
cant shall meet all the following requirements:

(A) Furnish documentary evidence satisfactory to the Board that
the applicant is a United States citizen or is legally admitted to the
United States.

(B) Furnish documentary evidence satisfactory to the Board that
the applicant has been licensed to practice and has practiced medicine
and surgery for not less than four years in another state or country
whose requirements for licensure are satisfactory to the Board, or has

been engaged in the practice of medicine in the United States for at
least four years in approved hospitals, or has completed a combina-
tion of such licensed practice and training.

(C) The dean of the medical school shall certify in writing to the
Board that the applicant has been appointed to a full-time faculty posi-
tion; that a position is available; and that because the applicant has
unique expertise in a specific field of medicine, the medical school
considers the applicant to be a valuable member of the faculty.

(D) The head of the department in which the applicant is to be
appointed shall certify in writing to the Board that the applicant will
be under the direction of the head of the department and will not be
permitted to practice medicine unless as a necessary part of the appli-
cant’s duties as approved by the Board in subsection (a) of this sec-
tion.

(E) The applicant may be required to take and pass an examina-
tion by the Board.

(c) A Limited License, Medical Faculty is valid for one year after
issuance and may be renewed as frequently as needed for a total peri-
od not to exceed four years during which time the applicant must pass
USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3, or have previously passed the FLEX, or
National Board of Medical Examiners Examination or a combination
of all three per OAR 847-020-0170(1)—(4). Having completed four
years of practice under a Limited License, Medical Faculty and suc-
cessfully passed either the FLEX examination, the National Board of
Medical Examiners Examination, or USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3, the
applicant is eligible for licensure regardless of any other requirements
of this Chapter.

(2)(a) Any physician who does not qualify for a medical license
under any of the provisions of this Chapter and who is offered a teach-
ing fellowship at an approved medical school or affiliated teaching
institution in this state may, after application to and approval by the
Board, be granted a Limited License, Visiting Professor for two years
to practice medicine only to the extent that such practice is incident
to and a necessary part of the duties as approved by the Board in con-
nection with such faculty position.

(b) To qualify for a Limited License, Visiting Professor, an appli-
cant shall furnish documentary evidence satisfactory to the Board of
graduation from a school of medicine, and a curriculum vitae;

(c) The head of the department in which the applicant is to be
appointed shall certify in writing to the Board that the applicant has
been offered a teaching position which will be under the direction of
the head of the department and will not be permitted to practice
medicine unless as a necessary part of the applicant’s duties as
approved by the Board in subsection (a) of this section.

(d) The Limited License, Visiting Professor shall be granted for
aperiod of one year, and upon written request, may be renewed for one
additional year. The two years must be consecutive, and any unused

portion of time can not be requested at a later date.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME
5-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 3-20006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; BME 4-2007, f.
& cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 18-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 23-2008, f. & cert.
ef. 10-31-08

847-020-0150
Documents and Forms to be Submitted for Licensure

The documents submitted must be no larger than 8 1/2” x by 117.
All documents and photographs will be retained by the Board as a per-
manent part of the application file. If original documents are larger
than 8 1/2” x 117, the copies must be reduced to the correct size with
all wording and signatures clearly shown. The application form, pho-
tographs and the results of the Practitioner Request for Information
Disclosure (Self-Query) from the National Practitioner Data Bank and
the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank must be originals,
and all other documents must be legible copies. The following docu-
ments are required for an applicant who is a graduate of an approved
school of medicine or an international medical school as indicated:

(1) Application Form: Completed formal application form pro-
vided by the Board. Each and every question must be answered with
dates, showing month and year.

(2) Birth Certificate: A copy of birth certificate for proof of name
and birth date.

(3) Medical school Diploma: A copy of a diploma showing grad-
uation from an approved school of medicine or an international school
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of medicine. International medical graduates must have graduated after
attendance of at least four full terms of instruction of eight months
each.

(4) Fifth Pathway Certificate: A copy of Fifth Pathway Certifi-
cate if such program has been completed.

(5) American Specialty Board Certificate: A copy of the certifi-
cate issued by the American Specialty Board in the applicant’s spe-
cialty, if applicable.

(6) American Specialty Board Recertification Certificate: A copy
of the certificate of recertification issued by the American Specialty
Board in the applicant’s specialty, if applicable.

(7) Photograph: A close-up, finished, original photograph
(passport quality), no smaller than 2” x 2” and no larger than 2 1/2”
x 37, front view, head and shoulders (not profile), with features dis-
tinct, taken within 90 days preceding the filing of the application with
the applicant’s signature in ink and date taken on the photograph side.

(8) The results of the Practitioner Request for Information Dis-
closure (Self-Query) from the National Practitioner Data Bank and the
Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank sent to the Board by the
applicant.

(9) An applicant shall be required to pass an open-book exami-
nation on the Medical Practice Act (ORS Chapter 677) and an open-
book examination on the Drug Enforcement Administration’s regu-
lations governing the use of controlled substances. If an applicant fails
one or both examinations three times, the applicant’s application will
be reviewed by the Administrative Affairs Committee of the Oregon
Medical Board. An applicant who has failed one or both open-book
examinations three times must also attend an informal meeting with
a Board member, a Board investigator and/or the Medical Director of
the Board to discuss the applicant’s failure of the examination(s),
before being given a fourth and final attempt to pass the examina-
tion(s). If the applicant does not pass the examination(s) on the fourth

attempt, the applicant may be denied licensure.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.175 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010, 677.175 & 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 3-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; BME
15-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07; BME 20-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 6-2010,
f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10

847-020-0155
State and Nationwide Criminal Records Checks, Fitness
Determinations

(1) The purpose of these rules is to provide for the reasonable
screening of applicants and licensees in order to determine if they have
a history of criminal behavior such that they are not fit to be granted
or renewed a license that is issued by the Board.

(2) These rules are to be applied when evaluating the criminal
history of an applicant or licensee and conducting fitness determina-
tions based upon such history. The fact that an applicant or licensee
has cleared the criminal history check does not guarantee the grant-
ing or renewal of a license.

(3) The Board may require fingerprints of all applicants for a
medical (MD/DO), podiatric (DPM), physician assistant (PA), and
acupuncturist (LAc) license, licensees reactivating their license,
licensees renewing their license and licensees under investigation to
determine the fitness of an applicant or licensee. These fingerprints
will be provided on prescribed forms made available by the Board.
Fingerprints may be obtained at a law enforcement office or at a pri-
vate service acceptable to the Board; the Board will submit fingerprints
to the Oregon Department of State Police to conduct a Criminal His-
tory Check and a National Criminal History Check. Any original fin-
gerprint cards will subsequently be destroyed by the Oregon Depart-
ment of State Police.

(4) The Board shall determine whether an applicant or licensee
is fit to be granted a license based on the criminal records background
check, any false statements made by the applicant or licensee regard-
ing the criminal history of the individual, any refusal to submit or con-
sent to a criminal records check including fingerprint identification,
and any other pertinent information obtained as part of an investiga-
tion. If an applicant is determined to be unfit, the applicant may not
be granted a license. If the licensee is determined to be unfit, the
licensee’s license may not be reactivated or renewed. The Board may
make a fitness determination conditional upon applicant’s or
licensee’s acceptance of probation, conditions, limitations, or other
restrictions upon licensure.

(5) Except as otherwise provided in section (2), in making the fit-
ness determination the Board shall consider:

(a) The nature of the crime;

(b) The facts that support the conviction or pending indictment
or that indicate the making of the false statement;

(c) The relevancy, if any, of the crime or the false statement to
the specific requirements of the applicant’s or licensee’s present or pro-
posed license; and

(d) Intervening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities and
circumstances of the license. Intervening circumstances include but are
not limited to:

(A) The passage of time since the commission of the crime;

(B) The age of the applicant or licensee at the time of the crime;

(C) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the commis-
sion of another crime:

(D) The subsequent commission of another relevant crime;

(E) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of
setting aside the conviction; and

(F) A recommendation of an employer.

(6) All background checks shall be requested to include available
state and national data, unless obtaining one or the other is an accept-
able alternative.

(7) In order to conduct the Oregon and National Criminal His-
tory Check and fitness determination, the Board may require additional
information from the licensee or applicant as necessary, such as but
not limited to, proof of identity; residential history; names used while
living at each residence; or additional criminal, judicial or other back-
ground information.

(8) Criminal offender information is confidential. Dissemination
of information received under HB 2157 is only to people with a
demonstrated and legitimate need to know the information. The infor-
mation is part of the investigation of an applicant or licensee and as
such is confidential pursuant to ORS 676.175(1).

(9) The Board will permit the individual for whom a fingerprint-
based criminal records check was conducted to inspect the individu-
al’s own state and national criminal offender records and, if request-
ed by the subject individual, provide the individual with a copy of the
individual’s own state and national criminal offender records.

(10) The Board may consider any conviction of any violation of
the law for which the court could impose a punishment and in com-
pliance with ORS 670.280. The Board may also consider any arrests
and court records that may be indicative of an individual’s inability to
perform as a licensee with care and safety to the public.

(11) If an applicant or licensee is determined not to be fit for a
license, the applicant or licensee is entitled to a contested case process
pursuant to ORS 183.414-183.470. Challenges to the accuracy or com-
pleteness of information provided by the Oregon Department of State
Police, Federal Bureau of Investigation and agencies reporting infor-
mation must be made through the Oregon Department of State Police,
Federal Bureau of Investigation, or reporting agency and not through
the contested case process pursuant to ORS 183.

(12) If the applicant discontinues the application process or fails
to cooperate with the criminal history check process, the application

is considered incomplete.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265(9) & 181.534
Hist. BME 20-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-14-06 thru 3-12-07; BME 4-2007, f. &
cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08; OMB 20-2011(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; OMB 5-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 10-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-2-12 thru 8-29-12; OMB 24-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-
12

847-020-0160
Letters and Official Grade Certifications to be Submitted for
Licensure

The applicant, a graduate of an approved school of medicine or
international medical graduate, must request official letters sent to the
Board directly from:

(1) The Dean of the Medical/Osteopathic School: This letter is
required in addition to the certification on the application form. A copy
of the Dean’s Letter of Recommendation which shall include a state-
ment concerning the applicant’s moral and ethical character and over-
all performance as a medical student.

(2) The Program Director, Chairman or other official of the Fifth
Pathway Hospital, if such applies: A currently dated original letter (a
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copy is not acceptable), sent directly from the hospital in which such
training was served, which shall include an evaluation of overall per-
formance and specific beginning and ending dates of training.

(3) The Director of Medical Education, Chairman or other offi-
cial of the internship, residency and fellowship hospitals in the Unit-
ed States and foreign countries sent directly from the hospitals in
which the postgraduate training was served, which shall include an
evaluation of overall performance and specific beginning and ending
dates of training.

(4) The Director or other official for practice and employment in
hospitals, clinics, etc. in the United States and foreign countries: A cur-
rently dated original letter (a copy is not acceptable), sent directly from
the hospital/clinic which shall include an evaluation of overall per-
formance and specific beginning and ending dates of practice and
employment, for the past five (5) years only. If the applicant has not
practiced for more than two years, employment verifications will be
required for the past ten (10) years. For physicians who have been or
are in solo practice without hospital privileges at the time of solo prac-
tice, provide three reference letters from physicians in the local med-
ical community who are familiar with the applicant’s practice and who
have known the applicant for more than six months.

(5) The Executive Secretary of all State Boards in the United
States or Canada where the applicant has ever been licensed; regard-
less of status, i.e., current, lapsed, never practiced there. The current-
ly dated original letter (a copy is not acceptable), sent directly from
the boards, shall show license number, date issued, grades if applica-
ble and status.

(6) Official Grade Certifications: If such applies, an official grade
certification is required directly from the National Board of Medi-
cal/Osteopathic Examiners, the Medical Council of Canada or the Fed-
eration of State Medical Boards.

(7) The Federation of State Medical Boards: A Board Action
Databank Inquiry form sent directly from the Federation of State Med-

ical Boards to the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.175 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010, 677.175 & 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 8-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME
15-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07; BME 18-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 6-2010,
f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10

847-020-0170
Written Examination

(1) After complying with OAR 847-020-0110 through 847-020-
0200 the applicant applying for licensure must have passed one of the
following examinations or combinations of examinations:

(a) Federation Licensing Examination (FLEX) Component I and
FLEX Component 2.

(b) National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) Part I and
Part II and Part III.

(c) National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) Part I or Unit-
ed States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) Step 1, and
NBME Part II or USMLE Step 2 and NBME Part III or USMLE
Step 3.

(d) NBME Part I or USMLE Step 1, and NBME Part II or
USMLE Step 2, and FLEX Component 2.

(e) FLEX Component 1 and USMLE Step 3. A score of 75 or
above must be achieved on FLEX Component 1 and the score
achieved on USMLE Step 3 must be equal to or exceed the figure
established by the Federation as a recommended passing score.

(f) The score achieved on each Step, Part or Component must
equal or exceed the figure established by the USMLE Program, the
National Board of Medical Examiners or the Federation of State Med-
ical Boards as a passing score. All Steps, Parts or Components listed
in OAR 847-020-0170(1)(a)—(f) must be administered prior to January
2000, except for applicants who participated in and completed a com-
bined MD/DO/PhD program; or

(g) The National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners
(NBOME) examination or the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical
Licensing Examination (COMLEX) or any combination of their parts;
or

(h) USMLE Steps 1,2, and 3. All three Steps of USMLE, or all
three Levels of the NBOME examination or COMLEX or any com-
bination of the two, must be passed within a seven-year period which
begins when the first Step or Level, either Step 1 or Step 2 or Level
1 or Level 2, is passed. The score achieved on each Step must equal

or exceed the figure established by the Federation as a recommended
passing score, and the score achieved on each Level must equal or
exceed the figure established by the National Board of Osteopathic
Medical Examiners.

(A) An applicant who has not passed all three Steps or Levels
within the seven-year period may request an exception to the seven-
year requirement if he/she:

(i) Has current certification by the American Board of Medical
Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of
Osteopathic Specialists; or

(ii) Suffered from a documented significant health condition
which by its severity would necessarily cause a delay to the applicant’s
medical or osteopathic study; or

(iii) Participated in a combined MD/DO/PhD program; or

(iv) Completed continuous approved post-graduate training with
the equivalent number of years to an MD/DO/PhD program.

(B) Except as noted in section (1)(h)(C) of this rule, effective
April 23, 2004, to be eligible for licensure, an applicant must have
passed USMLE Step 3 or NBOME’s COMLEX Level 3 within four
attempts whether for Oregon or any other state. After the third failed
attempt, the applicant must have completed one additional year of
postgraduate training in the United States or Canada prior to read-
mission to the examination. The Board must approve the additional
year of training to determine whether the applicant is eligible for licen-
sure. The applicant, after completion of the required year of training,
must have passed USMLE Step 3 or COMLEX Level 3 on their fourth
and final attempt. If the fourth attempt of USMLE Step 3 is failed, the
applicant is not eligible for Oregon licensure. If the applicant did not
complete a year of training approved by the Board between the third
and fourth attempt to pass USMLE Step 3 or COMLEX Level 3, the
applicant is not eligible for licensure.

(C) An applicant who has passed USMLE Step 3 or COMLEX
Level 3, but not within the four attempts required by OAR 847-020-
0170(1)(h)(B), may request a waiver of this requirement if he/she has
current certification by a specialty board recognized by the American
Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Associa-
tion’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists.

(2) USMLE Step 3 may be taken during the first year of post-
graduate training, or after the first year of postgraduate training has
been completed. A Limited License, Postgraduate will be required for
training beyond the postgraduate 1 level if the USMLE is not yet
passed.

(3) The applicant will not be allowed to take the USMLE for this
state nor apply for licensure in this state if the FLEX has been previ-
ously failed four or more times.

(4) The applicant must have passed the written examination
(FLEX) under the following conditions:

(a) The applicant who has taken the FLEX examination (Day I,
I, and IIT) administered between June 1968 and December 1984 must
have taken the entire examination at one sitting. The applicant who has
taken the FLEX examination (Component 1 and Component 2), first
administered in June 1985, was not required to take both Components
1 and 2 of the FLEX examination at one sitting. Both must have been
passed within seven years of the first attempt.

(b) The applicant may not have taken the FLEX examination
more than a total of four times, whether in Oregon or other states,
whether the components were taken together or separately. After the
third failed attempt, the applicant must have satisfactorily completed
one year of approved training in the United State or Canada prior to
having taken the entire FLEX examination at one sitting on the fourth
and final attempt.

(c) Only the applicant’s scores on the most recently taken FLEX

examination will be considered to determine eligibility.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 5-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME
10-2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-2-03; BME 14-2003(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-9-03 thru 3-1-
04; BME 3-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 7-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME
15-2004, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 8-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME 3-2006,
f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; BME 4-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06 thru 7-7-06; BME
10-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 20-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 18-2008,
f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 6-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-9-09 thru 10-2-09; Admin-
istrative correction 10-22-09; OMB 24-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12
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847-020-0180
Endorsement or Reciprocity

(1) After complying with OAR 847-020-0110 through 847-020-
0200, the applicant may base an application upon certification by the
National Board of Medical Examiners of the United States of Amer-
ica, the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners, the Med-
ical Council of Canada, or upon reciprocity with a license obtained by
FLEX examination, USMLE examination, or written examination
from a sister state. The FLEX and USMLE examination must have
been taken in accordance with OAR 847-020-0170. The examination
grades must meet Oregon standards pursuant to ORS 677.110(1).

(2) In order to reciprocate with a lapsed license, such license must
have been in good standing while registered in that state and that board
must furnish a current, original certification of grades to the Oregon

Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, . & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 10-2003, f. & cert. ef. 5-2-03; BME
3-2004, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 3-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; BME 12-2007, f.
& cert. ef. 4-26-07; BME 20-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; OMB 25-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 8-3-12

847-020-0182
SPEX or COMVEX Requirements

(1) If an applicant for licensure or reactivation has not had suf-
ficient postgraduate training or specialty board certification or recer-
tification within the past 10 years, the applicant may be required to
demonstrate clinical competency by passing the Special Purpose
Examination (SPEX) or Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Vari-
able-Purpose Examination (COMVEX).

(2) The SPEX/COMVEX requirement may be waived if the
applicant has done one or more of the following:

(a) Received a current appointment as Professor or Associate Pro-
fessor at the Oregon Health and Science University or the Western
University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the
Pacific; or

(b) Completed at least 50 hours of Board-approved continuing
medical education each year for the past three years.

(3) The applicant who fails the SPEX or COMVEX three times,
whether in Oregon or other states, must successfully complete one year
of an accredited residency or an accredited or Board-approved clini-
cal fellowship before retaking the SPEX or COMVEX.

(4) The Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX may be granted for
a period of up to 6 months. It permits the licensee to practice medicine
only until the grade results of the SPEX or COMVEX are available
and the applicant completes the initial registration process. If the appli-
cant fails the SPEX or COMVEX, the Limited License
SPEX/COMVEX becomes invalid, and the applicant must cease prac-
tice in this state as expeditiously as possible, but not to exceed two
weeks after the applicant receives notice of failure of the examination.

(5) The applicant may be required to appear before the Board for
a personal interview regarding information received during the pro-
cessing of the application. The interview must be conducted during a
regular meeting of the Board.

(6) All of the rules, regulations and statutory requirements per-

taining to the medical school graduate remain in full effect.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.175 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010, 677.175 & 677.265
Hist.: OMB 25-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12

847-020-0183
Re-Entry to Practice — SPEX or COMVEX Examination, Re-
Entry Plan and Personal Interview

If an applicant has ceased the practice of medicine for a period
of 12 or more consecutive months immediately preceding the appli-
cation for licensure or reactivation, the applicant may be required to
demonstrate clinical competency.

(1) The applicant who has ceased the practice of medicine for a
period of 12 or more consecutive months may be required to pass the
Special Purpose Examination (SPEX) or Comprehensive Osteopath-
ic Medical Variable-Purpose Examination (COMVEX). This require-
ment may be waived if the applicant has done one or more of the fol-
lowing:

(a) The applicant has received a current appointment as Profes-
sor or Associate Professor at the Oregon Health and Science Univer-

sity or the Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteo-
pathic Medicine of the Pacific; or

(b) The applicant has within ten years of filing an application
with the Board:

(A) Completed one year of an accredited residency, or an accred-
ited or Board-approved clinical fellowship; or

(B) Been certified or recertified by a specialty board recognized
by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteo-
pathic Association; or

(c) The applicant has subsequently:

(A) Completed one year of an accredited residency, or

(B) Completed one year of an accredited or Board-approved clin-
ical fellowship, or

(C) Been certified or recertified by a specialty board recognized
by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteo-
pathic Association, or

(D) Obtained continuing medical education to the Board’s sat-
isfaction.

