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DIVISION 1
AGENCY PROCEDURALRULES

331-001-0000
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking

(1) Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule, the
Oregon Health Licensing Agency shall give notice of its intended
action;

(a) In the manner established by rule adopted by the agency under
ORS 183.341(4), which provides a reasonable opportunity for inter-
ested persons to be notified of the agency’s proposed action;

(b) In the Secretary of State’s bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360
at least 21 days prior to the effective date;

(c) By delivery of notice to persons on the agency mailing list,
at least 28 days before the effective date of the rule, pursuant to ORS
183.335;

(d) By delivery of notice to certain legislators, at least 49 days
before the effective date of the rule, pursuant to ORS 183.335;
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(2) To the Associated Press and Capitol Building Press Room,
and other members of the media who have requested notification;

(3) To persons, organizations, or publications, where the agen-
cy determines that such persons, organizations, or publications, would
have an interest in the subject matter of the proposal based on appli-
cability to each agency program, board or council.

(4) Delivery of notice of an intended action under subsection
(1)(a), (c) and (d) of this section shall be in accordance with ORS
183.335(2)(e). Delivery of notice of an intended action under sub-
section (1)(b), (2) and (3) of this section may be provided by regular
U.S. Postal Service mail, electronic mail, facsimile transmission, or
other delivery of printed copy.

(5)A copy of proposed rules and permanently filed rules shall be
posted on the agency’s Web site, and program mini-sites accessed at
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/index.shtml and http://www.oregon.
gov/OHLA/Laws_and_Rules.shtml.

(6) Persons may obtain a printed copy of rules or related docu-
ments upon written request and payment of appropriate fee for copies
of agency documents as specified in OAR 331-010-0030.

(7) The agency may update the mailing list established pursuant
to ORS 183.335(8) annually by requesting persons to confirm that they
wish to remain on the mailing list. If a person does not respond to a
request for confirmation within 28 days of the date the agency sends
the request, the agency will remove the person from the mailing list.
Any person removed from the mailing list will be immediately
returned to the mailing list upon request, if the person provides a mail-
ing address to which notice may be sent.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-001-0010
Model Rules of Procedure

Pursuant to ORS 183.341, the Oregon Health Licensing Agen-
cy adopts the Model Rules of Procedures as promulgated by theAttor-
ney General of the State of Oregon under the Administrative Proce-
dures Act as amended and effective January 1, 2008.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 676.605
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & 676.605
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-001-0020
Applicability of Agency Rules

The provisions of OAR 331-001-0000 through 331-030-0030
shall apply in the administration and regulation of all programs admin-
istered by the agency except as otherwise specifically provided.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & OL 2003, Ch. 547
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & OL 2003, Ch. 547
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

DIVISION 10
AGENCYGENERALADMINISTRATION RULES

331-010-0000
Definitions

Unless the context requires otherwise, the following definitions
shall apply to OAR Chapter 331.

(1) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.
(2) “Authorization” means the official document, i.e. certificate,

license, permit or registration, issued by the agency, for any program
administered under ORS 676.606, as prima facie evidence of the right
to practice in accordance with the laws and rules of the regulatory pro-
grams administered by the agency.

(3) “Director” means, pursuant to ORS 676.610, the individual
who has sole responsibility for the administrative, fiscal, human
resource and regulatory functions of the agency.

(4) “Oregon Health Licensing Agency” means the agency
assigned to carry out the administrative, programmatic and daily oper-
ations, and regulatory functions of the Boards, Councils and Programs
listed in ORS 676.606.

(5) “Practitioner” means the individual issued a certificate,
license, permit or registration by the agency who has received autho-
rization within their defined field of practice.

(6) “Program” means the office and staff designated to carry out
the daily functions of the Body Piercing Licensing Program as defined
in ORS 690.500 to 690.570; or as the context requires, “program” may
also be used to refer to the collective boards, councils and programs
administered by the agency.

(7) “Regulatory authority” means a recognized governing body
of a city, county, state or country that has been charged with the
responsibility for overseeing the administration and regulation of an
occupation or profession.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-010-0010
Fees

(1) Payments made to the Health Licensing Office should be
made for the exact amount of the transaction.

(2) Transactions conducted with the agency where either the pay-
ment or required documentation is incomplete or incorrect may be
returned to the payer for correction before being processed by the
agency.

(3) Fees will be applied as directed by the applicant, authoriza-
tion holder or payer. Fees misapplied may be corrected by written
request specifying the certificate, license, permit or registration num-
ber(s) affected and the action requested, subject to conditions in OAR
331-010-0020(2).

(4) Fees paid to the agency are not transferable between programs
or from person-to-person where the applicant was eligible for service
and service was rendered pursuant to application or transaction request
submitted to the agency.

(5) Payments received by the agency without indication as to pur-
pose or intent or as an amount of overpayment will first be applied
toward any outstanding civil penalty balance or administrative pro-
cessing fee owed.

(6) Fee schedules are published in the administrative rules for
each Board, Council or Program administered by the agency.

(7) Dishonored Check or Electronic Payment. Pursuant to ORS
30.701, whenever a bank check, credit or debit transaction in payment
of an obligation due for fees, penalties, copies of records or materi-
als, or other services to the agency, is dishonored by the bank upon
which the check is drawn, the applicant or authorization holder will
be assessed and must pay an administrative processing fee in the
amount of $25. The agency may take any other disciplinary action
against an authorization holder or payer and may seek other legal
remedies in pursuing to effect collection of the returned items. If a
check is returned for NSF or uncollected funds the agency will attempt
to collect payment electronically.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 30.701, 676.625 & OL 2003, Ch. 547 Sec.10, 14, 22, 30, 50, 61,
69, 86, 100
Stats. Implemented: ORS 30.701, 676.625 & OL 2003, Ch. 547 Sec.10, 14, 22, 30,
50, 61, 69, 86, 100
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

331-010-0020
Refund of Payments

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will not refund any
payment, which includes fees, penalties or other charges, unless the
agency is in error. Information not known by the agency because the
authorization holder or payer supplied the incorrect information is not
considered an error.

(2) The agency will comply with ORS 291 and 293 and the Ore-
gonAccounting Manual regarding administration of public funds per-
taining to assessment of fees, charges and refunding monies.

(3)Application fees will not be refunded. The agency will retain
the application fee if an applicant withdraws the application for a cer-
tificate, license, permit, or registration before the issuance of the autho-
rization, or fails to complete the application process.

(4) The agency may refund fees paid for a scheduled examina-
tion on a case-by-case basis. In making its determination, the agency
will consider an applicant’s individual set of circumstances when the
applicant fails to appear for a scheduled examination.

(5) The agency will not refund fees paid for agency scheduled
diversion or infection control standards training if the applicant fails
to appear and complete the prescribed training; however, the fees may
be applied toward any civil fine imposed for violations of laws or rules.



(6) The agency shall determine, on a case-by-case basis, the indi-
vidual set of circumstances noted in subsections (4) and (5) of this rule,
such as a medical emergency, personal hardship or unforeseen event
that impedes the individual from appearing for an agency-scheduled
examination or training. The agency may request documentation from
the individual to validate the circumstance cited and may refund the
fees or reschedule an examination or training as appropriate.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 30.701, 293.445, 676.625
Stats. Implemented: ORS 30.701, 293.445, 676.625
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-010-0030
Fees for Public Records and Publications

(1)All requests for copies of public records pertaining to the Ore-
gon Health LicensingAgency, or any program it administers, shall be
submitted in writing, electronic mail, or by completion of an electronic
form provided by the agency. Requests are subject to disclosure
according to the Public Records Law, ORS 192.410 to 192.505, and
rules adopted thereunder.

(2) The agency may charge a fee reasonably calculated to reim-
burse the agency for costs of providing and conveying copies of pub-
lic records. Fees shall not exceed the cost of locating, compiling, mak-
ing available for inspection, preparing copy in paper, audio, computer
disk, and delivering public records. All estimated fees and charges
must be paid before public records will be made available for inspec-
tion or copies provided.

(3) The agency shall notify a requestor of the estimated costs of
making records available for inspection or providing copies of records
to the requestor. If the estimated costs exceed $25, the agency shall
provide written notice and shall not act further to respond to the request
unless and until the requestor confirms that the requestor wants the
agency to proceed with making the public records available.

(4) Charges to the general public shall be payable in cash,
cashier’s check, money order, or credit card. Payment by personal
check for copies of official documents is not accepted.

(5) The agency shall charge 25¢ per page for the first 20 pages
and 15¢ per page thereafter to recover the costs of photocopying and
normal and reasonable staff time to locate, separate, photocopy and
return document(s) to file and to prepare/mail public record(s) to
requestors. If, for operational or other reasons, the agency uses the ser-
vices of an outside facility or contractor to photocopy requested
records, the agency shall charge the actual costs incurred.

(a) “Page” refers to the number of copies produced. Staff will not
reduce the copy size or otherwise manipulate records in order to fit
additional records on a page, unless staff concludes that it would be
the most effective use of their time. Consistent with ORS 192.240, all
copies will be double-sided. A double-sided copy will be charged as
two single pages.

(6) “Normal and reasonable” staff time is 20 minutes or less per
request:

(a)Additional charges for staff time may be made when respond-
ing to record requests that require more than the “normal and reason-
able” time for responding to routine record requests. Staff time shall
be charged at the agency’s staff hourly rate.

(b) These charges are for staff time in excess of 10 minutes spent
locating, compiling, sorting and reviewing records to prepare them for
inspection, as well as all time required to separate or remove exempt
information or to supervise inspection of documents. The agency shall
not charge for time spent in determining the application of the provi-
sions of ORS 192.410 to 192.505.

(7) Charges for regular agency publications and media requests,
such as computer disks, video cassettes, audio tapes or other types of
public record formats, shall be available upon request and a price list
shall be published on the agency Web site annually.

(8) The agency may charge individuals actual postage costs for
mailing of records. When mailing voluminous records or responding
to special requests, the agency shall charge for staff time required to
prepare the records for mailing, in addition to actual postage.

(9) The agency shall charge $27 per hour, with a $7.50 minimum,
for staff time required to fill public record requests that require elec-
tronic reproduction. Charges include time spent locating, download-
ing, formatting, copying and transferring records to media. Charges
for reproduction media are available upon request.

(10) Due to the threat of computer viruses, the agency will not
permit individuals to provide diskettes for electronic reproduction of
computer records.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 197.410 - 192.505, 676.625
Stats. Implemented: ORS 197.410 - 192.505, 676.625
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-010-0040
Notification Requirements

Notification of a change in any authorization holder’s licensing
information must be submitted within 30 calendar days of the change
to the agency by written notice given in person at the agency office,
by regular U.S. Postal Service, facsimile transmission, Web-based
interactive data collection or electronic mail. A change in information
includes, but is not limited to the following:

(1) Authorization holders:
(a) Name — first or last. Approved documentation is required,

such as marriage certificate, divorce decree, court judgment docu-
ments, or other agency approved documentation;

(b) Residential or mailing address;
(c) Area code and telephone number;
(d) Employment status; or
(e) Work location.
(2) Facility license holders:
(a) Facility name or Assumed Business Name as filed with Sec-

retary of State, Corporations Division under 648.007;
(b) Business telephone number, including area code;
(c) General hours of operation;
(d) Address change resulting from city or U.S. Postal Service

action; or
(e) Closure or sale of business facility or practice.
(3) Independent contract registration holders:
(a) Facility name, physical address, telephone number and license

number;
(b) General hours of operation;
(c) Changing permanent work location;
(d) Performing services at multiple licensed facilities on a per-

manent or temporary basis;
(e) Ceasing to operate as an independent contractor before expi-

ration of the registration to avoid late renewal payment if reactivation
may occur within one year of the expiration date.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

DIVISION 20
AGENCYREGULATORYOPERATIONS RULES

331-020-0000
Contested Case Procedure

(1) Subject to the approval of theAttorney General, an officer or
employee of the agency is authorized to appear on behalf of any Board,
Council, or Program administered by the agency when the agency pro-
poses to refuse to issue, renew, suspend, revoke, place on probation
or impose a civil penalty on any applicant, licensee, registrant or other
individual.

(2) The agency representative may not make legal argument on
behalf of the agency:

(a) “Legal argument” includes arguments on:
(A) The jurisdiction of the agency to hear the contested case;
(B) The constitutionality of a statute, rule, and/or the application

of a constitutional requirement to an agency; and
(C) The application of court precedent to the facts of the partic-

ular contested case proceeding.
(b) “Legal argument” does not include presentation of evidence,

examination and cross-examination of witnesses or presentation of fac-
tual arguments or arguments on:

(A) The application of the facts to the statutes or rules directly
applicable to the issues in the contested case;

(B) Comparison of prior actions of the agency in handling sim-
ilar situations;

(C) The literal meaning of the statutes or rules directly applica-
ble to the issues in the contested case; and
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(D) The admissibility of evidence or the correctness of proce-
dures being followed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & OL 2003, m Ch. 547, Sec. 4
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & OL 2003, m Ch. 547, Sec. 4
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

331-020-0010
Requiring an Answer to Charges as Part of Notices to Parties in
Contested Cases

In addition to the requirements stated in OAR 137-003-0000 of
theAttorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure adopted under 331-
001-0010, the notice to parties in contested cases may include a state-
ment that an answer to the assertions or charges will be required and,
if so, the consequence of failure to answer. A statement of the conse-
quences of failure to answer may be satisfied by enclosing a copy of
331-020-0020 with the notice.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

331-020-0020
Hearing Requests and Answers; Consequences of Failure to
Answer

(1) A hearing request, and answer when required, shall be made
in writing to theAgency Director by the party or their attorney and an
answer shall include the following:

(a) An admission or denial of each factual matter alleged in the
notice; and

(b) A short, concise statement of each relevant affirmative
defense the party may have.

(2) Except for good cause:
(a) Factual matters alleged in the notice and not denied in the

answer shall be presumed admitted;
(b) Failure to raise a particular defense in the answer will be con-

sidered a waiver of such defense;
(c) New matters alleged in the answer (affirmative defenses) shall

be presumed to be denied by the agency; and
(d) Evidence shall not be taken on any issue not raised in the

notice and the answer.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

331-020-0030
Inquiries; Filing a Complaint

(1) An individual may contact the Oregon Health Licensing
Agency to inquire on the licensing record, status or employment of a
person issued an authorization by the agency, or to comment on any
issue concerning an individual regulated by the agency.

(2) Complaints against individuals practicing in one of the pro-
fessions listed in ORS 676.606, may be filed with the agency. The
complaint may be made on forms provided by the agency, which
includes the following information:

(a) The name, address and telephone number of the person mak-
ing the complaint;

(b) The name of the person or facility against which the com-
plaint is being made;

(c)Aconcise description of the charge against the person or facil-
ity listing the date, time and circumstances of the alleged violation; and

(d) The signature of the person making the complaint.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.606
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.606
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-020-0040
Complaint Processing and Investigation

Pursuant to ORS 676.608, complaints filed with the Oregon
Health Licensing Agency will be handled as follows:

(1) The agency will determine if the complaint is related to a pro-
fession or occupation regulated and administered by the agency and
the complaint falls within authority delegated to the agency by statute.

(2) The agency investigator(s):
(a) Will review the information and as applicable, interview par-

ties and witnesses, and examine physical evidence relating to the com-
plaint;

(b) Will advise on whether an authorization holder or other indi-
vidual practiced within the acceptable standards of the particular pro-
gram;

(c) May attempt to informally resolve the matter;
(d) Will make recommendations for agency action.
(3) After receiving advice from the investigator(s), the agency

will determine what action will be taken in accordance with ORS
676.608.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.608,676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.608, 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-020-0050
Response to Inquiry

Any person subject to a complaint involving conduct or service
performed or provided may be required by the agency to respond. The
person must respond to the agency within 20 calendar days from the
date of the request, in the form and manner requested by the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

331-020-0060
Civil Penalty Considerations

(1) Pursuant to ORS 676.992, any person who violates any pro-
vision of law or rules of a regulated profession administered by the
Oregon Health Licensing Agency and listed in ORS 676.606, may
incur, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, a civil penal-
ty in an amount not to exceed $5,000 for each violation.

(2) In establishing the amount of the penalty for each violation,
the agency will consider and evaluate each case on an individual basis.
The agency will consider, but not be limited to factors listed in ORS
676.992, in determining the amount of the penalty.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.992
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 676.992
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-020-0070
Discipline

(1) The Oregon Health LicensingAgency may discipline autho-
rization holders for violations of laws and rules, in accordance with
ORS 676.612 and 676.992.

(2) Failure to cooperate with the agency or its agent is unpro-
fessional conduct and is subject to disciplinary sanctions, which may
include suspension or revocation and refuse to issue or renew or place
on probation and assessment of civil penalties. Failure to cooperate
with the agency or its agent includes, but is not limited to, the fol-
lowing:

(a) Failing to provide information within the specified time allot-
ted and as requested by the agency;

(b) Failing to temporarily surrender custody of original client
records to the agency upon request, which includes treatment charts,
models, health histories, billing documents, correspondence and mem-
oranda;

(c) Interference, use of threats or harassment which delays or
obstructs any person in providing evidence in any investigation, con-
tested case, or other legal action instituted by the agency;

(d) Interference, use of threats or harassment which delays or
obstructs the agency in carrying out its functions under individual pro-
grams administered and regulated by the agency as listed in ORS
676.606 and rules adopted thereunder; or

(e) Deceiving or attempting to deceive the agency regarding any
matter under investigation including altering or destroying any records.

(3) The agency, at its discretion, may require supplemental train-
ing in an appropriate area of study as determined by the agency, board
or council, as a disciplinary sanction. Supplemental training may be
in addition to assessment of a monetary penalty or the agency, board
or council may waive or reduce a penalty, in cases requiring supple-
mental training.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.612, 676.992
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.612, 676.992
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-020-0080
Sanctions

(1) CHILD SUPPORT IN ARREARS: In accordance with ORS
25.750 to 25.783, the Oregon Health Licensing Agency will provide

Chapter 331 Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2010 Edition 5 - 7 (11-13-09)



the Support Enforcement Division of the Department of Justice with
authorization information which may be electronically cross-matched
with Support Enforcement Division’s records for persons under order
of judgment to pay monthly child support and who are in arrears
according to ORS 25.750(a), (b), and/or (c).

(2) The agency will suspend the authorization, if the Support
Enforcement Division or the district attorney identifies the autho-
rization holder as being in arrears with respect to any judgment or
order requiring the payment of child support and that the case is being
enforced under the provisions of ORS 25.080.

(3) Pursuant to ORS 25.750 to 25.785, the agency will notify the
authorization holder of the suspension status and refer the person to
the Support Enforcement Division or the district attorney for resolu-
tion.

(4) Upon notification by the Support Enforcement Division or
district attorney and receipt of a release notice that the conditions
resulting in the suspension no longer exist, the agency will reinstate
the authorization upon compliance with all qualifications for renew-
al or reactivation.

(5) DEFAULTTAX FILING OR PAYMENT: In accordance with
ORS 305.385, upon request the agency will provide the Department
of Revenue with authorization information to determine if the hold-
er has neglected or refused to file any return or to pay any tax with-
out filing a petition with the department as stated in ORS
305.385(4)(a).

(6) The agency will propose to take action against an authoriza-
tion holder identified by the Department of Revenue. If the agency
proposes to refuse to issue, renew or suspend an authorization, oppor-
tunity for hearing will be accorded as provided in ORS 183.413 to
183.470 for contested cases.

(7) Upon notification by the department and receipt of a notice
of release issued by the department that the authorization holder is in
good standing with respect to any returns due and taxes payable to the
department as of the date of the notice of release, the agency will
renew, reactivate or release from suspension the authorization upon
compliance with any qualifications for renewal or reactivation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 25.080, 25.750 - 25.785, 183.310 - 183.470,
305.385, 348.393 - 348.399, 676.606, 676.612, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.080, 25.750 - 25.783, 183.310 - 183.470,
305.385, 348.393 - 348.399, 676.612 Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; Renumbered from 331-030-0030, HLA
1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

DIVISION 30
CERTIFICATION, LICENSURE

AND REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS
331-030-0000
Application Requirements

(1) An applicant who has been the subject of any disciplinary
action, including the imposition of a civil or criminal penalty, is not
considered qualified for an Oregon authorization to practice until the
Oregon Health Licensing Agency determines the scope, applicabili-
ty and finality of the disciplinary action as it relates to the applicant’s
fitness to be issued an authorization to practice or use a professional
title under a program listed in ORS 676.606. The disciplinary record
may include, but not be limited to, actions imposed from the follow-
ing:

(a)An Oregon health professional regulatory board as defined in
ORS 676.160;

(b) A regulatory authority in Oregon or another state;
(c) A regulatory authority in another country or territory.
(2) Pursuant to ORS 181.534, 676.612 and OAR 331-030-005,

the agency may require an applicant to complete a fingerprint check
through the Oregon Department of Oregon State Police. The agency
may also conduct a criminal background check of convictions to deter-
mine whether the applicant has been convicted of a crime that may
affect the applicant’s fitness to practice in accordance with ORS
670.280.

(3) Material misrepresentation or material errors of fact on an
application for or renewal of an authorization are grounds for dis-
qualification of examination, refusal to issue or revocation of the
authorization. Refer to ORS 676.612.

(4) Application for an authorization issued for any program
administered by the agency under ORS 676.606 shall be made on
forms prescribed and furnished by the agency.

(5) To be accepted and processed, an application must contain:
(a) Applicant’s current name, address and telephone number;
(b) Applicant’s date of birth;
(c) Applicant’s signature and date of application;
(d) Applicant’s Social Security or Individual Taxpayer Identifi-

cation number.
(e) Applicant’s ethnicity (optional);
(f) Applicant’s gender (optional);
(g) Disclosure of any active or inactive disciplinary action, vol-

untary resignation of a certificate, license, permit or registration or
sanction related to authorization imposed upon the applicant by any
state or country regulatory authority;

(h) Disclosure of any active or inactive certificate, license, per-
mit or registration issued by Oregon or another state;

(i) Payment for the exact amount of required fees; and
(j) All additional information required by the particular Board,

Council or Program for which application is made.
(6) Applicants must list their Social Security or Individual Tax-

payer Identification number on a form prescribed by the agency at the
time of initial application and renewal for certification, licensure, per-
mit or registration. The authority for this requirement is ORS 25.785,
305.385, 42 USC § 405(c)(2)(C)(i), and 42 USC § 666(a)(13).

(7) Failure to provide the Social Security or Individual Taxpay-
er Identification number will be a basis to refuse to accept the appli-
cation or to issue an authorization. This information will be used for
child support enforcement and tax administration purposes, unless the
applicant authorizes other uses of the number. The authority for this
requirement is ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(c)(2)(C)(i), and
42 USC § 666(a)(13).

(8) Upon request by the agency an applicant must provide two
forms of acceptable original identification issued by a federal, state or
local government agency of the United States. The agency will con-
sider other forms of identification if the procedures used in issuing the
identification are sufficient to prove the applicant’s identity and the
identification contains security features that are sufficient to prevent
alteration or counterfeiting. Acceptable identification includes, but is
not limited to:

(a) An original or certified copy of birth certificate issued by a
U.S. Territorial government or the government of a state or political
subdivision of a state of the United States. OHLA will not accept a
hospital-issued birth certificate, hospital card or birth registration or
baptismal certificate.

(b) United States passport, not expired more than five years.
(c) United States passport card, not expired more than five years.
(d) U.S. Territory passport not expired more than five years.
(e) Tribal ID card from a federally recognized tribe located in

Oregon or a federally recognized tribe with an Oregon affiliation if
OHLA determines:

(A) The procedures used in issuing the card are sufficient to prove
the applicant’s identity; and

(B) The card contains security features that are sufficient to pre-
vent alteration or counterfeiting of the card.

(f) Certificate of Citizenship (N560 and N561).
(g) Certificate of Naturalization (N550, N570 and N578).
(h) U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-197 and I-179).
(i) U.S. Military documents including:
(A) Military or Armed Forces ID card;
(B) Military Common Access Card; or
(C) U.S. Uniform Services ID and Privileges card (DD1173 and

DD1173-1).
(j) Resident Alien card
(k) Permanent Resident card (I-551).
(l) Out-of-state, District of Columbia, U.S. Territorial government

or, instruction permit or identification card, that contains the appli-
cant’s photograph, not expired more than one year unless hole-
punched or marked “Not Valid as ID.”

(m) Valid Oregon driver license, temporary driver license,
instruction permit, or identification card. For the purposes of this sub-
section, OHLA will not accept a driver license that was issued with-
out a photograph.
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(n) Oregon Concealed Weapon Permit/Concealed Handgun
License, not expired more than one year.

(o) Social Security card or other documentation issued by the
Social Security Administration.

(9) OHLA will not accept a document as proof of identity and
date of birth if OHLAhas reason to believe the document is not valid.
The agency may request an applicant present additional documentary
proof of identity if the document presented does not establish the appli-
cant’s identity to the satisfaction of OHLA.

(10) At least one form of identification provided from the
approved list in subsection (8) of this rule must be photographic.

[Publications: Forms referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), and 42 USC §
666(a)(13), 670.280, 676.605 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC §
666(a)(13), 670.280, 676.605 & 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 12-2008(Temp), f. 11-28-08, cert.
ef. 12-1-08 thru 4-30-09;Administrative correction 5-20-09; HLA1-2009, f. & cert.
ef. 6-1-09

331-030-0004
Fingerprinting, State and Nationwide Criminal Background
Checks, Fitness Determinations

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency may conduct and
require completion of a fingerprint and criminal background check to
determine fitness of individuals applying for an authorization issued
or renewed by the agency. These will be provided on prescribed forms
provided by the agency. At the discretion of the agency, background
checks may be conducted for any of the programs administered by the
agency pursuant to ORS 676.606.

(2) Fingerprints may be obtained at a law enforcement office or
at a private service acceptable to the agency. The agency will forward
fingerprints to the Department of Oregon State Police for checks
against state and national data sources.Any original fingerprint cards
will subsequently be destroyed by the department.

NOTE: An applicant must pay the department any fees assessed for con-
ducting the fingerprint service. An applicant must arrange for the report of
the fingerprint check to be mailed directly to the Oregon Health Licensing
Agency, Regulatory Operations Division.
(3) These rules are to be applied when evaluating the criminal

history of all licensees and applicants listed in paragraph (1) of this
section, and conducting fitness determinations based upon such his-
tory. The fact that the applicant has cleared the criminal history check
does not guarantee the granting of an authorization.

(4) Except as otherwise provided in section (1), in making the fit-
ness determination the agency shall consider:

(a) The nature of the crime;
(b) The facts that support the conviction or pending indictment

or that indicate the making of the false statement;
(c) The relevancy, if any, of the crime or the false statement to

the specific requirements of the subject individual’s right to practice
in any present or proposed position, services, and employment, that
is authorized upon the issuance or renewal of the certificate, license,
permit or registration; and

(d) Intervening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities and
circumstances of the position, services, employment, certificate,
license, permit or registration. Intervening circumstances include but
are not limited to:

(A) The passage of time since the commission of the crime;
(B) The age of the subject individual at the time of the crime;
(C) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the commis-

sion of another crime:
(D) The subsequent commission of another relevant crime;
(E) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of

setting aside the conviction; and
(F) A recommendation of an employer.
(5) The agency may require fingerprints of any authorization

holders or applicant listed in paragraph (1) of this section, who is the
subject of a complaint or investigation, under authority of ORS
676.612(3)(c), for the purpose of requesting a state or nationwide crim-
inal records background check.

(6)All background checks shall be requested to include available
state and national data, unless obtaining one or the other is an accept-
able alternative.

(7)Additional information required. In order to conduct the Ore-
gon and national criminal history check and fitness determination, the

agency may require additional information from the authorization
holder or applicant as necessary. Information requested may include
but is not limited to, proof of identity; residential history; names used
while living at each residence; or additional criminal, judicial or other
background information.

(8) All Oregon and national criminal history checks, confiden-
tiality, and dissemination of information received, shall be in accor-
dance to and as applicable with ORS 181.534 through 181.560 and
OAR 257, division 10.

(9) The agency will permit the individual for whom a fingerprint-
based criminal records check was conducted, to inspect the individ-
ual’s own state and national criminal offender records and, if request-
ed by the subject individual, provide the individual with a copy of the
individual’s own state and national criminal offender records.

(10) The agency shall determine whether an individual is fit to
be granted, hold or renew an authorization, listed in paragraph (1) of
this section, based on the criminal records background check, or any
false statements made by the individual regarding criminal history of
the individual, or any refusal to submit or consent to a criminal records
check including fingerprint identification, and any other pertinent
information obtained as a part of an investigation. If an individual is
determined to be unfit, then the individual may not be granted an
authorization. The agency may make fitness determinations condi-
tional upon applicant’s acceptance of probation, conditions, or limi-
tations, or other restrictions placed upon the authorization.

(11) The agency may also consider any arrests and court records
that may be indicative of a person’s inability to perform as an autho-
rization holder with care and safety to the public.

(12) If the agency determines an applicant or authorization hold-
er is unfit, the individual is entitled to a contested case process pur-
suant to ORS 183. Challenges to the accuracy or completeness of
information provided by the Oregon State Police, Federal Bureau of
Investigation and agencies reporting information must be made
through the Oregon State Police, Federal Bureau of Investigation, or
reporting agency and not through the contested case process pursuant
to ORS 183.

(13) If the applicant discontinues the application process or fails
to cooperate with the criminal history background check the agency
considers the application incomplete.

Stat.Auth.: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC § 666(a)(13),
670.280, 676.605, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC §
666(a)(13), 670.280, 676.605, 676.615
Hist.: HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-030-0010
Procedure for Issuing and Renewing Certificates, Licenses and
Registrations

(1) Subject to ORS 676.612, authorizations issued by the Oregon
Health Licensing Agency will be issued to qualified applicants after
conducting fitness determinations and upon compliance with all
requirements established by rules adopted by the agency.

(2) With the exception of temporary or demonstration permits,
all authorizations will expire on the last day of the month, two years
from the date the authorization was issued.

(3) The authorization will state the holder’s name, address, autho-
rization number, expiration date and bear the signature of the holder.
The authorization will be mailed to the place of residence or mailing
address recorded on the application and may substantiated through
acceptable identification listed in OAR 331-030-0000.

(4) The agency may mail notice of expiration to the authoriza-
tion holder, sending the notice to the last known address on file. The
authorization holder is responsible for submitting a timely application
for renewal whether or not a renewal form was mailed by the agen-
cy.

(5)Application for renewal shall be made in advance of the expi-
ration date, and shall be submitted together with the required fee(s) and
documentation, as the individual program stipulates for renewal. Pay-
ment must be postmarked or received by the agency during regular
business hours on or before the expiration date.An authorization may
be renewed using the agency’s online renewal system accessed at
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/onlinerenewals.shtml.

(6)An application for renewal and payment received by the agen-
cy or postmarked after the expiration date may be assessed delinquent
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renewal fee(s) according to requirements stipulated in each individu-
al program’s rules for certificate, license or registration renewal.

(7) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this rule, the agency may
vary the renewal date of an authorization by giving the applicant writ-
ten notice of the renewal date being assigned and by making prorat-
ed adjustments to the renewal fee.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605 & 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 12-2008(Temp), f. 11-28-08, cert.
ef. 12-1-08 thru 4-30-09;Administrative correction 5-20-09; HLA1-2009, f. & cert.
ef. 6-1-09

331-030-0020
Authorization; Replacements

(1) An individual shall not display a sign or in any way adver-
tise or purport to be an authorization holder or to be engaged in prac-
tice, or use a professional title, without first obtaining an authoriza-
tion in the manner required according to statute and rules of a program
administered by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency under ORS
676.606.

(2) The agency shall issue only one original authorization.
(3) The possession or posting of more than one of the same cur-

rent authorization (original or replacement) is prohibited.
(4)All authorization holders must have immediate access to pho-

tographic identification as listed in OAR 331-030-0000 whenever per-
forming services or open for businessAuthorization holders must pro-
vide agency representatives with the appropriate identification
immediately upon request.

(5) If for any reason a person is mistakenly issued a document
that contains a material error and superseded by a corrected document,
the agency has the authority to demand surrender of the incorrect
authorization document issued by the agency. The individual must sur-
render the document requested within the time determined by the
agency.

(6) The agency may issue a replacement authorization document,
if:

(a) A written request for a replacement is submitted to the agen-
cy which contains the authorization holder’s name, authorization num-
ber, address, telephone number, employment information, and a state-
ment attesting that the original authorization has been lost, stolen or
destroyed;

(b) The authorization is valid, current and not expired, suspend-
ed or revoked;

(c) Payment of the replacement fee accompanies the request;
(d) The authorization holder is not subject to any outstanding civil

penalties or other disciplinary action.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.410, 676.605, 676.615, 690.015, 680.505,
687.415, 690.355, 694.025, 688.805, 700.020
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.410, 676.605, 676.615, 690.015, 680.505, 687.415,
690.355, 694.025, 688.805, 700.020
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-030-0025
Emergency Response

Practice in Oregon by out-of-state authorization holders in the
event of an emergency:

(1) In the event of a disaster or emergency declared by the Gov-
ernor of Oregon, the Oregon Health Licensing Agency shall allow
authorization holders who are licensed in another state, performing ser-
vices in a field of professional practice regulated by the agency under
ORS 676.606, to practice in Oregon under special provisions during
the period of the declared disaster or emergency, subject to such lim-
itations and conditions as the Governor may prescribe.

(2) The out-of-state authorization holder must submit the fol-
lowing information to the agency:

(a) Verification of a permanent, current, and unrestricted autho-
rization to practice in another state which is not the subject of a pend-
ing investigation or disciplinary action by a state board, or another
state or federal agency; and

(b) Current federal or state photo identification, i.e., driver license
or passport.

(3) The authorization holder shall provide the agency documen-
tation demonstrating a request to provide services by an agency rec-
ognized public health organization, Emergency Medical Service
(EMS) agency, county, state or federal entity, or has otherwise made
arrangements to provide services within the practitioner’s scope of pro-

fessional practice in Oregon as the result of the declaration of a dis-
aster or emergency.

(4) The authorization holder may not practice in Oregon under
the special disaster or emergency provisions beyond the termination
date of the declared disaster or emergency as prescribed by the Gov-
ernor. Practice in Oregon beyond the termination date of the declared
disaster or emergency requires licensure through the Oregon Health
Licensing Agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.606, 676.612, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.612, 676.615
Hist.: HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-030-0030 [Renumbered to 331-020-0080]
331-030-0040
Affidavit of Licensure

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document or other
approved means of verifying an authorization to practice (certification,
licensure or registration) status and history, including information dis-
closing all unresolved or outstanding penalties and/or disciplinary
actions. The agency shall determine the method used to verify an appli-
cant’s authorization to practice using one or more of the following:

(a) An applicant shall arrange for the originating regulatory
authority to forward directly to the agency a current and original “Affi-
davit of Licensure” document, signed by an authorized representative
of the regulatory authority and affixed with an official seal or stamp
to the document. The document is issued and signed by the regulato-
ry authority in the state which issued the authorization with an offi-
cial seal or stamp affixed to the document; it is not the certificate,
license or registration form issued which authorizes the holder to prac-
tice. The applicant is responsible for payment of any service fee the
originating state may assess for producing the affidavit.

(b) The agency may verify an applicant’s authorization to prac-
tice in another state through accessing the regulatory entity’s Web site
and using on-line licensing verification systems to validate informa-
tion required to determine an applicant’s qualifications and fitness to
practice in a program administered under ORS 676.606. The agency
will assess a charge for obtaining a verification of licensure from
another state by means of computer based data system.

(c) The document may be electronically transmitted to the agen-
cy from the originating state. The applicant is responsible for payment
of any service fee the originating state may assess for producing the
affidavit.

(2)AnAffidavit of Licensure document hand delivered or mailed
by the applicant and not mailed directly or transmitted through an
approved means to the agency from the originating state will invali-
date qualification for certification, scheduling and examination.

NOTE: The Affidavit of Licensure may be referred to as a “Verification of
Licensure” or “License Verification” by other regulatory entities. Both terms
have the same purpose in disclosing an applicant’s licensing status and his-
tory.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.606, 676.612, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.612, 676.615
Hist.: HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

DIVISION 105
BOARD OFATHLETIC TRAINERS:
GENERALADMINISTRATION

331-105-0020
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-105-0000 through
331-125-0020.

(1) “Accredited” means fully accredited and approved to offer
degrees at the specified level by an agency or association recognized
as an accreditor by the U.S. Secretary of Education, under the 1965
Higher Education Act as amended at the time of recognition, or hav-
ing candidacy status with such an accrediting agency or association
whose pre-accreditation is also recognized specifically for HEA pur-
poses by the Secretary of Education, or the foreign equivalency of such
accreditation as determined in consultation with the Office of Degree
Authorization.

(2) “Board” means, pursuant to ORS 688.705, the entity that
advises the agency in matters relating to the practice of athletic train-
ing, including practice standards, education and training requirements,
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and advises the agency on all disciplinary issues in accordance with
ORS 688.709 and 688.734. The agency director controls the regula-
tory operations and has decision-making authority on all substantive
matters.

(3) “Board of Certification for anAthletic Trainer” (BOC) means
the national organization that provides a certification program for the
entry-level athletic trainer and establishes requirements for maintain-
ing status as a certified athletic trainer.

(4) “Athletic Trainer” means a person who is registered by the
Board of Athletic Trainers to practice athletic training as defined in
ORS 688.701.

(5) “Date of registration” means the date upon which the appli-
cant has met all requirements for registration and is issued a valid cur-
rent registration document.

(6) “Director” means the individual who is responsible for the
performance of the Oregon Health Licensing Agency as defined in
ORS 676.610. The director appoints all subordinate officers and
employees to carry out the duties of the agency.

(7) “Equivalent” means substantially comparable but not iden-
tical, covering the same subject matter or requirement.

(8) “Expired registration” means a registration that is not renewed
prior to the expiration date and lapses into inactive status.

(9) “Oregon Health LicensingAgency” means the central licens-
ing department assigned to carry out the administrative, programmatic
and daily operations, and regulatory functions of the Boards, Coun-
cils and Programs listed in ORS 676.606.

(10) “Registration” means the document issued by the agency
authorizing the holder to practice athletic training and use the title
“Athletic Trainer, Registered.”

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 5
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 5
Hist.: HD 8-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-94; HDLB 2-1996, f. 12-13-96, cert. ef. 2-1-
97, Renumbered from 333-315-0010; HDLP 1-2000(Temp), f. 2-14-00, cert. ef. 2-
15-00 thru 8-11-00; HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-
29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 2-2006, f. 11-30-06, cert. ef. 12-1-06

331-105-0030
Fees

(1) Applicants and registrants are subject to the provisions of
OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees,
penalties and charges.

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health LicensingAgency are
as follows:

(a) Application:
(A) Registration: $100.
(B) Registration by reciprocity: $150.
(b) Examination — Oregon laws & rules: $50.
(c) Original issuance of registration (including by reciprocity):

$450.
(d) Permits and waivers: $150.
(e) Renewal of registration: $450.
(f) Delinquent (late) renewal of registration: $25 for the first

month in expired status, and $10 each month thereafter while in an
expired status.

(g) Reinstatement: $150.
(h) Replacement of registration, including name change: $25.
(i) Duplicate registration document: $25 per copy with maximum

of three.
(j) Affidavit of licensure: $50.
(k) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment
of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.

Stat. Auth.: 1999 OL Ch. 736, Sec. 5(3) & (4) & Sec. 10
Stats. Implemented: 1999 OL Ch. 736, Sec. 5(3) & (4) & Sec. 10
Hist.: HDLB 2-1996, f. 12-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; HDLP 1-2000(Temp), f. 2-14-
00, cert. ef. 2-15-00 thru 8-11-00;Administrative correction 3-16-00; HDLP 3-2000,
f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 2-2006,
f. 11-30-06, cert. ef. 12-1-06; HLA 3-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

DIVISION 110
BOARD OFATHLETIC TRAINERS

APPLICATIONAND QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS
331-110-0005
Training/Education Requirements

At the time of application for Oregon registration, an applicant
is required to provide adequate documentation of a bachelor’s degree
from an accredited four-year college or university pursuant to ORS
688.720 and satisfactory completion of one of the following train-
ing/education qualification pathways:

(1) Official documentation of a passing score of the BOC or doc-
umentation of successful completion of an equivalent examination
approved or recognized by the Board. The applicant must provide offi-
cial documentation verifying current certification by the BOC at the
time of application for Oregon registration. The applicant assumes
responsibility for payment of fees assessed by BOC in obtaining
required official documentation; or

(2) Official documentation verifying completion of course work,
education and practical work experience as follows:

(a) Graduation from an entry-level Commission onAccreditation
of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) curriculum in ath-
letic training; or

(b) Successful completion of approved course work, by means
of official transcripts submitted directly from the education institution
by mail to the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. At least one course
must be completed in each if the following areas: health (i.e. nutrition,
drugs/substance abuse, health education, personal health and well-
ness), human anatomy, kinesiology/biomechanics, human physiology,
physiology of exercise, basic athletic training, and advanced athletic
training or in related subject areas approved by the board. Completion
of at least 1500 hours of practical work experience in athletic train-
ing under the supervision of a qualified athletic trainer or other qual-
ified professional approved by the Board. Practical work experience
must meet the following requirements and criteria:

(A) Experience must be gained over a period of the previous two
calendar years;

(B) At least 1000 hours must be attained in a traditional athletic
training setting at the interscholastic, intercollegiate, or professional
sports level.

(C) The remaining balance of practical hours, not to exceed 500
hours, may be attained from an allied clinical setting and/or sports
camp setting under the supervision of a qualified athletic trainer or
other qualified professional as approved by the Board.

(D)At least twenty-five percent of the hours obtained must be in
actual on-location practice and/or game coverage with one or more of
the following sports: football, soccer, hockey, wrestling, basketball,
gymnastics, lacrosse, volleyball, rugby, rodeo or other high risk sport
approved by the Board.

(3)Applicants who hold a current athletic training licensing cre-
dential issued from another state, territory, or country must arrange for
a completed Affidavit of Registration, issued from the credentialing
state, to be mailed directly to theAgency. TheAffidavit must attest to
the applicant’s registration record and indicate successful completion
of an examination by an entity recognized or sanctioned by the Board.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(2), (3) & (6) & Sec. 8
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(2), (3) & (6) & Sec. 8
Hist.: HDLP 1-2000(Temp), f. 2-14-00, cert. ef. 2-15-00 thru 8-11-00; HDLP 3-
2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HDLP4-2000, f. 11-17-00, cert. ef. 11-20-00; HLO
3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 2-2006, f. 11-30-06, cert. ef. 12-1-06

331-110-0010
Application Requirements

(1) Individuals applying for registration to practice athletic train-
ing must meet the requirements of OAR 331-030-0000 in addition to
the provisions of this rule.

(2)Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and provide a copy
of their birth certificate, driver’s license, passport, or school/mili-
tary/governmental record with age documented.

(3) Applicants must submit a completed application form pre-
scribed by the agency, which shall contain the information listed in
OAR 331-030-0000 and be accompanied by payment of the applica-
tion and registration fees and include the following:
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(a) Disclosure of all information pertaining to degree from a four
year accredited college or university;

(b) Information pertaining to satisfactory completion of compe-
tency examination, including examination type, source, date, location
and score(s); and

(c) A copy of a cardio-pulmonary resuscitation certification
(CPR). The CPR course must include adult CPR techniques from a
source approved by the Board.A valid emergency medical technician
certification is an acceptable alternative for satisfying the CPR require-
ment; and

(d) Documentation verifying completion of required train-
ing/education according to the provisions of OAR 331-110-0005.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(3) & (6) & Sec. 8
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(3) & (6) & Sec. 8
Hist.: HD 8-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-94; HDLB 2-1996, f. 12-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-
97, Renumbered from 333-315-0020; HDLP 1-2000(Temp), f. 2-14-00, cert. ef. 2-
15-00 thru 8-11-00; HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-
29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 2-2006, f. 11-30-06, cert. ef. 12-1-06

331-110-0055
Registration Required; Exception

(1) To practice athletic training in the state of Oregon, individu-
als must be registered in accordance with ORS 688.718.

