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DIVISION 1
AGENCY PROCEDURAL RULES

331-001-0000
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking

(1) Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule, the Ore-
gon Health Licensing Agency shall give notice of its intended action;

(a) In the manner established by rule adopted by the agency under
ORS 183.341(4), which provides a reasonable opportunity for interest-
ed persons to be notified of the agency’s proposed action;

(b) In the Secretary of State’s bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360
at least 21 days prior to the effective date;

(c) By delivery of notice to persons on the agency mailing list, at
least 28 days before the effective date of the rule, pursuant to ORS
183.335; 

(d) By delivery of notice to certain legislators, at least 49 days
before the effective date of the rule, pursuant to ORS 183.335; 

(2) To the Associated Press and Capitol Building Press Room, and
other members of the media who have requested notification; 

(3) To persons, organizations, or publications, where the agency
determines that such persons, organizations, or publications, would have
an interest in the subject matter of the proposal based on applicability to
each agency program, board or council.

(4) Delivery of notice of an intended action under subsection (1)(a),
(c) and (d) of this section shall be in accordance with ORS 183.335(2)(e).
Delivery of notice of an intended action under subsection (1)(b), (2) and
(3) of this section may be provided by regular U.S. Postal Service mail,
electronic mail, facsimile transmission, or other delivery of printed copy.

(5) A copy of proposed rules and permanently filed rules shall be
posted on the agency’s Web site, and program mini-sites accessed at
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/index.shtml and
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/Laws_and_Rules.shtml.

(6) Persons may obtain a printed copy of rules or related documents
upon written request and payment of appropriate fee for copies of agen-
cy documents as specified in OAR 331-010-0030.

(7) The agency may update the mailing list established pursuant to
ORS 183.335(8) annually by requesting persons to confirm that they
wish to remain on the mailing list. If a person does not respond to a
request for confirmation within 28 days of the date the agency sends the
request, the agency will remove the person from the mailing list. Any per-
son removed from the mailing list will be immediately returned to the
mailing list upon request, if the person provides a mailing address to
which notice may be sent.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.615 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-001-0010
Model Rules of Procedure

Pursuant to ORS 183.341, the Oregon Health Licensing Agency
adopts the Model Rules of Procedures as promulgated by the Attorney
General of the State of Oregon under the Administrative Procedures Act
as amended and effective January 1, 2008.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & 676.605
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & 676.605
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09
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331-001-0020
Applicability of Agency Rules

The provisions of OAR 331-001-0000 through 331-030-0030 shall
apply in the administration and regulation of all programs administered
by the agency except as otherwise specifically provided.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615 & OL 2003, Ch. 547
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615 & OL 2003, Ch. 547
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

DIVISION 10
AGENCY GENERAL ADMINISTRATION RULES

331-010-0000
Definitions

Unless the context requires otherwise, the following definitions
shall apply to OAR Chapter 331.

(1) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.
(2) “Authorization” means the official document, i.e. certificate,

license, permit or registration, issued by the agency, for any program
administered under ORS 676.606, as prima facie evidence of the right
to practice in accordance with the laws and rules of the regulatory pro-
grams administered by the agency. 

(3) “Director” means, pursuant to ORS 676.610, the individual who
has sole responsibility for the administrative, fiscal, human resource and
regulatory functions of the agency. 

(4) “Oregon Health Licensing Agency” means the agency assigned
to carry out the administrative, programmatic and daily operations, and
regulatory functions of the Boards, Councils and Programs listed in ORS
676.606.

(5) “Practitioner” means the individual issued a certificate,
license, permit or registration by the agency who has received autho-
rization within their defined field of practice. 

(6) “Program” means the office and staff designated to carry out the
daily functions of the Body Piercing Licensing Program as defined in
ORS 690.500 to 690.570; or as the context requires, “program” may also
be used to refer to the collective boards, councils and programs admin-
istered by the agency.

(7) “Regulatory authority” means a recognized governing body of
a city, county, state or country that has been charged with the responsi-
bility for overseeing the administration and regulation of an occupation
or profession. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.615 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-010-0010
Fees

(1) Payments made to the Health Licensing Office should be made
for the exact amount of the transaction.

(2) Transactions conducted with the agency where either the pay-
ment or required documentation is incomplete or incorrect may be
returned to the payer for correction before being processed by the agen-
cy.

(3) Fees will be applied as directed by the applicant, authorization
holder or payer. Fees misapplied may be corrected by written request
specifying the certificate, license, permit or registration number(s) affect-
ed and the action requested, subject to conditions in OAR 331-010-
0020(2).

(4) Fees paid to the agency are not transferable between programs
or from person-to-person where the applicant was eligible for service and
service was rendered pursuant to application or transaction request sub-
mitted to the agency.

(5) Payments received by the agency without indication as to pur-
pose or intent or as an amount of overpayment will first be applied
toward any outstanding civil penalty balance or administrative process-
ing fee owed.

(6) Fee schedules are published in the administrative rules for each
Board, Council or Program administered by the agency.

(7) Dishonored Check or Electronic Payment. Pursuant to ORS
30.701, whenever a bank check, credit or debit transaction in payment
of an obligation due for fees, penalties, copies of records or materials,
or other services to the agency, is dishonored by the bank upon which
the check is drawn, the applicant or authorization holder will be assessed
and must pay an administrative processing fee in the amount of $25. The
agency may take any other disciplinary action against an authorization

holder or payer and may seek other legal remedies in pursuing to effect
collection of the returned items. If a check is returned for NSF or uncol-
lected funds the agency will attempt to collect payment electronically. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 30.701, 676.625 & OL 2003, Ch. 547 Sec.10, 14, 22, 30, 50, 61, 69,
86, 100
Stats. Implemented: ORS 30.701, 676.625 & OL 2003, Ch. 547 Sec.10, 14, 22, 30, 50,
61, 69, 86, 100
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

331-010-0020
Refund of Payments

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will not refund any pay-
ment, which includes fees, penalties or other charges, unless the agen-
cy is in error. Information not known by the agency because the autho-
rization holder or payer supplied the incorrect information is not
considered an error.

(2) The agency will comply with ORS 291 and 293 and the Ore-
gon Accounting Manual regarding administration of public funds per-
taining to assessment of fees, charges and refunding monies.

(3) Application fees will not be refunded. The agency will retain the
application fee if an applicant withdraws the application for a certificate,
license, permit, or registration before the issuance of the authorization,
or fails to complete the application process.

(4) The agency may refund fees paid for a scheduled examination
on a case-by-case basis. In making its determination, the agency will con-
sider an applicant’s individual set of circumstances when the applicant
fails to appear for a scheduled examination. 

(5) The agency will not refund fees paid for agency scheduled
diversion or infection control standards training if the applicant fails to
appear and complete the prescribed training; however, the fees may be
applied toward any civil fine imposed for violations of laws or rules. 

(6) The agency shall determine, on a case-by-case basis, the indi-
vidual set of circumstances noted in subsections (4) and (5) of this rule,
such as a medical emergency, personal hardship or unforeseen event that
impedes the individual from appearing for an agency-scheduled exam-
ination or training. The agency may request documentation from the indi-
vidual to validate the circumstance cited and may refund the fees or
reschedule an examination or training as appropriate. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 30.701, 293.445, 676.625 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 30.701, 293.445, 676.625
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-010-0030
Fees for Public Records and Publications

(1) All requests for copies of public records pertaining to the Ore-
gon Health Licensing Agency, or any program it administers, shall be
submitted in writing, electronic mail, or by completion of an electronic
form provided by the agency. Requests are subject to disclosure accord-
ing to the Public Records Law, ORS 192.410 to 192.505, and rules adopt-
ed thereunder. 

(2) The agency may charge a fee reasonably calculated to reimburse
the agency for costs of providing and conveying copies of public records.
Fees shall not exceed the cost of locating, compiling, making available
for inspection, preparing copy in paper, audio, computer disk, and deliv-
ering public records. All estimated fees and charges must be paid before
public records will be made available for inspection or copies provided. 

(3) The agency shall notify a requestor of the estimated costs of
making records available for inspection or providing copies of records
to the requestor. If the estimated costs exceed $25, the agency shall pro-
vide written notice and shall not act further to respond to the request
unless and until the requestor confirms that the requestor wants the agen-
cy to proceed with making the public records available. 

(4) Charges to the general public shall be payable in cash, cashier’s
check, money order, or credit card. Payment by personal check for copies
of official documents is not accepted.

(5) The agency shall charge 25¢ per page for the first 20 pages and
15¢ per page thereafter to recover the costs of photocopying and normal
and reasonable staff time to locate, separate, photocopy and return doc-
ument(s) to file and to prepare/mail public record(s) to requestors. If, for
operational or other reasons, the agency uses the services of an outside
facility or contractor to photocopy requested records, the agency shall
charge the actual costs incurred. 

(a) “Page” refers to the number of copies produced. Staff will not
reduce the copy size or otherwise manipulate records in order to fit addi-
tional records on a page, unless staff concludes that it would be the most
effective use of their time. Consistent with ORS 192.240, all copies will



be double-sided. A double-sided copy will be charged as two single
pages.

(6) “Normal and reasonable” staff time is 20 minutes or less per
request: 

(a) Additional charges for staff time may be made when respond-
ing to record requests that require more than the “normal and reasonable”
time for responding to routine record requests. Staff time shall be charged
at the agency’s staff hourly rate.

(b) These charges are for staff time in excess of 10 minutes spent
locating, compiling, sorting and reviewing records to prepare them for
inspection, as well as all time required to separate or remove exempt
information or to supervise inspection of documents. The agency shall
not charge for time spent in determining the application of the provisions
of ORS 192.410 to 192.505. 

(7) Charges for regular agency publications and media requests,
such as computer disks, video cassettes, audio tapes or other types of
public record formats, shall be available upon request and a price list
shall be published on the agency Web site annually.

(8) The agency may charge individuals actual postage costs for
mailing of records. When mailing voluminous records or responding to
special requests, the agency shall charge for staff time required to pre-
pare the records for mailing, in addition to actual postage.

(9) The agency shall charge $27 per hour, with a $7.50 minimum,
for staff time required to fill public record requests that require electronic
reproduction. Charges include time spent locating, downloading, for-
matting, copying and transferring records to media. Charges for repro-
duction media are available upon request.

(10) Due to the threat of computer viruses, the agency will not per-
mit individuals to provide diskettes for electronic reproduction of com-
puter records.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 197.410 - 192.505, 676.625 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 197.410 - 192.505, 676.625
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-010-0040
Notification Requirements

Notification of a change in any authorization holder’s licensing
information must be submitted within 30 calendar days of the change to
the agency by written notice given in person at the agency office, by reg-
ular U.S. Postal Service, facsimile transmission, Web-based interactive
data collection or electronic mail. A change in information includes, but
is not limited to the following: 

(1) Authorization holders:
(a) Name — first or last. Approved documentation is required, such

as marriage certificate, divorce decree, court judgment documents, or
other agency approved documentation;

(b) Residential or mailing address;
(c) Area code and telephone number; 
(d) Employment status; or
(e) Work location. 
(2) Facility license holders: 
(a) Facility name or Assumed Business Name as filed with Secre-

tary of State, Corporations Division under 648.007;
(b) Business telephone number, including area code;
(c) General hours of operation;
(d) Address change resulting from city or U.S. Postal Service

action; or
(e) Closure or sale of business facility or practice.
(3) Independent contract registration holders:
(a) Facility name, physical address, telephone number and license

number;
(b) General hours of operation;
(c) Changing permanent work location;
(d) Performing services at multiple licensed facilities on a perma-

nent or temporary basis;
(e) Ceasing to operate as an independent contractor before expira-

tion of the registration to avoid late renewal payment if reactivation may
occur within one year of the expiration date.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-010-0050
Authorization Holders; Military Leave

(1) A practitioner authorized to practice under a program listed in
ORS 676.606 is not required to renew the authorization or pay renewal

fees while in active military service unless required by the authorization
holders branch of the military.

(2) To be restored to former authorization status the authorization
holder must notify the agency in writing within 60 days of being hon-
orably discharged. 

(3) No fees will be due until the following renewal period. 
(4) Requirements for completing continuing education hours dur-

ing an authorization holder’s active duty period shall be evaluated on a
case by case basis.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607 & 676.608
Hist.: HLA 1-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-11 thru 8-28-11; HLA 2-2011(Temp), f. &
cert. ef. 3-17-11 thru 8-28-11; HLA 8-2011, f. 8-9-11, cert. ef. 8-15-11

DIVISION 20
AGENCY REGULATORY OPERATIONS RULES

331-020-0000
Contested Case Procedure

(1) Subject to the approval of the Attorney General, an officer or
employee of the agency is authorized to appear on behalf of any Board,
Council, or Program administered by the agency when the agency pro-
poses to refuse to issue, renew, suspend, revoke, place on probation or
impose a civil penalty on any applicant, licensee, registrant or other indi-
vidual. 

(2) The agency representative may not make legal argument on
behalf of the agency:

(a) “Legal argument” includes arguments on:
(A) The jurisdiction of the agency to hear the contested case;
(B) The constitutionality of a statute, rule, and/or the application of

a constitutional requirement to an agency; and
(C) The application of court precedent to the facts of the particu-

lar contested case proceeding.
(b) “Legal argument” does not include presentation of evidence,

examination and cross-examination of witnesses or presentation of fac-
tual arguments or arguments on:

(A) The application of the facts to the statutes or rules directly appli-
cable to the issues in the contested case;

(B) Comparison of prior actions of the agency in handling similar
situations;

(C) The literal meaning of the statutes or rules directly applicable
to the issues in the contested case; and

(D) The admissibility of evidence or the correctness of procedures
being followed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 & OL 2003, m Ch. 547, Sec. 4
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & OL 2003, m Ch. 547, Sec. 4
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

331-020-0010
Requiring an Answer to Charges as Part of Notices to Parties in
Contested Cases

In addition to the requirements stated in OAR 137-003-0000 of the
Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure adopted under 331-001-
0010, the notice to parties in contested cases may include a statement that
an answer to the assertions or charges will be required and, if so, the con-
sequence of failure to answer. A statement of the consequences of fail-
ure to answer may be satisfied by enclosing a copy of 331-020-0020 with
the notice.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

331-020-0020
Hearing Requests and Answers; Consequences of Failure to
Answer

(1) A hearing request, and answer when required, shall be made in
writing to the Agency by the party or the party’s attorney. 

(2) An answer shall be made in writing to the Agency with any
request for a hearing on a matter related to violations alleged under ORS
675.360 to 675.410, 687.405 to 687.495, 688.808 to 688.840, the rules
adopted thereunder, or violations alleged under 676.612 when related to
the practice of direct entry midwifery, sex offender treatment, respira-
tory care or polysomnography. The answer shall include the following:

(a) An admission or denial of each factual matter alleged in the
notice; and
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(b) A short, concise statement of each relevant affirmative defense
the party may have. 

(3) When an answer is required: 
(a) Factual matters alleged in the notice and not denied in the

answer shall be presumed admitted; 
(b) Failure to raise a particular defense in the answer will be con-

sidered a waiver of such defense; 
(c) New matters alleged in the answer (affirmative defenses) shall

be presumed to be denied by the agency; and 
(d) Evidence shall not be taken on any issue not raised in the notice

and the answer. 
(4) When an answer is required, the party or party’s attorney may

amend the response and answer, but no later than 10 days before the
scheduled contested case hearing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru
8-27-12; HLA 9-2012, f. 5-10-12, cert. ef. 5-15-12

331-020-0030
Inquiries; Filing a Complaint

(1) An individual may contact the Oregon Health Licensing Agen-
cy to inquire on the licensing record, status or employment of a person
issued an authorization by the agency, or to comment on any issue con-
cerning an individual regulated by the agency. 

(2) Complaints against individuals practicing in one of the profes-
sions listed in ORS 676.606, may be filed with the agency. The complaint
may be made on forms provided by the agency, which includes the fol-
lowing information: 

(a) The name, address and telephone number of the person making
the complaint; 

(b) The name of the person or facility against which the complaint
is being made; 

(c) A concise description of the charge against the person or facil-
ity listing the date, time and circumstances of the alleged violation; and 

(d) The signature of the person making the complaint. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.606
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.606
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-020-0040
Complaint Processing and Investigation

Pursuant to ORS 676.608, complaints filed with the Oregon Health
Licensing Agency will be handled as follows: 

(1) The agency will determine if the complaint is related to a pro-
fession or occupation regulated and administered by the agency and the
complaint falls within authority delegated to the agency by statute. 

(2) The agency investigator(s): 
(a) Will review the information and as applicable, interview parties

and witnesses, and examine physical evidence relating to the complaint; 
(b) Will advise on whether an authorization holder or other indi-

vidual practiced within the acceptable standards of the particular pro-
gram; 

(c) Will make recommendations for agency action. 
(3) After receiving advice from the investigator(s), the agency will

determine what action will be taken in accordance with ORS 676.608. 
(4) As used in ORS 676.608(8), to “appear before the agency”

includes: an investigative interview conducted under oath, under sub-
poena or otherwise compelled; an interview or hearing before a board,
council, or subcommittee of a board or council; any depositions autho-
rized by the agency; pre-hearing conferences; and contested case hear-
ings. It does not include interrogatories, written admissions, other writ-
ten communications, or voluntary communications. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.608 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183, 676.605, 676.608 & 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09; HLA 1-
2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-11 thru 8-28-11; HLA 2-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-17-
11 thru 8-28-11; HLA 8-2011, f. 8-9-11, cert. ef. 8-15-11

331-020-0050
Response to Inquiry

Any person subject to a complaint involving conduct or service per-
formed or provided may be required by the agency to respond. The per-
son must respond to the agency within 20 calendar days from the date
of the request, in the form and manner requested by the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04

331-020-0060
Civil Penalty Considerations

(1) Pursuant to ORS 676.992, any person who violates any provi-
sion of law or rules of a regulated profession administered by the Ore-
gon Health Licensing Agency and listed in ORS 676.606, may incur, in
addition to any other penalty provided by law, a civil penalty in an
amount not to exceed $5,000 for each violation. 

(2) In establishing the amount of the penalty for each violation, the
agency will consider and evaluate each case on an individual basis. The
agency will consider, but not be limited to factors listed in ORS 676.992,
in determining the amount of the penalty. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.992 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 676.992 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-020-0070
Discipline

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency may discipline autho-
rization holders for violations of laws and rules, in accordance with ORS
676.612 and 676.992. 

(2) Failure to cooperate with the agency or its agent is unprofes-
sional conduct and is subject to disciplinary sanctions, which may include
suspension or revocation and refuse to issue or renew or place on pro-
bation and assessment of civil penalties. Failure to cooperate with the
agency or its agent includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

(a) Failing to provide information within the specified time allot-
ted and as requested by the agency; 

(b) Failing to temporarily surrender custody of original client
records to the agency upon request, which includes treatment charts,
models, health histories, billing documents, correspondence and mem-
oranda; 

(c) Interference, use of threats or harassment which delays or
obstructs any person in providing evidence in any investigation, con-
tested case, or other legal action instituted by the agency; 

(d) Interference, use of threats or harassment which delays or
obstructs the agency in carrying out its functions under individual pro-
grams administered and regulated by the agency as listed in ORS 676.606
and rules adopted thereunder; or 

(e) Deceiving or attempting to deceive the agency regarding any
matter under investigation including altering or destroying any records. 

(3) The agency, at its discretion, may require supplemental train-
ing in an appropriate area of study as determined by the agency, board
or council, as a disciplinary sanction. Supplemental training may be in
addition to assessment of a monetary penalty or the agency, board or
council may waive or reduce a penalty, in cases requiring supplemental
training. 

(4) As used in ORS 676.612(2)(j) incompetence means engaging
in conduct which evidences a lack of ability or fitness to perform the
holder’s professional functions. 

(5) As used in ORS 676.612(2)(j) negligence means engaging in
conduct detrimental to the client. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.612, 676.992
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.612, 676.992
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09; HLA 8-
2011, f. 8-9-11, cert. ef. 8-15-11

331-020-0080
Sanctions

(1) CHILD SUPPORT IN ARREARS: In accordance with ORS
25.750 to 25.783, the Oregon Health Licensing Agency will provide the
Support Enforcement Division of the Department of Justice with autho-
rization information which may be electronically cross-matched with
Support Enforcement Division’s records for persons under order of judg-
ment to pay monthly child support and who are in arrears according to
ORS 25.750(a), (b), and/or (c). 

(2) The agency will suspend the authorization, if the Support
Enforcement Division or the district attorney identifies the authorization
holder as being in arrears with respect to any judgment or order requir-
ing the payment of child support and that the case is being enforced under
the provisions of ORS 25.080. 

(3) Pursuant to ORS 25.750 to 25.785, the agency will notify the
authorization holder of the suspension status and refer the person to the
Support Enforcement Division or the district attorney for resolution. 

(4) Upon notification by the Support Enforcement Division or dis-
trict attorney and receipt of a release notice that the conditions resulting
in the suspension no longer exist, the agency will reinstate the autho-
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rization upon compliance with all qualifications for renewal or reacti-
vation. 

(5) DEFAULT TAX FILING OR PAYMENT: In accordance with
ORS 305.385, upon request the agency will provide the Department of
Revenue with authorization information to determine if the holder has
neglected or refused to file any return or to pay any tax without filing a
petition with the department as stated in ORS 305.385(4)(a). 

(6) The agency will propose to take action against an authorization
holder identified by the Department of Revenue. If the agency propos-
es to refuse to issue, renew or suspend an authorization, opportunity for
hearing will be accorded as provided in ORS 183.413 to 183.470 for con-
tested cases. 

(7) Upon notification by the department and receipt of a notice of
release issued by the department that the authorization holder is in good
standing with respect to any returns due and taxes payable to the depart-
ment as of the date of the notice of release, the agency will renew, reac-
tivate or release from suspension the authorization upon compliance with
any qualifications for renewal or reactivation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 25.080, 25.750 - 25.785, 183.310 - 183.470, 
305.385, 348.393 - 348.399, 676.606, 676.612, 676.615 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.080, 25.750 - 25.783, 183.310 - 183.470, 
305.385, 348.393 - 348.399, 676.612 Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04 
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; Renumbered from 331-030-0030, HLA 1-
2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

DIVISION 30
CERTIFICATION, LICENSURE AND
REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

331-030-0000
Application Requirements

(1) An applicant who has been the subject of any disciplinary
action, including the imposition of a civil or criminal penalty, is not con-
sidered qualified for an Oregon authorization to practice until the Ore-
gon Health Licensing Agency determines the scope, applicability and
finality of the disciplinary action as it relates to the applicant’s fitness to
be issued an authorization to practice or use a professional title under a
program listed in ORS 676.606. The disciplinary record may include, but
not be limited to, actions imposed from the following:

(a) An Oregon health professional regulatory board as defined in
ORS 676.160;

(b) A regulatory authority in Oregon or another state; 
(c) A regulatory authority in another country or territory.
(2) Pursuant to ORS 181.534, 676.612 and OAR 331-030-005, the

agency may require an applicant to complete a fingerprint check through
the Oregon Department of Oregon State Police. The agency may also
conduct a criminal background check of convictions to determine
whether the applicant has been convicted of a crime that may affect the
applicant’s fitness to practice in accordance with ORS 670.280.

(3) Material misrepresentation or material errors of fact on an appli-
cation for or renewal of an authorization are grounds for disqualification
of examination, refusal to issue or revocation of the authorization. Refer
to ORS 676.612.

(4) Application for an authorization issued for any program admin-
istered by the agency under ORS 676.606 shall be made on forms pre-
scribed and furnished by the agency. 

(5) To be accepted and processed, an application must contain: 
(a) Applicant’s current name, address and telephone number; 
(b) Applicant’s date of birth; 
(c) Applicant’s signature and date of application; 
(d) Applicant’s Social Security or Individual Taxpayer Identifica-

tion number. 
(e) Applicant’s ethnicity (optional); 
(f) Applicant’s gender (optional); 
(g) Disclosure of any active or inactive disciplinary action, volun-

tary resignation of a certificate, license, permit or registration or sanc-
tion related to authorization imposed upon the applicant by any state or
country regulatory authority; 

(h) Disclosure of any active or inactive certificate, license, permit
or registration issued by Oregon or another state; 

(i) Payment for the exact amount of required fees; and 
(j) All additional information required by the particular Board,

Council or Program for which application is made.
(6) Applicants must list their Social Security or Individual Taxpayer

Identification number on a form prescribed by the agency at the time of

initial application and renewal for certification, licensure, permit or reg-
istration. The authority for this requirement is ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42
USC § 405(c)(2)(C)(i), and 42 USC § 666(a)(13). 

(7) Failure to provide the Social Security or Individual Taxpayer
Identification number will be a basis to refuse to accept the application
or to issue an authorization. This information will be used for child sup-
port enforcement and tax administration purposes, unless the applicant
authorizes other uses of the number. The authority for this requirement
is ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(c)(2)(C)(i), and 42 USC §
666(a)(13). 

(8) Upon request by the agency an applicant must provide two
forms of acceptable original identification issued by a federal, state or
local government agency of the United States. The agency will consid-
er other forms of identification if the procedures used in issuing the iden-
tification are sufficient to prove the applicant’s identity and the identi-
fication contains security features that are sufficient to prevent
alteration or counterfeiting. Acceptable identification includes, but is not
limited to:

(a) An original or certified copy of birth certificate issued by a U.S.
Territorial government or the government of a state or political subdi-
vision of a state of the United States. OHLA will not accept a hospital-
issued birth certificate, hospital card or birth registration or baptismal cer-
tificate. 

(b) United States passport, not expired more than five years. 
(c) United States passport card, not expired more than five years. 
(d) U.S. Territory passport not expired more than five years. 
(e) Tribal ID card from a federally recognized tribe located in Ore-

gon or a federally recognized tribe with an Oregon affiliation if OHLA
determines: 

(A) The procedures used in issuing the card are sufficient to prove
the applicant’s identity; and 

(B) The card contains security features that are sufficient to prevent
alteration or counterfeiting of the card. 

(f) Certificate of Citizenship (N560 and N561). 
(g) Certificate of Naturalization (N550, N570 and N578). 
(h) U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-197 and I-179). 
(i) U.S. Military documents including: 
(A) Military or Armed Forces ID card; 
(B) Military Common Access Card; or 
(C) U.S. Uniform Services ID and Privileges card (DD1173 and

DD1173-1). 
(j) Resident Alien card
(k) Permanent Resident card (I-551). 
(l) Out-of-state, District of Columbia, U.S. Territorial government

or, instruction permit or identification card, that contains the applicant’s
photograph, not expired more than one year unless hole-punched or
marked “Not Valid as ID.” 

(m) Valid Oregon driver license, temporary driver license, instruc-
tion permit, or identification card. For the purposes of this subsection,
OHLA will not accept a driver license that was issued without a photo-
graph. 

(n) Oregon Concealed Weapon Permit/Concealed Handgun
License, not expired more than one year. 

(o) Social Security card or other documentation issued by the Social
Security Administration. 

(9) OHLA will not accept a document as proof of identity and date
of birth if OHLA has reason to believe the document is not valid. The
agency may request an applicant present additional documentary proof
of identity if the document presented does not establish the applicant’s
identity to the satisfaction of OHLA. 

(10) At least one form of identification provided from the approved
list in subsection (8) of this rule must be photographic.

[Publications: Forms referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), and 42 USC § 666(a)(13),
670.280, 676.605 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC §
666(a)(13), 670.280, 676.605 & 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 12-2008(Temp), f. 11-28-08, cert. ef.
12-1-08 thru 4-30-09; Administrative correction 5-20-09; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-
1-09

331-030-0004 
Fingerprinting, State and Nationwide Criminal Background Checks,
Fitness Determinations 

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency may conduct and require
completion of a fingerprint and criminal background check to determine
fitness of individuals applying for an authorization issued or renewed by
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the agency. These will be provided on prescribed forms provided by the
agency. At the discretion of the agency, background checks may be con-
ducted for any of the programs administered by the agency pursuant to
ORS 676.606.

(2) Fingerprints may be obtained at a law enforcement office or at
a private service acceptable to the agency. The agency will forward fin-
gerprints to the Department of Oregon State Police for checks against
state and national data sources. Any original fingerprint cards will sub-
sequently be destroyed by the department.

NOTE:An applicant must pay the department any fees assessed for conducting
the fingerprint service. An applicant must arrange for the report of the fingerprint
check to be mailed directly to the Oregon Health Licensing Agency, Regulato-
ry Operations Division.
(3) These rules are to be applied when evaluating the criminal his-

tory of all licensees and applicants listed in paragraph (1) of this section,
and conducting fitness determinations based upon such history. The fact
that the applicant has cleared the criminal history check does not guar-
antee the granting of an authorization. 

(4) Except as otherwise provided in section (1), in making the fit-
ness determination the agency shall consider: 

(a) The nature of the crime; 
(b) The facts that support the conviction or pending indictment or

that indicate the making of the false statement; 
(c) The relevancy, if any, of the crime or the false statement to the

specific requirements of the subject individual’s right to practice in any
present or proposed position, services, and employment, that is autho-
rized upon the issuance or renewal of the certificate, license, permit or
registration; and 

(d) Intervening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities and
circumstances of the position, services, employment, certificate,
license, permit or registration. Intervening circumstances include but are
not limited to: 

(A) The passage of time since the commission of the crime; 
(B) The age of the subject individual at the time of the crime; 
(C) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the commission

of another crime: 
(D) The subsequent commission of another relevant crime; 
(E) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of set-

ting aside the conviction; and 
(F) A recommendation of an employer. 
(5) The agency may require fingerprints of any authorization hold-

ers or applicant listed in paragraph (1) of this section, who is the subject
of a complaint or investigation, under authority of ORS 676.612(3)(c),
for the purpose of requesting a state or nationwide criminal records back-
ground check. 

(6) All background checks shall be requested to include available
state and national data, unless obtaining one or the other is an acceptable
alternative. 

(7) Additional information required. In order to conduct the Ore-
gon and national criminal history check and fitness determination, the
agency may require additional information from the authorization hold-
er or applicant as necessary. Information requested may include but is
not limited to, proof of identity; residential history; names used while liv-
ing at each residence; or additional criminal, judicial or other background
information. 

(8) All Oregon and national criminal history checks, confidential-
ity, and dissemination of information received, shall be in accordance to
and as applicable with ORS 181.534 through 181.560 and OAR 257,
division 10.

(9) The agency will permit the individual for whom a fingerprint-
based criminal records check was conducted, to inspect the individual’s
own state and national criminal offender records and, if requested by the
subject individual, provide the individual with a copy of the individual’s
own state and national criminal offender records. 

(10) The agency shall determine whether an individual is fit to be
granted, hold or renew an authorization, listed in paragraph (1) of this
section, based on the criminal records background check, or any false
statements made by the individual regarding criminal history of the indi-
vidual, or any refusal to submit or consent to a criminal records check
including fingerprint identification, and any other pertinent information
obtained as a part of an investigation. If an individual is determined to
be unfit, then the individual may not be granted an authorization. The
agency may make fitness determinations conditional upon applicant’s
acceptance of probation, conditions, or limitations, or other restrictions
placed upon the authorization.

(11) The agency may also consider any arrests and court records
that may be indicative of a person’s inability to perform as an autho-
rization holder with care and safety to the public.

(12) If the agency determines an applicant or authorization holder
is unfit, the individual is entitled to a contested case process pursuant to
ORS 183. Challenges to the accuracy or completeness of information
provided by the Oregon State Police, Federal Bureau of Investigation and
agencies reporting information must be made through the Oregon State
Police, Federal Bureau of Investigation, or reporting agency and not
through the contested case process pursuant to ORS 183. 

(13) If the applicant discontinues the application process or fails to
cooperate with the criminal history background check the agency con-
siders the application incomplete. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC § 666(a)(13), 
670.280, 676.605, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 25.785, 305.385, 42 USC § 405(C)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC §
666(a)(13), 670.280, 676.605, 676.615 
Hist.: HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-030-0010
Procedure for Issuing and Renewing Certificates, Licenses and
Registrations

(1) Subject to ORS 676.612, authorizations issued by the Oregon
Health Licensing Agency will be issued to qualified applicants after con-
ducting fitness determinations and upon compliance with all require-
ments established by rules adopted by the agency.

(2) With the exception of temporary or demonstration permits, all
authorizations will expire on the last day of the month, two years from
the date the authorization was issued.

(3) The authorization will state the holder’s name, address, autho-
rization number, expiration date and bear the signature of the holder. The
authorization will be mailed to the place of residence or mailing address
recorded on the application and may substantiated through acceptable
identification listed in OAR 331-030-0000.

(4) The agency may mail notice of expiration to the authorization
holder, sending the notice to the last known address on file. The autho-
rization holder is responsible for submitting a timely application for
renewal whether or not a renewal form was mailed by the agency.

(5) Application for renewal shall be made in advance of the expi-
ration date, and shall be submitted together with the required fee(s) and
documentation, as the individual program stipulates for renewal. Pay-
ment must be postmarked or received by the agency during regular busi-
ness hours on or before the expiration date. An authorization may be
renewed using the agency’s online renewal system accessed at
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/onlinerenewals.shtml.

(6) An application for renewal and payment received by the agen-
cy or postmarked after the expiration date may be assessed delinquent
renewal fee(s) according to requirements stipulated in each individual
program’s rules for certificate, license or registration renewal. 

(7) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this rule, the agency may vary
the renewal date of an authorization by giving the applicant written notice
of the renewal date being assigned and by making prorated adjustments
to the renewal fee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605 & 676.615
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 12-2008(Temp), f. 11-28-08, cert. ef.
12-1-08 thru 4-30-09; Administrative correction 5-20-09; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-
1-09

331-030-0020
Authorization; Replacements 

(1) An individual shall not display a sign or in any way advertise
or purport to be an authorization holder or to be engaged in practice, or
use a professional title, without first obtaining an authorization in the
manner required according to statute and rules of a program administered
by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency under ORS 676.606. 

(2) The agency shall issue only one original authorization. 
(3) The possession or posting of more than one of the same current

authorization (original or replacement) is prohibited. 
(4) All authorization holders must have immediate access to pho-

tographic identification as listed in OAR 331-030-0000 whenever per-
forming services or open for business Authorization holders must pro-
vide agency representatives with the appropriate identification
immediately upon request.

(5) If for any reason a person is mistakenly issued a document that
contains a material error and superseded by a corrected document, the
agency has the authority to demand surrender of the incorrect autho-
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rization document issued by the agency. The individual must surrender
the document requested within the time determined by the agency. 

(6) The agency may issue a replacement authorization document,
if:

(a) A written request for a replacement is submitted to the agency
which contains the authorization holder’s name, authorization number,
address, telephone number, employment information, and a statement
attesting that the original authorization has been lost, stolen or
destroyed; 

(b) The authorization is valid, current and not expired, suspended
or revoked; 

(c) Payment of the replacement fee accompanies the request; 
(d) The authorization holder is not subject to any outstanding civil

penalties or other disciplinary action. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.410, 676.605, 676.615, 690.015, 680.505, 
687.415, 690.355, 694.025, 688.805, 700.020
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.410, 676.605, 676.615, 690.015, 680.505, 687.415,
690.355, 694.025, 688.805, 700.020
Hist.: HLO 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-13-04; HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-030-0025
Emergency Response

Practice in Oregon by out-of-state authorization holders in the event
of an emergency:

(1) In the event of a disaster or emergency declared by the Gover-
nor of Oregon, the Oregon Health Licensing Agency shall allow autho-
rization holders who are licensed in another state, performing services
in a field of professional practice regulated by the agency under ORS
676.606, to practice in Oregon under special provisions during the peri-
od of the declared disaster or emergency, subject to such limitations and
conditions as the Governor may prescribe.

(2) The out-of-state authorization holder must submit the follow-
ing information to the agency: 

(a) Verification of a permanent, current, and unrestricted autho-
rization to practice in another state which is not the subject of a pend-
ing investigation or disciplinary action by a state board, or another state
or federal agency; and

(b) Current federal or state photo identification, i.e., driver license
or passport.

(3) The authorization holder shall provide the agency documenta-
tion demonstrating a request to provide services by an agency recognized
public health organization, Emergency Medical Service (EMS) agency,
county, state or federal entity, or has otherwise made arrangements to pro-
vide services within the practitioner’s scope of professional practice in
Oregon as the result of the declaration of a disaster or emergency. 

(4) The authorization holder may not practice in Oregon under the
special disaster or emergency provisions beyond the termination date of
the declared disaster or emergency as prescribed by the Governor. Prac-
tice in Oregon beyond the termination date of the declared disaster or
emergency requires licensure through the Oregon Health Licensing
Agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.606, 676.612, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.612, 676.615
Hist.: HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09

331-030-0040
Affidavit of Licensure

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document or other
approved means of verifying an authorization to practice (certification,
licensure or registration) status and history, including information dis-
closing all unresolved or outstanding penalties and/or disciplinary
actions. Affidavit of Licensure may be requested from other regulatory
authorities or from the Oregon Health Licensing Agency:

(2) For the purpose of this rule regulatory authority means:
(a) An Oregon health professional regulatory board as defined in

ORS 676.160 
(b) A regulatory authority in Oregon or another state; 
(c) A regulatory authority in another country or territory. 
Outgoing Affidavit of Licensure
(3) An applicant may request an affidavit of licensure be sent from

the Oregon Health Licensing Agency for programs listed under ORS
676.606 to another regulatory authority or individual designated on the
application. The following must be submitted to the agency:

(a) An application on a form prescribed by the agency; 
(b) Two forms of identification listed in OAR 331-030-0000(8); at

least one must be photographic; 

(c) Photocopies of identification listed in subsection (b) of this sec-
tion must be submitted with the application if request is made through
the mail; the photocopy must be legible; and

(d) The agency may require that an applicant present additional
proof of identity pursuant to OAR 331-030-0000(9).

Incoming Affidavit of Licensure
(4) An applicant applying for an authorization from a program list-

ed under ORS 676.606 must arrange for the originating regulatory
authority to forward directly to the agency a current and original “Affi-
davit of Licensure” signed by an authorized representative of the regu-
latory authority and affixed with an official seal or stamp to the affidavit
of licensure. The applicant is responsible for payment of any fee the orig-
inating regulatory authority may assess for producing the affidavit of
licensure. 

(5) The agency may verify an applicant’s authorization to practice
and determine an applicant’s qualifications and fitness to practice in a
program administered under ORS 676.606 by the following:

(a) An affidavit of licensure may be obtained by accessing the reg-
ulatory authority’s Web site by using an online verification system. The
agency may assess a fee for obtaining affidavit of licensure. 

(b) An affidavit of licensure may be electronically transmitted to the
agency from the regulatory authority. The applicant is responsible for
payment of any fee the originating regulatory authority may assess for
producing the affidavit of licensure. 

(c) An affidavit of licensure document hand delivered or mailed by
the applicant and not mailed directly or transmitted through an approved
means to the agency from the regulatory authority will invalidate qual-
ification for authorization to practice, scheduling, and examination. 

NOTE: The Affidavit of Licensure may be referred to as a “Verification of Licen-
sure”, “License Verification”, “Certification of Licensure” or “License Certifi-
cation” by other regulatory authorities. Both terms have the same purpose in dis-
closing an applicant’s licensing status and history.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.606, 676.612 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.612 & 676.615
Hist.: HLA 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-09; HLA 5-2010(Temp), f. 7-23-10, cert. ef 7-26-
10 thru 1-15-11; HLA 6-2010, f. 10-14-10, cert. ef. 10-15-10

DIVISION 105
BOARD OF ATHLETIC TRAINERS:
GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

331-105-0030
Fees

(1) Applicants and registrants are subject to the provisions of OAR
331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penal-
ties and charges. 

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency are as
follows: 

(a) Application: 
(A) Registration: $100. 
(B) Registration by reciprocity: $150. 
(b) Examination — Oregon laws & rules: $50. 
(c) Original issuance of registration (including by reciprocity): $225

for one year. 
(d) Permits and waivers: $150. 
(e) Renewal of registration: $225 for one year. 
(f) Delinquent (late) renewal of registration: $25 for the first month

in expired status, and $10 each month thereafter while in an expired sta-
tus. 

(g) Reinstatement: $150. 
(h) Replacement of registration, including name change: $25. 
(i) Duplicate registration document: $25 per copy with maximum

of three. 
(j) Affidavit of licensure: $50. 
(k) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be assessed

if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment of fees,
penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010. 

Stat. Auth.: 1999 OL Ch. 736, Sec. 5(3) & (4) & Sec. 10
Stats. Implemented: 1999 OL Ch. 736, Sec. 5(3) & (4) & Sec. 10
Hist.: HDLB 2-1996, f. 12-13-96, cert. ef. 1-1-97; HDLP 1-2000(Temp), f. 2-14-00, cert.
ef. 2-15-00 thru 8-11-00; Administrative correction 3-16-00; HDLP 3-2000, f. 7-26-00,
cert. ef. 8-1-00; HLO 3-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 2-2006, f. 11-30-06, cert.
ef. 12-1-06; HLA 3-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; HLA 5-2011(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 8-1-11 thru 1-28-12; HLA 11-2011, f. 10-14-11, cert. ef. 10-15-11
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DIVISION 120
BOARD OF ATHLETIC TRAINERS: 
GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

331-120-0001 
Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-120-0001 through
331-160-0015. 

(1) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 
(2) “Board of Certification, Inc.” (BOC) means the national orga-

nization that is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying
Agencies that provides a certification program for the entry-level athletic
trainer and establishes requirements for maintaining status as a certified
athletic trainer (ATC). 

(3) “Registration” means the document issued by the agency autho-
rizing the holder to practice athletic training under ORS 688.730 and use
the title “Athletic Trainer, Registered,” and the abbreviation: “ATR.”

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

DIVISION 130
APPLICATION AND QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

331-130-0001
Application Requirements 

An individual applying for registration to practice athletic training
must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30.
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application and registration
fees. 

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsections (1) and (2) of
this rule, an applicant must provide documentation of one of the fol-
lowing pathways:

(a) Licensure Pathway 1 — Qualification through examination. An
applicant must submit:

(A) Official transcripts demonstrating that the individual holds a
bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited four year college or uni-
versity and has completed an athletic training education program accred-
ited by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education,
or has been approved or recognized by the Board; 

(B) Evidence of prescribed educational and clinical experience as
required by ORS 688.720, and OAR 331-130-0001;

(C) Official documentation of a passing score of the BOC exami-
nation or documentation of successful completion of an equivalent exam-
ination approved or recognized by the Board; 

(D) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older; and
(E) Evidence demonstrating current certification in cardiopul-

monary resuscitation (CPR) including:
(i) Adult & Pediatric CPR;
(ii) Automated external defibrillator AED;
(iii) 2nd Rescuer CPR;
(iv) Airway Obstruction; and
(v) Barrier Devices (e.g., pocket mask, bag valve mask).
(b) Licensure Pathway 2 — Licensure through reciprocity: An

applicant must submit:
(A) An Affidavit of Registration demonstrating proof of current reg-

istration, which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action.
The registration must have been issued by another state or territory of
the United States and the requirements be equivalent to those in ORS
688.720; 

(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older; and
(C) Evidence demonstrating current certification in cardiopul-

monary resuscitation (CPR) for including:
(i) Adult & Pediatric CPR;
(ii) Automated external defibrillator AED;
(iii) 2nd Rescuer CPR;
(iv) Airway Obstruction; and
(v) Barrier Devices (e.g., pocket mask, bag valve mask).
(4) An applicant with a current athletic training licensing creden-

tial issued from another state or territory of the United States must
arrange for a completed Affidavit of Registration, issued by the creden-

tialing state, to be mailed directly to the Agency. The Affidavit must attest
to the applicant’s registration record and indicate successful completion
of the BOC examination or another examination approved by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-130-0005
Registration Required; Exception 

To practice athletic training in the state of Oregon, individuals must
be registered in accordance with ORS 688.718. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-130-0011
Registration Issuance and Renewal

(1) REGISTRATION: A registrant is subject to the provisions of
OAR Chapter 331, division 30 regarding the issuance and renewal of a
registration, and to provisions regarding authorization to practice, iden-
tification, and requirements for issuance of a duplicate registration. 

(2) LICENSE RENEWAL: Registration renewal must be made
prior to the registration entering inactive status. The registrant must sub-
mit the following:

(a) Renewal application form;
(b) Payment of required renewal fee; 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required continuing education;

and
(d) In addition to any other required continuing education, the reg-

istrant must submit evidence of current certification in cardiopulmonary
resuscitation pursuant to OAR 331-130-0001. 

(3) INACTIVE REGISTRATION RENEWAL: Registration renew-
al made after the registration enters inactive status. A registration may
be inactive for up to three years. To renew inactive registration, the reg-
istrant must submit the following:

(a) Renewal application form;
(b) Payment of delinquency and renewal fees pursuant to OAR 331-

140-0000;
(c) Attestation of having obtained required continuing education;

and
(d) In addition to any other required continuing education, the reg-

istrant must submit evidence of current certification in cardiopulmonary
resuscitation pursuant to OAR 331-130-0001. 

(4) EXPIRED REGISTRATION: A registration that has been inac-
tive for more than three years is expired and must meet the requirements
listed in OAR 331-130-0001.

(5) A registrant failing to meet continuing education requirements
listed under OAR 331-150-0005 must reapply and meet requirements
pursuant to OAR 331-130-0001.

(6) A registrant may not practice with an inactive or expired regis-
tration. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-130-0015 
Registration Display and Posting Requirements

(1) Registrants must show proof of valid registration upon request
or post the registration document in public view at the athletic trainer’s
primary workplace. 

(2) A registrant may temporarily conceal the address printed on the
registration document with a covering that is removable. A registrant
must carry the registration identification card (pocket card), or post the
official registration in plain view any time services are being provided. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

DIVISION 150
CONTINUING EDUCATION

331-150-0000
Continued Competency 

(1) To ensure continuing efforts on the part of Oregon registered
athletic trainers to remain current with new developments in athletic
training and to encourage diversified training and qualifications in the
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profession, continuing education is required as a condition of registra-
tion.

(2) Continuing education experiences are programs beyond the
basic education required to obtain registration and that are designed to
promote and enrich knowledge, improve skills, and develop attitudes for
the enhancement of the practices of registered athletic trainers, thus
improving athletic training care to the public.

(3) Continuing education requirements apply whether the applicant
renewing registration is living or working within Oregon or outside of
the state, so long as Oregon registration is maintained.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-150-0005
Continuing Education Requirements 

(1) To maintain registration, athletic trainers must complete a min-
imum of 10 hours of approved continuing education each year. Credit
hours obtained in excess of those required for the one-year reporting peri-
od may not be carried forward. A registrant’s continuing education
requirements remain in effect during the time registration is inactive. 

(2) Each registrant shall document compliance with the continuing
education requirement through attestation on the registration renewal
application. Registrants are subject to provisions of OAR 331-150-0010
pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education. 

(3) Approved continuing education must be obtained by participa-
tion in or attendance at a course provided by an accredited college or uni-
versity, a course or program approved by the BOC or an agency pre-
approved course or program.

(4) Continuing education must address subject matter related to ath-
letic training in accordance with ORS 688.701 through 688.734. 

(5) CE credit will be awarded based on the following criteria:
(a) Completion and passing of academic courses related to athlet-

ic training taken from an accredited college or university are awarded 15
hours for each semester-based credit earned, 14 hours for each trimester-
based credit earned or 10 hours for each quarter-based credit earned; and

(b) Courses that do not meet standards as set forth in paragraph (a)
of this subsection, such as workshops, symposiums, seminars, laboratory
exercises, professional courses, or any applied experience with or with-
out formal classroom work must be pre-approved by the agency or by
BOC and may be assigned credit at the rate of one hour for each hour
of attendance. 

(6) Registrants must complete two hours of continuing education
specifically on Concussion and Traumatic Brain Injury once every three
years. 

(7) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing educa-
tion requirements must be maintained for a period of three years fol-
lowing renewal, and must be available to the agency upon request.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-150-0010
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions 

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a percentage
of registrants, as determined by the Board, to verify compliance with con-
tinuing education requirements of this rule. 

(2) Registrants notified of selection for audit of continuing educa-
tion attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days from
the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence of partic-
ipation in required continuing education in accordance with OAR 331-
150-0005. 

(3) If selected for audit, the registrant must provide documentation
of the required continuing education, which must include: 

(a) For courses provided by an accredited college or university —
A course syllabus and an official transcript from the accredited college
or university; 

(b) For BOC approved programs or courses — A certificate of com-
pletion that includes the BOC approval number; or 

(c) For agency pre-approved programs or courses — A certificate
of completion or other agency approved documentation that includes the
agency pre-approval number. 