(2) The applicant who has ceased the practice of medicine for a
period of 24 or more consecutive months may be required to complete
are-entry plan to the satisfaction of the Board. The Board must review
and approve a re-entry plan prior to the applicant beginning the re-
entry plan. Depending on the amount of time out-of-practice, the appli-
cant may be required to do one or more of the following:

(a) Pass the SPEX/COMVEX examination;

(b) Practice for a specified period of time under a mentor/super-
vising physician who will provide periodic reports to the Board;

(c) Obtain certification or re-certification by a specialty board
recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) or
the American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Spe-
cialists (AOA-BOS);

(d) Complete a re-entry program as determined appropriate by
the Board;

(e) Complete one year of accredited postgraduate or clinical fel-
lowship training, which must be pre-approved by the Board’s Medi-
cal Director;

(f) Complete at least 50 hours of Board-approved continuing
medical education each year for the past three years.

(3) The applicant who fails the SPEX or COMVEX examination
three times, whether in Oregon or other states, must successfully com-
plete one year of an accredited residency or an accredited or Board-
approved clinical fellowship before retaking the SPEX or COMVEX
examination.

(4) The Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX may be granted for
a period of up to 6 months. It permits the licensee to practice medicine
only until the grade results of the SPEX or COMVEX examination are
available and the applicant completes the initial registration process.
If the applicant fails the SPEX or COMVEX examination, the Lim-
ited License SPEX/COMVEX becomes invalid, and the applicant
must cease practice in this state as expeditiously as possible, but not
to exceed two weeks after the applicant receives notice of failure of
the examination.

(5) The applicant may be required to appear before the Board for
a personal interview regarding information received during the pro-
cessing of the application. The interview must be conducted during a
regular meeting of the Board.

(6) All of the rules, regulations and statutory requirements per-

taining to the medical school graduate remain in full effect.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.175 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.010, 677.175 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 20-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 4-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08;
BME 6-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10; OMB 25-2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-18-11

847-020-0185
License Application Withdrawals

(1) The Board will consider a request by an applicant to withdraw
his/her application for licensure in the State of Oregon under the fol-
lowing circumstances:

(a) The applicant is eligible for licensure; and

(b) The file contains no evidence of violation of any provision of
ORS 677.010-677.855.

(2) An applicant may request to withdraw his/her application for
licensure in the State of Oregon and the withdrawal will be reported
to the Federation of State Medical Boards under the following cir-
cumstances:
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(a) The applicant is eligible for licensure; and

(b) The file contains evidence that the applicant may have vio-
lated any provision of ORS 677.010-677.855, but the Board has decid-
ed that there is an insufficient basis to proceed to formal discipline, or
a licensing body in another state has imposed formal discipline or
entered into a consent agreement for the same conduct, and that action
has been reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank-Healthcare

Integrity and Protection Data Bank.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.190, 677.265
Hist.: BME 11-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06

847-020-0190
Denial of Licensure

An applicant may not be entitled to a license by reciprocity,
endorsement, or written examination who:

(1) Has failed to pass a medical licensure examination required
for licensure in the State of Oregon (OAR 847-020-0170);

(2) Has had a license revoked or suspended in this or any other
state unless the said license has been restored or reinstated and the
applicant’s license is in good standing in the state which had revoked
the same;

(3) Has been refused a license or certificate in any other state or
country on any grounds other than failure in a medical licensure exam-
ination;

(4) Has been guilty of conduct similar to that which would be
prohibited by or to which ORS 677.190 would apply; or

(5) Has been guilty of cheating or subverting the medical licens-
ing examination process. Medical licensing examination means any
examination given by the Board to an applicant for registration, cer-
tification or licensure under this act. Evidence of cheating or sub-
verting includes, but is not limited to:

(a) Copying answers from another examinee or permitting one’s
answers to be copied by another examinee during the examination;

(b) Having in one’s possession during the examination any books,
notes, written or printed materials or data of any kind, other than exam-
ination materials distributed by board staff, which could facilitate the
applicant in completing the examination;

(¢) Communicating with any other examinee during the admin-
istration of the examination;

(d) Removing from the examining room any examination
materials;

(e) Photographing or otherwise reproducing examination
materials.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190

Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 11-2003, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-03

847-020-0200
Required School Subjects

Subjects covered in schools of medicine that grant degrees of
Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy as set forth in ORS
677.110 are basic sciences, clinical sciences, clinical competence

and/or other subjects that may be specified by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.110
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01

DIVISION 23

RULES FOR LICENSURE OF VOLUNTEER
EMERITUS PHYSICIANS

847-023-0000
Definitions

(1) “Health clinic” means a public health clinic or a health clin-
ic operated by a charitable corporation that mainly provides primary
physical health, dental or mental health services to low-income
patients without charge or using a sliding fee scale based on the
income of the patient.

(2) “Emeritus registration” means a licensee who has retired from
active practice, but does only volunteer, non-remunerative practice and
receives no direct monetary compensation, may register and pay an

annual emeritus registration fee.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.120, 677.265
Hist.: BME 16-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06

847-023-0005
Qualifications

(1) The Board of Medical Examiners may issue a license, with
emeritus registration, to a physician who volunteers at a health clin-
ic provided that the physician:

(a) Has a current license to practice medicine in another state or
territory of the United States or the District of Columbia; and

(b) Has obtained certification by the National Board of Medical
Examiners (NBME), the National Board of Osteopathic Medical
Examiners (NBOME), the Federation Licensing Examination (FLEX),
or the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE).

(2) A physician applying for a license to volunteer in health clin-
ics who has not practiced medicine for more than twenty-four (24)
months immediately prior to filing the application for licensure with
the Board, may be required to take and pass the Special Purpose Exam-
ination (SPEX) or Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable-Pur-
pose Examination (COMVEX). This requirement may be waived if the
applicant has:

(a) Within ten years of filing an application with the Board, com-
pleted an accredited one year residency, or an accredited or Board
approved one year clinical fellowship;

(b) Within ten years of filing an application with the Board, been
certified or recertified by a specialty board recognized by the Amer-
ican Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Asso-
ciation; or

(c) Obtained continuing medical education to the Board’s satis-
faction.

(3) The Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX may be granted for
a period of 6 months and permits the licensee to practice medicine only
until the grade results of the SPEX or COMVEX examination are
available and the applicant completes the initial registration process.
The Limited License, SPEX/COMVEX would become invalid
should the applicant fail the SPEX or COMVEX examination and the
applicant, upon notification of failure of the examination, must cease
practice in this state as expeditiously as possible, but not to exceed two

weeks after the applicant receives notice of failure of the examination.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: BME 16-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; BME 5-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08

847-023-0010
Documents and Forms to be Submitted for Licensure

The documents submitted must be no larger than 8 1/2” x by 11”.
All documents and photographs will be retained by the Board as a per-
manent part of the application file. If original documents are larger
than 8 1/2” x 117, the copies must be reduced to the correct size with
all wording and signatures clearly shown. The application form and
photographs must be originals and all other documents must be legi-
ble copies. The following documents are required for a physician
applying for an Oregon license, with emeritus registration:

(1) Application Form: Completed formal application form pro-
vided by the Board. Each and every question must be answered with
dates, showing month and year. The application fee is waived for
physicians applying for an Oregon license, with emeritus registration.

(2) Birth Certificate: A copy of birth certificate for proof of name
and birth date.

(3) Medical school Diploma: A copy of a diploma showing grad-
uation from an approved school of medicine or an international school
of medicine. International medical graduates must have graduated after
meeting the attendance requirements specified in OAR 847-020-0130.

(4) Fifth Pathway Certificate. A copy of fifth Pathway Certificate
if such program has been completed.

(5) American Specialty Board Certification or Recertification. A
copy of the certification or recertification certificate issued by the
American Board Specialty Board in the applicant’s specialty, if appli-
cable.

(6) Photograph: A close-up, finished, original photograph
(passport quality), no smaller than 2” x 2” and no larger than 2 1/2”
x 37, front view, head and shoulders (not profile), with features dis-
tinct, taken within 90 days preceding the filing of the application with

the applicant’s signature in ink and date taken on the photograph side.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: BME 9-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-6-07 thru 8-3-07; BME 16-2007, f. & cert.
ef. 7-23-07; BME 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10
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847-023-0015
Letters and Official Grade Certifications to be Submitted for
Licensure with Emeritus Registration

(1) The applicant for licensure with emeritus registration must
either request official letters to be sent directly to the Board from the
following sources or a certified copy from another state medical board
where the applicant is licensed:

(a) The Dean of the Medical/Osteopathic School to complete the
Verification of Medical Education form, which includes: degree
issued, date of degree, dates of attendance, dates and reason of any
leaves of absence or repeated years, and dates, name and location of
medical school if a transfer student, and submit directly to the Board.
Graduates of medical schools in the United States must have gradu-
ated from a school per OAR 847-020-0120(2)(a) and graduates of
international medical schools must have graduated from a school per
847-020-0130(2)(b).

(b) A copy of the Dean’s Letter of Recommendation which shall
include a statement concerning the applicant’s moral and ethical char-
acter and overall performance as a medical student.

(c) The Program Director, Chairman or other official of the Fifth
Pathway Hospital, if such applies: A currently dated original letter
from the hospital in which such training was served, shall include an
evaluation of overall performance and specific beginning and ending
dates of training. A certified copy from the state medical board is
acceptable.

(d) The Director of Medical Education, Chairman or other offi-
cial of the internship, residency and fellowship hospitals in the Unit-
ed States and foreign countries, in which the postgraduate training was
served, which shall include an evaluation of overall performance and
specific beginning and ending dates of training.

(2) The applicant for licensure with emeritus registration must
request official letters to be sent directly to the Board from the fol-
lowing sources:

(a) The Director or other official for practice and employment in
hospitals, clinics, etc., in the United States and foreign countries: A
currently dated original letter (a copy is not acceptable), from the hos-
pital/clinic which shall include an evaluation of overall performance
and specific beginning and ending dates of practice and employment,
for the past five (5) years only. If the applicant has not practiced for
more than two years, employment verifications will be required for the
past ten (10) years. For physicians who have been or are in solo prac-
tice without hospital privileges at the time of solo practice, provide
three reference letters from physicians in the local medical commu-
nity who are familiar with the applicant’s practice and who have
known the applicant for more than six months.

(b) The Executive Secretary of the State Board in the United
States or Canada where the applicant has been licensed and is currently
practicing or most recently practiced. The currently dated original let-
ter (a copy is not acceptable) from the board shall show license num-
ber, date issued and status.

(c) Official Grade Certifications: An official grade certification
is required from the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME),
National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME), Fed-
eration Licensing Examination (FLEX), or the Federation of State
Medical Boards for the United States Medical Licensing Examination

(USMLE).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: BME 9-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-6-07 thru 8-3-07; BME 16-2007, f. & cert.
ef. 7-23-07; BME 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10

DIVISION 25

RULES FOR LICENSURE TO PRACTICE
MEDICINE ACROSS STATE LINES

847-025-0000
Preamble

(1) A physician granted a license to practice medicine across state
lines is subject to all the provisions of the Medical Practice Act (ORS
Chapter 677), and to all the administrative rules of the Oregon Med-
ical Board.

(2) A physician granted a license to practice medicine across state
lines has the same duties and responsibilities and is subject to the same

penalties and sanctions as any other physician licensed under ORS
Chapter 677, including but not limited to the following:
(a) The physician shall establish a physician-patient relationship;
(b) The physician shall make a judgment based on some type of
objective criteria upon which to diagnose, treat, correct or prescribe;
(c) The physician shall engage in all necessary practices that are
in the best interest of the patient; and
(d) The physician shall refrain from writing prescriptions
for medication resulting only from a sale or consultation over the

Internet.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137,677.139 & 677.141
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 14-2008(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
15-08 thru 1-9-09; BME 24-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08

847-025-0010
Definitions

“The practice of medicine across state lines” means:

(1) The direct rendering to a person of a written or otherwise doc-
umented medical opinion concerning the diagnosis or treatment of that
person located within Oregon for the purpose of patient care by a
physician located outside Oregon as a result of the transmission of
individual patient data by electronic or other means from within Ore-
gon to that physician or the physician’s agent outside Oregon; or

(2) The direct rendering of medical treatment to a person locat-
ed within Oregon by a physician located outside Oregon as a result of
the outward transmission of individual patient data by electronic or
other means from within this state to that physician or the physician’s

agent outside the state.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00

847-025-0020
Exemptions

Alicense to practice across state lines is not required of a physi-
cian:

(1) Engaging in the practice of medicine across state lines in an
emergency (ORS 677.060(3)); or

(2) Located outside this state who consults with another physi-
cian licensed to practice medicine in this state, and who does not
undertake the primary responsibility for diagnosing or rendering treat-
ment to a patient within this state;

(3) Located outside the state and has an established physician-
patient relationship with a person who is in Oregon temporarily and

who requires the direct medical treatment by that physician.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00

847-025-0030
Limitations

(1) A license for the practice of medicine across state lines does
not permit a physician to practice medicine in the state of Oregon
except when engaging in the practice of medicine across state lines.

(2) A license to practice medicine across state lines is not a lim-
ited license per ORS 677.132.

(3) A physician issued a license to practice medicine across state
lines shall not:

(a) Act as a dispensing physician as described in ORS 677.010
(%)

(b) Treat a person within this state for intractable pain, per ORS
677.470, 677.489;

(c) Act as a supervising physician of an Oregon licensed Physi-
cian Assistant as defined in ORS 677.495(4);

(d) Act as a supervising physician of an Oregon-certified First
Responder or Emergency Medical Technician as defined in ORS
682.245;

(e) Be eligible for any tax credit provided by ORS 316.076;

(f) Participate in the Rural Health Services Program under
442.550 to 442.570; or

(g) Assert a lien for services under ORS 87.555.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137,677.139 & 677.141
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00
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847-025-0040
Qualifications

(1) To qualify for a license to practice medicine across state lines:

(a) An out-of-state physician must hold a full, unrestricted license
to practice medicine in any other state, must not have been the recip-
ient of a previous disciplinary or other actions by any other state or
jurisdiction; or

(b) An out-of-state physician who has been the recipient of pre-
vious disciplinary or other action by any state or jurisdiction may be
issued a license for the practice of medicine across state lines if the
Board finds that the previous disciplinary or other action does not indi-
cate that the physician is a potential threat to the public interest, health,
welfare and safety of the citizens of the state of Oregon; and

(c) Must otherwise meet the standards of licensure under ORS
6717.

(2) An out-of-state physician would not qualify for a license to
practice medicine across state lines if the applicant is the subject of a
pending investigation by a state medical board or another state or fed-

eral agency.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00

847-025-0050
Application

(1)(a) When applying for a license to practice medicine across
state lines, the physician shall submit to the Board the completed appli-
cation, fees, documents, letters, and any other information required by
the Board for physician (MD/DO) licensure as stated in OAR 847,
division 020.

(b) A description of the applicant’s intended practice of
medicine across state lines in the state of Oregon.

(2) A physician applying for a license to practice medicine across
state lines who has not completed the licensure process within a 12
month consecutive period shall file a new application, documents, let-

ters and pay a full filing fee as if filing for the first time.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.139, 677.265
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02;
BME 5-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07

847-025-0060
Medical Records and Personal Appearance

A physician granted a license to practice medicine across state
lines shall:

(1) Comply with all applicable laws, rules, and regulations in this
state governing the maintenance of patient medical records, including
patient confidentiality requirements, regardless of the state where the
medical records of any patient within this state are maintained; and

(2) Produce patient medical records or other materials as request-
ed by the Board and appear before the Board following receipt of a
written notice issued by the Board. Failure of the physician to appear
or to produce records or materials as requested shall constitute grounds

for disciplinary action per ORS 677.190.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.135, 677.137, 677.139 & 677.141
Hist.: BME 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00

DIVISION 26
RULES FOR LICENSE BY EXPEDITED ENDORSEMENT

847-026-0000
Qualifications for License by Endorsement

(1) The Oregon Medical Board may issue a license by endorse-
ment to a physician who:

(a) Meets the requirements for licensure as stated in OAR 847-
020-0120, 847-020-0130, 847-020-0170, and 847-023-005;

(b) Has not had privileges at a hospital, clinic, or surgical cen-
ter denied, reduced, restricted, suspended, revoked, terminated and has
not been subject to staff disciplinary action or non-renewal of an
employment contract for reasons in the Board’s judgment related to
medical practice or unprofessional conduct, or been requested to vol-
untarily resign or had privileges suspended while under investigation;

(c) Is eligible for primary source verification of medical educa-
tion, post-graduate training and examination scores through the state

in which the applicant was originally licensed. The Board may use cur-
rent certification by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the
American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Special-
ists as a proxy for verification of medical education, post-graduate
training and examination scores from the initial state of licensure;

(d) Is in good standing, with no restrictions or limitations upon,
actions taken against, or investigation or disciplinary action pending
against his/her license in any state, district, territory, or jurisdiction
where applicant is or has been licensed;

(e) Has no significant malpractice claim patterns or patient care
issues as determined by the Board;

(f) Has one (1) year of current, active, unrestricted, unlimited
clinical practice of medicine or surgery, or osteopathic medicine and
surgery in their medical specialty, if any, as a licensee of a state, dis-
trict, territory, or jurisdiction in the year preceding the physician’s sub-
mission to the Board of an application to practice in Oregon, or if
retired must have been retired for no more than one (1) calendar year
preceding the physician’s submission to the Board of an application
to practice in Oregon. Clinical patient practice will be documented by
verification of staff privileges, or non-consulting medical employment.
A year of accredited clinical fellowship in the applicant’s medical spe-
cialty as a licensee of a state, district, territory or jurisdiction qualifies
as a year of clinical practice.

(2) A physician is not eligible for licensure by endorsement if the
Board finds that the applicant has engaged in conduct prohibited by
ORS 677.190.

(3) An applicant ineligible for licensure by endorsement may
make a full and complete application per the requirements of OAR

847-020, or 847-023.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, f.
& cert. ef. 1-26-10

847-026-0005
Application

The applicant must submit a completed application to the board
on a form furnished by the Board with the required non-refundable
application fee. The applicant must attest that all questions have been
answered completely and all answers and statements are true and cor-
rect. Any false information is grounds for denial, limitation, suspen-

sion or revocation of licensure.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, f.
& cert. ef. 1-26-10

847-026-0010
Documents, Letters, Certifications Obtained by the Board

The Board will obtain the following documents, letters, certifi-
cations if any and results of queries of national databases required for
licensure on behalf of the applicant:

(1) Verification of certification by the American Board of Med-
ical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of
Osteopathic Specialists;

(2) Verification of re-certification by the American Board of
Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau
of Osteopathic Specialists;

(3) The results of a query of the National Practitioner Data Bank
and the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank; and

(4) The results of the query of the Federation of State Medical

Boards’ Board Action Data Bank.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, f.
& cert. ef. 1-26-10

847-026-0015
Documents and Forms to be Submitted for Licensure
(1) The following additional documents are required for a com-
pleted application and can be submitted by the applicant, the appli-
cant’s initial state of licensure, or the Federation of State Medical
Boards’ Federation Credentialing Verification Service Profile (FCVS):
(a) Birth Certificate: A copy of the applicant’s birth certificate for
proof of name and birth date, and any name change documentation if
there has been a name change from birth name;
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Chapter 847 Oregon Medical Board

(b) Medical School Diploma: A copy of a diploma showing the
applicant’s graduation from an approved school of medicine, or a for-
eign school of medicine that meets the requirement of OAR 847-020-
0130(2)(b)(D);

(c) Internship, Residency and Fellowship Certificates: A copy of
official internship, residency and fellowship certificates showing the
applicant’s completion of all postgraduate training;

(2) The applicant must submit the following:

(a) An open-book examination on the Medical Practice Act and
an open-book examination on the regulations of the Drug Enforcement
Administration governing the use of controlled substances;

(b) The completed fingerprint card with the Identification Veri-

fication form.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, f.
& cert. ef. 1-26-10

847-026-0020
Letters and Official Grade Certifications to be Submitted for
Licensure

The applicant must request official letters or verifications to be
sent to the Board directly from the following:

(1) The Executive Secretary of the State Boards in the United
States or Canada where the applicant has been currently or most
recently practicing. The currently dated original verification of license
(copy is not acceptable) shall show license number, date issued, grades
if applicable and status.

(2) The National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME), the
National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME), the
Medical Council of Canada (LMCC), or the Federation of State Med-
ical Boards (FLEX, USMLE) must provide an official grade certifi-
cation if not available from the initial state of licensure;

(3) The Director or other official for practice and employment in
hospitals, clinics and surgical centers in the United States and Cana-
da. A verification form or letter with original signature must be sub-
mitted from the practice sites where the applicant was physically prac-
ticing which shall include an evaluation of overall performance and
specific beginning and ending dates of practice and employment from

the past five (5) years.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, HB 2435 (2009)
Hist.: BME 21-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 4-2010, f.
& cert. ef. 1-26-10

DIVISION 28

RULES FOR LICENSURE OF VOLUNTEER
CAMP PHYSICIANS

847-028-0000
Preamble

A physician granted a license to volunteer medical services at a
camp operated by a nonprofit organization:

(1) Is subject to all the provisions of the Medical Practice Act
(ORS Chapter 677), and to all the administrative rules of the Oregon
Medical Board.