(2) Athletic trainers or other designated persons from another
state, or territory, who are performing services for their respective team
or for a sponsoring organization and only during the course of that
team’s stay or the duration of a sponsored event in this state, are not
required to hold an Oregon registration or to apply for a waiver if the
time in Oregon is less than 60 days in one calendar year.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(3) & Sec. 6(2)(e)
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(3) & Sec. 6(2)(e)
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04; HLA 2-2006, f. 11-30-06, cert. ef. 12-1-06

DIVISION 115
ATHLETIC TRAINER REGISTRATION

331-115-0020
Registration Issuance

(1) Registrants are subject to the provisions of OAR 331-030-
0010 regarding issuance and renewal of a registration, and to the pro-
visions of OAR 331-030-0020 regarding authorization to practice,
identification and requirements for issuance of a duplicate authoriza-
tion document.

(2) Registration must be documented under the applicant’s legal
name. When a name is changed, the following items must be submit-
ted so the agency’s records reflect the new name:

(a) A signed change of name notification;
(b) A copy of the legal document showing the name change;
(c) Return of the registration form issued and payment of replace-

ment fee if a corrected registration is requested prior to the scheduled
renewal date.

Stat. Auth.: Ch. 736, OL 1999
Stats. Implemented: Ch. 736, OL 1999
Hist.: HD 8-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-94; HDLB 2-1996, f. 12-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-
97, Renumbered from 333-315-0030; HDLP 1-2000(Temp), f. 2-14-00, cert. ef. 2-
15-00 thru 8-11-00; HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00, Renumbered from
331-110-0020; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-115-0030
Registration Renewal; Reinstatement

(1)A registration renewal application received by the agency, or
postmarked, after the registration has expired but within one year from
the expiration date, may be renewed upon payment of the renewal and
delinquency fees and submitting the required attestation of having
obtained the required number of continuing education credits. Refer
to OAR 331-125-0010.

(2)A registration which has been expired for more than one year
but less than two may be reinstated if the applicant completes the fol-
lowing requirements:

(a) Submits verification of a valid cardiopulmonary resuscitation
certification;

(b) Pays registration renewal and reinstatement fees; and
(c) Provides documentation of continuing education during the

period while the registration was in expired, suspended or probation-
ary status.

(3) Registrations that have been expired beyond two years are not
renewable. An individual may apply for a new registration by meet-
ing the requirements of OAR 331-110-0010.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(3), Sec. 5(2) & Sec. 9
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(3), Sec. 5(2) & Sec. 9
Hist.: HD 8-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-94; HDLB 2-1996, f. 12-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-
97, Renumbered from 333-315-0030; HDLP 1-2000(Temp), f. 2-14-00, cert. ef. 2-
15-00 thru 8-11-00; HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00, Renumbered from
331-110-0020; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-115-0060
Registration Display and Posting Requirements

(1) Registrants must show proof of valid registration with the
Board upon request or post the registration document in public view
at the athletic trainer’s primary workplace.

(2) The registrant’s address printed on the registration document
may be concealed from public view.

(3) Registrants must carry the registration identification card
(pocket card) with them, or post in plain view, the official registration
anytime services are being provided.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 5(1) & (2)
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 5(1) & (2)
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

DIVISION 120
PRACTICE STANDARDS

331-120-0000
Profession Statement

(1) The purpose of the Oregon Board of Athletic Trainers is to
protect the health, safety, and welfare of Oregon’s citizens by grant-
ing or withholding the privilege of practicing athletic training in accor-
dance with strict standards for education and conduct; to regulate the
use of that privilege in such a way that the public is protected from the
practice of athletic training by unauthorized or unqualified persons
from unprofessional conduct by Board registrants; and to build and
encourage athletic training excellence in Oregon.

(2) In addition to its licensing function, the Oregon Health
Licensing Agency conducts investigations, imposes disciplinary
actions, and in collaboration with the Board supports rehabilitation
education and initiatives, which further the Board’s legislative man-
date to protect the citizens of Oregon.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(5)
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(5)
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04; HLA 2-2006, f. 11-30-06, cert. ef. 12-1-06

331-120-0010
Scope of Practice

The scope of practice of athletic training by a registered athlet-
ic trainer shall consist of the following:

(1) The education, instruction, application and monitoring of facts
and circumstances required to protect the athlete from athletic injury,
including but not limited to:

(a) The identification, through physical examinations or screen-
ing processes, of preexisting

physical conditions that may pose a risk of injury to an athlete.
(b) The supervision and maintenance of athletic equipment to

assure safety.
(2) The recognition, evaluation and immediate care of injuries

occurring during athletic events or in the practice for athletic events
including the following;

(a) Performance of strength testing using mechanical devices or
other standard techniques;

(b)Application of tape, braces and protective devices to prevent
injury;

(c) Administration of standard techniques of first aid;
(d) Use of emergency care equipment to aid the injured athlete

by facilitating safe transportation to an appropriate medical facility;
(e) Determination of the level of functional capacity of an injured

athlete in order to establish the extent of an injury;
(3) The gathering and accurate recording of all information

required in the assessment of athletic injuries.
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(4) The development and implementation of an appropriate
course of rehabilitation and/or reconditioning by the use of therapeu-
tic modalities, including but not limited to: water, cold, heat, electri-
cal, mechanical and acoustical devices, massage, manual techniques,
gait training exercise, and physical capacity functional programs which
are determined to be needed to facilitate recovery, restore athletic func-
tion and/or performance;

(5) Athletic Trainers may dispense only non-scheduled medica-
tions under the supervision of a physician. Athletic Trainers shall not
perform invasive procedures.Athletic Trainers may dispense and apply
topical non-prescription medication;

(6) The determination and implementation of a plan for appro-
priate health care administration.

(7) Referral of an athlete to appropriate medical personnel as
needed.

(8) Organization of a medical care service delivery system for
athletes when needed.

(9) Establishment of plans to manage an athlete’s medical emer-
gencies;

(10) The education and/or providing of athletic training guidance
to injured athletes for the purpose of facilitating recovery, function
and/or performance of the athlete.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 1(4)
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 1(4)
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HDLP 4-2000, f. 11-17-00, cert.
ef. 11-20-00

331-120-0020
Standards of Practice

Athletic trainers shall adhere to the following standards of pro-
fessional conduct.

(1) Physician Collaboration:Athletic trainers are required to col-
laborate with a physician in the treatment of an athletic injury as pro-
vided in OAR 331-120-0030.

(2) RegisteredAthletic Trainers shall be responsible for the con-
duct and performance of student assistants under their supervision.

(3) Documentation: Athletic trainers are required to accept
responsibility for recording details of the athlete’s health status and
include details of the injured athlete’s medical history, including name,
address and legal guardian if a minor, referral source, all assessments,
test results, database by date of service provided, treatment plan and
estimated length for recovery, record all methods used, results
achieved, any changes in the treatment plan, record the date that the
treatment plan is concluded and provide a summary, sign and date each
entry.

(4) Confidentiality:Athletic trainers are required to maintain con-
fidentiality and in a timely manner communicate assessment results,
treatment program plans, or periodic progress reports with any other
person involved in the injured athlete’s treatment.

(5) Initial Assessment: Prior to treatment, athletic trainers are
required to assess the athlete’s history and level of functioning.

(6) Treatment Program Planning: The treatment program objec-
tives must include goals, expectations and measures to determine the
effectiveness of the program.

(7) Athletic trainers are required to observe the Standard Pre-
cautions adopted by the Centers for Disease Control as defined in Ore-
gon Administrative Rules 437 division 2, when providing services to
clients.

(8) Working under the influence of alcohol or any drugs, includ-
ing prescription medications, which may impair performance, is pro-
hibited. Athletic trainers are required to seek professional assistance
through a diversion program if necessary to achieve and maintain free-
dom from substance abuse.

(9) Sexual misconduct in the practice of athletic training is pro-
hibited.

(10) Practicing athletic training or offering to perform services
beyond the scope of practice permitted by law and defined in ORS
688.701, is prohibited.

(11) Performing services which have not been authorized by the
consumer or his/her legal representative is prohibited.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(5)
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(5)
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HDLP 4-2000, f. 11-17-00, cert.
ef. 11-21-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 2-2006, f. 11-30-06,
cert. ef. 12-1-06

331-120-0030
Collaboration Between Athletic Trainers and Physicians

(1) “Collaboration” as used in this section means consultation,
correspondence, or referral between an athletic trainer and a physician.
Collaboration may be initiated by the athletic trainer or physician, and
consists of oral or written communication between the parties or an
appropriate representative of the physician. “Collaboration” as used
in OAR 331-120-0020 and this section, does not mean providing care
on behalf of, jointly, or in concert with one another.

(2) “Consultation” as used in this section means discussing and/or
sharing information with another health care provider that is consis-
tent with the requirements of state and federal law regarding confi-
dentiality for the purposes of obtaining information or recommenda-
tions for the provision of care to the athlete.

(3) “Referral” as used in this section means directing the athlete
to other resources for purposes of care, treatment, assessment or inter-
vention.

(4) An athletic trainer must consult with or refer an athlete to a
physician when the athletic injury is beyond the athletic trainer’s scope
of practice or expertise, or in those instances where the injury is not
responding to treatment. Specific conditions requiring referral to a
physician should include:

(a) Any suspected fracture;
(b) Limb malalignment;
(c) Joint instability;
(d) Bone deformity;
(e) A concussion with symptoms lasting more than 15 minutes

or any loss of consciousness;
(f) Injury that is not improving within expected amount of time;
(g) Any life threatening injury;
(h) Any suspected damage to internal organs;
(i) Any unresolving or recurrent neurological injury.
(5) The athletic trainer must appropriately record collaboration

with a physician regarding an athlete or athletic injury in an accept-
able manner, such as notation on injury reports, medical records,
and/or progress reports.

(6) Nothing in this section or these rules shall be construed to pre-
vent a physician from employing, directing, supervising, establishing
protocols for, or otherwise assisting a registered athletic trainer in the
practice of athletic training consistent with the scope of practice and
professional standards of each practitioner.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(10)
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(10)
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HDLP 4-2000, f. 11-17-00, cert.
ef. 11-20-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 125
CONTINUING EDUCATION

331-125-0000
Continued Competency

(1) To ensure continuing efforts on the part of Oregon registered
athletic trainers to remain current with new developments in athletic
training and to encourage diversified training and qualifications in the
profession continuing education is required as a condition of regis-
tration.

(2) Continuing education experiences are programs beyond the
basic education required to obtain registration which are designed to
promote and enrich knowledge, improve skills, and develop attitudes
for the enhancement of the practices of registered athletic trainers, thus
improving athletic training care to the public.

(3) Continuing education requirements apply whether the appli-
cant renewing registration is living or working within Oregon or out-
side of the state, so long as Oregon registration is maintained.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(8)
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(8)
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-125-0010
Continuing Education Requirements

(1) Registrants must complete 75 clock hours of continuing edu-
cation coinciding with BOC’s three-year reporting period. The three-
year period is independent of the date of first registration. Reporting
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periods begin January 1 and end December 31 in three-year incre-
ments.

(2) Required continuing education will be pro-rated according to
the date initial Oregon registration occurs within BOC’s continuing
education three-year reporting period. Requirements are as follows:

(a) Registrations issued during the first year of a three-year
reporting period require completion of 50 clock hours of continuing
education within the reporting period.

(b) Registrations issued during the second year of a the three-year
reporting period require completion of 25 clock hours of continuing
education within the reporting period.

(c) Registrations issued during the third year of the three-year
reporting period do not require completion of any clock hours of con-
tinuing education to be eligible for a first renewal of a registration.

(3) Continuing education obtained by a registrant will be
approved if the content or experience falls within at the scope of prac-
tice for athletic training identified in OAR 331-120-0010.

(4) The Board recognizes, as its approved criteria in determin-
ing qualification for registration renewal, BOC’s January 1, 2006,
adopted continuing education requirements and current guidelines,
including pre-approved courses and providers, continuing education
categoriesA through E, contact hour requirements and limitations for
awarding credit based on category type and source. Continuing edu-
cation must be obtained from the following sources: Symposiums,
seminars, workshops, conference; speaker or panelist at allied health
care professional setting; author, co-author, contributing author, or edi-
tor of publication, such as journal, article or textbook; approved home
study, such as video, audio tapes, software program or on-line course;
post certification education at college or university; and cardiopul-
monary resuscitation.A copy of BOC’s January 1, 2006, adopted con-
tinuing education requirements is available for review at the agency
and on-line at BOC’s website www.bocatc.org.

(5) Continuing education acquired from sources identified in
BOC’s Category E adopted in January 1, 2006, will be reviewed on
a case-by-case basis to determine Board approval. Education must be
pertinent to the scope of practice for athletic training listed in OAR
331-120-0010. Documentation for approval of continuing education
must address the following criteria:

(a) Relevance of the subject matter to increase or support the
development of skill and competence in athletic training;

(b) Objectives of specific information or skill to be learned;
(c) Subject matter, educational methods, materials, and facilities

utilized, including the frequency and duration of sessions and the ade-
quacy to implement learner objectives; and

(d) Sponsorship and leadership of programs, including the name
of the sponsoring individual(s) or organization(s), and program lead-
ers or faculty if different from sponsors and contact person.

(6) Credit for completion of continuing education will be limit-
ed according to course work type, source and categories identified by
BOC and adopted in January 1, 2006.A copy of contact hour require-
ments is available for review at the agency and on-line at BOC’s web-
site www.bocatc.org.

(7) Continuing education credit will not be awarded to registrants
for the following activities:

(a) Education incidental to the regular professional activities of
a registrant, such as learning occurring from experience or research;

(b) Professional organization activity, such as serving on com-
mittees or councils or as an officer;

(c)Activities, with the exception of CPR, which have been com-
pleted more than once during the continuing education period; or

(d) Performance of duties that are routine job duties or require-
ments.

(8) Continuing education hours earned in excess of those required
for the reporting period may not be carried forward for credit toward
meeting future requirements.

(9) Documentation of continuing education hours earned must be
furnished to the Board only when selected for audit.

(10)At the time of application for renewal, registrants must sub-
mit the completed renewal form, affix their signature attesting to com-
pletion of required continuing education, and pay appropriate fees.

(11) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing edu-
cation requirements must be maintained for a period of two years fol-
lowing the last day of any reporting period and be available to the
agency upon request.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(8)
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(8)
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HDLP 4-2000, f. 11-17-00, cert.
ef. 11-20-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 2-2006, f. 11-30-06,
cert. ef. 12-1-06

331-125-0020
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Health Licensing Office will audit a select percentage of
licensee records determined by the Board to verify compliance with
continuing education requirements. Audit will commence within six
months after the end of a NATABOC reporting period.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days from the
date of notification, satisfactory evidence of participation in required
continuing education in accordance with OAR 331-125-0010.

(3) Documentation of attendance at a program or course provided
must include either a copy of the current valid NATABOC certifica-
tion or all of the following:

(a) Name of sponsoring institution/association or organization;
(b) Title of presentation and description of content;
(c) Name of instructor or presenter;
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours;
(e) Course agenda;
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance.
(4) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-

plete, the practitioner must correct the deficiency within 30 calendar
days from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency within
the prescribed time shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(5) Misrepresentation of continuing education or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include but is not limited to, assessment
of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the registration.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(8)
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 4(8)
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

DIVISION 135
DISCIPLINE; CIVIL PENALTIES

331-135-0000
Investigative Authority

The Oregon Health Licensing Agency may initiate and conduct
investigations of matters relating to the practice of athletic training,
pursuant to ORS 676.608, and may take appropriate disciplinary action
in accordance with the provisions of 676.612 and 688.734.

Stat. Auth.: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 5(8), 6(1) & 11
Stats. Implemented: OL 1999, Ch. 736, Sec. 5(8), 6(1) & 11
Hist.: HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00, cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04; HLA 2-2006, f. 11-30-06, cert. ef. 12-1-06

DIVISION 205
BODY PIERCING LICENSING PROGRAM

GENERALADMINISTRATION
331-205-0020
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, divisions
200 through 225:

(1) “Acceptable” means satisfactory or adequate; fulfilling the
needs or requirements of a specified rule, provision or policy.

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. The
agency is responsible for the budget, personnel, performance-based
outcomes, consumer protection, fee collection, mediation, complaint
resolution, discipline, rulemaking and record keeping.

(3) “Antiseptic” means product used to stop or inhibit the growth
of bacteria.

(4) “Approved” means acceptable to the Oregon Health Licens-
ing Agency.

(5) “Clean” means the absence of soil and dirt.
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(6) “Communicable disease or condition” means diseases or con-
ditions diagnosed by a licensed physician as being contagious or trans-
missible which include but are not limited to the following:

(a) Chickenpox;
(b) Diphtheria;
(c) Measles;
(d) Meningococcal Disease;
(e) Mumps;
(f) Pertussis (whooping cough);
(g) Plague;
(h) Poison oak (a transmittable form of “contact dermatitis”);
(i) Rubella;
(j) Scabies;
(k) Staphylococcal skin infection (boils, infected wounds);
(l) Streptococcal infections (Strep throat);
(m) Tinea (ring worm);
(n) Tuberculosis.
(7) “Completed procedure” means a piercing which has been fin-

ished.
(8) “Cosmetic” means a preparation designed to beautify the

body.
(9) “Director” means the individual who is responsible for the

performance of the agency as defined in ORS 676.610. The director
appoints all subordinate officers and employees to carry out the duties
of the agency.

(10) “Earlobe” means the lowest part of the auricle; it consists
of fat and fibrous tissue not reinforced by the auricular cartilage.

(11) “Easily accessible” means unrestricted use or availability,
easy to approach or enter.

(12) “Enclosed storage area” means separate room, closet, cup-
board or cabinet.

(13) “Equivalent” means comparable but not identical, covering
the same subject matter.

(14) “Facility” means an establishment in which technicians per-
form the act of body piercing, and includes all areas used by a body-
piercing technician and clients, including but not limited to treatment
area and waiting/reception area.

(15) “Health Licensing Office” means the agency.
(16) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, which has

demonstrated tuberculocidal activity and is registered with the EPAor
approved by the FDA.

(17) “Instruments” means body-piercing equipment. Such
equipment includes but is not limited to piercing needles, forceps,
hemostats, tweezers, or other implements used to pierce, puncture, or
be inserted into any part of the human body for the intended purpose
of making a permanent hole. Such equipment also includes studs,
hoops, rings or other decorative jewelry, materials or apparatuses
inserted into any part of the human body for the intended purpose of
placement in the hole resulting from piercing.

(18) “Linens” means cloths or towels used for such things as
draping or protecting table.

(19) “Low-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, which has
demonstrated bactericidal, germicidal, fungicidal and limited viruci-
dal activity and is registered with the EPA.

(20) “Needle” means implement used to pierce or puncture a hole
in any part of the human body.

(21) “Operatory” means:
(a) A screened or separated area away from public access and

viewing, isolated from a reception or waiting area, when piercings are
conducted upon the genital, nipple, or any other discreet part of a per-
son’s body; or

(b) A designated area, which is segregated from other business
activities or services, when ear-piercing services are conducted. The
designated area may consist solely of a table, workstation and/or chair
independent of any other retail or merchandise activities.

(22) “Owner” means and includes every person having owner-
ship, control or custody of any place of business or employment.

(23) “Permanent Hole” means a hole produced by piercing or
puncturing any part of the human body, with instruments intended to
leave an opening in body tissue(s) into which an appropriate device
or apparatus may be inserted. Permanent hole includes any body part
newly pierced or punctured which is undergoing a healing process;
and, any piercing whether or not removal of a device or apparatus from

the perforation would result in fusing or healing of the tissue or skin
structures.

(24) “Person” means one or more individuals, legal representa-
tives, partnerships, joint ventures, associations, corporations (whether
or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any organized group of
persons.

(25) “Piercing gun” means a hand-held tool manufactured exclu-
sively for piercing the earlobe, into which studs and clutches are placed
and inserted into the earlobe by a hand-squeezed action to create a per-
manent hole. The tool is made of plastic, stainless steel or other mate-
rial that can be disinfected.

(26) “Place or places of business” means the name, mailing
address, and location where the registrant or person provides piercing
services.

(27) “Premises” means the entire area of the facility where body-
piercing services are provided.

(28) “Program” means established within the agency with no
advisory board.

(29) “Protective gloves” means gloves made of vinyl, latex or
“Nitrile”.

(30) “Public view” means open to view and easy for the public
to see, located in the waiting or lobby area of place of business.

(31) “Renew” means to extend a current license or registration
for a two year period beyond expiration or to bring an inactive license
or registration to current, active status.

(32) “Sharps” means any object that can penetrate the skin,
including but not limited to needles, scalpel blades, lancets, glass tubes
that could be broken during handling and syringes that have been
removed from their original sterile containers.

(33) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof
container that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation, and
disposal. The container must be red and may be labeled with the “Bio-
hazard” symbol.

(34) “Single Use” means products, instruments or items that are
disposed of after each use, including but not limited to cotton swabs
or balls, tissues or paper products, paper or plastic cups, gauze and san-
itary coverings, piercing needles and protective gloves.

(35) “Standard Precautions” means a set of guidelines and con-
trols, which outline certain practices which health workers should
employ in order to prevent parenteral, mucous-membrane, and no
intact skin exposure to blood-borne pathogens as published by the
Centers for Disease Control (CDC).

(36) “Sterilization” means destruction of all forms of macrobi-
otic life, including spores.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.540, 690.560 & 690.570 (1995 OL Ch. 562)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04; HLA 4-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-205-0030
Fees

(1) Applicants, licensees and registrants are subject to the pro-
visions of OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the pay-
ment of fees, penalties and charges.

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health LicensingAgency are
as follows:

(a) Application:
(A) Technician registration — earlobe piercing: $25.
(B) Technician registration — body piercing: $50.
(C) Facility license: $200.
(b) Examination — Oregon laws and rules: $50.
(c) Original issuance of authorization to practice:
(A) Technician registration — earlobe piercing: $50.
(B) Technician registration — body piercing: $100.
(C) Facility license: $350.
(d) Renewal of authorization to practice:
(A) Technician registration — earlobe piercing: $50.
(B) Technician registration — body piercing: $100.
(C) Facility license: $350.
(D) Expired technician registration — earlobe piercing: $75.
(E) Expired technician registration — body piercing: $150
(F) Expired facility license: $500.
(e) Replacement of license or registration, including name

change: $25.
(f) Duplicate registration document: $25.
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(g) Affidavit of licensure: $50.
(h) An addition $25 administrative processing fee will be

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for the pay-
ment of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570 (1995 OL Ch. 562, effec-
tive 9-9-95)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570 (1995 OL Ch. 562,
effective 9-9-95)
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HLO 2-2003, f. 5-6-03, cert. ef. 5-15-
03; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04; HLA 4-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-
08

DIVISION 210
BODY PIERCING LICENSING PROGRAM

APPLICATION FOR LICENSUREAND REGISTRATION
331-210-0000
Facility Licensure; Criteria

The Health Licensing Office will issue a facility license to qual-
ified persons as provided in OAR 331-030-0010, and if the applicant:

(1) Is at least 18 years of age, if a natural person. If the applicant
is an entity other than a natural person, the entity must be formed and
operated in accordance with Oregon law.

(2) Provides current government issued photographic documen-
tation confirming date of birth, such as a driver’s license, passport or
school/military/governmental records;

(3) Has successfully completed four years of standard high school
education or the equivalent. Acceptable documentation includes, but
is not limited to: a high school diploma, a letter from any school ver-
ifying completion of high school equivalency; military records veri-
fying completion of a high school equivalency; or GED passing
scores;

(4) Registers with the Corporations Division and receives an
assumed business name prior to applying for a facility license (unless
doing business under the full name of the owner);

(5) Submits application on a form prescribed by the agency
accompanied by payment of the application and licensing fees and
submission of the required documentation. Required documentation
includes the completed application form and documentation which
contains the following:

(a) Name of owner;
(b) Corporation or partnership;
(c) Facility address and mailing address (if different from phys-

ical location);
(d) Area code and telephone number;
(e) Applicant’s autoclave make, model and serial number; and
(f)A copy of the spore test results from applicant’s autoclave, or

submission of a signed attestation requesting an exemption under OAR
331-220-0010 based on one of the following existing conditions:

(A) Exclusive use of prepackaged sterile body and ear piercing
equipment, including needles; or

(B) Exclusive use of prepackaged sterile ear piercing equipment
that utilizes an encapsulated single use stud with clasp mechanism
designed for an earlobe piercing gun as defined in OAR 331-205-
0020(25).

(6) Certifies that application information is correct;
(7) Provides a map or directions to the facility if it is located in

a rural or isolated area;
(8) Provides a list of registered technicians providing services on

the premises of facility;
(9) Complies with all applicable rules and regulations of the

agency and other state, county and local agencies. This includes com-
pliance with specifications for building, fire and plumbing codes, and
with exit and fire standards established by the Building Codes Agen-
cy, the Office of the State Fire Marshal, and compliance with Oregon
Occupational Safety and Health Division, OAR 437, division 2, Gen-
eral Occupational Safety and Health Rules. These standards are avail-
able at the Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division, Oregon
Department of Consumer and Business Services, and the United States
Government Printing Office.

NOTE: These standards are available at the Oregon Occupational Safety and
Health Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services,
and the United States Government Printing Office.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570

Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-210-0010
Criteria for Operating a Facility; Inspections

(1) Each facility owner shall:
(a) Require each individual working within the facility premis-

es providing piercing services to be registered with the Health Licens-
ing Office as a body-piercing technician;

(b) Be responsible for technicians complying with all applicable
health, safety, infection control and sterilization rules and regulations
of the agency and other state agencies;

(c) Be responsible for notifying the agency prior to employment
of new registrant(s) within the facility or immediately following ter-
mination of any registrant’s employment;

(d) Be responsible for maintaining a list of registrants employed
at the facility for review by the agency upon request;

(e) Post risk factor notice in public view on the facility premis-
es when open for business;

(f) Post name, address and telephone number of the Health
Licensing Office for clients to contact regarding services, licensing
issues or complaints;

(g) Provide a disclosure statement prescribed by the Health
Licensing Office to all clients on risks involved in body-piercing ser-
vices, and aftercare instructions;

(h) Allow an agency enforcement officer to inspect the facility
when it is open for business;

(i) Be prohibited from exhibiting, or failing to prevent employ-
ees or technicians from exhibiting, behavior which impedes the nor-
mal progress of the inspection; and

(j) Arrange for the agency to inspect the premises if a year has
elapsed since the last inspection and/or the agency has notified the
licensee that it has attempted and been unable to conduct an inspec-
tion because the facility was closed.

(2) Facility licenses are not transferable from person to person,
business to business, or to a new location.

(3) Acquiring a Facility: Persons purchasing an existing body-
piercing facility shall:

(a) Meet the requirements of a new facility (refer to OAR 331-
210-0000);

(b) Submit a new facility application, pay the application and
license fees, and be issued a new facility license prior to assuming
operation of the business; and

(c) Comply with all administrative rules of the agency concern-
ing health, safety, infection control and sterilization requirements.

(4) Relocating a Facility: Owners of body-piercing facilities
being moved to a new physical location shall:

(a) Meet the requirements of a new facility (refer to OAR 331-
210-0000);

(b) Submit an application, pay the application and license fees,
and be issued a new facility license prior to opening for business at the
new location; and

(c) Comply with all administrative rules of the agency concern-
ing health, safety, infection control and sterilization requirements.

(5) Closing a Facility: Facility owners closing their facilities shall
inform the agency in writing by fax, mail, electronic mail, or in per-
son within 5 calendar days of closure of the facility; if the same owner
reopens the facility while the license is still current, the owner must
inform the agency prior to resuming business.

(6)All premises where services are performed by body-piercing
technicians must be licensed as a facility.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-210-0020
Body Piercing Technician Registration Qualification

(1) Body-piercing technicians must be registered with the Health
Licensing Office before providing services. Registered body-piercing
technicians must comply with all applicable health, safety, infection
control and sterilization rules and regulations of the agency and other
state agencies.

(2) To qualify for registration with the agency as a body-pierc-
ing technician, an applicant must:
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(a) Be at least 18 years of age and provide a current government
issued photographic documentation confirming date of birth.Accept-
able documentation includes, but is not limited to a driver’s license,
passport or school/military/governmental records;

(b) Have successfully completed four years of standard high
school education or the equivalent. Acceptable documentation
includes, but is not limited to: a high school diploma, a letter from any
school verifying completion of high school equivalency; military
records verifying completion of a high school equivalency; or GED
passing scores; and

(c) Provide satisfactory evidence of successful completion of
training in the courses listed in (A) through (C) of this rule subsection.
Training includes attendance or participation at an instructional pro-
gram presented, recognized, or under the auspices of any permanent-
ly organized institution, agency, or professional organization or asso-
ciation recognized by the agency.

(A) Basic First Aid;
(B) Blood borne pathogens; and
(C) Aftercare procedures.
(3) Technicians are prohibited from providing body-piercing ser-

vices outside of a licensed body-piercing facility. A registration is not
transferable from person to person.

(4) Notice shall be submitted to the agency prior to any change
of employment at a new facility location.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-210-0021
Application Requirements

(1) Individuals applying for registration to practice body pierc-
ing must meet the requirements of OAR 331-030-0000 in addition to
the provisions of this rule.

(2) Applicants must submit a completed application form pre-
scribed by the agency, which shall contain the information listed in
OAR 331-030-0000(5), be accompanied by payment of the applica-
tion and registration fees, provide the documentation required in 331-
210-0020 and include the following:

(a) Facility name, license number and business address where
services are provided, including telephone number and area code; and

(b) Signed copy of the written statement affirming receipt of
administrative rules and client notification brochure outlining risk fac-
tors and possible consequences of piercing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Hist.: HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

DIVISION 215
BODY PIERCING LICENSING PROGRAM: LICENSURE
AND REGISTRATION ISSUANCE; RENEWALCRITERIA
331-215-0000
Issuance and Renewal of Facility Licenses

(1) Issuance and renewal of a facility license is subject to the pro-
visions of OAR 331-030-0010.

(2) Application for renewal shall include the following infor-
mation:

(a) Facility license number and expiration date;
(b) Name and place of business, or business mailing address;
(c) Area code and telephone number; and
(d) A list of registered technicians currently providing services

on the premises of facility.
(3) Failure to renew a license requires payment of the facility

license expired renewal fee in order to renew the license. Refer to
OAR 331-205-0030(2)(d).

(4) Failure to renew a license after one year from the expiration
date requires reapplication, meeting all requirements of OAR 331-210-
0000 and payment of the application and two-year license fees in order
to obtain licensure.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550, & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04; HLA 4-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-215-0010
Issuance and Renewal of Technician Registrations

(1) Issuance of a technician registration authorizes the registrant
to provide body-piercing services in a licensed facility. Issuance and
renewal of a technician registration is subject to the provisions of OAR
331-030-0010.

(2) Application for renewal shall include the following infor-
mation:

(a) Applicant’s name and current residential and mailing
address;

(b) Applicant’s registration number and expiration date;
(c) The facility name and license number, business address where

services are being provided and business area code and telephone
number.

(3) Failure to renew a registration before the expiration date
requires payment of the technician registration expired renewal fee in
order to renew the registration. Refer to OAR 331-205-0030.

(4) Failure to renew a registration after one year from the date of
expiration requires reapplication and payment of the application and
registration fees in order to obtain a registration.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04; HLA 4-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-215-0020
Document Issuance

(1) Applicants who satisfactorily complete the application
requirements shall be issued a license or registration by the Health
Licensing Office authorizing the holder to operate a facility or provide
body-piercing services according to ORS 690.510 or 690.520.

(2) Facility owners and technicians are subject to the provisions
of OAR 331-030-0010 regarding issuance and renewal of a license or
registration, and to the provisions of 331-030-0020 regarding the
authorization to practice, identification and requirements for issuance
of a duplicate authorization.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-215-0030
Posting of Licenses, Registrations, Disclosure Statement and
Notice

Facility license holders shall post the following in public view
within the premises:

(1) All facility licenses and technician registrations;
(2) A disclosure statement prescribed by the Health Licensing

Office, advising of the risks and possible consequences of body-pierc-
ing services; and

(3) A notice containing the address of the agency and the proce-
dure for filing a complaint.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.520, 676.605, 676.615, 690.550 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-215-0040
Piercing Services at Location Other than Named Place(s) of
Business

(1) Body-piercing services shall not be provided outside of a
licensed facility.

(2) Body-piercing technicians shall not provide services at any
locations other than licensed body-piercing facilities.

(3) Upon submission of a written request to the Health Licens-
ing Office, body-piercing services may be conducted at locations other
than the physical site of a licensed facility solely for the purpose of
product demonstration, industry trade shows or events where the sole
purpose is education and not providing services to the general public.
Written authorization from the agency shall be required prior to pro-
viding piercing services.

(4) Body-piercing services offered or provided at fairs or other
events must be licensed as a facility by the agency prior to assuming
operation of the business.

(5) A body piercing technician may provide services outside the
premises of a licensed facility on a person residing in a health care
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facility or confined to their residence through medical disability or
restriction.

(6) Upon application, qualification and payment of fees the agen-
cy may issue a facility license for fairs, carnivals or bazaars provid-
ed compliance with safety, infection control and sterilization practices
and facility requirements under OAR 331, division 220, Safety and
Infection Control Standards, are met and maintained.

(7)All persons providing body-piercing services at fairs or other
locations listed in subsection (3) and (4) of this rule must be registered
by the agency prior to providing services.

(8)All technicians providing body-piercing services at locations
listed in subsection (3) and (4) of this rule or at more than one busi-
ness location must carry their registration with them and post it in pub-
lic view while working.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

DIVISION 220
BODY PIERCING LICENSING PROGRAM
SAFETYAND STERILIZATION STANDARDS

331-220-0000
Compliance with All Applicable Regulations

(1) Facility license holders and registered technicians shall
observe and be subject to all state regulations pertaining to public
health and safety. Compliance with building, state fire, plumbing, and
electrical regulations is required.

(2) In addition, when an employee/employer relationship exists,
facility license holders shall comply with ORS 654 and the Oregon
Safe Employment Act.

(3) The cleanliness and sanitation of any common area of sepa-
rately licensed facilities in one premise is the responsibility of each
license holder. Violations found in the common area may be cited
against all facility license holders.

(4) Facilities and registered technicians shall use and maintain
appropriate equipment for providing body-piercing services at the
place of business. Equipment includes but is not limited to:

(a) Piercing gun of non-porous material, which can be disin-
fected;

(b) Single-use stainless steel needles;
(c) Sterilization bags with color strip indicator;
(d) Protective disposable gloves;
(e) Single-use towels, tissues or paper products;
(f) Sharps container; and
(g)Approved equipment for cleaning and sterilizing instruments.
(5) Products and instruments are prohibited from being used in

a manner that is disapproved by the agency or the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration.

(6) Facilities shall be kept clean and orderly and equipment shall
be maintained in good repair.

(7) All surfaces, including counters, tables, equipment, client
chairs or recliners in service areas shall be made of smooth, non-
absorbent and non-porous material.

(8) A high-level disinfectant or bleach solution, used according
to the manufacturer’s instructions, shall be used to disinfect surfaces
contaminated by blood or bodily fluids.

(9) Disposable products that come in contact with the area(s) to
be pierced shall be stored in closeable clean containers.

(10) Clean, sterilized re-usable instruments shall be stored in
clean, sterilized containers and must be stored separately from used
or soiled tools or instruments.

(11) Chemicals shall be stored in labeled, closed containers.
(12) Clean linens, towels or single-use disposable paper products,

and single-use piercing needles, piercing studs and protective gloves
shall be used for each client.

(13) Clean towels and linens shall be stored in a clean area.
(14) Used linens shall be disposed of or stored in a closed or cov-

ered container until laundered.
(15) Used linens shall be laundered either by regular commercial

laundering or by a non-commercial laundering process which
includes use of commercial laundry detergent manufactured for the

purpose of cleaning clothes, linens or other washable fabric, and
immersion in hot water during the hot water wash/rinse operation.

(16) Facilities and registered technicians shall have easy access
to a sink with hot and cold running water, as part of surrounding
premises or adjacent to the facility but separate from a restroom.

(17) Lavatories located within the facilities shall be kept clean
and in good working order at all times.

(18)All waste material related to body-piercing shall be deposit-
ed in a covered container following service for each client.

(19) All public places in a facility shall be governed under the
Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act as it appears in ORS 433.835 through
433.875 and 433.990.

(20) Pets or other animals shall not be permitted in the business
facility. This prohibition does not apply to registered therapy animals,
trained guide animals for the disabled, sightless or hearing impaired,
or to fish in aquariums or nonpoisonous reptiles in terrariums.

(21) Waste disposal container used to store cigar or cigarette
ashes, cigar or cigarette butts, or other tobacco waste shall be a metal
or fire-retardant container.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-220-0010
Approved Sterilization Modes; Procedures

(1)All piercing instruments, which have or may come into direct
contact with a client’s skin or be exposed to blood or bodily fluid must
be sterilized.

(2) Piercing needles shall not be re-used even if cleaned and ster-
ilized by use of an autoclave.All piercing needles shall be single-use.

(3) Approved modes of sterilization include:
(a) Use of autoclave (steam or chemical) sterilizer, registered and

listed with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, which is used,
cleaned and maintained according to the manufacturer’s directions;

(b) Sterilization equipment that has been approved, registered and
listed with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, which is used,
cleaned and maintained according to the manufacturer’s directions; or

(c) Single-use prepackaged sterilized instruments obtained from
suppliers or manufacturers.

(4) Facility license holders where sterilization is conducted shall
conduct routine tests for the effectiveness of sterilization at least
monthly using biological monitoring (commercial preparation of
spores. Testing shall be conducted as follows:

(a) Chemical indicators (color change) to assure sufficient tem-
perature and proper functioning of equipment during each sterilization
cycle; and

(b) Biological monitoring system (commercial preparation of
spores) to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and steril-
ization achieved.

(5) Chemical and biological test indicators shall be available at
the business premises at all times and test results available for inspec-
tion by the Health Licensing Office Enforcement Officers. Facilities
who contract for use of sterilization equipment shall make copies of
the test results available to the agency upon request. Biological test
results must be on laboratory letterhead and must contain the test date,
and the name, model and serial number of the unit tested. Biological
test results must be retained for a two-year period.

(6) Instruments approved for re-use in providing piercing services
shall be cleaned prior to sterilizing by brushing or swabbing to remove
foreign material or debris, rinsing, then:

(a) Immersing in detergent and water in an ultrasonic unit that
operates at 40 to 60 kilohertz, followed by a thorough rinsing and wip-
ing; or

(b) Submerging and soaking in a protein dissolving deter-
gent/enzyme cleaner followed by a thorough rinsing and wiping.

(7) Instruments approved for re-use in providing piercing services
shall be cleaned according to subsection (3) of this rule and placed in
sterile bags or containers, with color strip indicators, sterilized by
exposure to one cycle of an approved sterilizer and handled using ster-
ile techniques.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04
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331-220-0020
Earlobe Piercing Services

Facilities and registered technicians who provide earlobe pierc-
ing services exclusively, shall be subject to the following standards:

(1) Facilities and registered technicians shall use a piercing
instrument or gun that pierces an individual’s earlobe using a sterile,
encapsulated single-use stud with clasp earlobe piercing system.Apre-
packaged sterilized ear-piercing stud must be inserted into the earlobe
simultaneously with piercing.

(2) The piercing gun shall be made of material which can be dis-
infected. All parts of the gun in direct contact with the client’s skin
shall be disinfected with a high-level disinfectant before being used
on a client.

(3) Single-use prepackaged sterilized ear piercing studs shall be
used for each client.

(4) Single use piercing instruments must be discarded in a med-
ical waste container immediately after use.

(5) Facilities and registered technicians providing earlobe-pierc-
ing services exclusively using a manufactured earlobe piercing gun
and single-use prepackaged sterilized ear studs are exempted from use
of an autoclave.

(6) Earlobe piercing services shall be conducted in an area of the
facility, which is separately maintained from other business activities
or services as defined in OAR 331-205-0020.

(7) New or disinfected piercing gun tools shall be stored sepa-
rately from used or soiled tools or instruments.

(8) Facilities and registered technicians shall comply with the
licensing, registration and safety/infection control regulations of OAR
331, divisions 200 through 225.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04; HLA 4-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-220-0030
Handling Disposable Materials

(1) Disposable materials coming into contact with blood and/or
bodily fluids shall be disposed of in a sealable plastic bag (separate
from sealable trash or garbage liners) or in a manner that not only pro-
tects the technician and the client but also others who may come into
contact with the material such as sanitation workers.

(2) Disposable sharp objects that come in contact with blood
and/or body fluids shall be disposed of in a sealable rigid (puncture
proof) sharps container that is strong enough to protect the technician
and client and others from accidental cuts or puncture wounds that
could happen during the disposal process.

(3) Facilities shall have sealable plastic bags available. They shall
also have sealable rigid containers available at the facility if dispos-
able sharp objects are used.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-220-0040
Communicable and Blood Borne Diseases

Facility owners and registered technicians shall be responsible for
adhering to the following standards:

(1) A technician or an employee is prohibited from providing
body-piercing services or working in a facility while having a disease
or condition which has been diagnosed by a physician to be a com-
municable or transmissible disease. Refer to OAR 331-205-0020(6).

(2)A technician or employee shall not diagnose or treat any sus-
pected communicable disease or condition or knowingly provide
body-piercing services on clients with communicable diseases or con-
ditions. Refer to OAR 331-205-0020(6).

(3) A technician providing service or working in a facility after
diagnosis of immunodeficiency disease or condition or Hepatitis B, C,
or D shall observe and follow all current Centers for Disease Control
(CDC) standards for public service workers regarding personal pro-
tection equipment and disposal of blood or bodily fluid contaminat-
ed articles, tools and equipment. These standards shall also apply to
technicians or employees providing services to clients who have been
diagnosed with having an immunodeficiency disease or condition or
Hepatitis B, C, or D.

NOTE: It is the position of the Health Licensing Office that human immun-

odeficiency virus (HIV) is the cause of acquired immunodeficiency syndrome
(AIDS) and related immunodeficiency conditions. This virus, as well as Hep-
atitis B virus (HBV), Hepatitis C virus (HCV) and Hepatitis D virus (HDV),
may be transmitted by sharp instruments contaminated by blood or other body
fluids, if proper precautions are not followed. As the carriers of these virus-
es may have no symptoms, the most prudent course to follow is to treat body
fluids from all persons with the same high standards of caution and to rig-
orously follow established safety and sanitation practices as required by the
law and rules of theAgency. There is no published evidence to support casu-
al transmission of HIV, by sneezing or touching, even in close household set-
tings involvingAIDS patients and family members caring for them at home.
Because HIV is not spread by casual means and because of the inadequacies
of the HIV antibody test, there is no reason for the Agency to require blood
tests prior to registration and/or licensure. Good hand washing after glove
removal and between each client is imperative and the most important pro-
cedure for prevention of all infections, including HIV. Uniform body fluid
precautions are ample to prevent transmission of HIV or HBV, HCV and/or
HDV in a facility setting.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-220-0050
Serving Clients

Facility owners and registered technicians shall be responsible for
adhering to the following standards while serving clients in the facil-
ity:

(1) Technicians shall observe and follow thorough hand washing
with soap and water or equivalent hand washing product before and
after serving each client and as needed to prevent cross contamination
and/or transmission of bodily fluids, infections or exposure to service
related wastes or chemicals.

(2) Technicians shall cleanse the client’s skin, excluding the areas
surrounding the eyes, by washing with a U.S. Food and DrugAdmin-
istration registered antiseptic solution applied with a clean single-use
paper product before and after piercing the client’s skin.

(3) All substances shall be dispensed from containers in a man-
ner to prevent contamination of the unused portion. Single use tubes
or containers and applicators shall be discarded following the pierc-
ing service.

(4) Use of any type of marking pen must be on cleansed skin or
by use of a surgical marking pen sanitized by design, such as alcohol
based ink pens.

