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- Property Tax
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- Transportation Taxes 
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debtors owing more than $50,000 on the department’s website. 
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- Transportation Taxes
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- Property Tax
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mental health services, and various programs addressing tobacco and 
nicotine use related health issues. 
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Bonding and Debt 
HB 5005 Authorized issuance of bonds: revenue, GO, COP and other financing. 35 
HB 5030 Lottery bonds authorization 36 

Court Fees 
HB 3447 Increases certain court filing fees. 37 

Oregon Liquor Control Commission (Alcohol) 
SB 248 Increases fees charged by OLCC. 38 
SB 112 Modifies provisions for collection of taxes on grape products used in wine. 39 

Lottery
SB 1049 Relates to the public employees retirement system (PERS) and contains 

provisions addressing the system funding. 
40 

Medical Provider Taxes 
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health plan premiums of insurers, the Public Employees’ Benefit Board 
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level. 
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inequity in the health insurance market. 

48 

SB 980 Modifies procedures by which eligible moneys are collected from Department 
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48 

SB 1051 Authorizes state agencies to enter into agreements with local governments. 48 
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2019 REVENUE MEASURES PASSED 
OVERVIEW 

 
Revenue Policy Environment 
 
The economic expansion that started in July 2009, following the end of the Great Recession, 
continued through the 2017-19 biennium. As of August, the current expansion became the 
longest on record at 122 months, according to the National Bureau of Economic Research. Just 
passing the prior record of 120 months from March of 1991 to February 2001. Oregon’s economy 
has also continued to expand and is expected to continue growing throughout the upcoming 
2019-21 budget period. Barring any risks (unexpected negative shocks) to the forecast, growth 
is expected to slow but remain positive. 
 
Despite projected growth in the economy during the 2017-19 biennium, tax collections grew even 
faster. General Fund revenue exceeded the close-of-session forecast by just over $2.2 billion, 
or 11.5 percent. The personal kicker is roughly $1.57 billion to be credited against 2019 personal 
income tax liabilities during the 2019-21 biennium. A corporate ‘kicker’ of $676 million is also 
projected and be dedicated to K-12 spending for the biennium. 
 
Similar to the prior biennium, the state was faced with a potential budget shortfall as the 2019 
session began. From a current services level perspective, the Legislature was faced with a 
potential revenue shortfall of roughly $600 million going into the 2019-21 biennium. The primary 
drivers of the shortfall were projected to be rising costs of the state’s Medicaid program (i.e. 
funding for the Affordable Care Act), Measure 98 (which requires increased funding for career 
and technical education spending), inflation, personal costs, and human service caseload 
projections. Implementation of the ACA requires states to increase their share of covered costs 
over time and some of the taxes used to fund the program were scheduled to sunset. 
 
In addition to these factors, there was a desire to dramatically increased education funding. To 
that end, the Legislature established the Joint Committee on Student Success. The committee 
traveled the state throughout 2018 and sought input from a variety of stakeholders concerning 
funding needs as well as potential revenue sources. The committee was re-established for the 
2019 legislative session, consisting of three subcommittees: Accountability and Transparency, 
Early Childhood Education, and Revenue. The culmination of that work resulted in HB 3427, 
which created a Corporate Activity Tax and outlined how the revenue is to be spent. Further 
details on the bill are found in the body of this report. 
 
As the 2019 session came to a close, there were heightened concerns regarding the possibility 
of a recession. Given the length of the current expansion period it’s safe to say that we’ve entered 
a mature phase of the expansion. However, certain cracks are beginning to appear that may, 
eventually, be early signs of the next recession -- whenever that may come. At the federal level, 
both employment and GDP were recently revised down, suggested a weaker or slower growing 
economy than had previously been projected. While growth is expected to remain positive in the 
short-term, economists have expressed increased concern about the ability of the economy to 
maintain that trajectory. 
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Monetary policy and the trade dispute are weighing on projections for the economy. Stakeholders 
are following the Federal Reserve as it tries to manage the country’s monetary policy during a 
period of flux with respect to federal policies. The current trade dispute between the U.S. and 
China is certainly weighing on the minds of businesses as they evaluate their investment and 
hiring plans. On the upside for households, the strong labor market should mean increased 
wages for worker. 
 
Oregon is still experiencing growth in employment, income, and state GDP. The pace of job 
growth has slowed, but that’s to be expected during the mature phase of an economic expansion. 
Oregon businesses generally face the same aspects of uncertainty as elsewhere in the country, 
which may add a degree of caution, or limit the extent, to which businesses make further 
investments or hires. Notable concerns related to the trade war are the possible affects on the 
agriculture sector and the technology sector. 
 
Projected General Fund Revenue for the 2019-21 Biennium 
 
The 2019-21 Legislatively Adopted Budget (LAB) is based on the May economic and revenue 
forecast adjusted for actions taken by the Legislature. 
 

 
 

2019-21 Legislatively Adopted Budget Revenue Forecast
General Fund, $M

Beginning Balance $2,321.6
Allocation to Rainy Day Fund -$199.4
Short-Term Interest Costs -$10.4
Projected General Fund Revenue $21,323.7
Shared Revenues -$45.3
Corporate Income Tax to Rainy Day Fund -$158.3

Subtotal $23,232.0

Legislative Actions
Medical Provider Taxes (HB 2010) -$5.0
Tax Expenditure Extensions (HB 2164) -$70.5
Rural Medical Provider Tax Credit (HB 2847) -$0.2
Corporate Activity Tax - Income Tax Rates (HB 3427) -$423.0
Court Filing Fees (HB 3447) $3.1
DOR Tax Compliance (SB 523 and HB 5033) $2.5
OLCC Fees (SB 248) $5.2
DOC Collections (SB 980) $0.5
Fund Shifts and Other Adjustments $181.6

Subtotal -$305.9

Total Resources $22,926.1
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Projected General Fund resources, including the beginning balance, are estimated at $22,926.1 
million for the 2019-21 biennium. This compares with an estimated $20,054.1 million for the 
2017-19 biennium. The estimates for 2019-21 include the impact of the kicker. 
 
Given the advanced age of the current economic expansion, the cyclical nature of Oregon’s 
durables goods manufacturing oriented economy and the volatility of General Fund revenue, the 
state’s reserve fund position entering the new biennium is critical. The balances in Oregon’s two 
reserve funds (the Education Stability Fund and the Oregon Rainy Day Fund), established during 
the turbulent 2000-2010 period, are at historic highs entering the 2019-21 biennium. 
 
The two reserve funds have a combined balance of roughly $1,288 million following the 2017-19 
biennium. These balances are projected to grow to nearly $1,761 million by the end of the 2019-
21 biennium. When combined with the projected $817 million General Fund ending balance, the 
state’s reserves are 11.5% of LAB expenditures. This level should be sufficient to cover revenue 
declines in a mild to moderate recession. 
 
For a detailed discussion of the 2019-21 Legislatively Adopted Budget see “2019-21 Budget 
Highlights” released by the Legislative Fiscal Office. 
 
Major 2019 Revenue Legislation 
 
This section summarizes five major revenue bills. HB 3427, referred to as the Student Success 
Act, creates a Corporate Activity Tax (CAT) dedicated to school funding. The second (HB 2164) 
contains policy modifications and clarifications to the CAT as well as serving as the 2019 tax 
expenditure omnibus bill. The third contains the revenue elements of the health care funding 
plan (HB 2010) and the fourth (HB 2005) establishes a Paid Family Medical Leave policy. The 
fifth revenue bill (HB 2270) represents a significant change to the taxation of tobacco and related 
products and is scheduled to go to voters in November of 2020.  
 
HB 3427 
 
Referred to as the Student Success Act, the core revenue policy is the creation of the Corporate 
Activity Tax (CAT). It is a 0.57 percent tax on commercial activity in Oregon above one million 
dollars. The calculation of the tax includes a 35 percent deduction for the larger of cost of goods 
sold or employee labor costs. Certain items and entities are exempt, such as the wholesale or 
retail sale of groceries and entities subject to the Medical Provider Taxes. The bill also contains 
a reduction of 0.25 percentage points for the bottom three personal income tax rates -- from 5%, 
7%, and 9% to 4.75%, 6.75%, and 8.75%. The net revenue impact for 2019-21 is projected to 
be $1,175 million. The Fund for Student Success (FSS) is estimated to receive $1,598 million 
while the General Fund (GF) is estimated to have a revenue loss of $423 million. The GF loss 
due to the income tax rate reductions is to be offset by a transfer from the FSS. 
 
HB 2164 
 
This bill consists of two policy themes. First, it contains certain technical and policy modifications 
or clarifications to the CAT created in HB 3427. Examples include the clarification of how 
insurance companies are taxed and how ‘cost inputs’ is defined. Second, it serves as the 2019 
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biennial omnibus tax expenditure bill. It extends all nine tax credits under review for the biennium. 
The most notable of which may be the extension and expansion of the earned income tax credit, 
which was increased by one percentage point. A tax credit for short-line railroads was created 
and the tax credit for IDA contributions was enhanced by increasing its value from 70 percent of 
donations to 90 percent. Other tax expenditure policies included in the bill pertain to property 
taxation of low-income housing, historic property, and food processing equipment. For 2019-21, 
the bill generates a revenue loss of just under $71 million to the GF, $2 million to the FSS, and 
just over one million dollars to the property tax system. 
 
HB 2010 
 
This bill is the product of the latest health care funding effort. Through the extension of existing 
assessments and some expansions, Oregon’s health care system is projected to receive an 
additional $335 million in 2019-21. The assessment on insurers, PEBB, and managed care 
organizations is increased from 1.5 percent to 2 percent. The bill also extends the assessment 
to Stop-Loss coverage. In addition, these assessments are extended through 2026. In 2021-23, 
the total amount raised is $1,811 million due to these changes plus the extension of the hospital 
assessment, which accounts for $1,232 million of that total. Under current law the hospital 
assessment sunsets in September 2021; the bill moves the sunset date to September 2025. 
 
HB 2005 
 
With this bill, the Legislature has created an Oregon Paid Family Medical Leave (PFML) program, 
modelled after the state’s Unemployment Insurance program. The program will provide eligible 
employees with compensated time away from work for specified purposes. The funding source 
is a payroll tax with a rate of up to one percent of gross wages. The Oregon Employment 
Department is required to specify the rate, which is split between employers (60 percent) and 
employees (40 percent). Employers with fewer than 25 employees are exempt from the program. 
The tax becomes effective on January 1, 2022 so there is no revenue impact in 2019-21. For 
2021-23, the PFML Insurance Fund is projected to receive $1,572 million from the payroll tax. 
 
HB 2270 
 
With this bill, the Legislature has referred to the voters the option of increasing tobacco taxes to 
help fund the states medical assistance program, including mental health services and programs 
addressing tobacco and nicotine use related health issues. If approved by voters, a total of $115 
million is estimated to be raised in 2019-21 via three changes. First, the cigarette tax would 
increase from $1.33 to $3.33 for a pack of 20 cigarettes. The higher tax would take effect on 
January 1, 2021 and is projected to raise just under $109 million during the 2019-21 biennium. 
Second, the measure would create a tax on inhalant delivery systems and make them subject to 
the other tobacco products tax, which is 65 percent of the wholesale price. Lastly, the cap on the 
cigar tax would be increased from 50 cents to one dollar per cigar. The tax on inhalant delivery 
system is projected to raise $6 million in 2019-21 while the higher cigar tax cap would bring in 
roughly $0.3 million during the biennium. Full implementation of the changes would occur in 
2021-23, when $350 million is projected to be raised. 
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PERSONAL AND CORPORATE INCOME TAX 
 
 

HB 2101 (CH 132) 
Establishes partnership and partner audit procedures for Department of Revenue in conformity 
with federal centralized partnership audit regime. Measure allows but does not require an 
audited partnership to pay at the partnership level. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal positive impact. 
Measure aligns Oregon statute and policy with recent federal tax law changes regarding 
partnership tax audits. Aligning Oregon statute with federal statute is expected to minimally 
increase tax collections from audited partnerships. Oregon’s alignment with federal partnership 
audit provisions applies to partnership tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018. 
 
 

HB 2102 (CH 133) 
Allows Department of Revenue (DOR) to disclose income tax information to a multijurisdictional 
information sharing organization formed with oversight by the Internal Revenue Service to 
combat identity theft and fraud. Allows DOR to also disclose such information to tax preparation 
software vendors that are members of such an organization. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal positive impact. 
Measure allows DOR to become a full member (currently DOR is a limited member) of the Identity 
Theft Tax Refund Fraud Information Sharing and Analysis Center. Becoming a full member will 
provide DOR with additional information and analytics intended to identify and prevent fraudulent 
tax returns. Preventing tax return fraud that would otherwise be successful has the effect of 
increasing revenue available to the general fund. Based on recent fraud statistics provided by 
DOR, expectation is a positive impact on revenue of less than $100,000 per year on average. 
 
 

HB 2127 (CH 203) 
Eliminates sunset of exemption from personal or corporate income taxes available to out-of-state 
emergency service providers operating in Oregon solely for the purposes of performing disaster 
or emergency related work on critical infrastructure. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
The exemption for nonresident income from disaster or emergency related work has been 
minimally used in past years. If Oregon suffers a catastrophic disaster, use of the exemption 
would increase. 
 
 

HB 2141 (CH 483) 
Establishes procedures and requires uniform transfer of a tax credit. Authorizes Department of 
Revenue to prescribe additional procedural requirements for transfer of credits. Requires credit 
certifying agencies to provide information about credit certification to Department of Revenue. 
Authorizes director of certifying agency to suspend or revoke tax credit certification in certain 
circumstances. Allows Department of Revenue to collect unpaid taxes in case of suspension or 
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revocation of transferable credit. Applicable to tax credits that are transferred on or after January 
1, 2020. 

Revenue Impact: Minimal positive impact. 
Measure makes no changes that will impact underlying tax liability. Rather, changes contained 
in measure will provide uniformity in administration of transferable tax credits and tax credits 
requiring agency certification. A minimal positive impact on revenue may occur due to enhanced 
notification and tracking of agency certified and transferable tax credits. 