(2) Has the same duties and responsibilities and is subject to the
same penalties and sanctions as any other physician licensed under

ORS Chapter 677.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110 & 677.120
Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02

847-028-0010
Qualifications

(1) The Oregon Medical Board may issue a license for the vol-
untary provision of health care services at a camp operated by a non-
profit organization to a physician who has a current license to prac-
tice medicine in another state or territory of the United States or the
District of Columbia, provided that:

(a) The physician practices medicine for no more than 14 days
in a calendar year at a camp operated by a non-profit organization;

(b) Renders services within the scope of practice authorized by
the physician’s license;

(c) Holds a current license that has not been suspended or
revoked and is not under current disciplinary action (order) pursuant
to disciplinary proceedings in any jurisdiction;

(d) Is not under internal review or discipline in any hospital, clin-
ic, or health care facility; and

(e) Is not under disciplinary investigation by any medical licens-
ing authority that issued the physician a state license to practice
medicine.

(f) Must otherwise meet the standards of licensure under ORS

677.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110 & 677.120
Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02

847-028-0020
Limitations

(1) Alicense to volunteer medical services at a camp operated by
a nonprofit organization does not permit a physician to practice
medicine in the state of Oregon except when engaging in the provi-
sion of health care services at a camp operated by a non-profit orga-
nization.

(2) Alicense to volunteer medical services at a camp operated by
a nonprofit organization is not a limited license per ORS 677.132.

(3) A physician issued a license to volunteer medical services at
a camp operated by a nonprofit organization shall not:

(a) Act as a dispensing physician as described in ORS
677.010(5);

(b) Treat a person within this state for intractable pain, per ORS
677470, 677.489;

(c) Act as a supervising physician of an Oregon licensed Physi-
cian Assistant as defined in ORS 677.495(4);

(d) Act as a supervising physician of an Oregon-certified First
Responder or Emergency Medical Technician as defined in ORS
682.245;

(e) Be eligible for any tax credit provided by ORS 316.076;

(f) Participate in the Rural Health Services Program under ORS
442.550 to 442.570; or

(g) Assert a lien for services under ORS 87.555.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110 & 677.120

Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02

847-028-0030
Application

(1) When applying for a license to volunteer medical services at
a camp operated by a nonprofit organization, the physician shall sub-
mit to the Board the completed application, fees, documents, letters,
and any other information required by the Board for physician
(MD/DO) licensure as stated in OAR 847, division 020.

(2) A physician applying for a license to volunteer medical ser-
vices at a camp operated by a nonprofit organization who has not com-
pleted the process within a 12 month consecutive period shall file a
new application, documents, letters and pay a full filing fee as if fil-

ing for the first time.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.265
Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02; BME 6-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07

847-028-0040
Medical Records and Personal Appearance

A physician granted a license to volunteer medical services at a
camp operated by a nonprofit organization shall:

(1) Comply with all applicable laws, rules, and regulations in this
state governing the maintenance of patient medical records, including
patient confidentiality requirements, regardless of the state where the
medical records of any patient within this state are maintained; and

(2) Produce patient medical records or other materials as request-
ed by the Board and appear before the Board following receipt of a
written notice issued by the Board. Failure of the physician to appear
or to produce records or materials as requested shall constitute grounds

for disciplinary action per ORS 677.190.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100, 677.110 & 677.120
Hist.: BME 3-2002, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-02
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DIVISION 31

BOARD APPROVAL OF FOREIGN
SCHOOLS OF MEDICINE

847-031-0010
Criteria for Approval of Foreign Schools of Medicine

A foreign school of medicine must meet the following criteria to
be approved by the Oregon Medical Board.

(1) Objectives: A foreign school of medicine shall have a pro-
gram designed to prepare graduates to enter and complete graduate
medical education to qualify for licensure, and to provide competent
medical care.

(2) Governance: A foreign school of medicine shall be chartered
by the jurisdiction in which it operates.

(3) Administration:

(a) The administrative officers and members of the foreign school
medicine faculty shall be appointed by, or under the authority of, the
governing board of the foreign school of medicine or its parent uni-
versity.

(b) The dean of the foreign school of medicine shall be qualified
by education and experience to provide leadership in medical educa-
tion and in the care of patients.

(c) The manner in which the foreign school of medicine is orga-
nized, including the responsibilities and privileges of administrative
officers, faculty, students and committees shall be promulgated in
medical school or university bylaws.

(d) If components of the program are conducted at sites geo-
graphically separated from the main campus, the foreign school of
medicine shall be fully responsible for the conduct and quality of the
educational program at these sites and for identification of the facul-
ty there.

(4) Educational Program for the M.D./D.O. degree:

(a) Duration: The program in the art and science of medicine
leading to the M.D./D.O. degree shall include at least 130 weeks of
instruction preferably scheduled over a minimum of four calendar
years.

(b) Design and Management: The program’s faculty shall be
responsible for the design, implementation, and evaluation of the cur-
riculum.

(c) Content:

(A) The program’s faculty shall be responsible for devising a cur-
riculum that permits the student to learn the fundamental principles of
medicine, to acquire skills of critical judgment based on evidence and
experience, and to develop an ability to use principles and skills wise-
ly in solving problems of health and disease. In addition, the curricu-
lum shall be designed so that students acquire an understanding of the
scientific concepts underlying medicine.

(B) The curriculum shall include the contemporary content of
those expanded disciplines that have been traditionally titled anatomy,
biochemistry, physiology, microbiology and immunology, pathology,
pharmacology and therapeutics, and preventive medicine. Instruction
within the basic sciences shall include laboratory or other practical
exercises which facilitate ability to make accurate quantitative obser-
vations of biomedical phenomena and critical analyses of data.

(C) The fundamental clinical subjects which shall be offered in
the form of required patient-related clerkships are internal medicine,
obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery. Under
these disciplines or independently, students shall receive basic instruc-
tion in all organ systems. Instruction and experience in patient care
shall be provided in both hospital and ambulatory settings and shall
include the important aspects of acute, chronic, preventive and reha-
bilitative care.

(D) Each required clerkship shall allow the student to undertake
a thorough study of a series of selected patients having the major and
common types of disease problems represented in the primary and
related disciplines of the clerkship.

(E) Supervision shall be provided throughout required clerkships
by members of the school’s faculty. The required clerkships shall be
conducted in a teaching hospital or ambulatory care facility where res-
idents in accredited programs of graduate medical education, under
faculty guidance, may participate in teaching the students.

(d) Evaluation of Student Achievement:

(A) A committee of the faculty shall establish principles and
methods for the evaluation of student achievement and make decisions
regarding promotion and graduation.

(B) The faculty of each discipline shall set the standards of
achievement by students in the study of the discipline. Narrative
descriptions of student performance and of non-cognitive achieve-
ments shall be recorded to supplement grade reports.

(C) The chief academic officer and the directors of all courses and
clerkships shall design and implement a system of evaluation of the
work of each student during progression through each course or clerk-
ship.

(5) Medical Students. Admissions:

(a) The faculty of each foreign school of medicine shall devel-
op criteria and procedures for the selection of students which shall be
published and available to potential applicants and to their collegiate
advisors.

(b) The selection of students for the study of medicine shall be
the responsibility of the foreign school of medicine faculty through a
duly constituted committee.

(c) The number of students to be admitted shall be determined by
the resources of the school and the number of qualified applicants. The
clinical resources include finances, the size of the faculty, the variety
of academic fields represented, the library, the number and size of
classrooms and student laboratories and the adequacy of their equip-
ment and office and laboratory space for the faculty. There shall be
available a spectrum of clinical resources sufficiently under the con-
trol of the faculty to ensure breadth and quality of bedside and ambu-
latory clinical teaching.

(6) Resources for the Educational Program:

(a) General Facilities: A foreign school of medicine shall provide
buildings and equipment that are quantitatively and qualitatively ade-
quate to provide an environment conducive to teaching and learning.
The facilities shall include faculty offices and research laboratories,
student classrooms and laboratories, facilities for individual and group
study, offices for administrative and support staff, and a library. Access
to an auditorium sufficiently large to accommodate the student body
is desirable.

(b) Faculty:

(A) Members of the faculty shall have evidence of clinical com-
petence and commitment to teaching. Effective teaching requires
understanding of pedagogy, knowledge of the discipline, and con-
struction of a curriculum consistent with learning objectives, subject
to internal and external formal evaluation. The Administration and the
faculty shall have knowledge of methods for measurement of the stu-
dent performance in accordance with the stated educational objectives
and national norms.

(B) In each of the major disciplines basic to medicine and in the
clinical sciences, a critical mass of faculty members shall be appoint-
ed who possess, in addition to a comprehensive knowledge of their
major discipline, expertise in one or more subdivisions or specialties
within each of their disciplines. In the clinical sciences, the number
and kind of specialists appointed shall relate to the amount of patient
care activities required to conduct meaningful clinical teaching at the
undergraduate level, as well as for graduate and continuing medical
education.

(C) There shall be clear policies for the appointment, renewal of
appointment, promotion, granting of tenure and dismissal of members
of the faculty. The appointment process shall involve the faculty, the
appropriate departmental heads, and the dean. Each appointee shall
receive a clear definition of the terms of appointment, responsibilities,
line of communication, privileges and benefits.

(c) Library: The foreign school of medicine shall have a well-
maintained and catalogued library, sufficient in size and breadth to
support the educational programs offered by the institution. The library
should receive the leading biomedical and clinical periodicals, the cur-
rent numbers of which should be readily accessible. The library and
any other learning resources shall be equipped to allow students to
learn methods of retrieving information, as well as the use of self-
instruction materials. A professional library staff shall supervise the
library and provide instruction in its use.

(d) Clinical Teaching Facilities:

(A) The foreign school of medicine shall have adequate resources
to provide clinical instruction to its medical students. Resources shall
include ambulatory care facilities and hospitals where the full spec-
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trum of medical care is provided and can be demonstrated. Each hos-
pital shall either be accredited or otherwise demonstrate its capabili-
ty to provide safe and effective care. The number of hospital beds
required for education cannot be specified by formula, but the aggre-
gation of clinical resources shall be sufficient to permit students in
each of the major clerkships to work up and follow several new
patients each week.

(B) The nature of the relationship of the foreign school of
medicine to affiliated hospitals and other clinical resources is extreme-
ly important.

(C) There shall be written affiliation agreements that define the
responsibilities of each party. The degree of the schools authority shall
reflect the extent that the affiliated clinical facility participates in the
educational programs of the school. Most critical are the clinical facil-
ities where required clinical clerkships are conducted. In affiliated
institutions, the school’s department heads and senior clinical facul-
ty members shall have authority consistent with their responsibility for

the instruction of the students.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.110
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01

847-031-0020
Protocol for Evaluation of Foreign Schools of Medicine

(1) Any foreign school of medicine desiring to be evaluated by
the Oregon Board shall complete the medical evaluation form prepared
by the Federation of State Medical Boards. This form may be sub-
mitted directly to the Oregon Board through the Federation.

(2) Any foreign school of medicine desiring to be evaluated by
the Oregon Board shall post a bond of $20,000 in U.S. Funds with the
Oregon Board to cover costs of this evaluation. The Board shall give
an accounting of the expenditure of these funds at the conclusion of
the evaluation and any excess funds shall be returned to the foreign
school of medicine.

(3) The completed evaluation form will be reviewed by an eval-
uation panel appointed by the Board. This panel may consist of a mem-
ber or members of the Board and as many non-Board members as the
Board may deem necessary.

(4) As part of the evaluation, the panel may decide an on-site visit
is necessary.

(5) Sixty days after submitting the initial report, the panel shall
submit to the Board its final recommendations and any additional
information provided by the school. The Board at its next meeting shall

accept, reject or modify the recommendations.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01; BME 5-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06

847-031-0030
Recertification

(1) Approval of a foreign school of medicine shall be valid for a
maximum period of five years. If for any reason the Board determines
that certification should be terminated the Board may, with reasonable
cause, terminate approval at any time.

(2) Provisional approval may be granted for periods of time less

than five years.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01

847-031-0040
Approval of Foreign Schools of Medicine by Other States

The Oregon Medical Board may accept any foreign school of
medicine which has been approved by another state using criteria sub-

stantially similar to Oregon’s.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01

847-031-0050
Approval of Foreign Schools of Medicine by Foreign
Accrediting Agencies

The Oregon Medical Board may accept as approved, a foreign
school of medicine which has been approved by an agency which uti-
lizes criteria and processes similar to the U.S. Liaison Committee on

Medical Education.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist. BME 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-01

DIVISION 35

EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIANS,
FIRST RESPONDERS AND SUPERVISING PHYSICIANS

847-035-0001
Definitions

(1) “Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT or
Advanced EMT)” means a person who is licensed by the Authority as
an Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT).

(2) “Agent” means a medical or osteopathic physician licensed
under ORS Chapter 677, actively registered and in good standing with
the Board, a resident of or actively practicing in the area in which the
emergency service is located, designated by the supervising physician
to provide direction of the medical services of emergency medical ser-
vices providers as specified in these rules.

(3) “Authority” means the Public Health Division, Emergency
Medical Services and Trauma Systems of the Oregon Health Author-
ity.

(4) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board for the State of
Oregon.

(5) “Committee” means the EMS Advisory Committee to the
Oregon Medical Board.

(6) “Emergency Care” as defined in ORS 682.025(4) means the
performance of acts or procedures under emergency conditions in the
observation, care and counsel of persons who are ill or injured or who
have disabilities; in the administration of care or medications as pre-
scribed by a licensed physician, insofar as any of these acts is based
upon knowledge and application of the principles of biological, phys-
ical and social science as required by a completed course utilizing an
approved curriculum in prehospital emergency care. However,
“emergency care” does not include acts of medical diagnosis or pre-
scription of therapeutic or corrective measures.

(7) “Emergency Medical Responder” means a person who is
licensed by the Authority as an Emergency Medical Responder.

(8) “Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)” means a person
who is licensed by the Authority as an EMT.

(9) “Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate (EMT-Inter-
mediate)” means a person who is licensed by the Authority as an EMT-
Intermediate.

(10) “In Good Standing” means a person who is currently
licensed, who does not have any restrictions placed on his/her license,
and who is not on probation with the licensing agency for any reason.

(11) “Nonemergency care” as defined in ORS 682.025(8) means
the performance of acts or procedures on a patient who is not expect-
ed to die, become permanently disabled or suffer permanent harm
within the next 24 hours, including but not limited to observation, care
and counsel of a patient and the administration of medications pre-
scribed by a physician licensed under ORS Chapter 677, insofar as any
of these acts are based upon knowledge and application of the prin-
ciples of biological, physical and social science and are performed in
accordance with scope of practice rules adopted by the Oregon Med-
ical Board in the course of providing prehospital care.

(12) “Paramedic” means a person who is licensed by the Author-
ity as a Paramedic.

(13) “Scope of Practice” means the maximum level of emergency
and nonemergency care that an emergency medical services provider
may provide as defined in OAR 847-035-0030.

(14) “Standing Orders” means the written detailed procedures for
medical or trauma emergencies and nonemergency care to be per-
formed by an emergency medical services provider issued by the
supervising physician commensurate with the scope of practice and
level of licensure of the emergency medical services provider.

(15) “Supervising Physician” means a person licensed as a med-
ical or osteopathic physician under ORS Chapter 677, actively regis-
tered and in good standing with the Board, approved by the Board, and
who provides direction of, and is ultimately responsible for emergency
and nonemergency care rendered by emergency medical services
providers as specified in these rules. The supervising physician is also
ultimately responsible for the agent designated by the supervising
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physician to provide direction of the medical services of the emer-

gency medical services provider as specified in these rules.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245
Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245
Hist.: ME 2-1983, f. & ef. 7-21-83; ME 7-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 11-1986, f. &
ef. 7-31-86; ME 15-1988, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-88; ME 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-
91; ME 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-96; ME 3-1996, f. & cert. efg. 7-25-96; BME 6-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-27-98; BME 13-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99; BME 10-2002,
f. & cert. ef. 7-22-02; BME 18-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 1-2011,f. & cert.
ef.2-11-11; OMB 13-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11; OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-
22-12

847-035-0011
EMS Advisory Committee

(1) There is created an EMS Advisory Committee, consisting of
five members appointed by the Oregon Medical Board. The Board
must appoint two physicians and three emergency medical services
providers from nominations provided from EMS agencies, organiza-
tions, and individuals.

(a) The two physician members must be actively practicing
physicians licensed under ORS Chapter 677 who are supervising
physicians, medical directors, or practicing emergency medicine
physicians.

(b) The three EMS members must be Oregon licensed emergency
medical services providers for at least two years and have been resi-
dents of this state for at least two years. At least two of the three EMS
members must be actively practicing prehospital care, and at least one
of the three EMS members must be a Paramedic.

(c) Two of the five committee members must be from rural or
frontier Oregon.

(2)(a) The term of office of a member of the committee is three
years, and members may be reappointed to serve not more than two
terms.

(b) Vacancies in the committee must be filled by appointment by
the Board for the balance of an unexpired term, and each member must
serve until a successor is appointed and qualified.

(3) The members of the advisory committee are entitled to com-
pensation and expenses as provided for Board members in ORS

677.235.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 682.245
Hist.: BME 12-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 18-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09;
OMB 14-2012, f. & cert. ef. 4-17-12; OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-035-0012
Duties of the Committee

(1) The EMS Advisory Committee must:

(a) Review requests for additions, amendments, or deletions to
the scope of practice for emergency medical services providers, and
recommend to the Board changes to the scope of practice.

(b) Recommend requirements and duties of supervising physi-
cians of emergency medical services providers; and

(c) Recommend physician nominations for the State EMS Com-
mittee.

(2) All actions of the EMS Advisory Committee are subject to

review and approval by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 682.245
Hist.: BME 12-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-
12

847-035-0020
Application and Qualifications for a Supervising Physician and
Agent

(1) The Board has delegated to the Authority the following:

(a) Designing the supervising physician and agent application;

(b) Approving a supervising physician or agent; and

(c) Investigating and disciplining any emergency medical ser-
vices provider who violates their scope of practice.

(2) The Authority must provide copies of any supervising physi-
cian or agent applications and any emergency medical services
provider disciplinary action reports to the Board upon request.

(3) The Authority must immediately notify the Board when ques-
tions arise regarding the qualifications or responsibilities of the super-
vising physician or agent of the supervising physician.

(4) A supervising physician and agent must meet the following
qualifications:

(a) Be a medical or osteopathic physician currently licensed
under ORS Chapter 677, actively registered and in good standing with
the Board;

(b) Be in current practice;

(c) Be aresident of or actively practicing in the area in which the
emergency service is located;

(d) Possess thorough knowledge of skills assigned by standing
order to emergency medical services providers; and

(e) Possess thorough knowledge of laws and rules of the State of
Oregon pertaining to emergency medical services providers; and

(f) Have completed or obtained one of the following no later than
one calendar year after beginning the position as a supervising physi-
cian:

(A) Thirty-six months of experience as an EMS Medical Direc-
tor;

(B) Completion of the one-day National Association of EMS
Physicians (NAEMSP®) Medical Direction Overview Course, or an
equivalent course as approved by the Authority;

(C) Completion of the three-day National Association of EMS
Physicians (NAEMSP®) National EMS Medical Directors Course and
Practicum®, or an equivalent course as approved by the Authority;

(D) Completion of an ACGME-approved Fellowship in EMS; or

(E) Subspecialty board certification in EMS.

(5) A supervising physician must meet ongoing education stan-
dards by completing or obtaining one of the following every two cal-
endar years:

(a) Attendance at one Oregon Health Authority EMS supervis-
ing physician’s forum;

(b) Completion of an average of four hours of EMS-related con-
tinuing medical education per year; or

(c) Participation in maintenance of certification in the subspe-

cialty of EMS.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245
Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245
Hist.: ME 13-1984, f. & ef. 8-2-84; ME 2-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 1-21-85; ME 5-1985,
f. & ef. 5-6-85; ME 7-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 6-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME
1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-96; OMB 6-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 30-2012,
f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-035-0025
Supervision

(1) A supervising physician is responsible for the following:

(a) Issuing, reviewing and maintaining standing orders within the
scope of practice not to exceed the licensure level of the emergency
medical services provider when applicable;

(b) Explaining the standing orders to the emergency medical ser-
vices provider, making sure they are understood and not exceeded;

(c) Ascertaining that the emergency medical services provider is
currently licensed and in good standing with the Division;

(d) Providing regular review of the emergency medical services
provider’s practice by:

(A) Direct observation of prehospital emergency care perfor-
mance by riding with the emergency medical service; and

(B) Indirect observation using one or more of the following:

(i) Prehospital emergency care report review;

(i1) Prehospital communications tapes review;

(ii1) Immediate critiques following presentation of reports;

(iv) Demonstration of technical skills; and

(v) Post-care patient or receiving physician interviews using
questionnaire or direct interview techniques.