(5) Use of styptic pencils or alum solids to control blood flow is
prohibited.

(6) Aftercare shall be administered to each client following ser-
vice. Aftercare shall consist of both verbal and written instructions
concerning proper care of the pierced area. Instructions shall specify:

(a) Care following service;
(b) Possible side effects; and
(c) Restrictions.
(7) Technicians who have open sores or bleeding lesions on their

hands shall not have client contact until the lesions have healed to the
scab phase.

(8)As a standard precaution against the possibility of cross-con-
tamination, technicians shall wear single-use disposable protective
gloves when providing service.

(9) Technicians shall wear eye goggles, shields and/or a mask if
spattering is possible while providing services.

(10) Disposable materials that come in contact with blood or bod-
ily fluids shall be discarded according to provisions of OAR 331-220-
0030 to protect the technician, clients and others who may come into
contact with the material.

(11) Disposable cups shall be available for customers’ use if bev-
erages are served in facilities, and disposed of after use by the same
methods as other waste materials.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-220-0060
Client Records

(1) Facilities shall maintain client records. The record shall
include the following for each client:

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client;
(b) Date of each service, body location and type of service per-

formed on client;
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(c) Name and registration number of the technician providing ser-
vice and special instructions or notations relating to the client’s med-
ical or skin conditions;

(d) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or top-
ical solutions;

(e) History of the client’s bleeding disorders;
(f) Description of complications during procedure(s);
(g) Copy of signed statement that the client has received educa-

tional material and aftercare instructions;
(h) Proof of age consisting of one of the following:
(A) Copy of current government issued photographic identifi-

cation;
(B) Written record of the type of current government issued pho-

tographic Identification presented with the identification number; or
(C) If client is a minor, written parental consent. As stated in

OAR 331-220-0080(1)(d)(B) written parental consent must be sub-
mitted in person to the facility for piercing services on a minor. Par-
ent or legal guardian must present current government issued photo-
graphic identification at the time of written consent.

(2) Facility owners and technicians may obtain advice from
physicians regarding medical Information needed to safeguard client
and technician.

(3) Records shall be kept at facility premises for a minimum of
two years and must be made available immediately upon request from
an enforcement officer of the Health Licensing Office.

(4) Pre-service information in written form shall be given to
client to advise of possible reactions, side effects and potential com-
plications of the body-piercing process.Aftercare instructions shall be
given to the client both verbally and in writing after every service.

(5) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format.
Client records, which are not readable by enforcement officers, will
be treated as incomplete. Incomplete records may subject the facility
to civil penalties.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.530 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.530 & 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-220-0080
Prohibitions

(1) Piercing is prohibited:
(a) On a person who is inebriated or appears to be incapacitated

by the use of alcohol or drugs;
(b) On a person who show signs of recent intravenous drug use;
(c) On a person with sunburn, communicable skin diseases or dis-

orders such as open lesions, rashes, and wounds or puncture marks;
(d) On a person under 18 years of age:
(A) Genital or nipple piercing is prohibited regardless of parental

consent.
(B) Written parental consent must be submitted in person to the

facility for piercing services on a minor. Parent or legal guardian must
present current government issued photographic identification at time
of written consent.

(2) Use of personal client jewelry or any apparatus or device pre-
sented by the client for use during the initial body (including ears)
piercing is prohibited. Pre-sterilized jewelry, apparatus or device(s)
shall be provided by the facility and be of a metallic content recog-
nized as compatible with piercing services.

(3) Use of piercing guns shall be limited to piercing of the ear-
lobe as defined in OAR 331-205-0020(10) exclusively. No other part
of the body or ear shall be pierced by use of a piercing gun.

(4) Piercing with a manual loading spring operated piercing gun
is prohibited.

(5) Piercing the earlobe with any type of piercing gun which does
not use the presterilized encapsulated stud and clasp system is pro-
hibited.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.507, 690.530 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.507, 690.530 & 690.570
Hist.:HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

DIVISION 225
BODY PIERCING LICENSING PROGRAM

DISCIPLINEAND ENFORCEMENT
331-225-0000
Investigative Authority

The Health Licensing Office may initiate and conduct investi-
gations of matters relating to the practice of body piercing, pursuant
to ORS 676.608 and 676.618, and may take appropriate disciplinary
action in accordance with the provisions of 676.612 and 690.515.

Stat.Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.992, 690.515 & 690.570
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.992, 690.515
& 690.570
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0020
Schedule of Penalties for Facility Licenses Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of the fol-
lowing facility license laws and rules. The following schedule shall
apply except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of
the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition
of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the
agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, includ-
ing refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration revo-
cation, suspension or probation:

(1) Operating a facility by a registered technician without first fil-
ing a facility application, paying the fees, and receiving a facility
license is a violation of ORS 690.507(2) and OAR 331-210-0010(6)
and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $200;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license.
(2) Operating a facility with an expired license is a violation of

ORS 690.507(2), 690.520(4) and OAR 331-030-0010(4) and shall
incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $200;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license.
(3) Operating a facility without a facility license by a person who

is not registered or is suspended is a violation of ORS 690.507(2) and
OAR 331-215-0040(1) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license.
(4) Allowing an unregistered person to provide services in a

licensed facility is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(i), 690.507(1) and
OAR 331-210-0010(1)(a) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license.
(5) Failing to allow the agency to inspect the premises when the

facility is open or obstructing or hindering the normal progress of the
inspection, threatening or exerting physical harm, or enabling anoth-
er individual to impede the inspection progress is a violation of OAR
331-210-0010(1)(h) and/or (i) and ORS 676.612(1)(h) and/or (o) and
shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(6) Allowing an employee to provide services with an expired

registration is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(i), 690.507(1) and OAR
331-210-0010(1)(a) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $200;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license.
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(7) Failing to meet the specifications and standards required
under OAR 331-210-0000(9) in a facility is a violation of 331-220-
0000(1) and shall incur immediate suspension of the facility license
until the violation is corrected.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Hist.: HDLB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-96; HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO
7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0030
Schedule of Penalties for Registration Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of the fol-
lowing registration laws and rules. The following schedule shall apply
except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of the fac-
tors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subsequent
offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition of a
civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the agen-
cy from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, including
refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration revocation,
suspension or probation.

(1) Operating with an expired technician registration is a viola-
tion of ORS 690.507(1), OAR 331-030-0010(4) and 331-210-0020(1)
and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $200;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a registration.
(2) Performing services without a registration, with a registration

issued to another person, or a suspended registration is a violation of
ORS 676.612(1)(d) or 676.612(4) or 690.507(1) and OAR 331-210-
0020(1) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a registration.
(3) Providing services as a registrant in an unlicensed facility is

a violation of ORS 690.507(2) and OAR 331-215-0040(2) and shall
incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $200;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(4) Failing as a registrant to inform the agency within 30 calen-

dar days of a change of employment with a facility is a violation of
OAR 331-010-0040(1)(d) and/or 331-020-0040(1)(e) and shall incur
the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $150.
(5) Failing to notify the agency of a move or a change of home

address within 30 calendar days of the change is a violation of OAR
331-010-0040(1) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $150.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0040
Schedule of Penalties for License/Registration Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of the fol-
lowing license/registration laws and rules. The following schedule
shall apply except as the agency otherwise determines in considera-
tion of the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and
subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Impo-
sition of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude
the agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law,
including refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration
revocation, suspension or probation:

(1)Altering a facility license and/or technician registration issued
by the agency is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(a), (c), and (j) and
OAR 331-020-0070(2)(e) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;

(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(2) Failing to post a facility license and/or technician registration

in a publicly visible place within the facility is a violation of ORS
690.520(5) and/or 690.510(4) and OAR 331-215-0030(1) and shall
incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration. Posting of
photocopies, reproductions, and pocket identification cards will be
cited as failure to post.

(3) Failing to return or surrender a facility license and/or tech-
nician registration upon demand by the agency is a violation of OAR
331-030-0020(5) and shall in incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(4) Failing to provide appropriate photographic identification

upon request by the agency is violation of OAR 331-030-0020(4) and
ORS 676.612(1)(o) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0050
Schedule of Penalties forWater Supply and Disposal Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and sanitation rules. The following schedule shall
apply except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of
the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition
of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the
agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, includ-
ing refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration revo-
cation, suspension or probation:

(1) Failing to have immediate access to both hot and cold run-
ning water is a violation of OAR 331-220-0000(17) and shall incur the
following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(2) Failing to have a water supply that meets state pressure and

purity requirements is a violation of OAR 331-220-0000(1) and shall
incur the following penalty for any offense: Referral of the violation
to the appropriate building code authority and immediate suspension
of the facility license until the violation is corrected.

(3) Improperly disposing of liquid waste from a facility is a vio-
lation of OAR 331-220-0000(1) and shall incur the following penal-
ty for any offense: Referral of the violation to the appropriate build-
ing code authority and immediate suspension of the facility license
until the violation is corrected.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0060
Schedule of Penalties for Towels and Linens Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and sanitation rules. The following schedule shall
apply except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of
the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition
of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the
agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, includ-
ing refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration revo-
cation, suspension or probation:

(1) Failing to use clean towels or linens for each client is a vio-
lation of OAR 331-220-0000(13); and/or failing to launder towels and
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linens as required is a violation of 331-220-0000(16), and shall incur
the following penalties for each violation:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $300.
(2) Failing to store clean towels and linens in a clean area is a vio-

lation of OAR 331-220-0000(14) and shall incur the following penal-
ties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $300.
(3) Failing to deposit soiled towels in a covered container is a vio-

lation of OAR 331-220-0000(15) and shall incur the following penal-
ties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $150.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0070
Schedule of Penalties forWaste Disposal Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and infection control rules. The following schedule
shall apply except as the agency otherwise determines in considera-
tion of the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and
subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Impo-
sition of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude
the agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law,
including refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration
revocation, suspension or probation:

(1) Failing to immediately deposit all waste materials in a closed
container at the conclusion of each service is a violation of OAR 331-
220-0000(19) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $300.
(2) Failing to store cigarette ashes, butts, etc. in a fire-retardant

container is a violation of OAR 331-220-0000(22) and shall incur the
following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $150.
(3) Failing to dispose of disposable material coming into contact

with blood or
other bodily fluids in a sealable plastic bag is a violation of OAR

331-220-0030(1) and shall incur the following penalties:
(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(4) Failing to dispose of disposable sharp-edged material com-

ing into contact with blood or other bodily fluids in a sealable rigid
container is a violation of OAR 331-220-0030(2) and shall incur the
following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(5) Failing to have sealable plastic bags and sealable rigid con-

tainers available for use at all times services are being performed is a
violation of OAR 331-220-0030(3) and shall incur the following
penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0080
Schedule of Penalties for Earlobe Piercing Facility Requirements

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and infection control rules. The following schedule

shall apply except as the agency otherwise determines in considera-
tion of the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and
subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Impo-
sition of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude
the agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law,
including refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration
revocation, suspension or probation:

(1) Failing to use a piercing gun in accordance to manufacturer’s
design and specifications is a violation of OAR 331-220-0020(1), 331-
220-0080(3), (4) and

(5) and shall incur the following penalties:
(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(2) Failing to use a high-level disinfectant according to manu-

facturer’s instructions to disinfect a piercing gun prior to use on a
client, is a violation of OAR 331-220-0020(2) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(3) Failing to use single-use prepackaged sterilized ear-piercing

studs for each client is a violation of OAR 331-220-0020(3) and 331-
220-0080(2) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(4) Failing to separate earlobe-piercing operation areas from

other business activities is a violation of OAR 331-220-0020(6) and
shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license.
(5) Failing to store disinfected piercing gun(s) from soiled or used

guns, tools or instruments is a violation of OAR 331-220-0020(7) and
shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0090
Schedule of Penalties for Sterilization Requirements of Tools and
Implements Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and infection control rules. The following schedule
shall apply except as the agency otherwise determines in considera-
tion of the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and
subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Impo-
sition of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude
the agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law,
including refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration
revocation, suspension or probation:

(1) Failing to sterilize all piercing instruments that come in con-
tact with client’s skin or are exposed to body fluids is a violation of
OAR 331-220-0010(1) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(2) Using a piercing needle to provide more than a single pierc-

ing is a violation of OAR 331-220-0010(2) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
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(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,
suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.

(3) Failing to sterilize equipment using an approved mode or to
use pre-packaged sterilized instruments is a violation of OAR 331-
220-0010(3) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(4) Failing to conduct required tests of sterilization modes is a

violation of OAR 331-220-0010(4) and shall incur the following
penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(5) Failing to provide the results of the required tests on the ster-

ilization
modes upon demand by a state inspector is a violation of OAR

331-220-0010(5)
and shall incur the following penalties:
(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(6) Failing to properly clean instruments prior to sterilization pro-

cess is a violation of OAR 331-220-0010(6) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(7) Failing to properly sterilize reusable instruments prior to use

on clients is a violation of OAR 331-220-0010(7) and shall incur the
following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0100
Schedule of Penalties for Cleanable/Non-Absorbent Surfaces
Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and sanitation rules. The following schedule shall
apply except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of
the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition
of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the
from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, including refus-
ing to issue a facility license or technician registration revocation, sus-
pension or probation:

(1) Failing to have cleanable, non-absorbent surfaces on all
equipment in all areas of a facility where services are performed is a
violation of OAR 331-220-0000(8) and shall incur the following
penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $300.
(2) Failing to use and maintain appropriate equipment in a facil-

ity is a violation of OAR 331-220-0000(5) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(3) Using products and/or instruments in a manner disapproved

by the agency or the U.S. Food and Drug Administration is a viola-
tion of OAR 331-220-0000(6) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;

(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,
suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.

(4) Failing to disinfect surfaces or blood spills using a high level
disinfectant is a violation of OAR 331-220-0000(9) and shall incur the
following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0110
Schedule of Penalties for Clean Conditions Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and sanitation rules. The following schedule shall
apply except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of
the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition
of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the
agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, includ-
ing refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration revo-
cation, suspension or probation:

(1) Failing to keep a restroom located on the premises of a facil-
ity clean and sanitary is a violation of OAR 331-220-0000(18) and
shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(2) Failing to keep the facility clean, orderly and the equipment

in good repair is a violation of OAR 331-220-0000(7) and shall incur
the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(3) Failing to keep disposable products in clean closeable con-

tainers is a violation of OAR 331-220-0000(10) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(4) Failing to keep or store sterilized instruments in a sterile pack-

age/container is a violation of OAR 331-220-0000(11) and shall incur
the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(5) Failing to use clean single use products for each client is a vio-

lation of OAR 331-220-0000(13) and shall incur the following penal-
ties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0120
Schedule of Penalties for Client Health and Safety Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and sanitation rules. The following schedule shall
apply except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of
the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition
of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the
agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, includ-
ing refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration revo-
cation, suspension or probation:

(1) Failing to provide disposable drinking cups when beverages
are served in a facility is a violation of OAR 331-220-0050(11) and
shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
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(c) For 3rd offense: $200.
(2) Failing to wear single-use disposable protective gloves while

performing any service on a client is a violation of OAR 331-220-
0050(8) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(3) Performing services while diagnosed with a communicable

disease, open sores, bleeding lesions or condition in a transmittable
form is a violation of OAR 331-220-0040(1) and/or 331-220-0050(7)
and shall incur immediate suspension until the disease or condition is
no longer communicable.

(4) Treating any disease or knowingly serving any client having
a communicable disease or condition is a violation of OAR 331-220-
0040(2) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $250;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(5) Performing services without washing one’s hands immedi-

ately before and after serving each client is a violation of OAR 331-
220-0050(1) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(6) Failing to properly prepare client’s skin prior to providing a

service is a violation of OAR 331-220-0050(2) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(7) Failing to have an operatory or designated service area is a

violation of OAR 331-220-0000(4) and/or 331-220-0020(6) and shall
incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $200.
(8) Failing to prepare skin prior to marking or use of an improp-

er marking pen is a violation of OAR 331-220-0050(4) and shall incur
the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $200.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0130
Schedule of Penalties for Safe Working Conditions Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and sanitation rules. The following schedule shall
apply except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of
the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition
of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the
agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, includ-
ing refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration revo-
cation, suspension or probation:

(1) Unless a waiver has been obtained, failing to meet the require-
ments of the Oregon Indoor CleanAirAct is a violation of OAR 331-
210-0010(1)(b), 331-220-0000(1) and ORS 433.835 through 433.990
and will be referred to the Department of Human Services, Health Ser-
vices.

(2) Having frayed electrical wiring or overloading the electrical
circuits in a facility is a violation of OAR 331-210-0010(1)(b) and
331-220-0000(1) and will be referred to the appropriate authority:

(3) Having non-permitted pets in facilities, is a violation of OAR
331-220-0000(21) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $300.

(4) Failing to wear eye goggles, shields or mask in performing
services on a client where the probability of splattering is present is
a violation of OAR 331-220-0050(9) and shall incur the following
penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $300.
(5) Using a styptic pencil or alum solid to control blood flow is

a violation of OAR 331-220-0050(5) and shall incur the following
penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $200.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0140
Schedule of Penalties for Chemical or Product Use and Storage
Violations

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and sanitation rules. The following schedule shall
apply except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of
the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition
of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the
agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, includ-
ing refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration revo-
cation, suspension or probation:

(1) Failing to store chemicals safely to avoid fire, explosion
and/or bodily harm to clients and registrants is a violation of OAR 331-
210-0010(1)(b) and 331-220-0000(1) and shall incur the following
penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(2) Dispensing chemicals or substances in a manner that con-

taminates the unused portion is a violation of OAR 331-220-0050(3)
and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $300.
(3) Failure to store chemicals in a labeled closed container is a

violation of OAR 331-220-0000(12) and shall incur following penal-
ties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $300.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0150
Schedule of Penalties for Required Information and Client
Records

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and infection control rules. The following schedule
shall apply except as the agency otherwise determines in considera-
tion of the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and
subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Impo-
sition of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude
the agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law,
including refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration
revocation, suspension or probation:

(1) Failure to post in public view required disclosure statement
of risks is a violation of OAR 331-210-0010(1)(e) and 331-215-
0030(2) and shall incur the following penalty:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(2) Failure to post agency’s address and procedure for filing a

complaint is a violation of OAR 331-210-0010(1)(f) and 331-215-
0030(3) and shall incur the following penalties:
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(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(3) Failure to properly complete client records or include the

required information is a violation of OAR 331-220-0060(1) and shall
incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(4) Failure to maintain complete client records at the facility

premises is a violation of OAR 331-220-0060(3) and shall incur the
following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license.
(5) Failure to provide required pre-service information to the

client is a violation of OAR 331-210-0010(1)(g) and 331-220-0060(4)
and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(6) Failure to provide required aftercare information both ver-

bally and in writing to the client is a violation of OAR 331-210-
0010(1)(g), 331-220-0050(6) and 331-220-0060(4) and shall incur the
following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

331-225-0160
Schedule of Penalties for Performing Prohibited Services

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violations of the
following safety and sanitation rules. The following schedule shall
apply except as the agency otherwise determines in consideration of
the factors referenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply. Imposition
of a civil penalty under the following schedule does not preclude the
agency from imposing any other sanction authorized by law, includ-
ing refusing to issue a facility license or technician registration revo-
cation, suspension or probation:

(1) Piercing other than the earlobe with a piercing gun is a vio-
lation of OAR 331-220-0080(3) and shall incur the following penal-
ty:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(2) Providing a piercing service that is prohibited is a violation

of OAR 331-220-0080 and ORS 676.612(1)(j) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalty:

(a) For 1st offense: $1,000;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
(3) Using personal client jewelry for initial piercing is a viola-

tion of OAR 331-220-0080(2) and shall incur the following penalty:
(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: A penalty and/or the proposed revocation,

suspension or refusal to issue a license and/or registration.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.992 & 690.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.560
Hist.: HDLP 4-2001, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-01; HLO 7-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. 7-1-04

DIVISION 405
GENERALADMINISTRATION

331-405-0020
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, divisions
400 through 430:

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document veri-
fying licensing history and status, including information disclosing all
unresolved or outstanding penalties and disciplinary actions. The doc-
ument is issued and signed by the regulatory authority in the state
which issued the license with an official seal or stamp affixed to the
document; it is not the certificate or license form issued which autho-
rizes the holder to practice.

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. The
agency is responsible for the budget, personnel, performance-based
outcomes, consumer protection, fee collection, mediation, complaint
resolution, discipline, rulemaking and record keeping.

(3) “Board” means — The State Board of Denture Technology.
(4) “Clinical procedures” means the tasks and activities that are

set forth in ORS 680.500(5)(b).
(5) “Contact hours” means actual academic, classroom, or course

work time, including but not limited to workshops, symposiums, sem-
inars, or laboratory exercises. Contact hours do not include travel time
to or from the training site, registration or check-in periods, breaks or
lunch periods.

(6) “Dentist” as used in 680.545, OAR 331-410-0000 and 331-
410-0010 means a person licensed to practice in the jurisdiction in
which the practice occurred.

(7) “Direct supervision” means that the supervisor is present in
the facility for the purpose of providing oversight and training and is
responsible for guiding and monitoring the performance of the indi-
vidual supervised. Training under the direct supervision of a school
means under the ìdirect supervisionî of a teacher employed by the
school.

(8) “Director” means the Director of the Oregon Health Licens-
ing Agency.

(9) “Employed by” means other than independent contractor rela-
tionship and does not require remuneration.

(10) “Equivalent” means substantially comparable but not iden-
tical, covering the same subject matter.

(11) “Examination”, as used in Oregon laws 2005, Chapter 415,
Section 2 and OAR 331-410-0020 and 331-410-0030, means a den-
ture technology written or practical examination administered by the
Oregon Health Licensing Agency, or a denture technology examina-
tion administered by another licensing authority that has been recog-
nized and approved by the Board as being equivalent to the Oregon
examination.

(12) “Informed Consent” means the consent obtained following
a thorough and easily understood explanation to the patient, or
patient’s guardian, of the proposed procedures, any available alterna-
tive procedures and any risks associated with the procedures. Fol-
lowing the explanation, the licensee shall ask the patient, or the
patient’s guardian, if there are any questions. The licensee shall pro-
vide thorough and easily understood answers to questions asked.

(13) “Laboratory procedures” means those tasks and activities
that are set forth in ORS 680.500(5)(a).

(14) “Official transcript” means an original document certified
by a school or educational institution, on a form approved by the
Department of Education or regulating authority, delivered from the
school to the agency by mail or courier, which includes:

(a) School name and location;
(b) Student’s name, address and date of birth;
(c) Enrollment and completion or termination dates;
(d) Hours and types of course work;
(e) Final examination scores;
(f) School seal or stamp;
(g) Signature of authorized school representative or registrar.
(15) “Oral pathology” means the pathology that deals with the

nature, identification, and management of diseases affecting the oral
and maxillofacial regions. It is a science that investigates the causes,
processes, and effects of these diseases.
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(16) “Premises” means the structure in which laboratory and/or
clinical procedures are performed, not necessarily the same room in
which procedures take place.

(17) “Predominant” means located within the place of business
and positioned so it may be seen and read without difficulty by con-
sumers who have entered the place of business.

(18) “Restoration” means licensure of a previously licensed per-
son, who has not made application for renewal within three years of
expiration of the previous license.

(19) “1,000 hours in the practice of denture technology under
direct supervision” or “1,000 hours of clinical and laboratory training
in an approved work experience program” means engaging in the clin-
ical and laboratory procedures of the practice of denture technology,
over a period of not less than six months and not more than two years
pursuant to ORS 680.510(3), with a minimum of 400 hours devoted
to clinical procedures. The 1,000 hours under direct supervision shall
include construction of no less than 40 units of upper or lower den-
tures, with a set counting as two units, and must include at least one
each of the following: full, immediate, removable partial, removable
implant and over-denture.

(20) “Treatment” means the clinical or laboratory procedures in
the practice of denture technology.

(21) “Valid license” means the authority to practice pursuant to
ORS 680 that has not been revoked, suspended, or expired without
renewal.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 12-
1981(Temp), f. & ef. 7-15-81; HD 1-1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1988, f. & cert.
ef. 3-4-88; HD 25-1988 (Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-
1-89; HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-
91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0005; HDLP
1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO
2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06

331-405-0030
Fees

(1)Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR
331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penal-
ties and charges.

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health LicensingAgency are
as follows:

(a) Application:
(A) License: $350.
(B) License by reciprocity: $450.
(C) Training registration: $200.
(b) Examination:
(A) Oregon laws & rules: $50.
(B) Written: $350.
(C) Practical: $650.
(c) Original issuance of license (including by reciprocity): $700.
(d) Renewal of license: $700.
(e) Delinquent (late) renewal of license: $25 for the first month

in expired status, and $10 each month thereafter while in an expired
status.

(f) Replacement of license, including name change: $25.
(g) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum of

three.
(h) Affidavit of licensure: $50.
(i) An additional $25 Administrative Processing fee will be

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment
of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.525
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.525
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 11-
1981(Temp), f. & ef. 7-15-81; HD 9-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 5-24-85; HD 15-1985,
f. & ef. 9-4-85; HD 25-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert.
ef. 6-1-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-
25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert.
ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0035; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-
1-01; HLO 3-2003, f. 5-6-03, cert. ef. 5-15-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-
1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; HLA 5-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef.
10-1-08

331-405-0045
Allocation of Responsibility

As set forth in ORS 680.556, the State Board of Denture Tech-
nology advises the Oregon Health LicensingAgency on matters relat-
ing to the practice of denture technology. The Director controls the reg-
ulatory operations and has decision-making authority on all
substantive matters and is responsible for the performance of the agen-
cy as defined in 686.610.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.525
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.525
Hist.: HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06

DIVISION 410
LICENSURE

331-410-0000
Training

(1) Training, or formal education, required for licensure is a
planned sequence of instruction of specific content, pursuant to ORS
680.515, structured to meet stated curriculum objectives which
includes evaluation of attainment of those objectives; offered by a
post-secondary educational institution or equivalent training as deter-
mined following evaluation by educational professional(s) from the
Governor’s Office of Education Work Force Policy/Office of Degree
Authorization. The Governor’s Office of Education and Work Force
Policy/Office of Degree Authorization will be consulted in the eval-
uation of the program, including but not limited to school accredita-
tion, instructor credentials, and lecture and lab hours as they equate
to standard academic credit hours.

(2) The education or training to be approved by the agency pur-
suant to ORS 680.515(2) in consultation with the Board, shall meet
the curriculum objectives as established by the agency. Current lists
of the curriculum objectives and approved training courses are avail-
able at the agency during regular business hours.

(3)All individuals or institutions requesting approval of a course
or training program must submit a copy of the curriculum, a list of edu-
cational materials, books audiovisual aids, and a copy of handouts and
tests to the agency for review to ensure the program meets established
training standards and curriculum objectives. The following conditions
will apply:

(a) No curriculum shall be approved without submission of com-
plete curriculum documentation;

(b) The agency shall retain a copy of the approved curriculum on
file as part of the official permanent record;

(c) Approved education and training program curricula shall be
reevaluated for approval every three years or when any portion of the
curriculum is modified, or where changes in denture technology or
health practices make it necessary.Approved programs existing on the
effective date of this rule are subject to immediate re-evaluation,
whichever occurs first; and

(d) The agency shall incur any reasonable duplication costs asso-
ciated with complying with the provisions mandated in ORS
680.515.

(4) To qualify as “equivalent supervised experience” under ORS
680.515(1)(b) or as an “approved work experience program” under
680.515(1)(c), experience must be under the direct supervision of an
approved school, of a dentist, or of a denturist. If the work experience
is under the direct supervision of a dentist or denturist, the supervis-
ing dentist or denturist must:

(a) Apply in advance on a form approved by the agency, and
obtain approval from the agency, before beginning the direct super-
vision;

(b) Hold a valid license to practice and have been in practice for
at least the last three years;

(c) Hold an oral pathology endorsement, if the supervisor is a
denturist;

(d) Operate a clinic and an on-site laboratory where the direct
supervision and training will occur;

(e) Certify in writing to the agency that the facility where the
training will take place complies with OAR chapter 331, division 420,
Practice Standards;

(f) Supervise no more than two denturist trainees at a time;
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(g) Disclose to the agency all prior disciplinary action by their
licensing board and, if previously disciplined by their licensing board,
obtain Board approval prior to any supervising denturist trainee;

(h) Provide no more than two years of direct supervision to any
individual denturist trainee undergoing the initial training required in
ORS 680.515(1)(b), or no more than one year of direct supervision to
any applicant undergoing additional clinical training required in ORS
680.515(1)(c);

(i) Obtain signed informed consent from a client or patient before
a denturist trainee may perform services for the client or patient;

(j) Ensure that a denturist trainee is clearly identified as a trainee
to clients and patients.

(5) Credit for courses completed within the five years immedi-
ately prior to making application, which cover those subjects listed in
ORS 680.515(1)(a), may be counted toward completion of schooling
requirements for a denture technology program.

(6) Documentation to prove completion of an Associate Degree
program in denture technology or the equivalent program, shall be offi-
cial school transcripts from the agency approved schools, and may
include published course outlines showing that training included cur-
riculum objectives as determined by the agency in consultation with
the Board and the Governor’s Office of Education Work Force Poli-
cy/Office of Degree Authorization.

(7) Documentation to prove additional training to satisfy ORS
680.515(1)(b) in a work experience program shall be:

(a) Official transcripts from the approved school, and a descrip-
tion of training content, hours of clinical and laboratory training, exam-
ination scores, school location, dates of attendance, and the name of
the supervisor; or

(b) Signed statement from the dentist or denturist certifying dates
of training, places of employment, description of training content, and
verification that work included both clinical procedures and laboratory
procedures.

(8) Any denturist trainee who makes more than two (2) changes
in supervision must receive approval from the Board prior to making
another change in their supervision and training.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 1-
1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef.
11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-
25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert.
ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0040; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-
1-01; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-
1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06

331-410-0010
Documentation of Experience

(1)Applicants shall document satisfactory completion of at least
1,000 hours of required work experience in the practice of denture
technology pursuant to ORS 680.515(1)(b), under the direct supervi-
sion of an approved school, a licensed dentist or a licensed denturist,
while employed by the dentist or denturist.

(2) Any person making application shall submit documentation
of denture technology experience or equivalent in practice as follows:

(a) For practice under the direct supervision of an approved
school, transcript or completion document from the school certifying
at least 1,000 hours under direct supervision.

(b) For practice in the employment of a dentist or denturist, a
statement on forms provided by the Oregon Health Licensing Agen-
cy of verification of employment and practice from the dentist or den-
turist that includes the dates of employment, number of hours worked
in each category, and number of denture units constructed and fitted.
The statement shall be signed by the dentist or denturist and the indi-
vidual who received training. The statement shall be mailed or deliv-
ered from the dentist or denturist to the agency.

(3) Documentation of denture technology experience will not be
accepted if it is incomplete, not signed or includes work experience
obtained prior to approval of the direct supervision and training rela-
tionship by the Board under OAR 331-410-0000(4).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 25-
1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 10-1989,
f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-
93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from
333-020-0025; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04,
cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06

331-410-0020
Application Requirements

(1) An applicant for a license to practice denture technology
must:

(a) Comply with the requirements of OAR 331-030-0000;
(b) Submit a completed application on a form prescribed by the

agency;
(c) Pay the fees required by OAR 331-405-0030; and
(d) Submit documentation establishing completion of the

requirements of one of the three pathways described in this rule.
(2) PATHWAY ONE Approved Education and Training with an

Oregon Examination. An applicant may qualify for licensure by
demonstrating:

(a) Completion of a program of education that has been approved
by the agency under OAR 331-410-0000;

(b) Completion of 1,000 hours of practice in denture technolo-
gy under direct supervision of an approved school or the equivalent
supervised experience described in OAR 331-410-0000(4); and

(c) Successful completion of the Oregon written and practical
examination described in OAR 331-410-0030.

(3) PATHWAYTWOApproved Education and Training with an
Examination Recognized orApproved by the Board.An applicant may
qualify for licensure by demonstrating:

(a) Completion of a program of education that has been approved
by the agency under OAR 331-410-0000;

(b) Completion of 1,000 hours of practice in denture technolo-
gy under direct supervision of an approved school or the equivalent
supervised experience described in OAR 331-410-0000(4); and

(c) Successful completion of a written and practical examination
approved or recognized by the Board pursuant to ORS 680.515(1)(c).

(4) PATHWAYTHREE License by Credential.An applicant who
is licensed to practice denture technology in another state may qual-
ify for licensure in Oregon by:

(a) Satisfying the requirements of Oregon Laws 2005, chapter
415, section 2;

(b) Submitting a signed and completed form prescribed by the
agency to document the hours of practice required by Oregon Laws
2005, chapter 415, section 2(4);

(c)Arranging for the licensing authority of the state in which the
applicant is licensed to send directly to the agency an original “Affi-
davit of Licensure” that:

(A) Verifies that the applicant holds a current valid license in
good standing to practice denture technology in that state;

(B) Describes the applicant’s history of discipline by the licens-
ing authority, including a description of all prior disciplinary actions,
all unresolved complaints, and all pending disciplinary actions; and

(C) Is signed before a notary by the person preparing the “Affi-
davit of Licensure” and sealed with the official seal or stamp of the
licensing authority.

(5) The “Affidavit of Licensure” described in paragraph (4)(c) of
this rule may be transmitted electronically to the agency so long as the
affidavit is transmitted directly from the licensing authority of the other
state. The applicant must pay any fee charged by the licensing author-
ity of the other state for producing and transmitting the affidavit.

(6)Any application that is not successfully completed within two
years of the initial application date or the date on which the last exam-
ination was taken, whichever is later, will be treated by the agency as
withdrawn, and the applicant must submit a new application, new sup-
porting documentation, and new application fees to apply for licensure.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 25-
1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 10-1989,
f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f.
& cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-
26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0015; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01,
cert. ef. 4-1-01; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04,
cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06

331-410-0030
Examinations

(1) The agency will notify qualified applicants of their eligibil-
ity to take the Oregon written and practical licensing examinations.
Applicants must take both parts of the examination on their initial
attempt, unless the applicant has previously completed and passed a
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board approved practical examination before submitting application
for Oregon licensure.

(2) The Oregon licensing examination consists of two parts: a
written examination and a practical examination:

(a) The written examination is comprised of multiple-choice
questions covering subject areas specified in ORS 680.515(1)(a) and
questions on the Oregon laws and rules regulating the practice of den-
ture technology.

(b) The practical examination requires the applicant to demon-
strate skills required to practice denture technology, including but not
limited to: patient evaluation, maxillary and mandibular custom tray
and final impressions, maxillary and mandibular preliminary and final
cast evaluation, evaluation of maxillary and mandibular wax-up on an
articulator and evaluation of maxillary and mandibular functional wax
try-in.

(3) Practical Exam Requirement: To be scheduled for an Oregon
practical examination, applicants must submit documentation and pay
required fees at least 30 calendar days prior to the examination date.
A schedule of practical examination dates is available at the Oregon
Health Licensing Agency.

(4) The Health Licensing Office will notify each applicant, in
writing by regular US Postal Service, of the results of his/her exam-
ination score within 30 days from the date of the examination. Results
will not be given by any other means.

(5) The applicant must satisfactorily complete all parts of the
examination to pass. Those that fail may repeat the parts not passed
upon submission of a supplemental application for examination, exam-
ination fee for each part to be retaken, and documentation of additional
training if applicable.

(6) Passing score for the written examination is 70 percent or
higher. The practical examination is scored on a pass or fail basis. The
portions will be scored individually, not added or averaged together.

(7) Passing scores will be maintained towards meeting licensure
requirements only for the periods set forth in OAR 331-410-0020(6).

(8)Applicants taking the examination will be required to present
government issued photographic identification such as a driver’s
license and their original Social Security card at the examination.

(9) Additional Clinical Training: As required in ORS
680.515(1)(c), the Board will prescribe additional hours of clinical and
laboratory training in an approved work experience program for appli-
cants who fail the Oregon practical examination.

(a)Additional hours of clinical and laboratory training must meet
requirements of OAR 331-410-000(4).

(b) Notwithstanding any other rule, the applicant must complete
the additional clinical and laboratory training within one year from the
date of the failed practical examination.

(10)An applicant, who fails to pass the written or practical exam-
ination on the third attempt, must apply to the Board and receive
authorization before application for re-examination will be approved.
The Board may require the applicant to undergo additional training
before taking the examination a fourth or subsequent time.

(11) Notwithstanding ORS 680.515(1)(c), failed sections of the
examination may be retaken at the next available examination date and
time as scheduling allows. Retaking a failed examination requires the
applicant to register for the examination and submit payment of the
examination fees.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.520 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.520 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 1-
1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 25-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f.
& cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-
0030; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HDLP 5-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-
14-01; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06

331-410-0040
Examination Conduct; Disqualification

(1) Examinations conducted in Oregon are held in a designated
area with restricted access. An applicant must obtain authorization
from the agency before bringing any material or electronic equipment
or devices into the examination. Receiving, attempting to receive, giv-
ing, or attempting to give assistance during the examination, includ-
ing assistance from other individuals, from notes books or devices or
taking unauthorized items into the examination area shall invalidate

the examination and will result in forfeiture of the examination and
fees.

(2) Examination Disqualification: A candidate may be immedi-
ately disqualified during or after the examination for conduct that inter-
feres with the examination. Such conduct includes:

(a) Giving or attempting to give assistance to others in answer-
ing questions during the examination;

(b) Receiving or attempting to receive assistance during the
examination, including assistance from other individuals from notes,
books or devices to answer questions;

(c) Removing or attempting to remove any secure examination-
related information, notes, or materials from the examination site;

(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the
examination;

(e) Exhibiting behavior which impedes the normal progress of the
examination; and

(f) Endangering the health or safety of a person involved in the
examination.

(3) Disqualification will invalidate the examination and result in
forfeiture of the examination and fees. The candidate will be required
to reapply, submit additional examination fees, and request in writing
to schedule another examination. Reexamination will be scheduled at
a date, time and place determined by the Director following the date
of disqualification.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.520 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.520 & 680.565
Hist.: HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef.
4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef.
1-1-06

331-410-0050
Examination Review and Appeal

Pursuant to ORS 183.435, applicants who fail to attain licensure
as a result of test scores are not entitled to a formal appeal or hearing.
Practical examination results are not challengeable.

(1) Computer Examination Segment: Review of the written
examination, conducted by use of a touch screen computerized sys-
tem, is provided at the conclusion of each examination
question/answer selection, or at the next available date and time as
scheduling allows.

(2) Written Examination Segment: Review of failed written
examination question/answer selections, conducted by use of
paper/pencil and score sheet, is provided upon submitting written
request to the agency within seven calendar days of the examination
date.

(3) Procedures for reviewing a failed written examination may
be obtained from the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.520 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.520 & 680.565
Hist.: HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef.
4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-410-0060
Licensure Issuance

(1) Pursuant to ORS 680.505, a person shall not practice denture
technology or claim to be a denturist including that a person shall not
display a sign or in any way advertise or purport to be a license hold-
er or to be engaged in the practice of denture technology without first
obtaining a license under 680.515.

(2) Licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR 331-030-0010
regarding the issuance and renewal of a license, and to the provisions
of 331-030-0020 regarding the authorization to practice, identification
and the requirements for issuance of a duplicate authorization.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 25-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89;
HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD
22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98,
Renumbered from 333-020-0032; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HDLP
1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-410-0065
License Renewal

(1) RENEWAL: The following are prerequisites to license renew-
al:

(a) The completed application for renewal submitted in advance
of the license expiration date;

(b) The renewal fee; and
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(c)Attestation of having obtained required continuing education
pursuant to OAR 331-415-0010.

(2) LATE RENEWAL: Renewal applications received in the
Health Licensing Office, or postmarked, within one year after the expi-
ration date may be approved upon payment of the renewal and delin-
quency fees and required attestation of having obtained sufficient con-
tinuing education.

(3) RESTORATION:Aperson who submits a completed renew-
al application after one year but within three years from the date of
expiration, may be granted a license upon payment of restoration and
license fees, and submission of evidence of sufficient continuing edu-
cation as required in OAR 331-415-0010.Aperson who does not meet
continuing education requirements within the three-year reporting
cycle, must reapply and meet all requirements for licensure in place
at the time of application.

(4) RE-APPLICATION/QUALIFICATION:Aperson who fails
to renew within three years following the date of expiration, may be
granted a license upon reapplication, payment of license and/or exam-
ination fee(s), as applicable, and submission of evidence of clinical
competence satisfactory to the Health Licensing Office as follows:

(a) Documentation, showing the person engaged in active prac-
tice of denture technology in another state or territory during at least
two of the last three years preceding reapplication, verifying con-
struction of no less than 40 units of upper or lower dentures (a set
counting as two units), and must include at least one each of the fol-
lowing: full, immediate, removable partial, removable implant and
over-denture. Documentation must include verification of work expe-
rience/employment and copies of patient treatment records; or

(b) Attain a passing score on the written and practical examina-
tion conducted by the Health Licensing Office, as prescribed by the
Board.

(5) A person who previously held an Oregon denturist license
without an oral pathology endorsement does not qualify for licensure
under reapplication provisions in subsection (4) of this rule. A person
must meet all requirements of OAR 331-410-0010 and 331-410-0020
to qualify for an Oregon denturist license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565
Hist.: HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-410-0080
Oral Health Certificate

(1) Denturists licensed prior to January 1, 2004, who have not
received an oral pathology endorsement as described in ORS 680.545
may not treat any person without a valid Oral Health Certificate for
the person stating the person’s oral cavity is substantially free from dis-
ease and mechanically sufficient to receive a denture.

(2)Avalid Oral Health Certificate shall be in the form prescribed
by the Health Licensing Office, signed by a licensed dentist or physi-
cian (M.D. or D.O.) stating that the person’s cavity is substantially free
from disease and mechanically sufficient to receive a denture, and
show an examination of the oral cavity took place within 30 days of
the date of commencing treatment.

(3) Oral Health Certificate forms are available at the agency.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.545
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.545
Hist.: HD 12-1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-29-80; HD 6-1981, f. & ef. 4-3-81; HD 4-1988,
f. & cert. ef. 3-4-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-
25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert.
ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0055; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-
1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-410-0090
License Display

Denturists shall post their current license to practice denture tech-
nology in public view.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565
Hist.: HD 12-1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-29-80; HD 6-1981, f. & ef. 4-3-81; HD 22-
1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP
3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0060; HLO 2-2004,
f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 415
CONTINUING EDUCATION

331-415-0000
Purpose

(1) To ensure continuing efforts on the part of Oregon licensed
denturists to remain current with new developments in the denture
technology and health care field and to encourage diversified training
and qualifications in the profession continuing education is required
as a condition of licensure.

(2) Continuing education requirements apply whether the appli-
cant renewing a license is living or working within Oregon or outside
of the state so long as Oregon licensure is maintained.

(3) Continuing education is required for renewal, every two
years, even if the denturist license has been inactive during that peri-
od.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.530
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.530
Hist.: HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04; HLA 5-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-415-0010
Continuing Education Requirements

(1) Each denturist must complete 20 contact hours of continuing
education every two years from the date of licensure to qualify for
renewal of the denturist’s license. Four of the required 20 hours must
be directly related to partial denture services.

(2) Each denturist shall report compliance with the continuing
education requirement through attestation on the license renewal doc-
ument. Licensees shall be subject to the provisions of OAR 331-415-
0020 pertaining to the periodic audit of continuing education.

(3) Continuing education includes attendance or participation at
an instructional program presented, recognized, or under the auspices
of any permanently organized institution, agency, or professional orga-
nization or association. For example, lectures, post-secondary school
or post-graduate courses, scientific sessions at conventions, teaching
(provided that no more than half the required hours be in teaching),
or correspondence courses, or video tapes, or similar self-study pro-
vided an examination is taken and passed as part of the course.

(4) Subject matter shall be related specifically to denture tech-
nology as set forth in ORS 680.515(1)(a), the law and rules regulat-
ing licensed denturists, science, related dental practices, health care
professional concerns such as infection control or medical emergen-
cies, ethics, and business practices. A Board member will be desig-
nated to review the content of continuing education courses upon
request by Oregon Health Licensing Agency.