HB 2164 (CH 579) 
This measure is an omnibus bill that affects personal and corporate income taxes, the 
corporate activity tax, the property tax, and some transportation taxes. Consequently, the 
relevant bill analysis is reported in each of these four sections. Click on the links in the table on 
page 2 to access the different tax programs. 

Measure creates, extends and modifies several tax expenditures and is commonly referred to as 
the omnibus tax bill.  

Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 
Biennium 

Policy 2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 
Cultural Trust contributions -$4.2 -$8.6 -$9.0 
Manufactured dwelling park capital gain subtraction Minimal 
Manufactured dwelling park closure credit Minimal 
Certain retirement income -$0.7 -$1.4 -$1.4 
Volunteer rural EMS providers -$0.1 -$0.2 -$0.2 
Employer provided scholarships Minimal 
Agriculture workforce housing construction -$2.0 -$4.1 -$4.1 
Crop donation -$0.2 -$0.4 -$0.5 
Earned income tax credit -$56.7 -$118.4 -$125.5 
Political contributions -$5.7 -$10.8 -$11.5 
Short line railroads -$1.1 -$2.8 -$3.2 
Replace 529 subtraction with 529 refundable credit $0.3 $0.9 -$0.9 
IDA contributions Indeterminant 

Total General Fund -$70.5 -$146.0 -$156.4 

Sunset extensions & modification (income tax expenditures)  
The following income tax expenditures are extended for six years: 

• Cultural Trust contributions credit
• Manufactured dwelling park capital gain subtraction
• Manufactured dwelling park closure credit
• Certain retirement income credit
• Volunteer rural emergency medical services providers credit
• Employer provided scholarships credit
• Agriculture workforce housing construction credit
• Crop donation credit

The following income tax credits are modified and/or extended for six years: 
• The Oregon earned income tax credit is increased from 8% to 9% of federal earned

income tax credit and, for taxpayers with a dependent under the age of three, from 11%
to 12%
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• The eligibility threshold for the political contributions credit is reduced from $200,000 to 
$150,000 for joint filers and from $100,000 to $75,000 for all other filers 

• The maximum credit percentage allowed for contributions to a fiduciary organization for 
distribution to individual development accounts (IDA) is increased from 70 percent to 90 
percent (sunset date is unchanged).  

New income tax credits 
Short line railroads: Creates income tax credit for owners or lessees of short line railroads that 
incur costs directly related to the work necessary to maintain, reconstruct or replace short line 
railroad infrastructure in Oregon. For purposes of determining short line railroad rehabilitation 
project costs, disallows costs used to qualify for or used to claim any state or federal grants or 
federal tax credit. 
 
Creates two tiers of tax credit benefit. Specifies tier 1 as person that cumulatively owns or leases 
short line railroad track in Oregon in excess of 200 miles. Limits credit allowed for tier 1 taxpayers 
to lesser of $1,000 multiplied by number of short line track miles owned or leased in Oregon, or 
fifty percent of short line rehabilitation project costs. Specifies tier 2 as any person that is not a 
tier 1 or is a public entity. Limits credit allowed for tier 2 taxpayers to lesser of $3,500 multiplied 
by number of short line track miles owned or leased in Oregon, or fifty percent of short line 
rehabilitation project costs. Specifies that initial credit qualification is limited to tax years 2020 
through 2025. Limits potential tax credits to no more than $4 million per biennium. 
 
Replace 529 subtraction with 529 credit: Creates refundable personal income tax credit for 
contributions to a 529 higher education savings network account or an ABLE account. Limits 
credit to $300 if reported by taxpayer on a joint return or $150 if reported on any other type of 
return. Specifies framework for credit amount as a function of taxpayer's adjusted gross income 
and amount contributed. Specifies credit is available in tax years 2020 through 2025. Limits 
existing law 529 subtraction to contributions made in tax years beginning before January 1, 2020 
and allows unused subtracted amounts to be carried forward only to tax years beginning before 
January 1, 2025. 
 
Policy Purposes 
Cultural Trust 
To protect and stabilize Oregon’s cultural resources by creating a solid foundation for the future 
through the leveraging of private sector support from both individuals and businesses. 
Manufactured dwelling park capital gain 
To encourage sales of manufactured dwelling parks to a corporate entity formed by the tenants 
of the park, or by a nonprofit corporation or housing authority. 
Manufactured park closure 
To mitigate the costs to manufactured dwelling park households that are forced to move due to 
instances where market forces and development are causing closure of the manufactured 
dwelling park. 
Certain retirement income 
To provide tax relief to low-income individuals with pension income. 
Volunteer providers of rural emergency medical services 
To help defray the out of pocket costs of rural volunteer providers of emergency medical 
services. 
Employer provided scholarships 
To encourage and leverage private money to help pay for higher education. 
Agriculture workforce housing construction 
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To provide support for the construction or rehabilitation of agriculture workforce housing 
thereby supporting the goal of ensuring adequate agricultural labor housing through a 
collaboration of the public, private and nonprofit sectors. 
Crop donation 
To increase the amount of food donated to gleaning cooperatives, food banks and other 
charitable organizations as well as providing compensation to farmers who donate already 
harvested crops. 
Earned income tax credit 
To increase the spendable income of low-income working families by offsetting state income 
taxes, thereby encouraging low wage earners to enter the labor force or earn more if already 
part of the labor force. 
Political contributions 
To encourage large numbers of people to contribute small amounts of money to candidates 
and political parties, thereby encouraging participation in the political process. 
Short line railroad 
To encourage and leverage private capital investment in short line railroad infrastructure with 
the intent to create cascading economic development opportunities across the state and to 
incentivize new short line rail customers by improving the conditions of short line railroads 
throughout Oregon. 
529 Credit 
Higher education: To provide families and individuals a tool with which to begin saving for 
higher education expenses thereby encouraging individuals to commit to continuing their 
education beyond high school. Policy intent of restructuring tax subtraction as a refundable 
credit is to make tax incentive more available to families and individuals of more modest 
means.  
ABLE: To help people with disabilities to save money for necessary expenses to meet the 
challenges of life. 
 
 

HB 2235 (CH 33) 
Allows refund of personal income tax to be made by direct deposit into account designated by 
taxpayer. 
 
Revenue Impact: No impact 
 
 

HB 2377 (CH 643) 
This measure is the program change bill produced each biennium by the Joint Committee on 
Ways and Means. The measure implements statutory changes necessary to support the 2019-
21 Legislatively Adopted Budget. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 
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 General Fund 
2019-21 ($M) 

Transfer from:  
Insurance Fund $10.0 
Dept. of Administrative Services Operating Fund $50.9 
State Information Technology Operating Fund $26.5 
Dept. of Justice Protection and Education Revolving Account $46.0 
Health Insurance Exchange Fund   $3.8 
Oregon Medical Board Account   $5.0 
Public Employees’ Revolving Fund $15.0 
Portland Harbor Cleanup Fund   $3.0 
Legal Aid Account $11.9 

  
Central Government Service Charge -$0.5 
  

Total General Fund             $171.6 
 
These fund transfers and distribution changes become General Fund revenue for purposes of 
calculating the 2019-21 Close-of-Session revenue forecast upon with the 2019-21 Legislatively 
Adopted Budget is based. 
 
 

HB 2847 (CH 495) 
Expands list of hospitals, whose medical staff may qualify for the rural medical provider personal 
income tax credit, to include a hospital classified as a rural referral center and also classified as 
a sole community hospital. Applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2020. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 
 Fiscal Year  Biennium 
 2019-20 2020-21  2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 
General Fund $0 -$0.2  -$0.2 -$0.4 -$0.4 

 
Measure will allow qualifying medical providers at Sky Lakes Medical Center in Klamath Falls to 
potentially qualify for Oregon’s rural medical provider income tax credit. The Oregon Office of 
Rural Health has identified about 40 rural medical providers that do not currently qualify for the 
tax credit that will become eligible for a credit worth $5,000. Impact on general fund revenue is 
estimated at -$200,000 per tax year (-$400,000 per full effective biennium).  
The policy purpose of this measure is to include Sky Lakes Medical Center in Klamath Falls as 
a hospital whose medical staff may qualify for Oregon’s rural medical provider personal income 
tax credit. 
 
 

HB 2975 (CH 20) 
This measure is a program change bill that repeals certain re-appropriations from the 2017 
Legislative Session. 
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Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 

Description General Fund 2017-19 
Insurance Fund -$33.3 
Operating Fund -$18.5 
Information Technology Operating Fund -$10.5 
Protection and Education Account -$46.0 
Total -$108.3 

 
Due to the re-appropriation repeal, these amounts reduce General Fund revenue for the 2017-
19 biennium. 
 
 
HB 5033 (CH 612) 
Appropriates moneys from General Fund to Department of Revenue for biennial expenses, 
including additional auditors to work on tax compliance related to the Marijuana Tax. 
 
Revenue Impact: 
Approximately $300,000 in additional tax collections for 2019-20 and then roughly $500,000 
annually thereafter is projected due to the increased audit function. Audit activity is projected to 
start producing collections in October of 2019 and gradually increase over the first six months, 
where increased collections are expected to level off. These estimates are based on information 
from the Department of Revenue. Roughly 60 percent of the total is estimated to come from 
increased income tax billings while 40 percent is projected to come from Marijuana retail tax 
billings.  
 
 
SB 79 (CH 359) 
Allows Department of Revenue to render assistance in the collection of delinquent debt to the 
Oregon State Bar for purpose of collecting assignments to a client security fund. Allows 
Department of Revenue to render assistance to any local government or any special government 
body in the collection of delinquent debt, only through setoff against any refunds or sums due to 
a debtor. 
 
Revenue Impact: Indeterminate 
Measure does not increase tax or fee liability, rather, measure provides another means of 
potential collection of outstanding debts. As measure does not require government agencies or 
bodies to utilize Department of Revenue collection services and Department of Revenue has 
discretional authority in accepting debt, change in potential collections of debt is indeterminate. 
 

SB 162 (CH 316) 
Allows a personal income taxpayer, at time of tax filing, to initiate process to establish an Oregon 
529 Higher Education Savings Network account. Requires Department of Revenue to provide a 
means by which personal income taxpayers may elect to initiate the establishment of a 529 
Higher Education Savings Network account. Modifies statute allowing DOR to share tax 
information for purposes of election to initiate the establishment of a 529 account. Applies to tax 
returns filed on or after January 1, 2021. 
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Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 
 

SB 213 (CH 319) 
Updates connection date to federal Internal Revenue Code and other provisions of federal tax 
law from December 31, 2017 to December 31, 2018. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 
 

SB 459 (CH 370) 
Decreases reserve bid amount, in auctions for income tax credits for certified Opportunity Grant 
and film production development contributions, from at least 95% of the total amount of the credit 
to 90%. Requires tax credit auctions conducted by Department of Revenue in cooperation with 
the Oregon Film and Video Office or with the Higher Education Coordinating Commission, to be 
conducted no later than April 15 following December 31 of any tax year for which the credit is 
allowed. Applies changes to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2019 and before January 
1, 2024. 
 
Revenue Impact: Indeterminant 
In recent years, demand for auctioned tax credits for qualified film production development 
contributions has generally exceeded supply of credits to be auctioned while average price paid 
for winning auction bids has often exceeded the face value of the credit. Purchases of auctioned 
credits have been concentrated among fewer than five hundred higher income taxpayers.  
2017 federal tax law changes and subsequent Internal Revenue Service regulations changed 
the environment for state auctioned tax credits. Following the recent federal changes, there is 
potentially less federal tax benefit for purchasers of state auctioned tax credits. Measure provides 
two ways in which future auction demand may increase: adjusting the timing of the auction and 
reducing the minimum auction bid price required to purchase a credit.  
 
 
SB 523 (CH 336) 
Allows the Department of Revenue (DOR) to publicly post information about debtors on the 
department’s website, including information on name, city and state, type of debt, lien 
identification numbers, and the amount of debt due. Specifies that all other debtor information 
remain subject to applicable confidentiality provisions. Applies only to debtors with outstanding 
debt owed to DOR of at least $50,000, and to whom DOR has already issued a warrant for 
collection of the debt. Excludes debtors who are in a payment plan, in open bankruptcy, 
appealing the debt, and/or in a debt resolution agreement with DOR. Requires DOR to remove 
public information regarding debtors within 14 days of the debt resolution.  
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 

 Fiscal Year  
 

Biennium 
2019-20 2020-21 2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 

General Fund $1.0 $1.0  $2.0 $2.0 $2.0 
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The above estimate is based on information from a Department of Revenue (DOR) pilot program 
known as Treasury Offset Program (TOP) 100 pilot. During the pilot, the agency received 
$420,000 in voluntary payments on a total debt of $44 million. This bill allows DOR to publicly 
post debtor information to the DOR website, if the debtors owe the department at least $50,000. 
The total debt owed to DOR by debtors who meet the $50,000 threshold is roughly $344 million. 
The revenue estimate is based on the pilot program collections rate combined with information 
on the total amount of debt due to DOR and exceeding the $50,000 individual threshold. This 
estimate accounts for the deterrent effect of posting tax delinquency amounts publicly. It also 
considers the difficulty in collecting the total amount of debt, since some of this debt could be 
deemed uncollectible in the future. Over time, a deterrent effect may exist as the public posting 
of tax delinquency becomes familiar to taxpayers and some try to avoid being placed on the 
public list.  
 
 

SB 851 (CH 556) 
Requires that when calculating Oregon taxable personal income in tax years beginning on or 
after 2017, individuals add back amounts deducted for deemed repatriation as part of the one-
time transition tax. Prevents the Department of Revenue (DOR) from imposing penalties and 
interest for tax years 2017 and 2018, if the underpayment or underreporting is due to the 
repatriation add back. Requires that when calculating Oregon taxable income, taxpayers add 
back to federal taxable income amounts deducted as GILTI. Clarifies that Oregon will treat GILTI 
in the same manner as a dividend for purposes of modification to taxable income. Provides 
corporations an 80% dividends received deduction (DRD) for GILTI. Prevents taxpayers from 
taking a DRD for amounts of foreign-source dividend income, as described in IRC 245A, included 
in FTI. Indicates that amounts subtracted under IRC 245A are excluded from apportionment 
calculations. Indicates that taxpayers should include dividends and/or GILTI in sales factor 
apportionment calculations as indicated by the apportionment formula for that specific taxpayer.  