(4) If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the
registrant has an additional 30 calendar days from the date of notice of
incompleteness to submit further documentation to substantiate having
completed the required continuing education. 

(5) Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall con-
stitute grounds for disciplinary action, which may include, but is not lim-
ited to, assessment of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of reg-
istration.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

DIVISION 160
PRACTICE STANDARDS

331-160-0005
Scope of Practice

The scope of practice of athletic training by a registered athletic
trainer shall consist of the following:

(1) The education, instruction, application and monitoring of facts
and circumstances required to protect the athlete from athletic injury,
including but not limited to:

(a) The identification, through physical examinations or screening
processes, of conditions that may pose a risk of injury, illness or disease
to an athlete.

(b) The supervision and maintenance of athletic equipment to
assure safety.

(2) The recognition, evaluation and care of injuries and illness
occurring during athletic events or in the practice for athletic events
including but not limited to the following;

(a) Performance of strength testing using mechanical devices or
other standard techniques;

(b) Application of tape, braces and protective devices to prevent or
treat injury;

(c) Administration of standard techniques of first aid;
(d) Use of emergency care equipment to aid the injured athlete by

facilitating safe transportation to an appropriate medical facility; 
(e) Determination of the level of functional capacity of an injured

athlete in order to establish the extent of an injury; and
(f) Determination of the level of functional capacity of an injured

or ill athlete to participate.
(3) The gathering and accurate recording of all information required

in the assessment of athletic injuries.
(4) The development and implementation of an appropriate course

of rehabilitation or reconditioning by the use of therapeutic modalities,
including but not limited to: water, cold, heat, electrical, mechanical and
acoustical devices, massage, manual techniques, gait training exercise,
and physical capacity functional programs which are determined to be
needed to facilitate recovery, restore athletic function or performance;

(5) Dispensation of non-prescription medication and application of
topical non-prescription medication;

(6) The determination and implementation of a plan for appropri-
ate health care administration.

(7) Referral of an athlete to appropriate health care provider as
needed.

(8) Organization of a medical care service delivery system for ath-
letes when needed.

(9) Establishment of plans to manage an athlete’s medical emer-
gencies;

(10) The education or providing of athletic training guidance to ath-
letes for the purpose of facilitating recovery, function and performance
of the athlete.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-160-0010
Standards of Practice 

Athletic trainers shall adhere to the following standards of profes-
sional conduct: 

(1) Physician Collaboration: Athletic trainers are required to col-
laborate with a physician in the treatment of an athletic injury as provided
in OAR 331-160-0015. 

(2) Registered Athletic Trainers shall be responsible for the conduct
and performance of student assistants under their supervision. 

(3) Documentation: All services are documented in writing by the
Athletic Trainer and are part of the Athletic Trainer’s record for the ath-
lete. The Athletic Trainer accepts responsibility for chronologically

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2014 Edition 5 - 12 (11-15-13)



recording details of the patient’s health status and treatment, signing and
dating each entry. 

(4) The patient’s record shall include, but not be limited to:
(a) Athlete’s name and any other identifying information;
(b) Referral source, as applicable;
(c) Initial and subsequent assessments;
(d) Treatment plan, including methods used, results and plan revi-

sions;
(e) Documentation of discontinuation of treatment and final sum-

mary.
(5) Records must be maintained for no less than seven years after

discharge. All records are subject to review by the agency. 
(6) All records must be legibly written or typed, dated and signed.
(7) Confidentiality: Athletic trainers are required to maintain con-

fidentiality in accordance with all applicable laws. 
(8) Initial Assessment: Prior to treatment, athletic trainers are

required to assess the athlete’s status, history, and level of functioning. 
(9) Treatment Program Planning: The treatment program objectives

must include goals, expectations and measures to determine the effec-
tiveness of the program. 

(10) Athletic trainers are required to observe the Occupational Safe-
ty and Health Act Blood Borne Pathogens Standards under 29 CFR
1910:1030 when providing services. 

(11) Practicing athletic training or offering to perform services
beyond the scope of practice permitted by law and defined in ORS
688.701, is prohibited. 

(12) Performing services that have not been authorized by the ath-
lete or the athlete’s legal representative is prohibited. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-160-0015
Collaboration of Athletic Trainers and Physicians

(1) “Collaboration” as used in this section means consultation, cor-
respondence, or referral between an athletic trainer and a physician. Col-
laboration may be initiated by the athletic trainer or physician, and con-
sists of oral or written communication between the parties or an
appropriate representative of the physician. “Collaboration” as used in
OAR 331-160-0010 and this section, does not mean providing care on
behalf of, jointly, or in concert with one another.

(2) “Consultation” as used in this section means discussing or shar-
ing information with another health care provider that is consistent with
the requirements of state and federal law regarding confidentiality for the
purposes of obtaining information or recommendations for the provision
of care to the athlete.

(3) “Referral” as used in this section means directing the athlete to
other resources for purposes of care, treatment, assessment or interven-
tion.

(4) An athletic trainer must collaborate with a physician when the
athletic injury is beyond the athletic trainer’s scope of practice or exper-
tise, or in those instances where the injury is not responding to treatment. 

(5) The athletic trainer must appropriately record collaboration with
a physician regarding an athlete or athletic injury in an acceptable man-
ner, such as notation on injury reports, medical records, or progress
reports.

(6) Nothing in this section or these rules shall be construed to pre-
vent a physician from employing, directing, supervising, establishing
protocols for, or otherwise assisting a registered athletic trainer in the
practice of athletic training consistent with the scope of practice and pro-
fessional standards of each practitioner.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 688.709, 688.715, 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.715, 688.718, 688.720
Hist.: HLA 12-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

DIVISION 405
GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

331-405-0020
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, divisions 405
through 430: 

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” the meaning is set forth in OAR 331-
030-0040. 

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 

(3) “Board” means the State Board of Denture Technology.
(4) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor is immediately acces-

sible and onsite at the business when denture technology services are per-
formed. 

(5) “High level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, which has
demonstrated tuberculocidal activity and is registered with the Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency. 

(6) “Indirect supervision” means the supervisor is available by
phone or by other means of electronic communication. The supervisor
must be able to reasonably oversee the work of the individual being
supervised, and be available for questions and assistance when needed. 

(7) “Informed Consent” means the written consent obtained fol-
lowing a thorough and easily understood explanation to the patient, or
patient’s guardian, of the proposed procedures, any available alternative
procedures and any risks associated with the procedures. Following the
explanation, the licensee must ask the patient, or the patient’s guardian,
if there are any questions. The licensee must provide thorough and eas-
ily understood answers to questions asked. 

(8) “Official transcript” means an original document authorized by
the appropriate office in the Oregon Department of Education and cer-
tified by a college, university or private career school indicating appli-
cant identity information, hours and types of course work, examinations
and scores that the student has completed. Original documents must be
submitted directly to the Agency from the college, university or private
career school by United States Postal Service mail, or other recognized
mail service providers, in a sealed envelope.

(9) “1,000 hours of supervised clinical practice in denture tech-
nology” means engaging in clinical and laboratory training in denture
technology within an Agency approved education or work experience
program. The program must include:

(a) Clinical: a minimum of 400 hours in direct patient care in den-
ture technology; and 

(b) Laboratory: construction of a minimum of 40 removable den-
tures, on 40 different patients. Each removable denture will be counted
as one denture; an upper and a lower removable denture counts as two
removable dentures.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 12-
1981(Temp), f. & ef. 7-15-81; HD 1-1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1988, f. & cert. ef.
3-4-88; HD 25-1988 (Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89;
HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-
1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998,
f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0005; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-
01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04,
cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef.
7-1-13

331-405-0030 [Renumbered to 331-440-0000]

DIVISION 407
EDUCATION 

331-407-0000
Approved Education and 1,000 Hours of Clinical Practice
Experience in Denture Technology 

(1) To be approved as an educational program with 1,000 hours
equivalent educational program with 1,000 hours supervised clinical
practice in denture technology as defined under OAR 331-405-0020
including private career schools, which is equivalent to an associate’s
degree, the provider of the educational program must submit documen-
tation which meets the requirements of ORS 680.515(1)(a) and the
Board’s approved Denture Technology Curriculum Objectives which can
be obtained on the Agency Website at http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/
DT/pages/index.aspx. This documentation must prove that the educa-
tional program has a minimum of 103 credits in quarter hours or equiv-
alent hours in the following educational areas:

(a) Orofacial Anatomy a minimum of 2 credits;
(b) Dental Histology and Embryology a minimum of 2 credits;
(c) Pharmacology a minimum of 3 credits;
(d) Emergency Care or Medical Emergencies a minimum of 1 cred-

it;
(e) Oral Pathology a minimum of 3 credits;
(f) Pathology emphasizing in Periodontology a minimum of 2 cred-

its;
(g) Dental Materials a minimum of 5 credits;
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(h) Professional Ethics and Jurisprudence a minimum of 1 credit;
(i) Geriatrics a minimum of 2 credits;
(j) Microbiology and Infection Control a minimum of 4 credits;
(k) Clinical Denture Technology a minimum of 16 credits which

may be counted towards 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice in den-
ture technology defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9); 

(l) Laboratory Denture Technology a minimum of 37 credits which
may be counted towards 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice in den-
ture technology defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9); 

(m) Nutrition a minimum of 4 credits; 
(n) General Anatomy and Physiology minimum of 8 credits; and
(o) General education and electives a minimum of 13 credits.
(2) The provider of the educational program must also submit the

following:
(a) Documentation of the educational institution’s accreditation, if

any;
(b) Documentation from the Department of Education of any cer-

tification of the educational institution, if it is a private career school;
(c) A list of the educational materials and books required for all of

the courses listed in subsection (1) of this rule; 
(d) Lecture and lab hours required in the courses at the institution,

as they equate to standard academic credit hours; 
(e) Any additional information or documentation requested by the

Agency.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 1-1983,
f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89;
HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-
1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renum-
bered from 333-020-0040; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 1-2003, f.
1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-
15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; Renumbered from 331-410-0000, HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef.
7-1-13

DIVISION 410
LICENSURE

331-410-0000 [Renumbered to 331-407-0000]
331-410-0012
Denture Technology Supervisors 

(1) To be approved as a supervisor pursuant to ORS 680.510,
680.515(1)(a) and 680.515(1)(c) an individual must:

(a) Hold a valid dentist license under ORS 679 or valid denturist
license under ORS 680 and OAR 331-410-0030; 

(b) Hold an oral pathology endorsement if supervisor is a dentur-
ist licensed under ORS 680 and OAR 331-410-0030; and

(c) Have no current or pending disciplinary action imposed by the
Agency or other regulatory body; 

(d) Submit proof of having been actively practicing denture tech-
nology for at least three years prior to requesting approval as a supervi-
sor; 

(e) Submit a completed request for approval on a form prescribed
by the Agency.

(2) An approved supervisor may not supervise until all required
documentation has been completed and submitted to the Agency and the
supervisor has received Agency approval.

(3) An approved supervisor may supervise up to two individuals
whether the individuals;

(4) An approved supervisor must provide direct supervision defined
under OAR 331-405-0020(4) when direct patient care is being provid-
ed as listed in ORS 680.500(3)(b). The supervisor is responsible for guid-
ing and monitoring the performance of the individual being supervised. 

(5) An approved supervisor may provide indirect supervision
defined under OAR 331-405-0020(6) when laboratory services are being
performed as listed under ORS 680.500(3)(a). 

(6) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing with-
in 10 calendar days if an individual is no longer being supervised, and
must provide the number of hours of training completed on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency.

(7) An approved supervisor must obtain signed informed consent
from all patients before an individual obtaining training performs ser-
vices on the patient.

(8) An approved supervisor must ensure that an individual obtain-
ing training is clearly identified to patients.

(9) An approved supervisor must exercise management, guidance,
and control over the activities of an individual obtaining training and
must exercise professional judgment and be responsible for all matters
related to the practice of denture technology. 

(10) An approved supervisor must maintain training documentation,
including documentation with handwritten signature of the supervisor
and supervisor’s license number. Training documentation must be kept
on the business premises for a minimum of two years.

(11) An approved supervisor must adhere to all practice standards
listed in OAR 331 division 420. 

(12) An approved supervisor may only provide two years of direct
supervision to each individual obtaining training pursuant to ORS
680.510(3).

(13) Agency approval of a supervisor may be withdrawn if the
supervisor provides incomplete or inadequate training during supervision
or falsifies documentation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.515
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0015 
Denture Technology Temporary License

(1) A denture technology temporary license authorizes the holder
to temporarily practice denture technology pursuant to ORS 680.515 fol-
lowing completion of an Associate’s degree or equivalent education in
denture technology and 1,000 hours of supervised clinical practice in
denture technology listed in ORS 680.515 and defined under OAR 331-
405-0020(9) while under supervision of a supervisor approved under
OAR 331-410-0012. 

(2) A denture technology temporary license is valid for one year and
may be renewed one time. 

(3) A denture technology temporary licensee may work under indi-
rect supervision as defined under OAR 331-405-0020(6). 

(4) A denture technology temporary license holder must notify the
Agency within 10 calendar days of changes in employment status or
changes in supervisor status. 

(5) A denture technology temporary license is invalid after passage
of the written and practical examination. 

(6) A denture technology temporary license holder who changes
supervisors more than three times must receive approval from the Board
prior to making a fourth or subsequent change.

(7) A denture technology temporary license holder must adhere to
all practice standards listed in OAR 331 Division 420. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0020
Application Requirements for Denture Technology Temporary
License 

An applicant for a denture technology temporary license must:
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR chapter 331 Division 30; 
(2) In addition to requirements listed in subsections (1), an appli-

cant must provide documentation of one of the following pathways:
(a) License Pathway 1 — Qualification through Associate’s

Degree Program or equivalent education with 1,000 hours supervised
clinical practice in denture technology within the education program. The
applicant must submit:

(A) Official transcript, as defined in OAR 331-405-0020, demon-
strating completion of an Agency approved Associate’s degree in den-
ture technology or equivalent education listed under OAR 331-407-0000.
The official transcript must document completion of 1,000 hours super-
vised clinical practice defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9); 

(B) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved writ-
ten examination within two years before the date of application.

(C) Supervisor information on a form prescribed by the Agency. 
(b) License Pathway 2 — Qualification through Associate’s

Degree Program or equivalent education with 1,000 hours supervised
clinical practice in denture technology under an approved supervisor. The
applicant must submit:

(A) Official transcript, as defined in OAR 331-405-0020, demon-
strating completion of an Agency approved Associate’s degree in den-
ture technology or equivalent education listed under OAR 331-407-0000; 

(B) Documentation of 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice
defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9) under an approved supervisor pur-
suant to OAR 331-410-0012 on a form prescribed by the Agency;
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(C) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved writ-
ten examination within two years before the date of application; and

(D) Supervisor information on a form prescribed by the Agency. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 25-
1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 10-1989, f.
& cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert.
ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert.
ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0015; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-
01; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04;
HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0025
Denture Technology Supervisor for a Denture Technology
Temporary Licensee 

(1) To be approved as a supervisor pursuant to ORS 680.515 of a
denture technology temporary licensee under 331-410-0015, an indi-
vidual must:

(a) Hold a valid dentist license under ORS 679 or valid denturist
license under ORS 680 and OAR 331-410-0030; 

(b) Have no current or pending disciplinary action imposed by the
Agency or other regulatory body; 

(c) Submit proof of having been actively practicing denture tech-
nology for at least three years prior to requesting approval as a supervi-
sor; 

(d) Hold an oral pathology endorsement if supervisor is a dentur-
ist licensed under ORS 680 and OAR 331-410-0030; and

(e) Submit a completed request for approval on forms prescribed
by the Agency.

(2) A supervisor may not supervise a denture technology temporary
licensee until all required documentation has been completed and sub-
mitted to the Agency and the supervisor has received Agency approval.

(3) A supervisor may supervise up to two individuals whether the
individuals are denture technology trainees or denture technology tem-
porary licensees; 

(4) An approved supervisor of a denture technology temporary
licensee may provide indirect supervision defined under OAR 331-405-
0020 when direct patient care is being provided as listed in ORS
680.500(3)(b) or when laboratory services are performed as listed under
ORS 680.500(3)(a). 

(5) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing with-
in 10 calendar days if a denture technology temporary licensee is no
longer being supervised, and must provide the number of hours of train-
ing completed on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(6) An approved supervisor must obtain signed informed consent
from all patients before a denture technology temporary licensee per-
forms services on the patient.

(7) An approved supervisor must ensure that all denture technolo-
gy trainees are clearly identified to patients.

(8) A designated supervisor must exercise management, guidance,
and control over the activities of the temporary licensee and must exer-
cise professional judgment and be responsible for all matters related to
the temporary licensees practice of denture technology. 

(9) The supervisor must maintain training documentation on the
business premises for a minimum of two years.

(10) Agency approval of a supervisor may be withdrawn if the
supervisor provides incomplete or inadequate training during supervision
or falsifies documentation.

(11) An approved supervisor must adhere to all practice standards
listed in OAR 331 division 420. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0030
Denture Technology License 

(1) A denture technology license holder, licensed under ORS
680.505, may practice denture technology defined under ORS 680.500. 

(2) A denture technology license is good for one year, and is eligi-
ble for renewal. The denture technology license becomes inactive on the
last day of the month one year from the date of issuance.

(3) A licensed denturist must adhere to all practice standards list-
ed in OAR 331 division 420. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.520 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.520 & 680.565 
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 1-1983,
f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 25-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef.
6-1-89; HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-
91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP

3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0030; HDLP 1-2001,
f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HDLP 5-2001, f. & cert. ef. 12-14-01; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-
31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-15-
05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0035
Application Requirements for Denture Technology Licensure

An individual applying for a license in denture technology must:
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 Division 30.
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of all required fees. 

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsections (1) and (2) of
this rule, an applicant must provide documentation of one of the fol-
lowing pathways:

(a) License Pathway 1 – Qualification through Associate’s Degree
Program or equivalent education with 1,000 hours supervised clinical
practice in denture technology within the education program. The appli-
cant must submit:

(A) Official transcript, as defined in OAR 331-405-0020, demon-
strating completion of an Agency approved Associate’s degree in den-
ture technology or equivalent education listed under OAR 331-407-0000.
The official transcript must document completion of 1,000 hours super-
vised clinical practice defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9); 

(B) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved prac-
tical examination within two years before the date of application; and

(C) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved writ-
ten examination within two years before the date of application.

(D) An applicant is not required to provide official transcript or
proof of having completed and passed a Board approved written exam-
ination if the applicant obtained a denture technology temporary license
within two years from the date of application for a full denture technol-
ogy license.

(b) License Pathway 2 – Qualification through Associate’s Degree
Program or equivalent education with 1,000 hours supervised clinical
practice in denture technology under an approved supervisor. The appli-
cant must submit:

(A) Official transcript, as defined in OAR 331-405-0020, demon-
strating completion of an Agency approved Associate’s degree in den-
ture technology or equivalent education listed under OAR 331-407-0000; 

(B) Documentation of 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice
defined under OAR 331-405-0020(9) under an approved supervisor pur-
suant to on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(C) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved prac-
tical examination within two years before the date of application; 

(D) Proof of having completed and passed a Board approved writ-
ten examination within two years before the date of application; and

(D) An applicant is not required to provide official transcript, doc-
umentation of 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice under an approved
supervisor or proof of having completed and passed a Board approved
written examination if the applicant obtained a denture technology tem-
porary license within two years from the date of application for a full
denture technology license.

(c) License Pathway 3— Reciprocity. The applicant must submit:
(A) Official transcript or transcripts as defined in OAR 331-405-

0020 demonstrating completion of qualifying Associate’s degree or
equivalent education, as described in OAR 331-410-0010; 

(B) An affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-405-0020(1),
demonstrating proof of current licensure as a denturist, which is active
with no current or pending disciplinary action. The license must have
been issued by a another state, the District of Columbia, a United States
Territory, or Canada, and that jurisdiction’s denturist licensing standards
must be substantially equivalent to those of Oregon, as determined by
the Agency;

(C) Documentation of having successfully passed both written and
practical denturist examinations, which are substantially equivalent to
those required for licensure in Oregon, as determined by the Agency;

(D) Documentation of having engaged in full-time denturist prac-
tice in the applicant’s reciprocal licensure jurisdiction for at least two
years immediately before the date of application for licensure in Oregon,
on a from prescribed by the Agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13
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331-410-0045
Examination Information 

(1) The Oregon licensing examination consists a written and a prac-
tical examination. A list of Board approved written and practical exam-
inations can be accessed on the Agency Website at http://www.ore-
gon.gov/OHLA/DT/pages/index.aspx.

(2) The written examination is comprised of multiple-choice ques-
tions covering subject areas specified in ORS 680.515(1)(a) and ques-
tions on the Oregon laws and rules regulating the practice of denture
technology.

(3) The practical examination requires the applicant to demonstrate
skills required to practice denture technology, including but not limited
to: final impression and model and trial dentures. 

(4) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet identi-
fication requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000.

(5) The examination is administered in English only, unless an
Agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the examination
in languages other than English. 

(6) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored dur-
ing the course of testing. 

(7) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the
Agency. 

(8) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the examination area
is prohibited. 

(9) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as per-
sonal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other devices
deemed inappropriate by the Agency, are prohibited in the examination
area. 

(10) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the examination,
the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and forfeiture of the
candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes but is not limited
to:

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and attempt-
ing to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination process;

(b) Violations of subsections (8) or (9) of this rule;
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-related

information, notes or materials from the examination site;
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the exam-

ination; and
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the

examination.
(11) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination or

the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under sub-
section (10) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, sub-
mit additional examination fees, and request in writing to schedule a new
examination date, before being considered for another examination
opportunity. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0050
Qualification and Requirements for Practical Examination 

(1) To be qualified to take the board administered practical exam-
ination the individual must submit official transcripts and documentation
of 1,000 hours supervised clinical practice listed in OAR 331-410-
0035(3)(a); 

(2) To be scheduled to take the board administered practical exam-
ination, applicants must submit a form prescribed by the Agency and pay
required fees at least 60 calendar days prior to the examination date. 

(3) A practical examination candidate must provide the following
at the time of practical examination:

(a) Government issued photographic identification listed under
OAR 331-030-0000 proving that the practical examination candidate is
the individual scheduled to take the practical examination;

(b) Government issued identification proving the patient is 18 years
of age. See identification options under ORS 331-030-0000;

(c) An oral health certificate for the patient signed by a dentist ,
physician, nurse practitioner or a licensed denturist with the oral pathol-
ogy endorsement, within 30 days of the practical examination, stating the
patient’s oral cavity is substantially free from disease and mechanical-
ly sufficient to receive a denture; and

(d) Agency prescribed practical examination candidate and patient
forms. 

(4) The patient must be completely edentulous;
(5) If a patient does not speak English the candidate for practical

examination must ensure an interpreter is available for examination proc-
tors to communicate with patient. The interpreter is prohibited from being
the practical examination candidate. Any costs incurred for interpreter
services are the responsibility of the practical examination candidate.

(6) A practical examination candidate may be disqualified from tak-
ing the practical examination if any requirements of this rule are not met.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.520 & 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.520 & 680.565 
Hist.: HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-
1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0055
Written Examination Retake Requirements 

(1) Failed sections of the written examination may be retaken as fol-
lows:

(a) After first failed attempt — applicant may not retake until the
Agency’s next business day; 

(b) After second failed attempt — applicant may not retake for
seven business days; 

(c) After third failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30
business days, must pay all additional fees and submit documentation
showing completion of additional theory and laboratory training hours
in denture technology in accordance with the percentage of questions
failed in each domain under an approved supervisor pursuant to OAR
331-410-0012. 

(d) After fourth failed attempt — applicant may not retake until the
Agency’s next business day; 

(e) After fifth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
business days; 

(f) After sixth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30
business days, must pay all additional fees and submit documentation
showing completion of additional theory and laboratory training hours
in denture technology in accordance with the percentage of questions
failed in each domain under an approved supervisor pursuant to OAR
331-410-0012. 

(g) After seventh failed attempt — ability to retake, requirements
for retake, or both will be determined by the Board on a case-by-case
basis. 

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must meet the requirements
under OAR 331-030-0000. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.515 & 680.565
Hist.: HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0060
Practical Examination Retake Requirements 

(1) Pursuant to ORS 680.515(1)(c) an applicant failing the fol-
lowing portions of the practical examination must obtain the following
additional clinical and laboratory training hours within two years from
the date of the failed practical examination: 

(a) Final impression and model: 50 hours of direct patient care and
laboratory training consisting of production of 10 removable dentures;

(b) Trial denture centric relation: 150 hours in direct patient care
and laboratory training consisting of production of 16 removable den-
tures; 

(c) Trial dentures vertical relation: 150 hours in direct patient care
laboratory training consisting of production of 16 removable dentures;

NOTE: Each removable denture will be counted as one denture; an upper and
a lower removable denture counts as two removable dentures.
(2) An applicant failing any portion of the practical examination

must apply and qualify for a temporary denture technology license under
OAR 331-410-0015 and 331-410-0020 before commencing direct patient
care; 

(3) An applicant must submit documentation approved by the Agen-
cy upon completion of additional clinical and laboratory training hours
pursuant to ORS 680.515(1)(c). Upon Agency approval of additional
training an applicant may be scheduled to take the practical examination
at a date and time approved by the Board. 

(4) An applicant applying to retake the practical examination must
meet the requirements of 331-410-0050.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565 
Hist.: HD 25-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD
13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993,
f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered
from 333-020-0032; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2014 Edition 5 - 16 (11-15-13)



02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef.
7-1-13

331-410-0065
License Renewal

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331,
Division 30 regarding the renewal of a license, and provisions regard-
ing authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for issuance
of a duplicate license. 

(2) License renewal under this rule is valid for one year. 
(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties,

license renewal must be made prior to the license entering inactive sta-
tus. The licensee must submit the following:

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to OAR 331-440-

0000; and
(c) Attestation of having obtained required continuing education

under OAR 331-415-0010, on a form prescribed by the Agency, whether
license is current or inactive.

(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A license may be inactive
for up to three years. A licensee who is inactive is not authorized to prac-
tice. When renewing after entering inactive status, the licensee must sub-
mit the following:

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 331-

440-0000; and
(c) Attestation of having obtained required continuing education

under OAR 331-415-0010, on a form prescribed by the Agency, whether
license is current or inactive;

(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: A license that has been inactive for more
than three years is expired and the licensee must reapply for licensure
and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-410-0035.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.525, 680.530 & 680.565 
Hist.: HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-
04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0080
Oral Pathology and Oral Health Certificate 

(1) Denturists licensed prior to January 1, 2004, who have not
received an oral pathology endorsement as described in ORS 680.545,
may not treat any person without first obtaining a valid Oral Health Cer-
tificate for the person, signed by a licensed dentist, physician or nurse
practitioner stating the person’s oral cavity is substantially free from dis-
ease and mechanically sufficient to receive a denture. The examination
of the oral cavity must have taken place within 30 days of the date of
commencing treatment.

(2) For the purpose of this rule “Oral Pathology” means the precise
study and diagnosis of disease including pathogenesis, morphologic
changes and clinical manifestations of the mouth (the first portion of the
alimentary canal that receives food and saliva). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.545 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.545
Hist.: HD 12-1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-29-80; HD 6-1981, f. & ef. 4-3-81; HD 4-1988,
f. & cert. ef. 3-4-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-
92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-
98, Renumbered from 333-020-0055; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO
2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-410-0090
License Display and Identification

(1) A licensee must show proof of valid license to the Agency upon
request.

(2) A licensee may obtain up to a maximum of three duplicate
licenses if the licensee provides denture technology services in multiple
locations. 

(3) A licensee must post the license document or duplicate license
document in public view where denture technology services are being
performed.

(4) A licensee may temporarily conceal the address printed on the
license document with a covering that is removable. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565
Hist.: HD 12-1980(Temp), f. & ef. 9-29-80; HD 6-1981, f. & ef. 4-3-81; HD 22-1993,
f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998,
f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0060; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04,
cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

DIVISION 415
CONTINUING EDUCATION

331-415-0010
Continuing Education Requirements

(1) To maintain licensure, a denturist must complete a minimum of
10 hours of continuing education every year. 

(2) A licensee must document compliance with the continuing edu-
cation requirement through attestation on the license renewal application.
A licensee is subject to provisions of OAR 331-415-0020 pertaining to
periodic audit of continuing education. 

(3) Continuing education must be obtained by participation in or
attendance at a course provided by an institution of higher education
accredited by the Northwest Association of Accredited Schools, the
Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, or the State Board
of Higher Education, a course or program approved by the Oregon State
Denturist Association, or the National Denturist Association, or other
professional organizations or associations which conduct educational
meetings, workshops, symposiums, and seminars where CEU credit is
offered and where subject matter meets the requirements under subsec-
tion (4) of this rule.

(4) Continuing education must address subject matter related specif-
ically to denture technology as set forth in ORS 680.515(1)(a), the rules
regulating licensed denturists, related dental practices, health care pro-
fessional concerns such as infection control or medical emergencies,
ethics, and business practices. 

(5) Continuing education may include teaching a course sponsored
by a CE provider listed in subsection (3) of this rule and where the sub-
ject matter meets the requirements under subsection (4) of this rule (pro-
vided that no more than half the required hours be in teaching).

(6) Proof of participation in required continuing education is the
responsibility of the denturist, to ensure that adequate proof of comple-
tion of required continuing education is available for audit or investi-
gation by the Agency.

(7) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing educa-
tion requirements must be maintained for a period of two years follow-
ing renewal, and must be available to the Agency upon request.

(8) A licensee may carry up to 10 continuing education hours for-
ward to the next renewal cycle.

(9) For the purpose of this rule continuing education hours mean
actual academic, classroom, or course work time, including but not lim-
ited to workshops, symposiums, or seminars. Continuing education hours
do not include travel time to or from the training site, registration or
check-in periods, breaks or lunch periods. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 680.530 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 680.530 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 11-21-89; HD 13-1991 (Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91;
HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-
1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0041; HDLP 1-2001, f.
3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 5-2008, f. 9-
15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-415-0020
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a select per-
centage of licensee records determined by the Board to verify compli-
ance with continuing education requirements. 

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing education
attestation must submit to the Agency, within 30 calendar days from the
date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence of participation
in required continuing education in accordance with OAR 331-415-0010. 

(3) Successful completion of the required continuing education will
be determined based on satisfactory evidence submitted to the Agency
at the time of audit, which must include the following:

(a) Name of continuing education sponsor/provider;
(b) Course agenda — including the date of the training and break-

down of hours for each agenda item, lunch and breaks;
(c) Course outline — including a detailed summary of each topic

discussed and the learning objective or training goal of each agenda item;
(d) Course content — including identification of the direct rela-

tionship between the course training and subject matter related to den-
ture technology as set forth in ORS 680.515(1)(a) and OAR 331-415-
0010(4);

(e) Background resume of speakers or instructors; and
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(f) Documentation of attendance or successful course completion
(eg, certificate, transcript, sponsor statement or affidavit attesting to atten-
dance, diploma, etc).

(4) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-
plete, the licensee has 30 calendar days from the date of the deficiency
notice to correct the deficiency and submit further documentation to sub-
stantiate having completed the required continuing education. 

(5) Misrepresentation of continuing education or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include but is not limited to assessment of
a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565
Hist.: HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; HDLP 1-2002, f. 5-31-02, cert. ef 6-
1-02; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

DIVISION 420
PRACTICE STANDARDS

331-420-0000
Practice Standards

Licensed denturists must adhere to the following practice standards: 
(1) Oral Health Certificate. Denturists must either have an oral

pathology endorsement on their license, or if they have not qualified for
and received the endorsement, must comply with requirements for
obtaining an Oral Health Certificate as described in ORS 680.545 and
OAR 331-410-0080. 

(2) Patient Record. A licensed denturist must record, update and
maintain documentation for each patient relevant to health history, clin-
ical examinations and treatment, and financial data. Documentation must
be written or computerized. Records must include but are not limited to
the following:

(a) Patient data, including name, address, date and description of
examination; 

(b) Evidence of informed consent (may be in the form of an
acronym such as “PARQ” to denote procedure, alternatives, risks and
questions); 

(c) Date and description of treatment or services rendered, and any
treatment complications; 

(d) Health history as applicable; and 
(e) Any other information deemed appropriate to patient care. 
(3) Clinical Examination. Licensed denturists must conduct and

record a clinical examination of each patient that will include at a min-
imum, information relative to: 

(a) Appearance of gingiva, oral mucosal membranes, pharynx,
tongue and all other oral soft tissue; and 

(b) Oral conditions that may affect successful denture construction
and use. 

(4) Record Retention. Patient documentation, written or archived
electronically by computer, must be retained for a minimum of seven
years and available upon request by the Agency. 

(5) Minimum Standards of Acceptable Patient Care. Licensees must
adhere to the following practice standards in rendering acceptable patient
care: 

(a) Maintain accurate patient records; 
(b) Seek consultation/referral if indicated; 
(c) Make accurate representation to the patient on services pro-

vided; 
(d) Provide or arrange for continuity of care or emergency treatment

for a patient currently receiving treatment; 
(e) Adhere to current denture technology practices and standards

including use of materials; 
(f) Adhere to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention infection

control standards and practices; 
(g) Wash hands using a germicidal or antiseptic soap and water

before and after every patient; 
(h) Wear disposable gloves when coming in direct contact with a

patient or when handling instruments or equipment contaminated with
blood or other potentially infectious materials. 

(i) Use new gloves before performing procedures on each patient. 
(6) A denturist providing teeth whitening trays to patients must pro-

vide the patient with written and verbal information related to teeth
whitening trays and teeth whitening solutions including the procedure,
alternatives, risks and questions which is prescribed by the Agency. The
denturist must obtain patient consent for the procedure described in this

rule and retain in patient record. The Agency prescribed information and
informed consent for teeth whitening trays and solutions can be accessed
on the Agency Website at http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/DT/pages/
index.aspx

(7) A denturist is prohibited from providing patients prescription
strength teeth whitening solutions.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 4-1988, f. & cert. ef. 3-4-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 13-
1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92, Subsections (9)(a)
through (h) renumbered to 333-020-0090 and 333-020-0100; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93,
cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-
0085; HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-
04; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-420-0010
Practice Standards for Business Premises

(1) A licensed denturist must:
(a) Ensure all areas of the business premises where denture tech-

nology is practiced are kept clean and in good repair;
(b) Have a sterilization area, where cleaning and sterilization of

reusable instruments is performed, separated from public areas, service
areas and restrooms;

(c) Maintain washing accommodations in a clean and sanitary con-
dition; 

(d) Ensure all floors, walls and procedure surfaces where services
are provided including counters, tables, and chairs are easily cleanable,
non-absorbent and non-porous; 

(e) Ensure pets or other animals are not permitted in the business
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized by
the American with Disabilities Act;

(f) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at adequate
strengths according to manufacturer’s instructions to maintain effec-
tiveness, be free of foreign material and be available for immediate use
at all times the business is open;

(g) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufacturer’s
intended use of the device by the FDA; 

(h) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers;
(i) Ensure all waste material contaminated with blood or other

potentially infectious materials, with exception of sharps, are deposited
in a covered container following service for each patient; and

(j) Ensure all sharps are discarded in a sharps container which is a
puncture-resistant, leak-proof container that can be closed for handling,
storage, transportation, and disposal. The container must be labeled with
the “Biohazard” symbol.

(2) The licensee must comply with all applicable rules and regula-
tions of the Agency and other federal, state, county and local agencies.
This includes the following: 

(a) Building, fire, plumbing and electrical codes, and with exit and
fire standards established by the Oregon Building Codes Division, and
the Oregon Office of State Fire Marshal; 

(b) Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act as it appears in ORS 433.835
through 433.875;

(c) Occupational Safety and Health Act Blood Borne Pathogens
Standards, Universal Precautions and Exposure Control Plan under 29
CFR 1910.1030; 

(d) Oregon Safe Employment Act pursuant to ORS Chapter 654 if
an employee/employer relationship exists; and

(e) All applicable Occupational Safety and Health Act standards if
an employee/employer relationship exists. 

(f) All applicable recommendations from the Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention.

(3) For the purpose of this rule “Sharps” means any object that can
penetrate the skin, including but not limited to needles or scalpel blades.

(4) A licensee must ensure all procedures performed are done in a
manner to avoid cross contamination of blood borne pathogens.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.550 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.550 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92,
Renumbered from 333-020-0085(9)(a) through (h); HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef.
1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0090;
HLO 1-2003, f. 1-21-03 cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLA 10-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-420-0020
Approved Sterilization and Disinfection Standards

(1) New gloves must be worn during any disinfection or steriliza-
tion procedure. 
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(2) The disinfection or sterilization process listed in subsection (4)
or (5) of this rule is not required if disinfected or sterilized single-use
prepackaged instruments, obtained from suppliers or manufacturers are
used. 

(3) All reusable instruments that come in direct contact with a
client’s skin or are exposed to blood or other potentially infectious mate-
rials must be disinfected or sterilized before use on a client or re-used
on another client in accordance with subsection (4) or (5) of this rule. 

(4) Approved cleaning and disinfection process for reusable instru-
ments includes the following ordered method:

(a) Clean reusable instruments by manually brushing or swabbing
visible foreign matter and rinsing the instruments with warm water and
an appropriate detergent solution to remove blood and other potential-
ly infectious materials; 

(b) Immerse reusable instruments in a high level disinfectant
defined under OAR 331-405-0020 and labeled accordingly; and

(c) Store disinfected instruments in a dry, disinfected, closed cab-
inet or other tightly-covered container reserved for the storage of disin-
fected instruments. 

(5) Approved cleaning and sterilization process for reusable instru-
ments includes the following ordered method:

(a) Clean reusable instruments by manually brushing or swabbing
visible foreign matter and rinsing the instruments with warm water and
an appropriate detergent solution to remove blood and other potential-
ly infectious materials; 

(b) Individually package reusable instruments using sterilization
pouches that include a color indicator strip to assure sufficient temper-
ature during each sterilization cycle. The date the sterilization was per-
formed must be applied to the sterilization pouch; 

(c) Place individually packaged reusable instruments in an auto-
clave sterilizer (steam or chemical), or dry heat sterilizer registered and
listed with the Food and Drug Administration; and

(d) Store sterilized instruments individually packaged in a dry, dis-
infected, closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved for
the storage of sterilized instruments. 

(6) As of July 1, 2014 all denturists are required to sterilize all
reusable instruments by use of a dry heat or steam autoclave. All instru-
ments that are not reusable and sterilized must be disposed of in an appro-
priate manner.

(7) If a denturist is using an autoclave or dry heat sterilizer under
subsection (5) of this rule the denturist must have the autoclave or dry
heat sterilizer biologically tested monthly (spore testing) verified through
an independent laboratory, to assure all microorganisms have been
destroyed and sterilization achieved. Biological spore test results must
be immediately available at all times for inspection by the Agency and
kept at facility premises for a minimum of two years.

(8) If a denturist is using an autoclave or dry heat sterilizer under
subsection (5) of this rule they must ensure the entire device is cleaned
and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and a
copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures for the operation
of the device must be kept on file at the business premise.

(9) The expiration date for sterilized reusable instruments under
subsection (5) of this rule is one year from the date of sterilization unless
the integrity of the package is compromised.

(10) All surfaces that may be contaminated by blood or other poten-
tially infectious materials must be disinfected with a high-level disin-
fectant defined under OAR 331-405-0020 and is labeled accordingly. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 680.550 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92, Renumbered from 333-020-0085(9)(a) through
(h); HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-
98, Renumbered from 333-020-0100; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO
1-2003, f. 1-21-03, cert. ef. 2-1-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-
2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

DIVISION 430
DISCIPLINE; CIVIL PENALTIES

331-430-0000
Disciplinary Action

(1) The Health Licensing Office may refuse to issue, suspend or
revoke a license, or place a licensed person on probation for the causes
stated in ORS 680.535.

(2) The agency shall have grounds for a determination of incom-
petency in the practice of denture technology pursuant to ORS 680.535,

upon evidence of the use of any controlled substance, dangerous or ille-
gal drug, intoxicating liquor, or any emotional or physical impairment
of a denturist, to the extent that such use or condition impairs or prevents
the denturists ability to perform competently.

(3) The agency shall have grounds for a determination of fraud or
misrepresentation in the practice of denture technology pursuant to ORS
680.535, upon evidence of any advertising statements of a nature that
would deceive or mislead the public or that are untruthful, such as:

(a) Incorrect use of a title; or
(b) Claiming or implying a qualification, competency or specialty

in connection with the practice of denture technology to which the per-
son is not entitled, or which is untrue.

(4) The specific identification of grounds for disciplinary action
stated in sections (2) and (3) of this rule are intended to be descriptive
of some, but not limited to, those causes for which disciplinary action
may be taken as stated in ORS 680.535.

(5) Failure to cooperate with the agency or its agent is considered
unprofessional conduct and is subject to discipline, which may include
license suspension, revocation and/or assessment of civil fines. Unpro-
fessional conduct includes, but is not limited to, the following:

(a) Failing to respond to an inquiry from the agency regarding a
complaint;

(b) Failing to provide information to the agency in response to a
written inquiry, or provide written response within specified time allot-
ted by notice of intended action; 

(c) Failing to temporarily surrender custody of original client
records to the agency upon request, which includes treatment charts,
models, health histories, billing documents, correspondence and mem-
oranda; 

(d) Interference, use of threats or harassment which delays or
obstructs any person in providing evidence in any investigation, con-
tested case, or other legal action instituted by the agency; 

(e) Interference, use of threats or harassment which obstructs or
delays the agency in carrying out its functions under ORS 680.500 to
680.535 and rules adopted thereunder;

(f) Deceiving or attempting to deceive the Board or agency con-
cerning any matter under investigation including altering or destroying
any records.

(6) When the Health Licensing Office requires correction of defi-
ciencies in lieu of the suspension, revocation or denial of license, the cor-
rection shall be made within the time frames established by the agency
or the suspension, revocation or denial of license action will proceed.

(7) Practicing denture technology while a license is in suspended
status is grounds for additional disciplinary action, which includes revo-
cation and/or fines.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.530 & 680.565
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.535 & 680.565
Hist.: HD 1-1983, f. & ef. 1-20-83; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89; HD 13-
1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f.
12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from
333-020-0075; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01

331-430-0030
Establishing Civil Penalty Amounts

The Oregon Health Licensing Agency has adopted the following
presumptive penalty schedule for the first and second violations of the
following laws and rules. The following schedule must apply except as
the Agency otherwise determines in consideration of the factors refer-
enced in OAR 331-020-0060. For subsequent violations the provisions
of OAR 331-020-0060 will apply. 

(1) Practicing or holding one’s self out as available to practice den-
ture technology, or using the title denturist without a license or with an
expired or suspended license is a violation of ORS 680.505 and may
incur a penalty of $5,000. 

(2) Licensed denturists who allow non-licensed persons to violate
ORS 680.505 are in violation of and ORS 676.612(i) and may incur a
penalty of $5,000. 

(3) Violations of ORS 680.545 may incur a penalty of $2000. 
(4) Failing to notify the Agency within 30 days of a change in busi-

ness related information or license status is a violation of OAR 331-010-
0040, and may incur a penalty of $200. 

(5) Advertising in a manner, which would deceive or mislead the
public or that is untruthful is a violation of ORS 676.612(2)(b), and may
incur a penalty of $2,000. 

(6) Violations of the practice standards in Division 420 may incur
a penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation. 
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(7) Failing to meet minimum standards of acceptable patient care
according to OAR 331-420-0000(5), as determined by the board may
incur a penalty of $5,000. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 680.565 & 680.572
Stats. Implemented: ORS 680.565 & 680.572
Hist.: HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renumbered from 333-020-0120; HDLP 1-
2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 10-
2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

DIVISION 440
FEES

331-440-0000
Fees

(1) Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR
331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penal-
ties and charges. 

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency are as
follows: 

(a) Application: 
(A) License: $350. 
(B) License by reciprocity: $450. 
(C) Temporary license: $50 
(b) Examination: 
(A) Oregon laws & rules: $50. 
(B) Written: $350. 
(C) Practical: $650. 
(c) Original issuance: 
(A) License: $350
(B) Temporary license: $50 
(d) Renewal: 
(A) License: $350
(B) Temporary license: $50 
(e) Delinquent (late) renewal of license: $25 for the first month in

expired status, and $10 each month thereafter while in an expired status. 
(f) Replacement of license, including name change: $25. 
(g) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum of

three. 
(h) Affidavit of licensure: $50. 
(i) An additional $25 Administrative Processing fee will be assessed

if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment of fees,
penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.525
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 680.525
Hist.: HD 11-1979(Temp), f. & ef. 8-23-79; HD 2-1980, f. & ef. 2-14-80; HD 11-
1981(Temp), f. & ef. 7-15-81; HD 9-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 5-24-85; HD 15-1985, f. &
ef. 9-4-85; HD 25-1988(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-88; HD 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 6-1-89;
HD 13-1991(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-30-91; HD 3-1992, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-92; HD 22-
1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; HDLP 3-1998, f. 6-26-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98, Renum-
bered from 333-020-0035; HDLP 1-2001, f. 3-21-01, cert. ef. 4-1-01; HLO 3-2003, f.
5-6-03, cert. ef. 5-15-03; HLO 2-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 2-2005, f. 12-
15-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; HLA 5-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; Renumbered from 331-
405-0030, HLA 9-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13; HLA 13-2013(Temp), f. 8-21-13, cert. ef.
8-23-13 thru 2-19-14

DIVISION 601
GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

331-601-0010
Fees

(1) Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR
331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penal-
ties and charges. 

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency are as
follows: 

(a) Application: 
(A) License: $125. 
(B) Temporary license: $150. 
(C) Trainee registration: $100. 
(b) Examination: 
(A) Oregon laws & rules: $50. 
(B) Written: $150. 
(C) Practical: $175. 
(D) Audiologist: $50. 
(c) Original issuance of license: 

(A) License: $125 for one year. 
(B) Temporary license: $100. 
(d) Renewal of license: $125 for one year.
(e) Delinquent (late) renewal of license: $25 for the first month in

expired status, and $10 each month thereafter while in an expired status. 
(f) Replacement of license, including name change: $25. 
(g) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum of

three. 
(h) Affidavit of licensure: $50. 
(i) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be assessed

if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment of fees,
penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.155 & 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 694.155 & 694.185
Hist.: HD 24-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 10-17-85; HD 33-1985, f. & ef. 12-13-85; HD 8-
1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 14-1990, f. 6-1-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; HD 17-
1990(Temp), f. 6-15-90, cert. ef. 7-1-90; HD 21-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-3-90; HD
22-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-15-90; HD 14-1991(Temp), f. 9-30-91, cert. ef. 10-1-91; HD
21-1991, f. & cert. ef. 12-31-91; HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97; OHD 9-
1999, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-99; OHD 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-00; Renumbered from
333-025-0005, HLO 6-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 6-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert.
ef. 10-1-08; HLA 6-2011(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-1-11 thru 1-28-12; HLA 12-2011, f. 10-
14-11, cert. ef. 10-15-11

DIVISION 620
GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

331-620-0005 
Definitions 

(1) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 
(2) “Assistive listening device” Assistive listening devices which

are exempt from the provisions of ORS Chapter 694 are defined as prod-
ucts designed to solve one or more specific listening problems created
by a hearing loss, and include personal or group listening devices, tele-
phone listening devices, or alert/alarm systems. The primary difference
between listening devices and hearing aids is that an assistive listening
device is designed to assist in only one, or a few, listening environments,
and is for temporary use only. A hearing aid is designed for use in a wide
range of listening environments and is primarily for full time use. The
following criteria shall be considered in categorizing an assistive lis-
tening device: 

(a) Personal Assistive Listening Device: 
(A) Is used for the assistance of only one person; 
(B) May be used either hardwired or wireless type; 
(C) May be adaptable to particular environments; 
(D) May not be fitted to an individual hearing loss; 
(E) May not be sold as a standard hearing aid; 
(F) May be an external option that will work with a hearing aid

either through the telecoil or by direct audio input coupler built into a
hearing aid. 