(e) Providing or coordinating formal case reviews for emergen-
cy medical services providers by thoroughly discussing a case
(whether one in which the emergency medical services provider has
taken part or a textbook case) from the time the call was received until
the patient was delivered to the hospital. The review should include
discussing what the problem was, what actions were taken (right or
wrong), what could have been done that was not, and what improve-
ments could have been made; and

(f) Providing or coordinating continuing education. Although the
supervising physician is not required to teach all sessions, the super-
vising physician is responsible for assuring that the sessions are taught
by a qualified person.

(2) The supervising physician may delegate responsibility to
his/her agent to provide any or all of the following:
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(a) Explanation of the standing orders to the emergency medical
services provider, making sure they are understood, and not exceed-
ed;

(b) Assurance that the emergency medical services provider is
currently licensed and in good standing with the Division;

(c) Regular review of the emergency medical services provider’s
practice by:

(A) Direct observation of prehospital emergency care perfor-
mance by riding with the emergency medical service; and

(B) Indirect observation using one or more of the following:

(i) Prehospital emergency care report review;

(ii) Prehospital communications tapes review;

(iii) Immediate critiques following presentation of reports;

(iv) Demonstration of technical skills; and

(v) Post-care patient or receiving physician interviews using
questionnaire or direct interview techniques.

(d) Provide or coordinate continuing education. Although the
supervising physician or agent is not required to teach all sessions, the
supervising physician or agent is responsible for assuring that the ses-
sions are taught by a qualified person.

(3) Nothing in this rule may limit the number of emergency med-
ical services providers that may be supervised by a supervising physi-
cian so long as the supervising physician can meet with the emergency
medical services providers under his/her direction for a minimum of
two hours each calendar year.

(4) An emergency medical services provider may have more than
one supervising physician as long as the emergency medical services
provider has notified all of the supervising physicians involved, and
the emergency medical services provider is functioning under one
supervising physician at a time.

(5) The supervising physician must report in writing to the
Authority’s Chief Investigator any action or behavior on the part of the
emergency medical services provider that could be cause for disci-

plinary action under ORS 682.220 or 682.224.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245
Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245
Hist.: ME 2-1983, f. & ef. 7-21-83; ME 13-1984, f. & ef. 8-2-84; ME 6-1991,f. &
cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-96; OMB 13-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-
13-11; OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

Scope of Practice

847-035-0030
Scope of Practice

(1) The Oregon Medical Board has established a scope of prac-
tice for emergency and nonemergency care for emergency medical ser-
vices providers. Emergency medical services providers may provide
emergency and nonemergency care in the course of providing pre-
hospital care as an incident of the operation of ambulance and as inci-
dents of other public or private safety duties, but is not limited to
“emergency care” as defined in OAR 847-035-0001.

(2) The scope of practice for emergency medical services
providers is not intended as statewide standing orders or protocols. The
scope of practice is the maximum functions which may be assigned
to an emergency medical services provider by a Board-approved
supervising physician.

(3) Supervising physicians may not assign functions exceeding
the scope of practice; however, they may limit the functions within the
scope at their discretion.

(4) Standing orders for an individual emergency medical services
provider may be requested by the Board or Authority and must be fur-
nished upon request.

(5) An emergency medical services provider may not function
without assigned standing orders issued by a Board-approved super-
vising physician.

(6) An emergency medical services provider, acting through
standing orders, must respect the patient’s wishes including life-sus-
taining treatments. Physician-supervised emergency medical services
providers must request and honor life-sustaining treatment orders exe-
cuted by a physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant if avail-
able. A patient with life-sustaining treatment orders always requires
respect, comfort and hygienic care.

(7) Whenever possible, medications should be prepared by the
emergency medical services provider who will administer the medi-
cation to the patient.

(8) An Emergency Medical Responder without signed standing
orders from a supervising physician may:

(a) Conduct primary and secondary patient examinations;

(b) Take and record vital signs;

(c) Utilize noninvasive diagnostic devices in accordance with
manufacturer’s recommendation;

(d) Open and maintain an airway by positioning the patient’s
head;

(e) Provide external cardiopulmonary resuscitation and obstruct-
ed airway care for infants, children, and adults;

(f) Provide care for musculoskeletal injuries;

(g) Assist with prehospital childbirth; and

(h) Complete a clear and accurate prehospital emergency care
report form on all patient contacts and provide a copy of that report
to the senior emergency medical services provider with the trans-
porting ambulance.

(9) An Emergency Medical Responder may perform the follow-
ing additional procedures only when the Emergency Medical
Responder is part of an agency which has a Board-approved super-
vising physician who has issued written standing orders to that Emer-
gency Medical Responder authorizing the following:

(a) Administer medical oxygen;

(b) Maintain an open airway through the use of:

(A) A nasopharyngeal airway device;

(B) A noncuffed oropharyngeal airway device;

(C) A pharyngeal suctioning device;

(c) Operate a bag mask ventilation device with reservoir;

(d) Provide care for suspected medical emergencies, including
administering liquid oral glucose for hypoglycemia;

(e) Prepare and administer aspirin by mouth for suspected
myocardial infarction (MI) in patients with no known history of aller-
gy to aspirin or recent gastrointestinal bleed;

(f) Prepare and administer epinephrine by automatic injection
device for anaphylaxis; and

(g) Perform cardiac defibrillation with an automatic or semi-auto-
matic defibrillator, only when the Emergency Medical Responder:

(A) Has successfully completed an Authority-approved course of
instruction in the use of the automatic or semi-automatic defibrillator;
and

(B) Complies with the periodic requalification requirements for
automatic or semi-automatic defibrillator as established by the Author-
ity.

(10) An EMT may:

(a) Perform all procedures that an Emergency Medical Respon-
der may perform;

(b) Ventilate with a non-invasive positive pressure delivery
device;

(c) Insert a cuffed pharyngeal airway device in the practice of air-
way maintenance. A cuffed pharyngeal airway device is:

(A) A single lumen airway device designed for blind insertion
into the esophagus providing airway protection where the cuffed tube
prevents gastric contents from entering the pharyngeal space; or

(B) A multi-lumen airway device designed to function either as
the single lumen device when placed in the esophagus, or by insertion
into the trachea where the distal cuff creates an endotracheal seal
around the ventilatory tube preventing aspiration of gastric contents.

(d) Perform tracheobronchial tube suctioning on the endotracheal
intubated patient;

(e) Provide care for suspected shock;

(f) Provide care for suspected medical emergencies, including:

(A) Obtain a capillary blood specimen for blood glucose moni-
toring;

(B) Prepare and administer epinephrine by subcutaneous injec-
tion or automatic injection device for anaphylaxis;

(C) Administer activated charcoal for poisonings; and

(D) Prepare and administer nebulized Albuterol sulfate treatments
for known asthmatic and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease
(COPD) patients suffering from suspected bronchospasm.

(g) Perform cardiac defibrillation with an automatic or semi-auto-
matic defibrillator;

(h) Transport stable patients with saline locks, heparin locks,
foley catheters, or in-dwelling vascular devices;

(i) Assist the on-scene Advanced EMT, EMT-Intermediate, or
Paramedic by:
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(A) Assembling and priming IV fluid administration sets; and

(B) Opening, assembling and uncapping preloaded medication
syringes and vials;

(j) Perform other emergency tasks as requested if under the direct
visual supervision of a physician and then only under the order of that
physician;

(k) Complete a clear and accurate prehospital emergency care
report form on all patient contacts;

(1) Assist a patient with administration of sublingual nitroglyc-
erine tablets or spray and with metered dose inhalers that have been
previously prescribed by that patient’s personal physician and that are
in the possession of the patient at the time the EMT is summoned to
assist that patient;

(m) In the event of a release of military chemical warfare agents
from the Umatilla Army Depot, the EMT who is a member or employ-
ee of an EMS agency serving the DOD-designated Immediate
Response Zone who has completed an Authority-approved training
program may prepare and administer atropine sulfate and pralidoxime
chloride from an Authority-approved pre-loaded auto-injector device,
and perform endotracheal intubation, using protocols promulgated by
the Authority and adopted by the supervising physician. Every EMT
action taken pursuant to this section must be reported to the Author-
ity via a copy of the prehospital emergency care report and must be
reviewed for appropriateness by Authority staff and the Subcommit-
tee on EMT Licensure and Discipline;

(n) In the event of a release of organophosphate agents, the EMT
who has completed Authority-approved training may prepare and
administer atropine sulfate and pralidoxime chloride by autoinjector,
using protocols approved by the Authority and adopted by the super-
vising physician; and

(0) In the event of a declared Mass Casualty Incident (MCI) as
defined in the local Mass Casualty Incident plan, monitor patients who
have isotonic intravenous fluids flowing.

(11) An Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) may:

(a) Perform all procedures that an EMT may perform;

(b) Initiate and maintain peripheral intravenous (I.V.) lines;

(c) Initiate saline or similar locks;

(d) Draw peripheral blood specimens;

(e) Initiate and maintain an intraosseous infusion in the pediatric
patient;

(f) Perform tracheobronchial suctioning of an already intubated
patient; and

(g) Prepare and administer the following medications under spe-
cific written protocols authorized by the supervising physician or direct
orders from a licensed physician:

(A) Physiologic isotonic crystalloid solution;

(B) Anaphylaxis: epinephrine;

(C) Antidotes: naloxone hydrochloride;

(D) Antihypoglycemics:

(i) Hypertonic glucose;

(ii) Glucagon;

(E) Vasodilators: nitroglycerine;

(F) Nebulized bronchodilators:

(i) Albuterol;

(ii) Ipratropium bromide;

(G) Analgesics for acute pain: nitrous oxide.

(12) An EMT-Intermediate may:

(a) Perform all procedures that an Advanced EMT may perform;

(b) Initiate and maintain an intraosseous infusion;

(c) Prepare and administer the following medications under spe-
cific written protocols authorized by the supervising physician, or
direct orders from a licensed physician:

(A) Vasoconstrictors:

(i) Epinephrine;

(ii) Vasopressin;

(B) Antiarrhythmics:

(i) Atropine sulfate;

(ii) Lidocaine;

(ii1) Amiodarone;

(C) Analgesics for acute pain:

(1) Morphine;

(i1) Nalbuphine Hydrochloride;

(iii) Ketorolac tromethamine;

(iv) Fentanyl;

(D) Antihistamine: Diphenhydramine;

(E) Diuretic: Furosemide;

(F) Intraosseous infusion anesthetic: Lidocaine;

(G) Anti-Emetic: Ondansetron;

(d) Prepare and administer immunizations in the event of an out-
break or epidemic as declared by the Governor of the state of Oregon,
the State Public Health Officer or a county health officer, as part of an
emergency immunization program, under the agency’s supervising
physician’s standing order;

(e) Prepare and administer immunizations for seasonal and pan-
demic influenza vaccinations according to the CDC Advisory Com-
mittee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), and/or the Oregon State
Public Health Officer’s recommended immunization guidelines as
directed by the agency’s supervising physician’s standing order;

(f) Distribute medications at the direction of the Oregon State
Public Health Officer as a component of a mass distribution effort;

(g) Prepare and administer routine or emergency immunizations
and tuberculosis skin testing, as part of an EMS Agency’s occupational
health program, to the EMT-Intermediate’s EMS agency personnel,
under the supervising physician’s standing order;

(h) Insert an orogastric tube;

(i) Maintain during transport any intravenous medication infu-
sions or other procedures which were initiated in a medical facility, if
clear and understandable written and verbal instructions for such main-
tenance have been provided by the physician, nurse practitioner or
physician assistant at the sending medical facility;

(j) Perform electrocardiographic rhythm interpretation; and

(k) Perform cardiac defibrillation with a manual defibrillator.

(13) A Paramedic may:

(a) Perform all procedures that an EMT-Intermediate may per-
form;

(b) Initiate the following airway management techniques:

(A) Endotracheal intubation;

(B) Cricothyrotomy; and

(C) Transtracheal jet insufflation which may be used when no
other mechanism is available for establishing an airway;

(c) Initiate a nasogastric tube;

(d) Provide advanced life support in the resuscitation of patients
in cardiac arrest;

(e) Perform emergency cardioversion in the compromised
patient;

(f) Attempt external transcutaneous pacing of bradycardia that is
causing hemodynamic compromise;

(g) Perform electrocardiographic interpretation;

(h) Initiate needle thoracostomy for tension pneumothorax in a
prehospital setting;

(i) Access indwelling catheters and implanted central IV ports for
fluid and medication administration;

(j) Initiate placement of a urinary catheter for trauma patients in
a prehospital setting who have received diuretics and where the trans-
port time is greater than thirty minutes; and

(k) Prepare and initiate or administer any medications or blood
products under specific written protocols authorized by the supervis-

ing physician, or direct orders from a licensed physician.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 682.245

Stats. Implemented: ORS 682.245

Hist.: ME 2-1983, f. & ef. 7-21-83; ME 3-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 12-1984, f.
& ef. 8-2-84; ME 7-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 12-1987, f. & ef. 4-28-87; ME 27-
1987(Temp), f. & ef. 11-5-87; ME 5-1988, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-88; ME 12-1988, f.
& cert. ef. 8-5-88; ME 15-1988, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-88; ME 2-1989, f. & cert. ef.
1-25-89; ME 15-1989, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-89, & corrected 9-22-89; ME 6-1991, f. &
cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 10-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-93; ME 3-1995, f. & cert. ef. 2-
1-95; ME 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-96; ME 3-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-96; BME
6-1998, . & cert. ef. 4-27-98; BME 13-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-6-98 thru 2-2-
99; BME 14-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-98; BME 16-1998, f. & cert. ef. 11-24-98;
BME 13-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99; BME 14-2000, . & cert. ef. 10-30-00; BME
11-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 9-2002, . & cert. ef. 7-17-02; BME 10-2002,
f. & cert. ef. 7-22-02; BME 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 12-2003, f. & cert.
ef. 7-15-03; BME 4-2004, . & cert. ef. 1-27-04; BME 11-2004(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 4-22-04 thru 10-15-04; BME 12-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-11-04 thru 12-8-
04; BME 21-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-15-04 thru 4-15-05; BME 2-2005, f. &
cert. ef. 1-27-05; BME 5-2005, f. & cert. ef. 4-21-05; BME 9-2005, f. & cert. ef.
7-20-05; BME 18-20006, . & cert. ef. 7-25-06; BME 22-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-
06; BME 7-2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 11-2007, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-07; BME
24-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 11-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08; BME 19-2008,
f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 10-2009, f. & cert. ef. 5-1-09; BME 13-2009, f. & cert.
ef. 7-20-09; BME 18-2009, . & cert. ef. 10-23-09; BME 22-2009(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-23-09 thru 4-15-10; BME 5-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-10; BME 8-2010(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10 thru 10-15-10; BME 12-2010, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-10; BME 18-
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2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 1-2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-11; OMB 5-2011, f.
& cert. ef. 4-8-11; OMB 8-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 15-2012, f. & cert. ef.
4-17-12; OMB 30-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

DIVISION 50
PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT

847-050-0005
Preamble

(1) A physician assistant is a person qualified by education, train-
ing, experience, and personal character to provide medical services
under the direction and supervision of a physician licensed under ORS
Chapter 677, in active practice and in good standing with the Board.
The purpose of the physician assistant program is to enable physicians
licensed under ORS 677 to extend high quality medical care to more
people throughout the state.

(2) The licensed physician is in all cases regarded as the super-

visor of the physician assistant.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.495 - 677.535
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-
1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 13-2003, f. & cert.
ef. 7-15-03; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend
temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB
32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0010
Definitions

As used in OAR 847-050-0005 to 847-050-0065:

(1) “Agent” means a physician designated in writing and retained
at the primary practice location by the supervising physician who pro-
vides direction and regular review of the medical services of the physi-
cian assistant when the supervising physician is unavailable for short
periods of time, such as but not limited to when the supervising physi-
cian is on vacation.

(2) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board for the State of
Oregon.

(3) “Committee” means Physician Assistant Committee.

(4) “Grandfathered physician assistant” means the physician
assistant registered prior to July 12, 1984 who does not possess the
qualifications of OAR 847-050-0020. Grandfathered physician assis-
tants may retain all practice privileges which have been granted prior
to July 12, 1984.

(5) “Physician assistant” means a person who is licensed as such
in accordance with ORS 677.265, 677.495, 677.[0]505, 677.510,
677.515,677.520, and 677.525.

(6) “Practice agreement” means a written agreement between a
physician assistant and a supervising physician or supervising physi-
cian organization that describes the manner in which the services of
the physician assistant will be used.

(7) “Practice description” means a written description of the
duties and functions of the physician assistant in relation to the physi-
cian’s practice, submitted by the supervising physician and the physi-
cian assistant to the Board and approved prior to January 1,2012.

(8) “Supervising physician organization” means a group of super-
vising physicians who collectively supervises a physician assistant.
One physician within the supervising physician organization must be
designated as the primary supervising physician of the physician assis-
tant.

(9) “Supervising physician” means a physician licensed under
ORS Chapter 677, actively registered and in good standing with the
Board as a Medical Doctor or Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine, and
approved by the Board as a supervising physician, who provides direc-
tion and regular review of the medical services provided by the physi-
cian assistant.

(10) “Supervision” means the routine review by the supervising
physician or designated agent, as described in the practice agreement
or Board-approved practice description of the medical services pro-
vided by the physician assistant. The supervising physician or desig-
nated agent and the physician assistant must maintain direct commu-
nication, either in person, by telephone, or other electronic means.
There are three categories of supervision:

(a) “General Supervision” means the supervising physician or
designated agent is not on-site with the physician assistant, but must
be available for direct communication, either in person, by telephone,
or other electronic means.

(b) “Direct Supervision” means the supervising physician or des-
ignated agent must be in the facility when the physician assistant is
practicing.

(c) “Personal Supervision” means the supervising physician or
designated agent must be at the side of the physician assistant at all
times, personally directing the action of the physician assistant.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.495

Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-
1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & cert.
ef.7-17-92; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 13-2003, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-
03; BME 12-2006, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; BME 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10;
[OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by
OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-
2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef.
2-10-12

847-050-0015
Application

(1) Each application for the licensure of a physician assistant
must meet the licensing requirements as set forth in ORS 677.512.

(2) No applicant is entitled to licensure who:

(a) Has failed an examination for licensure in the State of Ore-
gon;

(b) Has had a license or certificate revoked or suspended in this

or any other state unless the said license or certificate has been restored
or reinstated and the applicant’s license or certificate is in good stand-
ing in the state which had revoked the same;

(c) Has been refused a license or certificate in any other state on
any grounds other than failure in a medical licensure examination; or

(d) Has been guilty of conduct similar to that which would be
prohibited by or to which ORS 677.190 would apply.

(3) A person applying for licensure under these rules who has not
completed the licensure process within a 12 month consecutive peri-
od from date of receipt of the application must file a new application,

documents, letters and pay a full filing fee as if filing for the first time.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 677.512
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, . & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-
1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & cert.
ef. 7-17-92; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 13-2010(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 7-26-10 thru 1-10-11; BME 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-10; [OMB 21-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-
11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0020
Qualifications

On or after January 25, 2008, an applicant for licensure as a
physician assistant in this state must possess the following qualifica-
tions:

(1) Have successfully completed a physician assistant education
program which is approved by the American Medical Association
Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation
(C.A.H.E.A.), the Commission on Accreditation for Allied Health
Education Programs (C.A.A.H.E.P.), or the Accreditation Review
Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (A.R.C.P.A.).

(2) Have passed the Physician Assistant National Certifying
Examination (PANCE) given by the National Commission on Certi-
fication of Physician Assistants (N.C.C.P.A.).

(a) The applicant may take the PANCE once in a 90-day period
or three times per calendar year, whichever is fewer.

(A) The applicant has no more than four attempts in six years to
pass the PANCE. If the applicant does not pass the PANCE within four
attempts, the applicant is not eligible for licensure.

(B) An applicant who has passed the NCCPA certification exam,
but not within the four attempts required by this rule, may request a
waiver of this requirement if he/she has current certification by the
NCCPA.

(b) Those who have met the requirements of section (1) of this
rule may make application for a Limited License, Postgraduate before
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passing the PANCE examination with the stipulation that if the exam-
ination is not passed within one year from the date of application, the
Board withdraws its approval.