Revenue Impact: None. 
 
In December 2017, Congress passed the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA). During the 2018 
legislative session, the legislative assembly worked to understand the implications of the TCJA 
on Oregon’s tax system. These discussions focused primarily on the one-time corporate 
repatriation and the intent was to avoid a double-deduction at the state level. At the time it was 
unclear how personal income taxes would be affected by the one-time repatriation. During the 
summer of 2018, the IRS issued new guidance and forms related to TCJA, including moving 
repatriated income calculations to a different federal form. As a result, this income no longer 
flowed through to Oregon taxable income. To address this change, the Department of Revenue 
(DOR), in consultation with the Department of Justice (DOJ), issued guidance relying on ORS 
316.737 and instructed all taxpayers to add these amounts back.  

SB 851 makes three conceptual clarifications to statute. First, the bill clarifies that individuals 
who received a federal deduction for amounts due under the one-time repatriation (IRC 
965(c)(1)), must add those amounts back for the purposes of calculating Oregon taxable income, 
applicable to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017. This change to statute is a 
clarification and is consistent with current practices of the DOR related to repatriation. The 
baseline for this revenue impact estimate assumes that the Department’s position is correct and 
that these amounts should be added back. There is no revenue impact for this change because 
it reflects current enforcement standards used by DOR. While collections may increase because 
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of this legislation, those income amounts would have been subject to audit by DOR. There is 
inherent uncertainty comparing the timing of such collections between this bill and those that 
may have been discovered through the DOR audit process.  

Second, SB 851 indicates that Oregon will treat global intangible low-taxed income (GILTI) in the 
same manner as a dividend and allow a state-level dividends-received deduction (DRD) on the 
gross amount of GILTI. Taxpayers will add the amounts deducted as GILTI at the federal level 
to their federal taxable income for the purposes of calculating Oregon taxable income. Then 
taxpayers receive an 80% DRD to apply to this income. This change to statute is consistent with 
DOR’s expected treatment of GILTI in the absence of legislation and as a result, there is no 
revenue impact for this modification. 

Finally, the bill adds to statute language that avoids the potential for a double deduction related 
to foreign-source dividends. At the federal level, taxpayers receive a 100% DRD for the foreign-
source portion of their dividends. SB 851 adds to statute language to indicate that taxpayers 
cannot take an additional state-level subtraction related to this income. This change is again 
consistent with DOR’s treatment in the absence of legislation and as a result, there is no revenue 
impact for this modification.  
 
 

PROPERTY TAX AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE 
 
 
HB 2130 (CH 578) 
Creates and extends sunsets for certain property tax exemption and special assessment 
programs. Provides sunset for property tax exemption on land held by non-profit for low income 
housing to property tax year beginning 2029. Extends sunset on property tax exemption for cargo 
containers to 2026. Extends sunset of homestead property tax exemption for surviving spouse 
of fallen public safety officer to 2025. Extends 130% central assessment cap on specified entities 
to 2025. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  

 
Intangible 130% central assessment cap: This caps the intangible taxable value for centrally 
assessed companies under OR 308.515. The tax expenditure is generated from the reduction in 
taxable value from data and communication companies with large intangible assets. Schools 
experience approximately 47% of the tax revenue loss, while general government takes 53%. In 
addition, approximately 15% of the total impact is shouldered by the other taxpayers in the form 
of bond re-allocation. The table above reflects that the first year of impact is the 2022-2023 tax 
year. 

  Biennium 
  2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 
130% cap on intangible assets 0 -1.20 -2.80 
Land held for low income housing 0 -0.2 -0.2 
Cargo Containers 0 -0.1 -0.1 
Homestead Fallen Officers Spouses 0 -0.1 -0.1 
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Land held by non-profit for low income housing:  The tax expenditure for this program is minimal. 
Although it is not permissive, it only applies to bare land, and therefore has not historically created 
a revenue loss greater than $200,000 per biennium. 
Cargo containers:  The tax expenditure for this program is minimal. Although it is not permissive, 
it has only created a revenue loss of less than $100,000 per biennium. 
Homestead for spouses of fallen public safety officers: The impact is minimal. As it is permissive, 
it has historically had a revenue loss of less than $100,000 per biennium. 

HB 2164 (CH 579) 
This measure is an omnibus bill that affects personal and corporate income taxes, the 
corporate activity tax, the property tax, and some transportation taxes. Consequently, the 
relevant bill analysis is reported in each of these four sections. Click on the links in the table on 
page 2 to access the different tax programs. 

Extends sunset of property tax exemption for low income housing and food processing 
equipment. Extends sunset special assessment program for historic property. 

Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 

Biennium 
Policy 2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 

Low income rental housing -$0.1 -$0.2 -$0.2 
Historic property special assessment $0.0 -$0.6 -$1.9 
Food processing equipment -$1.1 -$7.8 -$13.9 

Total Property Tax -$1.2 -$8.6 -$15.9 

Low income rental housing: Extends sunset of property tax exemption for newly constructed low-
income rental housing from 2020 to 2030. The current value of the property that is exempted due 
to this law is approximately $65 million statewide. Those properties would be considered 
continuing (for a maximum of 20 years for each property) and therefore not affected by the 
sunset. Given the total amount of property on the roll, the cyclical nature of new applicants, and 
along with current local CPR’s, the impact is estimated to be roughly $100,000 for the first 
biennium. This estimate reflects the ability of developers to complete projects prior to the sunset. 
Historic Property: Extends sunset of property tax special assessment from 2020 to 2022. The 
value in the table represents the additional properties that are allowed to enter the program with 
the sunset extension. In particular, existing properties, already in the program before the current 
sunset date, see no change. When a property enters the program the value of the property is 
frozen prior to renovation and restoration. The revenue impact arises from the incremental tax 
revenue that is foregone by the frozen value. 
Food processing equipment: Extends sunset on property tax exemption for food processing 
equipment from 2020 to 2025. Exempts from property taxation, new food processing equipment 
for the initial 5 years. Allows counties and cities to change exemption to partial exemption and 
reduce number of years for exemption. 

HB 2174 (CH 580) 
Specifies urban renewal plan submission and approval process. Requires concurrence of the 
three most affected taxing districts for urban renewal plans that includes a specified public 
building project. Prescribes effective date. Modernizes rate plan terminology. 
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Revenue Impact: There is no direct impact, as this bill deals with implementation of urban 
renewal programs, which are permissive.  
 
This measure would strengthen approval process for urban renewal plans involving public 
buildings, which, when exiting from Urban Renewal status, do not bring additional tax revenue 
to the roll because of their tax-exempt nature. Upon passage of the bill, three of the four taxing 
districts estimated to forgo the most tax revenue would need to approve the inclusion of a public 
building in an urban renewal plan. 
 
 

HB 2587 (CH 591) 
For purposes of homestead property tax deferral program for seniors and persons with 
disabilities, changes prohibition on homestead with outstanding deferred property taxes from 
being pledged as security for reverse mortgage to prohibition on homestead that is pledged as 
security for reverse mortgage from being granted deferral under program. 
 
Revenue Impact: There is no direct impact as this is not a tax expenditure 
.  
In the deferral program, property taxes of participants are paid by the Department of Revenue to 
the local governments on behalf of the property owner, and then collected upon liquidation of the 
property. It is unknown how many homeowners with reverse mortgages might apply were the 
legislation to pass. However, on average, the Department of Revenue pays approximately 
$2,600 per account currently, and there are currently 750 accounts in the program with pre-2011 
reverse mortgages. The Department of Revenue estimates that there are approximately 4,000 
individuals with properties  with reverse mortgages between 2011-2017 that may qualify for the 
senior deferral program. 
 
 

HB 2684 (CH 164) 
Repeals property tax exemption for property of company that builds, maintains and operates 
project constituting certain communication services infrastructure.  
Revenue Impact: (in $Millions):  

 Biennium 
 2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 
Local Governments $2.8 $3.3 $3.5 
Local Education Districts $1.9 $2.3 $2.5 
Total Revenue Change $4.7 $5.6 $6.0 

 
Current statute provides a property tax exemption to a broadband service provider in perpetuity. 
This revenue estimate is constructed considering the only company that is currently qualified to 
receive the exemption. The impact would increase based on the size and number of companies 
that may apply for and receive this exemption in the future. Upon the passage of this bill as 
amended, the Department of Revenue would specially assess the company’s intangible property 
at 75% of its real market value for the 2019-20 tax year. In addition, the bill would eliminate the 
existing property tax exemption for all future tax years. Therefore, the revenue increase in the 
table above represents the phase out value of the tax exemption.  
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HB 2699 (CH 492) 
Modifies brownfield property tax incentive law to specify that a brownfield property granted 
property tax benefits under the law may also be granted any other special assessment, 
exemption, or partial exemption for which the property is eligible. Prohibits total amount of all 
special assessments, exemptions, and partial exemptions granted to property from reducing 
property tax liability to below zero. Requires city, county, or port to specify in ordinance or 
resolution how multiple property tax benefits will be applied and to notify county assessor of 
intended application. 
 
Revenue Impact:  
The revenue impact will be negative. However, the magnitude is unknown. The bill provides for 
a property tax exemption which is currently not allowed. In particular, the bill allows for the 
property owner to receive a tax exemption under this program in addition to property tax 
exemptions from other programs and special assessments. 
 
The revenue impact of HB 4084 (2016) which enacted this program described the loss in tax 
revenue from the exemption and the potential increase of value on the roll after 10 or 15 years, 
when the property returned to the roll. With this additional tax relief from the current bill, a 
property, for example could receive up to 15 years of property tax exemption under the 
brownfields program, and at the same time receive a property tax exemption for land held for low 
income housing. Then, when the property was remediated, the property may start receiving a 
tax exemption for low income housing. In this case, the property may remain off the roll, in excess 
of 25 years. When the property comes back on the roll, it would come on at its improved and 
currently assessed value.  
 
Current statute requires a property owner to choose between the brownfield tax exemption 
program and other tax exemption programs. 
 
 

HB 2949 (CH 533) 
Authorizes governing body of county with population of more than 570,000 to set maximum dollar 
amount of $25,000 ($34,000 indexed to inflation) or more for total assessed value of all of 
taxpayer's manufactured structures taxable as personal property below which such 
manufactured structures are not subject to ad valorem property taxation for assessment year. 
 
Revenue Impact:  
There is no direct revenue impact as this is a permissive policy which allows exemption of 
additional value by the governing body of the county. However, if adopted for the 2018 tax year, 
it would affect approximately 1,700 manufactured structures and result in a revenue loss up to 
$2 million dollars annually. 
 
There are approximately 1,700 manufactured structures, in such counties, that are taxable under 
current statute. The current statute has that the full value of the structure is taxable once the 
structure passes the $34,000 threshold. This would allow the structure to become incrementally 
taxable, or for the county to set an increased threshold. 
 
The policy purpose of this measure is to maintain affordable housing to individuals who live in 
modest structures and may have low incomes. 
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SB 262 (CH 322) 
Extends sunset for property tax exemption for multiple-unit housing. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  

 Biennium 
 2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 
Local Governments $0 -$0.69 -$2.17 
Local Education Districts $0 -$0.46 -$1.45 
Total Revenue Change $0 -$1.15 -$3.62 

 
This policy allows cities and counties to grant a full or partial tax exemption on properties newly 
constructed, or converted, for the purpose of multi-unit rental housing. The policy includes two 
programs. The first allows property exemptions for multi-unit rental housing in core areas that 
meet criteria in statute relating to high density and public transportation (unrelated to low 
income). The other does not need to lie in a core area but must be subject to a low-income 
housing assistance contract with the federal government. Both programs provide the tax 
exemption for the first 10 years after application approval. This program is utilized by four 
counties currently and has an annual revenue impact of $10 million. However, the policy is not 
set to sunset in current statute until 2022, and therefore the impact in the table above represents 
additional properties that would be able to come online at the time of sunset, not the cost of the 
properties that are currently in the programs and would continue through their remaining years 
of the 10-year window. 
 
 

SB 393 (CH 548) 
Authorizes translator districts to annex cities where cable television corporations operate or have 
ceased operations and city electors approve annexation. 
 
Revenue Impact:  
There is no direct revenue impact because annexation requires voter approval. If the bill passes 
and the cities elect to self-annex into the translator district, then the district could raise an 
additional $180,000 annually. 
 
The bill gives cities discretionary authority to approve self-annexation into a translator district. 
Given that electors retain approval authority, there is no certain immediate impact. However, 
Blue Mountain Translator District states that there are 10 cities that may be affected by this bill. 
If those cities approve, analysis indicates that revenue might increase by approximately 
$180,000. 
 
Additionally, the bill does not preclude annexation of cities around the state, which would 
generate additional revenue impact. This analysis does not include the revenue impact of 
potential expansion. 
 
There is a potential intersect with SB 901 which would authorize the translator district to impose 
ad valorem taxes through establishment of a permanent rate. If both SB 393 A3 and SB 901 
were to pass then the translator district could annex new cities and impose a property tax on 
assessed value, or the translator district could choose to solely utilize SB 901 or SB 393 A3 
The measure places a moratorium on a self-annexation vote until after December 31, 2020. 
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SB 431 (CH 621) 
Creates urban flood safety and water quality district in portion of Multnomah County within urban 
growth boundary adopted by Metro, for purposes of acquiring, purchasing, constructing, 
improving, operating and maintaining infrastructure in order to provide for flood safety and 
contribute to water quality, floodplain restoration and habitat and landscape resilience. 
 
Revenue Impact:  
There is no direct revenue impact, as this measure allows the formation of a new taxing district 
and the dissolution of current taxing districts by vote. There is potential impact, contingent on 
successful implementation (described below). 
 
The bill proposes a multi stage process, all subject to voter approval, to replace four current 
districts, each with taxing authority, by one district with a unified governance structure and taxing 
authority. Should the voters approve, Levee Ready proposes to create an interim board and hold 
an election to form what would become the permanent taxing district and board. Once that is 
secure, the existing districts will be dissolved and the new district with its permanent board will 
proceed to fund and operate the levee system and drainage district. 
 