(5) Proof of participation in required continuing education is the
responsibility of the denturist. To ensure that adequate proof of attain-
ment of required continuing education is available for audit or inves-
tigation by the agency, denturists shall maintain a record of attendance
for two years following the two-year continuing education cycle and
renewal of the denturist license.

(6) Hours obtained in excess of the 20 contact hours required
each two-year period will not be carried forward as credit for the suc-
ceeding two-year continuing education requirement.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 680.530 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 680.530 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991 (Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-
91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0041; HDLP
1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA
5-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-415-0020
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Health Licensing Office will audit a select percentage
of licensee records determined by the Board to verify compliance with
continuing education requirements.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days
from the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence of
participation in required continuing education in accordance with OAR
331-415-0010.

(3) Documentation of a certificate of completion of attendance
at a program or course provided by the sponsor must include:
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(a) Name of sponsoring institution/association or organization;
(b) Title of presentation and description of content;
(c) Name of instructor or presenter;
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours;
(e) Course agenda;
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance.
(4) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-

plete, the licensee must correct the deficiency within 30 calendar days
from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency within the pre-
scribed time shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(5) Misrepresentation of continuing education, or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include but is not limited to assessment
of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565
Hist.: HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef
6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 420
PRACTICE STANDARDS

331-420-0000
Practice Standards

Licensed denturists shall adhere to the following practice stan-
dards:

(1) Oral Health Certificate. Denturists must either have an oral
pathology endorsement on their license, or if they have not qualified
for and received the endorsement, must comply with requirements for
obtaining an Oral Health Certificate as described in ORS 680.545 and
OAR 331-410-0080.

(2) Patient Documentation. Licensed denturists must record,
update and maintain documentation for each patient relevant to health
history, clinical examinations and treatment, and financial data. Doc-
umentation shall be written or computerized. Records should include
the following information:

(a) Patient data, including name, address, date and description of
examination;

(b) Evidence of informed consent (may be in the form of an
acronym such as “PARQ” to denote procedure, alternatives, risks and
questions);

(c) Date and description of treatment or services rendered, and
any treatment complications;

(d) Health history as applicable; and
(e) Any other information deemed appropriate to patient care.
(3) Clinical Examination. Licensed denturists must conduct and

record a clinical examination of each patient that will include at a min-
imum, information relative to:

(a) Appearance of gingiva, oral mucosal membranes, pharynx,
tongue and all other oral soft tissue; and

(b) Oral conditions that may affect successful denture construc-
tion and use.

(4) Record Retention. Patient documentation, written or archived
electronically by computer, must be retained for a minimum of seven
years and available upon request by the agency.

(5) Minimum Standards of Acceptable Patient Care. Licensees
must adhere to the following practice standards in rendering accept-
able patient care:

(a) Maintain accurate patient records;
(b) Provide goods and services within a reasonable amount of

time;
(c) Seek consultation/referral if indicated;
(d) Make accurate representation to the patient on services or

denture functionality;
(e) Provide or arrange for continuity of care or emergency treat-

ment for a patient currently receiving treatment;
(f) Employ current denture technology practices and materials;
(g) Adhere to appropriate use of quality materials;
(h)Adhere to Centers for Disease Control infection control stan-

dards and the Board’s clinical requirements;
(i) Provide a copy of the patient record in a reasonable amount

of time for a reasonable amount of money as requested by the patient.

(6) Minimum Standards of Acceptability for Full Dentures:
Licensees must adhere to the following practice standards in con-
structing full dentures that provide appropriate function. Acceptabil-
ity is measured against the following criteria:

(a) The maxillary denture covers the entire hard palate, with a
postdam that extends from the hamular notch to form a posterior seal
on the soft palate;

(b) The mandibular denture has full posterior flanges, extending
near the floor of the mouth and extending distally to include a portion
of the retromolar pad;

(c) The denture base material adapts to the soft tissues and the
extension achieves stability;

(d) Tooth position, size, and shade appear natural;
(e) Contour and shade of the denture base material appear natu-

ral;
(f) Centric relation, if not correct, is correctable;
(g) Vertical dimension is within the physiologic tolerance of the

patient;
(h) No occlusal interferences are present in lateral and protrusive

excursions;
(i) Occlusal surfaces have anatomic or nonanatomic detail, and

masticatory forces are evenly distributed;
(j) Occlusal disharmony is not present; and
(k) There may not be movement of the denture when biting pres-

sure is applied in anterior and posterior segments of the arch except
when it is not reasonably possible to achieve the desired result.

(7)Any deviation from the standards outlined in subsection (6)(a)
through (k) of this rule, must be based on the patient’s individual phys-
iology, in the best interest of the patient, and in conformance with gen-
erally accepted standards of patient care. On such occasion, the den-
turist must document the reasons for the deviation in the patient record.
Failure to document the reasons for deviation from stated standards
creates a presumption that the deviation was not in the best interest of
the patient.

(8) Violation of Standards. Violation of any practice standard in
OAR 331-420-0000 shall constitute grounds for discipline.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 4-1988, f. & cert. ef. 3-4-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 13-
1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92, Subsections
(9)(a) through (h) renumbered to 333-020-0090 and 333-020-0100; HD 22-1993,
f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered
from 333-020-0085; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-
29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-420-0010
Business Premise Requirements

The clinical procedures of denture technology shall be conduct-
ed in business premises that meet the following criteria:

(1)All areas of the business premises where denture technology
is practiced shall be kept clean and in good repair.

(2) Denturists shall be subject to all Oregon Department of
Human Services, Health Services and other city, county, state and fed-
eral regulations pertaining to public health and safety. Compliance
with building, state fire, plumbing and electrical regulations is
required.

(3) When an employee/employer relationship exists, denturists
shall comply with ORS 654 and the Oregon Safe Employment Act,
and adhere to all Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Codes (OR-
OSHA), and Centers for Disease Control (CDC) infection control stan-
dards.

(4) Pets or other animals shall not be permitted in the business
premises. This prohibition does not apply to registered therapy ani-
mals, trained guide animals for the disabled, sightless or hearing
impaired, or fish in an aquarium.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.550 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.550 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92,
Renumbered from 333-020-0085(9)(a) through (h); HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert.
ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-
0090; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03 cert. ef. 2-1-03

331-420-0020
Clinical Requirements

The Board will consider current Centers for Disease Control
guidelines when determining acceptable patient care and requirements
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for the clinical practice of denture technology. Additionally, dentur-
ists must comply with the following standards:

(1) Instruments, implements, supplies and impression trays used
in intra-oral procedures that come in contact with body fluids shall be
sterilized prior to each use.

(2) Instruments or other equipment which are “heat-sensitive”
shall be disinfected by complete immersion of the object(s) or por-
tion(s) thereof to be disinfected, in an FDA approved chemical steri-
lent, and used according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

(3) Mechanical sterilizing devices shall be tested for functional-
ity on a quarterly basis by means of a biological monitoring system
that indicates the destruction of micro-organisms, and chemical indi-
cators (color change) to assure sufficient temperature and correct func-
tioning of equipment during each sterilization cycle.

(4) Chemical and biological test results shall be available at the
business premises at all times for inspection by the Health Licensing
Office enforcement officers. Biological test results must be on labo-
ratory letterhead and must contain the test date, and the name, model
and serial number of the unit tested. Biological test results shall be
retained for a two year period.

(5) Environmental surfaces that are contaminated by blood or
saliva shall be disinfected with a high-level disinfectant, which is
tuberculocidal and labeled accordingly, or bleach solution, used
according to manufacturer’s instructions.

(6) Disposable gloves shall be worn whenever placing fingers
into the mouth of a patient or when handling blood or saliva contam-
inated instruments or equipment. Hands shall be washed and re-gloved
before performing procedures on another patient.

(7) All contaminated wastes and sharps shall be disposed of
according to governmental requirements, specifically ORS 459.386
through 459.405 and OAR 333-056-0020. “Sharps” means any object
that can penetrate the skin, including but not limited to needles, scalpel
blades, lancets, glass tubes, or other instruments that could be broken
during handling, and syringes that have been removed from their orig-
inal sterile containers.

(8) All procedures performed shall be in such a manner as to
avoid cross contamination of blood borne pathogens.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92, Renumbered from 333-020-0085(9)(a)
through (h); HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98,
cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0100; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert.
ef. 4-1-01; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert.
ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 425
COMPLAINT PROCESSINGAND RESOLUTION

331-425-0010
Procedure for Filing a Complaint

The Health Licensing Office may initiate and conduct investi-
gations of matters relating to the practice of denture technology, pur-
suant to ORS 676.608, and may take appropriate disciplinary action
in accordance with the provisions of ORS 676.612 and 680.535.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.608, 676.615, 676.992, 680.535 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.608, 676.615, 676.992, 680.535 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 1-1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 3-1992,
f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f.
6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0070; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-
01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 430
DISCIPLINE; CIVIL PENALTIES

331-430-0000
Disciplinary Action

(1) The Health Licensing Office may refuse to issue, suspend or
revoke a license, or place a licensed person on probation for the caus-
es stated in ORS 680.535.

(2) The agency shall have grounds for a determination of incom-
petency in the practice of denture technology pursuant to ORS
680.535, upon evidence of the use of any controlled substance, dan-
gerous or illegal drug, intoxicating liquor, or any emotional or phys-

ical impairment of a denturist, to the extent that such use or condition
impairs or prevents the denturists ability to perform competently.

(3) The agency shall have grounds for a determination of fraud
or misrepresentation in the practice of denture technology pursuant to
ORS 680.535, upon evidence of any advertising statements of a nature
that would deceive or mislead the public or that are untruthful, such
as:

(a) Incorrect use of a title; or
(b) Claiming or implying a qualification, competency or specialty

in connection with the practice of denture technology to which the per-
son is not entitled, or which is untrue.

(4) The specific identification of grounds for disciplinary action
stated in sections (2) and (3) of this rule are intended to be descriptive
of some, but not limited to, those causes for which disciplinary action
may be taken as stated in ORS 680.535.

(5) Failure to cooperate with the agency or its agent is considered
unprofessional conduct and is subject to discipline, which may include
license suspension, revocation and/or assessment of civil fines. Unpro-
fessional conduct includes, but is not limited to, the following:

(a) Failing to respond to an inquiry from the agency regarding a
complaint;

(b) Failing to provide information to the agency in response to
a written inquiry, or provide written response within specified time
allotted by notice of intended action;

(c) Failing to temporarily surrender custody of original client
records to the agency upon request, which includes treatment charts,
models, health histories, billing documents, correspondence and mem-
oranda;

(d) Interference, use of threats or harassment which delays or
obstructs any person in providing evidence in any investigation, con-
tested case, or other legal action instituted by the agency;

(e) Interference, use of threats or harassment which obstructs or
delays the agency in carrying out its functions under ORS 680.500 to
680.535 and rules adopted thereunder;

(f) Deceiving or attempting to deceive the Board or agency con-
cerning any matter under investigation including altering or destroy-
ing any records.

(6) When the Health Licensing Office requires correction of defi-
ciencies in lieu of the suspension, revocation or denial of license, the
correction shall be made within the time frames established by the
agency or the suspension, revocation or denial of license action will
proceed.

(7) Practicing denture technology while a license is in suspend-
ed status is grounds for additional disciplinary action, which includes
revocation and/or fines.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.530 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.535 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 1-1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 13-
1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993,
f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered
from 333-020-0075; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01

331-430-0030
Establishing Civil Penalty Amounts

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the first and second violations of the fol-
lowing laws and rules. The following scheduled shall apply except as
the agency otherwise determines in consideration of the factors ref-
erenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For subsequent violations the provi-
sions of OAR 331-020-0060 will apply.

(1) Practicing or holding one’s self out as available to practice
denture technology, or using the title denturist without a license or with
an expired or suspended license is a violation of ORS 680.505 and may
incur a penalty of $5,000.

(2) Licensed denturists who allow non-licensed persons to per-
form clinical procedures is a violation of ORS 680.505 and may incur
a penalty of $5,000.

(3) Failing to post a current, valid denturist license in public view
is a violation of OAR 331-410-0090 and may incur a penalty of $150.

(4) Performing or offering to perform denture technology ser-
vices involving intra-oral work, without obtaining a valid Oral Health
Certificate prior to services being rendered, or without having quali-
fied for and obtained an oral pathology endorsement is a violation of
ORS 680.545, and may incur a penalty of $2,000.
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(5) Failing to notify the agency within 30 days of a change in
business related information or license status, is a violation of OAR
331-010-0040, and may incur a penalty of $200.

(6)Advertising in a manner, which would deceive or mislead the
public or that is untruthful is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(b), and
may incur a penalty of $2,000.

(7) Failing to meet practice standards, involving health history,
clinical examination, record of clinical treatment, or retention of
records is a violation of ORS 680.550 and OAR 331-420-0000, and
may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(8) Failing to meet minimum standards of acceptability for full
dentures according to OAR 331-420-0000(6), or to meet standards for
partial dentures as determined by the board may incur a penalty of
$5,000.

(9) Failing to maintain clean floors, walls and ceilings in the clin-
ical area of the premises is a violation of OAR 331-420-0010(1), and
may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(10) Failing to disinfect surfaces or blood spills by using an Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency registered disinfectant is a violation of
OAR 331-420-0020(5), and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(11) Failing to sterilize all instruments, impression trays, and sup-
plies for intraoral use prior to each use on patients is a violation of
OAR 331-420-0020(1), and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(12) Failing to test all sterilizing devices on a quarterly basis is
a violation of OAR 331-420-0020(3), and may incur a penalty of
$1,000.

(13) Failing to have both biological and chemical test results
available at the facility for inspection by the agency enforcement offi-
cers is a violation of OAR 331-420-0020(4), and may incur a penal-
ty of $1000.

(14) Failing to keep Environmental ProtectionAgency registered
disinfecting solution at adequate strength and free of foreign materi-
al to maintain effectiveness is a violation of OAR 331-420-0020(5),
and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(15) Failing to wash hands with a germicidal or antiseptic soap
and water before and after every patient when clinical contact occurs
or failing to use disposable gloves whenever placing fingers into a
patient’s mouth or when handling blood or saliva contaminated instru-
ments or equipment is a violation of OAR 331-420-0020(6), and may
incur a penalty of $1,000.

(16) Failing to perform procedures in such a manner as to avoid
cross contamination of blood borne pathogens is a violation of OAR
331-420-0020(8), and may incur a penalty of $500.

(17) Failing to dispose contaminated wastes and/or sharps in
accordance with provisions of ORS 459.386 through 459.405 and
OAR 333-056-0020 is a violation of 331-420-0020(7) and may incur
a penalty of $1,000.

(18)Allowing pets or other animals on the premises of the busi-
ness facility other than trained guide animals or fish in an aquarium,
is a violation of OAR 331-420-0010(4), and may incur a penalty of
$500.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565 & 680.572
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565 & 680.572
Hist.: HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0120; HDLP
1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 505
GENERALADMINISTRATION

331-505-0000
Definitions

The definitions of terms used in ORS 690.350 to 690.430 and
690.992 and the rules of OAR chapter 331, divisions 500 through 590,
are:

(1) “Advisory Council” means, pursuant to ORS 690.425, the
entity that advises the agency in matters relating to the practice of elec-
trology, permanent coloring and tattooing in accordance with
690.430. The agency director controls the regulatory operations and
has decision-making authority on all substantive matters.

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. The
agency is responsible for the budget, personnel, performance-based

outcomes, consumer protection, fee collection, mediation, complaint
resolution, discipline, rulemaking and record keeping.

(3) “Antiseptic” means product used to stop or inhibit the growth
of bacteria.

(4) “Clean” means the absence of soil and dirt by washing,
sweeping, clearing away, or any other appropriate method rendering
a sanitary condition.

(5) “Closed book” means without aid from or availability of writ-
ten material.

(6) “Director” means the individual who is responsible for the
performance of the agency under ORS 676.610. The director appoints
all the subordinate officers and employees to carry out the duties of
the agency.

(7) “Easily accessible” means unrestricted use or availability,
easy to approach or enter.

(8) “Enclosed storage area” means separate room, closet, cup-
board or cabinet.

(9) “Equivalent” means comparable but not identical, covering
the same subject matter.

(10) “Facility” means an establishment in which a licensee(s) per-
forms electrolysis, permanent coloring or tattooing, or any combina-
tion thereof.

(11) “Health Licensing Office” means agency.
(12) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, which has

demonstrated tuberculocidal activity and is registered with the Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency.

(13) “Incompetence” includes, but is not limited to, a demon-
strated lack of ability or fitness to perform.

(14) “Linens” means cloths or towels used for such things as
draping or protecting table.

(15) “Low-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, which has
demonstrated bactericidal, germicidal, fungicidal and limited viruci-
dal activity and is registered with Environmental Protection Agency.

(16) “Official transcript” means an original document certified
by a licensed or accredited school indicating hours and types of course
work, examinations and scores that the student completed. The tran-
script must be mailed or delivered directly from the school to the agen-
cy by one of the following methods:

(a) Regular USPS mail service;
(b) Recognized mail service provider, such as UPS or FEDEX;
(c) Authorized courier;
(d) Electronic or facsimile transmission to specified agency email

address and/or FAX number.
(17) “One year of work experience” means employment con-

sisting of a 40-hour work week for a minimum of 50 consecutive
weeks during a 12 month period or a cumulative total of 2,000 clock
hours within a 24 month period.

(18) “Operatory” means isolated area where treatment or services
are provided.

(19) “Part-time experience” means engaging in practice for a
period of at least 24 weeks or l,000 hours during a 12 month time peri-
od.

(20) “Photographic identification” means an official document
issued by a recognized governmental agency or entity, including but
not limited to a valid driver’s license, passport, health identification
card, or other document which contains personal information per-
taining to the individual, a photograph and signature.

(21) “Place or places of business” means the physical location
where services are performed or will be performed.

(22) “Premises” means the entire building or structure within
which services are performed.

(23) “Probation” means continuation of licensure under condi-
tions set by the agency.

(24) “Protective gloves” means gloves made of vinyl, latex or
“Nitrile”.

(25) “Public view” means open to view and easy for the public
to see, located in the operatory/treatment area, or waiting/lobby area
at the place of business.

(26) “Reactivate” means to change an expired license to an active
license.

(27) “Reciprocity” means that an applicant, holding an active cer-
tificate or license in another state, meets the qualifications and require-
ments for licensure based on satisfactory completion of education,
training, and/or work experience determined equivalent to Oregon
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standards, and further that the applicant has demonstrated competen-
cy by satisfactory completion of a national or state written and/or prac-
tical examination recognized or approved by the agency.

(28) “Renew” means to extend a current license for two years
beyond expiration or to bring an expired license to current, active sta-
tus.

(29) “Residence address or place(s) of business” means a street,
route or location address, not a post office box.

(30) “Sharps” means any object that can penetrate the skin,
including but not limited to needles, scalpel blades, lancets, glass
tubes, or other instruments that could be broken during handling, and
syringes that have been removed from their original sterile contain-
ers.

(31) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof
container that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation and
disposal. The container must be red and labeled with the “Biohazard”
symbol.

(32) “Single Use” means products or items that are disposed of
after each use, including but not limited to, cotton swabs or balls, tis-
sues or paper products, paper or plastic cups, gauze and sanitary cov-
erings.

(33) “Sterilization” means destruction of all forms of microbiotic
life, including spores.

(34) “Suspend” refers to two distinct meanings defined by statute:
ORS 690.385(2) pertaining to voluntary license expiration, and ORS
676.612 pertaining to disciplinary action.

(35) “Under direct supervision of a physician” means employed
by and working in the office of a physician, with treatment ordered by
and reimbursed to the physician.

Stat. Auth. : ORS 676.615 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0020; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA
10-2008, f. 9-15-08 & cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-505-0010
Fees

(1)Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR
331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penal-
ties and charges.

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health LicensingAgency are
as follows:

(a) Application:
(A) Practitioner license — Permanent color and tattoo: $100.
(B) Practitioner license — Electrology: $50.
(C) Practitioner license by reciprocity — Permanent color and

tattoo: $150.
(D) Practitioner license by reciprocity — Electrology: $150.
(E) Facility license — Permanent color and tattoo: $150.
(F) Facility license — Electrology: $100.
(G) Temporary facility license: $100.
(H) Demonstration permit: $100.
(b) Examination:
(A) Permanent color and tattoo — Oregon laws & rules: $50.
(B) Permanent color and tattoo — Written: $50.
(C) Permanent color and tattoo — Skills assessment: $100.
(D) Electrology — Oregon laws & rules: $50.
(E) Electrology — Written: $50.
(F) Electrology — Practical: $100.
(c) Original issuance of authorization to practice:
(A) Practitioner license — Permanent color and tattoo (includ-

ing by reciprocity): $125.
(B) Practitioner license — Electrology (including by reciproci-

ty): $50.
(C) Facility license — Permanent color and tattoo: $125.
(D) Facility license — Electrology: $100.
(d) Permits:
(A) Temporary facility: $50.
(B) Demonstration: $50.
(e) Renewal of authorization to practice:
(A) Practitioner license — Permanent color and tattoo: $100.
(B) Practitioner license — Electrology: $38.
(C) Facility license — Permanent color and tattoo: $100.
(D) Facility license — Electrology: $100.

(f) Other administrative fees:
(A) Delinquent (late) renewal of license: $25 for the first month

in expired status, and $10 each month thereafter while in an expired
status.

(B) Replacement of license, including name change: $25.
(C) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum of

three.
(D) Affidavit of licensure: $50.
(E) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment
of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.415
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; OHD 14-1998, f. 12-9-98, cert. ef. 12-
15-98; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0155;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 8-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-20-
04 thru 2-16-05; HLO 9-2004, f. 10-25-04, cert. ef. 11-1-04; HLA2-2007, f. & cert.
ef. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07; HLA 10-2008, f. 9-15-08 & cert. ef. 10-1-08

DIVISION 510
DEFINITIONS FOR THE PRACTICE OF ELECTROLOGY
331-510-0000
Electrology Definitions

In addition to definitions listed in OAR 331-505-0000, the fol-
lowing terms are specific to divisions 510 through 545.

(1) “Access” means unrestricted use or availability, easy to
approach or enter; may be adjacent to or within a reasonable distance.

(2) “Instruments” means devices, tools and implements used in
the practice of electrolysis, which includes but is not limited to nee-
dles, probes, forceps, hemostases, or tweezers.

(3) “Modality” means manner of mode in which electricity is
used to produce a therapeutic effect (i.e. electrolysis, thermolysis, the
blend).

(4) “Needle” means the conductor as referred to in ORS
690.350(5) also called wires or probes.

Stat. Auth. : ORS 676.615 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0020; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 515
ELECTROLOGY: QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE

331-515-0000
Approval of Schools

The Health Licensing Office shall recognize a school of elec-
trolysis that has met the following requirements:

(1) The facility has been approved and registered by the Depart-
ment of Education, Private Career Schools, and meets provisions of
ORS 345 and rules adopted by the Department for licensure as a career
school;

(2)A curriculum/course of study has been submitted to the agen-
cy which has been approved as meeting the curriculum objectives out-
lined under OAR 333-515-0010;

(3) An initial inspection has been conducted by the Department
of Education and agency and the facility satisfactorily passed require-
ments for compliance with instruction and sanitary rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.410
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0025; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-515-0010
Approved Course of Study

To be approved by the agency, a course of study shall include, at
least 600 hours of training instruction. The course shall include at least
235 hours of theory and at least 365 hours of practical experience in
the following areas:

(1) Laws and rules: 15 hours of training in theory.
(2) Bacteriology: 20 hours of training in theory.
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(3) Infection control and sterilization: 20 hours of training in the-
ory and 15 hours of practical training.

(4) Anatomy and physiology: 20 hours of training in theory.
(5) Endocrinology: 20 hours of training in theory.
(6) Structure, dynamics and diseases of skin and hair: 30 hours

of training in theory.
(7) Circulatory and nervous system: 20 hours of training in the-

ory.
(8) Electricity: 15 hours of training in theory.
(9) Electrolysis (galvanic): 20 hours of training in theory and 115

hours of practical training.
(10) Thermolysis: 20 hours of training in theory and 115 hours

of practical training.
(11) Combinations of electrolysis and thermolysis (blend): 20

hours of training in theory and 110 hours of practical training.
(12) Draping and positioning: 5 hours of training in theory and

5 hours of practical training.
(13) Professional ethics and business practices: 10 hours of train-

ing in theory and 5 hours of practical training.
Stat. Auth : ORS 690.405 & 690.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.405 & 690.410
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0030;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-515-0020
Equivalent Course of Study; Experience Equivalency Standards

An applicant shall not be required to comply with the training
requirements under OAR 331-515-0010 to the extent the agency deter-
mines that training and/or work experience obtained is equivalent to
minimum requirements based on documentation of two years full-time
or four years part-time active work experience in the field of elec-
trolysis.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.365, 690.405 & 690.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.365, 690.405 & 690.410
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0045 &
333-305-0050; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-515-0030
Application for Licensure

(1) Individuals applying for licensure to practice electrology must
meet the requirements of OAR 331-030-0000 in addition to the pro-
visions of this rule.

(2) Applicants must submit a completed application form pre-
scribed by the agency, which shall contain the information listed in
OAR 331-030-0000(5) and be accompanied by payment of the appli-
cation, examination and license fees.

(3)Applicants shall be at least 18 years of age, and shall provide
documentation confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth cer-
tificate, driver’s license, passport or school/military/governmental
record.

(4) Applicants shall have completed four years of standard high
school education or the equivalent.Acceptable documentation is a high
school diploma, letter from school or military records verifying com-
pletion, GED passing scores, or proof of enrollment in a post-sec-
ondary educational institution.

(5) The completed application must include submission of sat-
isfactory evidence of equivalency as required by the agency pursuant
to OAR 331-515-0020, or by one of the following pathways for licen-
sure:

(a)OFFICIALTRANSCRIPT: The document shall be mailed
directly to the agency from a licensed or accredited school or an equiv-
alent institution recognized by the agency, showing completion of the
prescribed course of study, listed in OAR 331-515-0010 or its equiv-
alent approved by the agency, and shall be issued by:

(A) A school of electrolysis licensed by the Department of Edu-
cation, Private Career Schools, under ORS 345;

(B) A licensed or accredited school of electrolysis located in
another state where the practice of electrolysis is unregulated; or

(C) An institution recognized by the agency, such as a medical
facility or other county, state, or federal agency or entity, where train-
ing and education is provided by means of a standardized course of
study, adhering to prescribed curriculum objectives and criteria.

(D) The transcript must be mailed or transmitted directly to the
agency or delivered in person in a sealed envelope by an authorized
courier.

(b) OUT OF STATE LICENSURE: Applicants who hold an
electrolysis license issued from another state shall submit an original
Affidavit of Licensure form affixed with the state’s seal or stamp,
signed by the regulatory authority where the applicant is currently
licensed, and mailed directly to the agency office by the regulatory
authority.

(A) The form shall indicate whether the applicant satisfactorily
passed a national or state prepared written and practical examination.

(B) Additional documentation may be required substantiating
completion of equivalent training requirements listed in OAR 331-
515-0020.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.365 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.365 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0035;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 520
ELECTROLOGY: EXAMINATIONS

331-520-0000
Examination Authorization

(1) The agency will conduct examinations for licensure. Appli-
cants will not be approved for an examination until all documentation
and fee requirements have been completed.

(2) The agency reserves the right to alter or adjust examination
dates, times and locations as it deems necessary to meet emergency
situations and will notify applicants and schools in advance whenev-
er possible.

(3) The agency will mail notice to each applicant approved for
the practical examination by U.S. Postal Service, at least 15 calendar
days prior to the examination. Notification will not be given by any
other means.

(4) Applicants shall be required to present photographic identi-
fication, such as a driver’s license and their original Social Security
card at the examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0075 & 333-
305-0080; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-520-0010
Examination for Electrologist License

(1) The examination for an electrolysis license shall consist of
two sections: a written examination and a practical examination.Appli-
cants shall take all sections of both parts of the examination on the first
attempt.

(2) The written examination shall consist of 200 multiple-choice
questions. Questions shall cover subjects required in an approved
course of study in accordance with OAR 331-515-0010.

(3) The practical examination will consist of an actual demon-
stration of hair removal on a model provided by the applicant. Infor-
mation on the practical examination procedures will be mailed to
applicants with the examination notice. Refer to OAR 331-520-
0000(3).

(4) Graded criteria shall include model preparation, safety, ster-
ilization and infection control, technique, use of instruments, and after-
care.

(5) The examination shall be “closed book,” and shall be pre-
pared or conducted in English.

(6) The written and practical sections of the examination will be
scored individually, not added or averaged together.

(7) A passing score of at least 75 percent on each section of the
examination is required before a license will be issued.

(8) Applicants failing to successfully complete the examination
process and attain licensure within two years from the date of the ini-
tial application or the most recent examination attempt, whichever is
later, shall be required to:

(a) Reapply for examination according to OAR 331-515-0030;
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(b) Pay the appropriate fees; and
(c) Retake examination.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.370, 690.405 & 690.430
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.370, 690.405 & 690.430
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0065; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-520-0030
Special Examination Accommodations

(1) Applicants who have a learning, psychological, physical, or
other disability, which requires an accommodation to the regular test-
ing environment may request a special examination.

(2) Requests for accommodation shall be made on forms pro-
vided by the agency and shall contain supporting documentation com-
pleted by a licensed professional holding appropriate credentials qual-
ified to certify that the applicant’s disabling condition requires the
requested test accommodation.

(3) A “Request for Accommodation” form must be submitted to
the agency at least 30 calendar days in advance of the scheduled exam-
ination date to make appropriate arrangements contingent upon the
type of accommodation requested.

(4) All special examinations are conducted at the agency. If the
agency is unable to accommodate the disability on-site, special
arrangements will be arranged for an adequate test site.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Hist.: HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-520-0040
Examination Conduct; Disqualification

(1) Examinations are conducted in a designated area with restrict-
ed access.Authorization must be provided by the agency before bring-
ing any material or electronic equipment or devices into the exami-
nation. Receiving or attempting to receive assistance during the
examination, including assistance from other individuals, from notes
books or devices or taking unauthorized items into the examination
area shall invalidate the examination and result in forfeiture of the
examination and fees.

(2) Examination Disqualification: A candidate may be immedi-
ately disqualified during or after the examination for conduct that inter-
feres with the examination. Such conduct includes:

(a) Giving or receiving aid, directly or indirectly during the exam-
ination process;

(b) Obtaining help or information from notes, books, or other
individuals to answer questions;

(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-related
information, notes or materials from the examination site;

(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the
examination; and

(e) Exhibiting behavior which impedes the normal progress of the
examination.

(3) Disqualification will invalidate the examination and result in
forfeiture of the examination fees. The applicant will be required to
reapply, submit additional examination fees and request in writing to
schedule another examination. Reexamination will be scheduled at a
date, time and place determined by the Director following the date of
disqualification. Re-examination will be conducted at the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.410
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0090; HLO
5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-520-0060
Examination Review Procedures

(1) Opportunity to review failed sections of the written exami-
nation, conducted by use of the electronic touch screen computer test-
ing system, are provided at the conclusion of each examination ques-
tion/answer selection, or immediately following conclusion of the
entire examination. Review of failed examination sections at a later
time or date is prohibited.

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must present photo-
graphic identification such as a driver’s license and their original
Social Security card as required by OAR 331-520-0000.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405

Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0100; HLO
5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-520-0070
Retake of Examination Sections; Additional Training

(1) Failed sections of the examination may be retaken at the next
available examination date and time, as scheduling allows. Retaking
a failed examination requires registration and payment of the exami-
nation fees.

(2)Applicants who fail the examination three times (first attempt
plus two retakes) must obtain an additional 100 hours of theory train-
ing within their scope of practice through an Oregon career school
licensed under ORS 345.010 to 345.450 before they will be eligible
to retake the examination.

(3) Prior to an applicant’s fourth examination attempt, an official
transcript must be received from an Oregon licensed career school
which verifies that the applicant has satisfactorily completed the addi-
tional hours of instruction.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0105 & 333-305-0110; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert.
ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 525
ELECTROLOGY: LICENSE ISSUANCE,
RENEWALAND REACTIVATION

331-525-0000
License Issuance; Renewal

(1) Licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR 331-030-0010
regarding issuance and renewal of a license, and to the provisions of
331-030-0020 regarding authorization to practice, identification and
requirements for issuance of a replacement or duplicate authorization.

(2) Renewal payments received by the agency, or postmarked,
after the expiration date but within three years of expiration, will be
assessed delinquency (late) fees in addition to the renewal fee.

(3) Failure to meet continuing education requirements listed in
OAR 331-530-0000 will require reapplication, submission of required
fees and successfully passing all sections of the examination before a
license will be reissued.

(4) Failure to renew or reactivate a license within three years
from the date of expiration will require submitting a new application,
required fees and successfully passing the qualifying examination
according to provisions of OAR 331, divisions 515 and 520 before a
license will be reissued.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.385
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.385
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0115; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA
10-2008, f. 9-15-08 & cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-525-0020
Display of License

The practitioner and facility license must be posted in public
view.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 690.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.380
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0140; HLO
5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-525-0035
Facility License Issuance and Renewal; Cooperation in
Inspections

Beginning on October 1, 2004, all facilities must be licensed to
provide electrolysis services prior to operating electrology facilities.

(1) The agency will issue a facility license to qualified persons,
as provided in OAR 331-030-0010, if the applicant:

(a) Is at least 18 years of age, if the applicant is a natural person,
as required in ORS 690.365(2). If the applicant is an entity other than
a natural person, the entity must be formed and operated in accordance
with Oregon law;
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(b) Has registered with the Corporations Division and designat-
ed an assumed business name prior to applying for a facility license
(unless doing business under the full name of the owner);

(c) Applies on a form prescribed by the agency and pays the
required application and license fees;

(d) Complies will all applicable rules and regulations;
(e) Certifies that application information is correct; and
(f) Meets the specifications for building, fire and plumbing codes

as specified in OAR 565-535-0000 and complies with exit and fire
standards established by the Building CodesAgency and Office of the
State Fire Marshal.

(2) Facility license applicant must provide a map or direction to
the business premises if the facility is located in a rural or isolated area,
and submit a copy of the spore test results from applicant’s autoclave,
or submit a signed attestation requesting an exemption under OAR
331-540-0020(2) based on exclusive use of prepackaged sterile elec-
trology equipment, including needles.

(3) A facility license holder must comply with the provisions of
OAR 331-030-0010 regarding issuance and renewal of a facility
license.

(4) Each facility license holder must:
(a) Allow the agency’s enforcement officer to inspect the facil-

ity when it is open for business;
(b) Ensure employees cooperate with agency enforcement offi-

cers and refrain from impeding an inspection in any way;
(c) Contact the agency in writing to make arrangements for an

inspection if the agency has been unable to perform an annual inspec-
tion because the facility was closed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.360(6) & 690.405(12)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 690.360(6) & 690.405(12)
Hist.: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-525-0038
Facility Located in Residence

Afacility located in a residence must comply with the provisions
of OAR 331-525-0035 in addition to:

(1) Have an identifying house number or a sign, which is easily
visible from the street and indicates the location of the facility;

(2) Be equipped with the structures, accommodations, and equip-
ment which the agency requires for all facilities;

(3) Have an entry that is separate from the entry to the living area
of the home. The living area of the home shall be separated from the
facility by solid walls extending from floor to ceiling, with any con-
necting doors kept closed while the facility is in actual operation.

(4) Licensed electrologists operating in their residence prior to
July 1, 2004, will not be subject to the requirements listed in subsec-
tion (3) of this rule, until such time as a change in the business loca-
tion is made.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.360(6) & 690.405(12)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 690.360(6) & 690.405(12)
Hist.: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-525-0040
Practicing at Location Other Than Named Place(s) of Business

(1) Licensees shall not practice at any location other than the
place or places of business listed with the agency. However, licensees
may provide services outside the premises of a licensed facility on per-
sons residing in a health care facility or persons confined to their res-
idence through medical disability or restriction.

(2)All licensees who perform services at locations listed in sub-
sections (1) of this rule or at more than one business location shall
carry their license with them and post it while working.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0185;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-525-0055
Facility License Requirements

(1)A facility shall meet the requirements for a new facility (refer
to OAR 331-525-0035) and submit a new facility application and
required fees when any of the following conditions exist:

(a) A facility is purchased from the current or previous owner,
partnership or corporation. Facility licenses are not transferable from
person-to-person or from business-to-business;

(b) There is a change in the legal ownership, partnership or hold-
ing of a facility regulated under ORS 690 and OAR 331, such as:

(A) A partner(s) or co-owner(s) is added; or
(B) A partner(s) or co-owner(s) is removed due to the death of a

facility owner(s).
(c) An existing facility moves or relocates to a new physical

address. Facility licenses are not transferable from location-to-
location.

(2) Facility owners closing their facilities shall:
(a) Submit written notice to the agency within five business days

of a facility closure, indicating whether the closure is permanent or of
a temporary duration. Notice of temporary facility closure shall spec-
ify the anticipated date of resuming business operations;

(b) If notice of a permanent facility closure was submitted, and
the license holder (same owner) reopens the facility while the license
is still in active current status, the facility owner shall submit notice
to the agency prior to reopening the facility and resuming business
operations/services.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.405
Hist: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-525-0060
Demonstration Permit

(1) “Demonstration permit” is an authorization pursuant to ORS
690.405 to practice on a limited basis for a maximum of 30 consecu-
tive calendar days.

(2) A person not licensed under ORS 690.365, who intends to
demonstrate, teach or perform electrolysis services temporarily for
educational purposes, where services are not performed upon the pub-
lic, must first obtain a demonstration permit from the agency.

(3) To be granted a demonstration permit, a person must meet the
following requirements:

(a) Submit an application on a form prescribed by the agency;
(b) Provide satisfactory evidence of holding a valid license in

their state or country.
(c) Describes the purpose for which the permit is sought; and
(d) Pay the required application and permit fees.
(4) The demonstration permit shall specify the period during

which the person is permitted to demonstrate, teach or perform ser-
vices.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Hist: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-525-0065
Temporary Facility Permit

(1) “Temporary facility permit” is an authorization pursuant to
ORS 690.405 to operate a facility on a limited basis, not to exceed 30
consecutive calendar days, at locations away from the primary facil-
ity, such as fairs, carnivals or bazaars.

(2) A person who intends to operate a facility on a limited basis
away from a primary licensed facility must first obtain a temporary
facility permit from the agency.

(3) To be granted a temporary facility permit, a person must meet
the following requirements:

(a) Be 18 years of age or older, if the applicant is a natural per-
son. If the applicant is an entity other than a natural person, the enti-
ty must be formed and operated in accordance with Oregon law;

(b) Apply on forms prescribed by the agency and provide the
required information and application fees.

(4) A temporary facility must:
(a) Receive the permit and post the authorization in public view

before opening for business;
(b) Comply with the rules of the agency concerning health, safe-

ty and infection control;
(c) Comply with the applicable health and safety laws and rules

of the agency and any other state agencies;
(d) Pay the required permit fees.
(5) The temporary facility permit shall specify the period during

which the permit is valid.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Hist: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04
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DIVISION 530
ELECTROLOGY: CONTINUING EDUCATION

331-530-0000
Continuing Education for License Renewal

To maintain licensure in the field in which they are licensed to
practice, electrologists must comply with the following continuing
education requirements:

(1) Complete 15 clock hours of satisfactory continuing education
courses either as one unit or combination of units, not less than one
hour each, every two years.

(2) Satisfactory continuing education courses shall fit into the
approved curriculum objectives listed in ORS 690.410(1) and the
courses of study outlined in OAR 331-515-0010 and must be obtained
by:

(a) Participation or attendance at an instructional program pre-
sented, recognized, or under the auspices of any permanently orga-
nized institution, agency, association or completion and certification
by an approved national home study organization; or

(b) Self-study, participation, or attendance not covered by sub-
section (a) of this rule may comprise up to eight hours of the total
requirement. Self-study may include continuing education obtained by
means of the following:

(A) Correspondence courses;
(B) Review of publications, textbooks, printed material, or audio

cassette(s);
(C) Viewing of films, videos, or slides; or
(c) Attendance at meetings of the Advisory Council for Elec-

trologists and Permanent Color Technicians and TattooArtists may be
credited for a maximum of three hours per meeting, totaling no more
than four hours per two year period.

(3) Licensees shall report compliance with the continuing edu-
cation requirement through attestation on the license renewal docu-
ment. Licensees shall be subject to the provisions of OAR 331-530-
0020 pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education.

(4) Continuing education requirements apply whether the appli-
cant renewing a license is living or working within Oregon or outside
of the state, if Oregon licensure is maintained.

(5) Hours of continuing education, in excess of the requirement
for renewal every two years, will not be carried forward.

(6) Continuing education is required for renewal, every two
years, even if the license has been inactive or suspended during that
period.

(7) To ensure adequate evidence of attainment of required con-
tinuing education is available for audit or investigation by the agen-
cy, records of attendance must be maintained by licensees for two
years following the two-year continuing education cycle and renew-
al of the electrologist license.

(8) Licensees failing to obtain 15 clock hours of continuing edu-
cation every two years must reapply and qualify according to the
requirements of OAR 331-515-0030 and successfully pass a written
and practical examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.385
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.385
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0125 & 333-305-0130; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04,
cert. ef. 7-1-04, Renumbered from 331-530-0010; HLA10-2008, f. 9-15-08 & cert.
ef. 10-1-08

331-530-0020
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Health Licensing Office will audit a select percentage of
licenses determined by the Council to verify compliance with con-
tinuing education requirements.

(2) Practitioners notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days
from the date of notification, satisfactory evidence of participation in
required continuing education in accordance with OAR 331-530-0000.

(3) Documentation of attendance at a program or course provided
by the sponsor must include:

(a) Name of sponsoring institution/association or organization;
(b) Title of presentation and description of content;
(c) Name of instructor or presenter;

(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours;
(e) Course agenda;
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance.
(4) Documentation substantiating completion of continuing edu-

cation through self-study, must show a direct relation to the subjects
outlined in OAR 331-515-0010, be submitted on forms provided by
the agency and include the following:

(a) Name of sponsor or source, type of study, description of con-
tent, date of completion and duration in clock hours;

(b) Name of approved correspondence courses or national home
study issues;

(c) Name of publications, textbooks, printed material or audio-
recorded material, including date of publication, publisher, and ISBN
issued.

(d) Name of films, videos, or slides, including date of production,
name of sponsor or producer and catalog number.

(5) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-
plete, the licensee must correct the deficiency within 30 calendar days
from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency within the pre-
scribed time shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(6) Misrepresentation of continuing education, or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include, but is not limited to, assessment
of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.385 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.385 & 690.405
Hist: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 535
ELECTROLOGY: PRACTICE STANDARDS

331-535-0000
Compliance with all Applicable Regulations

(1) Electrologists shall observe all applicable state regulations
pertaining to public health and safety. Compliance with state building,
fire, plumbing, and electrical regulations is required.

(2) In addition, when an employee/employer relationship exists,
practitioners shall comply with ORS 654 the Oregon Safe Employ-
ment Act.

(3) Electrologist shall observe and adhere to all Oregon Occu-
pational Safety & Health Codes (OR-OSHA), OAR 437, 29 CFR
1910.1030 Bloodborne Pathogens.

(4) Every electrologist shall have a written Exposure Control
Plan.All procedures developed for the facility’s exposure control plan
shall be in compliance with OSHA state and federal regulations and
with current Centers for Disease Control (CDC) standard for public
service workers.

(5) Only authorized equipment or products may be utilized, and
in addition, must only be used in a manner approved by manufactur-
ers and appropriate regulatory agencies.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654, 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654, 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-535-0010
Electrologist Practice Standards: Restrictions

(1) Electrologists may provide clients with written information
on electrolysis procedures, the purpose for asking specific questions
regarding the client’s general health, and that any recommendation for
medical attention is not to be construed as a medical referral or diag-
nosis of a physical disease or ailment.