(3) Applicants seeking prescription privileges must meet the

requirements specified in OAR 847-050-0041.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 677.512
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-
1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 10-1984, f. & ef. 7-20-84; ME 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-
86; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 5-
1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 17-1994, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-94; BME 1-1998, f.
& cert. ef. 1-30-98; BME 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-00; BME 1-2001, f. & cert. ef.
1-25-01; BME 6-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 6-2008, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-08;
BME 10-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-26-10 thru 10-15-10; BME 14-2010, f. & cert.
ef. 7-26-10; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend
temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB
32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert.
ef.2-10-12

847-050-0023
Limited License, Postgraduate

(1) An applicant for a Physician Assistant license who has suc-
cessfully completed a physician assistant education program approved
by the American Medical Association Council on Allied Health Edu-
cation and Accreditation (C.A.H.E.A.), or the Commission on Accred-
itation for Allied Health Education Programs (C.A.A.H.E.P.), or the
Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician
Assistant (A.R.C.P.A.) but has not yet passed the Physician Assistant
National Certifying Examination (PANCE) given by the National
Commission for the Certification of Physician Assistants (N.C.C.P.A.)
may be issued a Limited License, Postgraduate, if the following are
met:

(a) The application file is complete with the exception of certi-
fication by the N.C.C.P.A; and

(b) The applicant has submitted the appropriate form and fee
prior to being issued a Limited License, Postgraduate.

(2) A Limited License, Postgraduate may include prescriptive
privileges for Schedules III through V if the supervising physician
specifies these prescription privileges for the physician assistant in the
practice agreement;

(3) A Limited License, Postgraduate may be granted for one year,
and may not be renewed.

(4) Upon receipt of verification that the applicant has passed the
N.C.C.P.A. examination, and if their application file is otherwise sat-
isfactorily complete, the applicant will be considered for a permanent
license.

(5) The Limited License, Postgraduate will automatically

expire if the applicant fails the N.C.C.P.A. examination.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132 & 677.535
Hist.: ME 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 9-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-95; BME
14-2002, f. & cert. ef. 10-25-02; BME 13-2003, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-03; [OMB 21-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-
11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0025
Interview and Examination

(1) In addition to all other requirements, the Board may require
prior to original licensure the applicant to appear for a personal inter-
view if there are questions concerning the application.

(2) The applicant is required to pass an open-book examination
on the Medical Practice Act (ORS Chapter 677) and Oregon Admin-
istrative Rules (OAR) chapter 847, division 050. If an applicant fails
the open-book examination three times, the applicant’s application will
be reviewed by the Physician Assistant Committee of the Oregon Med-
ical Board. An applicant who has failed the open-book examination
three times must also attend an informal meeting with a Board mem-
ber, a Board investigator and/or the Medical Director of the Board to
discuss the applicant’s failure of the examination, before being given
a fourth and final attempt to pass the examination. If the applicant does
not pass the examination on the fourth attempt, the applicant may be

denied licensure.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 1-12-71; ME 25, . 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979. f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-

1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-
90; ME 10-1992, . & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 9-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-95; BME 11-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BME 13-2003, . & cert. ef. 7-15-03; BME 13-2006,
f. & cert. ef. 5-8-06; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12;
Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12];
OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f.
& cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0026
Limited License, Special

(1) Under the authority of the Oregon Medical Board, the Physi-
cian Assistant Committee may grant a Limited License, Special to
physician assistants not previously licensed in the state, subject to final
Board approval.

(2) A Limited License, Special is valid until the approval of per-
manent licensure and may be granted only if the following criteria are
met:

(a) The applicant meets the qualifications of OAR 857-050-
0020(1) and (2);

(b) The application file is complete; and

(c) The applicant has submitted the appropriate form and fee for
a Limited License, Special.

(3) Prescribing, administering and dispensing medications, and
remote supervision in a medically disadvantaged, underserved, or
health professional shortage area may be included with a Limited

License, Special if specified in the practice agreement.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.535
Hist.: ME 21-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-89; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME
10-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 5-1994, f.
& cert. ef. 1-24-94; ME 9-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-95; BME 1-1998, f. & cert. ef.
1-30-98; BME 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-00; BME 6-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06;
[OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by
OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-
2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef.
2-10-12

847-050-0027
Approval of Supervising Physician

(1) Prior to using the services of a physician assistant under a
practice agreement, a supervising physician or primary supervising
physician of a supervising physician organization must be approved
as a supervising physician by the Board.

(2) The primary supervising physician of a supervising physician
organization must apply as a supervising physician with the Board and
must attest that each supervising physician in the supervising physi-
cian organization has reviewed statutes and rules relating to the prac-
tice of physician assistants and the role of a supervising physician.

(3) Physicians applying to be a supervising physician or the pri-
mary supervising physician of a supervising physician organization
must:

(a) Submit a supervising physician application; and

(b) Take an online course and pass an open-book exam on the
supervising physician requirements and responsibilities given by the
Board. A passing score on the exam is 75%. If the supervising physi-
cian applicant fails the exam three times, the physician’s application
will be reviewed by the Board. A supervising physician applicant who
has failed the exam three times must also attend an informal meeting
with a Board member, a Board investigator and/or the Medical Direc-
tor of the Board to discuss the applicant’s failure of the exam, before
being given a fourth and final attempt to pass the examination. If the
applicant does not pass the exam on the fourth attempt, the physician’s
application may be denied.

(4) The physician may be subject to Board investigation prior to
approval or may be limited or denied approval as a supervising physi-
cian for the following:

(a) There are restrictions upon or actions against the physician’s
license;

(b) Fraud or misrepresentation in applying to use the services of
a physician assistant.

(5) The Board may defer taking action upon a request for
approval as a supervising physician pending the outcome of the inves-

tigation of the physician for violations of ORS 677.010-990.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.510
Hist.: ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 5-
1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86;
ME 21-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-89; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 5-1994,
f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; ME 9-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-95; BME 13-2003, f. & cert.
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ef. 7-15-03; OMB 2-2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-11; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru
6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 11-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
3-2-12 thru 8-29-12; OMB 26-2012, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-12

847-050-0029
Locum Tenens Assignments

Locum tenens means a temporary absence by the physician assis-
tant or supervising physician which is filled by a substitute physician
assistant or supervising physician. The following is required for a
locum tenens assignment:

(1) Within ten days of the start of the locum tenens assignment,
the supervising physician of the practice which desires the substitute
must submit a notification of locum tenens assignment to the Board.

(2) The notification of locum tenens assignment must include the
name of the substitute physician assistant or supervising physician who
is filling the locum tenens assignment, duration of the locum tenens
assignment, a description of how supervision of the physician assis-
tant will be maintained, and any changes in the practice agreement or
Board-approved practice description for the practice during the locum
tenens assignment.

(3) The substitute physician assistant or supervising physician
who is filling the locum tenens assignment must be currently licensed
in Oregon, with active, locums tenens, or emeritus registration status,
and be in good standing with the Board.

(4) The physician assistant must be qualified to provide the same
type of service as described in the current practice agreement or Board-
approved practice description for the locum tenens.

(5) The supervising physician who is filling the locum tenens
assignment must be approved as a supervising physician by the Board
in accordance with OAR 847-050-0027 (Approval of Supervising
Physician).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265 & 677.510

Hist.: ME 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-21-86; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 7-1990,

f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; BME 6-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME 11-2005, f. & cert.

ef. 10-12-05; BME 14-2010, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-10; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert.

ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert.

ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru
6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0035
Grounds for Discipline

(1) The performance of unauthorized medical services by the
physician assistant constitutes a violation of the Medical Practice Act.
The supervising physician and/or agent is responsible for the acts of
the physician assistant and may be subject to disciplinary action for
such violations by the physician assistant. The physician assistant is
also subject to disciplinary action for violations. Proceedings under
these rules are conducted in the manner specified in ORS 677.200.

(2) In addition to any of the reasons cited in ORS 677.190, the
Board may refuse to grant, or may suspend or revoke a license to prac-
tice as a physician assistant for any of the following reasons:

(a) The physician assistant has held himself/herself out, or per-
mitted another to represent the physician assistant to be a licensed
physician.

(b) The physician assistant has in fact performed medical services
without the direction or under the supervision of a Board-approved
supervising physician or agent.

(c) The physician assistant has performed a task or tasks beyond
the physician assistant’s competence or outside the scope of practice
of the supervising physician or outside the practice agreement as stat-
ed in OAR 847-050-0040. This is not intended to limit the ability of
a physician assistant to learn new procedures under personal super-
vision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.190, 677.205 & 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190, 677.205, 677.265 & 677.505

Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,

f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, . & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.

8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-

1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 23-2007, f. & cert.

ef. 10-24-07; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend

temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB

32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert.
ef.2-10-12

847-050-0037
Supervision

(1) A physician may not use the services of a physician assistant
without first obtaining Board approval as a supervising physician.

(2) The supervising physician, agent, or in the case of a super-
vising physician organization, the primary supervising physician and
acting supervising physician, are personally responsible for the direc-
tion, supervision and regular review of the medical services provid-
ed by the physician assistant, in keeping with the practice agreement
or Board-approved practice description.

(3) The type of supervision and maintenance of supervision pro-
vided for each physician assistant must be described in the practice
agreement or Board-approved practice description. The supervising
physician must provide for maintenance of verbal communication with
the physician assistant at all times, whether the supervising physician
and physician assistant practice in the same practice location or a prac-
tice location separate from each other, as described in the following:

(a) The practice setting is listed in the practice agreement or
Board-approved practice description of the physician assistant.

(b) Practice locations, other than primary or secondary practice
locations, such as schools, sporting events, health fairs and long term
care facilities, are not required to be listed in the practice agreement
or Board-approved practice description if the duties are the same as
those listed in the practice agreement or Board-approved practice
description. The medical records for the patients seen at these addi-
tional practice locations must be held either at the supervising physi-
cian’s primary practice location or the additional practice locations.
The supervision of the physician assistant at locations other than the
primary or secondary practice location must be the same as for the pri-
mary or secondary practice location.

(c) The supervising physician or designated agent must provide
a minimum of eight (8) hours of on-site supervision every month, or
as approved by the Board.

(d) The supervising physician or designated agent must provide
chart review of a number or a percentage of the patients the physician
assistant has seen as stated in the practice agreement or Board-
approved practice description.

(4) The supervising physician may limit the degree of indepen-
dent judgment that the physician assistant uses but may not extend it
beyond the limits of the practice agreement or Board-approved prac-

tice description.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.510 & 677.515
Hist.: ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-1982; f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 8-
1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 1-1998, f. & cert.
ef. 1-30-98; BME 9-1999. f. & cert. ef. 4-22-99; BME 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-00;
BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 4-21-05; BME 20-
2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 12-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-14-09 thru 12-
14-09; BME 19-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-
29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0038
Agents

(1) The supervising physician who is not a member of a super-
vising physician organization may designate an agent or agents to
direct and supervise the physician assistant when the supervising
physician is unavailable for short periods of time. The agents must
meet the following requirements:

(a) Be licensed as a medical or osteopathic physician under ORS
677, actively registered and in good standing with the Board;

(b) Practice in the same city or practice area as the supervising
physician or physician assistant.

(c) Be qualified to supervise as designated in the practice agree-
ment, and be competent to perform the duties delegated to the physi-
cian assistant.

(2) The supervising physician is responsible for informing the
agent of the duties of an agent. Prior to such time as the physician
assistant is acting under the direction of an agent, the supervising
physician must determine that the agent understands and accepts
supervisory responsibility. The agent must sign an acknowledgement
of all practice agreements between the supervising physician and the
physician assistant(s) the agent will supervise, and a copy must be kept
at the primary practice location. Supervision by the agent will continue
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for a certain, predetermined, limited period of time, after which super-
visory duties revert to the supervising physician.
(3) In the absence of the supervising physician, the agent assumes

the same responsibilities as the supervising physician.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.495 & 677.510
Hist.: ME 8-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85; ME 5-1986, . & ef. 4-23-86; ME 2-1990, f. &
cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f.
& cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-
1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0040
Method of Performance

(1) The physician assistant may perform at the direction of the
supervising physician and/or agent only those medical services as
included in the practice agreement or Board-approved practice descrip-
tion.

(2) The physician assistant or student must be clearly identified
as such when performing duties. The physician assistant must at all
times when on duty wear a name tag with the designation of “physi-
cian assistant” or “PA” thereon and clearly identify himself or herself
as a “physician assistant” or “PA” in oral communications with
patients and other professionals.

(3) The supervising physician must furnish reports, as required
by the Board, on the performance of the physician assistant or student.

(4) The practice agreement must be submitted to the Board with-
in ten days after the physician assistant begins practice with the super-
vising physician or supervising physician organization.

(5) The supervising physician must notify the Board of any
changes to the practice agreement within ten days of the effective date
of the change.

(6) Supervising physicians must update the practice agreement
biennially during the supervising physician’s license renewal process.

(7) A supervising physician and physician assistant who have a
Board-approved practice description that was approved prior to Jan-
uary 1, 2012 and who wish to make changes to the practice descrip-
tion must enter into a practice agreement in accordance with ORS
677.510(6)(a).

(8) Failure to comply with any section of this rule is a violation
of ORS 677.510 and is grounds for a $195 fine. The licensee may be

subject to further disciplinary action by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.510
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-
1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 8-1985, . & ef. 8-5-85; ME 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86;
ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; [OMB 21-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-
11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 31-2012,
f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-050-0041
Prescribing and Dispensing Privileges

(1) An Oregon grandfathered physician assistant may issue writ-
ten, electronic or oral prescriptions for Schedule III-V medications,
which the supervising physician has determined the physician assis-
tant is qualified to prescribe commensurate with the practice agree-
ment or Board-approved practice description, if the physician assis-
tant has passed a specialty examination approved by the Board prior
to July 12, 1984, and the following conditions are met:

(a) The Oregon grandfathered physician assistant has passed the
Physician Assistant National Certifying Examination (PANCE); and

(b) The Oregon grandfathered physician assistant has docu-
mented adequate education or experience in pharmacology commen-
surate with the practice agreement or Board-approved practice descrip-
tion.

(2) A physician assistant may issue written, electronic or oral pre-
scriptions for Schedule III-V medications, which the supervising
physician has determined the physician assistant is qualified to pre-
scribe commensurate with the practice agreement or Board-approved
practice description, if the physician assistant has met the requirements
of OAR 847-050-0020(1).

(3) A physician assistant may issue written or electronic pre-
scriptions or emergency oral prescriptions followed by a written autho-

rization for Schedule II medications if the requirements in (1) or (2)
are fulfilled and if the following conditions are met:

(a) A statement regarding Schedule II controlled substances pre-
scription privileges is included in the practice agreement or Board-
approved practice description. The Schedule II controlled substances
prescription privileges of a physician assistant are limited by the prac-
tice agreement or Board-approved practice description and may be
restricted further by the supervising physician at any time.

(b) The physician assistant is currently certified by the Nation-
al Commission for the Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA)
and must complete all required continuing medical education course-
work.

(4) All prescriptions given whether written, electronic, or oral
must include the name, office address, and telephone number of the
supervising physician and the name of the physician assistant. The pre-
scription must also bear the name of the patient and the date on which
the prescription was written. The physician assistant must sign the pre-
scription and the signature must be followed by the letters “P.A.” Also
the physician assistant’s Federal Drug Enforcement Administration
number must be shown on prescriptions for controlled substances.

(5) A supervising physician or primary supervising physician of
a supervising physician organization may apply to the Board for a
physician assistant to dispense drugs specified by the supervising
physician or supervising physician organization.

(a) The physician assistant must have prescribing privileges and
be in good standing with the Board and the NCCPA to qualify for dis-
pensing authority. The physician assistant may dispense Schedule II
medications only if the physician assistant has been delegated Sched-
ule II prescription privileges by the supervising physician.

(b) If the facility where the physician assistant will dispense med-
ications serves population groups federally designated as underserved,
geographic areas federally designated as health professional shortage
areas or medically underserved areas, or areas designated as medically
disadvantaged and in need of primary health care providers as desig-
nated by the State, the application must include:

(A) Location of the practice site;

(B) Accessibility to the nearest pharmacy; and

(C) Medical necessity for dispensing.

(c) If the facility where the physician assistant will be dispens-
ing medications is not in one of the designated areas or populations
described in subsection (5)(b) of this rule:

(A) The physician assistant may not dispense Schedule I through
IV controlled substances.

(B) The physician assistant must complete a drug dispensing
training program jointly developed by the Oregon Medical Board and
the State Board of Pharmacy; and

(C) The supervising physician or primary supervising physician
of a supervising physician organization must submit to the Board:

(i) A plan for drug delivery and control;

(ii) An annual report on the physician assistant’s use of dispens-
ing authority;

(iii) A list of the drugs or classes of drugs the physician assistant
will dispense; and

(iv) A list of all facilities where the physician assistant will dis-
pense and documentation that each of these facilities has been regis-
tered with the State Board of Pharmacy as a supervising physician dis-
pensing outlet.

(6) A physician assistant with dispensing authority must:

(a) Dispense medications personally;

(b) Dispense only medications that are pre-packaged by a
licensed pharmacist, manufacturing drug outlet or wholesale drug out-
let authorized to do so under ORS 689, and the physician assistant
must maintain records of receipt and dispensing; and

(c) Register with the Drug Enforcement Administration and
maintain a controlled substances log as required in OAR 847-015-
0015.

(7) Distribution of samples, without charge, is not dispensing
under this rule. Administering drugs in the facility is not dispensing
under this rule.

(8) A supervising physician or primary supervising physician of
a supervising physician organization for a physician assistant who is
applying for dispensing authority must be registered with the Oregon
Medical Board as a dispensing physician.
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(9) Failure to comply with any subsection of this rule is a viola-
tion of the ORS Chapter 677 and is grounds for a $195 fine. The

licensee may be subject to further disciplinary action by the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190, 677.205, 677.470, 677.515 & 677.545

Hist.: ME 1-1979, f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-
1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp),
f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 6-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; ME
10-1984, f. & ef. 7-20-84; ME 5-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 16-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-
87, ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 5-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-00; BME 4-2002, f. &
cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 4-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 13-2003, f. & cert. ef.
7-15-03; BME 8-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 3-2005, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-05;
BME 6-20006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11
thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-
11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12;
OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 16-2012(Temp), f. 5-8-12, cert. ef. 6-1-
12 thru 11-28-12; OMB 34-2012(Temp), f. 11-8-12, cert. e. 11-28-12 thru 5-27-13

847-050-0042
Registration

(1) The registration renewal form and fee must be received in the
Board office during regular business hours and must be satisfactori-
ly complete on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year in
order for the physician assistant’s registration to be renewed for the
next 24 months. This application must also include submission of an
updated practice agreement or validation of an existing practice agree-
ment or Board-approved practice description.

(2) Upon failure to comply with section (1) of this rule, the

license will automatically lapse as per ORS 677.228.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.512
Hist.: ME 1-1979,f. & ef. 1-2-79; ME 5-1979,f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp),
f. 8-5-80, ef. 8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-
20-81; ME 2-1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 7-1984, f. & ef. 1-26-84; ME 2-1990, f.
& cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 7-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 7-1991, . & cert. ef. 7-
24-91; ME 5-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 6-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03; BME
25-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru
4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru
4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-
2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0043
Inactive Registration, Initial Licensure, and Re-Entry to
Practice

(1) Any physician assistant licensed in this state who changes
location to some other state or country, or who is not in a current super-
visory relationship with a licensed physician for six months or more,
will be listed by the Board as inactive.

(2) If the physician assistant wishes to resume active status to
practice in Oregon, the physician assistant must submit the Affidavit
of Reactivation and processing fee, satisfactorily complete the reac-
tivation process and be approved by the Board before beginning active
practice in Oregon.

(3) The Board may deny active registration if it judges the con-
duct of the physician assistant during the period of inactive registra-
tion to be such that the physician assistant would have been denied a
license if applying for an initial license.

(4) If a physician assistant applicant has ceased practice for a
period of 12 or more consecutive months immediately preceding the
application for licensure or reactivation, the applicant may be required
to do one or more of the following:

(a) Obtain certification or re-certification by the National Com-
mission on the Certification of Physician Assistants (N.C.C.P.A.);

(b) Provide documentation of current N.C.C.P.A. certification;

(c) Complete 30 hours of Category I continuing medical educa-
tion acceptable to the Board for every year the applicant has ceased
practice;

(d) Agree to increased chart reviews upon re-entry to practice.