The new district plans to issue a general obligation bond to fund infrastructure costs and a utility 
fee to cover operations and maintenance. Levee Ready Columbia estimates that the general 
obligation bond would be financed over 20 years. Similarly, Levee Ready Columbia proposes 
that operations and maintenance, estimated in the initial decade to be approximately $7.5 million 
annually, would be collected as utility fees. 
 
The four existing levee districts currently impose approximately $6.3 million in taxes annually. 
Should the ballot measure pass and the current levee districts dissolve, two things would happen 
to this revenue. The portion that overlaps with other taxing districts in compression will still be 
released to, and collected by those other overlapping taxing districts, approximately $740 
thousand annually. The remainder, approximately $5.6 million annually, would be uncollected, 
or lost, directly due to the dissolution of the current levee districts and their loss of taxing 
authority. Subsequently, upon formation of the new taxing district, the new district would impose 
and collect property taxes under a bond. While the final amount would depend on actual costs 
and bonding, estimates from Levee Ready Columbia, assuming a midpoint of costs and standard 
economic assumptions, imply the new levee district would collect approximately $12 million per 
year, for a period of 20 years to pay for structural upgrades and improvements relating to levee 
integrity, restructuring and federal certification. 
 
 
SB 837 (CH 380) 
Authorizes, during five assessment years following correction of real market value by Department 
of Revenue or tribunal, change to real market value indicated by subsequent sale of property. 
 
Revenue Impact:  
There is no direct Revenue Impact, because it depends on decisions of property tax owners and 
the appraisal process of the county. However, there is a potential for approximately a $540,000 
increase in statewide property tax revenue for the 2020-2021 property tax year.  
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The 2017-2018 Property Tax Statistics states that the statewide reduction in value due to (Board 
of Property Tax Appeals) BOPTA is $337 million. Given the statewide average tax rate, the 
property sales turnover rate, and the rate at which BOPTA grants appeals LRO projects that if 
roll correction were allowed, statewide property tax revenue may increase by approximately 
$540,000 in the first effective tax year. 

SB 1045 (CH 566) 
Provides through permissive city and county authority, a property tax exemption to homeowners 
who choose to rent a portion of their home to qualified home share seeker. Implemented through 
development of homeshare program. Requires 51% of affected taxing districts, and caps 
program at 500 properties total in any given year. Describes process following breach of home 
share agreement. Takes effect 91st day after adjournment of sine die. Is repealed January 2, 
2029. 

Revenue Impact: As this is a permissive policy, there is no direct revenue impact. However, it 
will have implications on jurisdictions where it is adopted. 

This program would provide a maximum of $300,000 reduction from Assessed value to 
homeowners who participate in the homeshare program which will be developed to house low 
income homeseekers. The program has a participation cap, and participation will be allocated 
based on applications and relative county size. If the program is fully successful in its 
implementation, and it was implemented all in Multnomah County, it would reduce local tax 
revenue approximately $2.6 million, and shift approximately $800,000 in property taxes to other 
taxpayers annually (in the first year). If the program was dispersed throughout the state, the 
reduction to local property tax revenue would be approximately $2.1 million and a shift of 
approximately $500,000 annually. These values would escalate at approximately 3%, not 
considering compression. 

CORPORATE ACTIVITY TAX 

HB 2164 (CH 579) 
This measure is an omnibus bill that affects personal and corporate income taxes, the 
corporate activity tax, the property tax, and some transportation taxes. Consequently, the 
relevant bill analysis is reported in each of these four sections. Click on the links in the table on 
page 2 to access the different tax programs. 

This bill contains a series of modifications and clarifications to the Corporate Activity Tax created 
in HB 3427. In some instances, clarifying language changes have been made based on 
stakeholder feedback. For example, the definition and sourcing of commercial activity for 
financial institutions and insurers has been restructured and refined to better align with the intent 
of HB 3427. The list of items excluded from the tax base (i.e. not commercial activity) has been 
refined. The changes reflect items that weren’t part of the original tax base estimates, so they 
are not expected to change the revenue impact estimate for HB 3427. Another example of 
clarifying language is the modification to the definition of ‘cost inputs’, which better aligns the 
language with the calculation used in federal law to determine cost of goods sold. The language 
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improvement does not have a revenue impact because the original estimates were based on the 
underlying federal calculations. 
 
The change in the definition of ‘excluded person’ for the threshold from $1 million to $750,000 
does not change the tax calculation; it simply aligns the threshold with that of the registration 
process. Under these modifications, taxpayers will have to register with the Department of 
Revenue if they have at least $750,000 of commercial activity. The tax is unchanged and 
continues to be calculated only on taxable commercial activity above $1 million. Items that could 
potentially have a comparatively small impact on revenue are the inclusion of unrelated business 
income for exempt entities and the change in the language regarding sales to agricultural co-
operatives. However, the net impact is not expected to be significant and may have offsetting 
effects. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 
 

 Biennium 
 2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 

Fund for Student Success -$1.9 -$4.0 -$4.5 
 
The policy with an impact on revenue from the Corporate Activity Tax is the exclusion of certain 
amounts from the commercial activity of general contractors building single-family residential 
homes. The exclusion is limited to 15 percent of qualified labor payments made by general 
contractors to subcontractors. The estimate is based on 2012 Census data for qualifying labor 
payments. The estimate is grown to tax year 2020 based on a combination of tax return data and 
projections consistent with the base estimates for the Corporate Activity Tax.  
 
 
 

HB 3427 (CH 122) 
Creates a Corporate Activity Tax based on commercial activity conducted by businesses. The 
tax is $250 plus 0.57% on taxable commercial activity above $1 million. Includes a subtraction 
equal to 35 percent of the greater of input costs or labor costs. Reduces the Personal Income 
Tax rates for the three lower brackets from 5%, 7%, and 9% to 4.75%, 6.75%, and 8.75%. 
Defines terms. Creates the Fund for Student Success and allocates funds. The tax changes first 
take effect with tax year 2020. Takes effect on the 91st day following sine die. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 
 

 Biennium 
2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 

Fund for Student Success $1,598 $2,810 $3,068 
General Fund   -$423   -$699   -$762 
Net Impact $1,175 $2,111 $2,306 

 
The estimates for the Corporate Activity Tax (going into the Fund for Student Success) are based 
on historical Oregon tax return data augmented with published federal tax information. Growth 
rates used are based on the March 2019 Economic and Revenue forecast. The impact on the 
General Fund is from two sources: the reduction of the personal income tax rates and the 
interactive effects between the new tax and existing income taxes. Roughly 70 percent of the 
impact is due to the tax rate reductions. 
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SCHOOL FINANCE 
 
 
HB 2867 (CH 657) 
Modifies a requirement for a high school to qualify as a small high school for the purpose of State 
School Fund distributions. First applies to the 2019-20 distributions. Takes effect on July 1, 2019. 
 
Revenue Impact: No change in the total formula revenue available for distribution to school 
districts and education service districts. 
 
There is currently one school district that has a weighted average daily membership (weighted 
ADM or ADMw) getting close to 8,500 as well as having high schools qualifying as small high 
schools. Under current law, if this school district were to go over the ADMw cap of 8,500, it would 
lose small high school-based formula revenue. With the increase in the ADMw cap, this bill 
creates a pathway for this school district to continue to receive its share of formula revenue, 
distributed according to the small high school correction formula. This bill does not change the 
total formula revenue. 
 
 
HB 5016 (CH 218) 
Appropriates for the 2019-21 State School Fund, $7,713.6 million from the General Fund, $535.7 
million from the Lottery revenues, $103.3 million from marijuana taxes, $643.0 million from the 
Fund for Student Success, and $4.4 million from miscellaneous receipts. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 
 

  Biennium 
   2019-21 

 State School Fund  $9,000.0 

    From General Fund  $7,713.6 

    From Lottery Resources     $535.7 

    From Marijuana Taxes     $103.3 

    From Fund for Student Success     $643.0 

    From Miscellaneous Receipts         $4.4 
 
This bill appropriates $9,000.0 million for the 2019-21 State School Fund (SSF), with $7,713.6 
million allocated from the General Fund, $535.7 million from the Lottery revenues, $103.3 million 
from marijuana taxes, $643.0 million from the Fund for Student Success, and $4.4 million from 
other sources. This SSF is combined with local revenues from school districts (SDs) and 
education service districts (ESDs) to form the total formula revenue available for distribution. 
 
The attachments to this impact statement display projected formula revenue distributions to 
individual school districts and education service districts for school years in the 2019-21 
biennium. 
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2019R1/Downloads/MeasureAnalysisDocument/49894 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2019R1/Downloads/MeasureAnalysisDocument/49894
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SB 802 (CH 347) 
Allows a military child to be considered a resident of a specified school district based on an 
official military order for transfer of a parent of the child, for purposes of enrollment and class 
placement. 
 
Revenue Impact:  There is no change in the total formula revenue available for distribution to 
school districts and education service districts. 
 
While there is no change in the total formula revenue available for school districts and education 
service districts, this bill could impact the distribution of revenue among school districts, 
depending on where a military child is enrolled. 
 
 

TIMBER TAXATION 
 
 
HB 2073 (CH 647) 
Extends privilege taxes on merchantable forest products harvested on forestlands and adjusts 
rates. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  

 
 
The measure sets the Forest Products Harvest Tax Rates for calendar years 2020 and 2021. 
The projected 2020 and 2021 harvest is 3,630,000 and 3,670,000 thousand board feet (mbf) 
respectively. The rate for the Forest Research and Experiment Account remains at 90 cents per 
mbf. The measure reduces the rate for the Oregon Forest Practices Act Administration from 
the20118-19 level of $1.5661 per mbf to $1.3872 per mbf in 2020-21. Because the rate is set to 
otherwise sunset at the end of 2019, this lower rate still generates a positive revenue impact. 
The measure extends, unchanged, the 10 cent per mbf privilege tax allocated to Oregon State 
University for forest educational programming.  
 
 

TRANSPORTATION 
 
 
HB 2080 (CH 389)  
The measure raises the biennial boat registration fee from $4.50 a foot length to $5.95 a foot 
length. The title fee is raised from $50 to $75, and the fee for a boater education card is increased 
from a maximum of $10 to a maximum of $20. The measure repeals the requirement for an 
Oregon registered motorboat to carry an aquatic invasive species permit. Instead, $5 is added 
to the registration fee and that $5 is transferred to the Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Fund 

FY 2020 FY 2021 2019-2021 2021-23 2023-25
Forest Research and Experiment Account 0.76$               3.28$               4.04$               2.53$               -$                 
Oregon Forest Practices Act Administration 1.18$               5.05$               6.23$               3.90$               -$                 
Oregon State University Forest Education 0.08$               0.36$               0.45$               0.28$               -$                 
Total Revenue Impact 2.03$               8.69$               10.71$            6.71$               -$                 
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The net effect of the change of the Aquatic Invasive Species is to generate no new revenue. 
Increases application fee for original boat title or title transfer from $50 to $75. 

The Oregon State Marine Board (OSMB) is the state’s regulatory agency for recreational boating. 
OSMB provides education, enforcement, access, and environmental stewardship to help make 
boating a safe and enjoyable experience. In 2015, the Legislature passed HB 2459, which 
increased the biennial fee for boat registration from $3 to $4.50 and increased the original boat 
title or title transfer application fee from $30 to $50. According to OSMB, registration revenue 
has decreased by 10% since 2015.  

Revenue Impact: 

HB 2164 (CH 579) 
This measure is an omnibus bill that affects personal and corporate income taxes, the 
corporate activity tax, the property tax, and some transportation taxes. Consequently, the 
relevant bill analysis is reported in each of these four sections. Click on the links in the table 
on page 2 to access the different tax programs. 

Measure extends two tax expenditures related to fuel taxes and the weight-mile tax. 

Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 

Biennium 
Policy 2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 

Vehicle used for testing emissions (gas/use fuel) Minimal 
Vehicle used for testing emissions (weight-mile) -$0.1 -$0.3 -$0.3 

HB 2209 (CH 581) 
Authorizes a fee on railroads gross revenue of up to 0.05 percent, to sunset January 2, 2027. 
Authorizes per-car fee of up to $20 on oil tank rail cars entering state or originating in state, to 
sunset January 2, 2027. Establishes the High Hazard Train Route Oil Spill Preparedness Fund 
and continuously appropriates money in the Fund to Department for purposes related to 
contingency planning for high hazard train routes. 

U.S. Department of Transportation issued an emergency order that took effect on June 6, 2016, 
requiring carriers operating single trains transporting one million gallons or more of Bakken crude 
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oil to provide information to each relevant state emergency response commission (SERC) on 
estimated volumes and frequencies of applicable train traffic. The Legislative Assembly enacted 
House Bill 3225 (2015), requiring the State Fire Marshal, Oregon's designated SERC, to adopt 
a plan for coordinated response to an oil or hazardous material spill or release that could occur 
during rail transport. 
 
In June 2016, a 96-car train carrying crude oil derailed in Mosier, Oregon, in the Columbia River 
Gorge. Sixteen of the cars derailed, resulting in a fire that burned for 14 hours and required the 
evacuation of about 100 nearby residents. Approximately 47,000 gallons of crude oil were 
released during the derailment; however, even though it occurred 600 feet from the Columbia 
River, only trace amounts of crude oil were discharged into the river. Most of the oil burned off, 
was absorbed into the soil, or was released into the town's wastewater treatment facility.  
 
Revenue Impact: 
 

 
 
The measure establishes an annual fee of 0.05% of gross operating revenues of railroads that 
are required to submit contingency plan for high hazard train route. Directs revenues to High 
Hazard Train Route Oil Spill Preparedness Fund. It also establishes a fee of up to $20 on each 
railroad oil tank car entering state from outside and on each car loaded with oil within the state. 
Directs Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), and State Fire Marshal to establish exact 
amount of fee, by rule, as necessary to fund programs out, and Oil and Hazardous Material 
Transportation by Rail Fund.  
 
Both fees start on 1/1/2020, and sunset on 1/2/2027. Any remaining moneys in Funds that are 
unexpended shall be refunded to payors without interest. 
 
The minimum Gross Revenue as of Calendar Year 2017 to be a Class I is $463,860,000, Class 
II is $37,100 000, and a: Class III is less than $37,100 000.     
 