(2) Licensees shall keep an individual record of each client. That
record shall include: name and address of client; type of treatment
required/requested; type of hair or skin; date and duration of each treat-
ment; special instructions or notations relating to the treatment pre-
cautions or needs, such as allergies, pacemaker, etc.; and, name and
telephone of referring doctor, if applicable.

(3) Electrologists are prohibited from performing services under
the following conditions or circumstances (for blood borne diseases
only, refer to OAR 331-535-0020):
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(a) Licensee or client has a disease or condition which has been
diagnosed by a physician to be in a communicable or transmittable
form during treatment;

(b) Licensee determines by direct observation or communication
with client, that client has or may have a suspected communicable dis-
ease or condition;

(c) Licensee knows or should have reasonably known from the
state of his/her own physical condition, a communicable disease or
condition may exist; or

(d) Treatment in areas with high propensity towards bacterial col-
onization, such as nostrils and ear canals.

(4) Electrologists must first obtain written authorization from a
physician when any of the following exists:

(a) Request for hair removal from moles or birthmarks;
(b) Removal of eyelashes;
(c) Clients with diabetes; or
(d) Clients with heart problems or pacemaker.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.390
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0245; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-535-0020
Communicable and Blood Borne Diseases

A licensee providing service or working in a facility while diag-
nosed with having acquired an immunodeficiency virus and related
immunodeficiency conditions or Hepatitis viruses (B, C and/or D)
shall observe and follow all current Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
standards for public service workers regarding personal protection
equipment and disposal of blood or bodily fluid contaminated articles,
tools and equipment. This includes practitioners or employees pro-
viding services to clients who have been diagnosed with having an
immunodeficiency virus, related conditions or the Hepatitis viruses (B,
C and/or D).

NOTE: It is the position of the agency that human immunodeficiency virus
(HIV) is the cause of acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS) and relat-
ed immunodeficiency conditions. This virus, as well as Hepatitis B virus
(HBV), Hepatitis C virus (HCV) and Hepatitis virus (HVD) may be trans-
mitted by sharp instruments contaminated by blood or other body fluids, if
standard precautions are not followed. As the carriers of these viruses may
have no symptoms, the most prudent course to follow is to treat body fluids
from all persons with the same high standards of caution and to rigorously
follow established safety and infection control practices as required by the
law and rules of the agency. There is no published evidence to support casu-
al transmission of HIV, by sneezing or touching, even in close household set-
tings involvingAIDS patients and family members caring for them at home.
Because HIV is not spread by casual means and because of the inadequacies
of the HIV antibody test, there is no reason for the agency to require blood
tests prior to certification and/or licensure. Good hand washing after glove
removal and between each client is imperative and the most important pro-
cedure for prevention of all infections, including HIV. Uniform body fluid
precautions are ample to prevent transmission of HIV, HBV, HCV and/or
HDV in a facility setting.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.390
Hist.: HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-535-0030
Handwashing/Protective Gloves; Handling Disposable Materials

(1)HANDWASHING: Electrologists shall observe and adhere
to the following hand washing standards when serving clients:

(a) Hands must be washed before and after treatment of each
client, and before putting on gloves and immediately after gloves are
removed;

(b) Thorough hand washing shall be by use of soap and water
or other alternative hand washing product, such as jell, aerosol spray,
foam, or pre-packaged hand wipes, immediately before and after serv-
ing each client as needed. Use of bar soap is prohibited.

(2) PROTECTIVEGLOVES: Electrologists shall observe and
adhere to the following protective glove standards when serving
clients:

(a)Anew pair of disposable gloves must be worn during the treat-
ment of each client;

(b) Hands must be washed in accordance with the hand washing
standards stated in subsection (1) of this rule before putting on gloves
and immediately after gloves are removed;

(c) If an electrologist uses low-powered gloves, the excess exte-
rior powder must be removed to prevent powder contact with the
client’s skin during treatment;

(d) When a treatment session is interrupted:
(A) A protective covering must be used over the gloved

hand/hands; or
(B) Gloves must be removed and discarded.
(e) When gloves are removed during a treatment session, hands

must be washed and a fresh pair of gloves used;
(f) Gloves must be worn during the procedures of mechanical

pre-cleaning, cleaning, rinsing, and drying of needles/probes and for-
ceps/tweezers;

(g) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, and
hands must be washed after gloves are removed.

(3)DISPOSABLEMATERIALS: Electrologists shall observe
and adhere to the following disposable material standards when serv-
ing clients:

(a) All waste materials related to treatment shall be disposed of
in a covered container after each client service;

(b) Disposable materials in contact with blood and/or body flu-
ids shall be placed in a sealable plastic bag, separate from sealable
trash or garbage liners, and then disposed of in a covered container;

(c) Disposable sharp objects in contact with blood and/or body
fluids shall be disposed of in an appropriate “sharps container” as
defined in OAR 331-505-0000(31);

(d) Electrologists shall have both sealable plastic bags and seal-
able rigid containers available at the facility.

(4) The client’s skin shall be cleansed by applying an antiseptic
or antibacterial solution prior to and following treatment.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0210, 333-305-0215 & 333-305-0235; HLO 5-2004,
f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-535-0040
Linens

(1) Clean linens shall be used for each client.
(2) A common towel is prohibited.
(3) Air blowers can be substituted for hand towels.
(4) Clean linens, tissues or single-use paper products shall be

stored in a clean, storage area until needed for immediate use.
(5) Used linens shall be disposed of or stored in a closed or cov-

ered container until laundered.
(6) Used linens shall be laundered either by a regular commer-

cial laundering or by a noncommercial laundering process which
includes use of commercial laundry detergent manufactured for the
specific purpose of cleaning clothes, linens or other washable fabric,
and immersion in hot water during the wash and rinse cycle.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.390
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0220

331-535-0050
Required Equipment

(1) All facilities shall have a treatment area or operatory that is
separate, private, or screened from the entrance, waiting area, and/or
other treatment areas.

(2) Facilities shall be kept clean and orderly, and equipment shall
be maintained in good repair

(3) All surfaces (counters, tables, equipment, client chairs or
recliners) in treatment and sterilization areas shall be made of smooth,
non-absorbent and non-porous material.

(4)All floors and walls shall be easily cleanable. Concrete blocks
or other masonry used in wall construction shall be covered or made
smooth and sealed for a washable surface.

(5) A high-level disinfectant or bleach solution, used according
to the manufacturer’s instructions, shall be used to disinfect surfaces
contaminated by blood or bodily fluids.

(6) Pets or other animals shall not be permitted in the business
facility. This prohibition does not apply to therapy animals, trained
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guide animals for the disabled, sightless or hearing impaired or to fish
in aquariums.

(7) Electrologists shall maintain at the place of business an ade-
quate supply of approved disinfecting or sterilizing equipment,
tools/implements, articles and materials for usage requirements and
volume of business. The following equipment shall be maintained at
the place of business:

(a)AFederal Communications Commission (FCC) approved epi-
lator;

(b) Sufficient supply of needles and tweezers to supply sterile
instruments for each client treated;

(c) A treatment light;
(d) Choice of hemostat, forceps, or tweezer to transfer sterilized

instruments;
(e) Protective gloves;
(f) Sealable plastic bags and sharps container.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0165, 333-305-0175, 333-305-0180 & 333-305-
0190; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-535-0060
Water Supply Requirements and Standards

(1) The quality and construction of facility water supplies shall
meet the requirements of ORS Chapter 448 and the State Plumbing
Code, OAR 918, division 750.

(2) Facility water supplies shall have a minimum of 20 pounds
pressure per square inch in accordance with the State Plumbing code.

(3)All facilities shall have easy and adequate supply of both hot
and cold running water and wash basins on the facility premises or as
part of surrounding premises or adjacent to the facility but separate
from a public restroom.

(4) Waste from toilets or lavatories shall be discharged directly
into a public sewer or by a method meeting the requirements of ORS
454.

(5) Hand washing accommodations shall be provided in work
areas where employees are exposed to hazardous materials, which will
have a harmful effect on or be absorbed through the skin if the con-
tamination is not removed.

(6) Washing accommodations shall be maintained in a clean and
sanitary condition.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 448, 454, 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 448, 454, 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0165; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-535-0070
Compliance with Indoor Clean Air Act

Any public place in a facility shall be governed under the Ore-
gon Indoor Clean Air Act as it appears in ORS 433.835 through
433.875.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 433.835 - 433.875, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0170; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-535-0080
Waste Receptacles

(1) All waste material related to treatment shall be deposited in
a covered container following service for each client.

(2) Waste disposed of in receptacles located in reception and/or
restroom areas is limited to materials, which are not practice-related
or used in the performance of any client services. Waste receptacles
located in these areas are exempt from the covered container require-
ments listed in subsection (1) of this rule.

(3) Outer surface of waste disposal containers shall be kept clean.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0240; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 540
ELECTROLOGY: SAFETY

AND STERILIZATION STANDARDS
331-540-0000
Cleaning Requirements and Standards

(1) All items in direct contact with the client’s skin that do not
require disinfecting shall be clean.

(2) All items in direct contact with the client’s skin that cannot
be cleaned or disinfected shall be disposed of in a covered waste recep-
tacle immediately after use.

(3)All substances used in the practice of electrolysis shall be dis-
pensed from containers in a manner to prevent contamination of the
unused portion.

(4) All disinfecting solutions and/or agents shall be kept at ade-
quate strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material
and be available for immediate use at all times the facility is open for
business.

(5) The agency shall authorize the use of disinfecting agents pro-
vided those agents meet the criteria set forth in OAR 331-505-
0000(12) and (15).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-540-0010
Instrument Cleaning; Sterilization Standards

(1) Prior to sterilizing, instruments shall be brushed and/or
swabbed to remove foreign material or debris, rinsed and then cleaned
by one of the following approved methods:

(a) Immersing in detergent and water in an ultra sonic unit that
operates at 40 to 60 hertz, followed by a thorough rinsing and wiping;
or

(b) Submerging and soaking in a protein dissolving deter-
gent/enzyme cleaner, followed by a thorough rinsing and wiping.

(2) Instruments or other equipment which are “heat-sensitive”
shall be disinfected by complete immersion of the object(s) or por-
tion(s) thereof to be disinfected, in a high-level disinfectant which has
demonstrated tuberculocidal activity, and used according to the man-
ufacturer’s instructions.

(3) The removable tip of an epilator needle or probe holder shall
be removed after each treatment, cleaned and then soaked for in a com-
mercial sporicide solution according to manufacturers’ instructions.

(4) Cleaned instruments used in the practice of electrolysis shall
be placed in sterile bags or containers with color strip indicators, ster-
ilized by exposure to one cycle of an approved sterilizer listed in OAR
331-540-0020.

Stat.: Auth. ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0200 & 333-
305-0205; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-540-0020
Approved Sterilization Modes

(1) Electrologists must sterilize instruments used in the practice
of electrology by means of an approved sterilizing device registered
and listed with the U.S. Food and DrugAdministration, used, cleaned
and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.
Approved sterilizing devices include an autoclave (steam or chemical)
or dry heat unit.

(2) In lieu of sterilization methods listed in (1) above, a licensee
may use single-use, prepackaged, sterilized equipment, obtained from
commercial suppliers or manufacturers.

(3) Sterilizing devices shall be tested during each sterilizing cycle
by means of a commercial test mechanism, such as but not limited to
color strip indicators to measure temperature control and general func-
tioning of the equipment.

(4) Sterilizing devices shall be tested at least quarterly for func-
tionality and thorough sterilization by using a commercial biological
monitoring (spore) system to assure all microorganisms, including
spores, have been destroyed.

(5) Biological test results must be on laboratory letterhead and
must contain the test date, and the name, model and serial number of
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the unit tested. Biological test results shall be retained for a two-year
period and must be available for inspection at all times.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0195; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-540-0030
Clean Instruments; Products Storage

(1) Before use, disposable products that come in contact with the
areas to be treated shall be stored in clean containers that can be closed
between treatments.

(2) Clean, sterilized re-usable instruments that come in contact
with the areas to be treated, shall be individually stored in clean, ster-
ilized containers to maintain effective sterilization of the instrument
until removed from the container.

(3) Clean, sterilized re-usable transfer instruments shall be stored
in a clean, dry, sterilized container.

(4) Chemicals shall be stored in labeled, closed containers in an
enclosed storage area.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.390
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0225 & 333-305-0230

DIVISION 545
COMPLIANCE

331-545-0000
Investigative Authority

The Health Licensing Office may initiate and conduct investi-
gations of matters relating to the practice of electrolysis, permanent
coloring or tattooing, pursuant to ORS 676.608 and 676.618, and may
take appropriate disciplinary action in accordance with the provisions
of 676.612 and 690.407.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.608, 676.618, 690.405 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.608, 676.618, 690.405 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0255;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-545-0020
Schedule of Penalties for Licensing Violations; Violation of
Standards

The agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty
schedule for the first and second violations of the following laws and
rules. The following schedule shall apply except as the agency other-
wise determines in consideration of the factors referenced in OAR
331-020-0060. For subsequent violations the provisions of 331-020-
0060 will apply.

(1) Practicing or holding one’s self out as available to practice,
or using the title electrologist, without first receiving a current, valid
license is a violation of ORS 690.355 and OAR 331-030-0020(1)(f)
and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(2) Practicing or holding one’s self out as available to practice,
or using the title electrologist, with an expired or suspended license
is a violation of ORS 676.612(4), 690.355, OAR 331-030-0010(4)
and/or 331-030-0020(1)(f) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(3) Failing to post a current, valid license in public view is a vio-
lation of ORS 690.038(1) and OAR 331-525-0020 and may incur a
penalty of $200.

(4) Failing to provide appropriate photographic identification
upon request by the agency is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(o) and
OAR 331-030-0020(4) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(5) Failing to submit changes of required licensing information
within the time frame set in rule is a violation of OAR 331-010-
0040(1) and/or (2) and may incur a penalty of $50.

(6) Practicing at location other than places of businesses desig-
nated to the agency, except as permitted by rule is a violation of OAR
331-525-0040(1) and may incur a penalty of $500.

(7) Using a reproduction of a license in place of an original is a
violation of OAR 331-030-0020(3) and may incur a penalty of $50.

(8) Failing to allow inspection of the premises by the agency is
a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(o), OAR 331-020-0070(2)(d) and/or
331-525-0035(4) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(9) Failing to meet the facility or practice standards adopted by
the agency is a violation of OAR 331-535-0000(1), 331-535-0010,
ORS 676.612(1)(j) and 690.390 and may incur a penalty of $500.

(10) Failing to provide a private or separate treatment area for
clients is a violation of OAR 331-535-0050(1) and may incur a penal-
ty of $100.

(11) Except as provided by rule, allowing animals in the facili-
ty is a violation of OAR 331-535-0050(6) and may incur a penalty of
$100.

(12) Failing to maintain the required equipment or have approved
test indicators at facility is a violation of ORS 690.390(1) and/or (2)
and OAR 331-535-0050(7) and may incur a penalty of $500 and/or
suspension or revocation.

(13) Failing to use approved test indicators or mechanism as
required to ensure proper sterilization is a violation of OAR 331-540-
0020(3), (4) and/or (5) and may incur a penalty of $500.

(14) Failing to sterilize instruments using an approved mode is
a violation of ORS 690.390(1) and/or (2) and OAR 331-540-0020(1)
and/or (2) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(15) Failing to meet sterilization standards is a violation of ORS
690.390(1), (2) and OAR 331-540-0010(2), (3) and/or (4) and may
incur a penalty of $1,000.

(16) Failing to clean instruments prior to sterilization is a viola-
tion of ORS 690.390(1) and OAR 331-540-0010(1) and may incur a
penalty of $1,000.

(17) Failing to wash hands before and after treatment and/or wear
protective gloves is a violation of OAR 331-535-0030(1) and/or (2)
and may incur a penalty of $500.

(18) Failing to prepare treatment area on a client in accordance
with agency standards is a violation of OAR 331-535-0030(4) and may
incur a penalty of $500.

(19) Failing to meet cleanliness and/or storage standards for
linens is a violation of 331-535-0040 and may incur a penalty of $500.

(20) Failing to meet storage requirements for instruments, prod-
ucts or chemicals is a violation of 331-540-0030 and may incur a
penalty of $500.

(21) Failing to dispose of materials contaminated with blood or
bodily fluids in a sealable container or appropriate sharps container,
or failing to have appropriate containers available is a violation of
OAR 331-535-0030(3) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(22) Failing to have required covered waste receptacles is a vio-
lation of ORS 690.390(2) and OAR 331-535-0080(1) and may incur
a penalty of $100.

(23) Performing a restricted treatment(s) is a violation of ORS
676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-535-0010(3) and/or (4) and may incur a
penalty of $1,000.

(24) Failing to have and maintain client case history records is
a violation of ORS 690.390(3) and OAR 331-535-0010(2) and may
incur a penalty of $500.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.407
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.407
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0265; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 550
DEFINITIONS FOR THE PRACTICE OF PERMANENT
COLOR TECHNICIANSAND TATTOOARTISTS

331-550-0000
Permanent Coloring and Tattooing Definitions

In addition to definitions listed in OAR 331-505-0000, the fol-
lowing terms apply as used in OAR 331, divisions 550 through 590.

(1) “Access” means immediate unrestricted use or availability,
easy to approach or enter.

(2) “Completed procedure” means, for the purposes of deter-
mining qualification for licensure under OAR 331-555-0010; a tattoo
which has been finished on a live human being, including any
touchups or additional work following initial healing, and the client
is released from service, as follows:
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(a) Figurative tattooing includes outlining and shading, use of dif-
ferent size/configuration of needles, a new design on a live human
being;

(b) Cosmetic tattooing includes eyeliner, eyebrows, lip liner, full
lip color, repigmentation or camouflage but does not include beauty
marks.

(3) “Direct supervision” means the teacher is present and active-
ly involved in direct oversight and training of students who are com-
pleting the training requirements of OAR 331-555-0010.

(4) “Instruments” means devices, tools and implements used in
permanent coloring and tattooing services.

(5) “Needle” means the implement used to insert dyes or pig-
ments into the dermis of the skin during permanent coloring or tat-
tooing procedures.

(6) “Needle bar” means the metal or plastic device used to attach
the needle to a tattoo machine.

(7) “Practical” means one-on-one training under the direct super-
vision of a teacher in the application of permanent coloring or tat-
tooing.

(8) “Repigmentation” means recoloration of the skin:
(a)After dermabrasion, chemical peels, removal or resolution of

birthmarks, vitiligo or other skin conditions which result in the loss of
melanin to the skin;

(b) Scarring caused by surgical procedures, such as face lifts,
mole or wart removal, cauterization, etc.;

(c) Burn grafts and other skin irregularities caused by burns or
photo damage;

(d) Mastectomy, i.e. recreation of an areola or nipple; or
(e) Blotchy pigmentation requiring camouflage.
(9) “Theory” means all forms of relevant study, which do not

involve the application of permanent makeup or tattoos on human skin.
Theory may include but is not limited to review of videos or written
matter, attendance at lectures, or application of tattoos or permanent
makeup on materials other than human skin.

Stat. Auth : ORS 676.615 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0020; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA
2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07

DIVISION 555
PERMANENT COLOR TECHNICIANSAND TATTOO
ARTISTS: QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE

331-555-0010
Approved Course of Study

(1) To be approved by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency, a
course of study shall include at least 360 hours of instruction. The
course shall include at least 210 hours of theory and at least 150 hours
of practical work. This practical work must include as a minimum 50
completed procedures.

(2) All practical applications performed during training in the
subject areas listed in subsection (3) of this rule shall be counted
toward meeting the minimum 150 hours of practical tattooing expe-
rience.

(3) The agency’s approved course of study shall include, but is
not limited to, the following areas:

(a) Needles and needle bars: 20 hours of theory;
(b) Tattoo machines and equivalent equipment: 20 hours of the-

ory;
(c) Equipment/Supplies: 20 hours of theory;
(d) Safety, Infection Control and Sterilization: 40 hours of the-

ory;
(e) Basic color theory and pigments: 10 hours of theory;
(f) Design, art and placement: 10 hours of theory;
(g) Skin: 20 hours of theory;
(h) Client services 20 hours of theory;
(i) Business operations, including exposure control plan and fed-

eral regulations: 40 hours of theory;
(j) Oregon Laws and Rules: 10 hours of theory training.

(4) As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theory
must be completed prior to practical work being performed on the gen-
eral public.

(5) Training shall meet minimum objectives listed in OAR 331-
555-0010 and shall be conducted under the direct supervision and
authority of an Oregon licensed permanent coloring technician and tat-
too artist, registered as a teacher by the Department of Education, Pri-
vate Career Schools.

(6)A registered teacher shall provide direct supervision of prac-
tical training on a one-to-one student/teacher ratio as defined in OAR
331-550-0000 for students performing practical training while the stu-
dent is working on the general public. The Department of Education,
Private Career Schools may waive the one-to-one student/teacher ratio
in certain circumstances.

(7) Arrangements for the time, place and cost of education and
training shall be arranged between the applicant and the school pro-
viding the training.

Stat. Auth : ORS 690.405 & 690.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.405 & 690.410
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0030;
HDLP 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04,
Renumbered from 331-555-0020; HLA2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-
07

331-555-0030
Experience Equivalency Standards

An applicant shall not be required to comply with the training
requirements under OAR 331-555-0010 to the extent the agency deter-
mines that training and/or work experience obtained is equivalent to
minimum requirements based on documentation of two years full-time
or four years part-time active work experience in the field of perma-
nent coloring or tattooing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.365, 690.405 & 690.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.365, 690.405 & 690.410
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0045 &
333-305-0050; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-555-0040
Application Requirements

(1) Individuals applying for licensure to practice permanent col-
oring or tattooing must meet the requirements of OAR 331-030-0000
in addition to the provisions of this rule.

(2) Applicants must submit a completed application form pre-
scribed by the agency, which shall contain the information listed in
OAR 331-030-0000(5) and be accompanied by payment of the appli-
cation, examination and license fees.

(3)Applicants shall be at least 18 years of age, and shall provide
documentation, confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth
certificate, driver’s license, passport or school/military/governmental
record.

(4) Applicants shall have completed four years of standard high
school education or the equivalent.Acceptable documentation is a high
school diploma, letter from school or military records verifying com-
pletion, GED passing scores, or proof of enrollment in a post-sec-
ondary educational institution.

(5) The completed application must include submission of sat-
isfactory evidence of required training under OAR 331-555-0010 by
one of the following education and training pathways for licensure:

(a)OFFICIALTRANSCRIPT: The document shall be mailed
directly to the agency from a licensed or accredited school or an equiv-
alent institution recognized by the agency, showing completion of the
prescribed course of study, listed in OAR 331-555-0010 or its equiv-
alent, approved by the agency, and shall be issued by:

(A) A school of tattooing licensed by the Department of Educa-
tion, Private Career Schools, under ORS 345;

(B)A licensed or accredited school of tattooing located in anoth-
er state where the practice is unregulated;

(C) An institution recognized by the agency, such as a medical
facility or other county, state, or federal agency or entity, where train-
ing and education is provided by means of a standardized course of
study, adhering to prescribed curriculum objectives and criteria.

(D) The transcript must be mailed or transmitted directly to the
agency or delivered in a sealed envelope by an authorized courier.

(b) OUT OF STATE LICENSURE: A professional practicing
under a valid permanent color or tattoo license issued by a city, state,

Chapter 331 Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2010 Edition 5 - 41 (11-13-09)



or county which meets or exceeds Oregon standards must provide ver-
ification by the mailing of an original Affidavit of Licensure form
affixed with the applicable state, county or city seal or stamp, signed
by the regulatory authority where the application is currently licensed,
and mailed directly to the agency by the regulatory authority.

(c) EXPERIENCE EQUIVALENCY: All other permanent
color or tattoo professionals working in a city, county, state or coun-
try where the practice of permanent coloring and tattooing is unreg-
ulated, must provide documentation in the form of tax returns, authen-
ticated by the federal Internal Revenue Service, verifying that the tax
returns have been filed. Personal tax returns must substantiate that the
individual acquired work experience through two years of active full-
time practice in the field of permanent coloring or tattooing.

NOTE: The Division may request addition information to substantiate qual-
ification if the tax return does not verify that the individual has been prac-
ticing permanent color or tattooing in an unregulated state.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.365 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.365 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0035;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 560
PERMANENT COLOR TECHNICIANSAND
TATTOOARTISTS: EXAMINATIONS

331-560-0000
Examination Authorization

(1) The Health Licensing Office will conduct examinations for
licensure.A schedule of examination dates and times is available at the
agency upon request. Applicants will not be eligible for an examina-
tion until all documentation and fee requirements have been com-
pleted.

(2) The agency reserves the right to alter or adjust examination
dates, times and locations as it deems necessary to meet emergency
situations and will notify applicants and schools in advance whenev-
er possible.

(3) Applicants shall be required to present photographic identi-
fication such as a driver’s license and their original Social Security
card at the time of the examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0075 & 333-
305-0080; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-560-0010
Examination for Licensure

(1) Applicants for licensure must satisfactorily pass the written
examination(s) that tests the applicant’s knowledge of:

(a) Basic principles of safety, infection control and sterilization;
(b) Oregon laws and rules (including licensure requirements and

regulations);
(c) Chemical use and storage;
(d) Diseases/disorders (skin, HIV, Hepatitis B, C and D viruses,

communicable/transmittable);
(e) Equipment, supplies, tools and implements;
(f) Practice standards;
(g) Facility standards;
(h) Definitions.
(2) The examination shall consist of two sections as follows:
(a) 100 written multiple choice questions not to exceed one hour

in duration; and
(b) 50 written skill assessment questions not to exceed one hour

in duration.
(3) Examination candidates must achieve a 75 percent or high-

er score on each section to pass the written examination.
(4) The examination will be conducted in English.
(5) Applicants failing to successfully complete the examination

process and attain licensure within two years from the date of the ini-
tial application or the most recent examination attempt, whichever is
later, shall be required to:

(a) Reapply for examination according to OAR 331-555-0040;
(b) Pay the appropriate fees; and
(c) Retake examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.405 & 690.410(3)(b)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.405 & 690.410(3)(b)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0070; HDLP 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-99; HLO 5-
2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-560-0020
Special Examination Accommodations

(1) Applicants who have a learning, psychological, physical, or
other disability, which requires an accommodation to the regular test-
ing environment may request a special examination.

(2) Requests for accommodation shall be made on forms pro-
vided by the agency and shall contain supporting documentation com-
pleted by a licensed professional holding appropriate credentials qual-
ified to certify that the applicant’s disabling condition requires the
requested test accommodation.

(3) A “Request for Accommodation” form must be submitted to
the agency in advance of the scheduled examination date to make
appropriate arrangements contingent upon the type of accommodation
requested.

(4) All special examinations are conducted at the agency. If the
agency is unable to accommodate the disability on-site special arrange-
ments will be arranged for an adequate test site.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Hist.: HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-560-0030
Examination Conduct; Disqualification

(1) Examinations are conducted in a designated area with restrict-
ed access.Authorization must be provided by the agency before bring-
ing any material or electronic equipment or devices into the exami-
nation. Receiving or attempting to receive assistance during the
examination, including assistance from other individuals, from notes
books or devices or taking unauthorized items into the examination
area shall invalidate the examination and result in forfeiture of the
examination and fees.

(2) Examination Disqualification: A candidate may be immedi-
ately disqualified during or after the examination for conduct that inter-
feres with the examination. Such conduct includes:

(a) Giving or receiving aid, directly or indirectly during the exam-
ination process;

(b) Obtaining help or information from notes, books, or other
individuals to answer questions;

(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-related
information, notes or materials from the examination site;

(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the
examination; and

(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the
examination.

(3) Disqualification will invalidate the examination and result in
forfeiture of the examination fees. The applicant will be required to
reapply, submit additional examination fees and request in writing to
schedule another examination. Reexamination will be scheduled at a
date, time and place determined by the Director following the date of
disqualification. Re-examination will be conducted at the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.410
Hist.:HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0090; HLO
5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-560-0040
Notification of Examination Results

Examination results will be issued following completion of each
examination section as part of the agency’s automated testing system.
Applicants taking examinations conducted under special accommo-
dation will be mailed results within seven calendar days following the
date of examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.370 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 690.370 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0095; HLO
5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04
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331-560-0050
Examination Review Procedures

(1) Opportunity to review failed sections of the examination, con-
ducted by use of the electronic touch screen computer testing system,
are provided at the conclusion of each examination question/answer
selection, or immediately following conclusion of the entire exami-
nation. Review of failed examination sections at a later time or date
is prohibited.

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must present photo-
graphic identification such as a driver’s license and their original
Social Security card, as required by OAR 331-560-0000.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0100; HLO
5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-560-0060
Retake of Examination Sections; Additional Training

(1) Failed sections of the examination may be retaken at the next
available examination date and time, as scheduling allows. Retaking
a failed examination requires registration and payment of the exami-
nation fees.

(2) Applicants who fail to pass any section of the written exam-
ination after three attempts (initial examination plus two retakes) shall
be required to complete an additional 100 hours of instruction in the-
ory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-555-
0010(3), with emphasis on safety, infection control and sterilization,
needles, machines, and equipment. Additional instruction must be
obtained though an Oregon career school licensed under ORS 345.010
to 345.450.

(3) Prior to an applicant’s fourth examination attempt, an official
transcript must be received from an Oregon licensed career school
which verifies that the applicant has satisfactorily completed the addi-
tional required hours of instruction.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.370 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0105 & 333-305-0110; HDLP 2-1999, f. & cert. ef.
7-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 565
PERMANENT COLOR TECHNICIANSAND
TATTOOARTISTS: LICENSE ISSUANCE,

RENEWALAND REACTIVATION
331-565-0000
License Issuance; Renewal

(1) Licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR 331-030-0010
regarding issuance and renewal of a license, and to the provisions of
331-030-0020 regarding the authorization to practice, identification,
and the requirements for issuance of a replacement or duplicate autho-
rization.

(2) Renewal payments received by the agency, or postmarked,
after the expiration date but within three years of expiration, will be
assessed delinquency (late) fees in addition to the renewal fee.

(3) Failure to meet continuing education requirements listed in
OAR 331-570-0000 will require reapplication, submission of an appli-
cation fee, examination fees and one-year licensee fee, and success-
fully passing all sections of the examination before a license will be
reissued.

(4) Failure to renew or reactivate a license within three years
from the date of expiration will require reapplication, submission
required fees and successfully passing all sections of the examination
before a license will be reissued.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.385 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.385 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0115; HDLP 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-99; HLO 5-
2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2008, f. 9-15-08 & cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-565-0020
Facility License Issuance and Renewal; Cooperation in
Inspections

All facilities must be licensed to provide permanent color and tat-
too services prior to operating permanent color and tattoo facilities.

(1) The agency will issue a facility license to a qualified person,
as provided in OAR 331-030-0010, if the applicant:

(a) Is at least 18 years of age, if the applicant is a natural person,
as required in ORS 690.365(2). If the applicant is an entity other than
a natural person, the entity must be formed and operated in accordance
with Oregon law;

(b) Has registered with the Corporations Division and received
an assumed business name prior to applying for a facility license
(unless doing business under the full name of the owner);

(c)Applies on a form and with the information prescribed by the
agency and pays the required application and license fees;

(d) Complies with all applicable rules and regulations;
(e) Certifies that application information is correct; and
(f) Meets the specifications for building, fire and plumbing codes

as specified in OAR 331-580-0000 and complies with exit and fire
standards established by the Building CodesAgency and Office of the
State Fire Marshal.

(2) Facility license applicant must provide a map or direction to
the business premises if the facility is located in a rural or isolated area,
and submit a copy of the spore test results from applicant’s autoclave,
or submit a signed attestation requesting an exemption under OAR
331-585-0020(2) based on the exclusive use of prepackaged sterile tat-
tooing equipment, including needles.

(3) A facility license holder must comply with the provisions of
OAR 331-030-0010 regarding issuance and renewal of a facility
license.

(4) Each facility license holder must:
(a) Allow the agency’s enforcement officer to inspect the facil-

ity when it is open for business;
(b) Ensure employees cooperate with agency enforcement offi-

cers and refrain from impeding an inspection in any way;
(c) Contact the agency in writing to make arrangements for an

inspection if the agency has been unable to perform an annual inspec-
tion because the facility was closed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.360 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 690.360 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef.
2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0062; HDLP 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-99; HLO
5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-565-0025
Facility Located in Residence

Afacility located in a residence must comply with the provisions
of OAR 331-565-0020 in addition to the following criteria:

(1) Have an identifying house number or a sign, which is easily
visible from the street and indicates the location of the facility;

(2) Be equipped with the structures, accommodations, and equip-
ment which the agency requires for all facilities; and

(3) Have an entry that is separate from the entry to the living area
of the home. The living area of the home shall be separated from the
facility by solid walls extending from floor to ceiling, with any con-
necting doors kept closed while the facility is in actual operation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.360 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.390 & 690.405
Hist: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-565-0030
Facility License Requirements

(1)A facility shall meet the requirements for a new facility (refer
to OAR 331-565-0020) and submit a new facility application and
required fees when any of the following conditions exist:

(a) A facility is purchased from the current or previous owner,
partnership or corporation. Facility licenses are not transferable from
person-to-person or from business-to-business;

(b) There is a change in the legal ownership, partnership or hold-
ing of a facility regulated under ORS 690 and OAR 331, such as:

(A) A partner(s) or co-owner(s) is added; or
(B)A partner(s) or co-owner(s) is removed, including change in

ownership status due to death of facility owner(s).
(c) An existing facility moves or relocates to a new physical

address. Facility licenses are not transferable from location-to-
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location unless the facility is licensed as a mobile facility under OAR
331-565-0085.

(2) Facility owners closing their facilities shall:
(a) Submit written notice to the agency within five business days

of a facility closure, indicating whether the closure is permanent or of
a temporary duration. Notice of temporary facility closure shall spec-
ify the anticipated date of resuming business operations;

(b) If notice of a permanent facility closure was submitted, and
the license holder (same owner) reopens the facility while the license
is still in renewable or active status, the facility owner shall submit
notice to the agency prior to reopening the facility and resuming busi-
ness operations/services.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.360 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 690.360 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef.
2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0062; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04;
HLA 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07

331-565-0040
Display of License

All practitioner and facility licenses must be posted in public
view.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.380
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.380
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0140; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-565-0050
Duplicate Licenses

(1) The Division will issue a duplicate license provided the
request is made in writing, certifying the original license has been lost
or destroyed and the appropriate fee is enclosed.

(2) The posting of a reproduction of any license is prohibited
unless the Division issued and marked it “Duplicate.”

(3) The posting of a pocket identification card in lieu of a license
is prohibited.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.405 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.405 & 690.415
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0145

331-565-0060
Practicing at Location Other Than Named Place(s) of Business

(1) Licensees shall not practice at any location other than the
place or places of business listed with the agency. However, licensees
may provide services outside the premises of a licensed facility on per-
sons residing in a health care facility or persons confined to their res-
idence through medical disability or restriction.

(2) All licensees who perform services at approved locations as
listed in subsection (1) of this rule, or at more than one business loca-
tion shall carry their license with them and post it while working.

(3) Licensees working in a mobile facility in accordance with
OAR 331-565-0085 must comply with provisions of this rule.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0185;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-30-07, cert.
ef. 4-1-07

331-565-0075
Demonstration Permit

(1) “Demonstration permit” is an authorization pursuant to ORS
690.405 to practice on a limited basis for a maximum of 30 consecu-
tive days.

(2) A person not licensed under ORS 690.365, who intends to
demonstrate, teach or perform permanent coloring or tattooing ser-
vices, temporarily for educational purposes or at artistic competitions,
where services are not performed upon the public, must first obtain a
demonstration permit from the agency.

(3) To be granted a demonstration permit a person must meet the
following requirements:

(a) Submit an application on a form prescribed by the agency;
(b) Provide satisfactory evidence of holding a valid license in

their city, state, or country;
(c) Describe the purpose for which the permit is sought; and
(d) Pay the required application and permit fees.

(4) The demonstration permit will specify the period during
which the person is permitted to demonstrate, teach or perform ser-
vices.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Hist.: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-565-0080
Temporary Facility Permit

(1) “Temporary facility permit” is an authorization pursuant to
ORS 690.405 to operate a facility on a limited basis, not to exceed 30
consecutive calendar days, at locations away from the primary facil-
ity, such as fairs, carnivals or bazaars.

(2) A person who intends to operate a facility on a limited basis
away from a primary licensed facility must first obtain a temporary
facility permit from the agency.

(3) To be granted a temporary facility permit, a person must meet
the following requirements:

(a) Be 18 years of age or older, if the applicant is a natural per-
son. If the applicant is an entity other than a natural person, the enti-
ty must be formed and operated in accordance with Oregon law;

(b) Apply on forms prescribed by the agency and provide the
required information and application fees.

(4) A temporary facility must:
(a) Receive the permit and post the authorization in public view

before opening for business;
(b) Comply with the rules of the agency concerning health, safe-

ty and infection control;
(c) Comply with the applicable health and safety laws and rules

of the agency and any other state agencies;
(d) Pay the required permit fees.
(5) The temporary facility permit shall specify the period during

which the permit is valid.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Hist.: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-565-0085
Mobile Facility License

(1) “Mobile Facility License” means an authorization issued
under ORS 690.380 to operate a facility outside of or away from a per-
manent physical location within an approved enclosed transportable
vehicle, such as recreational vehicles or trailers, which has the abili-
ty to transport the business operation to multiple locations in the State
of Oregon during specific approved periods of time.

(2) A mobile facility license holder is subject to and must com-
ply with all requirements of OAR 331, divisions 565, 575, 580 and
585, unless otherwise specified in subsection (6) of this rule.

(3) To be granted a mobile facility license, a person must submit
a mobile facility application to the agency, on an approved form pre-
scribed by the agency, pay the required application and license fees,
and meet requirements of OAR 331-565-0020. Applicants must pro-
vide satisfactory evidence of the following information:

(a) The make, model, year and license plate number of the vehi-
cle that will be designated as the mobile facility;

(b) A permanent mailing address for the mobile facility license
applicant or license holder;

(4) A mobile facility license holder must comply with the fol-
lowing requirements:

(a) Submit written notification to the agency on a prescribed
Mobile Facility Service Location form for each new physical location
where services will be provided. The notification form must be
received by the agency before the first day of operation at the new
physical location;

(b) The Mobile Facility Service Location form will be provided
by the agency and may be submitted by regular United States Postal
Service or by electronic mail to OHLA.info@state.or.us or in person
at the office;

(c) The mobile facility must remain stationary while services are
being provided to clients;

(d) The mobile facility shall not operate at any physical location
for more then 15 consecutive days in one calendar month.

(5) To be eligible to renew a mobile facility license, the license
holder must comply with provision of OAR 331-565-0020 and 331-
030-0010, and must submit to the agency a minimum of one physi-
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cal location change on a Mobile Facility Service Location form dur-
ing the previous year where services were provided.

(6) The mobile facility license is not subject to the provisions of
OAR 331-565-0030(1)(c) or 331-565-0060(1).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.360, 690.380, 690.410, 690.415
Stats. Implemented: PRS 676.605, 676.615, 690.380
Hist.: HLA 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07

DIVISION 570
PERMANENT COLOR TECHNICIANSAND

TATTOOARTISTS: CONTINUING EDUCATION
331-570-0000
Continuing Education for License Renewal

To maintain licensure all permanent color technicians and tattoo
artists must comply with the following continuing education require-
ments:

(1) Complete 15 clock hours of satisfactory continuing education,
either as one unit or combination of units, not less than one hour each,
every three years.

(2) Satisfactory continuing education courses must fit into the
approved course of study outlined in OAR 331-555-0010, and must
be obtained as follows:

(a) Participation or attendance at an instructional program pre-
sented, recognized, or under the auspices of any permanently orga-
nized institution, agency, or completion and certification by an
approved national home study organization; or

(b) Self-study, participation, or attendance not covered by sub-
section (a) of this rule may comprise up to six hours of the total
requirement. Self-study may include continuing education obtained by
means of the following:

(A) Correspondence courses;
(B) Review of publications, textbooks, printed material, or audio

cassette(s);
(C) Viewing of films, videos, or slides;
(c) Attendance at meetings of the Advisory Council for Elec-

trologists and Permanent Color Technicians and TattooArtists may be
credited for a maximum of three hours per meeting, totaling no more
than six hours per three year reporting period.

(3) Licensees must report compliance with the continuing edu-
cation requirement through attestation on the license renewal docu-
ment. Licensees will be subject to the provisions of OAR 331-570-
0020 pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education.

(4) Continuing education requirements apply whether the appli-
cant renewing a license is living or working within Oregon or outside
of the state as long as Oregon licensure is maintained.

(5) Hours of continuing education, in excess of the requirement
for renewal every three years, will not be carried forward.

(6) Continuing education is required for renewal, every three
years, even if the license has been inactive or suspended during that
period.

(7) To ensure adequate evidence of attainment of required con-
tinuing education is available for audit or investigation by the agen-
cy, records of attendance must be maintained for two years following
the three-year continuing education cycle and renewal of the perma-
nent coloring and tattooing license.

(8) Licensees failing to obtain 15 clock hours of continuing edu-
cation every three years must reapply and qualify according to the
requirements of OAR 331-555-0040 and successfully pass a written
examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.385
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.385
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0125 & 333-305-0130; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04,
cert. ef. 7-1-04, Renumbered from 331-570-0010

331-570-0020
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Health Licensing Office will audit a select percentage of
licenses determined by the Council to verify compliance with con-
tinuing education requirements.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation must submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days
from the date of notification, satisfactory evidence of participation in
required continuing education in accordance with OAR 331-570-0000.

(3) Documentation of attendance at a program or course provided
by the sponsor must include:

(a) Name of sponsoring institution/association or organization;
(b) Title of presentation and description of content;
(c) Name of instructor or presenter;
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours;
(e) Course agenda;
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance.
(4) Documentation substantiating the completion of continuing

education through self-study must show a direct relation to subjects
outlined in OAR 331-555-0010, be submitted on forms provided by
the agency and include the following:

(a) Name of sponsor or source, type of study, description of con-
tent, date of completion and duration in clock hours;

(b) Name of approved correspondence courses or national home
study issues;

(c) Name of publications, textbooks, printed material or audio-
cassette’s, including date of publication, publisher, and ISBN issued.

(d) Name of films, videos, or slides, including date of production,
name of sponsor or producer and catalog number.

(5) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-
plete, the licensee must correct the deficiency within 30 calendar days
from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency within the pre-
scribed time shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(6) Misrepresentation of continuing education, or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include, but is not limited to assessment
of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 690.405
Hist.: HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 575
PERMANENT COLOR TECHNICIANSAND TATTOO

ARTISTS: PRACTICE STANDARDS
331-575-0000
Required Equipment; Articles and Materials

(1) Permanent color technicians and tattoo artists shall provide
and maintain at the place of business an adequate supply of disin-
fecting or sterilizing equipment, tools/implements, and other necessary
materials for his/her own practice needs, taking into account volume
of business.

(2) The following equipment shall be maintained at the place of
business:

(a) Tattoo machine or hand pieces, of non-porous material which
can be sanitized;

(b) Stainless steel or carbon needles and needle bars;
(c) Tubes, stainless steel, brass, or lexan which can be sterilized;
(d) Stencils, plastic acetate or single use disposable carbon paper;
(e) Sterilization bags with color strip indicator;
(f) Protective disposable gloves;
(g) Single use or disposable plastic tubes, razors or straight razor;
(h) Single use towels, tissues or paper products;
(i) Sharps container;
(j) Commercially purchased inks, dyes and pigments.
(3)Approved equipment for cleaning and sterilizing instruments

shall be maintained at the place of business.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.390
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0190

331-575-0010
Practice Standards; Restrictions

(1) Licensees shall keep an individual record of each client. That
record shall include the name, date of birth and address of the client,
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and the date and duration of each service, type of service, special
instructions, and medical history or client conditions, including:

(a) Diabetes;
(b) Client sensitivities;
(c) Cold sores and fever blisters;
(d) Epilepsy;
(e) Heart conditions;
(f) Hemophilia;
(g) Hepatitis;
(h) Use of blood thinners;
(i) Moles or freckles at the site of service;
(j) Psoriasis or eczema;
(k) Pregnancy or breast-feeding/nursing;
(l) Scarring (keloid);
(m) Other medical or skin conditions.
(2) Licensees may obtain advice from physicians regarding med-

ical information needed to safeguard client and technician or artist.
(3) Records shall be kept for a minimum of two years.
(4) Pre-service information in written form shall be given to

client to advise of possible reactions, side effects and potential com-
plications of the tattooing process.Aftercare instructions shall be given
to the client both verbally and in writing after every service.