(b) Group Assistive Listening Device: 
(A) Includes infrared and FM systems and induction loop systems; 
(B) Includes auditory trainers that are classified as such by the FDA

exemption for group auditory trainers (21 CFR 801.421(e)); 
(C) May include telecaption decoders. 
(c) Telephone Devices for the Hearing Impaired: 
(A) Amplified handsets; 
(B) In-line amplifiers for modular telephones; 
(C) Receiver add-ons; 
(D) An external option that will work with a hearing aid. 
(d) Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD): 
(A) Typically visually based; 
(B) TDD and Teletypewriter for the deaf (TTY) systems. 
(e) Alert/Alarm Systems: 
(A) Systems that use a form of visual or vibratory stimuli to alert

an individual; 
(B) May be hardwired or use an acoustic pickup. 
(3) “Audiologist” means a person licensed under ORS 681 and who

practices audiology as defined by that statute.
(4) “CEU” means a continuing education unit and the numerical

value determined by the board to be earned by a renewal applicant by
attending a specified training course. The terms “continuing education
credit” and “continuing education unit” are synonymous and may be used
interchangeably.
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(5) “Consummation of sale” means when the purchaser takes deliv-
ery or possession of the hearing aid after agreeing to purchase the hear-
ing aid.

(6) “Continuing Education” means post-licensure education relat-
ed specifically to hearing or hearing aid technology undertaken to main-
tain professional competency to practice as a hearing aid specialist, in
the interest of safety, health and welfare of the people served. 

(7) “Demonstration instrument” means a hearing aid that has been
worn by a prospective user as part of a bona fide hearing aid evaluation
conducted in the presence of the hearing aid specialist.

(8) “Delivery” means, as used in ORS 694.042, acceptance and pos-
session of the hearing aids by the consumer, which starts the 30 calen-
dar day rescission right period. Hearing aids that have been out of the
consumer’s possession for a period of 72 hours or more for any alter-
nation or adjustment during the 30 calendar day rescission right period
may restarts the 30 calendar day rescission right period if both parties
agree to the extension in writing. Delivery includes:

(a) The initial fitting and delivery of the hearing aid(s), which must
be performed in person by a licensed hearing aid specialist, audiologist
or physician pursuant to ORS 694.025(2) including the acceptance and
possession of the hearing aid(s); and

(b) The return of a hearing aid by the consumer to the specialist,
which may be hand carried or mailed by certified mail to the official
place of business of the hearing aid specialist.

(9) “Direct supervision” means a registered supervisor is present in
the facility for the purpose of supervising and is in view the procedures
performed by a registered trainee, pursuant to OAR 331-630-0030.

(10) “Facility” means physical place of business where services
defined in ORS 694.015(4) are conducted, including but not limited to
all areas used by hearing aid specialist and client, i.e. testing location,
waiting/reception area.

(11) “Hearing aid” as defined in ORS 694.015(3) does not include
assistive listening devices as defined in OAR 331-620-0005 (2). 

(12) “Hearing aid specialist” means a person licensed pursuant to
ORS 694.015 through 694.185.

(13) “Purchase price” means:
(a) The total amount paid or agreed to be paid by or on behalf of

the consumer for the cost of the hearing aid(s); and
(b) Professional fees charged for the actual fitting and sale of the

hearing aid(s) including:
(A) The evaluation or measurement of the powers or range of

human hearing as they relate to hearing aid fitting;
(B) Hearing aid evaluation;
(C) Hearing aid consultation;
(D) Hearing aid recommendation;
(E) Hearing aid selection;
(F) Hearing aid fitting and dispensing;
(G) Adaptation of a hearing aid, if related to the original purchase;
(H) Counseling, if related to the original purchase and done by the

person dealing in hearing aids and/or company, firm or facility involved
in dispensing of the original hearing aid, and any other fees for service
which are charged in regards to a hearing aid being fitted as a therapeutic
device; and

(I) Ear impression and ear molds.
(c) Professional fees charged for diagnostic testing for medical use

when done by a physician or on a physician’s order shall be excluded
from this definition of purchase price.

(14) “Temporary licensee supervisor” means a person who has met
the requirements of OAR 331-630-0015 and who supervises a temporary
licensee who is working under the supervisor’s indirect supervision. 

(15) “Trainee” means a person who has met the requirements of
ORS 694.065, has registered with the agency and is working under the
direct supervision of a licensed hearing aid specialist to obtain the train-
ing and experience required for hearing aid specialist licensure.

(16) “Trainee supervisor” means a person who has met the require-
ments of OAR 331-630-0035 and who directly supervises a trainee work-
ing under the supervisor to obtain the training and experience required
for hearing aid specialist licensure. 

[Publications referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

DIVISION 630
LICENSURE OF HEARING AID SPECIALISTS

331-630-0001
Application Requirements

An individual applying for a license must:
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30.
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0001 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees. 

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsections (1) and (2) of
this rule, an applicant must provide documentation of one of the fol-
lowing pathways:

(a) Licensure Pathway 1 — Qualification through Trainee regis-
tration and examination. An applicant must submit:

(A) A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or General Edu-
cational Development (GED) certificate; 

(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older;
(C) Examination fees pursuant to OAR 331-640-0005;
(D) Evidence that the applicant, pursuant to OAR 331-630-0005,

has qualified to take and has obtained a passing score on the Advisory
Council on Hearing Aids (Council) Examination, the Council’s Oregon
Laws Examination and the Council’s Oregon Practical Examination; 

(E) Upon passage of all required examinations and before
issuance of a license, applicant must pay all license fees.

(b) Licensure Pathway 2 — Qualification through equivalency —
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Certification. Appli-
cant must submit:

(A) A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or General Edu-
cational Development (GED) certificate; 

(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older;
(C) Official documentation of certification by the American

Speech-Language-Hearing Association or evidence that the applicant has
met the requirements of ORS 694.085; 

(D) A passing score on the Council’s Oregon Laws Examination; 
(E) Upon passage of all required examinations and before

issuance of a license, applicant must pay all license fees.
(c) Licensure Pathway 3 — Qualification through equivalency —

Degree equivalent to requirements for certification by National Board for
Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences. Applicant must submit:

(A) A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or General Edu-
cational Development (GED) certificate; 

(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older;
(C) Official transcript from a regionally accredited college or uni-

versity demonstrating attainment of a degree sufficient to obtain certi-
fication by National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sci-
ences; 

(D) A passing score on the Council’s Oregon Laws Examination; 
(E) Upon passage of all required examinations and before

issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.
(d) Licensure Pathway 4 — Qualification through equivalency —

other state certification. Applicant must submit:
(A) A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or General Edu-

cational Development (GED) certificate; 
(B) Evidence that the applicant is 18 years old or older;
(C) Official documentation of certification (Affidavit of Licensure)

by another state regulatory authority showing that the license was issued
by another state or territory of the United States and the licensing require-
ments are at least equivalent to those in ORS 694.065 and 694.085; 

(D) A passing score on the Council’s Oregon Laws Examination; 
(E) Upon passage of all required examinations and before

issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0005 
Advisory Council on Hearing Aids Licensure Examination
Requirements

Before an individual seeking Council licensure can take the qual-
ifying examination that individual must either:

(1) Meet training and experience requirements pursuant to OAR
331-630-0040;

(2) Meet training requirements for licensure as an audiologist;
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(3) Meet training requirements for certification of a licensed physi-
cian by the American Board of Otolaryngology; or

(4) Meet the requirements for certification by the National Board
for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0011
Temporary Licenses — Application and Issuance 

(1) A temporary license may be issued to an applicant who meets
the application requirements of ORS 694.065(2) and OAR 331-630-
0001(1), (2) and (3)(a)(A), (B) and (C) following agency receipt of a
completed application and evidence of training and the required fee(s).

(2) The temporary license will be issued for a one-year period,
expiring on the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance.

(3) A temporary license holder must work under the indirect super-
vision of a supervisor as defined in OAR 331-620-0005(14). Indirect
supervision means that the supervisor is not required to be on the premis-
es with the person holding a temporary license under this rule while the
temporary license holder performs procedures.

(4) Attainment of permanent licensure status by satisfactorily pass-
ing the examination supersedes the temporary hearing aid specialist
license.

(5) A temporary license holder may change their designated super-
visor if a new Declaration of Responsibility form is signed by the new
supervisor and submitted with the application fee to the agency within
five days of separation from the former designated supervisor. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0015
Application for Registration as a Temporary Licensee Supervisor

An individual applying for Temporary Licensee Supervisor regis-
tration must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees.

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsection (1) and (2) of
this rule, a Temporary Licensee Supervisor must:

(a) Hold a current Oregon hearing aid specialist license with no cur-
rent or pending disciplinary action, and with no fines, fees, or civil penal-
ties owing to the Agency; and

(b) Have been licensed for at least three years.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0020
Supervision of Temporary Hearing Aid Specialists

(1) An individual acting as a designated supervisor for a temporary
licensee must sign and file with the agency a Declaration of Responsi-
bility form prescribed by the agency, before supervising any temporary
hearing aid specialist. The form must indicate the name of the supervising
hearing aid specialist, place of business, telephone number, current
license number, and the name, address, and license number of the tem-
porary hearing aid specialist. 

(2) The testing, fitting, or selling of a hearing aid by a temporary
hearing aid specialist shall be performed under the authority, control, and
indirect supervision of the licensed hearing aid specialist designated as
the supervisor. 

(3) The designated supervisor must review and approve the tem-
porary hearing aid specialist’s work before ordering the recommended
hearing aid(s). 

(4) A designated supervisor shall exercise management, guidance,
and control over the activities of the temporary hearing aid specialist; and
shall exercise professional judgment and be responsible for all matters
relative to the fitting and selling of a hearing aid. 

(5) Approval of a temporary hearing aid specialist’s work must be
documented by the handwritten signature of the designated supervisor,
license number, and date of review placed adjacent to the temporary hear-
ing aid specialist’s signature on any audiogram, order form, and office
copy of a statement to a prospective hearing aid purchaser as required
in ORS 694.036 and 694.042.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185

Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0025
Application for Registration as a Trainee

An individual applying for Trainee registration must: 
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0030
Trainee Registration

(1) A trainee, registered under ORS 694.065(1) may deal in hear-
ing aids under the direct supervision of a designated supervisor except
that a trainee may not fit or sell hearing aids. 

(2) The agency will authorize an Oregon licensed hearing aid spe-
cialist to act as designated supervisor of a trainee provided the licensee
holds a valid license, has been actively practicing for at least three years,
and has not had any disciplinary action or civil penalty imposed by the
agency. 

(3) A licensed hearing aid specialist must not supervise more than
four trainees at any one time. 

(4) A designated supervisor will not provide training as outlined in
OAR 331-630-0040 until a trainee registration agreement and Declara-
tion of Responsibility has been submitted to the agency.

(5) A designated supervisor must notify the agency in writing with-
in five calendar days if the trainee is no longer being supervised and
trained, and must provide a Certification of Training form to the agen-
cy showing the number of hours of training completed. 

(6) A designated supervisor’s authorization may be withdrawn for
providing incomplete or inadequate training, falsifying documentation,
or allowing the trainee to fit or sell hearing aids. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0035
Application for Registration as a Trainee Supervisor

An individual applying for a Trainee Supervisor registration must: 
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees.

(3) In addition to requirements listed in subsection (1) and (2) of
this rule, a Trainee Supervisor must:

(a) Hold a current Oregon hearing aid specialist license with no cur-
rent or pending disciplinary action, and with no fines, fees, or civil penal-
ties owing to the Agency; 

(b) Demonstrate completion of the IHS Distance Learning Program
for Professionals in Hearing Health Sciences, or demonstrate three or
more years National Board Certification; and

(c) Have been a licensed hearing aid specialist for at least four
years.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0040
Trainee Program

(1) The Trainee program consists of both practical and theory train-
ing. 

(2) Practical training consists of 520 hours of training under the
direct supervision of a Trainee Supervisor registered pursuant to OAR
331-630-0035 and must include:

(a) 60 hours in audiometric testing;
(b) 60 hours in counseling regarding hearing examination;
(c) 60 hours in hearing aid selection;
(d) 60 hours in ear-mold impressions;
(e) 180 hours in hearing aid fitting and follow-up care;
(f) 60 hours in business practices, including ethics and regulations

and sanitation and infection control; and
(g) 40 hours in electives in any of the categories listed in subsec-

tions a. through e. above.

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2014 Edition 5 - 22 (11-15-13)



(3) Theory training consists of successful completion of the Inter-
national Hearing Society’s Distance Learning Program for Profession-
als in Hearing Health Sciences.

(4) Training program materials can be reviewed at www.ore-
gon.gov/OHLA/ 

(5) Trainees who register and are approved to commence their train-
ing program before the effective date of this rule may complete their
training under the provisions of the rule that was in place at that time.
The trainee must complete the training program within 180 days fol-
lowing the effective date of this rule. A trainee failing to complete the
program within 180 days must reapply and, if accepted, must begin the
program pursuant to provisions of this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0050
General Examination Information

(1) The board approved examinations for a license include a writ-
ten examination containing both a national section and a state-specific
section, and a practical examination. 

(2) To take the examinations, an applicant must meet identification
requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000.

(3) The examination is administered in English only, unless an
agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the examination
in languages other than English. 

(4) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored dur-
ing the course of testing. 

(5) The Board will establish a maximum time allowance for each
section of the examination. 

(6) Notes, textbooks, notebooks, electronic equipment or commu-
nication devices, such as personal computers, pagers and cellular tele-
phones or any other devices deemed inappropriate by the agency, are pro-
hibited in the examination area.

(7) A candidate may be immediately disqualified before, during, or
after the examination for conduct that interferes with the examination or
otherwise violates this rule. At the time of disqualification, the exami-
nation may be invalidated and examination fees may be forfeited. Dis-
qualifying conduct includes but is not limited to: 

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and attempt-
ing to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination process; 

(b) Violations of subsection (6) of this rule; 
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-related

information, notes or materials from the examination site; 
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the exam-

ination; and 
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the

examination. 
(8) The applicant may be required to reapply, submit additional

examination fees, and request in writing to schedule another examina-
tion if applicant is disqualified from taking the examination. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0060
Examination Retake 

(1) All examination retakes are subject to examination fees and an
approved examination schedule set by the agency

(2) If after four attempts, an applicant has not passed the state
administered practical examination, the applicant must request permis-
sion from the Council to retake the examination again. If the applicant
does not pass the examination upon the fifth attempt, the applicant may
be required to retake training required under this division. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-630-0070
License Issuance and Renewal

(1) AUTHORIZATION AND RENEWAL: A licensee is subject to
the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, division 30 regarding the issuance
and renewal of a license, provisions regarding authorization to practice,
identification requirements, and requirements for issuance of a duplicate
license.

(2) AUTHORIZATION RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penal-
ties, license renewal must be made prior to the license entering inactive
status. The licensee must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-640-0005; and 
(c) Documentation of having obtained required annual continuing

education under OAR 331-650-0005, on a form prescribed by the agen-
cy.

(3) INACTIVE AUTHORIZATION: A license may be inactive for
up to three years. When renewing after entering inactive status, the
licensee must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of delinquency and renewal fees pursuant to OAR 331-

640-0005; 
(c) Documentation of having obtained required annual continuing

education under OAR 331-650-0005, on a form prescribed by the agen-
cy, whether license has been current or inactive; 

(4) EXPIRED AUTHORIZATION: A license that has been inactive
for more than three years is expired and the licensee must reapply and
meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-630-0001. 

(5) A licensee failing to meet continuing education requirements
listed under OAR 331-650-0005 must reapply and meet requirements
pursuant to OAR 331-630-0001.

(6) A licensee may not practice with an inactive or expired license.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

DIVISION 650
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

331-650-0005
Continuing Education Requirements 

(1) To maintain licensure, hearing aid specialists must complete a
minimum of 12 hours of approved continuing education each year. Cred-
it hours obtained in excess of those required for the one-year reporting
period may not be carried forward. A licensee’s continuing education
requirements remain in effect during the time a license is inactive. 

(2) Each licensee shall document compliance with the continuing
education requirement through attestation on the license renewal appli-
cation. Licensees are subject to provisions of OAR 331-650-0015 per-
taining to periodic audit of continuing education. 

(3) Approved continuing education must be obtained by participa-
tion in or attendance at a course provided by an accredited college or uni-
versity, a course or program approved by the International Hearing Soci-
ety or an agency pre-approved course or program.

(4) Continuing education must address subject matter related to dis-
pensing hearing aids in accordance with ORS 694.015 through
694.185. 

(5) CE credit will be awarded based on the following criteria:
(a) Completion and passing of academic courses taken from an

accredited college or university are awarded 15 hours for each semester-
based credit earned, 14 hours for each trimester-based credit earned or
10 hours for each quarter-based credit earned;

(b) Completion of professional courses which meet academic
course requirements in content, instruction and evaluation will be
assigned 15 hours for each semester-based credit earned, 14 hours for
each trimester-based credit earned or 10 hours for each quarter-based
credit earned; and

(c) Courses that do not meet standards as set forth in paragraphs (a)
and (b) of this subsection, such as workshops, symposiums, seminars,
laboratory exercises, or any applied experience with or without formal
classroom work may be assigned credit at the rate of one hour for each
hour of attendance. 

(6) No more than three hours may be earned in one year for cours-
es in cardiopulmonary resuscitation;

(7) Licensees must complete a two hour course in Safety and infec-
tion Control once every two years. 

(8) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing educa-
tion requirements must be maintained for a period of two years follow-
ing renewal, and must be available to the agency upon request.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12
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331-650-0010
Schedule of Civil Penalties for Violations of Laws and Rules

The agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty sched-
ule for the violations of the following laws and rules. The following
schedule shall apply except as the agency otherwise determines in con-
sideration of the factors referred to in OAR 331-020-0060. For subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 will apply.

(1) Dealing in or purporting to deal in hearing aids with an expired
license is a violation of ORS 694.025 and OAR 331-030-0010(4) and
shall incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $200; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $500; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license. 

(2) Dealing in or purporting to deal in hearing aids without a
license, with a license issued to another person, or a suspended license
is a violation of ORS 694.025 and/or 676.612(1)(d) or 676.612(4) and
OAR 331-030-0020(1) and shall incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $1,000; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including revocation or refusal to issue a license.
(3) Failing as a licensee to inform the agency within 30-calendar

days of a change of information is a violation of OAR 331-010-0040(1)
and shall incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $50; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $100; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $150. 
(4) Dealing in hearing aids by a trainee when not under the direct

supervision of a supervisor is a violation of ORS 694.025 and 694.065(2)
and OAR 331-610-0020(1) and shall incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $150; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $300; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $500.
(5) Failing, as a supervisor, to provide direct supervision of a trainee

dealing in hearing aids is a violation of ORS 694.065(2), OAR 331-610-
0020(1) and (6) and shall incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $500; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization to

provide supervisory training; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license.

(6) Failing, as a supervisor, to exercise management, guidance, and
control over the activities of the temporary hearing aid specialist is a vio-
lation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-610-0030(3) shall incur the
following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $500; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization to

provide supervisory training; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license.

(7) Failing, as a supervisor, to evaluate and approve all matters
involved in the testing, fitting, or in the sale of a hearing aid by a tem-
porary hearing aid specialist before ordering the recommended hearing
aid(s) is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-610-0030(2)
and/or (4) and shall incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $500; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization to

provide supervisory training; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license.

(8) Failing, as a supervisor of a temporary hearing aid specialist,
to co-sign and approve the audiogram, order form and office copy of
statement, or failing to mail or provide a copy of the statement to the
prospective hearing aid purchaser as required in ORS 694.036 and
694.042 is a violation of 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-610-0030(4) and
shall incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $300; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension of the authorization to

provide supervisory training; 

(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties
allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license.

(9) Failing to meet continuing education requirements pursuant to
OAR 331-630-0000(1), or to provide or retain required documentation
is a violation of 331-630-0000(11) and/or 331-630-0010(2) and shall
incur the following:

(a) For 1st offense: $500 and suspension or revocation of license; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension or revocation of license; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including revocation or refusal to issue a license.
(10) Failure to correct continuing education deficiencies within pre-

scribed time frames is a violation of OAR 331-630-0010(4) and shall
incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $500 and suspension or revocation of license; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000 and suspension or revocation of license; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including revocation or refusal to issue a license.
(11) Disqualification from an examination as a result of conduct is

a violation of OAR 331-610-0050(2) and shall incur the following penal-
ties: $1,000, disqualification from reexamination as determined by the
agency director and revocation of temporary hearing aid specialists
license

(12) Failing to keep the facility clean and sanitary is a violation of
OAR 331-640-0010(1) and shall incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $100; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $300; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(13) Failing to disinfect devices after direct contact with client’s

skin is a violation of OAR 331-640-0010(2) and shall incur the follow-
ing penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $100; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $300; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(14) Failing to wash or sanitize hands before taking an ear mold

impression is a violation of OAR 331-640-0010(4) and shall incur the
following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $100; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $300; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(15) Failing to calibrate or provide proof of calibration on audio-

metric testing equipment is a violation of OAR 331-640-0020 and shall
incur the following penalties: 

(a) For 1st offense: $100; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $300; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(16) Failing to provide a client with a properly formatted Statement

to Prospective Purchaser is a violation of ORS 694.036(1) and OAR 331-
640-0030(1) and shall incur the following penalties per violation: 

(a) For 1st offense: $300; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $500; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(17) Failing to obtain a signed medical waiver is a violation of ORS

694.142(6) and OAR 331-640-0040(2) and shall incur the following
penalties per violation: 

(a) For 1st offense: $300; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $500; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000.
(18) Failing to respond timely to an agency request for information

regarding a complaint is a violation of OAR 331-020-0050 and shall
incur the following penalties per violation: 

(a) For 1st offense: $300; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $500; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $1,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license.

(19) Failing to comply with the additional standards of conduct is
a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and OAR 331-640-0050(1), (2), (3)
and/or (4) and shall incur the following penalties per violation: 

(a) For 1st offense: $500; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license.
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(20) Failing or refusing to rescind the sale of a hearing aid is a vio-
lation of ORS 676.612(1)(j) and (2), 694.042(4), and 694.147(2)(a) and
shall incur a civil penalty established on a case-by-case basis.

(21) Failing to meet professional standards in dealing in hearing
aids in violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j), 694.147(2)(c) or OAR 331-640-
0050(3) and shall incur the following penalties per violation: 

(a) For 1st offense: $500; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license.

(22) Fraud or misrepresentation in the practice of dealing in hear-
ing aids is a violation of ORS 676.612, 694.147(2) or OAR 331-640-
0050(3) and shall incur the following penalties per violation: 

(a) For 1st offense: $500; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license.

(23) Unprofessional conduct is a violation of ORS 676.612(1)(j),
694.147(2)(c) or OAR 331-640-0050(3) and shall incur the following
penalties per violation: 

(a) For 1st offense: $500; 
(b) For 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) For 3rd offense: $5,000 in addition to any other penalties

allowed by law including probation, suspension, revocation or refusal to
issue a license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.992 & 694.147 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.615, 676.992 & 694.147
Hist.: HD 8-1990, f. 4-4-90, cert. ef. 4-5-90; HD 23-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94;
HD 18-1997, f. 12-12-97, cert. ef. 12-15-97; Renumbered from 333-025-0075, HLO 6-
2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-650-0015
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions 

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a percentage
of licensees, as determined by the Board, to verify compliance with con-
tinuing education requirements of this rule. 

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing education
attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days from the
date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence of participation
in required continuing education in accordance with OAR 331-650-0005. 

(3) If selected for audit, the licensee must provide documentation
of the required continuing education, which must include: 

(a) For courses provided by an accredited college or university —
An official transcript from the accredited college or university; 

(b) For International Hearing Society (IHS) approved programs or
courses — A certificate of completion that includes the IHS approval
number; or 

(c) For agency pre-approved programs or courses – A certificate of
completion or other agency approved documentation that includes the
agency pre-approval number. 

(4) If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the
licensee has 30 calendar days from the date of notice to submit further
documentation to substantiate having completed the required continuing
education. 

(5) Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall con-
stitute grounds for disciplinary action, which may include but is not lim-
ited to assessment of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the
license.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

DIVISION 660
STANDARD OF PRACTICE AND 
PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

331-660-0000
Standards of Practice

In addition to the standards prescribed under ORS 694.142, the
Council adopts the following standards of practice to establish and main-
tain a high standard of integrity and dignity in the profession of hearing
aid specialists. A licensee must:

(1) Maintain a clean and safe environment to ensure the health,
safety, and welfare of clients and staff in the licensee’s facility;

(2) Ensure consistent and high quality services and devices that
meets the needs of the hearing aid clients;

(3) Participate, as appropriate, with the ownership, management, or
governing body to plan, implement, and evaluate written policies and
procedures to allow that provision of hearing aid services are in com-
pliance with all local, state, and federal laws and regulations; 

(4) Communicate and problem solve regularly with the staff, co-
workers and governing body to allocate resources properly. The hearing
aid specialist must foster effective communication and problem solving
between staff, co-workers, governing body and clients; and

(5) Plan, implement, and evaluate an integrated financial program
to ensure compliance with all local, state, and federal laws and regula-
tions; quality devices and services; and appropriate and accurate billing
for devices and services. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-660-0010
Standards of Professional Conduct

The Council adopts the following standards of professional conduct
to protect the public against unprofessional conduct on the part of hear-
ing aid specialists. A licensee must:

(1) Comply with all local, state, and federal laws and regulations
concerning the provision of hearing aids. The licensed hearing aid spe-
cialist shall cooperate with any investigation of the regulatory bodies;

(2) Exercise appropriate supervision and responsibility over the
activities of staff;

(3) Protect client’s rights as required by state and federal laws;
(4) Take appropriate steps to avoid discrimination against residents

on basis of race, color, sex, religion, age, national origin, disability, mar-
ital status, ancestry, sexual orientation or any other factor that may be dis-
criminatory or not related to bona fide requirements of quality service;
and

(5) Possess and maintain the competencies necessary to effective-
ly perform the responsibilities as a hearing aid specialist, including but
not limited to: 

(a) Exercising ethical and professional decision-making and judg-
ment; 

(b) Exemplifying a philosophy focused on the provision of accu-
rate and high-quality services and devices, as well as on generally accept-
ed standards; 

(c) Abiding by and keeping confidential client information; and 
(d) Keeping current with standards of practice.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-660-0020
Safety and Infection Control Requirements

(1) Each licensee shall keep areas of their facility for otoscopic
examination, earmold impression taking, and audiometric examination
clean and sanitary. 

(2) Impression tools, otoscopic examination equipment and other
devices that come in direct contact with the client must be disinfected
prior to use. Licensees shall use an EPA registered high-level disinfec-
tant, following the manufacturer’s directions, to disinfect nondisposable
equipment and tools. 

(3) Disposable or disinfected otoscopic specula must be used when
examining each ear. 

(4) Licensees must wash or sanitize hands prior to taking an ear-
mold impression. 

(5) Licensees must observe the Universal Precautions as defined in
Oregon Administrative Rule 437-002-0360(26), and 29 CFR 1910.1030
bloodborne pathogen standards, when providing services to consumers.
Precautions to reduce the likelihood of exposure include hand washing,
gloving, using personal protective equipment, preventing injury, ensur-
ing proper handling and disposal of needles and other sharp instruments
and of products or equipment contaminated with blood and body fluids.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12
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331-660-0030
Audiometric Testing Equipment

Licensed hearing aid specialists shall maintain audiometric testing
equipment, currently used in the practice of administering evaluations,
in proper working order at all times and shall be prepared to provide their
record of at least annual calibration to a representative of the agency
when so requested, upon inspection, or during an investigation conducted
by the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-660-0040
Statement to Prospective Purchaser

(1) The term “purchaser” as used in ORS chapter 694 and OAR
chapter 331, division 660, means any person who purchases or propos-
es to purchase hearing aid(s) and any person on whose behalf hearing
aid(s) are purchased or proposed to be purchased. In the case of a client
who is a minor child or other person without legal capacity to contract,
the person’s parent, legal guardian, or legal representative is the “pur-
chaser.”

(2) To assist prospective purchasers in making an informed deci-
sion regarding the sale of hearing aid(s), licensees must provide prospec-
tive purchasers with complete and accurate disclosure of facts regarding
licensee services, the hearing aid(s) purchase price, delivery and con-
summation of sale defined in OAR 331-620-0005, and information about
the purchaser’s right to rescind or cancel a sale and the procedures for
rescinding the sale and returning the hearing aid(s) according to the pro-
visions of ORS 694.042. 

(3) The Statement to Prospective Purchaser (Statement) is a con-
tract prepared and signed by the licensee and agreed to by the purchas-
er. This Statement contains required information listed in ORS 694.036
regarding licensee and purchaser information, medical observation cri-
teria and referral to physician if medical conditions are present, speci-
fications and conditions of the hearing aid(s), terms of any warranty or
expressed guarantee, and how to file a complaint with the agency. 

(4) Licensees are required to provide all information and facts spec-
ified in this rule before the consummation of the sale, which is the deliv-
ery of the hearing aid(s) to the purchaser and the date that starts the 30-
day rescission period. 

(5) Statement Content. In addition to the information prescribed by
ORS 694.036, the Statement must include the following information and
facts about the purchase of hearing aid(s):

(a) Date of sale;
(b) Purchaser name, address and signature; 
(c) Licensee name, address, telephone number, license number and

signature; 
(d) The purchase price, which includes the cost of the hearing aid(s)

and all related fees; 
(e) An accurate description of the hearing aid as new, demonstra-

tion instrument, reconditioned, or used; 
(f) Delivery date of hearing aid(s);
(g) Date the 30-day rescission period ends;
(h) The portion of the total purchase price that will be retained by

the licensee, not to exceed 10% of the contract purchase amount or $250
per hearing aid, whichever amount is less, if the purchaser rescinds the
sale under provisions of ORS 694.042 within the 30-day rescission peri-
od; 

(i) Date and place of post-delivery follow-up session agreed upon
by the licensee and hearing aid user as stated in subsection (9) of this rule; 

(j) A printed or reproduced copy of ORS 694.042 Right to Rescind
A Hearing Aid Purchase in its entirety, which includes the procedures for
returning the hearing aid(s) to the licensee;

(k) The following statement, initialed by the purchaser: “Copies of
my audiogram and the results of tests or verification procedures were
offered to me by the licensee, and I hereby acknowledge receipt of the
records or that I declined the offer.”; 

(l) The following statement about filing complaints: “Complaints
regarding the sale, lease, or attempted sale or lease of hearing aids should
be directed in writing to: Oregon Health Licensing Agency, 700 Sum-
mer Street NE, Suite 320, Salem, OR 97301-1287. Complaint forms may
be obtained by calling 503-378-8667 or at the Agency’s Web site:
http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/Consumer_help_complaint.shtml”; and

(m) A statement acknowledging that the purchaser has read and
understands the information contained in the Statement, signed by the
purchaser and dated;

(6) Statement Format. The Statement must be printed on forms
measuring no less than 8 ½ inches wide by 11 inches long, with a min-
imum 10-point typeset, and be legibly written.

(7) Licensees must provide the purchaser a new Statement for each
hearing aid or set of hearing aids, unless the hearing aid(s) is an exact
replacement of the device listed in a previous Statement provided to the
purchaser.

(8) Refund. Any monies paid by or on behalf of the purchaser
toward the hearing aid must be refunded to the payer if the delivery of
the hearing aid to the purchaser is cancelled. The purchaser shall incur
no additional liability for the cancellation. 

(9) Post Delivery Follow-Up. Licensees will conduct and document
a minimum of one post-delivery follow-up session with the hearing aid
user before the expiration of the 30-day rescission period. The follow-
up session will take place at the original place of the sale or at a prede-
termined location agreed upon at the time of initial delivery, or at a time
and place agreed to within the 30-day rescission period. 

(b) The licensee must document in the hearing aid user’s record any
change to the agreed-upon location or date of the post-delivery follow-
up session, and, if the licensee is unable to contact the hearing aid user
or to provide the follow-up session, the reason(s) why. 

(10) In Home Sales. Sales of hearing aids made at the purchaser’s
residence and not at the licensee’s place of business, require disclosure
of federal guidelines related to “in home sales” and the purchaser’s right
to cancel the transaction and receive a full refund of monies paid to the
licensee. The following federal disclosure statement must be complet-
ed and affixed to the Statement to Prospective Purchaser when a licensee
sells a hearing aid(s) at the purchaser’s home. 

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-660-0050
Additional Conditions for Referral

(1) In addition to the conditions listed in ORS 694.142 a hearing
aid specialist shall not fit or dispense a hearing aid for use without first
determining if the following conditions exist and, if so, referring the
prospective purchaser to a physician: 

(a) Evidence of significant cerumen accumulation in the auditory
canal preventing visual inspection of the external auditory canal or exter-
nal auditory meatus and tympanic membrane or foreign body in the ear
canal; or 

(b) Pain or discomfort in the ear. 
(2) A Waiver of Medical Opinion form as required by ORS

694.142(6) must include the hearing aid specialist’s name and license
number, the purchaser’s name, address and signature with date as well
as the following statement: “I do not desire to have a medical evaluation
before purchasing a hearing aid.”

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-660-0060
Standards of Conduct

(1) Licensees must comply with the requirements of ORS
694.142, and all other applicable statutes and rules. 

(2) Licensees must conform to state or federal laws regulating retail
contracts or to any affirmation of fact or promise made in writing by the
licensee which relates to the hearing aid or fitting and dispensing services
and which becomes a part of the basis of the transaction when the pur-
chaser relies on it or is, in part, induced into making purchase by it. 

(3) Licensees must not make inaccurate or misleading representa-
tions or statements as to the efficacy of a hearing aid(s) for improving
hearing. 

(4) Licensees may not use a title or abbreviation that is misleading
or may convey that the licensee holds a credential that is not related to
hearing instrument sciences, without designating the professional field
for which the credential was issued. Hearing instrument sciences
includes, but is not limited to, core competencies identified in ORS
694.075. 

(5) The Council recognizes and adopts the revised International
Hearing Society’s Code of Ethics, as adopted October 1983 and revised
March 2009, as its professional standards model. A copy of the document
is on file at the agency for review, and may be accessed at the follow-
ing Web site:
http://insinfo.org/lhsV2/Resources/020_Code_Of_Ethics.cfm
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(6) During the hearing test or evaluation for fitting a client with a
hearing aid(s), the following items must be completed. If the case his-
tory and tests were completed within the previous six months and there
has been no substantial change in the client’s hearing, the following tests
may be performed at the discretion of the licensee: 

(a) Confidential client case history;
(b) Puretone Air Conduction Threshold testing (should include at

a minimum, the following frequencies — 250, 500, 1000, 2000, 3000,
4000, and 6000 or 8000 Hz); 

(c) Puretone Bone Conduction Threshold testing (should include at
a minimum, the following frequencies — 500, 1000, 2000, and 4000 Hz);

(d) Speech Recognition Threshold testing (SRT);
(e) Word Recognition Score (WRS) also known as speech dis-

crimination testing;
(f) Most Comfortable Listening Level (MCL); and
(g) Uncomfortable Listening Level (UCL).
(7) For children who are unable to perform the tests listed in sub-

section (6) of this rule, an objective measure that meets prevailing pro-
fessional standards can be used to assess auditory function. The test must
be completed by a licensed audiologist or physician. 

(8) Licensees must perform one or more of the following verifica-
tion procedures, within the 30-day rescission period. 

(a) Soundfield testing for speech discrimination;
(b) Soundfield testing for puretone thresholds;
(c) Real-ear probe microphone measurements;
(d) Speech mapping; and
(e) Other industry accepted objective measures.
(9) Licensees must post the following statement in public view on

the business premises or provide the purchaser with a written notice stat-
ing: “Individuals are entitled to a copy of the audiogram used to conduct
hearing evaluations and any test results.” If copies of the audiogram spec-
ified in OAR 331-660-0070, or results of tests or verification procedures
conducted under subsections (6) and (8) of this rule are requested, they
must be provided to the purchaser. 

(10) Licensees who are unable to complete testing for reasons such
as a client’s medical condition or inability to perform tests or verifica-
tion procedures are excused from compliance with the relevant parts of
subsections (6) and (8) but must document the reasons in the client’s
record. 

(11) Tests listed in subsection (8) of this rule will be used to deter-
mine the fitted hearing aid(s) ability to meet current industry standards
in reference to ORS 694.042(1)(c), during investigation of complaints
filed with the agency.

(12) Licensees must maintain a record of the technical specifica-
tions issued by a manufacturer for the hearing aid(s) that have been deliv-
ered to or purchased by their clients. The specifications must be avail-
able for inspection by the agency’s representatives upon request. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-660-0070
Uniform Measurement Standards

(1) The Council recognizes and adopts the following uniform set
of hearing loss measurement standards required for use when interpret-
ing audiograms using 0 — 110 for degrees of decibel hearing loss (dB
HL) and 125 — 8000 Hz for frequency. This set of uniform measurement
standards must be used for advising consumers on peripheral or cochlear
hearing loss: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE.]

(2) Hearing loss may have a greater effect on children than adults.
The degree of hearing loss does not necessarily reflect the degree of
impairment. 

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]
Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

331-660-0080
Client Record Requirements

(1) For the purpose of clarifying record keeping requirements, the
term “client” as used in this rule, means the individual who is a consumer,
purchaser, potential purchaser or hearing-aid wearer.

(2) Required Records. Licensees must record, update and maintain
documentation for each client relevant to health history, clinical exam-
inations and treatment, and financial data. Documentation shall be writ-
ten or computerized. Records must include the following information:

(a) Basic client information, including name, address, telephone
number and dates of service; 

(b) Health history relevant to hearing evaluation or fitting of a hear-
ing aid(s), including referral to a physician or a Waiver of Medical Opin-
ion form required by ORS 694.142(6);

(c) Identification of any conditions that would require referral to a
physician licensed under ORS chapter 677, as required in ORS
694.142(1) and OAR 331-660-0050, and a notation that the client was
referred;

(d) Audiograms as specified in OAR 331-660-0070 and results of
tests or verification procedures as specified in OAR 331-660-0060;

(e) A copy of the Statement to Prospective Purchaser required by
ORS 694.036 and OAR 331-660-0040, including client’s signature and
date acknowledging that the client has read and understands the infor-
mation contained in the purchase agreement;

(f) A copy of the Right to Rescind a Hearing Aid Purchase giving
notice of rights under ORS 694.042; and

(g) Date and description of services rendered in the form of “chart
notes”, including any complications. Chart notes must include the
recorder’s initials, license number and professional title if multiple prac-
titioners provide service to the client. 

(3) Record Format. Records and documentation must be accurate,
complete, and legible, typed or recorded using ink. Legible hand-writ-
ten or electronic records are acceptable. 

(4) Record Identifiers. Client records listed in subsection (1) of the
rule, must include the licensee’s name, license number, professional title
or abbreviation, and signature or initials somewhere on the documenta-
tion as a means of identifying the person who is providing service to the
client. This information may be affixed to the record(s) in the form of a
professional stamp or handwritten entry. 

(5) Record Retention. All client records and documentation, writ-
ten or archived electronically by computer, must be stored and main-
tained for a minimum of seven years after the licensee has last seen the
client or past the age of minority, so that the records are safeguarded,
readily retrievable, and available for inspection by the Oregon Health
Licensing Agency’s representative. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 376.615, 694.115, 694.170, 694.185
Stats. Implemented: ORS 694.025, 694.125, 694.185
Hist.: HLA 13-2012, f. 8-16-12, cert. ef. 8-17-12

DIVISION 705
RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND 

POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
LICENSING BOARD — GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

331-705-0050
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-705-0000 through
331-720-0020: 

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document or other
approved means of verifying an authorization to practice (certification,
licensure or registration) status and history, including information dis-
closing all unresolved or outstanding penalties and/or disciplinary
actions. Refer to OAR 331-030-0040. 

(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 
(3) “AASM” means the American Academy of Sleep Medicine.
(4) “A-STEP” means the Accredited Sleep Technology Education

Program.
(5) “BRPT” means Board of Registered Polysomnographic Tech-

nologists.
(6) “CAAHEP” means Commission on Accreditation of Allied

Health Education Programs.
(7) “CoARC” means Commission on Accreditation for Respirato-

ry Care.
(8) “CRT” means Certified Respiratory Therapist.
(9) “NBRC” means the National Board for Respiratory Care.
(10) “Official transcript” means an original document authorized

by the appropriate office in the Oregon Department of Education and cer-
tified by a college or university indicating applicant identity information,
hours and types of course work, examinations and scores that the student
has completed. Original documents must be submitted directly to the
Agency from the college or university by United States Postal Service
mail or other recognized mail service providers in a sealed envelope;

(11) “RPSGT” means Registered Polysomnographic Technologists.
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(12) “RRT”means Registered Respiratory Therapist.
(13) “Qualified Medical Director for Polysomnography” has the

definition set forth in ORS Chapter 688.800.
(14) “Qualified Medical Director for Respiratory Care” has the def-

inition set forth in ORS Chapter 688.800.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 7-2010, f. & cert.
ef. 11-1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-705-0080
Licensure Exemption for Supervisors and Polysomnography
Students

(1) Students actively enrolled in the following education programs
are exempt from polysomnographic technologist licensure pursuant to
ORS 688.805(2)(b)(A):

(a) Associate’s degree program in polysomnography, polysomno-
graphic technology, or sleep technology from an accredited communi-
ty college, college, or university; or 

(b) Polysomnography course of study from a CAAHEP accredit-
ed institution; 

(2) In accordance with ORS 688.805(2)(b)(B) to be exempt from
licensure students in subsection (1) of this rule must be supervised by one
of the following: 

(a) A licensed polysomnographic technician; 
(b) A qualified medical director for polysomnography; 
(c) Respiratory therapist who holds a Sleep Disorder Specialty cre-

dential through the NBRC; or
(d) Respiratory therapist who holds a RSPGT credential through the

BRPT.
(3) Direct supervision, for the purpose of this rule, is supervision

of a student in polysomnography by an approved supervisor who is phys-
ically present with the student while the student is working. The super-
visor must exercise direction and control over the student’s work. An
approved supervisor supervising a student may not supervise more than
one student per shift.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 676.611, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 688.800 & 688.805
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 5-2013(Temp), f. 3-12-13, cert.
ef. 4-1-13 thru 9-28-13; HLA 7-2013, f. 5-16-13, cert. ef. 6-1-13

DIVISION 710
RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND 

POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
LICENSING BOARD — APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

331-710-0000
Training

Training, or formal education, required for licensure is a planned
sequence of instruction of specific content, pursuant to ORS
688.815(1)(c), structured to meet stated curriculum objectives which
includes evaluation of attainment of those objectives, and offered by a
post-secondary educational institution accredited by the Committee On
Accreditation For Respiratory Care, or its successors, or recognized by
the National Board for Respiratory Care. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04

331-710-0005
Respiratory Therapist License

(1) A respiratory therapist license holder, licensed under ORS
688.815, may perform respiratory care services and polysomnography
services defined under ORS 688.800. 

(2) A respiratory therapist license is good for one year and becomes
inactive on the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-710-0010
Application Requirements for a Respiratory Therapist License

An individual applying for licensure to practice respiratory care
must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30.

(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-
cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application and license fees. 

(3) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background check
pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004; 

(4) Be at least 18 years of age and provide official documentation
confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth certificate, driver’s
license, passport or military/government identification; 

(5) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; and 
(6) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation

from an Agency approved provider; and 
(7) Submit documentation of qualification for licensure through one

of the following pathways: 
(a)(A) License Pathway One — National Credentialing: An appli-

cant for licensure through national credentialing must submit: 
(B) An official documentation demonstrating that the applicant has

successfully passed the Board approved examination listed under OAR
331-712-0000, within two years before the date of application. The doc-
umentation of a passing score must be mailed by the organization to the
Agency. Copies of examination results or other documentation provid-
ed by the applicant are not acceptable. 

NOTE: The applicant is responsible for payment of fees assessed by the orga-
nization when obtaining required official documentation. 
(b) License Pathway Two — Reciprocity 
An applicant for licensure through reciprocity must submit: 
(A) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-

0040, from every state where the applicant has been licensed as a res-
piratory therapist, including an affidavit of licensure demonstrating proof
of a current respiratory therapist license from another state, obtained
through qualifications substantially equivalent to Oregon’s requirements.
At least one of the applicant’s out-of-state licenses must be active and
all of the applicant’s out-of-state licenses must not be subject to current
or pending disciplinary action, and must be free from disciplinary his-
tory for three years before the date of application for Oregon respirato-
ry therapist licensure; 

(B) Official documentation demonstrating that the applicant has
successfully passed the Board approved examination listed under OAR
331-712-0000. The documentation of a passing score must be mailed by
the organization to the Agency. Copies of examination results or other
documentation provided by the applicant are not acceptable. 

NOTE: The applicant is responsible for payment of any service fee the origi-
nating jurisdiction may assess for producing the Affidavit of Licensure.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 10-2004(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 11-8-04 thru 3-31-05; HLO 1-2005, f. 2-28-05 cert. ef. 3-1-05; HLA 7-2010,
f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 14-2012, f. 9-
12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12

331-710-0015
Temporary Respiratory Therapist Licensure

(1) A respiratory therapist temporary license authorizes a holder to
practice respiratory care under supervision and pending passage of the
qualifying examination. 

(2) For the purpose of this rule supervision means the required pres-
ence of a licensed respiratory therapist or qualified Medical Director for
respiratory care within the work location at the same time as the respi-
ratory therapist temporary license holder.

(3) A respiratory therapist temporary license holder must notify the
Agency within 10 calendar days of changes in employment status or
supervisor. 

(4) A respiratory therapy temporary license is valid for six months
and may not be renewed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-710-0020
Application Requirements for a Temporary Respiratory Therapist
License 

To qualify for a respiratory therapist temporary license for the appli-
cant must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application and license fees; 
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(3) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background check
pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004; 

(4) Be at least 18 years of age, and provide official documentation
confirming the applicant’s date of birth, such as a copy of the birth cer-
tificate, driver’s license, or passport; 

(5) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
from an Agency approved provider; 

(6) Submit a statement, signed by the Registrar or a Dean of a col-
lege or university and sent directly to the Agency from that college or
university, verifying the applicant has completed all work necessary to
obtain a degree in respiratory care; and

(7) Submit documentation identifying approved supervisor on a
form prescribed by the Agency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 7-2010, f. & cert.
ef. 11-1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-710-0045
Polysomnographic Technologist License

(1) A polysomnographic technologist, licensed under ORS
688.815, may perform polysomnography services defined under ORS
688.800. 

(2) A polysomnographic technologist license is good for one year
and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from the date
of issuance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830 
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-710-0050
Application Requirements for Polysomnographic Technologist
License

(1) Provisions of this rule become effective October 15, 2012. Pur-
suant to Oregon Laws 2011, Chapter 715, Sections 7 and 9, polysomno-
graphic technologists must be licensed by January 1, 2013. 