The forecast of revenue is based on GRF actuals growing by 2.5% for the first 3 years then 
2.35%. Car loads are expected to start at 16,000 car loads on 2020, growing by 2.5% a year. 
 

HB 2592 (CH 491)  
Amends various statutes related to House Bill 2017 (2017). Modifies definition of "bicycle" and 
"taxable bicycle" for purposes of bicycle excise tax. Specifies requirement and exemption for 
repayment of electric vehicle rebate. Increases maximum statutory weight and width for Class 
IV all-terrain vehicles. Authorizes Metro to impose vehicle registration fee, if approved by voters 
by December 31, 2022, separate from other local government registration fees. Clarifies that 
low-speed electric vehicles and zero-emission motorcycles are eligible for electric vehicle rebate 
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program. Specifies repayment responsibility for recipients of electric vehicle rebates who end 
ownership or lease before required time has elapsed and allows administrator to waive 
repayment. Makes plug-in hybrid vehicles eligible for Charge Ahead rebate program. Provides 
method by which persons who purchased electric vehicle between January 1, 2018, and August 
2, 2018, may apply retroactively for zero-emission vehicle and/or Charge Ahead rebates. 
Replaces requirement for motor carrier weight receipts with weight identifiers. Exempts bucket 
trucks from definition of "fixed load vehicle." 
 
House Bill 2592-A is the vehicle for the Joint Committee on Transportation's omnibus package 
of fixes and policy options related to House Bill 2017 (2017). The measure makes technical and 
policy changes to statutes related to the bicycle excise tax; vehicle privilege tax; motor vehicle 
fuel taxes; vehicle registration fees; accountability provisions related to the Oregon 
Transportation Commission and Continuous Improvement Advisory Committee; statutory 
references to enumerated multimodal projects; confidentiality in communications between 
Oregon Department of Transportation and Oregon Department of Revenue; use of moneys to 
repay bond debt service for major transportation projects; the Connect Oregon multimodal 
program; bicycle and pedestrian grants by the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department; and 
the electric vehicle rebate program. In addition to amending provisions of House Bill 2017, House 
Bill 2592-A also includes provisions related to the following: maximum weight and width of Class 
IV all-terrain vehicles; authority of Metro to impose a vehicle registration fee separate from those 
imposed by state or other local governments; maximum weight of vehicles utilizing idle reduction 
systems; statutory alignment with federal law with regard to the International Fuel Tax 
Agreement; and motor carrier weight receipts. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 

 
 
There are two sections in the -12's that have revenue impacts. The first is Section 19 that 
removes the automatic six-year sunset on transportation tax expenditures. The tax expenditures 
are: 

1. Exemption from weight-mile for heavy trucks owned by dealers and used for test drives. 
2. Propane and natural gas-powered vehicles may pay a flat annual fee instead of a per 

gallon fuels tax. 
3. Heavy vehicles used for emissions research and development and were also provided 

an exemption by the EPA are exempted from either the fuels tax or weight-mile tax. 

These tax expenditures are currently set to expire at the end of 2020. Extending them indefinitely 
will impact 6 months of 2019-21 and 24 months of 2021-23, for a loss in 2019-21 of $90,000 and 
$400,000 in 2021-23. 

• $5 of the fee is apportioned 60.05% to ODOT, 24.38% to counties and 15.57% to cities.  
• $3 of the fee is apportioned to counties at 60% and cities at 40%.  
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• $0.50 of the fee is temporary through 2019 and is apportioned 50% ODOT, 30% counties and 
20% cities. 

It is not clear if there will be any corresponding administrative savings to counter the revenue 
reductions, but that will be reflected in the Fiscal impact statement.  
 
Section 19 of the measure extends indefinitely exemption from weight mile to dealer’s test drives, 
propane and Natural Gas flat annual fee, and heavy vehicles used for emissions testing.  
 
 

HB 2881 (CH 428)  
Replaces vehicle weight rating with designation as a passenger vehicle as qualification for per-
mile road usage charge program. Removes cap on number of vehicles that may participate in 
program. Increases minimum miles-per-gallon (MPG) rating for participation in program from 17 
to 20 and grandfathers participating vehicles with MPG rating below 20. Exempts vehicles with 
MPG rating of 40 or more that participate in program from registration surcharge fee imposed by 
House Bill 2017 (2017) and specifies that exempted vehicles that leave program must pay 
registration surcharge fee. Replaces per-mile fee with formula equal to five percent of state's 
per-gallon gasoline license tax. Specifies that persons paying more in fuel taxes than is owed in 
per-mile tax during a reporting period will not be issued refund. Directs Department of 
Transportation to consult with vehicle dealers to determine ways to encourage participation in 
per-mile road usage charge program at point of sale of vehicle. Grants Department rulemaking 
authority for program. 
 
The Legislative Assembly created the Road User Fee Task Force (RUFTF) in 2001 to develop 
a revenue collection system to fund Oregon's roads and highways that could replace the existing 
gasoline tax. Because motor fuel taxes had not kept pace with inflation, and because the mileage 
ratings of the vehicle fleet had steadily improved for two decades, revenues for maintaining and 
improving the state's road system had not kept pace with need. The RUFTF studied 28 different 
options, eventually determining that a new system should be designed that would assess costs 
to drivers based on the number of miles driven on public roads and highways in Oregon.  
 
Two pilot programs were conducted in 2006-2007 and 2012-2013, during which technology and 
administration was tested and refined for the program. In 2013, the Legislative Assembly enacted 
Senate Bill 810, creating a permanent voluntary program, known as OReGO, in which up to 
5,000 vehicles could pay 1.5 cents per mile in lieu of the gasoline tax. Drivers use onboard, 
connected technology to track miles traveled on Oregon public roads and are either billed for 
costs accrued that exceed the amount of gas tax paid, or are reimbursed for gas taxes paid that 
exceed the road usage charge. There are currently about 650 vehicles that participate in the 
OReGO program. House Bill 2881 represents a suite of policy changes recommended by the 
Road User Fee Task Force for adjustments to the OReGO program. 
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Revenue Impact: 
Changes as a result of Expanding of OReGO to 40+ MPG Vehicles with 
Registration Fee Opt-Out: 
      

BN 

Increased 
RUC Gross 

Charges 
RUC Admin/Coll 
Costs Increase 

Loss of Fuels Tax 
Revenue 

Loss of Vehicle 
Registration 

Revenue 

Net 
Revenue 

to 
Highway 

Fund 
19-21 $471,096  ($177,225) ($190,956) ($108,592) ($5,677) 
21-23 $2,030,175  ($762,091) ($840,535) ($425,597) $1,952  
23-25 $4,318,194  ($1,626,826) ($1,787,459) ($850,510) $53,399  

 
 
The measure would increase Highway Fund revenue by: 

• Expanding the ability and providing an incentive for 40+ MPG vehicles to opt-in to 
paying the road usage charge (by opting-out of paying the enhanced vehicle 
registration fee); 

• Eliminating fuels tax refunds for estimated fuels tax payments in excess of road usage 
charges; and 

• Decreasing the administrative costs associated with providing fuels tax refunds.  

The measure would decrease Highway Fund revenue by: 
• Reducing registration fee revenue from vehicles subject to the road usage charge with 

rating of at least 40 MPG. 
• Increasing the total amount of fuels tax revenue loss (from additional participating 

vehicles.  
• Increasing the total amount of collection costs (at a decreased proportion of RUC gross 

charges), which result from annual increases in the number of vehicles opting-in to 
paying the road usage charge; and 

• Reducing the road usage charge on January 1, 2024 from 2.1 cents per mile to 2.0 
cents per mile. 

 

SB 47(CH 507)  
Establishes Waterway Access Fund (Fund). Appropriates moneys in Fund to the Oregon State 
Marine Board Requires person 14 years of age or older to carry waterway access permit while 
operating a non-motorized boat. Establishes permit fees and deposit of a portion of each fee into 
the Fund and remainder into the Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Fund Account. Makes 
violation of requirement to obtain a waterway access permit a Class D violation. Requires Marine 
Board to collaborate with recreation user groups and law enforcement agencies to educate non-
motorized boaters about the requirement to obtain a permit. Makes permit requirement operative 
on August 1, 2020. 
 
The Marine Board is charged with regulating boating activities while promoting the multiple use 
and enjoyment of waters of the state. SB 47 would establish the Waterway Access Fund to 
improve waterway access and promote boating safety education for the non-motorized boating 
community. It would also require a person operating a non-motorized boat that is greater than 
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10 feet in length to obtain a waterway access permit, set permit fees, and eliminate the 
requirement to purchase an Aquatic Invasive Species permit for the same non-motorized boat. 
 
Revenue Impact: 

 
 
Establishes Waterway Access Fund (WA Fund). Establishes permit fees and deposit of a portion 
of each fee into the WA Fund and remainder into the Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Fund 
Account ((AISP). Eliminates requirement that person operating a nonmotorized boat, at least 10 
feet or more, must purchase Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) permit and stipulates a person 
operating a sailboat, at least 12 feet, must purchase AIS permit. Requires Marine Board to 
collaborate with recreation user 
groups and law enforcement 
agencies to educate nonmotorized 
boaters about the requirement to 
obtain a permit. Makes permit 
requirement operative on August 1, 
2020. Assigns new fee structure. 
 
 

TOBACCO TAX 
 
 

HB 2270 (CH 525) 
Increases the tax rate on cigarette distributions. Dedicates taxes from the additional cigarette tax 
rate to state’s medical assistance program including mental health services, and various 
programs addressing tobacco and nicotine use related health issues. Amends expense payment 
provisions in cigarette tax administration and enforcement. Prescribes a floor tax and dedicates 
such tax to the Oregon Health Authority Fund. Includes little cigars in the definition of cigarettes. 
Adds to statutes the definition of inhalant delivery system for the purpose of taxing tobacco 
products. Imposes tax on such system. Dedicates taxes from inhalant delivery system to state’s 
medical assistance program including mental health services, and various programs addressing 
tobacco and nicotine use related health issues. Caps a tax on cigars at $1 per cigar. Makes the 
sale of cigarettes in packages with fewer than 20 cigarettes illegal. Applies to cigarette and 
tobacco products taxes beginning on or after January 1, 2021. Specifies reporting and 
information sharing mechanism. Refers this act to the next general election for approval or 
rejection. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  

Waterway Access Permit Type
Additional 
Fee

 Additional 
2019-21 ASIP 

 Additional 
2019-21 WA 

 Additional 
2021-23 AISP 

 Additional 
2021-23 WA 

 Additional 
2023-25 AISP 

 Additional 
2023-25 WA 

2-year $20 859,020 1,187,560 1,330,067
1-year $12 71,616 95,700 107,184
1-week $4 8,516 34,064 11,624 46,496 13,019 52,076
1-year Livery 6-10 boats $60 3,540 4,980 5,578
1-year Livery 11-20 boats $110 7,040 9,790 10,965
1-year Livery 21+ boats $200 16,200 22,200 24,864

$8,516 $991,480 $11,624 $1,366,726 $13,019 $1,530,733

Total 2019-21 $999,996 2021-23 $1,378,350 2023-25 $1,543,752
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                       Biennium 
 2019-21   2021-23  2023-25 

    
 Total Tobacco Taxes   $115.0    $350.4  $351.1 

    Cigarette Tax ($2 per pack, little cigars, floor tax)   $108.7    $324.0  $323.1 

    Inhalant Delivery System       $6.0      $25.1    $26.6 

    Increase in cigar tax cap (from 50 cents to $1)       $0.3        $1.3      $1.4 

 
The revenue impact analysis assumes the June 2019 Oregon Economic and Revenue 
Forecast as the base. The figures here represent changes relative to the forecast if the act is 
approved by voters. 
 
Cigarette Tax 
The measure increases the cigarette tax rate by 100 mills for each cigarette, which equates to 
$2 per pack of 20 cigarettes. Under current law, the cigarette tax is $1.33 per pack of 20 
cigarettes. Cigarette taxes serve various policy purposes. The new tax rate is applicable on or 
after January 1, 2021 if voters approve the measure. The revenue impact for 2019-21 reflects 
only the last six months of the biennium, which includes a floor tax of $26.1 million. Going 
forward, the $2 per pack tax increase is expected to bring in additional revenue of about $160 
million a year. Little cigars will be taxed as cigarettes under this measure, but the additional 
revenue from this change is less than $0.5 million a year. 
 
Inhalant delivery system 
The specified inhalant delivery systems are subject to the other tobacco products tax under this 
measure. The tax rate applied to these systems is 65% of the wholesale price. This tax is new 
in the state and the revenue impact draws from experience of other states with similar taxing 
programs.  
 
Increase in the cap on cigar tax 
Under current law, the tax rate on cigars is 65% of the wholesale price with the cap at 50 cents 
per cigar. Under the measure, the cap increases to $1. Currently revenues from 50-cent cap are 
slightly less than $1 million annually. Some additional revenue is expected with the increase in 
the cap. 
 
 

BONDING AND DEBT FINANCE 
 
 
HB 5005 (CH 661)  
This is the main bonding authorization bill. It establishes amounts authorized for issuance of 
general obligation bonds, revenue bonds, certificates of participation and other financing 
agreements for biennium. 
 
Revenue Impact: (in $Millions): 
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While Bond proceeds (minus issuance costs) represent increased revenue, debt service 
payments are reductions to revenues coming to the state system in the particular biennium.  
 

 
 
The bonds are categorized as General Fund (General Obligation) GO bonds ($946 Million), 
Dedicated Funds (General Obligation) GO bonds ($290 Million), and Revenue Bonds ($1.1 
Billion). Issuance of the Revenue Bonds and most of the dedicated funds GO bonds are assumed 
to occur mid 2019-21 biennium. Most of the General Fund GO bonds are to be issued in May 
2020 and March 2021. Most of the bonds are assumed to mature in 25 years and be tax exempt 
at 5% rate. The lottery bonds are shown in the revenue statement of HB 5030. 
For more detail on the projects and the agency budgets where the revenue will occur, refer to 
LFO budget report at:  
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2019R1/Downloads/CommitteeMeetingDocument/205701 
 
 

HB 5030 (CH 671)  
Increases amount of lottery bonds authorized to be issued by Oregon Business Development 
Department and other departments. 
 