(5) The physician assistant applicant who has ceased practice for
a period of 24 or more consecutive months may be required to com-
plete a re-entry plan to the satisfaction of the Board. The Board must
review and approve a re-entry plan prior to the applicant beginning the
re-entry plan. Depending on the amount of time out of practice, the re-
entry plan may contain one or more of the requirements listed in sec-
tion (4) of this rule and such additional requirements as determined by

the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.512

Hist.: ME 12-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 10-1992,
f. & cert. ef. 7-17-92; ME 5-1996, f. & cert. ef. 7-26-96; BME 11-1998, f. & cert.
ef.7-22-98; BME 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 2-7-00; BME 25-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-
08; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary
by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 29-2011, .
& cert. ef. 10-27-11; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-
12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0046
Active Status for Temporary, Rotating Assignments

(1) A physician assistant, upon notification to the Board, may
retire from active, permanent practice and change to Emeritus status
which allows the physician assistant to practice temporary, volunteer
assignments. A physician assistant with Emeritus status who wishes
to volunteer at a medical facility must have a practice agreement or
Board-approved practice description prior to starting practice at each
assignment.

(2) A physician assistant, upon notification to the Board, may
retire from active, permanent practice and maintain Active status by
practicing at medical facilities for assignments on a rotating basis. A
physician assistant who wishes to maintain active status and practice
in rotating assignments at permanent locations must have a practice
agreement or Board-approved practice description and must provide
the Board with timely notification of the dates of each assignment prior

to beginning each rotating assignment.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.545
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.510 & 677.515
Hist.: BME 9-2010, . & cert. ef. 4-26-10; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-
13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-
26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), . 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-
12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0050
Termination of Supervision

Upon termination of a supervisory relationship both the super-
vising physician and the physician assistant must submit to the Board
a written report concerning the reason(s) for termination of the rela-
tionship. Such report must be submitted to the Board within 15 days

following termination of supervision.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.510
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979. f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, . & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-
1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; [OMB 21-2011(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-
1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0055
Professional Corporation or Partnership

Whenever the supervising physician is a member of a profes-
sional corporation or employee of a professional corporation or part-
nership, the primary supervising physician and any acting supervis-
ing physician are in all cases personally responsible for the direction
and supervision of the physician assistant’s work. Such responsibili-
ty for supervision cannot be transferred to the corporation or partner-
ship even though such corporation or partnership may pay the super-
vising physician and the physician assistant’s salaries or enter into an
employment agreement with such physician assistant or supervising
physician.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677

Stats. Implemented: ORS 58.185

Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,

f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.

8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-

1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; [OMB 21-2011(Temp),

f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp),

f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-

1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0060
Physician Assistant Student

(1) Where applicable, any person who is enrolled as a student in
any school offering an accredited physician assistant education pro-
gram must comply with OAR 847-050-0005 to 847-050-0065.

(2) Notwithstanding any other provisions of these rules, a physi-
cian assistant student may perform medical services when such ser-
vices are rendered within the scope of an accredited physician assis-

tant education program.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.515

Hist.: ME 23(Temp), . & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,
f. & ef. 1-2-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef. 8-
6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-
1982; f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; [OMB 21-2011(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-
1-12 thru 6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12

847-050-0063
Physician Assistant Committee

(1) There is created a Physician Assistant Committee consisting
of five members. Members of the committee are appointed as follows:

(a) The Oregon Medical Board for the State of Oregon must
appoint one of its members and one physician. The physician who is
not a member of the Board must supervise a physician assistant.

(b) The Oregon Medical Board must appoint three physician
assistants after considering persons nominated by the Oregon Society
of Physician Assistants.

(2) The term of each member of the committee is three years. A
member must serve until a successor is appointed. If a vacancy occurs,
it must be filled for the unexpired term by a person with the same qual-
ifications as the retiring member.

(3) If any vacancy under section (1) of this rule is not filled with-
in 45 days, the Governor must make the necessary appointment from
the category which is vacant.

(4) The committee elects its own chairperson with such powers
and duties as fixed by the committee.

(5) A quorum of the committee is three members. The commit-
tee must hold a meeting at least once quarterly and at such other times
the committee considers advisable to review requests to use the ser-
vices of physician assistants and for dispensing privileges and to
review applications for licensure or renewal.

(6) The chairperson may call a special meeting of the Physician
Assistant Committee upon at least 10 days’ notice in writing to each
member, to be held at any place designated by the chairperson.

(7) The committee members are entitled to compensation and

expenses as provided for Board members in ORS 677.235.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.235, 677.540
Hist.: BME 15-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-99; BME 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-01;
BME 25-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-13-
11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-
26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), . 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-29-
12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 32-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-050-0065
Duties of the Committee

(1) The Physician Assistant Committee must:

(a) Review physician assistants’ applications for licensure and
renewal of licensure.

(b) Recommend approval or disapproval of physician assistants’
applications for licensure and renewal of licensure.

(c) Review requests to use the services of physician assistants.

(d) Review the criteria for prescriptive privileges for physician
assistants.

(e) Review any other matters related to physician assistant prac-
tice in Oregon.

(2) All actions of the physician assistant committee are subject

to review and approval by the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.540
Hist.: ME 23(Temp), f. & ef. 10-12-71; ME 25, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-1-72; ME 1-1979,
f. & ef. 1-29-79; ME 5-1979, f. & ef. 11-30-79; ME 4-1980(Temp), f. 8-5-80, ef.
8-6-80; ME 7-1980, f. & ef. 11-3-80; ME 4-1981(Temp), f. & ef. 10-20-81; ME 2-
1982, f. & ef. 1-28-82; ME 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 15-1999, f. & cert.
ef. 10-28-99; BME 6-2006, f. & cert. ef. 2-8-06; [OMB 21-2011(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-13-11 thru 4-10-12; Suspend temporary by OBDD 28-2011(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-26-11 thru 4-10-12]; OMB 32-2011(Temp), f. 12-15-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru
6-29-12; OMB 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-12; OMB 16-2012(Temp), f. 5-8-12, cert.
ef. 6-1-12 thru 11-28-12; OMB 34-2012(Temp), f. 11-8-12, cert. e. 11-28-12 thru
5-27-13

DIVISION 65
HEALTH PROFESSIONALS SERVICES PROGRAM

847-065-0005
Licensees with Mental Illness Treated in Hospital Exceeding 25
Consecutive Days

A licensee’s participation in the Health Professionals’ Services
Program (HPSP), to include inpatient evaluations or treatment in a
treatment facility that exceeds 25 consecutive days, does not require
an automatic suspension of a licensee, if the licensee is in compliance
with their HPSP agreement and does not practice medicine during a
period of impairment. If the HPSP makes a determination that the
licensee has a mental illness that affects the ability of the licensee to
safely practice medicine, the HPSP will ask the licensee to immedi-
ately withdraw from practice. If the licensee declines, the HPSP will
immediately report to the Board that the licensee has a mental illness
that affects the ability of the licensee to safely practice, and with this
report provide a copy of the evaluation upon which this determination

is based.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.225, 677.645
Hist.: BME 20-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-09; OMB 3-2011, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-11

847-065-0010
Purpose, Intent and Scope

The Oregon Medical Board recognizes that substance use dis-
orders and/or mental disorders are potentially progressive, chronic dis-
eases. The Board believes that physicians, podiatric physicians, physi-
cian assistants and acupuncturists who develop these diseases can,
with appropriate treatment, be assisted with recovery and return to the
practice of medicine and acupuncture. It is the intent of the Board that
a licensee with a substance use disorder and/or mental disorder may
have the opportunity to enter the Health Professionals’ Services Pro-
gram (HPSP). Participation in the HPSP does not shield a licensee

from possible disciplinary action.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, . & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0015
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 847, division
065, except as otherwise stated in the definition:

(1) “Assessment or evaluation” means the process an indepen-
dent third-party evaluator uses to diagnose the licensee and to rec-
ommend treatment options for the licensee.

(2) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board.

(3) “Business day” means Monday through Friday, except legal
holidays as defined in ORS 187.010 (or ORS 187.020).

(4) “Contractor” means the entity that has contracted with the
Division to conduct the HPSP.

(5) “Diagnosis” means the principal mental health or substance
use diagnosis listed in the current Diagnostic Statistical Manual
(DSM). The diagnosis is determined through the assessment and any
examinations, tests or consultations suggested by the assessment.

(6) “Division” means the Department of Human Services, Addic-
tions and Mental Health Division.

(7) “DSM” means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Men-
tal Disorders, published by the American Psychiatric Association.

(8) “Federal regulations” means:

(a) As used in ORS 676.190(1)(f)(D), a “positive toxicology test
result as determined by federal regulations pertaining to drug testing”
means a test result that meets or exceeds the cutoff concentrations
shown in 49 CFR § 40.87 (2009)

(b) As used in ORS 676.190(4)(i), requiring a “licensee to sub-
mit to random drug or alcohol testing in accordance with federal reg-
ulations” means licensees are selected for random testing by a scien-
tifically valid method, such as a random number table or a
computer-based random number generator that is matched with
licensees’ unique identification numbers or other comparable identi-
fying numbers. Under the selection process used, each covered
licensee must have an equal chance of being tested each time selec-
tions are made, as described in 40 CFR § 199.105(c)(5) (2009). Ran-
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dom drug tests must be unannounced and the dates for administering
random tests must be spread reasonably throughout the calendar year,
as described in 40 CFR § 199.105(c)(7) (2009).

(9) “Fitness to practice evaluation” means the process a qualified,
independent third-party evaluator uses to determine if the licensee can
safely perform the essential functions of the licensee’s health practice.

(10) “Final enrollment” means a self-referred licensee has pro-
vided all documentation required by OAR 847-065-0035 and has met
all eligibility requirements to participate in the HPSP.

(11) “Independent third-party evaluator” means an individual or
center who is approved by the Board to evaluate, diagnose, and offer
treatment options for substance use disorders and/or mental disorders.

(12) “Licensee” means a licensed physician, podiatric physician,
physician assistant or acupuncturist who is licensed or certified by the
Board.

(13) “Mental disorder” means a clinically significant syndrome
identified in the current DSM that is associated with disability or with
significantly increased risk of disability.

(14) “Monitoring agreement” means an individualized agreement
between a licensee and the contractor that meets the requirements for
a diversion agreement set by ORS 676.190.

(15) “Positive toxicology test result” means a test result that
meets or exceeds the cutoff concentrations shown in 49 CFR 40.87
(2009), a test result that shows other drugs or alcohol, or a test result
that fails to show the appropriate presence of a currently prescribed
drug that is part of a treatment program related to a condition being
monitored by HPSP.

(16) “Provisional enrollment” means temporary enrollment,
pending verification that a licensee meets all program eligibility cri-
teria.

(17) “Self-referred licensee” means a licensee who seeks to par-
ticipate in the program without a referral from the Board.

(18) “Substance abuse” means a disorder related to the taking of
a drug of abuse (including alcohol); to the side effects of a medication;
and to a toxin exposure, including: substance use disorders (substance
dependence and substance abuse) and substance-induced disorders
(including but not limited to substance intoxication, withdrawal, delir-
ium, and dementia, as well as substance induced psychotic disorders
and mood disorders), as defined in DSM criteria.

(19) “Substantial non-compliance” means that a licensee is in
violation of the terms of his or her monitoring agreement in a way that
gives rise to concerns about the licensee’s ability or willingness to par-
ticipate in the HPSP. Substantial non-compliance and non-compliance
include, but are not limited to, the factors listed in ORS 676.190(1)(f).
Conduct that occurred before a licensee entered into a monitoring
agreement does not violate the terms of that monitoring agreement.

(20) “Successful completion” means that for the period of time
deemed necessary by the contractor or the Board, the licensee has
complied with the licensee’s monitoring agreement to the satisfaction
of the contractor and/or the Board as appropriate.

(21) “Toxicology testing” means urine testing or alternative
chemical monitoring including blood, saliva, breath or hair as con-
ducted by a laboratory certified, accredited or licensed and approved
for toxicology testing.

(22) “Treatment” means the planned, specific, individualized
health and behavioral-health procedures, activities, services and sup-
ports that a treatment provider uses to remediate symptoms of a sub-

stance use disorder and/or mental disorder.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0020

Participation in Health Professionals Services Program
Effective July 1, 2010, the Board must participate in the Health

Professionals’ Services Program and may refer eligible licensees to the

contractor in lieu of or in addition to discipline. Only licensees who

meet the eligibility criteria may be referred by the Board to the con-

tractor.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0025
Eligibility for Participation in Health Professionals Services
Program

(1) Licensee must be evaluated by an independent third-party
evaluator

(2) The evaluation must include a diagnosis of a substance use
disorder and/or mental disorder with the appropriate diagnostic code
from the DSM, and treatment options.

(3) Licensee must provide a written statement agreeing to enter
the HPSP and agreeing to abide by all rules established by the Board.

(4) Licensee must enter into the “HPSP Monitoring Agreement.”

(5) The Board will perform a safe practice investigation for
Board-referred licensees. The contractor will perform a safe practice

investigation for self-referred licensees.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0030
Procedure for Board Referrals

(1) When the Board receives information involving a licensee
who may have substance abuse and/or a mental disorder, the Board
staff will investigate and complete a report to be presented at a Board
meeting.

(2) If licensee meets eligibility criteria and the Board approves
entry into the HPSP, the Board will provide a written referral. The
referral must include:

(a) A copy of the report from the independent third-party evalu-
ator who diagnosed the licensee;

(b) The treatment options developed by the independent third-
party evaluator;

(c) A statement that the Board has investigated the licensee’s pro-
fessional practice and conduct;

(d) A description of any restrictions or requirements imposed by
the Board or recommended by the Board on the licensee’s professional
practice;

(e) A written statement from the licensee agreeing to enter the
HPSP and agreeing to abide by all terms and conditions established
by the contractor; and

(f) A statement that the licensee has agreed to report any arrest
for or conviction of a misdemeanor or felony crime to the Board with-

in three business days after the licensee is arrested or convicted.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0035
Procedure for Self- Referred Licensees

Self-referred licensees may participate in the HPSP as permitted
by ORS 676.190(5).

(1) Provisional Enrollment: To be provisionally enrolled in the
program, a self-referred licensee must:

(a) Sign a written consent allowing disclosure and exchange of
information among the contractor, the licensee’s employer, indepen-
dent third-party evaluators and treatment providers;

(b) Sign a written consent allowing disclosure and exchange of
information among the contractor, the Board, the licensee’s employ-
er, independent third-party evaluators and treatment providers in the
event the contractor determines the licensee to be in substantial non-
compliance with his or her monitoring agreement as defined in OAR
847-065-0065;

(c) Attest that the licensee is not, to the best of the licensee’s
knowledge, under investigation by his or her Board; and

(d) Agree to and sign a monitoring agreement.

(2) Final Enrollment: To move from provisional enrollment to
final enrollment in the program, a self-referred licensee must:

(a) Obtain at the licensee’s own expense and provide to the con-
tractor, an independent third-party evaluator’s written evaluation con-
taining a DSM diagnosis and diagnostic code and treatment recom-
mendations;
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(b) Agree to cooperate with the contractor’s investigation to
determine whether the licensee’s practice while impaired presents or
has presented a danger to the public; and

(c) Enter into an amended monitoring agreement, if required by
the contractor.

(3) Once a self-referred licensee seeks enrollment in the HPSP,
failure to complete final enrollment may constitute substantial non-

compliance and may be reported to the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0040
Disqualification Criteria

Licensees, either Board-referred or self-referred, may be dis-
qualified from entering the HPSP for factors including, but not limit-
ed to:

(1) Licensee’s disciplinary history;

(2) Severity and duration of the licensee’s impairment;

(3) Extent to which licensee’s practice can be limited or managed
to eliminate danger to the public;

(4) If licensee’s impairment cannot be managed with treatment
and monitoring;

(5) Evidence of criminal history that involves injury or endan-
germent to others;

(6) Evidence of sexual misconduct;

(7) Evidence of non-compliance with a monitoring program from
another state;

(8) Pending investigations with the Board or boards from other
states;

(9) Previous Board investigations with findings of substantiated
abuse or dependence; and

(10) Prior enrollment in, but failure to successfully complete, the

Oregon Medical Board Health Professionals Program or HPSP.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010,
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp),
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

R

f.
f.

847-065-0045
Approval of Independent Third-Party Evaluators

(1) To be approved by the Board as an independent third-party
evaluator, an evaluator must be:

(a) Licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the evalu-
ator works;

(b) Able to provide a comprehensive assessment of and written
report describing a licensee’s diagnosis, degree of impairment, and
treatment options; and

(c) Able to facilitate a urinalysis of the licensee at intake.

(2) The Board reserves the right to not approve an independent
third-party evaluator for any reason.

(3) The Board or contractor will not accept an evaluator as inde-
pendent in a particular case if, in the Board’s or contractor’s judgment,
the evaluator’s judgment is likely to be influenced by a personal or pro-

fessional relationship with a licensee.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0050
Approval of Treatment Providers

(1) To be approved by the Board as a treatment provider, a
provider must be:

(a) Licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the provider
works;

(b) Able to provide appropriate treatment considering licensee’s
diagnosis, degree of impairment, and treatment options proposed by
the independent third-party evaluator; and

(c) Able to facilitate a urinalysis of the licensee at intake.

(2) A treatment provider may not have a personal or profession-
al relationship with a licensee.

(3) The Board will maintain a list of treatment providers avail-

able to licensees upon request.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0055
Licensee Responsibilities

All licensees must:

(1) Agree to report any arrest for or conviction of a misdemeanor
or felony crime to the contractor within three business days after the
licensee is arrested or convicted of the crime; and

(2) Comply continuously with his or her monitoring agreement,
including any restrictions on his or her practice, for at least two years
or longer, as specified in the monitoring agreement.

(3) Abstain from mind-altering or intoxicating substances or
potentially addictive drugs, unless the drug is approved by the con-
tractor and prescribed for a documented medical condition by a per-
son authorized by law to prescribe the drug to the licensee;

(4) Report use of mind-altering or intoxicating substances or
potentially addictive drugs within 24 hours to contractor;

(5) Participate in a treatment plan approved by a third-party eval-
uator or treatment provider;

(6) Limit practice as required by the contractor or the Board;

(7) Cooperate with supervised monitoring of practice;

(8) Participate in a follow-up evaluation, when necessary, of
licensee’s fitness to practice;

(9) Submit to random drug or alcohol testing;

(10) Report at least weekly to the contractor regarding the
licensee’s compliance with the monitoring agreement;

(11) Report applications for licensure in other states, changes in
employment and changes in practice setting to the contractor;

(12) Agree to be responsible for the cost of evaluations, toxicol-
ogy testing, treatment and monitoring;

(13) Report to the contractor any investigations or disciplinary
action by any state, or state or federal agency, including Oregon;

(14) Participate in required meetings according to the treatment
plan; and

(15) Maintain current license status and/or report any changes in

license status.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f.
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f.
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

R &

847-065-0060
Completion Requirements

(1) The time spent participating in a monitored program before
transferring from the Health Professionals Program to the Health Pro-
fessionals’ Services Program effective July 1, 2010, will be counted
toward the required term of monitored practice.

(2) The licensee will remain enrolled in the program for a min-

imum of two consecutive years.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0065
Substantial Non-Compliance Criteria

(1) The contractor will report substantial non-compliance with a
diversion agreement to the Board within one business day after the
contractor learns of the substantial non-compliance, including but not
limited to information that a licensee:

(a) Engaged in criminal behavior;

(b) Engaged in conduct that caused injury, death or harm to the
public, including engaging in sexual impropriety with a patient;

(c) Was impaired in a health care setting in the course of the
licensee’s employment;

(d) Received a positive toxicology test result;

(e) Violated a restriction on the license’s practice imposed by the
contractor or the Board;
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(f) Was admitted to the hospital for mental illness or adjudged to
be mentally incompetent;

(g) Entered into a diversion agreement, but failed to participate
in the HPSP;

(h) Was referred to the HPSP, but failed to enroll in the HPSP;

(i) Forged, tampered, or modified a prescription;

(j) Violated any rules of prescriptive authority;

(k) Violated any provisions of OAR 847-065-0055;

(1) Violated any terms of the diversion agreement; or

(m) Failed to complete the monitored practice requirements as
stated in OAR 847-065-0060.

(2) The Board, upon being notified of a licensee’s substantial
non-compliance, will investigate and determine the appropriate sanc-
tion.