(2) An individual applying for licensure to practice polysomnog-
raphy who does not meet the grandfathering requirements or who applies
for licensure after January 1, 2013 must: 

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR chapter 331 division 30; 
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, containing the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and accom-
panied by payment of the required application fees; 

(c) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background check
pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004; 

(d) Be at least 18 years of age, and must provide documentation,
confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth certificate, driver’s
license or passport; 

(e) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
(f) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation by

an Agency approved provider; and 
(3) Submit documentation of qualification through one of the fol-

lowing pathways: 
(a) License Pathway One — Academic Degree: An applicant under

pathway one must: 
(A) Submit official transcripts defined under OAR 331-705-0050

showing successful completion of an Associate’s degree in polysomnog-
raphy, polysomnographic technology, or sleep technology from an
accredited community college, college or university, or successful com-
pletion of a polysomnography course of study from a CAAHEP accred-
ited institution. In addition to an official transcript defined under 331-
705-0050 an applicant who has obtained education through a CAAHEP
accredited institution must submit a statement, signed by the Registrar
or a Dean of a college or university and sent directly to the Agency from
that college or university, verifying the applicant has successfully com-
pleted a polysomnography course of study;

(B) Submit satisfactory evidence of passage a Board approved
examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(1) within two years before
the date of application. Examination results must be submitted to the
Agency directly from the examination provider; examination results or
other documentation provided directly by the applicant are not accept-
able; 

(C) Submit examination fees; 
(D) Submit satisfactory evidence of having passed the Board

approved examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(3) within two
years before the date of application; and 

(E) Submit licensing fees. 
(b) License Pathway Two — Polysomnographic Technologist Tem-

porary Licensee: applying for permanent licensure must: 
(A) Submit documentation showing completion of 18 months of

work experience pursuant to OAR 331-710-0110, obtained under
polysomnographic technologist temporary-DS licensure (See 331-710-
0060) and temporary-IS licensure (See 331-710-0080), including veri-
fication by an approved supervisor pursuant to 331-710-0100, and cer-
tification of successful completion and satisfactory performance of such
experience by a qualified medical director for polysomnography, all on
forms provided by the Agency; 

(B) Submit satisfactory evidence of passage of a Board approved
examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(1) or (2) within two years
before the date of application. Examination results must be submitted to
the Agency directly from the examination provider; examination results
or other documentation provided directly by the applicant are not accept-
able; 

(C) Submit examination fees; 
(D) Submit satisfactory evidence of having passed the Board

approved examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(3) within two
years before the date of application; and 

(E) Submit licensing fees. 
(c) License Pathway Three — Reciprocity: An applicant for licen-

sure by reciprocity must: 
(A) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-

0040, from every state where the applicant has been licensed as a
polysomnographic technologist, including an affidavit of licensure
demonstrating proof of a current polysomnographic technologist
license from another state, obtained through qualifications substantial-
ly equivalent to Oregon’s requirements. At least one of the applicant’s
out-of-state licenses must be active and all of the applicant’s out-of-state
licenses must not be subject to current or pending disciplinary action, and
must be free from disciplinary history for three years before the date of
application for Oregon polysomnographic licensure; 

(B) Submit satisfactory evidence of having passed the Board
approved examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(3) within two
years before the date of application; and 

(C) Submit licensing fees. 
(d) License Pathway Four — Endorsement: An applicant may qual-

ify for licensure by endorsement if the applicant holds a qualifying pro-
fessional credential in another field. An applicant for licensure by
endorsement must: 

(A) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040
demonstrating proof of a current license, which is active with no current
or pending disciplinary action, and no disciplinary history for the three
years before the date of application for Oregon polysomnographic licen-
sure, as a: 

(B) Physician (Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy)
licensed under ORS Chapter 677; 

(C) Respiratory therapist licensed under ORS chapter 688 with the
RPSGT credential from the BRPT; or 

(D) CRT or RRT who holds a Sleep Disorder Specialty credential
through NBRC; 

(E) Submit examination fees; 
(F) Submit satisfactory evidence of having passed the Board

approved examination listed under OAR 331-712-0010(3) within two
years before the date of application; and 

(G) Submit licensing fees.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615, 688.815 & 688.830
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-
14-12; HLA 4-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13

331-710-0060
Polysomnographic Technologist Temporary-DS (Direct Supervision)
Licensure

(1) Provisions of this rule become effective October 15, 2012. A
polysomnographic technologist Temporary-DS license authorizes the
holder to temporarily practice polysomnography under direct supervision
by an approved supervisor. 

(2) Direct supervision is supervision of the Temporary-DS
licensee by an approved supervisor who is immediately physically pre-
sent with the Temporary-DS licensee while the Temporary-DS licensee
is working, and who exercises direction and control over the Temporary-
DS licensee’s work.
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(3) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-DS license hold-
er must notify the Agency within 10 calendar days of changes in employ-
ment status and changes in supervisor. 

(4) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-DS license is
valid for six months and may not be renewed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 688.830
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12

331-710-0070
Application Requirements for Polysomnographic Technologist
Temporary-DS License 

Provisions of this rule become effective October 15, 2012. An appli-
cant for a polysomnographic technologist Temporary-DS license must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR chapter 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-

cy, containing the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and accom-
panied by payment of the required application fees; 

(3) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background check
pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004; 

(4) Be at least 18 years of age, and must provide documentation
confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth certificate, driver’s
license, or passport; 

(5) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
from an Agency approved provider; 

(6) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; and 
(7) Submit official transcripts defined under OAR 331-705-0050

or documentation approved by the Agency which shows a minimum of
proof of successful completion of an Emergency Medical Technician
Basic Program, Certified Nursing Assistant Level One Program or A-
STEP Introductory Course; OR

(8) Submit official transcripts defined under OAR 331-705-0050
or documentation approved by the Agency which shows proof of suc-
cessful completion of 80 clocks hours of professional or post-secondary
coursework, provided by an in-person or real-time remote instructor, in
two or more of the following: Human Anatomy and Physiology, Medi-
cal Law and Ethics, Basic Electrocardiogram, Introduction to Health Ser-
vices, Chemistry for Health Occupations, Health Care Systems, Medi-
fecta Healthcare Training Course, Polysomnographic Technologist
Online Audiovisual Content, Basic Allied Health Classes and other
courses approved by the agency; AND must

(9) Submit a certificate of completion for the AASM A-STEP Self
Study Modules;

(10) Submit information identifying the applicant’s approved super-
visor pursuant to OAR 331-710-0100, on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy; 

(11) Submit appropriate licensing fees.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 688.830
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12

331-710-0080
Polysomnographic Technologist Temporary-IS (Indirect
Supervision) Licensure

(1) Provisions of this rule become effective October 15, 2012. A
polysomnographic technologist Temporary-IS license authorizes the
holder to temporarily practice polysomnography under indirect super-
vision by an approved supervisor. 

(2) Indirect supervision is supervision of the Temporary-IS licensee
by an approved supervisor who is physically present and onsite, but may
not be immediately accessible at the sleep facility when the Temporary-
IS licensee is working, who reasonably oversees the work of the Tem-
porary-IS licensee, and who is available for questions and assistance
when needed. 

(3) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-IS license hold-
er must notify the agency within 10 calendar days of changes in employ-
ment status and changes in supervisor. 

(4) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-IS license under
OAR 331-710-0090(4)(a) pathway one temporary licensee-DS and (b)
pathway two an individual with qualified experience received prior to
January 1, 2013 are is valid for one year and may be renewed once. 

(5) A polysomnographic technologist Temporary-IS license under
OAR 331-710-0090(4)(c) pathway three academic degree is valid for one
year and may not be renewed. 

(6) A Temporary-IS licensee is prohibited from performing services
on persons 12 and under. 

(7) A polysomnographic technologist temporary-IS license is
invalid after passage of all required written examinations listed under
OAR 331-712-0010 for a full polysomnographic technologist license
under 331-710-0040. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 688.830
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12; HLA 16-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
11-19-12 thru 5-17-13; HLA 4-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13

331-710-0090
Application Requirements for Polysomnographic Temporary-IS
Licensure

Provisions of this rule become effective October 15, 2012. An appli-
cant for a polysomnographic technologist Temporary-IS license must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR chapter 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, containing the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and accom-
panied by payment of all required fees; 

(3) Be at least 18 years of age, and provide official documentation
confirming the applicant’s date of birth, such as a copy of the birth cer-
tificate, driver’s license, or passport; 

(4) Submit current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
from an Agency approved provider; 

(5) Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background check
pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004; 

(6) Submit documentation of qualification through one of the fol-
lowing pathways: 

(a) Temporary License-IS Pathway One: Temporary Licensee-DS:
applying for Temporary-IS licensure must: 

(A) Submit documentation of successful completion of 30 sleep
tests as a polysomnographic technologist Temporary-DS licensee, which
includes the signatures of an approved supervisor and certification by a
qualified medical director for polysomnography of successful comple-
tion of 30 sleep studies and satisfactory performance; 

(B) Submit examination fees; 
(C) Complete and pass the Oregon Laws and Rules examination for

polysomnography within two years before the date of registration appli-
cation; 

(D) Submit information identifying the applicant’s approved super-
visor on a form prescribed by the Agency; and 

(E) Submit appropriate licensing fees. 
(b) Temporary License-IS Pathway Two: This rule is in effect

through July 1, 2013. An individual with qualified experience received
prior to January 1, 2013, applying for Temporary-IS licensure must: 

(A) Submit form prescribed by the Agency documenting comple-
tion of 30 sleep studies within the last six months which were prior to
January 1, 2013. The form must be signed by a qualified medical direc-
tor for polysomnography. The agency may accept up to six months of
work experience for completion of 30 sleep studies if received prior to
January 1, 2013. The six months of work experience may be applied
toward the required 18 months of work experience under OAR 331-710-
0050;

(B) Submit official transcripts defined under OAR 331-705-0050
or documentation approved by the Agency which shows a minimum of
proof of successful completion of an Emergency Medical Technician
Basic Program, Certified Nursing Assistant Level One Program or A-
STEP Introductory Course; OR 

(C) Submit official transcripts defined under OAR 331-705-0050
or documentation approved by the Agency which shows proof of suc-
cessful completion of 80 clocks hours of professional or post-secondary
coursework, provided by an in-person or real-time remote instructor, in
two or more of the following: Human Anatomy and Physiology, Medi-
cal Law and Ethics, Basic Electrocardiogram, Introduction to Health Ser-
vices, Chemistry for Health Occupations, Health Care Systems, Medi-
fecta Healthcare Training Course, Polysomnographic Technologist
Online Audiovisual Content, Basic Allied Health Classes and other
courses approved by the agency; AND must 

(D) Submit examination fees; 
(E) Complete and pass the Oregon Laws and Rules examination for

polysomnography within two years before the date of registration appli-
cation; 

(F) Submit information identifying the applicant’s approved super-
visor on a form prescribed by the Agency; and 

(G) Submit appropriate licensing fees. 
(c) Temporary License-IS Pathway Three: Academic Degree:

applying for Temporary-IS licensure must: 
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(A) Submit a statement, signed by the Registrar or a Dean of a col-
lege or university and sent directly to the Agency from that college or
university, verifying the applicant has completed all work necessary to
obtain an associate’s degree in polysomnography, polysomnographic
technology, or sleep technology from an accredited community college,
college or university, or successful completion of a polysomnography
course of study from a CAAHEP accredited institution;

(B) Submit examination fees; 
(C) Complete and pass the Oregon Laws and Rules examination for

polysomnography within two years before the date of registration appli-
cation; 

(D) Submit information identifying the applicant’s approved super-
visor on a form prescribed by the Agency; and 

(E) Submit appropriate licensing fees. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 688.830
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12; HLA 16-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
11-19-12 thru 5-17-13; HLA 4-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13

331-710-0100
Supervision of a Temporary Polysomnographic Technologist

(1) Provisions of this rule become effective October 15, 2012. To
be approved as a supervisor of a polysomnographic temporary licensee,
an individual must:

(a) Hold a valid polysomnographic technologist license under ORS
chapter 688 or provide proof of being a “qualified medical director for
polysomnography” as defined in ORS 688.800(3); 

(b) Have no current or pending disciplinary action imposed by the
Agency or other regulatory body; and

(c) Submit proof of having been actively practicing polysomnog-
raphy for at least three years prior to requesting approval as a supervi-
sor; and

(d) Submit a completed request for approval on a form prescribed
by the Agency; 

(2) A polysomnography supervisor shall not supervise a temporary
licensee until all Agency required documentation has been completed and
submitted to the Agency and the supervisor has received Agency
approval.

(3) A supervisor may supervise up to four patients per shift; whether
they are the supervisor’s own patients or patients of temporary DS or IS
licensees.

(4) An approved supervisor of a Temporary-DS licensee must be
immediately physically present with the Temporary-DS licensee while
the Temporary-DS licensee is working, and must exercise direction and
control over the Temporary-DS licensee’s work.

(5) An approved supervisor of a Temporary-IS licensee must be
physically present and onsite, but may not be immediately accessible at
the sleep facility when the Temporary-IS licensee is working, and must
reasonably oversee the work of the Temporary-IS licensee, and be avail-
able for questions and assistance when needed.

(6) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing with-
in 10 calendar days if a temporary polysomnographic technologist
licensee is no longer being supervised, and must provide the number of
hours of training completed on a form prescribed by the Agency.

(7) A designated supervisor must exercise management, guidance,
and control over the activities of the temporary polysomnographic tech-
nologist and must exercise professional judgment and be responsible for
all matters related to the polysomnography.

(8) Approval of a temporary polysomnographic technologist’s work
experience under OAR 331-710-0110 must be documented by the hand-
written signature of the approved supervisor, the supervisor’s license
number, and date of supervisor’s review, placed beside the temporary
polysomnographic technologist’s signature, on a form prescribed by the
agency.

(9) An approved supervisor’s Agency approval may be withdrawn
if the supervisor provides incomplete or inadequate training during super-
vision or falsifies documentation.

NOTE: This rule is not intended for or required of purely administrative super-
visors.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 688.830
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12

331-710-0110
Work Experience Requirements for Polysomnography

(1) Provisions of this rule become effective October 15, 2012. Work
experience for polysomnography applicants must involve all of the fol-
lowing:

(a) Patient interaction & professional behavior;
(b) Patient assessment;
(c) Polysomnography theory;
(d) Performing polysomnography preparation and setup;
(e) Performing polysomnography recording and monitoring;
(f) Scoring sleep studies;
(g) Artifacts, and arrhythmias;
(h) Sleep related breathing disorders;
(i) Positive airway pressure and oxygen; 
(j) Evaluation of sleepiness;
(k) Movement disorders: disorders involving arousal and seizures;
(l) Scoring waveforms;
(m) Scoring sleep stages;
(n) Scoring respiratory events;
(o) Scoring arousals, electroencephalography abnormalities, move-

ments and cardiac events;
(p) Sleep deprivation;
(q) Insomnia; 
(r) Medications and sleep;
(s) Circadian sleep and shift work
(t) Arrhythmia recognition; 
(u) Emergency procedures and care;
(v) Patient education and mask fitting; 
(w) Pediatric sleep; and
(2) For the purpose of this rule “Artifact” means an extraneous elec-

trical signal in a recording channel on a polysomnograph, which origi-
nates from the patient, equipment, or external sources, and which may
mask or interfere with the desired signal (E.g., snores that appear on the
EEG channel, pulses of hypertensive patients that appear on the chin
EMG channel, etc.).

NOTE: A Temporary-IS licensee is prohibited from performing services on per-
sons 12 and under. See OAR 331-710-0080.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.615, 676.607, 688.819 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.800, 688.815, 688.819 & 688.830
Hist.: HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-14-12

DIVISION 712
RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC
TECHNOLOGISTS LICENSING BOARD — EXAMINATIONS

331-712-0000
Respiratory Care Approved Examination

The Board has selected the CRT or RRT examination administered
by the NBRC as its minimal qualifying examination for licensure. Indi-
vidual applicants are responsible for payment of all NBRC application,
examination, national certification or other fees directly to NBRC. 

NOTE: An applicant is responsible for direct payment to the NBRC of all appli-
cation, examination, national certification or other fees associated with the
NBRC.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, ORS 676.607, ORS 676.612, 676.615, 676.625,
688.815 & 688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-712-0010
Polysomnography Approved Examinations

The Board has approved the following examinations for qualifi-
cation as a licensed polysomnographic technologist:

(1) The RPSGT “registration examination” administered by the
BRPT; 

(2) The SDS examination administered by the NBRC; and
(3) The Oregon Laws and Rules examination for polysomnography

administered by the Agency.
NOTE: An applicant is responsible for direct payment to the organization of all
application, examination, national certification or other fees associated with any
examination.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830 & 2011 OL Ch. 715
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, ORS 676.607, ORS 676.612, 676.615, 676.625,
688.815 & 688.830, 688.834, 688.836 & 2011 OL Ch. 715
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 14-2012, f. 9-12-12, cert. ef. 9-
14-12

331-712-0020
General Examination Information

(1) To be eligible for examination administered by the Agency, an
applicant must meet identification requirements listed under OAR 331-
030-0000.
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(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an
Agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the examination
in languages other than English. 

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored dur-
ing the course of testing. 

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the
Board. 

(5) Notes, notetaking, textbooks, notebooks, electronic equipment
and communication devices, such as personal computers, pagers and cel-
lular telephones or any other devices deemed inappropriate by the Agen-
cy, are prohibited in the examination area.

(6) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the examination,
the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and forfeiture of the
candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes but is not limited
to:

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, attempting to
give, receive or solicit aid during the examination process;

(b) Violations of subsections (1), (5), or (6) of this rule;
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-related

information, notes or materials from the examination site;
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the exam-

ination; and
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the

examination.
(7) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination or

the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under sub-
section (6) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, sub-
mit additional examination fees, and request in writing to schedule a new
examination date, before being considered for another examination
opportunity. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, ORS 676.607, ORS 676.612, 676.615, 676.625,
688.815 & 688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

DIVISION 715
RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND 

POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
LICENSING BOARD — LICENSURE; RENEWAL

331-715-0000
License Display and Posting Requirements 

(1) A licensee must show proof of valid license with the agency
upon request or post the license document in public view at the licensees
primary workplace. 

(2) A licensee may temporarily conceal the address printed on the
license document with a covering that is removable. 

(3) A licensee must carry the license identification card (pocket
card) with them, or post in plain view, the official license anytime ser-
vices are being provided.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 1-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-98 thru 4-1-98; HDLP 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98;
HDLP 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-1-01; HDLP 3-2001, f. 6-29-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01; HLO
4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10

331-715-0010
License Renewal 

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, divi-
sion 30 regarding the renewal of a license, and provisions regarding
authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for issuance
of a duplicate license. 

(2) License renewal under this rule is valid for one year.
(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties,

license renewal must be made prior to the license entering inactive sta-
tus. The licensee must submit the following:

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to OAR 331-705-

0060; 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required biannual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-720-0010 or 331-720-0015, on a form prescribed
by the Agency, whether license is current or inactive; and

(d) Information, on a form prescribed by the Agency, permitting the
Agency to perform a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR
331-030-0004; 

(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A license may be inactive
for up to three years. A licensee who is inactive is not authorized to prac-
tice. When renewing after entering inactive status, the licensee must sub-
mit the following:

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 331-

705-0060; 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required biannual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-720-0010 or 331-720-0015, on a form prescribed
by the Agency, whether license is current or inactive;

(d) Information, on a form prescribed by the Agency, permitting the
Agency to perform a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR
331-030-0004; 

(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: A license that has been inactive for more
than three years is expired and the licensee must reapply for licensure
and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-710-0010 or 331-710-
0050.

(6) A licensee failing to meet continuing education requirements
listed under OAR 331-720-0010 or 331-720-0015 is considered to have
an expired license and must reapply and meet requirements pursuant to
OAR 331-710-0010 or 331-710-0050. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 1-
1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-20-98 thru 4-1-98; HDLP 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98;
HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 10-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-8-04
thru 3-31-05; HLO 1-2005, f. 2-28-05 cert. ef. 3-1-05; HLA 7-2010, f. & cert. ef. 11-
1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

DIVISION 718
RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND 

POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
LICENSING BOARD — STANDARDS OF PRACTICE

331-718-0000 
Standards of Practice for Respiratory Care

(1) A licensee must comply with the prevailing community stan-
dards for professional conduct. The Board recognizes and adopts the
American Association of Respiratory Care (AARC) Statement of Ethics
and Professional Conduct effective March 2000 as its professional stan-
dards model. Documents are available on the AARC Website at
http://www.aarc.org/. 

(2) At minimum, licensees are subject to directives and policies
established by the medical facilities, businesses or agencies by which
they are employed or regulated. 

(3) A licensee must comply with the following safety and infection
control requirements: 

(a) All devices or items that come into direct contact with a client
must be cleaned, sanitized or disinfected according to the manufactur-
er’s instructions or Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Standard Precautions; 

(b) All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin that
do not require disinfecting must be clean; 

(c) All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin that
cannot be cleaned or disinfected must be disposed of in a covered waste
receptacle immediately after use; 

(d) All disinfecting solutions and agents must be kept at adequate
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and be
available for immediate use at all times unless equipment is prepackaged
and pre-sterilized; 

(e) All high-level and low-level disinfecting agents must be EPA
registered. High-level disinfectant means a chemical agent which has
demonstrated tuberculocidal activity. Low-level disinfectant means a
chemical agent which has demonstrated bactericidal, germicidal, fungi-
cidal and limited virucidal activity; 

(f) Before use, disposable prepackaged products and sterilized re-
usable instruments must be stored in clean, sterilized containers that can
be closed between treatments to maintain effective sterilization of the
instrument until removed from the container. 

(4) A licensee must observe and follow the Standard Precautions
adopted by the CDC as defined in OAR 437 division 2, subdivision Z,
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and the CDC Standard Precautions for public service workers regarding
personal protection equipment and disposal of blood or bodily fluid con-
taminated articles, tools and equipment when providing services to
patients. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 688.815 &
688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-718-0010 
Pharmacological Agents for Respiratory Care

(1) A licensee administering intravenous narcotics, paralytics and
opioids under ORS 688.800(3)(a) is prohibited from monitoring the
patient and must have another qualified licensed individual present to
monitor the patient throughout procedures with intravenous narcotics,
paralytics and opioids. 

(2) All policies, procedures and protocols for respiratory therapists
related to administration of intravenous pharmacological agents must be
made available to the Agency if requested. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 688.815 &
688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-718-0020
Standards of Practice for Polysomnography

(1) A licensee must comply with the prevailing community stan-
dards for professional conduct. The Board recognizes and adopts the
BRPT Standards of Conduct as its professional standards model. Doc-
uments are available on the BRPT Website at http://www.brpt.org.

(2) At minimum, licensees are subject to directives and policies
established by the medical facilities, businesses or agencies by which
they are employed or regulated. 

(3) A licensee must comply with the following safety and infection
control requirements: 

(a) All devices or items that come into direct contact with a client
must be cleaned or disinfected according to the manufacturer’s instruc-
tions or Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Standard Pre-
cautions; 

(b) All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin that
do not require disinfecting must be clean; 

(c) All items that come in direct contact with the client’s skin that
cannot be cleaned or disinfected must be disposed of in a covered waste
receptacle immediately after use; 

(d) All disinfecting solutions and agents must be kept at adequate
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and be
available for immediate use at all times unless equipment is prepackaged,
pre-sterilized and within the expiration date listed on the label of the dis-
infecting solution; 

(e) All high-level and low-level disinfecting agents must be EPA
registered. High-level disinfectant means a chemical agent which has
demonstrated tuberculocidal activity. Low-level disinfectant means a
chemical agent which has demonstrated bactericidal, germicidal, fungi-
cidal and limited virucidal activity; 

(f) Before use instruments must be stored in clean containers that
can be closed between use to maintain effective cleanliness until removed
from the container. 

(g) Masks must be disinfected before each use on a client by remov-
ing foreign and completely saturating the mask with a high level disin-
fectant solution, spray or foam used to manufacturer’s instructions. 

(4) A licensee must observe and follow the Standard Precautions
adopted by the CDC as defined in OAR 437 division 2, subdivision Z,
and the CDC Standard Precautions for public service workers regarding
personal protection equipment and disposal of blood or bodily fluid con-
taminated articles, tools and equipment when providing services to
patients.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 16-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
11-19-12 thru 5-17-13; HLA 4-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13

DIVISION 720
RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND 

POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
LICENSING BOARD — CONTINUING EDUCATION

331-720-0010
Continuing Education Requirements for Respiratory Care

(1) A licensee is required to complete 15 hours of Board approved
continuing education every two years. At least two-thirds of the required
continuing education hours must be related to clinical practice of respi-
ratory care. 

(2) To renew the license, evidence of required continuing education
must be provided at the time of renewal by means of a prescribed self-
attestation statement certifying participation in approved continuing edu-
cation. To ensure that adequate proof of attainment of required contin-
uing education is available for audit or investigation by the Agency, the
licensee must maintain a record of attendance for two years following
the two-year continuing education cycle and renewal of the license. 

(3) Continuing education is acceptable if provided by: 
(a) A medical organization or association accredited by the Oregon

Medical Association, the Oregon Osteopathic Association, the American
Medical Association Continuing Medical Education, the American
Osteopathic Association, the American Nurses Association, the Ameri-
can Association for Respiratory Care, and its affiliates, to provide con-
tinuing education to physicians, nurses, or respiratory therapists; 

(b) A hospital not accredited to provide continuing education but
the continuing education provided meets the following requirements: 

(A) The content of the course or program must be relevant to the
scope of practice of respiratory care as defined in ORS 688.800(7); 

(B) The faculty must be knowledgeable in the subject matter as evi-
denced by a degree from an accredited college or university and verifi-
able experience in the subject matter or teaching and clinical experience
in the same or similar subject matter; 

(C) Educational objectives must be listed; 
(D) The teaching methods must be described, e.g., lecture, semi-

nar, audiovisual, simulation; 
(E) Evaluation methods must document that the objectives have

been met. 
(c) An institution of higher education accredited by the Northwest

Association of Secondary and Higher Schools or its successor, or the
State Board of Higher Education, providing the course(s) meet the
requirements of paragraph (a) of this subsection. Five hours of contin-
uing education credit per course, and up to two-thirds of the continuing
education requirement, can be obtained by successfully completing the
course(s) with a grade “C” or above, or a “pass” for a pass/fail course; 

(d) A respiratory care educational program accredited by the Amer-
ican Medical Association Committee on Allied Health Education and
Accreditation in collaboration with the Committee On Accreditation for
Respiratory Care, or its successor, or the Commission on Accreditation
for Allied Health Education Programs offering an Associate Degree in
Respiratory Care; 

(e) The NBRC through passing the examination for initial certifi-
cation as a RRT, or Perinatal/Pediatric Respiratory Care Specialist
(PPRCS), or the NBRC through passing the re-credentialing examina-
tion for a CRT, RRT, or PPRCS. Fifteen hours of continuing education
can be obtained by passing these certification and re-credentialing exam-
inations; 

(f) The NBRC through passing the examination for initial certifi-
cation as a Certified Pulmonary Function Technician (CPFT), or Regis-
tered Pulmonary Function Technician (RFPT). Seven and one-half hours
of continuing education can be obtained by passing these certification
examinations; 

(g) Publication in a peer reviewed journal as the author or co-author
of a clinical paper or abstract. A total of five credit hours will be accept-
ed per biennium for the publication of articles or abstracts in professional
journals; 

(h) An established and approved organization conducting human-
itarian activities in another state or country, that is providing respirato-
ry care services as defined in ORS 688.800(7) under its auspices. The
organization and services are subject to Board approval on a case-by-case
basis for continuing education credit. 

(4) A licensee who instructs continuing education courses may
obtain the same number of continuing education hours for each initial
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course taught during the two-year continuing education cycle, in which
the course is initially presented, as granted to course participants. 

(5) A licensee is awarded continuing education credit once for com-
pletion of the initial certification course for Cardiac Life Support
(ACLS), Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) courses, and Neona-
tal Resuscitation Program (NRP). Up to four hours of continuing edu-
cation credit may be obtained for each re-certification in ACLS, PALS,
or NRP courses. 

(6) Continuing education credit will not be granted for completion
of the Basic Life Support (BLS) course. 

(7) A licensee who does not meet continuing education require-
ments must reapply and meet requirements for licensure according to
OAR 331-710-0010 at the time of application. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLO 10-2004(Temp),
f. & cert. ef. 11-8-04 thru 3-31-05; HLO 1-2005, f. 2-28-05 cert. ef. 3-1-05; HLA 7-2010,
f. & cert. ef. 11-1-10; HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-720-0015
Continuing Education Requirements for Polysomnography

(1) A licensee is required to complete 15 hours of Board approved
continuing education every two years, related to clinical practice of
polysomnography. 

(2) To renew the license, evidence of required continuing education
must be provided at the time of renewal by means of a prescribed self-
attestation statement certifying participation in approved continuing edu-
cation. To ensure that adequate proof of attainment of required contin-
uing education is available for audit or investigation by the Agency, the
licensee must maintain a record of attendance for two years following
the two-year continuing education cycle and renewal of the license. 

(3) Continuing education is acceptable if provided by: 
(a) A medical organization or association accredited by the Board

of Registered Polysomnographic Technicians, Oregon Medical Associ-
ation, the Oregon Osteopathic Association, the American Medical Asso-
ciation Continuing Medical Education, the American Osteopathic Asso-
ciation, the American Nurses Association, the American Association for
Respiratory Care, American Association of Sleep Technologists and its
affiliates, to provide continuing education to physicians, nurses, respi-
ratory therapists or polysomnographic technologists and other organi-
zations approved by the Agency; 

(b) A hospital not accredited to provide continuing education but
the continuing education provided meets the following requirements: 

(A) The content of the course or program must be relevant to the
scope of practice of polysomnography as defined in ORS 688.800(2); 

(B) The faculty must be knowledgeable in the subject matter as evi-
denced by a degree from an accredited college or university and verifi-
able experience in the subject matter or teaching and clinical experience
in the same or similar subject matter; 

(C) Educational objectives must be listed; 
(D) The teaching methods must be described, e.g., lecture, semi-

nar, audiovisual, simulation; 
(E) Evaluation methods must document that the objectives have

been met. 
(c) An institution of higher education accredited by the Northwest

Association of Secondary and Higher Schools or its successor, or the
State Board of Higher Education, providing the course(s) meet the
requirements of paragraph (a) of this subsection. Five hours of contin-
uing education credit per course, and up to two-thirds of the continuing
education requirement, can be obtained by successfully completing the
course(s) with a grade “C” or above, or a “pass” for a pass/fail course; 

(d) A polysomnography educational program accredited by the
American Medical Association Committee on Allied Health Education
and Accreditation in collaboration with the Committee On Accreditation
for Respiratory Care, or its successor, or the Commission on Accredita-
tion for Allied Health Education Programs offering an Associate Degree
in Polysomnography; 

(e) An established and approved organization conducting human-
itarian activities in another state or country, that is providing
polysomnography services as defined in ORS 688.800(2) under its aus-
pices. The organization and services are subject to Board approval on a
case-by-case basis for continuing education credit. 

(4) A licensee who instructs continuing education courses may
obtain the same number of continuing education hours for each initial
course taught during the two-year continuing education cycle, in which
the course is initially presented, as granted to course participants. 

(5) Continuing education credit will not be granted for completion
of the Basic Life Support (BLS) course. 

(6) A licensee who does not meet continuing education require-
ments must reapply and meet requirements for licensure according to
OAR 331-710-0050 at the time of application. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-720-0020
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a select per-
centage of licenses determined by the Board to verify compliance with
continuing education requirements.

(2) If selected for audit the licensee must provide documentation
within 30 days to substantiate they have obtained the required continu-
ing education. Documentation must include: 

(a) Certificate of completion, official transcript, statement or affi-
davit from the sponsor attesting to attendance or other documentation
approved by the agency.

(b) Name of sponsoring institution/association or organization;
(c) Title of presentation and description of content;
(d) Name of instructor or presenter;
(e) Date of attendance and duration in hours; and
(f) Course agenda.
(3) If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the

licensee has 30 calendar days from the date of notice to submit further
documentation to substantiate having completed the required continuing
education. 

(4) Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall con-
stitute grounds for disciplinary action which may include but is not lim-
ited to assessment of a civil penalty, suspension, refusal to renew or revo-
cation of the license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.605, 676.615 & 688.830
Hist.: HDLB 1-1997(Temp), f. 12-19-97, cert. ef. 12-22-97 thru 6-19-98; HDLP 2-1998,
f. & cert. ef. 6-15-98; HLO 4-2004, f. 6-29-04, cert. ef. 7-1-04; HLA 7-2010, f. & cert.
ef. 11-1-10

DIVISION 740
RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND 

POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
LICENSING BOARD — FEES

331-740-0000 
Fees

(1) An applicant or licensee are subject to the provisions of OAR
331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penal-
ties and charges. 

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency pur-
suant to ORS 676.607 are as follows: 

(a) Application: 
(A) License: $50. 
(B) Temporary license: $50. 
(b) Examination — Oregon laws & rules: $50. 
(c) Original issuance of authorization to practice: 
(A) License: $50.
(B) Temporary license: $50. 
(C) Temporary six month license: $50
(d) Renewals:
(A) Licenses: $50. 
(B) Online license: $45
(C) Temporary license: $50
(e) Delinquent (late) renewal of license: $50 for each year in inac-

tive status up to three years. 
(f) Replacement of license, including name change: $25. 
(g) Duplicate license document: $25 per copy with maximum of

three. 
(h) Affidavit of licensure for reciprocity: $50. 
(i) Information packets: $10 
(j) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be assessed

if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment of fees,
penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607, 676.615, 688.830, OL 2011, Ch. 715
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 688.815 &
688.830, 688.834, 688.836, OL 2011, Ch. 715
Hist.: HLA 15-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

SEX OFFENDER TREATMENT BOARD RULES
DIVISION 800

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION
331-800-0010
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-800-0010 to 331-850-
0010: 

(1) “Active certificate” means a certificate issued when all require-
ments are met, fees paid and certificate is not expired, suspended or
revoked. 

(2) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document verifying
licensing history and status, including information disclosing all unre-
solved or outstanding penalties and/or disciplinary actions. The document
is issued and signed by the regulatory authority in the state which issued
the license with an official seal or stamp affixed to the document; it is
not the certificate or license form issued which authorizes the holder to
practice. Refer to OAR 331-030-0040

(3) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency
(OHLA). The agency is responsible for the budget, personnel, perfor-
mance-based outcomes, consumer protection, fee collection, mediation,
complaint resolution, discipline, rule making, and record keeping. 

(4) “Authorization” means the official document, the certificate,
issued by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 

(5) “Board” means pursuant to ORS 675.395, the entity that advis-
es the agency in matters relating to the practice of sex offender treatment,
including practice standards, education and training requirements, and
advises the agency on all disciplinary issues in accordance with 676.612.
The Oregon Health Licensing Agency Director controls the regulatory
operations and has decision-making authority on all substantive matters. 

(6) “Certified clinical sex offender therapist” means a person who
is certified by the agency to provide services for the treatment and reha-
bilitation of sex offenders and who may supervise certified associate sex
offender therapist; also referred to as “clinical therapist”. 

(7) “Certified associate sex offender therapist” means a person who
is certified by the agency to provide services for the treatment and reha-
bilitation of sex offenders while under the direct supervision of a certi-
fied clinical sex offender therapist; also referred to as “associate thera-
pist”. 

(8) “Continuing education hours” means the actual academic class-
room or course work time, including but not limited to workshops, sym-
posiums, seminars, excluding personal travel time to and from the train-
ing site, registration or check-in periods breaks or lunch periods. 

(9) “Credential” or its derivative means the process of licensing,
registration, certification or the equivalent through which a person is
legally recognized by a state agency as lawfully authorized to practice
a health profession. 

(10) “Direct supervision” means a minimum of two hours of super-
vision by a certified clinical sex offender therapist for each 45 hours of
direct clinical contact with a sex offender as specified in ORS 675.365(4). 

(11) “Direct treatment services” means face-to-face individual,
group or family therapy, provided by a clinical or associate therapist, to
a client. 

(12) “Director” means, pursuant to ORS Chapter 676.610, the indi-
vidual who has sole responsibility for the administrative, fiscal, human
resource and regulatory functions of the agency. 

(13) “Ethical” means conforming to professional standards, as
adopted by the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers’ Prac-
tice Standards (ATSA) and Guidelines adopted in 2005, and Professional
Code of Ethics adopted in 2001, regarding professional practices autho-
rized under ORS 675.360 to 675.410 and rules adopted by the agency. 

(14) “Evaluation” means a comprehensive psychosexual assess-
ment or intake assessment conforming to professional standards as adopt-
ed by the Association for Treatment of Sexual Abusers’ Practice Stan-
dards and Guidelines adopted in 2005, to determine a client’s risk to
re-offend, identify dynamic risk factors, and develop appropriate treat-
ment and supervision plans. Evaluation includes a written report includ-
ing, but not limited to the following: 

(a) Useful guidance to others, such as the courts, in making deci-
sions affecting a client’s future and whether the client’s risk can be man-
aged in a community setting; 

(b) Comprehensive description of the client’s abusive and non-abu-
sive sexual behavior; 

(c) Amenability to treatment; 
(d) Recommendations regarding the intensity and type of inter-

vention that is required; 
(e) Risk management strategies; 
(f) Responsiveness to treatment, such as culture, ethnicity, age, IQ,

learning style, neuropsychological disorders, personality style, mental
and physical disabilities, medication, and motivation. 

(15) “Health care information” means any information, whether
oral or recorded in any form or medium that identifies or can readily be
associated with the identity of, and relates to the health care of, a patient
or client. 

(16) “Informed consent” means consent obtained following a thor-
ough and easily understood explanation to the client, or the client’s
guardian, of the proposed treatment plan, any available alternative pro-
cedures and any risks associated with the proposed plan. The therapist
provides clients with information about the purpose, goals, techniques,
procedures, limitations, and consequences of not consenting, the limits
of confidentiality, and alternatives to the services offered, potential risks
and benefits of services to be performed. Supervisors ascertain the
client’s ability to understand and utilize the information. 

(17) “Functionally disabled” means a severe and chronic disabili-
ty that is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or a combina-
tion of physical and mental impairments which result in substantial func-
tional limitations in three or more of the major life activities. 

(18) “Mental health professional” means a person licensed to prac-
tice without supervision in the state of Oregon as a physician, psychia-
trist, psychiatric nurse practitioner, psychologist, psychological associ-
ate, licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, or
licensed marriage and family therapist, who provides sex offender treat-
ment of adults, juveniles or functionally disabled individuals.

(19) “Official transcript” means an original document certified by
an accredited educational institution, delivered from the school to the
agency by mail or courier, which includes: 

(a) School name and location; 
(b) Student’s name, address and date of birth; 
(c) Enrollment and termination dates; 
(d) Hours and types of course work; 
(e) Degree issued; 
(f) School seal or stamp; 
(g) Signature of authorized school representative or registrar. 
(20) “Oregon Health Licensing Agency” (OHLA) means the agen-

cy assigned to carry out the administrative, programmatic and daily oper-
ations, and regulatory functions of ORS 676.606. 

(21) “Professional mental health licensing or certification agency”
means the entity charged with the administrative functions and respon-
sibilities for protecting the public through the licensing and regulating
of certain professions practiced in Oregon, or in a county, other state,
country or territory. The entity has the responsibility for decisions on
qualifications, standards of practice, licensing, discipline and other dis-
cretionary functions relating to professional activities in the professional
licensing boards, councils, or programs; also known as regulatory author-
ity. 

(22) “Reciprocity” means, according to ORS 675.380, certification,
registration or licensure in another state based on standards of training,
education and experience that are similar to those required for certifi-
cation in Oregon as a certified clinical sex offender therapist or a certi-
fied associate sex offender therapist as specified in 675.375. 

(23) “Sex offender specific treatment” means treatment modalities
that are based on empirical research with regard to favorable treatment
outcomes and are professionally accepted in the field of sex offender
treatment of adults, juveniles, and functionally disabled individuals, with
sexual behavior problems. Offense specific treatment is a comprehensive
set of planned treatment experiences and interventions that modify sex-
ually deviant thoughts, fantasies, and behaviors and that utilize specif-
ic strategies to promote change and to reduce the chance of re-offend-
ing. 

(24) “Treatment plan” means an individualized written statement
of intended care and services as documented in the evaluation that details
how the client’s treatment needs will be met while protecting the com-
munity during the course of treatment. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.410 & 676.615
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Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.360 - 675.410
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, f. 5-
27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. & cert. ef.
5-18-10

331-800-0020
Fees

Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency are as fol-
lows: 

(1) Application for certification: $75. 
(3) Original two year certification: $650. 
(4) Application for renewal — two year certificate: $650. 
(5) Replacement certificate, including name change: $25. 
(6) Duplicate certificate document: $25 per copy with a maximum

of three. 
(7) Delinquency fee: $50 for each year in expired status up to two

years.
(8) Examination — Oregon laws & rules: $50. 
(9) Affidavit of licensure: $50. 
(10) An additional $25 administrative processing fee will be

assessed if a NSF or non-negotiable instrument is received for payment
of fees, penalties and charges. Refer to OAR 331-010-0010. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.405, 675.410 & 676.625
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.405
Hist: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, f. 5-
27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 8-2008, f. 9-15-08, cert. ef. 10-1-08; HLA 2-2010, f. & cert.
ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. & cert. ef. 5-18-10

DIVISION 810
QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING

331-810-0020
Clinical Sex Offender Therapist Requirements

To qualify for certification as a clinical sex offender therapist, an
applicant shall provide satisfactory evidence to the agency that require-
ments of ORS 675.375(3) have been met regarding education, training,
and experience in the evaluation, treatment, and management of indi-
viduals who sexually offend, in addition to other requirements specified
in this rule. Required documentation includes the following: 

(1) The applicant shall arrange for Affidavit of Licensure as defined
in OAR 331-030-0040 be provided to the Agency. The applicant is
responsible for payment of any service fee the originating agency may
assess for producing the affidavit. 

(2) Record of at least 2,000 hours of professional clinical experi-
ence, of which 1,000 hours relates to providing direct treatment services
as defined in OAR 331-800-0010, within a period of not less than three
nor more than six years immediately preceding the date of application. 

(3) Record of 500 hours of evaluations as defined in OAR 331-800-
0010, that includes but is not limited to the following types of profes-
sional activities: 

(a) Evaluation experience credit: 
(A) Primary or secondary responsibility for interviewing the client; 
(B) Preparation of the written evaluation report; 
(C) All contact with clients; and 
(D) Preparation of limited assessments for the purpose of: 
(i) Institution classification; 
(ii) Treatment monitoring; and 
(iii) Reporting. 
(b) Treatment experience credit: 
(A) Face-to-face treatment hours performed by affiliates under the

supervision of certified therapists; 
(B) Time spent as a co-therapist. Both therapists shall have formal

responsibility for the group session; and 
(C) Time spent maintaining collateral contacts and written

case/progress notes. 
(4) Record of 500 hours of professionally related activities, asso-

ciated with the following type of work: 
(a) At least 340 hours of documented activities, including but not

limited to: 
(A) Client charting or case management; 
(B) Research; 
(C) Peer review, consultations, or meetings with attorneys, parole

officers or other officials; 
(D) Court time or testimony; 
(E) Profession related committee work or attendance at sex offend-

er treatment related meetings; and 

(b) At least 160 hours of professional activities engaged in as a sex
offender therapist, while under the direct supervision of a qualified men-
tal health professional; refer to OAR 331-810-0050. 

(5) Record of 60 hours of formal training directly related to the
treatment and evaluation of sex offenders or victims of abuse that was
completed within the last three years immediately preceding the date of
application. 

(a) Completion of formal training shall include documenting 45
hours of the total required hours, in the following essential subjects: 

(A) Assessment and diagnosis; 
(B) Cognitive therapy; 
(C) Counseling and psychotherapy; 
(D) Cultural/ethnic issues; 
(E) Ethics applicable to working with a forensic population; 
(F) Human development with special attention to sexual develop-

ment and healthy sexuality; 
(G) Interviewing skills; 
(H) Knowledge of family dynamics as related to sex offending; 
(I) Psychometric and psycho-physiological testing; 
(J) Psychopathology; 
(K) Relapse prevention;
(L) Relationship and social skills training; 
(M) Risk assessment; 
(N) Sexual arousal control; 
(O) Social support networks; 
(P) Victim awareness and empathy. 
(b) Completion of formal training shall include documenting 15

hours of the total required hours, in the following areas of training and
knowledge: 

(A) Supervision; 
(B) Assessment and treatment of mental illness including neu-

ropsychological disorders; 
(C) Couples and family therapy; 
(D) Family reunification; 
(E) Pharmacological therapy; 
(F) Substance abuse treatment. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400 & 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375 & 675.400
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, f. 5-
27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. & cert. ef.
5-18-10

331-810-0030
Associate Sex Offender Therapist Requirements

To qualify for certification as an associate sex offender therapist,
an applicant shall provide satisfactory evidence to the agency that
requirements of ORS 675.375(4) have been met regarding education,
training and experience, in addition to other requirements listed in this
rule. Required documentation includes the following:

(1) Official transcripts from college, university and post graduate
records, showing attainment of at least a Bachelors of Science degree in
the mental health field;

(2) Record of at least 1,000 hours of professional experience relat-
ed to direct treatment services, as defined in OAR 331-800-0010, com-
pleted within three years preceding the date of application. Documen-
tation shall include the number of hours involved in the following:

(a) Direct client contact;
(b) Review of treatment plans and provision of direct treatment ser-

vices under supervision;
(c) Charting or case management; 
(d) Research;
(e) Peer review, consultation, or meetings with attorneys, parole

officers, or other officials;
(f) Court time or testimony;
(g) Profession related committee work or attendance at sex offend-

er treatment related meetings; and
(3) Record of at least 30 hours of formal training directly related

to the treatment and evaluation of sex offenders or victims of abuse that
was completed within the last three years immediately preceding the date
of application.

(a) Completion of formal training shall include documenting 75%,
or 22.5 hours of the total required hours, in the following essential sub-
jects:

(A) Assessment and diagnosis;
(B) Cognitive therapy;
(C) Counseling and psychotherapy; 
(D) Cultural/ethnic issues;
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(E) Ethics applicable to working with a forensic population;
(F) Human development with special attention to sexual develop-

ment and healthy sexuality;
(G) Interviewing skills;
(H) Knowledge of family dynamics as related to sex offending;
(I) Psychometric and psycho-physiological testing; 
(J) Psychopathology;
(K) Relapse prevention;
(L) Relationship and social skills training;
(M) Risk assessment;
(N) Sexual arousal control;
(O) Social support networks;
(P) Victim awareness and empathy.
(b) Completion of formal training shall include documenting 25%,

or 7.5 hours of the total required hours, in the following areas of train-
ing and knowledge:

(A) Supervision;
(B) Assessment and treatment of mental illness including neu-

ropsychological disorders;
(C) Couples and family therapy;
(D) Family reunification;
(E) Pharmacological therapy;
(F) Substance abuse treatment.
(4) Verification of and compliance with the requirements of direct

supervision by a certified clinical sex offender therapist, according to
OAR 331-810-0055.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, f. 5-
27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-810-0038
Waivers

If an applicant is unable to provide verification of the experience
or supervision required under OAR 331-810-0020, 331-810-0030 or 331-
810-0035, the board may consider the following information in deter-
mining whether a waiver of verification will be issued:

(1) When the training or direct client services occurred;
(2) Where the training or direct client services occurred;
(3) The reasons for the inability of the applicant to provide train-

ing verification or substantiate the required supervision; and
(4) The diligence the applicant used in attempting to provide the

training verification or to document supervision.
NOTE: This provision does not disregard or unilaterally exempt the applicant
from meeting the education, training and experience required under ORS
675.365; however, it enables the Board to exercise discretion in accepting alter-
native means of documentation when deemed appropriate, on a case-by-case
basis.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410 & 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400 & 675.410
Hist.: HLA 9-2008(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-15-08 thru 12-1-08; HLA 11-2008, f. 11-26-
08, cert. ef. 12-1-08

331-810-0040
Reciprocity; Equivalencies

Pursuant to ORS 675.380, an applicant who is recognized as a clin-
ical sex offender therapist or associate sex offender therapist in another
state may be issued Oregon certification as a sex offender therapist if the
applicant’s education, experience and formal training meet similar
requirements for Oregon certification under ORS 675.375 and OAR 331-
810-0020. 

(1) Educational equivalency includes completion of the following: 
(a) A masters or doctoral degree in social work, psychology, coun-

seling, or educational psychology from a regionally accredited institu-
tion of higher education; or 

(b) A masters or doctoral degree in an equivalent field from a
regionally accredited institution of higher education and documentation
of thirty graduate semester hours or forty-five graduate quarter hours in
approved subject content listed in subsection (2) of this section. 

(2) Approved subject content includes at least five graduate
semester hours or seven graduate quarter hours in counseling, psy-
chotherapy, and personality theory, and five graduate semester hours or
seven graduate quarter hours in at least two of the following content
areas: 

(a) Counseling and psychotherapy; 
(b) Personality theory; 
(c) Behavioral science and research; 
(d) Psychopathology/personality disorders; 

(e) Assessment/tests and measurement; 
(f) Group therapy/family therapy; 
(g) Human growth and development/sexuality; and 
(h) Corrections/criminal justice. 
(3) The applicant shall arrange for Affidavit of Licensure as defined

in OAR 331-030-0040 be provided to the Agency. The applicant is
responsible for payment of any service fee the originating agency may
assess for producing the affidavit. 

(4) Applicants must document active practice as a certified sex
offender therapist in another state during the previous two years imme-
diately preceding application for Oregon certification. 

(5) Applicants shall provide required documentation listed in OAR
331-030-0000, 331-820-0010 and other information as may be request-
ed by the agency to determine equivalent education, experience and for-
mal training for Oregon certification as a sex offender therapist. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.380, 675.400 & 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.380 & 675.400
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, f. 5-
27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08; HLA 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. & cert. ef.
5-18-10

331-810-0050
Supervision Purpose Statement

(1) The importance of ongoing supervision is crucial to the devel-
opment of an associate sex offender therapist. ORS 675.365(4) defines
the “minimum” number of hours of direct supervision as being two hours
of supervision by a certified clinical sex offender therapist for each 45
hours of direct clinical contact with a sex offender. The Board is charged
with ensuring consumer protection, through setting appropriate practice
standards and professional accountability for Oregon certification, and
therefore recommends approved supervisors take a more prudent and
professional position attuned to industry standards when establishing
supervision agreements.