Revenue Impact: (in $Millions): 
The revenue impact of lottery bonds includes the proceeds as revenue and costs and debt 
service as a reduction in revenue. 
 

Total 
Issuance 
2019-21

Cost of 
issuance
 2019-21

Debt 
Service 
2019-21

Net 
Revenue 
2019-21

Debt 
Service 
2021-23

Debt 
Service 
2023-25

General Fund Obligations
Higher Education Coordinating Comm. - CC (Art. XI-G) $75.27 ($1.16) $0.00 $74.11 ($8.37) ($8.38)
Oregon Business Development Dept. (Art. XI-M) $101.24 ($1.24) ($3.78) $96.22 ($15.69) ($15.71)
Oregon Business Development Dept. (Art. XI-N) $20.27 ($0.27) ($0.76) $19.24 ($3.14) ($3.14)
Oregon Department of Education (Art. XI-P) $126.09 ($1.09) $0.00 $125.00 ($20.27) ($20.30)
Department of Administrative Services (Art. XI-Q) $623.15 ($8.26) ($22.83) $592.06 ($116.89) ($117.03)

Total General Fund $946.01 ($12.01) ($27.37) $906.63 ($164.37) ($164.56)
Dedicated Fund Obligations

Department of Veterans' Affairs (Art. XI-A) $180.00 ($2.70) ($36.00) $141.30 ($72.00) ($72.09)
Dept of Environmental Quality (Art. XI-H) $10.00 $0.00 ($10.02) ($0.02) $0.00 $0.00
Housing and Community Services Dept (Art. XI-I(2)) $50.00 ($0.75) ($10.00) $39.25 ($20.00) ($20.02)
Department of Administrative Services (Art. XI-Q) $50.14 ($0.83) ($4.70) $44.61 ($7.47) ($7.48)

Total Dedicated Fund $290.14 ($4.28) ($60.72) $225.14 ($99.47) ($99.59)

Total General Obligation Bonds $1,236.15 ($16.29) ($88.09) $1,131.77 ($263.83) ($264.15)

REVENUE BONDS

Direct Revenue Bonds
Housing and Community Services Department $500.00 ($7.50) ($100.00) $392.50 ($200.00) ($200.24)
Highway User Tax $485.00 ($7.28) ($97.00) $380.72 ($194.00) ($194.23)
Oregon Business Development Department $100.00 ($1.50) ($20.00) $78.50 ($40.00) ($40.05)

Total Direct Revenue Bonds $1,085.00 ($16.28) ($217.00) $851.72 ($434.00) ($434.52)

GENERAL OBLIGATION BONDS

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2019R1/Downloads/CommitteeMeetingDocument/205701
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House Bill 5030 authorizes the issuance of lottery revenue bonds for specified projects. A total 
of $273,211,872 of net lottery bond proceeds are authorized to be spent on 37 projects funded 
through different state agencies.  
 
Total costs of bond issuance are estimated to be $5,040,491. Amounts issued for deposit into 
debt service reserve accounts are estimated to total $24,252,637. The total life costs of debt 
service are $481,882,815. Statutory lottery revenue bond authority is established in HB 5005. 
An authorization of $302,505,000 will allow for the issuance of lottery revenue bonds in HB 5030, 
generating proceeds for project costs, costs of issuance, and debt service reserves as detailed 
in the table above. 
 
A more detailed list can be found in the budget report issued by the Legislative Fiscal Office. 
 
 

COURT FEES 
 
 
HB 3447 (CH 605)  
Increases certain filing fees, Adjusts court fees for inflation. Effective October 1, 2019, most 
fees will increase 6%. 
 
Revenue Impact: 
Of the revenue generated from civil court filing fees, 8.5% is deposited into the State Court 
Technology Fund and the balance is deposited into the General Fund. Revenue from the 
marriage solemnization fee is deposited into the Oregon Judicial Department Operating 
account. 
 

 
 
Sections 1-11 and 25 of the amendment increase most filing fees except for standard filings for 
foreign judgments which were lowered. Sections 12-14 of the amendment increase motion fees. 
Sections 15-16 of the amendment increase settlement conference fees. Sections 17-18 of the 
amendment increase trial fees. Sections 19-21 of the amendment increase document fees. 

2019-21 2021-23 2023-25

Revenue Increase from New Fee 3,359,931$    3,897,520$    4,139,636$    
Technology Fund -8.5% (285,594)$      (331,289)$      (351,869)$      
OJD Operating Account (3,293)$          (3,820)$          (4,068)$          

General Fund Amounts (new) 3,071,044$    3,562,411$    3,783,699$    
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Section 19 expands the ability of a successful plaintiff to collect amounts related to the costs of 
enforcing judgments, including obtaining and executing a writ of garnishment. The revenue from 
this fee would not go to the General Fund; it would be retained by the collecting entity as an 
internal operating expense. Section 22 of the bill increases the marriage solemnization fee by 
6%, from $110 to $117. The new revenue would be distributed to the Oregon Judicial 
Department’s Operating Account. 
 

 
 
 

OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION (ALCOHOL) 
 
 
SB 248 (CH 420) 
Increases certain fees charged by Oregon Liquor Control Commission. Establishes $10 per 
day fee for temporary use of annual license. 

Statutory Reference Fee Category
 Current Fee

Amount 
 New Fee 
Amount 

ORS 21.258(1); CJO 14-066(7) Certificate 5$                    6$              
ORS 21.160(1)(a) Civil Filing 10K or less 165$                170$          
ORS 21.160(1)(a); 24.135(3) Civil Filing 10K or less - Foreign Judgments 165$                190$          
ORS 18.999; 21.235(1)(a), (1)(b), (1)(c) Document Handling Fee 17$                  18$            
ORS 21.155(1), (2), (3) Domestic Relations 287$                301$          
ORS 21.205(3)(a), (3)(b) Enforcement Motion 53$                  56$            
ORS 105.130(2)(a); 105.130(3) FED Filing 83$                  88$            
ORS 36.425(2)(b), (2)(c) Filing Notice of Appeal 150$                159$          
ORS 21.170(2)(d); 21.180(1)(d), (2)(d) Graduated Accounting Fee  >$10M 1,109$            1,176$      
ORS 21.170(1)(b), (2)(c); 21.180(1)(b), (2)(c) Graduated Accounting Fee $1M to $10M 558$                591$          
ORS 21.170(2)(b); 21.180(2)(b) Graduated Accounting Fee $50,000 to $1M 281$                298$          
ORS 21.170(2)(a); 21.180(2)(a) Graduated Accounting Fee <$50,000 33$                  35$            
ORS 21.160(1)(d) Graduated Filing $1M to $10M 834$                884$          
ORS 21.170(1)(c); 21.180 (1)(c) Graduated Filing $1M to $10M - Probate 832$                882$          
ORS 21.160(1)(c) Graduated Filing $50,000 to $1M 560$                594$          
ORS 21.170(1)(b), (2)(c); 21.180(1)(b), (2)(c) Graduated Filing $50,000 to $1M - Probate 558$                591$          
ORS 21.160(1)(b) Graduated Filing <$50,000 267$                283$          
ORS 21.170(1)(a); 21.180(1)(a) Graduated Filing <$50,000 - Probate 265$                278$          
ORS 21.160(1)(e) Graduated Filing >$10M 1,111$            1,178$      
ORS 21.170(1)(d), (2)(d); 21.180(1)(d), (2)(d) Graduated Filing >$10M - Probate 1,109$            1,176$      
ORS 106.120(4)(a) Marriage Solemnization 110$                117$          
ORS 21.215(3) Settlement Conference Civil 210$                223$          
ORS 21.215(1) Settlement Conference Domestic 105$                111$          
ORS 21.145(1),(2),(3),(4) Simple Filing 117$                124$          
ORS 21.145 Simple Filing - Foreign Judgments 117$                124$          
ORS 46.570(1) Small Claims <$2500 55$                  57$            
ORS 46.570(2) Small Claims >$2500 99$                  102$          
ORS 21.135(1), (2)(a), (2)(b), (2)(c), 2(d), (2)(e), (2)(f) Standard Filing 265$                281$          
ORS 21.135(3)(a) Standard Filing - Adoptions 255$                263$          
ORS 21.135(1), (2)(g) Standard Filing - Foreign Judgments 265$                190$          
ORS 21.200(1)(a), (1)(b), (1)(c), (1)(d), (1)(e), (1)(f) Standard Motion 105$                111$          
ORS 21.205(1) Supplemental Judgment Motion 158$                167$          
ORS 21.225(3)(a) Trial Fee 12 Person Jury (per day) 236$                250$          
ORS 21.225(3)(a) Trial Fee 6 Person Jury (per day) 158$                167$          
ORS 21.225(2) Trial Fee Non-Jury 131$                139$          
ORS 21.235(2) Writ or Garnishment Fee 45$                  47$            
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Revenue Impact:  General Fund, and Local Governments. 
This measure will increase revenues available for distributions by $9 million in the 2019-21 
biennium ($5.2 GF), $10.0 million in the 21-23 biennium ($5.6 GF), and $10.2 million in the 23-
25 biennium ($5.7 GF). The revenue trend will continue after that. Out of the total new revenue 
34% goes to the cities, and the remainder goes to counties.  
 
This measure is a pure cost recovery (collection costs) bill, that would not have 
traditionally generated extra revenues to the general fund and other uses. However, 
these costs seem to be currently subsidized by the OLCC liquor revenues. When the 
costs are otherwise recovered according to their actual occurrence, then the liquor 
revenue will revert back to the distribution stream. The net revenue from the liquor 
operations goes into the OLCC account. Available revenue in the OLCC account are 
distributed 56% to the state General Fund, 10% to counties by population, 20% to cities 
by population, and 14% to cities by formula. 
 
 

SB 112 (CH 542) 
Modifies provisions for collection of taxes on grape products used in wine production. Requires 
$12.50 of the $25.00 per ton tax to be levied and assessed against the winery purchasing grape 
products. Creates an exemption from such tax if the grapes are produced within a federally 
approved American Viticultural Area (AVA) located partially within the state and does not use an 
Oregon designation or Oregon AVA on its label or packaging. Specifies that if a winery 
purchasing grapes holds a license or permit from the Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
(OLCC), then the purchasing winery would be required to pay the $25.00 tonnage tax and deduct 
$12.50 per ton from price paid to the seller. Specifies that if a purchasing winery does not hold a 
license or permit from OLCC, then the winery would be required to report the sale on forms 
provided by the OLCC and pay the tax as directed by OLCC. Stipulates tax paying 
responsibilities on either the purchasing winery or the person selling or providing the grape 
products under specified conditions. 
 
All licensees who hold a Winery or Growers Sales Privilege (GSP) license are required to file an 
annual report. Any vineyard that exports vinifera or hybrid grapes or grape products is required 
to file an annual report. Unlicensed vineyards who do not export are not required to file but are 
encouraged to file Information Reports on an annual basis for OLCC tracking purposes. A winery 
that uses the vinifera or hybrid grapes or grape products in the production of wine or cider over 
8.5%, and any Oregon vineyard that exports vinifera or hybrid grapes or grape products are 
responsible for paying the tax. The Oregon Wine Board tax is neither a harvest nor grape tax. It 
is a tax on the sale or use of all agricultural products used in a winery for making wine, as well 
as all vinifera or hybrid grapes or grape products exported out of Oregon. A tax of $.021 per 
gallon is imposed upon all agricultural products other than grapes used to make wine or cider 
over 8.5%. A tax of $25 per ton is imposed upon juice or juice concentrate used in the production 
of wine. A tax of $12.50 per ton is imposed upon all vinifera or hybrid grapes or grape products 
sold outside of Oregon. 
 
Revenue Impact: Indeterminate for the following reasons: 
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This measure requires vineyards to pay $12.50 per ton to the commission if they sell to a winery 
that is not licensed, permitted or certified by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. The winery 
is also required to pay $12.50 per ton for received grapes. 

This measure also provides grape-ton tax requirements for winery licensees, wine certificate or 
permit holders with the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC). Wineries are required to 
report their use of Oregon grapes and submit $25 per ton of grapes and withhold $12.50 per ton 
from their payment to grape producers. 

This process might increase revenue coming from the wineries that are not reporting and paying 
the ton tax today. However, the obligation of the amounts being paid today by the sellers will 
transfer to the winery and might dilute that payment obligation. This may lead to loss of revenue, 
almost equal to the potential gain. OLCC does not currently have a grower registration and 
enforcement mechanism. Accordingly, overall revenue impact is uncertain until such mechanism 
is established. 

The measure creates in Section 3 an exemption from the tax if the grapes are produced within 
a federally approved American Viticultural Area (AVA) located partially within the state and 
does not use an Oregon designation or Oregon AVA on its label or packaging.  

The exemption is a new exemption with no sunset date in the text of the law, thus it might fall 
under the implicit 6-year sunset law for new tax expenditures (ORS 315.037). 

LOTTERY 

SB 1049 (CH 355) 
Relates to the public employees retirement system (PERS) and contains provisions addressing 
the system funding. 

Revenue Impact:  This measure does not change provisions governing lottery, so there is no 
direct revenue impact.  

However, the measure directs the transfer of lottery revenue from sports betting games to be 
used as state matching funds for employer contributions into new and existing PERS side 
accounts. Sports betting games are yet to be implemented and when implemented, they could 
affect revenues from other lottery games. Currently, there is no credible data on potential 
revenue from sports betting. At the same time, the impact of yet-to-be implemented sports betting 
games on other lottery games is indeterminate. 