(3) In order to investigate a report of substantial non-compliance,
the Board may request the contractor to provide the licensee’s com-
plete record, and the contractor must send these records to the Board

as long as a valid release of information is in place.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: BME 15-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-3-10 thru 1-18-11; BME 20-2010, f. &
cert. ef. 10-25-10; OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 7-31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

847-065-0070
Licensees with Primary Residence or Work Site Outside of
Oregon

If a licensee’s primary residence or work site is located outside
the State of Oregon, the licensee must enroll in the HPSP, in accor-
dance with OAR 847-065-0025 and 847-065-0030 for Board-referred
or 847-065-0035 for self-referred licensees, and may choose to be
monitored by the out-of-state’s health professional program if the fol-
lowing conditions are met:

(1) The other state’s health professional program is substantial-
ly similar with the relevant Oregon statutes. It is the duty of the con-
tractor to verify this information and notify the Board of any dis-
crepancies;

(2) The other state’s health professional program sends quarter-
ly reports on the licensee to the contractor; and

(3) The other state’s health professional program will promptly
report any substantial non-compliance with the licensee’s diversion

agreement to the contractor.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.185-676.200 & 677.265
Hist.: OMB 9-2011, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-11; OMB 17-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-
31-12 thru 1-15-13; OMB 33-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-12

DIVISION 70
ACUPUNCTURE

847-070-0005
Definitions

As used in the rules regulating the practice of acupuncture:

(1) “Acupuncture” means an Oriental health care practice used
to promote health and to treat neurological, organic or functional dis-
orders by the stimulation of specific points on the surface of the body
by the insertion of needles. “Acupuncture” includes the treatment
method of moxibustion, as well as the use of electrical, thermal,
mechanical or magnetic devices, with or without needles, to stimulate
acupuncture points and acupuncture meridians and to induce
acupuncture anesthesia or analgesia.

(a) The practice of acupuncture also includes the following
modalities as authorized by the Oregon Medical Board for the State
of Oregon:

(A) Traditional and modern Oriental Medical and acupuncture
techniques of diagnosis and evaluation;

(B) Oriental massage, exercise and related therapeutic methods;
and

(C) The use of Oriental pharmacopoeia, vitamins, minerals and
dietary advice.

(2) “Licensed Acupuncturist” means an individual authorized by
the Board to practice acupuncture pursuant to ORS Chapter 677.

(3) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board for the State of
Oregon.

(4) “Committee” means the Acupuncture Advisory Committee.

(5) “Physician” means an individual licensed to practice
medicine pursuant to ORS Chapter 677.

(6) “Clinical training” means supervised clinical training which
consists of diagnosis and actual patient treatment which includes inser-

tion of acupuncture needles.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 677.759
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.759, 677.780
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 2-1981, f.
& ef. 2-3-81; ME 9-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 6-
1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-3-95; BME 21-2008, f. &
cert. ef. 7-21-08

847-070-0007
Practice of Acupuncture by Physicians
(1) No person shall practice acupuncture without first obtaining
a license to practice medicine and surgery or a license to practice
acupuncture from the Oregon Medical Board for the State of Oregon.
(2) A physician who desires to be approved as a clinical super-

visor must meet the requirements of OAR 847-070-0015.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.757 - 677.770
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.759
Hist.: ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-3-95

847-070-0015
Application

(1) Every applicant must satisfactorily complete an application,
on forms provided by the Board, and document evidence of qualifi-
cations listed in OAR 847-070-0016 to the satisfaction of the Board.
Such application and documentation must be complete before an appli-
cant may be considered eligible for licensure.

(2) False documentation is grounds for denial of licensure or dis-
ciplinary action by the Board.

(3) An applicant applying for licensure under these rules who has
not completed the licensure process within a 12 month consecutive
period shall file a new application, documents, letters and pay a full
filing fee as if filing for the first time.

(4) No applicant shall be entitled to licensure who:

(a) Has had his/her license or certificate revoked or suspended in
this or any other state unless the said license or certificate has been
restored or reinstated and the applicant’s license or certificate is in
good standing in the state which had revoked the same;

(b) Has been refused a license or certificate in any other state on
any grounds other than failure in an acupuncture licensure examina-
tion; or

(c) Has been guilty of conduct similar to that which would be pro-

hibited by or to which ORS 677.190 would apply.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.759(3) & (5)
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 2-1980, f.
& ef. 1-30-80; ME 2-1981, f. & ef. 2-3-81; ME 9-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; ME 6-
1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-21-85; ME 10-1985, f. & ef. 8-5-85;
ME 13-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86; ME 6-1987, f. & ef. 1-23-87; ME 19-1987(Temp),
f. & ef. 8-7-87; ME 24-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87; ME 8-1988, f. 6-10-88, cert. ef. 6-
6-88; ME 22-1989, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-89; ME 3-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-19-
91; ME 8-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 1-21-92; ME 6-1993,
f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 7-1993(Temp), f. 4-22-93, cert. ef. 4-23-93; ME 11-1993,
f. & cert. ef. 7-27-93; ME 6-1994, . & cert. ef. 1-24-94; ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef.
5-3-95; ME 11-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-95; ME 5-1997, . & cert. ef. 11-3-97; BME
5-1998. f. & cert. ef. 4-22-98

847-070-0016
Qualifications

An applicant for licensure as an acupuncturist in the State of Ore-
gon must have the following qualifications:

(1) Have graduated from an acupuncture program that satisfies
the standards of the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and
Oriental Medicine (A.C.A.O.M.), or its successor organization, or an
equivalent accreditation body that are in effect at the time of the appli-
cant’s graduation. An acupuncture program may be established as hav-
ing satisfied those standards by demonstration of one of the follow-
ing:

(a) Accreditation, or candidacy for accreditation by ACAOM at
the time of graduation from the acupuncture program; or

(b) Approval by a foreign government’s Ministry of Education,
or Ministry of Health, or equivalent foreign government agency at the
time of graduation from the acupuncture program. Each applicant must
submit their documents to a foreign credential equivalency service,
which is approved by the National Certification Commission for
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Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) for the purpose of
establishing equivalency to the ACAOM accreditation standard.
Acupuncture programs that wish to be considered equivalent to an
ACAOM accredited program must also meet the curricular require-
ments of ACAOM in effect at the time of graduation.

(2) Current certification in acupuncture by the National Certifi-
cation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine
(N.C.C.A.OM.). An applicant shall be deemed certified by the
N.C.C.A.OM. in Acupuncture if the applicant has passed the
N.C.C.A.OM. Acupuncture Certification Examinations, or has been
certified through the N.C.C.A.O.M. Credentials Documentation
Examination. The applicant has no more than four attempts to pass the
NCCAOM Acupuncture Certification Examinations. If the applicant
does not pass the NCCAOM Certification Examinations within four
attempts, the applicant is not eligible for licensure.

(3) An applicant who does not meet the criteria in OAR 847-070-
0016(1) and (2) must have the following qualifications:

(a) Five years of licensed clinical acupuncture practice in the
United States. This practice must include a minimum of 500 acupunc-
ture patient visits per year. Documentation shall include:

(A) Two affidavits from office partners, clinic supervisors,
accountants, or others approved by the Board, who have personal
knowledge of the years of practice and number of patient visits per
year; and

(B) Notarized copies of samples of appointment books, patient
charts and financial records, or other documentation as required by the
Board; and

(b) An applicant must have practiced as a licensed acupunctur-
ist in the U.S. during five of the last seven years prior to application
for Oregon licensure. Licensed practice includes clinical practice, clin-
ical supervision, teaching, research, and other work as approved by the
Board within the field of acupuncture and oriental medicine. Docu-
mentation of this practice will be required and is subject to Board
approval; and

(c) Successful completion of the A.C.A.O.M. western medicine
requirements in effect at the time of graduation from the acupuncture
program, unless the applicant graduated from a non-accredited
acupuncture program prior to 1989; and

(d) Current certification in acupuncture by the N.C.C.A.O.M. An
applicant shall be deemed certified in Acupuncture by the
N.C.C. A.OM. if the applicant has passed the N.C.C.A.O.M.
Acupuncture Certification Examinations, or has been certified
through the N.C.C.A.O .M. Credentials Documentation Examination.
The applicant has no more than four attempts to pass the NCCAOM
Acupuncture Certification Examinations. If the applicant does not pass
the NCCAOM Certification Examinations within four attempts, the
applicant is not eligible for licensure.

(4) An individual whose acupuncture training and diploma were
obtained in a foreign country and who cannot document the require-
ments of subsections (1) through (3) of this rule because the required
documentation is now unobtainable, may be considered eligible for
licensure if it is established to the satisfaction of the Board that the
applicant has equivalent skills and training and can document one year
of training or supervised practice under a licensed acupuncturist in the
United States; and

(5) In addition to meeting the requirements in (1) and (2), or (3),
or (4) of this rule, all applicants for licensure must have the follow-
ing qualifications:

(a) Licensure in good standing from the state or states of all prior
and current health related licensure; and

(b) Have good moral character as those traits would relate to the
applicant’s ability of properly engaging in the practice of acupuncture;
and

(c) Have the ability to communicate in the English language well
enough to be understood by patients and physicians. This requirement
is met if the applicant passes the N.C.C.A.O.M. written acupuncture
examination in English, or if in a foreign language, must also have
passed an English language proficiency examination, such as TOEFL
(Test of English as a Foreign Language), or TSE (Test of Spoken
English). An applicant must obtain a TOEFL score of 500 or more for
the written TOEFL exam and 173 or more for the computer based
TOEFL exam, or a TSE score of 200 or more prior to July 1995, and
a score of 50 or more after July 1995. An applicant who is certified

through the N.C.C.A.O.M. Credentials Documentation Examination

must also have passed an English proficiency examination.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265, 677.759
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.759, 677.780
Hist.: ME 5-1997, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-97; BME 5-1998, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-98; BME
15-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-98; BME 15-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-98; BME 16-
1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-99; BME 13-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 6-2002,
f. & cert. ef. 4-23-02; BME 12-2005, f. & cert. ef. 10-12-05; BME 21-2006, f. &
cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 10-2007, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-07; BME 7-2008(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 4-24-08 thru 10-6-08; BME 21-2008, f. & cert. ef. 7-21-08; BME 14-2009,
f. & cert. ef. 7-20-09

847-070-0017
Clinical Training

(1) A clinical supervisor must meet the following requirements:

(a) Be an actively licensed Oregon acupuncturist who has prac-
ticed as an acupuncturist for a period of at least five years, and is in
good standing with the Board; or

(b) Be an actively licensed Oregon physician who is in good
standing with the Board, who has been practicing acupuncture for a
period of at least five years, and has passed the examination for
acupuncture; or

(¢) Be an acupuncturist or physician licensed, registered, or cer-
tified by another jurisdiction, who is in good standing with such juris-
diction, who has been practicing acupuncture for a period of a least
five years and has passed a qualifying examination for acupuncture,
or been certified in acupuncture by the National Certification Com-
mission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (N.C.C.A.0.M.)
through its Credentials Documentation Examination. If a portion of
those five or more years was prior to licensing, registration, or certi-
fication, then prior practice must be documented to the Board’s sat-
isfaction. The N.C.C.A.O.M. Certification Standards for Documen-
tation will be used. All clinical supervisors under this section are
subject to Board approval.

(2) Board approved clinical supervisors, acupuncturists or physi-
cians shall supervise no more than two acupuncture trainees in an
informal private clinical setting.

(3) Where applicable, an individual shall comply with OAR 847-
070-0005 to 847-070-0055 if they are:

(a) Enrolled in a school approved to offer credit for post-sec-
ondary clinical education in Oregon; or

(b) A practitioner licensed to practice acupuncture in another state
or foreign country who is enrolled in clinical training approved by the
Oregon Medical Board.

(4) Where applicable, an individual may perform acupuncture in
a training situation only when such services are rendered by an
acupuncture student:

(a) Who is enrolled in a school approved to offer credit for post-
secondary clinical education in Oregon; or

(b) Who is a practitioner licensed to practice acupuncture in
another state or foreign country who is enrolled in clinical training
approved by the Oregon Medical Board.

(5) An individual who is a trainee or student of acupuncture may
not perform any act that constitutes the practice of medicine or the
practice of acupuncture, except under direct supervision of a person
approved by the Board to provide clinical training as described in rule

847-070-0017.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.060(3)
Hist.: ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 14-1984, f. & ef. 8-2-84; ME 10-1985, f.
& ef. 8-5-85; ME 13-1986, f. & ef. 7-31-86; ME 8-1988, f. 6-10-88, cert. ef. 6-6-
88; ME 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; BME 5-
1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-99; BME 15-2000, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-00

847-070-0019
Interview and Examination

(1) In addition to all other requirements for licensure, an appli-
cant may be required to appear before the Acupuncture Committee for
a personal interview regarding information received in the application
process. The interview shall be conducted during a regular meeting of
the committee.

(2) If there is reasonable cause to question the qualifications of
an applicant, or if an applicant has not practiced as an acupuncturist
for a period of twenty-four (24) or more consecutive months prior to
application for Oregon licensure, the Board in its discretion may
require the applicant to do one or more of the following:
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(a) Pass the N.C.C.A.O.M. Acupuncture Certification Examina-
tions.

(b) Pass an evaluation which may be written, oral, practical, or
any combination thereof.

(c) Provide documentation of current N.C.C.A.O.M. Acupunc-
ture certification.

(d) Document 15 hours of continuing education acceptable to the
Board for every year the applicant has ceased practice prior to appli-
cation for Oregon licensure. Continuing education that meets
N.C.C.A.O.M.’s recertification requirements would qualify as Board
approved continuing education.

(e) As a condition of licensure, complete a mentorship of no less
than 20 hours under a Board approved clinical supervisor who must
individually supervise the applicant. The clinical supervisor must
report the successful completion of the mentorship to the Board.

(3) An applicant shall be required to pass an open-book exami-
nation on the Medical Practice Act (ORS chapter 677) and Oregon

Administrative Rules (OAR chapter 847, division 070).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.175, 677.759
Hist.: BME 12-2005, f. & cert. ef. 10-12-05; BME 21-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06;
BME 5-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09

847-070-0020
Regulation of Activities of Acupuncturists

(1) An individual other than a physician who is not authorized by
the Board to engage in the practice of acupuncture shall not adminis-
ter acupuncture treatment to any other individual.

(2) An acupuncturist shall report promptly to the referring physi-
cian, if requested, the method of acupuncture treatment and the results
of such treatment together with such other information as the referring
physician requires to maintain the records regarding acupuncture treat-
ment.

(3) An acupuncturist must clearly indicate that he/she is an
acupuncturist to individuals being treated. The acupuncturist must
wear a name tag with the designation “Acupuncturist” thereon when
practicing in a hospital or clinic setting where other health care
providers practice. Acupuncturists are not required to wear name tags
in a private practice setting.

(4) An acupuncturist shall not represent him/herself as a physi-
cian or permit another to so represent him/her.

(5) An acupuncturist who has completed a program that leads to
a doctoral degree in Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine from a school
that has federally recognized accreditation may identify him/herself

as a “doctor of acupuncture and oriental medicine.”
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.759
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 9-1982, f.
& ef. 10-27-82; ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84; BME 16-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-
99; BME 5-2009, . & cert. ef. 1-22-09

847-070-0022
Documents to be Submitted for Licensure

The documents submitted must be no larger than 8 1/2” x 11”.
All documents will be retained by the Board as a permanent part of
the application file. If original documents are larger than 8 1/2” x 117,
the copies must be reduced to the correct size with all wording and sig-
natures clearly shown. The following documents are required for an
applicant:

(1) Application Form: Completed formal application form pro-
vided by the Board. Each and every question must be answered with
dates, showing month and year.

(2) Birth Certificate: A copy of birth certificate for proof of name
and birth date, and a copy of Change of Name documentation, Mar-
riage Certificate, or Divorce Decree if the applicant’s name has been
changed by court order, adoption, marriage, divorce, etc.

(3) Acupuncture School Diploma: A copy of a diploma showing
graduation from an approved school of acupuncture, for those appli-
cants who qualify under OAR 847-070-0016(1).

(4) Photograph: A close-up, finished, original photograph
(passport quality), no smaller than 2” x 2” and no larger than 2 1/2”
x 37, front view, head and shoulders (not profile), with features dis-
tinct, taken within 90 days preceding the filing of the application with
the applicant’s signature in ink and date taken on the photograph side.

(5) A letter from the Dean of the applicant’s program of acupunc-
ture, for those applicants who qualify under OAR 847-070-0016(1).

(6) A letter from the National Certification Commission for
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (N.C.C.A.O.M.) verifying current
certification in acupuncture by the N.C.C.A.O.M., for those applicants
who qualify under OAR 847-070-0016(2).

(7) A letter verifying licensure in good standing from the state or
states of all prior and current health related licensure.

(8) A letter from the Director or other official for practice and
employment to include an evaluation of overall performance and spe-
cific beginning and ending dates of practice and employment, for the
past five (5) years only. For acupuncturists who have been or are in
solo practice, three reference letters from acupuncturists in the local
treatment community who are familiar with the applicant’s practice

and who have known the applicant for more than six months.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.275, 677.759
Hist.: BME 21-2006, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-06; BME 19-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07

847-070-0025
Disciplinary Proceedings

The Board may suspend or revoke the authority of an acupunc-
turist to engage in the practice of acupuncture and any disciplinary pro-
ceedings against an acupuncturist or any individual charged with the
unlawful practice of acupuncture shall be in accordance with ORS

Chapter 183.
Stat. Auth. ORS 183 & 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 9-1982, f.
& ef. 10-27-82

847-070-0030
Revocation or Suspension of Authority to Engage in the
Practice of Acupuncture

The Board may suspend or revoke the authority of an acupunc-
turist to engage in the practice of acupuncture if the Board finds that:

(1) The acupuncturist has represented him/herself as a physician
or permitted another to so represent him/her.

(2) The acupuncturist has performed any act involving the prac-
tice of acupuncture in violation of any applicable law or rules regu-
lating the practice of acupuncture.

(3) The acupuncturist has engaged in conduct constituting gross
negligence in the practice of acupuncture.

(4) The acupuncturist is manifestly incapable to engage in the
practice of acupuncture.

(5) The acupuncturist has violated any of the provisions of ORS

677.190.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190
Hist.: ME 31, f. 9-9-75, ef. 10-11-75; ME 4-1979, f. & ef. 5-1-79; ME 9-1982, f.
& ef. 10-27-82; ME 6-1984, f. & ef. 1-20-84

847-070-0033
Visiting Acupuncturist Requirements

(1) The Oregon Medical Board may grant approval for a visiting
acupuncturist to demonstrate acupuncture needling as part of a sem-
inar, conference, or workshop sponsored by an Oregon school or an
Oregon school’s program of acupuncture or oriental medicine, or pro-
fessional organization of acupuncture, or any seminar, conference, or
workshop approved by the National Certification Commission for
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) to provide contin-
uing education training for a period up to ten days no more than three
times a year. The visiting acupuncturist who requests additional time
beyond the ten days, or submits more than three requests in a year,
must apply for and obtain a license to practice in the state of Oregon.
An Oregon licensed acupuncturist must be in attendance at the sem-
inar, conference or workshop.

(2) Prior to being granted approval, the following information
must be submitted to the Oregon Medical Board:

(a) A letter from the school or program of acupuncture or orien-
tal medicine, or organization which will have an out-of-state
acupuncturist demonstrate needling as part of a seminar, conference,
or workshop with the following information:

(A) Dates of the seminar, conference, or workshop in which the
visiting acupuncturist will be demonstrating acupuncture needling;

(B) Description of the seminar, conference or workshop;

(C) Name of the responsible Oregon acupuncturist, licensed
under ORS 677, actively registered and in good standing with the
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Board, who will be in attendance and responsible for the conduct of
the visiting acupuncturist at the seminar, conference or workshop.

(D) A curriculum vitae for the visiting acupuncturist; and

(b) If the visiting acupuncturist is licensed, certified or registered
to practice as an acupuncturist in the state in which the acupuncturist
is practicing, the visiting acupuncturist must provide documentation
that their license, certificate, or registration is active and in good stand-
ing.

(3) The request for approval to practice in the state of Oregon as
a visiting acupuncturist must be received at least two weeks prior to

the beginning date of such practice.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265(1) & (2)
Hist.: BME 9-2004, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-04; BME 19-2004, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-04

847-070-0036
Limited License, Special

An applicant applying for a license to practice acupuncture may
be issued a Limited License, Special until the next regularly scheduled
Board meeting if the applicant meets the following criteria:

(1) The applicant meets the qualifications of OAR 847-070-0015;

(2) The applicant has satisfactorily completed an application as
described in OAR 847-070-0015(1).

(3) The applicant has submitted the appropriate form and fee for

a Limited License, Special.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.132
Hist.: ME 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 8-1993(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-12-93;
ME 11-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-93; BME 19-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07

847-070-0037
Limited License, Postgraduate

(1) An acupuncturist who meets all requirements for Oregon
acupuncture licensure but has not yet passed the acupuncture certifi-
cation examination given by the National Certification Commission
on Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (N.C.C.A.0.M.) may be issued
a Limited License, Postgraduate for the purpose of obtaining clinical
training in Oregon under the supervision of a Board approved clini-
cal supervisor for a period of one year if the following criteria are met:

(a) The application file is complete.

(b) Certification by the N.C.C.A.O.M. is pending.

(c) The clinical supervisor approved to supervise the applicant
meets the qualifications in OAR 847-070-0017 and is on-site and
available to supervise at all times when the applicant is training.