(2) Supervision is a professional relationship between a qualified
clinical therapist acting as supervisor and an associate therapist. A clin-
ical therapist, who is approved as a “supervisor”, in contrast to the role
of a consultant, carries the authority to direct caseload and treatment
plans. Supervision, in contrast to treatment, will identify counter-trans-
ference issues and develop a plan for the associate therapist to work
through those issues independently. 

(3) Discussion between the supervisor and the associate therapist
are based on case notes, charts, records, and available audio or visual
tapes of clients. The certified associate sex offender therapist present
assessments, diagnoses, and treatment plans of clients being seen. The
focus is on the appropriateness of these treatment plans and the super-
visee’s therapeutic skill in promoting change in the client. The supervi-
sor has the authority to decide the appropriateness of the associate ther-
apist’s client population against his or her level of expertise. 

(4) Any variance from the requirements of OAR 331-810-0055
must be based on the individual circumstances and in the best interest
of the associate and client, and in conformance with generally accepted
standards of supervision and oversight. On such occasion, the therapist
must document in writing the reasons for the variance in the contract or
agreement. Failure to document the reasons for variance from stated
requirements creates a presumption that the variance was not in the best
interest of the supervisor, associate or client.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675,400, 675,410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-810-0055
Supervision Requirements

Supervision of a certified associate sex offender therapist is con-
siderably different than consultation with other professionals. Consul-
tation is solely advisory; consultants do not assume responsibility for
those individuals with whom they consult. Supervision of associates
requires that the supervisor take full ethical and legal responsibility for
the quality of work of the associate therapist. A supervisor may not super-
vise more than two associate therapists at any time.

(1) An associate therapist shall establish and maintain a supervision
contract with a clinical therapist which, at a minimum, meets the require-
ments of OAR 331-810-0050, in addition to the provisions of 331-810-
0040.

(2) A minimum of two hours supervision by a clinical therapist is
required for each 45 hours of direct clinical contact an associate thera-
pist has with a sex offender.

NOTE: The Board recommends one hour of supervision for each 10 hours of
direct clinical contact with a sex offender. 
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(3) Documentation of the dates and content of supervision meetings
shall be submitted to the agency to verify appropriate supervision
requirements have been met.

(4) All supervision shall take place concurrently with practice
hours.

(5) Supervision includes, but is not limited to:
(a) Discussion of services provided by the associate therapist;
(b) Case selection, diagnosis, treatment plan, and review of each

case or work unit of the associate therapist;
(c) Discussions regarding theory and practice of the work being

conducted;
(d) Review of Oregon’s laws, rules, and criminal justice procedures

relevant to the work being conducted;
(e) Discussion of the standards of practice for supervisors and asso-

ciates as adopted by the agency and the ethical issues involved in pro-
viding professional services for sex offenders;

(f) Discussion regarding coordination of work with other profes-
sionals and parties;

(g) Discussion of relevant professional literature and research; and
(h) Periodic review of the contract.
(6) The supervisor shall:
(a) Avoid presenting to the associate therapist as having qualifica-

tions in areas that they do not have;
(b) Provide sufficient training and supervision to the associate ther-

apist to assure the health and safety of the client and community;
(c) Have expertise and knowledge to directly supervise the asso-

ciate therapist’s work; and
(d) Assure that the associate therapist being supervised has suffi-

cient and appropriate education, background, and preparation for the
work he or she will be doing.

(7) The supervisor and associate therapist shall enter into a formal
written contract that defines the parameters of the professional rela-
tionship. The contract shall be submitted to the agency for approval and
shall include:

(a) Supervised areas of professional activity;
(b) Amount of supervision time and the frequency of supervisory

meetings. This information may be presented as a ratio of supervisory
time to clinical work conducted by the associate therapist;

(c) Supervisory fees and business arrangements, when applicable;
(d) Nature of the supervisory relationship and the anticipated pro-

cess of supervision;
(e) Selection and review of clinical cases;
(f) Methodology for recordkeeping, evaluation of the associate, and

feedback; and
(g) How the associate therapist will be represented to the public and

the parties.
(8) Supervision of associate therapists shall involve regular, direct,

face-to-face supervision. Depending on the associate therapist’s skill and
experience levels, the clinical therapist’s supervision shall include direct
observation of the associate therapist by sitting in session, audio tape
recording, videotaping, or other means of observation.

(9) In some cases, such as geographic location or disability, more
flexible supervision arrangements may be allowed. The supervisor shall
submit requests for more flexible supervision arrangements to the agen-
cy for approval.

(10) The supervisor shall assure that the associate therapist is pre-
pared to conduct professional work, and shall assure adequate supervi-
sion of the associate therapist. The supervisor should meet face-to-face
with the associate therapist one hour for every ten hours of supervised
professional work; but shall meet minimally 2 hours for every 45 hours
of direct contact with sex offenders. Supervision meetings shall regularly
occur at least every other week.

(11) A supervisor may not undertake a contract that exceeds the
supervisor’s ability to comply with supervision standards.

(12) The agency recognizes the needs of certain locales, particularly
rural areas, and may allow a variance from the standards of this rule. Any
variance request shall be submitted to the agency for approval with the
supervision contract. Variances will be granted or denied in writing with-
in thirty days.

(13) The nature of the associate therapist and clinical therapist
supervisory relationship shall be communicated to the public, other pro-
fessionals, and all clients served.

(14) An associate therapist shall represent himself or herself as an
associate when performing clinical work and shall provide the name of
the contracted supervisor. 

(15) The supervisor shall cosign all written reports and correspon-
dence prepared by the associate therapist. The written reports and cor-
respondence shall include a statement that indicates the work has been
conducted by the associate therapist acting under the clinical therapist’s
supervision.

(16) Both the supervisor and associate therapist shall maintain full
documentation of the work done and supervision provided. The agency
may audit the supervisor and associate therapist’s records to assure com-
pliance with laws and rules.

(17) All work conducted by the associate therapist is the responsi-
bility of the supervisor. The supervisor shall have authority to direct the
practice of the associate therapist.

(18) It is the supervisor’s responsibility to correct problems or end
the supervision contract if the associate therapist’s work does not pro-
tect the interests of the clients and community. If the supervisor ends the
contract, he or she shall notify the agency in writing within thirty days
of ending the contract. A new contract must be filed with the agency.

(19) Supervision is a power relationship. The supervisor shall not
use his or her position to take advantage of the associate therapist. This
subsection is not intended to prevent a supervisor from seeking reason-
able compensation for supervisory services.

(20) A supervisor shall only delegate responsibilities to an associ-
ate therapist, who has been assessed to have the competency to perform
the delegated professional tasks. 

(a) Supervision arrangements for associate therapists shall be
agreed upon in writing and shall specify:

(b) Expected associate therapist duties;
(c) The scope and focus of the supervision; and
(d) The frequency and durations of meetings between the supervi-

sor and the associate therapist to review the associate therapist’s pro-
fessional performance.

(e) The supervision of the associate therapist shall provide proper
training to persons who delegate professional tasks and take reasonable
steps to see that such persons perform services responsibly, completely,
and ethically.

(f) The supervisor shall not engage in sexual relationships with an
associate therapist over whom the supervisor has evaluative or direct
authority, as such relationships are likely to impair judgment or be
exploitative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675,400, 675,410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

DIVISION 820
LICENSURE AND RENEWAL

331-820-0010
Application Requirements

(1) An individual applying for certification as a sex offender ther-
apist under ORS 675.370 shall submit an application form prescribed by
the agency, which contains information listed in OAR 331-030-0000,
payment of required application and certification fees, and satisfactory
evidence of meeting qualification criteria according to one of the fol-
lowing certification pathways: 

(a) Clinical sex offender therapist: required documentation per-
taining to education, training and experience listed in OAR 331-810-
0020;

(b) Associate sex offender therapist: required documentation per-
taining to education, training, experience and supervision listed in OAR
331-810-0030; 

(c) Individuals applying under a time limited grandfather provision:
required documentation pertaining to education, training and experience
listed in OAR 331-810-0035; or

(d) Individuals applying under ORS 675.380 reciprocal or equiv-
alent credentials: required documentation pertaining to education, train-
ing and experience listed in OAR 331-810-0040. 

(2) An application for certification shall be accompanied by a pro-
posed professional disclosure statement, required under ORS 675.375(1),
and the applicant’s fingerprint and criminal background check forms pre-
scribed by the agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 676.607, 676.615,
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, f. 5-
27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08
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331-820-0020
License Issuance and Renewal

(1) Certified clinical sex offender therapists and certified associate
sex offender therapists are subject to the provisions of OAR 331-030-
0010 regarding the issuance and renewal of a certificate, and to the pro-
visions of 331-030-0020 regarding the authorization to practice, identi-
fication and the requirements for issuance of a duplicate authorization.

(2) Notwithstanding ORS 675.375(5) and 331-030-0010(1), the cer-
tificate will be issued for a two-year period from the date all qualifica-
tions have been met. 

(3) Renewal of a certificate shall be made in advance of the certi-
fication expiration date by submitting the following to the agency:

(a) Renewal application form;
(b) Renewal fees;
(c) Signed attestation of completion of required continuing educa-

tion according to OAR 331-830-0010; and 
(d) Satisfactory documentation recording at least 100 hours of clin-

ical experience per year preceding renewal, of which 50 hours is relat-
ed to direct clinical contact with sex offenders. Refer to OAR 331-830-
0010. 

(4) A completed certificate renewal application received by the
agency or postmarked after a certificate has expired, but within three
years from the expiration date, may be approved upon payment of the
application for renewal and delinquency fees for each year in expired sta-
tus, signed attestation of having obtained required continuing education
pursuant to the provisions of ORS 675.375(5)(c) and OAR 331-810-0020
or 331-810-0030, and completion of the prescribed number of hours of
clinical experience required in ORS 675.375(5)(b) for each year in
expired status. 

(5) A certificate that has been expired for more than three years shall
be deemed invalid and may be reactivated by submitting to the agency
the following requirements:

(a) Application form and information required according to OAR
331-030-0000 and 331-820-0010; 

(b) Payment of application, reactivation and certificate fees;
(c) Completion of prescribed continuing education during period

of inactive certification.
(6) Evidence of required continuing education shall be provided at

the time of renewal by means of a prescribed self-attestation form cer-
tifying participation in approved continuing education.

(7) Continuing education documentation shall be accumulated and
held by the certificate holder for a period of 3 years following renewal,
or until submitted to the agency at the time of audit within the three year
period. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, f. 5-
27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

DIVISION 830
CONTINUING EDUCATION

331-830-0005
Continuing Education Purpose Statement

The aim of continuing education for sex offender treatment thera-
pists is to ensure that professionals practicing in this specialty field are
knowledgeable of current scientific and practice principles that affect the
supervision and treatment of sex offenders in community-based treat-
ment. Since the treatment of sex offenders in communities raises sig-
nificant public safety concerns, continuing education is required to help
sex offender treatment therapists deliver the highest quality of profes-
sional service by being familiar with current developments in a rapidly
changing profession. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-830-0010
Continuing Education Requirements

(1) To ensure continuing efforts on the part of Oregon certified clin-
ical sex offender therapists and certified associate sex offender therapists
to remain current with new developments in the treatment of sexual
abusers and the mental health profession, and to encourage diversified
training and qualifications in the profession, continuing education is
required as a condition of certification.

(2) Continuing education experiences are programs beyond the
basic education required to obtain certification which are designed to pro-
mote and enrich knowledge, improve skills, and develop attitudes for the
enhancement of the practices of sex offender therapists, thus improving
sex offender therapies provided to the public.

(3) To be in compliance with the provisions of ORS 675.360 to
675.410 and the rules adopted by the agency, clinical therapists and asso-
ciate therapists shall complete a minimum of 15 hours continuing edu-
cation in the field of sex offender treatment during each year within a
renewal cycle.

(4) Continuing education includes training related to sex offender
treatment consisting of the following subject matter: 

(a) Assessment and diagnosis;
(b) Cognitive therapy;
(c) Counseling and psychotherapy; 
(d) Cultural/ethnic issues;
(e) Ethics applicable to working with a forensic population;
(f) Human development with special attention to sexual develop-

ment and healthy sexuality;
(g) Interviewing skills;
(h) Knowledge of family dynamics as related to sex offending;
(i) Psychometric and psycho-physiological testing; 
(j) Psychopathology;
(k) Relapse prevention;
(l) Relationship and social skills training;
(m) Risk assessment;
(n) Sexual arousal control;
(o) Social support networks;
(p) Victim awareness and empathy.
(q) Supervision;
(r) Assessment and treatment of mental illness including neu-

ropsychological disorders;
(s) Couples and family therapy;
(t) Family reunification;
(u) Pharmacological therapy;
(v) Substance abuse treatment.
(5) An instructor, discussion leader, or speaker shall be given two

hours of credit for subject preparation for each hour of presentation time,
plus one additional hour of credit for each hour of actual presentation
time. For example, a qualified instructor who conducts a one hour qual-
ified program shall be given credit of three hours; a qualified instructor
who conducts a one and one-half hour qualified program shall be given
credit of four and one-half hours.

(6) Credit shall not be given for more than 5 hours of continuing
education credit in a reporting period for lectures (preparation and teach-
ing) and published material combined.

(6) The agency shall accept any continuing education that reason-
ably falls within the categories listed in subsection (4) of this rule. The
agency relies upon each individual therapist’s integrity with meeting the
intent of continuing education requirements.

(7) Continuing education requirements apply whether the applicant
renewing a certificate is living or working within Oregon or outside of
the state while Oregon certification is maintained.

(8) The agency may grant exemptions in whole or part from con-
tinuing education requirements, including extension of deadlines, in doc-
umented hardship cases.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-830-0020
Continuing Education: Audits, Required Documentation &
Sanctions

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will select a prescribed
percentage of certification records for audit to verify compliance with
continuing education requirements. 

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing education
attestation shall submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days from the
date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence of participation
in required continuing education.

(3) Documentation of a certificate of completion of attendance at
a program or course provided by the sponsor shall include: 

(a) Name of sponsoring institution/association or organization; 
(b) Title of presentation and description of content;
(c) Name of instructor or presenter; 
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours; 
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(e) Course agenda; 
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance. 
(4) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-

plete, the certificate holder shall correct the deficiency within 30 calen-
dar days from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency with-
in the prescribed time shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(5) Misrepresentation of continuing education or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include but is not limited to assessment of
a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the certification.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.375, 675.385, 675.400, 675.410, 676.615, 676.992
Stat. Implemented: ORS 675.375, 675.400, 675.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

DIVISION 840
CODE OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

331-840-0010
Standards of Practice

Sex offender therapists are also credentialed health professionals,
and are subject to the standards of practice of their primary field of prac-
tice. However, standards of practice vary from profession to profession,
and sex offender evaluation and treatment represents significant differ-
ences in practice from general mental health interventions. 

(1) The standards set forth in OAR chapter 331, division 840 apply
to all certified clinical sex offender therapists and certified associate sex
offender therapists, hereafter referred to as certified sex offender thera-
pist as specified in ORS 675.365(3).

(2) Standards of practice are necessary due to the unique charac-
teristics of this area of specialized practice, the degree of control that a
certified sex offender therapist exercises over the lives of clients, and the
community protection issues inherent in this work.

(3) Failure to comply with these standards may constitute unpro-
fessional conduct, which is subject to discipline under ORS 676.612.

(4) Any deviation from the standards of OAR 331-840-0020 must
be based on the individual circumstances and in the best interest of the
client, and in conformance with generally accepted standards of sex
offender treatment and client care. On such occasion, the therapist must
document in writing the reasons for the deviation in the client’s records.
Failure to document the reasons for the deviation from stated standards
creates a presumption that the deviation was not in the best interest of
the client.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0020
Professional Conduct and Client Relationships

(1) The Sex Offender Treatment Board adopts the 2001 Associa-
tion for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA) Professional Code of
Ethics, Ethical Principles, to the extent it does not conflict with ORS
675.360 through 675.410, 676.605 through 676.625, and any rules adopt-
ed by the agency.

(2) A copy of the Professional Code of Ethics may be accessed at
the web site: http://www.atsa.com/pdfs/COE.pdf. The information may
also be available by contacting ATSA at the following address: 4900 S.W.
Griffith Drive, Suite 274, Beaverton, Oregon U.S.A. 97005, Phone: (503)
643-1023, Fax: (503) 643-5084, E-mail: atsa@atsa.com.

(3) Therapists shall adhere to ATSA ethical principles relating to
professional conduct, payment of services, training and expertise, per-
sonal problems and conflicts, supervisory relationships, client relation-
ships, multiple relationships, confidentiality, professional relationships,
research and publications, and public information and advertising.

(4) Therapists shall not engage in sexual contact or sexual activi-
ty with their clients, former clients, or any person participating in the
treatment process of a client while therapy is ongoing.

(5) Sexual misconduct includes but is not limited to:
(a) Sexual intercourse;
(b) Touching the breasts, genitals, anus or any sexualized body part

except as consistent with accepted community standards of practice for
examination, diagnosis and treatment and within the health care practi-
tioner’s scope of practice;

(c) Rubbing against a patient or client or key party for sexual grat-
ification;

(d) Kissing;

(e) Hugging, touching, fondling or caressing of a romantic or sex-
ual nature;

(f) Examination of or touching genitals without using gloves;
(g) Not allowing a patient or client privacy to dress or undress

except as may be necessary in emergencies or custodial situations;
(h) Not providing the patient or client a gown or draping except as

may be necessary in emergencies;
(i) Dressing or undressing in the presence of the patient, client or

key party;
(j) Removing patient or client’s clothing or gown or draping with-

out consent, emergent medical necessity or being in a custodial setting;
(k) Encouraging masturbation or other sex act in the presence of the

health care therapist;
(l) Masturbation or other sex act by the health care therapist in the

presence of the patient, client or key party;
(m) Suggesting or discussing the possibility of a dating, sexual or

romantic relationship after the professional relationship ends;
(n) Terminating a professional relationship for the purpose of dat-

ing or pursuing a romantic or sexual relationship;
(o) Soliciting a date with a patient, client or key party;
(p) Discussing the sexual history, preferences or fantasies of the

health care therapist;
(q) Any behavior, gestures, or expressions that may reasonably be

interpreted as seductive or sexual;
(r) Making statements regarding the patient, client or key party’s

body, appearance, sexual history, or sexual orientation other than for
legitimate health care purposes;

(s) Sexually demeaning behavior including any verbal or physical
contact which may reasonably be interpreted as demeaning, humiliating,
embarrassing, threatening or harming a patient, client or key party;

(t) Photographing or filming the body or any body part or pose of
a patient, client, or key party, other than for legitimate health care pur-
poses; and

(u) Showing a patient, client or key party sexually explicit pho-
tographs, other than for legitimate health care purposes

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 Stats. Imple-
mented: ORS 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0030
Communications with other Professionals

Certified sex offender therapists may establish professional rela-
tionships with corrections or probation officers and other mental health
professionals for the purpose of effective supervision and monitoring of
an offender’s behavior in the community. When appropriate, the thera-
pist shall seek an authorization for release of information from the client
to communicate with such agencies for treatment or monitoring purposes.

(1) Any violation of the treatment plan or contract, including court
orders or parole agreements, or conditions of supervision shall be report-
ed to the parole officer or other supervising officer.

(2) Therapists shall make periodic progress reports to the super-
vising officer as mutually agreed upon. Additional information regard-
ing treatment progress shall be provided in a timely manner when
requested by the court or other supervising officer.

(3) Prior to implementation, plans for contact with the victim,
potential victims and plans for family reunification or return (where
appropriate) should be reviewed with the supervising officer.

(4) Where appropriate and consistent with the adult offender’s
informed consent, certified sex offender therapists shall communicate
with the victim’s therapist, guardian ad litem, custodial parent,
guardian, caseworker, other family members, or other involved profes-
sional in making decisions regarding family reunification or return, or
victim contact with the offender.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 Stats. Imple-
mented: ORS 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0040
Mandatory Reporting

(1) Pursuant to ORS 675.390, the Sex Offender Treatment Board
is required to report to the Oregon Health Licensing Agency any con-
viction, determination, or finding of which they have personal knowledge
that any person certified as a clinical sex offender therapist or associate
sex offender therapist has committed an act which constitutes unpro-
fessional conduct under 676.612 and the provisions of OAR 331-840-
0010.
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(2) The following persons are required to report the information
identified in subsection (1) of this section:

(a) Persons certified as a clinical sex offender therapist or certified
as an associate sex offender therapist;

(b) The president, chief executive officer, or designated official of
any professional association or society whose members are a certified sex
offender therapist;

(c) Prosecuting attorneys and deputy prosecuting attorneys;
(d) Community corrections officers employed by the Oregon

Department of Corrections;
(e) Juvenile probation or parole counselors who provide counsel-

ing or supervision to juveniles;
(f) The president, chief executive officer, or designated official of

any public or private agency which employs a certified sex offender ther-
apist;

(g) The president, chief executive officer, or designated official of
any credentialing agency for health professionals.

(3) Reports under this section shall be made in writing, and shall
include the name, address, and telephone number of the person making
the report, the name and address of the person about whom the report is
made, and complete information about the circumstances giving rise to
the report.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 Stats. Imple-
mented:ORS 163, 419B, 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0050
Client Confidentiality; Disclosure and Informed Consent

For the purpose of clarifying requirements, the term “client” as used
in this rule, means the sex offender which is receiving the treatment from
the certified clinical sex offender therapist or certified associate sex
offender therapist, referred to as “therapist” in this rule unless otherwise
specifically noted.

(1) The certified sex offender therapist is responsible for insuring
that clients, consultation parties, family members, research participants,
organizations or agencies, and all other professional and work related
contacts fully understand issues related to confidentiality. This includes,
but it not limited to:

(a) Informing clients of the limits of confidentiality;
(b) Informing clients of any circumstances that may cause an excep-

tion to the agreed-upon confidentiality;
(c) Specifically informing clients about mandatory reporting

requirements; and
(d) Clarifying issues of confidentiality where multiple parties are

involved.
(2) Therapists shall comply with the provisions of ORS 675.390,

and shall notify clients of the limits of confidentiality imposed on ther-
apists by the provisions of ORS 675.390 and rules adopted by the agen-
cy.

(3) Therapists shall comply with mandated reporting laws and
statutes. No part of this rule shall be construed as releasing therapists
from such obligations. If the circumstances allow, therapists shall inform
clients that they will comply with the mandated reporting requirements.

(4) Unless reporting is mandated, written permission is required
before any data maybe disclosed to persons beyond a therapist’s staff.
Clients shall be informed of the reason for the release of information.

(5) Therapists providing services within the criminal justice setting
shall inform all parties involved of the level of confidentiality that
applies.

(6) Therapist information shall not communicate to others without
the written and informed consent of the client, unless the following cir-
cumstances apply:

(a) The client presents a clear and immediate danger to another indi-
vidual or individuals.

(b) The client presents a clear and immediate danger to him/herself.
(c) There is an obligation to comply with the specific governmen-

tal statutes or regulations requiring reporting to authorities.
(7) Therapists shall ensure that a client is provided informed con-

sent when an individual under the therapist’s supervision is providing ser-
vices to the client. The client must be informed of the name of the ther-
apist who is supervising the associate therapist and any affect on
confidentiality. 

(8) Therapists shall clarify, in a manner that the client is capable of
understanding, issues of confidentiality in cases involving functionally
disabled individuals or minors, when sharing information with parents,

guardians, or agencies that may have custody of the functionally disabled
individual or minor.

(9) When working with clients incapable of giving informed con-
sent, including functionally disabled individuals or minors, the therapist
is still responsible to:

(a) Inform the client about any proposed assessments or interven-
tions in a manner commensurate with the person’s psychological, func-
tional, or developmental capabilities;

(b) Seek their help and participation in such interventions; and
(c) Consider such persons’ preferences and best interest. 
(10) Therapists who provide service to several persons who have

a relationship (such as husband and wife or family members), shall clar-
ify at the outset how confidentiality will apply among participants and
to any external individual or entity (e.g., criminal justice).

(11) Therapists shall obtain written informed consent from a legal-
ly authorized person or agency for providing services, for participation
in research, and in video taping for educational purposes, in instances
where persons are legally capable of giving informed consent. 

(12) Therapists shall not share confidential information with col-
leagues that might reasonably lead to the identification of a sex offend-
er, research participant, organization or other person with whom the ther-
apist has a confidential relationship.

(13) Therapists shall protect the confidentiality of participants when
utilizing audio tape or video tape information in the context of training,
workshops or research studies. Such tapes will be used only with the
written and informed consent of all individuals portrayed on the tapes for
that particular use (i.e., training, workshops, and research studies).

(14) Live demonstrations of treatment techniques with current or
former clients or their families is considered exploitative and compro-
mises confidentiality beyond what can be justified relative to education
benefits. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410, 676.607, 676.612, 676.615 Stats. Imple-
mented: ORS 163, 419B, 675.390, 675.400
Hist.: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0060
Client Records

For the purpose of clarifying record keeping requirements, the term
“client” as used in this rule, means the sex offender which is receiving
the treatment from the certified sex offender therapist who will be pro-
viding treatment.

(1) Required Records. Therapists shall record, update and maintain
documentation for each client relevant to health history, clinical exam-
inations and treatment, and financial data. Documentation shall be writ-
ten or electronic. Records shall include the following information: 

(a) Basic client information, including name, address, telephone
number and dates of service; 

(b) Health history relevant to sex offender evaluation or treatment
plan(s), including referral to other mental health care provider or physi-
cian.

(c) Date and description of services rendered in the form of “chart
notes”, including any complications. Chart notes shall include the
recorder’s initials, certification number and professional title if multiple
practitioners provide service to the client.

(2) Record Format. Records and documentation shall be accurate,
complete, and legible, typed or recorded using ink. Legible hand-writ-
ten or electronic records are acceptable.

(3) Record Identifiers. Client records listed in subsection (1) of the
rule shall include the therapist’s name, license number, professional title
or abbreviation, and signature or initials somewhere on the documenta-
tion as a means of identifying the person who is providing service to the
client. This information may be affixed to the record(s) in the form of a
professional stamp or handwritten entry.

(4) Record Retention. All client records and documentation, writ-
ten or archived electronically by computer, shall be stored and main-
tained for a minimum of seven years after the therapist has last seen the
client or past the age of minority, so that the records are safeguarded,
readily retrievable, and available for inspection by the Oregon Health
Licensing Agency’s representative.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.390, 675.4100, 675.410, 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.390, 675.400, 675.410
Hist: HLA 2-2008, f. 5-27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

331-840-0070
Practice Standards and Guidelines

In accordance with ORS 675.400, all certified clinical and associ-
ate sex offender therapists as defined in ORS 675.365 and OAR 331-800-
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0010 must adhere to the following practice standards and guidelines for
the evaluation, treatment and management of adult male sex offenders,
juvenile sex offenders and sexual offenders with intellectual and other
developmental disabilities:

(1) Adult Male Sex Offenders: The 2004 Association for the Treat-
ment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA), Practice Standards and Guidelines. A
copy of the Practice Standards and Guidelines may be purchased at the
Web site: http://www.atsa.com/form.html. The information is also avail-
able by contacting ATSA: 4900 S.W. Griffith Drive, Suite 274, Beaver-
ton, Oregon U.S.A. 97005, Phone: (503) 643-1023, Fax: (503) 643-5084,
E-mail: atsa@atsa.com. 

(2) Juvenile Sex Offenders: Practice Standards and Guidelines,
adopted by the agency and board, January, 2010. A copy may be accessed
on the agency Web site: http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/SOTB/
index.shtml. The information is also available by contacting the agency
at: 700 Summer St. NE, Suite 320, Salem, OR 97301-1287. Phone: (503)
378-8667, Fax: (503) 585-9114, E-mail: ohla.info@state.or.us.

(3) Sex Offenders with Intellectual and Other Developmental Dis-
abilities: Practice Standards and Guidelines, adopted by the agency and
board, January, 2010. A copy of the Practice Standards and Guidelines
may be accessed at the agency Web site: http://www.oregon.gov/
OHLA/SOTB/index.shtml The information is also available by con-
tacting the agency at: 700 Summer St. NE, Suite 320, Salem, OR 97301-
1287. Phone: (503) 378-8667, Fax: (503) 585-9114, E-mail:
ohla.info@state.or.us.

(4) Failure to comply with OAR Chapter 331, Division 840 may
result in disciplinary action under ORS 676.612. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.605, 676.606, 675.615, 675.400, 675.410 & 675.360
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.360, 676.605, 676.606, 676.615, 675.400 & 676.410
Hist.: HLA 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 3-15-10; HLA 4-2010, f. & cert. ef. 5-18-10

DIVISION 850
DISCIPLINE AND ENFORCEMENT

331-850-0010
Investigative Authority

The Oregon Health Licensing Agency may initiate and conduct
investigations of matters relating to the practice of Sex Offender Treat-
ment, pursuant to ORS 676.608, and may take appropriate disciplinary
action in accordance with the provisions of 676.612 and 675.385.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.385, 676.608, 676.612
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.385, 676.608, 676.612
Hist.: HLA 1-2008(Temp), f. 3-14-08, cert. ef. 3-15-08 thru 9-1-08; HLA 2-2008, f. 5-
27-08, cert. ef. 6-1-08

DIVISION 900
BODY PIERCING

331-900-0000
Body Piercing Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, division 900:
(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” has the meaning set forth in OAR 331-

030-0040. 
(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 
(3) “APP” means Association of Professional Piercers. 
(4) “Body piercing” has the definition set forth in ORS 690.350. 
(5) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor or instructor is pre-

sent in the facility and actively involved in direct oversight and training
of students or individuals in training. 

(6) “Earlobe piercing services” means services limited to the soft
lower part of the external ear only, not to include cartilage. 

(7) “EPA” means United States Environmental Protection Agency. 
(8) “FDA” means Food and Drug Administration. 
(9) “Field of practice” has the definition set forth in ORS 690.350. 
(10) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, registered

with the EPA, which has demonstrated tuberculocidal activity. 
(11) “Instruments” means equipment used during body piercing ser-

vices. Types of instruments include but are not limited to needles, for-
ceps, hemostats, tweezers, and jewelry. 

(12) “Official transcript” means: 
(a) An original document authorized by the appropriate office in the

Oregon Department of Education and certified by a career school
licensed under ORS chapter 345 indicating applicant identity informa-
tion, field of practice(s) enrolled under, specific hour requirements for

each field of practice if applicable, enrollment information and a signa-
ture by an authorized representative on file with the Agency. Original
documents must be submitted directly to the Agency from the educa-
tional institution by United States Postal Service mail or other recognized
mail service providers in a sealed envelope; or 

(b) A document authorized by the appropriate office in the Oregon
Department of Education and certified by career school licensed under
ORS chapter 345 providing applicant identity information, field(s) of
practice studied and completed, specific hour requirements for each field
of practice if applicable, enrollment information and a signature by an
authorized representative on file with the Agency. Non-original docu-
ments shall only be accepted when and in the manner approved by the
Agency 

(13) “Practitioner” means a person licensed to perform services
included within a field of practice. 

(14) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof con-
tainer that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation, and dis-
posal. The container must be labeled with the “Biohazard” symbol. 

(15) “Single point piercing”, also referred to as an anchor or micro-
dermal, means a single point perforation of any body part for the purpose
of inserting an anchor with a step either protruding or flush with the skin; 

(16) “Standard body piercing” includes all body piercings includ-
ing cheek piercings and single point piercings defined under Subsection
(15) of this rule. A standard body piercer may not perform specialty level
one genital piercings and specialty level two genital piercings defined
under 331-905-0000. Standard body piercing services do not include
testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, eyelids, or sub-clavicle
piercings. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0005
Standard Body Piercing Education or Training

All education curriculum or training for standard body piercing
must meet requirements set forth by the Oregon Health Licensing Agen-
cy prior to beginning education or training. The theory portion of the cur-
riculum or training must be completed prior to the practical portion of
the curriculum or training.

(1) Standard body piercing career school course of study must
include 1150 hours of theory and practical education. The education must
include a minimum of 250 hours of theory instruction, 900 hours of prac-
tical experience and a minimum of 400 practical operations. 

(2) The 400 practical operations required under (1) of this rule must
include: 

(a) 100 practical operations observed by the student; 
(b) 100 practical operations in which the student participated; and 
(c) 200 practical operations performed by the student under direct

supervision, but without assistance. 
(3) The 250 hours of theory instruction required in (1) of this sec-

tion must include the following: 
(a) Anatomy, Physiology & Histology: 70 hours; 
(b) Infection control: 50 hours; 
(c) Jewelry: 15 hours; 
(d) Equipment: 20 hours; 
(e) Environment: 15 hours; 
(f) Ethics and legalities: 15 hours; 
(g) Emergencies: 5 hours; 
(h) Client consultation: 30 hours. 
(i) Oregon laws and rules: 20 hours; and 
(j) Discretionary related to body piercing: 10 hours.
(4) The 900 hours of practical experience required in (1) of this rule

must include client consultation, cleaning, disinfection and sterilization.
(5) The 400 practical operations must include the content listed in

section (4) of this rule and the standard body piercing procedures listed
in subsections (a) through (r) below:

(a) Ear lobe: minimum of 10; 
(b) Helix: minimum of 10; 
(c) Conch: minimum of 10; 
(d) Industrial: minimum of 10; 
(e) Rook: minimum of 10; 
(f) Tragus: minimum of 10; 
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(g) Tongue: minimum of 10; 
(h) Navel: minimum of 10; 
(i) Male nipple: minimum of 10; 
(j) Female nipple: minimum of 10; 
(k) Eyebrow: minimum of 10; 
(l) Upper Lip: minimum of 10; 
(m) Lower Lip: minimum of 10; 
(n) Septum: minimum of 10; 
(o) Nostril: minimum of 10; 
(p) Single point: minimum of 15; 
(q) Cheek: minimum of 2; and
(r) Additional standard body piercings of choice: minimum of 33

procedures. 
(6) As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theory must

be completed prior to practical work being performed. 
(7) Education must be conducted by a Department of Education,

Private Career School licensed instructor who holds an active standard
body piercing license. 

(8) A Department of Education, Private Career School licensed
instructor must provide direct supervision of practical training on a one-
to-one student/teacher ratio for students performing practical training
while working on the general public. 

(9) Supervised training requirements for standard body piercing
temporary trainees: Standard body piercing training program must
include 1150 hours of theory and practical education. The training must
include a minimum of 250 hours of theory instruction, 900 hours of prac-
tical experience and a minimum of 400 practical operations. 

(10) The 400 practical operations required under (9) of this rule
must include: 

(a) 100 practical operations observed by the trainee; 
(b) 100 practical operations in which the trainee participated; and 
(c) 200 practical operations performed by the trainee under super-

vision, but without assistance. 
(11) The 250 hours of theory instruction required in (9) of this sec-

tion must include the following: 
(a) Anatomy, Physiology & Histology: 70 hours; 
(b) Infection control: 50 hours; 
(c) Jewelry: 15 hours; 
(d) Equipment: 20 hours; 
(e) Environment: 15 hours; 
(f) Ethics and legalities: 15 hours; 
(g) Emergencies: 5 hours; 
(h) Client consultation: 30 hours. 
(i) Oregon laws and rules: 20 hours; and 
(j) Discretionary related to body piercing: 10 hours 
(12) The 900 hours of practical experience required in (9) of this

rule must include client consultation, cleaning, disinfection and steril-
ization. 

(13) The 400 practical operations must include the content listed in
section (12) of this rule and the standard body piercing procedures list-
ed in subsections (a) through (q) (r) below: 

(a) Ear lobe: minimum of 10; 
(b) Helix: minimum of 10; 
(c) Conch: minimum of 10; 
(d) Industrial: minimum of 10; 
(e) Rook: minimum of 10; 
(f) Tragus: minimum of 10; 
(g) Tongue: minimum of 10; 
(h) Navel: minimum of 10; 
(I) Male nipple: minimum of 10; 
(j) Female nipple: minimum of 10; 
(k) Eyebrow: minimum of 10; 
(l) Upper Lip: minimum of 10; 
(m) Lower Lip: minimum of 10; 
(n) Septum: minimum of 10; 
(o) Nostril: minimum of 10; 
(p) Single point: minimum of 15; 
(q) Cheek: minimum of 2; and
(r) Additional standard body piercings of choice: minimum of 33

procedures. 
(14) As part of the approved training, all hours of theory must be

completed prior to practical work being performed. 
(15) Training must be completed in no less than nine months from

the date the Agency issues the standard body piercing temporary trainee
license. 

(16) A supervisor must provide direct supervision of practical train-
ing on a one-to-one trainee to trainer ratio when the trainee is working
on the general public. 

(17) Supervisors of a standard body piercing temporary trainee
must adhere to OAR 331-900-0050 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-900-0010
Earlobe Piercing Temporary License

(1) An earlobe piercing temporary license is valid for one year, and
may be revived one time.

(2) An earlobe piercing temporary license may be issued to an indi-
vidual for a total of two years, no additional applications or revivals will
be accepted by the Agency. 

(3) An earlobe piercing temporary license holder must adhere to all
standards within OAR 331-900-0095, 331-900-0097, 331-900-0098,
331-900-0130 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

(4) An earlobe piercing temporary license holder, licensed under
ORS 690.365, may provide earlobe piercing services only. 

(5) Upon renewal, individuals who held a technician registration for
ear piercing prior to January 1, 2012, must apply for and meet the appli-
cation requirements for an earlobe piercing temporary license or apply
for and meet the application requirements for a standard body piercing
license. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-900-0015
Application Requirements for Earlobe Piercing Temporary License 

An individual applying for a Earlobe Piercing Temporary License
must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
(5) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an

Agency approved provider; 
(6) Submit proof of current basic first aid training from an Agen-

cy approved provider; 
(7) Pay examination fees; 
(8) Submit passing score of Agency approved written examinations

in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(a) and (b) within two years
from the date of application; 

(9) Upon passage of all required examinations and before issuance
of a license, the applicant must pay all license fees. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-900-0020
Standard Body Piercing Temporary Trainee License

(1) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license is valid for
one year, and may be revived one time.

(2) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license holder,
licensed under ORS 690.365, may provide standard piercing services
under the direct supervision of an Agency approved supervisor pursuant
OAR 331-900-0050 and 331-900-0055. 

(3) Supervisors of a standard body piercing temporary trainee must
adhere to OAR 331-900-0055. 

(4) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license holder is
prohibited from performing specialty level one genital piercing services
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defined under OAR 331-905-0000 and specialty level two genital pierc-
ing services defined under OAR 331-905-0000. 

(5) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license holder is
prohibited from piercing the testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula,
eyelids or sub-clavicle. 

(6) A standard body piercing temporary trainee license holder must
adhere to all standards within OAR 331-900-0100, 331-900-0105, 331-
900-0110, 331-900-0115, 331-900-0120, 331-900-0125, 331-900-0130,
and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 Division 925. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 1-16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13

331-900-0025
Application Requirements for Standard Body Piercing Temporary
Trainee License 

An individual applying for a Standard Body Piercing Temporary
Trainee License must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age, documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; and 
(5) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic

first aid training from an Agency approved provider; 
(6) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an

Agency approved provider; and 
(7) Pay applicable licensing fees. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert.
ef. 3-15-13

331-900-0030
Standard Body Piercing License

(1) A standard body piercing license holder, licensed under ORS
690.365, may perform standard body piercing services. 

(2) A standard body piercing license is good for one year and
becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from the date of
issuance.

(3) A standard body piercing license holder is prohibited from per-
forming specialty level one genital piercing services defined under OAR
331-905-0000 until requirements of OAR 331-905-0040 are met and spe-
cialty level two genital piercing services defined under 331-905-0000
until requirements of 331-905-0050 are met.

(4) A body piercing technician licensed prior to January 1, 2012,
is prohibited from performing specialty level one genital piercing ser-
vices defined under OAR 331-905-0000 until requirements of 331-905-
0020 are met or specialty level genital piercing two services defined
under 331-905-0000 until requirements of 331-905-0030 are met.

(5) A standard body piercing license holder is prohibited from pierc-
ing the testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, eyelids or sub-clav-
icle. 

(6) A standard body piercing license holder must adhere to all stan-
dards within OAR 331-900-0100, 331-900-0105, 331-900-0110, 331-
900-0115, 331-900-0120, 331-900-0125, 331-900-0130, and all appli-
cable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-900-0035
Application Requirements for Standard Body Piercing License

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice standard body
piercing must:

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 

(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-
cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic
first aid training from an Agency approved provider; 

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an
Agency approved provider; 

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; and
(g) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway. 
(2) License Pathway 1- A graduate from an Oregon Licensed Career

School for Standard Body Piercing must: 
(a) Submit official transcript from a body piercing career school

under ORS 345 showing proof of completion of required standard body
piercing curriculum as approved by the Agency under OAR 331-900-
0005; 

(b) Pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written examina-

tion in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(c) within two years
before the date of application; 

(d) Submit a passing score of an Agency approved practical exam-
ination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(d) within two years
before the date of application; 

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before issuance
of license, applicant must pay all license fees; and

(f) An applicant is not required to provide proof of official tran-
scripts from a body piercing career school under ORS 345 if the appli-
cant was previously licensed as a body piercer in Oregon. 

(3) License Pathway 2 — An individual qualifying for licensure as
a Standard Body Piercing Temporary Trainee must: 

(a) Submit documentation approved by the Agency showing proof
of having completed training listed under OAR 331-900-0005, verified
by a supervisor approved under 331-900-0055, on a form prescribed by
the Agency; 

(b) Pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written examina-

tion for standard body piercing in accordance with OAR 331-900-
0060(1)(c) within two years before the date of application; 

(d) Submit a passing score of an agency approved practical exam-
ination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(d) within two years
before the date of application; and

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before issuance
of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

(4) License Pathway 3 — An individual qualifying for licensure
through Reciprocity must: 

(a) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040
demonstrating proof of current license as a body piercer, which is active
with no current or pending disciplinary action. The licensing must be sub-
stantially equivalent to Oregon licensing requirements pursuant to ORS
690.365. Or if not substantially equivalent the applicant must demon-
strate to the satisfaction of the Agency that the applicant has been
employed or working as a body piercer full time for three of the last five
years;

(b) Pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written examina-

tion in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(c) within two years
before the date of application; 

(d) Submit a passing score of an Agency approved practical exam-
ination in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(d) within two years
before the date of application; and 

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before issuance
of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0040
Temporary Standard Body Piercing License

(1) A temporary standard body piercing license pursuant to ORS
690.365 is a temporary license to perform standard body piercing ser-
vices on a limited basis, not to exceed 15 consecutive calendar days. A
temporary standard body piercing license holder:
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(a) May revive the license up to four times, in a 12 month period
from the date the Agency receives the initial application. Reviving a
license can be done consecutively with no lapse in active license dates; 

(b) Must submit all requests to revive a license on a form prescribed
by the Agency. Request to revive a license must be received at least 15
days before standard body piercing services are provided unless other-
wise approved by the Agency; 

(c) Must submit notification of a change in work location on a form
prescribed by the Agency at least 24 hours before services are performed;
and 

(d) Must work in a licensed facility. 
(2) A temporary standard body piercing license holder may only

perform standard body piercing services. 
(3) A temporary standard body piercing license holder is prohibit-

ed from performing specialty level one genital piercing services defined
under OAR 331-905-0000 and specialty level two genital piercing ser-
vices defined under OAR 331-905-0000. 

(4) A temporary standard body piercing license holder is prohibit-
ed from piercing the testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, eye-
lids or sub-clavicle. 

(5) A temporary standard body piercing license holder must adhere
to all standards within OAR 331-900-0100, 331-900-0105, 331-900-
0110, 331-900-0115, 331-900-0120, 331-900-0125, 331-900-0130, and
all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0045
Application Requirements for Temporary Standard Body Piercing
License 

An individual applying for a Temporary Standard Body Piercing
License must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees and must
be received at least 15 days before standard body piercing services are
provided to clients;.

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(4) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an
Agency approved provider; 

(5) Attest to six months of training or experience, within the last two
years, performing standard body piercing services on a form prescribed
by the Agency; or 

(6) Submit affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040. 
(7) For the purpose of this rule training or experience includes atten-

dance or participation at an instructional program presented, recognized,
or under the sponsorship of any permanently organized institution, agen-
cy, or professional organization or association recognized by the Agen-
cy. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-900-0050
Standard Body Piercing Supervisor

(1) An approved supervisor may supervise one standard body pierc-
ing temporary trainee per shift.

(2) An approved supervisor must exercise management, guidance,
and control over the activities of the standard body piercing trainee and
must exercise professional judgment and be responsible for all matters
relative to the standard body piercing. 

(3) Supervisors must document work done by the standard body
piercing temporary trainee on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(4) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing with-
in five calendar days if a standard body piercing temporary trainee is no
longer being supervised, and must provide the number of hours of train-
ing completed on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(5) Not withstanding any other disciplinary actions, an approved
supervisor’s authorization to supervise may be withdrawn by the Agen-
cy for providing incomplete or inadequate training or falsifying docu-
mentation. 

(6) Supervisors must provide direct supervision to standard body
piercing temporary trainees. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13

331-900-0055
Requirements for Standard Body Piercing Supervisor

To be an approved supervisor for a standard body piercing tempo-
rary trainee an individual must:

(1) Submit a completed form prescribed by the Agency, which must
contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000; 

(2) Hold an active, body piercing license issued prior to January 1,
2012 or a standard body piercing license issued after January 1, 2012,
with no current or pending disciplinary action;

(3) Submit proof of having been actively practicing any combina-
tion of body piercing experience prior to January 1, 2012, or standard
body piercing experience after January 1, 2012, for at least five years
prior to submitting application on a form prescribed by the Agency;

(4) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic
first aid training from an Agency approved provider; 

(5) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an
Agency approved provider; and 

(6) Have passed an Agency approved written and practical exam-
ination for standard body piercing in accordance with OAR 331-900-
0060(3) and (4). 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13

331-900-0060
Approved Body Piercing Examinations

The Agency has approved the following examinations for body
piercing:

(1) Oregon client care written examination; 
(2) Oregon safety, sanitation and infection control written exami-

nation;
(3) Oregon standard body piercing written examination;
(4) Oregon standard body piercing practical examination; 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-900-0065
General Body Piercing Examination Information

(1) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet identi-
fication requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000.

(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an
agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the examination
in languages other than English. 

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored dur-
ing the course of testing. 

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the
Agency. 

(5) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the examination area
is prohibited. 

(6) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as per-
sonal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other devices
deemed inappropriate by the agency, are prohibited in the examination
area. 

(7) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the examination,
the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and forfeiture of the
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candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes but is not limited
to: 

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and attempt-
ing to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination process; 

(b) Violations of subsections (5), (6), or (7) of this rule; 
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-related

information, notes or materials from the examination site; 
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the exam-

ination; and 
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the

examination. 
(8) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination or

the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under sub-
section (7) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, sub-
mit additional examination fees, and request in writing to schedule a new
examination date, before being considered for another examination
opportunity. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0070
Written Examination Retake Requirements

(1) Notwithstanding OAR 331-900-0060(1)(a) and (b) failed sec-
tions of the written examination may be retaken as follows:

(a) After first failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
calendar days; 

(b) After second failed attempt — applicant may not retake for
seven calendar days; 

(c) After third failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 cal-
endar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit one of the fol-
lowing: 

(A) An official transcript certifying completion of an additional 100
hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved curriculum out-
lined in OAR 331-900-0005 from a career school licensed under 345 on
a form prescribed by the agency; or 

(B) Documentation from an Agency approved supervisor certify-
ing completion of an additional 100 hours of training in theory, focused
on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-900-0005 on a form
prescribed by the Agency. 

(d) After fourth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
calendar days; 

(e) After fifth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
calendar days; 

(f) After sixth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 cal-
endar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit one of the fol-
lowing: 

(A) An official transcript certifying completion of an additional 100
hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved curriculum out-
lined in OAR 331-900-0005 from a career school licensed under 345 on
a form prescribed by the Agency; or 

(B) Documentation from an Agency approved supervisor certify-
ing completion of an additional 100 hours of training in theory, focused
on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-900-0005 on a form
prescribed by the Agency. 

(g) After seventh failed attempt — ability to retake, requirements
for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-by-case
basis. 