MEDICAL PROVIDER TAX 
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HB 2010 (CH 2) 
Moves the sunset to 2026 and increases the assessment to two percent, on health plan 
premiums of insurers, the Public Employees’ Benefit Board (PEBB), and managed care 
organizations (MCO). Subjects health care stop-loss coverage to such assessment. Moves the 
sunset of the assessment on specified hospitals to 2025. Moves the sunset of the Oregon 
Reinsurance Program to 2028. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions): 
(1) Oregon Health Plan 

               Biennium 
2019-21 2021-23 

(A) Insurer Tax     $152.5     $325.1 

           Assessment on Insurers     $131.3     $291.6 

           Assessment on PEBB       $17.2       $29.0 

           Assessment on Stop-Loss         $4.0         $4.5 

(B) Assessment on MCO     $182.0     $254.0 

(C) Hospital Assessment         $0.0     $1,232.2  

           Assessment on DRG Hospitals          $0.0       $1,072.2 

           Assessment on Type A and Type B Rural Hospitals         $0.0           $160.0 
      
 Total Revenue (A + B + C)     $334.5   $1,811.3  

Source: Oregon Health Authority, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services 
 
This analysis focuses on new and additional revenues. Federal matches and other budget issues 
are addressed in the fiscal impact statement by the Legislative Fiscal Office. 
 
Current insurer tax of 1.5% on health plan premiums and 1.5% assessment on MCO premium 
equivalents are set to sunset at the end of 2019. This bill moves the sunset to December 2026. 
The revenue impact captures new revenues from six quarters of FY 2019-21 (but five quarters 
of collections due to filing and collection lag) and all eight quarters of 2021-23. 
 
Under current law, assessment on net patient revenues of Diagnosis-Related Group (DRG) 
hospitals and rural Type A and Type B hospitals continues through September 2021. This bill 
moves the sunset to September 2025. Assessment rates stay the same. Consequently, there is 
no change in FY 2019-21 revenue from the assessment. New revenue for FY 2021-23 reflects 
seven quarters of assessment, starting from 2Q of FY 2021-22. 
(2) General Fund 
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                 Biennium 
2019-21 2021-23 

   
 General Fund      -$5.0      -$8.0 

 
As a result of an insurance premium tax on health plans delivered or issued for delivery in 
Oregon, non-Oregon domiciled insurers are subject to less retaliatory insurance tax that flows 
into the General Fund. Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services estimates that 
the retaliatory tax will decline by slightly over $4 million per calendar year. 
 
 

TRANSIENT LODGING TAX 
 
 
HB 3136 (CH 600) 
Allows the Department to withhold no more than $900,000 from revenue that is transferred to 
the Oregon Tourism Commission, for the purpose of establishing a system for collecting local 
transient lodging taxes based on local rather than to regional information. Requires department 
to reimburse commission, with 2% interest, from reimbursement charges that would be withheld 
from state transient lodging tax revenues by transient lodging intermediaries but for disallowance 
of such charges. Provides for refunds by department to transient lodging intermediaries of 
amounts received in excess of $900,000 that would otherwise have been withheld by 
intermediaries as collection reimbursement charge. Requires department to notify Legislative 
Counsel after department has fully reimbursed commission. Allows the Department of Revenue 
to engage in a pilot program for data-scraping by purchasing access to metadata, with at least 
two but not more than four units of local governments. Sunsets the pilot program on January 2, 
2023. 
 
The 2005 Legislative Assembly (HB 2197) expanded the definition of transient lodging to include 
dwelling units used for temporary human occupancy. Temporary is defined as fewer than 30 
days at a time. Most recently, the 2013 Legislative Assembly (HB 2656) clarified circumstances 
under which a transient lodging intermediary rather than a lodging provider would be the entity 
responsible for collecting and remitting transient lodging taxes. A transient lodging intermediary 
is defined as “a person other than a transient lodging provider that facilitates the retail sale of 
transient lodging and charges for occupancy of the transient lodging.” Transient lodging 
intermediaries include online travel companies, travel agents, and tour outfitter companies, 
among others. Eighty-four cities and fifteen counties in Oregon levy a locally administered 
transient lodging tax and are also included in that definition. Online Travel Companies (OTC) will 
have to collect the tax based on the final price that the consumer pays. HB 4146 of the 2016 
session Increased state transient lodging tax rate from the current 1% to 1.8% till end of June 
2020, then it goes down to 1.5% from that date on. The bill also changed the distribution of 
revenue from a discretionary amount with a ceiling of 15% to two categories for regional 
development. Allocates 20% of revenue to the first category for regional development, and 10 % 
to the second category consisting of grants to regional tourism efforts concerning transient 
lodging taxpayers. Additionally, DOR to be able to collect for local governments under 
intergovernmental agreements. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
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The measure will improve and streamline collections and compliance with current law. This will 
be an enforcement and administration efficiency measure. It is likely to improve revenue 
collection and auditing. 
 
To improve compliance with predominately local, and then state, lodging taxes, House Bill 3136 
establishes a funding mechanism for the Department of Revenue to administer local transient 
lodging taxes on behalf of participating local governments. In a survey of local governments, the 
League of Oregon Cities found 46 city governments were either interested or very interested in 
using the Department to collect their local transient lodging tax. While House Bill 2400 (2017) 
authorized the Department to collect local transient lodging taxes, the cost of implementing these 
new taxes within Gentax, the Department’s main tax processing software, was considered 
prohibitive for any one unit of local government and there was no uptake of the program. For te 
budget arrangements for this measure refer to the budget report. 
 
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2019R1/Downloads/MeasureAnalysisDocument/52281 
 
 

HB 3137 (CH 498) 
Provides that transient lodging tax becomes due when occupancy of transient lodging with 
respect to which tax is imposed ends. Provides that transient lodging tax to be remitted with tax 
return is amount of tax due with respect to all occupancy of transient lodging that ended during 
reporting period to which return relates. 
 
In 2003, the Legislative Assembly (HB 2267) decided to designate the Oregon Tourism 
Commission a stand-alone agency. The same legislative action established a statewide one 
percent transient lodging tax to help fund the tourism commission. Under the 2003 law the 
Legislature defined transient lodging in ORS 320 as “hotel, motel and inn dwelling units that are 
designed for temporary overnight human occupancy, and [which] includes spaces designed for 
parking recreational vehicles during periods of human occupancy of those vehicles.” The law 
requires the Oregon Tourism Commission to spend at least 80 percent of lodging tax net receipts 
on state tourism marketing programs and up to 15 percent of net receipts on regional tourism 
marketing programs. The same bill restricted any local TLT taxes (after 2003) to be spent 70% 
on tourism and 30% to general uses. 
 
The 2005 Legislative Assembly (HB 2197) expanded the definition of transient lodging to include 
dwelling units used for temporary human occupancy. Temporary is defined as fewer than 30 
days at a time. Most recently, the 2013 Legislative Assembly (HB 2656) clarified circumstances 
under which a transient lodging intermediary rather than a lodging provider would be the entity 
responsible for collecting and remitting transient lodging taxes. A transient lodging intermediary 
is defined as “a person other than a transient lodging provider that facilitates the retail sale of 
transient lodging and charges for occupancy of the transient lodging.” Transient lodging 
intermediaries include online travel companies, travel agents, and tour outfitter companies, 
among others. Eighty-four cities and fifteen counties in Oregon levy a locally administered 
transient lodging tax and are also included in that definition. Online Travel Companies (OTC) will 
have to collect the tax based on the final price that the consumer pays. HB 4146 of the 2016 
session Increased state transient lodging tax rate from the current 1% to 1.8% till end of June 
2020, then it goes down to 1.5% from that date on. The bill also changed the distribution of 
revenue from a discretionary amount with a ceiling of 15% to two categories for regional 
development. Allocates 20% of revenue to the first category for regional development, and 10 % 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2019R1/Downloads/MeasureAnalysisDocument/52281
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to the second category consisting of grants to regional tourism efforts concerning transient 
lodging taxpayers. Additionally, DOR to be able to collect for local governments under 
intergovernmental agreements. 
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 
The measure will improve and streamline collections and compliance with current law.  
If the new enforcement increases compliance, the revenue to state and local governments that 
impose local tax may increase. However, the new measures might not find many loopholes to 
tighten, thus it can’t generate higher revenue.  
 
 

HB 3138 (CH 499) 
Provides that exemption from transient lodging taxation for dwelling unit used by members of 
general public for temporary human occupancy for fewer than 30 days per year does not apply 
to dwelling unit rented out as transient lodging using platform of any kind provided in any manner 
by transient lodging intermediary.  
 
In 2003, the Legislative Assembly (HB 2267) decided to designate the Oregon Tourism 
Commission a stand-alone agency. The same legislative action established a statewide one 
percent transient lodging tax to help fund the tourism commission. Under the 2003 law the 
Legislature defined transient lodging in ORS 320 as “hotel, motel and inn dwelling units that are 
designed for temporary overnight human occupancy, and [which] includes spaces designed for 
parking recreational vehicles during periods of human occupancy of those vehicles.” The law 
requires the Oregon Tourism Commission to spend at least 80 percent of lodging tax net receipts 
on state tourism marketing programs and up to 15 percent of net receipts on regional tourism 
marketing programs. The same bill restricted any local TLT taxes (after 2003) to be spent 70% 
on tourism and 30% to general uses. 
 
The 2005 Legislative Assembly (HB 2197) expanded the definition of transient lodging to include 
dwelling units used for temporary human occupancy. Temporary is defined as fewer than 30 
days at a time. Most recently, the 2013 Legislative Assembly (HB 2656) clarified circumstances 
under which a transient lodging intermediary rather than a lodging provider would be the entity 
responsible for collecting and remitting transient lodging taxes. A transient lodging intermediary 
is defined as “a person other than a transient lodging provider that facilitates the retail sale of 
transient lodging and charges for occupancy of the transient lodging.” Transient lodging 
intermediaries include online travel companies, travel agents, and tour outfitter companies, 
among others. Eighty-four cities and fifteen counties in Oregon levy a locally administered 
transient lodging tax and are also included in that definition. Online Travel Companies (OTC) will 
have to collect the tax based on the final price that the consumer pays. HB 4146 of the 2016 
session Increased state transient lodging tax rate from the current 1% to 1.8% till end of June 
2020, then it goes down to 1.5% from that date on. The bill also changed the distribution of 
revenue from a discretionary amount with a ceiling of 15% to two categories for regional 
development. Allocates 20% of revenue to the first category for regional development, and 10 % 
to the second category consisting of grants to regional tourism efforts  
 
Revenue Impact: Minimal 
 
The measure will improve compliance and information sharing between the state (DOR), Online 
platforms, and local governments. This collaboration is likely to improve collection and 



2019 Measures Passed 

Page 45 
LRO #3-19 

enforcement of tax collection for transient lodging taxes. This collaboration might provide higher 
level of revenue However, it might be savings in future administration cost. 
 
 
 
 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX 
 
 
HB 2660 (CH 407) 
Removes prohibition on payment of unemployment insurance benefits to nonprofessional 
employees of an educational institution providing facilities or janitorial services for weeks of 
unemployment, commencing during a period between two successive academic years or terms. 
Applies to weeks of unemployment beginning on or after the effective date of this bill. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 

          Fiscal Year           Biennium 
 2019-20 2020-21  2019-21 2021-23 
Unemployment Insurance 
Trust Fund     - $0.16     - $0.37      - $0.53    - $1.0 

Data Source: Oregon Employment Department 
 
This bill affects mostly reimbursing employers, which means unemployment benefits paid out to 
eligible beneficiaries will be paid back to the unemployment insurance (UI) trust fund by these 
reimbursing employers. Loss to the UI trust fund in this case will originate from interest losses 
due to timing of pay-out and reimbursement. 
 
There will be some unemployment benefits paid to eligible beneficiaries of UI tax paying 
employers. Oregon Employment Department (OED) estimates that these payments, thus loss 
to the UI trust fund, will amount to $420,000 in the 2019-21 biennium and $560,000 in the 
2021-23 biennium. These outflows will result in interest earnings loss. 
 
The revenue impact here combines interest losses and benefits pay-out attributable to UI tax 
paying employers. 
 
 

HB 3120 (CH 168) 
Provides that an individual may not be disqualified for unemployment insurance benefits for 
voluntarily leaving work, failing to apply for available suitable work or failing to accept suitable 
work, if the individual or a member of the individual's immediate family was a victim of certain 
crime of intimidation, if the individual believes that the individual or an immediate family 
member of the individual could become a victim of crime of intimidation, or if individual seeks to 
protect oneself or an immediate family member from crime of intimidation that the individual 
reasonably believes will occur as a result of the individual's continued employment or 
acceptance of work. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
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                         Biennium 
2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 

    
 Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund    -$0.3    -$0.4    -$0.4 

Data Source: Oregon Employment Department 
 
The Oregon Employment Department (OED) estimates that slightly under 60 individuals would 
meet the criteria specified in the bill over a biennium, thus newly qualifying for unemployment 
insurance (UI) benefits. Revenue impact on UI trust fund assumes similar number of cases 
prevailing over the following biennia. 
 
 

MISCELLANEOUS 
 
 
HB 2005 (CH 700) 
Creates a paid family and medical leave (PFML) insurance program to provide eligible 
employees compensated time off from work for specified purposes. Directs the Oregon 
Employment Department (OED) to set the contribution rate at up to one percent of gross 
wages. Allows OED to either administer the program or contract with a third party. Specifies 
that the contribution be made by employees and employers through payroll deduction. 
Exempts specified employers from making contribution. Dedicates contributions to the PFML 
Insurance Fund to pay benefits and administrative expenses and provide grants to eligible 
small employers. Caps benefit amounts and establishes minimum benefit payments. Becomes 
operative on January 1, 2022. 
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  

 Biennium 
2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 

Total Contribution to Family and Medical Leave 
Insurance Fund      $0.0   $1,571.9   $2,246.5 

Employers (40%; Excludes Exempt Employers)      $0.0      $542.3      $775.0 
Employees (60%)      $0.0   $1,029.6   $1,471.5 

Data Source: Oregon Employment Department 
 
The paid family and medical leave (PFML) insurance program in this measure is going to be 
administered in a manner similar to the state’s unemployment insurance program. One important 
difference is that the contributions to the PFML insurance fund come from both employers and 
employees, while those to the unemployment trust fund are made only by employers. 
Contributions to the PFML fund are then used to provide eligible employees compensated time 
off from work for specified purposes. 
 