(5) Before and after photographs shall be taken for medical tat-
tooing procedures, and records maintained.

(6) Inks, dyes, or pigments shall be purchased from a commer-
cial supplier or manufacturer. Products banned or restricted by the
Food and Drug Administration shall not be used.

(7) Tattooing is prohibited:
(a) On a person who is inebriated or appears to be incapacitated

by the use of alcohol or drugs;
(b) On persons who show signs of intravenous drug use;
(c) On persons with sunburn or other skin diseases or disorders

such as open lesions, rashes, wounds, puncture marks in areas of treat-
ment;

(d) On persons under 18 years of age, regardless of parental or
legal guardian consent, except when authorized or prescribed by a
physician’s statement exclusively for medical repigmentation as
defined in OAR 331-550-0000(8).

(8) Proof of age must be documented in the client’s record by one
of the following:

(A) Copy of current government issued photographic identifi-
cation; or

(B) Notation of the type of current government issued photo-
graphic identification presented with the identification number.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0150;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-575-0020
Permanent Color and Tattoo Procedures; Preparation and
Aftercare

(1) During preparation, performance of service, and aftercare
phases all substances shall be dispensed from containers in a manner
to prevent contamination of the unused portion (refer to OAR 331-
585-0000). Use of spray bottle to apply liquid to skin is acceptable.
Single use tubes or containers and applicators shall be discarded fol-
lowing tattoo service.

(2) The client’s skin shall be cleansed, excluding the areas sur-
rounding the eyes, by washing with a Food and Drug Administration
(FDA) germicidal solution applied with a clean single-use paper prod-
uct before placing the design on the client’s skin or beginning tattoo-
ing work.

(3) If the area is to be shaved, the licensee shall use a single use
disposable safety razor or sterilized straight-edged razor, and then
rewash client’s skin.

(4) Substances applied to client’s skin to transfer design from
stencil or paper shall be single use. Paper stencils and skin scribes shall
be single-use and disposed of immediately following service.

(5) Body pencils used during a tattoo service shall have the tip
removed, the body and tip of pen disinfected, and the tip sharpened
to remove exposed edge after use on a client and prior to use on anoth-
er client.

(6) The plastic or acetate stencil used to transfer the design to the
client’s skin shall be thoroughly cleansed and rinsed in an Environ-
mental Protection Agency (EPA) approved high-level disinfectant
according to the manufacturers instructions and then dried with a clean
single-use paper product.

(7) Individual portions of inks, dyes, or pigments in clean single-
use containers shall be used for each client.Any remaining unused dye
or pigments shall be discarded immediately following service.

(8) Excess ink, dye, or pigment applied to the client’s skin shall
be removed with clean single-use paper product obtained from a self-
dispensing container.

(9) Use of styptic pencils or alum solids to check any blood flow
is prohibited.

(10) Upon completion of tattooing, the skin shall be cleansed,
excluding the area surrounding the eyes, with a clean single-use paper
product saturated with an (FDA) approved germicidal solution.

(11) A sanitary covering shall be placed if appropriate or over
large designs and adhered to the skin with suitable skin tape. The use
of any clear plastic wrap for covering tattoos is prohibited.

(12)Aftercare shall consist of both verbal and written instructions
concerning proper care of the tattooed skin. Instructions shall speci-
fy:

(a) Care following service;
(b) Possible side affects; and
(c) Restrictions.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.390
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0252;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-575-0030
Handwashing/Protective Gloves; Handling Disposable Materials

(1)HANDWASHING: Permanent color technicians and tattoo
artists shall observe and adhere to the following hand washing stan-
dards when serving clients:

(a) Hands must be washed before and after treatment of each
client and before putting on gloves and immediately after gloves are
removed;

(b) Thorough hand washing shall be by use of soap and water or
other alternative hand washing product, such as jell, aerosol spray,
foam, or pre-packaged hand wipes, immediately before and after serv-
ing each client as needed. Use of bar soap is prohibited;

(2) PROTECTIVEGLOVES: Permanent color technicians and
tattoo artists shall observe and adhere to the following protective glove
standards when serving clients:

(a)Anew pair of disposable gloves must be worn during the treat-
ment of each client;

(b) Hands must be washed in accordance with the hand washing
standards stated in subsection (1) of this rule before putting on gloves
and immediately after gloves are removed;

(c) If a practitioner uses low-powdered gloves, the excess exte-
rior powder must be removed to prevent powder contact with the
client’s skin during treatment;

(d) When a treatment session is interrupted:
(A) A protective covering must be used over the gloved hand/

hands; or
(B) Gloves must be removed and discarded.
(e) When gloves are removed during a treatment session, hands

must be washed and a fresh pair of gloves used;
(f) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, and

hands must be washed after gloves are removed.
(3)DISPOSABLEMATERIALS: Permanent color technicians

and tattoo artists shall observe and adhere to the following disposable
material standards when serving clients:

(a) All waste materials related to treatment shall be disposed of
in a covered container after each client service;

(b) Disposable materials in contact with blood and/or body flu-
ids shall be placed in a sealable plastic bag, separate from sealable
trash or garbage liners, and then disposed of in a covered container;

(c) Disposable sharp objects in contact with blood and/or body
fluids shall be disposed of in an appropriate “sharps container” as
defined in OAR 331-505-0000(32);
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(d) Permanent color technicians or tattoo artists shall have both
sealable plastic bags and sealable rigid containers available at the facil-
ity.

(4) The client’s skin shall be cleansed by applying an antiseptic
or antibacterial solution prior to and following treatment.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0210, 333-305-0215 & 333-305-0235; HLO 5-2004,
f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-575-0040
Communicable and Blood Borne Diseases

Licensees must observe the Centers for Disease Control and Pre-
vention (CDC) Standard Precautions as defined in Oregon Adminis-
trative Rule 437-002-0360(25), and 29 CFR 1910.1030 standards,
when providing services to consumers. CDC Standard Precautions
describe an approach to infection control that assumes exposure to all
human blood and specified human body fluids are infectious for HIV,
HBV, and other blood borne pathogens. Precautions to reduce the like-
lihood of exposure include hand washing, gloving, using personal pro-
tective equipment, preventing injury, ensuring proper handling and dis-
posal of needles and other sharp instruments and of products or
equipment contaminated with blood and body fluids.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.390
Hist.: HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04; HLA 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07

331-575-0050
Linens

(1) Clean linens shall be used for each client.
(2) A common towel is prohibited.
(3) Air blowers can be substituted for hand towels.
(4) Clean linens, tissues or single-use paper products shall be

stored in a clean, enclosed storage area until needed for immediate use.
(5) Used linens shall be disposed of or stored in a closed or cov-

ered container until laundered.
(6) Used linens shall be laundered either by a regular commer-

cial laundering or by a noncommercial laundering process which
includes use of commercial laundry detergent manufactured for the
specific purpose of cleaning clothes, linens or other washable fabric,
and immersion in hot water during the wash/rinse operation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.390
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0220

DIVISION 580
PERMANENT COLOR TECHNICIANSAND
TATTOOARTISTS: FACILITY STANDARDS

331-580-0000
Compliance with all Applicable Regulations

(1) Licensees and facility owners shall observe all applicable
state regulations pertaining to public health and safety. Compliance
with building, state fire, plumbing, and electrical regulations is
required.

(2) In addition, when an employee/employer relationship exists,
practitioners shall comply with ORS 654 and the Oregon Safe
Employment Act.

(3) Permanent color technicians and tattoo artists shall observe
and adhere with all Oregon Occupational Safety & Health Codes (OR-
OSHA), OAR 437 and 29 CFR 1910.1030 Bloodborne Pathogens.

(4) Every permanent color and tattoo facility shall have a writ-
ten Exposure Control Plan.All procedures developed for the facility’s
exposure control plan shall be in compliance with OSHAstate and fed-
eral regulations and with current Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
standards for public service workers.

(5) Only authorized equipment or products may be utilized, and
in addition, must only be used in a manner approved by manufactur-
ers and appropriate regulatory agencies.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 654, 676.605, 676.615 & 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654, 676.605, 676.615 & 690.390

Hist.: HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-580-0010
Criteria for Facilities

(1)All facilities shall have a treatment area/operatory that is sep-
arate, private, or screened from the entrance, waiting area, and/or other
treatment areas.

(2) Facilities shall be kept clean and orderly, and equipment shall
be maintained in good repair.

(3) All surfaces (counters, tables, equipment, client chairs or
recliners) in treatment and sterilization areas shall be made of smooth,
non-absorbent and non-porous material.

(4)All floors and walls shall be easily cleanable. Floors and walls
in the treatment area shall be made of smooth, non-absorbent and non-
porous material. Concrete blocks or other masonry used in wall con-
struction shall be covered or made smooth and sealed for a washable
surface.

(5) A high-level disinfectant or bleach solution, used according
to the manufacturer’s instructions, shall be used to disinfect surfaces
contaminated by blood or bodily fluids.

(6) Pets or other animals shall not be permitted in the business
facility. This prohibition does not apply to therapy animals, trained
guide animals for the disabled, sightless or hearing impaired, fish in
aquariums or to nonpoisonous reptiles in terrariums.

(7) Tattoo services provided in beauty facilities shall be separated
by a permanent, solid barrier from hair design and nail technology ser-
vices in such a manner as to prevent contact with irritants including
but not limited to hair spray and nail dust.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0165, 333-305-0175 & 333-305-0180; HLO 5-2004,
f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-580-0020
Water Supply Requirements and Standards

(1) The quality and construction of facility water supplies shall
meet the requirements of ORS Chapter 448, the State Plumbing Code,
OAR 437 and 918, division 750.

(2) Facility water supplies shall have a minimum of 20 pounds
pressure per square inch in accordance with the State Plumbing code.

(3)All facilities shall have immediate access to an adequate sup-
ply of both hot and cold running water and wash basins on the facil-
ity premises or as part of surrounding premises or adjacent to the facil-
ity. Sinks located in the restroom do not qualify as a water source for
the facility premises.

(4) Waste from toilets or lavatories discharged directly into a pub-
lic sewer or by a method meeting the requirements of ORS 454.

(5) Hand washing accommodations shall be provided in work
areas where employees are exposed to hazardous materials, which may
have a harmful effect on or be absorbed through the skin.

(6) Washing accommodations shall be maintained in a clean and
sanitary condition.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 448, 654, 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 448, 654, 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0165; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-580-0030
Compliance with Indoor Clean Air Act

Any public place in a facility shall be governed under the Ore-
gon Indoor Clean Air Act as it appears in ORS 433.835 through
433.875.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 433.835 - 433.875, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405(9)
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0170; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04
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DIVISION 585
PERMANENT COLOR TECHNICIANSAND TATTOO
ARTISTS: SAFETYAND STERILIZATION STANDARDS

331-585-0000
Cleaning Requirements and Standards

(1)All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin that
do not require disinfecting shall be clean.

(2)All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin that
cannot be cleaned or disinfected shall be disposed of in a covered
waste receptacle immediately after use.

(3) All substances used in the practice of permanent color tech-
nicians and tattoo artists shall be dispensed from containers in a man-
ner to prevent contamination of the unused portion.

(4) All disinfecting solutions and/or agents shall be kept at ade-
quate strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material
and be available for immediate use at all times the facility is open for
business.

(5) The agency shall authorize the use of disinfecting agents pro-
vided those agents are EPA registered and meet the criteria set forth
in OAR 331-505-0000(12) and (15).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-585-0010
Instrument Cleaning; Sterilization Standards

(1) Prior to sterilizing, instruments shall be brushed and/or
swabbed to remove foreign material or debris, rinsed and then cleaned
by one of the following approved methods:

(a) Immersing in detergent and water in an ultra sonic unit that
operates at 40 to 60 hertz, followed by a thorough rinsing and wiping;
or

(b) Submerging and soaking in a protein dissolving deter-
gent/enzyme cleaner, followed by a thorough rinsing and wiping.

(2) Instruments or other equipment which are “heat-sensitive”
shall be disinfected by complete immersion of the object(s) or por-
tion(s) thereof to be disinfected, in an high-level disinfectant which has
demonstrated tuberculocidal activity, and used according to the man-
ufacturer’s instructions.

(3) Cleaned instruments used in the practice of permanent col-
oring and tattooing shall be placed in sterile bags or containers with
color strip indicators, sterilized by exposure to one cycle of an
approved sterilizer listed in OAR 331-585-0020, and handled with
sterile transfer equipment during placement into sterile bags or con-
tainers.

Stat.: Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0200 & 333-
305-0205; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-585-0020
Approved Sterilization Modes

(1) Licensees must sterilize instruments used in the practice of
permanent coloring or tattooing by means of an approved sterilizing
device registered and listed with the U.S. Food and Drug Adminis-
tration, used, cleaned and maintained in accordance with the manu-
facturer’s instructions. Approved sterilizing devices include an auto-
clave (steam or chemical) or dry heat unit.

(2) In lieu of sterilization methods listed in (1) above, a licensee
may use single-use, prepackaged, sterilized equipment, obtained from
commercial suppliers or manufacturers.

(3) Sterilizing devices shall be tested during each sterilizing cycle
by means of a commercial test mechanism, such as but not limited to
color strip indicators to measure temperature control and general func-
tioning of the equipment.

(4) Sterilizing devices shall be tested at least quarterly for func-
tionality and thorough sterilization by using a commercial biological
monitoring (spore) system to assure all microorganisms, including
spores, have been destroyed.

(5) Biological test results must be on laboratory letterhead and
must contain the test date, and the name, model and serial number of

the unit tested. Biological test results shall be retained for a two-year
period and must be available for inspection at all times.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0195; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-585-0030
Clean Instruments; Products Storage

(1) Before use, disposable products that come in contact with the
areas to be treated shall be stored in clean containers that can be closed
between treatments.

(2) Clean, sterilized re-usable instruments that come in contact
with the areas to be treated, shall be stored in clean, sterilized sealed
bags or containers to maintain effective sterilization of the instrument
until removed from the container.

(3) Clean, sterilized re-usable transfer instruments shall be stored
in a clean, dry, sterilized container.

(4) Chemicals shall be stored in labeled, closed containers in an
enclosed storage area.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.390
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0225 & 333-305-0230

331-585-0040
Waste Receptacles

(1) All waste material related to treatment shall be deposited in
a covered container following service for each client.

(2) Waste disposed in receptacles located in reception and/or
restroom areas is limited to materials which are not practice-related
or used in the performance of any client services. Waste receptacles
located in these areas are exempt from the covered container require-
ment listed in subsection (1) of this rule.

(3) Outer surface of waste disposal containers shall be kept clean.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 690.390
Stats. Implemented: ORS 690.390
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0240

DIVISION 590
COMPLIANCE

331-590-0000
Investigative Authority

The Health Licensing Office may initiate and conduct investi-
gations of matters relating to the practice of electrolysis, permanent
coloring or tattooing, pursuant to ORS 676.608 and 676.618, and may
take appropriate disciplinary action in accordance with the provisions
of 676.612 and 690.407.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.608, 676.618, 690.405 & 690.407
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.608, 676.618, 690.405 & 690.407
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-
94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-99, Renumbered from 333-305-0255;
HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-590-0020
Schedule of Penalties for Licensing Violations; Violation of
Standards

The Health Licensing Office has adopted the following pre-
sumptive penalty schedule for the first and second violations of the fol-
lowing laws and rules. The following schedule shall apply except as
the agency otherwise determines in consideration of the factors ref-
erenced in OAR 331-020-0060. For subsequent violations the provi-
sions of 331-020-0060 will apply.

(1) Practicing or holding one’s self out as available to practice,
or using the title permanent color technician or tattoo artist without
first receiving a current, valid practitioner and/or facility license is a
violation of ORS 690.355 and OAR 331-030-0020(1)(f) and may incur
a penalty of $1,000.

(2) Practicing or holding one’s self out as available to practice,
or using the title permanent color technician or tattoo artist with an
expired or suspended practitioner and/or facility license is a violation
of ORS 676.612(4) or 690.355 and may incur a penalty of $1,000.
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(3) Failing to post a current, valid license in public view is a vio-
lation of OAR 331-525-0020 and may incur a penalty of $200.

(4) Failing to provide appropriate photographic identification
upon request by the agency is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(o) and
OAR 332-030-0020(4) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(5) Failing to submit changes of required licensing information
within time frame set in rule is a violation of OAR 331-010-0040(1)
and (2) and may incur a penalty of $50.

(6) Practicing at location other than places of businesses desig-
nated to the agency, except as permitted by rule is a violation of OAR
331-565-0060(1) and may incur a penalty of $500.

(7) Using a reproduction of a license in place of an original is a
violation of OAR 331-030-0020(3) and may incur a penalty of $50.

(8) Failing to allow inspection of the premises by the agency
upon request is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(o), OAR 331-020-
0070(2)(d) and/or 331-565-0020(4) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(9) Failing to meet the facility or practice standards adopted by
the agency is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j), 690.390(1) and OAR
331-580-0000(1) and may incur a penalty of $500.

(10) Failing to provide a private or separate treatment area for
clients is a violation of OAR 331-580-0010(1) and may incur a penal-
ty of $100.

(11) Except as provided by rule, allowing animals in the facili-
ty is a violation of OAR 331-580-0010(6) and may incur a penalty of
$100.

(12) Failing to maintain the required equipment or have approved
test indicators at facility is a violation of ORS 690.390(2) and OAR
331-575-0000 and may incur a penalty of: $500 and/or suspension or
revocation.

(13) Failing to use approved test indicators or mechanism as
required to ensure proper sterilization is a violation of ORS
690.390(1) and OAR 331-585-0020(3), (4) and/or (5) and may incur
a penalty of $500.

(14) Failing to sterilize instruments using an approved mode is
a violation of ORS 690.390(1) and (2), OAR 331-585-0020(1) and/or
(2) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(15) Failing to meet sterilization standards is a violation of ORS
690.390(1) and (2) and OAR 331-585-0010(2) and/or (3) and may
incur a penalty of $1,000.

(16) Failing to clean instruments prior to sterilization is a viola-
tion of OAR 331-585-0010(1) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(17) Failing to wash hands before and after treatment and/or wear
protective gloves is a violation of OAR 331-575-0030(1) and/or (2)
and may incur a penalty of $500.

(18) Failing to prepare treatment area on a client in accordance
with agency standards is a violation of OAR 331-575-0030(4) and may
incur a penalty of $500.

(19) Failing to meet cleanliness and/or storage standards for
linens is a violation of OAR 331-575-0050 and may incur a penalty
of $500.

(20) Failing to meet storage requirements for instruments, prod-
ucts or chemicals is a violation of OAR 331-585-0030 and may incur
a penalty of $500.

(21) Failing to dispose of materials contaminated with blood or
bodily fluids in a sealable container or appropriate sharps container,
or failing to have appropriate containers available is a violation of
OAR 331-575-0030(3) and may incur a penalty of $1,000.

(22) Failing to have required covered waste receptacles is a vio-
lation of ORS 690.390(3) and OAR 331-585-0040(1) and may incur
a penalty of $100.

(23) Performing a restricted treatment is a violation of ORS
676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-575-0010(7) and may incur a penalty of
$1,000.

(24) Failing to have and maintain client case history records is
a violation of ORS 690.390(3) and OAR 331-575-0010(1), (2), (3), (4)
and/or (5) and may incur a penalty of $500.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.407
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 690.407
Hist.: HD 16-1988, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-88; HD 4-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91;
HD 24-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 1-1999, f. 1-26-99, cert. ef. 2-1-
99, Renumbered from 333-305-0265; HLO 5-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 601
GENERALADMINISTRATION

331-601-0000
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-610-0000 through
331-650-0010.

(1) “Advisory Council” means, pursuant to ORS 694.165, the
entity that advises the agency in matters relating the practice of hear-
ing aid dispensing in accordance with 694.170. The agency director
controls the regulatory operations and has decision-making authori-
ty on all substantive matters.

(2) “Agency” means the Health Licensing Agency. The agency
is responsible for the budget, personnel, performance-based outcomes,
consumer protection, fee collection, mediation, complaint resolution,
discipline, rulemaking and record keeping.

(3) “Application” means an original document provided by the
agency, bearing an original signature of the applicant.

(4) “Application fee” means fee for processing application or
reapplication for licensure, including administering an examination.

(5) “Assistive listening device” means a device that may meet the
statutory definition of a hearing aid but has been determined by the
agency not to be a hearing aid for the purposes of ORS 694 and OAR
331, divisions 610 through 650.

(6) “Audiologist” means a person licensed under ORS 681 and
who practices audiology as defined by that statute.

(7) “Consummation of sale” means when the purchaser takes
delivery or possession of the hearing aid after agreeing to purchase the
hearing aid.

(8) “Demonstration instrument” means a hearing aid that has
been worn by a prospective user as part of a bona fide hearing aid eval-
uation conducted in the presence of the hearing aid specialist.

(9) “Delivery” means, as used in ORS 694.042(2), acceptance
and possession of the hearing aids by the consumer, which starts the
30 calendar day rescission right period. Hearing aids that have been
out of the consumer’s possession for a period of 72 hours or more for
any alternation or adjustment during the 30 calendar day rescission
right period restarts the 30 calendar day rescission right period. Deliv-
ery includes:

(a) The initial fitting and delivery of the hearing aid(s) must be
performed in person by a licensed hearing aid specialist, including the
acceptance and possession of the hearing aid(s);

(b) Return of hearing aid by the consumer to the specialist may
be hand carried or mailed by certified mail to the official place of busi-
ness of the hearing aid specialist.

(10) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor is present in the
facility for the purpose of supervising and in view the procedures per-
formed by a registered trainee who has not completed the training
requirements stated in OAR 331-610-0010.

(11) “Director” means the individual who is responsible for the
performance of the agency as defined in ORS 676.610. The director
appoints all subordinate officers and employees to carry out the duties
of the agency.

(12) “Equivalent” means comparable but not identical, covering
the same subject matter.

(13) “Facility” means physical place of business where services
defined in ORS 694.015(4) are conducted, including but not limited
to all areas used by hearing aid dealer specialist and client, i.e. test-
ing location, waiting/reception area.

(14) “Health Licensing Office” means the agency.
(15) “Hearing aid” as defined in ORS 694.015(3) does not mean

assistive listening devices as set forth in OAR 331-640-0000.
(16) “High level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, which has

demonstrated tuberculocidal activity.
(17) “Indirect supervision” means the supervisor is not required

to be on the premises while the procedures are performed by a tem-
porary hearing aid specialist.

(18) “Licensed” means the authority to practice pursuant to ORS
694.025, which has not been revoked or expired without renewal.

(19) “Place or places of business” means the name, mailing
address, telephone number and location where the licensee deals in
hearing aids.
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(20) “Probation” means continuation of licensure under condi-
tions set by the agency.

(21) “Public view” means open to view and easy for the public
to see.

(22) “Purchase price” means:
(a) The total amount paid or agreed to be paid by or on behalf of

the consumer includes the cost of the hearing aid(s) and related pro-
fessional fees.

(b) Professional fees shall include fees charged for the actual fit-
ting and sale of the hearing aid(s):

(A) The evaluation or measurement of the powers or range of
human hearing as they relate to hearing aid fitting;

(B) Hearing aid evaluation;
(C) Hearing aid consultation;
(D) Hearing aid recommendation;
(E) Hearing aid selection;
(F) Hearing aid fitting and dispensing;
(G) Adaptation of a hearing aid, if related to the original pur-

chase;
(H) Counseling, if related to the original purchase and done by

the person dealing in hearing aids and/or company, firm or facility
involved in dispensing of the original hearing aid, and any other fees
for service which are charged in regards to a hearing aid being fitted
as a therapeutic device;

(I) Ear impression and ear molds.
(c) Professional fees charged for diagnostic testing for medical

use when done by a physician or on a physician’s order shall be
excluded from this definition of professional fees.

(23) “Reconditioned” means a used hearing aid that has been
rebuilt or is a hearing aid that consists of both old and new parts.

(24) “Renew” means to extend a current license for two years
beyond expiration or to bring an inactive license to current, active sta-
tus.

(25) “Used hearing aid” means any hearing aid that has been
worn for any period of time, except where the hearing aid is defined
as a demonstration instrument in OAR 331-601-0000(8).

(26) “Temporary hearing aid specialist” means an individual who
has applied for and received a provisional license to work under the
supervision of a licensed hearing aid specialist.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 694.155 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 694.155 & 694.170
Hist.: HD 12, f. 4-20-72, ef. 5-1-72; HD 13-1984, f. & ef. 6-28-84, Renumbered
from 333-025-0025; HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 11-1987, f. & ef. 7-28-87;
HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-0000, HLO
6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 6-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-601-0010
Fees

(1)Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR
331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penal-
ties and charges.

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health LicensingAgency are
as follows:

(a) Application:
(A) License: $125.
(B) Temporary license: $150.
(C) Trainee registration: $100.
(b) Examination:
(A) Oregon laws & rules: $50.
(B) Written: $150.
(C) Practical: $175.
(D) Audiologist: $50.
(c) Original issuance of license:
(A) License: $250.
(B) Temporary license: $100.
(d) Renewal of license: $250
(e) Delinquent (late) renewal of license: $25 for the first month

in expired status, and $10 each month thereafter while in an expired
status.

(f) Replacement of license, including name change: $25.
(g) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum of

three.
(h) Affidavit of licensure: $50.

(i) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be
assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment
of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.155 & 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.155 & 694.185
Hist.: HD 24-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 10-17-85; HD 33-1985, f. & ef. 12-13-85; HD
8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 14-1990, f. 6-1-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; HD 17-
1990(Temp), f. 6-15-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; HD 21-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-3-90;
HD 22-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-90; HD 14-1991(Temp), f. 9-30-91, cert. ef. 10-1-
91; HD 21-1991, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-91; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-
97; OHD 9-1999, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-99; OHD 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-00;
Renumbered from 333-025-0005, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA
6-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

DIVISION 610
TRAININGAND QUALIFICATIONS

331-610-0000
Qualification Pathways

To obtain an Oregon hearing aid specialist license, a person must
provide completed application documentation prescribed by the agen-
cy pursuant to OAR 331-030-0000 and 331-620-0000, provide satis-
factory evidence of meeting certification requirements, which
includes qualifying criteria listed in one of the following certification
pathways, and submit payment of all required fees.

(1) TRAINEE REGISTRATION: An applicant for trainee reg-
istration must submit a completed Training Registration Agreement,
Declaration of Responsibility required by ORS 694.065(2), and com-
plete core competencies pursuant to OAR 331-610-0010. Documen-
tation must be submitted on agency prescribed forms.

(2)AUDIOLOGIST:An applicant must submit a copy of an Ore-
gon state audiologist license, copy of American Speech and Hearing
Association certification in audiology, or copy of official transcripts
from an accredited training program in audiology.

(3) OUT-OF-STATE LICENSURE: An applicant must provide
documentation, in the form of an Affidavit of Licensure, submitted
directly to the agency from the originating state’s regulatory office,
evidencing that the applicant currently holds or held a hearing aid spe-
cialist license within three years immediately prior to the application
date and that the licensee has not been subject to disciplinary action
involving suspension or revocation, or no action is currently pending
against the licensee, and no civil penalties are outstanding against the
licensee.

(4) QUALIFYING CREDENTIALS:An applicant must provide
documentation evidencing qualification for examination and licensure
as a hearing aid specialist. Such documentation may include a copy
of certification by the American Board of Otolaryngology, a physi-
cian’s license showing American Board of Otolaryngology certifica-
tion, or, a copy of certification from the National Board for Certifi-
cation in Hearing Instrument Sciences.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.065, 694.155 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.065, 694.155 & 694.170
Hist.: Hist.: HD 24-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 10-17-85; HD 33-1985, f. & ef. 12-13-85;
HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 14-1990, f. 6-1-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; HD
17-1990(Temp), f. 6-15-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; HD 21-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-3-
90; HD 22-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-90; HD 14-1991(Temp), f. 9-30-91, cert. ef. 10-
1-91; HD 21-1991, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-91; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-
15-97; OHD 9-1999, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-99; OHD 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-00;
Renumbered from 333-025-0005(5)-(9), HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-610-0010
Training and/or Experience Requirements

To be approved by the agency, a hearing aid specialist training
program must include at least 62 hours of theory and 98 hours of prac-
tical experience which must include at least 30 completed procedures
covering all of the requirements for audiometric testing, earmold
impressions, hearing aid selection, fitting and follow up care, and
infection control and cleanliness.A training program must include the
following core competencies for hearing aid fitting:

(1) Basic Knowledge — Theory Hours 15;
(a) General principals of acoustics and hearing/speech acoustics;
(b) Conductive and sensory-neural disorders of hearing;
(c) The human ear: external, middle, and inner;
(d) Applicable Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Adminis-

trative Rules;
(2) Hearing aid standards — Theory Hours 15;
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(a) American National Standards Institute;
(b) Food and Drug Administration;
(3)Audiometric Testing — Theory Hours 10, Practical Hours 35;
(a) Basic equipment check; adequate test environment;
(b) Otoscope technique/client management;
(c) Puretone audiometry; air conduction and bone conduction and

recording audiograms;
(d) Masking: air conduction and bone conduction;
(e) Speech reception threshold;
(f) Most comfortable loudness level;
(g) Uncomfortable loudness level;
(h) Speech audiometry;
(4) Earmold impressions — Theory Hours 5, Practical Hours 15;
(a) Instructions to client;
(b) Otoscopic inspection;
(c) Dam placement and verification;
(d) Impression material preparation and insertion;
(e) Impression removal and evaluation;
(f) Impression handling and preparation for transport;
(5) Hearing aid selection, fitting and follow up care — Theory

Hours 15, Practical Hours 45;
(a) Acoustic couplers;
(b) Hearing aid components;
(c) Physical characteristics of hearing aids;
(d) Electro-acoustic characteristics of hearing aids;
(e) Problem solving;
(f) Hearing aid modification and adaptation;
(g) Basic hearing aid repair;
(6) Infection control and cleanliness — Theory Hours 2, Practi-

cal Hours 3;
(a) Disinfection;
(b) Single use disposable items;
(c) Hand washing.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 694.065, 694.155 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 694.065, 694.155 & 694.170
Hist.: HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-
1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 18-1997, f.12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97;
Renumbered from 333-025-0008, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-610-0020
Trainee Registration

(1)A trainee, registered under ORS 694.065(1) may deal in hear-
ing aids under the direct supervision of a designated supervisor except
that a trainee may not fit or sell hearing aids.

(2) The agency will authorize an Oregon licensed hearing aid spe-
cialist to act as designated supervisor of a trainee provided the licensee
holds a valid license, has been actively practicing for at least three
years, and has not had any disciplinary action or civil penalty imposed
by the agency.

(3)A licensed hearing aid specialist must not supervise more than
four trainees at any one time.

(4)A designated supervisor will not provide training as outlined
in OAR 331-610-0010 until a trainee registration agreement and Dec-
laration Of Responsibility has been submitted to the agency.

(5) A designated supervisor must notify the agency in writing
within five calendar days if the trainee is no longer being supervised
and trained, and must provide a Certification of Training form to the
agency showing the number of hours of training completed.

(6)Adesignated supervisor’s authorization may be withdrawn for
providing incomplete or inadequate training, falsifying documentation,
or allowing the trainee to fit or sell hearing aids.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 694.155, 694.095 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 694.155, 694.095 & 694.170
Hist.: HD 13-1984, f. & ef. 6-28-84; HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 8-1990, f.
4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 18-1997, f.
12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-0007(5)-(10), HLO 6-2004,
f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-610-0030
Supervision of Temporary Hearing Aid Specialists

(1) An individual who holds a valid Oregon hearing aid special-
ist license who has been actively practicing for at least three years and
has not had any disciplinary action or civil penalty imposed by the
agency, may act as a designated supervisor for a temporary licensee.
ADeclaration of Responsibility form, prescribed by the agency, must
be signed and filed with the agency before supervising any temporary

hearing aid specialist. The form must indicate the name of the super-
vising hearing aid specialist, place of business, telephone number, cur-
rent license number, and the name, address, and license number of the
temporary hearing aid specialist.

(2) The testing, fitting, or selling of a hearing aid by a temporary
hearing aid specialist shall be performed under the authority, control,
and indirect supervision of the licensed hearing aid specialist desig-
nated as the supervisor. The designated supervisor must review and
approve the temporary hearing aid specialist’s work before ordering
the recommended hearing aid(s).

(3) A designated supervisor shall exercise management, guid-
ance, and control over the activities of the temporary hearing aid spe-
cialist; and shall exercise professional judgment and be responsible for
all matters relative to the fitting and selling of a hearing aid.

(4) Approval of a temporary hearing aid specialist’s work must
be documented by the handwritten signature of the designated super-
visor, license number, and date of review placed adjacent to the tem-
porary hearing aid specialist’s signature on any audiogram, order form,
and office copy of a statement to a prospective hearing aid purchaser
as required in ORS 694.036 and 694.042.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 694.095, 694.155 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 694.095, 694.155 & 694.170
Hist.: HD 13-1984, f. & ef. 6-28-84; HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 8-1990, f.
4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 18-1997, f.
12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-0007, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-
29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-610-0040
Examination

(1)After the Health Licensing Office determines training and/or
licensure qualifications have been met, applicants will be notified of
their eligibility to take or schedule an examination. The examination
consists of a written segment covering subjects set forth in ORS
694.075(1) and (3) and a practical or demonstration of skill segments
pursuant to 694.075(2).

(2) The written segment of the examination may be a national
examination and will include questions covering Oregon law and rules
regulating hearing aids.

(3) The examination shall be closed book, prepared and con-
ducted in English.

(4) The practical segment of the examination consists of four sec-
tions: audiometric testing, masking, taking earmold impressions, and
fitting hearing aids.

(5) Sections of both the written and practical segments of the
examination shall be scored separately. The passing score for each sec-
tion is 70% or above.

(6) Applicants, on initial examination, shall take all sections of
both segments of the examination

(7) Applicants shall be mailed notification of the date, time and
place of the examination at least 15 calendar days in advance.

(8) Applicants shall be required to provide photographic identi-
fication such as a driver’s license, and their original Social Security
card before being allowed entrance to the examination.

(9) Applicants failing the written segment of the examination
shall be given information on examination appeal and/or rescoring pro-
cedures.Applicants shall initiate any request for rescoring of the writ-
ten examination with the agency within 30 calendar days from the date
of the notification of the examination results.

(10) Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (9) of this rule,
Oregon licensed audiologists will be required to take and pass only the
Oregon laws and rules section of the written examination.

(11) Examinations are scheduled at a date and time established
by the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.065, 694.075, 694.155 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.065, 694.075, 694.155, 694.170
Hist.: HB 144, f. 6-27-60; HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert.
ef. 4-5-90; HD 27-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-31-90; HD 3-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert.
ef. 4-1-91; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 17-1994(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 6-15-94; HD 26-1994, f. 9-29-94, cert. ef. 10-1-94; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97,
cert. ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-0004(1)-(10), HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-
04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-610-0050
Examination Conduct; Disqualification

(1) Examinations are conducted in a designated area with restrict-
ed access. Authorization must be provided by the agency before
bringing any material or electronic equipment or devices into the
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examination. Receiving or attempting to receive assistance during the
examination, including assistance from other individuals, from notes
books or devices or taking unauthorized items into the examination
area shall invalidate the examination and result in forfeiture of the
examination and fees.

(2) Examination Disqualification: A candidate may be immedi-
ately disqualified during or after the examination for conduct that inter-
feres with the examination. Such conduct includes:

(a) Giving or attempting to give assistance to others in answer-
ing questions during the examination;

(b) Receiving or attempting to receive assistance during the
examination, including assistance from other individuals from notes,
books or devices to answer questions;

(c) Removing or attempting to remove any secure examination-
related information, notes, or materials from the examination site;

(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the
examination;

(e) Exhibiting behavior which impedes the normal progress of the
examination; and

(f) Endangering the health or safety of a person involved in the
examination.

(3) Disqualification will invalidate the examination and result in
forfeiture of the examination and fees. The candidate will be required
to reapply, submit additional examination fees, and request in writing
to schedule another examination. Reexamination will be scheduled at
a date, time and place determined by the Director following the date
of disqualification.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.065 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.065 & 694.155
Hist.: HB 144, f. 6-27-60; HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert.
ef. 4-5-90; HD 27-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-31-90; HD 3-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert.
ef. 4-1-91; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 17-1994(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 6-15-94; HD 26-1994, f. 9-29-94, cert. ef. 10-1-94; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97,
cert. ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-0004(11)-(13), HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-
04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 620
LICENSUREAND RENEWAL

331-620-0000
Application Requirements

(1) Individuals applying for licensure to practice as a HearingAid
Specialist must meet the requirements of OAR 331-030-0000 and 331-
030-0020, in addition to the remaining requirements of this rule.

(2)Applicants must submit an application form prescribed by the
agency, which shall contain information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000(5), be accompanied by payment of the appropriate fees, and
include documentation evidencing completion of necessary training
and/or licensure, according to one of the qualification pathways list-
ed in 331-610-0000(1) through (4).

(3)Application(s) for examination must be received by the agen-
cy at least 30 calendar days before the scheduled examination date, in
order to be processed and eligible for examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 694.055 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 694.055 & 694.155
Hist.: HB 144, f. 6-27-60; HD 13, 1984, f. & ef. 6-28-84; HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-
29-86; HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 27-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-
31-90; HD 3-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef.
1-1-94; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-
0002, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-620-0010
Temporary License

(1)A temporary license may be issued to an applicant who meets
the application requirements of ORS 694.065(2) and OAR 331-610-
0000(1) and (3) following agency receipt of a completed application
and evidence of training, orAffidavit of Licensure from another state,
and the required fee(s).

(2) The temporary license will be issued for a one-year period,
expiring on the last day of the month one year from the date of
issuance.

(3) Attainment of permanent licensure status by satisfactorily
passing the examination supersedes the temporary hearing aid spe-
cialist license.

(4) A temporary license holder may change their designated
supervisor if a new Declaration of Responsibility form is signed by the

new supervisor and submitted with the application fee to the agency
within five days of separation from the former designated supervisor.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 694.095 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 694.095 & 694.155
Hist.: HB 144, f. 6-27-60; HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert.
ef. 4-5-90; HD 27-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-31-90; HD 3-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert.
ef. 4-1-91; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert.
ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-0006, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef.
7-1-04

331-620-0020
Licensure

(1) Licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR 331-030-0010
regarding the issuance and renewal of a license, and to the provisions
of OAR 331-030-0020 regarding the authorization to practice, iden-
tification, and the requirements for issuance of a duplicate authoriza-
tion.

(2)A license renewal application received by the agency or post-
marked after a license has expired but within three years from the expi-
ration date, may be approved upon payment of the renewal and delin-
quency fees and attestation of having obtained required continuing
education pursuant to OAR 331-630-0000.

(3)A person who fails to renew within three years following the
date of expiration may be granted a license upon reapplication, pay-
ment of required fees, and successful passage of the written and prac-
tical examination required by OAR 331-610-0040. Upon passing the
examination the original license number will be reinstated and a
license issued.

(4) All license holders must obtain 24 contact hours of continu-
ing education training every two years as a condition of renewal
whether the license is active or inactive.

(5) Evidence of required continuing education must be provid-
ed at the time of renewal by means of a prescribed self-attestation form
certifying participation in approved continuing education.

(6) Appropriate documentation required in OAR 331-630-0000
must be accumulated and held by the license holder for a period of two
years following renewal, or until submitted to the agency at the time
of audit within the two-year period.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.085, 694.124, 694.125 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.085, 694.124, 694.125 & 694.155
Hist.: HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 3-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-
91; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94 ; Renumbered from 333-025-0009,
HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA6-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

DIVISION 630
CONTINUING EDUCATION

331-630-0000
Continuing Education Requirements

(1)After October 1, 2009, all licensees submitting application for
renewal must have completed 24 contact hours of approved continu-
ing education during the proceeding two years.

(2)A licensee must report compliance with continuing education
requirements through attestation on the license renewal document.
Licensees will be subject to provisions of OAR 331-630-0010 per-
taining to periodic audit of continuing education.

(3)Approved continuing education includes, at the agency’s dis-
cretion:

(a) Participation or attendance at an instructional program pre-
sented, recognized, or under the auspices of any institution, agency,
professional organization or association, or licensees or hearing aid
manufacturers and approved by the agency.

(b) Education in subject matter related specifically to hearing or
hearing aid technology, related health care, or laws and rules govern-
ing hearing aid dispensing. Approved subject matter may include but
not be limited to the following: anatomy and physiology, disorders of
hearing, audiology, habilitation and counseling, physics of sound, safe-
ty and sanitation, practice management, ethics, first aid, CPR, AIDS
training for health care workers and ORS 694 and OAR 331, divisions
601 through 650.

(c) Education in subject matter that advances the licensee’s
knowledge and skills to benefit the hearing impaired public.

(d) Credit will be limited to three hours collectively per year for
subjects relating to practice management, ethics, sales, first aid, CPR
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and AIDS training. Licensees may not receive credit for repeat of
courses taken within the same continuing education reporting period.

(4) The agency will maintain a list of approved continuing edu-
cation programs. The list will be available upon request to the agen-
cy.

(5) For each college “credit hour”, 12 continuing education con-
tact hours will be recognized.

(6) To receive prior approval of a continuing education program,
an individual or group sponsor must submit a written request to the
agency, at least 30 days prior to the first scheduled presentation. The
documentation required for agency review includes:

(a) An outline of the subject matter to be covered;
(b) Method of presentation;
(c) Qualifications of person or persons presenting instruction;
(d) Estimated duration;
(e) Criteria for positive achievement, e.g., examination, atten-

dance, participation by written or oral report; and
(f) Statement of how the program relates to a licensee’s knowl-

edge and skills and how it benefits the hearing impaired public.
(7) The agency, in consultation with the Advisory Council on

Hearing Aids or a standing subcommittee of the Council, will deter-
mine if the continued education program meets criteria for approval.
The agency will establish the number of hours it will recognize or
accept for programs obtaining prior approval of the agency.

(8) The agency will notify the program or course sponsor in writ-
ing of its determination regarding continuing education including, as
applicable, acceptable credit or contact hours and explain any denial
of the program or adjustment to creditable hours.

(9)Approval of a continuing education program may be retained
for a maximum of two years, at which time the sponsor will be
required to resubmit the documentation listed in subsection (6) of this
rule to continue agency approval of the program.

(10) The agency may withdraw approval of a continuing educa-
tion program if it is determined that:

(a) The program teaching method or content has changed sig-
nificantly without notice to the agency;

(b) A certificate of participation was not issued to an individual
who completed the program in accordance with the standards provided
to the agency; or

(c)A certificate of participation was issued to an individual who
did not complete the program in accordance with the standards pro-
vided to the agency.

(11) Evidence of participation in required continuing education
is the responsibility of the hearing aid specialist. Evidence of partic-
ipation must include the documentation listed in OAR 331-630-0010.

(12) Hours obtained in excess of the 24 contact hours required
every two years will not be carried forward as continuing education
credit for the succeeding reporting period.

(13) Continuing education requirements apply whether the
renewal applicant is living or working within Oregon or outside of the
state, if Oregon licensure is maintained.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.125 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.125 & 694.155
Hist.: HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 27-
1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-31-90; HD 3-1991, f. 3-15-91, cert. ef. 4-1-91; HD
23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97;
Renumbered from 333-025-0040, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA
6-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

331-630-0010
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Health Licensing Office will audit a select percentage of
licenses determined by the Council to verify compliance with con-
tinuing education requirements.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days
from the date of notification, satisfactory evidence of participation in
required continuing education in accordance with OAR 331-630-0000.