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must meet the requirements
under OAR 331-030-0000. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-900-0075
Practical Examination Retake Requirements

(1) Failed practical examinations may be retaken at a date and time
determined by the Agency. Applicants retaking a failed practical must
notify the Agency within 30 days before the next scheduled examination
date and pay all examination fees 

(2) Applicants who fail to pass the practical examination for stan-
dard body piercing after three attempts (initial examination plus two
retakes) may not retake an examination for 30 calendar days, must pay
all additional fees and must submit one of the following:

(a) An official transcript certifying completion of an additional 100
hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved curriculum out-
lined in OAR 331-900-0005 from a career school licensed under 345 on
a form prescribed by the Agency; or

(b) Documentation from an Agency approved supervisor certifying
completion of an additional 100 hours of training in theory, focused on
the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-900-0005 on a form pre-
scribed by the Agency.

(3) After the fourth failed attempt — ability to retake, requirements
for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-by-case
basis.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-900-0080
Renewal of a Standard Body Piercing License

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, divi-
sion 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regarding
authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for issuance
of a duplicate license.

(2) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, a stan-
dard body piercing license renewal must be made prior to the license
entering inactive status. The licensee must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000; 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-900-0085, on a form prescribed by the agency.
Continuing education is required whether the license is current or inac-
tive; 

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resusci-
tation from an Agency approved provider; 

(e) Attestation of current first aid training by an Agency approved
provider; and 

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens
training from an Agency approved provider. 

(3) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A standard body piercing
license may be inactive for up to three years. If a license is inactive the
licensee is not authorized to practice. When renewing a license after
entering inactive status, the licensee holder must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 331-

940-0000; 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-900-0085 on a form prescribed by the Agency.
Continuing education is required whether the license is current or inac-
tive; 

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resusci-
tation from an Agency approved provider; 

(e) Attestation of current first aid training by an Agency approved
provider; and 

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens
training from an Agency approved provider. 

(4) EXPIRED LICENSE: A standard body piercing license that has
been inactive for more than three years is expired and the license hold-
er must reapply and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-900-0035. 

(5) LICENSE RENEWAL — STANDARD BODY PIERCERS
LICENSED PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 2012. In addition to other require-
ments of this rule, for the first license renewal after the effective date of
this rule, an individual originally licensed prior to January 1, 2012 to
practice body piercing, including earlobe piercing technician registra-
tions, must: 

(a) Submit passing score of an agency approved written examina-
tion in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(c); 

(b) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical exami-
nation in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(1)(d); and

(c) Licensed standard body piercers are only required to pass the
Board approved written and practical examination one time unless the
license becomes expired. 

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2014 Edition 5 - 46 (11-15-13)



Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0085
Continuing Education for Standard Body Piercing License

A standard body piercing license holder must comply with the fol-
lowing continuing education requirements:

(1) Complete 10 clock hours of satisfactory continuing education
every year. 

(2) Satisfactory continuing education courses must fit into the
approved course of study outlined in OAR 331-900-0005, and must be
obtained as follows: 

(a) Five hours must involve participation or attendance at an
instructional program presented, recognized, or under the auspices of any
permanently organized institution, agency, or completion and certifica-
tion by an approved national home study organization; and 

(b) Five hours may be self-study which may include the following: 
(A) Correspondence courses including online courses; 
(B) Review of publications, textbooks, printed material, or audio

cassette(s); and
(C) Viewing of films, videos, or slides.
(3) A licensee must report compliance with the continuing educa-

tion requirement through attestation on the license renewal document.
Licensees will be subject to the provisions of OAR 331-900-0090 per-
taining to periodic audit of continuing education. 

(4) Continuing education requirements must be met every year,
even if the license is inactive or suspended. 

(5) A licensee must maintain proof of continuing education for five
years following the date of the continuing education hours obtained, for
auditing purposes. 

(6) A licensee may carry up to 8 continuing education hours forward
to the next renewal cycle. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0090
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Agency will audit a select percentage of licenses to verify
compliance with continuing education requirements.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing education
attestation must submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days from the
date of notification, satisfactory evidence of participation in required con-
tinuing education in accordance with OAR 331-900-0085. 

(3) Documentation of attendance at a program or course provided
by the sponsor must include: 

(a) Name of sponsoring institution, agency or organization; 
(b) Title of presentation and description of content; 
(c) Name of instructor or presenter; 
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours; 
(e) Course agenda; and
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance. 
(4) Documentation substantiating the completion of continuing edu-

cation through self-study must show a direct relation to subjects outlined
in OAR 331-900-0005, be submitted on forms provided by the agency
and include the following: 

(a) Name of sponsor or source, type of study, description of con-
tent, date of completion and duration in clock hours; 

(b) Name of approved correspondence courses or national home
study issues; 

(c) Name of publications, textbooks, printed material or audiocas-
sette’s, including date of publication, publisher, and ISBN identifier; and

(d) Name of films, videos, or slides, including date of production,
name of sponsor or producer and catalog number. 

(5) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-
plete, the licensee must correct the deficiency within 30 calendar days
from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency within the pre-
scribed time constitutes grounds for disciplinary action. 

(6) Misrepresentation of continuing education or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include, but is not limited to assessment of
a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-900-0095
Earlobe Piercing Practice Standards and Prohibitions

(1) A temporary earlobe piercing license holder must:
(a) Use an earlobe piercing system that pierces an individual’s ear-

lobe by use of a sterile, encapsulated single-use stud with clasp;
(b) Use an earlobe piercing system made of non absorbent or non

porous material which can be cleaned and disinfected according to man-
ufacturer’s instructions; 

(c) Use single-use prepackaged sterilized ear piercing studs for each
client; 

(d) Store new or sterilized ear piercing systems separately from
used or soiled instruments; and

(e) Disinfect all parts of the piercing gun with a high-level disin-
fectant.

(2) A temporary earlobe piercer may only pierce with an earlobe
piercing system; use of a needle is prohibited. 

(3) Earlobe piercing system may only be used to pierce the earlobe.
Use of an earlobe piercing system on other parts of the body or ear is pro-
hibited. 

(4) Piercing with a manual loaded spring operated ear piercing sys-
tem is prohibited. 

(5) Piercing the earlobe with any type of piercing gun which does
not use the pre-sterilized encapsulated stud and clasp system is prohib-
ited. 

(6) Earlobe Piercing is prohibited: 
(a) On a person under 18 years of age unless the requirements of

OAR 331-900-0130 are met;
(b) On a person who shows signs of being inebriated or appears to

be incapacitated by the use of alcohol or drugs; 
(c) On a person who shows signs of recent intravenous drug use;

and 
(d) On a person with sunburn or other skin diseases or disorders of

the skin such as open lesions, rashes, wounds, puncture marks in areas
of treatment. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-900-0097
General Standards for Temporary Earlobe Piercing

(1) The cleanliness of any common in a facility is the responsibil-
ity of each license holder. All license holders may be cited for violations
found in the common area.

(2) A temporary earlobe piercing licensee licensed to perform ear-
lobe piercing services or a licensed facility owner must: 

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for
providing services in a field of practice at the place of business; 

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufacturer’s
intended use of the device by the FDA;

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited for use
in a field of practice by the Agency or the FDA;

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with man-
ufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are per-
formed; 

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers; 
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products and protective

gloves are used for each client. Use of towels and linens are prohibited;
(g) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean and

in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavatories can be
substituted for disposable hand towels; 
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(h) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the business
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized by
the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or nonpoi-
sonous reptiles in terrariums;

(i) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at adequate
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and be
available for immediate use at all times the facility is open for business;

(j) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered container
with a garbage liner;

(k) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potentially infec-
tious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then disposed
of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediately following the
service;

(l) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with blood
or other potentially infectious materials be disposed of in a sharps con-
tainer; 

(m) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available on
the facility premises; and

(n) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control Standards. 
(3) A temporary earlobe piercing licensee must wear eye goggles,

shields or a mask if spattering is possible while providing services. 
(4) All substances shall be dispensed from containers in a manner

to prevent contamination of the unused portion. Single use tubes or con-
tainers and applicators shall be discarded following the service. 

(5) A temporary earlobe piercing licensee is permitted to have hot
and cold running water within a restroom as part of surrounding premis-
es or adjacent to the facility. 

(6) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any pro-
cedure area which comes in direct contact with client is prohibited. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0098
Standards for Client Services for Temporary Earlobe Piercing
Licensees

(1) A temporary earlobe piercing licensee must observe and adhere
to the following hand washing and disposable glove standards when ser-
vicing clients:

(a) HAND WASHING: Hands must be washed or treated with an
antibacterial hand sanitizer before and after treatment of each client, and
before putting on disposable gloves and immediately after disposable
gloves are removed; and

(b) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands in
warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces of the
hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a clean, dis-
posable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand sanitizer by using
friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists. Use of bar soap is pro-
hibited. 

(2) A temporary earlobe piercing licensee must observe and adhere
to the following protective disposable glove standards when servicing
clients: 

(a) PROTECTIVE DISPOSABLE GLOVES: A new pair of dis-
posable gloves must be worn during the treatment of each client; 

(b) Hands must be washed in accordance with hand washing
instructions listed in Subsection (1) of this rule before putting on dis-
posable gloves and immediately after disposable gloves are removed; 

(c) When a treatment session is interrupted disposable gloves must
be removed and discarded. Hand washing instructions listed in Subsec-
tion (1) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves put on
when returning to the earlobe piercing service area; 

(d) When a licensee leaves the earlobe piercing procedure area in
the middle of a earlobe piercing procedure, gloves must be removed
before leaving the procedure area, hand washing instructions listed in
Subsection (1) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves put
on when returning to the procedure area; 

(e) Disposable gloves must be removed and discarded before leav-
ing the area where earlobe piercing services are performed; 

(f) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, and
hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (1) of this rule must be
followed and gloves changed following hand washing; and

(g) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute for
hand washing instructions listed in subsection (1) of this rule. 

(3) Disposable gloves must be worn during pre-cleaning, cleaning,
rinsing, disinfecting and drying of equipment and instruments; 

(4) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an antiseptic
solution. 

(5) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves.
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0099
Client Records and Information for Temporary Earlobe Piercing
Licensees

(1) A temporary earlobe piercing licensee is responsible for main-
taining and keeping copies of all client records. If client records are main-
tained by the facility the facility owner must provide the licensee with
copies of those client records upon request. The record must include the
following for each client:

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client; 
(b) Date of each service;
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service; 
(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s medical

or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold sores and
fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-feeding/nursing. 

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or topi-
cal solutions; 

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders; 
(g) Description of complications during procedure(s); 
(h) Signature from the client that they have received the following

information in writing and verbally: 
(A) All information related to the body piercing service including

possible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the service
and consent to obtaining the body piercing service; and

(B) Information listed in OAR 331-900-0110 regarding informed
consent for certain standard body piercing procedures.

(C) After care instructions including care following service, pos-
sible side effects and complications and restrictions. 

(i) Signature from the client that they have been informed, both ver-
bally and in writing, of all information related to the earlobe piercing ser-
vices including possible reactions, side effects and potential complica-
tions of the service and consent to obtaining the earlobe piercing service;
and 

(j) The licensee must obtain proof of age or consent consisting of
one of the following: 

(A) If the client is of over 18, a copy of a government issued pho-
tographic identification. A copy of the government issued photograph-
ic identification must be included in the client record; 

(B) If the client is a minor written parental or legal guardian con-
sent is required. The written parental or legal guardian consent must be
submitted to the licensee by the parent or legal guardian prior to pierc-
ing the minor. The consenting parent or legal guardian must be 18 years
of age and present government issued photographic identification at time
of written consent. A copy of the government issued photographic iden-
tification must be included in the client record. 

(C) If the client is an emancipated minor, copies of legal court doc-
uments proving emancipation and government issued photographic iden-
tification is required. 

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from physicians regarding med-
ical Information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice from the
physician must be documented in the client record. 

(3) For the purpose of (1) and (2) of this rule records must be kept
at facility premises for a minimum of three years and must be made
immediately available to the agency upon request. 

(4) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format.
Client records, which are not readable by the Agency, will be treated as
incomplete. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2014 Edition 5 - 48 (11-15-13)



331-900-0100
Standard Body Piercing Practice Standards and Prohibitions

(1) Piercing is prohibited: 
(a) On a person under 18 years of age unless the requirements of

OAR 331-900-0130 are met.
(b) On the genital or nipple of a person under the age of 18 regard-

less of parental consent. 
(c) On testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, eyelids and sub-

clavicle;
(d) On a person who shows signs of being inebriated or appears to

be incapacitated by the use of alcohol or drugs; 
(e) On a person who shows signs of recent intravenous drug use;

and
(f) On a person with sunburn or other skin diseases or disorders of

the skin such as open lesions, rashes, wounds, puncture marks in areas
of treatment.

(2) Use of piercing guns is limited to piercing of the earlobe exclu-
sively. No other part of the body or ear shall be pierced by use of a pierc-
ing gun. 

(3) Piercing with a manual loaded spring operated piercing gun is
prohibited. 

(4) Piercing the earlobe with any type of piercing gun which does
not use a pre-sterilized encapsulated stud and clasp system is prohibit-
ed. 

(5) The Agency adopts the Association of Professional Piercers
2005 Procedure Manual by reference which must be used by licensees
as a standard of care for body piercing best practices. The procedure man-
ual can be located at http://www.safepiercing.org/publications/procedure-
manual/

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-900-0105
Initial Jewelry for Standard Body Piercing

(1) All standard body piercers must meet the following jewelry
grade standards for initial piercings:

(a) Surgical steel that is American Society for Testing and Materi-
als International (ASTM) ASTM F-138 compliant or International Orga-
nization for Standardization (ISO) ISO 5832-1 compliant, ISO 10993-
(6,10 or 11) compliant, or European Economic Community (EEC) Nickel
Directive compliant; 

(b) Implant certified titanium (Ti6Al4V ELI) that is ASTM F-136
compliant or ISO 5832-3 compliant, or commercially pure titanium that
is ASTM F-67 compliant; 

(c) Niobium; 
(d) White or yellow gold that is 14k or higher, nickel-free, and solid

(no gold plated, gold-filled, or gold overlay/vermeil); 
(e) Platinum; 
(f) Biocompatible polymers (plastics) including Tygon Medical

Surgical Tubing 5-50HL or 5-54HL, PTFE (Teflon), Bioplast™ or any
new polymer products that are USP VI compliant; 

(g) Glass — Fused quartz glass, lead-free borosilicate, or lead-free
soda-lime glass; 

(h) Any other material that the APP determines to be appropriate
for use in an initial piercing; or

(i) Threaded jewelry must be internally threaded and all surfaces
and ends must be free of nicks, scratches, burrs and polishing com-
pounds. 

(2) A licensee must have on the facility premises a “Mill Test Cer-
tificate” for all jewelry used for initial piercings which provides evidence
of a specific grade of metal with a code designation from the ASTM or
ISO or other documentation approved by the agency which meets one
of the requirements listed in subsection (1) of this rule. 

(3) Jewelry used during earlobe piercing services defined under
OAR 331-900-0000 for an initial earlobe piercing is not required to meet
the jewelry grade standards of this rule. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0110
Informed Consent for Certain Standard Body Piercing Procedures

(1) A standard body piercer must provide information prescribed by
the Agency to the client, regarding the following procedures: 

(a) Nape piercing; 
(b) Single point piercing; and
(c) General information regarding standard body piercing.
(2) Informed consent documents for standard body piercing pro-

cedures are published on the Agency’s website at http://www.oregon.gov/
OHLA/BAP/forms.shtml.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-900-0115 
General Standards for Standard Body Piercing

(1) The cleanliness of any common in a facility is the responsibil-
ity of each license holder. All license holders may be cited for violations
found in the common area.

(2) An individual licensed to perform services in a field of practice
or a licensed facility owner must: 

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for
providing services in a field of practice at the place of business; 

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufacturer’s
intended use of the device by the FDA;

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited for use
in a field of practice by the Agency or the FDA; 

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with man-
ufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are per-
formed; 

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers;
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products, single-use nee-

dles, sterilized jewelry and protective gloves are used for each client. Use
of towels and linens are prohibited; 

(g) Have unrestricted access or availability to a sink with hot and
cold running water, as part of surrounding premises or adjacent to the
facility but separate from a restroom; 

(h) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean and
in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavatories can be
substituted for disposable hand towels;

(i) Ensure all waste material related to a service in a field of prac-
tice be deposited in a covered container following service for each client; 

(j) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the business
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized by
the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or nonpoi-
sonous reptiles in terrariums; 

(k) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at adequate
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and be
available for immediate use at all times the facility is open for business; 

(l) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered container
with a garbage liner;

(m) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potentially
infectious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then dis-
posed of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediately fol-
lowing the service;

(n) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with blood
or other potentially infectious materials be disposed of in a sharps con-
tainer; 

(o) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available on
the facility premises; 

(p) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with blood
other potentially infectious materials be disposed of in a sharps container;

(q) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Stan-
dards; 

(r) Ensure that all instruments that come in direct contact with
client’s skin are handled using gloves; and

(s) Ensure that all jewelry used for initial piercings is sterilized
before use on a client in accordance with OAR 331-900-0125. 

(3) A licensee must wear eye goggles, shields or a mask if spatter-
ing is possible while providing services. 

(4) All substances must be dispensed from containers in a manner
to prevent contamination of the unused portion. Single use tubes or con-
tainers and applicators shall be discarded following the service. 
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(5) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any pro-
cedure area which comes in direct contact with client is prohibited. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA
1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0120
Standards for Client Services for Standard Body Piercing

(1) A licensee must wash hands in accordance with Subsection (2)
of this rule as follows:

(a) Prior to donning gloves to set-up of instruments used for con-
ducting body piercing procedures; 

(b) Immediately prior to donning gloves to perform a body pierc-
ing procedure; 

(c) Immediately after removing gloves at the conclusion of per-
forming a body piercing procedure and after removing gloves at the con-
clusion of procedures performed in the sterilization area; 

(d) When leaving the work area; 
(e) When coming in contact with blood or other potentially infec-

tious materials; 
(f) Before and after performing the following acts not limited to eat-

ing, drinking, smoking, applying lip cosmetics or lip balm, handling con-
tact lenses, or using the bathroom; or 

(g) When hands are visibly soiled. 
(2) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands in

warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces of the
hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a clean, dis-
posable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand sanitizer by using
friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists. 

(3) A new pair of disposable gloves must be worn during the treat-
ment of each client.

(4) A minimum of one pair of disposable gloves must be used for
each of the following stages of the body piercing procedure: 

(a) Set-up of instruments used for conducting body piercing pro-
cedures and skin preparation of the body piercing procedure area; 

(b) The body piercing procedure and post-procedure teardown; or 
(c) Cleaning and disinfection of the procedure area after each use

or between clients. 
(5) Once gloves have been removed, they must be disposed of

immediately and hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of
this rule must be followed. 

(6) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, and
hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of this rule must be
followed and gloves changed following hand washing. 

(7) Disposable gloves must be removed before leaving the area
where body piercing procedures are performed. 

(8) When a licensee leaves the body piercing procedure area in the
middle of a body piercing procedure, gloves must be removed before
leaving the procedure area, hand washing instructions listed in Subsec-
tion (2) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves put on
when returning to the procedure area. 

(9) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute for
hand washing instructions listed in subsection (2) of this rule. 

(10) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an antiseptic
solution. 

(11) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves.
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0125
Approved Sterilization Standards for Standard Body Piercing

(1) Needles must be single use, used on one client, then properly
disposed of in an approved sharps container defined under OAR 331-
900-0000.

(2) All non-sterilized or reusable instruments that come in direct
contact with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood or other potentially
infectious materials must be cleaned and sterilized before use on a client
or re-use on another client. 

(3) New gloves must be worn during any cleaning or sterilization
procedure. 

(4) The cleaning and sterilization process listed in subsection (5)
of this rule is not required if single-use prepackaged sterilized instru-
ments, obtained from suppliers or manufacturers are used. 

(5) Approved cleaning and sterilization process for non-sterilized
or reusable instruments includes the following ordered method after each
use: 

(a) Clean non-sterilized or reusable instruments by manually brush-
ing or swabbing visible foreign matter and rinsing the instruments with
warm water and an appropriate detergent solution to remove blood and
other potentially infectious materials; 

(b) Clean, non-sterilized or reusable instruments, must be rinsed and
placed in an ultrasonic cleaner filled with an appropriate ultrasonic solu-
tion including but not limited to an enzymatic cleaner. The ultrasonic unit
must be used according to the manufacturer’s instructions. The ultrasonic
unit must operate at 40 to 60 kilohertz. All hinged instruments (includ-
ing but not limited to piercing forceps) must be in the open position. The
ultrasonic cleaner must remain covered when in use; 

(c) Remove non-sterilized or reusable instruments from the ultra-
sonic unit. All instruments must be rinsed, air dried, and individually
packaged in sterilization pouches that include use of a color change indi-
cator strip to assure sufficient temperature during each sterilization cycle,
the date the sterilization was performed must be applied to the steril-
ization pouch; OR

(A) Instruments which are sterilized in an autoclave which the man-
ufacturer does not require packaging instruments use of a color change
indicator strip must be used immediately after sterilization process is
complete. Storage of sterilized Instruments using this method is pro-
hibited;

(d) Non-sterilized or reusable instruments must be sterilized by
using an autoclave sterilizer, steam or chemical, registered and listed with
the FDA; 

(e) A steam sterilization integrator must be used to monitor the
essential conditions of steam sterilization for each autoclaved load or
cycle. Results must be recorded in a log book for each sterilization cycle.
Each steam sterilization integrator must indicate the date the sterilization
cycle took place. Steam sterilization integrators must be kept for a min-
imum of sixty days; and

(f) After sterilization, the sterilized instruments must be stored in
individually packaged sterilization pouches that include a color change
indicator strip listed under (5)(c) of this rule and in a dry, disinfected,
closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved for the stor-
age of such instruments. 

(6) Use of a biological monitoring system (“spore tests”) must be
done at least once a month, verified through an independent laboratory,
to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and sterilization
achieved. 

(7) The ultrasonic unit listed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule must
be used, cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s
instructions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures
for the operation of the ultrasonic unit must be kept on file at the body
art facility. 

(8) All sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips list-
ed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule must contain a chemical/temperature
and/or humidity sensitive tapes, strips or pellets for monitoring each ster-
ilization cycle. 

(9) Sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips listed
in subsection (5)(c) of this rule and steam sterilization integrators listed
in (5)(e) of this rule must be available at all times for inspection by the
Agency. 

(10) Biological spore test results listed in subsection (6) of this rule
must be immediately available at all times for inspection by the Agen-
cy and kept at facility premises for a minimum of two years. 

(11) The autoclave listed in subsection (5)(e) must be used, cleaned,
and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and a
copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures for the operation
of the autoclave must be kept on file at the body art facility. 

(12) The expiration date for sterilized instruments is one year from
the date of sterilization unless the integrity of the package is compro-
mised. 

(13) Sterilized instruments may not be used if the package integri-
ty has been breached, is wet or stained, or the expiration date has exceed-
ed without first meeting the requirements listed in Subsection (5) of this
rule. 

(14) All sterilized instruments used in body piercing procedures
must remain stored in sterile packages and in a dry, disinfected, closed
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cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved for the storage of such
instruments until just prior to the performance of a body piercing pro-
cedure. 

(15) If a biological spore test listed in subsection (6) of this rule,
result is positive, a licensee must discontinue the use of that sterilizer
(autoclave) until it has been serviced and a negative spore test has been
recorded before putting that sterilizer back into service. Until a negative
spore test has been received, the licensee must: 

(a) Use an alternative sterilizer (autoclave); 
(b) Use only sterilized instruments that have a sterilization date on

or before the date before the last negative spore test was recorded; or 
(c) Use only single use instruments. 
(16) Following a negative spore test instruments which were ster-

ilized following the receipt of the negative spore test must be repackaged
and sterilized pursuant to subsection (5) of this rule, before use. 

(17) Following a negative spore test the licensee or facility must
contact all clients in writing who may have received services prior to
receiving the negative spore test results. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-900-0130
Client Records and Information for Standard Body Piercing

(1) A licensee is responsible for maintaining and keeping copies of
all client records. If client records are maintained by the facility the facil-
ity owner must provide the licensee with copies of those client records
upon request. The record must include the following for each client:

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client; 
(b) Date of each service, procedure location on the body and type

of service performed on client; 
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service; 
(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s medical

or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold sores and
fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-feeding/nursing;

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or topi-
cal solutions; 

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders; 
(g) Type of jewelry; 
(h) Description of complications during procedure(s); 
(i) Signature from the client that they have received the following

information in writing and verbally: 
(A) All information related to the body piercing service including

possible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the service
and consent to obtaining the body piercing service; 

(B) Information listed in OAR 331-900-0110 regarding informed
consent for certain standard body piercing procedures; 

(C) After care instructions including care following service, pos-
sible side effects and complications and restrictions; and

(j) The licensee must obtain proof of age or consent consisting of
one of the following: 

(A) If the client is of over 18, a copy of a government issued pho-
tographic identification. A copy of the government issued photograph-
ic identification must be included in the client record; or

(B) If the client is a minor written parental or legal guardian con-
sent is required. The written parental or legal guardian consent must be
submitted to the licensee by the parent or legal guardian prior to pierc-
ing the minor. The consenting parent or legal guardian must be 18 years
of age and present government issued photographic identification at time
of written consent. A copy of the government issued photographic iden-
tification must be included in the client record: or

(C) If the client is an emancipated minor, copies of legal court doc-
uments proving emancipation and government issued photographic iden-
tification is required. 

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from physicians regarding med-
ical Information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice from the
physician must be documented in the client record. 

(3) For the purpose of (1) and (2) of this rule records must be main-
tained at facility premises for a minimum of three years and must be
made immediately available to the agency upon request. 

(4) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format.
Client records, which are not readable by the Agency, will be treated as
incomplete. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

DIVISION 905
SPECIALITY BODY PIERCING

331-905-0000 
Specialty Body Piercing Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, division 900:
(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” has the meaning set forth in OAR 331-

030-0040. 
(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 
(3) “APP” means Association of Professional Piercers. 
(4) “Body piercing” has the definition set forth in ORS 690.350. 
(5) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor or instructor is pre-

sent in the facility and actively involved in direct oversight and training
of students. 

(6) “EPA” means United States Environmental Protection Agency. 
(7) “FDA” means Food and Drug Administration. 
(8) “Field of practice” has the definition set forth in ORS 690.350. 
(9) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, registered

with the EPA, which has demonstrated tuberculocidal activity. 
(10) “Instruments” means equipment used during body piercing ser-

vices. Types of instruments include but are not limited to needles, for-
ceps, hemostats, tweezers, and jewelry. 

(11) “Official transcript” means: 
(a) An original document authorized by the appropriate office in the

Oregon Department of Education and certified by an educational insti-
tution indicating applicant identity information, field of practice(s)
enrolled under, specific hour requirements for each field of practice if
applicable, final practical examination scores for each field of practice,
enrollment information and a signature by an authorized representative
on file with the agency. Original documents must be submitted directly
to the agency from the educational institution by United States Postal Ser-
vice mail or other recognized mail service providers in a sealed envelope; 

(12) “Practitioner” means a person licensed to perform services
included within a field of practice. 

(13) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof con-
tainer that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation, and dis-
posal. The container must be labeled with the “Biohazard” symbol. 

(14) “Specialty level one genital piercing” includes the following: 
(a) Male genital piercings including the scrotum, frenum, foreskin,

or the perineum behind the scrotum, and the piercing of the penis through
the urethra, perineum behind the scrotum (Guiche) and exiting on the
underside of the penis (called a “Prince Albert”); and 

(b) Female genital piercing including the labia majora, labia minors,
piercings of the clitoral hood, and perineum between the vagina and the
anus (fourchette). 

(15) “Specialty level two genital piercing” includes the following: 
(a) Male genital piercings including: a vertical piercing through the

glans of the penis (called an “apadravya”), horizontal piercing through
the glans of the penis (called an “ampallang”), a piercing through the
corona or ridge of the glans of the penis (called a “dydoe”), a piercing
of the penis entering through the urethra and exiting on the upper side
of the penis (called a “reverse Prince Albert”); and 

(b) Female genital piercings including the clitoris, a piercing in
which jewelry is inserted below the hood behind the clitoris (called a “tri-
angle”), and a piercing of the vagina through the urethra and exiting on
the upper side of the vagina (called a “Princess Albertina”). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13 thru
9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-905-0005 
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing Education or Training

Beginning on January 1, 2013, all education curriculum or training
for specialty level one genital piercing must meet requirements set forth
by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency prior to beginning training or
education. 
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(1) Education Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital Pierc-
ing Student: An individual must obtain a standard body piercing license
prior to beginning education for specialty level one genital piercing. The
specialty level one genital piercing career school course of study must
include 36 hours of practical education and a minimum of 36 practical
operations. 

(2) The 36 practical operations required must include: 
(a) 6 practical operations observed by the student which must

include a minimum of 3 female genital piercings and a minimum of 3
male genital piercings. Out of the 6 practical operations the student must
observe at least 4 different piercing procedures listed in subsection (3)
of this rule;

(b) 10 practical operations in which the student participated which
must include a minimum of 3 female genital piercings and a minimum
of 3 male genital piercings. Out of the 10 practical operations the student
must participate in at least 4 different piercing procedures listed in sub-
section (3) of this rule; and 

(c) 20 practical operations performed by the student under direct
supervision, but without assistance which must include a minimum of
6 female genital piercings and a minimum of 6 male genital piercings.
Out of the 20 practical operations the student must perform at least 4 dif-
ferent piercing procedures listed in subsection (3) of this rule. 

(3) The 36 piercings included in the practical training must include
at least 3 different piercing procedures listed in Subsection (a) through
(i) below of this rule: 

(a) Scrotum; 
(b) Frenum; 
(c) Foreskin; 
(d) Perineum behind the scrotum (Guiche); 
(e) Piercing of the penis through the urethra and exiting on the

underside of the penis (Prince Albert); 
(f) Labia majora; 
(g) Labia minora; 
(h) Piercing of the perineum between the vagina and the anus

(fourchette); and
(i) Piercing of the clitoral hood.
(4) Education must be conducted by a Department of Education,

Private Career School licensed instructor who holds an active specialty
level one genital piercing license. 

(5) A Department of Education, Private Career School licensed
instructor must provide direct supervision of practical training on a one-
to-one student/teacher ratio for students performing practical training
while working on the general public. 

(6) Supervised Training Requirements for Specialty Level One
Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee: An individual must obtain a stan-
dard body piercing license prior to beginning training for specialty level
one genital piercing. The specialty level one genital piercing training pro-
gram must include 46 36 hours of practical training and a minimum of
36 practical operations. 

(7) The 36 practical operations required must include: 
(a) 6 practical operations observed by the trainee which must

include a minimum of 3 female genital piercings and a minimum of 3
male genital piercings. Out of the 6 practical operations the trainee must
observe at least 4 different piercing procedures listed in subsection (8)
of this rule;

(b) 10 practical operations in which the trainee participated which
must include a minimum of 3 female genital piercings and a minimum
of 3 male genital piercings. Out of the 10 practical operations the trainee
must participate in at least 4 different piercing procedures listed in sub-
section (8) of this rule; and 

(c) 20 practical operations performed by the trainee under direct
supervision, but without assistance which must include a minimum of
3 female genital piercings and a minimum of 3 male genital piercings.
Out of the 20 practical operations the trainee must perform at least 3 dif-
ferent piercing procedures listed in subsection (8) of this rule. 

(8) The 36 piercings included in the practical training must include
at least 3 different piercing procedures listed below in subsection (a)
through (i) below of this rule: 

(a) Scrotum; 
(b) Frenum; 
(c) Foreskin; 
(d) Perineum behind the scrotum (Guiche); 
(e) Piercing of the penis through the urethra and exiting on the

underside of the penis (Prince Albert); 
(f) Labia majora; 

(g) Labia minora; 
(h) Piercing of the perineum between the vagina and the anus

(fourchette); and
(i) Piercing of the clitoral hood.
(9) Training must be completed in no less than two months from

the date the Agency issues a specialty level one genital piercing tempo-
rary trainee license. 

(10) A supervisor must provide direct supervision of practical train-
ing on a one-to-one trainee to trainer ratio for trainees performing prac-
tical training while the trainee is working on the general public. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13 thru
9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-905-0010 
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing Education or Training

Beginning on January 1, 2013, all education curriculum or training
for specialty level two genital piercing must meet requirements set forth
by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency prior to beginning training or
education. 

(1) Education Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital Pierc-
ing Student: An individual must obtain a standard body and specialty
level one genital piercing license prior to beginning education for spe-
cialty level two genital piercing. The specialty level two genital pierc-
ing career school course of study must include 26 hours of practical edu-
cation and a minimum of 26 practical operations. (2) The 26 practical
operations required must include: 

(a) 6 practical operations observed by the student. Out of the 6 prac-
tical operations the student must observe at least 3 different piercing pro-
cedures listed in subsection (5) (3) of this rule; 

(b) 10 practical operations in which the student participated. Out
of the 10 practical operations the student must participate in at least 3 dif-
ferent piercing procedures listed in subsection (3) of this rule; and 

(c) 10 practical operations performed by the student under direct
supervision, but without assistance. Out of the 10 practical operations the
student must perform at least 3 different piercing procedures listed in sub-
section (3) of this rule. 

(3) The 26 piercings included in the practical training must include
at least 3 different piercing procedures listed in Subsection (a) through
(h) of this rule: 

(a) Piercing of the penis entering through the urethra and exiting
on the upper side of the penis (reverse Prince Albert); 

(b) Piercing through the corona or ridge of the glans of the penis
(dydoe); 

(c) Horizontal piercing through the glans of the penis (ampallang); 
(d) Vertical piercing through the glans of the penis (apadravya); 
(e) Clitoris; 
(f) Piercing in which jewelry is inserted below the hood behind the

clitoris (triangle); 
(g) Any piercing of the female genitals through the urethra; and 
(h) Any other genital piercings not listed in specialty level one gen-

ital piercing. 
(4) As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theory must

be completed prior to practical work being performed. 
(5) Education must be conducted by a Department of Education,

Private Career School licensed instructor who holds an active specialty
level two genital piercing license. 

(6) A Department of Education, Private Career School licensed
instructor must provide direct supervision of practical training on a one-
to-one student/teacher ratio for students performing practical training
while working on the general public. 

(7) Supervised Training Requirements for Specialty Level Two
Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee: An individual must obtain a stan-
dard body and specialty level one genital piercing license prior to begin-
ning training for specialty level two genital piercing. The specialty level
two genital piercing training program must include 26 hours of practi-
cal training and a minimum of 26 practical operations. The training must
include a minimum of 

(8) The 26 practical operations required must include: 
(a) 6 practical operations observed by the trainee. Out of the 6 prac-

tical operations the trainee must observe at least 3 different piercing pro-
cedures listed in subsection (9) of this rule; 
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(b) 10 practical operations in which the trainee participated. Out of
the 10 practical operations the trainee must participate in at least 3 dif-
ferent piercing procedures listed in subsection (9) of this rule; and 

(c) 10 practical operations performed by the trainee under direct
supervision, but without assistance. Out of the 10 practical operations the
trainee must perform at least 3 different piercing procedures listed in sub-
section (9) of this rule. 

(9) The 26 piercings included in the practical training must include
at least three different piercing procedures listed in Subsection (a)
through (h) of this rule: 

(a) Piercing of the penis entering through the urethra and exiting
on the upper side of the penis (reverse Prince Albert); 

(b) Piercing through the corona or ridge of the glans of the penis
(dydoe); 

(c) Horizontal piercing through the glans of the penis (ampallang); 
(d) Vertical piercing through the glans of the penis (apadravya); 
(e) Clitoris; 
(f) Piercing in which jewelry is inserted below the hood behind the

clitoris (triangle); 
(g) Any piercing of the female genitals through the urethra; and 
(h) Any other genital piercings not listed in specialty level one gen-

ital piercing. 
(10) Training must be completed in no less than 2 months from the

date the Agency issues a specialty level two genital piercing temporary
trainee license. 

(11) A supervisor must provide direct supervision of practical train-
ing on a one-to-one trainee to trainer ratio for trainees performing prac-
tical training while the trainee is working on the general public. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13 thru
9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-905-0011
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing Trainee

(1) A specialty level one genital piercing temporary trainee license
is valid for one year, and may not be renewed.

(2) A specialty level one genital piercing temporary trainee license
holder may perform services defined under OAR 331-905-0000(14). 

(3) A specialty level one genital piercing temporary trainee license
holder, licensed under ORS 690.365, may provide specialty level one
genital piercing services under the direct supervision of an Agency
approved supervisor pursuant OAR 331-905-0052 and 331-905-0055. 

(4) Supervisors of a specialty level one genital piercing temporary
trainee must adhere to OAR 331-905-0055. 

(5) A specialty level one genital piercing temporary trainee license
holder must adhere to all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-
0095, 331-905-0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-
905-0120 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13
thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13

331-905-0012
Application Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital Piercing
Temporary Trainee License

An individual applying for a Specialty Level One Genital Piercing
Temporary Trainee License must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age, documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
(5) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic

first aid training from an Agency approved provider; 
(6) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an

Agency approved provider; 
(7) Submit proof of having a current standard body piercing license

which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action; and 
(8) Pay applicable licensing fees. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415
Hist.: HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 6-25-12; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-15-13

331-905-0013
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee

(1) A specialty level two genital piercing temporary trainee license
is valid for one year, and may not be renewed.

(2) A specialty level two genital piercing temporary trainee license
holder may perform services defined under OAR 331-905-0000(15). 

(3) A specialty level two genital piercing temporary trainee license
holder, licensed under ORS 690.365, may provide specialty level two
genital piercing services under the direct supervision of an Agency
approved supervisor pursuant OAR 331-905-0058 and 331-905-0060. 

(4) Supervisors of a specialty level two genital piercing temporary
trainee must adhere to OAR 331-905-0060. 

(5) A specialty level two genital piercing temporary trainee license
holder must adhere to all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-
0095, 331-905-0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-
905-0120 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA
2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13 thru 7-14-13; HLA 3-2013, f. 3-12-13, cert. ef. 3-
15-13

331-905-0014
Application Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing
TemporaryTrainee License

An individual applying for a Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing
Temporary Trainee License must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age, documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
(5) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic

first aid training from an Agency approved provider; 
(6) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an

Agency approved provider; 
(7) Submit proof of having a current specialty level one genital

piercing license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary
action; and 

(8) Pay applicable licensing fees. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415
Hist.: HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0015 
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing License Issued to a Body
Piercer Licensed Prior to January 1, 2012

(1) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder may per-
form standard body piercing services defined under OAR 331-900-
0000(16).

(2) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder may per-
form specialty level one services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(14). 

(3) A specialty level one genital piercing license is valid for one
year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from
the date of issuance. 

(4) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder must adhere
to all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-
0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 and all
applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13
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331-905-0020 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital Piercer
Licensed as Body Piercer Prior to January 1, 2012

(1) An individual applying for licensure who obtained an Oregon
body piercing license before January 1, 2012, to qualify for a specialty
level one genital piercing license, that individual must:

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees;

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic
first aid training from an Agency approved provider; 

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an
Agency approved provider; 

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 
(g) Submit proof of having a current standard body piercing license

which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action;
(h) Submit copies of client records demonstrating proof of having

successfully performed a minimum of 36 specialty level one genital
piercings defined under OAR 331-905-0005(5). Client records must
demonstrate proof of having performed at least 3 different piercing pro-
cedures listed in OAR 331-905-0005(5); and 

(i) Pay all licensing fees. 
(2) Experience claimed under subsections (1)(g) and (1)(h) of this

rule is subject to independent verification by the Agency. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; 

331-905-0025 
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing License Issued to a Body
Piercer Licensed Prior to January 1, 2012

(1) A specialty level two genital piercing license holder may per-
form standard body piercing services defined under OAR 331-900-
0000(16)..

(2) A specialty level two genital piercing license holder may per-
form specialty level one services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(14).

(3) A specialty level two genital piercing license holder may per-
form specialty level two services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(15).

(4) A specialty level two genital piercing license is valid for one
year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from
the date of issuance. 

(5) A specialty level two genital piercing license holder must adhere
to all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-
0100, 331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 and all
applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0030 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital Piercer
Licensed as a Body Piercer Prior to January 1, 2012

(1) An individual applying for licensure who obtained an Oregon
body piercing license before January 1, 2012, to qualify for a specialty
level two genital piercing license, that individual must:

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic
first aid training from an Agency approved provider; 

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an
Agency approved provider; 

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; 

(g) Submit proof of having a current specialty level one genital
piercing license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary
action;

(h) Submit copies of client records demonstrating proof of having
successfully performed a minimum of 26 specialty level two genital
piercings defined under OAR 331-905-0010(5). Client records must
demonstrate proof of having performed at least 3 different piercing pro-
cedures listed in OAR 331-905-0010(5); and 

(i) Pay all licensing fees. 
(2) Experience claimed under subsections (1)(g) and (1)(h) of this

rule is subject to independent verification by the Agency. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-905-0035
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing License

(1) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder may per-
form standard body piercing services defined under OAR 331-900-
0000(16).

(2) A specialty level one genital piercing license holder may per-
form specialty level one services defined under OAR 331-905-
0000(14). 

(3) A specialty level one genital piercing license is valid for one
year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from
the date of issuance. 

(4) A specialty level one genital license holder must adhere to all
standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-0100,
331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 and all appli-
cable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0040 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital Piercing
License 

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice specialty level
one genital piercing must:

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic
first aid training from an Agency approved provider; 

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an
Agency approved provider; 

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; and
(g) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway.
(2) License Pathway 1 — Graduate from an Oregon Licensed

Career School for Specialty Level One Genital Piercing must: 
(a) Submit official transcript from a specialty level one genital

piercing career school under ORS 345 showing proof of completion of
required specialty level one genital piercing curriculum as approved by
the Agency under OAR 331-905-0005(1) through (5); 

(b) If applicable, pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of the Agency approved standard body

piercing written examinations in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(2)
and (3). Completion of the written examination is not required if the
applicant has passed the examinations listed under 331-900-0060(2) and
(3) within two years before the date of application; and

(d) Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, and
before issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

(3) License Pathway 2 — Qualification through Specialty Level
One Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee License: 

(a) Submit documentation approved by the Agency showing proof
of having completed required specialty level one genital training listed
under OAR 331-905-0005(6) through (10), and verified by a supervisor

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2014 Edition 5 - 54 (11-15-13)



approved under OAR 331-905-0055, on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy; 

(b) If applicable, pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of the Agency approved standard body

piercing written examinations in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(2)
and (3). Completion of the written examination is not required if the
applicant has passed the examinations listed under 331-900-0060(2) and
(3) within two years before the date of application; and

(d) Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, and
before issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13 thru
9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-905-0045
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing License

(1) A specialty level two genital piercing license may perform stan-
dard body piercings services defined under OAR 331-900-0000(16). 

(2) A specialty level two genital piercing license may perform spe-
cialty level one services defined under OAR 331-905-0000(14). 

(3) A specialty level two genital piercing license may perform spe-
cialty level two services defined under OAR 331-905-0000(15). 

(4) A specialty level two genital piercing license is valid for one
year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from
the date of issuance. 

(5) A specialty level two genital license holder must adhere to all
standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-0100,
331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 and all appli-
cable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0050 
Application Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing
License 

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice specialty level
two genital piercing must:

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(c) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic
first aid training from an Agency approved provider; 

(d) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an
Agency approved provider; 

(e) Submit proof of being 18 years of age documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; and 
(g) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway; 
(2) License Pathway 1 — Graduate from an Oregon Licensed

Career School for Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing: 
(a) Submit official transcript from a specialty level two genital

piercing career school under ORS 345 and showing proof of completion
of required specialty level two genital piercing curriculum as approved
by the Agency under OAR 331-905-0010(1) through (6); 

(b) If applicable, Pay pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of the Agency approved standard body

piercing written examinations in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(2)
and (3). Completion of the written examination is not required if the
applicant has passed the examinations listed under OAR 331-900-
0060(2) and (3) within two years before the date of application; and

(d) Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, and
before issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

(3) License Pathway 2 — Qualification through Specialty Level
Two Genital Piercing Temporary Trainee License: 

(a) Submit documentation approved by the Agency showing proof
of having completed required specialty level two genital training listed
under OAR 331-905-0010(7) through (11), verified by a supervisor
approved under 331-905-0060 on a form prescribed by the Agency; 

(b) If applicable, pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of the Agency approved standard body

piercing written examinations in accordance with OAR 331-900-0060(2)
and (3). Completion of the written examination is not required if the
applicant has passed the examinations listed under 331-900-0060(2) and
(3) within two years before the date of application; and

(d) Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, and
before issuance of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA 6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13 thru
9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-13

331-905-0052
Specialty Level One Genital Piercing Supervisor 

(1) An approved supervisor may supervise one specialty level one
genital piercing trainee per shift.

(2) An approved supervisor must exercise management, guidance,
and control over the activities of the specialty level one genital piercing
and must exercise professional judgment and be responsible for all mat-
ters relative to the specialty level one genital piercing trainee. 

(3) Supervisors must document work done by the specialty level
one genital piercing trainee on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(4) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing with-
in five calendar days if a specialty level one genital piercing trainee is
no longer being supervised, and must provide the number of hours of
training completed on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(5) Not withstanding any other disciplinary actions, an approved
supervisor’s authorization to supervise may be withdrawn by the Agen-
cy for providing incomplete or inadequate training or falsifying docu-
mentation. 

(6) Supervisors must provide direct supervision to specialty level
one genital piercing trainees. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0055
Requirements for Specialty Level One Genital Piercing Supervisor

(1) To be an approved supervisor for a specialty level one genital
piercing temporary trainee an individual must:

(a) Submit a completed form prescribed by the Agency, which must
contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000; 

(b) Submit proof of having a specialty level one genital piercing
license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action; 

(c) Submit proof of having been actively practicing any combina-
tion of body piercing experience prior to January 1, 2012, or standard
body piercing experience after January 1, 2012, for at least five years
prior to submitting application on a form prescribed by the Agency;

(d) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic
first aid training from an Agency approved provider; and

(e) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an
Agency approved provider.

(2) A specialty level one genital piercing supervisor must adhere to
all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-0100,
331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 and all appli-
cable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0058
Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing Supervisor 

(1) An approved supervisor may supervise one specialty level two
genital piercing temporary trainee per shift.

(2) An approved supervisor must exercise management, guidance,
and control over the activities of the specialty level two genital piercing
temporary trainee and must exercise professional judgment and be
responsible for all matters relative to the specialty level two genital pierc-
ing trainee. 
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(3) Supervisors must document work done by the specialty level
two genital piercing temporary trainee on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy. 

(4) An approved supervisor must notify the Agency in writing with-
in five calendar days if a specialty level two genital piercing temporary
trainee is no longer being supervised, and must provide the number of
hours of training completed on a form prescribed by the Agency. 

(5) Not withstanding any other disciplinary actions, an approved
supervisor’s authorization to supervise may be withdrawn by the Agen-
cy for providing incomplete or inadequate training or falsifying docu-
mentation. 

(6) Supervisors must provide direct supervision to specialty level
two genital piercing temporary trainees. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0060 
Requirements for Specialty Level Two Genital Piercing Supervisor

(1) To be an approved supervisor for a specialty level two genital
piercing temporary trainee an individual must:

(a) Submit a completed form prescribed by the Agency, which must
contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000; 

(b) Submit proof of having a specialty level one genital piercing
license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action; 

(c) Submit proof of having a specialty level two genital piercing
license which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action; 

(d) Submit proof of having been actively practicing any combina-
tion of body piercing experience prior to January 1, 2012, or standard
body piercing experience after January 1, 2012, for at least five years
prior to submitting application on a form prescribed by the Agency;

(e) Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic
first aid training from an Agency approved provider; and

(f) Submit proof of current blood borne pathogens training from an
Agency approved provider.

(2) A specialty level two genital piercing supervisor must adhere to
all standards within OAR 331-905-0090, 331-905-0095, 331-905-0100,
331-905-0105, 331-905-110, 331-905-0115, 331-905-0120 and all appli-
cable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0065
Informed Consent for Certain Body Piercing Procedures

(1) A specialty cheek piercer must provide information prescribed
by the Agency to the client, regarding cheek piercing.