According the Oregon Employment Department (OED), the Quarterly Census of Employment 
and Wages (QCEW) covers approximately 97% of total employment, excluding federal 
employment. QCEW data forms the basis for the revenue impact analysis. The wages paid by 
the specified exempt employers are excluded from the calculation of the employer share 
contribution. The employees of such exempt employers are still required to contribute their share 
to the PFML insurance fund. The analysis reflects only the contributions to the fund made by 
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employers and employees through payroll deductions, not including specified fees and penalties, 
and expected interest earnings for the fund. 
 
 
HB 2449 (CH 653) 
Phasing in over two years, increases taxes for emergency communications to $1.25 per month 
or per transaction as appropriate. Reduces limit on amount of reimbursement for administrative 
costs for Oregon Emergency Management from 4% to 2.4% beginning in second year, and 
Department of Revenue from one percent to six tenths of one percent. Extends sunset from 2022 
to 2030. Specifies that interest earned by the Emergency Communications Account must be 
credited to the 9-1-1 Subaccount.  
 
Revenue Impact (in $Millions):  
 Biennium 
 2019-21 2021-23 2023-25 
Total 911 fee collection $15.1 $62.3 $64.8 
Dept of Revenue Admin Fee savings $.09 $0 $0 
Office of Emergency Management Fee Savings -$.6 $0 $0 
Total increase in Revenue available for distribution $14.6 $62.3 $64.8 

 
There is increase in overall collections driven by the higher 911 fees assessed on accessible 
lines. In the first effective year of the bill, 2020, the 911 fee increases from seventy five cents to 
one dollar. That increase, along with the minimal changes in first year administrative costs 
generate a $14.6 million increase. By the second effective year and thereafter, the increase of 
the 911 fee to $1.25 offsets the reduction of appropriated rates to the Department of Revenue 
and Office of Emergency Management. 
 
 
SB 76 (CH 313) 
Authorizes the Oregon Racing Commission to issue an exchange wagering license to a qualified 
applicant. Specifies that the commission may impose a fee on an exchange wagering licensee’s 
exchange revenue. Takes effect on passage. 
 
Revenue Impact:  Indeterminate 
 
This bill specifies a regulatory framework for Oregon’s exchange wagering market, in which 
participants place wagers against each other, through Advance Deposit Wagering (ADW), by 
offering and accepting identically opposing wagers on the outcome of races. New Jersey is the 
only state that has this market in place. 
 
If allowed, the exchange wagering may add to ADW revenues, thereby resulting in additional 
revenue to the regulator, the Oregon Racing Commission (ORC), to the extent that this new 
wagering scheme does not adversely affect other wagers. However, available data is limited for 
any credible revenue impact analysis as New Jersey is the only U.S. state with exchange 
wagering. 
 
While it may take some time to take its root, this market has a potential for expansion and 
additional revenue as Oregon becomes the second state to offer exchange wagering and as 
technology allows robust online wagers. 
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SB 250 (CH 285) 
Aligns key provisions of the Affordable Care Act with the Oregon law. Prohibits health benefit 
plans from discriminating based on actual or perceived race, color, national origin, sex, sexual 
orientation, gender identity, age or disability. Prohibits insurance carriers from applying 
preexisting condition exclusions or a waiting period, on individuals applying for a health benefit 
plan. Exempts grandfathered plans from such prohibition. Allows the Oregon Department of 
Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) to assess fees on exempt health benefit plans for the 
purpose of mitigating inequity in the health insurance market. Applies to health insurance policies 
issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2020. 
 
Revenue Impact: Indeterminate 
 
The bill allows the DCBS to assess a fee on an exempt insurer to mitigate potential inequity in 
the insurance market. The fees are dedicated to the General Fund (GF). The DCBS has yet to 
investigate if inequity exists. Furthermore, the bill does not prescribe a fee or any fee assessing 
mechanism even if the DCBS identifies inequity. It is therefore not feasible to estimate how much 
revenue, if at all, will be added to the GF. 
 
When a fee is assessed on a non-Oregon domicile insurer, the insurer is subject to less 
retaliatory insurance tax in Oregon that flows into the GF. Due to lack of data on fees from the 
change in this bill, it is not possible to estimate the negative impact on the GF. 
 
Consequently, the impact on the GF is indeterminate. 
 
 
SB 980 (CH 474) 
Modifies procedures by which eligible moneys are collected from Department of Corrections 
inmates for payment of court-ordered financial obligations. 
 
Revenue Impact:  The changes in the measure allow the Oregon Department of Corrections 
(DOC) to collect an inmate’s specified eligible moneys from the inmate’s trust account for 
disbursement to the Department of Justice and the Judicial Department so that they can apply 
these moneys for the inmate’s court-ordered financial obligations. 
 
The Judicial Department estimates that in the 2019-21 biennium, $1.2 million will flow into the 
Criminal Fine Account and $450,000 into the General Fund from DOC collections on circuit court 
criminal judgments. 
 
 
SB 1051 (CH 687) 
Establishes, if House Bill 2020 became law, a fuel tax credit available to eligible persons for 
purpose of mitigating carbon price indirectly paid through purchase of fuel to propel eligible motor 
vehicles on public highways. Also, creates a fuel tax refund related to farm and forest activities. 
 
The 2019 Legislative Assembly was considering House Bill 2020, which proposes a statewide 
cap and trade program designed to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. If the cap and trade 
program became law in Oregon, the measure would require a credit available to eligible persons, 
meeting certain income requirements, for the purpose of mitigating the carbon price indirectly 
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paid through purchase of fuel to propel an eligible motor vehicle and a refund available to certain 
persons for the purpose of mitigating the carbon price indirectly paid through the purchase of 
fuel for certain farming and forestry activities. HB 2020 did not pass, so this bill will not be 
implemented. 
 
Revenue Impact: The impact will not occur since HB 2020 didn’t pass.  
If HB 2020 had passed, the transfers mandated by the measure would have been off the top of 
the collection streams before any other distribution occurs. 
 
The positive revenue transfers into the funds above will be negative transfers from the CIF and 
TDF. 

 
The measure establishes a fuel tax credit administered through the income tax system, and a 
refund for farming and forest products. The credit is processed through the Climate Action 
Reimbursement Fund (CARF), which is funded from 30% revenue transfer from the 
Transportation Decarbonization Investments Fund (TDF). The CARF is continuously 
appropriated to DOR to issue credits to individuals through the personal income tax return 
beginning on or after January 1, 2021. The credits are based on the annual estimate for each 
county of: the median vehicle miles travelled for the county; median number of gallons of fuel 
used travelling the median vehicle miles for the county; and the per-gallon carbon price. The per 
capita estimates (single and double for joint filers).  
 
The Farm and Forest products refund is performed through a separate refund account and is 
administered by ODOT. The refund is equal to the number of gallons of fuel used per year in 
farm and forest activities multiplied by the statewide per-gallon carbon price. The fuel that is used 
on public roads will be refunded form the TDF, while fuel not used in manner that is 
constitutionally restricted the highway fund, will be refunded from the Climate Investment Fund 
(CIF). 
 
The policy purpose of this measure is mitigating the carbon price indirectly paid through purchase 
of fuel to propel an eligible motor vehicle, and a refund available to certain persons for mitigating 
the carbon price indirectly paid through the purchase of fuel for certain farming and forestry 
activities. 

Farm & Forest Climate Action 
Reimbursement Fund (CIF) $12.9 $16.3 $20.4

Farm & Forest Climate Action 
Reimbursement Fund (TDF) $6.92 $8.76 $10.95

Farm & Forest Climate Action 
Reimbursement Fund Total Transfer $19.80 $25.05 $31.31

 Transfer to Climate Action 
Reimbursement Fund $282.4 $357.2 $446.5

Refund Program receives transfers from Climate Investment Fund (CIF) &
Transportation Decarbonization Investments Fund (TDF)

The Credit Program operated through the Income Tax process receives equal 
revenue transfers from the Transportation Decarbonization Investments Fund (TDF)
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	Sunset extensions & modification (income tax expenditures)
	The following income tax expenditures are extended for six years:
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	 Manufactured dwelling park closure credit
	 Certain retirement income credit
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	 Employer provided scholarships credit
	 Agriculture workforce housing construction credit
	 Crop donation credit
	The following income tax credits are modified and/or extended for six years:
	 The Oregon earned income tax credit is increased from 8% to 9% of federal earned income tax credit and, for taxpayers with a dependent under the age of three, from 11% to 12%
	 The eligibility threshold for the political contributions credit is reduced from $200,000 to $150,000 for joint filers and from $100,000 to $75,000 for all other filers
	 The maximum credit percentage allowed for contributions to a fiduciary organization for distribution to individual development accounts (IDA) is increased from 70 percent to 90 percent (sunset date is unchanged).
	New income tax credits
	Short line railroads: Creates income tax credit for owners or lessees of short line railroads that incur costs directly related to the work necessary to maintain, reconstruct or replace short line railroad infrastructure in Oregon. For purposes of det...
	Creates two tiers of tax credit benefit. Specifies tier 1 as person that cumulatively owns or leases short line railroad track in Oregon in excess of 200 miles. Limits credit allowed for tier 1 taxpayers to lesser of $1,000 multiplied by number of sho...
	Replace 529 subtraction with 529 credit: Creates refundable personal income tax credit for contributions to a 529 higher education savings network account or an ABLE account. Limits credit to $300 if reported by taxpayer on a joint return or $150 if r...
	ABLE: To help people with disabilities to save money for necessary expenses to meet the challenges of life.
	HB 2235 (CH 33)
	HB 2377 (CH 643)

	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	HB 2847 (CH 495)
	HB 2975 (CH 20)

	This measure is a program change bill that repeals certain re-appropriations from the 2017 Legislative Session.
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	HB 5033 (CH 612)

	Revenue Impact:
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	SB 213 (CH 319)
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	SB 523 (CH 336)
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	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	SB 851 (CH 556)
	Requires that when calculating Oregon taxable personal income in tax years beginning on or after 2017, individuals add back amounts deducted for deemed repatriation as part of the one-time transition tax. Prevents the Department of Revenue (DOR) from ...
	Revenue Impact: None.
	In December 2017, Congress passed the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA). During the 2018 legislative session, the legislative assembly worked to understand the implications of the TCJA on Oregon’s tax system. These discussions focused primarily on the one-...
	SB 851 makes three conceptual clarifications to statute. First, the bill clarifies that individuals who received a federal deduction for amounts due under the one-time repatriation (IRC 965(c)(1)), must add those amounts back for the purposes of calcu...
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	Finally, the bill adds to statute language that avoids the potential for a double deduction related to foreign-source dividends. At the federal level, taxpayers receive a 100% DRD for the foreign-source portion of their dividends. SB 851 adds to statu...
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	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	HB 2164 (CH 579)
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	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
	Low income rental housing: Extends sunset of property tax exemption for newly constructed low-income rental housing from 2020 to 2030. The current value of the property that is exempted due to this law is approximately $65 million statewide. Those pro...
	Historic Property: Extends sunset of property tax special assessment from 2020 to 2022. The value in the table represents the additional properties that are allowed to enter the program with the sunset extension. In particular, existing properties, al...
	Food processing equipment: Extends sunset on property tax exemption for food processing equipment from 2020 to 2025. Exempts from property taxation, new food processing equipment for the initial 5 years. Allows counties and cities to change exemption ...
	HB 2174 (CH 580)

	Specifies urban renewal plan submission and approval process. Requires concurrence of the three most affected taxing districts for urban renewal plans that includes a specified public building project. Prescribes effective date. Modernizes rate plan t...
	Revenue Impact: There is no direct impact, as this bill deals with implementation of urban renewal programs, which are permissive.
	HB 2587 (CH 591)

	For purposes of homestead property tax deferral program for seniors and persons with disabilities, changes prohibition on homestead with outstanding deferred property taxes from being pledged as security for reverse mortgage to prohibition on homestea...
	Revenue Impact: There is no direct impact as this is not a tax expenditure
	.
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	Repeals property tax exemption for property of company that builds, maintains and operates project constituting certain communication services infrastructure.
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	Modifies brownfield property tax incentive law to specify that a brownfield property granted property tax benefits under the law may also be granted any other special assessment, exemption, or partial exemption for which the property is eligible. Proh...
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	Current statute requires a property owner to choose between the brownfield tax exemption program and other tax exemption programs.
	HB 2949 (CH 533)
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	Revenue Impact:
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	Extends sunset for property tax exemption for multiple-unit housing.
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
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	Authorizes translator districts to annex cities where cable television corporations operate or have ceased operations and city electors approve annexation.
	Revenue Impact:
	The bill gives cities discretionary authority to approve self-annexation into a translator district. Given that electors retain approval authority, there is no certain immediate impact. However, Blue Mountain Translator District states that there are ...
	Additionally, the bill does not preclude annexation of cities around the state, which would generate additional revenue impact. This analysis does not include the revenue impact of potential expansion.
	There is a potential intersect with SB 901 which would authorize the translator district to impose ad valorem taxes through establishment of a permanent rate. If both SB 393 A3 and SB 901 were to pass then the translator district could annex new citie...
	SB 431 (CH 621)

	Creates urban flood safety and water quality district in portion of Multnomah County within urban growth boundary adopted by Metro, for purposes of acquiring, purchasing, constructing, improving, operating and maintaining infrastructure in order to pr...
	Revenue Impact:
	SB 837 (CH 380)

	Authorizes, during five assessment years following correction of real market value by Department of Revenue or tribunal, change to real market value indicated by subsequent sale of property.
	Revenue Impact:
	SB 1045 (CH 566)

	Provides through permissive city and county authority, a property tax exemption to homeowners who choose to rent a portion of their home to qualified home share seeker. Implemented through development of homeshare program. Requires 51% of affected tax...
	Revenue Impact: As this is a permissive policy, there is no direct revenue impact. However, it will have implications on jurisdictions where it is adopted.
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	School Finance
	HB 2867 (CH 657)
	HB 5016 (CH 218)
	SB 802 (CH 347)

	TIMBER TAXATION
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	HB 2270 (CH 525)

	BONDING AND DEBT FINANCE
	HB 5005 (CH 661)
	HB 5030 (CH 671)
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	Phasing in over two years, increases taxes for emergency communications to $1.25 per month or per transaction as appropriate. Reduces limit on amount of reimbursement for administrative costs for Oregon Emergency Management from 4% to 2.4% beginning i...
	Revenue Impact (in $Millions):
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