(3) Documentation of a certificate of completion of attendance
at a program or course provided by the sponsor must include:

(a) Name of sponsoring institution/association or organization;
(b) Title of presentation and description of content;
(c) Name of instructor or presenter;
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours;

(e) Course agenda;
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance.
(4) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-

plete, the licensee must correct the deficiency within 30 calendar days
from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency within the pre-
scribed time shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(5) Misrepresentation of continuing education, or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include, but is not limited to assessment
of a civil fine and suspension or revocation of the license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.125 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.125 & 694.155
Hist.: HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 640
PRACTICE STANDARDS

331-640-0000
Assistive Listening Devices

Assistive listening devices which are exempt from the provisions
of ORS Chapter 694 are defined as products designed to solve one or
more specific listening problems created by a hearing loss, and include
personal or group listening devices, telephone listening devices, or
alert/alarm systems. The primary difference between listening
devices and hearing aids is that an assistive listening device is designed
to assist in only one, or a few, listening environments, and is for tem-
porary use only. A hearing aid is designed for use in a wide range of
listening environments and is primarily for full time use. The follow-
ing criteria shall be considered in categorizing an assistive listening
device:

(1) Personal Assistive Listening Device:
(a) Is used for the assistance of only one person;
(b) May be used either hardwired or wireless type;
(c) May be adaptable to particular environments;
(d) May not be fitted to an individual hearing loss;
(e) May not be sold as a standard hearing aid;
(f) May be an external option that will work with a hearing aid

either through the telecoil or by direct audio input coupler built into
a hearing aid.

(2) Group Assistive Listening Device:
(a) Includes infrared and FM systems and induction loop sys-

tems;
(b) Includes auditory trainers that are classified as such by the

FDA exemption for group auditory trainers (21 CFR 801.421(e));
(c) May include telecaption decorders.
(3) Telephone Devices for the Hearing Impaired:
(a) Amplified handsets;
(b) In-line amplifiers for modular telephones;
(c) Receiver add-ons;
(d) An external option that will work with a hearing aid.
(4) Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD):
(a) Typically visually based;
(b) TDD and Teletypewriter for the deaf (TTY) systems.
(5) Alert/Alarm Systems:
(a) Systems that use a form of visual or vibratory stimuli to alert

an individual;
(b) May be hardwired or use an acoustic pickup.
[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 694.155
Hist.: HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; Renum-
bered from 333-025-0050, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-640-0010
Safety and Infection Control Requirements

(1) Each licensee shall keep areas of their facility for otoscopic
examination, earmold impression taking, and audiometric examination
clean and sanitary.

(2) Impression tools, otoscopic examination equipment and other
devices that come in direct contact with the client must be disinfect-
ed prior to use. Licensees shall use an EPA registered high-level dis-
infectant, following the manufacturer’s directions, to disinfect
nondisposable equipment and tools.

Chapter 331 Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2010 Edition 5 - 53 (11-13-09)



(3) Disposable or disinfected otoscopic specula must be used
when examining each ear.

(4) Licensees must wash or sanitize hands prior to taking an ear-
mold impression.

(5) Licensees must observe the Universal Precautions as
defined in Oregon Administrative Rule 437-002-0360(25), and 29
CFR 1910.1030 standards, when providing services to consumers.
Universal Precautions describe an approach to infection control that
assumes exposure to all human blood and specified human body flu-
ids are infectious for HIV, HBV, and other blood borne pathogens. Pre-
cautions to reduce the likelihood of exposure include hand washing,
gloving, using personal protective equipment, preventing injury, ensur-
ing proper handling and disposal of needles and other sharp instru-
ments and of products or equipment contaminated with blood and
body fluids.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 694.155
Hist.: HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 333-025-0014,
HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 1-2006, f. 8-31-06, cert. ef. 9-1-06

331-640-0020
Audiometric Testing Equipment

Licensed hearing aid specialists shall maintain audiometric test-
ing equipment, currently used in the practice of administering evalu-
ations, in proper working order at all times and shall be prepared to
provide their record of at least annual calibration to a representative
of the agency when so requested, upon inspection, or during an inves-
tigation conducted by the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & 694.155
Hist.: HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-
1-94; Renumbered from 333-025-0027, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-640-0030
Disclosure Statements to Prospective Purchaser; Delivery
Information

(1) The term “purchaser” as used in ORS chapter 694 and OAR
chapter 331, division 640, means any person who purchases or pro-
poses to purchase hearing aid(s) and any person on whose behalf hear-
ing aid(s) are purchased or proposed to be purchased. In the case of a
client who is a minor child or other person without legal capacity to
contract, the person’s parent, legal guardian, or legal representative is
the “purchaser.”

(2) To assist prospective purchasers in making an informed deci-
sion regarding the sale of hearing aid(s), licensees must provide
prospective purchasers with complete and accurate disclosure of facts
regarding licensee services, the hearing aid(s) purchase price, deliv-
ery and consummation of sale defined in OAR 331-601-0000, and
information about the purchaser’s right to rescind or cancel a sale and
the procedures for rescinding the sale and returning the hearing aid(s)
according to the provisions of ORS 694.042.

(3) The Statement to Prospective Purchaser (Statement) is a con-
tract prepared and signed by the licensee and agreed to by the pur-
chaser. This Statement contains required information listed in ORS
694.036 regarding licensee and purchaser information, medical obser-
vation criteria and referral to physician if medical conditions are pre-
sent, specifications and conditions of the hearing aid(s), terms of any
warranty or expressed guarantee, and how to file a complaint with the
agency.

(4) Licensees are required to provide all information and facts
specified in this rule before the consummation of the sale, which is the
delivery of the hearing aid(s) to the purchaser and the date that starts
the 30-day rescission period.

(5) Statement Content. In addition to the information prescribed
by ORS 694.036, the Statement must include the following informa-
tion and facts about the purchase of hearing aid(s):

(a) Date of sale;
(b) Purchaser name, address and signature;
(c) Licensee name, address, telephone number, license number

and signature;
(d) The purchase price, which includes the cost of the hearing

aid(s) and all related fees;
(e) An accurate description of the hearing aid as new, demon-

stration instrument, reconditioned, or used;
(f) Delivery date of hearing aid(s);
(g) Date the 30-day rescission period ends;

(h) The portion of the total purchase price that will be retained
by the licensee, not to exceed 10% of the contract purchase amount
or $250 per hearing aid, whichever amount is less, if the purchaser
rescinds the sale under provisions of ORS 694.042 within the 30-day
rescission period;

(i) Date and place of post-delivery follow-up session agreed upon
by the licensee and hearing aid user as stated in subsection (9) of this
rule;

(j) A printed or reproduced copy of ORS 694.042 Right to
Rescind AHearing Aid Purchase in its entirety, which includes the pro-
cedures for returning the hearing aid(s) to the licensee;

(k) The following statement, initialed by the purchaser: “Copies
of my audiogram and the results of tests or verification procedures
were offered to me by the licensee, and I hereby acknowledge receipt
of the records or that I declined the offer.”;

(l) The following statement about filing complaints: “Complaints
regarding the sale, lease, or attempted sale or lease of hearing aids
should be directed in writing to: Oregon Health LicensingAgency, 700
Summer Street NE, Suite 320, Salem, OR 97301-1287. Complaint
forms may be obtained by calling 503-378-8667 or at the Agency’s
Web site: http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/Consumer_help_complaint.
shtml”; and

(m) A statement acknowledging that the purchaser has read and
understands the information contained in the Statement, signed by the
purchaser and dated;

(6) Statement Format. The Statement must be printed on forms
measuring no less than 8 1/2 inches wide by 11 inches long, with a
minimum 10-point typeset, and be legibly written.

(7) Licensees must provide the purchaser a new Statement for
each hearing aid or set of hearing aids, unless the hearing aid(s) is an
exact replacement of the device listed in a previous Statement provided
to the purchaser.

(8) Refund. Any monies paid by or on behalf of the purchaser
toward the hearing aid must be refunded to the payer if the delivery
of the hearing aid to the purchaser is cancelled. The purchaser shall
incur no additional liability for the cancellation.

(9) Post Delivery Follow-Up.
(a) Licensees will conduct and document a minimum of one post-

delivery follow-up session with the hearing aid user before the expi-
ration of the 30-day rescission period. The follow-up session will take
place at the original place of the sale or at a predetermined location
agreed upon at the time of initial delivery, or at a time and place agreed
to within the 30-day rescission period.

(b) The licensee must document in the hearing aid user record any
change to the agreed-upon location or date of the post-delivery follow-
up session, and, if the licensee is unable to contact or the hearing aid
user or to provide the follow-up session, the reason(s) why.

(10) In Home Sales. Sales of hearing aids made at the purchas-
er’s residence and not at the licensee’s place of business, require dis-
closure of federal guidelines related to “in home sales” and the pur-
chaser’s right to cancel the transaction and receive a full refund of
monies paid to the licensee. The following federal disclosure statement
must be completed and affixed to the Statement to Prospective Pur-
chaser when a licensee sells a hearing aid(s) at the purchaser’s home.

[ED. NOTE: Statemen referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.036, 694.042, 694.155 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.036, 694.042, 694.155, 694.170
Hist.: HD 8-1986, f. & ef. 5-29-86; HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-
1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94 ; Renumbered from 333-025-0065, HLO 6-2004,
f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 1-2006, f. 8-31-06, cert. ef. 9-1-06

331-640-0040
Additional Conditions for Referral

(1) In addition to the conditions listed in ORS 694.142 a hearing
aid specialist shall not fit or dispense a hearing aid for use without first
determining if the following conditions exist and, if so, referring the
prospective purchaser to a physician:

(a) Evidence of significant cerumen accumulation in the audito-
ry canal preventing visual inspection of the external auditory canal or
external auditory meatus and tympanic membrane or foreign body in
the ear canal; or

(b) Pain or discomfort in the ear.
(2) A Waiver of Medical Opinion form as required by ORS

694.142(6) must include the hearing aid specialist’s name and license
number, the purchaser’s name, address and signature with date as well
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as the following statement:”I do not desire to have a medical evalua-
tion before purchasing a hearing aid.”

Stat. Auth.: ORS 694.142, 694.155 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.142, 694.155 & 694.170
Hist.: HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-
1-94; Renumbered from 333-025-0029, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-640-0050
Additional Standards of Conduct

(1) Licensees must comply with the requirements of ORS
694.142, and all other applicable statutes and rules.

(2) Licensees must conform to state or federal laws regulating
retail contracts or to any affirmation of fact or promise made by the
licensee which relates to the hearing aid or fitting and dispensing ser-
vices and which becomes a part of the basis of the transaction when
the purchaser relies on it or is, in part, induced into making purchase
by it.

(3) Licensees must not make inaccurate or misleading represen-
tations or statements as to the efficacy of a hearing aid(s) for improv-
ing hearing.

(4) Licensees may not use a title or abbreviation that is mis-
leading or may convey that the licensee holds a credential that is not
related to hearing instrument sciences, without designating the pro-
fessional field for which the credential was issued. Hearing instrument
sciences includes, but is not limited to, core competencies identified
in ORS 694.075.

(5) The Council recognizes and adopts the revised International
Hearing Society’s Code of Ethics, adopted October 1983 and revised
October 1996, October 1998, and May 2003, as its professional stan-
dards model. A copy of the document is on file at the agency for
review, and may be accessed at the following Web site: http://
ihsinfo.org/IhsV2/Resources/020_Code_Of_Ethics.cfm

(6) During the hearing test or evaluation for fitting a client with
a hearing aid(s), the following items must be completed. If the case
history and tests were completed within the previous six months and
there has been no substantial change in the client’s hearing, the fol-
lowing tests may be performed at the discretion of the licensee:

(a) Confidential client case history;
(b) Puretone Air Conduction Threshold testing (should include

at a minimum, the following frequencies — 250, 500, 1000, 2000,
3000, 4000, and 6000 or 8000 Hz);

(c) Puretone Bone Conduction Threshold testing (should include
at a minimum, the following frequencies — 500, 1000, 2000, and 4000
Hz);

(d) Speech Recognition Threshold testing (SRT);
(e) Word Recognition Score (WRS) also known as speech dis-

crimination testing;
(f) Most Comfortable Listening Level (MCL); and
(g) Uncomfortable Listening Level (UCL).
(7) For children who are unable to perform the tests listed in sub-

section (6) of this rule, an objective measure that meets prevailing pro-
fessional standards can be used to assess auditory function. The test
must be completed by a licensed audiologist or physician.

(8) Licensees must perform one or more of the following verifi-
cation procedures, within the 30-day rescission period.

(a) Soundfield testing for speech discrimination;
(b) Soundfield testing for puretone thresholds;
(c) Real-ear probe microphone measurements;
(d) Speech mapping; and
(e) Other industry accepted objective measures.
(9) Licensees must post the following statement in public view

on the business premises or provide the purchaser with a written notice
stating: “Individuals are entitled to a copy of the audiogram used to
conduct hearing evaluations and any test results.” If copies of the
audiogram specified in OAR 331-640-0055, or results of tests or ver-
ification procedures conducted under subsections (6) and (8) of this
rule are requested, they must be provided to the purchaser.

(10) Licensees who are unable to complete testing for reasons
such as a client’s medical condition or inability to perform tests or ver-
ification procedures are excused from compliance with the relevant
parts of subsections (6) and (8) but must document the reasons in the
client’s record.

(11) Tests listed in subsection (8) of this rule will be used to deter-
mine the fitted hearing aid(s) ability to meet current industry standards

in reference to ORS 694.042(1)(c), during investigation of complaints
filed with the agency.

(12) Licensees must maintain a record of the technical specifi-
cations issued by a manufacturer for the hearing aid(s) that have been
delivered to or purchased by their clients. The specifications must be
available for inspection by the agency’s representatives upon request.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.155 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.155 & 694.170
Hist. Hist.: HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; Renumbered from 333-025-
0012, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 1-2006, f. 8-31-06, cert. ef.
9-1-06

331-640-0055
Uniform Measurement Standards

(1) As of December 1, 2006, the Council recognizes and adopts
the following uniform set of hearing loss measurement standards
required for use when interpreting audiograms using 0 — 110 for
degrees of decibel hearing loss (dB HL) and 125 — 8000 Hz for fre-
quency. This set of uniform measurement standards must be used for
advising consumers on peripheral or cochlear hearing loss: [Table not
included. See ED. NOTE.]

(2) Hearing loss may have a greater effect on children than adults.
The degree of hearing loss does not necessarily reflect the degree of
impairment.

(3) Audiologists licensed under ORS 681, and physicians
licensed under ORS 677, may use prevailing professional measure-
ment standards when counseling consumers or purchasers on the effect
of hearing loss, in conformance with their training, professional
license, code of ethics and practice standards.

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 694.036, 694.042, 694.1142, 694.155 & 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.607, 676.615
Hist.: HLA 1-2006, f. 8-31-06, cert. ef. 9-1-06

331-640-0060
Client Record Requirements

For the purpose of clarifying record keeping requirements, the
term “client” as used in this rule, means the individual who is a con-
sumer, purchaser, potential purchaser or hearing-aid wearer.

(1) Required Records. Licensees must record, update and main-
tain documentation for each client relevant to health history, clinical
examinations and treatment, and financial data. Documentation shall
be written or computerized. Records must include the following infor-
mation:

(a) Basic client information, including name, address, telephone
number and dates of service;

(b) Health history relevant to hearing evaluation or fitting of a
hearing aid(s), including referral to a physician or a Waiver of Medi-
cal Opinion form required by ORS 694.142(6);

(c) Identification of any conditions that would require referral to
a physician licensed under ORS Chapter 677, as required in ORS
694.142(1) and OAR 331-640-0040, and a notation that the client was
referred;

(d) Audiograms as specified in OAR 331-640-0055 and results
of tests or verification procedures as specified in 331-640-0050;

(e)A copy of the Statement to Prospective Purchaser required by
ORS 694.036 and OAR 331-640-0030, including client’s signature and
date acknowledging that the client has read and understands the infor-
mation contained in the purchase agreement;

(f) A copy of the Right to Rescind a Hearing Aid Purchase giv-
ing notice of rights under ORS 694.042; and

(g) Date and description of services rendered in the form of “chart
notes”, including any complications. Chart notes must include the
recorder’s initials, license number and professional title if multiple
practitioners provide service to the client.

(2) Record Format. Records and documentation must be accurate,
complete, and legible, typed or recorded using ink. Legible hand-writ-
ten or electronic records are acceptable.

(3) Record Identifiers. Client records listed in subsection (1) of
the rule must include the licensee’s name, license number, professional
title or abbreviation, and signature or initials somewhere on the doc-
umentation as a means of identifying the person who is providing ser-
vice to the client. This information may be affixed to the record(s) in
the form of a professional stamp or handwritten entry.

(4) Record Retention.All client records and documentation, writ-
ten or archived electronically by computer, must be stored and main-
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tained for a minimum of seven years after the licensee has last seen
the client or past the age of minority, so that the records are safe-
guarded, readily retrievable, and available for inspection by the Ore-
gon Health Licensing Agency’s representative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 694.036, 694.042, 694.1142, 694.155, 694.170
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.607, 676.615
Hist.: HLA 1-2006, f. 8-31-06, cert. ef. 9-1-06

DIVISION 650
DISCIPLINE

331-650-0000
Investigative Authority

The Health Licensing Office may initiate and conduct investi-
gations of matters relating to the practice of hearing aid dispensing,
pursuant to ORS 676.608 and 676.618, and may take appropriate dis-
ciplinary action in accordance with the provisions of ORS 676.612 and
694.147.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.608, 676.618, 694.147 & 694.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.608, 676.618, 694.147 & 694.155
Hist. HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-650-0010
Schedule of Civil Penalties for Violations of Laws and Rules

The agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty
schedule for the violations of the following laws and rules. The fol-
lowing schedule shall apply except as the agency otherwise determines
in consideration of the factors referred to in OAR 331-020-0060. For
subsequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply.

(1) Dealing in or purporting to deal in hearing aids with an
expired license is a violation of ORS 694.025 and OAR 331-030-
0010(4) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $200;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

(2) Dealing in or purporting to deal in hearing aids without a
license, with a license issued to another person, or a suspended license
is a violation of ORS 694.025 and/or 676.612(1)(d) or 676.612(4) and
OAR 331-030-0020(1) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $1,000;
(b) For 2nd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including revocation or refusal to issue a license.
(3) Failing as a licensee to inform the agency within 30-calen-

dar days of a change of information is a violation of OAR 331-010-
0040(1) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $50;
(b) For 2nd offense: $100;
(c) For 3rd offense: $150.
(4) Dealing in hearing aids by a trainee when not under the direct

supervision of a supervisor is a violation of ORS 694.025 and
694.065(2) and OAR 331-610-0020(1) and shall incur the following
penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $150;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(5) Failing, as a supervisor, to provide direct supervision of a

trainee dealing in hearing aids is a violation of ORS 694.065(2), OAR
331-610-0020(1) and (6) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization

to provide supervisory training;
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

(6) Failing, as a supervisor, to exercise management, guidance,
and control over the activities of the temporary hearing aid specialist
is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-610-0030(3) shall
incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization

to provide supervisory training;

(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties
allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

(7) Failing, as a supervisor, to evaluate and approve all matters
involved in the testing, fitting, or in the sale of a hearing aid by a tem-
porary hearing aid specialist before ordering the recommended hear-
ing aid(s) is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-610-
0030(2) and/or (4) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization

to provide supervisory training;
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

(8) Failing, as a supervisor of a temporary hearing aid special-
ist, to co-sign and approve the audiogram, order form and office copy
of statement, or failing to mail or provide a copy of the statement to
the prospective hearing aid purchaser as required in ORS 694.036 and
694.042 is a violation of 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-610-0030(4) and
shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization

to provide supervisory training;
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

(9) Failing to meet continuing education requirements pursuant
to OAR 331-630-0000(1), or to provide or retain required documen-
tation is a violation of 331-630-0000(11) and/or 331-630-0010(2) and
shall incur the following:

(a) For 1st offense: $500 and suspension or revocation of license;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension or revocation of

license;
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including revocation or refusal to issue a license.
(10) Failure to correct continuing education deficiencies within

prescribed time frames is a violation of OAR 331-630-0010(4) and
shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $500 and suspension or revocation of license;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension or revocation of

license;
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including revocation or refusal to issue a license.
(11) Disqualification from an examination as a result of conduct

is a violation of OAR 331-610-0050(2) and shall incur the following
penalties: $1,000, disqualification from reexamination as determined
by the agency director and revocation of temporary hearing aid spe-
cialists license

(12) Failing to keep the facility clean and sanitary is a violation
of OAR 331-640-0010(1) and shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(13) Failing to disinfect devices after direct contact with client’s

skin is a violation of OAR 331-640-0010(2) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(14) Failing to wash or sanitize hands before taking an ear mold

impression is a violation of OAR 331-640-0010(4) and shall incur the
following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(15) Failing to calibrate or provide proof of calibration on audio-

metric testing equipment is a violation of OAR 331-640-0020 and
shall incur the following penalties:

(a) For 1st offense: $100;
(b) For 2nd offense: $300;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(16) Failing to provide a client with a properly formatted State-

ment to Prospective Purchaser is a violation of ORS 694.036(1) and
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OAR 331-640-0030(1) and shall incur the following penalties per vio-
lation:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(17) Failing to obtain a signed medical waiver is a violation of

ORS 694.142(6) and OAR 331-640-0040(2) and shall incur the fol-
lowing penalties per violation:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(18) Failing to respond timely to an agency request for infor-

mation regarding a complaint is a violation of OAR 331-020-0050 and
shall incur the following penalties per violation:

(a) For 1st offense: $300;
(b) For 2nd offense: $500;
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

(19) Failing to comply with the additional standards of conduct
is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-640-0050(1), (2),
(3) and/or (4) and shall incur the following penalties per violation:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

(20) Failing or refusing to rescind the sale of a hearing aid is a
violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and (2), 694.042(4), and 694.147(2)(a)
and shall incur a civil penalty established on a case-by-case basis.

(21) Failing to meet professional standards in dealing in hearing
aids in violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j), 694.147(2)(c) or OAR 331-
640-0050(3) and shall incur the following penalties per violation:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

(22) Fraud or misrepresentation in the practice of dealing in hear-
ing aids is a violation of ORS 676.612, 694.147(2) or OAR 331-640-
0050(3) and shall incur the following penalties per violation:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

(23) Unprofessional conduct is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j),
694.147(2)(c) or OAR 331-640-0050(3) and shall incur the following
penalties per violation:

(a) For 1st offense: $500;
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000;
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal
to issue a license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.992 & 694.147
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 676.992 & 694.147
Hist.: HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-
1-94; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-0075,
HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 705
RESPIRATORYTHERAPIST LICENSING BOARD

GENERALADMINISTRATION
331-705-0050
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-705-0000 through
331-720-0020:

(1) “Active license” means a license issued when all requirements
are met, fees paid and license is not expired, suspended or revoked.

(2) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document veri-
fying licensing history and status, issued and signed by the licensing
authority in the state which issued the license with an official seal or

stamp affixed to the document; it is not the certificate or license form
issued which authorizes the holder to practice.

(3) “Agency” means the Health Licensing Office. The agency is
responsible for the budget, personnel, performance-based outcomes,
consumer protection, fee collection, mediation, complaint resolution,
discipline, rulemaking and record keeping.

(4) “Board” means, pursuant to ORS 688.820, the entity that
advises the agency on matters relating to the practice of respiratory
care, and determines practice standards, education and training and
provides consultation to the agency on all disciplinary issues in accor-
dance with ORS 688.830.

(5) “Contact hours” means academic classroom or course work
hours including but not limited to workshops, symposiums, seminars,
or laboratory exercises. Contact time does not include personal trav-
el time to or from the training site, registration or check-in periods,
breaks or lunchtime granted during attendance at any continuing edu-
cation seminar or course.

(6) “CRT” applies to a person who has satisfactorily completed
the Certified Respiratory Therapist examination issued by the
National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC).

(7) “Director” means the individual who is responsible for the
performance of the agency as defined in ORS 676.610. The director
appoints all subordinate officers and employees to carry out the duties
of the agency.

(8) “Expired” means a license which has not been renewed.
(9) “Health Licensing Office” means the agency.
(10) “Inactive license” means a license which has been expired

less than two years from the expiration date; requires certificate of con-
tinuing education and payment of fees for reinstatement.

(11) “Lapsed license” means a license, which has been expired
more than two years from the expiration date; requires proof of con-
tinuing education, or satisfactory retake of entry-level examination by
National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) and payment of fees for
reinstatement.

(12) “NBRC” means the National Board for Respiratory Care,
which provides credentialing and examination services for the respi-
ratory care profession.

(13) “Official transcript” means an original document certified
by the school indicating hours and types of course work, examinations
and scores that the student has completed, which has been submitted
through mail by the school or by courier from the school to the agen-
cy in a sealed envelope.

(14) “Practitioner” means any person whom the Board has
licensed to practice respiratory care.

(15) “RRT” applies to a person who has satisfactorily complet-
ed the Registered Respiratory Therapist examination issued by the
National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC).

(16) “Standard precautions” means a set of guidelines and con-
trols, published by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), which out-
line certain practices which health workers must employ in order to
prevent parenteral, mucous-membrane, and no intact skin exposure to
blood-borne pathogens. The method of infection control requires the
employer and employee to assume that all human blood and specified
human body fluids are infectious for HIV, HBV, and other blood borne
pathogens. Precautions include hand washing, gloving, personal pro-
tective equipment, injury prevention, proper handling and disposal of
needles and other sharp instruments and blood and body fluid con-
taminated products.

(17) “Supervision” requires the presence of a licensed Respira-
tory Care Practitioner or qualified Medical Director within the work
location at the same time as the applicant working under a “temporary
license.”

(18) “Temporary License” is a license issued for a period of six
months, which is not renewable, authorizing an applicant for licensure
to practice respiratory therapy under supervision pending passage of
the qualifying examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04
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331-705-0060
Fees

(1)Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR
331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penal-
ties and charges.

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health LicensingAgency are
as follows:

(a) Application:
(A) License: $150.
(B) Temporary license: $150.
(b) Examination — Oregon laws & rules: $50.
(c) Original issuance of authorization to practice:
(A) License: $100.
(B) Temporary license (six month, non renewable): $100.
(d) Renewal of license: $100.
(e) Delinquent (late) renewal of license: $25 for the first month

in expired status, and $10 each month thereafter while in an expired
status.

(f) Restoration of license: $100.
(g) Replacement of license, including name change: $25.
(h) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum of

three.
(i) Affidavit of licensure: $50.
(j) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment
of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 688.830(9)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.830(9)
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 1-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-98 thru 4-1-98; HDLP 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-
98; HDLP 2-2002, f. 12-20-02 cert. ef. 1-1-03; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-
1-04; HLA 7-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

DIVISION 710
RESPIRATORYTHERAPIST LICENSING BOARD

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE
331-710-0000
Training

Training, or formal education, required for licensure is a planned
sequence of instruction of specific content, pursuant to ORS
688.815(1)(c), structured to meet stated curriculum objectives which
includes evaluation of attainment of those objectives, and offered by
a post-secondary educational institution accredited by the Committee
On Accreditation For Respiratory Care, or its successors, or recog-
nized by the National Board for Respiratory Care.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-710-0010
Application Requirements

(1) Individuals applying for licensure to practice respiratory care
must meet the requirements of OAR 331-030-0000 in addition to the
provisions of this rule.

(2)Applicants must submit an application form prescribed by the
Agency, which shall contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000, payment of the application and license fees, and one of the fol-
lowing criteria:

(a) NATIONAL CREDENTIAL: Official documentation of a
passing score, successfully completed within one year preceding the
date of application, of the Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) exam-
ination or Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) examination mailed
by the National Board for Respiratory Care to the agency. Copies of
examination results or other documentation provided by the applicant
are not acceptable. The applicant is responsible for payment of fees
assessed by NBRC in obtaining required official documentation.

(b) OUT OF STATE LICENSURE: Official documentation in the
form of an Affidavit of Licensure, submitted directly to the agency
from the originating state’s regulatory office, evidencing that the appli-
cant currently holds a respiratory therapist license and that the licensee
has not been subject to disciplinary action involving suspension or
revocation, and no action or civil penalties are currently pending

against the licensee. TheAffidavit must indicate whether the applicant
satisfactorily passed the NBRC examination or a state prepared exam-
ination that has been approved by the Board as being equivalent to the
national examination.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 10-
2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-8-04 thru 3-31-05; HLO 1-2005, f. 2-28-05 cert. ef.
3-1-05

331-710-0020
Application for Temporary Licensure; Expiration; Changes in
Employment Status

(1)Application for temporary licensure may be made by persons
who have completed training and wish to begin supervised practice
pending passage of the qualifying examination.

(2) Individuals applying for temporary licensure must meet the
requirements of OAR 331-030-0000 in addition to the provisions of
this rule.

(3)Applicants must submit an application form prescribed by the
agency, which shall contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000(5) and be accompanied by payment of the application and tem-
porary license fees. The completed application must include official
transcripts from a college or university in respiratory care.Anotarized
Certificate of Completion issued by the college or university may be
submitted to the agency following completion of schooling until the
official transcript is available to facilitate temporary licensure. The
official transcript must be received by the agency to complete the
application requirements.

(4) The temporary applicant shall submit the following items
within 30 days of application, or, if application precedes employment,
within 30 days of hire:

(a) Employer’s name, address and telephone number; and
(b) Name and credentials of supervisor.
(5) A temporary license shall be issued when all requirements

have been met, and shall expire the last day of the month six months
from the date of issuance. Temporary licenses are not renewable.

(6) Temporary licensees shall notify the agency within 30 cal-
endar days of changes in employment status.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-710-0030
Examination

(1) The Board has selected the CRT or RRT examination admin-
istered by the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) as its min-
imal qualifying examination for licensure. Individual applicants are
responsible for payment of all NBRC application, examination, nation-
al certification or other fees directly to NBRC.

(2) Applicants who meet the educational requirements and
achieve a passing score on the examination must request that certifi-
cation of the passing score be sent from the National Board for Res-
piratory Care to the agency as a prerequisite to application.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 715
RESPIRATORYTHERAPIST LICENSING BOARD
LICENSURE; RENEWAL; PRACTICE STANDARDS

331-715-0000
Licensure

(1) Pursuant to ORS 688.805(1) a person shall not practice res-
piratory care or claim to be a respiratory care practitioner, including
that a person shall not display a sign or in any way advertise or pur-
port to be a license holder or to be engaged in the practice of respira-
tory care without first obtaining a license under 688.815.

(2) Licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR 331-030-0010
regarding the issuance and renewal of a license, and to the provisions
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of 331-030-0020 regarding the authorization to practice, identification,
and requirements for issuance of a duplicate authorization.

(3) Every respiratory care practitioner licensed by the agency
shall be licensed under the applicant’s legal name and shall function
as a respiratory care practitioner under that name.

(4) When a name is changed, the following must be submitted so
that the agency’s records may reflect the new name:

(a) A signed change of name notification;
(b) A copy of the legal document showing the name change;
(c) Return of the license form issued and payment of replacement

fee.
(5) Practitioners who work in more than one facility may carry

the license identification card (pocket card) with them, or post in plain
view, when working at more than one place of business.

(6) Licensees shall not render respiratory care without written
authorization or standing orders from a supervising physician who has
been approved by the Board of Medical Examiners in accordance with
ORS 682.245.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 1-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-98 thru 4-1-98; HDLP 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-
98; HDLP 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-1-01; HDLP 3-2001, f. 6-29-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01;
HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-715-0010
License Renewal

(1)A license renewal application received by the agency or post-
marked after a license has expired but within one year from the expi-
ration date, may be approved upon payment of the renewal and delin-
quency fees and required verification of continuing education
pursuant to OAR 331-720-0010.

(2)A license which has been expired for more than one year, but
less than two years may be renewed upon payment of the license
renewal and restoration fees and submission of required continuing
education documentation pursuant to OAR 331-720-0010.

(3) A license which has been expired two or more years may be
reinstated by payment of application and renewal fees, and submission
of continuing education documentation pursuant to OAR 331-720-
0010 or proof of NBRC retake of entry level examination completed
within one year prior to the date of reapplication.

(4) Failure to meet continuing education requirements of OAR
331-720-0010, will require reapplication and qualification for licen-
sure according to the provisions of OAR 331-710-0010(2)(a) or (b).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 1-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-98 thru 4-1-98; HDLP 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-
98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 10-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-
8-04 thru 3-31-05; HLO 1-2005, f. 2-28-05 cert. ef. 3-1-05

331-715-0030
Professional Standards

(1) Respiratory care practitioners must comply with the prevail-
ing community standards for professional conduct. The Board recog-
nizes and adopts the American Association of Respiratory Care
(AARC) Statement of Ethics and Professional Conduct effective
December 1994 and Role Model Statement for Respiratory Care Prac-
titioners effective March 1990 as its professional standards model. A
copy of these documents are on file at the agency for review.

(2) At minimum, practitioners shall be subject to directives and
policies established by the medical facilities, businesses or agencies
by which they are employed or regulated.

(3) Respiratory care practitioners must comply with the follow-
ing safety and infection control requirements:

(a)All devices or items that come into direct contact with a client
shall be cleaned, sanitized or disinfected according to the manufac-
turer’s instructions or Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
(CDC) Standard Precautions;

(b)All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin that
do not require disinfecting shall be clean;

(c)All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin that
cannot be cleaned or disinfected shall be disposed of in a covered
waste receptacle immediately after use;

(d)All disinfecting solutions and agents shall be kept at adequate
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and be

available for immediate use at all times unless equipment is prepack-
aged and pre-sterilized;

(e)All high-level and low-level disinfecting agents shall be EPA
registered. High-level disinfectant means a chemical agent which has
demonstrated tuberculocidal activity. Low-level disinfectant means a
chemical agent which has demonstrated bactericidal, germicidal,
fungicidal and limited virucidal activity;

(f) Before use, disposable pre-packed products and sterilized re-
usable instruments shall be stored in clean, sterilized containers that
can be closed between treatments to maintain effective sterilization of
the instrument until removed from the container.

(4) Respiratory care practitioners shall observe and follow the
Standard Precautions adopted by the CDC as defined in Oregon
Administrative Rule 437 division 2, subdivision Z, OAR 331-705-
0050(16), and the CDC Standard Precautions for public service work-
ers regarding personal protection equipment and disposal of blood or
bodily fluid contaminated articles, tools and equipment when pro-
viding services to patients.

(5) Practitioners shall not work under the influence of alcohol or
any drugs, including prescription medications, which may impair per-
formance, and shall seek professional assistance through a diversion
program if necessary to achieve and maintain freedom from substance
abuse.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA1-2007,
f. 3-30-07, cert. ef. 4-1-07

DIVISION 720
RESPIRATORYTHERAPIST LICENSING BOARD

CONTINUING EDUCATION
331-720-0000
Continued Competency

(1) To ensure continuing efforts on the part of Oregon licensed
respiratory care practitioners to remain current with new developments
in the respiratory therapy and health care field and to encourage diver-
sified training and qualifications in the profession continuing educa-
tion is required as a condition of licensure.

(2) Continuing Education requirements apply whether the renew-
al applicant is living or working within Oregon or outside of the state
so long as Oregon licensure is maintained.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-720-0010
Continuing Education Requirements

(1) Each respiratory care practitioner is required to complete 15
hours of Board approved continuing education every two years,
whether the license is active or inactive. At least two-thirds of the
required continuing education hours shall be related to clinical prac-
tice of respiratory care.

(2) To renew the license, evidence of required continuing edu-
cation shall be provided at the time of renewal by means of a pre-
scribed self-attestation statement certifying participation in approved
continuing education. To ensure that adequate proof of attainment of
required continuing education is available for audit or investigation by
the Health Licensing Office, licensees shall maintain a record of atten-
dance for two years following the two-year continuing education cycle
and renewal of the respiratory care therapist license.

(3) Continuing education is acceptable if provided by:
(a)Amedical organization or association accredited by the Ore-

gon Medical Association, the Oregon Osteopathic Association, the
American Medical Association Continuing Medical Education, the
American OsteopathicAssociation, theAmerican NursesAssociation,
the American Association for Respiratory Care, and its affiliates, to
provide continuing education to physicians, nurses, or respiratory care
practitioners;

(b)Ahospital not accredited to provide continuing education but
the continuing education provided meets the following requirements:
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(A) The content of the course or program shall be relevant to the
scope of practice of respiratory care as defined in ORS 688.800(4);

(B) The faculty shall be knowledgeable in the subject matter as
evidenced by a degree from an accredited college or university and
verifiable experience in the subject matter or teaching and clinical
experience in the same or similar subject matter;

(C) Educational objectives shall be listed;
(D) The teaching methods shall be described, e.g., lecture, sem-

inar, audiovisual, simulation;
(E) Evaluation methods shall document that the objectives have

been met.
(c)An institution of higher education accredited by the Northwest

Association of Secondary and Higher Schools or its successor, or the
State Board of Higher Education, providing the course(s) meet the
requirements of paragraph (a) of this subsection. Five hours of con-
tinuing education credit per course, and up to two-thirds of the con-
tinuing education requirement, can be obtained by successfully com-
pleting the course(s) with a grade “C” or above, or a “pass” for a
pass/fail course;

(d) A respiratory care educational program accredited by the
American MedicalAssociation Committee onAllied Health Education
and Accreditation in collaboration with the Committee On Accredi-
tation for Respiratory Care, or its successor, or the Commission on
Accreditation forAllied Health Education Programs offering anAsso-
ciate Degree in Respiratory Care;

(e) The NBRC through passing the examination for initial certi-
fication as an Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT), or Perina-
tal/Pediatric Respiratory Care Specialist (PPRCS), or the NBRC
through passing the re-credentialing examination for a Certified Res-
piratory Therapist (CRT), RRT, or PPRCS. Fifteen hours of continu-
ing education can be obtained by passing these certification and re-cre-
dentialing examinations;

(f) The NBRC through passing the examination for initial certi-
fication as a Certified Pulmonary Function Technician (CPFT), or Reg-
istered Pulmonary function Technician (RFPT). Seven and one-half
hours of continuing education can be obtained by passing these cer-
tification examinations;

(g) Publication in a peer reviewed journal as the author or co-
author of a clinical paper or abstract. A total of five credit hours will
be accepted per biennium for the publication of articles or abstracts
in professional journals;

(h) An established and approved organization conducting
humanitarian activities in another state or country, that is providing res-
piratory care services as defined in ORS 688.800(6) under its auspices.
The organization and services are subject to board approval on a case-
by-case basis for continuing education credit.

(4) To ensure adequate proof of continuing education course
completion is available for audit or investigation by the Health Licens-
ing Office, practitioners shall maintain a record of attendance for two
years following renewal;

(5) Respiratory care practitioners who instruct continuing edu-
cation courses may obtain the same number of continuing education
hours for each initial course taught during the biennium, in which the
course is initially presented, as granted to course participants.

(6) Practitioners shall be awarded continuing education credit
once for completion of the initial certification course for Cardiac Life
Support (ACLS), Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) courses,
and Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP). Up to four hours of con-
tinuing education credit may be obtained for each re-certification in
ACLS, PALS, or NRP courses.

(7) Continuing education credit will not be granted for comple-
tion of the Basic Life Support (BLS) course.

(8) A person who does not meet continuing education require-
ments must reapply and meet requirements for licensure according to
OAR 331-710-0010 at the time of application.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 10-
2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-8-04 thru 3-31-05; HLO 1-2005, f. 2-28-05 cert. ef.
3-1-05

331-720-0020
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Health Licensing Office will audit a select percentage of
licenses determined by the Board to verify compliance with continu-
ing education requirements.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days
from the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence of
participation in required continuing education in accordance with OAR
331-720-0010.

(3) Documentation of attendance at a program or course provided
by the sponsor must include:

(a) Name of sponsoring institution/association or organization;
(b) Title of presentation and description of content;
(c) Name of instructor or presenter;
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours;
(e) Course agenda;
(f) Official transcript, diploma, statement or affidavit from the

sponsor, attesting to attendance.
(4) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-

plete, the licensee must correct the deficiency within 30 calendar days
from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency within the pre-
scribed time shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(5) Misrepresentation of continuing education, or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation, may result in
disciplinary action, which may include, but is not limited to, assess-
ment of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-
1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

DIVISION 725
RESPIRATORYTHERAPIST LICENSING BOARD
COMPLAINT PROCESSINGAND RESOLUTION

331-725-0020
Investigatory Authority

The Health Licensing Office may initiate and conduct investi-
gations of matters relating to the practice of respiratory care, pursuant
to ORS 676.608, and may take appropriate disciplinary action in accor-
dance with the provisions of 676.612 and 688.836.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.830 & 688.836
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.830 & 688.836
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HLO 4-
2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

SEX OFFENDER TREATMENT BOARD RULES
DIVISION 800

GENERALADMINISTRATION
331-800-0010
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-800-0010 to 331-
850-0010:

(1) “Active certificate” means a certificate issued when all
requirements are met, fees paid and certificate is not expired, sus-
pended or revoked.

(2) “Affidavit of licensure” means an original document verify-
ing licensing history and status, issued by the licensing authority in the
state which issued the license with an official seal or stamp affixed to
the document; it is not the certificate or license form issued which
authorizes the holder to practice.

(3) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency
(OHLA). The agency is responsible for the budget, personnel, per-
formance-based outcomes, consumer protection, fee collection,
mediation, complaint resolution, discipline, rule making, and record
keeping.

(4) “Authorization” means the official document, the certificate,
issued by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.
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(5) “Board” means pursuant to ORS 675.395, the entity that
advises the agency in matters relating to the practice of sex offender
treatment, including practice standards, education and training
requirements, and advises the agency on all disciplinary issues in
accordance with 676.612. The Oregon Health Licensing Agency
Director controls the regulatory operations and has decision-making
authority on all substantive matters.

(6) “Certified clinical sex offender therapist” means a person who
is certified by the agency to provide services for the treatment and
rehabilitation of sex offenders and who may supervise certified asso-
ciate sex offender therapist; also referred to as “clinical therapist”.

(7) “Certified associate sex offender therapist” means a person
who is certified by the agency to provide services for the treatment and
rehabilitation of sex offenders while under the direct supervision of a
certified clinical sex offender therapist; also referred to as “associate
therapist”.

(8) “Continuing education hours” means the actual academic
classroom or course work time, including but not limited to work-
shops, symposiums, seminars, excluding personal travel time to and
from the training site, registration or check-in periods breaks or lunch
periods.

(9) “Credential” or its derivative means the process of licensing,
registration, certification or the equivalent through which a person is
legally recognized by a state agency as lawfully authorized to prac-
tice a health profession.

(10) “Direct supervision” means a minimum of two hours of
supervision by a certified clinical sex offender therapist for each 45
hours of direct clinical contact with a sex offender as specified in ORS
675.365(4).

(11) “Direct treatment services” means face-to-face individual,
group or family therapy, provided by a clinical or associate therapist,
to a client.

(12) “Director” means, pursuant to ORS Chapter 676.610, the
individual who has sole responsibility for the administrative, fiscal,
human resource and regulatory functions of the agency.

(13) “Ethical” means conforming to professional standards, as
adopted by theAssociation for the Treatment of SexualAbusers’Prac-
tice Standards (ATSA) and Guidelines adopted in 2005, and Profes-
sional Code of Ethics adopted in 2001, regarding professional prac-
tices authorized under ORS 675.360 to 675.410 and rules adopted by
the agency.

(14) “Evaluation” means a comprehensive psychosexual assess-
ment or intake assessment conforming to professional standards as
adopted by theAssociation for Treatment of SexualAbusers’Practice
Standards and Guidelines adopted in 2005, to determine a client’s risk
to re-offend, identify dynamic risk factors, and develop appropriate
treatment and supervision plans. Evaluation includes a written report
including, but not limited to the following:

(a) Useful guidance to others, such as the courts, in making deci-
sions affecting a client’s future and whether the client’s risk can be
managed in a community setting;

(b) Comprehensive description of the client’s abusive and non-
abusive sexual behavior;

(c) Amenability to treatment;
(d) Recommendations regarding the intensity and type of inter-

vention that is required;
(e) Risk management strategies;
(f) Responsiveness to treatment, such as culture, ethnicity, age,

IQ, learning style, neuropsychological disorders, personality style,
mental and physical disabilities, medication, and motivation.