(2) A specialty level one genital piercer must provide information
prescribed by the Agency to the client, regarding specialty level one gen-
ital piercings.

(3) A specialty level two genital piercer must provide information
prescribed by the Agency to the client, regarding specialty level two gen-
ital piercings. 

(4) Informed consent documents for body piercing procedures list-
ed in Subsection (1), (2) and (3) of this rule is published on the Agen-
cy’s website at http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/BAP/forms.shtml. 

(5) A specialty cheek piercer must disclose to each client receiving
a specialty cheek piercing the number of cheek piercings in which the
piercer has completed on clients and which the piercer can verify on a
form prescribed by the Agency.

(6) A specialty level one genital piercer must disclose to each client
receiving a specialty level one genital piercing the number of specific
specialty level one genital piercings which the piercer has completed on
clients and which the piercer can verify on a form prescribed by the
Agency.

(7) A specialty level two genital piercer must disclose to each client
receiving a specialty level two genital piercing the number of specific
specialty level two genital piercings which the piercer has completed on
clients and which the piercer can verify on a form prescribed by the
Agency.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345

Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 14-2011(Temp), f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 3-
2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12

331-905-0075 
General Specialty Body Piercing Examination Information

(1) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet identi-
fication requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000.

(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an
agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the examination
in languages other than English. 

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored dur-
ing the course of testing. 

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the
Agency. 

(5) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the examination area
is prohibited. 

(6) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as per-
sonal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other devices
deemed inappropriate by the agency, are prohibited in the examination
area. 

(7) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the examination,
the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and forfeiture of the
candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes but is not limited
to: 

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and attempt-
ing to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination process; 

(b) Violations of subsections (5), (6) or (7) of this rule; 
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-related

information, notes or materials from the examination site; 
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the exam-

ination; and 
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the

examination. 
(8) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination or

the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under sub-
section (7) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, sub-
mit additional examination fees, and request in writing to schedule a new
examination date, before being considered for another examination
opportunity. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0080 
Written Examination Retake Requirements

Individuals failing the written examination must meet the require-
ments listed under OAR 331-900-0070 before taking the examination a
subsequent time.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13; HLA
6-2013(Temp), f. 3-20-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13 thru 9-28-13; HLA 11-2013, f. & cert. ef. 7-
1-13

331-905-0085 
Renewal of a Specialty Level One Genital or Specialty Level Two
Genital Piercing License

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, divi-
sion 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regarding
authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for issuance
of a duplicate license.

(2) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, spe-
cialty level one genital or specialty level two genital piercing license
renewal must be made prior to the license entering inactive status. The
licensee must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000; 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-900-0085, on a form prescribed by the agency.
Continuing education is required whether the license is current or 
inactive; 
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(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resusci-
tation from an Agency approved provider; 

(e) Attestation of current first aid training by an Agency approved
provider; and

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens
training from an Agency approved provider. 

NOTE: A licensee is not required to renew the standard body piercing license
if renewing a specialty level one genital or specialty level two genital piercing
license. 
NOTE: A licensee is not required to renew the specialty level one genital license
if renewing the specialty level two genital piercing license. 
(3) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A specialty level one gen-

ital or specialty level two genital piercing license may be inactive for up
to three years. If a license is inactive the licensee is not authorized to
practice. When renewing a license after entering inactive status, the
licensee holder must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 331-

940-0000; 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-900-0085 on a form prescribed by the Agency.
Continuing education is required whether the license is current or inac-
tive; 

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resusci-
tation from an Agency approved provider; 

(e) Attestation of current first aid training by an Agency approved
provider; and 

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens
training from an Agency approved provider. 

(4) EXPIRED LICENSE: A specialty level one genital or special-
ty level two genital piercing license that has been inactive for more than
three years is expired and the license holder must reapply and meet the
requirements listed in OAR 331-905-0040 or 331-905-0050. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0090
Specialty Body Piercing Practice Standards and Prohibitions 

(1) Piercing is prohibited:
(a) On the genital or nipple of a person under the age of 18 regard-

less of parental consent;
(b) On testes, deep shaft (corpus cavernosa), uvula, eyelids and sub-

clavicle; 
(c) On a person who shows signs of being inebriated or appears to

be incapacitated by the use of alcohol or drugs; 
(d) On a person who shows signs of recent intravenous drug use; 
(e) On a person with sunburn or other skin diseases or disorders of

the skin such as open lesions, rashes, wounds, or puncture marks in areas
of treatment; 

(2) Use of piercing guns is limited to piercing of the earlobe exclu-
sively. No other part of the body or ear shall be pierced by use of a pierc-
ing gun. 

(3) Piercing with a manual loaded spring operated piercing gun is
prohibited. 

(4) Piercing the earlobe with any type of piercing gun which does
not use a pre-sterilized encapsulated stud and clasp system is prohibit-
ed. 

(5) The Agency adopts the Association of Professional Piercers
2005 Procedure Manual by reference which must be used by licensees
as a standard of care for body piercing best practices. The procedure man-
ual can be located at http://www.safepiercing.org/publications/procedure-
manual/ 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0095 
General Standards for Specialty Body Piercing

(1) The cleanliness of any common in a facility is the responsibil-
ity of each license holder. All license holders may be cited for violations
found in the common area.

(2) An individual licensed to perform services in a field of practice
or a licensed facility owner must: 

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for
providing services in a field of practice at the place of business; 

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufacturer’s
intended use of the device by the FDA; 

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited for use
in a field of practice by the Agency or the FDA; 

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with man-
ufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are per-
formed;

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers; 
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products, single-use nee-

dles, sterilized jewelry and protective gloves are used for each client. Use
of towels and linens are prohibited;

(g) Have unrestricted access or availability to a sink with hot and
cold running water, as part of surrounding premises or adjacent to the
facility but separate from a restroom;

(h) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean and
in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavatories can be
substituted for disposable hand towels;

(i) Ensure all waste material related to a service in a field of prac-
tice be deposited in a covered container following service for each client;

(j) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the business
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized by
the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or nonpoi-
sonous reptiles in terrariums; 

(k) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at adequate
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and be
available for immediate use at all times the facility is open for business; 

(l) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered container
with a garbage liner;

(m) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potentially
infectious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then dis-
posed of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediately fol-
lowing the service;

(n) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with blood
or other potentially infectious materials be disposed of in a sharps con-
tainer;

(o) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available on
the facility premises; 

(p) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with blood
or other potentially infectious materials must be disposed of in a sharps
container; 

(q) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Stan-
dards; and

(r) Ensure that all instruments that come in direct contact with
client’s skin are handled using gloves. 

(3) A licensee must wear eye goggles, shields or a mask if spatter-
ing is possible while providing services. 

(4) All substances shall be dispensed from containers in a manner
to prevent contamination of the unused portion. Single use tubes or con-
tainers and applicators shall be discarded following the service. 

(5) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any pro-
cedure area which comes in direct contact with client is prohibited. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0100
Standards for Client Services for Specialty Body Piercing

(1) A licensee must wash hands in accordance with Subsection (2)
of this rule as follows:

(a) Prior to donning gloves to set-up of instruments used for con-
ducting body piercing procedures; 

(b) Immediately prior to donning gloves to perform a body pierc-
ing procedure; 

(c) Immediately after removing gloves at the conclusion of per-
forming a body piercing procedure and after removing gloves at the con-
clusion of procedures performed in the sterilization area; 

(d) When leaving the work area; 
(e) When coming in contact with blood or other potentially infec-

tious materials; 
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(f) Before and after performing the following acts not limited to eat-
ing, drinking, smoking, applying lip cosmetics or lip balm, handling con-
tact lenses, or using the bathroom; and

(g) When hands are visibly soiled. 
(2) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands in

warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces of the
hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a clean, dis-
posable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand sanitizer by using
friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists. 

(3) A new pair of disposable gloves must be worn during the treat-
ment of each client; 

(4) A minimum of one pair of disposable gloves must be used for
each of the following stages of the body piercing procedure: 

(a) Set-up of instruments used for conducting body piercing pro-
cedures and skin preparation of the body piercing procedure area; 

(b) The body piercing procedure and post-procedure teardown; and
(c) Cleaning and disinfection of the procedure area after each use

or between clients. 
(5) Once gloves have been removed, they must be disposed of

immediately and hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of
this rule must be followed. 

(6) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, and
hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of this rule must be
followed and gloves changed following hand washing. 

(7) Disposable gloves must be removed before leaving the area
where body piercing procedures are performed. 

(8) When a licensee leaves the body piercing procedure area in the
middle of a body piercing procedure, gloves must be removed before
leaving the procedure area, hand washing instructions listed in Subsec-
tion (2) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves put on
when returning to the procedure area. 

(9) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute for
hand washing instructions listed in subsection (2) of this rule. 

(10) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an antiseptic
solution. 

(11) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0105
Approved Sterilization for Specialty Body Piercing 

(1) Needles must be single use, used on one client, then properly
disposed of in an approved sharps container defined under OAR 331-
905-0000.

(2) All non-sterilized or reusable instruments that come in direct
contact with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood or other potentially
infectious materials must be cleaned and sterilized before use on a client
or re-use on another client. 

(3) New gloves must be worn during any sterilization procedure. 
(4) The cleaning and sterilization process listed in subsection (5)

of this rule is not required if single-use prepackaged sterilized instru-
ments, obtained from suppliers or manufacturers are used. 

(5) Approved cleaning and sterilization process for non-sterilized
or reusable instruments includes the following ordered method after each
use: 

(a) Clean non-sterilized or reusable instruments by manually brush-
ing or swabbing visible foreign matter and rinsing the instruments with
warm water and an appropriate detergent solution to remove blood and
other potentially infectious materials; 

(b) Clean, non-sterilized or reusable instruments must be rinsed and
placed in an ultrasonic cleaner filled with an appropriate ultrasonic solu-
tion including but not limited to an enzymatic cleaner. The ultrasonic unit
must be used according to the manufacturer’s instructions. The ultrasonic
unit must operate at 40 to 60 kilohertz. All hinged instruments (includ-
ing but not limited to piercing forceps) must be in the open position. The
ultrasonic cleaner must remain covered when in use; 

(c) Remove non-sterilized or reusable instruments from the ultra-
sonic unit. All instruments must be rinsed, air dried, and individually
packaged in sterilization pouches that include use of a color change indi-
cator strip to assure sufficient temperature during each sterilization cycle,
the date the sterilization was performed must be applied to the steril-
ization pouch; OR Instruments which are sterilized in an autoclave which
the manufacturer does not require packaging instruments use of a color
change indicator strip must be used immediately after sterilization pro-

cess is complete. Storage of sterilized Instruments using this method is
prohibited;

(d) Non-sterilized or reusable instruments must be sterilized by
using an autoclave sterilizer, steam or chemical, registered and listed with
the FDA; 

(e) A steam sterilization integrator must be used to monitor the
essential conditions of steam sterilization for each autoclaved load or
cycle. Results must be recorded in a log book for each sterilization cycle.
Each steam sterilization integrator must indicate the date the sterilization
cycle took place; and

(f) After sterilization, the sterilized instruments must be stored in
individually packaged sterilization pouches that include a color change
indicator strip listed under (5)(c) of this rule and in a dry, disinfected,
closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved for the stor-
age of such instruments. 

(6) Use of a biological monitoring system (“spore tests”) must be
done at least once a month, verified through an independent laboratory,
to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and sterilization
achieved. 

(7) The ultrasonic unit listed in subsection (5)(b) of this rule must
be used, cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s
instructions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures
for the operation of the ultrasonic unit must be kept on file at the body
art facility. 

(8) All sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips list-
ed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule must contain a chemical/temperature
and/or humidity sensitive tapes, strips or pellets for monitoring each ster-
ilization cycle. 

(9) Sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips listed
in subsection (5)(c) of this rule and steam sterilization integrators listed
in (5)(e) of this rule must be available at all times for inspection by the
Agency. Steam sterilization integrators must be kept for a minimum of
sixty days. 

(10) Biological spore test results listed in subsection (6) of this rule
must be immediately available at all times for inspection by the Agen-
cy and kept at facility premises for a minimum of two years. 

(11) The autoclave listed in subsection (5)(d) must be used, cleaned,
and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and a
copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures for the operation
of the autoclave must be kept on file at the body art facility. 

(12) The expiration date for sterilized instruments is one year from
the date of sterilization unless the integrity of the package is compro-
mised. 

(13) Sterilized instruments may not be used if the package integri-
ty has been breached, is wet or stained, or the expiration date has exceed-
ed without first meeting the requirements listed in Subsection (5) of this
rule. 

(14) All sterilized instruments used in body piercing procedures
must remain stored in sterile packages and in a dry, disinfected, closed
cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved for the storage of such
instruments until just prior to the performance of a body art procedure. 

(15) If a spore test result listed in subsection (6) of this rule, is pos-
itive, a licensee must discontinue the use of that sterilizer (autoclave)
until it has been serviced and a negative spore test has been recorded
before putting that sterilizer back into service. Until a negative spore test
has been received, the licensee must: 

(a) Use an alternative sterilizer (autoclave);
(b) Use only sterilized instruments that have a sterilization date on

or before the date before the last negative spore test was recorded; or 
(c) Use only single use instruments. 
(16) Following a negative spore test pursuant to subsection (6) of

this rule, instruments which were sterilized following the receipt of the
negative spore test must be repackaged and sterilized pursuant to sub-
section (5) of this rule, before use. 

(17) Following a negative spore test to pursuant to subsection (6)
of this rule the licensee or facility must contact all clients in writing who
may have received services prior to receiving the negative spore test
results. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13
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331-905-0110
Client Records and Information for Specialty Body Piercing 

(1) A licensee is responsible for maintaining and keeping copies of
all client records. If client records are maintained by the facility the facil-
ity owner must provide the licensee with copies of those client records
upon request. The record must include the following for each client:

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client; 
(b) Date of each service, procedure location on the body and type

of service performed on client; 
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service; 
(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s medical

or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold sores and
fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-feeding/nursing; 

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or topi-
cal solutions; 

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders; 
(g) Type of jewelry; 
(h) Description of complications during procedure(s); 
(i) Signature from the client that they have received the following

information in writing and verbally: 
(A) All information related to the body piercing service including

possible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the service
and consent to obtaining the body piercing service; 

(B) Information listed in OAR 331-905-0065 regarding informed
consent for specialty body piercing procedures; and 

(C) After care instructions including care following service, pos-
sible side effects and complications and restrictions. 

(j) Proof of age or consent consisting of one of the following: 
(A) If the client is of over 18, a copy of a government issued pho-

tographic identification. A copy of the government issued photograph-
ic identification must be included in the client record; or

(B) If the client is a minor written parental or legal guardian con-
sent is required. The written parental or legal guardian consent must be
submitted to the licensee by the parent or legal guardian prior to pierc-
ing the minor. The consenting parent or legal guardian must be 18 years
of age and present government issued photographic identification at time
of written consent. A copy of the government issued photographic iden-
tification must be included in the client record; or

(C) If the client is an emancipated minor, copies of legal court doc-
uments proving emancipation and government issued photographic iden-
tification is required. 

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from physicians regarding med-
ical Information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice from the
physician must be documented in the client record. 

(3) For the purpose of (1) and (2) of this rule records must be main-
tained at facility premises for a minimum of three years and must be
made immediately available to the agency upon request. 

(4) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format.
Client records, which are not readable by the Agency, will be treated as
incomplete. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0115
Informed Consent for Specialty Body Piercing Procedures

(1) A specialty level one genital piercer must provide information
prescribed by the Agency to the client, regarding specialty level one gen-
ital piercings. 

(2) A specialty level two genital piercer must provide information
prescribed by the Agency to the client, regarding specialty level two gen-
ital piercings. 

(3) Informed consent documents for certain body piercing proce-
dures listed in Subsection (1) and (2) of this rule is published on the
Agency’s website at http://www.oregon.gov/OHLA/BAP/forms.shtml. 

(4) A specialty level one genital piercer must disclose to each client
receiving a specialty level one genital piercing the number of specific
specialty level one genital piercings which the piercer has completed on
clients and which the piercer can verify on a form prescribed by the
Agency. 

(5) A specialty level two genital piercer must disclose to each client
receiving a specialty level two genital piercing the number of specific
specialty level two genital piercings which the piercer has completed on
clients and which the piercer can verify on a form prescribed by the
Agency. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-905-0120
Initial Jewelry for Specialty Genital Piercing Services

(1) All specialty genital piercers must meet the following jewelry
standards for initial piercings:

(a) Surgical steel that is American Society for Testing and Materi-
als International (ASTM) ASTM F-138 compliant or International Orga-
nization for Standardization (ISO) ISO 5832-1 compliant, ISO 10993-
(6,10 or 11) compliant, or European Economic Community (EEC) Nickel
Directive compliant; 

(b) Implant certified titanium (Ti6Al4V ELI) that is ASTM F-136
compliant or ISO 5832-3 compliant, or commercially pure titanium that
is ASTM F-67 compliant; 

(c) Niobium; 
(d) White or yellow gold that is 14k or higher, nickel-free, and solid

(no gold plated, gold-filled, or gold overlay/vermeil); 
(e) Platinum; 
(f) Biocompatible polymers (plastics) including Tygon Medical

Surgical Tubing 5-50HL or 5-54HL, PTFE (Teflon), Bioplast™ or any
new polymer products that are USP VI compliant; 

(g) Glass — Fused quartz glass, lead-free borosilicate, or lead-free
soda-lime glass; 

(h) Any other material that the APP determines to be appropriate
for use in an initial piercing; 

(i) Threaded jewelry must be internally threaded and all surfaces
and ends must be free of nicks, scratches, burrs and polishing com-
pounds. 

(2) A licensee must have on the facility premises a “Mill Test Cer-
tificate” for all jewelry used for initial piercings which provides evidence
of a specific grade of metal with a code designation from the ASTM or
ISO or other documentation approved by the agency which meets one
of the requirements listed in subsection (1) of this rule. 

(3) Jewelry used for initial piercings must be sterilized before use
on each client in accordance with OAR 331-905-0105.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, OL 2011, Ch. 346, Sec. 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-
12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

DIVISION 910
ELECTROLOGY

331-910-0000
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, division 910:
(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” has the meaning set forth in OAR 331-

030-0040. 
(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 
(3) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor or instructor is pre-

sent in the facility and actively involved in direct oversight and training
of students. 

(4) “EPA” means United States Environmental Protection Agency. 
(5) “FDA” means Food and Drug Administration. 
(6) “Field of practice” has the definition set forth in ORS 690.350. 
(7) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, registered

with the EPA, which has demonstrated tuberculocidal activity. 
(8) “Instruments” means equipment used during electrology ser-

vices. Types of instruments include but are not limited to needles (fila-
ments) and tweezers.

(9) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof con-
tainer that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation, and dis-
posal. The container must be labeled with the “Biohazard” symbol. 

(10) “Official transcript” means: 
(a) An original document authorized by the appropriate office in the

Oregon Department of Education and certified by a career school
licensed under ORS 345 indicating applicant identity information, field
of practice(s) enrolled under, specific hour requirements for each field
of practice if applicable, enrollment information and a signature by an
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authorized representative on file with the Agency. Original documents
must be submitted directly to the Agency from the educational institu-
tion by United States Postal Service mail or other recognized mail ser-
vice providers in a sealed envelope; or 

(b) A document authorized by the appropriate office in the Oregon
Department of Education and certified by career school licensed under
ORS 345 indicating applicant identity information, field of practice(s)
enrolled under, specific hour requirements for each field of practice if
applicable, enrollment information and a signature by an authorized rep-
resentative on file with the Agency. Non-original documents shall only
be accepted when, and in the manner, approved by the Agency 

(11) “Practitioner” means a person licensed to perform services
included within a field of practice. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-910-0005
Approved Course of Study for Electrology

To be approved by the agency, a course of study must include, at
least 600 hours of training instruction. The course must include at least
235 hours of theory and at least 365 hours of practical experience in the
following areas: 

(1) Laws and rules: 15 hours of training in theory. 
(2) Bacteriology: 20 hours of training in theory. 
(3) Infection control and sterilization: 20 hours of training in the-

ory and 15 hours of practical training. 
(4) Anatomy and physiology: 20 hours of training in theory. 
(5) Endocrinology: 20 hours of training in theory. 
(6) Structure, dynamics and diseases of skin and hair: 30 hours of

training in theory. 
(7) Circulatory and nervous system: 20 hours of training in theo-

ry. 
(8) Electricity: 15 hours of training in theory. 
(9) Electrolysis (galvanic): 20 hours of training in theory and 115

hours of practical training. 
(10) Thermolysis: 20 hours of training in theory and 115 hours of

practical training. 
(11) Combinations of electrolysis and thermolysis (blend): 20 hours

of training in theory and 110 hours of practical training. 
(12) Draping and positioning: 5 hours of training in theory and 5

hours of practical training. 
(13) Professional ethics and business practices: 10 hours of train-

ing in theory and 5 hours of practical training. 
(14) As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theory

must be completed prior to practical work being performed on the gen-
eral public. 

(15) Training must be conducted by an Oregon licensed electrolo-
gist registered as a teacher by the Department of Education, Private
Career Schools. 

(16) A registered teacher must provide direct supervision of prac-
tical training on a one-to-one student/teacher ratio for students per-
forming practical training while the student is working on the general
public. 

(17) For the purpose of this rule direct supervision means the teach-
er is present and actively involved in direct oversight and training of stu-
dents.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-910-0010
Electrology Temporary License

(1) An electrology temporary license pursuant to ORS 690.365 is
a temporary license to perform electrology services on a limited basis,
not to exceed 15 consecutive calendar days. An electrology temporary
license holder;

(a) May revive the license up to four times in a 12 month period
from the date the Agency receives the initial application. Revivals can
be made consecutively with no lapse in active license dates; 

(b) Must submit all requests to revive a license on a form prescribed
by the Agency and received 15 days before electrology services are pro-
vided unless otherwise approved by the Agency; 

(c) Must submit notification of a change in work location at least
24 hours before services are performed on a form prescribed by the
Agency; and 

(d) Must work in a licensed facility. 
(2) An electrology temporary license holder must adhere to stan-

dards within OAR 331-910-0065, 331-910-0070, 331-910-0075, 331-
910-0080, 331-910-0085 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 divi-
sion 925. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-910-0015
Application Requirements for Electrology Temporary License

An individual applying for a Electrology Temporary License must:
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30;
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees and must
be received at least 15 days before electrology services are provided to
clients;

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(4) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent;
(5) Submit proof of current training in blood-borne pathogens; and 
(6) Attest to six months of training or experience, within the last two

years, performing electrology on a form prescribed by the Agency; or
(7) Submit affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040. 
(8) For the purpose of this rule training or experience includes atten-

dance or participation at an instructional program presented, recognized,
or under the sponsorship of any permanently organized institution, agen-
cy, or professional organization or association recognized by the Agen-
cy. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-910-0020
Electrology License

(1) An electrologist, licensed under ORS 690.365, may perform
electrology services. 

(2) An electrologist license is good for one year and becomes inac-
tive on the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance.

(3) An electrology license holder must adhere to standards within
OAR 331-910-0065, 331-910-0070, 331-910-0075, 331-910-0080, 331-
910-0085 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-
25-12

331-910-0025
Application Requirements for Electrology License

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice electrology
must:

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(c) Submit documentation showing proof of being 18 years of age
documentation which may include identification listed under OAR 331-
030-0000; 

(d) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; and 
(e) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway. 
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(2) License Pathway 1 — Graduate from a Oregon Licensed Career
School for Electrology must: 

(a) Submit official transcript from a licensed electrology school
under ORS 345 showing proof of completion of required electrology cur-
riculum as determined by the agency under OAR 331-910-0005; 

(b) Pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written examina-

tion in accordance with OAR 331-910-0030(1)(a) within two years from
the date of application; 

(d) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical exami-
nation in accordance with OAR 331-910-0030(1)(b) within two years
from the date of application; and 

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before issuance
of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

(f) An applicant is not required to provide proof of official tran-
scripts in a field of practice if the applicant was previously licensed as
an electrologist in Oregon. 

(3) License Pathway 2 — Individual Qualifying for Licensure
Through Reciprocity must: 

(a) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040
demonstrating proof of holding a current electrology license, which is
active with no current or pending disciplinary. The licensing require-
ments must be substantially equivalent to Oregon licensing requirements
pursuant to ORS 690.365 or if not substantially equivalent the applicant
must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Agency that the applicant has
been employed or working as an electrologist full time for three of the
last five years;

(b) Pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written examina-

tion in accordance with OAR 331-910-0030(1)(a) within two years from
the date of application; 

(d) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical exami-
nation in accordance with OAR 331-910-0030(1)(b) within two years
from the date of application; and 

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before issuance
of license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-910-0030
Approved Examination for Electrology

The Agency has selected the following examinations for electrol-
ogy:

(1) Written examination for electrology; and
(2) Oregon electrology practical examination. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-910-0035
General Examination Information

(1) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet identi-
fication requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000.

(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an
Agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the examination
in languages other than English. 

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored dur-
ing the course of testing. 

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the
Agency. 

(5) Notes, note taking, textbooks, notebooks, electronic equipment
and communication devices, such as personal computers, pagers and cel-
lular telephones or any other devices deemed inappropriate by the agen-
cy, are prohibited in the examination area. 

(6) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the written exami-
nation area is prohibited. 

(7) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as per-
sonal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other devices

deemed inappropriate by the agency, are prohibited in the written exam-
ination area. 

(8) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the examination,
the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and forfeiture of the
candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes but is not limited
to: 

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and attempt-
ing to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination process;

(b) Violations of subsections (5), (6), or (7) of this rule;
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-related

information, notes or materials from the examination site;
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the exam-

ination; and 
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the

examination. 
(9) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination or

the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under sub-
section (8) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, sub-
mit additional examination fees, and request in writing to schedule a new
examination date, before being considered for another examination
opportunity. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-910-0040
Written Examination Retake Requirements

(1) Failed sections of a written or examination may be retaken as
follows:

(a) After first failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
calendar days;

(b) After second failed attempt — applicant may not retake for
seven calendar days;

(c) After third failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 cal-
endar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit an official tran-
script certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of instruction in
theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-910-
0005 from a career school licensed under ORS 345 on a form prescribed
by the Agency;

(d) After fourth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
calendar days;

(e) After fifth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
calendar days;

(f) After sixth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 cal-
endar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit an official tran-
script certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of instruction in
theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-910-
0005 from a career school licensed under ORS 345 on a form prescribed
by the agency;

(g) After seventh failed attempt — ability to retake, requirements
for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-by-case
basis.

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must meet the requirements
under OAR 331-030-0000. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-910-0045
Practical Examination Retake Requirements

(1) Failed practical examinations may be retaken at a date and time
determined by the Agency. Applicants retaking a failed practical must
notify the Agency within 30 days before the next scheduled examination
date and pay all examination fees.

(2) Applicants who fail to pass the practical examination for elec-
trology after three attempts (initial examination plus two retakes):

(a) Must wait 30 calendar days to retake the practical examination;
(b) Must pay all additional fees;
(c) Must submit an official transcript certifying completion of an

additional 100 hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved
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curriculum outlined in OAR 331-910-0005 from a career school licensed
under ORS 345 on a form prescribed by the agency;

(3) After third failed attempt — ability to retake, requirements for
retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-by-case basis.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-910-0050
Renewal of Electrology License

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, divi-
sion 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regarding
authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for issuance
of a duplicate license.

(2) Electrology renewal under this rule is valid for one year. 
(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, an elec-

trology license renewal must be made prior to the license entering inac-
tive status. The licensee must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000; and
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-910-0055, on a form prescribed by the agency.
Continuing education is required whether the license is current or inac-
tive; 

(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: An electrology license may
be inactive for up to three years. A licensee who is inactive is not autho-
rized to practice. When renewing after entering inactive status, the license
holder must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 331-

940-0000; and
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-910-0055, on a form prescribed by the agency.
Continuing education is required whether the license is current or inac-
tive; 

(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: An electrology license that has been inac-
tive for more than three years is expired and the license holder must reap-
ply and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-910-0025. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-910-0055
Continuing Education for Electrology License

A licensed electrologist must comply with the following continu-
ing education requirements:

(1) Complete 8 clock hours of satisfactory continuing education
courses either as one unit or combination of units, every year. 

(2) Satisfactory continuing education courses must fit into the
approved course of study outlined in OAR 331-910-0005, and must be
obtained as follows:

(a) 4 hours must involve participation or attendance at an instruc-
tional program presented, recognized, or under the auspices of any per-
manently organized institution, agency, or completion and certification
by an approved national home study organization; and

(b) 4 hours may be self-study which may include the following: 
(A) Correspondence courses including online courses;
(B) Review of publications, textbooks, printed material, or audio

cassette(s);
(C) Viewing of films, videos, or slides;
(3) A licensee must report compliance with the continuing educa-

tion requirement through attestation on the license renewal document.
Licensees will be subject to the provisions of OAR 331-910-0060 per-
taining to periodic audit of continuing education.

(4) A licensee may carry up to 8 continuing education hours forward
to the next renewal cycle.

(5) Continuing education is required for renewal, every year, even
if the license has been inactive or suspended. 

(6) A licensee must maintain proof of continuing education for five
years following the date of the continuing education hours obtained, for
auditing purposes. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-910-0060
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Oregon Health Licensing Agency will audit a select per-
centage of licenses to verify compliance with continuing education
requirements.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing education
attestation must submit to the Agency, within 30 calendar days from the
date of notification, satisfactory evidence of participation in required con-
tinuing education in accordance with OAR 331-910-0055. 

(3) Documentation of attendance at a program or course provided
by the sponsor must include: 

(a) Name of sponsoring institution, agency or organization; 
(b) Title of presentation and description of content; 
(c) Name of instructor or presenter; 
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours; 
(e) Course agenda; and
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance. 
(4) Documentation substantiating completion of continuing edu-

cation through self-study, must show a direct relation to the subjects out-
lined in OAR 331-910-0005, be submitted on forms provided by the
agency and include the following: 

(a) Name of sponsor or source, type of study, description of con-
tent, date of completion and duration in clock hours; 

(b) Name of approved correspondence courses or national home
study issues; 

(c) Name of publications, textbooks, printed material or audio-
recorded material, including date of publication, publisher, and ISBN
Identifier; and 

(d) Name of films, videos, or slides, including date of production,
name of sponsor or producer and catalog number. 

(5) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-
plete, the licensee must correct the deficiency within 30 calendar days
from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency within the pre-
scribed time may constitute grounds for disciplinary action. 

(6) Misrepresentation of continuing education or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include, but is not limited to, assessment of
a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-910-0065
Electrology Practice Standards and Prohibitions

(1) Electrologists are prohibited from performing services on treat-
ment areas with high propensity towards bacterial colonization, such as
nostrils and ear canals.

(2) Electrologists must first obtain written authorization from a
physician licensed under ORS 677 when any of the following exists:

(a) Request for hair removal from moles; 
(b) Removal of eyelashes; or
(c) The client has a pacemaker, implantable neuromodulators or

other implantable electronic devices;
(4) An electrologist may use towels and linens when providing elec-

trology services. When using towels and linens the following standards
must be met:

(a) Clean linens must be used for each client;
(b) Use of a common towel is prohibited;
(c) Clean towels and linens must be enclosed in a clean storage area

or in a closed container until needed;
(d) Used linens must be disposed of or stored in a closed or cov-

ered container until laundered; and
(e) Used linens must be laundered either by a regular commercial

laundering or by a noncommercial laundering process which includes use
of commercial laundry detergent manufactured for the specific purpose
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of cleaning clothes, linens or other washable fabric, and immersion in hot
water during the wash cycle.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-910-0070
Standards for Client Services for Electrology

(1) An electrologist must observe and adhere to the following hand
washing and disposable glove standards when servicing clients:

(a) HAND WASHING: Hands must be washed or treated with an
antibacterial hand sanitizer before and after treatment of each client, and
before putting on disposable gloves and immediately after disposable
gloves are removed; and

(b) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands in
warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces of the
hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a clean, dis-
posable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand sanitizer by using
friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists. Use of bar soap is pro-
hibited. 

(2) An electrologist must observe and adhere to the following pro-
tective disposable glove standards when servicing clients: 

(a) PROTECTIVE DISPOSABLE GLOVES: A new pair of dis-
posable gloves must be worn during the treatment of each client; 

(b) Hands must be washed in accordance with hand washing
instructions listed in Subsection (1) of this rule before putting on dis-
posable gloves and immediately after disposable gloves are removed; 

(c) When a treatment session is interrupted disposable gloves must
be removed and discarded. A new pair of disposable gloves must be put
on when returning to the electrology service area;

(d) When a licensee leaves the electrology procedure area in the
middle of an electrology procedure, gloves must be removed before leav-
ing the procedure area, hand washing instructions listed in Subsection
(1) of this rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves put on when
returning to the procedure area; 

(e) Disposable gloves must be removed before leaving the area
where electrology services are performed;. 

(f) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, and
hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (1) of this rule must be
followed and gloves changed following hand washing; and

(g) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute for
hand washing instructions listed in subsection (1) of this rule. 

(3) Disposable gloves must be worn during pre-cleaning, cleaning,
rinsing, sterilizing and drying of equipment and instruments and disin-
fecting of surfaces; 

(4) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an astringent.
If flammable the astringent should be allowed to dry. 

(5) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves.
Stat. Auth: ORS 676.607 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 690.350, 690.365, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013,
f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-910-0075
Sterilization Standards for Electrology

(1) Needles (filaments) must be single use, used on one client, then
properly disposed of in an approved sharps container defined under OAR
331-910-0000. 

(2) All non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments that come
in direct contact with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood or bodily
fluid must be cleaned, disinfected and sterilized before use on a client
or re-use on another client. 

(3) New gloves must be worn during any sterilization procedure. 
(4) The cleaning, disinfection and sterilization process listed in Sub-

section (5) of this rule is not required if single-use prepackaged steril-
ized instruments, obtained from suppliers or manufacturers are used. 

(5) Approved cleaning, disinfection and sterilization process for
non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments includes the follow-
ing ordered method after each use:

(a) Clean non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments by
manually brushing or swabbing visible foreign matter and rinsing the
instruments with warm water and an appropriate detergent solution to
remove blood and bodily fluids; 

(b) Disinfect non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments by
immersing instruments in a high level disinfectant. Instruments must be
fully submerged to ensure contact with all surfaces for an amount of time
specified in the manufacturer’s instructions. If the electrologist is using
an autoclave listed in subsection (e) of this rule the electrologist is not
required to immerse instruments in a high level disinfectant.

(c) Clean and disinfected non-sterilized instruments or reusable
instruments must be rinsed and placed in an ultrasonic unit that operates
at 40 to 60 hertz which is filled with an appropriate ultrasonic solution
including but not limited to an enzymatic cleaner, or rinsed, patted dry
and submerged and soaked in a protein dissolving detergent or enzyme
cleaner, followed by a thorough rinse. The ultrasonic cleaner must remain
covered when in use; 

(d) Remove non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments from
the ultrasonic unit or protein dissolving detergent or enzyme cleaner. All
instruments must be rinsed, air dried, and individually packaged in ster-
ilization pouches that include use of a chemical indicator strip to assure
sufficient temperature during each sterilization cycle. The date the ster-
ilization was performed must be applied to the sterilization pouch; 

(e) Individually packaged non-sterilized instruments or reusable
instruments must be sterilized by using autoclave sterilizer (steam or
chemical), or dry heat sterilizer registered and listed with the FDA;

(f) After sterilization, the sterilized instruments must be stored in
a dry, disinfected, closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container
reserved for the storage of such instruments. 

(6) Use of a biological monitoring system (“spore tests”) must be
done at least once a month, verified through an independent laboratory,
to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and sterilization
achieved. 

(7) All sterilization pouches listed in Subsection (5)(d) of this rule
must contain a color indicator strip which measures temperature control
and general functioning of the equipment. 

(8) The ultrasonic unit listed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule must
be used, cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s
instructions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures
for the operation of the ultrasonic unit must be kept on file at the body
art facility. 

(9) The autoclave sterilizer (steam or chemical), or dry heat steril-
izer listed in Subsection (5)(e) of this rule must be used, cleaned, and
maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and a copy
of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures for the operation of the
autoclave sterilizer (steam or chemical), or dry heat sterilizer must be
kept on file at the facility. 

(10) Biological spore test results listed in subsection (6) of this rule
must be immediately available at all times for inspection by the Agen-
cy and kept at facility premises for a minimum of two years. Biological
spore test results must be on laboratory letterhead and must contain the
test date, and the name, model and serial number (if applicable) of the
sterilizer tested. 

(11) The expiration date for sterilized instruments is one year from
the date of sterilization unless the integrity of the package is compro-
mised. 

(12) Sterilized instruments may not be used if the package integri-
ty has been breached is wet or stained, or the expiration date has exceed-
ed without first meeting the requirements listed in Subsection (5) of this
rule. 

(13) All sterilized instruments used during electrology services must
remain stored in sterile packages and in a dry, disinfected, closed cabi-
net or other tightly covered container reserved for the storage of such
instruments until just prior to the performance of an electrology proce-
dure. 

(14) If a biological spore test listed in subsection (6) of this rule,
result is positive, a licensee must discontinue the use of that autoclave
sterilizer (steam or chemical), or dry heat sterilizer until it has been ser-
viced and a negative spore test has been recorded before putting that ster-
ilizer back into service. Until a negative spore test has been received, the
licensee must: 

(a) Use an alternative autoclave sterilizer (steam or chemical), or
dry heat sterilizer;

(b) Use only sterilized instruments that have a sterilization date
before the date the last negative spore test was recorded; or

(c) Use only single use instruments. 
(15) Following a negative biological spore test reusable instruments

which were sterilized following the receipt of the negative spore test must
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be repackaged and sterilized pursuant to Subsection (5) of this rule,
before use. 

(17) Following a negative spore test the licensee or facility must
contact all clients in writing who may have received services prior to
receiving the negative spore test results.

Stat. Auth: ORS 676.607 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 690.350, 690.365, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 6-25-12

331-910-0080
General Standards 

(1) The cleanliness of any common in a facility is the responsibil-
ity of each license holder. All license holders may be cited for violations
found in the common area.

(2) An electrologist licensed to perform services or a licensed facil-
ity owner must: 

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for
providing services in a field of practice at the place of business; 

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufacturer’s
intended use of the device by the FDA; 

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited for use
in a field of practice by the Agency or the FDA; 

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with man-
ufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are per-
formed; 

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers;
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products, single-use nee-

dles (filaments) and protective gloves are used for each client; 
(g) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean and

in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavatories can be
substituted for disposable hand towels;

(h) Ensure all waste material related to a service in a field of prac-
tice be deposited in a covered container following service for each client; 

(i) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the business
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized by
the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or nonpoi-
sonous reptiles in terrariums; 

(j) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at adequate
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and be
available for immediate use at all times the facility is open for business;

(k) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered container
with a garbage liner;

(l) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potentially infec-
tious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then disposed
of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediately following the
service;

(m) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with blood
or must be disposed of in a sharps container;

(n) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available on
the facility premises; 

(o) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Stan-
dards;

(p) Have unrestricted access or availability to a sink with hot and
cold running water, as part of surrounding premises or adjacent to the
facility. If the sink is located within a restroom the licensee must ensure
that the sink is disinfected with a high level disinfectant upon comple-
tion of a electrology procedure or following the sterilization of equip-
ment; and

(q) Ensure that all instruments that come in direct contact with
client’s skin are handled using gloves. 

(3) An electrologist licensee must wear eye goggles, shields or a
mask if spattering is possible while providing services. 

(4) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any pro-
cedure area which comes in direct contact with client is prohibited. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 676.607 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 690.350, 690.365, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-910-0085
Client Records

(1) A licensee is responsible for maintaining and keeping copies of
all client records. If client records are maintained by the facility the facil-
ity owner must provide the licensee with copies of those client records
upon request. The record must include the following for each client:

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client; 
(b) Date of each service, procedure location on the body; 
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service. If

more than one licensee is providing services on one client the licensee
must initial the date of each service performed; 

(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s medical
or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold sores and
fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-feeding/nursing;

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or topi-
cal solutions; 

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders; 
(g) Description of complications during procedure(s); and
(h) Signature from the client that they have received the following

information in writing and verbally: 
(A) All information related to the electrology service including pos-

sible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the service and
consent to obtaining the electrology service; and 

(B) After care instructions including care following service, pos-
sible side effects and complications and restrictions. 

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from a physician regarding med-
ical information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice from the
physician must be documented in the client record. 

(3) For the purpose of (1) and (2) of this rule records must be main-
tained at facility premises for a minimum of three years and must be
made immediately available to the agency upon request. 

(4) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format.
Client records, which are not legible to the Agency, will be treated as
incomplete. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 676.607 & 676.615
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.606, 676.607, 690.350, 690.365, 690.390 & 690.405
Hist.: HLA 2-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

DIVISION 915
TATTOO

331-915-0000
Tattoo Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR chapter 331, division 915:
(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” has the meaning set forth in OAR 331-

030-0040. 
(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. 
(3) “Direct supervision” means the supervisor or instructor is pre-

sent in the facility and actively involved in direct oversight and training
of students. 

(4) “EPA” means United States Environmental Protection Agency. 
(5) “FDA” means Food and Drug Administration. 
(6) “Field of practice” has the definition set forth in ORS 690.350. 
(7) “High-level disinfectant” means a chemical agent, registered

with the EPA, which has demonstrated tuberculocidal activity. 
(8) “Instruments” means equipment used during tattooing services.

Types of instruments include but are not limited to needles and tubes. 
(9) “Sharps container” means a puncture-resistant, leak-proof con-

tainer that can be closed for handling, storage, transportation, and dis-
posal. The container must be labeled with the “Biohazard” symbol. 

(10) “Official transcript” means: 
(a) An original document authorized by the appropriate office in the

Oregon Department of Education and certified by a career school
licensed under ORS 345 indicating applicant identity information, field
of practice(s) enrolled under, specific hour requirements for each field
of practice if applicable, enrollment information and a signature by an
authorized representative on file with the Agency. Original documents
must be submitted directly to the Agency from the educational institu-
tion by United States Postal Service mail or other recognized mail ser-
vice provider in a sealed envelope; or 

(b) A document authorized by the appropriate office in the Oregon
Department of Education and certified by a career school licensed under
ORS 345 indicating applicant identity information, field of practice(s)
enrolled under, specific hour requirements for each field of practice if
applicable, enrollment information and a signature by an authorized rep-
resentative on file with the Agency. Non-original documents shall only
be accepted when, and in the manner, approved by the Agency. 

(11) “Practitioner” means a person licensed to perform services
included within a field of practice. 
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Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-915-0005
Approved Course of Study for Tattooing
(1) To be approved by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency, a course of
study must include at least 360 hours of instruction. The course must
include at least 210 hours of theory and at least 150 hours of practical
work. 

(2) For the purposes of determining qualification for licensure,
practical work must include a minimum of 50 completed procedures.
“Completed procedure” means a tattoo which has been finished on a live
human being, including any touchups or additional work following ini-
tial healing, and the client is released from service.

(3) All practical applications performed during training in the sub-
ject areas listed in subsection (4) of this rule are counted toward meet-
ing the minimum 150 hours of practical tattooing experience. 

(4) A course of study must include, but is not limited to, the fol-
lowing areas: 

(a) Needles and needle bars — metal or plastic device used to attach
the needle to a tattoo machine: 20 hours of theory; 

(b) Tattoo machines and equivalent equipment: 20 hours of theo-
ry; 

(c) Equipment/Supplies: 20 hours of theory; 
(d) Safety, Infection Control and Sterilization: 40 hours of theory; 
(e) Basic color theory and pigments: 10 hours of theory; 
(f) Design, art and placement: 10 hours of theory; 
(g) Skin: 20 hours of theory; 
(h) Client services 20 hours of theory; 
(i) Business operations, including exposure control plan and fed-

eral regulations: 40 hours of theory; 
(j) Oregon Laws and Rules: 10 hours of theory training. 
(5) As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theory must

be completed prior to practical work being performed on the general pub-
lic. 

(6) Training must be conducted by an Oregon licensed tattoo artist
registered as a teacher by the Department of Education, Private Career
Schools.

(7) A registered teacher must provide direct supervision of practi-
cal training on a one-to-one student/teacher ratio for students perform-
ing practical training while the student is working on the general pub-
lic. 

(8) For the purpose of this rule direct supervision means the teach-
er is present and actively involved in direct oversight and training of stu-
dents.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-915-0010
Tattoo License

(1) A tattoo artist licensed under ORS 690.365 may perform tat-
tooing services.

(2) A tattoo license is good for one year and becomes inactive on
the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance. 

(3) A tattoo license holder must adhere to all standards under OAR
331-915-0065, 331-915-0070, 331-915-0075, 331-915-0080, 331-915-
0085 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-915-0015
Application Requirements for Tattoo License

(1) An individual applying for licensure to practice tattooing must:
(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 

(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-
cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees; 

(c) Submit documentation having completed blood borne pathogens
training from an agency approved provider; 

(d) Submit documentation having completed cardiopulmonary
resuscitation and basic first aid training from an agency approved
provider; 

(e) Submit documentation showing proof of being 18 years of age
documentation may include identification listed under OAR 331-030-
0000; 

(f) Submit proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent; and 
(g) Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway. 
(2) License Pathway 1 — Graduate from an Oregon Licensed

Career School for Tattooing: 
(a) Submit official transcript from a tattooing career school under

ORS 345, and approved by the Agency showing proof of completion of
required tattooing curriculum as determined by the agency under OAR
331-915-0005; 

(b) Pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written examina-

tion in accordance with OAR 331-915-0030(1)(a) within two years from
the date of application; 

(d) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical skills
assessment examination in accordance with OAR 331-915-0030(1)(b)
within two years from the date of application; and 

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before issuance
of registration license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

(f) An applicant is not required to provide proof of official tran-
scripts in a field of practice if the applicant was previously licensed as
a tattoo artist in Oregon. 

(3) License Pathway 2 — Individual Qualifying for Licensure
Through Reciprocity must: 

(a) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040
demonstrating proof of holding a current license as a tattoo artist, which
is active with no current or pending disciplinary action. The licensing
requirements must be substantially equivalent to Oregon licensing
requirements pursuant to ORS 690.365 or if not substantially equivalent
the applicant must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Agency that the
applicant has been employed or working as a tattoo artist full time for
three of the last five years; 

(b) Pay examination fees; 
(c) Submit passing score of an Agency approved written examina-

tion in accordance with OAR 331-915-0030(1)(a) within two years from
the date of application; 

(d) Submit passing score of an Agency approved practical skills
assessment examination in accordance with OAR 331-915-0030(1)(b)
within two years from the date of application; and 

(e) Upon passage of all required examinations and before issuance
of a license, applicant must pay all license fees. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-915-0020
Temporary Tattoo License

(1) A temporary tattoo license pursuant to ORS 690.365 is a tem-
porary license to perform tattooing services on a limited basis, not to
exceed 15 consecutive calendar days. A temporary tattoo license hold-
er;

(a) May revive the license up to four times in a 12 month period
from the date the Agency receives the initial application. Reviving a
license can be done consecutively with no lapse in active license dates; 

(b) Must submit all requests to revive a license on a form prescribed
by the Agency. Request to revive a license must be received at least 15
days before tattooing services are provided unless otherwise approved
by the Agency; 

(c) Must submit notification of a change in work location at least
24 hours before services are performed on a form prescribed by the
Agency; and

(d) Must work in a licensed facility. 

Chapter 331   Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2014 Edition 5 - 65 (11-15-13)



(2) A temporary tattoo license holder must adhere to all standards
under OAR 331-915-0065, 331-915-0070, 331-915-0075, 331-915-0080,
331-915-0085 and all applicable rules listed in OAR 331 division 925. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-915-0025
Application Requirements for Temporary Tattoo License

An individual applying for a Temporary Tattoo License must:
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required application fees and must
be received at least 15 days before tattooing services are provided to
clients; 

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000; 

(4) Submit proof of current training in blood-borne pathogens; and 
(5) Attest to six months of training or experience, within the last two

years, performing tattooing on a form prescribed by the Agency; or 
(6) Submit affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040. 
(7) For the purpose of this rule training or experience includes atten-

dance or participation at an instructional program presented, recognized,
or under the sponsorship of any permanently organized institution, agen-
cy, or professional organization or association recognized by the Agen-
cy. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 7-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-
20-12 thru 10-16-12; HLA 8-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-3-12 thru 10-16-12; HLA 10-
2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-15-12 thru 4-12-13;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-915-0030
Approved Examination for Tattoo

The Agency has approved the following examinations for tattoo-
ing:

(1) Oregon written examination; and
(2) Oregon practical skills assessment examination.
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12

331-915-0035
General Tattooing Examination Information

(1) To be eligible for examination, an applicant must meet identi-
fication requirements listed under OAR 331-030-0000.