(d) The applicant has submitted the appropriate form and fee
prior to being issued a Limited License, Postgraduate.

(2) Any person obtaining clinical training under a Limited
License, Postgraduate must identify themselves to patients as an
acupuncture trainee and wear a name tag identifying themselves as a
trainee.

(3) A Limited License, Postgraduate may be granted for one year
and may not be renewed.

(4) Upon receipt of verification that the applicant has passed the
acupuncture certification examination given by the N.C.C.A.O.M., and
if the applicant’s application file is otherwise satisfactorily complete,
the applicant shall be scheduled for approval of permanent licensure.

(5) The Limited License, Postgraduate will automatically be can-
celed if the applicant fails the acupuncture certification examination

given by the N.C.C.A.O.M..
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.759
Hist.: BME 5-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-99; BME 19-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07

847-070-0038
Limited License, Visiting Professor

(1) An acupuncturist who has received a teaching position in a
school of acupuncture in this state may be issued a Limited License,
Visiting Professor if the following criteria are met:

(a) The applicant has established to the satisfaction of the Board
that he/she has the skills and training equivalent to OAR 847-070-0016
Dy

(b) The applicant has at least five years experience as an acupunc-
turist; and

(c) The applicant has submitted the appropriate form and fee for
a Limited License, Visiting Professor.

(2) The head of the acupuncture school in which the applicant
will be teaching shall certify in writing to the Board that the applicant
has been offered a teaching position which will be under the direction
of the head of the department and will not be permitted to practice
acupuncture unless as a necessary part of the applicant’s teaching posi-
tion as approved by the Board.

(3) An acupuncturist who is applying for a Limited License, Vis-
iting Professor may also be approved as a clinical supervisor if the
applicant meets the requirements of OAR 847-070-0017.

(4) The Limited License, Visiting Professor may be granted for
one year and may be granted a total of two one-year extensions upon
annual review of the written justification of the need based upon aca-
demic necessity. The renewal form and fee must be submitted 30 days
before the end of the year if an extension of the Limited License, Vis-
iting Professor is requested.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.759

Hist.: ME 2-1981, f. & ef. 2-3-81; ME 9-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; ME 6-1984, . &

ef. 1-20-84; ME 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-21-85; ME 13-1989, f. & cert. ef. 8-4-89; ME

8-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-25-90; ME 9-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-24-91; ME 6-1993, f. &

cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 10-1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96; ME 5-1997, f. & cert.ef. 11-

3-97; BME 14-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 15-2003, f. & cert. ef. 10-23-03;

BME 10-2007, f. & cert. ef. 4-26-07

847-070-0039
Registration

(1) Upon Board approval of an applicant to be licensed to prac-
tice acupuncture, the applicant must pay the registration fee before
being issued a certificate.

(2) An application for renewal of the biennial registration and the
statutory registration fee shall be submitted to the Oregon Medical
Board prior to midnight June 30 of every even-numbered year.

(3) Upon failure to comply with section (1) and (2) of this rule,

the license shall lapse as per ORS 677.228.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.228 & 677.265
Hist.: ME 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-94; ME 10-
1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96

847-070-0045
Inactive Registration and Re-Entry to Practice

(1) Any acupuncturist licensed in this state who changes location
to some other state or country shall be listed by the Board as inactive.

(2) If the acupuncturist wishes to resume active status, the
acupuncturist must file an Affidavit of Reactivation and pay a pro-
cessing fee, satisfactorily complete the reactivation process and be
approved by the Board before beginning active practice in Oregon.

(3) The Board may deny active registration if it judges the con-
duct of the acupuncturist during the period of inactive registration to
be such that the acupuncturist would have been denied a license if
applying for an initial license.

(4) If an acupuncturist applicant has ceased practice for a peri-
od of 24 or more consecutive months immediately preceding the appli-
cation for licensure or reactivation, the applicant may be required to
do one or more of the following:

(a) Obtain certification or re-certification in Acupuncture or Ori-
ental Medicine by the National Certification Commission for
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (N.C.C.A.O.M.);

(b) Provide documentation of current N.C.C.A.O.M. Acupunc-
ture or Oriental Medicine certification;

(c) Complete 15 hours of continuing education acceptable to the
Board for every year the applicant has ceased practice;

(d) Complete a mentorship of at least 20 hours under a Board-
approved clinical supervisor who must individually supervise the
licensee. The clinical supervisor must report the successful comple-
tion of the mentorship to the Board.

(5) The acupuncturist applicant who has ceased practice for a
period of five or more consecutive years may be required to complete
are-entry plan to the satisfaction of the Board. The Board must review
and approve a re-entry plan prior to the applicant beginning the re-
entry plan. Depending on the amount of time out of practice, the re-
entry plan may contain one or more of the requirements listed in sec-
tion (4) of this rule and such additional requirements as determined by

the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.175, 677.759
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Hist.: ME 24-1987, f. & ef. 10-29-87; ME 6-1993, f. & cert. ef. 4-22-93; ME 10-
1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96; BME 16-1999, f. & cert. ef. 10-28-99; BME 12-2005,
f. & cert. ef. 10-12-05; BME 5-2009, f. & cert. ef. 1-22-09; OMB 8-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 2-10-12

847-070-0050
Acupuncture Advisory Committee

(1) An Acupuncture Advisory Committee is established. The
committee must consist of six members appointed by the Board. The
Board must appoint one of its members, two physicians, and three
acupuncturists licensed by the Board. The acupuncture members may
be appointed from nominations of the Oregon Association of Acupunc-
ture and Oriental Medicine and other professional acupuncture orga-
nizations.

(2) The term of office of a member of the committee must be four
years, and members may be reappointed to serve not more than two
terms. Vacancies in the committee must be filled by appointment by
the Board for the balance of the unexpired term, and each member
must serve until a successor is appointed and qualified.

(3) The Board may remove any member from the committee.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265

Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265, 677.759, 677.780

Hist.: ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-3-95; ME 10-1996, f. & cert. ef. 10-29-96; BME
15-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-26-98; BME 14-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01; BME 19-
2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; OMB 16-2011, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-11

847-070-0055
Duties of the Committee

The Acupuncture Advisory Committee shall:

(1) Review and recommend approval or disapproval of all appli-
cations submitted to the Board for acupuncture licensing and for
renewal thereof.

(2) Recommend to the Board standards of professional respon-
sibility and practice for licensed acupuncturists.

(3) Recommend to the Board standards of didactic and clinical
education and training for acupuncture licensing.

(4) Recommend to the Board standards for clinical supervisors
and trainees.

(5) Recommend to the Board licensing examinations, and tem-

porary licenses as considered appropriate.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265 & 677.757 - 677.770
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.265
Hist.: ME 4-1995, f. & cert. ef. 5-3-95; BME 14-2001, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-01

DIVISION 80
PODIATRISTS

847-080-0001
Definitions

(1) “Ankle” means the tibial plafond and its posterolateral bor-
der or posterior malleolus, the medial malleolus, the distal fibula or
lateral malleolus, and the talus.

(2) “Board” means the Oregon Medical Board of the State of
Oregon.

(3) “Podiatric physician and surgeon” means a podiatric physi-
cian and surgeon whose practice is limited to treating ailments of the
human foot, ankle, and tendons directly attached to and governing the

function of the foot and ankle.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.805
Hist.: ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; BME 11-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 8-
2007, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07; BME 22-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07

847-080-0002
Application for Licensure

(1) When applying for licensure the applicant shall submit to the
Board the completed application, fees (as per OAR 847-005-0005),
documents and letters.

(2) A person applying for licensure under these rules who has not
completed the licensure process within a 12 month consecutive peri-
od shall file a new application, documents, letters and pay a full fil-
ing fee as if filing for the first time. If the personal interview is can-
celed and rescheduled within the 12 consecutive months, an update of

the application will be required.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.100

Hist.: ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; BME 8-2007,
f. & cert. ef. 1-24-07

847-080-0010
Requirements for Licensure

(1) The applicant for licensure shall be required to:

(a) Have graduated from a school or college of podiatric medicine
accredited by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the Amer-
ican Podiatric Medical Association.

(b) Successfully pass the National Board of Podiatric Medical
Examiners (NBPME) examination Part I and Part II. Effective April
25,2008, the applicant for licensure who graduated from a school or
college of podiatric medicine on or after January 1, 2001 must also
pass the NBPME examination Part I1I, unless the applicant is licensed
as a podiatric physician in another state, or certified by the American
Board of Podiatric Orthopedics and Primary Podiatric Medicine or the
American Board of Podiatric Surgery.

(c) Fulfill one of the following:

(A) Satisfactory completion of one year of post-graduate train-
ing served in a hospital that is approved by the Council on Podiatric
Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association, or

(B) Satisfactory completion of one year of post-graduate train-
ing in a hospital residency program that was not approved by the
Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric
Medical Association; and current certification by the American Board
of Podiatric Orthopedics and Primary Podiatric Medicine or the Amer-
ican Board of Podiatric Surgery.

(d) Have satisfactorily met the requirements of ORS 677.825.

(2) No application will be accepted on the basis of reciprocity or
written examination, other than the National Board of Podiatric Med-

ical Examiners.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.825 & 677.830
Hist.: ME 4-1982, f. & ef. 4-23-82; ME 7-1982, f. & ef. 10-27-82; Suspended by
ME 3-1983(Temp), f. & ef. 10-3-83 to 10-7-83; Suspended by ME 2-1984(Temp),
f. & ef. 1-20-84; ME 11-1985, f. & ef. 8-6-85; ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 8-
1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-94; BME 16-2004, . & cert. ef. 7-13-04; BME 13-2005,
f. & cert. ef. 10-12-05; BME 18-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; BME 12-2008, f. &
cert. ef. 4-24-08; BME 27-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08

847-080-0013
Documents to Be Submitted for Licensure

The documents submitted must be no larger than 8 1/2” x 11”.
All documents and photographs will be retained by the Board as a per-
manent part of the application file. If original documents are larger
than 8 1/2” x 117, the copies must be reduced to the correct size with
all wording and signatures clearly shown. The application form, pho-
tographs and the results of the Practitioner Request for Information
Disclosure (Self-Query) from the National Practitioner Data Bank and
the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank must be originals,
and all other documents must be legible copies. The following docu-
ments are required:

(1) Application Form: Completed formal application form pro-
vided by the Board. Each and every question must be answered with
dates, showing month and year.

(2) Birth Certificate: A copy of birth certificate for proof of name
and birth date.

(3) Doctor of Podiatric Medicine Diploma: A copy of a diploma
showing graduation from a school of podiatry.

(4) Photograph: A close-up, finished, original photograph
(passport quality), no smaller than 2” x 2" and no larger than 2-1/2”
x 37, front view, head and shoulders (not profile), with features dis-
tinct, taken within 90 days preceding the filing of the application with
the applicant’s signature in ink and date taken on the photograph side.

(5) The results of the Practitioner Request for Information Dis-
closure (Self-Query) from the National Practitioner Data Bank and the
Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank sent directly to the

Board by the applicant.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.820, 677.825 & 677.830
Hist.: ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 17-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-87; BME 17-2007, f.
& cert. ef. 7-23-07

847-080-0017
Letters and Official Grade Certifications to Be Submitted for
Licensure

The applicant must request official letters directly from:
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(1) The Dean of the School of Podiatry: The Verification of Med-
ical Education form, which includes: degree issued, date of degree,
dates of attendance, dates and reason of any leaves of absence or
repeated years, and dates, name and location of school of podiatric
medicine school if a transfer student, and submit directly to the Board.

(2) A copy of the Dean’s Letter of Recommendation which shall
include a statement concerning the applicant’s moral and ethical char-
acter and overall performance as a podiatric medical student.

(3) The Director of Podiatric Education, Chairman or other offi-
cial of the residency hospital in U.S.: A currently dated original letter
(a copy is not acceptable), sent directly from the hospitals in which any
post-graduate training was served, which shall include an evaluation
of overall performance and specific beginning and ending dates of
training.

(4) The Director or other official for practice and employment in
hospitals, clinics, etc., in the U.S. and foreign countries: A currently
dated original letter (a copy is not acceptable), sent directly from the
hospital/clinic which shall include an evaluation of overall perfor-
mance and specific beginning and ending dates of practice and
employment.

(5) The Executive Secretary of all State Boards in the United
States where the applicant has ever been licensed; regardless of sta-
tus, i.e., current, lapsed, never practiced there: The currently dated
original letter (a copy is not acceptable), sent directly from the boards,
shall show license number, date issued and status.

(6) Official National Board Certification: An official grade cer-
tification of the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners
(NBPME) examination Part I and II is required directly from the
National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners. For applicants who
took the NBPME examination on or after January 1, 1987, an official
grade certification of the NBPME examination Part III is required
directly from the Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards.

(7) Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards Disciplinary Report:
A Disciplinary Report sent directly from the Federation of Podiatric

Medical Boards to the Board.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.825
Hist.: ME 4-1982, f. & ef. 4-23-82; ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 17-1987, f.
& ef. 8-3-87; BME 20-2004, f. & cert. ef. 10-20-04; BME 19-2006, f. & cert. ef.
7-25-06; BME 17-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07

847-080-0018
Endorsement, Competency Examination, Re-Entry to Practice
and Personal Interview

(1) The applicant must base an application upon certification by
the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners (NBPME).

(a) For applicants who graduated from a school or college of
podiatric medicine on or after January 1, 2001, certification by the
NBPME must include Part III of the examination. This requirement
may be waived if the applicant is:

(A) Licensed as a podiatric physician in another state; or

(B) Certified by the American Board of Podiatric Orthopedics
and Primary Podiatric Medicine or the American Board of Podiatric
Surgery.

(b) All three Parts of the NBPME examination must be passed
within a seven-year period which begins when the first Part, either Part
T or Part II, is passed. The score achieved on each Part of the exami-
nation must equal or exceed the figure established by the National
Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners as a recommended passing
score.

(¢) An applicant who graduated from a school or college of podi-
atric medicine on or after January 1,2001, and who has not passed all
three Parts within the seven-year period may request an exception to
the seven-year requirement if he/she:

(A) Has current certification by the American Board of Podiatric
Orthopedics and Primary Podiatric Medicine or the American Board
of Podiatric Surgery, or

(B) Suffered from a documented significant health condition
which by its severity would necessarily cause a delay to the applicant’s
podiatric study.

(d) Except as noted in Section (1)(e) of this rule, effective April
25,2008, to be eligible for licensure, the applicant who graduated from
a school or college of podiatric medicine on or after January 1, 2001,
must have passed NBPME Part III within four attempts whether for
Oregon or for any other state. After the third failed attempt, the appli-

cant must have completed one additional year of postgraduate train-
ing in the United States prior to readmission to the examination. The
Board must approve the additional year of training to determine
whether the applicant is eligible for licensure. The applicant, after
completion of the required year of training, must have passed Part I11
on their fourth and final attempt. If the fourth attempt of Part III is
failed, the applicant is not eligible for Oregon licensure. If the appli-
cant did not complete a year of training approved by the Board
between the third and fourth attempt to pass Part III, the applicant is
not eligible for licensure.

(e) An applicant who has passed the NBPME Part III, but not
within the four attempts required by OAR 847-080-0018(1)(d), may
request a waiver of this requirement if he/she has current certification
by the American Board of Podiatric Orthopedics and Primary Podi-
atric Medicine or the American Board of Podiatric Surgery.

(2) The applicant who has ceased practice for a period of 12 or
more consecutive months immediately preceding an application for
licensure or reactivation may be required to pass a competency exam-
ination in podiatry. The competency examination may be waived if,
within ten years of filing the application with the Board, the applicant
has:

(a) Passed the examination administered by the NBPME, or

(b) Been certified or recertified by the American Board of Podi-
atric Orthopedics and Primary Podiatric Medicine (ABPOPPM) or the
American Board of Podiatric Surgery (ABPS), or

(c) Completed a Board-approved one-year residency or clinical
fellowship, or

(d) Obtained continuing medical education to the Board’s satis-
faction.

(3) The applicant who has ceased the practice of medicine for a
period of 24 or more consecutive months may be required to complete
are-entry plan to the satisfaction of the Board. The Board must review
and approve a re-entry plan prior to the applicant beginning the re-
entry plan. Depending on the amount of time out of practice, the appli-
cant may be required to do one or more of the following:

(a) Pass the NBPME examination;

(b) Practice for a specified period of time under a mentor/super-
vising podiatric physician who will provide periodic reports to the
Board;

(c) Obtain certification or re-certification by the ABPOPPM or
the ABPS;

(d) Complete a re-entry program as determined appropriate by
the Board;

(e) Complete one year of an accredited postgraduate or clinical
fellowship training, which must be pre-approved by the Board’s Med-
ical Director;

(f) Complete at least 50 hours of Board-approved continuing
medical education each year for the past three years.

(4) The applicant may be required to appear before the Board for
a personal interview regarding information received during the pro-
cessing of the application. The interview shall be conducted during a
regular meeting of a committee of the Board or the Board.

(5) Licensure shall not be granted until all requirements of OAR

847-080-0002 through 847-080-0020 are completed satisfactorily.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.265
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.825 & 677.830
Hist.: ME 6-1986, f. & ef. 4-23-86; ME 17-1987, f. & ef. 8-3-87; ME 23-
1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-20-89; ME 3-1990, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-90; ME 13-1992,
f. & cert. ef. 10-22-92; ME 8-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-94; ME 11-1996, f. & cert.
ef. 10-29-96; BME 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-99; BME 4-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-17-
99; BME 10-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-20-05; BME 19-2006, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-06; BME
17-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07; BME 18-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-23-07 thru 1-
8-08; BME 22-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-24-07; BME 12-2008, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-08;
BME 27-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-31-08; OMB 26-2011, f. & cert. ef. 10-18-11

847-080-0022
Qualifications to Perform Ankle Surgery
Ankle surgery must be conducted in a certified hospital or in an
ambulatory surgical center certified by the Health Division. To be eli-
gible to perform ankle surgery in the state of Oregon, the licensed
podiatrist shall meet the qualifications from one of the following sec-
tions prior to being approved by the Board to perform ankle surgery:
(1) Completion of a CPME (Council on Podiatric Medical Edu-
cation) approved surgical residency; Board Certification by the Amer-
ican Board of Podiatric Surgery in Foot and Ankle Surgery; docu-
mented clinical experience as approved by the Board; and current
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clinical privileges to perform reconstructive/rearfoot ankle surgery in
a JCAHO (The Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Health Care
Organizations) approved hospital; or

(2) Completion of a CPME (Council on Podiatric Medical Edu-
cation) approved surgical residency; and Board Qualified by the Amer-
ican Board of Podiatric Surgery in Reconstructive Rearfoot/Ankle
Surgery progressing to Board Certification in Reconstructive Rear-

foot/Ankle Surgery within seven years.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 677.245
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.812
Hist.: BM 11-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-27-00; BME 7-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-03

847-080-0030
Denial or Revocation of License

No applicant shall be entitled to a podiatry license who:

(1) Has failed in an examination for licensure in the State of Ore-
gon;

(2) Has had a license revoked or suspended in this or any other
state unless the said license has been restored or reinstated and the
applicant’s license is in good standing in the state which had revoked
the same;

(3) Has been refused a license or certificate in any other state or
country on any grounds other than failure in a podiatric licensure
examination;

(4) Has been guilty of conduct similar to that which would be
prohibited by or to which ORS 677.190 would apply; or

(5) Has been guilty of cheating or subverting the podiatric licens-
ing examination process. Podiatric licensing examination means any
examination given by the Board, other states, or national testing
organization, to an applicant for registration, certification or licensure

under this act. Evidence of cheating or subverting includes, but is not
limited to:

(a) Copying answers from another examinee or permitting one’s
answers to be copied by another examinee during the examination;

(b) Having in one’s possession during the examination any books,
notes, written or printed materials or data of any kind, other than exam-
ination materials distributed by Board staff, which could facilitate the
applicant in completing the examination;

(c) Communicating with any other examinee during the admin-
istration of the examination;

(d) Removing from the examining room any examination mate-
rials;

(e) Photographing or otherwise reproducing examination mate-
rials.

(6) In addition to the grounds for denial, revocation, or suspen-
sion set forth in ORS Chapter 677 violation of any of the rules of the
Board may be the basis of denial or revocation of any license autho-
rized or issued under the provisions of ORS Chapter 677 and laws

mandatory thereof.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.190
Hist.: ME 4-1982, f. & ef. 4-23-82; ME 11-1985, f. & ef. 8-6-85; ME 6-1986, f. &
ef. 4-23-86

847-080-0035
Approved Podiatry Colleges

Podiatry colleges approved by the Board are only those
approved by the American Podiatric Medical Association Council on

Podiatry Education.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 677
Stats. Implemented: ORS 677.820
Hist.: ME 4-1982, f. & ef. 4-23-82; ME 11-1985, f. & ef. 8-6-85
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