(15) “Health care information” means any information, whether
oral or recorded in any form or medium that identifies or can readily
be associated with the identity of, and relates to the health care of, a
patient or client.

(16) “Informed consent” means consent obtained following a
thorough and easily understood explanation to the client, or the client’s
guardian, of the proposed treatment plan, any available alternative pro-
cedures and any risks associated with the proposed plan. The thera-
pist provides clients with information about the purpose, goals, tech-
niques, procedures, limitations, and consequences of not consenting,
the limits of confidentiality, and alternatives to the services offered,
potential risks and benefits of services to be performed. Supervisors
ascertain the client’s ability to understand and utilize the information.

(17) “Functionally disabled” means a severe and chronic dis-
ability that is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or a com-
bination of physical and mental impairments which result in sub-
stantial functional limitations in three or more of the major life
activities.

(18) “Mental health professional” means a person licensed to
practice without supervision in the state of Oregon as a physician, psy-
chiatrist, psychiatric nurse practitioner, psychologist, psychological
associate, licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical social
worker, or licensed marriage and family therapist, who provides sex
offender treatment of adults, juveniles or functionally disabled indi-
viduals.

(19) “Official transcript” means an original document certified
by an accredited educational institution, delivered from the school to
the agency by mail or courier, which includes:

(a) School name and location;
(b) Student’s name, address and date of birth;
(c) Enrollment and termination dates;
(d) Hours and types of course work;
(e) Degree issued;
(f) School seal or stamp;
(g) Signature of authorized school representative or registrar.
(20) “Oregon Health Licensing Agency” (OHLA) means the

agency assigned to carry out the administrative, programmatic and
daily operations, and regulatory functions of ORS 676.606.

(21) “Professional mental health licensing or certification agen-
cy” means the entity charged with the administrative functions and
responsibilities for protecting the public through the licensing and reg-
ulating of certain professions practiced in Oregon, or in a county, other
state, country or territory. The entity has the responsibility for decisions
on qualifications, standards of practice, licensing, discipline and other
discretionary functions relating to professional activities in the pro-
fessional licensing boards, councils, or programs; also known as reg-
ulatory authority.

(22) “Reciprocity” means, according to ORS 675.380, certifica-
tion, registration or licensure in another state based on standards of
training, education and experience that are similar to those required
for certification in Oregon as a certified clinical sex offender therapist
or a certified associate sex offender therapist as specified in 675.375.

(23) “Sex offender specific treatment” means treatment modal-
ities that are based on empirical research with regard to favorable treat-
ment outcomes and are professionally accepted in the field of sex
offender treatment of adults, juveniles, and functionally disabled indi-
viduals, with sexual behavior problems. Offense specific treatment is
a comprehensive set of planned treatment experiences and interven-
tions that modify sexually deviant thoughts, fantasies, and behaviors
and that utilize specific strategies to promote change and to reduce the
chance of re-offending.

(24) “Treatment plan” means an individualized written statement
of intended care and services as documented in the evaluation that
details how the client’s treatment needs will be met while protecting
the community during the course of treatment.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.360 through 675.410
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008,
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-800-0020
Fees

Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency are as
follows:

(1) Application for certification: $75.
(2) Original certificate — one year grandfathering period until

March 14, 2009: $325.
(3) Original two year certification — as of March 15, 2009: $650.
(4) Application for renewal — two year certificate: $650.
(5) Replacement certificate, including name change: $25.
(6) Duplicate certificate document: $25 per copy with a maxi-

mum of three.
(7) Delinquency fee: $25 for the first month in expired status, and

$10 each month thereafter while in an expired status.
(8) Examination — Oregon laws & rules: $50.
(9) Affidavit of licensure: $50.
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(10) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be
assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment
of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.405, 675.410 & 676.625
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.405
Hist: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008,
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 8-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08

DIVISION 810
QUALIFICATIONSAND TRAINING

331-810-0020
Clinical Sex Offender Therapist Requirements

To qualify for certification as a clinical sex offender therapist, an
applicant shall provide satisfactory evidence to the agency that require-
ments of ORS 675.375(3) have been met regarding education, train-
ing, and experience in the evaluation, treatment, and management of
individuals who sexually offend, in addition to other requirements
specified in this rule. Required documentation includes the following:

(1)Affidavit of licensure form prescribed by the agency, received
from the appropriate Oregon professional mental health licensing or
certifying agency, substantiating active status in good standing as a
licensed mental health professional defined in OAR 331-800-0010;

(2) Record of at least 2,000 hours of professional clinical expe-
rience, of which 1,000 hours relates to providing direct treatment ser-
vices as defined in OAR 331-800-0010, within a period of not less than
three nor more than six years immediately preceding the date of appli-
cation.

(3) Record of 500 hours of evaluations as defined in OAR 331-
800-0010, that includes but is not limited to the following types of pro-
fessional activities:

(a) Evaluation experience credit:
(A) Primary or secondary responsibility for interviewing the

client;
(B) Preparation of the written evaluation report;
(C) All contact with clients; and
(D) Preparation of limited assessments for the purpose of:
(i) Institution classification;
(ii) Treatment monitoring; and
(iii) Reporting.
(b) Treatment experience credit:
(A) Face-to-face treatment hours performed by affiliates under

the supervision of certified therapists;
(B) Time spent as a co-therapist. Both therapists shall have for-

mal responsibility for the group session; and
(C) Time spent maintaining collateral contacts and written

case/progress notes.
(4) Record of 500 hours of professionally related activities, asso-

ciated with the following type of work:
(a)At least 340 hours of documented activities, including but not

limited to:
(A) Client charting or case management;
(B) Research;
(C) Peer review, consultations, or meetings with attorneys, parole

officers or other officials;
(D) Court time or testimony;
(E) Profession related committee work or attendance at sex

offender treatment related meetings; and
(b) At least 160 hours of professional activities engaged in as a

sex offender therapist, while under the direct supervision of a quali-
fied mental health professional; refer to OAR 331-810-0050.

(5) Record of 60 hours of formal training directly related to the
treatment and evaluation of sex offenders or victims of abuse that was
completed within the last three years immediately preceding the date
of application.

(a) Completion of formal training shall include documenting 45
hours of the total required hours, in the following essential subjects:

(A) Assessment and diagnosis;
(B) Cognitive therapy;
(C) Counseling and psychotherapy;
(D) Cultural/ethnic issues;
(E) Ethics applicable to working with a forensic population;

(F) Human development with special attention to sexual devel-
opment and healthy sexuality;

(G) Interviewing skills;
(H) Knowledge of family dynamics as related to sex offending;
(I) Psychometric and psycho-physiological testing;
(J) Psychopathology;
(K) Relapse prevention;
(L) Relationship and social skills training;
(M) Risk assessment;
(N) Sexual arousal control;
(O) Social support networks;
(P) Victim awareness and empathy.
(b) Completion of formal training shall include documenting 15

hours of the total required hours, in the following areas of training and
knowledge:

(A) Supervision;
(B) Assessment and treatment of mental illness including neu-

ropsychological disorders;
(C) Couples and family therapy;
(D) Family reunification;
(E) Pharmacological therapy;
(F) Substance abuse treatment.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008,
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-810-0030
Associate Sex Offender Therapist Requirements

To qualify for certification as an associate sex offender therapist,
an applicant shall provide satisfactory evidence to the agency that
requirements of ORS 675.375(4) have been met regarding education,
training and experience, in addition to other requirements listed in this
rule. Required documentation includes the following:

(1) Official transcripts from college, university and post gradu-
ate records, showing attainment of at least a Bachelors of Science
degree in the mental health field;

(2) Record of at least 1,000 hours of professional experience
related to direct treatment services, as defined in OAR 331-800-0010,
completed within three years preceding the date of application. Doc-
umentation shall include the number of hours involved in the follow-
ing:

(a) Direct client contact;
(b) Review of treatment plans and provision of direct treatment

services under supervision;
(c) Charting or case management;
(d) Research;
(e) Peer review, consultation, or meetings with attorneys, parole

officers, or other officials;
(f) Court time or testimony;
(g) Profession related committee work or attendance at sex

offender treatment related meetings; and
(3) Record of at least 30 hours of formal training directly relat-

ed to the treatment and evaluation of sex offenders or victims of abuse
that was completed within the last three years immediately preceding
the date of application.

(a) Completion of formal training shall include documenting
75%, or 22.5 hours of the total required hours, in the following essen-
tial subjects:

(A) Assessment and diagnosis;
(B) Cognitive therapy;
(C) Counseling and psychotherapy;
(D) Cultural/ethnic issues;
(E) Ethics applicable to working with a forensic population;
(F) Human development with special attention to sexual devel-

opment and healthy sexuality;
(G) Interviewing skills;
(H) Knowledge of family dynamics as related to sex offending;
(I) Psychometric and psycho-physiological testing;
(J) Psychopathology;
(K) Relapse prevention;
(L) Relationship and social skills training;
(M) Risk assessment;
(N) Sexual arousal control;
(O) Social support networks;
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(P) Victim awareness and empathy.
(b) Completion of formal training shall include documenting

25%, or 7.5 hours of the total required hours, in the following areas
of training and knowledge:

(A) Supervision;
(B) Assessment and treatment of mental illness including neu-

ropsychological disorders;
(C) Couples and family therapy;
(D) Family reunification;
(E) Pharmacological therapy;
(F) Substance abuse treatment.
(4) Verification of and compliance with the requirements of direct

supervision by a certified clinical sex offender therapist, according to
OAR 331-810-0055.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008,
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-810-0035
Time Limited Grandfathering Provision

(1) Time Limitation. Pursuant to ORS 675.410(2)(b), an appli-
cant who possesses all the qualifications for certification as a clinical
sex offender therapist, but does not hold a certificate, license or reg-
istration as an Oregon mental health professional, required under
675.375(3)(c) and defined in OAR 331-800-0010, may qualify for cer-
tification under a time limited grandfather provision within one year
from the effective date of this rule.

(2) In the absence of an applicant holding an Oregon professional
mental health certification, license, or registration, an applicant shall
meet the training, education and experience qualification requirements
and be otherwise eligible to apply for and attain such an authorization
to practice.

(3) References.An applicant shall submit professional references
from three individuals familiar with their work in sex offender treat-
ment, such as personnel associated with Oregon State Department of
Corrections, judicial system, direct supervisor, or a coworker.

(4) Transcripts. An applicant shall cause to be submitted to the
agency official transcripts from a college, university and post gradu-
ate records, showing attainment of at least a masters or higher level
degree in behavioral sciences.

(5) Qualification Pathways. An applicant for certification under
the time limited grandfathering provision shall provide documentation
verifying required clinical experience, evaluation and treatment expe-
rience, and formal training listed in subsections (6) through (9) of this
rule under one of the following timelines:

(a) Pathway one: An applicant shall meet all qualification crite-
ria within a period of six years immediately preceding the date of
application; or

(b) Pathway two: An applicant shall meet qualification criteria
within a period of ten years immediately preceding the date of appli-
cation, with the 120 hours of required formal training completed at a
minimum of 30 hours per year during the previous 4 years preceding
the date of application.

(6) Professional Clinical Experience.An applicant must provide
a record of at least 6,000 hours of professional clinical experience, of
which 3,000 hours relates to providing direct treatment services as
defined in OAR 331-800-0010.

(7) Professional Evaluation and Treatment Experience.An appli-
cant must provide a record of 1,500 hours of evaluations, as defined
in OAR 331-800-0010, which includes but is not limited to the fol-
lowing types of professional activities:

(a) Evaluation experience credit:
(A) Primary or secondary responsibility for interviewing the

client;
(B) Preparation of the written evaluation report;
(C) All contact with clients; and
(D) Preparation of limited assessments for the purpose of:
(E) Institution classification;
(F) Treatment monitoring; and
(G) Reporting.
(b) Treatment experience credit:
(A) Face-to-face treatment hours performed by affiliates under

the supervision of certified therapists;

(B) Time spent as a co-therapist. Both therapists shall have for-
mal responsibility for the group session; and

(C) Time spent maintaining collateral contacts and written
case/progress notes.

(8) Professional Activities. An applicant must provide a record
of 1,500 hours of professionally related activities, associated with the
following type of work:

(a) At least 1,200 hours of documented activities, including but
not limited to:

(A) Client charting or case management;
(B) Research;
(C) Peer review, consultations, or meetings with attorneys, parole

officers or other officials;
(D) Court time or testimony;
(E) Profession related committee work or attendance at sex

offender treatment related meetings; and
(b) At least 300 hours of professional activities engaged in as a

sex offender therapist, while under the direct supervision of a quali-
fied mental health professional; refer to OAR 331-810-0055.

(9) Professional Formal Training. An applicant must provide a
record of at least 120 hours of formal training directly related to the
treatment and evaluation of sex offenders or victims of abuse:

(a) Completion of formal training shall include documenting 90
hours of the total required hours, in the following essential subjects:

(A) Assessment and diagnosis;
(B) Cognitive therapy;
(C) Counseling and psychotherapy;
(D) Cultural/ethnic issues;
(E) Ethics applicable to working with a forensic population;
(F) Human development with special attention to sexual devel-

opment and healthy sexuality;
(G) Interviewing skills;
(H) Knowledge of family dynamics as related to sex offending;
(I) Psychometric and psycho-physiological testing;
(J) Psychopathology;
(K) Relapse prevention;
(L) Relationship and social skills training;
(M) Risk assessment;
(N) Sexual arousal control;
(O) Social support networks;
(P) Victim awareness and empathy.
(b) Completion of formal training shall include documenting 30

hours of the total required hours, in the following areas of training and
knowledge:

(A) Supervision;
(B) Assessment and treatment of mental illness including neu-

ropsychological disorders;
(C) Couples and family therapy;
(D) Family reunification;
(E) Pharmacological therapy;
(F) Substance abuse treatment.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008,
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-810-0038
Waivers

If an applicant is unable to provide verification of the experience
or supervision required under OAR 331-810-0020, 331-810-0030 or
331-810-0035, the board may consider the following information in
determining whether a waiver of verification will be issued:

(1) When the training or direct client services occurred;
(2) Where the training or direct client services occurred;
(3) The reasons for the inability of the applicant to provide train-

ing verification or substantiate the required supervision; and
(4) The diligence the applicant used in attempting to provide the

training verification or to document supervision.
NOTE: This provision does not disregard or unilaterally exempt the appli-
cant from meeting the education, training and experience required under ORS
675.365; however, it enables the Board to exercise discretion in accepting
alternative means of documentation when deemed appropriate, on a case-by-
case basis.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410 & 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400 & 675.410
Hist.: HLA9-2008(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-15-08 thru 12-1-08; HLA11-2008, f. 11-
26-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08
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331-810-0040
Reciprocity; Equivalencies

Pursuant to ORS 675.380, an applicant who is recognized as a
clinical sex offender therapist or associate sex offender therapist in
another state may be issued Oregon certification as a sex offender ther-
apist if the applicant’s education, experience and formal training meet
similar requirements for Oregon certification under ORS 675.375 and
OAR 331-810-0020.

(1) Educational equivalency includes completion of the follow-
ing:

(a) A masters or doctoral degree in social work, psychology,
counseling, or educational psychology from a regionally accredited
institution of higher education; or

(b) A masters or doctoral degree in an equivalent field from a
regionally accredited institution of higher education and documenta-
tion of thirty graduate semester hours or forty-five graduate quarter
hours in approved subject content listed in subsection (2) of this sec-
tion.

(2) Approved subject content includes at least five graduate
semester hours or seven graduate quarter hours in counseling, psy-
chotherapy, and personality theory, and five graduate semester hours
or seven graduate quarter hours in at least two of the following con-
tent areas:

(a) Counseling and psychotherapy;
(b) Personality theory;
(c) Behavioral science and research;
(d) Psychopathology/personality disorders;
(e) Assessment/tests and measurement;
(f) Group therapy/family therapy;
(g) Human growth and development/sexuality; and
(h) Corrections/criminal justice.
(3)Applicants must arrange for an affidavit of licensure form pre-

scribed by the agency, to be received directly from the appropriate state
agency, professional mental health licensing or certifying agency in
the state where the applicant is currently licensed or certified, sub-
stantiating active status in good standing as a certified sex offender
therapist defined in ORS 675.365.

(4) Applicants must document active practice as a certified sex
offender therapist in another state during the previous two years imme-
diately preceding application for Oregon certification.

(5) Applicants shall provide required documentation listed in
OAR 331-030-0000, 331-820-0010 and other information as may be
requested by the agency to determine equivalent education, experience
and formal training for Oregon certification as a sex offender thera-
pist.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.380, 675.400, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.380, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008,
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-810-0050
Supervision Purpose Statement

(1) The importance of ongoing supervision is crucial to the devel-
opment of an associate sex offender therapist. ORS 675.365(4) defines
the “minimum” number of hours of direct supervision as being two
hours of supervision by a certified clinical sex offender therapist for
each 45 hours of direct clinical contact with a sex offender. The Board
is charged with ensuring consumer protection, through setting appro-
priate practice standards and professional accountability for Oregon
certification, and therefore recommends approved supervisors take a
more prudent and professional position attuned to industry standards
when establishing supervision agreements.

(2) Supervision is a professional relationship between a qualified
clinical therapist acting as supervisor and an associate therapist.A clin-
ical therapist, who is approved as a “supervisor”, in contrast to the role
of a consultant, carries the authority to direct caseload and treatment
plans. Supervision, in contrast to treatment, will identify counter-trans-
ference issues and develop a plan for the associate therapist to work
through those issues independently.

(3) Discussion between the supervisor and the associate therapist
are based on case notes, charts, records, and available audio or visu-
al tapes of clients. The certified associate sex offender therapist pre-
sent assessments, diagnoses, and treatment plans of clients being seen.
The focus is on the appropriateness of these treatment plans and the
supervisee’s therapeutic skill in promoting change in the client. The

supervisor has the authority to decide the appropriateness of the asso-
ciate therapist’s client population against his or her level of expertise.

(4) Any variance from the requirements of OAR 331-810-0055
must be based on the individual circumstances and in the best inter-
est of the associate and client, and in conformance with generally
accepted standards of supervision and oversight. On such occasion, the
therapist must document in writing the reasons for the variance in the
contract or agreement. Failure to document the reasons for variance
from stated requirements creates a presumption that the variance was
not in the best interest of the supervisor, associate or client.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675,400, 675,410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-810-0055
Supervision Requirements

Supervision of a certified associate sex offender therapist is con-
siderably different than consultation with other professionals. Con-
sultation is solely advisory; consultants do not assume responsibility
for those individuals with whom they consult. Supervision of associ-
ates requires that the supervisor take full ethical and legal responsi-
bility for the quality of work of the associate therapist. A supervisor
may not supervise more than two associate therapists at any time.

(1) An associate therapist shall establish and maintain a super-
vision contract with a clinical therapist which, at a minimum, meets
the requirements of OAR 331-810-0050, in addition to the provisions
of 331-810-0040.

(2) A minimum of two hours supervision by a clinical therapist
is required for each 45 hours of direct clinical contact an associate ther-
apist has with a sex offender.

NOTE: The Board recommends one hour of supervision for each 10 hours
of direct clinical contact with a sex offender.
(3) Documentation of the dates and content of supervision meet-

ings shall be submitted to the agency to verify appropriate supervision
requirements have been met.

(4) All supervision shall take place concurrently with practice
hours.

(5) Supervision includes, but is not limited to:
(a) Discussion of services provided by the associate therapist;
(b) Case selection, diagnosis, treatment plan, and review of each

case or work unit of the associate therapist;
(c) Discussions regarding theory and practice of the work being

conducted;
(d) Review of Oregon’s laws, rules, and criminal justice proce-

dures relevant to the work being conducted;
(e) Discussion of the standards of practice for supervisors and

associates as adopted by the agency and the ethical issues involved in
providing professional services for sex offenders;

(f) Discussion regarding coordination of work with other pro-
fessionals and parties;

(g) Discussion of relevant professional literature and research;
and

(h) Periodic review of the contract.
(6) The supervisor shall:
(a) Avoid presenting to the associate therapist as having qualifi-

cations in areas that they do not have;
(b) Provide sufficient training and supervision to the associate

therapist to assure the health and safety of the client and community;
(c) Have expertise and knowledge to directly supervise the asso-

ciate therapist’s work; and
(d) Assure that the associate therapist being supervised has suf-

ficient and appropriate education, background, and preparation for the
work he or she will be doing.

(7) The supervisor and associate therapist shall enter into a for-
mal written contract that defines the parameters of the professional
relationship. The contract shall be submitted to the agency for approval
and shall include:

(a) Supervised areas of professional activity;
(b) Amount of supervision time and the frequency of superviso-

ry meetings. This information may be presented as a ratio of super-
visory time to clinical work conducted by the associate therapist;

(c) Supervisory fees and business arrangements, when applica-
ble;

(d) Nature of the supervisory relationship and the anticipated pro-
cess of supervision;
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(e) Selection and review of clinical cases;
(f) Methodology for recordkeeping, evaluation of the associate,

and feedback; and
(g) How the associate therapist will be represented to the public

and the parties.
(8) Supervision of associate therapists shall involve regular,

direct, face-to-face supervision. Depending on the associate therapist’s
skill and experience levels, the clinical therapist’s supervision shall
include direct observation of the associate therapist by sitting in ses-
sion, audio tape recording, videotaping, or other means of observation.

(9) In some cases, such as geographic location or disability, more
flexible supervision arrangements may be allowed. The supervisor
shall submit requests for more flexible supervision arrangements to the
agency for approval.

(10) The supervisor shall assure that the associate therapist is pre-
pared to conduct professional work, and shall assure adequate super-
vision of the associate therapist. The supervisor should meet face-to-
face with the associate therapist one hour for every ten hours of
supervised professional work; but shall meet minimally 2 hours for
every 45 hours of direct contact with sex offenders. Supervision meet-
ings shall regularly occur at least every other week.

(11) A supervisor may not undertake a contract that exceeds the
supervisor’s ability to comply with supervision standards.

(12) The agency recognizes the needs of certain locales, partic-
ularly rural areas, and may allow a variance from the standards of this
rule. Any variance request shall be submitted to the agency for
approval with the supervision contract. Variances will be granted or
denied in writing within thirty days.

(13) The nature of the associate therapist and clinical therapist
supervisory relationship shall be communicated to the public, other
professionals, and all clients served.

(14) An associate therapist shall represent himself or herself as
an associate when performing clinical work and shall provide the name
of the contracted supervisor.

(15) The supervisor shall cosign all written reports and corre-
spondence prepared by the associate therapist. The written reports and
correspondence shall include a statement that indicates the work has
been conducted by the associate therapist acting under the clinical ther-
apist’s supervision.

(16) Both the supervisor and associate therapist shall maintain
full documentation of the work done and supervision provided. The
agency may audit the supervisor and associate therapist’s records to
assure compliance with laws and rules.

(17)All work conducted by the associate therapist is the respon-
sibility of the supervisor. The supervisor shall have authority to direct
the practice of the associate therapist.

(18) It is the supervisor’s responsibility to correct problems or
end the supervision contract if the associate therapist’s work does not
protect the interests of the clients and community. If the supervisor
ends the contract, he or she shall notify the agency in writing within
thirty days of ending the contract. A new contract must be filed with
the agency.

(19) Supervision is a power relationship. The supervisor shall not
use his or her position to take advantage of the associate therapist. This
subsection is not intended to prevent a supervisor from seeking rea-
sonable compensation for supervisory services.

(20)A supervisor shall only delegate responsibilities to an asso-
ciate therapist, who has been assessed to have the competency to per-
form the delegated professional tasks.

(a) Supervision arrangements for associate therapists shall be
agreed upon in writing and shall specify:

(b) Expected associate therapist duties;
(c) The scope and focus of the supervision; and
(d) The frequency and durations of meetings between the super-

visor and the associate therapist to review the associate therapist’s pro-
fessional performance.

(e) The supervision of the associate therapist shall provide prop-
er training to persons who delegate professional tasks and take rea-
sonable steps to see that such persons perform services responsibly,
completely, and ethically.

(f) The supervisor shall not engage in sexual relationships with
an associate therapist over whom the supervisor has evaluative or
direct authority, as such relationships are likely to impair judgment or
be exploitative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675,400, 675,410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

DIVISION 820
LICENSUREAND RENEWAL

331-820-0010
Application Requirements

(1)An individual applying for certification as a sex offender ther-
apist under ORS 675.370 shall submit an application form prescribed
by the agency, which contains information listed in OAR 331-030-
0000, payment of required application and certification fees, and sat-
isfactory evidence of meeting qualification criteria according to one
of the following certification pathways:

(a) Clinical sex offender therapist: required documentation per-
taining to education, training and experience listed in OAR 331-810-
0020;

(b)Associate sex offender therapist: required documentation per-
taining to education, training, experience and supervision listed in
OAR 331-810-0030;

(c) Individuals applying under a time limited grandfather provi-
sion: required documentation pertaining to education, training and
experience listed in OAR 331-810-0035; or

(d) Individuals applying under ORS 675.380 reciprocal or equiv-
alent credentials: required documentation pertaining to education,
training and experience listed in OAR 331-810-0040.

(2) An application for certification shall be accompanied by a
proposed professional disclosure statement, required under ORS
675.375(1), and the applicant’s fingerprint and criminal background
check forms prescribed by the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 676.607, 676.615,
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008,
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-820-0020
License Issuance and Renewal

(1) Certified clinical sex offender therapists and certified asso-
ciate sex offender therapists are subject to the provisions of OAR 331-
030-0010 regarding the issuance and renewal of a certificate, and to
the provisions of 331-030-0020 regarding the authorization to prac-
tice, identification and the requirements for issuance of a duplicate
authorization.

(2) Notwithstanding ORS 675.375(5) and 331-030-0010(1), the
certificate will be issued for a two-year period from the date all qual-
ifications have been met.

(3) Renewal of a certificate shall be made in advance of the cer-
tification expiration date by submitting the following to the agency:

(a) Renewal application form;
(b) Renewal fees;
(c) Signed attestation of completion of required continuing edu-

cation according to OAR 331-830-0010; and
(d) Satisfactory documentation recording at least 100 hours of

clinical experience per year preceding renewal, of which 50 hours is
related to direct clinical contact with sex offenders. Refer to OAR 331-
830-0010.

(4) A completed certificate renewal application received by the
agency or postmarked after a certificate has expired, but within three
years from the expiration date, may be approved upon payment of the
application for renewal and delinquency fees for each year in expired
status, signed attestation of having obtained required continuing edu-
cation pursuant to the provisions of ORS 675.375(5)(c) and OAR 331-
810-0020 or 331-810-0030, and completion of the prescribed number
of hours of clinical experience required in ORS 675.375(5)(b) for each
year in expired status.

(5) A certificate that has been expired for more than three years
shall be deemed invalid and may be reactivated by submitting to the
agency the following requirements:

(a)Application form and information required according to OAR
331-030-0000 and 331-820-0010;

(b) Payment of application, reactivation and certificate fees;
(c) Completion of prescribed continuing education during peri-

od of inactive certification.
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(6) Evidence of required continuing education shall be provid-
ed at the time of renewal by means of a prescribed self-attestation form
certifying participation in approved continuing education.

(7) Continuing education documentation shall be accumulated
and held by the certificate holder for a period of 3 years following
renewal, or until submitted to the agency at the time of audit within
the three year period.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008,
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

DIVISION 830
CONTINUING EDUCATION

331-830-0005
Continuing Education Purpose Statement

The aim of continuing education for sex offender treatment ther-
apists is to ensure that professionals practicing in this specialty field
are knowledgeable of current scientific and practice principles that
affect the supervision and treatment of sex offenders in community-
based treatment. Since the treatment of sex offenders in communities
raises significant public safety concerns, continuing education is
required to help sex offender treatment therapists deliver the highest
quality of professional service by being familiar with current devel-
opments in a rapidly changing profession.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-830-0010
Continuing Education Requirements

(1) To ensure continuing efforts on the part of Oregon certified
clinical sex offender therapists and certified associate sex offender
therapists to remain current with new developments in the treatment
of sexual abusers and the mental health profession, and to encourage
diversified training and qualifications in the profession, continuing
education is required as a condition of certification.

(2) Continuing education experiences are programs beyond the
basic education required to obtain certification which are designed to
promote and enrich knowledge, improve skills, and develop attitudes
for the enhancement of the practices of sex offender therapists, thus
improving sex offender therapies provided to the public.

(3) To be in compliance with the provisions of ORS 675.360 to
675.410 and the rules adopted by the agency, clinical therapists and
associate therapists shall complete a minimum of 15 hours continu-
ing education in the field of sex offender treatment during each year
within a renewal cycle.

(4) Continuing education includes training related to sex
offender treatment consisting of the following subject matter:

(a) Assessment and diagnosis;
(b) Cognitive therapy;
(c) Counseling and psychotherapy;
(d) Cultural/ethnic issues;
(e) Ethics applicable to working with a forensic population;
(f) Human development with special attention to sexual devel-

opment and healthy sexuality;
(g) Interviewing skills;
(h) Knowledge of family dynamics as related to sex offending;
(i) Psychometric and psycho-physiological testing;
(j) Psychopathology;
(k) Relapse prevention;
(l) Relationship and social skills training;
(m) Risk assessment;
(n) Sexual arousal control;
(o) Social support networks;
(p) Victim awareness and empathy.
(q) Supervision;
(r) Assessment and treatment of mental illness including neu-

ropsychological disorders;
(s) Couples and family therapy;
(t) Family reunification;
(u) Pharmacological therapy;
(v) Substance abuse treatment.

(5)An instructor, discussion leader, or speaker shall be given two
hours of credit for subject preparation for each hour of presentation
time, plus one additional hour of credit for each hour of actual pre-
sentation time. For example, a qualified instructor who conducts a one
hour qualified program shall be given credit of three hours; a quali-
fied instructor who conducts a one and one-half hour qualified pro-
gram shall be given credit of four and one-half hours.

(6) Credit shall not be given for more than 5 hours of continu-
ing education credit in a reporting period for lectures (preparation and
teaching) and published material combined.

(6) The agency shall accept any continuing education that rea-
sonably falls within the categories listed in subsection (4) of this rule.
The agency relies upon each individual therapist’s integrity with meet-
ing the intent of continuing education requirements.

(7) Continuing education requirements apply whether the appli-
cant renewing a certificate is living or working within Oregon or out-
side of the state while Oregon certification is maintained.

(8) The agency may grant exemptions in whole or part from con-
tinuing education requirements, including extension of deadlines, in
documented hardship cases.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-830-0020
Continuing Education: Audits, Required Documentation &
Sanctions

(1) The Oregon Health LicensingAgency will select a prescribed
percentage of certification records for audit to verify compliance with
continuing education requirements.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing edu-
cation attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days
from the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence of
participation in required continuing education.

(3) Documentation of a certificate of completion of attendance
at a program or course provided by the sponsor shall include:

(a) Name of sponsoring institution/association or organization;
(b) Title of presentation and description of content;
(c) Name of instructor or presenter;
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours;
(e) Course agenda;
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance.
(4) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-

plete, the certificate holder shall correct the deficiency within 30 cal-
endar days from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency
within the prescribed time shall constitute grounds for disciplinary
action.

(5) Misrepresentation of continuing education or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include but is not limited to assessment
of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the certification.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.385, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615, 676.992
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

DIVISION 840
CODE OF PROFESSIONALCONDUCT

331-840-0010
Standards of Practice

Sex offender therapists are also credentialed health profession-
als, and are subject to the standards of practice of their primary field
of practice. However, standards of practice vary from profession to
profession, and sex offender evaluation and treatment represents sig-
nificant differences in practice from general mental health interven-
tions.

(1) The standards set forth in OAR chapter 331, division 840
apply to all certified clinical sex offender therapists and certified asso-
ciate sex offender therapists, hereafter referred to as certified sex
offender therapist as specified in ORS 675.365(3).

(2) Standards of practice are necessary due to the unique char-
acteristics of this area of specialized practice, the degree of control that
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a certified sex offender therapist exercises over the lives of clients, and
the community protection issues inherent in this work.

(3) Failure to comply with these standards may constitute unpro-
fessional conduct, which is subject to discipline under ORS 676.612.

(4)Any deviation from the standards of OAR 331-840-0020 must
be based on the individual circumstances and in the best interest of the
client, and in conformance with generally accepted standards of sex
offender treatment and client care. On such occasion, the therapist
must document in writing the reasons for the deviation in the client’s
records. Failure to document the reasons for the deviation from stat-
ed standards creates a presumption that the deviation was not in the
best interest of the client.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0020
Professional Conduct and Client Relationships

(1) The Sex Offender Treatment Board adopts the 2001 Associ-
ation for the Treatment of SexualAbusers (ATSA) Professional Code
of Ethics, Ethical Principles, to the extent it does not conflict with ORS
675.360 through 675.410, 676.605 through 676.625, and any rules
adopted by the agency.

(2) A copy of the Professional Code of Ethics may be accessed
at the web site: http://www.atsa.com/pdfs/COE.pdf. The information
may also be available by contacting ATSA at the following address:
4900 S.W. Griffith Drive, Suite 274, Beaverton, Oregon U.S.A. 97005,
Phone: (503) 643-1023, Fax: (503) 643-5084, E-mail: atsa@atsa.com.

(3) Therapists shall adhere toATSAethical principles relating to
professional conduct, payment of services, training and expertise, per-
sonal problems and conflicts, supervisory relationships, client rela-
tionships, multiple relationships, confidentiality, professional rela-
tionships, research and publications, and public information and
advertising.

(4) Therapists shall not engage in sexual contact or sexual activ-
ity with their clients, former clients, or any person participating in the
treatment process of a client while therapy is ongoing.

(5) Sexual misconduct includes but is not limited to:
(a) Sexual intercourse;
(b) Touching the breasts, genitals, anus or any sexualized body

part except as consistent with accepted community standards of prac-
tice for examination, diagnosis and treatment and within the health
care practitioner’s scope of practice;

(c) Rubbing against a patient or client or key party for sexual
gratification;

(d) Kissing;
(e) Hugging, touching, fondling or caressing of a romantic or sex-

ual nature;
(f) Examination of or touching genitals without using gloves;
(g) Not allowing a patient or client privacy to dress or undress

except as may be necessary in emergencies or custodial situations;
(h) Not providing the patient or client a gown or draping except

as may be necessary in emergencies;
(i) Dressing or undressing in the presence of the patient, client

or key party;
(j) Removing patient or client’s clothing or gown or draping with-

out consent, emergent medical necessity or being in a custodial set-
ting;

(k) Encouraging masturbation or other sex act in the presence of
the health care therapist;

(l) Masturbation or other sex act by the health care therapist in
the presence of the patient, client or key party;

(m) Suggesting or discussing the possibility of a dating, sexual
or romantic relationship after the professional relationship ends;

(n) Terminating a professional relationship for the purpose of dat-
ing or pursuing a romantic or sexual relationship;

(o) Soliciting a date with a patient, client or key party;
(p) Discussing the sexual history, preferences or fantasies of the

health care therapist;
(q) Any behavior, gestures, or expressions that may reasonably

be interpreted as seductive or sexual;
(r) Making statements regarding the patient, client or key party’s

body, appearance, sexual history, or sexual orientation other than for
legitimate health care purposes;

(s) Sexually demeaning behavior including any verbal or phys-
ical contact which may reasonably be interpreted as demeaning, humil-
iating, embarrassing, threatening or harming a patient, client or key
party;

(t) Photographing or filming the body or any body part or pose
of a patient, client, or key party, other than for legitimate health care
purposes; and

(u) Showing a patient, client or key party sexually explicit pho-
tographs, other than for legitimate health care purposes

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 Stats.
Implemented: ORS 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0030
Communications with other Professionals

Certified sex offender therapists may establish professional rela-
tionships with corrections or probation officers and other mental health
professionals for the purpose of effective supervision and monitoring
of an offender’s behavior in the community. When appropriate, the
therapist shall seek an authorization for release of information from
the client to communicate with such agencies for treatment or moni-
toring purposes.

(1) Any violation of the treatment plan or contract, including
court orders or parole agreements, or conditions of supervision shall
be reported to the parole officer or other supervising officer.

(2) Therapists shall make periodic progress reports to the super-
vising officer as mutually agreed upon.Additional information regard-
ing treatment progress shall be provided in a timely manner when
requested by the court or other supervising officer.

(3) Prior to implementation, plans for contact with the victim,
potential victims and plans for family reunification or return (where
appropriate) should be reviewed with the supervising officer.

(4) Where appropriate and consistent with the adult offender’s
informed consent, certified sex offender therapists shall communicate
with the victim’s therapist, guardian ad litem, custodial parent,
guardian, caseworker, other family members, or other involved pro-
fessional in making decisions regarding family reunification or return,
or victim contact with the offender.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 Stats.
Implemented: ORS 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0040
Mandatory Reporting

(1) Pursuant to ORS 675.390, the Sex Offender Treatment Board
is required to report to the Oregon Health LicensingAgency any con-
viction, determination, or finding of which they have personal knowl-
edge that any person certified as a clinical sex offender therapist or
associate sex offender therapist has committed an act which constitutes
unprofessional conduct under 676.612 and the provisions of OAR 331-
840-0010.

(2) The following persons are required to report the information
identified in subsection (1) of this section:

(a) Persons certified as a clinical sex offender therapist or certi-
fied as an associate sex offender therapist;

(b) The president, chief executive officer, or designated official
of any professional association or society whose members are a cer-
tified sex offender therapist;

(c) Prosecuting attorneys and deputy prosecuting attorneys;
(d) Community corrections officers employed by the Oregon

Department of Corrections;
(e) Juvenile probation or parole counselors who provide coun-

seling or supervision to juveniles;
(f) The president, chief executive officer, or designated official

of any public or private agency which employs a certified sex offend-
er therapist;

(g) The president, chief executive officer, or designated official
of any credentialing agency for health professionals.

(3) Reports under this section shall be made in writing, and shall
include the name, address, and telephone number of the person mak-
ing the report, the name and address of the person about whom the
report is made, and complete information about the circumstances giv-
ing rise to the report.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 Stats.
Implemented:ORS 163, 419B, 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08
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331-840-0050
Client Confidentiality; Disclosure and Informed Consent

For the purpose of clarifying requirements, the term “client” as
used in this rule, means the sex offender which is receiving the treat-
ment from the certified clinical sex offender therapist or certified asso-
ciate sex offender therapist, referred to as “therapist” in this rule unless
otherwise specifically noted.

(1) The certified sex offender therapist is responsible for insur-
ing that clients, consultation parties, family members, research par-
ticipants, organizations or agencies, and all other professional and
work related contacts fully understand issues related to confidential-
ity. This includes, but it not limited to:

(a) Informing clients of the limits of confidentiality;
(b) Informing clients of any circumstances that may cause an

exception to the agreed-upon confidentiality;
(c) Specifically informing clients about mandatory reporting

requirements; and
(d) Clarifying issues of confidentiality where multiple parties are

involved.
(2) Therapists shall comply with the provisions of ORS

675.390, and shall notify clients of the limits of confidentiality
imposed on therapists by the provisions of ORS 675.390 and rules
adopted by the agency.

(3) Therapists shall comply with mandated reporting laws and
statutes. No part of this rule shall be construed as releasing therapists
from such obligations. If the circumstances allow, therapists shall
inform clients that they will comply with the mandated reporting
requirements.

(4) Unless reporting is mandated, written permission is required
before any data maybe disclosed to persons beyond a therapist’s staff.
Clients shall be informed of the reason for the release of information.

(5) Therapists providing services within the criminal justice set-
ting shall inform all parties involved of the level of confidentiality that
applies.

(6) Therapist information shall not communicate to others with-
out the written and informed consent of the client, unless the follow-
ing circumstances apply:

(a) The client presents a clear and immediate danger to another
individual or individuals.

(b) The client presents a clear and immediate danger to him/her-
self.

(c) There is an obligation to comply with the specific govern-
mental statutes or regulations requiring reporting to authorities.

(7) Therapists shall ensure that a client is provided informed con-
sent when an individual under the therapist’s supervision is providing
services to the client. The client must be informed of the name of the
therapist who is supervising the associate therapist and any affect on
confidentiality.

(8) Therapists shall clarify, in a manner that the client is capable
of understanding, issues of confidentiality in cases involving func-
tionally disabled individuals or minors, when sharing information with
parents, guardians, or agencies that may have custody of the func-
tionally disabled individual or minor.

(9) When working with clients incapable of giving informed con-
sent, including functionally disabled individuals or minors, the ther-
apist is still responsible to:

(a) Inform the client about any proposed assessments or inter-
ventions in a manner commensurate with the person’s psychological,
functional, or developmental capabilities;

(b) Seek their help and participation in such interventions; and
(c) Consider such persons’ preferences and best interest.
(10) Therapists who provide service to several persons who have

a relationship (such as husband and wife or family members), shall
clarify at the outset how confidentiality will apply among participants
and to any external individual or entity (e.g., criminal justice).

(11) Therapists shall obtain written informed consent from a
legally authorized person or agency for providing services, for par-
ticipation in research, and in video taping for educational purposes, in
instances where persons are legally capable of giving informed
consent.

(12) Therapists shall not share confidential information with col-
leagues that might reasonably lead to the identification of a sex offend-
er, research participant, organization or other person with whom the
therapist has a confidential relationship.

(13) Therapists shall protect the confidentiality of participants
when utilizing audio tape or video tape information in the context of
training, workshops or research studies. Such tapes will be used only
with the written and informed consent of all individuals portrayed on
the tapes for that particular use (i.e., training, workshops, and research
studies).

(14) Live demonstrations of treatment techniques with current or
former clients or their families is considered exploitative and com-
promises confidentiality beyond what can be justified relative to edu-
cation benefits.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 Stats.
Implemented: ORS 163, 419B, 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0060
Client Records

For the purpose of clarifying record keeping requirements, the
term “client” as used in this rule, means the sex offender which is
receiving the treatment from the certified sex offender therapist who
will be providing treatment.

(1) Required Records. Therapists shall record, update and main-
tain documentation for each client relevant to health history, clinical
examinations and treatment, and financial data. Documentation shall
be written or electronic. Records shall include the following infor-
mation:

(a) Basic client information, including name, address, telephone
number and dates of service;

(b) Health history relevant to sex offender evaluation or treatment
plan(s), including referral to other mental health care provider or
physician.

(c) Date and description of services rendered in the form of “chart
notes”, including any complications. Chart notes shall include the
recorder’s initials, certification number and professional title if mul-
tiple practitioners provide service to the client.

(2) Record Format. Records and documentation shall be accurate,
complete, and legible, typed or recorded using ink. Legible hand-writ-
ten or electronic records are acceptable.

(3) Record Identifiers. Client records listed in subsection (1) of
the rule shall include the therapist’s name, license number, professional
title or abbreviation, and signature or initials somewhere on the doc-
umentation as a means of identifying the person who is providing ser-
vice to the client. This information may be affixed to the record(s) in
the form of a professional stamp or handwritten entry.

(4) Record Retention.All client records and documentation, writ-
ten or archived electronically by computer, shall be stored and main-
tained for a minimum of seven years after the therapist has last seen
the client or past the age of minority, so that the records are safe-
guarded, readily retrievable, and available for inspection by the Ore-
gon Health Licensing Agency’s representative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.4100, 675.410, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410
Hist: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

DIVISION 850
DISCIPLINEAND ENFORCEMENT

331-850-0010
Investigative Authority

The Oregon Health Licensing Agency may initiate and conduct
investigations of matters relating to the practice of Sex Offender Treat-
ment, pursuant to ORS 676.608, and may take appropriate disciplinary
action in accordance with the provisions of 676.612 and 675.385.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.385, 676.608, 676.612
Stats Implemented: ORS 675.385, 676.608, 676.612
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008,
f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08
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