(2) The examination is administered in English only, unless an
agency approved testing contractor or vendor provides the examination
in languages other than English. 

(3) Examination candidates may be electronically monitored dur-
ing the course of testing. 

(4) Examination candidates must adhere to the maximum time
allowance for each section of the examination, as established by the
Agency. 

(5) Notes, note taking, textbooks, notebooks, electronic equipment
and communication devices, such as personal computers, pagers and cel-
lular telephones or any other devices deemed inappropriate by the agen-
cy, are prohibited in the examination area. 

(6) Taking notes, textbooks or notebooks into the written exami-
nation area is prohibited. 

(7) Electronic equipment and communication devices, such as per-
sonal computers, pagers and cellular telephones or any other devices
deemed inappropriate by the agency, are prohibited in the written exam-
ination area. 

(8) Candidate conduct that interferes with the examination may
result in the candidate’s disqualification during or after the examination,
the candidate’s examination being deemed invalid, and forfeiture of the

candidate’s examination fees. Such conduct includes but is not limited
to: 

(a) Directly or indirectly giving, receiving, soliciting, and attempt-
ing to give, receive or solicit aid during the examination process; 

(b) Violations of subsections (5), (6) or (7) of this rule; 
(c) Removing or attempting to remove any examination-related

information, notes or materials from the examination site; 
(d) Failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the exam-

ination; and
(e) Exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the

examination.
(9) If the candidate is disqualified from taking the examination or

the candidate’s examination is deemed invalid for reasons under sub-
section (8) of this rule, the candidate may be required to reapply, sub-
mit additional examination fees, and request in writing to schedule a new
examination date, before being considered for another examination
opportunity.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-915-0040
Written Examination Retake Requirements

(1) Failed sections of the written examination may be retaken as fol-
lows:

(a) After first failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
calendar days;

(b) After second failed attempt — applicant may not retake for
seven calendar days;

(c) After third failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 cal-
endar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit an official tran-
script certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of instruction in
theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-915-
0005 from a career school licensed under ORS 345 on a form prescribed
by the agency;

(d) After fourth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
calendar days; 

(e) After fifth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for seven
calendar days; 

(f) After sixth failed attempt — applicant may not retake for 30 cal-
endar days, must pay all additional fees and must submit an official tran-
script certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of instruction in
theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined in OAR 331-915-
0005 from a career school licensed under ORS 345 on a form prescribed
by the Agency; 

(g) After seventh failed attempt — ability to retake, requirements
for retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-by-case
basis. 

(2) Applicants retaking the examination must meet the requirements
under OAR 331-030-0000. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-915-0045
Practical Examination Retake Requirements

(1) Failed practical examinations may be retaken at a date and time
determined by the Agency. Applicants retaking a failed practical must
notify the Agency within 30 days before the next scheduled examination
date and pay all examination fees

(2) Applicants who fail to pass the practical examination for tat-
tooing after three attempts (initial examination plus two retakes): 

(a) Must wait 30 calendar days to retake the practical examination; 
(b) Must pay all additional fees; 
(c) Must submit an official transcript certifying completion of an

additional 100 hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved
curriculum outlined in OAR 331-910-0005 from a career school licensed
under ORS 345 on a form prescribed by the agency; 

(3) After fourth failed attempt — ability to retake, requirements for
retake, or both will be determined by the Agency on a case-by-case basis. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415

Chapter 331     Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation
2014 Edition 5 - 66 (11-15-13)



Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-915-0050
Renewal of a Tattoo License

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, divi-
sion 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regarding
authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for issuance
of a duplicate license.

(2) Tattoo license renewal under this rule is valid for one year. 
(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, a tat-

too license renewal must be made prior to the license entering inactive
status. The licensee must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000; 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-915-0055, on a form prescribed by the agency.
Continuing education is required whether the license is current or inac-
tive; 

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resusci-
tation from an Agency approved provider; 

(e) Attestation of current first aid training from an Agency approved
provider; and 

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens
training from an Agency approved provider. 

(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A tattoo license may be
inactive for up to three years. A licensee who is inactive is not authorized
to practice. When renewing after entering inactive status, the licensee
holder must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; 
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 331-

940-0000; 
(c) Attestation of having obtained required annual continuing edu-

cation under OAR 331-915-0055, on a form prescribed by the agency.
Continuing education is required whether the license is current or inac-
tive; 

(d) Attestation of current certification in cardiopulmonary resusci-
tation from an Agency approved provider; 

(e) Attestation of current first aid training an Agency approved
provider; and 

(f) Attestation of current certification in blood borne pathogens
training from an Agency approved provider. 

(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: A tattoo license that has been inactive for
more than three years is expired and the license holder must reapply and
meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-915-0015. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-915-0055
Continuing Education for Tattoo License

A licensed tattoo holder must comply with the following continu-
ing education requirements:

(1) Complete 10 clock hours of satisfactory continuing education,
either as one unit or combination of units, every year. 

(2) Satisfactory continuing education courses must fit into the
approved course of study outlined in OAR 331-915-0005, and must be
obtained as follows: 

(a) Five hours must involve participation or attendance at an
instructional program presented, recognized, or under the auspices of any
permanently organized institution, agency, or completion and certifica-
tion by an approved national home study organization; and 

(b) Five hours may be self-study which may include the following: 
(A) Correspondence courses including online courses; 
(B) Review of publications, textbooks, printed material, or audio

cassette(s); or
(C) Viewing of films, videos, or slides;
(3) A licensee must report compliance with the continuing educa-

tion requirement through attestation on the license renewal document.
Licensees will be subject to the provisions of OAR 331-915-0060 per-
taining to periodic audit of continuing education.

(4) Continuing education requirements must be met every year,
even if the license is inactive or suspended. 

(5) A licensee must maintain proof of continuing education for five
years following the date of the continuing education hours obtained, for
auditing purposes. 

(6) A licensee may carry up to 8 continuing education hours forward
to the next renewal cycle. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
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331-915-0060
Continuing Education: Audit, Required Documentation and
Sanctions

(1) The Agency will audit a select percentage of licenses to verify
compliance with continuing education requirements.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing education
attestation must submit to the agency, within 30 calendar days from the
date of notification, satisfactory evidence of participation in required con-
tinuing education in accordance with OAR 331-915-0055. 

(3) Documentation of attendance at a program or course provided
by the sponsor must include: 

(a) Name of sponsoring institution, agency or organization; 
(b) Title of presentation and description of content; 
(c) Name of instructor or presenter; 
(d) Date of attendance and duration in hours; 
(e) Course agenda; and
(f) Official transcript, diploma, certificate, statement or affidavit

from the sponsor, attesting to attendance. 
(4) Documentation substantiating the completion of continuing edu-

cation through self-study must show a direct relation to subjects outlined
in OAR 331-915-0005, be submitted on forms provided by the agency
and include the following: 

(a) Name of sponsor or source, type of study, description of con-
tent, date of completion and duration in clock hours; 

(b) Name of approved correspondence courses or national home
study issues; 

(c) Name of publications, textbooks, printed material or audiocas-
sette’s, including date of publication, publisher, and ISBN identifier; and 

(d) Name of films, videos, or slides, including date of production,
name of sponsor or producer and catalog number. 

(5) If documentation of continuing education is invalid or incom-
plete, the licensee must correct the deficiency within 30 calendar days
from the date of notice. Failure to correct the deficiency within the pre-
scribed time constitutes grounds for disciplinary action. 

(6) Misrepresentation of continuing education or failing to meet
continuing education requirements or documentation may result in dis-
ciplinary action, which may include, but is not limited to assessment of
a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the license. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
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331-915-0065
Tattoo Practice Standards and Prohibitions

(1) Inks, dyes, or pigments must be purchased from a commercial
supplier or manufacturer. Products banned or restricted by the Food and
Drug Administration must not be used.

(2) Notwithstanding OAR 331-930-0025, tattoo artists must dis-
infect plastic or acetate stencil used to transfer the design to the client’s
skin, if not using disposable stencils. If the plastic or acetate stencil is
reused the licensee must thoroughly clean and rinse and immerse in a
high level disinfectant according to the manufacturer’s instructions. 

(3) Upon completion of a tattoo service, the following procedures
are required: 

(a) The skin must be cleansed; excluding the area surrounding the
eyes, with a clean single-use paper product saturated with an antiseptic
solution; 

(b) A clean covering must be placed over designs and adhered to
the skin; and 

(c) An absorbent material must be incorporated into the covering
to prevent the spread of bodily fluids and cross contamination, unless the
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clean covering listed in subsection (3)(a) of this rule is an impenetrable
barrier which prevents the spread of bodily fluids and cross contamina-
tion. 

(4) Tattooing services may be performed on a person under 18 years
of age when authorized or prescribed by a physician’s statement. 

(5) Tattooing is prohibited: 
(a) On a person who shows signs of being inebriated or appears to

be incapacitated by the use of alcohol or drugs; 
(b) On a person who show signs of intravenous drug use; 
(c) On a person with sunburn or other skin diseases or disorders

such as open lesions, rashes, wounds, puncture marks in areas of treat-
ment; 

(d) On a person under 18 years of age, regardless of parental or
legal guardian consent unless the requirements of subsection (4) of this
rule are met. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
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HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-915-0070
General Standards for Tattooing

(1) The cleanliness of any common area in a facility is the respon-
sibility of each license holder. All license holders may be cited for vio-
lations found in the common area.

(2) An individual licensed to perform services in a field of practice
or a licensed facility owner must: 

(a) Use and maintain appropriate equipment and instruments for
providing services in a field of practice at the place of business;

(b) Use equipment and instruments in a manner described in the
manufacturer’s instructions which is consistent with the manufacturer’s
intended use of the device by the FDA;

(c) Use equipment and instruments that are not prohibited for use
in a field of practice by the Agency or the FDA;

(d) Ensure a high-level disinfectant is used in accordance with man-
ufacturer’s instructions to disinfect surfaces where services are per-
formed;

(e) Ensure chemicals are stored in labeled, closed containers; 
(f) Ensure that single-use disposable paper products, single-use nee-

dles, and protective gloves are used for each client. Use of towels and
linens are prohibited; 

(g) Have unrestricted access or availability to a sink with hot and
cold running water, as part of the surrounding premises or adjacent to the
facility but separate from a restroom; 

(h) Ensure lavatories located within the facility are kept clean and
in good working order at all times. Air blowers within lavatories can be
substituted for disposable hand towels; 

(i) Ensure all waste material related to a service in a field of prac-
tice be deposited in a covered container following service for each client;

(j) Ensure pets or other animals not be permitted in the business
facility. This prohibition does not apply to service animals recognized by
the American with Disabilities Act or to fish in aquariums or nonpoi-
sonous reptiles in terrariums; 

(k) Ensure all disinfecting solutions or agents be kept at adequate
strengths to maintain effectiveness, be free of foreign material and be
available for immediate use at all times the facility is open for business;

(l) Ensure all waste or garbage is disposed of in a covered container
with a garbage liner;

(m) Ensure all waste which contains blood or other potentially
infectious materials be enclosed and secured in a glove or bag then dis-
posed of in a covered container with a garbage liner immediately fol-
lowing the service;

(n) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with blood
and/or body fluids be disposed of in a sharps container;

(o) Ensure biohazard labels or red biohazard bags are available on
the facility premises; 

(p) Ensure disposable sharp objects that come in contact with blood
and/or body fluids must be disposed of in a sharps container;

(q) Adhere to all Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Stan-
dards; and

(r) Ensure that all instruments that come in direct contact with
client’s skin are handled using gloves. 

(3) A licensee must wear eye goggles, shields or a mask if spatter-
ing is possible while providing services. 

(4) All substances must be dispensed from containers in a manner
to prevent contamination of the unused portion. Single use tubes or con-
tainers and applicators shall be discarded following the service. 

(5) Cross contaminating from touch or air particulates in any pro-
cedure area which comes in direct contact with client is prohibited. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
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12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-915-0075
Standards for Client Services for Tattooing

(1) A licensee must wash hands in accordance with Subsection (2)
of this rule as follows:

(a) Prior to donning gloves to set-up of instruments used for con-
ducting a tattoo procedure; 

(b) Immediately prior to donning gloves to perform a tattoo pro-
cedure; 

(c) Immediately after removing gloves at the conclusion of per-
forming a tattoo procedure and after removing gloves at the conclusion
of procedures performed in the sterilization area; 

(d) When leaving the work area; 
(e) When coming in contact with blood or other potentially infec-

tious materials; 
(f) Before and after performing the following acts not limited to eat-

ing, drinking, smoking, applying lip cosmetics or lip balm, handling con-
tact lenses, or using the bathroom; or 

(g) When hands are visibly soiled. 
(2) Hand washing must include thoroughly washing the hands in

warm, running water with liquid soap using friction on all surfaces of the
hands and wrists, then rinsing hands and drying hands with a clean, dis-
posable paper towel, or by using an antibacterial hand sanitizer by using
friction on all surfaces of the hands and wrists. 

(3) A new pair of disposable gloves must be worn during the treat-
ment of each client; 

(4) A minimum of one pair of disposable gloves must be used for
each of the following stages of the tattooing procedure as follows: 

(a) Set-up of instruments used for conducting tattooing procedures
and skin preparation of the tattooing procedure area; 

(b) The tattooing procedure and post-procedure teardown; and
(c) Cleaning and disinfection of the procedure area after each use

or between clients. 
(5) Once gloves have been removed, they must be disposed of

immediately and hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of
this rule must be followed. 

(6) Torn or perforated gloves must be removed immediately, and
hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of this rule must be
followed and gloves changed following hand washing. 

(7) Disposable gloves must be removed before leaving the area
where tattoo procedures are performed. 

(8) When a licensee leaves the tattooing procedure area in the mid-
dle of a tattooing procedure, gloves must be removed before leaving the
procedure area, hand washing instructions listed in Subsection (2) of this
rule must be followed and a new pair of gloves put on when returning
to the procedure area. 

(9) The use of disposable gloves does not preclude or substitute for
hand washing instructions listed in subsection (2) of this rule. 

(10) A client’s skin must be thoroughly cleaned with an antiseptic
solution. 

(11) A licensee is prohibited from wearing jewelry under gloves.
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
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12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-915-0080
Approved Sterilization Standards for Tattooing 

(1) Needles must be single use, used on one client, then properly
disposed of in an approved sharps container defined under OAR 331-
915-0000.

(2) All non-sterilized or reusable instruments that come in direct
contact with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood or other potentially
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infectious materials must be cleaned and sterilized before use on a client
or re-use on another client. 

(3) New gloves must be worn during any sterilization procedure. 
(4) The cleaning and sterilization process listed in subsection (5)

of this rule is not required if single-use prepackaged sterilized instru-
ments, obtained from suppliers or manufacturers are used. 

(5) Approved cleaning and sterilization process for non-sterilized
or reusable instruments includes the following ordered method after each
use: 

(a) Place non-sterilized instruments or reusable instruments in an
ultrasonic cleaner filled with an appropriate ultrasonic solution includ-
ing but not limited to an enzymatic cleaner. The ultrasonic unit must be
used according to the manufacturer’s instructions. The ultrasonic unit
must operate at 40 to 60 kilohertz. The ultrasonic cleaner must remain
covered when in use; 

(b) Remove non-sterilized or reusable instruments from the ultra-
sonic unit. Clean non-sterilized or reusable instruments by manually
brushing or swabbing visible foreign matter and rinsing the instruments
with warm water and an appropriate detergent solution to remove blood
and other potentially infectious materials; 

(c) Remove non-sterilized or reusable instruments from the ultra-
sonic unit. All instruments must be rinsed, air dried, and individually
packaged in sterilization pouches that include use of a color change indi-
cator strip to assure sufficient temperature during each sterilization cycle,
the date the sterilization was performed must be applied to the steril-
ization pouch; OR

(A) Instruments which are sterilized in an autoclave which the man-
ufacturer does not require packaging instruments use of a color change
indicator strip must be used immediately after sterilization process is
complete. Storage of sterilized Instruments using this method is pro-
hibited;

(d) Non-sterilized or reusable instruments must be sterilized by
using an autoclave sterilizer, steam or chemical, registered and listed with
the FDA; 

(e) A steam sterilization integrator must be used to monitor the
essential conditions of steam sterilization for each autoclaved load or
cycle. Results must be recorded in a log book for each sterilization cycle.
Each steam sterilization integrator must indicate the date the sterilization
cycle took place. Steam sterilization integrators must be kept for a min-
imum of sixty days; and

(f) After sterilization, the sterilized instruments must be stored in
individually packaged sterilization pouches that include a color change
indicator strip listed under (5)(c) of this rule and in a dry, disinfected,
closed cabinet or other tightly-covered container reserved for the stor-
age of such instruments. 

(6) Use of a biological monitoring system (“spore tests”) must be
done at least once a month, verified through an independent laboratory,
to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and sterilization
achieved. 

(7) The ultrasonic unit listed in subsection (5)(a) of this rule must
be used, cleaned, and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s
instructions and a copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures
for the operation of the ultrasonic unit must be kept on file at the body
art facility. 

(8) All sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips list-
ed in subsection (5)(c) of this rule must contain a chemical/temperature
and/or humidity sensitive tapes, strips or pellets for monitoring each ster-
ilization cycle.

(9) Sterilization pouches with color change indicator strips listed
in subsection (5)(c) of this rule and steam sterilization integrators listed
in (5)(e) of this rule must be available at all times for inspection by the
Agency. 

(10) Biological spore test results listed in subsection (6) of this rule
must be immediately available at all times for inspection by the Agen-
cy and kept at facility premises for a minimum of two years. 

(11) The autoclave listed in subsection (5)(d) must be used, cleaned,
and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and a
copy of the manufacturer’s recommended procedures for the operation
of the autoclave must be kept on file at the body art facility. 

(12) The expiration date for sterilized instruments is one year from
the date of sterilization unless the integrity of the package is compro-
mised. 

(13) Sterilized instruments may not be used if the package integri-
ty has been breached, is wet or stained, or the expiration date has exceed-

ed without first meeting the requirements listed in Subsection (5) of this
rule. 

(14) All sterilized instruments used in tattooing procedures must
remain stored in sterile packages and in a dry, disinfected, closed cabi-
net or other tightly-covered container reserved for the storage of such
instruments until just prior to the performance of a tattooing procedure. 

(15) If a biological spore test listed in subsection (6) of this rule,
result is positive, a licensee must discontinue the use of that sterilizer
(autoclave) until it has been serviced and a negative spore test has been
recorded before putting that sterilizer back into service. Until a negative
spore test has been received, the licensee must: 

(a) Use an alternative sterilizer (autoclave); 
(b) Use only sterilized instruments that have a sterilization date on

or before the date that last negative spore test was recorded; or 
(c) Use only single use instruments. 
(16) Following a negative spore test instruments which were ster-

ilized following the receipt of the negative spore test must be repackaged
and sterilized pursuant to subsection (5) of this rule, before use. 

(17) Following a negative spore test the licensee or facility must
contact all clients in writing who may have received services prior to
receiving the negative spore test results. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-915-0085
Client Records and Information for Tattooing

(1) A licensee is responsible for maintaining and keeping copies of
all client records. If client records are maintained by the facility the facil-
ity owner must provide the licensee with copies of those client records
upon request. The record must include the following for each client:

(a) Name, address, telephone number and date of birth of client; 
(b) Date of each service, procedure location on the body; 
(c) Name and license number of the licensee providing service; 
(d) Special instructions or notations relating to the client’s medical

or skin conditions including but not limited to diabetes, cold sores and
fever blisters, psoriasis or eczema, pregnancy or breast-feeding/nursing; 

(e) Complete list of the client’s sensitivities to medicines or topi-
cal solutions; 

(f) History of the client’s bleeding disorders; 
(g) Description of complications during procedure(s); and
(h) Signature from the client that they have received the following

information in writing and verbally: 
(A) All information related to the tattooing service including pos-

sible reactions, side effects and potential complications of the service and
consent to obtaining the tattooing service; and 

(B) After care instructions including care following service, pos-
sible side effects and complications and restrictions. 

(2) A licensee may obtain advice from a physician regarding med-
ical Information needed to safeguard client and licensee. Advice from the
physician must be documented in the client record. 

(3) A licensee must obtain proof of age for all clients; a copy of a
government issued photographic identification must be included in the
client record.

(4) A physician may authorize or prescribe a tattoo service be per-
formed on a client who is a minor pursuant to OAR 331-915-0065. Writ-
ten authorization or prescription from the physician is required. The
physician authorization or prescription must be submitted to the licensee
by the physician prior to tattooing the minor. A copy of the minor’s pho-
tographic identification must be included in the client record. 

(5) For the purpose of Subsection (1) through (4) of this rule records
must be maintained on the facility premises for a minimum of three years
and must be made immediately available to the agency upon request. 

(6) Client records must be typed or printed in a legible format.
Client records, which are not legible to the Agency, will be treated as
incomplete. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
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DIVISION 920
DERMAL IMPLANTING AND SCARIFICATION STANDARDS
331-920-0000
Dermal Implanting Prohibitions

Dermal implanting services defined under ORS 690.350 are pro-
hibited until education and training programs can be implemented.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-920-0005
Scarification Prohibited

Scarification services defined under ORS 690.350 are prohibited
until education and training programs can be implemented..

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 15-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef.
10-15-12 thru 4-12-13;HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

DIVISION 925
FACILITY LICENSING, RENEWAL AND STANDARDS

331-925-0000
Facility License

(1) A location, where services are performed in a field of practice
defined under ORS 690.350 must be licensed as a facility under ORS
690.365.

(2) The holder of a facility license must be a natural person. 
[NOTE: a natural person is a living individual human being. The facility license
holder may be a facility owner, facility manager, or any other natural person.] 
(3) A facility license is valid for one year and becomes inactive on

the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance. 
(4) A facility license is not transferable; the license is not transfer-

able from person-to-person or from location to location. If an existing
facility moves or relocates to a new physical address, the facility license
holder must submit a new application and meet requirements of OAR
331-925-0005. A natural person may hold more than one facility license,
but must submit a separate application, pay required fees and qualify for
a facility license for each location. 

(5) An electrology, body piercing or tattoo facility licensed before
January 1, 2012, are valid only for the fields of practice for which those
licenses were issued. In order to add additional fields of practice the
owner must apply and qualify for a new body art facility license pursuant
to OAR 331-925-0005.

(6) A facility must adhere to all standards within OAR chapter 331,
division 925. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-925-0005
Application Requirements for Facility Licensure

An individual applying for a facility license must:
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required fees; 

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;

(4) Provide a map or directions to the facility if it is located in a
rural or isolated area; 

(5) Provide a list of licensees providing services in the facility; 
(6) Provide proof of a current registration as required by Secretary

of State, Corporations Division pursuant to ORS 648.007; and 

(7) Hold a current Assumed Business Name (ABN) filing if appli-
cant is operating an assumed business name prior to applying for a facil-
ity license.

NOTE: ABN is not required if business includes the real and true name of each
owner. Refer to Secretary of State, Corporations Division under ORS 648.005
through 648.990. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-925-0010
Temporary Facility License

(1) A temporary facility license holder defined under ORS 690.350
and licensed under 690.365, may perform services in a field of practice
under 690.350.

(2) The holder of a temporary facility license must be a natural per-
son. 

(3) A temporary facility license is valid for a limited time not to
exceed 15 consecutive calendar days, at settings such as fairs, carnivals
or bazaars. 

(4) A facility must adhere to all standards within OAR chapter 331,
division 925. 

(5) A temporary facility license is not an event facility license pur-
suant to OAR 331-925-0030 which is comprised of individual booths
where services in a field of practice are performed. 

(6) If a facility owner licensed under OAR 331-925-0000 intends
to operate a facility on a limited basis, away from the facility address on
file with the Agency, they must obtain a temporary facility license. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-925-0015
Application Requirements for Temporary Facility License

To be issued a temporary facility license the applicant must:
(1) Meets the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required fees; 

(3) Proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may include
identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000, 

(4) Provide a map or directions to the facility if it is located in a
rural or isolated area; 

(5) Provide a list of licensees providing services in the facility; 
(6) Provide proof of a current registration as required by Secretary

of State, Corporations Division pursuant to ORS 648.007; 
(7) Hold a current Assumed Business Name (ABN) filing if appli-

cant is operating under an assumed business name prior to applying for
a facility license; 

NOTE: ABN is not required if business includes the real and true name of each
owner. Refer to Secretary of State, Corporations Division under ORS 648.005
through 648.990. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-925-0020
Mobile Facility License

(1) Mobile facility license, defined as a facility under ORS 690.350
means an authorization issued under 690.365 to operate a mobile place
of business outside of or away from a permanent physical location with-
in an approved enclosed transportable vehicle, such as recreational vehi-
cles or trailers, which has the ability to transport the business operation
to multiple locations in the State of Oregon during specific approved
periods of time.

(2) A mobile facility is limited to no more than 15 consecutive cal-
endar days at one physical location. 
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(3) A mobile facility must adhere to all standards within OAR chap-
ter 331, division 925. 

(4) The holder of a mobile facility license must be a natural person. 
NOTE: a natural person is a living individual human being. The mobile facili-
ty license holder may be a facility owner, facility manager, or any other natural
person.
(5) A mobile facility license is not transferable; the license is not

transferable from person-to-person. Requirements under OAR 331-925-
0025 must be met. 

(6) A mobile facility license holder must comply with the follow-
ing requirements: 

(a) Submit written notification on a form prescribed by the Agen-
cy for each new physical location where services will be provided in a
field of practice. The notification form must be received by the Agency
at least 24 hours before services are performed at the new physical loca-
tion and may be submitted by regular United States Postal Service or by
electronic mail or in person at the office;

(b) Remain stationary while services in a field of practice are per-
formed; 

(c) Provide each client, verbally and in writing; the mobile facili-
ty name, mobile facility license number, license number and name of the
person providing service, permanent address on file with the Agency and
telephone number; and 

(d) Display the mobile facility name on file with the Agency on the
outside of the mobile facility which is easily visible from the street. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-925-0025
Application Requirements for Mobile Facility License

To be issued a mobile facility license the applicant must:
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the agen-

cy, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and
be accompanied by payment of the required fees; 

(3) Submit proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may
include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;

(4) Provide a map or directions to the facility if it is located in a
rural or isolated area; 

(5) Provide a list of licensees providing services in the facility; 
(6) Provide proof of a current registration as required by Secretary

of State, Corporations Division pursuant to ORS 648.007; and
(7) Hold a current Assumed Business Name (ABN) filing if appli-

cant is operating under an assumed business name prior to applying for
a facility license. 

NOTE: ABN is not required if business includes the real and true name of each
owner. Refer to Secretary of State, Corporations Division under ORS 648.005
through 648.990. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-925-0030
Event Facility License

(1) Event facility license defined as a facility under ORS 690.350
means an authorization issued under 690.365 to operate a facility on a
irregular basis outside and away from a permanent physical location for
specific approved period of time not to exceed 15 consecutive calendar
days, for convention, educational, demonstration and exhibition pur-
poses.

(2) An event facility is comprised of individual booths where ser-
vices in a field of practice are provided. 

(3) A representative of the event facility must be available at all
times when services are being provided. 

(4) An event facility must be inspected by the Agency before ser-
vices are provided in a field of practice. 

(5) An event facility must adhere to all standards within OAR chap-
ter 331, division 925. 

(6) Event facility owners must provide a hot and cold running water
station for every 10 licensed individuals in a field of practice. 

(7) The holder of an event facility license must be a natural person. 
[NOTE: a natural person is a living individual human being. The event facility
license holder may be an event facility owner, event facility manager, or any other
natural person.]
(8) An event facility license is not transferable; the license is not

transferable from person-to-person. Requirements under OAR 331-925-
0035 must be met. 

(9) For the purpose of this rule a “booth” is 10 feet by 10 feet or
100 square feet of floor space and limited to two licensees. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-925-0035
Application Requirements for an Event Facility License

To be issued an event facility license the applicant must:
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30; 
(2) Submit completed application form prescribed by the Agency

and payment of the required application fees which must be received by
the Agency 30 days before the start of the event;

(3) Submit documentation showing proof of being 18 years of age
documentation may include identification listed under OAR 331-030-
0000; 

(4) Provide a map or directions to the facility if it is located in a
rural or isolated area; 

(5) Provide proof of a current registration as required by Secretary
of State, Corporations Division pursuant to ORS 648.007; 

(6) Hold a current Assumed Business Name (ABN) filing if appli-
cant is operating under an assumed business name prior to applying for
a facility license; and

(7) Pay all licensing fees.
NOTE: ABN is not required if business includes the real and true name of each
owner. Refer to Secretary of State, Corporations Division under ORS 648.005
through 648.990. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-925-0040
Renewal of a Facility or Mobile Facility License

(1) A licensee is subject to the provisions of OAR chapter 331, divi-
sion 30 regarding the renewal of a license and provisions regarding
authorization to practice, identification, and requirements for issuance
of a duplicate license.

(2) Renewal of a facility license issued under OAR 331-925-0005
or 331-925-0025 this rule is valid for one year. 

(3) LICENSE RENEWAL: To avoid delinquency penalties, a facil-
ity or mobile facility license renewal must be made prior to the license
entering inactive status. The licensee must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; and
(b) Payment of required renewal fee pursuant to 331-940-0000.
(4) INACTIVE LICENSE RENEWAL: A facility or mobile facil-

ity license may be inactive for up to three years. A licensee who is inac-
tive is not authorized to practice. When renewing after entering inactive
status, the licensee holder must submit the following: 

(a) Renewal application form; and
(b) Payment of delinquency and license fees pursuant to OAR 331-

940-0000.
(5) EXPIRED LICENSE: A facility or mobile facility license that

has been inactive for more than three years is expired and the license
holder must reapply and meet the requirements listed in 331-925-0005
or 331-925-0025. 

(6) LICENSE RENEWAL — FACILITY LICENSE ISSUED
PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 2012. Electrology, body piercing and tattoo
facilities and mobile facilities licensed before January 1, 2012 must apply
and qualify for a new body art facility license pursuant to OAR 331-925-
0005 or 331-925-0025 on or before the electrology, body piercing or tat-
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too license becomes inactive. The applicant must designate a natural per-
son as the facility or mobile license holder. 

(7) If a facility changes ownership, the new owner must apply for
a new facility license. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-
16-13

331-925-0045
Posting Requirements

Licensees are subject to the requirements of OAR 331-030-0020.
(1) All facility licenses must be posted in public view. 
(2) All facility license holders must post the most recent inspection

certificate in public view on the facility premises. 
(3) Each booth within an event facility must post the inspection cer-

tificate in public view within the booth. 
(4) A licensee in a field of practice performing services in any facil-

ity must post a current active license in public view. A licensee in a field
of practice may temporarily conceal the address printed on the license
document with a covering that is removable.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-925-0050
Facility Standards

Facility standards apply to all licensees under ORS 690.350 unless
otherwise specified by rule.

(1) A facility license holder licensed under OAR chapter 331, divi-
sion 925 must: 

(a) Require each individual working within the facility premises
providing services in a field of practice be licensed with the Agency; 

(b) Provide a screened or separated area away from public access
and viewing, isolated from a reception or waiting area, when services are
conducted upon breasts, nipples, genitals or buttocks; 

(c) Allow the Agency’s representative to inspect the facility or con-
duct an investigation. Obstructing or hindering the normal progress of
an investigation or the inspection, threatening or exerting physical harm,
or enabling another individual or employee to impede an investigation
or inspection may result in disciplinary action; 

(d) Ensure waste from toilets or lavatories be discharged directly
into a public sewer or by a method meeting the requirements of ORS
Chapter 454; 

(e) Have a sterilization area separated from public areas, service
areas and restrooms where decontamination and sterilization of reusable
instruments is performed. This rule does not apply to electrology license
holders and temporary earlobe piercing license holders;

(f) All surfaces in areas where decontamination and sterilization of
reusable instruments are performed must be non-porous; 

(g) Hand washing accommodations must be provided in work areas
where licensees are exposed to hazardous materials, which will have a
harmful effect on or be absorbed through the skin if the contamination
is not removed; 

(h) Maintain washing accommodations in a clean and sanitary con-
dition; and 

(i) Ensure all floors, walls and procedure surfaces including coun-
ters, tables, and chairs are easily cleanable, non-absorbent and non-
porous where services are provided;

(2) When body piercing or tattoo services are provided in a cos-
metology facility, body piercing or tattoo services must be separated from
cosmetology services by use of a solid barrier to prevent contact with irri-
tants. Electrology services are excluded from this rule. 

(3) The facility must comply with all applicable rules and regula-
tions of the Agency and other federal, state, county and local agencies.
This includes the following: 

(a) Building, fire, plumbing and electrical codes, and with exit and
fire standards established by the Building Codes Agency, the Office of
the State Fire Marshal; 

(b) Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act as it appears in ORS 433.835
through 433.875; 

(c) Occupational Safety and Health Act Blood Borne Pathogens
Standards under 29 CFR 1910:1030 this includes but is not limited to:
individuals providing services in a field of practice, facility owners; and
other employees on the facility premises; 

(d) ORS Chapter 654 and the Oregon Safe Employment Act if an
employee/employer relationship exists; and 

(e) All applicable Occupational Safety and Health Act standards if
an employee/employer relationship exists. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415
Hist.: HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 6-25-12; HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-925-0055 
Standards for Facilities Located in Residence

A facility located in a residence must comply with all standards list-
ed in OAR chapter 331, division 925 in addition to the following crite-
ria, unless otherwise specified by rule:

(1) Have an identifying house number or a sign, which is easily vis-
ible from the street and indicates the location of the facility; 

(2) Be equipped with the structures, accommodations, and equip-
ment which the Agency requires for all facilities; and 

(3) The living area of the home must be separated from the facili-
ty by solid walls extending from floor to ceiling with any connecting
doors kept closed while the facility is in actual operation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385, 690.390,
690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415, & 345
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607,676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.371, 690.385,
690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410, 690.415
Hist.: HLA 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-1-12 thru 6-25-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert.
ef. 6-25-12

DIVISION 940
BOARD OF BODY ART — FEES

331-940-0000
Fees

(1) Applicants and licensees are subject to the provisions of OAR
331-010-0010 and 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penal-
ties and charges. 

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency are as
follows: 

(a) Application: 
(A) Standard Body Piercing — $50. 
(B) Specialty Body Piercing Level 1 — $50. 
(C) Specialty Body Piercing Level 2 — $50. 
(D) Electrology — $50. 
(E) Tattoo — $50. 
(F) Reciprocity Per Field of Practice — $150. 
(G) Facility — $100. 
(H) Mobile Facility — $100. 
(I) Event Facility — $100. 
(J) Temporary Facility License — $100. 
(K) Temporary Practitioner Per Field of Practice — $50. 
(L) Standard Body Piercing Trainee — $50. 
(M) Ear Lobe Piercing Temporary — $25. 
(b) Examination: 
(A) Written — $50. 
(B) Practical — $100. 
(c) Original Issuance of License: 
(A) Standard Body Piercing Trainee — $50. 
(B) Standard Body Piercing — $50. 
(C) Specialty Body Piercing Level 1 — $50. 
(D) Specialty Body Piercing Level 2 — $50. 
(E) Electrology — $25. 
(F) Tattoo — $50. 
(G) License for a Field of Practice by Reciprocity — $50. 
(H) Facility — $150. 
(I) Mobile Facility — $150. 
(J) Event Facility: 
(i) Up to 100 booths: $725. 
(ii) 101 to 200 booths: $1,450. 
(iii) 201 to 300 booths: $2,175. 
(iv) 301 to 400 booths: $2,900. 
(v) 401 to 500 booths: $3,625. 
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(K) Temporary Practitioner Per Field of Practice — $20. 
(L) Temporary Facility — $50. 
(M) Earlobe Piercing Temporary — $25. 
(d) Renewal of License Online: 
(A) Standard Body Piercing — $45. 
(B) Electrology — $20. 
(C) Tattoo — $45. 
(D) Temporary Earlobe — $20. 
(E) Body Art Facility — $125. 
(F) Mobile Facility License — $125. 
(e) Renewal of License Over-the-Counter or Through the Mail: 
(A) Standard Body Piercing Trainee — $50. 
(B) Standard Body Piercing — $50. 
(C) Specialty Body Piercing Level 1 — $50. 
(D) Specialty Body Piercing Level 2 — $50. 
(E) Electrology — $25. 
(F) Tattoo — $50. 
(G) Temporary Earlobe — $25. 
(H) Temporary Practitioner Per Field of Practice — $20. 
(I) Body Art Facility — $150. 
(J) Mobile Facility License — $150. 
(f) Other administrative fees: 
(A) Delinquency — $50 per year, up to three years. 
(B) Replacement License — $25. 
(C) Duplicate License — $25 per copy with maximum of three. 
(D) Affidavit of Licensure — $50. 
(E) Information Packets — $10. 
(F) Administrative Processing Fee — $25. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 4-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
5-12 thru 9-1-12; HLA 11-2012, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-12; HLA 8-2013(Temp), f. 6-7-13,
cert. ef. 7-1-13 thru 7-8-13; HLA 12-2013, f. 7-3-13, & cert. ef. 7-9-13

DIVISION 950
BOARD OF BODY ART CIVIL PENALTIES

331-950-0010
Schedule of Penalties for Facility License Violations

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty sched-
ule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of facility license laws and rules.
This schedule applies, except at the discretion of the agency pursuant to
OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subsequent offenses, the provisions
of 331-020-0060 apply.

(1) Operating or purporting to operate a facility without a valid
facility license is a violation of ORS 690.360(d): 

(a) Never licensed: 
(A) 1st offense: $500; 
(B) 2nd offense: $1000; 
(C) 3rd offense: $2500. 
(b) Inactive or expired license: 
(A) 1st offense: $200; 
(B) 2nd offense: $500; 
(C) 3rd offense: $1,000. 
(c) License or Authorization, Suspended or Revoked: 
(A) 1st offense: $2,500; 
(B) 2nd offense: $5,000; 
(C) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed

by law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice and
refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked authoriza-
tion holder. 

(2) Allowing an employee or individual unlicensed, inactive, sus-
pended, expired or with a revoked license to practice in a field of prac-
tice is a violation of ORS 690.360(f) or OAR 331-925-0050(1)(a).

(a) Allowing and unlicensed or revoked license:
(A) 1st offense: $1000; 
(B) 2nd offense: $2,500; 
(C) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed

by law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice and
refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked authoriza-
tion holder. 

(b) Allowing an employee or individual with inactive, suspended,
or expired license: 

(A) 1st offense: $200; 
(B) 2nd offense: $500; 
(C) 3rd offense: $1000. 
(3) Failing to allow an Agency enforcement officer to inspect the

facility when it is open for business is a violation of OAR 331-925-
0050(1)(c) and will result in monetary penalties and any other actions
allowed by law. 

(a) 1st offense: $1500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $2500; 
(c) 3rd offense: $5000.
(4) Operating or purporting to operate an event facility without first

obtaining a current valid event facility permit is a violation of ORS
690.360(d).

(a) $5000 per violation; 
(5) Failing to meet the specifications and standards required under

OAR 331-925-0005(3) in a facility may result in an emergency suspen-
sion of the facility license until the violation is corrected. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-950-0020
Schedule of Penalties for Practitioner Violations

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty sched-
ule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of practitioner licensing laws and
rules. This schedule applies, except at the discretion of the agency pur-
suant to OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subsequent offenses, the
provisions of 331-020-0060 apply.

(1) Performing, attempting to perform, or purporting to perform ser-
vices in a field of practice without a license to perform services in that
field of practice of ORS 690.360(1)(a) or (c). 

(a) License or authorization never held: 
(A) 1st offense: $2,500; 
(B) 2nd offense: $5,000; 
(C) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty or any other actions allowed by

law including refusal to issue a new authorization to practice. 
(b) License or authorization inactive or expired: 
(A) 1st offense: $200; 
(B) 2nd offense: $500; 
(C) 3rd offense: $1000. 
(c) License or authorization suspended or revoked: 
(A) 1st offense: $2,500; 
(B) 2nd offense: $5,000; 
(C) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty or any other actions allowed by

law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice and
refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked authoriza-
tion holder. 

(2) Performing or attempting to perform services in a field of prac-
tice outside a licensed facility is a violation of ORS 690.360(1)(b) 

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500.
(3) A body piercing trainee license holder performing body pierc-

ing when not under the direct supervision of their supervisor is a viola-
tion of OAR 331-900-0020 for standard body piercing; or 331-905-0011
or 331-905-0013 for specialty body piercing: 

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
(4) Failing, as a supervisor, to provide supervision to their trainee

in accordance with OAR 331-900-0050 for standard body piercing; 331-
905-0052 for specialty level one body piercing, 331-905-0058 for spe-
cialty level two body piercing in addition to any other disciplinary
actions, an approved supervisor’s authorization to supervise may be with-
drawn by the Agency:

(a) 1st offense: $500;
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13
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331-950-0030
Schedule of Penalties for License Violations

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty sched-
ule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of license laws and rules. This
schedule applies, except at the discretion of the agency pursuant to OAR
331-020-0060. For the 4th and subsequent offenses, the provisions of
331-020-0060 apply. 

(1) Altering with fraudulent intent or fraudulent use of a license or
authorization issued by the agency is a violation of ORS 690.360(1)(i)
or 690.360(1)(j): 

(a) 1st offense: $1,500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $3,500; 
(c) 3rd offense: $5,000. 
(2) Failing to post a valid license or authorization issued by the

agency or the most recent inspection certificate in public view is a vio-
lation of OAR 331-925-0045

(a) 1st offense: $100 
(b) 2nd offense: $200 
(c) 3rd offense: $500 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-950-0040
Schedule of Penalties for Board of Body Art Standards Violations

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty sched-
ule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of Board of Body Art Standards
Violations laws and rules. This schedule applies, except at the discretion
of the agency pursuant to OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subse-
quent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 apply.

(1) Any violation of a Mobile Facility License listed in OAR 331-
925-0020: 

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
(2) Any violation of a facility standard listed in OAR 331-925-

0050(1) or (2) excluding (1)(a) and (1)(c): 
(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
(3) Any violation of a Standard for Facilities Located in Residence

listed in OAR 331-925-0055: 
(a) 1st offense: $300; 
(b) 2nd offense: $500; 
(c) 3rd offense: $1000. 
(4) Any violation of a General Standard listed in OAR 331-900-

0097 for earlobe piercing; 331-900-0115 for standard body piercing; 331-
905-0095 for specialty body piercing; 331-910-0080 for electrology; or
331-915-0070 for tattooing; 

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
(5) Any violation of Standards for Client Services listed in OAR

331-900-0098 for earlobe piercing; 331-900-0120 for standard body
piercing, 331-905-0100 for specialty body piercing; 331-910-0070 for
electrology; or 331-915-0075 for tattooing: 

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
(6) Failing to sterilize all instruments that come in direct contact

with a client’s skin or are exposed to blood or other potentially infectious
materials or use single use needles is a violation of OAR 331-900-
0125(1) and (2) for body piercing; 331-905-0105(1) and (2) for specialty
body piercing; 331-910-0075(1) and (2) for electrology; or 331-915-
0080(1) and (2) for tattooing; 

(a) 1st offense: $1000; 
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500; 
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed by

law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice and
refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked authoriza-
tion holder.

(7) Failing to properly use approved sterilization modes or proce-
dures is a violation of OAR 331-900-0125 excluding (1), (2), (9) and (10)
for body piercing; 331-905-0105 excluding (1), (2), (9) and (10) for spe-

cialty body piercing; 331-910-0075 excluding (1), (2) and (10) for elec-
trology; or 331-915-0080 excluding (1), (2), (9) and (10) for tattooing: 

(a) 1st offense: $1000; 
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500; 
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed by

law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice and
refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked authoriza-
tion holder. 

(8) Failing to maintain monthly Biological test results, chemical
indicator strips and steam sterilization integrators on the premises of the
facility or allow an enforcement officer access to review those records
immediately upon request is a violation of OAR 331-900-0125(9) or (10)
for body piercing; 331-905-0105(9) and (10) for specialty body pierc-
ing; 331-910-0075(10) for electrology; or 331-915-0080(9) and (10) for
tattooing: 

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
(9) Failing to collect and maintain complete client records for each

client on the premises of the facility or allow an enforcement officer
access to review client records immediately upon request is a violation
of OAR 331-900-0130 for earlobe piercing; 331-900-0130 for standard
body piercing, 331-905-0110 for specialty body piercing; 331-910-0085
for electrology; or 331-915-0085 for tattooing: 

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35 
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12;
HLA 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-16-13

331-950-0050
Schedule of Penalties for Body Piercing Standards and Prohibited
Services

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty sched-
ule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of Body Piercing Standards and
Prohibited Services laws and rules. This schedule applies, except at the
discretion of the agency pursuant to OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and
subsequent offenses, the provisions of OAR 331-020-0060 apply.

(1) Violation of an Earlobe Piercing Standard by is a violation of
OAR 331-900-0095:

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
(2) Providing a piercing service that is prohibited is a violation of

OAR 331-900-0100 excluding (1)(c) for standard body piercing or OAR
331-905-0090 excluding (1)(c) for specialty body piercing:

(a) 1st offense: $1000; 
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500; 
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed by

law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice and
refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked authoriza-
tion holder.

(3) Performing, attempting to perform, or purporting to perform a
piercing service that is prohibited under OAR 331-900-0100(1)(c) for
standard body piercing or OAR 331-905-0090(1)(c) for specialty body
piercing: or a piercing service listed as a specialty level one or special-
ty level two body piercing without a specialty level one or specialty level
two body piercing license is a violation of ORS 690.360(1)(a) or (c):

(a) 1st offense: $2,500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $5,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty or any other actions allowed by

law including refusal to issue a new authorization to practice.
(4) Violation of an initial jewelry piercing standard is a violation

of OAR 331-900-0105 for standard body piercing or 331-905-0120 for
specialty body piercing:

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12
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331-950-0060
Schedule of Penalties for Electrologist Practice Restrictions

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty sched-
ule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of Electrologist Practice Restric-
tions laws and rules. This schedule applies, except at the discretion of the
agency pursuant to OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and subsequent
offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 apply.

(1) Performing a prohibited service is a violation of OAR 331-910-
0065 excluding (4):

(a) 1st offense: $1000; 
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500; 
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed by

law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice and
refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked authoriza-
tion holder.

(2) Failing to adhere to towels or linens requirements listed in OAR
331-910-0065(4):

(a) 1st offense: $300; 
(b) 2nd offense: $500; 
(c) 3rd offense: $1,000.
Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12

331-950-0070
Schedule of Penalties for Tattoo Practice Standards and Prohibitions

The Agency has adopted the following presumptive penalty sched-
ule for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd violation of Tattoo Practice Standards and
Prohibitions laws and rules. This schedule applies, except at the discre-
tion of the agency pursuant to OAR 331-020-0060. For the 4th and sub-
sequent offenses, the provisions of 331-020-0060 apply.

(1) Violation of a Tattoo Practice Standards as listed in OAR 331-
915-0065(1), (2) or (3):

(a) 1st offense: $500; 
(b) 2nd offense: $1,000; 
(c) 3rd offense: $2,500. 
(2) Performing a prohibited service is a violation of OAR 331-915-

0065(5):
(a) 1st offense: $1000; 
(b) 2nd offense: $2,500;
(c) 3rd offense: Monetary penalty and any other actions allowed by

law including revocation of suspended authorization to practice and
refusal to issue a new authorization to practice to a revoked authoriza-
tion holder.

Stat. Auth: ORS 345, 676.607, 676.615, 676.625, 690.365, 690.370, 690.385, 690.390,
690, 405, 690.407, 690.410 & 690.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.607, 676.608, 676.612, 676.615, 676.625, 690.350,
690.360, 690.365, 690.370, 690.380, 390.385, 690.390, 690.405, 690.407, 690.410,
690.415 & 2011 OL Ch. 346 § 22 & 35
Hist.: HLA 16-2011, f. 12-30-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; HLA 10-2012, f. & cert. ef. 6-25-12
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